Empty Netters Podcast - 97. Boston and Florida blood feud w/ Eddie Lack
Episode Date: May 10, 2024Tkachuk and Pasta are throwing fists! The Rangers might never lose again. The Avs are the scariest team in the playoffs. The Nucks pulled a rabbit out of McDavid’s hat. Eddie Lack stops by to dish s...ome incredible stories like partying with Hank Lundqvist after winning gold! PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (3:12) – Power Rankings (8:55) – Hot Ice – Draft Lottery (11:38) – Coaching Carousel (15:40) – Dallas/Avs (20:22) – Oilers/Canucks (26:50) – Rangers/Canes (35:17) – Bruins/Panthers (43:36) – Eddie Lack Interview (1:39:58) – Armchair GM (1:43:10) – God I Wish I Was (1:46:14) – Temper Tantrum Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the crisp, refreshing taste of a Labat Blue Light Pilsner brewed with that Canadian kindness in each and every sip.
I don't know how many times I have to tell you guys this. It is my favorite light beer. I can be watching Puck with Dan. I can be hanging with the boys, getting ready to have a big night out, sitting by the beach in that Cali sun.
Wherever the opportunity strikes, I'm grabbing a Labat Blue Light and you need to do the same. So go to the local store.
grab a sixer and have yourself a day.
We've got an oil leak in net in Edmonton.
The Rangers are the first team to go 16 and O
on route to the Stanley Cup.
People said there was no bad blood from last year
in Florida and Boston.
While I've got news for you, it's officially a fistfight.
They hate each other.
And Eddie the Stork Lack joins the pod.
Ice is ready and we are back
with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast
here in Arizona.
We've got mayhem in the streets.
Boston, Florida, all tied up.
Shit kicking on one end.
Shit kicking on another end.
Edmonton looks like that they were going to cruise to another easy series.
Whoops.
It looks like a shit kicking there, too.
Whoops.
Whoops.
And Eddie Lack is on the pod.
Oh, what a guy.
Come on.
Unbelievable.
Unbelievable stuff.
Absolute blast.
How are you feeling right now?
I feel good.
I don't think you do, dude.
I call it bullshit.
Oh, interesting.
You seem perturbed.
You seem like you've got stuff rattle around in that crazy skull of yours that you can't get over.
The demons are out.
I have a sickness.
You have a sickness in you.
And the demons are out to play, it feels like.
Oh, no, they are.
Don't talk to me about it, dude.
I don't know.
I never know.
That's the problem.
Look at you.
You're out of your mind.
That's the problem.
That is the problem.
But we've got a great episode.
Yep.
We've got a great episode.
Round two.
We're in it, right?
It's like weird.
You know, we've got, we're two games into a couple of them, one into the others,
but we are officially, fully in round two.
Everyone has played.
It, right now, I feel like it's December 15th.
Oh.
And I'm like, oh, you're on the Christmas train.
You're talking Christmas?
Like, I'm always like, oh.
You know me post-Hlloween.
I'm like, oh, you know me post-Hlloween, but like, you know, Thanksgiving hits and you're like,
oh, it's basically Christmas season.
And then, you know, December 1st hits.
It's obviously Christmas season, but it still feels so far away.
Sure.
And then you blink.
And then it's December 15th.
It's just Andy Williams is singing in every room.
I don't have any presents for anybody.
Like, what the fuck?
It's December 15th.
When did it become the 15th?
That's how I feel halfway.
Not halfway, but, you know, two games into round two for a couple of series.
15th is a good day for what you're describing.
I'm like, oh, shit.
Like, that's the perfect.
You're 10 days away.
There's enough time out still, but I'm like,
What the fuck, do?
But you're also close.
Yeah, me.
You're not far away from Christmas at all anymore.
That's what I'm saying.
You're like, oh, shit.
Yep.
Damn.
That's a good, that's a good line.
And that's exactly where we are.
Yeah.
Want to do power rankings?
We must.
I think we got to do power rankings, and I think it's obvious.
We're going to start right at the top.
Our power rankings of the teams, we're doing all eight or are we doing five?
No, top five.
We're still going to do top five.
Okay.
We're going to do top five.
Power rankings, we're starting at the top.
The lightning are obviously one.
You, you, you,
You fucking idiot.
You idiot, dude.
You tried to rank the lightning
over teams
that are still in the playoffs.
Dude, multiple.
They deserve it.
They played great against the good time.
You're out of your mind.
Number one is the Rangers.
Is it, though?
Absolutely.
That's what I think is funny.
Is it, though?
I hear what you're saying,
but you've, dude,
you have stolen the crown
as number one Ranger hater
for some.
Is it, though?
They are undefeated, sir,
and they're about to be undefeated.
after tonight. By the time you guys are listening to this, the Rangers are going to be 7 and
0 in the playoffs and have a 3-0 series lead against. Oh, the hurricanes that are way better
than people think. They're going to give the Rangers a big test. The Canes and Sixth crowd is very
quiet right now. Yeah, they sure are. Causing chaos down there in Raleigh. Looks like you're
getting swept out of the playoffs again. They're a home team. Will it count as a sweep
is the real question. Yeah, yeah. I don't really count that as a sweep. It counts. It's a
sweep. Here's the deal. I'm joking. I'm joking. And no series starts until someone loses
at home, you always say that. Who says that?
You. Me. It's my favorite thing to say.
We'll see what happens. But the Rangers are undefeated.
They are number one. They have to be.
They don't have to be, but you're right, they are.
And then close second.
The number two team, I think we're going to agree on as well.
The Colorado Avalanche. The Colorado Avalanche.
They have won five in a row.
They have won five in a row, and they are...
Against better teams.
They are allergic to not pumping in goals.
It's preposterous.
That, it was so funny. I...
I tweeted out, imagine thinking elite is safe against this New York Rangers team.
And that was when Carolina went up and they were like, look at us.
We're even things up.
And then bang, you're dead.
The same is true for this.
They went down three nothing in the game.
The stars absolutely buzzing.
And then wouldn't you know it?
Goal.
Goal.
Goal.
And you could see in the abs,
they were unfaced.
Yep.
So the abs are two.
but I am going right after that
probably the stars.
Okay, I think...
How crazy is that?
Well, I think I'm with you.
Normally there's normally we embrace debate here,
but I think I'm with you that they look really good too.
But are we disrespecting the Panthers?
Or Boston or the Canucks dude.
No.
The eight teams aren't going to make it.
The Canucks were the best.
team aren't going to make it.
The Canucks were the best team in the West.
And then they took care of the Preds with their backup backup goalie in six.
We've been shitting on them this whole time.
We said, oh, they can't score.
And then they just hung five on the Oilers.
On Skinner's head.
Maybe we're disrespecting the Canucks dude.
They're up in the series one-oh.
Cains are not getting in and the Oilers are not getting in.
Agree?
A third team is not getting in.
in and two teams are getting in and it's Canucks, Panthers.
Really good math.
Bruins.
Really good math.
Yeah, I'm dialed.
You are?
Yeah.
I'm unfortunately going to rank Florida over Boston.
Me too.
Boston played like shit.
Again, we'll get into it later, but I think we've got Rangers, Aves, Stars.
And then we've got Stars, Canucks, Florida in our power rankings.
Oh, you have Canucks over Boston.
I just think they haven't lost in this round.
Yeah, but you always,
do you always just go to the literal wins and losses?
Again, dude, they...
Who's playing better?
Well, definitely not Boston after last night.
That was the worst game they've played in over a month.
Yeah, a few pass-sway.
None of them really his fault, but just a few past sway.
And the boys just looked like shit out there.
Fine.
But I'm going Canucks behind Florida.
Okay, so we're going to go, and do you think Dallas look good despite the...
Yes.
All right.
Dallas 3.
Florida 4.
Florida 4.
Knucks 5.
Canucks 5.
Okay.
Rangers, avalanche, Dallas.
Stars.
Panthers, Canucks.
That is our power ranking and we're sticking to it.
And I actually feel good about that.
Me too.
Me too.
All right, let's get into our Bauer hockey hot ice, right?
Now, baby. Squad, if you're anything like me, you can't stop thinking about hockey even when you're long since washed up. But the good news is I'm here to talk to you about Bauer and specifically Bauer training. Bauer is stepping up their game, which is impossible because Bauer's been at the top of the game since the beginning of time. But they're making sure that they're hooking you up and helping you out with everything training, whether you are just getting started right now at the lowest level or at the highest level. If you're in college, a beer leaguer and you want to step.
your game up, Bauer has you covered. You're going to go to Bauer.com slash training and they have all
the tools you need to get your game to the next level. They've got the digital reactor
dangler and the reactor slideboard that are going to help you get your stick handling and
your skating to that crisp, unbelievable level to make you outperform all the competition.
