Empty Netters Podcast - 65. Road to 50 with Seth Jarvis
Episode Date: December 6, 2023Seth Jarvis joins the podcast! The boys talk about the crazy state of the Metropolitan division as well as what the Devils need to turn things around. Could Steve Stamkos be traded at the deadline? S...eth Jarvis discusses his breakout season and all things he does to annoy Rod The Bod CHAPTERS (0:00) - Intro (3:24) - NO BUCKY WARMUP (3:30) - New Coach Bump For the Wild (7:45) - The National Hughes League Showdown (11:05) - Stick taps for the Flyers (15:45) - Way too early Cellebrini Talk (18:52) - McDaivd inducted into Canada's Walk of Fame with Avril Lavigne (21:12) - HOT ICE (21:22) - Could Stamkos be traded at the deadline? (30:56) - The Devils need to make a change (39:18) - The state of the Metro Division (45:26) - Victor Hedman is best in class (50:54) - The NHL needs an in season cup (56:55) - Seth Jarvis Interview (1:53:36) - OVERTIME (1:53:53) - Closing Segments SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
We are absolutely psyched to say that this episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by our old friends at Labat Blue Light.
We're in the middle of hockey season.
We're in December.
It is the perfect time to crack open an ice cold beer.
And there is no better beer on the planet than LBLs.
They are the crispest, coldest, most refreshing Canadian pilsers you have ever had.
And every single glass of Labat Blue Light has a nice taste of Canadian kindness in it.
It's unbelievable.
So if you're sitting at home watching a hockey game at the game sitting in the stands or you just need to rip open a cold one, LaBat blue light has you covered in every sense because it is the best beer in the game today.
So jump on board and crack open a Labat blue light with your boys and enjoy this episode.
All righty, the ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
It's December.
It's Christmas season.
wearing sweaters. You are. I almost won't want to two, but I thought I'm at wait because maybe I was
going to wear it a different time. But then, now I'm kind of like I just should have wore one for every
episode in December. It's my whole mindset on the Christmas season. It's not enough of it. Not enough.
That's why I start November 1st. Yeah. Oh, dude, when... You start wearing sweaters on December 1st.
You have less than a month to wear those sweaters. You got to wear them longer than that.
The candy gets put away. The Halloween costumes go back into the bag. Yep. And then it's Christmas everything.
Oh yeah. The music, the movies, the sweaters. We're doing it all. I agree. We're doing it all, dude.
Yeah, we drove the yard house and you were playing Christmas music. Yeah, but you liked it.
Yeah. Happy birthday, Brian.
Thank you guys.
December 1st birthday, Brian.
Yep. Christmas. Christmas boy.
First day, the last month, the last year of the millennium in 1999.
I was like, well, one time.
That's pretty sweet, though. That is pretty sweet.
My buddy, my really. Oh, my God. Oh, my God. Oh, my God.
Watching the Cracking game right now. The Cracken are trying to get their Spunk fans.
Yeah, we actually have a lot of buddies born on this day, but one of my really good buddies, Johnny O, he is born on September 9th.
And in 1999, it was 9,99.
That was going to be his birthday.
And I was in a gym class with him then.
And the teacher was going around just getting everyone's birthdays, like actual birthdays, you know.
So like, you would say the year you were born.
So like the class is going around saying it.
And Johnny just like brain fart, whatever, just got too fired up about how cool his birthday was that year.
that the teacher was like
O'Sullivan
and he was like
9, 999
and he was like
you were born this year
you fucking idiot
in front of the whole class
and I was like
ah damn dude
he was actually the same
yeah
he never recovered from that
honestly
I don't think you ever recovered
from that
that's a young age
to fuck up badly like that too
that's really tough
very tough
well listen
we've got a great episode
for you today
we're going to get
into the no bucky warm up
but exciting stuff
like we said
it's Christmas season
We've got Seth Jarvis of the Carolina Hurricanes joining the pod today.
Dude, one of the funniest guys in the league.
Oh, he is the man.
He is a ball of energy.
Yeah, yeah.
I met Jarvis in Vegas.
And after we did the media tour shenanigans, I was like, dude, you have to come on the podcast immediately.
And he was down, dude.
He's just such a fun, young whippersnapper.
Yeah, stud.
Yeah, absolute stud.
Have an unreal year.
So we'll get into that soon.
But before, let's hit it with the no-bucky warmup.
I want to talk about a big point of conversation last episode was the Minnesota Wild.
Yeah.
Buzzing.
Three and O since Heinz has been brought in as the new coach.
New coach bump.
You know, I don't think, I still don't think it'll hold.
Well, actually, here's the thing.
I think they're better than they've been playing.
So it should have been, they should have just been doing this anyway.
And, you know, maybe it is.
I haven't heard, and I easily could have missed this,
but right when Woodcroft went out,
I got to look that up.
That'll be a funny thing.
But right when Woodcroft went out,
we saw Connor come right out and say,
he didn't lose the room.
It wasn't him.
And I haven't heard anything from the Wild Camp at all.
I don't know if you've seen anything that was like.
So maybe he did,
maybe even if some did lose the room
and this was needed change.
But either way,
I'm glad to see them playing their potential a bit,
whatever the cause,
whatever the cause that snapped him out of it is.
Sure.
We released a clip,
today on Monday talking
you know that was from last
a week's episode of talking about Flurry
and Gus both under
900 say percentage both over
three goals again like they are not
brutal but these last three games
only given up one goal they have
a 3-1 win a 6-1 win
and a 4-1 win that's great
stuff shut the door way better
Marco Rossi
in the Calder conversation he's unbelievable
he's got two goals one assist
and three points in those three games
he's got eight goals, six assists,
14 points and 22 games on the year.
Things looking pretty good.
I said in our AMA yesterday,
I'm not ready to say,
the wild return of things.
You need a 10 game sample size.
So six and four after 10 games,
and I'm maybe like, shit, okay,
maybe this new coach changed,
this new voice in the locker room
really did change things up,
make them start playing a different way.
And yeah, maybe things are turned around a little bit,
but it's too early to call it.
And I might even need more than that personally before I call it.
Oh, sorry.
I agree with you.
I don't mean call it, call it.
I mean, at least voice and opinion.
Yeah, right.
I'll entertain those questions.
If you're six and four or better after 10 games, then I'm like, good job.
I mean, that's easily your best 10 stretch of the season.
So good job.
But I agree.
Not ready to call it yet.
One thing I do want to mention that we didn't really mention last week is the wild we talked about.
Great team, constantly in the playoffs, constantly losing their first.
first round. They've got unbelievable talent with guys like krill, guys like Boldie, good
goaltending, guys like Brodine, Erickson Eck, now Rossi, great, great squad. However, something
to always keep in mind with this wild team, dude, they have over $14 million in dead cap with
the Parisian senior buyouts. And that is, people don't really realize, that's 17.5%
roughly of your entire cap. That just... Significant.
Every season they have to deal with.
Like, think about that.
That's two 7 million AAV contracts that you can't give someone.
Then that's a lot.
Those are very significant players.
Players making less than $7 million.
Brad Marshand, like a guy like that is the type of guy who could be on this team.
So it's just something to think about with the wild.
So really good stuff.
Yeah, I'm pumped for him.
We have said a million times.
Minnesota loves hockey.
It's sick when Minnesota's good.
Yeah.
They deserve better.
And this was going to be a tough one to swallow because for the last few years, you've been that new leaves, blah, blah, blah, what everyone will call it.
And this was a very much like, like, okay, perfect example.
Buffalo is super disappointed this year because they felt like they were about to make another big step.
And so far they haven't.
Yes.
But once you kind of take the medicine of that disappointment, you're like, well, we're still, there's still a really bright future.
Like I like our chances next year, you know, I think.
If you're the wild van base and this goes as bad as it was going, you're like, oh, no.
Because I feel like you were just this first round exit playoff team anyway for years and years and years.
And you're like, you know, something's going to change, right?
And now you're bad.
And I'm like, wait, you might just be bad now.
Yeah.
You know, so that's, you don't want that.
You do not want that.
I'm hoping they turn it around.
Yeah.
Speaking of teams who need to turn it around, the New Jersey Devils, and they've got a big tilt tomorrow in the Hughes Showdown.
Pretty cool.
Pretty cool.
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Is this the first time they've all played against each other?
I believe so because Luke came in last year during the playoffs, right?
Well, he got, you know, four games, something like that.
Yeah.
So this will be the first time the three Hughes boys are on the ice together playing each other.
What I found really interesting is leading into the season, this was not the script we were expecting.
Oh, my God.
Right?
We were expecting the probable best team in the Met in the Devils playing a hopeful maybe getting things back on track,
playoff bubble team in the Canucks and only good on paper Canucks canucks
Canucks top five probably team in the NHL going up against the devils who are out of the
playoffs currently that yeah a wild switch and out of their depth at the moment uh the I hope well let's
talk the fun part of it first yes um it's two points and they certainly matter to everybody but
especially the devils you want to get that win but I really hope they get to take a minute here
and it's easier for Quinn because he's like I'm the fucking MVP and on the first place team or whatever
are but the um i hope jack and luke too can can all and the and the parents and everybody can take a beat
and be like bro we were playing knee hockey together as sick toddlers and now we're all on the same
n hl show i can't wait uh this past week that photo surfaced of willie nielander's first year yeah he was
oh yeah yeah yeah and it's just so fun seeing all them how young they are but i can't wait for that
first moment everyone's going to be watching it like a hawk when all three are on the ice at the same
time, you know. But what an amazing situation. You've got a, you know, seventh overall pick in Quinn,
a first overall pick in Jack, and a fourth overall pick in Luke, all in the ice together. Quinn's
a captain. Jackson assistant captain. Luke is a, you know, going to be a Calder finalist.
Killing it. Yeah, yeah. This is just so, so cool. And one of those things that you stopped during the,
during the season just to acknowledge some cool storylines. How unreal is that? Amazing. I hope they all
score.
Same.
Because otherwise, dude, you know, like if Quinn gets one, honestly, if like Quinn and Luke
get one or something, and then they just have to go home for Christmas and the Jacks
sitting there like, I'm the clown.
So, yeah, but they all get to get on the score sheet somehow.
And maybe I would take, like, I would take a tie even, go to a shootout.
And I think you've got to pump them out all out there.
If that goes to a shootout, both benches have to make sure all the Hughes Brothers shoot.
And I'm sorry, but that's what has to happen.
You have to.
Here's the thing.
I think as the older brother, as the mature one, Quinn, you guys are doing great.
You know, the devils need to get back on track here.
You got to give them two points.
Yeah.
Go to the shootout.
That's their Christmas gift.
Toss them two points.
Jack gets nothing under the tree.
And he's like, the fuck.
Quinn's like, dude, enjoy those two.
Yeah.
I got you two.
Yeah, that's huge.
Yeah.
So that'll be awesome.
The pokey part of it, dude, I'm, I'm.
I was huge on the devil's start of the year.
I'm not writing their obituary yet,
but, you know, if I'm on the BEDMGM map,
I'm putting money on the Canucks Money Line.
Yeah, me too.
Pretty effortlessly.
Me too.
Not even thinking about it.
Fingers' just going.
Don't even think.
They just go.
Boom.
Knox Money Line. Boom.
Just easy.
Two units.
Easy stuff.
Let's stick in the Met and talk about a team
who we have not given flowers to really yet this year.
Yes, thank you.
The Philadelphia Flyers are much, much better.
than anyone expected and have turned into a bit of a fun team to watch this season.
So shout out our boy, Austin King.
Yeah.
Big Flyers guy has been disappointed in the lack of Flyers talk, honestly, on the pod.
Yeah, he gave us a bit of a sewering.
Yeah.
And it deserved one.
A deserved one.
So here's what I wanted to say.
Do you remember who he was all fired up about?
I was looking at their point leaders.
We were talking about Sanheim.
I think Sanhams had an unreal season.
I think he's emerging as one of the better players going.
Yep.
16 points already.
Tremendous.
One thing I think is fun is
Cata hot is back
to the promising form
he was showing as a rookie I would say.
And I don't know his exact rookie numbers.
Right now, 909 save 2.68 goals against.
You love to see that.
Love to see those numbers.
You can win with those numbers.
You sure can.
I think, and we said this to Austin,
one thing I think is funny
because when he brought that up,
I was like, why haven't we been talking about the flyers?
And it's because there's not actually
any really interesting
storylines other than the fact that they
are better than we thought. Which is interesting
but it's not like someone's popping off or like
Carter Hart's the Vezna front
runner, you know, I'm just like oh yeah the Flyers won again.
They're kind of floating around that 500 spot
Yeah, a little better. What are they? I wrote it down.
Let's see here. The Flyers are 12, 10 and 2.
Yeah, like look at their win percentage, right?
Yeah, just over 500. That's great.
And there's no turmoil going on with torts.
Yeah. That's good. It's like
there's, everything's just peace.
Yep. It's peaceful. And you're off to a better track than you were. Carter definitely playing better. I think you're just getting a great, great performances from guys like Lottie, guys like Connect Me, who's the best.
Yeah, yeah. Sanheim like we talked about, Katurier, awesome stuff. And you got the rookies too. Their rookies are playing well. You've got...
Which has been a thing that doesn't really happen on Torts teams all the time. You know, like, this is good on what I wanted to transition it to. Austin said something where he was like, this is, this is a thing.
cement torts as a great coach.
And first of all, I would say, I would think largely the whole hockey world thinks that.
Like, Torts is a good hockey coach looking at his full career.
Definitely, lately, I've been of the camp of when he's like yelling at Zegras for
Michiganing.
You know, like, I hate that version of Torts.
Shut up, dude.
But I admit, I bitched about the Torts hiring last year because I thought, Tank for Baderd,
torts is too good of a coach to get you last.
