Empty Netters Podcast - 52. 2023-24 Central Division Predictions
Episode Date: September 6, 2023Some rumors about Patrick Kane to the Red Wings have the boys fired up. Central Division predictions bring out some hot takes in which teams are looking to make a cup run, and who is going to miss pla...yoffs that might surprise you. Presented by Howie's Hockey Tape Chapters (0:00:00) - Intro live from Ibiza (0:02:50) - Howie's Hot Ice: Is Kane Going to Detroit? (0:11:27) - The Chicago Blackhawks (0:20:35) - The Arizona Coyotes (0:26:14) - The St. Louis Blues (0:33:25) - The Nashville Predators (0:41:29) - The Winnipeg Jets (0:58:58) - The Minnesota Wild (1:09:25) - The Dallas Stars (1:17:12) - The Colorado Avalanche Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to another episode of the Antinetters podcast.
And much like the NHL in the start of the season, we have gone international.
CP and I are here in Ibitha.
We are in different rooms.
Dan, Dan, Dan, it's Ibitha.
Yeah, that's what I said.
I said it right.
I know.
I don't think it's Ibitha, Dan.
Yeah.
You're not hitting the T.
I do.
I do that every time.
You are the plebeian who goes around and you're like this.
Yeah, I'm in Ibitha.
Ibiza. God. Do you say Chile? Do you say Deutsche? Do you say Deutschland? Are you like, oh, we're in
Deutschland? I am not one of those. But Ibiza is, that's just how it. It's just cool to say, too. Like,
here's the deal. It's cooler. Say it that way. When you get into a rhythm of it and it really starts
rolling off the tongue easily, that's what it's it. That's, you know, what it's all about. But listen, we are,
and Dan and I are next to each other. You want to do a wall five? Yeah. Just do a wall five.
Wait. There we go. Bang. That was nice.
Um, yes, CP and I are here. We're in Spain. We are doing a little bit of R&R before the season starts, but you know that we're here for you. You know we're coming in with an episode as always. And, uh, this is going to be a fun one. We're, we're just fresh off a boat right now. And, uh, I got to say, that ride was not safe.
Dude, those were some of the biggest waves I've ever seen in my life, including in movies. I've seen, I've watched movies specifically about big,
waves and I'm not sure that they were any bigger than the ones I was on today.
I mean, it was one of those situations.
You know when you're like, you know when you're on a plane, I know not everybody does this.
I do this because I'm a coward, but you know when you're on a plane and there's a little bit
of turbulence and you start freaking out a bit, but if you just look up and you see the flight
attendants walking up and down the aisles and they're just totally unfaced, they're fine,
that gives you a little bit of, okay, we're going to be all right here.
there were a couple of moments
ripping through these waves
where I was looking at the captain
and the first mate, if you will,
and they were both like,
they were going like this.
Dude, that was a bad one.
And I was like, yo, you can't react this way.
I feel like we're going to sink if you keep doing that.
Dude, when the first mate who was named Lila
and was quite cute,
when she was filming the waves,
like she was like,
it's so out of control off the side of the boat.
She was filming it.
I was like, oh, we might be in a little, we might be a tad bit of trouble here, but we persevered, dude, made it through.
We did. We survived. And I'm glad we did because like last week, we had our Pacific Division breakdown and predictions. We're going to keep it rolling. We're going into the Central today. But before we get into that, we're going to get into some hot ice, but it's a special hot ice because it is now the Howie's Hockey tape hot ice.
Hot Ice is being brought to you by Howie's Hockey Cape, the number one hockey tape.
tape lace apparel company in the game. You can see it right here on my hat. You see right here
on my shirt. Howie's it's where it's at. They're making the best up and they're getting you all
set up for hockey season, which makes sense while they'll get a set up for hot ice. So let's jump
right into the hot ice. Really, there's not too much to talk about. Most guys have re-signed.
Most guys have jumped on their teams here. We've got some interesting stuff. Gustafson in
Minnesota signs a three-year extension. That's beautiful stuff. But the one I want to talk to you about
CP is Patrick King. There's some things.
Patrick Kane, Detroit Red Wings rumors swirling around right now, and I want to know how you
feel about it.
Can you tell me, because you always know this shit, can you tell me what the wings cap space is?
You start talking and I'll look it up right now.
Okay.
So if they are, I remember looking at teams with big space when I was kind of, we had been
messing around thinking about where Kane would go.
I know you want him to go to the Sabres for a million reasons.
But the wings didn't pop up, I don't think in the top, certainly not in the top three.
And I don't remember seeing them in the top five-ish or more of space.
They have 5.1 mil.
Okay, right.
And Kane, obviously, is a different player
and coming off a massive injury,
but was making, I got to believe, like 11 or something.
And if you are, that's your whole nut if you're Detroit.
Like if you get Kane and you have $5 million in space,
that's your whole nut.
And could you look at him like a late edition trade deadline pickup
just like the rags did with him last year?
If you just wrapped your head around it that way,
you're like, yeah, dude, for that player coming in,
late. If he's still got juice, that's awesome.
I worry a little bit on both sides, actually, again.
I worry a little bit for Detroit in that they're building something here and they've got
young talent and all that stuff.
And I just don't know that you need a possibly hobbled, like slower injured cane.
He's an incredible goal score, but I just don't know if you need that.
And then I also worry about it on Kane's side a little bit in that he's like, I really want
to go to a cup contender.
And do I think Detroit can compete for cups?
in the coming years.
Fuck yeah.
They're going to win three.
But I just don't know that they're the contender Kane needs now.
So like it's kind of confusing for me from his side too.
The Kane from Kane side, I think is a great point.
Like I think if you're Kane,
you've got to be looking at the reality that you're probably staring at the last two,
maybe three years of your career.
And for Patrick Kane to be like,
I'm going to go to this project.
That would be surprising for me.
But at the same.
same time, you know, not that he's in a similar situation, but we found it pretty weird when
Johnny Godreau signed in Columbus. And it's like, you know, sometimes I think there's, there's more at
play here than just cup chasing. Patty Kane's got his three cups. He doesn't need to cup chase.
When he went to New York and he was like, I demand to go to the Rangers, that felt like cup
chase it. So I'm with you. I do sort of feel like we're in a boat where it would be odd for Patrick
Kane to pick a team like Detroit. I think Detroit is awesome and they are going to be
phenomenal for years to come. I am so excited about that project, but their goaltending could still
be improved. There's certain elements of that team that we'll get into in a later episode that needs
to improve. But yeah, dude, like if I'm Patrick Kane, there's got to be better options out there. But at the
same time, Eiserman, dude, he's got the magic spell. He knows how to get guys to sign for this
team and he knows how to get guys to commit to his project. So it wouldn't shock me. And the bigger thing,
dude, is they are good now. I mean, like, people forget that. Like, they have Dylan Larkin,
who's amazing. They had Andrew Kopp, who's a great player. They had David Peron, who's a great player.
And they had a lot of injuries last year. I said it many times. I think they would have slipped into the
playoffs if they weren't injured.
But they added De Brinket.
They added J.T. Comper.
Like, they are an interesting, interesting team.
They added Shane Goss to Spear.
Like, I like the Red Wings.
And I would not be shocked if Kane goes there.
And I think I'm not, yes, they do have a lot of young, exciting players.
I don't think Kane log jams that.
Kane signing a one, two-year deal.
Like, who is mad about Patrick Kane being your second line winner or your third line winger?
I don't think that's stifling anyone's production.
And frankly, if Patrick King comes in and gets you 65 points and 30 goals,
like that is well worth it.
And with the injury, I think you're looking at a situation where Patrick King
could easily sign a two by four, or two year four million dollar contract,
two mill a year.
And like that is such a good deal.
Agree, if he does that.
I think a good point by you, Dan, is, and I don't know why Kane would want this,
but if you're Detroit,
like, dude, is there a more perfect picture of you would be in Abiza?
You're wearing AirPods and drinking wine,
and I, have I fucking wired in having a beer?
Yeah, dude, you are a peasant compared to me,
and the world needs to know it.
So this is great evidence for me.
So if you're Detroit and you go,
does Kane maybe get us into the playoff?
I don't think they're a cup contender this year.
