Empty Netters Podcast - 87. Kucherov is Going to Cuck McDavid
Episode Date: April 10, 2024Connor thought he was going to get all the flowers but he forgot one very important thing. That’s Nikita Kucherov, mate. We’ve got more empty net drama, a line brawl at MSG, a Hobey Baker snubbing..., and the Stars are too rich for their own good. Plus, all the first round matchups that have the boys on the edge of their seats. SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (0:47) - Chris Broke his Hand (4:50) - No Buckie Warm Up (5:04) - Rangers/Devils Line Brawl (8:21) - Miller vs Marino (14:12) - Sen/Devils Empty Net Drama (24:06) - Historic Art Ross Race (30:44) - The Stars are a Wagon (38:10) - Sergachev back at practice for Tampa (41:31) - Coyotes Arena Land Bid Update (46:25) - NCAA Free Agent Signings (1:01:15) - Hobby Baker Finalists (1:06:41) - Hot Ice (1:06:51) - The Dream Come True 1st Round (1:15:43) - Penguins are not out of it (1:21:46) - Top 3 teams heading into playoffs (1:26:51) - Wrapping up Arm Chair GM (1:28:09) - Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, we got a full online brawl at MSG, Devils Rangers, bare-knuckle boxing, let's go.
My boy, Sidney Crosby has brought the penguins back from the dead if they can get past the Red Wings who are somehow back in a playoff spot themselves.
This weekend in St. Paul, Minnesota, we got the Frozen Four.
We're doing a preview.
These teams are going head-to-head to see who the Natty championship is.
And Dan and I are predicting first-round matchups, and there are some that I am salivating.
about. I need a few of these
matchups.
Ice is ready and
we are back with another episode
of the Empty Netters podcast.
Before we get into all the crazy shit
that's going on in the hockey world,
CP, you're not wearing your cast.
Yeah, I took it right off. Broke my hand, though.
Broke my hand, ladies and gentlemen.
Playing hurt. Out here playing
hurt for the followers.
Blake, do you think there's a chance
that Chris is just
a big crybaby
Biocch and he's faking injuries all the time. First he's got the groin, now he broke his hand.
Look at, I see nothing wrong with the hand. Dude, this camera can't get close enough, but it is
no, I think it is purple. Look, I think there's nothing wrong with that hand.
It's so bruised and disgusting. It's a worry. No, I can see the swelling. Like, look at that,
dude. Can you see the coloration? Hold on. I can see the different coloration and, yeah,
that is, that's purple and, and, yeah. That's purple. And, and, yeah.
That's for sure.
His hand's broken.
It's broken.
His hand's broken.
I don't have sympathy for you because it's selfish.
It's selfish.
You're costing me because now you can't play a beer league no more.
I know.
I just said to Blake before you got in here.
I was like, the thing I was most mad about when it happened was, I was like, wow, dude, that's four or six weeks out of hockey.
We were skiing and.
Damn, dude.
C.P. fell, doing nothing.
Like, I'm not saying he's an idiot.
It was just like one of those weird things skiing along a flat, not paying attention, looking at his ski.
Got a tip.
Got an edge.
Oh, yeah.
Big deal.
Big time.
Big time.
Big time.
Breaks his hand.
Then like a warrior skis the rest of the weekend.
Like one pole, one hand did just kept going.
I think it was six, seven days later he goes to the clinic and they're like, yeah, your hand is shattered.
He fucking shattered it.
and so I commend you
but
but
it's you know
this is the type of guy
who just plays hurt
all the time
he's not going to be able to walk
like if you
god forbid if you ever procreate
yeah
you're not going to be able to play with your kids
because you're going to be a broken man
because you've just destroyed your body
and
all that said
he can't play hockey
and it's going to be really hard to watch
because I know it's going to kill him inside
Yeah, this is going to be the real tough test is when this gets a little better.
Because I couldn't even hold the stick right now, but when this gets a little better
and I can hold the stick, but I'm still inside the range of the doctor being like, no,
that's going to be a tough one for me to not go out there because I feel like I just will.
Did you give you some exercises or something?
No.
What are you doing to be proactive?
I think you squeeze rice.
I think you put your hand in rice.
And once you can close a bit more.
Is that what the doctor said?
Or are you quoting scenes from?
from the fighter.
I think you absolutely.
I know I've seen,
I've got a final clip.
I've seen,
um,
uh,
an NBA guy say that.
Like that's how you strength out your hand.
You just squeeze.
Remember when Michael Thomas,
is that his name?
The old Saints.
Yeah.
I think he's,
I think he's the current.
He still plays for the Saints.
I don't know if he's not on the Saints.
Michael Thomas still plays the Saints.
Yeah.
Remember when he,
uh,
one off season came in and he said he grew his hands by a full inch?
He said he,
he said he did a bunch of,
uh,
exercises and his hands were bigger.
That's really funny.
That's insane.
You gotta hit him up.
He's a hand guy.
I'll DMM-G.
Yeah, he's a hand guy.
Yeah.
Stuff to see, man.
It's tough to see you hurt.
Yep.
Well, dude, I thank you for coming around because at the beginning you're like,
dude, I think he's a bitch.
And not that I was, not that I'm looking for the praise, but I was like, dude, I don't
say shit.
Like, I break bones and then just make sure everyone's trip goes smoothly.
No problems here.
I keep participating in everything.
And then I come back a week later and the doctor's like, you needed to seek medical attention
immediately.
All that's true, but let's not take it easy, buddy.
I taped that hand of yours up every single day going out onto the mouth.
I mean, he's not without attention.
I needed a little help.
And that's what we need in this world.
I need that support.
Needed a little help.
I mean, I get it, dude.
I get it.
We've got a big episode this week.
Lots going on.
We're talking about injuries.
We're talking about hands being broken.
We might as well talk about the line.
Surprise.
No one broke a hand.
in New York? Where was that game?
New York. Is that MSG, dude?
You know what? Surprisingly, I don't have much to say about this, so I'll let you take it away.
Here's what I have to say about it. I love that it happened.
You knew Rempey was going to go right away. I don't think we knew that the line brawl was happening.
You have a really funny comment about the matchups, which I want to get into in a second.
But I just want to say this first. The video of the TNT panel,
Oh.
Like Hank, you see Hank and like Ace is like running around.
For all the, and this might make us buffoons, I don't know.
But for all the anti-fighting crowd, you don't know how fired up hockey dudes get about fighting.
Like that happened.
And us and you and everyone in TNT and everyone I know was like, come on.
Yes.
It was awesome.
Oh, God.
Yes.
We had about seven different group chats lighting up.
being like, are you guys, is everyone watching?
Turn on the game right now.
Yeah, it was fucking sick.
That is the most classic.
You think hockey dudes don't love fighting?
Like, watch any hockey dude, watch that happen.
That was perfect.
The second it began, I turned the volume on the TV all the way up.
I pulled out my computer, got up Twitter immediately.
I had it like on seven different things.
And it is so funny how there are times where their fights are happening.
Or people are talking about fights and you're like, yeah, it's great.
But you know, you're not that fired up about it.
And then something like this happens.
And I'm like, oh yeah, this is the best thing in the world.
So it was awesome.
Absolutely incredible.
How many times did you guys rewatch it?
Like, I think I sat there and probably re-swiped on it five to seven times.
Because there was so much to see.
I was like, I've got to watch every angle here.
I think I scoured it on Twitter mostly because the coverage wasn't very good.
They, on TV, they were so hyper-focused on the Rempey McDermid fight, which I understand,
that they weren't capturing the fact that there was, you know, obviously they didn't do anything,
but there was a point where Chesty skated up to the blue line.
He had dropped his gloves and I was like, I want to see more of that.
It was awesome.
You love to see it.
I love, and I tweeted this, the photo of Keondre Miller holding Marino.
Oh my God.
Is such an unfortunate photo for Marino because I'm here to say,
Keondre didn't beat the shit out of him.
Keondre's not a fighter.
He won that fight, no doubt.
But it's not like it was a rockum-sock him.
beat down.
Key was like,
I'm bigger than you,
I'm stronger than you,
it was a mismatch.
I think you said,
and you're right,
Marino's got to pick
his opponents better.
Yeah,
but, like,
continue,
but...
All I was going to say
is that photo
makes it look like
he absolutely
ragdolled him.
And that's not the case.
That's what I'm saying.
I would say it was a ragdalling
because it wasn't like
he was pumbling him.
He was more just throwing him
around from his jersey and his arms.
Like,
if he wanted to,
too he could have just absolutely filled them in
and I think Marino was doing good defense
and trying to keep his distance. Bob and
we, man. By Ragdahl, I mean, beat the
shit out of him and he did just like... You didn't
get it like a ton of good shots in it was more
just like he could have had his way with this guy.
To me it was a bullying, not a beat down.
Like, Keondre was humoring him just like
ripping him around but God is that
photo good. And it is...
Can you pull that up? The fact that Keondre Miller
posted that to his
Instagram, it's in a slide.
He did Marino the
The gracious move, yes.
No, no, I think it is the first.
But he did the gracious move of not posting a single photo.
Because that would be a motherfucking to high heaven.
God, the fact that Marino's hands are up, like, protecting his face, too.
Oh, it's brutal.
And, God, I love Key so much.
I forget who Truba got in a fight with, but he also had his way with someone.
Yep.
So here's the thing, dude.
The Rangers won the game.
so it doesn't matter.
The devils won those fights.
That's what people aren't talking about.
McDermin won the fight against Rempey, definitely.
It wasn't a beatdown, but it was probably a 60-40 fight.
And I think by and large, more devils won the fights,
but this is the cockroaches, dude.
They just had that photo,
and then just the literal reality of that line brawl breaking out at MSG,
all momentum went to the Rangers.
It didn't matter that any devil.
Devils players won fights. It was like that was it. The Rangers won that event and that day
10 out of 10. I'll take it a step further, bro, and not that I need to convince you, obviously,
because I know you're on the rags now. To me, that moment, not I'm pointing at Keander, but I just
mean that moment and that excitement at MSG against the team that knocked you out last year,
those are the type of things that galvanizes an entire playoff run. Or, you know, like the rest
of a season where you're like, we won the cup because just like we had the line brawl against
our rivals at home and it was fucking sick and no one can stop us now.
Yeah.
Can I revisit something you said earlier this season?
