Empty Netters Podcast - 22. Not Fans of Fanatics

Episode Date: March 31, 2023

In this episode, we'll cover exciting updates from the world of hockey, including the Boston Bruins' quest for historical greatness, the NHL's controversial new official Jersey deal, and Nashville's p...eculiar trend of erecting statues for seemingly anyone. (8:36) The Bruins are chasing history (19:07) Does the NHL need bigger cellys? (26:30) Pekka Rinne Gets a Statue (31:52) Frozen Four Predictions (35:12) NHL strikes a deal with Fanatics (1:00:30) Western Conference Wild Card Race (1:09:48) The Rangers and the Kings are getting RED hot (1:22:24) Games to Watch  GET 10% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLINE ORDER AT https://www.shifthockey.com/pages/netters WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 All right, before we get into the newest episode of the Empty Netters podcast, we've got to hear from our incredible sponsors, Shift, Hockey. Guys, we've talked about this. Shift, and the guys at Shift are on a mission to save you from insane prices in the hockey stick game. This is an issue that every single hockey player, every single hockey parent, every single hockey family deals with, sticks are out of control. You go to buy a new twig these days.
Starting point is 00:00:23 Your kids are getting better. You yourself are getting better. You need one of those top-of-the-line sticks. They cost $350. It's insane. time you break it, you break the bank. We're putting an end to that with shift hockey. These guys went out and they found the best suppliers,
Starting point is 00:00:36 the best equipment, the best materials possible, the same stuff that those top of the line sticks use, and they're making a elite top-of-the-line twig for half the price. These things cost 150 to 170 bucks, and they perform exactly like the best stick you've ever used. You've got to get on board with this because it is a total game changer. My friends from home are using them.
Starting point is 00:00:58 our high school team that we're up with is using them. Our beer league team is using them. A lot of listeners play with us. Here, you see me. I'm using it. I'm not lying. I'm using the stick. Everyone's using it.
Starting point is 00:01:08 They're all saving money. Save some money. Yeah, truly. Like we say, this is one of those things that we love doing an ad read for because we actually believe in it. We actually use it. Shift hockey is amazing. They're saving so much money for you.
Starting point is 00:01:19 And with our promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S when you go to shifthockey. Hockey.com slash netters. That's going to save you an extra 10%. So guys, like we said, if you play hockey, if someone in your family plays hockey, if you were a parent, stop spending almost 400 bucks for these Bauer CCM warrior true blah, blah, blah, sticks. Go get a shift hockey stick. It's going to work just the same and you're going to save half the price and look sick using it because it's got a sleek design thing is awesome. No brainer, shift hockey. Okay.
Starting point is 00:01:56 New episode of the Empty Naders podcast. We've got our new empty netters jersey on. We got three sick announcements, I would say. We've got our new empty netters jerseys on. And I would like to say, Emily is shaking her head at me. But, I mean, there's so many announcements going on. We got an Emily camp. Yes, we do.
Starting point is 00:02:15 Producer Emily Camp, all the creepazzoids out there finally get to see what Emily looks like. Her voice is so hot. Oh, my God. Oh, my God. Now I'm going to be like the most annoying because you can pair it to a face now. It's going to be great. We have an Emily cam now. Next thing you know, they're going to be like, when can we get an Emily foot cam?
Starting point is 00:02:32 Yeah. You know that that's coming. Sign up for my only fans. It is, just kidding, I don't have one. I was like, this is, that was too real. Are you worried? Oh, yeah. Are you worried just because I feel like book characters are always hotter in my mind.
Starting point is 00:02:50 Like when I'm reading a novel and there's a girl in it, I'm like, wow, she's amazing. Because I never see her. Are you worried that you're going to have the book character paradox happened to you? Yeah, I feel like I'm definitely going to like let some people down. But you're also going to build some people up. Some people are going to get pumped. Yeah. Because now you're going to get tagged in all these clips.
Starting point is 00:03:12 Yeah, well, that's like the one thing that was bothering me is that you could hear my voice and everyone was commenting like, why aren't you showing this person? It's like, do you understand what a producer is? They're not always on the camera. Like they're not the host of the podcast. It's not about them. But I do understand when they do talk. Yeah. And it's not like I'm, I always worry about talking too much, but you guys want to talk to me.
Starting point is 00:03:32 Yeah, whatever. I also think we're going to get a little boost here because everyone's going to be like, damn, those guys stay focused on hockey for an hour and a half when you're sitting next to this smoke the whole time. Emily is right there. How are you guys talking about hockey? I think I deserve a cut of the podcast now. All right. You haven't been getting a cut?
Starting point is 00:03:50 No. Oh, wow. No, I do get paid full-time salary. Oh, that's nice. That does count. That's nice. that. All right, I want to get ahead of the people who are going to say, but Dan, I thought you said wearing custom jerseys is for fucking knobheads. You're not getting ahead of it because I already said it to you.
Starting point is 00:04:06 No, no, no, no, no, no, I'm getting ahead of it. To that, I'd say you're right. That's why I'm not leaving the studio. This jersey is so fire. Shout out men's league sweaters, hooking it up. But you will never see me wearing this outside of this studio or on the ice. Or to bed? Or while we're playing. Am, are you a, do you subscribe to like the big t-shirt game going to sleep? Yes, but I would not wear that to sleep. Why not? I just don't think that that says comfortable is a big oversized cotton t-shirt.
Starting point is 00:04:43 But what if you put it on, you were like, well, this is comfy as hell? It wouldn't be. A girl. And I wish I had played in the NFL. No, I'm here. I would not be comfortable to sleep. bad. A girl coming into
Starting point is 00:04:56 my bedroom wearing only my jersey is got to be the coolest thing I've ever heard. But if I'd played higher level of- You went arrogant there with the Your jersey. I think it would have been better if it was like a Sydney Crosby jersey. Actually, I would like that, but I feel like
Starting point is 00:05:13 some people wouldn't. Yeah, you were talking about a you scenario. Yeah, I would like a Cid jersey. There you go. Also, Dan, I'd say... If he ever get Cid on this podcast, he's going to leave in 10 minutes because he's going to like this guy's a fucking weirdo. This guy's obsessed with me. It's really gross. Dan, I also want to say your biggest complaints were always a custom jersey with your name and number on. And you didn't do that. I don't. Look, hey everyone. Little Mystery Alaska love. For people who don't know,
Starting point is 00:05:46 that's John Bivie from Mystery Alaska, aka Russell Crow. Great movie. A lot of people in the office haven't seen that movie. Oh yeah, that's crazy. I could not believe it. So we got to change that. There was actually a lot of Mystery Alaska support. We did Winter Classic Man on the Street asking favorite hockey movie and it was obviously miracle and ducks and a lot of mystery Alaska love in the comments tons um I decided to go Ralph Cox 14 when I opened it I was like sick fucking call Dan ask me why I like to wear men's league sweaters before we move on CP why do you like to wear men's league sweaters isn't it isn't it obvious for the for the girls god I hate you so much love me some Ralph Cox
Starting point is 00:06:32 But that was a good Ralph Cox. That's good stuff. Love me some Ralph Cox. All right. Well, we've, other than another announcement, that's all we got, right? Yeah. We got an Emily Cam. We got New Jersey's.
Starting point is 00:06:44 Let's get into our regular stuff. Let's get into some hot ice. Let's talk some hockey. But I'm also going to take the sweater off because I'm sweating. I'm going to leave mine on because I love it. You're only taking it off because you know you're being a fraud. I'm not being a fraud. I'm not walking.
Starting point is 00:06:57 My whole thing is not wearing them at games. If you wear it, I've said on a ski mountain is okay. if you've got it like at home or framed and I've also said like movie references are fun the people who have the Chicago Blackhawks Clark Griswold jersey I'm like that's funny yeah but if you've got your fucking name on the back
Starting point is 00:07:14 no offense Andy but if you get your own name on the back I'm like that's pretty lame That's so typical Andy Yeah but also it's like a company sweater So I get white that's fine I'm not a fraud You are a fraud
Starting point is 00:07:27 I think he's only taking it off because he likes looking hot And you don't hot in a bag of shirt I look fucking sick in this. Okay. I'm genuinely sweating. Are my armpits sweat too much? Some might say? Were you about to gag, Emily?
Starting point is 00:07:41 No, I was going to say that Dan has already been sweating today. He's been crying today. Oh, you missed his little cry session. Oh, I did. Dude, I put way too hot of hot sauce on my food today. That'll get you. Yeah. I'd put the last dab all over my food.
Starting point is 00:07:57 Oh, shit. Yeah. Dude, we kind of pushed through all the other ones, and I've been, like, I go to the cabinet and there's only that one left and DeBom, obviously, but I'm like, I kind of don't want to wreck my entire meal with this, but I'm sad to hear you did.
Starting point is 00:08:11 I didn't. Okay, Dan's got a sweater off, mine's on, we're getting into some scorching hot ice. Dan needed to take it off for hot ice because he would have got too hot. Also, I think it looks a little dorky when the both of us. No, it looks sick.
Starting point is 00:08:25 The clips were going to be awesome. You guys are like cute little twins. They'll be a good. Stop it. Stop that. Okay. Let's get into some hot ice. I want to talk about the Bruins going for the record. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:08:38 We talked about it on a previous pod and what their mental headspace is. And I know it's exactly the same. I do think they want it, though. Like they're like, I don't care. I don't care. But I think they're like, do you? Yeah. Yeah, I can't tell.
Starting point is 00:08:52 These are those funny things where it's like the Bruins are on a crazy heater. They are definitely winning the president's trophy. That record is for. sure in the ether. It's being talked about all the time. We've got interviews with Marshand talking about it, Clifton, McAvoy. They know it. They know it's a thing. They've said all the right things all season. They've been like, we don't care about that. We care about playing well, bell to bell. We want to make sure that we go into the playoffs, stay hot. We're focused on game to game week to week. That stuff doesn't matter to us. And I genuinely believe that. Because
Starting point is 00:09:24 here's the deal. If they lose the next three games, what is it now? They needed to win six and nine. they just lost to the Preds. So now they need to win six and eight. They have to go six and two in the last eight games. Very doable. They've been on that pace all season. If they will lose the next
Starting point is 00:09:41 two games or three games, let's call it, they go on a three game losing streak and the record is over, I do not think they will care at all. I think they'll be like this, ah, shit. But they'll be like, whatever dude. You have to the playoffs and keep playing well. And I would actually be happy
Starting point is 00:09:54 because as a fan, because I'm like, I don't even want it. I don't give a fuck about this. Honestly, to me, they tied, and they're going to break, they tied the Bruins record. Yeah. They have 57 wins that's the most the Bruins have ever had. I think, frankly, that is, it's obviously not cooler than the all-time record, but I think that is a good one that they're like, nice.
