Empty Netters Podcast - 64. Crocs Are High Fashion with Brady Tkachuk
Episode Date: November 30, 2023The coolest captain in the league Brady Tkachuk joins the pod to talk about trashing Mark Stone’s house and who had the best dance moves at his wedding. He opens up about what it means to win for th...e Senators fans, what the belief is like in the locker room, and what his favorite Will Ferrell movie is. Plus, Kane is a Red Wing! The guys discuss how that’s gonna go. CHAPTERS (0:00) - Intro (4:19) - NO BUCKY WARM UP (4:40) - Angry Connor McDavid is coming for throats (9:01) - NHL All Star Draft (12:23) - Did Crosby and Ovechkin save the NHL? (14:55) - HOT ICE Dean Evason FIRED (23:04) - Patrick Kane is a Detroit Red Wing (35:24) - The Corey Perry/Blackhawks MESS (47:31) - What makes a Dirty Player? (54:25) - Brady Tkachuk Interview (1:47:47) - OVERTIME: Hottest Teams of the Week, Toff Watch, Games To Watch Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, babies, ice is ready, and welcome back to a new episode of the Ampty Netters podcast, and I am running on fumes.
Yeah, you are, dude. Yeah, you are. I'm fresh. Aren't we all, though, really? Yeah, yeah, that's true. It's right after Thanksgiving. I'm fresh off of a plane from across the Atlantic.
Spent some time in England. It was unbelievable. Sound like you're from London. Oh, you sound like you're from London, mate.
Dude, truly unbelievable times, and I'm pumped to be back here with you guys. Brian, you're smirking. What's going on with you?
you. Well, I'm just really tired also because I was pretty sick over the weekend and like everyone's
sick. I'm pretty tired. I might go home now. I might go home now. Everyone is sick. Brice tired.
It's sick. Everybody's sick. But that's, I was just saying this to Brian. That's life, dude. It's at
between Thanksgiving and Christmas. So you're sick. Bride got a Z-pack though. Yeah, you sure did.
I was attacking it. Tylenol, Z-pack, suit effect, emergency, everything. Whenever I get sick,
I OD on all that stuff too. And people are like, you know there's such thing as over-medicating. And I'm like this,
know there's such thing
is shutting the fuck up.
Yeah.
I'm like,
I hit the Robitussin,
I hit the Dayquil.
Yeah.
I hit the Alka-Seltzer.
I'm big on Alka-Seltzer these days.
What?
And then I,
oh yeah,
Al-Ca-Seltzer, cold and flu.
Oh,
oh, shit, okay.
Phenomenal, dude.
Wow.
Theraflu, your Ther flu guy.
And I'm a big Theraflu.
Yeah.
I continue to play beer league
till 2 a.m.,
get no sleep and then drink too much.
You're perennially sick.
Yeah.
When I'm sick,
I drink too much.
I drink more.
And then,
because I think it kills it. I think alcohol kills
the common cold. Well, I'll tell you this.
If you stay in a state of drunkenness,
it's hard to know that you're sick.
You wouldn't know anything about this.
I would have known anything about that.
Yeah. I actually door dashed suefed.
That's how downbat I was.
That's so soft, dude.
Get your bitch ass off.
No, no, no, no, no. He wasn't spreading illness.
He wasn't going into CVS and making everyone out sick.
That's soft.
No, I didn't have an option.
I was here working on a Sunday after coming back from Vegas.
Oh, you door dashed it to the office?
Yeah, that's hard.
Beast. That's hard.
Beast. That's hard.
I was coming back from Vegas, six day with the red flags there.
I got sick the last two days.
Chills, fever, woke up at 4 a.m.
Took a cold bath.
It brought my fever down.
Wow.
Flew here Sunday, started working, and I was like just deathly ill.
So I adored ass suit with that.
Dude, did you take the cold bath in your hotel room?
In the hotel room.
You just made a cold tub at your own.
Yeah.
You go down the hallway to the ice machine, fill that shit up.
Beast.
Yeah.
That's good stuff.
How was Thanksgiving?
Other than being ill, it was pretty cool.
Do you spend enough time with your dad, would you say?
No, so I just told them I got a text before I started this recording.
My dad goes, it's all the coworkers about your video, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Like, sorry we didn't spend enough time together over the weekend.
And I was like, heartbroken.
Yeah, that's awful to hear from your father.
Because, like, I didn't even think, I wasn't thinking that, but like, he must have been thinking it.
So now I'm like, oh, I didn't spend enough time with him.
Yeah, you didn't spend enough time with him.
And you feel like shit because you're not considering that you didn't see.
You're like, wait, did we not spend enough time together?
What the hell?
You keep this in mind when you go home for Christmas, dude.
That's all I'm going to say.
You better log some time with your dad.
But it texts all my friends.
I can't hang out with any of you.
Sorry.
My dad thinks I'm neglecting him.
Yeah.
Terrible shit.
Brutal text.
Listen, I did a smaller Thanksgiving because I was obviously in London.
In a place that doesn't celebrate Thanksgiving.
No, but it was awesome because all the people there, the lovely people in my life,
stepped up to the plate, did a nice American Thanksgiving for me.
Because I did a smaller one.
I made a turkey roulette.
Yeah.
As opposed to roasting a turkey.
A bird.
Like really, really good.
I think I got to make more roulades in my life.
Yeah, why not?
It was delicious.
It was all of the Thanksgiving, you know, it was the turkey, obviously.
The stuffing was in there.
There was a little bit of prosciutto in there and herb butter.
And then the cranberry sauce and the gravy, it was like we were hitting everything.
It's fancy.
It was nice.
It was fancy, too.
Yeah.
Cooking it, I felt pretty cool.
I was at Sanders in Ohio, and I didn't have to cook anything for the first time in like a decade.
And that was money.
I love that.
I was just sitting on the couch watching football.
And I was like, oh, oh, I get it now.
This is sick.
I mean, that's money.
Yeah.
I mean, dude, Alice pulled out all the stops, brought out all the friends.
Major Thanksgiving was had.
Biggest star in the house.
Wow.
It was unbelievable.
Great stuff.
Listen, we got to get into the no-bucky warm-up because we've got a unbelievable episode today.
Youngest captain in Ottawa Senator's history, Brady Kachuk joined the podcast today.
Come on.
Taps for that.
You fucking want it.
What did he say?
Who wants it?
Who fucking wants it?
Well, let's get into the No Bucky warm-up.
Some quick hitter stuff here because we've got unbelievable stuff to talk about.
We want to get right into that.
Let's talk about angry Connor McDavid.
Dude, Connor McDavid, the Oilers, I want to say, are like six and four in their last 10.
So it's not even like they're that much of a turnaround.
But he has 15 points in his last five.
He had nine points in two games.
And he's got eight.
Is it nine?
He had nine in two games.
I thought it was eight.
He's nine and two games.
No.
He had five and then three last night.
Oh, yeah.
but he had four, then five.
He had nine points in two games.
I'm just saying he had a nine point in two game run.
Yeah, and he had eight in his last two.
Yep.
And also the shootout winner in the last game, beating Vegas.
He is upset.
We pissed him off.
We've pissed off McDavid.
Man, what's so funny is I loved it.
People were showing the stats.
It was like, you know, the league point leaders, and Connor was like 59th or something.
And then three games later, he's like tied for ninth.
Yeah.
And that's just how quick he can turn it on and change things around.
It would be cool
We showed this through
I think the stat was through
18 games in a season
No team has ever made the playoffs
When they've had
The amount of points
The Oilers had or less
Ooh
Something to keep an eye on
If this team makes the playoffs
They will be making history
They are going to
And they just absolutely good
I said a few weeks ago
They can suck till the fucking
All-Star break dude
It doesn't matter
Like they have the two of the
Three best players in the league
And they are a fucking wagon
When they feel like it
Yeah
Those two are, they really do kind of shatter the reality of today's NHL and that two players legitimately just win games.
And maybe not in the playoffs.
But the bigger issue still stands, I think you, no matter what, right, no matter how much they turn it on, this team's not winning a cup.
Yep.
And I just think if you're him at the beginning of this year, you go, I want to win a cup.
And being 21 games into the season and knowing you're not going to win a cup,
Just can't feel good if you're...
And that's why he's doing...
That's why he's doing what he's doing.
He woke up, it didn't feel good.
And he was like,
this check this out.
This has to change immediately.
It begs the question, dude.
And again, we won't spend a lot of time on this,
but I dropped this on Twitter over the week,
this past week over the Thanksgiving week.
They're going great right now.
Three wins in a row, right?
Three wins in a row, maybe two in a row.
Yeah.
If they backslide again, start struggling again,
maybe lose, you know, let's say in their next 10, they're four and six.
You're dead.
You have to consider trading one of those two.
Like, we talked about this, right?
I can't remember.
You do.
I don't know if you can trade one of them.
I mean, maybe you got to, but I just think you would be sewered.
Like the fans would riot.
I don't know if they would riot.
Let's say this is my point.
If in the next 10 games, they're four and six.
they're four and six.
You've got to be...
So they're like...
You've got to look at the reality
that you're on a trajectory
to miss playoffs.
I don't think...
I think you get sewered more
if you go,
we have Leon Drys Heidel and Connor McDavid
and we missed the playoffs.
8 and 12, they'd be 12 and 18.
Like, you're missing playoffs.
I don't know if they are, though.
I really think they could get that hot.
If through 30 plus games of the season,
you're 12 and 18,
I don't think you're at,
of nowhere changing it in the next 50. I really don't. Maybe not. I think you maybe could with them,
but even if you couldn't, I don't know if they would do it this year. Like I think if I was like,
you're missing playoffs right now. Oh, no, they're not doing it this year. I'm talking about this
summer. If you missed the playoffs, that's my point. My point was trying to say, if they go four and six
in the next 10, I'm guessing that they miss playoffs. And if they miss playoffs, you enter the summer,
I think you have to very, very seriously consider trading. Now I'm back in. Because at this point
in their career, the age that they're at, they are really, you're at, they are really,
right enter they have entered their prime and they are two of the three best players in the
NHL you can't make the playoffs with those two guys you have to consider breaking it out
Einstein's definition of insanity right like how many times you're going to run this back and
because however the Leafs are doing the same thing they're like and one more try and one more try
and one more try and Austin here's 13 million uh willie we're not going to resign anybody
and we're going to give you 13 million and one more try and we're going to be good right we believe
in this oh like holy shit boys
same. All right, next no-bucky
warm-up topic. Let's talk about
the NHL All-Star draft. We're getting hit
with the draft again. Yeah,
all I wanted to say to you was
it's four captains.
They're getting like a celebrity pairing.
I'm pretty sure
I read they're not doing
like, remember Phil the thrill got
last pick and the
first draft ever and they were like, oh God, that was kind
of awkward. And then the next year they were like, you actually
get a car if you're a last pick and then Ovi was like
give me a car. You know, this year
there, once it gets down to four,
the remaining four are just being assigned to teams by a special guest.
So there's no last pick.
Do you like it?
I don't like it only because I really love the car thing.
You want the car?
Because I think there could be a cool scenario where you've got a rookie
who's making the All-Star game.
And I think it would be sick if all the guys went like this.
Hey, let's get him a car.
Pick someone so last.
Get him a car.
Hey, come on, we can afford a car.
I think that's a fun thing.
Yeah, bring that back because, and I actually love Steve.
mayor, the NHL guy was like,
this adds an extra day to the festivities.
You know, it's not just SkillsCom Friday,
game Saturday, now we get fucking Thursday, draft,
a lot of shit going down in Toronto, great venue,
so it's going to be huge.
Now, did it say they're doing celebrity coaches?
Celebrity pair, like you get,
the four captains who are NHL guys, get paired with a celebrity.
So it's going to be a great dynamic watching them work together to make the picks.
Who do you want those celebrities doing?
Will Ferrell, Snoop Dog.
You can't be serious.
Ryan Reynolds.
The weekend.
These can't be serious picks.
Wilfairl and Snoop Dogg.
Will Ferrell Snoop Dogg, the weekend, and Ryan Reynolds.
Awful.
What?
I needed to be Tate McCray.
Drake.
Yep.
Madison Beer.
Okay.
And give me...
Gossling.
He's Canadian.
He's Ken.
Okay.
I just want to say that Willfell
Farrell is one of the biggest hockey fans in the biz.
I know, but we've done it, dude.
Like, you've got to add flavor.
We're looking to gain new eyeballs, dude.
Will Ferrell is the best.
He's so funny.
But him being a celebrity,
that's just, it's not going to do anything.
It's not going to bring Numbie.
This is Numbie season.
Snoop, Ryan, and the weekend all tried to buy the senators.
That's why I picked them.
Yeah.
I think it'd be cool to get them up in Ontario at the All-Star event.
They'd show out, too.
Ryan Reynolds is a star.
Very specifically.
Yeah.
You've got to have Drake.
Tate is a big hockey fan
We've got to have Drake
We've got Willie
Who's obviously going to the All-Star game
Who plays for the Toronto team
Shouting out Madison Beer
Talking to her on a FaceTime
That's an obvious one
Beerlander
Okay beerlander
Beers
And Drake
And Tate
And Tate and Tom Cruise
Just because I feel like it
Down
If you gave me three of my four
And I lose Gosling
That's a tough one
But if Tommy C is coming down
Imagine if Tom Cruise is like
I'm happy
That makes me happy
That his team would win
for sure.
Yeah.
Dude, he saved me.
Actually, that is definitely true.
Like, his team would win for sure.
No question because he'd be like this.
