Empty Netters Podcast - 35. Protect Our Goalies
Episode Date: May 19, 2023Big news in Toronto as Kyle Dubas looks to be out the door as the Maple Leafs GM. The Coyotes may no longer be the desert dogs as Tempe rejects their bid for a 2.3 billion dollar entertainment distric...t. The Panthers and Hurricanes start off the playoffs with the most electric 4 OT game 1 imaginable. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by our incredible sponsors, Labat Blue Light, without a doubt, the number one beer to drink, not just while you're watching hockey, but at any time a day, at any time of night.
It has the most crisp, cool taste that you can ever expect to get from a Pilsner, brewed fresh in Canada.
What do you think about this beer?
Dan, I love it so much, and I do feel like it's having a moment.
Everywhere I look, there's Labat Blue.
And I know these other beer companies, some of them are like, wait till something turns blue.
I got news for you.
Labat's blue all the time, baby.
Oh, yeah.
Have a grab and you're going to really, really enjoy yourself.
You're going to feel the Canadian kindness right in every sip.
It's brewed into every sip, that's why.
But you're absolutely right, man.
It's born blue.
And it tastes absolutely incredible.
Labat blue light believes in the fact that you don't need to sacrifice taste when you have a nice light, crisp beer.
And that's exactly what they do.
They put unbelievable amounts of Canadian kindness and delicious taste into every single can,
every single bottle and every single tap.
Guys, if you don't know where to get Labat Blue,
pop onto their store locator.
Unbelievable element they got on that website.
You can pump it in, type in your location,
figure out where the closest Labat Blue lights are
that you can go by.
You can find out what bars have it
where you can go and get a nice crisp Labat Blue light.
But here's the deal.
We're in the middle of the conference finals
in the NHL Stanley Cup playoffs.
There is no better beer to enjoy
while you're watching some puck.
So grab a Labat Blue light,
put on some of your Labat Blue swag.
that we are dripped out in and enjoy the best tasting beer you could ever hope for while you're
watching these hockey games.
And then while you're just hanging around at the house or at the bar, because it is top-notch,
top-shelf, just like your favorite goals of these playoffs.
Cheers, boys.
Cheers.
We are back, baby, at the Empty Netters podcast.
Look at me.
I feel like I'm in the doo lab right now.
I don't know what time it is.
I don't know where I am.
My head is spinning.
My brain is mush.
I got a concussion on Tuesday.
And then we watched a hockey game that lasted about 17 blue moons.
This is unbelievable.
Game one of the conference finals.
We got four overtimes.
This shit is out of control.
And we are back to pot it out.
How do you feel?
Dude, you know what?
That reminded me of last night living on the East Coast and being up till 3 a.m.
watching playoff games.
And you're just going like this.
Can you please just fucking end?
No, no, dude, no, me and Briar were already talking about this.
Once we hit two overtimes, I'm like this 10.
20, 20, go, keep going.
I hope they're still playing when I wake up.
Once you lose your mind, you've got to just go deeper down the hole.
I wish that had been the West Coast game.
Yeah.
Because people would have been waking up for work on Friday and been like this,
is this game still on?
Living?
And the answer would have been, yeah.
Dude, it was 2 a.m. for those people on these kids.
You know what fucking sucks too.
I, when we were kids, I remember, like, you know, late playoff games and anything.
I guess it probably was only hockey that went this long.
But, like, I feel like there were some Red Sox games that went a billion extra innings or something.
And I just remember dad going to bed.
And I'd be like, and our dad's a huge Boston sports fan.
And I was like, what are you just going to bed?
Dude, the fucking socks were in the 15th inning.
The Bruins were in the fourth overtime.
And it was just because he's an adult with a job in the morning and stuff.
And I was just a little kid.
and it didn't matter.
And it was devastating that I was texting some of my friends that are East Coasters
that are Panthers fans and Keynes fans because I got buddies in both areas being like,
are you watching this madness?
And I got texting this morning like, dude, I had to go to bed.
And I was like, oh, yeah, we're adults now.
That was really crushing.
That's a really tough realization.
Yeah.
I was like, oh, you missed this, dude?
Yeah, dude.
I have work at 6 a.m.
I was like, fair.
Fucking brutal.
All right, listen.
we've got to get into this game, but before that, we got some breaking news and we got some bending news.
Yeah, okay.
Let's start with the breaking news.
Yeah, I am sad.
I'm at it, but I, you go, you go.
It has been reported that GM Kyle Dubis of the Toronto Maple Leafs will not be extended a new contract and will not be coming back to Toronto.
How do you feel?
What are your knee-jerk reactions to this?
I think I've said on this pod, and certainly to you both, most,
multiple times.
In my opinion, he did everything you could have asked him to do this season.
I saw a ton of comments on the Leaf's post about being like,
he created the problem,
which is fair,
you know,
like whatever cap situation they're in,
he created,
he's been at the helm for a while,
needing to splurge this year is on him,
whatever,
whatever,
whatever.
All I'm talking about is this season.
It looked to me like they were a very,
very good,
cup contending team they were missing a few pieces he went out and got every single one of those pieces
and we remember when we were doing the wears matthews segment and you had one episode where you were
like laying out what are the only scenarios he would stay like losing the first round he's leaving
when the cup he's leaving because he's like job done whatever and it was this middle ground
to to me the dubest thing was like get out of the first round if you get out of the first round
you keep your job
and I know you had said like
oh if you get swept
did you even get out of the first round
and you might get fired anyway
and they got gentlemen spanked
so that kind of sucks too
tough one for me though dude
teams often look that direction
when you're in trouble coach GM
bye bye bye bye and we said to
Epps ago or whatever it was where I'm like maybe look
inside maybe look internally here
I'm surprised not shocked
yes I think that that's the perfect
way to say it surprise not shocked
is really spot on.
