Empty Netters Podcast - 3. Nicklas Backstrom is a First Ballot Hall of Famer
Episode Date: October 27, 2022Johnny Hockey doesn't break 100 points Bad Vlad leaves home to get the bag Juraj Slafkovsky is a rabid dog NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/chann...el/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I want to start out today's episode, this week's episode, with asking you how you feel about identity theft.
Wow, I was not expecting that. It's something I frown upon. Yeah. And it's something I sympathize with. Anyone that's gone through such a thing. Okay. I really feel for them. And honestly, I think identity theft should be 10x the punishment than it is. Okay. That's what I want to know. So if you haven't
picked up. Christopher here was the victim of very new age identity theft. Yep. Left his phone in an
Uber like anyone could do. Listen. All of us maybe have... There's a reason that in the Uber app
there is a tab that says lost item. Because people lose items in an Uber all the time. All the time.
I'd imagine... I'd imagine that 90% of lost items in Uber's are phones. So,
So it's not that bad of a look by you.
We don't need to shame people.
No, no.
What is unfortunate that in less than two hours of you losing said phone, some scam artist
found it, found a way to hack into your passcode, and then changed all your passwords to
pretty much everything in your life.
Do you regret having a notes app in your phone that just is titled passwords?
Nope.
Okay.
Do you think maybe now on your new phone you'll put a password?
password protection in that notes app?
No, but I won't title it passwords.
I'll title it like finance homework or maybe like you'll you'll title it receipts, but they're
not in fact receipts.
Yeah, I think I think I'll write something boring.
My review of Pride and Prejudice will be the title of that notes folder.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, that's good.
It can't be too obviously not passwords.
Yeah.
It's like when people have a porn folder on their desktop and they title it something like
not porn. Well, yeah.
That's, it's just, it's obviously porn.
But I feel like people will sometimes do that and they'll say like,
tax returns. Yeah, yeah. And it's someone who definitely doesn't have a folder of their
tax returns on their desktop. So it's clear that's something that they want people
to steer away from. We're checking out. But if you say my thoughts on
the film adaptation of Les Miserables, yeah, someone is probably like,
I mean, that's possibly real.
And frankly, if someone that stole my phone was interested in my thoughts on Le Miserables, the film, they deserve to get your pass.
I agree.
So I wanted to touch on what you alluded to earlier.
I feel like when I'm a victim of a crime, most theft is the one that comes to mind.
I want some butts.
I want true hellfire and brimstone to come down on the culprit.
There is nothing severe enough.
I truly, when someone steals my property, I wish we lived in the Wild West where I could find that person, tie them up and drag them through the streets until their bloody, miserable death.
I mean that.
Yeah.
Oh, same.
Dude.
It is so frustrating when someone steals shit from you.
And I just, it's a bummer that we live in a society.
today that doesn't allow you to just straight up murder that person.
You know me. I'm not, I don't get fired up that much.
No, you're a pretty level-headed guy.
And the hate that I have been spewing when retelling this story, when filing police reports,
when filling out fraud claims, like, I am saying meaner, I didn't even know these words
could come out of my mouth.
And I'm putting them on paper in an email that can be traceable forever.
Do you feel like you get, you understand people's breaking points now?
Yes.
Like those, they're their story.
of those guys like yeah I think just one day he snapped I think dude if I was ever a prisoner
of war and they were just waterboarding me and you know pulling my fingernails out I wouldn't
spew a single state secret if they just reached into my wallet took my credit card out and
started swiping shit yeah then I'd like this I'll tell you anything you need to
yeah just make that stop doing that right now literally what secrets do you want to know make the credit
card fraud stop it's unbelievable yeah you can have anything you want that
That's fucking brutal, man.
Well, listen, it sounds like you're getting your life back together.
Slow and steady.
Slow and steady.
All right, let's get into some hockey talk and let's start the way we start every episode with hot ice.
Hot ice.
We got another week of the NHL season in the books.
We got some hot topics to discuss.
What is your first hot ice topic that you want to dive into?
Okay, I'm going to go with this.
And this is slightly tough for the listeners because this will have happened, but it needs to be discussed.
tonight, I think as we speak,
Flip Kessel is tying
the record for Iron Man Street,
tying Yans against the Leafs, against his old squad,
and then tomorrow we'll break it against the sharks, presumably.
Do you think it would be cool or ass
if out of respect for Yans Kessel skipped the game against the sharks?
Yans wouldn't want that.
That's not what Yans believes in.
I think that's probably right.
And I'll tell you what else, Dan?
If anyone on the Leafs even breathes on Philcastle tonight,
I will drive to Vegas and personally murder them.
Don't touch it.
Don't even look at it, dude.
You will imagine that that player has stolen your phone.
Yes.
And committed fraud all across platforms in every sense of the word.
Just emptied my Venmo into his account.
And he does not need it.
We know this.
I will personally murder him if anyone even looks at Phil.
Kessel tonight. I respect that. I think if Phil Kessel got the most severe
NHL injury in the history of the game in the game tonight, they would still start him.
They would parade him out like a marionette puppet against the sharks just to break it.
Jack Eichael control. They would truly start him. Like when Arizona, when his baby was being
born, he played one shift, almost scored and then immediately got jumped on the PJ and went to see his
baby be born. I think if he got the worst. I think if he got the worst.
worst injury ever tonight, they would still just weekend at Bernie's, his dead body around the
ice just to break it. Literally amputated leg. Yeah. I think so. So that's good. That is hot ice. Can't wait,
but that I'm super excited for it. That's hot ice. I've got, I've got some things to discuss here
about some teams that are surprising me a little bit. Okay. I've got a few teams that are doing
better than I would have expected, and a couple teams that are doing worse than I would have
expected so far in the young season that I just want to get a couple temperature checks on. We've got
Chicago at three and two. Way better.
Philly at 4 and 2.
And I got to...
We talked about it last week, dude.
They're absolutely dick punching you right now.
So we'll see about that.
We've got New Jersey at 3 and 2.
Well, which way do you have that one?
You think that's better than you expected?
Yes.
Because I think that's what they wanted.
Like, they expected to be this.
Not yet.
I think it should be 2 and 3.
It's a very simple switch.
Yeah, fair.
But I think it should be 2 and 3.
And then on the other end, Minnesota is sitting at 1, 3 and 1.
And Edmonton is at 2 and 3.
Yep.
Just saying love early in the season when stuff like this is happening because it kind of makes you go,
huh, things aren't as predictable as we thought.
Yeah.
The Hawks and Philly, I'm happy for them.
Don't get me wrong.
I want to, I want to, get them right behind the ears and give them a little scratch.
Doesn't sound like it.
Good boy.
Good boy.
Sounds like you're doing that thing where you are seething with rage under the surface.
But you just don't want, you don't want.
you don't want the people of Philly to know
that you are secretly hoping to God
that they lose the next 10 straight games.
No, here's the thing, Dan.
The reason that's not true is because it's not a secret.
I hope they lose the next thing.
Okay.
You're being very honest about it.
And they will.
And I'm not worried about those two teams at all being bad.
They're going to be in the absolute basement
when this is all said.
But again, I'm happy for them.
I'm happy for this start.
It's fun.
It's fun for the fans.
Yeah, it's fun for the players.
It's adorable.
With some of these teams,
it feels like a tortoise in the hair situation
where it's like, oh, good for you.
Look at that little lead that you got going there.
Good boy, good boy.
Oh, look at you.
And then the season gets a little long.
Yep.
And you're terrible.
Minnesota, I'm worried about.
I'm worried about Minnesota.
Because it's just like...
Feel bad for Billy Garon?