I don't think you do either.
But can Kane get us into the playoffs?
Maybe even get us in a round deep in the playoffs.
And then he leaves or whatever.
It's a one year deal.
That is worth it if you're Detroit because you're like,
maybe we got a jump start on the getting experience under our belt,
getting this rebuild or restructure going, whatever.
So that's interesting.
Last thing I'll say is,
your boy loves DeBring Cat, eh?
Like when that romance was starting in Chicago,
I just assumed it was like,
Kane was like, yeah, he's just a young, sick player.
And I want to play with him.
But now he's like following him around the league.
I'm like, oh, wow.
Dude, don't fall for that shit.
Kane is a two-timing whore because he did the same thing with Panarin.
He had Panarin in Chicago and then he followed him to New York and he was like,
oh, I'd love to play with Panarin again.
And now he's like, oh, I'd love to play with DeBrinke again.
I'm going to go join him in Detroit.
This guy cannot be trusted.
He's a little slut.
I actually am on board of that.
I support that argument.
It's unbelievable.
But I think, you know, we.
We had reports of Cain maybe being a little bit ahead of schedule after his hip surgery.
So we're looking at a situation where maybe he signed sooner than later here.
I think there was a world where people thought he might be a mid-season signing.
And now it's looking like this could happen pretty soon here.
So that's pretty electric.
So we'll keep our ears to the ground on that one.
All right.
Like we said, quick stuff on hot ice because.
again, we're about a month away from the start of the season here.
Very exciting stuff.
I think it's 36 days or something by the time of recording.
The ice will be very hot then.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
The Engineters podcast is brought to you by Howie's Hockey.
Howies is the number one hockey tape and accessories company in the world,
providing great products to NHL teams all the way down to mini mites.
The hockey season is starting up, and Howie's back to hockey sale is going on now
through Monday, September 11.
Save up to 40% on hockey tape, laces, pucks, and anything else you need to get your season started.
If you're playing days are over, they have a great lineup of comfortable apparel that looks great as well, like this hat and this shirt.
They fit amazing. They're comfortable as hell.
Fantastic stuff.
For a special offer for our listeners, use code empty, EMP, TY, and be entered to win tickets to your NHL team's home opener.
First game of the season, hockey is back.
enter this unbelievable opportunity using that code again empty em p t y for a chance to win now let's get back
to the episode um so let's jump right into our central division predictions because we've got a lot
to cover eight teams let's jump into it you want to do it just like last time you want to go down
the list of last to first yep i'm going to give you their records and then on three we're going to
say where we think they finish and it might be fucked up because of Wi-Fi but we're going to try
Okay. Yes.
All right, we're going worst to first.
I'm going to give you, you'll know where they were last year.
You and I are going to say the same thing, or our predictions on three, and we're going to see if the same thing.
Okay.
Last year, Central Division, last place, Chicago Blackhawks, 26, 49, and 7 for 59 points.
Dan, they finished 8th last year.
This year, they will finish in three, two, one, seventh.
Eighth.
Okay.
Wow, still the gutter, bro.
I hate to do it, honestly.
I hate to do it because I, listen, I've got a lot written down here.
There's a lot that I like, but I just still think it's a tall order for them.
And I'll tell you why.
So let's get into it.
Please.
Okay, so here's the deal.
The Hawks have $12.8 million in cap space, and that is great.
but that always obviously means like, you know, there's a lot going on here that you haven't given
money to. You need to fill some roles on this team. They, you know, they're key players.
Obviously, Connor Bardard. Conor Bardard show, we're starting off. Chicago Blackhawks fans,
get ready. This is a new era. You have a new team. Kane is gone. Taves is gone. All the old
guard is gone and this is Connor Bedard's team much to the chagrin of people like
Seth Jones I would imagine like this is over like this team belongs to Connor you've got
him you brought in some great vets like Taylor Hall uh you brought in Nick Falino and he
resigned that's great you brought in Cory Perry that's great other than that you've got
like Tyler Johnson app and see you reups that's good sure
Ryan Donato joins his team.
Ryan Donato joins the team.
That's great.
And on D, you've got Seth Jones, Nikita Zyteb, Connor Murphy, and Jared Tenorby.
That, I don't think, is a very good top four demon.
You've got Peter Morazek in net.
This team is just bad.
Like, that's it.
Connor Bardard is amazing.
I think he has a chance to get 70 points in his rookie season or more.
I actually bet he's going to.
I would put the over under at 69.
I would smash.
Smash.
that over.
But we might have to do Baderd watch after that statement.
I'm just saying smash that over under 69.
Smash the over.
Dude, this team stuck.
They suck.
They suck.
They're bad.
This is a bad hockey team.
They brought in good vets, but like is a, what, 32, 31, 32 year old Taylor Hall.
Is he making you a much, much better team?
is a wily veteran like Nick Felino and Corey Perry making you a better team.
Is that defensive core?
It is like Ryan Donato and Tyler Johnson.
Are they, you know, are they really, really pushing this team over the edge?
The answer is no.
So the reality is they've got great vets who are going to be great for Conner's development,
but they are a bad team.
They're going to finish last in this division.
I will say to you, and I bet you didn't mean this, but in my opinion, you phrased that poorly,
because does Taylor Hall and Falino and Ryan Donato and Corey Perry and and and and make you a good team?
No.
Do they make you a better team?
Yes.
And I don't think they're going to better than better than what, though.
Better than when they had zero people signed to the roster.
Yeah, like, okay.
It will be just better than their squad.
until this summer, but their squad last year, the squad they were parading out in front of their home fans 41 times.
They are better than that.
They, I almost went eighth.
I think I didn't because I guess the Baderd thing.
Like I actually am a little bit lower on him than you guys are.
How many goals do you think he scores?
Like over, what are you comfortable betting on?
He scores over blank goals in his rookie year.
Connor?
Yeah.
25.
Okay.
As I wrote 20.
and I think if he has 20, it's a great year.
That's probably to be expected for the prospect of his caliber, 20, honestly, which is hard.
But I think 20 is a good year.
But I think he'll score.
I think Taylor Hall gives you goals.
Not a ton, but I think he gives you goals.
I think Corey Perry gives you goals.
He guys are getting a ton of ice time.
So I think they could be a little better.
I went seventh.
I will say this, dude, to the people out there.
And I'm not saying this is like a rational take.
We're hearing a lot, but obviously a lot of Chicago fans are excited.
and we're hearing, I'm hearing playoffs.
I'm hearing, you know, 100 points, like all this shit.
And I looked this up because I was curious, and I actually didn't remember.
But this is a little bit of a wake-up call.
The Penguins first year with Crosby, 22, 46, and 14, 58 points, fifth in the Met.
The Oilers first year with McDavid, 3143 and 8, 70 points, 7th in the Pacific.
You know, like, it takes a second.
So, yeah, dude, that's what I'm saying.
The Hawks are going to be bad.
And don't get it twisted.
It's going to be fun.
Blackhawks fans, you're going to have a blast.
It's going to be fun watching this kid.
He's going to do some things that blow everyone's mind.
But the Blackhawks are not going to be in the playoffs.
And what's tough, dude, is this division is not as bad as I think some people think.
I think some people look at maybe the bottom for what could be the bottom for this division and think,
oh, they're terrible, they're this, they're that, they're not.
but because of how crazy of a roster overhaul they had,
that is why I think they're still going to be eight.
I don't think they're going to be miserable,
but there's just too much riding on the shoulders.
And it actually gets me into a question.
Some thoughts went around on Twitter about them possibly handing over the sea to Connor
Madar as in the captain of the team.
and I want you while I go on a bit of a rant here, I appreciate that thumbs down.
I want you to look up for me how early Crosby was named Captain.
Because I'm pretty sure he's one of the earliest ever.
I think he was like 19 years old.
And I'm so interested what people think.
I might throw this up on the story on Instagram to get people's thoughts
because I think it is insane when you give a kid that young,
the sea on the jersey because here's the thing anyone who's been in a locker room you know that
more often than not there's more than one leader on the team there's a lot of guys who are
pulling the weight as far as the leadership goes and in this circumstance if you were to give
badard the sea i just think it's so disrespectful to not the not the veterans of chicago because
there's not really that meant right it's like seth jones and athmc or the big ones that come to mind
who are still in the team. It's the guys who are in their late 20s, the guys who are in their
30s on the team, like a guy like Corey Perry and a guy like Nick Falino who are on this team.
