Empty Netters Podcast - 96. Second Round Playoff Predictions

Episode Date: May 7, 2024

Second round match ups look even juicier than the first. Canes/Rangers and Stars/Avs are must watch television. Can the Bruins get their revenge on the Panthers? Can McDavid apple his way back to the ...WCF? Plus down go the champs! And what in the world will the Leafs do now? Time to blow it up in Toronto. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters  (0:00) - Intro (3:27) - No Buckie Warmup – Lottery Draft (9:20) - Coaching changes (15:37) - Injuries In Net (21:47) - Dallas/Vegas (27:05) - Bruins/Leafs (40:13) - Hot Ice (41:33) - Panthers/Bruins (46:11) - Rags/Canes (52:21) - Stars/Avs (56:35) - Oilers/Canucks (1:02:45) - Mailbag (1:11:27) - Saucy predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the crisp, refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light. We've talked to you guys about Labat Blue Light all season long because it is a no-brainer and it is our lock beer for hockey and for life. You know why? Because every single bottle, can and pint of Labat Blue Light is brewed with Canadian kindness. And there is no kindness on the planet that can match Canadian kindness. If you're sitting around, watching the game, hang with a group of friends at the bars, or just kicking back by your yourself at the end of a hard day's work and you just need that nice taste of a delicious beer. Labat Blue Light is the best option and the only answer. Empty Netters is on board with it.
Starting point is 00:00:40 You should be too. Grab a Labat Blue Light today. On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, the champs are done. Oh no, it looks like it's Groundhog Day in Toronto. Leafs lose in Game 7 to the Boston Bruins. And we got the coaching carousel firing again. A lot of new jobs open this summer. Round two is here, and we're hitting you with all of our predictions, seeing who's headed to the conference finals.
Starting point is 00:01:10 The ice is ready, and we are back with another much-anticipated episode of the Empty Netters podcast. I am buzzing. I am also nice and relieved because the Boston Bruins took care of business against Toronto. I don't want to jump the gun. But did that feel good? Or did that feel good? Man, I, everyone that follows the page, I'm sure, saw when I ranted after game six, I think it was. I truly meant every word of that in it just once the bees went up so big I was like you can't lose. Can't lose. So to have that game go to OT, I was like, you've got to be kidding me, man.
Starting point is 00:01:45 We can't score a goal again. To the point there, for the first time in a long time, I am completely in gravy mode now with the Bruins. Usually the deeper you get, you kind of start to believe. You're like, oh, dude, I don't know. I remember the year we beat Vancouver. I was like, well, they're way better than us. We can't win the cup.
Starting point is 00:02:02 But then you get in it. And you're like, we could, though, we could. I don't give a shit. I don't believe that you felt that way once they got to the cup. There's no chance. Once we got there, probably not. But I remember saying to people before in the East round of it, I was like, Vancouver's way better than us.
Starting point is 00:02:17 Sure. But once you're on a heater like that, like this is what I'm here to say to you, that Boston Bruins team wins one game against Florida, and you're like this. They can beat them. Yeah. It'll happen.
Starting point is 00:02:29 Yeah, you're right. You're right. You're going to hate everyone on that panes. team it's how it goes uh man we talked about how this is we're in it now we're in the shit yep we are buzzing the playoffs are going on we've already had one game of round two we've got more tonight craziness has ensued it was derby day and Cinco de maio this weekend we both got buckled way more than we probably should have lots of craziness going on we're headed to arizona this week for work and then we've got a bachelor party as well as all of these games we might not survive
Starting point is 00:03:02 This, I might miss the, I might miss the rest of the playoffs this year. You're going to be on LTIR? Six feet under. That's as LTIR as a gap. That's long term. Yeah, long term. Permanent term, dude. But this is just unbelievable, man.
Starting point is 00:03:16 It's been a wild run. We've got too much to get into, so should we just rip into no bucky warmup? Absolutely. No bucky warm up. Top five stories going on in the league right now. Hit us with number five. Number five, the draft lottery drawing is tomorrow. Well, you're going to be listening to this.
Starting point is 00:03:36 It's Tuesday night. It's tomorrow night for us right now. It's tonight for what you're listening. Yeah. Last year, it was the most rigged thing I've ever seen outside of pro wrestling. I just wish Bettman would admit it. The graphics, remember we see the graphics are coming up too early. Everybody knows what picks are.
Starting point is 00:03:55 It was a clown show. Oh, dude. They're literally, we're watching it on TV. and what happened it was like Columbus, Anaheim and Chicago were left and they showed
Starting point is 00:04:09 the graphic of like I think they showed I think they said out loud something like because who was the last two of Chicago and Anaheim I think they said something like well it's down to Chicago and Anaheim out loud before Columbus had happened And a graphic did pop up
Starting point is 00:04:24 And then the graph the Chicago graphic popped up A star popped up next to the Blackhawks Well before they pulled them all Well then it was Went to commercial. And I was like... It was like, uh, what? Listen, if Bettman just admitted it, I'd respect it.
Starting point is 00:04:37 I'd be like, yeah, rig it all day. So what would have to happen tonight, Tuesday night, for you to be sure this one's rigged too? Utah. Listen, we're... That would be crazy. The fact that they're pretty high up. So we got San Jose at 18.5% chance of getting the first overall pick. Chicago Blackhawks at 13.5.
Starting point is 00:04:58 Anaheim Ducks at 11.5. Columbus Blue Jackets at 9.5, Montreal Canadiens at 8.5, and Utah, 7.5. If Utah gets the first round pick, aka Maclin Celebrini, I would love it. I would think that is awesome. It would be very, very cool. I'm all in on team Utah, as long as they go with Mammoth or Yeti, I think. And not the ice. Can you believe it? Ice, Venom, Utah hockey team, just absolutely insane. I will think it's rigged. I think San Jose is going to get it.
Starting point is 00:05:32 I think with the ties to Greer, with the ties to the San Jose Sharks organization that Celebrini has, it makes a lot of sense for him to go there. Will Smith's there. Colin Graff just got signed by them. Cool future for a team that's very much in the gutter right now. They just fired their coach. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:05:49 If Chicago gets it and we're going Taves Kane all over again in Chicago, and if they give them back-to-back number ones, which hasn't happened since Edmonton, right? I think so. I will think something's a little fishy, but then again, 13.5 to 18.5, like that wouldn't be that crazy. Yeah. Wouldn't be that crazy.
Starting point is 00:06:10 If Utah gets it or if Montreal gets it. And I'll tell you what, dude, I would cream my knickers. If Montreal gets it? I just think seeing the Montreal Canadiens selecting first in the draft in the Vegas sphere to get Canadian boy Macklin Celebrini to play with Goal-Kofield, Nick Suzuki. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:06:35 Slavkovsky. Like that would be sick. But then again, they did just have the first with Slav. Right. And also Slavs looks like the real deal. No. Yes, he does. He looks way better than he originally appeared.
Starting point is 00:06:45 I think he is coming into his own. He's growing into that big body. Yeah. Who do you want to get it, Tief? I'm going, I'm going Chicago. That's what you want, or that's what you think? That's who I want. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:06:57 I think it's got to be Chicago for me. I mean, that's the most electric out of all of them, I would say. And wouldn't you say it would be, you think about San Jose and, you know, they're struggling. They don't have a lot of great players. They're trading off all their assets. Don't have a coach right now. But Will Smith's an amazing player. Like I said, Graff is pretty cool.
Starting point is 00:07:16 If they got Celebrini, you'd be like, okay, like, sharks got something working here. There is something about Chicago, original six teams, probably best tarps in the league, a wonderful U.S. city, no offense, San Jose. But like Chicago is pretty legit. And if you all of a sudden have Baderd and Celebrini, that turns into a, like we talk about Mitch Marner, that might become a team where some of these guys who are getting traded would be like this, oh no, I will go there.
Starting point is 00:07:42 Agreed completely. That could be a Patrick Kane going home situation too. That would be like a, they have Celebrini and Baderd now. I'll re-signed there for two years and see what's up. Go back home like a conquering hero. The one I think is being slept on. a little bit, and it's third highest, so it's very possible, 11.5% is the Ducks
Starting point is 00:07:58 because they have Troy Terry, Zegris, McTavish, Cutter, like, if they, Colio, I was like... And then you add Celebrini, I'm like, dude, dude. And you're forgetting my boy Minchikov, dude. Yeah, yeah. Elwig or two. They've got...
Starting point is 00:08:12 Do you say Frank? Like... Frank, but he's just not... I was just kind of given the really young guys. They're, I mean, like, fucking A man. They got some talent. That's what I'm saying. That team all to sudden is, I'm going like, oh, the ducks are winning two cups in five years. You know, like if you load them up with Celebrini, too. And there's a couple other names that I might go after that.
