Empty Netters Podcast - 83. Gretzky, Orr, Lemieux, and… McDavid?
Episode Date: March 27, 2024The 50 goal club got a lot bigger this year but McDavid could break a 33 year old curse. College Hockey is the real March Madness, NHL rule changes get the Gladiator treatment, and the guys play “wh...at if” with some insane first round matchups! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (5:26) - Pete Corbett shout out (7:14) - No Buckie Warm Up (7:23) - Hockey East Championship (12:09) - Breaking Down the Bracket (16:30) - Petering Player Video Tributes (22:40) - New Rule Proposals (35:50) - Art Ross Race (39:51) - Can McDavid hit 100 Assists (41:41) - Kopitar and Doughty join the 300 Club (44:06) - Hyman and Reinhard Eat a 50 Burger (51:41) - Hot Ice (51:50) - Honoring Chris Simon (53:33) - Bill Daley’s Comments (1:00:53) - What Happens if/What happens when (1:10:53) - Devils/Islanders Off-Season (1:29:11) - Arm Chair GM (1:31:35) - Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This week on the Empty Netters podcast, we got a couple new members of the 50 goal club.
We've got an all-out slug-fest heavyweight battle going on for the Art Ross Trophy.
We are going to debate some wild and wacky what-ifs.
And the GMs got in the lab and voted on some new rules, so the chaos continues.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Holy hell, the league is out of control.
race is mental, new rules, chaos consumes us all. I can't be asked to do anything else except
watch hockey from now until the season, until the cup is lifted. I have no other responsibilities,
requirements. I'm sorry to everyone here. I'm sorry to my friends and family and loved ones.
I'm busy. You're saying nothing wrong, my friend. Yep. What's really funny is usually I like
to let playoffs start. Yeah. But with what's going on in the East, I'm sorry, it's
It has already started.
Playoffs are here.
We've got to lock in.
I think it's really funny how March shows up.
And our sports fan friends are like, dude, March Madness.
It's like basketball, basketball, that.
And meanwhile, we've got a elite BCBU game going on for the hockey East title, which
was probably a national championship preview.
Which I couldn't pay a bar to put on.
We had an elite Big Ten matchup.
Yep.
With Michigan, Michigan State, that was a crazy game, I think ended at 5'4.
What did they call that when we were in Detroit?
Remember it?
Because we were in Detroit and they were playing that night and it was called like the battle and the something.
I feel like.
Look that up.
I'll look that up right now.
It did have a cool name.
I thought so.
Yeah, that was pretty sick.
But hockey is March, dude.
Yeah.
March Madness.
Fuck you.
March Madness is cool.
It was actually fairs.
But there's so much cool hockey going on too.
And yeah, man, this is just insane.
What's going on?
Great time.
Super excited.
I do want to quickly talk about college hockey.
Yeah.
I just think this is something that has been known.
I tweeted this.
And I'm not breaking news here, but something has to be done, dude.
It is crazy how impossible it is to watch and enjoy college hockey.
and if you like college sports
something I really love about college sports is the chaos
you watch March Madness right now
you watch college basketball
I actually might like college basketball more than basketball
because you've got guys just airball and three
making bonehead plays there's just mistakes
it's awesome same with college football
kickers are missing more than 50% of the time it feels like
and college hockey is
I don't think there's that many mistakes.
It's just pure chaos because there's so much goal scoring.
It's just such insane talent out there on the ice.
College hockey's better than it's ever been.
There's more incredible teams than there's ever been.
And the fact that we haven't matched that with the coverage is devastating.
Listen, we're in Los Angeles.
I get it.
But when I go into a bar, a sports bar with probably 20,
TVs on the walls.
The fact that they can't get the Hockey East
championship game on, that's crazy to me.
That's like the SEC championship game
in football. Right. But the
as you well know, no one would,
no one's watching. Like the, no one cares.
There's a reason they can't get it because no one wants to. I know,
but that's what we got to change.
Agree, agree, agree.
People care, start caring by putting it on.
Yep. Yeah, yeah.
We're in a bad region for it. I believe that that game
was all over New England, but.
Right. Yeah. Because it was on Nesson for sure.
Yeah.
It was like, yeah.
We'll get that.
That's part of our no bucky, so we'll get into that.
And do you know what the Michigan, Michigan State, Big Ten championship game in NCAA,
Division I hockey was on?
No.
Big Ten network.
Like, come on.
Give me a fucking break.
I got the name of the Michigan State Michigan rivalry.
Oh, yeah.
Dual in the D.
And they play for the Iron D trophy.
I knew it was.
There was some alliteration involved.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
I got us on battle, but it was dual.
So.
Okay.
Yeah.
I just, I, I really wish there was more of an emphasis on, and there are people doing it.
Gee.
Yeah, yeah.
My friend out, our boy is doing it.
Getting more exposure for the game.
Bucci's been doing this forever, but it's like, God damn it, man.
College hockey is sick.
These kids deserve to have their games on TV more.
It deserves to be more of a spectacle.
I know on campus, it's people go crazy for it.
Clearly, as we just said, we're in Detroit, the entire city.
Yep.
was like after the Red Wing game, you're going to the dual the D game, right?
Obviously, yeah.
So I want to just keep banging that.
Watch more college hockey.
You know the chick filet is like, eat more chicken.
What does it know?
Eat more, eat more.
What is the ad?
More.
It's cows, right?
Yeah, I think their whole thing is cows are saying eat more chicken because they don't want to be eaten themselves.
Wash more college hockey.
We need that ad.
Yeah, agree.
We've got a ton to talk about, tons to go on.
Before we do, I just wanted to give a quick shout out.
So we're New England boys.
Always love hearing great stories.
This is a sad story, but we want to pay respects.
A really amazing member of a community in New Haven, Connecticut, Pete Corbett,
recently passed away due to cancer, which is obviously devastating.
But we wanted to give a shout out to Pete and his family because, like we said, as being
New England guys, Pete was a unbelievable member of his community for so many different reasons.
But a big one was the sports world.
Yes.
This guy was just involved in youth sports in so many different levels.
Single-handedly saved this amazing lacrosse facility in the area from going under.
And it's now where everyone plays indoor lacrosse in the winters,
and they have tons of youth programs going in and out of there.
But he was involved in basically it seemed like every single sport
and just helped so many people in the community.
And a tremendous athlete in his own right.
Absolutely, yeah.
I think he was bringing home championships all the time
at his local golf and tennis club.
Like, what a legend.
Yeah.
But, yeah, Pete, just a, one of these guys that lost way too early.
He was too young, so handsome, so athletic, in great shape, in great health, and cancer is just
the worst.
The worst.
Empty your place.
Empty your, the universe empty your place today.
Yeah, absolutely.
So we just wanted to send some love to the Corbett family to Pete's amazing kids and just
give a huge shout out to Pete, because we need to be.
more people like in this world who are just going to bat for the community, going to bat for
sports and just people in general. He just did so many good things for his family and friends in his
area and just in life in general. So tons of love to that family. Let's get into our no-bucky warm-up
because there's tons going on. Yep. Take me there. Well, since you were on college hockey,
let's hit that first, the hockey East Championship. Dan and I got to go to several bars in L.A.
we get a bar crawl of getting turned down
of watching the hockey's championship
and that was awesome
didn't order a single thing at any of the bars
they'd be like this can we get we go can we get the game on
they would say oh let me check no
would you like something or like this no
good day leave new bar
new bar repeat repeat repeat go home so we go home
pop on the game and
ho hum everybody that's ever been on the empty netters podcast
scored a goal for me for 18 netter's fist
it was awesome fucking incredible
But dude, I'll tell you what.
You said finals championship preview.
We'll see how the bracket shakes out.
Two unbelievable teams.
B.U got the best of them in the bean pot earlier this year, which fucking matters big time to those kids.
I know if you're not from New England, you don't know that, but like that matters.
That you could change your whole season.
B.U tagged them up for one, pretty good.
And in this game, B.C. gets the better of them.
So the grudge match is going to be in the tournament, which is fucking exactly how it should be.
I will say.
I'm praying to God.
We get it.
Imagine if it's the final.
I need them to play each other in this.
Yeah.
Yeah, because they could just never.
you know, someone can lose, right? Absolutely.
The, I actually thought B.U was playing, was the better team through two periods.
Did you?
Yeah. They were vastly out shooting B.C.s are just power play merchants and good on you.
Like, we always joke like, oh, Sam Rhinos go to 1,000 powerplay goals. Who fucking cares, dude? You scored.
So BC was like four for four on the power play to start the game through two periods. And that was the difference.
But those count. Stop taking fucking penalties if you're playing the best power play in the country.
So it's going to be an awesome game
Cutter had at least one
If not too, a much of a assist
Celebrini had one in the loss
Thank God, always fun to see that kid score
He's a stud, but our boy Will Smith, dude
No freshman ever has scored a Hattie in the hockey East championship
And they still haven't because Will Smith had fucking four
Thank you very much dude
Including like a no look backhand empty netter which all count bang
Yeah
Dude
Goal scores goal on the first one
Kind of bouncing off somebody
sick pass on the third one, but that fucking nip
job on the second goal, worth the watch
a thousand times over. Oh my God, yeah. It's unbelievable. Also, I want to
give a shout out, we've been pumping the Rangers tires. Boy, do they have a
player in Gay-Prow. Shit, dude. I mean, good Lord. He was just snapping passes
around the ice vision 100 out of 100. And then
want to give some stick taps to his checkerboard tape job. Yeah. I was going to
point that out too. I thought it was
His tape, I got a closer look at it.
He drew it.
He drew that checkerboard off.
Do you think all of the sticks on the rack are like that?
Or he gives like a different design for everyone.
It's like, pre-game is he like, no, boys, I can't play sewer.
Got to get the Sharpie going.
I've got to get my chessboard.
We got to ask Will about that.
We do.
Checker every game.
Because I could see like I'm on a bit of a heater, checkerboard, a couple games, no goals.
Like draw something else.
I think I have seen him do a different design.
Yeah.
Not very recently.
I think it's like the start of the year.
So I think it's like his thing that he does like something different on his stick.
But I'm curious like, so that game he'd use the checkered one.
Is every stick checkered?
Or are you just have a bunch of different designs just to throw goalies off?
And honestly, it works.
Really?
I growing up, I remember.
Interesting, Blake.
Seeing guys with different sticks and it just can take your focus off of the puck
and onto the stick in that split second.
So say a guy gets that quick pass in the slot and then he's catching.
and then he's catch and release shoot.
Off a checkerboard.
Yeah, you might just be like, oh, what is that?
It's just not what you're used to.
So I think it actually does have an effect.
