Empty Netters Podcast - 89. The East All Comes Down To This
Episode Date: April 17, 2024The second wild card spot is up for grabs and there are a million different scenarios playing out this week. Plus, McDavid hit 100 with Kuch at 99 on his heels. Matthews has two chances to join the 70... club. And there is some VERY interesting data showing which teams play well against the best teams in the league. Guess who should be nervous? SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (3:34) – McDavid hits 100 (11:39) – Matthews 70? (21:21) – Met Madness (41:37) – 1 Point OT Loss (50:24) – Good vs Good Teams Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
CP and I are fresh back from Coachella.
Not really that.
I wouldn't say fresh.
Wouldn't say fresh at all.
I got a blender voice, dude.
Got a blender voice.
Mentally.
I'm not fresh mentally either.
I'm kind of applesauced brains.
Emotionally.
I'm fresh.
I'm high.
Yeah, I'm high.
Very high.
I feel high.
Dude, I had a really funny watching the Red Wings game last night.
Voice is absolutely crinkled.
Yep.
And Razor scored an OT and I screamed.
And I was like, dude, I can't afford this.
I did it during the Penn game.
I screamed live.
I ruined it.
And then I screamed during Detroit and I ruined it.
And then I couldn't sleep.
It's just crazy, dude.
We're going to snap the puck around today.
episode. It's going to be a quick, fun one for you because later in this week, we're going to do
an emergency playoff breakdown pod.
Possibly two, by the way.
Yeah.
It might be an eastern one and a western one because there's a couple those Vegas Kings games
on Thursday could really still be up for grabs.
So we might have to do an Eastern one before, because these could be decided tonight.
Yes.
Could be.
We got a lot of stuff going on that we got to get into.
Before we get into the hockey, want to give a quick shout out to.
our new partner War Road Hockey.
Unbelievable.
You're checking out everything that CP and I have on.
If you're listening on Spotify, Apple, go check out the YouTube,
check out the drip that we got going on.
We have partnered up with War Road Hockey, without a doubt,
the best hockey brand and apparel company in the game right now.
T.J. Oshy is a big part of this company,
working with some unbelievable people,
and they've got us taking care of head to toe.
Not only are they wrapping us with the best workout gear,
training gear, casual hangout stuff.
See the hats.
You see the sweatshirts.
See the crew necks.
They're also making the best top of the line safety gear in the game.
We've seen all of these accidents with neck cuts, wrist cuts.
War Road hockey has you covered with this unbelievable tylo gear that has wrist protection and net protection.
They're changing the game in hockey with both apparel and what you're wearing while you're playing.
And we are psyched to be working with them.
And the best part is for us,
Empty Netters merch and gear from now on, it's going to be with War Road.
So you're going to get the highest quality and the best-looking gear in the game.
We're working with them to make some awesome designs.
We can't wait to drop it for all of you to see and to rep.
I'm going to be wearing it every single day.
It's actually so sick.
It's so comfortable.
I mean, there's like...
Everything I have on is war.
Yeah.
It's one of those you clear out the dresser.
You know, I'm like, oh, yeah, here was the stuff I used to wear in my life.
gone. This is the stuff I now wear.
Some people might think that's a joke.
I know, I'm being dead serious.
I go look in my room. I'll take a picture of my room when I get home.
When we got all this stuff, I went into my closet, into my section that has my workout gear.
I literally picked it up, put it in a bag to bring to Goodwill, and replace it all with this warroads.
Yeah. And the good news is we have some really cool stuff coming up with War Road.
So just stay tuned. It's going to be awesome. We love them. We love you. This is going to be a great combo.
teaming up with these guys for the long term, best news in the world.
Let's rip into our no-bucky warm-up.
CP, take me there.
Shit is madness.
Okay, let's start with the assists.
I like it.
I like it.
Connor McDavid, 100 fucking apples.
1-0-0 in one season of hockey.
Now, I...
First player,
to do this in over 30 years.
Yep. And now the fourth
player in NHL history.
Along with who, C.P.
Let me see. I'm pretty sure it's Wayno,
Mario, and Bobby Orr.
Ho-hum. The three best players in
NHL history unanimously.
Insane. And now Connor McDavid joins
them. Ridiculous.
Ridiculous. And after the start he had,
after the start this Oilers team had,
the, and I got to
say, I'm such a fucking sick
person. I, I, uh,
so many instances.
I did it with Ovi.
I did it with McDavid a little bit
where it's like I don't want
all of a sudden
I almost find myself rooting against
the greats and I hate that
because it just makes no sense.
My stance in life is like
live through the greats.
It's awesome to be able to say
you see all these people play
and when I was reveling
in the oiler start
because I was like this is hilarious
I can't believe they're going to miss
the playoffs.
They're awful.
Trade everybody.
So then they started
to pick it back up again.
and I almost got annoyed.
And then Connor was firing the assist so hard
that I was like, oh, he's 100% doing it.
I've accepted this, and this is cool.
But then Cooch started firing.
Yeah.
He was always firing, but then Cooch got so close,
and then McDavid was hurt.
And somehow my deranged brain was like,
oh, that would be funny if Cooch got it
and McDavid didn't.
So I found myself literally,
as the Oilers are fucking popping in goals.
Just absolutely fist fucking dissonance.
We stop.
They have families.
But dude, when they started
And every goal I'm looking at and it's no McDavid assist.
And I'm like, yes, yes, yes.
Like, I found myself cheering for it because I was like, this is fucking hilarious.
I'm going to give you, I'm going to throw you an olive branch here.
I'm not sure necessarily you felt like you wanted McDavid to not get it.
I think maybe you were like, it'd be funny if Kuch got it first.
Yeah.
That's kind of how I felt too.
When McDavid was sitting out a couple games.
I was like, oh my God.
I was like, this would just be fun.
And we talk about it's TNT season, baby.
It's just, we've had drama.
We've had madness all season long.
That would have just been an added thing.
Like everyone's being like, how do you not give the MVP to Connor McDavid?
This is absolutely ridiculous.
The guy's going to have a meanwhile, Kucheroff is just like this.
Kooch had 100.
I'm going to get 100.
And he's currently sitting at 99.
Yes, he got, he had a assist on the first one last night.
So Kooch has 99 assists.
And he plays tonight.
Yep.
No, no, he plays.
Or tomorrow?
I think he plays Wednesday.
Okay.
So either way, the Bulls have one more game.
Yeah, yeah.
So Kooch has a chance to get an assist.
Stammer's, 39 goals.
Kooch has 99 assists.
Come on, boys.
It's like the Brady Moss thing.
They were both one touchdown away or whatever it was.
He was going into that last game.
I was like, you got a link up.
