Empty Netters Podcast - 26. Breaking Your Friend's Back For A Win
Episode Date: April 22, 2023We are LIVE at The Harp in Boston! Today we're breaking down each series of the Stanley Cup playoffs so far. The Wild make one of the most bogus goalie decisions ever, The Devils are drowning, and the... Leafs NEED to steal a game in Tampa GET 10% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLINE ORDER AT https://www.shifthockey.com/pages/netters WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to the Emton Netters Pod, everybody.
We're recording an episode today.
We're here in front of the TD Garden.
We're doing a watch party for Bruins Panthers Game 3.
We're going to be at the harp.
We got merch.
We got pod gear.
This is going to be the best day of my entire life.
We're going to head down the street to the harp right now,
rip this pod live.
Come with us.
Let's go.
All right, guys, we're at the harp.
One of the best bars in Boston right across the street from the garden.
We're going to rip the podcast.
We're going to talk to some fans, do some merch giveaways.
Drink some beers.
It's going to be a good time.
I can't wait.
Em, look at this.
Playoff season starts here.
Netters pod happens here.
It's going to be a real big day.
Someone called the best combination in hockey.
All right.
Here we are at the harp in Boston.
We're right across the street from the TD Garden.
We got a live rendition of the Empty Netters podcast coming at you right now.
But before we get into it, we got to, as always,
hear from our sponsors, shift hockey.
These guys are changing the game in the stick world,
like we have talked about.
multiple times. If you are a hockey player, don't care what age, don't care what level,
shift hockey is the only option for you because they are bringing you the most high quality
sticks on the market and cutting the price completely in half. They have changed the game for
myself and thousands of others and it's only growing. If I may say so myself, I actually had a
pretty electric tuck with my shift stick the other night. You sure did. And I actually am really
loving the color, Dan. That color has grown on me so much. It's so identifiable. It's so identifiable.
out on the ice. And I want to talk to the boys. I want to get them to do a reverse. Like put that
cream in the bottom, that cream color in the bottom and the black up top. That's my next mission
for them. But that color, that's flashy, baby. Yeah. Not only are they changing the game with
price, they're changing the game with Stai. Oh my God. Your gear wear is going to go through the roof.
Guys, again, like we said, it's a no-brainer. We use these sticks. They're top-notch, top-quality.
Go to www.shifthockey.com slash netters and then pump in that promo code,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S netters at checkout. And you're going to save 10% on.
top of the already
slashed hockey stick prices.
Get on board with shift, just like we are.
It's incredible. You will not regret it.
Not regret it.
All right, let's do this. We got a live
podcast here at the harp. We're set up at this
unbelievable bar. People are rolling in.
This is going to be an absolute time.
Let's get right into the playoffs.
Dude, actually, before we even did, I have a question for you
and for Emily, kind of. I have, you just said it.
I've been saying this over and over. We're like,
we have this live podcast, live podcast.
We're not live.
like this is recorded.
No, but there's like a full-blown audience.
Right, but so is that what you call it still?
Like, I've genuinely even wondering.
I'm like, we're live, but I'm like, we're not live.
And in a live studio audience pod.
We have a live studio audience podcast.
So we're coming to you on tape delay with a live studio audience.
That's what it is.
That's what it is.
But dude, like Dan said, we said twice a week, every series, every game.
That's why we're doing this.
This is no brush over some games.
This is going deep on everything.
That's what you wanted.
That's what you're going to get.
And we are ready.
And Dan, can we please.
start with Avs Cracken.
Yes, we absolutely can. You know why I'd like to start with Avs Cracket?
Because I humiliated myself? Because I told you that they have spunk.
And they do. They do. They have tons of spunk, dude. And here's the thing, man.
I called the abs in a sweep. I just didn't think the Cracken were ready for playoffs.
They absolutely smacked me in the mouth, dummied me over the boards, dropped me on the bench,
and they won game one in emphatic fashion, and then got out to a 2-0 lead in game two.
I thought I was toast, dude. I thought it was going to be the other sweep.
Yeah, a reverse sweep.
Because it was, I believe, Game 1, Cracken won 3-1.
It was 1-1 after, going into the 3rd, I think.
1-1 going into the third, and they didn't shy away at all.
Like, that's that moment where you're like, okay, yeah, you're the young wildcar team.
This is the defending cup champs.
You come out with one period and you get bitch slapped because that's the way it goes.
Yeah.
They won that game.
And then they went up to nothing in the first of game 2.
And I was like, dude, you are in big trouble.
Dude, it was crazy, but I'll say this, man.
Like, the Cracken showed this season that they don't
give a shit that they're a new team. They kind of got that mojo that Vegas had in their first year
where they were like, yeah, we're an expansion team. Don't give a shit. I think they've got the
energy of being in a cool-ass city. They got a bunch of good players. We talked about last pod.
I believe last pod. McCann potting 40 this season is such a huge monster breakout season.
Sneaky 40s. We love sneaky 40s. And I think it's cool that the crack and we're just like,
yeah, we're playing the cup champs from last year. We don't give a shit, dude. We're going to come out
hot, we're going to come out hard. And that's what they've done. I will say this, game two,
if you're the abs, honestly, weirdly enough, man, going down 02, I wouldn't worry about it that
much. I don't think the crack den has a reputation yet for you can't handle barn games over here.
They've never even had a playoff game. And they've been bad at home. I said that last half. They have
been bad at home. I do think game one for them, I mean, game three in the series, but game one as
a first playoff game ever, the crackton is going to be filled with crackheads. Junkies up in there.
The junkies going hard.
A very electric environment.
So I don't think the ads were like, shit, we have to win this game.
But it is a bad, bad look.
Bad future issues for the Cracken when it's Kail Makar and then Nishushkin getting the abs back in that game.
Like immediate draw, pass over to McCar, clap bomb on net, gets in.
And then that goal by Nishushkin was so sick.
and then Devon Taves with a through a screen,
snipe far side, gets them the win, 3-2.
It was just the big boys came out and got a big win,
and you just hope that they're not awake now.
It's kind of like you look at, you know, we're in Boston,
we've got to shout it out, Boston plays Vancouver in the Cup in 2011,
and they go down 02.
And it was just like you couldn't get by Luongo,
and then game three, you got that first goal.
12 past Luongo.
Yeah, the monkey off the back was like, okay, we did it.
So it's like those big guys get going.
And I know it's early.
It's game too, but it's like, yeah, that's just big for Colorado.
It's interesting you say that because sometimes, I thought you're about to say this,
because we get a Celtics game on tonight here in Boston, or, you know, they're away too,
but it's going to be on.
Everyone's fired up about that.
And whenever you're watching a basketball game and you're winning, let's say your team's
winning at half, but then you see the other team shooting 20%.
Yeah.
I always hate that because you're like, they're going to heat up.
Obviously, that's not sustainable.
And so you're right in the shoeskin did have that big goal.
But I was thinking.
Yeah, I thought you were going here.
If you're the Cracken, you will rue the day you blew that two-goal lead.
Because Moose had that goal in game one.
Yeah.
That's it.
And Nate Doc hasn't scored.
Moose hasn't done anything else.
You're lacking some big firepower guys on the app.
I don't think McCar has a goal yet.
He hasn't that apple.
But I'm like, you need, if you're the Cracken and none of those guys have contributed yet
and you didn't grab both and you were up to.
That's what I'm saying.
I'm like, oh, my God, dude.
This might be a hot take, but I am here to.
say, I think that might be the worst
loss in Cracken playoff history.
There's a chance, dude. I don't want to be,
I don't want to be ditching out hot takes over here.
These Seattle kids' grandchildren will be talking
about that L. We're going to drop that L in game
two to Colorado. Let me go even deeper
for you, Dan. Talk about the
Power Play. Because that's, I don't mean to cut you off, but the Power Play
is another one of those things that's going to change
for one team or both. Avs 0 for 4 in the series,
Crack and 0 for 5 in the series.
That could swing it.
If somebody, I don't want to bury this year, but I had abs in six. You had the sweep. I had abs in six early. I still do. So I'm not that worried about it here. But if one of those power plays goes off, that could swing it. And the best part about this year is for me is, even with that loss, Seattle thinks this is a damn fight, dude. This is full Rocky. Like, they are here to play. And I think we said they'll fight you for. I knew they would, but this has been, I don't think the abs are ready for this. And the abs are still giving me that, like, we're warming up vibes. Like, whatever, dude. It's like the.
first round we're going to figure it out. But they can't do that forever. They did it half the
fucking regular season. And now I'm like, yo, it's time to go here. So that will be interesting.
Here's another point I actually really liked. The Avs had 41 shots on goal, dude, in that last
game. Like Gru Bauer had 34 season in game one, 38 days in game two. That was a major question
mark for me coming into this series. I agree.
Season for the Cracket. I think Gruber, you know, we talked about goalie pedigree a couple
episodes ago, I think Gru Bauer
in these first two games has actually done a
remarkable job of showing everyone
how he won a cup, how he
was the goaltender on a Stanley
Cup winning team. He's had
two good games, so I'm feeling
pretty good if I'm the crack and being like, you know, our
goalie's playing well, we've got a shot here.
This is a series. It's
I would not have said this and we'll
see after game three after game four, but right
now this is a series and I'm like
shit. If I'm Colorado, my
butt holes puckered up a little tight right now.