If you all of a sudden go, Connor Bardard is the captain of this team and you're sitting
in a locker room, here's the deal. If you're the captain, if you have the C on your sweater,
you have to address the boys pregame. You have to do captain duties. And if you've got an 18-year-old
who's never played a second in the NHL being like, all right, Corey Perry, all right, Nick
Alino, this is what I need from you.
If I'm one of those guys, I'd be like, shut the fuck up, dude.
I don't give a shit how good you are or how good you will be.
That is just such a crazy move.
So I'm so against that.
I think throw an A on his sweater, absolutely, if you want.
If you want to kind of institute, this is a new day for Chicago and this kid's going to be a leader.
I'm into that.
But making him the captain would be insane.
Especially because I feel like the, Brind Dembring and all these old vets, the pitch was like,
teach him, like be here to mentor him. And then if you immediately are like, anyway,
Baird's captain, if I'm one of the vats, I'm like, fuck you, dude. What was that, what was the
point of any of this? To answer your question, Dan, Crosby was named captain at, uh, age 19 years,
297 days. Then McDavid became captain, uh, at 19 years, 266 days. So he is now the youngest
to ever become a captain. Crosby's the youngest to ever lift a cup.
Hold on. McDavid is the youngest ever be named captain. And then it's Crosby. By 29 days. Yeah.
So, so yeah. I mean, I think the model here is that clearly worked for Pittsburgh. Let him play two years. Yeah, yeah. That clearly worked for Pittsburgh. It will presume it's presumably worked for Edmonton. They're a great team. They haven't won a cup, but they're a great team. And obviously, Connor is a leader and became what everyone thought he was going to become. But, you know, the reality here is you play without a captain this season.
And you make him captain next year probably is what will happen.
But anything this year would just be preposterous.
Agree.
Okay, going to the next team.
They finished seventh last year, Dan and the Central.
It's the Desert Dogs.
The Arizona Coyotes, they went 2840 and 14 for 70 points.
Dan, they finished seventh last year.
This year, they will finish in three, two, one, six.
Six.
Oh, let's go.
I wanted to say fifth.
I thought you were going to say three, dude.
You're unhinged because it comes to the dogs.
The desert dogs are finishing first in the Central.
Listen, I really wanted to say fifth.
I really wanted it.
The desert dogs are going to be so fun this season.
And I'm telling you right now, the winds are blowing differently in the desert.
They're going to figure something out.
They're going to stay in Arizona.
This team has grit.
They have great players.
Here's the deal.
Arizona has 3.9 million caps base.
We like that.
They've got huge key players in Clayton Keller who just had a career year, 86 points.
Look for that to go higher this year.
Maybe sniffing that 100 zone.
Nick Schmaltz, unbelievable.
Logan Cooley signs.
Absolute stud for Minnesota.
he is going to be a monster, monster rookie on this team.
Also look at Cooley in the Calderwatch, just saying.
And then there's a few other players, like, you know, like Machelli, 49 points in 64 games.
That's big stuff.
Gunther is going to be a big name on this team.
He had 15 and 33 with the Yotes last year and 29 and 20 with the Thunderbirds.
That is a good young player that's going to step into a bigger role on this team.
they added huge players with Dumba, Dersey.
Dersie was traded from the Kings mid-season.
Dumba signed there, Zucker signed there, Bukstad and Kherfoot all signed there.
And listen, Carol Vemelka is a very good goaltender.
That is very, very exciting.
He's on a great deal for two more years.
I just think this is a season for the desert dogs to kind of establish themselves.
Like, you know, you're playing in Mollett again.
you know the arena there's no changes everyone knows what's going on you've added some really
great pieces dude like derzy needs to clean up his defensive game but he is going to give you a lot
of good points from the blue line there he's a young player he's going to have a new chip on his
shoulder being dealt by l a and want to establish his establish himself in a new home in arizona
d-dumad dude was the number one d man for minnesota he was the guy and then things just weren't
working out in minnesota so he needs a new new start
a fresh, fresh arena, fresh team.
He's got it.
He's playing with these guys.
I just think there is a world where you've added some really good middle six and bottom six depth to this team that's going to help out guys like Keller Schmaltz, Cooley, and Gunther.
And you have an opportunity to make the coyotes, let's be real, not the punchline anymore.
And they have been, you know, with Mollett, with how much they've struggled the last couple of years.
they have been a bit of a punchline.
And I think that this is going to be the season where they step out of that and they assert
themselves as a very exciting young and up-and-coming team.
I think you are higher on them than I am, like when you actually spell it out, but obviously
we both have them at six.
I think I like some of those signings a lot.
Yeah, I like Kerrfoot.
Dersie is, I'm a huge fan of Bukstad's, like you said, I think they became tougher
to play against, right?
Like they bolstered some of the middle.
Dumba is an interesting one because.
I feel like half of Minnesota was like, get him out of here, dude.
And I think you're right, maybe a change of scenery does wonders for him.
But if not, you didn't bring in Keith and Seabrook with the Dumba Dersey combo coming in.
You know, like, I think they got tougher to play against, and I think they can go up one place.
But I'm like, yeah, they can go up one place.
And I think you are more excited, like six, almost five, bitch.
So, you know, I'm on the lower end of SIGs, but I think they're better.
I think they're a better team.
They, we will get into it, but I got that, the repercussions of that prediction means some
craziness for some other teams in the central here.
So that's, that's looming.
Can we say real quick, CP, you don't think they're better.
They're definitely better.
Yes, sorry.
Yeah, you look at those moves.
This is a better team.
Totally agree.
Before we get off the coyotes, I want to ask you, because I flagged it, but you kind of said it
yourself, but where, what do you think Keller can do this year? Because I really do think
they have some exciting players, but he is the cream of the crop on that team. He's doing a lot of
the heavy lifting. And I'm curious, you've mentioned 100. I was going to ask, do you think
he goes 100 this year or is it not quite there yet? I wouldn't say, I'm not hammering that one.
I think, I think, I think Keller will be between 80 and 100. I think I, I think over 90 is very, very
reasonable. Oh, my God. Oh, I think that'll be very great. Like, if he has a 92 point season, I think they are, I mean, obviously, they're thrilled, but that, I think I'd have the ceiling around there. Yeah. But I love him. If he's nasty. If he stays healthy, he is, he is certainly over point per game, is what I'm saying. He's a hundred point guy in his life. I don't know if it's next year, but he's a hundred point guy. Yeah. Okay. Um, next, we go to the team that finished sixth in the central. That would be your St. Louis Blues.
They went 37, 38, and 7 with 81 points.
Dan, they were sixth last year.
This year, they will finish in three, two, one, eight.
Seven.
Yeah, I don't.
Let me start with this one.
I don't hate it at all.
It's, it's, this is what I met when I said.
There are repercussions of my Arizona pick.
Like, I don't, that felt hard even as I wrote it for the blues.
I think they are, it's almost not a knock on the blues as much as it is that I think the bottom of the central is getting better.
You know, like I think last year, or what did I say?
I wrote it down.
The Hawks had 26 wins and finished and last.
And the Blues won 37 this year.
Do I think the Blues are losing 11 wins?
No, I do not.
I just think there's a chance.
The bottom half of this division is getting a little harder to play against,
It's a little bit more competitive within the interdivision games.
And maybe the loser of this division has 30 wins.
And St. Louis loses seven.
You know, like I think the Habs won 31 games last year and finished fucking eight in the Atlantic.
So, you know, it's like I'm not saying the blues are going to a tailspin.
I just think they could maybe win 30 games and be last, dude.
That's all I'm saying.
Dude, I don't hate it at all.
I mean, the blues are interesting for me because there are great players on this team.
But the reality is, since their clown car cup in 2019, which it was blues fans,
they've been such a weird floundering team that for a couple of years posed as a playoff team
and they're just not.
And now they're just bad and they're selling off assets like fucking Michael Jackson.
And it's just a bizarre squad to look at.