You're not going to be last anymore,
but he's not good enough to take this group
and make them even fun to watch.
So you're just going to be that best of the worst teams,
which is kind of, no chirps,
but kind of what they were last year.
And this year, dude, they are fun to watch, period.
Like, I think we can talk about this in a second,
but I think this is going to fade a bit
and I'm not totally buying it yet.
But God damn it, dude.
Good on your torts.
Like I thought there was no chance in hell through 20,
some odd games that I think Torts could have this team over 500 and he fucking sure did sure does.
I agree, dude. And what I think is really interesting with this Flyers team is you've got those
leaders right in guys like Kinecte, Kutriere, Sanheim, Lottie playing really, really well.
Carter Hart's playing really, really well. You've got Brink, Bobby Brink, you know, young,
stud on the team. He's got 11 points in 19 games, I think. You've got Mitchcoff eventually coming in
and you've got Cutter Gautier who looks so NHL ready.
Yep.
Also coming in and I'm sitting here going,
this is the most exciting time for the Flyers in a long time.
In the minute.
And I think people came into the season going,
it's going to be more of the same shit.
Yep.
We'll be lucky if we get through this season without firing torts
and thinking Jesus Christ,
this guy is falling.
And now they're fucking hitting.
They're blocking shots.
They're fucking playing hard.
It's awesome.
I will say, did someone say,
one of us say that Carter Hart was going to get traded?
Was that one of our three?
that he was one of year three
she was one of mine
and I still want to talk about it
so that's what I was thinking
the if this fades a little bit
which I think it will
if it doesn't fade
like at all really
but they're just a 500 team
the whole way
now I am like
oh he will
because he's
he's playing good enough
because if they sucked
everyone's like he's gonna get traded
but I was like yeah
but if they suck
that means he's being bad
yeah
but right now I'm like
oh this is the exact sweet spot
where Carterhart does go
to the fucking oilers
or something
who is just a goalie away
the devil's you know
The question, dude.
Yeah, I guess they wouldn't get sent him.
Is Flyers hockey back?
Yeah, I think so.
Congrats, Philly.
God damn.
It's unbelievable.
No bucky warm-up topic of mine.
The way too early celebrini watch.
I just had a question for you.
Right now, because there's been some tough eight-seed battles.
And by the way, we had a bunch of questions on that when I said this last time.
I'm talking about the divisions.
Like, there are four eight-seeds in the four divisions.
Yeah, we've got to start saying eighth place.
Eighth place.
Seed is a playoff seed.
Yeah.
So there's been some interesting eighth places right now.
Like the senators, I'm like, you are not bad.
Nope.
Right?
Even the Habs.
And it's not them, but I'm just saying if it ends up the Habs.
I mean, it's going to be at this rate, Habs, Sabers, Sends.
Yeah.
I'm like, you're all very.
Yep.
So the two teams that look kind of brutal so far are the sharks and the hawks.
Yes.
You know, the blue jackets aren't great.
The symptoms aren't great, but the sharks and the hawks look kind of brutal.
So I just thought that.
And obviously, I know there's a lottery, and they're not guaranteed.
get the top pick, but it is kind of fascinating to me that Celebrini could be going to the sharks
and the Hawks because they're both sick storylines. Either he goes to the Hawks and you get Badard
and Celabrini back to back. Badard bigger than him, but still two massive prospects back to back,
Taze and Kane all over again. Here we go. Or he goes to the sharks and you have Will Smith
and Celebrini, B, C, B, C, B, you, like now entering the lead together playing on the same team.
Yes. Which one is cooler? Which one do you want? I want the sharks.
I think for obvious reasons, and I think him and Smitty playing together would be awesome.
I think sharks hockey is awesome.
Personally, I said this on the AMA on Sunday.
I think this is very much a tinfoil hat situation.
I'm like, obviously, he's going to the black ox.
Yeah, it's rigged, dude.
It's rigged again.
It feels like the, I think Taves went third, Kane went first, back-to-back years.
the hawks were in the fucking dumpster.
They got Taves.
He was immediately the captain after that first year,
maybe a couple or something like that.
Then they get Cain and then begin Dynasty.
And I'm like, is anyone surprised
that we might be staring down the barrel of,
oh my God, the Blackhawks were in the biggest dumpster fire situation
we've seen in decades.
Look at how terrible they are.
Taves is gone.
Kane is gone.
All of the old faces are gone.
There's scandals going on.
The Blackhawks are a joke.
bang, they get the first overall pick in suspicious fashion.
Bang, Connor Bardard's on the team.
Bang, Celebrini is now in the league.
Uh-oh, looks like that might be the next first overall pick for the Hawks.
Three more cups.
Minimum.
Minimum.
I just think if it happens, and anyone is surprised, you need to tighten your tinfoil hat.
We heard it here.
Okay, well, I hope I'm with you.
I hope it's the shark, I hope is the sharks so bad.
Well, actually, be kind of this cut.
The other teams, I wonder who's in last in the, oh, it's Ottawa, Ottawa, Columbus.
Columbus will be down there.
Yeah, yeah. I mean, Ottawa would be sick.
Columbus would be fun, too.
You know, so we got options, too.
But here come the Hawks.
Okay, my last no bucket for you.
McDavid was inducted into the Canadian Walk of Fame the other day.
Talk to me about this.
So, dude, I clicked on this because, like, what is that?
And it was funny because it was even like, the Oilers had a few days off in their schedule
so he could attend.
Like, did they plan this around the Hoyler schedule?
But dude, I'm dying because it says,
Connor McDavid was honored to be enshrined in Canada's Walk of Fame
as a member of the 2023 class.
It's different.
It's great to be part of this country, blah, blah, blah.
The other inductees, and it lists a bunch of people,
including Avril Levine.
Connor McDavid and Avril Levine.
Do you like that?
Just inducted into the same walk of fame.
And it says, it says,
it says
the event
recognizes
notable Canadians
for excellence
in their respective
fields.
And I was like this
yeah.
McDavid?
Hockey?
Avril Avril Avilaean?
Hell yeah.
Right there, dude.
Neck and neck.
Okay, I thought you were going
to disparage Avril
and I was going to lose my mind.
She is the Connor McDavid
of punk rock.
Yeah,
hell yeah.
Agreed.
I was supposed to the same exact thing.
Yeah.
Like, I can't believe,
I'm actually insulted.
She wasn't in
already.
I think if you were to say
you talk to a hockey fan
and you're like, you know,
you know who Connor McDavid's,
who would you say
is the Connor McDavid
of the punk rock world?
Averill's coming out of their mouth
in the top three names, for sure.
Yeah.
I'm fuming she wasn't already in.
Yeah, it's like the Ramones,
Averill.
Yeah.
That's all you need.
Who is the Connor McDavid
of dating skater boys,
would you say?
Probably her.
Yeah.
Gotta be.
I can't really think of any other
prominent ones.
But that's what I'm saying,
that's her respective field.
Yeah.
So if you are excellent,
in that field, you are in.
Averill's money.
She is money.
Isn't she?
I really love when things like this come up and you have two unlikely.
I like an unlikely pairing.
Yeah.
It's kind of like when you go on those Instagrams and you see the unlikely animal friendships.
It's like a fox and a badger walking around and shit.
That's off.
They should take a picture together.
Dude,
How is that not happen, dude?
Our and Averill together, that's Numbies.
Numbies.
Yeah.
We got to make that happen, dude.
I bet there must be a big picture from the event.
I'll do some digging.
But anyway, big congrats to Connor, big congrats to Averill.
Big congrats to Averill.
All right, let's strap on those buckets and get into the next segment.
We're getting into hot ice.
Some of the hottest topics going on in the game right now.
There's one that I saw Elliot Friedman talking about that I really, really want to dive into.
Hit me.
We both had Tampa pretty low in our season predictions.
I think I had him making playoffs still.
You had him just outside of playoffs.
No, but I think I had them four.
Is that right?
I thought it was...
Or maybe I had them five.
No.
I had them four.
No, I had the Bs lower than them because I had a championship pedigree.
That's right.
Yeah.
Either way, they are currently not doing so hot.
They are on a four-game losing streak, I believe.
Maybe three game?
Four.
Four.
I think it's four.
Yeah.
Bolts are currently 10, 10, 10, and 5.
Well, there's a game playing right now.
Okay.
If you nothing.
But, you know, at the time of recording here on Monday, they're 10-10 and 5, 5th in the Atlantic,
and fourth in the wildcard race.
Stammer, however.
has 10 goals, 14 assists for 24 points in 23 games.
Sicko.
Dash 15 though.
Which is a crazy stat for him.
The bigger topic for me is this.
Stammer still does not have a new contract.
And by all accounts, there's zero movement on that.
We have to accept the reality that if things continue on this trajectory for the lightning
and they are not in the playoffs,
that Steve Stamcoast is the number one deadline target and will be dealt.
Thoughts.
When this lightning, when Stammer said that they didn't call,
I said on this very program that my initial reaction was shocked,
and then I was like, oh, of course you don't call.
You ghost.
That's the modern world.
You just ghost.
then the other person knows it's over.
Yeah.
So I was like, oh my God, they are ghosting.
They're gassing him up.
They're getting him out of here.
They're ghosting him out of here.
And then we had a debate about, you know, excuse me, could he come back for a decent
pride?
Like you felt pretty strongly like, if they get through this season with no contract,
he's gone.
Yeah.
Do you still feel that way?
Okay.
So here's my take.
And I'm very ready.
I'm very ready to be wrong.
wrong and I'm very ready to cut this clip and humiliate me when the new contract news breaks.
Yep.
But here's my take.
I think we are currently watching the last season that Steve Samcoe plays for the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Yeah.
Okay.
I think this team is going to continue to battle and struggle.
And I think the competition in the Atlantic is too big.
And I don't think they're going to make playoffs.
And I think he's going to be dealt at the deadline, probably for a salary eating deal.
I think they'll eat, you know, 50% to get him to a contender, something like that.
But I think Stammer is gone at the deadline.
Okay.
So what I think is if I'm looking at the state of the Atlantic moving forward and I look about,
and I look at my roster, which is not that old.
Like they had a ton of miles on them for the last few years.
But everyone, I feel like everyone's, you know, aging, Tampa's aging out of it.
And I'm like,
it's really only Stammer and
headman.
Yeah.
You know,
like,
Kallorn's gone.
It's,
like,
they're over 30 guys
are not that.
But like,
when you have a Braden point in that team,
you have a Kutrov on that team,
Vasilevsky on that team.
Sirelli.
You are,
you are a disgustingly good hockey team.
If I,
if I look at the state of the Atlantic,
I do believe it is,
it could be good business
to move Stammer
before he maybe walks for free.
And get back,
even get back,
a young piece or a pick
not ideally but like something. Oh I think. Oh yeah.
I think Steve Stamcoast goes
if you were a team looking to get Steve Stamco's
you are looking at a first round pick
and a prospect in my opinion. Yeah. Okay so
I'm thinking it is good business
to do that in that you and again
I'm not saying Lightning or rebuilding they have fucking young
middle age studs on the team
but it is a on the fly like reload
that's probably a better word than rebuild like I do think
it's good business to move Stammer if you're like we're
to lose him anyway and just reload and then
you're kind of like right back at it especially
even if you make the playoffs and you're not going to make a big run
however
however
I just don't
think
it happens because
he
means too much to the program
to the franchise I believe
that he doesn't even need to get a contract this year
and he'll still be back I know you think I'm crazy
about that but I'm like dude
he is going even if they play this whole fucking year
and even if they miss the fucking playoffs,
he's going to enter the summer free agency,
maybe he'll kick tire, see what's out there,
and then he ends up back up at the time.
He just, I think he loves it there,
his family's there.
Oh, for sure.
The team knows he can produce still,
and I think they just didn't want
to get into an extension
that they weren't happy with
because they felt pressure
because it was his last year.
Now they'll have the leverage
of seeing what the other teams are offering,
you know, because before it was just
pulling numbers out of your ass.
Who's his agent?
Who knows?
I'd imagine.
I actually don't know.
Either way, my point is, if there's, if all the other league is offering, you know, older Stephen
Samco's this, now they have some leverage to be like, hey, dude, you're not, you're not
demanding these numbers you thought you were.
And they can even maybe come under that to be like, you want to stay in Tampa, don't you?
You know, let's try to help us reload here.
I'm, I love your guess.
I'm positive.
He's a bolt next year.
Okay, I love it.
I mean, I love that take.
And you're right.
I do, I think he means so much to the franchise.
I also think that he, I know that he loves it there, family loves it there.
I do think if this happens, it's all them, not here.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Absolutely.
And I think that the Tampa Bay Lightning and that fan base and that city, I think that city is a lightning city.
Oh, fuck yeah.
No, no, no doubt about it.
And I think with Cooper and I think with the guys that they have, it is personally, their culture is winning.
and I think you still win with Stammer.
Look at those numbers.
He's playing a little point per game.
Still.
The no contract this past summer
gnarly.
Raised eyebrows for me.
The no contract still raises eyebrows for me.
And it's interesting because it's not one of those things
where last year pasta didn't have a contract to Boston.
Yeah, when did he sign?
Do you remember?
Like what time of the year?
It's signed in the new year.
Okay.
Yeah, he did.
And that said, the conversations were all positive.
Every time someone checked in,
it was like, we're fine.
We're fine, we're fine.
And Pasta was like, yeah, you know, we're just figuring it out.
These ones sound negative.
Yeah.
And I, it's one of those things where, yeah, it's either Tampa's going like this, dude, we'll give you two years at blank.
Let's call it three.
You know, three A-AV.
And we're asking you to take a discount because we want you to stay here.
But like, we need to figure out what we're doing here.
You're not the one C of the future.
So we've got to figure out how we're shifting and we can't give you seven mill right now.
