Empty Netters Podcast - 55. 2023-24 Atlantic Division Predictions
Episode Date: September 27, 2023The boys are rattled about a couple huge names in the NHL who might be changing teams in the near future. And looking at the most stacked division in the league, the boys are all over the place with t...heir guesses. Are we getting set for a huge changing of the guard in the East? Chapters (00:00) - Intro (01:25) - Stamkos Saga (06:30) - Zegras Is Gone (18:07) - Cooley Spin-O-Rama (21:10) - Canadiens (26:50) - Red Wings (33:30) - Senators (39:08) - Sabers (47:07) - Panthers (54:03) - Lightning (58:38) - Maple Leafs (1:08:24) - Bruins Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
And we're back.
And we're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We're back.
We had our first Australia games.
Yeah, that was cool.
Wasn't that nice?
That was cool.
That was not nice.
We are really coming close to 10 days from hockey, which is just so nice.
Yeah.
I mean, God, when this comes out, what will we be at?
12?
Yeah.
I think so, right?
Or I think 13.
I don't know.
It's low.
Yeah, it's low.
It's under 15.
I know that's the answer.
But we're getting close here.
Hockey season is winding down upon us.
And we've got some special stuff for you today.
We're going to be finishing our division predictions.
I can't wait.
Getting into possibly the juiciest prediction.
It's juiciest division.
Yes, thank you.
That's what I was going to say.
I've got a juicy prediction, but it is the juicest division.
Yep.
Unbelievable stuff.
We're going to get into that.
You got just the boys today, which is exciting stuff.
But before, we got to do some hot ice because that has been a little steamy.
I love hot ice.
Yeah.
Hot ice is the best, and it's now Howie's Hockey Tape Hot Ice, the best hockey tape,
laces, accessories, and apparel in the game.
Howie's got you covered everywhere, and they got us covered with hot ice.
Let's get into it.
I want to start first off with Stammer again.
We talked about Stammer last week.
Okay, yep.
Briefly.
It was a brief mention some whiffs of some situations.
That's what I'm saying.
Tampa.
Now it's a stench.
Last week, we talked about Stammer making a couple comments about how he's not thrilled
with how he does not have a new contract yet with Tampa Bay.
In that time, in the past week, it's getting a little shadier.
And it seems like Stammer's upset.
He doesn't have that contract.
And from what whispers are going around the NHL sphere doesn't seem to be.
doesn't seem like that contract's coming.
Well, what I said last week was,
since you are obviously keeping Steven Stamcos on your team,
it felt stupid to me to not call, as he said,
to not even broach the subject, right?
If you tried and you failed to land before camp started, all good,
you're in good faith, whatever,
if you were obviously keeping him.
and now I hear we're all hearing it's not like we have a scoop
we're all hearing that they might not want to keep them
yeah and now it all makes sense
because why would you call the guy if you're about to break up with him
those conversations suck so keep avoiding it
keep avoiding it yeah eventually he'll break up with you
that's how it always goes it's just so nutty to me
because you've got your captain
an absolute legend in Tampa
and for that franchise
he is still playing at an over an 80 point per season clip.
He's a machine.
And it looks like the bolts are prepared to walk away from him.
And the question for me is, how do you do that?
Are you going to move him at the deadline?
Are you going to let him walk for free this summer?
Which you cannot do.
Which you cannot do.
But at the same time, maybe you can do.
Especially if you're...
What does he make right now?
That's a big question because I could see someone at the deadline being like, what do you expect me to give up for a 33-year-old Steve Stamcoast who's making probably, what, 8.5 mil a year or something like that?
I could see, it's similar to- 8-5.
8-5, wow, I just pulled that out of the hat.
It's kind of similar to the Johnny Toadrags in Toronto, right?
Everyone's like, got to get tow-drags off this team, which we also don't get because he's also scoring 80 plus points.
but they're like he's untradable.
You've got to be saying the same thing with Stammer.
Same age, I think a little bit older.
Yeah, 33, how old Sorex?
Think 33 or 32.
He's putting out the same production.
So there is a world here where they just let him play out this season
and then Steve Samcoe signs with a new team.
Well, you certainly can't trade him at the deadline.
Let me put it this way.
You are willing to let him walk for free to keep him.
for another hopeful cup run.
If you're contending this year.
You don't just trade him at the deadline.
You're like, well, we got to get something for Stammer.
And then you go into the playoffs without them.
Yeah, exactly.
Not happening.
So, yeah, it's the way that the waters are shifting right now,
it looks like Steve Stamcoast is going to be playing for a new team next year.
Or at the very least, maybe there's too much blood,
but I was going to say, or at the very least a free agent.
There's no, he could, he could re-sign.
You know, he could reach free agency and be like,
damn, I wanted to talk about that before last year.
And they're like, sorry, dude, we were figuring some shit out.
Here's our offer.
But I think that won't happen because of what's going on right now.
I don't think there's a bad blood you're saying.
No, no, no, no, no.
Because they've made the decision to not do it.
If he's coming back to the lightning, they would have done it already.
What in the world is the point of making him play an entire season of being disgruntled and like, what the fuck?
I think they've made up their mind.
I think you're right.
Either it's going to happen in the next couple of months.
There is no planet where he hits UFA and comes back is what I think.
okay I think it's unlikely so we're close to the line but I don't think there's no
planet and maybe I'm just grasping here but I would my only argument and it to be
clear this is not worth disgruntling him which you have now done yeah morons but there
there's an argument to say if if he was asking for extensions now like extend me right now
that is probably a higher number than maybe what you could get him one more year older as
uFA next year that's that's the only slight argument I'll make that they're like maybe
week, you just be like, dude, come back.
But let's say he has a 90-point season this year.
Yeah, then you're fricked.
Then he goes like this.
Yeah, remember that extension?
I wanted, it's more now.
So I just think.
And I would have taken a hometown deal because we were boys.
We used to be boys.
Yeah.
And now we're not.
And, you know, I think even if, let's say he has another monster year, he gets
to UFA, to your point, the bad blood thing, I could see him being like,
fuck you, I'm leaving.
Me too.
Especially if they don't do that well.
Not worth disgruntling him.
The next topic is another thing.
that we have slightly talked about.
The waters are shifting also with Trevor Zegris in Anaheim.
Dude, this is...
Here we are.
This is not good.
We've got teams traveling abroad, playing games.
Preseason hockey has started.
Guys are on the ice.
Guys have been practicing.
We are 14 or so days away from the start of the NHL season.
And Trevor Zegris has still not resigned with Anaheim Ducks.
He has not done a single team.
event, practice, anything all summer long.
Do you think Trevor Zegress wears a Ducks uniform next year?
Yes.
But.
But what an unfun take.
We said, I can't remember if this was a pod or some other cool thing we were working on that you guys will all hear about hopefully soon.
But you know what I'm talking about.
I can't remember where we had this conversation.
But you just don't want.
a sad Trevor.
Yeah, we don't like sad Trevor.
We like happy Trevor.
He's like Cole.
Yeah, you know, you're getting your best from him when he's a happy boy.
Yeah.
And we don't, I don't think, I should say, that, and you don't have any intel on his asks, right?
Like, I haven't heard shit about demands.
The shit that we have heard and that we know is stuff that we cannot share, nor would we share.
What I will say is that, and this is widely known in the, and I think.
H.L world and fan world,
reportedly the first offer that came through from the Ducks was
insultingly low.
Yep.
Per their standards.
Yeah, yeah.
And I just, my point is, I don't know, the only offer or the only number that he could,
numbers that he could be throwing out there that would get it this bad to this point
where they're like, then just leave.
Feels so unrealistic that he would be asking for.
Maybe I'm wrong.
Maybe he's walking into that office.
Be one like this, give me 20 million a year.
But, come on.
Information aside.
Yep.
If you think he's going, I want eight by ten.
Do you think the ducks go like this?
Absolutely not to the point where we have to trade you.
No, that's my point.
So yeah.
So you think he's asking for 12 or more?
You think the 12 or more is the world where they're like, this is fucking crazy.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, if you're asking for that much money, and I'm not even saying he's wrong.
I mean, I kind of am saying he's wrong.
But I'm not even saying he's wrong.
I'm just saying if it's that much, I could see the ducks being like,
fuck off, dude.
This has gotten bad enough as far.
as I'm concerned, to the point where even if he resigns, it's just awkward.
Whatever statement he makes, if he resigns, I can't wait to be a part of the Anaheim
future.
I'm so happy to be here.
It's just so uncomfortable.
And this is a, I can't believe you've let this get to this point for everyone.
Don't you?
Ducks, I can't believe you have done this.
Trevor, I can't believe you have done this.
And now you are so close to the beginning of the year.
If it's a trade, it's also fucking weird because you have such little time to incorporate your...
To meet the fellas.