Dude, that is funny because I have been the,
I'm the biggest black tape guy on the bottom of the stick,
and the white tapes become such a thing.
And a lot of people, including you, I'm pretty sure,
are like, it doesn't matter.
But I've talked to goalies, and they're like, yeah,
it's harder to see it on the black tape, period.
It's harder to see it at all.
I just think black tape is dust.
I mean, I mark my tape.
Yeah, yeah, but it just
you should have black tape.
There's like a legitimate benefit
to having black tape down there
versus just white tape, like legitimate.
But that's interesting
because if like, you know me,
I'm a fucking, I don't give a shit
how much I'm getting chirp
for my on I swag
as long as I can be custom job.
If I can start fucking drawing shit
on my white tape and you're telling me
that's gonna work too,
then I'm actually kind of interested in that.
We need to get Gabe to do
one of those swirly things.
Just start hypnotize.
Yeah, dude, like, are you shitting me?
I'm gonna, I might fucking do this, dude.
Yeah, I love it.
It's a great move.
Anyway, you said it a lot at the top.
I don't need to go into it, but absolutely fucking electric games in the Big Ten Championship,
the Hockey East Championship, cannot wait for the tournament.
So anyway, Dan, you said a lot of that at the top, but sick Big Ten Championship,
sick hockey East Championship and Selection Sunday was last night.
So the bracket is out, and I want to just run through it with you super fast for everybody.
Well, the best thing about this is our dreams are potentially coming.
true because what we said earlier is there is an opportunity for BC and BU to meet in the final.
Okay.
Which is just like so great.
So, so fantastic.
So great.
But, you know, the bracket, we'll post it, but the bracket's exciting.
There's a lot of teams in here.
UMass getting in, I thought was a little surprising.
Yep.
But they, would they lose, they gave someone a bit in the semis of hockey.
Like they played pretty well against one of those two.
I can't remember who's BC or B.U.
Maine being back in this shit is so unbelievable.
But I mean, like we've got great math.
like BC, Michigan Tech, Wisconsin, Kuinipiac, Denver, UMass, Maine, Cornell.
Like, that's a fun group.
Yep.
And we're getting a round one North Dakota, Michigan game.
That's electric.
And, dude, Michigan, Michigan State being in the same region is intense.
Like, we might get a duel in the D in the second round here.
And then scroll down for me, Blake.
What's...
This is it.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
What's really exciting is, like,
There's a lot of sick-ass, like history here.
B-U Minnesota round two is possible.
Like, that would be electric.
So good.
What I think is really fun is a lot of cool matchups, a lot of great teams.
I'm excited to us, for us, to do more coverage on this thing.
Yeah, agree.
I really want to dial into this because the Frozen Four tournament is just as awesome as anything else.
And hey, shout out Brookie and party.
The four of us, and with me and Dan do this.
We do a bracket challenge every year, and we call it the burrito bracket.
Yes.
And the loser or the winner gets a free burrito from Chipotle or Kidoba from all three losers every year.
So if you're looking for a fun game to play with your friends, the burrito bracket to Bonanza is pretty good deal.
And what have we got here, Blake?
Is that the 28th?
Is that the first game?
Yeah, 28th is when it starts.
So Thursday.
Yeah.
We're in it, dude.
Yeah.
Who's your biggest snub?
Like, what's a team that you would have liked to see here?
The one team I think of is UNH.
I mean, I know they had a big fall off in the second half,
but that whole first half was amazing.
UNAG and Maine.
You just would see them at the top of those ranking every week.
I feel like it's biased, but that was my answer.
Like, I just thought, when I said Maine being back in gets me so excited,
the beginning of this year, I was like, fucking A, dude.
UNH and the Whitamore Center are going to be back.
I mean, you know what I mean?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Just like that area is going to be back in this tournament,
and it fired me up so much.
But the fact that we got Maine is awesome.
Scroll down real quick.
There you go.
Yeah.
Either way, this is just going to be great.
So we'll keep everyone dialed in because, like,
if we're going to bang this drum,
we got to be a part of it.
Yeah.
So here we go.
And fill me in.
So you get in if you win your conference.
obviously. Yep. But then how do the other spots get determined? Is it a voting like it's
yeah it's all at large bids and it's you're right it must be it must be there's a committee I'm sure
like this and I don't quote me but I'm sure there's a committee the same way there's a college
basketball committee same way there's a college football playoff committee like you guys get in
and it I believe it's not supposed to count um how you do in the playoff in your in your
conference playoffs unless you win it. So what I'm saying is like
Like, let's say you were a bad team in your conference.
You get in as the last seat into the playoffs.
And then you go on an epic run to the final, but lose the final.
If you won the final, you get an automatic bid.
I believe they're not supposed to count that, though.
They're not supposed to be like, well, that was sick.
They're supposed to be like, you were horrible all year.
You did not get your at-large bid.
You are out.
But everybody's a human being.
So it's like, I don't know how you wouldn't weigh that in.
If you're like, I don't know, did they just ripped off.
Like, they just beat BU and B.C.
They're in.
So it's always tricky.
And always those bubble teams, and across all sports for this.
shit is really hard because you're like fuck I'm sure they were really worthy candidates like
unh that are that are crushed right now um but it's a long season and you got your way to get in
so all right next thing i want to hit dan really quickly is coosy returned to the caps yeah
and they did a video and it occurred to me watching that that because dude i don't like the caps
particularly i don't like coosie particularly i don't like the canes particularly i mean i'm not saying
I dislike any of those things. I'm just saying, like, I'm not a huge caps or Cains or Cousy guy,
but I was about to cry watching that. And it occurred to me that the, some people have that
when the military dad is on the big board, but then they're actually there and they run out on
the field. Those videos get people. These videos get me. Watching an athlete return to a place
he played a lot of his career and showing him a video and watching him react.
Yeah.
Will literally make me cry. Man, I, I hear you. I think I
also agree. I do think the return videos are getting a little out of control. Too long? No, we're
getting a lot of thank you videos for guys who played for a team for like two years. And I'm kind of
like... But Coosie's not one of these. Of course, yeah, yeah, of course. And I think we need to chill a little
bit on... I think we need to set requirements. Yes, Dan. We need to set a, you need to have played
X amount of games for said teams or hit X amount of points for said team. Or won a cup. No. Yes. I think
You want a cup on that squad.
No, dude.
I really don't think, because there are guys who are, like, if Thomas Cabrillet got a
thank a welcome home from the Boston Bruins, that's absolutely ridiculous.
What about like, what about like, it's games or points.
Well, no, there has to be a cup caveat, but I agree there's a cup caveat with points,
playoff points during that cup run.
Yeah, okay.
So like, you know, if Rich Peverely had come back to the Bs right after.
I would accept.
I'd be like this boom.
But that's also like Peves played for the Bruins.
I know, he played a little bit too long.
Yeah.
You know?
But not long enough, certainly, to normally warrant one.
If you're a one-year rental and you only played that season and in the playoffs,
you need to have at least 10 points in the playoffs.
Double-digit points in the playoffs during the cup season.
You can get a thank you video.
I accept.
And win the cup.
And win, yeah, if you lose, you're dead.
And then I think, yeah, okay.
I accept.
And then I think it needs to be either.
If you lose, you get a fuck you a video.
Either 400 games.
or 300 points for said team.
400 games, it's like five years, right?
Yeah.
Five healthy years.
I accept.
I think that's fair.
So back to Coosie, totally agree.
Also, it made me happy that I think there were a lot of Capps fans who at the end there were getting a little frustrated with him.
And they're like, get him out of here, man.
Yeah, right, right.
And that hurts my heart because he was so good for them, gave them so much.
And it makes you, when a player goes through a tough stretch or there's a weird falling out, you kind of just want them gone.
And I'm really happy for Capps fans that they got that moment of like, we love him.
Yeah.
We love Coozy.
Did you guys see when OV tripped him?
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Dude, call me an old parent attitude right now.
but that was that was scary like that could have hurt him yeah I sound like a fucking idiot right now
but it was so funny yeah like it was like I think it was after a play or something like the
whistle had gone the play was dead and they're skating by each other and Ovi just like sticks his
skate out and like clips a masterful job masterful trip just clips him coozy goes down and
immediately starts dying laughing and they are like best friends so it was obviously all in good
fun. I won't lie. There was a part of me that was like, what if that hurt him do? Like,
what if that, like, caught his knee weird and he, like, toe-picked or, like, fell and, you know,
he's doing something with his gloves and doesn't paying attention and falls and hits his face
or something. I was like, dude, take it easy. Like, I feel like a little whack to the back
of the legs, maybe, would have been a little bit better, a little sack tap. Yeah, yeah, yeah. A little
cup check would have been nice. Uh, my favorite part of the video was him, when they did that, like,
quick montage clip of him just laugh, of Kuzzi just laughing at everything, like at press conferences
and cherry. I was like, God, dude, what a cool guy. Yeah.
No, you love to see it. You're absolutely right. Those videos are so wonderful and he just seems like such an amazing guy. Yeah. And it's good that the Caps got to see that. Awesome. That's cool. Okay, next, we've got some upcoming rule changes from the GM meetings. Yes. That Blake's going to read us. I think it's hilarious. Before we even get into you reading them, I'd love to be a fly on the wall in these meetings. Yeah. Like how does that happen? Is it a, you have to formally write it down?
put it in or do all the GMs get into a meeting like a town hall it's like um uh the
chat and j t chad goes deep guys yeah yeah they go do a town council meeting step up the
members of the committee members of the gms association i would like to propose a rule yeah that's like how
is that how they do it because i love it if it was like that it's like on the spot 100% you get
jams like oh shit dude those boys were on um rusty's and willie d's pod by the way oh really yeah play date
Yeah, they do their thing that they always do like, um, uh, words, what are these words
don't sound, right?
Phrases it don't exist.
But Chad and JT from going deep were on and they just killed that.
So, yeah, everybody check that out, by the way, when you have a chance.
They're on last week, IG, TikTok, the pod, everything.
They're fucking hilarious.
Love that.
I could see you guys going up to young Gary Bettman and kind of modeling that same kind of
style and getting your point across.
I think you guys could be pretty successful.
I would convince Gary.
We could, if it were up to me,
Yeah.
If someone gets me in front of Gary, we will have 2V2 and then 1V1 OT like that.
Let's go.
Let's go.
Next season.
So I am curious how these go, but let's hear the rules.
So yeah, just to clarify off the top, these are all proposed rules by the GMs.
So these are approved proposals that are then going to the Board of Governors and Competition Committee.
So these will likely be implemented next season, but still, you know, some kinks to iron out.
All right, so you read them out and let's give our quick knee-jerk vote.
So these are kind of the, there was a couple more, but these are the three most interesting ones.