Yeah.
Is it cool?
It makes you look pretty cool.
Okay, yeah, definitely.
It's a good point.
Yeah.
So the Bruins beat the Panthers over the weekend and that gets them four and no against
the Panthers this season.
When the bees played the Panthers for the first time this season, you had brought
up some quotes, people being like, yeah, you know, like, this is.
a revenge game, blah, blah, blah.
And you made the point, which I completely agree with, of saying, if you lose to a team in
playoffs and then beat them in the regular season the next year, that doesn't mean shit.
Especially when you were the favorite in the playoffs.
Yeah, and I completely agree.
I'll never understand people that got revenge, dude.
Got re-suck it.
And I'm like this, well, they ended your season and moved further in the playoffs.
So you're an idiot.
You are a buffoon.
this is different because the devils are out of the playoffs.
This beat down that the Rangers have been putting on the devils all season does feel like revenge
because the devils are a poverty franchise this season, humiliating themselves.
Jack Jack is out here saying people pay to watch me play and they've lost what it seems like
every single game since he said that.
It's just been nothing but fodder for Rangers fans to just rub it in devil's fans' faces.
and the fact that the devils are out of the playoffs,
this does feel like.
Dude, remember?
This felt like the icing on the cake of,
yep, you beat us last year in humiliating fashion.
We had zero excuse to lose that series,
but we are the best team in the NHL,
and you are not in playoffs.
Little brother, fuck off.
Yep.
Go die.
And I would like it even more if the devils were in the playoffs
because they'd be like,
and we're going to beat the brakes off you
as soon as we get there, too.
This reminds me of socks, Yankees,
O3, Yankees beat the Red Sox and, like,
horrific fashion game seven and then the next year a rod punch or uh veraac punches a rod in the
face and there's a brawl at fenway and i'm like let's fucking go dude and then the socks win
the world series that year break an 86 year curse you know and again the devils aren't even
in it so they don't even get to go defend themselves but i love this because the rangers are
like dude we will fucking go toe to toe knuckle to knuckle with all of you dude i don't give a
shit yeah man i mean it's i just gave johnny shit but as as corny as i thought the graphic looked
He is right, yeah.
They have a fuck you attitude this year.
And it's rivalries like this make hockey great.
And I feel like we've seen rival, not rivalries die, but growing up for us, B's Montreal,
one of the great rivalries in the world.
That is non-existent right now.
When the Bruins and Canadians play right now, it's a very routine game.
You know what I mean.
It's not a routine game, but there isn't that bad blood feeling.
So getting more stuff like this is the best.
And I'll tell you what, dude, there's a lot of things to like about the Rangers this year.
Obviously, I'm on them.
And there's a lot of things that they've done that have been so fun this year.
This is at the top of the list all season long.
They have reignited this rivalry with the devils that obviously started last year with losing to them in the playoffs.
But they have put their money where their mouth is all season long.
And what a cherry on top this season of that line brawl.
and just making the roof blow off MSG.
Do you see Travis Green's comments?
I think it was over this, over the, like, yesterday.
He was saying like, oh, yeah, nothing would have happened if, you know, something happened
the game before.
Talking about when Rempey didn't fight McDermott.
Yeah.
Kind of hinting at the fact that he thought, you know, Rempey was kind of told,
hey, you're not allowed to fight this game.
And then he did the Siegenthallor hit, get suspended.
So, yeah, and it was cool because, like, Peter Lavellette and Travis
screen, like, we're kind of motherfucking each other on the bench.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Another torts incident.
I don't think they were as motivated as torts was back in.
I think that was, like, 2014 when the Canucks and Flames had their line brawl.
But, yeah, I love, love a good line brawl.
Amazing.
Amazing stuff.
Let's stay with the devils and stay with some drama.
I do really quickly want to touch on.
Did you guys see, uh, I was dying laughing.
Truly, and I mean this in A.
I don't find it lame or I'm not talking shit about anyone.
I was dying after the game when McDermid was asked about Rempey.
And he was like, I'll always have respect for the kid.
You know, he stepped up.
He's fought some huge, tough customers this season, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And like three weeks prior, when Rempey didn't fight him, he was like, I mean, I lost a
kind of respect for him.
Like, you got answer.
So it was just like, oh, really, he did exactly what he needed to do.
But it was just such a funny balance of like being like, oh, dude, this kid's a fucking
pussy. And then he's like, I love him.
You know, I always respect him. So good.
Like the next time he doesn't fight him, he's like, I guess I actually don't respect
that kid at all. I'm like, dude.
It's got to be a bit. It's got to start a bit all season long.
Okay, let's go
to some more empty net
drama with the senators.
So for everyone that didn't see it, look it up.
Devil Senators,
Nico he's sure coming down the wing on a breakaway
empty net as times expiring.
The buzzer goes off.
Nico curls and allows the puck to slide into the net.
Brady Kachuk, our buddy, comes flying up the ice and is screaming.
You can lip breathe.
Like, what the fuck was that?
You know, and then chaos ensues.
I was hard on the side of Ridley Gregg when this happened in the reverse.
I know you guys were against me because I'm like, you can do whatever you want.
so probably not a big surprise the side I'm going to take here
but that was a nothing thing from Nico in my opinion
like an absolute nothing thing
and Brady I get a little bit of being like
because if he did shoot it like if he if the buzzer going off and he genuinely took a shot
not even a clapper genuinely just took a wrist down to the net I think I'd be like
fuck you dude like the game was over but just the
way he just let it glide in and then Brady like when it cut to Brady flying up the ice I was like
dude calm down like this is not a big deal at all erroneous where do you guys think erroneous on both
counts bullshit I'm going to stay consistent with my stance and I think the Sends being on both sides
of this they're consistent as well this is the only move dude the sends are out of the playoffs
just like the devils yep you're fighting for every bit of fan passion
and devotion that you can.
You can't let someone, not to mention a captain.
That's disrespectful, dude.
You can't put pucks on net.
You can't put pucks in nets after the whistle, or after the buzzer.
That is a rule.
It's an unwritten rule.
It's the same reason why the Greg thing was, like we said, I love it, but you're going to get fed after.
And that's okay.
This one, my biggest thing is, I don't know what he sure was doing.
part of me was like
rip the puck in the net while the clock
is still going. No, see, that's why I thought it was
respectful. He was like, whatever. Well, no, he
gets into the zone and the clock hadn't expired
yet. I know, but I think he knows
there's one second, like he's like, we have
won. The game is over. You're a misunderstanding
me. I'm saying, if you're going
to shoot the puck in the net, do it
the second you enter the zone and there's still time on the clock.
Like, he didn't shoot because he was like, the game's
over, I don't need to get this empty netter.
But I'm like, get the fucking empty netter.
So to then go, make the decision,
I'm not going to shoot this in, and then wheel in front of the net and go, I'm going to put this puck in the net.
It's just so dumb.
That's my point.
He actively went, I'm not going to shoot this in.
We've already won.
There's no big deal.
But then he's like, I'm still going to put it in the net.
I agree, it's not the most disrespectful thing in the world, but it's an unwritten rule.
And Brady Kachuk is the absolute man for doing it.
And also, are you going to tell me that you are looking at the other side of the ice and seeing the Ottawa senators and Brady Kachuk.
and you go, Brady's not going to mind you.
Wrong team to do it against.
Yeah.
It's like, give me a fucking break.
Of course Brady's going to do that.
And it's awesome that he did it because that's why Brady's a good captain.
That's why he's a passionate dude.
That's why he's one of the best players in the league.
And if it's me on the other side and I'm having a frustrating season where we didn't perform
like we wanted to and every game matters because you want to keep the fans invested,
you want to keep the boys invested.
And the captain of another team slides a puck in my net after the whistle.
You, it's truly not even a, oh, yeah, I'm going to be pissed and do that.
It's a, you have to do it.
And that's why Brady's a great captain.
You have to do it.
I'm sure there's part of Brady that went, please don't.
Please don't.
Are you kidding me, Nico?
Because now I got to do this.
But at the end of the day, you got to do it, and he did it well.
Blake?
I think it relates to Ottawa, senators, players, and, you know, the team overall, not wanting to be embarrassed.
Like this season hasn't gone the way they wanted to go.
You know, they definitely saw themselves being higher in the division
than at the, uh,
then closer to the basement.
Um, yeah,
so I think it just boils down to Brady just being frustrated and just, yeah,
like you guys touched on being his part of his identity and just rooted in who he is,
who his dad is.
Um,
I loved it from both sides.
Like I love like Nico kind of,
I hope Nico was doing it on purpose.
Like was kind of doing the petty, put it,
slide in the net like fuck you like look how easy i just scored on you and then you have the senators
being like no fuck you remember do you guys remember the there's an old clip yeah just i want to make sure
i'm not confusing a thing the the the empty net goal didn't count great it was after the
yeah okay i was like no it was after the whistle or it was after the clock expired yeah yeah
that's why i'm confused like if he did it on purpose i think he did it mindlessly me too
Because it was a nothing, he's like, whatever, dude.
Like, I, in fact, respect you guys so much that I won't fire this into the open net just to embarrass you further.
So I'll just leave the puck here.
But I'm telling you right now, if he shot it with time still on the clock and ripped it into the net, nothing would have happened.
Agree, because, like, that happens and, you know, people are trying to get goals.
So I do think it was my, I personally don't think he sure was doing it going, huh, I'm going to piss these guys off.
I think he was just like, whatever.
I think he, but that is stupid.
Yeah.
And I would tell that to his face.
I'll be like, Nico, that was dumb.
for you to not think this is probably going to go poorly.
That is dumb.
That is a dumb move.
And also get the goal.
Like, get the goal.
It's hard to score in the national.
Yeah.
They all count, man.
Fucking A.
Had your stats.
I can't believe that.
It's a wild move, dude.
But at end of the day, Brady did what he had to do.
I'd love to see, we'd never prove this.
I would love to see how many teams that would have happened against.
I think you think all.
But I'm like.
I think it's all.
because this is what I said
with the last time against the Leafs.
If Brady doesn't do that,
some needle dick reporter in Ottawa
writes a story titled
The Ottawa Senators have lost their fight.
Brady Kachuk has no passion.
You hear it on the other side
if you do nothing.
I agree with you on the Ridley one.