Do you think I drafted you to fucking lose?
You think I showed up at the NHL Allster game to fucking lose?
Do you think he gets one of the winners checks?
Do you think the celebrity pairing gets one of the winners checks if their team wins?
Are they better?
If he does a speech, like, we know he would.
Yeah.
Holy.
Last lap of the no bucky warm up.
Let's talk about the comments made by Ovi saying that him and Sidney Crosby saved
the league.
Immediate reaction go.
They're correct.
And that is.
the most obvious thing that has ever been said in a discussion talking about the anime.
Dude, I actually couldn't believe, no joke, that that raised eyebrows.
Like, around the internet, around the interwebs, people were like, whoa.
It even made people, it was so funny to me because it even made people go, I'm frankly,
I'm embarrassed that we're even talking about right now, as if it needed to be a discussion.
I'm glad we both had the response that we did.
I saw it and I went, yes, water is wet.
Yeah, I know.
why are you even saying something that's so obvious
but yeah the fact that some people were like this
do you think that that's true in what world do you not
they were coming out of a lockout a horrible lockout
and they were touted
Sid more so because OVee I think
hockey fans knew OVee and he went first obviously
but I don't think like the casuals were like
oh here comes Alex Ovechkin
but they're like the two back to back first round picks
yep and the first overall picks
Immediately both Hyundai points season
Savage's
immediate on their team for whatever it
18 years now, just like legends,
cops, MVP's.
SIDS an assistant captain instantly.
Ovi's scoring goals from his back,
winning rookie of the year.
And then the bigger thing,
dude, is
last year, right,
was the first year that we didn't have Ovi
and Sid in the playoffs in, what was it?
18 years, I think.
It's insane.
And then also, they are both 36 plus,
and they are both still
two of the top 10 names in hockey.
It's incredible.
Dude, it's like LeBron, who I don't even like, but the effect he has on the league still in the numbers he's putting up, obviously, it's kind of like the Brady thing the other day when he was like the league's worse, you know?
And you're probably an old man shouting at clouds at some point, but it's like the league has such young talent here and it's awesome.
And you want to be like, right, those old guys are phased out.
And I'm like, they're not though.
Like they're still driving so much success on the ice, but also just viewership, fandom, everything.
Legends.
Especially said this season, but just look at the numbers.
They're still absolutely producing.
They're both captains of their teams.
The Tom Cruise's of the NHL, you might say.
You might say it.
Of the movie industry.
Yeah, yeah.
What Tom Cruise did for movie theaters after COVID, Sid and OV did for the NHL after the walkout.
And that's a fact, dude.
And you cannot argue it.
That is a fact.
All right, let's drop on those buckets and let's get into the next segment.
All right, we're into hot ice, the hottest topics in the hockey world.
being broken down.
The first one I want to talk about
is we had our second coaching
casualty, fatality of the year.
We sure did.
Dean Eveson.
The Wild of the Fire their coach.
Gast.
Let me ask you a question, Chris.
Well, okay.
Did bad goaltending cost this man his job?
Yes.
And let me hit you with some coaching stats first.
Okay?
Yeah.
The Wilder's 6-10 and 4 this year.
Yep.
Horrible.
Horrible, considering how they went last year.
Yeah.
And considering their roster.
They lost seven in a row.
Patty Maroons pissed off.
Bob Wood's assistant coach also gassed.
Everson was 147, 77, and 26 in his five seasons since replacing Bruce Brudeau in 2020.
Just to be clear, that's a good record.
It's a great record.
It's a phenomenal.
He was 8 and 15 in the playoffs, which isn't great.
Qualified each of the four seasons, but they never got past the first round.
John Hines, who is Billy Garon's boy.
They have a great relationship, gets brought in right away.
He was fired by the Preds, which is why he's available.
Yep.
He took the Preds to the playoffs in his first three seasons.
He was 134, 95, and 18 after replacing Lavie Alet in 2020.
He's 284, 254 and 63 and 101 regular season games and 4 and 15 and 19 playoff games in his career.
Just marionette on that for a second.
We'll come back to it.
Eveson, I was looking up the wild stats, because I was like, who's going, who's not going?
and the guys are kind of going on the squad.
Zooks, Erick, Krill, are playing great.
Like, they're either point per game or right there
or just off or over, you know, they're all hovering right around that.
Boldie I could get more from.
I think he has two goals.
Yeah, I think he's got two and seven.
But Boldie was injured.
Yeah, he hasn't played 20.
He's played 13.
Yeah, he's got nine points in 13 games.
He'll heat up.
Still, the, I can't remember genuinely where I had these guys on their preview.
I think it was either in or in the wild card, you know?
and that was literally solely
based on how good Gus looked
in between the pipes last year.
Yeah.
I was like,
this team is pretty good,
but that kid is nasty
and might hit him.
And Flower isn't even going to have to play half the games.
He's going to play 25 games, 30 games.
Gus is going to play 50 and be a stud.
Would you like to hear their numbers?
I was going to say,
they each have three wins.
Gus's save percentage is 886,
Flowers is 875.
That is
one of the worst goalie tannums in the NHL,
maybe the worst.
Goals against Gus.
368 flowers,
three,
four, six.
Horrific.
You cannot win with that.
I don't care who you are.
They have the 31st goals against
in the league
ahead of the fucking sharks.
Yeah.
Dude,
I,
this is similar to our Oilers talk
where it's like,
well, the coach,
that's the axe that falls.
Yeah.
But I'm like,
dude,
is it Everson's fault
that they can't stop
a fucking puck all of a sudden?
Yeah,
it's,
it sucks.
I,
I,
you just mentioned it.
It's just the same thing
as Wood
It's this is the easiest fire.
But we talked about in the preview of the Central.
And we called out the Wild for being the new Leafs because, dude, you're in a great
hockey market.
You have great fans.
You have an amazing roster.
And you guys lose in the first round every single year.
So something's got to give here.
And Evanson, great record.
But, dude, you're 8 and 15 in the playoffs with the Wild.
You know, he made the playoffs all, every year he was there, right?
and you just can't do this dude.
Like you can't be this constantly underperforming team
and you certainly can't start this
like this and expect nothing to happen.
Because I think...
My thing is if Eveson had taken the wild to a cup,
not even last year, but in his time there.
And won it?
Nope.
And gotten them over the hump,
gotten them in deep playoff runs.
And they start this slow, you stick it out.
You go, he's been.
been our guy. He has gotten us to great places, but he's gotten you to the same disappointing
place at the end of the season every single year he's been there. You expect some improvements.
You haven't had any improvements. And now here you are starting the season and you are dog shit.
Again, I think it's unfair, but just like Edmonton, something's got to give. I'm surprised it
took this long. Because Minnesota has been fucking terrible. Well, because I was going to say,
if they were great this year, won, you know, 50 games and were the three seed in the Central and then lost in the first round, Evanston gone immediately.
And I'm like, yes, and I support.
This is kind of surprising to me because I think if they were even like 500, they wouldn't have done it.
They're like, yeah, you know, we'll see what happens.
I think I agree with that.
But like, they're starting so bad that they're like, you've got to go.
And I'm kind of like, it's the oldest thing all over again.
But I'm like, dude, this is the goaltending.
Like, I'm not sure what a coaching change is going to do about the goal tend.
I mean, listen, it's the same thing as Edmonton.
I mean, I think Edmonton was even leakier.
But, yes, bad goaltending cost this man his job.
But there's just, you've got to figure it out, dude.
Because we know, right, that these are two good goalies.
I don't think Fours got.
Gus is 25.
I'm like, what are you doing, dude?
So there's something going on.
It might be the defense in front of them.
It might be schemes in front of them.
Either way, you've got to figure it out.
And I will say this.
I like the gumshoe from Minnesota.
I feel like too long
the wild have been sitting around
the league is just like a
yeah it's the wild
and no I like that they're
midseason or not even midseason
early season they're going
this is not good enough coach fired
new guy brought in good relationship with garen
it shows that garen's like
fuck this dude we are trying
we want to be one of the best teams in the league
so I like the lead in the pencil
that this shows for the wild organization
because for me enough is enough
of everyone going oh the wild are good boys
You know, great, great fans, great players.
They always kind of lose in the playoffs, but whatever.
I'm like, fuck that.
No more, whatever.
Be a better team.
Okay, like that point a lot that it's proactive and, you know, we're trying.
This is the price, this is the price of insufficient play here in this town.
Okay?
I like that.
And I don't know, John Hines, and I'm sure he's a tremendous dude.
And if Billy, relationships mean everything.
And if Billy Garen loves him and believes he can be a new voice in this locker room, then I trust Billy Garen.
Yeah.
But it is interesting.
me that the predators who to your point Dan like it made me it's different if the wild had even
been to a cup once the predators like have been to a cup recently and i don't think hines was there
yet because he took over 2020 right yeah he wasn't but my point is the preds to me have kind
of always felt like the i mean they're in the same bucket as the wild where i'm like you're you're
okay like you're pretty good are you a playoff team maybe so you bring in a guy who's been coaching a team
that's doing the same thing
and missed the playoffs.
They missed the playoffs
the first time last year
and this guy got fired
because his career
playoff record is 4 and 15
or whatever
and he's a career 500 coach
Yeah, yeah.
Just like...
284, 253 and 63.
It's like...
And again,
maybe Billy's like,
dude, he is
because I know him
and he knows,
I know what he can bring
and that's what this locker room needs
and I'll, again,
I'll roll with you, Billy,
but I'm just like,
ooh, I don't know.
I don't know if that's it.
So I will feel bad
for the wild, for the wild fans,
Anne Everson, if the Wild just continue to suck
going on year with Heinz and miss the playoffs.
And I'm like, okay, that was a big,
that was a big to do for nothing.
Yeah.
No, it's, it's, listen, it's a,
it's a tough one, like we said.
I agree with you.
I'm not thrilled with the Heinz hire.
I don't look at it and go,
oh, that's a fucking good hire.
Exciting mind.
I do like the Garin relationship.
I stick by what I said.
I like the proactive.
nature of this move.
Mid-season tough too, I will say, for a coach.
It's not like you can just go grab a sick college coach.
No.
Because, like, everyone's mid-season.
It's brutal.
Staying in the general Midwest area.
Yeah, big one.
The other biggest news going on,
Patrick Kane is back in the NHL.
And who called it?
Huh.
Hmm. Hmm.
Hmm. Oh. Hmm. Hmm. Hmm.
Oh, I think we did.
Wow.
Huh.
Wow.
Listen, am I mad he didn't go to Buffalo?
Yeah, you are.
They didn't earn it, dude.
They didn't earn it.
This is what Buffalo gets.
They didn't earn it.
If you were where you should be, Buffalo, this is me.
As a member of Sabres Nation calling you out, if you were where you should be, he would be wearing the Sabres on his sweater.
Tough day for Hawks fans.
Just seeing Patty Kane.
You know, imagine if.
I feel, I've heard a lot of that, a lot of the, like, God, you know, them.
and I just don't think I don't buy it
you'd care a little bit I think
if Marchand played for the Canadians
next year wouldn't you be like that's my point
Hawks Detroit I just don't think has that
insane bad blood
like Detroit Detroit
Detroit feels way worse about Colorado
way worse
okay in my opinion I would like some people to comment
on that yeah chime in on that
because I'm like I'm pretty sure that's wrong
I think they just if I'm if I'm you know I'm
you know I'm a bit of a Red Wings guy yeah
And if you, not to speak for Red Wings Nation,
but I think especially of like the last 30 years of your like,
who is the, what team do you fucking hate?
Who's your biggest rival?
Yeah.
They're saying Colorado, not in Chicago.
The close proximity I get.
Yeah, depending on the age of the fan, I guess too.
Yeah, yeah, maybe.
Pretty cool that Patrick Cain's only played for original six teams.
Oh, that is cool.
We've got to get them on all.
But Springer gave up 88 to Cain immediately.
We saw him on the ice for the first time.
Does it say when he's going to play?
He, I don't think he's playing.
Well, let me check that right now because the first game is New York, which is fucking sick.
But I think he's like still a ways out, I think.
But maybe.
Well, they're playing right now.
Why don't we look up the roster?
Yeah, he's not in line.
Yeah, but I don't think he's playing for like a while.
I would be surprised.
If he doesn't play their next game, he's playing the third game.
100%.
Yeah, I would bet.
He's healthy, he looks good.
He passed his physical.
All right.
Can I hit you with some shit about this?
Absolutely.
last year on the Rags regular season
19 games he had 5 goals 7 assists 12 points
in the playoff 7 games 1 goal 5 assists 6 points
he was on one leg
yada yada I heard all that shit definitely
well I know but I'm saying he was
He had catastrophic hip surgery after that
But I'm saying he kind of maybe is still
because that injury is catastrophic now maybe
maybe he's pain free now
Maybe by the way C-Tuca Rask
like play one game and tell me if you're still pain free.
So maybe best case scenario, he's paying free right now,
but I do think even best case scenario is a full step slower.
Like I don't think it's like, oh, he's Hawks Kane again.
I'm like, I don't think he is.
Patrick Kane is, I believe, 35 years old.
Yeah, that sounds right.
He just had one of the worst surgeries you can have as a hockey player.
We've seen multiple players have this exact surgery and come back and just be a shell of himself.
You get Patrick Kane out there.
All of a sudden he's back in NHL speed.
NHL contact, it could all fall apart.
Absolutely. I hope that doesn't happen.
I hope that doesn't happen. I know every single Red Wings fan hope that doesn't happen.