I don't think it's the sweep that I thought it was going to be.
So I'm on edge.
I guess that's not a really long flight to Seattle,
but they're not sitting well on those planes.
No, no.
They've got a serious case of Seattle cracking hemorrhoids right now
because that team's not laying down, and that's a good thing.
I am predicting, I still think six, like I said,
but I'm predicting a split in Seattle.
Like, I think this comes back to two-two.
Two-two.
And then maybe the out is taken out there.
But I wouldn't be shocked at all if the crack can take one at home.
No, same.
It's like this team, like I said, smacked me in the mouth.
I think that they,
have shown Colorado they're here to play.
I really do, I mean, regardless of the loss,
I think that 2-0 jump was a huge statement.
It's weird to be able to say you made a statement in a loss like that,
but they did.
I think that they were like, listen, dude, we're not going to be a rollover team for you.
We have a couple series that are coming up that we're about to talk about that.
I feel similarly about that.
Productive Ls.
And they will rue the day, as I said, that they dropped that one.
But productive L that if you get dummied by the abs in that game,
it's a different story.
Colorado goes, okay,
total fluke first game,
and this is over in five.
And if you're Seattle and you get dummied,
you're like, oh, shit.
Like, it's that moment
where you woke up the giant
and you're like, oh, fuck, we're in trouble now.
Look for two, too, coming back to Colorado.
Let's stay in the West,
let's kick it to Stars Wild.
This series, I have a ton to say about it.
There's a lot going on in this series.
Game one, I think was happening while we were recording.
That's right.
It was.
Game one, three, two, wild win.
um,
krill on the board,
Robo on the board.
Uh,
I had the saves.
Gustafson makes 46 saves.
Otter makes 50 saves.
Double OT.
Honestly,
just a,
you obviously,
you want to protect home ice at all cost.
You want to get off on the right foot.
The winner of game one wins a lot of series.
But honestly,
that was a incredible hockey game that neither of those teams
should feel bad about at all.
Just a great game.
Yeah.
But game two,
if you're Dallas and at home,
you're like,
we have,
we have to win this game.
I know,
no regurts on game one.
Nothing to hang my head about.
But if you don't win this one,
you're in big trouble and they do.
They responded with 7-3.
Hints with a hatty.
Rupa got a hatty.
He's got four in the off.
Sagan and Ben both got on the board.
Which is huge.
Which is massive.
Like you got those dudes.
Like I said, you've got guys like Sagan and Jamie Ben
playing not on your top line.
You're sitting pretty.
And if they're now getting in the action,
that's really good.
I want to talk about here maybe the most
disrespectful thing I've ever seen in the playoffs.
Gustafson,
netminder for the Minnesota Wild.
Heard of them. Heard of them.
Arguably, the second best goaltender all season.
I would say numbers wise.
He is right behind O-Marc all season long.
This guy stands on his head, makes 46 saves in that game one,
Watt, Tilt.
And then the Wild go like this.
We're going to sit you down, game two.
Have a seat.
Gus.
You're going to let you take a towel around your neck.
Going to take a quick, work the gate, buddy.
After a win, after a playoff double OT win, they sit this guy down.
and ho-hum, wouldn't you know it?
You get absolutely shit-pumped, 7-3.
On 31 shots, I'm pretty sure.
Yeah.
Flowers, 24 saves 31 shots.
I've got a question for you.
A, if you're flower, how are you feeling about that performance?
You're humiliated.
He is embarrassed.
B, he said it.
He said he's embarrassed.
A, okay, that's A.
C, if you're wild fans,
how do you feel about that decision?
And four, what are you doing if you are the coaching staff of the Minnesota Wild?
So what's his name?
Look that up.
What's the Wild's coach's name?
Evans.
It's something like that.
I know this.
But you got Billy G.
in the GM's office.
So here, I actually want to have a conversation with you about this because I tweeted about this.
Oh, hey, we have a Twitter.
MTN there's pod.
Dean Eveson.
Evanson.
Thank you.
Empty there's pod.
Check us out on Twitter.
We're firing off live shit during the game.
We are.
Are you proud of us?
We're on Twitter.
I had no idea.
It's a very new thing.
Oh my God, I'm so proud.
We follow, you know, 70 hockey accounts that we really like.
Yeah.
And it's a good thing you have a Twitter because you've had a lot of tweets about you in the past couple days.
And we, yeah, correct.
And we started, we started, we started game one.
We don't talk about that around here.
We don't talk about a certain.
If you know, you know, if you don't.
We don't talk about a certain major pop, or not pop star, musical artist who currently has a head out on us.
That was our first Twitter notification, by the way.
It was something about that.
And I was like, oh, God, I shouldn't even started this.
But we're firing off tweets into the ether.
check it out. There's some good reads in there, but I tweeted about this because I, here's my issue.
And the Wilde said this too. Flurry started, I think I wrote it down, Flurry started 45 games this year maybe.
Yeah, 45 games. And Gus started 37. Hold on real quick. Dr. Lox is in the building.
Oh, my God. This is going to be good. Dr. Lox just entered the bar.
Just swagged in.
Then the man himself there he is.
The lights flickered.
He's got a tall dunkin in hand.
Coming in hot.
Five creams, ten sugars.
Let's go.
All right, hit me.
Hit me with what?
Flowers started 45 games.
Gus started 37.
Yeah.
Point being, and to be very clear, because I don't want to talk to the stats here, since February 1st,
Gus has had 200 more shots with a 940 save percentage to Flowers 905.
Gus took the job.
It's been his job.
He's been the better goalie.
He's been second best going league.
He's been certainly the better goalie in the second.
half of the year.
But the wild have been doing this all season.
They have been rotating starts all season.
It led them to a 103 point year, a great run, and I get in the playoffs, you roll the hot
hand.
But to me, it's hard to argue, because Flowers has all this playoff experience.
Gus is 24, dude.
He's 24.
And Flowers can't play a full playoff.
Anyway, he's 38.
But there isn't the hot, the hot playoff hand doesn't exist yet, in my opinion.
If this, let's say Gus had had played eight of their first 10 years.
games and won seven of them. And then, and then they were like, actually going to sit you
down for flour. I'm like, yeah, what are you doing, dude? This to me was a completely fine move.
They stole a road win already. They'd been rotating all season. And you, yeah, you got popped in
mouth. Gus goes back in. I actually tweeted at the while today being like, who's starting?
Because if they start flowers today, then yes, literally execute everyone on the staff.
But if Gus goes back today. Oh, if they start flower today, that would be absolutely insane.
It was actually crazy to me, Dan, that he didn't announce it immediately. Like that being like,
it's game time. And I'm like, shut the fuck up and just say Gus is playing. But dude,
If Gus plays today and you win, fine.
Now you can ride the hot hand.
I have no issue.
There were articles like, this is the most baffling coaching decision of all time.
And I'm like, he had a good game.
He had a good playoff game.
Yes, absolutely.
But he just played five playoff periods.
You've been rotating all year.
Stick to the plan.
I had no issue with Flowers going in there.
Stick to the basics.
To the basics.
He got lit up, dude.
Yes, now go sit down, Flower.
And maybe you don't, I don't see you for a little while.
But calling that the most baffling coasters of all time made no sense to me at all.
I, okay, I think you make a lot of good points.
The thing that stands out to me most, I would say, is this.
You've got to announce that pre-series, I think.
If you're the wild, to the fans or to the team?
Just to the world, dude.
Because you got asked questions like that.
They go like this, who's starting game one?
And they go, Gustaf's it.
You go like this.
Gus is getting the pipes game one, but we're alternating.
What if they said that internally?
Are you less mad?
Like, if the team knew, they're like 100% no matter.
I know that the team knew.
There's no way the team didn't know.
So it's fine, because this is one of those things.
It's like, who gives a shit about the media as long as the team is fine?
And I'm sure they're fine.
You make a really good point with the fact that they rotated all season long.
That is a huge factor here.
And that is a huge element of the times are changing in the NHL.
There are no longer 60 game goalies.
And that's smart.
I think it helps.
I think it helps teams stay healthy.
I think it helps teams stay fresh, catch opposing teams off guard.
We have yet to really see, however, a Stanley
Cup winning team that goes, yep, we're
sticking with the tandem through the playoffs. We have not
seen it work yet. And I think
that there's possibly a reason for that.
I get why over an 82
game schedule, it
makes sense to go, you know,
45 and 35, whatever
it is. You're not
going 60 and 22 anymore. I get
that. The playoffs
are a lot of games. No question
about it. But at
the end of the day, man, it's 16 wins.
16 wins to get to a fucking
Stanley Cup and part of me is like
dude you've got to
let a goalie get hot as
shit and you've got to let that
goalie get in the other team's head I think
that's a huge factor here
we're going to get into this with a specific series later
that I have a lot to fucking say about
but man I just think
it is
the dream scenario is this
right you go in
the first series that you play
and you split your goalie tandem
we got a lot of good goalie tantums in the
NHL. You look at Minnesota
with Gus and Flower, you look at Boston
with Olmark and Swayman.
You hope
that you go series one
sweep and both
goalies played two. Because then
you go into whoever
you're playing next and the other team goes
both of these goalies are two and oh.
They're both feeling great. But if you
don't have that, what is the best
case scenario? Can I give it to you?