Even though I support Ridley on that,
I agree with you if no one did anything in Toronto,
the reporters would have been like
fucking pathetic that no one
did something about this, I really don't think that gets talked about very much if
Nico just slides it into them. Yeah, no, I could definitely see the Canadian media.
Because also, things have not been going well in Ottawa, not just on the ice, but just
like off the ice over the last few years. So like that market is not very secure.
And I'll tell you, as it not Ottawa Senators fan and not New Jersey Devils fan,
watching that game as an innocent bystander, when he slid the puck in the net, I went,
Oh, like I knew something bad.
I was like, oh, let's see how this goes and then immediately.
And I'll tell you what, dude, when I was playing pee-wee hockey, I'm going a pee-wee hockey story on you guys right now.
We were losing a game by two goals and we pulled the goalie and had the puck in the offensive zone, block shot, miss net, whatever it is, puck rims around.
I'm on the point.
Guy gets it on the wing with no one in front of him and it's just skating in.
and now I'm coming from the opposite side.
He's gone, long gone at the open net.
He skates in, slides on into the open net,
and I was like bust an ass back so far away from it.
Never in a million years could I have stopped it.
And after the game, my dad came up to me and goes,
I got to say, I've never seen you give up on a play before.
And that was deflating to see, and the boys saw it too.
And I was like, what did you want me to do?
dive for this puck that I was nowhere near,
but the answer is yes, that's what he wanted.
He wanted you to put her through.
Yeah.
And that,
that haunts me to this day.
So that's the thing is like,
if you don't do it,
you're going to hear it.
You got to,
you got to react.
I just,
I think I wish Ottawa was on
the same side of it both times.
Like,
I wish someone had clapped into their open net
and then Brady fed him
and then this happened in Brady fed him.
Like,
it's funny to me that in the two empty net things
on one side Ottawa was in the like,
anything,
we can do whatever we,
want to empty net side. And then the other game, they're like, you cannot do anything you want
to empty nets. And I'm like, all right, dude. But my, my biggest takeaway from that, and we can move
on from this, is that I thought when the Leafs went nuts, the big, the big issue was that was that
Morgan Riley went full murderer. Yeah. No one on the senators was appalled. They were like, yeah,
of course you're going to react that way, but Morgan Riley, calm down. Don't fucking knock someone's
head off. So that's that. Let's get into a point chase situation.
Okay. Take me there.
Well, first thing I wanted to bring up was, and he was well on the way when you won your saucy prediction last week,
Connor McDavid is at 99 assists with six games left.
So barring the sun enlarging 1,000 times and melting the earth, he is going to have 100 assist season.
As Blake pointed out, Wayno did it 11 times.
Mario got a 114 and Bobby Orr had a 102.
and that's it.
Wayneau had a 163, by the way,
which is fucking moronic.
But that's it.
How many six games left in?
How many assists do you think he finishes with?
I think he finishes with 105.
Cool.
I'll tell you this, though.
If he doesn't get 100 assists.
Oh, dude.
If he doesn't.
Yeah.
I think this is the greatest collapse
in the history of the NHL.
Dude.
This man gets assists when he's asleep.
Yep.
And if somehow this doesn't happen, I will lose my mind.
Here's what I think is cool, Dan.
Go to Cooch real quick.
Stay on a Cis.
I was about to say, Cooch has 93.
And he's got five games left.
He could do it.
He could do it.
Isn't it nuts?
Let me flip everything I've been saying all season.
Since the All-Star break.
Who have I been preaching is the MVP?
Nate Dogg.
Nate Dog.
Then I said, if Connor McDavid gets 100,
assists. It's got to be him. After dragging them from the basement, how is it not him?
Yeah. If Nikita Kutrov finishes this season as the point leader, which we all know, I don't
think should be the benchmark for MVP, but if he finishes the season as the point leader with 98
assists, it has to be him. It might have to be him. Because, I mean, Tampa is not the Tampa
of three or four years ago. This is a different team. And what is it the stats? People keep loving to
toss around. It's like he has
138 points or something. I think the next
highest guy is Stammer with like 73.
I think it's point. Yeah, it's
in somewhere 70s. It's a big gap.
So shit, man,
it might be Cooch. So points.
These three guys are out of control. Points, Dan,
is this right now. Kutrov
136, five games
left. Yeah. Nate
133, four games left.
Connor 136
games left.
Give me the final order and numbers.
that everyone has.
Final order and number?
Yep.
Okay.
Five games left for Cooch with 136 right now.
I think he finishes with 143.
Okay.
So seven points in his last five.
And in first.
I think Nate Dogg,
excuse me, I think Connor.
Oh.
finishes in seconds with 140 points.
Okay.
10 points in his last six.
And I think Nate finishes with 138 in third place.
Five in his last four.
I think Connor passes.
143, 140, 138.
That's what you think.
That sounds pretty accurate, pretty reasonable.
Pretty good, right?
Yeah, yeah.
I'm going to be totally wrong.
But that sounded good.
Hey, that sounded pretty reasonable.
It would be the most, it would be the greatest cuck moment on earth.
On earth.
If in these last, what did we just say, Coochaz, five, four, six.
Cooch gets seven assists in these five games and also gets 100 assists because Connor's doing it.
Yeah.
That will be the greatest cuck moment of all time.
Do you give the MVP then to?
Honestly, yes.
And I'll hand-de-old.
I'll hand-deliver it to them.
I think, and I've heard this from, this isn't my own original take, but I've heard that I think
the writers, because they're who vote on the heart, they're going to take the All-Star
Skills Competition performance into consideration.
Interesting.
It kind of humiliated the league in a way.
I don't hate that at all.
You don't hate that take or you don't hate that act.
Both.
Oh shit!
I was talking about the take, but now that I think it, Tom Petty, dude, I love it.
Be petty.
And just go, oh, you had a couple beers, Nikita, weren't really having a good.
You lost your first event.
You thought, oh, make a mockery of you, sir.
There goes MVP, 150 point season, 100 assists, and they go, fuck off.
But the rub of that is, if there's anyone that doesn't give a fly,
lying fuck about winning heart trophies.
Yeah, he wins.
He's like, I don't care.
He wins.
Give me Nate in third at 136.
Yeah.
I think they lost the Central at this point.
And Moose is hurt.
He slows down a little bit here.
Point-wise, three points in his last four.
Give me Connor six games left.
When you said 10 points?
That's bold, but I like it.
It's bold.
I give me Connor at...
But you know what the thing is?
The Oilers just have those games where they win six nothing and he has five points.
Give me Connor 12 points in his last six at 142.
Wow.
And give me Cooch one point, a point per game, five points in his last five, 141.
Connor 142 league.
While you think Connor's shooting to the top.
Yep.
That would be insane if Connor were to come storming all the way back last
speak of the scene. He can do it, dude. He unfortunately can do it. He can do it. He's six back right
now. Conner getting, like I just said, getting five points in a game is so not weird. It's like,
yep. Yeah. Good job. Oh, and for the assist, you said one oh, how many did you say? Or no,
you didn't say. Yeah, for Connor. 105. I think he's going to get one of five. Six games left.
I think he gets three more. 102. Goes on a scoring ramp.
Page scores
fucking nine goals
and three assists
in his last six
case.
My predictions
were a little
counterintuitive
there, but
it's just so possible.
142 for the win.
And well,
the other thing is
like Edmonton's
motivated.
They could still
catch Vancouver
and get that one seed.
And Vancouver is
struggling without Demco.
Yeah.
So this is very possible.
Yeah.
And that's big
in the playoffs
because those game sevens
that Edmonton has
lost in recent years.
Get that on home ice.
Absolutely.
Helps a lot.
Yes.
All right.
Let's get into
some Stars talk.
the rich get richer.
Blake, give us a rundown.
Keep doing it.
Yeah, so the Dallas stars are calling up
the H.L leading score, Maverick Bork.
What a fucking mean to be on the stars.
Literally, the rich get richer.
Like, not even just calling up another prospect,
like calling up the leading score
in the American Hockey League,
who was 22 years old.
He was a late first round pick,
drafted 30th overall in 2020,
72 points in 66 games in the HAL this year.
I mean, he's not,
not like a big power forward he's kind of that skill kind of smaller smart uh really good uh hockey sense
forward but just another you know depth piece that can help them here's the thing though where
is he playing look at this fucking lineup yeah yeah let's talk this is so insane but also i'll i'll say this
maverick bork you've got an elite name yeah so i already believe in you but you know i look at our
boy kenny augustino who was just the hl leading score time and time again he might even be
at all time leading AHL point score.
Yeah.
And it's, it had a hard time translate, you know?
So I don't know that that necessarily means here's something that might be stupid.
I would be more impressed with a team signing a NCAA leading score or a, you know,
WHL leading score, joining an NHL team than an AHA score.
Really?
Really.
Why is that?
I just feel like it doesn't always translate.
There's a lot of guys.
And obviously, there's a lot of guys.
And obviously there's a lot of guys who were ripping the shit out of the HL who then became a stud.
But there's a part of me that wonders if this guy, if Maverick is going to be that much of an impact, why did it take this long?
That's my biggest question.
Yeah, I think maybe the reason there's some logic into what you're saying because the NCAA kid or the junior kid or whatever might be like an elite prospect that they're like, yeah, he's, we all know he's ready.
like, so I kind of hear you there.
I will also kind of hear that sometimes the college kids are just too dumb.
They're too young and dumb to know what they're even getting into.
You know, they just come in and try to dangle people in the firing bucks on net.
Keep in mind, I prefaced was saying, this is probably dumb.
And like, I know it's, that's a dumb thing to say.
I'm just, I'm bringing up discussion here.
It's when it's this late in the season, an AHL guy, I just have a lot of questions.
But like we said, he's got an elite name.
He's in an elite.
franchise, and maybe that's why.
Having a fucking third line of Jamie
Ben, Wyatt Johnson, and Logan's stank man
is fucking a preposter.
So let's talk about that. The Dallas
Stars have been a great team all season
long. Yep. They're slinging
down south, dude. A bunch of
gun slingers.
Go back up there, Blakey.
Let me look at this roster.
You got Robo Hintz,
Joey Tip Drill, Mason
Marchman, kind of out of nowhere
last couple years, has just been a
phenomenal player for this team.
Dutchie gets bought out of his contract in Nashville and is now, boom, huge season.
Yep.
