Empty Netters Podcast - 94. The Predators Are Blowing This Series
Episode Date: April 30, 2024Nashville is puking up a golden opportunity and they have themselves to blame. Stammer is showing his worth, the Leafs are fighting each other, Helly has lost his mojo, and Dallas/Vegas is a chess mat...ch. The boys debate rhythm vs rest and answer other mailbag questions. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (10:15) – No Buckie Warm Up / Top 5 Stories (10:22) – 5. Stammer (18:55) - 4. Peter DeBoer/Bruce Cassidy (25:19) – 3. Hellebuyck Sucks (31:21) - 2. Leafs Need to Keep Their Composure (41:14) - 1. Predators Meltdown (49:56) – Hot Ice (1:04:54) – Mailbag (1:15:10) – Saucy Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the crisp refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
It's playoff season. We've already got a sweep. We might have some gentlemen sweeps on the horizon.
Either way, we're watching hockey, and the best way to do that is doing it by enjoying a nice Labat Blue Light while you check out all the games.
Labat Blue Light is no questions asked the best beer in the game, because each bottle, pint, and can is brewed with Canadian kindness.
takes it to the next level. So if you're watching the game, if you're hanging out at the bar
or just kicking back with some friends, crack open a Labap Blue Light because no beer tastes
better or makes you feel better. It's the best beer for hockey. It's the best beer for you.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast. We've got to sweep
officially. And we've got to get in, I wish we had more. We'll talk about that later.
But yes. Got a sweep officially. We've got some gentleman sweeps on the horizon.
Man, this is an exciting time.
The second round is nigh.
Mm-hmm.
We've got drama and craziness.
Holy moly.
I'm actually hoping some of these tighten up a little bit.
Tighten back up.
You know, we're happy for you, but then tighten up.
I'm hoping some of these tighten up, and we might see some of that tonight, in fact.
But, yeah, it's...
A lot of action.
Lot of action.
We were at the Kings game last night.
A little bit of action there.
Still, well, we're still,
um, recovering.
If you guys might have seen that on story, we were at, we were asked to do the first we feast
hot ones challenge.
And we do the trivia questions on the Jumbotron.
And Dan and I thought it would be funny.
You know, we do the saucy predictions.
Like I eat.
We have to do it today.
Yeah, we have to do it later.
So I do it and I'm like, we'll be fine.
and we thought it would be funny to just ham it up a little bit
and like eat extra.
We were like, I remember telling you like, let's eat a full one.
They just tell you to take a bite.
And I was like, let's eat a full one for the last one.
And then you fucking took an extra one.
Can I be honest?
Yeah.
I didn't realize that that was an extra one.
Dude.
I thought we had to eat after everyone we got right.
No, dude.
No.
You're an idiot.
I know.
I miscalculated.
They had us eat that first one.
And I was like, this feels weird to make me have this punishment.
Yeah.
But like that's the point you eat it first.
So I thought that next one was our technical third.
No, we were done, dude.
And then I had to do it.
And then I was like licking my fingers.
I thought it was funny.
And then my mouth hurt for a long time.
Yeah.
Like literally I was like like sitting with milk just in my mouth.
Yeah.
And then ice cubes and then bread.
And then the mouth kind of went away.
And my stomach feels horrible.
My stomach still feels horrible.
So does my toilet.
Yeah.
I can only leave.
imagine. Also, I burned my eye because I tried to take my contact out with my fucking hand, dude.
You're the one, too, who's always screaming, don't touch anything. I know. And then you took your
DeBom hot-sossed fingers and stuck them in your eyeball. I have Reaper pepper vinegar
in my cornea. I don't feel bad for you. Why? Because this is your fault. You're an idiot.
I literally have one contact in right now. For anybody watching them. Oh, is that true? You actually-
I literally can't get the contact in this eye because it hurts so bad.
I rinse it in saline.
I rinsed it in fucking contact solution.
You got to get new contacts.
And everyone's like, get day lease.
And I'm like, fuck you, dude.
In this economy, who could afford days?
But now, you're thinking about it.
So yeah, I'm fucked.
I can't see.
I can't even see you.
If I go like this, I can't see.
Where am I?
Where am I?
You're in the studio.
Oh, shit.
Thank you.
Don't close that eye again.
Don't blink.
Jesus Christ.
I couldn't believe how bad that King's game was.
That's what I want to transition to.
First of all, a huge shout out to the Kings and shout out to Mikey.
Shout out to First We Feast.
That was a blast.
Love doing it.
Would do it again, even though my stomach was terrible.
The game was a huge bummer.
I think what did the Oilers finish with?
15 shots or something like that.
Let me check for sure.
Just a low amount of shot.
And it was just an actionless game.
Well, so we've been to a King's playoff game, one last year and two the year before, I think.
Oilers every time.
And every time we've been, there's been like eight total goals, tons of action, McDavid's got a bunch,
13 shots for the Oilers.
I mean, Jesus.
So imagine going to a Kings Oilers playoff game.
And I think McDavid and Drysell had the system.
That was like a nice little thing.
Yeah, it was a beautiful power play movement.
Not a beautiful goal.
I think Riddick played fantastic, but I think he wants that one back.
He was set.
It wasn't barren in.
It wasn't top titty.
It was just like a good slap shot from Bouchard that Riddick should have saved.
That's my point.
We go to a Kings'Overs playoff game.
You get a reasonably lackluster Evan Bouchard slap shot as the only goal.
And the Kings out shoot the hell out of them, 3313.
But we didn't feel like there were even that many great A chance.
A lot of shots.
A lot of just missed the post on a tip.
Yeah.
I think Riddick made a couple.
couple, like you said, flash in the pad saves.
A couple. And those are great saves.
I say a couple as to say there weren't a ton of crazy chances for the Oilers.
And then on the other side, I mean, Laferrier had a decent chance that he put over the net.
Mikey Anderson had one good grade A in the slot chance.
Spenny was ripping pucks from the point, but that was it.
Shots from the outside perimeter or the point led to the king's, what, 30-something shots?
33 shots?
maybe one of them was a high danger chance.
It was the strangest game of Oilers didn't really do much.
They didn't produce much.
Clearly, 13 shots.
They got a horrible, horrible, fucking holding call that led to their...
Horrible.
A good point, I forgot.
Horrible holding call that led to their power play.
Good power play movement.
Decent goal.
Then, on the other side, like I said, the Kings were just not getting grade A chances.
and it was just such a boring fucking game.
And it was a bummer to that this was a game where the Kings,
you got to win.
You got to win that game.
You're now down 3-1.
You go back to Edmonton,
and I know how you feel about that whole thing,
but the end of the day,
you're down 3-1 after a game
where you just didn't get good chances on that,
and that's unacceptable.
Especially because, as we had noticed coming in,
the crowd was in it.
It was a very, there were a ton of always fans there,
of course, but it was less of a sceny Friday night crowd like game three.
This was like a huge Kings faithful Will Ferrell in the building, Todd Gurley in the building,
like everyone's fired up and they couldn't give them anything.
We said that crap place would have gone nuts for a goal in the power play again, dude,
over 11 now on the series.
Horrible.
They didn't even no shots.
Fuck no shots, dude.
They hired the puck in the zone for like 20 seconds of that power play.
So super frustrated.
game for the Kings. Frankly,
a good game
for the Oilers. Like, you know you can win the 6-1,
right? You know you can win the shootout even.
That's a good... And, you know,
I don't think the King is the toughest team they're going to face, but that's a
good win for the Oilers to be like, hey, we didn't really have it tonight, but we
defended hard and won a 1-0 playoff game.
Yeah, we've talked shit about the Oilers' choking hazard situation in the
playoffs, which I stand by.
They deserve that shit talk.
I feel like we've criticized.
in the past, their defense and their goaltending come playoff time.
And we've got back-to-back games now where they gave up one goal and then they gave up zero goals.
And then like we've talked about, 33 shots, none of which we felt were very dangerous.
And they gave up zero goals.
That's a pretty damn good performance.
And it's just, I think it's a testament to they weren't letting the kings get in the slot.
They weren't letting them penetrate and get good chances.
And now I'm looking at their path to the Western Congress.
Conference Finals, and they're playing the winner of Vancouver, who's rolling out
HL tandums in the playoffs, and Nashville, a wildcard team.
And I'm like, I don't know, maybe they're going straight to the Western Conference Finals.
Like, it's, they've got the better path, no doubt about it.
And Skinner and this defense, again, maybe LA's not clicking right now, because they did
get five on them, and then four in game one.
but maybe they're playing better than they have.