Yeah.
And I need...
I like when they're good.
That's a fun market.
That's a fun team.
You know, and I...
This is not the start.
They drew up and I need them to turn that around pretty quick.
I think they will.
I think they will.
But, yeah, they got to write the ship quick.
this isn't even
a team I wanted to bring up in hot ice
but Vancouver
is still your book
I feel bad
you ask who was going to be the team that did it
I feel bad talking
I didn't want to talk about Vancouver again
but I mean the good people of Vancouver
are just they're making us talk about them
this fucking team is 04 and 2
they are the last winless team in the NHL
and they're losing in crippling ways
did you see get out to big leads
and then blow it.
And everyone on the team is taught, like, their captain is talking about, he's like, yeah,
I just like, I don't see this changing any time.
I can't all have it, but Bose quote was like, we might never win again.
Honestly.
It literally feels like us after it, like in Men's League.
Like you go on game skin, you come in and you're like this, we're never going to.
And you go, you go like this, I don't know how we ever won.
How did we ever get won?
It's a miracle.
It's truly astounding how crazy they're getting.
And now the fans are turning on the players.
They're talking shit about J.T. Miller and James.
team and I was like, whatever, dude. You guys want to throw shit on the ice, throw shit on the ice.
Fuck you. I don't give a shit about you anyway. It's becoming this contentious relationship now
between the good fans of Vancouver and the players. And it's this all circling back to our
season preview where I was like, I don't get how this team is bad. They have such talented
players. They have a good goalie. They've got a pretty good defense. And they fucking suck. They are so
disjointed. They don't have any chemistry with each other. It's mental.
Dude, what's crazy, Dan, is you, hockey feels long, right?
It is, it's the long season, but, you know, football is like every game, it's such a quick season, it's like that.
Every game is so important for their standings.
Yeah.
And then baseball, you're kind of like, well, you lose, you lose games in a series.
It happens.
Yeah.
Hockey feels long enough that you're like, it's early.
It's early.
But, but, like, when you've lost eight games in a row at the start of the year, I'm like, yo, this is an insurmountable hole.
That's bad.
That's bad.
You almost fucked your whole season because of bad two weeks.
Yeah, it's bad, bad, bad.
Okay, I have a couple more hot icees for you.
This one I thought was just lovely.
Oh, okay.
Eric Stahl signed with the Panthers.
Yeah, good to see Stahl back and a bit of a family union there too.
Mark's on the team, right?
So Stahl, now that he's back in the league, fourth oldest player, current player in the league, pretty cool, behind Giorado, Pavlowski and Perese.
Can't even believe Preezy is still playing?
Is Zach Porezi the oldest player in the NHL right now?
That might have been reverse order, like I think Giordano is.
Wow.
But those guys are like 38, 39.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
And so the three...
Got to love, by the way, Pavelski having the best year of his career last season, by the way.
So the three Stahl brothers that played, really, have over a thousand games, you know.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Jared Stahl played two games in his career.
Glad he got a couple of cracks.
And then I have two things that I thought were funny.
One, all the stalls except Mark have played for the Hurricanes.
And I just feel like that has to be remedied at some point.
Like, we need Mark.
Jared got two games on the Hurricanes.
I think Mark and Eric at the trade deadline should be chipped to Carolina and both of you retire.
That must be remedy because there's no way people don't know about that.
And then the second thing is Jared now, because he's out of the league, obviously,
is the assistant coach for the Charlotte Checkers, which is the Panthers' AHL affiliate.
So they've got Eric and Mark playing.
He's in the system.
Yeah, and Jared's in the system.
He's got ways to pull some strength.
He's got people to talk.
He has email addresses, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
He has email addresses.
We got to get Jordan.
We got to get the gang.
Because it's like, I'd like to collect the set.
You know, we need all of them in the Panthers organization somehow.
And then it becomes who let the stalls out.
And we really go off here, Dan.
Interesting.
Very, very interesting.
Just a thought.
It's kind of funny how this lovely Canadian, insanely talented Canadian family, the stalls just wound up in Carolina.
They all just love Carolina.
It's so crazy, dude.
That's so funny.
I'm glad Jared's still in the league in the system somewhere,
and I'm excited for them to all end up in Florida someday.
All right, here's my next one going against the grain of Vancouver.
The Boston Bruins are good.
Question mark?
Five and one.
Most points in the NHL currently, and, you know,
that'll change by the time this episode airs.
Maybe.
Huge players out.
Huge players out.
Huge. Bruins are missing
Brad Marshan, their top
score of last season. Charlie McAvoy,
Norris Trophy
vote getting defensemen.
Absolute stud. Best defensemen on their team.
Probably a top five, certainly
top ten defensemen in the game.
We're missing Matt Grizzlick for a good chunk
as well. Yep.
Apparently they're good.
Dude. They're winning big games.
Yep. They had a big week.
A couple shootout O.T. wins.
They're playing well. They're looking
good under Montgomery. Montgomery's gassing up
the boys. I just feel like a lot
of people had the Bruins, regardless
of these injuries, even with Marshand
and McAvoy back in the lineup, they kind of had the Bruins
as like a, they'll be a wildcard team
or, you know, like a four seed, five seed.
But they
might be good. It's interesting.
They have a very motivated David Posternach,
a very motivated David Posternach,
which is looking fantastic.
He's got dollar signs in his eyes in a big way.
I'll tell you this, man. Everybody,
including you kind of
that did not think that
David Craichie could come back and just
seamlessly fit in it at this level of play
was drunk
and now they are seeing how drunk
they were because that man
is silky as fuck
it and it hasn't changed at all
yeah it looks to me
I know no one will ever admit this
it looks to me like
Kraty said
I'm done playing for Bruce Cassidy.
Yep.
For whatever reason.
He framed it as he wanted to go back to Chechnya so he could have his kids see where he grew up when his wife is just like a New Englander.
And they're just like love.
What?
Incredibly woke Chechnya.
Hey, thanks, man.
I'm a citizen of the world.
I would not have done that.
And that was really clean and really good.
And he framed it like, I want to see my, I want my kids to see where I grew up and watch me play there.
And he clearly just got healthy.
chilled and cruised and got in really good shape
and came immediately back and he's just as good as ever.
It remains to be seen if he can go 82, right?
Yeah.
But so far, young and early, he looks fantastic.
Here's one that's kind of a bummer, Dan.
I'm going to say, what's your last hot ice?
Okay, I'll give you two because they're both just quick hitters.
One, you know, early, I know it's fall.
I know the flu's coming, but early in the season for the injury bug to be going around so bad.
Holy shit.
Crazy people going down.
down crazy people going down landy i are yep ecblad i are Quinn Hughes queen he uh yeah I
he's he's he's weak to week but he's hurt yeah um line A I R I follow I R uh Bertoouzi
I R dude like yeah chill out big big names going down early so that's trash hate to see it
you hate to see it and um like I was gonna blame the ass thing on that short summer that we
talked about but it's just it's everywhere it's across the league I don't know what's going on
and then my last quick hitter was did you see that sick fuck McDavid?
juggling the puck like he's Dwayne Robertson from Austin, Texas.
Yeah, dude.
He does.
He went full Dwayne Robinson.
He went full Dwayne, dude.
I couldn't believe it.
I've never seen anything like that.
Oh my God.
He clearly doesn't play by anyone else's rules.
He just decides I'm going to try some shit and then just does it.
Yeah.
And it weirdly works.
And I like how sometimes he surprises himself.
That highlight real goal he had against the Rangers last season.
I love that clip because he turned.
out of that goal with a O face.
Yeah, right.
