Empty Netters Podcast - 77. NHL Trade Deadline Madness - Are Guentzel And Ullmark On The Move? | Ft. Bobby Ryan
Episode Date: March 6, 2024NHL Trade Deadline mayhem is like Christmas morning for hockey fans! The boys break down the Elias Pettersson extension, Anthony Mantha making Vegas even richer, and Lindy Ruff gets the axe. Bobby Rya...n joins the pod to discuss some of the biggest possible trade moves. Is Jake Guentzel going to leave Crosby? All-Star goalies Linus Ullmark, Juuse Saros, and Jakub Markstrom are on the board. Who gets dealt? Join in for all the craziness! Chapters (0:00) - Intro (0:51) - No Buckie Warm Up (1:35) - Tanev Trade (4:15) - Lyubushkin Trade (6:02) - Tommy Novak Extension (8:23) - Lindy Ruff Gets Fired (13:16) - Pettersson Extension (16:20) - Hot Ice (16:35) - Trade Deadline Predictions (35:33) - Goalie Market (45:22) - Bobby Ryan Interview (48:26) - Breaking Down the Oilers (53:18) - Home Ice in the Playoffs (56:14) - Does Saros get Traded? (1:03:09) - Is Boston a Contender? (1:09:43) - Kane vs Matthews!? (1:13:54) - Bobby Loves Organic Fights (1:14:30) - Ask an NHLer (1:39:43) - Arm Chair GM (1:42:15) - Saucy Predictions NEW EPISODES EVERY WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, we are talking all about the trade deadline and who's going to be on the move.
We're talking fighting, Renpy. What do we do with this guy?
Which team has an actual shot at winning the cup?
And of course, we're doing another round of inside the locker room with our boy Bobby Ryan.
Check it out.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Nettters podcast.
It's deadline week.
Feels like Christmas Eve.
We're finally back in the studio.
I don't know what time.
it is or what day it is, but I'm psyched to be here.
We've been on the road a lot, but we are back right now, and honestly, this was one of my
favorite episodes all of last season, so I'm excited to hear the scorching takes from the boys.
I think we get right into it.
Let's do it.
No Bucky warm up.
Some stuff's gone down already, Dan.
And maybe we tweeted about it.
We might have tweeted about it.
Big victory for your boy.
Last, what was that?
Last weekend?
I don't even, like I said, I remember.
It was when we were flying back.
Mid last week.
Yeah, we leave in Nashville.
Listen, we don't like picking fights around here.
We're too kind for that.
We're too humble for that, like I said.
But Calgary having a bit of a fire sale,
which is really funny because they're on such a heater right now.
I know.
A few teams are going to be doing that this week, I think.
Yeah.
Like a few teams that are in the hunt are about to be offloading,
but we'll see.
Go on.
But they're having a bit of a fire sale.
Chris Tanna was the first to go.
And obviously as trades come out,
people start talking about what the teams are.
asking and it was said that a first-round draft pick was the asking price for Chris Tanna.
And I think Chris Tannov is a great player, but I tweeted, there is no way that he is worth
a first-round pick, which I stand by, made a little bit of a joke trying to go a little over-the-top
with it saying he's worth a fourth. And then people lost their mind. So I was like, listen,
I'm obviously joking about the fourth, but he's worth a second-round pick at best.
Calgary Flames's Twitter got a hold of it, lost their minds a little bit. And listen, I'm not
mad at that. That's your boy. It's your team. You're passionate. You want to stand up for your guy.
You also want to get the best return possible. I doubled down, stuck to my guns and was like,
you're all insane. He's worth a second on pick. And then I've never been blessed by the hockey
gods more than this moment because two hours or so after this, after all this mayhem.
I was on a plane, tweeting at people from a plane. And right as we were landing,
boom, he's traded for a second run pick.
And I've never felt more validated in my entire life.
Good return.
Fair return.
Fair return.
And I think Taneb is a huge boost to the stars.
That is a great pickup.
I love Dallas even more than I did love Dallas after that pickup.
So once everyone's fucking calmed down, can't we all just agree that was a great trade by everybody?
100%.
I've said, how many times have I said this year on the Ask Me Anythings, everyone's like,
what does Dallas need?
I'm like, they need a defensive defenseman to help Miro.
Yep.
And I mean, well done, Dallas.
This now just lets Miro be Miro.
Yeah, exactly.
It's just going to unleash him.
Exactly.
So I have the full return here.
So it was a second round pick in 2024,
conditional third round pick in that condition.
They get that pick if the stars make it to the cup final.
The cup final, not conference.
And they got Artem.
Now I'm going to try and pronounce this.
It's a tough one.
Gershinkov.
So it was a former second round pick.
So technically you look at it, it's like two seconds and a conditional third.
Yeah.
It's a very fair return.
And at the price that they got him at, like the cap hit is insane.
Totally.
Dude, my favorite was the people going, there were a couple of mouth breathers who were like,
you said he'd get traded for a second round pick.
They got way more than that.
Yeah, two seconds and a third is way more than a first.
And what frustrates me about that is I'm like, guys, did anyone think that Chris Tanna was
going to be traded for just a pick?
Like, it was always going to be more.
What we were talking about was what was the highest draft pick he would.
get in return. Yes, of course. Of course. What's the cap it? So he's coming in at 1.125. That's
ridiculous. Yeah. I mean, that's great. Insane. Let's keep moving on with the trades. Yep.
Lubushkin, yep, back to the Leafs. Bet you hate it, don't you? I fucking hate it. Yeah.
Why are we giving up a third? We already are like, you know, struggling for draft picks and assets.
Why the fuck? Sorry. Why are we trading? Oh, dude, do it. Why are we trading for Elia Lubishkin? Like,
I mean, it sounds like he's got some more moves up his sleeve
with the retention that they put on him.
Like, he's getting, his cap hit comes under league minimum,
which whoop-do, great.
Yeah.
I don't care what his cap hit does.
I care what he does on the ice.
And first game gets bundled by Rampay.
I mean, not really his fault.
I mean, I was admiring that pass a little bit.
But you just not, yeah, as a least Finn, not very happy.
Yeah, nothing burger for me.
I have nothing to say about this.
It's one of those ones that's, it's, you know,
Good for you, Leifes.
You've got depth on D, I suppose.
He's not moving the needle, and I believe there's no way they're done.
So cool.
Yep.
One of the episodes a while ago, we had made some comment about one of these, maybe it was even
TANF.
But we were talking about D guys moving, and I was like, it wasn't TANF because he matters.
But my point was like, the Leafs last year even, like grabbed a bunch of defensemen,
and everyone was like, see, here we go.
And I was like, and not that one pair D grow on trees and are free.
But like, that last year did not help Toronto's D.
in the playoffs.
And I was like, if you do another thing like that,
if you pick up like another depth D,
what are we solving for here?
So that's it.
That's all I have to say, good day.
Yeah, good day.
Three more pieces of news that are big time.
I want to start with Tommy Novak.
Signs a nice extension.
I think it's three by three, five, or three five?
Three by three five.
Three by three five.
It's a good number.
I think, I love this move.
Tommy Novak's a phenomenal player. I think if you look at the season, the Preds kind of struggled.
They're way better since 2024 has started. I think Tommy's been an unbelievable player.
And I know a lot of teams were bummed to when they saw this. There was a lot of teams, Rangers
included, Carolina included, that was like, fuck when he re-signed. So great scoop. I think it's a
great move by Trots. I love that for them. Did you see who, or did you see they've been 8-0,
with the Preds are 8-0 since what?
we were there
no since trots canceled
the team
to see you too right yeah
he said it's not a fucking joke boys
we suck make the playoffs
and now they're on an absolute burner
you had a question of why
they didn't scoop up kuznets off
is that right
yeah like why I thought for sure
when that news came out that he was on waivers
I was like okay what team needs a center
and the first team looking like didn't even need to do much
digging it's like Nashville
yeah who
do Kuznetsov win a Stanley Cup with?
Trots.
Oh, yeah, true.
Which I thought about too.
And they have so much cap space.
But why not take a chance on him?
I think there's a lot, dude.
Boston needs one too.
I just think what you just said,
why not take a chance is that
question is that they don't know what's going on
with him. Because I wouldn't take
a chance either.
Sorry, finish. Nope.
I'm just just reading because I didn't even know this.
He can still, I guess, obviously,
but he can still be traded.
like they could just trade him now and maybe there's like a and you're retaining half of that salary like maybe they're interested but not at fucking seven eight or whatever yeah he's got a big cap hit seven point eight yeah he's now the highest paid player ever to be rostered in the a hl not not yeah kind of an awesome stat i mean bottom line obviously talking about someone coming out of the PA program we obviously hope he's you know doing okay but that is kind of funny yeah yeah okay and then the last two lindy rough five
fired. Yes. The season the Devils have had, they started poorly last year. They were chanting
fire Lindy in the crowd. They turned it around and had an awesome year all set and done last year.
We always have to say, though, it was like five games. They started poorly after five games.
I need people to remember the narrative. It's like they weren't that bad for that long.
Yeah, that's true. I think I do extend it in my mind. This year, this season is unacceptable.
and if you
like we always say it's the first acts
right like it's been unacceptable all year
they haven't really turned it around but for me
I'm not a deep deep devil's fan
I know a lot of our listeners are and they can speak to this
better than me but for me as an
educated outsider
it's the lack of
change from Lindy
like it's like the same banging their head into the wall
the same PP1 unit Luke Hughes at the top there
like usually when teams are going through
it, talented
rosters
are going through it,
you see like
crazy line mixups
and all this stuff
happening.
I'm sure there's a
little bit because I'm not
watching the devils
every night,
but that's what it feels
like from the fan base
that I'm hearing.
Not enough desire,
willingness to mix it up.
And where they're at right now,
this deep in the season,
had to happen.
Yeah, it's about time.
This was a long time coming.
He was going to get
absolutely dumped on
with Fire Lindy Chance
tomorrow, Tuesday night.
think is their next home game.
Against the Panthers.
Yeah.
It was by 50.
If this didn't happen.
So it had to happen.
As we always say, it's the easiest head to chop off, the coach.
It's the easy fire.
I think he's an older coach.
I think he's got a great resume.
But you look at how young this team is.
There's a chance that maybe it is a good opportunity to go with someone new.
And I have something to say about that.
But while it's not all on Lindy.
And I need fans to understand that.
It's not all on Lindy.
I agree with you.
There were things that could have been changed that were not.
Yes, they had injuries.
Yes, their goaltending has been terrible.
Their 5V5 scoring has been horrendous, and not much has been done with that.
Their P.P.1, like you said, insane.
I think Lindy and this devil's team has been way too soft and way too easy on Luke Hughes.
I think Luke Hughes is going to be one of the best defensemen in this league in a few years' time, but he is not right now.
I think he has something like 30, 34 points, something in the low 30s range in points.
And he is getting, he's been playing PP1 all season long because of the six letters on the back of his jersey.
Nice.
And I saw that quick.
And Dougie being out.
And Dougie being out.
And I just think you need more production from him because he's got a lot of brutal turnovers.
He's got a lot of, you know, brain dead plays in the defensive zone where he's leaving his guy.
And he's not getting the hard slap on the wrist.
that I think any other rookie with a different name would be getting.
And Nemick is a perfect example.
I don't think Nemick is getting the same treatment as Hughes is getting.
So that needed to change as well.
And then the big one for me is,
what was that stat that just came out?
They've given up the first goal in games over 70% of the time this season.
Ridiculous.
That is absurd.
Playing from behind,
even if it's a first five-minute goal,
is such a mentality thing in this game.
And if you were just doing that,
every game. Part of that is your pregame preparation, and that's on Lindy. So it's not without blame.
It's not totally his fault. End of the day, as Jacobs needed. And that one thing I did want to say,
when you look at how young this roster is, you look at the types of guys on this devil's team.
This is such a good opportunity to do what we've talked about a lot in give a new coach a chance.
Don't go back to the old boys club carousel. Look elsewhere. Find a new voice. Find possibly a young voice
with some new creative ideas and get a new name in the mix here and give them a shot as the head coach of the New Jersey Devils.
So do you know the farthest Lindy Ruff has ever made it in his coaching career?
I think it's the second round of the playoffs.
So it's the Eastern Conference final.
It is the Eastern Conference Final.
And he made it to the Cup final that year.
Oh.
With who?
With Buffalo in 99.
That's right.
But what has he done since?
Didley Squat.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Last year.
And so, yeah, I think it is time for, you know what?