Starting point is 00:10:16 We got that. We're the best Bruins team ever. Let's go on. Yeah, I remember, I think you're right mostly. I remember when the Pats went undefeated, Teddy Bruske gave an interview where he was like, honestly, we weren't nervous all year about it. except for that last game. So I do think if the B's going to, you know, game 82 with like 61, so a chance to tie or a chance to win, I think that last game that might be like, I really hope we win this game.
Starting point is 00:10:38 Yeah. You know, I remember even when McWawe was on and they hadn't lost at home yet in regulation? And they had that crazy Buffalo game where they came back like right before the Christmas break, like way before the winter classic. And he was like, yeah, dude, in the locker and we were like, it would be sick to get out of 2022 without losing at home in regulation. You know, so like I do think when you get to the last, the last game hurdle, it's in your head a little bit. But right now I think they're just cruising. They just trying to win hockey games. I think my dream is they tie it.
Starting point is 00:11:07 I'm like, okay, we also got 62. That's awesome. You can always hang your head on that. There's not the pressure of like, they won 60 fucking five games. Yeah. Or whatever. I think that's a cool call. It's like tying it would be sick.
Starting point is 00:11:18 But, but yeah, like that's a huge thing. Obviously, anytime there's something chasing history, cool stuff that we want to stay on top of. And yeah, we'll. see. I mean, like we said, six and two in your last eight, very, very doable for this team. So, we'll be on the watch for that. Yep. Okay, another little bit of history. Connor, going for seven, I guess not history, but I'd like to see it. Going for 70. We had both said earlier that he was, I was like, I bet he doesn't. Yeah. It's down to he needs 10 in his last seven, I think. Or seven. Yeah, because they played last night. He needs 10 in his last seven games. He could do it. I know he could,
Starting point is 00:11:54 but I'm now on the no side. Yeah, me too. Me too, me too. I think. I think. I think. I I think it's, I think it's, uh, the next three games will tell a lot. If he has over a goal per game in the next three games, I'm back, I'm back on Hot Watch. I think it could happen. But yeah, if he gets, you know, two and three here, it's over, I think. Um, yes, no one can go as nuclear as he might. Yeah. But yeah. What's your call on his final tally? I think he's going to finish with 67 goals. Oh, shit. Okay. I think I was going to say like, 63. Oh, you think he's going to way cool off? Yeah. I just don't, I think it would be kind of lame
Starting point is 00:12:34 if he hit 60 and then it was just like, yeah, I scored three in my last 12th. So funny, you just said that because I was about to say, I think he's going to be like, no, dude, I'm scoring more. I was right about to say,
Starting point is 00:12:44 somehow it would be the lamest 63 goals I've ever seen. Like, I'd be like, what, dude? I think that's right. Which is so rude, but I'm literally like, dude, 63, come on. Think about this.
Starting point is 00:12:56 It is, we are sitting here saying that a man, scoring 63 goals in the NHL is pathetic and I stand by it. Yeah. If you hit 60 like you just did, Connor, and then you score a measly three goals in the next like 12 games when you had a shot at 70, he's goalless in his last three.
Starting point is 00:13:13 Yeah, it's weak, dude. It's a weak sauce. I wonder how many games... That's a tough lookup for Emily, but I wonder how many games... He needed to score 10 in like 13. I wonder how many times this year. Like, what's the most amount of games in a row he's gone without scoring a goal this year? Oh my God.
Starting point is 00:13:28 Yeah, that must be so... Emily, Emily could figure that out quickly. That might be a tough look up. And do you want to do that? Look up Connor McDavid's stats, and then on NHL.com, you'll be able to find a drop-down that's like the game by games
Starting point is 00:13:41 and just scroll down and see how many times in a row there's been zero goals because I bet it's less than three. Okay. The longest stretch of zeros is four, and it's from February 12th.
Starting point is 00:13:58 February 15th, February 17th, and February 19th. So he's got that four, and then in October. Oh, actually, in November, too. In November, he went three games in a row. There's a lot of threes, yeah. But not that many, right? October once, November once. And then...
Starting point is 00:14:15 And then... And then now, right? Yeah. So that's it. Those are his longest. Those are... He's had four extreme, air quotes, droughts this year. So he's got a three game in a row in October, a three games.
Starting point is 00:14:28 game in a row in November, four game in a row in February, and then this three game in a row now. Those are his only droughts at all. Okay, so the longest he's gone all season is four games in a row. Yeah, so he's extremely due right now. But to your point, I think... Isn't that so funny? Because I hear that and I'm like, even as insane as it is, I'm like, damn, Connor didn't score four games in a row. That's cold. That's how good he is. He's been so good this year that I'm like, that's like bad. When I check and dude, they played, can you see the Oilers stats, M, like, who they played recently. They beat the breaks off somebody the other night, like 7-4, and he didn't score.
Starting point is 00:15:04 And every time I'm looking at their box score and they have seven goals and he doesn't have one, I'm like, what the fuck possibly happened? It's crazy. I agree. But to your point, unless he goes on another, they have seven games left. Unless he goes on another three or four game drought, which feels impossible that he would string them this together. I agree.
Starting point is 00:15:19 Then you're right. He probably will get like 65, 66. I think it's 67. I think he's going to get 67 goals. That's a goal of game though, bud. He has seven games left. Yeah, but this is what I'm saying, man. In those seven games, he's definitely going to have at least two games where he has a hat-trick or two goals.
Starting point is 00:15:33 I'm guessing two. Yeah, yeah. The multi-goal thing is what really does. I think he's going to have multiple multi-goal games in the next seven. I'm now curious how many games in a row he's ever scored this year. I think it's like five or six. Yeah, that's insane. All right, so Connor, what was it?
Starting point is 00:15:49 10 and 8? 10 and 7. Connor needs 10 goals and seven games to get the 70. We'll see. It's going to be interesting. Boldie. We've got to talk about, dude. Talk about hot ice.
Starting point is 00:15:58 we should have led with this guy. Matt Boldy is hot as fuck. It's crazy. It's unbelievable. Matt Boldy, let's see, we wrote this now. He's the fourth U.S.-born player to record three Hatties before the age of 22,
Starting point is 00:16:09 joining Jimmy Carson, Alex DeBrinke, and the legend, Jeremy Ronick himself. Matt Boldy, I think it is. Can you look this up for me? I think he has 59 points right now. I'm going to check right now. Matt Boldie is having one of the quietest, very, very good seasons. seasons we've seen in a long time for a 21-year-old child. Yeah, you're right. 57 points.
Starting point is 00:16:34 57 points. 28 tucks. That's good. That's more than I thought. But he does have like, dude, literally three, six, eight, nine goals in his last five. Yeah. So like he, a week ago, he had 19 tucks. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:16:49 Which is like fine, but I'm like, it's pretty good soon. And now he's like, uh, fuck you. I'm going to score 30. I'm going to score 30. Yeah. Like, that's crazy. Matt Boldie, Milford Native, went to BC. Yes, sir.
Starting point is 00:16:59 He, for some reason when he came into the league, he jumped on the wild. He was playing well. Wild fans loved him, still love him. And there's something culty about Boldy. And in my mind, I was always like, oh, Boldy. What a cool, low draft pick type of guy who just came in here and he's playing great. But he's like, he's a top 15 pick. He's 12th overall.
Starting point is 00:17:19 Yeah, he's a 12th overall. He is a elite player at 21 years old. He's going to get over 60 points. probably 30 goals this season. And it's weird that we're surprised by it, but good God, the kid is hot as fuck. His last haddy was sick, too. That second one was nice. Regarding that stat you read, Dan, three hadys before 22.
Starting point is 00:17:43 I was like, yeah, that's hard. So I get that he's full overall, right? DeBring Cat 4, pretty sick, J.R. 4. Jimmy Carson 7. Yeah, but when did Jimmy Carson play? Dude, not that long ago. Was he an early 70s guy? Hold on. No, dude, I don't think so. Maybe.
Starting point is 00:17:58 Either way, he's shooting on stand-up goalies. This guy could lift the puck before everyone else. That's what happened. Dude, no. So Jimmy Carson from Michigan, drafted in the first round second overall in the 86 draft. Okay, yeah, that's not that long ago. So he was playing in the 90s. Yeah, and he was 18 and he was nasty. So he had, you know, several years before he turned 22, which is part of the stat. But seven haddies before you're 22. Good stuff, dude.
Starting point is 00:18:26 Let's go Jimmy. That's unreal. All right, well, stick taps to your boy, Matt Boldie, because that is red hot, and you love to see a Massachusetts native. Yeah. Yeah. Native doing that kind of stuff. Talk to me about your boy Michael Posetta. Okay, so everyone's seen this by now, I'm sure.
Starting point is 00:18:45 But he hit the shootout winner against the Sabres. Sorry, bro. Tough loss for Buffalo. But he hit everyone with the Tiger Williams. He's riding his stick. And he's doing it. He's not just riding his stick. like he's not doing the happy Gilmore doing the bull dance he's riding the stick and doing
Starting point is 00:18:59 exact mimic okay I'm sure they talk I'm sure he talked about this pregame my question is well I guess my first question is cool or uncool to you know do honor that sally I say cool for sure I'm like yeah fuck yeah shootout winner yeah all day have some fun my second more important question do we need more extravagant sallies in the NHL like should it become like an end zone dance no absolutely not. In my opinion. Why? And that's not a no fun league take. Yeah, like that's, it sounds like it sounds like you're having no fun. I know, I know, I know. My thing here is, I love I love an extravagant sally. I love the Tim Mussolani shotgun. I love
Starting point is 00:19:39 Mark Savar tossing a stick over the glass. I love Michael Posetta riding the ball. Doing the dance. Yeah, I like it. That said, I think emotional sellies are so much cooler. When guys are losing their minds, up on one leg, fist pumping, grabbing some ice, stuff like that. It's just so, there's so much passion in it. I love it. So I do not think we need to go to all the time, extravagant ones.
