Empty Netters Podcast - 4. Zegras Is More Electric Than Crosby
Episode Date: November 3, 2022The Injury Bug Has Arrived The Vegas Golden Knights are dangerous Is Adam Fox as good as Cale Makar Joe Pavelski - Electric or not? NEW EPISODES EVERY THURSDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://...www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I want to say two things.
One, I love your costume.
Thank you so much.
Two, it's going to be real tough when this podcast comes out and all the clips come out and the YouTube comes out.
And we're in costume.
And it's three days after Halloween.
I was thinking the same thing, but listen, it's Spirit Week here.
And I wasn't not going to participate in Spirit Week.
And I certainly wasn't going to bring in a change of clothes to change out of my costume just to record the pod and then change back into my costume.
So this felt like the only path forward.
I agree.
And I don't think that there's any reason why we can't just be in costume any given day.
It feels cool.
You're a space cowboy.
I'm a space cowboy.
You're Billy Hoyle?
Great movie.
A great movie.
A great movie.
I did wonder if it was weird dressing as a basketball player from an iconic basketball
movie on the hockey podcast.
It is not.
I wouldn't say it's weird.
It's a choice.
It's maybe not your best choice.
It's just a sick fit, though.
It's just an hour of the day that we're doing the hockey podcast.
Otherwise, you're just kind of living your life as Billy Hoyle in costume on Halloween day.
That's good.
And you aren't going to stop me from doing that.
No, I think you made a good decision.
I also respect your commitment to detail with the fact that you have tube socks on that you've made yourself.
I had to color them in.
You took Sharpie and colored in your own tube socks to make sure that you were spot on.
Not a lot of people would do that.
No.
I mean, I think it just separates you from the rest.
And I'm impressed with it.
But we're not here to talk about Halloween.
We're here to talk about hockey.
We're here to talk about hot ice.
Let's get into some hot ice.
Do you have any that are really, really scorching hot?
I've got some hot ice that I think is pretty intense.
Oh, then maybe you start.
It's not the hottest ice I've ever seen this week,
but there's some hot steam coming up.
Don't get me wrong.
Here's some hot ice that I want to talk about,
because this is very topical.
Last week we talked about some tough injury bugs.
Yeah.
It's getting worse.
I know, man.
I hate to see it.
Drysdale and Anaheim might be done for the season.
Josh Norris in Ottawa might be done for the season
David Craachie's got a little bug
Your boy the Otter is about to miss a week or two
Oshy out indefinitely
Lower body
It is awful
Some key, key players across the league are going down with
not just a little knock here and they're like big time
serious injuries
Are taking players out for months
Which is terrible to see
And what's hot this week
Goalie interference calls
Oh, wow.
I didn't even ever going to bring that up.
I'm so excited.
I saw some bullshit last night.
What the fuck is going on?
I've never seen anything like we have a week of hockey here,
and there have been four pretty controversial goalie interference calls.
There was just one in the Chicago game.
There was one in the Toronto game a couple days ago,
and they are just bad calls, bad, bad calls.
The Chicago Edmonton game, I believe it was, just ridiculous.
stuff going on. Would you say that you
lean on the side
of pro? Like you'd rather
it get called if the goal is getting interfered with at all.
You're like, do you feel like goals were getting scored when there
was goalie interference before and you're like, I'm glad
that's the way the rules being called? Or are you
saying we're over-correcting and calling goalie
interference on everything? I think we're over-correcting.
Listen, I think goalie interference
is a necessary call. I think
if you are
a player, if you're a skater,
and you make contact with the goalie that
clearly fucks up that goalie's positioning,
that should be called goalie interference.
If a team, if a player on the goalie's team
hits or pushes an opposing player into the goalie,
that's a goal dude.
That's your defenseman's fault.
That's your skater's fault.
And I just don't think it's that hard to call.
And I also think there are times where there's a scrum around the crease
and someone's leg or skate is kind of bumping the goalie,
and the goalie either embellishes it or maybe looks like they're kind of thrown off key.
I think that that's horseshit.
If it's a scrum in front of the net, that's part of the game.
Yeah.
And it does feel like these calls that have happened this past week,
most of them are, people seem to be in agreement that they're just bad calls.
Here's when it gets tricky and I hate this, but it's when there's a play,
there's contact that probably was goalie interference, you know, and maybe the goalie
gets knocked off kilter or whatever, but then recovers, then there's a shot, save, rebound,
goal and you're kind of like you know and the goal he freaks because like I just got run into but
but yeah but eight seconds ago and now you're up and fine those are those are always the tough ones where
I know they want that call but I'm like you it was fit it's like an NFL guy jumping offside but then
coming back and then they snap the ball I'm like you don't get that offside anymore yeah it's or like
the ones in hockey games where they challenge for off sides and it was a full minute ago and there was an
entire minute of in zone play I'd like to see it called way less strict like
Like I will, I need a forward to truck stick a goalie to get a goal interference call.
I completely agree.
I think the skater needs to actively fuck up the goalie.
Yeah.
Just be in the way.
And it cannot be as a result of a defensive player hitting, pushing, fucking with that skater and messing up the goal.
That's the one I feel like they miss the most too.
100%.
Like that's the one that should be so eye test.
Like I'm like, yo, he's getting pushed.
This is not a difficult thing for your brain to process.
To me, though,
it's got to be, if I push you and in your physical response to my check, push, cross-check,
whatever, you then hit the goalie and that movement of the goalie, then there's a goal.
Right.
That is goalie interference.
Yep.
But if you and I are jostling in front of the net.
Wait, wait, sorry, you're saying if the defenseman pushes me into the goalie and then it's a
goal, do you still want that to be called?
Oh, sorry.
No, that is not goal interference.
Yeah.
Thank you for that clarification.
So, yeah, if I am pushing you, cross-checking you, whatever.
and then you hit my goalie and a goal goes in, that is a goal.
Yep.
Because I'm on the defensive team there and I caused this.
It would be like if I hit my, it's a same.
Honestly, it's the same thing as me as the defender, hit my own goalie and then they score.
That's not goal interference.
If, however, there's like a reset, you know, it's like I'm pushing you kind of and like you're fine,
but then you're in the goalie's face and then you do something and hit them, then that's goalie interference.
It's not hard.
Do you think we'll start seeing some real flops, though?
Like, let's say you hit me on D, and I just launched myself into the goalie, and I'm like, I got pushed.
I don't think so.
I think hockey players are above that.
We're above the soccer flops.
I think the last 10 or so years, we've seen more embellishment calls.
Yep.
You know, you get the both of them, right?
Yes.
Someone goes for a penalty.
Another person goes for embellishment.
I think it's good.
I think there is some embellishment here and there.
I'm pretty sure Max Domi sold a big time high stick against Rasmus Dahlin this past week.
Stick literally didn't even touch him.
Dahlene's stick came up, came about this close, about an inch away from Domi,
and Domi threw his head back, and they called it.
That's bullshit.
It is bullshit, but it is reactionary.
Like, I've had sticks come close to my face with a cage on, and I still ripped back.
Yeah, of course, but I think it's Domi's responsibility to go over to the Ratch and be like, whoa, he didn't touch.
I was just reacting, didn't touch me.
I think that is fine.
There's a last season, play where OV went down.
They called the penalty and OV got up and went right up to the reference.
Like, don't fucking call that penalty.
And they did it.
That was awesome.
Which is so electric.
It was like mid-game.
Yeah, it was awesome.
So, yeah, the goalie interference, I think we got to chill out on because it's just,
it's not always goalie interference.
Yeah.
It's not.
It's part of the game.
Relaxed with some of these calls.
Agree completely.
That's all I'm saying.
Here's one I wanted to bring up.
How much fun.
How much fun.
fun or you haven't watching Eric Carlson play hockey right now.
I got to say it's unexpected.
It's like I'm watching.
I think I stupidly wrote him off.
Yeah.