Kind of going first, goalie warm-ups.
So when a goalie is pulled for an injury, the goalie entering the game now has the opportunity to get a warm-up.
So I don't know what that warm-up consists of if they're just going to let them have 10 minutes to do goalie skating in his crease.
If, you know, guys going to drop out 10 pucks and we're going to do a horseshoe.
Like, what's that warm-up look like?
can like, I just think that would be funny to watch as a fan.
Like you have 18,000 fans just waiting for the game to get back going.
Meanwhile, you got Peter Kuchekhov just doing his glove blocker warm up.
But this does not apply if a goalie's getting pulled.
So say a goalie's getting yanked in the first period for shit in the bed.
So it's only an injury.
Yes.
It's only an injury or like a concussion spotter.
So like I think the other night in the Pittsburgh game, Adelkevich got pulled for a concussion spotter.
So Jari would have had the opportunity to get a walk.
So again, it'd be funny to see what that warm-up is.
Yep.
But one, two, three.
Great.
I'm cool with that.
I like the injury caveat.
Dude, it's also like the, I would even hear the pull, which I'm guessing you might go down
on that, but I would even hear the pull.
Like, in baseball, when a pitcher comes, like, your pitcher sucks, you pull the guy.
The relief pitcher not only gets some on the real mound, but has been warming up for
fucking 30 minutes.
Like, you guys are pro athletes.
It's not healthy.
to like come in cold this fuck and pull your groin i'm like let the guy fucking stretch for 10 minutes or
five minutes whatever i'm kind of in the middle like like even as a goalie i'm kind of like like it's
the role of a backup you have to be ready at the drop of a hat go in the net and kill off a
penalty or whatever it may be i i agree like yeah we don't need another guy getting injured yeah
maybe it to me it depends on what the warm up looks like like if we're having a 10 minute 15
minute ordeal no way like fans are not going to want to sit through that let alone view
viewers. That's an easy way to change the channel.
Yep.
I think, again, it depends on what the wall-up looks like and what it actually entails,
but I don't like it.
Yeah.
Maybe five.
I love that killer attitude from the goalie.
10 minutes is a good point, like a 10-minute break from the game.
If you're watching on TV, it's kind of, it's not annoying, but you're kind of like,
10 minutes.
Five is good, though.
Yeah.
Even five, like, it's an easy way to switch to another game or another sport.
Yeah, but you're getting a five-minute TV timeout anyway.
Fair enough.
Yeah.
Like maybe there's a way that you can now move another TV time up to this slot.
Yeah, yeah.
Or.
Or.
Or.
What we've talked about many times, I've said if I were a company during the Super Bowl, for example.
Yeah.
I think I love the idea of buying ad space, buying 30 seconds of ad space where you're just
showing the field.
If I worked for Doritos, I would go at the Super Bowl.
All of a sudden on your TV, it would just be the field.
and it would be camera shots of the players talking to each other in between TV timeout,
what are they doing on the field?
And it would say, this 30 seconds of on-field action is brought to you by Doritos.
And I think people would be like this.
That is sick.
Thank you, Doritos.
So this might be a cool thing where you sell the ad space to someone that's like,
backup warm up.
Backup warm up, brought to you by Bud Light.
Yeah.
Brought to you by New Amsterdam vodka.
It does create opportunities for like broadcast, too, to be prepared with like a backup segment or feature.
on the goalie even.
Like you could have like shit about the backup.
I think that's as long as far as the TV broadcast goes,
don't cut to commercial.
Keep the TV.
That'd actually be interesting to watch.
I want to watch the backup.
I want to know.
Like you have one designated guy too that's your warm up guy that's just like pepper
and shots against the pillows.
What's the deal?
It was a healthy scratch coming.
No,
no,
Matthew.
Matthews comes in and just says fucking knifing a dumb ass for five minutes and you're like,
uh,
thank you.
Just teeing up one teas.
That's so good.
All right.
Next one.
Now this one isn't anything.
special it's pretty minimal but no leg over the boards when you're waiting for a change I
think this was this kind of lame I love the look of like you have like an old school guy like
Brett Hall leg over the boards waiting for that guy on the back check to come on the change
spring you on and just to be clear a ref got hurt yes which why this happened a ref got hurt
because he was like ripping up the wall looking back to the play guy's leg was hanging
one two three boom horrible horrible so dumb ref keep your head up keep your head up keep your
head up, dude. Shouldn't have been standing there.
Also, I 100% agree.
I am the biggest. I sit on the edge
of the bench almost all game long.
And dude, I do this, bro. People get mad at me about this, but I don't
go, fuck. I do this. I, like,
I'm, when I'm, like, leaning on the bench, watching, like, my
stick is, like, hanging over,
and I'm fucking aware of it, dude. Like, when a play
is coming, I go like this. Like, I move it.
There's never once where my stick has clipped somebody
because I wasn't paying attention. I'm fucking watching.
If you do clip someone, though, you should get a bench miner.
I agree.
I remember a ref one time, and I think it
was roller actually and I was like giving it to him for not like being lazy and not
making penalty calls and then he starts chirping at me and giving me warnings for having my
stick over the boards and being like I'll give you a penalty if I see that again it was such like
get off your power trip dude my favorite this is kind of related but like my I love the on the fly
change yeah and I think it's awesome that you're jumping over early and like guys are still on and
it's like if you jump on early but the puck comes you're like don't touch it because like you know
the guy still like that's a cool part of hockey to me and not that this is taking that away but I just
don't want anyone touching anything about the coming in and off the bench so hate it I think now how
this changes is instead of waiting for the change sitting with a leg over or sitting on the boards you're
now just standing yeah or like your ass is even on the yeah I'm sure you can have like a knee up
yeah as long as it's not hanging over yeah yeah I'd be surprised if they vote that one in honestly
I think it's voted.
Well, and I'd be surprised.
Well, didn't you just say that these are proposed and now the...
So now it's a approved proposal.
Now it goes to the board of governors and competition committee and they kind of vote on it.
They're probably going to vote that, yes, because someone got hurt.
Yeah.
What's the third one you got, Blake?
So third one.
Coaches can now challenge high sticking and puck over the glass penalties.
If a team gets a challenge incorrect, though, they have to kill off the original penalty,
plus an additional penalty.
So creating a full five-on-three penalty kill.
So this is really putting some significance
on the video coaching staffs.
One, two, three.
Wow, I thought you were going to go down.
Oh, no, man, this is like first step
to getting this stupid-ass delay of game penalty out of the game.
Yep.
It's so fucking dumb.
I hate it.
Get rid of it.
Yeah, we talked about this with Laz.
I'm like potentially coming all the way around
to like just get rid of the penalty all of the time.
together, which I don't know if that's quite what you're saying.
Is that what you're saying?
Like, you don't want that penalty to even exist.
I don't.
Like, you should be allowed to just fire it out.
I think it was Laz that said, one of you two said, it prevents guys from just ripping it out and being like, fucking get me off the ice.
And I, I hear that.
But part of me is like, it's bullshit.
Yeah.
You can't do.
I mean, I guess what I was thinking is.
I really couldn't figure out how I wanted to approach that.
I just, it's like if you're hemmed in 5V5 and you just whip it.
You're staying on the ice.
That's an icing.
Part of me is like, how is it different than that?
Like you're just getting a whistle.
Like make it the same as that.
If I whip it over the glass, you can't change.
I feel like.
Easier, I guess.
Yeah, it just makes it a challenge to ice the puck successfully.
So now it's not just get rid of it.
dude, and like, I'm a plug.
It's not that easy to rip it over the glass, dude.
How many times do we see guys in the heat of game try to ice it,
and it flubs over their stick?
Or you don't get it high enough and a guy gloves it down.
Like, that'll still happen too.
It's not the easiest thing in the world to just whip it up,
Jesus Christ, to just whip it over the glass.
But again, I get it.
I hate it, though.
Because I just think it is such a,
my whole point was in the pace of the game,
it is so easy to accidentally do that.
Yeah.
To accidentally get a little too much on the puck and you put it over the glass and now bang,
power play for the other team, goal.
Like it ruins games, in my opinion.
So what I will say to Ty Bo on this one is the high stick part of it too is amazing because
so many times it's like the guy's own stick.
Like you hit a dude's stick, his own stick hits him in the face real time.
Ref's stick go out, bang, blood, four minutes.
And I'm like, that wasn't my stick, dude.
Yeah.
You know, so I love the challenge there.
That's fantastic.
And for the delay-a-game shit, and I don't know how they're going to enforce the rule here,
but I would, this is what I was trying to say to you and Las the other day,
I know that if it's truly accidental, like, like if you shoot a puck and it hits my stick and goes out,
I'm like, I don't know.
But I would like to see this go away too.
If I'm trying to go glass and out and I put it over, per the rules, obviously that is delay a game.
But sometimes, like, there's a puck in the air.
Like, you know, me and a guy forward go out it together, and I swing at the puck in midair.
And I hit it. I'm trying to hit it.
But then it's like, and goes out.
They call that still.
And I'm like, dude, I'm literally just batting a bait.
Sorry, my incredible hand eye accidentally flipped the puck over the fucking glass, dude.
Perfect.
So if that can go.
Perfect example, Christopher.
I'm like, yes, dude.
And I don't even know that's what they're saying.
They might still be calling that.
I'm just saying, like, I fucking hate that shit.
So the more they can review intent, I'm into it.
What do you think?
I look
So wait can we get a quick
Before I
Before can we get a quick clarification
On what this rule is
You just get to
They're voting
To be able to review
Delay of games
And high sticking
So say this penalty
It's both
Sorry yeah
That's it
No no go on
Go on give your opinion
I don't love it
I think
It's just adding more
Reviews into the game
Yeah
But then again
You know
We're already at the point
Where we're reviewing
A lot of stuff
So you might as well
Review everything
That will make the game
Right
and better quality
so I'm kind of in the middle on it.
But I think it's interesting now how it changes the dynamics of your video coaching team
and how much more significance is put on them.
And pressure, though.
You don't get one of these calls correct and you're in the ear of Sheldon Key for John Cooper
and you get that call rate, they're coming into that locker,
of intermission or post game and ripping you a new one.
Yeah.
Dude, if it's playoffs, because, dude, a power play can change your playoff series.
If it's playoffs and your guy takes a high stick with five minutes left in a tie.
game in the third period and you're like we're about to lose now but your video coach says i
guarantee it wasn't him then you get it wrong it's now a five on three yeah definitely lost
dude so i'm gonna dan rant real quick i don't like the and this is not targeted at you blake
i don't like when people go it's add in more reviews it's slow in the game dude this isn't
football yeah hockey is fast as shit yep there's not that that
many reviews going on. And what I love about reviews is the more reviews, the better, dude.