You've had a nice coaching career?
go spend some time on the he's from Alberta go spend some time on the farm and pick your
your head be a dad be a grandpa it's time to get some new voices in there and I agree on to your
luke use point he's got 31 points and 61 games but he's a dash 21 yeah through 60 games
nemesch is a dash 2 through 40 games I know plus minus is not the most I'm the biggest plus
minus guy in the world dude it is a thing I can't stand with p and I know you're not doing that
but it's a thing when it's astronomical like that yeah dash 21 dash 21 yeah that's brutal
Also, the Buffalo Sabres have the opportunity to do the funniest thing in the world in hiring Lundy.
Yeah.
Like, that would just be.
Too late, I might add, too, for the devils here.
I've seen kings turn it around, others turn it around.
Not everybody, right?
Like the wild, but like, too late.
Okay, and the last big one, Elias Pedershan.
Resigns, eight years, 11.6, 100K more than Willie Nealander.
We said he was going to get more as he deserves.
That's a great deal.
deal for it. That's a steal, in my opinion. I really have a couple of things to say about this. And if you'd
like to go first, I'd like to offer you the table. I truly, I just think it's an, I didn't,
all I was going to say was, I really didn't think it was going to happen. We had heard from
legitimate people, like legitimate people, I'm not going to say names, but that they were like,
he wants out, he's, the Lindholm thing was part of, because Petey's gone, all this stuff.
And maybe those were true in the moment. Maybe he said that. But I was very much gearing up for
EDI being gone.
And so this was a big surprise.
I thought it was a great, it's great for the Canox moving forward
because he's a fantastic player, if he's happy.
And I thought that was a bargain.
Yeah.
And that was definitely true, right?
Because we heard about this Carolina trade that came really close.
So I think it was true that something wasn't perfect.
He was looking elsewhere.
Totally agree.
I don't want to say bargain, because he's getting paid over $11.5 million.
But he could have definitely got more.
I think he definitely left some money on the table.
Yeah. I'm happy for him. He deserves every cent of that. I think he is being a little friendly to the team here while also getting his bag.
Yep. I was always surprised. And I'm glad he's back. Yeah. Because, and it's funny, you know, deep down being a Bruins fan, it's funny to say anything nice about the Canucks because that 2011 final series was so insane. I mean, it's the Sadeen brothers were such fuckers. And, you know, you had, you had Rome being such a prick. And, you know, you had, you had Rome being such a prick. And,
And Burroughs fighting, Bergeron's fighting people, dude.
This is going to be an off-season topic between us,
because I was a huge Canucks fan at that time at game five.
Oh, my God.
That's where my Bruins hatred started.
Yeah.
Two years later, when I decided, oh, I'm going to become a least fan.
Then that game seven.
Yeah.
So this will be, we'll just off-season this.
Dude, become a Panthers fan right now.
But, please.
But I really love, I really love this Canucks team.
And I think it's,
I think it's because of a few things.
We talked last season about how they're so good on paper.
And I was like, be good.
And the fact that they're good, I love that the potential realized is really fun.
And then I just love their players.
We all know I'm a big Quinn Hughes guy.
I love Quinner.
I love Heronic.
I love J.T. Miller.
I love Brock Besser.
And I love Petey, too.
I love the way PD plays.
So I always just thought it was so weird
how he possibly wanted out.
Why would you ever want to leave that group of people?
And talk is the man.
So I was always so confused, so I'm happy he's back.
I am sad we didn't see the chaos.
Yeah, yeah.
I love drama and I love chaos.
And it was fun all season long so far
being like Elias Pedersen is fucking leaving this.
Yeah.
That was really fun.
So I'm bummed that that didn't happen,
but I am happy for Vancouver
and I'm happy for PD.
so that's amazing.
Okay, let's put those buckets on
and get into hot ice,
which for this episode is literally
just what we think is going to happen
at the trade deadline this week.
This episode's going to come out on Wednesday.
We're talking on Monday.
Nothing huge has happened today.
So we're making predictions
for the next four days,
and you'll hear it.
I wrote a ton of shit down.
Anything you want to talk in particular?
I love it.
Just be my Sherpa here
and just begin people,
and then we will,
we will start talking. Okay, I actually want to start with Noah Hanuffin.
Okay, my only things on Noah Hanifin, I think Noah Hanifin's going to the lightning. I think
the lightning every year, they figure something out, they make an unbelievable move. I think
Noah Hanofin wants, or would be very happy in Tampa. I think it's a perfect spot for him. How good
has Tampa been at nurturing and bringing up unbelievable defensemen? I think the opportunity
to play with guys like Hedman and Surgachev is very enticing to him.
I think what's interesting will be going back the other way.
It's obviously going to be a first-round pick.
From 20-26.
Yes, the Lightning don't have many first-round picks.
I don't really know what of their prospects off the top of my head
is that great for them going back.
So if it's a 20-26 first-rounder,
there's probably going to be a 2024 second-rounder involved.
There's probably going to be some type of with-turn.
rostered player, I would guess. But I think that's a very serious option for him. I know Boston
is another option for him, but I've said, like we've said from the beginning of the year,
Boston trading a first round pick and being without a first round pick yet again for Noah
Hanofin is, in my opinion, not a good move. Is having Charlie McAvoy, Hamas Lindholm, and Noah
Hanofin in your decor great? Yes, it is great. But I'm not sure that Noah
Hannafin and the deal he's going to get. I think where Noah goes, it will come with an extension.
Okay. Yep. And I don't think, I just don't, I don't think it is a good move for Boston.
I don't think so. I think, like, I know that's what the flames want and that's what he wants.
I, like, no one has the cap and the assets to properly make that work with an extension built in.
Boston does. Do you think they have? Boston has roughly 27 million cap next summer.
But to make it happen at this deadline. Oh, yeah. They, they, they, Boston making that.
trade what's no make like four eight five oh it's yeah find that out but i think boston would be a
situation where it's it would have to include picks to sweeten it what is it so four point nine
okay four nine i guess yeah what i say four eight three you'd be bringing a three three part third party
team probably get that to like yeah one five but also if if you give enough back true for example
if boston were to do that trade i think it would be something like a gris
which is 3-8 right there.
Boom.
And then retain 20% and then here's a pick, here's a prospect.
Like, that's how you make it work.
Yeah.
Because what's it to Calgary retaining 20 to 40% for the last two months of the season?
Nothing.
Again, I don't like it for Boston.
Honestly, the number one reason I don't like it is because I don't fucking want
Don Sweeney to get Noah Hannafin because Noah Hannafin is the reason that 2015 draft went
to shit because Don kept trying to trade up to get him.
and then botched his entire draft.
And I don't want him to be able to be like, I finally got it.
Dude, and I don't think Noah Hannafin has lived up to where he went and where Don wanted him anyway.
I agree.
So I don't like him in Boston.
I don't think Noah Hannafin is a great piece on a team that is missing a Noah Hanoffin to try to get you to the
cup.
I don't think Boston is a Noah Hannafinn away from the cup.
I do think what we were just talking about with Greg Wachinsky, there's that template,
and Tampa has figured that out and made the right moves on D to have that solid.
core. I think Noah Haniffin is a great move for Tampa, especially because we don't know about
Sergi if he's going to be able to play at all. And I think he does go. And by the way, I think a 26
first rounder from Tampa is actually good because they are going to be like, you know, who knows?
Maybe they read two on the fly, but like I'd love a 2026 first from Tampa much more than I'd love
one next year. Yeah, I agree. So I'd ask for the 28 first rounder, dude. Like go into the
fucking free fall, baby. So I'm Noah Hanifin to the lightning done.
Love it.
Happening.
Next.
Let's go to the penguins.
Two guys, right?
Two guys, in my opinion.
Okay, Jake Gensel, I think Jake Gensel's moving.
I don't think so.
And I like that.
Honestly, I like it.
Why?
I just think Sid's going to walk into Kyle Dubus' office and say, you're not trading Jake.
We're going to try and make the playoffs.
We don't make it.
We don't make it.
Yep, which I hear that.
And if I'm Kyle Dubus and I have a single piece of peach fuzz on my shriveled up bean bag,
I go, dude, get fucked.
Like, I know you're Sid, but we went out and we got Carlson for you.
We went out and brought your boys back and look at that.
We're not making playoffs.
And you can games in hand me all you want, Pittsburgh, you're not making playoffs.
I really think they're done.
So I think that's why they're going to do it.
I think it's been interesting to hear that they say they don't want picks.
They want prospects, which in my opinion opens the door to a lot of teams.
And here's one that I don't know how they'd make the money work, but holy shit, if the New York Rangers could get Jake Gensel.
Because I think about prospects, dude.
I think about Gabe Perrault.
I think about a lot of players that they have in the system that they could send, you know, three guys that way.
And you put Jake Gensel up on that first line with Mika Zabinajad and get him going 5 v.5 for the first time all season.
That would legitimately punch their ticket to the Stanley Cup and probably lift it as well.
Wow. I said last week I'm finally willing to admit the penguins are probably not making it.
Even though I still think Philly is catchable.
And like someone's going to either Jersey or Pitt or like that is a dumpster of that three spot.
So I still think they could miss and I love, I think Blake is right. That is what Sid is saying.
I just think dubus is going to go, okay, I don't care. But with the caveat of I just think, and we've heard this from every source, that the asking price is huge.
I think the Gensel asking price is huge. So he's going to say to Sid, I respect you.
but if I can get this, I'm doing it.
And I don't think he'll cave.
I think if he doesn't come in at the asking price they want, which is absurd,
then I think he will stay.
But if someone goes fucking nuts, I think they do it.
And I love Carolina.
I think they missed on P.E.
They feel a fucking huge scoring piece away.
And I think they, that's my call.
They pay a king's ransom for Jake Gensel to try to win the fucking cup finally.
I also think Florida for that reason.
That would be crazy.
I really like.
I really, and Florida to me seems like the,
they make the trade with talking to Jake
of them going, we're bringing you back.
Yep.
But that would be very interesting because they've got Foresling,
they've got Montor, they've got Reinhart,
they've got a lot of people who do sign.
If you add Jake Gensel to that group, that'd be complicated.
Yep, but there's going to be big change there anyway.
I tweeted today, if you replace,
if the Panthers can upgrade Nick Cousinsons in their top six,
they have the best top six in the NHL by a billion years.
And if they added Jake Gensel, I'm like,
Oh, you're, I mean, I'll see you in the cup.
Yep.
You want to break up the rat line?
The Kentucky, Don, Ben, and, I think they do too.
Yeah, no, no, no.
You're not wrong.
The other one for me is Riley Smith.
Oh, and, well, the other one for me is Riley Smith.
Yep.
And to our earlier points, I think if Gensel doesn't go, like, if the asking price
never gets there and Gensel doesn't go, they probably don't trade Riley Smith either
because they're like, all right, dude, like, we're fucking, because I don't think he'll
keep Gensel to play Kate Sid, but then also Jack Riley, not that he's been that great,
but I just think they're either in it or they're trading people.
I think Riley Smith goes no matter what.
Okay.
If they find a suitor.
My issue with Riley is he's got a $5 million cap hit, I think,
and that's under contract next year too.
And I think Riley Smith's a great player.
It just clearly hasn't worked in Pittsburgh.
Me too.
So that's a hard sell to be like, hey, take this $5 million on.
He's been really bad this year.
And he's 32.
I think the argument is you guys are doing something wrong.
Oh, great.
Yeah, he's like, he'll work for me.
Again, if I'm the buyer, I go like this,
Oh, Riley Smith can't play with Sidney Crosby.
You know what I mean?
There's just a lot of ammunition to be like, I'm not doing this.
Yep.
Who's next?
Well, I just want to say, I think he goes, and you know who I love for him?
Because they've been looking for a winger, but I don't think they have the money to do something huge.
The Canucks.
I think the Canucks, I think he bolsters a Canucks playoff.
And a proven winner in the playoffs, playoff performer.
And they're like, God, we just need one winger that might have a spark.
I'm making a call to Pittsburgh if they're moving.
Yeah.
It's a smart move.
Yeah.
I like Colorado a lot for Riley.
But I think they need.
more of a center. Yep.
So. Okay. Boston Bruins.
And save any Allmark talk because I'm going to get,
the goalies will be the last thing we discussed. Okay, then I have nothing to say.
Okay, all I'll say is this, fucking trade every UFA on the team.
Literally every single one of them. The Panthers have already passed the Bruins.
They're not going to get, their Bruins will not catch them. The Leafs are going to pass
the Bruins. The Bruins are going to finish third and lose to Toronto in the first round.
The Bruins are absolutely dick slapping the Leafs right now. Do you want to change that take?
No. I do not.
And the only way the Bruins would possibly beat the Leafs in the first round is because the Leafs.
Yeah, exactly.
The Leafs are just like they see the spoke being fucking.
And they go like, oh, Jesus crying.
Matthews can never score again.
But there's just no need.
And actually, I said to you earlier, the Bruins good start this year is the reason some of the young prospects weren't getting more burn.
But I think the cost of it.
