Empty Netters Podcast - 74. Red Wings are THIRSTY for Playoffs w/ Lucas Raymond & John Scott
Episode Date: February 14, 2024Former All Star MVP, John Scott, and Detroit Red Wings star, Lucas Raymond join the pod! John gets into how enforcers are a dying breed, and explains why the Oilers are a serious Cup contender. Lucas ...Raymond has an amazing Bromance with Mo Seider, and the playoff buzz is VERY real in Detroit. The boys talk the Morgan Rielly situation as well as light their mouthes on fire with hot sauce! NEW EPISODES EVERY WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (2:18) - No Buckie Warm up (2:35) - New Empty Net King (8:23) - Rielly’s Crosscheck to Greig’s head (21:05) - Hot Ice (21:23) - West is packed, East is wide open (30:24) - John Scott Interview (31:40) - 2016 All Star game MVP story (37:07) - Fighting in hockey (49:20) - Bruins fan growing up (53:04) - Scoring in the NHL today (58:49) - Monahan/Lindholm trade and who’s next (1:02:21) - East playoff picture (1:10:57) - Lucas Raymond Interview (1:11:37) - All Star break in Mexico (1:13:58) - How important the break is for players (1:16:51) - U18s gold medal game in 2019 (1:26:36) - Global series in Sweden (1:32:37) - Getting drafted by the Red Wings (1:36:06) - Being BFF with Mo Seider (1:45:27) - Playing for a historic franchise (1:47:50) - Team Chemistry and depth (1:52:54) - Pass, shoot, score (2:07:51) - Arm Chair GM (2:12:35) - Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
This might be the first time we've done one where the two of us actually that's not true.
That's not true.
We did one like this.
I was home and there were like mom's reindeer on the mantle in the background.
That's a nice background.
Yeah.
That's a nice background.
Well, we got CP in Boston.
How's it going over there?
Dude, it's going great right now.
I feel like the lucky run of weather that we were having, the three-offs in Toronto and Detroit,
has continued today.
It's a beautiful day out in Boston.
However, tomorrow is supposed to be the greatest snowstorm that the Northeast has ever seen.
Like, there's, like, national alerts about how much snow is coming tomorrow.
That's sick, though, dude.
Like, snow is the best.
Like, I feel like we haven't got any snow.
So you're finally going to get the snow.
That's money.
Yeah, I'm pretty excited about it.
I'm hoping it doesn't go through, hope it doesn't mess my flight.
lights up on Thursday. That's it.
Yeah, true.
What's your, uh, what's your go-to winter activity?
Uh, I play hockey and I fornicate because those are the two most fun things to do in cold weather.
That's one of the quickest draw responses I've ever heard. And I'm so fucking impressed and proud of you.
Wow. Well, darned. God, I'd wait my whole life for that.
Holy shit. That was fucking awesome. Well, sir, I don't know how we're going to top.
Let's just wrap it up. Let's just wrap it up. Yeah. That's a great up.
We've got a great episode coming for you today.
We've got Lucas Raymond of the Detroit Red Wings joining the podcast as well as former All-Star MVP John Scott on the episode.
Two complete beauties.
Lucas such a stud.
John, what a homie.
So funny, so cool.
If you're not following John on Twitter, Instagram, listening to his podcast, he's such a ledge.
So funny.
So quick off the draw.
Maybe not as quick as you with that job.
I was right about to say that, though, dude.
He's a witty, he's a witty MFer, man.
Yeah, he's a great hand.
Great God of Josh.
He sure is.
So we're going to jump into some of the goods here because we want to get you guys right to those
interviews.
Let's start off with our no bucky warm up.
I'm going to go with my guy.
I mean, listen, you're listening to the Empty Netters podcast.
Big empty netters week for us, actually.
Yes, that's actually so true.
We've got a couple of empty net things to talk about.
But first of all, we've got a new empty net king, Alex,
edge can do. Fifty-seven empty-neck goals breaks Wayne Gretzky's record. More importantly, Ovi's on a five-game
goal streak, and he's got 14 points in 13 games in the 2024 calendar. The haters of Ovi
had been real quiet in 2024. That's all I got to say. Dude, and I wouldn't account myself
among the haters, but I happily admit, and this happened with Chelyos in Nashville when he said,
he was like, I don't think Ovi breaks it.
I definitely got caught up in the cliff hype.
Like I was like, oh man, wow, I do not see this coming.
I don't hate Ovi.
I don't wish any ill will towards him, but it's over.
Like he, something has happened.
He's falling off a cliff.
This is fucking crazy.
I'm sad it happened, but that's the reality.
And yeah, now he's on a bit of a rip.
And I'm like, well, the news of his demise was premature.
I just can't believe it, man.
It's, you know, we talk about all the time.
When a new threat comes into a league and especially is playing for a team that plays against your favorite team, I understand hating greatness.
I understand hating greatness when let's stay relevant.
If you're not a fan of the Kansas City Chiefs and Pat Mahomes comes in and is a weapon, you're going to hate him right now.
But it's like what we saw with Brady at the end of his career.
I think it's definitely what we're seeing now with Crosby.
when one of your adversaries who is great gets older,
I feel like you've got no choice but just to respect them,
to love them.
LeBron,
another one is like,
you can hate someone all you want,
but if they are great and if they answer the bell
of what was expected of them and surpass it,
in their older days,
you're kind of like,
how can I hate this dude?
Like, this is fucking incredible.
I feel like everyone's doing that with Crosby,
but for whatever reason,
this year, so many people have been like,
fuck Ovi dude.
He's such.
He's a one-trick pony.
He can only score goals, blah, blah, blah.
We talked about it a few episodes.
Like, you're an idiot if you think that, first of all.
Second of all, what's not to like about Ovi?
He's a generational goal score, probably the best goal score we've ever seen.
He's so funny.
He's so cool.
And he's just been entertaining to watch his entire career.
So people dancing on the grave of his slow start at the beginning of this season was so odd to me.
The premature grave.
And not to tease another epiop we have coming up soon.
a guest we had on talked so flatteringly about OV and how he helped mentor him and what he meant to him as a player.
So you hear stories like that and it's even more insane than anyone's ever rooting against the guy.
So to see him pop a few here was nice.
And dude, I throwback to Great One Fridays.
I can't remember the stat exactly.
We'll have to dig this up.
But there was a cool Gretzky stat we put in that was like, you know, OV's got the most powerplay goals, the most empty net goals.
And the point of the stat was to highlight how lit Gretzky was, five.
on five. Yeah. Like, you know, oh, it's, it is awesome that, oh, he's going to catch him, but like,
Gretzky five on five is a fucking mutant. Um, but, uh, it, it is funny to, you know, everyone
likes to chirp when they're like, oh, of course he has the most empty netters. And I'm like, yeah,
it's not a chirp, dude, no shit. The guy gets the puck in the net. I don't give a fuck who's
standing in there. He's putting it in. So I'm glad he's got this title too.
Hondo P, dude. And, and yeah, I mean, what's funny to me is, even with his slow start this year,
people thinking the cliff had come.
I just don't get, if you don't think that OVie is going to Yager himself until he's like
44, you're not so.
Because OV's what?
He's a first liner.
He's a first line left wing without a one C by the way.
People keep just forgetting that.
And he's having a tough year, but he's still like leading the caps and points.
If not, he's top three.
So I've loved how people just think the cliff is here.
Dude, you know, he might leave the caps at some point and just sign as a third line left-wing P-P specialist.
He has too much class to do that, Dan.
He would never leave the caps.
How could he possibly do something like?
It's absurd, dude.
But I'm like, that guy could score 20 until he's 44 if you just put him on the fucking avalanche and be like this.
Yeah, just play power play in third line, dude.
So to that point, he's at 13 goals, 48 games played so far this year.
Do you think you can get to salvage a 30-goal season?
No.
No?
But I think he can get 25.
Yeah.
And like if he has a 25-goal season, I'm like, that's fine.
That's a fine season.
And so right now he's 59 back of the record.
How many assists does he have?
This season?
Yeah.
23.
You know what's actually the first time in a while he's had more assist than goals.
But you know what's real funny?
You know who else he has more assists than?
Austin Matthews.
Pretty funny.
Thinking about all those people flipping out.
about that Caprio's clip.
It's true.
Alex Evetchkin,
who you've all called
a fucking bum loser this year,
has more assist than Austin Matthews.
I mean,
he'll be,
he'll be like close to 40 away
going into next year.
Yeah.
So to your point,
Dan,
even if he's like,
even if this is the cliff,
he can't get 20 for two more years.
Yeah.
Yeah, like, of course he can.
And dude,
it would not surprise me
in the slightest if he just popped
the 40 goal season next year.
Yeah, yeah, agree.
Totally.
But yeah,
it's lovely to,
see OVie on this five-game goal heater over a point per game in 2024.
It's just fantastic.
I hope he just, you know, he got a little rest.
I said, I think he was a little injured.
And then he got more significantly injured, got a little rest.
And he's come back looking great.
So love to see it.
Let's pop into our next empty net topic.
Ottawa Senators playing the Toronto Maple Leafs this weekend.
Ridley Gregg of the Ottawa Senators gets a little bit.
breakaway up four three right four three or was it three two i think it was four three five three blake is that
right five three and redly so up four three gets a little breakway with less than a minute or so left
how much time actually i think it was like 51 seconds or something like that how much time was left there
i think it was like 51 seconds or something yeah it was garbage yeah uh gets a clear breakaway
unloads a clapper into the empty net and then morgan riley comes through cross check to the dome
little kerfuffle going on,
little scrap with all the boys,
and now people have been getting loud on Twitter,
getting real angry, both sides,
a bit of a rivalry with these two teams
that we haven't seen in a long time.
So it was nice to see the bad blood come back.
But CP, you know,
I tweeted something last night that,
or Saturday night,
that no big deal kind of popped off on old X.
But curious what your take is on this.
Dude, so I actually just checked.
There was six seconds.
left.
Oh, six seconds.
Yeah.
Dude, this has been a really polarizing moment.
And I was with a bunch of hockey boys last night and asked them and even the room I
was in, everyone among the grew is a friend of mine.
And that was completely split down the middle.
I have a pretty, and obviously, you know, we, we kind of went off on social defending
empty netters, as is our right.
But even with that hyperbolic jokes aside,
dude, I could not feel more passionately about this in one direction.
If he had celebrated hard, I think people have a bigger argument.
And I've actually seen people say the exact reverse of this.
But if it really went down, just pushed the puck into the empty net, and then came around fucking windmill, stick between the legs, doing the bull dance, feeling the flow working it.
And then he took a fucking cross check to the face.
I'd be like, yeah, sorry, dude.
You cannot do the bull dance after an empty netter like that, right?
that the Selly which was a difference would would have done it for me dude he walks she comes down the
eyes they are grinding trying to protect a one goal lead the play kind you know he jumps past the d
the play squirts loose and he's like yo I'm gone gets the breakaway pass comes down he can shoot
that puck in the empty net however the fuck he wants dude he curls around doesn't do the shit
I please dude he doesn't do shit he curls around and takes one across the fucking brow that is
ridiculous it is the equivalent Dan of if you're playing d in basketball and
you get a steal and you get a breakaway and you win no dunk it, dude.
You are allowed to fucking put it in the hood.
However you fucking dumbest shit, that is the dumbest shit I've ever.
If you were up three in a basketball game, defending the fucking three point line,
get a steal and go on a breakaway and someone got mad for you not laying it in,
you're a high person.
Shut up, dude.
You know why this is so stupid?
First of all, there's no fucking goalie in basketball, idiot.
Second of all, that happens all the time.
A quick interception, quick fast break in basketball.
someone's nude and they dunk it.
That happens all the time.
Stop talking.
Stop talking.
Stop talking.
It doesn't matter because that happens all the time.
When have you seen this season or otherwise someone get a breakaway and unload a clapper in the NHL?
Rarely if ever, that's the point.
It is an unwritten rule.
Listen, I agree with everything else you're saying.
The reaction is absurd.
But if you don't, if you think you could get a breakaway and hit a clapper into an empty net
in an NHL game and not hear it from the other team, you're a moron, and you know that.
I know you're not a moron.
So this take is just stupid for stupid sake.
No, it's not.
They should fucking chirp you.
All you want, nice clapper, bud, fuck you.
And I'm like, as fuck you.
Nice, fucking, nice man-up offense, you fucking losers.
I'll shoot that fucking whoever the fuck I want.
That's crazy, dude.
No, it's not crazy.
Like, if you want to be the one guy on the show, good for you.
Like, good for you.
But you know you're going to get something for it.
And I, this is the point that we made.
on Twitter that is correct, you got to expect when you hit that clapper that you're going to get
something from someone, as you should. And I'm with you in that. If you're fired up, that's a big
win for the boys. You're on a little bit of a good run here, Ottawa, and you're feeling the juices
and you want to pound that home. Be my guest. But you've got to turn and expect something,
which I think Greg did. But obviously, Morgan Riley, wires cross went full psychopath and cross-checked
in the head. That's not cool. You're going to get suspended as you should. But dude, you can't hit
that clapper and curl up ice and be like, he goes, do, do, do, do, do, I did nothing. You're a fucking
idiot if you think that's the case. And that is a fact. And anyone with a hockey brain knows that.
Now, to your point, what should have happened is I think Riley should have like slashed him in the
back of the legs, maybe giving him a chop down on the arms or something like that. He came in way too
hot. But yes, chirp him,
give him a little shot or something,
but cross-check to the dome,
not cool. And that's the big... Absolutely ridiculous.
I hope he gets most games as humanly possible.
Absolutely fucking ridiculous reaction for someone
shooting a puck into a fucking open net that you coughed up,
you fucking loser. I can't believe that.
I can't believe how stupid this take is.
This is the dumbest you've ever come off.
So it's insane that people got that about that.
Just add some context.
Hold on. No one got... Well, first of all,
and I want to hear your context, Blake.
people who got mad about it agree are our morons but chris if if the other side happens for example
if we were out on the ice and you're morgan riley and someone does that and hits that clapper into the
open net and you do nothing come back to our bench our entire team gives you shit because we're
like you're a pussy for letting that happen dude and you're and and we are right so hold on
getting mad like fans maple leafs fans who were like that's so
disrespectful. Oh my, it's against the game. That is lame. But you should get fired up about it because you have
been disrespected. And yep, you've lost. But that's what I said. Chirp him, give him a leg hack because that's
what you deserve. And I love the move from Greg. I love the move from Greg. Like, if he does that,
expect to get a little bit of shit and take the shit because you're like, yeah, fuck you,
loser. You turned it over. I fucking scored an empty net and we win. Ha ha. Fuck you. You take your beating.
but I like the move of taking your beating to fire up your team and piss off the other team.
But people who are mad for like the disrespect, like, oh, no, that's lame.
I agree.
But if you think that you shouldn't or you should be able to do that with no repercussions at all,
that's just wrong.
And everyone in the NHL agrees.
Like you have to say something.
So I think one, so it shows the least inexperience on standing up for themselves and their teammates.
Riley coming in way too hot because, yeah, like, yes.
You should go and confront him, but yeah, you cannot go fucking shaft of the teeth.
Some context.
Apparently, Ridley, Greg, then it's not been officially confirmed,
but apparently Ridley Greg was scolded by the GM, Steve Steehouse,
and the head coach after the empty neck incident.
Lame.
That's lame.
Agree.
So, and then, yeah, Morgan Raleigh has been offered an in-person hearing,
which can lead to, which puts the possibility of the suspension being over five games.
Riley has never been suspended in his career, so I don't think it'll reach five games.
I predict between, I'd probably say three or four games.
Dude, you know what bums me out?
It's going to be six.
Really?
I think it's going to be six because David Perron, who's never been suspended, came in defending
his teammate after a cheap shot and did exactly this, and he got six games.
And my problem is, I thought that was absurd.
That should have been two games.
I think this should be two games.
Like Chris, Chris thinks Morgan Riley should be suspended for the rest of the season, which
Pinto treatment. Pinto treatment.
All respect to you.
