Empty Netters Podcast - 56. The Year Of The Bloodbath
Episode Date: October 4, 2023The Ducks pull off an insane deal and Trevor Zegras stays in Anaheim. The boys get into the biggest things they're looking forward to as the NHL season is about to begin including possible huge trades... and certain teams becoming the new big boys of the league. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
It's the golden moment.
Triumph on the podium, golden hand.
But with Corona Serro, golden moments go beyond the Winter Olympics.
They're enjoying sunsets, time outside, reconnecting with nature, and laughs shared with friends.
For every golden moment at the Winter Olympic Games, enjoy your own with Corona Serro,
0% alcohol and a source of vitamin D.
Corona Serro, the official non-alcoholic beer of Milano Cortina 2026.
Welcome, welcome back to the last episode before we are fully fledged in the 2023,
2024 NHL season.
How bricked up are you right now?
You bricked up for the cup?
Bricked up for the cup.
Leav Schreiber bricked up for the cup.
I am already.
You need to launch that pick.
So, yeah.
I made that craft.
So, it's so funny.
I am so juiced already.
I was sitting outside at the new outdoor TV situation I set up cranking,
three-season hockey this weekend, and it just felt so right.
Bricked up for the puck.
Bricked up for puck drop.
Yeah. Just leave the drop out.
Bricked up for puck drop. Bricked up for puck.
Yeah, that's good. Bricked up for puck.
We did it, dude. Hey, we made it. We got there.
Hey, can I say something to you?
Yeah. Your hair cut's great.
Ah, fuck, I do you're going to say that.
You look, you don't look like a dumb piece of shit anymore.
I got it. Dude, I've got news for you. You did look like that.
You looked like a dumb piece of shit.
I got dialed in by Nikki the Baba at Svelte in Manhattan Beach.
Yeah, if you're on the west side of Los Angeles, you've got to go to Sveld.
I'm a big, just let the flow go guy.
Yeah.
I never get it cleaned up.
I cut it short, I let it go.
And you look dumb.
He was like, get it big, get it cleaned up.
I said no.
I hated it.
I said no.
I said no.
I got it cleaned up.
He was right.
Yeah.
Looks way better.
I sent it before and after.
and I said to before and after
and I was like, dude,
this is not even going to be,
I knew it was going to be noticeable,
but I was like, I'm not going to think I look any better.
It's just going to be shorter.
Yeah.
And then I looked at the before,
and I was like, ooh, that actually didn't look that good.
No.
You sent that the before picture is a virgin.
He was, dude.
Can confirm.
Big weekend for you.
Shit.
Dude, it's just like when you do stuff like that,
it's just too
you're making things too
complicated
and I know
it seems like the opposite
when you're
when you're like
I'm just letting the flow go
but
by not getting it cleaned up
and doing your due diligence
you're making everything
too complicated
it's always all over the place
it's always in your face
you let a professional
make it look good
and we're buzzing dude
don't work too hard
don't break a sweat on a treadmill
you know what I'm saying
don't no no don't what is
don't don't break it
a sweat on an escalator. Oh, I was going to say I fucking break a sweat on a treadmill all the goddamn time.
Don't break a sweat on an escalator is my new favorite saying. That is, that is funny.
What's the point? You know where I got that from? No. Our boys, Will and Rusty, dude.
Oh, was that on their pod? That's on the pod. Dude, that was such an awesome segment.
It was awesome. Will and Rusty's play date. A, check out this pod. Go follow. Oh, my God.
If you guys want to get a nice laugh with a couple of our buds, just get a good. Just get a
into some nonsense. Will and Rusty's playdate is where it's at, but they had a clip on their
pod that came out that was like them making up new sayings. And one of them was like, don't break
a sweat on an escalator. And I was like, I couldn't agree more. They're just joking around,
but I was like, that is a great saying. It's like, there's no point in breaking a sweat
on a nest. It's doing the job for me. Don't make things too complicated, dude. And I was like,
I hit them up after. I was like, that's just a good saying. I don't know if they made it up
or not, but it's phenomenal. That was such a funny lesson. I can't believe I didn't
snipe that. They were amazing. They were doing like business ventures. They were all over the place.
Unbelievable. It's Playdate Pod on IG, if you guys should check it out. Fantastic way to pass the time.
Weekly apps on Wednesday, they're just a couple of buds having a play date making us all laugh.
Oh my God, dude. Five stars, easy for those boys.
Oh, yeah, yeah, easy. But that's what I'm saying, dude.
Don't break a sweat and escalator. There's no reason for you to complicate things. Your hair looks great.
Thank you so much.
We are, what was it today? Eight days. So about the time this episode comes out, we'll be six days away.
Yeah.
Six days away from the
NHL season, dude.
Can you believe it?
We're back.
We are fully, fully back.
It feels like it flies by.
I feel like we were just playing in the finals,
but then also we get close and it feels like it stakes forever.
Do you know what I'm saying?
Like, I feel like when we started doing like the Empty Netters top 100,
I was like, oh, we're far away.
Yeah.
And, but like, then that buzzes and I was like, oh, my God.
Like that was last week.
I was like, are we dropping that?
But that's what I'm saying.
Then we hit top 10, I was like, we are here.
Puck tops tomorrow.
We're done.
It's like still not here and still not here.
So I'm itching.
I'm itching to get out.
Oh, it's here now, dude.
We're like, we are here.
Six days.
Uh, but I kind of want to talk about that.
Top 100, by the way.
Oh, okay.
And well, dude, I'll say this too.
So it's what?
It's the third.
It's the second?
Second.
On Sundays, and the NHL has been dropping.
And NHL.com has been dropping their top 100 in tens.
And they did, I'm pretty sure they did 20 to 11 yesterday.
So this coming Sunday, and I could just do the math, but this coming Sunday, I can't wait to see their top 10 because I want to put them side by side.
Oh, I'm, ho-hum, no big deal.
I think I looked at it quickly.
I'm fairly certain their top tens are exact top 10.
I don't know the order.
Yeah, yeah.
But it's the same time.
I'm definitely lining that up.
Yeah.
Is it?
I'm pretty sure.
Yeah, I'll see.
I'm pretty sure.
Let me, let me, no, I'll look at it later, but I'm pretty sure.
But let's, all right, put it this way, guys.
We've got to reorganize here.
This is our last app before the season starts.
We've got huge shit coming for you guys.
CP and I hopping on a plane on Wednesday.
We're heading to Buffalo for the Chicklets Cup.
We've got great guests coming up for the next couple episodes.
And then it's just going to be a lot more of that, a lot more travel, a lot of action.
So this is going to be the last ep for a little while here with just your boys.
So strap in, let's have some fun.
we're going to talk about some shit that we're excited for for the season we did this last year
we're doing it again we'll get into our hot ice in a second but before that i do want to talk about
the top 100 okay that was such a fascinating experiment because one that was so hard oh my god and
all of you who followed along threw us some likes and some comments we love you there were some
chirps in there and
some fun
some dumb
dude you don't know
to the dumb comments
is what I have to say you have no idea
how hard making that list is until you do it
like it is so fucking hard
there are so many good players in the league
and the comments
that were like dude the disrespect
to this guy
when they're being included in a list of the top
100 players in the NHL you're a fucking
moron for that comment I'm respecting them
If I put Connor McDavid at 57, yes, that would be dumb.
Yep.
That would be disrespectful.
But I did love how when we got towards the latter half of it, I'd honestly say the top 50, all the comments were just like, oh, fuck, yeah.
Like, this guy's sick.
I'm so glad this guy's on the list.
This guy, blah, blah, blah.
It was like, for some reason, it was the 51 to 100 where some of these people had some big issues.
Yeah.
What is happening?