Because he's,
I can't believe what he just did.
Dude,
he's as if he is a video game character that is self-aware.
Like,
he knows he's in a video game.
Yeah.
So he's like,
there are no consequences to my actions.
I'll just like,
you know,
huck this backflip.
And if I die,
I just respond,
who gives a shit.
Like,
he will literally do anything he feels like at all times
because there are no consequences
to his actions.
Yeah.
It's like when you are playing chill
and you're just holding down the skill.
Yeah.
And just spin.
spinning around and doing nonsense because you're like, whatever, I'm playing a video game.
Fulwayne.
Best hands I've ever seen.
He's just doing that, juggling the puck.
Hey, producer, M, do you have something you wanted to say about Connor McDavid now that we're on the topic?
You actually stole my topic that I wanted to talk about.
And it was Connor McDavid juggling the puck.
What did you think?
I thought that was, you know.
Would you say it was the coolest hockey clip you saw this past week?
Yeah.
Okay.
I mean, that's a pretty good one.
I think that would be a lot of people's.
M, if he juggles that and then scores on that backhand, is it the best goal of all time?
Best goal of all time.
All time.
Step aside, Ovi.
Listen, I think there's an argument to be made for it.
M's a hockey gal.
I love it.
Look at that.
All right, my last hot ice, and it's as hot as it gets, is Rasmus Dahlene.
Oh, that is literally, don't touch it.
I want some fucking, listen to me.
I want some fucking apologies.
From you, from the listeners, from the commenters, I said, look at it.
out for the Buffalo Sabres and ho-hum
they're sitting at 4 and 1
Rasmus Dahlin breaking NHL
records first NHL defensemen in the history
of the NHL to score in the first
four, all first four games in the season
and then added, he broke it at four
and then he added a fifth. So he has five
goals in five games.
He's leading the NHL and goals for defensemen,
leading the NHL and points for defensemen, and
leading the NHL and plus minus for dispensemen.
Kid is hunting
that Norris. Piping hot.
He is just a piping hot player.
forwards award now. You can't even touch him.
You're going to drop him. He's so hot.
That's great.
I mean, I hope he makes it six.
Me too. Me too.
And listen, the Buffalo Sabres could
turn around and betray me here because
they could do exactly what we are assuming.
Maybe New Jersey, Philly
and who else was on my list at the
beginning there? That are overperforming?
Chicago. They could
run out of steam here. They could.
They could. They hit early wagon status
before.
Yeah, and listen.
Yes, they sure have.
And then immediately.
Listen, Dahlene, it was a, he's a first
overall pick from 2018.
He's a great player.
Everyone knows he's a great player.
But he looks like a man on a mission
season.
Remember a couple years ago when John Carlson
was fucking scorching hot?
That's what Dahlene is doing right now.
Stay hot, kid.
Stay hot.
Stay hot sabers.
Yes.
I need them to be a wagon.
Me too.
You want to play a game?
Yes.
All right.
We're going to leave hot ice segments.
That's a good round of hot ice.
That was a great hot ice.
That was steaming ice.
And we're going to move into our main segment of the episode.
And what we're going to do is we're going to call it,
and we're going to give you a great little clip to pipe in here.
And I don't know what this actor's name.
Me neither.
I wish I.
But this is,
this segment is called,
What Do You Believe in?
And we're going to play a real fun clip from the Dark Night to introduce this segment.
Do you want to do your impression of it?
Yeah,
It's when that mob boss in the bank in the opening scene of The Dark Night when the Joker is masked in a different clown mask.
And that guy's asking him, he's talking about how criminals in this town used to have respect.
Yeah.
And then he asked the Joker what he believes in.
He goes, what do you believe in?
Yeah.
Right before he shoves a gas grenade in his mouth.
What do you believe in?
Huh?
What do you believe in?
William Fitchner.
William Fitchner, the William Fitchner, what do you believe in segment?
Yes.
is what we're doing here.
So, Dan, I'm going to ask you three things.
You're going to ask me three things.
And both of us are going to have to pick what we believe in.
Yes.
That's exactly right.
I think you have to go first, but I think that technically means I should ask you.
Like, I will ask you a question first.
That's you going first.
Hmm.
That's complicated.
It is complicated.
All right.
Do you agree?
Let me ask you a question.
Am I going to think you're stupid on these when I, are we going to disagree here?
I think.
Actually, you know what?
Let's find out.
Let's find out the hard way.
Yeah.
All right.
So you give me your first one.
Dan, first one.
What do I believe in?
What do you believe in?
Contract year, Bad Vlad, or contract year, Pasta?
Both guys don't have deals coming into this season.
Bad Vlad has played three games, has two goals, four, says for six points.
Pasta's played six games, four goals, six assists for ten.
They are both gunning for the bag, dude, absolutely needing that money.
Pasta could get double digits.
Vlad could get double digits.
this is their time to earn that check.
Who do you believe in?
Okay.
Let me, I need to clarify this question.
Yep.
So already you're coming off stupid because you've given me, what am I even talking about here?
What are you asking me to believe in?
Do I, who do I believe is going to have the better season?
Who do I believe is going to get the bigger bag?
Who do I believe deserves the bigger bag?
What am I discussing here?
All three.
Okay.
All right.
Well, first of all, I'm pretty sure.
Pasta's like 26 and Bad Vlad is 30.
So no question.
Pasta's getting the bigger bag.
How high are we talking here?
I think pasta, unfortunately, I,
Charlie McAvoy just signed the biggest AAV ticket in Bruins history at 9.5.
Yep.
And I wanted pasta like he did with his last deal to go,
I'm here, I want us to win,
I'm going to take a team-friendly deal again,
and take 9.5 as well.
I just, it felt natural to me for him to be like, I'll just do the same deal, dude, eight years, 9.5.
Clearly, that's what Don Sweeney and the Bruin and Neely and the Bruins have tried to do all summer.
And Pasta's like, go fuck yourself.
And is now coming out and he's top 10 in points in the NHL through six games.
So not great.
Just birding the ninth full in every goal he's scores.
And then I was like, well, they can get him at 10.5.
I think Pasta is going to sign between 11 and 12.
Oh, my God.
I really do.
Yeah.
I do. It sucks, but I do.
What is McKinnon?
12.6.
Yeah.
But, okay, so pasta is definitely getting a bigger bag.
I imagine someone will give bad Vlad six to seven years, which is so fucking dumb.
Yeah.
Giving a 30-year-old, a seven-year deal.
You're just dying those last two years.
But Vlad is dope.
I think they both have pretty comparable numbers, which is a bad look for Vlad because
is four years younger than him.
But I'm pretty sure they're both sitting somewhere around like,
530, 540 points career.
I think they have,
pasta's got like
240-something goals.
Vlad's got like two,
or no, I think pasta might have like
230-something goals, Vlad's got like 240.
Okay.
They're very similar.
Vlad had more points last season.
In more games.
Yep.
I think I'm going pasta
across the board.
Oh my God.
I think pasta has a better season.
I think he signs a bigger ticket.
More years, more money.
I think he deserves it more.
Yep.
And here's the big difference I'll say, though.
Pasta stays, Vlad leaves.
Vlad does not resign with the Blues.
Vlad had requested a trade.
He was on the block.
He was talking a bunch of stuff.
Then he kind of dialed it back.
The Blues are hot.
They're 3 and 0.
But I just don't see the Blues going on a cup run this year.
I think they're going to make the playoffs for sure.
But I don't see them making too much noise the season.
I think Vlad is going.
going to chase a bag somewhere else.
Someone will pay him and he'll take it and leave.
So, okay, so two questions.