This is a, it's a, you just mean in terms of accuracy, though, right? Yes, it's a court system.
We are doing, get it right, we're doing a court system. It drives me nuts when teams lose
important games because of a bad missed call. This removes hopefully that element. The
insane missed tripping call against Noel O'Chari in the brilliant.
Blues Stanley, like that was one of the most egregious miss calls of all time that directly led to Boston losing.
Yep.
The Stanley Cup.
Yeah.
Put in crying stuff.
But it's true.
Yep.
And if we can get rid of more of that shit with a quick view, hell yeah.
Hell yeah.
If it's quick.
And then also, I love the ramifications of it.
You can't just willy-nilly challenge every.
I mean, shit.
Five on three is a killer.
Going from a five on four to a five on three if you get that wrong.
And Blake, you're so.
Right? If you're the video guy and you're like, challenge this and you don't get it right and then you're a five on three, you're getting peaked to high heaven.
Yeah. And the players would be pissed at you. Yeah. So I love it. You know what it's cool. This will be, this will lead to this because this drives me fucking insane in the NFL. When receivers like drop a ball clearly. Like they dive for they dive forward. It slips out of their arms. It's on the ground. And the ref goes incomplete. And then the receiver comes running up to the bench like, challenge. And it's clearly incomplete. I'm like, you are cut. You.
So in this, it will be sick if, like, I flip someone stick up, their own stick hits them in the face, and the rest immediately banging me. It'll be cool to see players like looking at the bench, like, yo, yo, yo, yo, like that was not me at all. Yeah. And if you're wrong, you're cut. But that'll be, that'll be interesting. Yes. No doubt about it. Okay. So move on from the rule changes, but. Do you have any more? No, those are the three big ones. No, those are cool. Okay, a couple quick things here. Um, the Art Ross race, dude. So I feel like Pooch has been winning it all. So I feel like Pooch has been winning it all.
all year. And then the other day I said to you guys, I feel like I blinked and Nate Dogg is ahead of
Cooch because he had eight points in two games. Yeah. And I was like, God, that's what can happen.
But, you know, Cooch can come right back. I look at today, Cooch back ahead of Nate 123, 123,
122. And by the way, ho-hum, as I told you fucks in like November, Connerick David is six
points away. Like, if he passes them, he is the MVP unanimously. Yeah. It's pretty insane.
So, uh, I think the Austin Matthews conversation is over. He's not a part of this race. No.
No. And actually, I guess I have to say yes because he could still get 70. And my stance was he gets 70.
So I have to say yes. But I hear what you're saying. Even with that, even if he goes nuclear in these next 12 games or
whatever it is, he's out. Even if he gets the 70. Um, it's, it's so crazy how.
many guys get 100 points now.
Yeah.
And I love them.
Yeah, yeah.
These two guys have just been
nuclear all season long.
Trading blows.
It's truly unbelievable to watch.
I want to give flowers to Panarin
and pasta because they are both
carrying. I mean, the Rangers
are unbelievable. The Bruins are
unbelievable. They're a point away from each other. They're both
presidents, trophy contenders, blah, blah, blah, blah.
But I think both those guys have just been carrying the
weight for their respective teams in
astounding ways so giving them their flowers but these three guys are just doing insane things and
i want cooch or nate dog to win it i i predicted uh Nate dog a while ago I still think it's
Nate dog because plus 31 to plus six I just yeah I just look at that but I'll tell you what
dude it is hard to make a case against Connor McDade. Especially if he does a hundred apple
Their team was just in last place, and he is about to have 100 assists on the season,
and he has dragged that Edmonton Oilers team to legitimately having a chance at winning the Pacific.
When's last time someone had 100 assists?
Yeah, Dan, and they're not going to win the Pacific, but they were, as of yesterday,
they were 10 points back from first place in the Pacific with three games in hand.
Yep.
And we did this whole thing last week, but it's like,
Holy shit man and this guy has gone to another level of I said it with Bobby yep I think
Connor gets it now yeah right I do I love the fact that he has 26 goals like people were
pissed at him for not scoring enough going into last year so he said get fucked here 63 on
and Zach Hyman has 50 and it's like I love this year he realizes he gets more people
this is my favorite version of Connor McGee yeah and it's not even close because it's
It's like last year he was scoring at Will.
Yeah.
This year, it feels like when he gets that highlight real goal, when he splits four defenders, it's when they're in a tie game.
Yeah.
They're down one.
And I'm like, oh, dude, he's figured it out.
Yeah.
Like, I think Connor has unlocked killer Connor.
Yeah.
And.
Which is funny, because we said that last year and now it's even more insane.
Yeah.
Underapples.
So last player, I want you to guess who the last player was to get 100 apples.
Dude, I think it's like, obvious.
Oh.
Oh.
Oh, Wayne?
Yeah.
11 times in his career.
He has had over a hundred's assists in a regular season.
Last time he did it 11 times.
11 times in his career.
People still don't get how good Wayne was.
In 90, last time he did it was 9091 and he did it in 89, 90, and in 88, 89.
So three straight years.
So 91 is the last time someone had 100 assists in the season.
Holy.
And Conner's got 91, dude.
Yeah.
Like, he's doing it.
That's actually the most interesting race of the season.
I don't care about Austin getting 70 goals.
I don't care about Cooch or McKinnon getting 140 points, 130 points.
Connor getting 100 assists is, I think, the coolest story.
And do you think if he's, let's say he doesn't close that delta and finishes like six points behind them still?
Like they finish with 140, he finishes with 134, but he has 100 assists.
Don't you give it to him anyway?
Yes, that's what I say.
I was saying my pick Nate Dogg, I want Nate Dogg or Kooch to win because I want it to recycle.
But even right now, I think it's hard to not give it to Connard because of what he's done for this team.
He was playing subpar per his standards.
The team was terrible.
They made a coaching change.
They've been the best team in the league.
It's very hard to.
And he has a hundred assists.
It's so insane.
It's very hard to not give it to him.
And what's crazy is, I really love the take of it should go to MVP for your team.
Like, are you the most valuable player for your team?
I really like that being a factor in it.
That's why I keep saying Larkin deserves votes.
I truly believe that.
The difference between the Detroit Red Wings when he is not in the lineup is absurd.
And holy hell, Connor McDavid is doing everything for this team.
Right.
Because if it was just best player in the league, you'd just give it to Conner every year.
It's crazy.
Okay.
It's crazy.
Also, no one sleep on Quinn fucking Hughes, my boy, with 80 points right now.
Yeah.
Also, K-L.
I was going to say, K-L.
But, like, Quinn, dude, are you kidding?
He's the man, dude.
He's the man.
Great segue into defensemen, Dan, because this is a cool thing I found.
A forward defenseman duo has factored in on the same goal.
Okay?
You with me?
Over 300 times.
three combos ever.
Gretzky and Paul Coffey for 350 goals,
which is cool because most of them were on the Oars,
but some were on the Kings too.
Bobby Orr and Phil Esposito,
six times,
and a new duo 300 times.
Just joined the club.
Do you know who it is?
Yeah, because I know who found this.
Yeah.
Shout out Justin, Copee and Dewey and Dewey.
Sick.
Yeah.
Like those boys have been doing that for a long time.
Yeah.
And they got two cups and they're having this cool mini.
I don't know how long they're going to play, but like, I'm glad what's happened to the penguins didn't really happen to them.
And they did retool on the fly and they've been in the mixer.
And I don't know if they'll win another before they retire.
But I'm sure it's been fun having these playoff battles with the Oilers and shit.
But what a cool.
Shout out, Justin.
Because what a cool stat.
That is some pretty sick fucking company to be in.
It's unbelievable, man.
And it's just, it's brought me so much joy.
I've been going to bat for it all.
year long on all the social channels. I love it when lists come out like that list we went over with
Wish, where it's the players voting on who are the best position players in the league and and Dewey was up
there. And a lot of people are like, whoa, Dewey getting a lot of respect. And I'm like, yeah, put respect
on his fucking name. And the season that he's had this year is nothing short of phenomenal.
It is all-star stuff. And it's just great when a player like that,
I don't want to say shuts everyone up, reminds everyone is the better one.
Yeah.
Reminds everyone of how unbelievably elite they are.
It's like this is a Norris trophy winning, two-time Stanley Cup winning, elite all-time generational defenseman.
Absolutely.
Who is still doing it at 34 years old.
Honestly, better than he has in many of the recent years.
Yep.
This guy just loves the game and is such a good player in every single way.
And dude.
And dude.
Just an even better dude.
So huge, huge stick taps to that.
What a cool accomplishment.
I hope they might pass.
Well, X, maybe I don't hope because I love Bobby War, but I hope they pass those points.
I mean, certainly if they play another year together.
I think both of them have at least a couple good years.
Yeah, Cope's got two more years under his college.
He's got his extension kicking in next season.
Yeah, yeah.
Hell yeah.
Okay, 50 goals.
I want to talk about this real quick.
Yes.
So far this year, you've got Matthews, you've got Hyman, and you've got Hyman and Sam Reiner have hit 50.
certainly looks like Nate Dog and pasta have a bit at it.
Yeah.
You could say Panarin, Kooch, and Point have a slight bit at it.
Well, Panarin has just as good a bit as pasta and Nate Dog.
Nate's got 44, pasta's got 44, bread's got 43, Kooch has 41, Pointer has 41.
10-ish games left.
So it really feels like pasta and mate have a legit shot.
Certainly pasta, right?
like goal scores guys.
Based on how he's scoring this year,
Brad definitely has a shot.
I mean, he's not the first name off the board
with goal scoring in all of the years
in his career past.
Yep.
But this year he's really tucking it.
So first thing I want to say to you
and shout out Blake, thank you for these stat pulls.
Reinhert was traded from Buffalo
for a first and a prospect.
Yeah.
And now has 50 fucking goals.
Like good prospects,
but it's just insane that a 50 goal score
was traded for that three years.
at the age of 25.
Yep.
2021.
It makes you nervous about the middle stat trade.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
You got a elite player in Bowen Byron back, but there was a lot of Buffalo fans who,
his name was in the mixer, and people were like, please don't trade him.
Yeah.
And then bang.
So.
A 2021 off season, Zach Hyman not resigned by Toronto, five and a half mil by seven.
Is the deal he gets.
It's just brutal.
In my opinion, this one is worse.
Oh, I'm completely great for you guys.
It was unreal.
And not bringing him back, especially when you look at the hole in that position on the Leafs lineup, is like, what are you doing?
I mean, like, they filled it this season with Domi and Bertuzi and Nyes, but like it's more of just like what could have been.
Yes, dude.
