Empty Netters Podcast - 76. Are The Rangers Playoff Tough and is Daniel Sprong Getting A Stanley Cup Tattoo?!
Episode Date: February 28, 2024Daniel Sprong joins the podcast! The boys talk about being an NHLer from the Netherlands, and Spronger’s amazing path to the national. Patty Kane returned home to humiliate the Blackhawks and spoil ...Chelios’ big day. The Bruins are officially on Fraud Watch, and Matt Rempe is going to fight himself into a large coffin! Chapters (0:00) - Intro (1:10) - Kaner and Chelios Return to Chicago (7:09 - No Buckie warm up (7:17) - Rangers streak ends (13:38) - Toronto is streaking (17:30) - Toronto’s Regular season does not matter (20:00) - Western conference wild card (25:20) - Eastern conference wild card (34:30) - Daniel Sprong Interview (36:00) - Moving from Amsterdam (40:42) - Playing with Ovechkin (46:00) - Playoffs with the Kraken (51:00) - Playing in Detroit (56:45) - Game stick superstition (1:01:13) - Giving #88 to Kaner (1:04:45) - Pass, shoot, score (1:23:21) - Arm Chair GM NEW EPISODES EVERY WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, the New York Ranger Street comes to an end.
Blow up the team. Trade everybody.
Matthews is the fastest U.S. born to 50. He's going to be the fastest to 80, too.
Patrick Kane returns to Chicago and Pipslaps everybody in that city.
And our boy, Daniel Sprong, joins the pod and gets a massive netters bump, if I do say so myself.
He sure does.
Ice is ready, and we are back and in Nashville at the almost Friday.
sporting club. We've got an unbelievable episode coming for you today. As CP said, Daniel Sprung of
the Detroit Red Wings is joining the show. And we have had possibly one of the most electric episodes
and electric weeks in hockey in a long time. Dude, we, uh, every, I'm fired up. I'm, we're back in
Smashville. I couldn't be happier to be here. I'm buzzing. There's just so much going on. There's so
much to talk about. I think we get right into it. We've been on the road for a month. I'm losing my
shit. Yep. There's no better thing to do than just.
Just dive right in.
DPs in London, no time to talk about it.
I was in Tampa, no time to talk about it.
No time to talk.
You know what we can talk about?
Hockey.
Patrick Kane.
Dude.
This guy.
Actually, first, dude.
Before even this guy.
Big Night in Chicago,
another one of a dear friend of the pod,
Chris Chelyos,
getting his number retired as a Black Hawk.
Extremely cool.
Came out in a Cadillac.
Queen waving.
Oh, yeah.
Chelly.
He's queen-waving.
Doing his thing.
You want to hear a fun staff?
Yeah.
Chris Chelyos played more games for the Detroit Red Wings than he did for the Chicago Blackhawks.
That cannot be a real stat.
Sure is.
Look it up.
Blake, look it up right now.
That cannot be.
Because I want to know the exact numbers, but it's so funny because he's a Chicago guy.
Big Chicago guy.
He's an Illinois guy.
He got his boat.
Yep.
He's ripping around.
He is very much embraced Chicago lives.
And he is a Black Hawk.
No doubt about it.
Yes.
He has more games as a Detroit Red Wing than he.
does has a Chicago. I was actually laughing when he was given his speech, which we're going to
talk about in a second, but I thought it was, it didn't occur to me till he was talking that
Kane did what he did. Like when he was like, Kane, how's that, that Jersey looks kind of weird.
I was like, oh, right. You did that too. And that was a wonderful thing with that he said that he was
like, but don't worry, you're going to be standing right here where I am someday too, which I
thought was very cool. Yeah, he then said two things that we've got to talk about that are of
note. He said, one, Patrick Kane is the greatest American player of all time.
He also said, don't show me up tonight.
Yeah.
Okay, so let me address number one.
Both things are true.
Blake, check the tape, and we'll have to do this as an edit later.
But I'm quite sure that Chris Chelyos came on this very program in this very city at the Bet MGM Sports Lounge down the road.
Yeah.
And we did a blind ranking of Best American Players.
And the first name out was Austin Matthews.
And he said, one.
He did mention Caner.
But he was ready to slot Canaan at two.
Yeah.
You're right with that.
He could have said, when we said matches, he could have gone two
because he was waiting for Kane, but he said one,
and now he's dappina. And listen,
I get it, you caught up in the moment. He's a show.
You're in Chicago. And Dan, you are right.
Chelly played more games in Black Oaks. How many?
I don't have the exact numbers.
Still hockey reference will have it, yeah.
Chris Shelley was more of a Red Wing than he is a Black Hawk.
That's crazy. Okay, and the second thing he said was
Don't Show Me Up, and he sure did.
Patrick Kane, O.T. Bang.
Actually, showtime is Showtime.
He's the Heartbreak Kid.
He comes in.
gets a breakaway that might as well have been a shootout.
Correct.
And absolutely cheeses.
When you was shoulder checking, I was like, oh, God.
Because I knew he was going to slow down.
Does the delay?
Backhand, forehand, forehand,
feints a, you know, a little deep move and then just tucks at top cheese.
Beautiful.
I'm here to say, Patrick Kane played like shit that game.
Who cares, dude?
Who cares?
People don't want to talk about.
And you know what else?
This is...
I love the headlines.
saying he played like shitlight game and i'll tell you what he's lucky that seth jones missed the net by
fucking six feet yep and that puck comes ricocheting clears out to cat no cat made a good pass yeah
yeah he did but like cat made kind of just he just threw it to space got lucky that it got to cat
because of the setth jones shots and then he just tossed it and dude patrick can't is just floating
on the red line i was going to say watch that replay like well chelio says it all time he goes
the great fours what does he say anticipate dude but literally
They come down on a three on two because it's right.
Like Kane gets caught.
It's a three on two.
And the second Kane realizes, I actually give him credit for this,
the second he realizes I can't affect that play on D.
Like I'm too far to back check.
No, I'm telling you, he goes like a-
Oh, fuck off.
No, because you don't know that you can't,
you don't know what's going to happen.
Maybe there's a rebound that squirts out to that point.
And if you're back-checking hard,
you can break up that point shot.
That's bullshit.
Well, maybe I get a break away and win the game.
Yes, yes.
But also, maybe if you back-check hard,
you break up a shot from the point.
Did you see him after he scored?
He won the gamble of maybes, but don't tell me that he scored going, showtime, showtime.
At the crowd.
So my last comment on this is I love the motherfucking he did.
Dude.
Because you love when you see it right.
Like Blake, you know when someone gets traded to another team, they score a big goal and they go like this?
No.
Not, I'm not celebrating.
This is my old team.
He was immediately looking at the.
Chicago fans be king.
Like, Walmart tried to grab him and he was like, no, dude, this is my moment.
Showtime!
Showtime!
Mother fuck you!
I was like, wow.
In the crowd, they were actually cheering.
It was pretty cool.
Like, they were fired up, I thought.
I don't know if you guys saw this, I put up a cap cut about it that was, it cracked me
up more than it cracked the viewership up.
But it was Kylo Ren, and it said, Kane, when he gets a OT breakaway and his Chicago
return and he goes, I know what I have to do, but I don't know how to do it.
What's funny is that Cain's like this.
Oh, I know exactly.
Yeah.
And no, no, no, he says, I know I have strength to do it.
Yeah.
Last thing I want to say on that was Badard got a little high and tight on Caner in the corner.
That was a fun comment.
That was an awesome.
He's like he had the bubble on.
Yeah.
Incredible.
I think, I think I got to just, you know, put some ownership here.
I'm a dash one today.
Chelly has played Chicago Blackhawks.
He's played 664.
Red Wings.
He's played 578.
Okay.
So I'm a dash.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And about the Patrick Kane thing, I was looking at all this.
I was looking at his stats the other day, or actually today.
And his eight hits.
Caner.
I think it's eight hits and three blocks or it's the other way around.
That's funny.
And it's this season?
This season.
I mean, like he's not playing a full season or anything.
Oh, right.
Fair.
But it's hilarious.
I think he has.
How many times does he have?
27 games, 28 points or something like that.
Does he?
Yeah, he's over a point per game.
for him. Yeah.
Hell of a night, though, in Chicago. That was really cool.
Damn, okay, I was close. But it's
close to anything. It's way closer than I thought, Dan.
All right, next thing I want to talk about, massive stick
taps to the New York Rangers. Their 10 game win streak has come to an end
at the hands of the Columbus Blue Jackets.
I don't think stick taps at all, dude. I think it shows
how weak they are, how pathetic they are. You lose to the Columbus Blue Jackets
after breaking a franchise record and winning 10 straight.
Pathetic.
And you lose to the blue jackets, dude.
It just shows how fake they are.
I think you trade Chesterkin.
I think you trade Zabinajad.
It's all over.
Fuck this team blown up.
Here's all I want to say about this.
Actually, I want to say two things,
and then I want to be fair to Rangers fans.
Yeah.
Because a lot of stuff that has been said recently by us about the Rangers,
I, um, specifically for me, at least, the Panarin goal.
So many people were like, dude, you hate the,
Rangers, if that had been the Islanders, you would have thought it was a cool goal.
Incorrect, sir.
I think that was stupid, no matter who did it.
The Bruins could have done it.
I would have think it's stupid.
I want to say this.
The Rangers, when they weren't playing that good, we said they weren't playing that good.
When they were playing sick, we said they were playing sick.
I don't think that's flip-flopping.
I can say you're bad right now, you're good right now.
Okay?
So I want to say that, and I feel like you want to interject something, go.
So go.
I don't know.
I just, I didn't want to waste time.
It's like the Rangers fans, the fucking mouth breather.
of the Rangers, which is not all of you,
but the portion of the fan base,
which every fan base has,
that yells at us about flip-plop.
Dude, this is our job.
Yeah.
Look at our Twitter right now.
Look at any of the past three episodes.
Who's on Fraud Watch right now?
The Bruins.
If we're a fan of a team,
it's probably the Bruins,
if not definitely the Bruins.
And they are on Fraud Watch, dude.
They suck right now.
I put out a tweet the other day
in the months of January
or, excuse me,
in the months of December and January,
the Rangers were 500.
They were 14, 12, and 2.
That is fucking pathetic
based on how good
they are. So, of course, we're going to
be hard on them in that stretch. And my favorite thing
about Rangers fans and passionate
fans is they're the first
to fucking blow it up.
Like, Rangers fans were the loudest
on Twitter being like, Jesus
fucking Christ, trades have been a jed.
This is fucking terrible. We're so
bad. And now they're on a tear.
and they're like this,
you guys said we sucked.
And I'm like,
so did you,
assholes.
Yeah.
So I completely agree with what you're saying.
It's like,
dude,
yes,
if you are a good team,
which the Rangers are fucking good,
and you struggle when I don't think you should be struggling,
I'm going to talk shit about you.
I've done it to the Bruins.
I've done it to the avalanche.
I've done it to the Kings.
I've done it to the Jets.
Here's the reality.
The Rangers are fucking good.
And I am saying right now,
I think the parents are,
The Panthers are the best team in the East.
Me too.
But some fans and the Rangers fan base aren't going to accept this.
I think I'm officially hitching my wagon to the Rangers, dude.
Oh, whoa.
Like, I just...
I didn't see this coming at all.
I like the team.
Obviously, Cridey is my guy.
I fucking love him.
But you know I love Keandre.
He's had maybe a bit of a slower year this year.
I love Ziba.
Bread is so fucking fun.
Like, I think a legitimate run by a New York Rangers team in New York City is fun.
And I look at the East and other than Florida, I don't see anyone that I'm going to have fun with.
If this Rangers team keeps this pace, I think it's going to be fun as hell.
