Empty Netters Podcast - 19. Eastern Conference Wildcard Chaos

Episode Date: March 9, 2023

The race for the last two playoff spots in the Eastern Conference is starting to heat up. The Leafs can't catch a "break" with their deadline accusations. Connor McDavid is on a war path for 70 goals.... (17:18) - Disrespecting Johnny Quick (26:22) - Chychrun, Bertuzzi, Trades etc (35:16) - Secrets to making the NHL (39:00) - Ryan O'Reilly Hurt (44:36) - Bruins Fastest to 100 (50:22) - The Wild East Wild Card (1:02:33) - McDavid Has Leveled Up (1:12:02) - Hottest Teams of the Week (1:16:53) - Eichel/Matthews/Playoff Trail (1:22:02) - What 2 Watch Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Welcome back to the empty netters podcast. Sike to be here. You got... As I get a murderous look from Dan. I just don't think it's murderous. I'm pumped. He's smiling so wide. Yeah, I'm pumped.
Starting point is 00:00:17 I'm full Cheshire cat right now. You should have been here on Friday, Chris. We all had a discussion in the office about who in the office would most likely be a serial killer. And guess who everyone voted for? You boy, dude. you boy. And then when everyone suggested somebody else, Dan was like, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:00:38 No, it would definitely be that person just to get it off his back. Like someone was like, yeah, I could see it being Max. And I was like, dude, Max for sure. You know, no, no, oh, it would definitely be Max. Emily quickly was like, Dan, stop piggybacking on every other suggestion to take the heat off of you. But the thing about me is it's too obvious. That you would kill people?
Starting point is 00:00:57 Yeah, like the whole Patrick Bateman thing is too on the nose. It wouldn't be me. The only reason I don't think it would be used because last time or the two past times we were in here and you found that gun in here, you were very scared of it. I was uncomfortable. But then I actually brought that up to him on Friday.
Starting point is 00:01:14 He goes, well, what if a gun isn't my weapon of choice? Liam was like, Dan uses knives for sure. Yeah, you need to see them feel it. Dan's definitely like a strangler. No. Yeah. See, he's literally like thinking about it right now. I don't like this.
Starting point is 00:01:30 Dan hates messes. Yeah, that's a good. Good point, dude. No, I would go, I think I would go full Charlie Cullen style. Something smart, quick, no mess. He was just... But you're not even there for it. Then you're Hugh Jack and the prestige.
Starting point is 00:01:45 You don't get to see it. I'm okay with that. I don't need to see the life leave your eyes. The fact that he's able to even, like, form these sentences and plan these things out means that he is obviously my first choice of who would be. I think the fact that I'm comfortable talking about it means that I'm not a friend. No, no, no, you're a reverse psychologying, everyone. I think that's one way to look at it.
Starting point is 00:02:08 And the other way to look at it is that I'm not, in fact, a serial killer. And no one has to worry about anything. How many votes? How many votes did I get? None. Obviously zero, Chris. Just how I like it. Chris is like, okay, this is perfect for my plan.
Starting point is 00:02:23 It's the last person you'd suspect. Plot twist. Dan is taking all of the blame because he knows that Chris is actually the serial killer. Yeah, and he couldn't get away with it. So I'm just... Yeah, yeah, yeah. So he's taking all the heat. Chill and this nice to everybody if you weren't blowing off steam, some other ways
Starting point is 00:02:41 behind the scenes. It's a fair point. You know, everyone's got a vice. Unfortunately, yours might be murdering people, which is... It's pretty sick. Ah? Yeah, it is sick. It's a kind of sick.
Starting point is 00:02:56 It's disgusting. It's like a disease. It's a sickness. Before we get in, to the podcast today. We quickly want to shout out, guys. We love you. All the listeners, do us a favor. Hit the subscribe button on Apple and Spotify. Give us five stars. Give us a review. You can say something funny in there if you want. Throw in your best hockey lingo in the review. And then also subscribe to the YouTube channel so we can keep pumping out more of this content for you guys. Em, I feel like you had some news to share before we get into the hot ice of it all.
Starting point is 00:03:24 Oh yeah. Well, I was going to say, well, I really do want to come to one of your hockey practices or whatever, but I feel like... Yeah, we actually do. We practice four times a week. No, no, come to a practice. That's way more fun. We practice four times a week. Really? We're playing Wednesday on Thursday this week. Six a.m. practices. Thursday's a championship game. Well, let's just... Oh, really? Can I come?
Starting point is 00:03:48 That's fun. There's a bar? Well, let me ask you this. What do you think is a major reason why I don't or I haven't come? Certainly not an invite issue. I feel like the whole office has been invited to me. No, no, no, it's not, I'm not, I'm not, it has not, for once. It has not been an invite issue. Like, what could prohibit me from coming? Not having a ride.
Starting point is 00:04:12 Correct. Is that the answer? Yeah. Oh, okay. My news is that I got my, I bought myself a car. Oh, she did it. Damn. Well, I didn't buy myself a car.
Starting point is 00:04:23 I leased myself a car. Okay, when did you get it? I did this on Saturday. What did you get? I leased myself in Nissan Central Nothing special I just like I as long as it has everything
Starting point is 00:04:34 that I need which is that the fact that it has Apple CarPlay it's new and it smells new and that it has blind spot detectors and it vibrates every time I like drive over into the other lane and like that's literally all you could ask for and the backup cameras
Starting point is 00:04:49 Yeah you need a back on my requirements when I'm about to hit something do you have Apple CarPlay do you think this is a better situation for you or for Witt? Like, who's happier about this? 100% me. Witt was driving,
Starting point is 00:05:07 Witt drives you to work. Yeah, but she's driving herself to work. Yeah, that's fair. Are you psyched? This is exciting stuff. You have no idea of the freedom that I'm feeling. What? Who did you bring with you to help negotiate your lease?
Starting point is 00:05:19 Well, that's why I did it this weekend because my parents were here. Okay. So I had them help me. You brought big guns. Yeah. Yeah. Well, there was literally no negotiations to be done. that they gave us like, well, my dad found a deal online and they tried to like up us a little bit.
Starting point is 00:05:33 And like my dad like literally shows them the deal in this face and their faces. And he was like, okay, like blah, blah, blah. And then we went down to one more dealership and that we would think would have much cheaper prices. And it just didn't. So we're like, we can't just do this all fucking day. So we're just going to go back. If you ever need to do this again, I'm fantastic at negotiating car leases. Carlises?
Starting point is 00:05:57 Yes. Really? Yeah. I hate to sound cocky, but I think you'll back me up. I have fleeced people multiple times. You actually shouldn't even... Fuck, I should have just... I was going to say, I feel bad that I'm...
Starting point is 00:06:09 Manhattan Beach, Toyota is going to hear this. I'm going to be honest with you, Dan. I don't really think that I can count on you anymore to be my friend, so... That is such bullshit. I was there for you all night. No, you weren't. I eventually went to bed. That's what happened.
Starting point is 00:06:24 That was literally me to... texting you at like 7 o'clock at night. You did not go to bed at 7 o'clock. You said you were on your way to Venice. Also, Dan's a gas later. Dan literally goes, Dan goes, I texted him yesterday because I was like,
Starting point is 00:06:39 first of all he's like talking about all week. Like, oh yeah, yeah, I'm going to be here to meet your parents. Like see your parents. Like, see your parents. Like, obviously like I would love for Chris to be there too. But I, number one, don't get mad at Chris. And number two, it's his birthday weekend, so I'm not going to bother him.
Starting point is 00:06:52 Dude, I just get treated so poorly for nine. nothing for nothing. Go on. Well, okay, so then Dan does this thing. Like, he says things that he never, like, mean. So I've started to learn, like, to never take anything he says seriously. Like, he'll be like, oh, we're going into New York next or soon. I'll be like, okay, that's awesome.
Starting point is 00:07:13 And, like, I'll just not take it seriously until the actual point comes of us, like, booking the flights in New York. Because I'm like, I'm not going to fucking believe you anymore until the actual time was, oh, we're getting an empty net or sweatsher. Where the fuck? Like, that was five months ago where the fuck is my end of me net? These are all examples of things that are literally happening. And then he goes, oh, literally, on Friday goes, I texted him.
Starting point is 00:07:32 I was like, fuck you, you suck because, like, he said he was going to see my parents. And then he goes, I'm on my way. I didn't say I'm on my way. I said I'm coming. Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah. And did you? No, because it was his birthday and he had other plans. But that's, but then just.
Starting point is 00:07:45 But I thought we were coming back. Don't say you're coming. Fair. But I thought we were coming back. Sing it. But the bigger thing was, M, when you text me out of nowhere that says you're so fucking rude. I could. I could just go, okay, fuck you. I'm not, you're right. That's true. And then I spent five hours talking to you all night when you're just in distress, trying to talk you off the ledge
Starting point is 00:08:07 to be nice to your parents. And then it stops answering. Because it got late. He's like, I don't feel like dealing with it. Like, I'm dealing with this for five out. It's annoying ass bitch anymore. But then to be fair, like, I can't wait to gift you this sweatshirt when it arrives just in a, just as the grandest. Remember what I told you? It's here you go. You're right. And you're going to love it. I can't wait until the day that I get drunk and don't get mad at Dan and actually enjoy my time with him. That will never happen. It would just be so easy to happen because what's funny is I don't do anything.
Starting point is 00:08:40 We just, we start drinking and Emily's just like, fuck you, you piece of shit. What the hell is happening here? It's unbelievable. And then I'm like, Chris, let's go fucking party. I had one more thing to say. Oh, no, I was going to share my trade secret about the Carleet, but I probably shouldn't put that on. Last thing I'll say in this subject, I apologize for my drunk texts. I'm a psychopath and sometimes I just wake up the next morning.
Starting point is 00:09:02 I'm like, I should have left Anne alone that night. It's nice to hear. I'm always here for it and I'm always here for you. Yeah. But I do appreciate the acknowledgement that sometimes I'm sorry. I should have left you alone. No, you don't have to leave you. In that moment, really needed a friend.
Starting point is 00:09:16 And I was there. I wasn't literally there, which was underage. No, you weren't. But what blows me out is I feel like if I had been here, that whole thing wouldn't have happened. I know. So I do feel... My parents would have been in such a better mood, I'm sure, if you guys were there. Lifting their spirits. Yeah, I was really pissed. Everyone was in the damn... Way to go having a fucking birthday, dickhead.