Not wrote him off, but I was like, Carlson will be a 35, 40 goal score or 40 point score.
Yeah. He's just dying in San Jose, signed his fat ticket, and he's just going to coast.
But he is the hottest defenseman in the NHL right now.
I'm having fun watching.
It's unbelievable.
He's having fun playing.
11 in 11, I think.
Six goals.
He's got two OT winners this past week.
Yeah.
The rags.
I believe it was his second one that was one of the sexiest OT winner goals you'll ever see.
It was just so sick.
Like he,
credit to the,
I can't remember who it is,
but another shark back checks too and like actually breaks up the past.
But Carlson's the one that chases down the breakaway and then has the wherewithal.
His back check was more important.
Yeah, 100%.
Yeah.
But then has the wherewithal.
to see everyone's caught up and bolt immediately.
And then some disgusting backhand, forehand cheddar.
Oh, my God.
What?
Stops on a dime shelves.
Dude, that little hips bubble into the hard brakes.
Oh, my God.
He's back.
He's back to...
It's like 2012 Carlson.
Yeah, he's back to Ottawa Carlson when he was just being so elite,
getting two Norris trophies.
He, this is a big motherfucker to people like me.
Yeah, yeah.
Eric Carlson is motherfucking me.
And I deserve it.
There's a chance he time travel.
He might have time traveled into his previous body and is now playing for the sharks.
They might have a younger Carlson on the team.
Tell me, try to explain that.
How did that happen?
Here's the thing.
I think they're just working on some stuff up in NorCal.
There's high tech going on up there.
I don't know what they got.
But I'm just saying if there's a particle collider that's creating a hole in the space time continuum
for Carlson to go back 10 years and then lace them up for the sharks, I think that
we can't rule that out.
We can't.
And there's also nothing in the rule book against that.
Yes, dude.
And then that may be a rule for next year.
We can talk to the rules committee and address that later.
but for now he gets to play the whole year.
Just saying you got a Bay Area team close to Silicon Valley.
There's a lot of stuff going on up there.
I don't know.
I don't know.
And neither do I.
And here's the thing.
If they're capitalizing on the close proximity of the chance of someone working on a time travel machine
and they're getting young Carlson back, I would do it too.
Doesn't he strike the type of guy that would guinea pig that shit too?
Like he'll just like, hey, dude, do you want to step into this chamber?
It might deage you 10 years.
And he's like this.
Okay.
Yes, I think the first player in the NHL to do that would be Jumbo.
Yeah.
But unfortunately, Jumbo's not on the team yet.
Not yet.
Not yet.
But if he's coming back, he's going to San Jose.
Yeah, Carlson looks very good.
It's great.
It's really, really good to see.
I want to talk about a team that is playing very good hockey right now.
Okay.
And I got to say, it's a little scary how good the Vegas Golden Knights look.
Um, they are, listen,
Vegas is one of the most interesting teams
you'll ever see in professional sports,
just with everything that's going.
For their whole, their whole existence.
This is what their fifth year in the league.
I think that's right.
Yeah.
Something like that.
They have a Stanley Cup appearance.
They have multiple Western Conference finals appearances.
They're, they've been perennial threats
since entering the NHL, which is unheard of,
especially when you look at Seattle's year last year, the start they're off to this year.
Vegas is just a threat.
And yet they've had multiple different coaches in their very young, young life.
And here they are, new coach again, Bruce Cassidy.
They got full season, healthy Jack Eichel,
and they are looking like they maybe have it figured out.
It's early.
Everyone keeps yelling at us in the comments.
I know it's early, guys.
It's an 82 game season.
We're 10, 10 or so games in.
But you can see stuff this early.
Not everything,
but what I'm seeing 10 games in from Vegas
is pretty scary.
Listen, they have had the talent the whole time
due to a weird expansion draft rules system,
whatever you want to call it.
And luck with timing,
you know, the way it worked out with some people
that Carlson, I think they lucked into
or got more.
than they expected flower they that was a timing thing point being they got a lot of they got a lot of
good fortune when they were assembling that team but we've seen it a million times it's easy to squander
a good roster just because you have a good collection of talent doesn't mean you pull it off and they
look at vancouver yeah right poor one out to the canucks hey congrats on the wins though guys hey hey
couple in a row here really good stuff couple in a row you i think they got seattle by the way you
said when i've said when i pitched that game you're like they might get seattle they might get it yeah um
So, yeah, listen, they have a great roster.
They've been a threat that missed the playoffs last year.
And to the surprise of many, me included.
And I was, I'm excited.
I like, dude, I don't know.
People are pissed that Vegas is like all of a sudden, or immediately good.
I think it's sick.
I think that has Vegas.
A lot of hockey fans are like, oh, great, Vegas is good immediately.
We've been toiling away trying to create a team and they have this cup.
I think the only people who are mad about that are fan bases that have sucked for so long and they can't get in the playoffs.
But I'm saying Vegas fans show up.
That town is sick.
I see that rink is awesome.
I think it's cool, and I, I'm thrilled.
I'm thrilled with the early results.
I think it's silly to say because it's been such a short amount of time,
but the NHL is better when Vegas is good.
Yeah, I'm down.
I'll co-sign that.
I'll go sign that right now.
And electric atmosphere in the desert in Vegas is, that's what's up.
You need that.
But yeah, they look scary.
They look really scary.
You know who else is really scary, obviously, is your boy Connor McDavid.
he literally has 18 points through nine games nine and nine and at this point I feel as though there's no other option than the other than this is a genuine shot at me like I truly believe that he is listening to the pod following the page and is attacking me personally I know for certain that he saw that and is motherfucking you definitely I will also say we we talked about
this on the podcast saying that Connor was scoring 50 this year yeah it was he's
dealing with the Crosby effect right right going oh great dude you've got dry
sidle you're you're you're just passing the puck and sweet 70 assists man you can't
score 50 we've talked about that on the podcast we're not the only ones who have
talked about that this is I don't know what it is about this year but I feel like a lot
of people in the hockey world we're kind of like I feel like this is the year where
Connor scores 50 we are not the only ones to say that yeah we did say it and
boy golly does it look like that's going to happen he's got nine goals and nine games and he's not
playing hockey dude it's it's i don't get what's going he does it every year and somehow he does
every week he does something new that doesn't make sense he scores some goal makes some move that
i'm like you're not playing the same game as everyone else there out there on the ice listen
Connor, it's a hot start, nothing else.
I want you to hear me when I say this, Connor.
18 points, enjoy it.
That's about, that's the hottest month you're going to have all year.
You're going to peter out at about 80.
It's been fun, but you stink, kid, you stink.
Let's see if that motivates him anymore.
Yeah, you're really playing with fire here.
You're just, you're making a very dangerous man pissed off.
And that's, that's an interesting idea.
I can't remember if this was on the pod.
or us just talking, but I remember saying to you, like, I wonder, because we were doing those,
it must have been the pod, we were talking about those crazy seasons from the 80s. And I'm,
and I said, I don't even know if we'll ever see 160 again ever. You know, like, we're looking
to those Eisenman years, like, 155, and I'm like, we might never see 160 again ever. Yeah.
And like, Connor just pops 160 immediately after I said that.
I was going to say, there's a chance that he might just stay at this, both goal and assist rate
per game and just pop 82 and 82.
Moronic.
And just be insane.
Speaking of other people who are hot in the hot ice segment,
I really love it when someone bets on themselves.
Same.
And they were right.
I love that.
I love when someone bets on themselves and then they nut up and deliver.
So I'm giving mad golf claps to Yesper Brat.
Oh, yeah.
Whoa, what a week, dude.
Massive week.
I believe he's got
15 points, 4 goals, 11 assists so far.
He is in the top 20 in the NHL in points to this point.
He signed a one year 5.4-5 million dollar contract.
Young player, electric, exciting player,
had a career high last season in points, goals, and assists, I believe,
and signed a one-year deal.