You got a link up.
I really hope Kooch does it too.
Me too.
I think it would be because here's the thing, man.
Kooch is a mutant.
He's so, so, so, so good.
And, you know, when Matthews is scoring 60, we were like, I don't know if he'll ever do that again.
And here we are.
So my knee jerks because I want to say we're probably not going to see these guys do 100
assistance season anytime soon.
But who knows?
But if you're at 99 assists and you got a game left, dude, like, you just have to do.
I'm greased in the refs, dude.
Oh, shoot, shame.
If Cooch is on the ice and a goal gets scored by Tampa, I'm like this 86 on the secondary on that one.
Like, he's got.
Give them both.
He got both.
Yeah.
Primary and secondary 101.
Who are they playing?
Let me just check that real quick.
It's just a.
Oh, they're playing Toronto.
Yeah.
Sick.
I thought it was tonight.
No, dude.
It's Wednesday.
It is Wednesday.
Okay.
All right.
Bro, that is awesome.
Awesome.
We have a chance.
70 goals and 100 assists in the same fucking game.
Yeah.
I mean, Toronto has two games left.
I know.
Matthews probably already have it.
Matthews probably already have it.
He plays tonight.
That would be cool as hell.
I really hope they'd do it.
And how sick would it be to look back and be like, to your point, maybe doesn't happen
again in a fucking 30 more years?
How sick would it be when the stats like it's five guys ever and two of those didn't
happen for 30 years and two of those didn't in the same season?
So sick, dude.
Here's a.
potential ricochet shot. Is there anything to cooch? I'm not even going to say this.
Never mind. No, say it, say it, say it, say it, because I think you're in it.
Is there anything to Cooch, us rooting for Cooch, not to do it to keep that such an elite group
of names? Okay, no. First of all, get out of my applesauce brain, dude. Like we're having the same
thoughts right now. I think sometimes when new players do insane things, when new players in the league
currently who are not at the end of their career get this acclaim and reach these unbelievable
milestones a lot of times people go ah man you're you're kind of muddy in the waters of these elite
stats yeah that person is in the same conversation as this guy that's ridiculous people did that
with crosbie after after his like third cup people were like i mean crosbie not that good yet like
i can't believe he has the dude we talked about it earlier this year i called crosbie the fourth
best player in nchel history and people jumped all over me
He absolutely is.
Yeah, he's third.
It's like, who are you dropping out of that?
Wayne, no, I mean, Mario, I can't speak.
Wayne, Bobby, Crosby, Mario.
That's crazy, Tay.
He's top four.
I thought you were going to say, do we look back at this?
I mean, Connor, to me, Connor has already achieved this legendary status.
Yes.
It's every season.
He does something ridiculous.
and the Cups will come.
I truly believe that.
Will they come with Edmonton?
Maybe not.
We'll see.
But the Cups will come for Connor McDavid.
That is not, it's truly not even a question.
I really don't think so.
Cooch is the one that I think people, when you look at this 100-assist season thing,
people are like, you know, you'll see something like this,
and this is not coming from Tampa fans, this is coming from casual fans.
You'll see that list, guys who have had 100 assists in a season.
Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Bobby Orr,
Connor McDavid, Nikita Kuturov, if he gets it.
And people will go, one of these things is not like the other.
And to that, I say, you're wrong.
Yeah.
It's what we talked about it earlier this year.
Kuturov is arguably the best player in the NHL.
He's special.
He has been a top five player in the NHL for the last four years.
He is ridiculous.
So put some fucking respect on that man's name, people.
Like, if you are unfamiliar with his game,
apologize.
Apologize and study up, dude.
Because he is preposterous.
I also think it would just be a killer
to end with 99.
You can't have it happen, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
If I'm guys on,
if I am on the Tampa Bay Lightning,
I am doing everything in my power
to make that happen because ending with 90,
you know, it's like I look at Flip Forsberg,
our boy, love him to death,
48 goals.
That is a, that's I'm like, shit.
Breadman, 49.
Shit.
Like, I wanted you to get it.
But I'm not that worried about those two.
Like, I'm like, you could do that again.
Bread is a little crazy because it was like, what was his highest before?
Like somewhere in the 30s maybe?
Yeah, 32.
And like, now he's pumping in 49.
It's crazy.
But I could see Brett getting 50 and flip.
I could definitely see getting 50 next season.
But 99 assists.
Like, that is like a...
Clearly harder to do than 50 goals.
Yeah.
And what's funny is like, even if it were 89 assists and you're like,
I was one away from not the same thing at all.
Like 100 assist.
You're sitting at 99 with a game left.
You have to get it.
Come on.
Have to get it.
Let's talk Matthews real quick.
69.
Two games left, like you said.
100% doing it, right?
Yeah, I think so.
They got Florida who's chilling.
Actually, honestly, they got Florida and Tampa who are both chilling.
Like, nothing can move there really.
But, you know, it's both good tests.
You want to play well against those teams.
So I imagine they're going to be trying.
He is a natural born goal score, dude.
Like the man was put on this planet to snap pucks into the back of the net.
And I'll say this, he had that teeny little period where he cooled off a bit.
And we were on the pod here several weeks ago saying,
I don't think 70s in the cards anymore unless he has like a hatty in the next couple games.
And then either he did the had three straight games with two goals each.
And it was just like, oh, that's how you do it as well.
So the pressure has been put on, Matt,
Matthews here. And I said it a couple times here the last week or two. The Leafs are playing
way better than people think. It's not like they're just ragdoll in bad teams and they're losing
a bunch of games, but Matthews is getting his cookies. It's like, nope, they're winning big games
against good teams and Matthews is scoring. So the pressure was put on him personally of you've got
70 goals in your sights. Are you going to do it? It was kind of like McDavid last year. It was like,
are you going to get up there and he cooled off? Matthews is like, yep, I am going to do it.
and he's just been scoring, scoring, scoring, scoring.
And he scored his last game, and now he's got two games to get one.
I think you would be a fool to bet against him.
Dude, so on March 29th, we were sitting here being like he's got two weeks left.
He's got, you know, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight.
He had ten games left.
And you're like, I don't know, it's going to be tough.
Here are those eight games, his last eight games.
Goal, two goals, goal, goal, goal.
goal, goal, goal, two goals, goal.
Like, that's ridiculous.
That's despicable.
Like two games.
He's out of control.
He's on an eight-game absolute heat session to just get 70.
Yeah.
And he's going to fucking do it.
I think he does it tonight.
I think so too.
I think he does it tonight.
I wouldn't be surprised if it's the first goal of the game.
I wouldn't be surprised if he finishes the season with 73 goals.
Honest to God, me too.
