Empty Netters Podcast - 62. Scare Tactics With Jeremy Roenick
Episode Date: November 15, 2023JR joins the pod to talk about how Jumbo Joe should’ve been his next victim and why the Olympics are so cool. He lists his top 5 American players, he changes his grade on Bedard, and yes he still ha...ngs out with Vince Vaughn. SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (00:00) Intro (11:10) Oilers in Shambles (28:23) Laffy is Scorching (40:13) Over/Under Performing (46:20) JR Prank God (51:26) JR Best Teammates (55:03) Olympics (57:38) New England Prep (1:00:26) Jumbo Joe Stories (1:03:20) NHL 94 (1:05:01) Top American Players (1:06:58) Bedard Grade (1:09:40) Pass Shoot Score (1:15:40) Hottest Teams Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All righty, boys and girls, the ice is ready on a new episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
and boy, howdy is it a doozy.
It sure is.
Let's get right into the big news.
One of our white whales joins the pod, the legend himself, Jeremy Roanick, J.R.
on this episode of the Empty Nader's podcast.
I can't believe it.
I'm so pumped, dude.
I've been hunting J.R.
I finally found an opening.
He finally peaked above the water.
Yeah, yeah.
To get a little air.
And I fired my harpoon.
Yep.
And I reeled him in.
And he said, don't shoot at me.
All he had to do was ask.
All he had to do is ask.
And I said, I'm so sorry.
And here we are.
We went straight to the hospital, got that all patched up.
And now, yeah, now he's ready to come on.
He's ready.
He's all healthy and gracing us with his presence.
Yep.
Can't wait for that.
But before we do, I want to do a little no-bucky warm-ups.
Yeah, a little new segment.
Let's get warmed up here.
How to move this weekend?
Curious what you guys think.
It was our buddy's birthday this weekend.
Went out, did a little day hang-ins.
stuff like that.
To be perfectly honest,
it was a little under the weather last week,
so I was kind of licking my wounds a little bit.
I knew I didn't have a full shift in me.
So I needed a break.
I needed to step away for a minute
and then come back to the hang.
I did that.
Uber.
Uber is the worst these days.
That and airlines are the two most broken systems
in this country.
It's so insane how shit Uber is now.
They charge way too much money.
And the strategic surges are so
knowing if you're in a high populated area, they jack those prices way up.
Also, they don't come pick you up.
No.
Okay.
You go, hey.
Christopher.
Uber request.
Perfect transition into my point.
So we're in a high populated area down in Venice.
I open up Uber.
I'm going about 15 minutes down the road.
It was 70 bucks.
So I said, kick rocks Uber.
And I walked, walked a ways away.
Found myself in a new area.
Open up Uber.
It was only 20 bucks.
But then I hit request ride and it says,
Your driver will be here in 20 minutes.
So I popped into a bar right where I was, ordered a glass of rosé, and I sat there, and the waiter came up, or the bartender came up to me, and he went, you would like to see a menu?
I said, no, I'm waiting for an Uber.
And he went, nice move.
And I sat there alone.
I scrolled my phone, gassed a glass rosé, took that final sip, your Uber has arrived, hopped in the car.
do you think about that move when uber's making you wait grab a drink grab a drink um i can't relate
you know me don't drink yeah what if you went in and grabbed a sushi roll somewhere or so or dr pepper
grab a burger i love a good dp you i do love you but yeah yes right you love multiple dps yeah
lots of dps even another one yeah yeah there's others yeah there's others there's others
I think that's a me
Go in and get a cold pop
Yeah refreshing yeah
I like it
But what I don't like about it
I like how you salvaged a situation
What I don't like is it's
Making it more acceptable
To have to wait 20 minutes for an Uber
Like I don't want to create institutions
That allow
Or I don't want to create situations
That allow an institution like Uber
To ruin my life
Yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah
I don't think it's ruining your life
It is though it is
It's getting
expensive.
And time.
Time is inelastic and it's taking up my time.
I made a good time out of a bad time.
Yeah, you did.
And I like that a lot.
That's all I'm saying.
Speaking of drinks, another lap in this warm up.
Let's talk about the Friday beers beer.
Dude.
Finally.
Hold on.
There's two things you think about when I say Friday beers.
What are they?
One, Friday.
Two.
Beer.
Finally.
Makes sense that we would make a beer.
Yep.
Huge.
Launches this Friday.
Quinky dink.
I think not.
You can get it anywhere in Boston, Worcester,
and if it's not where you need it to be,
hit us up.
Yeah.
Seriously, if you're in Boston, Worcester,
and then anywhere else,
and you say, hey, I'd like this beer, hit us up.
We can start widening that net a little bit.
Yep.
But here's the deal.
Friday beers put a lot of tireless effort
into making the most delicious beer
you could ever think of.
It's launching this Friday.
What date?
The...
Let's do that quick math.
What day is at today?
Oh.
Oh, today.
Yeah. So in four days.
The 17th of November, Friday, this beer's going to be, if you're in Boston or Worcester, all over the place, we're going to keep broadening those horizons, but it's a tasty, tasty loggler.
It's a light lager.
Yeah, light lager, which is nice.
We actually, well, we've had it many times, but we got to have it when we were in Boston doing the Luch each episode.
Yeah.
And we had it in the studio before Luch got there. We're just having a few pops, getting loose.
Sat down, cracked a few beers.
Weren't supposed to.
We weren't supposed to.
And we're sitting there on camera drinking them.
And I was like, oh, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa.
Pull, reel it in, boys.
But here's the problem.
It's too good.
It was too good we couldn't stop.
Dude, and I am, this is the most blasphemous thing about me at this, in this almost Friday, Friday beer space.
I'm not a beer guy.
Yeah.
I don't love beer.
And I wouldn't, I wouldn't lie to you.
Every now and then I like a crispy pilser.
Yes.
Give me an ice, ice cold light beer, and I actually am in heaven.
If I'm eating like a burger or something, or at a ball game, even a hockey game, I actually like them in the stadiums.
But if you give me a cold as hell, that doesn't make sense.
Crispy light beer, I'm in, and I'm being dead honest, this light lager is gas.
It's quite good, actually.
It's really good.
It tastes, I don't know if they'll be mad about this, but to me,
to my very ill-informed palate,
it kind of tasted like a Belgian wheat-e.
Yeah, it tastes like cream soda to me.
Yeah, and I love those beers, so I was like, oh, dude, we did it.
We are money.
It tastes like an IBC cream sauce.
I think maybe this beer tastes like however you want it to taste.
That'd be kind of cool.
I think that might have been what they cooked up.
Maybe that's what we do.
Because I feel like to you, to you, it tasted like a Cole of Pilsner.
To me, it tasted like a Belgian wheat.
Yeah.
They might have cooked up something serious.
It's unbelievable.
Which tastes like a Dr. Pepper to Brian.
But yeah, if you're in the Boston-Wister area, this Friday, the almost Friday beer is going to be everywhere.
Give it a try.
You will not regret it.
Last lap of this warm-up.
I want to talk about the global series.
Actually, before I talk about the global series.
Two more lap.
I want to talk about the Hall of Fame.
Yeah.
That was one thing that I quickly noted.
Hank gets into the Hall of Fame over the weekend.
It was lovely to see.
The man is as handsome as ever.
And he laced him up.
Then I saw today.
We're obviously looking to.
to the next, the 2024 Hockey Hall of Fame candidates.
Here are a few names that popped up.
Ready for these?
Knee-jerk reactions.
Patrick Marlow.
First ballot or in at all?
In at all.
Yes.
Eulio Kovilchuk.
Yes.
I actually think he might run into trouble, but I...
Me too.
Ryan Miller.
Yes.
A lot of wins on that boy.
Pavel Dotsuk.
Yeah, come on.
Next question.
Pecker-Rene.
Yes.
He's got a statue.
He's got his number of...
He's got his number retired.
Come on.
Shay Weber.
No.
Ah, no.
It's tough.
He has a thousand games and 589 points for a D-Man.
That's pretty solid.
Everyone's got a thousand games these days.
My neighbor's got a thousand games.
I know.
A lot of people got a thousand games.
But that's a stack class.
That's sick.
And there's guys, there's lingers from previous classes.
I think Getslops lingerie.
You know, like there's guys that are trying to get in still.
Led by Pave?
Oh, yeah, yeah.
My God.
My God.
He's such a beautiful man.
Hall of Fame's amazing.
but just stick taps to Hank
but then also that see in that class
I was like oh damn
Marlow, Colchuk and Dotzuk
I mean good Lord and then obviously
Renee and Miller and Shay
wild stuff
talk to me about the global series
global series this week November 16th
the 19th in Sweden
going to be sick dude
all over
NHL dot com teams are already talking about it
practicing there what it's like there
the locals, all the teams that have
Swedish guys are fired up. They're playing tour guide, the whole
thing. The lineup looks like
this. Thursday, Wings
versus the Senators. Friday, Leifes
versus the Wings. Saturday, Wild
versus the Senators. Sunday, Leifes versus the Wild.
Great slate of games
for the fans over there, spread the game.
What I wanted to ask you.
Wings, Wild, Leif's
Sends. Oh, the
four teams, yes. The Wings, the Wild, the Senators.
Two Canadian, two American. I like that.
Pretty cool. Yeah.