And 5.5 million for Zach Hyman is, that's almost a bargain contract.
And that was signed on a July 1st opening free agency day.
That is ridiculous.
I mean, it's the best contract in the league.
It's insane.
It has to be one of the best.
It's, yeah, so frustrating.
So massive regrets there.
And then this one I wanted to bring up to you guys.
At the end of last season, okay, 96 different players have ever scored 50 goals in a season in the NHL.
It's happened 205 times because guys have done it more than once, obviously, but 96 players have ever done it.
Now 98, because Hyman and Reiner had never done it.
Matthews had already done it.
Yeah.
Of those 98, how many you think?
do you think only did it once?
Like 80 or 70?
I bet it's high.
Yeah.
I bet it's like, I'm going to call it 64.
50.
So it's about half, which I thought it was going to be way higher.
You know, I was like, oh, wow, there's going to be a bunch of guys.
But, dude, the more I thought about it, I was like, no, not totally true because the guys, it was just so much scoring back then.
Like the guys that were kind of big scores, like you were doing it a handful of times.
Or you just don't really sniff it.
Like, you know what I mean?
Like, there's a few really funny examples.
Like, some guys have never scored 50 but have 60 once.
Yeah.
You know, you're, what the fuck, dude?
And but it made me think, like, and Kreider, who has become, like, a significant goal score in this league.
But I don't think he'll ever sniff 50 again.
Like, he's going to be a 35 goal score.
I wonder what he has this year.
I think it's mid-30s.
But, like, I don't even know if he'll get into 40s again in his career.
I think he's a 40 guy.
Maybe.
But it's funny.
He was a 20.
guy every year for 10 years.
Then he scored 50 and then he became a
35 plus guy. So my question
to you guys was going to be, and this isn't
a knock at all, I'm just curious what you guys think.
Do you think Hyman and Reinhert are those
candidates for the one and duns?
Like, wow, what a year and congrats and no one
can ever take that from you, but you will never even fucking
come close to 50 goals again. I don't
because
Reinhert is 29, I believe
28, 29. 28.
28. 28.
28. I think, and on what a team he is. Yeah. And he's got some big moves coming next there. Yes. And if he resigns with that Florida team, playing with those guys for that much longer, I think it would be foolish to say he'd never sniff it.
Hyman, I think is a bit older. He's 31, right? Pulling that up right now. I think he's 31. And that's still not old.
No, God, no. Better not be. I, are they both candidates? Yes. I don't think it's a good.
bet to bet against them though because
Zach Hyman had 80 or something
points last year. Yeah and I think he might have scored
40 though. Did he score 40 last year?
36. Okay yeah. And I remember
people going what a fucking flash in the pan
that was. And then here he is now
with 50 goals and what does he have? 30 something
assists. 23 assists.
What's the most Heimann had goals?
I mean Reinhert.
Prior to this year. Yeah. I think
it was
Reiner I believe had 73 points last year.
Him and Verhege. Both.
just had like dominant years last year.
I think he had 73 points.
But look that up.
Hyman is going to finish with 80 points again probably.
Yeah.
And you're playing with Connor and Leon.
That's why I like him to do it again.
The Reinhert one is a little bit, and again, we said this top of the episode, I don't
care about this, but the year Crider scored 50, he also had like 30 power play goals.
Yeah.
Like it feels like almost a carbon copy of like, oh, wow, it all came together this year.
So his shooting chart.
Like what you're looking at, it's like,
I think it's like 38 of his 50 goals are literally on the craze.
And I'm like, what?
And I think the biggest thing that was crazy to me was like 200 plus shot attempts in that.
Yeah, yeah.
Crazy.
So I think I'm taking Reiner.
But I think they both can do it.
So Reinhart set a career high in goals in his first year with Florida, 21, 22, with 33.
Then the following year had 31 goals.
Then this season with his 50 burger.
But he set his career high in points.
in that first year with Florida with 82 points.
Following year, 67 points.
Now he's got a new career high with 83 and counting.
Yeah, nice.
So yeah, and listen, hell of a season, boys.
Interesting that they're both.
And this is why I am just always so impressed with guys like McKinnon, Pasta, and Panarin, and Cooch.
Interesting that Hyman and Reiner are both 50 goal guys and have 30 or less assists.
Yeah.
what is, Reiner has 33 assists or something.
Like they're both those like very top heavy scorers.
Pasta and Nate Dogg and Kooch are out here being like, I'm going to score 50 and I also
have 50.
Yeah, and if Nate Dogg and Bread get 50 this year, that'll be two more new faces.
Like those are also very exciting to see Bread.
People don't realize this.
Panarin is about to get 100 points for the first time in his career.
Dude, and he had never scored more than 30.
Like his rookie year, I brought this up on the pod.
a few weeks ago. He scored 31 or something. His rookie year. I think he's 32 years old. And I never
scored 30 again. People were starting this year being like Panarin, Kreider, and Mika are getting
older for that ranger score. And Panarin's like, well, I'm having far and away the best year of
my entire life. Insane. He would have gone over 100 in that shortened season. Yeah. But he's never
had over 100. And he's about to do it now. I think if Nate Dogg gets to 50 goals and Colorado
wins the division, I think he went to the heart. It was my pick a long time ago. I think
Yeah, so I guess that's the race.
Nate Dog to 50 and McDavid to 100.
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docks, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now.
Let's flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing with Acrobat.
Learn more at Adobe.com.
slash do that with Acrobat.
Okay, let's strap the buckets on, get into the hot ice.
Blake, can you take us through this first topic, please?
Yep, so we got a tough topic here.
Just first off, want to touch on the passing of Chris Simon.
It was a long-time NHeller, he passed away at the age of 52,
played 782 regular season games in the NHL,
won a Stanley Cup in 96 with the avalanche.
So, yeah, you know, it's tragic.
Yes.
Tragic passing.
Not easy to talk about it.
It adds to the laundry list of players who have, you know, been played this type of role in the NHL and then post-career have passed away due to symptoms relating to CTE.
Because obviously CTE is a, it can't be diagnosed till post-mortem.
So, you know, you never know until they're gone.
And Simon's family has, you know, admitted that Chris has struggled with symptoms of CTE in his, you know, years ending his career.
And I think the one thing that sticks out to me is the comments that the NHL made literally a day and two days after the passing.
Bill Daley was quoted as saying the science is still lacking in regards to the NHL changing its views,
unrepeated blows to the head and the connection to CTE.
it's insane that these comments come one day after this.
Like it's,
and I mean,
he's put in a tough situation,
I'm sure.
But I don't know,
what are your guys' thoughts on the,
just the overall topic of CTE in hockey and how it relates?
I think there's one thing to point on is,
this is a player that is from kind of the old generation,
that older regime,
where the game was pretty,
you know,
barbaric and borderline messed up.
Yeah. So,
you know,
we're not going to see similar cases.
like this going forward, but it is still a point of emphasis to acknowledge and look at why did
this happen? How did this happen? How can we, you know, make sure it doesn't happen?
Yeah. On the one hand, there are so many people who have issue with the way leagues handle this
stuff on the topic of the pacification, if you will, of sports. I give a ton of credit to the league
for the rules that have been put in place to protect guys.
Call me a bitch if you want, but I think it's great.
I think there are so many people who try to pride themselves on that take of going,
oh, this isn't how the game used to be played.
And I'm like, yep, that's true, dude,
but guys also used to play without helmets, including goalies.
And that is stupid.
So I think it's great that it's changing for the better.
It's caring about people's health to a greater extent,
and I think that needs to continue on and on and on.
I can't believe comments like that.
I think it's gross and crazy.
I don't understand.
People that don't believe in CT or what?
To simply say the science is lacking
is just, it feels like such a bottled polish
and protect the shield response
when I'm like, you're fucking human, man.
It's, first of all, if someone in,
and I'm not saying this is happening,
but if one of your employers is telling you
you have to say that and you have to make that comment, fine.
I think that's bullshit, but fine.
Wait a few days.
Don't say it the day after this man has tragically passed away.
So that shit, I think, is awful and needs to, the political response in regards to this type of thing.
We're talking about people's lives is so mental to me.
Cut that shit out.
I also don't understand denying the science of CT.
Yeah.
It's like people denying climate change to me.
And you have your opinions, and if you're a good person, I'll respect you no matter what your opinions are.
We can agree to disagree on certain things.
But I just don't understand it when people are like, yeah, the science isn't there.
And I'm like, excuse me?
Well said on all that.
Completely agree.
All I'll add on this topic is this.
And I'm not even, I'm not an anti-fighting guy at all in hockey.
I like fighting in hockey.
I think people that see fighting and hear,
about stuff like this, think that that's the issue. It's not. People aren't really getting concussions
from getting punched in the face. They're getting their nose broke. It's, it's barbaric,
whatever you want to call it. But that's not really the issue. You keep your helmets on what
you're fighting now, so you don't fall and hit your head. The refs do a great job. When Helmonds do come
diving in, breaking up fights where gets to that point, where this is happening is those fucking
blind side hits to the head. And I don't want to call anybody out in the league right now. It's a very
fast game. People drop their level sometimes. It's hard. You know, whatever. But I'm telling you as a
former player in current beer leager, there are moments when you could, someone's not looking and you want,
like you can feel yourself being like, oh, there's that big hit. Don't do it, dude. You're just,
you're just hurting people to hurt them. Like literally, it's like a malicious act. And the league is doing a
great job already. They're calling that penalty as much as possible. But it's like, my God,
dude, if you want to get anything, if I had one genie, snap my fingers,
one wish out of the game. It's no one would get hit like that ever again. I don't want hitting to go
away. I want people to get popped over the middle. We don't even see enough open eyesits anymore,
in my opinion. But it's just hit them in the body, dude. Football, in my opinion, is going to be
fucking gone in 15 years or different than we've ever seen it because it's just like people are
dying, dude. It's ridiculous. It's like the fucking Coliseum. We go watch these people beat their
brains in. And I'm like, are we paying for this? This is insane. I don't want hockey to get to that
point ever. And I'm so sorry this stuff was happening. It was happening more in the older generation,
but it's not gone
and we need to keep pushing it
that direction.
And I will,
just to add on to that,
also well said,
sir.
I will call people out right now
and I'm not calling out the player.
I'm calling out the
dialogue surrounding it.
Matt Rempey.
The Nate Bastion hit.
Well,
and the Seagenthaler.
Yeah, yeah.
I'll get to that.
The Nate Bastion hit.
New York Rangers fans
going,
keep your head up, buddy.
Go fuck yourself.
Yeah.
Like I'm,
I'm saying that to your fucking face right now.
Go fuck yourself.
Because if you want to have that attitude, sure.