And I want to see it.
All I'll say is this, nothing would make me happy.
year. Well, things might be happier, but it would be a blast for the Rangers to go on
run because A, we have friends on the team. B, it's New York City. Like, I would love to be, like,
that would be sick. Yes. If pre-deadline, because I think moves are going to be made, maybe not
because of Dolan. But the, I think the MET lines up favorably for the Rangers. If they
finishes the one seed, which they will, I think there are a couple wild card matchups that could
line up that I don't like for them, to be very honest with you. They could lose in the first round.
Oh, my God. But let's say they catch the wings, for example. No offense.
I'm like this.
I think they probably beat Detroit
and then they probably beat the Cains
and now they're in the conference finals.
And I wouldn't pick them in that,
but that'd be cool.
So if Rangers fans,
to be fair to you,
for the flip-flop crowd,
if you hear me not facetiously
for the rest of this season going,
I think the Rangers are going to win the cup,
then you get to call me a flopper
because right now I think conference finals
is your ceiling.
I'll stamp that.
Do I have permission from the two of you
to go on a 30-second rant?
Fired up.
30 seconds, but then I'm cutting you off.
Last week, we talked about Dolan.
That is my actual.
issue. The only thing I actually hate
about the Rangers is Dolan. And let
me say this, on the topic that we brought up
last week about the whole
draft being at the sphere, Dolan
being an owner of the sphere,
and what he has said about not being
willing to trade a first round pick.
Dude, you look at the Eastern
Conference Finals. We like the Panthers, right?
Yeah. You like the... Oh, yeah.
You like the least, but we like the Panthers. I am realistic.
I know the Panthers are a better team.
The Rangers are a top contender
in the East, they have a legitimate chance at going to the Stanley Cup.
If you as the owner of the New York Rangers
prevent Chris Drury and your management group
from trading a first round pick
that could potentially get you a piece
that helps you get to the Stanley Cup final
because you want a first round pick at the sphere in Vegas,
we need a hostile takeover and we need to send this man to prison.
Yeah, agree.
Not remove him from an owner of the Rangers.
We need to send him to prison.
How would me in the ass prison too, dude?
Actively prevent your team from a better chance at getting to the Stanley Cup
because you want a presence in the first round at the sphere.
You're a fucking scumbag and you don't deserve to own the team.
And I will personally be the first person holding a pitchfork and a torch outside of his house
to forcibly remove him from ownership of that team.
And remove a first round pick from their team for a good player.
I'll do the trade myself.
Yeah.
Okay.
Next thing I want to talk about some more stick taps.
The Leafs, Blakey.
Did they play tonight?
No.
Okay, so they're currently on a seven-game heater, very sick.
Matthews fastest US-born to 50.
A couple Matthews things,
so we don't need to talk much about Matthews because we've done it,
stroked him off the last two episodes.
But as he deserves.
As he deserves.
spit, lube, all the goods.
He deserves every rub and tug in the game.
50 goals in 54 games.
That is Wayne Gretzky shit.
The record was, the U.S. born record was 50 goals in 62 games held by, do either of you know?
Brett Hull?
Austin Matthews.
Broke his own record.
Wow.
Bitch.
And he now has the record for fastest active player, which was McDavid, 50 and 61.
He did 50 and 54.
Okay?
Here's another stat I just wanted to show you.
And I sent you this, Dan.
This was from like a couple days ago.
I was in Tampa.
Austin Matthews 36 goals since December 2nd.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
If Austin Matthews started playing this year on December 2nd,
he would have 36 goals, which would be second in the NHL this season.
Oh, my God.
From December 2nd, it.
And then last thing I wanted to read,
This was tweeted Austin Matthews through his first 511 games of his career, 327 goals.
Ovechkin through his first 511 games, 315 goals.
So Matthews 12 ahead of Oval.
What's so crazy is like Matthews is like, Ove's going to break Gretzky's record,
and Matthew's just going to shatter it.
And I'm like, oh.
Yeah, I heard this conversation brought up on like some up north podcasts that I listen to.
And yeah, they started the conversation that, you know, now Matthews,
Matthews might be the greatest goal score of this generation.
And it is kind of crazy to think of, but like, I think of it's too early to tell.
Because Matthews gets hurt.
Like, he gets hurt almost once a year.
It's too early to tell.
I'm kind of with both of you because it's not really, but the injuries is such a thing.
Yeah, that is a thing.
He is a beast.
He is a beast.
He is his superpower.
But I will say people stroke off Bedard, his whole shooting thing.
You know who he learned that from, dude?
Matthews.
The way Matthews releases the puck and the way he's,
scores goals and the way he puts pucks on net is exactly what badar does and he is scoring goals
in ways that ovi does not yep and do you wait to interject because of that's just seed me up perfectly
i think you go what 52 now or something i think it's 54 maybe anyway how many empty netters
do you think this year for matthews of his 54 um i know exactly blake you have a guess two
zero yeah that's so swaggy dude
Zero, dude.
I knew six wasn't over.
I was like, I'm glad you said four, Blay.
I was like, I bet it's four.
Zero.
That's fucking unbelievable.
Like, you don't give a fuck, dude.
You kidding me?
Yeah, he's sitting at 52 tucks.
It is 52?
Yeah, what a fucking sick pervert.
Or sorry, what a pervert.
Do you have more?
No, no.
I mean, all I was going to say is, um, you know, it's easy to score this many goals when
you don't care about the playoffs because you just rip for 82 games and then.
Okay.
All right, hold on.
So seven game here, like I said, they went blues,
liars, ducks at home.
Then they went on the road and beat blues again,
Yotes. So you're not
that impressed right now. I don't give a shit
about, like, but then Vegas and
Colorado. But those five, those are
five were without Morgan Riley. You know what I don't care?
And five and no without Morgan Riley, dude. Well, first of all,
you guys all hate Morgan Riley, so you're better
off without me. Um, second
of all, I, this is what
we said last week. I don't care about any
of this. Yeah, yeah. As far as his
scoring, just
just score. Just, get seven.
I want it so bad.
I don't care how many goals he scores as long as he gets 70.
I don't care how many games they win because they're making playoffs.
And I don't care what seed they are.
I don't care if they have home ice or not.
It doesn't matter.
All that matters is how they perform in the first, hopefully, at least or at the most,
seven games of the first round.
It does not matter.
I don't care who they play.
I don't care what's going on.
That's all that matters.
Your regular season doesn't matter.
You just said you don't care about their seating, so whatever, this doesn't matter.
But I will say I just wanted to give them credit because at the moment, this is a perfect transition to hot ice, which is going to be wild card stuff.
But at the moment, it appears they have kind of left Tampa in the dust a little bit.
And as much as a week ago, I was like Tampa, like, it looked like the, I was like penciling in the Leafs for a wild card.
And I'll tell you what?
And now I'm like, oh shit.
And Joseph Wolves coming back.
Yep.
What a hero, dude.
There's a very real world where the Maple Leafs overtake the Boston Bruins for second place.
Nipping, yeah.
Because Boston, surprise, surprise, just went to overtime again against Seattle and lost again.
So Boston hasn't won a game.
They've been to overtime in like seven straight games or something.
They haven't won a game in regulation, I think, in like nine or ten games now.
They are a fucking joke, dude.
that this Boston Bruins team
nine games
nine games yeah
they are the most pathetic
finishing team I've ever seen
and
there's so many Bruins fans
who keep going like this
oh my god they need to make a huge trade at the deadline
they've been in first place all year
dude
the reality of this team is showing
in the year
in the calendar year of 2024
so, so, so severely.
And nine games now, without a win in regulation.
And they're just choking on their own fucking dick over and over again.
You go into Seattle there.
And it's like, yeah, you scored a goal to force the overtime, but then ho-hum, you lose in overtime.
You were up one-nothing and you won.
And you lose in overtime again.
Fucking pathetic.
They could easily finish third in the Atlantic.
Easily.
Good thing.
There's no three-on-three in your game.
shoot in the playoffs. Thank God. Thank God. Okay. Put on the buckets. We're going to hot ice.
The fact of the matter is there is overtime and they lose in that. Yeah.
All right, we're talking wild card. Yeah. Okay. I'm actually going to start with the West because I think
the East is slightly more interesting. Yes. Okay. I'm going to real quick hit you some teams that are even
remotely in the running games, points and plus minus. Go. And this is in the order that they are
currently standing. Kings, 56, 68, plus 22.
Preds, 59, 66, minus three.
Blues, 57, 62, minus 11.
Wild, 58, 62, minus seven.
Flames, 58, 61, minus one.
Cracken, 57, 59, minus seven.
Not for nothing.
And I think the Oilers lost today?
They beat the Kings.
They beat the Kings.
They're so big win.
So the Oilers, the Kings had 68 points, as did the Oilers coming into today.
The Oilers have games, one game in hand maybe?
Yeah, they had one game, still have one game in hand.
And Vegas has 71 points.
So the Pacific isn't as locked as, like the Central's locked.
It's the Jets, the stars, and the aft.
Yeah.
The Pacific isn't as locked.
The Oilers are likely...
Well, the Pacific is Vancouver.
That's locked, but I'm saying Vegas and Edmonton aren't as far out of the Kings as people think.
So, like, that's not locked.
So just keep that in mind.
But for me, the Kings are in the playoffs for sure.
I think it's likely the wild card, but they are in for sure.
Yeah, I agree.
because I just think that long losing stretch is going to cost them an actual bid.
Right now, shockingly, the predators, I think that second spot is the predators to lose.
I agree.
They've won five straight, really turns it around.
The wild have gone seven, two, and one on their last 10.
And the flames have gone seven, three, and O in their last 10.
Don't care.
Both trying to make an interesting, completely agree.
I don't see it at all.
It means nothing to me.
In fact, any of those lower teams, because I also think the blues thing.
In fact, all they're doing is ruining their draft pick.
Yeah.
You're not making plans.
Any of those teams that I think could even remotely challenge the Preds down the stretch is the Cracken,
who are now 5, 4, and 2 in their last, 5, 4 and 1 in their last 10.
They're the ones I think could make a run, but it's going to be hard.
But they're not that far back.
They got 59 points to the Preds 66, and they got two games on the Preds.
So it's like they're three points back, really, if you count the games in hand.
So that's interesting to me.
Here's what I wanted to show you, Dan.
And we've talked about this before, but I just think it's interesting.
interesting. The Kings this year at home.
11, 10, and 6 on the road 18, 7, and 4.
The Preds at home, 14, 15, and 0 on the road, 18, 10, and 2.
Both dominant road teams bad at home.
The Kings, of their 26 games left, 14 at home, 12 on the road.
The Preds of their 23 games left, 12 at home, 11 on the road.
So, like, both teams that are clinging to those wildcard spots,
have more games at home than they do on the road,
and they're bad at home.
Yeah.
So I do think that opens the door a little bit.
The oilers are pretty good everywhere.
Vegas is a little bit better at home than they are on the road,
and they have more road games.
So, like, I kind of think they're safe.
How do you feel, is the West, not the order,
but is the West done for you?
It's the Jets, Stars, Avs in some order.
It's Vancouver, Vegas, Edmonton, in some order,
and it's King's spreads.
Yeah.
I do think that's what it's going to be.
I think it's going to be very, very, very interesting all the way until the wire,
but I think that's what it's going to finish as.
I think the, if we're talking kings, preds, and then wild flames, blues, all these other teams.
The kings are, to me, head and shoulders better.
Like, oh, my God.
Head and shoulders better.
I do think a big factor is going to be goaltending.
And unfortunately, nothing against All-Star Camp.
Talbot, the goaltending is better on some of these other teams.
Talbot's not even been the starter since All-Star break.
That's so crazy.
