Empty Netters Podcast - 28. Oilers vs Kings is MUST WATCH Television
Episode Date: April 25, 2023We are BACK in the studio for another playoffs review episode. Seattle is spunking everywhere and playoff Eichel loves shrimp. Toronto is finally getting the bounces and the Devils NEED to shoot the p...uck. GET 10% OFF YOUR FIRST ONLINE ORDER AT https://www.shifthockey.com/pages/netters WITH PROMO CODE "NETTERS" NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, before we get into this playoff episode of the Empty Nader's podcast, we got to hear from our presenting sponsors, Shift Hockey.
Guys, no one likes the cost of hockey sticks.
It's absolutely preposterous.
Even if you are the biggest hockey player in the world where you're doing three a days and you play every single day or if you're just a beer league beauty like us, every time you break your twig, paying $350 for a top of the line stick is the most criminal feeling in the world.
It absolutely sucks.
And that's why the boys at Shift Hockey have come here to save the day.
They went out, they found all of the best manufacturers, all of the best quality sticks in the game,
and they have made you a top-of-the-line hockey stick for half the price.
You can go to this website and you can get a stick for 150 to 170 bucks and be out there like you're playing like one of the pros.
Because we have these sticks, we use them, and we know they are fantastic, high-quality sticks that the best players in the world would use,
and you can have them for the best discount price on the market.
It's no joke. We're getting DMs from strangers now.
It used to be our friends hitting us up saying how good they are.
We're getting DMs from strangers.
It's got everything you need, dude.
It's cool. It's grippy.
It's got the right feel.
The kick is there.
Everything you want in a high end stick you are getting from this stick for a fraction of the cost.
It's a cool ass sleek design.
And if you guys want to get on board to this and save yourself a ton of money while still using one of the best sticks you can possibly find, go to shifthockey.
dot com slash netters and then additionally pump in that promo code
N-E-T-T-E-R-S at checkout and you're going to save 10% on top of this.
Guys, we wouldn't lie to you.
We use these sticks ourselves.
See one in the background right behind CP right there.
These things are top-notch and they are slashing prices in half.
You'd be a fool not to get it.
So if you play hockey at any level, get on board with Shift.
Okay, we are recording another special playoff episode right now.
we just got back from an insane weekend in Boston.
We're both dying and we're currently watching the Pacific games right now.
Tampa was just up 4 to 1 on Toronto.
It's now 4-4.
Two Matthews goals, a Morgan Riley goal all in the third period.
It's tied 4-4 now.
There's less than a minute left.
Looks like this one's going to OT.
Tampa Bay, you are fucking losers.
I'm disgusted with what I've seen.
Dude, we posted a meme today saying three goal leads in the Stanley Cup playoffs are not safe at all.
and here we go again.
It's insane the collapses that we have seen so far these playoffs.
And they are collapses, by the way.
Oh, I mean, this three-go-blown lead in the third period, certainly, is humiliating stuff.
This is pathetic, dude.
Like, I picked the Leafs to win the series, so did you.
So I should be happy about this.
But you just hate to see a goaltender like Vazzi and a good team like Tampa humiliating themselves right now, because that's all this is.
This is pathetic.
Like, you were potentially about to drop both games at home because you can't hold onto a three-gold
lead in the third period. We'll get to them in a second.
Unbelievable. Okay, we're getting right into it
because I keep saying we're giving you every
series, every game. We're going to start
today with the Islanders
and the Canes. Yep.
Friday, the Islanders
got their win. They won 5-1.
They look good, the boys are scoring
and all that stuff. And I think if you were a
Carolina fan, maybe, maybe,
you're like, God, we're on an eight-game
road playoff skit. You remember last year, it was
coming to Boston and all that shit. Couldn't win
on the road at all. And as soon as they couldn't
protect home.
ice against New York, it was over. And maybe that's in the back of your head. Um, here we go again.
Yeah. And then game four, they show up and go up for nothing, end up beating the brakes off of,
uh, the Islanders five two. I think it finished. Five two. Um, Bo Horvette finally got on the score sheet,
but it was a meaningless goal. Welcome to the party, pal. It just felt like, oh, sweet, we're down five,
nothing and you squirt one in. Yeah. But it's, uh, yeah, I mean, we had a feeling that this was going to be
the most boring series. You know, games
three and four, however, though, did
have a more lopsided scoreline than we're
used to seeing with these types of teams.
That said, I think this one is
check is cashed.
Waitress is going for her smoke break.
The game's over.
Hova. Yeah. This is, I think this is over in
five. I don't think
Islanders can go
take care of business in Carolina
in game five. I think
Carolina will win.
And this is
possibly going to be the first series.
wrapped up. Everything I feared
would happen
happen. Their power play is a disaster. They're one
for 12. One for 12. And then they can't
score a goal. They can't generate chances at all
on even strength. And
Seroquin just hasn't been that boy.
And they were only ever going to win if he
was. I was big, big, big,
wrong about this. This was my hot upset
pick. And they're going to get
gentlemen swept the fuck out of the playoffs.
I think
it's easy in hindsight to be like, of course this was going to happen.
The honor just stink. But
I think they duped me, dude, because of the way they held on to that playoff spot.
But in reality, what was happening is the penguins and devils and senators and wings to a degree were actually just vomiting on themselves more than the islanders were holding on to it.
Yeah, that's definitely what happened.
And I give a lot of credit to the Keynes here.
I mean, we talked a lot about the fact that they were maybe slipping towards the end of the season.
They were a wagon all year, but it looked like that last month or two wasn't that strong.
they got the Svetnikov injury and then now they've got the Tara Vinen injury.
But they've stepped up.
Their goaltending is stepped up and it looks like they're going to get out of here with a gentleman's sweep.
I think we both sort of felt at the beginning of round one, no matter who came out of the Jersey, New York series, they would be feeling pretty good playing Carolina.
You're not going into Carolina's sweating.
But this is a great performance by the hurricanes.
I mean, this is a display.
of showing that they are no slouch.
This isn't a, oh, yeah, you know,
we played well in the first half of the season,
and then we just barely held on,
and these injuries are going to kill us.
It's like, nope, they're a good fucking team.
And getting slapped in the mouth, 5-1,
and then coming back and winning 5-2,
that was a huge, huge response.
And if I'm the Islanders,
I think I'm packing my back.
Yeah, statement game by the canes.
Bo Horvatt, after his game said,
we've got to start playing desperate.
It's do or die.
And I said, no, Bo, it is die.
It's over.
You're dead.
Yeah, your season is over.
congratulations. Let's jump to Bruins Panthers. Yes. Another series that could be over in five.
Yeah, I think I, you feel pretty confident if you're the Bruins, if you're a Bruins fan.
I think despite the last two games in Florida, I still think Florida has some punch in them.
It looks like Craichi is certainly out, which was a huge surprise blow when you're already without Bergeron.
I would be surprised if Bergeron plays in game five. So I'm not going to sit here and say that this is
definitely over in five, but it's starting to look like it for sure.
It is, this is our other 3-1 series.
There's been some fireworks here.
There's been some fights and some scraps.
And a huge shout out to the city of Boston and the harp and hurricanes.
Two great bars.
We had some fun live podcast and watch parties over there.
Boston fans, you guys are unbelievable, such a good time.
Two wins in Florida.
That's Monster for Boston.
