Empty Netters Podcast - 23. Erik Karlsson At The Big Boy Table
Episode Date: April 7, 2023RNH joins McDavid and Draisaitl in the 100 point club, crazy Stanley Cup odds, the Oilers are a sneaky wagon, and Erik Karlsson’s claim for a top defenseman of all time. GET 10% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLI...NE ORDER AT https://www.shifthockey.com/pages/netters WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (00:00) Intro (05:08) - Eastern Conference Wild Card Race (13:45) - Western Conference Wild Card Race (21:28) - Edmonton Has Been The Best Team in the NHL Recently (34:30) - Stanley Cup Betting Odds (44:20) - Karlsson All Time Ranking (1:02:03) - New Defenseman Award (1:06:56) - Fanatics Retaliates (1:15:54) - Hottest Teams (1:17:12) - Eichel Watch Playoff Trail (1:18:57) - What 2 Watch Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Meow.
Oh, no.
Dan's going to be a little quanky-wanky boy.
Do me a favor and straighten out your hat, you fucking loser.
No.
I will not start this podcast until you stop looking like a fucking 18-year-old.
Too bad.
It's already started.
We've already begun.
This is just awful.
All right.
Welcome back to another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
but before we get into that, we're going to hear from our incredible sponsors at Shift Hockey.
Guys, Shift Hockey and the men behind it are on a mission to save you from the absurd prices in the Hockey Stick game.
This is not an ad read that we do begrudgingly.
This is an ad read that we do passionately because truly, as people who still play hockey,
there is nothing more frustrating than every time you break your twig, you have to spend $350.50.
What Shift has done is they have found the best manufacturers, the best price,
products and made a top of the line stick that you can get for less than $200.
You're going to still be playing like you've got the absolute cream of the crop twig that all
these guys in the NHL are using, but you're paying a fraction of the price.
Shift Hockey is doing something that hockey players, hockey parents, hockey families have
needed for decades.
I love them.
I got two of them.
All my friends are getting them.
That's a fact.
And I'll tell you what, I keep my hockey gear outside in the shed in the garage or
something.
I've always put everything there.
I put everything there now except for my shift stick, which I keep in my bedroom.
You wouldn't leave Excalibur out in the rain.
Why would you do it?
I sleep with the thing.
You put it in a case.
Make sure it's pristine.
It's fantastic.
And you know what else I'll tell you, Dan?
I thought when I first met these guys, I was like, oh, shift.
It's a cool, like, shift your mentality about what a premium stick is.
But then literally like this week, I was like, oh, like a hockey shift.
Yeah, putting a good shift.
Put in a good shift and get yourself a shift.
Yeah.
And you're going to get tons of those shifts when you pick up one of these sticks.
They've got all the same curves you're used to, same flexes you're used to.
It's going to change nothing but save you money, and that is the most obvious decision in the world.
So go to shifthockey.com slash netters, and you're going to pump in that promo code,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S at checkout and save an extra 10%.
So you're already getting this stick for like 170 bucks, which is half price.
Half price, and then you're going to save 10% on top of it.
Shifthockey.com slash netters, promo code, netters at checkout.
this is a no-brainer, guys.
Save some money and keep using a top-of-the-line stick with shift hockey.
All right, pumped up for another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Listen, we were supposed to have a guest on today,
but this plug, wink-wink, had a flight cancel.
So we're not going to be too mad at him.
He's going to come on soon.
One of these next episodes, you guys are going to love him.
But you're pivoting.
You got just me and CP again today.
So let's get into it.
Guys, the
NHL season is winding down.
And down the stretch they come to.
Yeah, like we are on the final furlong here.
There's about four, five, I don't even think five for anyone anymore.
There's roughly four games left in the season.
By this time next week, the season's going to be wrapped up for pretty much every single team.
And the next few days here, we're going to get those final two spots in each,
the Eastern Conference and Western Conference locked up.
But shit is getting hot, hot, hot, hot in the streets.
And that's a perfect segue into hot ice.
What do we got to talk about right now?
I get a lot of things I want to take you through.
I want to hit it all.
Let's do it.
Okay.
We're starting with wildcards.
Feels like we're always talking about this, but it's just, that's the nature of the end of the season.
Sorry, that's what's going on right now.
You know, it's been really fun.
You know, if your favorite team has locked up a playoff spot, if your favorite team has been eliminated,
usually that's kind of when you're like, yeah, okay, whatever, whatever.
But here's the deal, man.
There are electric games every single night.
Because so many of them are matchups of teams that are fighting for one of those last spots or fighting for those seatings.
Like the Pacific is, you know, like these guys are all over the place.
So it's like we've got playoff hockey already, it feels like.
Dude, I'm actually going to look this up right now because you just said something that I think is so cool and I'm actually so bummed about.
You're 100% right.
I'm like, yeah, the least look at the east, because that's where we're going to start.
The Atlantic and the Metro, the top three are in.
And pretty much not quite like locked in that order, but it looks.
like it's going to kind of shake out the way it is.
I think the Atlantic is locked.
Yeah, I think so, too.
But we're like, wow, this spicy, spicy wildcard race.
And dude, I know we bitch about this all the time.
But, bro, imagine if it was just eight teams from the east.
Like, the Leafs and the Lightning and the Rangers and the Devils and the hurricanes would all be battling.
Like, that would actually matter a ton.
Instead of the Leafs being like, yeah, we're locked in it too over here.
I'm like, no, you are actually tied with the fucking Rangers.
You know, like, it would be really, it would really be, there'd be so much more excitement for the seating if it was just eight.
So anyway, that annoys me.
As we sit right now, the penguins are out.
Yeah, they are currently not in the playoffs.
I am not in the playoffs.
Because you're such a Crosby guy?
Me and Cid are out.
Yeah, yeah.
Currently, both you and Sidney Crosby will not be playing the Stanley Cubsby.
Right now, which is such a tough look for Cid.
It's a tough look for the NHL.
Sit is in the same boat as you, which is so bad.
I mean, we can go golfing.
Okay, so dude, right now it is the Florida Panthers in the one, in a crazy flip of everything, right?
I cannot believe the Florida Panthers are first in the wild card.
They have played 78 games, they have 87 points, and they have 34 wins in regulation.
Yes, which is the tie-bringer.
Yes, okay, okay.
So if they have the same points at the end of all this, regulation win is the tiebreaker, which I think is cool.
Me too.
I think that's really cool.
The Islanders are second, also 78 games, 87 points, 33 regulation wins.
Pits right there, 78 games, 86 points, and they have 29 regulation wins.
Which feels like they're not going to get that tiebreaker.
They are not.
Yeah.
I don't even think they literally can.
Four games left?
Four games left, yeah, they can't.
Or they couldn't catch floor.
Yeah, they couldn't.
They can't.
They can't.
So they need it.
They could technically catch islanders.
They need it on points.
But if they, but like, you know, if the Islanders, if the pit wins full,
and the Islanders lose four than they're in anyway.
You know what I mean?
Like, I think regulation wins is officially irrelevant.
Well, if Pitt wins four straight.
Yep.
And they get eight points.
Where's their point total right now?
They're at 86.
They're one back.
Oh, yeah.
And then the Islanders have four games left.
But I'm saying to not pass them in regulation wins would mean they have to,
they could only get like four points from those games.
Well, hold on.
Let's do that.
Pitt wins four straight in regulation.
Yep.
So now they have
94.
They have 94 points.
So for the islanders to get
94 points,
yeah,
no,
it couldn't happen.
Yeah.
I was going to say maybe
they win a million in shootouts.
So it's really going to come down to the points.
The tiebreakers are not going to matter.
And it very much might matter
for one of the other slots
if it shakes out that way
between the Islanders and the Panthers.
Yeah.
And then your Sabres Dan last 76 games,
81 points,
288 regulation wins?
Yeah.
the say i mean
the sabers played the panthers last night
in a absolute must-win
game and they lost two to one
couldn't fucking score any goals at all
it was shit in the bed on power plays
it's just it was a pretty good game
it's a road game yeah it's a good game but the panthers
fucking suck dude like you're such a soft ass team
yeah to quote chuck yeah senior
um
well he's not a senior but you know what i mean
I mean.
Devon Levi made some six saves.
It was a great game.
It felt like a playoff game.
It's,
I know the same,
like games tighten up,
right?
Like Sabers have a great offense.
I don't think we're going to see as much scoring
as we saw in the regular season in the playoffs.
And I'm not that mad at them
because I thought they played hard.
But you're right.
I mean,
that was a big one.
It was an awful,
awful loss.
On the other side,
I want to jump ship from the east too much,
but like Calgary.
Yeah, dude.
We'll talk about that in a second.
Losing to fucking Chicago.
It's like there's nonsense going on.
So you see what the breakdown is here.
Yes.
And you understand the tiebreakers.
Here is the remaining schedules.
Okay.
Florida.
Who's currently in first?
Versus Ottawa at Washington
versus Toronto versus Carolina.
On paper,
that's two and two.
You should beat Ottawa.
You should beat.
Washington, you should lose to Toronto and Carolina.
Yep. Both home.
Still.
Islanders currently in second, their schedule.
Versus Tampa versus Philly at Washington versus Montreal.
That feels like 3 and 1.
I know, dude.
Maybe even 4 or no.
Yeah.
No.
Why not?
They're not beaten Tampa.
Okay.
I mean, they shouldn't beat Tampa.
Penguin's schedule.
One point back.
Versus the wild.
