Empty Netters Podcast - 88. Who Is Most Valuable To Their Team?? w/ Jonny Laz
Episode Date: April 15, 2024It’s playoff mailbag time! Jonny Laz joins the boys to answer your questions about which star players aren’t getting talked about enough, the playoff match ups they’re begging for, and the sneak...iest teams making the second season. There’s an argument to be made for a 1 vs 16 playoff format, and what teams have the brightest 3-5 year future. SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (3:52) - Playoff teams with the best future (14:58) - MVP Discussion (24:27) - Playoffs should be 1-16? (31:55) - Best first round playoff matchup? (37:00) - Pelech/Mika collision. Rempe seeks retribution? (42:06) - Lalonde job security (48:23) - Slept-on contender going into playoffs (57:13) - Kings real contenders next year? (1:00:26) - Left shot vs Right shot players matter Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cools those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing.
Learn more at Adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
Special episode going on right now.
We got a mailbag edition episode of the Empty,
Netter's podcast. The third
empty netter, our boy Johnny Lazz is joining
us. We are in the final week of the season.
Shit is out of control.
So we're hitting you guys with an
episode where we're answering all the questions
and getting into all the good stuff.
Johnny, how do you feel?
I'm just ready for it.
I think this whole Eastern Conference
race has been dragged on a little too long.
I just want to see playoff hockey
and we're right there.
So, you know, just ready for it.
And can't wait to see what the playoffs have.
store. I couldn't agree more. I also
can't get over the fact that none of these
Eastern Conference teams. I'll give the
penguins a slight pass,
but no one just wants to take it.
It's so frustrating.
Someone just take it and be in the
playoffs. I'm looking at you, Detroit.
You're killing me. We've announced
teams dead, I feel like five times each.
Like in the last month and a half.
It's unbelievable. The penguins have been dead
50 times this year, and now they're just
more alive than anyone. I thought
this was a master's mailbag
actually.
Shit.
Yeah, I feel woefully
unprepared to talk puck.
I'm sorry, dude.
We're talking puck today.
But I will agree
with you guys
the,
oh, I guess it's that
third Mets spot too,
but I was going to say
there's no
seeding races.
Like in the West,
there's a ton of,
like, oh, these guys
could jump so and so
here.
And like the top three
in the Atlanta,
even if you go through
Tampa,
that's kind of just locked.
You know,
top two in the,
met locked. It's really those two spots. But agree with you big time on the, um, on the last three
or four, I guess, fighting for it. You just wish it'd be a little bit more fun if they were all
winning. You know, and they're winning every game. You'd be like, dude, this is a fucking
bloodbath to the end. But when no one wants to grab it, it's kind of anti-climacting.
Well, I was going to say with the seating thing, though, I feel like Tampa was kind of inching
closer to Toronto, but Toronto's been playing really well. Like it seemed like, because those two, um,
you know,
have been battling for a third place,
right?
And it's weird because,
you know,
I think five weeks ago,
everyone was like,
oh,
hope we don't see Florida on the playoffs,
right?
So it was kind of like,
you know,
maybe Toronto would let them kind of jump
and we get a battle of Florida again.
Not that,
you know,
teams are losing on purpose,
but,
you know,
that battle of Florida was a real possibility
and that would have been cool again
in the first round,
but Toronto really has played so underratedly well.
I feel like in their last like 25.
Johnny,
and,
and,
Sammy's been great, too.
It's not, you know, the big boys are buzzing and Nealander's back in the lineup.
And, yes, Sammy is playing the best hockey's played all year.
So it is a weird.
How many does Matthews have?
66?
I think so.
66.
With four left?
Yeah, that sounds right.
And they play the Devils tonight, and he has goals in, I think, 15 goals and 16 goals
and 17 games in his career against the Devils.
What a stat, dude.
That is sick.
It's a family guy.
We put up on our YouTube community page a little while ago
something like, you know, Matthew's going to get 70,
and if you don't think so, you're an idiot or whatever,
just kind of throwing a fastball out there.
And someone commented like, no shot.
And I don't know if he's going to get it, but I'm like, no shot, dude.
There's definitely a shot.
He could easily pop a hat trick, and he's at 69.
There's no shot the Sons made the playoffs,
but there's definitely a shot.
Matthew gets seven.
It's like, I don't know about that, bro.
Oh, Christ.
All right, well, we got a bunch of great questions from all the fans, all the listeners.
We're going to dive right in because there's some great stuff here.
This is one of my favorite ones we're starting out with.
So our first mailback question that the three of us are going to chop up.
Which of the playoff teams or in the playoff hunt do you think has the best three to five year future?
Okay.
If any of you guys have one that jumps out, go.
Wait, which playoff team are team in the playoff hunt?
Yeah, which of the playoff teams right now or in the playoff hunt?
And I think the person phrased it that way because we're going to include on the east,
in the east, we're going to include, you know, Detroit, Islanders, Pittsburgh, Washington,
like those bubble teams.
Sabers, Devils or?
Sabers.
I'm going to include Sabers Devils.
Yeah, sure.
That changes things.
I know.
Yeah.
Because I think three to five years, it could be the Devils.
Okay.
That's your.
I mean, just looking at these teams now, like I'm, I actually think the devils might be one.
I mean, you think about their back end, you have Luke Hughes and Simone Nemitz, like, playing 25 minutes a night this year.
Yeah, that's crazy.
That's going to pay off in the long run, you know, so.
And Johnny, real quick, shout out to Luke, by the way, because we, when we would do some rookie talk, we would be stroking off rightfully so, favor for, you know, being right behind Bedard and points.
and we were like early in the year, especially when Bader got hurt, we were like, Faber could
win the call there.
And when you check it now and Luke's got more points than him, and he's got to get in a ton of time
and everything and running a power play.
But shout out to Luke for quietly, you know, catching up, closing that gap, passing him
and having a fucking hell of a rookie season when it was all set and done.
But I do think Faber's been better.
Me too.
Me too.
Yeah, yeah.
But I respect the shout out for sure.
I mean, of the current playoff teams, I don't think like any of them are really built for
five years from now. What about...
I have maybe a boring answer.
Yeah.
Because they're in first place.
Dallas is my answer.
Yeah.
I just think...
I think Dallas is so good already.
They have all of their big young stars locked up.
They've got a great netminder.
And they're bringing up guys like Maverick, guys like Stancovin.
And then they've got the Albatross, you know,
Jamie Ben, Joe Pavelski and Tyler Sagan contracts coming off the books in that three to five-year
window.
Yeah.
And they're not even that bad.
Like Blake, you were saying, they're like 9 mil.
You know, it's not horrible.
And they get a couple years.
They are very, they did that rebuild on the fly thing.
Yes, they do.
Really good.
So I think Dallas is going to be a problem for the next.
What about the Vancouver?
What's the contracts?
How jammed up are they?
They're up against the cap, but they've got people locked up.
Like, they're fine.
Yeah.
I mean, like, I think I like Vancouver for the next three years.
Are you kidding me?
Like that, I agree.
They're just beginning to peak, dude.
Yeah.
And that is exciting if you're up in the Pacific Northwest.
Yeah.
Do they call that that?
I guess not in Canada?
No.
Because they're the South, they're the Pacific Southwest.
I would get, yeah.
Yeah, like everyone in Canada is like the Southerners in Vancouver.
Yeah.
If we don't know, it's a geography guy.
Yeah.
But even, I don't know, sorry, Dan, but like even Colorado, like, Nate's still going to be Nate, three years.
Kail's going to be.
Cal Randon's going to be, like, you know, it's not like they're, it's not like they have young guys that are going to come up and be better, but their core is still pretty much in their prime right now.
Great point. Absolutely. And then you, you know, you got that middle stat trade. I, seeing him with a full season in Colorado next year is very interesting.
And doesn't it feel like Colorado and no knocks on Georgia, but Colorado and New Jersey, Laz, they feel like if over the, in the next three to five years,
that goalie position is improved, then I'm like, oh shit, they're fucking nasty.
Like if the devils get old mark, I'm like, oh, shit.
You know, like that could change like that on those teams where some other teams do feel
more than one piece away.
Well, the devil's also everyone had them this year.
Yeah.
Oh my.
I did, bro.
I was like, they won the met easily.
You know what I mean?
It's so true.
I put so much stock in goaltending.
I think if you really want to.
want to be a solid team.
You need that gold thing.
You need a Shisterkin to be like, yep, that's going to be your guy.
You need a Swamen or an Olmark.
You need a, you know, Sorokin.
But, uh, well, can I ask you as a question after that?
Yeah.
