Empty Netters Podcast - 79. NHL Trade Deadline Grades

Episode Date: March 13, 2024

The guys defend Torts outburst and pour one out for Phil Kessel. They debate if we see Landy in the playoffs and if pulling your goalie in OT should be the new norm. Plus, they put on their professor ...tweed suits and dish out some very tough grades on all the NHL Trades. Find out who is getting a gold star and who is failing. NEW EPISODES EVERY WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Head to FACTOR MEALS dot com slash NETTERS50 and use code NETTERS50 to get 50% off. That’s code NETTERS50 at FACTOR MEALS dot com slash NETTERS50 to get 50% off! Here: https://www.factor75.com/pages/podcast?c=NETTERS50&mealsize=8-1&c_comms=PERCENT&utm_source=podcast&utm_medium=cpm&utm_campaign=podcast50off&utm_content=act_podcast_podcastads&discount_comm_id=7267f20b-a39f-4440-9ca2-1404329a2b418&dis_channel=audio (0:00) - Intro (2:46) - No Buckie Warm Up (3:28) - Torts Outburst (8:37) - Minnesota’s OT Gamble (11:13) - Bedard is a -37! (18:48) - Pour one out for Phil Kessel (23:50) - Florida’s Goaltending (34:13) - Landeskog could return?! (42:22) - Vegas and their LTIR (55:48) - Hot Ice (56:04) - Trade Deadline Grades (1:30:27) - Arm Chair GM (1:32:29) - Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 On this week's episode, we are grading trades, and I got bad news for some teams I am a tough professor. John Totorella went full Jordan Belfort and refused to leave the bench when West McCauley tried to pigeon toss him. And we are finally seeing some new OT strategies, which I have been asking for. And the Detroit Red Wings are in an ultimate free fall. Fans are panicking. What do we do? This episode of the MCNutters podcast is brought to you by Factor. Factors ready to eat meals make eating better every single day easy.
Starting point is 00:00:27 Wherever tomorrow takes you, be ready to rock with factors pre-prepared, chef-crafted, dietitian-approved meals delivered right to your door. Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the MT Netters podcast. We're in our first week of the double app drop. We had Frank Vitrono on Monday. Today. Wonderful. Yeah, but like people are recording today. We're here this on Wednesday.
Starting point is 00:00:55 But it came out Monday. He's the guy. Oh, he's, he's, I mean, I know we say everyone's awesome, but Frank is so awesome. He's just such a homie. It's that New England connection. Yeah, yeah, exactly right. It just feels like a friend, and I love him. So glad he stayed.
Starting point is 00:01:10 Oh, I can say now, we obviously talk to Frank. Guys, if you haven't listened to it, guys, stop right now. Please go to the YouTube, smash subscribe, download that episode on Spotify, Apple, whatever. Listen to it. It's just so fun. It's 37 minutes. Frank Petrono's The Man has such a cool story. When we were with him, we talked about the trade deadline because it was, what was that,
Starting point is 00:01:33 Monday? Tuesday. It was Tuesday. It was Tuesday. The deadline was that Friday. Yeah. And we kind of candidly were like, what do you think is going to happen? And we've expressed to him that we wanted him to stay in Anaheim and he shared the exact
Starting point is 00:01:45 same sentiment. He was like, oh my God, I want to stay here so bad. So it was pretty awesome Friday at 3 p.m. Eastern rolling around and us all being like, we made. Dude, especially because we left. the rink Tuesday, Wednesday morning, like heads were rolling in Anaheim already. And I was like, oh, God. We're not even going to get this episode out. Yeah. It was stressful, man. Stressful stuff. Listen, the trade deadline week is a roller coaster. It's Christmas morning. It's 4th of July.
Starting point is 00:02:16 It's everything all rolled up into one. That was a blast. I was exhausted on Friday. Truly, I'm not even making a joke. Trying to stay on top of all the trades, reporting all of it and talking about all of it. It's so fun. but we've got the last, you know, quarter or so of the season here now. A lot of guys on new teams, a lot of tight races for playoffs. So we've got a ton to talk about let's jump right out the gate with our no-bucky warm-up. Let's talk about torts. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:02:48 Can someone confirm what he did initially? Was it just like he's pissed about the penalties? Yeah, to my knowledge, he was just irate about the penalty calls and just the officiating in general. I mean, his team was down four-rip at that point. was pulling his goalie, making a goalie change at that point as well. And I think he was just, you know, it was too early for him to be leaving. Yep. All I'll say is this.
Starting point is 00:03:16 We, I like Wes. I like watching Wes. Our boy, Chris Rooney speaks extremely highly of West. I'm pretty sure Wes is the president of the Ref Association. And Ruins is the VP. Yeah. So clearly the union thinks highly of Wes. I see a lot in the comments, not just on our posts,
Starting point is 00:03:32 on a lot of hockey accounts, people being like, the Wes, people pay to watch me, ref McCulley show, you know, like I see a lot of that shit. This is a unstoppable force meets immovable object for me,
Starting point is 00:03:47 where I'm like, Wes is the man, isn't going to take any shit, and has earned the right to not take any shit. Torts has been a sound bite machine, his whole career, but certainly this year. And as Blake said,
Starting point is 00:03:56 he's frustrated, that's what happens. the maybe it was a quick toss you know like I wasn't watching the game live and I kind of love not kind of love I extremely love towards being like this no especially if he felt like he didn't do something that bad considering how much you used to get away within the league but I do think it put less in a tough spot because there was just in my opinion no universe where you get to go all right never mind you can stay yeah so that's why it was kind of brutal I loved every single thing about this. I thought it was an old school WWE showdown. Vince McMahon versus Stone Cold Steve Austin
Starting point is 00:04:33 just talking smack to each other. Everyone just, I loved everything about this. To me, it was an old school WWE MF and Natch back and forth between, you know, Stone Cold Steve Austin and Dwayne the Rock Johnson. Just two showmen screaming at each other, not backing down. I love it from Wes. I love it from Torts. I agree. Anyone who's getting mad at West saying, you know, it's not the West McCull. He's not doing that. There's a refs or a coach screaming at him and he's given it right back. I absolutely loved every second of it. The thing that I find interesting is people forget that Torts is coaching a playoff team right. Yeah. There was a part of me that was like, yeah, it's funny. Like this is, you know, Torts, he's just getting the boys fired up. Like that
Starting point is 00:05:22 to me felt like in baseball, one of managers like, I got. got to change the tide here. That was a bad call. I'm going to willingly get kicked out here to send a message to my boys. That's what it felt like for torts. They're losing for nothing. He's kind of like, I got to do something here. It is a little tough, though, that he's like, I'm pissed because we are a playoff team and we need all of our points right now. I can't stand the 50K fine and two-game suspension. Ridiculous. The hell are we doing NHL? I'm appalled. I love Wes kicking him out. And sicking to it. Like, although I'm not leaving. I'm not leaving. I'm like, yeah, you are leaving, dude, but that's the end of it.
Starting point is 00:05:57 Totally agree. It's a, you got, listen, you got mad, you got worked up, you started screaming at a ref, you got pigeon tossed. That's fine. I have no problem with that. And I love towards going, no, f*** off. I'm not leaving. That was awesome. But West sticks to his gun and goes, yes, you are leaving. That should have been it. You've kicked him out. He got a game misconduct. If you want to fine him, sometimes these fines, I just roll my eyes because I'm like,
Starting point is 00:06:27 okay, the hits I get, something like this, you don't need to fine torts for this, but if you're going to, give him a $5,000 fine, and just go, we're done here. 50K and then two games,
Starting point is 00:06:42 what are you possibly winning by kicking torts off the bench for two games? It's a playoff team. It's so, it's so, regardless of that, it's just so stupid.
Starting point is 00:06:53 The thing that I don't understand is, it's probably this like, it's a precedent thing. It's a message thing. We can't have, shut up, man. No one is worried about this. Don't toss him for two games.
Starting point is 00:07:05 It's so stupid. I hope he appeals it. I mean, do they play today? It's just mental to me that that awesome moment resulted in this big overreaction from the league. It's just calm down. Pathetic. Kick him out for that game.
Starting point is 00:07:21 $5,000 fine. We're done here. And never speak of it again. I can't believe we even have to talk about it. My favorite part about the whole thing, I don't know if you two have seen this, the Flyer CEO announced he's paying the fine. Yes.
Starting point is 00:07:33 That is a sick move. So their next two games are Tuesday, Thursday, both at home against the sharks and against the Maple Leafs. Yeah. I don't know if you guys saw this. The one thing I loved was they were celebrating the 20th anniversary of the 04 Cup team. that Torts coached.
Starting point is 00:07:50 Oh, sick. And when he was going off, they, on the broadcast, they shot up to the box where all those guys were. And they're all pointing at the TV, like laughing their ass off, just loving it. Like, it was, it was. That's their guy. That's what I'm saying.
Starting point is 00:08:05 It was, I loved every single thing about it. Torts got a good reaction from his team, from the fans. Everyone loved it. And it's just, it's not that deep is what I'm saying to the NHL. Calm down. What he said is no different than, like, if I get tossed and I'm still screaming at the ref. I'm not saying I'm not leaving, but I'm just still screaming at them. Those are the same things to me. Agree. Like we're just continuing our
Starting point is 00:08:24 argument. I've been tossed. Once you get tossed, that's why you have a window to keep going. Because you're like, I've been tossed. Fuck you. Get your money's worth. Yeah. So 100% ridiculous. Crazy stuff. Next thing. New, new little wrinkle in the OT strategy of these teams, Dan. You must be thrilled about this. I'm thrilled. Well, we got a lot of work to do still, but I'm very excited to see. And big shout out to Murals, dude. Did you see that post? Yes. Murils has been saying that in Russia teams have been pulling their goalie on 3-on-3. Then it was happening in Sweden.
Starting point is 00:08:52 And he was like, it's moving west. It's moving west. Like, eventually the NHL team's going to do it, and the wild pulled it off. I love the move. I think there is, you know, when you need the dub, you need the extra point. I'm like, do it, dude. Who cares? Like, at the point there in, these points matter.
Starting point is 00:09:12 Yeah. The stage there in, these points matter. It did make me laugh a little bit because I just think the wild are completely out of it. So I'm like, yeah, okay. Hell yeah, dude. That's why they were a perfect guinea game. I know, exactly. Because, you know, if the Red Wings did this, if the Islanders did this, and it doesn't work,
Starting point is 00:09:28 you look like an asshole. But the Wild, go for it, man. You're playing with House Money. Immediate goal. And you know what I had a thought when I first saw this? I wondered, because before I saw the highlight, I just saw headline, Wild pulled their goalie in overtime. I was like, oh, I bet they got a power play. And then also pulled their goalie for the five on three.
Starting point is 00:09:46 And I was like, oh, yeah, that's a no-brainer. Because, like, five on three is, like, you have automatic. You have to score. Yeah. And when I saw it was even strength, I was like, oh, shit, they really went for it. But we've talked to enough players that are like, when the other team has three, even if you only have four, it's pretty easy to get one. Like, you should get one every time. And I don't know.
Starting point is 00:10:04 Someone should look up, like, the power play success rates in overtime. Yeah. But the four, when they got three, we should, you should bag it. And I think this is a move. Like, if you are banging at the end of the year for a playoff spot and you are one point, away. You'd get killed. You're right. If you pull the goal and they score, you'd get killed. But I'm like, I just got to believe it's a high enough percent rate that you do it. I agree. I mean, I think it's awesome. If you get a good clean rush and possession,
Starting point is 00:10:28 come to the bench. Yeah, set it up. Someone else up there. It's, it was awesome to watch. Yep. The Wild have been electric all year with, they're getting a lot of underdog wins. Yeah. If you're up on the Bet MGM game, if you're taking some action, when the Wilder dogs, they've gotten some crazy wins. And that one was just a classic, good lord, what are you guys doing? I love everything. Pretty sick.