Like he wasn't getting the fat ticket
that he wanted.
So he went,
all right,
give me one year,
and I'm going to
pump in points,
and then you will give me that fat.
And then you're going to pump in zeros
into my bank account.
You're going to pump.
Watch how fat that daddy gets.
You're going to pump in sheets
into my bank.
Stack, stack,
stack.
And that's how it looks so far.
He has already double digits in points.
And let's call it what it is.
The devils are good.
Dude,
you,
I was surprised by this last week.
I pegged them to miss the playoffs.
very clearly. The devils are good so far. Yeah, it's a real problem.
10, 11 games in the season and the devils are no joke. They're doing that
like nobody believes in us thing. They're riding that hard. And it works,
dude, it works. But they are all about that swag with like, oh, okay, you think we're a bad
dude? Take notice. I'm also going to say this, what they're getting right now, which I don't
think that they've got a lot of in the past, is their best players are playing good, all of them.
Yeah. It's Jack Hughes, Nico Heeshire, Yusper Bratt, Dougie Hamill.
Hamilton, they're all performing like we, you know, Devils fans hoped they could or would.
And that hasn't really happened yet.
So watch out.
Impressed.
Props to that.
Watch out.
You got more, I got one more if you want it.
Yeah, I do.
I want all the hot ice.
Ovi is three goals away from passing Gordy Howe.
Ovi has 784, Gordy Howe is 76, for most goals in NHL history.
ever scored on one team.
Yeah, that's pretty cool, or who gives a fuck?
I, you know what?
I didn't really think about that question,
and I was going to say, that's super cool.
But I don't know that it's super cool.
I think it's cool, definitely.
It's a really good stat to have.
Most goals in a career on one team.
Cool stat, but it's not that awesome.
I'm kind of who gives a fuck.
I'm like, all right, dude, whatever.
And granted, I felt that way.
like watching Aaron Judge this year
when they're like, yeah, he's racing to get third.
And I'm like, or not even, dude, but you know, it's seventh.
I'm like, okay.
So part of me is like, let me know when he's three away from Gretzky
or, you know, even closer.
It's going to be super fun watching him hunt that down,
which I think he will do.
But I don't really need these like made up milestones along the way.
I, well, okay, I think that's a little harsh.
It's not a made up milestone.
This is a cool milestone, but it is not a stop the press's milestone.
I think that's the difference.
And I don't think they're making it out to be.
I think it's just kind of came up and along the race for Gretzky.
It's kind of like a, oh, and also what he's about to do is this, which is pretty cool.
Okay.
Okay, you brought me back a little bit.
I'll give him that.
You know what I'd be interested to see is where Gretzky is on that list, even with moving to as many teams as he has.
Very cool.
Because I'm sure he is probably very high.
I bet he is in the top five.
It would be sick if his Oilers and Kings totals.
are like both in top 10 or something like that with that.
That's an interesting thing.
We should check that out.
Yeah.
We should check that out.
Okay.
Speaking of some great players,
we're going to move away from hot ice here.
Yeah.
Great hot ice, though.
Good job.
Great hot ice.
Again, another electric week in the NHL.
And we want to stay on that electric train
and talk about some electrifying players.
So not who we think the best players in the league are.
Yeah.
Who is like,
if I met a new hockey fan and they were,
trying to get into the game, I'd be like, watch this person play hockey.
Yeah.
And you will think it's a jolt of electricity into your veins.
And I want to spend a little more time clarifying this because I think we're going to take
some heat maybe for our, because I didn't pick traditional selections here.
Okay.
Because what you just said, I think Sidney Crosby is one of the best players in the league.
Still.
Same.
I don't know that I would call Sidney Crosby electrifying.
I think same.
I think if you're watching his game, who is more entertaining?
And you don't spoil one of your picks.
No, you put him up against Avechkin, for example.
Avechkin's probably more entertaining because he is pumping in goals.
He sally's super hard.
He lays wood all over the ice.
And as a 100 point scorer also throwing the body around, you don't see that that often.
So I think that that's an important clarification here.
We're talking about most electrifying players, guys that you're going to watch every week, every game, and go, and you'll just see them do shit on the ice that where you're like, Jesus Christ, I can't believe this.
We're each going to pick four, but can we make one rule?
Yes, I know the rule you're going to say, and it's necessary.
You're not allowed to pick McDavid.
Connor McDavid cannot be selected.
Because here's the thing, we're talking about the most electric hockey players, and Connor McDavid isn't playing hockey.
Or certainly not a version of it that my earth brain can digest.
He is not playing in the NHL with the rest of the play.
players in the league. He's playing something else.
Great. So when we do a draft of most electrifying players in space, hockey, we'll both pick
him because he's the only player in the league. Yeah, when we are tripping on ghost magic,
Connor is allowed to be selected. He is not... He's picked one through four for both of us. He's not
allowed to be selected here. Great. You can start most electrifying players in the game right now.
Okay. I'm going... The person I'm taking first is maybe not the person I think is the
the most electrifying in the league, maybe not, but I just want to get them.
So I'm taking them now, so I don't give you the chance.
And it's his egress.
Fuck.
Yeah, that's the response I wanted.
That's exactly what I expected from you, Dan.
Thank you so much.
Here's the thing, dude.
I feel like Trevor didn't get selected on our all-chill team because of a positional.
Yeah, it was.
Caviar.
Not even caveat.
Just, you know, he had tough competition at that center position.
But Treve is electrifying.
That's a good pick.
And here's what I think is cool, dude.
He will try.
anything on the ice.
You know, like the Michigan's not cool anymore, Dan.
You know what it is?
A billion Michigan's.
And that's what he's going to do.
That's one of the lamest lines you've ever said.
That's what he's going to do.
Dude, he'll do a Michigan pass.
He invented the Michigan pass.
He invented the Michigan reach around, which was fantastic.
There's no stopping what his brain is capable of out there.
And I think that's something, that's a sight to behold for everyone that wants to be
entertained watching hockey.
I also think adding to his electricity,
a very key, key moment adding to his electricity
was switching to number 11
because 46 is a dust number
and you cannot be electric wearing 46.
He was though.
I think he could have made 46 cool.
I'm a little upset that he changed
because, listen, I get it.
It's your camp number
and he kept it last year.
It's obviously not his favorite number.
I think it's sick when guys rock a bizarre number.
I mean, like,
cratesie looks good.
in 46. I think Ziegress could have made
46 electric as well. He could have changed that.
He changed the perspective on 46
because an electric number. I don't hate that take,
but I think it just works for him.
I love seeing the double sticks fly around
there. And here's the other thing, Dan.
He's never been, all through his career. He's never been
a great plus minus guy. Maybe it's some of the teams
he's on. But my point is when Zegra's on
the ice, goals getting scored one way or another.
Either he's not going to the net
or one's ending up in his. There's absolute mayhem.
Like a puck will end up in the net when
Zegris is on the ice.
He's not really sure which one.
So, you know, just know that there's going to be action when he's skating around.
He might cradle one and throw it into his own net if the mood strikes him.
You know, it is completely unchecked potential with the kid.
And I think having that, it's scary playing defense against a guy like that
because you don't know what he could do.
Oh, yeah.
You know, you're used to normal moves.
I know how to stay in front of a guy, watch the body, whatever.
He could do literally anything on the ice.
I think Zegris is the most carefree player in the game.
It shows.
And that is electric.
When you're carefree, that's when you're experimenting.
Yeah.
And he experiments a lot.
He's a little chemist out there.
It's the swag, the confidence that a lot of these young players have in the league now.
You used to have to come in and really earn your stripes, you know, and make the veterans trust you.
Like, you wouldn't try crazy shit like that when you were a younger player.
Even in the Crosby, Ovechkin, Kane, like those areas.
You wouldn't come in and try insane shit because a veteran would be like, because if it didn't work, they'd be like, are you high, dude?
go sit on the bench.