Well, let me, let me finish my thought.
Yeah.
Um, there's teams like Detroit.
There's teams like Buffalo that I really want to, just looking at their roster on,
in the forward and defense group, I'm like, these teams could be amazing.
But if they don't figure out, similar with New Jersey, Johnny, if they don't figure out that goalie situation, I'm not that confident because it's always going to be their Achilles heel.
And that's why I look at a team like Nashville, who has definitely done the rebuild on the fly.
Yep.
They've made their way into the playoffs.
And whether they lose Soros or not, they've got Ascarov right there.
They've got so many young studs.
And I love what Trots is doing.
And they're another team that I'm like, I think the future looks very bright.
for them in the next three years.
But Johnny, what was your goalie point you were about to make?
Well, I talked about this with I think Rupper.
It might have been Dan Rosen as well, trying to remember who it was.
It was like two weeks ago.
But since you guys are Bruins, guys, if you're Boston, are you swapping O'Marx Swamen
in the playoffs every other game?
Such a good question.
It's been very interesting that tough loss against Carolina recently, but the last six
or so games, I would say that the both of them are buzzing.
I'd say O-Marc has been playing a little bit better in the last 10-game sample size.
I think it would be, for a playoff run and a longevity standpoint,
I think it would be a mistake to not start Swayman.
I think the writing is on the wall.
Really?
Dude, you had trades in place to move O-Mark,
and that is just a clear decision that you're going with Swayman.
His contract extension is waiting in limbo.
I think it would be a wild move to actively go,
yeah, we're not going to start you.
I think the last two years,
Elmark has got the start and has not performed.
He got hurt last year.
That was a huge factor.
But if you look at his numbers, they're not great.
I think Swamen is the more mentally tough of the two,
and I think he's earned his shot to get a playoffs.
If they did go with the,
no matter what happens, we're going back and forth,
I would love it because I think it'd be a wildcard move and it'd be interesting to see.
It's been their DNA all, you know, the last two years.
I think it's a crazy move.
And, you know, talking with a lot of the players, including some of the players on Boston,
they don't like the idea of that.
And I buy into that.
I buy into the, especially in the playoffs, I want to know who's in my fucking net for the,
for the haul.
I don't want to be dealing with back and forth and I get that mentality.
I'm so the opposite.
Dude,
Okay.
Dude,
from a money ball
standpoint,
I'm with you,
dude.
I think it's,
I would love it.
But I,
what I'm saying is,
I get the players,
I mean,
the amount of guys in the league
who have,
we've asked this to
off air who have been like,
I would fucking hate that.
It's been surprising,
but I get it.
I get what they're talking about.
Me too.
And,
and Laz,
I think we're going to be more aligned.
I get that argument of,
I want to know who our guy is.
But I think it kind of goes
the other way in the other team.
Like,
You never quite know, you know, because someone's got a good glove.
Someone's beatable low stick.
Like, I like that the other team has to wait till the lineups are announced in the morning to be like,
who we getting tonight, you know, and keeping them on their toes.
The thing that I find so interesting is the league has morphed into this tandem thing
and teams are getting success with it.
The goalie's fresher and all that stuff that I've been saying, why then keep doing it?
But they're like, well, no, the reason we're doing that was to keep our starter fresh
to do the playoffs by himself.
Like that's the whole reason the tandem came about.
And I'm like, I guess.
But just like, don't you, isn't he going to get worn down now?
Like now you're putting him through this grind.
It's like, take a fucking day off, dude.
That's what I'm saying, man.
They've been first in the Atlantic all year long.
And this is what they've done to get there.
Like, why change it now?
It's the DNA?
Well, to Dan's point.
Like, yeah, you want to have a guy carry you.
Like, you don't want to, you know, give one guy confidence one night and then take it away the next night.
but if this is what's been working the whole way here,
like we saw it last year they did it.
And then, you know,
when shit hits the fan,
they kind of go to one guy who's been cold.
Yep.
And if shit hits the fan this year,
at least whatever guy has been playing has been playing.
Yeah.
You know, I don't know.
I, it's,
you know,
I'm not a guy who watches the Bruins a lot,
but, you know,
every time I do or am paying attention to them,
it's, you know,
a back and forth battle between Olmark and Swamen.
And if I'm a Bruins fan,
I'm like,
hey, this is what's been successful.
Why not keep it that way?
Like, why change it?
I love that take.
And that's how I feel in what I meant when I said,
it's been their DNA for the last two years.
It's clearly gone very well.
But you don't think they learned from last year's playoffs?
Well, here's the thing, dude.
Here's the thing that people forget about last year's playoffs.
O-Mark was playing very well,
and they were up 3-1 in the series,
and then he got hurt in that game.
And then lost two straight,
and then was too hurt to play,
and Swamen played, and played phenomenally.
and was winning until a minute left,
and then they got tied up.
They tied it up and Florida won an overtime.
So I do think that there's something to learn from last playoffs.
The mistake was made after you went up 3-1, you start swimming.
To me, that was a no-brainer.
But anyway, I would love to see them do this,
because I think everything you just said is so right.
What rattles me is the circus it would be in the media.
If it goes, if it goes,
well, right? Like if they play
Toronto in the first round
and they go, we're going
Olmark game one, Swam in game two, and we're
alternating no matter what.
If they sweep Toronto, people will go
Jesus Christ is the most genius move in the world.
If you go win game
one with O'Mark and Nett, lose game
two with Swamen in Nett, immediately.
The fans on Twitter,
the media is going to go, okay, well
you go back to O'Mark here and if O'Me
wins, you have to go with O'Mark in game four, right?
And it's just like... And imagine if it goes
win game three L mark lose game for Swayman people are like how could you ever play Swamen you know
it's just like it would be such a surthous I would still do it though I would still do it
and hey you know what me too I I it's we've been loving the drama this year and I want more of it
but I just think it would be a sick thing to see it would be a really cool thing to see I love it
all right let's go to our second question um this one has been talked about a lot
been a huge topic on Twitter recently.
MVP discussion.
Nate, Cooch, McDavid, Crosby.
What are your thoughts on all?
And hey, when we do this, let's live in the world where
Penguins have made the playoffs.
Penguins make the playoffs.
Nope, that's it.
We can't set any more parameters because that it...
Cooch gets 100 assists.
Stop it, shut up. Don't listen to him.
Matthew score 70.
And McDavid also gets 100, and Nate has 50 plus.
and 90 plus.
I mean,
you guys are just
going to have me on here
and blatantly disrespect
Artemi Panarra.
Yes.
Just like such a fucking,
give me a break.
Don't even
let me whisper this man's name
in the same sentence
as these four people.
Let me just make one point.
Yep, maybe four or five.
Why is Kuch
such a big argument
because he's what,
40 points ahead of the next guy?
Sure.
And leading the league.
Let him go.
And leading the league.
Yep.
Panarin, 40 points ahead of the next guy.
Yep.
The Rangers.
First place, majority of the season.
Yep.
Could win a president's trophy.
Elevates the team.
Tampa, wild card all year long.
Yep.
McKinnon, I get.
He's been unreal as well.
You know, does he have 50 goals yet?
Yeah.
He got it right.
He did the other day.
Yeah, 50 goals.
And that has.
Patrick was fucking sick.
Dude, those are the craziest three goals I've ever seen.
I said that to Dan, but that made no sense.
Unbelievable.
I do think, though, and like, while half of me is kidding about the Panarin thing,
like, I do think there should be some consideration of what you do to elevate your team
and their success.
And I think Panarin has done that the most of anyone until Crosby lately.
You know, maybe McDavid after the first 20 games of the year.
You know, Kuchrab, they've been, like I said, they've been in the Wildcario.
all year and Colorado's been
first, second they've kind of gone up and down in that
division, but the Rangers have been
one since day one.
And it's been Panarin carrying them. I
don't think he's getting enough credit
for what he's done to their team.
But if I'm picking an MVP today,
everything I've seen from Nathan McKinnon,
it's got to be him. I mean, scoring 50
goals and having like maybe 90,
dude, 90 plus. Yeah.
So I love that.
To answer your question,
the reason I don't bring up Artemi Panarin
name is because I don't bring up
David Posternak's name. And if you want to make that
what I think Pasta deserves credit too. Oh, listen
they're in the they're in the top
10 but I think these four guys
are just above those two
because Pasta is the same way dude.
Like you want to talk about elevating your team
pasta is in that same conversation
of he has X amount of points more
than the next guy the same as Panarin does
the same as Kuch does and I think
the star power. If anything Pasta deserves more
credit than Panarin. I agree. That's what I was about
their roster. Like you look at the roster
that, I mean, the absolute stars that Panarin is playing with, and then you look at who Pasta's playing with.