And Stammer might be like, dude, I'm 33.
Is he 33?
I'm just trying right now.
I think he's 33 still.
Looking right now.
But there might be a world where Stammer's like, dude, I've got four years left,
and I deserve $8 million.
And I don't think he's wrong.
He's playing at a point per game.
He's unbelievable.
There might be a world here, dude.
I'm just saying where Tampa is like this.
He is worth that, but it's a bad investment for us because we need to switch to the next regime here.
That's what I'm wondering.
I know.
Again, it's good to wonder.
Yeah. The last thing I'll say on this is don't you think the lightning community, which we both agree is huge and passionate, would revolt.
No, I do not. Really? I think they would be utterly devastated. But again, dude, it's one of those things where it sounds, you know, different situations. But look at Joe Pavelski going to Dallas. That was crazy. And it was different because the show.
sharks were bad. But here's the thing, dude, this is what I'm talking about. The lightning
are currently out of playoffs. Everyone still holds them in this high regard, as they should,
and they have an insanely stacked roster with revolutionary talent in guys like Vassie and Kutrov
and Hedman and Snamor. But they're out of playoffs. If they're like this, dude, we need to
change things up. People will be devastated. They'll be so pissed. There will definitely be fans.
A lot of young fans who are like, oh my God, I'll never like this team again. And then they'll be
right there on opening night. It is not a revolt situation. This is not a, the oilers are in second
to last place. We're trading Connor McDavid. That is a revolt. Yeah. Stammer being traded and moving on
is just like a dagger in the heart. You are devastated, but you just go like this. It's business.
Potentially good business. Like it would, I do think the PATH situation is like Pave meant everything
to that Sharks team and organization along with Joe and along. Marlowe. And along with Marl also left.
But like Marlowe left. You know, it's like this stuff happened.
Yeah, I guess I'd be more willing to buy it if they continue this poor play or even a little bit worse.
If they're like a little below 500, yeah.
If they were, you know, first, second, even third, we would not be having this conversation.
But they're fifth and their fourth in wild card.
So I'm like, this conversation needs to be held.
As long as they're in the hunt, he stays.
Let's talk about another underperforming team.
This can be quick because we know exactly what needs to happen.
But the New Jersey Devils, here we are.
We are a quarter of the way into the season, and they are not good.
What's their record?
Look that up for me, because I got other numbers to give you.
The Devils currently have the best power play in the league.
They have the 25th P.K. in the league.
Bad.
Top 10, it goals for and ninth most goals against.
So just like Minnesota, right, this is pointing to one problem that we've talked about.
It's goal.
Over and over.
The goaltending is not doing well for the Devils.
Akira is currently at an 891 save percentage, 3.27 goals against, and VTEC is at an 879
save percentage, 3.49 goals against.
Dude, it's brutal. Just brutal. I can't believe. I cannot believe the amount of heat
we took last year in the playoffs. When we said VTEC wasn't the guy.
We said, where is your goalie? And they went, what the point are you talking about? We have
one of the best goleys in the league. And sometimes I expect it. Like, we chirped Stuart Skinner all
the time and I'm like, I'm ready, I'm expecting that he's an all-star chirps. And you're right.
He is. You know, I'm like, okay. The V-Tech people I was not expecting. I was like, wait,
are you mad about this? I was shocking. And, and yeah, here we are. And my point is this.
I think it is a disaster if this team misses the playoffs. Oh, dude. This is a, this is a
truly horrifying backslide. And what sucks about saying that is then being as good as they
where last year was out of nowhere.
Yeah.
Like we talked about there was the fire Lindy chance going on the first eight games of
the season.
They went on a, you know, insane heater.
And then they finished second in the Met, I think is that right?
Right behind Carolina.
Yeah, about like a point.
Beets a Ranger.
What a season.
What a season.
God. Breakout years for Jack and Nico.
And now here they are.
They've added Toff, who's playing amazing.
They've added Meyer.
They've got Luke on the back end.
You know, I just can't believe.
how poorly this team is playing
and we have seen things in Edmonton
turned around with the coaching change. We've seen things now
only through three games in Minnesota with a coaching
change. Devils, I'm not saying you have to fire
Lindy. I would never, ever
talk about someone's job like that.
You either
need to make a change in
the coaching staff or you need to
not certainly not wait for the deadline. You need to trade for a goalie
right now. Because
this team
the wild struggling sucks
playoff team last year you know
but this team being this bad
right now is unacceptable
soldier and something needs to happen
yeah I like I like this from you
because it
I don't know I mean the crowd chanting
it is not the management thinking about it
but it's like
it was in the ether last year
to fire your coach you know
and you just have this crazy turnaround
that now it's like
well, if you're just bad again,
like this, they are what they were at the beginning of last year, early, early, early.
You know, so I'm like, oh, wait, is this the, like, I always hate doing other sports things,
but I remember being a Red Sox fan, Mookie Betts when he was really young, he was like an MVP candidate one year,
and then was kind of shit the next year.
And I was like, oh, wait, is he shit or is he sick?
And then the next year he was an MVP candidate, and I was like, oh, no, that was the fluke.
Yeah.
And now you got to be going, wait, was the second half of last year the fluke, if you're the devils?
and it feels like that's impossible
nice cool
feels like that's impossible
because of the players
you just listed
like that roster
with those names
should be a good team
yeah so I'm like
what is what is going on
the wild
I'm like
yes when the coach acts
because Gus
he's just got to be good
come on you know
and then even the oilers
even though I'm always speaking him
I get being like
well Stuart we gotta
we gotta ride Stewart here a little bit
I think he could be the guy still
I kind of get that
With the devils, even though I have some fears about maybe Lindy needing to be a new voice in there,
you are 100% right.
It's like, man, we have a massive glaring issue.
Soka is young, very.
And I think it's hard to give up big, not that it has to be big assets, but it's hard to give up assets for a goalie stopgap,
when you feel like you have something waiting in the wings.
I think if I'm management, I'm like,
ah God, like it's almost, it was almost,
and obviously it worked out so well,
but it's why I was annoyed with the Allmark signing originally.
I was like, dude, what are you doing?
Like, I don't need this.
But it also is the cardinal sin of GMing
to waste windows.
So I'm like, I don't care if you have fucking Ken Dryden
waiting in the wings.
You need to fix this issue right now
to give this devil's team the best chance they can to win.
right now.
And there's going to be ones available.
We've been talking about it for a couple months.
So that's, I'm totally with you.
And yeah, I think you can't waste a window.
And obviously the core of this devil's team is young.
But you have Jack playing out of his mind.
You have, you know, he's slow right now.
But you brought in Meyer, you brought in Toth.
So I'm kind of sitting here going, you can't make them
upset either.
Those guys will not accept
missing the playoffs.
And we were just talking about it.
There have been a bunch of people saying
UC Soros and I look at
the Preds who have just won fucking like
eight straight,
six straight or whatever.
That was trickery though. And what's that?
That was trickery though. I don't think it was dude.
And also like we're in the trots rebuild.
If you are
troths, you've come in and you're kind of
reorganizing the team and you get rid
UC Sorrows. You're the dumbest
fucking person on earth.
I call it preseason. I think you're going to do it. And you,
sir, are dumb. And I just
don't think Trots is dumb. So
I need people to stop talking about that
trade. However,
because of the situation where
he is a UFA next year,
the struggles of past years,
Carter Hart, I think,
is a very interesting, you know,
he's a young guy. He would fit in
perfectly with this devil's group.
I could see Carter Hart being,
dealt because the flyers may be sitting in this limbo period where they're like, we're not
going to make playoffs this year, but we are looking towards the future. And if you talk to Carter
and you're like this, look at us, dude. We've got good guys coming in and we've got good young
guys on the team right now. Do you want to re-sign? And he's like, no. You trade him. And I think
the devils are the first call I make. Okay. So, and I, I know your answer already, but I'm kind of
surprise you don't care at all about the in division. Like the flyers are just going to give their
goalie to the devils. Like I don't know that they would do that. Again, it's a situation of if you're
going to lose them anyway, get something back. Yeah. I, I fucking hate that bullshit. Right. It's such
I know. It's such bitch-ass mindset in my opinion of like, oh, don't trade someone to your
right. Dude, beat your rival. It doesn't fucking matter. Agree, but wouldn't you say, because of the
playoff format, you have to play the, you know, your division all the time. Yes, it doesn't matter to me.
But if you're like, damn, that devil's team is good, but they're one piece away.
I wouldn't necessarily want to be the one to give them the people.
Again, like I said, I'm not going, you know what I want to do?
I want to make a move here.
Like, just a totally random move.
I'm going to move this player.
He's playing great.
And just pick up the phone and call the devils.
I'm saying if you talk to a Carter Hart and he goes, I am not signing here.
Yeah.
I go, okay, I need to move you now then because I'm not an idiot.
I'm going to get something for you while I can.
Yeah.
I then look around the league and go, who needs a goalie?
and I then call all of those teams and go,
give me the best offer.
And if the devils are the best offer, I take it.
Okay, yeah.
And I think I go,
you're right, I would call them.
You take like the second best offer.
Probably, if it's close.
And I would definitely call the devils.
I'd find all the goalie teams and then put the devils last.
Like I'd call everyone first.
Oh yeah, I would call them last year.
And then I'd be like,
oh, God damn it.
So yeah, okay.
It'll be interesting because it was a flaw last,
it was a fatal flaw eventually last year, I would say.
And it looked.
fatal right now.
I agree.
This is a great segue
because the next topic
I wanted to discuss
with you is the state
of the Met.
I'm going to give you
the standings right now.
You know it's a better
segue than saying
it's a great segue?
You do that all the time.
Just going into the segue.
He does it to me
all the time.
Not all the time.
I've done it,
but you think you just
roll right in.
You had it.
It was a perfect layout.
Something to think about.
It is.
The New York Rangers
are the best team I've ever played against
Yep, the best team of all time
The hurricanes in second
I kind of expected that
But not their record
But I expected them to be up there
The capitals, ridiculous
Shocking.
The Islanders, ridiculous
The Flyers, ridiculous
The Flyers, ridiculous.
The penguins, the devils, and the blue jackets
How are you?
I mean,
Devils being down there,
ridiculous, yep.
The Rangers
I'm very happy to say,
are tremendous.
Everything's working
and they are
simply awesome.
Easily making the playoffs
and I'm willing to
end the division race now.
Me too.
Straight up.
They're gonna win.
One seed, boom.
That's over.
Let's go, Brian.
Stop, dude.
Stop.
Is you're on, is that?
Can the YouTube people see that?
They can't, right?
Brian's?
Hell yeah, they can see that.
Stop glazing.
Sweater is lit.
Last week we told you guys,
the Rangers took him to a game
and he did his TikTok thing there
and then they fucking gave him this drip.
They actually,
they were giving out other shit too.
And the guy that was taking us around, David, good guy.
He gave Brandon's girlfriend this one.
And I saw it in the bag.
And he's like, oh, wait, I'm going to run out to my office and get you one.
But I didn't know what it was going to be.
Yeah.
And I was like praying it was this one.
Yeah.
And then I fucking, like, cheered like a fucking, like a six-year-old.
That was like, whoa.
Let's go.
I can look you didn't ask, dude.
Name five players on the radio.
Mika Sabanaged that.
Jacob Truba, Chris Kreider, Igor Shis Sturkin, Jonathan Quick.
Oh.
I can keep going, maybe.
Could you?
Do you only ask for five?
Candre Miller.
Let's go.
Okay, nice.
All right.
Well done, Ryan.
Two tendies, too.
Yeah, the two.
I said keep going because he said Quicky, and I was like, I won't accept these two
tenies, but that was well done.
Okay.
So, Dan, looking at this roster, the lineup right here of the Met, who do you think
makes the playoffs right now?
I'm saying we did our review reassess right now.
Who's in after 23, 24, 20 games?
Who's in?
I'm locking the Rangers and the hurricanes.
Okay.
And that's easy for me.
I agree.
I strongly believe the devils are going to figure something out.
I just think Nico will start getting into his groove after the injuries.
I think Meyer will find his groove.
And I do truly do more than anything.
Chris, I think they will do something. They have to do something. So let's caveat that.
They do something. Either get a goalie or fire Lindy. Yeah. Okay. I would never. Yeah.
Never. How could you? I would never say to do that. If they do something, I think they figure it out.
And I am going to, I'm going to put the caps in, dude. I think that I think the Islanders
pit Columbus and Philly miss. It's fucking disliked.
disaster for Pitt.
It is, but it's also not surprising.
It's a little surprising. We all said
they're not a cup team with that move, but they're definitely
in, we all said that. They're definitely in the playoffs now.
They did not solve enough problems.
Yeah, I don't know if we were thrown around
the world. We're definitely willy-nilly.
I'm surprised for them to miss the playoffs.
But I also said, are you going to make playoffs?
Yeah. But are you great? No.
And this is definitely going worse
than it should have.
Because it should be devil's pit.
like I'm looking at this and I'm like
because yeah I think it should be devil's pit
or devil's islanders
yeah sure so so to me
looking at the state of the Met my two biggest surprises
are Washington and New Jersey yes absolutely
so Philly
is a blast can't hang
I don't think I think they're gonna sit
right way they're where they are
I think they're going to finish the season over 500
really and I think they're gonna finish like fifth
wow I think they'll finish slightly under
I don't think I have any reason to believe that they're gonna
lose steam. They're all, they're so young, they're so lively, they're so...
Well, because this is what's crazy, and this is why I wanted to bring this up. The Rangers are
plus 20 this year. Sick. Yes. Let's see, B, I was going to say that's the best. B's plus 22.