And it's, but then you see the guys better than that, or that we have better than them.
Not saying we're right.
But I'm just saying, you see the guys better.
And you're like, oh yeah, he is probably better.
Yes.
And by the way, I don't want to speak for you.
But when even after, and guys, this was painstaking every week.
Like, we would sit and debate this shit for so long.
This was the biggest, the pie chart of time spent on the stuff, the content we make for you guys.
That took the most time all summer, the back and forth, Dan and I had.
Even after all that, I, I, I, I,
still feel like we fucked some up that are public like I'm like that was wrong definitely like I'm
I regret so definitely still even after like 30 rounds of back and forth I'm like ah we there's definitely
wrong um two things really made me laugh one there's some dude on there who loves Adrian Kempi
yeah I love that guy me too I don't know who that guy is but he is killing me dude every post
he's like he's actually slowed down on the comments and I
I'm here to say I want it back.
Me too, dude.
That was so awesome.
Because the comments weren't coming on the top 100 posts.
They were coming anywhere.
On any post, it was like, you know what's crazy?
Adrian can be being ranked 65.
I'm going to find it.
And then this was actually my favorite one.
And I actually, I'm going to find this guy and sent him merch because this killed me.
Some guy goes, we were posting, like, we post like 70s, the 70s.
And we hadn't said Cole Cawfield yet.
and some guy was like ooh
boys
boys liking Cole Cofield
and then every 10
bracket that guy would post
and go boys loving
Cole Cofield this is fantastic
yes and then we posted the 20s
or maybe the teens
no yeah it was um
11 to 20
yeah the teens and Cole wasn't in it
and that guy that guy goes
RIP Cole Coveman
I was like
oh sorry
he was and then we have a list of the just outs you know
we should release that maybe, but I was dying.
Oh, good.
RIP, Cole Cawfield.
I'm going to find him, dude, because he's getting merched for that, for that journey.
But anyway, that was a blast.
I'll never do it again.
Yeah.
Because it was just a nightmare.
Hard as hell.
Hard as hell.
We'll have an intern do it or something like that.
All right, let's get into a couple hot ice things.
Can I tell you what hot ice is brought to you by?
Absolutely.
Howie's hockey tape.
God, we're decked out in Howie's shit like we always are.
Yeah, we are.
Fuck, I wanted that sweater so bad.
I know.
The Navy.
is lit though, dude.
Yeah.
They're sick.
That's true.
But it's incredible.
I've got Howie's hockey socks on when I'm skating.
I'm wearing their tape.
I'm wearing their gear.
It's incredible.
Check them out right.
It's Howie's hot ice.
Number one story today.
Trevor Zegas, back to the ducks.
I feel like we've talked about this three episodes in a row so we don't need to spend
too much time.
But news drops, three-year deal for Zieg's 5.75 mil.
Trevor is reportedly very happy, so that makes us happy.
I think this is.
is the best deal in the NFL?
Yeah.
Well, by,
it could prove to be the best deal in the NFL immediately.
No.
And I certainly think it's going to prove to be that by year three.
Yeah.
Like I think year three, you are going, oh, my God.
But then, and no buts, it's fine.
But, like, if that's what happens, you're going to pay for him the next year.
But, yeah, he, they, the ducks are very happy.
I think, assuming how far off they must have been.
I think Trevor is probably happy to
because the three, probably won two.
Reportedly, from what we've heard,
the offer was for a mill.
And A-A-V.
Yeah.
And this is almost two million more.
This is more.
So that's a great upgrade.
I am here to say,
I think that this is wildly low.
Wildly low.
Yeah, for three years.
I think two.
You're like, okay, three years.
I was like, oh, dude.
Dude, I just,
I mean like Alex Coulorne is 34 years old and is making significantly more money than him.
A.A.V. That's just, I think that's wild. And here's the deal. Trev's happy, so I'm happy. The ducks
are keeping zero. That makes me happy. Me too. Makes Mason happy. Makes Troy happy.
Yeah. It's, you know, they got to figure out Drysdale still, and I think they will. But this was a
fiasco, as we talked about. We don't need to waste more air on that. But,
I stand by. I think it's low. And this is the big thing for me. When did the tides turn with the public on Zegris?
And I'm not saying people are anti-Zegris, but he was just the golden boy of the NHL for a period.
He does the Michigan flip pass to Milano. And he's then doing straight up Michigan's. Then he's on the cover of NHL.
He's just the most fun guy. He's an electric player. He was amazing in world juniors. He was amazing.
in college. He's been fantastic in the NHL so far. And then I don't know what happened. It was like
this past year, people were like, Zegras isn't that good. And this is some people.
Yep. But I just don't understand how a guy is 22 years old. He has back-to-back 60 plus point
seasons in the NHL playing on a very, very bad Anaheim Ducks team. And people are just going,
this kid's not worth it. He's not worth this kind of money.
There are some people calling this deal on overpay.
Yeah.
Which is lunatic.
Are you fucking stupid?
Are you an actual moron?
Do you have any fucking idea how happy I would be if I were a fan of a team and I had a 22-year-old
center who had back-to-back 60 plus point seasons who was playing like this and had
that type of electricity to his game?
There are people who are pissing and moaning about, oh, my God, he's so bad at defense.
He's so bad at this and that.
Buddy, do you have any idea how hard it is?
to be a great defensive player when your team struggles as much as it does, you're getting pinballed
every single game. It's a little tough. And as your team gets stronger and you add bodies like they've
done, his game's going to get better. He's also 22. You think David Posternach was an incredible
two-way player in his first couple of years in the league? To be a decade. I just can't believe
Brady Kachuk's a dash 10 last year. Yeah. I can't believe the shit that he was getting these past
several months from a select few idiots.
I'm calling you idiots.
But it's like, dude, this is such a good deal.
I want so badly him to be healthy all year and just drop a fucking 80 burger on everyone's
stupid fucking heads.
And I'll go like this.
Oh, overpay?
Morons?
It's like he's going to score 30.
He's going to have 70 to 80 points.
And I'm just going to laugh in everyone's face.
I'm so with you because the, it feels like.
everyone's turning into an old man yelling at the clouds.
Oh yeah.
And it's, it's, they're going, they're going all flash.
No, stop.
And I'm like, shut up.
And there are people, there are torts of the world who literally want that out of the game.
And I just cannot, I cannot respect that.
What rattles me is everyone thought Zegras was fun.
Everyone I know is like, Zegris is so fun.
He's like, it's so awesome the stuff he's doing.
And then the second the contract stuff came up, and a little bit,
this is kind of what I was talking about last step where I said I was feeling Matthewsie about him
all I meant by that was if he takes a 13 you know if that's what it comes out and he's like I want 12 mil a year
and it's like dude calm down once that started happening once there was contract questions
that's when everyone started going he's all sizzle and I was like shut the fuck up dude like
first of all so what second of all that doesn't mean you have to dislike the player or or not root for the
success. He's not, and the deal they just took, the people that think that's an overpay is so
bananas to me. But the, all you have to do is watch him and think if I'm the ducks, would I
invest in that talent? If you think he sucks, that's your opinion. And I think you're wrong,
but if you think he sucks, then fine. But to me, I'm like, what is bothering you about
the game Trevor Zegra's place? He's making hockey really fun and he's pretty good at it. And
he's asking for a pretty normal amount of money. That's, who does that. That's what I'm saying.
and they're acting like his stats don't exist.
They're acting like he has five highlight real goals, five Michigan's, and that's really all he's done.
And I'm like, well, he's scoring over 20 goals a season in the national and has 60 plus points.
And he's, again, 22 on a terrible team.
Yep.
It's crazy, dude.
It is absolutely insane to me the just dismissal of his talent.
