Empty Netters Podcast - 33. Devils Be Gone
Episode Date: May 12, 2023The Canes continue to roll and bounce the Devils in 5 games, Seattle is having a Spunk blockage, the Leafs live to fight another day, and thoughts and prayers for Leon Draisaitl’s life. Learn more a...bout your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to this live episode of the Empty Netters podcast here in Hoboken, New Jersey at Wicked Wolf Tavern.
And we are so delighted to be brought to you by Labat Blue Light.
Without question, the number one beer to drink at any time, but specifically during the Stanley Cup playoffs.
It could be at a hockey game.
It could be watching a hockey game.
It could be having a hoe-down with the fellas.
No matter what, there is a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip just the way I like it, Dan.
It's a Canadian-brewed beer that means.
means it is perfect for the game of hockey.
It's perfect for feeling good, feeling kind, feeling happy.
If you're enjoying this beer with your friends sitting around the couch, sitting around the
house, or at the bar, or at the game, watching this NHL Stanley Cup playoffs go down live
in action just like this pod, there is nothing that's going to have that crisp, refreshing
taste like Labat Blue, Canadian Pilsner, easily my favorite beer, and the greatest podcast
sponsor around.
Get on board.
get on board now.
All right, well, we are here at the Wicked Wolf Tavern in Hoboken, New Jersey,
getting geared up for this New Jersey Devils game.
Game 5, tough, tough beat on Tuesday, dude.
Bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad.
We're going to get into that series.
We're going to talk all about it when we get there.
That's going to be at the end of the show, so we get close to when we are getting ready
for puck drop for game 5.
So now we're going to get into some of these other series.
Dude, insane week in the playoffs.
Insane, as it always is.
but it is insane.
It has been a crazy, crazy playoffs here,
but round two is filled with complete anarchy.
And these games are all going way different than we thought they would,
way different than we assumed.
Shit is just going nuts.
Shit is hitting the fan.
Let's get right into a game that had a lot of action.
Dude, I'll say this, man.
My B-MGM statement has not been good in round-dust.
to.
Just about everything I felt that's going to happen
has not happened.
With the exception of Spunk Stars,
which we'll get to, but that one is completely on script
so far.
But I want to start, we want to start with
Vegas Oilers.
The flip-flop continues, dude.
We put on the clip last week that every
fucking game, I'm positive
one team is going to win the series.
This series has been so mental
because it genuinely looks like
every other game, one team
completely grabbed the horns of this series and the way it's going.
And then the next game happens, and it's the complete opposite.
So this game we go in, Knights had an emphatic win in game three,
so they come into game four and the Oilers beat the piss out of them.
And it is now all tied up two to two.
And there was mayhem in this game, too.
Yes.
But before we even get to that, which we have to get to,
can I tell you why this was such a massive win for the Oilers?
Please.
Even beyond just tying the series, you don't want to go down in 3-1.
I'm begging you to.
to tell you. They win four one. They went one for six on the power play last night. And then here
were the goal scores. Goal scores. Bukstad, Bouchard, Eckholm, R&H. To get, McDavid had two assist,
dry, sell had an apple two, all good. But to get four goals without either of those boys
being on the score sheet and getting the monkey off R&H's back, dude, Conner McDavid had a
fucking wet dream Tuesday night before the game that was less erotic than that stat sheet for him.
If I promised him he could get a 4-1 win without him or Dry Saddle scoring
and R&H gets on the board and they suck on the power play,
but they tuck four anyway.
Literally his dick was hard in the fucking locker room when he got off.
I love that rant.
I think R&H getting the monkey off the back is huge.
But, dude, I don't really care that they didn't score
because McDavid two assists, dry-sidal one assist.
Like, they're on the score sheet, dude.
Like, they don't need to score every game.
They had to before.
No.
those guys are huge assist guys.
As long as they're creating plays,
they're going to be winning games,
and that is what they did.
I hear what you're saying.
I don't think it's that big of a deal.
I think the bigger deal,
you touched on this last episode,
Aiden Hill,
getting lit up like the dashboard
of a 1995 Toyota Camry
is a big problem.
Like you said,
the goalie debacle for that team
is interesting,
and it's going to come down
to like,
all right, shit.
Is Hill the guy or is he not going to play well?
And he didn't look great in that game.
You know, like you go down pretty big, pretty early.
And that is a concern for the Vegas Knights.
And, dude, here's one of my big things.
Evan Bouchard continues to look insane.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
This guy is well into double digits on the stat sheet in these playoffs.
Is he really?
What's he at?
Do you know?
He's well into double digits, dude.
I think, look that up for me right now.
I think the league leaders are at like 15.
I think Hins and Drysendt, like at 15.
I think Bouchard has 14 or 15 points in these playoffs alone.
That's fucking crazy, dude.
And I'm telling you this, dude, this guy had 40 points in the regular season.
That's a really solid season.
Yeah, dude, Drysaddle 18, McDavid, 17, Maddie Kachuk 16, Hince 15, Bouchard, 15.
15, I said, yeah.
Like literally tied for fourth and one, two, three of the top four guys are.
That's what I'm saying, dude. Bouchard has completely...
Fucking kidding me.
Steped up his game to a totally next-level element here.
He had 40 points in the regular season, which is a very good, respectable season for a defenseman.
Yeah.
But, dude, you've got 15 points in round two as a D-man.
You are blowing every other defenseman out of the water.
He's all over the place.
He's scoring huge goals.
He scored a big goal last night.
That's a great question.
Where's the next defenseman?
Monster player.
I bet it's fucking Brandon Montor.
No, you know who it is, dude.
Morgan Riley.
Oh yeah, Morgan.
Morgan is dominating.
But that is big, big stuff, dude.
It's like really impressed to see.
Okay.
Here's what I really wanted to talk.
I want to go on goalies, but are we going to get off goalies or can we talk about that now?
You can talk about goalies if you want.
Okay.
So I could totally...
If you even think about veering off of goalies, though, and interrupt me, I will tell you.
Skinner continues his Jekyll and Hyde.
Yeah, 100%.
But the good news, I guess, if you're Edmond
is, yeah, but it's your guy, you're Skinner's team, right?
So, like, he can Jekyll and hide his fucking way all he wants down to the fucking candy
shop, but he's the goalie.
End of discussion.
Aiden Hill, and, dude, those goals weren't that bad, but, like, you know, just like,
Aden Hill gets four popped on him, right?
And L.B., we don't know still.
Cassidy was like, we got to get back to Vegas and see what the doctor's say.
And if LB's good, he's playing.
All good.
Here's my question to you, dude, and I'm being dead-ass right now.
Are you at all surprised?
that Johnny Quick,
Johnny Quick wasn't that good for the Kings this year.
Let me just get this thought up.
He wasn't that good for the Kings this year, right?
So my point is, if you're Vegas,
it's not like you didn't see what he was doing this year.
It's not like you thought he was still disgusting quick
when you traded for him.
So what you knew as a fact, dude,
if you were the Vegas Golden Knights,
what you knew as a fact is Johnny Quick has lost his fastball for sure,
but maybe he can go to that gear in the playoffs.
That's why you traded for him.
So when he wasn't that good in the regular season,
I'm kind of like, yeah, but you knew this.
And by the way,
the Wilde got burned on being like maybe Flowers got that playoff magic and he fucking did not.
So I'm not saying it's automatically going to work.
But when you lose LB, didn't you trade for Johnny Quick just on the premise that he could elevate in the playoffs?
For this exact reason, dude. Yeah. And you've just got to wonder like when you've got no options,
isn't it worth giving it a shake? Who is going to be mad at you in the Vegas fan base for starting
Jonathan Quick, a two-time Stanley Cup winner over Aiden Hill? No disrespect to Aden Hill.
totally fine good goal tender but you've got johnny quick i feel like you did go out and make
this trade for this exact reason it feels very very weird that feels like maybe chris one of those
things maybe there's an injury that we don't know about agree but then i don't know why he would
have dressed as the backup though like you just don't even dress him like the boston brewed's dress
in started lina so mark and ran blue their whole season dude straight up for me straight up i if lb
Because the LB choice has been proven right.