And if you use promo code empty at checkout, you're going to save on all shipping. So we're
hooking you up, Bauer's hooking you up.
It's a no-brainer. All the big
shit going on. We're going to get into the series later,
but I first want to start and talk about the draft lottery.
Absolute shock.
You know what I really love?
We posted on our Instagram
little conspiracy green screen.
Some people big mad in the comments,
being like, you're better than this guys. No, we're not.
Dude. No, we're not.
It's a rehearsal, you fucking idiots.
You moron!
Dude, I know.
I'm having fun out here.
Let me have fun in the streets.
Dude, wait, I thought they were rigging it and then filmed it.
We're having fun on the street.
You know what I do want to take an L on?
What?
Last episode we were talking about teams that are playing well,
and I was talking about Dallas.
And I misspoke and said,
I was just like going through the young boys,
and I said Marchmont, who was hurt?
And I was just like talking.
And that's a dash.
Dash 1.
Dash 1 for your boy.
Sorry about that.
Dash 1 for fireworks.
because the draft lottery went exactly as screen.
Huge dash one for drama.
Dude, it's drama season,
and I thought we were going to get drama,
but no, it went basically chalk, right?
Did it go literally chalk?
Yeah, I'm pretty sure.
Yeah.
All I want to say, though, is,
and by the way, the rehearsal,
Utah jumped way up to second,
which would have been sick.
And when we saw that,
I was like, this will never happen again.
You know what pumps me up is,
I know that the ducks have been jobbed a few times.
Last year was definitely one of them.
but that Ducks team is so cool and young and good
and they just got another number two pick
and like those guys are good
oh did they finish second then I believe so right
then I think the Hawks should have got second
oh wait no no I'm sorry the Hawks did get second
okay yeah third though is
yeah no it's amazing um let me get that up
I think it was chalk no all I want to say about it was
um I said this on the live we did but I'm
happy for the sharks. I wanted to see
some chaos, obviously, because it's kind of fun. Me too.
But I think that's cool for the sharks.
Yeah, sorry. Sharks, Blackhawks, Ducks,
Blue Jackets, Canadians, Utah.
Canadians jumped up one, I believe.
Okay. Or no, they were supposed to be five.
No, they were five. Okay, so
yeah, ducks, not to interrupt you, but like, yeah, the ducks
at three. Like I said, there were those
three kids, or two, really, after
Celebrini that are kind of wagons.
It'll be sick for the sharks.
Fantastic for the sharks
I'm
Breeney
probably coming to town
Definitely coming to town
Will Smith
Maybe coming to town
Well shut up dude
You're jumping the gun
You're jumping the gun
Okay
Let the boys live
Um
Next thing
Yes all right
Coaching carousel situations
We sort of teased it last episode
We all saw coming
But today
This will be yesterday
For you guys
When you're listening
has been made official
Sheldon Keefe
out in Toronto
fired by the Maple Leafs.
I'm actually shocked
that this one happened
before Shanahan.
If fucking Brendan
Shanahan is still in that role
for this team
going into next year,
I will cackle.
Cackle like a witch
because we talked about
the definition of insanity.
This is more of it.
If you keep Shanahan
and let him keep doing
what he's
been doing. Because, dude, if you just get a new coach, if you hire, you know, Todd McClellan,
or if you hire, I know Baruby's been said, but I think Baruby's going to the Devils,
if you hire a McClellan or something like that, or a Woodcroft even, there's just such a
world where Shanahan's like this. We got a new voice. These four can work together. We're doing it again.
Wall is the goalie. And then you just do all of this all over again. It will be, I feel like
And I think Toronto fans let us know.
I feel like we have reached the point of this is getting out of control.
Oh, my God, dude.
Unfortunately, because I'm part of the problem and I'm like, yeah, run it back.
Those four, they're dope.
I love it.
I'm not even kidding.
How could you ever think that?
I've said this many times.
I felt like Keith should have been fired last year.
You certainly can't keep him after losing the first round again to Boston again.
Yeah.
But they, even I can admit that situation is so beyond fucked.
It's insane.
Like, I can't believe they might run the foreback.
I can't believe Shannie might keep his job.
I can't believe Keefe got fired after they didn't fire him before.
Like everything, nothing makes sense.
Yeah.
Everything's wrong.
I think they should trade all four of them and fucking move to Hamilton.
Like, it's blow up the franchise.
Yeah.
It's a fucking disaster.
So, and I'm pulling.
for you, Toronto. I really am, but it is a
fucking disaster. How can, are you being a little
facetious when you're saying that you're, you're a part
of the problem, you're like this? No, I would run it back.
No, dude. How could you ever think
that, though? I don't know, dude.
I just, like, it feels
like you could, I think they haven't
a different voice in the locker room
that holds them more accountable
and the right depth
adds for value. And I know they don't have any
money, but like you have some money, so just fucking find
cheap guys, like there are cheap guys in the league that
can overperform their
contract. I'm like the right depth ads that they never get. They never make the right
ads. Fucking, I don't want to sue anybody, but like ridiculous pickups. But the, the right
depth ads with that team and better goaltending can win. Yeah. I don't know if the better
goaltending is wall, but like, he was looking pretty fucking good in the playoffs there.
But don't you think it's, I don't want to sewer anybody either, but you say better
goaltending, Boston barely scored to get by them.
It wasn't, I don't think it was the goaltending.
I think it's clear that you've got those four guys plus Domi, plus Burt, and you can't get
more than a goal or two.
You have 69 fucking goals from Austin Matthews in the regular season.
You've got about a hundred point season from Nealander.
and you can't, I mean, Neil underperformed.
But like, I just think that's the answer, dude.
It's like, they weren't scoring.
You need these guys to fucking step the fuck up
and score huge goals like pasta.
Right.
And they just don't.
Yeah.
So I'm like, I don't think you can put this on the goaltending this time.
I really don't.
Me neither.
This series.
But I just, that's, but I think, I don't know.
I think they're all right.
You're out of your mind.
All right, let's get into our series.
Start with Dallas, Colorado.
I thought I was looking at a, when the bees won game won against the Panthers, to me it felt like they were flying in that super emotional series against a rival Toronto team.
And then the Panthers had been sitting on their ass.
And the bees still had the jump.
And the Panthers didn't.
Coming into that Dallas game, first period, I was like, I'm watching the same thing happen.
Dallas coming off, slaying the dragon, emotional game seven against Vegas, getting game reps every other night.
Avs have been sitting on their ass waiting.
They are not ready to play.
This is a fine loss, especially because the Panthers are home.
So I was like, for Colorado, you're on the road who gives a shit.
This is a completely fine game one L.
Yeah.
Before you get back into playoff speed.
Said that so perfectly.
Said that so perfectly.
And then you let the power play get cooking.
And the abs get two.
And then Nate Dogg gets his, obviously.
Duh.
And then you get fucking beaten over time if you're Dallas.
You just,
you said it so perfectly.
I couldn't agree more.
It did feel like Dallas just still had the Momo and they were buzzing and Colorado got caught
sleeping like Florida did.
You're absolutely, I don't, I'm sorry I just repeated everything you said.
But it's like that was just so spot on.
That's exactly how I felt.
And what was even more so impressive for me for Dallas was you get suitor on the board for
first and then Wyatt keeps buzzing.
And then Ben gets one.
And it was like, oh shit.
like, you know, that's it, right?
You need the third line guys.
You need the role players.
That's exactly how Boston won in game one.
They got goals from Lori gets his first.
Geeky gets one.
Brazo gets his first.
So it felt like a great situation for Dallas, but then, yeah, who else?
Val gets that first one, then Kale on the board.
And then, like you said, Nate, that was a dick punching.
That was a swift kick to the dick if you're Dallas.
Honestly, bro, I would have rather lost that.
If I'm the stars, I would have rather lost that game.
I mean, I guess what I'm about to say is fucking obvious,
because I was about to say, I would rather last that game, like,
we're up one-nothing.
Like, I don't even care about the blown lead.
I'd still blow a lead, but I'd rather be blowing one-goal leads over and over.
Basically what the hurricanes did, like be up-one, be up-3-2,
and then lose to Colorado 4-3 because you're just like,
I was a good game.
This is a good series, two good teams.
Yeah.
This felt like we were all like, oh, Colorado's a scoring machine right now.
They look like the most well-oiled machine in the lead.
They were going to be such a hard out.
The first period felt like we're chill, dude.
We're fine.
Yeah.
And then now I'm even more scared of Colorado.
Somehow I'm even more scared of Colorado than I was.