22.22. Jesus Christ. Canucks. Jesus Christ. Canucks in the Kings, 32, 31. Sick. Pit is plus
11. Pit is in sixth place plus 11, Dan. And the caps are in third minus nine, minus seven,
and the islanders are in fourth minus nine. Like, those two teams stink. That math ain't math. And I'm
Dude, you are not good.
So when I look at this, I'm still like,
they're going to finish seventh and sixth in this thing.
I do think if you have one of those time lapse things that shows the standings,
I think we are going to see some wild fluctuation of the met as we go.
Like, the caps.
And we always talk about, right, we talk about the dog days of January February.
That is really when shit goes down.
And I think this division will see a lot of shit going down.
Me too.
And that's why I'm so fascinated by it because, and honestly, the points, it's earlyish,
but the points, if you kind of account for games in hand,
the gap isn't that high still.
You know, like, they're all pretty bunched up.
So it's not like, it's not like I'm like, oh, man, Jersey's 12 points back.
This is going to be such a massive road.
Like, they can get there, no problem.
Yeah.
It's just so funny to me to look at the caps and the Islanders.
Philly, I think none of us think is going to make the playoffs.
And I agree, they probably hang here, but I look at the caps in the Islanders,
and I'm like, I think you're going to be, like, bad still.
It's great.
Maybe I'm delusional, but I'm straight up, like, the devils are going to be a comfortable third,
and Pitt's going to be the fourth seed or the fourth place and maybe a wild game.
It's crazy.
I'm like, how long do the caps have to just keep winning for me to wake up?
But I'm like, you stink.
And this is not real.
It's crazy.
Let's bounce it back to Tampa.
We've got two topics left before we move on to this Seth Jarvis interview.
Talk about Tampa and talk about one guy in particular, Headman.
My guy.
So here's what I want to talk to you about right now.
They're playing already, right?
Yeah, right now.
Victor Hedman is playing his thousandth game tonight.
Congratulations, Big Dog.
Stick taps.
Yep.
Do one of the best defensemen in the league?
I was printed out a couple,
pasted in a couple things from this article on NHL.com,
because I thought it was pretty cool.
He said this about the 2009 draft.
He said, I remember having breakfast with the Islanders.
And they said, if we pick you,
how would I feel if the fan base back home booed me?
Because they had the first pick,
and they were like, people are going to be mad if we take you.
And he was like, I had a feeling they weren't going to take me
after they said that.
Obviously, they took Tavaas.
Johnny Todrags goes one,
Hedman goes two to the lightning.
Dude, Johnny Todrags is a machine,
as we learned
very seriously
after doing the top 100.
Unbelievable player.
But damn,
I would not have guessed
they would have lost that draft.
Yeah,
had been a head and shoulders
better pick.
Oh my God,
and a lot of that's because he's gone.
Like if Johnny Hodrags
was still on the islanders right now
and they were perennial contenders,
this would be a much harder.
Obviously, the two cups to no cups,
but still,
like Tavares is nasty.
But the fact that he just bounced.
I don't think in that fantasy land
we can call them perennial contenders because they were never.
I'm saying if he was still there and they were perennial contenders.
I'm saying even if he were still there.
That's what I'm saying.
The fantasy land of him still.
Oh, you're saying they wouldn't be.
Yeah, because they never were.
And I don't think.
It's hard to say.
Yeah.
They were never a contender when he was on that team.
I know.
But I'm just saying they went to two straight ECFs when he was gone.
And maybe it was because he was gone.
But I'm like, I don't know.
He's nasty.
They could have figured it out.
But yeah, that's crazy because I would not have picked that.
obviously it's really cool he's done it all for one team stammer's there over a thousand games too
like they've just been through so much together pretty sick um also some really cool uh swedish
player stuff um eighth swedish born defenseman to ever do it 18th overall swedish person to ever do
it really cool as i was thinking about headman there are young defensemen in the league right now
that we all think are fucking nasty foxy chucky kale dahlene keep going
Heskinan.
Hayskinan.
I love going Fox and Charlie over kale there.
I was just, you know, top of mind, top of mind.
And then, of course, there's legends of the game.
But even like just going back, I was thinking about, you know,
because we were just doing top Bruins, like Ray Borks of the world.
Yeah.
And I was like, I know there's an exact data around this.
But I was like, man, I wonder where headman ranks of that exact generation.
So like not guys ahead of him.
guys drafted in like 2008 to now.
Yeah, so I wrote down some names.
Would you count Chara in that?
No.
He's too old?
Yeah.
Okay, so I wrote down some names.
So this is like Headman's class.
Like these guys are playing right now.
Like everyone I'm about to name is like they're in the league and they have a thousand games.
And you want me to say if Headman's better.
You don't have to say it on response.
Let's let me get the names out.
Brent Burns, Ryan Suter, P.K. Subon, Eric Carlson, Dewey, Giordano, Mark Stahl, Tanger,
Patrangelo, John Carlson, and then, like, to a lesser degree, like Shady, OEL, you know, whatever.
Think about those names.
I think Hedman is just, like, definitely the best.
100%.
Yeah.
He is without question the best in that.
I put, like, Dewey right behind him.
Burns, he's got crazy numbers, I will say.
Not as much of a defenseman as those guys.
Yeah.
We'll see.
But, yeah.
Edmund and Dewey have two cups.
Norris trophies.
I think that list is like Edmund and Dewey
and then the rest of them.
Okay. I think that's probably right.
And it's crazy.
And maybe everyone already felt this way.
But I was like, I saw him get the 1,000 games.
I was like, good for him.
Great, great all-time defense.
People will always remember him.
Great defensemen.
But there are names that come up in my head
and I'm like, they're better than him.
They're better than him.
But when you kind of zoom in on that, like,
this class that he's been growing up in the league,
with, I'm like, oh, dude, you were the best of them
for like, fucking 15
years now. And that is sick.
That was a huge win for them. That is awesome.
And, I mean, you know
I love Edmund, dude. And when
we did our top 100,
so many people came for us being like, nah, dude,
he's washed, he's too old. And I'm just like,
look at his stats right now. Look at the way he plays.
I'm like, you guys are out of your mind.
Do you want to hear this cool thing that his dad
said? His dad wrote a letter to him
for his thousand game, which I think is amazing.
Yeah, that's awesome. He said,
you will never
you will never think
you're better
than the person next to you
you treat everyone with respect
son you've done it all the right way
you came to this town
at 18 years old
with the way to the world on your shoulders
they labeled you the best Swedish defenseman
since Nick Lydstrom
you took that pressure as a privilege
you embraced it and took it in stride
that's chills
Jesus Christ dude
my dad just texted me
that he didn't spend enough time with me
you know
this is probably handwritten
my dad just asked me how to change
the text messages
he's sending from his iPad
from the Gmail address
to his phone number.
This is probably a handwritten letter.
And you guys got that.
I didn't even get anything.
So if you think about that,
my dad doesn't speak to me.
Jesus Christ.
Oh, that's awesome.
This is really cool.
I got one last thing before we kick it off
that I really wanted to talk about.
This is an idea that I stole from you.
Yeah.
Legal snipe.
I'm alive to do it.
Watching a little bit of NBA.
Mm.
I know what you're going to say now.
They're doing this in-season tournament thing.
most of the listeners know I'm a big football fan,
a.k.a. soccer.
I love football.
I love football.
If you are a footy fan,
you know that there's a lot of domestic cups
that go on in season
as you're playing in your main league season,
Champions League, stuff like that.
I think this shit is real cool
and I love what the NBA is doing.
I really do.
I think it just adds...
More attendance in November
in NBA.
history than this year because
because of the
proof is in the pudding.
That's a fact.
NBA's always been good at this stuff.
Not to glaze the NBA
but you know like
the different
floor color shit like it just
you can see that something else
is going on in
football they do different
jerseys oftentimes
different number fonts for the cup games
and things like that. I think the
NHL should one
hondo P institute and in season cup
for speed of this segment,
we're going to call it the Gretzky Cup.
So you have the regular NHL season
and I think they should institute
Gretzky Cup.
Bracket type system,
you play certain games, you lose.
And they count as regular season games.
Yeah, yeah.
You lose, you're out.
I think, like the NBA,
it should be a cash prize for players.
Okay.
So you ask about incentives, right?
Cash price for players.
So if you are on the Blackhucks right now,
but you're still in the Gretzky Cup,
that's money.
Like you're going into those games, you're not tanking for draft picks because you go,
every single guy in this team gets 500K if we win the Gretsky Cup.
We're playing. Guys are playing hard.
Yep.
That's awesome.
It's a nice little check.
Then what do you think about this idea?
In the Gretsky Cup.
Yep.
If you win the Gretsky Cup, you automatically get, if you are below this in the seating for draft pick,
if you are below the 10th pick, you automatically get the 10th.
If you, if you, let's say are the Rangers and you go wire to wire, you win the President's Cup, you don't get, you know, like you still get whatever, or excuse me, you're, you're like 30, let's say they win the Cup.
Yep.
Rangers win the Cup.
You have the 30 second pick.
You also win the Gretzky Cup.
Boom.
Tenth overall.
10th pick?
Yep.
10th.
Bro.
If you make the playoffs.
Let's all right.
This is an idea.
Let's workshop.
Let's workshop.
Listen to me.
Listen to me.
Listen to me.
Listen to me right now.
If you are, how many teams make the playoffs?
16.
16 teams make the playoffs.
32 teams make the playoffs.
So if you finish not in the playoffs, you go into the draft lottery of 16 teams.
Yeah.
Okay.
And I have now solved two thirds of this.
We still have to solve the last one.
Yeah.
Wait, wait.
So, wait.
When I'm thinking about it right now, I'm like this.
Yeah, I'm instituting.
utter dominance.
No, but here's the thing.
So 16 teams that do not make the playoffs
enter the draft lottery, okay?
You, if you have won the Gretzky Cup
and you're in the draft lottery
and your ping pong ball comes out
16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10,
you automatically are 10.
So if your ping pong ball goes on 17, but you've won
the Gretzky Cup, you go up to 10.
Okay.
13, you go up to 10.
10, well, you know, you were good, congrats.
So that's, that's, fate was shining upon us.
Okay.
If you are a playoff team, so if you were one of the 16 teams that made the playoffs,
so you do not even enter the draft lottery, and you have won the Gretti Cup.
You cannot jump to 10, but I will allow you to jump to 17.
So, like, the worst playoff team gets 17.
I'm into this.
All right.
You are now 17.
I'm into this.
If you are a non-playoff team, worse pick than 10, you are now 10.
Here's what we still need to solve, though.
If you are a non-playoff team that has won the Gretzky Cup and you finish and your ping pong ball comes up in single digits.
Yeah, what happens.
Yeah.
My only issue was going to be
that team doesn't get a reward.
I think they go to one.
No.
I think they go to one.
Because that means a really shitty team
won the Gretzky Cup,
which is really hard,
and most likely they won't win,
so this won't even happen.
But in the very rare circumstances
where the fucking sharks
from the Gretti Cup,
they deserve the first place.
Hey, I rarely say this to you.
I love where your head's at.
But I think it's too,
these are those situations
where you're drunk on your own ideas.
They go right to one.
No, it's anarchy.
They go right to one.
Anarchy.
What about five?
Five?
Dude, there's an absolute generational player and then a pretty good guy and then fucking
Brian is available at 30.
So like, you want to put them at five, dude?
Like, you're just insulted Cutter so badly.
Respectful as fuck.
I don't think I even know how to skate.
Dirty.
I haven't worn skates in like 10 years.
Jesus.
They go right to one.
No.
Yes.
Listen, we've got two-thirds of this idea cooked, though.
So let's keep working on it.
Okay.
But we're in on the Gretzky Cup, right?
Oh, yeah, that's a lock for next.
What do we think?
What do we think about the name?
That's perfect.
I just think that there's no like...
I think there's already, like, you know, like the Gretzky Cup international tournament.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Like, it's like the Hulinka Gretzky Cup or something, but it's, but...
So we might be kind of stepping on that, but I, maybe it's like the Gretti's.
No, no, it's got to be cup.
I like cup.
Okay.
Okay.
The kale McCar Cup
No, stop.
You're losing people.
You're losing people.
Okay, Gretzky Cup it is.
Could be the Bobby Or Cup.
The Orcup.
The Orcup.
The Orcup.
Yeah.
go and enjoy.
We are pleased as ever to be joined by a Manitoba native,
the leader in goals and assists for the Portland Winterhawks in 2019,
a two-time Winterhawks MVP, a Gretzky Cup silver medalist,
the 13th overall pick in 2020 by the Carolina Hurricanes,
and a man who can play the first three chords of Tennessee whiskey on guitar.
Seth Jarvis, welcome to the MT Netters podcast.
I'm absolutely honored. Thank you guys.
Is that true about Tennessee whiskey, by the way?
Have you progressed beyond the three chords, or is that still where we're capped out?
I probably got worse.
It was like...
Yeah, it's down to two.
Yeah, it was COVID.
We were in Chicago, I think, in the A, one of the guys had a guitar.
He could play Tennessee whiskey and I was trying to learn it.
It was awful.
Dude, it's really frustrating how things like that can just leave.
Yeah.
It's, I was sitting in a room here in these offices eight months ago, and there was a Rubik's
Cube and I was like, you know what, I'd like to learn how to do this.
So I googled it, figured it out.
And then for like three weeks, I practice it every day to the point where I could just
do it easily.
And then I stopped doing it for maybe one week and I don't, I don't remember any of it.
It's fucked.
Nightmare, dude.
It's just a disaster.
Also wanted to ask you, I saw, well, obviously you're in North Carolina, but the, I saw
you're a little bit of a Duke basketball guy.
Yeah, I'm a bit of a fan, yeah.
Bit of a fan, yeah.
So I went there.
So we share this, we share this fandom.
Have you been?
Have you been to Cameron Indoor? Have you seen a game?