You look at their, they've got $293,000 in cap space.
So it's not like they've got a ton of wickle room.
Their key players are Jordan Kairu, Robert Thomas, Braden Shen, and Pavel Bichnevich,
who, by the way, quietly phenomenal players, 67 points and 63 games last year.
So I'm not sleeping on any of these guys.
Kairu's great.
Any team would be lucky to have.
Robert Thomas is a great player.
So are Shen and Bucenevich.
But these aren't world beaters.
I'm not necessarily sure I look at Kairu and Thomas, who are probably your top two players,
and I go, those are two guys you build a team around.
So that's why I think they're in a weird spot
because when you look at the lack of cap space they have
and those are like their top two guys,
you kind of have to ask some questions here.
And they traded for Kevin Hayes.
Kevin Hayes was run out of Philly in the weirdest thing,
way I've ever seen in my life.
I don't think Kevin Hayes is done in the NHL.
I think Kevin could easily pop 60 for this blues team.
They get scary cap on.
I don't remember.
but he was an all-star last year, which is like one of those funny things.
But Kisperi Kappan was scooped up and he added decent little 14 points and 23 games for them.
But the big thing for me is this.
The Blues defensive core, their top four guys are, you know, from the bottom up, if you will,
Scandella, Lettie, Perrako, Krug, and Falk are five dudes on their decor.
D-Core. They are 33, 32, 32, and 31 respectively. And together they make up 32.1% of their
cap space, which is 23.5-0. Of those guys, so you've got five defensemen making 32% of your
cap who are all 30 or over. Falk had 50.82 games. Great season for a defenseman.
Krug had 32 and 63. Paraco had 27 and 79.
Lettie had 23 and 78, and Scandella had 2 and 20. Scandella is hurting you, and he's making over 3 mil a year.
Krug has had trade rumors all summer long.
They want him gone.
Krug wants to be gone.
I just look at these five defensemen who are all over 30.
They're eating up a good portion of your cap.
Other than Falk, no one's really performing that well.
They don't have crazy contracts.
Krug and Falk are both making 6.5 a year, I think. I think that must has to be a situation where you think
about blowing it up, dude. I mean, if you're this blues team, you've got Binner signed for the next
couple of few years, who is the most volatile player in the NHL possibly. I mean, he's had some
great playoff performances, but he's very wishy-washy and up and down when it comes to his
regular season performances. He's a hot head of a dude. I just don't really know what you feel
like if you're a blues fan and if you're in this front office are you going yeah we're we're
close to the playoffs here because i don't think you are and clearly i said seven you said eighth like if i'm
the blues i'm looking a lot of these guys in their 30s or older and i'm like dude offload
players here i think because this just isn't the team you know you've lost terranco you've lost
Ryan O'Reilly. It's like these guys are not doing it. And I think they already are and you need to be
really thinking about trading some of these dudes. It felt like at the, um, nearing the deadline this past
season, I think they were making a run. Maybe I'm completely misremembering this, but I swear it was,
like you said, they were kind of in that limbo of like, oh, the blues, they get hot. They might
get in. And if they don't, if they start this season slow, um, but I, I,
I was supposed to say look for, look for carnage at the trade deadline because I agree with you.
Kind of blow it up.
But they don't really have carnage to give up.
Like they're not a team that's like, holy shit.
They just traded cane.
You know, it's like, you're keeping Kairu and Thomas.
So like who fuck do you want them to trade?
And like But you've got to keep players like him too.
But yeah.
Yeah.
Like I think you just nailed it, dude.
Like I think you've got to look at guys like Krug.
And I would even say Letty and Pereko, guys who are good leaders and who are still producing,
who aren't really helping you get over the hump.
You've got to trade those guys.
You have to.
I think that's right.
I just think they're going to struggle.
They didn't score a ton.
They had three, two,
Cairo had a lot,
but then they had like two guys over 20.
I think it was Bush and Evan and Shen, maybe.
But yeah, like they, they're in trouble.
Binner is, like, you nailed it.
like he can be great.
I know he has greatness in him.
I fucking saw it, unfortunately,
four times in my eyeball.
But the,
there's just too much inconsistency
up and down that lineup right now.
They've got some exciting things to build around,
but I'm like,
this year ain't it for me.
Yeah, agree.
Next team we got is the Preds.
They finished fifth in the Central last year.
They went 42, 32, and 8,
with 92 points,
had to scared the playoffs.
Fifth last year,
Dan, this year, they will finish in three, two, one, fifth.
Oh, okay, okay, you a Pred's guy.
I'm a Preds guy, I think, dude.
I have made some choices moving forward in this episode that do something that I did last year
in my playoff predictions too, which was.
really relying on goaltending.
And we'll get to those choices later.
But I want to apologize in advance to Preds fans because I think Soros is a tremendous netminder.
And I didn't really extend him or the Preds the same courtesy in this prediction.
Because the way I'm riding goalies like I always do on some other teams, I could have been riding the Preds just as hard.
So I want to get that apology out of the way.
you can tell me why you feel good about fourth.
And as you do, tell me if you think that includes a playoff berth.
Okay.
I'm not sure it includes a playoff berth.
I'm going to get, let me just rip that.
Almost definitely does.
Not definitely, but like you have a good chance if you're fourth.
But yeah, go on.
Yes. I'm not guaranteeing it.
That's all I'm saying.
Let me say this, dude.
I love what the Preds are doing.
I am all in.
I'm all in on what Barry Trox is doing.
He has come in and he has made this team his own.
He has made some hard decisions.
He has done some wild shit.
And like I love it.
They've got 7.9 million cap space.
Insert eye emoji here.
Because that team having that cap space, that's very intriguing, dude.
Very intrigued.
Yep.
They've got huge players on this team.
Roman Yosie, U.C. Soros, Philip Forsberg, Ryan McDonough, Tyson, Barry.
They offloaded big names, leaders, dude.
Matthew Shane.
Like, oh my God.
Matthew Shane released.
I was stunned.
I was stunned.
Ryan Johansson traded to Colorado.
Stunning.
Like, wild stuff.
But they made great moves, dude.
Cody Glass gets re-signed for two years.
Ryan O'Reilly signs a four-year deal, a good deal, too.
Luke Shen signs a three-year deal.
Gus Nykwe signs a two-year deal.
This is a really good example of some,
not just vets for depth sake,
but like good vets being brought in the team.
Ryan O'Reilly is going to fit in so perfectly in this city
and on this team.
He is the type of guy that's going to make a player like Phil Forsberg
to sing and be much better,
sing alongside him, playing guitar.
Like you're going to have a great year.
And when Flip is healthy again,
which should be soon, that is very, very exciting.
And you've also, dude, you have quietly very, very,
very good young players on this team. Philip Tomasino had 18 and 31 last year. That's a good
showing from a young guy who's 21 years old, I think. So look for him to take a big leap.
But the guy I want to talk about is Luke Evangelista. Luke Evangelista two years ago,
absolutely shit on juniors playing for the London Knights had 111 points in 62 games,
was an absolute stud. And then last year, he was brought up during the really tumultuous
times for this team and he had 15 points in 23 games and then when he's playing for the
Milwaukee Admirals in the A he had 41 and 49. So like Luke is set to have a really good
opportunity to step into this team, play with some really strong vets and have a big season.
I just like the Preds dude. Like Roman Yossi, Shen, Tyson Barry. Like you've,
Ryan McDone.
Like, you've got a solid defensive core.
You have one of the best goalies in the league.
You've added good players.
It's a great city.
The guys love playing there.
There's good vibes, especially if the team is doing well.
I just think there's a lot of upside and national.
Me too.
It's an incredible city.
Any free agent we want to go there.
You named all the guys I was going to name.
Like, what did we just say?
It's about Arizona.
They got tougher to play.
They got better in the middle.
That is awesome.
And my biggest issue, dude,
is they had a fuck they had such a hard time scoring last year where were the goals coming from
and i don't know that they've solved that problem um you want to believe well you know maybe
they would say goals are coming from a healthier flip forestberg because you want more than
50 games you want more than 50 games from him um Ryan o'reilly is a good player is our goals
coming from him our goals coming from kids that they're letting up juniors i just don't know
UCSaurus is that nasty boy, dude.