But I think this shit should be like, you know what, you know what bums me out and I don't want to spend too much time on this?
Intent to injure has been bastardized, just like dirty player has been bastardized.
To me, intent to injure is Todd Bertuzi punching someone in the back of the skull.
Like, your wires crossing coming in.
when something shiasty has happened like this and your stick gets up too high,
I don't think that's intent to injure.
I think it's a dangerous play.
And if you ask Morgan Riley, if you go, when you saw that go in, did you go,
I'm going to cross-check him in the face?
I think under a lie detector, he'd be like, no, dude.
I saw red, I was pissed and it was an accident.
Dan, just to interject on that, I will say this wasn't his stick rode up by eye.
He came in to get him in the chest and his stick rode up.
This was direct stick to face.
That was, my target was hit.
I agree. And that's why I'm saying. I think he saw red and I think he was like, I'm going to cross-check.
And in the moment, dude, like, you're skating by. Like, Greg kind of turns weird, not weirdly.
I'm not making excuses, but like, I don't think he came in there going, I'm going, I'm going to cross-check him in the face.
I think he was going, I'm going to cross-check him. And then he just hit him in the face and was like, oh, Jesus, that was too intense.
I think it's a fucking accident. And that's why I'm like, this should be two, three games,
four if you want to be aggressive. But I just think we're getting out of hands.
with suspensions, dude.
Like six fucking games, that's so much, dude.
Like, that's so many games for something like this.
Well, and everyone's been harping on the consistency of the, you know, the level of
suspension.
So I think it's a fair point that you're making about the David Perron incident because,
yeah, they're almost a mere image on, you know, on papers.
And I think what sucks, dude, is if you don't go six now, you have an entire Detroit
fan base who's going to be like this.
Are you fucking shitting me, dude?
Like this was not the heat of battle.
It wasn't after a cheap shot.
This was after an empty net goal.
You're not going to give him as much as Perron.
So by that logic, I'm like, you have to give him six.
But I stand by, I think that's too many games for both.
You shouldn't match a mistake by giving this also six.
But unfortunately, if you don't, people are in an uproar.
So it's going to be six.
I was close to, speaking of consistency, Dan, I feel like I was being, I was much harder on
Peron than you were.
and I'm much harder on Riley than you were.
So we're aligned here too.
But I will say, I'll say the same thing I said about Perron.
And even worse in his case, because I'm 100% on your side in that he was defending a teammate and all that shit.
Right.
But, dude, I just, I am for, and you're usually like this, but I am for the harder suspensions for shit that I just don't think has a place in this.
Like under no circumstances, did anybody be cross-checked in the face, period.
My stick rode up.
I wasn't, I'm my wires cross-act.
I don't give a fuck, dude.
If you cross-check him in the face, you're getting six games.
Good day, sir.
Stick riding up, you know how, like, that can happen so unlikely.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, like, you know, off the shoulder, pad, low chin, whatever.
But like, one that hits someone right here.
I'm like, go away.
And that is where I will kind of back down because it is, I do like the takes of control your fucking stick, dude.
Like, don't be a psychopath.
And, yeah, like a, so more than two games is, you know, two games is kind of a slap on the wrist.
And it should be more than that.
But that's where I think it's like four.
missing four games is like you know that's a week and a half of hockey like that yeah yeah so i'm kind of
like four should be fine but yeah either way uh i think it's lame that the ottawa coach and gm
came crack down on him like you can crack down on him in the media maybe be like this ah you know
like that's kind of a shitty move we're not about that blah blah blah but in the locker room you're
like i fucking love it dude fire it up um but either way the drama of this season continues and i absolutely
love it. Morgan Riley,
take a fucking chill pill, buddy.
You've got to get your shit together.
And you're going to get pee-p-wacked as you deserve.
And hey, Ridley, fucking clap them into the empty net,
whatever the fuck you want, buddy.
Yeah, seriously.
Yeah, and I will say, dude, like Morgan Riley,
you know, you're the top defenseman on that team.
You're sitting in fourth place in the Atlantic right now, right?
Are they in Tampa still about it right now?
No, they're first in the wild card.
But they're fourth in the Atlanta.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
So I'm like, not a good time to lose your number one D-Man.
Detroit's coming on their heels.
Yeah, as a leader, Morgan Riley, not the best to be.
Imagine in like 10 years, we're going to have guys, Michigan into an open net.
Yeah, fuck yeah.
They're going to go, Zach Bell's swaggy pee between the legs, throw 60.
Good, dude, whatever.
I don't care.
Shoot it in.
Chris will be on the glass banging.
Let's do some quick, let's do some quick hot ice before we get into these interviews.
Blake, you had a little topic for us.
I want you to tee us up.
You know, heading into the deadline right now, who are your cup contenders, legitimate
cup contenders?
If, you know, if the playoffs started right now, who do you have confidence in saying
this team could legitimately have a chance at winning Stanley Cup?
And Dan, I think let's shape it this way in that examining that question via the conference
imbalance or how it feels.
Yeah.
That's what's cool right now.
Yeah.
Do you want to give like two from each conference?
Well, dude, how about it?
I'll do you one better, bro.
I think there are only two from the East, like, period.
Yeah.
Okay.
I'm curious to hear those because I'm sitting here and I'm borderline prepared to say my four cup contenders are all in the West.
Yeah.
I think it's a four probably are three of them.
There's only one East team that might make top four for me.
Yeah.
I feel pretty passionately that for the first time in a long time that the Cups come
out of the West. I'm like, I know that
someone won last year, but we were like, dude,
the East is way better than every team in the West
last year. It's going to be an Eastern team and then
Ho-Hum Vegas comes through and Pete
fucking absolutely pistol lips, everybody.
But yeah,
the West right now is, I think,
the real nails of the league. So you can
start, Chris. Okay, so all I'll say is this.
And I'm talking straight up like,
damn, that team right now,
I feel like that team could go through a four
fucking series run and I'd be scared
to see them in the final.
Florida, I've been on them since the preseason.
I just think that team is built on grit more than they're built on finesse,
but obviously have guys that can score, have a goalie that can do it.
So that team, I still think is a threat, having a great season.
And then for me, dude, Tampa only because Cooch is going so hard and Vassie could get good.
That's the only other East team I'm even remotely scared of.
Boston, no, Toronto, no, Detroit, no.
Literally no one in the Met.
Yeah, I think it's Florida and only Florida.
I don't even think it's Tampa.
I think Tampa, I think it's been a wire to wire season of Tampa, like, flirting with being in the playoffs and being out of the playoffs.
And I just look at them like last year, right?
It's like last year they were a, they were a wildcard team.
Drew Toronto, we were all like, oh, oh, Toronto, you're going to lose.
And then Toronto won in six.
A lot of bad bounces, though, for Tampa in that series.
Like, I felt like they were the better team most of those games.
But that happens all the time, doesn't it?
Cry about it, but I'm just saying.
A lot of bad bounces in the Boston, Florida series got.
got news for you, you lost to a fucking wildcard team.
So it is what it is.
So yeah, I just think Tampa is exactly what they were last year.
If they get in the playoffs, I think they're going to lose in the first, maybe second round.
I think Florida is the only team that has all the balls here to go no distance.
It breaks my heart to say it about Boston, but Boston just lost Potra for the rest of the year.
Some idiots in the fan base are like, Potra stinks.
That wasn't any depth of, dude.
Bottom six wins you Stanley Cups.
If you don't have a existent bottom six, you are dead.
And you just lost a good bottom six player.
And there's been so much turnaround in the Bruins bottom six.
So we talk about it all the time.
I don't think that they have the capital to make a ton of trades here to really beef up.
So I don't know what they're going to do.
Donnie's going to have to get real crafty.
But it breaks my heart.
I don't see a long playoff run for this Boston Bruins team.
I think it is Florida and only Florida.
And then on the West,
and I'll jump in, Chris, legitimately,
I think, like, my cup contenders are Vegas and Colorado.
Okay, I thought you might say that.
And I say that with right behind them,
literally ripping their shirts off right behind them,
Dallas, Winnipeg, Vancouver, and Edmonton.
I think all six of those teams are fucking dominant right now
and could easily win a Stanley Cup.
Do you.
So much is going to change,
but right now, Colorado, Winnipeg, Vegas, Edmonton, first round matchups, dude.
The West playoff is going to be a fucking bloodbath.
And you know what, dude?
Currently in the wild card is the Kings and the fucking blues, lull.
And I think those two teams are so far off the rest.
That's what's interesting.
If you look at the east going from Atlantic to Metro and then the two wildcards, it's Boston, Florida, Tampa,
Bay, Rangers, hurricanes, flyers, leifs, redwings.
I think all of those teams are pretty similar to each other.
With the exception of Florida.
I think Florida is a little edge up above everyone else.
But then after that, it's like Islanders, Devils, penguins are down there.
Like those are all teams that I'm like, they're pretty similar.
And pretty similar.
Yeah, yeah, agree.
But in the West, I think the Kings and Blues are such a step below those top six.
And then Preds, Calgary, Seattle, wild below that are just like, get out of here.
You have zero business.
What if Kings snap back to normal, though, with the new coach.
That was my next point, Chris.
I would add them to the crew.
First game under Hiller, they looked fucking electric.
And if they in the next 10 games here find their footing that they had in the first 30 games of the season, I'm like, they're right back in that group with the six.
So, crazy.
But yeah, those six teams in the West, dude, like, those are my top six cup contending teams over Florida, too.
Yeah.
Like, those teams are so good.
It's fucking nuts what's going on.
It's insane.
Man, I'm torn between, I'm saying Vegas because I've said this to you a million times, Dan, the everyone is sleeping on Vegas right now because they're hurt and shit.
And they if, and this happened last year.
But like, inexplicably, if they just get healthy by playoffs, it doesn't matter when, where they are in the rankings.
If they get into the playoffs and they have their full squad.
I know, dude.
Who wants to play them, dude?
And they ran through everybody last year.
Hill is playing Vesna caliber goalie, and we already know he can do it.
He's already won a cup.
He already doing the forest year.
Like, yeah, who wants to run into that, Buzzsaw?
If they get healthy, if, but if they do, I'm like, do it.
No, they will.
They're doing exactly what they did last year.
Like, their big ifs could probably come back right now.
But you know that they're just waiting for the last 10 game.
They're smart.
They're doing exactly what they did.
Yeah.
So it's, and it feels crazy for me to not say Colorado.
I think I'm going to say Edmonton because I was on them all year.
and I have this much more belief in Skinner than you do.
But I might be just be getting fooled again
because he could easily put up a playoff stinker.
And I'm like, well, my bad,
because that is the big problem.
For me, yeah, for me, it's like,
I look at Colorado and Edmonton,
and I'm like, you got McDavid and Drysile.
I'm like, yeah, well, you've got McKinnon and Moose.
It's this, like, they, they cancel each other out.
I think Colorado has done it.
They've got the vastly better defense.
And I give the edge to Georgia,
to his,
it Georgiev or Georgiev? I always say
Georgiav, but yeah. I call them Georgi.
Yeah, that's what I'm getting confused.
They call them Georgi. But yeah, I give the edge to Georgiev over
Skinner. I would love to see a Winnipeg,
Vancouver deep run, just think it would be fun for those teams.
Vancouver's going deep, dude. I promise.
Yeah, I promise you. And God, Dallas, man. I've been on,
pumping there tires for a long time.
Yeah, I'm going to give a little locker room speech for Dallas
real quick, and then we can move on.
number one, get Mero help.
I've been saying that for months.
I think their big deadline thing is,
and it's not a huge name.
You know,
maybe it's a TANF.
I think Hanofin is too much of an overpay.
Like,
I think you go and get a good second pair,
third pair even maybe,
good, solid defensemen to help out Mero on the back end.
And I think you're going to see drastic improvements to that defensive core.
And then you're going to hate this one, dude.
Jake Ottinger, it's nut up or shut up time.
I think we've been singing his praises for years.
And he's just had a couple of stretches here in the season
where people have been like, damn, Otter's not playing that great.
And I'm kind of like, yeah, he's not.
And you have to because you're that good.
And I need to see a convincing playoff run from Otter
before I keep putting the Dallas Stars in this.
collection of
plus minus in the league though
Otter has had some
playoff experience
or successful playoff
experience in that Calgary series
remember he almost stole that series
yeah but then didn't right
like that's my point
is like he plays so well
remember the Calgary players were like
that's the best goaltending I've ever seen on earth
like they were high-fiving him after you.
Isn't it easy to stroke someone off when you beat them
you're the most humble about your opposition
after you've beat them into submission
yeah that's just the reality dude
So I'm tired.
You know, it's like, I think he is tired,
and I think they're tired of being like,
oh yeah, everyone sings our praises after they fucking beat us.
You got to win.
This could change in a matter of...
At the end of the week.
Yeah.
Yeah, true.
All right.
You want to kick it to these interviews?
I do.
All right, we're going to kick it to these interviews, guys.
Back to back.
We got John Scott and Lucas Raymond coming up.
Hope you enjoy them as much as we did.
All right, well, we are pleased right now
to be joined by a Alberta native,
a Michigan Tech mechanical engineering grad,
former member of the Wild Blackhawks,
Rangers, Sabers, Sharks, Yotes, and Canadians,
the 2016 NHL All-Star MVP,
and the host of the Drop in the Gloves podcast, John Scott.
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Scyke to have you.
Hi, Dan. Hi, Chris. Thanks for having me.
Happy to be here.
We're pumped. We're pumped.
We just got back from Allstar like we talked about and to be sitting here with a NHL All Star MVP.
It's pretty special.
It is special for you guys.
I agree.
It is.
This is a big honor for us.
I'm going to just try not to be starstruck the entire time.
You're so full of this.
Well, we, as we just discussed, we just got back from All Stars.
So I want to start there.
And before we get into some of the fun experiences of it, and John, obviously you've told the story one billion times.
But some of our listeners don't know the whole song.
and maybe haven't read your truly beautiful Players Tribune articles.
So could you just give like the elevator pitch of the like being on the coyotes going on
Wichinsky or Wichinsky makes that comment on the pod and then kind of like what rolled through from
there to the Canadians.
Yeah.
So quick read through.
I was playing on the coyote's fourth line, healthy scratch sometimes.
Just a very secondary player fan voting for the first time in a long time.
Greg Wyshinsky, Puck Daddy has a good idea.
Let's vote on a player who doesn't belong there.
They settle on me.
I get a ton of votes, millions of votes.
The league steps in, doesn't want me to go.
They get me traded to Montreal.
From Montreal, I go to St. John's and the HL.
I get sent down some banter back and forth.
Should I go to the game?
I eventually go to the game from the HL.
Never happened before.
It won't happen since.
Go to the All-Star game, win the MVP.
That's the elevator just reached the top floor.
That's the pitch.
Yeah.
Unbelievable.
I mean, it's such a crazy song.
Yeah.
Especially with the.
the stuff, and I encourage anyone listening that doesn't know the story to read the both players
should be in articles, but the stuff about the, that middle when the elevator's on the 20th floor
on the way up, like the league, the pressure from the league to not go is like baffling to me to this day.
I cannot believe that.
Yeah. How did you deal with that?
You know, that's the thing. Everybody just thinks of hockey players is like tough, really,
like just nothing flaps as I was a mess the whole time.
And luckily I had my wife to kind of bounce things off of.
and my agent was it was a rock star Ben Hankinson.
And if I didn't have those people, I would have been a mess.
So I would daily you guys because, yeah, I would talk to my GM, Don Maloney.
I would have conversations with the league.
And they were actively trying to get me not to go offering me trips and money and all kinds of different stuff.
Like insulting me in some conversations, like challenging my, my, just everything, my manhood.
What is your parents going to think?
What are your kids going to think?
Like, this is a bad decision.
And anyways, my wife.
my agent really, really stepped up.
And other players throughout the league, I would lean on them a little bit.
And they'd be like, no, you should go.
This is a good thing.
You deserve to go.
And, yeah, but at the end of the day, it was not easy to go through that whole process
because you just, it's brutal.