If it had been higher, you would have heard it from me too.
I've said this to you many times.
Yeah, yeah.
If they had given him 10, if they'd been like, yo, you're getting 10 to year.
I would be also going.
Bro, you have 67 points or whatever it is.
But he's getting five.
Yeah.
If someone to me, you know, earlier this week was like, early this week, it's fucking Monday.
If someone over the weekend was like, Zegris is going to sign a three-year deal on Monday, I would have guessed at seven.
And I would have been like, yeah, adequate.
Yeah, I would have guessed six.
If I'm the Ducks franchise, I would have given him eight by eight like that.
Me too.
Oh, my God.
Me too.
God, me too. I would have guessed six because I was thinking less term.
You want to eight by eight, but he'll take three at six.
So the fact that they got it, and if he's happy, great.
People that think that's too much money.
You nuts and wait for the 80 burger.
Yes.
Only other hot ice thing I got to talk about is the Bedard.
Little Bedard's handles in the Detroit game.
I saw this clip live.
not there watching it yeah um i must have seen this clip no more no less rather than 20 times
in a two minute window on various uh social channels instagrams twitter's blah blah blah la
i've i've said i said it on our instagram a m a over the weekend a few a few questions
came in that was like is the Badaard hype real or is this getting overblown?
Our good friend Sam here in the office, big sports guy asked for an adequate comp on Baderd,
and I said LeBron.
And he said both hype and actual skill.
And I said LeBron.
I think Badard is out of this world.
I think he's going to be everything that people assume.
I got so annoyed with how much that that clip was being shoved down people's throats.
he has a very
not, I don't want to say typical
but a move where he cuts inside
and then drags the puck behind his legs
and goes around
the defender and tries to deke
and gets the puck, his shot saved.
And that's literally dude,
all that happened in that clip.
Is it a sick move? Yes.
Is it the most like, holy fuck.
Anyone's ever seen?
No.
And it's also, people were posting the clip being like, Jesus Christ, Bedard is sick.
And I'm kind of like, yeah, we know he's sick.
And he didn't score.
He didn't do.
And like, it was just a good move around a defender and the shot got saved.
All Swedish, no finish.
And I feel like if this were to get clipped, it would get taken out.
People would be like, oh, I'd like to see you that, you fucking duster.
And I'm like, yeah, no shit.
I can't skate.
But I'm not talking shit about it.
him it's an unbelievable move but I just can't believe with all the shit that he's done
I mean talk about his fucking OT winter pass to Athens Cue that is way better than
that move and even he's got I think it was in a like a a Chishinney game in
preseason practice or something throws a full ice backhand sauce to Taylor Hall like that
that is that's better too I just don't I know it's people are just pumped about him
yep and I am too yeah yeah but this is it was just it was on every single Instagram page
that exists. And I was like, what are we doing, guys? There's going to be a lot more from this kid.
Well, dude, also, strap in my guy. Because that's what's happening all year, assuming he does anything
legitimate. I think it was our boys at hockey recap, but on one of the accounts that we love,
posted that clip, and their caption was like, this is quickly turning into a badard fan page.
Yeah. And they all are. And it's, what was that, who's the Colts quarterback? Some dude, I don't
even know, Richardson or something. Yeah, Richardson. He made a great.
play in a game yesterday.
I didn't see the game.
I just saw the highlight
because I think glue guy posted it.
That was like he like gets sacked,
like spins out of it and is about to run
and then like basketball shoots the football basically
and some guy catches it.
And the comment was like,
it was on Twitter,
this app would malfunction if Pat Mahomes did this.
And I was like,
you're right.
Yes.
And that's what Badaad is for us.
Like if anyone else had done that,
they'd have been like, sick move.
Yeah.
Like nice dangle by Kyle Connor.
Yeah.
But like it's Connor Badaarida.
And they're like, oh my God.
God.
They're like this
Connor period,
Bajar, period, period,
is, period,
the period, real, period, deal, period.
And I'm like,
yeah, fucking,
it's a pretty sick move
in a preseason game
that he didn't score on.
Here my two,
one chirp, one boost.
Yeah.
Churp.
Dust, shot.
Like, that.
Floor cheese far side.
But it was one of those,
like, because I've done this
where I'm like,
I can't quite decide.
Like, I'm in between like,
oh, shelf,
or like, do I go back?
And you kind of run out of space.
And you just kind of,
stuff about it, like, directly
paddle, and you're like, I was
I had, I was going too fast.
Yeah, exactly. I was like, oh, fuck.
Because, by the way, if he had scored that,
this clip deserves the hype.
Oh, my God.
Like, if that goes under the bar, I'm like, yes.
It's like the famous Rick Nash goal.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
It's just like dangle, dang, you're like, oh, oh, oh, oh,
and then he scores, and you're like, oh, my God.
Or the McDavid won last season,
where he fucking diced the entire Rangers team
and then scored the best goal we've ever,
Like, if that went in, I would have been like, Jesus Christ.
Yes.
And again, the move is preposterously awesome.
Yep.
But, yeah.
And here's the boost.
Because, like you said, out of context, maybe this is bad, but I fucking love the kid.
Yeah.
Worked out in a Sheridan hotel gym with him.
So, whatever.
He's, he's, oh, what really bums me is he's cool, too.
Yeah, he's a man.
He's going to be a stud in this league.
And I'm just sick at hockey.
I think I was saying with you and Las that I was like, I think I put, I was like,
he might score 20 in my mind.
and now watching him, I'm like, oh, dude, he might go off.
But the boost is, and it's preseason, whatever, but the boost is, I love that he is out there
fucking fearless.
The confidence.
Like, dude, I was hoping he was like, easing into the NHL.
Like, he's like, yo, I'm better than most y'all motherfuckers.
And I'm like, oh, my God, he is.
Dude, he's had a couple plays where, again, he's just getting pucks on net.
Yeah.
He's had a couple plays in preseason where he's stick handling a phone booth and just, you know,
the dragon snap and it's I it is a level of he's not getting the puck off his stick super fast passing it to teammates being like yep here you he's like no I'm gonna do what I do yeah and then he's already coming at us with these great clips where they were like I saw you uh were you know didn't even look at the bench on the shift and he's like yeah I'm just gonna stay out of it's insane and then there was that other clip he was on the ice like an hour after practice just ripping pucks and I was like oh yeah dude like that that part made me really happy watching him
I think we set it at 69 and a half his over under for the season.
I think we might be bumping that up to 79 and a half.
Wait over.
Yeah, I think this kid might be pummeling in goals.
He's the man.
Yeah.
Last one I have is I just wanted to plug.
You got more hot ice?
Yeah, I just wanted to plug one thing, the King series behind the glass.
Oh, hell yet.
I'm going to read this because I don't want to get any of the stats wrong.
But there's a new show behind the glass.
It's the Los Angeles King's training camp.
It's all access.
It's produced by NHL Network with NHL.
Productions
premieres tonight.
So you're going to miss this
if you're here listening
but it's tonight
Monday.
It's every Monday.
So tonight
nine, Eastern,
six Pacific on NHL Network.
Three part series
next one's October 9th.
Obviously we're tight
with the Kings.
We're in.
We're in it.
Not a big deal.
Check it out.
But they've sent us some clips
to watch it early.
I love shit like this.
I don't know if you guys
that are listening are like Hard Knox
fans or those Amazon series
all or nothing fans.
But this.
And if you aren't,
you should check them out.
Because they're sick.