We've said it before on this show. I've said it a million times.
You know, I've said this over the years, especially about the Izer plan in Detroit.
The NHL is better when Detroit Red Wings are good. I've said that for a long time.
I think the NHL is a more fun and exciting place when Patrick Kane is in it.
Yeah, same.
So having Patrick Kane on this team playing with Dylan Larkin, Alex Debrinkett, you know that line's
going to happen at some point. Okay, keep going.
That's so exciting. This is, like we just mentioned, we're pumping our own tires here,
but we've been calling this since last year. Yeah. I was saying Detroit, or since the summer,
I've been saying Detroit makes so much sense. And here we are. It's a little rattling for
us that there are whispers that the two teams that came down to was Detroit and the Bruins,
because that would have been fun. It would have been sick. But this one makes more sense to me.
And yeah, it was cheap, eh?
Two mil, I think.
2.75.
I think that's more than, a lot of people were saying one.
A lot of people were going, he's going to go on a bargain.
I was like, there's no fucking way.
I was guessing three somewhere.
And that's why I said.
The list is going to be smaller than you think.
And then when he signs for 2.75, that was correct.
The list was way smaller.
All these people being like, he's going to go back to the rate.
He's going to go to Toronto.
Like, I don't think he's going to take one mill, dude.
So there you go.
So what I'm wondering, since there is room for him in the top six, is do you
rip that cane, larkin, cat first line and just let it ride? Or do you kind of go like
cane and cat because they get the chemistry, Larkin and Raymond, because they get the chemistry
and balance it out a bit? So I don't think my big thing with this always is, I don't think
there's such thing as deading someone when you're talking about top six. Yeah, fair. If someone's
going from second line to third line, I think that that is a significant enough change. But if you're
still in the top six, to me, you're getting power play time, usually on one of the two units. I think
top six gets similar type of minutes.
I always love this when you look at great D part, or D course.
If you have two elite defensemen who both play the same shot, one of them's first
pairing, one of them's second pairing.
But they're probably going to have similar minutes.
Yep.
Like Lindholm and McAvoy in Boston play similar minutes.
Oftentimes Lindholm has more minutes and he's on the second pairing.
So it can work that way.
I think we've seen that Kat, Larkin, Raymond mixed up a little bit.
I think you said Kat is the one who's been moved around.
Just the last couple games, yeah.
Raymond and Larkin definitely have some time together.
I think, I mean, I saw an article saying like Raymond's moved around a bit,
but that might be when Larkin's injured or something like that.
My point is, I think it behooves you to try the big line, quote unquote.
If I'm Raymond and I have the chemistry I have with Larkin,
I could see myself being pissed, but also I look at him and I'm like,
you need to be elite on your own.
Yeah.
So maybe it'd be nice to see Ramin.
in playing with Comfer.
But you have to try
Kat, Larkin, Kane,
I think at least
once to see if Kane and Kat
have that chemistry together.
However, if you can get
a situation working where Larkin's
on the first line with Raymond and someone
else and they're really producing
and then you can have a second line with
Cat and Kane and they're
vibing, that's amazing.
The thing that frightens me
is how many times have I tweeted
this year, oh, De Brinket from Larkin. Larkin from De Brinket.
Like, they are playing insanely well together.
That's the two that I wouldn't break up.
So I just think it's stupid, frankly.
Like, those two clearly buzzed so well together.
I think Larkin could play with anyone in the league and who he would make them good.
But I just look at the chemistry.
Those two have.
And I'm like, I would sooner hesitate to break up to Brinkett and Larkin than Larkin and Raser.
So if you go the big line, you're golden.
and by the way, then you have a wing on line two
of Razor and Comfer
and you either bring up Rasmussen or Cop
whoever's feeling second line center
and I'm like, that's a great line,
so you're good
and I think you're right
it's worth it to try.
If you balance it though,
because Comfer's third on the team
of forwards and points.
So if you're like Razor,
Larkin.
Did I fucking snipe that by the way
Comfer being awesome?
Yes.
I was like,
and I've been saying that on
fucking Colorado for years.
Yes, you have.
If you're like,
if your first line,
you just bring Comfer up and you're like Razor Comfor, Razor Lark and Comfer, line one now.
And then you've got Kane and Cat.
Wait.
You're putting Comfer on the wing.
Yeah.
Okay.
That's where he's been playing.
Yeah, yeah.
So I'm like, boom, you put him, like, that is a sick line.
And then you've got Kane and Cat and then bring, you know, Rasmussen or Cop or whoever the center is.
But I was, and I'm so glad you said this because I was like, it would be kind of annoying, though, probably if you're larks.
And you get this new toy who comes in and is nasty.
And then you'd get Kane and they're like this.
He plays with Kane now.
And you're like, yeah.
Okay.
Yeah.
So, and obviously.
And you could also say the same thing about Kane.
Yeah.
Also, we have Patrick Kane now and you don't get to play with that.
Yeah, you get two toys and they're on the other line.
You're like, what the fuck you?
That's kind of brutal.
But you obviously know, Larks is the type of guy and, you know, anyone would be, if it makes the team buzz, that's fantastic.
I think we saw a lot of people on Twitter and a lot of people on IG in the DMs and in the comments, mostly solid.
fans of other teams being like, this doesn't mean shit.
They're not a contender, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
You know, as it stood yesterday, they were third in the Atlantic with games in hand.
I think Detroit's just a little bit better than a lot of people think.
Yep.
And I do not think Patrick Kane is, you know, with his, the injury situation and his age,
I don't think he is the difference maker he was.
Obviously, that's not a hot take to say.
My bigger thing is, I don't think he moves the needle this, this much.
What's interesting is, does his presence round out the lines in a really, really meaningful way?
That could be a big difference maker for this team of being like they are guaranteed in the playoffs.
I hear that.
I also mostly, I thought you were to say this, this Detroit team, we've made this joke a while ago, like, that none of them have been in the playoffs.
Yeah.
You know, like, they used to Detroit used to have like this culture.
I mean, the like the Detroit drafted guy, obviously there are some like.
Comfer's been in the playoffs.
Yeah, yeah.
But you look at like Larks, Cider, Raymond.
You bring in Cain, who's got three cups and a ton of experience.
Totally.
That's huge.
I love that.
I think you bring in a little added pressure because everyone's like, oh, okay, because
you're in it now.
Oh, yeah?
Yeah, you've got Kane.
And I'll just close with this, though.
A hobbled Patrick Kane scored 12 points in 19 games last year.
So, like, even the people that are like, he doesn't have it anymore.
I'm like, well, he has something.
So he's Patrick Kane still.
And he was playing awesome on Chicago before.
before he got dealt.
Yeah.
So, you know what I really do love to?
This is my last comment on this topic.
He met with a lot of teams, and he had a lot of suitors.
Iserman and the Detroit team flew to Toronto to meet with him and talk to him and sold him on a project.
The fact, here's the thing, Patrick Kane is not coming back into this league to miss the playoffs.
Yeah.
So clearly, this Detroit management team went in and sold him on a pitch.
included going, we are getting into the playoffs.
And that fires me up.
Yeah.
Because it means that the Izer plan is moving.
They believe.
Kane believes.
Kane believes.
So very exciting stuff.
Yep.
Another team in the Atlantic just got stronger.
Guys, by now you know we've teamed up with bet MGM for this season.
The no questions asked best betting platform on the internet has every single game you could
ever imagine.
And of course, we're focused on the hockey stuff.
We're making all the picks this season.
We're getting into the betting slums with you guys.
We're giving you the best picks, the overs, the unders, the money lines, the puck lines, all of the good stuff.
BetMGM has you covered.
And what you're going to do is you're going to sign up, you're going to get that app, and you're going to use promo code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And here's what's going to happen.
On your first wager, all you've got to do is put down at least $10, and you can bet up to $1,500.
And if you lose, you get it all back.
If you win, beauty, it's all yours.
This is a no-brainer.
So go get that BetMGM app right now.
Stop what you're doing.
Go download it.
Use that promo code netters,
and they've got you covered on that first bet up to $1,500.
Get in on the action with us for the whole ride all season long.
Betmgmgm.com for terms and conditions, 21 plus to wager.
U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., New York, or Ontario.
Gambling problem?
Call 1,800 gambler.
In Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, Nevada,
Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming.
Call 8778 Hope N.Y or text Hope NY 4667-369 in New York.
Call 1-800 Next Step in Arizona.
1-800-327-50-50 in Massachusetts.
1-800 bets off in Iowa.
1-800-2707-117 for confidential help in Michigan in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
Let's go over to the Hawks.
We were just talking about them.
Unfortunate thing that we have to talk about, but Corey Perry, we got to talk about it.
Biggest news, no question about it.
It's nuts that we had a week where Minnesota loses its coach.
Patrick Kane finally signs with the team.
And this is the big.
You probably heard about this, eh, Bri?
Yeah.
He does.
Oh, yeah.
Come on.
So, oh, buddy.
On Saturday, it was announced that Corey Perry had been removed from the team.
Yeah, the first one was like, he's stepping away for personal matters.
Yes.
Then it was like, he's been removed from the team.
But that was in, sort of in the same breath.
Okay.
Like, yeah.
I think the first reports were like, Corey Perry stepping away, but then it was like, no, no, he's been removed from the team.
Yep.
So from Saturday to yesterday.
yesterday being Tuesday.
Yep.
Obviously, everyone goes, oh, geez, what happened?
And then obviously, obviously.
In the net gun.
Because it's the fucking Blackhawks.
Everyone's going, oh, Jesus Christ.
What's going on with Blackhawks?
And then the rumor swirls that Corey Perry has had a relationship with a young
teammate's mother.
Dude.
I haven't gotten this many texts in my life.
It was unbelievable.
us being in the hockey world
everyone I know
texted me going what in the world is going on
he banged his mom
and I was like yeah
he did and like listen
I got loud at people on Twitter
for contributing to this story
so what I want to do here is be careful about like
oh and now we're talking about it
what we're talking about right now
is what happened
yeah it was a media
a firestorm yes the
wildfire that this became
essentially
some knobhead
on Twitter, I imagine, just started this rumor.
And then every dipshit with thumbs was like this.
Yep, that happened.
Hell yeah.
And here's what I really want to talk about, dude.
Stupid stories on the internet, stupid rumors are stupid rumors.
But they eventually get to a point where you got to do something.
And this got to a point big time on Tuesday, clearly where it eventually was addressed.
But, dude, when you have.
the most prominent 18-year-old number one draft pick entering a league since LeBron James.
On your team, well, yes, Connor.
I think he's much bigger than Connor.
I think the Connor Bardard show and the people who knew about who Connor Bedard was
outside of hockey people, way bigger than Jeremy.
The face of your franchise and a really fucking awful rumor is being spread about him and his mother
as the Blackhawks to not jump on that,
regardless of what happened with Cory Perry.
You don't even need to get into the specifics,
but you can go,
hey, people,
this is a private matter
amongst our team and our organization
that we're handling,
but the rumor that's going around
is so stupid and false,
cut the shit.
That's all you have to do,
and that's literally what Kyle Davidson did.
But they waited until fucking Tuesday night.
Dude, the Kyle Davidson,
Kyle Davidson getting on camera and going like this,
nobody banged Baderd's mom
is the equivalent of that guy, the lawyer,
who was like, I am not a cat, to be clear.
Like that, I just cannot believe that was said.
Not those exact words, obviously,
but him coming on there and being like,
this did not involve any player or their family members.
I was like, dude, you have got to be kidding.
We are off the rails here.
We are such peak internet, 2023 right now.
And I, like I said,
I wanted to shit on the Blackhawks for that moment.
I also want to, I think
it's great that he did do that. Same.
It had to. That's what's crazy. It took way too long.
And some Blackhawks fans got
loud at me on Twitter. And I was like,
dude, what are you
possibly met? This was a
screw up. Yep. The Blackhawks
screwed this up. They identified they screwed
it up and fixed it quickly. So I'm
giving you stick taps for that. Yep.
But, dude, when they released that
insanely
vague statement, like
You have this fucking rumor frenzy going on after a...
Which here's the thing, dude, team matters are team matters.
They are private.
And you're protecting, you know, people within the organization.
You're doing the responsible thing.
I get it.
I had no problem with the first one.
But once these rumors started and you went like,
this, we got to do something about this.
And then you released that written statement.
That was even more vague than the first one.
I was like, are you fucking guys this stupid?
Dude.
What are we talking about here?
Feel real bad for Connor.
She's shitty.
shitty situation
dude is so uncomfortable
feel real bad for his mom
more than anything
and that's like the biggest thing here
it's and that that's where I do want to get
you can come at me
please guys come at me in the DMs
if you want that's where I do want to put on my
like I'm being dead serious
hat if you're contributing
publicly on like Twitter and IG
with like memes and shit
that's where it's fucked up to me
because I'm out of town
you can run the kid out of town
I'm thinking about his mom
yeah like that this is just like
by all accounts a wonderful woman who's getting sewered by random faceless hockey fans.
I'm like,
do you imagine,
cut the shit?
You wake up and you're like,
I banged Cory Perry.
You're like,
what the fuck?
Dude,
tough one,
tough look for Cory Perry too.
Because the Blackhawks go like this.
We have the first overall pick,
a generational talent coming in.
And we have like a completely blank slate roster with the way they manage the team.
So they bring in,
you know,
Taylor Hall,
like these guys.
They go,
they go like this.
We're bringing in Corey Perry
because he's a former second overall,
but like super high pick.
