Empty Netters Podcast - 37. Jamie Benn - Go To Jail
Episode Date: May 26, 2023The Dallas stars live to fight another day while Jamie Benn is wanted for attempted murder. The Florida Panthers punch their ticket to the Stanley Cup Final for the first time since 1996. And Matthew ...Tkachuk is now, has always been, and will forever be DAT BOY. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
We're back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, and we couldn't be more excited to be brought to you by the crisp and refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
This is, as you all know, without a question, the best beer to drink at any time, but especially right now, while we're in the conference finals of the Stanley Cup playoffs, headed into the cup, we got Florida already in it.
Now we're waiting between Vegas and Dallas, but here's the deal.
These are all warm weather cities, and there's nothing better than an ice-cold beer.
on a hot, warm day.
So you know that the Labat blue light better be flowing,
no matter where the cup is.
Dude, if you are going to make the finals,
your team's got to be nice.
You know what I'm saying?
Oh, yeah.
And if you were going to make a Canadian Pilsner this good,
it's got to be filled with a lot of Canadian niceness
and a lot of Canadian kindness.
I'll tell you that much.
That is for damn sure, man.
And you know what I'm just thinking about right now?
How crisp the unbelievable taste
of a Labat Blue Light Pilsner will taste
coming right out of the Stanley Cup.
Oh, my God.
If I ever had a chance to drink a beer out of the cup,
you know it's going to be an LVL.
I didn't even think about that.
Just think about the way that that beer would be sizzling and bubbling right in the cup,
in that steel cup of Lord Stanley's hardware.
Unbelievable.
Perfect flavor.
Unbelievable.
I'm jealous of the boys now, even more jealous.
Yeah.
Seriously.
Like Chris said, this stuff is brewed up in Canada,
so you know it's got that Canadian kindness in every single sip.
You don't have to sacrifice taste.
when you make a delicious light beer.
And that's exactly what Labat Blue Light takes to heart.
They make the most delectable tasting beer you could ever imagine in every single sip.
It is the best beer for you, your buds, your friends, your family,
no matter what you're doing, if you're hanging at home,
if you're hanging at the bar, if you're hanging on a porch swing,
or if you're watching some hockey, Labap Blue Light is there for you now and always.
Drink up.
Drink up.
We are in a tilt.
We have a big time tilt.
wore my Texas hockey apparel
hat today because I want to see this
series extended. Yeah. It's weird. I bet
on Vegas, but I was like, I also want to see more hockey.
So I threw him a little love.
Oh shit. I threw him a little love.
And they're delivering
dude. I even know Robo
is playing with fire because he's cursed.
Yeah, he's cursing his team. And he's blowing everything.
He does have two tucks
leveling this game twice. So we'll see.
That first tuck was so saucy too.
You got to love it. Here's the deal. We're back
with another episode of the MTV Nader's podcast.
And we're 2-2 in the third period.
Vegas Dallas. Dallas is trying to hold on for dear life.
Jamie Ben is watching in the press box because he's a full-on psychopath.
Florida Panthers are waiting down in sunrise for a matchup in the Stanley Cup finals.
And shit is gone crazy.
This stuff is crazy.
Unbelievable game so far.
We got 32 to 24 shots Dallas over Vegas.
It's 2-2.
We've got beautiful goals from everyone, Robo, especially with that first one.
this is fun stuff.
Do you want to see this extended?
I do just because it's weird.
We were talking about it before we started recording.
I do want to see it extended because I love hockey and I like watching this.
And I don't want to see it extended because in my mind, Vegas is through already.
So I'm just like, I'm kind of like, just get me, I just want to be there.
But it's one of those funny things where if Dallas, I need Dallas to come back and win four straight if they're going to win this game.
Yeah, right.
So it just feels like they're doing.
playing the inevitable if they win this one.
Oh, sir.
So I'm kind of like, go home, dude.
Vegas has beat you.
But more chances to see good plays,
more chances to see some jackals,
more chances to see...
Here we go.
Ooh.
There you go, Otter.
So yeah, this is going to be...
This one's going to come down to the wire.
Like, I might smell an overtime here.
Ooh, I could see an overtime in this game, definitely.
While we watch this game,
let's get into that, Florida.
Yeah, we actually only missed...
one game in each.
That's right. That's all we're going to be talking about here.
The Cats was the game for it was the sweep game.
Sweep game.
What a hockey game.
Oh, man.
It was a phenomenal game.
If you're a Panthers fan, I'm not sure you could have asked for a better action.
You know, you guys only know how to win.
You have won, what is it now, three, four, four.
You have won.
Well, they didn't sweep the Leafs, though.
No, you've won 11 of your last.
12. Yep. You're 11 and 1 in your last 12 games. That's pretty elite.
Ridiculous. So you're used to winning. I, you know, I don't think the buttholes were tight
at all for the Panthers, for the Panthers fans. But, you know, you get three wins. You want
to close it out. Trust me. I know. And to do it like that, you know, you had the victory
sealed up. Boom. Carolina scores. Boom. Maddie Chuck does his thing. So it's just as
good of action as you could have ever hoped.
Another game where the canes...
Another game where the canes dominate shots
and...
Oh!
God, Aiden Hill, dude.
Standing so tall, man.
The Canes dominate shots.
It was 3924. Bob's...
Bob's everywhere. Bob's a brick wall.
Yep. Bob the builder.
Wow. Have we... No one said that yet.
No. But I don't know if...
Is that a good nickname? He's building brick walls.
Oh, fuck.
Yeah. This is good.
Hey, we got...
hey, this is good.
He's Bob the builder.
I had a good nickname for Matthew Cachuk.
Yeah.
It was Matthew Massive Nutska Chuck.
That was pretty good.
That was good.
You slacked that to us and I laughed pretty hard and I saw that.
Oh, wait.
Bob Brovsky is the PT Slayer.
Yes.
Dude, this was sick.
That is what you found and that was legit.
We found that, Brian found out, unbelievable stat, that Sergey Bobrovsky murders
presidents trophy.
And it's not just President's Trophy.
The lightning, as you all remember,
tied the record for most wins in the NHL season.
Like it wasn't just a President's trophy winner.