I think this is a huge mistake.
Oh, cool.
I think Dubus has got a good thing going on.
I think he's got a good relationship with those guys.
If you were going to stick with those guys,
I'm just surprised that you would let go of Dubus.
I think he cares so much.
I'm sort of about to say that.
I really love every time it cuts up to him up in the box.
He's losing his shit.
He clearly loves this team.
He wants their success.
And I'm with you, man.
We talked about it during the trade deadline.
He did his job.
He went out and got the pieces to get them out of the first round, and they got out of the first round.
It sucks that they got the old gentleman sweep.
But I think he did enough to save his job.
I would have been very curious to see what he would do now this summer.
We talked about all those things with the...
Everyone says the core four, but I think it's really the core five.
I would have loved to have seen what he would have done there.
So I'm not shocked.
I am surprised.
I think he deserved another.
kick at the can one more year. If you're going to give these players one more year,
you're not going to give Dubus one more year. Like,
dubus made the moves to get you into that next round. But he'll get another job quick,
dude. I think he is a great GM. And I think he'll land on his feet somewhere. It is going
to be very, very curious who they bring in and then what happens? Because Keith is gone,
no doubt. Whoever they hire, Keith is fired. And then I'll be curious to see if a GM comes in
and fucking blows this shit up.
Or if they're just like,
oh, yep, here are the guys.
I'll make it work.
And I'll be like, okay, dude,
I bet you will.
That's what I was right about to ask you.
Obviously,
we had just said that I felt like
Dubus needed to make some trades there,
even if he stayed.
But who do you think is more likely
to rip that core in half?
A Dubus returning or a new GM coming in?
I think Dubus returning.
but that's not to say that I couldn't see it.
I think it's a new GM coming in.
Yeah, because they have no attachment.
And you come in like, what am I just going to run the same?
It's when you get a new CEO at the company and you're like, we're all fired, obviously,
because they're going to come in and clean house and bring in their guys.
You know, I bet a new GM comes in just like, fucking, I'm making the Leafs into what I see the Leafs says.
Do you think, though, that Toronto is such a volatile market that a new GM would be afraid of walking,
like stepping in the door and being like this, hey, everyone, by the way,
Matthews is traded.
Nealander is traded.
You would have anarchy on your hands with the fan base.
So I could see it going both ways.
But either way, yeah, I think that there is a chance now with dubus out the door,
there is a chance of big time mix up going on over there, which is pretty crazy.
Hell yeah.
All right.
On to the bending news.
This happened earlier this week, which is why it's not as breaking.
The Yotes might.
I really liked that term.
I didn't get it.
it at first? Is that a thing
everyone says? No, I was just trying to have some fun.
That was good. Bending news? Yeah,
because it's not breaking.
Oh, I didn't even catch that.
I just got it this time. I actually thought it was a hockey term. I just didn't know.
I was like, I don't know what that means. Thanks, guys.
And then now I got it.
It's just trying to get some wordplay there.
That was wonderful.
Well, yes, earlier this week, we learned that the Yotes, my desert dogs, might not be desert dogs anymore.
They might not even be dogs anymore.
No, I guess you're right. Maybe they wouldn't, yeah.
But can I read you? Can I read you something from an article?
So the Arizona Coyotes were confident. More than two decades of instability were coming to a close.
A yes vote on a referendum for an entertainment district would allow the franchise to finally build its own arena.
When Tempe voters said no in an election, the team was left in shock and with no clear path of the future.
What is next for the franchise will be evaluated by owners and the national hockey league over the coming weeks.
Coyote's president and CEO Xavier Gutierrez said.
So there were three ballots on this Tempe vote to build this new entertainment center.
I think it was a $2.3 billion entertainment district, not just the arena.
Yeah.
But it was going to give the Yots a home.
Seems like things were going pretty well at playing in Mollett.
By that, I mean being in Tempe.
Tempe's got ASU.
It's a good vibe, great bars, good environment, lots of fans, lots of sports.
sports entertainment and sports
culture there
and it sounds like the Yotes were like this is
a lock like we got this we've got our home
and it got voted down
and now the Yotes
might be leaving Arizona
I was really bummed to hear this news
and then weirdly
really pleased to see how many people were
upset. Clayton Keller tweeting
out like the face like being like
legit upset and then
we had Yans
on Chicklet's game notes talking to Army
and Yans had played for the Yotes
for a long time and he was
saying how he loves it there
the players love it there. He was like I would say
90% of the guys in this league would love
to play in Arizona. It's a great place to have kids
to start a family, to buy a home
and I'm surprised
dude. It's like it's hard
to say that after the last 10 years
of just nonsense that's been going on
with the Yotes. But
I think it's fair to say that there's been
nonsense going on because
they've been bouncing around
these aren't even theirs
and this was a chance to establish
a home base so I'm sad
I'm sad for them
super bummed the obviously there's two sides to every story
and but but when you look at
what was being promised I would put this on the story
but it's like jobs
tax benefits
like you said apartments hotels everything
and the voters apparently were like
well we think there's hidden tax
the whole proposal was like there's no burden
there's no tax the taxpayers will not take this burden and the voters were like you're lying yeah bullshit and
i don't know the i'm not i'm not a real estate mogul i don't know the answer to that um but it sucks uh
i i hear the world like those Arizona need hockey like i have had a lot of friends being like
oh great the cup's going back to florida you know like i get that big hockey fans don't
necessarily love when these warm climate non hockey regions have good hockey teams but that's a cool
city and cool places can have cool sports teams. I think that's fun. Um, it like I, I, my biggest
sadness is, I think it's cool that Matthews is from there and then like Cutter Gautier is from
there. And there's, as a few other guys too that in that, that region. And I'm like, tons of guys
train there. Like I love that when you're like, whoa, dude, it's coming a little hockey hotbed.