Starting point is 00:08:29 But anyway, should be a really interesting one. No doubt. I would love fireworks. And I hate to say that because Sharks fans listening to this right now are like, fuck off. Yeah. We don't need fireworks. We need the first overall pick. Yep.
Starting point is 00:08:42 And I do feel that way. I especially feel for teams like, I mean, Columbus. I don't feel that. What were they number two, I think? Because it was Ducks 1. In this? No, last year. Oh, oh.
Starting point is 00:08:52 It was like Ducks won Columbus, too. And then I think Chicago was like fourth. Maybe they were third. But, yeah, I mean, like, I feel bad for the ducks. I feel bad for Columbus. It feels like they never get the first overall pick. So when you are the sharks right now, you're like this, no, no, no, no, no. This is our pick.
Starting point is 00:09:10 Yeah. So I feel you, but like it would just be sick if all of a sudden the lottery was like, and the first overall pick is Detroit. I'd be like, yes, dude, let's go. But craziness, can't wait to see it. Yep. number four topic we want to hit big news is there's going to be some coach openings and we already got a few things we missed this because of uh it came up and after our last record but haxall
Starting point is 00:09:32 has been let go yeah by the crackin and apparently several players made some comments unhappy unhappy not pleased um we had the chance to meet coach at the winter classic yep and he was extremely nice and he runs a tight ship it did feel that way. This is a pretty obvious comment, but I'd be interested to see if so many people were unhappy had they been better this year. I know winning here is a lot, right? Absolutely.
Starting point is 00:10:04 I think it's clear where I stand on coaches these days. I hate the old man recycle. I look at New York, an example. Laviolech just gets another job. And then look at how incredibly well it's gone. there's a part of me that's like, I'm not so sure that is that much of Laviolet as it is that insanely good roster. And yes, he gave good chances, better chances than Galant did to some of the young guys. So that's a clear difference.
Starting point is 00:10:32 But I am such a believer in New Blood and I can't believe how often the old boys club just rotates. Like here's this 58-year-old coach, 68-year-old coach. We're just going to give them another shot. You know, just keep cycling. There's so many of these great college coaches that I'm like, what are we doing here? Like, HL coaches, too. Yeah. Give them a shot.
Starting point is 00:10:55 I was shocked by the Hacksdall firing. Yeah. Last year, it's your second year in the league. You beat the defending Stanley Cup champions. They're spunking everywhere. It was such a fun season. This year, they weren't that bad. They just backslit a bit.
Starting point is 00:11:11 And a lot of competition in the West, in the playoffs. Teams ready for you more than they were. Yep. Not sneaking up on anyone. And they get, they don't make it. into the playoffs and he's fired. It just felt to me like a, and listen, I don't know what was said. I don't know what's going on that locker room. It might have been a loss of the locker room situation. Maybe the guys are like, we don't like playing for this guy. It's a tough look that Vince Dunn was hurt
Starting point is 00:11:33 for as long as he was. Your star defenseman. Maddie Baneers has a sophomore slump. That's not great. And I do look at the coach in situations like that. I'm like, why is this happening to Maddie? But there's just a lot of factors that I feel like I would have given him one more year, you know, like just see what happens next season. If you start out poorly, fire him then. But it must have been, or maybe it was a situation of, you know, season or things were said from players, people in the organization that were like, this isn't the way forward. Yeah. In my opinion, no way he gets canned if they, um, if the players, hadn't said something. And what I mean by that is
Starting point is 00:12:14 this isn't just the record thing. Like they missed the playoffs this year. They slid back. But I can't be. Yeah, I'm still like, yeah, whatever. Well, you know, not the best year, but we'll figure it out. But I think what was said really made the decision. Yeah. The Seattle Cracken don't feel to me like a team that's like, if we don't make playoffs, the coach is fired immediately. That just feels a little aggressive.
Starting point is 00:12:33 Next, like another piece of this coach thing is Rick Bonas, Bones is going to call out a career at the end of this season. Yeah. I saw this when I was reading about it. This is a beautiful. Florida call on ESPN, or maybe it's actually NHL.com. Everyone should go look at it. But he was a player in the league, whatever, and then he became, he was a player coach with the Jets' AHL affiliate in 82-83, which is epic. Electric.
Starting point is 00:12:58 Okay. And that sent him down a path that led him to spending an NHL record 2,726 games behind a bench as either a head coach or an assistant. I'm not sure I would have guessed that that it was Bones if you asked me that trivia question. Well, yeah, it's interesting because it's not the record for most time as a head coach. Yeah. It's the record for most time behind the bench, which is, in a way, cooler to me. Yeah. Like, to me, it's like kind of an under the radar stat.
Starting point is 00:13:27 And then also electric that he's just, he's been in it. He's been in the game, one way or another. Oh, my God. It was a long, long time. The last kind of run here for him has been so interesting because he gets bumped up to head coach in Dallas. when Monty left, right, takes the stars to the final in the bubble. Then the Jets hire him last year. And then this year, they have one of the best,
Starting point is 00:13:53 I think possibly most wins in their franchise history. I can't remember, but just unbelievable rip for him there. Obviously, he missed time to spend some time with his wife. After she had a seizure, he missed some time for a medical procedure of his own. I'm just sure, or it feels like to me, there's just stuff going on in his life that are more important than hockey. But every single comment in this article or anywhere you look, people are like one of the nicest human beings of all time.
Starting point is 00:14:21 So I wish him truly all the best. Sorry, you ran into the buzzsaw that was the F. We'll get into this more. But in addition to that, so we've got Seattle, we've got bonus here in Winnipeg, and then we'll get into this deeper. But I'm assuming Sheldon Keith is going to be out in Toronto. So, in my opinion, three pretty coveted job openings.
Starting point is 00:14:45 Yeah. Regardless of missing the playoffs, I think that Seattle job is an attractive job. Agree. Great city, cool team, good sports market, massive fans, yeah. Like, I think people are going to want that job. The Toronto job, Toronto job is home. That's the worst job in sports. But that's also home of the highest coaching contract in NHL history, Babcock's contract back in the day.
Starting point is 00:15:07 So, like, they pay their coaches. It's going to be wild to see how these three slots get filled here. Yep. And I hope we get some new names. Yeah, that'd be great. It's going to be like Barubei and... Bizz chirping him on the panel. Quinn is going to get hired.
Starting point is 00:15:26 That'd be kind of cool if Quinn went up to Seattle. Seattle, I was just thinking that. Easy pop. Easy pop. Easy pop. Easy pop right up. Easy pop. So keep the eye on the coaching carousel because some of those are going to get filled right up.
Starting point is 00:15:37 third story. What is going on in net in Vancouver? And even more so, I want to talk to you guys a little bit about hockey injuries. So it seems like Demko is going to be out easily through round two. And then there was an article today that said Demko is out officially for game one, but could return this series. And then they're talking to talk. And we're going to get into this in a second, but in our previews, but I don't even, you want Demko there, but she lost it's been so awesome that you're maybe watching one of these backup goal he gets hot situations.
Starting point is 00:16:10 We'll get into that in a second. But more importantly, I want to say this, I'm reading this article with Talk and I'm like, his Demko are going to play? And he's like, well, you know, it's one of those things where you could feel a ton better one day later. So, you know, he's out for game one
Starting point is 00:16:22 and we're hoping. And I'm just like, is he going to play, dude? And I wanted your guys take on the whole NHL injury thing. You know, because it's like, Taylor's oldest time when a team gets eliminated. Totally. Stephen Samcoe said 10 broken ribs
Starting point is 00:16:37 and everybody has torn rotator cuff and hip labrum surgery and it's kind of sick that you're like, God, these guys are such beasts. But I'm like, what is going on, dude? What happened to Matthews? What happened to Demko? Like, I need answers, I think. I love that it's one of those very unique things to the NHL. I love it how a guy pick up knocks
Starting point is 00:16:55 and sometimes they don't miss any games at all and then you find out, oh, you know, Patrice Bergeron had a punctured lung for multiple games. Oh she had broken Oh she was like I can't even My hand can't close my hand Pretty badass Stone Mark Stone broke his wrist or something
Starting point is 00:17:11 Last year Hand or wrist last year Like right before the cup And then he's holding the cup up with it Unbelievable So I do love that It's a very classically badass hockey thing When guys are missing games
Starting point is 00:17:24 And they still don't say it I don't hate it When they come back Because I agree Don't give that information out If someone's got a knee thing or like a hammy thing and you then say that oh yeah they're dealing with a torn strained hamstring and then they come back a couple games later i'm not entirely sure guys
Starting point is 00:17:46 aren't going to give them a nice little whack to the hammy or something like that so i like hiding it for that reason i do hate it when someone's out indefinitely yeah and they just keep it they keep teasing it like oh maybe he'll play maybe he'll play maybe he'll play and then they never do That is a situation where I'm like, I hope they're saying to the players in the locker, I'm like, hey, TEEP is done. He's shut down. We're going to tell the media, whatever, whatever, but like letting you guys know he's done. I just don't like the lack of certainty for the team.