Like they're telling you, no, we don't want you to be here.
You're not good enough.
And then in the press and the media and guys like you ripping me apart, it was a lot of,
it was brutal.
No, I bet.
I bet.
What was, what was the vibe from the guy?
in the league, you know, some of your teammates, guys you play against?
Were they supportive telling you to say, you know, fuck it, come, go, go.
You've been voted in.
You deserve it.
100%.
Yeah.
And that was a huge part of it because that was Shane Dones last year.
And he was having a really good year.
And so everybody was like, you're ruining this for Shane Dome.
Like this could be a swan song where he could go to the game and we could send them off into the sunset.
And so the coyotes kind of made me release a statement saying don't vote for me, vote for Shane.
And obviously he didn't work.
I still got the votes.
But yeah, it was difficult.
Shane was great about it.
He's like,
you should go.
Like this,
this is fantastic.
That guy's a legend.
Obviously,
I'm sure you know about him or know him personally,
but he's the best.
And all the other guys are in the league were the same way.
They're like,
this will be fun.
This will be great.
And then it was the tough guys too who really stood up.
And the older tough guys,
Kelly Chases and Stu Grimpsons and,
you know,
Chris Nylans,
those guys who reached out and said,
you should go.
Like,
we're good.
Go and show.
everybody we're actually hockey players.
So that meant a lot for them to reach out too.
Well, John, that was one of my favorite quotes that you had in your piece where it's like,
you aren't a guy,
a random dude off the street that they called into the game.
You're a fucking NHL player.
You know,
like there's,
that's the elite of the elite of the elite.
So certainly I'm good enough to go play in an NHL sanction game.
Well,
I think people forget that.
And then,
you know,
I go play these beer league games and everybody just assumes I'm just going to fight the
whole time.
And I go,
like,
we did.
Like most of the goons.
were the top scores for their junior team.
When you look around the league, those guys lit it up in juniors.
I didn't because I was a defenseman and I was terrible all along.
I just lucked out, but we're pretty talented.
I got the practice with guys for 10 years in the NHL.
So you'd be hard pressed to find someone who is really bad.
But no, I don't know. It's just funny.
I don't know.
Yeah.
No, but it is true.
You know, we talk about like Chris just said, if you're in the NHL, you're in the top 0.01% of talent in the,
in the game of hockey.
And, you know, we talked to Sean Thornton not long ago.
He had that really fun.
I think it was in one of his last years with the Bruins.
He got a penalty shot in a game and came in and did like the backhand toe drag top shelf.
And everyone was like, what the fuck?
And he was like, listen, I'm not a clown.
I obviously have talent in the game of hockey.
And I do think people forget that way too often.
So that whole moment with you being able to go there, showcase the abilities that you have that led to a long
and great NHL career is awesome.
Chris mentioned that the Tribune article
that really was phenomenal
and something stuck out to me
more than anything else that I really wanted to touch on.
You obviously get to the league
and fighting becomes a huge part of your game.
It's something that you're asked to do as an enforcer.
And I think a lot of people sort of have this assumption
that if you're an enforcer,
if you're a fighter, guys who gets in a lot of scraps,
you really relish those moments
and you just want to go for it.
And you really got into the fact that it's not that way all the time.
There's actually a lot of nerves that go into it.
And even some games, you'd go in not looking forward to getting in a fight.
Because at the end of the day, you're still fighting.
You're throwing your fists at another guy and getting hit in the face,
getting hit in the neck and all that stuff.
So could you touch on that a little bit?
Because it was such a fascinating insight into that element of the game.
Yeah, I just think, again, people don't realize the mental gymnastics you have to go through leading up.
to that fight.
Like,
I don't know your guys' back history,
but I bet you there's never been a time in your life
when you had to go to sleep saying,
I'm going to get into a fist fight tomorrow.
That's a fact.
Yeah.
Wouldn't it be nerve-wracking.
I got one fight in juniors.
Yeah.
I got dummied and I didn't know it was going to happen.
Yeah.
Now, just imagine, like,
amplifying that,
knowing, like,
I,
on a nightly basis would have to go to sleep knowing
I'm going to fight someone who's 6, 4, 6,6, 5,
240 pounds, and who's a skilled fighter and has done it their whole life.
And it was nerve-wracking and it wears on you.
And it's not something you want to happen,
but you have to do it in order to keep your job and get that paycheck.
Like we were talking about earlier,
it's all about the paycheck at that point.
You're trying to keep your job.
It's my livelihood.
So I would have sleepless nights after sleepless nights.
And it's, I never really, it's funny how it works because I liked,
I enjoyed fighting once the gloves went off.
I'm like, good.
Then I'm in it.
But the hours and days leading up to it, I was a mess.
I hated it.
And everybody I talked to, for the most part, there are some crazy guys who loved it.
And they just were like, their wires were crossed.
Like Steve McIntyre, he's like, I just like fighting.
I'm good at it.
But then you talked to with George Lark, who was maybe one of the toughest guys ever, arguably.
He's like, I couldn't stand it.
And to this day, I don't like it.
And it's just funny.
I kind of went both sides.
I fought as a kid quite a bit growing up.
And I was good at it.
but the nights like pre hockey you mean though right or yeah like in the bars yeah yeah exactly right
because i i had that mentality of like you're not messing with my friends like all the time and so i would
protect those guys but it wasn't great my wife it's funny story we it was like three or four
years into my career and i was just again on hockey fights looking who i think i was going to fight
mcgratton or or somebody the next thing she's like what are you doing it was like three or four
in the morning like i'm just you know i'm trying to see how we see how we see
stars left-handed right-handed we'd like to jersey jabs something like that and i would watch it over and over
you're an engineer you know like you just try to analyze it and she goes well how big is he and i'm like well he's
six three two 40 you know he's been in a league for a long time and she goes okay well how big are you
and i'm like well i'm a six eight two 70 and she's like you don't think he's scared of you
and i'm like oh yeah he probably is and she's like go to bed yeah go to bed and i honestly that was
they just took that one little mind mindset and i if i slept fine
after that. I would still do my research, but I wasn't as nervous as it used to be because I was like,
oh yeah, they're probably scared of scared of me too. I love how your wife's watching the game
notes with you. Yeah. Helping you prep mentally. Oh, she hated it. Unbelievable. No, she's like,
she wanted to sleep. I was probably keeping her up by tossing and turning and like losing my marbles.
So she's like, just easy, dummy. Like, just go to bed. Yeah. I have a question because I genuinely don't know
and I'm curious because in that piece you had said, um, even during the game, you're, you just
want to get the fight out of the way. You know, you're like, okay, God, like, let's do it. So if a coach says to
you pregame, hey, we need you to go with this guy during this game, do you kind of get to call when
that? Like, are you like, I want to go now? Or like, when did they, when did they finally say, do it?
Like, do you have any saying that once the game starts? I've never had a coach say that to me.
Never once. Okay. But it's, it's implied, right? So if we're at home and they put out their
tough guy and he's like, Johnny, you're up. I'm not, like, I'm not stupid. I'm like, okay.
Like this is where I fight.
But I've had conversations with coaches and GMs before the season.
Once I was established and I just said, let me do my thing.
If I need to go out, I'll let you know.
So I've had many times where I turn around and tell the coach, like, it's time.
Like, let me go out.
I need to do my job now.
And the most part, they're good.
And they say, okay, go.
Take care of it.
And then we take care of business.
Right.
Yeah.
Was there anyone in the league that you felt like you had, I don't want to say a rivalry with,
but maybe you scrapped with a few times
and you kind of kept the mental notes of,
you know, like I got him this time and he got me that time.
Was there anyone that you had?
George Peros?
Yeah.
Yeah, Georgie, we fought a few times and he got me a couple times
and I got, it started with my, he was my first fight and I knocked him out.
Like I buried him good and we came back and won the game
and he was frustrated.
And he came back, busted my nose and I came back and got him a good time.
So he was a good one.
Cam Jansen, I hated fighting just because he was so small.
And we fought a lot when he was in St.
Lewis and I was in Chicago. So those two guys were really kind of my go-toes. Then when I went to Buffalo,
it was just the Toronto guys or in McLaren. We had, as soon as I jumped Phil Kessel, they didn't
care for that at all. And then we just had that rivalry. So every time we played Toronto, it was just
fight night every single time. Yeah. Yep. Yep. John, you said a bunch of times that you believe
the enforcers have a place in this game. I completely agree, by the way. I think it pleases the game.
it helps protect the stars.
And but this isn't your quote.
This is me talking now.
By the way, if you have,
if you're concerned about the concussions thing,
I think it's the open ice head hunting hits that are 10x a bigger problem than the
fighting.
So, you know,
you can leave that alone.
But I wanted to ask you with that in mind,
it feels like the game is trending away from it a little bit.
There's plenty of forces left in the league.
Revo comes to mind,
whatever.
But I do think I'm seeing more guys have success who are smaller in stature.
Badard, of course,
the Hughes Bros.
Clayton Keller.
So a lot of them we just saw at All-Stars, right?
Would you say, why would you say that is?
Like, in my mind, guys, that size,
when I'm thinking about the league that we all grew up watching,
wouldn't have survived out there.
And now they are.
Do you feel like that's true in a sense?
Yeah.
Just because the rule changes.
I was there when they started implementing the hooking,
the clutching, the grabbing.
Those penalties were really cracked down upon.
Like, you go back and watch a playoff series from even the late 90s,
early 2000s.
it's like all at war.
You can't even go through any zone without a guy clutching you, grabbing you, holding you.
There's no room.
Now it's those guys are, they have free reign to skate wherever they want.
And if you touch them, there's a penalty.
So I think with the implementation of those penalties, it just opened the floodgates for skill, which is good.
I thought it was a good change.
And now you're seeing all this amazing skill.
And with that being said, when coaches are in the minor leagues, they're going to want those guys more often.
And Gary's really cracked down on the fighting.
so the juniors doesn't have fighting college.
As we know it doesn't have fighting.
The H.L. has fighting rules now.
So when you start at that down low with those rules,
it just takes a few years until it gets to the NHL.
But that's why we're seeing those types of players really take off
because they're allowed to now.
They're able to.
Yeah.
And does that mean it's harder and harder for enforcers to make it up all the way?
Or is it like, no, there's maybe less roles,
but they'll always be a place.
I think it's more a hybrid, right?
Like I think you're going to see guys now who like a Tanner's,
you know, those types of players who are pretty good hockey players, but they can throw them if,
if they need to. I think gone are the days of Revo's done. Like, let's, he signed a three-year deal.
He's a good friend of mine, but he'll be the last one around who is just as strictly a fighter.
So I think you're going to see guys who are hybrids who can, you know, penalty kill, you know,
get 15, 20 minutes, but if it comes down to it, they can also beat your doors up. But you won't
see the strictly like me who was just, I'm, I was an assassin. I was.
out there to, you know, hurt somebody if someone stepped out of the line.
But I don't think those days are going to, my, my player's dead.
Revo's the last one.
Yeah, wow.
Yeah, it does feel like it's Revo and Big Rig Maroon.
Yeah, sure.
Maroon's not tough.
I'm so tired of this narrative that Pat Maroon is tough.
No, stop it now.
He's, he fights a lot.
Explain.
He's not, have you watched any of his fights?
They're awful.
That's a good point, actually.
And he doesn't win anything.
hands down. It's just kind of like my hair is fine. It looks good. He's a gamer, but he doesn't.
I just, he's a great guy. Don't get me wrong. But he's not in the same class as Ryan Reeves. So let's
not even get twisted here. Not even close. Yeah. So it, it is Revo and then that's it. I would say
Nick DeLoree. I would say there's a couple other guys around the league who are in that category.
If I'm listening off top 10, Maroon's not even on that. Like he's not even top 20. Like let's just,
let's just pump the brakes here on that.
Yeah, that's good. I love it. Put that to bed. We're talking about the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the league is just shifting to this, you know, so much skill is prevalent in the league right now. And, you know, we were talking to biz, and, you know, we're talking to. You, you're, you're talking to. You, you've, you've been on chicklets. Like, we're, we're late to the game. I was just at home with my kids. So I, like, it's just, it's just.
making me feel terrible again, you guys. Unbelievable.
Well, no, what I wanted to ask is, you know, I feel like we've been seeing,
Badard is a great example here.
Bardard has his jaw fracture.
He's missing some time.
Do you think that there is an element of these maybe smaller, more skill-focused guys coming into the league
and the physicality hasn't really been there for them in juniors and college wherever they've played?
And there maybe needs to be more of an emphasis on teaching some of these younger skilled guys to learn.
how to take a hit and really be aware of that physicality that's coming into the NHL.
Ideally, yeah, I think Torts said it perfectly.
He's like, these guys don't know how to take a hit.
And I know I work for the Hawks now, or NBC, I should say, not for the Hawks.
And you could tell even on that Bedard hit, he wasn't expecting Brendan Smith maybe to step up when he did.
Yes.
He kind of was entering the zone, expecting to have a little more room.
And he was vulnerable.
And so he took a pop.
And you see it like Jack Hughes that happened to him.
Everybody who watches hockey, if you're a guy who,
who's a good open ice hitter,
you're your loving life right now.
Because these guys come across the middle.
They're looking for passes.
They're trying to do things.
Like,
you can really bury guys.
So life is good for the hitters right now,
but there's not many of them.
That's a thing.
So it's a dying art.
And like,
why would you learn a skill when no one's going to hit you,
especially in juniors?
There's no hitting in juniors right now.
So,
like,
there's no Pat Colettas out there in the league who are just murdering guys
who just go out there.
Yeah.
Pat didn't want to play hockey.
he just wanted to hit guys and he loved it yep yeah no it's true i don't know if you watched in the
uh the world juniors when geeky got booted from the game for just a beautiful open ice along
the boards it honestly felt like the refs just weren't expecting what they didn't know what to do
it's like that was a big hit we have there's something must be wrong like we have to kick this guy
out so yeah i think halfway got kicked out in philly he buried somebody garnered hathaway
perfectly fine hit but he the ref just didn't know what to do with that much
much violence.
It truly feels like a panic move sometimes with the rest.
They're like this.
I haven't seen that in a while.
You're gone.
It's like,
what the hell is going on?
And I think you'll see the pendulum flip to finally answer.
I think they'll start to have to do that once more guys start really getting their job
broken.
You know,
I think Badard's going to maybe learn how to take a hit.
Not that he doesn't,
but maybe be a little more cautious.
Yeah.
No,
I think absolutely.
I think you're totally right when that happened.
It was one of the situations where obviously,
you know,
Felino comes in jumps Brendan Smith and there's part of me it's like yep you've got to stick up for
your guy but when I'm looking at Brendan Smith I'm like he's like I just made a great clean yeah what did I do
get off my ass so it is an interesting dynamic um so as we said earlier we're from new England so we're
Bruins guys and I loved seeing that you know you were living in St. Catherine Ontario and with all your
buddies being Habs fans Leafs fans you were a Bruins guy early and and Ray Bork was was your
your number one that you, you know, kind of idolized and looked up to.
When you got into the league and kept playing for all these different teams,
did you kind of maintain a little bit of that love for the Bruins or did it eventually fade away?
It was gone immediately just because they were one of my biggest rivals.
You mentioned Sean Thornton.
I battled with him.
And every time we played Boston, it was a battle.
But I, yeah, they were my team growing up.
I always tried to play for him, but I never really, they were always so tough.
They didn't need me.
So it was just one of those things.
it didn't mesh well, but yeah, I used to love the Bruins.
They were so, they were bad back when I watched them, kind of,
but they were just Neely and Atomotes and all like Samsonoff.
It was just so, I guess Neely wasn't there at that time, but yeah.
No, that's gone now.
I can't go down the street in Boston without getting spit on and heckled.
It's because I bury Louis Erickson and dummied Sean Thorne.
Oh, dude.
But they don't know.
They don't know you had that Ray Borklob.
I remember that Louis Erickson one.
Cleanest hit I've ever done.
I got seven games for it.
Yeah.
Were you root? Hey, did you root for Ray when he went to Colorado to get that cup?