I mean, even still,
the Don Cherries and the John Tortorellas of the world
are spitting on the ground in anger every time Zegris does something like he does in the ice.
Those guys are getting fewer and fewer in the game.
Oh, yeah.
I think those are the types of guys.
If you're pissing them off, you're doing something right.
Yes, you are electric.
If you are pissing them off, you are an electric player.
I want Zegris to try a bounce shot.
And if it misses, no one's going to give a hell
because he's the man, he's capable of anything,
and he will continue to pull it off.
Yeah.
You're a flashy electric player.
You need more of that.
God, I'd love to play with the kid.
All right, the guy I'm taking first.
He's off to a slow start this year,
and I frankly think that is going to last for maybe one more game
because he is too good.
He is too electric.
I'm going Mo Sider.
Okay.
Mo is, you know, rookie of the year winner last year,
got 50.7 goals, 43 assists in his first season last year,
and I have never in my life seen a defenseman that young,
bully, big time veteran players the way he does. He is a, you know, just shot, just recently
knew of not being a teenager. And he skates around out there and fucking punishes people. Reverse hits
left and right. Every other shift, he's burying his shoulders through people's fucking clavicle.
It's unbelievable. Guy has soft, soft mitts, just made of cashmere out there. On the blue line,
dish in the puck around, scores goals, crush his bodies.
And as far as what we talked about with Travis, he's carefree,
the confidence that Mo has at that young age on this young Detroit team that now just added
a bunch of veterans.
Detroit is a serious, serious team this season.
Mo is just so electric to watch every shift because he is either going to make the smoothest
offensive play you've ever seen or he is going to break bones.
on the defensive side.
That's my favorite part about this pick by you
because it's not just,
and there might be a player that comes up soon,
I don't know if someone's going to get him,
but that is more electric on one side of the equation.
Having a grab bag of potential of possibilities
when watching a mow shift makes him really cool
because you don't know if he will shatter the glass,
he'll shatter someone's body through the flexi glass
or absolutely dangle someone
and put one on a peach back door, sick goal, right?
It's unbelievable.
capable of anything. And Dan, I think it's cool being electric from the back end. I think you get a
little boost of electricity if you are that cool and exciting. You are preaching to the choir on the
back end. It's if you're a blue liner and you are just, I mean, there's a few that we could say
right now. I don't want to spoil any picks. But when you are just cruising up the ice from the
blue line, going end-to-end rushes, commanding the offense, and then also a set.
sound-ass defender.
It's about as electric as it gets.
And Mo stepped on the ice,
his rookie season,
and did exactly that
and has no plans to stop.
Yeah,
why would he?
Why would he?
It would be stupid.
It would be stupid to stop.
Mo Sider,
electric factory.
Great,
great one.
I'm glad you got some defensemen in there.
I feel like,
and maybe it was one of the chill teams.
I got a bunch of defenders
that you wanted,
so I'm happy to get a guy back there.
The next one I'm doing, Dan,
is people are going to hate this pick, I think,
but I genuinely stand by what we discussed at the top of this,
which is you just got to watch it.
If it was a new fan, I'd be like you've got to watch this.
You're going to get your money's worth if you watch this.
And the answer is Brad Marsha.
Damn, okay, you're two-for-two on plucking people from my tree.
Oh, wow.
Okay, I didn't know if you were going to be on that.
No, Brad is, yeah.
Well, because here's why, right?
I think that he came into the league.
you know, he's the rat.
He's the guy.
He's the guy.
You like him when he's on your team, but everyone else hates him.
That's the M.O., right?
And I'm sure he still has that stigma.
In fact, I know he does.
But at the beginning of his career, he was just that rat.
And he was super exciting on that B's Cup run as a young player.
He clearly showed potential.
Yeah, Martian came burst onto the scene in 2011 when the Bruins won the Cup.
When he was, you know, flipping the Sadiens over his back
and just being a complete pest while also.
racking up points in the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Yep.
Everyone learned who Brad Marchand was, and half the league has hated him since.
Yep.
But then after that, well, a good player for sure wasn't the guy he became recently.
It wasn't the 100-point guy.
And I don't even know if Bruins fans saw that coming.
No, he's a good guy.
He's a good player.
You know, happy to have him here.
He's a great fit with Bergey.
That's awesome.
We'll keep him around.
But dude, then, I mean, he got on that Olympic squad, right?
And he was playing with Sid.
and he just took his game to a level that probably only him and his mother believed was going to happen.
And he made it work.
So now he is a 100-point guy that genuinely surprises me with some of his short-side snipes.
That snapshot he has.
Like he will come down and fire one over Tendie's shoulder that, like, I didn't even know he had in him.
Brad, I think, yeah, he's got an electric snapshot.
Yeah.
He is just so I think his shorthanded goal,
record is another element of how dope he is and how much.
I just think Brad loves proving people wrong and loves being a fucker out there.
Like he scores goals that piss his teams off.
He is a killer.
Yep.
And that is electric.
And he's also, listen, man, part of being electric is being entertaining.
And if you think Brad Washington isn't entertaining, you're a fucking idiot.
And frankly, I think you are dumb for not bringing that up immediately.
You're sitting over here.
You're sitting over here like some boring NHL analyst being like, oh, Brad, he wasn't the player.
Talk about why he's electric, dude.
He's electric because he's an entertainer.
He might as well have a top hat on when he's skating around the ice with the goals that he scores
and then facewashing people, licking people.
Brad is making headlines every single game because he is an entertainer.
Well, that's my whole point.
It's two parts of the equation because I think if he comes out and he's licking everybody
and punching everybody and cup checking everybody and sucks, he's just a piece of shit.
not entertaining or electric and I wouldn't want anyone to watch it.
Correct.
The fact that he can go a hundred burger and then lick someone in the face in the same season
is must watch television.
You know what else he does?
Another thing that you failed to mention, I might take this pick away from you.
He is so funny on social media.
A complete troll on Twitter and Instagram.
Always commenting on stuff.
Always fucking with teams.
I think he smashed a pie in Nick Folino's face for his birthday or something recently.
but Brad is just always doing stuff.
He's always making noise.
Yes, he is.
Always making noise.
It's great.
I miss the Tory crew prank days.
That was really fun.
And he's aware of the moment, too.
Remember when McGregor was at the Bees game and he scores the winner?
And just starts McGregor walking up and down the ice.
He knows how to put on a show.
He is Maximus and Gladiator entertaining the mob.
And he would have it no other way.
And he is one of the number one people I would tell anyone to watch.
Yeah.
Brad is electrifying.
There's no doubt about it.
And it's just, it's that entertainment factor, man.
I can't, I can't take it.
I'm going to another young guy here.
Again, these are picks.
I think people are going to be like,
you're missing some of the best players in the league.
I'm buying stock early here.
And part of the entertainment here is in the name.
And I'm going with Cole, aka Golkopf.
Oh, damn.
I wanted that one.
Goll Coffield is such an electric little player.
Came into Montreal,
one of the hardest markets to play in,
always getting shit from the fans,
always getting shit from the media,
slides into Montreal,
has kind of a tough season,
and then his father gets the job,
Martin St. Louis.
What a treat.
And since then,
ho-hum, wouldn't you know,
Cole Cawfield is just pumping in tucks.
Every which way you look at it,
he's a fun guy, always smiling,
always laughing.
Him and Ziegress cut from the same cloth,
100%.
When you're talking about carefree,
especially since the appointment of St. Louis,
there are a few guys in the league you could say are as carefree as goal Cofield.
He is just chilling in Montreal,
one of the biggest hockey markets in the entire league,
unbelievable rank in the Bell Center,
and he just doesn't give a shit.
He's just tucking.
And he's showing poise with some of these goals.
One of his goals over the weekend gets a pass from behind the net,
holds, holds, makes the goal he gets off his line shelf job.
Yep.
Cole is the definition of electric.