Starting point is 00:09:35 Yeah, fuck you, bitch. I wish you brought Sandra, your girlfriend, to the bar that we were all drinking at. Where were you guys drinking? We were all, we went to the brig after work at 4 p.m. to celebrate 2 million followers on Friday beers. And not me. Yeah. That's why. He just felt... Can I ask you a question? I thought this was going to say, hey, welcome to the empty notice podcast. Chris, how was your birthday? Well, I was getting there.
Starting point is 00:09:59 We're getting to that. Car leases and text fights. I need to hear about your Harry Potter birthday on Saturday. There you go. Well, I will tell you this. I had a bunch of things I wanted to do over the weekend, and I was coordinating with some friends to try to figure out what they wanted to do and what days they were available. And one of the things on the list was go to Universal Studios.
Starting point is 00:10:24 because Harry Potter World is there and I fucking love Harry Potter World. Have you been? Does it look like I've been a fucking Harry Potter World? I'm sorry. Massive miss. Massive market miss for you. I'm sorry, but...
Starting point is 00:10:35 I would go with like you guys just to like see the light in your eyes. Yeah, that'd be a good way for you to start loving it. We're gonna read those books soon. Yeah. So we have to. They had some new stuff there too. So it's like, that'll be fun.
Starting point is 00:10:47 We'll go. And a couple people pick there. Like, that's what I want to do Saturday. So I was like, great. You're just the cutest. You guys are just the cutest. You guys are just the cutest. a little mid, mid 30 year old that wants to go to Harry Potter world.
Starting point is 00:11:01 Shane was there and he got pretty lit early and went in and bought a wand. Aren't those expensive? They're like 50 bucks. And he was running around the park like cursing everyone. He was so drunk, but it felt like you got your 10 year old, the wand and he was just too excited because he was just like running around just like saying spell. at people and we were like, this man's 30 years old. What the fuck is happening?
Starting point is 00:11:28 But we got there, drove all the way there from our house. And they were like, oh, actually we're sold out today. And I was like, I didn't even know they could sell out. You're like, but it's my birthday. So I was like, no, we got to go. This is a nightmare. And then Dan went up to some window and came back and he was like, what do you guys want to do now?
Starting point is 00:11:46 Like, where should we go? And I was like, well, you know, they got actually batting cages up here. Not part of Universal, like just other plans. You know, we'd go here. We can go there or whatever. And then Dan was like, oh, okay, those are pretty good options, actually. I was thinking we could go into the park and just flashed five tickets. Literally don't know how he got him.
Starting point is 00:12:02 Don't know who he sucked, what he fucked, what he said. But I did all the above. Let's fucking go, Dan. It was a swaggy move, too. Like, I went up to this window. That's what we call finesse. Yes. That's where we are similar.
Starting point is 00:12:17 Yes. Riz God with this woman, Linda. Truly the Riz God. With Linda. Like she, when I went up and initially displayed the issue, she was already, because I'm sure she had been doing it all day. She was like, I know I'm so sorry, blah. And I just cut her off.
Starting point is 00:12:34 So whips out his dick. I just gave her. Look how small this is. Don't you feel bad for me? Don't you want to give me tickets? And he was like, oh, my God. Yeah. I think he pointed at me and I was having a seizure.
Starting point is 00:12:45 Do you want to deny this guy that? No, but it was great. We got in. It was a good time. He had a good birthday. Aw. That's lovely. Great, great day.
Starting point is 00:12:55 That's so cute. All right. Before we get into some hot ice and more hockey talk, we shot our next two episodes of Chilin' With the Far Blue yesterday with the Los Angeles Kings. We did a nice episode with Alex Ayafalo and then another episode with Daryl Evans, aka Choppy. Kings legend, now King's commentator works for the team. He's just an all... Emily, this dude is maybe the coolest guy of everyone in my time.
Starting point is 00:13:18 We want to talk about Riz God. Yeah, he is a Riz God. Choppy is the Riz God. You would have died. He is the human version of chicken. Why can't I be invited to these things? There was a whole email blast. We needed people there.
Starting point is 00:13:33 I didn't give that email blast. I don't think you would have wanted to. It was on a Sunday. You would have to carry around gear and be on the ice. My parents were here too. Yeah, exactly. But he's just like the sweetest guy on earth. So cool.
Starting point is 00:13:45 So many good stories. And Alex Ayipalo is the homie. Yeah. What a cool guy. Hot dude, too. Aren't they all? He's going to come on soon. Oh, I found another player on Hinge.
Starting point is 00:13:57 Hey, can you say it? I forget his last name, but I screenshot it for you. This is exciting. Emily's getting more guests than we are. It's unbelievable. All right, well, we're excited for those episodes to come out. You're going to see those pop up on the King's YouTube. Our YouTube, you'll see clips on the social pages,
Starting point is 00:14:17 which again, guys, if you don't follow already, go follow Empty Netters on Instagram. Two awesome episodes of Chillon at the Far Blue psyched about it. Let's get into hot ice. We got to dive into this episode. We've been fooling around too much. Listen, last week, guys, was trade deadline week.
Starting point is 00:14:33 The episode last week was tons of the stuff. And what's crazy is we even missed some of the stuff. We didn't get to talk about it. So we're just going to quick hit some big things that happen. And that's a perfect segue as we quick hit because we got to talk about quick. Jonathan Quick, diabolical situation. Yeah, this is one of the few that I want.
Starting point is 00:14:51 to spend a little bit of time on. I can't believe they did that. I'm so glad that he immediately bounced to Vegas. Quick shout out to the Blue Jackets. Heroic Instagram post. They posted Johnny Quick in a photoshopped Blue Jackets jersey, right? Like a photochip's jersey. Like our time with Quick was quick, but memorable.
Starting point is 00:15:19 It's, no one gets. more credit than them. Like that social team. I never expected the blue jackets to be so awesome with this, but yeah, those were hilarious. So I'm really glad that happened because I want him in the playoffs. I, dude, can you imagine living in Hermosa Beach and then being sent to Columbus? No.
Starting point is 00:15:36 And being like, well, absolutely not. Because his home, I mean, he's in LA, I mean, he's been there his whole career, but he's in L.A. human being for life. And he's, man, it just, these, this is an awkward situation. because we very openly are friends of the Kings. Yes. We love the Kings. That goes without saying.
Starting point is 00:15:58 We have a show with them. We have great relationships with the players and the employees. Trades happen. This stuff is brutal and awkward. This trade was savage. It was not cool. It sent a ripple around the league that no one liked. And off the record, you know.
Starting point is 00:16:20 No, no. Well, yeah, just don't say anything. Okay. All we'll say is this. King's players were pissed. Like this, there's not cool. Any trade is bad. You even saw, and we'll get into this, Tyler Boutuzzi gets dealt, and, you know, a day after Larkens's extension and Larks is crying talking about.
Starting point is 00:16:38 He's like, that's one of my best friends. So these things suck. Trade suck for the players. Trades suck for the players, no matter what. Even if your team gets better, if it means someone's going out the door, 99 times out of a hundred, the guys on the team are devastated. And this Quicky one was just catastrophic. No one in the world expected it.
Starting point is 00:16:58 No one wanted it. And the things that felt so sketchy was all the comments were like, Dustin Brown gets his jersey retired and a statue. And Jonathan Quick gets sent to Columbus. Yeah. Like this is nuts. Fuck. So tons of respect, like you said, to the Blue Jackets for immediately flipping him.
Starting point is 00:17:16 They were like, great, we did that trade. Now we're sending you back to Vegas. So Quicky is in Vegas. He doesn't have to go too far. He's going to get a short-term rental, I'm sure, down there, and he's going to play, playoff hockey. And we'll see. This might be it for him.
Starting point is 00:17:28 He might retire after this year. He might come back to the Kings. You never know. But this is a weird one, for sure. So here's what I don't know. Nobody knows. And talking to some of the Kings guys, they don't know if he's going to retire because he loves the game.
Starting point is 00:17:45 Everybody knows that. If he was going to retire, I am mortified. with the guy like king's front office. Yeah. I'm just mortified. If he's not, you know, it's like, come on, dude, we're not going to employ you for two more years. Like, maybe this will be the best.
Starting point is 00:17:59 You weren't going to end your career here anyway. So just go now. We'll help each other, whatever. I could see the logic in that. If he was like, oh, dude, I'm retiring in a month. Get off my ass. Yeah. And the fact that he doesn't get to retire a lifetime king is putrid and disgusting.
Starting point is 00:18:14 I think it's really interesting, man, that they, how tough would it be? I'm looking right now. So I think if the playoffs ended up, right now, Vegas gets the Jets, and then the Kings get the crack in, and then the second round is the winner of those two games. So you could see Johnny Quick playing the Kings in round two of the playoffs, which would be insane. I want it, too. I hate to say it, but I want it for the story. And what's sick, because I have sick thoughts sometimes in deep, dark places. I like the Kings much more than I like Vegas.
Starting point is 00:18:52 Oh yeah. Like I'm just like I'm a Kings fan. I live here, whatever. And dude, I like Bruce Cassidy a lot. He was a great Bruins coach and was extremely nice to us in Florida. You know I love my boy, Jack. And he's going to get 72 points in Rampshrump cocktail so far down Dan's throat. He's going to be pooping him out.
Starting point is 00:19:08 What other option is there? What? But pooping them out whole. They're going to come. Oh, my God. Straight through all the way. You won't even have a chance to digest them. They're going to be pushed.
