Empty Netters Podcast - 68. Time To Panic In Toronto
Episode Date: January 3, 2024Live from the Winter Classic! The boys start off 2024 in Seattle and break down the experience at the outdoor game. Canada is out of the World Junior tournament, the Maple Leafs have a serious issue i...n net, and CP and DP make some SAUCY predictions for the new year. Chapters (00:40) - Intro (05:20) - 12 Days of BETSman Breakdown (09:46) - Seattle Winter Classic Review (21:00) - World Juniors Tourney Is USA's to Lose (29:30) - The NHL Should Claim Boxing Day (34:46) - The Maple Leafs Are A Disaster (41:21) - Margins In The Met Are Razor Thin (46:30) - Games To Watch This Week & Toff Watch (49:50) - The Penguins Need To Make A MONSTER Trade (56:18) - The Kings Are Going To The Cup (59:58) - Oilers Will Finish Top 3 In The Pacific (1:04:00) - Flyers Will Make It To The Second Round Of Playoffs (1:07:20) - Matthew Tkachuk Scoring Drought Is Coming To An End (1:11:44) - William Nylander Should Be Traded At The Deadline Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the crisp and refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
It is hockey season.
We're almost halfway through the NHL season.
It's unbelievable.
We're into 2024.
And there is no better way to enjoy the new year and hockey season than with Labat Blue Light.
And you know why?
Because every single bottle can or keg is brewed with Canadian kindness, which gives it the best Pilsner taste you could ever ask for.
If you're watching the game at home in front of the TV,
If you're at the arena, watch in live, grab yourself a Labat Blue Light and enjoy that crisp taste because the ice is always ready on the best beer in the game.
Ice is ready and welcome back and happy New Year to another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
We are sitting here in Seattle at Third Wheel Podcast Studios, hooking us up with a great little spot to do this show after the Winter Classic game.
And I'm hurting, but not as bad as you.
dude here's the thing
I'm sick
and I have torn my groin
and there's a lot of people out there
saying I'm not hurt
people at the stadium yesterday
were coming up to us saying hi
and a lot of them were pulling me aside
and being like is Chris faking
is he actually hurt
here's the thing I rode a mechanical bowl
on New Year's Eve
we went to a bar called cowgirls
place is sick
if you were in Seattle
and you aren't going to Cal Girls, you are doing Seattle wrong.
Incorrectly, sir, or madam.
We actually bounced around a ton of places on New Year's Eve.
More hectic than normal.
Usually you get a New Year's Eve spot, you're there, boom.
Yeah.
In for the night.
We were 15 different bars.
I moved bars.
I literally walked out of a bar at 11.51 p.m.
on New Year's Eve to get to another bar before 12th.
Yeah, it was a wild pivot.
It was a wild pivot.
It was a crazy move, dude.
But I walked in.
I walked in at 1159.
Saw the whole thing.
By the way, did they...
I was watching on TV and they're doing the countdown
and it's like, you know...
But it's Times Square.
Are they just like tape delaying that?
Yeah, yeah.
Show it again.
Yeah, they just show it again?
It's kind of weird.
It is kind of weird, but I mean...
Why don't we do one on the West Coast?
We should do one.
There should be a West Coast City that does one.
You know?
That's crazy.
You don't think Ryan C. Chris wouldn't do that, dude?
I can't get Ryan C. Chris.
We get Mario Lopez in L.I.
Yeah.
He'd be great at that.
So anyway, I made it in...
I made it inside before,
midnight, job done.
And then we're at Johnny Las,
Johnny Las, third netter.
And he's like, you want to ride this bull?
And I'm like, no, I don't want to ride this bull at all.
Yeah.
And he's like, well, you can't come to Seattle and not ride a bull.
Yeah.
Which felt like a crazy take.
I was like, is that what one does in Seattle?
But then God bless him, dude.
He gets up there, rides the bull,
tips the guy the whole shabang.
And then he gets off and now I have to do it, right?
Because like he wrote the ball.
I'm not going to not ride the bull.
Yeah.
and I was telling him that it's like all in the in the quad like the inner quad is gripping the bowl
that's really really where you hang and I had the lean going I have the video we'll post it maybe
but I had the lean well we're going to post it today yeah yeah because I did all right I mean I
didn't do that good but like I did all right and it just sometimes because if you're doing okay
they start if you're if you're bad they just do the up and down yeah eventually you fall off but
once you're if you're oh doing okay they start sideline in him and he hit me with the side and
I like stayed on and reset and then he hit me with a side I wasn't ready for yet. And I just,
I clenched last minute and it, dude, my body went that way and my right leg didn't go. And your
groin went the other way. Dude, my groin snapped in half like a piece of dental floss and shot up
my ass cheek. Like I think my groin is residing in my right ass cheek right now. This is not funny
at all. It's funny for me. I understand that you're hurt. You're playing hurt and that does suck.
I feel bad for you. But you got on a mechanical bull on New Year's Eve and you tore your groin.
That's pretty fun for me. And I'm, I'm absolutely.
so pissed, dude, because I felt it obviously right away.
And I was like, oh, my God.
And then I fell off the bowl, and I was like, dude, this is a disaster, but I don't want to make a scene.
It's like, I got up and like, dapp up Johnny.
And he's like, great, I'm so glad you did that.
I was like, me too, man, me too.
And we go to the bath.
I haven't even told him this yet, so he's going to laugh when he's listening to this.
But we go to the bathroom, we go pee.
And it's like a pretty small bathroom at this place is just two urinals.
So we're right next to each other.
And he goes, dude, like we're peeing in silence.
And he goes, dude, you're breathing pretty heavy.
And I go.
Yeah, dude, I was just, I'm fired up, but the bull.
But actually, I was like, because I was like, I'm in such extreme pain.
Yeah, like, I didn't want him to know yet.
Dude, that is so tough.
Oh, man.
So, yeah, honestly, because we called it pretty quick.
New Year's Eve wasn't that crazy.
Yesterday was crazy.
But I went, we went to bed kind of right after that, and I was still in, like, the,
maybe I'll wake up and this is fine.
Oh, no, dude.
Oh, no.
Much worse.
You were limping all over the place yesterday.
A lot of people acting like I'm not hurt, dude.
I've torn my green.
I just think that you, you know, you've learned a valuable lesson.
Yeah.
No bulls.
Yeah.
And you're getting older, dude.
The body's a fragile thing.
Maybe I should have stretched before I did that.
And I was like, that's such a weak-ass thought.
But it's true.
But it's maybe true.
It's absolutely true.
We had a great New Year's.
We had a great Christmas.
Christmas was great.
Christmas was wonderful.
Yeah.
Let's get into, or, you know, talking about Christmas.
Yeah.
Betsmus.
Yeah, I just wanted to hit Betsmissmiss real quick.
Thanks, everyone for playing along.
apologize for anyone tailing me.
Yeah.
You won by a mile.
But I think you just came out at 100.
I came out at exactly even.
Yeah.
And if you tailed me, I hope,
if you tailed me the whole time,
what a journey.
You didn't lose anything.
We were up a lot.
You know, we were up 200% at one point.
But, yeah, it was, that was a roller coaster.
Absolute roller coaster.
Some brutal beats.
I feel like we both.
really lived the entire life of a gambler over Bettsmas.
Yeah.
We had 12 days of Bettsmiss.
It was a blast.
It went a couple days past Christmas because of the few days with no games.
Yep.
But if that wasn't a crash course in what it is like gambling, I don't know what is.
Dude, so I was never in the black, not once.
Like, I lost three straight bets down to 70.
And then you were just battling back.
But then I was up to like 96 once.
You know, I was like really close, but I was never in the black once.
And then I was swinging big on the last three days, obviously.
and I have lost, I have zero, I lost all my money.
The, what was that catastrophic?
So yeah, this is what I wanted to say.
And dude, I am not a huge gambler, right?
Like, I like to gamble, but I'm not a huge every day on the slate gambler.
Yeah.
The, that, I get it, though.
Like, because doing that every day where we had to bet, it's extremely addicting,
and you feel like every bet is the right one the next day.
Like, it doesn't matter if you lost the day before.
Every day is the next one.
And I will say this, and maybe you disagree, but for me, the,
like I just always wanted to build a big parlay to make it a sick payout because that feels more fun.
Yeah.
And you're like, dude, I'll get it all back right now.
But obviously, you end up losing one leg of the parlay and that's why you get buried.
But it just felt boring to bet like, oh, you know what?
I'll just take the Oilers money line, even though they're minus 180 because it's safer.
And I won't win a lot, but it's safer because I lost a couple of those.
Like I lost a couple, just take the favorites.
and then you feel like a true clown.
Yeah.
So I'm like, dude, why wouldn't you be like swinging hard?
And dude, I don't even remember exactly.
Oh, I do.
It was, I took, I put 20 bucks on rags, puck line.
Yeah.
Penguins, I want to say islanders over and avs, yotes, avs puck line.
Rags caps.
First period caps up one nothing.
And I'm like, well, that's an L.
Because it's just like, even if the rags come back and win, they're going to win by one goal.
And then it was like, rags school, ragsual, ragsual, rag, rag, rag, rag, rag, rag, rag, rag.
rags up 5-1 and win, puckline check.
Penguins, now I'm like, I've got to hit this one.
It's zero, zero, ten minutes left in the second.
I'm like, that's an L.
It's over six and a half.
And then I refresh end of the second
and the penguins are up fucking five-nothing.
Yeah.
I was like, yo, dude.
So I just need two islands.
That was a shit stomping.
And then they don't, the island just can't score,
but then the penguins get two more
and cover themselves.
Yeah, 7-0.
Dude, I just need Av's puck line in the late-night game.
And by the way, that was going to pay me like 180.
So, like, I haven't been in the black once yet,
And you had lost that night, so I was like, I'm about to pass you and be winning the competition.
Oh, you hadn't lost yet, but Vegas lost, so you did lose that night.
But I was, I had a three-team parlay that was winning by a mile, and I had them money-lined.
Yeah, but that was an actual bet you made.
Like, the one you posted didn't have ass.
That's right, that's right.
But Vegas lost, which fucked your, that's right.
Vegas lost to the ducks.
Yeah.
Brutal.
But, dude, I had abs plug line, and I'm like, dude, if that hits, I'm paid.
Yeah.
And I refresh, one-nothing abs.
And I'm like, hell yeah.
Refresh, two-nothing.
Refresh, three nothing.
Refresh, four nothing.