People don't know that.
I'm glad you just said that, because that is something that I don't think is being
paid enough attention to.
Even going into the All-Star break, those two weeks prior to it, like, Cam was not
getting those A-1 starts.
Yeah.
But you're saying they have worse goal-tending than the Wildcard teams?
Then Soros, then Markstrom.
Gustafin.
Decord.
Bennington's been hot lately.
Benner's been hot.
Yeah, you're right, actually.
The Kings have the worst goalie of every, well,
no, arguably the worst goalie of all the wild car contenders.
Of those teams in contention, I think they do.
And I think that's very interesting.
But I think their team is so significantly better than the rest that I'm like,
they are still in it.
But I do think that's going to be very close coming down to the wire.
And then we've talked about some trades coming up here towards a
Deadline.
Goldie trades have been talked about a lot.
I think Flower's been talked about a lot.
But it sounds like by all accounts,
flower has been like,
I'm not moving.
And I think it's because he's going to retire this summer.
Yeah.
And he's like,
I'm just,
I'm staying here.
That bums me out because I think he would be great on a bunch of teams.
Detroit is one that comes to mind very significantly.
Detroit.
I think Detroit would be a very interesting place for him.
I really do.
I think they're making playoffs.
And I think him going in and helping Lyon would be like a really
cool situation.
You'll teach the lion how to hold his glove hand properly.
Another good thing.
Just go to Edmonton, dude.
I think it's going to stay as it is.
I think it's going to be a really fun run.
The West is done.
Confirmed.
Okay, so the east, Dan.
I'm going to do the same thing for the rundown.
Yeah.
Detroit, this was before the game tonight, so maybe this changed a little bit.
Detroit, 58 games, 70 points plus 22.
In.
Tampa, 60 games, 69 points plus five.
Jersey, 58 games, 62 points, minus 12.
Capitals, 56 games, 61 points, minus 31.
You trash bag.
Buzz, your girlfriend.
Wolf!
Penguins, 55 games, 60 points plus 15.
Biggest anomaly in sports.
Islanders, 57 games, 60 points, minus 28.
So here are my topics before you dive into anything.
Number one, before you even say if they're in or out, are you worried about 10.
Tampa because I again like I was just talking about with the Leafs I feel like a week ago I was like and here comes Tampa they are actually a contender in the East nobody wants to see them in the playoffs and then they kind of get dummied by the Panthers they go they lose a few in a row the Leafs get hot and get you know like that kind of gaps widening and now Tampa's like Tampa's like that kind of gap is like the two wildcard and I'm like are you gonna miss the playoffs is this is just a dip and they don't give a fuck they just got to get in and they're still really scary or are you like Tampa's in no I think it's a dip they're going to get in this is this is the way I look at the East
Team, I think Tampa's also going to make a vintage Tampa trade deadline acquisition that's going to piss off everyone in the NHL and it's going to be great.
Teams that deserve to be in the playoffs in the East, Atlantic.
And this is also what I want to be in the playoffs.
Florida Panthers.
Buffalo, Buffalo, Buffalo.
Dude.
No.
Fuck them.
That's what you want.
I'm so fucking annoyed and disappointed with those assholes.
I believe I'm not even listing the Sabres
end of February.
They're not even in the fucking conversation.
Teams that deserve to be in the playoffs this season.
Atlantic.
Florida Panthers.
Toronto Maple Leafs.
Boston Bruins.
Tampa Bay Lightning.
Detroit Red Wings.
In the Met,
New York Rangers,
Carolina Hurricanes.
That's it.
Those to me are the seven teams
who deserve to be in the playoffs
from the east.
And I hope to fucking Jaugh himself that those seven teams are in the playoffs.
What it comes down to for me is who in the Met is taking that third play.
Because I believe that five teams from the Atlantic are getting in.
Who is that third team in the Met that's getting in?
And the frustrating thing is, currently it's Philly, right?
Currently it's Philly.
Just look at the tag.
Currently it's Philly.
and I would have said a little while ago
I'd be happy with them getting in
they've been a bit
shitty recently
I'll tell you exactly 5-4 and 1 in their last 10
and with the Carterhart situation
it makes it even more frustrating
Drysdale also just got hurt
it might have just badly hurt
it might have just re-injured that shoulder
the New Jersey Devils
are the biggest butt plugs
I've ever seen
like you guys
we said with fucking wish
I was like
I think they're going to get in.
Their performance in the stadium series.
I was like, that's a ballsy fucking performance.
They are just such baby children.
And at this point, dude, it's like I felt about the Islanders last year where I'm like,
even if you get in, you don't fucking deserve it.
And you're going to lose in the first round and you're fucking assholes.
Yep.
So I don't like them.
The caps are a clown show.
I don't ever want to speak about this capital team again.
You're minus 31.
I'm insulted that they're even in this conversation.
And also, dude, despite your fucking stroke-offs of them and their games in hand and
they're plus 15, the penguins are a fucking clown show too.
And without Sidney Crosby, you're the biggest bunch of underachieving dipshits on earth.
Did you guys see his fucking face off shot?
Oh my God, dude.
He's unbelievable.
Did you see that?
Sydney Crosby is a top five player in the league still.
It's fucking remarkable.
So my point being, and I don't even know if I touched on the Islanders,
You don't need to.
They don't deserve my time.
They don't deserve my breath.
You're also assholes.
Other than those two teams in the Met, the Rangers and the hurricanes, the rest of you fucking twats don't deserve the time of day.
And it's annoying me that one of them is going to get into the playoffs because they're all fucking losers.
And they're playing like losers and they don't deserve to be in the playoffs.
It's almost like at this point, like just let Philly get it and let them have, let them have two weeks of playoffs, let them get some money, help the league rev.
Truly, Blake, I'm like, I just hope it's Philly because all those other teams are such fucking cunts that I'm like, get out of here, dude.
You know, you know, torts would actually make it a good series.
Yeah, good call.
Detroit's won five straight.
Kane had that comment.
We can beat anybody in the seven games series.
I fucking love the attitude in there.
And the way I feel about the Predators in the West, I feel shockingly about Detroit.
right now in that i'm like
Detroit is it they is this
their wildcard to lose at this point
100% they are they are the squad
they're there they're look up there
someone look up their last 10 i think they're 7 and 3
in their last 10 7 2 and 1 7 2 and 1
um and dude they're playing phenomenal
yep and it's like i think
the you know i mean you guys know i'm the biggest one on this train
they've just been playing great
the izer plan is ahead of schedule and it's but it's also on schedule the
same time. I love the opportunity they have of a move at the deadline here. Get a good defenseman
to come in. I think Lion has earned the right to be a starting goaltender and not one that they
think they need to replace going to these playoffs. If they get a good defenseman to help that decore,
really strong. So let me hit you with some splits. Detroit, who I think it's theirs to lose. Very good
at home this year, 17, 8, and 5. Pretty good on the road still, 15, 12, and 1, but much better at home.
11 at home left 13 on the road left so not ideal but i still i still like them
tampa this year dan 18 8 and 3 at home 14 15 and 2 on the road way better at home 12 home
left 10 road left that's why i think you're right those two are getting in what i think is
it's philly jersey and pit is going to get that third spot right like that's what they're
actually fighting for they're not fighting for the wild card which i think you agree with that that's
that's what i've been saying i said five teams are getting in
And dude, here's the bullshit.
The Devils, 14, 15, and 2 at home.
15, 10, and 2 on the road.
Ridiculous.
Pittsburgh, 15, 10, and 4 at home, 11, 11, 4 on the road.
So way better at home, Pitt, way better on the road, Jersey.
Okay?
Yeah.
Jersey, 10 home games left, 14 road games left.
Amazing for them.
Pitt, 12 home, 15 road left.
Even all those games in hand, they're all in the road.
They suck on the road.
Yeah.
Brutal.
You're done.
Well, we were talking about Detroit, so it's the perfect transition.
Let's get into this Daniel Sprung interview.
Such a blast.
Unbelievable guy.
Total homie.
Can't wait for you guys to hear it.
Let's rock it.
Taking a quick break in the Empty Netters podcast to talk about the unbelievable taste of Southern Comfort.
Southern Comfort is the original, perfect and delicious, beautiful, beautiful spirit that has the great blend of spices and fruit to give you the best drink that you could ever.
ever ask on a night out. Me, myself personally, yes, they got those spices, they got those fruits
and the taste, and there's nothing better to combo that with than Dr. Pepper. I'm a big Dr. Pepper
guy, and if you give me a Dr. Pepper or a diet Dr. Pepper with a little bit of Soco, it is the best
drink in the game. Get on board with Southern Comfort because it is one of the best
cocktails you could ever possibly make.
The best thing about Southern Comfort is the original has been famous for decades,
because like we said, it's that perfect blend of spices and fruit that creates the best
spirit that you could ever ask for.
But then Soco Black is a suave, delicious whiskey blend that gives you some of the best
taste that you could ever ask for.
And if you want to take it a step up, go to the bar, you want to do a round of shots with
the friends.
Soco Sowers are the no-brainer to get with a group of people.
It's one part Soco, two-part sour mix, taste like candy, and it is the best shot that you could ever hope for.
Southern Comfort is taking your party game, your cocktail game, your drink game, and your nightlife to the next level because it is the best tasting spirit in the game.
No questions ask.
Southern Comfort is the way to go.
We are joined today by an Amsterdam native.
First time we've ever said that, I think.
Might be the last.
Yeah, might be the last.
Elected to the all-ro rookie team in the queue for the Charlottetown Islanders,
46th overall pick of the Pittsburgh Penguins,
played for the ducks, the capitals, the Cracken,
current member of the Detroit Red Wings,
and a man with a shot so good,
he moved his entire family to Canada at age seven.
Daniel Sprong, welcome to the Interneters podcast.
Thanks for having me.
Dude, it's an absolute blast.
We just touched on it, but you've got to give us a quick overall
Cabo. How was it?
Cabo was good. Yeah.
Cabo was good. It was nice and relaxing.
Yeah. Not hurting at all right now?
Not hurting. No, no, no. It was a good time.
It's nice to go and just get some R&R.
Yeah, I get some suns and by the beach.
Didn't even look at a boat. Didn't even think about going on a boat.
Yeah, no. It was like Jarvie said.
He was down there and he just worked out. It was in the gym the whole time.
Same way, I imagine, right?
Yeah, some beach workouts, some pool workouts.
Work on the pan, you know?
Yeah. Brought the warm weather back, too.
Yeah, it's been sunny here.
It's been amazing.
Dude, it's better than L.A.
We landed, and I was like, what the hell is going on now?
Chris just touched on it, and I want to hear all about it because I think it's so fascinating.
You moved to Montreal when you were seven years old from Amsterdam because hockey was going so well.
You and your family were like, this is going to be the best place for me.
And it sounds like now Montreal is like, when you think about home, do you think about Montreal?
Is that like your spot in your heart?
Montreal's home now, but like the story behind it, like how we,
got there is kind of funny because I used to do like when I was younger like there's no hockey
camps in Amsterdam yeah like we're a soccer country speed skating so in the summertime we would
come to Montreal Toronto and go on hockey camps and the one time I went to camp in Montreal there was
a trainer and he asked my parents like hey does your son want to play in a summer team like play a
couple tournaments and there's no rinks in Amsterdam that are open unless you drive like an hour
away there's one rink that's open yeah so I said yeah let's play my parents say yeah we'll bring them
And, you know, we played a couple tournaments.
And on the last term, we played, we ended up winning the tournament.
And, of course, all the parents and minor hockey and all sit at the bar and they all get drunk.
And they asked my parents, hey, let's let Daniel come play one season with us during the winter.
And of course, my parents had, like, a couple too many drinks.