Loss.
At Red Wings.
That's a tough game.
Versus the Hawks.
Should be a win.
Versus the Blue Jackets.
Should be a win.
Fuck.
Damn.
Sabre's remaining.
You know what's frustrating is it doesn't even matter.
But they have two extra games, dude.
Still.
It could be a six-game slate with a jacketons, jacket, jacket.
It could be a six-game slate with the jackets and the ducks, and they'd still fucking find ways to lose.
At Red Wings.
Loss.
Versus Carolina.
Loss.
At Rags.
Loss.
At Devils.
Loss.
Versus Ottawa.
Loss.
At Blue Jackets.
Win.
Savers are out.
I read my eulogy.
I'm sticking with the reverse jinks.
But that, no, but it is so hysterically perfect that they definitely have the hardest sling.
Oh, my God.
It's insane.
I mean, that Blue Jackets game is nice, but like that is...
So here's a few things that I thought were interesting.
Florida, so let's ignore the same.
It was reverse jinks fully on.
Florida has the toughest schedule of the top three.
But some of those, Toronto, they're already locked.
They're locked in.
They're a spot.
Carolina, it's the last game of the season.
They probably will be locked.
You know what I mean?
Like there's a chance.
I'm not saying they're trying to lose, but there's a chance that it doesn't matter.
And it does look like Toronto.
I mean, it would be...
So Toronto, if Tampa goes on a five-game run here and Toronto drops three, you know, drops three or four.
But, yeah.
I mean, fucking, A man.
So let me say that to you really fast again.
Florida, Ottawa, Washington, Leif's, hurricanes, islanders, lightning, flyers, caps, Montreal, penguins, wild, red wings, hawks, blue jackets.
Who you got?
We've done this before.
And I don't know.
I think it is these three teams.
I think it's Florida Islanders pit.
I don't think Buffalo has it in them.
I think they're too far back.
They're five points back.
That's two wins and an OT loss.
And sure, you've got six games, but...
Brutal schedule.
It's just a brutal schedule, so I think they're out.
Man, this is nuts.
I think...
I think...
Part of me wants to say that Crosby will win their will their way in.
Hawks and jackets, you have to.
I think Crosby will be like, there's no fucking way I'm missing playoffs.
But Florida, Ottawa, Washington, Leafs, Cains.
It's kind of brutal.
If Florida goes win-win, like in those next two.
Yeah.
If they go, what is it, Washington and Ottawa.
Yeah, Home versus Ottawa at Washington.
If they go win-win, I think they're in.
I think that they don't fuck this up.
But I could see Pitt and Islanders flopping.
I could see the Islanders.
Islanders got Philly and Montreal and Washington.
Tough one at Tampa or versus Tampa.
Yeah.
All right, give me two.
Man.
I think Florida gets in.
I think it's Florida and...
You get Florida at the one?
I think it's Florida at the one and Pitt.
at the two. I think the Islanders get bounced.
I got Pitt at the one.
I got Pitt at the one
and
Islanders at the two.
How electric would it be if Buffalo goes
on a six-game win streak?
It would be fucking awesome. Six-game
win streak. They finish with
93 points.
Is that what they'd be at?
Yeah. Yeah.
God.
That would be fucking awesome.
Okay, those are the pick.
M, can you scroll down to the west?
Yep, great job.
Keep going a little bit.
Keep going a little bit.
Keep going a little bit.
Okay, stop.
All right.
The West, Dan.
Seattle's in.
I'm not even going to talk about it.
Agreed.
Seattle's making.
This is a three-way battle
between Winnipeg, Calgary, and Nashville.
Right now, the Jets have the two-spot.
77 games, 89 points, 33 wins in regulation.
Mm-hmm.
The flames are just out at three.
78 games, 87 points, 29 wins in regulation.
And miraculously, the Predators, after having a fire sale at the deadline.
77 games, 86 points, and 28 wins in regulation.
Can I give you their schedules, please?
Absolutely.
And you're going to fucking love this.
Okay, Winnipeg.
Jets have four games left versus Calgary tonight.
I'm very aware.
Game two versus the predators
Game three versus the sharks
Game four at the wild
Oh they have five game four at the wild
Game five at the abs
That's Winnipeg
Yep
Flames
Dude that
That could be a 0 and 5 stretch
Yes dude
I uh no
The sharks the sharks the sharks
The sharks the sharks flames
At Jets
At Canucks
Versus the Predators
Versus the Sharks
and then the Predators
That feels like two and two, okay.
Versus Carolina,
at Jets,
at Flames,
oh my God.
Versus the Wild
versus the Avs.
That's the Preds?
Yeah.
Oh, they might be.
Cain's Jets, Flames, Wild Avs.
They might be absolutely toast.
But dude, it's really gonna,
these next three games,
they all, they round robin each other.
Literally the next three,
like, or the next, yeah, two, three weeks,
two three games,
they play a round Robin.
So this is it.
It's coming down to it, right?
Yeah.
Fucking A.
So,
let's have a
Murderer's Row.
Let's just
for the argument,
assume they're out.
Jets go
Flames,
Preds,
sharks, wild
abs.
And the flames go
Jets,
Kinnucks,
Preds sharks.
Mm-hmm.
I'm going chalk.
I think,
Seattle's one,
I think Winnipeg gets in.
Really?
I think the,
the extra game
that Calgary has played
and being two points back
is brutal.
But,
yeah,
absolutely.
If Calgary beats
Winnipeg tonight,
you're tied
we're live
and you're live
but I think that extra game
is just gonna hurt them
and you start to talk about earlier
but would you like to discuss
why they are down two points
having played an extra game
yeah I mean they fucking lost
to the blackhawks last night
like dude you could be tied right now
you could be tied
it would be a bloodbath
you would be tied in points
sure there's the extra game
but it would just be so much pressure on tonight
and then what's regulation wins
no they're pretty far they need the points
yeah they need the points
you could be tied right now
with a game against
Winnipeg coming in with some mojo and you let the fucking
shit hawks score
however five goals four goals
it's like what the hell are you idiots doing
the
I guarantee it was a case of looking ahead
you know they had their eyes on the Jets game and just blew past the
Hawks but dude and I want to talk about this in hottest teams
we do it now
that is unacceptable
soldier on both levels
on both teams
I know
what is going on
like why are the Blackhawks winning?
Yeah, and you just can't lose that game.
I actually, and I'm going to talk about the ducks later to you,
but the Hawks were on an eight game skid
and a tip of the cap, sir, to that performance,
to that tank job.
Like, thank you for getting in the game
and knowing what's up at the end of the year here.
Seriously?
Then you beat the flames for no fucking reason,
a team that's trying so hard to win.
That one feels like, you know,
like their last 10, Calgary is 6, 3, and 1.
They're hot right now.
but it's like that's got to be seven two and one i'm sorry you cannot lose to the blackhawks i mean
it's ridiculous fucking hell man that is so brutal look look at look at the ducks dude
dude i'm going to hold on the ducks and i'm going to talk about that later too the ducks are on
eight game losing streak okay they are one and nine in their last 10 that is how you do it dude
that's how you go and throw your fucking hat in the ring oh my god it's so it's so frustrating
I don't, but this feels like Calgary, this is Calgary, this is what Calgary has done all year.
It's, and it's so infuriating for them, for the fans, for the players.
It's just fucking Christ, man.
How do you lose to the Chicago Blackhawks?
What are you doing?
So I'm, I'm, you're going chalk, you got the Jets, I'm going flames, and I'll tell you why they're going to beat the Jets tonight.
And then I think they could legitimately, they could almost rip off the rest of the year.
They beat the Jets.
They could then beat the Canucks, beat the Preds, beat the Sharks.
And I'm like, if you win those four, let's see, they're at what?
87.
So they'd be at 95.
You want them to win four straight?
I think they could rip those four.
Okay.
And if they're at 95, the Jets are at 89, so they'd need six points.
Can the Jets win three of these?
Flames, Preds, Sharks, Wild Avs.
Yeah, that's hard.
But I'm saying they lose to the flames, so they'd have to beat Preds and Sharks.
and then try to catch one of wild vats.
So yeah, I'm taking flames.
It take a lot.
Jets are on a two-game win streak.
They're hot, you know.
Yep.
But fuck me.
So you brought it up.
Those are our picks.
Really excited to see this race shake down.
You brought it up, so I'm just going to skip to it now.
But a big shout out to the docs, dude.
Like, this is a master class.
I mean, it's just beautiful.
Can you remember, actually, because I can't,
when we listed this off when we were chirping Keller and the coyotes for being too good,
we were listing it and it was like the blue jackets and the sharks were in the discussion were
the ducks right there two last when we were talking about this they were yeah they were like
they were fifth they were fifth up like they were they were they're not in last place they were definitely
weren't last but they were in the conversation Arizona though lost four in a row like they
they had a three game win streak and then they're like let's fucking check but dude do something
special lose eight games I agree you're too high they are in the basement dude and it is so
awesome and that's by the way officially where I want badar to go I don't know if I've said that
on the air yet, but I hope he ends up...
No, the ducks.
Oh.
I just think it would be so fun if he was on the team
with all those kids.
Yeah, with like Treve and Troy and all that.
That would be fun.
So yeah, oh yeah, the ducks would
lose an eight in a row get themselves in deadlocked.
Dude, they're in the basement dance.
It's incredible. It's a fucking beautiful effort.
That's crazy.
Chicago was there too.