And let's
see some pretty sick jerseys
Ottawa blacks
wings both
leafs both wild
I like the wild jerks
I actually kind of do too
I love that forest green
it's unique there's no other team that has that green
so they're seeing some pretty cool sweaters
I've heard a lot
of chatter already
from players
assistant coaches whatever
who have done trips like this
that they're like
dude this is where
the team really
comes together. Luchich, dude, bringing up that episode again, he said that year that they won
the cup when we asked him, they started that season in Prague, I'm pretty sure. Yeah. And he was like,
it changed, just set the tone for the whole year, for the boys. No distractions just with the
fellas. I really think this is going to have a massively positive impact on all four of these
teams. I completely agree. Because of that. Let me tell you what, dude, this is sleepaway camp.
Yes. Road trips and sleepaway camps.
forge lifelong bonds.
You need more of them.
I can't believe that not every single team every year
at the beginning of the year doesn't do some sort of sleep boy camp.
I agree.
L.A. went to Australia with the Yotes.
Obviously, look at the Yotes.
Look at L.A.
The proof is in the pudding.
You got to get the boys together,
sleeping in bunk beds, sleeping in hotel rooms together,
just hanging out on.
on the road all the time.
You're just going to bond.
It's a no-brainer.
What I don't think, and the Yotes are actually kind of proving this maybe wrong.
What I don't think is sleepaway camp is the cure-all.
And I don't think the sharks could go to sleepaway camp right now and come back and be contenders.
I think if the sharks went to a sleepaway camp came back, they'd win three or five.
Oh, okay.
And I think the Yotes...
Does it last forever?
No.
Gives you some juice.
Yep.
But I think, I do think that sleepaway camp can take a contender and make them the real deal.
Yeah, dude.
You know who needs to go to sleepaway camp right now?
Who?
The Edmonton Oilers.
Yeah, dude.
If I were knoblock.
That'd be my first order of business.
Perfect little transition here.
If I were knoblock, my first order of business would be taking the boys to a sleepaway camp.
Yeah.
Just a quick getaway.
Dude, they need something.
Let's talk about it.
This is hot ice.
This is some of the hotter ice we've had.
We're into hot ice and the hottest ice right now is over the weekend,
Jay Woodcroft, fired by the Edmonton Oilers.
Canned, gassed.
New coach, Chris Knoblock,
Connor McDavid's old Erie Otters coach has been given the job.
He was the coach of the Hartford Wolfback.
He is now the head coach of the Oilers.
Let's talk, dude.
Give us some info on Woodcroft.
Woodcroft in 133.
regular season games.
Yeah.
He was 79, 41, and 13.
Good record.
Good record.
He was 14 and 14 in the playoffs,
which is not like the best record,
but the playoffs are hard.
You've won playoff series.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
The Oilers made the playoffs in each of the past two seasons,
but were eliminated by the eventual Stanley Cup champion each time.
They were swept by the aves,
and then they lost in six to Vegas.
You wanted to pose this question.
Did?
Yeah.
Did Woodcroft deserve this?
For me, dude?
No.
And here's my issue.
I don't think, and I want to begin this entire segment with we don't know shit about what's going on behind closed doors in the locker room.
And in fact, McDavid was interviewed today and was asked if Woodcroft lost the locker room, if they knew this was coming.
he was like, no, he did not lose the locker room at all.
So it sounds like from the players, there was no disconnect with Woodcroft and the boys.
This was a, you know, organization decision.
That was like, listen, we are three, nine and one.
We've got to change things up here.
So it's good to hear that.
Jay will find a new job.
Oh, yeah, yeah, for sure.
He might find a new job this year.
We did some hockey talk over the weekend, and a lot of people asked,
great questions of
is this the coach's fault
that you have, dude
sometimes
it feels like coaches get dismissed
when they don't deserve it.
I remember when Claude Julian was fired by the Bruins
more specifically when Bruce Cassidy
was fired by the Bruins.
It felt like a Jesus dude.
I don't know if he was the fall guy here.
Unfortunately,
firing the coach is the easiest thing to do.
That's what fans need to understand.
It is easier than making a big trade
It's easier than, in my opinion, removing the GM or the president.
It's just, it is the easiest axe to swing.
Did Jay deserve to get fired?
I agree with you.
No.
However, I do think this had to happen.
You cannot be this Edmonton Oilers team who was the best team last year for the second
half of the season.
Better than the Bruins.
You crunched those numbers.
Yeah, yeah.
Math guy CP.
You came into the season, and every single.
single book had them as a top three team
to be a favorite for the cup.
And you start this bad
and your big guys are going, by
their standards, are going as slow as
they are. Something has
something's got to give and unfortunately
like I said, that is
the easiest one and
this had to happen. The coach firing is the easiest
you're spot on with that. Here's my
pushback. They
did, Julian's
a perfect example. Cassidy
and I don't, I'm not spreading
rumors or anything. But we'd heard, we've said this on the pod, we'd heard some stuff about
some players in Boston, maybe weren't aligned with his philosophy or whatever.
Dude, we're big Butch guys. We're not ruffling feathers by saying this. Butch is a hard
guy to play for. Everyone who's ever played for him will admit that. He's, he's a tough
as nails dude. He is not afraid to give it to any player in the locker room. And some guys
don't vibe with that. So if he, if he, I didn't want him to get fired, but people were
If the management felt like we need him to go because of what the team wants and needs, then so be it.
The Julian thing, and I liked Clode a lot too, Clode Julian very simply, and I think, but I passionately
believe this happens in pro sports, just ran into a, we need a new voice.
It's not, you didn't lose the locker room.
You're not, it's not, you don't have bad philosophies.
We just need a new culture change.
You need to pick me up.
And that happens.
those I can excuse and accept and forgive because you're like I shake his hand on the way out.
Thank you so much.
I'm sorry we just needed a new POV in here.
For me, Woodcroft has not been there long enough to justify a new voice.
It's three seasons, I think, or something like that.
And if he didn't lose the locker room, which that's what Connor said, we don't know anything.
Maybe he did and Conner's just being nice on the way out.
If he didn't lose the locker room, you are not in a, it's his, his,
speech is tired, we need a new voice right now. You are off to a humiliating start. Awful.
Humiliating horrific start and you are clowns. If it's me, I let the boys and Woodcroft
pull their way out of this. The fear is if you wait another month and a half and they still haven't,
you're now completely fucked because even a new voice isn't going to get you back into the
playoffs. But there has just been nothing put on paper by this roster or, you know, the roster
of the last couple years and Woodcroft at the head of it
that has said they can't
like they've been good
he showed up and they've been good they're in a
humiliating rut but I'm like
don't you have the answer in house here
it was such a quick trigger dude I cannot believe
I don't think it was a quick trigger
I don't think it was I mean that's
kind of ridiculous to say because I just said
what they're three nine and one so you're
13 games yeah and that's a big
that's a big enough to them like this is bad
that's fucking bad yeah like this
this we were making jokes
is Jay on the hot seat, you know, four games ago.
Yeah.
And they're one in three in those next four games.
And I'm kind of like, you can't let this go on much longer.
Let's say you let this go on for seven more games and you go one and six in those games.
You are now big fucked.
So, yeah, I just, I don't know, dude.
It's you are, you're so unacceptably bad for the personnel on this team that, like I said, something has to happen.
I don't know if it was firing the coach.
That's all I was going to ask you
Do you think genuinely
Whatever problems are ailing the oilers right now
Do you think it was coaching
Is why they're three and nine
Or is it fucking performance on the eye?
I don't necessarily think that
But again I don't know that
And that's not a pop out answer
It's like these are the things that exist
You can only know this if you're part of the team
To me if there were brutal injuries right now
That guys were playing through
And this is what was going on
You don't fire him
Because internally you go like this
Dude this is not my fault
six of our guys are brutally injured, yada, yada, yada.
I think given the fact that he's fired, that's not the case.
But we look at these Leon interviews.
We look at the, Connor looks 10 years older.
Yeah, he's A.
And that's not a chirp, dude.
That's me showing sympathy for him.
Yeah.
These guys are pissed, dude.
Yeah.
And unfortunately, Jay gets beheaded here, and I don't think he deserves it.
But if this turns things around, because you do need to pull up hard here
this Oilers team.
Because the trade conversations are already happening.
There are tons of people having conversations about do you trade Leon,
do you trade Connor for a big, for a goalie, for a big piece, whatever, whatever.
This is now the fifth coach that Connor McDavid has had in his time with the Oilers.
That is too many.
Yeah.
And dude, you said, or I think someone sent us a DM that was like,
trade Connor to LA, King's Ransom Part 2, and that was, you know, just probably a Kings fan.
But I did smile thinking, if Connor got traded, that would be illy.
Yeah, it would be insane.
Oilers fans, I'm not saying that I want that.
I'm just saying, dude, could you blame him?
We are in a players league now.
Guys are dictating where they want to be, where they want to sign long term.
And if you think Connor McDavid is just going to, that guy is so fucking competitive.
and he is so good.
If you think he is going to just sit there and be like this,
it's Edmonton or nowhere and deal with whatever.
If that guy misses the playoffs one more time,
do you know how old he is?
No.
He's 26 years old.
Yeah.
That's young.
That is so fucking young.
Look at Sidney Crosby right now.
What is he?
36.
No.
Yeah, 36.
And he is still playing at the elite level he is.
All signs point to Connor doing exactly that.
That's 10 years from now.
So if you think right now in like truly the beginning of his prime prime, I mean he's been in his prime his entire career, but in the beginning of his prime prime, if you think he's just going to go, you know what? We're going to go through rough patches here. Absolutely not, dude. I think he is like, bro, fix this or I'm the fuck out. And I would not blame him at all. Dude, Edmonton Oilers are an amazing franchise and I've got nothing but love for the people of Alberta. But let's be real. That's a tough place to play. Dude, it's cold as shit. You get taxed out the ass.
and you're dealing with love them or hate him, Canada media.