Starting point is 00:10:52 Because you can still ice as in you can get penalized for icing when they're doing the pole of the goalie thing. So it's not like they can just have free rips at it either. Yeah. You know, so I'm into it, dude. It's a big balls move, but I'm into it. I am too. One of you guys wanted to talk about Bedard.
Starting point is 00:11:07 I want you to take it away. Blakey. Yeah, so Bedard is a dash 37. And I get it. He's on the Chicago Blackhawks. The Blackhawks are basically an NHL team playing the NHL. But I thought, when I saw that, I saw someone post that on Twitter and I was like, oh, whatever, he's on the Blackhawks.
Starting point is 00:11:25 Then I look deeper into it. He's got the second worst plus minus on his team. He's got 31 of his 46 points of came up 5 on 5, meaning he's been on the ice for 68 goals against in 51 games. Are we concerned? Can you check, do you have the Blackhawks hockey reference up there? I'll go to that and just. sort by time on ice.
Starting point is 00:11:47 I just want to see how much he's playing. Knee jerk before that even comes up. I'm the biggest plus minus guy in the game. We all know that. I think what Blake's caveat of he plays for the Chicago Blackhawks is why I don't care. To me, this is a this was a free trial
Starting point is 00:12:05 this season for Bedard. No one expected them to do anything. They haven't done anything. He got a pretty gnarly injury that he's battled back. from like a boss. I love him. I love the way he plays. I don't care about this.
Starting point is 00:12:22 Truly, to me, this is an opportunity for Kyle Davidson and their coaching staff to see how he plays and figure it out next year of what he needs to work on, how he can get even better. So him being a dash, what was it, 37, that's pretty gnarly, but I really don't care.
Starting point is 00:12:42 I think this team is so brutal. Yeah, where is he? he's seventh right there. Looks like he's seventh on the team and time on ice. So being second worst plus minus is not that crazy. And the highest time on ice for forwards on the team. And, you know, with all those games missed. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 00:12:57 Yeah. I mean, to me, man, they're clearly just going, go out there and play hockey. Yep. I think he, I mean, you saw that that Piper the other day where he's, or it wasn't even a power play, I don't think, but he was just stick handling through everyone from the point. Yeah, yeah. He's playing pond hockey.
Starting point is 00:13:13 a lot. And I give him that leash. I think I'm not going to look into this. But the one thing I will say is this. I said to you guys a long time ago that Macklin Celebrini is going straight to this team. And wouldn't you know it? Who is the first team eliminated from the playoffs officially? I'm weirdly rooting for it now. Like I, it's almost like in a masochistic way. I'm like, yeah, just let him get bull so I can bitch about it for the next 50 years. Listen, it's. It's, it's, it's, it's, Taves and Kane part two. Yeah, 100%. What I've been saying the whole time. It's, I,
Starting point is 00:13:51 I like the takes of Chicago after everything that went down. They don't deserve this. And I'll hear those. But we're already here. Bredd's already on the team. So, so an original six team with great history in a phenomenal city like Chicago,
Starting point is 00:14:06 it's better if the Chicago Blackhawks are good. So if they go back to back year's number one overall pick and get Connor Bredard and Macklin Celebrini, you're not going to see me stamping my feet about it. I think that's going to be pretty electric. And I wonder what type of free agents that attracts. Yeah. I mean, the Sharks roster, after that hurdle trade and the Couture injury,
Starting point is 00:14:25 they're starting to look. Yeah, they'll make a bid for it. They're looking pretty similar to this caliber of roster. So see where he goes. One only minor concern I have is because even when before the season, we were talking to Chalios about Bedard, and it's like, I hope they give him the leash. And they certainly have.
Starting point is 00:14:42 and he's been awesome and so fun to watch. And all the great goal scores in the league, as Shelley says all the time, cheat, take chances, anticipate, whatever you want to call it. So I'm glad he has experienced life in the NHL doing that, seeing results. One thing I would like to keep an eye on moving forward. Because if he comes into the 2011 Boston Bruins with Claude Julian, he barely sees the ice. And Julian's like, well, your defensive game isn't there.
Starting point is 00:15:07 And that's not even a knock on Claude. He's a great coach. But that's what would have happened, right, in a different system. but I'm sure Sagan would even admit now I learned some good lessons from that. It was too far. That's too far pendulum for me. So I'll just be curious to see as Badard, as this team gets better, I'll be interested to watch his plus minus. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:15:25 I'm like, hey, dude, are you oblivious in the D zone? Because you never learned it early. So keep an eye on it. My last comment on him is there's a lot of fans freaking out about whenever he gets hit or hooked up. Like he took a little slash to the wrist a couple weeks ago. I think it was Dumbah buried him into the boards the other day. Our boy Heat Daddy on Twitter got loud about it. And there was that unbelievable Darren McCarty moment.
Starting point is 00:15:55 Did you guys see that? Oh, yeah. What was this? This was unbelievable. Let me find it. So our boy Heat Daddy on Twitter was, people were freaking out about this hit that Bader took. And our boy, he taught, daddy said, bra, now I'm getting a little fed up. This is hockey. You got to have your head up and protect yourself. What is going on anymore? Simply don't be defenseless then. This is hockey. And Darren McCarty, iconic multiple cup winner, goes rule number one, get out of the way. Rule number two, if you're going to get hit, get up against the wall, boards. Two feet is off. Two feet off is death, like skull emoji. This used to be common knowledge. So did skating through neutral zone with head down and get blown up. Defenseless is football, not hockey. Then,
Starting point is 00:16:39 some dude, I'm not going to expose him, goes, all caps, false. Like, replies to this. This is a reply to Darren McCarty. False. Not sure if you've ever played the game, but those of who, sorry, this guy. Terrible. False. Not sure if you've ever played the game, but those of who have played at a high level,
Starting point is 00:17:03 know that the best way to maintain possession is to turn your back to the other player and hopefully draw a penalty. go back to your video games. And Darren McCarty quote tweets that and goes, this might be my favorite response ever. Feel free to play my guy in any of these video games you speak of. I'll be here shining rings, hashtag four cups. And I quote tweeted that and said,
Starting point is 00:17:28 this might be the biggest bodybag in the history of this app. And then that guy replies to that tweet and goes, fair enough, Daryl. wrong name but my point stands the game has changed a lot since you last played i have a deep understanding of the modern game as i've been coached by guys who played in the in the oh in 2005 to 2010 era and i'm like buddy you cannot double down on a multiple cup winning nhl legend i would say but he's been coached by oh hl guy yeah yeah that guy who went to oh hl camp you know sorry that went on so long my my point is badar
Starting point is 00:18:06 isn't bitching about this. So all the fans stop bitching. Chill out. Bard is playing the game the right way. He knows he's going to get his licks. He knows he needs to learn how to take contact in the NHL. I just find it so weird
Starting point is 00:18:19 because we didn't get this with Crosby and McKinnon and McDavid. It's like when they got bodied in their first year, no one was literally crying about it. Yeah. And it's just all season been this way with Bada. It's like whenever he gets hit, people are like, dude.
Starting point is 00:18:35 Protect Connor. Jesus Christ, man. and like guys are just going at him. I'm like, no shit they're going at him. He's their best player. And he's playing pawn hockey out there. He's got his head down. All right, next thing I want to talk about
Starting point is 00:18:45 our boy, Flip Kessel, shockingly, in my opinion. 4-1-out for Phil. Was not signed by the team. Poor one out for Phil. Because now, if he gets signed, he's ineligible for playoffs. The GM Alvin had this say.
Starting point is 00:18:57 I just want to read you this quote. Phil is a great person and well-respected player. What he has done in this league, a three-time cup winner, he wanted to come back and play. With roster complications and how we want to play, unfortunately at this point,
Starting point is 00:19:08 it wasn't a fit for us. In order to facilitate a trade for us, we needed to move a player out to get a player in. So obviously that's a tougher situation. So we had wish on. He said he was pretty sure the Canucks were going to sign him.
Starting point is 00:19:23 We all, I feel like, thought the Canucks were going to sign him? Can you pull up just NHL.com goals for where the Canucks are on that? I'm going to jump ahead of that. I don't even care what that is. Bill's not helping them that much, dude.
Starting point is 00:19:38 Do I think, if Phil got a full 82 games, I think Phil would be able to get, you know, 15 goals. And that's great. Any team could use 15 goals, you would say. But, you know, we see it right there. Canucks are third in the league in goals four. They're not desperate for Phil to bag them a few more on the third line. I was surprised when he got a tryout. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:20:00 No offense to Phil. It's just he's older. He's an older guy. He's, I don't know. if he's in playing shape. But I was surprised when this happened. I liked the team. Obviously, the coaching staff, there's a ton of connection there with Bill.
Starting point is 00:20:14 Like him. Yeah. They love him. He's one of the great locker room guys ever. And yeah, when we talked to Wish, we were like, hell yeah. Any team would love Phil. But the Canucks made good moves. They've got a full roster.
Starting point is 00:20:26 They don't need Phil. And I am bummed with the rule. I'm bummed that if he gets signed by someone who can't play in the playoffs. so it doesn't really give any team incentive to sign him. So his season is over. If you could put him on any current playoff team and this rule, like let's say it doesn't matter, what team would you put him on?
Starting point is 00:20:48 I would put him on Boston. I'm not kidding. That would be so legendary. I just think if there's a team that needs more goals, it's Boston. I think Phil could probably be a bumper on the power play still. That's something that Boston definitely needs. I know they're, where are they right there? They're six in the league and goals four.
Starting point is 00:21:08 Yeah. So, you know, they're not struggling, but they're tied with Edmonton. Detroit is one behind them. Florida is a few behind them. So they're not lighting it up this year. But yeah, I mean, they're a playoff team that, to me, I'm like, I could see that. I don't think that they need him. No, no, no.
Starting point is 00:21:25 Why they didn't sign him. Yeah. But that's one that I could totally see. But, yeah, I was surprised Phil got a try out. I'm not shocked by this. I am saddened by this. We love Phil. We want to see Phil in it.
Starting point is 00:21:35 But I won't lie when he got the tryout. There was part of me that was like, do you need this Vancouver? So as the days went by, the weeks went by, and we didn't see a signing, I was like, okay. Yep. This is over. To answer your question, I would say the Oilers. For a couple reasons. One.
Starting point is 00:21:54 You can't have him and Perry. Yeah, you can. Well, that's why. Because you got, you got Perry and you got Captain McDavid. Sean, Yonner, McDavid. I would be nice to have Phil in the locker of just loosening the boys up for a little bit. And I would have picked a team.
Starting point is 00:22:10 Boston kind of has become this now, but a team that doesn't have a lot of playoff success experience. Like, you guys lose all the time, Edmonton, what's up? Here's how you win a cup. I'm around. And here was my only point where I'm kind of, well, I'm disappointed because I'm a fan of Phil, but disappointed from a hockey sense.
Starting point is 00:22:24 I think, sorry for the crossover, but you know when you play fantasy football, it's not really worth having guys on your bench that are like just worse than your starters because they're never going to play. it's better to just stash like a total game breaker. Like if you're running back gets hurt, you've got this guy. Oh, I like it.
Starting point is 00:22:37 Vancouver's argument, per Alvin's comments, is like, well, we just, we have some depth guys, young depth guys already that we like. And I'm like, I just don't know that that guy is going to break a playoff game ever. Yeah. And Phil might. And Phil might not ever too, but I'm just like, I might have, if someone went down, I'd rather just have Phil in my back pocket. And that might be a result of, we don't, like I said, we don't know.