No, I got, uh, I got invited to a game against Pitt on January 20th, I want to say.
So I'm going to be, I'm going to be there. That'll be my first time.
Oh, there you go. Yeah, you got to go.
Okay, dude, you were going to have a blast.
It's, it's, um, it's like, it feels like a high school gym. It's so small, but they're going
ballistic. I mean, obviously you've seen it on TV. They're going ballistic in there.
But yes, you're going to have to, and be nice to the kids, dude, because they're like camping
in tents for weeks just to get tickets.
and you're just waltzing in.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Why are you a fan?
Did it happen with just being in North Carolina or what's the deal?
Mom played hoops, eh?
Yeah, my mom played basketball.
That's all she did was play basketball.
She played university.
So, like, we grew up watching March Madness like crazy.
And, like, when you're, like, eight or nine, you just pick the winner.
And Duke was always pretty good and kind of winning.
So I kind of rode on Duke and just never left.
And it just coincidentally ended up in North Carolina where it worked out.
And dude, I feel like they're not the most popular squad, though.
You know, like, UNC is more of the people's team, right?
So I feel like you took, you really took the elitist squad, bro.
I take a lot of heat from fans, people in the organization about it.
But I mean, this deep, there's no, there's no going back anymore.
I think that's like the true Duke nature of it.
Stay strong.
You've got to be the heel.
Yeah.
Yeah.
You've got to lean in.
That's huge.
Good for you.
Okay, dude, I want to go back to the draft because I'm pretty sure, and correct me if I'm
wronged in, but I'm pretty sure you're our first guest ever who was part of that 2020
remote draft.
Yeah.
So, you know, we're always hearing draft stories of like getting people tickets and walking
across the stage, but you have a totally different experience, right?
So what I know already is they mailed you 31 hats and you God knows what happened to the other
ones.
And I also know that you genuinely didn't know.
Like when Carolina calls your name, that was news to you.
So that's awesome.
But what I don't know is who, do they mail you a webcam?
who plugs that in? When did you decide it was your just family, no friends? And like,
are you eating? Are you too nervous to eat? Like, tell me, tell me everything about that at home
draft experience. Yeah. So I think the day before we all, like, you get a, they email you like a
time to set up with like NHL network or whoever runs it. And you sit on like a laptop like this
back then I had this big Lenovo thing. It was brutal. And I was sitting in my like living room and like,
we couldn't figure out where to sit.
So you brought a couch in,
sitting on the couch,
got a table,
laptop,
and this lady's like trying to talk me through the lighting
and like where to exactly position it
where you can get,
they can get like decent shots when I get drafted and stuff like that.
So like we had tape on the floor so nothing would move and stuff like that.
So that was painful.
And then it was kind of like this where I couldn't get on.
Yeah.
I was going to say we know you have issues with technology.
Yeah.
My whole Wi-Fi is,
I may as well live in a McDonald's.
It's awful.
So, like, there's only certain spots in the house where it works.
And, like, we moved the router to get closer.
So, like, there's a little connection.
And it was terrible.
Dude, have you seen it?
It was brutal.
Like, you guys stand up and everyone's hugging.
And it's, like, just a pixelated mess.
It turns, like, orange.
And then they just cut me.
Like, I had, when I got drafted, I had, like, probably four minutes of interview on there.
And they just cut it because they couldn't get it.
Yeah.
Someone at the NHL was like, we just, this is not airable.
I lived in a cave.
This is ridiculous.
No one means to care.
Yeah, exactly.
So I got kind of holes that way, but yeah, just a ton of stuff going on.
But it was fun.
And then is it bullshit that you actually didn't know?
Like, come on.
Give me the scoop.
Yeah, I don't even remember really talking to Carolina during the year.
Like, I had a weird, like, I was kind of ranked everywhere.
I was ranked low, started climbing up a little bit, and maybe talk to them once.
I was talking to a bunch of teams kind of close to the draft.
in that range, but never Carolina.
And then...
So did you get a phone call beforehand,
or was it truly like they called your name and that was that?
Yeah, my thing was lagging.
I heard Carolina and then parts of Seth and Jarvis.
And I was like, oh, that's me.
And then we stood up and everything kind of went blank.
And then, yeah, did a couple interviews.
Then Rod called me.
There you go.
Hit him in the face time.
And so Seth's family is working the antennas on top of the team.
Was that me?
Was that me?
Fuck.
But what was the scene?
at the house. Like, did you guys order a big meal? Did you wait to get drafted and then celebrate?
Or like, what was the situation with all the family? Yeah, like the COVID rules at that time in
Manitoba were pretty strict. So like, we broke them, but it was like, good. You were supposed to have like,
just the people that live in the house. And then like, I think you're allowed like one or two more.
I had like, people in my house, uh, grandparents, aunts, aunts, uncles. I got to bring a couple
buddies in who like popped in. Oh, sick. Nice. Yeah. Then, uh, yeah. So we had.
My buddies were, like, kind of sitting just to the right of me.
And I'm not, I think they might have found out before from the TV.
And so they were going nuts.
We're all going nuts in the same time.
Yeah, no food.
Wasn't feeding all those mouths.
We just had snacks, yeah, chips around.
But, yeah, we had a, we had a lot of people.
We had, like, my mom was so paranoid that people, like, the neighbors were, like,
call the cops and us for having too many people.
So we had, like, guys parked three streets down and walk over to our house and stuff like you.
But, uh, it was epic.
fan it. What's the
go-to chip flavor in your house?
Oh, all dressed,
I think is kind of. Yeah. Yes,
dude. That's really solid.
I got to question your fandom again, though,
real quick, because obviously there were a bunch of clips that went up
when you were doing some of that post-draft pre-draft stuff where you had the
Falcons decals all over your room, the Atlanta Falcons.
I get the Duke stuff because they were winning, but like the Falcons have been just
bad. Dude, how did that happen?
Well, going back to the Wi-Fi thing, I had to do the interview in my brother's room
because he was closer.
Oh.
So that's my brother's room.
So he, like, this is a little con,
we grew up kind of Michael Vick fans.
Like he was really good.
No, dude.
He was electric.
That's okay.
Yeah.
Falcons Michael Vick was electric.
But on the field,
unbelievable.
So we,
we loved watching him.
So I think that's why that's up there.
I,
unfortunately,
I'm a Giants fan.
Oh,
damn.
Yeah.
So that's a rough sledding,
but hold on,
dude,
because we're Pat's fans
and
DP was about to chirp you for, you know, the Falcons, but now you get to pummel us.
Dude, I literally have in my notes to make fun of you for the Super Bowl.
Now I'm getting dummied twice, dude.
Devastating.
Okay, so I was actually going to get on the chirp train as well because there's a Michigan decal in there as well.
But is that your brothers as well?
Yeah, honestly, Michigan makes no sense.
I got no idea where that came from.
I mean, I love it.
I mean, I need Michigan over Alabama all day.
So, all right, dude, I want to know about Rod.
You just mentioned you finally got the call from Rod after you got drafted.
Obviously, Rod is famous for the nickname, and it's all true.
Like, you meet the guy, you look at the guy.
He's in unbelievable shape.
He's intense, but also the nicest guy in the world.
I'm curious, playing for this guy.
You've played for him for a few years now.
You obviously, sounds like you guys have a great relationship.
Is it extra motivation being on that team when your coach could probably put up 60 in the
national right now if he suited up?
Like, what's it like being with that guy?
Yeah, it's scary.
a little bit. I mean, like,
in camp is terrifying because I think all our testing is based off what he can do.
So, like, that is bullshit.
That is bullshit.
So, like, we have, like, testing stuff and, like, they'll modify.
If he can't do it, then they'll modify it.
But I'm pretty sure he's, like, the baseline for it.
So it's a little scary if you fail something like that because, like, you're failing to,
I don't know how old he is.
I don't want to offend him, 50, 60, whatever.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But, yeah, just incredible shape.
and like you said, unbelievable dude.
And just getting a little intense behind the bench and gets a little scary.
He has got a wicked stare that he's going to make out.
But he's awesome.
There is no way.
I bet less than half of that team can bench as much as Rod.
Yeah, for sure.
There's no chance.
I'm definitely not in the upper half of bench more than him.
He would dominate me in a wait room.
Yeah.
Oh, for sure.
What's he like, you know, pregame?
speeches in the playoffs like is he super animated is he is he calm and composed like kind of what's his
vibe when he's getting you guys going he's flying around he's like he can't stand still he's like
he's so into it he's so intense and he like just loves as much as anybody else who's playing
so he's like wheeling around the room and and like trying to get the words out he's not the best
public speaker but you can tell where it's coming from and like he always he's always got a good
message and a good story or whatever to go along with it but yeah he's usually ripping around
the room kind of getting everyone going.
And then what about when he's mad?
Like he's a screamer?
Or is he like the I'm disappointed guy?
It's changed over the years.
I mean, to the refs, he's a screamer.
He loves to berate the rest and yell for refs.
I think to us, he screams a little bit, but it's more calm, not quite as bad.
But again, it's the stare.
Yeah, right, right.
I've had a few turnovers and I can feel going back to the bench, he's like,
eyes are locked on me.
and I just don't want to look.
You don't even have to check.
You don't even have to check.
You know it, dude.
I just go to the other end of the bench and sit down and not see anything.
What about off the ice?
Because I know you're a bit of a class clown.
So does he ever get frustrated with the boys when you're fucking around?
Or is he goofy, dude?
Is he getting in on the pranks on the road?
No, I, no, he's not.
I think that's the, I think he really likes me as a hockey player and around the
rank, but I think as a person away from the rank, he's like, eh.
He doesn't know.
how to feel about me a little too much. Like you said, I have a tough time being serious, and he's
pretty serious, Dowling guy. So I'm sure a lot of times he walks around the ring, he can probably
hear me yelling throughout the dress room thinking, what an idiot. But I hope he likes it. He hasn't
said anything to me yet, so I'm just going to keep it rolling. Oh, if he hasn't said anything,
then he definitely likes it. You need guys like you, dude. It's huge.
You keep him young, dude. You know, how do you think he's going to keep setting the fitness bar? If he
doesn't have guys like you, keeping him happy.
Um, dude, Rod is a third all time at the dot in his career. And you've been taking, it feels like you've been taking a lot more faceoffs and draws from the dot this year. Has he been helpful in that regard? Like what's he, what's he like, you know, with the little things, the little intangibles of the game, you know, helping you day to day. Yeah, he's unbelievable. I spent, I spent a lot of time with him on face off. He's been begging for a right-handed centerman for the last probably two years now. And I'm trying. He's given me opportunities. I've, I've had some good games, some, some tough games.
but yeah he gives me chances which I really appreciate and then definitely lets me know what I can
work on yeah well you've been way better dude you're being modest right now you've been way
better what and well don't give away any secrets I want you to keep winning at the dock
I was going to make sure that you didn't have them share yeah the tricks that are doing well
but like what are some things what are ways to just get stronger on the stick and things like that
I got enough I got no tricks I got no I kind of go in there like my I just don't want to lose clean
is kind of like, that's what he taught me is whatever you do, don't get snap back and we'll be okay.
And so that's kind of my mindset going.
It's probably not a great one.
You probably want to go in to win.
But I'm going there not to lose clean.
And usually I can muck it up and I just, like, just being competitive.
Like, it's just a one-on-one battle.
And so I just trust that I'm more competitive than whoever I'm going against and that if I get a second chance at the puck, if I don't get snap back, that I can win it.
How intense is the stare from Rod when you get snap back?
Oh, boy.
You get snap back in the D zone, dude.
How intense is the stare?
Yeah.
I only take draws really on the PK.
Yeah.
And so it's a thousand times worse because it's way, like everyone's power plays pretty good,
like really good now.
Yeah.
And so it's a thousand times worse.
So I guess like I guess I think when we played Edmonton home dry saddle rinsed me like
three in a row just bang, bang, bang.
And I was just like, I go.
Get me off.
Yeah, I don't want to do this anymore.
I was trying to draw on the bench.
It's like looking at his linemates, like anyone else want to fucking take this one?
Jesus Christ.
I'm not going to get tapped out.
Yeah.
Are you a talker at the dot?
Like, do you shoot the shit with the boys or are you locked in?
I'm pretty locked in.
I want to be like a chirper.
Like, I want to do that stuff, but like my brain doesn't process quick enough.
And so guys will say stuff to me.
And I'll just kind of give them like, like, the old is like a blank stare.
And I'm thinking.
and like if I try to rush it, just nothing good comes out.
So I've realized I should keep my mouth shut.
I kind of like the blank stare, dude.
That kid, that would get in my head.
I'd be like, what the fuck is this guy doing, dude?
Say something.
If we change it up from like a dumbfounded look to more of just like, you're looking at
them like, what the fuck are you saying?
That might get into their heads, dude.
That might be the strategy here.
Yeah, it's just a natural dumb look.
Yeah, right.
You're not even acting, dude.
That's just my face.
Okay.
All right, I want to ask you something.
I saw this.
You made that comment.
to ESPN a little while ago about the refs where you were like,
dude, I love this.
Me too, where you said it'd be cool to talk to them after the game.
Like interview the refs to hear about some calls.
Can you expand on that more to me?
Because one thing I love, or I feel like a lot of hockey fans love, is it feels like
one of the only major sports where you're seeing the refs fucking chirping back at the guys
out there, you know, fucking, you want one too, bitch?
Like, they're screaming at you guys.
So what's that relationship like for all of us that have never made the national?
You know, like what's that player ref vibe like and talk to us a little bit about what
you meant about being able to talk to them about the game too.
Yeah, I got that take from Twitter somewhere I've seen on there.
But, like, I think it'd be cool just because there's a lot of little ticky-tacky things
or stuff that may be a normal fan,
unless you're really down on the hockey wouldn't understand would change the course of a game.