And in fact, there's a part of me that thinks if he hits that 70 spot right on the nose.
Like, that's just so cool.
Yeah.
It's like, fucking A, dude.
Like, he did it.
But I really want him to fucking score Hattie tonight and then two goals.
Do it twice.
Get back-to-back Hatties and finish with like 75.
If he goes back-to-back Hatties gets 75, you give him MVP?
No.
What?
I don't.
This 200-sissists guys are going to split the vote.
You know what?
200 assists.
so now that's not even cool anymore.
I saw, by the way, I saw some fucking butt hurt loser, Leif's fans on,
it was like a comment on Instagram or Twitter or something,
saying if Matthews wore any other jersey in the league, he would be MVP.
Oh, no.
What do you think about that?
I think he's, I think it's literally the exact opposite.
I completely agree, dude.
He might even win MVP.
It's only because he's wearing a Leafs jersey.
I can't.
And I'm not not, I fucking love Austin Matthews,
and I fucking think 70 goals is.
so sick. I'm not chirping that at all. I just think
Toronto bias is real. And the media
is hard on those guys too. Don't get me wrong.
It just, that's crazy. What on earth
is that comment, dude? Like,
I, listen, Lees fans, I know you have your struggles. I know that there are
things that you deal with. But what the fuck is that comment, dude?
Are you acting like the league is like, if a Toronto Maple Leaf
were MVP, that would be bad. We'd have to be bad for the league.
Like, are you fucking stupid, dude? What are we talking? You see the All-Star
games? That's the, that was one of the
craziest comments I've ever seen.
Dude. Now, I'll say this.
I, the great
debate, shout out biz,
popped on Twitter, what's more impressive?
70 goals or 100 assists.
I actually have been really loving the conversation
of that of, you know, some
people go, what are you talking about?
It's not even close. It's 70 goals. Like,
you have to score a goal.
Yeah. To get the goal.
A hundred assists, you could have secondary, you could have a
primary, you could have one of those assists where you're the
fucking bumper and then a whole play happens and blah,
blah, blah, blah. I actually don't know where I stand because 100 assists is insane. And clearly
by the people who have done it in the time, I mean, like knockout Wayne's 11. Yeah. It's a very
hard thing to do. Yes. And I think the proof in the pudding is the people in the category. Now,
if you could look up for me right now, how many people have scored 70 goals in the NHL's history?
It's not far off of that elite category.
But I do think that there's something.
You got it?
Let me hear it.
70 goal mark has been reached 14 times by eight different players.
Let's see if they give me this list.
I was like, you're going to read them?
Just the headline.
Yeah.
Just interrupt me when you get it.
But it is...
Interesting.
The last time was the 92-93 season, which was Timu and...
And McGilley.
But it's funny.
I didn't realize...
like the assist season was 91.
You know, like the same arc.
Yeah, yeah.
It's over 30 years for both, which is, which is why, dude, oh my God, this NHL season has been
fucking unbelievable.
So many cool storylines, so many amazing things, so much fucking drama.
How in the world did you not have this list yet?
This article just sucks.
It just is reading everything but the names.
They don't want to give you the names.
I've never been more embarrassed with your Google search.
abilities.
Remember more embarrassed with Google.
Okay.
Okay.
Wayno four times, Mario twice, Brett Hull three times.
McGilney wants, Timu wants, Bernie Nichols once,
Yari Curry once, Phil Esposito once.
So there you have it.
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing with Acrobat.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
Elite names.
Yep.
Elite names, no matter which way you slice it.
And I love that what you just brought up, both been over 30 years.
Yep.
So here's the question.
do you take any stock in 14 times or how many different guys?
Eight different guys.
Eight different guys.
Eight different guys.
And the other one was 13 times.
The assist is it's happened 13 times.
And 11's Wayne.
Yeah.
But either way, three guys have done it.
Yep.
Or now four with con.
Yep.
I don't think that makes it for Migo that one's more impressive.
but I do think that's an important thing to look at.
More elite category or more, you know...
More elite company.
More elite company.
But, dude...
It's equally absurd.
Yeah.
Now, so...
The goal is just so much harder to get.
I disagree.
Then an assist?
That's a ridiculous take.
It is a ridiculous thing.
It's the number, though.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And also like, fuck off, dude.
Assists aren't easy.
I know.
Like, just like...
They're a guy.
eyes out there who fucking don't get on the score sheet at all.
Like it is, it is harder to get a goal, yes.
But it is not easy to get an assist,
let alone 100 of them.
And also, the difference between 170 is something
that shouldn't be flippantly tossed to the side.
That's 30 more.
Fair, fair.
Like, that's a lot.
So,
Austin Matthew's MVP,
I,
there's a part of me that,
I always look at the assist.
Like he has sub 40 assists still, right?
Yeah, maybe.
I do think that that's something to look at and be like, that is weird to me.
I don't get it.
But whatever, whatever.
The biggest thing for me with Matthews, this fucking guy is possibly going to win the Selke.
Yeah, he's a stud.
And I'm like, he is in the MVP conversation, dude.
Like, fuck the points.
You know, like, he has 70 goals.
He has over 100 points.
It's ridiculous.
What I want to look at is, like, he's also possibly going to win the Selke.
He's in the Selky conversation.
Andy's scoring 70.
It's like Johnny was on the episode last week, and he very accurately pointed out.
He's like, how is Panera not in this conversation?
How is David Posternach, not in this conversation?
And I think those are great points.
But when I look at just the eye test, dude, like, you know, take away the most important
to your team.
All that aside, Nate, Cooch, and Connor, to me are so eye test.
Like, they are so much more the MVP than I.
R. Tammy Panera and David Bosternak.
So, like, stop this conversation.
Austin, however, I think deserves maybe a little bit more credit than he's getting because of that other side of the game.
Yeah.
Like, you look at his hits, you look at his blocked shots this year for a guy who's also popping in 70.
Pretty sick.
It's ridiculous.
If it was, oh, somebody said this too.
I think it was wit.
Cooch's 100 is as a winger, too, not even a center, which makes it really interesting.
Because I always think it's so fascinating that Austin scores as much.
The, I think if it was 80, Dan, 80's been done four times.
Mario once, Wayne twice in the 90s once, and Brett Hall once.
If Austin scored 80 this year, if Austin scores nine goals in the next two games,
then I literally do give him back.
I completely agree.
Like, if he hits 80 goals.
So happy to say that.
I go, dude, done.
You're the MVP.
MVP.
80 tucks.
Pretty sick.
Absurd.
Okay.
I need to talk about, and honestly, this could have been a hot ice, but we're going to talk about it right now.
We're going to talk about everything.
that happened in the Met last night.