Look at the questions that these guys get asked.
Look at how annoyed they seem every single time they do any sort of player media, any sort of interviews.
You think that he wouldn't maybe take his bags down to somewhere like Vegas, somewhere like the Panthers.
It's just like these options are out there.
So you better write the ship quick or you're going to lose one of the top three players in NHL history.
And I also think to kind of contradict myself, I don't think Woodcroft is like this legend.
And you're like, you can't afford, like, what if we're wrong?
What if he was going to save it?
You know, it's like he's an unfortunate casualty.
We can both agree with that.
But you kind of convince me in that I'm like, here's one for you.
This was only ever going to work if they had something to avenge.
So like they needed, this will actually rally the boys around.
They'll be like, I cannot believe we got Jay fired.
Yeah.
because we suck, which they do, and it's been their fault, not his, so far.
But maybe this is the wake-up call, like, wow, we fucked Jay over, so at least let's get our shit together now.
Dude, and you know what I find interesting?
Can you do me a favor?
Look up nurse's numbers right now.
I think he's got something like a goal and three assists in 13 games or something like that as a D-Man.
And I believe he's making 9-mill a year.
Brian, do me a favor.
You look that up.
Look up the Oilers cap space and tell me how much Darnell Nurse is making.
I think he makes $9 million a year.
He's got four points in 13 games this year.
Okay, so I sniked that.
I mean, I looked it up earlier.
I mean, I'm not giving myself a plus for that one.
Fucking genius.
But we talked about Campbell, right?
Jack Campbell is making 5 mil.
They just assigned him to the HL.
And now we got Nurse.
Brian, 9 mil a year?
Yeah, 9.25, 9.25 a year.
9.25 a year.
Nersie is a guy who has been,
who is an unbelievable player, person, and ambassador for the game,
but in the last two years, even last year, when they were playing so well,
people were like he's not making, he's not playing to that contract.
I think the Oilers need to be more open to damage control.
Dude, look at teams who have dealt with stuff like this in the past.
Look at the wild when they bought out Souter and when they bought up preys.
It hurts.
Sometimes you just need to do it.
Look at Boston when they had Bacchus and his $6 million and they made it work.
They ate some of the contract, but they traded him.
auto loss to Anaheim, you need to talk to these players, maybe consider an organizational change,
see if they'll waive some of their no-move clauses, and then talk to teams who could use it.
Maybe you eat some of the contract, but I think they need to be more open to like, listen, dude,
something's not working.
We need to start moving some pieces.
Because while you eat some, you also free up the contract and we move on.
There's a new opportunity for new players, but something needs to change here.
And I'm looking at the veteran group.
I think some of the veterans, they need to start being like, I don't know, man.
Maybe we move someone on.
I think Ryan Nugent Hopkins had a 100-point year last year, first time in his career.
He's been on the Oilers this entire time, right?
Do I think Nuge is the problem?
No.
Yeah.
But do I think maybe someone playing with Connor and Leon is going to have a really good output as well?
and maybe you just move, he's got a movable contract.
I think he makes $6 million a year.
These are questions that you need to be very open to answer.
Especially with your record.
They would not be being asked if you guys were in first place.
So this is the next thing that I wanted to bring up.
I think when you look at Connor McDavid,
the two guys that are compared to him more often than not
is Sidney Crosby and Nathan McKinnon.
Sydney Crosby entered the league in 0506.
That year, they'd miss playoffs.
The next year, they lost the Sends in five games
in the first round. The year after that, they went to the cup and lost to the wings in six.
Then the year after that, they went to the cup against the wings and one in seven. So it took
Sidney Crosby four seasons to win a Stanley Cup. Nathan McKinnon entered the league in 13-14.
Lost in seven in the first round of the wild. Missed the playoffs. Missed the playoffs. Missed the playoffs.
Damn. So went to the playoffs, then missed three years in a row. Then lost in six to the Preds in the
first round. Lost in seven to the sharks in the second round. Lost in seven to the
stars in the second round, lost in six to the knights in the second round. So for one, two, three,
four, five, six, seven, eight years. Couldn't get out of second round. Nate Dogg didn't get
out of the second round. Then he won the cup in six against the bolts. Yeah. Connor McDavid,
entered the league in 15-16. Missed the playoffs. Lost in seven to the ducks in the second round.
Missed the playoffs, missed the playoffs, missed the playoffs, lost in that qualifying round to the
black ice. Swept by the jets in the first round, swept by the abs in the conference final.
lost in sixth the nights in the second round last year.
So he has been further than Nate Dog was.
He has missed the playoffs the exact same amount of times as Nate Dog.
So for Connor McDavid and Oilers fans, I think that that is actually good information.
Me too.
I thought this was going to, yeah.
It's a don't fully panic situation.
But I do look at the abs and up to the last year.
I look at the way they drafted, the way they built around it, and more importantly
do the contracts. Yeah, right. That to me is the difference. And I think
Edmonton, your lesson here, if you, if you're open to input, is, I think there are
changes that need to be made as far as the team and your salary cap. And that's not fucking
rocket science. I'm not going, oh, look at me. But I am saying this does not feel like a
situation where you go like this. Write it out, baby. We're fine. Yeah, they worry me.
they've always worried me
because they feel super top heavy
obviously but
the it's hard
you need you need every dude
winning the cup is so fucking hard
you need incredible goaltending
and opportunistic goaltending
and you need depth
and I think they're lacking
in those buckets
I love everything you're saying
yes you need to have those conversations
Edmonton
that's why I'm kind of like
firing the head fucking coach
didn't do fix any of that
and maybe it was just the spark
maybe that's all it needed to be
And like I said, it was an unfortunate casualty.
But yeah, like those issues are much, in my opinion,
were much more pressing than the fucking head coach.
So it'll be interesting to see if they turn it around.
And by the way, because I'm always fucking right.
By the way, if they get good now,
I'm not even sure I'll declare it was because of the head coaching change.
Because I might be like, I'm like,
they might have just got hot anyway.
Or they might have not even been hot.
They might have just started playing to their potential anyway.
Yeah.
You know, like it's tricky.
And I'll never know, right?
Because I don't live in the multiverse, but I don't buy that they couldn't have turned this around on their own with Woodcroft.
If they start winning right now, I mean, the new coach bump is real.
It always happens.
So we're likely going to see that.
The only reason I didn't feel confident in the, we're just going to get hot, is all of their interviews, dude.
They don't sound confident that things are going to get going here.
Like they're, you know, they're just not getting the right looks or something like, like, do that.
They're losing badly.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
These teams.
Sharks lost.
The goalie situation is very bad.
So, yeah, I think that this, a change was necessary.
I don't necessarily think this was the right change, but one was necessary, and this is what they chose.
Let's go to the other side of the spectrum.
Yeah.
And talk about a team that is as hot as has ever been in the New York Rangers.
My goodness.
Wow.
So many stick taps to the Rangers.
There's so much hilarious bits that goes on with.
us and the Rangers.
So first, let's say this.
The Rangers are 11, 2, and 1.
They have the third best record in the league,
which is nasty.
They are dominating the MET,
the very underperforming MET,
the very underperforming top half of the MET.
The Rangers are dominating.
You had asked me,
who'd they beat, though?
So I want to go through that.
This is not, we're going to get into all the positive,
so Rangers fans calm down,
we're not talking shit here.
But 11, 2 and 1,
here's their season.
beat the Sabres who are 7-7-1, lost to the jackets who are 4-7-4,
beat Arizona who is 7-6-1, lost to the Preds who are 5 and 9,
beat the Cracken who are 5-7-3, beat the Flames who are 4-8-2, beat Edmonton who's 3-9-1,
O-T win against the Canucks who are 11-3-1, O-T win against the Jets who are 7-5-and-2,
beat Carolina who's 9-6, lost to the Wild who are 5-8-2,
beat the Wings, who are 8-8-2, beat the Wild who are 5-8-2, beat the Jackets,
who are 4, 7-4, and 4.
So I think four of those, that right?
Four of those 11 wins are against above 500 teams.
Yes, but my, and that is a fact.
I'm not talking shit.
I'm just saying facts because I'm going to get into what I'm very excited about
about their Rangers team.
But I will say this, to me, the Sabres win.
Like Sabers are 7 and 7, but I'm like, the Sabres are fucking good.
And they whack them.
And that's a good win.
Carolina, and Carolina is actually 9 and 6, so that one counted anyway, but like,
Carolina is good.
I know they had a slow start, but that is a fucking meaningful win.
They are very underperforming, but that is a meaningful win and a division one.
Yep, Canucks win, sick, obviously.
And even this one, we're just talked about it, but like, Edmonton win.
I'm like, that's a good win.
Like, you beat the Oilers and Connerick David.
I don't think we're allowed to say that's a good win when they just lost from the sharks.
So I hear you, but most importantly, and by the way, based on their losses to the fucking
Preds and the Wiles and the Wight.
It is not easy.
Wins don't come easy in this league.
Win is a win is a win as a win as a win.
Win is a win as a win.
win. Absolutely. So they got 11 of them. And they have the third best record in the league and they're fucking hot. And what I love about the Rangers right now is their gritty wins, dude. Yeah, yeah. Last night against the Blue Jackets who are 4, 7 and 4. There's great talent on that blue jackets team and you were losing and you scored with 11 seconds left. And who scored? Laffey. Let's talk about Laffey. Let's talk about Alexie Laffer. Two tucks last night. We're recording on Monday. Two tucks last night. We're recording the shootout winner. Which was putrid. Putrid. Shut out last dude because I'm watching that replay all the time. I don't know why Laffey wouldn't.
seven goals.