And I'm like, dude, we got it.
We got it.
Go to bed.
Yotes win five, four, and overtime.
Dude, you get nothing.
Good day.
It was an insane beat.
Like, that was so bad.
I personally found my Jets Bruins to be the worst.
Oh, yeah.
Because that was a monster parlor.
Yeah, yeah.
Like that was a bunch of really, really risky picks,
and that payout was going to be so much.
much and then it crushed us.
Never ever your wins, dude.
End of the day,
that MGM is the best
because all those parley boosters were so fun.
Dude, so sick. I'm addicted now.
I mean, I don't have a problem.
I'm gambling responsibly.
We're addicted to the fun.
I'm addicted to the fun. It's an absolute blast.
I'm a fun addict. It's unbelievable.
And that's fine.
Let's keep cruising here
with this no-bucky warm-up.
Let's get into Seattle.
Yeah. Here for the Winter Classic,
obviously.
I overall
we talked about this a couple episodes ago
so many props to Seattle
for how close all the stadiums are
oh it's so cool dude
we bro Lumen and T-Mobile being right next to each other
our hotel is a 10 minute walk away
Not even dude
It is such a vibe
walking through down the streets
All the streets are closed off
There's food trucks there's bars there's restaurants
It is a total total vibe
and I just
I think
you could be a little
rowdier Seattle
if I'm being honest
we got in on Sunday
there was a hawks game going on
dude we turned the corner and we were staring into this belly
and the beast and it was too quiet
a little too quiet for me
I know it's been a tough season for the Seahawks fans
but they ain't eight though
Seattle fans you could be a little rowdy
is all I'm saying with the six setup you have
can be a little round
the stadium was loud I just thought there'd be more bars
like right around the stadium also packed
People watching.
You know, like, people were either in the game or at home.
Yeah.
It felt like.
Day of Winter Classic, however, they pulled out all the steps.
Place was buzzing.
Yep.
It was awesome.
By the way, T-Mobile Park.
Oh, dude.
Does not get enough praise.
That is a sick ballpark.
Holy moly.
We were talking earlier if it counted that we've seen the park now,
even though we didn't see a baseball game there, and I still think yes, because I've been in there.
I honestly wish I had seen the roof close.
because like literally the act of it closing.
Yeah, it's a cool thing to see.
I was like, dude, that looks so awesome.
I agree.
But it was, we got perfect weather.
Dude.
Yeah, the place.
Okay.
So I'm curious to talk to some of the boys who played.
But actually, Maddie said it last night.
Maddie was like, it was sick.
It was perfect.
It was probably what, 42 degrees.
Yeah, dude.
So we were kind of thinking,
ooh, might be a little too warm for the ice.
But no, dude.
Clouds in the sky, but not too gray.
So there wasn't sun beating down.
down on the ice and then even when the sun did creep out it was it was across the top
yep yeah it wasn't hitting the sheet yeah it wasn't too cold for fans you know I had I had
two t-shirts and a shacket on yeah and I was fine yep we were in the sun though
we were a little colder but I was walking around the concourse a lot and it got colder and I
and by the way it was 41 like it was it was fun like the big house one was people were
freezing yes I think that that honestly might have been perfect winter classic weather
the ice was great the player at least Maddie said the ice was great it looked
fine. It didn't look like it was slushy or too bad
out there. There was no glare.
Fans were solid.
We love the Winter Classic. I'm a
huge proponent. I think it's one of the
coolest things in major sports.
And what a
great one this was.
I was pumped
to see how packed that park was.
Dude, same. 40, you know, just about
49,000 strong
stuffed to the gills. Between
periods, dude, if you try to go take a piss
or get about it. Go get a beer.
some food. Holy fuck
was that place packed. I felt
like a sardine swimming up
river. I don't know if they swim up river, but
I felt jam-packed trying to get around that concourse
to get a beer, to get anything. It was
awesome. Dude, how about the pro shop? We went into the pro shop.
Oh, pick cleaned, dude. It felt like COVID
days. People getting toilet paper and laundry
detergent. It was unbelievable.
Before the game, like, we were at the stadium.
We'd go in like 40 minutes for a puck drop.
Go in to get some swag, this. Cracking hat, let's go.
and we were in line.
We almost missed puck drop because we were in line so long.
But there wasn't even a line.
It was just like a mob of people pushing towards the register
and just like grabbing stuff on their way
because I can't even get to the hat racks.
So like whatever.
And how about at one point when one of the employees was like,
could everyone just form three lines, the peanut gallery?
Okay.
I was curious what you were going to talk about.
I inappropriate.
Inappropriate.
That guy, the guy goes, excuse me, folks,
because there were three registers.
Yeah.
Can we make three lines here, please, so we can get this a little bit more efficient?
And everyone in the shop was like, oh, too late for that, pal.
That ship sailed a long time ago.
Oh, did you just say everything's free now?
I was like, what the fuck?
This is such a reasonable request by this guy.
What are we talking about?
Probably go faster if we just form three lines.
Such insane response from everybody.
When he said it, I was like, thank God.
He finally said it because that's what needed to happen.
And everyone just sewered the guy.
It was like, this is so off sides.
Why are we yelling at this dude?
Outrageous performance.
Oh, my God.
I think they were just hyped up on winter classic vibes.
It's hard to blame them.
Yeah, you know, people were just in the shit and battling together.
They could hear no organization from Batman.
I felt terrible for them.
I was like, all right.
But yeah, that fired me up.
Huge props to the league, dude.
The designs looked sick.
Oh, my gosh, the setup at the park with the sunken ship.
Right, the cracking coming over the ship.
The logo being like a compass.
Yep.
You know.
The nautical vibes were strong.
The cracking guys coming out and the fisherman.
gear.
Yeah.
What was Vegas?
They had the hats?
I,
I think so.
They came in with like sheriff hats on or something.
Yeah.
Yeah.
The guys doing the Pike Place fish toss back and forth as the players were walking
through.
Everything was just so well done, so clean.
A couple of the boys on the crack and I forget who it was.
I have to rewatch it.
We're like ducking every time.
And I was like, yo, they're professionals.
They're not going to hit you with the fish.
Also, stop messing with them.
Yeah.
I don't do their thing.
But yeah, there's always like a pawn for kids to plan in between periods and they had
that.
Yeah, but it just looked cooler because it was like frozen ice, nautical theme stuff around, the actual frozen ice, you know, so that looks sick.
Also, we posted this, but the anthem was lit.
Oh, my God, that kid.
Dude, so we were there.
Savage.
We did, Dan and I got to do a walk through the day before, and we're, oh, yeah, I think we were, that was on the story, too.
We were walking around, and they're practicing a ton of shit.
Oh, we got to say the drop the puck thing, too.
But we, so we're practicing, we're doing a bunch of stuff.
They're practicing a lot of things.
And some guys just out there playing the anthem on Electric.
And he's, I mean, he's good, but like, whatever.
and we were both kind of like
No, no, no, give me a dash one here.
Dan was like, I don't love the anthem
on the electric guitar.
Like, Jimmy Hendricks did it, it was sick as hell,
but that's pretty much all we needed from that.
And we were listening to it a thousand times in a row,
which doesn't help, you know,
like it's just pounding in our eardrumbs
the day before the game.
We show up the day of the game
and some little kid comes up,
a little infant child.
It was him.
He was the one practicing.
Was it?
I thought of somebody else.
No, it was him.
And I was like, who is this kid.
He comes out and absolutely murders it.
shreds. And it was like some variety to.
It wasn't just like the plucking the whole time.
Oh, he went into courts. He went up the neck dancing.
Yeah. Oh my God.
And then they take the Coast Guard, helicopters over.
You're expecting to see like the Blue Angels. We're in Seattle after all.
We're expecting to see like Blue Angels F-18s, whatever they are bombing through.
Our boy Tony said he was like, I knew it was Coast Guard flying over.
And I was like, Coast Guard. I mean, that's like the lamest of all of those groups.
He was Coast Guard, by the way. So you can say that.
Yeah, he's like the lamest of all the groups, how are they going to make this cool?
And then they did.
Yeah. Do they come across. And there's dudes dangling.
from wires holding American flags.
I was like, let's go, dude.
This is Mission Impossible, Dead Reckoning Part 2.
Unreal.
Insane, dude.
I loved that.
That was really cool.
And then they also had the voice of the Mariners do this thing,
drop the puck.
I don't know if this worked on TV,
so maybe no one's going to know what we're talking about.
But we had to listen to the day before the game
1,000 times in a row.
Them go, one, two, three, drop the puck.
So loud.
They did that sound test, honest to God.
30 times
And then they fucked it up
And then they got it to the game
And the mic
So one, two
And then fireworks went out
Fireworks, puck drop
And then the rough dropped the puck
And I was like, oh shit
I imagine the team doing that
Looked around each other going
Are you shit in me?
Like how in the world do we mess this up?
Insane
But yeah, dude
Some of the picks coming out are awesome
I thought it looked beautiful
What was your favorite part?
Like what's your favorite part
Maybe not a winner classic in general
But like what
Dude it's just such a special game
If people, if you have the chance
to get to a game, it is so worth it.
It's so fun. I think it's such
a spectacle.
Dude, I think they had the fan experience, the fan village
right outside, which was awesome, and that was like, people
was packed, everyone's going to that. Yeah, fan village
for me, this one, I really
loved how it was crowded, obviously,
but it felt very accessible. We all just, like, walked
up and had some food to a food truck, and they walked
in, the fan village right there, got into the park.
I think the
energy was high the whole time, probably the weather
helped a lot, and the home team winning helped a lot.
Yeah.
So it just, it was a good buzz.
Like, my, I almost want my answer to just be like the feeling in there, the whole game.
Yeah.
But I think I just will say that intro, like, those dudes walking out with the fish and the fucking flames and fireworks going and the anthem.
Like, I got, I was like pretty fired up at the beginning.
We almost missed it because of our line.
And I was like, whatever, dude.
If we miss puck drop, who cares?
And in hindsight, I'm like, oh, I'm so glad we got there for the intros in puck drop because that was awesome.
Money.
Yeah.
I think
I love how
I love
And again this is everyone
I love how much
Everyone buys in
The players buy in
I love the eye black
I love the outfits in the beginning
You know last year
When the pens and the bees
We're doing the baseball uniforms
Like all that stuff is so fun
And people hit us up
You know in the DMs
Because I'm sure at other venues
This has happened
And it's it's harder city to city
And you know
I think about Fenway last year
It's there's not that many places
But
I would love
love doing hockey outdoors is so cool.