So I believe in pasta.
I believe in pasta across the board.
Do you think certainly preseason, the blues were projected to have a better year than the Bruins, wouldn't you say?
Yes.
Well, they were going to make more noise in the playoffs.
I think that was kind of, I bet pundits were split on that.
Okay.
And if you disagree, you're fucking dumb.
And then.
Think about that.
And then two, do you think, so you think, so you,
you think for sure Vlad makes it through the season, gets to free agency, leaves because you just said he's not going to stay. Do you think pasta makes its free agency or does this get done? Absolutely not. I think pasta. Well, I don't know. It's getting kind of sketchy. I would hope pasta is resigned before the end of November. If he's not, then I assume he's going to free agency, which is a fucking disaster for the Boston Bruins. Not necessarily. You're an idiot, dude. Because dude, if he likes it here and they go, here's 12.5 or whatever, here's a way. You're an idiot.
If you think that pasta, let's say pasta has a, you know, 75 to 80 game season, 80 to 90 points.
The Bruins don't win the cup.
Yep.
It would be a historic season if they did, just given the age of the team and everything going on.
They don't win the cup.
Bergeron retires, Creachy retires.
If you think pasta comes back, I think you're nuts.
I think if Pasta's testing free agency, he's doing it because he's going, I'm going to, I'm going to leave.
Well, then in that case, I think if in Pasta's mind, he's going, if Berg and Kraty retire, I'm not coming back.
No, no, no.
I don't think that's why I'm saying if he makes it to free agency, they're both, we know they're retiring.
Berg and Krati are gone after this year.
If he is willing to get to free agency, it means he wants to leave.
Yeah, okay.
That's what I'm saying.
I see what you're saying.
Yeah, fair enough.
You've got your P brain.
wrapped around that eventually? You just are wrong
because he knows
they're retiring right now, so the fact that he's been
entertaining signing a ticket
means he doesn't care about that, so bringing that up
is irrelevant, but I slightly
hear your pedestrian. What are you talking
about? I think he, I mean,
we'll never know until he does
or doesn't resign. But if
he doesn't resign, he obviously
cares about that. If he does, he doesn't care about it
at all. He's like, yeah, they're going to retire, whatever.
Yeah. So you believe
that if the offer that came in earlier,
summer was higher, he would have resigned. I think if they went, hey, here's 12 right away.
Because he doesn't care that those guys are retiring, which they definitely are.
100%. I think he's like, I'd like to stay here, but I took a team-friendly deal. We don't have
guys like Berg and Crachie anymore, so there's going to be, like, we need to fucking make this
shit worth it. You better pay me. Yeah. Okay. That's what I think. I believe in pasta.
Okay. Who do you believe in? Here's your first one. Who is more likely to make the Hall of Fame?
Nicholas Baxter
or Claude Juru
Here's some info on these guys
Both 34 years old
Oh wow interesting
Nicholas Baxter has up 1,058 games played
264 goals 747 assists for 1,011 points
Okay
Girou has 1,023 games played
Shockingly close amount of games played
296 goals
631 assists for 927 points
Wow
Backstrom is a one-time
All-Star.
Yep.
Kind of shocking.
He is a one-time
Stanley Cup winner
and an Olympic
silver medalist.
Juru is a seven-time
All-Star,
zero cups,
and a World Cup
of Hockey Gold Medalist.
That's a big tournament.
Don't fucking laugh at that.
Neither of them
have personal hardware.
Yeah, no trophies.
Very similar points.
Very similar games played.
One is a cup.
One doesn't.
One is a perennial
All-Star.
One is a cup of coffee
All-Star.
Yep.
Who do you believe in getting into the Hall of Fame?
You can only pick.
Yep.
And they're both getting in, by the way, but I'm going to tell you who I believe in more.
And I can't believe you're saying that they're both getting in with such confidence
like that.
Oh, they're both getting in.
That's, dude, you need to live in the world where 1,000 games played in the NHL isn't
that rare anymore.
It's incredibly impressive.
Yep.
But it's not that rare anymore.
Here's the thing.
It's becoming that, but this first wave that's like really they're all doing it is still going to benefit from it being cool.
But I don't think these guys are in that wave.
I think they've both got two, three years left.
Maybe not three.
Actually, maybe.
I think they've both got two, three years left.
So the wave that is going to be like a thousand games is still cool is these next two years of inductees.
They're not going to be in that.
Right.
But who, like, few people have played a thousand games before these.
There's a question of if Patrick Marlowe is going to get into the Hall of Fame,
and that dude almost played 2,000 games.
He's going to get in.
I think he's certainly going to get in, but it is a question.
No, it isn't.
He's going to get in, and both these guys are getting in.
I will say this.
The All-Star thing is surprising.
I can't believe how that back he's only made one of those.
Insane.
So that's kind of skewing the resume here.
The added bonus on Drew's resume,
he is a first ballot all-time chirper.
Like, just...
I thought you were going to say Hall of Famer,
and I was about to dump this glass of water.
Absolutely, first ballot all-time chirper.
Yeah.
So he has that going on.
He has that going on.
He's pigeon chirping chirping at everybody on the ice.
He lets people have it constantly.
So that's a huge feather in his cap, okay?
Nikki Baxter has a first ballot all-time life insurance commercial with Ovi.
Yes.
Just as far as NHL players,
acting in commercials,
Baxterum has one of the greats.
One of the greats.
He goes, what happens if I get hurt?
Who does Nikki pass the puck to?
And Baxter's like this, yeah, what then?
Like slow sipping his milk.
Just talking to Ovi's White.
Yeah, all-time commercial,
which I really value, and I think the writers will really value.
I think that is a great, he's versatile.
You know, he can do all that stuff.
I think that the no cup hurts, Juru.
It kills him.
And I think that I'm actually shocked that Drew has less points.
Okay.
Your tiptoeing around your answer here, which is annoying as fuck to me, that is what I wanted to get to.
I was shocked seeing that Baxter has more points than Drew.
Because I think Nicholas Baxter is amazing.
And every real hockey fan heralds him as such.
If you think about the caps, you say Ovi than Baxter.
Yep.
And Baxter has been just as important to these teams.
Honestly, just as important.
He is a elite passer, a truly elite passer, great, great hockey player.
But I just think in the last 10 years, Drew has been in the conversation of like top 10 players in the league.
I feel like everyone looks around the league and they're like, and Drew on Philly.
Like he is so fucking good.
Dude.
So that was baffling to me.
Okay.
But then it makes sense that he's a seven time all-star.
Right.
Okay, so the perception, I think, among hockey fans and around the league, is Drew's better
than him.
In fact, he is better than him.
He's a better hockey player.
You think Drew is the better hockey player.
But, dude, because I bet Backstrom, I mean, I don't have it in front of me, but I bet
Baxter has a hundred-something playoff points, too.
Like, he has stepped up in big moments.
He's been super important.
It's actually a great, great question.
So I'm going to say, I believe in Nicholas Baxter here.
Even though I think Drew is a better player, I believe in Nicholas Baxter.
I cannot fathom that everyone on earth is.
like, because you're right, they go, when naming the best players in the league, in the league,
Giroux gets named.
He's never the guy, but he gets named.
And to have like a hundred points less than Nicholas Baxter in that state, uh, swings my vote.
If Drew gets a cup, you know, any one of these years now, I'll go back.
I reserve the right to switch it back to Drew if he catches a cup in Florida this year.
Yeah.
Or I mean, uh, in Ottawa.
Well, no, you don't do.
You reserve the right if I ask this question to you again.
Yeah.
At some point.
But right now, no, you don't.
You've made your bed and you're sleeping.