I mean, I think your answer is like
let's say you go, you beat a team in six,
and your goalies are two and one.
Yeah, I mean, yes, dude, there are so many options where you're like,
this is great.
You know, everyone's doing great.
But the bad to me is so sketchy.
Let's use Minnesota as an example.
You start Gus next game and Gus loses.
And now you have these goalies.
And I'm not saying these goalies are all mentally weak, but there is the fear that Gus
goes, I had Mojo and you took it away from me.
Now I'm coming off a loss.
And then you go to Flower in game four and flowers like this.
I got piss pumped for seven
and you want me to go back in
after you sat me right after that.
I just think there's too many moving pieces
for the confidence of these goalies
to feel good about this move.
I actually like that argument at the end there
where in the negative it goes kind of bad
but to give you your best case scenario
if it goes six and Gus goes three and one
and flower goes one and one
then you go great it's Gus's job moving forward
but I'm glad we I'm glad we
that's why I thought they did it
and here's my only other counter
or two. If Flowers stood on his head yesterday and they beat Dallas again, the whole world goes
Oh my God. So much respect for Minnesota sticking to the basics. And that's why I said I think
it's a good point. If it all goes well, you look like a problem for fans. Like you look like a big
problem. And it just doesn't rattle me that much if I'm a wild fan or if I'm Gus to go, hey dude,
we're back home. You're starting game three. Like I don't think Gus is like, dude, you fucked me.
You know? I agree. I agree. I agree. But I just think Gus can.
fucking go home and play goal in game three and win and be like, yeah, I'm fine.
Yeah.
So it was a big move.
I'm not denying that.
It was a big move.
And you're 100% right.
We have not seen this.
Certainly the league is transitioning towards this more tandem, but we haven't seen a team win
the cup ever, tandeming the whole way through.
Exactly.
And I don't think, that's my only last thing to say about it.
I don't think they imagined they were going to tandem the whole way through.
I just think they were going to tandem to start because they don't want to give Gus 30 more
games in a row.
So they were like, let's get him some breathers early.
and if we make a run here, yeah, it's going to be Gus, or one of their jobs, presumably Gus's,
Western Conference Finals and on, or something like that.
So, whatever.
Everybody calmed down in Minnesota.
I didn't hate it.
Flowers played like shit, and he knows it.
If he gets another look, he'll play better.
And if he doesn't, he won't play again ever.
So, and whatever.
But that's not why you're going to win or lose this series.
If you're going to lose the series, it's because you're worse than the stars.
It's true.
And actually, if you're going to lose this series, I have a fucking thought.
Maybe stop letting them score on every power play they take.
Dude.
Yes.
I took the data on this.
The stars, the Wild finished with the 10th best penalty kill in the league, 82%.
And keep in mind, by the way, the Bs were first at like 86.
Like these percentages are tight.
You know, like the Wild have a fucking very good PK.
The stars are 5 for 11 so far in this series.
If you want to look somewhere, I look away from your fucking goalie tandem and look how horrible you are at special teams.
Because I promise you, you will lose this series if you give up a fucking power play goal every other time you take a penalty.
That is unheard of and not sustainable.
It's not at all.
other thing I want to talk about with this
before we move on from this series is
Ryan Suter. Yes, okay.
Because, yeah, I was
about to make a joke that the
Wilder giving out fucking power play goals, like
it's free samples at Costco. They are. Fucking
pineapple, mushroom for Emily. Would you like
bacon wrap scallas? Cheese and crackers here, you have a few?
But you know who else is giving shit away is Ryan
Suter's giving away crosschecks to the fucking spine
like their Costco free samples, too? He is feeding composite
sticks to spinal columns. It's unbelievable.
Dude, there's going to be more fusions
and Tiger Woods' whole body is going to have less fusions
in the fucking wild roster.
I have a lot of thoughts on this.
Hit me with them.
First thought.
Where are you at?
First of all, first thought,
should that have been a penalty?
Do you want to see that called in the playoffs?
No, I don't.
It's one of those things.
We've seen a few soft penalties already
in this series, which is like moderate,
sorry, in these playoffs,
which is moderately frustrating.
But at the end of the day,
you can't let everything go
because then it gets absolutely insane.
So I'm glad that that wasn't called.
It's one of those things you keep an eye on, though, because you do worry about, I mean, dude, we played the game a long time.
You got to be hockey tough.
You got to be hockey tough, especially in the playoffs.
That shit hurts.
It's one of the most painful things in the game.
I'm not kidding.
I've broken ribs on plays like that.
People have broken wrists on plays like that.
They get under over the back of your pants.
Yep.
And under whatever you're wearing top.
And just directly on your spine.
So you got to keep an eye on it.
You can't let it fly all the time.
So I'm fine with it.
I think soon.
has been a pest all, you know, it's all series.
It's two games.
But both games, he's been out of control in front of the net.
And you're seeing it a lot.
Eklad was given it to Marshand in game two.
We saw, you know, before you went out,
Hedman was dishing him out in front of the net against the Maple Leafs.
So I love it, dude.
As a defenseman, set the tone.
Set the tone, because that shit gets in people's head big time.
Oh, it sucks going to camp out in front of the net,
and you know that you're going to get shellacked like that,
you think about it every time you go to the front of that
and you give it back you get a retaliation call
like it's good shit I'm into it
that's my question though because that you just led right
into my second point I don't think
that krill shot
that was actually a sick term that I just said by accident
because that was a kill shot
that was a krill shot I don't think that krill shot
was a dive at all I genuinely think
he gets a stick broken over his back and eats ice
yeah for real and to me
anyone who's going to tell me that you can take a composite
a stick and snapped over your back and be like this,
dude, you're fine.
Yeah, and shut up.
Some people dive in front of the net.
It happens all the time.
But that one in particular,
the specific play that I'm talking about,
that the whole internet's talking about.
That's a penalty to me, dude.
Like, you literally have flattened a dude
from behind without the puck.
If that was in the middle of the ice stand,
going through the neutral zone,
he just came up behind Krill and buried him.
That's a call every time.
I completely agree.
Why is it not a call in front of the net?
That pisses me off.
And I get, this is why I wanted to ask you specifically,
I get as a defenseman,
it is hard to clear people out.
I play D in Men's League.
these guys. I've never done this before. That sucks
genuinely. It is a hard job. But
I just don't think it's
fair. I'm talking as a whiny forward here.
But I don't think it's fair that you have to go, you said it
perfectly. When I go to the front of the net, I have to start
going, well, you know, I am going to break my L5 vertebrae now. And I'm like, that's
not fair. That's illegal. I shouldn't
have to break my L5 vertebrae. You should have
to come up with another way to get your body
fucking lower than mine and push me
out of the way. You spas.
I think it's, all right, he's not a spas.
That's how everyone has ever played hockey. And he
didn't get called for it, so he wins in this situation.
You're right. That's why I said, I'm fine
with the one no call. If you do that a thousand
times, yeah, you've got to start calling it.
But at the same time, dude, like, it's
fucking hockey man. You're allowed to be physical.
You're allowed to jostle in front of the net.
You're not allowed to cross-check someone, yes.
But at the same time, you're standing still, and you're just
giving it someone. That's all, it's not like Sutter came
from... Yeah, he wasn't a running start.
Yeah, it's not like Ryan Souter came five strides into it.
Like, no, he was standing there and was giving it to Krill,
and I'm sorry he's way bigger than Corolla.
Yeah.
Can you just hit my hip, though?
Give it to my pants right here.
You're coming off like a bitch, dude.
It's just illegal, dude.
No, it's not.
It's not illegal.
Like, those are one of those gray area things.
And yes, it should be called sometimes.
And that's what it will.
But if you're acting like this,
that's going to get called every time.
You're going to be first in the picket line going like this.
You're calling too many penalties.
Well, like those things need to be, you know,
you got to do it here and there.
And they will do it here and there.
If you think Souter is going to be able to feed
someone in front of the net like that next game without a call, you're dumb.
Okay.
That gets called next game.
Good, because I was going to say, I would take these complaints for the next time
I would take the ref skating by.
And I'm sure the wild, I'm sure the wild staff, the wild coaches, the wild players were all
walking up going like this.
Yo, keep an eye on that, please.
Absolutely.
So even if it happened again in that game, I would have expected a call.
And I'll live in that world, Dan.
I'll live in the world where I take one to the spine on the first period.
And then I go, yo, never again.
No question.
And I'm fine with that.
As long as they do it.
Because if you saw all that whistle for a whole game, for a whole series, I'm like,
this is you're giving in my opinion
that is an unfair advantage to the defenseman
because if I'm not getting a call there there's literally
nothing I can do about that yeah I'm just getting flattened
in the lower back where do you stand
on former teammate vibes
I'm so glad you asked because that was my first thought
when I saw that I was like how could you do that to your boy
dude and I we have had the luxury
and the curse I don't even know what to call it as it depends
on your opinion of just you know growing up with kids
and then dispersing into some elite level programs
yeah play against them
and it was always weird for me, admittedly,
and that's the lack of killer instinct in me.
I hand up, like, I'm a clown,
but it was always weird smashing one of my buddies in the corner
when I was like, hey, sorry, that was crazy.
I couldn't be more on the other side of this.
I do, like, I think a lot of people relate to this.
I don't know what it is.
I personally think for most people,
there's no one you want to beat more than your best friends.