And so for them to be able to talk about it after, it would be kind of cool
and just get their perspective of what they thought.
But I don't get to talk to the rest.
They give me no time a day.
Yeah, I get no respect out there.
So I leave that to the older guys, the guys with letters.
But I definitely have tried to mingle and I usually get like a shut up or go back to the bench or something.
Yeah, right.
But dude, Seth, I love the take too because I mean, we've all been in that situation where I would love to just chat with a ref after a game and have them admit like, yeah, I fucked that one up or I missed that one.
You know, it's like just hearing it sometimes is validating because you're like, all right, I'm not nuts.
Like, you know, and even the ones where they call you and bag you for two minutes and you're like, that's a shit call.
if they can look at the tape after and be like, oh, that was a shit call.
That would be nice to hear.
But you just touched on something I'm always curious about.
I do love the kind of earn your stripes, no pun intended vibe in the NHL
and that as you get deeper into the league, refs will let you talk a little bit more.
But you're in year three here.
You don't think you've got it yet.
They're still shutting you down.
Yeah.
Like I get some of the lines, been giving me the time of day, but none of the refs really want anything to do with me.
I think I took a penalty on the power.
play a couple games ago and I didn't like the call and so I was kind of giving it I feel really bad
because I think the guy's name was Kyle and I was yelling Kevin at him I was like why is not answering me
I was screaming Kevin like whatever going at him and I get back to the bench and I was like Kevin won't
talk to me and I'll sit next to Aho and he goes his name's not Kevin like we have the tape on
the boards his name's Kyle I was like oh that I feel terrible I get why no one wants to talk to me out there
anymore. Yeah, ultimate disrespect.
Yeah, like he thinks Seth's chirping him.
He's like, Jesus Christ, like this fucking young kid doesn't even know my name.
Insane.
Dude, and what do you think about, when was this?
It was a couple years ago, I think, maybe two seasons ago.
But the, because the refs are hot mic now sometimes, you know, and there was that clip
of a ref being kind of like, yo, I owed this team a call.
Do you feel like, I don't want to get you in trouble or anything, but do you feel like
that happens over the course of a game?
Like, oh, if we've had three power plays and they've had none, you're like,
you careful with the sticks boys we're obviously taking one soon does it feel like that happens
yeah that that definitely goes on the bench like people talk about that especially if you've
gotten maybe a week one you know yeah right you're gonna even that up yeah surfing for one a little bit so
it's tough because you know they're not intentionally trying to call it but that you know that a weak one
might get thrown your way yeah and i'm kind of fine with that honestly do you what do you think do you
yeah it's it's part of the game for me and i think it's cool i think it's cool that you know
that the refs are probably thinking about it and then you guys are thinking about it too it's just
another added mental element of the game that that makes you you know play a little safer play a little
tighter yeah exactly and i'm sure they they're tired of getting screamed at by the coaches they
want to maybe hand them one so they can shut up a little bit and you yeah yeah so you you mentioned
to us earlier i don't know if we we had it while we were recording yet but you're hanging in
edmonton right now you guys are on a six game 12 day
road trip. And I think something that's interesting, you know, a lot of fans and not even casual
fans just like sometimes fans don't look at the schedule and realize how much of a grind that can be.
And you're obviously going out here. You guys are sitting in a good spot in the Met, but I think
you all want to be doing a little bit better. Everyone wants to be a little bit better. So how do
you guys stay, you know, focused, but at the same time relaxed when you're away from home for two
weeks game every other day what are the things that you do you know on the ice and off the ice to
just kind of stay in your own head chill out stay focused and locked in because that balance is
difficult yeah it is i mean like we we practice today so that kind of gets like the your energy
out and the focus and it gives you time to kill a little bit and then spending time at dinners really
like you're on the road so you get to hang out with the guys at home you don't get to as much
everyone has families i got nothing going on so this is basically
basically just every day. So I get to see the guys that have families more often, which is fun.
But yeah, like you said, we're not where we want to be. So it's a nice, it's a nice balance to
sometimes get a little break and get on the road. And when you change cities, it seems like a little
change of scenery. So we lost in Winnipeg last night, but it feels like a new kind of day, new kind of
start being here in Edmonton. So that's actually a cool perspective. Sometimes you feel like the road
trips are nice because it's a nice change of pace and lets you reset sort of just be with the boys
that that helps every now and then yeah for sure i think it i think that's the biggest thing is being
being around the guys and building chemistry but yeah i mean i definitely have a different take than
a lot of the guys with families and kids back home that they probably want to see yeah so are you an
alone time guy or do you like when you're on the road are you like i want to be around the boys as much
as possible yeah i like being around the guys i get bored because i just talk a lot so i want
people to talk to and to hang out with and being alone it can get yeah boring so i like to be around
guys but i think guys sometimes get a little sick of me and and and want a little tolerance break from me
but uh i'm still getting invited to dinner so i'm not totally kicked out yet there you go dude i'm the
same way i especially i remember the road trips i would lose my fucking mind and i'm like alone in
the room and i'm like is anyone up anyone want to play video games or something are you are you guys
doing uh the credit card roulette at dinner or no yeah we
got we got this crocodile roulette game you press the teeth and one closes and you lose we got
like the card game with the bill yep we got we had a few few in rotation but uh i'm a huge fan of
the croco roulette i think it's fun and childish and everyone all like the waitresses and waiters
or whatever when they come by and see us playing this think we're just the biggest idiots in
the world because we're going nuts over this yeah a little little toy crocodile we're playing
So, yeah, my question was, who's in charge of bringing the crock to dinner every time?
Because that's fucking.
It's on the phone.
It's a lot.
Okay, okay.
Because, yeah, that thing was like a game.
I remember when I was, I was, like, how was just someone still have that?
That was like an actual game.
That's like a toy crocodile that you like press your finger on the teeth.
And I was like, are we bringing that into the restaurant?
So it's an app now.
You can download this and you guys all rip it at dinner.
Exactly.
Yeah, exact same game just on the phone.
Okay.
That's sick.
We got to get that.
Yeah, I agree.
And then Dan was talking about vids.
Like after dinner, is there a crew that's kind of staying up and playing cards?
Because you're not the family guys, or is everyone just kind of like, all right, off to bed?
A little bit of both.
I don't play cards, really, so I'm in there just to hang out.
But usually on longer road trips, there's guys that go on there play poker or whatnot
or go see the city a little bit.
But, yeah, it's a little bit of mix.
Who's your familyless, you know, wingman?
that you got on the team right now.
You guys got to stick together.
I know.
We got a decent group.
It's me, Kockney, Mie, Svetnikov, Netchis.
That's kind of the four young guys that we all kind of have the same interest.
So whether it's shopping or whatnot, we're all kind of hanging around.
That's huge.
That's big.
Huge to have a crew.
Well, dude, listen, if you ever, I mean, if you're ever stuck alone in your room,
you need someone to just shoot some memes back and forth with, I got you.
Perfect.
Shoot me attacked.
Could use a laugh.
All right. I want to talk about the MET real quick because at least for us,
that has been the biggest surprise division so far. It's been surprises everywhere for sure,
but the Mets have been pretty crazy. You look at the Rangers scorching hot, obviously,
but I think everyone expected them to be good. You guys are, I'm sure, close to where you want,
you wanted to be a little bit stronger start, but like, you know, you're in second place,
you're sitting, you're sitting all right. But then it's like, you know, capitals, flyers,
islanders penguins devils you know so my question is obviously you can only control what you
can control but is part of you standings watching a little bit like yo we need to build up as much
really as possible before the fucking devils wake up or are you like nope out of the side out of mind
i don't care win our games i don't give a shit who's where yeah i think we're we're more
focused on ourselves right now we uh we got some stuff to figure out so i think a lot of the
tensions internal.
But yeah, you can't ignore what's going on in our division and how tight everything is.
It's crazy how much can change in one or two games and how everything can flip.
So we're focused on ourselves, but you always got to keep kind of a little bit of an eye
on on what's going on with the teams.
Does that include the Rangers hot start?
Like, is any part of that frustrating where you're like, Jesus, they want a fucking
other game?
Or is it like, nope, whatever, dude, we'll be fine.
It'll all sort itself out.
Yeah, I mean, a little bit.
Like you...
Yeah.
It would be good. You expect them to win most nights, but it does get a little frustrating when you keep seeing them piling on wins and we're kind of bouncing back and forth. But I mean, we're just trying to win as many as we can so we can kind of take control and put it in our own hands.
Do you feel like inside the division you have rivalries that sort of change and fluctuate every year? Or do you feel like you, you know, being at the club for three years now, you identify who your number one rival is, no question about it?
Yeah, I think you have like the ranges are a big one for us.
The Devils too.
And then I'm sure for guys who've been here a little bit longer,
they have some more,
more angst against other teams.
I just like play the ranges and playoffs.
They eliminated us my first year.
We kind of run into them,
run into a little bit of trouble every time we go to MSG.
So they're a team for me that I see as a rival.
But yeah, every team in the Metro,
You can definitely either pick some players that you don't like or just the team in general that you want to dominate a little bit.
Yeah.
Yeah, it must be funny kind of being younger where every team on the Met has just been in like the Sid OV torture chamber for years.
But no, you're kind of like, what fuck them do?
They suck.
I don't care.
Yeah, exactly.
Seth's like, I don't give a fuck about Crosby.
Yeah.
They don't really make playoffs, dude.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So we talked to a little about this year.
And, you know, it's your first year, you make the big club.
You guys go to the second round, have an epic seven game series.
Last year, you go to the Eastern Conference Finals.
You're obviously off to an unreal start this year.
You know, personally, like you said, though, you guys are always wanting to be better and better and better.
We've talked to some people who kind of run into that situation where you get into the league and, you know, you win immediately.
You have success immediately, whether it's going all the way or getting a deep playoff run.
And there's some people who feel like they kind of run into that situation where you almost get, you take it
for granted. You're like, yeah, I know, we made it to the second round and then third round,
and that's just what I expect. Is that something that you feel like you need to combat all the
time of just saying to yourself, it's like, no, it's not guaranteed, we got to stay focused,
we got to lock in at all times. How do you deal with that? Yeah, I think ours is a little unique
because, yeah, like you said, I came in to a really good contender team, came in and we're in
playoffs pretty easily both years and made runs. But the canes weren't very good not too long ago.
Yeah. And so we have a lot of guys on the team that were through those kind of dark years when
there wasn't anyone in the building. You're losing a lot. And so they remind everybody what it was
like and what it was like, I think it was like five years ago when they, when they first started,
started to get a little traction. But so it's not hard when you have guys like that.
that I've been through it and remind you that it's not it's not too easy to make playoffs and
going to run. That's actually really cool to hear veteran perspective of being like, hey,
we weren't always good, right? Especially for the young guys. I love that. Do you feel any,
because obviously with the success you've had recently comes pressure, right? You know,
expectations, got to go all the way, got to pull it off. Do you feel any pressure to be great
for those older guys that kind of went through it, went through hell to get here? You know,
But is like, not I'm saying it ruins your game.
I'm just saying like, is that in the back of your mind too?
Like, God, we've got to pull this off for these boys.
1,000 percent.
I, uh, it's, it was tough.
I think last year was the first, because the first year I kind of was just like,
oh my God, I'm in the NHL, just kind of, whatever.
And last year, like we had Stass, Stas on our team, Stepper on our team, like,
Burnsy, like all these guys that have been around forever and haven't got to the Stanley
Cup or won.
So it was like when we got eliminated, it hurt me more that I couldn't win with them and see those guys win more than it hurt me getting eliminated.
And it's stupid because like I might not make the playoffs ever again.
I might not make a good run.
But just knowing how long those guys have been in the league and what they did for me, like Bernsey feeds me almost every home game the night before.
step like steper was probably the most influential guy I've had in my career so far just in terms of
making me comfortable with the team and then just showing me the ins and outs of the game and same with
stas so when we lost it uh it hurt a ton but it hurt a lot for other guys than it did for myself
i did you live with any of the vets when you first came up no uh-huh i i lived with ahlo fishy a bit yeah
Yeah, yeah. Which was fun. It was, it built a lot of chemistry and built a lot of really good. He's one of my best friends now. So it was a good little kickstart. But he, I got pushed out of that house right away.
Dude, I heard I heard you were fucking pretty punctual and tidy when with him. I know you're not in life, but like I heard you've stepped up when you were living with him.
Well, yeah, I was panic because like I was probably on the, that was probably like my fourth kind of month on it. I think it was in January, December.
remember. And so I was still like, he would be like, okay, we're going to leave at 9.15 for practice.
I'm sitting by the front door at 9, 10. Like, this is our star player. I'm not making him late,
making him wait for me at all. So I'm up to 6 a.m. dude. Yeah. Exactly. I'm like,
I'm ready to go for anything. Whatever he wanted to do, I was, I was right there to tag along.
And then now, a little bit different. It's a different kind of story. Now me and him,
I like to give him a lot of shit, but he's fun.
Yeah, amazing.
Do you feel like you're kind of easing your way into more of that veteran group,
or do you still kind of have the mindset of you're one of the newer guys in the team,
and you're just making sure you get out there, do your job every day?
I think I kind of kicked the door in on the veteran group.
I think they kind of, I just kind of like welcomed myself.
I didn't really like process all these guys are like a fair amount older than me.
And I obviously show them respect and whatnot because they've earned it.
But there's no chance I'm letting anyone go by not getting chirped or not not getting my two cents in on what they want.
So like guys like Jordor are never safe.
Like he sits two lockers from me in the dress room and I'm in his year all the time.
And same with some of the older guys.
So I think they like it.
I think they appreciate that I just have like a blind kind of dumb confidence that I can just kind of go in there and just kind of shoot it with them.
but I definitely got to make sure I'm a little more careful on what I do and don't piss them off.