Starting point is 00:20:09 But every now and that, because here's the deal, dude. If you, if you do a sally that is so over the top, you are riding your stick, you're shooting your glove out of the air. In the middle of a game, you deserve to get your face bashed in. that's not one of the things that I've talked about where if you get a big hit I hate that one because that is a good play yep an extravagant sally like that is not a good play that is you being flashy and and that's cool but you gotta do that on a winner if it's a game winner
Starting point is 00:20:39 fine I don't want it all the time but I'm cool with it on a shootout winner an o t winner yes you can extravagancelli again not every single time can I push back here a little bit on this go for it you sound like right now because the counter take is then stop me dude because right now you sound like when someone goes yard in a baseball game and it's not the game winning home run in the bottom of the night but someone goes yard and they fucking bat flip and then you're saying bean them next time because they're like
Starting point is 00:21:08 that wasn't a game winner it was just the middle it was the fifth inning homer and I'm like dude I just took your ass to the fifth deck I'm gonna bat flip I don't give a shit if you don't want me to bat flip then don't throw me a fucking hanging curveball you know like I like that they bat flip and I hate when teams like throw at him next time and I'm like why, dude? So you're like, if I score a goal in the NHL and I go fucking riding the bull and then you're like bash his face and I'm like, fuck that dude. Stop me next time. Okay. Like that take a lot.
Starting point is 00:21:37 That is fair. My response is if you do that, it then turns into a shit show because you selly like a dickhead and then I bury one in your face and I skate by the bench and I fucking bird you or like I do a sally to make fun of you and then it turns into the WWA and I don't want that it would take a transition period but I just wish I would just wish it was more normal
Starting point is 00:21:59 like I think you you see that in college like the college kids because they're just fucking teenager, disagree completely disagree and I'm sorry this isn't a disagreement you are wrong
Starting point is 00:22:08 because what you're saying is you're saying what I said I like those kids aren't being fucking douchebags they're celebrating with passion like jumping into the glass is not an extravagant lame sally. That's just, that's just, I'm having a blast. I just tucked a dope goal. I'm going to,
Starting point is 00:22:26 you know, drag a leg, drag some ice, big, big sally. Those are sick. Those are sellies. Like, I'm down with sallies. There's a difference between a guy like, you know, David Craichie or Jonathan Taves, who's scoring, they just kind of like fist bump. Yeah. And then a guy, like, Patrick Kane, who winds up a huge fist bump, and that is sick. Those aren't annoying extravagant sallies. And these kids in college are doing the Patrick Kane. They're doing the OV jumping into the glass. They're not doing, throwing your glove up in the air or riding your stick or doing the bobsled or something like that. If they were doing that, then I'd be like, okay, but they're not doing that.
Starting point is 00:23:02 And I'm telling you, if everyone starts doing that, it turns into the WD. No, you're right. Sorry, we're more on the same page than I thought. Because I'm not advocating for everyone doing the bobsled riding their stick. Like, I don't care about it. But I do, I do just wish it was more of, like, the huge windmill fist pump. Like, I get mad at crate you. I'm like, fucking go nuts, dude.
Starting point is 00:23:20 Yeah, I think now that we've found common ground here, I agree, I love that stuff. I don't think there's a lack of it as much as you think. Yeah, maybe not. Like, I think, you know, we watch these top 15 goals of the week videos every year
Starting point is 00:23:32 and almost every single one of them is doing a big, Sally. Yeah, I'll check the date on that. Yeah, I'll check the day. I feel like sometimes your teammates there too quick, so you just kind of get in the thing. And even in those days, I'm like, no, like kind of like Premier League soccer,
Starting point is 00:23:46 like, no, push them out of the way, run, do your thing. and then, like, I wish it was more like that. I would say six to seven goals out of ten. Guys are doing some form of huge fist bump bumping the glass or something like that. But I'm with you. Let's turn that up to seven. A little bit.
Starting point is 00:24:02 Seven to eight. Okay. We'll leave the cratesies in there for this little fist bump. Hey, good job. Good deal. All right. We've got to move on to a couple other things before we move on here. One that I want to talk about.
Starting point is 00:24:12 A couple more stick taps. Clayton Keller. It's on a 13-game point streak. one of the craziest quietest pushing 90-point seasons I've seen in a long time that kid and it's not like this is a surprise he was sick at BU since he got into the league but he is a fucking stud yeah NHL All-Star he is just a little
Starting point is 00:24:31 waterbug out there finds ways to score every which way possible but I'm here to say this they gotta tell him to cool off Coyote's fans you are not getting Connor Bardard and you have one human being on this earth to blame for that. And his name is Clayton Keller.
Starting point is 00:24:49 Clayton Keller is the reason that the Arizona coyotes do not have a shot at Connor Bardard. If you look at the standings right now, pull those up, look at the standings right now, and you look at the bottom teams, I think it's San Jose, Columbus, and then after that it's like Anaheim, Montreal, well, something like that.
Starting point is 00:25:07 It's Columbus now. Okay. But they have an extra game, not that it should matter for them, but it's Columbus, 53 points, Black Hawk's 54, Sharks, 50s, Docs 56. Montreal. Montreal 66.
Starting point is 00:25:20 Okay. Coyotes 67. Like, the coyotes having 67 points is just preposterous. You have no business winning this many games. Like Clayton Keller, I get it. But maybe toss one in your own net, dude. So you've got a chance at Connor Bardard because right now, you're not even getting a chance at Fantilli. Like, you're going to get a great player, but there are two certified studs on the board.
Starting point is 00:25:45 and you're not sniffing either because Clayton Keller's gone nuclear. That's what I was going to say, dude, I'm so anti-tanking. Well, I was going to say, I'm anti-tanking. I'm not. Do whatever you're going to do. But rarely is it such a, theoretically, such a generational talent or such a top-heavy draft. And on those years, you kind of just got a tank, dude. You do. I don't know what to tell you.
Starting point is 00:26:06 I know they're professionals and, you know, those guys want to go and play well and score goals. And a lot of those guys maybe not are going to be a part of a future, you know, like guys are playing for contracts elsewhere. I get it, I get it. But the Clayton's of the world that you're building around, you've got to be like, dude, stop, stop. Just stop it.
Starting point is 00:26:23 It's unbelievable. All right, do you want to do this Pecorana thing? Yeah, I do, because I just want to ask something real quick. So Pecorana got a statue outside of Bridgetown this week. I don't know if you saw it. Big year for statues. Yeah, okay, so this is kind of what I want to talk. I want to have two things to say to you.
Starting point is 00:26:36 One, and this is from the article I was reading. Rene 40 is considered the most impactful player in franchise history. He was chosen in the eighth round, 2508th. overall of the 2004 draft. He played each of his 15 seasons with the Predators. Renee's leader in nearly every goalie category, including games played, wins, goals against average, saves and shutouts. He was a four-time Vesden Trophy finalist as the top goal in the NHL and won the award in the 2017-2018 season. Okay? So pause, here's my first question. Is that statue worthy? Absolutely. Really? Absolutely.
Starting point is 00:27:12 The number retired, one billion percent. Put it in the rafter. fucking today. Braun's statue? Absolutely. Go on. Let me tell you why. And I love him, by the way. I'm not chirping.
Starting point is 00:27:23 And I'm super happy for him. And he's actually had comments in this article being like, this is ridiculous. I don't want to miss that. You know, he's so sick that it's there, but I don't deserve this. But go on. That right there, dude.
Starting point is 00:27:32 Yeah. That's why he deserves it. Fucking love that answer, dude. Cut. Cut here to the scene in Gladiator when Marksarelius asks Maximus to be emperor. And he goes, do you accept this great offer?
Starting point is 00:27:47 And Maximus goes, with all my heart, no. Yeah. And Marcus goes, that is why it must be you. Wow. A man who doesn't think he deserves a statue, who has all those accolades, deserves statue. And I also think this, this is my actual real reason. I love how Nashville is becoming a hockey town.
Starting point is 00:28:05 It really is fucking all these guys are retiring there. They're playing at the troupe. We've got a great culture down there. People love the team, filling up Bridgetstone all the time. If you want to become a hockey town, you need hockey history. And without things like busts, without things like numbers retired,
Starting point is 00:28:22 you have no history. They don't have a cup yet. So you've got to build the history somewhere else. And when you look at a young, new franchise like the Nashville Predators, you've got to go, who's the greatest predator of all time? It's Pecker-Renny.
Starting point is 00:28:35 And he's 40 years old, you just said. Like, that is young, but at the same time, history has to start somewhere. And there's, if you want to build a great fan base, if you want to have people come to Nashville and have locals, be like, dude, you got to come to Bridgetown.
Starting point is 00:28:48 It's so much fun. This team is awesome. We love the Preds here. You've got to show the city and the culture that they do love it there and that there's stuff. When you go to Bridgetown, you want to go, whoa, dude, look at that statue. That's cool. Who is that? You want to go in there and see numbers in the rafters.
Starting point is 00:29:03 You want to feel the vibes. It's like, obviously Pecorene is not on the level that Bobby Orr is. Yeah. But when you go to TD Garden and that statue of Bobby Orr is out front, you are immediately in a hockey mindset. Yeah, hell, you're like the thing. is sick. So I like that the Preds are like, dude, we're a hockey, or the Nashville's like, we are a hockey town. We love the Preds here. We want people to come Bridgestone and be like, and feel that
Starting point is 00:29:26 energy. And I think a statue helps. Yep. The, um, my fear. It's the, it's the, it's the, you got to start somewhere. Yeah, right. My fear is like, that's the bar now. No, no, no, no, no, no, no. Like, he is, someone has to pave the road, dude. It's like, we talk about this all the time, that the Selkei trophy should be changed to the Bergeron trophy. You had to make the trophy. You had to make the trophy after someone. Yeah. It doesn't matter if people surpass them. Records are made to be broken.
Starting point is 00:29:50 And there is no planet where down the line, the Nashville predators in 50, 70, 100 years are a franchise and they've got other statues out there. They've got more banners and more numbers are there up there. There's no world where someone goes, Peca René does not belong here. They go, Peca René started at all, dude. Yep. Okay. I support this.
Starting point is 00:30:11 That's that. Second question. Have you seen it? The statue? Yeah, it's kind of weird looking. It's like, grainy. Well, yeah, but I also mean it's just like, it's him with his mask up and is just holding a stick in the air. And I was like, what is this?
Starting point is 00:30:24 And then I read that it is the pose, it's modeled after the pose he struck after his last game, ever, when he recorded his 60th NHL shutout, making 30 saves in a five, nothing went against the hurricanes. Sick. I'm glad that that happened in his last game. Great. But, and obviously Bobby Orr, which you brought up earlier, has like, you know, an iconically sick thing that you can make a statue. but if it were me and I was Pecca, I think I would rather it be like... A sick save.
Starting point is 00:30:50 Yeah, like just two pad jammer. Yeah. Or like a sick of glove savers. Yeah, like a massive flying blocker. Like I just think my statue would be sicker if it was him doing, making an epic save that instead of just waving at the crowd. I'm picking nits here, but I don't think...