Yeah.
Let's start with the Caps because they control their own destiny and they beat the Bruins last
night.
And the Bruins don't have a ton to play for and they look.
It's not quite true.
I know.
Just give you a quick break down here.
The Boston Bruins tonight will clinch the Atlantic if they defeat the senators in any fashion
or if they get one point
and the Florida Panthers
lose to the Toronto Maple Leafs
in any fashion.
So there is a world
where they could flop.
They get jumped, yeah.
And that is a big difference
in who you play.
It's either you're playing the bolts
or you're playing the Leafs.
So they absolutely have stuff to play for
which, however they feel.
Yeah, right.
But it's also home ice stuff
you've got to consider, you know,
like that's a big thing.
It's also, dude, I tweeted out
last week,
the caps have been so impressive.
I can't believe that they are in this race.
Caps fans are going to be mad at me here.
I am a little bummed with the Caps if they sneak into the playoffs
because I think the Caps are a getting to the playoffs
promptly get swept out of the playoffs.
I just don't see this like, we can make some noise in the playoffs.
There's been a couple people losing their minds to,
I'm getting a little off topic here, but actually this is a nice rant I want to get on with you.
Yeah, do it.
I don't mean to talk shit about them because, like I said, they have been so impressive
because they're winning important games.
Like, they're not finding themselves in the situation.
They're playing themselves in this situation.
I think Charlie Lindgren is the best contract in the NHL, dude.
Like, this fucking guy has come out of nowhere.
and played insane goalie for the Capitals.
Two shutouts against Boston.
I think Boston had 18 fucking shots like that.
I was 16. That's what I was about to say.
It was a fucking embarrassment.
Truly,
truly one of the most pathetic displays of hockey this season.
And if I'm sway,
I'm like looking at the boys being like,
you guys going to do anything, dude?
Shoot the fuck.
But a lot of Caps fans,
not a lot.
A couple very passionate Caps fans
have been yapping about special.
Bencer Carberry being a Jack Adams finalist.
Yep.
Where do you stand on that?
Because there's a part of me that goes,
great finish to the season caps.
But the caps are a bubble playoff team.
I think they're going to sneak into the playoffs.
Yep.
Before the season, where did everyone have the caps?
A bubble playoff team?
Yeah.
So I'm just a little rattle.
Maybe a little under, but your point stands.
I'm just a little rattle that the caps sucked ass
to start the season.
And Carberry has this team, and now they get them into a place where they control their own destiny,
and with a win, they're going to sneak into the playoffs.
I just don't know that I make you a Jack Adams finalist.
I'm like, good job.
Yeah, you don't.
But like, did they overachieve?
That's what people are like, they've been overachieving.
And I'm like, how so, dude?
Like, they had a bunch of players who were sucking and now they're not.
I just, I don't know, man.
I think it's a little boosted.
I've been very impressed with this team.
I've been very impressed with Carberry,
but not to the point where I'm like he's a top three coach in the league this year.
Give him his flowers.
Is he a top eight coach?
Absolutely.
I would even go as far as to say top six.
But finalist, I just think we're losing sight a little bit here
on what some of these coaches have done.
And what was expected of this capital.
They're right in the window of what they thought they were.
Like they're right in the window of what everyone thought that they probably
we're going to be. I'm trying to find the stat. That's what I was looking about. I'm pretty sure the
capitals have the least amount of goals for in the entire fucking NHL this year. I saw that on
Twitter the other day. I'm like, dude, and to your point, there's OV is super exciting. The team,
I love a lot of those dudes on that team. Oshy, but I just don't know how that team makes any waves
in the playoffs.
And dude, you're probably
going to run into the fucking racks.
You are going to run into the racks.
But,
so I don't,
I'm not betting on anybody
except New York in that series.
But it would be
much more exciting,
I think,
to catch showtime
and the wings.
Or the,
the, as you pointed out last half,
the surging penguins.
They,
they certainly have the least
for a playoff team.
But like the sharks
have much less
the black,
Blackhawks, Ducks, Cracken, have less.
But...
Where are they?
I think that's it.
I think they're...
Other than that, yeah.
Those are the only teams that have less than them.
It's fucking insane, dude.
Yeah, it's crazy.
Like, you cannot be in the playoffs.
But, like I said, they control their own destiny.
They beat the Bruins.
And who they got tonight?
Philly.
Philly, huge game tonight.
The beat the Flyers, you're in.
And I said on the live last night,
I'll say again right now,
I wanted whatever team that makes it.
to win both their games.
So if that's the caps, then that's the caps, because they won their games.
I hate it.
I hate that, like, everyone lost all of our games, but I still have the tiebreaker, so I'm in.
Bullshit.
So get it done.
One of these two teams, one of these three teams, because Pitt wins and they both lose.
One of these three teams is going to win both their games and they're going to get in and they deserve it.
If that's the cap, so be it.
Let's go to Pitt real quick.
Sick win against the Predators.
We were watching it live.
I
feel it feels
like too high
of a mountain now
I think
you need two teams
to lose
yeah
and that's tough
needing the wings
loss
any loss
yeah because even
an OTC loss
could do it if they win
it's also tough
because
they
you're asking two teams
to lose
to worse teams
and when their life
is on the line
no offense
flyers
flyers are going to be
like I think
flyers
capies are
that one's tricky because Philly needs it too
yeah pretty close but you know
based on standings
caps are better
so yeah that's a tough one
so I think the mountain's too high for Pitt
and it blows and they have only themselves to blame
and I miss me with like that they never
should have traded Gensel shit like
they were they played better
without him and I'm not saying they're better without him
I'm not saying Gensel isn't good I'm just saying
there's no guarantee that the game was going to
elevate down the stretch here
even with Jake
they have only themselves to blame for the season they had
but they did what makes me sad other than my massive Crosby love is they
they gave it such a bid with their last,
you know, it was like, dude, you'd have to go fucking nine, two, and one in your last 10,
in your last 12.
And then they did, you know, they didn't limp home.
Totally.
They fucking bulldozed home so hard and to come up, you know, maybe a point short here.
Such a gut punch.
It's going to be, it's really tough to the schedule breaks.
down, this episode will come out and things will be settled.
Yeah.
Yeah, true.
Maybe.
It must be so ass for them to watch tonight, Detroit and Capps play.
And if either wins in any fashion, you're like...
Nothing play.
So, yeah, you're like, you show up tomorrow and you go, okay.
Hell of a season.
Just massive stick taps to Cid.
What a fucking sick goal last night.
Literally turns his stick over, pull cues it with the nose into the net.
So good.
Doing everything.
So that was crazy.
which takes us to the Red Wings game.