Chicago was there and then they beat the fucking...
They were below them, dude. And then they beat the flames.
Like, morons, dude.
It's unbelievable.
And if you look at it, dude,
Ducks, Hawks, and Blue Jackets, all 77 games, 56 points.
Shark's 77 games, 60 points, they ain't out of it.
Everyone's looking at these wild card races.
I got my eyes glued to the bottom, dude.
This is going to be really interesting.
I mean, it doesn't guarantee anything.
We always talk about it, but, yeah, you want all those lottery balls.
Give me all the balls. Put all the balls in it.
Dude. It's unbelievable.
Kind of fucking electric stuff.
Yeah, those are wild card picks, and look at the bottom of the league.
Dude, a tip of the cap to the ducks, sir.
Well done, Anaheim.
Okay, next piece of hot ice.
I have a bunch of things I would like to talk to you about the Edmonds and Oilers.
Hit me.
So I saw a terrifying stat as a Bruins fan today.
Okay?
The Boston Bruins have obviously dominated this year.
They could set the NHL wins record.
They have already won the president's trophy, et cetera, best team in the league.
By a mile.
Well said.
For the first 90 days.
so three months-ish of the NHL season,
the Bruins had the best record in the league.
Day one to day 90.
From day 91 for the next 86 days,
which takes us to today,
the Oilers have the best record in the league.
Interesting.
Very interesting.
They traded for Matias Ekholm.
Is it by three games?
Yeah, it's pretty close.
But since they traded for Ekholm,
the Oilers are 14, 2, and 1.
I mean, that's good deadline work.
It's what I said.
I said you got to get yourself a fucking big-ass D-man and they did it.
They look scary.
Let me keep going.
McDavid, obviously nuclear 1447 points, dry side all 123 points.
R&H, 99 points.
Yeah, he's going to have 100 points.
The Oilers would become the 14th team in NHL history
with at least three players with 100 points in a season
and the first team since 1995,
when the Penguins did it with Lemieux, Yager, and our boy Ronnie Francis.
That penguin team lost in the conference finals in seven to the Panthers, just saying.
To the Panthers?
Yeah.
Unexpected.
I think Van Biesbrook, I think, that year.
We're saving our playoff predictions for next week, probably, so I'm not having you say any of that.
But what I would like you to hear from you is how worried should the rest of the league be about the Oilers right now?
I would say as worried as they were last year.
Interesting, not more.
I'm going to be honest, man.
that like what was that 14 2 and 1 14 2 and 1 that's fantastic like that's an incredible rip uh
uh i i i don't care about that i'm not scared of them if i'm a top team in the west if i'm
Dallas Vegas Colorado L.A Minnesota I'm not afraid of edmonton dude not more afraid of
Edmonton then I should be is what I mean.
I'm not sitting there going, yeah, they're a kickwalk.
I'm going, yeah, it's Edmonton.
It's a hard series, but I'm not like, holy fuck, dude, they're good.
Because to me, they're getting good wins, but at the end of the day, I have major doubts
about their goaltending.
I have major doubts about their defense in a seven-game series.
The Oilers are the most top-heavy fucking team that has ever existed, and yes, dry-sidal,
R&H
Connor
all over
100 points
they are absurd
but dude
when you get
into a seven game
series
against a good
team they go like this
you have three players
neutralize the three players
as best as you can
and then you fucking lose
and that's what's happened
to Connor
and Drys Idol
every year of their career
I'm not saying
that they're not going
to make a good run
I think that they're
going to
probably go to
the Western Conference
finals
I think that's a
there's a decent
chance of that
Again, not making my predictions, but I will not be surprised if they get there.
I don't think that that team has the screws to win a championship.
I don't.
So my pushback slightly is that I feel like the Oilers last year, I can't remember how many points they had.
Oh, they've got a hundred points season last year.
Yeah, I'm pretty sure.
The Oilers last year were the devils this year to me, where I'm like, ooh, that's cool.
That's a great season.
you've got the playoff
resume yet to kind of make a good run
and then they did they made an awesome run last year
which is why this year
if I'm in the West they scare me so much more
because they've made a run they kind of know
what it's like and I
you gotta stop the puck you were very right
about that and they have some big questions there
but I do
think the narrative is slightly off
that there's no supporting
cast they're top heavy because of these
trades like Buchstad Echholm nurse is still
there like they have good
D. They have pretty good D. And yeah, they're top heavy, but they, and I, teams would pray to be
top heavy. Teams would pray to have three guys, 300 point guys. Yeah, I guess. I don't think so, though,
because like we looked it up, no team. Obviously, things have changed and it, you know,
changed. Actually, I think technically not last year, because McKinnon's contract wasn't big until
this year. Is that right? Maybe. I can't remember. But it's like, uh, the only team in
NHL history to make it to the final with a player on their roster making more than $10 million
is the Montreal Canadians with Carrie Price and they got gentlemen swept out of it out of a bubble
Stanley Cup. So like I don't think teams would pray to be top heavy like that. Like they're they're
paying 15 fucking million dollars it feels like to these guys and that's why they're top heavy. And
again, the cap's changing. The game is changing. Right. That's I was just going to say. And I don't
like your devil's comp at all personally. I think Carolina of last year is a better comp. I think
Carolina and Edmonton were the same teams last year.
Like they were like, damn, you're really good, you've got a pretty young core, you're making some noise this year, good regular seasons, you get to the second round, Carolina, then you're out.
Edmonton made it to the conference finals.
You're out.
And now this year, sure, is a little bit different.
The Ecombe trade is amazing, absolutely.
I don't know.
I'm just saying I'm not, I have not seen a single Oilers game.
and that's not me being like
Oh, I didn't watch a lot of, I've watched plenty of Oilers games
Yeah
I have not really seen a single Oilers game this year
Where I'm like damn that the team won that game
Connor has a point on every fucking goal
Yeah
And listen, he's done it all season long
So there's an argument to be made
Saying he could just do it all playoffs long too
But I just don't think we've ever seen that dude
Every time there's a team that's like this
You're riding the back of this superstar
You lose
Why didn't Wayne Gretzky win more cups?
Yeah
Brutal question dude
Brutal question
But why didn't Wayne Gretzky win more cups?
Well, hockey, I think, is one of the hardest.
You know, if you have a hot quarterback, if you have a good pitcher,
there's a lot of play, like NBA, they play the whole game, you know,
like LeBron wins.
Yeah.
Like, hockey, I think, is the hardest as a skater.
Definitely.
If your goalie goes nuclear, you can.
But that's my point to you.
Yeah.
It's like, yes, dry saddle has 123 points or whatever it is, and he's going to have more.
Yeah.
It's not like Connor's the only player on this team, but the team goes with Connor.
And I'm saying, you know, Gretzky was out.
here having 160 point seasons every year.
He didn't win the cup every year.
Yeah.
And I don't know.
I'm just saying it's...
So you're not that worried?
I'm not that worried.
But again, that's to say, I've watched Connor be a freak all season long, and he's
the, he is hands down the best hockey player I've ever seen in my entire life.
Yeah.
And I'm not saying he's better than Gretzky.
I'm saying I wasn't really alive and watching hockey when Gretzky was in his heyday.
So for me, it's not even close.
Yep.
Like, you know,
Ovechkin, Crosby, Dotsuk,
all these guys who fucking blew my hair back.
Connor is making a mockery of the league.
He is preposterous.
But I just,
I look at what happens to that team
when it's playoff hockey
and I would not,
I'm not sitting here going,
he can't win,
but I am saying that I don't think
I don't think it's a certainty that this team is like definitely going to make noise.
I just, it's, I don't.
Me neither, but they, for me, for my money, they are the scariest, second scariest team in the West behind only Colorado.
And they could lose in the fucking first round to the Kings.
I might even pick that.
I'm just saying they are the second scary.
If I'm the Bruins, for example, I'd rather play the Kings or Vegas or Dallas or, or, you know, whoever the
else, Minnesota, than the Oilers.
Yeah, it's just so interesting.
When a team goes through one guy like this, you know, you'd like to say, why hasn't
anyone been able to slow him down all season?
Yeah.
Because they haven't.
When you play a team, hopefully, seven times in a row or less if you're doing well, it's
easier to slow a guy down.
It's matchups get, you know, you're really tracking the matchups.
Yes.
Yep.
So, I don't know.
It'll be devastating, though.
It will be devastating if and when Edmonton just like, oh my God, they lost the first two games.
Or, you know, they've fallen behind in a series and Conner's getting frustrated and their goaltending is leaking.
And it's just like this.
That's the real one.
Here you're dead yet again.
And I'm just like, well, dude, I saw a ton on Twitter that was like, God, I can't fucking wait for playoffs.
I saw so much on Twitter.
I'm going to get nothing done.
Oh, it's going to be a joke.
I'm gonna go to as many games as humanly possible.
Holy shit.
You didn't by chance see anything on Twitter, did you?
I did see something on Twitter, Dan, and it said this.
If the Oilers lose this year, everyone was like, you know, it's not fair to Connor.
He's got to get his cup.
He needs to leave.
They got to blow it up.
They never give him anybody.
And I'm kind of arguing against that.
And I know you were saying they're top heavy, which they obviously technically are.
But I'm like, no, they went out and got defensemen.
They're getting players.
They're bringing people in.
They have done right by Connor, according to me.
with the maybe exception of goal-tending,
but they've tried to do something there too.
In my opinion,
top heavy is reserved for forward lines.
Okay.