He's coming up on 30 goals, I think, with Dallas right here.
Sick little tuck last night.
Tyler Sagan.
My guy.
My guy.
What does he have, Blakey?
I think 23 goals this season or something like that, maybe more.
25.
25 now?
25 points in 65 games.
Oh, dude.
Sags getting up in the 25 goal mark again.
And then, yeah, Jamie Ben, Wyatt Johnson, Logan Stank Boy.
on the third line.
And then Radik Fasca, Sam, Steele, and Craig Smith kind of anchoring down that fourth line.
That is a very good fourth line.
They have eight players with 20 or more goals, two players with 30 or more goals, and counting.
Dude, and that right there is what I always bring up on a bunch of Stanley Cup winning teams.
Obviously, Boston 2011 comes up.
They had no guys with like 50 goals, but they had a lot of guys.
guys like Chris Kelly, guys like Rich Peverly, who had like 20 goals.
Yeah, it was crazy.
And that is a huge, huge feather in the cap of a team that could go on a long run.
I was just saying this to our buddy Kevin, who's a big Rangers fan, that someone disappears when the playoffs start.
And you never know who it's going to be, and it doesn't make any sense.
It's someone that's been good all year.
And you hope after a couple rounds, they break out of it.
But without fail, every team that feels like a contender this year, one of your best players is going to fucking vanish the second of the playoffs.
And maybe not the whole time, but at least for a bit.
For a bit.
And that's why you need this shit.
And that's what's plagued the bees for a long recently when it's like, oh, we get all our goals from pasta.
And then if he goes quiet, I'm like, oh, who's scoring?
It's what's plagued New York, dude.
The Rangers, you get guys like Panarin who goes ghost mode.
And then you don't have guys like Laffey who are like, it's okay, I got it.
And Laffey this year, you know.
Thirdmost goals on the team.
Yeah.
Might have 60 points this year.
He might even have already hit it.
Not yet.
But he's at 57.
He's close.
He might get up to.
yeah, he might get up to 60 points.
That would be unbelievable.
And for him in the situation that people thought he was in.
And that is the thing that's like, that could get you over the hump.
And this team, yeah, eight guys with 20 goals, damn.
Come on.
And if you bring up Bork and Bork is just that, if you bring him up and he's just that guy
that no one has tape on, no one's seen him in the national really.
And then he's just popped into that third or second line, maybe even the fourth line.
and it's just a level of skill and a level of nose for goal that people aren't familiar with.
And he's just banging in goals.
What a piece, dude.
Well, the great part, too, is this, well, what do they get, five games left?
Probably, like, theoretically, they're going to get him some burn.
And he'll experience the NHL game.
And then when someone picks up a knock, when Mason gets hurt in the first round
or when Stank Man's hurt, you know, I think the dream is to be like,
we got this guy, boom, pop it right in.
Yeah, they don't have a, I mean, Robertson is 77 points and 78 games.
games, but they don't, as of now, they don't have a single point per game score on their roster.
Dude, and I'll tell you what, I love that.
You know who had the same fucking stat line last year?
The Vegas golden line, look it up.
Literally, this, so similar.
Yep.
And if you were a Dallas Stars fan, love that.
Yep.
Love that you don't have a guy who's like Cooch, who's like, I have 50 points more than the
next guy.
Yeah.
Because if that guy goes cold, you're fucked.
So love this for Dallas.
What it boils down to is their management.
Like the way they've been able to manage around their contracts, even though they have the, you know, the albatross of Jamie Ben and Tyler Sagan getting paid.
I think it's both north of nine million.
Like the fact that they've still been able to retool all around these guys and like the drafts they've had in 2016, 17, 2019, and then 2020, like they are just like the epitome of how you want your organization to be run.
It's crazy.
And at the end of the day, dude, not those $9 million contracts.
now aren't that bad.
Sags a point per game, dude.
And these two are, they both have over 50 points, dude.
Yeah.
And if you're telling me any team in the national,
if you wouldn't watch Jamie Ben or Tyler Sagan on your middle six,
you're an idiot.
And so Sagan has three more years after this season.
Ben has one more season after this season.
So it's going to line up perfectly with resigning Harley,
resigning Ointinger, Stankhoven, Robo's got two more years left.
after this year.
So they've been able to manage it all.
Stick taps to Jim Nell.
Dallas, dude.
Cup incoming at that point.
Yeah.
Better be.
Okay, Tampa News.
Oh, my God.
Surgachev broke his left tibia and fibula.
We're trying to reverse hit.
Who was it?
Was it Laffey?
I was about to say that, but now I'm thinking...
I think it was against the Rangers.
Yeah.
But anyway.
Tried to reverse hit Laffy, breaks every bone in his leg.
started skating again March 18th
and then as of today, which is April 8th,
8th, practicing with the lightning,
in a non-contact, but practicing with the lightning.
I said when it happened, he got surgery right away.
I said when everyone was like, oh, he's done.
And I was like, not necessarily.
Tampa being a wildcard team
is going to have a very hard first round matchup.
And I don't know that this, even this news,
means he's ready for the first round. Certainly game one feels like a stretch, but it's in the
cards. A round one appearance is in the cards. And God forbid they get past someone, the Bruins,
and then you add him. That is scary stuff. Very scary stuff if you're an Eastern team in my opinion.
Dude, I've been saying for a long time that this team has a first round win.
them. Yeah. I just think with the way Kooch is playing their depth, you know, and their experience.
Yeah. And they're coaching. And they've got Vasilowski in that. I just feel like they're beating
whoever they're playing first round. And if they do that and then Surgachev comes back and I'm a
second round team, I would be like, you've got to be kidding me. Fuck me. Fuck me. It suck. So shit,
man. He's not, he's not, I have his points. He's not a huge point guy.
You know, he's not the McCar, the quins of the world.
He had 19 points, two goals, and 17 assists in 34 games.
And in 98 Stanley Cup playoff games, he has 33 points, nine goals, 24 assists.
But shit, you'll take that from a defenseman.
And he eats pucks, he eats minutes.
He eats ice, dude.
Exactly.
Averaging 2233 of ice time second on the team behind headman.
And it's like, you add that back to the equation when the playoff matchups matter more
than anything and you're shutting other teams down, that is the value add there, and that
makes them so much more dangerous.
And holy shit, dude, if you, if we can just take a second and talk about the fact that this
guy broke his leg and is like, yeah, I'm coming back.
That's what I want to talk about.
This guy's The Terminator.
Tampa, dude, you get in the sunshine, dude.
You're sitting by the pool.
Are you shit in me?
Your life's easy.
I could totally see him returning like mid-first round.
That's what I'm saying, bro.
This could, yeah.
I am not ruling him out making an appearance in the first round at all.
Game three, dude.
I mean, crime.
Game three at home.
Heard it here first.
Is just a unit.
Stick taps to the team doctors and his rehab because him coming back from this.
I got to call them up, dude.
I'll be playing beer league in two weeks if I go down to Tampa.
You'll be playing this week.
I'll be playing this week.
Whatever MJ's secret stuff that he's sipping on.
Yeah.
Good Lord.
Unbelievable.
That is a true nightmare.
Yep.
For whatever Eastern Conference team plays them in the first.
round if he makes a return. I don't even know what to say. Now we got some coyotes news.
Blake, can you take us through this? Yeah, so the, I'm not sure, did you guys see the
renderings of the arena and like kind of entertainment district that they plan to build?
So I remember when I saw it, I was like, oh, they won the, they won the auction, like they
won the land? No, that is their like their pitch and what they're going to say that they're
going to build if they win the plot of land.
So, you know, the auction still hasn't happened.
They're still, you know, planning to, to auction on that portion of land.
But, you know, it's cool to see some sort of progress and some sort of, you know, visual that, you know, people can reference.
But I just thought it was, it was kind of weird the way that they, the way they kind of, you know, use their verbiage on it.
And it just, it fooled me.
I literally thought, I was like, oh, shit, they won.
Yeah.
Here we go.
Arizona's staying.
Yeah, you're not the only one.
Yeah.
There was a lot of people on our DMs that was like, Arizona stays.
I was like, no, but listen, I love this, dude.
Fake it till you make it.
Yeah, and I'll add this.
I had said when this first came up that if they don't win this bid,
I officially believe something fishy is going on here,
because I'm like, it's there for the taking.
Win the bid.
Like, win the bid.
Figure out how much you need to bid and win it.
Now I'm tripling down on that because now that they've said all this shit,
it's like, so now they go, oh my God,
here's the sick-ass rink and entertainment center we're going to build
when we win this bid 100%.
shucks we didn't win it but but you saw how hard we were trying like you saw how cool the rink was
going to be i'm like you are full of shit dude like i have this is this is a fucking fugazi fugazi
it's fairy dust it doesn't exist dude well and that would play into this uh you know rumor
that i've been hearing around is that and you know 32 32 thoughts of as he has even reported on
this it's that Alex Marillo's looking to sell like there's he's looking at that option yeah not
saying he wants to sell, but he's looking at that option. You're not looking at that option if you're not
having some part of you that wants to or will do it. Yeah. So that at this time is very, very, like
you said, fishy and what is really going on here behind the scenes. So yeah, I mean, the CEO,
so this is a quote from the CEO. It's not just an arena project. It's a best in class urban
development project that would transform a perfectly located parcel of land into an Arizona
landmark.
It's going to be a historic event.
We're creating jobs.
The team is going to win a cup in three years.
Everything is fine.
That's an awesome statement.
That's the exact statement you want to make.
I'm on Team Arizona.
I want them to stay.
Me too.
And listen, the Utah Salt Lake City bid situation, whatever's going on there,
that's not necessarily going to be the Yotes relocating.
That might be an expansion.
Yep.
But I love that we've got an owner dick measuring contest going on.
Yeah.
Because this motherfucker is out here being like this.
This is going to revolutionize the state of Arizona.
It's going to revolutionize the NHL.
Look at this beautiful mock-up we have of this unbelievable facility.
It's not just a rink, folks.
It is an amusement park.
It is a top golf center.
It is the place you want to be if you're in Arizona.
And then Ryan Smith in Salt Lake City is being like this.
Just doing a quick poll.
When we get a team in Utah, what should the name be?
Like they're just doing these PR statements to just get people fired up about their team
and their new facility that,
We don't even have yet, and I'm all for it, dude.
It's just drama.