Yeah, especially with Rod.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I like it though, dude.
All the boys in the team, every time you try to find a quote from one of the guys in the team about you to a reporter,
they're like, um, PG-13, I can't really answer this.
So I think you got some good antics going on.
Well, this is the platform to do it.
What are some of your best antics in the locker room?
Oh, well, going on the Rod thing, my.
first year playoffs so i drive like a volks wagon tiguan like it's just beaten it's got dense hit
broken windshield whatever it's not a great car i put it through hell but my first year playoffs i drove
i don't know if you guys know what a dodge hell cat is oh yeah oh hell yeah wicked power just it's like
a race car kind of and so i got to drive one for the playoffs and i was abusing this thing
and so one of my first days with it,
we're playing, I think we played Boston the first round that year.
It's like the day before game one,
I'm leaving practice and I'm doing a, I'm with,
maybe, I don't know who I was with at the time,
but they wanted me to see,
want to see me do burnouts in the parking lot and the team parking lot.
And so like we park in this little area,
and then we have like a stretch of probably like,
maybe 60 yards of like straight before you have to turn.
And I'm doing, I'm spinning the tires,
making smoke,
revving the engine flying up and down like and rod walks out right behind me walking me doing
burnouts in the parking lot day before the playoffs he's like what the fuck is going on what are you
doing and so he looks disappointed i just flew away whatever didn't think anything of it he gives me
the lineup card for game three and he goes we're going to give it to louis hamilton to read the
starting lineup and i'm like this is
this is awful but
yeah a lot of stuff not using
hey that was high praise dude
seven time world champ dude yeah
my driving skills I think
yeah I mean at the end of like that
that stern
upset look might have actually him
been him being like Jesus Christ
this kid is a weapon behind the wheel
yeah I love it
all right so dude you're in year three right now
and I actually read another really cool
interview you did with the athletic
that was at the beginning of last season.
So going into your second year,
where it was talking about that sophomore slump, right?
Because there was,
there's guys in your locker room,
Stalsy, even your coach that had like
monster first year, slower second years.
I think at the time you had like two tucks
in your first three games.
So they were like, he's doing it.
It's amazing.
But then you look at your production year two
and that some of the totals are down.
But I have two questions.
The first question, though, is tell us why
it doesn't feel like a sophomore slump at all to you.
Because even though the points are down,
so many other areas of your game improved.
So tell us about that a little bit.
Yeah.
It's kind of crazy.
Like, it was a slump point-wise,
but I think my overall game got so much better
and took so many big steps throughout the year
that I couldn't be mad at what happened.
I just like,
my defensive game went from someone who's a pretty big liability
at sometimes to someone who's pretty competent.
And he started trusting me in different situations
in times when we had one goal leads
and he'd put me out there.
So just being able to do that felt great.
And then being able to trust me against other team's top lines,
like you wouldn't have to pull me off when Carlisbe came on the ice anymore or whatnot.
So it was nice that way.
But yeah, the point totals took a little bit of a dip.
But still, that other stuff is so valuable for the casual fan, right?
The non-fantasy hockey player.
It's like, dude, those things get you more ice time,
which will allow you to be out there more and get more confident and be more productive.
for the rest of your career.
And just look at what we talked about today.
You're in,
you know,
you're taking DZone draws on the PK now.
It's like that is such a huge testament to the way that your game has grown
and the confidence that you have.
And we're not going to sewer anyone,
but there's plenty of guys in the league that we can think of right now
who are struggling in that defensive end.
And if you don't fix that,
you're not going to go much longer.
You know what I mean?
So that's a huge leap.
And it's great for fans and,
you know,
just people who love the game to hear that side of it.
It's unbelievable.
And dude,
let's talk about it's,
I mean,
the points this year.
Yeah.
Wait,
Hold on first.
How demoralizing is it like year one when you're out there and said jumps on?
And you just hear your name getting yelled from the bench.
And you're like, God, damn.
I know.
It's awful.
There was one game.
We have like a one or two goal lead.
There's like five minutes left.
I think it was a two goal.
We were five minutes left in the third.
And he puts us out there.
And they pull their goalie.
And I'm like, we do like a one one three.
So I'm the right side.
So right by the bench.
Yeah.
And all I hear is, Jarvie.
Get off.
eyes get off the ice jar is screaming at me to get on to come back and it was that one hurt that
god damn i don't know what i'm doing like i could be out here oh yeah that is i got to maybe get an
empty net or dude get a free one you know like a gokey but no i i don't head first in the bench and got
yeah that's a truly like tuck and roll over the yeah okay but then yeah part two of my
question was going to be your scorching right now but nine and ten already second high second
highest point total on the team.
So tell us a little bit about, you know, what went into it in the off season and what's
changed for you this year?
Is it the intermittent fasting just firing?
Or what's the deal?
Everyone loves that, yeah.
I'm sure that has something to do with it.
But I feel better physically.
I think I got a lot stronger over the season.
And then just confidence.
I think it took a little bit of time.
I think going through that slump point-wise, obviously it's never, never good for you,
conference-wise.
And so just rebuilding my game.
I think I added different kind of aspects of it that maybe help me out.
And then just being able to trust myself, like I've been a score in every league I've
came into.
So the NHL obviously is the best one.
But it's just about adjusting to the teams and the new league every year.
And right now it's working.
Yeah.
Are you going to be mad?
Can I say on record that you're going to be mad if you don't get 30 this year?
Well, this is.
We're on pace, dude.
Yeah, say yes.
Say yes.
I mean, yeah, like, it would love to.
It would be sweet.
But I got a running joke with our head trainer that we always said road to 50.
And yeah, they're just shits and giggles.
And like, even in playoffs last year, like we're on 50 tucks in playoffs, like, shatter the record.
Your record is like 18 or whatever.
Shat it.
And so we have this running joke about it.
And every time I score, I kind of come off the ice and kind of like look back at them.
and he just gives me,
so he'll say something stupid to me or whatever.
But yeah,
I mean,
30 tucks would be sweet.
I think anything to help the team.
Yeah, 50 even sweeter though.
I'm rooting for that.
I agree.
50 you might not hear from me.
I might go off the face of the air.
Well,
I'm going to put you on blast for a second here
because you are two points away from 100 in your career.
And first of all,
amazing.
And when you pull it off,
you'll be only the fifth person in your draft class to have done it,
which is an unbelievable accolade.
But I'm putting you on blast here because you're going to have to show up to the moneyboard.
And I now can't wait for this to be public.
So the boys on the team know that you better fucking empty the wallet for that way.
I know.
I was kind of hoping to do it in Winnipeg.
That would have been cool to do.
I know, dude.
Yeah.
But, yeah, I mean, I'm scared.
They're going to just hound me for it.
Yeah.
I mean, that's huge.
But I don't know.
How much has to go?
has to go up there from you or maybe for context because burnsy just did the 600 assists right so like
how much is how much is getting tossed around yeah burns he doesn't count because burns he hates to
put money up for for the fellas so he's uh does he really that's bullshit he doesn't get to he doesn't
count so i mean you got to think probably probably a thousand i think just basically take away my
game check and play for sure.
Make sure you get the hundredth on a sick talk at least because the thousand will feel
less bad if it's a secondary assist and you lose a thousand bucks.
It kind of sucks.
I'm feeling it, dude.
He's going to get the netters bump here and you do it in Edmonton.
It's going to be fucking unbelievable.
Oh, that would be perfect.
It's happening in this road trip.
I promise you that.
Oh, yeah.
No doubt about it.
Yeah.
Okay.
All right.
Well, Seth, we're going to do a game we play with everybody to get you out of here.
It's called pass shoot score.
It's just a ranking system.
Okay?
So we're going to give you a couple categories and we'll give you three things in that category
and then you rank them.
Passing is our third favorite because the secondary assist cool, but it ain't that cool.
Shoot is your second favorite because we got to get pucks on net.
And then score is your favorite because lighten the lamp is the coolest thing you can do.
Got it?
Gotcha.
Okay.
It's basically fuck Mary Kill.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I was good.
I got that.
Got that vibe off there.
Okay.
Your first category.
is called teammates. All right?
All right.
Pass shoot score, playing ping pong with fishy,
eating KK's tacos, or hitting the sauna with Bernsey.
Oh, that's a good one.
Nice. I'm going to pass the tacos with KK.
Because half the time the meat's undercooked.
Really? I thought that was his specialty, dude.
I did too. It was good for a while.
And then a little thing that did it for me,
were making it probably a couple weeks ago and he's like really particular on how you cut cucumbers
for whatever reason okay i'm cutting cucumbers cutting them how a normal person would cut cucumber and he turns
back starts yelling at me as i'm cutting so i start yelling back and lose focus and like cut off the
chunk of my thumb with the knife and so okay yeah i'm pretty sure he ate the chunk of my thumb
and his little taco so you snuck that in the taco does this but well the good news is he
undercooks the meat so he couldn't even tell.
Yeah, it's fine.
It's too regardless.
How does he want you to cut him, though?
You're slicing them?
Like, you're making hockey pucks on the cubes or what?
He makes circles, which I mean, maybe it's not great for tacos, but it's not the end of the world.
What did he want strips?
He wanted cubes.
Yeah, quartered up.
Yep.
I was not doing that for him.
Yep.
No.
Easy pass.
Easy pass.
And then probably shoot with fishy and ping pong, because he, you know, he'd,
dominates me every time we play ping pong
he won't let me hear the end of it.
We usually play for lunch and I just
lose every time.
And then yeah, Sano,
he's always fun. He's got stories.
Oh yeah, he must have stories.
And he's a big cook too.
You said earlier, you know, he's feeding you all the time.
And I think most artists probably know,
but Bernsie's like fucking shooting elk
and cooking crazy shit.
So like what is the...
That man is living off the life.
What's the craziest thing you've had to eat at his
at his for dinner.
I think just like he brings like every dinner, it's like seven different types of like
steak and meat.
Like we have deer elk like you said like a bunch of different stuff.
But yeah, I think I had deer for the first time at his place.
And not bad.
Yeah, it's okay.
It's okay.
That's not horrible.
I thought he would make you eat something insane.
But, but,
no, he's all right.
He keeps a big team for me.
I'm a picky eater.
So I would let him know if I'm not eating it.
What's the pickiest thing about?
what you're eating.
Vegetables.
You don't eat vegetables?
No, I do.
I eat a little bit.
It's usually pretty reluctant.
Yeah.
Like you look at it very skeptically.
You're like,
what the fuck is this?
I don't want to say.
Yeah, I just need something to complain about.
So I'll take a bite and then just say they're the worst thing in the world.
Yep.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's nice.
I got to say cukes on tacos is a weird move.
Agree.
Exactly.
That's like what it does that.
It's like we kind of breezed right by that.
But like that is a weird move.
That is not a taco top.
Yeah, I don't like this at all.
That's ridiculous.
It's better than juice.
I don't know if you saw that,
but Kempi on the Kings is putting bananas on tacos.
And I thought that was the fucking craziest thing I've ever had.
Absolutely bizarre.
All right, your next pass shoot score,
these are things that bring you joy.
So,
wearing cut off t-shirts,
taking naps,
and eating nerds clusters.
Oh,
dude,
this is impossible.
I don't know.
I mean, like I got stronger, so I look better in a cutoff that I did.
I know, dude.
I looked like a wet noodle before.
Now I look a little bit better.
Yeah.
But I think we'll pass that one.
Probably, I wear like a Harvard alumni now.
I know.
And so the boys love that one.
But yeah, we'll pass on that.
Then we'll probably shoot the gummy clusters.
Probably shouldn't be eaten as many as I do.
God, there's fucking so good, though, dude.
Dude, you guys are nuts.
Those things are, like, every bite is a new cavity.
Oh, you're, well, probably true, but they are.
I just, dude, Jarvie, I hadn't even had, I even heard of those till like a year ago somehow.
I just found out about nerd clusters.
And now I'm just like, oh, dude, all day.
Do you fuck with nerds rope or is it just cluster?
I had the rope actually for the first time a couple months ago.
It's bad, but I think the clusters, like, I just, like, I can't stop eating.
them.
Yeah.
Easier to manage.
Yeah, that's true.
I do hear it's more of like a pop, you know, all right.
Okay, so we're scoring the naps.
We'll score the naps.
I can't pass up a nap.
Are you still napping just as much as often?
Yeah.
As usual.
It's just weird at this point.
I'm just weird times.
Guys are trying to text me to do stuff.
I'm just asleep.
I'm napping.
How?
Well, hold on, hold on.
Do you, like, would you say you have a normal sleep schedule?
Do you sleep normally through the night?
Or are you, like, taking micro naps out here?
like Aristotle.
I have trouble doing everything.
I don't really sleep at night.
Before I started napping, I couldn't sleep at night regardless.
So I just thought may as well sleep during the day a little bit.
Yeah, bank a couple hours.
Exactly.
Get a couple of the bank and then go for whatever.
But I mean, it pisses the guys off more than anything just because it'll be like
3.34 and they'll try to text me to do something like, see if I want to go to dinner
and I'm just asleep.
And then I'll have seven.
And they're like, why, like, why are you doing this to yourself?
But, uh, I mean, I like it.
Yeah.
Naps are fucking great.
The, how, do you fall asleep quickly when you're napping?
Like, do you have that ability?
Like, you're taking a nap and you're just gone?
Yeah.
Like, when I lived with Aho, we would try to watch movies.
Yeah.
Bye.
Most, like, 15 minutes max, I would be sleeping.
Every time.
God damn.
It's a skill, dude.
No, that pisses me off so much.
Especially if you're trying to show someone a movie,
I'm like, Jarvie, this movie's sick.
You're going to love it.
And I look over 15 minutes in and he's just snoring.