Oh, 100%.
One of the best days of my life was when I got to, like, go to dinner with Ray Bork.
We did like a charity event five years ago and we were just drinking wine and having dinner.
It was so cool.
He's the nicest guy.
But you would never guess he's got like the most points of all time for defensemen.
It's just like, unbelievable.
You know what, John?
We were actually talking about this the other day.
I had gone on some rant talking about how.
I think that, you know, legends of teams,
Crosby is what came up.
And I was like, Crosby's still playing at this elite level.
If the penguins keep missing the playoffs,
if he were to ever say, hey, you know, guys,
I would love to have another shot at a cup.
Is there a world where you could trade me,
figure out something for the team and for me?
And obviously, we saw that with Ray when he went to Colorado.
And I was kind of like, I hate that there are so many fans
who look at that and they're like, oh, that's classless.
And I'm like, what are you talking about?
He's done everything for the franchise.
If he wants to go get another cup, that would be great.
And we posted some clip, and I mentioned Ray and Sydney.
And there were tons of comments from these younger fans in their early 20s who were like,
this guy puts Ray Bork's name in the same sense as Sidney Crosby.
What an idiot.
And I was like, are you guys insane?
Ray Bork is a true, true, true legend and one of the greatest players of this game.
It's just, it blows my mind.
Some people who just don't know.
about that. He's in the Mount Rushmore of a defenseman. I firmly believe that. Like, he was
lights out so good. Yeah. John, how come how come, uh, I don't think anyone had 77 on the wild
when you got there. How come you didn't, how come you didn't let it rip? I knew you wanted that number
as a squirt. Are you trying to insult me again? Is this what's happening? No, dude, you got to do it.
No. You think I got to pick my number? Is this, is this how this works? You think that's, that's what
happened? They're going John, pick your number. Yeah. Next.
Then year two at least.
No, I get there and they go, this is your number.
And I go, yes, it is.
36.
Yes, it is.
Thank you.
Thank you.
Thank you so much.
Yeah.
Yeah.
You forgot the passport.
You forgot the passport the first time.
You'd take whatever number they give you.
Damn right.
I did.
Yeah.
You know what I am curious about?
Which of all of your, the teams that you played for, all, all the numbers, sweaters that
you have, which one is your favorite?
The numbers?
Well, no, more just like the jerseys.
Like, what do you think is the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the,
If I go into the Hall of Fame, I'd probably wear the Sabres jersey.
Hell yeah.
Clean.
I like that a lot.
Yeah, I love the Sabers jersey.
I say that all the time.
It's just, yeah, I really enjoy it.
And I grew up right next to there, so I always used to go to the Sabres game back in the old auditorium.
So, yeah.
Yeah.
All right.
I want to ask you a question about scoring in the league right now.
I pulled up this stat that I thought was interesting.
In the 2006-7 season, Crosby had 120 points, okay?
and then no one touched 120 until Kucheroff did it in 2018-19.
He went 123.
Since then, Drysidal led the league with 110, but it was only in 71 games,
so he probably would have gone over.
Then McDavid with 105, but in 56 games, so he certainly would have gone over.
Then McDavid-123, McDavid 1-53, Kooch with 85 already this year.
It feels like it's going to go way over.
I just wanted your opinion on that.
And I'm sure a lot of it is what you talked about earlier,
which they're emphasizing skill.
The clutch and grab is gone.
these guys can free wheel.
But is this the new normal?
Like are we entering an era where it's like, you know,
the Eisenman 150 burgers are like going to be normal?
Or are you like, oh, no, it's just, it's in a lull.
It's going to come back down.
Like, how do you feel about the scoring in the league right now?
I think there will always be those guys.
And yeah, I think there's more penalties than there ever has been.
I think the power plays are really, really,
you look at Kutrov, I think half his points are on the power plate.
It's crazy.
So it's, no, I think it's here to stay.
I mean, I think the players are just really, really good.
The skill up and down is just incredible and there's no weak line.
So I do think it's not uncommon to see like six, four, seven, three, you know, eight, five games, night in and night out.
So I just think this is a new norm.
Guys, kids are so good, you guys.
Like, it's crazy.
Oh, it's crazy, John.
I mean, and you also, not to get too technical, but you look at the technology now with the sticks and all that and the workouts these guys are doing.
And the shots are just getting so quick and absurd.
It's like, I agree.
I don't think the scoring is going.
When Pedersen has the hardest shot and he weighs like 180 pounds.
Soken wet.
So can wet.
You know like the technology is good.
He's got great form, but he's like,
he's getting 103, 103, 104 miles and hour.
It's crazy.
It's like amazing what is happening in the NHR right now.
It's nuts.
The Sends were doing a little, you know,
contest thing just in a practice and Chickren clapped a 107 slot shot.
Did he really?
And like I'm looking at Chikrin.
He's like a quick, small or, you know,
leaner,
shifty offensive defenseman. I'm like, Jesus.
That's crazy. That's fast. That's very fast. No, yeah. That's crazy. I mean, that's like
Chara style level. Yeah. No, I think it would have been the second fastest ever if they had,
you know, if it had been like at the All-Star game or something. Um, but so yeah, on, to look at the
reverse side of it, John, because I, I, I enjoyed it too, you know, as I was a forward, he was
a defenseman. But, you know, I'm like, yeah, bring on the six four games. It's a blast for me.
But I'm sure some of the goalies in today's era are like, yeah, this isn't as ideal for us.
Yeah, right.
But I'm curious, and we talked about this recently.
Fuck those goals.
Fuck them.
Yeah, Blake.
Our producer, Blake is a goal.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But I'm curious, the one thing I think we have seen on that side of it in recent years is the tandem, right?
Like gone are the days of 60 starts for these tenders.
But the adjustment hasn't hit playoffs yet.
It's like once these teams get to the playoffs, they'll go, well, here's our guy.
Yeah.
Do you think we'll get to a stretch where it's like, well, no, giving them extra days off was
how we got here. We should trade games in the playoffs. Or is that, is that just too hard and you'll
always ride the hot goal? Well, I think you ride the guy. I don't think a coach has a Cajonais to go
back and forth. I think it's more so job prevention to say, we're just going to, you won, we're
going to stick with you. And then once you lose, then we'll put the other, because we've seen
that. Yeah. Yeah. You know, I think that's just smarter business for the coach because it's, it's,
less culpability almost where you, like, you had a great game. You got a shut up, but we're going to start
him because that's what we did in regular season. I don't think that makes a lot of sense to me.
And as a player, I like knowing what goalie was, you know, going to be in for the next night,
the next night. And it gives you a sense of confidence. Like you want, you want to know who's
you got behind you. I want one goalie. Like, ideally you play with one goalie the whole season because
you know them, you get their tendencies because goalies are different the way they play the puck,
the way it's just different. Their rebounds. Yeah, one goalie is better. So I don't think maybe, I don't know,
But I don't think you'll get there.
No, it's such a good point.
Yeah, because we talk about Boston, I think, is a great example.
I mean, O'Mark and Swainman are just, they're both so good.
Either one of them could go at any day.
And, yeah, you're right.
I think so much of it is on the coach.
Because think about all those stories that would come out.
If you're a great team and you go into the playoffs and you go,
we've been riding both these guys all year, we're going to ride them both all through playoffs.
The second one of them loses, you're now being faced with the, like,
like are you seriously going to go back to him?
You know, you got one who's two and oh.
And another one who's, who's, oh, and two, you're seriously.
And it's like, Jesus fucking Christ, you know, I just think it would, it would lead to way too many questions, way too much doubt.
And I love that, that aspect from a player of being like, no, I want, especially in the playoffs, I want one guy.
I want one guy in between the pipes.
So I know it's going to be in there.
Consistency.
You know, I think as a player, you don't want questions and drama.
And that's the most important position.
So you want to be able to just, especially like around the room, you want to be like, okay,
sways our goalie.
Jeremy Swayman, good.
We're going to act like you're a starter.
We're going to, you know, make sure we give you the shots you need and we're going to,
like you don't want any gray area there.
So especially in the playoffs and the Bruins are terrible in the playoffs.
We all know that.
So they don't need any distractions, you guys.
They want to be.
So true.
Yeah.
It's just like devastating.
It's real, though.
All right.
So, I mean, this past week, there was some pretty crazy moves that are made.
I feel like, you know, we've got trade deadline coming up.
Stuff's buzzing.
Perry signs with Edmonton.
Jets make that big trade for Monaghan.
Obviously, the huge trade to Vancouver, sending Eliza Lindholm there.
Do you think that they're, first of all, what do you think about some of those moves?
Because those are three big teams.
I feel like Edmonton, Vancouver, Jets are three of the top four teams in the West right now.
Curious, what you think about how much those moves help those teams.
And then if you've got eyes on any other teams that you think that need to make a big move.
Yeah, I know you've talked a little.
little bit about this on your pod, John, but curious, you know,
what maybe you think is the best, best move so far.
I think, honestly, the best move is going to sound strange,
but it's the Perry one to Edmonton.
I think they had, he's been saying that.
They had a very good top two lines.
He's going to go in, and he's one of those guys where he's effective wherever you put
him.
You can give him seven, eight minutes, and he's going to make an impact.
You can give him 15 to 20, and he's going to make an impact.
You'll be on your power play.
I think he really shines in the playoffs.
Linholm will be great.
Monaghan will be great.
Those guys are better over.
all players, but I think Perry will make the biggest impact to the team. I don't think Vancouver
needle in home. It's a luxury. I think Monaghan was needed by the Jets, but they, they were already good.
I think, I think Perry puts the Oilers into that category of it. If they don't win, it's,
it's an upset potential. I like Edmonton. They're pretty solid. Yeah, you think that this isn't a
flash in a pan. You think that they have the legs to go deep. I think so. Yeah, I think so. Yeah,
I think so. Did you see Mick, do you guys at the All-Star game? Did you see McDavid?
Yeah, he was all right.
He invented a skills competition set up to win.
Just to embarrass the league.
He's like, let's do these.
Yeah.
Isn't it actually, sometimes it's, you know, we're in this world.
We watch games every single day.
And he still blows my mind sometimes.
There are times where I'm genuinely like,
I don't get how this guy is doing what he's doing out there.
Well, I don't, yeah, just every,
the best players in the world are there.
And then he just like makes them look like little kids.
Yeah, he was better at everything.
Not better at speed.
Everything.
Puck handling,
speed, stick handling,
shooting,
everything.
Like,
he's just better at everything.
Yeah.
I really like what you said
about Lindholm being a luxury
because I agree that team is so stacked and so deep.
I've got eyes on what that means for Vancouver's future.
Yeah.
I think I was very prepared for Elias Lindholm to be a rental.
I thought it was going to be a Patrick Kane,
Vladimir Tarasenko of last year where.
going to get traded to a contender making a cup run,
but not necessarily an extension is going to come with it.
We'll see what happens this summer.
The hall that they gave up,
that Vancouver gave up to get him,
to me means he must be signing.
There must be conversations.
And then that also makes me curious about what's going on with Pedersen.
Yeah.
He's not signed.
So there's a lot of interesting things going on.
You hearing anything about that?
There's no way they resign him, right?
Like he's going to be 30.
You have to resigned him.
signed Pederson, you still have a lot of guys
you have to lock up. It's just
they're all in this year.
Like they really only have a handful of guys
signed
even next year. So
maybe who you want? You want Pedersen,
you want Linhol. It's just, yeah.
You want Pedersen. I just don't know he wants to
be there. That's my question about PD.
And he'll be there. Yeah.
I like that. Actually fair.
That changed a lot.
And then
I've got, you know,
we've been hearing a lot of rumblings. Markstrom has been
kind of rumor to be on the move a lot.
And we've been hearing some stuff about him possibly going to New Jersey,
maybe Hannafin or other people added to that hall.
Do you think even with that move,
New Jersey can write the ship here and get into the playoffs or do you think they're done?
That it's so tight in the east.
All they need to do is get on a little run,
but it's just they need to get healthy.
I think that's the only thing.
They have the skill.
Can they get healthy in time?
I don't know.
Unfortunately,
I had them, obviously, I think everybody had them in the mix.
Oh, my God.
I mean, I had them winning the Met.
Yeah.
Jesus Christ, I think they're in sixth.
So it's unbelievable.
But yeah, I, they're so interesting to me because that, you're so right, the health.
We talked about that last episode.
It's you look at the struggles that they've had and you think about adding a guy like a Markstrom.
It's like, absolutely.
That makes them better.
But it's like, if these stars for them, Heeshire and Jack are just still hurt, what do you think is?
There's no point.
And then is Markstrom that much better,
Navajek and Schmead?
Maybe he is, but.
Yep, yeah.
No, it's a fair question.
And he's older.
That's what I'm saying.
Like the ceiling's higher,
but you don't,
you're not guaranteed to get that ceiling all through a playoff.
Because last year he was hot garbage and he was terrible.
You couldn't like give him away.
So I don't know.
I hope they make it.
They're a fun team.
I don't know what Dougie Hamilton situation is.
If he's back,
I have no clue what his deal is.
Yeah.
He's pretty banged up.
He's got a, I think it's a collarbone or, or it's a pack.
That's right.
He tore his pack.
And that's like, God, who knows how soon you could possibly.
Yeah, that's not good.
Especially with his game.
Like, that's devastating.
Wait, but I wanted to ask about Perry real quick.
Do you think the Oilers will do anything else?
Like, when they got Perry, I was kind of like, that was their big ad.
Do you think they'll add D or something like that?
No, I think they'll get a goalie.
I think you have to address that situation.
I know Skinner is a starter.
Skinner is a starter.
You have to get someone to back him up.
just as like a safety net because we saw in years past that's been their Achilles seal
Mike Smith the Jones,
every Campbell they need to have some kind of backup for him so it wouldn't surprise me if they
get a veteran goaltender kind of just ride shotgun with him.
Okay yeah wow love that call you so you just mentioned it with them who do you like this year
like do you think is oilers is your team from the west going to the cup you think no I don't
love their defense I think Vancouver is my team yeah really even with
kind of no playoff experience for this core.
No weakness that I can see on that team.
I think they're deep.
I think their D are great.
Demko's a real deal.
And I mean, we mentioned it.
I feel like it happened in the dead of night.
People didn't know it.
I think that Zadorov ad on defense was so huge.
And people were just kind of like,
oh, yeah, shit, that's a crazy move.
And it just, it happened early so people aren't considering it like a deadline move.
But it's even better because he's got more time with chemistry.
He's such a good defensive player.
I love that one.
I said it a little while ago.
I think they, in that locker room,
they are Western Conference finals are bust for sure.
Yeah.
Regardless of experience.
Do you think that matters, Sean?
Like, you know, they haven't had a playoff run yet or is it that matters less?
No, nobody.
I had Zedoroff.
I'll drop a little name.
I had him on my show about a month ago, like two weeks after he got traded there.
And his mentality is perfect for that team.
He just doesn't, he's all business.
And he will just drag guys to a win.
He's the guy you want to your team.
And then we had Connor Carland on too.
We're the Vancouver Canucks show.
That's that's why.
All we have is Canucks players.
But now they're a good team.
And then what about the East?
Panthers are all business, right?
Come on.
Panthers, yeah, they'll be good.
Is it Tampa Bay's Toronto?
Who knows?
Boston won't be around.
I'm sorry.
No.
Yeah.
I don't know.
Do you trust Boston in first place?
No, I don't.
I don't.
I really don't.
I think that they,
I'm fucking so rattled by
this Boston sucks in the playoffs because it's just true.
Yeah.
And I think that they are phenomenal team, but for me, it's Swamen and Olmark.
That's why they're this good.
That's why that they're in first place.
And as it always happens, you have this team.
Pasta has what, 70% of your goals this year.
You go up against the team in the playoffs and they have every day of game notes to prep
against you to figure out how you're playing, check your zone entry, all that stuff.
I don't care if you have
Dominic Asick and Martin Bruder in that.
It's like that is, it's just a lot
for a team to deal with.