Absolutely. And I'm like, why now, dude? And I, you know, the voter spoke. That's why now.
But like, oh, it felt like if you just kept the team there, we could see great talent from there in the future.
Yeah.
And I feel like the legs just got cut out of that.
I agree.
It's not over, by the way.
It's not over.
I just did feel like Tempe was the spot.
That would have been so fun, I think.
Phoenix, Glendale, you know, we've dabbled in that before.
And it was kind of like, just go there.
I think the Yotes belong in the NHL personally.
Oh, yeah.
I think those jerseys belong in the NHL.
I think that they belong in Arizona.
I think Arizona is a cool spot to have hockey.
My biggest thing, dude, I hate, with the exception of Quebec, I hate every single city that's being floated out there.
What do you got?
I got a few for you.
There's been some people with talks of Hamilton in Canada.
And I'm like, I actually, there's part of me that's like, oh, I respect like a new Canadian city.
Like that would be kind of fun Hamilton getting an NHL team.
But like, no, I don't want that.
Houston,
fuck off.
I like growing the game in Texas,
but not Houston.
Go to Austin,
dude.
Yeah.
Austin having a hockey team
would be fucking electric.
I mean,
you see McConaughey getting involved
with all the stuff going on in Austin,
Austin FC,
all of a sudden you have an NHL team
down in Austin.
Keep it the Yotes,
the Austin Coyotes.
That would be fucking sick.
McConaughey can buy them.
If you're going to Texas,
go to Austin is how I feel.
Patrick Mahomes tweeted some shit like,
oh,
the coyotes would look good.
and Casey, if there is a fucking
NHL team in Kansas City, I will
puke. Oh, why? I don't hate that one.
Dude, like, I don't need
some Casey St. Louis
fucking bullshit rival. Like, I
despise that. I hate it
with a fiery passion. Great fans, though.
No, they're trash.
Everything is trash about that.
Dude, no, that's wrong. I'm so out
on that crap fucking city.
Get out of my face. Can't stand
that at all.
The other ones that have been
floated. What are some of the other ones? Again, I like Quebec. And if they make them
the Nordiques and they make them the Quebec Nordiques, that will be cool. I'm in. I agree. That's not
my top choice, but I can live with that. I saw Hamilton. I saw Halifax, which actually is so
close to where we're from. And I was like, oh, cool, but like Halifax is tiny. That would be
nonsense. Yeah, no way. Quebec would be awesome.
Oh, I saw Salt Lake City. Oh, that's cool. Yeah, someone brought that up to us at
hockey the other night. That's a fun, that's a fun town. I like that. I saw Portland, Oregon, which I think
would not hate that. Would not hate that at all. Portland's a great, great city. The one con I saw was,
and this is up for interpretation, but it was like, we just gave them, we just gave the Pacific Northwest
Seattle. So do you like, do you fracture that fan base? Because everyone in Portland is probably rooting
for Seattle now. And you're like, oh, like the pro is it creates a sick rivalry. But the con
is like we're trying to build that
team and now you're like oh whatever
I also saw Milwaukee
which has like the bucks
and the brewers
is that it right I guess the Packers are close
whatever but like that you know that that's a
hockey region you know a Wisconsin team
would be cool so I was like I could get down with that
but that was about and I don't hate Casey
I don't hate Casey just because it's
proven so out of Casey
but those are the only ones that I was
intrigued by are they a proven
Sports City, dude.
Yeah.
Fucking,
they get Patrick Mahomes
and now there's a bunch
of Chiefs fans,
blow me.
There have always been
Chiefs fans, dude.
They've always been Chiefs fans.
They've had
Jamal Charles and
Rich Thames for a long time.
God, they were goaded.
Yeah.
That was sick.
But yeah,
so I could do,
I could do Milwaukee,
I could do Portland,
I could do Quebec.
Keep a Manzona
and if not go to Austin.
That's my bid.
That's my pitch to the NHO.
Okay.
I like it.
That's that.
All right, let's get into this game.
Let's do it.
Game one, Eastern Conference Finals,
Carolina Hurricanes, Florida Panthers.
You couldn't have asked for anything better.
Unbelievable start.
I don't think that this game could have gone better.
Credit to me.
Shout out me.
Picking that Panthers money line.
Dude, you know what brings a man great joy.
Tell me.
When the over under is five and a half,
you have the under,
and it goes to OT at 2.2.
Oh yeah.
That brings a man.
That brings a man
great joy.
Nice.
You had like an hour
in a basket.
Dude,
I literally.
True.
No matter what happens.
All the chances.
I was like,
that doesn't matter.
It doesn't matter.
So yes, Dan,
I agree.
The Keynes went up
one nothing in this game.
Both teams coming in
were undefeated
in the playoffs this year
when scoring first.
So that was a big swing.