They didn't have any wins in the regular season.
So pretty huge for them to get those two wins there.
And again, I think the thing for Boston is, Chris, you and I went off on the podcast live in the harp because there was that question.
The Panthers got a big win in game two.
And everyone was like, oh, who starts?
Swam in our Olmark.
Swam in our Olmark.
And we were both kind of aligned in that.
Like, if you don't start Olmark, you're just fucking dumb.
And you are potentially inviting issues for your goaltending situation.
But they went with Olmark.
He got a huge win, got another huge win.
got another huge win.
And I just think that, man, if you're Boston right now and you're doing this without
Krati and Bergeron, that this was the beginning of the season, you needed those two guys to not
retire, you needed them to come back so you had strength down the middle.
And now here you are, after breaking the record of most wins in the regular season, you go
into your first playoff series without those two guys.
And these dudes like Koyle, Zaka, have stepped up so, so much.
And you've gotten these monster wins on the road.
You're getting huge scoring from guys like Debrusk, guys like Bertuzi, who is on fire in his first ever playoff series.
Felino is out here making noise.
Taylor Hall has woken up.
Everything is going right for the Boston Bruins right now.
Yeah.
Getting production from people that you needed, like you said, it is mind-blowing to me that this Bruins team.
Oh, I don't know if we got to talk about this on the pod.
Do we do it in the harp?
We must have.
Yeah, I think you did that.
Berg was playing because his dad was sick.
Yeah.
So, like, everyone knows that story now.
and I don't blame Berg.
I wouldn't have blamed Berg for playing in that game if his dad was the healthiest dude on earth.
Like play in the hockey game.
I don't care about that at all.
100%. Chris, you said it to me yesterday.
Like, I hate those arguments where it's like, oh, my God, so-and-so plays in the 80-second game of the season and they get hurt.
What a fucking disaster.
But would you feel that way if they got hurt in the 80th game?
Because it's the same fucking thing.
So I kind of hate those arguments of, oh, it's a meaningless game.
They shouldn't play.
What if they get hurt?
These guys want to play. Getting hurt is an anomaly.
Plenty of dudes, plenty of starters played in that game.
They all didn't get hurt. But yeah, so it just is baffling to me that this Bruins team
who has faced so little adversity all year, frankly. It was on my biggest fears about the squad.
We talked about that too, though. The beginning of the season had a bunch. You were without
Marchand, you were without McVoehaw, you were without Grizzlick. That is bad. And they fucking
pounded through the first month or two of the season. Yeah, I guess that's what I meant by
adversity. Like, they had all these guys out and then they won 30 games in a row. So it was like,
we're cool. And maybe they just do it again. I still think that's adversity though.
Yeah, yeah. Start the season. Like we said, you could have easily gone 500 in that stretch and then
you never recover. So that's adversity. As you just said, they won both games in Florida. Like this
series right now, I made it sound like a laffer, but it's like going into two games in Florida
where you would lost twice this year, it was one-one. Yeah. So it could just as easily be through
in Florida. So you'll take that. I had three things I really wanted to ask you about
the series. Yeah, hit me. You just brought up the non-Switch to Swamen. What did you think about
the cats going with Bob in game four? I didn't hate it. I was a little surprised. I didn't think
game three was that definitive. You know, it's like the bees went up, but Florida got those late
two goals. And it was kind of like, all right, lock in, dude, finish this game. I was a little
surprised to see the switch. It is always
funny when you've got a guy like Sergey
Bobrovsky on your bench. It's like
should we go to him or should we not go
to him? So I didn't hate it but
he gave in what five goals and 30
shots and he just did not play well
and it's just man that guy
signed that contract and has just fucking
mailed it in sitting on his yacht down
Florida fucking hanging out.
Dude it's you can see that like
Lion was playing just in between
he wasn't playing bad enough to be the obvious poll
oh the place should do big for you but he
wasn't playing good enough to keep the job for sure.
And yeah, Bob led in five goals on 30 shots, but he made a few saves that Lion isn't
capable of on his best day ever, including the one that Brad eventually scored on.
Like that first save, he's in a full flat split across the ice and gets the push off and
gets that stop.
And then couldn't find the rebound or whatever.
I think there was one.
I think it was Jake second that he should have caught.
So he let in, you know, a tough one.
He, like, made the gloves name and just dropped it.
And then Jake tucked in, I think.
I thought you meant the one time across the crease.
I was, that was no way.
No, so there was, there was some mistakes in there, too.
But I'm with you.
I didn't hate that play.
I would, and early, I was like, oh, shit, Bob's on one.
So I was like, this is going to be bad.
But I just don't know.
You never can tell what the guys in the locker room think.
You know, we've been on plenty of teams where the goalie's a sieve.
Yeah.
And you play different because you're like, I can't even give up a shot.
I got to do this.
I got to do that differently.
and you just, I don't know, but I hope the staff of Florida knew what the trust level the guys had in Bob,
because if not, because dude, they had like 50 shots in that game, Florida.
The Bs that, like the Panthers were, I wouldn't say they were all over the Bruins,
but for the first 10 minutes, it was a blood bath.
Up game four?
Yeah.
The Bruins didn't have a shot for 10 minutes.
Yeah, but it was one of those weird things.
Like I turned to you and I was like, the Bruins are playing great.
They just don't have a shot on the cage.
Like they had tons of zone time.
Yeah.
They were just getting shots blocked or missed.
They had five shots in the first five minutes that just missed the net.
Like, I was just whistling pucks by.
But that shot thing, it was lopsided.
And the Panthers are getting a ton of shots.
It's a weird situation.
But I hear you.
So that was interesting.
Second thing, and, Brian, we can talk about Olmark here because I felt like coming into this series,
I'm like, oh, Maddie Kichuk's the best player on the Panthers.
I know Maddie Kach would tell you that Barkoff's the best player on the Panthers.
He probably is.
But Kachuk is nasty.
And what he does is he's a hundred point guy who's, he's Martian, dude.
Like he's a hundred point guy who's also going to get under your skin.
They play different games, different sizes, obviously, but you know what I'm saying.
No, no, I think that's a fantastic.
And Chuck is out there scoring in that first game, and he's getting, I know that was a weird
bounce, but sick between the legs, talk per usual in game four.
Well, also, you brought the stuff after game to being cool, calm, and collected,
having the right attitude, and maybe it didn't work because of the results of the last two games,
but being annoying, getting under the Bruins player's skin.
definitely and so for me i'm like this is a masterclass mattie kachuk performance a lot of points leading
the team in points leading the team in pest great and then leaving the team in pest ranking yeah
but then tie anderson who i love tweet i showed you he tweeted bang oh that's replay um tweeted that
or no is that live right no yeah this one's a lot seattle just goes up one nil over
Colorado.
T tweeted
that Matthew Kachuk
has been an absolute clown out there today.
I don't know what.
He said I'm a fan of his but there's this performance.
He's a great player but this is a clown show performance.
And I just wasn't seeing that at all
and I know there was some extracurricular shit
in the bar it's hard to be dialed in
with the audio and there's a million things going on.
But where were you
and we can talk about the Allmark fight
of it there but like are you seeing that with Kachuk?
Are you like this is an embarrassing performance by him?
I completely agree with you.
Okay.
But here's the thing.
It's not like you said, Ty Anderson's very smart.