And it's interesting.
I'm very curious to see what Game 5 has in store
because there's a chance that they pump L.A. full of lead
and give up one or two goals.
And then I'm like, I'd feel pretty good if I read it.
Yeah.
We joked earlier that Vegas was lost to the ducks on purpose
to catch Dallas because they like the matchup or whatever.
And, you know, the Kings wanted the Oilers.
if what you just said happens,
possibly no one had it break better for them in this scenario than the oilers.
Because like you just said,
their path to the Western finals,
after all the West juggernauts battle is a delight.
And they were a Vegas beating the ducks away from losing in the first round to the knights,
in my opinion.
Like if Vegas beats the ducks,
they play the Oilers in the first round and pummel them
and McDavid's out and everyone's losing their shit in Edmonton.
But instead, Vegas lost to the ducks,
and now they get to pump the kings and pump.
the Canucks and see what happened.
Yeah.
And I'm like, wow.
Here, that's like a franchise altering, a Oilers franchise altering nights lost to the ducks.
It's absolutely insane, dude.
So Kings, Oilers, going into game five, we'll see what's going on, but you're feeling
pretty solid if you're the Oillies right now.
Let's get into our top five stories of the week.
No Bucky warm up.
What do you got for me at number five?
Number five, Stephen
motherfucking Stamcoast.
Not dead yet. Not dead yet.
And I actually thought
they went up
three nothing. The bolts go up three nothing in that game.
Three one, four one. And then four, four, three,
with plenty of time left in the third. And I was like, this is such a dagger.
Oh my God. This is an automatic panthers tie
and then automatic go to overtime and then automatic Carter Verhagie under the bar
into your eyeball.
Yeah.
And good day, sir.
You lose, you get nothing.
It did.
I was terrified.
Yep.
But then, when it goes four, three,
Stephen Stamco's pops his fifth of the fucking playoffs through four games.
I think only Hyman has more.
Goals?
Yeah, maybe.
I think that's right.
Does he have six?
I think so.
Because of the three in game one.
Yeah, he's a spas, dude.
Let me see.
Goals, Hyman, six.
Yeah.
And Val, with his Addy.
Got to six, too.
Yeah.
But Stammer 5.
That's awesome.
So what I want to talk about is this.
Do I think the bolts can win this series?
No.
Did I think it was possible before they started?
Yes, down 3-0.
I just don't, I think the Panthers are too good.
Tampa's a team that could come back.
I think the Panthers are too good.
I'm glad Tampa got one.
It sucks getting swept.
Sucks getting gentlemen swept too,
but I'm just glad the fans.
I love those Tampa fans.
And I think it's exciting.
They got it.
They're awesome.
The bolts are interesting in the future.
I'll save all that talk for this summer.
You know, they're not gone, but there'll be changes, whatever.
But for me, personally, and I think you agree,
it has been so awesome to see Stephen Samco's have the fucking season he had
and the playoffs he's having after all this contract bullshit.
And frankly, I don't understand how you can fucking look that man in the face.
If you don't plan, like maybe they're already planning some great offer for him
and they're going to keep him no matter what.
But if they're not, I don't know how you can look him in the face as your captain
who's ushered in these cups in this epic run of dominance
and have him be doing this shit for you
after you're jerking him around.
Insane.
Yeah, I don't know where I land on that
because when we talked about it this summer,
I was like, this is fucking crazy,
bring the guy back, he's a performer,
he's the best leader of all time
for that franchise.
Where are you at on?
I'm kind of trying to put on the,
the ruthless GM hat.
How old is he?
33, I believe.
He might be 34 now.
And I just am curious.
The thing is, is he delivers, right?
He performs.
I don't know if you just, do we know how many points he has this season?
He had 39 tucks, and he was over a point per game.
Yeah.
Oh, I think you're right.
He was 81 and 79.
Exactly.
40 and 41.
He got 40.
Oh, he did?
Yeah.
40 goals, 41 assists, 81 points, 79 games played.
However, a minus 21, which is very weird, given like that team.
Okay, yep.
But again, you know I'm the plus minus daddy.
I'm not necessarily going to count that one against him.
I am curious what the situation is with him and his age and just the status with that team
in terms of, you know, yeah, he's 33.
is he asking for too much?
Are they cap crunched?
Like, what's their issue?
I think that you should just obviously bring him back.
But if they're looking at a, okay, we need to reshuffle here.
Like, we need a reset.
Then fine.
But agree, it does feel a little bit like the guy just had an 81 point, like,
perfectly balanced, as all things should be.
Yes.
After, and I know it's like times are changing, but I'm just going through his old contracts,
you know, uh,
In 2008, he signs a 3 by 3.7.25.
In 2011, he signs a 5 by 7.7.5.
And then in 2016, he signs an 8 by 8.5.
Like, he has never been a guy that's fucking taking 11, killing the team.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm not saying he was like taking pay cut.
Those are good contracts.
8.5 in 2018?
2016.
But that's a big number.
I was going to say, that's a big contract then.
Yep.
And keep in mind, that was in the era where no one,
no team had ever even sniffed winning a Stanley Cup with someone getting more than 10.
that was that era like caps going up a little bit now we just saw the first one we're going to see
more now but like that that was a big contract yep but i think it was you were slightly overpaying
and i mean i mean overpaying just because it's a big number for the first couple years of that
and then i don't think yeah oh oh yes i don't even think you were overpaying like he was a
fucking machine but you know what i mean like it was like oh that's a high number and now i'm like
oh this is a steal but i again i don't like saying overpaying i think you were going we're paying
a premium for premium. Like, you are paying what you are getting.
My thing with Sammer is, he's 33. Like, there are a guy, look at Joey Tip drill. Like,
there are guys playing into the latter half of their 30s still pretty well. If I'm him,
I'm probably going, I just played 79 games. I had 81 points. I can still do this clearly.
And I want to do it for at least four more years. I'm probably not accepting anything less
than seven. I mean, fucking A, man. He's a, he's an 81.
point guy. Yeah, it depends on term, I guess. I just think like a four by seven for him is something
that I'd be like, I wouldn't go, oh my God. Yeah. That's my point. And you're saying you might
not want to do that if you're 10. Yes. If I'm his agent, I'm certainly asking for that,
unless he is like, dude, give me four by six. Give me, you know, like you can you see something
lower than six for that? Not really, but I could see six if he's just like, dude, I don't want to
leave. Why are you doing this? Yeah, it's injured. Like, what did,
What did Bergeron just take, like, one, one by three or something?
It's like, Sammer's point production is a little bit better than Bergeron,
but I'd say they're pretty comparable guys in terms of what they're giving you on the ice,
the leadership that they're giving you.
So I think Tampa is probably like, sign a three by three, dude.
Like, you don't need more money.
Yeah, right.
But like, that's the, again, we all need more money.
We're spinning our tires here because I'm just trying to look at it from the,
it's gone this long.
There's a very real possibility, and maybe even the most likely possibility that he just
goes right back to Tampa.
But there's also a very serious chance that he doesn't.
And maybe he goes to Detroit and reunites with Stevie Y.
Maybe he goes to Boston, something like that.
I don't know.
But it is nuts that we might see the end of Stammer here, having an 81 point season,
and then leading the team in goals.
I think he has five goals and one assist or something like that in four games.
And just playing phenomenally.
And there's a chance that Tampa's like this.
Yeah, you're not coming back.
Yeah.
Thanks for your service, bro.
I'm like, are you kidding me?
Wild.
Two rapid things on this.
They play tonight.
We're recording Monday.
It's going to drop in the morning.
Do they, do they, Panthers finish it tonight at home in your mind?
Yeah, I do.
I think so too.
Second question.
Anything to, and Bob is unfazed by the six goals he gave up in that game.
Or maybe it was five with an empty net.
I can't remember.
Anything to, you were up 3-0.
and you have Stolar's playing insane down the back half of the year as your backup role.
Anything to you should have given that game to Solars up 3-0.
Easy to say now that they lost.
Yeah.
Dude.
Just, Bob, a little rest here.
He's an old guy.
We ran them tight.
We ran him hard last year.
We ran them hard to the finals of the year before.
I have officially gotten to the point where I fucking hate goalie tandem.
Tandum, tandem.
I hate it.
I hate it.
Tandum, tandem.
Tandum, tandem.
Tandum, tandem.
I hate it.
I hate this talk.
I hate that we bring it up every five seconds,
because you know why, dude,
it's all hypothetical.
All of these talks are hypothetical.
I know you just said this.