Starting point is 00:22:59 Maybe he was brutal. Yeah. He just might not be, and maybe he's banged up. Who knows? But I was just thinking to myself when we're talking about teams, how funny would he be on Colorado with Nate Dog? I just can't think of two people whose preparation and diet is different. Similar thing with diet.
Starting point is 00:23:18 Badard always talks about how he's never had fast food, doesn't drink soda, anything like that. Part of me wants Kyle Davidson to sign him. Just to be like this finish up, they've got no one on their roster. They're doing that already. Like it'd be a cool like, hey, here's a three-time cup winner, Connor, learn some things from Phil.
Starting point is 00:23:31 Let Phil get some more games in. That would be interesting. Here's an NHL player to play with. They got all the cabspice in the world. Couldn't hurt him. Why not? Just let Phil suit up, dude. Play third line for the Blackhawks.
Starting point is 00:23:44 That'd be a blast. Love to see it. Okay, next one I got, this can be quick, but I just wanted to call out the goaltending situation in Florida right now. I don't think enough people are aware of this. Bob has become the best goal in the league. you know, like it started in the playoffs last year, beginning of the year they were pretty good,
Starting point is 00:24:03 but now he's just like completely dialed. You know, you look at the goals against in the league, and it was always like, Sway was way up there, Demko was way up there. It's Bob now, and he's coming for that ass. Florida, the... Just a quick pause. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:24:16 What a wild situation that is. He just decided to wake up last year after, after what, three games of the first round? Yeah, well, he was... Bobrovsky went like this. You know what, dude? Why am I sucking? I should just be good again. I should be the $10 million goalie that they signed me for. And he,
Starting point is 00:24:33 since that moment, has been this good. Yeah, it's crazy. It's crazy. So Florida this year is ninth in goals four. And I'm pretty sure last year it was like the same Boston, Buffalo and Florida were like right there, top three. That's what we were talking about when they were trying to sneak into the playoffs. It was kind of like what Pitt's doing this year. Yeah, yeah. How aren't you good right now? Yeah. So Matthew Kachuk has picked it way up like we said. he would. But admittedly, if you're a Florida fan, Sam Reiner has been a bit of a special team's merchant. He leads the league in power play goals by 10 over the next guy. He does have the most shorties, which is also wit. Sick. Yeah. Special teams wizard. Yeah. Can I say
Starting point is 00:25:12 something to the two of you? Rangers fans get big on this on Crider with power play goals. And there's a lot of people who went talking about Reiner. It's what does he have, no, 45 goals. They're like, five on the Pete. They're like this half, more than half on the power play. I don't get the issue with that. We need powerplay goals. I don't give a shit where your goals are. If you have 45 goals, that is a lot of goals. Pretty sick.
Starting point is 00:25:35 And I don't care if 25 of them are on the powerplay. I've never understood. I get 5V5 is incredibly important, but so is power play. I think the argument just comes to that power plays are less often in the playoffs. Yep. But then it's like you're still going to get a few and those still become even more important. So then it becomes more important that you have. a guy goal score that can score in those so you only get one to two opportunities on average in a
Starting point is 00:26:03 playoff game now his value just gets even higher and and i think my my biggest data point for my argument is people let's go back to crider again right people go oh well there's not as many power plays and i'm like this yeah well let's think about it like this there are power plays in the regular season games so you need a guy like chryder like sam riner who's going to score on said powerplays when you take those power plays away, that is less time in the regular season games that have power plays where they score, that they might score 5V5. And I think Kreider's stats in the playoffs in his entire career show that. Yeah, yeah. He still scores in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:26:38 And I think so will Rhino. Me too. I just wanted to quickly say, I love it. I've never understood while I get the 5V5 is important. It's funny how people go like this. They're all power play goals, dude. They don't count. And I'm like, well, they sure do.
Starting point is 00:26:52 They sure do. And we need them badly. It's crazy. So all that's to say, power plays will tighten up a little bit, and they're only ninth in the league anyway. It's not, they're not going to win this year because they're going to outscore everybody. They're going to win this year because goals against, they are first tied with the Jets coming into today, I think, but by like 20 goals.
Starting point is 00:27:11 Like, they do not get scored on, and a ton of that is Bob, right? But, dude, if you look at goals against in the league, number two right now is Bob 2.29. Number one, at 2.02, Anthony Stalars, in the backup role. And let me hit you with this, dude, for his career, bro. Because he's 30. I know. I was like, how old is this kid? He's 30 years old.
Starting point is 00:27:30 Philly, Edmonton, Anaheim for a long time. Never got 28 games in the 2021-22 season with the Ducks. And that year, actually 12, 8, and 3, but the Ducks weren't that good, but 9-1-7, save percentage, 26, three goals against. But other than that, not very impressive numbers, his whole career. He's got a few, like, if you look at his stats, it's sick, but because he played, like, one game or something. You know, this year, 21 games so far.
Starting point is 00:27:53 13 and 5 with a 925, say percentage, tops in the league right now, 202 goals against Tops in the league right now. I'm not saying Florida is going to give Stolars the net in the playoffs, but I am saying this. Last year, the Panthers lost. They were probably going to lose to Vegas anyway, but they lost because they were too hurt for sure, but Bob slowed down in the finals a little bit.
Starting point is 00:28:14 And this year, Bob's in the Nets from game one. If they go up 3-0 against Detroit or whoever, Stolars can get a couple games here to keep Bob, fresh. I don't know if they will. I'm just saying you have a guy and I think the league should move to this. It's like the older goalies, they don't need to, I mean, I guess that they're sweeping everybody. He's getting some time off anyway, but you know what I'm saying? If they have comfortable leads, even if you dump a game to Detroit in Detroit because Stolaris plays, I'm like, yeah, whatever, dude, you're going to win. So I will be interested to see how they handle the goalie situation.
Starting point is 00:28:43 What a luxury to be playing the defense that Florida is playing and to have Stalas playing the way he is backing him up. It's amazing. Stolli's been lights out and we know how valuable that is for a team. I just, we've talked about a lot the tandem situation in the playoffs. And we go back to last year, Boston, Florida, Boston goes up 3-1. That was the, and old Mark was hurt. That was the most obvious. Mind-blood. Put Swamen in, you idiots.
Starting point is 00:29:06 And I think that that will haunt them and that coaching staff for the rest of their fucking lives. But I still don't know where I stand on the tandem thing. Because let's say this. Let's say you're Florida. Let's say you play Detroit or the Islanders in round one. and you go up 3-0. And then you go like this, Stoli, you're in. Loss.
Starting point is 00:29:28 And you go, whatever. Then you put in Bob, win. You move on to the next round. Then say, let's say the next round, you go up 3-0, and you go like this. Stola, you're in. Loss. Then you put Bob in. You win.
Starting point is 00:29:40 It gets to the point where I'm like, what are we doing? Because, and that's a huge if. There's a chance that he just wins. My if is like the if this guy loses every time you put him in, it's destroying him mentally. Yeah. And I wonder if your player start being like this, bro, fucking stop. Like, this is an extra game that we're playing that I don't want to be playing.
Starting point is 00:30:01 So it's just a, it is that quick one. You know, if you put in your backup and you lose, it just opens the door to so much fan moron behavior. Yeah, I agree with that. And we've talked to a lot of guys now, because we're big on the tandem thing. we've talked to a lot of guys in the league when we bring it up there like abs of fucking yeah they want the like i want to know who i'm playing in front of every night i don't want it to switch it's not the regular season and that was interesting to hear yep so you wonder with all
Starting point is 00:30:33 those factors does eventually one team just have the guts to go i don't care i don't care what the media and what the fans are going to say this is our strategy we're going to play both in situational times and we're doing it and if we do see that who is it going to be yeah that's going to be very interesting. Just to wrap on this discussion, I think it's really important to highlight the fact that with having a good backup, it allows you to not play Barovsky around 60 starts for the regular season. Yeah, it's huge. Last year, he played 50 games, had the best season he's had since coming to Florida. Three out of the first four years were pretty much garbage. And, you know, he gets to the playoffs and he becomes, goes on that heater. I think it's so valuable down the stretch here. I mean,
Starting point is 00:31:14 they don't have first locked up. But they want it. But they want. And, And you have this luxury now. And you have this luxury that you can now play Stolars. You know, you could go, you could split the last, I think they have 18 games left. You could split those last 18, I think it's 17 games. Split those 50-50 so that by the time playoffs comes around, Bob is only around 52, 54 starts. He's fresh, ready to go. I think it's a huge luxury to have.
Starting point is 00:31:39 How many games did he start last year? 50. Man, with a lot of these teams, I think we've mentioned it before, the two conferences feel flipped from last year. It feels like the West is more of a bloodbath. I almost think some of these teams should not relinquish first, but care less about first and care more about managing players and goalenders. Another example of Boston, dude, it's like,
Starting point is 00:32:06 I know there were very, very unique and special circumstances with Bergey's dad being in Montreal to see what was then last regular season game. but game 82 of the season, Patrice Bergeron gets an injury, and that destroyed everything. He got hurt in the 80-second game of the season. That's why he missed the first. I think it was two or three games of that series.
Starting point is 00:32:27 And Boston won. We lost the first game. No, no, no. They won game one against Florida. Then we lost game two. We lost a game. Yes, we did. But I think I'm not sure.
Starting point is 00:32:38 Can you look that up? I think they went up. They certainly won game one, and then I think they lost game two, and then one game three. three and four. Yep. But it might have been,
Starting point is 00:32:48 no, I think that's what it was. But either way, you lost a game. And then the bigger thing was he then came in and was just hurt still. So it's just a disaster. But yeah, all very interesting. One game one, lost game two, one, two in a row, then lost three straight. The next three. Well, how many a row did we lose out?
Starting point is 00:33:09 Or root. But yeah, my last point being, I wonder if some of these teams here are going to go, because it's such a tight race. It's a tight race in a lot. It's a tight race in the Atlantic with Boston and Florida. It's not as tight with Carolina and New York, but in the West, it feels like the Pacific and the Central are just so tight
Starting point is 00:33:32 that I'm almost like, you guys should worry about conserving your energy. Just a wrap. Colorado, leading starts is Georgiev with 52. They don't have a good backup. And look at where they're going to be competing for home ice down the stretch here. Like everyone's saying they're a juggernaut, which I agree with. But I think that Achilles heel is going to be the goaltending come round two, round three, four.
Starting point is 00:33:56 Dude, it is unacceptable for goalies to be playing 60 games in today's NHL, in my opinion. And I think that's going to hurt Colorado for sure. Tough on the hips. Tough on the hips, baby. All right, let's talk Colorado because that's what I wanted to get into next. Colorado. Landy could return for the playoffs. Let me hit you with the quote from Bednar. It's in the playoff time frame. He's not going to come back too early. It's just not going to happen. He has a timeline that says, you're not coming back before this date. Doesn't matter how good you feel.
Starting point is 00:34:23 And we're sticking to that. It's his career, so we're not going to play with that regardless of where we're at in a playoff series. So that's number one. He will not come back before that date. And then he's got to get himself to the point, hopefully that he can come back. We don't have clarity on that. So very vague, very like, who knows, maybe it's all smoke and mirrors. And it certainly doesn't sound. like it's round one, but it would be really interesting if Colorado can get through the first round, which is going to be ultra competitive, by the way, and then add Landy. I feel as though it's over. And that's what Kippa told us. That's a I'm hedging my emotions because I love Landy so much.