And you're like, are you fucking kidding me?
Like, this is ridiculous.
But back to what you said, these other four guys, I just think, are on another plane.
And I hear the 70 goals.
I hear the 100 assists.
I am so with Johnny.
I said this in January with Chelyos.
Just looking at Nathan McKinnon, I do.
think there's a different level. I think he is the MVP of the season. Okay. One more feather
in Panarin's cap, Johnny, which I think is cool. Yeah, I'm really like, I don't get why there's
not enough love toward Panarin. I think it's insane. Yeah, one more feather in his cap, I would say,
and not that this is part of the voting probably, but it's massive career highs. You know,
pasta did this last, pasta is going to get 50, right, this year probably. He had 61 goals last year.
You know, Panarin is like shattering individual records, PRing everywhere while doing all that stuff, too.
I think that's a really cool point.
He's got 160 points.
Everyone's acting like he's got like maybe like cracking 100.
Yeah.
I'm like, oh no, he's he is dominating.
I don't think anyone's acting like that.
I think I think people are saying McKinan and Kutraev have so many more points.
It's like Panarin still is, he's going to hit 120.
Is Panarin fourth in points?
I think so.
Yeah, yeah.
I mean, they all have 20 plus points more than him and around.
Listen, I'm with you, dude.
Panarin's a machine.
He's right in that conversation.
Well, just one more thing.
And CPI, I'm so sorry.
This is just my passion.
Yes, I agree.
Drysidl also has 104 points with David with that argument.
Yep.
And Rantan also has over 102.
The next guy behind Panarin is Trochec with 76.
That's crazy.
Troject.
Yeah, I mean, like, and that's that, that was my point.
Pasta, I think, has 107, 106 points.
And Marshan has like 68.
Yeah, Marsha has like 68.
Yeah.
And then after that, it's like Charlie Coil with 58.
I mean like, are you fucking joking me, dude?
That's why I think those guys need a little bit more a lot.
Like, you know what I mean?
I don't know.
I see it differently, I think, than most people, but like.
I also want to make it very clear.
This was a mailbag question sent in.
I didn't make up this question with these four guys.
So, well, so this is what I want to talk about.
Fuck whoever said it in.
I want to ask you guys this.
The NBA, and they don't execute this perfectly all the time,
but technically, if you look it up, the NBA, their definition,
of MVP is specifically most valuable to their team.
It's not who's the best player in the league or who was the best player in the league this year.
It's like who was the most valuable to their team?
And again, they don't execute it perfectly all the time in my opinion.
But there's a reason that's why it's not just LeBron every year because they'd be like,
yeah, you're the best player.
Like, this is stupid.
And every time you guys, Johnny, you said if you had to pick right now, McKinnon,
you've been on McKinnon for months.
The reason I struggle with that, and he's the fucking man.
But the reason I struggle with it is he does look like the best most complete player this year, this season, for sure.
But I'm kind of like, and I think you're saying this in a way, Johnny, I almost like the NBA version of the award more where I'm like, who was the most valuable player to their team.
And that's where you start bringing in the Crosby's, if they make it, the Pinarans.
You know, where I'm like, that's a cool award to hand out more so than just like he was the best this year.
He had the best year.
I'm like, I don't care who had the best year.
I mean, you know.
It's hard to measure, though.
I know, of course.
It is.
It totally is.
Although if we're making that argument,
McDavid's out of the race
because you'll have a ship pump Vegas last night without him.
Yeah, he's done.
Yeah, he's out.
One game.
I made this joke last week if we're going with the barometer of
who's the most valuable player to their team.
Connor Bardard is the MVP.
Yeah, yeah.
He is playing with a bunch of grocery bags.
Yeah, that's actually a good point.
But they're in dead last, and he's a dash 40, though.
It doesn't matter.
He's playing with a bunch of grocery baggers.
That's why he's a dash 40.
But if they removed him, I was to say, if they removed him, they're still in dead last.
Whereas, like, if you remove Sid, the penguins are in dead last.
And if they removed him, they have zero fucking goals.
So he is the most valuable player to their team.
Yeah, fair.
But I mean.
No, but I think CP is right there with the standings.
I mean, sure.
Another argument, though, would be like, I think I talked about the strength star of value,
Hellebuck.
Oh, great one, dude.
Right.
That's a great one, because we haven't seen a goalie since.
Price. Did he win?
I mean...
Price won at the year.
Jamie Ben led the league with like 87.
82 or so, yeah, 87, whatever was.
Dude, I think Bob is in that same category.
Bob's playing 60 games this year for
Florida. Like, you know, that's crazy.
But I love how no matter what question
we get, we always just go on tangents.
Yeah, that's true.
It's never just a simple answer. The mail-bad question is, what's up,
guys? And we're like, it's great question. Here we go.
We didn't, we haven't even touched on these four
guys. Like, we haven't even talked about Crosby.
It's unbelievable. But the last thing I'll say,
on that point of
the most valuable
to your team,
to go back to Johnny's point,
like I look at a guy like Trocheque
with 70 plus points
and I'm like,
a lot of that has to do with Panera.
I look at,
and the reason I love McKinnon
is just from the eye test,
Austin Matthews might score 70 goals.
That's absurd.
Yeah.
It's amazing.
But Toronto is in third place,
in the Atlantic.
They're kind of doing what they did last year.
They are what they are.
I look at McDavid.
He might have a hundred.
Cooch.
They might have a hundred assists.
It's unbelievable.
They're out of control.
But the way McKinnon drags that team to wins,
clearly motivates everyone on the ice.
You look at a guy like Jonathan Druand,
who's just had a complete rebirth of his career.
Those are the things where I'm like,
this dude is the MVP.
That's why I like him.
Has Cooch won one?
I know McKinnon.
Yes, he has.
Yeah, I think the question.
Kinnon hasn't.
I know, I know.
I know.
Oh, you said hasn't?
He was answering Kooch.
Kooch, yes.
Kooch has won.
Yeah, I'm fairly certain about that.
I can't remember.
Because if Kooch has won one, I bet they give it to Nate because he, you know, feels like almost like a, what's that Oscar they give out when you've never got one and you're like 80?
And they're like, here you go.
Lifetime achievement.
Lifetime achievement Oscar.
Like, I feel like they'll just give Nate the MVP this year for not having one yet.
Like, come on.
Find out if Kooch does.
Kooch has a heart in 2019.
Yeah.
He won the Art Roth.
the Ted Lindsay and the heart in 2019.
Okay, next.
Next question.
Playoff question.
Playoffs should be one through 16.
Your thoughts?
Dude, I want to talk about this so bad.
You hate it, John.
I don't think so.
Why do?
I just think there's something great about the Eastern Western Conference.
And I think that takes away from it if you do one through 16.
And plus, like, the travel, like, I think the travel has a lot to do with it, too, right?
Like you could play a team, let's say, you know, it could be Rangers King's first round.
And then, you know, that just kills a team for the second round with all the travel.
If, you know, you're going six-hour flights every night.
So I don't know.
I mean, I am, you know, I'm all four new ideas and I love being creative with stuff.
But there's also some things where I just like the way it's done and I don't want to see it change.
So I or go ahead.
No, no, please.
You're passionate about it.
Yeah, because this is my Panarin MVP, Johnny.
I need this so bad.
This is your Panarin.
it. So, dude, let me read you the matchups, too, just because this would be cool if we did it.
All right. Rangers, Islanders, one versus 16. Stars, blues, two versus 15. Cains. Blues.
Yeah. Well, dude, this is my argument. Like, my, the core of my argument is the caps are 17.
The Blues aren't even the playoffs. That's, this is the core of my argument. The Caps are 17. The Penguins are 18.
I see what you're saying. Okay, you're getting rid of both conferences. I'm like, why are the top
16 teams not in the playoffs. It is fucking
baffling to me. They're like, congrats.
Washington, you got in and I'm like, the blues
are much better than you. And you're, they're
Oh, I misunderstood. I thought it was still
like the divisions and the wildcards
and then you just do one through 16. I didn't realize
it was like, no, like, bro. 16th place in the league
gets in. Yeah. Oh, that changes things.
Like, give me one through 16. Like the
top 16 team team for the league. Yes,
should get in. It's fucking insane.