Starting point is 00:31:03 No, dude, you are so correct, man. I think if ever some person, organization building was stupid. enough to make a statue of me. And it was just you standing there waving? No, no, no. I'm saying I would be there while that sculptor was making that statue the entire time.
Starting point is 00:31:24 Yeah. I would have final cut on whatever it is. There's that James Corden bit with David Beckham where they make a statue of him. And it's like, they joke around and make it look awful. And they show Beckham at the unveiling and he's like, what the fuck am I looking at? And I think it's the most honest reaction
Starting point is 00:31:39 about all time because I'm like, yeah, I would be appalled as well. And I just think it's insane that that's what they landed on. It's crazy. And again, sick. It was his last game and I get it and all that stuff. But just take a save from that game. I don't know. We got the final four, or excuse me, the Frozen Four set. We got Minnesota versus BU, Michigan versus Quinipiac. You got anything to say about this? And then what do you, who do you have going to the final and who do you have winning? Okay, all I have to say is a couple fucking blowouts on the way here. Oh, man. This has been the wildest tournament ever. I think.
Starting point is 00:32:13 think there haven't been that many upsets. There's been, it's been borderline chalk across the board, but blowouts. Michigan pounded the shit out of Colgate 11 to 1. Penn State won 8-0. Minnesota has steamrolled their way to this Frozen 4. It's crazy. Big Denver loss. That was a shock. Harvard law. Harvard's nasty this year. Harvard lost 8-1 to Ohio State. I'm like, Ohio State's good this year too, but I was like, what the fuck is going on? No, that was nuts. But otherwise, you said it, it's four of the top five teams. And from the final rankings, four of the top five teams from the Frozen Four, Denver being the only out, BU in. I would say Minnesota looks nasty.
Starting point is 00:32:51 Quinnipiac looks quite good too. BU's got some strong wins, by the way. Yeah, they're not quite Cornell, but they're good, Cornell's a good team. That was a good win. The finals, the whole Frozen Fours in Tampa, I'm not sure that favors anybody. Nope. As much as I would love to pick BU, I'm going to go Minnesota in the semi over them. Minnesota is so good.
Starting point is 00:33:10 They're too good. Them not going to the final would shock me. and then I'm actually going to take the upset, because Michigan's the three, over QU. It's a, that one's a tough one, though, because I think QU might be the better team. But I'm a strong believer in when teams can't quite get it done one year when they should have, that motivation is hard to bottle up for other teams. They're hard to recreate with other teams. So I think Michigan has a really sour taste in their mouth from last year.
Starting point is 00:33:37 So I'll take them there. But then I think I've got to go mini in the final. So I, wow, I thought we were going to be lined up. I completely agree. Minnesota's too good. I love B.U. I love the mojo they got, but Minnesota's a wagon. I've got them.
Starting point is 00:33:50 I've got Michigan for exactly the reasons you said, and I think Michigan's going to ride that in. And I think Minnesota is going to be too jittery because they've pounded everyone. And then they're going to come in in Michigan on the back of Luke Hughes and Fantilli are going to win. I mean, because Van Tilly's the leading score in the fucking nation. And that's a weapon. I was looking at the top scores. And Quinnip, they have Colin Graham. They have Colin Graff, who's, who's, like, fourth.
Starting point is 00:34:14 Yeah. But that's, I mean, they got good players. Don't get me wrong. There's a senior who's a point per game, whatever. No, they're spreading it. But he's like the guy, dude. And he, of the top 11 scores, Michigan's got two, Minnesota's got two, B.U's got two. But Quinnipak's the only team with one guy in there.
Starting point is 00:34:29 And that's just a lot on his shoulder. So, go blue. All right, a piece of news that broke a couple weeks ago, what happened to your outfit? Did you change clothes? I've been haven't I been wearing this the whole time? No we had you had a jersey on but I had a sweater on
Starting point is 00:34:49 you had a jersey on no but I had a white hat on what the heck is happening Emily what are you wearing you guys are the most grinch people I know
Starting point is 00:35:01 well for those of you and we had a little technical error so we had to do a little redo and we've got different outfits on okay but actually A couple weeks ago, some news broke in the NHL and the old jersey department. Topical, we were wearing jerseys. Now you're not.
Starting point is 00:35:20 Now we're not. NHL struck a new 10-year deal with fanatics for the official game jerseys that every player in the league will be wearing. They'll be literally, they'll be departing their deal with Adidas, which I'm so bummed about. I remember when the Adidas deal happened. There were a couple of people that were like, Edas and hockey, what? And the jerseys are fucking sick. Now, there's an element of this that's going to be interesting
Starting point is 00:35:50 because starting in 2024-25 season for the next 10 years, every player will be wearing a fanatics jersey. This is interesting for a couple of reasons, I think, because one, it'll be like the players on the ice are just like us in the stands. Yeah. wearing shitty ass knock-off jerseys.
Starting point is 00:36:10 And two, there's going to be an element of sex added to the game because after about like three or four games, these jerseys will literally be tearing and falling off of all the players. Because I imagine Fanatics makes their jerseys with like sewn together grass, straw, some glue, scotch tape, things like that. And that's just not going to last an 82 game season. Where do you stand on this? we had the privilege of going to a movie premiere last night
Starting point is 00:36:46 one of the perks of the gig and that movie was air why are you looking at me like that I'm trying because I'm like what the fuck is happening right now but okay and it's about Nike signing Michael Jordan to a shoe contract rookie North Carolina Michael Jordan and at the time Nike made absolutely trash basketball shoes.
Starting point is 00:37:10 They had a tiny portion of the percentage of players. Everyone's wearing Converse. Everyone else was wearing Adidas. And you, I think, really enjoyed the film. I liked the film a lot too. And it was just such a cool story about how they just needed a chance. Nike just needed a chance. They believed in Michael.
Starting point is 00:37:35 And I thank Dan that a jersey is just a jersey until someone puts it on. And maybe, what would you say, Dan, if you heard later that fanatics went into the NHL office and pitched their fucking heart and soul out and said, look at this. Look what we're going to do to the jerseys. I know that no one thinks we're cool. I know that we have a tiny percentage of the market share. But I'm telling you, we can take the NHL jerseys to the next level because we believe
Starting point is 00:38:01 in this sport. We think it should be bigger than basketball, bigger than the NFL. And it will in the next few years. you let us teach everyone to fly. Maybe they have, maybe they've already created some sort of mockup. Mock up for the jerseys. And I don't think that they would like approve it if it wasn't absolutely fire. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:38:27 So just all I'm saying, I don't know that they did that. I'm just saying, what if we hear a story that they came in with this incredible pitch and said, look what we can do. We just needed the chance. I know we're small. I know no one. Everyone wants to go to Adidas because they've got all the money, but we can do something special. What would you say? Listen, I loved that impassioned pitch and speech on behalf of fanatics. I think what I'll say is my problem here is fanatics isn't, it's not a sports company. It's a fan. It's literally called fanatics. because they go, we make t-shirts and jerseys and hats for you fans to wear to support your teams. Obviously, Nike, Adidas, Reebok, what have you, does that as well.
Starting point is 00:39:20 But I look at a guy in a professional sport wearing a jersey and I see a Nike swoosh on there or the Adidas stripes or the Puma. and I go, this all makes sense. You are the type of company that could sponsor a professional jersey. When I, in two years, watched guys on the Kings, the Avalanche, the Wild, the lightning, etc., etc., skating around with that fanatics logo on the back of their jersey, looking like every average Joe dickhead, I'm like, what have we done anyway? show. I want to look it up. Are we down so bad? We're
Starting point is 00:40:08 not down. You're with me, Emily. This is not a good look. I agree. I'm just a little too distracted by the fact that you guys went to a movie premiere last night and didn't invite me, so. It was not something that I'm allowed to bring to you. We can't keep messing up like this.
Starting point is 00:40:24 Okay, here's a question. No, I'm not done. Oh. Please, go on. I like the angle. I like the air angle here. that it's like all they needed was a shot. Fanatics just needed a shot to get their foot in the door. Honest to God, man, fanatics to me isn't,
Starting point is 00:40:44 they don't, you don't get a shot. You don't get to have the ball put like to your hand. Okay, okay, Adidas, no problem. We just bully all the little guys out of here. But that's the thing. It's like, I'm trying to think of a, of a different company. I mean, Warrior, for example, I feel like if Warrior got the official jerseys, if True got the official jerseys,
Starting point is 00:41:12 it would be a surprise. People would be like, whoa, that's, I didn't see that coming. But with that, I'd at least be like, yeah, good. That is a, they were in the game. You're in the game. You're a, you're a hockey company. You, you have, I mean, and Adidas doesn't make anything hockey other than the jersey, but at least they're a sports company. There are sportswear company. Fanatics, and I, I, I, I, appreciate and respect fanatics for what they are, but what they are is a fan company. They make apparel for fans to support teams, not for players to wear jerseys. I just think every time we see fanatics on the back of these NHL jerseys, we're going to laugh our asses off. And it's going to look so dumb. And it's just in a time where the
Starting point is 00:41:55 NHL is cooler than ever, hotter than ever, and getting more popular with fans and more electric. The last thing that they should be doing is going, yeah, Fanatics is our official jersey sponsor. For a decade. Yeah. It's fucking mental. Okay. The parts of the argument I agree with you are
Starting point is 00:42:17 because if it would have been warrior or true, that's an even better air comp. Because Nike, even though I just kind of clown their basketball department and everything I know about it I know from the fucking movie, so I'm no expert. But they were in the sphere. They were trying to have a basketball department. I know they were really small, but like at least they had something. So yeah, true is a better comp than fanatics in that regard. What I was going to ask you,
Starting point is 00:42:41 though, is like you just said, Adidas doesn't really make hockey stuff. They make sports stuff, right? So everyone's like, cool, Adidas, sports, sports, cool, Adidas jerseys, all good. Did did you just make jerseys for other sports? Fine. I'm curious, and I have a much larger thought, but I'm curious, what if this had been like Lulu Lemon? Or like, a company that makes no sports stuff, but they're like, NHL signs a deal with Lulu Lemon. And I'm like, they make sports good fitting, like, dry fit, shit, sports apparel. All the Jersey is, it's not hockey equipment.