It's so easy to look at that loss and go,
Panthers are stupid, dude.
They should have played Stollars for sure.
Shut the F up, dude.
Like, no, it's not that simple.
Because, in my opinion,
if you played him and still lost,
you'd have people on the other side going,
well, that was stupid.
Open the door for Tampa now.
Yeah, it's rusty.
Because like now you bring back Bob and maybe he's not as sharp as he.
It's just, I hate it.
I've officially gotten to the point where I hate Tandem Talk.
If your goalie is winning and he wants to play, you should play him.
Love it.
Number four story.
The Peter DeBore Bruce Cassidy game of Cat and Mouse that is happening in the Dallas Vegas series.
Who knew, Dan, that it's all about the rim job.
That's all it took.
Big rim job guys down in Dallas.
So, yeah, explain the back and forth going on with these coaches.
Basically, and, you know, DeBoer used to coach Vegas, right?
And then he left, he gets let go, and they joins Dallas,
and then Vegas plays Dallas in the Western Commerce Finals.
And, you know, I don't know all the details, but I'm just telling you,
if you got a coach that just coached you.
And I'll tell you this, Peter DeBore has a system.
Yep.
And he is pretty strict on how he makes his players play.
with said system. So then when you play the very next year, a team that you used to coach
with said system, they're probably going to know what you're doing.
I might have a good sense of what they're up to. So I'm not saying that was the only
difference, but I'm telling you, Vegas went up 3-0 and then gave a few back and then handle them.
And then Vegas comes in here and takes two in Dallas, and you're like, here we go again.
Dallas this year, this regular season, led, I think led the league, but was one of the top
teams in this rush stat.
They can attack on the rush with possession through the neutral zone, into the zone with
numbers.
Cassidy has said many times that that was their main priority coming into the series this
year was slowing down Dallas's rush.
And they've done a great job of that through two games.
And I think there was like 12 times, it's like 12 successful rushes, odd man rushes,
or rushes into the zone was Dallas' game high this season.
Game three, they had 16.
Way above what their record was.
And really, it came down to this thing where Vegas had been pinching the middle, taking away breakout passes, and Dallas in game three looked at film.
And I'm simplifying it, but looked at film and it was like, you know, rim that bitch.
Rim that puck around the boards.
Yeah.
Because Vegas is too centered and two taking away those small short passes.
And it worked to perfection early.
At one point Dallas was out shooting Vegas 30 to 10, I think.
it was a bloodbath.
Now, obviously in game,
you could be like,
hey, hey,
yo,
they're rimming it.
Like,
weak side winger,
stay over there.
Like, D,
middle D,
don't pinch as hard.
Be aware,
be aware.
Which Vegas did
and then tied the game.
You know,
it's not like this was like
a Dallas blowout.
They had to win
an overtime.
So,
whatever.
But it will be really interesting
to see that for the first time
in call it two series,
Dan,
Dallas has made an effective
adjustment.
right? It just felt like Vegas was in their brain.
Yeah, yeah, no doubt.
Oh, that's interesting. And the rim isn't going to work perfectly in game four tonight.
But maybe Vegas is too ready for the rim and Dallas's original thing works.
You know what I mean? Like this is the cool part about playing a team over and over and over.
Yeah.
So I'm excited to see this is a really fun, like normally I'm here to just watch the hockey.
I want to see some sick goals and some big hits and whatever, some dope sales.
This is one of those series where I'm really enjoying the strategy battle.
Yeah.
I can't say in most other series.
No, I completely agree.
This series is interesting because, like I've said a million times, this to me feels like
the Western Conference Final.
I hate that these teams are playing each other in the first round.
I would have been devastated if Dallas just went out with a whimper and lost in four or five.
I hope they win tonight, kind of.
I have no idea who I want to win this series.
I really do love both teams.
But I love the fight.
I love the clapback from DeBora.
I like how Cassidy's being kind of shiasty in his little press conference being like,
oh yeah, like the rim.
Don't know what to do about the rim, blah, blah, blah.
But yeah, this to me was a good.
What's nuts is it was an overtime win, but Dallas won that game.
They beat them down.
I mean, Logan Thompson was out of his fucking mind in that game playing so well.
So it really, to me, felt like a, yeah, they were.
won an OT, but it was almost the needed to get the OT win to get over the hump to resettle things.
So can't wait to see the strategy tonight.
You're absolutely right.
It's going to be weird or interesting rather to see if that was a one-off or if they're like,
nope, we're here to rock now.
So let's do it.
But either way, we've got a series.
And that is a great thing to see.
Tough that this one's in Vegas tonight because, you know, they're always good at home.
You think if they get this one at home, you're kind of in a jam.
Isn't that what's so scary about Vegas, dude?
How we're both like, Dallas kicked the shit out of him in that game.
And I'm like, and it went to overtime.
And they barely won.
Yeah.
They barely won.
But it is, I mean, dude, that's the difference.
Even with a team like Dallas, who's the number one seed, like they're so fucking good.
If you go down 03 to a team, I don't care what you say, you're defeated.
Like, you go into that game.
It's over, buddy.
And the majority of your players, the top line competitors in the world are going like this.
We're done.
And I'm telling you what?
Very similar feelings when you're down one three.
So this is a very important game.
Like if you are playing Vegas, these juggernauts, these fucking circumventing geniuses,
and you go down one three, you feel defeated.
So this is a win or die game.
No doubt about it for Dallas.
I think so.
No, it's a definite dude.
Yeah.
Is there a team in these playoffs that you would want to be down.
one three less than...
No, Florida.
Yeah. But it's
certainly not in the West.
No, no. It's bad. And think about the
reverse. If Vegas was down one three to Dallas,
I'd be like this.
This isn't over. Right.
Like Vegas can easily win three straight.
Yeah. I think it's hard to win three straight.
Not against Vegas, dude. You're wrong
if you think that. Vegas is
not a team that you're going to win three straight against.
Ever. I think you're probably right. I like that Dallas
has, I know they're on the road to I'm saying. I like
the reason they've worked so hard to get home ice.
is to try to claw out of something like this.
You fucking win tonight.
Best of three with two in Texas, baby.
Yep.
So it's like everything on the line right now.
Which another reason why I'm saying this is make or break for them tonight.
They have to win.
Number three.
Connor Hilo Buck sucks.
I can't believe it, dude.
It's so weird.
And the Vezna finalists were announced today, I believe.
and Winnipeg's posting these highlight reels,
these mixtapes of Hellebuck making these unbelievable saves
and how good he is.
And I'm like, maybe hold on that post, dude.
Because you guys win game one,
while Hellebuck gives up a lot of goals.
And then you get fist-fucked, three straight games,
and you're now down one-three to the Colorado Avalanche,
and Hellebuck has been lit up like a fucking Christmas tree.
It was how many, how many was Game 2?
I think
5, right?
6, 5, 6, 5.
What are we doing here?
That's your Vezna goalie?
I, I, I, he's an American goalie.
I absolutely love him.
I love the Jets, but
this is fucking brutal, dude, it's terrible.
In the series preview, I talked about
the Vegas series, and granted, Vegas went on to win the cup,
but we both said, could Hella Buck,
could Hella Buck make this series interesting?
We all think Vegas is going to win,
but could Helibuck really throw a wrench into this?
And then he steals game one in Vegas, giving up one goal, I think.
And then it was like 5-4-5-4 goals the rest of the way gentlemen swept.
And Vegas was way better than the Jets last year.
I don't think it was on hellie.
But, you know, we were kind of like, ooh, damn,
that wasn't the best playoff performance.
I'm going to pull up his playoff stats.
But this has pretty much, and like you just said, Dan, about the Oilers,
I don't think this is going to make it sound like I'm shitting on,
Skinner, which I'm not at all. But last night to me felt more of a testament to the Oilers Team
D than it did to Skinner. He wasn't standing on his head. It just felt like he was making good
saves, always in the right position, and the team was limiting the big chances. So I'm not saying
every single one of these goals is Hellebuck. A lot of it is the abs, which we'll talk about
in 20 seconds. But I'm just saying, I need some saves, dude. For sure, dude. Let me read you
these stats. Four games. He's one and three. He has a 5.22 goals against and a 0.870
save percentage. That is just so not what you expected from this guy. And I got his playoff.
It's rattling too. Yeah, I was just about to get into that. But yeah, go. So this is
2018, 2019, 2020, 2021. They missed in 22, 23, 24. Okay? I'm reading you those years.
I'll go say a percentage and goals against.
922-236, 9-1-3-6, 9-1-367, 9-0-4-304, 931-2-2-3.