Dude, for $4 million,
we're bringing in it,
we're bringing in Corey Perry
because he's a former extremely high pick
and a veteran who can teach Bedard the Ropes.
And then instead he banged his mom.
And they were like, oh, damn,
dude, this went so bad.
This is what I'm saying?
I'm ashamed of you for contributing to the joke.
That's my whole point.
Oh, my God.
It's just like, it's so fucking ridiculous
how out of control this one got.
And it is,
But again, we're talking about it to talk about the bungle by the Blackhawks.
Like, letting that, the second that started snowballing.
Like, dude, I remember the first things I saw about it.
It was like those, you know, the deep Twitter jokes where you're like, we're in the hockey world.
So I see the joke and I'm like, obviously that didn't fucking happen.
Sick joke.
Yeah.
Dude, I'm not even going to lie.
I saw the second.
So I saw the first one didn't really do much about it.
I saw the second statement by the Blackhawks.
And I was like, that's pretty vague.
and I read the first comment, it was like, oh, it was Badard's mom.
And I just like, I was like, oh, shit.
Dude, that's when it got bad.
Actually, Brian, I'm so glad, like, as a like not deep hockey person, that perspective is exactly what I'm talking about.
Like, I ran to the comments to be like, oh, what are they talking about?
Then someone's like, oh, Bedard's mom.
And I was like, okay, that's it.
Yep.
They released that trash statement.
And then what happened is they waive Perry.
Yes, dude.
Thank you.
Because it was like a second thing.
Yeah.
It's like, you know, we stayed.
I stayed away specifically from the post, like the grid post.
like the grid post.
Corey Perry's been waived
because I knew exactly what would happen.
It would have been fucking numbies.
I should have done it.
But it's like you see chicklets post it.
You see the NHL post it.
You see BR Open Ice.
You see hockey collective post it.
Every single comment.
War zone.
War zone.
I can't believe they left the comments on.
Every single comment was about this.
And that's what I'm like this.
Blackhawks, you have fucked up.
Say something.
So that is why we're talking about it.
It's just, dude, talk about the biggest fumble
in terms of protection.
your fucking franchise player.
So fucking stupid to let this get as out of control as it did.
So fucking stupid.
Yeah.
A shitty situation all around.
And obviously,
I think someone finally put it out that it is about an employee.
But shitty situation and Corey Perry should have been waived,
assuming all allegations are true.
But I just feel bad for everybody.
Like his family, him, the Hawks, Connor, his family.
I'm like, just what a...
Just a poopy situation.
It's all around.
Yeah.
And it,
with the roller coaster, too,
it's like something,
something unfortunate happened.
The Blackhawks dealt with it immediately.
Yeah, yeah.
Tons of credit.
They reacted quick.
Tons of credit to the Blackhawks.
Handled it immediately.
Then,
because the internet is the biggest hellscape on earth,
the dumbest,
most absurd rumor ever starts spreading.
And that is where I'm like this.
I feel bad for Corey Perry.
I feel bad for his family.
I feel bad for Connor and his family.
and his family.
And then the Blackhawks really poorly handled the situation.
And then they really, really poorly handled it.
And then they handled it well.
But like the damage is done.
Yeah.
And it's just a fucking zoo.
So craziness.
Craziness.
I hope this can, this can be a lesson to like the, you know,
shit's funny here and there.
But like, you got to think about the shitty ramifications of this with like the real people going on.
And then just the bigger one.
The reason we're talking about it on the podcast now is the Blackhawks.
You did so good for a second, and then you did so, so, so bad.
Almost.
And then you did the right thing.
Yeah.
So learn the lesson for the love of God.
All right.
What do you got?
You had one more, I think.
Which was it?
Truba.
Oh, yes.
Our last hot ice topic that I want to be quick with.
Yeah.
Because we got into a big Twitter discussion about this.
I want to talk about the Jacob Truba situation.
Mm-hmm.
You were there, Brian.
Yeah.
Yeah.
You were there.
Last week at the top of the week, I tweeted something like,
hot take to start your week, Jacob Truba is not a dirty player.
And I stand by that comment, but I want to discuss the topic.
And this became so, so relevant because over the weekend, playing the Bruins,
in a scrum in front of the net, Jacob Truba, Paul Bunyan, Trent Frederick, in the back of the head.
Here is my message to the listeners.
If you are a Rangers fan, if you are not a Rangers fan.
I need you to stop being so dramatic and biased with certain things because watch that replay.
It is so fucking clear that there's a tangle.
Yep.
Frederick and Truba are in each other's face.
Truba is a shittster.
He's got two hands on a stick.
And in my opinion, he is going to, after tangling with Frederick, he's going to whack Frederick in the back of the legs.
Very common play in a scrummed.
front of the net. In their tangle, Truba gets thrown off kilter and his stick comes up and he two
hands hard. Frederick in the back of the head. I think it is a clear accident. I think clearly it's
an accident because Frederick didn't respond, nor did anyone else on the Bruins on the ice.
That said, hold your pitchforks. Yeah. It is a joke that Trubba didn't get a suspension.
Absolutely should have got a suspension. I think should have been one game.
He even said he's got to take care of a stick like that. He said that can't happen. The,
the maximum fine of $5,000
is such a cop-out. I hate when they're like this.
He's been fined the maximum
amount. Fuck that. It could be higher.
It should be higher. The bigger thing for me
is that's a one game sussie and that's obvious
and it's like a
like so many people are like, oh, if there's
clear intent to injure and blah, but shut the fuck
up, dude. You know if
any idea how many suspensions happen when a guy
hits someone from behind into the boards, clearly
accidental. If it's an accident, there's no
intent to injure, but you can still
get a suspension. Because you need to
send a message that that can't happen.
And when you do that, even if there is no
intent, it makes a player go,
even if I don't mean to do it, if I see you guys
remember, hold up. Don't
fucking staple someone to the boards if their back has
turned to me. If there's a situation
where I think they might turn, don't hit them because
that situation
could happen. It's the same thing.
If you've got two hands on your stick and you're thinking about
hitting somebody, you've got to fucking control yourself.
And if you accidentally hit them in the head or the face,
you're fucking gassed. And that's
fine. And I think players would all be like this. Yeah, that
obviously can't happen. My biggest question for you, I would like to take a quick moment to
determine what makes a dirty player. Because I said he is not a dirty player and a lot of like
Devils fans, Islanders fans, I'm saying this because like you hate the Rangers. I love that
about you. We're like he's the fucking dirtiest player in the league. Dude, Jacob Truba is a big hitter.
Right. There was nothing wrong with that. Like we said last season, we talked about like the
should you fight someone after a clean hit? I don't think so.
My point is hitting is a part of the game for a reason.
It's a stat for a reason.
You can't get loud or mad at a player for fucking laying people out cleanly,
which I think Truba does the majority of the time.
Sometimes he crosses the line because that's the type of player he is.
He's playing on the edge.
Yeah.
Plays on the edge.
And I think that is a difference between a dirty player.
Do you have the adjective for him yet?
We don't.
We got to figure that out.
We got to figure out.
We might have to brand out immediately.
I think there are dirty players to me are guys who very intentionally do,
not on the edge shit, but fucked up shit.
Guys who will throw an intentional slew foot.
And there are people who are like
Marshan's a dirty player. He throws slew... I think that's bullshit.
I think Marshan fucking licks people,
which is fucked up. He's a clean player, in fact. He's cleaning you.
Yeah, he's cleaning. But I think Marshan licks guys.
I think he fucking hacks and wax.
And I think he is a scrappy player
who is on the edge. I think it's guys who throw slew foots
who fucking, you know, get up in your face
or target the head intentionally.
and I think that that's rare, dude.
I think the NHL is an amazing league
because there aren't a lot of players who do that.
And I just think dirty to me is such a brutal adjective
and I don't like it.
I need to come up with something different.
Yep, and I was, well, let me say this real quick.
I don't think the one thing I'll say about Marshan
is, and he doesn't do this that much anymore,
and I was kind of on the fence on this anyway,
because I was like, this is barely different than a hip check.
But when he would duck people, you know,
I could see people being like,
like this, stop doing that,
I agree.
Because that is dangerous.
Yes, and that skews dirty to me.
Yes.
Where I'm like, that is,
you're being dirty.
Stop fucking ducking.
And he stopped doing that.
Yep.
So, okay, that's established.
The Truba thing is an interesting one because I think I'm on your side, but like Scott Stevens
is an interesting case to me because in the era he played in, I feel like people would go,
he was the Truba of his generate, like he was just a super hard hitter.
Yeah, yeah.
And like, yeah, did he cross it a few times?
Yeah, but he was on the line. He plays on the line. And I'm kind of like, Stevens was dirty, though.
Like that, my knee jerk is he was dirty. But if someone said the argument, I just said to you,
where I'm like, he was the trouba though. Like, what do you see the difference? I would hear them because
it was just different rules. Like, yes, Stevens was head hunting, but that wasn't even illegal yet.
Like, we thought that was a good hit. We were like, yeah, bury him in the head, then he won't get up.
You know, like, the paulc green one was fucking interference. But no one got mad that it was at his
head at the time. Like, literally, all they cared about was they were like, he didn't
have the puck. And I was like, he put his shoulder through his nose, dude.
That would be like a fucking 20 game.
Yes, you know what I mean?
So yes, he was headhunting, but that was kind of allowed.
So maybe it's unfair of me to call Scott Stevens dirty
if I'm not going to call Truba dirty
just because the rules, like to me they're so similar.
There was just more lenient rules when Stevens was playing.
Yeah, but to me, the Korea hit is so, Troba's never done anything like that in my opinion.
Agree, agree.
But I think that's a good point.
And yeah.
That one was way over line.
That was dirty.
The one that stands up to me, last year
playoffs against the Devils when he popped
Meyer.
Yeah.
Meyer was the first one to be like,
that was a clean hit,
I got to pick my head up.
Yep.
And yes, he caught him in the face,
but dude,
these are those situations where the game moves so fast.
Yeah.
And if you're coming across the ice
with the puck on your stick
and someone lines you up with their shoulder
and they catch some of your face,
I don't think that that's necessarily targeting the head.
Like, do you have any idea how hard it is,
especially if a player's that much shorter than you?
Yeah.
Like,
you're putting yourself in a dangerous,
position if you're like, oh, I can't hit him, so I've got to move this.
It's complicated. So I'll say this to that point, Dan, when you are, when a forward's coming
down, I'm sure most fellas have played hockey, but like NHL guys move so fast, when a forward
is bombing down and you are a defenseman and you are swinging, skating backwards, backwards crossover,
you're swinging across the ice, trying to perfectly line up where he's going to be in three
seconds from now so you can drill him while he's looking down and stick handling.
And you zoom by, if you didn't get that angle perfect, where you can just drill him right in the
body. If you're a little in front of him and you're like, oh shit, now I'm about to get
walked for a goal against. You lean forward just to make sure you get a piece of them.
Because you're like, I've got to slow him down. And that's usually when you see people clip someone
on the jaw on the way by. And like that's kind of what McAvoy did honestly. His was a little bit
worse. But I've seen hits like that where it's almost looks like a clothesline because you're
like, oh, you're desperately just trying to get a piece. I swear to God those people aren't going,
I'm trying to close line this dude. Yeah, you're trying to make a hockey line. They're just,
they were trying to make a clean hit. And now they're just leaning to make sure they don't get dusted.
Love that point.
And for me, the line there is, if that happens to a certain player a lot, that's dirty.
You're now dirty.
You're now doing the same issue over and over.
If it happens every now and then, it's like you're trying to make a play, dude, but learn from your mistake.
What about, go ahead.
But it's like, for me, dude, there was that stretch.
Our boy, dude, not talking shit because they're a guy.
But like, there was that stretch where P.K. was slew footing.
Yeah, yeah.
People were calling him slew ban.
Yeah.
Those are the times where I'm like this, dude, stop.
Yeah.
Like, you were doing the same bad thing.
over and over again. Stop it.
Yep. And that's what I'm saying.
If you do it once
because you're trying to make a play,
you're not dirty. But if you keep
habitually doing that shit, and that's where I'm just
like, I know a lot of haters on Trubor,
haters on the Rangers are like this. He does do that. He does the bad
thing all the time. And it's
like, everyone goes to the head hunting.
And I'm like, I just don't think so. And to be specific,
he should have gotten suspended for that Frederick thing.
But if you think he's slashed Frederick in the head intentionally,
you're wrong. You got to tighten the screws upstairs.
What about messy?
No. They're messy players.
No, because messy seems like
you don't really know what you're doing.
And I think it's, here's what I think.
Dirty player stands
as a, you're, you're doing bad shit intentionally.
I think Dirty Boy.
Oh.
Is when you tow that line, when you play on the edge.
He's a dirty boy. He's a dirty boy.
Dirty player, dirty boy.
Yeah.
Okay, I lead you in the clubhouse right now.
We'll come back to it.
All right, we're going to wrap up hot ice
and we are going to kick it.
We're going to stop making you wait.
We're going to go right to this bridge.
Brady Kachuk interview.
Dude, we said it.
He's got to be a top two or three,
just awesome, awesome dude in the league, maybe in the world.
I can't fathom an NHL player having a bad word to say about it.
I know.
Like, he must be a fan.
Literally, like, every All-Star game,
every time he's at, like, an event,
people must just be like, I wish he was on my.
I can't think of more guys.
I would say I'd want to spend time with Brady,
and I'd want to Brady to be my friend.
He's just like such an unreal player,
unreal teammate, unreal person.
and funny, cool guys.
Sick interview.