Starting point is 00:19:16 that's just going to be like as if there's a tube yeah exactly my body it's a simple machine it's like in casper when his uncles are eating and it's just coming right out the other side so on paper kings knights I'm like yeah go kings but because I have sick thoughts I like I almost want a quick
Starting point is 00:19:32 led Vegas team to beat the kings now just so they must pay for their actions yeah it makes you think if quick wants that too because he's a competitor and like you said he loves playing the game and I'm sure or I know this stung he was immediately when this trade happened, all of the head guys, you know, the big head honchos on NHL Twitter
Starting point is 00:19:52 who were reporting all the trades, they were saying immediately, Quick is distraught about this. This came completely out of nowhere, blindsided him, he was pissed. So I bet if you asked him last week, here's a scenario you guys play the Kings in the second round, do you want to motherfuck them and beat them? And I think he would be like, yes, abs of fucking Looley. And I bet the answer still yes because he's a competitor. But yeah, I just hope to God this doesn't forever tarnish his relationship with the Kings, the team that he's played for his entire life and won multiple cups with. And I don't think it will with time heals everything, but right now it hasn't been that long and he wants to dead them and he might get the chance. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:20:35 And here's my other question. Corpus all, I was about trying to look up some of these stats. I'm kind of shocked. Like we had said during our trade breakdown, the Kings, would have been someone we listed as go get a goalie, like we say about Buffalo, until Phoenix came up. And we're like, oh, no, you're good. Go, you're fine there. Go do something else. And then they're bringing Corpus'allo. And I'm like, so you deaded quick, a hero, a franchise hero, just to bench Phoenix Copley who saved your season? Yeah, it's interesting, man, because, yeah, I credit Phoenix so much with the King's recent turnaround. But if you want to be a numbers whore, which you know I am.
Starting point is 00:21:16 I know you are. I'm not really. Corpusalo's numbers are slightly better than Phoenix, I believe, if you look that up for me right now. I'm going to check. Or you could. Emily.
Starting point is 00:21:26 I just saw how to spell these fucking people's names. Emily, just look up goals against average. Or just if you just type in Phoenix Copley stats, you'll see a quick link that'll be on NHL.com and you'll be able to tell us what his goals against average is. Okay. And then Eunice Corpusallo is going to be a little tougher one for you, but we'll get there. It's okay.
Starting point is 00:21:48 But it's 2.79. That's his goal is coppy. That's his regular season. Okay. And then Eunice Corpusalo. I got it. You got it. 3.13.
Starting point is 00:21:58 Okay. So Phoenix's numbers are better. And I'm like, what are you doing? What are you doing? That's, yeah, what the fuck? You know what I really think? I personally think the Kings are going to look at these next remaining 20 games. or so and go
Starting point is 00:22:14 one of you two is going to emerge as the starter for the player. Sure, competition. Did we need that? Did we need a competition? Did Phoenix like to be in a competition? I think that the Kings are looking at their run of play and going, we could make a run here in the West.
Starting point is 00:22:25 The West is weak. It is. Yep. And if you go, Phoenix came up in the middle of this season, dude, out of nowhere, has played really well, has kind of saved us here. But it's been too much too soon for him possibly. Maybe you get to the playoffs. You're playing every other day.
Starting point is 00:22:41 And all of a sudden he starts getting. shaky and you really don't have a backup that you feel confident confident in. I agree with that. So this feels to me like Boston last season with Swamen and O'Mark where they were like, we don't really know. O'Mark started game one and two, I think, maybe even just one. And then immediately Swayman went in. You know, it's like you got to look at this situation for them going, we know we have
Starting point is 00:23:02 a good team that can make a run here. We don't want to be in a situation where our starting goalie gets shaky and we have no option to back him up. I get the trade. me too as a I'm a GM with no relationship with these people I don't get the trade with like well we're just playing we now we just want to have a good backup so we're just going to chop the head off at Art Stark and leave everyone mortified and I'm like Jesus Christ
Starting point is 00:23:27 yeah he's the main character what are you doing it's fucking pretty savage that they have done what they have done but at the end of the day trades happen yeah the show goes on so yeah it was funny being at practice yesterday and seeing Corpusallo and like, you're like, what the fuck is happening right now? Yeah, it's crazy. Okay, who else?
Starting point is 00:23:47 Who else is on? Just let's rip through a couple other ones. Yeah, a couple ones that we didn't touch on last episode. We saw Jordan Greenway go to Buffalo. A little help. How did you feel about that? It's depth. I kind of like.
Starting point is 00:23:59 It's not a goalie. Yeah, we'll get into that. It's a depth move that I'm like, I feel fine about. We saw Michaelle Granland from Nashville go to Pittsburgh. I kind of love that trade, actually. that felt. We had said they were similar to the lightning where they were
Starting point is 00:24:15 like, we like what we got up top, we're going to add some depth here and make a run at it and they did it. Yeah. Two huge defensemen that we talked a lot about on the stories last week. We got some posts out about it. Like we predicted, we saw Ekholm from Nashville go to Edmonton, huge, huge
Starting point is 00:24:31 move for Edmonton. And we saw Gostas Beer go to Carolina. That one was fucking mental to me because Ghost was one of the top three four defensemen that we had on the trade boards, and he went for a fucking third round pick. Dude. And say what you will about, we talked about Dmitri Orlov and Hathaway going to Boston, and we said,
Starting point is 00:24:55 ah, that might be an overpayment. I don't know. I feel a bit like a fucking moron because Orlov has nine points in four games. He's on fire with Boston. But even still, I was like, that might be an overpayment. Because when you see Ghosts go for, you know, a third round pick to the best. best team in the Met. And then, I mean, he had a casual three-point night last night. Like, he is sick. So that was wild. I can't believe Arizona let that fucking happen. And then the other
Starting point is 00:25:23 huge one was Chikrin. We talked about that on the story, but Chikran went to Ottawa, which was not expected at all. We kind of looked at a bunch of these certain playoff teams. But then the family ties came into it, dude. Tons of family for Chikrin in Ottawa. They made that deal happen. He is going to be there, I would guess long term. Like he's got two years on his deal after this, but I think he's going to resign there. He has a great performance in his first game with them.
Starting point is 00:25:49 And I'll, dude, knock, knock, knock. The Ottawa senators are, we've been talking all about, we've got those two wildcard spots in the east and it's all the talk has been about Pittsburgh, Washington, New York Islanders, Detroit Red Wings and the Buffalo Sabers.
Starting point is 00:26:05 But got news for you, dude, the senators are right in there with the exact same amount of points. They're, that wild card, those two wild card spots in the east, in my opinion, is going to be the most exciting thing to watch come down the stretch here. The ghost, the third rounder for ghost was the biggest head scratcher, but pal, the senators paid nothing for chicken. The senators are Dan Powers walking into the Marina del Rey Toyota like this.
Starting point is 00:26:30 Excuse me, I'll pay 500 down and about 50 bucks a month and you'll give me a brand new rap for a thank you. And they went like this. That's too much, Dan. Cut it in half and you've got a deal. and he said, okay, that's exactly what the auto senators just did to get Jacob Chikrin. It's fucking crazy.
Starting point is 00:26:43 How I'm pissed that I didn't ask Dan to come with me. I probably would have gotten it so much cheaper. We could have gotten you a good deal. Fuck. I fleece people. It's unbelievable. Fuck. It's insane.
Starting point is 00:26:54 That's what they did. They just... Dude, really. Dude, I... We agreed that Orloff was a bit of an overpayant, but I was like, ah, you got to, they retain some salary. Chickren is getting no money. No one pays Chikrin any money.
Starting point is 00:27:06 And then they got him for nothing. and now they are steamrolling people. It's wild man. So currently in the wildcard spots are their islanders and the penguins with 72 and 71 points. And right below them is Buffalo with 68, Ottawa with 68, Florida with 68, Washington with 68, Detroit with 65. Save this because there's a whole segment on it coming up. Yeah, yeah. We'll talk a lot about it, but it's nuts.
Starting point is 00:27:28 So that Chickren deal, I love it. And he looks sick in a Sen sweater. The Sends have so much mojo right now. it's exciting to watch. But then, yeah, the last trade that we will mention is Bertuzi to Boston. That one came seemingly in the dark of night. They moved a first round pick next year to Detroit for Bertuzi. We talked about a little bit Dylan Larkin very upset by that.
Starting point is 00:27:55 But Bert is a UFA next year. He's an unbelievable player, has tons of potential. He's very young, still, very gritty. Like, he's perfect for the Bruins. Yeah, someone said that to us, and I was like, I totally agree. He is. and like his missing gibbers too. It's great.
Starting point is 00:28:09 But he, that was a, M likes gibbers. That's my new favorite word. Yeah. That was a big trade because it came on the heels of back-to-back games, Felino and Taylor Hall.
Starting point is 00:28:20 Going down with injuries. Felino, we don't really have an update on yet, but Halsey got put on LTIR. Bruins doing a little Tampa Bay Lightning tap finessing. But Burt just slides right in. Right down that left side is if you've lost nothing. And it looks like Halsey's,
Starting point is 00:28:34 we don't know. We're not here to report on injuries when we don't know for sure, but everything that we're hearing from the Whispers is it's going to look like four weeks, which is a perfect lineup for end of the season, first round of the playoffs, Taylor Hall is backing your lineup, and you're now looking at a situation where potentially
Starting point is 00:28:47 your third line is Taylor Hall, Charlie Coil, and Tyler Bertuzi. And that's, in my opinion, unequivocally, the best third line in the NHH. It's very strong. If Halsey's back, knock on wood, dude, I'm rooting for him. I'm friend of the program, obviously.
Starting point is 00:29:02 But if he's back, that's the dream. I'm worried that it looks like, it's starting to feel like that trade was more reactionary. They were like, oh, fuck, Halsey might be done. Let's get a Halsey replacement, which, by the way, that team has the best record in the league. So if you're just replacing Hall, you're still good. But if it becomes additive and not just a replacement, then that was a nice load-up. Yeah, I mean, it's, and it's, it's funny.
Starting point is 00:29:26 You saw the Orlov-Hathaway trade. Anytime new players come in, you either maybe get a new player bump. You get a little bit of growing pains of meshing together. I was very curious to see how Boston would play and now with adding them and then adding BERT's like all three of them have been on the score sheet multiple times and the bees are still tallywacking teams and it's like good God.
Starting point is 00:29:45 Like I don't know what is going on here. So wild, wild stuff. So many trades. It ends what like we talked about the fucking coolest trade deadline of my life. So sick. So sick. Monster all-star players moving this way and that.
Starting point is 00:30:02 The two ones that didn't happen seemed like we started to hear some rumblings of Hasey moving from Philly. Yep. Didn't happen. I was kind of surprised by that because Hasey felt like a very good ad for a team, maybe some salary attention. And then JVR was another big one. And JVR looked like he was in Detroit. Looked like it was done.