It was, this is the best team of all time.
And Bob deads them.
And then the Bs break that record
are the best team of all time.
Bob deads them too.
The P.T.
Oh, Otter, what a save.
Oh, my God.
The P.T. Slayer, dude.
Sick nickname.
Sick nickname.
That's one.
PT Slayer won, Bob the Builder, too.
Yeah.
I, on the story, Instagram story last night,
I think I coined Maddie Sick Fuck Cachuck.
Yeah, which is also clean.
And I think that that's a pretty clean one because he is, that dude is a pervert.
Wow, dude, those are two gargantuan third periods.
Seriously.
From otter too.
That's what I'm saying.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
That's one and this one.
That's high glove.
He's getting beat there too.
That was a great save.
Okay, so just from some of the logistics, uh, cats go up one-nothing in a minute.
Duclair, your boy.
Just absolutely firing.
The killers, dude, the killer zombies are just continuing to do what they do.
Yep.
has been doing it all series.
Then pretty quick after that, I think you get the Slaven hit.
Thoughts.
Listen, keep your head up when Sam Bennett's on the ice, is all I'll say.
Sam Bennett has been trucking people all over the place.
He's an incredible player, an incredibly physical player.
He's really, he's chippy, he'll get under your skin.
That's what he does.
So you've got to be looking for it.
The hit was clean.
It was a, you know, Slaven had the puck coming around the net.
Bennett sees him, comes around, doesn't come in for a charge, doesn't have the hands up high, doesn't have the elbow up high, lowers his shoulder and absolutely bury Slaven.
Unfortunately, Slavin has its head down and he's coming around the corner and Bennett's shoulder hits him square on the face.
and it's kind of like that
Timo Meyer play
where it's like
Truba destroyed your life
but it's a clean hit
so when you slow it down
it looks awful
so you're clearly right
neither were called the Truba or
the Bennett and I know the game
is super fast
and Timo
for sure was a little
was more bent over than Slavin
um
so I guess that's my
question, though, is there any responsibility to not just put your shoulder through his
fucking face there, though?
You know, it's funny because in the NFL there is.
Yeah.
Those are rejections.
Which is just as fast, by the way.
Those are ejections in the NFL.
So they're clearly prioritizing, like, I don't care if you lead with the shoulder.
You can't make contact with the head.
And I think the NHL is definitely trying to do more of that.
I kind of like the no call because it sucks when you penalize a guy.
And I even said, I was like, I can't believe Troob is not getting sent to me off.
here. That wasn't me going, oh my god, that's so dirty. Trude was so dirty. It's just the head
contact that makes me be like, holy shit. But at the same time, I kind of like that these guys
aren't getting penalized because if it were me, I'd be like, dude, I'm doing my job. I'm,
I am playing the game and I'm hitting a puck carrier clean. It's unfortunate that their body
position didn't match up perfectly with my clean body position. So, well, I think we got to make
sure that we do our best to limit concussions and head contact, you can't eliminate hitting from
the game. It's part of the game. And it's tough because in the NFL, every time there's an
ejection, when a guy's duck in his head, I'm like, what do you want him to do? He's going so
fast. And I was about to say, I don't want injections here. But then I feel like you'd be just as
mad if whoever is running around drilling your boys in the head, just getting two minutes
of pop and they're dead. And I'm like, this is if they're either eject him. You know,
there's no win here. I guess it does rub me a little the wrong way, though, that that's just,
no call. Like, dude, the cats went on the power play after that. Yeah. Like, Sam Bennett
puts your assistant captain six feet under and then enjoys a two-minute power play.
But that, you know, that's because they retaliated in such a whack-ass way. I mean, I have a
couple things to say about that play. I hear you, when someone gets hurt, it sucks. But
whatever, dude, it's a clean hit. It's bullshit. Like, think about it the other way. If
If all of a sudden a clean hit gets penalized and the hurricanes go on the power play and they
score and they're up on nothing, you'd be like this, that is horseshit.
I go, this sucks, but you just got to not hit him in the head.
Don't hit him in the head.
I mean, come on, that's such a fucking brutal way to look at it because it's so like we keep
talking about, the game is so fast.
Yeah.
You go like this, oh, I got a hit.
How about, here's an idea, dude.
Pick your fucking head up, Slavin.
Dude, someone needs to let him know, by the way, coming around the net there.
So, so I read.
Heads up, buddy.
I reject your, you got to not hit him in the head up.
head because if I'm Bennett, I'm like this, dude, I am watching the play and I come in clean and I tuck
my arm in and I bleed with my shoulder and I fucking buried you. It's your fault, so even that your head is down.
He was looking to hit him in the head, though. I've actually listened to a couple clips of it,
and I think you can hear a couple people being like, yo, uh, dude, bad teammate watch, Freddie Anderson.
Dude, I was about saying, because he is someone, like he is the number one guy that has to be like this,
Yo, head up, head up, head up.
Pennett is coming like a freight train.
And then after Slavin has gone full coffin,
like he is yard sale, straight-armed, rigamortus,
he then gets on his feet and is clearly wobbled.
And Frederick Anderson is standing right next to him
and lets Slavin take a couple steps and fall flat on his face.
Like, grab his arm, dude.
What are you doing?
We are in a weekend at Bernie situation, Freddie.
If he falls, they'll know you murdered someone in the mansion
is all, you're crashing the mansion
and this is all bullshit. Put
sunglasses on him, prop him
up and wave to the crowd that he's okay.
You don't just look at him and let him
fall flat on his face. Attach strings
to his arms and shoulders and hook them
to your glove and blocker and make sure that
he doesn't fall down. He kind of like
put an arm on him for a second and then he's like this.
He's like, you're good, dude.
I was like, dude, that is your boy. Help your boy
Freddie. It's a miracle slave and didn't get
more hurt on that foot because he falls
arms to his side face first.
No, no cage.
I can't believe he didn't bash up his nose and teeth.
That was awful.
So, gonna need Frederick Anderson to look a little more alive than that.
Yeah, certainly more alive than Slaven looked.
Seriously.
Okay.
So then, obviously that's sicko, makes it 2-0 on the power play.