He's a great hockey analyst.
And I don't think what he's saying is completely unfounded.
I think this is a case.
In my opinion, Kachuk has done two things.
The crosscheck to Garnet Hathaway was that was horseshit.
Yep.
That, dude, that is a gnarly.
You talked about it with Ryan Souter.
Yeah.
And that's not even in front of the net.
This was like, whistle had blown behind the net, end of the place.
Hathie is just standing against the boards
and Kachuk comes flying in
and gives him one right in the back of the ribs, yeah, yeah.
And that should have been a big time, pet.
I don't think it was malicious,
but it was just Kachuk's trying to do too much.
And then the shit with Olmark at the end of the game
was, again, too much.
I don't think it was any of it was ratty behavior.
I don't think any of it was Jesus,
this guy's out of control.
But what I think this is is a case of Matthew Kuchuk is the best player on this team.
He is trying to carry the team both emotionally and with his play on the ice.
And he is seeing that they're outclassed.
And it's getting to him.
It's like when you see a star player on a team who's just getting frustrated because they're like, fuck, dude, I can't do enough.
And part of his game is that pesty game.
So it's just he's going a little, he's turning that dial too much.
Chicago. Which we've seen Brad do.
Yep. Then that's all I think it is. I have zero problem with what Maddie Kachuk is doing out there.
And yeah, Brian, to get to the O-Mark thing, that was funny. You know, the game was over.
The Bruins had won. There was a play in front of the net. Kachuk got tied up in the crease.
And as the play's moving on, Kachuk, I'm sure words were said, but Kajuck grabs O-Mark's jersey
and like rips him down. And that's like immediately, Carlo and Forbert dive on Kachuk.
Omar gets in the mix
and I did love I said to Chris
like as a Bruins fan
I loved Omar dropping his gloves
but I also loved how you could see
Kachuk was talking to me and you know he was saying
something like oh yeah dude you're gonna fucking fight me
right now like you know you can see the look
on his face he's like put your shit back on
dude you're not about to fucking scrap with me
but I love the energy from Omar
because that fires up the fans it fires up team
it's great stuff what did you think Brian?
Yeah it fired me up I don't know
I saw your story yeah yeah I was like
goalie fight. I was like, I'm going to tune in right now.
Dude, the bar.
Dan's right. The bar went nuclear as soon as that happened.
But he's also right in that I'm, I am very sure neither dude.
And I'm not saying if there were no refs said they wouldn't have thrown.
I'm sure they would have.
But I'm just saying neither dude wanted anything to do with that.
Like, O-Mark didn't want to get his brains beat in by Kachuk, which is what would happen.
Kachuk didn't want to deal with the, I just hit a goalie in the face because that, you know,
that neither of them wanted that fight at all, big picture.
Is that a bad, is that a bad looks like beat up on the goalie?
Oh, dude.
Well, here's the thing, if they had gone at it, if the ref wasn't there, the Bruins players wouldn't have let it happen.
You know, like someone would have flown in and ripped Kachuk off of them.
So it would have been mayhem.
It would have been mayhem.
I would have loved it.
But I think, and this is the perk of being O-Mark in this situation.
And maybe, Dan.
I just want to interrupt and say right now, we've got the Leafs Lightning OT going on live right now.
So when there is a big interruption in this podcast when we freak out, it's probably-
That's it.
if you are
Cuch, this is something
you kind of have to keep in mind
and granted it was the end of that game
but if you poke O-Mark
and he gets to rip his helmet off
and chuck it at your feet, even though you're never going to fight
O-Mark looks like the fucking man
right now and the crowd is going ballistic
the Boston fans there and the bars are here
going to be like it's such a fire-up moment
for the team and I'm like why did you even put yourself
in the situation where O'Mark got to
fake flex in front of you? It gets to do that.
Like dude, no it's true. This is only
going to look bad for you because you can't even hit him.
Yeah. So what's your third question?
Even though I said starting Swamen in game through would be the height of insanity, would you
start Swamming in Game 5?
Yes, I would. You're going back to Boston, especially if Bergeron comes back.
We talked about this, you know, on the pot at the harp.
Swamen is a top five goalie in the NHL, statistically speaking.
I think all of the guys are confident as hell with Swamen between the pipes.
I think that there's a world where you look at the fact that
Olmark has not played this many games in a row all season long in this many days.
And it's not a bad idea to just give him a quick rest.
And if you, it's what we said with the flurry thing, right?
If you start swamming game five and he takes care of business and you gentlemen sweep
and you move on to the next round, you look so swaggy.
You're like, there you go.
Swamen, good job, good game, way to get in there.
If you lose, I do think it's kind of annoying because you're like,
fuck we go back to Florida now and like now you go back to O'Mark and O'Mrk's like oh well I got
a win now there's just like weird elements of pressure it's it's so interesting dude there's something
about the what goalies you play in the playoffs is so rattling I think it's such a head game
I personally would do it I think you are the better team Swamen is a great goaltender
he came in with the last four minutes there and like made a couple good save yeah I just think
you do it and you don't even think about it and you're like this go get get this win let's
get out of here. For a long time, I was like, definitely do it. You kind of talked me into
everything you just described. If he loses and then Omar comes back in, it's all kind of rattling.
The reason I'm for it is because Swamondon is good and I read it was, that was Olmark's first
four games in seven days since November. And obviously we get like that extra day. We're not going
until Tuesday, until Wednesday. But I don't hate getting O'Mark some rest. I think the counter
is just win Wednesday. With them in five and you get the rest. Because
hopefully these other series go long or whatever.
But I was laughing with some boys back home.
We were reminiscing about the 2011 Cup.
And Tim Thomas was the only, I asked the guy,
do you want to start sway?
And they were like,
fuck no, dude, it's got to be Allmark the whole time.
And they said, because in 2011,
only one goalie in that entire playoffs played every second of their team's run.
And it was Tim Thomas.
So they were like, we just got to go Allmark the whole time.
And then B, Omer tries to fight Kachuk and gets jacked out of that game.
And Swayman has to come in to finish it for four minutes in a bloomin.
blowout and I just slowly look over at everyone and they were like oh no this this little peacocking
performance cost us everything yeah it's either it's either it's either causes everything or now you can
free you can freely play swayman because it's it was fucked anyway yeah well uh we'll see if bergeron suits up
on wednesday but the bees are looking pretty good uh let's bounce to avs cracking uh another one we
caught one of how you feel it about your spunk dude so dude i stand by spunk um i'm seeing i bet first
of I bet on the Cracken last game with our Netters promo on Bet MGM, DMS if you need that shit.
Dude, I make the two first bets of my life and I won both of them. I feel good. I feel
I'm a gambling man.
That's a good high. It's a really good high.
All my friends gamble and I don't really gamble that much, but when they gave me like free bets,
I was like hitting a couple, I was like, oh shit.
Dude, yes. I like, I truly don't gamble at all and I signed up for BetMGM and I was like,
and Chris is right. If you guys want 200 free bucks to bet with DM us.
But yeah, I dropped two bats and I hit them both
And I was like, whoa, dude
Maybe I should start gambling
I lost, I did the cracking and lost
But I stand by Spunk
I'm seeing Spunk all over the place already
They're up a goal
And they are, they are gonna
I hope they're hydrating because they're gonna need to spunk
themselves dry if they're gonna come home even up right now
But I think they can do it dude
Because they're full of Spunk
They are full of Spunk
It was you know that first game
Was rattling for me
I called the sweep and immediately got
Pee whacked and I was like
Oh, shit.