You don't think Jake DeBrusk has it in him?
Did you level up?
What's funny is I think,
I think Jake will go three games in a row
where he'll score five goals of games
and then he'll go the next 15 games
and not sniff the net.
But those three games are beautiful.
Oh, it's a bunch of joy to watch.
All that whole draft is forgiven when he does that.
God, but I do think it's an Atlantic team though, John.
I do think it,
an Atlantic team's coming out of the east.
I don't trust anybody in the Met.
I agree.
I think it's Tampa's looking strong.
Toronto's always there.
And then I don't know.
I agree. I agree. Atlantic team for sure.
Florida's all right.
Florida's amazing.
Yeah.
Incredible.
Well, I think we got to let you go, John, to scoop the kids.
I got so many kids I got to pick up.
I'm sorry.
It's going to take an hour.
Before we let you go to go do the fatherly duties, is there anything that we can do
to roll out the red carpet for you?
Anything you want to plug?
Anything you want to shout out?
Yeah, tell everyone about the pod and your TV stuff.
Nope, I'm good.
Come on.
Get out of here.
Come on.
Tell people about the pod.
I have a podcast.
It's the second best one behind your guys's.
Dropping the gloves.
I'm sure.
Yeah, if you like empty netters, you won't like mine.
No, not true.
Not true.
It's every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, right?
You guys are good.
Yeah, we do it three days a week.
We get players.
We just do random stuff.
So it's fun.
Yeah.
Not as good as you guys.
It's a great show.
No, everybody give it a list and you'll have a blast.
Hence the big sponsors.
Bud, or Blue Light, Southern,
Labat blue light, Southern comfort, yep, Bet MGM.
Yep, a lot of ad reads over here.
I have none at all.
We don't have, that's the one thing we are going for us.
No ad reads.
So just straight.
There we go.
That is clean.
Yeah, we go.
Yeah.
That's beautiful.
All right.
Well, John, this has been a blast.
Thank you so much for coming on.
Hopefully we can get you to pop on again soon.
And, hey, we'll be in, we'll be in Michigan this weekend.
Oh, yeah.
Whereabouts?
We're headed to Detroit.
So we got plenty of time.
What do you do?
Are you going to the Redwood?
wings and doing something for them. Unbelievable.
Nope. Nope. We're just going to
Detroit to hang out with our friends. No name.
Yeah, you're right. Fair enough. No, no.
Tell me, now you've, you've lit
that fire. Who are your friends?
We're going to head over to Detroit,
do some stuff with the wings and
get some stuff going with Dylan Larkin.
He's a good buddy. How the hell do I get
any of this? Unbelievable.
Good for you guys. That's awesome. You come on.
You come on with him. Yeah. You've got to just start
traveling with us. There you go. Ask him about
the 2016 All-Star game. That's when he won
fastest skater and I was there and he cheated because he took a zone head start. He started at the blue
line. Yep. You got a running start anymore. Yep. Oh, yeah. Interesting. I mean, it's still the record,
right? I will. Shouldn't be asterisk. I know. Astrics everywhere. Yep. Yeah. All right fellows, good luck.
You guys are great. Thank you for having me on. Thank you. Thanks so much, John. Appreciate it.
Cheers. It is the heart of hockey season right now and you already know that we've teamed up with
bet MGM this season, the hands down best betting app in the game.
If you don't already have it, get on board right now.
Because like I said, playoffs are around the corner.
We're going to have some of the best games, the most exciting games going,
and you've got to get in on the action.
And bet MGM is the best partner you could ever possibly have.
And here's the deal.
If you don't have the app yet, we've got a great situation for you.
You're going to download that app and you're going to use the promo code,
Netters 150, and you're going to get 150.
$150 if you just deposit $5.
You're getting that 150 buckaroos on your next wager, no matter the outcome.
It is a no-brainer.
Just remember to use Netters 150 when you download and get signed up.
Get in on the action with us.
We're talking about it all season long.
It is the best way to play.
Disclaimer.
CbedmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., Mississippi, New York, Nevada,
Ontario or Puerto Rico.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800 gambler, available in the U.S.
Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope N.Y 467-369 in New York.
Call 1-800-next-step in Arizona.
1-800-327-50-50 in Massachusetts.
1-800-bets-off in Iowa.
1-800-270-1-1-1-17 for confidential help in Michigan.
1-800-1-0-0-2-3 in Puerto Rico.
First bet off.
offer for new customers only in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and hotel.
Okay, we are pleased to welcome on the MTV Nader's podcast, a Yuta Bora native,
a world junior bronze medalist, a Gretsy Cup silver medalist, a U-18 gold medalist,
the fourth overall pick by the Detroit Red Wings and the second teenager to score a hat-trick
in Red Wings history.
Lucas Raymond, welcome to the show.
Thank you.
Thanks for having you.
How is the pronunciation?
That was pretty good.
Not bad, right?
No, it's not bad at all.
I've got more coming your way.
I was going to do it, and I was like, I can't.
Hopefully I'd warm up here, but I felt pretty solid about it.
That's nice.
I've heard much worse.
I've heard much worse.
How was break, dude?
What'd you do?
It was good.
I was down in Kabul, Mexico.
Actually, first time down there, so it was a great time.
Just relaxing, you know, hanging out with the guys, getting some golf.
It was great.
How's the golf game?
Yeah.
Well, there wasn't great, to be honest with you.
I haven't swung it in a while.
But usually it's pretty good.
Try to play a lot in the summers,
but you usually lose it during the season.
Yeah.
Yeah, it's okay.
What kind of handicap are you carrying right now?
I like to say I have a Swedish one and an American one,
because every time I come here and play with the guys,
I get destroyed.
But probably around eight, somewhere around that.
That's solid.
Yeah.
That's solid.
Is Larks carrying the best one on the team right now?
No, he was before.
Well, I think Fisher.
Oh, shit.
Yeah, yeah.
He's a player.
But Larks is a great golfer, too.
We have a couple actually, like, Copper is really good.
Yeah.
Larks, obviously, fish.
A couple more goes good.
Benny and Chirot's good, too.
Like, DP, we have a lot of good guys.
I bet I could see D.P.
Yeah.
He's been around.
What kind of games are you guys playing?
Different.
Usually, it could be all different.
best ball, worst ball, like, just best score everyone against each other.
We did one, I don't know, it's an American name, so I don't know what,
but it's like some weird point system you do, like every whole, like, you pick a partner.
It's probably Wolf.
Wolf.
Yeah, yeah.
Wolf is gas.
Like, once you figure it out, it's pretty sick.
Yeah.
I liked it, but it took a while to figure out, but it's just different types of games.
Yeah.
Dude, was Cat jealous on the group chat when he was the only one?
I imagine tons of you boys were down in Kappa.
Yeah, probably a little bit.
But I think he had a lot of fun.
Yeah, for sure.
He wheeled, too.
Dude, he kind of lit it up.
I actually thought he got robbed of MVP.
I was like, they've given the hometown boys.
Hometown cooking on that MVP for sure.
Yeah.
He was good.
We watched some of the highlights down there and watched him,
and he seemed to like it a lot and seeing his kid too.
That was awesome.
Yeah, yeah.
That's sick.
Dude, how necessary is that break in that little vacation for you guys?
Like I don't think we talked about it a lot
We talked about it on a couple episodes ago
It's like I don't think people really
Appreciate the grind that the season is
And how little time off you
Yeah in the seat
Like they're on your gaps yeah
So like are you guys
I mean obviously to make an all-star game
Is incredible you're gonna make a bunch of them
But is it a really welcome break
When you're like fuck yeah
I can just like take a few days off
Yeah
Like this year's like I've gone torch for it
But the previous two years
I was actually staying in Detroit.
So I was staying here.
Just like,
wanted to chill?
Yeah, I don't know.
I don't want to talk about it.
Me and Moe.
Looking back, maybe not the greatest decision.
But, like, I think my thought process was like,
okay, like, I'm going to stay here, you know?
Like, we'll do stuff.
But so this year...
Like fun stuff?
You're like, we're going to relax.
Yeah, like, we were relaxing.
Like, we would, like, play tennis or tried to
and, like, you know, stuff like that dinners.
But this year, I actually went to.
somewhere and it was huge like I felt a huge difference and like you said like you play so many
games and we went to Sweden too so like our schedule was kind of crazy like trying to catch up
so just to get away and like just see different things and try not think about hockey I think that's
you know huge and but at the same time you also like start missing it a little bit you're like
yeah no doubt it'll be fun to get back so it's been it's been really good and hopefully it works out
yeah dude we're actually talking about the uh when you're on a heater as a team like the oilers
were yeah I feel like when this break comes you're almost like don't want it this is terrible
timing and then bang they lose to Vegas yeah it's almost real that's such a good point the as jealous
as I am of your Cabo trip I got to tell you we got to play in a three-on-three tournament in
Toronto with all-star jersey oh yeah true so dude we've made an all-star just so just to be clear
so you know you something you aspire to next year when you're thinking about it be like yo CP
was that was that the outdoor one yeah yeah it was pretty sick dude I couldn't believe
the jury like we signed up or they asked it to play and i was like yeah great we fill out all this
stuff you know it's like jersey number or whatever and i was like yeah cool they're gonna give us like a
penny yeah and i get there and it's like fresh as hell like NHL all star jersey i was like
dude it's i'm sure there's areas in sweden that are same way but like the multiple odrs in
can yeah so sick like it's sick when you're just driving around you're like oh there's one
there's one there's one it's fucking sick i love numbers do you guys go with okay good question
dan we have a buddy that we play with all time right and his name's johnny great dude he always
always pick 66 every time we're doing custom jerse and we always make fun of them for it so he picks
66 for this and then dan we're we've grew up near boston right so we're bruin's fans dan plays d so he
so he was like oh johnny took 66 i'm gonna take 77 for ray bork and whatever and they get the
symmetry going and they're looking at me and i was like i guess i got to go 88 that's a wild
dude it was so interesting seeing the three of us plugs we on the iconic numbers fucking brutal
Unbelievable. Unbelievable.
All right. Anyway, let's let's, I'm going to zoom back. Okay.
U18's 2019. You guys hosting, Sweden hosting, you guys show up and there's, that year was like that stacked U.S. team.
I think Jack maybe led the tournament points. Cole was MVP.
Canada won their group.
US won your beat you, you guys only lost was that U.S. team.
Those kind of look like the favorites.
They're getting all the hype.
You guys upset Canada in the semis, right?
Yeah.
U.S. gets upset by Russia.
Sweden, Russia final.
And what do you do?
Just have the Hattie in the gold medal game.
First goal of the game.
Game Tire in the third.
O.T. winner, dude.
No U-18 team had ever won a gold medal.
You guys pulled off in your home country.
Just, I mean, tell me about that.
What was that game like?
What was that moment like?
It was crazy.
It was sick, actually.
Like you said, like you in Sweden, it's different.
Like, it's not like in the U.S.
Like, you'll play national team,
but it's usually a different.
Like, it's whoever's been good that year kind of.
But we had played with each other for a long time, and we've always, like, we never really were the top team in the tournament.
US was obviously always good and the Canada team, Russia.
So I think we just, like, even though we were playing at home, we weren't the favorites at all.
We just went out there and played, and then obviously with the fans that helped a lot.
And, yeah, it was crazy.
Just everything, family, friends, like Swedish fans, it was a sick tournament.
Yeah, and I mean, imagine, because I think I'd read the Sadeen brothers maybe won something in 20th, like a world championship maybe.
That was the last time any Sweden team had won at home.
Yeah.
So to be able to do that just must have been icing on the cake.
Yeah, no, it was fun.
And it was also what was sick was like a lot of the equipment managers and like physios and stuff like that.
I've been around for very, very long time.
So they've been through all that.
And like for them to, you know, to experience that with them as well.
That was a lot of fun for sure.
You guys did beat a wagon of a team.
Like, I figured you're a run.
Yeah, like, I know you're probably, you know, onto the next.
Like, you're trying to win a Stanley Cup now.
But I would look back at that tournament and the guys in the league on USA, particularly,
be like, that was a big win.
Dude, which, which was it the first?
Which one was the inside outside?
Was that your first one?
Yeah.
It's so disgusting, dude.
I can't believe that.
I was, like, watching the highlights in that game, and I was just, like, played that one back 15 times.
Yeah.
That was ridiculous.
No, that was fun.
Yeah.
Tell me about dish a little dirt.
Like, what did you guys get up to?
after. The creasing is almost nothing because the city we were in, I wish we did. I'd love to tell it,
but the city we were in is like up north. Like it's not a very big city. Yeah. And I think it was like
on a, it wasn't a Friday or Saturday. Oh, fair, right. It was like someday I was like, I had my
parents there too. And like they're all, I wasn't 18 at that point, but obviously it would have
done something. So like afterwards we went out and it was just like empty. Like it wasn't even a
Tuesday. It wasn't even like.
It wasn't even a bar open.
Yeah.
Like, so.
I feel like they should have like, you know,
someplace.
Yeah.
That's what I'm saying.
Yeah.
I know.
I know.
They're not fading us like, yeah.
Seriously.
They're taking down the Russia banner.
Close.
Just close.
No, it was fun though.
Like we did, I remember we went to like, we had this like, it was like a smaller
hotel.
So it was only us there.
So we did.
That's kind of fun.
It was, that was fun.
So like we did something there and like partied whatever.
Like you, it was.
wasn't really anything and like the coaches were there and like they were like yeah guys can't
drink whatever even after come on like yeah i think some guys were 18 at that point i was younger
some guys were 18 and they went out to get some beers but nothing was open like and there it's
like where you can buy in sweden you can't buy at like gas stations or anything okay it's a special
store uh so that was obviously close so like it was i mean just chilled i guess yeah went home at like
seven the bus was the next morning
yeah just that's kind of awesome though like you sit
there and you probably you guys probably were just like fuck
that was nuts like you know the amount
of rehashing of the game that I do during beer league
when I'm like pull it in the locker
I'm like boys you see that one pass I made in the second period
I imagine you guys at least got that experience
for everyone in the hotel room just reminishing
on all the greatest moments for sure for sure
I remember during that tournament we played so much Fortnite
hell yeah like we played Fortnite all the time
so like we probably did that just like
but at that age you're like you can have fun with anything oh my god you know you can do anything
it'll be fun so uh yeah it was guys are just playing like knee hockey in the hallways yeah
two liter of mount you 100% really honestly i'm thinking about that right now which we should do
this after yeah and listen announcement to everyone all the bar owners and restaurant owners and
liquor store owners in sweden listening to this next time you're one of your iHF team wins gold
at home open up loose yeah what the fuck you got to be open
for the boys out.
Agree.
Well, dude, obviously you had an unbelievable performance in that game,
and it kind of brings up this topic that comes up with you all the time.
Your old for Linda coach, Tobias Johansson, has said that you are like the best big game player he's ever seen.
And he's not the only one.
It's every level you've played at, every coach you've had, family, friends,
always say that you elevate on the big stage better than anyone they've ever seen.
And I'm curious what you think it is about your game and your mentality that does that.
because it is true, dude.
Like, you know, you do that in the UA teens.
You then come to Detroit,
and you have all these insane records,
like second, you know, a teenager ever to have a hat trick.
You've got all these records that the only other two
that you're sharing them with are Iserman and Gordy Howe.
So, like, pretty good company.
So what do you think it is about your game
that makes you able to do that?
That's a tough question.
I don't know.
You know, I think growing up,
Most fun games were always like
You know when you play like junior tournaments
It was always like the semifinals
The finals, like when it meant something
Yeah
So I think I think it just comes from me thinking that
That it's fun
You know not really feeling any pressure
Just like
Trying to have fun with it and play your game
And you know I'm very
I'm very competitive person
So I think that plays a big part of it
Just like you know
Growing up I have an older
brother we usually compete in everything we still do but uh maybe a bit more childish when we're younger
but i think it just comes from that just you know wanting to win and you know trying to try to
compete as much as possible well dude it's interesting because speaking of hugo he actually has said
that you are more competitive with your mom than anyone else what's that about i don't know like
when i was a younger i was a snap show too like it would be the weirdest things that i would just
like compete like i've been nothing uh
So with my mom, it could be anything, and she's probably the same way, too, or she is the same way.