Wherever he goes, number one or number two center on the team.
It's like, okay, hurry up.
Yep.
You're playing in like one week.
Yep.
So it's crazy and I am frothing at the mouth for the next week here.
Same.
Because what I would be stunned by is if puck drop on night one of the NHL happens and Trevor Ziegress does not have a contract with a team.
I would be stunned by that.
Same, same, same, same.
So this has got to be coming soon.
Right?
Yeah, hell yeah.
I almost made a bad joke.
Yeah.
If it's it.
It was right there.
I want that joke.
It was right there.
I want it later.
Um, so it was, it's, it's really tricky.
You said it really well, Dan.
It's really tricky because if he comes out now and takes, his deal is eight, what Terry
get, eight by seven?
Yeah.
I think he went seven by seven.
Seven by seven.
Yeah.
If he comes out now and has seven by seven.
And he's like, I'm so happy.
I feel like we're all going to say, oh, you got spanked, you little bitch, because you
clearly you were asking for way more and then you took this.
And if he comes out and gets 10 or whatever, anything he gets.
gets at this point, I'm already starting to feel Matthewsy about him, where I'm like, oh, okay, Mr.
I want the team to win.
And now you're at her demanding blow the team up for you when you're 22.
What I thought, Chris, was we were going to get a krill or a Matthews deal.
I thought we were going to get the four years.
Yes, this is exactly.
Four by eight or something like that, which is tough because I think to the outside, it looks like a player going, I don't want to be here that long.
Mm-hmm.
Oh, yeah.
Or them going, I want to get money now,
and I also, in four years, when I've put up the four best years of my career,
and I'm still in my mid-20s, I want another bag.
Yep.
Either way.
You get two bags.
It looks...
If you get Michigan twice, you get two bags.
You get a bag per Michigan.
Yeah, and I think it's either way those deals look like you're serving the player more than the team,
and, you know, fuck off, dude.
Yeah.
Go get your money.
Yep.
But again, dude, this is.
is just, it's not
like this is an extension.
This is a contract.
Yeah.
Oh, Trevor Segris is unemployed, you know, by all intents and purposes.
And I can't believe he's not practicing with the team.
I can't believe he wasn't at Media Day.
I can't believe he hasn't done anything with his teammates or the organization.
You know, he's just sitting here waiting to get a deal made.
And if you're the ducks, dude,
you've got to imagine some of these guys you brought in like Coulorne where part of the deal was like I'm excited to play with Trevor Zegris.
He's on the cover of NHL two seasons ago.
He's an all-star two seasons ago.
All of a sudden now this kid might not be a part of your franchise.
And what do you get for him?
Because no one is going to offer sheet him, right?
I don't think so.
If you offer sheet this kid, I don't know what those terms are.
if you're looking at it, but what his current contract is?
No, no, because it's whatever the offer sheet comes under.
Yeah, I forget.
You're going to lose, for what number he wants.
Yep.
You're going to lose four first round picks.
It's obscene.
So there's no way someone's going to offer sheet him.
Because he didn't have a Sidney Crosby, year one.
He didn't have a Connor McDavid year one, or even year two, three.
So no one's going to offer sheet that for a 65 point guy last season.
Do I think Trevor is a top center in this NHL in his future?
Yes, I absolutely do.
I think Trevor Zegers is phenomenal and is only going to get better.
But I think we're looking at a situation where either he signs with the Ducks or they have to trade him right now.
And that trade is like big because, again, this isn't a, he's under contract.
You can hope to resign him next year.
This is a trade where you go, I'm trading for his rights and I'm going.
giving him a new contract.
And what's interesting of that is
the ducks will ask for a lot back,
but they can't ask for that much
because they're kind of fucked now.
Yeah.
That's why I think,
and that is obviously on the table,
but that's why I think the two,
if I'm the ducks,
I'm operating under,
it's either we work out this contract
or we work out a bridge.
Because I do think that would be easier
to come to terms on.
If you're like, hey dude,
two to four years,
at whatever, then we'll figure this out.
There's no trade you would accept?
Oh, there's trades I would accept, obviously,
but I just don't think you're going to get those.
What did he say the other day?
The kid has 67 points or something, career high.
And obviously, we both agree.
I think his ceiling is super high, and he's the man,
but I'm just like, chill out, dude.
I mean, he's had two back-to-back years of 60-plus points, I believe.
Yep.
And he's electric.
Oh, yeah.
He's playing on a terrible team.
He's putting asses in seats.
Like, put Trevor Zegris on a team with some legitimate wingers,
and trade Trevor Zegris to Atlanta,
restart a franchise with Just Him under contract, sells out immediately.
Dude, I just think there are trades out there.
But I'm saying if I'm the Ducks, though, I do not want to trade Trevor Zegris.
That is a bad look.
Okay, but what if Trevor Zegris is going like this?
I'm not signing here.
You have to trade them.
No, you don't have to.
No, but okay, that, and I would be surprised by what I'm about to say,
but that is a different conversation.
I'm operating under the assumption right now
that they can't come to terms on money
that they want X, he wants Y,
and let's see if we can find a Z.
But if it's like,
if he's going,
this is a losing franchise and I want out,
that's an entirely different conversation
and then yes, you need to get him gone immediately.
And you wonder if the conversation is,
we can't find common ground here,
I would like you to trade me.
Yeah.
The fact that you don't show belief in me
by offering me even close to what I want,
you don't show belief in me
and I don't want to be in this.
in this franchise. Not you're a losing franchise. No bad blood or
pettiness there. It's just a, hey, I believe in myself, and this is what I think I'm
worth, and you guys aren't even close to that. Yeah. So I can't play here,
trading. I'd be kind of shocked if they're not close, though. Dude, they're under 20
days from Puck Drop, and he's not resigned. Yeah, but it just, I would guess. And
wouldn't you be surprised, though? If what's happening, if what you just said is happening,
wouldn't you be surprised? They're kind of exciting. They got Terry, they got Mason. Like,
if I'm him, I'm like, this is cool. Pay me, but this is cool. Yeah, no doubt. And like,
Jamie Drozdale's great.
The Lauren joining is great.
But you've got Gibber who requested it.
I don't even know what his situation is, but he requested a trade.
And Leo Carlson is amazing pick.
My point is this.
If I'm Trevor Zegaris, and again, I am saying right now, I do not know that
Trevor Zegris is saying any of this.
I'm saying, if I'm Trevor Zegris, I am going, I am the face of this franchise.
And I am going to be a 100-point scorer in this league.
I think he has all of the tools to be that.
I think he will be that.
And from what we've heard, their offer on him as an RFA was, quote, insulting Lilo.
Yeah.
That's agent speak, though, dude.
Sure.
But look at what the situation is now.
We are under 15 days from the start of the season, and Zegrois has not done a single thing with the team.
This is clearly bad.
We are in a bad spot.
So if it's that bad, again, if it were me, I would feel a little bit like, fuck you.
I would feel like fuck you to this team.
Like, the ducks have never, or not never, sorry, the ducks, any popularity that the ducks have had in the past two, three years are a hundred percent because of him.
That's correct.
You know, you've got a duck's player on the cover of NHL.
That's big.
Dead last ducks.
That is him.
He's doing all of this media stuff with a smile and he's an incredible representation of your franchise.
And then you essentially say, fuck you to him.
I wonder if there's a situation where he's like,
I don't want to play here anymore.
Some other team is going to believe in me.
Yep.
So again, frothing at the mouth to see what happens to the next two weeks.
I think it's on.
Last piece of Howie's hot ice,
and then we can move on to our predictions.
We've just got to talk about the Logan Cooley goal in Melbourne.
Brian, why don't you start, dude?
Holy fuck.
We got a text from Brian, by the way.
I'd grab the ice pack because my jaw hit the fucking floor.
Dude, truly.
Like you might, you're a hockey guy because you might have lost teeth in that moment.
I was insane.
I was like, I was sitting on the toilet and I saw it and I was like literally jawed the floor and I immediately DM did straight to you guys.
I was like, this is fucking sickening.
You know when we get a text from Bri, something has crossed platforms.
Yes.
Like Brian's like, yo, dude, did you see this hockey thing?
Dude, that goal, we said Logan Cooley is a Calder Watch type of player.
him deciding to sign with the coyotes huge massive for my desert dogs
bro that goal was putrid
putrid it really was it looked like a goal that someone scores in NHL
when he spinnerramed past the defender and then in a phone booth
under the stick backhand forehand shot off goal like that would have been a sick
highlight if he didn't score yes and
And I like your NHL comp.
What I was going to say is it looked like a goal that...
Looked fake.
Well, the best prospect scores in juniors where you're like, oh, yeah.
Good luck doing that in the national buddy.
But that was sick.
And I'm glad I've seen your skill.