That's fine.
Quick was inconsistent.
You went with a guy that got you some wins.
If LB can't go in game five,
I start Jonathan Quick over Aden Hill.
And I don't even think twice about it.
I agree.
I completely agree.
He's a fucking Kahn-Smite winner.
I'm pretty sure.
I might have pulled that out of my ass,
but I'm pretty sure he won one of those.
It's a good thing to keep an eye on.
All right, so in this game, man,
this game for me, like you said,
flipped the script, felt like a complete change
from game three.
Vegas seemed to lose every single puck battle on the ice.
Edmonton was all over every single loose puck.
It was just a monster game.
And what really is sketchy is, like you said,
they held the Oilers to one for seven on the power plates.
Six, I think.
I think it was one for seven.
I'll check.
I believe, first of all,
taking seven penalties in the game is so unacceptable.
Especially after what we've said.
Like, how many times do we talk about this?
But it's like, just don't hook them.
There's a better chance they score on the power plate.
there is that you just give up the fucking three on one.
So the fact that you lucked out and held them to one for seven,
and you still lost four to one is just like...
Six, yeah.
Or one seven, yeah.
An unacceptable stat line.
And here's my other one, dude.
Vegas, in game one,
went two for four on the power play.
Yeah.
Since then, they've gone 0 for 3, 0 for 4, and 0 for 3.
That's going to hurt you.
You are 0 for 10 on your last...
That's going to hurt.
You.
10 power plays.
You cannot do that and expect to win against this Edmonton team that hurts you on the powerplay this severely.
And then especially you hold them to one for seven in this last game and you still get shellacked.
Four to one.
It's like that was a bad, bad game for Vegas.
And there's, you know, what's interesting is part of me is like, well, if you go 0 for 3 again on the powerplay, might as well lose that game.
Fix it and then win when you're scoring on it.
But to lose the game where you hold Edmonton's power play, one.
for seven to kick in the dick.
That hurt so...
I literally cannot believe it took seven penalties.
That is so insane.
But dude, you're 100% right.
The Vegas Power Play wasn't that good this year.
It was middling.
And I don't need it to be Edmonton PowerPlay.
I just need it to be middling if you want to win.
And I actually don't think this loss on paper is that bad.
It's Edmonton at home, backs against the wall.
You don't think you're going to take two in Edmonton.
You already stole one there.
You have Home Ice back.
Like, I think Vegas is fine being like.
Obviously, you always want to step on throats in the playoffs.
But I think Vegas is fine being like, yeah, whatever, dude, best of three with two at home.
But you're right, that is going to burn you eventually.
100%.
Because the only reason they won game one is because they hung on the power play.
Edmonton got two, but they got two as well, and it was all good.
But if Edmonton Powerplay goes back, snaps back to what it has been,
and you're O for Daddy forever, then this is done, dude.
You're in big trouble.
You're in big trouble.
Or stop taking penalties.
All right, let's get into the sussie talk.
Speaking of penalties.
So first we got a in-game susset.
Alex Petrangelo, end of the game, comes down and just Paul Bunyan's Leon Drysidal in the arm close to his neck.
Wild play gets tossed from the game.
McDavid comes in defending his boy, fights Petrangelo.
Now we had McDavid talking after the game talking about how that is a clear non-hockey play.
There's intent to injure there.
He should get suspended.
There's a hearing today.
I don't even know if we've heard about it.
We can pop on Twitter and see what's up.
But Patrangelo is having that hearing.
We're going to see what happens.
I'm imagining at least a one game sussie.
But where do you stand on this?
Okay.
I think it was crazy because it's way late and it's way high, right?
It's like up on the arm and it's like...
Dude, it's a psycho.
It's a psycho play.
McDavid's right.
There is zero hockey play.
Yeah.
That's a child.
We were having a discussion earlier where, because you had said correctly, there needs to be consequences for that.
If you do that.
If you're oxytrangine, you do that.
There are consequences.
And I'm like, yeah, you got tossed.
That's the consequence.
You get tossed.
Because my knee jerk was like, toss him for sure.
If you did in the first period, toss.
See you later.
But I don't think I sussie him.
But the more I thought about it, and I asked you this, I was like, is this worse than McCarr?
and to me they're both equally late
McCar had at least
believe him or not but he had at least the benefit of the doubt
of him being like I thought that was in still
like Bertrangelo's like he watches
dry saddle shoot a backhand and miss
and just continues to come in so
it's just as late as McCar he has no benefit
of the doubt and it's a ridiculous hack
so I think if you you said
McCars was more violent which it was
and like obviously McCann is conked
and dry saddle's fucking fine he probably has a bruise on
fucking tricep.
Yeah.
So McCars was more violent, but I just think if you sussied McCar, it is really hard for me
to look at this play and be like, I don't suspend that guy.
I completely agree.
It's...
I don't want him to get suspended for this, but I think you've set a precedent now.
I said it was like, listen, man, if dry-sitle is going to be out here acting like he's
hurt or was scared for his life in that play, you're full of shit.
Yeah.
You're fine.
It's not a hard swing.
there's no like malicious evil intent in that swing.
However, dude, you are not a 10-year-old boy, Alex Petrangelo.
Dude, that is, dude, in an NHL game
for like an alternate captain-level player to come in
and fucking baseball bat, Leon Drysiddle in the face.
I don't care how hard it is.
It's just such a crazy wirescross moment.
It is so, so mental.
You cannot do that.
I can't believe he said that.
It absolutely has to be a pee-y-wack because if you don't sussy him, you're just like letting a guy get away with being a complete lunatic menace on the ice.
So it is a precedent thing.
There's been so many calls these playoffs that are like, how was that not a penalty?
Let alone, you know, like when Sam Bennett is out here cross-checking Michael Bunting in the throat and then breaking his back on the ice and doesn't even get a penalty, you're like, there's no sense going on.
He got the first one.
Bunting, uh, Bennett got the first, but not the second.
And then he got nothing for fucking ending Maddie Nyes's playoffs.
So there is, like these things are crazy, but dude, but dude, no.
I have to say this, Dan.
We obviously, uh, as everyone who's ever listened to a fucking podcast before,
know that Dan and I do some pre-pro and talk about what we're going to say,
but some things that we keep to ourselves because I like to spring it on him.
Dude, I wrote down, I didn't tell you, I wrote down, I wish Petrangelo hit him.
I wish he came through and drilled him.
because to me, same penalty, probably Chost and Sussied,
but that reeks of like a, come on, boys.
He overstepped the line, but like that was to get the boys going if he had just late hit him.
The slash like that, I literally wrote down, felt like when you let your little brother
tie the game at 9-9, just so you know you can throat rip him to win 10-9,
and then he comes through and breaks his stick over your sternum.
And then I'm crying, he's crying, fucking mom's crying,
dad's fucking screaming as we go to the hospital.
it's chaos in the streets.
And that's literally, he looks like a brat.
He looks like a little brat.
He does.
He just lost to his big brother.
And I'm like, stop slashing dry-siddle.
It's such a bad look, dude.
So it's got to be a sussie.
And what's interesting, dude, is it'll just cancel out.
The other one we've got to talk about, Darnel Nurse.
Darnel Nurse gets in a fight with Nick Hague at the end of that game.
It's an instigator call with five minutes left in regulation.
It's in the rulebook for the NHL.
So he's an auto...
No choice.
No choice.
To be clear.
No choice.
Suspended. Auto one game sussie.
Jay Woodcroft gets a
fucking slap on the wrist of $10,000.
Which doesn't feel good, buddy.
I've never even seen 10 grand.
It's a tough thing for Petrangelo now, especially because
you were about to head into game 5
with Edmonton missing one of their top
four defensemen, and you guys
fully stacked, and now you're both
missing one of your top four defensemen.
And Nurse gets, he is nine seconds
minutes per game behind McDavid
from most on the ice, on the Oilers.