Oh, Jesus.
Toronto's about to go on the power play and win.
This game is over?
Yep, that's it.
You're dead, Tampa.
But, yeah, I got pee-wacked hard, but after, we talked about last spot, after going down
two nothing in game two, Colorado just immediately responded, immediately responded in
game three.
Dude, game three was like Seattle scored first and I was like, cool.
And then Colorado went up three one.
And I was like, oh, yeah, this is over.
And then Seattle tied it three.
And I was like, oh, dude.
And then Colorado went like this.
Moose, Nate Moose.
Yeah.
I was like, okay.
And like we said, dude, they're big boys, too.
Like their big boys are being like this.
No, no, no, no, no.
You cannot do this.
But you love to see Seattle jump out first again.
This is four straight games where Seattle gets the first goal, I believe.
Cool.
And, yeah, Seattle is just, they're coming out strong, dude.
They want to win.
You are right, Chris.
I got to give you your credit.
They do have Spunk, dude.
Like, they are, they're a team.
And it's sick to watch.
I kind of want Seattle to win this game.
Because I think it'll just be cool.
It'll be a cool test for Colorado as the cup winners of last year and winners of their division playing a wildcard team.
Wow, did that hit the post?
Jesus Christ, Marner.
But yeah, I just think it would be awesome for the city of Seattle for that team to be like this.
Yeah, as many wins as you can get against this Colorado team is going to look cool and fucking go out there and try to win.
So I think Colorado has shown their veteran presence in this series, especially in last game.
They really showed it in game two.
and then they double down in game three.
So we'll see how this one shakes out.
It's currently 1-0-0-0-0-0-0.
But, yeah, this is much more exciting than I anticipated.
Agree, you don't want to get in the habit of going down,
one-nothing every fucking game, but it is wild that Colorado is just so un-well.
Colorado was so unfazed by that.
And I actually would really like Seattle's home fans to get one.
So got to get it tonight, most likely.
All right, the CP Boy Bowl, Vegas Jets.
Vegas Jets.
Another one happening right now.
It's 1-1 right now.
We almost saw a colossal collapse on Saturday night.
So we saw the Saturday game 4-1 Vegas going into the third and Jets
Score 3 unanswered.
In that game, to build that 4-1 lead, we had two power play goals and an apple from my golden boy.
Dude, Brian, are you aware of what's happening right now?
About Jack Eichael.
Yeah, the Eichol Watch.
Dude, Igo Watch is a measly two points away from D.P. eating 72 shrimp.
Right at North End in Manhattan. Goal! Toronto wins. You are fucking dead, Tampa. You are dead. What a bunch of assholes.
I can't believe this because... Oh my God. I'm still going to give my take later about what was happening in this series and what should have happened in this series. But this is like...
Do we jump to this right now? We have to jump to this right now.
Okay. Let's do it. We're going to jump. We're going to jump. We're going to jump.
We'll come back to Vegas Jets.
We are going to jump to Toronto, Tampa,
because holy shit.
This is pathetic.
Pathetic!
First game in Tampa,
they have won.
They outplay the Leafs the whole game.
And then Ryan O'Reilly scores with a minute left,
and then they steal the game.
Tonight you're talking about.
No, their first game in Tampa, game three.
And then in this game,
the lightning beat the fucking breaks
off the Leafs again for the entire game.
Yeah.
and then give up three goals in six minutes.
Yeah.
On all like mid-air Matthews tips,
seeing eye wrist shots,
like just ridiculous bullshit happening.
What makes no sense to me,
and I'm genuinely being serious,
is, and I'm not,
I don't mean to jinx to the Leafs
because they've blown leads like this
and Tampa's a good team
and they could easily win three games in a row.
But coming into this series,
I genuinely felt like the Leafs were the better team,
which is why I picked them.
Yeah, I agree.
And even though I picked seven,
I was like, I could see it in six.
It could see it in five.
Like, they're better.
all they do is win two at home split one in Tampa and they win in game five whatever
but then I watched the series and Tampa kicked the shit out of them in game one
Toronto returns the favor in game two but only because the late these two best defensemen
get hurt and leave mid game so whatever and then in game three Tampa played way better and
puked on themselves and in game four Tampa played way better and puked on themselves so now
I'm like dude when we came into and sat down in the studio it was four one I was like the lightning
are going to win this series in sick this is over dude like they have been better
in every game that they actually had a healthy,
they didn't have their two best players die midgame.
So, and now the Leafs, it's over, dude.
This series is over.
Yeah, this is crazy.
And here's what I got to say.
I'm going to give, give some credit here to Tampa fans,
because I know that they're thinking this.
The tying goal in this performance,
I mean, dude, they come into this game up 4-1,
and these fucking bums give up two Austin Matthews goals
and then a Morgan Riley goal.
Like, it got to 4-3,
we unfortunately weren't recording yet and I was like I guarantee Toronto ties this game and they did
on a Morgan Riley goal and this is what I got to say in game three Morgan Riley fucking
choo-train ran Braden point from behind straight into the boards horrific and didn't even get a
penalty that was a game misconduct yep I don't give a fuck what anyone says about rate of play
that is a you're an idiot moron Morgan Riley you're not paying attention to the game you're
staring at Braden points numbers and you cross check him in the back and he's like four feet
away from the boards.
It was a terrible, terrible hit, and he should have been ejected from that game.
And then he scored the overtime winner.
And then he scored the tying goal in this.
So Morgan Riley is like boogeyman no for the Tampa Bay Lightning's fans right now.
And if I were a Bolts fan, I would want his head on a spike.
And he is currently deading you.
So this is crazy, dude.
You just said it.
I think Tampa absolutely has played better the last two games.
They obviously played way better in game one.
I don't believe that Toronto deserves to be in this position.
They've been the worst team.
in three of the games. I truly do not believe you deserve to be in this position at all Toronto,
but dude, good for you. Yeah. Because this is what it takes, dude. It takes these disgusting,
dirty games that you've literally never been able to pull off and you're doing it right now.
Getting these two wins in Tampa, no less, the way you've done it, grimy, gross, semi-skechety wins.
Fuck yeah, dude. And you've got fucking Kyle Dubus up there chirping at Tampa Bay fans. This is,
this is what it takes, dude. This is the difference maker. And it's,
not over yet. You have fucking pissed down your leg multiple times in the past, but I'm telling
you, this is why I picked Toronto. They feel different. And that is a monster, monster, monster win.
Dude, I couldn't agree with more with feeling different. I was so positive that the Leafs would go,
like I said, I would pick them to win, but I was like, I was so positive the Leafs would go,
this went seven, you know, it was like super high scoring or whatever. Like maybe the games,
Tampa wins. Vassie played great. Who knows? But I was like, this is.
going to go seven and it's going to be insanely nerve-wracking series for Toronto. And even though
they're going to win this time, they're going to look like Toronto has always looked. And they,
and I welcome, welcome the opportunity to absolutely steamroll them as a Bruins fan. And now, dude,
I have never been more scared of a team in my life than I am of this Toronto Maple Leafs team
because what they're doing makes no sense. Yeah, this is big time. Like you are, you are,
oh, we just pull games out of our ass. It's,
it is written in the stars. There is no way we can lose. We've been the worst team for this entire
game and, but we'll just win anyway. Yeah. And they've got that going big time right now.