It's drama season all the time.
I pray to God that Arizona wins this bid, and then the owners go like this.
Oh, my God.
We can't build this facility.
This is all, we made this, AI made this.
We typed in sick rink and entertainment center into chat GPT, and it pitched that out.
But we look at the arenas now.
Look at SOFI in L.A.
And look at T-Mobile and look at, you know, all.
of these unbelievable
facilities and arenas that are popping
up like I think it is possible
and this is what
Yotes fans have been saying for years
it's shut the fuck up owners and put your
money where your mouth is and build us a fucking rink
stop trying to get all these bullshit
loophole deals just buy some
fucking land and build a goddamn rink if you want
the team to stay here and I agree
coming from someone who says I want the Yotes
to stay this is it dude
not up or shut the fuck up
and build that arena
or get the fuck out.
I hope they eventually come back with maybe new owners.
Yeah.
But this is the last straw.
And I love that they're putting their chips on the table and showing this huge center and they better
fucking build it.
Yeah.
They better build it if they win it.
And the Salt Lake City Snipes better be the fucking team name for it.
It's just, it has.
Just to be clear.
The Salt Lake City Soakers is pretty sick.
I would be into that.
Me too, actually.
I'd be into that.
Me too.
All right.
All right.
Let's see. Now we're going to college, right?
Yeah.
We got some college stuff to talk about here.
As we have talked about before, we talked about it last episode, guys in NCAA who are undrafted,
once their team loses and they're eligible, they can sign contracts with teams.
Now, it's not a free-for-all.
It's not like the first team with the highest bid scoops up anyone.
It's up to these players.
They're allowed to talk to whoever they want and then make a decision.
And we've got some big sign.
Yep.
Let's start with your boy, your QU boy, who you're super bummed about.
Colin Graf.
Yep.
Absolute stud.
shocks the world. All of the
rumors and all the things people were hearing is that he was going to
stay East Coast. I think there was a lot of stories that said
it was going to be Bruins, Rangers, or Carolina or something like that.
Boom. Signs in San Jose. And I'll tell you what, I love it.
Me too. I think it's a smart move. I think he wants to play
in the NHL. And that's a perfect team. I mean,
I think about the Blackhawks, the sharks,
and maybe one other team that I really look at and go,
that's an immediate year in the lineup.
And you're playing with Will Smith.
Very, very possible that Macklin Celebrini is drafted.
Can you imagine?
So like, holy shit, man.
We talked about sharks.
They're all of a sudden in the conversation of a team that could be relocated,
which is crazy with all the league ties that they have.
They're in a Bay Area situation.
But they've been in the bottom seven in a ten,
for the last seven to eight years.
No one's really talking about the sharks.
Even when they were buzzing with Marlowe and Jumbo,
they never got over the hump and won a cup.
So the sharks need something.
And if all of a sudden you snap your fingers
and you've got Will Smith, Colin Graff,
and Macklin Celebrini coming to the team,
that is as sexy as it gets.
Dude, so many of my boys that are sharks fans have been like,
oh, man, it's a disaster, we're awful.
And I'm like, you are fine.
Like, you are doing this perfectly.
You are bad with a ton of young.
exciting talent coming up and and future assets to play with. So they're golden.
Sticktaps to Greer, what he is done with signings, draft picks, and trades, he has built a
really good setup for the next few years for the sharks with their prospects coming in and a lot
of the stuff that they have to work with going into these drafts and going into free agency.
Pretty good stuff. And one of the best jersey setups in the national.
Yeah.
Do you like their jersey?
Oh, the all-teal. I fucking love.
I don't know. I fucking hate it. I think you hate it because they're not good.
Maybe. If they're buzzing around in those all teals with some studs in the team like Salabrini and Will Smith,
you're going to love it. Maybe, maybe. I like the black jersey. Yeah, me too, actually. I really
like the black ones. Yeah, the black ones are gas. But yeah, it was cool. I was definitely,
he definitely signed in San Jose because like, I mean, he's on the second line right away. Yeah.
He got his first point over the weekend too, which was cool. But like what, there's no other team.
like you said, he's stepping into the lineup, let alone the top six.
Yeah, right.
Like, imagine playing for QU, not a huge school.
You know, they're a little town, Mount Carmel in Connecticut.
They're not even in hockey east.
And you have this unbelievable run in college hockey.
You go undrafted and then you go like this.
Blank, I'm playing on the second line on an NHL team.
Yeah.
Wild.
So sick.
Blake, your boys took a QU kid as well.
Yep.
Jacob Quillan.
Quillan.
Quillin.
Quillan, Jacob Quillan, the Nova Scotian native.
So he had 46 points this season in 39 games at QU.
Yeah, just nice to see Toronto picking up a prospect,
because, you know, sure as hell they could use it.
I really like to see Toronto picking up a college kid, too.
Yeah.
For some reason, I feel like it's always like the Canadian teams.
I feel like they can sometimes be low on college boys.
And I'm like, dude, they're unbelievable.
I think it just boils down to the majority of college players
are going to be American.
they're going to want to stay playing for an American team.
But I think, you know, Quillan is a Nova Scotia native, so he's not American.
So I think that's why it was a little easier for them to get them.
I heard Boston was like the runner-up.
Yeah, huge on them.
To get them.
Yeah.
I think Boston has been in on a lot of college friages.
They've also signed a lot of them.
Well, that's the thing.
It's like, you know, Boston has been, they have not had a lot of first-round picks in the last several years.
They don't have one this year.
and Sweeney and co have really made their money, quote unquote,
with scooping a lot of these college guys in free agency.
You saw it with Mark McLaughlin a couple years ago.
Now we're going to get to a couple of them that they just signed.
But it does seem to be a way to look at a lot of these really, really talented college guys
who are putting up big numbers.
And it's, I don't want to say distraction because that would imply that these guys aren't good
or aren't going to pan out.
And I think that a lot of them absolutely are going to.
Yep.
But it is a good placeholder of like, yep, we didn't have a first round pick.
But look at this kid we signed who just had 58 points in the NCAA.
You know, like that's a good piece of business.
And they come to you not as a, you know, as an 18.
I was right about to say that, dude.
Yeah.
Exactly.
It's not like, oh, there's this wicked young kid we have.
He's got to go play juniors again or go to the H.L.
I'm like, no, dude, this is like a 22-year-old to go fucking play right now.
Yeah.
You've done developed.
So we get the Bruins sign the Notre Dame,
defenseman, Drew Bavarro, 10 goals, 10 assists this season, two-way player, right shot, which
they could use.
So I'm excited.
I wanted one of those forwards, frankly, but I'm excited to get some love on the back line
there, especially as they've got some decisions to make, I would say, with a few dudes
who could move on, which I'd be fine with.
And then the other one I don't want to talk about as a Northeastern kid.
Well, real quick, you know, we're talking about the
Bruins. They also
scoop Jackson Nelson from Minnesota.
Oh yeah, yeah, right. Six foot four,
big, big center, gets a
lot of points. You know,
captain of that team, like a
Minnesota boy through and through.
So Boston didn't sleep.
You know, like they pick up a big point scoring
defenseman, of 10 and 10. Yeah, yeah. As a
defenseman, I'll take that all day.
And then also get a 6'4
banging body center from,
who is a Minnesota
born and bred and then played for the gopers,
captain the team, natural-born leader.
Those are two big scoops.
Brazzo has been doing really, really well with Boston, just picked up an injury, and now you
got Jackson Nelson here, who could slot in to that fourth line and be a big, big player.
So a couple of good college moves from Boston.
You don't see it.
Then I want to talk about the Northeastern kid who's nasty.
Does anybody know how to say his name?
Justin Ritzkovian.
Ritzkovian.
Great pronunciation that we didn't have to look up.
Who could who would ever have to look that up?
It's pretty simple.
Pretty phonetic, that name.
94 games played at Northeastern.
Captain of that squad, 43 points in 32 games this season.
The Rich Katt Richard, dude.
I'm such a captain slut.
I'm a big captain slut.
I'm a big captain's why I like Jackson Nelson.
I love a captain.
I just think it speaks a lot about your character.
You know, maybe you're not the leading points score,
but you got to see on the sweater.
there's some, my ears perk up.
Yeah.
Specifically a C.
Get your A's and get the fuck out of it.
Actually, dude, no, I take it back.
You give A's to clown shows who've been around the program for four years.
Well, no, it's usually like the, I almost think the exact opposite.
It's like, the A's almost to me are like sometimes the younger guy, not the freshman, but it's like the sophomore guy.
But it is the C.
And then I'm not talking prospect anymore because usually that turns me off.
Like when I see a dude that's a C in college, I'm like, oh, you probably aren't.
drafted and you're just still here, you know. But in terms of signing undrafted kids out of college,
I'm back on board with the C because I'm like, oh yeah, right? You've been here the whole time
that the boys love you and you've been productive. You're just not like the elite elite
prospect kids. When I see in college a guy who's got like the second or third most points on the
team and he's got to see. Yeah. You get one of these. Yeah. There's something to me that's like
you're not a glamour guy. You don't need the most points because you're here for a Natty. Yeah.
I like that.
I like that.
He goes to Dallas, for those that didn't pick that up.
Dallas's fourth line is going to be the best line in the league.
Yeah.
They don't have enough places.
To point out, so any college free agents that's signed, they cannot play in the playoffs.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
So a lot of these guys...
Oh, I want to talk about Phil, by the way.
Phil.
Castle, Russell?
Yeah.
All right.
Go on.
Yeah, but so all these guys that get signed, so like the defenseman that signed with Boston,
like he wouldn't be eligible to play in the playoffs.
I think he can play in the HAL playoffs and play in, you know,
all of their games.
And so you'll probably see a lot of these guys get a game or two in the NHL before the end of the season
because the other thing with this is that they're burning a year of their entry-level contract
so that they can hit free agency.
Yeah, get your feet wet.
So it's just if a dude, if you've drafted their rights.
If you already have their rights and then you sign them to a contract, they can play them.
Yes.
That's interesting rule.
Yeah.
Yeah, it's...
Like I'm like, what, I signed him.
I agree.
I think it's stupid.
Yeah.
But it's the same thing like Phil can't play in the playoffs because the deadline is the same thing with unrestricted free agents.
If you want them to play, they need to be signed before the deadline, I believe.
Yeah.