So it's not like you're...
Yeah, like, oh, whatever.
It's fine.
You just lost 24 minutes of legitimate blue line ice time.
So, moral of the story here is where...
I imagine Petrangelo is going to be one game.
It might...
I think three would be insane.
Oh, God, dude.
If it's more than one, I will actually be upset.
Two, I wouldn't be that, because it's fucking crazy.
You little brat.
You little brat, you're a little brat,
sussie, dude.
Because that would be like, all right, I get it.
But let's call it one.
But let's live under the assumption that it's one.
So we're going to have these two defensemen
canceled out for game five
and end of the day dude moral of the story
is don't instigate a fight
with five minutes left in the game and
don't go full
be a brat don't go full cave
troll and start swinging sticks
around wouldn't you say though on the nurse
one because like I just said it's no choice
if you get that penalty no choice you have to be suspended
per the rules but nurse's comments
and he watched the replay nurse is like dude he had his gloves off first
he threw eight punches before I threw a punch
it's a fucking two willing fighters how am I getting an instigator on
this.
He instigated it.
That's how.
I think so too, but it's, I hear his counter.
Like, I'm kind of surprised.
I think I would have gone, ooh, that could have been instigator.
But I was like, I think that was not that big a deal.
His counter is like, Nick fought me too.
But I'm like, yeah, but dude, you started.
Like, it's not.
Yeah.
His whole stance is that a fight happened.
And Nick Hague participated.
But I'm like, dude, but you started.
It wouldn't have happened.
This is the tale of the bully and the brat, dude.
We have a bully and a brat, and they're both being penalized.
Yeah.
Good.
Good.
It's crazy.
All right, let's move on to the next game of the series here, or the playoffs, rather.
All right, on to the boys who lived to fight another day, dude.
The boys who lived.
Unbelievable stuff.
The Toronto Maple Leafs get a win against the Florida Panthers, 2-1, really, really gutsy win.
And talk about another dream score line.
Nielander, Marner, like, guys,
where you were like, come on, boys.
Really, really big, really important.
The boys move on.
We're going to go back to Toronto,
which is very, very huge.
Force in a game five.
We'll see what can happen here.
But what did you see in this game?
First thing I wanted to say is,
I had said, last Epp,
if Samsonoff can't go, you are fucked.
And a little rookie Joey Wall
came in there, dude, and he fucking played great.
And everybody believes in that kid.
Keith, he's the goalie of the future.
He's been tabbed that.
You know, he's the Swayman in Toronto.
Like, everyone believes he's the guy.
He came in and Keith believes,
he had the team believed in him.
They clearly did.
He played awesome.
I actually checked his stats this past season,
Dan, which I didn't realize.
He played seven games this year.
He went six and one with a nine-three-two save percentage
and a 2.16 goals against,
which is fucking fantastic.
Fantastic.
And I think we just saw in the Boston series,
lying comes out,
Bob comes in,
changed the complexion of the series.
So a hot goalie can come in and change shit.
And every game in this series has been a one goal game.
If you ignore the empty netter, which counts in game one.
They've all been one goal series.
So really, dude, you're like one save away from Toronto leading this series.
And I know they have a big, by the way, too, Joey Wall has a sick nickname,
ripe for nicknames if you are a goalie and your last name is Wool.
But if Joey Wool turns into Joey Wall, it's a big mountain decline.
But like that could change the fucking whole completely.
reflection of the series. I'm pretty sure it's pronounced wall anyway. So he's already walled, dude.
Good for him. It's already halfway there. Um, listen, dude, he's got great stats in seven games.
He played fantastic last night. I will say, however, you've got a rookie goaltender who has
minimal, minimal, minimal, as in like one period of playoff hockey experience, you've got to do
better than 25 shots on that if you're the Florida Panthers. Like, that is such a fucking
shit performance by the Panthers.
You've got a chance to absolutely eviscerate this team,
rip their hearts out, destroy an entire city.
And you put out that performance.
And my thing with this is, dude, Florida's the rats, right?
They are so goddamn impressive.
They've been so fun to watch, as devastating as it was,
Series 1 for me.
Yep.
But they've been an absolute blast,
and they play such a gritty, gnarly game.
And then in this game, you got out hit by Toronto,
which is shocking.
unacceptable. Toronto had
triple the block shots
that you did. Like Toronto put it all out
on the line and got a very
gutsy, awesome win in this game.
And I just don't know how at home
with this rookie goaltender,
you don't come out there and throw every single
puck in your vicinity on that, dude.
If I were a coach
and there's a rookie goaltender, I would be like,
dude, shoot. Don't get cute.
Pepper this goaltender.
Throw everything on the cage.
And when you look at the 21 or
so blocked shots by Toronto, you know, you kind of did.
They just kind of, they got you there with how they were standing up in front of shots.
But it's just not a good performance from Florida.
I would say it's their first bad performance of this series.
The one good thing I will say for them, or by Florida, the one good thing I'll say for
Florida is Bob looked great again.
Bob led in two goals.
One was a seeing-eye point shot from Mitch Marner.
The other was a very kind of lucky bouncing puck from Nealander.
He had two months.
Monster saves on breakaways for Jonathan Tavares.
And that goes to show, you're right.
Mitch and Willie get on the score sheet.
But you've got tons of the big boys who are still quiet as hell.
Yep.
No assists, no nothing for Matthews, Riley, Tavares.
So if you're Florida, you're not shaking,
but if you're Toronto, you're headed back to Toronto.
Yep.
And you've got a great opportunity here to, like, totally change the narrative of this series.
Yes.
Totally.
Okay.
Man, you test on such great things.
Bob, still playing great.
I think if you're Florida, you aren't, you believe, like you said, it's a rookie goalie.
Actually, here's a quick question for you.
If Sammy can go game five, is he playing?
Or are you sticking with the wall?
I think you stick with wall.
He just had a 24 of 25 shots, safe performance, got you the first win of the series.
It's the goalie discussions.
And sorry, New Jersey, we're going to get into this.
but like they're always so complicated,
but I'm a huge believer in ride with the hot hand
as long as the hand is hot.
And that's a hot hand from Wall.
Like, you can't argue that you have to play it.
I agree. I think I would go Wall.
Bob has been really good.
If you're the Panthers, you go like this.
It's a rookie goal. We can get them.
Even if they go Sammy, you're like, we've got them already.
We can get them.
If you're Toronto, you go, well, dude,
all these games are like 2-1, 3-2.
We have the firepower to win a 3-2.
game if we're getting goalie play. Unfortunately,
due to your own wounds, there
is no room for error.
Secret service, consequences.
You are fucked, dude.
You are out of the playoffs, bro.
Like, I'm sorry.
So, like, that's what you're up against.
But I think you probably feel
okay. Like,
we talked before, if you steal this one,
you go home, you win in Toronto,
win on home ice one fucking time,
now you got a stew going,
and it's something special.
Um, here's what I wanted to say to you about the shots.
You chirped the Panthers for shots.
Toronto had 25 again.
And we just made fun of them for this, right?
It was 25 to 25, yeah.
But, but caveat, Dan, because I wrote this down, because I wanted to give them credit.
Marner, 3, Nealander 4, Matthew's 4, Cho Drags 5.
That's 16 of your 25 shots from the big boys.
So fucking tip, hat tip, dude, thank you.
Good job.
I said they needed 24 collectively, and they probably need 20, but I'm like, shoot the puck, dude.
Shoot the puck.
But what I don't love is six shots in the first period, four shots in the third period.
Boyce, your backs are against the fucking wall.
And what rattles me about Toronto is I don't think they have looked.
And I should just accept this at this point, dude, but they haven't looked better, better than Florida once, all series.
And I'm like, okay, you're just not then.
I don't know why I keep thinking they're going to wake up and go, boys, we got over the hump.
And this, what is the fucking Brady?
Well, it's not Tom Brady quote.
He's quoting the motivational speech.
But like, I didn't come this far to only come this far.
I'm waiting for Toronto to wake up and go, did we get out of the first round just to do this?