The benefit of that is you can maybe move guys like JVR because you're like, hey, he had a pretty good run for us at the beginning.
Like maybe he helps you.
helps your power play. Yep. Get them. No, no. Yeah, I don't want to get into it because I've got
into it with Bruin's Twitter a ton, but it's like, there's a difference between being sellers
when you're in such a good position and making smart moves. Yep. Trading way your prospects and
first round picks for a, like, a Teresenko. Yeah. That's not winning you the cup this year,
guys. So just calm down and be smart. Okay, this one, we don't have to linger on it,
but I just want your thoughts. I'm seeing that the caps are unloading again. They're doing it
again. And it was just hilarious to me because it's like two years in a row where you're like,
I think they might make it. And we're out. I actually like, I think it's smart. Me too. It's genius.
Because you know what they're doing? Obviously they miss playoffs, but they're assessing what we can't
make a move that all of a sudden we're making, look at the good teams. It's smart. They're doing a great job.
The only tricky part for them is what's tricky for Pitt is that you've got this legacy goat.
And you're like, how do we handle this? So it's kind of messy. But Max Patchretti, I think could and
possibly will move.
That's up to Max. Max is only the second player in Washington Capitol's history to sign a full
no-move clause, which I think is amazing.
Like a lot of respect to the caps for you know, like a season that like him.
Patches went around the world. People don't know this to get his ACL fixed. Like he cared
so much about coming back. He has come back. Achilles. Achilles, thank you. Sorry, sorry,
Achilles. He has come back and has played very well. I know I just said this about them.
I think Boston is a team that he would wave it for.
I think Boston is a team that they could go,
here's a second, third round pick.
And that's what I'm talking about, guys.
That is a smart, calculated move that's not too costly.
That could go, here you go, guys, here's a pick.
We're going to take him.
We're going to throw him on that second line wing
and see what can happen.
That would be interesting.
I think I'd love to see him move.
It's going to be to a, honestly,
it's going to be to a Florida, New York, Boston.
I think he's going to stay on the East Coast.
and I think it's going to be a,
I'm only going to a team that I could legitimately see winning a cup.
So to me, on the east, it's New York and Florida.
And when everyone's, I keep reading that geography is super important to his family.
Is that like northeast area geography or does he just mean east coast?
Does anybody know what he's talking about there?
I don't know.
And part of me wonders like, I wonder if Carolina.
I wonder if he could go back.
Yeah, right.
So he's from Connecticut.
That's where he's from.
I think it's northeast.
That's why I said that.
That's why I like the rags.
And I like Boston.
too. Yeah, yeah. Because I'm telling you, it's not going to be that costly. And Rangers, you're so
worried about giving up player, like, you don't want to say goodbye to some of your guys. That could be a
pretty good option of a guy that you're not, you know, given up too much for. Yep. Okay, next,
Ottawa Senators. A lot of guys that could move, a lot of guys that I don't think necessarily want
or want it to move. Yes, agree. I think, did I, go. No, go, go. I, super quick. I think
Claude keeps getting brought up. I think Vlad keeps getting brought up. I don't think either want
to move. And I would frankly love them to stay. Me too. Both great leaders. I think
it'd be good. I believe in the auto senators. It's been an awful year, but whatever.
The one to me that is a, you gotta move him is chikrin. It hasn't worked and you have Chabby,
you have Sanderson in front. I'm sorry. It's too many of the same guys. Their cap combined,
I think is something like 20 mil. It's a quarter of the cap space. You can't do that, move him,
no question. Where do you like him? I actually don't really, it's funny because all the teams I think
about that need D, they need the opposite type of D.
I personally, the tires were kicked on it.
I'd love to see him in L.A.
I think that that could be a very interesting landing spot for him.
I like that, actually.
It could be an off-season thing because Roy is the UFA.
He's going to get a payday.
They have Clark and Spence on the right side, young guys coming up.
And Cube needs to be resigned.
Yeah.
So, yeah.
To me, yeah.
That's the, you know, I just think he needs to be moved.
that's an interesting option for me.
Who needs a puck moving defenseman?
Yeah, that's in the playoffs right now.
He's not cheap either.
Yeah, let's think about that more.
I want to say this.
I really hate that the senators had this season
because I thought they brought in some cool players
and I was excited to see this develop
and if they blow it up now
or even like a partially blow it up, that sucks.
Giroux, I believe, stays.
Even though that teams could totally use him
and I would love to see him get a chance for a cup truly.
but I believe he stays. Bad Vlad,
unfortunately, I do think,
goes, and I'm looking right at Vegas.
They're going to do some manipulation
with the cap and the long-term IR, and good for them, dude.
That's how you fucking win.
I like that one, too.
He would be fucking valuable as shit.
That team is so deep already.
Can you imagine?
Can you imagine Jack Eichel Dish and Bad Vlad the puck?
Fucking hell, dude.
That's beautiful. I love that.
Okay, love that.
Next, let's go Rangers.
It's, you know, every person that's mentioned, the Rangers fans jump on it and say that they want them.
It's Frank Petrono and Adam Henrik.
And Vlad.
People are talking Vlad going back then.
People talking Vlad too.
I think Frank and Henrique is a big one.
I also think Alex Wenberg.
Alex Wenberg was mentioned today.
He has been held out of the Cracken's situations for trade purposes.
So he's, I'm surprised we haven't heard it yet.
So Wenberg is moving.
I don't love Wenberg to the Rangers.
Thank you.
I don't love them as a player.
Yeah.
I think it's an absolutely insane thing.
He's possibly the biggest man rocket in the NHL.
And I think he's a good situation for teams.
Colorado is one that I mentioned.
I could see Colorado getting Wenberg because that's a great roster of guys
that you put Wenberg coming up down the middle playing second or third line center.
He's going to do well with those players.
I really don't like him for the Rangers.
The Rangers for me, they want for Toronto, they want Vlad.
The fact of the matter is what New York needs is a...
Chikrin.
I think New York needs a top six forward.
And that is going to cost them a first-round pick.
And we just don't know if Drury's going to be able to do that.
I think it's so great.
I don't want to talk about it anymore.
I think it's insane.
If they got Henrique and Bertrano, I really like that for them.
I think that that's just great.
I think both players are playing incredibly well.
I think for Toronto, this is something that I had a conversation with you about.
If I were Vittrono, and if I were Verbeak, I wouldn't want to move.
I think he is their power play guy.
I think he's going to have 35 goals this year.
He's getting the minutes and the opportunities that he will not get on New York.
So you can't expect the same production, I don't think.
And when I look at that young roster, Frank's only 29.
He was their All-Star.
I think he has a lot of upside staying with this team and staying with them.
but I understand if you're the ducks and you're still in this rebuild,
you might want to move them and get what you can.
But what can you get?
If you're doing that, Rangers fans, man, like, there are people on fucking Twitter being
like, they want Kako back over my dead body.
And people's explanation is, Frank Fertrano's 29 and he's about to score 35 goals.
Kako's only 22.
How do you make that trade?
And I'm like, guys, there is no guarantee that Kako will ever be better than this.
Yeah.
Kako is a third line player.
Frank Petrono is a top six player.
That is just the facts.
Yep.
So I think it's crazy how Rangers fans want the cup this year and they want to make a move for some big stud.
But they won't give up Capo caco.
It's like, guys, you got to do it.
Please take him.
Dude, the Bruins let go of fucking Blake Wheeler to win a cup.
It's obviously not guaranteed, but you've got to try.
So it's like, this is the best you've been in a long time.
They look so fucking good.
You got to be willing to let go of more than caco, frankly.
So, oh my God, yes.
It's crazy.
Yep.
I think it's Frank.
I think Frank's going to New York.
You do think so.
Yeah.
I think Frank stays.
If you're the ducks, his values never been higher, so I totally get that.
I just think, and I will say, admittedly, Frank has multiple times talked about how much he loved playing in New York with Crides and Mika and like his time just being in the city.
So certainly there's desire there.
But, dude, you're in Southern California and he's on a fun team and having the fucking season of his life.
Like what you said earlier, I totally resonates with me.
I just don't know that you want to give that up.
Now, if he feels like the ducks,
he would never say it out loud,
but if he feels like the ducks are several years away from competing,
then yeah, he wants out.
But if I'm him, and I'm Verbeek, I'm like, dude, no.
I agree.
You're part of this team.
You're our best goal score.
I really would not want to move if I were Frank,
and if I were Verbeek, I wouldn't move it.
Because like I said, if you're, even if, let's say it's straight up,
if you do Frank for Kako, and a first,
I go, what is this first?
28 to 32.
Yep.
I don't fucking need that right now.
And like, you get Kako.
And even on Anaheim,
Cockco is probably a third line.
He's the worst of the,
now you have like a bunch of 22-year-olds
and he's the fucking worst one of them.
Yeah.
You know, I'm like, oh, thanks, dude.
Now get a line behind fucking.
I really would not do that deal.
And McTee and Z and Troy and everybody.
And I'm like, what are you doing here?
You're given a 35 goal score, and I'm projecting up.
He's already at 29.
He's going to score more than that.
Yeah.
You're giving a 30 plus.
goal score for a guy who's never sniffed 30 points in his career. Goleys.
Chaotic market. I have a ton I want to talk about. I want to go first on this one.
At the beginning of the season, loyal listeners will remember that one of our preseason
predictions was we each said three goalies were going to be traded this year. You said
Hellebuck, Gibson, and Carter Hart. I'll give you, that was not fair. So two, you only
submitted two. Hellebuck, obviously not, Gibson, maybe still. I said Logan Thompson, O'Mark,
and Soros and was laughed out of this fucking studio when I said Saras.
And now, dude, he's the number one fucking him and Marksummer,
like the hottest goalie names being talked about.
And in the fucking twists of all twists,
I think I'm actually going to walk my prediction back.
Because even though I think, and Bobby Ryan says this,
they should do it because they're not going any further than the first round.
No matter what, even on this fucking heater they're on.
But I just don't know that they have the sack to the fan base.
when they're doing what they're doing right now, to be like, and pull plug.
I think Trots does.
I hope he does.
I hope he does too.
They have Ascarov, 11th overall 20-20 first round pick, sitting in the minors, his second year in the Myers.
This year he's played 30 games, 2.14 goals against average and a 920% percentage.
And that's an improvement on his year prior in the, in the HL.
Like, what are we waiting for?
Dude, yeah, go.
Okay, I'll be pretty concise with this.
I think Jake Allen is going to get traded.
Me too.
That one is an interesting one because I'm not like, I don't really know what that does.
I think it gives you a little bit of depth.
I think Fleury has said he doesn't want to move, but if the wild in this week look like we're done, we're out.
He has not missed the playoffs, I think, in 17 seasons.
And he really cares about that.
Mark Andre Fleury has not missed the playoffs in 17 seasons.
I still don't think he's either, but I do think that there's a world and I'm going to go back to Detroit.
If he says he's okay with being moved, I think Detroit is a very real option.
But the big three are Olmark, Soros, and Marksham.
No doubt about it.
All three have to move.
Whether it be now, hold on, whether it be now or this summer, all three have to move.
It's just the fact of the matter.
I can't believe the meltdown that Calgary has done with this mushroom.
Oh, dude, it's a disaster.
This poor guy's name has been in this carousel for fucking months.
I've eaten multiple hot wings because of talking.
about trading this fucking guy.
You have to send him for respect out of him.
Because after all this, you can't bring him back and make him play for you next year.
Yeah.
You simply cannot.
Soros, you said it all.
I agree, trade him.
Bobby is right.
You're not, what do you do?
If you keep him, you go on this run, you go, we made it into the playoffs.
You're going to lose in the first or second run.
Was that worth it?
Was that worse, the picks, like the worst first round pick that you probably have?
What it is doing, however, is saying to your fan base,
We can't win, guys.
And I think that's okay.
But you can't.
The fans that you're going to upset by saying that, sorry, dude.
Yep.
Like, be realistic.
They'll be back in a month.
I know.
They just look at the Panthers last year.
The Panthers last year were a nightmare for GMs because of this.
I said all season long that the Bruins identity is their goaltending.
Yep.
We're long in the tooth now in the season.
The Bruins, I think since 2024 are like straight up without the overtime shootout point.
they are a flat 500 team.
Yeah.
So I think that's breaking down a little bit.
Olmark has to be traded.
Yep.
Whether it be now or the summer, like I said with the other two.
If the deal is there, you do it.
He's going, dude.
If it's whatever, you don't do it.
You trade them this summer.
In my opinion, we are now in a Mexican standoff with these three teams because the first one is going to dictate a lot.
Set the market.
And I think the best return comes now.
because teams are desperate.
Teams are willing to do a big mix-up right now.
Especially for this position, in my opinion.
When you don't have as much time to think about it,
and I think the Bruins should do it.