Starting point is 00:30:22 And then something happened last minute fell apart on trade deadline day, so he didn't move. But otherwise, I mean, could you imagine if with everything that happened, we also added JVR and Hasey moving? Fucking crazy. The rarely do teams in hockey, do all the top teams load up like this. I feel like this is an NBA thing kind of, like every deadline of the NBA, the teams that know they have a shot at it kind of push their chips in. This was crazy. Every team, certainly in the East, it feels like every team just went ham trying to win a cup right now. Dude, it was an arms race, man.
Starting point is 00:30:53 I think it started with Bo. I mean, the Islanders are a fringe playoff team and they got Bo Horvatt and it just became clear to everyone in the East. It was like, well, we're all good. Shut up. It's, it's, I just can't believe it, man. I feel like usually, and there's such cool stories. The Kings being one of them, you know, 10 or so years ago, of a low-seat team sneaking in, making a run and winning the Cup.
Starting point is 00:31:17 The Stanley Cup playoffs are a different beast. We talk about that all the time. Anyone could win it. But it does sort of feel like this year, you look at those top six in the east and you're like, one of you is doing this. One of you is winning this, probably. The whole thing. Unless they beat the shit out of each other.
Starting point is 00:31:32 It almost... And you sleep on the abs. It almost feels like that happened to Tampa Bay last year. It's like you had to battle through Toronto. You had to battle through Carolina. And then I think the Rangers, and you then get to the cup final and you play Colorado, who is a wagon. And you're like, dude, we just fought three mountain trolls on the way here. And now we got to do it again.
Starting point is 00:31:52 So that is a concern for sure. But I think that's why all these teams beefed up, whether it was depth, whether it was adding all-stars, because it's like, this is fucking nuts how tough the East is going to be. I mean, the Bruins are the best team we've seen in 30 years, it feels like. I don't think any Bruins fan is comfortable. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:32:14 You're like... Very accurate. Very accurate. I mean, we joked about they're going to win the East, obviously, and get that eight seed wildcard team, and let's say it's Buffalo. I don't want to play Buffalo. They score six goals a game. I don't want to play Ottawa. I don't want to play any of these teams.
Starting point is 00:32:30 And then it's like, and then after that, you're playing the winner of Tampa Bay and Toronto. Sweet. It's like, that's your second round matchup. It's mental. So it's fucking wild. All right, let's move. Do you want to say any more about the Chickren situation? Well, yeah, I just had one story. He scored,
Starting point is 00:32:46 right, he scored in Ottawa. And as you said, Dan, his family was there. And they showed a clip of, they showed a clip to him after the game of his grandfather in the crowd reacting to him scoring. And Chikrin just starts crying. He's like, you're going to make me tear up. And then he's
Starting point is 00:33:02 having a hard time. No, it was his grandpa. Yeah. You said his dad. I feel like he said grandpa. Me too, and I cannot wait. I thank God this is being recorded. I cannot wait to hear what was said. I thought he said dad. Confirmed grandfather. We'll see. We'll check the tape. Well, can you believe that I even knew that? Actually, that was very impressive. Let's not, let's not forget that that is a good snipe
Starting point is 00:33:26 from producer Emily. Yeah. And it's dialed. And all I wanted to say about it is well actually two things. The first thing I love videos like that so much they literally make me cry. Yeah. Like when I see a guy just loving his family's reacting, the family's crying
Starting point is 00:33:41 the player's crying, murders me every time. So I now love Chikrin 10 times more than I even did before. So good job there buddy. Second thing I have read so much recently about NHL dudes and their grandposs.
Starting point is 00:33:58 Like Chikrin loves his grandfather. Connor Bred had this whole interview the other day about his grandfather. We were looking up some stuff for Larkin because hopefully he's going to come on soon. And it's like him and his grandfather, like, changed his grandfather changed her trajectory of his life. And is this like a new thing that's happening?
Starting point is 00:34:13 Or it's everyone, does everyone have this relationship? We, you know, I guess we didn't have... I was going to say, I barely even knew. I only had one grandpa and I barely knew him. Right. So I don't know, maybe we just, there's not a personal thing that we can relate to, but I've been mesmerized how much NHL guys love.
Starting point is 00:34:29 I think it's pretty fucked up that you would bring this up knowing that I don't really have relationships with grandpas. Yeah, me neither. So it occurred to me, Dan, that I think we aren't in the NHL because we didn't have grandfathers for long. I can neither confirm nor deny the legitimacy of this claim. It's a bit of a pot shot at our dead grandfathers. Yeah, well, they're not here to defend themselves. Those are the only people I like to pot.
Starting point is 00:34:57 But I will also say that there's no way to tell. there's no way to know that not having their influence in my life wouldn't have helped me get into the NHL. So that's, yeah, all right. A lot of data pointing at that we would be there. That's a bummer for me and for them. Just something to think about. You know, I didn't realize, I've been searching for years trying to figure out the reason why I'm in this studio and not the garden. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:35:27 And I now know, I'll sleep a little easier. Why isn't it some clown interview? me on, uh, chilling at the far blue. Yeah. And I'm on the Kings. But it said, I have a red nose on in huge shoes and driving up in tiny cars. It's because, it's because my pop pop wasn't around to advise me how to be a better hockey player. Because he would have. I agree. I guarantee that. Yeah. Yeah, he would have driven to all my games. So anyway, I just wanted everyone to know that I finally realized what the deal was. And it makes me feel better. Yeah, I, yeah, I, I'm not really around on that yet. I don't know if I feel better about this.
Starting point is 00:36:02 trust me, I've had been able to sit with this for a little bit. You are just hearing right now. You've been thinking about it. This time tomorrow and you will have found peace, my friend. That's exciting. All right. What do we get into next, Chris? We can get into hottest teams of the week.
Starting point is 00:36:17 No, not yet. Not yet. Oh, my God. Okay, here's the next thing I want to talk about, Dan. You know what we can talk about? We can talk about, um, we can talk about Ryan O'Reilly's finger injury and how he literally just got traded. Are you happy to jump into that?
Starting point is 00:36:36 This is the next thing on the list. Look at that. No, it's not. Yeah, it is. It literally is. No fucking one. No, it is. Well, we can talk about how he literally just got traded.
Starting point is 00:36:44 Yeah. And everyone's all excited to get him playing and getting used to the team and stuff. But now he's out for a minimum of 10 games. All thanks to Austin Matthews. Screw you, Austin Matthews. Where in the world is Austin Matthews? That's a bad look. In the cemetery.
Starting point is 00:37:01 He's in the doghouse right now. in the fucking dog house. He's in the fucking dog house. Oh, I'm Toronto. I'm the deepest team down the middle in the whole league. That's why we make a trade like this. Bang,
Starting point is 00:37:13 long-term I are. Every clip we release of talking about the Leafs, the Leafs loyal fans come for me. And I'm like, I said this on the stories last week. I'm your friend, dude.
Starting point is 00:37:30 Stop getting mad at me. I'm your friend. friend. But it is funny how we release a clip talking about the O'Reilly trade and I'm like, you need defensive help and a good lord.
Starting point is 00:37:42 People were like, you fucking idiot, shut the fuck up. And then next thing you know, three new defensemen get added to this team. Quick tangent off that. I don't think this is up. You might get hired.
Starting point is 00:37:52 We made an awesome video about the Leafs that Instagram banned and took it down. And I'm really sad you guys didn't get to see it. It was a clip from
Starting point is 00:38:03 Les Miz. So the music, the music police were like, yeah, it's just got shadow bad. And I don't know how, but I will get it on the internet somehow
Starting point is 00:38:12 because I want you to see it. I submitted a dispute. It might get released any day now. So hopefully, I hope you guys get to see it because it was funny. TikTok will take it. But anyway,
Starting point is 00:38:19 they did need D. They got D. Multiple. Multiple. Great. Yeah. Shen, McCabe,
Starting point is 00:38:24 Gustafson, like they've, they've added a bunch. Yep. And, uh, we then released a clip and I
Starting point is 00:38:32 said that this Ryan O'Reilly trade felt like the Falino trade from last season, or two seasons ago. And I didn't even say I was comparing their play. I was saying they're both aging veterans who are going to bring some veteran strength. And people were like, you fucking idiot, they're not the same player at all. And Felino got hurt. And it's pretty tough. Whoops. So Lee Sands, you did this. You fucking assholes. But immediately, O'Reilly, broken finger, LTIR, smell you later. day minimum, I think, 10 games. They're saying he's going to be back for playoffs, hopefully he will be.
Starting point is 00:39:06 And Dan, agree with you. I said to you, I can't remember if I said it on the potter just in the office, but I want the Leafs to get out of the second round. This makes me sad that this happens to them. I have plenty of Leaf fan friends. I love Austin Matthews. I love Mitch Marner. I love a lot of guys on that team.
Starting point is 00:39:21 I want success for them. So I am not against this. I want them to win, but this was high comedy when this went down. It just feels so Leafs. It's brutal. Here's the thing. Austin Matthews puts the puck exactly where he wants it to go. You don't pot 60 and not know where the puck is going.
Starting point is 00:39:44 Go on. I just think that he knows if they don't get out of the first round, he's gone. He's on the Yotes next year if they don't get out of the first round this year. And he went like this, damn, we did add D. We did add depth up the middle. The lightning are struggling. we might get out of the first round. And the puck got on his stick and he saw Ryan O'Reilly's finger just hanging there.
Starting point is 00:40:09 Just moseying along down the ice. And he said, if I just let one go and snap that little carrot in half, I'm gone. What do you think? You're calling it right now. This is your, you're calling your shot. Heard it here first. Austin Matthews intentionally breaks Ryan O'Reilly's thingy. Friendly fire.
Starting point is 00:40:27 Vingy! Because he wants out. Dude, he doesn't want to be here anymore. He, do you think he doesn't know? He could dot an eye from a hundred feet away with a hockey puck. You're not wrong. That's very, you're correct. This is tinfoil hat stuff. I don't think anyone has this story yet, but I'm telling you.
Starting point is 00:40:45 This is tinfoil hat stuff. He said, damn, Ryan O'Reilly is a leader. Well, I actually matched with Austin Matthews on the hinge yesterday. Is that? Oh, I was like, whoa, dude. Did you figure out who it is? Um, oh, yeah, yeah, but I forgot, I forgot already. Wow, this guy means nothing to M.