That kills me inside.
Dude, also, did you know, or was it funny?
I guess maybe it's a better way to say it when you had that nap quote that went so viral on TikTok.
Like, was your phone blowing up after that?
Yeah, I just got called an idiot for like, I set myself up a little bit for it because, like, that was, I think when I said that, I was kind of like in the middle of a slump in my second.
And so my DMs were flooded with, oh, he's napping on the ice.
Oh, he's always napping stuff like that.
And so I was just getting just berated by these keyboard warriors.
But it's hilarious.
Yeah.
The napping on the ice is a chirp that writes itself after that.
Walked right into it.
That's fucking tough.
Walked right into it.
Okay.
Well, actually, before I give you your next one, what other, give me your top three candy besides nerd cluster?
Ooh, I like, I like, I like, care,
M&Ms.
Wow.
Nice answer.
Yeah.
That's fucking classy stuff.
I like a good Twix bar.
Fuck yeah.
Same.
And I like the Skittles gummies, actually.
Oh, sick, dude.
Yeah, nice.
Wait, like, yeah, they make them.
They, uh, or wait, do you just mean regular Skittles?
Like, because they're kind of gummy.
Yeah, okay.
They make like a softer one now.
Get out.
Yeah.
Like a Skittles makes like a gummy bear type of gummy.
Yeah.
Interesting.
Okay.
I'll get it on that.
I like it.
Okay.
Here's your next category, Jarvie.
This category is meaningful moments.
Okay.
Pass shoot score.
Your first NHL haddy with your dad and brother in the building.
Buying your mom a car after you got your first contract.
Or getting your run where Angels fear to tread tattoo this year.
True.
Jeez.
that's impossible that you're going to kill somebody dude this is a tough one yeah
well i think i think i'll i mean like the hat tricks probably my favorite
on ice moment i've had but like i think i got to pass it yeah it's a loaded category on
yeah that was crazy i've never my like my brother was like kind of tearing up a little bit my
My dad was, I've never got, it's not a huge hugger, but like I got a massive bear hug after that.
Wow.
Wow.
That's huge.
That's huge.
It meant a ton to me.
And yeah, so that one, yeah, I'll pass that one.
Buying my mom, the car was really cool.
She drove this just absolute beater of a van.
Like the door behind the driver's seat wouldn't shut.
So if you drove it, you had to hold it close while you drive it.
I used to drive that when I was like 16, like around with my buddies.
I'm like, I would have one of them sit back.
Like if there's just two of us, he's sitting behind.
He's in the back.
Yeah.
So we, it was that one, it was like really nice.
And like we're in Winnipeg so it's cold.
She had no heat.
Yeah.
So that it changed, it changed her life for a good while and meant a lot to her.
And then, yeah, the tattoo.
I mean, I, it's.
It's something that's...
It's incredible, dude.
It means so much to me.
And the game in Winnipeg was probably the first game I've ever had where my grandpa wasn't
able to be there.
Oh, wow.
Right.
And so it like part of me, it sucked a lot, but I mean having them on my shoulder now forever.
It's the most important thing I think I've done maybe in my life.
It means a lot to me.
It means a lot to my family.
And I'm just really glad I'd.
did it. Dude, amazing. Can you, can you expand on that for us? Like, tell us about what it was like
how much he meant to you growing up and as a player, you know, made you in the man you are.
It was, it was crazy. He was, uh, he, he was awesome. He was someone that whenever he could
coach me, he would coach me. And he was one of the, like he's an older, he was an older dude.
So he was one of those tough, like feeding cross checks, like he was smaller. So he had that kind
of little man syndrome where he hated getting pushed around kind of like me. So he was, he was,
he was just someone that I knew no matter what he was going to be there for me no matter how
bad it was no matter what was going on he was going to be in my corner and be there to support me
and like I remember when uh when we made the NHL he would he would just call me sometimes
just so like like you're playing tomorrow right he's like yeah he's like okay i'm gonna
record it make sure i don't miss it and it's like little stuff like that just it meant the
world to me. And then when he, when he left, it left a pretty big hole, but something that
it brought our family close together. I think now me and my, me, my brother, my uncle are
closer than we've ever been. And a lot of that has to do with him. That's unreal, dude. You love to
hear that. And I, you know, I have to mention quickly, you, so you, you buy your mom the car.
What kind of car was? Oh, yeah. It was, she wanted a little Honda CRV, so a little SUV.
But the only thing she wanted was heated seats, heating steering wheel, and a backup camera.
Beautiful.
Easy, dude.
Done.
It's a pretty classy move that you buy mum the car and you're still ripping around in the Teguan.
Like that's, that right there is a selfless act.
That's going to earn you some points.
I thought so.
I bought my dad a truck this summer too, so just taking care of them.
But this Tiguans got to go eventually.
Yeah, dude.
That was the next question is, when do we upgrade that thing?
Guys got a busted car and a busted phone.
I'm like, what are we doing here?
When we get 30, there you go.
Yeah, get 30 and the T-1s gone.
Get 30, I can get rid of the T-1.
Okay, now here are your last one, Jarvie.
This one is most annoying things.
So the score on this is going to be the most annoying.
So here they are.
Losing the Caden at golf, getting chirped about your teeth.
Or going to Haudens Cup party.
Oh, okay.
We're going to pass, pass the teeth one, I think.
Okay.
Like, I've been hearing it since I was, like, 14.
Yep.
And the only thing that annoys me about is I don't have, like, anything to say back.
Like, you said, like, anytime someone says to me, I just go.
So, like, I can't come up with a thing to say back.
But, yeah, I mean, I'm used to.
I know my teeth are bad.
It's not like I've been trying to.
Hey, you're putting them on the line, dude.
You're getting your phaser.
mashed in blocking shots, bro.
Like, that's a commendable.
I'm just surprised they haven't fallen out yet,
which is kind of happy and mad about.
That is the beauty, though.
It's like when they do get knocked out
and you lose all your jibs,
we get them fixed.
Yeah, you're going to come back better.
Exactly.
But I'm doing this invisible on stuff right now,
so I'm trying to get straight.
I'm trying to do.
Oh, good for you, dude.
Hell yeah, dude.
Oh, thanks.
That's great.
But I have this weird feeling that I'm finally going to get
like pretty straight.
teeth.
Gone.
Gone.
And I'm going to lose my mind.
Yeah.
That is going to suck.
Well, I'm going to be so on.
But, yeah.
And then losing my brother in golf is probably the shoot.
I mean, he doesn't really beat me anymore.
Oh, are you sure, dude?
I heard he's pretty good.
He's all right.
He's all right.
If I'm on my game, I dominate him every time.
Wow.
He's, yeah.
He can't take the chirps as well as I can.
So when I win, I like to rub it in a little bit more.
And he gets a little.
Yeah, you're in his head by the third.
That's a mental game.
Yeah.
It's a mental game then.
Exactly.
And then, yeah,
Haldon's Cup party drove me absolutely bonkers.
Fuck.
Oh,
like,
I think,
like,
the only way I could get,
like I had to get drunk.
That was the only way I could get through it.
Yeah.
Like,
the thing that made me the most mad was my brother was there,
and he was face deep in the cup.
Oh.
It was like he won.
I was like,
what do you think?
I looked over at him at one point.
Like,
he had like beer down his shirt.
Yeah.
Like,
let's,
come on.
Like,
I couldn't even imagine now if I won the cup,
what he would do because he like that's his friend and he just did that.
Yeah, dude, he won't even care about yours.
He's like, I already did this dude.
He's already lifted it over his head.
He's good.
That thing was all overall as social media for the last next thing.
Bastard, dude.
So we were with the boys the night they won the cup in Vegas and it was an absolute rip.
So I've got to imagine the party was just insufferable from your end.
That said, how like talk about your relationship with Howdy.
How do you know him?
When did that, you know, when did you guys become boys?
Yeah, over the last couple years, like we've skated together for a few summers now.
But as I've gotten more comfortable and kind of came out of my shell, we've started to really bond and have a really good friendship now.
So me and him, we like to go at it on the ice a little bit.
We're never kind of on the same team.
So it's always fun going against them.
But when he won that cup, like for the, like he whatever, didn't come to the gym for maybe a month, start showing up.
And probably the first thing he did was grab a 35-pound.
dumbbell go like this and go you know what else weighs 35 pounds
oh my god dude let's throw a plate at him that is so fucking mean i can't believe that
i love it though you gotta do it i would have done it too it was so funny it that was like he just
every time i would chirp him he would come back with something to do with the stanley cow which i mean
fair enough but yeah he's got a prey to god i don't win one because he's gonna oh dude it's all over
yeah you get that reverse uno card and it's over for him
it's going to go crazy.
There you go.
All right,
well, Jarvie,
this has been unbelievable.
You're the fucking best for coming on.
Before we let you go,
is there anything you want to shout out,
anything you want to plug?
I got nothing going on.
No.
Thank you guys for having me.
Quest to 50 goals continues.
Yeah,
road to 50 is a little bit of a stall,
but we'll get back.
Yeah,
row to 50.
Road to 50 is what we're doing.
All right,
man,
well,
we're going to be tuning in big time
when you de up against Edmonton here
because I got a feeling
that that 100 is coming.
But again, my man, thank you so much.
This was a blast.
Yeah, thank you guys for having me.
Huge shout out and thanks to Seth Jarvis.
Like we said, just what a guy.
I'm so glad we got to chill with him.
I know.
It was just tremendous.
He's going to have a big year.
Oh, yeah.
He's going to have a big career.
Yeah, he sure is.
Let's kick it to overtime here with our last closing segments.
Let's get into hottest teams of the week.
You want to start or me?
I'll start.
Okay.
You start.
I'm going to start.
We talked about them
at the top of the episode
The Minnesota Wild.
There you go, Minnesota.
First time being in the hottest teams
of the week, I believe.
They are 3 and 0
with their new coach bump.
You'll love to see it.
Beat the Blues 3-1,
the Preds 6-1,
and the Hawks 4-1.
This could be the turnaround
that Minnesota's been looking for.
We hope so.
And so is the second hottest team
this week.
The Edmonton Oilers,
another new coach bump.
The Ours have won four in a row.
They shut out the caps 5-0,
which is a solid win,
pumped the ducks,
beat Vegas 5-4-in shootout,
which is a great win.
beat the Jets 3-1, which is also a pretty great win, I might add.
Said it a million times.
Don't let them get hot.
They can go scorched earth.
Would be a huge mistake.
And the hottest team of the week, you know, I love them.
The desert dogs.
Oh, oh, oh, the oats, dude.
Wow.
The oats are in a four-game heater in impressive fashion.
They shut out Vegas to nothing in Vegas.
Yeah, huge.
Beat Tampa 3-1, beat the Aves 4-3 in OT, and stomped on the Blues 4-1.
They are no joke at 12-9-19.
they're playing tonight against the caps.
Let's see if they can make a five.
They're sick, dude.
I love the youths.
Dan.
Toff watch.
Hit me with some Toffwash.
Tough watch.
Top has 12 goals.
Nine assists for 21 points in 22 games.
He's right where we want him to be.
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
Was on a five point in three game run before they're embarrassing loss to the shock.
Which was brutal.
But Toff is money.
We had him at 79 points.
He's right on pace.
Yep.
I love it.
So now to the Friends of the Pod segment.
Yes.
Morsi, dude.
What is he doing?
I never know what he's doing, dude.
Disgusting goal last night against the ads.
Little turnaround, short side tuck job right inside the goal line.
What is his problem?
I don't know, dude, but Trev is a beauty right now.
It's a fucking joke.
Another one for him.
Another one for my son, Adam Fantilli, which we love.
Tucky got two more, which we really appreciate.
He's really picking up some slack right now for the boys.
They need it.
And then we're very happy to welcome Brady Kachuk into the mixer here.
We don't get his goals all year.
We get his goals now, moving forward, of which he grabbed one.
So we're up to an even 60 on the year, Friends of the Pod, 2.25 is the goal.
We're going to figure out something sick if we hit it, so everybody fucking root for it.
We love to see it.
We love to see it.
We love to see that.
Let's get into what to watch this week, weekend.
to close people out.
What you got?
What do I got?
I got Jets at Avs.
A little central matchup.
Great game.
Two teams playing out of their mind.
Kyle Conner's got a goal tonight.
He is unbelievable.
Avs are just dope.
Took a tough loss.
I mean, not tough loss because the Kings are a wagon,
but you never like to lose,
especially if you're a team like that.
I just think it's going to be a great showdown.
And then I got a Saturday game
that I think it might be stealing from you.
Do you have multiple Saturday games?
Yeah.
Because I got multiple, too.
Do them.
I love Knights at Stars.
that's a showdown.
Absolute showdown.
Two of the best teams in the league.
And then I like a little Mets showdown here.
Rags at Caps.
Are the Caps a real deal?
We'll find out.
We'll find out.
I think that's a fun one to watch.
I like it.
Okay.
Both Saturday games.
Give me Thursday.
Leifes at Ottawa, always down for a little battle of Ontario.
I'm excited about that.
And then Ducks at Chicago, Carlson Bedard.
I knew you were going to pick that one.
I love that game.
I hope Leo's playing.
Me too.
Load management.
Bitch.
Hey, hey, hey, it's not his fault.
And it's working well.
Well, they did it with Stammer?
Will he be, would he be fine, dude?
It's ridiculous.
And then one more, give me Friday.
Wild at Oilers fired coaches battle.
Oh, nice.
That's got me excited, right?
That's a coach bump battle.
That's got me excited right there.
That's really, really cool.
All right, those are some awesome games to watch.
Hope you guys enjoyed this episode and the Seth Jarvis interview.
Dial into these games.
Put on your Christmas sweaters.
everything is coming up the holiday season right now. And you know what to do. Skate hard.