Yeah. I don't think Tampa gets out of game five. Oh, I'm not ready to say that. I mean,
if you're Tampa, I'm like, I'm, I'm sick to my stomach right now. Like, I'm legitimately queasy.
That said, we saw them in game one of this series beat the breaks off of Toronto at in Toronto. So
there's nothing about this series that makes me.
think Toronto is going to go home and easily win that game.
But I won't be surprised if they gentlemen.
And dude, if they gentlemen sweep, what a statement.
Oh my God.
And yeah, I agree.
If you're Boston, you're like, fuck me, dude.
Like this is a, this is a scary Toronto team that we're about to face.
Like I was like, we are obviously sweeping the Panthers or whoever we play.
And the lightning leaf is obviously going seven.
They're going to beat the shit out of each other and be like limp into the second round.
And now Toronto's like, I've been resting for a week after I busted Tampa out of the playoffs.
I love it.
I mean, this is, this is monster.
So Seattle goal just there, up 2-0 on Colorado.
We've got Mayhem.
Mayhem in the street.
There's spunk everywhere in Seattle.
That's a lot of spunk, dude.
Looks like spunk to me.
Yeah.
Yeah, there's spunk all over there.
I sprung with some spunk right there.
Two things.
Alexander Kerfoot scored that goal and he was the gortle answer for our games that you
should go check out on Instagram.
That's fucking right, dude.
Let's go.
But yeah, I love it, dude.
I mean, this is mayhem.
And I'm also here to say, again, lots is going to happen.
But we might be looking right now.
with that overtime goal
at the end of the Tampa Bay Lightning?
Yes, I think I felt that way
this year, no matter what.
Like I was like, there's no chance
this is happening for the lightning again.
But, but, so it was coming anyway.
But yes, you're right.
I certainly picked them to lose in the first round,
but I didn't think it was going to go this poorly for them.
And, yeah, man.
I'm just getting ahead of myself,
but it's like, I'm now thinking too,
What's extra crazy is as a, if you're the Bruins, any loss is unacceptable this year.
You got to win the cup after the season you had.
Correct.
But I can't think of a worse possible scenario than a second round loss to the Leafs.
Yeah.
Like that is truly nightmare fuel.
Yeah, it'd be awful.
If like I can see the look on Marchand's face and Bergeron's face if that happens.
But yeah, we'll see.
I mean, listen, long way to go for Toronto.
But boy, golly, you feel great right now.
Let's get back to Jets, Vegas.
So he's got four points in, Jack.
My golden boy has four points in three games.
Ickel Watch is on high, high, high, high alert.
We are two points away, literally two.
You might do it tonight.
I do it while I'm sitting here.
And I was thinking to myself, man,
he, I, Dan was so generous giving me two rounds.
I should have just taken one because it looks like he could do it in one round.
But then I was like...
You might do it tonight.
He might do it in four games.
I was like, oh, dude, I forgot it's not just a pass fail. It's a, it's a how many points he finishes
with impacts what you have to do. So I get my two rounds still. Like he could,
he could finish with 90 now, you know, like I don't care if he passes it tonight. I get to keep
going. So that was generous of you and potentially life threatening. Yeah, for sure. But so,
you know, start prepping your shrimp palate because that
That's coming for you hard.
Like I said, we were just in Boston eating a ton of seafood, and I actively didn't eat any shrimp all weekend because I was like, there's a good chance that a lot of this is coming my way.
But enough about my boy.
That game Saturday was nuts.
You just said it, three unanswered by the Jets.
The place was going ballistic.
That crowd, they do the whiteout thing, right?
The crowd looks so fresh.
And actually, I think they're doing it again tonight, too.
The Jets are wearing dark, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
And Vegas wears white because of the road team
And then the whole crowd does like the white out thing
I was like
What's their thing?
I know but they should just have the Jets wear white at home
No no no it's the white wall
That's cool
Because it's not like Vegas is like white white
Like they've got all their shit
Yeah but it's confusing
But crazy game
Unanswered goals sent it O T double O T
Hellie made 43 saves
LB bounce back at a pretty game as well
I really liked
The fight from the Jets
It's easy to roll over in that game
And kind of just take one
They didn't
I mean do we just
saw it.
Identical situation.
Vegas was up 4-1 in that game,
let the Jets come back and tie it 4-4,
and then they won an overtime.
Tampa Bay could not just do that.
Yep.
And like, dude, those are those things.
It's like, when you let these games get tied,
it's already humiliating,
but you cannot lose it.
Mark Stone said that exact quote.
He was like, you don't want to win him that way,
but it doesn't matter.
It doesn't matter.
It's a win, yeah.
And that's a big thing for Vegas.
Yes.
I wanted to pick the Jets
or you know not that I'm changing my pick
I'm obviously got Vegas in the series
but I liked so much what I saw about the Jets
team fans the environment alone
Jesse from Bardown was there
I don't know if you saw any of his vids like just going
insane that I was like the environment alone
is going to get them at least one of these home games
but then disaster struck
Josh Morrissey goes Nina D
and Morrissey is what I wanted to talk about
for the rest of the series
Morrissey is out for the series. He is easily your best defenseman.
That's brutal, dude. I think that these games have been really fun. We talked about this is a series that I think not a ton of people are watching. And it's a blast. All of these games have been great. There's players flying all over the ice. All Chris's boys are scoring goals. I think Vegas has really looked like the better team since the Bruce Cassidy chat.
Yeah. And that between period chat, Vegas has clicked in. Big time.
spanked them. Yeah, big time. Their goaltending has been so much better, which is wild.
Yeah, yeah. Circumstances. But this is, I think, a monumental game tonight for Winnipeg. It's
one-one right now. Vegas is up to one on the series. You've got to hope that your home ice
gets you something here. And just, dude, the Morris is just such a gut shot. It's such a gut shot.
It's like you got, you hope it missed the major organs, but I think it clipped to the liver.
and it's doing that,
it's leaking all the poison into your body.
I don't know if that's how that works
if you should deliver.
Yeah, but it sounds good.
I do know.
You're just poisoning all the other organs.
It's all falling apart, dude.
I do know how the jets work,
and that's with a healthy Josh Morrissey,
which they do not have.
It's true.
So this one will be interesting,
but it will feel very Bruins,
Panthers and that.
You're like, oh, the better team dropped home ice,
and then you just go take both on the road.
And you like, never mind.
Well, we got you.
Yeah. Let's kick it to the Star Bowl.
wild stars
Tyler Sagan's
winding back the clock here
and I love it
I love him
I'll always love him
and I'm happy to see it
on that topic
both his goals
are power play goals
what did I tell you
after two games
of Minnesota
I said they're giving out
PPGs
like their fucking free samples
at Costco
and two more
yeah they're two for five cents
so I think I wrote it down
they are seven for 16
on the series dude
you cannot let that happen
yeah
um here's
what I put, here's what I wrote down about this that I am on high alert.
Let me see, let me see if you got the same one.
Something that I think is a big bad for many is Otter got hot.
Yes, dude.
After a tough game, last performance.
Bad game.
A monster need to win for Dallas.
That was one of my bets, by the way.