I'm going to edit this video.
No, come back in here.
being in Nick Backstrom's bed.
Okay.
And that's...
Listen.
That's fine.
Only your psychopathic brain could say everything you just said.
Drew is the better player.
He's the moral elite hockey player.
But you're like, but I believe in Nicholas.
That's who I believe it.
Do you think that's because...
Do you think you put that much stock in a cup?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Hard to win that trophy.
It's unfortunate.
It's a resume builder.
But it's huge.
It's huge on your resume.
Massive.
Yeah.
Okay.
Ready for your name?
Yeah, I am.
Okay.
Dan, who do you believe in?
The chances of Johnny Hockey going for 100 points again this year
or the chances of Maddie Tripod going for 100 points again this year.
And I can give you their stats from last year if it would be helped.
I don't need their stats from last year.
I think their stats were like,
Kachuk was just over 100.
Drew was just under 120 or something like that.
Yeah, 104 for Kach 1-15, Juru.
Maddie 8 and 6 so far this year, Johnny Hockey 7 and 7.
Damn, okay, so they're both playing well.
Fuck.
I just chirped you for doing something I think I'm about to do the exact same thing for.
I think Johnny Hockey is the better hockey player.
Yes.
I think he's the better creator.
Yes.
I think he creates play.
I think he sees the ice better than Kachuk.
I think he's a better goal scorer than Kach, which is, I bet they're right around the same.
Actually, in fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Kachuk had more goals than Johnny Hockey last year.
I don't have that in front of me, but I bet that.
I want me to look it up?
You keep going.
I think I'm, I, yeah, look it up.
But I think, yeah, he did.
Okay.
He had two more goals.
But Johnny Hockey had way more assists, which I am sure a lot of went to Kachuk.
Yep.
So I think Johnny Hockey is the better hockey player.
I think probably
Kachuk is on the better team.
Probably?
Certainly right now.
But like we said earlier, dude,
I don't believe in the Florida Panthers.
I don't.
I know.
And losing Huberto was huge.
Losing Uyghur was huge.
Yes, they still have Sasha Barkov.
They've got Bennett.
They've got good players.
But I don't think they're as good as last year.
I do think they're better than Columbus.
Columbus has Johnny Hockey line A and, you know, Boon Jenner.
Yeah.
They've got Kent Johnson now.
That's great.
Like, don't you think Johnny hockey can slide line A 41 T's this year?
Yeah, probably.
But he's playing with less people than he did last year.
For sure.
So I think, I hate myself for this.
Yeah, do it.
But I believe in Maddie Kachuk.
Oh, my God.
I hate myself for it, but I'm strictly playing a numbers game here.
And also, I just learned this week that Johnny Hockey doesn't go by Johnny.
Oh, really?
Amongst his friends and family.
What do they call him?
John.
Ew.
And I just don't know that I can wrap my head around that.
I think he acknowledged, he's like, yeah, I get that my, like, hockey and NHL persona is Johnny.
But, you know, at home, I'm John.
Hold on.
Hold on.
Awful.
The reason I don't even.
believe that. And we'll actually, here's my question to him. Does he mean his buddies outside of
hockey because no one in the history of playing hockey has not been given a hockey nickname
among the friends that is kind of like an I-E-Y? Yeah, no, I think, he's saying outside of the
locker room and off the rink when he's just hanging around at home, talking to his wife, talking to
his family, going out to dinner with the boys, he's John. He's not Johnny. That is what he said.
Even, because I think the Johnny Hockey thing came at B.C.
What don't you get about this?
I get it.
I'm just saying, I don't believe him that before he, I know he's like, Johnny Hockey's my hockey alter ego.
But that didn't even start till BC.
I'm talking about like squirts, peewees.
They weren't like this.
Hey, John.
I think they were.
That's what he's implying.
Then he literally played with 15 of the biggest plugs that have ever walked the earth and laced up skates.
Well, unfortunately for you, a lot of them are in the NHL.
So they suck.
No, they're very good.
And you're the idiot fool with a podcast who is.
calling him Johnny. That's the problem. They didn't call him John. They don't call him John now.
That's what he says, dude. Are you calling him a liar? I am. All right. Well, you're going to have
to take that up with him. I will. Next time I see him. I believe, unfortunately, in Matthew Kachuk.
I don't want to because Johnny Hockey, I think, is the better player. Yeah. But I just,
better team, numbers, better team. All right. What do you believe in? The Toronto Maple Leafs to make it out of the
first round of the playoffs or the Ottawa senators to get into the playoffs.
Oh, we're always just killing Toronto.
Listen, man.
If Toronto wants to stop getting getted, stop doing this to yourself.
Yeah, agree.
And I want it for you.
Okay.
You're a great city.
So in the Atlantic, you've got the Leafs, the Bruins, the Panthers, the Lightning.
Well, actually, lightning are slow start, but I still think they're good.
Yeah, of course.
So there's four good teams right there.
And then Ottawa
Buffalo
Buffalo
Wow, yeah
Who's a wagon
Who's a wagon
And then
Metro
Oh in Detroit
God
Yeah because like
Those three I would say
Are like those feisty teams
Trying to get that last ballpark
For you right now
No it's okay
Then the metro
I think you're like
The Cains the rags and Pitt are good
Okay Dancy
This is what I think is interesting
Other than that
And tell me who I'm missing in the Metro if you have it up.
But like, I don't think the rest of those teams, Columbus, the Islanders.
Metro, you got Pitt, Philly, Carolina, New York, New Jersey, Washington, Columbus Islanders.
Yeah.
So like Washington, Columbus, Philly, Devils, Islanders, I'm like, I'm not sure that any of them are a lock wildcard team or anything like that, which means I could see two wildcards coming from the Atlantic.
Yeah.
Right?
it is I mean currently the wild card is Detroit and Toronto yeah so I actually don't hate I think
the senators have a pretty low chance getting into playoffs but I think it's going to come from
the Atlantic and I don't hate that and what's fucked for Toronto dude we talked about this is the
format right if if Toronto that's the thing that sucks last year they their first round they were
they were what the second best team in the NHL and their first round matchup was Tampa
it could happen again yeah so that's why it's not it's not a guarantee
that they're going to get a good matchup.
And listen, when you have this big of a monkey on your back,
you have King Kong on your back up in Toronto.
There's no guarantee that you're going to get out of the first round.
Dude, so I think, I don't think by any means they're a betting favorite to win the Atlantic.
I think they could, but I just think, you know, like, let's say you lock in one of those
other teams to catch the wild card squad.
And by the way, Toronto's not even a lock to be the top three in the Atlantic if these other
team stay hot. And if you're a wild car team, you're fricked. So they're going to lose to whoever
they play first because you're going to run into the Cains or something. And if you're not top,
if you don't win the Atlantic, you are running into Tampa or Boston or Florida. And I'm like,
and dude, there's no chance they beat the Bruins in the first round. That will literally never happen.
And I think Tampa is going to give them the same problem. Toronto seeing Boston in the first round
is having King Kong and Godzilla. Yeah, exactly. Just like, just jumping. Just so much childhood trauma
skating around with you every single game.
There's just nothing you could possibly do
in that first round matchup to feel good.
Yep.
It's just a haunting,
haunting matchup.
Your only hope and prayer is that you catch Florida in the first round
and they become a zombie again
and start sleepwalking to the playoffs
and forget to score a single goal in the entire postseason.
Then maybe you get out of the first round.
But I think the chances of that scenario happening are pretty slim.
So I believe in the Sends.
You believe in the Sends!
I think the Senators have a better chance
of making the playoffs than the least do
of getting out of the first row.