But at the end of the day,
and I don't think Matt Rampi did this intentionally,
that was a targeted hit directly at his head.
That is stupid.
You're absolutely right, Chris.
Because you know how easy it is to throw a hip chuck there
to get a little bit lower?
I don't care how tall he is.
Or don't do it.
Yeah, dude.
Like, I know you're trying to make a difference,
but it's also make a difference not in an illegal way.
And kudos to the league for plays like that,
him getting tossed out, and then the horrible Siegenthalor elbow getting thrown out.
Like, that's what you need to have happen.
I think he's a fun player.
I think he's figuring it out, and he needs to keep figuring it out.
But again, not to target Rempi.
It's targeting the dialogue around it.
People being like, dude, like, you got to keep your head up or, you know, it's not his fault.
He said, I'm sorry it is.
Like, that's something you need to learn as a player.
And I couldn't agree with you more, man.
Being physical is such an important part of the game.
think it's ever going to go away, nor should it go away. But look at how many great effective
players there are in the league who use their physicality incredibly well who have never been suspended.
Yeah. Or have been suspended once. And they just lay great hip checks. They lay great body checks where
they're not targeting the head. And it's, I do hope that we get to a place where that
wires cross itch in certain players when they see a guy coming across the middle with their head down.
I'm going, oh, I'm going to fucking murder this guy.
I hope that goes away more, personally, because it's a beautiful game, and I don't think
guys getting their heads ripped off as part of the beauty.
Yep, personally.
Okay.
Last thing, just to touch on that, is I think the NHL has done a good job in progressing their
post-career treatment of players.
Nice, Blake.
And how they, you know, take care of their guys.
And there's been a lot of fighting done by the NHLPA to get these kind of practices implemented.
So, you know, just want to see more of that and more care, whether they were a fighter or not.
Yeah.
There needs to be a program and a kind of a curriculum set in place that, okay, when an NHL player retires,
what are we putting them through to set them up for a successful post career?
Because I think there's too many guys like this where it's just like, oh, they're a pro athlete,
they're done, they're on their way, all right, we don't need to worry about them.
Like, they are still your entity and your asset.
Like Chris Simon passing away, yes, he's not playing for an NHL team, he's not working for an NHL team, but it still reflects on the NHL.
Yeah.
So I think we'll love to see more progression on that.
100%.
It's just something starting is simply with just a better support system of knowing that you're not going to be left out in the cold.
Yeah.
So the more progression from the league on that, the better.
That's all.
Absolutely. Let's have a little bit more fun.
Yes.
And play some what happens when, what happens if?
I love it.
And Dan Blake's got some fun questions for us right here.
Yeah, so first one.
So these are kind of just like little hypothetical situations that we're kind of setting up
and trying to put our genie ball together and look into the future.
So what happens when the kings lose to the Oilers in the first round for the third straight year in a row?
What happens if the Oilers lose in the first round?
Because we likely hypothetically think if those two face off, we think the Oilers are going to win.
so what happens when they hypothetically...
This might be my favorite one that we're going to do
because this one is the most bombastic in my opinion.
The Kings, we've been saying over and over,
they were looking like, oh no, that core's dead,
that core's aging out, and they are now in a full rebuild.
The core hung around a bit.
Dewey and Copey playing awesome.
You bring in Fiala, Q's having a big year.
That's this year, but you know what I'm saying?
Like two years ago, they have that really good series with you.
They make the playoffs, surprisingly.
You know, you're like, oh shit, the Kings are in the playoffs.
They have that great series with the Oilers.
It goes seven, two years ago, I think.
And then they lose.
But it's like, damn, wow, we had them.
Last year they play them, it goes six, but we both agreed.
Oh, they should have won.
They should have won, and it was a step forward.
Like, you guys played better.
This looks awesome.
You're really excited.
Coming into this year, they start the year the hottest team ever,
and I'm like, wow, man, the Kings are doing it.
Go in that insane, insane tailspin, coaching change,
struggling, limping in here, like, or whatever, Vegas is kind of limping even worse, but like,
you know, limping in, aren't the team everyone thought they were, here come the big bad
Oilers again in the first round.
If they get popped in five, it is a massive step backwards.
And I think you might even see GM changes.
On this topic, this King's team has been a disappointment this year.
Yeah, starting in whenever that happened.
No doubt about it.
December.
Two things really, really disappoint me with this King's team.
One, everyone felt that if the goalie situation gets better, this King's team will step above the Oilers.
Yep.
By game 10 of this season, the goalie situation was not better.
Yep.
And that includes Talbot playing out of his boots.
Yeah, because that's not something you did.
Correct.
I think it is a massive failure of management to have not addressed the goal of situation immediate.
And you guys both know.
I have been saying that on this podcast since October, since November.
I've been saying Copley's not playing like they wanted him to.
He's not the certified number one guy.
You're getting bailed out by Cam Talbot right now.
And good for you.
But do we see that as a long-term solution?
Absolutely not.
So the fact that they all season did nothing about that
and then more importantly at the deadline did nothing about that
and I know they made an attempt
and oh Mark shut it down
but you also did that in the last day.
Yeah.
What were you doing the entire week?
What were you doing the entire month?
2024, yeah.
I think that's a massive failure.
The other failure that I don't think a lot of people see.
You don't see it until you look closely
or if you're not a serious Kings fan.
This is a team that over the last three or so years
has had the unanimous number one prospect collection of young players in the NHL.
And right now you look at it and I think maybe two of them in QB and Spenny and maybe Leferrier
Leferrier are still on the team.
The rest have been traded away and the assets back have not been performing.
I want to give stick taps to PL.
Last 20 games has been much better.
He's playing close to a point per game.
that stretch. But there's just been management failures across the board. And the, even losing a
first round last year to the Oilers again, like you said, I felt better. I thought they progressed.
The vibes going into the season with that big PL trade, everything was just buzzing. Yep. And to be
getting a season like you're getting from Dewey, from Copey,
and just have these little failures holding this team back,
I think, agree.
You never want to see it,
but I'd be surprised if there aren't some big change.
Let me just ask you both this, and then you weigh in.
If the Kings finish the season strong,
they don't catch Edmonton, but they finish the season strong,
go to the first round matchup,
split the first two, split the next two,
lose five, win six,
and lose game seven in Edmonton in overtime.
And it's like every game is a one-goal game,
and they give the Oilers a fucking fistful.
I think everyone survives.
I really do.
Yeah, I agree.
I think everyone would survive.
It's, I mean, losing in seven to this surging Edmonton Oilers team is so honorable, especially.
And I'm kind of like, all is forgiven for me almost.
I'm like, well, you guys are, you're okay.
I think everyone on the team would survive.
I think there would be still some changes within management.
I don't know if that is the GM or people underneath him around him.
But my biggest question in the offseason is, how much does,
does QB asked for?
And can they find a way to keep Matt Roy?
So Matt Roy is on it.
No, Matt Roy is gone.
I think Cube gets seven and a half a year.
Yeah.
I think over eight would be a rich request from him.
And I'm not saying a team wouldn't do it, but he's RFA, so they're not in fear.
No one's going to offer sheet him.
I think seven and a half.
I think he signs eight by seven and a half.
And I think that you're thrilled with that.
Yeah, and I think with the cap increase, Copa tar going from 10 million to 7 million, Roy off the books, they'll definitely have the cap to do it.
It's then where do they find the money to create the space for the goalie?
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
I think it's very clear, and it's another management failure.
If you are this King's team with this team and, like, you've got two years left here of Copie and Dewey.
That's it.
Sorry.
if there is not a significant trade made for a goalie, you're idiots.
I'm telling you this to your face, King's organization.
You are absolute morons.
So figure that out immediately.
And that's going to require a trade.
You're going to have to lose a piece.
Second half of this question.
Yes, dude.
So this one, bro, I love this so much.
I've got a very hot take on this.
Because remember, don't forget, dude, last year, do you remember those pressers last year
from the boys?
Yep.
where they're just like devastated and they're like this something's got to change you know we're
banging our heads against the wall like i thought there was a decent chance and obviously i was way
off but i thought there was a decent chance that huge changes happened in edmonton last summer
just because and it was reactionary by me and them but just that it was like what are we doing here
like we've got the we've got the two best players in the league and we can't get out of the
fucking second or i guess they went to the western finals two years ago but you know what i mean like
can't get over the hump can't do it can't do it and then they ran it back and when they
started the year in a disaster, I was like, holy shit. But then they obviously have pulled it
together, the best team in the league. And I think they're a massive cup contender. If they lose
in the first round to the kings, to the fucking kings, bro, heads are going, there's going, the
oilers are going to look so different next year. You won't even believe it. And I don't,
you, I'll let you maybe lays out some specifics in your hot takes, but this would be like
20, 24, 25 NHL altering if they lose in the first round this year. Yeah. Um, so,
I think that Oilers are one of the most interesting teams running.
You have it pulled up, but if you look at their situation, they've got a lot of guys that are out of contract next year.
So they've got moves to make, things to do.
Here's my big one.
If they see the Kings in the first round, I do not think they lose.
Me neither.
I really do not.
If the Edmonton Oilers, even with the slow start, lose in the second round or early,
year. Leon Drysidal has one year left on his contract after this season, which means this
summer he is eligible for renegotiation and extension. Yep. If they lose in the second round or
sooner, I think Leon Drysidal, Matthew Kchucks himself, and demands a trade. Demands one. Yes.
Oh, you think it's him asking. Yeah, that's what I'm question, because I think I would do it if I'm
them too. I'd be like this. You don't have to demand one, dude. Goodbye. I, I, I, I,
I don't think that that's off the table.
Yeah, not that it's his fault.
I mean, we're not moving these two guys.
I think Leon Drysidal goes,
it ain't me, babe.
Like, I'm not Connor.
I'm not the face of the league.
I'm not the face of this team in this franchise.
Connor's got two years after this.
Leon's only making 8-5.
Leon is 29 years, 28 years old,
about to be 29.
I think he goes,
I'm out.
I've spent my, I came here from Germany.
I'm one of the best three players in the league
have been for the past five seasons
I don't need to be here
I don't need to be in Edmonton anymore
dealing with this bullshit media
dealing with this bullshit team dealing with this bullshit team
dealing with these failures if they lose in the second
round of before and the Oilers don't do it
themselves yeah I think Leon goes hey guys
I'm not I'm not resigning here
I'm not doing this again
trade me now get a ton of value but I want out
and I think he is well within his right to do it
and I think he should do it
Agree.
All right.
Next,
hypothetical,
what if,
what happens when?
What happens
if the Islanders
miss the playoffs?
What happens
when the
Devils miss the playoffs?
I think both
are missing the playoffs.
Ooh,
okay.