Oh, nice.
Dallas pulls out a huge win on the back of a very, very otter-like otter performance
with a last minute huge sliding across the crease save
that was just the biggest drop your nuts
and just be that boy and he was.
We tweeted about this.
That save was so sick that he,
or he's too good that the save didn't even look as sick as it could.
A lesser goalie is still stretching so hard
and just snags it.
Otter came across so hard.
Like hit him right,
he almost like headed it out of the net.
Yeah.
And he needed that, the stars needed that.
because I think it was 24 shots.
He gave up four goals.
Yeah, it was bad.
It was a bad performance.
It was not there.
Here's what I was putting on high alert.
The Dallas Stars I had picked to come out of the West in a bunch of brackets I filled out.
I just thought Otter could get hot.
I think they're pretty dangerous.
They have an X factor in Robo, a lot of things.
They do not look like the better team in this series.
Yeah, I kind of agree.
It's a weird.
balance because we watch Dallas perform so well all season. And Robo is quiet. Yes, yes. And
that's why I said it'd be so crucial to get into the playoffs and have guys like Ben and Sagan
get going and they are. But if you're Robo dude, I mean you. Rupay's going. Yep. You know,
Heskinin's going a little bit. But Robo needs to pick it up here if Dallas really wants to push
through the series. So they go, you know, you get popped. If you're Dallas, you get popped,
then you win big because they go to Flurry. Yep.
And then Gus comes back, you get damn near shut out again.
Yeah.
And you're in Minnesota, like, yo, and Gus is obviously starting.
And if we lose this game, we're dead.
So this one felt massively important if I was Dallas, basically trying to save their season.
They do it in a big way.
Like you said, Otter looks really good.
They get to Gus a little bit.
Not that Gus got lit up, but they get to Gus a little bit.
I think that's really helpful.
the
you list of the positives
your Dallas
the positives
if you're many
though for me
your Dallas
is shots
yeah
27 in game one
in regulation
they ended up having like
a ton
but because it went
over time
31 when they scored
seven goals
24 24
24 you are stifling
this offense
big time
your PK
like stay out of the box
Jack
oh my God
the
the
either stay out of the box
or clean up
your penalty kill
and you are
you and make the stars beat you five on five which they have not been able to do at all so yeah that's a
tough loss of minnesota you had a chance to put the strangle hold on the series but minnesota if they
keep playing this way isn't that worried i don't think they go back to dallas knowing or they go back
to this best of three knowing there's two in dallas but going it doesn't matter we can win we can
win anywhere yeah i think that's true uh and this but this one is fun and i think that shots thing
like we said goes back to robo a lot like robo you got to get going dude that's how you're
going to get more shots.
You need out still, right?
Last time I checked.
See what you played last time.
All right, we're going to move on to the tri-state area with a little Rangers
Devils.
And what do you know?
Old Danny Boy was right.
Old Danny Boy said that the Devils were the best road team in the league and I
wouldn't get too comfortable if I were the Rangers.
Yep.
You scored a lot of goals.
a couple 5-1 wins
good job good job
but you're now playing the road warriors
and
bang
two wins
series tied 2 2 2
I picked them obviously
the devils that being the devils
I
so I'm happy about this
I had put on Twitter before today
that this series would be
of the four series that are 2-1
only two of them would
leave two to two.
Yeah.
I said
the Jets were
sorry I said the Crackin we're gonna lose
done either said the Jets would probably tie it
and then I said the bolts will tie it
I was obviously wrong about the bolts but I put
down for Jersey prove me wrong I'd never
I would be thrilled if you did it you're just not
doing enough
you you come into that game
three in New York of course but like
in a must win season on the line game
and you're just mustering
no real offense you win that game
to one in overtime.
You know,
I'm like, dude, I need the output.
I need this big game here.
And they weren't doing it.
Frankly,
they didn't really do it tonight either.
Like,
these,
someone,
we have a great new fun Twitter follower
and we had pointed out last pod
that Shesty hasn't really been tested
and he backed us up with some great data.
Check out on our Twitter page.
You guys can find it.
But it's the same shit in games three and four.
Dude,
like the devil shoot 20 times a game.
I was right about to say,
they got a 2-1 win in O-T in game 3 on 24 shots, I think it was.
And then tonight they win 3-1 on 23 shots.
Yeah.
So it goes to show like, dude, you guys scored so many goals all season.
What's going on?
Get pucks on net.
This is fucking crazy.
And yeah, man, I said, Chesty hasn't been tested.
And then here we go.
You got two losses now.
Like, you give up, realistically, two goals because one was an empty netter.
Which count.
You know, you're giving up those two on 22 shots.
And it's like, if you're the devils, I think I'm talking to that locker room and I'm like, guys, let's start fucking fire on the puck more.
Get more scoring opportunities.
I know they don't, you know, come easily, but they did all season.
You guys won, you were well over a hundred points.
Fourth highest goal total in the league.
You are a good goal scoring team.
And if they start clicking, I'd be freaked out a little bit if I'm.
Well, yeah, because you get.
If you come out in game five and all of a sudden they put 35 shots on net, you're probably going to win that game.
and then you're a little bit like, oh, fuck.
So this is interesting.
You get in your head when you play a really sick goalie that every shot has to be perfect
instead of just creating kids.
Look at the Leafs, by the way.
They're playing one of the best goal of playoff goalies in the league.
And they're just going like this, hey, Morgan Riley, close your eyes and throw pucks over your head backwards.
And maybe they'll all go in.
And they do.
And I'm like, okay, so maybe try that.
I do think if you're the Rangers, with all the hype, dude, all the Rangers fans,
sorry, all the hype about how, dude, actually, when the Rangers pulled their
goalie today and try to tie that game. And the announcers are like, on the ice. Oh my God, dude.
Zabinajad, six players. On the ice, Zabinajad, Crider, Panarin, Adam Fox, Teresenko, and Cain.
And I was like, Jesus fucking Christ, dude. It's got to be the best goalie pole roster in the
NHEL. That is the best goalie pull roster I'd ever hurt. And like, not even on the ice is like,
is Kianre Miller and Jacob Truba. And you're just like, whoa, God. Mind blowing nuts.
goalie poll roster. But with all the hype about all the firepower the Rangers have,
I heard Ryan Whitney say on Chicklets that he was like, I think he picked the Rangers to win,
but he was like, the devils are faster and will outchance you.
And I feel that way too, but he's one of the first people I've heard to say that.
But I think the evidence is on screen. The Rangers are happy to play this like slow, heavy
checking game where both teams get 20 shots. And by the way, if you're the Rangers and you have
Shesty and they are faster and
can out chance you, why wouldn't you want to play that game?
Agree man. They don't want to play a 35, 35 shot game with the devil.
And that's what we said last episode.
Crichter's got a two-bedroom condo right in front of the crease and that still hasn't
changed. He is, you know, I think probably has the most points of anyone on the Rangers or
up there.
Yeah.
And he just looks dangerous, dude.
He looks like dangerous Chris Cryder.
And yeah, I don't really see anyone moving him out of the way.
So this series is, has become as a
electric as I wanted it. And that pumps me up. And I think both of these teams, actually,
that's hard to say to the Rangers because they played so well in Games One or two on the road.