And they said, yeah, why not?
Let's do it.
So we went back home and thought of nothing.
Like, it was never going to happen.
Like, just go play, continue living life.
And then they called.
They're like, hey, like, your son's on the team.
I'm like, you gotta come.
Yeah, book your tickets.
Yeah, book your tickets.
And my dad and mom were like, well, we gave them our word.
Like, let's try for once.
Like, try for a winter.
Yeah.
Like, let's see how it is.
Like, we don't like, we go back.
Well, we never left.
Yeah.
So, no, we fell in love with the city.
Munchel's, like, very European vibes to it.
Totally, totally.
One season after another, it went on.
And next thing, you know, 26 and play for the Detroit right away.
Dude, I was about to say drunk.
We all do this.
Exactly.
Just drunken plans are the reason that you're in the NHL right now.
Yeah.
How many times have you been out with friends and been like this?
Yeah, sure, I'll do this tomorrow.
And then you wake up and you're like, fuck that.
What a good lesson to do it, dude.
Be a man of your word, show up.
If you follow through on drunken plans, you'll make it to the NFL.
That's basically the story here.
No, but my parents sacrifice a lot for it.
And I have a little sister as well.
So, you know, a lot of thanks to them.
And I got to thank the bar in Toronto that made it happen.
For real.
Unbelievable.
So what was that, you know, overall, it's obviously it went really well.
But do you remember at all what the transition was like?
and being Dutch, living in Amsterdam, and then your whole family moves to Montreal.
Were there any growing pains?
Was there any transition period?
Or were you just kind of focused on hockey so much that you were just like, nope, it was pretty seamless?
Well, I spoke a bit of English back in Amsterdam.
My dad was the GM of, like, our team back home.
So we had a lot of guys that would play in the East Coast and had, like, a Dutch background
so they can come play in the Dutch League.
And that's how it kind of picked up a little bit of English when I was little.
But when I got there, I went to school and started instead of grade two,
I started in grade once.
I can learn the basics of English and French.
And you know what?
Like when I moved, I was just excited.
Like, it's just, oh, I'm going to be new people.
Like, I knew some of the hockey guys that I played with during the summer.
And then you just start building friendships.
Yeah, yeah.
And next thing you know that my best friends now are the ones I met in school.
So it's a great story.
And of course, there's been a lot of ups and downs.
But, you know, I don't regret anything.
Yeah, of course not, dude.
Are you trilingual now?
Yeah, I say Dutch first, but like, I don't know how to really read it anymore or write it.
I lost that.
Okay.
If you ask my team, it's about my English, it's, oh, so, so.
And then French is, I can speak it, but, like, pretty slowly.
And then, like, if someone speaks it to me, I can pick up what their understanding.
But if they start going fast, yeah, I'm dying.
You're like, whoa, whoa, whoa.
I mean, that's still.
I'll count that.
I'll count that.
I'll count every one of those.
Yeah.
How did you get into hockey in Amsterdam?
My dad played when he was younger, and then my dad's cousin asked my dad to be part of his son's hockey team.
And he's older than me, and then I was born, and that's how I got into it.
So not a good soccer player, that's for sure.
But I'm a big soccer fan, so I still follow my teams.
But no, definitely hockey.
Just had a horrible first touch, and they were like, actually go play hockey.
It's unbelievable.
That's awesome.
Yeah, that is.
So early in your career, so I saw a really funny story.
that when you were with the Capitals, that OV was encouraging you to shoot more.
I talked about your lethal shot, right?
And he's like, I forget the exact quote,
but it was something like, hey, shoot more unless I'm open.
And there was this amazing story of you guys go down on two-on-one,
and you look him off and snipe on short side,
and your goal celebration, you're just like dying, laughing.
And then when they asked you about it, you were like,
yeah, I looked off Crosby once, two-on-one.
So tell me about those experiences and what it's like playing with two legends like that.
Yeah, they're both legends.
They're both, you know, different guys, but they're both amazing.
but the funny thing about the OVie stories
we're in morning skate and
we go on a two-on-one together, you know,
you just go with any guy, two-on-one.
And I'm kind of being an idiot
and I start laughing at him
and I look at him the whole way and I shoot it,
but I missed the net probably like 20 feet.
Like it wasn't even close and he like looks angry at me.
So I'm like, fuck, Dan, like, why'd you do it?
Yeah, just give it to him.
Even if you miss, like, just pass it to him.
Yeah.
It's a great school score of all times.
Just give him the fuck.
Yeah.
So the game goes and before the game,
like you've seen the Washington guys,
we all have her handshakes.
Yeah.
There's like 20 handshakes and you got to do them in order.
So I do my handshakes and always I had one with Ovi at the end.
He would just be like, babe, just shoot the puck, don't think.
Yeah.
And I told him, I was like, oh, like, but you got mad at me this morning.
He goes, yeah, yeah, he goes, shoot it.
But if I'm open, you got to give it.
So I go, okay, sounds good.
So the game happens and we're in midway through, like, I think early in the second.
I get moved up to his line and turnover happens two and one.
And I see, I look over and it's Ovi going with me.
So I'm going down.
I'm like, I got to pass this one.
Yeah.
But like, the more I get going closer and.
closer, I'm like, the D is starting to shift over.
And I see the goalie, like, instead of playing
me, he plays, he's cheating, his
feet switch, and it's starting to play the pass.
So I'm like, fuck, like, what am I
doing here? What am I doing here? And then at one
point I made decision, like, this is a freebie.
Like, I have half the net to shoot out. Like, I'm going
to hit the net. I'm scoring. So I decided
to shoot it. Thank God it went in.
And then when I scored, I just started laughing.
And like, if you look at all the guys in the ice too,
like, they knew what it was going on the whole day and start
laughing. I'm like, I'm sorry. And he loved
it. Like, honestly, like,
he's a guy that if you're on his team and you score,
it's like if he scored.
He's so happy for you.
And he's an unbelievable guy in captain,
and he was great to me in Washington.
And probably one of the best guys I played with in the league.
You can tell in his tellies.
It doesn't matter who scores.
He just will bear hug you and go nuts.
It's so awesome.
He loves the game so much, and he loves goals.
He doesn't matter if he scores or someone else scores.
He is just happy.
Yeah, yeah.
That's incredible.
How much of that laugh after the goal was just relief?
You really think bad that one?
Probably when I got to the game.
bench and I looked at the replay. I'm like in my head. I'm like, yeah, that wouldn't have
thank God. Imagine if I missed the net again. Yeah. So like that one was doing my head. And then
everyone in the media was like asking and friends. And I'm like, I'm not going to tell this whole
story. Yeah. Yeah. But now we're like four or five years later. Now I can tell the story. It's in
the past. Incredible. Dude, when you get to the league, you know, we've talked to so many guys
who have so many interesting stories about what they're feeling and, you know, what their process is
mentally, mentally, emotionally. You have one of these unique stories where it's like you've played for
so many teams. But one thing I find super fascinating is you come into the league. You
play with Crosby, you play with Ovi, you play with Getslav.
It's like you have three legends that you played with early, early in your career.
Was that something that you noticed or kind of took account of when it was happening?
Or were you just styled and focused?
I think looking back at it now, it's like pretty cool to say that I play with three legends.
And, you know, playing in when I got drafted by Pittsburgh and having Ciney Crosby,
Malkin, LaTang, flurry in the room.
Yeah.
I was like, fuck, like, I'm with the big boys now.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm here.
And I remember my first game was in Dallas.
In juniors, like, you go to the ring, say morning skates at 10.30 and the ice is free.
Like, you go on at 10, you can skate around, do your thing.
So I thought, same thing.
Like, I'll get early.
Like, just feel the ice for myself.
Like, kind of take the moment in on the S-A-L-A-S-L.
So I got dressed and they're like, hey, like, morning skate,
it starts until 10-30.
I'm like, no, I'm going to go out earlier.
They're like, no, no, no.
In the NHL, it's 10-30, it's ready at 10-30 on the road.
I was like, oh, so I sat in the locker room for, like,
fully dress while everyone is all is just getting dressed.
And I remember my first shift in the NHL.
I was like, I'm taking Klinberg one-on-one right here.
And it just goes poked the other way.
I was like, okay, this is a different ball game now.
So I'll never forget my first game in Dallas, that's for sure.
That's so incredible.
What was Sid like as a, you know, like a captain, a leader,
especially coming into the league, just, you know, showing you the ropes?
Yeah, everything would you read about him?
He's an unbelievable guy, unbelievable leader, you know.
He does it with words, he does it with actions.
He plays the game the right way.
And, you know, he's probably one of the best Canadians to ever play the game.
or NHL player to play the game.
And just the way he did everything in the room on and off the ice, you learned a lot.
And when you get older, you're starting to notice it, like more and more.
As a young guy, you just see him working hard.
And you don't really understand it yet.
But now that you're older, you understand, like, what he did every single thing.
You respect it even more.
That's for sure.
Was it an interesting experience, and a lot of it was due to injury that first, you know,
those first years in PIP, but having those teams win back-to-back cups and you're so young
and you're not be able to be there because you're hurt and stuff like that,
was that extra motivating to be like, God, the next time my squad
it makes a run, I want to be there.
Yeah, for sure. It's like, bittersweet, you know.
You're part of the Black A squad or you're just in the locker room, but you're not playing
or anything. So you don't really feel part of it, but you see those guys, like, knowing now what
you go through a whole year, that whole playoff run, the bumps and bruise they played with
and seeing that, you know, you respected so much more. And like, when guys ask, how do you
feel not winning in Stanley Cup and no one has an answer? It's like, I understand why there's
no answer. You can't explain it. And last year with Seattle, you know, we had that run and we
lost the Dallas in game seven and you kind of felt like hey we're we're one game we're let's go we're
one away one away so like seeing it last year and playing in the playoffs I think that was like with
the crowd and everything because we played in Washington one year with the COVID but it wasn't the
same as last year in a full building like we won game for an overtime and I thought the rink was
coming down like it was a surreal that's so sick perfect transition into the crack and it's you know like
I said you've popped around to a couple different teams you had that quick dose of the playoffs with
Washington, but then you get to Seattle.
What was it like coming into this team that's, you know, an expansion team?
No one really thought much of you.
And then all of a sudden you guys were just buzzing all year long.
You're playing unbelievable, having the best year of your career to that point.
Then you get in the playoffs.
You beat the fucking defending champs, dude.
Like that whole experience, what was that like?
Was it just surreal out of body?
Yeah, for sure.
We, like, you've got to think about this.
There's 23 guys that are all coming from different teams.
So, like, you're clicking with everyone.
The chemistry is great.
And before that year started, everyone was writing us off.
And we looked at our team on our roster.
We have a good team here.
We can do some damage here.
We played together and everything.
And that was our biggest thing.
We played as a team.
Like, we didn't have one guy that was going to carry us.
No, we needed every guy to step up and carry us.
And when we played Colorado on playoffs, everyone had us written off in four, maybe five.
Like, I don't think anyone had us going to game six.
Yeah.
So that was like motivation.
He did, dude.
He called it.
He said you guys were going to win.
We had the motivation.
I couldn't believe it.
We've proven everyone wrong all year, like, let's do it again.
And it was a great series against them, you know, and yeah, we won game seven, and we scored
first in every single game.
I know, it was insane.
We were like that all year long.
Like, we were just a good team.
We believed in each other, and we knew every guy on the team was going to be there.
So you mentioned that there's all these guys coming from different places.
What was the experience like for you?
And how, like, how did you do that?
Because it's not as easy as people think when you have tons of new guys coming from
different teams who haven't played together for years and years and years.
years now trying to form a team. What was that experience like? Because like you do that so efficiently
that you then beat the abs in the playoffs. That's insane. Like people need to know how impressive that is.