Starting point is 00:43:17 I don't give a fuck if it's a hockey company or not, per Adidas, you know? So I'm like, what if they had signed with Lulu Lemon? How would you feel? Would you be like, get Lulu Lemon off the NHL Jersey? Would you be like, sick? I'd say like stay the fuck in your lane It's like it's like if If Target were to make a designer bag
Starting point is 00:43:34 Or some shit like that Just just do what you do best And stay in your fucking lane Okay so I think most people would say that But don't you think Lulu Lemon is athletic wear? Yeah Lulu Lemon is like athletic wear So you'd be fine with you
Starting point is 00:43:48 But you're not making Lulu Lemon does not make Hockey jerseys They don't make sports jerseys They don't make fan gear for the games. Right, right, but stand the sports stuff. Like, they make athletic.
Starting point is 00:44:02 I like that, okay, I like that take by Emily because Adidas is not in the hockey space, but they make jerseys. Yep. They are, they are one of, if not the biggest soccer jersey sponsor. So them making a jersey was surprising because you're not really a hockey company, but I was like, yeah, you can obviously do this. So, Em, I feel Em's point with the stay in your lane to the Lulu thing, but dead ass dude a million times out of a million i would support if lulu or what is it vorey or
Starting point is 00:44:34 yeah yeah yeah yeah i would i would prefer one of those to be the official nchl sponsor over fanatics okay i think like under armor should have a shake at this before fanatics i think fucking i would rather old navy make the fucking nchel jersey because dude i just i can't get my head around the name Fanatics. It's embarrassing. Dude, I was just meant to say that. Like it's, you're just embarrassing. You're an embarrassing company. I, I, if I went online
Starting point is 00:45:05 and I bought a, a shirt, because we all know I don't wear jerseys. Yeah. If I bought a Bruins T-shirt and it said fucking Fanatics on the back, I'm laughing. I'm like, I would wear it, but I'd be like, I don't like
Starting point is 00:45:21 that this is Fanatics. I wish it was just an Adidas shirt. I wish it was a Reebok shirt. I wish it was a nondescript had nothing on it. I wish it was a knockoff from fucking Cambodia rather than it say fanatics on it. And now every player in the NHL is going to have fanatics on their jersey.
Starting point is 00:45:38 Okay, so, man, I've a lot. I didn't realize how much I had to say about this until now we're talking about it. No, dude. So I think you're right, or I think what you said about Lulu, most people would say, where they're like, oh, I'd rather Lulu than fanatics. That would be swaggy, dude. I think it would be, I mean,
Starting point is 00:45:53 Lulu makes great shit. I think it would be swaggy as hell. But I think in your art, you're, this is a little like counterintuitive because you're basically saying stay in your lane to fanatics, but Lou Lou Lemon is the same in this, it's like, it's in the same, it's the same thing. Like you can't, you can't do something and then just go to a completely different realm and start making fucking hockey jerseys. I, that's why I said.
Starting point is 00:46:19 I kind of feel your plan. I think you're just favoriting Lou Lemon, because you fucking hate fanatics. I am, which I'm fine with. But I think that that's okay to say. It's like... I agree, yeah. I said I kind of feel your point with the stay in your lane. Because I think at some point, we got to let...
Starting point is 00:46:33 I mean, if I said stay in your lane to Warrior, they would not make... Warrior makes amazing hockey shit now. So I'm down with people dabbling. But if you suck at it, get the fuck out. Agreed. Here's the problem. Fanatics, you fucking stink, dude. No, so you're both fucking wrong.
Starting point is 00:46:48 And here's why. Because, yes. Have you ever had a fanatic shirt, dude? Yes. They're trash. Dude. You buy a fanatic shirt. And after three days of wearing it, after one time through the wash, the fucking stitching's coming out.
Starting point is 00:47:00 They shrink five sizes. It's insane. Well, I will give you this. Fanatics, you'd like to sponsor the podcast, so. I'll give you this. Fanatics has one shot at this. Like, if they make jersey. I've got news for you.
Starting point is 00:47:14 They've got 10 years. I've a shot of it. Is this a 10 year thing? It's a 10-year deal. That's why I think it's so mental. If this was like a one or two-year deal, I'd be like, okay, give it a shot. but it's a 10 year deal. They must have something great up their sleep.
Starting point is 00:47:28 Yeah, and there's just no way the NHO doesn't know. So true. I'm like, how did you get this? That's my point. I feel like they wowed them with the pitch. There's no way they're going to fuck it. I know there's been a bunch of funny memes and shit, but there's no way people's jersees are going to be falling off next year.
Starting point is 00:47:39 And they're like, oh, it's bananas. Of course. We've washed it once and it broke. And I'm like, dude, they're fine. You must allow people to venture out of their lanes. I think I get it. But I'm like, no, let them try. And I completely disagree that.
Starting point is 00:47:54 the jersey is anything more than just close. Like it is a shirt. So like, a Lulu company, I'm like, you make shirts. Make this shirt. Listen, man, I don't disagree with any of that. My bigger point here is, there's another element of,
Starting point is 00:48:11 it's not like fanatics can fucking redesign these teams' logos in jersey. Yeah, yeah. They're going to all look the fucking same. Like, there might be teeny differences here and there, but they're all going to look the same. And yes, the actual players' jerseys
Starting point is 00:48:23 are going to be of the highest quality. There is no question about that. I mean, it would be shocking to me if there are just moments where there's like little stitching fall in off. Like one of the spokes on the B falls off. It's like, you know, like all of a sudden, one of the fucking teeth in the Panthers logo is not on. That's not going to happen. What I, where I stand is this is embarrassing.
Starting point is 00:48:48 Okay, so hold on. Yeah, I want to get to that. That is my biggest point and I stand by it because there's no way fanatics was the only company that was pitching to have the official NHL jerseys. So to Emily's point, they must have come with some crazy offer, which is shocking to me that fanatics could outbid someone, or they must have had some crazy idea. Otherwise, we're looking at a situation where the NHL is nickel and diming and they were like, I don't want to pay X amount for Adidas.
Starting point is 00:49:18 I don't want to pay X amount for this or whatever. So here are the two things that it could be, we will probably never know. here are the two things that could have happened that will make me sad. And one is other companies, Adidas, other reputable companies bid, you know, X, right? And then Fanatics bid one-fourth X. And the NHL was like, where cheap motherfuckers just take that one.
Starting point is 00:49:40 Yeah. I hope that didn't happen. I also hope the reverse didn't happen where all the reputable companies bid X and Fanatics went like this. Our product is shit, but we'll give you 5x. And the NHL went like this. Just take the money. I also hope that didn't happen.
Starting point is 00:49:52 I hope it's like the vids were around the same and fanatics wowed them like you guys were saying. I think even though I'm okay with a Lulu getting out of their lane, I let's live in that world where it's like, no, stay in your lane. Because I think Lulu, a Lulu company is objectively cooler quotes than a fanatics. And if you're the NHL and you're getting more and more popular, I'm like, dude, be cool. Take fucking be sponsored by a cool company. God damn it. Well, at least fucking Lulu Lemmon makes good ass quality thing. Hell yeah.
Starting point is 00:50:19 I think that would be so. Yeah, me too. Obviously, or not obviously, but almost certainly that's not in the car. Yeah, right. But man, that would be sick if all of a sudden the NHL unveils their New Jersey's, and it just has Lulu on the back. Or Vori or whatever. Yeah, that would be swag.
Starting point is 00:50:34 We still get like Dukaki swag, you know, and the, it was always like, I forget what company, but like a right, like champion or something. And then this year, the guy who's in charge of all the swag, like emailed the team and was like, hey, here's the new gear for this season. and it's Lulu and he was kind of like Beaking. He was like yeah I guess like people like Lulu now and I was like this fucking fire dude like I've got news for you
Starting point is 00:50:58 now your stuff is up high quality Oh my dude cocky stuff is sick now and I was like oh great So yes but probably not in the cards But let's live in the world you guys want to live in Where it's like kind of stay in your lane Isn't Emily especially Especially talking to you fanatics More staying in their lane
Starting point is 00:51:14 Like Fanatics currently makes fucking jerseys and shit I know they're knockoffs But like they make jerseys this is very in their lane. So I'm like, go ahead. This is a, this is what they already do. Yeah, you're right. I, I'm, by saying in your lane, I mean, like, I don't know, you were more chirping Lulu, which is fine. Like, you know, that's not in their lane. But I'm arguing fanatics, this is their lane. So it's like, we shouldn't be complaining about that. It's, it's honestly, and I know you're going to agree with this, it's honestly just the cool factor. By saying your lane, I mean, continue making your fake ass shit and
Starting point is 00:51:48 stop. Yeah. With the real shit. Okay, hold on. Agree. Another counter, though. Your company is called Fanatics. You make shit for fans. That's their whole model, dude. They go, we make shitty jerseys.
Starting point is 00:52:00 No, we make jerseys for fans. No, we make shitty jerseys so they don't cost as much as the official one. That's literally what they do. Like, that's their whole thing, Chris. Dude, no, their whole thing is. That is literally their whole thing. Because if you fucking wanted to, you go to the team store and you buy an official Adidas jersey that costs X amount of money.
Starting point is 00:52:18 Fanatics came through and went, we have lower quality stuff, but it still looks like a jersey and you fans can buy it and not break the bank. That is literally their entire fucking model. They make t-shirts and they make hats. That's fucking great, dude. Keep doing that. But don't you dare make an NHL player
Starting point is 00:52:33 put your shitty jersey on their back and now they're going to have to do it for a decade? Dude, guys are going to retire wearing Fanatics jerseys and that is so fucking disrespectful and putrid and you're an idiot if you're going to sit here and tell me that Fanatics is actually a company that is on par with all of these other companies and they started their company going one day,
Starting point is 00:52:54 we will have the official NHL jersey. No. They did. They did. And, dude, you are high. They would have named themselves not something stupid like fanatics. They would have gone, we are a sports apparel brand. We are going to make good shit.
Starting point is 00:53:07 Like even something like 47 brand is a better name and would look better on the back of an official jersey. Fanatics? Forty-s. 47 is pretty goodwill on the back, dude. Fanatics weren't like that. Fucking garbage. They went like this. I agree.
Starting point is 00:53:20 I have to say. It's garbage. You're so wrong. They had the ability. They had the ability. They had the ability to make, dude, it is not fucking hard to make a $200 authentic shirt jersey. They had the ability to make that the whole time.
Starting point is 00:53:32 But they went like this. It fucking sucks for fans that if they want their jersey, they have to buy something. How stupid are you? This is literally my entire. Can I ask a question? Like, this is where off of your point where they're like, okay, we're trying to save the customer's money by making them cheaper jerseys that aren't as expensive as the jerseys in store.