They're like, well, you know, you guys,
your conference was worse this year. So even
though you were only 500, you get in and we're sending
home the team that's fucking 60 and 20 and I'm like what dude you know yeah no no that's that's
different I want to see that so bad the travel it well I'll read them uh uh Keynes Vegas
Kings Bruins tough one there for with travel um about as bad as it gets Nashville Nashville
Nashville Canucks bad uh Colorado Tampa Florida Toronto sick that'd be cool Winnipeg Edmonton
that'd be cool um my point is this dude the travel is a grind we fucking lived it
last cup finals in that long travel and we're not even playing and we were bitching about how tired we were
so i get it but you know they're on fucking sick flights and with treatment you know like it's not
that bad is my point the reason conferences started and division started in the first place when all
these pro leagues were formed is because of travel because you were training and shit so they were
like let's just keep everybody close now you're in fucking private jets i'm like who fucking cares
and dude
there's
this is kind of a
bullshit excuse for me
but like Nashville's
in the Western Conference
like there's some shit travel
already
like if it's Nashville Kings
first round they're like
fuck me dude
like what the heck
you know what I mean
so it's not like they don't travel
anyway
there's some long flights
built in already
and I just
dude
give me the fucking
give me the 16 best teams
and then play in order
of one to the bottom
and then move your way up
listen
we love chaos
empty netters
loves chaos
that's a bit chaotic
and I think it's chaotic in a good way.
I really do love the idea of
it's the 16 best teams.
That is cool.
But if you were to do this,
you have to do out with everything.
You need to completely get rid of the divisions
and the conferences in a sense
because if you want it to be truly fair,
the schedule needs to be just a complete roll around of everybody.
Well, yeah.
Because the East and West only play each other twice a year.
Exactly.
But like that needs to change.
Like it needs to be, you cannot do this with the same schedules.
Because for example, if the East is much stronger by and large than the West in a given year,
then yeah, you're going to have an East team in the playoffs that might have a worse record than one of the West teams.
But it's because the West team is playing a bunch of powder puff teams in comparison.
Yep.
So you would need to do out with that.
I think that's, and obviously you can't, the math would be hard trying to do like you play everyone three times.
Yeah.
You couldn't work with an 82 game.
schedule. You'd have to, like, you'd have to change that, too, if you wanted it to be, like,
play everyone the same amount of times. Like that would be. I do think there'd be, I'm going to
work on this for you guys. I do think there would be a way to, to, you don't play everyone the
same amount of times, but there's like a rotation. You know how like the NFL does like,
this year you play that conference? Like the AFCEs plays the Nazis. The next year they play
the NFC. Like, I do think there could be some kind of rotation built in and you wouldn't play
everyone the same amount of times for sure. But I'd be like, well, them, them the brakes do. That was
the way this year broke for you. And this is who got it. That would be. That would be
fine. I'm not saying it's impossible. I'm just saying the current schedule does not work.
I'm going to work on this. I think the compromise and I'm not reinvented. Yeah. I'm not reinventing
the wheel is just so obvious to go back to one through eight. Yeah. Like it's so obvious.
It's tricky because I like the fucking, it's fun. You know, when it's like, I don't want good teams to go away.
But when it's like, dude, it's Vegas, Edmonton, round one. I'm like, here we fucking go. You know, it did exactly what they wanted it to do, I guess is my point. Like they were like, we want to create
these like massive indivision, massive rivalries in round one. And they get it every year.
And but what I said very recently is, I think the disaster of this is, is sure, you get that,
but now all the best matchups are gone after round one. And the best teams are getting knocked
out after round one. And that's fucking moronic. I think does round two, is that round two feels
like the only round that suffers, though. Because by the conference finals, it's a sick matchup again,
unless there's a Cinderella team, and in that case, good for that.
I think it's a, yeah, like, it does, like, in my opinion,
last year the Eastern Conference final was Boston, Florida.
And what was it actually?
It was round one.
No, what was who to Florida play?
Carolina.
Carolina, yeah, and they pumped.
And they got sweat.
But Carolina was sick last year.
Like, that's, Carolina is so much better this year.
Oh, for sure.
And I think Boston would have shit pumped Carolina last year.
I think Florida, Boston was...
Are you just saying that, though, because Florida won?
Yeah.
No, because at the beginning of that season,
I thought we all thought Florida would be good,
and then their goaltending sucked dick until the playoffs.
The playoffs showed up, and Bob went like this.
By the way, I'm Bob again, and then things changed.
And I just think that was the Eastern Conference Finals.
And yes, it's...
But that's another one, dude.
I heard...
We got to move on.
We got to move on.
Yeah.
I just sometimes...
Last thing I'll say on this, sometimes I get rattled with...
with people bitching about this playoff format when it almost would have happened anyway.
Like Florida was a wildcard team last year.
Boston would have played them first anyway.
Like they were eight.
That was the one eight no matter what.
That's fair.
This year I heard Witt on Chicklets being like,
it's fucking ass that Boston gets Tampa first.
And I'm like, agree.
I don't want Tampa at all.
But Boston is two.
Tampa's six.
Like it wouldn't be,
but if we did it,
one eight,
they'd be six.
Oh yeah,
so I'm like they almost would have got them anyway in the one eight.
You know what I'm saying?
So like, it's easy to bitch, but they don't miss that often.
To me, it's the two, three that's stupid.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, that's hard.
Right now, like Florida, Toronto, right?
Like, I'm like, that's bullshit.
Yeah, I don't like that.
Similar topic, just a perfect segue.
What do you guys, next question is,
what do you guys think could be
some of the best first round matchups that we're seeing?
Obviously, we don't know.
Some of them are more or less locked in,
but what do you guys think some of the best ones could be?
I mean, I'm still hoping for Rangers Islanders.
I need Pittsburgh or Washington
to jump the other.
Islanders for third in the Met, have the Islanders dropped to the second wild card,
and then we get it.
I mean, that's obviously pretty biased on my part.
Are you sure you want that?
Yeah, I do.
I just, listen, like, even if the devil's won last year, like, being, not only being
able to go to all seven games and cover it because it was so easy to travel, like, just,
you know, good point.
Feeling hockey in this area, like, at its full peak was awesome.
And, you know, there's this Ranger Islander novelty or,
or whatever you want to call it about this rivalry that's gone on for so long.
But, like, in my lifetime, it hasn't really been that crazy.
Because, like, both teams have never really been that good at the same time.
So I think this would be somewhat of, like, a rebirth of it.
So I'm rooting for that one.
But, you know, as far as, like, other ones go, I mean, in the West, like,
I'd love to see Edmonton and Vegas if Vegas can jump up.
Dude, okay, that's what I was right about to ask you.
Do you want Edmonton Vegas or Edmonton?
LA you want Vegas I mean I think that was just a fun series to watch last year and I'd hate for
Vegas to like lose in the first round and not see it at all I know dude that was my only thought
about that where I was like to I guess even though I just argued against this losing one at
Edmonton Vegas right away is tough but that would be lit I think the LA people around here
certainly Blakey wants the oilers in the first round for the kings just because it's like let's
fucking run it back again bitch they want to take them down you know
I want, but I'm not going to get it.
I want Boston, Toronto so bad in the first round.
It would take Florida jump in the bees, but it's not going to happen, I don't think.
The one I've been salivating about dude, and Vegas is going to have to wake up if it's going to happen, but is Dallas Nashville in the first round.
Yeah, that would be sick.
Just because, like, I don't know, I feel like such similar vibes in those places.
Dallas looks so good.
Can you guys talk about that in like a recent episode or something?
Yeah, just this past episode, I thought, I said it'll be interesting.
how dutchy feels about that one.
Yeah, yeah.
Get bought out, then bang,
30-goal season, playing amazing with Dallas.
And that's a,
that's a tough customer
for Dallas, dude.
Oh my God.
That's a team I do not want to play.
So that would be wild.
Mine is definitely,
um,
uh,
Vegas Edmonton.
Really?
Like I'm,
I'm truly desperate for that.
Dude, it will be crazy.
Because I think Vegas will beat them.
And it will be this,
the, the drama and storylines of
of Edmonton losing in the first round are going,
to keep my cock hard for months.
Dude, I said the other,
I go to a week ago,
I was like,
Vegas was going on a four game,
I think maybe three game road trip,
one game at home.
And my saucy prediction was they were like,
here we go.
This is when Vegas wakes up.
They're going to go four and oh on this rip.
They went three in one,
three oh and one.
They lost an OT and it was the game to Nashville
that they were up for nothing or whatever.
But,
you know,
even though I had to eat a hot wig for it,
I was like,
I was right.