Stasney, the ageless one, makes it 2-1, and we get one of the most electric first periods we've seen all series.
Sticktops to Stasney.
Yes.
Good playoffs.
Yep. Then your boy, Teravinen, back, goal. Good to see.
High game. Longberg goes up 3-2, and then later in the third misses a gaping open net.
Dude, that maybe was, we called that Meyer miss in game five.
Or, yeah, game five, maybe the miss of the playoffs. There was two. It was someone on Carolina and Meyer.
And this, this one took it. That Longberg, that was a wide.
Dude, I had to watch the replay four times to figure what the hell happened.
So then Fast ties it with three minutes left.
That was actually a crazy bang, bang play.
We thought, was it Ryan or Bennett in front there?
One of them had a chance to kind of clear it, but they actually didn't do that bad of a job on the replay.
It was like in his skates and Fast just whacked it into the net.
Yeah.
Beats Bob 3-3. And in real time, I was like, wow, another OT.
Because I'm pretty sure they closed out the Leafs in OT.
Because I can't believe that I have to say what I'm about to say.
I can't believe you're not giving me this grace.
But I'll do it.
I think I think maybe you're going to say this, but in real time, I'm sitting in living room watching this game.
And in real time, Dan goes, okay.
I bet they score before this game.
There's like three minutes left.
And he goes, I bet they score before the game's over.
Or before the regulation's over.
Thank you.
And I was like, no way, dude.
And then Jordan Stahl took that penalty.
And I was like, oh, shit.
They've got to do it.
Yeah, that goal went in and I literally looked at Chris and I went, Florida is going to win this in regulation.
And to add to that, to keep this stroke off session.
going. No one has ever looked better than me
absolutely shitting on Jordan Stahl last episode
for being a ghost in this series.
For him to then have this game for
go goose eggs on the board. I think he was like a dash two on the game
and then takes that penalty to literally kill their season.
I want to talk about that penalty and I want to talk about a couple things that happened after
but first I just want to give you this.
Kane's penalty kill. The B said the best penalty kill in the regular season
at something crazy like 87%.
But Keynes were...
You don't talk about them.
Yeah.
Who?
The Keynes were second in the league
at 84.4% on the PK.
Okay.
Regular season.
Coming into this series in the playoffs,
Carolina is an NHL best
27 for 30 at 90%
including four shorties.
Yeah.
Dominant PK.
Very good.
This series, they went 10 for 14,
which is a 71% clip.
And the Katz scored a power play goal
in every game but game one
and a lot of them were killer.
dude. In game three, it was the only goal. In game two, it was the OT winner, and then obviously
game four, four seconds left. What a thing to be such a strength and fail you at the worst time.
Yeah. And I'm not saying, I think I said this even last ep, you can't kill them all, but just like,
oh, like, every, all three last three games of this series, catastrophic power play goals for
the Panthers. Oh my gosh. And the Panthers didn't have that good of a power play. It's okay, but
Like, man, that was a killer.
Let's get to the trip.
What did you think?
I think we had said...
I have a pretty lame take on that.
I think we had said a few Eps, I thought in soccer, I think there's a foul outside the box,
and I think there's a foul inside the box.
And I think there's a penalty in overtime, and I think there's not a penalty in overtime.
We had certainly, in my opinion, reached the point of the game where that was overtime,
for all intents and purposes.
Any penalty here better be an OT level penalty.
What is an OT level penalty?
Blatient high stick.
delay of game
blatant trip
and I just feel like
that was pretty close to a blatant trip
yes I think it was a blatant trip
I know hurricane fans are gonna scream about
there was like a cross check on the other end
before or whatever shut the fuck up
that was a blatant trip
and you know what made it real tough
is I think it was it was it Foresling
nah I can't remember yeah
it was either Foresling or Montor
whoever had the puck
really deaked out
Stahl.
Like Stahl got beat
on the play
and was reaching
and it was just a blatant trip
and here's here's my thing
I actually completely agree with you
there is you know
the soccer in the box foul
versus out of the box foul
in my opinion
in playoffs
it's just another period dude
like it's not
it's not five minutes of three on three
it's a 20 minute
five on five period
So if there's a penalty at the end of the third period, I'm calling it.
Because I'm like, this is, you know, it's sudden death still, but I'm like, this is the game, dude.
We're not, we're not making a four on three in OT.
We're making a regular power play in this game.
That was a clear trip.
I think it was a good call and the right call.
But you think OT then they should just call it.
Like there's not any special penalties.
I think you tighten up a little bit, no doubt, because yeah, it's OT.
It's sudden death.
I'm just saying
I think it's different than regular season OT
Drassist. Oh, I totally agree with that.
And yeah, I think
you said it best like a blatant
penalty is a penalty and that
was blatant for me.
Your sticks in his skates. It's just you're
certainly close enough. Like you got beat.
You're lazily reaching
and your sticks and his skates and he trips.
So I have something to say about Jordan
but I want to segue into this first
and then it'll come back
since we're talking about questionable calls.
goal interference on that goal thoughts absolutely not not even i mean i was i would say not even
close and that that would just be unfair um it wasn't man i thought it was you even see freddie
like freddie immediately is like yeah hey what the fuck but you can see it in his face he's not
he's not incredulous usually when the goalie does that i'm positive it is yeah like if the coach
is just challenging i'm like maybe not but when the goalie is pissed i'm like he's gonna get this
and when he did that i was like oh wow what a moment they are taking away yeah um
And then I saw the stick and I was like maybe they'll call it.
I thought it was a very worthy challenge.
I think of Corman, of course he had to.
But like even if that was a goal in the middle of the game, I would have thought that was a worthy challenge.
I don't think, even though I just beaked him, I don't think Bennett is trying to hold Freddie there.
I think he's going like this.
Chuck might pass.
He's just going stick down right here and he's putting all his weight on that stick because he knows everyone's trying to lift it.
And he's like, I'm ready for the pass.
Maddie just shoot it off my stick.
And then yeah, it's 100% in Freddy's pads.
and he gets hung up a little bit.
I feel that it was the right call on the ice
and I feel that it was the correct call
to not overturn it.
But I will go back to my Jordan point here.