Starting point is 00:40:59 Well, let's see. Oh, to M. I thought, I was like, well, maybe he's sick. His name's, he's on the Canucks, I think. If it's Brock, I'm going to die. Yeah. His name's Justin Bailey. Justin Bailey.
Starting point is 00:41:13 Hot dude. Hit him up. Em is drooling. That's why you came here. Em's drooling right now. No, no, no, no. I'm just a picky gal. Yeah, we'll see.
Starting point is 00:41:23 Em's like All-Star or bust, dude. Matt Barzel, call me. Yeah, yeah. All-Star or get the fuck out. Get out of here. Okay. I love this theory, dude. think it's, I mean, it's right up my alley. I love a tinfoil hat theory. And yeah, it just
Starting point is 00:41:39 feels a little convenient that an Austin Matthews shot is accidentally hitting Ryan O'Reilly in the finger. Ryan, get well soon, but just keep your head on a swivel at practice. Yeah. All joking aside, though, I'm very glad it's not more serious. Yeah, it'll be okay. It would be such a bummer if he just got an injury that was like, oh, I'm done. They needed him for the playoffs, dude. They didn't need him for the last 15 years. No, no, who cares. Yeah. That's crazy stuff. Okay, here's something I want to get into. Um, do you have want to talk Bruins fastest to 100 slash playoffs first or this McDavid hypothetical, I want to ask you. Ooh, let's talk Bruin stuff.
Starting point is 00:42:14 We talk so much Bruin stuff. I'd like to get it out of the way. Yeah, and listen, it's not our fault. No, it's the Bruins are the best team in 30 years. It's not our fault. So this weekend, the Bruins became the fastest team in NHL history to 100 points. Oh, yeah, you can keep going. But I actually was going to say that the Bruins were my hottest team of the week.
Starting point is 00:42:31 so I actually have info to share about the Bruins. Okay, when we get to Hot-St team... Well, I'm a little afraid that you're going to share my info. If Chris starts talking about the info, just go like this. Stop. Just like that, though. If you don't do it that way, I'm not going to stop. Okay, yeah, yeah, fair.
Starting point is 00:42:47 The fastest in NHL history to 100 points, they get it in 61 games. The record was 62 games. That was the 76-77 Montreal Canadians. They reached 100 points in 62. But back then, you didn't get a point. for regulation ties and overtime. The Bruins have received seven points from overtime and shootout victories
Starting point is 00:43:07 of their 101. Yeah, yeah. You know, that's, what, four games? That's what it is. Yeah, but hey, that's what happens. Randy Moss broke Jerry Rice's a touchdown record and four more games, but that's the way it goes. Sorry, bud.
Starting point is 00:43:19 So it is insane. Looking at the Bruins record, it is insane to me that they have won this many games. Yeah. What do you think about this record? record, what are your nervous levels? It's one thing to win the President's Trophy and be like, yeah, the President's Trophy never wins.
Starting point is 00:43:37 It's another thing to be like, we're going to break every record, single season record ever. I think the record is sick. It's undoubtedly cool, but it's one of those things where I'm going to put on my Bruins player hat because this is what all of them are saying, and I actually believe them truly. Every time these guys get interviewed about this, they're like, we don't fucking care, dude. I do not give a shit about a regular season record. I don't care about breaking these records. sure, it's cool.
Starting point is 00:44:01 But it's like McDavid, when he got asked about, you scored 50 for the first time in the middle of a game they were losing. And he was like, yeah, it's cool, I guess. But I'd like to win this game. Such a sick answer. And it's a very hockey player type answer. But I think that that is the way this works, man. It's not, it's just not, it's not a thing that carries over into the playoffs. It's not.
Starting point is 00:44:21 So my nervous levels aren't any more nervous than any time the team I root for goes into the playoffs. truly. It's not like I'm looking at this oh we won the president's trophy in the past and then lost to the caps and it's like I know that that happens. I don't think if the Bruins lose and don't get to the cup it's because they won the president's trophy
Starting point is 00:44:45 and because they went too hard during the season because good transition of something I want to talk about the Carolina fucking hurricanes are preposterous as well and no one's talking about it because of the Bruins but you look at that record the Bruins are 49, 8, and 5 with 103 points on the season.
Starting point is 00:45:04 That's nuts. The Carolina Hurricanes are 41, 12, and 8 with 90 points. They are also out of this world. They are going to get 100 points, no question. So that means, too, assuming wins, but they're at 90 points in 61 games. So if they win the next five, right, like, they'd be at 100 points in 66, and the record was 62. Like, they just missed the record also.
Starting point is 00:45:29 You know, if they go on a five-game win streak. But they might. It's like they're so fucking good. So it's just another one of these things. It's like, the East is so good right now. And so, yeah, it doesn't make me nervous. I don't think any of the Bruins players are nervous. I don't think Bruins fans should be nervous.
Starting point is 00:45:43 I think you should be as nervous as you would normally be going, we're about to head into the playoffs, and everyone in the East is so good. If you want to make it to the Stanley Cup right now out of the East, you are playing three savagely good teams, no matter what. On paper, you're completely right. think that's what they would say and that's how they should think but man I do believe that if you break records if you're the warriors the 20 whatever warriors if you're the 2007 paths it's in your head somewhere that you have the bet you're the best regular season team in the history of
Starting point is 00:46:16 the sport and what will people say if you lose oh that's that's that's if i would if i'm a bruin i'm like fucking say the ones you obviously but do not break this record get away from this record i hate if I'm a bruin. And maybe that's mentally weak, but I just know it's in there, dude. You're like, we're the best team of all time, and now we lost in the first round. I mean, dude, I guarantee any of those players
Starting point is 00:46:34 on that 96 Red Wings team. Yep. Think about that for sure, because, like you just said, it is like, damn, we set NHL records. You know, President's Trophy alone. Yeah. I feel like that does kind of suck
Starting point is 00:46:46 when you're like, damn, we're the best team in the league and we fucking lost. But, yeah, when you're the team that sets NHL records and then you still can't get it done, that blows. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:46:55 I don't think that these guys, are thinking about it any more than that though. It's like, it's just kind of like a, you'd be like, well, that would fucking suck. But I'm not, I'm not sitting there being like, fuck, dude, this is so bad. I think it's more as the series gets tighter. Like going in, you're like, yeah, that would suck.
Starting point is 00:47:08 Let's just win. But then when you're like, if you go down three, two in the first round, and you're like, you got that game six on the road and you're like, dude, fuck. I don't know. I'm just so not. They're pros, though. That's what I'm saying.
Starting point is 00:47:19 I just think when you've got guys like Bergeron, Marshan, and Krati, and, you know, plenty of other guys. too, but those three specifically just being like the real core of this team still, you've lost two rough cups. I think that helps. I think you're like, I don't,
Starting point is 00:47:36 we go down a series, I'm not stressed, dude. It's just you got to keep playing it. That's what I hope at least. Same. For their sake. All right, while we're on playoffs and we kind of touched on this earlier, that's what I want to hit you with. The West is essentially set. I would say you've got Dallas, Minnesota, Colorado, Vegas, L.A., Seattle,
Starting point is 00:47:53 Oilers, Jets. Shockingly, the Preds are still right there. But with the injuries and them being sellers, I don't think I was going to maintain. I was going to say the fire sale that went on with them. But it is insane. They've never been closer to the playoffs than they are right now.
Starting point is 00:48:06 What are you doing? It's pretty rattling. You look at Granlin leaving, Eckholm, Jeannot, Neider, it's like you lost four monster pieces of the team, and you're still knocking. But they're right there and point to meet the jets, but I don't think they'll do it.
Starting point is 00:48:19 But then the east, you've got Boston, Toronto, Tampa, Carolina, New Jersey, New York. Yeah, they're in the playoffs. New York Rangers, for the last. the record. Yes. Then, as you were saying, you've got two spots, realistically for Pitt, Buffalo, Florida, Ottawa,
Starting point is 00:48:34 then the Islanders. I think Detroit's in there, dude. I don't think so. We'll see. They had a little stumble here. Maybe, but I just don't think so. The Islanders are currently in the top spot, but have played the most games by a lot over some teams.
Starting point is 00:48:47 So I have it right here. Islanders, 72 points, 65 games. Then Pitt 71 in 62. That's the current playoff seating. then Buffalo 68 and 61, the Senators 68 and 62, Florida 68 and 64. Yeah, to me, when you look at Buffalo, we all know that I'm a Buffalo boy. But I look at Buffalo, and they've got four games that they have to play to catch up to the Islanders, and they are four points back.
Starting point is 00:49:16 Yeah. And I'm like, you could do it, dude. Like that's, you know. What I'm asking is give me your two. Who I want or who I think. You both. And you can throw Detroit into, I just don't, I think they've got the biggest to climb.
Starting point is 00:49:31 Okay. I actually love this. I love this idea you got here. Thank you. This is going to be very clippable. Top six are set. We've got two wild card spots. Islanders, Pitt, Buffalo, Ottawa, Florida, Washington, Detroit, we'll call it.
Starting point is 00:49:49 I'm being lenient with Detroit. I want Washington, Detroit out of this conversation. It's so fucked up of you. Shut up. Shut up. Cat. Here's what I have to say. I, as far as the last two wildcard playoff spots in the East are concerned,
Starting point is 00:50:09 get Pittsburgh and Washington the fuck out of my face. I love Crosby. I love a Vegkin. I don't give a shit to watch these two guys lose in the first round. I don't care. It's not going to do anything for or against their careers if those teams miss the playoffs. Like, do I want to see Sid win another cup? Ovi won another cup?
Starting point is 00:50:31 Yes, I do. I love them. They're iconic players. I feel like we talk about a lot. When you are a hockey fan, when these two guys came into the league, you were either an Ovi guy or a Cid guy. It's just how it works. It's James Hunt and Nikki Lauda. It's deep cut F1 reference.