And, you know, it's pretty easy.
We were in Australia, but whatever.
I was like...
Well, I actually think that is so money because you know the national was stroking themselves.
Because you go to a massive, massive country luck Australia.
And you're going, we're trying to get into a new fan base here.
And then that goal gets scored.
Everyone Australia is like, yo, dude.
You know that there was.
some people in that
group of fans that was like,
what the fuck, dude? Is this hockey?
They've been doing this whole time? That was incredible,
dude. So,
it's out of the spin. By the way,
it's the speed out of the spin. Like, he
goes into it and then it's like, like,
he's just unraveling. Yeah. Yeah.
Such a subdued celly, too.
He screwed up and fist pumping
and was like, yeah. And I was like, no, no, no.
Sweet, I can hang in the in the in in in the
ride the pony around the rink right now,
dude. That was
absolutely ridiculous. In the words of Joe
Thornton, I'd have my cock out
and I'd be stroking it if I had done something
like that. If I'd score a goal like that,
I would whip my cock out and stroke it.
Unbelievable.
So, stick taps to Logan Coley
kid is going to be a
beauty and watching him with
Kells this season. Oh man.
Guys, can we talk about Howie's real quick?
Howie's hockey is the number one hockey tape and
accessory company in the world.
Are you a pro? Sweet. Are you a mite?
Sweet. Are you a beer leaguer? Sweet. They got the
laces, the pox, the tape, everything you
If your playing days are over, they got the apparel you need.
Scope this hat.
Are you kidding me?
They have the freshest gear.
We're all wearing it.
I'm wearing it.
D.P.'s wearing it.
You should be wearing it.
So go to their site and use promo code empty.
That's EMPTY for 20% off and to be automatically entered for a chance to win tickets to your favorite NHL team's home opener.
Now let's get into it.
Our Atlantic Division predictions.
This is hard.
This is the hardest.
Brian, you got to do our accounting.
downs again. This was easily the hardest for me. There is, this division is as good as it was last
year and in my opinion better because a lot of teams got a lot better. I, I borderline have no
idea. What I'm doing here. Yeah, we're shooting from the hip. I have no idea. A few might change.
I have everything that I want to say written down and a few things might change. I want to go on record
to and say this,
I don't stand by anything that I'm about to pick.
Yeah.
Don't throw these back in our face.
Yeah, my predictions are going to come out and they're going to be very wrong.
But like, I'm just, this is how I'm feeling.
It's also, and we'll probably get into this in a second, but for everyone at home,
this, it's so funny to me because I said it's damn before we recorded, I will go through
this division and say, oh my God, 100% five teams from the Atlantic are making it.
because both wild cards in the east are coming from the Atlantic.
Right on the heels of last episode
promising you the penguins are getting in in the four seed in the Met.
Like I am unhinged.
None of the math adds up.
Just fucking roll with it.
We're doing our best.
Yeah.
Are you ready, Dan?
Yeah, I am.
Again, I'm like, I also want to say to listeners here,
I don't have my eight set.
So I'm going on the fly here.
Last year, the Montreal Canadiens finished eighth in the Atlantic.
they went 31, 45, and 6 with 68 points.
Just FYI, they were the highest scoring 8 seed in any division last year.
Great.
As in points.
Yes.
Good squad.
Yes.
They finished 8th last year.
This year.
They will finish in, Brian.
Three, two, one.
Eighth.
It's probably the only thing we'll agree on this whole time.
I think that's correct.
And I'd like to say to Habs fans,
I don't think there should be a single piece of bad energy from all of you.
Don't shed it here over this.
Like, you will possibly finish eighth.
I also think there's a chance that we'll have the first eighth seed in the history of the NHL with a winning record.
Yeah.
That doesn't make sense, probably.
It doesn't.
You know what I mean?
This team, in my guess, is going to finish eighth and they're going to be the best eighth seed in the history.
I have said multiple times during these predictions.
Every team I dog, I think I dog the blues.
I dog maybe the yotes.
Yeah.
But I was like, you know what, though?
I think they're going to be a high scoring eighth seed.
I've been trying to massage it a little bit.
And I meant it for the most part.
But if you do my math, there's no bad teams next year.
But my point is, this one is the one I believe in the most of all the A team.
It's actually pretty good.
Hondo P.
Tough win.
One thing that's really brutal, the HAB's cap space is brutal.
Technically with like LTIR, they're over $6 million.
You know, like they have zero cap space.
And to be this low, that's tough.
That's going to change in the next couple of years, which is great.
key players
Cole Cawfield
Nick Suzuki
Kirby Doc
Josh Anderson
you
need defense
yep Montreal
you need defense
um
Carrie Price has retired
officially
but I believe that 10.5 mil
is still on the LTIR
and against the cap a bit
they really added
Alex Newhook and not much else
you got Jake Allen
and net
the habs to me
just have a lot of really great young players.
And I'm looking at Cole, Suzuki, and Doc as a like, I think those three are going to be so instrumental.
Honestly, I look at Suzuki and Cole as Taves and Kane.
Like, I think that they could be the next future, future, future.
Like, the two guys, they're both signed on majorly team-friendly deals.
They're both insane talents, such good personalities.
So again, sky's the limit for Montreal, but they just, with this division, they're in a bloodbath against the competition.
And I think they're going to finish eight.
I'm with you completely.
They are, and the reason I said, don't cry about this eighth seed is you're doing it correctly.
They are building with the draft.
They're building from a young core.
They have something really good cooking over there.
And they are so fine to chill on this.
They aren't going to make the playoffs for probably two more, three more years, maybe.
But they don't care.
They're on the way.
It's all good.
I bet more guys go this year.
Jake Allen could get traded.
Gallagher.
Even Anderson, dude.
There are some of these experience guys that I'm like, dismissed.
We're not making the playoffs.
Get more pieces.
Get more prospects.
Get more picks.
You are so fine.
The young core, talking to Kirby, is having so much fun.
Sometimes you get worried if you're, if you're creating a, if you're, if you're creating
a toxic toxicity
among your core
when you got there
when you just lose
losing is a disease
it's contagious as syphilis
as the plague
it is awful and you fear that
if you're bringing in these young guys and then
everything sucks and you suck
talk to Kirby Doc and tell me if they're having a bad time
dude it feels like a junior squad a bunch of kids
are out there ripping it up and they know the future's bright
they're waiting it's fine definitely so you are eight
but don't worry
you're going to be in cup contention
in three years.
Yes. Hold me to that one.
Don't hold me to the eight seat.
Hold me to that one.
Next up, we've got the Detroit Red Wings.
The Red Wings finished seventh last year.
They went 35, 37, and 10 for 80 points.
They were seventh last year.
This year, they will be...
Three, two, one.
Seventh.
That is lunacy, dude.
You have lost your damn mind.
What are you talking about?
I'm...
I'm out of control
Dude
Oh my God
You are an idiot
I agree
Here's let me go first
That you can fucking spew your nonsense
Put a Red Wings jersey on for this segment
You fucking morrow
I'm out of control
So
They brought in
To Brinkat
Love him
Huge talent
You know I love JT Comfort too
I think that's actually a great grab
They added some people
They lost some people
For me
there's no
this pick
and I feel like I said
this sentence a lot of times
doing these
this pick is a testament
to the other teams
in this division
much more than it is
that I think the Red Wings
stink.
I think the Red Wings
are also a really good team
I think Dylan Larkin
is that boy
and is going to have a
monster year,
you have the best year
of his career this year
correct
and I think the Red Wings
are going to be
a strong team,
a really good team.
I think their future
is really bright.
My,
I don't want to give way
a pick that I'm going to say
later,
looking at this team in Ottawa because both of them,
I have Buffalo in a tier above them in terms of potential.
They just looked so big.
But this team in Ottawa really felt like,
ooh, are they about to be Atlantic contenders?
And I have a lot of the same thoughts about their skill players.
And it's really Huso and Corpusallo for me.
That was kind of how I was making my decision on this one.
And I don't know, well, I don't know if either of them can win you a cup,
but Corpusallo I like a little bit more going into next year than who so.
So I have the wing seven.
What I was going to ask you, and I will still ask,
and you can just answer as you go
is if the wings finish seventh
is any part of you,
and I strongly disagree,
not to paint your answer,
but is any part of you
being like,
oh, Iser, it's not going,
the Azer plans hit its first speed bump
if they finish seventh again.
No.
Because I think hard no.
Because I think this is still a project
and there's still things
that need to happen here.
But,
I think they are bummed.
Remember last year you were like the kings technically had a worse season than last year,
but how do they feel?
And we agreed they feel better.
They're not bummed at all.
You feel better.
You're such a good team.
If Detroit finishes seventh this year, I think they're not panicking.
I think there will be some idiots on Twitter and some fans who were like,
fuck, dude, that was bad.