So enjoy the interview, guys.
We sure did.
Okay, it is my true joy to announce
that we are joined by a U-18 team captain and gold medalist,
a world juniors bronze medalist,
a member of the Hockey East All-Rookie Team of the BU Terriers,
a member of the NHL all-rooky team,
a three-time NHL All-Star,
the fourth overall pick of the 2018 draft,
and the youngest captain ever.
in Ottawa Senator's history, Brady Kachuk, welcome to the Engine Netters podcast.
Wow, that was impressive.
Yeah, the resume is impressive, dude.
You get it?
The memory of that, to be honest, I didn't even know half of those.
I'm impressed.
I spent all week.
I spent all week memory.
I'm very very proud of you.
You wanted to get into real quick the funny reaction that Brady had, and I want to put
a lot of last.
Oh, dude.
Yes, I actually meant this before, but I was dying.
We're like, you know, because when you come on, we'll watch, like, we'll look up
some vids, some pods you've done.
and stuff like that.
And dude,
I don't know if you remember this,
but there was like a thing on TSN.
It was you,
LeJua,
and someone else,
I can't remember.
But they asked Max,
uh,
who he called,
uh,
who'd you call first when you got called up to the NHL?
And the camera's on him and he's like,
I called my girlfriend and he goes on and about his answer.
And then the TSN broadcast shows that clip again with your reaction.
Do you remember this?
Do you know what I'm talking about?
Yeah.
Yeah.
You,
you were like,
oh,
it was like,
appalled.
That was so funny.
I remember because it was like it was me, Laj, and formatting,
and we were like made it out of camp,
so they wanted to do like kind of the young guys going to the season.
And I remember when they asked that, like the question,
like immediate thought like, yeah,
I probably did text my girlfriend first,
but no matter what, like you're going with your parents.
That's like the generic hockey answer.
Then what he went with the girlfriend around?
I'm like, I couldn't believe it.
I was like, it's automatic parents.
I thought that was like everybody was thinking that,
but he threw me off.
Couldn't believe it.
They've been driving you to the rink at 6 a.m.
every day of your life making all the sacrifices
and he couldn't bother to give him a shout.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's crazy.
The best part of the reaction from you is it's just pure disappointment.
It's like you're like, oh, come on, Lash.
What are we doing here?
It's so good.
Yeah, it's like to your point, like the 6 a.m. morning practices.
I'm like, that's out the window.
It's just a girlfriend came in a couple years going, all right.
No, no, that's good.
Oh, dude, that absolutely killed me.
Amazing.
Well, dude, we're talking to you on a fun week.
It was a tough loss on Monday, so I don't even want to bring it up.
But obviously, the probably best Donnybrook of the season so far.
And the brothers matchup always makes the headline.
So what do you think about that tilt on Monday from not the loss standpoint?
Because obviously, I know you guys are wanting to get in a groove here.
But I feel like there's part of you that's got to love the energy from the boys there.
Because, like, you see fight like that.
and a response like that, and I think it fires up the locker.
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, 100%, I think when things aren't going your way,
you have two routes.
You either kind of give up and just try to get to the end of the game
or you try to leave your mark on the game.
And, you know, kudos to the guys out there for that, you know,
scrum kind of Donnybrook, whatever you want to call it.
Like, they didn't need to go there and, you know,
get into the scrum like that, but they, you know,
jumped right in and we're all in.
and McEwen too.
He went after it's forced Matthew.
Now,
kind of,
I don't know if it came up and got bombed for it.
He doesn't need to do that,
but he's sending messages.
And I think what it all comes down to,
because everybody on our team wants to win.
And,
you know,
when things kind of get out of reach,
get out of hand that,
we always have each other's back
and,
you know,
we're never going to give up.
So it's just always trying to leave our mark
and stamp on the game
because, you know,
there's always times
we play that team again.
What were you and Matthew saying to each other in that awesome moment yapping at each other from the bench?
Yeah, I mean, I think the people, you know, the lip readers has said he's, after he's, after he's going to go after some of our guys.
And I was like, if you do that, then I will.
So it was just kind of, but after the game, we saw, we were just laughing and just, it's back-to-back, shenanigans.
So the last few times we played against each other.
So at the last time we played, got kicked out halfway through the game.
Yes, sir.
I was watching the game in the box with all the family and friends that came.
So it was just, of course, back-to-back shenanigans.
And hopefully it does keep continuing, but I feel like that's the trim that we're always going to happen.
I think I've got bad news for you.
It's definitely going to.
That's what I really want to know.
What does the family group chat look like after a game like that?
Yeah, well, my sister wasn't here for it.
And so, of course, my parents and, you know, grandparents are there.
And my sister just texting the group chat, like, what is going on right now?
So, right, so we thought that, yeah, it was hilarious.
So then after the game, it was just like the recap with the whole family.
And I didn't know at the time, of course, but my grandma's been all over, you know, that TV.
And, like, she's like, oh, my God, I can't believe it.
Are you kidding me?
And she's their boss would accent.
sent to. So we're all kind of making a big joke of that. And it's a lot of good laughs after that.
That's what I wanted to know. Geraldine was at the game. And yeah, I feel like that's the,
with all the energy going back and forth, if grandma comes down to the locker room after that,
you just put your head down there. Sorry. Yeah, that's what I thought we were getting. But she was
like, oh my boy, that was the craziest game ever. I couldn't believe it. And then all of a sudden,
the pictures of her started coming the media.
So she couldn't believe that as well.
So she was like,
well, I'm so embarrassed.
But we all kind of made a big deal with it.
Dude, I knew it because they kept making it seem like she was appalled on TV.
They're like, oh, my God, in front of their grandmother.
But I was like, she's loving this, dude.
This is great action.
Yeah.
100%?
Yeah.
Yeah.
She was like, hopefully they're safe, but this is definitely one of the most entertaining
Monday nights that's been a part of.
Yeah.
Dude, somebody I saw.
She's from Boston, dude.
Yeah.
She's seen plenty of hockey scrubs, dude.
For sure.
I saw some hilarious thing on Instagram or Twitter or something that was like a picture of your guys benches and there's like three dudes on the bench.
And it was like it looks like an 1130 beer league game.
It's like it does.
You got eight guys left.
It's ridiculous.
Yeah.
The guys are talking about that.
There's, I think, another four line and another B pair and that was it.
So I saw.
I see the picture.
Like you said, half the guys are watching the lounge back there.
So I'm like, like it looks like guys are getting their.
time that they walk yeah yes oh my god so true anytime you can get an enchil
raft to be like everyone on the ice as a 10 minute major you did something right
that was really sick no doubt about yeah uh okay so i want i want to flash back for a little bit
dude uh you know you growing up go to the dev program go to be you like we said get drafted
bounce out of b you get to ottawa and you're 19 you move in with mark stone veteran leader
takes you under your wing living in his house then bang traded at the deadline
you're living there alone.
And eventually you bring in Norris,
you bring in Tim Stutzel,
living with you at Stoner's house.
I,
for the love of God,
dude,
tell me something that you guys got up to in that house.
And I don't want the,
you know,
Josh was a cook,
we were grilling steaks,
we watched a lot of hockey,
played Xbox.
I know all that.
I want to know what you guys got up to
in Stone's house
while you were living there
as like young 20 teenagers.
Yeah,
well,
there's a lot of shenanigans.
It's,
I remember during,
because it was,
of course,
during COVID and quarantine.
Colin White.
Timmy was at the World Junior,
so Colin White quarantined,
so we're all together at least.
So we had to do the 40 days together.
And I remember one day,
we had a football and,
like,
then all of a sudden we moved the furniture around.
And, like,
in the living room,
we started playing a one-on-one football.
Like,
I was quarterback,
and, like,
we just rotate.
And, like,
the house,
it was like a townhouse
so it was,
like,
the neighbors or the neighbors,
like, right there.
I'm like,
I can only imagine what they're,
like,
here right now and what is going on in that house.
And then,
I don't know.
Like a stone comes back.
There's like a dent in the wall.
Oh, yeah.
And it was like, there's got to be like, you know, paintings or like the frame or something that we ripped that and it broke.
And it's just like, all right, we're done with the football.
But another one was, of course, we probably, I don't know, they can get trouble for this now.
But for the same division, Matthew was the same division.
So we played each other nine times.
So I remember one time he came over, me, Josh, and we had like two days in between a game.
and we had like a beer Olympics on the patio outside
and like just our poor
and just like little things like that
that like of course nobody expected to happen
and we just had like a great great day
because we weren't playing the next day
and of course he had nothing to do but stay in the hotel
so it came over there's a great day
outside and just were upstairs in the patio
have a great time just incredible
do you remember who won
yeah
I don't because I think the team
there's Josh and I versus Timmy and Matthew
and Timmy and Matthew didn't put on a good performance that night.
Oh, shit.
Yeah, shots fired.
Tough to hear it too.
I mean, I love this now because they're going to hear that
and know that they've got to step it up next to be our Olympics.
Yeah.
That's one of the funny things about COVID is it did weirdly bring out some of the
strangest events, but most fun events that you could ever think.
Especially I think with dudes.
You put dudes in a house and you can't go anywhere.
You're going to get into some shit.
We'll figure out something fun.
There's no question about it.
Exactly.
Exactly.
Dude, when we were talking in Vegas, this is the era where I learned about your obsession
with asparagus.
And I still am fascinated by that.
Do you know about this?
I actually know a little bit because I heard someone ask you, I forget what I was listening
to.
Maybe it might have been when you were on Mitz off, but they asked if that was like asparagus
was your big thing pregame, but I know you're a chicken farm guy mostly.
So I've heard whiffs of the asparagus thing, but please enlighten me.
Yeah, I'm not a pause.
I'm not a pause.
I think my first year, I just,
I couldn't believe what I was seeing
like all the meals on
the road at the rank
like there's food everywhere
and so of course my first year I'm like
this is great I'm the NHL I meet whatever
I want not thinking anything of it
so it's basically pasta and cookies
I had for the whole year so I'm like
I gained like 20 pounds
I said I'm like you know what I can't be doing that
again so after that year
there's chicken parm no pasta
I got to have something else
I had sweet potatoes and asparagus
and then I just
all of a sudden just started loving
asparagus and like everybody hates it
of course I'm going to take a piss
people's like
just plant my territory and like oh yeah
that's
that's the big dog here yeah
that's the big dog here yeah clear out
the locker room immediately
I feel like Brady walks in and everyone's like oh Jesus Christ
get out of your they're actually to use the bathroom before you
you know they're like quick quick here he comes get in there
I get it though dude the routine I'm that way
you just mentioned sweet potatoes I'm that way with sweet potatoes
I one day figured
out a way to cook sweet potatoes that I love and now I eat it three times a week.
Yeah.
It's fucking good for you, dude.
Yeah, they're great foods.
I mean, it's a good thing.
It's better than pasta and cookies.
So we're on the right trajectory.
Chris mentioned at the beginning in your rundown, three-time All-Star.
Last year, obviously felt like a really special year down in Florida.
Obviously, Matthew's home turf.
And I feel like you guys got to do a lot of cool shit out there.
The shootout was super fun.
You got to play on a line together.
And I feel like it was cool for us last year learning.
a lot of guys that break the all-star break is kind of some of the only time off that you really have
so what was it like when you you know obviously it's an honor to be named an all-star but here
you have this time off that you thought you might have had and now you at least end up somewhere
in florida and then you get to do a bunch of cool stuff with your brother how awesome was that
experience and what were some of the highlights other than elbow room that we unfortunately can't
remember yeah well i mean there's it was truly special um this of course
that like knowing it was in Florida.
I was both kind of like a goal bar
so to be able to do that.
And whenever we have a chance
to be able to play together,
it's always a dream come true.
And yeah, I don't know,
my favorite memory,
um,
I don't know,
there's a lot of fun times.
Like we had a Matthew hosted
kind of a big party on Wednesday
when everybody got in,
have family and friends.
And,
and that was a lot of fun.
Like the sushi guy come in from Miami
and some,
some of the best I've ever had.
And of course,
elbow sashed Thursday
and probably Friday and
Saturday. No, but
But actually,
we were there.
Yeah, yeah, but no, we
just held just great times
sharing that moment with family, friends,
and all the people that kind of traveled in.
It was unreal. And of course,
it was easy from there to go on vacation
to Bahamas after. But,
yeah, like you said,
it's a chance for guys,
to kind of unwind and regroup that last little push of the season.
So to be able to have that with the family and then kind of relaxed too in the process of being in Florida, it was unreal.
How easy is it to snap out of in-season mode when you do something like the All-Star game?
Because obviously a lot of you guys, I feel like you especially, there's a ton of guys in the league who are there,
who you played in college with or, you know, growing up with.
Saw a lot of guys played at the Dev program together, things like that.
and all of a sudden you're on a team together,
you're hanging out, gas and beers together.
Does an event like that,
do you just immediately snap out of that competition mindset of the season?
Or is there still a little bit of bad blood every now and then?
I think it's more, for me, it's just great to see,
you know, people I haven't seen in a while that,
you know, I've cropped bats with and pass.
And, you know, of course, the hockey world is so small
to be able to see people that you don't get to see on a regular basis.
It's always awesome.
But, yeah,
I feel like once you get to the games, though, and you see that, you know, the bonus and the check at the end of the million dollars.
You're like, all right, now that you're here, you might as well just, now that you're here, you might as well try to win the thing.
So I don't, last year it kind of got competitive that we weren't really fooling around.
We were just like, all right, let's go and win the thing.
So that was pretty cool, pretty fun.