I was not rooting for the canes.
I'm glad Florida won.
But I forgot how bad I start feeling for teams
when we get this deep and they lose.
Watching Rod, dude,
who has just been battling with his team
through everything, dude,
through all these injuries, getting to this place,
and then losing Slaven in this game.
Just, oh man, dude, like to see the season they felt like they were having, watching it go up and smoke and literally the look on his face as he was like doing the spin around sign to the ref, like, please challenge this.
I was just so sad for him because I was like, you're not going to get this.
Oh my God.
You're not going to get this and your season's over and I'm so sorry.
Yeah.
He had a great presser after.
I think you may be listening to it where he's like.
Yeah.
Let me.
Great tee up.
I just want to get into that because it leads into a point that I have.
one quick shout-up, by the way.
The, I forget who it was.
I think it might have been Eckblad.
But that penalty happens, the Jordanstall penalty.
And I remember having the quick thought, because the Panthers had it.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
I remember having the quick thought of, dude, try to eat as much time of this and go fresh into OT with a clean power play.
And let's call it Eckblad, but whoever the Panthers defender was passed it straight.
to the hurricanes.
Yep.
Like he was like this,
boom,
give me a whistle immediately.
And that was just,
you know,
it's a gamble,
but I thought to be brilliant foresight
to just be like this,
they're tired,
at the end of the game.
There.
Because usually you're right.
You want the clean sheet.
Let's get,
let's get an ozone draw
immediately here
and see what we can do.
And that,
it obviously paid off.
Smart.
Yep.
So,
um,
okay.
So you talk about Rod the Bod.
I think we love Rod the Bod.
Yep.
here you go, you got another game,
you out shoot them 39 to 24, you lose.
The cats have 24 block shots in this game.
24.
That is such a dominant team defensive performance.
The Carolina Hurricanes,
in the last however many years,
quick math, quick math.
No, more than that, okay.
Are 0 and 12 in Eastern Conference finals since 2009.
That's not good.
I can't believe that.
2019, 2019,
2020,
and Rod the Bod,
as a coach,
is Owen 8 in Eastern Conference finals.
Like,
not even game sevens or any,
like just games.
Like,
literally is never won a game in this round.
I'm not saying this.
Do you have a conversation of firing him?
I don't.
Neither do.
I want to be very clear.
Neither do I at all.
However, dude,
I know that there's crazed
fans out there who are like, dude, you can't go over when we get to the fucking Eastern
Conference Finals. Yeah. And by the way, the injuries suck, but it's not like you were getting
blown out in this series and you get to go, well, yeah, we were just getting injured. We were
just injured. You know, it's not really on us. Like, you were in every one of these games.
I don't because I think the players love him. I think he's overachieved for the most part.
But you set a conversation. You didn't say, do you fire him?
him, I don't fire him, I do have a conversation. So I'll take that back. Because you have to. You just have to say, this is a thing that's happening. And do we care? And I'd like to think most of the brass, the top dogs on the canes go like this. No, we don't care. He said something after Rod did. And you know me, dude. You know how rattled I get when I always talk about, I don't know why I fucking care, but I always talk about history remembering athletes long after I'm gone. And that's why I get so revved up about, you know,
like, Federer's,
because I'm like,
I just need them to win enough
that when my grandkids
will, can just look in the stats
and no,
because they're not going to see it.
They're not going to see
the way Roger could hit a ball.
They need to see that he won
X amount of majors.
And Rod made a comment
that goes,
it sucks that history will look back
and say we got swept in this series
because we did.
But it will look like we got blown out.
Like, oh,
the panthers swept the hurricanes.
And that was,
I think Witt said this too,
but that was the most,
evenly matched sweep in the history of sweeps.
They were in every game.
They played so competitively.
It was this close every game.
And then they just came out on the wrong side.
You want to hear a fun stat?
Yeah.
The coach of that 2009 Hurricanes team that got swept?
Maurice.
Paul Maurice.
Wow.
Cool.
That feels good for him.
Yeah.
You know, it's a tough thing because I agree with Rod.
He's like, that wasn't a sweep.
Any of those games could have gone another way.
I mean, for Christ's sake, the first game almost went to five over times.
Yeah.
But you did get swept.
You did.
You didn't win a single game.
So it's one of those uncomfortable conversations where I'm like, yeah, I hear what you're saying.
But you failed to win a single game yet again in an Eastern Conference final.
So it's tough, dude.
It's got to really know it's sadia.
Brutal, brutal.
Nothing good.
Nothing good.
Speaking of saying things to people.
That was pretty sick.
Okay. And I really like that.
I got really fired up and emotional still,
watching the Stahl Brothers in the Handshake line.
And Jordan, who has just lost and took the penalty.
Like, he must have been a mess in the locker of, dude.
He's got a cup, but I would have been, oh.
Because you just feel, you feel like you let the whole team down.
Like, you come and be like, sorry, boys.
I tripped a guy with a minute left for no fucking reason.
And you're probably done on this team.
Yeah, like, you have a, yeah.
So, it would be foolish to bring him.
back feeling a lot of things I'm sure yeah but he daps up uh Eric who won a cup with the
canes you know and he daps up Mark and he pulled but he tapped up Eric and just like peace
and then he tapped up Mark and really brought him in and whispered into his ear and I know he was
like fucking finish it dude yeah when the whole thing because he's the only one of three that doesn't
have a cup yeah and that was a cool moment of brother you know if you're gonna lose I'd rather
like I'm gonna lose in the fucking Stanley Cup I'd rather lose to you so I'm like at least you got a cup
and what an elite thing that will be for the stall family for all
three of those boys.
Do you think that the fourth Stahl brother on a daily basis considers terrible, terrible things?
He has dark thoughts.
I'll tell you that much.
I'm sure he thinks about like changing his name a lot.
You know?
Yeah, not great.
That would suck, man.
It's like the Manning brother.
Oh yeah, who's the other one?
I have no idea.
Who fucking cares, dude?