So technically you could sign the college kid, but then he wouldn't be able to play college.
He would miss the natty.
Yeah, yeah.
So there's three guys high scores who remain unsigned.
I think that should change.
Me too.
I think that's crazy.
I think if they never signed a pro contract before, it shouldn't matter.
Yeah.
Like the fill one I kind of get,
um,
kind of.
Because I feel like some trickery could happen there.
Maybe, I don't know.
I don't know why I don't like that,
but these,
to me,
they just feel like draft picks who have been in,
in college.
It should be the same.
Yeah.
No, I agree.
And like it's,
like,
I think,
I don't know how it works with European players,
but I want to say like you can sign a European guy
and he can come over and play for you,
uh,
in the playoffs,
but,
yeah,
the reason I said trickery is like,
Phil is obviously an interesting situation because he's a little bit older, but think about
Patty Kane, for example. And if you're playing the LTIR game, I guess is what I'm trying to say.
If you've got like a really good guy who is a free agent who had a brutal injury that they were rehabbing all season long,
and then you're like, let's just wait until after free trade deadline and you can sign me to $5 million to your wagon team and whatever.
whereas these kids, it's entry level, so it doesn't fucking matter.
Yep.
That's why I'm like, that should change.
That should change.
Talk us through the unsigned guys, Blake.
Yeah, so first up, we got T.J. Hughes.
He had 48 points and 40 games this season, not related, and he played at Michigan.
Yeah.
Not related to the Hughes brothers that we all know.
I know.
And there's a Jack Hughes on BU.
Yeah.
There's a lot of Hughes going around.
Bullshit.
But yeah, so the undersized forward had an alarming, 127 points in 60 games.
for the Brooks Bandits two years ago.
So I know this isn't very recent,
but still just an insane elite score.
So curious to see who gets that guy.
He also, apparently there's a chance
he also just goes back to school.
Yeah. And he's 5'9?
Yeah, he's a pretty small,
kind of skilled fast forward.
Lucas Sillinger,
kind of a bigger, kind of similar
to the captain Jackson Nelson
that the Bruin signed.
He was not a captain or anything,
but he's a senior forward
coming out of ASU.
This past season had 48 points and 38 games,
kind of that bigger, sturdier forward
that plays that more complete game.
So, again, another good piece
that someone will want to pick up
because he's going to be a little older,
ready to step right in.
Look at Josh down, dude.
Yeah.
ASU guys.
Yeah, last one.
And this is pretty kind of a dark horse.
Like this kid kind of came out of nowhere
and he's still pretty young.
Luke Liam McClunski.
remains unsigned.
The QU transfer
broke out this season
at Holy Cross.
So last year was at QU
barely played.
Like was like a healthy scratch a lot.
Got a natty though.
Got a natty.
But then comes over to Holy Cross
like not a big name school
and lights it up.
47 points of 39 games,
17th in the nation in scoring.
So curious to see who gets him.
Not a smaller guy,
not a bigger guy,
kind of that middle tier guy,
but a very offensive forward.
Yeah.
Hughes and, no disrespect.
Hughes and Syllinger to me
are the ones that I'm like,
oh, surprise.
That's interesting.
You wonder if Hughes in particular is just headed back to Michigan
and is like maybe didn't get talked to by the teams that he wanted.
Yeah.
And that's the interesting thing.
Like we said, this isn't the draft.
This is one of those very weird and rare situations,
guys like Graff and Quillen who go, I get to pick where I go.
You've got a lot of teams talking to you.
Like, that's pretty sick.
Awesome.
And you wonder if Hughes maybe wasn't getting talked to.
by the schools that he wanted.
Yeah.
Or schools,
the teams that he wanted.
Either way.
I love it.
To point out, though,
Hughes is on the older side.
He's 22 years old.
So he played three years of junior,
or four years in total of junior,
but three years with the Brooks Bandits.
So curious,
I think he would want to come out of school this year.
Yeah.
Now it's,
yeah, it's like you said,
does he get the offer?
Yeah.
To where.
I wouldn't be surprised
if maybe he signs this summer somewhere.
Yeah.
Because, yeah,
we talked about it with Stancovin.
what are we doing teams
still worrying about size these days?
I know, man.
It's a different game.
It's just a different game.
Sure.
Do you want a Nathan McKinnon?
Do you want an Austin Matthews?
Yep, absolutely.
But so many of these guys now
are just, you know,
look at Jack.
Jack's 510, 165 pounds soaking wet.
Yeah.
One of the best players I've ever seen in my life.
So I think we need to,
I think a lot of GMs,
a lot of team presidents,
to start just listen if you get there and your game doesn't translate and and it's because of their
size okay that's fine that can happen but it shouldn't be a reason why you don't take a chance on
someone it's it's crazy stankovin has just been a machine every team he's ever played for and he comes
up to dallas and he's a machine again yeah i'm like come on little guys are fine dude give him a chance
short kings yep short kings populate the nchel that's the future of the league yes that is as they
Should.
Fighter and forces are gone.
It's everyone under 510.
Give me a bunch of water bugs, dude.
I need to talk about the
Hobie Baker finalist before we get off
of anything college.
They made the announcement.
It's Macklin Sellebrini,
the freshman future number one
overall pick from BU,
our boy cutter Gautier of the BC Eagles,
who is like a goal away
from like the most goals in college
in a single season.
And Jackson Blake from NoDAC.
Let me read you
the top scorers in college hockey.
Yeah, I mean, I can't even begin to talk about this.
It's so fucking stupid.
And this is points per game order.
Okay?
Yeah.
So just to make it fair for everybody.
Will Smith, our dear friend,
Macklin Celebrini, Gabe Perot,
Cutter-Gote, Ryan Leonard, Jackson Blake.
Jackson Blake must be a mind-bending,
goal score, right, Dan?
Wrong. He has 22
goals. Compared to
Celebrini's 32,
Cutter's 37, Leonard's 31,
even Will, who is the leading point score
and average point per game guy in college,
both.
He has 23 goals and 46 assists.
It would be one thing if they were like,
oh, Will's the assist guy, so we're not going to give it to him.
Jackson Blake has 22 goals and 38 assists
compared to Will's 23 and 46.
Yeah.
Now, obviously, three, excuse me, four of the top six guys I just listed in college, all play for BC.
So I get that there's voter fatigue there.
They even say that with Heisman voting all the time, where they're like, oh, if it's the same
conference guys, like they can split the votes and shit.
And I certainly didn't want the NCAA, and I'm not chirping Macklin, he's completely worthy
of being in there.
But I certainly didn't want the NCAA to go, the Hobie Baker finalists are Will Smith,
Cutter Gautier, and Ryan Leonard.
But they sure could have.
And it is fucking nuts, nuts to me, that Will is not in this finalist list.
Yeah, it's, there's nothing other, there's nothing to say other than it's so ridiculous.
And the thing that pisses me off is we are not, I'm not a big, if you have the most points, you win the award.
Obviously, that should fucking factor in.
And to not have the leading point score in NCAA hockey as one of the finalists.
is such a joke.
And the fact that he's a true freshman doing it as well is also a joke.
And when you look at the team success and you look at the, in my opinion,
200-foot game that Will plays and the big game player that he is,
he shows up with the brightest lights.
Yep.
What other criteria do you want that he checks to not to get him in there?
It's just, it's so stupid and without naming names, I talked to someone who's on the committee
that votes for this and he said it's the biggest fucking joke in the world.
He was like, it's a bunch of 90-year-old hockey writers, seriously.
I believe it, dude.
He was like, they're not even hockey people, they're just hockey writers who just, you know,
watch the game.
They don't pay attention to enough schools.
There's a lot of coaches who are on there that are obviously folks.
focused on their teams. They're not watching every other team. And I don't know if this came down
to a, yep, like we talked about, Will has the luxury of playing with that line that he's played
with for years now. Cutter is kind of carrying that other line very, very singularly, which,
you know, is great. But if they were like, yeah, we don't want two BC guys, that's stupid.
It's moronic. I don't know how you can look at Celebrini. Both, both of these kids are
freshman.
Yeah.
And Will Smith and
Celebrini and
how you can go
yeah,
Celebrini over Will for
sure.
I don't know
how you do that.
I think this
comes down to the
committee being a
clown show,
the system
being broken
and it needs to
change because
everyone who is
paid even the
slightest bit of
attention to
college hockey this
year knows this
is such a
fucking joke.
Yeah.
So extremely
disappointing.
Extremely disappointing.
Crazy too
that there should be
because Van Tilly
wanted as a freshman
as the third time
ever after Korea and Eichol.
And then two of these guys,
two of the people should be freshmen,
two of the finalists should be freshman this year.
Maybe Maclin wins it anyway.
All right.
It's dumb.
Let's get into some hot ice.
All right, guys, you know we have an awesome deal going with Bet MGM.
And I know that they have an insane bet insurance deal going on right now.
So I'm here to tell you about it.
Okay?
If you bet up to $1,500, make a $5 bet,
make a $1,500 bet.
If you win, congrats, you're a genius.
Take those winnings and run.
run, get yourself something sick. If you lose, they take all that money and they put it back
in your account. You can't lose. It's incredible. So you use promo code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S
for that bet insurance. Don't miss out. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler available in the U.S.
Call 8778-Hope-N-Y or text HOPE-N-Y for New York. Call 1-800-3-2-7-50-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 next step for Arizona. 1-800 bets off for
Iowa, 1-800-981-0023 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Rewards are non-withdrawable bonus bets that expire in seven days in partnership with Kansas
crossing casino and hotel.
See betmgm.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C., Mississippi, New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Yes, sir.
I want to talk about play...
Pretty soon we're going to be doing our actual playoff preview app.
And it might even be an emergency app, by the way, because some of these things are going to go down
to the wire here.
But the, I want to talk about some potential playoff matchups as this all comes together.
Yeah.
Listen to me right now.
These, in my opinion, are the dream matchups for the league.
I'm not saying this is my prediction yet.
I'm just telling you, I'm just going to give you the rundown.
This is the, if the league, and I'll be, I'll be semi-realistic.
You know, I'm not, I'm not going to just pull shit out of my ass here.
Go, let's do the east first, Blake.
Scroll up for that for me.
Boston.
Florida passes Boston.
Okay?
This is just the dreams.
So first round is Boston, Toronto,
and Florida, Tampa.