And then last year, 886-344 this year, 8705-22.
Yeah, you've got back-to-back years of really sub-par playoff performances from your
blue chip goalie.
You're stud.
The fact that he's probably going to win the Vesna and then is playing.
like this is it's kind of inexplicable.
Like, I don't really know what to say about it.
And if I'm this team...
This is your nightmare.
This is your nightmare.
And also, after a game one, rockem-sock him back and forth
against the Colorado Avalanche,
when Georgiev is playing a little tough,
you know, he's not doing that great.
He looks beaten down and dishevelled.
And then you now have three straight games
where Georgiev has played very well, and the aves are flying.
Oh, man.
I feel awful if I'm the Jets right.
I feel awful if I'm anyone in the West, dude.
Oh, yeah.
We are fully back to DP January prediction apps.
Nate's going to win MVP.
The Avs are going to win the cup.
You did it.
Yeah, I did it.
If the, this is the what's scary if you're an Ave fan, if this had happened.
you're up three one against the Jets.
Nate has seven goals,
Moose has six goals,
and Kale has five.
And that's it.
What's scary is if you're everyone else,
is Nachushkin is fucking pumping in goals.
You're getting scoring across the lineup.
Periz's going.
Our boy Ross is going.
George is playing great.
And Nate and Moose are,
and Kail are obviously doing their shit.
Kail's that fucking ridiculous end-to-end goal.
Yeah.
But I'm like, dude, this is the scariest
the aves have looked maybe all year.
Yeah, they look like a true juggernaut.
And I love it because I love seeing the abs be their full potential is so scary in a good way.
It's like, damn, look at how good this team is.
Because you can look at them sometimes and be like, oh, they're not that deep.
Sometimes.
Okay.
You know, like.
Careful.
With what?
Just careful with how you talk about Nate Dogg's team.
Sometimes.
Because like without laying.
Right? Without that one piece, you're like, oh, they feel like one piece away.
But then when they do shit like this and everyone's going, I'm like, no, they're not.
Yeah.
You know, put more respect on some of those guys down the lineup name.
But yeah, it's scary times in Winnipeg.
Really scary times in Winnipeg.
What do you think?
I think this is over in five.
Going back to Winnipeg, right?
So I could see them.
I could see them.
Actually, I think Winnipeg wins game five.
I like that.
I think it's, I think I picked as in seven.
And I now think, I think,
they do it in six. The avalanche, not to make a pun
punn here, but the avalanche does feel like
a rolling, tumbling avalanche right
now of momentum. And I'm like,
I think Winnipeg is going to play
much better in this game five, but
there's just something about
the way Colorado's playing. I'm like, I am
not entirely sure anything can stop. I'm counting on that
crowd. Yeah, yeah. The white out again, and it's like,
come on, boys, come on boys, back against the wall.
We always say hard to, hard to match
desperation. Yes, yes, to fake desperation.
Very true. So Winnipeg's got that going for him.
Number two story.
Number two, we got, the Leafs need to keep their composure.
Dude.
I want to be very clear.
I think this Maple Leafs team is good.
I think they've played well.
I think Sammy is playing really well.
So I'm not, so many Leafs fans have just, they're waving the white towel.
Well, they're in a pant, they're in a melt, which I get.
They are in a melt.
They're waving the white towel, which I hate to see.
because they're good people up there in Toronto.
They're good fans.
They're crazy.
They're passionate.
I love that.
But so many people are like, it's overdue.
Blow it up.
Let's not forget the NHL regular season record-breaking Boston Bruins were up three-one last year in the playoffs and lost.
So, you know, Boston has a history of pretty significant choke jobs.
I also think it went exactly this way.
Dude, I said this to you and I don't even want to put it out there in the ether.
No, I'm going to.
Because it's interesting.
Last year, Boston is playing Florida.
Win game one at home.
They win game one, lose game two.
Steal both on the road.
Steal both on the road and go up 3-1.
And in that game four, goalie Bob goes into the game.
And goalie Bob then played for the rest of that series
and Florida won three straight and beat Boston.
Wall came into that game for Sammy.
So I'm just saying if Walls,
starts game five.
Then I'm on suicide watch.
I think that the Maple Leafs are going to win through straight and win.
I actually didn't even love Lion needed to be pulled.
Yes.
When he led it a couple soft ones,
they were like, dude, I didn't even think Sammy needed me neither.
I thought it was a, I thought that was a, like, devastating yank job.
I was like, what?
It was like, Reamer had a kind of, not on him.
The pasta one was like a bad D, two on one with 10 seconds on the period.
Marshie, people were like, I wasn't that nice of a goal, but I thought it was.
I thought it was great.
So I'm like, why, what is he getting in the game for?
Yeah, I didn't like that for Sammy.
So the sky is falling in Toronto and I think it's a little premature.
Me too.
But obviously you're down 3-1.
You don't feel like that sucks.
You're bummed out about that, losing both in Toronto.
We'll give you the credit for the sky's falling for the Willie and Austin situation.
Yeah.
In, like, well, keep going.
Elliot Friedman came out with a report today.
Austin Matthews is not skating at practice and all signs are pointing to him not playing in game five.
So if you go the first two, three games without Willie and now you're going to, we had, okay, we had one game with the Corps 4 and now we're going without Austin.
That hurts.
That does not feel good at all.
So the Willie and Austin stuff going on is just crazy.
It's just such bad timing, but I do want to take this platform to say this.
First on Willie.
Fans getting on William Nealander being like, you sign this big contract, you play a full season, 100 points, right?
Or just about, is 98, I think.
And then this is what you do in the playoffs.
Fuck you.
Chill out with that.
Yep.
Because I don't know what his situation is.
Migraines are the things that people keep talking about.
I've never had a migraine
I hope that doesn't ever happen to me
but from what I understand
is that people are like
you legitimately can't see
you're like you're puking
certainly bright lights are a problem
like an arena
yeah I know people who say
you literally can't see
their migraines get so bad
so let's say Willie is having these significant
he has chronic migraine issues
would you want him playing
if he's suffering from that
and he literally can't see on the ice
Like, what are we talking about, dude?
So if he has a serious medical and head situation, get off his fucking ass, is what I'll say.
Now, I don't know what is what, but I find it hard to believe that a competitor like him,
who's a 98-point guy, is just going to end the playoffs be like this.
I don't feel that good.
I'm not going to, I just don't think there's any world where that's happening.
Austin, I don't know what his illness or his injury is, but I just imagine it's the same thing.
So I'm just not going to get...
Same situation, not also a migraine, you mean?
Yes, the same thing as in
he is clearly
probably dealing with something very serious.
So let's stop just assuming
these guys are fucking
assholes
who don't want to play.
There's just no world where I believe
that's the situation. Dude, that is
very well said. It's truly was the only big
point I wanted to make. It sucks
as a hockey fan this time
of year because people pick up knocks
and unless you're a Patriots fan
where Bill just lied to your face for 20 years
every other league pretty much tells you what's wrong.
In baseball they're like he tore his elbow
NFL, he's pulled a hand, he got turf toe.
The NHL, they're like this, upper body.
And you're like, what the fuck happened?
Because I need to know, because I need my 70 goal score
in the fucking lineup.
And he's sick, he's fucking sick?
I don't know.
It could be an injury.
I'm hearing people saying he's actually hurt, dude.
I'm hearing people say he's got like a really bad,
illness. Like you can't skate.
So my biggest thing is
this blows, I even said the other app,
as a Bruins fan, I'm like,
I hate this sucks. I hate that it's not there.
Those guys aren't in it. I want success
for them in their lives. The
idea
that those two don't care
to win hockey games for that city
is insulting to me. Yeah. So
you want to talk about this team's going to blow it up?
Let's talk about that and I kind of agree. But if you want to talk about
those two don't care,
I disagree.
Yeah.
I'm with you totally.
And I do think it's funny that to the blow it up topic.
Because, just because of term situations, because Austin just signed, Nealander just signed and Marner is the odd man out.
It's just, he's become the easy punching bag and scapegoat.
And everyone's like this fucking time up in Toronto for you bitch ass Mitch Marner.
Fuck you, pussy.
Yeah.
And I'm like, this guy just had 85 points in 69 games and is like, what a sick goal.
A perennial Selke candidate single-handedly scored the only goal in that game and everyone's like this, fuck him, dude.
I'm just like, oh my God.
Yo, so that the, I would say the biggest difference in the series, the two biggest differences is goalie, but that's only because Swayman's been so nasty.