Like when you and I would play...
I agree with that even.
When you and I would play shit,
like I get,
fucking pissed at you playing ping pong.
When I'm playing the people closest to me, I want to beat them more than anything.
And I have played at levels where guys I played with in high school, I then played in college,
played in juniors.
And dude, I got fired up for those games so much more.
And I don't know why.
I think it's because there's people that you know on both sides.
People know that you guys are playing each other.
And I'm like, I need to win this.
Yeah, right.
I need to win this back.
I need to win, though.
But Dan, to win though, right?
not to
break someone's back
that's all I was going to say
and I would even argue
and I wonder what you think
about this especially playing D
let's say
you know I don't want to name drop
but like let's say one of our boys
was playing in a game
and you're playing D
and he's coming across the middle
suicide ankle high suey
and you are stepping up
to rip his head off clean
yeah I think you might even
have hesitated
if it was an actual friend
and he straight up wasn't looking
and you were like this is going to like hurt him
100% yes
and and so like I said like yeah
I want to win I'll get competitive
and if one of my
former teammates rubbed me in the boards hard i'd be like this all right i'm giving to you next time but i
never look out for it yeah and if if i'm in front of the net and you for example were kept out in
front of the net i would not be doing that shit and i think i would tie as hard as you could to clear me out
but i just don't think you'd put one in my lower back agree agree so part of me is like suitor you're a
savage dude and i respect the shit out yeah yeah he is like that a suitor and krill in that
situation is uh deniro and pachino in heat where he's like this if it comes between me and you dude
you are going down.
And I'm like, correct, dude.
And that's probably the attitude to win a cup.
And especially, dude, in the NHL,
a lot of these guys are buddies.
Like, you can't just be being like,
oh, anyone's my friend.
I'm going to let have the puck
because you're friends with half the league,
so it gets too complicated.
But yeah, I was shocked that.
It was, it was not, he went very hard.
That's been a super entertaining series.
Vegas Jets.
Vegas Jets, okay.
Who you got?
Who are you feeling?
Jets?
I am feeling, so I, again,
Empty Nerders Pod, Twitter,
I had put a power ranking up
of teams,
that lost game one going into the other night,
that needed it needed game two the most.
And I had Vegas least.
I was like they need this the least because I just felt like even down to the Jets.
I was like, you could still win this series.
Yeah, I feel that.
No one wants to go down too O, obviously.
But I was like, you could still beat the Jets if you go down too O.
I was very surprised they got pumped 5-1 in the opener.
There have been a lot now of lobsided scorelines in so many of these games
that I would never have expected.
And that's stupid.
think if you go back and look at plenty of series,
there's crazy lopsided score lines that you're like,
oh, holy shit, how did that happen?
But it still always catches me off guard every year.
And that was a fun game for me, actually,
because all my boys were on the score sheet.
Kyle Connor with the first from Morrissey and PLD.
PLD, got on from Wheeler.
Wheeler got his own.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, this is amazing.
That was a big-time empty-netters game,
like just like goals everywhere.
And then Vegas obviously responds, wins 5-2.
Carlson scores again.
Jack, baby.
Jack, on his way to ramming shrimp up Dan's nostrils.
talk like, relax to you. He's got, his first. He's got, his first, yeah?
No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no. Jack, Jack. I can watch hot in the streets in the playoffs.
He's got one point in two games. He needs six more, dude. Well, he gets two rounds first of all.
He's sure if he gets out of it. Yeah, but that was happy, I was happy for him. I'm happy.
Here was my biggest takeaway, Dan. I said to you that, and Vegas obviously knows this,
it felt like the Keynes Islanders series in that. I'm like, Vegas is better, but they have
Hella buck. Yeah. You know you're going against this elite goalie.
the knights get pumped in the first game and they take 17 shots on goal in the game.
Here's the period breakdown.
8, 7, 2.
2 shots on goal, down 3-1 entering the third period.
They take two shots on goal against Halebock.
Dude, you're not going to win like that.
It's the most unthinkable.
The Kings the other night had three shots on goal on the first period against the others,
but at least that's also unacceptable soldier.
But at least that's the first period.
It's the playoffs.
None of these teams are bad.
So you have zero excuse for getting two pucks on net.
It's just fine.
They're wearing it, dude.
And they won big in game two, but check this out.
They get out shot in the first period, 17 to 8.
They lost game one at home and come out in the first period and get dummied like that.
And then, I don't know what Bruce Cassidy did in between periods there, but he came in,
and he took their hockey pants down, and he licked his hand and gave each one of them a little spanking, dude.
And their bottoms came out all red and sore.
And then they outshot the shit out of the jets the rest of the way, 1910 and the second,
12, 6, and the third for 39 shots on goal to the tune of five goals past Hellebuck and win.
So I don't know if he needs to spank them.
every game, but something has to get them fired up. That gets the award for best in-game adjustment
so far of the playoffs, because that was a huge switch. Those shot totals came out after that first
period, and I was like, holy shit, dude, Jets are going up 2-1. Or 2-0, this is nuts. And then
Cassidy worked his magic, dude. He got out the... He got out the frat paddle, and he gave them
all their bottoms a little spanking. And then it was that. There's some more tender, tendy drama.
We got to talk about 10ies in this game.
Vegas 0-4-7 so far on the power play this year.
Three chances in game one, four in game two.
Not good.
Hey, that's not great, boys.
Guys, you're getting a bunch of peepers and you're scoring zero goals.
Not good.
The Jets do have the sixth best PK in the league, 82.4%.
And Vegas had the 18th best power play, which I didn't realize was that bad with that many stars.
You'd think they'd be at least a top half of the league powerplay team.
I also saw a crazy stat that Vegas had the least amount of power play opportunities in the entire NHL this year.
Like, they just don't get calls against them.
What a crazy stat.
I always hate that take.
because I'm sure there's part of it that Stonecat calls,
but I think that there's part of play that draws penalties.
Look at it at the other side.
You're not drawn enough penalties.
Okay, so let's talk about this 10-D drama.
Okay, so a little 10-D drama in Vegas.
For the refresher.
You don't need a refresher.
Johnny Quick is in Vegas, and he should be starting every game.
He plays 10 games and does okay, right?
And then insert Laurent Brossewa.
Former Edmonton backup, former Jets backup.
Yeah.
Signed with Vegas last year, started 21 games last year,
and was bad, and then gets 11 starts this year,
but eight of them have been since March 25th,
finishes six one and one, including five in a row,
to lock up their one seat,
and they turn to him.
Big time Alex Lion vibes.
Yep.
And you've got Johnny Quick,
the talk about hot hand in,
you got Johnny Quick sitting there,
who you traded for,
and then you start Rosas in game one.
Yeah.
And he gets lit the fuck up like a Christmas tree at home
in a 5-1 drubbing.
And I'm sitting there going like this,
but at least quick he's getting a shot in game two.
And not only do they,
do they start brossoa in game two
health bomb but quick gets health bomb health bomb
and watches the fucking he gets he asks
to go to Vegas to be on a contender gets some playoff
action to close out his career and now he's watching from the press
box as aden hill backs up broswa
and ad ad hill hasn't seen the fucking ice since march
seventh dude dude and broswell wins
and brosw has a sick game and wins
this is one of those things where we don't know what's going on
we don't know all the moving pieces with this situation
but quickie getting health bomb
quickie not playing is crazy getting health bombed is crazy
it is one of those complicated moments where, like you said, his numbers are fine.
His first two games in Vegas were phenomenal.
His numbers and his 10 games have been fine.
So it's not like he is playing lights out and you have to start him, but health bombing him
and then bringing Aden Hill back in after he's been getting his summer golfing plans ready.
It's a bit shocking.
But again, it's one of those situations.
We don't know what's up.
He might be hurt.
He might be whatever.
And at the same time, dude,
I don't give a fuck about that shit.
Like, get out of here with the disrespectful stuff.
I love Jonathan Quick.
But, dude, we don't know what's going on in practice.
We don't know what's going on in the locker room.
If Quicky is the third best tending,
both from a play standpoint and a mentality standpoint,
you're health-bombed.
I love Jonathan Quick,
but we don't know what's going on.
So, like, I'm not going to go,
oh, my God, you can't not dress Jonathan Quick out of respect.
Dude, we're trying to win a Stanley Cup here.
So fuck out of here.
Hop on the elevator, buddy.
Yeah, I'm like to sit in the press box and eat some fucking chicken fingers, dude.
Like, this is, no one's going to feel bad for you.
You're fine.
But I get big eyes on that.
Just that story.
Like, I think they play tomorrow night, but I'm just so curious where Quick is the rest of the way.
And I think that there's a, there's a, you know, the Knights have a great fan base.
And Winnipeg has one of the most low-key, potentially not low-key, best fan bases in the NHL.
So I know our fans who are Jets fans.
Knights fans are going to say, what are you talking about?
But I would say from a general hockey fan standpoint, this series is one of the least watched.
It's like, people aren't dialed into Vegas, Winnipeg, and I'm here to tell you to change that tune.
Because these two teams playing together, I think is going to be a fun-ass series.
Do you see PLD hammer and the maple syrup on the bench?
I did.
Yeah.
If you don't want to see that, what's wrong with you?
Tune in.
PLD, man.
Why are you trying to leave the Jets so mad?