Your boy, Claude Giroux, dude.
You just didn't believe in him, but you believe in him now.
He's going to get his cup.
He's going to become a first ballot hall of fame guy, and I'm going to come back here.
You get to retroactively change your back.
Tell everybody that I was on Clode the whole time.
Clode is a lock Hall of Famer now.
I believe in Clode in the sense.
Damn.
To make the playoffs.
I don't.
As much as I've disagreed with you so far here, I think I love that.
What do you believe in by me?
Because I was looking at it, and I was like, I even think a, a,
Toronto fan has a hard time being like 100% believe in the Leaf.
Yeah.
And it's not.
If you're a Toronto Maple Leafs fan, you can't truly confidently say that you guys are getting
out of the first round this year.
And that doesn't mean that you can't believe in it and you can't root for it.
Of course you can.
But when it has gone on this long and you've been this good and you keep losing in the
first round, why would you ever believe differently?
It is the definition of insanity.
I was going to say with no changes, dude.
literally bashing your head against the wall over and over and over again and then you're surprised
you're concussed. I'm like, what is it? What is happening right now? See a doctor.
You sit down, you get your cat scan and they go, you have a massive concussion. You go, how?
What happens? Explain yourself, sir. Yeah. I mean, it's as much as I want to stop dogging on the
Leafs, because I love a lot of players on the Leafs. We have a lot of lovely Leafs fan friends.
I'm just, you can't confidently tell me that they're going to get out of the first round over Ottawa
getting into the playoffs. Same. Okay, here's your third one, Dan. What do you believe in? We're
going to stay on a playoff bubble thing here. Okay. What do you believe in? The Capitals
missing the playoffs for the first time since 2014. Wow. Or the Predators missing the playoffs for
the first time since 2015. Fuck. Um, okay. Two teams that are off to a slow start. Very.
I'm more surprised by the Preds slow start, frankly.
Same.
I thought the Preds were hot last year.
It was bummed with their playoff exit.
And they won, I mean, it was the Sharks,
but they won both Prague games
and have literally not won since.
Lost every game since they came back to this game.
And they've been tough losses, too.
Yeah.
Caps are without Baxter for a while.
I was going, you know what?
I was going to just kind of quickly go into this and say,
I believe in the Preds.
I believe in the caps to miss the playoffs over the prets to miss the playoffs because I just think
UC Saros figures it out.
Yeah.
He's a top two goalie in the league.
Can I say one thing about that?
Yeah.
And I only know this because of my American goalie research.
Yeah.
He had some of the most wins in the league last year.
Yeah.
But it's because he played like 67 games.
Yeah.
And you called early.
They're not going to do that.
They just ran him into the ground.
Yeah.
If he's regressing, I understand.
Well, I don't think he's going to regress.
I think he'll, I think he'll figure it.
out. But it's hard to say that they have far and away better goaltending when Washington went out
and got the Stanley Cup winning goaltender. Yep. But again, they're struggling.
Fuck. I think I'm sticking with it, though. I believe that Washington misses the playoffs before
the Preds. Okay. Because Washington is older. Sad day. And dude, they haven't won a playoff round
since they've won the cup. Like they have literally been a first round exit every year since the
God.
So it's not like
they've been making
They're getting long
in the tooth
dude.
I think they're
caring about the
wrong things
and,
uh,
yeah,
I just think the
Preds figure it out.
I think they've got
good young talent.
Uh,
I think Soros is so fucking good.
I think their blue line
is a little bit better.
Yep.
So I believe in the Washington
they have a very elite player
at pretty much every level.
Yeah,
you know?
And,
um,
I'd like to see them round it out,
but that's a competitive division too.
So maybe both.
So do you agree with me?
If I had to pick one, I think the caps missed before the Preds miss.
I agree with you.
Okay.
I like it when we disagree.
Me too, but I just, you know.
It's hard to speak my truth.
It's hard to vote against the Preds in this situation.
That is a great pick, though, by you.
Those are, you know, two teams off to a bad start.
Thank you, so.
They've got some creaks.
Yeah.
So, all right.
Okay.
Taking it to the rookies.
Oh.
What do you believe in?
Your ice Lavkovsky?
to have more points this season
or Shane Wright
to have more points this season.
Whoa.
Both on
probably playoff missing teams.
Both teams out to
relatively similar starts.
I think Montreal's 3 and 3.
I think Seattle's like 2 and 4
or something like that.
Shane Wright, very slow start.
I believe through six games or something,
he has zero goals, one assist.
Slavkovsky, one goal, zero assists.
Montreal's 3 and 3.
Seattle's 2, 3 and 2.
oof, the one versus the four here.
Yeah.
And the should have been Habs, Shane Wright.
Yeah.
That was his true calling.
I'm so upset with him, dude.
I wanted him to come out furious and just pump in points in Seattle.
And he's just not doing it.
I wonder if he is, he's like on a goal scoring strike due to his, he just wanted to play in Canada and play for the habs.
And now, since he's on the crack and he refuses to score.
That is one of the craziest takes I've ever heard in my life.
Why would you do that?
You would want to do the opposite.
No, no.
You would want to only score goals.
No, this is how you send a message.
You go absolute dash four every night, can't score, get me out of here.
Yeah, you're really making Montreal pay there.
You're going to get, you fucking blew it.
I'm not going to score a single goal this year.
That's great logic.
I think he's trying to get so bad that he gets cut.
And the only team that picks him up for the habs because they're like, well, we're horrible.
You can play here.
And then he's like, chiching, pumps in a goal every night.
Okay, wow, those are horrible starts for those.
Horrible starts.
It's such a bummer, too, because.
I mean, obviously these guys have way more games under their belt, but, you know, some of the other young studs in the league, Cole Cawfield, Trevor Zegris, Maddie Baneers, they're all doing great.
They're all point per game or just under a point per game.
They're firing.
These two, so much hype around these two, each with just one point in, I believe they both have six games under their belt.
One point.
And they have one point.
Okay.
I love this lot of has a goal.
I think that's cool.
but I'm pretty sure this is right.
You can check me on this.
But that kid, he's a goal score.
That kid in the Olympics had like.
Slavkovsky?
Yeah, had like seven goals or something.
And those were his only points.
Yeah.
Like literally, he only scored.
If they're not calling him Slaffy-Taffy in Montreal yet, then I don't know what they're doing.
They call him John, actually.
It's dumb as hell.
What a shit hockey name.
Dude, so that kid pumps in goals, right?
Yeah, yeah.
So there's Shane right though.
I know, but dude, Shane, and again, check me on this, but his last year in the O,
I'm pretty sure he had like an assist a game.
Like he's like that 60 assists in 60 game guy.
Yeah, he's more of a McDavid type.
And I just think it is so hard to score goals in this league.
Like, you have to be, you have to fire the puck into corners every fucking time you get it.
And I think if you're asking me who has the easier path to climb up.
out of this and finish with a 40 point season. It's Shane Wright. Just get in the puck to your wing.
Pop up on the breakout. Let him take, let your wings go up. Get a couple of second apples.
Get some pucks on net. A little rebound. Someone else bangs that baby in. Dude, second apple,
second apple, bang, you're at 40. At the end of the season, when they look at your apple count,
there isn't a separate column that says second apple. You're damn right. And I think that I think the
crack in are a better team, even though I'm not as a crack in as everybody else.
Okay.
But I'm even ignoring that part of it.
Like that's not why I'm picking Shane.
I'm picking him strictly on the fact that Slav's points are going to come completely,
be completely dependent on him tucking.
And I just don't think he can tuck at the rate required yet.