And Sammy's been pretty good, to your point.
So it's like not even that.
I think he's better than that.
Yeah.
He's been very good.
So it's not even that's the huge gap.
On paper I thought it was going to be.
It hasn't really been an execution.
The big gap has been the special teams.
B's power plays like six or 13 or something like that.
The Leafs is one for 13.
That levels out, but the Bruins are down in this series, I would say.
So I know that those boys are frustrated as hell.
But you can't be doing that shit on the bench.
I disagree.
It's obviously a bad look.
But again, it's,
just, dude, they're human. And also, they're just as frustrated. Is that the third? I think so.
Yeah. They're just as frustrated, if not more frustrated than the fans. So, yeah. So I'm like,
fuck off everybody. Like, again, I'm, I'm not a diehard Maple Leafs fan, so I'm not as invested
as some of you. But these guys, and I thought Mitch had a perfect response. He was like,
we're grown men. We're having a fucking argument. We love each other. We love playing with each other.
We're pissed that we're losing and we're not scoring. What, like, you know, what else?
You have any idea, folks, how many times that we've been in an argument, and I've said fucking
brutal shit to you.
Like, trying to cut you open and rip your heart out and piss you off.
Because I'm pissed off, and we're not getting the results that we need.
Like, it just, it happens.
So I disagree with you that, like, you can't be doing that shit.
Dude, you're down 3-1.
You just lost both in Toronto.
You deal with this same narrative every single fucking year.
The one thing I'll finish with is, I think.
I think Keith is just being so out-coached.
And I felt this way, we never want to talk about people's jobs.
Always put that disclaimer on there.
I do not think this guy is the right coach for this team.
I think he is way too passive.
I think he's way too soft-natured.
I'm not saying that he's a soft guy.
I just think he is...
Or that's bad for a coach to be with this squad.
I think he's a more soft-spoken guy.
these guys, and I think with this fan base and the media they deal with, I think you need a hard ass.
I think you need a son of a bitch, honestly.
Dural Sergeant.
And I just don't think Keith is responding well to what's going on.
You're going to get Waugh.
I think they got to get Quenville.
If we're allowed to get Quenville back in the league, I...
Yeah, seriously.
I don't know where we all stand on that.
But it's a guy like that that I think is just going to whip these boys into shape.
but at the end of the day, if they lose this series, which it is not over.
At all.
If they lose this series, we keep saying it.
I feel like this is the round and round we go.
I just think there is no planet on Earth where these four guys are playing for this team next year,
as is what should happen.
Yeah, which we have been saying for a year.
That's what I'm saying, carousel.
Sorry, but Swainman rest of the way.
Yes. Swam in the rest of the way. Obviously.
Number one. Number one.
The Nashville Predators turkey melt on rye with a dill pickle.
You went turkey melt?
Yep. Not tuna melt?
Nope.
Come on. They got like catfish on the end?
Yeah. Let me do that again.
The Nashville Predators tuna melt.
Got it that time.
On rye with a dill pickle.
That sounds good.
Yeah, dude.
I put ketchup.
on my tuna melts. People think I'm crazy for that. Yeah, I do. I think you're crazy. It's delicious.
You put ketchup on a grilled cheese.
Yeah, you're right. But tuna, dude? Put ketchup on tuna?
Yeah, listen, you put cocktail sauce on fish. You know what's in cocktail sauce?
Cetchup. Cetchup?
Whoa. Whoa, dude.
Just saying, everybody, get off my ass, dude. Put ketchup on everything.
Cetchup on fish is good.
It's insane.
Here's what I get to say about this game.
the National Predators
you know how you just said
about Vegas and Dallas here you said I don't know
who I want to win and I agree
and we made a joke the other day
I'd always say the coin flip flip a coin
if you don't know if you don't know if you want to win
flip a coin you'll know in midair
that has never been more true with me
with this series and how much I want Nashville
to win I know I pick them in six but I don't care
about that pick and I love
I love Elias Petit
I love Elias Lindholm
and he has a goal you know and like I love
a lot of those boys I love Queen Hughes
and this is no
knock on Vancouver. I like that team a lot. I think they have a really bright future.
With the goalie situation, I just, like, and Nashville being having such a rip at the end of that year,
and we love that rink and I love that town. I have, like, I don't even know where this came from,
but I want them to win this series so badly. And I literally, literally think that they have been
better in all four games. And they are down three one. Yeah. It's fucking insane.
I feel similar to you. I think
with the way that I've talked about them for two years,
very unexpectedly, the Vancouver Canucks became my boys.
They became my little children.
You know, like, obviously I love Quinn,
and I could go down the list,
but like I really love this team.
I love Talk It.
So I want them.
I said that their mentality-wise,
they are, we are making it to the Western Conference Finals,
as they should.
Obviously, we have so many ties to Nashville.
and I love Nashville.
So I am very Sophie's choice with this series.
You could not be more correct
with how much every game has felt like it was in the hands of the Predators.
And then they're just like, oh, wait, we lost.
We just lost that game.
It's been so weird to watch.
Vancouver's done this all year.
They've had a lot of, you know, just hold on, come from behind.
They get their one chance, throw a punch, and bang, they win.
But I will say, I say all that as to say,
Kudos and hats off to Vancouver for these three wins.
Yep.
So I can transition into this point.
Nashville Predators, you guys are fucking assholes.
Assholes for some of these losses, particularly game four.
Cannot happen.
That was the most putrid, pathetic collapse I've ever seen.
I hate to, who's it, Sizzins with the empty that chance.
it is what it is like you got to i think you got to get that me too in the net but you know he throws
it's on his back hand throws it hits the post oh no there were more chances at that empty net
there was just sloppy zone entry there was sloppy passes and it felt like they were playing
around first of all they're up three one dude and they get sloppy and they get tired and lazy
and in the last quarter of that third period they give up
a goal. And it's like, well, it's getting close now. Then they miss the empty net. Then they keep
playing sloppy. And then that just complete circus act mess in the defensive zone that led to
the tying goal. Great play by Quinn on the blue line, keeping it in, getting the puck over.
But like the the, the, just the forecheck, the shape, it was all so messy. And it was as if it was one
of those games where you're watching it and you're you're sitting there thinking and literally saying
Nashville is begging them to tie this game and they were that's how they were playing it was just a
total fucking mess it's i've been as a fan team that i'm rooting for or playing for scores two
empty goals with the goalie pulled i've given up to and so it sounds like we're being hardos here
but i can't tell you the feeling when we school when my team scores with our goalie pulled
I have never felt like
Of course we have an extra guy
I always feel like
Oh fuck yeah
That's like what a miracle
And when I give one up
When they have their goalie pulled
I never feel like
Well they have an extra guy
I feel like we are clowns
And this is so unacceptable
It is so fucking easy
To not get scored on
When they have their goalie pulled
It's just
Keep it on the perimeter
Try to block shots
Don't try fucking block the shot
It's not that hard
Block the fucking shot
And then be responsible
By the fucking net dude
Like obviously they're just trying to get shit in there
and have guys sitting by the back post.
Like the fact that Besser missed that,
like when Soros kicked that,
I already knew they were going to score
because he fucking kicked,
like, he slid left and kicked it back right.
And I was like, now you're out of the fucking net.
But then Besser missed that backhand.
And I was like, wow, you dodged a bullet, you morons.
And then he had time to get it back,
pull it back, and still score.
And I was like, where are you, dude?
What is going on?
And I forgot to look, because I will say,
fucking great play by Quinn, like you said.
It got rimmed.
It was bouncing.
He knocked that shit down.
I think it was his foot or his skate.
he not only did he keep it in the zone
he controlled it and turned on a dime
real fast but I forget
what National Ford that was I forgot to check
double check they slipped he slipped
but like if you
don't blow by Quinn Hughes there you win
you win that game because then he can't just like
effortlessly pass it like me like literally
and I'm sure he's like I didn't mean to fall but I'm like
well that you just lost the game yeah I'm more mad at that than I am at Cody's
post totally I'm like what the fuck are you doing
totally you cannot and fucking I was saying it on the live like
the Predators have 13 shots a game in this series.
Dude, I said fucking on the...
Sorry, the Canucks.
The Canucks have 13 shots a game.
It's just absolutely mental.
By the way, what is going on?
There have been so many games this first round in not just this series,
in all the series, where teams are finishing with like 13 shots.
What is going on?
And it's, like we said the other day, the Canucks were like,
well, we had 84 shot attempts.
So it's not like them literally not shooting.
So credit to the team's getting in lanes and shit.
but I'm like, shoot the puck.