Exactly.
but dude but you know what he did though you know what he fucking did about it by the way
what he had a fucking kid who has the best qb prospect of all time okay fair that's actually fair
so i'm like if you're the other stall brother i'm like just stall start pumping out all-star kids
like the archmanning's gonna be better than peyton and eli combined and then fucking what's his
name nobody knows manning gets to go coop no um well coop is that commercial with uh is it bed mgm i think
oh what's up ben jem sign up sign up oh that's good that's good
So he's in a commercial, and his son is the best quarterback of all time.
That's pretty cool.
That's pretty cool.
Longhorn.
Longhorn, baby.
Hook him.
So do that.
Pump out kids.
Now we've got to talk about the Panthers.
Yes.
We've talked about it for a number of episodes now.
They're just, they're a team of destiny.
They're such a complete group.
They're such a complete team.
It's absolutely insane.
Bobrovsky's playing the best hockey, maybe, of his career.
Honestly, honestly.
Yeah, yeah.
Matthew Kachuk, we posted the clip today.
I said it back in April, dude.
Like, he is a savage.
He is such a gamer.
Someone dropped on the Instagram comment.
Like, he's got Joe Sackick vibes of like,
I like, holy shit, man.
You were scoring the biggest goals in the biggest times.
And for him to have two in this game and then tucking that power play goal with four seconds left, that was the most.
The poised, dude.
Oh, my God.
With the buzzer, how many times do you shoot early because you know the buzzer's going off?
God.
And he comes, he wheels out of the corner.
Like, I'm probably just throwing that in front.
You know, there's five seconds left, just get traffic.
He wheels out of the corner.
Thinking about the clock.
Thinking about the clock.
Shot fakes.
Steps again, dude.
And slots.
And I was like, are you shitting me with that?
You could see the ice in his veins.
It's just unbelievable.
The same way you called, they were going to score.
The second he wheeled out of the corner, I remember this.
But the second he wheeled out, I go, this is a goal.
Yeah, I was like, there's just no way he's not going to score.
brutal defense by Sebastian Aho on that goal, but
didn't really want to sue him like that, but
fucking A buddy, that was so, so bad.
You've got to be diving around the ice
in that moment, and he is
waving his stick like a swordsman
Ole!
Just being a moron, dude.
You've got to sell out to make sure
Maddie Kichick doesn't get a shot. Does not get that through.
Insane.
The thing that comes
to mind the most. I was talking to CEO Jack Barrett about this earlier. I have watched a lot of Stanley Cup playoff hockey as a Boston Bruins fan. And I would say we talk about the dilemma of how do you feel about the team that beats you? Do you want to go see that game? Yeah, yeah. Yeah. Because you're like, oh, I lost them. I do not. Me neither. I normally hate that. And I'll tell you why. Usually, I am.
filled with such
boiling
vitriol
for the other team
and their fans,
primarily their fans.
Yes, I want them to feel
that I despise them.
And I'm like,
I can't fucking wait for you losers
to get yours.
So you can know what I feel like.
You know what you've done to me.
Yeah.
I said it
or so early.
I said it in the meltdown
pod.
You're talking about the Bruins loss.
I have not once felt a single negative thought for this Florida Panthers team, not a single player, not a single fan.
I don't, and I don't get why.
Maybe I'm getting old.
Maybe I'm getting tired.
Yeah.
I don't have the hate anymore.
You can't break it, can't run so hot.
But I'll tell you what, dude, they're just likable.
They're so likable.
I mean, the Blues beat the Bruins in 2019, and they were a team of destiny.
And I still root against them today.
I was rooting against them before they even made it to the cup against the Bruins, before the Bruins even made it to the cup.
I was like, this team is so fucking lame, bad, and stupid.
They were just boring and I hated them.
And I'll say that right now again.
Stupid.
Sorry, Blues fans.
That team fucking sucked.
And here's the deal.
You get to rub my nose in the fact that we lost you to the end of time.
So it doesn't matter what I say.
But that team fucking sucked.
This Florida team is awesome, dude.
They're so cool.
They're so good.
They play as such a unit.
They're so swaggy.
The fans tossing rats on the ice.
Everything about them is fun.
And I, I, it looks, we're headed to O.T. right here and Vegas is up 30.
It feels like Vegas has punched their ticket.
And I love Vegas.
This is going to be the most devastating final for me ever if it ends up in Vegas.
Because I'm like, these teams are amazing.
I love them both.
And I just, I don't get.
how this panthers team has just like a rat gnawed its way right into my heart and i and i love them good for
them uh how about this man you see athletes really get get in a zone i'm in a zone man i'm in a
fucking zone goalies unconscious sometimes pitchers basketball shooting guards right clay thompson in his
bag i'm not sure i've ever seen an athlete more dialed than mattie
Kichuk's celebration game.
Okay? Because he's in a
4-O-T marathon. Gets the winner and hits him with the gate, dude.
See you on the bus in 10.
Gets the O.T. winner again
on the road. Hits him with a gate
again. Bus in 10, boys.
Yep. Then hits the
OT winner, or sorry, four seconds left
winner to win the Eastern Conference. He should have got off the ice.
No, because you can't leave because you've got to get the Prince of Wales
trophy. So he hits him with a fucking knee slide.
That would, no, I'm sorry.
DeBoys.
It would have been so sick if he just left.
I said I hope he scores the OT winner to win the cup and leaps.
And they're like, hey, yeah, dude.
Don't get the cup.
But dude, he is, I haven't seen a guy.
So, because when you score a big goal like that, you know, dude.
I've made this joke on the pod before where, like, the one OTA winner I had in playoffs,
you just like fucking freak out because you kind of like, you forget, even if he had a
sally planned.
He hasn't missed on a sally yet, dude.
They are perfect.
Two roads, two gates, at home to win Prince of Wales and knee slide, dude.
So I need to know.
what's next. What do you want to see him do next?
I can't even begin to think, dude.
I think...
He might need to eat a rat, dude.
Yeah, he might have to go full Ozzy Osbourne with a rat.
He also might have to do something like slide two Labat blue lights up his sleeves.
And when he wins, go full stone cold Steve Austin and just smash them over himself on the...
Anything is possible for him.
It's true.
For him at this point, dude.
Did you happen to notice?
I thought it was interesting how the Prince of Wales is brought out and Maddie went right up there
with Sasha.