Like Vegas snapped a,
to form now let's fucking rock and then now they've dumped three straight they got spanked by the oilers
last night without mac david and i started to be i think i put it up on youtube i was like damn i'm a
little concerned that they are just going to be snapping ready but i almost now i'm going to
fucking rationalize everything i almost think this can help because i saw a bunch of cassidy quotes after
he was like that's embarrassing and you know sometimes you just need that those boys need that to
be like, all right, dude, figure it out.
I'm prepared to eat crow, but I've been saying it for weeks now.
I truly don't think Vegas gives a flying fuck about any of these games.
It means nothing to them.
What do you think about that last?
I mean, I don't know if they don't give a fuck, but like, you know, they're still missing Petrangelo on the back end.
Like, hurdles played like two games.
Yeah, yeah.
Stones out.
Stones out.
Like, they're not really, you know, they're,
peak of themselves.
It's hard to sit here and say that teams don't give a fuck, right?
I'm obviously not saying that the players are like, whatever.
I'm saying when the fan days is going like this.
Guys, we get DMs every day.
It's like, guys, Vegas, like I'm concerned.
They are not concerned.
Same with Florida, by the way.
We get so many messages about that.
Like, should we be worried about the Panthers?
And I'm like, no.
Yeah, but I think you also like want to feel good going into the playoffs.
No doubt.
No doubt.
I don't know if you're in Vegas if you feel great right now.
Yeah, very true.
I think the thing they cling to is that they're missing three of their top eight players.
Dude, defending cup champs or if it's defending cup champs or McDavid out in the first round,
that'll be, that'll be a point in television.
Johnny, you're going to take the lead on this one.
Go boy.
Next question.
What are your thoughts on the Pelic Mika collision?
Will Rempi seek retribution in the next matchup?
Honestly, I'm so fucking sick of this already.
I think it was an accident.
Both guys came out and said in their, like, quotes after morning skate today.
Like, Pellick said it was accidental.
If you saw the video of me after, like, my body language was like apologetic.
Like, I didn't want to hurt him.
And Mika was like, I'm not going to sit here and assume that he did it on purpose.
Like, it was probably accidental.
Like, everyone on the ice is responsible for where they're looking for their awareness.
Like, Pellick was following the play.
Sure, maybe he turned, like, into it a little bit.
but I don't think he did it maliciously.
And Mika has to keep his head up when he's skating to the bench,
like I know where the players are.
Like these collisions happen all the time.
I've been in plenty of them myself.
Like, you know, it's just something that happens.
And do I think they're going to go after Pellick in the next game?
No, Mika's perfectly fine.
He's playing tonight.
So like.
And thank God, by the way.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And again, like I don't think you, you know, for example,
Rempi's scratched tonight.
And I think if you put him in Saturday,
you're just creating this own narrative.
yourself. Like if you don't play Rempe and you and you don't feel the need to respond,
then you just play the fucking game, let the game take care of itself. And it's not this big
circus that if you do put Rempe in, it will be. But again, like, that's also another side story
too, because the Renpey thing, I still think he should be playing these games because at some
point you're going to look to him to create some energy in the playoffs. And by sitting him in all
these games, you're not, I don't think you're teaching him anything. I think you should be putting
him in these games and letting him be accustomed to these situations so that when the games do matter
more, he's a little bit more comfortable in his own skin and on his own skates. So like, I don't know.
I know there are some people who disagree with me and some people who agree with me. I don't think
Ramby plays game one in the playoffs, but I do think at some point the Rangers are going to need a
boost of energy and a little bit of life and you're going to look to him and he's not going to
have that like comfortability of playing playoff hockey under his belt and he might do something stupid.
So I don't know. I think, I don't know. I'm happy you started with me, but
And I got a little off topic.
The Pellick Zabandadad thing couldn't have been more incidental, and I'll leave it at that.
Dude, I want to hear you waiting on the Pellick thing a little bit, but I just want to say in that Rempie point, Johnny, I thought that was a fantastic take where you ended, because I was like, yeah, you're right, it would be nice to him to get some burn on these last games of the year here where it kind of feels like a playoff atmosphere and stuff.
But I thought you were implying, and then when he gets out there, he might shy away from his game because his men.
But I think your point is so sound and spot on.
And we've seen, and I'm not even chirping Rampi.
You know, my opinions are my opinions on him.
But we've seen him kind of, not kind of.
We've seen him cross that line, right?
Where it's like, hey, dude, calm down.
And that hurts you so bad in the playoffs.
There's completely different players.
But think about cadre like two years in a row on the Leafs.
When you're just trying to be energetic and it's like bang from behind and now you're sussied.
You know, like that kind of stuff.
I don't know if that's a fair comparison.
It's unfair.
What are you doing?
Both players get suspended like it's their fucking job.
But I think that hurts.
But I think Cadre's a much better.
I'm joking.
I'm joking.
It hurts the least more to lose cadre than rep you.
But I'm just saying,
you know,
like you don't want guys out there go taking three game suspensions in the play.
That's not the energy we're looking for,
I guess is what I'm trying to say.
And kind of getting those reps in now would be super helpful.
So I thought that was a great point.
But Dan,
I was just basically saying the emotion of the playoffs.
It's hard to control your emotions in the games like that.
So if he learns to just like play the game
and not think about the extracurriculars,
like in these next three games,
you know,
come playoff time in the first 10 minutes of a game.
He's not just all,
jittered up and shit.
Yeah, yeah.
It's kind of like,
boom,
sorry,
I can't play my game.
You control my stuff.
Go Chipie had a fucking hilarious video.
I don't know if you guys saw it.
I got to watch it.
That's funny.
Oh,
so good.
Like, Rempey in the locker,
I'm getting ready to play the Islanders,
just like him like punching.
Yeah, it's so funny.
That's great.
But Dan,
what do you think?
I have almost nothing to add.
I think,
Johnny,
you said it perfectly.
I think it's so hilariously overblown.
And I love when players come out and say the things that the two of them said,
they were like,
it was a collision,
man.
Like,
whatever.
But I get what Lobelet's doing too,
though,
because like the end of the game,
Strochak gets clearly hit from behind,
no call.
Like,
I think the emotions were just high.
And that was the question that was asked,
and he responded with a lot of emotion.
Yep.
No problem with labs at all.
What I have a problem with is the idiot,
mouth breathing,
moron fans on Twitter
who are doing things like
you know taking a screenshot
of the moment of collision and being like
look at Pellick's legs this is clearly
a malicious act he should be suspended
10 games for the I'm like those are the type
of people I'm like you make hockey bad
you should be suspended from Twitter
you should be suspended from life
you're a fucking moron and I can't
I like you know I love passion
but it's shit like that that just drives me
insane it's like dude let the players
be the ones to dictate
how we should feel about this to an extent.
And the two of them have been so mature and smart about it,
then I'm like, it's done, dude.
Let's move on.
So I think that was perfectly said by you, Johnny.
Moving on to the Red Wings.
If the Red Wings miss playoffs,
should Lelonde be worried about his job?
Absolutely not, in my opinion.
Dan had said in a couple episodes a few weeks back
that it's worse if the Red Wings missed the playoffs
than if the Flyers do,
even though the Flyers that have been in all year.
And I actually buy that take
because of what the flowers are going through
and how the Red Wings multiple times
I'm pretty sure have controlled their own destiny
as recently as this Caps lost
but I think before that they were kind of on a heater
so I do think they are bumped
I didn't pick them to make the playoffs this year
so on a on a zoomed out
35,000 foot view
if they just missed the playoffs I still don't think
this was a bad season for them they're they look
good they're still trended into the right direction
so for me
yeah dude did we hit if they miss
did you hit some bumps in the road at the end there
you had a chance to fucking grab it at home against the fucking capitals.
Yeah, it sucks.
But there is no need for a new voice in that room, in my opinion.
And that's usually what this comes down to.
I think we've said this on the pod many times.
It's rarely when there's a coaching change,
it's rarely an X's an O's problem.
It's a voice.
It's a lost the locker room problem.
Just needed some new energy in there.
So to me, there's no, there's no.
issues in that Red Wings room, I don't think. So even if they miss, I'm good. I agree.
Also, you get a full year with Patrick Kane next year. Yeah, too. He wasn't there in the first half of the year.
I don't want, I don't know if you guys saw my cane take on Twitter that I got absolutely ripped for.
I couldn't believe people got on you for that. Wait, well, I could because Ranger fans are Ranger fans.
Yeah, true. What? What did you say again? I saw it, but I can't remember. I was like the Ranger fan and me would
hate it, but the hockey fan would be in me would think it's sick if Patrick Kane scored an
overtime goal at MSG against the Rangers in the playoffs, which I stand by.
Yeah, yeah.
But I was wondering if you guys that saw that and if you had an opinion on it.