And they just don't do it ever, dude.
Every game, they just don't do it.
Yeah, this feels, this feels slightly reminiscent to me of, I think it was 2013 when the B's and the Rangers played.
Bees were up 3-0.
Rangers, Chris Kreider scores an O.T. winner.
They get their win and then they get jammer and swept under the playoffs.
Just by how these four.
games have gone.
In Toronto, that was a huge win.
Like, Toronto fans, we say it all the time.
I love you guys.
And I love this team.
I love the city.
I'm really happy that they got that win.
But we're now looking at, did that win calm your nerves?
And we're going to come into game five, and you guys are going to slap Florida in the
face at home and win emphatically?
Or is it just going to be another game of what we've seen in through four?
And again, no disrespect, but you did not beat Florida in that game.
It wasn't a emphatic win.
I think the Nealander goal was soft.
I think it was pretty lucky.
I think the Marner goal was even kind of like, ooh, thank God that one stuck.
And Florida was all over them in the third, the whole period.
So it's really a big question for me on game five.
And I feel like that's like a cop-out stance.
Like, Dan, have a point.
Have a stance.
But I think my point is game five is going to be very telling.
Either we're going to see them get gentlemen swept because Florida is just straight up, plain and simple, the better team,
or game four win was a big time wake-up call situation for Toronto.
So I'm putting so much stock in this next game.
Because, dude, I don't, and I'll go as far to say because I would hear the arguments of, yeah, well, no shit, Dan.
Either they're going to get eliminated or it's a series.
But, dude, if they squeak out another win, I would still be like, it's Florida's easy.
winning. I completely agree because I don't think you can win four dog fights in a row.
That's my biggest thing. It's too much puck-cluck, dude. We've been in these games.
You can't be battling too thin fucking nail to try to win two-one four in a row.
You need a comfortable 7-1 dick slap to fucking tomorrow. You've got to win these games.
You just can't, you can't fight like this. Here's a question for you.
Florida, since fucking game one against Boston, has been playing with house money.
Maddie Kach said it a million times. No one on earth has expected them to win a fucking game
this playoffs. They're loose. They're free. It's all good. No, there's no pressure on them. Even
fucking game seven against Boston, they were like, yeah, whatever, dude. Like, if we, if we lose
this game, we made it to game seven against the best team of all time. If they lose
game five in Toronto and they come home for game six knowing if they lose that game, they have to go
back to the fucking hostile crowd in Toronto for game seven, that is terrifying after being up three-0.
If they lose game five in Toronto, game six in Florida will be the first time.
all playoffs that the Panthers have felt pressure.
Truly, this is the first time you're like, oh, fuck.
Yep, absolutely.
And if I'm Toronto, I am hammering that into the skulls of every player.
Win game five here, and for the first time, the buttholes have tightened in Florida.
Before I hit my last point, I want to respond to that and say this.
Here's a take for you.
I think if you go up 3-0 in a series, every single game from there on is pressure.
That's at least how I would feel.
Because I would be like this.
We cannot lose.
If you go up 3-0, you simply cannot lose.
Correct.
And every single game from there on, I would feel like...
A little bit more.
I would say a little bit...
I don't know that game four is like pressure, pressure.
You're like, let's do it, but you're like, whatever.
But I agree with you, game five already is like a little pressure.
And I think game six at home, knowing Toronto's in game seven is like...
Yeah.
So let's see how Florida can get one.
Let's see how Florida plays with a tight butthole.
I agree.
All right.
And here's my last point.
you mentioned him earlier.
Maddie Kachuk, top four player in the NHL right now in points in the playoffs.
He's got five assists in this series.
Hasn't scored.
Three of which came in game one.
He hasn't scored.
If I'm Paul Maurice, if I'm a Florida Panthers fan, I'm like, hey, dude, you got to give us something here.
Yeah.
Like you said, every one of these games, exception of the empty netter is a one goal game.
You know, you're looking at four goals, three goals, three goals, one goal.
I'm like, Mattie.
Come on the fucking score sheet, buddy.
Here we go.
And you're right, it's certainly five assists in four games is better than no points in four games.
Like you're seeing kind of from Robo and some of these other guys.
But I'm like, you're right.
I think if I'm on that panther team, I'm like, come on, dude.
Or just since you know these games are going to be ending by three or two, you're like,
just give us one, Maddie.
Give us one.
And I think he will.
I'd be shocked if he doesn't score soon.
Yeah.
But that's a good take.
You want to talk some Spunk?
Yeah, dude, the Spunk is blocked up.
Spunk's blocked up.
It's a mental thing.
It's a mental thing.
thing, dude. Happens to three out of five
guys. Shooting blanks.
So it's fine. Happens to all of us.
Happens to all of us.
Dallas, even the series
2-2, took home ice back
with a 6-3 win.
Oh my God. Thank you.
Wow.
She's more than a producer.
Money, please. Money, please.
We're blocked up.
They're blocked up. Still no
robo goal. Got an assist
on the Pave goal, but still no robo goal. But still no
Robo goal.
Gru Bauer yanked
at the end of the second. I said to you
last F, he's got a lot of miles. A lot
of miles. Yeah, man, that one feels so real.
But here's the thing, Dan. I, as you know, have been
pretty critical of almost every yank so far.
Like, I'm like, leave him in. I'm a very vassie guy.
I'm like, leave him in, dude. Shut the fuck up.
For Grubauer, I'm like, dude, give him as
much stretch as you can. It was fucking 6-1, dude,
or whatever the fuck it was. Like, get him out.
What was crazy to me is
Martin Jones came in.
and I was like, oh, we had that game on, we were at the bar, right?
We had that game on.
And I was like, yeah, Martin Jones didn't give up any goals in the third.
Good for him.
And then I checked the stat sheet, and he made two saves.
The stars took two shots in the third period.
Obviously, your foot's up the gas, you're up 6'1, but I was like, what, dude?
Like, that is crazy to me.
So, credit to him.
And, dude, also funny, tangent.
Domi got that empty netter, which counts.
Counts.
And if you saw the replay, he goes like this.
I think he's a righty.
He stick handles in and goes...
Wait, did you say that you're up 6-1?
That was not the case.
They've made it close for a second.
Yeah, they made it 6-3, but it was 6-1 at the end of two.
Grubauer got pulled.
No, no, it was 5-3 at one point.
Oh, yeah, 5-3.
It was 5-1.
Gru-Bauer gets pulled.
They make it 5-3, empty-netter.
Domi comes in and goes, he, with one hand on his stick,
pushes it forward on his forehand, turns his wrist over and pushes it into the open net on his backhand.
And on the statute, it says, Domi, backhand goal.
And I'm like, this, respect.
Respect, dude.
Boost those numbers up, dude.
It was.
That is pretty lit.
Listen, dude.
But my point is, this yank I am all for, dude.
Get Grubauer as much rest as you can possibly get in a fucking blowout who gives a shit.
Yeah.
Dude, I think, again, like I would say with the knights here, this is the worst Seattle's looked all playoffs.
I thought, with the exception
of the third beard, but they showed some Spunk?
They always show Spunk in the third.
They were super weak in the neutral zone in this game.
Yeah.
I think that they were getting really beat up in five-on-five play.
19 shots is so fucking bad.
Like, that is just a horrendous,
horrendous display in a NHL playoff game.
You cannot do that.
It was just weak, dude.
Gru Bauer looked weak.
I thought his Blocker looked horrible.
The second guy,
goal was kind of a cheese job, but like, he just wasn't really in it at all.
Dallas, that was a very Dallas Stars game.
Yeah.
Two for three on the power play.
I thought that they were connecting well.
Every one of their goals seemed to be a beautiful bang, bang play.
Secondary and primary assists on seemingly every goal.
Joe Buevelski continues to be the most elite.
Underrated.
Who has ever fucking.
Underrated.
It's just unbelievable.