Like we finished seventh again.
I think they will feel that way and they'll feel bummed.
but there's no reason for panic.
Here's what I think.
Tell me why they're not going to be bummed at all.
They've got 5.1 million cap space
with the team that they have.
Very, very good.
They've got some contracts.
They've got to get going here.
But Dylan signed long term.
Totally with you.
Dylan is literally my favorite guy in the NHL.
No questions asked.
I think he's going to have a monster year.
I think Kat and Comfer are huge ads.
Huge.
I think J.T. Comfer is such an underrated player.
I think Kat is going to have the best year of his career.
He's signed long term.
He's very, very happy.
I think Lucas Raymond is going to have a big, big bounce back here from last year.
I think Mo Cider is only going to get better.
Chirot is phenomenal.
Shane Gostispeer is a big ad in an offensive capacity on the blue line.
I think Daniel Sprong is a big ad in the middle six, bottom six forward group.
I just see them making a play for a goalie.
Okay.
So that would change my equation a little bit.
Sure.
I think this team is going to get out to a hot start.
And I think they are going to be almost like the devils of last year where it's like, whoa, we are way better than we thought.
and these young guys and then these, you know, leader guys like Dylan are going to just pop off.
They're going to be healthy like they weren't last year.
And they're going to go, we are good enough to make the playoffs.
We should get a goalie.
And I think we're going to see guys like Gibson.
I think we're going to see guys like Hellebuck who, and I hate to even say it, maybe O'Mark,
who are in a position where they're a certified.
starting goaltender who is maybe not in a great spot and they're going to make a play
for one of those goalies and then go, we're legit now.
It will be interested.
That strategy is cool and enticing to me.
It is insane that I have picked them to finish for.
I cannot wait to see who is.
And I'm going insanity here.
I am going insanity here, but that's just what I think.
I like the theory.
It will be interesting to see, let's say they are, I guess four is pretty legit,
but even if they are, but if they're kind of four or five,
we might get one of those wildcard spots and a hellibuck becomes available personally if i'm
stevie y i'm i don't give up a ton just to get a hellibuck to try to like make this push
yeah because i'm like i got my i'm the plan is fine yeah everyone get off my ass personally i would
not do it yeah i hear that but i but i like the theory because if they do get a goalie it changes my
math you know and i think they're very legit and i don't think you have to give up that much for some
of these guys who might be available yep but but i but i but i don't think you have to give up that much for some of these guys
who might become available yep but i but i but i
I don't think Huso and Rimer is their tandem.
I don't think they're the guys.
Yeah.
I think Kane is a very serious possibility of joining this team.
And that, I mean, adding Patrick Kane to your top six wingers.
Do you think he would do that?
Yeah, he's like, that's one of the number one teams that's being talked about with him.
Last year, not enough scoring and they gave up too many goals.
237 goals for league average was 258.
and then goals against was 275.
So, like, they got a lot better.
Are they good enough?
I'm saying, I hope so.
Again, you're saying, yes.
You're saying, yes.
But I'm going chaos.
It's our last division.
I'm going chaos.
Okay, that'll be a fun one to watch.
That'll be a fun one to watch.
Okay.
Next, we've got the Ottawa Senators.
Yes.
Last year, they went 39.
I think I typed this wrong, but I think they went 39, 35, and 8 for 86 points.
They were 6th last year.
This year they will be...
Three, two, one.
Sixth.
Okay.
I'm sorry, Ottawa fans.
This one is also mental.
I think there's a big chance that Detroit and Ottawa are just flipped, completely flipped.
I think they're both on the same trajectory.
Me too.
It's crazy.
Like, I think they are so similar.
And I'm just, I'm putting my...
my chips in the Detroit cart
which I can live with
they
you lose to bring cat right
which is big obviously
yeah um
but I like bad blad on this team
I think that's solid ad
but he's worse than cat right
yes um
yes I think that's a big thing
I mean like
they
really have kind of swapped those two
oh Kubbalik
That's who came back.
Yeah, Kubolik.
Yeah.
I mean, he's a good player.
Yeah.
You get him back.
You add bad Vlad.
I don't know that you,
you certainly didn't add
Debrincat as a one thing.
It's like a one entity,
one for one.
But I think you might have added.
But you look at it in the lineup.
Like it's a top six winger
in and out.
And Vlad is the replacement
for De Brinkit.
No doubt about it.
Yep.
But does your team,
it's like fucking Joan Hale and Moneyball,
like runs.
All that matters is runs.
Like does the team score?
Yes, my top six winger
doesn't score as many goals
as the one that went out.
but did my team acquire as many goals as went out?
And I think maybe yes.
Maybe.
Yep.
And then I think Corpusolo is good, is a good goalie.
I think he's maybe not in the playoffs, but I think he's a good goalie.
He was great for the Kings, except in a couple of those playoff games, but he was great for the Kings.
I guess he kind of lost steam, but I get really hot.
That was a big thing for me.
I was going to say, I don't think he was great for the Kings, and I think the Kings not extending him on offer shows that he wasn't great.
But I think it's an improvement for Ottawa, is what I'm saying.
I think they got better and a full season with.
Chichrin, I think, is a big deal.
Okay. Full season with Chikrin.
So, 120,000 in Capspace, so they're right up against it.
But whole team taking team-friendly deals.
Yeah.
No one is over 8.35, I believe, and that's Timmy, which is Stittzel, which is great.
Key players, Stutzel, Brady, Claude, Vlad, Baltherson, Chibro, Jake Sanderson, and
Zub.
Yep.
Very good.
They've got three pretty solid defensemen.
That's a good team, dude.
They're very offensive on defense, which is not great when you have a okay goalie.
That is a big thing for me.
Corpie signs a five-year deal.
I like the deal.
I like the money he's getting.
I don't think Corpie is a – I certainly don't think he's a cup-winning goaltender.
I don't either.
And that's tough, but I don't think that's what Ottawa needs right now.
I think they're trying to get into the playoffs.
Is Corpia a playoff goaltender?
Maybe.
Yeah.
Maybe.
I don't think they're making the playoffs either, but I'm just saying I,
I think he could...
Losing cat is tough.
Here's something that I found interesting about this team.
Last year, 270 goals against.
That's 12 over the league average.
259 goals four.
That's one over the league average.
So they...
I think they'll keep more pucks out this year.
That's what you hope.
Yeah.
But is Corpusallo and your very offensive-minded defensive core
keeping more goals out?
I don't know.
we said did you replace the goals you lost in Kat?
The answer is probably yes.
But looking at this, it's like you need to, you need that.
And then you need to give up less goals.
This was something I found interesting about this team that they need to work on.
Last year, and this includes De Brinket,
Stutzel, Brady Kachuk, Batherson, De Brinket, Sanderson, and Chibaut were all in the minus column.
Yeah.
For a team that had over 500 record.
that is unacceptable.
Yes, it is.
And Batherson was a minus 35,
and Brady Kachuk was a minus 10.
You two, Brady Kachuk being a dash 10 on the season,
and I know there are a lot of fans and listeners
that don't care about plus minus,
start caring about plus minus.
It's very fucking important.
And Brady Kachuk being one of the best players in the league
and being a walking dash is unacceptable.
So for me, there is a,
a lot to fix on the
Ottawa Senators roster in terms of the goals
that you were letting in. And I don't
think with Corpie
and the
big extension for Sanderson,
your defense is
this much better. I think
it is, and that seems like something
that is fixable to me, or
at least you think it's very addressable, right?
They must be talking to Brady like, hey, bud,
no more dash 10 years. And
if he cleans that up, if he's an even,
then they're kind of
going to do what I'm saying.
Yeah.
So like, if you're asking me, dude, or if you're saying CP, your prediction hinges on Brady
Kachuk cleaning up his shit a little bit.
I'm like, I'll take that bet.
Like, I will happily live and die on Brady Kachuk, cleaning up his shit a little bit.
But a testament to how competitive Atlantic is, I'm talking, I'm stroking off the senators
and I got them six nowhere near the playoffs.
So, well, not nowhere near.
I think they're all going to be jammed up really tough.
Oh, my God.
They out, according to me.
Every single Atlantic Division matchup game this season is going to be so fucking fun.
Yeah.
Okay.
Here we go.
I didn't even want to fucking do this one.
Next up is the Buffalo Sabres.
Okay.
Last year they were fifth in the Atlantic.
They went 42, 33, and 7 with 91 points.
They missed the playoffs by one point.
They were fifth last year.
We were so close, dude.
One point.
This year, they will be.
Three, two, one.
Two.
Two.
Go!
Let's go!
SABER.
I thought there was a chance.
The wagon rolls on straight into the playoffs with a second place in the Atlantic finish this year.
Hey, I got them an automatic bid too, and I thought I was going to be the one reaching,
and you went, I thought I was Christina Ricci.