And the big one for me,
regardless of the fact that the devils are dead,
I think Linus Olmark,
a Matt Griswick or a Jake DeBrusk,
Fabian Lysel, one of their top prospects.
Who I love.
And a second round pick to New Jersey
for Tyler Tifoli and Dawson Mercer
is a sign-sealed deliver trade that is good for both teams.
Because Devils, you get O-Mark for the rest of this year, whatever.
You get him next year, controlled, and the chance to re-sign him
and have your goalie with Jack Hughes in this score for the next five years.
And Linus O'Mort is a phenomenal goalie.
Yep.
You also get Fabian Lysol, one of the top prospects in the Bruins organization
who's playing at a point per game in the HL right now.
You also get a second-round pick.
The Bruins get a great, great, great sniper top six,
winger for this playoff run in Tyler Tully, and you get your center who's having a down year
in Dawson Mercer for the future that you desperately need. I think it's an even trade for both
teams. I think it answers a lot of questions for both teams, and it's something that I would
pull the trigger on right now if I were both teams. The only teams that are going to acquire a
goalie in the next five days are playoff teams, obviously. Yes, but I do think the devil's again...
Oh, sorry, fair. In the hunt, significantly the hunt playoff teams. No, extremely fair. How many
of those teams you think exist? How many teams do you think
will, could even acquire a goalie this week?
Three? I think it's three.
Devils? Kings? Kings?
Yeah. Cains.
Because I think you cannot
roll into the playoffs. If you're the heart kings, you cannot
roll into the situation. Devil's Kings, Keyes,
Leifs and Wings.
Leaves? No. Five teams that I think
I do not. I do not think either
the Leafs or Wings are going to make them move for a starter.
Me neither. So,
so I think it's Kings, I think it's Keynes,
and I think it's Devils.
Kings, Kings,
devils and you don't think
Leafs or Wings would do a starter.
I would not.
And also, I didn't even name the Oilers
who I really don't think are going to do something
that they should for a backup.
I love, Elmark's going, dude,
for 100%.
Do you think if one of the three Mexican
standoff golies go, no one else,
like, do you think only one, like the devils are going to get
one of those three and then no one else is going to make that
huge move? No, I think if, I think one
deadline acquisition will happen.
Maybe, maybe.
Maybe.
I would love it. I would love those three teams to get these three goalies that were not.
I think this, O-Mark to the Devils.
You know who I think would, I'm sorry to interrupt you.
Go.
I think would look amazing in a King's Jersey, Osaros.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, my God.
They've been trying to get on the hands since the draft.
Olmark to the Devils, Markstrom to the Keynes, I love, because that changes their team in such a massive way.
He looks.
He looks in the best goal in the fucking league.
And then Flurry, I think, moves.
I think he cares about the playoffs enough in the wilder.
He does too.
I love the Kings for Flurry because,
It's not the, like, it's not the, it's your net, but it's also not, you'll never play.
Because he doesn't want to go to the least where they're like, dude, you're never going to play.
I think it would behoove the Kings to understand that this is an important year for them.
Like, they should be making moves right now to go far.
Yeah, not, not.
Who knows if Dowdy and Kobit are going to keep this form.
Not to mention, dude, the knights are losing to the Blue Jackets right now and they're devastated with injury.
The Kings could absolutely hop the knights in the stand.
Yeah, yeah.
So.
And then I also don't hate flurry to the wings for the same reason.
Because like that would be really cool.
The question is I really think Alan is going.
And like where does he?
I think it's just a depth one.
Like that could be the canes.
The same.
Yeah.
But the canes just need, if they get adeptly, I don't think they move the needle for me.
Like they need to go get Soros or Allmark or Markstrom.
Yeah.
And like I don't think they're going to trade Omerk to the canes.
So it's like go get Soros or Markstrom.
I envision like a three-way trade.
Like the kings get like.
Saros and then the Preds get picks and prospects from two different teams.
Yeah.
And then that third team is also getting some piece that they've been desired.
Yeah.
I can just think it's so hard, but you're right.
Everyone's so desperate right now, but it's so hard with the cap.
Everyone is just in cap hell.
Yep.
I don't know.
It'll be weird.
You can figure it out though.
Yeah.
All right.
Stay on X.
Stay on X this week, boys and girls.
All right, we're going to kick it to our session with Bobby Ryan down in Nashville.
Always love when the homie comes on.
We talk a lot about this trade deadline.
Hope you enjoy it.
Guys, I'm taking a quick time out from the podcast.
podcast to talk to you about my favorite canned cocktail that is ready to drink, and that is Junshine.
It's not even close.
Honestly, I first found out about Junshine because of their unbelievable kombuchas.
I'm a big kombucha guy these days, and they have a hard kombucha that knocks your socks off.
But right now, all of their canned cocktails are using the best quality spirits with real fruit
and ingredients that you can actually pronounce.
So you know you're not putting a bunch of junk in your body.
Their margarita, which tastes off the charts, has 12% ABV.
Unbelievable. Their other cocktails have 8%. So you're getting about one and a half to two shots per drinks.
No mess, no fuss. You don't have to worry about making stuff. You can have barbecues with this.
You can watch the game with this. You can take it to a tailgate. No matter what, Junshine is ready to go.
And they have, like I said, the best taste and the best ingredients. My least favorite thing about a lot of these canned cocktails is you drink them.
You get that chalky taste. It tastes too sugary. It feels like you've got craziness going into your body.
These things are delicious.
Tastes like a bartender made it right there for you on the spot.
They're ready to go.
They're unbelievable.
Also, Junshine cares about the planet.
Their factory that everything is brewed in, 100% sustainable energy power on that bad boy.
You love to see that.
So go find some of your favorite canned cocktails, Junshine in a ton of locations.
Ralphs, Vons, Kroger's, Target, Whole Foods, all these different places.
Also go to Junshine.com so you can find out where to snag their margaritas today.
change the game and change your favorite can cocktail by getting on board with Junshine right now.
Okay, we are here in Nashville back again with our very good buddy, Bobby Ryan.
Bobby, thanks for joining us.
You get a lot going on.
I appreciate you making the time out of the day.
I was able to rearrange some things, and you guys look pretty good for first morning in Nashville.
Yeah, right?
As it always goes in Nashville, you burn it a little bit later than you mean to every night.
You know, I'm like, we're going to take it easy tonight.
Never.
Did you guys see my jersey on any walls?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
That's the saying, right?
You mess around too late on Broadway.
You wake up in Alabama, so you guys are here.
Good job.
That's a win.
Yeah, I work in Tennessee, so that's good.
Yeah, you guys got some sleep, so it's good.
That's a big win.
The first thing we have to talk about, specifically you and I,
last time you joined us, we called the Rangers frauds.
And then they ripped off 10 straight, and I've been hearing about it in the comments.
So I think they owe us a thank you, honestly, though.
Yeah.
Give him a little kick in the ass that they needed.
We turned them into a wagon.
Exactly.
There's no question about it.
They saw that, got motivated, ripped off a franchise record 10 straight wins.
And here's the crazy thing.
Beautiful.
I still don't believe in them.
That was a really impressive run, but I still don't fully believe.
I took a beating on whatever it is now, X or Twitter.
Yeah, yeah.
And I was like, somebody said, made a comment that just said basically, why are we listening to him if he was never good enough to play for the blue?
The blue shirt.
I was blue shirts, wherever you call.
And I was like, I think you are overestimating how much I care.
I was just asked the question and I answered the question.
Yeah, right.
And he's like, you're just doing it for clicks.
I'm like, it's not my podcast, dude.
I was a guest.
Yeah.
I hopped on X2 because what we said, I don't think people understand the definition of fraud.
And I very, very cleanly explained.
I was like, they are a very good team who in December and January played 500 hockey.
That is fraudulent hockey.
for such a good team and a ton of Rangers fans were like this actually makes a ton of sense
and I was like thank you because I was just trying to explain we weren't saying that they're a
shitty team we're saying they might not be as good as they are if they're playing like that
and they've turned it around so it's great to see um another 10 gamer going in the opposite direction
connor macdavit hasn't scored in 10 games yeah thoughts worried no
didn't he he's doing just fine um
he's just going through the wall.
You're in the dog days now, right?
Yeah.
Your game's, what, 50 to 70?
You start to see things take shape,
and the elite teams kind of become the elite teams.
Like, I don't think there's going to be a lot more movement,
especially in the East.
I think Jersey has a chance if they pull the trigger and get a goal tender.
But outside of that, like, the teams are just starting to separate.
He's going through it right now, but he's putting up two points of game still.
Yeah, right.
And they're winning, right?
I think they're, do they, are they right there now?
Yeah, they, so they had, they went on a crazy heater, right?
Yeah, that's 16, yeah.
They had just, they won last night, I think.
They had lost, he beat the Kings, actually.
It was a big win last night.
They had lost three in a row before that, but they're like,
solidly in the Pacific.
Yeah, they're sitting comfortably in third in the Pacific.
And, and like two points behind Vegas or something, you know, like, they're right there.
Dude, the, the juxt position of Connor and Austin cracks me up.
Because Austin is like, I don't need to pass.
I'm just going to score every time I shoot.
and Conner's like, I'm just going to pass the puck and we're going to get points and get wins because that's all that matters.
Yeah.
And I don't know anything about their mentalities, but just looking at it on the stat sheet, it's funny how different they are playing right now.
Yeah, they couldn't, yeah.
He's going to work himself, oh, I should argue.
If you have a 70-go season, you're going to be in the heart for the conversation.
But it's like they're just so different dynamics of players that, like, I never worry about either one of them when they don't score for a few games.
Yeah.
when they don't put up points for a few games.
Yeah, completely agree.
They're too elite not too.
And the guys around them are too elite when you look at it.
So it's like Conard hasn't scored in 10 games, but whatever.
21 points, the team is winning games.
Yeah.
And maybe saving it for the playoffs.
Which is what he cares about.
Yeah.
We always joke about, I think it's funny.
Again, this is not a knock.
I just think it's genuinely funny.
Austin is 52 goals right now.
They are, I think the Leafs are fourth in the league, third or fourth in the league in
scoring.
And he's like seventh in points.
Yeah.
And I'm like, that's,
is crazy.
Yeah.
In the points race, but.
Fuck it.
I will say, and like,
Connor's disgusting and nothing matters,
really about to say about that.
But I do think it's interesting
because they felt like coming into last year,
they were like, you pass too much.
You need to score more.
And he scored 64 or whatever it was.
And I remember thinking,
and he'd even possibly saying last year,
where I was like, oh, I think a flip got switched.
And he's like, I'm going to get,
I'm going to score 60 every year.
Yeah.
So I was kind of ready for that.
year. So it has been kind of interesting to see him. Maybe maybe not revert back is the right
way to say it, but just kind of not to be like, I'm going to shoot every time I get it. Maybe go back to
his more familiar game. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. That's been interesting. I do think I look at Connor after
firing Woodcroft what they've been doing the last several months. And I think he has hit this
almost breaking point mentally where he has accepted, I don't give a shit about what goes on in the
regular season. We're going to get into playoffs. And that.
That's all that matters.
Getting in the playoffs and then things begin.
It looks like he has that mentality right now, which is very scary for the rest of the league.
Yeah.
I agree with that.
I think he's, I mean, he's had some big losses in the playoffs.
Yes.
Oh, yeah.
Talk about all the way back when they lost Anaheim in Game 7 years ago to go to the conference finals.
And then obviously Vegas, who is going to be, who's going to activate another 17 million in cab space here somehow.
It's just going to be insane.
They're going to trade for.
Crosby.
Yeah, I was going to say, yeah, Teresanko's going there for sure.
But I agree.
I think he's like, the regular season is, I don't need any more heart trophies.
I don't need any more scoring race leader things.
Who cares?
Like, that season is that season.
Clearly I'm going to hang 100 and something every year in my sleep.
But I am looking forward to seeing him in playoffs, like, hit that next gear.
Yeah, and I think he's finding out, too.
He doesn't need to score 150 for that team to be relevant.
He can score 100 to 120 and be a little.
and be a little more responsible.
Like, he's had years where he's got over 100 points.
He's a minus.
Yes.
Yeah.
Can't happen.
So if he's like, okay, I stay on the plus side of things.
I sacrifice a little bit of offense to make our team that much better throughout the entire ice.
That's dangerous, man.
Like, if that guy's playing a 200-foot game, whew.
Yeah, because that's the maturity, right?
Like, you've been in the league a while now.
Now you kind of figuring out what it takes to win when it matters most.
I was going to ask you this later, but you kind of just touched on it.
So I'll ask right now.
at what point in the season
and what happens to the players
whenever that point is,
is it like,
okay,
it's playoff mode now.
Like,
when do we hit,
like,
okay,
we're looking at things differently.
Because I feel like we're seeing
games that have playoff vibes right now.