He's that nasty boy, and I love him.
But he is one man.
And I just don't know that this team can score enough to get themselves in the playoffs.
Maybe they can.
But that's my fear.
And that's why I have them.
That's all it is, though, right?
Because, yes, UCSaurus is that boy.
He's a dirty, dirty boy.
But so is the defense in front of them.
That's a really strong top two pairing in your decor.
And what their problem was last year, early on in the season,
Dutchie came on the podcast and he talked about how hard it was to come by goals for
that team that season for some reason.
And that, I think, was a one-off problem.
Like, I really do think at the end of the day, when you look at the players out and the
players in, it feels like a bit of a step up.
And you have this opportunity for some of the younger guys to get a year older and a year
better.
So I think that there's a chance that those goals are going to come a little bit easier.
And bang, you're doing a much better job than you did last year.
I'm really interested to see where, and don't tell me yet.
But if they jump to fourth, I'm really interested to see who is falling in your rankings.
Okay, let's move on.
But that will be an exciting one because that's another team that was flirting with the playoffs all year.
And it felt like a couple breaks go their way they might be in.
And they have the tools.
they've got to find some goals.
Yeah.
Okay.
Taking a quick break from the episode to tell all of you guys about our new deal that we've teamed up with BetMGM this season.
We'll be using the BetMGM lines to make all our picks and we have special offers for our listeners each week.
If you haven't signed up for BetMGM yet, do it right now.
Use bonus code Netters 200.
That's N-E-T-E-R-S-2-0, and you will receive $200 in bonus bets instantly when placing your first wager of at least $10 with Bet-M-G-M-M.
Here's how it works.
One, download the BetMGM app and sign up using bonus code Netters 200.
Two, deposit at least $10 and place your first wager on any team.
Three, you will receive $200 in bonus bets regardless of the outcome of your wager.
Just make sure you use bonus code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S-2-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-O-R.
Disclaimer.
betmgm.com for T's and C's. 21 plus to wager U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., New York, New York or Ontario. Gambling,
problem, call 1-800 gambler, Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland,
Missouri, New Jersey, Nevada, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Call 877-N-Y, or text, HOPE-N-Y, that's H-O-P-E-N-Y-X-N-Y-X-N-Y-R-N-Y-R-N-Y-L-L-L-E-L-L-L-A-L-L-L-K, call.
1-800 bets off for Iowa. Call 1-800-270-7-1-17 for confidential help in Michigan in partnership with
Kansas Crossing C-O-1 Hotel. Don't forget, if you haven't signed up for Bet MGM yet, use bonus code
Netters-200. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S-2-0 and get your $200 in bonus bets when placing a $10
wager today. All right, back to the episode. Fourth in the Central last year, the Winnipeg Jets.
They went 46, 33, and 3. Isn't that three crazy? Three O-D wins.
For 95 points.
Dan, they were four.
No, that's that's three OT losses.
Yes, sorry.
And I, that, but equally crazy.
Like, I can't believe that their number is three there.
That's got to be close to the lowest in the league.
Yeah.
Fourth last year.
This year, they will finish in three, two, one.
Third.
Yeah.
you motherfucker
this this might be especially in the top half one of our biggest differences yet
so I'm super excited to hear what happens here so you can start okay so I think um
like I was saying about Nashville and my apology to Nashville I'm really diving in on some
goalies um I think hella buck is fantastic I do you high do you
not like Hellebuck or am I making that up?
Hellibuck's unbelievable.
I think he is just so, so strong and has,
um, has, has, has, has,
best goal in the league in him still, if he feel, if he's up for it, you know,
um, I, I, I put a lot on him going into the playoffs.
I thought they would be better maybe just, I thought he would steal games. He didn't
really, I mean, obviously they ran into a wagon, but, um, I expect him to play, uh,
I'm trying to remember the odds. We saw them, Dan.
Do you remember who the Vesna finalists were?
Last year?
Yeah.
Olmark.
Helibuck Sorokin.
That was the other one.
Yeah.
Sorokin.
I swear to God, Helibuck had the next best odds in Vegas.
Olmars odds were insane, obviously, because he had the most preposterous season ever.
But I was like, Helibuck's odds were right there.
And, you know, whatever the fuck.
We love the odds.
We love Vegas odds.
We love BetMGM odds.
But the, yeah, yeah.
But Helibuck could win the Vesna this year.
got a tremendous goalender, which makes you a threat. I'm not saying they're winning the division.
I just think, like, they are a threat to steal a lot of games. You lose PLD, who is a, who is a great
player. And we think, you and I collectively think that his ceiling in his career and certainly
on this King's team, which way I think we talked about last Epp is high. I think he can do great
things there, I mean, 80 point season. But he wasn't having 80 point seasons before. He wasn't
lighting the world on fire. So that loss isn't like you lost.
what I think he'll become. You just lost what he was doing, right?
Yeah. In return, you get AI. You get Gabe Valardi, who's, Gabe,
fight for your right to Velardi, who felt like he was just entering his breakout party, right?
Like, I think there's, there's juice there that you picked up that I like a lot. And I swear to
fucking God, Kyle Connor will score 50 goals one of these days. And it just might be this season did.
It just might be this season. It could be. So there's a lot to like.
there, right? Definitely, man. Listen, I'm not hating on the Jets here, but I am going to say some things
that are sketchy for you. So, strap in. They lost PLD. You know, like that one's tough,
but I don't think it's devastating. I think PLD kind of played all last year with sort of
this aura around him that was like, this isn't necessarily.
necessarily where I want to be. So that's obviously going to factor into how you play,
and he still played great. But, you know, he's gone. Wheeler, dude, Wheeler gets waived and
released. He's now with the Rangers. That one is, I borderline need a 30 for 30 on Blake
Wheeler. Like, I need to know what happened with that team and that guy. Like, why in the
world was he treated the way he was treated? Whatever, we'll move on from that. They've got Kyle
Connor, they've got Mark Sheifley, they got Nikolai Eilers, they've got Josh Morrissey, they've got
Connor Hullabuck. They just added IAfala Volardi and Kippari. Yes, this is a good team. I like that
they added LB, dude. I can't believe you didn't mention your boy LB. LB. was making his little
name for himself and you said the world will know LB's name when he was fighting for a cup on
Vegas. Now he's there backing up, Hellebock. But it was always Hill then, but it was always
is hill. It was always hill. Always, dude. But the weird situation for me with Winnipeg is we're hearing all this
weird chatter about like guys don't want to play there. I think it's great that you have this
PLD trade and obviously that's a condition of the trade, but Valardi and Kapari both sign
extensions immediately. Iafalo is already locked up. So that's great. You've got three very solid players
there. Alex Ayapollo is going to get you 20 goals. He's going to be an all over the sheet type of guy.
He can play any position.
He can penalty kill.
He's an absolute weapon.
Agree Valardi has a ton of goal scoring potential.
He's also injury prone, and I am worried about that.
The biggest things for me here are Shifley and Hellebuck.
Shifley and Hellebuck.
Shifley is UFA next year.
I actually don't know Halibuck.
I think he might be.
Or maybe it's a year out.
Look that up for me while I'm talking.
But those two guys are dudes that we hear about every single.
single day on NHL Twitter in trade rumors. It feels like there's a world where there's
internal dialogue going on where these guys want out. And if that is the case,
you look at this Jets team as not a blow it up situation at all. I mean, listen, dude,
if you lose Hullabuck, that is V-Bad. They're both UFA next year. Okay. So they both are.
So you've got a situation going into this year with your, realistically your captain.
I mean, like, let's call it what it is.
Shifley is your captain.
And now your star goalie who is a top five goalie in the NHL.
Both of them are unsigned.
You really start to wonder here, like, if they aren't coming back, what are we doing?
Now, in the case of them, you could see how the season goes, trade them both at the deadline
you're out of the playoffs and get a King's ransom. I think that's what I would do. And you,
you are faced with the decision or the future of, are they coming back or not? And I think
so much hinges on that, dude. Because like this team on paper is actually pretty solid. But
they underperformed last year. And they lost PLD, got back these three really solid players from
the Kings. Is that enough to replace him and Wheeler? I don't know.
no. And if it's not, you're looking at a fifth place finish in the central and you're looking
at missing playoffs. You're looking at Shifley and Halebuck unrestricted free agents in the summer. And if
they don't sign, you literally have to trade both of them at the deadline. And that is what I am seeing.