I just, I thought they looked really.
quick. I thought they were very in sync. Like I said, if you're Dallas, I think that game feels
great. If you're Ottinger, I think you feel great until the end there. Like, it's 19 shots
and you give up three goals, dude. That's not good. And he looked really strong. But dude,
the thing you cling to if you're Seattle here, I think, is, dude, making that game 5'3,
when you're getting lit up like that and you make that game 5'3 and you make Dallas sweat
and then they get an empty netter,
like you feel strong about that finish to a bad, bad game.
So the fact that you only got 19 shots on net,
but you scored three,
you still feel like you're getting to Onger,
so there's something to feel good about
if you're Seattle heading into game five.
Okay, three things here.
Dallas Power Play, you said, two for three again.
The Oilers are obviously the best in the league, still in the playoffs.
After that one-for-seven debacle,
they're down to a bismal 45.45%
but they were well over 50 which is obscene.
But Dallas, second best in the league still
of remaining teams on the power play,
34.29%, which is fucking moronic.
They were fifth in the league in the regular season at 25%.
So there are no slouch on the power play.
So you know it's dangerous.
If you're Seattle, we said this about the wild,
you got to do something. Either fucking kill penalties better
or stop taking penalties.
But that powerplay for Dallas is such a weapon because it's deciding games and it gives them confidence, dude.
It gets them rolling.
If they get power play goals, you're rolling.
It hasn't quite happened yet, but if Robo starts scoring on the powerplay, now Robo's going.
And I'm like, just stop giving their greatest weapon the chance to hurt you, dude, because like that's what's happening right now.
So I would say that's really frustrating.
Absolutely.
Seattle, or go ahead.
Seattle shots in the four games so far.
Game one, overtime, granted, but game one, 44, game 2, 27, game 3, 25, game 419.
Steady decline across the whole series.
I don't know if Dallas, I haven't been that dialed, I don't know if Dallas has made a coaching change defensively,
if they've switched up their forechecked.
That's something I actually want to look into when we get out of here.
Maybe when we watch tonight, I'll check Twitter.
But that is a massive issue, dude.
Like you just, you, if you're losing, if this series, I said, dude, you hope this is 2-2.
I don't think Seattle's worried about winning in Dallas.
This 2-2 after 4 is fine.
That trend is not fine.
If they had 35, 35, 35-35 shots, whatever, dude.
We're fine.
That is a problem.
So figure out a way to make the...
If Dallas made an adjustment, adjust back on them.
Do something, but you've got to do that.
And then my last point that you brought up, Otter, dude.
How similar does this feel to the Devils game three win?
But VTEC got popped, and you're like, we won!
If I'm Dallas, I'm kind of like,
they got 19 shots, and they scored three fucking times.
The difference to me is the quality of goal.
No disrespect to Carolina.
Carolina fans calm the fuck down.
The quality of these three goals by Seattle were all, like, very strong goals.
Like, they were tip-ins.
They were dishes out front.
And when they come at the end of a game like that when you're winning 5-1,
I don't think it's an excuse to be like this
yeah we took our foot off the gas a little bit
but let's be honest dude
that happens you're in the middle of a Stanley Cup
playoff series you're tired you're getting
ground down yeah makes sense
that you're like we're up 5-1 dude
I don't need to bust ass every shift here in the last
eight minutes but you definitely hang your hat on that
if you're Seattle right like you go home and go we got to
otter again yeah so fucking who cares
but I do think that there is a slight difference
I think it's a great comparison but I think there is a slight
difference my question for you before we move on to the next
series, what do you think goes through the head of a guy like Robo right now?
When you're dealing with the fact that you are the star player, you're over a 100-point guy,
and here you are continuing to struggle in these playoffs.
And your team is in a tilt series tied to two-two.
You need to get on the score sheet.
How do you like mentally check out from that, or check back in from that?
Dude, let me give you some little anecdote here.
apologies to everyone for the self-boost, but it's a cool story.
One year in juniors, we made the playoffs, and I, there was a lot of great players on that team.
I was about to say I was the best player on the team, but there was a lot of great players
in that team.
I just happened to have the most points that year.
And so, you know, anyone can make their own judgment.
Sorry, it's just stats.
It's math.
It's math.
And we got into the playoffs, and I hadn't done shit.
And it wasn't, I genuinely didn't think I was playing bad.
I just had not contributed.
and we got into a game in like the quarters or the semis,
and my coach pulled me aside and goes,
the best player does, he didn't say that, his words not mine, his words not mine.
The best player doesn't have to do everything all the time.
Sometimes you can get picked up by the team,
but then you've got to step up,
when we really need you.
And it kind of just got me out of my own head of like,
because I was like, dude, I can't even believe we're in this situation.
We shouldn't even be here.
I've not contributed at all.
And I ended up scoring the OT winner in that game.
And I don't know that I like actively played more loose or anything like that.
But I just remember hearing him say that and being like,
it gave me a sense of it's fine.
Like stop worrying about what I haven't done yet.
Just do it now.
Be the guy now.
And no one will care that your boys picked you up to get here.
Be the guy now.
and I don't know what they're talking to Robo about,
but if I'm anyone on that roster on that coaching staff,
I go, all good, baby, it's 2-2, be the guy now.
Yeah, I think I love that.
I love that anecdote, and I think it is that next shift mentality, right?
It's like, dude, I'm an elite player.
I don't care how I play to my last shift.
Sometimes Rupert Hintz got to pick you up, dude.
Yeah, like go get on the ice and have a great next shift.
Be the guy now.
Have a great next shift, I think, is good shit.
I like that.
We actually have a spunk fan in the building.
We're going to invite a Seattle fan.
We got our buddy, AJ, who showed up here in Hoboken.
This is our good friend, AJ Audino, lives in New York, came across the river to the Wicked Wolf in Hoboken.
And, dude, we just talked about the Seattle series, and coincidentally, we got a spunk fan here.
Unfortunately, AJ had his heart ripped out of his body by the Seattle Supersonics,
and then that hole was filled by the Seattle Spunk.
Well, I would say first, and then the Seahawks got ripped out again.
Yes.
And now he's a Spunk guy.
Exactly.
Well, first of all, AJ, welcome to the Engine Nair's podcast.
What does he think about the new name for Seattle Cracken?
What does he think about the new name for the Seattle Cracken?
Do you like the name?
Yes.
Of course he does.
Because they have Spunk.
How could you not like the name?
Yeah.
It has a fucking perfect name.
Yeah.
Okay, so AJ, talk to us a little bit about, because when AJ, this is actually
be funny. When the Seattle team formed,
one of the first things AJ texted us was
our biggest rival is the Boston Bruins. Fuck you guys.
And I was like, the hell, dude.
Silly. So talk to us about... And they also
whacked us 3-0 in the first showdown,
and I was like, what the fuck?
But what's it been like just having the hockey team there
and getting on board with that? So,
Seattle is a city that will
love sports teams. If they have
a good story behind it, if they're good, whatever. So
Seattle has really gotten into the
Cracken. My mom is now
a big fan. So my mom is a big fan. You know,
They've taken over the city.
So I would say, you know, again, I don't know hockey that well.
I'm on a hockey podcast, so, you know.
Yeah, there you are.
But, dude, it's been awesome.
It's been really cool.
I've been mesmerized by how fired up that rink looks.
Yeah.
Like, that is, like, bucket list for me is get to that barn, the crack den.
We always talk about these two new expansion teams joining the league, and it's always a risk, right?
And they pick the cities of Vegas and Seattle, both of whom go absolutely bonkers for sports teams.
And both of these barns.
are top 10 Barnes in the
NHL in terms of just fans
packing the shit out of them, going crazy
for the team. So it's just a perfect fit.
I absolutely love it. Have you
or your parents or your sisters
been able to go to a game yet?
Yeah, so I went to a game last
year. Sick. One of my best friends,
Eric, who you guys know... Love Eric.
Was honorary Zamboni Driver for the game.
And it was electric.
Wait, wait, wait, wait. Driver?
What was just riding on it? He does the
Queens Wave. He does the Queens Wave and
in the jump seat.
If they pulled the civilian out of the stands
and then they drove the Zamboni,
it would be the most impressive thing about it.