Oh, yeah, that was cool.
Chuck kind of felt like grabbed it.
He was like, I'm the cap.
I'm the kept.
Yeah, he was like, I run this shit.
Like, it felt like he was like, I'm the boss, dude.
Yeah.
I've taken control here.
I agree.
You have.
So keep eyes out on six sallies.
Now that you brought up Prince of Wales, let me hit you with this.
They didn't give a shit about the curse.
Grabbed it right away.
So stupid.
The Tampa Bay Lightning touched the trophy each of the past three seasons.
One back-to-back cups in 20 and 21 lost last year.
prior to the Lightning, the Bruins elected to not pick up the trophy in 2019.
And then we're dick slapped by the blues.
In addition to that, the Devils in 2012, the Bruins in 2013, the Rangers in 2014, and the Lightning in 2015, all lost the Cup final after refusing to touch it.
So it's like, oh, dude, full touch, right?
Just grab it.
Who gives a shit?
However.
However.
Oh, actually, one more thing.
Five of the last seven teams that won the Stanley Cup have touched it.
So I'm like, touch it, touch it.
The only other time
the Panthers made
the Stanley Cup
they touched it and got swept in the finals.
Oh my God.
Don't care. Different team. Really? Different team.
Because Sid famously didn't touch it the first time he made it
and then they lost and then the next year they won again and he touched it and was like,
what are you doing? And he was like, well, we fucking lost last year. I'm going to touch it this year.
So I think if I'm the Panthers, even with all that data, if the one time you made the cup and you touched it and got
piped. I might have let it go. I love that rationale, but I'll say this. I, you've got so much
juice right now if you're this Panthers team. If you didn't touch it, that shows that you,
you don't believe in the juice. They got, although, isn't it, isn't it, isn't it the, isn't that their
thing? Peeches. No, it's Georgia, but Georgia Pockers. Yeah. Florida oranges. Yeah, they got the
juice. Yeah, they got the Florida orange juice. They got the orange juice. I just think, you're right.
Like, I think if they didn't touch it, it would have been, like, you're not believing in your
mojo. Like, nothing can destroy them. Yeah. There's zombies.
He should have broke it.
Do you think a zombie is worried about a curse?
They're already dead.
That should have been his next alley.
Smash the Prince of Wales truth.
There you go.
I think that's it, dude.
Yeah.
You can't kill what's already dead.
What's dead may never die, bro.
Yeah, what is dead may never die?
That's just the truth.
Dude, you can't kill a person with nobody.
And here's the deal.
They're zombies.
They can't be killed.
A curse cannot affect them.
Amazing.
Done.
Okay, that's, I think, that's all I got on that one.
Me too.
The only thing that's interesting for the Keynes, you brought this up, they are actually in decent
shape next year with free agents, because I was just looking at it.
And it's like their goalies and stall, like you said, patch, which they got to decide on, right?
But if you look at the Keynes contracts, the next year, they got a ton of people coming up.
And this year you want to go like, what wasn't our fault?
With each conference finals, we were injured, whatever.
But I am now like, they're like, we're going to do it.
we'll do it next year. We'll be healthy. If we're healthy next year, we'll do it. Now I'm like,
but you kind of gotta do it next year now. So a lot of pressure. Sucks to let this one go away.
Yeah, that's tough. All right. Let's move on. Stars Vegas.
Missed one game since the last record, watching one game right now.
Yeah, headed into O.T. right now. This could be over in a matter of seconds, but let's get into it.
Let's talk about the insanity of game three. The game we missed in the other series between records was a
heck of a hockey game. This was a ridiculous hockey game.
Yes. I don't really even have that much to say about it. That's what's so crazy.
So this game, 4-0-0 win for Vegas, and it was over before it started.
I told all the followers that they should take a loan out at the bank and then put that
plus all their life savings on Dallas Money Line.
And then in seven minutes, it was 3-0 Vegas.
Otter had been pulled for giving up three goals on five shots.
Dude, and let's just get right into it.
This game starts, guys.
Brian, looks like you have something to say.
So you don't know puck, clearly.
Clearly, I don't know puck.
You do not know puck.
That was horrific.
You know who else doesn't know, Puck?
Is me picking the Cains in seven over the Panthers.
I'm going to get into that later, but you, and you said this out loud, I think it was, I think it was on the air.
I did want to pick the Pants.
Yeah.
So I'll give you the benefit of the doubt there.
I appreciate that.
I appreciate that.
All right, let's get into it.
This game starts and a minute and a half in, Jamie Ben committed murder.
Attempted murder, rather.
Yeah.
I wrote down his whole response.
Can I read it to you?
Yeah.
And, you know, I'm excited to hear this.
But I will say Mark Stone came in.
I don't even know what Ben thought happened, but like kind of cut him off, whatever, whatever.
Gets taken down and Ben just full, grasp in the stick, cross check tries to decapitate Mark Stone, gets a 10 minute toss from the game.
Vegas immediately scores, by the way, funny, one for seven on the power play in this game.
But that was the one.
And then, dude, that something about that play, watching your captain who's been playing very well these playoffs, have the wires crossed that badly.
Oh my God.
Oh, wow.
That was fucking sick, dude.
That was a Captain America shield to shield.
Right.
Sign him up, dude.
Avengers Marvel reboot.
That was insanity.
Something clearly happened to the stars after that.
Like, you watch, you watch Ben, your leader.
God, Jack Eichol.
I'll just shelf.
You watch your.
You watch your leader who's playing well in these playoffs, have the wires cross that severely
and get tossed from the game.
I do think it rattled the stars.
Me too.
I think they were all like, Jesus Christ, what the hell just happened?
What is going on?
Like you said, it was then just like goal.
Goal.
And you know who scored in that run?
Marsha So.
Like, Marcia So is hot.
And like I said, last episode, this is bad for you, Dallas.
And Marshalsoe's got a goal in this game right now.
So it just went off the rails from there.
The craziest stat line in this game for me is shots were 34 to 16 Dallas.
Dude, the Vegas literally scored their four goals and then they went over there.
Never shot again.
They just went, they straight up went like this.
All right, we did it.