They're a sick team.
She's a Montreal boy.
Get it.
Okay, let's go to Kings Oilers.
Let's take it to our little local shop.
That's our little nightcap tonight, baby.
That's the little after dinner.
Pour yourself a glass of cognac.
Pour yourself a glass of cognac.
Maybe a nice apper tithe.
Yep.
Maybe a ngroni.
Watch this Oilers Kings game because shit is spicy.
Kings massive come from behind.
Thief, theft, robbery.
Oh my God.
Just stole it.
And a really, really vintage Oilers meltdown.
Yeah, that was just beautiful.
We got Skinner now.
That was beautiful.
fall.
You'll love to see it.
Kempi, the man, our boy
AI with the OT winner going insane.
Love to see that Netters bump.
Copatar with the ties it with like 45 seconds
left. Johnny on the spot.
Oilers got to have it in game two
and they do. Boy, did they.
But again, and they held
McDavid pointless in game one after he
went only seven regular season games pointless.
Then he gets an immediate, disgusting
dime on Dry Seidel's goal
on that power play to go up to
nothing. And it had the feel.
So last year as a refresher, this series went seven.
The Kings stole game one in Edmonton, four, three, just like they did this year.
And then game two, Edmonton beat the brakes off them six-nothing.
And when McDavid made that passage, I settled to put them up two-nothing.
I said, here we go again.
Six-nothing, drubbing, pencil it in, automatic.
And then, dude, the Kings fight back.
Grab one.
You got a fight for your right.
Volody.
Oh, wow.
Back in the lineup, tying the game at two.
they go down, I think 4-2 because
Kane got that empty netter, which counts.
ENG is very important.
But it was a 3-2 game, really.
And I just think you saw the maturity
and the growth of the Kings in that game right there.
Not losing that game 6-0,
just like they did last year.
Yes.
Is the world of difference.
That showed a lot of difference with this King's team.
I think, like you just said,
a lot of these guys are ready.
Valardi being ready for game one was massive.
He came back game two, right?
Yeah, yeah.
Valardi being ready for game two playing is absolutely huge.
He's just such a big gamer for them.
And him coming out of his shell this season has been Monster.
No word on Fiala yet.
We don't know if he's coming back for game three.
I think that's still going to be so painful for this team.
You need that guy.
But yeah, I think the way they played in game one changes our take a little bit.
I think we both had Oilers in six and we talked about these injuries being a huge
issue, but boom, scratch one of them off.
Filardi is back.
So that changes things a little bit.
You said to me earlier today, you think this is going seven?
I completely agree.
I think there's a big time, big time opportunity if the Kings get a win tonight in Crypto.com.
I would put money on that.
If you're looking at lines right now, I've got the Kings tonight.
I think that there is a chance that these guys look at game loss, game two loss, and go, we
did our job.
We got our win in Edmonton, you know, this is going to be a series and we got to make sure that the Oilers know it.
Let's talk about the power play in this series.
Yeah, can I be a little power play horror again?
Yeah, yeah, please.
So did you see, I think Tampa?
Actually, I'll like you guess.
Trying to give me the top four power play teams in the league.
Oof, top four power play teams in the league have got to be Toronto, Tampa, Edmonton, and I don't think it's Boston.
Yeah, they actually kind of fell off.
They started hot.
Yeah, yeah.
Toronto, Tampa, Edmonton, and L.A.?
Is L.A. in there?
Yes. Wow. Great job. That was really good. Is that literally all four?
Yes, not in order. So the Edmonton Oilways have the best power play.
Yeah, I really want to say that I did not know that. For the listeners right now.
You always have the best power play in the league at a staggering 32.4%.
Which is, dude. It is, but at the same time, it's not.
I actually always love this stat because I'm like this, dude, I'm sorry.
If you have Connor McDavid and Leon Drysaddle with a man advantage, you better score.
The fact that it's not 100 is an actually ridiculous. The Leafs are second at 20.
six, which I just said, the PK differences are decimals.
That's like 6.4% of difference.
That is nuts.
So, Leif's second, 26, Tampa, third, 25, and then the King's fourth.
So they have a great power play.
Yeah, they have a fantastic power play.
And by the way, Fiala slots right in on PPP 1 when he comes back.
Like, that's a big deal.
That's why these injuries matter.
But the Oilers, two for four so far in the series on the power play, with a weapon
like that, you have to stay out of the box here the Kings.
Kings, two for ten on the power play, which is hurting them.
You know, like, you have the fourth best power play in the league.
You've got to start.
You got to keep up.
Yeah, you do.
Not that they're that far off their percentages because it's hard to score.
You really do.
But that's a big deal.
Both teams have a bad PK.
So that's there.
That's right for the taking.
To talk goalies for a bit, I would say Corpusall has been good.
I know you wanted Phoenix and we wanted all these changes to happen in LA.
But Corpusall's been good.
I think Skinner's been good.
I love to shit on Skinner.
But I think both goalies have made some really big saves and really big moments.
Yeah, Skinner had pretty mediocre, like very middle of the pack numbers this year.
I know Oilers fans like to fucking stroke him off and act like they finally got their big time goalie.
But he has been great in these.
two games. I can't say anything bad about it. It's been undeniably impressive so far.
So huge goalie matchup that we're about to look at here. My closing thought is this. I think
that the oil, just like we said, the Oilers last year dumped game one at home, blew them out
at home in game two, and then blew the doors off L.A. in L.A. in game three. So tonight, dude,
is a massive statement if you're the Kings. Like, you kept it close in Edmonton game two,
but you just, even if you split in L.A. did I just feel like you want to win this
game to be like, hey, we're here, dude. I don't want to, I don't want the oilish to roll over me
the second we get home. Mentality-wise, I do agree, but I don't know, man, I, these two teams
are so volatile, and I think Edmonton, it's nowhere near what Toronto deals with, but Edmonton
has a playoff spook as well. And if you're the Kings and you drop this game, I don't think you
care. I think you're looking at this game. Home Ice doesn't really matter. You just need to
split until you have to have one of those pivotal games. If I'm L.A. and you lose tonight,
I'm not losing sleep over it.
I do get you.
I want to win.
I want to win.
Obviously, you want to win every game.
Yeah, keep your foot on gas.
You want to win because of the Edmonton spook.
You go like this.
If you win that game,
and Edmonton's down two, one,
and you're looking at another game in L.A.,
you have the oilers shaking a little bit.
I think the Oilers need to win this game
much more than L.A. does.
Okay, I like that.
Much more.
The concern for me is,
in the same way you said,
the Krakken are a little worried
because the big guns on the abs aren't really going yet.
Yeah.
How tall is a smurf, Dan?
Three apples.
Right now, the Kings have Connor McDavid just playing his little smurf role.
He's just got two, one even, one apple.
Okay, here's a big question for you, dude.
McDavid got 60 and then cooled off drastically.
What do you end with 64?
As I predicted by those.
64, I think.
Yeah, I think he beat me by one.
Does McDavid have a scoring problem?
He has four goals in his last like 12-something games, which is actually, I would.
I would stroke myself off to if I could do that in Menzley.
But he was on a torrid pace and he's cooled off a bit.
And if he's going to wear his little blue shirt and keep doing his smurf routine,
you're the happiest person in L.A. if you're the Kings.
So for now, if he's going to stay in check, we saw, I think Brian posted that two-on-one,
where the Kings are like, do not let McDavid score.
So it's comical defense.
But if you are going to keep him in check, you've got to win these games.
The Oilers can't be up to one, Dan, and have McDavid have a smurf stat line.
Did I not say, did I not say, did I,
not say. And again,
we'll see what happens, but we were talking
about in our final
season podcast
episode, how they are
technically in the last
X amount of day, 90 days of the season, they are
the best team. They are better than the Bruins.
But I said, all that matters is in playoffs
is isolating him. You get in a second
game series, you can kind of figure it out.
He's got three points in two games.
Their assists... Is it
is it three? Does he have three apples? I don't think so.
Oh, no, no, I was saying, I was giving him
I think he literally has one assist.
So, okay, that's what I thought.
I was like, I think he has one assist.
So he's got one assist in two games.
That is definitively keeping Connor McDavid in check.
Yes, and you have to win these games.
Yes.
So, you know, I would put my money after watching his season.
I would put my money on McDavid figuring out in a big way and I'm scared tonight about him.
But you've done your job through two and you've got your one-in-one.
So Kings are doing a good job with Connor.
That is saying something, dude. That is huge.
All right, let's get into the Eastern Conference with the biggest snooze fest series of the playoffs so far, as we all knew.
We tweeted about this too, and I'm ready to eat crow on it.
So the Keynes are up 2-0.
They won 2-1 in the first game.
They won a great game in overtime, what, 4-3, I think.
Uh-huh.
I think it was 4-3.
I think that's right.
We clowned on Freddie Anderson and, and Ranta before the series being like they're not good goalies.
I thought Rand's been good.
He's been really good.
I thought Sorokin's been really good.
The difference is, and the canes are getting a ton of shots.
Like, Sorokin's taking most of the fire here.
And he's been really good, but he hasn't been good enough if you're going to upset the
Keynes as the Islanders.
He hasn't had those saves that are like, that make the Keynes players go, Jesus Christ,
what do I have to do to get by this guy?
He's diving with the paddle across the net.
And they're getting some bad breaks.