Eric would put one through the end boards, too.
So I went to that game was great,
and then my mom had never been to an NHL game before.
Any NHL game.
Her whole life.
Her whole life.
So I said, Michelle, go to a playoff game this year.
So she went to game six last series.
They lost, but she was like, I'm in.
So she's watched every game since.
Two reactions that she's had.
Number one, she's like, it's like a club in here.
Crazy lights.
Yeah, Seattle.
And then also she was like,
I didn't realize that they sub in and out so fast.
Yeah,
it happens pretty quickly.
So, yeah, she went to the game,
loved it and has watched every second since.
So it's been...
You know what makes me the most happy about that story?
It's never too late to spunk for the first time.
Some people think they missed a spunk.
I'm not 20 anymore.
I can't go spunking.
It's never too late to go spunking.
I'll also say this.
You never forget your first spunk.
You never forget you.
This is my mother, but yes.
Thank you, boys.
Yes.
But that is true.
I also love that the crack den is a straight-up club.
Dude, I'm actually, so the Vegas,
I hear that story about Vegas a lot,
which I've never been to and I want to go to,
and we will go to this November.
Oh, 100%.
But I've heard that about Vegas.
Like, oh, dude, it's a fucking show in there,
which makes perfect sense.
I've seen the videos.
It makes perfect sense.
I'm surprised that Seattle puts on that performance, too,
but I love it.
So what she said is that before the game,
The entire ice is like, let me project on the ice, like a big TV screen.
She's like, that was amazing.
The lights, the music.
Did she go early?
What's that?
Did she go early?
An hour early because you told her.
And she went an hour early.
Do not miss the show.
No, it was great.
Oh, Latter of.
We got game six.
Game five was, or getting a game five coming up.
Yeah, so have you, dude, well, it's tough for you, buddy, because you're an East Coaster now.
And those 10 p.m. games get difficult, dude.
Playoffs aren't easy, bro.
Oh, man.
It's great, though.
It's worth it.
It is absolutely savage.
How do you feel about the series?
Yeah.
So I did a little research, actually.
I love it.
Yeah.
So what I find pretty cool is the balance of the Cracken half, right?
So 16 different Cracken players have scored in these 10 games, which is...
We were just talking about this.
A couple episodes.
The other day, Dan, was like, they're balanced as fuck.
They're like the most balanced team.
So, like, that's been pretty cool to see.
There's no star.
You know, I think, too, that whoever wins this game, I think he's going to win the series.
Tonight, I mean.
Oh, shit.
Okay.
So you're calling tonight a must win.
I think so.
Yeah.
The reason I say this is because last series, right, the Dallas stars did the same thing.
They were down two to one.
Then went three games in a row.
Yeah.
We have momentum.
I'm worried about that.
Yeah.
Okay.
For a little piece of mind.
Yeah.
Before this series started.
I put on Twitter
that it was going to go like this.
Seattle, Dallas, Seattle, Dallas, Dallas,
Dallas, Seattle, Seattle.
And we're exactly on script so far.
So if Dallas wins tonight, don't worry.
Because I still have Spunkin'7.
If Dallas wins tonight and this is like a truly,
you know, as educated as I can be of giving an estimation,
I have a lot of confidence in Seattle back at home in game six.
And then if there is any team left in the playoffs,
who I don't think gives a flying fuck
about home ice in a game seven
it's Seattle.
So I think that your path
makes perfect sense.
It's in play.
I think Seattle is going to have
a big bounceback game tonight
but if they do lose
I'm not worried.
They're still spunk in the table.
But it would be sick to win tonight.
I have a question for you guys.
In order for us to win,
who do you think our MVP has to be?
Our goal is obviously goalie is really important.
So here's, I want you to answer too,
but oh, okay, well I'll give you an answer
about that,
but I do think this, AJ,
Grubauer's been good
He got pulled the other night
Otter's been not the Dallas goal
He hasn't been that good yet
Or he was good in game two or whatever it was
I did say I think if Seattle's going to win this series
Gruberauer the goalie
Has to genuinely steal one game
And right now every game Seattle's won
They've just like it's been like an easy win
Not an easy win but they've just scored a lot of goals
And I think there's got to be one game in the series
Where it's like 2-1
And Grubauer just plays sick
And that hasn't happened yet
So I'm kind of like, I still am waiting on that big group hour game.
If you need an MVP, fuck.
I think I'll go McCann, but not on a, I need him to have four points night.
I just need McCann.
He's been out, dude.
If he has a good game where he gets one goal even but just is like fucking fully back.
And the boys are like, come on.
McCann's back.
Let's fucking go.
I think he can do as much on that front, on the emotional front.
So he can be their spiritual leader.
Give me one goal and a lot of energy, and I think McCann could be the motivation they need.
I think you said it. I think it's groovy.
I think this team is such a great example of, it's very similar to those Kings teams in like 2012, 2014, where they're so balanced, dude.
I think everyone needs to contribute.
Everyone needs to show up.
But at the end of the day, if Gruber doesn't lock down at least a couple of times, you're not going to win.
And I think he has that in him.
clearly.
So for me, if they're going to win, if they're going to win this series,
Gruvauer needs to, like you said,
just feel at least one.
But then also just be solid in the rest.
I think they can spunk one game and then Grubaher one game.
And then that's four.
We did it.
That's true.
That's four.
You got any other fun tidbits for us?
Yeah.
So the other thing that's interesting is, not the other thing,
but another interesting tidbit,
that we are a quick strike offense.
Yeah, dude, you are.
we have scored a league high
44 goals this season within
five seconds of a turnover
and in the playoffs we scored six goals
off of turnovers within five seconds
so like turnover,
quick score, that kind of thing
that's why I think we've been able to come back in games
because you know
we're down whatever quick turnover
so to me it's like we press pretty heavy
turnover score
and that's the playoffs too
people start gripping their stick a little tight
and they can't don't get it in the way they want
and it gets blocked and you're down their throat
so fast and games turn like that.
Games turn like that in the playoffs.
You look at that stat, five seconds after a turnover, that's
Puck's on net mentality.
And when you looked at last game, we talked about before you hopped on,
19 shots and you lose 6-3,
not really a coincidence there.
So I think they get back to that game of just like,
you know, getting the puck in your stick, throwing it on the cage,
you're going to start finding some goals.
Yeah, finding some more wins here.
I'm excited. Game 6 either way is going to be a zoo
up there. Oh, in Seattle? I know.
I might fly back.
Do it, dude. I'm coming with you, bro.
I'll tell you what.
If they win tonight.
Yeah.
And they go up and we got a chance at heading to the Western Conference finals in Seattle.
We're all going.
And my face right now, I'm just like, yes.
No, we're all going.
Absolutely, yes.
We're going to the crackdown.
Fucking electric.
You guys would love it.
Oh, dude, I got to go there so bad.
I'm so excited.
And I just, I want, do you guys have a thing?
Do you know if there's like, you know, like, Vegas does like the fucking.
Oh, sure.
Is there like a thing that you guys do?
I've seen our mascot?
Dude, Dan loves your mascot
Bui do. He's a fucking lunatic.
I love Rumble dude. I don't know.
Dude, we went to All-Star weekend?
I don't know.
And we were walking around the car course.
And I ran into Bui.
It was the best moment of my life.
And you know what else?
I'm actually just remembering this.
Bui's a dirty boy.
Oh, he's.
I'm actually just remembering this.
The Star's mascot
when at the All-Star game came up.
We were down like in the press area.
And there's a lot of people down there that we know.
You know, like they work for the Kings or whatever.
So I'm talking to Dan.
and someone comes up and tasks me on the shoulder.
And I turn around, I think it's like someone that works for the king's PR.
And I look this way and there's no one there.
And I'm like, when I look this way and it's the Dallas Stars mascot and he's like,
scares me.
And I was like, oh, wow.
I got bullied by this Dallas Stars.
And he does like a fake belly laugh.
And then he puts up a high five being like all good.