You think Slav's going to have like a 25 goal 15 assist season.
And Shane's going to have like a 15 goal 40 assist season.
Yeah, maybe even less, 10 and 30, 10 and 35.
But I'm like, I think he hits the mark because of just solely on letting his team
mates do the work. Just touch the puck and then get off the ice. Don't even take the plus.
Just take that second assist from the bench, buddy. I think these two, if these two finish with
under 50 points on the season, I think it's a bummer. I think they are underachieving.
What did Jack was under that, I think, but was hurt, right? Or maybe he was over even.
Who, Hughes? Yeah. Fucking Jack Hughes's rookie year can blow me.
He was not, no, fuck that. Jack Hughes was not an impressive rookie year. I mean, or is it?
What year is it?
Look at Ovi and Sid.
Obviously, that's ridiculous.
They're two of the greatest of all time.
But 100 points in their season.
McDavid's rookie year.
Matthew's rookie year.
These guys are first overall picks or should have been like they can be held to that standard.
If you go first overall, you go.
Yeah, Slav was first overall.
And Shane Wright was by all accounts first overall and then dropped.
And maybe we're seeing why.
But I think both of them, I think if they have under 50 points season, I think they're both.
I actually take it back.
I'd be pissed if I were that.
That's a fine line.
I'd take it back.
I agree with that.
But I believe in Shane right.
We've obviously agreed on a few of these things here.
I think you are mental.
Really?
To believe in Shane Wright here.
Because he's mentally broken?
No.
Well, maybe.
But the reason I think you're dumb here is because Slaffy scored his first goal and went full psychopath.
Did he?
Yes.
He scored his first goal and then immediately screamed, fuck you at the opponent.
Just wide-eyed, drooling at the mouth, looking like a rabid dog.
He got his taste of his first NHL tuck.
And I think he just broke the.
ice and I think he's going to start pumping
in goals. He's a mad, rabbit dog out there.
Yeah, and I just think Cole Coffield
is Martin St. Louis's son and he's just
playing for his dad and is having an amazing
year. Suzuki is scoring
Pavel Dotsuk style shootout goals. I just
think that there's some talent over
there in Montreal and
Slavkovs, he's going to reap the benefits of that.
They're going to get him the puck. I'm telling you, is the look
in his eyes when he screamed, fuck you, I was like
change everything. He might start absolutely
bearing the puck. Okay. So I think you're
mental. We'll see. I think you're mental.
Second apples, man. They're a beautiful thing. They sure are. Okay.
That was our, what do you believe in segment? That ends the fill. You go to William Fitchner.
William Fitchner, what do you believe in? I think we've got some interesting things to believe in.
Oh, me too. I'm really excited to track a lot of those. Me too. Okay, let's close out this episode.
I have a couple segments with our closing segments, our closing thoughts. We're going to close the book on
this week with some of these thoughts. I want to start, if, if you, if you're you, if you're just, you
you will, if you will have me. Yeah. Did you know that your boy, Tyler Sagan,
off to a great start? Yes. Five points, five games. Dallas looking great. They get great
goalkeeping, Dan. Here's the thing. Great. They got great goalkeeping. They do. I hate to admit.
Sags was interviewed on his good start this year and announced that he was genuinely considering
retiring before this season. Dude, I saw that. That is the great.
The craziest thing I've ever heard.
Had a brutal knee injury and a brutal hip injury.
Had a pretty soft year last year.
I think he finished for like 45 points in 82 games.
But he was just dealing with those injuries and said he was kind of looking at his play last
year before the new year and was like, I might just hang him up.
It's one thing if you're in such physical pain that playing is, you know, the recovery is too
much.
You got to, you know, like it's just such a nightmare to mentally put yourself
through the injury. It's another to just be like, I'm not, I should be a little bit better. I'm just
going to fucking retire. And I'm like, what? You're going through a slump and you're like,
honestly, man, I don't see a way out of this. I think I'm going to hang them. I haven't hit a
cup and pong in months. You think I'm going to quit? Dude, because I used to be better.
Can you fucking imagine? Just keep playing, dude. If Tyler Sagan had retired before Patrice Bergeron,
I, my brain would have spun off my body. One of the great upsets.
into the sun.
In the history of any league.
Like, he's 30 years old.
He's in pristine shape.
He is an elite goal score and an elite hockey player.
Pretty good team.
On a really good team.
But clearly, the injuries were worse than we all knew.
Because there's no way he's considering that just because he's like, I mean, I'm having a bad year.
And there's no way.
That would be, he also seems like too much of a, I don't give a fuck type of personality
to be having a bad season and being like, fuck it, dude.
I'm going to hang him up.
Well, dude, I just have to say, and this, I'm going to hang him up.
Well, dude, I just have to say, and this.
kind of hate because I love Sags, obviously from his, from his B's roots, but I just think he's a cool
dude and a great player.
Yeah.
But it bums me out that that type of negative thought even crossed his mind because most
players, guys I'd like to root for, are having a bad year and go, I'm going to fucking show
everybody next year.
Yeah.
I'm coming out so hard.
And Sags has a bad year and he goes, I'm done.
I'm going to quit.
He has so much money on the table too.
No.
Like, stop it.
Stop doing that.
You're out of your fucking mind.
And I wonder, too, Sags is such a cheap.
cheeky fuck that I wouldn't be surprised
if this story is horseshit.
Yeah. If he was like, you know, he's having
a good season. He was like, yeah, dude, I almost hung him up.
Just to make people be like, what? Just trying to appease his
lady. Are you out of your mind? Yeah, baby.
You know, I don't even know. I'm saying he might
have just said this to the media. Yeah. It might be all bullshit.
But I love that for him. Fucking crazy.
Okay. Let's
jump really quickly because we have to do this every week.
Oh, yes. This is going to be our weekly closing segment.
Called what, Chris?
This one's called Eichel Watch.
Oh, yeah. I thought you were doing our new segment.
Oh, no, we'll save that.
Actually, you want to do that first?
No, let's do Ikel Watch.
Okay.
This one's not very exciting.
This is called Ikel Watch.
And Dan, last time he had three points through three games.
This week, I'm happy to report, my good friend Jack has seven points in six games.
So he's on a little bit above a point for game pace.
And remember, folks, our goal is 72.
And Jack is playing great.
Dan, thoughts?
It sucks for me.
It's great for Jack.
I'm happy for him. I want him to be good. I don't want him to be too good. Otherwise, I have a punishment coming my way.
Yeah, right. There is a sweet spot for everyone at home. There's a sweet spot between 72 and 90 where no one has anything bad happen to them.
If he's under 72, Chris gets a really embarrassing custom jersey. If he's over 90, TBD.
TBD, but it's not going to be good. It's going to stink for you. So great job, Jack. Thank you so much, buddy. Thanks for my money. I love you.
Yeah. And now maybe let's go...
Well, let's check in where Austin Matthews is.
Where in the world is Austin Matthews?
Where in the world is Austin Matthews?
Toronto's doing pretty good.
Four and two.
Yep, four and two.
They gave the stars their only loss.
The stars are so hot.
Yeah.
Gave the stars their only loss.
But the two...
I do want to point out, though,
Austin Matthews has one goal.
One goal, a ton of hits.
Still hitting.
Still hitting everything.
So I'm not yet going to say
that Austin Matthews has left the northeast.
But I'm putting Austin Matthews in Buffalo right now.
Okay, yeah, because I will say the two,
you know, everyone will take four and two guys early,
but the two losses are horrific.
Oh, they're terrible losses.
To Montreal with 19 seconds left,
and then to Arizona.
Arizona.