Starting point is 00:53:52 So what are they going to do? They're going to make nicer versions of the hockey jerseys for the team and then they're going to make shitty quality ones for fans to afford? Or are they going to just not make affordable ones anymore and then everyone's going to hate them either way? I think that's a fantastic question.
Starting point is 00:54:07 I think it's going to be both. Because now in the official team stores, the jerseys you're buying are fanatics. Look at every jersey in this office that is signed by our guests and our fans. Those are all Adidas jerseys. Those are the official jerseys that you buy in store. Now what's going to happen is you go to these official team stores.
Starting point is 00:54:24 Those jerseys are going to cost exactly the same as they do now. It's like, let's call it $200. Those are going to cost $200. But if you go on fanatics.com, you're still going to be able to buy the $80 one. Yep. Which is like fine. But what I'm saying, I mean, it sounds like you were literally just regurgitating my point is that like, dude, I know that they're capable of making it.
Starting point is 00:54:44 But the reason they started a company was to make affordable shit for fans. and good apparel for fans, which I love and good for you. And that's why you named your company Fanatics. Because you're making stuff for fans. I am not knocking Fanatics' existence. Like, we need the fanatics of the world. I don't need them outfitting my NHL players. Okay, let me just finish the point, and I'll see what you think about it.
Starting point is 00:55:10 I'm not disagreeing with you. Like, we both agree that they had the ability to make a $200 jersey, obviously. And they were just like, oh, but it sucks that that's how much cost, we're going to make a cheaper one so people can actually afford a fucking jersey. And that's fine, right? We agree there. Like, they did that. They have the ability to make an expensive one. But instead of just going, what if I offer another $200 jersey, everyone would just buy the Adidas, so why don't I make one that people can actually afford? So they did that, right?
Starting point is 00:55:34 We're all in agreement. I've said that three times now, so I don't know what point you're trying to make, but try to land this plane. They were just trying to become a fucking apparel company. So they could either have gone, we also sell a $200 one, and they would have folded it in a week, or they went like this. We sell $100 one. And then they became a company that people actually know and like and everyone knows the logo and everyone knows the name.
Starting point is 00:55:53 But actually everyone hates. And then they went like this. Can we get a big deal? Because obviously I know how to make an expensive one. And the idea one like this. Dope. Now, I really hung up on the name because it was like, it's for all the fans. I wish, yeah. And probably they do too. I wish they had called themselves 47 brand. And they did the exact same thing they've done. Sell $80 knockoffs. They're called 47
Starting point is 00:56:11 brand. Now they get the NHL deal and everyone's happy. They're like, sick. I love 47 brand. Like you're literally just mad that they're like, we're a fan company. Yes. Again, like you think you're making this great point, but you're not. You're making a point that exists. And I do agree with because it's everything that I've just said. But my, yeah, dude, my problem is you're dumb and you called yourselves fanatics. You made it, you made a mistake. And that's fine, dude. But own your mistake. Because if you actually, if you had the foresight to be like, we want at the end of the day to be a Nike, we have to start small. We're going to start with fans. That's, that is a good business model. You're going, who buy? these things the most, not the NHL players. People aren't, the majority of people aren't buying the team official jersey. They need something cheaper. That is a good entry point.
Starting point is 00:56:56 Yep. But if this was your end goal, you're an idiot for calling yourselves fanatics. And I stand by that and I don't think that's debatable. That's fine. I don't know that their end goal was like, I hope we get the NHL do. That was probably even loftier than they thought. But that's the point you made. I'm just saying if we put, and we will, if we put on the Instagram,
Starting point is 00:57:14 who is, who thinks fanatics being. the official NHL jersey is cool, it would get less than fucking 25% guaranteed. Less than that. Yeah, right? It's probably less than 10%. Do you think that's literally because of the name? Yes. No, I think it's everything about that company. Sure, okay, yes.
Starting point is 00:57:33 Sorry. I think it's the name. I think it's the fact that their product is bad. Like, dude, go on Twitter right now. Like, there's a million memes of people, like, guys who get in fights and their jersey gets tugged in it's shredded in half. There's a thousand memes that are like two years when guys are, you know, three games in to the fanatics jerseys.
Starting point is 00:57:49 Like that is the general reception of this piece of news. Which means people do not like this product. They certainly don't think it should be the official NHL jersey. Yep. That is my larger point. Like, you're standing on a platform here for Fanatics, the business,
Starting point is 00:58:05 and I respect you, dude, truly. Because it's so obvious that they can make a nice shirt. It's not hard at all. So they're like, yeah, we made a nice shirt. No one is debating that. I don't know why you're so hung up on that. I said 20 minutes ago. I'm just saying that's the jokes on the internet. Like everyone's on the internet like this. But that's a good joke.
Starting point is 00:58:19 Yeah. It's a good joke because would anyone, if Under Armour got this, would that joke exist? No. Correct. If Lulu did this, no. It's a good joke because everyone goes, I mean, your product is bad. It's bad quality. Obviously, they know that's not going to be the quality of Jersey that goes on these guys backs every day.
Starting point is 00:58:37 But you still get to make that joke when everyone thinks your product sucks. Yeah. And everyone knows their shirts fall apart because they all bought one. And because it's the only ones they can afford them. Thank God fanatics exists to fucking outfit these losers who are like, oh, I can't afford the real one, so I'm buying fanatics, and now I'm going to complain about it. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:58:53 Sounds like someone's got a lot of fanatics in their closet. I have a lot of fanatics stock. We've come to the root. Now, this makes sense. This guy is deep invested in fanatics. Long in fanatics. And today was a big, this week was a big week for you. Big week for me.
Starting point is 00:59:11 Here's what I'll say to wrap up this. I think this should wrap up this conversation. I understand where you're coming from, Chris. This is a great business venture for Fanatics as a company. If I worked at Fanatics, I'm fucking on fire. Hell yeah. However, the NHL is stupid for going down this route. And everyone agrees that this should not be their choice in.
Starting point is 00:59:40 Agree, I will say. I agree. This is a bad look. If these jerseys suck, kill yourself. NHL. Like if you are like, we, we're going to take a swing. Yeah. And then the fanatics jerseys blow. I'm like, are you high? And I completely agree with you, Chris. There's just no way. Yeah. But if, if it happens, if they look bad, if there's even one moment where someone's jersey is falling apart. Like players are complaining. Yeah. Yeah. Remember when the NBA did those sleeve jerseys with teams?
Starting point is 01:00:12 And I think it was like LeBron first came out and just ripped them off. Yeah. He ripped them off. He ripped them down the scene because he was like, this is so dumb. Those are just such bad looks. Like if there's one player, you're right, that's like these things are so uncomfortable. They suck. Yeah, not great. Very bad. M's right.
Starting point is 01:00:26 We got to move off of Fanatics. What do we got the playoff race here? And coming up here, guys, we got like two weeks left in the season. So we're going to have playoff breakdowns once all of the seeding is done. But I know we talked about the East Coast Eastern Conference wild card race. And I. I read my eulogy for the Sabres, which is funny now because they're only five points out with a game in hand on Pittsburgh, which is just so funny. So they're still dead.
Starting point is 01:00:55 It's not a reverse jinx, like I said. Yep. But we've got the Islanders and Pitt in, Florida right on their heels, one point back from Pittsburgh. Buffalo's there. Tied with them is Ottawa. Tied with them is Washington. Like, the East still very much has a wild card rate. But what we want to talk about a little bit today because we didn't really get to it is the West.
Starting point is 01:01:19 In the West, dude, well, go, look, do you have it up because I'll read this? I do. Yeah, read the notes. There's a decently sufficient break between the top six teams. Yeah, yeah, no, I just want to talk wild card. Colorado third in the central has 94 points. Edmonton third in Pacific has 95 points. And then Wildcard, we have Seattle with 88, Winnipeg with 85.
Starting point is 01:01:41 And then right below them are Calgary and Nashville with 83 and 82. Tyler Tofoli came on the podcast last week. We released a clip of him talking about if we can sneak into the playoffs, we can make some noise. A couple fucking idiots in the comments section were like, yeah, pack your bags, buddy, it's over. And I'm like, Calgary is literally two points back from a playoff spot. So you're wrong, anyone who made those comments. Everything is very, and listen, they might miss playoffs. But if you're standing here saying there's no chance, you're a moron.
Starting point is 01:02:09 Dude, so Seattle with 88 is in 73 games. So, like, they feel they couldn't, but. they are okay. Dude, I said this to you. I forget when. I think it was during the trade deadline, or the week after the trade deadline. But I was like, man, Nashville's like pretty close to the playoffs and after they had a fire sale. And Duchenne's hurt now. And like they're not even playing. Dude, Nashville has 82, like you said, so Winnipeg 85, Calgary 83, Nashville 82. Nashville has two games in hand. And the things about games in hand, you got to win them. But if they win them both, they are in, they are over Winnipeg. Like straight up, they are the second wild.
Starting point is 01:02:45 Wildcar team right now. It's fucking seven games off. The Predators are in the playoffs. Yeah. And I'm like, dude, they are fucking firing after getting rid of their entire team. Like, they legitimately might get in. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:02:56 Luke Evangelista steps up, gets up, gets in the show. All of a sudden is lighting it up for Nashville. Players are starting to click a little bit. They beat the bees. Like, those are the weird wins you've got to get when you're one of these teams. You're like, well, we're going to lose to the Bruins. I'm like, bang, two points against the bees.
Starting point is 01:03:12 And I'm like, dude, the predators are going to get in. And I fucking. love national hockey, so that would be sick. I actually really like the Jets, the Flames, and the Preds, so I'm devastated. I got to pick one of those. It's interesting, man, because I look at actually all four. I think you're right, Seattle's comfy. Yeah. But, man, what is slip from the beginning? I mean, they were first in the Pacific for a little while here. Right. And now they're a wildcard team. And I think that they're in. You're right. Those two games are big. Like if you turn that 88 points to 92 points, then we're not even talking here.
Starting point is 01:03:39 Which they would still take, by the way. Yeah. Like the one wildcard is like a sick season. You're in the playoffs. Yeah. And you're in your show. second year in the NHL, you're in the playoffs. Absolute, huge win. But I look at Seattle, Winnipeg, Calgary, Nashville, very different from our Eastern Conference conversation. I want all those teams in the playoffs. I like all those teams.
Starting point is 01:03:58 I think Seattle absolutely deserves to get into the playoffs. We need that. I think Winnipeg with the bullshit that they dealt with at the beginning of the season, stripping Wheeler of the sea, the way these guys have clicked together, the way they're playing, I'd like to see them in the playoffs. Winnipeg playoff hockey is fucking elite, too. The white wall is absolutely mental.