They went up one nothing
on the power play.
It wasn't quite,
a five on three, but it was a few seconds
after the five on three expired and still five on four.
And I have a couple things for you about that.
The cross check on
Ekblad to make it five on three.
So trash. Was
bullshit.
Yeah.
Especially a man down.
Do you believe,
I won't even state my opinion yet?
I've always felt like in soccer
there's a thing that can happen
that is a foul in the field that isn't
a foul in the box because that would be a penalty.
100% agree with that.
Okay.
And for me, there, and I know not everybody does, but I do too.
For me, there are things that happen in a hockey game that are a penalty when you're
even strength and are not a penalty when you're already manned down.
And that is exactly what that is.
100% agree.
Yeah, I could not be with you more.
To me, it's like overtime.
There's things that aren't penalties in overtime either.
And the fucking refs were calling penalties in overtime.
I mean, I get there was over another game.
So maybe you had to call a few, but calling a penalty.
when a team's already manned down, especially
one, like, just like, clear out the front of that.
And that wasn't even hard.
Dude. Like, that was a, who was that on the canes?
I remember. Because that was a fucking flop, first of all. And shame on you for flop.
Dude, it was, it was a little pop.
And, like, you could see, like, he was just shaking his head. Like, are you fucking
kidding me? You're going to gift them a goal here. Because if you don't score on five on three,
you need to go home and sit in a corner and think about what you've done. You fool.
So, you're essentially gifting them a goal. And while it was,
just after expired, it was because of the five-offrey that they scored. So yeah, that, I thought
that was trash. And I swear it was only, like, he hits him, it's like a flop or whatever. And by the
way, to be clear, sometimes, if you're not ready for it, I have been like, oh, you know, if you get
surprised by like a pop in the back, you're on skates, dude, like you can go down. So flop, whatever,
surprised by it. But then he hit Bob and like Bob went flying. And I feel like the ref was
like, oh shit, Bob went flying. I got to call something, but it definitely wasn't on,
like he definitely got hit into him. So I'm just going to call Ekblad. And I was like, no, this is just a
very simple get up everybody.
Yeah.
So yeah, that was...
I'm with you.
I also thought the Goudis clear right before that was so pathetic.
And listen, I've got something to say about Goudis here.
That play to me felt a little bit like the karma gods, because Goudis is playing with fire.
He is, dude.
That guy has been a pest all playoffs.
And then in Game 5 against Toronto, he has a egregious hold on that.
stick of the defender in OT that leads to the cousin's goal. Then he screams in Wall's face.
And all game this game, he's holding sticks. He's slashing people in the back of the legs.
He's out of control. So that that really limp dick rim around the boards. Dude, no, but it wasn't
even a rim. Oh yeah. He went to go right up the middle. It looks like, and I've been there, dude,
when you're like, I've been on both ends of it, right? When your power, when your power play point guy,
you just want to keep it in so bad. So you try to jump. I'm like, I know he's going to rim that.
So I know Grudis was like, oh, Burns, he's probably cheating.
Yeah. He's expecting the rim.
So watch this.
Right up the middle.
I'm going to roll a backhand right through this slot.
And I was like, flat.
Are you fucking kidding?
Flat and pus on the ice.
That was like such a heroic momentum kill.
You just killed a fucking five on three.
And I was like, wow.
And then you give a beautiful slot pass.
Get it out right here and you win that game, eight nothing.
And then he goes like this, dude.
But here you go.
Just rolling one, putt, putt, right up the gut, dude.
So brutal.
Literally everyone in the officer was like this, this is a goal.
Like the second.
that puck got rolled up.
Blind, dude.
No look.
That's my shit, bro.
I couldn't believe that play.
That was awful.
He got burned there on that one.
Sick ripped by Jarvis, though.
Not a big deal.
Last thing I want to say about that,
Carolina was
18.9% in the power play
was coming in 18.9%
in the power play was two for 12
in the second round, 16.7%.
They went two for six last night.
And Florida's PK
was horrible against Boston.
horrible, but was actually over 80%
against Toronto, so they're improving a little bit.
Something to keep an eye on, because Carolina's power play was bad all year.
They'll be glad they got two last night.
They'll be mad that that's the only goals they scored.
They got nothing even strength, and they'll be madder
that they had two power plays in overtime.
Admittedly, I think Jarvis hit the post in the one in the first OT.
Yes.
But when everyone is gassed in OT4, you have to score on the power.
Dude, the amount of texts I got, because there was,
correct me if I'm wrong,
there were multiple times in that overtime stretch where it was three on three.
Dude, no.
Okay.
So I was watching this.
We were, well, we'll get to the megacast in second, but we had a hockey game last night.
So Dan couldn't play because he was a little conkey boy.
And I went to the game.
And it was one of those things.
It's funny in the hockey world when you go to a beer league game and there's a sick playoff game.
I want to correct what I was saying.
I think you're going to say what I was saying.
There was multiple times in that game where.
the TV and like
telecasts were saying three on.
Dude, so I, we're sitting.
I'm concussed.
Yeah, we're sitting in the ring.
I was getting a thousand texts
being like, dude, I thought overtime wasn't
three on three and I'm watching the game, which I shouldn't
have been doing. Yeah. And I was like,
it's not. What are you talking about? But like,
I guess on game cast,
it was saying three at three years. Dude, so we
were sitting there. We're all like in the
ring watching the TV for third overtime. It ends.
And then we go into the locker room and we all have the
fucking, I'm like listening
on the radio, you know, on NHL app.