And it feels like a football game.
Even when it's at a ballpark, it feels like a football game.
I would love more of an emphasis on pre-and-post game tailgate.
Oh, cool.
The game's at noon, you know, it would be sick to make more of a, hey, like, games over, but party's not over.
Like, it's winter classic.
And the fan village was kind of part of that.
But if you've got a cool setup like Seattle has, where you've got, you know, streets with food,
trucks and stuff, I think it'd be sick if they kind of instituted a block party type of vibe.
And again, city dependent.
I don't know where you do that in Fenway.
It's like you can go to Lansdown and some of the bars and stuff around there.
But it would be awesome if there was like an after the game, you know, this street, these bars,
whatever, are doing this stuff.
Because it was cool.
You know, we had the blessing of Michigan, Alabama.
Let's go.
Let's go blue.
Let's go blue.
Fuck you, Bama.
Privilege of those games being on.
So we went right to huge shout-out, Queen Anne's.
Queen Anne Beer Hall.
Beer Hall.
Queen Anne, Beer Hall.
We've got a lot of fun stuff coming out with Queen Anne.
We're going to be coming back to Seattle, doing some watch parties and stuff there.
Coolest bar in the city.
No doubt about it.
But being able to go right from the classic to that to watch those games, then the U-dub game,
that was amazing.
And I think that feeling of like the classic is over.
but the fun didn't stop.
Yeah, yeah.
I think, if the game continues to be on the first,
there will continue to be NCAA playoff games.
So keeping the party rolling is really my only note for sure.
Yep, amazing.
Thinking about playoff games, semifinals,
World Juniors.
World Juniors.
Huge developments today.
Yeah.
Get into it.
USA currently pumping Latvia,
What's the score?
Is it final yet?
It was 7 to 2.
Let me check right now.
But, I mean, this morning was the big dog.
I know, I know.
But that's when I want to save it.
USA pumping, they're going to be into the semis.
Final 7 to 2.
7 to 2.
Sweden currently up 1-0 on the Switzerland.
I'm anticipating a USA Sweden semi.
Absolute tilt.
Sweden gave up the least amount of goals in the group stage, I believe, 5.
USA scored 29 goals in the group stage, which was the most by mile.
Yeah.
So, you know.
USA pumps and goals.
Sweden doesn't let in many.
So it's going to be a very interesting match for that matchup.
Now, the other side of the bracket is, of course, Finland versus Canada, right, Dan?
Of course.
Canada waltzes to the final in this.
Dude, that is a tough loss for our boys up north.
Well, you know, it's funny because this is a rematch of the gold medal game last year.
Canada, Chechnya.
Chechnya goes up 2-0.
Yep.
Canada kind of sleeping at the wheel.
It felt like in that first period.
But Canada crawls back, ties it 2-2.
And then...
The most unforgivable, in my opinion,
with 12 seconds left in the third.
It was a deflection goal,
so, no, you know, not going to
drag on Canada's tendy,
but you cannot be giving up goals
with less than a minute.
Dude, it's such a killer.
It's a fucking Bruins against Florida
in Game 7 last year.
Exactly right.
And it's like,
this Canadian team
and by the way
Chechnya might be sick
they're a great team
they just beat Canada they took USA
to the only test the USA had
you know like maybe they're just sick
they're a great team and like we'll all look back
maybe they win this whole thing and you're like oh
I don't know you love that was that was the gold medal game
Chechnya Canada you know
so this team is sick
but this and again this also
isn't the
absolute melt job worst Canadian loss
of all time no I do
think though, you are extremely bummed.
We had people, we posted that Top Gun video, we had a ton of people in the comments,
like Canada 3Pee coming at you, no-brainer.
Top-top prospects out there.
Celebrini had a good tournament, honestly.
So, you know, it's like he was asleep at the wheel.
Yeah.
But this team losing in the quarterfinals is, I mean, just a killer.
Just a killer, killer.
It's tough.
The bracket is the bracket, so that's when you caught Chesh and you.
But, like, that is an embarrassing result.
Tonight against the semis is brutal for Canada.
But I do kind of love this.
This is not a chirp to our northern neighbors,
but I love World Juniors every year when Canada wins.
Canadians love to be like,
and that's obvious we're the best hockey country in the fucking world.
And when they lose, they're like, I mean, it's a kids tournament.
To World Juniors do, their kids.
I'm like, there's literal NHLRs playing in this.
So what are you doing?
Yeah, Maddie Pee could have a better tournament, honestly.
Yeah.
know it's funny though I always feel and I'm sure I know there's stats to prove me wrong
in this but I feel like when the NHL kids come down and play in this they're they never
I don't or I I don't expect them to dominate yeah dude it's such a different big ice
big ice and they're also in like Maddie P's not getting himself hurt yeah you know I think
they go in there and they're like I'm gonna play my game yep because you also don't want to get
back into like world junior style and then you go back to the show and you suck yeah so
dude well here's the thing on that because I think you saw the the sweet
Sweden Canada game. You saw Sweden really control the game because of that big ice. It felt like, at least to me, right? And I wonder where, I wonder if Canada will look back on this tournament being like, they scored 21 goals, by the way, in the group, which was second most, I'm pretty sure. But I just wonder if they'll look back and be like, dude, we didn't quite have the offensive firepower we expected to have. I'm sure they expect to be pumping in goals at the same rate USA was. Yeah, right. Celebrini was supposed to be Bedsie part two. And not quite. And again, he was okay. I think he had four and four. Yeah, but I think. I think.
that's the point is he was okay. And what do you mean? Not quite. Everyone's talking about
Celebrini every five seconds, dude. He's obviously not Connor Bred. Yeah. But Celebrity's,
that's all I mean. He was just not Bedsdy-Far too. Yeah, but he's the consensus number one pick.
Everyone's like, he is unbelievable. He's the best player by a country mile in this tournament,
and he did not do anything special at all. He was good, but he wasn't great, and not even
close to great. So, yeah, that was shocking. And I think that they are, and yeah, to your point,
Matt Procher has been one of the best rookies in the NHL this year, and he goes and plays in that
tournament, and he didn't do a ton at all.
Geeky didn't do a ton.
No.
Let's talk about Geeky though.
Geeky in a game against Germany,
in the first 11 seconds of the game,
off the drop,
puck goes back into Germany zone,
wheel it around, get it up to the hash wall,
to a winger,
Geeky comes flying in it and buries him.
Cleanest hit I've ever seen.
In my life.
No charging, perfect lineup,
shoulder to chest,
didn't leave his feet.
Perfect hit, gets five in a game.
Loved Morgan Geeky,
his brother on the Bruins,
coming to his defense,
was like apparently you get kicked out of games for hitting too hard now.
Dude, it's World Juniors, it's not that big of a deal.
But that is a joke.
That is a joke.
And there was talk, there were tweets like, oh, he's cleared.
He won't face additional suspension.
He gets to play today.
And I'm like, was that a conversation too?
Dude, I don't mean to hop on Biz's dick here, but a little while ago on the TNT broadcast,
Biz was talking about the league and the national.
And saying that he thinks some of these young guys haven't really.
been taught how to take hits. Oh yeah. I remember this. And we're seeing some, you know, injuries or
really bad looking hits against the boards, open ice hits that are leading to suspensions and
fines. And it goes into the trouba stuff that we're talking about. And I think he's right, dude.
And I think that if that, and I know it's world juniors and not the national, if that is even
a penalty, dude, we're going in the wrong direction. And I loved you in the slow mo replay,
you see Connor to look at the ref and go,
what the fuck for?
And he's 100% right.
That's as clean of a hit as you can ever hope for.
And winger on Germany,
keep your head on a swivel, buddy.
Like, there was nothing wrong with that hit.
You got to be ready for that contact.
And it goes into,
Badard is absolutely buzzing.
But there was a play a few weeks ago
that you and I talked about
where Baddard got the puck along the boards
and he turns,
he's, it wasn't even a bang, bang play.
he has the puck along the boards and he stops and tries to turn and go the other direction
and he turns his face into the glass and gets shoulder to shoulder check but since his face
is turned he goes face first into the glass everyone loses their shit and I'm like that is
badards off yes dude you have put yourself in a dangerous position when you are in a position on
the ice where you can be hit and you need to be ready to get hit and he exposed his face to the
glass because he doesn't he hasn't been taught to protect himself from that situation maybe yep
And I am so in on this.
Let's point out the problem before it becomes a problem,
because hitting is a part of the game.
And if you don't know how to take a hit,
that's going to be on you.
You might find yourself out of the league faster than you think
because you're getting bundled every five seconds.
Yeah.
It's like a last year on the Rangers.
Figure it out, buddy.
Figure out how to get hit.
Last year, the refs in the NHL,
you were allowed to review.
You could upgrade a penalty,
downgraded penalty, whatever.
I don't know,
and I don't think that's in World Juniors.
Yeah.
I don't think I, I,
I don't think I,
I,heft can do that.
And maybe I'm wrong.
I'm not,
maybe they did review that,
but that's a situation
where it's like,
someone look at this,
dude, like,
I hate one plays like this.
You're seeing it across
all major sports.
They play like this,
because these games are so fast.
Yeah.
And the refs are human.
Things happen.
You think you see something
a certain way.
A penalty's called.
Look at it.
Like, I just can't believe
you can't look at that.
It'd be like,
oh, nope.
suspended from the game, it's not even a penalty.
Thank God they let him play because if Canada
had lost today without him,
would have been such a shit show.
Pumped for the rest of the tournament.
Got to be the boys in red, white, and blue now, though.
Oh, it's theirs to lose.
Got to be the boys in red white and blue now.
And that's not to say. Sweden's amazing.
Chechnine is amazing.
Finland is playing unbelievable.
But, yeah, it is very much USA's tournament to lose.
Gonna be sick.
Yeah. Let's get into some hot ice.
Yeah.
I want to start with an idea that I had.
We're talking about the World Juniors tournament.
We were talking about the Winter Classic.
It's perfect.
NBA owns Christmas Day.
Everybody knows that.
Very interesting year this year with when the holidays landed because we had a bunch of football on too.
Yes.
It was kind of, what was Christmas Day, Monday?
Yeah, is that right?
Christmas was Monday and there were some games.
Yeah, so Christmas Eve, there was a lot of, you know, a full day.
A ton of games was football.
There was a Monday night game.