You're starting to get those implication games.
Like,
LA last night in Hamilton's a great example.
That Florida Carolina game,
the one-nothing game a few nights ago.
That was a fucking playoff hockey game.
Yeah.
And so it's interesting because you're at that,
again,
like I said,
the dog days where the elite teams
that know they're going to make it.
And nobody's clinched, obviously.
Some teams have run away with some things, and they're clearly not going to be caught in their division.
And that's the thing.
Home ice doesn't really matter.
Interesting.
To a degree for the noise and the adrenaline and stuff.
But, like, a good goal tender can go in and not be faced by it.
A good unit of players, a good team, isn't that much bothered by it.
Last change is.
I was going to say, last change, big deal, or not really?
Not really.
Do you think there's, don't lose your train of thought?
I am just curious. First round last year, a good example. I always find it interesting Florida-Boston place. And I agree with you. It doesn't seem like home ice is that, especially in hockey. It's not that, that important. But I do always wonder with the travel. When you're traveling back and forth from Boston to Florida for that first round, but then you look at Jersey, New York, like, those guys are sleeping in their beds every night. You know, you're not traveling from Jersey to New York. And I wonder, do you think that has like a huge factor?
Not through the first four games.
Okay.
Because you're going there for games one and two.
You're there for five days.
You're comfortable.
Yeah.
It does get a little bit tricky game five, six, seven.
If you're going to seven and you're like, okay, we're home, play.
Get right back on the bird.
Like you're, yeah.
That gets a little, I guess it gets a little taxing on you.
Yeah.
Sure.
As opposed to some of the other division of things that are playing close by.
But so no, not really.
Great.
But you were saying those elite teams, if they're kind, yeah, they're going to make it.
They're not in coast mode.
And they're getting up for the game.
that really matter, divisional points, things like that.
You're starting to see the teams that are really like,
okay, we're right in the thick, like Toronto is in the thick of it.
Tampa Bay is in the process of being like,
we can't miss the playoffs with this roster.
Correct, yeah.
They're starting to play.
So you're just starting to see more games,
but I really don't think you start to see it until game like 60,
where it really starts to elevate.
You can feel the pace.
Like I remember feeling the pace go off from 60,
a little more at 65, a little more to 70,
unless you were in Ottawa, then you're like,
pace is coming back.
We were going the other way.
Starting to make some vacation plans.
Setting some tea times.
The boys were ripping push-up pyramids
a month out, trying to get ready for the off-season.
Dude, I'm not going to name any names,
but a player in the league who plays for a certain team
that is in that mode hit me up the other day
about plans in May.
And I was like, dude, bro, you might be in playoffs.
But he was like, no.
We're not in playoffs.
Guys are realistic.
Okay. And as we are
rapidly approaching trade deadline,
you were just talking about maybe
Devils get a goalie. Any players
that you think, Teresenko, anybody you think
might be on the move or any teams that you're
like, that might be a surprise seller,
surprise buyer. What do you think in with the deadline
coming up?
It's kind of this weird year where teams
like New Jersey, who I think if they had
any kind of goaltender would have been in from the get-go.
And they were decimated.
Yeah, yeah.
with injuries.
And they've credit to them for finding a way to be in the hunt.
Hanging around.
Yeah.
So I think that I do think they're going to pull the trigger on a goalie.
Dude, it feels like they've waited too long almost.
It's like, what the fuck are you guys doing?
I know.
I do agree.
It gets to the point for me where if in the next couple of weeks here, they do it, I'm going
to be like, what are you doing?
You should have done it so long ago.
Yeah.
No, I agree with that.
There's always cap implications, players waving, all that stuff.
So from what I understand, the last trade fell further because Calgary wouldn't
retain money on Markstrom. But who knows if that's true. What's interesting is the city we're in,
what are they going to do? Saros, I think they want to reward their young players for a good year
and like see them get in the playoffs. Yeah. Nashville does this every year. You get in, you play four
games and you're going home. See you later. Is it worth it for two playoff dates? Like if I'm if I'm
them, I'm moving Saros. Really? I want to ask you about this. I'm moving them. Teams that I think
would be surprised buyers.
Nobody, I think that there's 10 teams that can win and they know who they are.
Yep.
And the other teams are kind of in that stalemate mode where, wait, what are they?
Winnipeg?
Yes.
Colorado.
Colorado, Dallas.
Dallas.
Vancouver.
Vancouver.
Vegas.
Vegas.
Edmonton.
Edmonton.
Edmonton.
Edmonton.
Panthers.
New York.
New York.
Yeah.
Okay.
We'll put them in there.
Panthers, New York, yeah.
Carolina.
Carolina.
Boston.
Do you say Boston?
Yeah, I do.
Boston.
Yeah.
So that no Toronto, no Tampa.
No, I think you say Toronto.
Toronto's odd.
I should say Toronto, too.
Yes.
11.
If you're going to take a team out, what do we just say that we, you take out, whatever, just say it's 11.
All those teams got cap issues.
Yeah.
So you've got to move money out to move money in, and it just becomes tricky.
So all the other teams are essentially either stalemated or sellers.
Like Ottawa knows they're a seller, Arizona knows there a sell, whatever.
But I don't really see any...
Is Pitt selling?
Pitt's not selling.
Right?
Gainesville's got to go because of the cap.
It's brutal, man.
We talk so much about the Met.
Like, I almost want to not talk about them.
But Islanders, Devils, Washington, Pitt are all in this same...
And Philly.
They're all in this same weird space where it's like all of them could easily get in.
They could also easily be out.
And they all have pretty significant players that you could, maybe should move if you're not getting in the playoffs.
But unfortunately, they're probably not going to know by the time the deadline has come and gone.
Because if you wave, if you sell now, you're waving the flag.
And it was like last year, Washington was not eliminated.
And they traded Orlov.
They traded Hathaway.
Like, they moved.
They actively waived the white flag.
And it'll be interesting if any of these teams wave the white flag.
Because it's like, I don't think they're going to do it.
but there's people online talking about Brock Nelson in New York being like, listen, dude, this guy, he's a great player, but he's got immense value.
He's a bit older.
There's a younger wave generation coming here.
You could get something great for him, but that would be waving the white flat.
And I don't think they're going to do it.
Pitt is the same thing.
They could and should move a lot of people, but I just don't think that they can outwardly, by the deadline, be like this, we're giving up.
Yeah.
Well, because they went all in.
Yeah, oh yeah, right?
So they're like, we have to fight this right till the bitter end after the Carlson.
It's almost frustrating that they're still in the hunt.
And they're going to miss.
You just want them to go away.
It's more, I mean for them, like, it's, you know, this is a, if they miss playoffs and it comes down to the wire, it's almost a disaster.
Because they have an opportunity to, like, really reload for the future here if they were just to be like, we're out.
Like, it sucks, but we're out and we're doing it.
Because I'm such a said guy, like, I'm always rooting for them to get in, but to your point.
what do they get four games in the first round?
Who fucking care?
I'm like, come on, Pitt, get in.
But I'm like, what was even the point of that?
I want to see them get in and play the Rangers in the first round.
That would actually be electric.
Because they had them.
What year was that?
That would be what year was that when Pitt went up on them as the way lower seat?
And they had them and then Sid got hurt for like three games.
You remember that what I'm talking about?
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, I'm like, yeah, we beat Pitt.
And I was like, no, you didn't do.
They're getting a dummy.
I just think the Rangers got so many questions going to the playoffs about which guys are going to show up
the playoffs yep yes totally I want to see them go against like the old guard yeah
the Malkins the Crosby yeah yeah that would be a terrifying matchup be a
terrified like I I think we worked all year for this yeah yeah I mean they're my guys I
love them but if if the Rangers see the Red Wings for example I think they're
like we can that we can win this if they see the Islanders we can win this if they
see Pitt and Crosby and Malkin and shit they're like this could get interesting
yeah that's a scary so I would not yeah and then to touch on the
Saurus thing real quick because it does kind of feel like we were talking about wild
last night, it does kind of feel like the preds to lose at this point. Like if they want it.
Yeah, yeah. They're buzzing.
They're buzzing.
And you kind of like blow it up or not blow it up, but you know. I don't know. I just think like,
and I have a pulse on them because I live here. I just people are tired of them limping in.
Yeah. Drafting 15th overall every year. Yeah. We want. We want some high picks. We want some
players to build around. Um, but I do think like that's the other side of it. You've got an
overperforming team based on what you look at with the roster. Yeah. And why? And why?
is it because of Saros, a lot of the nights.
And Yossi's pretty good too.
But when you break it, I think they want to reward their young guys and their, and their
roster by saying, we're really, really proud of what you guys have done.
We want you to have this playoff experience to go forward with.
But it's just like, how many times can you do that?
So I think they're going to trade Saras.
And I have no reason to think that.
Somebody's going to blow them away with an offer.
Yeah.
Yeah.
What I think is, I was talking to Bruins fans about this the other night,
Casaros is under contract next year.
Yes.
It's the same situation as Olmark.
They're both on good contracts.
And both teams have a very good goaltender that they're going, this is the future.
Yeah.
I think both teams, maybe unfortunately, are going to trade them in the summer.
I think it's just an easier sell for the ownership, fan base, what have you.
Yeah.
But if there is a team right now here at the deadline that really needs a goalie that's going to give you an offer you can't refuse
Because they steal a goalie away from a cup like a literal cop like dude here's everything
It's one of those things where it's like you shouldn't be afraid to do it
It's like honestly to your point if Nashville gets an offer they can't refuse and they're going well fuck man if we trade sauce
We might not make a playoffs. I'm kind of in your camp. It's like who fucking cares? Yeah, yeah
You're going to lose in the first round anyway. Yeah, and that's how I feel about Boston in that
I'm not sure I don't think Boston has the legs to because
go for a cup this year. And even, even if they do, the goalie that's going to get it for you is
Swamen. So I'm like, what are we talking about? Swamon. Swamon is starting every game in the playoffs.
Yeah. Buck and trade, Allmark right now, if someone gives you an insane offer, which they might.
Agree. Yeah, I would do that. And then you use it to build a little bit for the future if you're
Boston, but at the same time, you insulate those guys by bringing in a couple fours. Like, that D-Corps
awesome. Yeah. That's why I, when you get to the playoffs, everything changes a little bit. Everything's so
much tighter that I never give up on Boston just because of the decor.
Like they're so solid.
And they might not score like they used to with Perjon missing.
Some other guys have stepped up this year.
But I just don't discount them because in playoffs,
goaltending and defense are so much more.
Name of the game.
I guess, yeah, the name of the game.
And they have that.
So I don't know if they're prolific enough offensively.
Yeah.
Or they're a little older too.
Yeah, yeah, for a little older.
Marshawn's not young.
But I'm not betting against them.
Yeah.
Yeah.
10-3 and 3, 3, your boys, the last team encouraged. The last time we talked when you were here, we were like, they might need some massive shakeups. Yeah. Was that run encouraging to you? That you're like, oh, you know, maybe the answers are here or are you still like? Oh, I'll tell you what the answer is. What? Shane Pinto. Yeah, it's got a lot to do with it.
Shane Pinto came back. He's playing at a point per game. They were, I think they were 10, 2, and 2 or something in his first 14.
games.
When he gets a point, they usually win
last night with standing, but
they were due for a dud because of the way they've been
playing. And
this is a team that, so
yes, to answer your question, the run really
kind of,
I guess, change my thought process on it, but at
the same time, they're still young,
they're still
learning how to play correctly. Like, DJ
Smith was the right coach to teach them.
Yeah. For a long time, he wasn't
the right coach to coach them. Now they have a coach that's
a little more thumb on you,
a little more accountability from, hey, Timmy Stoetzlou, your, your offense is incredible.
Your defense is horrible.
So let's clean some things up and it'll help you up the ice.
Also stop diving every five seconds.
Yeah, he's got to get a little better with that.
That is something I will chirp him to his face for it.
The European and him.
You were an elite, elite, elite hockey player, stop diving.
But all that being said, it took them 15 games to buy in.
I had said 20 is like the benchmark for understanding where they are.
I took them 15 games to buy in, five games to start to see it.
Now they're seeing it.
So I'm not changing anything.
I still think a defenseman's got to go.
They have three of the same guy in Chickren, Shabbat, and Sanderson.
It's going to be Chikrin.
Everybody, excuse me, for years is just giving chabby shit.
They're like, he's overrated, he's overpaid.
I'm like, I'm sitting here just defending him to the death on my podcast.
I'm like, you guys have no idea how good this guy is.
Now all of a sudden, your goaltending gets a little bit better.
They're still the worst league.
But they get a little bit better.
And your forwards start playing 200 feet games.
And Shabby is your best player.
Yeah, right.
And I'm just sitting here going,
told you.
Thank, fuck.
They worked out.