Everyone in the media, everyone on Twitter,
get off my fucking boy Johnny Laz's back.
Johnny asked Laugh,
how many times he would watch that shootout goal over
and Laugh said probably zero.
And some people on Twitter were like,
dude, imagine a loser asking that type of question.
This goes into what we always talk about.
Imagine being such a hardo on Twitter
that you can't have fun.
We're fans, dude.
What if you had Johnny's job?
Wouldn't you ask?
Hell yeah.
Have fun?
Fuck off.
Right.
Las asked Lafranier how many times
he'd watch the replay of that goal.
And then someone posts that
comments, whoever this person is who asked that, take their press pass away immediately and
forever. And the top comment is last. And he says, I don't know who it was. But what do you say?
He goes, I don't know, no clue, but I agree. Yeah, no clue it was, but I agree.
It's classic. Instagram commenters are a different breed of like stupid. It's remarkable.
But so let's get into life. Seven goals, four, assists, 11 points in 14 games. He's playing on the
second line with Trocheck and Breadman. Get in top six minutes. Like everyone.
been asking. So here's what I want to say. I've got so many conversations about this. We obviously
had our funny big jump moment in the pre-hmm. What people forget about that clip is we said we want
Laffey to be good. And by the way, it was Laffey and Caco. So Rangelo fans, you're going to have to
have that conversation. Yeah. We want him to be good. We were laughing at every year Rangers fans
going, it's happening. It's happening now. This is the big jump year. But here it is. The Rangers
have been good for several years. Yeah, hell yeah. And it is very hard.
for a number one overall pick with that pressure in a market like the Rangers
to immediately be a difference maker on that team.
When you're Connor Bardard and you go on the Chicago team
who has the grocery bagger playing on the third line,
it's easier to be an immediate difference maker.
When Lathie is going up against guys like Chris Kreider,
Artemey Panarin, Mika Zabinajad, trying to get top six minutes,
and not to mention all those other guys like Trocheck,
who are really good players who are also in the,
running to be like a heedal too.
Yeah, yeah.
It's hard to get top six minutes.
To me, last year felt like the year it should have happened.
And it felt like Galant kept going, you're playing on the second line today.
But if you fuck up, you're gone.
Yep.
And that destroys a player's confidence.
This year, Laviolet has come in and gone.
Laffey, you are playing top six minutes all season long.
Your leash is longer.
I'm excited to see what you can do.
And it has been awesome to see what that confidence for a player,
of his skill set can do when he knows he has the freedom to play his game.
And we're seeing it right now with what, 11 points in 14 games.
It's so awesome.
And this might be what this Rangers team has been missing.
It might be that thing that gets them over the hump.
When you all of a sudden have a guy like Laugh who's going,
I'm playing to my potential now, that might be that little piece,
that little extra kick that goes, you're now a Stanley Cup winning team.
Yeah, and he's fucking so young still.
So all, I don't even knock, as fun as it is to clown the Rangers fans who every year,
this is the year for Lafey, I don't even knock them saying that because they're so young still.
You know, if he was, if he was 27 and still waiting for the big jump, I'd be like, yeah, dude,
it's not happening, but he's a child still.
Literally.
So I am very willing to eat crow on like, oh, this is the year Laffey makes the jump guys.
It's fucking same story every season.
wrong he made the jump dude he looks nasty but I'm also I'm not willing to eat crow because we didn't say he
wasn't going to make the jump I but it was fun to be like okay here we go yeah what I'll take
he did it what I will take my medicine on is the fans I can't make fun of you on that anymore yeah
with laughing with laughing yeah you know who I can is caco and you rangers fans are very comically
quiet about caco but same argument though right because they're like and no one's yelling at us
about this, but they're like, he's not top six. You can only do it when he gets top six minutes.
And I actually will slightly push back on that argument too, because I think if Lafey was playing
as well as he's playing right now last year on the third line, he would have been producing more.
And that's the confidence thing. Yeah, but he wasn't able to play like this because he doesn't
have the mindset that he has. And that's a very real thing. But it just, it annoys me when people
are like, well, dude, he's only not good because he's on the third line. I'm like, that's not true,
dude. Like if there are, if Lafey's as good as you guys are all claiming he is, you could put,
you can put an elite winger on the third line on any team right now and they will be pretty
good because they're an elite winner. They'll be better in the top six, obviously, but you can
play them on the third line and they will produce. Look at a number of these rookies right now,
Matt Potra being one of them who has seven points already as a third line center. Like it's
not impossible to produce on the third line. Is it better to be surrounded with fucking
Panarin and Trocheque? Yeah, no shit. But and again, I'm happy for the kid.
I said at the beginning of this season, after week one, I was,
actually on this before you. Week one, I was like, the Rangers
look re-energized. The Rangers look
fucking fantastic. You were so right. Yeah, so
I'm all about. To sort of
dispel the fun bit, like, I love
the race. I love this Rangers team. I
like to clown on you fans.
But like, obviously, I love Crider.
I'm the biggest Kandre Miller fan in the
world. And
dude, I tweeted this the other day.
Panarin is
quietly...
Fucking nasty. A top three player in the NHL.
Like, we... In our top
100 list. We put him top 20 where he
obviously belonged. Yeah, and we had Ziba over him.
Yep, which... Which I don't even
hate, but... Yeah, I don't either because Ziba is so
fucking nasty. But dude, Panarin
is ridiculous. He's involved
in every game. He has a point
in all 14 games they have played this season.
And his career stats are moronic.
It's ridiculous. So, big
ups to the Rangers right now. Not to mention
they're doing this with Shasturkin out,
with Foxy out. Insane. Those guys
are going to come back. And here's a big one for me.
is Heidel is out. People keep forgetting that.
Heedle is out, and I think that's going to be a very interesting situation when he comes back
where he goes in the law. Agreed. I think he could go to the, Heidel to me is such a mentally
tough dude. Yeah. He is a, he's a, a, a J.T. Confer for me, plays all up and down the line.
You can put Heidel on the first, second, third, and fourth line, and he's still going to produce.
So I think it is a great problem to have for them with that. Yeah. With that, and then the last
Ranger's stroke job I want to do right now, give me a little more spit so I can finish this job off.
Eric Gustafson has been such a money pickup for that.
I think for them.
I think in the 14 games,
I think he has 10 points from the blue line.
He's adding a level of toughness.
He's jumping up in the rush.
Dude, that cried a goal the other night.
Oh my God.
The whole play.
It was a defensive zone, neutral zone, and offensive zone,
just making such a difference all over the ice.
These dudes are jelling and clicking like I haven't seen them in the last three years.
I mean, it's so early,
but you could not be more happy with.
what you're seeing.
Go back, everybody, and watch that, the Crider goal we're talking about.
It was a one-timer, first goal of the game, second goal of the game.
I can't remember, but you'll find it easier than enough.
They went down 1-0 and then they tied up.
Dude, Wheels comes up the right wing and sends a pass back to the high slot, which goes to
Gustafson, and then he fakes a shot, slides it over to Criter one-timer.
It's Wheeler's pass.
Maybe Wheeler's looking at Gustafsson, too, but Wheeler's pass is Crider's about to get it.
And Gustafsson's behind him.
And then last minute, Crider picks his stick out, like dummy.
He's at like soccer almost, and it goes to Gustafin,
which means he's seeing that play developed.
Like, he's the one that's yelling at Crider,
leave it, because he can tell what's about,
like, he's two steps ahead of the play.
Because you don't know who's right behind you right there,
because other teams always like, leave it, drop, you know,
like, you never know.
And that was all Gustafsson.
That was like, damn, that was 3D chess on that goal, dude.
Just phenomenal stuff.
Yeah, I mean, these boys are in flow state right now.
Yeah, they are, dude, it's fucking sick.
And by the way, dog, you can't.
I love, 82 games is so funny because it's like NFL, 16 games, every fucking game is so important.
MLB, it's like, whatever, dude, it's like there's a thousand games.
Yeah.
82 games is so interesting because it's long, it's early, it's long season, we're fine until it isn't.
And we're right at that point where it's like, trends are being set, teams are established themselves.
And if you're a Keynes fan, if you're a Devils fan, you can bang me its early drum all you want.
But if you get too far behind the New York right now, you will not.
not catch them. Like, you will play better all year and you can make it close. I'm sure it'll get
feisty, but like, slow them down right now if you're in the Met because they're going to
go. With the skidding met, the Rangers look like what, what Vegas and Boston did last year, where they're
going to get out to such a hot start that you're never going to catch. Yep. So it's going to be a
battle for a second. So if you're the Rangers, keep the foot on the gas. And that is why I brought up
that schedule. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Maybe they really haven't played that many great strong teams.
I mean, you think about the steel in the NHL. They haven't played any of them. But
You've got Dallas and Boston coming up here in your next several games.
That's going to be a really fun test for Rangers fans and just NHL fans to see how these teams match up.
Before we get into the Roneck interview, I want to do some over-under with you.
And by that I mean, let's just look at where we are right now, kind of what we were just talking about,
who are some teams that you think are overperforming right now and who are some teams that you think are underperforming?
And in that, I mean, maybe some teams are going to cool off coming down here and maybe some teams are going to catch fire.
Am I going to say this team is overperforming but they're going to cool off or do you want me to just say and it's fun even if I think they're going to cool off?
Either because I have some that I think are underperforming and I don't know that they're going to they're going to start.