Yeah, so, and I was younger, they probably, like, playing whatever.
It could be playing cards, like anything.
It could get a little wild, but I think that's fun.
So there was nothing in particular that you and your mom went head-to-head out all the time?
It was just like anything that was going on?
Yeah, like a lot of things I'd say.
Like, it could be playing cards when I was younger.
Just playing cards were found home with the family.
It could get a little while.
I don't just arguments like anything and the one I always wanted to is it was fun but
um I don't think particularly I don't think it's like small things all the time yeah well I mean I can relate
dude I can't play a fucking board game without one of friendship over each game yeah like why lose that's my
whole it's like if we're gonna do something if I'm gonna put my time into it I want to win I've had to quit
playing some casual games because I'm like oh yeah you are never gonna speak to me again
it discontinues like even golf dude yeah I struggle with golf yeah I'm like if I don't shoot a fucking
I'm gonna kill something.
And people are like,
you've never sniffed a 68 in your life,
so shut the fuck up.
It's crazy.
One word you said there was pressure,
which I love,
because I remember,
I'm a plug,
but I remember in mites or squirts or something,
we had won a championship
in our little, like, sea coast division,
and I had a great game in the championship.
And then the next year,
I remember one of my boys being like,
dude, do that every game.
And I was like, well, I was fired up,
dude, it was the championship, you know?
And I think pressure is a way to view that, right?
Like the way you said, you're like, it's a big game, but instead of feeling the pressure, you just kind of feel the fun.
Yeah.
Do you think you have always responded well to pressure like that?
I mean, I think so.
I think it's also about, like, finding stuff that, like, ticks you off.
Like, yeah, nice.
Obviously, like, it's easy and, like, big games because then you, everyone has something to play for and everyone is, like, super motivated, right?
So I think it's about, like, also finding that in all the games, you know, like, in the regular season, all, everything you play, just.
just trying to find ways to, you know, stay motivated and find that extra, extra edge.
I think that's a big thing.
Do you think that's translated to the NHL?
Yeah, for sure, for sure.
That's a big thing, too.
Like, you come to the here and it's 82 games.
Like, a schedule is crazy and, like, your body and mentally, right?
So I think that's even more important then, like, to try to find ways every night to bring it.
Yeah.
Now, is it true?
Yeah, absolutely.
Is it true that when you were seven, you used to rip pucks at your coach and then hide behind your teammates?
I don't know who told you that, but yeah, because, yeah.
You did do that?
Yeah.
No comment, too.
No.
I liked my coach.
I want to put that out there.
We had a lot of fun, but probably about maybe, yeah.
I don't know what.
I imagine you're not doing that now.
I'm definitely not doing that now.
No, no.
Let's talk Global Series.
You mentioned you guys were in Sweden earlier.
Obviously, very special experience for everybody, but certainly for you.
Didn't get the results you guys want.
We actually had a ton of money on you guys in the Ottawa game.
And you go down for nothing, right?
And we were like, oh, it's over.
And then you guys come roaring back and we were like, high-five into the bar and everything.
It was crazy.
It was crazy.
It was amazing.
So exciting.
But one thing I thought was so cool was the Global Series goes there in 2018 and, you know,
Connor McDavid's walking around your hometown and you get to see what a cool thing it is at the NHL's here.
And then flash forward a few years, you are one of the,
those stars that young kids where you grew up are looking at you like wow that's what i want to be
someday so first question is just like if you've been able to reflect on that at all how did that feel
it was it was nice it was a lot of fun uh like when edmonton i think it was edmonton jersey right
yeah in my hometown i was i was at the game and i live in the city so i would see those guys
walking around and just remembering how cool that was so when we got the chance to go there i was
really excited were they playing in the furlunda bar no
they were playing at Scandinavian.
That's right.
The big one.
The big one.
So, yeah, like, when I went there, it was an awesome experience.
I think all the guys liked it as well.
It was just, like, a bunch of different things,
being able to show the guys Sweden, like,
just culture there.
And then obviously being able to, you know,
try to do as much as possible for, like you said,
kids and stuff like that when you're there
and, like, trying to, you know, show off the game to them.
I think that was a crazy experience.
Yeah, I mean, surreal moment for you.
Yeah.
The boys on the team wouldn't shut up about all the restaurants you took them to.
Is that a passion of yours?
How would you such a good tour guide?
Yeah, no.
I mean, to be honest, I had a little bit of help from a guy.
But like, as is you're right.
Yeah, you got to wave in the hometown home.
Yeah.
And it's tough, man, getting 25 hockey dudes.
And they don't want to eat at the local.
I don't know.
It was tough, but we had a lot of fun.
Yeah.
the guy helping me in Stockholm, he did a great job of just setting everything up.
And like the biggest issue was like the amount of food, right?
Because like they said like, okay, this should be enough.
And I looked at us.
Like this is not going to be enough.
This is a starter.
Yeah, like guys eat.
But we had a great time.
It's also like none of them have their families.
So like you only hang out with each other, which is great for us, I think, as a team too.
Like looking back, coming back after that, I think.
that helps us a lot.
Okay, well, actually, I wanted to ask something about who was the most adventurous eater,
but since you just brought that up, because I wanted to ask you this too,
we had said, when you got, before you guys left, we had said, going all the way back to that
Bruin Stanley Cup, where they, where were they?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, they were in check.
The point is, I've seen across all sports, when teams kind of go on that huge international
road trip, they always come back with like, man, we're so bonded, this team's going
to do something special.
So I wanted to ask if it felt that way for you guys, and it sounds like it did.
Yeah, I did.
like because you like obviously we spend every day with each other almost except for a couple
days a month so you're around each other but it's also like it's the same you come into the rank
you practice like you hey uh so like go there you're having dinner with each other lunch you're
doing things in the day like all that stuff i think that was that was big for us and i
everyone really felt that it brought the team close you're still feeling it now yeah yeah
yeah amazing okay so then back to my original question who is the most adventurous eater on the
squad and who was who was terrified of everything uh that's a tough one like we tried some Swedish
like uh it's called the toast again okay it's like it's got it's great yeah shrimp toast have you
try it's so good it's amazing oh i have it i have it in my fridge at home you do yeah yeah
yeah yeah we're gonna get into that yeah we're gonna get into that yeah we try that and a couple
guys were like i don't know blah blah but then a couple guys were like oh shit this is I love this
So it was like we I also
We ate a lot of like meat
Pasta like Asian fusion
So it wasn't like a lot of crazy crazy meals either
But I'd say most of the guys
No yeah I say most of the guys
Tried almost everything
Okay
Did you feel like you know you've talked about this a lot
With how it's pretty amazing getting drafted by the wings
When they have a history of unbelievable Swedish players
Did you feel like when you got to Sweden with the team
There was a noticeable reception from people
in Sweden being like the Detroit Red Wings are here or do you think it was kind of
partially because of you yeah yes like in general just cool to have NHLers there
no you could really feel it like I feel like I feel like us Toronto yeah
yep like you could really notice that especially like you know all the sweets
that have played in the Red Wings yeah it's awesome like Red Wings are probably
the biggest team in Sweden by like NFL NFL fans
So you could really feel that.
And then also Detroit, there was a lot of fans from Detroit who flew to Gothenburg.
Oh, sick.
Yeah.
So, like, when we played, it was like a, not a home game, obviously, but it was like,
I was expecting, like, the crowd would be a little bit more quiet maybe because there's not
really these fans there who, like, really cheer for a team.
But there was a lot of Detroit fans, a lot of Toronto fans as well.
So, like, when we played Toronto, that was a sick game.
Oh, wow, yeah.
Even the Ottawa game was a lot of fun, obviously.
Oh, no doubt.
The Toronto game in particular was a lot of fun.
Did you go bankrupt giving away tickets?
Yeah, close to it.
Close to it.
I'll never financially recover from this.
No, close to it.
I was for sure not playing free.
I was paying to play, but it was totally worth it though.
Of course, dude, yeah.
All the family and stuff.
It was a lot of fun.
Yeah, it was a lot of fun for sure.
Dude, I obviously you're going to say this regardless because you're smart.
But when you got to.
drafted by the Red Wings with all that history that we just talked about, was there an added
element of you that was like, oh, fuck yeah. Like, I, I mean, the dream is to make it to the
NHL. Then you get drafted by an original six team that's on the come up in a big way,
and that happens to be the wings. That must have been extra special. It was. It was for sure.
And even, like, my dad was, like, super excited because, like, the NHL players that he knew
was, like, all the Swedes that have played with the Red Wings, right? So get drafted by the
Red brings was for sure best thing that that could have happened and then just the
aftermath to like being able to to talk with those guys like I had a lot of communication
with Chrome Wolf right after I was drafted and that was sick just talking to him and it was
crazy like he's a guy that you like watch highlights of right on your phone like Stanley Cup
winner and everyone knows him and then I'm on the phone with him like weekly and he's just
chatting to me like just the guy yeah just like anyone he's telling stories and like
so like that was really cool and something that that you for sure take with you definitely what was the best piece of advice that he gave yeah great question coming into the league uh you know i think the
the biggest thing he was like just play your game yeah you know like just play your game and you know be humble and work hard i think that's like it's so cliche like everyone says it but it's like it's what work what works yeah yeah like and i think the biggest thing is just play your game you know like yeah
Um, they drafted me because of the player I, I was not, um, you know, so don't try to change
that.
Just play a game and try to elevate it.
Yeah, you're right.
And it is, you know, you could look at that as cliche or something that's so obvious,
but yeah.
You're so right, man.
It's like, when you get to this next level, it's so easy to be like, oh, shit, you know,
this team wants me to be a, a penalty killer.
Or they want me to be a grinder down low in the boards and shit like that.
And you can just completely flip what's worked for you, your whole career.
Yeah.
So to have a legend like that, not only in the league,
but someone who's from the same country as you
who played for the same team that you're about to play for
giving you that reassurance
must have gone miles for you
that's amazing yeah it was fun
and even like when you like when I came here
started playing and then like Zetterberg comes around
and Liddstrom yeah
Holmstrom Erickson like all those guys
you're like wow and they're just like I said
talking to you like you're like they're nothing
you know they're just like regular guys
you guys just boys now yeah it was awesome
and it must mean something to you too
to kind of be continuing that legacy
You know, not saying you're like putting yourself in that category already, which I think you're going that way.
But that must be a cool feeling just to be like, okay, here we go.
I'm next in line.
Yeah, like that was a big thing too.
Like coming here, you could really feel the history of Swedes here in Detroit too, like that they kind of paved the way for guys coming after.
So, you know, I love Detroit.
And, you know, you have a lot of things.
Like, you hear a lot of things about Detroit coming in here about the city and stuff.
And since I got it, it's been awesome.
and the fans are incredible.
Like you watch eight mile one time
and you're like, what the fuck am I headed?
And it's sick.
Yeah, and then I look out the window,
the ball marks, everything's amazing, dude.
Yeah.
Two years ago, it was so unbelievable watching.
I mean, following you in training camp and all that
and all the stories about making the team
and then you burst in and have this unreal rookie year,
it was extra special seeing you do it with Mo.
And that was just such a cool thing.
It's like, you know, if you're a fan of the league,
it's always sick to see new talent come in,
to see a, you know, shining forward that we're going to watch for the next 20 years and then a
defenseman at the same time on the same team. So cool. And then to hear that you guys were just like
buds living together, even cooler. So talk about, A, the experience of how much easier it was
living with him, being able to go through those motions with someone like that. And then also
the bullshit you guys got up to living together as just two rookies in the league living in Detroit
for the first time. Well, it was awesome. Because like you said,
said both of us were kind of going through the same thing yeah it was our first year we were young we
were new in the city like um so to be able to go through that together was huge for both of us and then
even more so living together yeah so i think both of that like that helped both of us a lot just
talking you know like and we're both young like we're still very like we just do stupid shit right
you don't know a lot um so we just had a lot of fun like
I don't think we may be cooked once.
Dude, my next question was going to be,
were you a full Uber Eats household?
And it sounds like it would go like either go out to eat or order in.
I'd say every night.
Yeah.
We never cooked.
And he's actually like a pretty good cook.
I found out afterwards.
Yeah, you're like, what the fuck, Mom?
Make me a meal one time.
He cooked, he cooked a couple times, like maybe once or twice.
But I never cooked for sure.
I'm not a great cook.
but yeah we would just like practice come home chill on the couch and we'd go out and toss the football
around for like an hour yeah play like mini golf inside the apartment like townhouse great move dinner
watch movie and then just rent some repeat every day it was awesome what were your go-to spots
yeah where you ordering from uh and going out to eat yeah it was a lot of pasta we found this pasta
place where we lived out in birmingham nice uh which was great
and then the sushi spot that we did go to a lot and then just regularly like steaks yeah
we would like we it was different because like the food like it's either sushi pasta steak like there's
not really any other options that you like we never did like Thai or yeah Chinese or anything so
we just like rotates on five spots for that's the best one you find it that's what you wanted
or no other options because there's no good plate there's no good Thai places out here no
Oh, that's what we wanted.
Yeah, okay.
You just keep it in that reaction.
Yeah.
But it was cute.
Like, we were going on dates.
I was about to say, dude, it was like thinking about you guys getting back from practice or games.
I mean, like, all right, let's go to that.
Yeah. It's fucking awesome.
I know.
It was awesome.
But the big question, dude, have you replaced his mini football yet?
The fuck.
No.
No, I never did that, actually.
Dude, you have a easy birthday or Christmas gift.
I know.
You wrap that up with a nice bow and he opens a new mini football.
He's going to be over the moon for a year.
I know.
Maybe I did.
No, I did not.
I did not.
But it was like we were, someone stole it, to be honest.
I was about to get it.
We were tossing around outside.
That is bullshit, dude.
No, no, no.
A little kid stole it.
A little kid stole it.
I tossed it on that balcony and I came out the next day and it was gone.
It couldn't have gone anywhere.
The kid took it.
Dude, but if a little kid sees a mini football on his balcony, he thinks Santa has made
a weird mid-season pit stop, so I don't blame him.
No, I'd never got him one, but.
What was?
It was like a little lion's ball?
No, it was just like,
Was it like squishy or was it?
No, it was like a, just a mini actual football.
Yeah, yeah.
It was like anything special.
It was special to him.
It was special to him.
It was special to him.
Well, what's the deal, dude?
Why'd you move out?
You guys had a great thing going.
Well, yeah, we did.
But it was also like, he, it was, like, he rented the place.
Yeah.
And then we like came friends and he's like, hey, let's stay together.
I was like, yeah, sure.
And I was still waiting on my like,
the housing letter.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So I was staying at a hotel downtown.
So then I was like, yeah.
And then I got the letter.
And then I was like, okay.
And then he had his family coming.
I had my family coming from Christmas.
And then I was like, I might be a little too tight for everyone.
So that was kind of it.
But like, even when I moved out, we still dinner every day.
Yeah, yeah.
It's sick.
So such an awesome thing to have.
I mean, obviously, the boys get tight real quick.
But, like, if you have something like that in your first year,
someone who's going through the same thing,
it's just, like, such a dream.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No, it was fun.
Do you remember?
Because I had this revelation a few years ago where, you know,
I don't play sports anymore.
I'm trying to stay healthy.
And I was like, dude, cereal is awful for you.
It's disaster.
And so now I can't have cereal anymore.
And now I find out that Moe's got this delicious, healthy cereal.
Yeah.
I forgot about that.
What is it?
I need you to remember immediately.
because I need to know
it is. It's some German secret shit, dude.
We gotta find it.
It's crazy.
He would order these, like, cereals.
He's a very healthy guy.
He's a very healthy guy.
Like, doesn't drink any soda or anything like that.
So he would order these cereals, and I tried it on one day, and it was like chocolate,
like chocolate chip cookie.
And it was like all these, it was unbelievable.
It tastes like candy.