I know.
I know.
And do you think now, I mean, you lose on home ice sucks, especially game one.
How important do you think is game two?
Well, they literally just did this.
That's what I'm saying.
But I don't know that you want to play that game.
That's called playing with fire.
It sure is.
And it's never a good idea.
It might get burned.
It's never a good idea.
We're not Johnny Storm out here, you know?
And sure, you just did it against Vegas.
And that's another dangerous team.
That's a scary team.
It's not like you just did it against, you know, a team that's not so great.
I do think you're right, though, in that it's like Colorado's scary.
You don't want to get down O.
two.
Doesn't matter if you just did it.
It's like you had that one.
And then it got ripped out of your hands.
So really feels like a roll up the sleeves and take care of business situation in game two.
Yeah.
And I need,
Otter's been,
Otter was fantastic against Vegas.
Fantastic.
Yeah.
Second best goal in the playoffs behind Swam and probably.
No offense to Chesty or Bob.
But he needs to be a little bit better if they're going to beat the Fs.
Yeah.
A tiny bit better than he was game one.
And he certainly can.
Yeah.
But that was such a weird O'Tagle.
I said it to Eddie, but like the...
Grady.
And like, Otter was like so slow getting his left pat out there.
I was like, where are you...
I hear that.
Like sometimes when guys come in, the puck's just on their forehead and then just go backhand shoot.
Or other side.
Backhand, forehand shoot.
Yeah.
It's like he's obviously just going to pull wide, but how many times have we seen someone go five hole?
Or hang back and go near side.
It's like, it's easy for us to stay watching on our couch.
Tough play.
drinking a fucking Labat blue light.
But, you know.
Yeah, that's going to be a wild one.
And if anything Dallas needs to learn,
you cannot rest on your laurels at any point.
Correct.
Against this Colorado team.
Going to the other matchup in the West,
Oilers, Canucks, we had Oilers, we had the under.
I also have this.
That's an egg on my face.
A couple of fucking idiots, dude.
A couple of fucking idiots.
sitting in the bar, me and CP,
let's take some action.
Let's get on some action tonight.
I go, I like Oilers.
CP agreed.
And then I go, dude, I like Oilers, but I'll tell you what,
She-Law's been good.
He hasn't let in more than two.
I'm not sure they're going to ring them up.
I say we hit an under, let's go under six and a half.
And Chris goes, what?
It's going to be under four and a half.
I said four and a half.
So we settled on under five and a half,
and then nine goals were scored.
It was, it was, I, I, we were halfway through the second and it was over.
I had Oilers money line under four and a half and it was Canucks money line over eight and a half.
The odds on that, we would have been, we would have been laughing.
I was texting Merle's all game.
And he's like, I'm, Merle's like, I'm heavy on the Oilers tonight.
And I was like, well, so am I and the under.
And we're both just dying.
Fucking idiots, dude.
But hey, Vancouver, welcome to the playoffs.
Thanks for coming down.
Welcome to the playoffs.
And I'll tell you this too, dude.
I love when we post our, and listen, we hit some.
We hit a lot.
But I love when we post betting picks like that.
And then someone comes in the DM, a DM request,
like not someone who's ever talked to us before and goes, oh for two.
And I'm like this, I know, dude.
I'm aware.
Okay, buddy, I am well aware.
Oh, should I lost those?
Thank you.
Oh, fuck, I wasn't.
I was saying attention.
That's dope.
I lost those.
Dude, all jokes aside.
the, what went 4-1, right?
4-1 Oilers.
4-1?
I was like, this is over, completely over.
And I still thought our under was alive,
because I was like maybe they'll just hold on here.
Yeah.
But dude, that felt like the easiest roll over and get your belly pet moment for the Canucks.
Where I was like, yeah, you stink.
Your backup goal is stink.
You never score.
This is a joke.
I know you beat them in the regular season, but you're losers.
And then I think like JT got the first maybe, or the second goal.
to like begin the comeback.
It was Elias.
Oh,
okay, yeah.
And I'll tell you what,
it's leaky shit, dude.
This is a message to teams
and to fan bases,
dude.
If you're a fan and you believe in juju,
like you gotta fucking stay locked in.
Yeah.
And obviously,
Florida Boston will get to
was a shit kicking,
but like they gave up a goal
with like three seconds left
in the period.
Yeah.
And like it's,
these are how things snowball.
So you go, boom,
Hyman on the board
with his eighth.
Eighth goal.
when Vancouver takes penalty
12 seconds into the game.
Yes, and then immediate power play goal.
Bang, on your face.
Eckholm gets his first.
Joshua gets one, 2-1,
but then pretty quickly, or not pretty quickly,
halfway through, Cici gets his first,
Heimann gets his ninth, it's now 4-1.
But then with 259,
left in that second period,
Lindholm sneaks one in.
And that's what I'm saying, is leaky.
there's less than five minutes left in the period.
You're up 4-1, sure.
But I'm telling you, that Oilers team is going, done.
They're not going games over, fuck it, but they're like, all right, this is sick.
We've killed them.
We've killed their confidence.
It's 4-1 in the second period.
And you rest on your laurels, and with less than three minutes left in the period, you let one in.
And now it's a two-goal game, dude.
And that's what it does, because now Vancouver goes into that locker room and they go, boys,
it's two goals.
Yep.
Two-goal game.
Two goals in a period.
We just scored two in this period.
Let's get out there and let's fucking win this game
and that's exactly what they do.
J.T. Zedorov and then Garland.
Bang, bang, bang, you win.
Skinner, 24 shots, maybe?
Let's see.
I got it.
Yes, 24 to 18, dude.
Again, yet again, 18 shots for Edmonton.
Oh, dude, yeah.
Stifled.
Four shots in the second, four shots in the third.
Oh, yeah.
And with the lead, like,
it's not like I'm like,
fucks on that, but I am kind of.
Kind of like, dude, it never ceases to blow my fucking mind when teams have less than eight shots.
And I need more than 10.
I need more than 10, but less than eight is just...
Going into that third period, you've got 14 shots on net and four of them have gone in.
Yeah.
Shoot more.
Just like...
Oh, come on.
But yeah, Skinner.
And, dude, man, I can't...
I want to meet.
I can't wait to meet Stuart Skinner one day.
I bet he's the nicest guy.
I'm sure he's a nice guy.
And I genuinely feel...
Got a great mustache.
Bad.
because I feel like
I'm always
dogging him.
Yeah.
You are because it's in response
to the wonderfully loyal
Edmonton fans
who are like,
he's an all-star,
fuck you.
Come on.
Yeah.
And dude,
we'll get to the bees,
but like,
Sway,
he's the best goal in the league right now.
But it's,
so it's not great,
and Skinner's been dialed,
you know?
But,
and I expect Edmonton
to win game two.
This was one game.
whatever, happily burn the tape type situation.
But like you said last ep, did Edmonton figure it out?
Are they like, dude, we got it.
Our D and our goal tending is at the level it needs to be to win a cup.
And then you give up, you blow a four, one lead.
And Skinner gives up five goals on 24 shots.
And I'm like, no, you have not.
This is always the problem.
And again, maybe he gets a shout out in game two and it's fine.
But I'm like, ah, yeah.
It's really if you're deep down, if you're telling the truth, deep down,
if you're Connor McDavid, you're probably like, fuck.
Yes.
Instead of like, we're fine, we're fine, we're fine.
Deep down.
I hate it, man.
Like, you hate it.
Obviously, Florida responded, and you hope that Boston responds tomorrow, Friday.
What day is it?
It's Thursday.
Right now.
Yeah.
But you hate seeing a bunch of pucks go past your goalie.
You hate it.
So, yes, this is, like, that's the fear, right?
So you're absolutely right.
If you're, if you're Connor, you're Leon.
And then the big one, that's,
I'd like to close with.
He came back in the game, but dry saddle was missing for a lot of that second period.
That's right.
Took a knock.
Haven't heard much yet, but he went out, came back, and was noticeably lame in the third.
So something to keep an eye on because if Leon is banged up, that is very bad.
Changes the equation.
Changes the equation.
All right.
Let's pop over to the east.
Start with the New York Rangers and the Carolina Hurricanes.
Rangers get an OT win, go up 2-0 in the series.
What are you seen?
I'm seeing a massive.
golf clap for Igor Chesterka.
29 straight playoff games without giving up more than three goals.
And I said live, because I did that live for that game, that I was like,
the canes are going to be up to one after one, hit it.
And then I was like, the canes are going to win this game four or three.
And it will, no, because I said Keynes.
And it went OT.
And I was like, and I said, because I pointed at the Chesty's at, I said he's gone 28 straight
playoff games with three or less.