Starting point is 01:04:17 And then Calgary and Nashville, who doesn't love those teams? You look at the guys on Calgary. They're so amazing. I'm not just saying that because Ty was just on, but it's a cool environment. The Saddle Dome is an absolute barn. The fans up there are incredible. And then Nashville is one of the coolest new hockey towns in the world. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:35 And it's like all these guys, all these fan bases, all these players, they all deserve playoff hockey. They're not teams that we're tired of seeing in the playoffs. You know, I chirped Florida being like, fuck you, get out. You don't deserve to be in. I chirped Islanders, your lame ass fucking two-one hockey. Get out of the playoffs. There's none of that for me here on the West.
Starting point is 01:04:56 It's like all these teams, I'm like, get in. You know what's been funny to watch? Sometimes in trades you see a bloodbath, right? Like super lopsided trades. See any Bruins trade over the last, any marquee Bruins trade over the last decade, two decades. sometimes there's something called the win-win where you're like wow it was a great trade for both teams this Calgary Florida trade
Starting point is 01:05:18 has been such a lose-lose like we had a talk at the beginning of the year like who's going to be better and it's so hysterical to me that they're both like one point out of the playoffs and like oh we're fighting for our fucking lives and I'm like you guys were the fucking best two teams in the league last year a hundred point teams I'm like President's trophy and I forget what Calgary finished with
Starting point is 01:05:34 but I mean Calgary was a wagon and they go into the Battle of Alberta with McDavid and Edmonton it's like they were so hot and yeah it is so bizarre to look at this team. What a lose, lose. And maybe it's, you know, you needed a year. Everyone's got to adjust and they'll figure it out. But right now it's fucking comical that they're both going to miss the playoffs. It's also comical how similar they are. Calgary has 83 points. Florida
Starting point is 01:05:54 has 81. Yeah. And they're right there. They're both like a point or two out. Did you see Popukukuk's comments by the way? Yeah. He was like this Florida team is soft. They were soft. They were soft. They were deserve everything that they're getting. And I was like, um, so Calgary, I really like the players. Panthers, or we'll stay in the West. Calgary would like the players, but I don't, like I almost care a little bit less because of that big trade. You know, like they were so good last year and you fucking blew it all up and like Godreau leaves and I'm like, well, well, hold on. Can I interrupt? Yeah, it wasn't really their fault. Yeah. Yeah, that's my point. Like, don't use the term blow it up. Like Johnny Goodrow, not out of nowhere, but was like,
Starting point is 01:06:32 I'm not resigning. Fuck you. You know what? And then he went to Columbus. And they went, okay, and they pivoted it. And they went and made a great play and they got cadre. then Maddie Kachuk is like this Hey, I'm not going to resign here So trade me And they're like well what the fuck dude And then they go and swing and they get Hu B And they get Uyghar from Florida
Starting point is 01:06:50 Great move Monster trade I just think They got fucked and made it work With getting these great players back And it sucks that they're not playing well But I mean like I don't think Calgary deserves
Starting point is 01:07:05 Any of the sour grapes right now No you actually have changed my mind And in fact Winnipe and you know I love Blake Wheeler. You know I love Connor Hellebup. You love Kyle Connor. I love Kyle Connor so much.
Starting point is 01:07:19 But they, you know, they missed the playoffs last year. Like they should have made the playoffs last year. They missed. They should have made the playoffs. They should make the playoffs this year, but they could miss. If I had to pick a team, if I had to pick two of these teams out, I might go Winnipeg, even though that'll make me sad. I'm just like, dude, you guys can't underperform this consistently.
Starting point is 01:07:38 You know, you like, this is two years in a row that you're on the first. fringes here. That's enough of a sample size for me that I'm like, I don't know what you're doing. They have a lot of issues in that locker room, I think, unfortunately, I know the Wheeler stripped thing was like, oh, it's nothing, but I was like, it's not nothing. Yeah. And then Nashville, what an awesome hockey town, but you, even though it's kind of a cool story, you've got to pay a little bit for this fire sale. Like, I reject that you're like, we traded everybody and we snuck in the playoffs just to get pumped in the first round. Like, what are doing? My thing with Nashville, obviously, we are, we're big Nashville guys. We love the
Starting point is 01:08:06 Preds, we love the town. Nashville, to me, feels like a team. If you sneak in that eight spot, you were getting swept out of the playoffs. Whereas, like we talk about, man, and we'll do this in our
Starting point is 01:08:24 playoff breakdowns. But we're looking at Vegas, probably, Vegas or Mini. Colorado, I bet. That'd be my guess. I got Colorado in L.A., by the way, winning both of those. really yeah Colorado for sure
Starting point is 01:08:41 Calgary is not a team I want to play if I'm a one seat the hell no not at all and I know people are going to chirp that comment I know they're going to be like Calgary dude Markstrom is a phenomenal goalie and you've got guys like Tofoli
Starting point is 01:08:56 Hubertoe Cadry Lindholm you've got serious players on that team I you just you never know with the Stanley Cup playoffs and that feels like one of these sleeping giants
Starting point is 01:09:08 who has not woke up all season and if all of a sudden they sneak in the playoffs and they're like this, we're a playoff team. Like, you'd rather Seattle, I think. If you're one of the two ones, I'm like, give me the... Absolutely. No offense, Seattle. Absolutely.
Starting point is 01:09:19 So, yeah, Nashville, while I love them, does seem like a team if they sneak in, I'm not really that's here. They've been struggling to score goals all season. So... I wonder what's the goal diffs there? I think you completely change of mind. I'm actually now...
Starting point is 01:09:32 Yeah, dude, Winnipeg plus 9, Calgary, plus 5, Nashville minus 11. Yeah. I'm actively rooting for Calgary now. You changed my mind fully. Because they got dealt with a tough hand dude and they're battling. Yeah. We'll save the rest for our playoff breakdowns, but I do want to talk about some hot teams in the league.
Starting point is 01:09:49 We've mentioned them a little bit. We've mentioned them in hottest teams of the week. One of these teams, I believe one of these teams. Actually, I think two. I think the two teams I want to talk about are the two and three hottest teams of the week. The New York Rangers and the L.A. Kings are playing wildly elite hockey right now. First of all, the entire Pacific, Vegas, L.A. and Edmonton is, I don't have it right in front of me, but it is something like 8-1-1 slash 8-0-2 slash in their last 10. Like those three teams are nuclear and so are the Rangers.
Starting point is 01:10:34 it's peaking at the right time dude everyone talks about that they are peaking at the right time the this is when the trades all the trades start to gel a little bit the guys get more comfortable um the I've always been like oh yeah the Atlantic
Starting point is 01:10:54 was so fucking savage and I don't want to talk about too much playoff sucks we will but the Atlantic's like all the Leafs the Bruins the Lightning like that what a murderer's row the Met wrong yeah It's a fucking disaster. Carolina, New Jersey, New York.
Starting point is 01:11:08 Ew. 103 points, 100 points, 98 points. And like, dude, are you fucking me trying to catch the Rangers in the first round right now? Dude. Horrible. That, that, I'm saying it right now. We've talked about it before. That New Jersey, New York first round playoff series is going to be, if that's what it shakes out to be,
Starting point is 01:11:28 is going to be one of the most intense and elite playoff series in recent memory. Dude, and I guess. It's going to be a bloodbath. I guess we'll see where Canes. The Rangers have a few questions, I guess. A few more than some of these other teams. We'll see where Kane goes. But that's like for the foreseeable future.
Starting point is 01:11:44 Like the Keynes, the rags, and the devils for the foreseeable future. I'm like, holy shit, boys. Young, young teams. Yeah. I mean, New Jersey is, who's even old on that? Dude. And that's ignoring, like, if Pitt and Washington make like a final push with their guy, you know, like, if they go all in. Like, that is fucking tough stuff.
Starting point is 01:12:02 It's crazy, man. And the kings, dude, are just The, the, risen from the ashes, the phoenix himself. Dude, we got to go to, what do they call those?
Starting point is 01:12:15 Like, those hockey Hollywood events? Hockeywood. Hockeywood, yeah. That was right there. We got to go to that preseason hockey water. Actually, UM needs to come to that next one so we can get around some skates.
Starting point is 01:12:26 Yeah, that would be fun, actually. And, you know, Luke's out there doing the raw, raw stuff. and he was like, you know, we missed the playoffs, and then we made the playoffs last year and made, you know, took the Oilers, seven, six, seven, seven. Took the Oilers to seven.
Starting point is 01:12:44 And, you know, what's he going to say? But he was like, onward, you know, like that's not the goal anymore. It's like winning playoff rounds. And I was like, yeah, fuck yeah. I mean, I was in the hype train, but I was like, I believe in this squad. I think there's a really good young talent here.
Starting point is 01:12:57 Fiala's going to be dope, which he is. Didn't see the goalie situation happening, but, you know, they're all set now. But my point being, I was like, yeah, the Kings, Kings are going to be good. They could go to the second round. And then they just started the season so, I was supposed to say bad,
Starting point is 01:13:11 more inconsistent, but I was like... I think bad. I think they'd call it bad. I think they did not like the start. And it went long enough, and last year was, because last year there was a stretch where I was like,
Starting point is 01:13:21 the Kings aren't going to make the playoffs. And I kind of looked away and then I looked back and they were like three in the Pacific. And I was like, oh shit, they got hot. But at the beginning of this year, it went long enough
Starting point is 01:13:29 that I was like, yeah, that was a fluke last year. Like they, they jumped a step in their rebuild and they're like actually regressing to the mean now. And he,
Starting point is 01:13:38 Luke has been, and the whole King's organization and all the players have been proven so fucking right in the second half of the season. Yes. Like they were like, yo,
Starting point is 01:13:44 we're dope. Shut the fuck up. I was like, bye back. So here's what I'm going to say. Here's your hot take clip moment and get those fingers ready. I think you look at a lot
Starting point is 01:13:55 of the good teams in the league. The other one we're talking about right now, the New York Rangers. I think they, Rangers fans, the players go, we can absolutely win the Stanley Cup this year for sure. But I also think they look at New Jersey. They look at Carolina.