No, dude.
And you're fucking two?
I'm getting handsy.
Oh, my God, man.
State your case.
I'll state it right now.
The Buffalo Sabers missed the playoffs by one point last year.
What was their big issue?
They gave up a lot of goals.
Give it a lot of goals.
I said it before, I'll say it again.
I believe in Harvey Dent.
And I believe in Devon Levy.
I think the Jedi Master is a legitimate Stanley Cup playoff.
Goaltender.
I really, really love the tandem of him in Ukopeca-Lukinen.
I think he, I think U.P.L.
is going to be big.
And they've got
Comrie, too. Don't forget them.
Yeah, yeah. Well.
But I think they need to lean on Levi and UPL.
And I think those two are going to
fully tandem the season as they should.
Levi's 21. You don't need to be like this.
Here's 54 games, dude.
Yeah, like...
Nor will be.
No. And I'm so pumped about that.
They've got 8.7 million cap space.
That's so much.
Key players in Tage, Rasmus, Tuck, Skinner,
power, cousins,
Olifson,
Middle Statt,
Matthias Samison.
They've got
Young Guns
and Maddie Savoy
and Zach Benson,
who I think
are going to get
some legitimate time
this season.
I, also,
Peyton Krebs is a
young guy on the
roster who's going to
be amazing.
I think with the
cap space that
they have,
and they've got a
great prospect pool.
They have
officially entered
a place where they
can give up picks
to get better.
And Levi
being as good
as I
think he is, is the greatest gift this team could have ever gotten.
It's incredible.
Because they were staring down the barrel of, okay, we need to give up one of our great
prospects, a first round pick, and we need to go get John Gibson.
We need to go get Connor Hellebock.
You now have Levi, and you have this 8.7, dude, if they go scoop and they're going
to be a playoff team.
Oh, yeah.
Coming to the deadline.
Oh, yeah.
they can afford and fit a certified top D man.
And dude, if you add a like shut down guy to this core of Samuelson, Rasmus, and Owen Power,
bro, the sabers are fighting for a cup very soon.
I think, like I said, they are done fucking around.
They're not the young boys.
They're not the young scrappers who are making some noise, dude.
missing the playoffs by one point.
That shit's over.
This team is here.
They are legit.
Levi and UPL are ready to fucking shut the door.
And that is the big thing, man.
I've been giving you my goals for or goals against.
The Buffalo Sabres, who had a winning record and missed the playoffs by one point.
Again, the league averages are 258.
They had 293 goals for, well above average.
Like fourth most in the league, I think.
And 297 goals against.
It's humiliating.
Awful.
Their power play,
23%.
Fantastic.
Their PK's 73%.
Humiliating.
Humiliating.
So, Buffalo,
we're going to close that door this year, dude.
We're going to close that door,
and we are going to waltz into the playoffs.
And I cannot fucking wait.
Second place, finish.
The fucking craziest part about all of this is that I can,
I agree.
Yeah.
I almost even said two, dude.
Like, I almost fucking, I had two earlier today.
And I switched it to three.
You said something, all the players you said, I don't even need to repeat it.
Like, they're amazing.
They have incredible guys.
They've got cast base.
It might be Cain.
It might be a D man.
Devin Levi is the exact reason they didn't go get someone.
We had talked so much at the end of last year.
God, Buffalo, get a goalie.
Finish strong here.
They didn't do it because they knew they had this and there was no need to blow anything up.
vibes highest in the league
highest in the league by the
the city loves them they love the city
all they want to do is get into the playoffs for their fans
it's incredible what they've got brewing there
the
the reason I flip them back to third
and we'll get to another team in a second is
I can't quite tell
there's just a chance for a little
bit of growing pain still like they just had a massive
gross spur and their fucking bones hurt you know
Levi I'm like I think he's going to be sick but he might
adjust you know it's a lot of games
in the national you know like he might
Eyeballs on them too, right?
Yeah.
They're like, you're the starting goalie.
Yep.
So that's the only reason I went third.
And you brought up a team earlier,
and I'd like to bring them up now
because I think it's the better comp for this one.
The sabers feel like the devils to me last year.
Where you're like, devil's would be pretty good.
Boom, we're like a point off of the best team.
The only reason I disagree with that is because I don't,
the devils came out of nowhere last year.
Yeah.
The sabers being good this year will not be coming out of nowhere.
Everyone is going to be like this.
Oh, fuck.
So I would say it's less, your devil's comp,
which was what, Ottawa?
or Detroit, your devil's comp about Detroit is better preseason.
I think my devil's comp about the Sabres is good in terms of
we're going to look up and be like, are they a two seed?
I really think they are going to finish.
If it's not, I have them three, but if it's going to be a point away
from two or three, and I will, slight spoiler for the app,
the team I have won in the Atlantic.
I don't want to hear. Don't even say it. I'm just saying the team I have one,
I believe, is going to be won by a mile.
Wow.
So I think two and three and four are going to be,
pretty jammed out. Okay. Yeah. And we're going to be right, or at least I am, going to be
riding hot on Buffalo this year. So like, I'm, I'm excited. We talk about our bet MGM deal.
I'm going to be, our weekly picks, dude, I'm going to be hammering Buffalo.
Page, page, tape. Here we go, dude. Uh, really exciting city coming, or a season coming up in
northern New York. Holy hell. Hockey fans, the NHL season is right around the corner. And that means
there is one obvious thing to do, and that's download the bet MGM up. That's right. We have teamed up with
bet MGM this season and the Netters
boys are going to give you all of the best
picks all season long. We got our eyes
on a ton of stuff. We're going to be watching our boy
Jack Eichel, our bore Tyler Toffoli. We got
all of the plus minuses. We've got
all of the over-unders, everything that you could
possibly want this season. And the best news is
when you download that app and use promo
code Netters 200,
BetMGM is giving you 200
bucks to bet with after you make your first
$10 bet and deposit.
That is the easiest thing
you could ever hear. We got all of
these things going on with the NHL season coming up.
So again, put in Netters 200 after you download the BetMGM app and get it on the action with
us.
Let's get it.
Gambling.
In Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, Nevada,
Nevada, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming.
Call 8778 Hope and Rye, or text Hope and Lye, 467-369.
In New York, call 1-800-327-50-200-200-200-200-200-place-20-Basket.
21-1-1-200-Bets-off.
Call 100 next step in Arizona.
1-800 bets off in Iowa
1-800-7-117 for confidential help in Michigan
1801-0-0-0-3 in Puerto Rico
in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel
Visit bet-enginean.com for terms of conditions.
U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., New York or Ontario.
Okay, next is the Florida Panthers.
Unfortunately, they snuck into the playoffs last year
by a point it ruined my life
because they were fourth in the Atlantic.
They went 42, 32, and 8 for 92 points.
They were fourth last year.
This year they will be
three, two, one.
Two.
Sixth.
You're a sick man.
Dude.
I told you I'm on demon time in this division.
Dude, you are a buffoon.
Catlantic, dude, more like kitten lannic.
More like, more like cat.
Catastrophic.
More like catastrophic.
Let me take that again.
Catlantic.
More like catastrophic.
Boom!
That was a sick joke.
That's a burn you can't come back from.
And I got it on the first try.
Here's, can I tell you why, because you're definitely going second on this one.
Can I tell you why I almost had Buffalo 2?
This was the one, right?
Like this was my 2-3.
Sure.
Because I'm pretty sure Spencer night.
It's the goalie questions.
I just told you the Levi I think is going to be nasty, but is he have some learning curve.
Bob was extremely mediocre.
basically all year.
They hit their stride at the very end of the year,
and then he was electric in the playoffs,
which was awesome to see.
And I'm happy for him, truly.
Like that, he is a cool dude,
great goalie, and I was happy to see him
touch the sun like that again.
Am I going to get that again?
I don't know.
Spencer Knight is going to be back
from the player assistance program,
we think.
I've always said...
And hope,
and I hope.
God, I'm rooting for him.
I've always said he was the guy on that team.
I thought he was going to take Bob.
I fucking said he was going to win 30 games last year.
Yeah, yeah.
I thought he was going to take Bob's job then.
So if he comes back,
and you've got Bob playing better and Spencer Knight
doing what I believe he's capable of
I'm like oh my God dude you have one of the best
tammes in the league
they are I think
Montor and Eckblatt are hurt
I'm pretty sure to start the year
so there's going to be some injuries
I really think we were goofing around
with Yandel the other day talking about
how good he thinks they're going to be
and I forget why we talked to me and you were talking about this
for some reason but I think they're going to have a really slow start
again I don't think it's going to last as long
but I don't think the Panthers are going to be a wire to wire
first, well, they're not going to be first place, but I don't think they're going to be
wire to wire. I think they're kind of a slow start. That slow start made me want to put them
three. Yeah. And I just couldn't quite bring myself to fucking put the Buffalo Sabres too, which I probably
should have done. So I've got cats too, but I think it's going to be a barn burner Sabers cats
down the stretch here for this battle. Um, they just have too much high end talent. Barcoff,
Maddie T, uh, Verhegey, these guys, they are going to score and they score. I'm sure you have
your goals for it and I can't wait to hear it because I'm pretty sure they were like second.
in the league goals for. This team is going to
pump in goals again, and if they get
the goal we play, even with a slow start.