I think that they have two of the best
top two lines in the league,
and I think their bottom six is fucking...
Yep.
Nothing.
And...
No offense.
Part of that was active.
They went out and got it home and all this stuff.
Yeah.
Part of it, and this one I wanted to ask you about real quick,
was a little lucky,
with this RNA
moon shot.
Like, dude, his career high
was 69 points before this season.
Yeah, he has gone nuclear.
He's gonna go a buck 05, dude.
It's interesting because I,
part of me felt like
maybe he got a better
shot this year, but
that's not really the case.
I think he's playing PG1 now.
I think he's like 15 power play goals, maybe.
I think I swear I saw that.
He's just so good, man.
But dude, it's crazy.
And I actually, I always loved him
and, or I mean, I guess not loved him
because I wasn't an Oilers guy,
but I wanted better for him
because I felt like there was that stretch
of Oilers' picks that were just not quite
working out.
Do you remember that?
I looked it up.
So there was a ton of,
whenever he's gotten his new contracts,
there's been people chirping on Twitter
who have been like,
oh, get rid of RNAH.
And I've always been like,
he's a great player.
I don't know what the fuck you guys are talking about.
But it was a little, it was a little,
I would not have called him having a hundred points.
It was a little Debrusky, right?
Where you're like, yeah, he's got 50, 60 points, which is not bad in the national, obviously.
But I'm like...
I feel like he's always been better than Debruss.
He has, but he was also won.
Yeah.
You know?
Yep, yep, yep.
So listen to this, dude.
Everly, in 2008 went in the first round, 22nd overall, so not super high, but
I just felt like, I remember thinking Everly was going to be so good.
And he's a very, very solid NHL player.
But that felt like this one in Edmonton that was going to blossom into this extreme talent
and it didn't work out.
then dude so that was 2008
2010 Taylor Hall
first overall to the Oilers
plays six seasons six good ones by the way
but then gone wins an MVP for Jersey
you know see you later
2011 the very next year
they picked first overall again
take RNH
and was only okay for the first
handful of seasons
then 2012 they picked first overall
again three years in a row
Nile Yakopov plays four seasons
for the Oilers gone
yeah he's terrible
so I'm like dude you went
it's a huge boss
First overall, three years in a row, dude, and you've got Taylor Hall gone, Yakubov gone, and a middling R&H.
Then, 2013, the very next year, Darnel Nurse 7th overall, very solid.
The very next year, 2014, third overall, dry-sidal.
And the very next year, 2015, first overall McDavid.
And I'm like, dude, they are the 70, trust the fucking process, dude.
They are the 7-6ers, picking first overall a fucking four, what was it, four out of five years, four out of six years.
So crazy.
Everyone's like, how they were good?
I'm like, I know how they're good.
They've had the best, they've had the top pick every year on the fucking draft.
They've had top eight picks for the last eight years.
Isn't that insane, dude?
Starting at 2010 to 2015, 1-1-1-7-3-1.
Yeah.
Woof.
But dude, now would have been, but it's paying off.
Yeah, they were in the Western Conference Finals last year.
They look fantastic right now.
And the R&H resurgence has been pretty fucking sick, and I'm pumped for him, dude.
Me too.
He's a phenomenal player, so I'm not, that's not true.
I was going to say, I'm not surprised by this.
I'm not surprised he is a great player.
I am.
Delightly surprised he is a hundred point.
Yeah.
But that's fucking wild.
So let me hit you with this, dude.
This is the Vegas.
Bet MGM.
Everybody sign up right now.
Bet MGM odds for the cup.
Bruins plus 375.
Okay.
Plus 650 second.
The aves.
That is correct.
You support 100%.
Plus 900.
Third.
the Leafs.
Okay.
Oh, okay.
No, no, I'm like, oh yeah, yeah.
Also plus 900, side for third.
Cains.
That's massive Cain's disrespect, in my humble fucking opinion.
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
Do you want to sound off on that yet, or keep going?
No, keep going.
Plus 1,100, 5th, the Oilers.
Also, plus 1,100, the Devils,
plus 1,200 Vegas, plus 1,200,
Rags plus 1,400 Lightning, plus 1,400 Dallas, plus 2,000 Wilde, plus 2,000 Kings.
And I stopped there.
Okay.
Personally, I would like to say disrespect to the Kings, but I kind of like the odds
because of Phoenix.
You have a goalie who's played 20 games, or not, you know, more than that, but actually
maybe not one of that.
What's the split been since Corpus All came in?
Do you know?
I don't know in front of me.
Corpusall has been, they're, they're tandeming.
Yeah, yeah.
Definitely.
So I don't think it's disrespect to them.
I think massive disrespect to Dallas.
Oh, really?
Dallas is just plummeted down there, and they are a phenomenal team with one of the best gullies in the league.
Fact.
So I don't really know what that.
I mean, that is crazy, how low they are.
Nice value.
Nice value for anybody.
I am a little rattled that they have New York so low.
Same.
I thought that would be way higher.
You know, New York was in...
Tide with Vegas?
That's pretty low.
I mean, I guess Vegas.
is winning or was winning or is still winning their division and the rags are in third in their
own so they're like whatever but i agree with the cane hype but it just felt like they were
going to be a cup favorite trano being third or is it third or is it tied with tied with the canes
tied with the canes yeah trano being third is so and just to be clear it's so clickbaiting they
They have less points than the hurricanes, less points than the devils, and I think they're maybe one up on the rags.
Like they could be Bruins, Keynes, they could be like in the east.
I think they have 102 and the rags have 101 or something like that.
Yeah.
I think that's crazy because they just, they might get shit pumped by the bolts right now.
I mean, you were going up against, and I know fucking, oh, my God, man.
You were going up against Vasilevsky in the playoffs.
And Vaselowski is hot right now, by the way.
And there's a chance that they...
He doesn't even wake up until March, dude.
And they are about to waltz into a April playoff series against Andrei Vaselowski, who's possibly like this.
I literally don't give in goals.
Yeah.
I do not let in goals in the playoffs.
So...
Oh, dude.
Well, I have said, and I mean this, on record, I would like to see the Maple Leafs get out of the first.
round. I want, I want new blood. I want new action. I want to see the monkey get off the back. I want to see what happens. I would also
die laughing. Die laughing. Die if they got swept in the first round. Yeah. There's in my way, no way. Yeah. In my opinion,
there's no planet where that happens. However, if it did happen, it would be the most electric
content on planet Earth. And I would feel so bad for Maple Leafs fans. Yeah.
You know I always say this.
Every time we're watching the fucking Little League World Series or even March Maddis, which
was just on, I have a hard time as I age watching athletes lose stuff.
Because I just remember how horrible it feels.
I know.
The camera always goes to them and these guys are just, and girls are devastated.
And I'm like, I don't like it.
It's awful.
And we have said this a few times where the Leafs have been a funny thing to me as not
a Leafs fan.
I'm like, whatever, they're losing in the first round.
This is hysterical.
But I also want them to win this year.
because A, that's enough.
They have families.
And B, looking at Austin Matthews
in that handshake line last year,
half his soul left his body,
he only has half to give.
So if they lose this year, too,
I'm like, it's all of them.
And you also start to know these guys.
Like, I don't want to watch Mitch lose.
Yeah, yeah.
You know, it's like, oh, my God.
It's awful.
Yeah, I'm not about it.
I love that they have the Ave second
and you agreed, because so do I.
And, yeah, I mean,
they're the same fucking team with like a 50 goal scoring moose and they were this sleeping giant
this whole time and I'm glad the odds are reflecting that. So for the same logic, I should be,
I should be understanding that they have the oilers so high to. But it seems crazy to me that they
have, you know, the oilers behind Vegas, a team that's ahead of them in the standings.
Like the canes not being ahead of the Leafs blew my mind and the Oilers being the fifth favorite
to win the cup. Kind of blew my mind.
I'm not even saying I don't think they'll get that far.
I'm just saying like the rags aren't ahead of the oilers.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's interesting.
I mean, the rags have been doing so well.
But, you know, Chesty's not Cheshty's not the Chesty that they all thought he was.
Yeah, that's a fact.
And it's wild.
Okay, so you're largely okay with the odds except for the Leafs and Third.
And Dallas.
I think Dallas is way too fucking one.
That was a pretty good one.
You know what rattles me about Carolina?
your goalie is Frederick Anderson.
That's it.
They lost in seven to the rags last year.
I just, you know, and the abs won with Darcy Kemper last year.
You don't need a Vezna guy.
You don't need it.
But it's helpful.
Does in the regular season body of work meet anything?
Like, they're a fucking wagon, dude.
I just don't know, man.
It's like, what's so funny to me is that there's no team currently in the play.
Wow, this is actually an interesting thought for me here.
There is no team off the top of my head in the Stanley Cup playoffs currently,
who has a goalie that I think is like, I know what it takes to win, and I have proven it.
other than Shostirkin
or excuse me other than Vasilisky
can I push back on one
I want to see if I can think of it
and I know Rangers fans will be like
what the fuck you're talking about
Chesterkin is you know
took us to the...