NBA owns Christmas Day.
Always has. Always has.
NFL owns Thanksgiving.
It was Christmas Eve, Christmas Day,
boxing day, no NHL games.
Yep.
Three days of no games, right?
There's three days.
Three days of no games.
We loved it.
All the fans.
And the boys love it too, I have to say.
They do, they do, they do.
But, you know, fans hitting us up in the DMs,
being like, fuck, you know, three days without hockey.
Here's what I am proposing,
because these spectacles are great.
I don't even want to get into the,
Winter Classic. The Winter Classic being on New Year's Day is so sick, but it's so brutal that
it's also now the day of two college football playoff games, because that will always take
more attention away from it. I don't really know how to fix that just yet, but it's because
New Year's Day is sick. It's sick that there's a game. And I think that maybe that noon slot
is the play. Like it's before those games. Yeah. We have thoughts on that, but that's not the point
of this. Keep going. The point of this is this. Here's my idea. Boxing Day.
The 26th. The 26th. Boxing Day. For those of you who are not big European football fans, soccer.
Yeah, as we call it. Boxing Day is a huge English Premier League football day. And it's awesome.
As a soccer fan, I love waking up on Boxing Day and being like, I'm watching Premier League all day long.
It's the best. There's no boxing day really here in the States.
Yeah. With the major sports. And I think, NHL, listen to your voice, maybe something to
claim. And like you said, the boys
do like that three-day break, and I'm not
proposing they lose that break.
Bump it to the 23rd, 23rd, 24th,
25th. No NHL game.
26. The guys still get Christmas Day.
Yeah, yeah. That's amazing. Dude, boxing
day? Frozen Frenzy.
Bang. 16 games.
All 32 teams. That should
start next year. And I
we said this on the hockey talk. And I was like,
dude, boxing day. Frozen Frenzy should be
every year now. NHL owns boxing day.
It's up for grabs. Yeah.
And the thing that people said immediately was it's World Juniors though.
And dude, hear me out.
I love World Juniors.
I love it.
You guys are fucking high as a kite if you think that that's getting TV attention.
I know in Canada they love it and we love it too.
But I know in Canada it's like it's a holiday almost.
But dude, I don't know, man, you look at it like right now.
The games are in Sweden.
Here on the West Coast, that's a nine hour difference.
Like if it's in Canada, you ask the World Juniors, yeah, I hear you.
But we can't bank on that.
every year. And then also, man,
it's one day. Yeah.
The World Juniors is still going on, bro. It's
January 2nd. Yep.
It's, it, you're telling me that
the World Juniors tournament can't
sacrifice one day of their TV coverage
grow up. No, agree. And in fact,
I think it would almost be better because
you go, boxing day is
NHL Day, Frozen Frenzy, and
the start of World Junior. It's hockey. Hockey.
All day. It's hockey day. It's a hockey day. Rebrand, dude.
Not Boxing Day anymore. Yeah. And then,
because like, I've got news for you, dude, the day after.
there was NHL, there's been NHL games.
So, like, all those days, there's still
attention taken away from it. I think it's a
no-brainer. I think boxing day should
become NHL Day. Frozen Frenzy, every
year, day after Christmas, 16 games,
bang. I do love the
idea that the NHL
should have a day, and I think
maybe the knee-jerk is like, well, New Year's Day because they do
Winter Classic. But you already brought up
that the college football playoffs is there, and, more importantly,
that's one game. Like, Christmas, NBA
is like a shitload of games, or maybe it's not
a shitload, but it's, like, huge,
marquee games two or three right i think NFL uh Thanksgiving three games right like I think we the
NHL could benefit from something more than just we have one game on new year's day exactly dude
boxing day great solution it's a great idea all in on it dude look at look at our our neighboring
nations and take great ideas from them yeah boxing day I'm doing that we've been doing that
since the country was born we've been legally stealing from england for years dude it's for centuries
you kidding me it's unbelievable I look at that and dude if I look at that and dude if
If I'm talking to our boys at the NHL, the higher-ups, the big daddies, Gary, listen to your buddy, Dan.
Yeah.
Boxing Day is the best.
It's so marketable.
Do you have any idea how much fun the NHL marketing team could have with Boxing Day?
I just think it would be, it's like we said, here in the States, Boxing Day means nothing.
Yep.
It is a, it's ripe for the pickin.
Bump the day, days off up, 23rd, 24th, 25th.
All of the guys get Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with their families, and then bang.
boxing day. And dude, you know what you could really do?
Is you could try to make the games, make all the games in division. So they're not traveling too far.
Like it's, it would be unbelievable.
Yep. Love it. Love it. Do it. Do it no-brainer.
Next topic. Big one.
Things are falling apart.
Uly Samsonov has been put on waivers and assigned to the AHL.
The sky is falling.
Oh, dude.
At Scotia Bank.
And you know what, really, Leif's fans, we have our differences.
But you know that we love you deep down.
I am not dancing on Graves.
Because I think Sammer is, yeah, look at it.
There's a guy right there.
I love you.
I think Sammer's awesome, too.
I love how cut and dry he is.
So I'm not celebrating this.
This sucks.
He's in a rucks.
And I hope he gets out of it.
But the delusion that the Leafs fans have had this season,
the times where we've been talking about him
and been like, dude, he's struggling.
People are like, nah, dude, Sammer's just doing his thing.
And I'm like this, wake the fuck up guys.
Like, same way, the New Jersey.
Like, wake up.
This is bad.
So, how do you feel right now?
So I think this is a nightmare situation
because you come into this season
certainly being like,
maybe he plays sick.
And he really pushes us over the hump.
But at the very least,
he will play pretty good.
or good even.
You know, like average.
Give me average goal tending.
And he...
That's all I'm asking.
Yeah, because you have a cup team, in my opinion.
Yeah.
I guess maybe Leafs fans have been saying that for a long time
and they never get out of the first round or the second round.
But you have a cup team.
You just, you hope, you came in with your goalie here for sure.
And you hoped to get improved play.
And it went here.
And Wall hasn't been, you know, you were like,
oh, I got Sammer and maybe Wall and that duo is the new Boston duo or whatever.
You know, Allmark took a huge leap that second year.
Yeah.
And you're just, you're getting neither.
Yeah.
Which obviously, as we've seen a million times, can derail an NHL season.
So I'm like, you're, this is a nightmare.
Other than, like Matthew's getting hurt.
This is a nightmare.
You, like you had said about Carolina a while ago where you're at, this is it, dude.
Like we're out of time to like hope someone gets hot.
Obviously he's been sent down now, so it's like officially dead.
But my point is like you've got to do something.
There isn't like, hey, let's just ride it out a little bit longer.
Like you, this season will slip away to a degree.
Both Carolina and Toronto are completely in the playoff mix,
even with their goalie situation, by the way.
So it's like they're okay, but just like you've got to write this ship.
No.
The Leaf's cap space is $340,000.
Yeah.
And Neander makes $6.9.
just saying
Bertuzi 5.5
if he's not staying
these are things that could
go away
I want to hit you
with some possible names though
and keep in mind
most of these
the team wouldn't give up
so I'm like
this is just like
your best chances
but it's either
do something like this
or just hope
wall gets hot
or something
so this one would
literally
never happened and I would burn
the streets down.
We'll burn Utica to the ground. We'll burn Utica
to the ground. But
Swamen's on
a one year. So move on.
Move on. Get him more. Move on. No, I'm serious. You win the cup.
Move on. Logan Thompson. Two years left.
This one's interesting.
766K
Cap-in. Wait.
Oh, yeah. Yeah. Two years
left on that. And
at least have 3.40.000. I barely.
barely have to make any moves.
Aden Hill has the best goals against in the league right now
and is your starting goalie.
And I'm like, dude, make a phone call.
Make a phone call right now.
Yeah.
Get him over there.
And like Vegas isn't going to just give him away for free, obviously.
He's been sick and they've been a great tandem this year.
Yeah.
But like, are you kidding me?
They're going with Hill, obviously.
Obviously.
Carter Hart, 3.97, that's a lot to move.
And I don't think they'll give him up now.
You mean either.
I did think they were going to.
here's an interesting one
Cam Talbot
or Phoenix
No
Like get move on
These are so dumb
What do you mean?
What do you mean?
That the kings
Are sitting on easy street right now
They're not changing anything
Because of Cam, yep
But Phoenix, you wouldn't give Phoenix
Coppola
Hell no dude
Why?
Who are they bringing up?
Like it's just
It's an interruption that they don't need
Yeah
But like
Unless they're getting someone
Who I don't think that they're
Happy
with the goal attending,
they're not going to trade Phoenix
and just be like,
and we're bringing up our guy.
Like, that is insane.
No.
But like, you wouldn't take,
you wouldn't trade Phoenix Copley away
for a great forward?
Well, I mean, that's the thing.
It's like, who do they,
what does Phoenix make?
1.5.
Yeah, like, you know,
they're not getting Bertuzi for that.
It's, it's,
what if they did?
Then we're,
then we're having a conversation.
If they're moving Phoenix
and they get,
I don't even know what the Kings need.
They're so fucking good.
I know.
I think they need a defenseman, if anything.
Yeah, yeah, fair.
Their lines are so fucking stacked.
But you need to, the Leafs are in,
give something significant up situation.
Like, the situation they're living in is like,
yo, make a massive move.
Oh, trust me, I know, and I'm going to get into this later.
But, yeah.
LB, dude, is on the Jets now, 1.7.
I thought he looks great in the playoffs last year.
Yeah, but they're another one where I'm like,
dude, what a tandem.
We know it takes tandoms now.
And it's like, I'm not giving up LB.
That Hellibuck LB is such a good tandem.
And then here's another funny.
that won't happen because it's been a great tandem, but it's been a little lucky.
Johnny Quick, dude, 800K.
No, that's interesting.
Go get Johnny quick.
Again, like, I think the Kings would be stupid to disrupt that because he's been the better
goaltender, frankly.
The Rangers.
Yeah, yeah.
What did I just say?
Yeah, the Kings.
Yeah, sorry.
Yeah.
But he's been the better wins guy, but like his numbers aren't that good.
Yeah, yeah.
But he's winning games.
He's got 800K.
I think the Rangers would never do that.
Like, I think they've got.
They've got such a good thing going.
Go get Logan, bro.
Yeah.
Dude, it is, and I'm going to get into this in more depth later,
but this is a big, big deal.
It's a big deal, dude.
And there's interesting differences, right?