But if you're
sports fan and you like that behind the scene stuff, it's really cool. Dude, it's, it's, it's
Road to the Winter Classic. And it's a massive offseason, right? Like they, a ton of movement this
year, a lot of excitement about the team. Really, NHL Network is rebranding in a big way and making
some really catered cool shit. Yeah. And this is one of them. Check it out. Yeah. It's, it's going to be
so fun. And it is one of those things where you're, if you're a fan of the Kings or not,
it's, it's awesome. If you're a fan of hockey, if you're an NHL fan, you will enjoy this.
it's just like those all or nothing things.
I'm a big soccer fan.
There's an all or nothing for Arsenal and Tottenham.
I fucking hate those teams.
And I absolutely loved the series.
So it's going to be the same vibe.
Check this out.
No doubt about it.
Monday nights.
Yeah, Monday nights.
We are officially in the month of October,
which means the NHL season is back,
which means hockey vibes are higher than ever,
which also means that you need to restock up on all of your hockey essentials.
I'm talking tape, I'm talking laces, I'm talking socks, I'm talking swag.
And no one has you covered better than Howey's Hockey Tape. Go to Howey'shockey Tape.com, get everything you need.
Best tape in the game, no question about it, and you know you're running low on that because we always are, and it's way too expensive at the rink.
You need laces because those things break all the time.
And then look at me. Look at this shirt.
We're always dripped out in the best hockey swag, and it comes from Howeys.
Go to their website, stock up on all of your needs, pump in promo code empty at checkout, and you're going to save 50.
14% guys hockey season is here and you need to restock up and no one has you covered like Howie's hockey tape.
All right. That's hot ice. Let's get into, we're going to just have some fun with hockey talk here.
Again, last app before the season starts. Next episode of this show you're going to hear is going to be a day after the puck drops, dude.
Yeah.
So we're taking this time. We're taking this week and the weekend for you guys to listen.
and just talk about some stuff that we're looking forward to.
Keep an eye on.
Things to keep an eye on.
The 2023-20204-N-H-L season is nigh.
It's upon us.
That is fucking sick.
Yeah, it is.
You got anything?
Yeah, you go first.
Yeah?
Well, I'll go first, but here's the thing.
We did three each.
We did three each, and I think we have one that's the same.
We made them independently.
Let's talk about that.
So, like, I think we just start with that.
I let this slip, so we know.
The one that we both are.
looking forward to.
I am really,
really, really looking forward to some
serious goalie talent movement
this season. And I'll take it one
further.
Okay. One farther?
One further.
Yeah. I always fuck that up,
but I shouldn't because it's in that movie
Finding Forrester,
which is an awesome movie. Awesome movie.
One of them is you can tell
like there's a specific
clear number
to go farther or further, one of them is fictional.
Like walk one mile farther, because it's literally one mile.
You can count it.
But if it's like, I need to think about that further.
Yes.
I think that's right, but I might have flipped further.
I was like, it sounds like you got it.
Anyway, I'll take it with a step.
Yeah.
I'm calling my shot four starting goalies.
Well, four goalies are being traded.
Wow.
Can I guess them?
Yes.
I think I have three.
Okay.
And I am very...
That's juicy.
I'm curious what the fourth one is.
Okay.
Big time goalie talent getting moved.
Four.
Need four.
One.
Connor Hellebuck.
Gone.
That's actually the one I'm least sure about.
Really?
Yeah.
And everyone, that's everywhere online.
Like, they're like, Helibuck's gone.
And he very well might be.
Him and Shifley are...
But that's my question.
They're either like, yo,
bye.
Shifley gone.
Hellebuck gone.
We're rebuilding.
All good.
I picked them to sneak into the playoffs.
That's why I'm like, no, I think those guys are going to be having massive contract years,
and they're going to be like, no, you guys are staying and we need you.
Dude, you know what's so interesting about the Jets, not to get off topic, but, and I hate,
I hate even uttering this because it's going to make it sound like I don't think Lowry was a
fantastic choice for Captain because he is.
But whenever there's situations like this and Schifley's not named Captain, it just makes me
be like, so he's gone.
Yeah, right.
But again, I'm not in that locker room.
I said that about Martian where I was like, oh, if the bees, and you said they could still trade him, which they could.
But I was saying if the bees are out of the playoffs at the deadline, you move Marchand.
And now that you gave him the C, you can't.
Yeah.
For the same logic.
And it's not entirely true, but I hear you.
So no C on Shifley.
I'm like, it's interesting.
Yeah.
Connor Hellbuck.
Yep.
Carter Hart.
Ooh, I didn't even have him.
Oh, five goalies.
Five.
And John Gibson are my three locks.
Make it six goalies gone.
you didn't have gibber
Nope
Get the fuck out of it
I think they're gonna keep them
But no
Six goalies
Okay six goalies gone
I am
Okay
Go
Got a hot gone
Yes
Just because they're tanking
Well he's on the last year of his deal
They're gonna finish
Eighth again
Here's
Or not again
Yeah
They're gonna finish eighth
You trade him
You're trading him
And the bigger thing is
They got Cal Peterson
Dude
Yeah
Like there's just
There's two
They have two
other goalies under contract, including them, does a team want him?
Carter Hart?
Yeah, I know he's a good goalie.
I'm just saying it is a playoff team that's like, oh, we're a goalie away.
Yes.
There are better options.
So no, I don't think it's that.
Yeah.
What I have eyes on with Carter Hart is this.
Carter Hart is very young.
Yeah, people forget that.
And when you look at mock, and we even did this, when you look at mock rosters for Team
Canada, Carter Hart is either 1A or 1B goalie with like jari.
Yeah, right, that's crazy.
Carter Hart is good.
I think he's in a bad situation and he needs a restart and I look at things like the
Canadians.
I think he's going to get traded not to a team making a run to a team that's rebuilding
with a lot of youth and they're already into the rebuild.
Don't hate that.
I think he could get dealt to somewhere.
And I could see Hughes in Montreal being like, here's a six-year deal too.
Like, you're our guy.
It's not going to be a huge one.
It'll be like a six-by-six or something like that.
Actually, it could be very similar to what O-Mark signed with Boston.
But I could see a team that is in the middle of a rebuild with a lot of youth.
I could see Detroit, too, who is in this like, we are starting over.
Yeah.
And they want to get a goalie in sign for a good amount of time that's in with this group.
And I just think it's not there with Philly.
I think he's like, I need to leave.
Okay.
Okay, this is actually awesome.
Six goleys are getting moved, but specifically,
want to remember this because I'll give you Hellebuck because I don't I'm unsure about that one you are
going to have those three goalies yes Gibson Hellebuck caught a hot yeah see if if any of them
get moved before the deadline starting today if any of them get moved between now and the
deadline you get one of those three yeah my three but we're a team but my three specifically okay
all mark that one hurts my heart if the be if the bees are out of it and swamens playing
great and you got your boy waiting in the wings yeah who made a lit save yeah in preseason
bussy dude bussey is so good i know yeah ohmark could go yeah and my guys by the way actually two of my
guys dude if you just look at it from a business standpoint not not trading omarck is bad bad business
and i it makes me sick sick to my stomach but not trading omarck is bad he's the man he put the burgh on
his helmet. You see that?
Yeah.
He's unbelievable.
He just won of Vezna.
He just...
It's one of the rest of the wrestlers I've ever seen.
Oh yeah.
Just shit all over the NHL with one of the best
goaltending seasons you've ever seen.
And he's got the best contract in the league.
Certainly for goalies.
And you have the second best goalie, statistically,
on your team as well.
Who, like I said, if you do not give Jeremy Swayman
an eight-year extension this season,
you are the dumbest franchise on earth.
And I renounce my fandom.
I have never, ever seen a more clear-cut example of franchise player than Jeremy.
Like, we're talking Vasilevsky, we're talking Kerry Price, we're talking a guy that you were like, he must be kept here under no circumstances.
Can you leave?