Get the fucking puck on net, dickheads.
One thing if the fucking predators were getting 13 shots a game against these Canucks goalies,
and I'd be like, that's why you're losing.
But I'm like, the fact that it's Soros facing 13 shots and a couple of HL kids
facing 40 shots and that team is winning every game.
I'm like, this is bonkers.
Yeah.
And again, hats off to She Loves.
You know, that's a unbelievable situation.
You get called up.
You get in there and you get a.
an unreal win. That's great.
But yeah, assholes, predators.
You just, the second Demko went out, you had to win.
You won the first one, as in the first game, Demko is out.
And it was like, okay, there was a period where I was like this, they might win this in five, dude.
This is just so devastating for Vancouver.
And then Vancouver has stepped the fuck up.
Yeah, they have. Which is great.
But the predators giving up these games the way they are is just,
it's so unacceptable and it's weird because there's a part of me that was like,
yeah, you got into playoffs and you're playing Vancouver, you're dead.
Yeah, and who cares?
Like, great season.
But now it's like, oh, no, you should win this series.
And with the way these games have gone, not good.
Not good at all.
So I am just appalled with them.
Crazy.
Taking a quick break to talk to you about the most recognizable name in hockey, Bauer.
Founded in Ontario, they developed the first ever skate which changed the game of hockey.
forever back in 1927.
We're almost 100 years into Bauer.
And now they're the most forward-thinking developers
in skates, sticks, helmets, gloves.
I was head-toe-toe. They called me Big E.
Eric Lindros. I was head-toe in Bauer
growing up. Each and every day
Bauer is trying to leave the game of hockey
better than the day it was before.
And if that's not cool with you, then you're not cool
with me. So go check out some Bauer gear
right now. All right, we're strapping on our buckets
and we're going to get into our Bauer
Hockey Hot Ice segment.
C.P.
What do we got that's sizzling?
A couple quick things that I just thought were cool to start off hot ice here.
J.J. McCarthy, Michigan quarterback, drafted 10th overall by the Minnesota Vikings.
Said he wouldn't be the man or the athlete he is today without hockey.
How about that?
How about that?
Play junior hockey, getting a call from Wayne Gretzky after he gets drafted.
That's one of the sickest things I'd ever heard.
I can't believe.
I just think more people need to put some respect on the game of hockey
and know that if you want to make it and anything else,
you need a little bit of hockey, youth hockey in your life.
Here's another question for you.
NFL players.
When you think of NFL players and hockey,
who's one of the first NFL players that comes to mind?
J.J. Watt.
Coincidence?
I didn't even think about that, dude.
Just saying, coincidence?
Wow, that's fucking crazy.
How about it?
How about it?
Second funny little thing I want to talk about.
Alex Vlasick on the Chicago Blackhawks
Four days ago, as of our recording,
just signed a six-year 4.6 AAV contract.
Very cool, very cool.
Former BU Terrier.
Get that cap-up collar Chicago.
Hit that floor, baby.
But a picture surfaced on several places,
but we saw it on BR Open Ice.
That was hilarious to me.
It's from a class called CM419 at BU.
And an email goes out,
CM419 Assignment 3.
Hello, just wanted to email you guys about our assignment doing on the 17th, blah, blah, blah, who's doing what in this group project?
Alex Vlasic emails, hey, sorry, guys, I recently just left BU to pursue hockey.
I won't be able to contribute to the assignment.
Someone responds, no worries, thanks for the heads up, good luck.
Dude, getting out of a group project to leave for the NHL is probably the fucking sickest thing I've ever heard in my life.
It's so, that's such a cool email to be able to send.
My God.
And then also stick taps to Vlasic, because what?
a nice way to say that.
Yep.
He could have been,
first of all,
he could have ignored that.
Yep.
And been like this,
I don't go here anymore.
I am in an NFL way.
He'll get the email bounce back.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
He also could have gone like this.
Enjoy school nerds.
I'm going to the NHL.
But he just sent an incredibly respectful email.
I was like,
hey, sorry.
And to be clear,
he joined the Hawks two,
three years ago.
Yeah.
He sent that email a few years ago.
And then,
but now it's just so sick that it's like,
looks like it worked out pretty well,
my guy.
Yeah, that's fantastic.
It's crazy because it's happening.
now we have a bunch of buddies at BC who were talking about, like the second the boys got back
from the tournament on Monday, they were moving trucks outside Cutter-Gotier's dorm.
Yeah.
And they were like, deuses, dude.
And I'm sure he had a bunch of group projects that he ain't contributing to either.
So pretty sick.
I can't believe how awesome it is to be at college and have assignments.
Granted, probably not the most serious assignments and just be able to go like this.
Yeah, I'm not doing those because I'm going to the NHL.
Yep.
Sucks to suck school.
next thing I want to talk about quickly
a little coach hiring
we're a few days late on this we had a jam-packed episode on
Friday so we wanted to give this proper air time
two big things
Quinn fired in New Jersey
Lindy Ruff hired in Buffalo
Quinn fired
in San Jose
what did I just say New Jersey? My bad
we'll take that again
sorry Redmond
two big coaching things
David Quinn
fired in San Jose
no longer the Sharks coach
Lindy Ruff
hired again
in Buffalo
let's start with Quinn
because Lindy there's a lot to go over
I
I don't know
what to say about this situation
because there was a period where I was very
high on San Jose.
I thought Greer was doing a very good job, making some trades, getting some good assets,
which he has done.
They have a lot of young players.
They have a lot of assets.
However, Quinn signed his contract, and I just don't know what you expected differently
from him.
Yeah, right.
When he signed as this coach, like, what has he done wrong?
Yep.
So I'm, and the pitch was like, you're in this for the long, like, well, let's, let's,
Let's build this up together.
Here we go.
You're a former great college coach.
Has worked with the U.S. program as well.
Tons of college players, specifically, Charlie McAvoy comes to mind.
Tons of young players who played in the college system, played in the U.S. system.
Really, really love this guy.
Looks like they're going to be getting the number one pick, which will be Macklin-Calibrini.
It was a great hire for this new young wave and the San Jose Sharks rebuild.
He's done nothing wrong from what I can see.
he's out the door.
Yep.
So we'll see who gets brought in.
We'll see where he ends up.
I think he'll get another job.
It sounds like from channels that we've heard and we've talked to,
it sounds like Quinn is not all that broken up about this.
He's going to be moving on, find another job.
But it does, for the first time, it makes me scratch my head a little bit about,
I thought Greer had a very clear plan here and things were going to plan.
and it doesn't feel that way now.
If there's any discourse or any disagreements going on with the movement of hurdle of Carlson,
that would shock me because I'm like, like we've said, no shit they should get them.
You're not fucking building around these guys.
You don't have.
You don't have it.
You just don't, you didn't have the blocks to like build around those, those dudes and reset.
Like moving them was the move.
I think Couture should be moved.
I think it's crazy that he hasn't.
So I'm...
Maybe people wanted more back.
Yeah.
They're going to dish out all these chips.
Yeah.
Better really have something to build around coming back.
I don't know.
I think they're in a rebuild, but I think they're in pretty good shape.
Like they're starting from the ground up, just like Chicago is.
And like, you're fine.
Like Chicago got badard.
You're probably, hopefully for them, about to get Celebrini.
So calm down.
Pretty shocking for me.
Okay, Lindy.
Yeah.
This one, and man, I want to be careful here because I've never met the man, Lindy.
Yeah.
But that felt like an uninspired hire to me.
And I'm not trying to steal your thunder.
You have too many teams, by the way.
Like, I'm always wanting to get, you're like the Red Wings, the Sabres, the Canucks, like everything.
I don't claim the Canucks.
I just said I like that.
little children and I need to root for every
I have the Red Wings and the Sabres. That's it.
Yeah, and that's what sucks because I love those
teams and I have to always take a back door
to your dumb ass. Well, dude, get on
a fucking get on a wall for once
in your life. I'm on, I'm on a wall, dude.
You were, no, you were not
on the Sabres and the Red Wings Wall like I was.
And I've been a Red Wings fan
my whole life. I know, but I've done
whatever, we'll get into this later.
The
Sabers, I would love to see
do well. Yes. I love
A lot of those guys.
I love that city.
Like, they deserve it.
Yeah.
We've said this a million times.
Tage and Tucky came on.
It was just like so fucking get you fired up to be there.
So I hope I'm rock.
I hope Lindy is like the exact potion master to mix that baby up and we're golden.
Two in the Atlantic next year.
Yeah.