Because there's a lot of teams who have had this, the canes, right?
The canes are in a weird goaltending situation,
but things are getting a little bit better for the canes.
The devils are in an interesting situation,
but like the devils suck right now.
It's insane, dude.
It's crazy.
And you look at,
And I'm like, Toronto, dude, they have a good record.
Yeah.
No, they're in third in the Atlantic right now and not far off a second.
Not that far off of first.
And I'm like, this is awful.
You guys are in such a bad spot or something needs to happen.
Talking about the Devils and Carolina, we keep talking about the Mets, so I don't want to.
But one thing that I thought was funny going into this morning,
seventh place and second place in the Mett is a difference of four points.
That is going to, and dude, we're not early in the season.
guys.
When we did like, 10 games into the season, we were like, oh, my God, you know, like,
Edmonton's out of the playoffs.
This is great.
Dude, we're about 40 games into the season now.
We're almost, you know, we're a pubic hair away from being halfway through the season.
So this is crazy to look at how tight the met is.
Like, we're living in a place.
It's like the Rangers are in, right?
The Rangers are going to win the Met.
But there is a chance that those two, three, two, three, four teams can completely flip with
just about everyone in that division except Columbus.
Yeah.
That is a mental.
That is crazy. 44, 43, 43, 40, 40, 40.
Who do you like, dude?
Pit.
I like Pitt.
I know you like Pitt.
And Pitt has woken up, dude.
Shout out to our Pitt fans.
Pitt has woken up.
Like, they were an embarrassment, but they have woken up.
But, I mean, Washington has slowed down.
The devils are a disaster.
They've been a disaster all year.
Pitt was a disaster to start, but they're getting a little bit better.
I don't know, dude.
I love Philly.
I love Philly.
I'll get more into that, too.
but there's crazy shit, dude.
We made a couple jokes about this with memes and stuff,
but I don't really think we've talked about it on the pod before we leave the Met.
I know we keep talking about the Met.
I don't want to talk about it more.
What is wrong with Ovi?
Because we're officially something's wrong.
Yeah.
He is on pace to score 15 goals, I think.
Yep.
The weird thing is,
and not to cross-sport it or stroke off Brady anymore than I already do,
but stroke off, dude.
But everybody was like, the cliff can come fast, right?
Like, Peyton Manning, hard and fast.
Fell off a cliff.
Like, literally he was like a MVP and then he threw, dude, his people forget this.
But his last year, when he won the Super Bowl, he threw nine touchdowns and 17 picks that season.
Yeah.
But you are like a, you cannot be in this league.
That team's defense literally dragged a lifeless body to a Super Bowl.
And they had the audacity to give him Super Bowl MVP.
Yeah.
And I'll go to my grave thinking this way, even though people will hate on me for it.
Did he get Super Bowl MVP in this?
No, not MVP, I don't think.
Okay, good.
But they want it.
I was going to say that.
Brady, everybody's like, Brady finally fell off.
And I'm like, no, he didn't.
He was going through a horrible divorce and still played sick anyway.
But I swear to God, if he hadn't gone through a divorce, he would have just come back next year and been good.
You know, anyway, the cliff can come fast.
And with someone like OV, though, I had always felt like, well, it won't for him.
Agreed.
He's such a beast.
He felt like Yager.
He felt like Yager.
I think he's a machine.
I think something's wrong.
Me too.
But my point is, there's a world, though.
where all my arguments for saying
it won't come fast for him
he's such a beast
is why it does come fast for him
because you're like dude
he's been a fucking wrecking ball
for 17 years
Yeah he's been using his body
like a battering ram for 20 seasons
Who did you think it wasn't gonna come faster for
Than him
Like his body has shut down
Now what is baffling to me
Is
I feel like Ovi on crutches
Could score 20
Just go stand over there and fire slap shots
You're like that's what's weird
I'm like even when he died
he should have been able to score.
Agree.
And so I'm like, I can't quite figure out what is happening.
Actually, I'll look this up later.
But sometimes you're getting bad breaks, and I'm going to touch on that in a second.
Sometimes you're getting bad breaks.
And I'm not watching enough Caps games, honestly, starts to finish to know, like,
oh, is he leaving goals on the table here?
Or is he just, like, not getting his shots off?
We had said months ago, he went two games without a shot for the first time in his career.
I mean, kind of like, dude, what's going on?
Yeah.
How are you ever having a game where you don't have a shot on that?
And they're doing okay, you know, but like, they,
they're going nowhere if he doesn't wake up.
Yeah, it felt like 25 games through the season
when they started surging a little bit.
And I was like, and Oval wake up at some point.
Like, this team might be second in the Met.
But we're halfway through, and this is just like such a bad pace.
I saw that wince right there.
Stop trying to fucking tell people your urge.
That was my grind.
But we're at this pace now where I'm like,
dude, I don't know if you're going to wake up.
So, yeah, it's, I mean, imagine if you added 20 OV goals right now
where this team's record would be.
I think you're so right
I think the cliff does come hard and fast
but it does not come this fast for this
this guy so I think something has to be wrong
his shots are just way too low
yeah like what did we looked it up
he had what like 75 points last year
like he's still a machine
I think something's wrong
I think he's dealing with a really significant injury
that we don't know about and of course
very true to Ovi he's just playing through it
but I'm like damn dude like maybe you should go get surgery
and like try to come back for playoffs or something
because this is crazy.
Yeah.
It's absolutely crazy.
I want to leave hot ice,
and I want to quickly touch on a couple of things
that we usually do towards the end,
because I want to finish this episode with some fun stuff.
Oh, okay, go.
I want to do games to watch right now.
Sure, what do you got?
Let's give our games to watch.
I got two games to watch for people for this week.
I'm going Thursday, Avs at Dallas.
Avs stars, unbelievable central matchup,
two great teams.
Guys on both teams are absolutely buzzing.
I think that's going to be a blast.
And then Saturday, we got another huge showdown.
Canucks at Devils.
Sweet. Quinn's going to want some revenge.
Yeah, he's going to get it.
Let me get Thursday, Penguins at Bruins.
That's just a game I'm personally going to watch
until the day I die or Sid dies, whatever comes first.
It does feel a little less special that it's not Burricks Sid now, though.
Yeah, but there's Marshy Sid.
They love each other.
A couple captains going against each other.
And then give me Sunday Jets at Yotes.
I just have a feeling that one's going to be spicy.
Yeah, some history there, dude.
Yep.
I just have a feeling.
And the Yotes, dude, Yotes might be making playoffs here.
I know.
It's unbelievable.
How's Tof doing?
Quick some Toth watch.
27 points in 35 games.
He has slowed down a little bit.
There was a little, like, eight games skid there for the devils where they were losing a bunch of games, and Ty was quiet.
But he's got a multi-point games, and I think he's going to get hot again here.
Yep.
And the other day, I was like, Ty's got a three-point night, and him an immediate Patrick.
I think Ty, I think through 39 games, where he's going to get hot again.
going to be up to 34 points. Okay. Yeah. Love it. He's right in the ship.
Guys, I don't know how many times I have to tell you this. Get on bet MGM right now.
Do you like money? You can get up to $1,500 in free bets if you are a first time user and
you use the promo code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S. The bet between $10 and $1,500. You go on.
You place your bet. If you win, boom, baby, take it to the bank. You got that money.
If you lose, Bet M-GM-G-M will refund that money. You cannot miss it.
opportunity, so get over to bet MGM right now.
Disclaimer, betmgm.com for terms and conditions, 21 plus to wager.
U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C. New York or Ontario.
Game one problem, call 1-800 gambler.
In Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, Nevada,
Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming.
Call 8778-Hope-N-Y or Texas, New York.
Call 1-800 next step for Arizona.
Call 1-800-3-2-7-50-50 for Massachusetts and 1-800-Betts off for Iowa.
1-800-270-1-1-1-7 for confidential in Michigan.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
All right, how do you want to finish up?
let's get into some saucy predictions love it
I want to toss some sauce here with you
it's the new year 2024 how we doing
looking at the back half of the season here
the the stage is set right we've got
our teams we've got our titans we've got our strugglers
now we're entering the phase where we can start making some predictions
about maybe some things that are going to go on the league
maybe some things that are going to happen with some teams here
and I want to hit the listeners with three predictions each
that can be as hot and triggering as we want.
Okay.
Am I going first?
Sure.
All right, I kind of want to figure out which way I want to tell these.
I was thinking that too.
Do you want me to give you my sauciest one at the end or start saucy?
No, I think I'm going to give my sauciest one at the end.
And mine are pretty saucy, honestly.
Okay, let me start actually with this one because
I don't have
the names, but this is where you'll come in, maybe.
Pittsburgh Penguins just talked about them.
They're in seventh or whatever,
but they've tied for fifth,
and they're four points out of second.
They've turned it around, like you said.
They're plus 14, like I was saying the other day,
where they're way down,
but the four teams above them are all negative.
They have 2.87 million in cap space.
Yep.
They've given up 93 goals this year, which is the fourth fewest goals in the league behind the kings, the jets and the Bruins.
So for all this talk, including by me, I think.
Jets are so dope.
I know.
Including by me of like, oh, the Penguins D sucks.
Like they have bad D.
They have bad goaltending.
They brought in Carlson to fix their D.
Yeah.
They're fucked.
I'm like, dog, they've given up 93 goals.
They're playing fucking tremendous D.
Tristan Jari's 11-11, but he's got a 9-1-6 percentage and a 24-7 goals against.
that's a fucking very solid year.
Yes, it is.
They are not having a problem
keeping the puck out of the net at all.
They have scored 107 goals,
which is 24th in the league.
Bad. Bad.
Power play. Disaster.
Disaster. Gensel, Sid,
disgusting, overpoint for game. Malkin
just behind a point of a game, and he's playing great.
But then it's Carlson and Tanger.
Yeah. Dude,
Rust has been pretty good, but he was hurt.
He's like almost PPG,
but he only played 22 games.
Yeah. Dude, Lars Eller,
Riley Smith, who does have 20,
but like I think they want a little bit more.
Oh, points.
Yeah.
He does not.
Lars Eller, Riley Smith, Drew O'Connor, Raquel on SIDS line.
Like this is not getting it done.
No.
And some of this power play issue, but some of its even-strink scoring, dude.
Like, you need, this team needs goals.
They do not need D.
They do not need goaltending.
It's there already.
Yeah.
The plus minus is there.
They just need more offensive firepower.