I, like I said, I completely agreed with you.
I, you're right, Rangers fans are going to Rangers fan, but I thought it was a correct one.
I, I thought it was a correct take.
I agree with you both.
I don't think Lalonde will be or should even be considered to be fired.
I do think that the Red Wings, first of all, they hope they have Kane for next year.
Kane is not signed.
I think he's going to resign, no doubt, but that's up in the air.
The Red Wings have overachieved this year per what most people thought they would do.
The median prediction.
I thought that they would be in this playoff picture.
So this collapse is a bad look.
And then who knows?
They might still get in.
But this really bad stumble over the last three, four weeks now is bad.
It is like, no question about it bad.
And I think some of that is on Laland.
I think some of it's on the players.
So it's just the they could taste playoffs.
They were in.
And now they've completely collapsed.
and people are being like, someone has to pay for this.
But it's one of the situations where you know Stevie Y and ownership is going to be like,
everyone calmed out.
Like we are we're head of schedule on paper.
So yeah, I don't think he's in, I don't think his job's in jeopardy.
But I do think that this has been an embarrassing for a week.
Yeah.
On the cane thing real quick, Johnny, I happily admit I am a very, it's the adjective here,
spiteful maybe
sports fan in that
when a team beats me some fans
when a team beats you they go I hope they win now
I hope we lost to the champs and I'm like
I hope they fucking lose
I hope they get swept immediately
fuck those guys and it lingers for years
dude I hate the blues still you know because I'm like
they beat me in the cup that one time
and I had that lingering
stuff about the caner
hawks after that Bruins cup
and you know he was such a fun
exciting American player so it was
like that was still sick but I was like
whatever dude like I'm I'm
I'm done with Patrick Kane and Taze and all those
boys and then well I was just going to say
when he went to you guys and he's like got the hip
thing and like the then he got the surgery
and there was like a real chance that he might
not play again I started to
feel bad I was like oh man I didn't
want it to go out this way
so I'm not particularly
rooting for the Red Wings I certainly
if they play the Bruins I'm certainly going to be rooting for the
Bruins but God damn
dude as the hockey fan like you said has it been fun as shit to watch cane buzzing around this year
fucking sick sally scoring from everywhere on the ice like that has been that has been really cool
it's so funny though you just made me think of this like how i am as a fan and i get shit on for like
my fandom all the time um but there are so many different kinds of hockey fans and sports fans
in general right where like chris you're like if you beat my team it's like fuck you like i don't want
to see you win i'm always like when my team loses i'm like
fuck you to my own team.
Yeah.
You know,
I'm like,
the Rangers lose to the devil's last year and seven.
I'm like,
seriously,
guys?
Like, what,
like,
what the fuck are we doing here?
That's so good.
You know,
it's not like,
I have no hatred toward anyone else,
but my own teams that I root for.
And I've been a Rangers fan and Knicks fan my whole life.
It was like the only two teams that I really root for,
like baseball and football.
I don't really care about.
And I haven't gotten into soccer yet.
I'm sure you guys are going to try to make me do that at some point.
But,
but the Knicks,
like,
they constantly beat themselves.
The Rangers,
it feels like they beat themselves.
So I just always am like, you know, we beat our, like, fuck you guys.
Yeah.
So, oh, dude.
Fandom's different everywhere.
I'm motherfuck our own team more than anyone.
It's unreal.
But you've seen some winners, though, I feel like.
Yeah.
Oh, my God.
We get spoiled the shit.
But the losses, the losses hurt more.
That's the funny thing about being Boston fans is, yes, we've won a lot and I'll
never sit here and be like, oh, no, it's so hard.
But they've lost a lot, too.
It's like, you know, we're losing in the finals, blows.
It's fucking brutal.
It's fucking crazy.
All right.
Next question.
Who is the most slept-on contender going into the playoffs?
Good one.
And I think...
My answer might surprise you guys.
Go ahead.
I feel like we're on the same wavelength here.
Yeah?
I feel like I'm thinking what you're thinking.
Yeah.
I hesitate to say it because calling out them a contender with all the history is funny.
I think it's Toronto.
Oh, never mind.
Okay, good.
Opposite wavelengths.
Oh, they're awful.
Yeah.
Let me clarify.
I do not think Toronto's going to win.
Right.
But I think their play to what you said earlier, Johnny, and their performances of late has
been very slept on.
Dan, they've been very good since the All-Star break.
They have a 70 fucking goal score on the team.
Samsonov is playing very well.
I think they're slept on in that regard.
And the reason I hesitate is because given that they're.
this says contender, I'm like, I don't really consider them a contender.
But I do just want to give them their flowers and that they are not some slouch team right now
coming into, like they're winning big games.
They're beating good teams.
So I'm just giving them their credit there.
That's maybe not my only answer, but I do just want to give them some love.
Well, dude, I'll say this.
I feel like San Antonio slept on is just a crazy comment.
But wouldn't you say that?
Would you agree that they're not?
No, I agree.
I agree with the most talked about team in the NHL always.
Yeah.
But not to win this year.
Not to win this year.
They're just talked about because they're the media.
But like in the NFL season this year and they won, so I'm not saying Toronto's going to win either.
But around like week 10, I was like, oh, the chiefs are done.
Like they can't win this year because they just have too many problems.
And then all of a sudden, we were in the playoffs.
And I was like, oh, wait, could the chiefs win?
I feel that way about Toronto.
But they've won before.
Yes, yes, fair.
And I don't think Toronto can win.
But 20 games ago, I did literally write off.
Toronto season this year.
I was like, oh, yeah, whatever.
So I do agree.
You can still do that.
Yeah, because I still think they're going to lose in the first round,
which is fucking hilarious.
But I'm like, oh, man, they didn't get enough credit.
Les, were you going to say the Keynes?
Yes.
Were you going to say the Keynes?
No.
Carolina.
Carolina is interesting to me because how good you guys are.
Like the Rangers are just running that division.
And, you know, like, it feels like, well, certainly they're going to the Eastern
finals.
Oh, dear.
And I'm like, Carolina is pretty good.
Carolina is so fucking good.
Yeah, Carolina's been there every step of the way.
The Rangers just beat in that one game and created that little separation.
But Carolina has been winning same exact amount, basically.
Yeah.
And then I feel like, well, Johnny, give us.
Yeah, go, go.
Give us yours.
Mine is, I feel like it's every fucking year.
It's Tampa Bay.
Yeah, you love Tampa.
Fuck, that is a good one.
They have been to the cup three out of the last four years.
And it's ridiculous.
Again, somehow.
maybe this is crazy to say, and I talked about it on Morning Cup of hockey yesterday,
and I get shut out all the time because I'm always like, this guy is this in the NHL,
like, you know, like, whatever, that's like a thing that I do.
Yeah.
Steven Sankos is the most underrated player in the NHL.
Dude, I just said to Dan the other day.
He's about to score 40.
He's about 40.
Are you?
I can't tell if you're fucking with us because that.
I'm not curious.
We have been banging that drum literally all season.
When the contract shit happened this summer, we were like, what the fuck is Tampa doing, dude?
Like this guy had 80 points or I think maybe higher.
Yeah.
He had a 106, two years ago and had over a point of game last year.
Yeah, he had over a point per game last year.
I think it might have been 83.
How many points you have right now?
You keep talking.
I'm a look at it.
But we were like, what the fuck is going on?
Why is everyone being like, yeah, Stammers washed?
He's so fucking good.
And yeah, he's going to have 40 goals this year.
It's crazy, dude.
Absolutely crazy.
And it's every year.
And this year we're saying Kuturov is the MVP and no one's talking about Tampa being a
cup contender when they have Vasilevsky and Hedman.
I think Hedman's over a point.
game too. Headman has one more point, or last, maybe it was before their last game, but
headman had one more point than Stammer. And I was like, dude, these guys are absurd. Stammer,
39 goals, 38 assists, 77 points in 75 games. What's Braden point of? He's got to be up there
too. Braden point has, in 77 games, has 44 goals, 42 assists, 86 points.
Yeah, not to mention. What are we doing here? And Hedman. Hagle's disgusting, Sorrelli's disgusting.
Headman's 76 points in 75. And that was such a good signing, dude. That was
Wait, what did you say just now?
Headman 76 points in 75.
That's another one, dude.
People sleep on headman.
So when we did our top 10 rankings, people were like,
Headman too high.
And I was like, dude, when you consider the all-encompassing,
there's an argument that Headman is the best defenseman in the league still.
And it's not even, I don't even think that's debatable.
I mean, like, that dude is a fucking freak.