He's a young waterbug, rips all over the ice, has got one hell of a shot,
and similar to Zegris, very inventive out there.
You need that.
He's playing with Suzuki, and they're playing, they're snapping the puck back and forth,
trying different things, getting creative, having fun with it.
They're putting on a show in Montreal.
And part of being electric is having an electric nickname,
and I would say that Gold Caulfield is a fucking lightning bolt.
That's about as electric as it comes, dude.
Are you kidding me?
That's as good of a nickname as you're going to find.
That is for sure.
I also think he benefits big time from Suzuki being named captain.
Yeah, I like that.
You're not the leader.
I mean, it'd be too early, right?
Yeah.
You get to have some fun.
Yeah.
You know?
No, I wasn't saying that, you know, he was necessarily in the running for that captain.
For that captain's, for that captain's he plays with Suzuki.
Suzuki's his boy.
And Suzuki taken on that pressure of being like, yeah, I'm the captain.
I'm going to be the one that has to answer the questions if I spend.
be fucking French or not up there in Montreal.
And Cole just lets Nick handle all that shit.
And he just chills.
He just chills and charges up and just shoots electricity all over the ice.
Yeah.
Because he doesn't have to answer those questions.
He doesn't have to be the one that's sitting there after a tough loss.
He's the one that gets to just be like, oh yeah, did you see that sick play I made in the second period?
I had my guy.
It's perfect.
Yeah.
So he is one of the most entertaining guys going in the league right now.
Put your eyes on number 22 up in Montreal.
Love the pick.
Love the pick.
Taking a quick break from the podcast to talk about Labat Blue Light.
There is no question that the best beer to drink while watching some hockey is Labat Blue Light.
I'm hard-pressed to think of a better feeling on earth than cracking an ice-cold beer right at Puck drop.
It enhances the entire experience.
No question about it.
I mean, when you're watching hockey, you've got to have a beer.
Whether you're at the game, whether you're sitting in your living room at a bar,
you need a nice cold beer while you're watching some puck and nothing beats Labat.
Nothing.
So next time you're watching hockey with your bud.
be sure to share a Labat
because while you might not all root for the same team
you can't all enjoy a Labat Blue Light
it's that easy now let's get back to the pot
okay my third one Dan is
I you are going to scoff at this
but I'll defend myself
one of my favorite players to watch
one of the most electric players in the league
is Joe Pavelsky
yeah what
and let me tell you this
pick this is. Here's why I got this one, dude. He's, we just talked about this. He's one of the oldest
guy's in the league, right? And he hasn't slowed down at all. 81 and 82 last year. He's
got like 8 and 9 so far this year. Here's why I picked him. There, I can't point to anything
that he does in the game of hockey better or the best compared to the rest of the league,
except for one thing. This dude has the best hand-eye coordination in the league. He has the best
hand-eye coordination of anyone I've ever seen. He might have the best hand-eye coordination
of anyone to ever have been born. Dude, I am positive that if Joe Pavelski picked baseball,
he would be the first person since Ted Williams hit over 400. I dare anyone to watch this dude
at practice tip puck. He stays after. They fire 500 pucks at him, and not only does he not miss a single
one, but everyone is redirected perfectly into the four corners than that he could call a shot like he's
playing fucking pool. It's insane. And I'll say this.
watching NHL guys go like take pucks off their skates or play pucks off the wall is always mesmerizing just because they're so good
this guy not a puck goes near him this is just no fly zone to it a puck goes anywhere near a past
deflecting a pass deflecting any shot it is one of the coolest skills i've ever seen on display by an hl player
and it deserves it deserves a medal it deserves a trophy it's something to behold it's something to celebrate
and i need everyone to know about it i'm not joking when i say this you ruin the podcast when you do stuff like this
Because making such good picks, it embarrasses you.
This is such a bad pick.
I don't even know how to respond to it.
And don't get me wrong.
Joe Pavelsky is the man.
He's a great player.
You'd be lucky to have him on your team.
Without question.
Also, an absolute stick on the golf course.
Yes.
Pavelski is the definition of he's not electrifying.
He's not going to wow you, but he's going to be a solid, unbelievable player.
He does all the basics right.
Great back checker.
Just a good all-around player, but there's nothing flashy about him at all.
With one exception.
You just name...
He has the most electrifying skill in the league.
You're coming off so stupid.
It's unbelievable.
This is the stuff that people make fun of us for.
Imagine having the most electrifying skill in the league in your possession and then getting told...
You think the best skill that an NHL player could be is hand-eye coordination in practice and warm-ups?
It's not just in practice.
Are you kidding me?
Are you high?
is the worst.
He does it every game.
I have ever fucking seen.
I can't wait for these picks to come out so people can go,
that's obviously a mistake.
Joe Pavelski is not supposed to be in here.
And the most electrifying players in the league.
This is crazy.
You've hung your entire argument on one skill that...
Which is so cool.
That you have only picked, by the way,
because of watching videos of warm-ups and practice.
It's not like he's out of here every single game,
plucking pucks out of the air and scoring on tips.
is scoring with tips all the time and he knocks down passes all the time.
Like you're like,
he only doesn't in practice.
And I'm like,
no,
he literally doesn't every time he jumps on the ice.
But I'm saying your entire argument is based on these videos that you see from practice where
someone's firing puck's from the point and he's just tipping it.
It's really impressive.
But dude,
if you watch a Dallas Stars game and go point out the most electric player on the ice,
I don't even think he's the third player on the stars that someone would notice.
I think he's not the third.
I agree there's three.
better players maybe.
No, more electric players.
I don't know, dude.
Tell me who's more electric on the stars.
I think Jason Robinson is absolutely more electric.
I think Rupert Hintz is absolutely more electric.
I think Otter from the fucking net is more electric than Joe Povellis.
That I actually well.
I want to clear up again.
Joe Povellsky is amazing.
He's an awesome player.
I would kill to have him on my team.
Just so he could tip in every fucking shot that went in here and near the net.
Me too.
It would be amazing.
Good God.
What a stupid.
pick and I feel just so happy and confident that my list is now burying yours.
Great. You take some boring skill. Tell me why it's cool. So here's my next pick and this is
one, like I said, we didn't necessarily want to pick the best players in the league, but there
are some that you just cannot ignore. And I have to go with the Nate Dog. Oh, Nathan McKinnon
is electric for reasons that we've kind of touched on. I think Nate Dogg is. I think Nate Dog is,
is a pit bull on the ice.
To be as skilled as he is,
to be considered a top four player in the league
and just have that dog in you.
I don't even think anyone in the top 10
comes close to Nate Dogg
when it comes to being a sick individual.
He is constantly, constantly making headlines
because he's screaming at players on the other team.
He's screaming at fans.
He's screaming at his coaches.
There are videos of him falling off the bench.
He's going so fucking crazy.
Got Landisog over here trying to calm him down because he's such a fucking lunatic.
That, to me, is electric.
There's a direct correlation with electricity and entertained value.
You said it well after I pointed you there with Marshand.
Before you let me finish, you mean.
Yeah, before I interrupt you.
But I'm telling you, Nate Dogg, every single game you can watch, and he is doing something ridiculous.
Similar to Sider, Lays Wood.
he's a unit out there on the ice,
skates about as fast as anyone else out there
except for the fake human being Connor McDavid,
and when he hits you full speed,
it's got a vetchkin vibes.
Not going to feel good.
Not going to feel good.
So to be, you know,
sniffing around that 100 point type guy
and you are bodying the fuck out of people,
that is electric.
Nate Dogg is scoring key goals at key moments.
He is a two-way player.
He's a just a winner,
and he'll do anything for.
I also think there's something electric about how insane he is when it comes, you know,
he doesn't let teammates drink soda, he doesn't let them eat poorly.
He's just, the guy is a machine.
And I love that.
Like not great teammate when you're literally on the ice would love to have him on the squad.
Yeah.
Hate to have him on the squad every moment I'm off the ice when he's just dictating my entire life to make sure he gets his needs.