And they have a certain GM who is not afraid at all to make a fucking move.
Yeah.
With the season on the line.
Yeah.
So, dude, I, and maybe we can do this later as we get closer to the trade deadline, but that 2.87 million and someone is going out the fucking door in the next eight weeks for a monster, monster right wing on Sydney Crosby's life.
Okay, so I love this take.
Monster right way.
But I've got a rebuttal for you.
Yep.
I think you are living in a world where they're in the playoff hunt.
I want you to live in a world where they're not.
They are, though.
Yeah, they are.
Let's say there.
Because they're currently in seventh place.
They're four points out.
Yeah, but they're in seventh place.
Lots of games in hand here.
But let's not forget that.
I think the numbers that you've brought up, goals for, goals against, are very important.
Because you do think that the tides will turn there.
Water has to find its level.
Because they're what, point plus 14, and they're in seventh place?
It's absurd.
But let's say this bad luck, these bad breaks keep happening.
And let's say the trade deadline arrives and they are out of playoffs.
and looking at it logistically, they are like,
we are not making playoffs.
I still think this is going to happen,
but I think it's going to be
by two huge players.
Oh, oh, they're going the other way.
I'm talking Gensel, I'm talking Malkin.
I'm telling you,
I still think that's what Dubas got brought in for
to build like the Penguins of the future.
I think they were like, make this team, make a run again.
Oh, are you serious?
I think it's got to be both.
You're bringing in a young GM who has great,
great, great experience working with elite young talent.
Dude, this team is in a fucking retirement home.
It's unbelievable, dude.
Sid, Gino, Carlson, Tang, like everyone's 33, 34, and older.
And you look at some of their, dude, they're old.
That is an old team.
And Gensel's 29.
I think he's like, you know, he's going into the last year of his deal.
You kind of look at it.
Like, if I'm Gensel and we suck, like they suck so far this year, you're like, you know, he's got family and stuff.
I'm sure he's happy in Pittsburgh.
You love playing with Sid.
But, dude, I think they brought in Dubus to be like this, you know, sick, make the Carlson trade.
And we're going to make a little run here with, you know, Sid's last couple of years, whatever, whatever.
Yeah, that's definitely in the cards.
But, dude, they're not going and no look to the future.
You've got a fucking bunch of guys with walkers on this team.
You're telling me that they aren't asking Dubas to look to the future.
And if you missed the playoffs this year, dude,
you look at Gensel,
it's one of those situations where you go like this,
hey, are you going to stay here, dude?
Like, Gensel needs to pull him to Chuck.
Yep.
If he's not staying, you have to trade him, dude.
And I would trade him and Malkin to contenders
for fucking nothing but future.
And Sid, dude.
Give me picks and give me few.
I don't want a player back.
Give me picks.
Trade Sid to the Bruins right now.
I would love that.
But, you know, he's not moving.
I don't think Tanger's moving.
Gino to me feel like they almost didn't bring him back and said how to fit
But now it's like well you we brought him back dude and we brought in Carlson and we missed the fucking playoffs
I do I will hear you that maybe because I don't believe I actually don't believe that they were like
Dudeo the future I think dubus came in and he was like I'm getting this team back to the promise
Yeah yeah
Like you want to win now I possibly believe they were like do your thing bro bring Gino back
Carlson if we suck at the deadline though
Then you have to abort I believe I'm willing to live in that world where they told him that
So he's like okay I tried now it's an aborting
thing, but I am, I just, I think they're too close.
I think they're too close and he's going to go all of them.
Dude, Dubus is cooking.
Chris, they're too close right now, but let's talk in fucking 15 games.
15 games they're going to be solidly in.
Yeah, so it won't even matter.
Maybe, but maybe not.
And if not, you need to eat a living crow.
Maybe you're like, this is what happens.
And this is what we talked about, man.
They missed the playoffs last year.
And then they, what did they do?
They got Eric Carlson and Riley Smith.
And they got Eric Carlson.
I love Riley Smith.
But like, don't act.
Even Riley Smith would tell you, like, I'm not a fucking blue chip piece that's going to win you a Stanley Cup.
Except for he did last year.
Shut up, dude.
My point is this.
Like we said, bringing in Carlson wasn't the, oh, we're back, baby.
And anyone who thought that it's a fucking moron.
So, yeah, I mean, another chip, incoming.
Sure, they wanted to be like this.
We're making a run here.
But, dude, I don't know, man.
Even if they make a big swing and, you know, that 2.7 million is not getting you a starting right wing.
so you're moving a lot.
And something, yeah.
Yeah, but, like, what do you move?
Like, and something, like, you're losing a piece to gain a piece.
It's another one of those things.
Like, are you getting that much better?
I don't know.
I'll look up their contracts.
Give me yours.
My first juicy, saucy prediction.
The Los Angeles Kings are going to the Stanley Cup.
Okay.
I said last episode.
Winning?
Going to the Stanley Cup.
And losing.
I don't know.
I said last episode.
I thought that Vegas was the actual.
only wagon in the league. Everyone else is on
fraud watch. And again, people, fraud watch doesn't
mean bad. It means that when people are calling you a wagon
Stanley Cup team, I can put you on
fraud watch and you're still an elite team.
I just don't know that you are a Stanley Cup wagon.
I think
Vegas has fallen down into
everyone's on fraud watch.
They're doing what they did last year. We posted
today, unconvincing wagons.
They're doing what they did last year. And last year wasn't,
I felt was more due to injury than it is this year.
Like, I'm not giving them the injury excuse this year.
but last year around this time I was like oh
Vegas isn't that good actually
Yeah but they are
Yeah so I think the Kings
Had kind of a weird start in the first 10 games
With their you know they couldn't win at home
But they were still dope yep
And they've just been dope since
They've lost like a couple games here in the last eight or whatever
But dude
I don't think Talbo's slowing down
I think Phoenix is getting better every day
I think they have guys
You know Trevor Moore and Quentin Byfield
The two marque ones of just
just having career years and not showing any signs of slowing down either.
I think this Los Angeles Kings team has the depth to do it.
Are you afraid of Colorado at all?
Absolutely.
Yep.
Yeah, good.
You should be.
And Nate dog's out of control.
Yep.
By the way, Panarin has really slowed down.
He's still amazing.
He's 50 points.
But the heart race is officially on and it's Cooch and Nate.
Yep.
one thing I think is interesting about this call is
sometimes I wonder like the devil's last year we felt like
oh they
I mean some of us called them over the rags in seven some of us did that
but we were like I don't know that this devil's team is ready to make a cup run
because they're new to this playoff thing they're so young whatever
the Leafs last year you kind of felt like
God if they could just get out of the first round
they might be off and running yeah and they kind of weren't
and they ran into a buzz stop but they just weren't
I've always been curious about the kings, this kind of this king's re-core, it's like, God, if they could just get past Edmonton, what could they have done?
And I don't know, right?
Like half of me is like, if they just get by the boogeyman, dude, they go right to the fucking final.
But the other part of me is like, they still are so new to the playoff run thing that they got by Edmonton and it'll be like a blow their load leaf situation.
And then they're like, ah, we lost in the next round.
Sorry, we just, we had to get through that one time.
And then we'll be good next year.
You know, and so I can't tell this year.
I know, but that's, and this is kind of easy for me to say because Edmonton's been struggling,
but even with Edmonton doing so much better and Connor being a mutant again,
I think the king's tallywack Edmonton.
If they see each other in the first round, I think they absolutely body them.
And by the way, they still have guys like Copatar in that locker room that are like,
I've been to two cups.
And he's having a monster year.
You know, like the PLD start has maybe been a little slower than people want,
but you know the second playoff starts.
I think he's going to pop off.
Awesome.
Yep.
Phil Dono, unbelievable third line center, all these guys.
You don't need to name them.
Like, Kempie.
Now I'm naming.
Name them all.
Like Kempi, Fiala, Q, all of these guys.
Like, they're so strong.
It's just.
I like the call.
I love to see the bed MGM odds right now of who's the favorite to come out of the West.
But I love the call.
Yeah.
And I would be fired up.
Holy shit.
How fun would that be.
It's going to be a blast.
It's going to be a blast.
Let me do my next one here because this is a good timing.
I'm calling.
And I've kind of been saying this for a long time.
And I never wish this upon anybody, but it's just been coming to fruition.
I'm calling that the Oilers finish in the top three in the Pacific.
And here's what's fucking crazy, dude.
I don't know who.
I hate this.
I don't know who will fall out.
Because I look at it and I'm like, ooh, Vegas.
Because, dude, if you look, right now, it's Canucks, 36 games, 49 points.
King, sorry, Knights, 38 games, 49 points.
33.
Kings 33, 45.
Oilers, 34, 37.
So the Knights have the highest at 38 games.
Let's give everyone, help me do this in my head real quick.
Let's give everyone 38 games and say they all win their games in hand.
Canucks would be 38 games, 53.
Okay.
Knights, 38, 49.
Okay.
Kings, it's five games, so 47, 49.
Yeah, so they'd have 55.
So they'd be in first.
55, 53, 49.
And then Oilers, four more games.
So eight more points.
So they'd be at...
They'd still be in fourth.
They'd still be in fourth.
They'd be at 45.
So they'd be four points behind the knights for third.
So they're four points back.
And I know you're going to win your games in hand,
but they're four points back.
People look at this and they're like,
oh, they're kind of way behind everybody.
I'm like, not really actually.
Yeah, they're not way behind.
So in my mind, I'm like, oh, the knights will fall out.
But I'm actually like, wait, the knights are the only good team.
They're not falling out.
And I'm like, well, the kings are a wag.
And they're not falling out.
But I'm like, well, if the goaltending slips up,
I'm like, oh no.
And the Canucks, I think are real, dude.
They're very real.
I don't know who falls out.
And maybe, well, no, I'm sticking my prediction.
But I really do think the Oilers are going to be, are going to get third.
They're just going to do what they did.
They're going to get third.
Dude, I said I hate this call.
Not because I don't disagree with it.
It's because I don't want it.
And you know what's funny, dude, is I, I'm blocking the hypocrite sticker that's about
to be slapped on my forehead because I kind of got loud at some of the people,
some of the listeners in the DMs being like,
is it bad that I love that Connor
McDavid is miserable and struggling right now?
And I was like, yes, that is bad.
I don't care if you're a fucking Flames fan.
Hating on the best player in the league is so dumb.
Enjoy excellence, dude.
You are witnessing the most insane thing we've ever seen.