And fourth O T starts, and it says
three on three. And I was like, yo, what the fuck?
And I was like, oh, there's two penalties.
And then Kit was like, there's no penalties on there.
And our goalie was like, Parrish is like,
did they switch to three on three?
Like, once it gets to, it's kind of like,
dude, MLB where they're like,
yo, put a guy in second.
Like, let's get this shit over with.
I was genuinely second guessing everything in my life.
Same.
I was watching the game.
But then, like, times I'd be looking away,
I'd be like this, oh, maybe there's a bunch of penalties.
But then there weren't penalties.
And then people were like, did they,
changed the rules this year and I was like no and then I was like wait do I not know that they
changed the rule it was mayhem dude at one point NHL up clean that up at one point it was using there was
like 17 minutes left on my broadcast and it said three on three but I was just radio I was like game
casting and then kit pulls it up on his screen he's like dude there's five guys out here and I was like
oh yeah you're right but then I saw kit was a little behind and then on cue Florida took that penalty
whoever like for Hagee took that hooking penalty and I was like wait are four penalties
literally to be called in the next 30 seconds and then we're like no no no this is all
bullshit, but that was rattling.
And for guys that are drunk on long OT games,
I'm glad they're not fucking
with that because keep playing forever, please,
and thank you.
But yeah, that was confusing as fuck.
Confusing as fuck.
All right, well, like Chris said, we were on the
NHL Megacast last night, which was an absolute blast.
Shout out to that gang.
That was so much fun.
Can't wait to be back.
Shout out to everyone for watching too.
That was awesome.
That was awesome.
And keep it up.
In the second period, Panthers tied it up.
And like you said, Chris, the big boys
we're getting on the board.
Really unbelievable play by Duclair on the boards.
Again, dude.
Yes, I said it last series, dude.
This kid is a killer right now.
Diggs the puck out, dishes it over to Barkov for a goal, you know, who had the assist on that.
Secondary assist on that.
I don't know.
Verhege.
Yep.
And then.
Oh, yeah.
I didn't know that.
Verhege.
The Grim Reaper.
The Grim Reaper himself, dude, comes in, pots the go-ahead goal.
They go up 2-1.
And then, like C.P. said,
Cain's tie it in the third on another power play goal, two, two.
Silky, silky, silky power play.
Yes, it was.
But then we head into overtime.
Dude, I wanted to tell you this.
This to me, before you say that, felt like the, we always talk about, and people in the hockey,
I always talk about win the overtime in the first minute.
Just jump out hard and win.
I would have put every cent I own that these two sound scrappy teams would have taken care
of business.
immediately, but then it turned out that their sound and scrappy gameplay just equalized each other
for literally an extra hockey game and then something.
And they kind of did, we'll get into the goal interference, but like they kind of did,
you know, like take care of it immediately.
And then they're like, not so fast, my friend.
Yes.
So, dude, Kane scored that power play goal with 1613 left in the third to die it.
Maddie Kachuk didn't score until there was 12.7 seconds left in the fourth overtime.
That was 96 minutes.
of game clock later.
So I've seen...
Man, you know what, dude?
We always talk about how hockey's growing.
It's getting more and more popular.
But we need to keep growing the game.
We need to keep normalizing hockey,
making sure people understand how awesome
the NHL Stanley Cup playoffs are.
When shit like this happens
and people come out of the woodwork to text me,
it makes me so happy.
I know.
Because I'm like, yes, you guys are in.
You guys are liking this more than you think.
and dude, four OTs in the NHL is fucking so fun.
I've seen a lot.
I'm going to do a similar bit,
but I've seen a lot of,
that game was five hours and 46 minutes of real time.
Here's what you could have accomplished in five hours.
And it's like flight from L.A. to Boston, you know, like whatever.
But I actually like the game clock.
It was 96.
And this is not the whole game, dude.
This is between goals.
Like they tied it and then it was one,
96 minutes of game clock later.
So I'm going to give you some movies that are,
96 minutes or less runtime.
Okay.
Okay.
A quiet place.
90 minutes.
Moonrise Kingdom, 94.
Oh, my God.
Old school, 88.
Toy Story, 81.
Shockingly quick movie.
That's a short-ass movie.
Zombie Land 88.
Anchorman, 94.
Monsters Inc. 92.
Taken 90.
Friday, 91.
12 Angry Man, 96.
500 days of summer, 95.
dude you could watch this entire movie
of game time
after the second
uh canes goal was scored
before mattic i could have pressed play on any one of those movies
finished it only while the game was on too
like not like pause the movie during commercials
pause the movie during there's a whistle
yeah every time there's a whistle every whistle
and i would have finished the game this entire movie
and then you could chuck score quick shout out taken that's a clean 90 minutes
yeah here's one i put on for this list this is just for you frank 95 minutes
anyone that doesn't see Frank Brian
Frank is a fucking sick movie
I think I've seen that you never even heard of it dude
Frank is a Michael Fastbender movie with Maggie
Jillen Hall and Donald Leeson just pull up the
fucking art
The poster art
It's a movie about a indie rock
Or more like an indie
Not even rock band it's more like a
Yeah
Yeah yeah
Dono Lison's an aspiring musician
And he joins this band
where the lead singer of the band is Michael Fastbender
who wears a giant
Papier machet head the whole time.
Whole movie.
Dude,
it's like you get Michael Fastbiter in a movie
you're like, you're not, your face, not in it.
Not in it, dude.
Put this head on the entire time.