If the canes want to win, they got to get, they got to break that.
streak. Yeah. And they're going to win four or three.
Dude, you know it's crazy? Here it comes. And he wouldn't let it happen.
Our beer league motto is need seven. Yeah.
Need seven goals to win. Yep.
I think the Rangers new motto is need four.
Need four. If the Rangers score four, they'll win. Yeah. It's also a sick.
Like we need four to get through the series. Yeah. Maybe we should start that.
Need four. Rags fans. Need four.
Cockroaches and Need four. Fucking beautiful.
But dude, he made some monster safes. Yeah. Right at the end of regulation on the fucking
Kane's short-handed.
We've got big bids in O.T.
Kane's Power Play is a disaster.
But Chesty, and he hasn't really been beaten clean, dude.
A couple sick tip goals in that game.
I can't remember Gensel's second.
To put them up 3-2.
It was solid.
And I want to give credit to Carolina
because we said they need to get out on them early.
Thank you. Keep going, but I have something to say about that.
Immediately they go down.
And it was just like, Jesus Christ, guys.
And Lafie finally gets on the board.
But then it was like Gensel Orlov.
Boom.
Now they're lead.
And it was like, good job.
Like that was a good response.
Second period starts, Laffey again.
Ties it up.
But then Gensel again.
And it was like good fight guys.
But then it was just they didn't finish chances.
They, they, I mean, the fucking power play is absolutely killing them.
They're taking such stupid fucking penalties.
Kreider, of course, gets a power play goal.
It's tied.
And then you go into overtime, get another power play.
and Trochecks scores.
For all the,
and I know it's weird
when we post clips,
you're getting the pod
completely out of context,
you know,
but I was saying
that I wanted to see
the Rangers trailing a little bit.
See how they respond.
In the playoffs.
Yeah.
And hell yeah,
rags,
you were trailing a little bit
in this game
and you came back
just like you did
all regular season.
So many people
in the comments
of that clip were like,
the Rangers had the most
comeback wins in the league
in the regular season.
I'm like,
I know.
I literally just want to see
do it in the playoffs.
You think it's a
fucking right same thing, a fucking November game.
You're like, oh, I came back from three to a November.
And at no point did you say they can't do it.
You literally said you want to see it.
I'm just excited.
They've been trailing for three minutes.
It's weird when you don't have any adversity in the playoffs.
And they had a little bit.
And they still haven't been down two, which is what I was talking about.
You know, I'm like, I want to see them in a hole.
But they showed the exact same bite back they had in the regular season.
And it was fucking awesome to watch.
That team, as we've said, is impossible to kill.
That's their whole MO.
So that was awesome from them.
Absolutely.
And that was really good.
I also wanted to say
the Cains,
shockingly, I wanted to say,
the Cains, I don't think should be
that worried yet.
Because...
Go on.
A lot of people in Carolina
were after game one, we're being like, whatever.
We lost by one. We had three posts.
Gave up two power play goals. Our power play was over five.
Fine. Let's get game two.
You go into game two.
look pretty good take a take multiple leads losing double overtime hit hit at least one more post
and had 50 fucking seven shots or whatever like you're kind of all over him i kev told us that it was like
everyone's shot attempts this year all of a sudden yeah it's so weird but they have like 112
shot attempts you know so i'm like if you're carolina and you played the way you did in both
those games and you feel like christ we should have won both those and you oh dude obviously you don't
want to be down 02. I'm not trying to spin an O2 hole. Like, we're fine. Like, you're down
02. But if you're Carolina and you feel like you should have won both those games and you go
home in game three and pump the rags, you're, I think you're kind of like, I don't know.
Honestly, it would remind me of the 2011 B's cup when you're like, we lose to Vancouver
with like one second left and in overtime and then beat them 111 in game three. I'm like,
it's great fine. Great comp. If they blow them out. If they, if they beat the rags in O.T.
I mean, if they lose the rags, it's fucking over. If they beat the rags in O.T.
I'm like, no, you're, this is, you're not fine.
Yeah.
But if you crush them, I'm like, you feel like you've been the better team if you crush
them in game through.
I totally hear that.
You're right, like the 57 shots, that's something I want to go back to is Igor.
A sway, I obviously love more than life itself, but I think Igor is the best goal in
the playoffs now.
I mean, a 57 shot saved.
Yep, I think he probably took it right now.
Performance, 54 saves, 947 save percentage and 6 and 0 in the playoffs.
It's like, Jesus Christ.
Ridiculous.
But yeah, I mean, like 57 shots.
like Carolina's on you.
Big news is Kachetkoff is starting tonight.
So by the time you guys are hearing this,
we'll see the result of this game.
But I'm telling you right now if...
That's actually crazy to me, dude.
I mean, if you start Kachetkoff and you lose,
obviously this isn't a hot take, it's over.
But if you start Kachikov tonight and you lose,
not only is it, it's over, but you're getting swept.
Because you've now, like, you've lost.
the mental game too.
You're like, oh, we're putting in Kachetkov and like, oh, they beat him too.
Oh, no.
And like, now you're swept.
Everyone's like, Freddy's been, Freddie's fine.
Yeah.
And now I'm like, so he's not fine.
Yeah.
And now yet again, you were swept out of playoffs.
So like, that's that.
Yeah, absolutely insane.
All I wanted to talk about lastly on the series was that Truba mishit.
Oh my God.
Thank God you brought this up.
Thank God you brought this up.
Listen, dude.
That Truba miss hit.
it's the funniest fucking photo I've ever seen in my entire life.
I know people are going to come for me for this take.
I'm going to clip this, so be careful.
Dude, that should be a penalty.
Like, that was a attempt, even with the miss.
Yes, that was attempted murder.
That was attempted murder.
And here's the thing, dude.
The fucking dipshits who are being like, dude, his elbows up because he's trying to
protect himself from the boards. Wrong, dude. His elbow is jettisoned out to kill Natchez,
and then he puts his hands out on the boards. Dude, and not only was it out to kill Natchez, Dan,
it goes out late because he's realizing I'm going to kill him directly to the head. Oh,
it turns out my direct illegal headshot might miss him. So let me throw an elbow out as far as I can,
as far as my elbow will physically reach. Yeah. So I can hopefully put him into such a severe concussion
he'll never play again. And then Chris, his completely reckless, dangerous play leads to him kicking
Naceus in the back of the head with his skate. And spare me with the like, oh, dude, I mean,
it's a crazy play. Bodies are flying. I'm like this, well, no, it was an illegal play that then
led to him kicking him in the head. Like, he should be at least fine, because that was literally
attempted murder. People go to jail for less, Chris.
It's the craziest things up ever. People go to jail for less. Like, real speed. It's so fast, real speed.
And the way he hits the boards, I thought he was going to die.
Yes.
It was attempted manslaughter, dude.
Unbelievable.
That was so fucking funny.
All kidding aside.
That photo is hilarious.
All kidding aside.
And my boy Greg, um, shout out Greg Robley.
Greg, um, he hit me up.
And I, he said it perfectly.
If, uh, if he caught him with the elbow there, he's suspended.
I think it's a 10 game suspension.
I'm not even kidding.
For several games.
He should be so lucky that that.
elbow missed. If he jettisons his body
like that and leaves his feet and connects with that
elbow to the head, I think that's a 10 game suspension.
I would literally be like this. It feels
like I was semi-pro thing. I would blow my whistle
and be like this. It's suspended for life, dude.
Like that? That was the craziest thing I've ever
seen. And I love Trubup,
but that was fucking nuts. Absolutely
nuts. Let's go to more nuts shit.
Final series, Boston, Florida.
Boston with a huge
5-1 win in game
one. They come back for game two.
Go up 1-0 on the sexiest
goal ever.
Marshie dancing everywhere.
Zaka throwing a great pass
across the Creece. Coil getting his first.
Yep. Yep. Yep. And then
whoa boy. It just
all fell apart. Goal, goal,
goal, goal. Florida getting right into their game,
getting in the mud. You're never going to win a battle
with Florida in the mud. That's a lesson to
you, Boston. But a absolute
shit pumping from Florida,
what do you think? I think if you're Boston,
you wanted to get one in Florida, you did, you
don't care. You lost. You don't care. You know,
on.
I stole home ice, right?
I also expected, I said this everywhere, live into friends.
I expected that.
Florida, I felt like was just a little rusty.
They go home after the game won when Boston was ready to go, and they were like,
hey, boys, fucking wake up.
And I expected a completely different Florida team.
I expected Florida to win.
I saw a completely different Florida team and Florida won.
All good.
Like, yeah, I think both teams are happy.