Starting point is 00:18:25 That shit would drive me nuts. So right now, if Demko is maybe going to play, and I'm hearing all this, and what I'm hearing from the coaches, what I'm hearing from, from talk, if I'm on that team, if what I'm hearing from talk in the media is what I'm also getting in the locker room, I think that's annoying as fuck. Because I am like, who the fuck is playing? I want to know. Right.
Starting point is 00:18:45 I want to know. Because if it's the Latvian spider, then I want to know that that's my guy moving forward, especially as a defenseman. And again, it might not be that simple. It might be a situation where Demko, we know, Demko is a, you know, we heard and we tweeted out that it sounds like he's played his last game of the season. That's what we heard. He's dealing with a very intense injury.
Starting point is 00:19:04 Demco is an insane competitor in the best way he wants to play and he'll do everything on earth to get back into that lineup and I fucking love that about him but there's a chance that it just might be too much and if they know one way or the other you gotta fucking tell the boys that's my only thing. I actually now am thinking this is bad news for the Canucks because since everything's a mind game
Starting point is 00:19:26 if I'm the Canucks and he is getting really close to playing I keep going like this yeah he's in rough shape indefinite indefinite return get the oilers sleeping on
Starting point is 00:19:38 okay we're preparing for she lob the spider yeah and then dude bang demco game two in your fucking eyeball okay
Starting point is 00:19:45 so the fact that talks out here being like this could be any day now he's getting better that means he's actually just trying to get the oilers to think about
Starting point is 00:19:51 Demco when it's actually she lob because Demko's leg has been amputated and no one knows yet so this is actually horrible news
Starting point is 00:19:57 for the Canucks so Canucks game six won nothing yeah won nothing the game before that and do we
Starting point is 00:20:04 You know how many games She-Love has played now? In the playoffs? Yeah. I do exactly how many games. He's three games. He's two and one. It's two and one, right? 9, 3-8 and a 1-70.
Starting point is 00:20:14 So it was... Like a sicko. Nashville, he plays that first game. That's a rip, no notes, by the way. Anyone watching on YouTube, that was a stat rip, no notes that I just happened to know. Very good. So first game he plays, they win an OT 4 to 3. Then the next game, they lose 2-1, and then he wins 1-0.
Starting point is 00:20:33 If you were... If you are the HL third backup Latvian spider coming out of fucking nowhere, crawling out of a cave once you finish wrapping up Frodo like a burrito to now start in the Stanley Cup playoffs, and your fucking asshole team is scoring you one goal in two of those three games, I'm like, dude, you're all fired. I'm going to eat all of you now. Guys, I'm a wrap-up limp home. What the fuck?
Starting point is 00:20:57 Actually, no, he's okay. I'm a wrap-up Pedersen. I can't believe how crazy this run has been for. for him winning those games when they're just not scoring. And like, this kid pitches a shutout in an elimination game when he's a third backup. I would be looking at those boys being like, how have you not rallied around me being like, no matter what, we just got to pump in goals for this kid. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:21:22 But instead, they're like this, dude, I'm sorry. You need to have a shutout if we want to win today. That is bonkers. Fucking crazy. Bonkers. So Canucks, get your shit together and start popping in goals for the kid. for fuck's sake. Demko's dead, never play again. If Sheelov's wins, game one, and Demko is good to go, game two, who do you start? Sheeloff. You have to, right? Kids hot. No hezzy. No he's hot as hell. Yeah. Unbelievable. All right, story number two, hit me.
Starting point is 00:21:50 Down goes Vegas. Down goes Vegas. I got a stat for you, boys. Not a stat. It's a, uh, observation. Teep, were you surprised at what? that Vegas lost. Yes. So, like, you mean at all, or you mean specifically game seven? In general, I'm surprised. Me too. I wasn't paying attention to that series.
Starting point is 00:22:13 I came back to it. I couldn't believe it was game seven. Then further couldn't believe that they lost. Yeah. I won't lie. I won't lie. When they won up 2-0 on the road, I thought to myself, oh, dear God, Dallas is dead. Yeah, I thought it was a sweet.
Starting point is 00:22:28 But it's what we talked about pre-series. I was like, it's now or never for Dallas. They can't play this like, oh, we're not quite ready anymore card. And damn, did they answer that bell? This is a cup season. They went back, tied it up, and I was like, oh, shit, we got a series. And then here we go, dude. That was fucking awesome.
Starting point is 00:22:45 This is a cup season. Okay. 2020, the bolts won the cup. Yep. And then they won it again. So the defending champs won it again. And then 2021, the bolts won the cup, and then they went again. Yes, and lost to the house.
Starting point is 00:22:58 Every other champ from 2018 on has lost to them. the first round. So we should have known. We should have known. It was always the chalk. But it did feel like Vegas was going to repeat. It did. Because they do feel different. Okay, so here's what I have to say about this series. Hell of a series, pretty much everything we could have asked for as hockey fans when you see that matchup, which call it unfair if you want, but Vegas was the eight seed, like I've said
Starting point is 00:23:19 a million times, even if you went one to eight, so whatever. But seven games, four straight road wins, OTs, like just really, really awesome series. Good cold ending on both ends. A huge tip my cap to Otter. you're the guy. I always knew it. Had a massive game. Had a massive game. Really cool to see in the handshake line. I'm sure you guys saw this.
Starting point is 00:23:38 Micped up. Petro. Yeah. Petro specifically was like my wife said that she hopes you win it. But like a ton of the boys. You know, DeBoars being like Mishy Buddy, like to a lot of his boys. It was cool to see that the players really love DeBoar. Yep. So I think, you know, if Vegas was going to go out, I'm sure, obviously I don't want to lose,
Starting point is 00:23:55 but I'm like, that was, that's probably a team that they respect a lot that they can go down to. Absolutely. I think they went through that series too and they're like, this team's the real deal. Yep. Cool to see Dallas make adjustments. We talked about that a ton where they just like, dude, Vegas owns you guys.
Starting point is 00:24:08 They know your system, figure it out. They made adjustments. That was awesome. The one thing I thought was weird about this is there are some comments from Cassidy and Stoner, but Cassidy specifically, that was lamenting that the team, he's like, oh, we didn't have enough time together.
Starting point is 00:24:23 You know, Stoner was out so much, hurdle was out so much. Like these guys, he's like, that's a lot of surgeries for these boys. They were really only jelling. they only got to play together in the playoffs. And that's true. I'm sure that's a true sentence.
Starting point is 00:24:34 I'm sure if they had been playing together from February on, they'd be even better. But I was kind of like, bro, you can't complain about the cat manipulation thing that you're like, the only reason they weren't playing is because you guys were stashing. Not stashing, they were hurt, but like. Okay, that's my, I'm going to combat that because he means practice too.
Starting point is 00:24:52 Yeah. Like these guys did get surgeries and got clear to skate a week before a play. Right. So it's like, one who bitches. I'm like, they were fucking hurt, man. They were. So that's what he's talking about. Yes, it is like, well, you know, you reap what you sow, sir.
Starting point is 00:25:07 Yeah. When you made that trade for hurdle, you knew he wasn't going to be skating for a while. So, you know, yeah, I hear you there. I'll live a thousand years and never understand what the expression, have your cake and eat it to means. But this is what that, if this is what that sounds like to me. I'm like, hey, you can't have your cake and eat it too.
Starting point is 00:25:25 Why would you buy a cake and not eat it? What are we talking about? I don't get it. I will eat it. And why is that something that I shouldn't be, why is that a luxury I shouldn't be allowed to have? Like you can't have your cake and eat it.
Starting point is 00:25:39 And I'm like, that's where we're drawing the line. Yeah, I still, I don't, I stand with you in that I don't get, why are you having cake if you're not going to eat it? What do you do with cake if you don't eat it? Yeah, feed it to the dog. It's crazy. It seems to me, though, that having all those players is cake. And then being able to play together the whole time.
Starting point is 00:25:58 to play those players is also eating it. And you can't. Cassidy, unfortunately. You can't do that. You can't do that. So Vegas out, Dallas. You make the expression? We don't make the... Sorry, man. So find a dog and feed him the cake.
Starting point is 00:26:12 So this is bullshit. I have the dog eat the cake. So yeah, Dallas, I mean, they got another fucking tilt now. They sure did. Which we'll get into in a second. But that must have felt great for them. Yeah, damn right. Must have felt absolutely good.