He's one of those guys where whatever team you're a fan of,
when you're watching a game against the Colorado Avalanche,
when Nate Dogg is on the ice, you are very aware of it.
It's a subconscious thing.
When you're watching a game with Colorado,
you are very, very aware
and paying attention to one over 29 steps on the ice.
Because he's going to do something.
He's got a little bit of that.
They'd always say about Michael Jordan that he was like,
is it a chance?
Or not a chance.
There's certainly someone in the arena tonight
that has never seen me play,
so I'm not going to give it my all
because I don't want that person to say,
I saw MJ once and he didn't try and he sucked.
Nate Dogg has a little of that in him,
where I'm like, if you show up to an Aves game, you are getting full Nate Dogg.
You're getting full, unfiltered, unadulterated Nate Dog.
Every game he plays.
Yep.
That's electric.
I love it.
I mean, come on.
I love it.
Can you tell me if your last one is a defense.
Actually, don't tell me, I'm just going to go with what I had because I kind of thought you were going to say something else.
No, you got to.
Got to go with your pick.
And if you don't get it to it, if you don't.
don't say it later we're gonna talk about it okay so I'm going for my last one I'm
going Mika Zabinajad and here's what I think's cool about him dude there got like
Kreider who's our boy yeah I interrupt you real quick yeah I love this pick oh that's
great I really I got you back in dude yeah you know I you're dip shit and a moron but I
love this pick so what I think Kreider is our boy is is a friend of the program he pots 50
but he's the big body in front of the net.
He skates hard.
He skates fast and he's tucking in rebounds and all that stuff.
There's another good example of great player.
I'm not saying here's the most electric player, right?
And Mika, I feel is the exact opposite.
He had that sick highlight from night or two ago.
He's touching no look passes into one T's back door.
First game of the season, his shorthy backhand cheese ball.
Backhand top titty on Vasi.
Are you kidding?
and then how about a few of those one-timers in the playoffs going bar down, you know,
and he just had the look, right?
Like he looks electric out there.
The hair's fucking flying out of the back of the helmet.
He's zooming up the wing.
He's chipping Pucks past D.
He's just, he's all over the place, and he looks like a mad scientist out there, and it's sick.
Like, it just adds to the entertainment value for me.
And similar to how I said being a blue liner and kind of makes you more electric for me,
his bromance with Kreider adds to the electricity in his game like dude they know where each other is the whole time he's firing backdoor cries fire and back door they're immediately pointing at each other hugging at each other it's like the most wholesome fun i've ever had watching hockey players on a team i don't root for i just love everything about their duo everything about the package
crider's the thunder ziba's the lightning bolt he's the electric one and i hope he rides with it forever and he is just that that was nice to take my bows after the show
But yeah, he's one of my favorite players to watch absolutely electric talent on the rags. And what a delight.
I like this pick because Ziba's new electricity.
Yeah.
Obviously, my two young boys are new as well. But Ziba's been around. He's been in the league. He was on Ottawa. It ends up in New York. He is a huge part of this. You know, the last three, four years, New York's done with the rebuild, right? They're not missing the playoffs anymore. They're now a serious, serious threat, which they very much are.
and Ziba, I remember having conversations with people in this office last year about Ziba not being considered a legitimate number one center.
And I was like, what the fuck are all of you talking about?
He is absolutely that.
But I think that is evidence as to how some people didn't appreciate Ziba for what he is.
And the last two seasons, last season and out into this season, he's putting everyone on notice.
Ziba is a very, very electric player.
And yeah, that little bromance with Crieds is, it's awesome.
It's fun to see.
You've got bromances around the league that I think make the NHL fun.
Jumbo and Bernsey in San Jose back in the day.
Marchand and Bergeron.
Ziba and Crider are, they've got to be a top five bromance in the league right now.
Oh, easily.
And that is fun.
Entertainment.
We're talking about entertainment here.
New age, electric,
Electricity.
Win the crowd.
Yeah.
And Ziba, you're doing it.
You're doing it with, because you're right.
He is, I feel like on paper, you kind of look at him and you're like, yeah, he's a setup, man.
He's, he's so silky.
He's going to pass the part.
But he scores electric goals and the past he does make are noticeably electric.
He almost burned MSG to the ground last playoff run.
I know.
Jesus Christ.
Are you kidding me?
That's a good pick.
I, the everything in me wants to pick a defenseman.
Right.
Okay. I'll give you the same advice you gave me. Go with your gut, take your pick, but I think we probably are going to have to talk about something after this.
We are going to have to talk about something, but there's a human being on the blue line that we all know who I'm talking about, but I can't pick him right now because I just picked his teammate.
Okay.
So I'm not picking him. I'm not picking him. There is another blue liner who is a teammate of Mika that I...
Oh, yeah.
In the conversation.
I think I'm going to pick.
Okay.
And there's another, it's between him and a forward who made my all-chill team.
And I don't want to double down on teams here.
I don't want to double down on our drafts.
So I'm going with Adam Fox.
Tell me what.
I think Adam Fox is, he is a constant top five, arguably top three defensemen in the league.
and I think most people would say
Kale McCar is the better player
I would say everyone would say that including Adam
You got...
That is wrong
You got Nate McKinnon over here saying that he thinks
He thinks Kail McCar is going to be the greatest defenseman
to have ever played the game when it's all said and done
Which is fucking mental
And who knows
It's as if Nate Dogg has never seen the best of Bobby or VHS
Dude or Ray Bork
Or Nick Lidstrom or Chris Pronger
or Paul Coff.
I was like, you better say the dude
you said always gets over a look.
But I just made my point.
No one ever mentions Paul Coff.
There is,
there's something about Adam Fox
and I think
I'm seeing a pattern here
with my Mo Cider pick
with my comments about
Vegkin,
my comments about Nate Dogg.
Adam Fox is,
I would say,
borderline,
if not certainly,
just as gifted
offensively as Kale.
He tucked 73 points
or something.
last season so quietly, by the way.
I will.
It's like, that is a good point.
You got Yossi having the best year of his career last year.
Kale right behind him, wins the Norris.
It was really, it was, you know, it was those two guys that people were talking about.
And Foxy is over here just burying 73 points and no one's talking about it.
He won it the year before.
Yeah.
Fox is one hell of a fucking player.
And it is wild.
me how good he is offensively for how big and and intimidating of a body he is defensively.
Yeah, not.
He does not get pushed around.
Kale, I think Kail is actually a really great player defensively because of how quick he is,
because of how good he is with his stick, he makes up for it.
But you get some of the biggest boys in the league bumping around in front of the net,
in front of the crease, and Adam Fox could go his toe to toe with any of them.
I think that's right. He doesn't have the
build,
a traditional build of someone. Kale looks more like the guy.
If I kind of stood them up on a police lineup thing
and they did their three pictures,
which I would know nothing about.
Never done that.
And I said to you,
which one of those guys you think is the more electric,
offensive, dynamic talent.
I think everyone points to the Kale build over the Fox.
I can't wait to look this up and see they're like the exact same height and weight.
But I think Kail's,
playing style vibe
lends itself to that but you make a good point about
Adam reaching those levels
unexpectedly and very quiet
And I think there's
What you said about Ziba
There's something swaggy about Fox too
Yeah
We're in 23 in the blue shirt sweater
It's a sick number
Yeah
He is as big as he is
He moves so fast
He's got sick hands
He's crunching bodies
I think
He's also got Fox on the back of his shirt.
Like, come on.
He said,
that's fucking electric.
Oh, my God.
I can't believe I didn't think about that.
You didn't think about that, did you?
It literally says Fox on the back.
You've got all of these guys with these fucking French-Canadian names, these Russian names.
And then you got Adam Fox out here.
Sounds like a fucking movie star.
If he legally changes his last name to Star Fox, what will you do?
I would support it and I frankly ask why it took him so long.
Agree.
Because he is a star.