To be in 2024 and watch a guy
do what he's doing in the NHL, that is a blast.
Do not wish failure upon Connor McDavid.
But you know what I will say?
I'm sick and tired of this.
Of the oil of shit.
Yeah.
I'm sick and tired of the show.
this Oilers team.
Yep.
Like,
I'm,
I'm so over your bullshit.
I'm so over your boo-hoo,
poo-poo fest of like,
oh,
we're so,
it's so brutal playing in this mark.
Shut the fuck up,
dude.
Like,
you're up in Western Canada.
Like,
what's your problem?
Yep.
I know it's tough to play
with,
with the media there,
but grow up,
dude.
Just grow the fuck up.
Like,
look at the jets.
They went through some struggles
and they're having a fucking blast.
I'm having a blast.
Look at the Leafs,
too.
Like, they're miserable every year,
but they,
you know,
you just battle through.
Like, stop whining.
You have two of the best players on earth.
And if they just continue to, like, you know, for example, if they come up and finish top three and they bump someone out of the playoffs and then they lose in the first or second round, I'm like, go fuck yourself.
Yeah.
Like, I'm so sick of you.
Like, I want them to blow it up or do something different, make a huge change.
Or win the cup.
Or win the cup.
Yep.
Enough of this.
Enough of this middling nonsense.
So, yeah.
All I'll add is Stuart Skinner, who we love to shit on.
last year, first full season, really, 9-1-3-save percentage, 2-75 goals against,
and that was just solid.
You know, like, I don't think he stepped up, a little bit of a Tuka-Rask situation, you know,
but very solid.
And he was bad to start this year.
Back up to 8-9-2-save percentage, 286 goals against.
Still bad.
But, yeah, but he's on the way up.
It's been much improved.
He went on, personally, he went on a seven-game win streak,
lost two, now on a three-game win streak.
The Oilers themselves won eight and a...
row and are currently on a five game heater.
They're on a five in a row right now?
Yeah, another one.
Like, it is happening.
So, I'm so sick of that team.
My next one.
Yep.
I think the Philadelphia Flyers make it to the second round of the playoffs.
Not only are they making playoffs.
I thought you were just going to say make playoffs.
I think they make it to the second round.
I feel like this team is, we just called Vancouver Real.
They're the real deal.
Yeah.
I'm not saying Philly's the real deal, but I think they're
scrappiness is real.
I think that they are,
and let's talk about torts,
they have bought into torts.
I think torts has also shown
so many signs of improvement of the way he deals with young players,
the way he is adjusted to this new league.
He seems much happier.
As silly as that sounds,
obviously they're doing well,
but I've just loved seeing some of his interviews.
He's not as snarky, he's more,
but he's still willing to give it to people.
Oh my God, yes.
Brink has been so good.
And the other day he was like,
his defensive game sucks.
Yeah.
And just the way he said it, he's like he's such a good player.
And it was just, he's mixing now, like the torts motherfucker.
Yeah.
With really positive energy.
I think the guys are responding to it.
I think the city's embracing it.
I think this team, like I said, talking about torts,
feels like the blue jackets that swept the lightning in 2019.
I see them making playoffs and giving someone an absolute buzzsaw first round.
Also, torts.
See what you did there.
That's what I'm saying.
I think they're going to give someone a buzz soft first round matchup, not sweep, but I think they're going to get through because I think, dude, they've got guys that are coming in. I think Cutter is going to come in. Hopefully wins a fucking Natty with BC.
And a real junior goal. Actually, I don't know if I can make that claim anymore because I love Will so much. I don't know if I'm rooting for BC.
No, they're all in the BC. I didn't mean Will. I love Celebrini so much.
Yeah, well, you've always been a B-U bitch, too.
I have been a B-U bitch.
But I love Willie and I love Cudder, so I think it's 2-1.
Okay, never mind, I'm back in a Bucan.
Yeah, and we want the gold.
We want them to get World Junior Gold and an Addy and...
Yeah, I'm back in.
All right, Will, Cutter, I love you.
Sorry, sorry, celebrating.
I want Cudder to come in, join the playoff run.
I want Mitchcoff, dude.
I don't know how they'll figure it out, but I want Mitchcoff to join.
And I just think they're going to give someone a rough,
rough and tumble first round win,
probably big bounce in the second round, but
what an emphatic
Philadelphia Flyer hockey is back.
Dude, and what I was going to say, bro,
is if they do hold on, like, let's say,
I was right about to be like, well, yeah,
when they did the lightning upset,
who had like the win record,
the B's win record, or most points or something, you know,
like the thing the Bs just broke.
I was like, yeah, they were an eight, though,
going against the one, and with the new format, it's not going to be that.
But, and I know that's crazy, but if it held right now,
even as a three, like they're not a wildcar team,
they're a three in their division.
That means they're catching the canes.
And that would be a massive.
Like if the canes losing the first round to the fucking flyers.
And it feels possible.
Dude, and no joke, not to completely pivot this conversation,
but if that happened,
we're living in a ridiculous hypothetical.
That'll go right now.
But if that happened, I'm asking Rod the Bodd questions.
Definitely.
Where I'm like, dude, did you just lose in the first round to the flyers?
And they're like, yeah.
I swear we can win in the playoffs, though.
It would be sick.
It'd be sick.
Philly needs it.
The Eagles suck all of a sudden.
The Phillies lost.
Fliers are back.
Hit me with your socks.
Here's my last one.
Dude, I was checking shots on goal this year
because I was just curious.
Who did you think leads the league in shots?
Probably Pasta Matthews or
not Connor anymore.
Besser?
Pasta.
Pasta, yeah.
Great guess.
He's the most shots in the league with 176.
He has 22 goals.
So he's at a 20-10.
12.5 shooting percentage.
Kutrov next most in the league.
168, 26 goals, so 15.5
percentage. Some guys are a little lower.
Ikes is just over 10% shooting percentage.
Nate is just over 11.7% shooting percentage.
These are guys with a ton of shots.
Matthews has a 20.3 shooting percentage
this year. Yeah, dude, he's a weapon. He's going to score 70.
Which is so dumb.
He's going to score 70 and they're going to miss the playoffs.
Dude, Brock Besser, 100 shots this year, 24 goals, 24%.
And then this is crazy.
Sam Reiner, 91 shots, 23 goals, 25.3% shooting percentage, which is moronic.
Shoot four times a game, you get a goal.
That is so crazy.
But that's just to give you, and the listeners, kind of the scope here, right?
Like, pasta is 12%, Matthew's leaving the league in goals, 20%,
like that's kind of the range, okay?
This person, Dan, has 126 shots this year.
So, like, Besser has 100 shots, right?
Sam Reiner has 91 shots.
Pasta has 176.
This person has 126 shots this year.
Yep.
And has five goals.
And it's not Oveskin.
Who do you think it is?
It's Matthew Kachuk.
Yes, dude.
Fucking 4% shooting percentage this year.
From a elite, elite, elite goal score.
And it's not, I don't have OV shots in front of me,
but it's not an OVie situation where I'm like, well, he's not shooting.
He's not getting the puck.
This is bad bounces.
This is bad luck.
This man should never, in any fucking multiverse, have 126 shots and five fucking goals.
Yeah.
Okay?
It's just not finding the back of the net for him.
And if I know anything about this kid, it will very soon.
So here's my call, and this is fucking unhinged.
But we've played, he's played 36 games.
Hey, go nuts.
He's played 36 games, so that means he has 46 games left.
Okay?
46 games left in the year.
He's got five goals.
goals, he will finish the year with 35 goals.
35?
He's going to score 30 goals in the next 46 games.
Wow.
No.
I could see him getting 30 this year, though.
He's going to get 35.
Like a news story, he's going to get 35.
4% shooting percentage, Dan.
Yeah, that's so bad.
That's going to come up to fucking, like, let's see.
Hold on.
Let me do this math real quick.
It's just not finding the net, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
Yeah.
He's going to take...
I think his recovery from that...
sternum injury is much more severe than we all thought.
Agree.
I think he's going to wake up too.
I also think he's saving the juice, dude.
I think he knows what he can do in playoffs,
and I think he sees how good they are.
And he's like, dude, just keep doing my game.
He plays such a good two-way game.
He's still on the stat sheet.
He's getting assists, but I think he's saving the juice,
and in playoffs he's just going to explode.
He's on pace to take another 214 shots this year,
and let's say he should.
shooting percentage of the rest of the year is
8. No, dude.
Like, pasta's 12, Matthews is 20, like
18? 18? That's so
high, dude. No, that's like in the range.
But he's currently at 4. But I'm saying he's going to
be good the rest of the way. All right, let's call it 12.
Okay. 18.
You fucking clown.
2.14.
That's 25.6 goals.
Yeah, that's what I think he's going to hit. I'm a genius.
I think he's going to hit 30.
No, it's not low, but like.
But dude, going from 40.
18 is because he's going to average
Candyland. But that means he'll finish the year at like
13, which is where he should be finishing the year.
Like it should find its balance. I know, but
it's just, it feels crazy to me to think that you're
going to make a jump half with, again, this isn't
a 20-game sample size. It's a 35
game sample size. He's going to shoot, he's going to
score 35 goals this year.
That would be sick. I think he's going to get 30.
35. I heard you.
I think he's going to get 30.
That's a really fun one.
Yep. I can't wait.
All right, here's my sauciest.
think that William Nealander will slash should be traded at the deadline for Swayman.
It would be a good trade for that.
Good trade for everyone.
Nope, for them.
I mean, that would be miserable.
It would not be good.
That would be a horrible trade for Boston.
Horrible.
So dumb.
Me?
No, no.
The Bruins ever traded.
Give him the bag.
Yeah, he's going to get the bat, as he should.
Toronto Maple Leafs have projected 35 mil.
in Capspace next summer.
People forget that.
Yeah, that's crazy.
Everyone goes like this.
They can't afford them.
They can't afford them.
We do that sometimes.
What?
We do that sometimes.
Yeah.
They can't afford them.
But you have to look at it logically.
Just killing your team.
UFA's next summer.
So again, 35 million caps space.
UFA's next summer as projected for the Maple Leafs.
William Nealander, Tyler Bertuzi,
Max Domi,
Robertson is RFA,
Gregor is RFA,
McMahon is UFA,
bottom guys
Yep
T.J. Brody
Lilligrin RFA
Girodano, UFA
Benoit RFA
Goaltenders
Martin Jones
UFA
Insane
Point being
And then there's some people
Then the year after that right
There's, I think it's
Toadrags and fucking Marner
The year after that
It is Marner
Yeah
I think Morgan Riley's in there too
Sammer
UFC
Yeah
I also think there might be some IRs.