But Burroughs got the home ice in Florida's like, we were back on our game.
I want to do you have anything to add about that part of it before we get into some specifics?
No, I don't think so.
I want to talk about the Kachuk pasta fight.
Wow, okay, we're going right into that.
Yep.
I love it.
People have a lot of takes on this.
I love that it happened.
We get in a lot of questions lately been like, are we going to see more fighting?
And you don't see a ton of fighting fighting in the playoffs.
You see the scraps.
You see people punching each other in the face after the whistle in front of the net.
So I'm happy to see a tilt like this.
And you almost, the playoff, it's almost like dude playoffs.
You don't see a lot of fighting, but you do see stars fighting more.
You know, like, because it's like everyone's just so revved up.
It's time to go.
So seeing those two boys go at it, I thought was incredible.
Yeah.
People are pissed at Kachuk for hitting pasta when it feels like he was down.
Rightfully so.
I, my hot take is this.
And for the Spotify listeners, sorry, but I'm going to kind of reenact it.
They're going.
They're scrapping.
Pasta goes down on all four.
He kind of slips because he's like not really in fights ever.
And he's like, oh, fuck, he's on the ground.
Starts to kind of get back up and get that's when he gets like the first pop one.
Then he goes down again.
Okay.
So he, Kachuk clean clocks him.
Yep. Because like, yeah, pasta's not done.
But that's the one that knocks his helmet off,
catches him square, and pasta goes hands up,
I'm done, turns around.
Yep. And then when he is clearly down
with his hands up in like a surrender motion,
Kachuk clocks him in the back of the head,
clocks him in the back of the head again,
and then punches the ice.
Yep. He's just still going for it.
Yep. So I agree with everything.
I love that pasta shit.
Listen, we're getting our asses whooped. I'm not a fighter.
He's getting pissed because of the scrum.
he and Maddie are John at each other
he looks at Monty and goes I want to fight him
Monty goes fuck yeah do it I love that from both of them
Yeah same
Cachuck like guys getting on Cichuk being like
Well he never fights a fighter he's a fucking guys
Matthew Cichuck is a 100 point score
Yeah so stop acting like Matthew Cichuck is this rat fighter
He's like a Ryan Reeves that he's like yeah you got to square up against the head he hitter
Dude he's a 100 point guy shut the fuck up
Yep
That said when you get in that fight
dude
the
again
I don't mean to be rude
but like the idiots
on Twitter
who were like
it's fighting bro
there's no rules
I'm like there certainly
are rules
there are literally rules
that are enforced
and penalties are given
so I thought that was
bullshit
and I and I
my tweet that went off
last night
and I prefaced
the whole thing
saying we love
Matthew Kachuk
and I do
I love Matthew Kachuk
the person
I love Matthew Kachuk
the player
I think he's wonderful
and people call him
a rat
yes he plays
ratty for a purpose. He gets under people's skin. That was bullshit. And I, if you were sitting
right here, I'd go, that was fucking bullshit, Maddie. Like, do you get under people's skin,
you know, be gritty guy? But punching someone in the back of the head when they're down on the
ice, that's fucking scumbag shit. And I don't think Matthew Kuchuk is a scumback. I don't.
So I'm saying, like, cut that shit out. And I think he would say, yeah, uh, I went a little,
too far. Absolutely. And all I was saying in the buildup was that first one, when pasta is on his hands and
knees and starts to get up that knocks his helmet on yeah i am fine with people are bad about that one
but i'm like dude you that one i'm like pasta you're getting back up you've got to fucking have your
hands up or something yeah no doubt it's when he's on the ground face on the ice and that's why paustic
gets back up and it's like fucking loose his shit trying to like pasta went back in when he was i'm like yeah
because he got punched in the back of the head when he was down 100% total bullshit move um i do
last last last bit for me on the on the scrum stuff i fucking loved montour screaming in marshy's
face.
Bro.
Like Montor,
like not making
eye contact just
screaming,
woo, celebrating the goal.
I fucking loved
that.
And then the lick,
taunt,
like, dude,
we said,
last episode we were
talking about,
is there bad blood
between these teams?
Are they looking for revenge?
And I said,
no.
Now I'm kind of like,
oh, wrong.
Wrong.
There clearly is,
these two teams
fucking hate each other
and they're going to go
to battle.
I love it.
I have a question,
though.
I have a question for you.
Yeah, yeah.
Because I love it,
and when you're
Brad Marshan,
you gotta live by the sword die by the sword
you're a little pest you're a little rat fuck out there
you got to be bet down for people to be rat fucks
back at you is there a statute of limitations
statute of limitations on
things you've done
in terms of how long ago the lick was
like is the lick taunt
too
no far removed
no I don't think so always cool
Burroughs was playing still could you
could you be like giving him bite things
absolutely because I think both of those things were
absolutely preposterous. Yeah, that was.
Like, Marcie licking Calhant in the face
was insane. That was like the craziest thing I've ever
seen. It was insane. So like, that's
going to follow you around for life as a chip. You're right.
You actually, you talking. Right, like that was, that was ridiculous.
Yeah, it was insane.
So I loved it. I loved the games in Chip
of that. The one thing I'll say,
listen, we both picked Florida in this series.
The one thing I'll say in favor
of Boston. Game
one, I think Florida was a little
flat, but not that bad.
I didn't think they played that horribly.
I think it was a pretty even game
and Boston just really won and it was
huge for Boston. Like I mentioned
earlier, it's like geeky, Laura I brazzo
like guys getting on the board.
I thought
this game was just utter
garbage from Boston. They got that first
goal and they were just terrible. Turnovers
are all over the, going to call out
our boy. McAvoy needs to be way sharper.
You're a top five defenseman in the NHL.
You're a leader on this team. He had a really
tough game. Throwing bad passes
everywhere. Turnovers in the zone.
and I
people have gotten on Monty
for lineup changes this and that
I want to give major stick taps
to Monty for Yank and Swamen
because you know what I thought that was
and I think you're with me on this
the boys didn't have it
you go up one nothing
then you go down 2-1
and then like I said you give up that
just pathetic goal
to go down 3-1 with seconds left
in the second period
you go into the third and a quick goal again
Monty looked at the boys on the ice
and went you guys fucking
suck right now. And what you're doing is you're hanging sway out to dry. Yeah. And what we don't need
is to sway, get lit up like a pinball machine, give up six goals. And now his confidence is like
shaken, which is impossible because sway's a fucking savage. Give him a fucking rest, dude.
Exactly. We have it. You have lost this game. Monty saw it. Save his legs. Save his mind.
Get him out of that game. I thought that was brilliant fucking coaching. Me too. Brilliant coach.
Brilliant to see Allmark. And by the way, was kind of in a sadistic way, thrilled to see
Elmark give up a couple himself.
Because if he's just laser locked in the third,
and now it's like, oh, well, what?
You have a question again.
And now it's like, nope, sway's right back in net, and you're fine.
100%.
All right, those are the series.
We got two games tonight.
We've got New York, Carolina.
We've got Colorado, Dallas,
going to be a couple of tilts.
Can't wait for him.
We are joined today, and I'm going to mess up this pronunciation.
I've been trying all day.
He's going to help me out.
We are joined today by a Nortelia native.
Not bad, right?
Wow.
Okay.
It's like you're Swedish.
Yeah.
Well, he's girlfriend's Swedish, so I get a secondhand.
Nice.
I've been learning for a year.
Yeah.
We're going to do that off air, though.
Yeah, we'll do a du lingo together.
A member of the HL all-rooky team,
a four member of the Vancouver Canucks,
the Carolina Hurricanes,
the Calgary Flames, the New Jersey Devils,
a 2017 World Championship gold medalist,
the Arizona State Sun Devils assistant coach
and current real estate tycoon,
Eddie the Stork Lack,
Welcome to the MTV Nader's podcast.
God, I played for a lot of teams.
You were a suitcase, dude.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I was never good enough to stay in one team, so yeah, I moved around.
No, you just too many teams wanted you.
That's why you kept getting moved.
That's it.
Everyone needed your expertise, so you just popped around a ton.
Dude, we're here in Arizona, your home state now, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Correct, correct.
And, I mean, it's unbelievable to have you on the pod.
Thanks for taking the time.
Thank you for having me.
This is unreal.
We just lost our hockey team, too.
Dude, that's true.
I've got a good feeling they're going to be back pretty soon.
but that's a tough blow.
How has the community been?
Good question.
We're going to ask that.
How's the vibe?
Like, can you feel it?
Yeah.
I mean, it kind of been like a morning period, morning period the last few weeks, I feel like.
Yeah.