Yeah, we had a good group. We had a fun group. We were really like a big family. We connected really
well. We all got along at the rink. Of course, you have your guys here a little closer to and this
and that. But at the rink, we all, like, believed in each other and we all knew each other's roles.
Like there wasn't one guy that wasn't complaining or anything. Like we were just a team. And you saw
that like in the playoffs. Like we were a team.
And against Dallas, you know, it just didn't go our way in game seven, but we gave Dallas a run.
Absolutely.
And then if we say we would have won game seven, who knows what it would have happened against Vegas.
And that would have been pretty cool, but of course it got cut short.
Yeah.
I say that I love it here.
Like I love the wings.
I always have.
Littstrom was my favorite player growing up.
So whenever Detroit is doing well, it fires me up.
You've said recently that this team kind of reminds you of that Cracken team last year.
And I think I'd love to hear you explain that a little bit more
because I think the fans, the Detroit fans,
will get frothing at the mouth to hear that
because you're so right, dude.
The team last year in Seattle,
you were the most cohesive unit, in my opinion,
as far as no one was carrying anything on their shoulders.
You guys were just snapping around
playing full four-line hockey,
and it was unbelievable to see.
So for you to say that you're kind of seeing vibes of that right now
with this team is pretty amazing.
Yeah, for sure.
I think it just starts off by,
We already have 10 guys over 10 goals, I think, or maybe not 10, but right there around.
Yeah, yeah.
And if you look at our team, like, we brought in eight new guys, including myself, like, free agency.
Like, there were a lot of new guys and faces coming in.
So kind of reminded me of that, like, hey, there's not just, there's a core, but, like, there's a lot of pieces coming in.
So we all clicked really well.
Like, it was getting to know eight, nine new guys and then the other guys as well.
So we connected really well, and you can see it in our game.
Like, we struggled a bit in December with injuries, but in January, we had a great month.
then the city's coming alive.
Like this city deserves a playoff team and it's been missing for a while.
And, you know, to be part of that and seeing the city and even with the Lions going nuts,
it's been great.
And, you know, if we get into the playoffs, like, I can't imagine what the city would be like.
When?
When?
Yeah.
Hell yeah.
And do you think the run you had last year, you personally that you had last year,
getting that playoff experience, two game sevens,
you're going to be able to take a lot of that into the playoffs this year, theoretically, yeah?
Yeah, for sure.
It's like we have guys that won cups on this team, you know,
they've been through it to the end. So there's experiences for sure. And, you know, what?
If we stick as a group, you know, we can do a lot of damage in the playoffs, that's for sure.
Absolutely. Okay. I want to ask you about your shot. I'm going to read you some cool stats, all right?
Because this is fascinating to me.
It actually is.
Last season, of the guy, of 129 players scored more than 20 goals.
Every single one of them played over 14, 21, 14 minutes, 21 seconds.
93% played over 16 minutes. You played 11 minutes, 25 seconds.
If you do your points per 60 minutes, 3.05, over this year and last year,
your 17th in the league ahead of Mitch Marner.
And Moneypuck, which I've never heard of, but MoneyPUPuck keeps a stat that says
your shooting talent is 25.3% better than the league average.
I should hire you as my agents.
We've got to really compile this and get it going this summer for the new deal.
But this is my question.
What does you think is so cool?
If you're in a role of, if you're not a top six guy role at the moment, right?
But you're having that production.
I've seen guys that have been like, oh, I'm in the elite.
You know, everybody in the league was a great score, right,
theoretically on their junior teams and everything.
And then sometimes guys get, they get to the make it to the league.
They say, hey, you're on a fourth line now.
Change your game.
You're no longer a sniper.
You're going to go hit, go create energy, whatever.
It's so fascinating to me that you get into the league and you have this gift.
And they're like, hey, maybe you're not on a top six role right now,
but you're like, but I'm still going to pop 20.
Like, I'm going to get mine.
So can you talk to me a little bit about that and, you know,
just being a goal score, wherever they slot you in the lineup?
Yeah, I think.
In the beginning of my career, when I got to Pittsburgh,
I just felt like I was a top six guy,
like I can get away with a lot more,
like I'm gonna produce, like, don't have to worry.
Like in juniors, like if you're a top end guy,
you can get away with anything.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And when I got into, when I got into an inch,
like I still believe that was my mindset.
And it took me a bit of time to figure out like,
hey, that's not how this game works.
Like you gotta play the right way.
And getting poke checks, go another way right away.
Do the right things and like play a bit more physical
and do the things your team
needs you to be done. And in Seattle, that's kind of where it hit me. Like, hey, look,
like, this is my role. If I want to stay in this league, like, I'm going to have to play a certain
way. But at the same time, like, I know I can put the puck in it and produce points. So it was
kind of like find that balance where, like, I play this role. But at the same time, like, if you're
going to give me looks, I'm going to make you pay. And I kind of just been playing that style
of game. And, you know, I'm being patient and waiting to play in that top six. And if that time comes,
then take advantage of it. But for now, you know, our team's playing well. And this is where I'm
slot in and right now it's working so I'm doing something right and my line mates are playing well and
our team's playing well so that's all that matter yeah and I've said you've said a lot in the past
about your defensive game like trying to improve my defensive game as is everybody right and one
thing I thought reading a little bit that I thought was bullshit actually was they were like any
any chirp I've ever seen in the press about your defensive game is that you take risks
it's not like you have bad coverage you're just like oh I'm going like oh I thought the puck's going
jump over that guy's stick, I'm going.
And every goal score I've ever known
in every level takes risks.
That's the point.
You're a goal score.
So I'm kind of like, dude, fuck off.
Yeah, so I think, you know, I know your defensive game
has improved so much, but I think your
national goal scoring instinct is something
built in you and should never change.
Yeah, for sure.
Me and the coaches have had some talks like, hey, you're
pushing it now and come back to Earth here.
But there was a funny one.
We played Vegas, and our line was stuck in the D zone,
I think, for like a minute and a half two minutes.
It's like we were all dying.
And then all of a sudden, Petro Angel turns it over right on my tape and I have a breakaway.
And then all of a sudden, it looked like I just got out there.
I was gone.
And everyone's like, you were just stuck.
Like, what the fuck?
I'm like, I don't know.
Like my mind just switched.
Like all of a sudden, all of a sudden you get energy because like it's that goal score's feeling.
Yeah, dude.
And you get that all of a sudden, that extra little something where like you're all of a sudden like in a different situation.
Yeah.
But it was funny because I was like, I was dying out there.
And I was like, just get me off.
And then I get a break away out of it.
I was like, this is not supposed to happen.
Dude, it's like a dessert stomach.
You can be so full and then dessert comes.
You're like, I can eat a little bit more.
It's like you could be absolutely bagged.
And all of a sudden, if you have a clear line of sight to goal, you're like,
I got a little bit left in the tank, dude.
I'm going for it for sure.
So I want to talk about Detroit.
Like I said, you have a really awesome and fascinating
career path of playing for a bunch of different teams.
You're only 26 years old.
I am very curious how you feel.
You know, you played for a few different teams in Pitt,
Washington, Anaheim, then you get the PTO with Seattle, you get the deal, you're on the team,
bang, career year. And like a monumental year and an addition to that team to get where they got.
And then this summer, this past summer, you sign here with Detroit. And now here you are again
on pace to break, you know, all of your career highs. You're playing so insanely well.
I think people would be really fascinated to hear how validating that is. Because like you said,
it's like, dude, this is a different league.
It's like, you know, I feel like everyone in this league dominated in junior or college, wherever they played.
And then there's just so many factors, the emotional and the mental side of it, you know, finding a home, finding your stride.
And, you know, as a fan of yours and seeing you playing so well and proving, it's like, last year wasn't a fluke.
This is the player that I can be.
And I can be even better.
How is that feeling for you right now, being in this awesome hockey city and playing as well as you are?
Yeah, for sure.
Well, two things actually.
One, when we're talking legends, we can't forget showtime.
We got Showtime here too now.
So we got a hit for him.
He is in that list too.
My list is growing pretty well right now.
But to go back to what you said, I think the year I got traded from Washington, Seattle.
Yeah.
Of course, Washington wanted an older veteran guy for the playoffs and got traded Seattle and finished
off the year with 14 goals.
I was like, okay, I'm going to get a deal next year.
And you know what?
Like every team I talked to are GMs, you know, there was a reason why I couldn't get a deal.
And that was kind of a wake-up call for me.
Like, hey, I got to fix something in my game here to stay in this league or else I'm not playing.
in this league. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And that was kind of like the turning point in my career where I was
like, hey, I got to wake the fuck up. Like, where the way I'm playing recently is not going to do it.
And I think that's why, like, I'm having success I'm having now and over the last two years is
I finally put the pieces together and clearly it's working. So I think for me, the validating point is,
like, I figured out what I was doing wrong. Yeah. And I figured out like, hey, I can put the
bucket in that. I could do these things, but like, we got to fix some things for you to stay in this
league. And last year in Seattle proved that. Like, I had a great year. We had a good team and, you know,
free agency happened and I would have to go back to Seattle. Of course, things didn't work out.
But, and then the Detroit Red Wings call you, no original six team. It's like,
done. C-B-Y, dude. Come on. Yeah, it's done. It's an easy, easy decision. And was that easy for you?
Like, when these conversations were happening, were you like, oh, fuck, yeah, this is going to be a great
spot to be. Yeah, I had a couple other options. I'm not going to name teams, but it came down to
probably another team. And then I was like, you know what, Detroit's the place.
want to go.
Yeah, yeah.
And original six teams, the legends that played here, Zetterberg, Federoff, the KLM line,
the Russians, you know, Hasick, like, you name it.
You just walk the hallways right here.
Walk the hallway.
Like, I'm probably missing some big names, Lynch from.
Like, there's so many guys and, like, to be part of this and, like, seeing those
teams win here and, like, how big of legends they become here, like, if you can do that
here, like, it'd be awesome.
Oh, my God.
Absolutely, dude.
It's so cool.
Is there anything to your success?
Does any of your secret success come from, you know, you?
using a different twig in warm-ups than you do in the game.
Yeah, what's up with that?
That is the craziest shit.
How do you guys know about that?
We do our research, man.
That is like the weirdest thing I've ever heard.
Yeah, so I don't use the stick that I play with in the game in warm-ups.
What are we talking about?
You don't need anywhere and tear on it before the game, or what's the deal?
So the truth behind it is when I was in juniors, I broke my stick in warm-ups.
Yeah.
And so I had my two backups, and I grabbed one of my backups, so I finished warm-ups with it.
But I was like, not like, I won a new stick for the game.
I grabbed the new stick cut it, spray painted it, did the whole thing.
And then I went out and I scored a couple.
And I was like, always happened.
And I was like, yeah, forever.
And then forever the superstition state.
Like now I rotate my three sticks.
So I go game stick, one becomes a warm up stick and one becomes a practice stick.
And then I rotate.
So my game stick becomes my warm up stick the next game.
And then it trickles out throughout the thing.
Hold on.
Are you using a brand new trick every game?
Yeah, I go through a new stick every game.
Yeah.
Beautiful.
Even like, let's say you go out and have a hatty, dude.
that sticks just warm-up technique.
If that stick gets a hatty,
that one's coming home with me that night.
Okay, that one's going home.
That's not being used in warm-offs.
Okay, that makes you feel better.
That makes you feel better.
What do you think it is about, you know,
this team and this group that's making you buzz so much out there?
Because, like, you're flying this season.
Yeah, I think the guys that were here for a while
are tired of missing the playoffs.
And the guys that are brought in knew what the goal was
and what management wanted from us.