Yeah.
And I was like, dude, like, what's happened to you?
And he's like, no, they're healthy.
Show me the packet.
It was like, no sugar.
Like, good for you.
What the fuck?
When you get.
to the rank tomorrow.
You got to ask him.
I'm going to text
right after.
Let us know.
Yeah.
We got to get that
on order.
Dude, I think the thing
I miss most in this world
is when I could just like
anytime you're snack,
bowl of cereal.
And now I do that
and I can't walk for two weeks.
It's so fucking bad for you.
It's unbelievable.
Okay, we'll get to the bottom.
We got to get most healthy.
It's like,
no question.
Yep.
All right.
Let's talk draft real quick.
Well,
part of it.
The COVID year,
right?
So, you know,
you're at you up at 2 a.m.
Or whatever.
Wait for your day to get called.
stay up late night ever before game um but you i'd read that you would said you had a good dialogue with
stevie y pre-draft so you kind of had a sense that he might take you you know whatever yeah my biggest
question is tell me about that dialogue dude we've heard some crazy stories about stuff stevie
asked guys and what he's talking about pre-draft so what were those combos like uh honestly it wasn't anything
crazy like i uh i also heard a lot of crazy yeah it's coming into it uh i think that's what we're
starting to learn dude it's all just rumors smoking dude to put you on a edge no i
I know, like, I have some close friends who's had some crazy stories, so, like, I know what happens.
But coming into that, it was also, like, I did everything over Zoom.
Sure, yeah.
So I wasn't, like, in person with him.
But, like, just talking to Detroit, I just had a good talk.
Like, Steve, we, I wouldn't say we talked a lot.
Like, he was obviously on the meetings and asking some stuff.
Yeah.
And obviously, all the other guys on there as well.
But coming into it, I was, like, talking with my agent.
And I was like, do you guys know anything?
And they were like, we have no idea.
And then I got a couple hints.
So coming into it, I was like, I had like maybe a couple teams that I knew.
And then I was obviously hoping for Detroit.
And then that ended up happening.
You're like, dude, I got to be in bed by two.
Top five or bust.
Yeah.
Jesus Christ.
But and then what about what about now?
Like how much do you interact with Steve now?
Like, is he in the room talking to you guys a lot?
Or you never see him or how does that work?
No.
Like he's down there and we obviously talk to him and he's he's good in that way.
He isn't like in the locker room like stuff like that.
He's just like around and you know if he wants to talk to you about something, you know, you'll talk.
And then obviously if you can bring it up to him too.
Yeah.
If he wants to talk to you, is that usually bad news?
I don't know.
Both yes and no probably.
But he's really good that way like with the dialogue.
And even when I came in, he was really good.
Just, you know, letting me know that if.
I needed any help or anything like that,
that he would be happily helping out.
Yeah.
He's been good to me.
That's great.
You kind of mentioned this before,
but is it extra motivating with guys like that and Zetterberg
and everybody just kind of like walking around the organization?
You're like, Jesus Christ, I got a standard to uphold here.
Yeah.
No, for sure.
And like it's crazy.
Like you,
I want to say you get used to it.
Yeah, no, I know what you mean.
If you like see those guys around, like you're freaking out usually and then they're, you know,
just chilling walking around.
Yeah, yeah.
Steve yeah what do you call him Steve Steve Steve Steve you don't call him Stevie why man I'm I've
always really thought I mean we grew up Bruins fans but Littstrom was my favorite player growing up
and I always kind of had a kinship for the wings and then fell in love with Datsuk so I was like
this is my second team I fucking love the way yeah I feel like maybe more than any other team and
that's ridiculous to say when you think about teams like the canadianes and even the Leafs
but there feels like there's such a aura of the Red Wings
with just the city and your team
when you talk about guys like Steve being in charge
who is a legend for the team
you got guys like Cronwall
who are reaching out to young new players
and I think it even goes as far as like Larks
being the captain who's from this area
went to Michigan is like just a lifelong wings guy
do you feel like that's something that you guys feel
in the locker room and around the training facilities
that's like it does really mean something to be
a Red Wing and part of this organization.
100%.
100%.
And just like you walk around in the locker room,
you see all the plaques and all the records that have been broken,
you know, the Stanley Cup banners.
Like you see all the individual trophies that people have won.
It's inspiring.
And then just the city of Detroit, like during my three years here,
I can't remember one night that the crowd had been good, you know?
And we've had some tough times.
Yeah.
So this year, you know, I think we've been playing really good.
So it's been really fun so far to be able to give that back to them.
And it's a lot of pride in wearing the Red Wings logo.
And I think everyone feels it and everyone definitely knows it in the team and around the team.
Absolutely.
You talk about year three.
And we've touched on, you had this unbelievable rookie year, got fucking jobbed in the Calder.
Yeah, Mo, fuck you, Mo.
No, fuck you.
Not Moe.
fuck you bunting fucking 30 year old rookie um but then you know you guys still rebuilding last year you have
like a dip i guess you could call it but you're still buzzing out there absolutely and then you come in
this year and you're on fire and you're on pace to you know shatter all all of your points that
you've set from rookie year what do you think it is about this team your mentality where are you at
physically mentally emotionally that's made you take this jump and has you guys feeling so
good right now? I think a lot of different factors. You know, obviously I think the way our team
is built this year. I think that's, I think it's working really good just with all the different
parts we have. And also, like, I feel like every year, like, I was talking about this by the other
day. Like, if you look at our first year, how many guys are still on the team compared to this year?
I think it's four guys excluding me them all.
Yeah.
So it's changed a lot, but it's gotten a good pace.
Like, it wasn't like we felt like, oh, my God, this is such a big difference.
Like, it's just like progressively got into a good direction.
And, you know, for myself, I feel like, you know, I come in, I'm 19 and everything's
brand new.
You're, you know, just playing off adrenaline and everything's so exciting.
And then, you know, next year, it's everything's different.
So I think I'm just settling in.
and just trying to play my game, I guess.
Absolutely.
How real do you think chemistry is?
Like you're playing with some of these guys now,
you know, Larks now, you've got three years with them.
Do you think that that is something that's really noticeable for you
and the other guys you're playing with?
I think so for sure.
I mean, obviously it's easier when you do something with someone
for a longer period of time.
Like you just notice this patterns, like where people like to be on the ice.
Yeah, yeah.
The way they skate move, I think it's, it's easy.
easy to adjust to and obviously I've played a lot with Dillon so it's you know it's just
makes off yeah trying to find him yeah trying to find him in speed but I feel like that's a big
thing with our team this year too like we can mix with the lines so much and still everyone feels
comfortable playing with with with everyone just the depth with we have in our lineup and you know
then obviously I adding adding to it helps a lot so I just like the way our
team is playing and functioning right now, I guess.
Speaking of that depth, I had read a quote you had where when I think maybe it's the
off season when you were bringing in all these bodies and it's like, someone had asked
you what do you think about that and you're like, well, it's good.
It's competition.
You know, everyone raise your game up.
So talk a little bit about what that adds and also kind of just the belief that you're
getting from management, right?
Like, hey, we're going for it here, dude.
This squad's great.
So we were talking about before, but hit us about that and like guys like Caner being there
too.
Yeah.
Yeah, like you said, when you have that many good players,
like obviously everyone wants to play and everyone wants to play in good situations.
And, you know, I think it ups compete in everything,
and that's healthy competition.
Yeah, yeah.
It's not like you want anyone to do bad.
You just want to get better yourself.
And I think that's the thing about our team too.
We have so many competitive guys.
And you can see it in games.
Like we were talking earlier, we were at the Ottawa game where we're down.
and just the way we were able to come back in those games,
I think that says a lot about our team.
So I think that's a huge part of it.
And then obviously, you know, Caner coming in,
one of the best players to play this game.
So obviously, you know, means a lot for us,
and he's been great on and off the ice.
So it's been fun.
And you were saying seeing him 30 minutes before,
30 minutes after practice, right?
It's like if he's doing that,
everyone's got to commit, right?
Yeah, for sure.
And it just builds a culture, I feel like.
Yeah.
And guys like that, you know, guys look at and you kind of follow.
And if you see him doing that, like, there's no reason why you shouldn't.
Yeah.
So real, dude.
So real.
It's so real.
Yeah.
It's unbelievable.
Well, you guys are right in the playoff mixer here.
Talk to us a little bit about, and I know you're talking about the barns,
always packing everything, but just what it would mean to you guys in the locker and
but just the fans, the city and everything to keep this thing pumping in the right direction,
get in the playoffs and start making some runs.
It made it a lot for a lot of people.
I mean, just saw the Lions when they met this push.
Just how the city is just, you know,
rallying around you.
That's got to be motivating, right?
For sure.
Like, we were playing.
They were chanting Jared Goff all the game.
Yeah, fuck yeah.
Which is kind of sick.
Yeah, you just see the city come alive and the city's had so much success.
Like, if we're talking about the Red Wings,
And, you know, it's been, it's been some time.
And I think everyone's eager to get back there.
And, you know, we have some players on our team, too,
who's been here for a very long time.
It's been through all of it.
So, you know, I think everyone's eager to get back there.
And obviously, the playoff would be great.
How much you guys talk about that?
Is it not at all?
It's just next game, next game?
Or are you guys, like, watching the standings,
like, come on, boys, we're so close?
No, I wouldn't say we'd talk about it a lot.
It's more like, obviously, everyone has it in the back of their mind.
Like that's where we're what we're playing for, but I think to be able to get there, you have to take it, you know, just short steps, you know, just game by game, week by week.
Like, otherwise you just get go crazy, I feel like.
Yeah, true.
But obviously it's in the back of our minds.
Yep.
Amazing.
Before we play a little past shoot score, I want to ask one question.
Is the white or the red jersey cooler?
That's a tough one.
I know.
It's the hardest question I've asked anybody.
Like, I'm one month.
I love to do it.
I like both.
I'd probably say the red one is more like powerful
Yeah, good word for it
It's a sick, yeah, it's a sick Jersey
Dude, I feel like when you're at LCA
And the fans are blunt red too
That's fucking sick
But the white ones just clean too
Oh my god
Fawls by the best of games
Sports, yeah
My favorite
Okay so we close out with everybody with this game
It's called pass shoot score
Yeah
So we pick categories of things we think you like
We list three options
And you have to rank them
Pass shoot score
Okay.
Pass is your least favorite because it's, you know, passing the puck's cool, but we're trying to score.
Shoot is your second favorite because we're going to get a puck's on net.
Score is your favorite.
Okay.
Okay.
Here is your first one.
Pass shoot score.
The category is music.
Okay.
Matthew Wilder, break my stride.
Florida Georgia line meant to be or the killer's Mr. Brightside.
So Brightside is for sure score.
For sure.
Dude, that song came into your life.
And you fucking loved it ever since, eh?
Yeah, well, that was my...
Tell the story of you just hearing it at the rink.
That killed me.
Oh, I love when I hear it at the rank, for sure.
And it was also me and Mo sang it together at Rookie Party,
so that's why it's very dear to my heart.
Yep.
And then what was the other one?
Florida Georgia Line?
Yeah.
Meant to be.
Or you can pick whatever Florida Georgia Line song if you like more.
Meant to be and Break My Stride.
So, break my stride is shoot.
Because when me and Mo were living together,
Every time we drive into the arena, we'd listen to that song, every game.
Or every game.
Every game, we'd turn that on.
So that's number two.
Did you do it at a specific moment every day?
Like, would you hit a part on the drive that you're like, okay, time to play it?
Turning off the highway, and it's like a minute and a half left.
Yeah, perfect timing.
That's fantastic.
And then Florida, Georgia Line pass.
Yeah, well, it's a good song.
I like that song, actually.
What kind of country you listen to?
I know you're a bit of a country guy.
Yeah, I like country.
I like Morgan Wallen a lot.
Oh, yeah.
Sack Brian, I like a lot.
And then just random different country songs.
I feel like this country playlist.
Are you listening to Swedish rap more than American rap?
Or has American rap taken over?
I don't listen to a lot of rap.
Yeah, I do listen to some American rap.
Okay.
A lot on the pregame playlist is a lot of American rap.
Can't avoid it.
No.
Yeah.
So not a lot of Swedish rap, actually.
Okay.
Your next pass shoot score is going to be the goat.
category.
Yeah.
Yes.
So number one, Michael Jordan.
Yeah.
I know you love the last dance.
Yeah.
Number two, we're in Detroit.
Pavel Dotsuk.
I wore my short for you, dude.
It's your guy.
That is a secret.
Sure.
And number three, Zlatan Abrahamovich.
Oh.
Wow.
That's a tough one.
That is a very tough one.
I'd say Jordan is probably number one.
He's scorer.
It's just the greatest athlete of the world time
Unbelievable
Other than Tom Brady
Yeah
Other than Brady
Maybe yeah
I'm a big football fan
And then I'll have to go with that suit
Just because I watched him so much growing up
Yeah dude he was fucking
The Magic Man
Yeah I watched
I almost know all these highlights
And then Slatan
I have to take a pass
Even though I love him too
Yeah
Now are you a big
Soccer football fan
Because you went to the FA Cup
Manchester Derby dude
Yeah.
Do you have a team?
I do.
My Chester United, unfortunately, right now.
Yeah.
Well, hey, we're a Chelsea fan, so I feel like a lot.
I feel you big time.
It's tough times.
Very tough times.
It's...
Do you want to keep Ten Hogg or no?
I don't know, to be honest.
Like, I don't think so anymore.
I did before.
Yeah.
Now I just feel like he's got so much time.
Dude, nothing's getting better.
No.
Like, that's the problem.
It's getting worse, to be honest.
Like, last year was not bad.
We finished, what, fourth?
Yeah, you had to nowhere, by the way.
Half of the season, I was like, man, you's going to get relegated.
And then, and now, like, Rashford just, like, doesn't play.
Yep.
No.
Holland hasn't scored.
He has, like, one goal.
Central's leaving, like.
Yeah, it's tough.
We have a lot of guys injured.
We have a lot of guys.
Yeah, yeah.
No, you.
You do.
Yes.
They have a lot of guys injured, though.
But, no, I'll probably go watch them this summer, too.
Yeah.
Dude, well, I was going to say, you're lucky on the East Coast and the West Coast, the
Prem games are a night.
Are you guys soccer fans?
Huge, really?
Seriously, like, huge Chelsea fans.
That's nice.
I have a Chelsea shirt on under this.
You do?
Yeah.
I literally just wore mine on the plane and just change out.
Yeah, that's right.
My Datsing shirt on for you.
Yeah.
Because similar talking time zones, you were like, it's hard to watch it in Sweden.
But you were like, all I could find was all the Datsu Kailites.
I know.
That pumps me out big time.
Yeah.
Amazing.
Okay, here's your next one.
This category is movies.
Pass shoot score.
Scarface, the entire Harry Potter franchise.
or a romantic comedy with a happy ending.
Well, a romantic comedy with a happy ending.
It's probably a goal.
Yeah.
Easy score.
Yeah.
Dude, we have to talk about that quickly.
Yeah.
Completely agree.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Dude, we got back from Toronto for All-Star.
Yeah.
Absolutely crippled.
Yeah.
And it's pouring rain and a little.
Oh, yeah.
It's never rain.
Which doesn't happen.
It's raining.
Yeah.
Layed down on the couch, no joke, watched three rom-coms back to back-to-back.
Best day of my life.
You just get in a good mood.
Yeah, it's the best.
The new one, what is that one called?
How new.
It's...
The Sydney-Sweeney one?
Yeah.
No hard feelings.
Anyone but you.
Yeah.
Watch that twice.
On cinema.
In theaters, both times?
Oh, yeah.
Fuck, yeah.
Twice on the road with the guys.
That's amazing.
Different group or the same group went both times?
Like, did you see it twice with two different groups?
Three of us were the same persons
And then one guy
It was one guy first time
And then another one.
Who were the three?
Fantastic.
It was Caner, me and Cat.
Caner?
That's surprising to me.
That's surprising to me.