And just, just, it doesn't really feel real, but I think it's going to feel real once
next season starts and everything.
Where the hell do we go to games now?
Right.
Right.
Or what team do we share for?
I mean, for me, it's easy, because I can still cheer for the Canucks and the Hurricanes and the...
Yeah, playoffs are still fun right now.
Is there a part of the ASU gang that's like, it'll be nice to have the coyotes out of our barn?
Yeah.
Or is that more of like a, no, it was awesome having them there.
Yeah, but I think that it was kind of nice for the players to be that close to an NHL team too.
Yeah.
And like, see the players.
I mean, we had a lot of skates where, where, where, we're, we're, we're, we're, we're, we're,
the players stayed to watch because the coyotes did not practice at the mullet but the road team
was always there so okay oh yeah sick they were close up and saw like the best players in the league
right so that's something that we're going to miss but like obviously ASU is going to be the
hottest ticket in town now for sure for hockey so yeah it's going to be fun that's good yeah that's a
win that's a win well we talked about all the teams that you played for and i want to start in your
career in Van because I feel like that's the one you have the closest connection to you.
You just said that you would root for them.
And you had an interesting start.
Like you went undrafted.
Then you met with a lot of teams that wanted you.
But it feels like they had the best path laid out for you and the team that you were like,
this is the one that I think.
There was one other team that won.
Ooh.
Okay.
All right.
But Van was the one that you were like, no, this is the better fit, right?
Yeah.
And then, you know, you have unbelievable memories of shutout in your first home game there.
The shootout went against the Kings that basically bought you a ticket
to the playoffs and then the Calgary game two playoff win of all those memories and all those
amazing things I think your mom was at that king's game too which is unbelievable it's like you've got
a lot of things that have you connected to that franchise but what are some of your favorite
memories and then what was that journey of being like holy shit I'm going to the NHL
playing for this team what was all that with a lot of goalies who you became really good bunch
with yeah yeah exactly I mean like I think that first home game where I had a shout
out was probably my fondest memory, I think.
Like my goal coach then, Rowling Melanson came up to me before the game.
And he's like, Eddie, you're always going to remember your first home game.
And I'm like, yeah, I'm going to make it memorable.
But, but, but yeah, like, that was such a cool experience.
And I think that was like the first time that I kind of felt that I somehow belonged there, right?
and and the clinching the playoffs and everything to with my mom, my stepdad, my girlfriend in the stands.
I mean, that was super cool too.
But yeah, just like the atmosphere in general there.
And I felt like I embraced the fans and the fans embraced me.
And we just built this special relationship.
that still lasts, right?
Definitely, dude.
They still come and buy houses and everything from me now.
So, yeah, yeah.
Dude, not to mention, like, there was so much on Twitter when, you know, Demco goes down,
then DeSmith goes down.
There was tons of people that were like this.
We need Eddie back.
Like, that was, like, trending on Twitter.
So that fan base still loves you.
So it's amazing.
It is amazing to me that there's some people out there that still think that I can play in an
NHL game if I needed to.
Playing beer league out here or no?
No, well, I actually played forward for the last two years.
Okay.
Isn't that how you lost your tooth?
It was.
Yeah.
I played goalie for 25 years and did not lose any teeth.
My mother-in-law was like, oh my God, you're not a real hockey player.
You have all your teeth, right?
I played three beerly games and both of my front teeth got knocked out.
I'm like, I'm such an idiot for not put it.
Yeah, you need the cage, baby.
Cage on everything.
Tell me about it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's just, oh my God.
Yeah.
But I truly believe that if I played centermen instead of goalie, that I would still be in, in the
NHL as a third or fourth line center.
Just grinding it out.
Just grinding it out.
Walking shots.
Your net front, present, like your Brian Boyle.
Like, like, yeah, just like.
gritty but I get good hands
I can tip to puck and and like
Power play
Power play
Locker room guy too
I mean like yeah that definitely
buys another two three years
Yeah
Lockroom DJ
Yeah
Yeah yeah
PP2 guy in front of the net
Yeah you know
The handout coordination's there
He's two locks in
Bangin and in rebounds
Let's do a year of training
We'll get you back in
Someone will scoop you up as a fourth line center
But I can't skate
I'm a terrible skate
Okay that is a problem
But I do have the heart
compete but my skating is so for the the first year and a half in beer league i still played with
my goalie skates on dude that's unbelievable so everyone heard me everywhere because it was like a
crewship turning it was like and it took the whole zone to like but i still score goals yep
yeah beer league are you kidding me that's that is worth its weight in gold we'll take it we need
Goal.
Score goals and buy beers in the bar.
I mean, that's all you need.
You're literally a beer league.
Yeah.
It's real.
When you went to Van, because again, like an undrafted guy, you get this opportunity.
Who was the other team, by the way?
Philadelphia.
Okay.
Nice.
But it was just like in your mind, the Canucks were just, that was the good fit.
Philly was like interested, but then Van came from nowhere and they told my agent they're like,
hey, like, we like him, but there's 10 other guys like him out there.
so we'll give him 12 hours to decide.
You call us back.
And I'm like, oh, shit.
Like, oh, a signing bonus, $120,000.
I mean, I can retire off this.
Yeah, I'm going home, dude.
Yeah, and then inflation hit.
God damn it.
How long did it take you to feel like a part of that community?
Because you're obviously coming from another country.
You're in this new league.
And I love what you just said is like that that first game,
the shutout was when you're like, I belong here.
I made it in this league and I can compete.
How long did it take you?
in Vancouver to feel like this is home, these people, the teammates, like, these are my people.
So I think it was the first training camp because I was in rookie camp before, and then I stayed for
the main camp, and we were in Pentecton, and I had no idea who my roommate was going to be, right?
And I go down and check with the front desk and everything. They're like, yeah, Mr. Longo is going to
check in soon and I'm like calling all my friends back home and like holy guys I'm going to share
room with the long old like we're going to be best friends this is amazing right so like from from that
moment because I felt that he kind of took me in and like bought me breakfast every morning and just like
kind of showed me the ropes around the stream and everything right so so so from then it was like okay
I got to do whatever I can to get myself here here right yeah and it took one year in
Winnipeg and two in Chicago before I made it full full time but yeah pretty cool that's awesome
what a perfect guy to be here yeah and was he just the best like the nicest guy in the world helping
you out that's so cool awesome you know it's like a guy like that it could be so easy to just be
locked in on your own shit not give anyone else time and to go out of his way it's I
Stories like that pumped me up every single time I hear.
It's unbelievable.
It was like fun because I think like before he started the strombone, Twitter and everything,
like everyone kind of thought that he was a little bit of a prick, prick, right?
Yeah.
But then when that started and his personality and everything came forward,
everyone else saw like what an amazing guy he is.
So yeah, it was great.
That's so awesome.
I got to ask, do you have any fun?
funny Sedin twin stories.
Because you're on that team around those guys who are obviously such big names in the league
and the history of the league.
And it's also just hysterical to think about the fact that these two twins went back to back
right?
Yeah, I think so.
And then they were like, well, we'll only play together.
What was it like being around?
Yeah.
When they weren't stealing your Christmas hands.
Yeah.
Yeah, exactly.
No, like the best Sadin story, I think, was told by that.
to me, but I wasn't there for it, but like, it was one year in the playoffs and I can't
remember who was hurt, but like, Danny was hurt. So Henrik went out and did his postgame media
and everything. Then Daniel needed the treatments and everything. So Henrik just switched
shirt and went out and did it again and no one removed.
the fuck the fuck up
seriously?
Yeah.
Dude, that,
oh my God,
I have to dig that up.
Like,
that exists somewhere online.
Oh,
my God.
Oh, my.
And like,
none of the media
caught on to it.
They were just like,
here's Daniel.
What it works on me.
Yeah.
Wow.
Yeah.
The fact that they're capable,
you know,
I mean,
you know they were cheating on exams
in high school and shit.
Yeah,
yeah, that wasn't their first time.
I love it.
Wow.
That was epic.
Oh my God.
Do you,
do you have the boys beaten in Edmonton?
I don't know.
I
I kind of put my
prediction with my heart
I felt like
but I did Kinnaks in 7
I
think everything has to go
the Kinnaks way
for them to beat them
but I still think they have a shot right
but but
goaltending needs to still be good
Pedersen needs to get going
yeah or play
he might not even play it's insane
and
and
they got to keep being this like gritty hard to play against team right especially with the firepower
edmonton's coming out oh yeah they got to kill penalties too dude their penalty kill was kind of brute
this year the boilers are dangerous yeah that's gonna be a nightmare but yeah i mean would you
is that is your prediction feeling that way with demco out like if demko was in do you think it'd be
like no they can definitely beat them i would feel better with with a top three goals
in that in the head. Yeah, of course.