Yeah, I mean, listen.
The Red Wings are...
I love them off for dead.
I love them so much, dude.
I love this team so much.
I love that city so much.
I love the fans so much.
And I love every single fucking player on that team so much.
I'm heartbroken because they overachieved by every standard.
And they just, they got into this weird run the last month and a half where it was like they were in.
Dude, they were just in.
And they just slipped a bit.
And they've battled through a lot of adversity.
And here they are, and I hate that they don't quite control their own destiny.
I know.
I wish so badly that the Red Wings were in a situation where if they win, they're in.
what I unfortunately think is going to happen
is the Red Wings are going to win tonight
and do their job,
but the Capitals are going to win tonight.
And you just go, well, we did everything we could.
And what bums me out is I know those boys,
because I know how bad they want to win
and how bad they want to get that city back into playoffs,
I know they're going to go,
well, no, we didn't do everything we could.
Because they will be the first to tell you,
you look back at their schedule,
I'll do it right now.
there are just some games that I know
they will be the first to say
we had no business losing that game.
Dude, it was that how you're looking it up,
it was that insane stretch, you know?
And the fucking Kings did the same shit
for longer, but the Kings did the same shit
where it's like if Vegas jumps them,
or maybe they didn't want that, I don't know,
but my point is the Kings can look back
and be like, why did we lose every game in December?
And like, whatever that's...
Well, this is it.
So you go back to February.
Big win, 5-0 win against the flames.
O-T win against the Crackin.
O-T-win against the Aves.
Huge. Thumping of the Blues.
O-T. win against the Blackhawks.
Thumping of the Caps, 8-3.
And we're now towards the end.
We're at February 27th.
So that was a heater.
How many games in a row was that?
One, two, three, four, five, six straight wins.
Nice.
And that is when they were like in third.
Yep.
In the Atlantic, or not third, but they were in.
Then.
they lose to the islanders.
Then they lose to the Panthers.
Then they lose to the aves.
Then they lose four nothing to the Yotes.
Yeah.
And that was,
I was like, dude.
That was four straight losses.
And it was like, boys,
come on.
And this is the trash patch, dude.
The trash patch.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, that's what it was.
Yeah.
Then they lose five three to the knights.
And that's like a, after you've lost your fourth straight
and four nothing to the Yotes,
you're like, guys.
pull up here and then you play the Golden Knights.
Regardless of their struggles,
that's still a juggernaut team.
Then they go to Buffalo and lose 7-3.
I remember that one, yeah.
Six straight losses.
Then they go home and play the Yotes again.
4-1 loss.
Seven straight losses, and that was that dude.
And now you're in a dog fight.
After that, they were in a dog fight.
And then it was just like, win versus the sabers,
lost first to wreaths.
O-T. Win versus the Blue Jackets.
Win versus Islanders, lost to the Preds.
O.T. loss against the Caps.
Loss against the Cains.
Shootout loss against the Panthers.
Win versus the Lightning.
Loss against the Rangers.
Win versus the Sabers.
Loss against the Spanors.
That one is brutal.
That was a brutal game.
A couple ones heads up there.
But, you're killing you.
Huge OT win against the Leifes.
Huge OT win against the Habs.
So like final stretch, they're doing it.
They're playing the Habs again.
It's just, my point being, I know those Red Wings
guys look at that seven game last week and go imagine if we got one fucking point out of any literally
dad one point literally one point out of those that seven game skid and you're in playoffs right now
the people i've read this a long time ago that was like if you are if you think you're a neutral
watching a sporting event yeah obviously most games you're like i want this team i want that guy whatever
if you think you're watching a sporting event where you're truly a neutral they say take a coin and say heads i'm
rooting for team A, tails I'm rooting for team B.
Flip the coin. And in midair, you will know who you're actually rooting for because you feel
yourself starting to hope its heads or tails. I have never had that proven more true than
watching the wings come back last night. Like, I've been banging the Penguins drum because I love
Sid so much, you know. And obviously, I wish the wings and, like I love Detroit too. I wish the
wings and. Oh, yeah. Dude, here's my allegiance. Because all the fans, I truly love you all. But like,
If I could shoot the islanders and caps in the sun and replace them with it.
And to Detroit, I would do it like that.
Because, like, that's what I would love.
But I've been like, well, God, if someone could get in, I hope it's Sid.
I just love Sid so much.
This would be a sick, like, story for him to drag this fucking team in.
But watching the wings come, like when Razor tied, they go, I almost punched a fucking,
I almost broke my other hand.
Like, I was punched all through the wall.
I was so fired out.
I was so fired out.
There were a couple of crazy plays.
Larks had an unbelievable crash to the net.
which should have been called a penalty,
but we almost snuck at five hole.
Kainer had a great wraparound chance
that he got hauled down on
and should have been called a penalty as well.
I'm losing my shit
and then in the defensive zone
puck gets popped around into the slot.
It gets knocked down at Razor's feet
and I forget who gave him the dish on the OT goal
but he took, flew the zone.
Yeah.
And I was like, get it to him.
Yeah.
Get it to him!
And then finally they did get it to him
but he wasn't gone.
And then in the bottom of your screen
you see Lucas just
ripping up ice.
And I was just like, get there, get there.
And then the pass comes across, and he wasn't even in.
Yeah.
But he just snapped at home, and I was like, oh my God.
In that moment, I was like, yep, I need this team in the playoffs.
So good.
I need this team in the playoffs.
So good.
So that will be fucking wild, dude.
It's going to be a crazy finish tonight.
Rags, Clint's President's trophy.
Yeah.
Congrats.
Congrats are in order.
Hell of a season.
And frankly, damn near wire to wire.
Like they started so hot, remember?
And then we were like, everybody in New York
calm down, you're not this good.
And then they kind of came back to Earth,
which wasn't panic mode.
I was just like, no, this is who you are.
You're a very good team.
And then they were like, just kidding.
We're a nasty.
Geared it right back up.
So massive congrats to them.
I had said earlier,
if the Panthers win the President's trophy,
I think the cup curse might get broken
because I think they could do it.
Hard not to feel the same way about New York.
I feel great about him, dude.
I mean, it's like, we can revisit the jokes because I need a lot of you to calm down.
But like, they just have guys playing.
Like, Crieds, did he get 40?
I don't think he finished with 39 maybe.
Should check that for me.
Just check his stats while I go here.
Everyone bitched and moaned about Zabanajad having a down year.
Look at his point production.
He has picked it up 5V5 that you guys freaked out about.
He's had a totally fine year.
I think he's just a little shy of point per game.
What do you finish with like 72 points or something?
I'll tell you.
Kreider, 39 goals.