The fucking Aho, wrong Aho own goal.
It's just like lunacy, you know?
Brutal stuff.
But Sorokans be good. Both goalies have been good.
I wrote down to end, I don't have a ton to say about this series, and I don't mean to shortchange the fans of these two teams.
I pick the Islanders in six. That is definitely not happening now. I don't think the Islanders are out of it.
I think they could win this thing in seven. I just don't think they're peeling off four straight against Carolina.
So they could do it.
You're going back to the aisle, though, right?
Yep. Yep. What do we always say? It's not a series until someone loses at home.
And this is one of those things, man. You've been on the wrong end of this a lot of times as fans.
care what team you're a fan of. Seven game series are crazy, dude. And you go down 02,
and it's so easy to feel like the world is ending. And then you go home and you win to and
you're like, oh, right. We did. Look at that. I think that in hockey, as we've seen, the 3-0 isn't
the death sentence that it is in the NBA or some of these other leagues. Yeah. But to me,
and this game's about to come on, it's beyond an hour. You have to win tonight if you're the
Islanders. Yes, absolutely. We must win this. This is a must win. And,
One of the reasons you might is because those injuries are really piling up for Carolina.
Dude, unbelievable. You got patches out. You've got Svetnikov out.
And now you've got Tara Vining out with a broken hand, needing surgery.
I'm pretty sure he has no points so far this series. And he didn't do, he wasn't a world beater this year.
What did he finish his season with? I think he had something.
I'll look it up. I think he had either in the 40s or 50s in points. And that's no slouch, dude.
Like, that's a good season. Losing this, but I might be wrong. If he's in like the 30s, then I'm like, okay, this isn't that much of a loss.
but I think people predicted him to have a monster year, something in the 60, 70 point range.
And he didn't quite hit that.
But Tara Vining going down, dude, that is...
37 points, but in 68 games, 12 and 25 for 37.
I was like his point per game clip was pretty good.
So, yeah, that's not a huge season for him, but ultimately at the end of the day, you want him in the lineup.
And the bigger thing is, what it does is it just fucking changes everything, dude.
Like, he goes down, now you've got to shuffle the line, someone's got to come up.
So it's a wild situation.
my one thing I have to say about this, I'm with you, I don't have a lot to say.
We knew this was going to be a boring series.
It's been pretty boring so far.
New York Islander Sebastian Aho, when you are on a team that struggles scoring goals,
you cannot be putting pucks in your own net.
You simply cannot do it.
Cannot replace a Gary Bird Deer.
We knew going into this, and we knew going to this season.
The New York Islanders don't score fucking goals.
They do not score hockey goals.
And I don't know how that is your thing as a team.
That's something that you've got to figure out and fix.
You went out and you got Bo Horvatt.
Great.
Bo, get on the score sheet, buddy.
You've got to start tucking some Ginos here
because this team, if you want to win,
like you said, tonight is must win,
and that is a fact.
I would venture to say,
this Islanders-Kane's game
is the most must-win game
in the playoffs so far for any team.
I agree.
You have to win.
I agree.
And again, I'm not...
It's the only two-0 series?
No.
Wait.
Everybody's won one.
that's kind of lit.
It is.
No, Rangers are 2-0.
Oh, Rangers.
Someone else is shit pumping someone.
There you go.
It is, yeah, I weirdly think that this is more must win than the devils.
But maybe not.
But it's a big one though.
And you're so right about the islanders.
They just have, sometimes when you're watching a hockey game, especially for people that don't know the sport and there's a lot of new fans in the playoffs, you go, how could you ever score in this?
It just never seems like there's a good chance unless it's on the power play.
And it sucks when you feel relying on the power play.
And even in this series, the Keynes have the second best PK in the league and the Islanders
have one of the worst power plays in the league.
So even the power play play play.
It just, it just, I watch these games and I'm like, how can the Islanders score?
They can never score in this game.
And do your point, Dan?
Hey, Bo, are you having fun?
You have no points.
Is this more fun than Vancouver?
Because you have not participated in the playoffs.
Dude, Bo Horvath, talking shit to Vancouver fans saying it's so nice to be in a city that has
playoff hockey.
Uh, buddy, you haven't even played yet.
Hey, come, come on down to the party, Bo.
You have zero points, dude.
Let's have a good time.
You're the big boy.
You just signed a huge contract.
You're their goal scorer now.
I have an idea.
Score a goal.
Get a point.
Do something.
Because you're currently doing nothing.
And that's not acceptable.
It's got to be the Sorokan show.
It hasn't been yet.
Let's see if he turns it on at home.
All right.
Let's go to the other 2-0 series.
No question my most excited series to talk about.
And here's the one.
You were eating shit on the abs.
Here's the one I'm eating shit on.
Because I said the, I said devils in seven.
I was loving the devils coming in.
And they have been tuned up.
5-1 twice.
Oh my God, dude.
This is
nothing short of shocking.
If you had told me
after two games at MS,
or excuse me,
two games in Jersey,
that this would be
2-0 Rangers.
I would not have been shocked.
I genuinely would not have been.
We talked about many times,
the Devils are the best road team
in the NHL.
They are the best road team
in the NHL,
and they are headed to New York
just across,
just across the little pond there
and they're going to play two games at MSG
just how I said
I wouldn't have been shocked if you told me they'd be down
02 after two games in Jersey
I will not be shocked if this is 2-2
after two games at MSG
the Rangers have been the most
trick-or-treat good team in the NHL this year
but boy oh let me tell you
they look good
two 5-1 wins
they are just
golden showering
VTac VTVanec with goals
shots on net. He looks lost, dude. He looks like a lost puppy in the woods. He looks like fucking
Will in Stranger Things running around the forest like a lost little moron. Sucked into the upside
down. He's got his angles wrong. He's sitting back. When Patrick Kane got that little half
breakaway and came down, Venechek's ass is fully in the net. He tucked into his little turtle shell
and slid into the net. I'm like, what are you doing? Are you afraid? Dude, everything the Rangers could
have ever wanted is going right. Shesty looks good. Kane has a goal. Bad Vlad has two goals.
Crider has four fucking goals and has more power play goals than any Ranger history.
They're getting every, I guess Jack scored, but otherwise, like everyone on New Jersey's quiet.
Everyone that they need to be good in New York is good.
It's been a dream, dream start.
Let me tell you what, dude, most playoff goals in New York Rangers history, Chris Kreider with power play play play.
Power play, I think.
I know it is goals.
Wow.
Look up that stat, but I'm pretty certain it's goal.
It's power play goals for sure, but I'm pretty sure it's goals in playoff history.
Chris Grider has four goals in two games.
and he looks as dangerous as he looked last season when he scored 50.
Yep.
So you've got a lot of bad things going on if you're the devils.
Like,
dude, everyone on the Rangers are cooking.
We try to be pretty nice in the comments.
Yeah.
People, we post a video and someone goes, that video sucks.
I go, sorry, I thought it might be was funny, but I hope you liked the next one, you know?
Yeah.
And I'm rarely out there trying to dog people and keep receipts.
I want to go back through the tears post right now.
and literally
DM every single person
who was like,
V-Tech is an elite goalie.
How could you ever say this?
I was like,
I wrote it down, dude.
For context, I was going to say,
for context,
we posted a TIRS Instagram post
with Glu Guy Sports
and we put the Devils
under the category that says,
who is your goalie?
Yeah.
And Devils fans got big mad
saying,
how could you disrespect V-Tech like this?
And I came in hot with the comments.
I was like,
he is 15 and 18 in,
say, percentage and goals
against in the NHL.
that is straight down the middle.
You think that's good.
Do you think that's winning you a cup?
That's the definition of mid.
How are you standing for this fucking guy?
And like, I get it, he's a fun dude.
He's fun when he gets on the mic
and post-game interviews and shit like that.
I love V-Tek too.
I love V-Tek too.
I love the devils.
I want him to play well.
I'm not going to get mad about someone fucking trying to be like,
uh, V-Tex not good because I'd be like,
correct.
He's not great.
Like, he's fine.
He's just fine.
In my opinion, three things so far in this series have been proven
which a lot of people said have been proven right.
One is that the rags are full of a veteran squad
that has been deep or has won cups
and they will know what's doing in the playoffs.
That has been proven right.
Two, the devils are not ready.
They have no playoff experience.
They cannot handle this.
That has been proven right.
It's not over.
I'm just saying that has been proved right.
And three, it was that something we said
that VTEC has a bad playoff record.
It's tiny, but this shit moved him to his career.
He's one in three in the playoffs
with an 8-4-1 save percentage
and a 4.39 goals.
against you. That is a fucking travesty. You cannot play in the league with those numbers.
I have two hot takes to end out this series if you're ready for them. I am. Two hot takes,
and I hate to say this because like you said, I'd like to say we're nice guys, we're positive guys.
These are both negative things. One, I think Rangers fans would like to sit here and say,
uh-oh, the bad man coming. Igor's here. Yeah, yeah. He has two, you know, one goal against games.
I don't think he's been tested at all.
Me neither.
I do not think the devil's are still asleep, dude.
The shots are low, low, low.
Devil's getting like 20 shots a game.
Super low. They don't have high danger chances.
The one chance that Jack has had, he tucked.
I don't think Igor has been tested.
I do too.
I don't think Igor has been tested at all.