And I go to high five and he goes, and I just catch air, dude.
And I was the biggest cucking I've ever seen.
And I was like, so dude, dude, I am actually just realizing this, but I have never, I have fucking hate the Dallas Stars.
Oh my God.
Fuck you, dude.
That's right.
I hope Bui put you in a fucking locker, dude, and this is over in six.
I have a question.
So, do mascots ever fight on the ice?
No, dude, there was a full mascot brawl at All-Star Weekend.
Oh, yeah.
And, dude, we've talked about this so many times.
We are petitioning and campaigning for a mascot Royal Rumble.
Tell me you wouldn't fucking watch.
I want to be like WWE.
I would pay money.
Me too.
I think families.
All-Star Weekend, like all the little gimmicks that they do.
Yeah, yeah.
Put all of the mascots in a ring and let them.
them fight to the death. I think families
would bring their kids to games more if
part of the NHL experience was there's
the mascots have like a celebrity death
match type fight of chaos. And also
if you could bet on that too?
Yeah, dude.
Take all my money. Take all of it. Take all of that
dude. Yeah, yeah, yeah. All right, AJ.
Been an absolute pleasure. It's great
to have a Cracken fan here with us and let's just say
this. Go Cracken tonight.
If they win, we're going to see out. Spunk on.
Can you think about this? You don't have to do this real
in real time, but just think about this for us. We're looking
for like a spunk-on type rally and cry that involves spunk.
Fear the spunk, you know, spread the spunk.
We don't know what it is yet.
We're crowd sourcing.
Spread the spunk.
Spread the spunk, shoot the spunk.
Sure.
You know, I'll text my friend group and see what we come up with.
You'll get a good answer.
Yeah, yeah.
I like it.
Cool.
All right.
Go cracking.
Go cracking.
It was a pleasure.
Go crack.
I love it.
All right.
Spunk.
Spunk.
Spunk, spunk.
Spunk.
Go.
Okay.
Now the big one.
We're here, baby.
Drum roll.
Oh, please.
Cain's Devils.
And Dan, we were at Game 4,
and I can't believe they went with V-Tec.
That is almost literally all I have to say about this series.
Almost.
Things are bleak in New Jersey.
It was a brutal, brutal game for Shalact.
Shalact, 6-1.
And I can't believe they went with V-Tec.
I cannot believe it.
It is so, so brutal.
It looks like such a bad decision by Lindy Ruff.
And I'll also say this, Chris.
Dude, I don't want to get murdered in here
because we're at a devil's bar.
We're in New Jersey.
I love you guys.
We're so happy to be here.
The energy in the Prudential Center was future.
And we talked to multiple people
who had been at game seven and at game three,
and they said it was fucking wild in there.
It was insane.
And let me also say this.
I'm going to say this one quietly because I don't want devil's fans to hear me.
Everyone who listens to this podcast knows my feelings on adults wearing hockey jerseys.
Never in my life.
Have I seen so many fucking hockey jerseys on adult human beings at a hockey game?
Holy shit.
The Prudential Center was literally 70.
percent hockey jerseys red this is why it was of the jersey's emerald this is why i despise new jersey i hate
everybody here sorry to anyone from new jersey who's a fan of this podcast but i'm from new jersey so
i'm allowed to say this this is why i despise new jersey natives in that way it was a sea of devil's red red
the entire stadium part of me is like great good for you but just these like down and dirty new jersey people
wearing all of these hockey jerseys,
it was despicable.
I put it on the story while we were there.
I have a question.
I have a question.
If you had a really, really sexy,
Victoria's secret model girlfriend
and she bought you,
she bought you a Bruins jersey,
a custom Bruins jersey,
what would you do?
Wait, wait, yeah, yeah.
I would shadow box it and frame it in my house.
You would shadow box a jersey
with your name and number on the back?
If it was a gift from a loved one,
You would fucking hang a Jerry Brewing jersey with your name on the back.
No, dude.
This is what we always say.
It's a gift, dickhead.
What if she wanted you to wear it?
I would not.
I would look her in the eyes.
What if she said I would break up with you if you don't wear this?
I would go like this.
Fine.
The person I meant to be with would know that I would never wear something so embarrassing.
But I've not.
I've said, and I've already been made fun of on this pod for this,
but I said if she buys that and she wants to wear it and wear only that,
that it works for me.
I know you hate it, and so do you.
Pervert.
Pervert.
And where only that.
Absolutely disgusting.
I have no words.
But it was, listen, it was mortifying.
That said, let's get into the game.
Well, Dan, I will say this too, though.
Obviously, I can hear people already saying, like, yeah, it's 6-1, dude.
Like, there's not like the place this barn's going to be rocking.
It's 6-1 canes.
Early, dude.
You won nothing.
You won nothing, generals.
It was, like, quiet in there.
It was quiet.
there was zero energy
and then like the second it got tied
it was like oh well we're dead
would you say this though
I'm just thinking about it now
at least when it was 1-0
V-TEC will make a save and there were
a few like V-TECA
like they were pretty fired about that
but that's about it
it wasn't raucous at all dude and like Jersey people
you're going to hate to hear this but like we said we were at
the Kings Oilers game 6
where the Kings lost
and that place was a
zoo. Bedlam in there, dude. Bedlam.
So, I mean, I don't think Jersey fans will be happy that they got out fanned by L.A. fans,
but you did. So we were, uh, devils, shout out the devils, uh, threw us in a suite,
great seats. They, the people in there in the suite with us were fired up. They were like
legit, legit devil fans fired up, ready to rock. Um, and I really appreciated their
fandom. Um, everyone in there seemed frustrated about VTAC too. Uh, so that was,
That was tough to see.
Everyone was calling for Asoka early.
I'm surprised that the devils...
I mean, dude, you had every chance to jump on this thing.
Level this baby up.
Steal all the momentum.
You always say, everyone always says,
series don't start until someone wins on the road.
They were ready to take that one
and just keep this thing holding serve.
Jack, Jack, our boy, Jack, scores early.
And, dude, that second period was an unmitigated disaster.
It was off.
The entire energy.
in the building, the entire game, the entire series
swung in that 20 minutes.
Just a staggering
result. And
a couple, one or two of those weren't V-Tex fault, but
a lot of them were, I felt like.
I thought tons of them were. And again,
he hasn't played good all playoffs.
Dude.
Listen, man,
the devils in this game looked good for about
10 minutes. They got on the board early.
Jack Hughes, tip in from Timom Meyer, two of your
big boys get on the board.
but dude
it was just
it was downhill
immediately after the first goal
you tie
the canes tie it up
stretch pass from you
Luke Hughes through the neutral zone
really really bad change by him
turnover from the cloud
Luke is changing
but like if you watch the replay man
and listen dude you're getting your sea legs
you're a rookie
really lazy change from Luke
he's watching the play
he actually didn't look great in game four
I thought he looked great in game three
but he didn't look great in game three but he didn't look great in
I just go ahead and finish my thought before you interrupt me again.
That was helpful.
It's a lazy change from Luke.
He kind of lollygags over to the bench.
Then when he sees the puck get picked off, McLeod turns it over.
He doubles back, but then he's way late.
Natchez's his by him, boom goal.
And great finish from Natchez's.
Don't get me wrong.
But from there, it was just awful, awful, awful stuff from the Devils.
The second goal, second Natchez's goal,
Pallot is helping back on.
D, really bad step from him trying to intercept the pass.
Player gets behind him.
Sloppy help from Dougie Hamilton.
He's not getting back to where he needs to be.
And for me, that was just a bit of an example of how the game went for the Devils.
Horrible coverage all game long.
Lazy, lazy skates all over the ice.
Felt like Carolina was buzzing all over them.
And what's nuts, man, is this kind of goes to V-Tech.
To your point about V-Tech.
The canes are so good.
So good.
They've been good all season long.
They've been good all playoffs long.
But what's interesting about this team is they're not beating the shit out of teams.
And it seems weird to say that when you look at a storeline like 6'1,
but they're just taking their opportunities.
Yeah.