I mean,
the devils are dead.
Yeah, yeah,
sorry.
I think the devils
are going to,
I think,
I hate talking about
people getting fired.
Yeah.
I'd be shocked
if Fitz doesn't get fired,
personally.
I felt the same way
about Lindy.
Lindy obviously got fired.
I'd be very surprised if Fitz doesn't get fired.
I think the devils are missing the playoffs.
And then I think all the trade rumors we heard about sending very significant pieces for a starting goalie is going to happen immediately.
And if it doesn't, you're idiot.
All I'll say there is I think Fitz, man, tough.
But what I was going to say is this.
I think Fitz actually will be gifted this summer to do those things you just said.
And part of me is like that's insanity based on how poorly, in my opinion, the very same man handled the trade deadline that just happened.
So I'm like, why would you give him the tools to fuck up another huge trade window?
However, I do think he was being held in very high esteem coming into this year.
So it's almost like the season's been a melt, but they had a lot of injuries.
The deadline went poorly, which is on him.
But I'm almost like he has one more.
That was your strike.
and let's see what happens.
And if they come in,
if they do shit over the summer
and they come in and suck next year,
he will go for sure, in my opinion.
But I think he does get a pass
through this summer to try to be like,
yo, because I almost think his pitch was like,
dude, I tried to get in,
I tried to get marks from it.
I tried to get whatever.
People were being stingy at the deadline
or, oh, Mark, shut it down.
Give me the summer to make my moves
and this team will be ready next year.
So I think what happens
when the Devils miss the playoffs,
they're fucking,
they should be embarrassed, which they already are.
I know that.
Fitz is on the extreme hot seat.
It has this summer to fucking fix it.
And I hope genuinely, because I like that team,
that guys like Jack in that locker room and Brat and the boys use it as motivation to be like,
yo, we got kind of on our own shit coming into this year.
This is what happens when you get cocky.
I'm not saying like, that's why the miss playoffs.
I'm just saying like, wake up, dude.
I think it's okay to say that, Chris.
I like the, I think it's a huge slap in the ass.
I think it's a huge slap in the eye.
I do think they got cocky.
Yeah.
I think they got cocky very visibly,
and I think that there's things that we don't see.
But I think this is a big wake-up call for them.
I think it's going to be very good for this young core.
The big thing for them is I really hope they hire a good coach,
like a long-term coach.
I hope the kings do that too.
I hope they go, no more of this turnaround and kind of the like,
oh, you know, this is an interim guy,
but we're going to give them,
I hope they hire a coach that they're like,
we want this guy to be our coach for the next 10 years.
The Islanders?
I think nothing happens.
Just a question on the Devils.
If there's anyone in that young
core, you're going to go trade out for a goalie.
You ought to trade out a significant piece.
Who from that core are you trading if someone
from that core has got to go?
I think you can get a starting goalie with moving
a first round pick and Holter Mercer.
Mercer.
And he's great.
I'm not saying that's easy.
I'm not sure I consider those guys part of this
core.
They're 22 and 21 or both 22.
How old are those guys?
Yeah, both 22.
Like, you know, those are great young pieces.
You don't want to lose them.
But if you get a starting goalie for it, you're more than happy with that.
Yeah.
I think the big thing is to try to hold on to Hughes and Nemich.
Yeah, exactly.
There's no planet where those two get traded.
So to me, if you move a first and Holts and Mercer, one of the two, I mean, absolutely.
You can get an old mark.
You can get a, you can get a, you can get a, you can get a, you can get a, you can get
Markstrom, you could get a Saros, like it's, no doubt. The Islanders, I think nothing happens.
It's weird because I don't, I don't really get why they were not great this year, but at the
same time, like, they're kind of where I expected them to be. The Flyers is the big outlier.
No one expected this from the Flyers. I think no one's really expecting this from the Caps
right now, how they're surging. They should be better. Sorokin is having an off year. Absolutely.
I think that's hurting them. They've had a lot of defense injury issue.
um,
Lou,
I think Lou's big thing is like,
Lou does nothing.
He makes no trades.
He makes no moves.
Well,
he made a big move last year.
Like,
he put his chips in the table and he got Bo and Boe has been fantastic.
Yeah,
yeah.
So him doing nothing this year,
I think is annoying.
I'm sure Islanders fans were annoyed
because you look right now at the state of the league.
Right there.
Yeah.
We could have probably,
we could be doing what Washington's doing right now.
Um,
I think nothing happens.
I think Lou getting fired this summer would,
be like wow but yeah i don't think there's any chance lou gets fired i think you should get fired
yeah i think they need some new blood in there and like his stamp hat his i just don't love his style
like he needs to uh yeah to me it's like you just you bring in patrick waugh and like that's
lew's guy like i just don't think they're definitely riding that out because they're not gonna fire
wa yeah so i don't think you fire lew because wa's like i came here because of lew so i think
islanders fans you're stuck with that combo and islanders fans give me a lot of heat because i'm
always like, I don't think they're very good, but I don't. And what, because like, you go back five
years, conference semis, conference finals, conference finals, missed playoffs, lost first round. And I can't,
they didn't even deserve to get in last year, in my opinion. I don't think they deserve to get in
this year either. And similar to my devil's take, I almost think it's, it's, it helps you to not get
in. A, you get a slightly, slightly, slightly, slightly better draft pick. And B, you don't feel good. Like,
I don't think you should want to feel good after this year. If the islanders like, hell yeah, we're a
playoff team you want to feel like this come on we got to be better you want everyone in that locker
I'm wanting to be better you want everyone in management thinking we have to improve you know
not that they wouldn't think that if they're losing the first round but like don't I don't want
these guys being like good boys good job God in again I'm like dude you're not good so
dismissed thank you one thing I could see them doing is trading one of hulock or pellish
to try and improve their forward group yeah they have a good decor but again like we all
said we don't see Lou doing anything special yeah all right
with the next one and this one i fucking love too what happens when the canucks play
Vegas in the first round right stop there like the canucks are having the coolest season they've
ever had they they might win the fucking president's trophy they queen hues has a 80 points i know
pd's staying they got lindholm if the canucks and Vegas play in the first round and they almost
because how how many points do the canucks have they're at 98 yeah okay so yeah the abs and dallas are
right there. So it's, it will be tight. But Vegas is almost certainly the second wildcard team.
So, yeah, I don't see them catching Nashville. But then again, they could, but I'm just saying,
there are only five points back with a game in hand. Anything can happen. Yep, yep, yep. But I don't
see them catching Nashville. I don't see Nashville cooling off that bad. You're right.
How many games? Yeah, so, so I agree. I agree. I think it's probably, well, you know,
I don't know. Dallas or Colorado could easily take it. But just just do it with the Canucks because of the season they're having if you catch Vegas. Yeah. That series goes seven games. I think I think no question about it. I think that's just going to be a punch for punch seven games. And then as much as I love Vegas's steel, I really don't, I don't know what I see that game seven going.
Also, Vegas, Aiden Hill just got injured over the weekend, so no, not sure what the extent of that injury is.
And this is like his third injury in four months.
Like he's knocked.
Okay, there's a caveat.
If Hill is out, Vancouver wins.
Yes, but Demko's been out for weeks and like, I think he's going to be, all our reports are going to be fine.
Everything sounds very, they're like, yeah, Demko's hurt.
If Hill is out, Vancouver wins.
Let's say both goalies are in everything time.
And Stone's back.
Yeah.
But let's say what happens if the Canucks
losing that first round? I think nothing
dude. Honestly, and I don't think
it's that big of a deal. Okay.
I think this, I said a while
ago, this team's mentality
is Western Conference Finals are bust,
as it should be. They're a great team, they've been
great wire to wire, but so
many of them have never been in the playoffs.
This is going to be
very new for this group
if they lose to
the former Cup champions who just
loaded up. Yep.
And they get everyone back healthy.
There's nothing embarrassing about that, dude.
Great point, Dan.
And as far as like what happens, you go like this.
That fucking sucks.
Yes.
It's so unlucky that we caught, like, fuck you, Vegas that we're dealing with this, but
nothing happens.
It's like, it is what it is.
Like, that blows, but it is what it is.
That's my answer.
Yeah, I'm pretty similar because I agree.
They're not embarrassed by any means.
You're just devastated.
Like, devastated.
that this season, this run
with the performances, individual performances
you were getting from guys,
from the goaltenders to the forwards
to the defensemen
to just get popped in the first round
to a very worthy opponent.
But oh my God.
And by the way,
obviously we all think the Canucks
are on the rise here,
but maybe Edmonton
maybe Edmonton wins the cup this year,
everyone comes back and they don't fucking start
0 in 20 next year.
And like, you're certainly not the ones
eating in the Pacific anymore.
You know, maybe Vegas reloads big,
you know, my point is just like,
you've got to really.
as a Bruins fan, I can say very confidently.
You've got to really take advantage of these years
where you're one of the best teams in the league
and to just go out in the first round is...
If I'm the Kings, I'm dead-ass throwing games
and letting Vegas overtake me.
Yeah, you'd rather Vancouver.
Of course you would, yeah.
I'm like, you'd handle Edmonton.
Yeah, yeah.
Last one.
What happens if the Jets lose in the first round?
Because, you know, they're in that jam-packed central division.
They just had a rough three-game losing streak this past week.
So they're likely going to play Dallas
or Colorado in that first round matchup.
So what happens to that team and franchise
if they lose in the first round?
I'll say this, dude.
When they lose in the first round?
Well, dude, hold on, because I will say
until that three game losing streak,
it looked like they were going to win the Central.
And like last week, last episode,
we said the first round matchup
could very well likely be Dallas, Colorado,
which is a fucking bloodbath in the first round.
Right now, certainly it's starting to break the other way,
but as you said, 10, 11 games left, whatever.
That's very catchable.
They got a game in hand on Dallas.
you know like they could they could get back up there um it's i don't think it's i don't think you meant this
i don't think it's a steamroll for colorado or dallas whoever catches the jets in the first round
i would be picking colorado or dallas over the jets i think but hella buck we were just talking about
this before you got walked in dan helibuck is having a fucking hella year and it's between him and bob
i think it's going to be the venezna um oh the venezna's locked hella won the vizna a month
i don't know dude bob's numbers are crazy it's he won a month ago um but anyway um but anyway
especially when you consider the division he plays in.
Well, yeah, so he can, he can steal that series.
Like, I like that fucking blows for Dallas or Colorado if whoever catches them, I think.
It's not, it's not a walk in the park.
The, I have a similar feeling to what you just said about the Canucks.
No shame in losing to Dallas or Colorado in the first round, especially without home ice.
But God damn, dude, coming into this off season, you're like, we're going to lose Hellibuck,
we're going to lose Shifley.