Get out of this game.
Two and the third, they had four.
They got outshot something like I wrote it down, but they got out shot something to four in the second period and scored.
Like they had a goal.
And I was like, that is not it.
Absolutely mayhem.
This is the Jamie Van response.
Okay.
Yeah, please.
That was my first shift of a game on home ice when you're pretty jacked up and you're down
one oh, meaning the score, Ben said.
So you want to try and get your game going.
Emotions are high and it's just an unfortunate play.
I put my team in a tough situation, so it's pretty unfortunate.
Obviously, didn't want to take a five-minute penalty, but when the game happens fast,
emotions are high.
I would have liked to not fall on him and I guess use my stick as a landing point.
And I'll tell you what, dude.
Hey, can I respond to that?
Yep.
Boo.
boo. Boo this man, dude.
Dude, there's a double clutch in there.
Like, you are not falling on anyone.
You're trying to be the butcher.
You're trying to slice that hunk of meat
right off the car. I made this joke on Twitter.
Let's talk about some facts.
It was your first shift of the game. Fact.
You were down on nothing. Fact. It's a playoff game at home.
Fact. Emotions are high. Fact. The game moves fast.
Fact. You were falling and used your sick as a landing point.
False. Dude. You literally are looking directly at Mark Stone.
directly at him, dude.
And you take your stick like this and you bury it into his face.
That's the most ridiculous response I've ever heard.
Just say you're sorry or something, dude.
I don't know.
Like that's, that ain't.
Sorry, but I'm not the better of me.
I was trying to just hit him in the arm and it rode up.
You know, I'll live with that, dude.
I was trying to cross-tick him in the arm.
That ain't it.
I was falling and used my stick as a landing point.
Bro.
Yeah.
That's ridiculous.
So Dallas, in overtime here, about to go on the power play, potentially win this game.
Two game suspension for Ben.
Yep. Should have been more. Let's say Dallas wins this. You managed to win a game in Vegas, and now Ben's back in this series. How do you feel about that?
I, well, if I'm a Vegas fan, I'm rattled that we're already in game six. And then, yes, I would be pissed that he's back. He should have got more, in my opinion. He should have got more than two. For what we should have got three. I would have lived with a, he can come back for game seven. Yeah. If you get there. But yeah, that was bad. And I'm getting a lot of comments on the IG for this, but I disagree.
I think that play was not way worse, but was certainly worse than the Petrangelo slash on drysidele, in my opinion.
And so many people disagree.
So many people were like the Petrangelo slash is way worse.
And I'm like, you guys are insane.
That's crazy.
I agree.
I think it's insane.
And I said this, Dan.
Tell, oh my God.
Tell me that.
If Robo scores here, the curse is broken.
Hey, there we go.
Joey Pete.
Captain America.
A clapper 1T on the power play
Keeps Dallas alive
We're headed back to Vegas for game five
Texas hockey apparel
Let's fucking go
I think maybe the robo curse is still broken
Oh it 100% is
He was scored and he had two in a game
They won overtime
Was that Jack in the box?
I look like it
You're now two and three
That's not bad
Well it's not good
But it's broken though
You just gonna break it
You see one to break it dude
Yeah it's broken
No more Robo Curse
And now Dallas fans are gonna be pissed
that Ben got two. They're going to be saying he should have got one.
Actually, they're probably pretty mad at him that they don't even want him back at this point.
But he tell me, Dan, that that was any less violent than anything Cadreys
has done over the last few years when he was catching his three burgers.
I totally do. I know it was like from behind and chip, but like Cadry was putting someone's
head in danger. And then, and Jamie Bend did the same thing to me. Like exact same thing.
If those are three, this is three. Yeah, man. I'm with you. The intent to injure is such an
interesting phrase to me because I'm like, it sounds so insane and aggressive.
It's about as intent to injure as it can get.
Yeah, part of me, part of me is like, I don't really think anyone is ever actually
intending to injure someone.
I think sometimes you get pissed off.
Yep.
But I don't, so, you know, that's almost certainly wrong.
I'm sure someone out there has done that before.
A lot of Jamie Ben hate on the Instagram.
Agreed.
He's the worst captain in the world.
He's a scumbag.
I guess I don't watch close enough.
I don't know anything about that.
But I'm with you, dude.
Like you bring up cadre.
Like, dude, Jamie Ben, that was brutal, buddy.
Like, it looked awful.
And that early in the game.
I don't know how you can possibly be in that mindset that early in the game.
So, yeah, I didn't like to play at all.
Yeah.
It was kind of a debacle everywhere.
That's the Ben situation.
Max Domi got the maximum fine for slashing Mark Stone.
see that by the way he barely
I mean he like wax him in the hand for sure
I think that was probably a rule
because there's like two minutes left it's a blowout he doesn't have the
puck but it's right off a face off like I have no problem
whacking it sticks and shit right off the face off I'm certain
it's a end of the game like what happened
to Petrangelo where they were like it's under
I mean a nurse like they were like you instigated
the fight so but yeah Domy's getting
fine the fans were throwing shit on the ice
I put this on Twitter too obviously that's a bad look
from the fans but
I'm pretty sick of the soapboxing
everyone's doing of like Dallas fans trash and I'm like buddy every fan base has thrown shit on
the ice at one point the Leafs did it this year the devils did it this year more that I'm forgetting
it's not I don't I'm not they're not proud of it I know one's happy about it it sucks but
fucking spare me they were fired up and annoyed and whatever yeah um but it was a I was wrong
I think messy I said this too before this game started but I was positive this one was a sweep
because they just seemed so unraveled dude like they they the
I don't know how you come back from everything that went down in game three.
You're taking penalties, you're taking penalty, you're taking fucking fines.
Jamie Ben suspended forever.
The fucking fans have lost their minds.
And I'm like, how do you rally around this game right now?
But credit to them, dude, and credit to Otter.
I've been super bummed out.
Otter actually made me really bummed out in game three when they pulled him when he was horrible.
And I said this before when he's just like looking at him on the bench makes me so sad.
But I'm glad he had a bounceback game.