Which is just, you just can't do it.
And if you guys don't think there's something in Austin Matthews
losing to Arizona, think about it.
You're nuts.
Think about it.
Just do yourself a favor.
and think about what that loss probably means.
So, again, he's in the northeast, but he's not in Canada anymore.
Yeah, I was thinking maybe, like, just through Lake Erie, like, you know, right around, like,
the northwest of New York, maybe into Lake Michigan area.
Well, I think he's, I think he popped over and saw Niagara Falls.
Yep.
And he's chilling in Buffalo right now.
Okay, so he came to.
He's in the States.
Yeah.
I'm just saying.
He's not comfortably in Toronto.
No, no, no, no, no.
No, he is.
Don't worry, guys.
He's not too far.
But he's out of Canada.
Yep.
Okay, and now here's the new segment we want to get into.
Every week, Dan and I are going to do our power ranking of the top three teams in the league,
but it's not who we think are the best teams in the league.
I would say it's who are the hottest teams going in that week.
This past seven days, who are the three hottest teams?
And we are going to rank them on a comparison scale between the three Mighty Ducks teams that we have all loved.
This segment's called The Quack Attack.
And I think that we can all agree.
and if you don't get your brain checked
that the three best ducks teams in order are
the junior goodwill games ducks.
They'll be the number one team of the week.
District 5 will be the number two team of the week.
And Eden Hall, J.V.,
will be the number three team of the week.
And the worst team of the week,
which we won't do,
should be the Eden Hall varsity, by the way,
because they lost to their fucking JV team.
Dude, but you know what's funny about that
is Eden Hall recruits the entire junior USA team?
And they go, well, you're all in JV.
And I'm like, who is that fat dude?
He plays vice.
varsity over me. It's absolutely insane.
All right. Let's go in reverse order.
Okay.
Eden Hall J.V., we just talked about him.
The third hottest team in the league this week.
We're going with Dallas.
Unbelievable. Only one of three teams without a regulation loss.
The other two being pit in Detroit.
Yep.
And their only OT loss is that tilt to Toronto.
Correct. Dallas has reinvigorated play from Tyler Sagan.
They've got the hottest goal in the league, as much as it pains me to admit.
and yeah, like CP said,
their only loss has been an OT tilt
to a very good team.
So Dallas, people expected to be a playoff team,
maybe not this hot.
So they're number two.
Coming in it, coming in three.
They're the third hottest team in the week this week.
Coming in at two, the District 5 squad
is the Boston Bruins.
They had a three-in-one week, Dan.
They sure did.
Their only loss was that absolute shit show
against Ottawa, 75L.
where it was like 10 goals in two periods or something.
And I'm pretty sure the second period, it was, what was it?
It was, I think it was 6-4.
Yeah.
Ottawa.
And then with less than 40 seconds left, Boston scored to make it 6'5.
So it's just a mental game.
Insanity.
But a couple great wins, OT wins, shoot-out wins.
Your boy was in Boston, made the trip over to represent empty netters, went to the garden.
Huge shootout win.
Taylor Hall with the game-winning tuck.
friend of the program.
Linus Olmark with a massive save to secure the win.
And then a massive hug.
And then Saturday day game,
little matinee Taylor Hall with the OT winner from pasta.
Wow.
So they're hot.
They're getting goals from pretty much every fucking player on the ice.
I think they have maybe three guys who have suited up in the NFL squad this season so far that don't have a tuck.
So crazy.
Boys are buzzing in Boston.
A lot of depth of their roster right now.
Coming in three in one week as the number two,
District 5 squad.
Then the number one,
Junior Goodwill Games,
USA Ducks Squad.
Number one team of the week
couldn't be happier to say
the Buffalo Sabres, baby.
I can't believe it.
On the back of Rasmus Dahlian,
the hottest defenseman in the league,
the Sabers are looking like a wagon.
I'm so shocked, dude,
and I knew when we were doing our power rankings
and we compare them to make sure we are lists are in line.
I knew they were going to be in the discussion,
and then you started spewing that they should be one,
and I was like, dude, no, like, they're three, maybe.
And then the more we looked at it together,
I was like, oh, no, they're one.
They're one.
three and a week, four and one on the season, looking dangerous at every level.
Yeah.
Goaltending, which was the big question mark.
You look stellar.
Sabres are the hottest team in the NHL this week.
Congratulations, boys.
Congratulations to the Sabres.
It's unbelievable.
Dan, what are you watching this coming week?
This coming week, I circled two games.
And, you know, I think I'm just going to stick with the obvious one.
we got the Battle of Alberta
Saturday night
Round two
Round two Calgary Edmonton
Lames won that first one
I think so
Yeah yeah
Always love a battle of Alberta
Great players on both squads
Always leads to some magic
So I've got eyes peeled on that one big time
Amazing
Okay I'm gonna
I'm gonna tell you one right here
That might have been your other one
That you wanted to watch
But also Saturday
Winnipeg at Arizona
On paper
Pretty boring game
But first game at Mollett.
That is good.
Going to be, listen.
We got to pay attention to it.
If you're not, if you're going to act like you're not curious as to what the energy in Mollett Arena is going to be like, you're missing out.
It's going to be a high school, like high school environment, pro guys playing a high school environment.
It's on ESPN Plus, obviously, but it's also live streaming on Hulu.
Everybody tune in.
It is going to be insanely fun.
If the Coyote's organization knows what's good for them, they will let.
utter mayhem in the stands.
I want college students stripping.
I want beers flying everywhere.
I want fucking nonsense.
Dude, don't you think the coyotes should get a band?
Like, you know when the college team brings their band?
And like they're just playing the horns.
Oh my God.
Absolutely they should.
They should get a band to make a fight song.
They should stick them in the stands and they should go full.
Lean in.
Top corner of the rank.
Yeah, lean in.
Absolutely.
Lean all the way into the college environment.
What am I talking about?
They must have a band for.
for something. They certainly did. Yeah, just have them do it. Yeah, no, I want, I want
beers getting dumped everywhere. I want the band thumping, and I want the coyotes
players to buy into, like I want them to just go. My God. Yeah. You got any more?
Rags stars. Goalie. Another Saturday game, goalie tilt. God damn. The Otter versus Chesty,
two pretty hot teams, just think it'd be silly to not circle that one. And this Thursday,
when this comes out, so if people are listening and get a chance to watch tonight.
I always, I always like that you put in the Thursday game when the pod drive.
drops. That's nice. Canucks at Cracken, again, nothing good on paper, but I just really want that to become a massive rivalry. Like, they're right there. It should. They're neighbors. I think it will. So I just, they, if they're, if we're going to get there, they need us. We need to start caring about this. We need to start tuning into this game. Canucks Crackin, go crack, baby. But I'm, I'm really in on developing that. It'll be really great too, Chris. If, if if Vancouver loses to Carolina tonight on Monday. And then I, I, I'm, I'm really in on developing that. It'll be really great to, it. It'll be really great to, Chris, if, if, if, if, if, if, if Vancouver, I'm
believe they don't play on Wednesday.
So there's a chance they're still defeated.
Yeah.
And the Crackens, that's a win maybe.
You could circle that as a one.
You could beat the Cracken.
But if you lose to Carolina tonight, which is very possible.
Just put her to bed.
I think you're, I think they all go full zombie mode.
I don't know, I don't know how you operate after that.
Bo is going to jump off the bridge, dude.
Seriously.
J.T. Miller might not show up anymore.
It's unbelievable.
All right.
Well, that's it for us this week.
Circle those games.
Let's watch some good action this week and see what's going on next week.
Can't wait.
All right.
Later, guys.