After I've given my love to Toronto,
that I just like to give them a pat on the back sometimes.
Yeah.
Similar to what I said about them earlier,
this might get laughs from you guys again.
I think Dallas is in this conversation.
They slept on.
They're slept on, dude.
Because of Colorado.
People talk about Colorado.
They talk about Edmonton and McDavid,
and they talk about Vegas,
because Vegas is Vegas.
But Dallas is just first in that division.
They have a top four defensemen in the league.
They have an insane amount of depth.
Ben and Sagan are,
playing like, you know, middle six roles and they both have over 50 points.
Dutchie is insane for them this year.
Like, they are very, very real.
Yep.
And I think they're often like the fourth team in the West that's talked about.
Can I just do one more thing about Tampa?
All right.
Yes, you can.
No, no, sorry.
I totally tuned you out there for a second just because I had this kid, Sam Len,
and he sent me an article that he wrote.
And he made a really good point that we're all talking about, you know,
the 70 goals, 100 assists, joining Gretzky, Lemieux, or.
So Sam pointed out that Kutrov could become the third player ever to provide 50%
of their team's offense after Gretzky and Lemieux, and nobody's talking about that.
Wow, dude.
And is that, that's, um, they take all the team's goals and then count how many you scored
or assisted on?
I believe so.
Um, yeah, Sam sent me like a whole message on LinkedIn and like is very passionate about it.
I've never met him.
I don't know him.
Yeah.
But I read it.
I like, look.
into it and it's pretty crazy. Look, like, Kutrov, maybe he's not like this, I don't want to say
he's not like the sexiest player. Like, he's so good. He looks effortless. He is sexy too. Yeah,
because it's so casual. I mean, like, I don't know what the word is for it. Like, he doesn't have
that like McDavid like horse about him. You know what I think it is, Johnny? Sorry to interrupt,
but because I've felt the same way. I think he just doesn't have the same explosiveness that Nate
that's what it is. That's got to be what it is.
Yeah, I really think that's the differentiator.
He's more like a Panarin than he is a McDavid or McInnan.
Definitely.
But it's like almost, you know how they, they always say like Greg Maddox, like great
pitchers.
It wasn't like they could throw 101.
It was that they would, they went the other way.
They would like slow it down and place it perfectly.
That's like the Coutheroff.
Like, you know, McDavid and McKinnon are Randy Johnson 101 on the black.
Kuteroff's Greg Maddox.
You know, he goes slower.
Yeah, it's interesting how McDavid every now and then will just sheer,
skating speed his way to a goal.
McKinnon will shear brick shithouse
power his way to a goal
and the way Kooch and Panarin
just like see the ice and
make an insane play just
buttery through the zone
behind the back spin pass
that's just on someone's tape on the
doorstep is like, good Lord.
Dude, Kooch Ruff beats
Scrantz off the auto playing as a pedestrian.
Yes, dude.
And I was going to add right there,
I was saying this, Dan coming in today.
I fucking love, do you see the player poll that came out?
You know, they do that player poll every year and it's like...
The NHLPA one?
Yeah, yeah.
Dude, I get so fired up with that every year when it's like, you know, a lot of new faces
and cool shit to see what the players think.
And I just love it the every fucking year, dude.
They're like, who's the most complete player?
And they're like, Sid.
And I'm like, yes, Crosby.
Like it's just where everyone's like, oh, you know, we get on the mate, Nate train,
the McDavid train, the Cooch train.
And then you ask the players and they're like,
Sid.
But it is so funny, especially
with this next gen, it's like the
guys 26 and younger.
You could even maybe go up to like 27,
28. Every single one
of them, they're like, who's your favorite player? And I watch
Sid growing up. And it's like, they're all the ones
voting. So as long as Sid still lives, they're
like, they're just going to give Sid votes.
That's funny. So funny. All right,
last two questions. The last one is
kind of a fun one, discussion one that I like.
This next one is just one more about a team that I was
curious about. Realistically, what do you
think the kings need to do to be real contenders next year trades free agents coach etc um tenders next year
yes goalie goalie comes to mind immediately and i really feel like that could change so much you put in
one grade a goalie on that team and i'm like that they're fucking scary um i mean you guys know
better than me what drastically changed this year because they were contenders in December um yeah
Dude, that's interesting because we, the season for the King started and everything was on Phoenix Copley.
It was, can Phoenix Copley be the guy that he looked like he was at the end of the season and make this team a contender?
Because they had the PL trade, had some good depth, guys like Anderson were coming up.
Jordan Spence was in the wings coming up.
He's been amazing.
QB, is he going to make the jump?
All of those things happened.
and then Phoenix struggled.
And Cam Talbot came out of the clouds as I think 38-year-old and just like stole the first half of the season for them.
And what's interesting, it wasn't even Talbo that led them on the skid.
It was weird little injuries.
Some players kind of fall in asleep.
And I think a lot of it was their pregame prep and their setup.
And we obviously saw that leading to a coach firing, which is always terrible to see.
I'm with you though, Chris.
The Kings do feel like they're missing something,
and I think the biggest thing is consistency,
but I don't think that team can go into next season
with Talbot as their goalie.
So I think a huge trade needs to be made.
I look at Soros,
that's a guy the Kings have looked at for four years now.
If they can do that in some way,
get a goalie that's their goalie.
That's step one.
And I say this, not naming names,
players in that locker room are very bullish on this.
They need to hire a coach.
And they need to not go with an interim guy or a placeholder.
They need to do their due diligence, do some good interviews,
and find a coach that's going to be the coach for the next six years.
Like you need to see out the end of Kopitar and Dowdy with the same coach.
Yeah.
I think that's the most important thing for this Kings team.
I like that.
I don't really watch them that much, to be honest.
Dude, the biggest drop, Johnny was there was that crazy.
Dewey that there was that crazy Dewey
interview not crazy but actually very
candid. No no way before
when they were in hell. You know when he
was like it was everyone thought
it was get a cookie night and no one's fucking
playing for each other. You know like that those were
the dark days and I just think and I
strongly believe that
attitude has changed.
But it's not like there's a ton of new people
in that room you know so it's
the biggest thing for me is
goalie get a coach you're
happy with you don't need to like break the mold and
find some genius. You just need a coach you're happy with and make sure that lockerum is working
in the same direction. Yeah. Because when that, and that's true for every team, obviously,
but specifically this team with the pieces they brought in and whatever, when that falls apart,
they're in big trouble. No doubt. Okay. Last question for the boys. Very curious to hear
what you guys have to say about this. Does variety in left shot versus right shot players
matter to a roster, particularly on defense? Okay. Dude, what, remember what, what was
it like two years ago when there was like no left shot d yeah they were like oh god everyone's
given up our first rounder for a left shot d and i was like what happened it was so crazy like there
was just none in the league to be had and i'm like this makes no fucking sense i could think of like
five off the bat that are elite headman quin hughes romey moiro hastenan steppezschean de bontes um
who fuck else i'm gonna be more but there is there is but i think it was like everyone
has their one or you know like there's a bunch of guys that they have their one
but people were looking for more left shot D to fill out the bottom.
What Chris is referring to is like it was like three years ago,
I was at the trade deadline.
It was a huge topic of discussion.
So.
Got it.
I don't remember that.
There was a bunch of left shot D in the league,
but as far as like available and for like your second pairing,
it was, it felt like a huge hot commodity.
And that was true.
It beats me.
I,
I was this about defensemen or in general?
In general.
Yeah.
In general.
I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I,
I'm not entirely sure what my take is on this because there's part of me that thinks it doesn't
matter.
If you've got guys, like, for example, Ovi, who is a right shot who prefers to play on the left
side, that's great.
You know, do your thing.
I know Nick Littstrom at times like to play his offhand.
So if you've got guys who play that side and they're comfortable and effective, I don't
think it really matters.
That said, there are times where I'm watching the game or when I've been on the ice and
whether it be a funny shift change, a powerplay situation, and you look around and there's
five right shots on the ice, every now and then I do find myself being like, this isn't the best.
Yeah.
When you're set up in the offensive zone, particularly on a power play, and you don't have
a single other shot, there are times where I think it can be not very effective and doesn't
really help the flow, but it's never been a thing that if I were crafting a team that I
were too focused on. All I'll say is this. PowerPlay, I agree. Power play, I do think it's
important to make sure you have, if you're running an umbrella or whatever you want some one-timers.
I don't give a fuck on forward. Like if it's the forwards, I'm like, you can have three right
shots because it's an OV on the left wing, three left shots. Truly, I don't care. Because I think
when you're breaking it out and you're trying to get pucks off the boards,
it's not that hard to go either hand or kind of like loop back.