Starting point is 00:35:00 I love him like a family member. And I don't know why. But sometimes you just have those players, and Landy has always been that way for me. he, what really breaks my heart is he's, he's struggled with injury his whole career, but every time he's healthy, he performs. And these last couple of years, God, did he perform? Dude, yeah, keep going. I have some cool stats. In those playoffs. And I just thought we were seeing the corner turn of him. We see it with a lot of guys. Crosby struggled with some concussion stuff early on in his career. Bergeron struggled with
Starting point is 00:35:36 concussion stuff. and I thought we saw Landy battle through the injury-prone days of his career and we were going to watch him ride out these next six to seven years of him figuring out his body, figuring out his game and just being this gamer that he was these last couple of seasons. And to see that he had what, what was it, two knee surgeries in 13 months or something like that? It might have been less. I think, yeah, so he went through that 2020 playoff run with pretty much bone-on-bone in that one. Yes.
Starting point is 00:36:06 And then got it operated. and then missed that season and then got another one. Got to operate it again, right? Had quad surgery in 2020 and knee surgery twice in March 22 and October 2020. Yeah. Quad surgery on top of that? It was even less, dude. It was like in a matter of seven to eight months he had two knee surgeries.
Starting point is 00:36:24 And it's a cartilage replacement surgery. Oh, yeah. This is the last shot. I think of him resalvaging that year. Hasn't played since June 26th when he had an assist in the 2-1 victory to win the cup. June 26 of 2022. Yes. This was not last year.
Starting point is 00:36:40 He has missed so much time. He hasn't played more than 54 games in an NHL season since 2018. In his last season, he had 30 tucks in 51 games, and he has 67 playoff points in 69 playoff games. I mean, he's a gamer. You want the guy on the ice, dude. So to me, I just think what makes me nervous is we're three months away here from him not having played in the NHL in two years. I think I'm nervous that with that much time we would have known by now. The fact that even still right now there's like Bednar's being like,
Starting point is 00:37:16 yeah, like, you know, we're monitoring it. Like I think after two years and his last surgery was October 2022. Yeah. So like that is. And they said 12 months. Yeah. And that's well over a year since then. I just think we would know by now.
Starting point is 00:37:29 I hear that. But I can't believe they brought it up though. Like I'm surprised there was a headline that was like Landy might be back from playoffs. The fact that that was said makes me think it's even possible. Well, I think they're doing this. He's 31, 32. I think he's going like this. Just give me a shot.
Starting point is 00:37:44 Let me try. And I think he's going to tuker ask himself and try to just jump on the ice until the wheels fall off. And the wheels might fall off immediately. And I think Colorado is going, they have team doctors, they have people assessing him on the ice when he's skating.
Starting point is 00:37:59 And I think they're probably going, dude, it's like you're done. And it's him being like, No, I'm not done. Give me one more shot. I think that's why they're keeping the door open. But I think... Also, ownership is going to want him to at least give it another go. He got the bag right at the perfect time.
Starting point is 00:38:16 Yeah, he did. Right at the perfect time. Good for him. Good for him. Well, deserved. Well deserved. And I'm sure ownership would give him that contract again for everything he's provided for the team, let alone the Stanley Cup.
Starting point is 00:38:28 Do you know how fast I would pull this move? I think I might have talked about this before on the potter. or at least maybe to you in person. If I were the Colorado Avalanche organization and Landy was dealing with this, look at his contract, Blakey, what is he making and for how much longer? So seven mill for another after this season,
Starting point is 00:38:51 one, two, three, four, five years. Okay, so up until 2029, he's making that seven mil. Yeah. If I were the Colorado Avalanche organization and Landy's just done, I would go like this. dude, retire, you can't play. Yep.
Starting point is 00:39:08 And he goes, I retire. And that money comes off the books. And then I would, in the same moment, slide him a new document that is a contract to be on the coaching staff making seven mill a year. That must be illegal. But I don't know. Part of me is like, why is it illegal? They can pay someone any amount of money they want as far as their front office staff, right? Like, that doesn't matter.
Starting point is 00:39:31 And I would just, like, why wouldn't you do that? it's coming out of the same pool. Yep. Honor the guy and go like this, you can't play anymore. It's not like he just stinks now. His body has broken down. And I would look at him and go like this,
Starting point is 00:39:45 you love this team, we love you, you literally can't play. Do you want a cap, do you want hamstring us on the cap for the next? What is it? Five years. Or let's do this deal. Yep.
Starting point is 00:39:59 I do it. Well, I think he can play. But if he couldn't play, I would do it. Yeah, I hope he can play. If you can't do that, hire him as a coach. So you guys don't think we see him this year? I am not getting my hopes up because I love him so much, but I would love it more than anything. I'm not saying like, you're done, dude. I'm saying it's just all the signs are pointing to me being devastated. Yeah, I think it's, I think if they make it through that first round, he's going to get even more energized and more, you know, motivated to come back.
Starting point is 00:40:30 I think we do see him. I just don't know what the quality of. a player we're going to be getting. Is he still going to be that top six power forward that we once saw? I think we don't see him, but only because they lose in the first round. But I think we would have seen him, and he will play next year. Gotcha. Last thing I want to say about the a V's, Nate Dogg is on a heater, dude. 13 points in his last five games.
Starting point is 00:40:55 His home points week is like a billion games in a row or some shit. I felt we had that MVP talk at the midway point, and I was like, I think it could be, I think you picked Nate. I think it could have been Nate anyway, but I didn't think he would catch Kooch points-wise. And Kooch could go on a heater and catch him right back. But just the, I swear to God,
Starting point is 00:41:13 I did a post that was like, Kooch, first to 100. And here comes McDavid. You know, like it's going to be McDavid and Kucharoff down the stretch here. And I blinked and Nate Dock has the most points in the link. And I was like, yo.
Starting point is 00:41:22 I mean, I said it months and months ago with Chelly. When Nate Dogg's playing like this, I think he's the best player on Earth. And I still hear, I resisted it for a, long time, but I do hear the arguments for McDavid. I don't want McDavid to win the heart because I want it, I want different stuff. Yep. But he's going to be, it's like single hand full of points behind
Starting point is 00:41:47 them. I know. Yeah. And just like given where they were to where they are now, it's, it's hard not to say he's obviously the most valuable player. Yeah. But Nate Dogg, I think, Colorado's dealt with a lot too. Like Landy's out. Yep. The Shushkin's been out a ton. I think, I mean, Nate is not hard for me, I said it a while ago. And I stand by, he is the best player in the league right now. Yeah, so it's a 12-game point streak, 25 points in the last 12 games. It's absurd. Is that good?
Starting point is 00:42:16 Yeah, is that all right? Pretty sure. That's okay. Let's get into some Vegas talk. Yeah. I want to say this. I want to give you a runway here, but I want to say first, because we're talking long-term IR, because that's all the chatter after that trade deadline, extravaganza.
Starting point is 00:42:31 I want to say first and foremost. Markstone is badly hurt and might not come back at all. His spleen is lacerated. It's impossible to tell because it's an internal organ that you can only monitor via CT scans. You're not like with your physical therapist being like, how's my ankle feel? He's badly hurt. And again, I'm going to give you most of the talking points here. But I just want people that are bitching to know that.
Starting point is 00:42:55 Because I feel like a lot of people are like, dude, they're just stashing him. He's fine. And I'm like, well, he's not fine at all. And he might be so hurt that it costs them everything this year. Yeah, and there's a lot of people going, oh, well, it's three years in a row. Mark Stone's been hurt at the end of the year. Coincidence. And to that, I say, Mark Stone is a really intense power forward who puts his body on the line every day.
Starting point is 00:43:15 He's not that young. And, yeah, I don't think it's coincidence that at the end of an 82 game season, he has knocks. Like, what I'm talking about. Okay, so, yeah, he's a very, you know, tough player, does a lot on the ice that puts his body at harm. yes he gets injured three years in a row but it's the timing okay we got we got a we got a truth are in here yeah like i think he's always hurt that's my thing is he's like the guy is just always going to be banged up he could go on i r at any moment exactly yeah he could go on i r at any moment like why they they think they conveniently they knew he probably had a spleen issue and they're like okay around
Starting point is 00:43:52 this time we're going to announce the injury then here you're going to get your surgery and i mean it's playing to the rules still okay Yeah, this is what I want to go off on. And it's bending them in the ways that can benefit you to the max ability. But I do think it is weird with the timing year after year that this guy is going in for surgery. Now, don't get me wrong, I agree. He is very hurt, but it's the timing. Yep.
Starting point is 00:44:22 Well, the timing makes perfect sense because it's smart. Yeah, why wouldn't you? Every platform we have, I won't take too long on this. But dude, if you have a problem with this, take it up with the league. Shut up. Every single fan, I don't care who you root for. If you are pissing and moaning on a social media platform, you've got a big dump in your pants. Because all Vegas is doing is seeing a loophole and taking advantage of it like other teams won't.
Starting point is 00:44:50 And that's why Vegas is competitive every single year. And I am just sick and tired of hearing people calling them cheaters. It's honestly like the Patriot stuff, dude. It's like they're smarter than you. They have read the rule book more thoroughly than your team has. They have the guts to go, we're going to trade everything we have as if there's no next season because we want a cup. And that's how they stay competitive. And that's why they're in the mix every season.
Starting point is 00:45:16 And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that based on how the rules are now. If you want the rules to change, fine. I have no problem with that. But stop blaming Vegas. they are just being smart and aggressive, and that is entertaining. So, enough. And, dude, I'm sick of this shit. You say this all the time.
Starting point is 00:45:36 They're like, the lightning stashed Kutcher off all year, and then they just get to add him over the cap, and of course they win the cup. And I go, the lightning made the playoffs without their best player. Yes. Thank you very much. Vegas right now is a fucking wild card team. Yes.
Starting point is 00:45:51 If they hang on without Mark Stone and make the playoffs, then good on them. And then sweet, because the rules are they get to add them. People act like they can stash all these guys and you automatically get a playoff bid. No, the other guys have to pick it up and earn a spot in the dance, dude. So that is a huge factor that everyone ignores, which is complete bullshit. I agree. And then-
Starting point is 00:46:11 I think it's super annoying. It's like, sorry to interrupt. Yeah, you know. But I just, I find it so annoying when people, you know, say they're cheating and they're sitting their players out. This team is, like, needs to make the playoffs. Do you think they don't want Mark Stone and Thomas Hurtle in the lineup? Of course they do.
Starting point is 00:46:27 Shut up. If you're good enough to get into the playoffs with missing players and then you get to add them during playoffs and win, that is smart, effective and impressive hockey, sir. And say what you think should happen with like you need to be cap ready at the playoffs. Like if you're on long term I are day one of the playoffs, you're out for the whole playoffs no matter what. I don't know how I feel about that. My thing is there's people who suggest the rule that if you are not on the roster, at 82. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:46:57 Then you need to miss the first round or something like that. While I see that as an adequate rule to combat people doing this, it is brutally harsh in the very real circumstances. You know what I mean? Yeah, yeah. There's a player who's like, dude, I battled for fucking 57 games and I broke my ankle. And now the timeline of my return looks like it's going to be, you know, a day before. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:47:24 I think that is okay. It's like, no, dude, it's bullshit to penalize a team for that. And what people would say is like, well, if it looks like you're going to be ready a day before, activate them at 82. And it's like, well, no, because maybe that 80-second game is incredibly important for my team. Maybe I need that game to win the playoffs. I'm not going to activate a guy who can't suit up because I'm worried about the penalty. That's why it hasn't been enacted yet.
Starting point is 00:47:46 Yeah. Because there are many, if not all, many, circumstances where these guys are on LTIR and they need the rest of them. for the season and into the postseason. So I don't think you can do that. I think it would actually over a lot. And I want to be clear, fuck over a lot of teams, yes, but more so a lot of players.