Starting point is 00:26:25 And, you know, it's tough because I love... I truly, truly, do love Vegas. Yeah, God. I've had so much fun in that city, so much fun with those fans, very real fans. I kind of got mad at a lot of the old school fans who, when Vegas won, we're trying to give fans shit like, you didn't fucking earn this. I'm like, dude, they were right there watching every single game, just like you did.
Starting point is 00:26:44 I don't give a shit off the team's only six years old. I think Vegas has been a blast. That Barnes Electric, love so many of the boys on that team. It is cool, it's not cool to see Vegas out. it's cool to see different teams in, if that makes sense. I like seeing new teams in the second round. I like seeing a different mix of like, it's cool that a new team is going to win the cup. Yep.
Starting point is 00:27:09 All right. The number one new story. It happened again. The Toronto Maple Leafs have lost in game seven to the Boston Bruins. Now, we got teeps here in the building. I want to say... Known Toronto boy, known Maple Leafs fan. I want to say up front,
Starting point is 00:27:26 to Teeps, to Red, to Blakey, to a lot of our boys. To our boy, Nikki. Nixon. Selman. A lot of my boys are really upset right now. And I'm sorry about that. Biz. Biz.
Starting point is 00:27:41 Because this just went about as bad as. Or is that true? Like, would you have rather, I'm going to turn it over to Teens. Yeah. Would you have rather lost than five? Damn. Right? Because I don't think it's.
Starting point is 00:27:56 Maybe not. Yeah. I mean, I don't know. That's really tough. I think I would have. You'd rather get swept? Yeah, I think so. Yeah, probably.
Starting point is 00:28:04 Yeah, probably. But this felt so Leafs that it was almost like beautiful in a way. It was like watching a burning, you know, plane. You're like, it's going to crash eventually. So as a not, as a non-leafs fan, we obviously got on the story and we beat Biss. Yep. Because we love Biss. After that, I immediately got on the story.
Starting point is 00:28:26 story and I was like, I don't think this is a dancing on grave situation. I gave a ton of shoutouts and a lot of respect to that Leafs team because while that was brutal, I imagine, and again, I'm not a fan so I don't know how that felt. Dude, making that go to seven after being down 3-1 and playing in Boston, it was impressive to me. I thought that was really impressive. You didn't have Marner, or yeah, you didn't have Matthews, you didn't have Nealander for multiple games in that series. You're going back and forth with your goal-tending and you force that to overtime of game seven, I don't think there's a lot to feel that embarrassed by. It sucks that you lost in the first round again. It sucks that you lost to Boston in game seven again, absolutely. But that I did not feel was a whimpering
Starting point is 00:29:09 performance. Yeah. Given the people that were out, given the circumstances, it does suck that you went one for fucking 14 on the power play or whatever. And there's a lot of things that don't look great. Marder didn't have a great series. You know, I get it. But I do think that there are worse ways. And losing in five would have been whimpering. Yes, I think losing in five would have been worse. I think a sweep would have been worse.
Starting point is 00:29:32 Teeps, what do you want? The Leaves, they don't do the whimpering, though, Dan. That's the thing. They lost to Montreal, right? In the first round, the one year, was that recent? Yeah, I think so. Oh, yeah, it was. That was the bubble year, dude.
Starting point is 00:29:47 That was the bubble year. 100%. They lost the habs. Yeah. Lost of the Habs. They lost to the Columbus Blue Jackets, I believe, as well. Those years felt like whimpering. This was classic Leafs.
Starting point is 00:29:58 This was battle the whole way. They really in. And even at the end of two, at the end of two, I was like, you know what? Like, I think, I think this is it. I think they brought me back in. Yeah. At the end of the second period on Game 7, I was like, yeah, I got a great feeling about this. And it was just so classic that, you know.
Starting point is 00:30:16 What did you think when Willie scored? I mean. You're like, that's game. Yeah, I mean, I was like, damn, they're actually going to do this. But I will say last year, too, we got that feeling of, holy shit, they actually did it. Yeah. So this year, I mean, it was more about Boston this year rather than like the whole first round thing. You know, it was more like, yeah, it was more of that built up history between the Bruins.
Starting point is 00:30:38 Yeah. And it's, so we got, we got past round one last year, but now we still can't get past the Bruins. So, I mean, I don't know. I don't know where you go from here. What do you want? You're so right to, I think maybe the most classic Leafs thing about that game was scoring in the third period and then in less than a minute giving up a goal. Like you guys got 55 seconds to feel like we did it.
Starting point is 00:31:04 We beat them. And then Lindholm scores. And you're like, what? That was. Because I was 100%. I was with you. When that Willie scored, I was like, done, 100% we have lost. And I will say, obviously hindsight is easy to say this.
Starting point is 00:31:16 I think that Bruins team knew if they didn't score quick. It was over. Like, not that Hamas is this big goal scorer. It's like, I'm going to put the team on my back. But you could feel the energy in there. It's like, they scored that goal. And the Bruins team was like, thank fucking God. Like, we weren't, we could not let that sit and get.
Starting point is 00:31:33 That led. Sester. Do you want Keith gone? I think he'll be the fall guy. I think he's probably gone. I mean, he's not like, it's been five years. It feels like his time is up. I would say.
Starting point is 00:31:48 Shanny too. Shanny, I think that is what I read today was that I think they want to take away that overarching voice of God from the organization. So my inside sources is that Shani is done. Yeah, yeah. I'm hearing that that is like the first acts to be swung. That's like we need to change that. And then I just would imagine whoever gets that job is going to be like, Keith has to go.
Starting point is 00:32:14 Like you can't fire your GM. What's Chaney, the president? Yeah. You can't fire your GM last year, then your president this year and be like this. Keep, we'll continue to say, though. That's just not it, dude. Yeah. And then what about the boys?
Starting point is 00:32:27 Like, if they straight up roll back in next year, Matthews, Willie, Tavares, and Marner, are you like, fuck yeah? I mean, don't, dude, don't say, I mean, I think you could, though. This is the definition of insanity. I said this yesterday to somebody. The definition of insanity is the same. Same thing over and over and over again expecting different results. That is literally what's happening with the Leafs score for. If you don't do something, listen, if you try and Marner goes, you know what, no, I'm not going to wave my claws.
Starting point is 00:32:59 I want to play this last year. Okay. At least you tried. But you have to try. Because this is the thing that tries me nuts. I think Marner's an incredible player. We do. I think he has been great for the Leafs.
Starting point is 00:33:11 He obviously has not been great in the playoffs. There is a situation where Marner does much better. in the playoffs somewhere else. We've seen it happen. We saw it happen with Phil Kessel. And I just think you need to realize that regardless of the no move and what you said to me earlier, that if they go, Marner, give us a few teams. And then you start talking to those teams, that team's going to know that Marner is open to it. So you might try to fuck the leaves of leverage. Yep. What I said is his cap hit is too large for a team to be like, oh yeah, we'll give you pennies.
Starting point is 00:33:43 Like you literally have to give up something of substance. And the Leafs aren't going to accept, like, oh, yeah, we'll take, you know, like a bad contract back. Yeah. They're going to want a good player back, something of substance back. And I just think you have to look at it as you're losing Marner, if it's Marner to go. But there's a chance you're getting something great back. You know what I mean? Yep. Yep.
Starting point is 00:34:06 Well, you could be getting a lot of good players back if you take in consideration his cap hit, right? Yeah, yeah. Absolutely. So it's like you deal one, you get something back, but you gain so much. much more flexibility. In the middle there, right, where you guys maybe need more help. And I don't think that I'm going on record. I don't even want to put this in the ether because Detroit fans, I love you, and this will
Starting point is 00:34:24 never happen. But like, let's say, you know, Mo Cider is up for a new contract. Let's say they go, hey, Mo, you're going to sign at 8 by 8 or something. We're flipping you for Marner. Right. You get, you're telling me if you're Toronto and you go, oh, we got Mo Cider, a player of Mo Cider's caliber for Marner, that you're not happy. Yeah, right.
Starting point is 00:34:45 Give me a break. So I think you have to be open to it. The Leif's going three and one with one of Willie and Matthews out in that series. Bad, telling. And O and three with all four of them in. Very bad luck. Is fucking unacceptable. Very bad luck.
Starting point is 00:35:03 And I think Biz said this, but like, in the power play, they're all on the ice. It's literally all of them on the ice at once, one for 14 or whatever the fuck they were. That's what scares me. Because I'm kind of, I am insane. I am kind of like, bring them back to it. They're all nasty. But I am like, oh, man, the data is just not there, I don't think. Yeah, it really isn't.