Even if they lost this game in OT, I felt good because he made some monster
saves down the stretch some big stops on Jack
but they
they rose to the occasion I was like
this actually speaking of Celtics
that this felt like they quit
like the stars I was like they are done here
it really did and they were not
they showed up tonight they showed up and their big players played great
well yeah I think this game is a great example of
they clearly didn't quit shots 42
39 in this game for Dallas
they fought back the whole game
went down one nothing tied at 1 1 1 1 went down 2 1
2nd and power play
won them the game. Two for two on the power play. That gets it done. You obviously get this
chance at overtime here. Bruce Cassidy fears about it, but you get the chance, you make it count.
That's big. And the reality is you might go back to Vegas here on Saturday and lose and get
gentlemen swept. But it feels good to win that, no doubt about it, especially after the Ben
situation. This game felt like game one to me. It's, you know, another overtime game. High shots,
very even shots.
Both of these teams playing really well.
Robo, two goals.
Curse is broken.
He is very alive in this series.
That's an amazing thing.
Marsha So remains very alive in the series.
Ikel with a point, like this was a big win.
But if you're Vegas, it's funny.
The Bruins were up 3-1.
This was after they lost game six.
And I was like, if, or,
lost game five. I was like, I'm not worried if you're the Bruins. That didn't work
at well. In this situation, I am not worried if you're Vegas. Me neither, but a little,
a little pressure on game five. Because if you lose game five at home and you go back to
Dallas, you're like, fuck. Always, always, but that's just the model, right? I don't think
that that that has anything specific to do with this series. I think that that's just how
Oh, agree. That's how that's how much works. Just, I'm talking about the way you played. I think
Hill played fantastic. I want to get to him in a second. You had a lot of crazy scoring opportunities
in this game. A couple wacky goals.
for Dallas, or maybe just one wacky goal.
I mean, not taking anything away.
Unbelievable talent.
Yeah, yeah.
But huge win.
Huge win for Dallas.
Excited to have more hockey.
Last thing I got on Dallas, let's say they lose.
Let's say they lose game five.
And I was going to ask you this if they lost tonight.
Happy with the season?
If I told Dallas fans, you go to the Western Conference Finals, aren't you fired up
about this year?
Yeah, no doubt.
I think so, right?
No doubt.
And like we said with the Cains, dude, I said the Cain should be proud to have made
to the Eastern Conference Finals
with all the injuries they had.
You then got swept by the Panthers.
That sucks.
Harts, bad.
It's not fun.
But I still think they should be proud.
Yeah.
Dallas here,
I think this win for them
was very important.
Yep.
On the proud scale.
Vegas is amazing.
Don't get me wrong.
But getting swept just fucking sucks.
And Dallas was great all year.
Like I bet there are some fans
that would be like,
dude, fuck you.
Yeah, exactly.
Like, I picked them to win the cup in our, in our bracket,
or to go, to lose to Boston, obviously.
But I picked them to go, because I was like,
who scares you in the West if you're Dallas?
The abs were too inconsistent.
I mean, they're an elite team, dude.
You got Jason Robinson, you got Rupé Hins,
you've got Tyler Sagan,
Jamie Ben, Joe Pavelski,
Miro Heiskenen.
Like, this is a very good team.
And Otter and Net.
Yeah.
So, yeah, I think saying cup or bust as fans is a,
is very, very well within your right.
and to not get swept is such a good feeling.
Especially on home ice.
Yeah, yeah.
That's the actual definition of the gentleman's sweep.
You give the road team of little road fans to go home with a souvenir.
Okay, I really have one thing to talk about.
This is a great game.
Yeah.
I got one thing to talk about Vegas.
Aiden Hill, dude, has become such a story for me.
Because this Vegas team comes in with Logan Thompson between the pipes.
homie making an all-star game
homie fucking winning
rookie of the month in November
and he's the guy dude
and I'm like sick
then he gets hurt
never to return
and they trade for quick
because they were like
oh we need we need to get a guy
yeah we need goalie help
and they get a guy
and then we made this joke before
but like they
somehow inexplicably thought
they were going to get more from quick
than what he was showing
and they don't like what they see from quick
so then even though he starts
damn near the whole end of the season
LB goes in in the playoffs
Brasois gets lit up in game one against the Jets
and I was like this is a disaster
and the reason Vegas isn't going to win
and then he's great
and I was like wow
what a story
Elby's the guy
The Cinderella story of this playoff is going to be
LB
and then LB gets hurt
and it's Hill dude
and it was always Hill
that's what's crazy
I've been snooping around for the story this whole time
and it's been right under my nose dude
Hill is fucking peak Ken Dryden
he's going to win six titles dude
I've never seen anything like this
Do you remember what you asked me going into the series
No
we headed in the first
into the series and you go like this, big question for Vegas, dude,
who do you start in doing one? And I go like this,
Hill. And you were like this, I think it's LB.
Like, you wanted LB to be real so bad.
I'm telling you, the world will know Aden Hill's name by the time I'm done with him
after this, dude, because he is the story of this playoffs.
As the head of the Protect Our Goleys Committee, are you saying that right now they should
just throw LB in there?
Yes, we need to give, yeah, Hill cannot start game five under any circumstances.
Rest our child. Rest our sweet child.
He's been the story the whole time
He's been the story the whole time
And he was right there, dude
I respect it
I'm so proud of him
Me too
I mean he's been playing out of his mind
He played out of his mind in this game
And I'll tell you what dude
If he, if they win
And then they go to the finals
Even if they lose the finals
But he goes toe to toe with Bob
That boy is going to get paid
Oh my God
He's a free agent dude
Like UFA
Like holy shit
And maybe by Vegas
Because they need someone
but I'm just saying my god, dude.
Yeah, no, I think you're right.
Fucking A.
That's all I got for this game.
Same.
The series.
Yep.
No, I'm ready.
I was going to do our picks if the rounds were over, but they're not over, so we will wait.
We will wait for that.
But yeah, no, this exciting stuff, we got another game of hockey here on Saturday night.
We'll see in Vegas, Dallas, and the Golden Knights go up to see if they can finish the job down in Vegas.
But wild shit, man.
To all our competitors this Saturday and to all you beer leaguers at home, skate hard.
I don't know.