The interesting thing about Olmark is if he is nasty again.
nasty, wasty,
again,
you're probably too in the hunt
to trade him.
I know.
But if he's,
that stinks,
but if he regresses,
where's Brian?
If he regresses to the mean
of his career.
Yeah.
And you're out of it.
You're like,
hey,
Kings,
don't you want him?
And they're like,
he's playing bad.
And he's kind of been bad
in the playoffs.
You know,
like,
it's weird.
Well,
he was hurt.
Yeah,
I don't want to.
But it's like,
you know,
if he's not,
if he's not playing that well,
it's harder to trade him.
And if he's playing so sick
that you would get a king's ransom for him,
then the bees are too good to get rid of them.
So it's not as easy as it sounds,
but from a business standpoint,
I got eyes on Allmark.
Yeah.
The other one I got eyes on is UC Soros.
Disgustingly good goalie,
preds are bad.
They are going to be bad,
and there are teams like the kings,
like the senators,
like the wings,
that could be in the hunt here
and go like this.
Yo, give me sorrows.
What's his contract situation?
Because I'm going to say this.
I'm going to look you in your face right now
say this, you're an idiot.
No.
You're an idiot.
If he has more than three years on his deal, you're an idiot.
Because here's the reality, dude.
Soros, you do not, you don't come across a Soros every day.
And I also need to know how old he is.
He is.
I'm pretty sure he's like 27 or 28.
28 years old.
And he has one year left on his deal.
Okay, that is interesting. I still don't think so. I think Trots came in and is re-reshaping that franchise, and I think he looks at Soros and is like, you are part. I think if he was going to move him, he would have moved him already. And absolutely, if they don't get a deal in place for him as this season goes on.
He's not, he's not UFA at the end of this year. He has, he has, he has. Okay. So he has two years left. Yeah, yeah. Technically. If, if, if, okay, then never mind then. I was going to say, if he had one year left, then at the deadline, he would be.
The top name that exists.
I still think it's a very intriguing.
I think that one's dumb.
You do not find UC Soros' every day.
And I think Trots is, again, he's 28.
I think Trots is, I think he'll get a, maybe an eight-year extension.
I got to figure out their pool, their prospect pool there, but I think he ends up on a contender.
The problem is, I would love him on the Kings.
I would salivate to him on the Kings.
but I don't know that you can have juice
and UCY
it's just too much
they got now they got
juice and juicy
like I don't know
and they already got
they're dealing with
what was PEOB
they got Kobe and Kempai
like the Kopee and Kempi
and they're calling
PL Doobie
and Dewee
and Dewee and Dewee
they've got Dewee and Doobie
juice and juicy
like I'm like
dude so much
The kiss is a fucking shit show
So much going on
So okay
The Kings are out
but he's going somewhere
Give me your next one
Because that one is
Crazy town.
And by the way, those two guys are guys that I think we're going to
help a contender guys, obviously.
But you know what I'm saying?
Like those deals only go to teams that are about to win the cup and they need you.
This one, I don't quite feel that way.
This guy, I don't think, is going to go to a contender,
but I think he's going to get moved.
Logan Thompson.
The Vegas Golden Knights have a 27-year-old Adenhill,
28-year-old Aden Hill?
I think, something like that.
He obviously was sick in the playoffs, won them a cup.
That can happen.
We see guys vanish after that all the time.
27.
He can easily fall back to Earth, vanish, whatever.
But he believes in himself.
I think he's a great goalie.
You also have Robin Lennar.
He is 32 and getting a pretty big ticket and pretty good.
Logan is young.
He's 26, I think.
Maiden All-Star appearance really felt like that was his job.
and he got hurt.
Yeah.
And then, you know, L.B. came in and Aiden Hill played and Quicky play, you know, whatever.
And he just lost the job.
Yeah.
You know, and it was not a knock on his play before the injury.
It was just kind of like, do we're in the playoffs, whatever.
And Aiden Hill was, the second Aiden Hill got the job, it was Aiden Hill's job.
Logan Thompson certainly believes he's a starting goaltender.
And if he shows up and isn't handed that job, which I don't believe he should be,
handed on a silver platter. If he goes and earns it, whatever. But I don't think Cassie's
going to go, yeah, here you go, buddy. Fuck everything else. If anything, Hill, if someone's
getting handed that job, it's Hill. And if Lennar, who also had got hurt and was playing sick,
you know, like if Lennar touches the form he had been touching, there's just a lot of
competition in that goalie room. And I don't, I don't get the sense that Logan Thompson is
interested in a big goalie conversation. I think he's interested in being in a place where
he's like this, I'm the fucking goalie
and no further discussion.
Agree with that one.
So I think...
Someone is not on that team.
Yeah.
Eventually.
And I think it's him.
And it's not, it's not Aiden Hill.
Right.
So.
So, and it's weird.
It's crazy to get rid of a 26 year old
All-Star in net, but I'm like, dude.
I don't hate that one.
I just don't know that the, um,
compatibility is in the right place right now.
Yeah.
Okay.
Okay.
Six goalies moving this year.
That was it.
That's three.
By three.
Okay, good, good, good.
Olmark, Soros, Logan.
And Logan.
And we also got Hellebuck, Carter Hart, John Gibson.
Boom.
Six goal he's moving this year.
Keep an eye on it.
I'm telling you, mine are right.
But I'm telling you there's going to be goalie moving.
And there's been some already.
I mean, nothing huge, huge, but there's been some already.
But six from today, from this recording,
till the deadline.
Six goalies are moving.
Yeah.
You heard it here.
All right.
Hit me with something else
you got eyes on.
Okay, I got eyes on this.
I have a fun one,
and this one is less fun,
but I think it's cool,
so I'm going to do the less fun one first.
Since 20,
I forget how far back I went,
but I think since 20,
in the last decade,
four teams ever
have won the President's trophy
with over 120 points.
2015, 16 caps
with 120.
2018-19 bolts with 128 which I think maybe tied the record or something
2122 cats 122 and 22 235 kill me yeah since 2000 I think I went back this far
and and that sounds like a cool stat when I said that like no it's really hard to get over
120 which it is but the other winners in the other years are like 118 19 117 like they're right
there yeah and that matters but they're right there only twice since 2000
has a team won the President's trophy with under 115 points.
Ah.
The 2011-12 Canucks, 111 points.
They won 51 games.
And the 2014-15 rags, 113 points.
They won 53 games.
I think the President's trophy is under 115 this year because I think...
It's a bloodbath.
It's a bloodbath.
Yeah.
I think no one runs away with the league this year.
Honestly, if it's anyone, I think it's the fucking Leafs.
But I don't think anyone runs the way with the league this year.
I think there's too many Atlanta.
games for them to run away.
The Atlantic team,
the Atlantic is so tough.
The Mets isn't as tough,
but those top three are tough as shit.
Especially if the fucking penguins get good again.
The Pacific is a shit show.
And then the fucking Central is like,
I think Dallas is going to make a massive run.
Colorado, you know, like,
I just think the good teams,
the 16 playoff teams are lit.
So good.
And I don't think anyone,
I'm going under 115 president's trophy.
Okay.
Like that a lot.
I like that a lot.
Thank you so.
much. I do think this year is going to be such a bloodbath. We talked about the Bruins and the Atlantic
predictions. They are obviously coming way down. And all of those games that they're losing now,
a lot of those are going to be Atlantic wins. So that's all just going to be so much closer
than it was. And like we said, there's going to be a lot of shift here.
something I've got eyes on this season.
I don't even know if this is a...
Wait, is this a new thing?
Yeah, yeah.
Unless you want to keep talking about that.
I feel like that was kind of a cut and dry.
So do you like it?
You're not worried about anybody?
No.
I mean, I said, I like it a lot.