And, yeah, definitely a lot of great memories.
I think that's the best way to be.
You're there, you know, might as well.
Go get it.
Light it up.
Go get it.
Okay.
I want to talk about another big life event, dude.
You and Emma got married this summer.
Congratulations, bud.
It's pretty sick.
Thank you.
Yeah, it was an awesome day.
Yeah.
Where was that?
It was just outside of Moorstown, New Jersey.
So she's from, I'm from New Jersey and kind of from the beach.
So that's like a little plates and I don't even know how to really describe it, like a park
would.
And it turned out to be on now.
Yeah.
gorgeous venue.
Emma obviously picked that one.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
I could be able to walk through the other,
the Curtis walked through that.
Yeah.
It was all good.
Decisions me.
I'm like,
sounds good.
You just got to show up,
put your suit on.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay,
here's my first question about the wedding.
Obviously,
during the finals,
there was like every five seconds that someone could talk about it.
They were like,
well,
Matthew and Mark's owner,
both groomsmen and Brady's wedding this summer.
We'll see about,
we'll see how that goes down.
Were there a million jokes told about that in the speeches?
at the rehearsal dinner in the wedding or were there zero jokes?
Because I feel like it was one or the other.
Yeah, it was, there was zero.
Like, it wasn't even mentioned, like,
the first time we were all together was the bachelor party in Miami.
And, like, not one time was we'd ever discussed or joked around about it.
It was just like one of those things that we're all happy for Mark that, you know,
he got the one, disappointed that.
Of course, Matthew got them close.
But, you know, it's, no, I think everybody realized that, you know,
everybody's dream to win.
So for Mark to be able to win it for its first time,
It was pretty cool to see.
Yeah, for sure, for sure.
I do what that was going to be the case.
And then, okay, second question, can you hit us with some highlights, dude?
How was Matthew's speech?
Who was lighten up the dance floor?
You know, like, because the pick of you and the vest, like we were saying, you would do the vest shirtless on everyone's shoulders is iconic.
Amazing.
So, yeah, hit us with some dance floor highlights and some speech highlights.
Matthew's speech is great.
He didn't prepare anything.
He just was winger.
I think he's.
Yeah, he just, he's pretty good.
at that stuff just, you know, kind of laying in it.
I think his crutch, though, is that just, you're my best friend.
And he's maybe said that 10 times.
So I think whenever he's, like, pause it, thinking about, like, another thing,
I don't just go to.
But so we all kind of made fun of him after that.
But I'm trying to think of some good, there are some good dance circles.
I think everybody got a piece of the middle of the circle, had their time to shine.
Yeah.
There's a couple of dancers I actually have never seen before that I'm definitely taking with me moving forward.
There's like a, I want to tell me more.
Yeah, one of my college best buddies at BU Casper, Cock and Solo,
they got into the dance circle, put his like beer down on the floor and started like doing like his foot over like little hurdles and like doing like a skating ride around it.
And I thought like everybody was loving it.
I'm like, that is one of best dancers that are saying.
Stealing that one?
Yeah, that's solid.
And then he'd go on like his hands and he's like.
not use his hands, like grab the beer and it's like chugged it.
They're just like everybody,
everybody went nuts for it.
I couldn't believe it.
Legend, dude.
What a wedding.
When you have a layered dance move like that where you got a prop and you think they're done
with it and then they pull something like that, that's a showstopper.
Ironic.
That's really,
really good stuff.
Also,
Matthew on that speech,
that's tugging at the heartstrings and also a little manipulative.
I like,
it's like his um.
Like every time he's about to um,
um,
he's like,
you're my best friend.
Yeah,
yeah, exactly.
to do his next thought.
Because you know family, we're eating that up.
They were like, God, this is so special.
Dude.
He's just fucking laughing out.
My dad, too.
That was my dad,
he was like,
move on for the year.
You're my best friend.
All right.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Big Walt's like, yeah, we already heard that one, Matthew.
Let's move it along here, buddy.
Incredible.
Quarky, selfish question for me,
because this is my favorite part of weddings.
What were the passed around appetizers during cocktail hour?
Oh, yeah.
I mean, there's like a carving station, a pasta station.
I don't even know because it was just too busy.
You don't even get to eat at your wedding.
So yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, I, people are talking about the carbotation of pasta.
I'm like, there was food out.
I didn't even have a chicken, see if you look at it.
I think there was like an oyster.
I don't even too much out.
Oh, damn.
Yeah.
And whatever kind of happened at the wedding, it was my first time kind of knowing our experience.
And I was like, oh, this is great.
It looks a nice surprise for me, too.
So I didn't bear anything for anybody.
So it was,
I've been a great job doing it because I had nothing to do with it.
Dude,
I love the idea that Emma literally planned so much that Brady,
like he gets dinner served and he's like,
oh shit,
we have steak.
Like he literally doesn't know what's going.
Holy hell,
that's food unbelievable.
That is the funny part.
If you're in the wedding party or obviously if it's your wedding,
you go and do all the pictures and everyone's getting boozed up
and eating all the food and you're like,
fuck,
I want some of that.
I'm going to,
I'm going to give someone a task at my wedding to make me a plate.
Put it aside.
Good one.
Yeah.
Yeah, that's a good point.
Dude, the Mr. Brightside moment for you, obviously, was a gas, but I have to bring up,
because you both have a funny now Mr. Brightside thing.
So that's my favorite band of all time.
I've seen them multiple times live.
Seeing you jamming out to that pump me up.
This fucking idiot, every single time, you know that app Shazam?
Oh, yeah.
Every single time we're at a very populated place.
and that song comes on, it's like, you know, a massive bar or like a, you know, huge party.
He pulls out his phone and opens Shazam and go and like puts it up like this.
So everyone, no matter what, everyone in the bar or the party sees it.
And they immediately are like, do you not know this fucking song?
And he just gets yelled at by dozens of people and it's all for a bit.
And I've seen it now 50 times and it's somehow funny.
It kills every time.
Kills every time.
that is an all-time move.
It truly is, dude.
That is all-time.
I shake my head because I'm like, here we go again.
But then it always gets a reaction.
I'm like, yeah, all right.
It's timeless.
It worked.
Yeah, dude, it ain't broke.
I almost had to retire it, though, because we were at Coachella this year,
and these DJ's two friends played it.
And it's like, we're at Coachella.
There's like a billion people there playing at this master stage.
And I'm like, shazaming it in the Coachella field.
But I was like, this might be the peak of this bit for,
It would have been great if one of the DJs pointed out of him and was like, wait, what the hell's going on with this guy?
What is he doing out there?
Yeah.
Dude, so you just got back from Sweden and obviously took care of the Sweden games, two huge wins for the boys.
What was, you know, not to hate you with another, like what were some of the highlights of that?
But, you know, other than the, you know, awesome experience of, you know, being out on the road, awesome place like Sweden, obviously getting two huge important wins.
what are some of the best moments in a in a road trip like that with the team and you know the staff and the coaches and all that
I feel like those things are super important for team bonding and really getting even closer than you guys already are what what are some of the things in that a trip like that that you can speak to it was unreal it was um no I think for the most important and I think I think this is kind of our whole team thought about this is how specialized for guys like you know brand
and Anton Forrest, but guys are from Sweden and had family and friends there that don't get to experience NHL on a day-to-day basis.
And for them to come and kind of be able to watch, you know, an NHL game and big games for all that matters.
And see how happy they were that they got to share that with their family friends.
That was pretty cool to be a part of.
And then for us as a team, they set up some team dinners for us that were sick.
Unreal.
and some good times too while we're just kind of getting adjusted and they took care of us
and showed up the good spots and set up some pretty good nights.
So it was a lot of fun and of course most important were two big ones.
Two huge dubs, dude.
You'd been there before, right?
I've been to a little bit north for the U-Act program.
I think it was like a U-18, five nations or something.
And at that time, it was hotel rank, hotel rank.
It was just strict the business.
So were there any highlights of just off the ice things that you did while you were there?
Did you have time to like sightsy around or was it just quitting it out?
Well, we had time, but I think we're all kind of mangled with the time change.
So it's like, I know you're not supposed to nap, but guys are getting four-hour nap and a day up.
Our whole team was up from like 3.30 to 5.30 every morning.
But we didn't really get adjusted at all to that.
But, no, there's some great restaurants they took us too.
Like there's a steakhouse that was unreal that we had a team dinner at.
And yeah, it was good.
A couple, you know, fun nights that they planned for us.
So we had a good time.
Is the cuisine, and you would know maybe, is the cuisine about the same?
Like, are you eating just like steak and sweet potatoes or is there, are you eating like horses?
Yeah, no.
No, there's some restaurants that I know some of the, our trainers went to that were eating like reindeer.
Yeah, yeah.
Elk and reindeer are big.
Yeah.
But we just kept it at.
Guys are, yeah, guys are, yeah, sparesic, you know, pasta, cookie.
No, but, no, the guys, like, take it, and you always had the pick a year, so it was just steak and steak and steak ever.
Tell me you had meatballs.
You know what?
I actually never had meatballs on this trip.
And I got to the last day, I couldn't believe it.
I'm like, I wanted to, but holy, like, we're on, I haven't been able to play.
I haven't had a meatball yet, right?
All right.
So, yeah, I'd just go to IKEA, I guess.
I've got some.
I mean, listen, they're great.
Yeah, they are.
And the Swedes will tell you that.
They're like, the meatballs at IKEA are elite.
Yeah.
And dude, you're so right.
That time change is no joke.
Yeah, it is.
That'll kick the shit out of you.
I'm currently living there.
Yeah, right, right.
So everyone's clear.
But that's awesome, dude.
I love that stuff.
We were talking in an episode earlier just about how, like, the team trips like that
just are so important for the boys.
So that's amazing.
Okay.
We talked to the topic.
But I just want to talk about the leadership role you're in right now because we said youngest captain and senator's history.
And you got Shabs there.
He's had the A with you too.
And Drew comes in.
There's like a leadership core there for sure.
But can you just tell us a little bit about the responsibility that you feel of being a captain in this league and what that means?
Because I know your dad instilled some awesome stuff and you know, be a good teammate, work hard, things like that.
But just talk about what that means to you.
Yeah.
I mean, of course, you know, G, Shabby.
I think we have a great leadership group.
You know, guys, you know, I feel like each year we're adding more and more to the leadership group.
And yeah, we all have one goal with that we want to win and want to be able to do whatever it takes to win and hold each other accountable.
But with, you know, G and Thomas especially that some of my closest buddies and I could just talk to them about kind of anything that's on my mind.
And they're always there for me.
and no certain routes who kind of want to go to get our messages across that they always have each other's back when it comes at so no of course i rely on them heavily and and um i know i feel like it's a little generic or hockey but when i say this but like everybody can lead in their own way it's for us on our team it's not just about like the leader for group needs to be the all the leaders on the team it's if everybody could your first game you bring something to the table you lead by your work actually
and your excitement to be able to just be in the NHL in play.
So I'm a firm believer in that,
that everybody on our team has the capability of speaking up at the right time,
being vocal in the locker and be positive.
And of course, being by example.
Yeah.
How, I've always wondered this, dude.
Was it stressful at all?
Like, when you first get named captain and you're 10 years, 15 years younger than some of the guys in the room,
is it weird the first time you're like, the boys are like,
okay, say something.
And you're like, okay, I'm 20.
That's what I wanted to know, Brady, because you're in, you're in this really amazing group of people now.
It's, it's been really wild to see in the last 20 years.
We have this wave of, obviously, you know, Crosby becomes a captain super young.
And then Ovi and then McDavid.
And as Chris said in the beginning, youngest captain in Sends history, what was that first year like?
Did it, you know, I feel like you've always done such a great job with stuff like leadership, with stuff like team bonding.
And you've always cared yourself incredibly professionally.
but, you know, just behind the closed doors, stuff that people don't see.
What's that vibe like being such a young captain with all of these vets and all these guys that you go to war with?
Yeah, I think, now, the first year, but I mean, it's still all these things to learn and an adjustment every single day, every year.
And now, the first year, it's, you know, for me it was an adjustment because, no, I signed late and then I missed camp.
So I felt like I missed a lot of quality time with my teammates.
And I felt like I missed a lot of good memories and stuff that they've gone through in the grind of camp and kind of that.
So it was tough kind of coming back, signing, and then a couple weeks later being named captain.
Obviously, I want to just, no, be able to find my game too because at that time I missed camp.
So I was kind of off to a slow start.
And I think when it comes like that, I feel like the biggest thing guys to worry about is, you know,
demanding things from others.
when you're not doing it yourself.
So when you're struggling, it's hard to hold other people accountable
because, you're not playing greater.
You're trying to find a way to make an impact.
It's almost like it feels like it's impossible.
So that was an adjustment.
I was able to, that's when I relied on guns like Shabby,
who helped me out and delivering messages and stuff like that.
And over time, just get more and more comfortable with myself.
And then all of a sudden, G, coming in.
And I relied on him heavily last year this year.
And he's helped me out tremendously and everything and just be able to rely on him in the past things that he's learned.
And I think with the group we have now, it's you could probably put the C in a lot of guys jerks and they'd be well deserved to have it.
So I'm very lucky to have those guys and be able to kind of use them.
And that's great because we're all on the same same way of length and path of what we want to accomplish here.
And I know things aren't looking great right now or kind of it's a magnifying
Glow's first year with pressure expectations, but I feel like, you know, the tide's going to
turn here pretty quick, getting guys back and kind of away we go here soon.