Incredible.
That's good fun.
That's a wild stat, dude.
You can watch this whole movie.
Yeah, of game time.
Yeah, just game time.
Yeah, that's absolutely bonkers.
Dude, okay.
So going into OT, you found the stat,
which is fucking amazing.
Panthers 4 and O in playoff overtimes
and have won seven straight OT games since 2000 or since 2021.
Ridiculous stat.
The Cains are 3 and O in playoff overtimes
and have won seven straight O'Ts since 2021.
Both undefeated this year.
Both have won seven in a row through 2021.
You've got ridiculous.
You've got these two teams coming into this OT
as confident as possible.
It's not surprising that they went this long.
But we got to talk about the goalie interference.
like you said immediately into OT
Panther score
this was goal interference
I think this was the right call
I think it's hard to dispute
that's one where I was like
this didn't take too long
actually took a little bit long
but there was no controversy
I don't think I don't even think
angry Paul Maurice
could have had anything to say about this
that was angry that was like a clear
goalie interference there was not a good effort made
to get out of the way of Anderson
it knocked Anderson off his axis
and then a puck gets put in an open net
because Anderson's just straight up out of his
I have a fucking spicy take about this dude
I have one counter
His foot
Colin White's foot
Hight's foot hits Freddy's rights skate
1,000%
and Colin White at the time is not
being pushed into Freddie Anderson's rights gate
I know there's a there's a Keynes defender right there
but that's that was on Colin White
just trying to get to the blue paint
like there's a defender there but that's not
that's not him being pushed
absolutely but you know someone has it i forget it's not maybe it is longberg but like someone
passes it to the front like freddie's over to the left right looking on the wall and some
someone passed it to the front towards lomburg and then freddie pushes right and the skate
clips kind of just before he pushes right like he's he's still to the left you feel the
skate clip and then freddie launches right even though the puck's kind of right in the slot
obviously he has to push that way anyway but all i'm saying is
is, like, watch this right here.
We're watching the replay.
To me, he's like, he feels that contact and then is looking for that contact.
But I think it's also, it's the connection on the blocker and the stick, too, that pulls him, like, that his body's getting pulled.
But white's, his body should be getting pushed that way, if anything.
What are you talking about, dude?
Like, he's getting, his top half is getting pulled down.
He's like panicking.
He's not sliding.
He's falling forward.
Okay.
And also, dude, if I'm a goalie and an opposing player comes in my crease and fucks with me,
I would stop playing.
Right.
Well, that's all I'm arguing.
I'm not saying it's the wrong call.
I think it's the right call,
but I'm saying he is doing what you're saying.
Like, I think Freddie felt that and goes like this.
Okay, I'm going to look.
I'm going to get the goal of interference here because like, fuck this.
Get out of my face.
There's two different skate contacts there and then full upper body contact.
That's fucking goal interference.
It's not even debating it.
No, I'm not debating it.
It is goal interference.
I'm saying he made sure it was.
As is his right.
It's his job.
I just think he wants that contact.
He's not getting pushed down.
Like that fall forward.
He's not getting pushed down.
but if you think
like White is making clear contact
with his elbow,
butt end of his stick,
blocker,
and paddle of his stick.
If you don't think that that's making him
tip over,
you're an idiot.
No,
he's flop.
That's a flop.
It's both,
dude.
He's flopping all over the place,
dude.
He wants that contact.
And that's a dangerous game,
but friendo.
Because, dude,
if you don't get that call,
you just lost the game.
Looking like LeBron last night.
Dude,
he's looking like LeBron up in here,
dude.
So anyway,
that gets called back
rightfully so.
and the game continues, we go into four, almost into five over times.
Absolute nonsense going on in this game.
We had posts, we had pipes, we had butt ends, we had unbelievable saves, so much shit that
kept this game going.
But I want to talk about my boy.
I have been riding Brandon Montor all playoffs.
This kid has been unbelievable lights out for the Panthers.
And in this game, he had a game high, 57 men.
minutes and 27 seconds of ice time.
That's almost an hour of ice time.
Dude, that is moronic.
Yeah.
Brandon Montor, 57 minutes and 27 seconds of ice time, across 65 shifts.
What was the score of that game?
3-2.
Brandon Montor was a plus three on the night.
Wow, I didn't know that.
That is fucking weird.
And he logged the 10th most playing time by a skater
in
NHL history.
Wow.
This kid has been
a killer
for the Panthers,
all playoffs,
and then he comes into
game one of the
Eastern Conference finals
and puts out that performance.
That is some
big boy shit, dude.
That's really cool.
The plus three is...
Electric.
Oh, dude.
He's a dog.
Wow.
Okay, agree with that.
I will say,
you brought up
the crazy chance.
is Verhagi had a monster chance.
I almost had to take his Grim Reaper
nickname from him
when he missed that shot.
Chuck snuck that one across him.
And the puck was a roll on him.
And he put it on frame.
Like, Freddy paddled it, which is just like
devastating. But that's a goal for Hegey.
Like, of all people, I was like he's obviously scoring this.
We got the goal from Maddie,
which was actually sick to see him get on the board.
I said that on the mega cast, by the way.
Yeah.
I was like he's going to show up big in this.
That was fucking fantastic.
And that's a rip, dude.
Like, I don't even know how he does that.
Like that he's, that puck's so in tight.
You know, he's like, Burns, he's right in his face.
He's got it right here.
He dragged it around the back of the skates of Burns.
And it almost like scoops it.