They find mismatches.
They find lazy defense.
They find turnovers and they capitalize.
And then they play a very sound five-on-five game.
They're not grinding you into the boards.
They're not out hitting you like crazy.
They're not a power play machine like the Oilers.
Yep, they're not a power play machine.
They just find their opportunities and they kill you.
And this is an example of Death by a Thousand Paper Cuts with the 6-1 win.
And, dude, you look at the stats of this game, 26 giveaways by the devils.
Do you have any idea how bad that is?
More giveaways than shots.
It's absolutely insane.
26 giveaways in a game.
Obviously, you're losing fucking 6 to 1.
And that is this drunk mentality we keep talking about with this devil's team.
They're running around like lunatics, and I love it because sometimes it works.
But other times, when you're just firing pucks around,
trying to throw stretch passes through the neutral zone through three different players,
they get picked off, you start turning the puck over,
and when you do it against the team that's as good as the Carolina Hurricanes,
they're going to make you pay every single time, the ultimate price.
And they did that in this game, and that's why the hurricanes are so good,
and that's why they're going to make it hurt every single time.
It was game one all over again for me.
22 shots, 19 shots in game one, 22 shots in game four.
Absolutely no jump from the squad.
Carolina capitalizing on every opportunity.
I thought Osoka played pretty good.
He got cheesed by Martinuk when he came in off that.
That was kind of like a dagger goal at the end there.
But otherwise, Osama played pretty good.
You can't succeed with untrustworthy goal he play, but you need offense too.
Luke, I thought he said it.
Luke's a dash three.
Dougie was two, so it's not like it was just Luke,
but Luke's a dash three and looked every bit of dash three.
The devils aren't getting enough.
Game three is kind of like an anomaly because they scored eight fucking goals.
But the devils aren't getting enough high danger chances for me.
No.
Like I watch these games and like obviously they have like three goals across the three L's.
But like even their misses.
It's not like I'm like, damn, Freddy stood on his fucking head again.
I'm just like they don't get chances.
They don't get scary chances.
We watch that game.
at that game, I should say, every
ooh, ah, moment
was a devil's save or a hurricane's goal.
Like there was no action on the other end of the ice.
And that's not it.
I'm shocked.
Freddie, well, Ranta, I think,
was just still sick. We don't know.
I was shocked Freddie got the start
after, like, clearly looking tired in game three.
Pre-game skate, and I haven't checked yet
because we've been potting, pre-game skate,
Freddie was the guy.
So, like, they might start him again.
Osoka was the pregame skate starter
with fucking Blackwood backing up, by the way.
Vitex aren't even dressing tonight.
If morning skate has it,
I know that can change, but crazy turn of events there.
But if I'm New Jersey, I'm like, dude,
we, Carolina is tougher than I thought.
I said this last episode, like, Carolina is sick.
But if you're a Jersey, you're like, come on.
Like, we are faster.
We have talent.
They have Freddie Anderson.
Dude, like 20 shots and one goal.
You cannot win this series that way.
Here's the thing I wanted to bring up to you.
We got to sit down on one of my good buddies from home from college,
played hockey with me.
Luke Mencken.
What about Mencken?
He had an awesome staff for me that I didn't check, that I didn't know.
Game one, Jack Hughes played like, you know, 20-something, 20 minutes or whatever.
12 minutes of his entire ice time.
Jordan Stahl was on the ice, too.
Game two, 11 minutes of Jack Hughes' entire ice.
time. Jordan Stahl was on the ice too. Game three, when Devils had last change,
two minutes. Jordan Stahl was on the ice. And the Devils win. I don't have the game
for a number. And obviously it didn't work. They lost. But people that don't quite get
what Home Ice does in the NHL, it's that.
Jordan Saul is out there every time Jack Hughes is out there in tonight, in Carolina.
Can Jack Hughes, is Jack Hughes good enough to perform when Jordan Stahl's on the ice?
Absolutely. He could have fucking five points tonight. But I'm just saying it's that much harder.
And don't sleep on how good Jordan Saul is at equalizing players.
Jordan Stahl has done this his entire career.
He did it against the Bruins last year.
He's done it every single series
of his playoff career.
Frankly, he is a phenomenal defensive center
and he will frustrate your best player.
And it's going to come down to what you said.
Last step, Jack, Jordan's going to be on the S.
You'd be 15 minutes tonight.
Do you want to be that guy?
Are you like, oh, I got neutralized by Jordan Stahl?
And that's no knock on Jordan Stahl.
He neutralizes some of those stories in the league.
But do you want to be that guy?
Yeah.
And that's what sucks about that loss last night
because you had the change
and you had the matchups you wanted and you got pumped.
Hey, he got a goal.
Yeah, he got his.
So, like, Jack, yeah, Jack is that guy.
Yeah, it's everyone else.
And I really think that last game was a complete defensive meltdown by the devil.
It was.
They were puck watching.
They looked tired, dude.
It was weird.
They were puck watching all night long.
They looked tired.
They didn't look ready at all.
The last thing I'll say to close this one out is what you touched on early.
It's all about the goalie situation.
Lindy rough, you are a fucking idiot for starting V-Tech.
We said two episodes ago, we said,
that last episode, Vitech has looked horrible.
Every single game, these playoffs,
how do you, I don't give a shit about that win.
We said it, he got scored on four times in very like,
dude, just make a save in an 8-4 win.
Go right back to Schmead, it's obvious.
And dude, it looks like he's fucking health-bomb this game.
I'm going to be so annoyed when we hear something,
whether it be after winning the Stanley Cup,
after winning this round, after losing this round, whatever.
when the devils are done in the playoffs
when we hear, oh, Vtex has been injured all playoffs,
I'm going to be so annoyed.
But here's the deal, dude.
He cannot play.
Yeah, correct.
Simply cannot play.
You start Schmead, you live and die by Schmead.
If you lose this game tonight and you start Schmead, don't care.
Anyone who has a problem with that is a moron
because I'll tell you what, watching that game live,
every single time the Carolina Hurricanes got the puck with a scoring opportunity.
They scored.
They scored.
It was so devastating.
It was fucking crazy.
Like the Brett Burns goal was like, oh, the puck came out to the point.
And it was like, is this going to go in?
And it just went in.
Directly in.
I'm like, dude, V-Tech, you are Swiss cheese, buddy.
And it's like, and everyone knew it.
You're in the stands.
We were in the box.
And everyone was like, get this fucking guy out.
And it sucks because he is so awesome.
Such an amazing pro.
Such an amazing guy by all accounts.
Everyone's loved him all season long and he deserves all of those accolades.
But, dude, you are not performing in the playoffs.
So get him out.
The one guy who's gotten you legitimate wins is sitting right there, play him.
And it looks like they're doing that tonight.
And that is the smart decision.
And hopefully they get a win because of them.
Who you got tonight?
I'm looking at all of these Devils fans.
Plug your ears.
Plug your ears.
I think I got the Keynes.
Really?
Yeah.
It's hard to pick against them at home when they've looked so much, so much better in three of the four games.
And they looked like barely worse in the one Devil's win.
I will, and I know the playoffs are weird
because you get momentum and shit, I will say
it is fucking
mind-blowing that the
islanders could take the canes to six
and the devils could get gentlemen swept.
That is literally bottling, putting my
brain in a bottle with a ship
pasting into the sails and fucking
flying away into Never, Neverland.
That makes no sense to me.
But it is hard for me to pick against the canes
but because I refuse to do that when I am
here tonight. Come on, boys.
Give me Devils in Olin'E.
T. 4-3.
I love that pick.
All right, with that guys, that's it for us today at the Empty Netters podcast.
Thank you so much to the Wicked Wolf Tavern here in Hoboken, New Jersey.
This has been an unbelievable time.
We're going to say it because we're here in Jersey.
Go Devils.
Let's keep this series going.
Let's keep playoff hockey going.
It's been mayhem.
It's been nonsense.
And it's been fucking electric and fun.
To all of you out there, but especially the Devils in White tonight, skate hard.