No but you're right yeah
I'm actually gonna push back on two
I would hear quick
Johnny Quick
but quick is
he's old
yep that's what
let's face it you're old
he could die
he could die at any moment
and I would hear Otter
maybe
well you know I love him
and I think he don't need to know nothing
all he has to do is stop pucks
and he'll do that till he's dead
but I do think there's another goalie
in the playoffs that has multiple championships
oh are you talking about flour
yeah who's gonna get benched
but this is what I'm saying
but maybe not he could play
he could play significant time but either way
I think Quick and flour are
they're just like I don't even know if you're
going to start dude
that's the thing that's so fucking weird
I think quick probably will
but Quick is older, man, and, like,
flower is older. They're both, they're both, like, yeah,
we're in the last legs here.
Yep.
So it's, it's like, it's a Vassie, dude.
Like, fucking Olmark has literally not won a playoff game in his life.
Yeah.
And that's the best team in the league.
And he was fucking bunk in them last year, by the way.
And, you know, it's just, it's crazy.
It's crazy.
That's actually a cool thought, Dan.
There's a ton, and this is just, you know,
changing of the guard, I guess.
Actually, let's think about it this way.
what goalies are out there right now that you're like damn they have cut pedigree and they're just
they're missing the playoffs yeah that's the thing like is there no one i think yeah you know what i'm
saying like we might have just they might have just aged out of the league yeah it's like binner is
yeah but even is a stanley cup winning goalie but like he's out of his mind but i'm like that was
um perigree or um i think juice i think i think i think saros is a but they never won
But they've made some good
Playoff
performances but
but that's still interesting
And can you scroll the team
Yeah
A little bit on that
Yeah great
Um
Winnipe
Yeah I mean
You know what I'm saying
Kemper's gone
I think I think like I said
Otter is like interesting
And you got some sick goalies
In the league obviously
Otter Hellebuck Sorokin
Like these guys are nasty
And I'm like dope
But I just don't
There's
It's really only Vasi
That you're still scared up
That you're like damn
That guy can like
Fucking steal it up front
I think it's so interesting that so many of these unreal goalies are on teams that are wildcard teams.
Yeah, and that's why they're even in contention.
Yeah.
So, or then new, new teams that are great.
Like Skinner.
Skinner is a, you know, out of nowhere.
So.
Okay, pretty sick.
Interesting stuff.
All right, I'm going to hit you with a defensive question.
Okay, you love defense, Dan.
You'll know where I'm going with this, but it's going to be.
a cool exercise.
Only 14 times ever.
Has a defenseman had a 100 point season,
a 100 point season in the NHL, 14 times ever.
Bobby Oar did it six times, lull.
Including the most ever at 139 points in the season.
Paul Coffey did it five times, also lull.
Only 16 or 14?
14 times ever, or 14 players?
14 times ever.
Okay, so we've got six and five right there.
So there's 11.
Al McGinnis did it once.
103 points.
Brian Leach did it once
102 points
and Dennis Potvin did it
once 101 points.
Yes.
Nine times ever
has it been
over 110 points
and it went in this order
or coffee or coffee
or coffee or coffee.
Oh man, you love it.
That's it, right?
The other three guys hit their
103, 102, whatever.
Eric Carlson is sitting at 96 points through 77 games.
Yeah, he's going to do it.
We're four points away from it being the 15th time ever a defenseman has done.
He's got versus the aves, home versus the aves, home versus the Oilers, at the Jets, at the Flames, at the Oilers.
Yeah, he's going to do it.
Bloodbath schedule, though.
Yeah, but it's just...
But he's been scoring against everybody.
And this is what I'm saying, like, credit to the Oilers, you guys are cruising, but they do win a lot of games like 6-4.
Yep.
So, he's going to do it.
He's got career highs and everything this year already.
I just, I think he is so like, I have to do this.
Yep.
That he will do it.
Career highs and everything, career has in goals, assist, points, all that stuff.
He's only 32, by the way.
We always think he's super old and not that he's young, but he's 32.
That's young, dude.
Where, so he's got seven all-star appearances.
Yeah.
Two Norris trophies.
Yes.
He's never won the cup.
but he has 37 points in 48 playoff games.
It's not horrible.
It's not horrible at all.
No.
He went to the conference finals with Ottawa in 2016, 2017.
They lost to Pitt who won it.
Then he went to the conference finals with the Sharks in 2018, 19.
They lost to the Blues who won it.
Where does he rank on best defensemen of all time for you right now, especially if he pops a hundred piece?
Eric Carlson is a top 20 defenseman in NHL history for me, and it's,
obvious. And I would, and I, and I say obvious because I think there's a world where I consider him
top 15. There's even a conversation where I consider him top 10. I just, that's like what I need to
look at. So obviously, I'm not having this discussion. I think Eric Carlson is out of this fucking
world. Dude, so I'm not having a discussion with Orr, uh, Bork, Lindstrom, you know, like there's,
and there's some older guys too that are incredible. Eddie Shore, like this, there's like epic
defensemen. So I'm not, I'm not out here being like, Eric Carlson's the,
top five defenseman ever live.
But let me hit you with some guys.
And I'm going to say, is he better than?
Yeah, I'll go off the cup, yes or no.
Is he better than Scott Stevens?
And I'll give you some stats.
Scott Stevens, 13 all-stars, no Norris.
A different time, right?
One, Kahn Smyth, three cups.
Can you give me his highest point total ever?
Oh, sure.
My knee-jerk is...
But that one's tough, though, because of what you just said.
How many cups do you have three?
Three.
But that one is going to be tough because of what you just said,
It's just such a different time.
Yeah.
The answer is no.
Okay.
Oh, he's not better than Scott Stevens.
No.
But that's a fantastic first one to give me.
Scott Stevens in 1993, 94, 78 points.
Yeah, the answer is no.
Okay.
Next one.
Is he better than Chris Pronger?
No.
Five All-Stars, one, Norris, one cup.
No.
And I'm reserving all of this for a couple.
comment that I have, or I'm reserving a comment I have after all of this. Okay, you tell me if you
want point totals, unless you have, if you have a quick answer, you just give it to me. Okay.
Okay, so Stevens, not better than Scott Stevens. Not better than Chris Pronger. Is he better than
Scott Niedemeyer? No. Five All-Stars, one Norris, one consmite, four cups. Is he better than
Chris Chelios? No. 11 All-Stars, three Norris. No. Eleven All-Stars, three Norris. No.
Morris, three cups.
Is he better than...
I'm upset with how long I hesitated there.
Is he better than...
All right, I got three more for you, and I can't wait to hear your answers.
Is he better than Victor Hedman?
Yes.
Headman, three All-Stars, one Norris, one cons, my two cups.
Yes, he is, but, like, Hedman is, what, 30?
And what is his highest point total, do you think?
I bet Hedman...
I bet Hedman's highest point total is something like 65.
Really?
headman is 32 also oh wow
and his highest point total is
85 points
there you go
21 22 season
I said 65 yeah fucking hey
yeah I mean that you got Carlson over headman
that is a
Carlson has more all-stars by a lot
yeah one more Norris
yeah far less consummites
dude I think that one is preposterously close
and could change at the end like
yeah when their careers are
I'm giving Carlson the benefit of the doubt here. Because he's going to win in Norris this year, so that's three. Yes, I'm giving Carlson the benefit of the doubt here. That is super, super close. To me, dude, Victor Headman is unbelievable, but also benefited from being drafted by the fucking Tampa Bay Lightning and has been there his entire hurry. Yep. Like, if you put EK65 in that exact same position, they're very different players. Headman. Headman is the one or two defensive defenseman in the NHL.
probably one, but maybe two, in my opinion.
And that is so much more important to me
in the grand scheme of things than all of these high-flying
point-scoring defensemen.
But I don't think Carlson's a bad defenseman.
And I just think if you put Carlson on that team,
I think they probably have the same success.
Oh, what Carlson's on this lightning team?
On the light, yeah.
And then he has all the cops.
Yep.
So I put Carlson above, Hadman, a little bit.
Championships are always hard.
Okay, so you have Carlson above Headman.
Next one.
Duncan Keith.
No.
Four All-Stars, three Norris, one cons to my three cups.
Yeah.
I had a feeling you were going to say him.
He's not.
That one is so interesting to me, and I'm really surprised by your quick reaction, and I know I'm about to get fucking tuned by hot spanish.
It's horse shit that I make the stance, because, like, he's a very similar resume to Headman.
Well, here's the thing.
Oh, yeah, actually, fucking fair, by the way.
and the consmites matter
dude like that
I almost rate over cup just the
cups because like you can just kind of like piggyback
on a cup when I'm like you were the fucking best player
in the playoffs yeah so the fact that headman and Keith have a consmite
that's fucking legitimate
um
but and again like I I would love to talk to
like Johnny Taze and Kane about it because maybe they are like
dude no don't we lose those cups that
that's one that's I think Duncan Keith has that
amongst his teammates team Canada people they're like that guy was a
fucking rock and I know
like his fucking it's hot like
you hear wit dog talk about all the time like your ankles
kind of go like it's hard to fucking skate
and play that long at that level
but it's weird to me when I'm like
Eric Carlson just seems so much more talented
than Duncan Keith to me like just when I'm watching
the game I'm like there's no way Duncan Keith is better than Eric Carlson.
I just then yeah if Eric Carlson was on the hawks
he has three cups and Duncan Keith's like a middling senator
and no one gives a fuck you know and that could be
complete bullshit, but it's just like, that's where my brain goes.
I feel you, dude.
And Carlson's just so tough for me because he, I think a lot of people look at Carlson as like a,
whatever, dude, Carlson's whatever.
And he's about to have three fucking Norris trophies.
He's about to have 100 points in a season.