Breadman, over 100 points for the first time in his career, 49 goals.
Vincent Trocheck, 70 plus points.
77, 25 tucks.
That's an unbelievable season.
And then our little sweet boy, Alexei Lafranier,
finished season with 58 points, I think.
57, 28 goals.
28 goals, 507.
Hey, I'll say it again.
Big jump.
Big jump.
Jump for Laffey.
And listen, there are people like our boy Johnny who are saying he's a future 100
point score and he's already a Hall of Famer.
That is a great season.
It's a great season.
What I will say is this.
Plus two.
I love how Laugh, plus two.
I love how Laffey is, and people are going to bitch and moan, he gets no PP time.
He does.
He does.
He's not on PP1.
So, yep, that'll be some more points for sure.
I love that Lafie went
Stop making excuses for me
Yeah, same do.
I got to perform.
Now, the, he's only
22 years old, or he's only 21 years old.
No, yeah, he's 22.
He's only 22 years old.
He's a first overall pick.
He's only 22.
He shouldn't be doing that well.
The one thing that I will say on that is
82 games, 57 points.
Yep.
Right?
Here are some other first overall picks.
at their 22-year-old season.
Okay.
So again, Laffey, 22 years old, first overall pick.
Yep.
Playing with Artami Panarin, our top five player in the NHL all season long.
57 points.
At 22 years old, Sidney Crosby, first overall pick.
81 games, 109 points.
Yeah.
Connor McDavid at 22 years old, 78 games, 116 points.
Steve Stamcoast, first overall pick at 22 years old, 48 games, 57 points.
Yeah.
Jack Hughes
Same amount of points is laughing
Yeah
Jack Hughes
At 22 years old
58 games
71 points and counting
That was this season
Yep
And what I made this
And I don't even know
Like look it up
What he has now
Yep
We got he did shut him down
I think
So probably close to that
Rasmus Dahlene
A defenseman
22 years old
78 games 73 points
Austin Matthews
70 games
80 points
Nathan McKinnin
74 games 97 points
Patrick Cain
73 games, 73 points.
John Tavares, 48 games, 47 points.
Taylor Hall, 75 games, 80 points.
So this is not shitting on Laffey.
Yep.
At all, because...
The fucking great year.
Big fucking jump, dude.
28 goals. That is no joke.
And wasn't on PP1.
What I'm saying is, I love that he...
Like, saw the criticism.
Owned it.
owned it and went
stop fucking making excuses for me
fan base. Stop being like oh he's only
like he was like I'm going to go out there and perform
and just the confidence that he played with
because he scored some fucking big dick goals
like some swaggy
sick fucking goals and I think that is what's going to
like 57 points
I think there's a lot of people
a lot of haters or a lot of doubters
probably the better word who are like he's going to be a
65 70 point guy now maybe he will
but I just
I look at that confidence and I'm like,
who knows how good he could be?
Because he performed this year and I think that's fucking.
Well, he had, like you just said,
he had the confidence that he had in juniors.
Or he looked, he looked like on that track.
You know, and I don't think it's fair to just start like ramping up numbers
and going, well, at 22 he's got 57, so by 26 he's going to have 112.
I don't think that's right.
I don't think that logic is right.
Yeah.
Because it doesn't always go that way so linearly.
Like you said, you look at Breadman.
I'm like, yeah, 30-goal guy, 30-goal guy, 30-go-guy.
Sometimes you just fucking turn it on, dude.
Sometimes you learn something about the league.
You do something different in training.
So 100% Lafey could go nuclear at any moment.
Yes.
I just don't think it's fair to just continually linearly firing.
And to dial back to your point, end of the day, this team could break this president's road to be cursed.
Because of that.
Exactly.
Because Panarin, Mika, Kreider, all playing great.
Igor playing
fucking great.
After a little skid,
he's back to big boy Igor.
Trocheck,
Laffey,
playing great.
Yep.
So like the team just,
they have the depth,
their cockroaches,
like I've been saying,
cannot be killed.
They've got that fuck you attitude
of like,
they start getting down
in games that they shouldn't be.
They don't panic.
They come back and fucking win.
Yep.
So it's crazy.
All right.
We're getting into hot ice.
Just do it.
And it's a couple of deep.
metric stat questions.
Yeah.
The first one we saw on Twitter was discussing the one point for an OT loss.
And the reason people were bringing it up is because, for example, the Bruins have
109 points, the Rangers 1 14, but the Rangers have 55 wins this year and the Bruins
have 47.
Yeah.
Bruins have 15 overtime losses.
Which just simple math, folks.
equates to 15 points.
Yes.
So if you don't have those points, the Bruins finished the year with 94 points.
Well below, and I'm taking Toronto's over to you away, or excuse me, I'm taking Florida's O2A here, well below Florida's 102.
Yeah.
You know, so it's like, it's a huge.
It's a huge difference, dude.
And I'm really passionate about this because I think it's so fascinating because there's been a lot of people who have been getting loud about this online.
You look at the standing.
and I look at the wild card race and, you know, the finishing places here, the New York Islanders
have 16 OT losses and they have 92 points on the season.
So it would be 76.
And they're third in the met.
They'd have 76 points.
They would have 76 points.
And that is a like, there's a lot of...
Because they have less wins in the caps, right?
Don't they have less wins in the caps?
Less wins than the wings?
Less wins on the penguins.
They have 32 wins.
The Caps have 39.
The wings have 40.
Pittsburgh has 38.
Or sorry, what did I just say?
The Islanders have 30.
Did I just say 32?
Yeah.
Yeah, sorry.
Sorry.
The Islanders have 38 wins.
Caps have 39.
Detroit have 40.
Pittsburgh has 38.
Flyers have 38.
Buffalo has 39.
The Devils have 38.
Like, it's just, it's nuts.
How much that OT loss point ends up mattering.
And the question I have for you is,
Do you like it or do you hate it?
Because I can't really tell.
There's a part of me that go, because here's the thing, guys, everyone needs to remember this.
When there are weird things like this, O.T. loss is, or shootout loss, still gets you a point.
The players know that.
Yep.
It is a factor in how you approach a game.
If you're losing by one goal, if you're in a, in a playoff race, you know get to fucking O.T.
We get to O.T.
we can get that point. So it is, it's part of a strategy. It's part of something that you're thinking about.