Yeah, I hate this take by you.
And then New York,
the penguins get in over the red wings,
New York versus Crosby,
and Carolina versus the capitals and Ovechkin.
That's the dream.
That one's the weakest one,
but it just, that's the weakest one.
It's the dream in the East for you.
No, no, that's the leagues.
The league comes themselves to death.
Yeah, you were saying because of the stupid idiot playoff structure.
Yep.
This is why they would like it.
Yes, they like this.
It all worked.
Everything happened perfectly.
Yeah, that is true.
And I'll tell you that that is a nightmare for fans.
Because people, listen to me.
We do not want the best teams getting knocked.
out in the first round.
And we don't want the best matchups
in the first round.
We're going to watch no matter what.
You want the best matchups
in the fucking conference finals.
It's nauseating that we're doing this.
Yep.
Okay.
Go down.
Here's the absolute dream
in the West.
Dallas
finishes the first in the one seed.
Nashville drops to the second wild card
and you get Dallas,
Nashville in the first round.
which leaves Avs Jets
and that's still a great
matchup
and everyone's happy there
then Vancouver
actually
it doesn't really matter
this is just
an absolute nonsense from CP
No but this is so possible
like all these are so possible
These are just hairbrain
like you're making this up on the fly
which I like
Edmonton is your dream
Edmonton Vegas or Edmonton L.A.
I don't have I mean
if you're the league
if I'm the league
it's Edmonton, LA, I think. Just for the three Pete? Yeah, probably. Yeah. And then Vegas Canucks.
Okay, I'll live with that. Edmonton, L.A. So that honestly just stays, basically,
except Vegas jumps Nashville. Yeah. Those are the absolute dream scenarios. What do you think
we're going to get of those? I don't know. I said this on hockey talk yesterday. It's like trying to
predict the playoff picture right now, especially in the east, is like trying to predict the weather in New
England. I don't know what the fuck's going to happen and neither do you. So I'm not making any
predictions. What I'd like to have happen is difficult for me to say because I love so many
of these teams now. It's like my fandom has become I am enjoying rooting for friends and guys in the
league and I'm enjoying rooting for a really awesome fan bases. So I don't want to see anyone lose.
Do I think Nashville and Dallas playing in the first round with the Dutchie situation would be really interesting?
Yes.
But I fucking love Nashville and I fucking love Dallas.
So I don't want to see any of those teams lose.
I think Edmonton, L.A. would be sick.
I think running it back for the third year would be electric.
I don't give a shit, as I've said a million times, who Vegas plays.
That is the ultimate nightmare scenario for anyone in the West.
Whoever they play, that team is going to be furious.
Yep.
It doesn't matter.
Yeah, Vegas is like Tampa.
Yeah, exactly.
And even worse, in my opinion.
Like, much, much worse.
The only advantage that Tampa has is goalie.
Otherwise, Vegas is stronger in every sense.
And I'm happy to eat crow if Vegas gets into the playoffs,
and they're too hurt, and they're just out of sorts, and they lose in the first round, fine.
But this team doesn't give a rat.
ass about this regular season anymore. And if you think they do, you're a fucking moron. It's just,
dude, they're in. There's no one threatening them. Yep. They're in the playoffs. They don't care
who they play. They're not even close. So people being like, dude, Vegas is struggling. They're
skinned a little bit. I'm like, dude, Vegas is fine. I think they care a little bit. I don't.
I know what you're saying where I'm like, yeah, they're just get in. Yeah, it'd be better to play so-and-so
so-and-so, no shit, but, like, they're not, like, sweating about it. That's my point.
Yeah, I just think there's, it's so getable for them to move into more advantageous places
than they are right now. So I don't think they're like, dude, whatever, let's just lose out.
We're in. I get it. I think I guess I get what you're saying, but it's like the difference
between Vancouver and Dallas, you're like, oh, that's such a huge difference. I just don't think
it is. What is it to you? I think, I would, I would play Vancouver one,
million times out of a million if it was up to me.
Yeah, I mean, if Demko comes back in the league, I think that's a silly take.
I think it's silly to just, sure, I get it.
But again, I don't think it's as big as you're saying.
Okay.
Yeah.
That's my whole point.
It's like, yes, do they have a slight preference?
Of course.
But I don't think it's big.
Right.
But if they have a slight preference, I would try to get.
Biggest is also about to insert hurdle into the lineup.
They look so scary.
Like, I'm looking at their lines right now.
Yeah, it's crazy.
It is daunting.
I really want Dallas Nashville.
And again, you're right about everything.
Like, I hate that teams are losing in the first round.
But I really want Dallas, Nashville, and I really want Vegas, Edmonton.
Those are the two in the West that I'm like.
Vegas, Edmonton, I completely agree with you.
I need that second round.
Yeah.
I need that second round.
Vegas Edmonton for the ramifications, for the implication.
The implication.
It would be awesome.
Blake, don't you want that in the first round, dude?
Because then you can get Kings.
Canucks. Don't you want the Canucks?
Look, they just tagged them last night or two nights ago.
We were there. I'm honestly, I'm not that confident in the Kings.
I don't think they're going to make a run out of this.
I mean, they totally could totally turn around and catch fire.
But I honestly would love to see the Kings defeat.
I know you don't like this take, but defeat their boogeyman.
I don't dislike that take.
In fact, I respect people who feel.
You'd like to see them to beat.
Oh, oh, you want the oilers.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I want them to de-thrown the Oilers.
Like that would like we said the thing two weeks ago like dry Cytle would probably be looking to leave.
Yeah.
They lose in that first round, especially if they lose to L.A.
Sure, that'd be amazing.
But can't you just picture the evil smile of the league if the Thomas Hurtle and Mark Stone added Vegas Golden Knights and healthy Aden Hill go like this?
Uh-oh, we're playing Edmonton in the first round.
Can't you just see everyone being like this?
Oh, no.
Oh, this is juicy.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yes, you could.
Like if those two teams play in the first round and Vegas wins game one, everyone's
going to be like this.
Oh my God.
I heard the exact same thing.
I was watching the Leaf game this weekend and they were saying like, what happens
if Toronto loses game one and it's against Toronto or Boston or Florida, but doesn't
matter.
Like the discussions in the media is going to be so intense and so cutthroat right after
game one.
So I'm not looking forward to playoffs that much.
because it was such a tense watch
Oh it's awful
It's awful
So tense
Go back up to the east for me
Yeah let's take a look at the east
Okay so what I want up here
Is
I would love
More than anything
I would love it
If
You know what sucks
Oh no
This can happen
I would like
The New York Islanders
To kindly fuck off
Me too
And get out of playoffs
you assholes.
And I would love
the Pittsburgh penguins
to find their way in there.
I have been...
Specifically that three seed
versus the wild card?
Okay, yeah.
I would love that.
Unfortunately, it's...
I say that because
of teams I want.
Yep.
I want the current
five Atlantic teams
that are in,
I would like in.
I want Detroit in the playoffs.
They deserve to be in the playoffs.
Now, given that,
it's not necessarily,
the matchups I want. Those are just the teams I want to make the playoffs. I would
love to see the sweat session that goes on in New York at Madison Square Garden. If
Sidney Crosby and the Pittsburgh Penguins get in and they, like New York is, no quit
in New York, baby. They're as good as they've been all year. Everyone in Rangers nation is
flying high. And then if this surging penguin. Megatron
Sidney Crosby
finds his way into the playoffs
and that is your first round matchup
that is Nightmare City population
New York Rangers
that would be just drama
and again as a guy who's made a large bet
on the Rangers to win the cup
I don't love it for that reason
I love it for the drama
that would be crazy
yeah pens are 6-0 and 2 in their last 8
like what do you guys think
they could make the playoffs
trading away Jake Gensel
I think they're going to do
and I hate to say it
because I'm such a Red Wings guy
if I'm looking at
these final five games of the playoffs,
like who do I think has the steel to really grip and lock down
and make sure you get in?
It's got to be Crosby over the Red Wings.
But I don't know.
But the penguins had the same fucking problem last year
and lost to the Blackhawks from the second to last game or something.
I did say, dude, there was a time
where it looked like Tampa was going to chase down Toronto.
I know.
And they were going to flip.
And that would have been a wild, wild situation.
Yep.
But right now, yeah, we've got, we're looking at Boston playing Tampa, New York playing Detroit.
I think New York makes mincemeat of Detroit.
I actually love that matchup too, though, I will say, just because I think it'd be fun.
Patty Kane made those comments a little while ago now that was like, we love this,
on a seven-game series, we love this team.
It's Lion, right?
Yeah, Lyons, it's been playing better and better and better.
Which he has.
Yeah, I know, that's what I'm saying.
And that is a really, like, the Rangers in the first round catching Caner or Crosby.
be. I know there's a few other options, but
you know, those two in the driver's seat right
now, that would be super
fun. That's a really exciting matchup.
I want the fucking
Leafs for the B's so bad. It's not going to
happen, but I wanted that so
bad, dude. Yeah, the Boston
pulling away from Florida has been unexpected.
And the reward is the lightning.
And, yeah, brutal. And
I'll tell you what, though,
I feel like a lot of people,
including us at times,
have been unconvinced with this
Boston Bruins team.
They look very good.
Playing some of their best hockey
of the year right now.
Like, Homer and Swayman
are on fire again
and just, I think
Peek's been, like I said, a very
good ad for that defensive
core. Like they've kind of
replaced
Forbert and Shattonkirk
on a regular basis
with With Witherspoon and
Peak. And it's looking good.
And it's just interesting.
But I think
I think what's I think the biggest thing
that is interesting and we'll see
I think whoever Carolina is playing in that
two three matchup I think they're going to sweep
Oh my God, what a dream. I think that is going to be the easiest matchup
I think Carolina with the out of Genssel
The guy has two points of fucking game
It's just it's and you're getting
Literally these are the only options you're getting the islanders the flyers
The penguins or the caps
And you know who is a fucking pervert right now
Freddie Anderson yeah
Oh.
He has come back and is just so good.
I'm so happy for him.
Me too, dude.
It's amazing.
So Carolina, dude, a bit of a wagon.
I think they're going to eviscerate whoever they play.
But as a neutral, I think for what I was doing with the West, being like a feed-me
Edmonton, Vegas.
I think as a neutral, people are probably saying that about Boston, Tampa.