I'll start right off the bat here because I've got a little add on to it.
I think this Toronto Maple Leafs team is in trouble.
Oh shit, not me.
I think they're in trouble because they have some unreal play going on right now.
Austin Matthews, Willie Nealender.
Stud.
And like Mitch Marner is just so fucking unbelievable.
Yep.
Dude, this is the leakiest Toronto team I've seen in years.
They just give up goals.
And they're eight, five, and two.
They're a breath away from being eight and seven.
Like those, you know, those OT losses could have just been regular losses.
And then you're like, holy shit, what's going on here?
Yeah.
So I am so rattled about them.
And then my bigger thing with them is the Willie Nealander thing.
Yeah.
We're not going to waste.
much time on this, but
Willie Nealander, this
is the picture
perfect contract season.
When you have a contract coming up and you're
an elite player, this is exactly
the season that you want to have. And if he
stays on this pace, he is going to demand
over $11 million a year.
As is his right.
There is no chance
that they can keep him on this team
with the roster. There's no
little, I just don't believe
they can tick-tack, you know,
five players out the door to keep him.
So that means one of Morgan Riley, Austin Matthews, lull, Mitch Marner, John Tavares,
and Willie Nealander is gone next year.
Now, if you're looking at it from a business decision, the obvious answer would be you trade
Willie now so you get something for him.
But there is no way that you can trade Willie.
Yep.
So I think we are staring down the barrel of this Toronto Maple Leafs team going, well, we just
have to win. We have to win this year. And Willie will leave for free, but if we win, it's all
worth it. And I just think, like I said, this is the leakiest team. There's no way as they're
playing. They can win the Stanley Cup. So you are staring down the barrel, smiling with all your
teeth at watching William Nealander leave for free. And that is the crazy thing.
Take his stack of cash on down the road, dude. See you later. When you lose in the first or second
round and then Willie Nealander goes like, I just had a hundred and twenty-five points season. He goes
like this. I'm leaving, by the way, because
so-and-so is offering me 11.5 a year.
Yeah.
Yeah, they, I'm not there yet, but that's very, well, the
Nealander thing is all correct, and the Leafs overall,
I'm not there yet, but it's a massive concern.
I'm ignoring the, like, oilers are underperforming, you know,
like, there's some bad shit. The lightning are
underperforming for me. Only because,
like I said last week, they're getting good goalie play.
I was worried they would have bad.
goalie play till Vasi came back, so I wouldn't really care that they were six, five, and four,
because I was like, once they get Vasi back, they are getting good goalie play right now,
so I'm like, oh, you need to be a little bit better than you are. And I'm not, we joke last
week, too, they don't care about seating or anything like that, but I'm like, you're not very
good right. Yeah. Like, you're not even a playoff team right now. You know who is not?
Victor Headman. Yeah. We rank Victor Hadman very high, and some people were like,
ah, Headman's not that good anymore. And we were like, dude, two seasons ago, he had like 82 points.
Yeah.
Dude,
Victor had been
such a weapon.
It's unbelievable.
Capitals,
overperforming for me,
just because I thought
they were trash.
Especially with Backstrom out.
Yeah,
I was like,
you guys are awful.
I told you,
you were not considering
some of their guys
coming back into the lineup,
but Backstrom is gone.
They didn't even come back,
yeah.
But they're doing what I thought
they would do,
but without Backstrom,
so I can't take credit.
Yeah, right, fair.
Buffalo,
Buffalo is,
unfortunately,
looks exactly the same
as last year.
I know.
Exactly the same.
And I'm like, I need a little bump.
And thank God for UPL.
Because if UPL wasn't playing as well as he is,
they would have a lot more losses.
But they're doing that same trick-or-treat thing, dude,
where they're getting monster wins
and then just losing four-nothing to teams.
They have no business losing to.
Yep.
So, yeah.
And the last one, I'll hit you with to actually,
I mean, because I think the Yotes, the Ducks,
they've been really fun, the Habs.
Like, these teams are overperforming.
Yotes Ducks Habs all over performing.
That's awesome.
And the Spunk are Spunkless right now.
and we're figuring it out.
This one, though, the wild are a bad hock.
They're a big problem.
And I'm like, my two quote-unquote underperforming in the West that I wanted to bring up was the Wild and the Preds.
But the Preds, people forget that Trots just came in.
Yeah.
You know, the Dutchy Exodus thing, the Joey Exodus thing is like they're kind of rebuilding.
So I give them a bit of a pass.
Minnesota, you are underperforming.
Oh, dude.
And I think Wild fans feel it.
Wild fans are so nice and so positive and just so happy to watch hockey.
But for the first time, we're seeing a lot of Wild fans in the DMs and the comments being like, what the fuck is going on with the wild?
And rightfully so.
And like I said, it's early, it's early till it isn't.
And I'm like, dude, you're in a hole.
Yeah, yeah.
Wild, you got to pull up hard because this is crazy.
The Ducks, dude, are quietly the youngest, funnest team.
Yeah, it's awesome.
I thought the Yotes were America's team and they might be, but it also might be the Ducks.
It might be the Ducks, dude.
Yep.
The ducks, the youth in
Leo Carlson who's so good.
Christ.
Minchikov.
Yep.
Terry, McTavish,
Zegris.
Yep.
And Zeris will come good.
Mm-hmm.
He's hurt.
He's hurt.
He's hurt.
He's been hurt.
But God, is that a fun.
Yeah, they're sick.
That is a fun.
Yep.
Young five.
So, wild stuff.
Uh, okay.
We have made people wait long enough.
Yeah.
Let's kick it to this unbelievable interview
with one of the greatest beauties.
in the history of the NHL, American legend.
Enjoy.
Jeremy Ronick.
It is truly our honor to be joined by a nine-time all-star, Canada Cup silver medalist,
Olympic silver medalist, Boston Native.
Yes, sir.
A guy with the 16th most game-winning goals in NHL history, which is a sixth stat.
Eighth overall pick up the Chicago Blackcox in the 88 draft and the third American ever
to score 500 goals.
Jeremy Roanick, welcome to the Anthony Ners podcast.
Oh, pretty awesome.
Awesome, man. Great introduction. I feel good about myself again.
That's awesome. Thanks, I appreciate that.
Oh, dude, we're pumped to have you.
J.R., we have, I know you're in a rush, but we've got a ton that we want to talk about.
And I'd need to jump into right off the bat. I think, obviously, huge, huge fan of you for a billion reasons.
Without a doubt, the thing that stands out most to me is your acumen with pranks.
And we've heard all the stories. The pranks are unbelievable.
But I want to talk about quickly. I know you've told the story.
story about the Tori Mitchell prank, but can you tell me quickly? When did you start getting into
pranks? When did you want to do stuff like this? And with that one specifically, how in the
world did you get in touch with the people of prank encounters? Scare tactics. Or scare tactics.
Yeah, scare tactics to like make that happen. Yeah, that's a great. I mean, it's a great question.
Well, pranks have been going on in the locker rooms for, you know, since you were a kid, right? So I was
always a prankster and getting pranked on and throwing pranks left and right. It was never a day you didn't
going to the locker room where you didn't have to have your head on a swivel looking to see
what somebody was going to do to you, whether jump out of the, out of the locker and scare the
hell out of you, or put baby powder in the hair dryer, you know, after after after a shower
and just ends up all over you. Just so many different things that happened. So for me, you know,
pranking was was a big, was a big part of being a team, right? And pranking guys and sharing
those experiences with guys. And, you know, obviously, just really,
really just coming to the last part of my career.
And the last one that I did with Tori Mitchell,
where I did hire Scare Tactics.
I had a friend who actually worked in the same production studio as Scare Tactics.
And I was a big fan of their show, and I got a hold of them.
And we figured out of this lengthy, this lengthy prank that took a couple months to get ready for.
And, I mean, it was a big, it was a big dealing.
I mean, they, they really, it was a big production.
Yeah.
And, you know, to scare, to scare an NHL hockey player enough to have them jump out a double pain window through a metal blinds, like literally jump through metal blinds, knowing there's a window on the other side, that is, I think that's the, that's the epitome of the perfect and best prank of all time.
And that scare tactics was great in terms of their realism, how scary this, the whole situation was.
the house, the actors that did that came involved.
You know, my GM didn't like it that much too much because, you know, obviously he would
like it a lot more if Tori didn't jump out a window, but it turned out that he was, he survived
that he survived the jump, ended up in Wayne Newton's Lama Pen and escaped the, the
escape the man eating cannibals that were coming after him.
How many days went by before Tori spoke to you again?
That's my biggest question.
No, he was fine.
I mean, he was shaking.
He was thrilled you were alive, dude.
There's no question.
Yeah, yeah.
There's just a lot of, I'm sure, going through his head, you know,
and we talked about it, and we all laughed.
And, you know, the bad thing that happened to Tori is a week later in camp.
He broke his leg majorly in a scrimmage game in practice.
and literally was probably the start to the end of his career because he broke his legs so bad
that it took him six, seven months really to get back from that.
So that was the worst part that happened to Tori in that year.
Did, are you, now that you've retired and you're not in the locker and vibe,
did you hang up the pranks or are you still prank Sinatra?
Like, is everyone's head on a swivel when you're around or what?
I still got my family.
I still got my family and friends.
So, yeah, well, you know, every year I go,
On a golf trip with 16 of my closest friends, we do a rider cup either in Pebble Beach.
This year we're doing it at Diamante in Cabo.
Oh, amazing.
There always seems to be a lot of pranks happening during that time, too.