Starting point is 00:48:07 And I think that's dog shit. These guys put their bodies on the line. And if there's someone who has a serious injury and they're set to come back, game two of the playoffs, but we're going to go, uh, not you,
Starting point is 00:48:18 we're worried about a technicality because people are pissing and moaning about it. You have to miss the entire first round. What if that's someone's last playoff? Yeah. What if that happened to Bergeron? What if Bergeron got dummied and couldn't play in the playoffs of his last season in the NHL? Do you feel good about that rule now?
Starting point is 00:48:31 I don't think so. Let me ask you this then. For the people that are going, that you're saying take it up with the league and they go, okay, I will. What is the solve? Is it, dude, this is the rule and every team should be just stashing a dude and whatever, which I think is kind of gnarly, where it's like, okay, once we hit trade deadline, just start stashing guys and then trade wherever you want,
Starting point is 00:48:51 and then we'll all the cap come the playoffs. Or is it like, okay, the playoff cap goes up a little bit and then you have to reset to the start of next year. You can do that. Or is it like you can stash a dude, trade for whoever you want. But once a playoff start, whenever this guy's activated. And I don't care when, someone has to be deactivated. Like you have to be under a number, dude. Like we all, because right now there is no level anything.
Starting point is 00:49:18 Because like Vegas could spend a billion more and Tampa could spend this. You're like, what is the answer? I have zero problem with what's going on. I think it's fucking awesome. And I'll give you my, like, clean reason why everyone can do it. And it's not like there are players like Tamash Hurtle sitting on a scrap heap that they're signing for nothing. You have to trade stuff. People are acting like Vegas is getting these guys for free.
Starting point is 00:49:44 They're trading tons of assets and assets and players to make this work. They're getting crafty. They're taking risks. Like, dude, you've all heard of risk reward. They are taking the risk to get a reward. And credit to them for being willing to do that. Every team can do that. So I don't get why we need to change it because it's one of these things where I'm like, dude, who gives a shit?
Starting point is 00:50:12 If a team's willing to trade the next five years of their first round picks to load up and stash players and still be good enough to make it into the playoffs and then activate their roster in. playoffs, good on them. They were willing to give it a shot, just like every team has the opportunity to do. The one thing I will say is, for me, a very simple thing is just put an LTIR cap. I think you go like this. Tell me right now what Vegas's cap is when everyone is healthy. Projected cap hit. So this is going off cap-friendly right now.
Starting point is 00:50:50 92 million is what it says. But I believe that is incorrect because I believe, well, so their cap on long-term IR is 15.9 million. And then you throw in their full cap usage of 82. Yeah. The cap is right now? It's not 87? No, it goes to 87 next. That's right. That's right.
Starting point is 00:51:14 I think it's right now. It's 82.5. Let's call it 82. Yeah. So the cap's 82. And it's saying that they're 92. They're at 92 with 15 more. on a long-term IR. 15.9 million on on IR on long-term IR on IR they have 13.9 million.
Starting point is 00:51:31 So my- I think that cap counts towards the cap. Yes. And that's in like the 92 number, right? Yeah. Yeah. So my thing is make another cap of LTIR cap is 118. Yeah. Or something like yeah. So it's like, listen, if you can maneuver, if you're willing to trade big pieces and get guys on your roster while people are bare. in LTIR and then come playoff times they're here, that's fine. If you're willing to do that, you're willing to trade that stuff, and you can still make it into the playoffs, missing some of your best players, good for you, but there is a
Starting point is 00:52:02 secondary LTIR cap and playoffs of like 1-18. Because then you can't go like this. We're going to just get everybody. That is my solve, and I think it's totally fine. Would you be bummed if and take a team like Boston, Toronto's right up against the cap too, right? Take a team like
Starting point is 00:52:18 Boston this year, Toronto this year, where you're like, Like, maybe they're not even good enough, but they're like, oh, we're not quite cup contender. Oh, we're not quite a cup contender. If they went, yo, Marci, just, we can't afford. Like, we need another piece, but we can't afford it because we're up against the cap to year. Can you just sit up the last 20 games so we can trade and acquire Gensel? And then you just come back for playoffs because you're a vet.
Starting point is 00:52:44 You don't need these last 20 games. And he would go, yeah, dude. Would you be bummed if the league gets to that point where pretty much every team does this, every deadline? I'm not saying we can't, we get against over free, we trade ship. But it's like every year at the trade deadline, a huge money player just sits out for the last 20 games because we're trying to get better. Me personally, no. And I get it's not in the spirit. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:53:07 But it's chess, dude. How do you not respect that? Oh, I respect it now. I'm just saying I want it. I don't want to ever get there. Yeah. Like we are right now to do your Patriots thing. We are right now in like the illegal linemen thing.
Starting point is 00:53:20 Yeah, yeah. And the league was like, great chess move. Let's not do that anything. Yeah, yeah. I want the league to go, good chess move, we should stop doing this. I think rules are meant to be bent so you can find the best edge to win, dude. Like, it's just, it's competitive. Like, you're being competitive if you do that.
Starting point is 00:53:33 I think it's chess, it's tactical, it's fucking sick. Agree. And every team is not going to have guys like that. Because there's guys with incentives, with game incentives. There's guys who care about their stats. Not in a selfish way. No, but I hear you. Dude, I mean, I think that there's a very reasonable thing.
Starting point is 00:53:49 If a guy's fully healthy and the team comes up to him and goes, hey, set out the next 20, they're like, no, dude, like, I'm playing great. I don't set out 20 games and then come into playoffs and be like, oh, I haven't played in a month and a half. So I think that's a factor too. But if you've got guys who are confident in themselves, because that's a risk too. Yeah, hell yeah. I love it, dude.
Starting point is 00:54:07 I think it's, and- Leave it. People might jump on me and say, like, this isn't in the spirit of the game. You're not a true hockey fan. And fuck you, if you think that. Because I don't think that's the case at all. I think it's fucking sick. It's chess.
Starting point is 00:54:18 I'll tell you what, if Vegas wins the cup this year, there'll be some buyers. There'll be some changes. All right, squad, we're taking a quick break to talk about Factor. I don't know about the rest of you, but I love food. I hope and imagine you do too. And here's the thing. I also love cooking. But the reality is sometimes I'm way too busy.
Starting point is 00:54:37 I've got too much going on. And when I get home, I just want to be able to eat something delicious right away without the fuss of cooking, getting in the kitchen, making a huge mess, having to go to the store, buy a bunch of things. and that's where Factor comes in and saves the day. Factor is hooking us up with unbelievable dietitian-approved, pre-made, chef-crafted, delicious meals. They take two minutes to cook, and they've got you covered everywhere. They're calorie smart, their protein plus, their keto.
Starting point is 00:55:03 They've got a huge variety of over 35 different meals, and everything tastes like it's restaurant quality. It's the best thing in the world, and the best part is you can make it however you want it. You can get as many or as little as you want based on how often. you think you're going to use it. And it's just the easiest thing in the world. You pop these things in the microwave, in the oven, whatever you've got to do. Two minutes in and out, bang, you're eating. No cleanup, no mess, no nothing. And the best part is every single one of these meals is absolutely delicious. Factor is getting you ready to rock whenever you need a meal
Starting point is 00:55:38 that tastes delicious and doesn't take too much time. Check it out. Make it your own. Enjoy. Perfect segue into hot ice this week. Trade deadline is over. Dan and I have our report cards out. We are going to be grading teams that I think are worth talking about. So let's get right into it. Letter grades.
Starting point is 00:56:00 You don't want to do every team. You just want to do some teams. I'm going to do some teams and I've identified the ones I think are worth talking about. I love that. I'll follow your lead. Okay. The first team, and we're just going to go by division.
Starting point is 00:56:10 I'm not, no bias. Yeah. First team, the Florida Panthers. Letter grade, Dan. Flat A. Flat A for me. two needed very little. We just talked about the goalie in the defense situation. I almost want to change it to A. I'm going to say A plus. I'm changing mine. Now that I think about it, I don't know
Starting point is 00:56:28 that there's anything else I would have done. Me neither. And not only did they get, like, the one thing you might be needed was like a little bit more scoring spark. And they got it. And they didn't even get it. They didn't go to a guy. Did I pitch Riley Smith? No, I pitched Riley Smith to Vegas maybe. I think. Or no, I couldn't have. I pitched them to the Canucks, I think. But they didn't even get a guy like Riley who has done it in the playoffs, but is like not a elite elite score. They went and got a guy who can be a game breaker, straight up. You got a guy who can change a fucking playoff game and didn't spend a ton on him.
Starting point is 00:57:01 And he's going to be happy there because he, did he list that as a team you wanted to go to or he waived something? Yeah, he has family there. He's family there. That's what it was. I knew there was some connection. God, it's going to be difficult for them. I think you might be signed.
Starting point is 00:57:13 That's what I'm saying, like three points in his first game. And I know Lindholm did that too. and then kind of really cooled off. So we'll see. But to me, dude, like, if you were like, God, look at who's available. Florida's not going to break the bank, but look who's available. Who would you get? I'm like, Vlad.
Starting point is 00:57:26 And they're like, ka-ching. I was like, oh, dude. Three key things for me here with Florida. One, they did the old addition by addition move. And I'm going to explain that right now. I said last week, if they can, improve their top six and bump cousins down. They will have the best top six in the NHV. They did it. Boy, howdy, did they do it. They did it. They went and got bad Vlad, looks
Starting point is 00:57:51 unbelievable in that number 10 sweater. And what I mean by addition by addition is people looked at this team and they went, they could improve on the top six and they could improve on the bottom six honestly. Yeah. And what they did is they add Vlad to the top six. And now you have a guy like Nick Cousins playing on your fourth line. Yep. I mean, dude. Where he was born to play, dude. Yeah. Look at the stats. Nick Cousins doesn't have great stats right now. I think he's got under, maybe under 20 points on the season, but that's exactly what you want on a fourth line and the shitster that he is. Yep.
Starting point is 00:58:21 That is a perfect fourth line guy. He's quick. He's fast. He's good with his hands. He's good in corners. That's exactly the energy line type guy that you want. Yeah. 10 points in 53 games, just under 100 hits in 53 games.
Starting point is 00:58:35 You know, that's a good fourth line guy. So I think that's an addition on that line. And then the bigger one for me, this obviously wasn't a deadline acquisition, but it was a deadline move. extending Foresling 8 years at the cap hit that they did. Are you kidding me, man? That is such a good contract. And that guy, I think Foresling is a true stunt.
Starting point is 00:58:55 He is a true stud and he's even more underrated. We talk about Devon Taves on Colorado and how understated his game is because what he does is plays a perfectly balanced game that allows Kale to be what Kale is. I'm not saying Kale couldn't exist without Taves, but they are added. to each other. Forzling is another one of these under the radar guys that I'm just like, man, oh man, is he just phenomenal? He's playing up there with Eckblad. Eckblad has been so healthy.
Starting point is 00:59:26 Oh, I don't even want to say it. Don't speak it. Don't say it. I'm going to say it very softly. No, he got injured. That's why I'm doing this. He's been so healthy. And he just got a knock, but it doesn't look too severe. And I'm just praying it's a like, oh, a little knock. You're out two weeks and comes back because this poor man has been so injured for so many years now.
Starting point is 00:59:48 And I just need this to be a very typical little knock he's going to play 65 games on the season and he's going to be fine come playoffs. But I think A plus because goalie situation is perfect. Their forward lines, perfect, unbelievable. Boston Bruins, letter grade.
Starting point is 01:00:08 You go first this time. F, flat F for me from Boston. I'll tell you why. One, I would have, we've said this many times, there's just no need to keep, I guess I don't want to blast anybody, but there's just no need to keep some of these expiring contracts around when they could have potentially brought back assets.