Like, they're like, oh, fuck yeah.
Like the Bruins are this like high-flying, super good East team and they catch the
bolts in the wild card.
Yeah, it's an absolute nightmare.
I mean, it's last year.
It's, you know,
Toronto playing Tampa in the first round.
It was a nightmare for both teams.
I don't want to do this to you, Blake.
I think Toronto has been doing a very good job of flying on the radar.
Yeah, you said this last episode.
And I don't know.
Sammy's playing pretty well.
They seem a little fired up.
Marner's back in the lineup,
there's just a world
where they're better than we all think,
but there's also a world
where the Florida Panthers
done the shit out of you in four games.
Pandas are so good, dude.
They just absolutely just play with their food with us.
But dude, I also don't want to say this
because I don't want to jinx you Florida fans.
I think Bob is playing too much.
Look at some of these
So Lars has been sick, dude
He has, but Bob's games are so hot
He's like creeping on 60 games
I think
Do some quick math on that
But I think Bob's played like 52 games
So he started 56 games
Most in the league or what?
No, not most in the league
I don't believe
I'll find that out
I just think that's too much
That's high
That's higher than it needs to be
50
Sweet spot.
Yeah, yeah.
50 games.
Especially when you got Stolar's at a 2-1-2 goals against.
They've got 102 points to Toronto's 97.
You're not, I guess it's just home ice.
I would borderline shut Bob down for the season.
Yeah, because after that,
Steve's loss.
Yep.
So it's Soros leading the way with 61,
and Giorgiyev right behind him was 60.
60 for Giorgio.
And I'll tell you what, dude,
Georgiev is showing fatigue.
Yep.
Give me your, both of you right now.
Give me your three in order.
scariest team, scariest teams in the playoffs?
New York Rangers number one.
I think the New York Rangers are,
I think they're drunk.
Yep, they are.
And that's the best feeling in the world.
I think they're drunk, and it's weird.
Boston was the juggernaut last year,
but there was something not drunk
about Boston. They were kind of just like,
steady as she goes. This New York team
is drunk. Like, they're losing every other
game, and then they find a way to win.
Yeah. Boston kind of did that here and there.
But I think New York is so drunk on confidence and I think your big guys are rolling so hard that they're going to take that confidence into a playoff series no matter who they play.
And I think we're going to see games one and two.
I think we're going to see, doesn't matter the scoreline.
We're going to see this same drunk confidence.
And it's going to be like this whole shit dude.
They've got it.
They've got the jam.
They're going through.
They're one for me.
Dallas Stars are two.
I think
we've said
I think for two years now
I've just needed
Otter to be better
which is unfair
because I know
you pull out the stats on me
like he's always so good
but I've just needed
Otter to be a little better
and I think he is right now
and I love the depth of that team
and number three
is
Adobe Acrobat Studio
your new foundation
use PDF spaces
to generate a present
Grab your docks, your permits, your moves, AI levels of your pitch, gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing with Acrobat.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
I think it's the Caroline Hurricanes.
Wow.
That's what I was going to say.
I think it's the Carolina Hurricanes.
I love that defense.
I love the offense since Gensel's been added
and I love Freddie Anderson.
It's almost like obviously really scary what happened
but it's almost like this,
that little scare and the way he's bounced back
was like a really nice rest for it.
And now he's just playing his best hockey
at the perfect time.
Vegas too uncertain.
Yeah, I mean like that that's who I was.
It's them in Colorado.
I picked Colorado to win the cup.
Yeah, Colorado with the moose things,
a little uncertainty for me.
But to me it's, I don't mean to talk shit.
It's Gourgiv.
Gourgiv has been really shaky the last like eight games.
And I am not feeling awesome about that.
Vegas, I just, I don't know, but they are terrifying.
Oh my God.
I'm terrified of them.
Blake, top three.
Dallas, Carolina, Florida.
Okay.
What, dude?
Yeah.
The Rangers.
No.
Wow.
I'm Dallas one.
Dallas one, Florida, two.
and then
the three you guys
the Rangers, Cains and Vegas
are what I'm debating in that third spot
um
give me Vegas dude fuck it
fucking I love it
give me Vegas I love it
um
gonna be wild
dude gonna be wild
there are so many different canned cocktails
on the market right now
and I want to talk to you guys
about the best one and that is June shine
and frankly it's not close
June shine is perfect for any occasion
if you want to hang out at the game
If you want to hang out in the backyard, you want to sip a nice cocktail at the bar,
Junshine has you covered every single place you go.
And the best part is it doesn't have that chalky, disgusting taste that all of these different
canned cocktails have.
It's not packed with a bunch of added sugars.
The number one can cocktail margarita on the market has 27 grams of sugar.
That's absurd.
Junshine has six.
This is a no-brainer.
It's 10% ABV.
So you're going to get a nice buzz on.
There's no fuss.
There's no process.
There's no cleanup.
It's easy.
It's right there in the can and it's ready for you to drink.
They have a ton of delicious flavors.
Like we said, that margarita hits different.
And you want to mix it up a little bit?
The hard kombucha's are delicious.
That's what got me onto Junction.
It is the best drink to just sip all day long in the sun outside with a group of friends.
They care about the planet.
They're doing unbelievable, sustainable, beautiful practices when making these products.
And you can get them in over 10,000 locations.
You're going to Target.
You're going to Whole Foods.
You're going to Ralph's, Kroger's, Albertsons,
total wines, Bev Mo, tons of others.
Junshine is going to be there and it's going to get you that buzz and that delicious drink that you always need.
Junshine is the no-brainer canned cocktail.
Sip it today.
All right, let's kick it to our last week of Armchair GM.
Is that right, Blake?
I believe so.
Well, just, you know, judging by the performance and where the point spread is.
Yeah, we have a question for you, Dan.
Yeah.
I've lost.
Yeah.
Did Chris body bag me last week?
35 to 20.
So the point spread is 36.
So 36 point lead.
Do you want to wave it?
Yeah.
One week left 36 point lead.
It's literally impossible.
All done.
It's not impossible.
You got two lucky weeks, as all I'll say.
I do agree there was only two big swing weeks.
Who shit the bed for me this week?
Ivan Fedatov didn't get any starts over over.
I respect that.
I mean, I knew that was going to happen.
Like, that was just a funny thing.
I respect that.
It was a funny pair.
And, I mean, it was Caprizov going off with four goals over the week.
given for 11 points in our scoring system.
That'll do it.
Yeah, and Robert Thomas had a big week for Chris as well.
Yeah, I guess there's been determined that Chris is the better GM.
Yeah, against all odds.
Yeah.
I think I made too many emotional picks.
Yep.
I think also.
I don't even need, we don't even need to pick a roster this week.
Yeah, no, in my pitch, and I think maybe we do some sort of a post to see what the listeners
think of a punishment, but my idea for a punishment is dressing you up in terrible hockey
sty and making you play a beer league game, and Chris and I get some great content of it,
of you looking like a total bender.
But see what the people think.
That is such a difficult thing for me to agree to with my vanity and my ego.
I don't know if I can agree with.
I know.
Think about it.
You don't have to decide right now.
Just think about it.
I'll consider it.
I just, I don't think the punishment for this should be that.
severe. That's not that severe. And this is a year-long
GMing competition. First of all, it wasn't a year-long.
This is a half of a year-long GMing competition. And second of all, I won
a competition against you that I
graciously took the punishment for.
Ooh, okay.
I'm going to do it last.
I'm talking about the shrimp. Yeah. Well, I won that
contest. No, undeniable. No, but you gave me a window to
still win. So I'm willing to give you a window. Like, we can
play in playoffs. I'll do a punishment. We'll discuss the punishment.
I'll do it.
All right.
Sassy predictions.
Yep.
Sassy predictions.
I get fucked in this every week.
Yeah.
It's insane.
I said that Matthews would score five goals in his next three games last week, and he scores four.
Yeah.
You know, I'm like, it's always like, I'm one millisecond away from winning, and I can't.
He is at 64, which is sick, and I thought I wanted him to be past Conner's mark.
He's definitely going to pass it.
70s still on the table.
It was so dope.
We were like, he's kind of going to get hot here.
And he goes 2-1-1.
So I'm 70 watch still happening, Blakey, but I'm going to lose my saucy prediction.
Dan, what was your ridiculous take?
Well, I said I was going to get crazy because I was riding high off of a win.
And I said that the Preds would be tied with the Jets in points, and they are not.
It was a really bad week of four games for the Predits.
Yeah.
That's a bad losses, yeah.
Bad losses, yes.
All right.
So we're both eaten.
Do you have your prediction?
Yeah.
Okay.
All right, here we go.
Here we go.
Really getting a lot on that.
Jesus, yeah, he went for it there.
Now you're putting me on the hot seat, literally.
Okay?
Usually covered, you know.
Saucy predictions.
What's the worst hot sauce you guys have ever had?
The one I had in Boston.
Oh, really?
That was fucking insane.
I think the worst one I've ever done is that nuclear gummy bear I ate here in the office.
They like sent this company sent us these.
It was one package.
Oh, I've heard of these.
Yeah.
Of one gummy bear.
And it was the hottest thing ever.
It ruined my shits for days.
Ugh.
Just days.
Okay, I hate how much the, uh, the hiccups come for me.
All right.
My saucy prediction.
Cause I'm on my lap, dude.
The New York Islanders currently sit in third place in the Met.
They have a game against the Rangers tomorrow, the Canadians on Thursday, and the Rangers on Saturday.
I think by this time next week, the New York Islanders will be out of a playoff spot.
I can't even touch my phone now.
I've got a broken hand.
Don't touch anything, as he always says.
I'm going penguins.
Okay.
They've got three games at Leifes, home versus wings, versus wings, home versus Bruins.
Gargantuan games.
Gargantuan games.
They go 2.0 and 1.
And Crosby has four points.
Wow.
He went double sauce.
I like it.
Gargantuan games.
Big implications in the Met for us.
That is it for us this week at the Empty Netters podcast.
We're coming down the home stretch for real this time.
Playoff picture.
Hangs in the balance.
Enjoy all these.
episodes, enjoy some of these awesome interviews we got coming up. Go subscribe to the YouTube.
Please. If you're listening to this, go subscribe. Download the episodes. Keep hitting us up.
We love it. And until we see you next time, as always. Skate hard.