And I think that all excited us in the project.
And, you know, if you look at our team now, we have four lines.
We have 6D, 7Ds that can play.
We have three goalies that are great.
We're a dept team, and we make it hard on other teams.
And I think Seattle kind of started that blueprint where, like, hey, you need four lines to play.
Look at Vegas, Ford Line.
Like, they're not a skilled line, Vegas, four line, but they're a mean, heavy Ford Line that shut down other teams, top guys.
And, you know what?
Like, I think that's where the NHL is shifting to, like, where you need four lines that can play.
It's not anymore your Ford Line, like, back in day, plays five, six minutes.
Yeah. Now you need your forward line.
And every team's forward line is different.
Yeah.
And depending on roles.
But I think that's what Seattle's kind of started.
And I think like it's a copycat league.
Yeah.
And I think teams are starting to pick that up and are trying to do the same thing in their organizations.
Yeah, yeah.
I think that's true and not to call anyone out who knows what's going to happen this year.
But I feel like in the past we've seen the McDavid teams, the Matthews teams, like they're not getting it done all the way.
You know, it's the deeper teams that are making the deep runs.
It is kind of that like it takes everybody mindset, you know, and it's,
Like I said, it was so obvious to see with that Seattle team.
And I've been saying it all season long.
You can see it with you guys.
It's like, this is definitely a different Red Wings team.
And it's clear that you're all bought in.
And it's funny as a fan and just watching the game and then getting to talk to guys like you,
seeing how clear of a difference there is when there is a team like that that's just like everyone's carrying the load.
Everyone's pushing the cart.
You know what I mean?
And the fact that it's happening here again is fun.
Well, I wanted to ask about that because we asked Lucas about this.
when you guys come into this year, and even during the season,
how much, like, the goals is like we're making the playoffs.
How much is that pushed, that narrative push during the season,
or does that you completely out of sight out of mind,
just win the next game, win the next game?
Well, we talk about it there and there,
but we all look at the standings.
We all know if we're rolling or we're cold,
but that's the goal.
That's what everyone here.
Like, we all know that's what we want to do
and going along playoff runs.
So we talk about it there and there,
but deep inside, we all know that's what fuels us every day
and wants us to be better and push each other.
And of course, getting caner,
midway through, you know, and picking us, that said something about how well we're playing.
And that gives his motivation. And, you know, he's an unbelievable player and he's probably the
greatest American-born player ever to play the game. So to have a guy like that in your locker room
as well, and, you know, when maybe things aren't going well, you know, you can just look at him.
He's like, he's been here before. Like, we're okay. Like, and then he takes over a game or,
you know, he makes a play. And it's just, it's awesome to see. It's contagious, right? Like,
everyone putting in the work together, yeah. Dude, I was talking to Lucas yesterday.
We were talking about the Kings because we're based in L.A. When you guys came to L.A., went to
the shootout and Caner got that, you know, clinching shootout. It was so funny how you looked at
your bench, you looked at the king's bench, looked around the stadium and everyone was like,
this game's over. Yeah, yeah. He got to that puck. It was like, he's obviously going to do what
he does and he just did it immediately. And it was like, well, fuck a day. What can you do?
Oh, yeah. We were all like showtime. We're in LA, showtime. We're going to win the game.
Like, everyone could have just walked home already. The game was over. Yeah, yeah. Well, talking about
showtime, by the way, you gave up your number for it. And I know. And I
know you said he can have it he deserves it it's his trademark but i mean like he must
to say yeah what he gave a little bit come on we agree he took me on a shopping spree let's let's
leave it i let's you go in l-a actually so after the game he uh the next morning we met in the lobby
and uh you go to rodeo we went up to rodeo but i'm not going to say where we went or anything
but it was funny tell us after tell us after because we went to uh we went in the meeting and i was
like he's like we're going to i'm going to take you on a shopping tree and i was like okay first let's
go to Starbucks. It's on me.
So I bought Starbucks. He bought a coffee.
He got 88 and a coffee and a latte.
Yeah, that's pretty sick. So I took him for Starbucks and then he took me to
Radeo Drive and I'd just say he got me something good.
That's a good deal. Worth it. What's the, like, why did you pick 88 when you came here?
So when I got traded from Washington, Seattle, of course I had to pick a new number.
And Ovi was like, pick eight. And I'm like, no, no, no. I'm not going eight.
He's like, go 88. And I'm like, no, like, I always wanted to play with 91.
Growing up, my numbers were always 11 and 91.
Okay.
And I was like, you know, what's fresh start?
Like, I want to stay here.
Like, 91's going to be my number.
And when I got signed in Detroit, they're like, hey, you can't worry.
I was going to ask, is it literally like you can't or you're like, I don't?
I asked, like, hey, what number do you want?
And I was like, well, I know 91's out of the picture.
And they're like, yeah, 99.
You're like, right?
And they're like, yeah.
I just wanted to confirm it.
I just wanted to confirm it.
You got a check.
You got to double check.
And then I thought like, okay, I play with 11 in Anaheim.
And my goal is always to play with.
11 on one NHL team. So like I'll never wear 11 again. Like that was my dream. Okay, they did it.
Yeah. I did it. Got it. Got it. And then 91 of course. Like if I play for a different team,
91's available, I'll go back to 91. But so I was like, you know what? Like I'm going to
58 out of for Ovi. Like out of respect. Like he was very good to me. He was a great mentor to me. So
I did out of respect. And then showtime sign. And I'm like, well, I'm going to have
the switch numbers real quick. So 17 was, Ilya Kovych was my favorite player going up.
Yeah. Yeah. And the Russian numbers have brought me luck so far. So I like that. And my
birthday's on the 17th, so it's...
St. Paddies, eh?
Yeah, yeah.
Saddies. There you go.
Yeah, pretty sick.
Did you hit up Ovi when you picked 88?
Yeah, I texted and I was like, hey, I'm letting you know, I picked 88.
He's like, I should have picked eight.
I was like, no, that's your number.
I'm like, you're not satisfied.
You can't win with him, dude.
No, he's the best.
And I always tell him like he's the greatest goal score.
And if he, when he does break the record, because I truly believe he's going to
break the record, I can say I looked off the greatest goal score of all the time.
And I was...
And helped him get one, too.
So I got an assist on a couple of.
his goals so I can say I help too. You're a piece of that record. Absolutely, man. That's awesome.
So the last thing I want to ask about Detroit, we talked about outside a little bit.
We think it's so awesome when you come to a city, and especially one that has four,
you know, major sports teams. Seattle's actually kind of getting close with that, with all the
arenas, all the barns are kind of in the same area, and Detroit is, is that with the best of them.
You know, it's amazing how Comerica's right there, Ford's right there. With Detroit Lions
going so far in the playoffs, and you were saying like the cities,
buzzing the golf chance are going crazy.
How much does that get into you guys
in the bloodstream of like, fuck,
like they got the city would playoff.
We're saying like, when the Jared Goffs were going
around, we're like, fuck, we need to get in the playoffs.
We need to see the city turn red.
The city was blue. But if we're talking about
setups, I think, like, Philly has the best
setup by far. Like, if you go over that bridge
and you see the NFL stadium,
the baseball stadium and hockey on all one big
parking lot, like that, like, going
over that bridge is like, that's a pretty sick view.
So like to have our stadiums so
close to each other too is it's pretty cool and like seeing the whole city turn blue like I can't wait
for this city to turn right yeah yeah same yeah there you all right all right all right all right
all right all right all right it's called pass shoot score it's basically just a ranking
system so we're going to give you some things that mean something to you you got to rank them
one through three pass is going to be you know it's good snapping the puck around but not our
favorite shooting obviously a little bit better want to get pucks on net scoring is the ultimate
goal so that's going to be your top one I'm going to take passing
Shooting, scoring.
Yep, in that order.
Three to one.
So I'm going to take you to Montreal.
I know you're a sushi guy.
So I'm going to give you some three spots in Montreal that I know that you like.
Your past street score is Mikeo?
Scoring.
Well, hold on.
Park.
And Yatoba.
Mekle scoring, I'd say shooting, Yotoba, Park, passing.
Like, the MAKO is more like, it's in my area where I grew up.
It's more like where I go with family and friends.
If I'm taking my dad out to do that.
Okay, okay, okay.
I would say Park is like a quiet, like it's more of a one-on-one date spot or like if you're going with a couple buddies for a quiet night.
Yeah.
Yotoba's more like a little lively and like it's a rip in there.
Yeah.
No, it's not ripping, but like it is more option as food.
Like I have a couple buddies that don't really like sushi.
So like that's kind of the spot.
Like you can have like an Asian fusion type food as well.
There you go.
Yeah.
Okay.
I like that.
So Mako is the spot.
That's the spot.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So next time I'm in town.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, if you get to Montreal, do you go there immediately?
There's a couple spots I'd go to, and, like, if I'm taking my parents out and, like, close friends and stuff, I'm going to Meko.
Like, I don't need to tell my that the other spots I go to.
But, no, MAKO is definitely, like, I love that place.
Yeah, yeah.
What's your order?
So, like, there's one thing.
It's not on the menu.
It's, like, you got to ask for the cone.
Okay.
And it's, like, so many things inside on, like, even some rice crispy.
Is the cone, like, a seaweed wrap cone, or, like, what is it?
It's like a soy paper.
I can't explain.
anything. It's just unbelievable.
So you just say, give me, I'll have a cone.
I'd like the cone. You're going to have to explain it to them.
Like, if you go, text me and I'll text the guy and be like, hey, give them the order.
Give them the cone.
Is it like a hand roll vibe?
It's like, you know, hand roll.
Okay, cool.
But like, you can eat the whole thing and it's just like everything inside.
Like you got some crab in there, some tuna, some salmon.
It's just like an explosion inside.
Yeah.
Okay.
I'm in.
I'm in.
Are you a putteen guy or no?
No, not really.
Yeah.
I know people in Montreal won't be happy with that, but like, no, you know what?
I was born in Amsterdam, so I do it with the mayo.
I just like my simple fry with mayonnaise.
I gave Cole Cofield and he's playing there, and he was like, nope, don't like it at all.
And he's a mayo guy.
So, yeah, I think you'll be okay.
I feel like we're having a hard time finding people who like Putin.
Yeah, same.
Okay, here's your next one.
This one, this category is athletes.
Pass shoot score, I'llia Kovlchuk, Max Verstappen, Tom Brady.
Covichick score.
Oh, my God.
Wow.
I have to.
I have to.
I have to.
I have to.
I'm sorry.
Knowing that.
Okay, knowing that you mentioned him earlier, you're wearing 17 now for him,
and he's scoring over Brady and Max.
I'm shocked.
I can't believe you haven't been wearing 17 this whole time.
Yeah.
I have other numbers for personal reason.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, Colvichuk won.
For Stappen, I would have to put at passing.
Oh, he's passed.
Passing.
I got you go.
Don't worry.
Thank God, dude.
He is, you know, he's amazing back home and number one driver, you know.
I'm a big Red Bull guy.
I've been to three races now.
Yeah.
Did you go to Vegas?
No.
But you went to Miami, right?
Went to the first one in Miami.
We went with like six, seven NHL guys.
And it was just a great time.
And then two in Montreal.
Yeah.
And then of course, Tom Brady.
Yeah.
You got to do shooting.
Yeah.
He used to go out in football.
Absolutely.
This happened's not there yet, but like he has the potential to get there.
But no, I'd say Brady's shooting.
How did you become a past guy?
Was it just because that was the closest NFL squad when you're in Montreal?
No, actually, I was remember being little and the Steelers were playing the
Patriots on TV.
And I said, whoever,
wins, that's my team. Wow, a lot on the line. God, you could have been a big Ben guy. That would have
sucked. Yeah, or it could have been the Bears and then I would have been in real trouble.