But, you know, the pranks are great.
Like, I play pranks on my son.
I play pranks on my wife.
I play pranks on my friends, and they do it back.
You know, it's a form of love, I guess you can say.
Yeah, it's the best.
That's your love language.
I like that.
I keep my head on a swivel next time we're all in the same place, though.
For damn, sure.
Yeah.
100%.
Okay, so, J.R., you've had some epic stops in your career.
One thing I actually love about your career when I look at it is I feel like there are three
teams, flyers, coyotes, hawks that all kind of claim you as their own, right?
You had such an impact on those fan bases.
And, of course, we were a shark and a king, too.
So can you hit us with maybe some superlatives of what batch of teammates, you know, was the most intense,
what batch was the funniest, what batch was the biggest gamblers?
Because you were in so many cool places.
Yeah. Yeah. Well, Chicago definitely was, I had the best kind of support system.
You know, you're the first team, you're young, guys like Dennis of Ard, Steve Larmer, Doug Wilson, Keith Brown, all these guys that I grew up with, Steve Thomas.
They were such a good support system to me and taught me so much about the game on the ice, the game off the ice.
They taught me how to play poker.
Yeah.
And, you know, obviously, they taught me how to play bad poker.
so they can take my rookie money.
That's how, yeah, that's how they, that's how they rolled.
But that was a great team.
And obviously to go to the finals in 1992, you know, winning 11 straight in that
playoff year and then losing to Pittsburgh and 4th straight was pretty demoralizing.
So Chicago is, you're always going to have a very strong, passionate love and bond to a team
that drafts you.
So Chicago is like, you know, is there nine years that were my best years of my career.
and obviously I have something that's what is lifelong connection with Chicago.
You know, Philly is another one that I was only there for three years playing and then the lockout year.
But it's amazing how close and what kind of a relationship and how we bonded so much between myself and the fans in Philly.
There's not a place that I don't go in the world where I don't meet a Philly fan.
and they don't you know I hug every single Philly fan that I see because the way that they embraced me in Philly was like I don't think like anybody else in such a short period of time and brought me on as one of their own because listen I played the game like they cheered the game yeah they're crazy they're a crazy bunch of fans and they're loyal and they want hard work and they want blood and they want wins and that's what I wanted so and I think they saw the fact that I really tried hard for them and really wanted to bring a championship to that team and
and to that city.
And I think that 2004 team that I was on was the best team that I've ever been a part of
and the best,
best talented team that I've ever seen.
I mean, we had Mark Recky and John LeClair and Tony Amante, Alex Shamnov, myself.
We had Simone Gagne, we had Eric Desjardin, we had Eric Dajardin, we had Eric Weinrich.
I mean, we had a bomb of a team.
Unfortunately, we just had too many injuries and ended up losing in seven games to Tampa.
But I think that was my best.
chance of winning a cup. And Arizona was it was a fun place to live, fun place to have my kids,
raise my kids. We had good teams in the beginning, but that organization has really, has really
not done a very good job with their ownership and making the right plays, I think, as owners and
GMs and building a team and spending money. They've done a terrible job at that. Now they're playing in a
college rink. And they're playing well. Don't get me wrong. They're playing well. But literally they
They seem like they're, it's more like a, like a HL team more so than an HL team.
It honestly, it feels like they're in this like weird limbo state where they're not actually
part of the league.
That's such a good point.
But we talked about at the beginning and you just kind of touched on it.
You obviously had one of the greatest NHL careers of all time.
But I love the way that you talk about the Olympics.
And I feel like that O2 Olympic run was such an exciting time.
You obviously win your group.
Then you go on.
You have the talk against Germany.
Then you guys beat Russia.
and then you end up winning the silver medal playing against Canada.
Can you tell us what it was about the Olympics that you loved so much
and that made it such a special time
and then maybe any stories that really stick out in your mind
in those Olympics specifically?
Yeah, well, the Olympics is, I think there's a reason why people like me
and my generation wanted to be NHL players
or wanted to play hockey is because we remember what happened in 1980
with the miracle team.
Yeah, definitely.
You know, winning that gold medal was probably one of the most.
most the biggest upsets in all the sports history and at 10 years old that made such an impact on my on my life
and such an impact on what I wanted to do and it was the same for chris chely it was the same for
tony monti mike madano keith kuch you know Doug way Billy garren all these guys that came that
really built hockey in u.s to be a powerhouse and you know because we were always in the 80s early
80s we were always six and seventh and all the international tournaments right i mean we were just not
We just weren't very good as a, as a nation.
And all of a sudden, in 1996, we win the, you know, the Canada, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the world cup, right?
So when we beat Canada, that pretty much put America on the map.
And to have the opportunity to play in the Olympics and to represent your country and wear your country's colors.
Having people chant USA.
I mean, I'm such a passionate America guy.
I'm such a passionate military guy.
I love my country.
Probably to a fault.
So to be able to play for your country and be one of 20 people that play on the team.
in the Olympics the biggest stage in the world of sports and to be able to get to a final
and meet your arch rival, your bitter arch rival and your, you know, obviously country neighbors,
Canada's game, you know, hockey is Canada's game, playing Canada in the final of the biggest
stage in the world on home turf.
And still, even though we lost, it was probably the greatest thing and everything I've ever
experienced in sports.
Fuck, yeah.
Incredible.
I have chills.
Yeah, same.
It's so true.
It's such a real feeling of how jacked up that.
Yeah.
And J.R., you talk about being a kid and watching Miracle on Ice and everything.
And we are actually Boston Boys too.
And all three of us are New England prep school guys.
Yes, sir.
We're a couple cake eaters.
Dan went to Andover.
What schools?
What schools?
What schools?
What schools?
I went to Andover.
Chris went to Exeter.
Yeah.
Awesome.
Where the cake is.
That's my brother.
My brother lives in Exeter.
he lives about half a mile from the school
so I've been there many, many times.
And over,
yeah, Andover's a good school.
And that whole league was a lot of fun growing up.
I mean, Thayer Academy,
Ther Academy at the time,
we were independent school league,
just powerhouses.
And myself and Tony Amanti,
myself and Tony Amanti playing on the same line,
pretty much ripped up that league.
Yeah,
we probably played in,
we probably played in the biggest prep school game
and most watched
prep school game
in the history
of high school hockey
and that was
in the finals
of the ISL
championships in 85
we played Avon Old Farms
and Brian Leach
was on that team
and I remember
every single
500 people in the stands
and probably 400
and scouts
which we won 6-4
was a pretty epic game
That's unbelievable
I think you had 84 points
in 24 years
in your final season
How did you deal with
Was there
was there
Was there strict when you were there
Like how did you balance that?
Yeah I know you're not a big school guy
J.R.
So how did you
survived the rangers of New England prep. Yeah, it was, let's let's just say I had to, I had to
manipulate my grades a little bit to, you know, to continue playing. Yeah, we've all been there.
It was a good school. It was good school. Every, you know, it was a big sports school, right?
So our headmaster was a big hockey fan. Our coach was the football coach and the hockey coach,
and I wanted to play football, but he wouldn't let me play football until I asked him if I can kick
field goals because he used to be a soccer player. So he let me kick field goals because he didn't want me
He didn't want me to get hurt for the hockey season.
So it was a fun time.
High school was fun.
I only went three years of high school.
Then I left and turned pro.
But those were three good years at the day.
Which was unheard of back then, by the way.
You're just getting drafted right out of there.
That was insane.
Unheard of.
Well, first of all, getting a U.S. high school player drafted in the first round,
let alone the top 10 was unheard of.
And I was only 155 pounds.
So crazy.
So, you know, I was very small, very light, but I was fast.
I had an attitude.
So that got me kind of past my weight issue.
I mean,
I remember when I was at Andover,
I was classmates and teammates with Chris Kreider.
And when he was drafted right out of Andover,
the comparisons immediately.
We're like,
you know,
it is very rare getting drafted right out of the New England prep
and high school,
you know,
even now.
It's even more rare.
It's even more rare to leave high school
and just make that jump right to grow.
What a fucking legend, dude.
Unbelievable.
Want to talk about another legend.
Joe Thornton retired this year
we know you played with Joe
towards the end of the career
Do you have any
With Joe retiring and finally
officially hanging him up
Do you have any great memories or stories
of Joe and your relationship with him?
Too many
Too many to count
Joe was actually Joe
is actually going to be the next
on my list to scare
on that scare tactics episode
So he
Because because Torrey jumped out the window
Joe got spared
Wow he doesn't even know
He doesn't even know
the price he almost
Yeah well he's
Yeah, he knows now.
And he said, thank goodness he didn't happen because he would have died of a heart attack right on the spot.
But, you know, Joe is one of the greatest teammates in the history of sports.
You know, I make this comment.
I don't think there's ever been a teammate that I've ever seen or even known that every single player on the team.
If you ask them who their favorite teammate is, they'd say Joe Thornton.
I mean, right across the board.
Every single one.
And that's a very, very tough thing to achieve as a teammate.
Joe was always the guy that brought everybody together.
It was always the guy with a smile on his face, always bringing energy, always bringing, you know, some sort of enthusiasm to the locker room.
But also, when we weren't playing well, he stood up and he bitched right in your face and he called you out.
He was an amazing leader.
And one of the best players that I've ever played with,
probably the best playmaker I've ever seen behind
Wayne Gretzky.
And I know that's saying something.
Joe Thornton.
That guy, and by the way, it was never a job for Joe.
It was never a job.
God, yeah.
I love him.
I love him more than life itself.
And I let him know that.