Well, that's a perfect transition because, you know, you talk about guys like G.
I was actually just thinking you look at a guy like G who is, you know, a very possible
future Hall of Famer, longtime captain of the Flyers comes over.
and Brady's like, well, I'm the captain now, bitch, fuck.
Yeah, you know, it's like, obviously you're not like that,
but I always laugh about those situations when it's like you get this great veteran in
and you have a young captain of this really up-and-coming young team.
It's such a fun swing.
When G, when G isn't being a super helpful leader, which I'm sure he is most of the time,
is he a great ball buster internally?
Like, I've seen all his shit talking on the ice two opponents,
but does he bust your guys' balls internally too?
Oh, it's every day.
But he's like, he's got that, like, serious cards or something.
like he will come in like when he's dialed in or somewhere.
I don't even know.
Like he's always like no matter what you say,
oh,
I'm not feeling a while.
I think I'm getting sick.
He's like,
it's just a mindset,
bro.
It's just a mindset.
I was just like,
all right.
Like,
don't be a hero here.
Settled out right now.
But,
um,
no,
he's great.
He's,
uh,
but it's like nonstop with him.
It's like some days he'll just kind of give me the cold shoulder,
but you know he's joking.
Yeah.
Yeah.
How you doing?
G's like,
I couldn't be better.
and it's just as stern of a face.
Like the happiest guy in the room,
and he just refuses to smile.
So he just does little things that are so funny.
And yeah,
as much as he gives it to everybody else,
a lot of guys give it to him too.
And like we always say,
the French-Canadian accent makes it all so much funnier.
I imagine when he's doing the serious,
straight-face shit,
you're like,
shut up.
I'm still on here.
But like we said,
that that perfect transition,
you just mentioned,
you know,
things haven't started the way you guys want.
But you also mentioned, which I think is such a great comment that you could throw the sea on anyone's sweater in that locker room.
That is such a great feeling when you have a team that has that vibe.
And I want to know about what that vibe is currently in the locker room with the guys.
You just mentioned some people are coming back from injury, which is an amazing feeling.
You've got the talent there.
It sounds like you've got the chemistry there.
How is everyone feeling right now for headed into, you know, second half of the first half of the season here?
Well, I think with, I know I could speak to myself.
You know, our schedule has been kind of weird.
It's like we play, we play a holiday schedule.
We play two games and then we have five days off.
And then we have a game, three days off.
So it's like it's hard to kind of really find, like, Mojo and of course, Sweden.
Like there's five days before the games and then there's five days after.
So it kind of, like, there's no really flow into our schedule.
But now that we have 15, 16 games in the month of December, like it's, it's grind.
time. I feel like that's when we can start just playing and that, you know, rely on our youth and
being able to recover quicker and just kind of going back into games, not thinking about previous
games, just focused on all that, you know, that game, then the next game. So I think that's going
to really help us kind of get into this wild schedule coming up and we could just start rolling
and start, you know, feeling good about a game, do little things, maybe grind one out and
and then just kind of building off that. So it's going to be nice. I'm going to start getting
low on the schedule in our games and just get to be playing a lot, which that's what we want to do.
How do you guys do that mentally?
Because last year, the end of the season, you had such an unreal run that was leading right up to a hopeful playoff push.
You guys aren't in the standings right now where you want to be.
You're in one of the hardest divisions, no question about it.
But I know that every single one of you guys expects to make the playoffs and wants to make the playoffs.
So what's that mindset right now going into this grind of December and then into the new
year. Yeah, to piggyback on that, Brady. Is it like, because it's still early relatively,
but do you, what do you like start feeling a little, you know, if you start 10 games,
you're like, whatever, but like, does it start to snap in around 20 games? We're like,
yo, fuck, we got to, we got to go here. Well, I just know, like, looking at standings,
like, we got a lot of games and hand on teams. So it's like, yeah, absolutely. You do the math,
like, all right, if you get reit road, then you're like here compared to everybody else. So it's
like, we, of course, are at a weird position. Of course, you don't like where we're at,
but we have a lot of games
their handling teams
where that could change
when we kind of get
closer in games
but
yeah,
I think for us
it's just
we just need to grind one out here
and just play simple
and just play to our game
just kind of all
be on the same path,
same wave length,
and that's what we are.
We just want to
focus on each game
and we play Friday,
back to back.
I know we don't think
about Saturday's game
until Saturdays.
So we're going on Columbus.
That's,
or full focus and we just want to
focus on what we can do,
focus on our game,
keeping it simple and all that.
So I feel like that's just the message
that we've had these four days
that we haven't played or leading up to that.
So it'll be good.
Yeah, the beliefs there.
We all know that.
You guys brought it.
You get the full season of Chickren,
bad Vlad's here,
goalie help, you know,
you guys are going to be buzzing
and just get hot a little bit.
I wanted to ask you this too,
obviously whenever that was the other day
when you were trending about getting some support from the fans and everything,
which by the way, not for nothing, but we loved, dude,
because the fans are so important and it's so important to get that support.
I feel like bands, I never played as high as you, obviously,
but you get that juice from the crowd behind you and everything.
So I love that you said something about that,
but I was just wondering if you wanted to take this platform to just tell us
and our listeners some of your favorite things about playing in the Ottawa market
and how intense it is and how awesome it is and things you like about it up there.
Yeah, it's on around.
And like you said, like we rely on, you know, the fans so much.
Like, that's the reason why we play.
It's, you know, the support and be able to accomplish our dreams for the community
and sharing those memories with the communities.
Because now I hear about the playoff runs that the send we've been on
and how the city goes crazy to that.
And I know for me that's kind of consumed my summer and kind of has been my motivation.
Of course, seeing Matthew do it in Fort Lauderdale and seeing, you know,
the beach be, you know, signs of the Panthers that you would expect.
But, yeah, no, I think for, you know, the fan base, it's how passionate they are.
And for the people that, you know, grinds it out, the rebuild and kind of seeing it come to that next phase of now or back,
or we're trying to push for what we want to accomplish.
It's, you know, some of these last two home openers, the crowds have been absolutely unbelievable.
And that's, I feel like as close it's going to get to, you know, what it's going to be in playoffs.
and I guess playoffs is a whole different story with the fan base,
the whole aura around their team, the city.
So that's definitely something that I really, really, really want to accomplish
for our team and for our cities to have everybody around on our team.
And we're definitely going to meet them.
We're going to need their support them.
And we're going to get out of this kind of tough time.
And last year's kind of pushed to playoffs.
We can kind of start seeing it like that.
the energy with city and it's like, okay, like, there we go.
And like, this is going to be unreal.
It was definitely disappointing.
And, but there's a lot of excitement this year that we just want to, you know,
kind of take advantage of and get back kind of in the hunt.
Yeah, it's sick when I feel like the fans are greedy, you know,
because like you're in this rebuild and you're at the next phase and they just want
the next phase.
But I'm like, good.
I like greedy fans because it makes you want to win for them too.
And I love you bringing up the playoffs last year because something that's been funny about,
you know, this world that we're in.
is there's a lot of interactions with fans online.
And Sends fans are the best.
And you look at all of these different Canadian markets
and how intense the media can be
and some of the fan reactions can be.
And from our perspective,
every time you watch Sends game,
I feel like that barn is rocking
and you can tell how passionate they are
about the history and the connection with the team.
So yeah, it fires me up hearing about the mindset,
going into this next phase of the season,
really wanting to grind out some wins
and doing it for the community,
there's nothing better than that.
Hell yeah, it's unbelievable.
Yeah, no, we're lucky.
The fans have been really positive.
And I feel like you'd get,
you know, like the big cities, Toronto, Montreal,
kind of cities like that,
you might get, like,
if you walk around, like, there might be a guy
who starts giving it to you about, you know,
however you're playing the team.
But that hasn't happened here at all.
Like, walk around,
I'd be like, you know, we love the team.
We've been sent fans since 92 or,
or like we see as a ticket holder.
So it's been nothing but positivity and it just makes you want to play so much harder
for them because they're spending their hard work and their money just to come watch you play.
So you always want to put on your best effort and make sure they are proud and what they're spending.
Yeah.
I mean, honestly, dude, when it comes to a fan base, there's nothing better.
Yeah, that's all you want.
That's all you guys work.
That's the dream.
All right, Brady, we're going to get you into some fun shit here.
So this is a game that we play with every guest.
It's called pass-shoots score.
Basically a ranking system.
So passing the puck, snapping it around is great.
Shooting getting pucks on nets a little better.
Scoring the ultimate goal, that's the top.
So essentially it's Mary Fuck Kill.
But you don't have to kill anything.
It's just one, two, three.
All right.
So we're going to start with something that we touched on a little before.
I love how much of a music guy you are.
An eclectic music guy, I'll say.
Yeah.
So I'm going to hit you with a pass-shoots score of three songs.
Okay.
Mr. Brightside.
Okay.
Something in the orange, Zach Bryan.
And landslide, Fleetwood Mac.
Oh, boy.
I'd say pass landslide.
Shoot.
Oh, boy.
Something in the orange and then, wow.
Score, Mr. Bright-Side.
I know.
I'm a huge.
I know you are.
I just saw my Spotify your thing.
It's like,
Zach Ryan.
It's all right.
Yeah.
It's like,
all right.
I guess I looked into him a lot.
Listen,
the passing landslide
kind of broke my heart,
but at least Mr.
Bright's that state his score.
Yeah.
That is all that matters to me.
That's a huge win.
It's close.
I'm not going to lie to it.
I get it.
Dude,
Zach is great.
Have you been to a killer show?
I have.
Okay.
Thank you.
Yeah.
Last year I went.
day before our first preseason game,
I'm like, I have to go no matter what.
Like, I have to.
Yeah.
So I was an opportunity,
and I saw them in Toronto.
I'm wrong.
Oh, fuck.
Yeah.
Very sick.
Yes.
That's awesome.
Okay.
Here's your next one, Brady.
The next category is Will Ferrell movies.
Okay.
Okay.
Pass shoot score.
Old school.
Anchorman.
The other guys.
I love seeing the gears turning.
Yeah.
Pats.
Anchorman.
shoot old school
and score the other guy.
I think the other guy's awesome.
Dude, that's a whole thing.
Such an underrated movie.
That is my exact ranking.
Yep.
And I couldn't love that.
Dude, the old are,
the other guys is not only,
in my opinion,
probably his funniest movie.
It's a good movie, too.
Like,
the script is really smart and funny.
Yeah, it's awesome.
I love that movie.
I can watch a movie every day.
Me too.
It's fucking hilarious.
Oh, God.
That bones me up.
So much.
Dude, and bonus question in this category, which is your favorite Will Ferrell costume?
Oh, yeah.
Right.
Because you did.
You did Buddy.
You did Talladega.
Kicking and screaming.
Uh,
semi-pro.
Yeah.
So what's your favorite Wilfail costume you've done?
Yeah.
Oh.
Um,
that's a good one.
Like,
there's some,
like,
I don't think a lot of people knew the kicking and screaming one this year.
They're like,
oh,
what,
what are you?
Oh,
my God.
I'm a real girl kicking.
It was perfect.
It was a awesome movie,
though.
So good.
So good.
So good.
So good.
I don't know.
Like semi-pro is fun because, like, you just get to wear the short shorts.
So it's hilarious.
You get the pro, yeah.
You get the standard for the party.
Like, all right, we're here to party for the Halloween.
Yeah.
Yeah, it'd probably go with the semi-pro.
That was, I had a lot of fun with that one.
Yep.
And you in Stoner in Talladega was pretty solid, though.
Yeah, that was killer.
Yeah, we were dialed on for that one.
Yeah, you guys were.
That was sick.
Are you going to keep the run going?
Like, do you have one planned for next year?
yeah yeah we already got i think the next two or three years planned out and then go
for me so it's crazy it's a we already know are you wait so uh kicking streaming was this year yes
i do you don't ask i don't want to know yeah well all no no i don't want to know all i want to know
is is emma ever going to get in on this are you guys going to find a couple's one that is a will
did she do did cut though or who did dick go with you yeah she did ima did dipka she's like
She darts the ones like in the movie like but it's not ones that like like there's not usually like a girl that she's playing.
It's just like like like cut.
It's just another character.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So he's just like almost like a throwing character.
I'm not going to I'm not going to say it on the airwaves because I don't want to spoil it.
But I feel like I've got an idea of the one that you two.
Say it after.
Yeah.
I'll shoot you a message out.
I'm also loving that like.
Yeah.
You're probably right.
You're probably right.
Yeah.
I was a loving every year.
And I was like, so what are we?
Throw the bone this year.
Yeah.
Every year I was like, what are we?
And he's like, Brady's like, okay, so this year you're dressing is Mike Ditka for Halloween.
She's like, fucking thanks, dude.
Like, sweet.
Like, no, I got to wear a mustache.
It's uncomfortable.
I'm like, you just got to do it.
It's either.
Yeah.
Do you know how good this is going to look?
Give me a break.
So funny.
Okay.
Your next one is comfort zone stuff.
Stuff that.
Oh, yeah.
You're just, you're in your, you're in your zone vibe.
When are you happiest?
Yeah.
Happiest.
own here.
Ripping video games, playing a little bit of chel
with your crox on.
Okay. That's high up there.
Yeah.
Sitting on the couch watching a Game of Thrones
Marathon.
The crocs is the second one.
Oh yeah, yeah. Sorry.
Playing video games is one.
Wearing your crocs is two.
And then third is sitting on the couch,
Game of Thrones marathon.
Cool.
Oh, man.