And my thing with Carlson, dude, is he is plagued by being on the Ottawa Senators,
no offense, fan base, truly, like, no offense.
It was just a bad stretch.
And then the San Jose sharks.
But that was a,
fuck up. Like that should have been...
Oh yeah. I mean, that's why they went, you know, they went to the Western Conference
Finals. Yeah. And, but then it's just been a shitstorm since. So, yeah. So you have him
worse than everybody except Headman so far. Last one. Zedano Chara.
Six All-Stars, one Norris, one cup.
Um, wow. Isn't that one fascinating? That one, this one bottled my brain up. Um,
I need you because he's better. I think he's better. You have to. He's got a hundred points easy.
He's got three no one's trophies.
and like Bruins fans will eat me for this.
But I mean,
it's tough because Chara came into the league
as like a guy who barely played hockey growing up
was like a forward and then switched to defense
and was bounced around.
He was a lower draft pick.
Yeah.
Was, you know, nothing on the islanders
and then something on the senators
and then became a legend in Boston.
Yeah.
And that's where he won his Norris.
That's where he won his cup.
But, you know, Z's getting,
you, Zee was the best
lockdown defenseman
in the league for a long time.
That's super important.
But what was he getting you?
30 points, you know, like he wasn't on the
stat sheet really in the points column.
That is something, dude.
When you're talking about all of these guys, that is
something like a fucking brick
shit house like Scott Stevens had an 80
point season. Yeah. I mean, like, there are guys
who can do both. Zee never really did
the, I'd be curious to see what's his highest point
total. I bet it's something in the 40s. I'll look it up
maybe 50s actually but I would guess 40s and yeah I mean I fucking love z but I think that
there's something to be said about I'll I'll take this 52 yeah I'm too shabby Z I'll take this
I'll take this heat for this hot take uh the I think the Boston Bruins lost the 23 2013
Stanley Cup final against the Chicago Blackhawks because Z was too old
Z and Seidenberg slowdown.
And when you think about how much longer he played for the Bruins,
after that,
at a pretty high level.
As the top D man,
that was my thing.
I didn't think he needed to be off the team,
but he was the top D man,
and he was going up against Patrick Kane and Jonathan Taves,
and after three games,
they started to eat him alive because it was so long.
And, and, I mean, fucking A man.
That was, what, 10 years ago?
Yeah, Z's 40 now.
So, like, I'm just saying,
Eric Carlson, if he were on a Stanley Cup caliber team right now, I don't think Eric Carlson
is slowing down in a seven-game series. I don't. And that's no detriment disease. He's an
absolute machine. I love him like a family member. Yeah. But I think Carlson is better. My,
thank you for playing. That was wonderful. My knee-jerk. I have two conflicting ideologies here.
My knee-jerk was, I'm like, dude, I got Carlson better, especially after this year.
I got him over Stevens.
I got him over Pronger.
Stevens was a tough one for me.
Chara.
Because I'm like these guys,
they like Carlson,
they were like hard-nosed defensemen for sure,
but like Carlson just brings so much more
to the fucking game than they did.
But, but, but when I got to the Chara one in my head,
I was like, man, I wonder,
as I said Carlson too,
I was like, I wonder if you asked players what they think.
My gut there tells me the players
would be like, Charra is better than him.
Because it was so much harder to play against Chara.
like I wonder and maybe they say the same about Pronger and Stevens where they were like yeah
Carlson's sick but like fucking just play D against him don't it's like char is affecting the fucking
game char is going out there against that first year we won the cup dude or the fuck like you know
that the 2011 season yeah he he went out and shut the fuck down the top line every time 100
we're not getting that from Carlson really so yes yes that's that's very true but you know
you're not getting that from kill McCarr that's what I want to bring up
after that. And I think everyone in the league goes, it's fucking impossible to play against the guy.
He's scarier than Carlson, though, right? I don't know. Not this season. Like, I'm sure
every... There's a chance that people would say Carlson's getting these points in losses.
And I always hate that, aren't? Because I'm like, I don't give a fuck if you're winning or losing.
You're not trying to let another team score. Eric Carlson from the blue line is about to have
a hundred fucking points, dude. That is a guy that you cannot stop. Yep. So, you know,
I think, I think so many people go, Kail McCar is impossible to play against. I think if you
ask anyone right now, is
Eric Carlson easy to,
that's not fair, but is Eric Carlson
much less difficult to play against
than Kelmacar? I think so many
people in that division are like, fuck no, dude.
That guy is a monster.
Because he is. And
yeah, I wonder
you know, Stevens and
Pronger were tough ones for me. I still think
no. I just think that those guys,
I mean, Chris Pronger, dude, was
phenomenal.
He's one... I'm actually curious about his stats.
That's what I'm saying.
he's one that's surprising to me that he never hit 100 because I'm sure he's been in the 90s.
And that's like a, you know, to do that and then also be, because Pronger was a Scott Stevens.
You know, he rear high for Pronger, 62.
Oh, wow.
I'm a fuck, I'm way off on that.
So yeah, that's what I'm kind of saying, dude.
He was not like a huge point guy.
I mean, he won a heart, which is pretty sick.
That's a fucking, he won a heart and a Norris.
That's a dash on the stat sheet for me.
Plus 52 that year.
That's what I'm saying.
That's crazy.
He won a heart.
So I was like, he must have been pretty high,
but that must have been a trap season.
So, you know what I mean?
Like it's,
and it's, there's no answer.
It's a fascinating conversation
because it's really cool to try to figure it out.
That is cool.
And I, and dude,
I fucking love Carlson.
Me too.
Regardless of where you rank him,
he is the fucking man.
I'm so,
I hope he gets 100 and I hope he has five more incredible years than the
Hotch family.
That one thing I was going to say,
and I truly, dude,
I think I stand by this.
He's going to win the North.
trophy this year, I don't think I would give it to him.
Who would you give it to?
I think the Norris trophy has turned into who has the most points as a defense.
It has, which is stupid, but if you get 100, you get it, I think.
Which is fair.
Yeah.
However, it seems crazy to me to give the best defenseman in the NHL award to a team that is so bad.
That's not fair, though, because he's like, well, dude, I'm playing great fucking defense.
If you pull up his stats, I'd be curious what his plus minus is.
I know people don't think plus minus matters, but I'd be very curious to see what his plus minus is.
I bet it's probably like plus nine.
And that's interesting to me because you've got a guy who has 100 points.
What is it?
Dash 15.
So he's a...
Yeah, the sharks are bad.
But if you...
I bet he's close to the best plus minus on the team.
He logs a lot of minutes, but I bet his plus minus isn't that bad.
If you have 100 points and you're a dash 15, that's bad.
that's pretty tough. That definitely has something to say about your team and how they're playing. Absolutely.
But I look at a guy like Hampus Lindholm and frankly Charlie McAvoy. I'm not saying that's who I would give it to.
But I think Charlie McAvoy has something like 54 points right now. I think Hamas Lindholm has something like 53 points right now.
And Hampus Lindholm, I think, is like a plus 50 on the season. Carlson has the of people that have
played more than 50 games this year.
He has like the seventh highest plus minus on the sharks.
So it's not like...
Yeah, okay.
So Hamas Lindholm has 51 points and is plus 46 on the season.
That is...
They're obviously the best team in the league.
So this is slightly unfair to compare.
But I mean, man oh man, is that a great stat?
It's a phenomenal.
Like it's such a, such an impressive stat.
How much PK does he get?
Do you know?
I think a fair amount
Because I know there's always shit like that too
That matters right
Carlo's out on the PK all the time
Yeah I mean Brandon Carlos out on the PK all the time
He's plus 39
I know that's fucking crazy
So
I
I think an interesting stat dude is like
You know
Carlson's leading the league in points
I think Quinn Hughes for defenseman is in third
Maybe second
I think he might be second
And he's got like 80 points
And I'm like
No one's even talking about him
and he doesn't even have close to the goals.
I think he has seven goals
and like fucking my goodness
like 70 assists.
But it's because Vancouver stinks.
They're better than the sharks
and he's not even being whispered
in the...
I mean I know when the
who are the candidates
he'll be one of them.
But I think people will be like
yeah I mean whatever Quinn Hughes.
And I'm like, what do you mean?
Whatever Quinn Hughes.
He's a fucking savage.
And I just...
I wish that the Norris trophy
I suppose this is my take.
Eric Carlson's going to win the Norris Trophy.
I wish personally that the Norris Trophy voting
was completely rethought about.
I think it should
become more of a
defensive player of the year.
I think that's one thing that the NBA does great.
It's like the guy who wins defensive play of the year
is a fucking lockdown defenseman.
And the Norris Trophy
should be
the best defenseman in the NHL.
Well, it's interesting that you guys are having this conversation because this was going
to be my hot ice of the week.
Oh, do you want to, we can get off it and you can bring it up.
No, because I do it now because I want to keep talking about it.
Okay, yeah.
I was going to talk about the fact that Wayne Gretzky wants to introduce a Bobby or trophy,
which is like the...
Wait, this is sick.
Is he trying to rename the Norris or is he trying to create a new trophy?
I think he just wants it to be like...
Wait, wait, scroll up.
I think you were so right.
No, no, it's right down.
It's right down there.
It's that he wants it to be for the most points for a defenseman
and then for the best defensive defenseman.
Have two awards.
Look at me and Wayne.
Wow.
Me and Wayne on the same page.
While you're wearing your wane.
Look at me and my hot ice.
Great hot ice, Sam.
No, seriously.