I think it's...
I just think with every division predictions we did,
I was like, yeah, there are so many good teams.
And again, things are going to surprise us.
People get hurt.
that's kind of what I want to talk about right now.
Oh, okay.
I am really pumped for, and I'm not sure if this is a prediction.
It's a half prediction, half hope.
I think we are going to see, and we kind of saw it last year,
I think we're going to see a very clear paradigm shift in the NHL this year,
as in the next gen of guys are going to take over the league.
It's their time now.
think new teams are going to, much like the devils last year, I think there's going to be a few new
teams this year too that are like, we're very serious now. I just think we had a really cool
regime of the Sid and Malkin, the Ovean Baxter, the Bergen-Marshan, the Stammer and
headman that were like running the show. And of course, you had Connor and Nate Dogg or
up there, and then Cooch too, obviously, in the bolts. I think we are about to enter a new era
of the NHL where those top 20, 30 guys in the league in points is this new generation of the
24 to 28 year old guys that are like, it's our league now. Yeah, and even younger, dude. Yeah,
I would know like 20. 22. Yeah. But I think we're going to see that in their production on the
nice, but then more so,
their teams productions.
I think there's an opportunity,
a really exciting opportunity for us to look at the standings
and a lot of these divisions and be like, whoa.
Well, what I love about this topic from you is
this year of all years,
maybe I'll be saying the same thing next year,
but it feels like this year of all years is truly the portal opening
because the teams that you were just talking about
and the players you were just talking about
are clinging to it.
Like, Berg's retired, obviously,
but like Crosby reloads a little bit.
You know, like the caps are healthier.
I kind of buried them, but the caps are healthier.
Like, they're not, they ain't here no bell.
You know, like the caps, we're making the playoffs, bitch.
Yeah.
But you've got like Buffalo and Detroit and Otto,
like these teams that are like coming for your ass so hard.
Yeah. So in two years, two, three years,
I think for sure you're 100% right.
Yeah.
But this year does feel like,
but I think the fabric of the known hockey universe is being ripped in half.
And that's why I think,
there's a chance it happens because it only really happens when they are clinging.
Like if they weren't clinging anymore, we'd be like, oh yeah, it's over.
Yeah, yeah, the Penguins.
But I mean, a team that I think about very, very significantly with that statement is the
Dallas Stars.
Last year felt to me like the first year that people went, dude, this isn't Sagan and Ben's
team anymore.
It's Robertson and Hintz's team.
Yep.
And they were saying it with that tone of voice.
They're like, oh my God.
Yeah.
But now you look at Dallas and you go, Robo and Hintz are weapons.
Yeah.
they are two of the best players in the league,
let alone on that team.
And I just think that is,
that's a new day.
Yeah.
And it's like,
I look at that team and you've got Robo,
hints,
Hayeskinin,
and Otter.
And I'm like,
oh,
oh, yeah.
Like,
that's a,
that is a decepticon in the West
with four sick players who are all fucking under like 26 years old.
And I'm like,
yikes, dude.
It's like when Dat'suk and Zetaberg,
were on the wings and it like slowly morphed.
Like the wings had their epic core.
Yeah.
And then it slowly morphed.
Like the wings gonna be good.
They were like, have you seen these two guys?
And I was like, oh my God.
Yes, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
I think that there is a regime change coming.
And it's been coming.
And I think that we might watch it this season and be like, oh boy, it's a very new
NHL.
And it's hard to predict.
We were saying on both our Atlantic predictions and when we were chatting with
Yandel about the Atlantic.
Yeah.
And I was like, it's the changing of the guard.
You know, it's all.
I mean, mine's Toronto, who I'm high on this year, but it's like, the bolts are too tired,
the bees stink now, it's all over.
It's Toronto, Buffalo, and Ottawa getting in there.
And the handle was like, well, dude, calm down.
Like, the lightning are sick still.
Yes.
They just have a really good core.
You know, so it's, that's why it's a fun one to predict, because I'm like, this year could end,
and all those players and teams that you just named could just still be the top three seats
and Crosby could have 110 points.
And I'd be like this, oh, never mind, not yet, bitch.
but you could easily see it going completely the other way.
Yeah.
All the old teams are dead and out.
And you're like, fuck, how do we not know they were dead before this season started?
That's how drastic I feel like it could be.
Yeah, man.
And I just look at the amount of times where we've gone, you know, last year.
Holy shit.
How are the devil so good?
And you remember, Yans was like, they're going to miss playoffs.
Like they're on a heater, but they're going to miss playoffs.
And then not only did they make playoffs, they've been.
beat the Rangers in the first round.
You know, it's, it's ripe for a few 25 games in the season going, whoa, dude.
Yeah.
Like, there's a chance.
I'm not saying this is going to happen.
There's a chance, 20 games in the season.
Pitt is in like six or seventh.
Yeah, absolutely.
And we're like, oh, what the fuck?
I guess we started really hot, but then immediately went to a free fall.
It's like, these are the things that I'm like, it gets, it's very exciting.
Yep.
Very intriguing.
potential changing of the guard.
Yes.
I like it.
Guys, we got to take a quick break so I can tell you about my eye slides.
I have a pair of eye slides for everything now.
I have a pair for the shower in Beer League.
I have a pair that I leave by my golf back when I'm changing out of my spikes.
I have a pair for lounging around the house.
It's insane.
They are the most comfortable slides I have ever owned.
You need them.
I don't care what level hockey you playing, how you're connected to the game.
You want these bad boys.
They have NHL teams.
They have colleges.
They have every pro league.
And most importantly, they've got the Netters line.
So go check them out.
Whatever you need, you need this comfort.
Go to IslideUSA.com.
Type in promo code Nettors and get 20% off these bad boys.
You're going to love it.
Okay, here's one I got eyes on, and I have some crazy data for you.
Remember Data CP?
Yeah, you're a good data guy.
You're a numbers guy.
He's back.
Okay.
This is actually fascinating to me.
So what I have eyes on is a person.
a
handsome as hell
Matt
Massachusetts native
you got it
is Matt from Mass?
Yeah
I didn't know that
Baneers? Oh
I was thinking Barzo
Oh oh okay
He's a handsome as hell
Massachusetts native
He sure is
Maddie Baneers
And you know I have eyes on the spunk
I've always got eyes on the spunk
I'll never take my eyes off this spunk
Oh dude
I
Like we've got a full
season of spunk too.
Fuck. That's what I'm saying.
So I've got all up on the spunk. I got my hands in the spunk.
I got my head on the spunk. And I really am looking at Matt.
And I had a prediction. And then I crunched some data.
Yeah.
And I was like, oh my God. Is my prediction way off?
But it made me want to double down on my prediction.
Oh, yeah. Okay?
Let me hit you with this.
Yes.
Calder winners since 2016.
Oh, yeah.
has all been...
Wait, let me see if I can get them.
Oh, okay.
In no particular order.
I feel like it's harder.
Maddie Baneers.
Yes.
Mo Cider.
Yes.
That's 23, 22.
Yep.
Tell me if you want hits.
Do I have to go in order?
No.
Landy.
Too long ago.
Way too long ago.
That was way too long ago.
Fuck.
Yeah, give me a hit.
Wait.
Wait.
Connor
Too long
Too long
There's only one
This was about to say
Since 2016
So one two
Three four five
Maddie seven eight
Of the eight
There's only two defensemen
And you got one
Yeah Maddie
Sider
There's only one other defense
Dahlene
No
I thought he won
Um
I'm pretty sure he lost
What year is Dahline
I think
This is his fourth
Yeah
Yeah I'm pretty sure
He lost
To a to a
much better defenseman than he is.
Oh. Kale?
Yeah.
Yeah. Kale.