Starting point is 01:00:32 Maybe they tried, and it didn't work. I'll touch on that in a second, but there's just a lot of guys in this team that I'm like, in my opinion, this Boston team isn't really going anywhere this season for the playoffs, begin the exodus while we can. Because the guys had pretty good years. Get something back from them.
Starting point is 01:00:47 Two, truly, truly, despite all the history, no offense to Pat Maroon, but I just, I don't need more of that player on this team right now. And third and final thing, the O-Mark trade was on the table, in my opinion. Now, I know that they tried and had at least a King's one, if not a devil's one as well that he said no to. Miss me with the they tried.
Starting point is 01:01:14 Don Sweney tried to trade those three draft picks in 2015 and didn't. That doesn't mean that draft wasn't a disaster. It was. This trade deadline, in my opinion, Boston had a lot of chances to move people out, get real stuff back to build towards a very promising next year and did none of it. I'm sure they tried. They didn't succeed. F.
Starting point is 01:01:35 B plus. Ridiculous. B plus? Ridiculous. And I mean this very passionately. I've been saying for the entire season, the Bruins need to do nothing. And they more or less did nothing. Yeah, correct.
Starting point is 01:01:52 And I'll tell you what, man, hats off to Sweeney for exploring the O-Mart trade. I said, I think one of the goalies should move, and O'Mark made a ton of sense. But you now go into the playoffs with the best goalie tandem in the NHL. I don't think it's even debatable. It's the best gulley tannum in the NHH. But, you know, your consolation prize of not trading away, Omar is you have Omar. And that trades very much still on the table.
Starting point is 01:02:22 Yeah, it'll happen. There was nothing on the table for Boston, man. And I know what you're saying, it's guys like JVR, it's guys like DeBrusk, it's guys like Chatt & Kirk, but if you trade those guys, you are, and we've said how far we think this team can go. you still need to fill those spots for the rest of the season and the playoffs. And if you just traded those guys away for like, you know, JBR, I think could have maybe fetched you a, maybe a second round pick.
Starting point is 01:02:51 I think Jake could maybe get you a second round pick. And those would be helpful. But a lot of people don't understand. The Boston Bruins don't have a pick in this coming draft until round four. That's why I wanted those guys out for assets. But Chris, you're assuming they're going to get you those. Dude, if JVR got you a second round pick, that's a freaking a miracle. Yeah, he wouldn't.
Starting point is 01:03:11 So it's probably a third. Jake is probably a third. And are you sitting there going like this? Yeah, we traded our second and third line wingers that we now need to replace with who. Because you're probably not getting a third round pick for JVR plus a guy that can play on your third line. So now you're bringing up HL guys and you're the second place team in the Atlantic. That is a bad look. It's bold, but that's what I wanted.
Starting point is 01:03:34 No, it's more than bold, dude. It's stupid. And the bigger thing is you're now going, oh, sick, now we have two third round picks. What the fuck does that do for you? I was hoping for Jake to be honest. Yeah, and I hear it. I was really hoping. And that would be great.
Starting point is 01:03:47 But they don't have a pick until the fourth round. They also don't have a seventh round pick. And then the next year, they don't have a second or a fourth. So any big trade that Boston fans were hoping for, and I know you didn't want this, was going to cost stuff that you don't have. So I like that what they did was they get Maroon, who is their Loochitz replacement. It's a nothing. It's a watch for me. Maroon, awesome dude, multiple cup winner, energy guy, great, whatever. I love the peak trade. Oh, me too. I forgot about that, actually. I think it's another, nice. F plus.
Starting point is 01:04:21 I think it's another example of Don Sweeney getting away with murder with the 2015 draft because now of your three 13, 14, 15 overall picks from the 2015 draft, you have one of them left and you've got. Who's going to walk for free? now. Nothing in return. Yeah. And now Jake, you lose for free. He's for free. But you've traded Zaborl and you've traded, I believe it was a third round pick in 2026 for Andrew Pek, who I actually think is the exact type of third-paring defensemen that I wanted this team to get, and they got a young one. He turns 26 later this month, I believe. I think he's got something like eight points this year. Everyone looks at that, and they're like, what the fuck is that? But this guy is a defensive d-man. He's 6-3-2-10. He's under contract on a very good cap hit at 2.7.
Starting point is 01:05:06 2.75 or something like that for the next two years. I think he has been buried in Columbus because they have a ton of defensemen and a ton of young defensemen. And with them being so bad, they're taking the opportunity to play all the young defensemen and he's been forced out
Starting point is 01:05:20 and has been health bond a lot. So I think the future is bright for Peak and they clearly like him because that's an investment. You don't trade a third in Zaborl for that guy with that much term unless you're going, we are relying on you to be a player.
Starting point is 01:05:34 So I really like that. unexpected, low-cost trade for them. And the bigger thing is, they didn't do anything, dude. They weren't stupid. And I just love that move. So does Shatt and Kirk come out of the lineup for you to put in peek? I would. Actually, dude, personally, and this is harsh, I would dump Grizzlick. I think Grizzlick has just been so, he was health bombed last year in the playoffs. I think Mason Lurai belongs straight on that first line on the left side of Charlie McAvoy.
Starting point is 01:06:00 He's a left-shot defenseman. He's exactly what McAvoy did with Chara, when Chara, when Maca-Wan, when McA Boy came up. He was a rookie. You put him on the top line with your top line vet. That is your top D-line vet in McAvoy. Let Lori go up and play with him, learn from him, have the freedom to use his offensive skill set because you know you got a guy like McAvoy next to you. And then I would put Peek with Chattonkirk and I would scratch Grys. I think that's a really, really smart move. Next up, you're going first. The Maple Leafs. D.
Starting point is 01:06:34 I also have a D. Really? Another depth D guy that's going to solve all the problems in Toronto. Ridiculous decision making. You've driven that car already, too. Like, I just can't believe that was the move. Yeah. You know what?
Starting point is 01:06:53 Sorry, were you finished? I kind of think Montreal and Tree Living for the first time in many years. years went like this we know what's happening here Toronto so sorry yeah what I say Montreal yeah my bad I think Toronto went like this we know what's happened me too dude like because they're similar to Boston they don't have a ton to work with like yep they've they've moved a lot of draft picks they are cap crunched to hell yep I I really think that there is part of them that was like we don't have a lot to work with uh Labushkin come on over you get an A for me if you trade Marner for Soros Soros and win the cup and you get a D for me I think
Starting point is 01:07:28 don't do that. I've been banging that drum this whole time, and I hope they do it this summer. I think Marner would flourish in Nashville. I think he would love Nashville, and I think they need a goalie, and they can't have these fucking guys making all that money. Yep. I was so underwhelmed with the deadline. It's a bummer, dude. I mean, what pissed me off the most was that Tampa got Matt Dunba for a fifth round pick, Yep. And we're trading for Joel Edmondson for a third and a fifth round pick.
Starting point is 01:08:00 And then Lubushkin, I think, was also a third and like a sixth. Yep. It's just to me, like, those guys aren't moving the needle. Like, I don't see those guys really making the impact that you need to win a playoff series, let alone win a, like, win the cup. Agree. This roster and team is so underwhelming. And the only way I see the Leafs making any noise in the playoffs is if they,
Starting point is 01:08:25 they get a hot goalie like waller samsonov just goes on a heater and then their star players actually play like elite star players but like really yeah like really really carry you like it's just not looking good and we're probably going to play the fucking gruans and lose we're going to get embarrassed again and i eat your fucking lunch again and i'm just going to hate hockey all offseason and yeah Tampa bay lightning i'm really torn on this one i'm going i can go first. Okay. I'm giving them a B. Okay. I was between B minus and C plus. Yeah. And I'll tell you, I wanted to go C plus because I really like the Duclair pickup, actually. I think that's a great, that's a classic cup winning Tampa guy that they add where you're like, oh yeah. And then he just
Starting point is 01:09:13 like does great playoff ad. But I know they really wanted help on the D with Sergi Hurt, and they wanted Hannafin, and it seemed like they were getting Havanaugh. So I'm like, you didn't get that shit, so I'm giving you a C plus. And I actually don't. love Dumba's game as much, not even as much Hamison, just like as much as like a playoff game breaker, but the value they got him for, I'm like, ah, okay, I'll bump you back up to B minus. So that's where I'm at. Yeah, I go B because I'll say, I think I'm being a very, I'm giving a lot of points for being realistic. Yeah, okay. And I love the Duclair ad. I think, like you said, what a perfect type of guy to just go in in that organization, play under Cooper.
Starting point is 01:09:51 I love the Dumba ad because zero pressure on Dumba. You get to play with some really elite players over there. I think it is just a beautiful match, but the bigger thing for me is, dude, Tampa's done. They're not winning anything this year. They're not winning anything this year.
Starting point is 01:10:11 I have more confidence in Tampa than, like, Tampa could beat New York in the first round. Yeah, yeah. Yeah, I think they can win a first round matchup, but they're not winning a cup. and if Hanathan was going to re-sign, and it looks like he's going to resign in Vegas, you might hear that by the end of the week. But if Hanifan was going to resign, okay, awesome, like that's a good guy to get,
Starting point is 01:10:32 but it was going to cost you a first. And I don't see it with Tampa. I think that we are staring down the barrel of a very real possibility that Steve Samcoast is leaving for free this summer, which is insane to me. And yes, they have point, yes, they have Cooch. Cooch is arguably the best player in the league. but after that, I think they're a bit thin. I think they've played a bit thin all year.
Starting point is 01:10:53 I don't think losing a first-round pick for a guy like Hanifin was going to win you a cup or even maybe get you to the Eastern Conference finals. So I think they're realistic and I like that. Detroit Red Wings. A C-minus for me. D for me. Again, being realistic,
Starting point is 01:11:14 I think that Detroit getting into the playoffs is a huge win. That is their victory. They are so much better than everyone expected except me. And Kane was their ad. They went and got Kane. And that was a big ad. Oh, yeah. This five-game losing streak is just a disaster.
Starting point is 01:11:34 It's a free fall. And good God, they need to pull up. Because what's unfortunate now, dude, is with the way they were playing and with Ad and Kane, they like almost have to make playoffs now. Yeah, oh, buddy. 100%. But I'm glad that Stevie Y didn't panic.
Starting point is 01:11:48 Me too. ...of this losing streak and being like, oh, my God. Because Larkin will be back in a few games, I think. They need to get, in my opinion, in the next three, they need to get at least two while Larkin's out. I mean, he might be out for four games. But I don't... They're another one that...
Starting point is 01:12:06 It's like what Bobby was talking about with Nashville. Why trade a first-round pick to get a guy who's going to maybe win you one round? It's just stupid. Yep. So yes, for me, them getting in was the win. I would have liked to see them. I like the way Lions playing. I don't need them to make a goalie move yet.
Starting point is 01:12:25 Okay. I love them to make a goalie move this summer. That's what I wanted. But I would have loved like a toff. I would love Toff on Detroit. I would have loved Zucker on Detroit. Like beef up some of your wing situation there. I would have liked that a lot.
Starting point is 01:12:39 So that's why they get. What did I give them? You gave them a C, I think. I'm giving them D for the same reason. I wanted goalie and I wanted, I wanted just like, I agree. I didn't want them to overspend on nothing, but I wanted a mid-guy that they have term on where you're like, oh, wow, great pickup. Like, that's going to really matter next year.
Starting point is 01:12:54 You know, like looking at that decor right there, Blakey, like a Matt Dunbo would have looked great there. Yep. You know, it's, it's, yeah. New York Rangers, I'm first. Yeah. Go. D. I disagree.