Yeah.
Because I didn't want to defend them to the grave and shit to bed when everybody
around them got better.
But no, it's just playing a better brand.
Yeah.
That's awesome.
I think with him, even the eye test, you can see how good of a player he is.
And if there's bad situations around him, it's going to make his stats look terrible.
It's going to make his games look worse than they actually are.
Yeah.
But then when you,
you see this it's getting figured out you see how impactful he is in such a positive way
yeah and like the easy thing to do for six years was when you were losing you're like just run shabby 30
minutes and it's like that hurts him yes yes it helps us it moves the puck up more but at the same
time it hurts him like making mistakes because he's exhausted yes you're running them 28 to 30 minutes
a night and it hurts him in the long run too you don't want to put those miles on him in he got a
he fractured his tibia this year cutting like on a routine turn I'm like that's a guy that's just over
years like that is ridiculous. The little horse is definition of what
that is ridiculous. I'm like God he's like the horse somebody just took him out back.
Yeah. But he's fucking insane. But he's now he's down to like 23, 24 minutes and he settled in. They look good man. A chickering's gonna go I think. Oh yeah. I think Teresenko too. I think the both of them are. I do too. I mean every game I watched like last night they lost six to three. Teresanko is phenomenal again. Most nights I watch him he's he's just a cerebral player but he can shoot he can make like he's he's gonna help somebody.
But the problem is he loves Ottawa.
I was going to say, I thought you said he loved it there.
So the other one is Drew.
Like I look at Drew's age and how, oh my God, could he help someone?
But I think same deal.
He's like, I'm not going to go.
Yeah, he built a home there.
He's from there.
From Hearst or whatever, but that's home for him.
Exactly.
I don't think he wants to leave.
But he does want to, like, you're at the age.
Don't you want to chase a cup once, right?
Yeah, that was.
Come on.
Yeah.
We talked about that with Sid.
If Pitt doesn't make it, I'm like, go let him compete somewhere.
he's a better, I mean, not a better example, but a more unique example because he's never got one.
It's like, I totally hear the headfire. I'd be like, dude, do you think about, talk about fucking LTIR situation?
Right.
I look at a Colorado. I look at a Vegas and I'm like, yeah, that would be a pretty good home for you.
Like, holy hell.
Yeah, no, I agree. I'd like to see him go, but the problem is most nights he's their best player.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Truthfully, when you watch the game, you're like, gee, had another good one.
Yeah.
It's another good game.
He thinks the game, his computing speed is just, oh my gosh, dude.
It's like, he's not a good skater if you watch, he, like, he can move, but he takes a while to get moving.
He just, he's like Mark Stone in a sense.
He just goes to the right place ahead of the, like he just reads the game and computes the game.
As soon as he gets the puck, he knows where it's going immediately.
He's a kite running across.
He's a guy who knows where to be a step ahead of everyone else.
So he just, he beats you there.
Um,
uh,
Chelyos had his number
retired in Chicago the other night,
sick game,
Kane were back there and everything.
So he said in his speech,
he was like,
uh,
the,
uh,
you know,
and without doubt,
the best American player of all time,
Patrick Kane.
Now,
he's got a long way to go,
but I wanted you to weigh in on the Kane Matthews.
Oh,
it's not even,
come on.
I'm going to get absolutely raked for this.
I can't wait for this.
This one I had no warning of,
uh,
dude,
you can't compare these two.
Are you kidding me?
One's got three cups.
And there's a,
Massively. Okay, okay. It's not close in that. It's cane. Cane. And it's not even close.
Okay. Okay. Finish, keep going. Finish just that. Three cups, MVP, Kahn, Smith.
Every, like, everything you can win, he's won. Also, so clutch. So clutch. He's so clutch.
Yeah. And Matthew says time, and he's got a roster there that, I don't know if you're
competing for the cup. They need a goaltender, too. But, um, but no, I just don't,
you can say the greatest player and the greatest American goal score, maybe. Um, okay.
gets to that point, but then you're bringing in Brett Hull and some other names.
What Matthews is doing now is comparable to the best numbers in history.
That's why I think it's an interesting question.
Or it's tracking towards an interesting question.
There you go.
I was going to say it is not even close to an interesting question right now.
If you want to say we're looking at six years down the road and we'll see what has happened, then yes.
But here's my question to you guys.
Let's say Matthew, what's Kane, like 15 years or something?
or in the league yeah yeah whatever my point is like let's say matthews with good health good luck and
good health has an equally long career and finish like breaks ovi's going to break gretzky but then
matthews breaks ovi like he he retired austin matthews retires with maybe a hall let's give him a heart
just for the argument no cups but the most goals ever blah blah blah are you still like it's
cane and the landside because of the cups yeah yeah so you got that's not just one he didn't win once
he won three yeah and he won the cons smite and he's about to win another with detroit
That's cool.
Okay.
Yeah, no, I just, to me it's not even close.
Okay.
Ask me again in five years.
Yeah, right.
Toronto breaks through, maybe.
See, I'm not so sure.
Sorry, Blake.
I'm not so sure about that.
But I do think something that's interesting is I think Austin will eventually,
and it's crazy to say to, you know,
there's so many fucking insanely good players that he's playing with.
I think he'll have three, four hearts by the end of it.
Yeah.
And that's interesting.
But I don't think he's going to touch Kane with the Cups.
What if he gets two?
Two cups?
Yeah.
And all the goal records, you know?
All the goal records, a couple of cups.
Then you're having a very real conversation.
And you're having a very real conversation.
Yeah, okay.
Yeah.
Okay.
All right, last thing before we get into our favorite new segment,
we were talking with Chris Rooney last night,
the referee about fighting because we know,
everyone's watching Renpe going nuclear.
Yeah.
What are your thoughts on fighting?
So we had a fun convoy about it.
You important part of the game or like, yeah, okay.
Yeah.
But I'm a traditionalist.
I hate how much the game's changed to be.
with like I understand that the social impact now with the way we look at head
injuries the way we look at every like the way you break things down your safety I
just like I don't like three on three I'm not even a big fan of shootouts but yeah
you can't you can't just do five on five regular season yeah and whatever I don't
like loser points for the overtime loss it just I I've been traditionalist and a
purest at the game so I think fighting has a place I've been on teams where a fight
has absolutely changed the way we approached game yeah well
You can feel the ice tilt.
Like, it's just, it's just an important part.
I don't like the stage part.
Like, like, and I guess I wouldn't call it stage.
Rempies come into the league and he's had, what, three fights in four games, whatever it is?
Yeah, it's in ridiculous.
And the stage fighting is like when you're talking at the red line before the game and you're deering it up.
Like, I like fights that come out.
Yes, that break out from the game.
And I agree with that completely.
It's got to stay.
It's always going to say.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, I think my only two things to say on this are one, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I,
totally agree with that, by the way.
I truly hate, and it was interesting to hear refs in the league hate it too.
Yeah.
I hate fighting after a clean hit.
Drive me insane.
If you pop someone clean, nothing dirty, and then the other team comes in and fight,
and now you're on the box for five minutes, I'm like, that's fucking bullshit.
Yeah, you bury somebody and you got to.
I think it's so stupid, and it should be, I mean, I don't know if you can ever remove it,
but there should be serious ramifications.
If you, if someone gets a clean hit, there's no penalty, and then you fly in to fight me, you should be tossed from the game.
Yeah, right.
Seriously.
I know.
I think it's absurd.
And then the one thing that Rooney said that I really loved and was interesting, it was the Deloree Rempie fight.
And he said he went up to Deloree after that fight after the takedown and was like, dude, don't fucking do that take down shit like that again.
It's like slew footing.
When their buckets are off, because that is, that's going to be, God forbid, the next.
step of just the social awareness of it.
If someone gets taken down in a fight without a helmet and they split their head open
on the ice, we're going to have a whole new conversation of people being like, this can't
happen.
No, I agree.
And I do think that that would be, it would behoove the league to obviously keep fighting in,
but make it very aware of like, I know you're in the moment, stop taking guys down if the
helmets are off, because that could get real messy.
And I thought that was a good point of him to bring up.
I think I like your point about the fact that after a clean hit.
So if I bury somebody and I have to defend myself and we have to have a fight,
I believe that the guy that threw the hit that had to defend himself in a fight shouldn't get a penalty.
Yeah, and just give the other guy five.
So it's a five-minute major.
Nobody gets kicked out.
Everybody's still in the mix, but you hurt your team by jumping a guy for a clean hit.
Yes, that's cool.
But then it's like, then you get into discussion of where's, what's the line on a clean hit?
Was that one clean?
Yeah, exactly.
I think it's simple of if there's no penalty.
Yeah.
Yeah.
There's no penalty.
Clean, yeah.
You want to be mad at someone, be mad at the ref.
But if there's no penalty called and you get jumped, you are not going to the box
and the other guy's going for 10.
Yep.
Is, I think, is what the rule should be.
Yeah, I like that.
It's stupid.
Sweet.
Okay.
Now let's go inside the locker room.
Yes.
We get to ask an NHLR.
Well, you guys, I should say, the listeners get to ask in NHL or whatever you want.
Yeah, what we got first?
Bob, which ones are your favorite?
Oh, just roll them.
Yeah, whatever you want.
Yeah.
I like them.
I like everything you sent me, but.
I love it.
Okay.
First one that we got submitted.
How much money actually changes hands during card games on the plane?
So it depends on what you're playing.
Yeah, is there a game that you feel like the most money is getting tossed around in?
Post.
Okay, explain it.
Do you know post?
No.
Oh, man, this one gets going quick.
I think the pot, we had a flight that got delayed and then canceled.
And we were sitting on the plane waiting for so long.
And we had eight guys going.
And then it became 10 because it was like too many guys.
Yeah, yeah.
Everyone was like well over 20K.
And guys were betting 3,500, 4,000.
Just like you can bet the whole pot when it's your turn.
So you have two decks of cards.
You shuffle all, excuse me, you shuffle them all up.
The first time you go, everybody throws in 50 bucks to start.
Okay.
You know, 50 times eight.
You got 400 bucks in there to start.
You're only allowed to bet the first time around on what you put in.
So you can only bet 50 bucks.
But you can pass, and most of the time you're just passing.
So I flip a card, it's a two and it's a three.
You're passing.
Yep.
The goal is not to hit the post and to...
Which is...
The two and the three would be the post, right?
Got it.
Okay.
So you don't want to hit the post because that doubles the pot for your bet.
Yep.
So if you get an ace is low and then you get a king, you have every card in the deck to hit.
Yeah.
So you're like, pot, I'll take that, whatever.
But whatever reason this is...
night man like um this night just got out of out of control guys were hitting post on 2000 so they're
putting 4 000 in guys were hitting post on 3 000 6000 going in and then guys were pulling them out
one player in particular got king 3 and that's like a that's a no-brainer yeah that's an easy win
you got to go and he hit the post three times in a row and like you're just sitting there um and we just
like we ran out of chips so we started like putting ios in the middle um car keys car keys getting
tossed but the game was slip stone and the bot and we're just like we're
We're all loaded too because we have a couple days off.
And then finally they're like canceled.
So like one guy.
So we stay at this hotel in the middle of nowhere.
I think we were in Edmonton right by the airport.
So one guy's got all the chips in like a paper bag.
One guy's got all the cards just held exactly where they are.
Yeah.
Back to the hotel and we're like all running to somebody's room to finish this game.
And the game went on to like four in the morning.
But I forget who won the pot.
The pot eventually just got bet down low enough to where it wasn't a big deal.
But that that game gets, you know, there's always five, six grand.
in there for the most part and then i schnarp's never gets too out of control you lose a buck
a point and you whatever um a couple hundred bucks change in hand texas hold them gets pretty high
stingers there um is there anyone you can mention of a former teammate that was just an absolute
savage with tossing money in um so spes jason spesel lost a few and like not bad but just lost a few
trips in a row so we would always do it by trips and i was the bookkeeper for some time some of
you get off the plane and I'm like tally up so somebody like I'm plus 575 plus 300 minus of that
whatever it might be yeah and like it would always be off by like 300 bucks you're like fuck
yeah that's so frustrating like I used to come home from road trips to my wife like what are you
doing I'm like trying to make this make sense yeah like this math not math right now I got two
calculators going right now because then you would have to add up every flight from the trip and
some of the flights or six flights or whatever so or some of the trips but anyway
Spez was like, I'm done.
I'm not going into a hand.
And it was like, I think we played 5-10 or 10-20 annies.
And he was like, I'm not playing a hand unless I raise it.
So he would have like two, three suit it.
And he'd be like, 50 bucks.
And you're like, I would have limped into this hand for 15 bucks,
but I'm not doing it for 50.
And he's like, I'm not, I'm done.
And he was won Dionne Funuf, just because he had so much money,
he was like, I'm going to bully you right out of this pot.