Starting point is 00:35:22 There's a couple of things that I want to touch on from this. Number one, huge, huge shout out to your boy, Brad Marchand, for that post-game interview. That was the pettiest thing I've ever seen in my life. For those who don't know, he goes, you know, on the ice after winning, gets asked a question about how they battle through to win that game. and the first thing out of his mouth was just belief, a very clear leaf too. Biz has been doing his little hashtag belief, and Marci just throws that in everyone's face.
Starting point is 00:35:54 Like that is this, if that's not Brad Marshan, some, perfect. Shit talking, I don't know what is. And then I want to come to my boy, Marner's defense. The three of us were talking about this earlier. He has been getting sewered online
Starting point is 00:36:11 for his effort on the posticle. Yeah. So has right. Riley. First of all, that was an amazing play. That's home ice, home boards, plays that the Bruins have done in the past, plays that Pasta has done in the past. That was the Tori Krug, David Posternach special. Come in, don't even reach the red line, bank it off the end boards, pasta gets in past the D, forehand, back end, goal. Great pass by Lindholm, great read by Pasta. He even does, he was like, hey, hey, it's there. So clearly that wasn't on, like, they know that
Starting point is 00:36:45 play is there. So well executed by them. I'm not going to sewer, Marner, or Riley, because it's like, that's a bang, bang play, perfectly executed by the other team. Unfortunately, it's a goal. I fucking love William Nealander so much. I'm looking right at you, Willie. You are my boy. I absolutely love you. If there's someone we're going to give shit on that Leafs team for their effort or appeared effort on that shit. He couldn't have done anything, though. Correct. Yeah. But I just find it funny that Leaves fans are like, fucking Marner. Look at this bum. Look at that effort on the ice. Willie might as well have a shopping
Starting point is 00:37:19 cart. He looked like old OV. Remember those old OV clips of him just like gliding it on through the zone. Willie is standing straight up and down with his stick on his pants. It was perfect. Just gliding through the zone and people are like this fucking Marner. And after the after is the best. Like pasta has scored and everyone's going insane and Willie's just still like catatonicly gliding.
Starting point is 00:37:39 It looks like someone playing cell and their controller stopped working. Like their controller disconnected and he's just Because that puck goes in and he just continues to glide. He doesn't, he's not like, fuck me, he doesn't slam and say, he's just like, God damn it. He's sliding around. It's unbelievable. What happened to Joe Wall, dude? I mean, he killed himself on that last, trying to stop a goal with 0.1 seconds.
Starting point is 00:38:02 Yeah, Kiki killed him, dude. Kiki actually killed him. I didn't realize. I said on the ring, Kiki's goal didn't count. In fact, it did count. And it killed the goal. It killed Wall. And then that's how the bees want.
Starting point is 00:38:14 So before we move. move on. My last question for you is, how do you feel about Net moving forward? Do you think Wall is the guy? No, bro. No one is the answer. They need to get a bona fide number one goalie. Please for the love of God. Address it. These guys are getting hurt. Get a new trainer. Get someone who understands a human anatomy to not let the goalies get hurt. Like, please. I think you're right. On the hockey talk yesterday, someone asked, like what is a marner trade and I've been you know I've been saying this for months sorry for a honor straight up is like you know there's probably addins there but like
Starting point is 00:38:53 those two I'm like that's it and so I said that and a bunch of least fans were in the dms and they're like dude wall's the guy and I was like no I'm not sure he is dude I just listen I don't know and I just think it would be pretty irresponsible to go into a next season and go like let Sammy walk and you go wall is our day one starter when he's not played more than what 30 games. I don't even know how to be played. It just feels scary to be like this. Wall is the answer. No doubt about it. Crazy stuff.
Starting point is 00:39:23 All right, it's time to strap on those buckets and head into our Bauer Hockey Hot Ice, baby. Before we get into the Bauer Hockey Hot Ice, I'm going to talk to you guys about Bauer Hockey training. If you are anything like me, and if you're listening to this pod, I'm sure you are, you were trying to get better at hockey. I don't care if you're already the biggest stud on your junior team or if you're just learning in a rec league,
Starting point is 00:39:44 going to Bauer.com slash training is going to be your go-to destination for all the best tools. They got the digital reactor dangle. If you're working on those towees, working on a couple backhand towees even. They got the reactor slideboard. If you're trying to get your skating better,
Starting point is 00:39:59 strengthen that stride. Both of these tools and many more are taking your game to places you never thought they would go. And on top of that, if you use promo code empty, that's EMPTY, you get free shipping.
Starting point is 00:40:11 How about that? So again, Bauer.com slash training. Go there now. And this week, that means we're doing second round preview predictions, chopping it up in the lab. Can we actually, can we actually, I didn't even write this down to do, but I just want to think about it. We both said Dallas in seven. I believe so.
Starting point is 00:40:37 Check. I said Oilers in five. Check. You said Kings and Seven, and I respect you for it. I had to do it for content sake. We said, you said Canucks in six, check. Yep. I said Preds in six.
Starting point is 00:40:52 Yeah. Wrong. Wrong. And then what's the other West Coast? Oh, I said ads in seven. Did you? Yeah. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:40:59 You were close than that. No. And then I said Jets in seven. Yep. So I got the ass. You said Bruins in seven, check. I said Bruins in five, which should have hit. Yep.
Starting point is 00:41:10 Thank you very much. True. I said rags in four, check. Yep. You said rags in six. I think I said five or six. I think we both had canes in five. We did.
Starting point is 00:41:20 Check. And then, what's the other east one? Oh, um, Panthers. I had Panthers in six. I had Panthers in seven. Yeah. So we hit Panthers. So not too bad.
Starting point is 00:41:30 No, not bad at all. Not too bad. Here we go, round two. Starting in the Atlantic. Florida Panthers versus the Boston Bruins. Are you ready? We, I am very ready. Three?
Starting point is 00:41:41 Oh, oh, sorry. We're going, yep. Yep. Yeah, okay, I'm ready. Three, two, one. Panthers and six. Seven. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:41:51 I almost said five. I feel like I got to... Seven. I think this is going to be more of a battle. They just dick slapped the lightning. I know. What are you talking about? I think this is going to be more of a battle.
Starting point is 00:42:03 I do. Well, what's interesting is, regular season, Dan, another, and I say another, because they did this to Toronto. Yeah. Bruins 131, Bruins 1, 3,000. Bruins 1 4 3, 3, 2, and O.T. That was pretty late in the year, one too.
Starting point is 00:42:15 That was playoff hockey. Remember that game? Season sweep. Season sweep. Is the revenge thing a factor? Absolutely not. I really don't think it is. I don't think it is for a lot of reasons.
Starting point is 00:42:26 There's a ton of turnaround on this Boston Bruins team. Tons of turn around. Obviously, the core guys are still there like marshy, like McAvoy, like Hampus, Coil, Zaka, then big ones, Swamen, Olmark. Obviously, they're still there. Like, that team just felt so much like it was Bergeron and Crachie's team. Obviously, Hall, Folino, like, just a lot of guys no longer there.
Starting point is 00:42:50 So I do think, did I not say. Oh, maybe you did. No, Bertuzi. Oh, Bert. Yeah, yeah. I only brought him up because he, him and Hall, I thought, were the two best players last year. Absolutely. No, no, no.
Starting point is 00:42:59 But, yeah, no, I mean, I think it's something that they know about, but it's not the first round. It's second round. They both have played different, you know, different teams. they've gone through playoff battles here already. I think this is just a totally new situation, a totally new series. The revenge thing I don't think is going to play a big part here. People will talk about it on the broadcast.
Starting point is 00:43:20 I don't think it's going to be much in the locker. I think this is just a both of them are looking. This is a great team we're playing. Let's lock down and play here. I think this is going to go deeper than maybe we would have said before because of the adversity Boston went through. I think Swayman. has a big juice of confidence, even more so that he normally does.
Starting point is 00:43:49 And I just think Swamen steals you games here. I know there was a lot of talk about, you know, that series. It became clear after game through, it was Swayman's job. And there are a lot of people who were like, Omar will play again, and he should. I just feel like you got to, I mean, I don't know if we've seen it yet. I imagine it's come out, but like Swayman is starting tonight. I actually was one of the people that said,
Starting point is 00:44:10 Omar will play again. And now I'm, unless Swamen gets fucking lit the fuck up for the first two games of this series. And I'm like, okay, give him a rest. He gets tired, but he's not that guy. He just loves it. He wants to play. So I'm like, you got to play this kid. So I think he steals games for you. And obviously, season series, not the same thing. It's not playoffs. But these are two good teams playing against each other. Boston won all three. I don't think you can rule out the Bruins so easily in this. I just think that's why I took six instead of, damn near picked a sweep. That's why I took six because of sway. I think if the bees are going to win this series,
Starting point is 00:44:43 and this is something we talked about earlier, Charlie Quill made a comment after the game. He was like, good, I'm ready to play again tonight. Yeah, he was like, I love it. You know, and so it's obviously going to say that. He's not going to go, damn, I really wish we had rest. I'm pretty tired. You know, he's obviously going to be like, let's fucking rip it.