Yep. Kale.
So you got three.
Uh.
Um, you, you said one earlier.
Like, not five minutes ago, you said this man.
All so handsome.
Oh.
Yeah. Barzell.
Yep.
So you're missing four.
2021, 2021, 2019, 2017, 2016.
Who's the 2021 one?
That's bad.
It's going to piss you off, dude.
He's sick.
Right winger
Krill
Yeah
Yes
And then give me the other ones
I don't want to waste any more air time here
Lyce Pedersen
Yeah I fucking knew Pedy
Austin Matthews
And then yeah
And then the bread man
Yeah
Oh I wouldn't have got bread
Me neither
Yeah I was like not have got that
2016 Panarin
Stat line as a rookie
30 goals
47 assists 77 points
Damn
Okay
his second year
31, 43, 74 points.
Great.
So, three less points, one extra goal.
Matthews, as a rookie,
40, 29, and 69.
Second year, 34, 29, 63.
Six less points.
Shorter season?
Less goals? No.
He might have played less games,
because of injuries or whatever, but no.
Barzal, rookie, 2263 for 85.
Oh, my God.
Remember that? Matt Barzell?
he's coming back. Remember that? He's coming back. No, that Maddie is coming back.
Does he remember that? Yes. Next year, 184462, so significantly less.
Elias Pedersen as a rookie, 283866. Next year, 2739-66. Pee-D.
Krill as a rookie in 55 games, Greg. Yes.
27, 24-51 is a rookie. And then 47-61-108 is next year. Whoops.
Every Calder winner, except for Crill, has had a worse sophomore season than their rookie season.
Wow.
Maddie Baneer's 24, 33, and 57 as a rookie.
24 tucks.
My prediction was going to be, or something I had eyes on.
I don't want to lock this in as a prediction, but something I had eyes on was Baneer scoring 40.
And then I found out that literally everyone.
He'll break that.
Bombs.
He'll break that as a rookie, except for Crill.
Crow went from 27 to 47.
Less games, but he did it.
And Matt is only 24.
So 40 is significant.
But I think he's going to make a run at it.
Love that.
But can you believe that, dude?
Yeah, that's crazy.
Second year is like, oh, I'm really struggling.
I guess there's a tape on you.
People can check the game notes on you now.
Fuck, dude.
That's wild, though.
So I'm actually now terrified.
But I got eyes on Baneers having a monster second year.
I think Maddie's going to have a monster year.
I don't know if he can tuck 40, though.
35 maybe?
I'll give you 35.
Okay.
Yeah.
But we've got to keep eyes on that because the spunk is going to have a bigger year, which I think, dude, here's the thing.
He was playing 17 minutes a game as a rookie.
Yeah.
He's going to be over 20.
He's going to be over 22.
He's going to be getting a ton of minutes, getting a ton of opportunities.
They're going to be scoring more goals.
Yeah.
I really think he's way over 57, way over.
I agree with that.
Agree with that completely.
He'd be the second Calder winner forward in the last eight years to do it.
Yeah.
But I think he does it.
Okay.
Here is my
A little bit of a future for you.
Okay.
I am devastated at the loss of Patrice Bergeron.
Me, he rest in peace.
Don't even joke about that.
Devastated.
And I feel like for the last decade or more,
Berg, I mean, they need to rename the trophy to the Patrice Bergeron trophy.
He wins Selke every fucking year.
and I feel like Copey has been in that conversation.
Dude, can I interject real quick?
Yeah.
I saw a fucking banana stat today.
God, where did I see that?
Art Ross.
Oh, yeah, he had like one point.
Had one point in his life.
And we give that trophy away.
And Art Ross is the most points in the league.
One point in his life, dude.
I could get a point in the national right now.
Literally right now.
What are we doing?
I'm 50 years old.
I could get in the league today and have a point.
Yeah, that's crazy.
I feel like I always, I consider Copey in that conversation.
I think he still will be.
As I talked about, dude, the changing of the guard.
I believe this season, here's your future.
Grab your bet MGM apps and smash this future.
I believe the changing of the guard in the Selke race
and the winner this season will be one Nico Heeshire.
Oh, damn.
And I believe he is going to stand out amongst the rest, win it this season, and become the, like, the next five seasons, Nico is going to be winning Selke's or always in the conversation.
But he's going to win it this year.
I love this take.
Nico recently went on chicklets with our boys.
And he talked about a certain guy, a certain player that we really, really love.
He wears the same number.
and he says that he likes to model his game after this guy.
And that one man is a...
What number is he?
13.
Oh.
He's a Russian boy named Pavel Dotsuk.
Ever heard of him?
And if you know anything about Dotsuk,
it's that you know his two-way game was impeccable.
His style was impetuous.
Multiple Selkies to his name.
And I think Niko has exploded into the player that we all know he is.
a little casual 80 burger last season
and he's going to win the Selke this year.
Okay.
You, everybody,
people have to keep eyes on Dallas
because I think I said they were going to,
I think I might have said they were going to win the cup.
I think Otter's winning the Vesna.
You know how everybody in that likes golf says,
Robo's winning the heart.
Otter's winning the Vesna,
Haskinen's winning the Norris,
Dallas is winning the Cup.
I think there's a chance.
You a Starz Guy?
There might be a clean sweep of awards in Dallas.
It's like when you play a season on NHL and you don't sim a single game and you just win every game 10-0.
And then when the awards come out, it's every single one of your players.
Clean sweep.
Otter, every golf fan picks Xander Shoffley to win the next major.
Because they're like, he has to win eventually.
This is insane.
I will do that with Otter until he wins the fucking Vesna.
He will win the Vesna this year.
And now you are in danger of a clean sweep.
You know what's funny.
is if you asked me, like, give me your top two
Vezna contenders this season,
Otters one of them.
I hate to say it to you, but yeah, he is.
But here's my response to you.
Because I think there is, except for Vesna,
I think you are going to see a clean sweep of awards this year.
From Devils?
Nope.
Who?
Give me heart.
I said this to you last week.
I don't remember.
Give me heart.
Austin Matthews.
Stop, dude.
Stop.
It goes over 60 again.
Stop.
Are you about to just go a bunch of leaves right now?
He gives you heart, Austin Matthews.
I can't in good conscience give them the Norris.
But give me heart, Austin Matthews.
Give me Maddie Nyes.
Calder.
Don't hate that one.
And then give me one Mitchell Martyr at the Selke.
Oh, he's in like top five.
Yeah, he's great.
He's great.
Because I looked this up, dude.
He's great.
Did you know this?
A wing hasn't won the Selkees since Uri Lettonin won it in 2003.
It's been a center.
which makes sense.
Yes, it does, but also it feels like, it almost feels like what the Norris has become,
where they're just like this, oh, it's a center.
And I'm like, well, it doesn't have to be.
Like, what the fuck?
It's, you know, the Norris.
I'm like, it doesn't have to be the best offensive defenseman.
So, like, if they play some good D, if, if they get some good, tell, you know, like,
if they get some good tending, or Samsonoff, how do you say Samsonoff?
Samsonoff, if he's sick, they play some good D.
If they're as good as I think they're going to be, give me one Mitchell.
Mitch is, yeah, what eyes on Mitchie for the Selke.
I think, because I think the league would love that.
They'd be like, he's, man.
No, that's a good one.
But it's, unfortunately, it's not.
It's Nico.
Unfortunately, it's a stars clean sweep.
Unfortunately, it's Nico.
Unfortunately, the stars have won every one.
Are you doubting Pavlatsuk?
No, you're right.
Sorry, Mitch.
The blood of Pavlotsuk runs in his veins, dude.
That's a lot.
Oh, my God.
I like that a lot, though.
Oh, yeah.