Both of these teams, however, I think have another gear that they haven't gone. Yeah, certainly,
New Jersey. And if you're New York, you've got to make sure they don't find it. And I think
even though you've, you've lost two games, you're through four and you haven't let them find it.
You haven't let them find their high-flying, young, quick-paced hockey games that they've won so many
games with. So regardless of the two losses, if you're New York, you are happy with what you've done
to them. You're limiting them to under fucking 30 shots a game. And if I'm Jack Hughes, I am looking
around at my teammates. Like, that fucking kid has a goal. And every one of the last three games.
And yeah, if you're looking at some guys, like, if you're looking at Pilat, if you're looking at
Brat, you're looking at He's shirt, you're definitely going like this. Let's go boys.
Like fucking start getting some pucks on net here. And what an unlikely spark they got than from
I mean, they're fucking backup goalie, dude.
Sorry for bearing the lead, but I am fascinated by this.
Vtec, who we've been chirping for a while now, has been lit up in two games and gets the yank.
Akira Schmidt, dude.
Akehrishman comes in and just...
22-year-old little Swiss boy.
Yeah.
I'm calling him Asoka, by the way, because he's a Padawan that no one's ever heard of.
And his name kind of sounds like that.
So that's what we're working with from now on, just so everyone's clear.
He comes in and stops...
You're going to allow that, Brian?
Yeah, I mean, can I read.
you a text to my dad sent me after the game.
Yes. Is this after tonight?
Yeah. After they lost.
Did you watch the Rangers?
They're choking against a rookie goaltender.
Disgraceful performance in the playoffs, the worst I've ever seen.
I think that's a bit of a stretch.
Dude, but I would respond to him and go,
did you just watch that Tampa Bay Toronto game?
Because that was a bigger joke.
I think he meant worst Rangers.
Yeah, yeah. I don't know. But yeah.
I love it. But I agree. Being up to O coming home and then putting in
That kid, Asoka was born in the year 2000.
Yeah.
I got confused there for a second.
He's younger than May.
We need to be beating him if you're the Rangers.
But he's playing phenomenal.
He made 35 saves on 36 shots and his playoff fucking debut dub.
Shaves the season, dude.
Like their season is on life support and they turn to Asoka.
And he's back in the pipes tonight, made a massive stop in the first, which turned
immediately into a Jack Hughes breakaway, which obviously turned immediately into a goal
humiliating Shestie because he's fun.
fucking jack-use,
which was incredible.
But very similar thing here,
like we were saying,
I don't know that you can pray
to win these games two-one
because your rookie goal
he's standing on his head
and stifling this Rangers team.
Yeah, you cannot.
Here's the thing, dude.
Devils, good, good, good, two wins.
You will not win the series like this.
You absolutely will not.
You went on the road,
you did what you did all season long,
and you got shit done,
and you got the two wins to tie up the series,
you will not beat this Rangers team
playing this tight of hockey with this few shots.
You need to step it up and find that next level
or you're going home.
It almost feels like this next one, game five,
in Jersey is must win for the devils.
Because if you lose that one and go back to New York,
are the Rangers going to dump all three at home?
You know, you're the best road team maybe,
but I'm like, if you lose this one at home, New Jersey,
I'm like, that might have been it.
You kind of got to be like,
well, let's just win this one.
We have a little wiggle room in New York and whatever.
But this Asoka story is firing me up because it's like shades of Holpey, you know, like these.
Definitely.
A complete unknown goal is coming and stealing the show.
I'll be really excited to see him because that's, he's been nails.
Agree.
All right.
Before we move on, I do want to just say, you know, we got excited.
We talked about the Leafs Lightning.
I mentioned it on the Instagram and I think last episode, just, I nightmare scenario for Tampa and me personally.
but like playoff Ryan O'Reilly is obnoxious.
Dude, like what a good get.
I know Toronto fans chirped me in the, I mentioned.
I was like, this feels like the Folino deal with the injury immediately.
But O'Reilly is back and dude, good God.
The guy's just like in the right place, the right time.
He's nothing fucking special out there.
He's not making the craziest plays, but he just knows how to get it done.
And it's wild.
It's really wild to see.
It feels like he's involved in every impactful moment of the game.
So huge, huge.
Dick taps to ROR. It's unbelievable.
And Dubus for being like...
Yeah, fuck yeah.
For being like, I need D, but I'm going to get him too.
That's a guy to get.
Okay, moving on to our final and my favorite series of playoffs so far.
Kings Oilers, this shit has just been mayhem all over the place.
All over the place.
The game three, we had talked about the king's got to be different this time around
if they want to win this series.
They go up one nothing and I'm like, oh.
And then McDavid scores twice on the power play.
And we had just said they're over 30.
center of the power play, you can't be taking penalties. We had just said
McDavid's going to wake up soon.
Be careful. It felt like, here we go.
Like, this is about to be a bloodbath.
But then they tie it up and
win the game in OT.
Yeah. Let me talk about the high. Yeah.
Controversy on a high stick here.
Puck goes into the corner.
Valardi is in the corner. It goes straight up over his head.
And there's all these slow-mo, you know,
slowed down videos where it looks like this puck is fluttering
up and up and up and then just hits the tip of Valardi's stick and then comes down.
Connor is the only person on the ice who puts his hand up.
He's like, that's a high stick.
I think in those scenarios, probably if Connor's seeing it like that, and there are some
clips, it looks like it just does maybe hit his stick.
But Oilers fans are losing their shit because it doesn't get called and on that play.
Trevor Moore gets a feed from behind the net, buries it and wins the game in overtime.
What no one's talking about on that clip is that the part.
Huck falls seemingly directly after hitting maybe, allegedly, allegedly, hitting
Valardi stick, it falls down and looks like it hits or grazes off the back of Ekholm,
which means play on.
High stick wiped.
But no one's talking about that for some.
Crazy.
And it's clear that the refs looked at it and they were like, listen, it's either we can't
prove that that hit a stick because it is a little sketchy, or they were like, even if
it did, it hit Ekholm, so we're fine.
We didn't get the explanation, but...
Yeah, did they say something?
Because we weren't...
No, they just said the call of the ice was a goal.
The goal stands.
I think it was the right call.
That's not any allegiance one way or another.
I just think it's one of those bang, bang plays where
no one can say for sure if that hit a stick.
No one can say for sure that it didn't or did hit at home.
So I'm like, it's a goal, dude.
The call on the ice stands, it's a goal.
So the Kings get the win.
Oilers come out, I'm sure, pissed off about that.
Kings come out like, hey, there's a challenge.
chance we could put the stranglehold in the series and we got our boy kevin fiala back yeah i'm like
oh my god amazing kings pop three in the first period dude crypto going bananas yeah and i look at you
and go there's literally no chance the ullerstone tie this game yeah it's just too much time
you just got out too early yeah yeah and dude and then three down your fucking throat in the
second period like it was in me you know like fuck you it was just i game instant
tie game. Same vibes though. I was like
oh here's here the wheels come off now
and then it was like kings go up one and you
just all you can do is hold on and then
Kane goal
Hyman I think wins it over time and
the first thing I want to say is
it's not on Corpusolo I thought he's been playing really
really well yes I agree he wants back
you know but he's playing really well
and he's getting a ton of shots a ton of shots
um
the king's got to watch these stretch passes
dude like remember like the first game of the year we went to
Dersie got beat, yeah, and I'm like,
they're fucking turning ones over that they're trying to make
and they're just like, I don't know how Zach Hyman is camped on the far blue line alone,
even getting that much space in fucking OT.