And, you know, just the way you see him on his videos or even just his retirement video,
he's just so bubbly.
He's just so fun.
And you just,
You know, he just loved to have, he just loved to go to the rink every day.
And he made everybody happy there.
It's so cool to hear that he could get intense because we always see the bubbly side, right?
Like, it's awesome to hear that he'll let you happen in the locker.
Don't get on his bad side.
Yeah.
Don't get on his bad side because he'll rip.
He'll let it rip.
He had no problem with calling people out in the locker room.
See, to me, that's the best kind of guy because you know he cares.
That's passion.
You know, if you love the game as much as he seems to.
Well, that's gone now.
Yeah.
Well, that's gone now.
True.
Right? So I really don't, I don't hear of players, you know, really carving other players in the locker room and holding them accountable verbally and harshly.
You know, too many feelings to be hurt. You know, we need safe spaces now. You know, we need safe spaces and quiet places, so we don't get offended.
Yeah.
It's stupid. It's ridiculous.
I agree.
Yeah, we need more Joe's in the league.
Yes.
True.
Obviously, J.R, we were of the age where we were NHL.
94 disciples, right?
So I've heard your epic stories about,
you get the shout out in Swingers, so fucking cool.
And I heard that you got to meet Vince.
So I was wondering, do you still talk to you?
Yeah, I actually.
I do.
Every once in a while I see them, but it was funny because I didn't know that they were
using that segment in Swingers.
I'm just watching the movie, and I saw it just like everybody else.
I had no idea.
I said, this is the coolest thing that's ever happened to me.
No, it's like I'm part of pop culture now, you know.
Oh, yeah.
And 94 Sega, 94 Sega is the one thing that people talk to me about the most.
I believe it.
I'm most famous for it's like everywhere I go that people talk about, you know,
you're one of the best gamers and the history of gamers and couldn't be stopped.
And I was literally in L.A.
And I walked into a bar and saw Vince standing against the wall.
And I walked over to him.
And I introduced myself and he says, and he gave me that look.
Are you kidding me?
You don't have to introduce yourself to me, man.
and he's like the biggest fan
and I thanked him for putting me in the movie
he's like dude I mean like
it's it's funny because that is you know
it's a classic movie yeah and that is
easily a top three most famous scene
from the movie so yeah that will live
throughout the annals of history
it's unbelievable well you guys should go on
you guys should go on you guys
you guys should go on YouTube and see
I recreated that scene
for
for Fox
for Fox at one point
and I was working for Fox
and it's a really good
scene. You can go on YouTube and find it. It's really a funny.
A hundred percent. We're going to link that up. Yeah, we got to talk about that.
All right. So we had Shelley on a little while ago, and we did this to him, so we got to put
you through the ringer now as well. We were talking about the Olympics and some of your iconic
U.S. teammates and guys who came before you, if you add right now on the spot to list your
top five U.S. hockey players all time, who makes that list. And obviously we know you're on it.
So you can count yourself as number one.
Yeah, no, Mike Medanoff, to me, is number one.
There you go.
Chris Chelyos would be number two.
Yeah, so Mike Medanald, Chris Chelyos.
I'll put Keitha Chuck up there also.
Brian Leach is on there.
And obviously Patrick Kane near the end of his career, you've got to put Patrick Cain up there.
But the guy who's going to go down is the best goal score in U.S. history,
Austin Matthews will be the highest goal score in American history.
Without question, without a doubt, that's how good he.
is of a goal score. So, I mean, I can go on and on. I mean, I didn't even talk about John
Leclair. Didn't even talk about Mike Richter. Didn't even talk about Billy Garron, some of the,
some of the most iconic players of all time, Tony Amonti. Tony Monty doesn't get enough credit for how good
of a career he had, 420 goals of some sort. I mean, he was just awesome. Couldn't agree more.
He was by far my soulmate of linemates, soulmate of line mates. So, wow, love that. God,
we can just go on and on of American guys. My generation was just was real special, as you.
US hockey players go.
Yeah. And it looks good too, eh?
Oh, my God.
The current U.S. roster looks super competitive.
You know, for the first time and maybe ever, you're like going toe to toe just on paper,
talent-wise, with Canada.
We need that Olympic matchup so desperately.
Yeah, it's nice.
It's nice.
It's nice to see watch US Junior every December and watch Canada and the fans literally freak and panic
of when U.S. comes on.
the ice because they know they can get beat very easily at any time. Yeah, I love that. Okay, I want to ask
you about Bidar, JR. He, um, on your pod, which we'll talk about a second, but on your pod, um,
a week or two ago, he was through, you know, six or seven games. He had two and two and you and
Peelezy were talking. I think you gave him a C, but he's got nine and four now, 13 and 13. So do you
want to reassess your grade? Because he's got so much hype, so much pressure. He's a small kid, small
No, I didn't know that my grade, no, my grade what I gave him at the time was absolutely dead on.
I agree.
Oh, yeah.
I could have given him a little bit less.
Yeah.
Could have given him a little bit less.
You know, you don't go, you don't go two games with no shots, no points, minus two and under 50% in faceoffs.
I mean, you pretty much wasted two games, which is not his fault.
He's young.
That's okay.
Now, you see, you see what has kind of happened over the last two weeks.
The media has kind of let him go.
And I was yelling at the media tell him, leave this kid alone.
Don't put so much pressure on this kid.
Let him feel his way through the league.
Let him have some fun, you know, learning the game and the pace of the game.
Don't put so much pressure on him in the first 10 games of his career.
He scored his first goal.
And on television, they put, chasing greatness, Gritsky, 984, Bredard won.
Like, are you kidding me?
Like the stupidity of the media.
Yeah.
And so now the media has left him alone a little bit.
They're not talking about him every single day.
He's not on the front cover at NHL.com every single day.
I mean, he is still big when he goes to different cities.
But I think the pressure from the media has kind of settled down.
And he's starting to feel better about the speed.
He's starting to understand it.
He's having fun.
And look what happens.
The media leaves him alone.
And he's playing loose.
He's playing with a great deal of confidence.
He's scoring goals.
You know, right now he's an A, A plus.
So, yeah, it's a different time right now.
and the media finally gave him some space,
and he's showing why I said that they should just leave this kid alone
and let him grow.
He's going to be a superstar.
I mean, he might be a superstar.
He might be a superstar.
He just needs to grow into it.
But he has to enjoy that.
And the media could really take away that fun
by putting all this pressure on him.
And I think they've done a good job of leaving him alone in the past couple weeks.
He's been given a chance to breathe, a chance to settle in,
and you can see he's getting way more comfortable with his game.
It's unbelievable.
What's a good number for him this year, JR?
Like he finishes, you know, this many goals, this many points.
So I think he was going to score 30 goals.
And I put him at 80 points.
So I'm hoping that I'm pretty close to being right.
It's all going to depend on his teammates and his linemates.
His linemates have to play good hockey and have to, you know, bring up some slack for him
and help him along the way because he can't do it by himself.
Yeah.
That's exactly what I said.
I put the over under 70.
Yeah, you did.
Beautiful.
All right.
We only got a few minutes.
So we want to close him out with pass shoot score?
Yeah, let's do it.
All right, JR, this is a game we play with all of our guests.
It's basically just a ranking system.
We're going to pick some things that we know that you like and you care about,
and you've got to rank them one to three.
So pass, shoot, score, pass.
Obviously great, like snapping the puck round.
Shooting is a little bit better, and then scoring the ultimate goal.
So score will be your top choice.
So we're going to start you off with some Arizona dining.
Pass shoot score.
Sushi brokers.
Maybe get some nice tuna there.
Definite score.
Definitely, definite score.
My number one favorite sushi place in the world.
The other two are Smiga, some Italian, and then JJ's deli.
Are you kidding me?
All of my favorites.
Listen, all of them are major scores, major scores, major scores, especially, you know, sushi and JJ's.
The best bagel on the planet from JJ's.
It's great.
I love it.
Okay, a hat trick on that one.
Yeah, I'll allow it.
Wait, wait, wait, wait.
At Spiga, is there a, what's your go-to order?
What's the best thing?
If I ever make my way down there, what should I get?
You've got to get the Penae Bolinese.
Hell yeah.
Okay.
Very nice.
Okay.
J.R., I'm calling this category bucket list stuff.
So I'm snapping my little magic wand, and I get to give you this achievement in your life, okay?
Pass shoot score.
Yep.
Playing a round of golf at Augusta National with Freddie couples, and you play great.
playing electric piano with Kid Rock while he headlines Coachella
or kicking the game winning field goal for the Pats in the Super Bowl?
Kicking the Super Bowl winning field goal in the Super Bowl.
That's the winner.
I love that you mentioned that earlier.
Because I played Augusta.
Because I played Augusta, just not with Freddie couples.
But Fred, he's a good friend of mine.
So, you know, that could happen.
Yep.
Um, as far as kid rock, I don't play the piano, which is kind of crazy, but I love kid rock.
He's a good friend of mine. Um, so that possibly could happen too.
I can pretend to play the piano in one of his, one of his concerts.
Yeah.
Um, and I did, and I was a kicker, and I was a kicker in high school.
Yeah, so crazy.
And I was a soccer player and kicked a lot of field goals.
Not enough people know that.
I just don't think that the Patriots are going to.
Oh, dude, we're so bad.
I don't think the Patriots are going to hire me for a game, especially the football.
Yeah.
So that is a good.
Is it true?
Is it true you were better?
The Super Bowl would be my score.
Is it true you were better at soccer than hockey when you were here?
I was.
God, it's so crazy.
It was my number one sport, yeah.