Like, I think, yeah, Klingberg, Murray, Muzin comes out the books.
That's great.
My point is, there are a lot of players that need to be.
Yeah, yeah.
There are a lot of player slots that need to be filled.
So you have 35 mil, yes.
Right.
But after you just gave Matthews, next year, Matthews is making 13.
Moron money.
Yep.
Martin's making over 10.
Yep.
Toadrag's making over 10.
Are you about to pay 12 plus, which is what he deserves, of that money, to William Nealander, when you have this many roster spots to fill?
And dude, even if he took 10, like, even if he was like, dude, just give me 10.
Yeah, I still think you're jammed.
So what William Nealander deserves and should ask for it, and I'm sorry, guys,
we'll ask for.
Because, like we talked about with Matthews,
you guys jumped down our throats,
semi-deservedly so, but not really,
when we were like, fucking Austin, dude,
taken 13, like, that is not team.
And people are like, it is team friendly?
And I was like, is it?
If Matthews is taken 13,
why the fuck would William Nealander
take a team-friendly deal?
Yeah, right.
Why on earth would he go,
oh yeah, there's my assistant captain,
top center, one of the best players in the league?
He took 13-mill on this team when
Marner's over 10
Tojadrages is over 10
Why on earth
When he's been making 6.5
What he's making?
Making right now, I think
Why on earth would he do that?
So, I don't think
He makes 6.9
I don't think
There's any planet
where he should even consider
taking team friendly
As we talked about earlier
The Toronto Maple Leafs
are a disaster right now
Your goaltending situation is so bad
And here's the thing, dude,
Wall is a good
goaltender
Sammer is a good goaltender
is going through a rough patch
but I just don't see
that situation getting
so much better
that you guys feel good
look at the Oilers last year
Skinner was a all-star
and we all said
I don't think Skinner's that good
and then they got to the playoffs
and that became very true
you look at a lot of these teams
where the goalies are like
I don't really know about the goalies
Florida is an interesting example where you were like,
yeah, Knight is having a tough stretch,
but Brofsky is elite.
He's just been weird recently.
And then last year, he decided to go like this.
I'm elating.
I'm a sick, yeah.
So it's not that crazy.
I think Vegas is the one big surprise
because Aiden Hill came out of nowhere.
But Aiden Hill this year has proved, as you said,
he is good, dude.
It's not a fluke that they went to the cup with Aden Hill.
They went to the cup with Aden Hill
because Aden Hill is one of the best goalies in the league.
I don't think with the performances
we've seen from Wall and Sammer this season,
they're going to wake up in the second half of the season go,
hey guys, those first 35 games, they were a fluke.
Yeah.
So, if you are a Maple Leafs fan or Maple Leafs front office member
and you go, with this team as currently crafted,
we're going to get into the playoffs and things are going to be different.
Yeah.
You are an idiot.
And I think you have to look at the situation.
Again, like we always talk about with some of these guys,
William Nealander, are you going to come back to this team and at what number?
It's impossible to have those conversations during the season.
Yep.
I know that.
So before you guys yell at me, I know that.
And that's also, for some of the listeners,
it is so hard to have these conversations mid-season.
I don't think that they not can afford him,
should afford him because of how many bodies that they need to fill
and because of the number that he's going to demand.
I don't think it makes sense for their roster.
So you should move him at the deadline for a deadline for a number.
significant goalie and significant picks, and I'm looking straight at the Anaheim Ducks.
Oh, okay.
If Gibber still wants out, what does Gibber make?
Good one.
Let me look that up.
Figure that out.
I was looking up something else.
Nealander making 6.9, if you can trade him to the Anaheim Ducks for Gibson and a first-round
pick, that is a very interesting trade.
Gibson 6-4.
Look at that.
for the next, this year, next year, next year, and the next year.
Look at that.
You trade William Nealander right now,
and you solve your goaltending problems like that for the next three years.
So this was going to be my question to you.
I'm sorry.
My question was going to be,
are, because if you're the Leafs,
are you like, we can win the cup without Nealander's production this year
if we just get a,
good goalie, not like a stopgap goalie who I think maybe could get hot, like some of those
guys I was listening before. Yeah. You know, like, oh, like the Kings would never part with Talbot,
but like, oh, if we bring in Cam Talbot, like, could we? I mean like a guy, a goalie. Are you, if
you're the least, you're like, yes, yeah, we have enough. We can win. Is that how you feel?
Dude, yes. Like, I think so, too. And to me, like I said, it's not even this year.
I'm not even thinking about it this year. But if I am tree living, I go, I'm going for Giver.
Yeah.
That, the math works out.
Easy, one for one.
But you get more, I think.
No, that's a good one.
If Gibson is going to the Anaheim front office, if he is looking at Verbeek and is going,
I don't want to be here anymore.
Right.
Which I think would be crazy because they have such great.
Well, that's what's true.
He demanded a trade this summer, so you just have a conversation with him.
Yep.
And if Gibson goes, I want out.
I am going, Nealander, we can't afford you.
Look at the problems that this team has had in past years.
You have 35 mil next year, and I've got news for you, Chris.
If you, that 35 accounts for Willie 6.9.
Yep.
So let's call it, what did you just say, 6.4 for giver or 6.5?
6.4.
6.4.
So take away that 6.4, that 35 turns into roughly 28 and a half or whatever.
You have 28 million, and you have just fixed your goalie situation for three years.
You have 28 million now to fix that top line winger roll.
What you can do.
You have all that money.
Well,
and you've got to allot some of that
for the big guys
coming up next year and shit.
For sure.
But I understand your point.
Yeah.
But again, dude,
the next year,
let's talk about Marner's,
Tavares isn't coming back.
Yep.
So Tavares is money that goes off.
He's gone.
So you have that money.
Because next, you know,
the year after,
like you're saying,
the Marner's a shitload of money.
The Marner, what is it?
106 or 11 or something?
That comes off the books.
I don't think Marner's going to get
that much more than that.
No, no.
But he's going to get that.
again.
Yeah.
Give me 12.
So I'm saying like that just goes right back on.
Yeah.
So, dude, I think it's like, what has your problem been for the last 10 fucking years?
You don't have a goalie.
Yep.
And if you could trade Nealander and get your solid blue chip goalie for the next three years
and then also probably picks and prospects, dude, how do you not consider that?
No, dude.
The bigger thing is Nealander.
Would Nealander do it?
But here's what I think with Nealander, if I'm William Nealander, if I'm William Nealander,
and they go like this, dude, you're not coming back, we're trading you.
Nealander's not going to fucking sign with the Ducks.
It's like when Taylor Hall got traded to the Yotes.
Nealander will go to the Ducks, miss fucking playoffs, have a fun summer,
and get a fucking bag in Chicago.
Yep.
Dude, which is exactly where I think he's going.
Yeah.
I mean, dude, I love this because I couldn't agree more that the Leafs have enough to win without him,
even though I think Willie is an absolute stud and deserves everything he's going to get.
And it would kill me if I was a big Leaf fan to be like,
oh, we're going to fucking lose Neelander.
But I'm like, this is the price of doing business, dude.
Like sometimes you have to give up huge, huge talent to fill a major hole.
And it's never more prevalent than what it is this year.
And I was looking at it, the one I was going to pitch you and just live in this hypothetical
if they fell out of contention.
Because they're not out of contention right now.
They're very in contention.
But if they fell out of contention, I would do the same thing to the predators.
I'd call it Altsaros because he's making six.
I have it, but he's making six something.
And I'm like, he only has one year left, but he's 29.
Like, he's obviously still sick, but it's not like...
So, so the, I really like that.
Can you tell me how Gibber is?
I think he's like 29 or 30 or something.
Yes, I will tell you.
He's 29 to 31.
He's in that range, I believe.
But the thing with Soros is,
I think with the way the Preds are playing,
they're in playoffs this year and next year.
Gibber's 30 this year.
Yeah, he's 30, right?
So the Ducks, I don't really know that I'm putting...
Look at how brutal the Pacific is.
I'm not sure I'm putting the...
ducks in the playoffs next year.
Whereas the Preds trading Soros, I'm like,
you're in the playoffs already, dude.
Why would you? No, no, they'd have to fall out 100%.
Yeah. But even if they did slip out, I'm kind of like,
you're making it next year. I would feel
confident that you are. With some offseason
moves, like, I'd feel confident. Whereas
Anaheim, I'm like, I'm not really confident.
By the time Anaheim and these young kids
are ready to win a cup, Gibson's going to be 34.
Yeah. I like that take.
And I like, dude, Gibber's a great call. I like
that much more. The only thought
on Soros thing, though, is like, he's actually only five.
hit, which is crazy.
Yeah.
But my point is,
he's up,
like, the Gibber control
is a pro to your argument
because you're like,
you have,
you have your problem solved.
Yeah.
Whereas now, if Soros comes into Toronto,
I'm like, you only have them
for one more year,
then you've got to figure this out.
But the perk of that,
or the pro of that from my argument,
is if the Preds are going to lose him anyway.
Like, if they're like,
can we even keep him?
And if they can,
then fuck yeah,
but if they can,
I'm like, dude,
fucking bringing a Nylander right now
and try to figure out the goal of situation.
It would be a blockbuster trade.
But I think they need to do it.
I'm telling you, I think they need to do it.
And I think it is, it's like, it's a no hard feeling situation.
But yeah, I mean, you look at the way you've spent your money.
I just don't think it makes sense to give another guy when you've had no success over the last four years with these guys.
I don't think it makes sense to give another guy $12 million.
Just missing windows to just hope someone gets hot.
And your D and your goaltending.
Your D and your goaltending.
That has been the issue.
You can solve it right now.
Yep.
Those are our saucy predict.
That's our episode, our first episode of 2024.
Love to see it.
Happy New Year.
Huge shout out to Third Wheel Podcast Studios for hooking us up with this episode.
Huge shout out to Seattle for putting on an unbelievable winner classic and showing
us an amazing time over these past few days.
Spunk was very high this weekend.
We will see you guys next week with some awesome new guests.
We're going to keep things rolling in 2024.
We've got a lot of unreal stuff bubbling for this season that you're going to see and hear about
very, very soon.
And we can't wait.
And until then, as always.
date hard.