But I'm like, dude, is this, what he's done, you look at his body of work over the last few years,
where he was nearly fired two seasons ago, mid-season.
in Jersey. They turned it around and then
then fired this year and you're like, this is
what we need. It's like the same
fucking team, Dan, too. You look at
the, where the devils and the savers
have some top end talent
are on the precipice of you think
being good for a long time and he
wasn't the answer there and you know, people can lose
the locker room and then have success somewhere else. It's completely
fine. But just that was the higher.
That was what you felt like you looked
at the last, you looked at Lindy's career, but you looked at the last
five years of Lindy's career and you said that's exactly
what we need in Buffalo.
exqueze me
baking powder
I so badly want
us to be on
opposite sides of this
for the discussion
but I just think
you're too spot on
um
listen man
I
I agree
I don't know
Lindy
on a personal level
I think
what what bums me out about this
is
shout out Pete Blackburn
our homie
uh
Pete tweeted
a little while ago,
I think it might have been after Lindy was fired.
He tweeted something like,
the Buffalo Sabres have the opportunity
to do the funniest thing in the world.
And he was implying,
Lindy had been fired,
Granato was being fired,
and he was like,
they could rehire Lindy.
Yeah.
And then they did it.
Yeah.
And Pete was like,
oh my God.
And had a really hilarious
follow-up tweet to that.
But when you're tweeting something like that,
being like,
this be funny? Wouldn't this be a sick joke? Wouldn't this be a funny joke? I think that that's a
sign of, yeah, you shouldn't do that. Yeah, we're kidding. Because we're making a joke. It would
be funny because it's stupid. Lindy to me is a older coach when he was last year starting out
slow for the first few games in New Jersey. People were chanting Fire Lindy. Then New Jersey is a wagon.
they come in this year having added pieces and they suck, missed the playoffs,
Lindy's fired.
The Lindy hiring in Buffalo, the like, hey guys, remember Lindy, feels like a stopgap
hire of like we're in a kind of a weird transition period and wouldn't Lindy be such
a great caretaker coach for like a couple of years?
The Sabres, this was a down year.
That's why Granato is fired.
They should have been better.
They should have made playoffs.
The time is now.
to me the hiring for the Sabres needed to be a guy that you're looking at going we'd like you to be the coach for the next 10 years
the Lindy's not that so I think that this is insane what makes me upset is I worry that they hired Granato
and they were like Granato's a younger guy he was the coach of the development program for a while
he's like going to be this youthful movement for this youthful core moving forward it didn't work
so they're being like let's abandon that and I'm sitting here going no
dude, that's not the answer.
We talk all the time.
I want more
Cooper's in the league.
I want more hacksdals in the league.
I want more Bednar's in the league.
I don't like this
recycle these old coaches thing.
And for me personally,
I can't think of more than
three teams that I think
it is a worse idea for to hire
an old head than
the Bephalo Savers. And listen,
I'm tucking in the napkin.
tucking the napkin into my shirt,
prepared to dive in and eat crow,
if and when the savers are dope next year,
and Lindy brings them to the playoffs
for the first time in years.
I'll eat that crow happily.
But I do not like this higher at all.
Yeah.
Last piece of hot ice is a question,
I'm not to pose to you,
because we did talk much about the Ranger series.
Can I stop and ask you a question?
Yeah.
You know that microphone's on a stand, right?
I know, but it's doing this today,
and I can't get it to stop.
I was going to say it can stay, but it's moving.
It's moving.
We didn't talk much about the Rangers' caps.
We didn't talk much about Keynes, Islanders, Rangers fans, hell of a series.
You did exactly what you should have done.
I picked the sweep.
I hit the sweep.
And you looked great doing it.
I feel great.
You looked pretty good doing it.
Sweeps to hard.
Sweeps to sweep, dude.
Depth scoring, chesty playing solid.
amazing. Congratulations.
Very much looking forward to the next rounds for you.
Cains, I think, handle it in five.
Were you surprised they went, the island leaders went back to Varlamov?
Like they went Varlamov, Rolamov, L, L, Seroquen, L, back to Varlah.
No, I wasn't surprised.
I was pitching Varlahomov the whole way, so whatever, but I was kind of surprised once they switched.
I was like, oh, yeah, now they're just going to see if Sorokan, who's their blue chip can just turn it around.
I think it was because it was Varlahama's birthday, literally.
They were like, do it, and then he did.
Go get swept on your birthday.
Yeah.
And then you absolutely won.
That's hilarious.
I think McCain's handle it in five.
That's going to be a six series.
Yeah.
Do you request to trade this summer if you're Sorokan?
If you hadn't been so bad this year, maybe.
I don't think he was bad.
He was not as good as he usually is.
But I just think it's funny how he has been there workhorse.
Yeah.
For the last three.
Kilmer's workhorse.
Three or four years.
dragging their dead, limp, penis bodies into playoffs.
And then the one year he struggles a little bit,
they're like this year, you're benched in the playoffs, by the way.
He's like, get fucked.
I can see him being like,
get me fucking.
Yeah.
Well, the question I have for you is,
when you are the Rangers in this case,
do you, you have swept already.
Do you now pray the canes go,
and let's assume it's the canes,
because obviously you'd rather the Islanders probably.
But do you pray the other series,
your opponent series goes seven to give you the most rest time to tire them out,
or are you like get them done now because I want to just,
we're playing every other night right now and it's fucking great and I just want to keep going.
Yeah, it's an interesting topic.
I'm not, I don't really think they're phased.
I don't think they care, honestly.
The Rangers have been very, very good all season long when they have big rests.
They come back just as strong, if not stronger.
So I think that they hang their hat on that and go,
if they take this seven and we've got a big weight, no big deal, no skin off our ass.
And then I'm sure that they also like the momentum.
So if Keynes win and bang, here we go, they're like, yep, good, let's do it.
So I don't think they're phased one way or another.
Yeah, sweeps to sweep is what it is.
Fucking wake me up in the finals, dude.
That's how I feel about the Rangers.
And did they dominate the caps?
No.
Was it pretty Rangers hockey?
No.
But that's them this year, dude.
That's the cockroaches.
It doesn't fucking matter how they win.
They win.
So I think they are sitting in that locker room thrilled.
Bring on the next competition.
Yeah.
Here we go.
Okay.
Yeah.
Love it.
All right.
Now it's time for the mailbag.
A ton of great submissions this week.
And I'm going to try to get to a few more this time.
Oh, interesting.
So it'll be quick, but it'll be, these are really cool.
First one I thought was crazy.
Crazy.
Whoa.
Does Ovi ever make the playoffs again?
I laughed at it.
When I read it, I was like, what are you talking about?
And then I was like, hold on.
Wait a minute.
Yeah, interesting question.
I think, yes, he does.
Yeah, it's funny because maybe not.
Dude, what pisses me off is people were dancing on Ovi's grave.
Yeah.
And then he went out and missed some time, an extended amount of time,
for what felt like the first time in his career.
And then he came back and pumped in goals, and he finished with over 30.
Over 30.
He's ridiculous.
So I'm like, Gretzky record is very much still on.
Yeah, yeah.
But then here we go.
Four games.
You're in.
you're out of the playoffs, which we all knew was going to happen,
but zero goals, zero assists,
went complete ghosts.
And he looked bad.
So that was not great.
For me, I think he is hurt as fuck.
I think he's going to get healthy.
He's going to get some Russian gas this summer, come back.
And listen, the last two spots of the playoffs in the East were, in my opinion,
are two bad teams.
I think the Islanders and I think the, I mean, even though the islanders are, you know,
technical third seed, but the Islanders and the Caps,
are bad and I think that anyone can sneak in, whether it be the caps again or him on another
team, we'll see. But I think we see him in the playoffs one more time. I, maybe a trade deadline.
I wanted to say, because I think the caps don't have a bright future and I think the,
a lot of other teams. And they got to earn it, but like, the wings, the sabers, whatever. So I'm like,
I actually think the caps have a hard time. I would love to see OV on another team, but I really do
just think he's just going to die on the caps to get this goal record.
Yeah.
Like I think he's going to be like, yeah, whatever, dude.
I'll just continue.
And I say die, like, he's money, but I don't really see him leaving.
So I'm like, he might not get in again.
Yeah, it's a good question.
Awesome question.
It's very possible.
Okay, next one.
Let's do this one next.
And I'm going to combine two here.
Okay, I like it.