Yeah. I think they're good.
No cap space. Yep. Don't need it.
Yep. Key players. Barkov,
Kachuk, Ryanert, Bennett, Verhege, Montor,
Ekblad, Foresling, young guy
Lundell, lost both stalls
and Goudis, added
OEL and Evan Rodriguez.
Sweet. Feel like
on paper they're kind of in the same
spot. Which is good. Which is very good.
Yeah. Before I even get into
the goalie thing.
I feel like they were pretty bleh last year.
They got so hot to end the year.
And that's where a lot of those goals for came from.
They know about that.
What do you mean?
They were so lame and pathetic.
The goals four specifically,
and I think they were scoring the whole time.
But they were out of playoffs.
They were out of playoffs for so long.
And Buffalo was scoring the whole time.
Okay, fair.
Either way, they were whatever,
playing pretty shitty hockey
got in and then had one of the coolest
most fun runs in recent memory
in the Stanley Cup playoffs
they're banged up
that's going to be a tough start
I think there's definitely going to be a
Molly come down here of like
that was the most fun run ever
and
never heard of it what is what are we doing now
I think
they are
they had a lot
of career seasons last year
a lot.
Like five or six guys
had career best years last year.
Who, of them, you don't have to name all of them,
but of them, tell me who you don't believe in
moving forward.
I'm not saying I don't believe in any of them.
I'm saying it is logical to assume
that there will be some regression from certain guys.
Fucking love regression to the mean.
Isn't that?
Favorite word to throw around in sports discussions.
It's the best.
You sound smart as shit.
Yes.
Because also prove me wrong, dude.
Spot the lie.
Yeah.
Everyone regresses to the mean.
I think you have to imagine there will be some regressing to the mean.
Yep.
And, yes, Spencer Knight, rooting for you so hard, but we'll see when Spencer comes back.
If he does come back, hopefully, I think Golly Bob emptied the tank last year.
I don't hate that.
He's 35 years old.
He was losing 20 pounds in each one of these fucking games.
And I think he was kind of shit all year.
Then he got into the playoffs and went nuclear.
And he went like this.
Truly, dude, I think he went, this is my last chance.
And I think he emptied the tank and they ran it to Vegas.
So I think if you're relying on goalie Bob, I don't think that this team is going to be able to handle it.
And I just, I don't know, dude, like they've got unbelievable talent.
I think they have, I mean, they have two top 15 players in the NHL in Kach and Barkov.
Eckblad is so fucking banged up, dude.
He's been so banged up his whole life.
I know. Montor starting this year,
banged up is such a bummer after having the best year of his career.
I just wonder if the regression is going to be too much in this brutal, brutal division,
and we see them unfortunately finished six.
It could be, and I honestly don't really,
I don't disagree with a lot of your stuff.
And the goalie bob thing, I kind of, and this might be a knocked goalie bob,
so all the Bob stands go be gentle but he strikes me at this point because I agree with how you just described his state of being
in that Corpusallo bucket that I'm like I don't know that he can ever get you to a cup again but I do think he can get you 82 game regular season splitting the load with somebody a pretty good goalie play so that's why I'm like I still think they're a threat yeah and will be relevant um six on free fall they will be talking about
being bummed out. If they, if they missed the playoffs by a mile.
Again, I don't think it'll be a mile. Yeah, fair. You know, I think it'll be a couple of points.
Next up was the Tampa Bay Lightning. They finished third in the Atlantic last year.
They went 4630 and 6 with 98 points. Third last year. This year, they will be...
Three, two, one. Fourth. Wow. And it all comes back to stammer for me.
And, dude, I... There's a good... The reason...
part of the reason I had Buffalo and Cats over them this year is that is those developments as well.
Yeah.
So take it away.
Tampa, zero cap space.
Best players.
Cooch, point, stammer, headman, Hagle, Sergachev, Sorrelli, Sernak, Vassie.
Nasty.
Nasty.
They lost Kallorn and they added Conor Shiri, Tyler Mott, you know, like not a ton of going, ton of stuff going on here.
Tampa still has one of the best cores going.
in Stammer, Cooch,
Edmund, Hegel, Surgachev,
and as long as Vassi is in net, you got a chance.
I think a lot of this for me hinges on
if the Stammer thing is a issue
all year here, then I'm worried about your team.
I think that that is like bad vibes.
They lost some depth.
We always talk about that with Tampa,
where they just had that depth, you know,
because you said killer, they lost Colton,
friend of the program.
They lost,
Corey Perry, they lost
Pat Maroon, you know,
because some of these guys are just like,
oh, dude, that,
that mattered.
Stammer situation, nightmare.
Nightmare, nightmare.
I hate it.
I'm appalled for it.
I don't particularly like the bolts,
and I,
if they're going to be bad,
because they fucked over Stephen Samco's,
then you deserve it.
But I just hate it as a hockey fan.
He's a legend,
and I want him to be happy.
And if he wants to be there,
they should let him be there.
The number one reason,
I have them in the playoff still
is Vasilleschi.
He is...
And for the first time in a long time
he got a little rest.
Like they just were in the cup
over.
Fuck, that's so true. Over, dude. And he was missing
so tired. And it literally looked like
he just ran out of gas against that
bolt. Like, they should have beat the least. We were watching those
series. And I'm like, how are they losing these games?
And there were no glaringly bad goals, but it looked
like him and the whole team were just so
goddamn tired. And now
they took their first round exit and they went
and got themselves some R&R, dude.
And I think Vassie can steal enough games on his own to get you a four seed.
And the Ross you just listed is still sick, by the way.
That's still a very good team.
And I just think arrested Vassie is the difference.
Because, you know, we know who's left.
And there's a team that I love very much that is in a tough spot.
And Vassie felt like the difference and was a little too scary.
He's a little rest.
You got some rest.
Yes.
He did.
And I don't think I considered that.
Yeah.
I think I was, I think I was too focused here on the stammer situation.
They're getting a little bit older.
Yes, they are.
Like, that's something that kind of needs to be acknowledged.
But then again, it's so amazing that they have point who's so good.
And then like, Hegel signs that big extension.
And Hegel has such a good year last year.
And I'm like, fuck, is Hegel amazing too?
Yeah, yeah.
I think there's just part of me that really is excited about this new regime in the Atlantic.
and the possibilities of some of these other teams really leapfrogging.
And I just think Tampa had this insane run.
And there's a chance they get caught in the crosswinds here of these new teams being so good and having so much momentum.
The stammer situation, you know, what does scare me a little bit about them is, obviously, you never want this or root for this.
A couple of key injuries, and they're in a ton of trouble.
Yes.
And absolutely correct.
And so, yeah, again, I'm on record.
I'm going full mayhem with my predictions here,
but I could just see, I mean,
then finishing third last year,
again, it was third behind the record-breaking Bruins
and then the wagon maple leaves.
And that's kind of what I'm thinking.
I'm thinking it's like there's just going to be
another year of insane teams
and you finish fifth with like, you know,
a shit ton of wins.
And I think I'm kind of thinking
these bolts still know how to win though,
this disk nucleus.
And as much as I want Buffalo to know,
I'm not sure they know yet.
You know, and I think they're going to win a lot of hockey games.
They just like, there might, when it starts to pinch, when it starts to get down to it,
Tamma might be like, yo, we've been here.
Much like my Detroit goalie prediction, this one for me is a big stammer prediction.
If stammer is unsigned all year, I could just see like bad vibes.
Yep.
Okay, next, we go to the wagon Toronto Maple Leafs.
Yes.
They finished second last year.
They went 50, 21, and 11 for 111 points.
They were second last year.