Starting point is 00:44:58 But I'm sure the Panthers are also very comfortable resting and not, you know, not picking up any more knocks. The only thing I think the rest can actually possibly fuck someone up is goalie. because Bob has been so lit and I'm like, I think he probably might have rather have just been seeing pucks. For sure. Game, game speed pucks.
Starting point is 00:45:16 If the Bruins were to win this series, I think Swayman like literally needs three shutouts. Yeah, yeah. I agree. I don't even think, obviously, that would do it. Yeah, yeah. But I think Swamon's going to play great
Starting point is 00:45:31 no matter what. If the Bruins win this series or if the Bruins want to win this series, they need at least three guys to go unconscious. We can't score. And I don't mean one of the goleys. I mean pasta, marshy,
Starting point is 00:45:44 honestly, McAvoy, but then probably a surprise guy like a Zaka coil, a geeky. They need someone in that forward group to have a Bertuzi season series last year.
Starting point is 00:45:58 They need them to have a Matthew Kachuk, a Carter Verhege series. And that's what it's going to take for them. And if that doesn't happen, if they're kind of scoring and playing at the same clip that they played in series one, this is going to go Florida's way. Yeah. Okay.
Starting point is 00:46:14 Next series. Next series. The New York Rangers versus the Carolina Hurricanes. Are you ready? Yeah. I don't know if I'm ready. Hold on. Okay.
Starting point is 00:46:25 Yep. Got it. I just changed my answer like three times after I said, got it. Nice. Three, two, one. Rags and five. Wow. Five.
Starting point is 00:46:36 Yep. I think it's over. Wow. I think it's over. That's the money talking, bro. That's the money talking. I'm counting my money already. Obviously, we have the benefit of watching a game one win in Madison Square Garden.
Starting point is 00:46:51 Four three. Cains made it interesting there at the end. Here's what I said, dude. If you are the fucking Carolina Hurricanes and you want to even sniff the asshole of possibly winning this series, you cannot give up goals and hope that you're going to scramble back at the end. not against this fucking team. And what do they do? They take stupid fucking penalties.
Starting point is 00:47:13 They give New York power play. New York's scoring on the power play in 10 fucking seconds. Yep. And it's just like that you are not going to claw back against this team. And our big fear was, does Freddie come down to Earth? And in my opinion, he came down to Earth immediately in that game. There were some good goals by the Rangers, but not showstoppers. For me, I thought the power play goal would behind the back pass from Trocheck,
Starting point is 00:47:37 then behind the back pass from a rider to Mika was fucking sick. Nasty. But other than that, it was just good hockey goals. And Freddie, you just, you can't be letting in four goals in game one and expect this to be a team that you're going to be like this. Yeah, I'll be able to kind of scratch my way through this. Absolutely not. So obviously it's at home. It was, again, it wasn't that crazy.
Starting point is 00:48:01 It was close four or three. But I don't know. I just think New York is, they're too good. They split season. Rags won twice, I think. Yeah, they went 2-1 at home. Cains won 6-1 in New York. Rags won 1-0 in Carolina.
Starting point is 00:48:15 March 12, that was a sick game. That kind of decided the Mets. The special teams, you're spot on. The Keynes, we wrote this down last time. Cains, number two power play in the league, number one P.K. in the league. Unbelievable special teams from Carolina all year. Rags, three and three in both.
Starting point is 00:48:32 So also fantastic. Coming into this playoff game, Dan. Okay, so before. game one. Yeah. In the playoffs of the playoffs teams, the Rags had the number three
Starting point is 00:48:41 power play and the number three PK, just like they were three in the reggae season. Keynes, number six power play, number 10 PK, and then their PK gave up two on two last night, and their power play went 0 for five last time. So that, you cannot be getting hammered
Starting point is 00:48:57 in the special teams battle. If you're going to win this series, you need to win special teams and neutralize goalies, right? They are currently through one game, but getting hammered in special teams and the goalies don't really feel neutralized. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:49:08 I feel like New York is the big advantage there. I wrote a couple things that I thought are really interesting. One, you look at Jordan Stahl for me in that 2C role. He was a minus dash 14 this year for probably like the fifth time in his career. He's consistently been a plus player and he's not giving you much in point production.
Starting point is 00:49:23 But he did have his best season ever at the dot so that, you know, he's doing things out there except being dash 14. But he is so, they are so consistently going to be matched up with that laughy, bread trochec line. And I'm like, this is your job.
Starting point is 00:49:40 If you can slow that line down, you have a chance. If he can't, if he's a dash 14 in the series, then fucking good day, dude. You get nothing. So he's out. Obviously, you get the cried, they only score on the power play. You know, like, you try to see what you can get from that line if you're New York.
Starting point is 00:49:56 What will be fascinating to me is the New York Rangers have been losing in the playoffs this year for three minutes and 21 seconds or something. so and I don't even and as much as a testament of how good the Rangers are playing I actually think that is a place of vulnerability because they haven't had any hardship yet you know the Keynes can just jump on them a few times I'm like let's see how this Ranger team I acts and the reason they've been trailing for so little time is because the few times the Caps did score the Rangers scored like immediately yes it's literally I can't remember if it's actually 321 but it's like single digit minutes it is very very minimal amount of time and dude
Starting point is 00:50:32 And the canes have obviously been trailing for whole games, you know, because they have those massive comebacks against the Islanders. So that will be really telling for me. Can you get, can you put them in a tough spot? Go take a two-goal lead against the Rangers. See what happens. Yeah, to me, it's the can they answer. And I think that's both in-game and in series. I think game two is of monumental importance to this Carolina Hurricanes team. Definitely. This Rangers team, to me, is very sharky in that I think they smell blood. and if you go up
Starting point is 00:51:02 2-0 and you're the Rangers and you continue on this fucking winning heater and you go we have literally not lost in these playoffs yet I think you knock them the fuck out I think you go into Carolina and you go we are 6 and 0 in the playoffs we've been all over you already
Starting point is 00:51:17 we're going to kill you now and I don't think Carolina is going to respond to that well so I think like you said you've got to jump on them early you've got to respond I think a ton of that is right now like you need to win game two and I hate to say that because didn't you look like that in Vegas and Dallas we're like oh my God, Vegas is up, it's over,
Starting point is 00:51:35 it's over, and then bang, it's tied to two. So that could easily happen if New York goes up to you. But I'm just saying this Rangers team, I think, I'll say again, they smell blood. And if you get up to O, I don't think Carolina can recover from that. So I think game two is so, so huge for them and they've got to find a way to win.
Starting point is 00:51:55 You've got to find a way to win on their ice. You've got to find a way to make them know, you're not invincible. You can lose. And you've got to do that fucking early, dude. Because the more of a cushion you give them, a loss means nothing to New York. They're like this.
Starting point is 00:52:09 Yeah, whatever. We'll clap you next. They're so confident right now that if you keep, the more it builds is another log on the fire. And the hot of the fire gets and it's going to burn us all down, baby. You've got to show a team that you can bleed.
Starting point is 00:52:20 And if you don't do that early, you're fucked. So figure it out. Moving to the west. Yeah, okay. We've got Dallas, Colorado. Crazy. Crazy, crazy, crazy.
Starting point is 00:52:32 So, Avs won 6-3, 5-4 and O-T, 5-1, and then the Stars won 7-4. Lots of goals. And that one was late, by the way. That was like one of the last games in the year. Last match-up of the season for them too. Avs obviously have the advantage. And the big sign in that one is they score a lot, even in the losses. Yep.
Starting point is 00:52:53 Five goals, five goals, five goals, five goals, four goals. Let's do the thing. Yeah, let's do the thing. Ready? Yeah. Three, two, one. Stars and seven. Oh, this one's going to be a bloodbath.
Starting point is 00:53:09 Game seven. I got stars in seven, game seven in Dallas. They win two of them. Yeah. Okay, keep going. Similar to the narrative of round one, the avalanche score a lot. Yep.
Starting point is 00:53:22 Five goals, five goals, five goals, four goals, even in the loss. The big factor here, as it is with every fucking series, but Dallas in particular, Otter's been great. Yeah. And if Otter can be that great against this team and somehow slow down that scoring,
Starting point is 00:53:41 they've got a real shot. They've got a real, real shot. Well, it does feel like the shot, right? Yeah. Like, I think that's what has to happen. Yeah. Because I don't think they're going to win in a shootout. Not that they can't.