That is good shit.
Dan's wearing a Wayne shirt while he was so locked in with Wayne.
That was sick, Emily.
And I would love that.
I would love this too, man.
When I'm looking at that list, dude, it's Carlson's going to win it.
as you should, there's not even, like, the guy you're describing isn't even on...
Yes, he is. It's Dougie Hamilton.
He's got 73 points.
And he's also, by every metric, a very good defender.
Okay.
I think Josh, I mean, like, Dahlene is in this conversation as well.
Dahlene is fucking shut down and also has 68 points.
Yeah.
You fucking...
Josh Morssey's a great defender, too.
Josh Morsi is dope. I had him early this year.
Yeah.
So, so, yeah.
I think what a great segue into M's hot ice, Emily.
It would be cool.
You've been too quiet for my liking this episode, but that was...
Well, you guys just fucking talk each other's ear off,
and I think it's like, you're saying great things,
so I don't want to really interrupt.
That was a 10 out of 10 thing to chime in with.
Dan, two things.
I completely agree.
I think there should be a Bobby Award and a Norris trophy.
Me too.
Because, I mean, dude, I just don't think Eric Carlson is the best defenseman in the league.
Here are my two things.
One, it would be cool.
You know how baseball is like,
every fucking season there's a new baseball three-letter acronym that's some stat that I've never
fucking heard of in my life but it's it's like no this is what the best player the best players
in the league are the best of this and I'm like you made this up but one of them is like average
plus or on-base plus slugging it's like OPS I think and it would be cool if there was
a stat in the NHL that was like goals assist points plus minus and then a I mean this is easy
math but it was just the points your total points plus your plus minus
so like Carlson goes from 96 to 81 because he's a dash 15 yeah and Lindholm goes from 51 to 96
yes because he's a plus you know that that's a cool way to do it I mean I think if they keep one
trophy that would be a cool stat yeah um I think it's really shout out Ty Anderson I he's a guy
that does this there's a lot of analysts and you know people who were deep in the stat books
who show the stats of players you know outscoring opponents blank to black to
blank when they're on the ice.
Yeah.
And, you know, obviously that's more or less plus minus.
But, oh, yeah, I got you.
That is the shit that I'm like, dude, well, I was right about to ask, how do you, how do you pick your second award?
Like, what do you, there has to be a metric somewhere.
I think, I think we're getting close to it.
And maybe it's that.
I think plus minus is fucking huge, dude.
It's like, who is, if you are, this is what I would look at.
If I were looking at the award for best defensemen in the league, I would look at points, absolutely.
Like if you have, you know, 12 points and but you're like a plus 30, I'm not putting you in the same conversation as like a Lindholm or something like that.
What I would look at is your point totals.
I would look at your time on ice.
I would look at your plus minus in a huge way.
I would look at your PK time on ice and your PK percentage.
Yeah.
Those are things off the top of my head that I would be like, you are so instrumental to your team.
Yep.
I mean, I'm sorry for the listening.
There's no one of Bruins fans.
I'm only saying this because we just looked at Bruin's stats.
But the fact that Brandon Carlo is a guy that no one is talking about in terms of like flashy defensemen is a plus 39 on the season.
And he plays every P.K. minute it feels like that's very impressive from a defensive metric.
All right.
Good stuff.
Last thing I want to talk about.
This is for both of you.
So every now and then we do something on this pod that, you know, I know is going to get people kind of riled up.
I'm like, Austin Matthews, shot Ron O'Reilly on purpose with a rifle.
And everyone's like, oh, my God.
I'm like, all right.
But every now and then, on the other hand, we do something that I do not expect the backlash and vitriol.
And it comes hard and fast.
I would say the custom jersey people are one, for example, is a good example of that.
That was one of our first big bio moments where I was like, oh, my God, people are going to kill me.
Yeah.
So everyone was really mad about that.
So last week, we sound.
sounded off on the fanatics jerseys.
Oh.
And chalked this one up as something I didn't expect as much pushback on as we got.
Now, the people were sounding off in the comments.
Pushback.
What are you talking about?
Most people were on your side.
No, well, I would say the majority of people were on your side.
You were chirping fanatics harder than me, certainly.
And most of the comments were chirping fanatics.
People were really into the Lulu jersey idea, too.
Yeah.
Did you see that?
Wow.
One of the, one, someone commented on that post and was like,
Lulu jerseys would be fire.
And then it has hundreds and hundreds of likes,
but then also tons of really funny comments that were like,
yeah, but they would also retail for 600 bucks.
To be fair, I think, like, I can't picture that
as much as I could picture like Vori or whatever you pronounce it.
Really?
Like, I could see the word Vorgi on an NHL jersey.
Okay.
Okay, so anyway, but a few people, very few on the comments at least,
were coming to Fanatics Defense, all right?
Hit me.
I, no, it's not even comments.
I got a DM
That said
You personally?
That said this
Hold on
You got a DM on your inactive Instagram
On my burner
No
There's no way
Yeah because I was defending fanatics
And everyone know it's like
My names on the thing
I know my Instagram is
I got a DM that said
I'm five minutes into the fanatics portion
of the podcast
And the amount of information
That is inaccurate
Is crazy
And so naturally I said
Go on
Yes.
Please.
Enlighten us.
Turns out this person works for fanatics and has requested to remain anonymous.
Get them on the pod.
But he says, I will tell you, let's see, one, two, three, four, I'll tell you six things.
And then that's all you're getting.
And I said, please, give me the data.
This is incredible.
So I get some fucking data for you, day.
Go.
And for all the listeners, by the way.
I can't wait for none of this to mean anything.
to me. The first one, I genuinely,
and I'm not even being sober. Thank you for listening, Mr.
Fanatic Man. Thank you,
thank you for spitting the facts. We, we,
I agree. We need to be fact-checked if we're
incorrect. I want, I want to be, I want to be very clear.
But what did we say that wasn't,
that's what we got to find out. I want to be very
clear, I am so, I am wide open.
Yep. I am wide open to me. Absolutely.
Okay, the first data point.
Meanwhile, Dan's like, I don't give a fuck.
I'll be honest. The first data point. And this one,
you're going to hate. It is, it is, it is,
irrelevant. I mean, it's true, but it's just shut up and fucking read them. The breakaway jersey,
which is what they sell, the breakaway jersey that everyone is making fun of is still going to be
sold to fans so they can afford it and support their team. But obviously, those are not the
jerseys that are going to be worn in game. Yeah, no shit. Yeah, we know that. Okay, all right,
anonymous person, so far, you're a fucking moron because we said that a thousand times. Granted,
we said, no, we did. We, I literally said, people are saying that. I literally said, quote,
obviously
the jerseys that the guys are going to be wearing
are not the shitty ones people are buying.
That is something we addressed many times.
So this person's dumb so far.
Okay.
I'm trying to figure out which order to give you these in.
Read them down the list that he gave them in.
Okay. Fanatics currently
manufactures 100% of every jersey
worn in the MLB games right now.
And there's no complaints there. It just says majestic on them.
But they are literally made...
Okay, so it's insane majestic, not fucking fanatics.
Okay.
Number two point means nothing to me.
Emily, I feel like you and I were on the same page of like,
we know that the jerseys are going to be quality.
Obviously, they're not going to be shitty.
Yes, obviously.
Okay, we did say they would be, you know what?
I can sit here and say maybe they won't be as good as quality as if somebody else made them.
But they are definitely going to be better quality than the ones that they have or purchase that are cheaper.
Obviously.
Agree, Emily.
And you don't know that if Under Armour or Nike or someone else got this to do,
that they wouldn't make a higher quality jersey.
They absolutely could.
We are not saying that they definitely would,
but that's possible.
But what we did agree on and did say is,
obviously they will make quality jerseys for the players
because it's for the fucking players.
Okay, this next,
these next all just give you together
because you're talking about it.
Fanatics has a deal right now
where they manufacture a massive percentage
of all Nike items,
and then Nike just puts the Nike logo on them
because of their branding deal,
including everything MLB players wear,
not just the jersey,
the pants, the underarmor,
like the undershirts, everything.
It all says Nike,
but it is literally all.
fanatics. It's part of a deal they have with Nike.
Okay. So everyone's like,
you make such a nice shit, and I'm like, that's a fanatic shirt.
We're going to reserve judgment because I still,
I have my main point to say,
go on. Next
one, the materials and
factories used to create the NHL
jerseys are going to be exactly
the same as the ones used by Adidas.
Adidas uses today through the 2026
season at least, and then they're,
I guess this is a potential boost,
but they're intending to make improvements to that
in the long run. But my point is, like, it
is literally the same jersey.
Everyone's, it's going to be a fanatics on it.
And everyone's like, this jersey sucks compared to the Adidas jersey.
And I'm like, it is literally the same jersey.
I'll be curious to see if it's like...
Okay, that's still fine.
I think the dimple thing is Adidas's like signature change.
And I'm curious if that will still be on there.
Because if that's the case, it is not the same jersey.
And this is this person's last point.
And you're going to respect the fuck out of it now.
It says this.
I'm scared.
Fanatics is not a good name for your company if you want to not to not be just for fans.
respect this person so much.
I hated them after the first point.
I love them after that.
Okay.
Like I said,
I'm wide open.
My favorite piece of information in that is that so, like, Nike is just fanatics.
Like, material.
That's what they're saying.
All these Nike shirts that everyone in the MLB is wearing,
it's like, Nike shirts are sick.