Yep.
He is always in the Norris voting running and he is one of the best players in the league
and he's just so fucking smooth out there.
Okay, listen, I ain't mad at you.
It's a great pick.
Yeah.
But can we talk about the kale of it all here?
Yeah, we got all right.
So, but those are our, each of our four most electrifying play.
players in the league right now.
We can all agree that all mine are awesome.
We're still thinking about yours.
No.
And I'm seeing right here and now, I know that we're going to take shit for these picks.
Well, because, but I don't care.
I'm not going to sit here and I'm not going to pick.
Like we said, McDavid cannot be picked.
I'm not going to sit here and go, yep, my four are Kail McCar, Austin Matthews,
Drysidal and
fucking Nathan
McKinnon. I did pick Nick
but I'm not going to do that.
Those are the electrifying players that you guys know.
What we're trying to do here is broaden
your horizons. We're trying to teach you some new things.
Look at some new names to focus on that are
pumping electricity into the ice.
Like you said about Sid though, and Sid is one of my favorite
players to ever live and I think he's incredible and if you
are a young hockey player and you want to learn how to play the game,
watch the kid play.
But I think Sid and like Matthews,
I'm not sure I'm like, oh, Matthews is 100% more electric than Zegris.
I'm like, wrong, dude.
Zegris is throwing the puck in the air over the rink.
Yeah, again, we're not talking about who is the better player.
Austin Matthews is the better player than Trevor Zegris right now.
100%.
But we're talking about electricity.
Okay, but Kale is electric.
Kale is electric.
Discuss.
Discuss and defend yourself immediately.
I have no defense.
My defense is that I picked Nate Dogg.
Yeah.
Truly, I just didn't want to pick both of them.
I know.
And honestly, the electricity and the entertainment factor that I value,
I'm going to contradict myself right here.
There are a few players in the NHL that I like watching more than Kail.
As a defenseman, myself, watching the shit that he does is so fucking fun,
and it's so impressive, it's out of control.
But I love chaos and insanity.
And that surges through Nathan McKinnon's veins.
Nate Dog is, like I said, he got that dog in him.
He's got that dog in him
And I love that
I love that about Nate
Cale's spin cycle
Forehand Backhand Shelf Job
Against the Hawks
In OT was a
Talk about a lightning bolt dude
That was a storm surge of electricity
That put his electricity
Electricity factor on the map
In that exact moment
There's still a burnt spot on the ground
Where that bolt drilled the net in that game
I think it was poor Kirby Doc
In that point
We got putting a fucking
and spin cycle on that move.
That's what it is for him, Dan.
It's like, it's the head fit.
Like, he's got a good shot.
He scores goals.
He's got that seeing eye shot.
He can always miss the block, you know, like he does all that shit.
But it's like the head fakes and the hip mobility.
That's what makes, elevates him into electric factor for me.
The where that is on display the most for me is his blue line work.
The way he walks the blue line on the power play or an even, even strength.
He does that quick crossover like he's coming forehand and then hits the break hard,
goes back to the backhand and then comes.
back to the fore. He's not breaking ankles out there. He's removing limbs. He's removing limbs from
people's bodies. How bad do you? They talk about that in basketball, right? You break someone's
ankles. That's not supposed to happen in this game. And he is disintegrating humans. They're gone.
True. They're out of the camera shot. It's just mental. You know how when if a forward's playing
D on the power play and then there's a turnover and like now the forwards back and they always get
walked because they're like, we don't do this. I haven't done this in a while. As a forward,
I hate being put in that position.
And what Kael does to us
who aren't equipped to play D
is frankly rude.
Like, don't ask me to square you up,
you fucking dickhead
because now you're embarrassing me
in front of all my loved ones and friends.
And your teammates,
your teammates now lose faith in you
because of what KL does.
I'm a forward Kail.
You want to go do this bullshit.
Go do it to a defense one of my team.
Stop insulting me.
Yeah, it's brutal.
It's really, these people have families
and he just shows absolutely no respect.
Insane.
Okay, so he should have been picked,
but I'm glad we guys to talk about it.
Yeah, we don't want to waste too much time on the honorable mentions,
but obviously there's a lot.
I mean, it was tough not to say pasta.
You know, we say we talk about, and right now, too.
I mean, I think Brad is a great pick because Brad started the year,
injured.
He came back way earlier than expected and immediately potted two tucks in his first game.
That's fucking electric.
You were supposed to be out of six months, dude.
Came back in like four.
It was crazy.
That is electric stuff.
Carill was who I couldn't pick because of my chill team.
But Carill is just,
you this is what I'm saying you pop on a wild game you are going to notice caprizo uh you said this at the top
but ovi is an electric player he is the way he plays and i also had in my list to consider is patty kane
almost for the shootouts alone like you don't see hands like that he kind of invented that like
come in and just stop basically insta candle eight trillion times in front of you and then tuck
um and he also like he's i thought the first person never do this but i feel like he was always
scoring some new goals first like he does that backhand spin around rip you know like he
He was always doing cool shit like that.
Absolutely.
And let me lay this on you.
His shootouts, too.
Yeah, if the shootouts alone, I said, yeah, totally.
So let me just lay this on you.
In terms of what you were talking about, like, doing stuff for the first time.
Oh.
I had not really seen anyone on a shootout pump the brakes and then just stick handle so fucking hard and fast and then talk until Patty Key.
He did it.
Yep.
So, well, here's one thing I thought was cool as I was doing this.
And, again, we'll just establish that we both agree that Pavelsky is very electric.
So once we have said that out loud.
I'm going to take heat now for the, the, the, the, the, the, the,
Pavelsky fans out there are going to come out of the fucking
We're all coming for you. He's not electric.
He is just great. No, he's electric. Check this
out, though. Pvelsky wears 16 on Dallas
now because someone had it, but he's always worn eight.
And one thing I thought was cool was Pave 8, OV8, KL8,
Kaine 88. I was like, it might be some electricity
in 8. There might be some electricity
in 8. There's something to think about.
Well, it's a full circuit. It's an infinity.
It's an infinity. The electricity never stops.
Electricity is endless loop. It's running. It's always running.
It makes a lot of sense. You want to be an electric player and you're
growing up. Maybe do the jersey switch to 8 or 88.
Immediately. Immediately.
That's pretty good.
Okay, those are our electric players.
Yeah, those are the electric players. I had a lot of fun.
Yeah, I had a lot of fun too. Let's get into quack attack.
Okay, we're going to quack attack.
We got the quack attack top three hottest teams of the week.
Okay.
Not the best teams in the league, because let's be honest, they made the quack attack last week,
but if we're talking about best teams in league right now, Boston Bruins are number one.
But that ain't it.
That ain't it. We're talking about the three hottest teams in the league.
As you guys know, in the Quack Attack, we rank these teams based on their, the Mighty Ducks team that is associated with them.
And give everyone the order again, Dan.
Yeah, from three to one.
Three to one, we're going Eden Hall JV.
Number two, we're going District 5.
And number one, we're going the Junior Goodwill Games, Mighty Ducks teams.
So starting off, CP, at number three.
Eden Hall JV this week, you're New York Islanders.
had a 3-0 week, great week for the boys.
They beat the rags, which always feels good.
Absolutely.
They beat the brakes off the canes, and that's a good hockey team.
That's a great hockey team.
And they beat the defendings the only cup champs.
That's going to get you in the quack attack.
And, dude, they had a slow start, a bad start.
It's going to say, after pretty lackluster season last year
and a slow start to start this campaign, New York Islanders with a big week, 3-0,
that'll get you in the top three teams, hottest teams.
Climbing the ranks, and I'm happy for them.
Number two, the District 5, Mighty Ducks.
We talked about them earlier in the episode, the Vegas Golden Knights.
This team is scorching hot.
They are four and o on the week.
They beat the sharks and the ducks.
They beat the second place Jets.
And they beat the Leafs.