This year they will be
Three, two, one
First
I am on the Leafs
Train this year, dude
I don't even know when it happened
I woke up one morning and I had a leaf boner
Kills me to do it
It's not going down
Kills me to do it
Call your doctor
I think that they are
A problem
And I think
More than ever
In this era of the Maple Leafs
And the Austin Matthews era
They got a lot better
This summer
I love their moves
and it was funny
day one of free agency
I was like I called them losers
I was making I did the
I better win this year boys
when they signed Matthews
but now I'm like
oh they are going to win this year
I was like day one of free agency
this summer I called them losers
because they didn't do anything
and then day two
they did a lot
but Toronto
zero cap space
another one of those
don't need it
another one of those funny
technicalities
they're like 12 million over
with all their LTIR
and all that shit
key players Matthews
Marner
Marner
Johnny Toadrags
Morgan Riley
Willie Nealander
Bertuzi
Maddie Nye's
Sleeper Calder guy
The fact that they've got
Maddie Nise
is like
How the fuck do you guys
have this kid
Unbelievable player
Key ads are
Klingberg
Tyler Bertuzi
Max Domi and Revo
Revo is a big
That's a good guy
to have on that team
Key losses
Shen O'Reilly
Kerfoot
Bunting Achari
Yep
Their big ads
last year at the
deadline are all gone
They also lost bunting.
You lose some middle bottom six help there.
You've got Matt Murray on LTIR, so really your goalie here is Samsonov.
He was fine.
26 years old, he could continue to get better.
I love his attitude.
He's a very no-fucks-given type of guy.
And I think to be the goaltender in Toronto, that's good.
So I actually like that, but I also don't think anyone's kidding themselves in Toronto being like,
We've got an elite goaltender here on our hands.
That is where it all comes down to for me.
Are you guys, you know, 278 goals for, 220 against?
Very good.
Good.
Goals against.
26% power play, 81% penalty kill.
Very good.
Like, the Maple Leafs were insane last year.
Any other year, they probably win the Atlantic if the Bruins didn't go into a coma.
Yeah.
Of insane play.
It's, to me, it's all about, like, Bertuzzi.
Burtuzi Domi, and in his role, Rievo, Bertuzi and Domi as like top six middle six guys
with the, with the bite that they have is such a frightening compliment.
Oh my God, dude.
To Matthews, Marner and Nealander to me.
And I'm like, fuck.
And a big thing, Bunting had a bit of a bad year last year, weird vibes.
He's on Carolina now.
Good for you.
The big thing with Trump.
right is their top four like their their big four guys scored literally all of their fucking points
and that's why they lose in the playoffs every year this year they've still got that exact same top
four and now they've got bert and they've got domi and i just get a little and nice by the way
yes dude and i get a little frightened that i'm like oh my god their top four or their big four
don't have to carry as much anymore like you look at bert in boston he was the best player on the
team in that first round against the Panthers.
And all of a sudden, this guy's on Toronto,
holy fuck. I was just about to say that.
Watching Burt play playoffs last year,
if you are a least fan, you are salivating
to add that into the mixer.
And Maddie Nyes, isn't even a sleeper.
Well, actually, he is sleeper, and
hey, you want a fucking value
bet. Go on betmgm.com
right now, and
Maddie Nise is like plus $2,500
to win the Calder. Now, is it probably
going to be badarded or fantilly? Probably, but I'm just
saying, holy shit, if that kid gets
80 points, they're going to give it to us.
And this Toronto team could do what Edmonton did last year, which is just pump points up
and down that lineup.
It's going to be insane.
We talked about it the other day, Bunting, when he almost won rookie of the year over
Sider.
And it's like, it's because he's playing with fucking Matthews or Tavares.
Like, Maddie Nyes is going to be playing with Matthews or Tavarez.
Yep.
So he's going to score a lot of fucking points.
It's crazy, dude.
So if I'm, oh, and I want to say this too, I like what you said about Samsonoff.
they also have that kid Joseph Wohl.
Yep.
Is it a wall or wall?
I think it's a wall.
I think it is wall.
Yeah.
Wall.
He looked good.
And super short, quick look at him.
He looked good.
And they signed or signed Mark Jones,
but he's not going to make the team if he's already even still on something.
And Matt Murray is on the team and injured.
And he's only 29.
Yeah, but I think it's Wall on Samsonoff is what's they're going to be doing.
And if Wall's good, because he looked good, then you've got a pretty good tandem.
Like, you've got a pretty good tandem to do some damage.
The Leafs one.
50 games for the first time
in a really long
time. I forget when, but they won 50
games for the first time, like two years ago
and they did it again last year. I think they are
going to easily, easily clean 50 this year.
I think they're going to win the Atlantic comfortably.
And I'm expecting massive
fucking years from these guys again.
We talked about regression to the mean.
I'm not seeing it here. And in fact, Austin
Matthews regression to the mean means going up.
I think he's going to have a, like, I think he was at a down
year last year. And you were expecting better things.
are Matthews. He's over 50,
barring with good health. He's over 50 again.
The one interesting thing I
think that could happen, and I saw
this somewhere that was just a good tidbit,
Dubis out, tree living in.
He
was the in charge of Calgary
when Johnny Goodrow walked for free.
And Nealander
is up this year.
And an interesting tidbit
could be, if you have tons of
firepower on that team and maybe need
a big ticket D-man, you do.
you could trade Nealander.
Yeah.
Because you're like, I cannot let him walk for free.
I'm not, I just lived this life.
I'm not letting it happen again.
I could trade Nealander, big ticket D.
And now you're like this.
Raise the cop, dude.
And for me, that is one.
It's been funny watching Nealander's camp be like, we're excited to figure something out.
Yeah.
And it bums me out because I think there's a big world where Nealander's like, I fucking
love playing with these guys.
I love being in Toronto.
But I just don't see how this possibly works.
And they've fucked themselves, dude.
We talk about, sure, the cap's going up.
but all these teams who are taking team friendly deals to make it work,
they've got four guys making well over $10 million.
Three, right?
Oh, yeah, three.
Sorry, sorry.
But they're the only team in the league with three.
Yeah, it's Matthews, Marger, and Todrax are making well over 10.
And Nealander's making like 7, 8 right now.
And he wants 10.
He wants 10, and he deserves 10.
He had fucking 86 points or something last year.
And he's young.
So I just don't see any planet where he is.
still on the team to the point where I'm like, trade them now.
Trade him now and get a great defenseman back because that's where you need help.
No question about it.
And you can, and deadline's fine too.
I don't know if you disagree with that.
But if you guys roll out and you guys are in first place because you're killing it and you look
it across your lineup and you're like, we have five guys with 100 points.
Like we don't need to score more.
But that is crazy, right?
Like it feels crazy to get to the deadline.
And like if Neeland are sitting there with 70 points at the deadline and you're like,
or more.
And you're like, you're traded.
Yeah.
It just feels like a crazy move because Nealander is going to...
Just crazy enough to work.
Yeah, true.
True.
But Nealander's going to be a top six.
I certified top six guy who's contributing like a crazy amount.
And fuck, man.
Like moving him just feels so insane.
But end of the day, dude, I just think, like I think Matthews is going to come out with a vengeance this year.
I think Marner's only going to get better.
I think Nise is going to be insane.
I think this team is just going to be.
the powerhouse in this division, but I will say this.
I don't think that means anything for playoffs.
You don't.
Dude, come on.
All the guys, the guy added grit.
I don't think it means.
They added playoff grit.
Anything for playoffs.
Come on, dude.
Leaf boner.
Come on.
I have a leaf boner.
But I just, I am curious, dude.
I'm curious if the bugaboo is too much.
Because, yep, you got out of the first round, but then you promptly got swept like a gentleman.
And yikes.
I think Matthew's dude is he's got his ticket.
Like it or not, he got his ticket and he's like this.
Oh, here we go.
Like no pressure, I mean pressure, but like no worry about what I'm doing.
Like I'm here.
Yeah, but he already had a ticket.
Like I don't think that changes his mentality at all.
And I think Austin wants it.
I think he wants to win.
I think everyone who's like, you know, that's the narrative.
It's like the boys don't care enough.
Yeah.
But he's my heart pick, by the way.
Oh, I love that.
I think he's just going to have, I think he's going to score 60 again.
I love.
of that.
They're going to be the one seed and he's my heart pick.
Leifes, you guys are a machine.
Guys, do you like slide sandals?
Then we've got to talk about I-slide.
They've got everything.
They've got NHL teams.
They got colleges.
They got other pro leagues.
And especially they got the empty netters collection.
So if you're coaching peewees, if you're playing beer league, if you're playing any level
and you like feeling comfortable in the locker room at home, get yourself some eye slides.
They are comfortable as hell.
They slide right on.
It's amazing.
Go to iSlide.
and use promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S for 20% off.
You will not regret it.
All right. Last one.
Last but not least, our beloved Boston Bruins.
I think I'm surprised that we're the same here.
I don't think we are.
Oh yeah, I don't think we are either.
They finished 65, they went 65, 12, and 5.
They lost 12 times, dude.
It's so insane.
65, 12, and 5 for 135 points.
They won 65 regular season games.
Is that what you're telling me?
Yeah.
Can you believe that?
No.
Jesus.
Last year they finished first.
This year they will be...
Three, two, one.
Third.
I think third, dude.
Do you want me to start here?
Yeah, because I need to defend myself.
Okay.