I think the devils are still asleep in their crib, sucking their thumbs.
And when and if they wake up and get some shots on that,
and Igor only lets in one or gets a shut out,
I will go, you're right, he's here.
But he has not been tested, and I am curious if that cockiness for him is going to come into MSG,
the devils wake up because their backs are against it, and they pipe him.
That will be interesting.
So, hot take one.
Okay, yep.
Hot take two.
Dougie Hamilton.
Oh, no.
Oh, God.
Is not a number one defenseman.
You were arguing for him to win the Norris the other week.
Dougie Hamilton is the most...
he is he's the shiniest toy in the drawer he is he is the the purebred puppy with perfect spots yeah
look symmetrical but then he gets hip arthritis and tummy worms and dies at eight years old he sits he sits weird
and it destroys his hips this guy i think finished his year with something like 73 points yeah at least yeah
He is an elite statistical defenseman in the NHL on one of the best teams in the league.
I think this dude's mentality is so soft.
I think there's something to be said about the fact that he's been on, what, three, four teams now?
Is that right?
Yeah.
Bees Flames.
Carolina, yeah, yeah, New Jersey.
He's been on four teams now.
He's like 30 years old, maybe not even.
I think there's something about him that isn't a.
locked in, I am going to be your hero as the number one defenseman guy.
I think until he gets on a lineup that has a situation like,
uh,
headman and Sergeative,
a situation like McAvoy and Lindholm,
I just don't think he is going to carry your team as your number one D guy
because I don't think he's mentally there.
I don't think he's a killer. That's it. That's all I'm saying.
I don't, I'm not mad at it.
Dougie, I think he's a great, great player.
I don't think he has that killer instinct. I do.
Extremely quick takes to close this out.
One, the devil's had one of the best penalty kills in the league this year.
It's the playoffs. No one likes a fucking show off.
They took seven penalties in game two, and they got pumped by Kreider.
Stay out of the fucking box. I don't care how good your penalty kill is.
There's no need to put it to the test.
Two, last week, Dan, or earlier this week.
Just real quick, on that topic, dude, if you were the devil's man, and this is, this goes to Dougie, dude.
You can't let Chris Kreider pitch a tent in front of the net like he's doing.
in every fucking fuck a tent dude.
He's got a two-bedroom condo in front of the net,
and no one is doing anything about it.
They're not clearing him out.
They're not chopping them down.
It's unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
Two.
I told you earlier this week that kids are dangerous.
You know what else they are?
Dumb.
Stupid, insecure, and scared.
And right now, the devils are about to get pants in game three.
We could be talking sweep, dude.
I straight up picked the devils in the series.
could be talking sweet. If they lose game
three tomorrow, I really
don't think that they can figure it out. Do you? Children are
dumb. Yeah. You're a scared
little boy. You're a scared little boy and it's all over
for you. I'm very concerned.
This is the cool runnings moment. I see a lost
little boy. That's what you are if you
lose game three. Okay, we're going to leaf
lightning. Before you say
anything, because I'll let you start this. I don't
think there was a more shocking
result so far in the
playoffs than the lightning
beating the shit
out of the Leafs in game one in Toronto.
I completely disagree.
That was so fucking rattling, I couldn't believe my eyes.
I think the more shocking one is game two.
Oh, really?
Yeah.
Okay.
I think the Leafs, after everything they've been through,
I think them bouncing back in game two and beating the shit out of the lightning is more shocking.
So again, like I said, it was surprising that the bolts came out and tallywacked the Maple Leafs.
I did not expect that.
we both picked the Maple Leafs in this series in seven
but like I said
I think the most surprising thing was Toronto responding
they came back at home second game
won huge and like frankly
like that wasn't even close they put
seven pass VASI he's got 10 pass him now too
we were giving Vtec shit
dude yes Vassi's letting 10 as well but you always say I kind of love it
Vasi refuses to get pulled in those situations he wants it
he wants the smoke dude he took all seven on the chin
wiped his mouth and he's coming back out for fucking game three
And Dan, what he said, which is so sick, is he goes, it gives me more looks at their shots.
Like, I want to see where these guys are changed the puck.
The more looks I can get at that, the better.
That's why he's a sick, sick person.
He's a pervert, dude.
But at the same time, I love the mentality because you're right.
He's like, no, dude, don't fucking pull me.
Like, this game is dead.
Let me get my reps in.
Let me take my fucking beating and I'll come back stronger.
And he does.
He's historically done just that.
It was great because for the Leafs fans, dude, to see Tampa Score inside of two minutes,
get lit up by seven,
Samsonoff gets pulled.
The nightmare was playing out in real time.
You're like, oh my God,
I thought this was the year and it's all over.
To respond the way they did,
Marner's going,
Nealander's going,
Johnny Toadrags gets two in his hometown city,
living his fucking childhood dream.
That was a necessary, necessary response.
He got the hatty, dude.
Yeah, sorry, he got the hat.
And dude, he, if you,
I think I said this to you,
maybe before we were recording,
but the scary thing,
I told you last,
earlier this week. Tampa has the best home record
in the league. Toronto has the third best, but Tampa
has the second best home record in the league, and all
they had to do was get one in Toronto.
Boom. Mission accomplished.
Job done. John Cooper doesn't give a fuck
if they lost game two. He wanted to win game two,
but if they're going to lose, he doesn't give a fuck if they lose one,
nothing or 50 nothing. Yeah. He got his
one, and he comes back and
Tampa, the Tampa Bay Lightning are
fucking salivating, are fucking
slowly stroking off
the thought of going on
getting it looped up. And I'm not
not saying it's going to be easy, but this was their dream.
They wanted this chance, they earned this chance,
and now they might do it. And Toronto
was a fucking crazed animal right now.
There's no promises, but John Cooper and the
Lightning wanted to take one to get this opportunity
and they have it. Yeah, it's true. I was rattled
to see, I mean,
we've talked to everything about this series.
It's crazy. Two insane games.
You're so right. Tampa has the upper
hand right now. They're headed home. They're unbelievable
at home. This looks tough
for the Maple Leafs.
Everything to me comes down to
headman and Sernak.
Headman and Sernak are hurt.
They miss game two.
They got the fucking doors blown off.
You think you notice the difference in that one when you were missing those two boys?
The doors blown off.
Jesus Christ.
So it's interesting now.
You'll see how that goes.
You'll see if they suit up for game three.
If they do, I think you feel really good if you're Tampa.
The one last thing I want to touch on in this series before we move on is the Michael
bunting suspension.
Yeah.
Game one, bunting, really dirty hit.
I'm not saying intentional, but got up high, catches Sernak.
That's what knocks Sernick out.
He gets a three.
Is it conky or what's he out?
with. Three-game sussie, I think it's a conkey.
Do you see what happened? Yeah, I think
it's a, I think it was a conkey, but bunting with a three-game sussie
feels a little harsh, but at the same time,
I'm a big believer, and if you knock a guy out of a series,
you have to get more than one game. We've said before,
I think it should be as long as Serac is out, bunting is out. I actually love that.
I wish they did that. Because it's fucked up, dude.
I mean, again, I don't think bunting had any, you know,
malintentent with the hit, but bunting's been kind of wires crossed all.
season dude. He's fucking fighting with refs.
He is getting in scraps, left,
right and center. Now he knocks Sernak
out with a really, really ugly hit.
Interesting to keep an eye on.
He's obviously not coming back until game
five. Yes. And they
obviously, when you had said Toronto
is so top six heavy. So when they lost
the top six guy, I was like, oh, Jesus Christ, dude,
they're dead. And obviously they
kicked the shit out of Tampa without him. But again,
it was the lack of the issue probably.
It's Hedman and Sernick is everything. On the bunting thing,
he just has no
history with suspensions or anything like that.
No, no, he's not a dirty player at all.
So for me, and I'd be livid if Sernick misses three games and Bunting got nothing if I was a
lightning fan.
But that did feel harsh for me for a guy with no history.
If that's Marcian, if that's, oh, dude, how funny was the Cadreys, Godry got in the
mix, yeah.
He's like, yo, a guy, leave me out of it.
Yeah, no one fucking talked to me right now.
That was such a funny response.
No, it's true.
And he deserved every single one of the games, Codry got.
So it was just so funny to see that.
But if it was a cadre, I'm like, yeah, he gets three games.
But that felt harsh for me for a guy with no history.
Yeah, the elbow was high, but it wasn't.
We've talked about this, dude.
I think there's merit in, if you have history of suspensions before, it should play a factor.
I don't really like that.
It's just all about the one hit.
One play, yeah.
But like we said, this series comes down to injuries.
Perfect transition into our last one.
We're finally going to talk about, or yeah, I was just going to finish with.
If Hedman doesn't come back, I think this is like five games.
This isn't like, we'll see what happens.
I'm like, this is over.
Like straight up.
If they don't get those guys back, you're fucking dead.
No, it looks tough.
Thanks for ruining my transition, but I'll just jump right back and do it.
Leaving that with that with Cutter.
All right, we're getting into your Boston Bruins.
The harp in Boston here.
This game is split 1-1.
Bruins are dealing with the fact that there's a stomach bug going around the team.
Patrice Bergeron announced before game one is not playing.
Olmark was up and down.
Bruins get a win in the first game.
We talked about it last pod.
They looked a little sluggish.