Who are awful, and that shouldn't even count.
Congratulations, you beat the fucking Leafs.
The Leafs, man.
Oh, boy, everyone's calling them a big Stanley Cup contender
and they get another loss at the hands of Vegas,
amongst many other losses.
Yep.
But that puts Vegas at 4-0, and like we said earlier, they look hot, hot, hot.
They look very dangerous, and they could have been won.
They could have been Goodwill Games.
They could have been won, but unfortunately they're not won because of, frankly, the hottest team of the week.
The Goodwill Games, the Junior Goodwill Games ducks are the Edmonton Oilers.
Yeah.
Dan, wow, 4-0.
And big games, too.
Big, big games.
They won the Crosby Showdown, which always feels good, right?
That's a fun game to watch.
They beat the blues, which was just amid the blues started out, three and O.
They were undefeated.
They had a bad week.
They had a tough week.
They have lost four straight games.
But they were part of starting that.
They also won the second Battle of Alberta, beat the flames.
And then beat the Hawks, who have been pesky as hell.
They sure have.
You know what's cool about the Hawks?
They look like they're playing for each other.
There's some serious team chemistry going on with the boys.
Max Domey standing up big time for Patty Kane last game.
getting little scraps.
I think it's cool that if Kane...
Sorry, go on.
I was just going to say if Kane doesn't move,
which I think we both think he will and whatever.
But we had that one discussion about I didn't want...
He shouldn't go out like this on like a middling hawks rebuild
that gets fucked up.
Like either trade him or do something here.
And it will make me feel a little bit better in my tummy
if the Hawks put together a believe-in-our-and-our-your-half campaign
and like, you know, maybe make a wild card or something.
If they're in the playoffs here,
He ain't going nowhere.
So, yeah, that's interesting.
The other thing I love about the Hawks,
I know we're supposed to be talking about Edmonton right now,
who's the hottest team of the week,
but Jonathan Taves is back.
Let's go.
I mean, he's playing very well,
and nothing will make Chicago Blackhawks fans happier than that,
seeing him back on the ice and playing very, very well.
One of my favorite players,
great guy, wish nothing but the best for him, truly.
He ripped my soul out of my body once,
and I still wish nothing but the best for him.
Just as good of a guy.
as it gets.
Yeah.
It's unbelievable.
But to your point, the oilers look fantastic.
McDavid's out of his fucking mind for usual.
So is dry siddle.
So it's out of his mind.
Yeah.
And they're just getting it from all facets right now.
I was going to say, I mean, last year, what was their big problem, right?
It was they're so top heavy.
Yeah.
It was tricytel and McDavid are getting all their points.
And I got to say, flowers to those two, they are so fucking good.
Yeah.
It's like, here we are again.
They are in the top five in the NHL and points.
They just, they, it's unbelievable the way that those two play together.
But they're getting production from R&H.
They're getting production from Evander Cain.
They're getting really, really good points and games out of a lot of people.
So credit to them.
Edmonton's the hottest team of the week.
Junior Goodwill Games Ducks, the Edmonton Oilers.
District 5, Vegas Golden Knights.
Eden Hall, JV, the New York Islanders.
There it is.
Congratulations, boys.
Jack Eichol Watch.
We've got to have our weekly check-in.
Checking in for Eichol Watch, Dan.
And here's the thing.
He has 10 points, okay?
And he's, uh, he actually, his pace actually slowed down technical.
I mean, he's still way over our goal of 72, and that's fucking obvious.
But he sees, he's technically slowed down a little bit, but he's still firing in points per game.
And he had a little bit of OT filth last night, I guess the Jets.
Did you happen, do you happen to catch that, Dan?
I sure did.
Did you happen to see that?
Putrid stuff.
And he's got now, I believe, four goals and six assists in 10 games.
And that's, if you, like we had to do last week, it's a point per game.
And, and dude, here's the thing.
That goal that he scored is an elite player's goal.
It really is.
You know, I'm actually...
He's said it in the first game of the season.
He's just, he looks like a fucking player.
You know how in OT with a new format, it's like,
puck possession has become a big thing.
Like, when three-on-three got invented, we all thought it was just going to be bombing up and down the ice.
But when players can, when teams can, they'll just kick it back out, you know,
re-attack, whatever.
Jack, I'm calling that goal because of this.
I'm calling that goal the shoe lace goal from now on
because you loop it, you swoop it, and you tuck.
And I couldn't believe my eyes.
And you're going to get a few more of those this year from Jack.
I bet if you keep watching, buddy,
and I get news for you, you're going to have to keep watching
because you're going to owe me something big when he hits 90.
He's not had a single bad game this season.
He's a fantastic player.
Like I said, I love Jack.
I want Jack to be good, but this bet is looking bad for me.
Yes, it is.
Very bad.
But what's not looking bad for me is,
where in the world is Austin Matthews?
Where in the world is Austin Matthews?
Dan, tell me about, let's see, his points.
I think he's got eight.
He does.
He has eight and five.
Three and five for eight and ten games.
Okay.
Which, how funny is it to say that eight points in ten games is just
awful.
He looks terrible.
For Austin.
But I'll tell you what, man.
The Toronto Maple Leafs do not look good.
They're in some big trouble, dude.
They lost, they just lost to the Kings.
They got dusted.
by the king.
Dusted by the Kings,
and then lost a brutal game,
the Anheim Ducks.
After imploding a 3-1 lead.
They were up 3-1,
and I was like,
ah, man,
maybe they'll figure out this little road trip here,
and then imploded a lead.
And then, well, first of all,
there was a bullshit goalie interference call
that the Ducks would have won that game in regulation.
Correct.
You're lucky to get a fucking point.
Scored by my boy Frank Petrano,
who I think is one of the most underrated players in the league.
Thank you very much.
But then anyway, not to no fear.
if no fear in Anaheim, my other boy, Trevor Zegris, goes snipe job in OT to put them to bed.
Really good body control by Ziggs there too.
Fighting off the stick check, Barry's one off the bar and in.
But here's the thing, man, last week, I was saying Toronto's doing fine, but I put Austin around Buffalo.
Yeah, not very far from home, honestly.
Not very far from home.
He's still close to Toronto.
I've got bad news for you, Maple Leafs fans.
I'm putting Austin Matthews right now in Kansas City.
Oh, bad.
He is far away from home.
He's just not having the season he had last year.
Like I said, he doesn't look engaged.
He's just checking people out there.
He knows that there is a really serious opportunity for him to maybe get out of that city,
maybe get away from that media, maybe try something new.
Maybe get down south where it's warm.
Maybe grow the hair out in the back a little bit.
Maybe saw a really electric atmosphere, 100% sold-out crowd down in Tempe, Arizona.
Maybe he caught sight of that.
Which side is, which Kansas City side is he in?
Is he in the Missouri?
I'm putting him in Missouri.
He's in the Missouri side.
Okay, fantastic.
Austin Matthews is far.
Hey, good to see you down there, Austin.
Enjoy the new time zone.
Dan, tell me what you're watching this week.
Why don't you tell me first?
Okay, great.
I'm only going to pick one game.
Okay, awesome.
I'll give everyone a Thursday night game because you know I love to do that.
Bruins rags, little original six battle, two teams going really good.
so I'm happy about that.
And then next Wednesday,
so the listeners are checking in on Thursday.
Next Wednesday, Penn's Capps, always a good time.
I'm going to go a Bruins game as well.
I hate to do it to y'all.
But Saturday, Bruins Leefs, that is always a battle.
Yeah.
These teams meet each other,
and I think that that is just going to be one hell of a matchup.
So I've got eyes on that.
And it's early, but Toronto kind of needs that one, I would say.
Yeah, they absolutely do.
But I just think a Bruins-Leafs game is always one that you've just absolutely got to circle.
So keep your eyes peeled on that.
Amazing.
All right, well, that's it for us this week, everybody.
Check into those games.
And we'll catch you later.