That's a tough one.
Yeah.
I'd say...
Those are three very good things.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I'd say pass is video games.
Okay.
What?
I get it.
Score in Game of Thrones and then...
Or no, I missed it.
Shoot is Game of Thrones.
It's wearing a crock.
I still wear Crocs the rank and it's like 20 degrees out.
It's just like, I'm too lazy to come shoes.
So it's just like...
Do you have crocs on right now?
Yeah.
I don't.
I don't.
I don't.
I don't.
How many pairs?
I had them on grill.
How many pairs do you have?
I've got three here at the house.
I just kind of rotate,
going to the rank.
I got one at the rank for like when I walk around the locker room and then, or two.
Two of them.
Yeah,
I got two pairs up at the rank.
Actually,
one would get it from a fan that they got my shoe size and everything.
toss up for a stick.
So I was like, perfect.
That's a great.
Thank you so much.
Keep them coming.
New color.
Dude, my question for you is,
once you made it to the national,
do you stop playing cell as much?
Like, is it weird playing cell when you're in it?
I definitely stopped playing as much as I did.
Like my time at the US program and BU,
I was,
I think I could have played in a couple tournaments
because it was all the time.
But it had,
has like definitely decreased, but sometimes I like just downloading it and just playing
online and like kind of going back or just, just playing.
It's just like I usually download every year game and then like once in a while and
now I'm not doing much from kind of sick of other games.
I'll throw it on and play a couple online matches and kind of go from there.
Do you play?
Do you play?
I play with the Ottawa Center.
It's all about giving seven to punch.
And that's obvious.
do you tell people online it's you like the people that are playing you are they like oh i'm playing
brady or are you just like what's your what's your gamer tag i need like is brady's gamer tag is
at the real brady cat give it to seven there's yeah there's it's close it's not like
doesn't say like the actual name but it's definitely if people are smart they could probably
figure it out yeah and like they're they're playing against someone who's playing with the
sends and literally seven has the puck at all times they're like i think this is brady kachuk
Yeah, I think you want some cookies.
This might be Brady.
Dude, I get that vibe so much.
I do that exact same thing with Chelle and with FIFA,
where I won't play video games at all,
but I get the new game every year,
and then I'll go through a phase where I play it so much,
just to get that old feeling back.
Yeah, it's real.
FIFA Pro Club.
Awesome.
I started playing that this summer.
I had a great time.
I was a striker.
I was a dealt with guy, bass, and just only headers.
Yeah.
Only header.
It was the best.
And then my last, because I'm a huge, huge, huge, huge, huge Thrones guy.
Who is your, give me like top two characters in Thrones?
Ah, well, that's good.
John Snyd, like John Snow, Tyrion, man.
Interior, that's hilarious.
Goated, both goaded.
Terean guy, love that.
Okay, Brady, this is, this category is food.
Okay.
Pass shoot score.
The Brady Burger at the Canadian Tire Center.
A pepperoni pizza at T. Anthony's Pizza.
in Boston or the chicken parm at Paul Manos in St. Louis.
Let's go.
Oh, boy.
You guys really know your stuff.
Good for you.
Hmm.
Oh, man.
You guys are really messing me here.
Yeah, because you're going to upset someone with this answer.
I know.
Yeah, I got to go pass.
And this is like a very, like, one of the best passes I've ever seen in my life.
Yeah.
That T. Anthony's.
Oh, fuck.
Emma's pissed.
Yeah.
shoot the Brady Burger
and then score the chicken popcorn.
Is that your order at Palmanos?
Or did you get something else?
You know,
I actually switched up to
they have great lamb chops.
Oh, dude, you know what?
Very quietly,
when an Italian spot does lamb chops well,
they are gas.
Yeah.
So I respect that pick.
Two follow-ups.
One,
I hear that you're, that was your second date with Emma at T. Anthony's, but I heard your first
date was at dining hall, but you swiped her in. Is that true?
I don't know if I swiped her. I think she might have swiped. She swiped you on the date.
Yeah. Yeah. So, Andrew good. Yeah, you knew she was a keeper right away, dude. Free dining hall. Okay.
Here you know, you're a good person. So I'm going to definitely, you know, I appreciate it. No, but
yeah, yeah, dining hall. I don't even remember what I ate. But yeah, the whole place. That's what I did at
Daniel. I ate everything in the building.
Yeah.
Hopefully it was grilled cheese night because it was for the best.
What are you putting on the burger?
The burger, we got a little bison burger, got a little bacon, cheddar cheese.
I just throw a little ketchup on it, boom, there we go.
Yeah.
A little sweet potato fries, the fries.
Let's go, yes.
That's what I'm talking about.
And then can you just tell everyone real quick just about the Cucucucat captains program at BGC Auto,
where the Brady Burger proceeds go to and everything?
Yeah, no, which really, really excited.
about it's um that's something that you know emma and i are really passionate about is it's kind of
being a positive role model influence for you know kind of the next generation of kids growing up
and having role models to look up to and um yeah it's great we always love visiting you know bgc and
and seeing all those kids and i go right to the gym and just play whatever sport that's going on so
it's great that to be able to share that with them and and yeah the burger is something that's
going to be made by the rank with, you know, part of the proceeds go to BGC and another great cause
and the great work that they do there.
So something I'm really excited about and actually did just did a little taste test.
I think it was the last week and, you know, some of the kids at BGC came to and try out.
Oh, sick.
I think they loved it.
And I mean, now I'm definitely excited for the rank to be able to serve that now.
They can't wait for you to come back and dummy them in ping pong again.
fucking take it easy, bro.
We're 10.
Oh, yeah.
Basketball is just game on.
Yeah.
Just dunking on 10-year-olds.
Oh, yeah.
So the only move.
All right.
Your last one, Brady.
This is a little bit of a reverse on you because this is things that annoy you.
So we're going to go past you to score, but score being the thing that annoys you the most.
So we're just going up.
Number one, losing a yard game to Big Walt.
Two, the bagged milk in Canada.
and three, the fact that Matthew eats mac and cheese with a spoon and not a fork.
Yeah, that's pretty bizarre.
I'd say, yeah, that's a tough one.
Bagged milk is probably a pass for me.
Are you guys on board yet, or do you avoid that?
No, because I can't get there.
It's so weird.
Yeah, but I don't think I've ever seen it in the household.
Yeah, good, good.
Yeah, we don't have it.
Probably shoot is the math you with a spoon.
Because I probably do some weird thing.
Can I let's fair.
It doesn't want to throw stones.
That's good self-awareness.
Yeah, I respect that.
And then score is losing a big wall.
That's always because he'll know.
He just will put it right back in your face.
Just a killer.
Yeah.
Just to get, dude, I couldn't believe,
because we were watching some of the,
you guys did that awesome,
like stuck with the Kachachachshik.
quarantine, you know, that whole series. And I was watching that can jam finale again. I can't
believe that L you took, dude. Like you guys, you and Walt were up so big, dude. I was dying at
that game. That was amazing. Yeah. That was a lot of fun. I was entertaining for us to be doing
that to wait.
Dude, our dad does that too. He'll, and he does it with such a pompous way. Like he'll beat us in a
card game. Yeah. And then instead of gloating, what he does is like try to, he's like,
So, you know, next time you're playing and you should try it.
And I'm like, shut the fuck.
Deal the cards again.
And I'm going to bury you.
Yeah.
Fucking brutal.
All right.
Well, Brady, you nailed that.
You've been unreal this whole time.
We've taken up enough of your time.
So we're going to let you go here.
But before you bounce, is there anything you want to give a shout out to?
Anything you want to plug?
Anything you want to say and leave the listeners with?
Oh, I didn't know what to see on this one.
Yeah, I don't really have much.
just watch along the ride of the Ottawa Center this year.
Yeah, watch the boys get hot.
Hell yeah.
Enjoy the ride.
Yeah, fuck yeah.
I love that.
All right.
Well, dude, you've been the best, man.
Thank you so much.
This is a blast.
And we'll knock it out in elbow room next time.
Perfect.
Can't wait.
Thanks, guys.
Sick.
That was our interview with Brady Kachuk.
Again, just the best guy in the world.
I had such a good time.
Me too.
He's so many laughs.
Sometimes people schedule, our guest schedule is like, you know, they got the 30 minutes with us and then they're out, dude.
And sometimes they hang for a while.
And Brady was hanging and just being the man.
You sure was.
And being so awesome.
So that was fantastic.
Okay.
Let's wrap this episode up.
We've got a new look over here on the couch.
Yeah.
I like it.
I'm comfy.
Three hottest teams of the week.
Team number three, New York Rangers.
They did just get tagged by the Sabres.
Yep.
But they are on a roll.
They had a three game.
streak, avs, wings to name two, but we had to dish it out based on swings the schedule,
so the third hottest team is them because they are the best team in the NHL right now,
beat the Penguins 1-0, Fliers 3-1, dummy the Bruins 7 to 4 in a ridiculous game.
Brian was there.
I was actually there.
Brian, you made a TikTok there, right?
I did.
Tell us about it.
I was on the ice.
It was, oh, well, after the game we're on the ice and then made a TikTok with the Rangers
and Justin Tuck and The Stranger Things guys and Coozine.
So sick, dude.
what's the what's the uh stranger things kid like uh it was cool yeah he was down to do it like you know
i thought i mean honestly it was their idea we were just long for the ride but the social
beauty people told them what the premise was and they were like cool yeah let's do it so
they were like hey there's this cool trend and brian brand and they're like yeah no we did it
i was like yeah that's our trend that's actually so crazy dude i know it's like these famous
people then us two schmows in the middle but yeah but the rags are buzzing dude they're up one-nill
on the Red Wings right now
halfway through the second so
Who had the assist on that one?
Say it.
Laffey.
Second hottest team of the week,
the LA Kings.
Five game heater,
the Kings had going.
They beat the Panthers,
the Blues, the Yotes,
the ducks and the habs.
They're scoring a ton of goals.
Third most in the league.
They're giving up no goals,
second least in the league.
Yep.
Jesus, dude.
They are cooking.
I mean, Talbot was just
pulling the Kings out of the
dog,
out of the doldrums
with their bad goalie play,
but Phoenix has been insane
too. So they've got a tandem right now.
They're scorching hot. Kevin Fiala has woke up. He is on a
fucking huge little streak. Trevor Moore
is the hottest player in the NHL, playing at a point per game
place. Pace. Shout out to our boy. Unbelievable stuff.
Now the number one team in the league
is the Smashville Predators, dude.
I think it's six in a row now? Or is it right? Because they beat Pitt
last night, 3-2 in O.T.
Yeah, then it's six. Yeah. I'm pretty sure it's six in a row.
Unbelievable, they beat the Hawks, the abs, the
flames and then hammered the blues
and then yeah, three, two win against
the penguins. Great win against
the Jets too. Yeah, so they're like over
500 now. They're back over 500. They sure are.
Predators have really started to find that
stride, getting some good play from some of the
young guys. Flip Forsberg is really
moving right now. That's what
the, you know, if you're the
wild, if you're Ottawa
and less so, but if you're Ottawa and the wild,
it seems like that, this is exactly what you look at.
The Oilers, frankly, but you're like, just
catch fire and you're right back in this race.
sure are.
Good time to be in Nashville.
Yeah.
Topwatch.
Three 20 games.
He's got 11 goals,
eight assists for 19 points,
so just off point per game,
but he had two tucks and the devils blow out against the savers.
He had an assist last night,
and a crazy,
crazy come from behind winning against the Islanders.
Top's doing great.
He's right where we want him to be.
Unlike the Devils.
Huge win, dude.
Yeah, we're working on it.
We're working on it.
We're getting them back, dude.
We're working on it.
It's Akira's Net.
Things are looking up.
Yep.
Okay.
FPG.
friend of the pod goals since we last checked in because I think we missed a week maybe.
I can't remember.
Or we recorded too quickly at the CCM Hockey House show at CCM.
That was fun as hell.
I've got the sick jersey, by the way.
If everyone can see that.
Can you see that in the camera, bro?
It is seeable, yes.
God, sick jersey.
But Morsi had four goals since then.
He's got 11 on the year.
Point per game, stud.
Tauf had three, PLD had one.
Ducky had two.
Chucky Bright Lights had one.
And Tucky had three, bringing our total to 54 goals.
Friends of the Pod.
Honestly, you're going to need the boys to pick it up a bit.
And good news, Dan.
We get all the Brady goals moving forward.
Yes, we sure do.
That's going to be exciting.
Very good.
You have any games to watch?
I do.
Thursday.
Vegas at Canucks.
That's fun.
Yep.
And then Friday, I flagged this one.
Sharks at Devils.
Not a great game on paper,
but the Devils haven't played the Sharks
since the team out trade.
Ah, that'll be fun.
That'll be fun.
Okay, I got two.
I got a Saturday night game.
Caps at Vegas.
Caps are way better than people are thinking.
Yeah, my God.
Way better than I thought.
They're sitting at 10, 6, and 2.
Vegas has had a couple of tough losses here, so I think that's going to be a tilt.
And then really, my big one, Sunday.
Abs at Kings.
Yeah, what a game.
I'm going to that game 100%.
What a game.
Just so much talent all over the ice.
Two of the best teams in the West.
That game is going to be so, so fun.
electric. Can't wait for it. So those are your games to watch. Hope you enjoyed that Brady
Kachuk interview. How could you enjoy this new look, dude? Yeah, the boys are lounging.
So we are back in action. It's Christmas season. We're buzzing. Get on those frozen ponds. And as
always, skate hard.