I have trip aces.
Like, I'm not getting bullied out of this pot.
You can't bully me.
But he would either lose big or win big.
Yeah.
There's no in between.
But he was a good player, actually.
So, yeah, those two come to mind.
Carl would bully too.
Yeah.
Yeah, Carl would bully quietly.
Quietly.
Yeah, he would, he was one of the,
he sat in the corner and he never shuts up.
Otherwise, unless he's playing poker.
And then he's just quiet the whole hand, just the whole time.
Which is scary.
Yeah.
And you're like, this guy's a assade of that.
Yeah.
We're just trying to have some beers and play cards.
You're looking at him.
And he's taking the card game as seriously.
He takes the real game.
You're like, all right, I don't want to be a part of this.
Incredible.
Okay, next fan question.
What is the most mad you've ever seen another player or coach and what happened?
So I was trying to think, and you guys are going to love this answer.
Fucking from Portland, Maine.
Kevin Deneen was my, yeah, yeah, absolute.
Top two coach for me, him and Guy Boucher.
Yeah, I absolutely love those two.
And Kevin was my first coach.
I grew up idolizing him.
He actually remembered meeting me as a kid when I went to like a flyer's thing.
That feels good.
Yeah.
It was incredible.
Yeah.
And he was like, it was out of ref.
And we were in, and don't quote me, but I think we were in Providence.
Okay.
And he hated this one ref.
And the ref kept coming up and down the thing all night.
And just every time we would come by, like nothing was happening.
And Dino was just on him.
Yeah.
And you like, come down, Dino.
And the ref finally comes over.
And like, Dino's red.
And it was over a stupid penalty.
And he's like, Dino,
It was a penalty.
Yeah.
I called it.
Get over it.
I'm done.
If I hear from you again, I hear one more word, you're out.
And like, I can just see the flames.
Smoke coming out the ears.
Like, we were, I remember we were winning the game.
Did you think it was a penalty too?
It was a penalty.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, nobody on the bench said a word.
Even the guy that did it, I remember was Mike Hoffman, not the one that from Ottawa,
different Hoffman.
He just, he didn't even look.
He just started skating.
That's how blatant this was.
I fucking love.
those ones and and dino's like his hands are like this and he's stewing and i'm like this is this is
personal this got nothing to do with this game um and he said i hear one more word you're gone i'm
done and dino let's the play go by a couple times no words or that i forget the rest and he goes hey
hey hey and like he says it really quite he goes i hope you have your ear shut because i'm
about to call you and just dude went mother eff and like it was so bad and like the like the
Those of us on the bench, it's to the point where it's so bad that, like, I remember I was sitting next to Brian Saucito, a California kid, and we just looked at each other.
We're like, oh, my God, he's gone.
Gone.
Yeah.
The ref, it was almost to the point to where the ref was like, I got to laugh at this.
Yeah.
There was no reason to be mad.
Nothing.
The game was, like, clean.
Yeah, yeah.
It was just big game.
I was like, somebody kicked Dino's dog before he got on the bus today.
Like, something happened.
So he snapped and gets kicked out and, like, kicks all the sticks.
I'm like, there's my twig on the floor.
Yeah.
Come back.
Like, come back in after the game.
He's just sitting there having a chew.
Like, nothing happened.
Yeah.
Like, nothing.
And I'll never, like, I'll never forget the face.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It was a rage.
And I was like, this has nothing to do with hockey.
Something's going on here today.
Yeah.
God damn.
I love that.
He's such a beauty man.
There are those stories or those moments where you can see a guy you're like,
you needed to let off steam for some reason.
Yeah.
And glad you got it out, but holy shit.
He was one of the easiest coaches I ever played for.
I'll tell you a quick story.
We were down 2-0-0 in the playoffs in the second round, coming home.
So we have a practice on a day off before game three.
At the Cumberland Civic Center, right?
Been there at any time.
He calls me over and calls Stephen Dixon over, who you guys probably remember from the World Junior Team.
Never played an NHL game, but scored in Halifax in a preseason game.
So he's like, all the girls thought I did, Chummy.
He was just a beauty.
One of my favorite guys of all time.
But he calls us over.
He shows us, he hands us each a DVD.
He's like, these are your shifts from the first two games.
I want you to watch them and then go throw these DVDs into the Casco Bay.
And he's like, because the series starts now, basically, or whatever.
And Stephen Dixon puts his arm around and goes, don't you worry old boy, we're homers.
I'm like, you just talked to our coach?
Like, it was incredible.
We came back and won the series.
Did you?
Oh, fuck.
Yeah.
We came back and won the series.
I feel like that's kind of the more the norm these days is that relationship with a coach.
Yeah.
You know, it feels like it's a more player coach vibe.
Yes.
The Monty's of the world versus how it, versus the Babcock's, you know?
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
He was definitely before his time in that.
Yeah.
He had a shot in the NFL.
He just, from what I understand, I think he was like so gung-ho and so hardcore that like the guy stopped listening.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, every game's not game seven.
Yeah.
The refs were like, get this guy out of here.
Yeah.
I'm not doing it.
I'd love to see him back in the league, though.
That'd be great.
Okay.
Next one.
How often are you guys getting bag skated at practice?
Very few and far between.
Yeah.
Now, like when I started, I played for Carlisle.
So every other day.
Like our pre-game skates were 45 minutes back then.
We were doing three of.
Yeah.
We like,
we used to do three on three with a sticks flipped over for puck possession on game days
below the stop of the circle.
So it's like,
that's a grind.
That's over.
Yeah.
And then like I played with Getslaff and Perry and we were like,
we're going to play 21 minutes doing this exact same shit.
This is our style of game.
What are we doing?
But like, he just.
figured he's like all three of you are bigger guys that need to move.
So he,
he would skate us a little bit.
I can,
I can only remember like a handful of times of my career that we were like,
this is going to be an absolute bagger.
And they were.
Most guys,
most guys in like,
I would say 50% of the league take it upon themselves now to do something after
practice if they feel like they need it.
And that's the younger generation.
They're just like,
I need this.
It wasn't that way when I started.
It is now, though.
And a lot of times your bag skate now is four to five
reps of like 45 seconds you're just you're just flushing the shit of your system like
guys are so so good of shape yeah yeah like even the guys that you look at like we'll use
pat maroon for example like pat maroon's in insane shape he's like yeah when you when you really
break it down like he's gonna be able to do any bags get you put on me he's gonna slower than
the rest but he's at an elite left yeah he still got the win yeah he can do it so coaches
don't bother you much right I guess they don't need to because if guys taken
upon themselves yeah like it's okay dude yeah is it was it a punish but yours it's
With Carlisle sounds like it wasn't a punitive.
Like in my mind, I think it's always a punishment.
They're like, hey, you played like shit last night.
You guys are skating all day tomorrow.
But your sounds like it was like, no, this is what we do pregame.
This is what we do pregame with him.
And he absolutely put us in the line.
I remember one time we were in Dallas.
We had a hard practice, a regular day, and then a game.
And in the hard practice, like, he fucking whacked us.
Yeah.
Wacked us to the point where like Getsloff Perry and I were like, we were dead.
Yep.
And two days later, I said.
scored two. I get on the plane and he never complimented me because I was a younger guy.
He's like, that's the best you've moved in a long time. Good game. And I was like, thanks.
And I was walking back to my walk. And I was like, fuck. Now he's justified.
I was like, I should have shit the bed instead of exhausted. You're too tired.
He's honestly. I'm glad that I bagged you because it clearly worked. And you're like, God,
fucking damn. And I should have sucked. He used to do a thing called age skate because we had such an
older team, right? You had Salani, Niedemey, Niedemey, the other Niedemeyer. Like,
there's so many older guys where it gets off.
Perry and I were so much younger than everybody else.
And you'd be like down and back.
And he'd be like, if you're over 35, off the ice.
Oh, that's cool.
33.
32.
And then he knew exactly how old Chris Koonitz was just a touch older than those guys.
And Kuni was always part of their little crew when they went out on the road.
So he would like give Kuni a couple extra and be like, Kuni, whatever.
And then it'd be like down the poor Brendan Mickelson would be up from the minors.
And he'd like, what am I doing here?
So him and I'd be the only 20, 21 year olds.
And he would just up and down, getting cori and get the salt out or whatever.
And then he would, as soon as he would like, if you're under 23, stay on the ice and
just be me and Mickleson and he'd be like, we'll do four or five more.
And I'm like, I hate the guy.
Come on.
Yeah.
But he was such a, like, I would have loved to have played for him when I was older.
Yeah, that's cool.
That's cool.
Yeah, because you would have got off the ice early.
Great.
Yes.
He was a good coach.
He was a good coach.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
Next one.
What's one of the coolest things you ever got to do because you were an NHL player?
I was actually thinking about, and like, honestly, so many cool experiences doing different things.
And like touring the Apple headquarters was unbelievable.
Oh, sweet.
But bar none.
Yeah.
Bar none, though.
I'm sorry, it was Google.
Whatever one's in San Fran area, I don't know.
Yeah.
I mean, Cupertino, yeah.
The one that's always on your phone and you're checking the weather.
Yeah, yeah.
I don't care.
Where the fun is this place?
So it was after my rookie year.
It was just George Paris and I, because we were the two locals that were.
staying in Anaheim for the summer.
They called us and they were like, there's this military base.
And you would think in Carlsbad, the famous one, it wasn't that.
They were like, I don't know, this is something different.
They want you to come out and they want to show off and whatever.
So they give me the directions and I'm like, what fuck am I going?
Like I'm driving in the desert.
You just go inland.
Like you're going to Vegas and then down.
And they're like, you know, Syria or whatever is like Google Maps.
Like take this exit.
I'm like, there's nothing here.
I'm not taking this exit.
I get off, obviously.
It's just me driving by my car.
George and I didn't drive together.
I'm talking to him on the phone.
I'm like, do you know where we're going?
He's like, I have no idea.
This is whatever.
So we get off and you just drive 10 miles straight.
Straight desert, the mountains are there.
You're never, and then you get to a little gate and they're like, you're at the base.
I'm like, what?
And you go over the hill and you just see the city.
It's like a city in the middle of nowhere.
You're like, there's no way they could have pulled this off.
But it's where they go before they go overseas.
Whoa.
So we went in, met him, had lunch, met a bunch of guys, did an autograph thing, which you guys didn't really care.
They were just, they were like, thanks for coming, blah, blah, blah.
And we were like, this is an unbelievable experience.
Once you're in there, the supermarket, everything stays.
But we went out into the hills and watched them clear rooms like they were getting ready to go overseas.
And like we stood up on the thing and watched them do live action room clearing.
They have, they had like 150 actors that spoke the language of where they were going.
and we're yelling at them and like recreating daily life for these guys over there.
Holy shit.
And I remember just standing there and I was like, all as I do is chase a little puckering.
This is absolutely fucking ballistic.
Like I could not believe what I was saying.
And the actors, like they were holding dead chickens.
Like they were taking it so seriously.
Like they were clearing a market road and everything.
And I remember walking away from that with like just a newfound respect and like complete
newfound respect for what those guys did.
Yeah.
It was insane.
That is fascinating.
It was so cool.
It was a big time perspective.
moments. It was. I was 21.
She, oh, yeah, wow. Yeah, I'm, like,
thinking, rookie year, I'm the man.
Yeah, yeah, like, I'm excited.
And I just, I remember thinking
that, like, it was a silent drive home
for myself. It was like a very
reflective. Yeah, that's such a cool answer,
because your answer could so easily
be something amazing, you know, we got invited to
the Super Bowl and we're in this and that, but it's
yeah, that is kind of a backstate
situation that not everyone gets to experience, but it was
a really cool life lesson. It was.
It was. That's an amazing story and answer.
Very cool.
Yeah.
It was a blast.
Yeah.
Okay, I got two more for you.
This one, I'm kind of combining two questions because people ask similar things.
So it's what percentage of guys in the league do you feel like don't try or don't even like hockey that much?
And the other one was what percentage of games is the team just like, we're not feeling it tonight.
Okay.
So I thought about this and I was like, I don't know how to do a percentage on this.
But I will say every team has, there are no games when you don't try.
There are games when you batting down the hatches.
as a team and you're like, we don't have it.
The energy's shit in the room.
You can feel it during the day.
All right.
That was my, do you know it going into the game or is it something you realize in the
half week of the first period?
You're like, oh, fuck, we don't have it today.
The other problem with this is a lot of times of warm-ups guys are like, oh, no.
Holy suck.
More flex-all.
But at the same time, you can feel it.
The team's just flat.
Like, the soccer game is not the same.
But the problem with that is every team has an energizer bunny.
Okay.
That just, you're like, stop.
Like at all times, because sometimes you get your pulse from that person when they're warming up.