Starting point is 00:50:48 It's, there are people who are, it's Peyton and Brady. There are people who have put on this earth at the same time, and you have to pick one, is how it feels often. I picked Ovi, but I am sitting here willing to tell you, Crosby is the better hockey player. I know that. I like watching Ovi more because he's so electric and he's so funny, but I love both. I would love to see them both have more success before they retire,
Starting point is 00:51:11 but it's not right now. It's not this season. I'm telling you that right now, Caps fans, Penguins fans, you're not winning the cup this year. So get out and make way for some of these younger, exciting teams who just watching what they're doing this season is so exciting that I'm like,
Starting point is 00:51:26 Get in, dude. They deserve it. Get into the playoffs. So if I'm picking, if I have... This is who you would want to... If I have my druthers who is in, I am picking Buffalo, and I'm picking Ottawa or Detroit. I love... Love the Detroit Red Wings organization. I always have. I love fucking so much Dylan Larkin. I love so much Steve Iserman. Get in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:51:51 That would be electric. What you want is Buffalo. They are far down. So if I'm going to be realistic, I want Buffalo and Ottawa. Those are your wants. Those are my wants. And I feel the same way as I do about Washington's Pit as I do about Florida. Fuck off Florida.
Starting point is 00:52:07 Get out, dude. No. Like, what a bum loser team. And I'm speaking on that from last season two. It's like you win the President's Cup and you get piss pumped out of the playoffs immediately. And then you make this monster trade and you still suck. And you're just boring. And I don't want them in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:52:26 You don't deserve it. You don't deserve to be in the playoffs. And then the Islanders are borderline similar in that I'm like, what are you guys doing? Weren't you supposed to win a cup last year and the year before? Aren't you supposed to be getting better and better and better? And then you make no moves. And then like you get bow, good move.
Starting point is 00:52:42 Good move. Yeah. But like I don't even know what they're doing. So I want them out to. I love the wants. And just because you're on it, I would say who I think gets in is Pittsburgh. Because I don't believe.
Starting point is 00:52:56 leave Sydney Crosby will let this happen. And... And Pitt, if you count games in hand, is in pole position. I just can't say what I want to say right now, because I am a walking jinx. Fucking do it, dude. I won't.
Starting point is 00:53:12 Do it. Who gets in? Pitt and who? Buffalo. Wow. Fuck! Wow. Fuck! I'm sorry. Peas and peas to everyone in upstate New York. I just can't. It's gonna be so ass when they're
Starting point is 00:53:26 is over. Your season is over. It can't be the Islanders, though. That would be so fucking lame. No chance. I actually think they have no chance. Florida scores... They do have a chance, and his name's Ilya Sorokin.
Starting point is 00:53:40 Yeah, fair. Your passionate speech about who you want, I think is really cool. And I think... Thank you. You're a cool guy, man. You're a cool guy. It's one of the only things I have going for me. I think it's largely right in that...
Starting point is 00:53:56 I don't need you know, Hextall was like, The Penguins can win the Cup this year. We have what it takes. I don't think they do. Only because of how loaded the East is. Normally, like on a regular, last year, this exact Penguins team
Starting point is 00:54:08 with this invigorated Sid and Healthy Sit. I'm like, yeah, maybe. You know, the Cup's crazy, as you said earlier. It feels like there's too many people they'd have to battle, too many excellent teams they'd have to get through to pull this off. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:54:21 So on paper or in general, I agree with you, it's not their year. So I'm like, just let the fun, let the young fun teams get in because it's so helpful for them. We've seen what happens. It's huge, dude.
Starting point is 00:54:33 Teams are invigorated. The fans are invigorated. It is huge. You build on that next year and you build. You get the experience. Think about free agency, man, too. Like, I'm sitting here to say right now,
Starting point is 00:54:42 I'm sure the listeners are sick and tired of me talking about Buffalo. But we talked about a few episodes ago. Rasmus Dahlian recently making a bunch of comments. And it just seems like they are more pumped than they have been in 10 years. Yes. The Sabers team organization, players are fired up, dude. They believe in themselves as they should. And they have some of the best youngest players in the league on that team. It's like, you look at Tage Thompson, Rasmus
Starting point is 00:55:06 Dahlene, Alex Tuck, Owen Power, just to name a few. I'm like, this team is sick, dude. This team fucks. And if I'm Patrick Kane and I'm a UFA next year and the Rangers just lost in the first or second or third, whatever, if they don't win the cup, I don't think it's a guarantee that Patrick Kane's like, yeah, I'm going to sign back with the Rangers, because I don't even know how you do. I don't know if they have the cap space. And Buffalo is one of the very, very few teams in the NHL with tons of cap space. And I'm like, that could be fun, dude. That's my hometown team.
Starting point is 00:55:38 And if you make the playoffs, it's so helpful and attractive to UFAs. It's guys who are like, they did it, dude. They got over the hump. I'm interested. So I totally agree. And I think, well, there was that Dahlene article I posted about it, but it was like, either in the athletic or the players tribune but he's fired up and they are so exciting.
Starting point is 00:55:57 And I think what I was starting to say before is the experience. You want, when you're one of these up and coming teams, you want to get in that year. Even though you're going to lose in the first round because this is what the playoffs is like, boys. This is what it's like playing every other night against the same team, seven games. You need that.
Starting point is 00:56:12 I think the Panthers suffered from that big time last year and I thought they were going to cash in it this year. They probably are not. But we talked about it with the devils last week. I actually think they have a shot, but they might lose in the first round to the Rangers because they're like, well, we haven't been in the playoffs and the Rangers went to the conference finals last year.
Starting point is 00:56:27 Some of those guys know what it takes. So I think experience is big. My pick is the Penguins. I think the Penguins are getting in for this exactly what you just said. Even though you might have convinced me that I don't know if I even want them. I kind of wanted it. I was like, I want to sit in there so bad, but it's like, whatever, dude, to lose to the hurricanes. But I think they're going to get in.
Starting point is 00:56:46 I think they're going to be the number one wildcar team. I think so, too. The number two team is the Ottawa Semiters. and you know what's fucking crazy? One of the first episodes we ever recorded, I don't even know if it made air, you said what is more likely, the Ottawa Senators making the playoffs
Starting point is 00:57:03 or the Leafs getting out of the first round? And I took the Senators, and that bet looked DED dead as fuck up until like a week ago. I know. And now I'm like, the Senators are going to be in the playoffs. Man, we even,
Starting point is 00:57:16 we made a GIF at one point in the very beginning of the season making a joke about like Claude Drew, realizing that they're not going to make the playoffs and tons of Sends fans were like, he knew we weren't going to make the playoffs. And I was like, I don't think he knew that. I think that they're like, yeah, no, we've got a great young squad. And dude, they
Starting point is 00:57:32 are scorching hot right now. Oh my God. And dude, it's I'm giving us full credit and attributing to it's us becoming boys with Brady. Yes. But since learning, he is even more of the man and a beauty than we ever thought. Dude, he is vibing right now as the captain of that team. When he
Starting point is 00:57:50 was barking at the Red Wings bench, asking he wanted all the smoke. Dude, they are buzzing right now. And can you imagine what this team would look like if Norris wasn't hurt? Oh, I forgot. Not that he's, yeah. Tage Thompson or Connor McDavid,
Starting point is 00:58:05 but like, man, he is helpful to this squad right now. And they're already hot. And you just added chikrin that's such lead in your pencil. I feel it. I mean, I think they're going to get in.
Starting point is 00:58:15 No joke. That's my call right now. You got Buffalo. We've, you have Pitt Buffalo. But Buffalo is my, I admit it's emotional. I said I want Buffalo.
Starting point is 00:58:22 and Ottawa. And if I'm being realistic, I probably totally agree with you. I'll stick with Buffalo for the emotions. And just to keep this fucking bit of me jingsing Buffalo going, I'm so fucking sorry, Buffalo. I love you so much. And I just keep fucking us over.
Starting point is 00:58:38 So I, but yeah, man, Ottawa's fucking buzz in right now. And it's so sick. And I think maybe my want, I think you said your want was Buffalo Ottawa. And that might be my want to. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:58:49 If you've talked to me off the Sid ledge. But the, and maybe. well eat crow and we are being super disrespectful to the islanders but i almost i almost didn't even list them i hope i i wrote this down to talk to you about and i almost said there are two spots for pit florida ottawa and buffalo and the islanders are literally the one seed the one wild card seed right now and i almost just didn't even include them that's how little i think of their chances are making the play dude their games in hand their games in hand are scary you know it's like what
Starting point is 00:59:17 what's really funny dude is they are 32 25 and 8 and if you just look at at wins losses, 32, 25. Buffalo is 32 and 25. Yeah. How many wins does Pitt have? Pitt has 31. Less.
Starting point is 00:59:31 Yeah. Ottawa has 32 wins too, dude. Buffalo and Ottawa are coming for that ass. Yes, correct. So it's like, and dude, you will get into it, but you look at all the injuries Buffalo is dealing with two.
Starting point is 00:59:42 If they weren't injured, and those guys are coming back. I'd be fucking shaking if I were Pitt and not some of the Islanders. If you're shaking. All of them. This is going to come down to the watch. Yeah, it's going to be so fun to watch.
Starting point is 00:59:52 I really hope no one implodes. I hope it stays wire to wire the whole way. He's sick. Fucking crazy. Okay, you want this Baderd McDavid? Well, it's actually McDavid hypothetical, but I just, because I read a Baderd interview. Yeah, talk to me. Okay, so Connor Bader did a Q&A with NHL.com this week.
Starting point is 01:00:07 It's pretty cool. Kind of a fun read. He's a little bit superstitious boy. I didn't know that as much about him. But check it out. But they asked him one question about McDavid. And they said, you know, you're inspired by him, all the usual. And he's got 50 fucking two goals or three.
Starting point is 01:00:22 three goals, whatever it is, 52, I think. Yeah. Already, do you think he'll, do you think he could push 65? They asked Bedard. And he said, oh, you know, I know Connor, and he's nasty and he's so competitive. He's scoring 70. And I was like, damn. Damn.
Starting point is 01:00:41 So no one has scored 70 since McGilney and Timu in the, what is that, 92, 93 season? Yeah, I believe so. They both, or they both tuck 76. It's ridiculous. So he would be the first person to do it in 30 years. 30 years. So I have two questions. Question one, do you think he can get 70?
Starting point is 01:01:03 He's 18 away with 18 games left. Yes, I think he can. Sorry, not can. Will he? Yes. Oh, shit. Because here's the thing. I think Bardard is right.