So it's not just like random bullshit. So keep that in mind. In that regard, there is part of me that
really likes it because it is a cool element of the game. It's a cool element of the game of when
you're in a point race and you're losing by a goal or two, you're on the bench going,
just get to. Get to OT. You know, I think that's interesting. How,
I do love the purest take of like win the fucking game dude yeah if you want points win the
fucking game so when we took ties away from the NHL which I loved it begs the question of
should you go back to still do what you're doing OT and shootout but if you lose you
fucking lose like play to win the only way you're getting points is by winning yep it's an
interesting conversation what I think people forget though is the reason this happened
was there was an era of the NHL where the rules committee, whatever, top brass,
felt like when teams got to overtime, especially in the end of the year,
when they're chasing playoff spots, they stopped going for it in overtime because it
wasn't worth getting zero points.
They were literally playing, I'd rather keep the tie, then send a D behind the play,
to create a three on two because if we don't score it comes back,
we might get scored and then we finish with zero.
So they said, what we're going to do now
is you get the point no matter what.
Try to fucking win,
because overtime is built to be exciting and entertaining.
That's why this rule change happened.
That's the fact.
So I don't know that I want to get rid of it.
I don't want to go back to the zero because of that.
But I am interested in...
But sorry, wasn't what you're saying,
they didn't want to go for it
because if time expired, it was a tie and they get the point.
Yeah, yeah, you could just ride it out.
So what I'm saying is now you could switch it back to zero points because you can't sit
back and go, oh, we don't, because it's going to go to a shootout eventually and someone's got
a win.
You go to a shootout.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Okay.
I mean, yeah, yeah, no, I hear you.
The only reason that was a thing was because there was still a tie point.
Yeah, and now there's no tie point.
So you say just go back to zero win.
So I'm confused why it was ever done this.
way because no you you cannot rest on your laurels you you are you are the game will be a winner will
be determined no matter what so you got to go for it that's yeah dude i think i like i would hear that
this is a different conversation which we don't have to get into i would hear three for a regulation
win two for an overtime win one for an overtime loss zero for a regulation loss i kind of like
that winning in regulation is better than winning in the shootout that that that that is a nice thing i still
think it opens the door for people to complain about if you lose you still get a point that
yes so no but here's the thing and is that that i don't know if that's your take or that's what you're saying
i'm echoing what people yeah i truly don't know where i stay i think i stand with i'm fine with the point
because like you said i don't hate the reward for grinding to tie a game you're down and you
fucking tie it up and you're like boom yeah fuck off and i think people were giving me a hard time with
the B's, you know, some of my Ranger fan friends, and it didn't finish close, but when the
bees and the rags were kind of right there in the president's trophy, and then I can't believe the
bees could possibly beat us with eight less wins. And I'm like, well, yeah, we took enough
games to O.T. Like, I don't know. It's not, it doesn't seem, it's part of the game to me that I'm
like, yeah, you made it to O.T. You get a tie. You didn't lose in regulation. Sorry, you lost in
regulation more. You know, I think that's kind of a cool thing. And I don't hate the,
I don't hate the reward for that.
I guess that's my final take.
If you lose the game,
I don't think you need to be punished that hard
if you made it until the time.
No, I like that.
And that's kind of what I said at the beginning.
It's part of the strategy, if you know.
It does, I see the point of win or get nothing
because it does add a element of,
there are teams maybe who are in a good spot, you know?
Uh-huh.
And they get into OT and I'm not,
saying anyone rest. Everyone wants to win, guys.
I don't care if you're in first place
or fucking last place. You want to win.
That said,
if you
are, for example,
if you're the Bruins
and you play tonight
and you get into OT
and you've got this
point bump on Florida
and the tiebreaker, you could
get into OT and be like this,
got it. Yeah. But if you lose,
you get nothing.
that is the cool difference of like you open more,
you open the door for more drama,
maybe if we go back to the,
no matter what,
any loss is zero points.
Yeah,
fair.
It's probably more drama.
It's going to be few and far between,
but it's,
I think it would possibly add to some more drama.
And it is interesting to look at
if you take away the overtime loss point,
the playoff picture looks very different.
Yes.
That's interesting.
absolutely and I'm Mr.
fucking 1 through 16 over here
where I'm like just put the best teams in
I do admit
the OT loss
because dude like the islanders
not to keep dogging them
and this is kind of true for most teams actually
the islanders are 38
27 and 16
okay so add 27 and 16
that's 43
so the islanders
if you're talking did you win the game or did you lose the
game are 38 and 43. And I'm like, that blows. Yeah, yeah. Like that, I do allow that the OT loss,
which is a loss, allows teams with a pretty bad win-loss record to get in the playoffs because
they just grinded out points here. For sure, for sure. And I don't love that. Yeah. I still want to keep
it. I do, but I don't love that. I hear you. Second thing I want to hit is we saw this really cool thing on
IG that was teams records win percentages versus the best teams in the league and the worst teams
in the league.
So point percentages for the best teams was calculated only using games played against
the top 16 teams in the league.
Okay?
Yeah.
And against the worst teams, point percentages are calculated using only games played
against the bottom 16 teams in the league.
The top record versus the best teams in the league, I'll give you the, well, actually,
I'm just going to read them fast because you'll be surprised by some.
This is in order.
So this is teams records against the best teams in the league.
Yep.
Number one at 68.6 win percentage against the best teams in the league is the Boston Bruins,
which I'm shocked by.
Yeah.
And that's a pretty big gap too because the Leafs are second at 63.9.
Mm-hmm.
So Bruins, Leefs.
Also shocking.
Yes.
Bruins, Leafs, Avs, Panthers, Knights.
Scary at 5.
Dude.
Oh, everyone dogging the night.
nights. They've been playing the last 25 games without so many of their best players and then still
that. Canucks, bolts, jets, rags coming in at 9th at 55.4%.
Stars 10th, predators. That is not great for Dallas fans. Islanders, 12th. Bad. Hurricanes.
Bad. Oilers. Bad. Flyers. Expected. Flames. Blames. Blue.
Blues, wings at 18th, 6.1%.
Bad, Detroit.
Capitals.
Real bad.
Wild, Kings, 21st at 44.9%.
Yikes.
Cracken, sabers, penguins at 24th.
Dude, and that is, given their goal differential, that is why they are where they are.
Yes.
Yeah.
Blue Jackets, Sends, Habs, Yotes, Devils at 29th.
Ducks, hawks, sharks.
Yeah.
Okay.
Ducks, Hawks, Sharks,
great job.
Yep.
And dude,
the bottom four
of record versus
the worst teams
in the leagues,
Ducks, Blue Jackets,
Hawkshark.
Yeah,
you just lose
everybody.
Best record
versus the worst
teams in the
league.
Number one,
the New York Rangers
82.
82.9%.
Now,
I want to say
that stat is not
as bad as it
sounds because
you got to
win the games
you're supposed to
and they do.
Yep.
Like, that's fucking
great.
Number two,
Dall Star is 82.
82.4%.