Like they had perfect defensive structure and then you can't let that happen.
So they got to watch some of that shit.
My biggest takeaway after just being disgusted
at watching another three-goal lead be blown is this isn't interesting.
The way this series has gone is interesting to me because if you're the Kings,
right now you are sick to your stomach because you're like all we had to do was not be imbeciles and
we are up three one and probably going on but if you're the oilers right now i swear they are the ones
that are like we should be up three one i can't even believe it's two too too that that's why this is
my favorite series i was going to say i don't think i think both teams feel sick but maybe not
sick to their stomach because yeah there's so much volatility with every one of these games and
And last game, man, I know I just kind of said that was a tough goal on the Trevor Moore or T-play.
High-stick call.
Dude, there was a fucking tripping call on Kevin Fiala in that game.
Drysidal has the puck coming through the offensive zone, and he and Fiala are both kind of curling, and they just hit each other.
It is straight up just like body to body, but they're both curling.
So their bodies are in weird positions, and there's some like leg contact maybe.
Yeah.
But it is just a clean body.
body check. And Fiala gets called for that and then it leads to an Edmonton goal. And I was like, dude, that is one of the worst calls I've ever fucking seen.
Ref's been tough. The Fiala was looking at the ref, like, what are you fucking talking about? Yeah. And that is one. Like, I would love to get a clip of that up because it is just a wild call. The refs have been tough across the board in all these series. But in this one especially, there's been just a ton of controversy. So I cannot wait for the next game in this series because, dude, so much drama. Like, Skinner, Skinner,
Oh, good.
Oh, we're staff with their goalie.
Skinner gets three put on his head in the first pinball machine, dude.
And Jack Campbell comes in and makes 27 stops on 28 shots to close out that game and save their season.
And I'm like, Jack, baby.
Like, unbelievable.
Absolutely.
A couple questions.
Do you think the winner of game five wins this series?
And follow up, do you think either team needs game five more?
No.
I don't, I'm not saying I don't think the winner.
I'm saying I don't think it matters.
I think at this point, I think this series.
series is going seven. That's how I feel. And I don't think either team has established a dominance in
home ice. I don't think either team has any mojo edge right now. I think these are, this is why this
series is so electric, dude. These games are straight up mayhem. Anything can happen. They're adding new
players, losing different players. There's crazy calls on the ice. This series is the biggest question
mark for me so far. And it's why it's the most fun. I've watched every second of this series because
every single game has just nonsense going on in the ice.
It's also nuts being back on the East Coast when these games are happening.
And it's just bettlem until 1 a.m.
I don't know how they do it.
People on the East Coast, God bless you.
Because I was sitting up in bars by myself on Thursday, Friday night at like 1.30 a.m.
just trying to watch the end of these games.
They go later than the bars are open in Boston.
Yeah.
Like in Boston, they're like, we're close.
And I'm like, well, the fucking Oilers are on.
So put the game on.
I was literally watching an overtime game.
I was like, you can't, I refuse.
You can't, I refuse.
This is, I just wanted to talk about it too.
McDavid has six points in four games, two goals, four assists,
obviously making an impact.
But Leon Drysidal, dude, is out of his damn mind.
It's crazy.
Leads of the playoffs and goals with five,
leads to the playoffs and points with nine.
The Oilers have scored 14 goals in the playoffs,
and he has been on the ice for all of them.
I was going to say, I actually watched a highlight video to recap because I missed some stuff,
and I was like, damn, dryside was, like, everywhere.
That is no lie.
He's been on the ice for every single goal that they have scored this year.
Dude, that's, Brian to ask me the other day, he was like,
he was like, are Dry Seidel and McDavid, like, Pippin, Jordan level?
And I was like, absolutely.
Yes.
And anyone who doesn't agree with that is a moron.
These two are mutants.
And it is so funny how Drysidal every year is just the MVP.
But he's like, I don't win the MVP because Connor is an alien brought down from Jupiter.
And it is nuts watching these two play hockey.
Drysidal is better than Pippin.
And people are always like, oh, Jordan gets too much credit because he had a great cast, which he did.
I'm on board with that argument.
But Pippin was a great, a good, great player.
But like, Drysidal to Dance Point is like the second best living player.
It's insane.
It's like actually insane.
What is going on?
It's crazy.
These are some cool things.
All time playoffs, points per game.
Number one, Wayno.
1.8.4.
number three, Mario Lemieux, 1.61.
Number two, Leon Drysidal, 1.66.
Yeah, that's putting people on notice.
Also, this is Drysidel's 14th three-point game in his postseason career.
That is the most by a player through their first 41 postseason games in NHL history.
And he has more three-point games in the postseason, 14, than he has zero point games.
Yeah, I love that stat.
That shit is so awesome.
Like, are you high, bro?
It's ridiculous.
I don't know what ween or schnitzel he's eating pregame before the playoffs start, but it is out of control what he's doing.
Yeah, and I want some.
Yeah, I would love some.
Yeah.
All right, before we wrap up, uh, who are you feeling best about right now?
Who are you feeling worst about?
I think worse is obvious right now.
Um, oh, yeah.
The Tampa Bay Lightning should off themselves.
They should literally be up 3-1 and they are down 3-1.
Yeah.
Which is mind-blowing.
You have, you outplayed this Toronto Maple Leafs teams in the last two games at
home and you managed to lose both. That is a horrendous feeling. I want to say a different team
because it'll be a fun exercise, but frankly, I would feel the best if I'm the Leafs, because
I'm like this, what is going on? We have no business being in this position, and here we are.
Without them, though, I would say, it depends on how this one goes. Like if Vegas gets this
game and that means they lost home ice they've got this unknown goalie and but now they're just
up three one um you're like oh wow that this went better than i than i thought maybe um yeah i think
i'll take Vegas because carolina feels good but like yeah no i feel you um yeah i'm going
i think like we said they've just got and this is not a reverse jinx but like for the first
time in what feels like 20 years you've got that bizarre mojo that's like oh my god we're getting wins that
we do not deserve. And that's how you win, dude. That's how you squeak out playoff series wins.
I think I saw Redmond, Texas, well, literally about we were sitting here. And I didn't see
the whole thread, but I just saw one pop up from him saying, yeah, but we haven't got the
bounces in five years. And he's completely right. Absolutely. By the way. So if any,
if any franchise is owed a few breaks in the playoffs, owed a few seeing Irish shots, it is the Maple Leafs.
Yeah. And cashmen, boys. Cashman works. And I, and I will say like my, my farewell to this
podcast, dude, Vaseleski looks trash.
Yeah, he's just, this third period was just trash.
I was going to ask, I thought he was supposed to be good.
Yeah, I don't know.
He's like the playoff guy, too, B.
Fraud watch.
Yeah, dude.
Basilevsky's on fraud watch, dude.
Oh, shit.
That Morgan Riley goal was just putrid.
Like, I don't know where you're looking, dude.
It's just awful.
Just can't go in.
All right.
Well, that's it for us today.
For this playoff episode of the Empty Neers of Podcast, we will see you guys on Thursday or Friday.
We'll be back Thursday.
You'll hear us Friday.
but unbelievable stuff.
Skate hard.