Starting point is 01:13:05 They are a piece away. They didn't get it. We're getting a lot of chirps that maybe they were allowed to trade a first. We'll never know. but they sure didn't. We said before, I don't love Wenberg's game. And I just,
Starting point is 01:13:25 like, they're a really good team right now and they felt a piece away. How many times being Beast fans did we not make that move? We're like, come on. Yeah. Like this is maybe a cup year.
Starting point is 01:13:35 Everyone's loading up. We can do something. And they didn't. So, D. I'm going to give the Rangers a C plus because I like the moves. I know I know I said
Starting point is 01:13:43 I don't like Wenberg for the Rangers, but I like, I like his game, and he had a great first game. Yeah. And I think the Rangers needed help on the bottom six. I know Ross is playing on the top six, but that allows people to pop down to the addition-by-addition thing. I think Roslovich and Wenberg are going to be good for them. The reason they only get a C-plus for me is because this is it, guys.
Starting point is 01:14:10 Yeah, right. They're not done after this year, but they are very much in their window. and in my opinion, the backside of said window. So they needed to go for it. For me, I don't care what the prices were. You saw all of these other teams that they're going up against going for it. Gensel getting added by the Keynes, Teresancroenko going to Florida, and then not to mention everything going on in the West,
Starting point is 01:14:33 I think you needed to respond. And I don't think they responded. Yeah, let me rephrase. I don't dislike Wenberg's game. I dislike Wenberg's game added to this Rangers team in terms of what they needed. Like I was like, yo, that wasn't the solve here. Wanted them to go for it, wanted much bigger. One thing was interesting.
Starting point is 01:14:49 So Vegas makes all these moves. You know what the one piece they kept on to? Held on to? Held on to. It was the 2024 first round pick. Oh, dude. Every other future first round pick and second is gone. And I look at the Rangers, they have all the first round picks for 24, 25, 26.
Starting point is 01:15:07 Why don't we trade one of those? I know, man. Like, I get the theory of wanting to make a pick at the sphere. Trade the next year. Trade the next year. And dude, also, man, what really always drives me nuts, there are names that come up that we hear about, right? Guys who are on the blog, Gensel, and they made a play for Gensel. Dude, I don't know, by the way, I don't know if that was Pittsburgh going, no, we're not letting the Rangers get better with Gensel.
Starting point is 01:15:37 Or if the Rangers, or excuse me, Pittsburgh went like this, Cople Cuff fucking stinks. Yeah. They're not doing that trade. But one of those two things happened. Because it seemed like their package was better. Yeah. If it was, in fact, a first Kako and Othman, I think it was. Were they dangling off?
Starting point is 01:15:55 That's what I've heard. I've heard that that was their package for Gensel. And Pittsburgh said no. They took three prospects from Carolina and Bunting. And not the best prospects Carolina has. And not even securing a first round. In a second. The first round pick only becomes the first if they make.
Starting point is 01:16:12 to the flying. So it's basically a second round pick. I thought that move by Duvus was terrible. Awful. So, yeah, my last thing on this one is, I can't stand when teams get obsessed with the players on the market and don't get crafty. Like, Vegas did go, hey, sharks, we'll take hurdle.
Starting point is 01:16:28 Like, go find someone. Oh, and Patch Ready, dude. I was like, I had nothing to say. I thought that was going to come through, and then I give them a fucking A-minus. Yeah. You know, like... It sounds like Patches, though, was his choice. So I don't put in New York for that. But, you know, yeah. I don't care.
Starting point is 01:16:42 I grade success, not your fucking effort. Go retain 17% of Johnny Goddrow's salary for the next five years, just like Sharks did, and put Johnny Goddrow on your first right-wing line. Look at that. Boom. Carolina Hurricanes. You're up. A.
Starting point is 01:16:55 A. A. A. Flat A. Yeah. I put A minus. I just had a stroke. I was considering A plus. Gensel, cancel, cancel. I mean, they did it.
Starting point is 01:17:04 They went and got canceled. For nothing. For nothing. Yeah. For nothing. Yeah. Koozy. fucking Jesus Christ. Yeah. Oh my God.
Starting point is 01:17:10 Yeah. A plus. A plus. And I'll tell you this, dude, if they don't make it to the Eastern Conference finals, Rod Bindamore, you're fired. Yep, that's probably true. And I'm not calling my shot. I'm saying if I were their ownership, I would straight up do that, dude.
Starting point is 01:17:25 Because you are the best team in the Met now. Yep. And if you can't get over this hump that you've been stuck on for years with this, you're fired. Another ad that they got without making a trade was Freddie Anderson coming back? Dude, okay.
Starting point is 01:17:39 Big one. That was huge. So I went A minus because I was like the only thing that would have pushed me to A plus is one of the goalie moves. But you're right. And like the reason I'm still concerned is because I don't know that Freddie can do it for them either. And like I would have loved. Like if they did what they did and a goalie, I'm like, A, you winning the cup and B,
Starting point is 01:17:57 you're getting an A plus for me. Yeah. But I do think they're okay right with Freddie. Flyers. The fact they got a first round pick for Sean Walker That's insane And I don't hate it all Like I don't even think they're going to make it
Starting point is 01:18:15 So I'm like dude I know it's crazy Like it's bold You're in the playoffs and you're just selling off assets But I'm like dude You're cooked Yeah B for me You got a first round for Walker And you also
Starting point is 01:18:25 Drysdale was an app Yeah yeah good call They got Dice Yeah hey B plus I like that move Devils F minus dude One of the worst deadlines I've ever seen.
Starting point is 01:18:37 I'm telling you, dude, Fitz has, like, lost his mind. And he, as such as a savvy guy normally, too. It's crazy. Like, you didn't make a move, you, you've fumbled the bag on multiple goalie trades, it sounds like. It's like, how they let that. Markstrom has said, he was like, yeah, I was, I was mentally out. Yep. And you let that fall apart.
Starting point is 01:19:00 And then you fucking humiliate your heart. self with the offer you gave to Tyler Foley, who is your leading goal score and such an important veteran piece of that team. Mind point where if Toff, they made some statement, they're like, the door is open to revisit Con. If I were Tyler Toffoli, I would look at Fitz and go, bang. Suck my sack, dude. Are you kidding me?
Starting point is 01:19:20 Like, you want to re-talk when they low-balled him on both years and A-A-A-V. Get f***ed to them. And you then don't get a first round for him. Yeah. You don't get a first-round pick for Tyler Toffley. ass hat. So I hate it. I think it's just a complete shit show. Horrific. Your goal tending goes from Vanichek, Schmid, and Dawes to Kacken and Allen. Yeah. And people are acting like that was good. I had Devils fans in the DMs being like this, dude, I love the goalie moves. And I was like,
Starting point is 01:19:51 I bet you do. Yeah. You idiots. Like, what are you talking about? Yeah. F minus. Pittsburgh Penguins. Um, I give them a D plus. Mm, okay. Go on. You made the right move in moving Gensel. You had to move Gensel. I think the return is awful. Yep. And, dude, again, I'm sorry. I want to stop talking about this.
Starting point is 01:20:18 It's over. Trade more. Yep. How do you not have a conversation with Genni Malkin and say, do you want to go somewhere? I go to Florida. And maybe they did. But do we great success. I don't grade what you tried.
Starting point is 01:20:29 That's why I get the Bruins in it. I don't care that you tried. D plus. But I'm like, dude, how do you not take advantage of that and trade of Gennie Malkin for retain half his salary? Yep. Trade him for a first round pick. That like fucking good lord.
Starting point is 01:20:45 Trade everybody. C plus for me would have traded more. You saw, I don't know, I'm not saying it's because of this, but like Gensel goes out the door. They get buried by the cap, six nothing. Like the team knows that we're kind of in blow it up mode. They had to trade Gensel. I'm glad they did. I don't like the return.
Starting point is 01:20:58 That's why it's a C plus. Similar to what you just said about Tof, no rule that Gensel doesn't come back. You know, like if they're like, hey, if they end up swinging Gensel for those prospects and bunting and a second, let's call it. And then Gensel resigns. I'm like, that was actually a fucking, this goes up to a A minus. I'm like, what a play. Would have liked to see more. Would have liked to see and sit on the abs.
Starting point is 01:21:18 Thank you for playing. Dallas Stars. You have a B. So do I. B. Tanev. Love the ad. Great return.
Starting point is 01:21:25 Perfectly out of the value. Perfectly average return. I don't think they need much more. They didn't need much. Yep. Does Stan Coven call up? Yes. We talked about that the other day.
Starting point is 01:21:34 Stanks and, oh, we talked about it on the live. Stanks to trade, basically. Stank's a trade. Do you guys like the nickname Stanks? Yes, dude. Hell yeah. People have been loving that. He's amazing.
Starting point is 01:21:43 He's a great player. He's been insanely successful at every level of his career. If you go look at his stats in juniors and then in the HL, he's just overperforming. He's doing it in the NHL. Great ad. Tana have great defensive ad that helps Miro. Done. Winnipeg Jets.
Starting point is 01:21:57 I would have said a B plus, but I'm going A minus because they got. Toth for nothing. And Monahan, I think, is great. I know it wasn't deadline. That's right. Monahan counts. Yeah. They did an incredible job of beefing up there top six. And I think, you know, we're seeing Toff right now playing with Iafalo and Monahan on the second line, but I could swap him in Eilers easy any day. Valardi's also out. Valardi is going to be in the mix there too. The big thing for me is that your power play just got better with it. Oh my God. So A minus and the Jets are in it, baby. I'm pumped for them. Avs?
Starting point is 01:22:33 B plus for me. I love Middle Statt. I think saying goodbye to Bowen is so devastating, but I think that was going to be a hard re-sign in a couple of years. They have such good defense. Got Walker. Got Walker to fill that hole. It's that thing.
Starting point is 01:22:53 It's like, well, you got Walker. You got Walker. You get Casey Middleset to play second line center. What they've been needing is that second line center. I like that. it. I thought they were going to do something crazy. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. Honestly a hurdle. I thought that would have been sick. Yeah. But I thought they were going to get like a hurdle. Yep. But I love Middlstadt there. Yeah. The one thing that they really needed, we touched on this earlier, but they
Starting point is 01:23:16 needed a backup. Goalie. Yes, dude. Yeah. So I know. Yeah, Georgiev is playing too much time. We already talked about this episode. We don't need to waste a bit. B minus for me. I would have liked a backup goalie. I liked the two guys they picked up, Walker and Middlestat. I thought the return for both was high. So B minor. Another two guys that they picked up were huge were Jacob Trennan and Brandon Duhame. Both over 150 hits so far. Yeah, I love the Dubey. Those two.
Starting point is 01:23:39 Trennan's good too. Those two in the playoffs on the bottom six. I love that. Those two were very, back to a B. Those two were very Tampa Bay Lightning ads, like very under the radar. And all of a sudden people go, Jesus, dude, their bottom six is brutal to play against. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:23:56 Preds. C for me. Confusing. Confusing deadline. Some weird trades, trade Soros. Like, I, you know, didn't trade Soros, that is. Yeah, the C, I agree with the C, and it's almost like a did not complete C. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:24:10 Like, they made some interesting moves. I liked some of their moves, but, like, Anthony Bovillier was a fine ad. Zucker is a good ad. They didn't move much. Like I said, the Tommy Novak extension was awesome. Yeah, good call. But Zucker and Bovillier, to me, were just kind of funny, like, okay. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:24:28 What are you guys doing? Yeah, it seemed weird. But it's similar to Boston. where I'm like, I think they're going to make playoffs, but they're not, they know what they're doing. Okay. And given that everyone froze on the big goalie movements, I don't, I'm not hating them for freezing as well. Canucks? B plus.
Starting point is 01:24:48 Okay. Resigned PD and you got Lindholm. Yep. B minus for me, just because I think they did want one more. But they did their moves earlier, dude. They got Zadorov. They got Elias Linholm. Oh, Zodora.