So I forgot Halebuck was UFA. I do Shifley was. And I was going to bring that up in a second to say,
I don't even think doing the top 100 has really helped with us. I don't even think people realize
how good Mark Shifley is. They have no idea, dude.
They have no idea.
You know what's crazy?
We did our last season, early pod fans, remember this.
We did our top most underrated guys in the league list.
Bro, Shifley is top five on underrated guys in the NHL.
That dude is a perennial point per game player.
He's getting 35 plus goals.
Like, he is so good.
And he throws the body around too, dude.
He absolutely bundles people.
And I, one thing I had flagged with him on my prediction here is
does that affect him, right?
Like, because some players,
they're thinking about the contract, whatever.
But I actually think, dude, he's 31.
Like, he's trying to get paid again and show off.
So I think coming into this,
coming into a UFA year,
maybe the best thing that could happen for him and Hellebuck,
to be like, yo, I'm about to ball out and then get my worth
either here or somewhere else if they don't want to play there.
And that could, you don't need, you hope you don't lose them,
but you just need to win now, baby.
So like if they both play great and you have a great season, maybe it helps keeping them, you know?
So I think with those factors combined and get a good chance, the locker room thing,
we brought that up in the playoffs that we didn't like their locker room.
And as much as I love Blake Wheeler, maybe that was part of it.
Yeah.
So sometimes it's addition by subtraction, right?
So I think they added some really nice pieces and I think their big toys could shine this year.
And I like them third.
I don't hate that. I don't hate it. I think I know who you're saying is fourth.
But I don't know, dude. I just, I think I'm so nervous about Hellebuck and Shikley.
And this is one of those things, man, where maybe it's like pasta last season and they both just extend.
And then I'm like, oh, these guys are fine. Because Shikley's 30 years old.
You know, it's like that could be the core still.
and they're just yet to work out an extension.
So we'll see.
But I do worry about that.
And I think that's why I have them slightly behind the fourth place team.
And dude, you said they underperformed.
I don't know.
I kind of think they performed last year.
No, dude.
No, no, absolutely not.
The Jets of two years ago were a wagon, dude.
And that was a playoff series that people were straight up scared of.
And then this year, they talked to any Jets fan coming into this past season.
Jets fans were like, we're making a fucking run at the cup here.
And then just the locker room fell apart.
And they kind of like weirdly snuck into the playoffs.
And then they got, they lost to Vegas in round one.
And that was five or six games.
Because I remember it being the most.
I think they won the first game and that got buried.
It was the most uninteresting playoff series ever.
Like they were just, they were in and out as fast as they arrived.
And it was just unbelievable.
Okay.
Well, on that topic, the team that got in ahead of them, third in the central, the Minnesota Wilde, 46, 25, and 11 for 103 points.
They were third last year, Dan.
This year, they will finish in three, two, one, fourth.
Yeah, you like them staying.
I do.
I do.
Do you want me to start?
No, I'll go.
Okay.
Last year, Flower started 45 games, I think.
And Gus started, you know, what, 37 or whatever the math is there?
That, Gus is going to start 50 games this year.
That was going to completely flip.
I think Gus, you like that?
Yep.
Gus is fantastic.
I think you are greatly aided.
by that situation.
I think Matt Boldy could score 40 fucking goals this year.
So that's exciting as hell if you're up there.
But they didn't bring in that much.
Like I think this team has lost in the first round or hasn't got past the first round since 2015.
They're the new Leafs.
You coined them the New Leafs and they are.
So they're the new Leafs.
And when I look at this team, I'm like, and I know this is just standing prediction,
but I'm like, are you getting out of the first round?
I'm like, hell no, and I'm not even sure you're in anymore.
Gus is big, Goldie's big, but I'm more excited by the Jets ads, I think,
and the potential of their toys and contract years than I am about this Minnesota team.
It's close, but I'm more excited about the Jets possibilities.
I think that that is a crazy take.
I mean, I'm not saying that you need to be like way more excited about one or the other,
but the interesting thing for me,
is they didn't do much, dude.
As far as adding people, they didn't really do anything, which I don't think is acceptable.
But the reality is they have 1.6 million caps base, so they can't do that much.
They have huge key players, though.
Krill is an absolute weapon.
I think Boldie is emerged as such an exciting young player last season.
He's only going to get better.
I think Joel Erickson Eck is very underrated.
Spurgeon is phenomenal on the back end as well as Brodine.
Gustafson re-signing.
and becoming the certified starter for that team, for me, is why they are going to stay in third.
And I think probably be better this year. And let's just jump right to that, dude. You need to trade flower.
I think it is insane that that dude is still on this team. I know that the tandem situation is great.
but dude you have to trust someone in your system or like trade him and get someone else i don't know
but you need to move on like flower being the second fiddle doesn't work because i think flower can
still play and give you 45 starts and there's just so many teams that i think could use that
i don't know if he'd do it because of the chicago ties but like Detroit is one of them like
does does flower look better in that for the red wings than be like whoso i think yes
I mean, it's like, dude, I would send him back to Chicago.
Like Peter Mirazis, like go straight in to Chicago who has a ton of cab space,
let him retire back where it all started and be a upgrade in net for the Chicago Blackhawks.
And you free up that space and you get a little bit of cap room if you're Minnesota.
I just, I don't get keeping him as the second fiddle to Gustafsson because he is the second fiddle to Gustafsson.
Oh, yes, absolutely.
And I don't think that tandem is as good.
good or as necessary maybe is the better word that as they think it is. So that is what I would do
there. Again, I'm shocked. Wait, wait. If, if Flower was like, oh, I'm good, dude, I'm, I'm 30 fucking
whatever. He's old as shit. And if he says, I'm this age, let me give you 30 games. I'll be
rested. I'll be good. Let me give you 30, 35 games. And Gus is the guy. Don't you keep that
if you're in Minnesota? If he said, now aren't you like, yeah, sweet. Yeah. Absolutely. Because like,
they don't make, neither of them make that much money. So you're not, like, that's not where
you're hurting in the cap. Uh, for me, it's like, I think you could get something for him. That's why I'm
saying trade him. I'm not saying trade him to get him off your books. I'm saying a team could use
him. So see if you can get something for, for an older guy like that. If you have the opportunity,
do it. He obviously has to say, yes, that's the biggest thing. Um, like we said, I mean, like this
team added Pat Maroon.
Yeah, so they're winning the cup then.
Yeah, seriously.
No disrespect to Big Rig.
I fucking love him and he's an unbelievable guy and a great person to have in the locker
room.
But when you look at all these other teams, all the moves that they've made for them to do
this when they are becoming the new Leafs where they haven't been out of the first
round in fucking 10 years.
It's like you've got to do more than that, guys.
So I think there is a bit of pressure on Billy G.
here. Some of the young guys in this team, Marco Rossi is interesting to me, 51 points and 53 games with the Iowa Wild, but he had, he's a ninth overall pick. So like that is a high draft that you need to perform. He had one assist in 19 games with the Wild last season. Like, you're worried about that kid. And I think that he needs to step into a more serious role here. So the Wild dude, I really love this team. I love their top talent. I think it's great. This is, this is a number.
one that I put into the category of, the league is better when the wild are good. When
Minnesota hockey is good, that is good for the league. So I want them to finish third. I want
them to be a good contender. But they have things that need to happen. Like Gus needs to be the
guy. Spurgeon needs to be healthy. Brodine needs to be healthy. Rossi needs to come into his own.
Or do you think about trading him, dude? I mean, like, that's a high pick with high value.
and if he's not performing at this point, you've got a problem.
So I believe in the wild, but I also, I love your concerns.
So I'm not saying either one of us is right.
I would say the reason for the flip-flop for me is because you said a bunch of great things.
I think Kirill could have 100 points again, right, if he plays enough.
I think Hellebuck has a better year than Gus.
and I'm kind of hanging, I'm pushing my chips in on that.
Because you're right, that could swing this.