Starting point is 01:01:21 The crazy thing about McDavid is what stat did we just see the other day? He is the first person in a hundred years. Five straight. To have five straight multi-goal games. And that is the difference maker with him. Do I think he's going to score a goal in the last 18 games of the season? No, I do not.
Starting point is 01:01:40 But I do think he's going to tuck two here and there, and it will probably add up. And if he comes into the final game of the season with 67 goals, he will do it. Dude, well, so I actually agree with you guys. Like, he is the type of guy. didn't he do this last season? He was sniffing some point total. And it was like, oh, maybe point total.
Starting point is 01:02:00 Or maybe it was earlier this year or something. But it was like, he needs like, oh, he's on pace to do blank in blank. And he came into the last game and he was like, I'm just going to do it. Yeah. So if we're coming down to the last three or so games and he's like five, six goals away, he's going to do it. So I think you might be right. Because if he gets into 65 territory with any games. Yeah, you're thinking about it.
Starting point is 01:02:24 He's going to do it. and the oilers know they're going to, any empty net, you know, like if you're on the ice with him, they're going to pass it over to you. He's going to earn almost all of the 18 if he does it. But any empty net chance they have for him, they're going to give it to him. And I think if he gets close, if he cools off a little bit and he's at 60-ish, you know, maybe 60 becomes the marker if he cools off, which I don't think he will. But if it's like the Bruins.
Starting point is 01:02:45 You're waiting for them to cool off. Connor, you're waiting for him to cool off. He has fucking five points a game, dude. It's insane. I thought you were going to say no and I was going to say yes, but I'll jump on this with you. I think he scores 70 fucking. goals this year. And I,
Starting point is 01:02:56 somebody clip it and throw this in my face when he discourses yeah, but he's going to score seven. It's one of those things where we clip this and release it and people go like this, you fucking idiots. And I'm like, what are you talking about,
Starting point is 01:03:07 dude? Like this is fun. And it's, if you think saying Connor's not going to do anything, you're a moron. So, you know, Christ.
Starting point is 01:03:14 So here's my second part of this hypothetical. Okay. And this is, I'm pulling this completely out of my ass, but I'm just legit curious. I was looking at, um, his career goals through his first seven seasons because this is his eighth season.
Starting point is 01:03:28 And I also looked at Ovi's first seven seasons. McDavid has the misfortune of only playing in 45 games his first season, and OV played, you know, full seasons to start. Yeah. So kind of a, kind of a knock there. Ovi went 52, 46, which is ridiculous, by the way, but 52, 46, 65, 56, 50, 50, 32, 38. He went 65 that year? His third year.
Starting point is 01:03:53 Oh, my God. David went 16 in 45 games, 30, 41, 41, 34, 33, 44. Yep. He's 100 goals behind Ovechkin through their first seven seasons. Got it. Let's say for rough numbers, OV, Connor scores 70 this year, and OV scores 45. He's about on pace for that. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:16 So that would mean through eight seasons, he'd only be 75 behind Ove. Yeah. Connor I do think Connor takes care of himself I think he wants to play a long time so I think he could have as long a career as Ovi has had
Starting point is 01:04:29 I can't confirm that he will never get hurt because I think he's less of a brick shit house that Ovalchkin is but he hasn't had the injury bug really yet and he's like a hurt guy
Starting point is 01:04:38 The scarier thing about Connor is if and when does he slow down because that's such a part of his game but you mean literally his speed not like your career when does his speed literally slow down
Starting point is 01:04:50 because it's such a part of his game. But at the same time, dude, you hear Dylan Strom talking recently, again, shout out Chicklet's boys, but he was talking about Ovi. And he was like, dude, he's old, but he's so big and strong, dude, he still blows by people.
Starting point is 01:05:03 Like, when he wants to turn on the jets, he'll still get by you. And, yeah, Connor will, it's father time's undefeated. He will slow down eventually. But there's just something about his game, dude, he's buttery. He's just on butter all the time.
Starting point is 01:05:15 And those hands aren't going anywhere. Like, he'll keep those. and so you know where I'm building my hypothetical is this dude he is there a world there I forget what other sports oh it was the Iron Man streak I was like what happened something crazy and then someone broke it the next day like Phil and Ghandle's like wow it took me 20 years to do this and Phil's like and you've had it for a week and that's now my is there a world where Ovechkin breaks Kretzky's record in the next year or two oh and then Connor breaks it's broken in because Dan just to finish the thought
Starting point is 01:05:46 this is what I really want to ask you did something happen this year? Like would you Connor hear all the chirps and then go like this? I got the goal scoring and go like this. Fuck you guys and fuck you forever. I score 60 a year. Okay. Like did he level up to a degree?
Starting point is 01:06:00 Because you look at OV shit, it's insanely consistent and he goes over 50. He's gone over 50 several times, including last fucking year. Yeah. But it was always right there, but or only. Yeah. But like it's always like 51, 52 a year. Is Connor just going to score 65 goals a season for the next fucking 10 years?
Starting point is 01:06:14 Okay. I don't think that. But I do think this. I agree 100% something happens. Something happened, whether it be, I don't believe it's he heard the chirps. I know he heard the chirps, but I don't think that motivates him. I think being dominant motivates him and his competitive spirit. And I think he's tasted blood now as in the 50 goal mark.
Starting point is 01:06:36 And I don't think he'll ever be comfortable not hitting it again. I think the main reason for that is because I think Connor is a playmaker. I think he sees the ice better than anyone in the league right now, truly. and I think he does things on the ice that no one has been able to do for years and years and years. I think his game was a playmaker, a visionary passer, and someone who just makes everyone around him better, and he looks for that next pass. He did that every year in his career. He did that last year, and they were a wildcar team. This year he went, I'm going to fucking score all the time.
Starting point is 01:07:16 And they are a wildcar team. So I think he's going like this. Me deciding to score all the time changed nothing with the team. So I'm just going to keep doing that. Because the other funny thing is he's got 52 goals. He has fucking 90 assists. Yeah. So it's not like he's not
Starting point is 01:07:32 doing that anymore. So yeah, I think he is a team first guy. And I think he sees that he decided to go, I'm scoring whatever I fucking want this year. And it did not change his team stats at all. So he's just going to keep doing it. Because everyone, when I looked to shit up about a vetchkin and you hear
Starting point is 01:07:48 you know, and I'm obviously being insanely reactionary, seven years into his, of a hopefully long career. But, dude, everyone goes, well, man, to break that Gretzky and then eventually Ovi record, you got to average 45 goals a year. And I'm like, do you, do you not think Connor can do that? Like, I think he is going to average 53 goals a year. It's the easiest, it looks genuinely like the easiest thing I've ever seen in my life. It might literally be a health question.
Starting point is 01:08:14 As long as he's healthy, I think the record is dead. To go to the Gretzky goal record question, it's all about longevity at this point. Because no one is scoring 70 goals a season like Wayne O was. And I mean, Connor literally might tuck 70 this year. But that's not going to happen forever. But I do genuinely think the 50 goal mark is now his benchmark. He's like, I will get 50 every season. Because you heard interviews, when Austin hit 60 last year, which was fire.
Starting point is 01:08:41 Yeah. You heard people like, because Stammer had done it, you know? And then everyone, there were players coming out of the woodwork. being like, yeah, we were wondering if that would ever happen again, like hitting 60. And someone mentioned, someone was like, maybe Matthews. Matthews could score 60. And now I'm like, well, Connor just scored fucking 70 the next year. And now that might be his new normal.
Starting point is 01:08:59 Not 70, literally. But, well, fucking maybe, dude, I don't know. But he, like, I have never been, I thought Gretzky's record, even a few years ago, I was like, OV, I just don't think he can, has the legs. I'm wrong. He's going to break it and fucking good for him. And I'm now, like, as sure as I was that Gretzkees wasn't getting a broken three years ago, I'm that sure that Connor is going to break it.
Starting point is 01:09:18 He might do. Break ovies. But I love this call. Ken Connor hit 70 now. That's going to be fun to track. Yeah, it's going to be fucking awesome. All right, let's get into hottest teams of the week as we close out this episode. I'll start with mine.
Starting point is 01:09:29 Thank you very much. No, no, you will not actually. Oh, that's fucking rude. No, no, you will not because you're going to like where this goes. Oh, so you're going to steal mine. No, we're going to let you take it away. Oh, okay. All right.
Starting point is 01:09:41 Our third hottest team of the week is the Seattle Cracken. Oh, are you saying that? Just, just, calm down. The Cracken had a four in a week. Wins over the blues, 53, the wings, 5, 4 in OT, and the Blue Jackets 4 to 2, and the Aves, 3 to 2 in OT. Two OT wins. They've slowed down a little bit,
Starting point is 01:10:00 but they've got the Oilers up their ass in the Pacific, but this Cracken team is legit. It's been so cool seeing them get, I remember when we were doing this hottest teams of the week, you know, two and a half months ago, and we were like, look at the Cracken getting in here. And that's like, oh, no, no, they're just still very, very good, and they're rolling and rolling and rolling.
Starting point is 01:10:18 And real quick, the Wild also had a 4-0 week, and we gave the crack and the nodge because of strength of schedule. They beat some tougher teams. But shouts to the wild, shout to Wild fans. Let's just give them some quick quacks. Quack, quack, quacks. The second hottest team of the week. Well, hold on. What does your hottest team in the week begin with?
Starting point is 01:10:38 What letter? I already told you. I can't remember, though. I know. It is our one. Yeah, it's our one. Okay, yeah, yeah, okay. Go on. The second hottest team of the week, we talked about them earlier. The Ottawa Senators. They've won five straight. They beat the Havs, 5-2. They beat the wings twice, 6-2 and 6-1. And those were important games in terms of those last wildcard spots. You've got the wing. They're in the running.
Starting point is 01:11:01 Oh, hell yeah. They beat the rags, 5-3, which was a great win. They beat the Blue Jackets 5-2. Listen to me loud and clear. Watch the fuck out for the Ottawa Senators. Completely agree. We talked about it. They're three points out. They were a runaway freight train. right now. I'm calling them to make the playoffs. I told you I made that bet with you earlier in the year. I made that prediction earlier in the year. And it has never been more alive than it is right now. Yeah. They are smoking, scorching hot and I'm here for it. Love it. All right, Emily, who is the number
Starting point is 01:11:31 one hottest team of the week? Well, I picked this team thinking that you guys wouldn't pick it because I was trying to be basic and I didn't think that you guys were going to be basic. So I think this, like, awesome. Well, you guys originally for hottest teams of the week said that, you You were going to not pick the best teams of that week or the best teams in general. You were going to just pick teams that you thought were the hottest teams of that week. Yes. And it just so happens that this lines up that the hottest team of the week is also the best team. And I think us picking the same team is what we should aim for.