Starting point is 01:24:58 It was going to be fine. Obviously, these weren't deadline moves. but they got Lindholm, they got Zaddorov, and they have re-signed PD. Yeah. Like, that is a B-plus. Okay. Hope Lintone picks it up. I love it.
Starting point is 01:25:11 He will. He will. Oilers. B. Really? Yeah. I mean, they, to me, they did move. Like, the Perry move was a big one. Harry, I love the Perry move.
Starting point is 01:25:24 Good call. And then, you know. That wasn't a trade, though. I think Adam Henrique is such a good ad, dude. Such a good ad, dude. Yeah. Such a good ad. I think Adam Henrique on that team is going to be fantastic.
Starting point is 01:25:36 I could have used defense. That's all I'm saying, dude. I went C-minus just because I was like, I love the depth there, but I'm just like, was scoring, was like depth scoring, the Oilers worry going into the playoffs? Maybe. Echleman Bouchard are solid. Like, I would have helped goalie Andy. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 01:25:54 And they did. Yeah. I'm happy with B. C-minus. Kings. F. Yeah, I put D. I mean, like, you did nothing. And, as I said last week,
Starting point is 01:26:08 it's, I think it's insane. The, like, they've hypnotized fans, not just Kings fans, but NHL fans, and being like, yeah, like, hopefully they can make them the playoffs. What? Yep. Like, they, I, dude, dip shit over here. Give me a dash five for this. In our New Year's episode, I said they're going to the cup.
Starting point is 01:26:28 Yeah, yeah, I sure did. completely fallen apart. And now they're acting like they're like this. Yeah, if we get in, we're happy. What are you talking about, dude? Look at these lines. Quentin Bifield, Anjicoe-Patar, Adrian Kempi, Kevin Fiala, Phil Donneau, Trevor Moore, Alex Laferrier, Pierre Luteubbaugh, Alex Turcott, Trevor Lewis, Blake Lazot, Arthur Calliav. That team is a wild card team. And then their defense, dude. Like, you are a good team. Oh, my God. You are way too good. They also have Arvinson and Mike Anderson in Jersey. Yes.
Starting point is 01:27:01 Like, you are way too good for this. I wanted some moves in L.A. And I think they're still, like, reeling from that free fall that they're like, oh, Christ, like let's just settle the ship here. But I'm like, dude, wake up. Kings are in trouble, man. Like, if they, if they miss playoffs and then. Yeah, they're head of Vegas right now.
Starting point is 01:27:18 I've got bad news for them. If they miss playoffs, which I don't think will happen. But if they then just lose in the first round with a very, like, wimpery effort, Blake is gone. Definitely. You think so? Yes, dude, this has been a disaster. Disaster, yeah, but out of nowhere.
Starting point is 01:27:33 Like, everything was golden and then one horrible month. Part of your, no, it's been a horrible three months now. One horrible month. I would have loved to know what they were, you know, the Boston and L.A. trade rumors were gone. I would have loved to know what was like dangled going back the other way. And you know what I hate about all those, dude? It's that classic like, dude, we had a lot up in the air and then nothing happened. Why was it with only one team?
Starting point is 01:28:01 Yeah. You should have had five things in the works. And when the Boston thing fell apart, you go to the next one. If that one fell out, you go to the next. Like, they had to do something. They did nothing. Yeah. And it's like you don't know if Dowdy and Kopitar are going to be able to play like this next year, the year after.
Starting point is 01:28:16 Yeah. I agree. I would have loved to see them do something a little more. Yeah. I know that they were, they didn't really want to trade that first round pick, especially with them not necessarily being a top team at this point in time. because they haven't picked in the first round in, I think, three years. So, yeah, weird deadline for them.
Starting point is 01:28:37 I really hope they get in the playoffs and can turn things around. Last one, Vegas. A plus. The only reason I didn't give Florida an A-plus is because the curve was set by the Golden Knights. Hammer A-plus. A-plus. Hannafin, Hurdle, free money, free money, free money. If I hope they get healthy, dude, because if they do, they're so scary.
Starting point is 01:28:58 Absolutely. As you all know by now, Dan and I have teamed up with BetMGM this year to offer you the illest deals in the game, and I have a great one for you at the moment. It's a bet get. You download the BetMGM app, put $5 into your account, and put your money on anything. I put $5 on a Sabres over last week, lost. I put $5 on a Senator's money line last week. Lost doesn't matter.
Starting point is 01:29:19 You can lose the bet, and automatically, BetMGM puts $150 into your account, which you can put on future wagers, which we will hopefully win. No guarantees from this guy, but we will hopefully win. So use promo code Netters 150. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S-150 to get this going. Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S. Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope N-Y for New York.
Starting point is 01:29:45 Call 1-800-3-2-0-50-F from Massachusetts. 21-1-1-800-N-E-R-Respively. Call 1-800-N-E-H-E-H0-0-0-0-2-3 for Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements. Rewards are non-withdrawable bonus bets that expire in seven days, in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. See Bet MGM for Terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., Mississippi, New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Starting point is 01:30:16 All right, let's kick it to overtime. Blake, what do you got for us on Armchair? So, yeah, we got Armchair GM. So this week's theme is they must be a Stanley Cup champion. So to recap on last week, it was a very underwhelming week. Oh, wow. I noticed that. Very.
Starting point is 01:30:37 So, Dan, you won this week. Hey. 13 points. Yeah. 13? Yeah, it was brutal. Both our teams were just awful. Chris, you had eight points.
Starting point is 01:30:46 Incredible. I think you had a couple health bombs, too. Oh, you hate to you. We had Quick and Chickren on Dan's team with fat zeros. And then we had Kane, Carlson, and Corpsollo all with fat zeros on Chris's team. Yeah, Corpie, I think, was, like, out. Yeah. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:31:00 So the score is narrowed. So it's 191 to 187 for Chris. So, Dan, it's your first pick this week. And the theme is? Must be a Stanley Cup champion. I will take Nathan McKinnon. I will take Nikita Kutcheroff. I'll take Cal McCarr.
Starting point is 01:31:16 I was going to say, we're just going to pump. I might take the entire, all around the roster here. I will take, oh, man. Victor Hedman. Oh, shit. Good one. I'll take Brad Marshand. Oh, good one. Really good pick, Dan.
Starting point is 01:31:33 The last, dude. The last one. Yeah, that's friggin' sad. I'll take Moose. I'll take Jonathan Marciussoe. We should have a clock here. I have one now. Shot lock. Yeah, where I can kick him off. I have one now that I think it might be yours. It definitely is. I don't want to do it to you. It definitely is. Okay, my pick. I'm taking Drew down.
Starting point is 01:31:56 I'll take Shay Theodore. I'll take Vassie. Yeah, yeah. So realistically, Blakey, my options here are Kemper, who I'm not taking. Bennington. Bennington, who's playing pretty good, actually. Eden Hill, who's playing terribly. Jonathan Quick.
Starting point is 01:32:16 Flurry. Flurry. I'll take Flurry. And then, of course, I'll take Sidney Crosby. Okay, now it's time for saucy predictions, and we have a question here, maybe. Dan, first off, you, your prediction was. I predicted that Jake Gansel would be traded, was. And I'm going to say again, this was an emotional hedge that Frank Bertrano would be traded because I didn't want Frank to go.
Starting point is 01:32:40 And that was dumb because I should have just trusted my gut that he wasn't going to go. He didn't go, so I have to eat. So Dan's eating for sure. Now here's the question, boys. I said three goalies would move at the deadline because we've been talking O-Mark. We've been talking Markstrom. We've been talking Soros. I think maybe we were talking Allen too, but there was a lot of heat.
Starting point is 01:32:58 I said three would be traded. Literally none of those top three got traded. But Vanichek got traded. Cochinen got traded. Alan got traded. Malcolm Subon. The jackets acquired Malcolm Subon. Ludovic, the Panthers required, oh, two more goleys.
Starting point is 01:33:17 The Panthers required golly, Magnus Helberg from the Penguins for goalie, Ludwig Weber in a conditional seventh rounder. The San Jose sharks acquired goalie Devin Cooley from the Buffalo Savors for a seventh rounder. So like eight goalies got traded. Does that count? I am calling bullshit. This Ballyhoo will not stand. Because if even one of those was someone that came out of your mouth, I would consider...
Starting point is 01:33:42 Jake Allen came out of my mouth. Came out of my mouth, sir. I said he would be traded and you were like this, oh, yeah, maybe. Not one of the people you hung your hat on got traded. So my vote is bullshit and it's not bitter. It's just we're being fair. Blake? I think I win.
Starting point is 01:33:58 You think I lose. Blake breaks the time. So, one, it's just hilarious watching you eat the hot chicken and try to talk. But I think, you know, you didn't say those guys, Omar, Sorrow, Smarkstrom. But we all knew that's who you were implying. Thank you. So, and, but, you know, you did get a lot of goalies traded, but how many of them will see an NHL crease this season, let alone next year? Yeah, if ever.
Starting point is 01:34:25 So I say no. I say you do not get it. and you both have to eat spicy chicken. Listen, I'll eat, but there will be an appeal filed, just so everybody is clear, because eight goalies were traded at the deadline. All right, here we go. I think we should do a post-season kangaroo court.
Starting point is 01:34:43 Yeah, hey, I like that. You eating one of those or two? I'm going to eat one. Okay. This is so awful. You did the hotter one this week, too? What an awful. Awful segment this is.
Starting point is 01:35:07 Which one of you came up with this idea? Chris, I'm the worst at it Yeah Okay The heat has set in I made the mistake of like Kind of swallowing and then Same
Starting point is 01:35:21 Not so I just coated my throat in it So I don't feel good right You don't have any plain ones to wash it down No I mixed all of them dude like a fucking asshole That was pretty stupid Okay Do you have yours?
Starting point is 01:35:40 No All right I'll go first Oh my god This is so bad want to eat another one so bad, but how did I sauce all of them? Yeah, I was going to say something, but... Okay.
Starting point is 01:35:51 My prediction this week, this week's coming from the heart, we gave the Jets an A-minus 6, I think they had some great ads for great value. Tyler Tifoli, on the Jets, they have three home games this week. He's going to be up there, meeting the boys on a homestam. I wanted to go three points in three games, but because this is a saucer prediction,
Starting point is 01:36:08 I'm going four points for Tafoli in his first three games as a jet. Okay. Okay. My saucy prediction. I like the points thing. God, I'm so uncomfortable right now. My saucy prediction.
Starting point is 01:36:31 Detroit Red Wings are currently out of a playoff spot. They have four games, I believe. Nope, three games. No, four games from now until next episode. I am predicting that they will be in the first wild card spot by next episode. Okay. They play Buffalo, Arizona, Buffalo, and Pittsburgh. That's going to be four or no.
Starting point is 01:37:04 Four or no. Let's go wings. That's on my prediction. Okay. I'm saying like, let's playoff. Go wings and let's go to Foley. Let's go. Okay.
Starting point is 01:37:10 We're going to figure this out. That is it for us this week at the Amdrenner's podcast. We love you guys. Do us a favor, guys. If you listen to this episode, we're going to do you. some fun giveaways for hitting 100,000 followers on Instagram, which is coming up. We're doing some cool merch drops coming up here, so we're going to be giving stuff out to you, people. Send our Instagram, or send our podcast to a friend who loves hockey, get them to
Starting point is 01:37:35 subscribe to the YouTube, hammer that subscribe, show us that you did it, and we will toss you guys some merch, we'll toss you guys some love because we love growing this community. So if you're not already subscribed, go subscribe now, have a friend subscribe, let's keep growing, Until we see you next week. Skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.