If Hella Bucks fine and Gus gets 50 starts and is nasty,
then the while they're in the playoffs.
But I'm going to, I'm a role with Hellie for this season.
Yeah, I like it.
Okay.
The second place team from last year in the Central,
the Dallas Stars, they went 47, 21, and 14 with 108 points.
Dan, they were second last year.
This year.
You ready?
Yeah.
This year.
I know you're going to do it.
You're wrong.
You're wrong.
This year, they will be three, two, one.
First.
No.
No, no, no.
Buddy.
I got news for you, dude.
I got news for you, dude.
Just so you know, just so you know.
I have been told by people close to me that things are bigger in Texas, including Stanley Cup parties,
which they will also be having this year.
Just so you know, dude, just so you know, they're first in the Central.
They're not going to do it.
If they were to do it, they would need Ottinger to have a Linus Omar type season.
And I'm not saying he can't do it.
Yeah.
That's easy.
I'm not saying he can't do that because Otter is elite.
Elite, elite, elite.
The stars have zero cap space, which is so unacceptable.
Don't need it.
Their key players are Robo, Rupa Hintz, Miroskinin, Pavellski, Wyatt Johnson, is what I consider.
And Otter, and Otter.
Their key ads are probably Dutchy, is what I would say.
Great home for him.
He's going to love Dallas, just like he loved Nashville.
Dutchie is a really solid middle-sixth guy.
I think the unfortunate reality is most mockups of this lineup have him slotted in as a third liner.
And I don't think Dutchie's going to like that at all.
I think he probably considers himself the top six forward as he should and as I think he is.
But we'll see how that works out.
There's two things I want to say.
Rupé Hintz just signed an eight year at $8.45 million contract.
Great, great deal for a top 50 player in the league, in my opinion.
Rupa is unbelievable. He's playing out of his mind.
What is not talked about enough in the NHL is that Robo has three years left at 7.7 mil and is still RFA at the end of that.
That might be the best contract in the NHL.
Oh, my God, dude. It's a steal.
Like, let's really talk about that.
People always talk about who are some of the best contracts in the league.
Brad Marchand brought up all the time.
That's an absolutely great one to bring up.
Robo being a over a hundred point guy,
being frankly the face of this franchise now at 7.75 for three more years.
And is RFA at the end of it?
That is the best contract in the league.
It's ironic, dude.
I don't even think it's a question.
It's unbelievable.
But what's nuts to me is when you've got guys like Miro Hayskinin make an under 9 a year,
who is a top 5 D man in the league, no question about it, you've got Rupé Hintz and you've got Robo,
both make an under 9 a year.
When you are this cap crunched, that is brutal, dude.
And it always comes back to your boy, Jamie Ben, Tyler Sagan, and Ryan Seeger.
those three contracts are absolutely devastating this team.
And what's interesting, man, is Jamie Ben had a good season last year.
Yeah, I want to talk about this.
People wrote him and Sagan off.
They both started the year playing pretty well.
Sagan dipped off a little bit, but he still had a decent year,
but he's making way too much money.
Ben had a good year last year, no matter how you slice it.
Bad ending.
Bad ending to your season.
And Ben, especially with his suspensions.
And his performance in the playoffs, dude, people fucking hate Jamie Ben amongst NHL fans.
We were shocked to see that.
Last year we started talking about some stuff that was going on.
People hate that, dude.
I have, we said this when we talked about this in the playoffs.
I have no idea how Jamie Ben is in the locker room.
I have no idea what type of guy he is.
But it feels like there is a changing of the guard going on in Dallas.
Yeah.
And it feels like from an outsider, from a fan looking in, when you look at the performances on the ice and the vibes of the team, dude, I'm telling you, this has happened many times in the NHL. A very prominent one is when Craig Conroy ripped off the sea and gave it to Jerome McGillac. Because he was like, dude, it's a new time in Calgary. You were the leader of this team. Jamie Ben needs to take off his captain C and give it to Mira Haskinan, in my opinion.
If you want to say Robo, fine.
But either way, this team belongs to Robo, Miro, and Hints.
And you need to let that momentum happen.
Like Sagan and Ben were the guys for a little while.
They made it to a cup.
They didn't win.
But now here we are.
These guys are constantly brought up every season as a anchor that's dragging this team down.
And yet they finished second in the central.
Like, dude, you just, you just, you do need to, however, acknowledge that it's like this, this is a new era. And here's the deal, dude. I've said it a million times. I would fucking trade those two. I don't think anyone's trading for suitor at this point. I would trade Sagan and Ben so fast it would make your fucking head spin. Spin off your body like a top. And I still think they should do that. Like I'm sitting here saying, Jamie Ben just had a great year. Trade him now.
Get what you can back for the both of them, which, by the way, wouldn't be bad stuff at all.
It would be totally acceptable stuff.
And you give the leadership roles to these younger guys who are frankly the leaders are ready.
And you continue.
This is not a rebuild at all.
Yeah.
Oh, my God.
Yeah, correct.
You can continue with this great momentum in Dallas.
But I just think moving on from those two would be good for the trajectory of this team.
And so good for the cap space.
I think it is a no break.
The part of my argument hinges on a lot,
which you said,
and I really like your take in that if you could get something back from them,
you don't really hurt this squad,
because you could probably get production at the level back.
The question, which you kind of brought up to,
is who's taking those contracts and maybe no one?
So that's something to think about.
You can't just, it's not like an easy move.
Robohead is coming out party.
I think he's going nowhere.
Incredibly talented player.
Joey Tiptryl's not slowing down.
Hints, he's going to beast, beast.
Hold on, Chris.
Joey Tiptryl might slow down.
He's 39 years old.
He's not.
That's the thing about Joey Chippdrill do.
I assure you he's not slowed down.
So I don't know what to tell you.
I don't know how he's doing it.
No one knows how he's doing it.
I'm just telling you he's not slowing down.
So that's that.
That's that. We're not talking about this anymore. I think you might be right, dude. He is unbelievable. And also is in the underrated conversation. But there is just a world where we have to believe that Ben Sagan and Pavelski all might regress. They're like it's it is what it is dude. And and I don't think Sagan and Ben's contracts are immovable. I don't. We've seen so many guys who have quote unquote terrible contracts get.
dealt and people
eat those three-way deals are now are nice
now you know like three-team trades
everyone likes a good three-way and it's
it's you know the money works the money changes
hands everyone's happy i wouldn't know anything
about that but i've had heard that it's very
I've heard the good things
but yeah man I think
Wyatt Johnson is sick
24 tucks I think maybe
or something like that you've seen that shot dude
that's pencil a limit for 60 points
do up from 40 or whatever
last year Dutchie
I think maybe 50 something this past year,
about 86 the year before that.
Good point about the lines,
but let's pencil Dutchie in for 75.
I like that.
So we got Wyatt up to 60.
We got Dutchie up to 75.
You got Otter,
who is the best goalie.
Look at my lips in the league,
which is fantastic news if you're a stars fan.
Don't hate it.
The big question is,
what are you getting from Ben and Sagan?
Now, and ignore the,
well, you should never ignore the shit,
but if it's a locker,
I miss you,
fine,
but if Ben gives you what he gave you last year,
you don't really care about that contract.
And you guys are sick and you're going to win the Central.
But if he dips,
and if Sagan dips at all,
because he's on the low end of,
because I would have 50.
Yeah.
If those guys dip,
you're hurting a little bit.
So that's my big question,
Mark.
What can you count on from those two guys?
Because those are great bounce back years this past year,
and it made a lot of difference.
And you,
got to keep an eye on that. And if they're not producing, then maybe you fucking trade them.
I hadn't really thought that was on the table, but maybe it is.
But I think this team is fucking scary in the West.
I know it went bad against Vegas, but like, if you are in the West and you're, because the
Pacific stacked and everyone's all, everyone's, I mean, we did our breakdown, but everyone's in the
comments like, you know, Oilers Cup, you know, Kings, whatever, the Vegas repeat, the stars
scare the shit out of me if I'm any team in the West.
Completely agree. At the end of the day, Dallas is a top four team in the West.
And that is, I don't think that that is even debatable because you have guys like
Otter, Robo, Hintz, Hayeskin, and Wyatt Johnson, who are all getting better and scarier.