Starting point is 00:53:52 They scored, they put seven past them. And Vegas, the Vegas goalies touched the sun at times this year, but I don't think that they were playing so, so, so awesome in the playoffs. It's more that entire Vegas system defense that was slowing Dallas down, because it's not like they were lighting up Vegas either. But I just think they would, they certainly don't want to be playing six, five games against the AFS.
Starting point is 00:54:14 Definitely. Right? Another one where it's the one team rested and one team didn't thing, Panthers Bruins, same deal. Obviously, each side's going to pick what they want. But I'm telling you, if you're Dallas, especially after being down 2-0, I'm like, yeah, hell yeah, ride this momentum, get me another game, feed me another game. I think they're really happy about that. And with how dialed
Starting point is 00:54:33 Otter is, what I was saying about Bob. I want Otter playing all the time. The Aves scoring machine is going to be tough to beat. Like, coming into this, I was like, I'm taking, I was like, I'm taking Dallas easily. It's Dallas is here. And just watching them the way they worked in that round was alarming. Absolutely. I mean, they're out of control. I think the winner of the West is coming out of this side, one of these two teams. I really think they both look head and shoulders better than the other two. Maybe not head and shoulders. But these two teams look dangerous. I think this is going to be a bloodbath just like the last one. I think it's going the distance, like we said. It's easy to forget Dallas was in the Western Conference
Starting point is 00:55:21 Finals last year. It is very easy to forget. I feel like people are like, you know, Dallas is like, they were nasty last year. They were the one seed this year. It's very easy to forget that. It's also easy to forget that Colorado had significant injury last year in the playoffs, which is why they lost in round one. Yep. And here they are. They're healthy, for the most part, and they're buzzing. And I just, this is the Colorado team.
Starting point is 00:55:45 I feel like a broken record from our episode last week, but this is the Colorado team that I saw in January that I said they're probably going to win the cup. Dallas looks so awesome. They're getting that important scoring from guys like Wyatt Johnston and Marchman's playing great, stanks playing great it's just Colorado seems so
Starting point is 00:56:05 fucking scary yeah and that's why I just I hate to say it because I love this Dallas team I just don't know if anyone can handle Colorado if they're playing like this so we'll see we'll see early
Starting point is 00:56:17 is Otter locked in and are they going to slow down the scoring or is it going to continue to be an absolute shit show of just like hats on the ice for Colorado yeah I am this is as sick as Rangers, Keynes is this is my every, every game series. Every game. This is your album. We'll not be missing one second of this game.
Starting point is 00:56:37 Oh, yeah, I can't not wait for this series. Next one. Let's close it up. Yep, Edmonton, Vancouver. We got a nice Canada battle. Yep. I'm ready, I think. These are our last.
Starting point is 00:56:55 This is going to be tough for you. Nah, I don't think so. Okay. Good it? Yeah, I got it. Three, two, one. Oilers and six. Yep.
Starting point is 00:57:07 And that's obvious. Vancouver, to me, is playing too slow to survive. I can't stay awake for the games, Dan. Stop. It's putting me to sleep. It hasn't been boring. I just don't know what's going on. Why aren't you scoring?
Starting point is 00:57:26 Let's see, 13 goals in six games. And SARS is playing good. Don't get me wrong. 13 goals in six games. Do you think that 13 goals in six games is going to get you past the fucking oilers? I do not, but I will tell you this, dude. You know what the series was in the regular season with these two teams? No.
Starting point is 00:57:44 4-0 Canucks. Really? Canucks won 8-1. In the early days. But those first two games are actually the first game of the season, I think. 4-3, 6-2, and 3-1. Yeah, that 3-1 was pretty late. Yep.
Starting point is 00:57:58 So, they've got the edge of the end. the regular season, but goalie situation makes this complicated. Yeah. One, we don't need to talk more about Sheelaws versus Demko. Sheelov is... But I think he's a wild card. I actually think if he stays fucking dialed... He might be J.S. Schegering right now.
Starting point is 00:58:17 He might be J.S. Garing right now. We are, however, possibly staring down the barrel of a happy learned-learned-How-to-Put situation with the Oilers. I don't know. What about last round makes you feel that way, though? Well, that's why I said, possible. Yeah. I don't know if Edmonton's defense has figured it out, and so has Skinner, or if the Kings were just completely out of gas and out of chemistry.
Starting point is 00:58:43 Yeah, right. And, and I, dude, you know what? I think Edmonton doesn't know that either. And I don't even think, there's a world where Edmonton's going like this. We're on fire right now. Yeah. Our defense is clicking. And then they're going to face this Vancouver team, and Vancouver's going to be like this.
Starting point is 00:58:58 No, you are not clicking. we're going to fire pucks past Skinner. I think that, I actually think that is exactly what's happening, but it's not going to happen until the Western Finals. Like I think Vancouver's also going to score one goal a game, and the others are like, we fucking did it. And then they're going to play the abs and the abs are going to score 12 goals a game. It would be like, what are you doing here?
Starting point is 00:59:18 You have to say Dallas. You're going to play Dallas, and they're going to say, we're going to 12 games a game. What are you doing here? Yeah, I mean, that's possible too. Obviously, we both have Edmonton here. I, it's hard for me. We don't need to drone on and on about it because I think it's pretty clear.
Starting point is 00:59:33 The writing's on the wall. Forget the regular season series. Forget the goalie situation. Ultimately, what this comes down to is Vancouver is not playing well right now. They're not. I mean, you won. And a great job. You won in six.
Starting point is 00:59:45 Yep. But you're scoring one to two goals a fucking game and you're going up against the Edmonton Oilers and Connor McDavid and Leon Drysiddle and Zach Hyman. I just don't think anyone can look at. that matchup and go Vancouver's just going to completely change their game they're going to start scoring four goals
Starting point is 01:00:01 a game. I just don't think that that is going to happen and that any sane person can confidently say that's for sure going to be the case here. So I think you have to go Oilers.
Starting point is 01:00:12 Biggest issue for me when I was looking at this we said last time King's penalty kill second best in the league that'll really be different when they play the Oilers' time and then the Oilers score
Starting point is 01:00:24 on 70% of their power plays against the King. Vancouver's penalty kill was atrocious under 80%. Not atrocious, but like very not competitive under 80%. And if the Oilers just rain down power play goals like a godly firestorm, then this series is over. Yeah, it is. Like that's that.
Starting point is 01:00:46 So, to recap, you got Panthers in seven, I got Panthers in six. I've got Rangers in five. you've got Rangers in six or seven seven i've got abs in seven you've got stars in seven we've both got oilers in six that's exactly right so here we go game one of boston florida is tonight by the time you guys are listening to this it'll have already happened but we are in it baby we are in the second round now let's open up that mailbox do a little bit of a mail bag see what the questions that people have for us are all right babes i got to talk to you about bet mGM you know that we have an amazing partnership with BetMGM, so I'm talking to you right now. I'm looking right in your eyes.
Starting point is 01:01:28 If you like online gambling, if you like getting down with some sports action, bet MGM is the no-brainer decision to get right now because it is without a doubt the best sports app in the world and they're giving you $1,500 to play with. If you use promo code netters right now, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S, when you sign up for the Bet-M-GM-M app, you get $15,000. You get $1,500.000. hundred bucks to bet with that goes right in your account and you can make all those bets. And here's the thing. I know you're afraid of losing. If you lose all of that up to that 1500, you get it all back.
Starting point is 01:02:05 Goes right back into your account for you to play with. So what are we doing here? We've got NHL Stanley Cup playoff action going on right now. There's games every single night. The action is unbelievable and you need to start making some bets right now using BetMGM. It's an obvious move. Get on board. Problem problem? Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S.
Starting point is 01:02:26 Call 8778-N-Y or text Hope NY 4-6-7-369 in New York. Call 1-800-2-7-50-50-Massachusetts. 21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 next step in Arizona. 1-800-off in Puerto Rico or visit www.000-Gambler. Or visit www.W.W.W.W.R., first bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligible requirements.
Starting point is 01:02:43 Bonus bets are non-witrable in partnership with Kansas Crossing, casino and hotel. See bedmGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. First question that we have this week is if it's so hard to repeat in the NHL, did the Panthers making the cup last year hurt their chances this year? Great question.
Starting point is 01:03:02 Great question because one of the biggest problems about how hard it is to repeat is the miles. It's not like everyone's got a target on your back just because you're the cup champs. Certainly that's a thing too, but it's more like you had a really short summer. Usually you were really successful, but some people got hurt, and you're really successful, which means people want more money in different countries. You know, it's just hard to keep the band together and then run it right back on such a short turnaround. No doubt about it. I think the amount of games played is, I think, the number one reason.