You know,
9,
10th, those two against the best teams, one two against the bad teams, which is why they're
first place in their division.
Yes.
Cains, Oilers, Kings, Canucks, Canucks, Sixth in both.
Dude, I like that.
Me too, me too.
Avs, jets, panthers, devils, wild, preads, Bruins, Leifes, 13, 14.
And it's fun, well, I'll keep on.
Interesting.
Caps, wings, blues, both.
Colts, Vegas 19th, 62.8%.
It's so funny to me because everyone's like,
Vegas is in the wild card, and I'm like,
because they lose to the shit teams.
Like they literally just not paying attention
and they lose to bad teams.
I think this is, do you want to keep going?
Penguins, Yotes, Habs, Flyers, Sabers, Kraken, Islanders.
Similar deal.
Like Islanders fucking 12th against the best teams,
26th against the bad teams.
So I'm like, dude, they actually could be dangerous.
Sends, flames, ducks, jacket, talks.
So I love that you brought this up because,
like I don't know if you said at the top, but if you did just reiterating, this has been a very good metric in the past for playoff success. So there are a few teams in here that I think this looks quite bad for. Me too. Like bad news for you guys, you're about to play all of the best teams. And if you've not been doing well against the best teams, I'm on the Rangers. But Rangers, this stat does not look good for you. Because all of a sudden, you are now playing those best teams that you are only 50% against. So that's scary.
Canucks, very balanced.
Yep.
Like that's pretty sweet.
Vegas being fifth is like, ho-hum, Mark Stone's back in case you didn't see that.
Mark Stone's back.
Tomash Hurdle is in the lineup.
Petro's back.
It's like, that is the situation now where you go, uh-oh.
Like, is this, is their full team back and they're very good against the best teams?
Crazy.
I want to give so many.
dick taps to Boston and Toronto. I think Boston, there's been a lot of chatter this year of
Boston doesn't have the star power. They've been riding their goal tending all year long. But
regardless of whether or not that's true, they buckle down and beat the best teams. And now you're
playing only the best teams. So that's interesting. Toronto, also very interesting.
You imagine we've just been talking about the last two weeks about how like they're done.
They don't have it this year. And I'm like, well, Matthew scored 70 and they're the second best team
against the best teams in the league and no one's talking.
Yeah, that's interesting.
I would hate looking at this statistic if I were a fan of the Dallas stars.
And frankly, the Rangers too, but the Dallas Stars, it's like, I feel like, especially
when you talk about the Central, the difference in chatter between the Jets and the Stars are
like, the Jets are kind of frauds, dude, like they're not that good.
They'll get into the playoffs and then lose miserably.
Dallas is a wagon, and this stat says the exact opposite.
it's like the Jets will go toe to toe with the best teams in the league.
Dallas, maybe not so much.
Jets eighth against the best team.
They're eighth and both, which is cool.
The interesting comment, Dan, is you said the balance.
You're like, Knoch, sixth and both.
Jets, eighth in both.
And I'm like, oh, that's cool.
You're consistent, which consistency matters in the playoffs big time.
But I'm, I think, I can't tell if I would rather be the consistent 6,6.
Or if I'd rather be someone like Boston, where I'm like, yeah, I'm 13th against the bad teams,
but I'm one against the good team.
so I'm only, who gives a fuck?
I'd just rather be, I pommel the good teams.
Yeah, that 13 is unacceptable soldier.
Yeah.
But at the same, I'll say this too,
it looks like that the Bruins are going to catch Tampa or Toronto.
If Florida hops Boston,
we got a first round Bruins,
Maple Leafs matchup, which is nuts.
One two.
One two.
Yeah.
This is one of those funny situations where if the Bruins do finish first,
in the Atlantic and they pull Tampa.
It's, I'm like glad, and you know, I'm a huge Detroit guy, but like, let's say Detroit or Washington
sneaks in and if Boston had beat top the Rangers, and they were playing like Detroit
or Washington, I'd be like, I feel terrible.
Yeah.
Like, you're bad against the bottom half.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Like, what the fuck?
Like, if I'm Boston, I'm like, give me Tampa.
Give me Toronto.
Fuck it.
The top five of Boston, Toronto, which I said are surprised to me, and I don't have either of them
making good cup rights.
But then you go Avs, Panthers, Knights.
That is not surprising to me at all.
And that's a scary bunch.
And I'll tell you what, dude,
Avs, Panthers Knights are teams that you and I both,
as well as a lot of other people have been like
one of those teams is very well going to win the cup.
That stat proves it.
You know, like that's, I mean, fucking Christ, man.
The abs being that high, I'm like, of course.
Yeah.
And two other fan bases that I'd be concerned is
Cain's Oilers
Cain's Oilers are three, four
against the worst teams in the league
13, 14 against the best
and the knock on those two teams
in the last handful of years
is like they're a great team, regular season team
not when you play the good team
and I'm like, whoops.
Yeah, that's why when you read it out,
I went bad and like that
if I am a fan of either of those teams
I'm like, fuck me.
Come on, dude.
Really?
And this isn't, there's some cool trends.
I'll post this.
There's some cool trends.
The IG is data-driven hockey.
Yeah.
There's some cool trends in the past about the teams that are top of this list have won the cup the last several years.
So, but no guarantee, you know, like you can get hot.
But I thought that was just so fascinating to see.
Very.
And just fucking eye-opening, like some of these teams just not being able to get it done.
Or like the good teams falling asleep against the bad teams is actually the funniest to me.
I agree.
But you can really hide it by pummeling the bad team.
That one is, yeah, it's wild.
I put so much more stock in the top one.
Yeah, like the king's fifth against the bad teams,
21st against the good teams.
And I'm like, you're fucked to do it.
Oh, yeah.
Like, I'm like, God, damn.
Come on.
But if you're one of these top teams in the league and you're below seven, honestly,
in that top one, I'm like, I don't feel great right now.
Like, that's not good.
But it's wild.
It's wild to see.
All right.
We've got a huge week ahead.
Big night tonight.
Big night tonight.
Huge night, tomorrow, huge night Thursday.
The results, by the time you guys listen to this Wednesday morning, you know,
we're very likely going to have the East set, but maybe not.
Yep.
Later this week, some surprise pod, some surprise YouTube.
We're just going to break down the playoffs.
Crazy shit, we're going to do saucy predictions in those,
because we'll have playoff stuff set.
We're here.
Yeah.
We're here.
Hey, strap in, ladies and gentlemen.
Been the craziest regular season.
in recent memory for either of us.
I imagine a lot of you.
Playoffs are here right around the corner.
Let's buckle those seatbelts and get ready.
And until then,
skate hard.