Interesting situation, this team for me.
Yes.
Because talk about regress to the mean.
There is literally only space to...
go down for Boston.
Now, there's part of me
that's like, I wonder if that feels
good. I wonder if the boys are being
like... It definitely does. There's
no expectations. They are counted out.
Because it is impossible
to be better than we were last year. So,
let's see what happens. Obviously
the headlines of the Bruins is everyone they lost.
Bergeron retires,
Crature retires. You also
lost Bertuzi.
You lost Dimitriorlov. You lost
Garnet Hathaway. You lost Connor Clifton.
you lost Thomas Nosec.
Nick Falino.
Nick Falino as well.
Yep.
Yep.
I was going to say, you lost Nick Falino, you lost Taylor Hall in the Chicago trade.
Like, oh my God.
You've lost so many people.
However, Boston, neatly under the cap, 425K, key players, Brad Marchan, David Postchnack, Charlie McAvoy, Hampas Lindholm, Jake Debruss, Pavloss,
Pavell Zock, Jeremy Swamen, Linus Olmark.
still very, very good players on this team.
An incredible tighter, but incredible tight core.
Yes.
All pretty team-friendly deals.
Highest contract is Pasta's 10.5.
The big thing that was eye-opening to me here,
the Bruins still have the best goalie tandem in the NHL
and a very, very good defensive core.
301 goals for last year
174 goals
that is fucking preposterous
22% power play
87% penalty kill
now those things are going to get word rest
however
when you look at
what they lost on the back end
it's not that much
they added Orlov at the deadline
now you lost the best defensive center
in the history of the NHL
That's huge.
But you still have Charlie Coil.
He's amazing at that.
You just added Morgan Geeky, who's a very good middle six, bottom six center.
You added Bobquist.
You added JVR, Kevin Chattonkirk, Lucchich, Patrick Brown, all on insane team-friendly deals for one year.
Like they've patched the holes.
They're not patched with vibranium, but they're also not patched with saran rack.
What's that guy who like slap shit onto leaking canoes?
You know, he's on the ads.
I know who you're talking about, but I don't know his name.
I'm thinking like Billy Mays.
Oh, is that?
The Billy Mays knockoff.
Oh, he's not, that's not Billy Mays?
Well, Billy Mays might have done it back in the day.
I think he might have done it.
Anyway, the Bruins are worse.
Definitely.
But I actually, looking at the team, I was like, fuck, dude, you're still great on the back end.
They've got for the first time, and I can't remember how long,
some actual kind of exciting prospects that might crack the lineup here.
We want to play.
Yeah.
And yeah, I just, I think they're going to finish a comfortable third, fourth, maybe, and sneak into the playoffs.
I don't think it's going to be a great playoff run, but like, I think the team is still very good.
And dude, they're key players, like Brad Marchand is healthy.
Yeah.
And is still a weapon.
I think pasta is a top 10, easy player in the league.
Charlie McVoy is a top three or four defensemen in the league.
Hampus Lindholm is an insanely good defenseman in this league.
Omerk and Swamen are two of the best goalies in the league.
It's just like the team is better than a lot of Bruins fans think.
Your best argument is that coming into last season, everyone had the Bruins, including us, as a wildcard team.
And they won 65 games.
There is a great coach there.
There is a great culture there.
There are great leaders still on that team.
For those reasons, I look at this team right now and I go, this is a borderline wildcard team.
and maybe they're like, no, dude, we're pretty sick.
So for those reasons, I like the take.
Yeah.
That they're like, dude, Boston's still pretty good, idiots.
I can't believe you all wrote them off.
I love the no pressure thing.
That's fantastic.
The, some of the, like, Tampa is a great example of one that I'm like,
I can't believe you have them over Tampa though because of the vassie stuff.
And like Tampa feels like they have just as good leadership core and like an incredible goalie.
So I'm like, ah, man, it's tricky.
But the Bruins have incredible goleys.
I don't believe under any.
circumstances, O'Marke is going to even come close to touching what he did last year.
And I fucking hope I'm wrong.
I just don't believe that's even remotely possible.
But if he gives you what Swamen gave, if Swamen gave you what he gave you last year again,
and O'Mark also gives you that, you're still the best team.
Yeah, you still have incredible goalies.
I love that.
This is something you brought up earlier about a different team.
I basically have two large points about the Bruins.
One is you brought this up on another team earlier.
They are a couple injuries away from being.
fucked to hell, in my opinion.
I know you like the prospects.
No, no, no, I feel that.
And I'm like, because this team, you're like, they patched the holes.
And I'm like, they did.
But if those patches leak, I'm like, oh, no.
And the injuries happen.
And it's not NFL.
It's not like you're going to lose half the line.
But just if the patches spring leaks, I'm like, oh, fuck.
We did patch this, but it wasn't vibranium.
And now we are paying for it.
That's a very fair point.
That worries me big time.
The other issue is, man, it's just the other teams in the league.
are so, in this division, are so strong that I feel as though this, some of these exciting teams,
it's going to be logjamped. Some of these exciting teams, I think, have a little bit more spark
than the bees have right now. And I hope I'm wrong about that too. I hope they don't let the
depression around last season and all the departures affect them, but I'm worried about that.
I think they've got the right guys in the locker room to instill. I genuinely think there's no way
they can because there's too much momentum, dude. It's the centennial season. They got the new
sweaters. They've got, they did a very good job.
dude of bringing in like bringing
Luchichich back like that that has
so awesome reinvigorated the fan base
so much you got a fourth liner
who's what how old is Luch 36
like the fans are so pumped
Shaddy played college in Boston
JVR played college in New Hampshire
like they they've done a
pretty fucking good job
of filling
holes like I said making people happy
and again dude
last year was devastating but there's enough
distractions and I think the
key players on the team are like it's a new regime dude yeah it's a totally new era it is it is
officially begun yep and i think that responsibility alone is distracting enough for them to not be like
oh my god like last year like they're like no no this is a full restart yep i will say this you said
they're tightly up against the cap uh not only are they up against the cap but also they all that stuff
is being addressed next year like all the eggs are in the next year cap basket so there's no
moves are going to be made this year in my opinion because they're like we're just we're riding
this out i'm not fucking with that and also they don't have dude the bruin's first draft pick next year
is round four yeah they do not have any space to make or pieces to move for anything yeah yeah it's
you they've done a pretty good job of makeshifting a prospect pool with some of these free agent
signings like georgie murculov and like mark mclaughlin and like good job but like you can't
trade any of those pieces you can't trade your fabian lysols your johnny bese's your johnny b
features your Mason Lorais and you can't trade draft picks anymore.
Yeah, because I don't have any.
You don't have it.
So my point is if the bees are surprising next year, oh, you know what?
Wow, this course is good.
And they're hovering around three seed as you have them.
You just ride it out, dude.
But I'm saying, and then every other team in the Atlanta, and then, you know, Tampa's
is four, Detroit's five at the moment.
And then they make deadline moves because they can.
I could see the bees getting left in the dust a little bit.
You're like, oh, shit, we didn't have the pieces to make moves.
like they fall back to five.
The fucking
terror dome for me, dude.
And I know what's going to happen
is top three
in the Atlantic are in, top three in the Mett are in,
rags, devils, canes,
sabers,
who do we have, or you have someone fucking crazy.
So let's say leaf sabers
and whoever, cats are in
for argument's sake.
The first wildcard team in
the Atlantic, whoever's fourth in the Atlantic,
I think, is lock in, just because I think that's so
stacked division. The fifth
Atlantic team and the fourth
metro team is going to be
battling, battling till the
82nd game this year for that last spot,
and it's going to be the Bruins and Sid.
And I'm going to fucking off myself,
dude. I just
can't believe that that's
the eighth theme in. I can't wait for the content
of watching her hair fall out during that. Oh,
my God, dude. What a nightmare.
But yeah,
that's it. It's going to be a, this
It's been so fun doing all the divisions and being like, fuck, man.
Like, there's better teams than we thought.
There's no bad teams.
It's great.
More action.
Except by the Hawks.
The Hawks think.
No doubt about it.
This is the most exciting division.
Yep.
And I can't fucking wait to watch a shakeout.
That said.
That's us.
That's it.
Rather.
That's it for us.
Do you remember what you had?
Yeah.
I had Leifes, cats,
sabers, bolts, bees, sends, wings, habs.
Leafs, sabers, Bruins, wings, bolts, panthers, sends, habs.
That wings four is so out of pocket, I can't believe.
Just wait, dude.
Cannot believe.
Theizer plan is in motion.
All right, that's it for us this week at the Empty Netters podcast.
Beautiful stuff.
We're creeping, creeping closer.
Can't wait to get there.
And until then, do what Dan thinks the wings are going to do.
Skate hard.
Oh, yeah.
Thank you.