Yes. But, but
Silvos has
stepped in and he's played
great, great too. Yeah, right?
It's been crazy. Yeah.
So, yeah. So
they still have
have a shot, but
but yeah, like everything has to go their way.
Yeah, absolutely. So true.
The, you played, got to play for torts
and I had to ask about that
because you, you loved it. I've read
a ton of things where you're like, yeah, I had a great
experience.
So dish us a little dirt on why you love Torts so much and what he's like as a coach.
Because almost everyone we've talked to this played for him loves him the man.
Some dudes didn't get along and they just didn't work out professionally.
But I'd love to hear what your take was on that.
And especially tell for our listeners the David Booth story, if you remember that.
Because that killed me.
Yeah.
So, I love Tours, because you never wondered where you're standing with him was, right?
Like, like, even when I wasn't playing a lot, like, he always kept me in the loop and, like, he always talked to me.
And he's like, yeah, you know, like, Louie's playing great right now.
We're going to get you in in the next week or so.
And I'm like, yeah, I mean, fine.
Yeah.
Right?
But, like, thank you for talking to me, right?
Yeah, definitely.
That's so real.
Like, not a lot of coaches put that time in with the backup goal.
I feel like either, right?
and torches just hates the media i feel like and the media hate hates him like back so
yeah he doesn't really make himself a lot of friends over there for good articles and everything right
but all the guys in the room he just loves him right and so i have a few torts and david boo's stories
but one was we played in Detroit and we lost 2-0 and Tours is just livid right and then he goes out to the media.
He's like, yep, David Booth was our very best player today.
That's really good for David Booth, but it's terrible for our team.
Dude, Booth do you have anything to say about that?
He's like, what the fuck, man?
Dude, I don't know.
They just had like a weird relationship post too.
I felt like, yeah.
It's like avoid each other in the hallways, right?
It's just such a ricochet shot that no one needed.
Like, good God.
Well, Torts had this like rule.
So if the meeting started at 5.30, you had to be there at least seven minutes before the meeting started.
Because whenever Torts walked in the room, the meeting started.
So if TORTS was five minutes early and you weren't there, you were late, right?
Yeah.
So we, Boother, like, his warm-up routine was, like, tougher than my summer workouts.
I mean, like, the guy needed every single minute before the game started to warm up.
So, like, normally he was laying in the room waiting for, like, TORS.
doing like sit-ups and push-ups and everything.
And it's like everyone is just sitting around in a circle and he's waiting.
And he's in the middle just like working, working, working.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So we played here in Arizona and a morning meeting,
Bootha wasn't there and Torts was early.
Oh, God.
Christ.
And the whole room is like dark because we're watching the video and everything.
and Boothar tries to sneak in, right?
And Torz is like, Boothar, get the fuck out.
And Boothar gets to the point where he first ignores him,
but Torts keep going and going.
And then Boothar starts yapping back to him,
which is like the absolute least thing that you should do, right?
So the end of the story is like TORDS, which is like up to here, a Boothar,
walks up to him and like tries to carry him out of the room and everyone is just dying.
You've got to be kidding me.
We're like, what the hell is going on here?
Yeah.
Dude.
Oh, shit.
Yeah.
Just like trying to deadlift him and be like, get the fuck out.
Yeah.
It's going to throw his back, dude.
Good God.
I love Boother.
So it sounds like it's not a good idea to motherfucker Torts back.
But would he like mess around with you guys?
Could you joke around with Torz?
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
Well, this is another good Torth story, but Torts didn't think that B'EXa was playing very well, right?
So he took him into his room and he was just like showing clips and video and everything.
I'm like, juice, I can't believe you're still in the league.
Like, this is so fucking bad.
like, what are you doing here?
What are you doing here?
And, like, he just kept edging him on.
So, like, Biazza stood up and was just about to punch him.
And, like, Torch stands up to him.
He's like, this is the fucking BXI want.
Let's go.
Dude.
That is amazing.
Just, like, everything to just, like, get him going.
Winding him up, right?
Yeah.
Torch coach with a black guy as long as BX is.
the grind on the back end.
He gets Biazza right to the edge of beating the shit out.
He's like, wait, go, go, go, go, go.
And then take that out to the ice.
It's fucking perfect.
Dude, something that I thought was super interesting that you said once, when you went to
Carolina, you had talked about how, because of your size, you were kind of able to stay
deeper in your net because you didn't need that edge that smaller goalies had.
Yeah.
And then when you got to Carolina, your goalie coaches wanted you to be more aggressive,
coming out in your crease more.
Why?
I just found that interesting as someone who's never.
played goalie, why do you think there are coaches who differ and stuff like that? And then how did
you take that? Kind of going against the strategy that had been working for you in the NHL.
Yeah. Did you adjust to it easy or what was the deal there? No, like, it was hard. Like,
I felt that I just came off my best years with the Canucks, right? And I went there and, and like,
it wasn't just the goalie coaches and everything. It was like the coaching staff as a whole,
because that's the way that we played with Carolina, right? Sure. Okay. And,
And they just wanted me to be more aggressive and, like, play more out, play more like Cam Ward, right?
Yeah.
Because that worked for him there.
Yeah.
But, like, Cam was just such a better skater than me, right?
And when I came to Vancouver, I kind of changed my game a lot with, like, more just staying in the paint and reading the game more.
I do have a little bit more time to react to shots or if there's a pass and everything, right?
And that just worked for me.
And then going to Carolina and everything, it was just like they should have like played me as a goal that they traded for.
Yeah.
I agree.
You know, I was curious because it feels to me, it's like a weird move to make a play for a goalie like you and then be like, change the way that you play.
And just doesn't seem like a good recipe.
Were you ever able, because you were still a young player in the league, were you able to have that conversation with the staff at all?
Were you like, hey, dude, let me do what works for me or did you still feel like?
Yeah, it was, but it was Bill Peters.
Yeah.
So no, so you weren't.
Shut the fuck with Eddie.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So, I mean, there was a lot of conversations back and forth there.
but but but like i i i i also don't think that i played as bad there as people make it out to be i mean
me and wardo we had similar number both both both years and and and uh carolina was just a very
young team that totally and and and uh i think that i was just like two three years too early there
And like, I mean, I would have loved the storm search and everything.
Oh, dude.
Like, like, right.
It, like, fits right up my alley.
So, yeah, just, like, wrong spot at the wrong time.
Yeah, no, I mean, that makes total sense.
And then it's interesting to hear you say it.
It's, I do wonder sometimes when you've got goalies like Cam Ward,
we're going back like Tim Thomas or Hasick,
who are more aggressive goalies who come out of the paint more,
how much that dictates how the team plays in front of them.
Because it's like if you're a defenseman, and I know I've got a goalie behind me who's, you know, coming out all the time, playing harsh angles and stuff like that.
It's like, that's got to rub off on the way we play too.
Yeah, exactly.
So that's tough.
I mean, we like played more shot first, like letting the opposing team get the shot instead of the pass, right?
Because when you're aggressive and out there, it is really hard to get back.
Yeah, definitely.
So, so yeah, I mean, it just wasn't a fit.
Yeah.
No, it makes sense.
It makes sense.
Yeah, especially because we had Swamen on and he says all the time where he's like,
dude, I don't really have a, I just try to stop the puck.
Yeah.
And eventually people were like, fine, do whatever you got to do.
Yeah.
And it's like, I kind of wish that was more the attitude when you bring in a good talent.
Be like, stop the puck, dude.
That's the priority here.
Yeah.
Take you to another former team.
You get to the devils.
You end your career with the devils, right?
And at that point, the injuries were kind of just getting too much with the hair and everything.
But I was wondering if you could regale us with that February 17th, 2018 game.
You're duel in Tampa who's got that insane offense then.
You go toe to toe with Vassie, making 48 saves, one timer on point.
We were watching the highlights.
What an awesome throwback to the pre-injury when you were really at the top of your game
and like a farewell of sorts.
Like how memorable of a night was that for you?
Yeah, no.
It was great.
And like, I mean, I honestly felt that I led into two goals that I could have had to.
Yeah, I fucking love that.
That's how you know your boss.
That's how you know your style.
And he's like, I could have been better.
I could have had a few more of those.
I mean, I mean, I like think it was 53 shots.
Yeah.
Yeah, dude.
I mean, like, that, that was by far the most shots that I had on that.
And, and, like, we made the playoffs with one point that year, too, right?
So, like, it felt good.
But, but, but no, like, that was a fun year with the Devils, too.
And I wish that, like, I, I stayed a little bit more.
more healthy.