And you're like, okay, I can get there.
I can get there.
And you just can't.
So I would say, I would say one to two out of 10 teams feel like they're just flat.
Passes aren't crisp.
The energy is.
One game out of 10.
So eight times a year.
So that's what, I don't know what that is.
Yeah, 10%.
Yeah.
Yeah, let's just say that.
Yeah, 10%.
So that's as a team.
As a player,
I would say 20% of players hate hockey.
God damn, dude.
That is so crazy.
Two out of ten.
See, this is such an eye-opening thing that we've been talking about recently
that I think more people need, or not need to know, but it's interesting to know.
Yeah.
Because, yeah, we get the sense of it, too.
It's crazy.
And it's more often the third and fourth line guys or your fifth and sixth defensemen
that know, hey, like, this is a million dollar job or some in a two-point, whatever.
Like, you're higher paid guys.
Love the game.
I've only played with one or two that could have given or taken the game at that level.
But it's a grind.
And like, there's no glory in what they do in the third and fourth line role at times and the fifth and sixth defenseman times.
And it just, I think, becomes a business and more of a job than a game to guys like that.
They're grinding to get another year.
They're grinding to get 600 games in pension and things like that.
Like those things are always thought about for players.
So I would say 20%.
And I'm just thinking back to one team, it was almost 40%.
Yeah.
Like, like, and if you're not on a good team, it becomes much harder to like every part of it.
That makes a ton of sense, actually.
They all know how fortunate they are.
Like, no, everybody knows where, like, you're so lucky.
You're playing hockey for a living.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But it does become, for two out of ten guys, it becomes, this is a job.
Just a job.
Just a job.
I think about, I mean, you play, lucky to play at a certain level when you're younger,
usually we all have the similar thing, which you played on great teams, but we've all had that
one experience where you had one season where you just kind of sucked.
Even back then, you get to the end of the season.
You know you're not making playoffs and you're a little bit like, get me out of here.
You love the game, but you're like, I'm done with this season.
I think about some of these teams that are, they've been eliminated since fucking November.
Yeah.
And you're a fourth line guy on that team and you're getting into the dog days of the last 20, 30 games of the season.
Yeah.
How hard must it be to just keep going at it every single day being like, Jesus, man.
Yeah.
So over this.
Especially if you're in that role.
Yeah.
Exactly.
Like you said.
On the other side of it, though, and obviously don't say any name, but have you ever
seen someone get that fat ticket and then stop carrying?
Because now they're like, I'm fucking rich as hell now.
I don't give a shit.
I can't say I've seen that.
No, I don't think I've ever seen a player cave it in after they got paid.
I've seen players go the other way.
Like, I got paid and like now I have to justify it.
Oh, okay.
So they're like lit the fire a little more.
So more that.
That's what you want to hear as a fan.
Yeah.
I don't think I've ever seen a player like get a contract and be like yep yeah yeah they have
I'm done yeah yeah yeah who's your favorite energizer brunny you've played with jason blake
yeah that guy yeah if i could is okam a guy and just be like what's that guy doing right now
it would have been him you remember that song is one of the worst songs in the world uh Austin by
Blake Shelton what is that it's like the country love song oh okay i know the song yeah um
christ it's like it's like it's so old yeah and
That was back when we had the iPad shuffle in the room, and I was in charge of music,
and it, like, went through my iTunes, and I had bought the song for 99 cents.
Like, they would always give me 500 bucks at the beginning of the year,
and they're like, go load this thing up.
And then Todd Marchant would do some of it, Matt Boleski,
but this one year, Austin came on in the room, and Jason, like, Blakey was like,
what is this?
I'm like, ah, it's a country song, just switched it.
He's like, no.
It's horrible, switch it.
And he fell in love with this song, and it would drive.
me insane because I would leave and as soon as I would leave he'd go put it on you'd walk back in
the room you'd go into the training room he'd put it back on and I'm like this was months of this
song yeah yeah and so that one and then you used to we used to fuck with team all the time because
and it's one of those songs where I swear oh yeah yeah you would just walk by Timu and sing that
and his day was fucked his day was done he couldn't get that song out of his head and you
just hear Timu coming out of the shower sing the moon you're like you're like we got him
Yeah.
Oh, that's fucking great.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So,
but Jason Blake, man, just watching them warm up,
watching on practice.
Like,
yeah.
Do you ever go to sleep?
Yeah.
Like, how do you live like that?
But I'm sure I helped you get there some nights.
You did actually.
You did.
When I was on his line and you'd be like,
wake up and like, all right.
Yeah.
Incredible.
I love it.
Okay.
Last one.
This one's hilarious.
And you don't have to name names either,
but someone submitted craziest wag story, please.
Well,
I don't really have any,
like,
absolute crazy.
wag stories from like interactions or anything.
I'll just touch on the, like, so there's a wives room or wife's girlfriend.
It's a family room, right? Yeah, yeah.
And they get, I'll just say they get heavy poured in there.
So we would always be getting dressed and like a lot of guys would drive separate because they'd
count, right, whatever, but you would go up and your wife would carpool and whoever,
you'd just go pick your wife up and you'd go to the tunnel to get your car.
And it was always, like, except for one.
team we always knew who got over-served. We'd all be getting our suits on and we're like,
who is it tonight? Who's going to draw the short end of the stick? And they would get overserved.
And you would come up and be like, did you guys, what did you guys think of the game?
They're like, what? Zero recollection of the game, not blackout drunk, but like zero.
They just had a party. They just hung out. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. It's kind of sick.
It's 41 parties. 41, three parties. Just hang with the girls. You got the babies running
around all the time. And like, you know you have a D.D. because your, your husband's just played. So we're
taking you home.
Yeah, right.
Good point.
So they're like, yeah, this is, what a setup, right?
Dude, I, like, other than the famous one that everybody knows about, which I'm not going
to talk about in Ottawa, which wasn't an interaction for me, so I don't know much about it,
truthfully, but yeah, that one.
That was a wild one.
That was a wild one.
That was a wild one.
That one gave it to the room a little bit.
Dude, we were actually just in the family room in Jersey.
Great family room.
Great family room.
And I think it's kind of a funny element of people talk about different barns all the time, which
has the best facilities. The family room is a factor. Big factor. There is a, there are different
standards of family rooms around. Oh yeah. Which is interesting. Yeah. The one in Anaheim is pretty
bad. But the one in Ottawa is unbelievable. They had like a mini ring for the kids. Yeah.
So sweet. The one in Tampa Bay is unbelievable. They have a full, like a mini rank the size of this room.
Really? God. Yeah. Yeah. I feel like the ones that have a pretty significant daycare vibe set up.
Yeah. I mean, I don't blame you. If I were a mother of multiple kids and I go to that family room and
I can get bombed while people watch my kids.
And then husbands driving home, hell yeah.
It was funny.
Go for it.
Like the girl that took care of the room with Cheryl and she became a friend obviously over the years.
And I'd walk up and be like, Cheryl, who is it tonight?
And she's like, I don't know.
I was like, who did you over for?
Cheryl's no snitch.
She was no snitch.
She's like, I just look down and poor.
It doesn't matter who it's for.
She was phenomenal.
That's incredible.
That's beautiful.
Awesome.
Well, that's the batch.
Yep.
Great time.
Before we got to go, we got to take a second to shout out a friend
mine Christina who yes absolutely how many years ago have we 15 15 was your first game and she's
seen and it was in her first building was anaheim anaheim when I was there and now she's
seeing her 32nd building tonight in Nashville so she completed the journey she completed the journey
and just so happens that I live here and we touched base so we were able to catch up a little bit
before say hello and just want to say congratulations to her because she nailed it 32 32
is impressive. Yes, and what's awesome about this journey is you got the expansions of Vegas and Seattle at it, which is so cool.
When she started, those weren't even in the category. And now, bang, here we go.
She's going to be in Salt Lake City next year. Yeah, yeah, exactly. Salt Lake City coming up.
Tonight at Bridgetown in Nashville, the 32 collection is complete.
With Bobby is the bookend. Yes. Unbelievable story.
Pretty unreal. Huge congrats there. And then this was a blast as always. So,
Yep.
Can't wait for the next round.
Yep.
Fucking A.
Pick a good city.
Yeah, exactly.
Stay warm.
Thank you, as always to Bobby.
Gotta love me some inside the NHL.
Inside the locker.
I'm asking NHL or just to, I can't,
we're going to make that a whole series for you guys.
It's unbelievable.
Inside the locker is the best.
Let's pop into some armchair GM.
Blake, what's the theme?
So, Armchair GM this week.
We'll recap last week.
So, Chris, you won again.
Come,
31 points to Dan's 25.
Oh, that's
You're pulling away.
So total, Chris, you're at 183.
Dan, you're at 174.
So just a reminder for the fans, the listeners.
Last week's theme was European-born players.
This week, the theme is a player who has been traded
in the past five years.
Love it.
Who's up first?
Me, because I won.
You're broke because he won.
I think that should be that.
And I think just for the spirit of this one,
you can just pick three forwards.
They don't need to be center, left wing, right wing.
Okay.
Just so you can really...
We have them written down if you want to do it right, Dan.
Oh, I'm probably going to do it right, but I might...
We'll see.
All right, make your pick, bitch.
Okay.
Is Matt...
Is Matt, if you get Chuck hurt?
No.
He's still in...
You can't pick him now because you ask that question.
Seriously.
Can't be that dumb.
The fuck?
No, you can pick them.
For my first pick,
give me
Patrick Cain
No
you made your pick
you made your pick
and Matthew Cichuck
You just said no to Cichuk
And then no to Cainer
You're such a cunt
He's on an 11 game
All right no go shut up
That's my pick
It's fucking bullshit that you get to pick first
In a week then dude
I did I won the first one
And then you started cheating
The record is four and two
For Chris
Hey one good week
And you can come up
Yeah.
Fucking whatever, dude.
Fucking cunt.
Matthew Cachuk.
Shit.
Fuck off.
Okay.
Oh, I can't do that.
You so don't deserve Patrick Kane or a Detroit player ever.
Why not?
Because you're a fucking douchebag.
For my second pick, give me J.T. Miller.
I'll take Jonathan quick.
Damn.
Okay, for my next pick, I will go.
I'm going D. Give me Hampas Lindholm.
Jack Eichel.
Oh, fuck me, dude.
Jack's back.
That's awesome.
Um, next, give me
Tage Thompson.
Brock favor, loophole, trade acquisitions.
That's actually such a sick move.
I'll allow it.
This is how we play armchair GM.
Yep.
There we go.
Back to the well.
Give me Eric Carlson.
I'll take Chickren.
Risky one here, but just for the games,
give me Corpusalla to brink it.
All right, there we have it.
Now we're doing saucy predictions.
Last week, I doubled down on McDavid.
I said he would score five in his next three.
And he finally fucking scored.
But I think he got that one.
So I was way off.
What did you pick, Dan?
I can't even remember.
I picked that the Penguins would be, I think.
Three and O.
Oh, yeah.
They lost every game.
They were over three.
They were on three.
And you know what?
It went exactly according to plan.
The other way.
No, no, it went exactly according to plan because what I did there was I reverse jinxed them.
Yep.
And you want them out.
I want chaos.
Okay, so we got our predictions wrong.
We got to eat.
Here we go.
Again, I know I say this every episode, but I can smell it from over here.
Yep.
So bad.
So bad. So good. So good.
The chicken's great. I can feel my palm sweating.
While it's building and the hiccups are coming.
I will go first. We're doing trade deadline predictions. Only mine are that
Frank Petrono will be traded to the New York Rangers and that Jake Gensel will be traded.
I'm not saying
I think it's a saucy enough one
to say that he'll be traded at all
Okay fair
Mine is that three goalies will be moved
This deadline
Before before end of Friday
Three goals are on different teams
It was such an aggressive
Yeah that is so aggressive
I think two are definitely moving
So I'm just trying to make sure it's three
Imagine just signing up for death like that
Wait wait watch dude
You're gonna fucking eat a wing for that
I don't want to get cocky
I'm feeling okay
Really? This is awful
I'm doing DeBomb right now
Your brother, like, a puke in his fucking lap.
Oh, man.
It's, like, it's hot, but I'm feeling okay.
Like, I think maybe I'm getting better.
So do I need to bring in a hotter sauce next?
No, no, I think maybe that I feel hot.
Like, I feel sweat.
I'm sweaty.
But I think I'm all right.
Maybe I've got a sauce more next time.
Maybe.
But I am feeling it.
Okay, that's it for us this week.
Can't wait to enjoy the trade deadline with you guys.
It's going to be amazing.
We're going to be all over Twitter.
We're going to be all over.
at IG.
Craziness.
We will follow along
with everything.
I can't even speak anymore.
And until then.
Sauce hard.
I mean skate hard.
Skate hard.