Well, it was like we were
We were gonna watch a movie
We wanted to go to a movie
Yeah
First time and then it was new
Everyone's talking to us
Like, okay, let's see it
And then the second time
We were about to watch another movie
And then we show up
And we had the wrong time
Oh no.
So then that was the only
movie.
We were there.
Run it back, dude.
Oh, well.
I have to watch it again.
Sometimes the second watch is better, dude.
You're ready for the jokes?
Yeah.
I actually liked the second one at the time work.
I mean, dude,
sometimes you're laughing too hard.
You miss Joe.
Yeah.
Mo went first time.
He was out the second one and then Larks watched it
with us the second time.
That's beautiful.
It was great.
That's great.
What are some of your favorite romantic
comedy with happy endings?
That's a very,
very tough question.
I like,
That one might be one of the top of the list.
Okay.
That might be some recency bias, to be honest with you.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And then I like the one with Ashton, no, yeah, Ashton Kutcher and Milakounis.
Yes, dude.
No, no, no.
Wait, that's right.
That's the new one.
You're right, you're right, you're right.
The new Netflix one.
Oh.
No, I'm thinking about an old one.
The no strings attached.
Okay, so that's Natalie Portman.
Natalie Portman.
Milakunis is in the other.
loosely
guidelines on relationships
with Justin Timberlake
called Friends of the same time
I like both of those
I like both of those
then also Adam Sandler has one
which I think is hilarious
dude he's got just go with it
he's got 51st dates
yeah he's got some bangers
I like those a lot
yeah
those are good ones
yeah okay but you got to finish
Scarface and Harry Potter
then I'll go Harry Potter
shoot oh nice
Scarface had passed
he's haven't watched Scarface
to Man's
No. Oh, okay. You got into Potter recently, though. Yeah. No, no, I watched it. It was a while ago now, but I watched all of them. Has Moe seen him yet? Yeah, most. No. What a clown? No. I'm going to send him a football and we're going to get him a box and we're going to get him a box at 100%. A happy guy. 100%. All right, dude. My last one for you is Midsamar related. Now, I've got to ask what, in your opinion, like where's the best place for Mitzamar at home?
So I would say there's a plate, Lexand? Have you ever heard of Lexand?
I have, yeah.
Yeah. I've never been, but I've heard it's midsummer there. It's unbelievable.
Okay.
It's unbelievable.
And what's up with the archipelago? Like is that?
What?
It's, was it called in Gothenburg, the Archipelago or whatever?
It's like those little islands around the city?
I'm probably saying it's so.
Oh, around Gothenburg?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Is that spot like money to do Midsomara?
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
That is dynamite.
There we go.
So Gothenburg's number two.
Okay.
That I'd probably say like...
Well, no, no, no.
So here's your pass chute score.
Yeah.
We're doing Midsamar foods.
Oh.
Okay.
Sill?
I'm going to try to get the pronunciation
for you on all these.
Yeah.
But you've got to say what it is for the listeners.
Okay.
Everyone else doesn't know.
Pickled herring is still.
Yeah.
Gotta go mustard too for me.
Yeah.
Kinnooka brood?
Yeah.
And then this is my favorite word ever.
Yorgibstorta.
not bad.
My last one was really good actually, yeah.
There you go.
It was really good.
Shout out.
So my girlfriend is Swedish.
Oh, really?
And she helped me a ton with these.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That was actually really good.
Thank you.
Yeah.
I'm working on that.
Oh, he really was the whole flight.
Yeah.
That is, I have yet to actually have.
So that last one is strawberry cake, by the way.
Yeah.
I have yet to have that and I need to make it immediately.
That is for sure score.
Yeah.
The strawberry cake.
Yeah.
Wow.
And then the second.
one you said it's like the crunchy bread yeah yeah yeah yeah i'd say that as a uh shoot yeah and then
sell the fish thing as a pass because i don't not into it it's a pretty gnarly dude i we did
he because um alice came yeah and we did a midsumar at the house and we that was there right we had
oh yeah we had that yeah we had a two we had aquavit we were doing the song it was fucking
yeah we did the song that was like hey long go something like that's something like
Yeah, it's fucking awesome, dude.
The seal was a little intense.
I thought I was going to like it.
And I was like, whoa.
In the mustard sauce, I like it.
I like it's like either you love it or you like don't like it at all.
Yeah, yeah, agree.
But, uh, Toskegan is, that shit is fucking gas.
That's why you have it because your girlfriend's Swedish.
Yeah.
Yes.
And it's amazing.
Yeah.
It's like so.
Yeah.
That's bomb.
Yeah.
That shit is so fucking good.
They usually have it on like the golf course in Sweden.
Like halfway house.
Oh, yeah.
That's nice.
That's real nice
We're gonna start doing that
That's insane
What a good snack
And then
Okay so that's like I feel like I would
Be the same
That would be my same
Yeah
I gotta try the strawberry cake
And are you an aquavit fan?
I fucking love Aquavit fan
But you'll do it
I'll do it for sure
Yeah you got it
Do you guys do big Mitzamars
Or are you like kind of
Yeah
No big we usually do like that
Big family thing
Or do you do it with the friend
Do you do with everybody
What's the deal?
No like when I was younger
It was family
family thing.
Yeah, yeah.
You do a little bit more calm.
But now, like, when I've gotten older, it's usually, like, a bunch of friends.
Yeah.
We'll do, like, we'll go golfing in the morning.
Sick.
And then we'll go out to a friend who has a house, like, on the water.
So we'll do, like, water, like, have, like, the big thing that you dress up, you dance around.
Oh, sick.
Yeah, yeah.
Have you guys seen those?
The maple?
What is it called?
A maple, right?
But I don't know what if it's called for Mitts Omar, but, yeah, that's what it looks like.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
So it's like in that area, it's like one of those huge ones.
And then everyone who lives in that area comes to that place.
Yeah.
Just dance around it, I guess.
Just a little.
Then you decapitate somebody and those human sacrifice starts.
Have you seen that movie?
Which one?
Midsomar.
No, I haven't.
Don't.
Don't watch it.
If you like rom-coms with a happy ending.
Yeah.
It's a horror movie that came out a couple of years ago.
And it's about like a group of friends that goes to Sweden from Mitzmere.
And it's, dude, it's one of the most unsettling movies I've ever watched them.
Oh, it's fucking horrifying.
I'll do it.
I know, I was like, this is such bullshit.
Like so many Americans are now like, what the fuck goes on at midsummer?
This is insane.
It's awesome.
It's awesome.
It's so much fun.
It's like an all-day thing and then you have lunch, dinner, and then.
Yeah, it's the best.
And strawberry cake.
Strawberry cake.
Boom.
Yeah, dude.
We got to make some of that.
All right.
Lucas, this has been a fucking blast.
I can't thank you enough.
Before we let you go, is there anything you want to shout out, anyone,
anything you want to plug?
Say what a hello to?
No, I think so, to be honest.
Thank you, boys.
That was great.
Oh, my God.
Absolute blast.
Can't wait to have you on again.
And then we'll also fucking see you rip it up on Saturday.
Yeah.
Beautiful stuff, dude.
Boom.
Thanks so much.
Thank you guys.
All right, squad.
We got to take a quick break so I can talk to you about Southern Comfort.
No matter where you are, no matter what you're doing,
Southern Comfort is the best spirit in the game to keep the party going.
Because it is made with the greatest ever blend of fruits and spices with a dash of whiskey flavor.
Whether you're in a cold city area or a warm city area, I was kind of going to say it's getting colder.
It's the winter right now.
Soco gives you that nice warm feeling.
But if you're in a sunny spot too, it is the best spirit to make a cocktail with.
Me myself, I'm a big Soco diet Dr. Pepper guy.
Might sound crazy to you, but give it a shot, I guarantee you'll love it.
And if you really want to keep the party going, whether you're with a big group of friends,
bachelor party, bachelorette party, something like that, get to the bar and order.
some Soco sour shots, one part Soco, two parts sour mix. They are the perfect recipe to keep
everybody buzz in. Southern Comfort is that phenomenal blend, that phenomenal flavor with that
classic whiskey touch that you love that's going to keep everyone in the crew happy. Southern
Comfort is the way to go every time. Huge thanks to John Scott and Lucas Raymond. Also want to give
a huge shout to Detroit, dude.
Yeah, dude, what a time.
We had such a good time.
We were joking.
I felt like sometimes if you go to a city like Philly and you're given the city shit,
Philly people are like, fuck you.
You're like, go Philly.
Jersey too.
Yeah, yeah, you go to Detroit and everybody was like, what do you guys think?
And we're like, we're having a great time.
And they're like, oh, man, thanks so much.
We're okay, right?
We're not too bad.
Like everyone there's just so self-conscious about Detroit.
But I was like, hey, keep that head up, baby.
This place is awesome.
I know I know that we're really positive guys and we'll tire pump a lot, but I genuinely mean it when I say I had such a phenomenal time.
I think that downtown Detroit area is beautiful.
I mean that.
It's such, there's sick architecture, there's amazing food, and the people are just so nice.
They just love Detroit and want other people to give Detroit a chance.
And I couldn't have had a better time.
Shout out the David Whitney building.
Unreal stay.
shout out the Detroit Red Wings.
Their team was so incredibly nice,
brought us in,
showed us a great time,
and we just had a blast with Lucas
and the other interviewio that you'll see.
I'm not going to,
we've got to keep it under wraps,
a little tease action.
But truly, had the best time.
Let's pop it into some armchair GM.
We've got a little bit of an all-star break.
So, Blake, give us a rundown on where we stand.
Yep, so just to update the standings,
so Dan has 95 points,
and Chris is 99.
It's nice.
How the fuck is this kiddie?
It's still above.
So, well, we didn't, so we didn't, we didn't draft any teams over the All-Star
break, and we left everything as is.
So this week, we're introducing our first theme.
Oh.
The first theme, every player that you select must be over the age of 33.
So 33 years or older.
Very cool.
So just to kind of mix things up and put a little flare on it.
And everyone's available, right?
because we...
Everyone's available.
It's been too long.
Just need to be 33 and older.
Okay.
I got first pick.
Is it just a guy I want to take?
I just would feel stupid to not take him, I think.
So I'm going to do it.
I should have checked games.
Fuck, I'm behind the eight ball, Blakey.
All right, give me Crosby.
It was my first pick.
Just like, let someone else have him one time.
No.
He's my golden boy.
Bitch.
I'm going to go Victor Hedman
I'm starting with defense that's my guy
I love Vic
That's good
Rocked his number at All-Star weekend
So give me
All right I'm gonna go D2
Give me Brent Burns
That's a good pick
Big point guy
Thank you Blake
Headman has more points than him
This is
What the fuck dude
I like
Thought of like everyone's gonna think of
Who would have thought of Brent Burns
He had like 75 points last
year. Give me a break, dude.
I'm going to go Brad Marchand, having an unbelievable season.
Oh, good one.
Yeah.
Without Bergeron.
Fuck you, Blake.
I love Brad.
That's my guy.
When's the last time this happened?
All-Stars a few years ago.
Ride the hot hand.
Give me Alex Ovechkin.
Oh.
How about that line?
Oh, man.
I wanted to take...
This isn't who I was about to talk about.
I just wanted to take Stoner, but he's not quite 33.
I'm going to go friend of the pod and go Matt Dushain.
That's another good thing.
He's on a tear.
He's on a tear right now.
How old is Dutchy?
Dutchie, I think, is he's either 34 or he's about to turn 34.
No, I think he's turned 30.
No, no, he just turned 33 in January.
Dude, there's a goalie I want.
There's a goalie I want so bad, but I just don't know how many.
starts he's going to get.
I'm going to bank on him getting one start and the shutout and the win.
Give me Johnny Quick.
Oh, that is a gamble.
Okay.
I'm going to go, I need to go to the tape here.
And not on age, on position.
Daily face off.
Daily face off.
Which team?
I can't even see Chris's facial expression.
Go to the Dallas Stars form.
This is what I said.
I couldn't believe you didn't take him right away.
Who is it?
Joey Tip Drill, Pavelsky.
Is he a right wing?
Or is he playing?
He is a right winger.
Would you look at that?
My next pick will be
Joe Pavelski of the Dallas Stars.
That's very bad for me.
I got two stars, though.
So I'm riding high on Dallas.
Okay, right wing.
Give me
Claude Giroux.
Damn.
I like it.
I like it.
I'm surprised that this
fell to my lap,
but Eric Carlson on defense.
Yeah, okay.
Okay, with my last one, right?
My last bit?
Give me,
I'll double up on Penguin today.
Give me Chris LaTang.
Okay.
And I just can't believe this.
You know,
the starts thing is,
is a question, but I just feel like this was obvious.
And when you went goalie first and you didn't take it,
I was pretty shocked.
I'm obviously going to take Sergey Bobrovsky.
Very good goalie.
Very good goalie in the league.
What the fuck are we doing here?
Hey, Johnny Cook's having a year, dude.
Markstrom was also available.
I, Marstrom and Bob were both players of the week this week.
So I felt like those would have been the obvious too.
Okay, that's our armchair GM.
see how we stand after the week. Now we got to get into saucy predictions. I don't even want to
talk about what they were. We both picked the couple of games leading into All-Star Weekend. We both
got them all wrong. Yeah, so wrong. So we're both eating hot sauce. Let's get ready for our
picks this week. Do you have yours prepared? Yeah. So do I. Let me sauce up here. I'm going to get one of
these weeks, guys. Dan's in office. I don't know if this is getting recorded, but Dan's in office.
Yeah, it is. He's eaten the last dab. I had to go buy some, a salad that had chicken on it, peeled the chicken off, bought the hottest hot sauce they have, which is Habanero, and it says genuinely hot on the label.
Can you see the label? Yeah. What pisses me off is we have no way to verify if this is actually hot for Chris.
Oh, shit. I just got some of my nose. I'm about to die. Fuck.
This is all bullshit, dude.
It's either going to be a cakewalk or we're going to need to...
It's some trade of Joe's.
Let's get this going.
Cheers.
Ready?
Okay.
Oh, we're just going right now.
Yeah.
We're going.
Hold on.
Here we go.
Yeah.
I forgot water again.
No.
I've got to learn to deal with it.
Some of the Soco right there.
I hate this segment.
Mine might be worse, dude.
It's such bullshit.
I swear to God.
I have another piece.
I'm going to start the Los Angeles Kings' first game with Jim Hiller
behind the bench was an emphatic win over their rival Edminton Oilers.
I feel a hiccup coming.
They have four games from now until next Monday.
The Buffalo Sabres, the New Jersey Devils, the Boston Bruins, and the Pittsburgh Penguins.
I want to say the L.A. Kings will be two and two in that.
stretch. But I feel like you guys
might tell me that that's not hot enough
or saucy enough.
Any more than that.
So I'm
I just
nailed it. I'm going to say
they'll be three and one. So kings
go three and one over the next four.
What's brutal is
we're going to know if I'm fucked by Thursday.
And I'll be at that game.
I fucked up.
This is hotter than the one we have at the office.
This is a fucking disaster.
All right.
The abs, uh, lost four straight.
Holy shit, dude.
They got capitals on the road, lightning on the road,
uh, Yotes at home before next step.
They scored six goals in their last four games, all losses.
They're going to get hot.
They're going to turn it around.
They're pissed right now.
Very winnable games coming up.
Not talking about record, but in the next three games,
the abs are going to score 13 goals.
in the next four?
Three.
Five, four, four.
Actually, probably four, four, five, in that order.
So 13 goals in their next four games?
Yeah, next three, but.
Wow, okay.
All right, those are our saucy predictions.
We'll see how we're doing.
Guys, we've got another big week of travel coming up,
headed to Stadium Series.
We're going to be in New Jersey at MetLife.
For the Devil's Flyers, Rangers, Islanders,
tilts outdoors if you're in the area follow us on the iG meet up with us say what's up can't wait
for all this coming up hope you enjoyed this amazing episode with the great interviews with john
scott and lucas raymond we will see you guys in new jersey and then we'll see you next week on
the pod and until then skate hard