That is the core of your team, too.
So look out for Dallas, anyone who comes up against them in any form, regular season,
postseason, first round, second round, third round, doesn't make.
matter. Dallas is dangerous. And it's very exciting. I wish I had my Texas hockey shirt on.
Okay. Last team, the Colorado Avalanche won the Central last year. They finished from first place going
51, 24, and 7 for 109 points. If anyone's paying attention, they know what we're going to pick.
So last year, they were first this year, Dan, in three, two, one, second. One, and that is
obvious. Oh, my God.
Here's the deal.
Okay.
Actually, you go.
You go, you go.
They're a dominant team.
They employ the second best player in the league, which is a pretty sick thing to do if
you were hockey team.
They lost some people, dude.
They lost J.T. Comfer, who never quite developed into what I thought he should have been,
but that is a great.
Well, I just thought he was going to be like literally one of the most elite players in the
league.
I thought that was such a steel pick.
And it didn't quite get there, but he's a very good player.
and that's a big loss.
They lost Rodriguez.
They lost Eller.
Where did Eller go?
Pid?
I think so.
I think you're right.
So they lost Rodriguez, lost Eller,
Las Eric Johnson.
Yeah.
Pit.
Good call.
Here's the good news.
They still have Nate Dog and the Moose and kale and Taze and Nchuskin.
Like they are stacked.
Dude.
They have archery Lakinin.
have Rojo, they have Ross Colton, they have Miles Wood. Like, I'm going to put your brain,
I'm going to put your brain in a blender in two seconds. So do whatever stupid little dance you want
to do something that they're going to put a second. And then let me absolutely fucking bodybag you,
like the pre-being you are. The question is, it was all about goalies for me. I told you at
the top. Central was all about goalies for me. I put a lot of chips on Helibuck. I put a lot of
chips on Otter. Yorgiev was actually nasty last year. And, um,
I think that you win the cup with a goalie and change goalies.
That was everyone was shocked last year.
And Yorgiev, I thought, was just tremendous and completely lived up to the hype.
So if he's that good again, yeah, this team is fucking sick again.
I'm kind of rolling on the otter train of like, he'll just do it for him.
He'll put in a season that just does it for him.
But I need people to know, listeners to know, I'm not saying the abs are second and it's a distant second.
I'm like, oh, this is a blood bath between the abs and Dallas.
and I think the Dallas stars clippen by a point strictly because of Otter.
But this avalanche team is fucking dope.
Dude, they're so good.
So basically, I know I keep hitting everyone with the cap, but like this team, no cap.
They're right up against it.
In fact, they're over a little bit.
They've got Landy and his 7-Mill on LTIR, which is brutal.
Landy's not going to play this entire season, which is just like utterly devastating.
Is that true?
He's out the whole year?
Yes, presumably, which again, like I'm so sad about that.
That's a factor, dude.
That's a huge factor. It's a huge factor. I think the comfort loss is a huge factor. Everyone knows I'm very, very high on him. I think he's going to have such a good year in Detroit. But we're talking about the ads right now. They get Ryan Johansson in that bizarre Galchenguk trade. That was like the weirdest deal of all time. If you don't think Ryan Johansson is going to have a big glow up from last season playing with all of these guys, you are outside your damn mind. So that is absolutely big. He's
probably going to replace JT in that center role. Ross Colton is a huge ad. Everyone who looks at
this Tampa Bay Lightning team over the last four or five years, you look at their middle to
bottom six guys who are playing on entry level deals and playing outside of their minds.
They then move on and they become such huge factors on the teams they go to. Ross Colton is
going to do that here with this Colorado team playing with absolutely unbelievable people.
They added Miles Wood.
Miles Wood is a gritty, fantastic middle six, bottom six player who is going to fit in perfectly with this team.
Cogliano came back.
Bowen Byron, who was my boy, a Stanley Cup parade legend, 22-year-old defenseman.
He is going to come back from the injury.
He just signed a two-year extension.
He had 24 points and 42 games.
Let's call that a 40- or so point season from the blue line.
That's a monster year from a 21-year-old.
He's 22 now.
He's not going to be injured.
He is going to be better.
Jonathan Druin, one of our favorite former first-round picks who bounces around the league,
shapes up to be a guy who signs a one-year deal with Colorado,
is all of a sudden playing with guys like Nate Dogg and elements of his game get unlocked that people haven't seen.
I think Georgiev is amazing.
I think Frantzouz is a good backup.
I think that this team is going to be healthy all year.
all things going the right way for Colorado,
and they're going to remind everyone
why they are the Stanley Cup winning team
from two years ago that they were. And Chris,
you talked about how good this team is. We just
talked about all of these players rattling down
their team, McKinnon, Rantan,
Nishushushkin, Lekan, Ryan Johansson,
Ross Colton, Miles Wood, Logan O'Connor,
Cogliano, Kill McCar,
Sammy Gerard, Josh Manson, Devon,
Boen Byron, Biron, Unbelievable players.
Let me just give you their ages real quick.
28, 26, 28, 28, 21, 26, 27, 27, 36, 28, 24, 27, 27, 24, 25, 31, 29, 29, 22, 29.
This team is so fucking young and so good.
And these guys, like, the biggest issue for them is Devon Taves is up next year.
That is a big deal.
But Devon Taves is 29 years old, but he's probably looking at 8 million a year.
So they're going to have to figure that out.
But then other than that, it's bottom guys, like Moose.
isn't up until the year after next.
Like, they are, they are this team for the foreseeable future.
And like, they are just so fucking good and so young.
They've got to be first place.
I'm sorry.
It's just the reality.
I don't hate it, dude.
We had joked last season that the abs had that cup hangover and then we're just like
slowly chug.
Here they come.
Here they come.
And we called early.
I forget when exactly.
We called early.
like the abs are winning that division by the way even though there are a thousand points out.
Like they were out of the playoffs, a decent chunk of the way into the year.
And I was like, they're going to win the Central.
It's not even a question.
And I'm so proud of us for that.
Like we, we could have easily hopped on the hot take train and been like, oh my God,
the ads are terrible.
It's the cop hangover.
They're dead.
And we're like, no, they're just injured and they're going to be fine and they're going to win.
And then chew, choo-choo-choo, they came through and fucking absolutely shit-pumped people.
And there they are.
People are forgetting this, I think.
I would, and I was the spunkiest, I was spunky Brewster, bro.
I was the spunkiest guy you know last playoffs, but I would be fascinated to see how
those Western playoffs would have shaken out had the abs got past Seattle there.
Like, let's say they win that game seven and they are unleashed on the rest of the playoffs.
Like, are they not winning the cup?
Fucking maybe.
So this team is, I kind of still think, I know I just kind of called my shot that Dallas is
winning the cup this year, but this team feels like the, the,
the hard out, the hardest out, if you're in the West, if you're like, oh my God. Definitely, dude.
Like, it almost still runs through Colorado to me, even though Vegas is the defending champs and
did so in dominant fashion. It almost still runs through Colorado. And let me tell you what, man,
if you don't think Nate Dogg is coming in with the fire of a thousand sons after getting
bounced in the first round by an expansion team, you are a moron. So no one has even,
no one has even looked at a soda since last June. Oh, dude. Colorado is
coming in hot and they're winning the central.
Okay.
So I got Dallas, Aves, Jets, Preds, Yotes, Hawks, Blues.
And I got Aves, Stars, Wild Preds, Jets, Yotes, Blues, Hawks.
Look for the Yotes to make some noise.
Yeah, I like V.
Want a little Wall 5 about the Yotes?
Yeah, dude.
Wall 5.
Boom, Wall 5.
Okay, that's the central breakdown.
I'm feeling pretty good.
That is it for the central breakdown.
That is it for us this week abroad in Ibiza.
Say it with me, Chris.
Abitha, Dan, Ibitha.
Ibitha.
Ibitha.
That is it for us here.
Guys, stay logged in.
Stay dialed with us because this is exciting stuff.
We are getting closer and closer and closer,
almost a month away from the season.
So we're going to keep hitting you with these division.
division breakdowns and predictions.
And until then,
and no matter where you are,
skate hard.