Like the way they tell you to not hit a golf club, like, let the loft do it.
Like he's like scooping that up.
Yeah.
It was so impressive.
Really sick.
I also loved how when he tucked, he immediately was pointing to the gate.
He was like this, we got to go to bed.
Dude, okay.
Everyone, everyone get out of here.
We got to go to bed.
The two things I want to say about that play were one, my knee jerk when I saw it with 10 seconds, dude.
And I know it's kind of tough, but anyone that's played sports, I actually got reamed out one time because I was playing in college and I changed up with like 20 seconds left.
And nothing that bad happened, but I just was like tired and I just came to the bench.
I had a long shift and I kind of lost track of the clock.
And lefty, remember the coach I had lefty, the Olympic dude?
He was like, don't you ever change with under 30 fucking seconds left?
Like, wake up.
Just stay on the ice.
And Bernsey, there was 10 seconds left.
Like that puck's in the corner.
I know he's kind of getting four check, but it would not have been that hard to.
just eat that, like just pinning against the wall
and just get out of this period. So when I saw
him kind of like, he had a guy there, but he just like knicks it up the
boards, they lose it, bang, a chuck goal. And my
knee jerk was like, that's so lazy burns.
But I was like, well, you have also locked
54 minutes or whatever. So of course
you're being lazy. It was 60 maddie
that I got fired up there, but you were right.
That is one of my favorite
celebrations in all of sports. Dude,
the later, like literally
score, run. It happens in basketball
a lot too, like hit the buzzer beater and they just
run down the tunnel. I was actually mad. I was actually mad,
It's looking like the wonders, dude, and that thing you do.
Unplug, get off stage.
Smiling. Smiling.
Someone even grabbed him.
I forget who the first panther was that grabbed him.
But like Matt, he's literally like, no, no, no, let me go.
Like, I'm trying to leave.
It was funny.
In real time, I saw it go in.
I thought he was pointing at Bob.
I thought he was being like, go get Bob.
He just stood on his fucking head.
But instead, he was like this.
Everyone go to sleep.
Go home.
Everybody go.
Get on the bus and go home.
We got to go to bed.
Oh, God.
That was awesome.
I thought he was.
I actually,
Neidrick thought he was pointing.
I was like,
oh, he's doing the leave.
He's doing the leave
because we were watching on the bench.
And then,
but then the dude grabbed him
and I was like,
oh no,
he must be pointing at something else.
But then he's like,
slips out of him.
He's like,
no, I'm leaving.
Get out of here.
That was fucking great.
I really got fired up about that.
Okay, I have a couple questions
for you about the whole thing.
Hit me.
I thought the Panthers
were getting stronger
as the game got longer.
Dude,
I've got something to say about this.
There's something going on
in South Florida.
I don't know if it's bath salts.
I don't know.
I don't know.
Very likely.
I don't know if it's global warming.
But there are zombies in Florida.
You are seeing it with the Miami Heat and you have been seeing it with the Panthers.
They are, they're zombies.
And I said several episodes ago, they are World War Z zombies.
You can't kill them.
As you get more tired, they don't.
They just keep breaking you down.
And the shots was like they were getting.
bombarded in the third period and then 14-2 canes in the third yeah i mean that is insane to
withstand that and then it just slowly started evening out and then i think in the fourth they they
waxed the the canes and it was o t-1-75 canes ot2 10-10 OT3 11 8 cats o t 4 14 9 cats
they just they they will not die dude they will not die and if you let that team hang
around for four o ts you will lose and that's dude they're eating more and more brains and just
getting stronger and stronger.
It's insane.
I thought both goalies were excellent.
Oh my God.
63 saves for Bob,
57 saves for Freddie.
The one, to me,
the one major benefit of the Carolina
goalie situation is you could go
Toronto here if you want.
That whatever we said,
four OTs is not easy
on the 34-year-old knees of Bob
or the 33-year-old knees of Freddie.
But under no circumstances
anyone playing Bob in Florida.
Can I say something?
Yeah. I can't believe what a little bitch you've become as far as load management with goalies these playoffs.
Protect our goalies.
All you've talked about, dude, is fucking, well, you know, we should probably rotate these goalies more.
We should probably do more of a tandem situation. Maybe, dude, this guy just got a huge win.
Should we sit him down? Get out of here, dude. What are you? The fucking head of the goalie protection committee?
I'm sorry that I'm ahead of the curve, dude. In 10 years from now, goalies are going to be rotating by period.
And I was, everyone will remember that I was here first. Teams are going to have three goals.
dressed and each one's going to play every period.
Do you have any idea how pissed I would be if I were Frederick Anderson and I just put out a 57
safe performance in a 4-0-t loss?
And you went like this, we're sitting you down, bud.
Protect our goalies.
Would fucking kill someone.
I bet they go wrong to the game too.
Freddy needs a break.
Dude, Freddy needs a break.
Give Freddy a break.
Go on.
Keep going.
Well, I was going to ask you, what would you do?
But you would obviously not give Freddie a break.
Freddie just played out of his gourd.
Absolutely not.
You do not sit him down.
He's exhausted.
Okay, but then here's my last and biggest thing about this game.
As I was watching it, I was like, I'm having a thought, who does this hurt more?
Anytime you lose a marathon game, it sucks.
Whoever loses that marathon game, you're like, God damn it, dude.
But as I was watching, I'm like, who does this hurt more?
Who does this hurt more?
And to me, it's clearly the canes because you're at home.
You give up home ice and you've been.