And I'm like, those are made by fanatics.
It's a fanatics.
If this person's actually saying that, like, fanatics factories are making
are making stuff and then shipping it to Nike and Nike is screen printing a Nike logo on it.
That's interesting information.
I will say, however, our biggest point, which stands and they just cooperated at the end,
our biggest issue is having fanatics on these jerseys.
Like that point of like MLB is fanatics, but they just put majestic.
I'm like this, good, put majestic on the NHL jersey too.
Like I just don't want fanatics on it.
We can't talk about fanatics more, but like...
No, but one last point on that is, like, yes, that was a major point.
And another major point that he did, like, try and correct is, like, that we were saying, like, they might be bad quality.
And because of the fact that Fanatics does produce bad quality shit, that's not to say, like, they don't use different materials for Nike.
Like, Nike has more money.
Like, Fanatics is known to make shitty quality stuff because it's cheaper and more affordable.
But, like, that doesn't mean that it's not, like, they are not capable.
making better quality things.
I think we all agreed on last week.
I was going to say there's a lot of comments
of people being like, dude, I ordered
two jerseys from Fanatics this year.
One of them had a stain on it and the other
part of the stitching
was completely out. And I just
we don't have that a lot with Nike.
Agree.
So I think Emily makes a good point. Yeah.
The shit that they're sending to Nike, they're probably
putting more attention to talent. And it's probably
different facilities, different factories that they
utilize. But I think that's my biggest point. And I will
concede to you two in the fucking
comment section that the name
it's not that cool
that fanatics logo
and name will be on an NHL jersey. I wish
they either changed it or whatever did a rebrand.
I'm not going to push back on that one.
But I am going to push back
and I'm not even saying you two are going that hard on this
but I am going to push back on everyone being like
they're going to be crap and not even because
they're like the breakaway ones
I get are crap. They're saying no even their good stuff
is going to be crap and I'm like I feel like this
at very least was like bro they make the
MLB jersey.
Like no one's, pro athlete,
no one is bitching
about the MLB jerseys.
They make a good jersey.
I agree and I am certain
that we did say that.
I know that the jerseys
that the players are wearing
are going to be fine.
Yeah.
I just don't like that it's going
to say fanatics.
It's fucking corny as shit.
Fanatic stock to the fucking moon,
baby.
God.
All right, let's fucking land
this plane with our usual ending segment.
Because I have to peace so bad.
Hottest teams of the week.
Look that in.
Yeah, rip them off.
Dan, you want to go first?
Do you want me to do it?
I don't have one.
I got them.
Number three, Tampa Bay Lightning.
They had a 3-0 week, and it wasn't your run-of-the-mill three-n-a-week, by the way, either.
They beat the Hurricanes 4-0-0-statement win.
They beat the Caps 5-1.
They beat the Islanders 5-0.
Those are playoff teams or recently eliminated playoff teams.
We know Tampa Toronto is locked in.
I don't think they can catch the leaves for home ice,
but the way they're playing, I don't think it matters.
If Hot Vassie is here, I don't think it matters.
Tampa looks good.
Number two, the flames were 4-0 until we jinx them.
and posted this, which was a nightmare.
They beat the sharks.
They beat the Kings in a tough win.
They beat the sharks in OT.
They had to have it.
They beat the comeback win against the ducks.
Had to have that.
And then during the middle of this epic playoff push,
the unthinkable loss to the Hawks.
Yeah, it's awful.
It's just so, so bad.
And then the hottest team?
Yeah, it's the Edmonton Oilers.
We talked about it.
They are on a true heater.
McDavid's doing preposterous things.
They look scary.
Five in a row.
Yotes, Vegas.
statement, Kings statement, beat the ducks, and then the Kings again, statement.
Yeah, that two-o sweep against the king.
Massive statement.
Dude, not looking good for anyone in the Pacific.
No.
Okay, now we go to a little bit of...
Boo-da-pab-bib-bib-bib-bib-bib-bib-bib-bib-dhub-dha-bbbbbdha-bbbbbbdha.
What are you talking about?
There's literally no chance that I eat shrimp.
Jack has 64 points in 65 games.
He's on a seven-game-point streak with 10 points in those seven games, and he's got 13-point streak.
and he's got 13 points in his last nine.
All of this to confirm that he is listening to I can watch
and he does in fact hate you.
I don't think he hates me.
I think he hates you.
Unfortunately.
He still needs...
Well, he's been on a great tear.
Yeah, yeah.
Over a point per game, as I just said.
But he's on a seven game point streak.
What are those seven assists?
No, bitch.
What are that?
He's got 10 points in those seven games,
and I believe the three of them are goals.
Okay.
But that's not because...
The last three games have just been like a measly assist here and there.
And I'm like, good job, yeah.
You wish you could get a measly assist.
I do, I do.
I do.
He needs eight points in his last four games.
Yeah, can't do it.
It could do it.
He's got Kings at home, Dallas away.
He needs a...
He needs a four-point game.
I do think he needs a monster game.
He needs a four-point game.
Otherwise, he will not do it.
Those teams are all fighting for seating.
It's not like he's going to get to pump in four goals against the fucking ducks,
so it's going to be tough.
But I hope.
I hope it gets close. That would be fun. Yeah, it would be fun to watch that last game.
We're just going to go right to the Buffalo Sabres Trail. We touched on it earlier in the episode. They fucking lost a...
The reverse jinks was working, though. Yeah, it was. But they lost a devastating game to the Panthers, and they lost because I was watching.
Yep. So that is my fault again. But they're not out just yet, but it looks pretty hairy.
You got any games to watch? I sure do. Emily, you got any games to watch?
Um, instead of games to watch, I know you guys are going to the Frozen Four.
Mm-hmm.
So I have some things to look out for at the Frozen Four.
Fuck yeah.
Just some prospects to look out for.
Okay.
Jesus Christ.
Can I, before you get into this?
I just want to say, great, great call.
And by the time you guys are listening to this, hopefully on Thursday, we will be in Tampa, Florida, for the Frozen Four, those first two games.
games. We got Minnesota playing Boston University and Michigan playing Quinnipiac. It's going to be an
unbelievable time. If you guys are down there, look us up. We'll be at Hatrix Tavern and Tampa.
It is going to be a blast because there's so many unbelievable players who are going to be
featured in this tournament. Emily, hit us with some of those guys. Yep. Look out for Drew
Camesso of Boston University. He's been inconsistent this season, but he's really dialed in lately.
So he's earning his MVP honors at Manchester Regional on March 25th.
Who is he the property of Emily?
He is the property of, what do you mean?
You got it right there.
Oh, Chicago Blackhawks?
Yes, nice.
What does that mean?
He's been drafted by the Chicago Blackhaw.
Oh, Sly.
Sly.
That's good for the Hawks.
Yeah, look out for Logan Cooley, University of Minnesota.
He was chosen by the Coyotes number three pick in the 2022 NHL
draft. Yeah, he's having a monster
year. Yes, he sure is. Slay to
Logan Cooley. And now we
got to look at Brock Faber
University of Minnesota.
He is the second round
pick for the Kings.
So maybe you will interview him on
your little show.
Big show, sorry.
That's fucking brutal.
No one is as hot as this man.
You got to do Adam. You got to do Adam.
Yeah, Adam.
18-year-old forward.
You want to say that last name or no?
Fantili.
Fantili Nini.
Yep.
Not at the second time.
Fantili.
And he is, it looks like he is not selected yet.
You want to take, yeah, that's correct.
He's too young.
He's going to go second overall.
He's a Hobie Baker finalist.
He's got 64 points leading the NCAA.
And in any other season, if it weren't for Connor Bredard being a
Mutant Monstar.
Adam Fantelli would be the number one pickup.
Monstar Khan R, the Ard.
Whoa.
That's what you just said.
All right. Games to watch other than the Frozen 4.
Yeah, Thursday, all I had was Frozen 4.
Yeah, Thursday.
We got two Frozen 4 matchups, then we got the final on Saturday.
I got another Saturday game, Devil's Bruins.
8 p.m. Eastern.
That is going to be a big, big game.
It's on ESPN Plus.
Give that one to check out.
I got one more, but you go.
First of all, Dan, there are no games on Friday.
I know. It's very, it feels...
Is it good Friday? It's good Friday. Is it that? Or is it literally just like...
Maybe. Maybe.
This fucking 28 teams are playing Thursday.
Yeah.
And for the whole fucking league is playing tomorrow and no one's playing Friday.
When I initially saw it, I was like, oh, cool, respect to the Frozen Four, but it's not...
Because Frozen Four is not playing on Friday.
They're like dread. They're like, fuck the Frozen Four. Play every game in the league.
Crazy. Crazy.
So I'm going Saturday, Vegas at Dallas.
Great game. You know, I'm watching every Jack game the rest of the way here.
Give me the four-pointer.
Monday, one of the ones we talked about earlier, Nashville at Calgary, any of that round
rock.
Yeah, I agree.
All those games are games to watch.
And then Tuesday, I got kind of two I liked, but let's go Oilers-Avs, Western Conference
Final last year, maybe Western Conference Final this year.
My other one is another Saturday game.
It's going to be a nice, a little 1030 p.m. for you East Coasters, but a nice little
West Coast night game, Avs at Kings.
Yeah. Always a good time.
Great, great game.
All right, that is it for us this week, guys.
We will be at the Frozen Four this weekend, so tune in to the Instagram to see all of that madness.
And until next week, skate hard.