Starting point is 01:12:02 This is a good thing. So, Emily, who's the hottest team of the week? Well, the hottest team of the week this week, Dan, is the Bruins. And the Bruins, we already set a bunch of their stats this week. So I'll skip a lot of those. but the Bruins are on a 10-game winning streak this week. Wow. Wow.
Starting point is 01:12:19 Do you know what that means? That extends their lead in the Atlantic Division to 19 points. And in this whole streak, pasta is, he's slaying. He's absolutely slaying with his six goals and six assists during this streak. And Orlov, the new player on the team, during, ever since he's been stolen from the capitals, he's had six assists in the five games that he's had on the team and three goals. So those are my stats that haven't, I think, haven't been discussed yet. Those are sick stats.
Starting point is 01:12:53 It's incredible. Yeah. He's the worst offenseman in the league. Bertuzzi's the perfect brewing. Halsey's going to get healthy. It's electric. They destroyed the new look Rangers. Oh my God.
Starting point is 01:13:05 Beat the shit. Beat the fucking breaks off them. Beat the brakes off the Sabres. Yeah. Fuck you. Two goals scored post to everything. D-Net goals in that Savers game. Unbelievable. They are the hottest team of the week.
Starting point is 01:13:16 All these ads, and it looks like Halsey and Flino are both going to be coming back by the playoffs. Oof, oof, oof. Couldn't be hotter. Could not be hotter. It's already, dude, we don't have a choice. No, they're the hottest team. There's nothing else to say. Real quick thing on Bertuzi, did you see him going no Bucky on the top of his stick? Oh, dude. Did Chicklets post that? Yeah, I think so.
Starting point is 01:13:36 Dude, I don't even, I'm the guy, like, McAvoy, by the way. Remember, he was like, dude, I do the thing. I tape it, then I do the spin cycle, and I do the grip thing. A little wrap grip. I do exactly that. It's what I learned when I was four, and I do that. We see some guys with huge knobs, some guys with little knobs. We see some guys with, I do like Howie's grip tape.
Starting point is 01:13:53 Some guys just do normal hockey tape. Never in my life have I seen someone go no condom on the top of their stick. It's unsafe. It's unsanitary. I don't ever want to see it again. There should be a PSA about this. If he butt end someone's, he's going to run him through. Oh, dude.
Starting point is 01:14:08 You're going to impale a person. Bergey, talk to him. It's unbelievable. Bert, I love you, but that is PsychoVill. Let's get into the Michael Watch. Thank you. He's got 48 and 50 games, including five in his last three. You are all fucked.
Starting point is 01:14:32 It's incredible. I admit, I was worried. I admit, I admit, for the last month or so, I was legitimately worried, but you are all fucked now. I didn't realize he was this fired up. Maybe he's listening. Maybe he knows what he needs to hit, but you are dead. He's been climbing and creeping and inching, inching, and inching closer.
Starting point is 01:14:49 He's going to do it. I've never been more confident. Run home, Jack. Run home, Jack. I can't wait. I have something for the both of you here. That's really exciting. I can confirm 100% that Jack Eichl knows about Jack.
Starting point is 01:15:05 Ickel watch. Shut up. Yeah. I, like, 100% confirmed I know from a person in the league who is friends with Jack who brought it up and was like, yeah. he knows about I go watch, which is really funny. He knows what he has to do. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:15:19 Yeah. Oh, oh, so you, you, he is definitely. Yeah, like, I'm fucked. Yeah, yeah, yeah. He's like, I want to watch this. My dream is. We got to get him on this pod. You'll get him on the pod in the off season.
Starting point is 01:15:34 Off season, yeah, for sure. But I was going to say what I want to do is have him be there when I do the shrimp thing. Oh, that's, oh, yeah. But I think we, I think we're doing it for a playoff game, though. So he'll be. Well, we can, we can. switch those rules up? That's true.
Starting point is 01:15:48 That's true. But North End, they want us to come down and do it there. So anyway, very, very rattling situation for me. But we love Jack. What do you got for Austin? Where in the world is Austin Matthews? Here's the thing. I would love to say that Austin is just sitting right in Toronto.
Starting point is 01:16:03 Toronto is running away with second place in the Atlantic. They are looking like they're all over the lightning. Austin has, I think it's 61 points in 56 games. he's creeping up on 30 goals he's just an incredibly solid player but like you said dude that's Ryan O'Reilly things a little messy I like what you said before I think he's in the dog house
Starting point is 01:16:25 I think he is too dude he just shatters O'Reilly what do you think Dubus has to say to him like he swings this huge trade swings a first rounder gets ROR on this team and then he's like this Austin are you fucking kidding me dude right in the locker after like I say Austin Kyle wants to see yeah you're like like you're Austin you're like God fucking damn
Starting point is 01:16:43 so I'd like there, but I don't know, that looks a little fishy. But I am also here to say this. I'm not making a call yet. I'll save it for next week. Dude, Tampa is like, you know, they added
Starting point is 01:16:59 you know. Yeah. Headman is hurt. Stammer is hurt. This might be it, dude. This might be, like, I think Toronto has them right now. Chill. I'm not making a call. Chill. But, but I don't know, dude. Like, that is, that is some sketchy
Starting point is 01:17:15 stuff. But there's always the thing of Vasi. All right, playoff trail. The Buffalo Sabres lost to the Columbus Blue Jackets, and that is unacceptable soldier. I don't even want to talk about it, dude. I talked about it last pot. I was like, they have Columbus coming up, and if you lose that game, you're fucking dead, because you had Boston right behind it. So I was like, you can't lose. As you said, they got pummeled by the bees. Yeah. They beat the lightning. That was important. The lightning are slumping. You had to have it.
Starting point is 01:17:42 They did not trade for a goalie, as we said. they did trade for Raleigh Stilman and he's immediately he's immediately hurt day to day. I thank God it's day to day but like yeah I mean literally immediately hurt. Upper body. Samuelson day to day.
Starting point is 01:18:00 Upper body. Samuelson is the third most time on ice on the sabers behind Dahlene and power. You cannot be losing those are big minutes on the blue line that are now hurt. We said last time Dahlene was day to day and he's already back so you're fine.
Starting point is 01:18:15 but you just this is not the time of year for this. No, it's, I mean, here's the thing, man. Like we said, they are, I'm not going to sweat just yet because they are, they are the number one team back. They are the first team on the list waiting knocking on the door to get into the wild card spot. They've got all those games in hand over the Islanders. So those, we had, you know, a bad loss to Columbus. The injuries are horrible. But, dude, they're very bad.
Starting point is 01:18:47 Huge win against the bolts, though, with all these injured guys. So this is why we were watching a lot of Potter, obviously. But that's why I was talking to you about when he goes, these are dark times, there's no denying it. Yes, that's how I felt every time another Buffalo Sabre Blue Liner goes down. I'm telling you, though, getting that Tampa win was enormous. And I don't need to spend time talking about it, but the fact that that fucking team did not trade for a goalie is the crazy.
Starting point is 01:19:15 thing I have ever seen. Because there were goalies out there, dude, clearly. Like, quick. You think, Johnny, quick. Quickie or Corpusolo doesn't help this team. Like, what the fuck? Wow. So it is absolutely bonkers.
Starting point is 01:19:27 All right, what are some games to watch? I've got two. I think you have two of them, too, and I'm going to steal them right from under you. So my first game to watch coming up this week, we got a little Thursday game. I'm going to the Kings and Avalanche. Good game. That's going to be this Thursday. I just think two great teams in the West right now.
Starting point is 01:19:44 that's going to be a fun one. And then my other one, you know I love me a Saturday game and I love me a McDavid-Matthews matchup. So Edmonton, Toronto, that one's going to be fun to watch as well. Really good. The abs kind of,
Starting point is 01:19:58 after I was like, they got to figure it out, and then they figured it out, they stumble in again. I felt bad Kale had that interview where he was like, it's my fault. I was like,
Starting point is 01:20:06 chill out, dude. But, yeah, they aren't, they aren't all the way figured out. So I'm, I'm going to be excited to watch that one. I'll give you a Thursday one. Vegas at Tampa.
Starting point is 01:20:17 A couple good teams. I didn't see that game. Jack's probably going to pump in, what, four, five past the slumping bolts? I'd love a jack trick in that game. Yeah, jack trick. Keep your eye on that for a jack trick on Thursday. Saturday I'll give you Dallas at Seattle.
Starting point is 01:20:31 Okay. Important game in the West. And then Sunday, Carolina at Jersey, fucking massive game. Yeah, that's huge. Because you want to be the one seed in the Mets so bad. And that has one seed implications. That's what I'm saying.
Starting point is 01:20:44 That is a fucking massive game. At home, where we know Jersey has sucked. All year. So get it done, dude. Yeah. Because that's going to matter. It's going to come down to a couple points here, win that game. That's big stuff.
Starting point is 01:20:57 I have a game to watch. Hell, yeah, I am. Oh, my God. Watch Dan and Chris's playoff game. Oh, that's really nice. That was really nice. That's nice. Too bad you can't watch it.
Starting point is 01:21:06 Maybe I should record you guys on live on Instagram live for the empty netters. People to watch. Why don't we do that? Let's do it. Let's do it. Then I'm like actually forced to go. Yeah, you like have to go. Well, I would love to go.
Starting point is 01:21:21 Well, maybe I'll go with Bobby. Because Bobby's a supporter. Yeah, he is. He had a blast too. I'm gonna go with Bobby. He was like, that was fun. All right, that's it for us this week at the Empty Nairns Pod.
Starting point is 01:21:31 Like we said at the top of the app, guys, do us a favor. Go like, subscribe on Spotify, Apple, YouTube, send us a review, five stars. Say some funny shit in there. We love you guys. And until next week,
Starting point is 01:21:43 skate hard. Skate hard. Thank you.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.