Only your story.
second loss at home these playoffs.
And third in the last two years
at home. And Florida
is, I think now counting that one,
seven and one
on the road this playoffs. So now you're
like, what if they fucking pop me in game two
and you're in a devil situation, it's not
good. When you lose
the two home games in a playoff series
to start it, in hockey
we call that not good.
So that might happen. It's pretty
unique to hockey too. Other sports can't really
relate to that. I love the hockey lingo, but it's
It's not good.
It's not good.
And the, like Carolina, like you said, Dan, has an immaculate record at home.
Yeah.
Some people don't trust people with an immaculate record.
I have an emaculate record.
I do.
I have an immaculate record at home and you get hit in the mouth by the Panthers.
So, Rod the bod said in his post-game interview, he's like, these are the worst games to lose.
Yeah.
It is absolutely devastating.
When you go to battle, dude, you go to war.
You've sharpened your bayonets.
you've stocked up on your gunpowder, you've been doing target practice in the backyard for months,
and then you come out and you go to war for three periods and then four overtime periods,
and you lose. It is as big of a kick in the dick as you could ever expect.
So, A, do you agree that hurt more for Carolina than it was ever going to hurt for Florida?
And B, if you agree, what do you do, what do you say if you're Carolina?
What are you saying in the locker room?
I think it
Listen
Losing that game
I don't care about home
I sucks
It hurts so bad
No doubt
It hurts more for Carolina
Because it was at home
And I don't really
I don't think the records thing
Is in their heads that much
Like I don't think anyone on that Carolina team
After that puck went in
Is on the bench going
Fuck dude
That's our second loss at home
These playoffs
They're not thinking that
They're just going
God fucking damn it dude
Like that was a battle
Losing battles like that
sucks
all it is. And then
the realization of we lost
at home, that sucks. We lost
game one at home. You got to get game two
now. So yeah, it is worse for
Carolina. I think you bounce back like they've
done all playoffs. I mean,
they haven't faced that much adversity
as we talk about all the time. It's, you know, they got,
they took care of the Islanders and six. They took care of Toronto
handily and five.
Oh, devil's, devil's. Sorry, devil's handily and five.
And
yeah,
I don't think that they've like had their back
up against the wall yet. This is the first time they've been down
all playoffs. Oh, good
call. Yeah. But
I think Rod has a great
grasp on that locker room. I think the players have a great
grasp on that locker room. I think that they're like,
dude, that was brutal. I think you acknowledge
it. I think you go, that fucking sucked.
But we're amazing on home ice.
We've got this. Come out and play
our game. Big question is
Do you start Freddie?
No.
The big question is, do you start
Tara Vinen. Oh, dude.
You didn't like his game? No, I'm just
joking. I was like, fuck, he always...
It's the bunting thing. He's defeated in the punks.
Yeah, Natechis had a breakaway
with like seven, fucking Bob and his like
third period, late third period breakaway
saves. And that was a good save. Nate just
had a breakaway that
Terravina assisted and as that was happening, I was to go
wow. Like, because I know you've been talking
about, I bet he gets a point and I was like, here it is.
I agree, we had talked earlier
I think it was the Toronto Lightning
series when
Toronto won game two like seven nothing or whatever it was seven one and I was like dude
John Cooper's in that locker I'm like the mission was still one in Toronto we did I don't care if
we lose game two one nothing or seven nothing yeah they rod the bod and everyone in Carolina is
going I don't care if that we lost in 10 overtimes or if we lost 10 nothing we lost a game it's one
game we're down one game who cares one thing that I didn't realize that is a six snipe by you
is this is the first time Carolina has been down in a series in two years because I'm pretty
sure they were up against Boston the whole time last year and then they were
up against New York the whole time
until they lost game seven at home,
but then you're just out.
So the same way I was kind of talking about,
I'm interested to see Florida play
with a tight butthole in Toronto,
but we never got to see it.
I'm interested to see Carolina play with a tight butt hole in game two
because that one is a big one.
Yeah, definitely, definitely.
And I will tell you this.
My closing thought is as much as I think you're a little bitch boy,
if you lose game two at home.
And Freddie starts,
I think then you do have a,
you,
ask a question.
What if he,
what if he,
what if they lose one nothing
and he plays disgusting?
I,
I,
I,
you know,
if Ranta's right there,
because they do have
that interesting situation of,
like,
I mean,
Freddie's been the better goalie.
Oh,
hell yeah, yeah, yeah.
To me,
you've got your goalie for the rest of playoffs,
personally.
But,
what if,
what if the Panthers
win game to 27 nothing
and Freddy's in for every goal?
I,
I'd probably sit him down.
Probably.
I don't know,
dude.
Like,
now he's seen everything.
Yeah,
he's like,
I know every single way you guys can score on me.
You won't do it again.
Prove it, dude.
All right, is that it for you?
That's it for me.
Unbelievable start to this series.
I believe it to the conference finals.
I think both of these series are going to be absolute fucking tilts.
So I'm pumped for the game tonight.
Yeah, this was as good of a start as we could have ever asked for.
I think a lot of people were so surprised.
We talked about on the Megacast.
No one had this game on their bingo card.
But could you have asked for a better game, a more electric game?
I think these two teams are going to be so fun to watch night in and night out and kicking it over to the west tonight.
I think it's going to be the same deal.
Look for fucking fireworks tonight.
So lock in, folks.
We've got some fun ass hockey headed your way.
And we'll see you next week.
Skate hard.