Oh my God. Okay, so you rolled with it. What year was that? Oh, I don't remember. But like he had a
couple bowls probably probably already, right? Because you're young. Yeah, I probably would
have been like seven, eight years old at the time, probably closer to eight. And that was a game on TV
and I said whoever wins is my team. Yeah. Yeah. We've been struggling a couple years, but
yeah. What a run that way. We'll have been a lot. Yeah, yeah, actually, fair enough. Yeah.
Unbelievable.
Dude, all right.
You are aware that, you know, they cheated for Max in his first title, right?
No, the rules are the rules.
No, dude, that was such a bullshit.
They literally changed the rules and robbed Lewis.
No, the rules were the rules.
But I do agree, though, the rules at that point didn't make sense.
We're poor.
But I also agree, though, I think they wanted the viewers to have, like, a great ending.
Yeah.
And I think if Lewis would have gotten fresh tires as well, just like Max, I still think Max would have passed them.
No.
Or I think it would have been a car collision.
Because Max is an aggressive driver.
And I think knowing that your championship line, you're taking that turn and whatever happens.
Oh, yeah, 100%.
And I think, oh, actually, I can't remember.
Because were they literally tied going into that race?
They were tied.
They were literally tied.
But what if they've crashed?
Like, what if they both crashed?
Is it coached?
I don't even know.
Would have been like cars.
They would have had to redo the...
Yeah.
They would have been Ricky Bobby, dude.
They would have got out and sprinted to the finish line.
That's so good.
That's so good.
Dude, I'm going to take this opportunity to talk about soccer now because you are a soccer fan.
Are you a United guy?
Yeah, a big United guy, but my home team, of course, in Amsterdam is IOC.
But big, man, you guy, we've had a lot of great Dutch players over time play there.
And, you know, that's my team.
We're struggling this year.
Hey, we're a Chelsea guy, so I get it.
I get it.
Yeah, but you guys spend billions of dollars.
I still can't figure it.
You know what?
We also make billions of dollars.
People forget that.
The amount that we brought in from transfers is also in the billions.
Yep. I really wanted to put Robin in this athlete category, but are you not a huge national team guy?
I'm a big national team guy.
Thank you. That's all I just needed to know that.
So, funny story, actually. Last year, we were with Seattle.
I know it, dude. You were ripping money off of everybody in the USA Dutch game.
Yeah, that too. But the best story is we play in Washington, and it's semi-final Argentina versus Netherlands.
Yeah, yeah.
And I was, at the time, I was going on the first bus. But at the time, at the first bus, we were down 2-1.
It was like seven minutes to go, like, including extra time.
So I'm on the bus and I always call my dad before the bus on the bus.
My headphones like, hey, have a good game.
You know, she's awesome.
And he's watching a game and all of a sudden he goes, I'm like, hey, what's going on?
He goes, no, we have a free kick.
So all of a sudden the phone stay silent.
I'm on the phone.
And he starts screaming through the phone.
So I get up mid-bus, bus is dead quiet.
I go, fuck, yeah.
And Yanni Gord spills his coffee because he's like, what the fuck is going on?
Like Jesus Christ, dude.
And Eberley looks at me and he goes, we have a game to play.
I'm like, yeah, it's at seven.
And I'll be ready to go.
So I get back to the room and I watch the, like, overtime in the shootout.
And, like, we're all in the training room watching and then just defeated.
Devastity.
And they're like, are you going to be okay to play?
I'll be ready.
Don't want to.
But that story was hilarious.
Like, he's got a third degree burn still.
Like, coach is back in the bus going like this.
Like, what the fuck?
I'm like, I'm sorry, boys.
Like, that's on me.
Dude, no, it's national prize.
World Cup is different.
You've got to get dialed in for that.
I didn't like it, though, that it was during the season.
Oh, it was ridiculous.
But, like, it's the best in season.
summer. Like we got the euros this summer, like, during the summer, like, that's going to be
so much better. Because like, during the summer, we have, like, that dead month with there's no sports.
Yeah. And that fills our, like, sports. So, like, I was kind of, it was nice because, like, we were on the West Coast.
So we had the games at all times. But at the same time, though, it was kind of, would have been nice to have it.
Absolutely. Yeah. But to tell the story about what happened on the bus and getting Gorto to spill
coffee on them. Worth it. Yeah. Worth it. Dude, we got to go to the Austin Grand Prix.
Yeah. That one is, that should be your number one. If you get to go to one grand prix in your life, which one are you going?
Um, shit.
Let me reverse the question to you now.
Yeah.
Monaco.
Oh, dude.
It's that.
Yeah.
Because it, right, it has to be.
Like, because that's just such a spectacle.
It's boring, though.
You got to hear the other two.
You got a Monaco.
You got the Amsterdam one in Sanford.
Yep.
And I'll give you the one in Italy.
There's actually two in Italy.
Yeah, yeah.
What's the Monza?
Monza.
Okay.
Oh, man.
You're going to hate me.
I think I'm going to pass on Amsterdam.
Yeah.
And I'm going Monzo scores.
No, no, that's what I guess.
I just feel like...
Here's the thing, dude, I'm not paid enough for Monaco.
Like, I can't...
But like, say you get the passes for free.
Oh, yeah.
Monaco has to be...
Monaco score.
If I've got a golden ticket, I'm going Monaco, for sure.
And I'm going to shoot Amsterdam if Max is there.
As long as Max is there.
And the whole fucking crowd is orange painted insanity.
I'm just such an Italy boy.
Yeah, you are.
Monza would be so fucking lit.
You know, well, we would eat there.
Oh, my God.
But I think, of the U.S. ones, I think Austin is a rip.
Well, I'm not...
I want to do Miami, dude.
And Vegas looked insane.
Vegas will probably be crazy.
All right, here's your next one.
We're going to call this one the Finer Things category.
Oh, yeah.
Passhoot's score.
1942 Tequila.
Okay.
11-11 watches.
Or a fresh new fit from Dior.
And I'm starting to think maybe that's what Kainer helped him out.
Yeah, right.
What?
Wrong in all three.
Okay.
My buddy started 11-11 watches.
Yeah.
So I probably have to go score for him.
Got you got to do it.
Okay.
If he sees this issue.
welcome.
He will.
I would say...
I'm a big watch guy, by the way.
And I'm looking to get into more new ones.
And what's the sick one you're getting? I can't even pronounce it.
So my buddy who started this watch company, he wants me to get a Constantine Vachon.
Yeah, yeah, that's it.
It's like a rose gold one. And I'm going to wait for it until after season.
I'm kind of going to reward myself with it.
Yeah, nice.
Hell yeah.
I do love my Dior.
So I would, but again, I put that as passing.
Okay.
And then the last one would be shooting.
Yeah.
Yeah, so we're going to shoot.
Yeah, a big tequila guy.
I don't think that will be happy to hear about the shooting as tequila number two, but it's quality stuff.
It's quality stuff.
Yeah, that's quality stuff.
What's your, you tequila on the rocks?
Or what's the drink?
Tequila on the rocks, for sure.
I actually in Kauffo, I know with Tanef and my buddy to like the Caso Zul tour.
Yep.
Oh, fuck, yeah.
That was awesome.
So, like, they show like a whole, like, of every different type of tequila they build.
And, like, you do the whole tour, they explain, like, the barrels and how they make the mess cows.
And you do, like, a five-course meal.
And, like, every meal is with, like, a different tequila.
Yeah, yeah.
Sick.
And my buddy in the beginning didn't know, like, you're supposed to sip on it.
He took it as a shooter and we're like, you're supposed to sip on it.
He's like, how am I supposed to know?
Like, it's like, it's just high enough that it's a shot.
Yeah, yeah.
But like a little higher, we're like, you don't know.
Yeah.
And at one point, like the last one, we all like took it as a shooter.
And he put the glass down.
He breaks the glass and he and Tannafer look at him like, holy fuck.
You're fired.
Yeah.
We're not bringing you to nice places anymore.
Yeah, seriously.
But it was just a funny story, but like tequila on the.
rocks I enjoy.
Yeah, yeah, that's all.
Chris Chello's came on. He's a big tequila guy.
Started his own company, El Bandito, Yankee.
You got to try it. Very good.
He's a tequila on the rocks guy, too.
But I didn't know that yet, so we were asking him tequila drinks.
Like, what's his favorite in one of these?
And Dan loves a Paloma.
So we were like, and we put Paloma, and he was like,
Paloma is a fucking girl's drink.
I'm not drinking that.
And I was like, he bodybagged me, dude.
It is awful.
But I stand by it.
Palomas are delicious.
I like them, too.
I like him, too.
I'm a rock's guy too.
100%.
Okay, here's your last one.
But you need the big ice cube.
I don't like one.
Big square.
Big square.
Or like the round one.
The round one's the best one.
A big circle one.
I got a, I've got a Death Star Mold from Star Wars at home.
Every now and then I'll whip that out.
That's pretty fair.
Okay.
Okay, here's your last one.
Your category is tattoos.
Okay.
Pass shoot score.
The rose with the birthdays.
The Amsterdam with the wolves and the birds.
Or the family scroll with your, what's the lucky number on?
Is it 11?
What's on the back?
11.
11.
11.
Okay.
Oh, so yeah, the third one is the family scroll with 11 on the back.
I feel like this is a Sophie's choice for you here.
Like, tough to pick between these three.
They all have different meaning behind it, that's for sure.
Yeah.
I would say selfish wise would probably be the scroll with my lucky number as goal score.
Yeah.
I would say shooting would be the wolves Amsterdam.
Yep.
And then last would be the rose for family and stuff.
Like, my parents know I love them and my sister knows.
You don't need a tattoo for them.
It helps you remember the birthday.
Yeah.
It helps me remember. I am actually awful with birthdays.
Like, my one buddy, he's like May 11th.
I think I got that one right.
Yeah, I hope so.
Just don't say his name.
Every year I text him at like the last minute because I totally forget.
And I'm like, happy birthday.
He's like, well, you remember it?
I was like, yeah, thank God I got it in time.
Put in your phone, dude.
One year I missed it and I felt so bad.
He's like, I forget you.
Yeah.
It's the worst.
When you look in the calendar or you remember and it's the next day.
Oh, I hate it.
Oh, fuck.
I just did that with a good friend and I texted it.
And I was like, hey, happy birthday the next day.
and she goes, boo.
And I was like,
yeah,
you just got to take that one off of the chin.
Absolutely.
But then you get mad at people forget your birthday,
but when you miss theirs, it's okay.
Exactly.
Which one did Tage draw?
Yeah, did we hear that right?
Tage sketched it.
We were, I would say,
20 at the time.
And we did, like, in Washington,
all the young prospects go,
like, you know,
don't gamble your money away.
Yeah, yeah.
Don't get a ton of tattoos.
And, like, things like that.
We were talking, and I got close with Tage,
Walman, who's on my team now.
and we were just shooting the shit
and he was like drawing and I was like
hey like I want to get a tattoo and he's like
I'll draw you what are you thinking like just a sketch
and he sketched it for me and I was like hey I'm taking
this paper home like if I do the side to pull
off the half sleeve I'm going to use this
as like design like I'm going to use your idea
and show the artist so I was in Anaheim and I'm like
I'm going to do it now I got my first one at 18 the rows
and my parents are like yeah you can do it like my parents never thought
I was going to go through it yeah and then I come home with it
and my mom was like yeah actually did it my dad didn't talk
me for like a day he's like he's like he's like well you said it was okay it's your birthday dad
yeah i didn't think i was like yeah but it's your birthday all right it's for you so i was okay with
and then i went to anaheim and then in the summer kessler sent me up with his tattoo artist before i left
yeah yeah yeah he's inked up yeah yeah and i did it and you know that's what my idea i wanted like
i'm not home much like you know we travel so i always wanted to have something like i was proud
from where i'm from amsterdam i'm always going to support my country like that's where i was born
and I wanted to do something kind of special
that kind of has family around it.