I love that.
All right.
No future in it, though, fellas.
Yeah, damn right.
That ship might have sailed.
All right, your final pass shoot score, we're taking it to golf.
We know that you've played, all of you played in Ireland, Scotland, Thailand,
crazy places I think you were just playing in Puerto Rico.
But pass sheet score ranking these courses.
Pebble Beach.
I know you love that one.
Whisper Rock, maybe the hometown one,
and then Willow Bend Golf Club on Cape Cod.
I know that one special to you,
because you've got a couple of aces there.
Yeah, I have a couple aces in both places.
Both, I have two at Willow Ben and two at Whisper Rock.
Two of my favorite golf courses,
the Whisper Rock is like August of the West.
But Pebble Beach is my favorite golf destination of the planet.
Wow, still. Wow, damn, love that.
Yeah, it's, it's, it's,
And I've been all over the world, and it's still, Pebble is still my favorite.
Yeah.
You have four Aces?
That's unbelievable.
Yeah, that's what is it.
I actually have four Aces, but I also have three hole in threes.
Oh, because you went in water first?
I knocked them in a jar for PARs.
Yeah, Water First re-teed and knocked the third one in.
Incredible.
Wait, how many of those do you have?
Three, I think.
Three.
Okay, so really seven, dude.
Not too shabby, man.
The game's looking good.
Yeah.
All right, well, before we let you go, JR, is there anything you want to pitch?
I know that you got Snipes and Stripes going on.
Is there anything you want to talk about that?
Maybe your whiskey brand that's going on.
Yeah, tell us about it in your life.
Yeah, it's, yeah, I appreciate it.
Every Wednesday at 7 p.m. Eastertime, 4 p.m. Pacific on Nofilter.net, Snipes and Stripes
and Stripes with my good buddy, Tim Peel, who was next NHL referee.
Yeah, so we get, we give great perspective.
So nofilter.net, Wednesday's at 7 p.m. Eastertime, 4 p.m. Pacific.
me and Tim Peel, Snipes and Stripes, a lot of fun.
And actually, we bring on the fans onto the show, too.
So you get to join the show by a little knock on the computer screen.
And then my whiskey which sponsors our show is Whiskey in the Wild,
Whiskey in the Wild.com.
It's a chocolate and chocolate orange whiskey that will absolutely knock you off of your socks.
You'll never taste anything better in your mouth when it comes to alcohol.
I mean, that is my, I've said this a million times.
My favorite dessert on Earth is Terry's Chocolate Orange.
Oh, okay.
So a chocolate, orange infused whiskey, I can't think of anything better.
J.R., where can you get the whiskey?
I love it.
I love it.
I'm out in the nicest Arizona.
I mean, the St.iego weather.
Oh, my God.
It was great being with you guys.
Unfortunately, I got to go to a doctor appointment to check on my head.
Get in there, J.R.
To see if my brain's still in there.
Yeah, no, you got to take care of it.
You guys have been awesome, man.
I really enjoyed being with you guys.
You too, J.R.
Thank you so much for coming on, brother.
Yeah.
Thanks, guys.
See you,
later, brother.
Huge, huge, huge,
thank you to JR.
Dude.
I've got a feeling
that's going to be a friend
of the program.
Oh, my God.
And I'm so,
what a pleasure
that was for me.
He is just an absolute legend
in life and legend
of the game.
I cannot thank him
enough for his time.
Just an all-time
bucketless moment.
All time, all time.
Can't wait to see more
of JR,
but that was as good as it gets.
All right,
let's close out the episode
like we always do.
Let's get into hottest teams.
Hottest teams.
I'm going to start.
Oh, you're going to start.
Is it my turn?
I can't remember.
Yeah, why don't you start?
So three, this could easily be the Rangers, but, you know, we've stroked you guys off enough this week.
We stroked you off in the hottest teams last week.
So, this week, we're going number three.
What's you're going to say?
You're hot.
You're hot.
This week with three straight wins, the Dallas Stars.
My Dallas Stars, some might say.
They're dominating the Central Division so far, which has been awesome.
They beat the Blue Jackets 5-2, the Jets 3-2, and then they beat the wheels off the struggling wild.
Stars look scary.
Yes, they do.
Second hottest team of the week is the Florida Panthers.
Winners of four in a row.
They beat the Blue Jackets in OT.
The Capitol's an OT.
The Canes 5-2 and the Conner Bredd's 4 to 3.
Panthers, very quietly.
Very, very good.
Second place in the Atlantic right now.
Way faster than I thought it was going to happen.
Scorching.
Yeah.
Scorching.
One of the league leaders.
Yeah.
And then number one, the Penguins of Pittsburgh.
They're on a four-game heater because they went to California
and swept the whole thing.
Pummeled the Stars 10-2,
beat the Ducks 2-0-0 and beat the Kings 4-3
in a fantastic game that we were at
with a double O-T goal.
Yeah, pretty sick.
And by that, he doesn't mean two O-Ts
because that's not a thing.
He means there were two goals in O-T.
Yep.
Offsides, but then Rusty just picked up the puck
and scored again.
Yep.
Unbelievable.
Then after California, they went home,
had a statement,
statement, went 4-0 against the Sabers.
They're moving up the leaderboard.
Thank God.
About time.
Howdest team of the week?
Before we get into the other things,
can I rant real quick?
Sure.
today on
Instagram
the
Cains
posted their
The Cupertals
Right
Yep
They're doing the Whalers
jerseys
With the pants
They don't play in those pants
Do they?
I think they do
They do?
Yeah
Okay
That's kind of fun
I think
I can't remember
They definitely warm up
And I think they play
I think they do
You're right
Yep
I'm not sure
Me neither
But I think they do
This is bullshit
I like I I for a while I was kind of like whatever I'm officially fed up this is stolen valor
Carolina Hurricanes you are not allowed to wear the Hartford Whalers uniforms it's it's insane dude
it's literally just the Hartford Whaler uniforms and that is such a beloved team and the people of
Hartford like they feel like they got their team ripped out of their hands and moved to fucking
Carolina and now you parade yourself around as if that's part of your history is that
It's not.
Yeah.
It's a different franchise.
There are some of the coolest uniforms and jerseys in the NHL's history.
You are not allowed to do this anymore.
I've had it.
And I'm saying, I'm saying you're not allowed.
I'm putting my foot down.
The can't no longer wear those whalers uniforms.
Dude, the Tennessee Titans were just wearing the Houston Oilers,
jerseys, which are also some of the most iconic in the score.
And everyone's having the same conversation.
It's bullshit, dude.
You can't do this.
I think you're right.
I was kind of like, no, dude.
It's like they were that.
They moved.
And it's retro.
but it does suck for the fans.
And it's not retro.
You're just taking another team.
It's fucking insane.
Yeah.
It would be like if the Jets
started wearing Thrashers jerseys.
Like it's just stupid.
Stop it.
Okay.
I agree.
The way they paraded around as if it's their own.
They rub it in there.
They're going like this.
Check this shit out.
Like we're throwing it old school here.
And I'm like, no, you're a thief.
You broke into someone's home and stole their shit and now you're wearing it.
Yeah.
And then putting it on on Instagram for them to like it.
Stop it.
Okay, let's get into Toff Watch.
How's our boy doing?
Toph has eight goals and six assists for 14 points in 13 games.
We love the pace.
We love the pace, Dan.
We don't love the dash five, and we don't love the devil's record.
Yeah, talk about underperforming teams.
Yep.
We're going to give them a pass because Nico and Jack are out, but going to need the D to tighten up.
They've lost.
They've lost two straight, but he has three points in those two games.
Let's get some dubs.
Let's get some dubs, boys.
I said he's going to pick up the slack, and he did.
Yep.
front of the pod goals
We got a goal from Toff
Goal from Morsi
Goal from PLD
Two goals from Dutchie
Two goals from fans
And you know who scored a goal
I believe last night
Or maybe the night before
Fabra
Oh yeah
Up to 40 on the year
41
No 40 I had his tallied
Oh you did?
Okay 40 on the year
Keep it up boys
Let's close it out
With games to watch
And let these people get on their way
Definitely watch
The Global Series
In Sweden
All week
Then I'm going
Thursday, Yotes at Blue Jackets,
Cooley at Fantilly. Love that.
And then
Saturday, give me
Avs at Stars fucking tilt.
Dallas trying to win that division.
Okay, I'm going to go
Friday, Jersey matchup, my favorite
jersey matchup in the league.
Toronto at Detroit.
Yes, it's in Sweden. Identical records.
Time of recording. In Sweden.
8, 5, and 2. That is in Sweden.
That is one of those Global Series games.
Absolutely love it.
And then Saturday,
which one did you just do
Ab's at Star?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, sorry.
I'm sorry, I have to do it.
My Saturday game to watch
Rangers at Devils.
I love that matchup.
Great, great, great.
Just go cross, go across the river,
pop into...
Take the little...
Pop into Hoboken.
Yeah, what is it?
What's it called?
Brian, what's that
the train or the tunnel
that goes from Joe Boken to New York?
The Lincoln Tunnel?
Well, it's like a train, though.
Like, I get on a little cart.
It's called like the line or the loop.
It's not the loop.
To the loop?
Maybe.
The path.
The path.
The path.
It's called the path.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
The path.
Yeah.
Rangers at Devils.
I love it.
All right.
Unbelievable episode.
We hope you guys had as much fun as we did.
Unreal Games to Watch Global Series.
If you're in Boston, Worcester, get the almost Friday beer.
Comes out this Friday the 17th.
And until next time, skate hard.