Someone said, who are you most surprised so far with their playoff performance in a good way
and most surprised in a bad way?
and then a lot of people said con smife pick so far so let's kind of just do all of that together
i like it um i think okay my surprise and and i don't even like saying surprise here because
i'm not surprised that this person has been so good um i'm going with vincent trochec i think trochec
four games incredibly balanced three goals three assists but i just think he's been playing so well man
like he's he's killing penalties he's dominating five on five he's all over the ice
drawn penalties i'm i just love everything i'm seeing from him so for a guy like that
buzz in the way he is six points and four games i it's been a delightful surprise and he would be
like a really fun dark horse consmite for me um obviously mac david is fucking leading the way
points my if if i'm going to go con smite though i i like mattie kachuck still already
Like, I think Chuck is just doing perfect Kachuk's things.
Three goals, four assists, seven points in four games, and he's just being Matthew Kachuk.
Like, you remember last year I said, if I'm starting a franchise, he's a top five guy off the board for me.
I just love everything about him.
He's such a gamer.
My biggest disappointment is Kevin Fiala.
I picked him to be a game breaker because he came back last year after missing a couple games and then was big on the stat sheet.
And I was like, I want more from him.
He's got one point in four games.
He's looked lost out there.
I just, I don't like anything that I'm seeing.
I love the math you could Chuck pick for consmite.
I still have them going on a super deep run.
And like you said, he's producing, he's seven points, you know,
which is only behind Connor, Marshan, dry-sidal kale.
Yeah.
He's tied a bunch guys.
But yeah, he's firing.
I could see it being Bob if they do a big run and he continues to be awesome.
Yeah.
I'm also interested in one of these avs forwards.
Yeah.
Navy Day Dog.
But Natushkin, like, is just like...
Val buzzin.
How good is he did?
Val buzzin.
And like, yeah, you could see him stealing it,
where he just has like 23 points in the...
For sure.
Like, oh my God.
Surprise for me.
I'll keep it hometown cooking, but Jake DeBrusk,
only five points and three goals, all on the power play.
But I was ready...
Big goals.
I was ready for the vanishing act.
Here we go, dude.
See you later.
Thanks for coming out.
Yeah, no.
And he's been there, dude.
And that's been really fun for me.
So happy for him.
And then disappointment, I would say,
say Elias Pedersen?
Oh, good pick. Four games.
They're up 3-1, so what does he fucking care?
But four games, two assists
dash three. Yeah.
And I'm like, dude, you're a hundred point guy.
And like that missed opportunity
had where he looks like he's fucking just dicking around
out there on the ice. And I'm like, oh, bro.
Buddy, what are we doing here? And he's hopefully, well,
hopefully I want the predators, but
theoretically has some time to turn this around.
Yeah. But they won't go too far if he
continues to do nothing. For sure.
Next question.
And we got this one a lot. Should the rags be worried about Carolina?
Yeah, but not in a like, oh no, you're in trouble, but it's like a, this is probably one of the best teams you can possibly play in the East.
Okay, dude, I'm so glad you said that because I couldn't agree more.
They shouldn't be scared of Carolina, which is what the question makes it sound like, I think.
Not that they were asking it a negative way.
But I have heard a lot from Rangers fans like they're not worried at all.
They're worried about Florida.
They're worried about the West.
But they're already in the Eastern Conference finals.
And I'm like, yo, dog, Carolina's nasty.
Yeah, I think it would be foolish to just think this is going to be an easy one.
I've said it a million times.
Carolina's defense is so good.
Freddy's playing amazing.
Gensel ad has made their power play click.
So that series I fully anticipate to be a complete dog fight.
Totally.
So, yes, you should be more worried, certainly more worried than Washington, and you should be, again, I don't like the word worried, because to your point, it makes it sound like, should be scared, no, you should be very prepared for Carolina.
Yep.
Next question.
Is Jake Ottinger on the hot seat if Dallas loses in five?
One more year and then RFA.
Huh, that's a tough one.
Wow, he's RFA.
Yeah.
Jesus Christ
Yeah
But no
But not hot seat in a
We're moving on from Jake Ottinger
But I do think he
He needs to
I mean dude
I know that's your boy
But I think he needs to have
Some more pressure on him
I feel like too many times
We see people running around the league
Being like
Who are the best five goalies in the league
And Ottinger's always named
And this will now be
A
Just like another
disappointing loss, another early exit, another bad series. And if you're going to be considered
one of these big dogs and probably, hopefully sign an eight-year fat daddy extension with Dallas,
you've got to fucking earn that shit. So I don't think he is on the hot seat in terms of like,
you're gone, dude, but I think he's maybe on the hot seat in terms of no more stroking this guy off.
Give this guy's pole a break and start being a little more critical. It's interesting because
he isn't playing great, right?
Which, to your point, you've got to earn that shit.
But he, two years ago, plays a fucking nuclear.
Lights out.
And they lose in seven, but he's the best player in that series by a mile.
And then last year, they go six in the Western Conference Finals.
And I think he was sent to the team that won the cup.
Yes.
So it's like, if he had been better, could they have beaten Vegas?
Maybe.
I have no issue.
The problem.
I have no issue with last year.
So I'm kind of like, yeah, if they get pumped in the first round this year
for being the one seat in the West this year.
So like for me, and I'm doing it, but I'm like chirping his play recently.
And he goes, what, dude?
I was the best player.
I was best goaling the playoffs two years ago.
I went to the Western Carmel.
I was two games from the Cup last year.
I'm the one seed this year.
I'm like, ah, I feel you.
Yeah, right, you're right.
I feel, again, it's worth a combo.
It's not a hot seat of your jobs in jeopardy.
It's a hot seat of just like, hey, we need to keep pushing here.
Okay.
Last one for this week.
Which team down 3-1
has the best chance to come back?
Right now, teams.
Teams down 3-1.
Kings are down 3-1.
Islanders are down 3-1.
Predators are down 3-1.
Bolts are down 3-1.
Leifes are down 3-1.
Jets are down 3-1.
Predators for me.
Predators easily, right?
I think it's the predators.
I don't think it's easy.
No, no, it's not.
They can't do it easily,
but that's easily the team with the best chance.
Yeah, the other ones that I think of are...
Let's rank them.
No.
That's going to take too long.
No.
For us to agree?
I think...
That's what I'm saying.
The other ones that I could see, I could see a world.
Toronto?
Leafs is mine too.
Because...
Reds best chance.
Boston chokes are very, very prominent.
Tampa?
Because they're Tampa.
I don't think it's going to happen.
at all guys.
Yeah.
And then I think the Jets are the only one that I'm like, yeah, maybe.
I think I'd go Jets 3, Tampa 4, because it's Florida.
I know it's Tampa, but because it's Florida.
And then, like, dude, I'm going to do that right back in your face, because it's Colorado.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, fucking break.
Then Kings 5, for me, Islanders, six.
Yeah.
I like that.
Yeah.
Preds, though.
Preds is the best chance for sure.
Okay.
That's the mailbag.
Thanks for the submissions.
That's the mailbag.
Great stuff, as always.
Keep them coming.
Unfortunately.
Yeah.
Let's just not, I want to rip the bandit off.
We're doing saucy predictions.
I don't even want to do it.
I don't feel like we should have to do it after last night.
Yeah.
I didn't hit it.
And you didn't hit it.
Mine was that two teams would be out by this record.
And I fucking should have hit that.
I literally can't believe that didn't happen.
But only one team is out the caps, so I lost.
Mine is that Panarin would be leading all players in points.
He's not even fucking close.
So, okay, here we are saucy predictions.
CP and I didn't hit ours.
We're eating this nuclear hot sauce again.
and I want to die.
I got to tell you,
this shit feels unfair
based on what happened to me last night.
I'm just going to rip the bandit up.
Like, probably still burning.
It's literally still hot from last night.
Dude, what sucks is my stomach
still hurts from last night
doing hot ones at the Kings game.
And like the second,
this went in my mouth,
it just,
like my stomach is saying,
why are you doing this to me?
Never going to be able to wear contacts again.
We're on the topic.
This is my saucy prediction
before going into this.
My Sosur prediction is Pred's take this to Game 7.
Oh, wow.
Yeah.
Okay, mine is going to be...
Mine's about something on Tuesday,
so when the step comes out, you'll already know.
Connor Hellebuck gives up one goal or less in game five.
Oh, wow.
One, oh, one.
One goal.
That's saucy.
Okay, I got to get out of here and get water.
Those are our sausage predictions.
That's it for us today at the engineer's podcast.
Crazy stuff's going on.
Let's see who else gets eliminated by our next episode coming out on Friday.
Get me out of here.
And until then, skate hard, baby.