You got a lot of options.
The only thing I do think it matters,
and it's not like make or break, I just, if you care,
is being on your strong side on D,
left on the left side, right D on the right shot on the right D side,
when you're trying to keep pucks in.
Like when pucks are zipping around the boards trying to get out
and you're trying to get there,
if that's on your forehand, it's so much easier to just get that back, smash that back in, or even get one on net, than is if you're always trying to pull it off the wall and then get it in.
Yes.
That's where I think it can matter.
Yeah, someone who played defense in my day, I hear that.
Like, I think that that is a thing.
I think that's why right shot, left shot D will often play the right and the left side.
And it is big for those in the offensive zone.
You're getting the puck up around the boards on your forehand.
I understand, however, people, myself, I played lefty plenty.
I think there's something that's better about grabbing that puck on my backhand
and then being able to walk on my forehand towards the net or walk the blue line.
Whereas the other way, you're kind of going backwards across the blue line, dragging the puck.
Yeah, yeah.
So there's benefits and downsides to be had on either, but I just thought it was an interesting discussion
because it is, it's not something, like, I don't think any of the three of us were like,
abs a fucking loop.
You know what I mean?
That's what I found interesting.
No, I have a couple of thoughts on it.
You know, something interesting, like this year, for example, you know, there's always
been talks of Lafrener's naturally left winger.
This year he's playing his right side and he's thriving in it.
I think it's a little bit of a comfortability thing.
Panarans always played his off wing.
I think all guys are different.
Guys that don't have, like, blazing speed might like playing the offwing better because
they can pull up when they get in the zone and kind of create.
Great call.
But if you're a faster player, like a Crider, who would only benefit on his left side,
essentially, because he's blazing down that left side, burning a defenseman and ripping a shot,
I think it's more beneficial for him to be on his forehand than like trying to power move on his backhand
to the net because that's not really his game.
So there's certain things.
Like I was not, you know, not in college.
I wasn't the fastest, but when I was younger, I was one of the faster guys and I always
like playing right wing.
And part of that was because when I was skating at the ice,
and even receiving the pass and the breakout,
my hips were open to the rest of the ice,
and my face was facing basically the entire ice
as opposed to catching it on my back end
and having that blindside, you know, north of the ice.
Yeah, I love that.
I love that.
So for me, it was always like whichever side I was on,
I felt a little bit more comfortable.
And then the goalies I talked to,
they always say, at least the normal goalies,
not the Southpaw goalies.
They always say they have a harder time facing lefties
because the hardest place for them to make a seat,
save is the low blocker.
So when you're a lefty coming in on a goalie,
it's kind of easy to go across your body and go low blocker.
Whereas a ready,
you're kind of going across your body,
glove side, easier of them to react and make a save.
So I think, you know,
best goal score in our generation right now is,
well,
this generation is Austin Matthews.
This generation,
you dumb.
Yeah,
I corrected myself.
I corrected myself.
I'm not saying, like,
you know,
obviously there are some elite goal scores that are righties like Posternak,
Stamcoast,
Tage Thompson,
you know,
those guys are right-handed shots.
But from a goalie's perspective, it's interesting that, like, low blocker is the hardest spot for them to get.
And I think just the righty lefty thing, like, you know, it's funny, Dan, when you were saying the power play thing, my junior year of high school, I played for the Metro Moose and the MJHL, Eastern whatever, junior B league.
And our power play units were split in the two is not a power play one, power play two.
It was a ready unit, lefty unit.
We were one unit on the right side, one unit on the left side.
We had five righties, five lefties.
And it was like different drawn up plays for each unit.
and that was the first time I'd ever experienced that.
So, like, our go-to play was, like you said,
there'd be a guy in the half wall,
the guy running the point.
It was kind of like a one-three-one vibe.
And I played the half wall,
so I'd get the puck to the point.
The guy at the point would walk the middle,
then kick it back to me on the wall.
I'd send it down to the goal line,
and the guy at the point would actually skate all the way into the back door.
And the guy playing the bumper would create a diversion.
So we'd have a backdoor tap.
into the guy and the point. It was like a crazy play that we ran that worked more than it did it.
And it was like so weird that it was all, you can't really make that play with a lefty out there.
Yeah.
You need that kind of backdoor tap in. So it was just an interesting point that you brought up.
Dude, that's sick. It's not something I think about normally, you know. Yeah. No, but it's,
it's very interesting. Yeah. No, it was cool comment because I was I played center most of my life.
And I never cared. I always knew what's hand everyone was obviously because you know you're trying to
make the past in the right place, but I never cared as a forward. I was never.
like, oh, I want my right wing here and my left wing here.
I was like, where, wherever the fuck, or two righties, two lefties, I don't care.
Yeah, I think to Johnny's point, it's, it obviously differs on what the type of player is and how
they're comfortable.
And as long as the player is comfortable in said position, I think it doesn't matter.
But it's an interesting discussion point because, yeah, I do think there are times where an
injury happens.
I mean, man, you can have a, you can have a all-star caliber, let's talk defense specifically,
an all-star caliber defenseman who plays,
is a right shot, plays on the right side,
and because of an injury or something,
they have to get moved to the left,
and they're a very different play.
Yeah, yeah.
It's, I think it's a thing,
and it's very, very interesting to see.
Well, face-offs especially, too.
Oh, my God, yeah.
So right now, the Rangers' fourth line,
Brozinski and Godreau are both, I guess, natural centers.
And depending on what side of the ice,
the face-off is, that's who's taking the draw.
So when Brozinski's on his strong side, he's taking it,
And he's playing center.
And when Godreau's on his strong side, he's taking it.
And he's playing center.
So they're like this interchangeable kind of thing now.
But, um, fuck, what was I going to say?
Dan, you just said something that, that triggered something in my mind.
Um, oh, are you guys weird like that where if you see one guy play one time,
you can like remember how they shoot too.
I like have that ability.
Absolutely.
And like where they want it.
You know, like the, because I have a big passer.
Like, I love being like, oh, he, you know, it's, if I leave it way behind him,
he's getting it here.
They like it up.
You know, I always fucking.
fucking love that shit. It's crazy. I have a face off tangent and then we can go. Yeah. Yeah.
Everybody, I mean, I imagine most people listening played or watch hockey a lot, but when you're
taking that face up on your back hand, that's what Johnny's talking about with the strong side.
You know, I turn my fucking hand over. I'm a lefty. Make sure you're talking into your mic.
Snap it back. When you're, when I'm trying to take it on the forehand, you, you're trying to get
all the way around and it's way harder. Why don't we just turn my, like hold my head like a righty?
But Nino does that. Oh, yeah, like I don't understand.
And how that didn't become a thing.
Like, that's easier to win.
Just fucking do that.
Nick Benino does that.
Nico Sturm does that.
I think he said he got it from, is it Mark Ritchie?
Mark Recky?
No, Richie.
Oh, I was like...
R-I-C-C-I.
Oh, yeah, I think it is Richie.
Remember that name in San Jose, I think?
Yep, yep, yep, yep.
So yeah, Benino would like...
It's a question I asked him about earlier in the year when he was with the Rangers.
He would, like, be on his backhand, but flip his hand on a hand and
It's like his poor time was like you're in the wrong way.
Mike Richie.
Mike Richie.
What'd I say?
Mark.
Mark.
You were very close.
Damn, that's my bad.
But yeah, if you watch Nick Bonino take a face off or, you know, Mika was doing it a little bit this year.
Yep.
Or Ziba as he's called on Miko.
But no, it's a good point, Chris.
And I've seen NHL players start to do it now.
Yeah, I'd be curious to see if that becomes more popular because it just seems like such an awe.
If you're a good face-up guy meeting, you've got good reactions and instincts.
I'm like, just turn your phone.
And it's not like you're losing that much.
I mean, guys change their grip already.
Yeah.
You know, you're going to be fudson with your stick.
Why not?
Just get the best version of your...
Like, fucking...
Just rip it back, dude.
Yeah, I like it.
All right, well, that's the mailbag.
Awesome questions.
Huge shout out to the fans and the folks who sent some in.
We're going to get geared up here.
This episode's coming out Monday.
So, like I said, last week of playoffs here.
Crazy stuff.
Johnny, you got any closing thoughts for us?
Um...
No, really fun. Always love being on here.
Thank you guys for being 20 minutes late and telling me it was only to be 30 minutes long.
I love you guys.
And, yeah, that's all I got.
Absolute blast, dude. We love you too.
Yeah, let's get fired up, folks. Good times.
Hell yeah. Skate hard.