Sasha's probably going to have something to say about it.
Yeah, he absolutely will.
Also, you know who's winning the Norris?
Hold on.
Think about my favorite team.
well
I didn't
I feel like Dahlene was your obvious answer
because it's obvious
because he's going to
it's that obvious
Dahlene's winning the Norse
it's obvious because it's true
he's going to step up his defensive game
like people have never even seen
and he's going to put in
70 plus points again
Miro could win that
oh hell yeah
like that actually might be my pick there
I mean dude when I said
Robo
the one thing they can't win is the calder
I don't think I don't think there's anyone
that's really standing out
I think someone fact-checked this,
but I'm pretty sure Miro,
fucking Kale's such a wrinkle though.
What I was going to say is Miro and Dahlene,
I'm pretty sure we're both 70 plus.
73 points, both of them.
Both of them.
Yeah.
So I'm like, if that, and I remember checking this,
I think Miro's got like 11 goals
and like Dahlene's 15 maybe or something like that.
I think Miro had 20 plus this season.
Oh, really?
Yeah, but it was early.
It might have been like 18.
Check that out.
But I think Dahlene was like mid-teens or whatever.
My point is, if either of those boys pumps five...
No, 11 goals, 62 assists.
And what about Dahlene?
Unless you know it was like 15.
No, no, no, he had more.
So if either of those boys pumps in five more goals this year?
15 goals.
Okay.
So if Dahlene hits 20 goals this year and Miro hits 16 goals, 16, 17 goals this year, and they hit 80, they will win.
They will win the Norse.
Like, if either of them do that, they will, if they both do it, it'll be a bloodbath.
But Kail is the wrinkle because Kail might go over a buck.
Like he literally might go.
It's like Connor.
Like a go 105.
You think about the heart and it's just so hard to be like this someone other than
Connor McDavid's going to win.
I'm like, do you believe that?
Yeah.
You clown.
You idiot.
Like it's just like insane.
I mean, he just had 153 points.
Like I went and admittedly I did.
I went nuts for Carlson getting 100.
That was so sick.
Oh, it was awesome.
And literally this year Kale could go 110.
And I'd be like, ah.
Oh.
Oh.
Eh.
It wasn't that.
It happens.
It's crazy.
So, yeah, that's risky.
Yeah.
But otherwise, Matthew's heart,
Maddie Nise Calder,
Mitch Marner, Selke.
Or it's either literally
all Leafs or All Stars,
and that is it.
Dude, it's like,
there's no need for anyone
to ask you what you think
the Cup final is going to be.
Ping.
You really think
that the Toronto Maple Leafs
can get to the Stanley Cup?
Oh, yeah.
Wow.
Leaf Boner.
You got it.
Dude, that's my predictions.
That's not,
Not in my prediction.
That's my, like, what are we looking?
No, I'm really pumped, dude.
This is going to be so sick.
Like you said earlier, we have a couple of monster Epps coming up that I'm very excited for,
and we're going to be in the thick of it.
We're going to be at a couple of these games.
We're going to be at some events, and we are all the way back.
And, dude, hockey's so weird.
Basketball, too, I guess it's also 80 games, but it's like the start of the season is
anything can happen.
You know, it's a clean slate for everybody.
Yeah, yeah.
But it gets late pretty quick.
you know, like you watch these games and
you're 15 games and you're like, whatever, we're fucking 500
but it's early and I'm like, it's not early.
Like these things matter.
This is going to, I just said, I think the present trophy's
going to be under 115, which means it's going to be
so tight. Tighten.
Titan. So these
games matter right away.
Right, right away. You cannot start
the season four and fucking 10
and be like, ah, well, we're figuring it out. I'm like, you are
not. So, let's
go. I don't mean to edge anyone
here. But
We're about to close, but can I give you a couple, you know, as we were thinking about, like, things that we're going to juice up about, we got into the goalie talk.
Can I give you a few names that I'm like, we talked about, these goalies are getting traded?
I feel like we have a season already where I'm like, there are some monster names that I'm like, they're getting traded this year.
Yeah, yeah, hit me.
Shifley, obviously.
Yep.
I think Noah Hannifon could very seriously be moved.
And I've got a couple guys.
Noah Hanoffin, Brett Pesci.
Yeah.
Both on great team deals and last year.
And I think that there's some serious playoff teams that need defense, like the Toronto Maple Leafs and like the Buffalo Sabres.
Yeah.
So those are interesting to me.
Willie Nealander going back the other way would look real nice.
Elias Lindholm?
Yep.
He stud.
Travis Kineckney.
Yep.
Mark Sheifley.
Yep.
Stud, stud, stud, stud, stud.
And then Willie Nealander, dude.
Yeah.
I don't.
know how that one shakes out. Me neither. There's two, too big, the last thing I'll say,
and I'll let you guys go. Two big forward stories that I have my eyes pinned open clockwork
orange style. Yeah. Two big forward stories is William Neelander and where he ends up, because
it doesn't make sense. The math does not make sense for him to stay on that team. So they've got
to either get real crafty and do some other big trade.
or he's gone
and I don't know how that happens
or when it happens
do you trade a guy like William Nealander
at the deadline
the fact that he didn't get traded this summer
kind of shocking to me
and after you've just given
Austin Matthews $13 million
plus I just don't
think it works so do you just
go no we have to keep Willie
this year because we're going all in
cup or bust and we just you let him go for free
that might be the answer
and then the other one
is PD.
Oh yeah.
Dude.
I don't know.
He is not requested a trade.
He's not said he's unhappy.
He says he wants to put his contract extension talks on hold
because he's unsure if he wants a short term or long term.
If I am the Canucks,
that is making me sweat through three layers.
Because you just, you feel like you're in the beginning of this thing.
Yes.
You're like, okay, here we go.
Quinn, it's your team, let's go.
There is a chance that he signs an eight-year extension tomorrow.
And that'd be great.
I'd be thrilled.
Because I want Vancouver to be good.
I love that.
I love the core that they have.
But that is making me sweat.
So Willie Nealander and Elias Pedersen, I am like, oh my God.
Big, big action.
Kim, before we go, can we lock in the number over under?
Yeah.
To Foley points for time.
Toff watch this season.
Toth watch.
I want to see if they have one.
He had 73 points last season.
Career high.
Is that for sure correct?
Yeah.
Career high in points, career high in goals for Toth.
I want to say 79.5.
Okay, so clear 80.
I kind of like that.
There's no props available.
I kind of like the clear 80 for the first time.
Yeah?
Because I want, I think.
I think he, I want to go higher than that
because I just think he's on such an explosive team
but that feels unfair
to set the bar like 89 and I'm like
do you have a 9. No, no. I think it's 7.
9.5. Tothwatch has officially begun
70 and he's going held accountable. We're going to call him up and answer
for his crimes if he's going pointless for 70s.
He texted me yesterday and I am like
you realize that we have a prop bet for you.
Toth watch has begun 79 and a half points.
You fucking better. Stay healthy, you bitch.
All right. And on that,
Folks, we're here.
This is the last pod of the off season.
We are fucking back.
You're going to be seeing a lot of us this weekend.
If you're in Buffalo at the Chick-Uts-Up,
come up, say what's up.
Let's grab a beer.
We're going to be posting a ton of stuff,
and this is, again, I'll say this.
Go to our YouTube, hit subscribe,
get a friend to subscribe.
We're going to have a ton of content
on the YouTube coming out with this coming up.
We've got a Boston trip.
We've got Milan Luchich coming on the pod.
We're doing some stuff with our boys Swamen.
We're going to opening night against Connor Badard
in the Blackhawks where he's going to dangle people and then hopefully score.
You better finish.
There's amazing shit coming up.
And until then, skate hard.