Do I want to finish the full sleeve?
I'm 50-50.
I have days that I want to do it
and then I have days that I don't want to do it.
Until I'm fully committed to it,
I'm going to do it.
If we win a Stanley Cup, I think that will be decision making.
But until then, I think I'm just going to keep it.
What did Tage sketch?
Was it just like the river and stuff?
What part of it was he drawing?
So he drew the birds and the clouds.
And at the beginning it was X, X, X, X, X, X,
Because in Amsterdam, there's like, if you look at our jerseys, there's always three Xs, which means Amsterdam.
I didn't know that.
But like, if you walk around in North America, the X, X, X can mean completely something different.
So the tattoo artist was like, hey, like, I think you should just put Amsterdam over it.
So that's why we agreed to go with Amsterdam on it.
And honestly, it looks better.
And so he did the birds and the clouds.
So that was his design of it.
Incredible, dude.
Yeah.
And then I got to ask, do you either have or intend to still get the Lion King Tat?
Yeah, I do. Like, I have the idea, but like, I don't, I need to win a Stanley Cup so I can put the cup there too, so it all goes together.
Like lifting the cup on Pride Rock.
Wait, if you get a tattoo of Pride Rock and Rafiki is holding up the Stanley Cup instead of Simba, that will be the greatest tattoo of Baltimore.
So I have an idea, like, Blind King on Pride Rock, like on the front, but I have no idea what I want to do.
And I don't want to just fill it in for the sake.
So I put myself, I'm going to do it, but then I'm going to put the Stanley Cup on the other side and kind of mix it in.
So I might put a little Rafiki on the bottom of the cup.
just holding it and then have like the Lion King pride rock yeah yeah in the middle I need a dude I
need this so bad me too like a little Rifiki holding the Stanley Cup I think we'll go down as the
greatest Stanley Cup tattoo of all time yeah where is the Lion King come from you know like
it was my favorite movie yeah yeah was that in Peter Pan same dude so those were my two movies
as a kid but Lion King was always the one I always loved to watch the host so that's why it's like
got a mortalize it yep story behind it and then the Stanley Cup hopefully on the other side
yeah tiny Rifiki just holding it by his hands fucking beautiful
Good, dude.
I feed that so bad.
Because it has to, like, correspond with this.
Absolutely.
Yeah, absolutely.
It has to blend in.
That's the thing, right?
It's like, you get one.
And then everyone's like, I'll get a few more.
Yeah, why not?
But I kind of wanted to blend in.
I don't want it all to be random.
Like, the top half, like, it all blends together.
Yeah.
So I kind of wanted to make the bottom blend together.
It takes a while, too, right?
Like seven hours.
Yeah.
It took seven hours for the front here and then another seven.
So I had to do it in two days.
Yeah.
And that's when Game of Thrones came out.
So we were just watching Game of Thrones while to get in the tat.
I'm laying there like this.
Just going through multiple seasons.
Yeah, incredible.
It's incredible.
All right, Spranger, there's been a fucking blast, dude.
Thank you so much for coming on.
Before we let you go, is there anything you want to shout out?
Anyone you want to say what's up to?
No, you guys are great.
I'm happy to be here, and I had a blast, so let's do this again.
Hell yeah, dude.
Maybe when we win the Stanley Cup, I'll show you off to Rafiki tattoo.
I didn't want to presume, but like when you win the Stanley Cup, I need to be there when that Rafiki tattoo happens.
And listen, we're coming back for playoffs.
So make sure you can.
All right.
Awesome.
Great shit, dude.
Squad, you know that we are partnered with BetMGM.
You know that I need you to get on board with this partnership.
We have an incredible promo going right now.
All you have to do is type in promo code Netters 150.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S-150.
Here's how it works.
You make any bet you want.
Deposit $5 or more.
That's it.
Make a bet.
And no matter what, Bet-M-GM-P-M-P-T into your account to you.
for future bets.
This is a no-brainer.
Netters 150, bet MGM, make it happen.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler.
Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope N-Y for New York.
Call 1-800-3-2-0-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 1-800 next step for Arizona.
1-800-off for Iowa.
1-800-1-801-200-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
rewards are non-withdrawable bonus bets that expire in seven days in partnership with kansas crossing casino and hotel see betmgm.com for terms
u.s promotional offers not available in dc mississippi new york nevada ontario or porto rico
such a good time in detroit we've talked about it so many times now had a blast in that city
sprangers the man um such a cool story i'm so glad we got to hang with him yeah he he was just like a
awesome person love getting to highlight stories like that
to, you know, like unlikely journeys to the
NHL, absolutely dominating,
huge bump. He's going to get a fat
fucking contact. He's on a heater since he came off. He's going to get a
fat contact this summer and he deserves it. Can't
see it. It blows my mind what he's
doing on the fourth line and the amount of ice
time he's getting. Dude, that gave him, that's
that. Yeah, like it was insane.
Yeah, you should be his agent.
We're just going to help him.
We got some armchair GM,
Blakey. We sure do.
So, neck and neck,
yet again, want to guess who won?
I think Chris won.
I don't know.
Brock Bester scored 24.
Chris did win.
But on his team, he had Kail McCarer putting up one point.
Devastating.
But Kyle Conner saved the day with 12 points.
Yeah, he had one big game that really saved you.
Yeah.
So Chris ended the week with 30 points.
Dan ended the week with 29 points.
So the score is 152 to 149.
So Christopher, the ball is in your court.
You have first pick.
And the theme this week is European players.
So European-born players.
That does not count Russia.
Well, so hold on.
Here's the thing.
So the question is, I look this up.
No, I look this up.
The United Nations lists 44 countries as Europe.
The United Nations, Dan.
Really stat check.
Look up Asia right now.
I will.
Look up Asia and tell me what countries are in Asia.
You mean literally like look up the census on the United Nations or look at a map?
I want you to read you the countries.
I want you to Google Asia and then click countries.
No.
So we get all of Russia.
No.
Okay, for the purpose of this, just wipe out Russia.
Let's just keep it.
Do you get all of Scandinavia because that's Europe, according to the United?
Yeah.
Well, that's also Europe.
They're in Europe.
You think Scandinavia is a continent all of a sudden?
Russia is Europe, dog.
No, it is not, dude.
European players.
Russia is not part of Europe.
Yeah, it is.
No, yeah.
I remember, yeah, it is.
Russia is technically Asia and Europe.
I know.
But it's because it's so fucking big.
But I'm pulling, I'm pulling a card here.
of saying that we're not allowed to take Russian players.
Okay.
Fine, fine.
That'll be its own theme one time.
Fuck Russia right now.
Blake, do I get tonight?
I can't record people to come to us in the DMs being like, actually, Russia is part of Europe because you're in.
Fuck the UN.
Oh yeah, we just pissed off a bunch of people.
Do you get, do you go Monday to Monday when you check this?
So I get, I have the luxury of knowing what happened tonight.
No, you don't.
Yeah, I do.
Because we're recording late.
None of the games tonight count.
We'll go, yeah, how about we just go?
Tuesday to Monday.
Short week.
Fuck you.
Dude, that is some bullshit.
No Russia.
No fucking pasta.
This is so stupid.
No,
I mean, I can't take it.
I know, but he's had fucking two tucks in an assist tonight,
and I should automatically get him and fucking first pick and dance me to bitch.
Okay.
Spirit of the game is that you're a GM trying to predict your team.
Yeah, dude.
And I'm smart GM, and I know what happens.
happened. That's the dream. All right. First pick. Unhinged pick, but we're here. I'm going
goalie first. What? Go. The bold move, Cotton. Give me UC Soros. Love it. Love the pick.
First pick, I'll take Leon Drysidal. Give me Miko Randin. My next pick. We're in the city.
He's coming on the pod
Philip Fornesburg
That's a really good one
I'll take
Eric Carlson
I'm going to say in the same country
You know I love my Swedes
I'm going to take Victor Headman
Yeah good one
I almost did that
The Swedes are hot in this
Oh yeah
Extremely hot
Give me Miro Heiskenen
I'm going to keep the Swedish train rolling
And I'm going to take
Yespura
You know what dude
Give me
All of our good buddy
because I think he's a left wing.
Kevin Fiala.
You know, you started the Swiss train.
We're in Nashville.
I thought.
I thought so.
I'm going to take Yose.
Okay, so here's the question.
Do I want Petey or Lindholm?
Stutzel.
Or Stutzel?
The Sons are hot, dude.
You feeling Stutzel, Blake?
I just love him as a player.
let's do it
give me timie stutzel
and then I think
for goalie
I'm a borderline
all Swedish team
I have to go o'amark
I think you might have to
yeah
you guys love your Bruins goalies
yeah
it's like almost one every week
but I was thinking about it
like of the best goalies in the league
like I could have gotten Marky
but like I don't know that
God he's been great
but I don't necessarily believe
in the Calgary Flames
in the next three or four games here.
Yeah, they're a wild card.
I know.
I was so prepared to cuck you if you were going to take Nealander.
Oh, dude.
What do you mean?
What do you mean?
Why would you say, oh, dude?
I was just, I was never going to take Neeland.
Why?
Because he's a bitch.
Whoa.
He's one of the best players.
He's a top five scorer in the league, I think.
What do you mean you're going to cuck me?
He's born in Calgary.
I was going to go,
Born in Europe.
Doesn't count.
I'm mad you.
So he's Canadian.
No.
He's declared for Sweden.
Yeah.
No, but he's Canadian.
I kind of agree.
100%.
That you were, where were you born?
Yeah.
Okay.
Those are the squads.
Let's see how it shakes out.
Yes, it is.
Saucy predictions.
Now, we don't have hot chicken on us at the moment,
but we're in the home of hot chicken.
We're going to hit it tomorrow.
So we're going to do a big.
day tomorrow doing some hot chicken tasty so you'll see us struggling and we're going to have to struggle
because dan you predicted marksham would be traded by today he's very much a calgary flame i predicted
that mac david would score four goals that went back to the well dude check this out dan i predicted
macdavid would score four goals in his last three games he scored zero he's now nine 10 10 because of
tonight yeah 10 games without a goal so my prediction moving forward i'm going back to the well because
this is preposterous but i have to up
it because I respect you guys.
So they have three more games this week until our next record.
I'm saying he will have five in those three games.
I like that a lot, Chris.
My prediction, I believe in Harvey Dent.
And I also believe in Sidney Crosby.
So, Sydney Crosby has a game against Vancouver tomorrow.
a game against Seattle on Thursday
and then he has a game against
Calgary on Saturday
and a game against Edmonton on Monday
so that is to clarify
Vancouver
Seattle Calgary
Edmonton we might record before Edmonton
all are on the road
I believe
that Sidney Crosby
will be 3 in 1
we might record before Edmonton
on Monday
so don't count that one
I believe he will be two and one
you gotta go three and oh dude
what
two in one
I believe he'll be three and one
like this is such bullshit
two and one dude
but I believe that Sidney Crosby will be
three and oh in those games
I feel like he always does well Western
and I'll give you two and one if you add some points
no
oh he'll be three and oh but if I get it right
you have to eat double deal there we go
it's awesome prediction
that's it for us here in Nashville
hope you enjoyed this episode
hope you enjoyed Daniel Sprong
hope you enjoy all the madness
the drama the electricity
and the romance going on in the NHL right now
I know we are
and until we see you next week
I hope you skate hard