No one wants to be here.
And then you kind of like, you bring in some really cool guys.
guys in the PL
in the PL swing.
Then you go
Hellabuck re-signed,
Shifely re-signed,
Helibuck having a fucking
unbelievable year,
Shifely having an unbelievable year,
Tofoli coming in,
Monaghan coming in,
Kyle Connor should have scored 80
but he got hurt,
but I'm like,
hell yeah, boys.
And I'm like this,
and buried by Dallas
in the first round.
I'm like, dude,
you have got to be kidding me.
Such a killer.
So to answer your question,
what happens,
this is also nothing.
Like, it just sucks.
And this is where
I hate the playoff,
breakdown because yes
are we getting insane matchups in the first
round? We sure are. But
you're also losing the best teams
in the first round just like last year.
And it's fucking stupid. I don't like it at all.
And it's just a bummer, dude.
Like when you have a team right now
in the center, or excuse me, when you have a division
with the Central and your first three teams
have 97, 97 and 93 points,
it's just a shame that two of those three have to play
each other. Like that's
crazy.
my opinion. So, God, yeah, I flip-flop on it so much. I do think I would rather just the one through
eight. You guys know, I always pitch like one through 16. Like, I don't give any shit about East
West anymore either, just like fucking best team plays the worst team. Here's a move they could get in
front of this offseason. So say they, yeah, they do lose in that first round, whether they lose
or not in the first round. Kyle Connor, after this season, will have two years left at 7.1.
He's 27 years old right now. He'll probably be, you know, 28 when that new season starts.
do they look at trading Kyle Connor?
No.
So, but Dan, hear me out.
That guy, I can almost guarantee, is not resigning long term in Winnipeg.
Fair.
Do they play another season with him, which could totally make sense, you know,
be another competitive team, have another good year, then look at trading him.
But if you could trade him this off season for a piece that comes back.
A good piece because you have control, contract control.
You're getting Kyle Connor for two full years under contract at a decent number,
at a really good number.
I think that could be a move they could look at.
It's similar to the PL one.
They know that guy's not going to be resigning long term with them.
Well, why do you say he's not resigning?
And the reason I bring this up is because we were saying the same thing about Shifley and Hallibuck
just this past.
Yeah, yeah, fair.
So, like, I hear you.
And if there's a PL situation where he's saying stuff that I haven't heard yet and he's
like, oh, I'm fucking gone, then absolutely you do it.
But I don't know, man.
I look at the Jets and how sick they are and they just resigned their unbelievable center and their
Vesna winning goalie.
And I'm like, if I'm called Connor, I'm like, we have a chance to win a cup here.
Like, if you're happy there, you're staying.
Yep.
Again, if there's stuff that I don't hear about, I don't know.
But I'm saying I don't even sniff moving that guy unless he has explicitly said I am unsure about resigning him.
Right.
because before Shifley and Helibuck,
I would have been completely on board with this
of like no one wants to play in Winnipeg.
But I think they shut that down.
Both of those guys were like, nope, we're here.
And they signed friendly deals.
Yeah, true.
Kind of like.
Like what if it's, you know, they have a conversation with him.
And again, so this is pure speculation.
Like he has not came out and said,
oh, I hate Winnipeg.
I don't want to be here.
I want to play for this team.
None of that has been said.
This is purely speculation.
Being an American player playing college hockey,
just don't see him wanting to play his whole year,
whole career in Winnipeg.
What do you think about this, you know,
situation in this offseason where they kind of go to Connor,
you know, you can't sign an extension this offseason,
but they kind of talk to them and say,
look, what does that number look like?
What is that going to look like an off season from now?
They get some clarity on that,
and they get some, you know, idea of, okay,
if we did want to sign them,
this is what his number is going to be at,
what could we trade them for?
Yeah.
So I look at a team we just talked about the Islanders.
They always need goal scoring,
a swap of something like Pewlock or,
or Pellich for Kyle Connor,
and it's probably the defenseman plus something else for Connor.
Yeah, it has to be.
But some swap like that where it's a team that needs offense
trading with the Jets that needs all the help they can get.
They're not going to sign those premium free agents.
It's just not going to happen.
Yeah, which is kind of why you're saying the Jets aren't?
The Jets aren't, yeah.
Which is kind of why I'm like.
Keep them.
Yes.
Obviously keep them.
Yeah, yeah.
But it's more of if you could get another core piece back that is wanting to be there.
Yeah, I guess.
I guess my thing is with Shifley and Hellebuck and, you know, your other core, you're kind of, your window is now.
Yeah.
That is the other point.
So I would not want to move Kyle Conner for like a Dawson Mercer for example, like a young guy that's going to be great in five.
I'm like, no, he's great.
Now he's a 50 goal score right now.
Yeah.
Why would you move that?
Like I, yeah, yeah, no way.
I wouldn't move him for borderline any return within reason unless he is like.
Like, I am fucking out of here next year.
So there you go.
Yep.
It'll be interesting, though.
They'll have an interesting off season if they pick it past in the first.
Guys, by now you know that we have partnered with BetMGM this season, and it is without
question the best online platform to make all of your bets.
And we are entering the most exciting time in the hockey season.
The playoff race is out of control.
There's important games night in and night out.
And Stanley Cup playoffs are right around the corner.
So you want to get on BetMGM and get into all that action.
And even better, BetMGM is currently doing.
their bet insurance promotion up to $1,500.
So if you bet anything up to $1,500 if you win, enjoy it.
Get all those winnings.
And if you lose, BetMGM will put the losses back into your account.
It is an absolute no-brainer.
So get in on all this action, download the BetMGM app and use promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
and enjoy every single pick that you could ever want.
And we're going to be throwing you winners all day.
probably some losers too but listen we're trying it's the best and bet mGM is the best way to do it
gambling problem call 1 800 gambler available in the u.s call 8778 hope n why or text hope
n y 467 369 in new york call 1 800 327 5050 in massachusetts 21 or older only please gamble
responsibly call 1 800 next step in arizona 1 800 bets off in iowa 1 800 9 8100 0 0 023 in porto
first bet offer for new customers only subject to eligibility requirements
rewards are non-withdrawable bonus bets that expire in seven days in partnership with
Kansas crossing casino and hotel see betmgm.com for terms
US promotional offers not available in DC Mississippi New York Nevada Ontario or Puerto Rico
all right we're doing overtime Blake talk us through some Arbchair GM
so last week's theme was players under the age of 23
Chris had a landslide victory 31 to 17
Creates?
17?
Yeah, yeah.
You're not good at them.
Did I just said to Blake?
I was like, it is killing me that you love this stuff and are so much better at than me and know everything about this shit.
But like even your picks are bad.
You just keep getting so lucky.
Hey?
And the total score is 255 to 233.
Run out of time.
What happened last week?
So you had Badard, get two a six.
Raman had five points. Mo Sider had four points, but Wyatt Johnson only had one assist,
and Jake Sanderson had a big old goose egg. You did get Lucas Dostol getting a shutout victory,
so that was huge, but, and then Chris had the Hughes brothers go off for him.
Oh, yeah, you had one good game. Yeah. So, great.
Yeah, the new theme this week is non-first round picks.
Okay, Chris, go first. Okay. Okay, first, I have no choice. I have to go Couturey.
Absolutely. No question about it.
I think I am going to...
There's two guys that I really want.
I think I'm going to ride with my heart,
even though this is stupid because Chris might be able to scoop this guy,
but I'm going to take Roman Yose.
For my next pick,
Keynes did me good last week. I'll go Aho.
I think I'm going to go Braden Point.
Let's ride the 50 goal guy.
Give me Zach Hyman.
I will go ahead and scoop.
I got to go krill.
I got to go Caprize of.
All right, D, give me Vince Dunn.
I feel like this is obvious.
Maybe hottest team in the league, Adam Fox.
All right, let me close up my D.
Give me Devontase.
I'll round out my group with Carter Verhege.
And then goalie.
I feel like I've been stroking him all episode.
Give me hell of buck.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Give me Soros.
Good one, Dan.
Really good.
They're firing.
Good one.
All right, and now it's time for saucy predictions.
My least favorite part of the week.
My favorite.
Last week, or I guess two weeks ago,
dude, I shouldn't even have to eat this week.
This is bullshit.
I had said that Toff would have four points in three games for the Jets.
He had five points in two games,
but just not the two I said.
He had no points in his first two, two points in his net.
That's it?
What do you mean that's it?
There's a huge glob of that on top.
Two points and then three, so I got screwed.
So I'll eat, but I want to protest this.
What was your prediction that you missed horribly?
I didn't miss horribly at all.
Oh, yeah, you kind of got screwed too.
What was it?
Yeah, I think it was Detroit.
I said Detroit would be in the playoffs above the Islanders, and they were.
But I think I said they would be in like the first.
wild yeah yeah all right here we go okay cheers god damn you just massive bites too just really
get the sauce in there there's no escaping it just marinate your tongue you know ridiculous hot sauce
I think I it was like two weeks ago I said I think I'm getting better yeah he did and
my initial reaction is getting better,
but the build does get me.
Yeah, it's like the side of the mouth.
It's currently spreading throughout my entire mouth,
and I hate it.
Okay, I'll start and make my prediction.
We said one of the cool races right now
is if Connor McDavid will get 100 assists.
He currently has 91.
He has three games this week until next episode.
Fuck.
I think
In
these three games
Connor will have
Is five enough? Or do I have to say six?
Yeah, six.
Come on!
Five's okay.
Five's okay?
Five's okay? He'll have five assists in three games.
Okay.
Vegas
Vegas is four points up from the blues right now.
It makes the entire body hot.
I know.
I start sweating.
Fuck, my phone just moved, dude.
Vegas is four points up from the Blues right now.
They play at St. Louis tonight.
Part of a four-game road trip.
At Blues, Preds, Jets, Wild.
All teams fighting for it.
Brutal road trip.
This is where Vegas locks it in.
They go 4-0.
Wow.
Wow.
Crystal be eating chicken next week.
That is saucy.
Those are our saucy predictions.
The eyes are watering.
The tongues.
Swelling.
Crazy week.
Shit's getting even more intense.
Stay dialed in.
We love you guys.
Stay tuned for all of these
awesome interview episodes
that are dropping every Monday.
Check out Swaggy P
that came out this week.
We've got tons of more stuff.
We're headed to Colorado.
I emoji.
Going to have some avalanche coming on.
Exciting stuff coming up.
Subscribe to YouTube.
Guys.
If you listen to the show, hit subscribe.
A lot of you are listening
and you're not even subscribed.
Hit subscribe to YouTube.
We love you guys.
Until we see you next time.
Skate hard.