Starting point is 01:14:08 They look at Boston, obviously. And then even Toronto and Tampa. And it's like, fucking A man. Like these are some big, big teams we got to get by to get here. Three massive series. Here's what I'll say. At the beginning of this season, I think the L.A. King's organization, their players and their fans went,
Starting point is 01:14:25 we're going to make the playoffs, and we're going to make a good push here. We're going to try to win one round, maybe two. We'd love to get to the Western Conference final. And I think if at the beginning of this season I said to Kings fans, Luke Robatai, Rob Blake, all the players, if I said, you guys are going to lose in the second round of the playoffs or the Western Conference Finals, they would go,
Starting point is 01:14:49 hell yeah. Fuck yeah. That's a great season. And I'm telling you right now, every single member of that organization and that locker room is going, we're going to the Stanley Cup. they I think that king's team is going we are the best team in the west we've got hot at the right moment we have all the mojo right now our goal is playing in the Stanley Cup or bust so their mindset changed you're saying they were like oh yeah I think they are looking at the way that they're playing right now like we said you look at the top teams in the west Minnesota and
Starting point is 01:15:22 Vegas with 98 points and 97 points the kings have 96 points they they want to win the Pacific yeah they do and I think they're going, there is no team on this conference that should be standing in our way to go to the Because I don't think they want Edmonton at all in the first round. Oh, I think that I genuinely think they go, bring it the fuck on. Me too. But just like if you're one point away from facing fucking Calgary, yes, which is not easy either. Sure, sure. But the point I was making with the Eastern Commerce teams, I think Rangers fans, I think Rangers players look at some of these teams and they go, I do not want to play you. If you're the Rangers, you don't want to play the devil's
Starting point is 01:16:00 in the first round. You definitely don't want to play Carolina in the first round. And then if you get past that, you don't want to fucking play Boston if Boston gets past their wildcard team. I think the Los Angeles Kings organization looks at every single team on the West and goes, I am not afraid of any of you. Dude, interesting comment. I thought you were going to say this, and I think it's both conflicting ideologies, but I think it's both. I think the Kings agree, go, we can you can beat anybody here.
Starting point is 01:16:29 And I'm not saying the Rangers don't think they can beat anybody but I do think the Rangers are like we can beat anyone but I think they're like
Starting point is 01:16:35 fuck that's a tough one that's a tough one that's a tough one and I don't know that the Kings are thinking that as much as the Rangers however yeah
Starting point is 01:16:41 I do think and I think this matters a little bit to start the season everyone on the Kings from Luke and Rod all the way down went like this
Starting point is 01:16:51 second round and be nice and everyone on the Rangers went like this copper robust to start the season. Yeah, I agree. And I think that matters a little bit. Like the Kings, sometimes, sometimes it's, well, I guess it can matter either way.
Starting point is 01:17:03 Sometimes it's like the playing with house money thing, so you play loose. But sometimes I think you need that fucking desperation sickness in you of like, if we don't get to the cup, it's a fucking disaster. Whereas some teams are like, well, we made it this far. It's pretty good. You know, like that can, do you take your foot off the gas? That millimeter, it can hurt you. And you're right. I think their mindset might have changed. But I think before the season, the Rangers had much higher expectations than the Kings.
Starting point is 01:17:25 and that desperation might drive them. I think so too, but I think it flopped. And I also think that the, the boogeymen that popped up on the East has completely fucked the Rangers. Yeah. I mean, you're right, dude. I think the Rangers probably fuck seating, just talking about the top two teams. I think the Rangers at the beginning of this year went, the Eastern Conference
Starting point is 01:17:43 finals should be us in Tampa. Yeah. The top three teams is probably us, Tampa, and Carolina. Maybe Toronto, but Toronto and all their issues. and then out of fucking nowhere, the Bruins and the devils popped up as major boogeymen for them. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:18:00 And then even though we knew Carolina was good, like we talked about, dude, Carolina is good, good. Yeah, they are. They got past Boston last year, and then they lost in the second round, but Rangers have kind of handled them. I mean, they beat them last year, but they've also kind of handled them this year.
Starting point is 01:18:14 I don't know, man. Like the last two games, it was one and one, and they were both battle games, I think, right? No, no, it was one goal game both way, I think, yeah. So, I don't know. That dynamic switch has been interesting. God, dude. The playoffs are so fucking sick.
Starting point is 01:18:31 All right. Last but not least, we're doing hottest teams. CP, lead us away. Okay, number three, the Boston Bruins. After they dumped two straight to the wings and the hawks, they went seven in a row. Jets, Wild, Buffalo, Ottawa, Habs, Lightning, Hurricanes. They beat the Cains without Marshie, without Lindholm. Sway was in net.
Starting point is 01:18:47 No knock on sway, by the way, but it just wasn't your favorite in net. Tough loss to the Predators, as we see. said, but, I mean, dude, they're a machine. They're steamrolling. It's insane. We didn't give them enough love per the Rangers fans last week. Jesus, right. Yeah, calm down, guys.
Starting point is 01:19:04 We've got them in there. They're amazing. Rangers are the second hottest team of the week. They lost this week, but we're doing it so everyone we'll stop bitching, like we said. 16 goals in a row. They beat the Preds, Hurricanes, and Panthers this week, but they lost to the Cains. And that was a spicy matchup. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:19:20 There's a lot going on in the mat, as we've talked about. But they're 8-1-1 in their last 10. They look strong as hell. So, eyes on the Rangers. hottest team of the week? The L.A. Kings. Your L.A. Kings. Three and a week, they beat Calgary.
Starting point is 01:19:35 They beat Winnipeg. They haven't lost in regulation for a franchise record 12 straight games. They did just lose to Calgary, though. Oh, they lost last night? Yeah, yeah. They lost this night. Well, pretty sick run. This is before that.
Starting point is 01:19:45 And, dude, honestly, I would say the most impressive stretch of this is that Vegas is still ahead of them. Like, I cannot believe that. that the Kings are on this fucking heater, and Vegas is still clean. I know. Well, it's making people forget the Kings, the first 20 to 30 games of the season,
Starting point is 01:19:57 they were so weird, so up and down. But they found it, dude. They have found their footing, and they are fucking rolling. So, unbelievable stuff. All right, let's hit the last few segments like we always hit, and we're going to get started
Starting point is 01:20:07 with a little bit of... Doodoo do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do do. Yes, Emily. A little bit of Ica watch, Dan. He's got 59 and 61. he needed to finish just over a point per game since we last recorded and he is over a point for game since we last recorded but not
Starting point is 01:20:28 over a point per game enough but dude he had to get really hot he's got five points in four games he still needs 13 points in his last eight so he'll still get very very hot but dude he's had two three point games in his last fucking four or something last five we'll see so he's getting closer I don't know
Starting point is 01:20:49 like we said I know I have on record that Jack is aware of this. Yeah. So, Jack, like, he had one assist last night in a drubbing. Yeah, but at least he got the fucking assist, yeah, but he barely did. It was on a meaningless last goal again. So what? Don't be mean while he's listening. I'm not being mean. I'm saying, Jack, do you want
Starting point is 01:21:06 to see me eat shrimp? Yeah, I do. People want to see Dan eat shrimp. Do you, I get to pick your punishment, right? No, dude. Fuck that, no. It was, I have to get a fucking Jack Eichel custom jersey or something and then like rollerblade around the strand. We're going to make him put on a suit of
Starting point is 01:21:22 armor, a golden night suit of armor, and then walk into the Pacific Ocean. Now, maybe I'll make you rollerblade around in a suit of armor. That would suck. That'll be hot as fuck. Okay. All right. All right. No, uh, where in the world is Austin Matthews, because at per usual, he's just cruising. All right, then playoff trail, Dan. Is it possible that you went a little too hard last week? No. Are they still breathing? No. Florida getting hot was very not helpful. I realize that, but you might have gone a little early. no and some people are going to say Dan is this a reverse jinx
Starting point is 01:21:57 nope dude I didn't realize I put them through us 14 20 and 3 at home 21 11 11 and 3 away I knew the devils were on that bullshit I didn't realize the sabres are doing that too they fall apart at home it's crazy because they're like
Starting point is 01:22:12 Dahlene's writing an article about how much belief there is and like everyone in town loves them I think it's that I think they're they party too hard with all the fans everyone's just so fired up in fashion through tables dude that's pretty sick All right, let's close it off with some what to watch. Got the games to watch. M, do you have a game to watch?
Starting point is 01:22:29 You didn't get one, did you? She actually did have a coldest team of the week. I did. What is it? The Canadians. Are they on us kids? They're not making the playoffs, right? Oh, they sure aren't.
Starting point is 01:22:43 They just suck. And they're not even sucky enough to get a good player next year, get one of the best players. Yeah, so shittiest team of the week. extra cold. All right. You got anything on Friday, Dan? I got one Friday, one. Hit me a Friday. I have no, I have no Fridays. Rags at Sabers. Mm-hmm. Okay. Battle of Patrick Kane's heart. Yeah. I mean. Did you see Tays say that he thinks Kane looks good in a rag sweater? I did. But also like, it's not a battle of his heart because Patty Kane picked the Rangers. And it's... Well, for now. That's true. That's true. All right, I got a Saturday game. I got the Kings, Seattle. I think a nice little Pacific. matchup, very, very similar records. I think both teams are locked in the playoffs, but the Kings are hunting for the head at the top of the Pacific.
Starting point is 01:23:33 And Seattle, you've got to win games here. Oh, dude, they're in a little bit of trouble. It's not as close, or it's not as locked as people think. So you've got to stay up in there. So that's going to be a big game. I have a game to watch, actually. Hey, okay, Ann. Hit us.
Starting point is 01:23:48 Bruins, Penguins, Saturday. Fun one. That's a fun one. Penguins need it. Yeah, that's a tough one for me. Why is that a tough one for you? Because I love Sid so much. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:24:00 But also I'm a Bees guy. And then my-that's trending to be the first round matchup too, which is not going to be playing. And then my last game of the week, and this is strictly an aesthetic pick. Nice Sunday, original six matchup, Red Wings, Maple Leafs, two best jerseys. They should have to wear Red and Blue. They should wear Red and Blue. And it's just that. They should wear Red and Blue.
Starting point is 01:24:20 It's a shame that Detroit is going to. to be wearing white. Like you guys should just wear your home jerseys. I got two on Saturday for you. Wild at Vegas. Wilde's in the first right now, by the way. I think Colorado's going to get them, but I'm just saying the wild or in first right now. Think about that. And the second one, this is a big one. Sharks at Yotes. It's not that big because the Yotes is so far ahead. Like, I would have loved to have said that that's a Baderd watch game, but it's not because Clayton Keller can't stop fucking scoring. Yeah, sharks got to lose this one big time. All right, those are our games to watch. Hope you guys tune in to those. That has been it for us this week at the Emton Natives podcast. And until next week, guys, skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.