Starting point is 01:03:35 I, my answer is kind of complicated because it's almost conflicting ideas going against each other. I personally think there are certain, there are certain types of guys in the league. Nathan McKinnon is one of them. We talked about this with Ross Colton when he came on the pod. There are certain guys who win and then they don't rest on their laurels. In fact, the opposite happens and they go, I need to win again.
Starting point is 01:04:01 You've tasted the sweet nectar of victory and you now can't live without it. There are definitely guys like that. Again, I think McKinnon is one of them. Whether it be something you acknowledge or not, there are other people and this does not say anything bad about your compete level or the competitor you are, the type of person that you are,
Starting point is 01:04:25 who in the backs of their mind, or maybe the fronts of their mind, after winning, have an attitude of if I lose, it's okay. Because I just won. I think that's why a lot of teams who win the cup then losing the first round the next year. You mentioned it earlier on this pot. Yep. So with the Panthers, I think too many of them are in these playoffs going, we're even better this year, which I believe is true.
Starting point is 01:04:56 Bob's buzzing, the team is healthy, and we lost last year. And I think a lot of them feel we lost last year because we were hurt. Kachuk went out. Other guys were battling serious injuries. And I think that they will go, I don't give a fuck that we played into June last year. We got close and we didn't get it. That panthers team has never won a Stanley Cup. They don't care at all about games played,
Starting point is 01:05:23 so I don't think it's an issue for them. Last time it happened, 2008, the Detroit Red Wings beat the Pittsburgh Penguins. Next year, the Pittsburgh Penguins beat the Wings, but they win the Cup. And I'm scrolling back pretty far, and I'm not seeing that happening very often. So I think it's a really hard thing to do. Probably damn near just as hard as repeating for everything you just said. I just love the fucking
Starting point is 01:05:44 Maybe this is my personality as an athlete But I love the Getting that close and not getting it Drives me so much harder Because it was right there That I'm like yo We have to fucking remedy this Especially this group right now
Starting point is 01:05:58 We're not going to be together soon Go I agree And I think we've seen microcosm examples Of frustrating losses in the first round Last year the Rangers Choked lost to the devils And this year they went Fuck no
Starting point is 01:06:09 And swept the caps I think the Bruins lost, they blew a 3-1 lead last year to Florida. They were in a three-run situation. They were about to blow this year, and they're like, we will not let that happen. I think there is a fuel to losing that overcomes any tiredness.
Starting point is 01:06:23 Yep. Second question. If the stars beat the aves, are we looking at the beginning of a star's dynasty? Oh, I like that. I mean, too. Yeah, listen, I think dynasties are so difficult these days. I mean, we had a Pittsburgh one, and then I think we had a Tampa one. Hawks.
Starting point is 01:06:49 Well, yes, the most recent. Oh, yeah. You know, Pittsburgh is a little more recent than the Hawks, I would say. What's tough about that is, on the one hand, I said earlier, that the time is now for Dallas, and they have taken a huge first step in beating Vegas. So they definitely want it And they can smell it for sure They've got their look at how
Starting point is 01:07:13 God damn good their team is And how young their studs are The fact that they're not riding Ben and Sagan And Pavelsky into this In fact those guys are playing second third line shit Yeah everyone at every level Exactly I'm like oh god So they've got team construction
Starting point is 01:07:27 They've got it They've got the pieces to be a dynasty The problem with that is The abs are in the middle of We can be a dynasty as well Like the abs are going We won the cup We got some injuries
Starting point is 01:07:40 Lost in the first round last year But we're trying to win the cup If the abs go to the cup Win the cup this year They'll have two and three So you're battling Vegas Who could just win next year
Starting point is 01:07:50 You know And then they've got two and three And they That'll be what their fucking Third Cup in eight years To a cup at least So you're battling a lot Of could be dynasties on the West
Starting point is 01:08:00 So yes is the answer And I like I said If they beat Colorado So they're beaten whoever they play in Edmonton, Vancouver, in my opinion. And then, you know, could easily win a cup. So they are taking the right strides and that step past Vegas is the necessary first one. The teams that look very scary. And this can change in one huge free agent signing, one big trade.
Starting point is 01:08:24 But Vegas, you said, I'm Vegas, Colorado, Florida still. But, you know, Boston, ton of cash space, but who knows, Tampa's not going anywhere, but who knows, a couple up-and-coming teams, Canucks, Rangers, you know. But from straight up roster construction alone, I say yes. This is that Dallas team, if I had to pick anyone, that Dallas team is the one that I would say is about to go on a sustained run of dominance is harsh, but just great success. Yeah, no doubt.
Starting point is 01:08:59 Next question. Why are the Rangers underdogs? This is funny We got a lot of this in the hockey talk on Sunday There are people being like People disrespecting the Rangers Everyone's under rate No one believe
Starting point is 01:09:17 Shut the fuck up That is not happening So many people So many pundits have picked the Rangers To win the cups So fucking fans calm down No one is Underrating the Rangers
Starting point is 01:09:27 I will agree and say I don't understand how they are dogs In the Vegas odds That is fucking crazy to me It's like the dumbest shit I've ever seen mini rant right here i've been banging the drum hard as you all know that the rangers i felt like their fan not the players but the fans and people in media were looking past the canes too easily everyone's talking about rangers panthers eastern congress finals rangers in the cut i was like
Starting point is 01:09:51 you've got a really tough series here everybody calmed down that being said right before the the series started i feel like it flipped so 180 and everyone's like all over the canes and i'm like oh no too too too far it was way too far and dude it is the fucking nerds Bro. It's the moneyball nerds. They're going, Jake Gensel's on the team. The power play is so good right now. Freddie Anderson is buzzing. He's been better this stretch than he has been all season. Then he has been in two years. And the shot, there was like a shot total article I saw on like the power play.
Starting point is 01:10:20 I reread it earlier, the power play PK analytics. I'm like, yo, dude, watch the game. And I don't even mean game one. I'm just saying like watch them. And I am the poster boy of the canes are really fucking good. I think it's going to be a hard series. But it is crazy to me how hard it swung with the odds specifically. that they're like, the canes are heavy favorites. And in what universe are they heavy favorites
Starting point is 01:10:40 against the President's Trophy team from their own division? It's not like they weren't playing each other. It makes no fucking sense. Totally. So to answer your question, they are dogs and it's stupid. And it's the stat analytic nerds is why.
Starting point is 01:10:53 But they are not being overlooked. So the people who think because they're dogs makes people be like this, no one believes in the Rangers, fucking shut up with that narrative because it's not true at all. Everyone believes in the Rangers.
Starting point is 01:11:05 they're fucking insanely good and they're gonna win the cup but they are dogs and it is moronic. It is just classic over analytics that's just soda and honestly is gonna be
Starting point is 01:11:16 why they win the series because it's like Vegas is like they're dogs and I'm like oh and the ranges get to look at that on the bulletin board and they're like oh we're dogs pal
Starting point is 01:11:22 you're dead yeah boom so that's why silly um all right great questions love the mail bag let's wrap this episode up
Starting point is 01:11:30 with some saucy predictions okay here we go we're not doing chicken today We're doing pretzels today because... Hey, we forgot to get chicken. So we put in super hot sauce on some pretzel chips. Last week, I said that Hellebuck would give up one goal or less in Game 5. He gave up 1,500 goals.
Starting point is 01:11:48 Yeah. So I have lost. You lost quick. I said that the Preds would force a game 7. They were so close. They should have. But they did not. So we're both eaten.
Starting point is 01:11:58 Here we go. Hot sauce and doused pretzels. It's like the pretzel didn't absorb it at all. It's just in my mouth now. Look, the chicken soaks it up. This is terrible. Yeah. That one was like...
Starting point is 01:12:30 That one was like just pouring it right on my tongue. So that... Let me go. Let me go. Fast. Okay, you got one? I got one too. All four... All four series will be one one. Wow. Is the schedule like that for about this time next week? It'll be like that.
Starting point is 01:12:55 We'll know. We'll know. I mean, we'll know either, right? Yeah. Okay. Okay. By, okay. By this time next week, one goalie will have a shutout.
Starting point is 01:13:09 One? Yeah. People score in playoffs. That's, that's, we've had, what? Like two, three shutouts, all playoffs? One? Yeah. There's not been a lot of shoutouts.
Starting point is 01:13:19 Fuck you. Okay. No touch anything. Don't touch anything That's it for us this week At the Md Nair's podcast We are in round two baby We got the sausage predictions set
Starting point is 01:13:35 Let's get cracking And until then Skate hard baby Skate hard

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.