And then we come in game two and get the doors blown off them by the Florida Panthers.
Huge statement win.
Six three at the end of it.
It was never really close.
The B's got some back here and there.
Turnover for Marchand's goal.
Power play deflected in off of Bert's foot for the second.
But after that, it was just not close.
Florida ran away with it.
It has just been announced that Bergeron is not playing in game three.
He's not playing in game four.
Didn't even travel, yeah.
Olmark is a game time decision.
I don't know if that's injury or sickness.
no reason to panic.
You split whatever.
You're headed down to Florida today.
What do you got?
What are you feeling like if you're the Bruins?
I think it's a tough, if you're Boston,
it's a tough time in the year
to all of a sudden play the worst hockey you played all season.
To be completely frank.
Which is what they're doing.
That team in game two,
we both were like, yeah, they were sluggish in game one,
which they were, but whatever.
In game two, that team was unrecognizable.
I'm not trying to be hyperbolic.
That was an unrecognized lot.
It was without question,
the worst game of hockey they have played all
season long. It's like they've never been in the
calendar year of 2023, all
season long. Pucks, dude, might level
panic pucks up the middle from your D-Zone.
It was insane. No, turnovers
all over the ice, stupid decisions,
low hustle plays.
They did not look like this Bruins team.
They didn't win a single race. They didn't win a single puck battle.
Florida came out here. Dude, they were embracing
this David and Goliath thing. Absolutely.
You said it best, dude. There was a president's trophy team
last year. Obviously, there was big changes, but that team
is a good team. They got Bennett back.
They're getting production from the guys,
Montefi.
Verhagi, Maddie Kachuk, the guys they need production from, they're getting production from,
and they are ready for this, dude.
They believe they can win.
You always say that.
In that locker room, they're like, we're going to win this series.
Eckblatt is beating the shit out of Marshaan in front of the net.
He had an unbelievable game one, an even better game two.
Florida looks great.
You know what my favorite thing about Florida is so far in this series?
Maddie Kachuk talked to after the win.
He sounds so humble.
He sounds so calm and collected.
He said a number of times after a huge statement win in Boston, he was like,
Listen, they're an incredible hockey team over there, but we know that we can play, and that's all that we're going to do.
And the big thing I would be worried about if I'm Boston right now, there's a few things.
Bergeron being out is terrible.
Yes.
Olmark being a question mark is terrible.
I would not feel comfortable about how much you lost your heads at the end of that game.
Yeah.
You have not seen this Bruins team, and again, they lost, what, 10 games all year?
But you have not seen that Bruins team all season lose their cool.
like they lost at the end of that game.
People fighting. Trent Frederick saying he's
getting choked out in a fight at the end of the game.
They snapped. Wires crossed. They're frustrated.
They're pissed. So congratulations,
Panthers. You have frustrated this Bruins team.
The greatest regular season team in NHL history,
you are under their skin. So we'll see tonight
if Boston really just shakes that game off and goes,
fuck it. It's over. Let's go out.
We're the second best away team in the NHL.
We're going to go. We're going to win.
It is what it is. You split the series
with this team. Is that right?
Did they go two and two?
Yeah, Florida won both in Florida during the regular season.
So this is a place you haven't won yet this year.
So you've got to answer here.
You've got to respond.
Before we move on from it, I think the big question here, like we talked about with Minnesota,
is what do you do with the goalie situation if you're Boston?
That's the thing I really wanted to talk about.
And like you said, we don't know.
There's been no report yet on what all Mark's deal is because if he's hurt, he's hurt,
he's hurt, nothing you can do.
But Swayman had such a good season.
I didn't not, sorry for the double negative, not.
expect to see Swayman during these playoffs.
I figured they'd give O-Marc a break.
And in fact, if we had one game two and played well and they started Swainman today, I wouldn't
be rattled at all.
You might be because you're taking O'Mark's mojo, but I was like...
I stand by my take.
I would say, stay with O'Mark, but I wouldn't...
If you were 2-0 going in and you go like this, now you've got to deal with Swamen, I'd be like
this, that's cocky and cool, I like it.
Give O-Mark a break, but O-Mark, people forget, lost his two playoff games last year.
Yeah.
He has no playoff experience.
He came out and played fine in game one, but then he did.
He didn't play that well in game, too.
I thought that two-pad jammer was like a ludicrous save.
Desperation move, like slide over the crease, dude.
So you're telling me, if he's not hurt and you're telling me they're going,
okay, so Linus, you are now one and three in your playoff career.
You're coming off your first bad game this season, basically, and you were pulled from Swamen.
If Swamen loses tonight and Olmark's not hurt, and now we're down to one in Florida for game four,
and what are you like, going back to Linus, that is like, Dan, you want, I said to earlier,
people were saying the wild decision was the most baffling coaching decision of all time.
if O-Mark isn't hurt and Swayman starts tonight, this is the most baffling coaching decision I've ever seen.
I think it's absolutely sane. Again, it comes down to injury. If O-Mark is injured, then may be okay.
I'm also kind of like, what the fuck is wrong with you? How are you injured? But that's neither here nor there.
I agree. If you put in Swamen right now, you run the risk of Swamen losing on the road where we haven't won all season, like you said.
And now you have two goalies who are now on a losing streak. Both of their confidence is not ruined, not shot, but it's affected.
and now you have two losing goalies going into a must-win game four,
I think it would be absolutely moronic.
You're right, just like Minnesota,
the Boston have done the tandem all season long,
and frankly, dude, Omar and Swamen are two top five goals in the NHL
by every single metric.
So going with Swamen is not a like,
what are you doing situations?
He's amazing.
It is the mental part that I think would be such a bizarre decision
I could not wrap my head around it.
So I think it's absolutely monumental what Boston does tonight.
It's crazy to say this.
But Boston, back when they won the Cup, too.
You know, any good run, the Bruins team, this Bruins core has had,
it's really come from great depth.
Those bottom two lines are good.
And for the first two games in this series,
I have felt like a team that I thought had a ton of lower tier depth is being exposed a little bit.
There are guys on the fourth line.
There are some bottom pair of D guys that I'm like, yo, you have been bad.
Bris looks back in the lineup tonight.
I think the coaches are seeing what we're seeing.
But it's crazy to say this, but it does feel like right now,
with Bergeron out especially,
You kind of need some guys to fucking slap their dick on the ice right now.
Oh, absolutely.
I need pasta and Marshan and fucking Taylor Hall and Creachie.
I think McAvoy.
To be like this, yo, I got you.
I think McAvoy, to me the biggest tests are, or not tests,
the biggest show-up performances tonight need to be Lindholm and McAvoy.
Yeah.
I think those two have been two top 10, top five defensemen in the NHL this season.
You just let in six goals in game two.
You guys need to really stand the fuck up tonight.
I'm excited to see McAvoy playing with Grizzlick.
I think the closing thing I'll say tonight is I do not think this is must win for Boston.
Me neither.
If you lose this game, I don't think you panic.
I don't think you freak out.
You are the best team in the league.
Calm the fuck down.
Relax.
You obviously want to win this game.
But the biggest thing is you need to wake up tonight.
Yes.
You looked awful in game two.
You cannot look awful.
You can't look awful anywhere tonight.
If you lose close game,
lose an overtime, you're fine.
I really think you're fine.
I'm not saying that due to an allegiance to Boston.
It's just you guys have been nails all season.
You've responded well to the small pieces of adversity this season.
It's not must win, but it is must change.
You need to change the way that you're playing.
Because even in the win, a 3-1 win in game one,
you didn't look amazing.
No, not at all.
So I think a lot of guys need to fucking change the way they're skating,
change the way they're playing.
Wipe game two out of your memory,
have a new mentality and come out and play.
the Bruins hockey you've been playing all season.
We both said we expected at least one,
well, I think we said one, Florida win this series.
And we both said, and I hope it happens
because that's the wake-up call you need in the playoffs sometimes.
Here's your chance.
Yeah.
Was it a wake-up call or are you kind of fucked right now?
And you can get out of this series being kind of fucked, by the way,
because Florida isn't that good and the bees are good,
and they could win this thing in seven and look fucked the whole time.
That's why I'm not actually worried until the Bruins have three losses.
If they lose tonight, I'm like, all right, whatever.
But it would be nice to see them wake up and play playoff hockey
because similar to the devil's.
They haven't played playoff hockey yet once.
Exactly.
this round. It's two fucking games, but they have not played play playoff hockey once.
And that's where I give tons of credit to Florida. I think you play great playoff hockey in
game two. Your players are looking sharp. You look confident.
Confident, confident, confident as the last team's weekend into the playoffs. So massive stick
taps to the Florida Panthers. I think it's, honestly, you've got to be most excited about
the way you've played in that game too more than you have all season. So, you know, huge credit to
them. Incredible slate tonight, guys.
Unbelievable stuff. Like we're saying, every series, every game, we're all over it.
Yeah. This episode will drop on Saturday. So if you're listening on Saturday, we've got a great slate of games on Saturday, too. Check the stories. Check the Twitter. We're all over it. We're here with you guys. We're going on this ride. Unbelievable stuff. Guys, we are so pumped to be here at the harp. Huge thank you to the harp. This has been an absolute fucking blast. Now let's get into some unreal playoff hockey.
What a venue. Let's have a watch party. A, skate hard. Skate hard.