I mean,
it was like I could skate for like a month and a half and then I was out for three,
three weeks and then I was back and it was just like a grind.
So I like kind of felt that I was at the end there.
But, but, but,
but,
but,
but,
I kind of refuse to see it,
I think.
No,
I do that's such a relatable feeling as an athlete.
Yes.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Um,
when you have a game like that,
man,
is we,
we've become pretty good buddies with Swayman and I love,
love talking him about the zone that he gets in.
Do you just feel unconscious in games like that when you're seeing 53 fucking pucks and
you're just turning everything away?
Are you just completely dialed?
Nothing else matters.
What's the difference?
When you really are on, what feels different that night when you look back?
It feels like you want everyone to come at you, right?
Nice.
Compared to like when you're not in the zone or you let in like two out of the first three
shots, you become a little bit more tentative, I feel.
like, and you're like, oh, like, if the next one goes in, I'm out, right?
Yeah, yeah.
Getting pulled.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's so true.
Shit.
Yeah.
The backup goal is just doing some warm-ups on the bench.
You know you're in trouble.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Dude.
All right.
Kicking it to one of the coolest fucking things in the world.
I'm obsessed with shit like this.
So we have talked about and we go all the way back to, you know,
undrafted, wasn't sure if you're going to get in the league,
then you get the call from Vancouver, you're in rookie camp,
then you're in training camp,
then in 2017 you get the call from Sweden
and you're going to the World Cup.
Before we even get into the fact that you make your debut in Germany
against Lafayette and post a fucking shutout, like a savage,
what were you feeling when that opportunity came
and you're like, fuck yeah, I'm putting on the Sweden jersey
and representing my country?
No, it was great.
I mean, I was like,
what the fuck am I gonna do with my past they're gonna be so so like cool with the three
crowns and everything yeah yeah yeah I was so like pumped right first thought yeah yeah but no like
I mean the world championship it's like not as big in the US and Canada as it is in Europe
yeah and but this is something that we grow up with and like like when we win there I mean we
have the parade and everything right and so
And just to kind of live that dream and like to be able to put that jersey all was such an amazing feeling.
Oh man.
Probably truly a childhood dream, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Just like and to play with players that you played with through the different junior national teams and everything.
And like then play as adults together, right?
I mean, such a cool experience, yeah.
Were there guys, like, particular guys that come to mind that you were like,
I've been playing with this person my whole life that were on that team?
Mario Kempe was one guy that we played together.
I mean, Svedberg was another goalie.
He, like, played a little bit with the Hurricanes.
Oh, no, with the coyotes here.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
But he played in Boston, too.
Who else?
Mostly those guys that I played with growing up, but then...
Oh, yeah, Marcus Krieger.
Definitely, yeah, I remember that one. That's awesome.
And then it was fun, too, because, like, it was me, Victor Rask, Elias Lindholm, and Joe Kim Nordstrom,
and we were all teammates with the hurricanes, too.
That's right.
and go over there and win together and everything.
I mean, it was great.
What a moment.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I remember when Svedberg was on Boston.
Yeah.
He would have good games and we used to say we were drunk on Svedberg.
Yeah.
That's right.
The fucking best.
And then dude also, you got to share the net with that bum Henrik Lundquist.
Yeah, they waved in, they waved in some scrub to come play golf.
They're like, we're not going to win with Lach.
What was that experience like with?
him because I just like he is one of these guys now who's just larger than life a legend and like
was it awesome being able to you know wear that sweater alongside him and also just like chair a locker
and with him oh yeah it was great I mean like like I had the same feeling with him as I did with
Luongo yeah yeah right and just like he was a guy that I grew up watching I mean he started playing
in for a little bit when he was like 19 or something and
and I was like, what, 13 or 14 then, right?
And just to see his journey, I mean, he's won a few European goalies that go straight from Europe to the NHL to start a role.
And dominates.
And dominate, right?
Like, yeah, just an amazing experience with like him.
I mean, he, with his.
appearances and suits and everything.
Like,
yeah.
The story was that he flew from New York to Cologne.
Okay.
In a track suit.
And 10 minutes before they landed, he went in the bathroom and he did like the
full like suit and did his hair.
Fix his hair and everything.
So as he's walking out, all the photographers and everything is there and he's just like
tip top shape, you know?
Three piece suit.
Oh yeah.
Look and look a million bucks.
That's fucking perfectly, Hank.
Like I said, I'm obsessed with the international stuff.
I think it's so awesome.
How cool was that moment and winning gold and like that with your family?
It's like I just, there's so many cool moments along the way.
Like we've talked about, you know, making your NHL debut, having great appearances.
But then to do that, like Chris said, like that's truly the childhood dream.
Was that just like the coolest feeling in the world?
And what did you guys get into?
You know, what kind of celebrations do you guys do?
Yeah.
Yeah, so my my dad and wife was down there in Cologne when we won.
And, and, and, and, uh, uh, just like, finally win something, you know, like, I mean, I did.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And, and, and, and, and, and, uh, there was a lot of, so, so, so we, we won it on a Sunday in,
Cologne and the game ended like 11 o'clock at night and there's nothing to do there right
yeah so like here here like we are we're all these NHL guys and like we're just dying to party
and nothing is open so like we're all just just like sitting in the lobby in our hotel room and
and just like drinking and telling stories and everything right but like then we've we kind of awesome
though. Yeah, that's like kind of one of those things.
It's like you were forced to all be together,
no distractions. I love that.
And then
then we flew back to
Sweden and
like just
massive parties.
Like there's people
everyone. We have a parade.
There's like a square in the middle
of Stockholm and we get to go
there.
And
they do it like a huge
concert and everything and we go there with the trophy and they introduce everyone and like parade through
the city and and and yeah just like an amazing feeling oh god yeah it's the best it comes me up incredible
incredible yeah to phase shift into the next stage of your life the real it today stuff that we
were talking about yeah and dude i got to say by the way you're the retirement video that got made
from all the boys yeah what a cool thing like everyone's just chirping oh we'll post it so everybody
Like everyone's just chirping you to death.
It's such a testament to your personality and the guy you are and the relationships you built.
Yeah.
That it makes so much sense to me that the next step was putting those people skills that you have to use.
So if we read it right, your family did real estate already, right?
And that's how you got into this right away.
So tell us about how you got into that.
Yeah, yeah.
So while I was still playing, I was still investing in real estate and stuff, mostly back home.
And my dad's a house.
house builder. So, so, so, so, so, so, so, like, we bought some lots in, in north of Sweden,
in a ski, skiing resort, and we built some houses there. And then, uh, I had an apartment in
in Stockholm, which I never set foot in for the five years that I own it because it was just a rental.
Yeah. And, and, and, and, and, that's how I kind of started with the real estate stuff.
And that's when you know, just to jump in, that's when you know you're a baller.
I do. That was just going to say that. You're like, I've never been there, dude.
I bought it unseen.
My mom was just there and I was like, all right.
And then we just sold it.
Yeah, fuck it.
Flip it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But that's when I kind of started to figure out that this is something that I want to do when I'm done.
Obviously, I didn't think that it was going to be as soon as it happened, right?
But I did not want to move back to Sweden.
It's just so cold and dark.
And when I got the taste of life here in our zone and everything, I'm like, why would we move back?
Right.
Yeah, I mean, it's a big shift.
It's incredible.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And like now, like, we have two kids and stuff.
So like being able to spend nine months of like the year outside in great weather and everything.
I mean, it's amazing.
It's unbelievable.
Yeah.
So it's very hard to pass up, especially.
I mean, I love Sweden.
Yeah, right.
Love it.
In the summer and for the winter, it's pretty cold and pretty dark.
And for your girl.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I love it for Alice, but I also love it for its beauty.
Yeah.
It is like in the winter.
It's tough.
Yeah.
Is it a grind to get like your real estate license?
How hard?
How much of a process was all that?
No.
Like, it's a 90 hour class.
They basically teach you how to not get sued.
Yeah.
And they're like, here.
Just.
figure it out.
Go have fun.
Yes.
Throw it on the fly.
And then we'll wait, hold on.
Tell us about the house.
That's what I was going to say.
Do like that house that's making the rounds with the arena in the basement.
Oh yeah.
Tell them what is the deal with that fucking house and how do we get there?
Yeah.
So it is a house up in the gated community in North Scottsdale.
It's called Silverleaf and that's where like most of the golfers live like John Rom,
John Rom lives there and stuff.
And it's a family that built this house.
For them, they had four kids that all played hockey.
And now all their kids are going to go to school in Minnesota.
So it worked.
Yes.
Clearly.
Yes.
So now they're selling.
Oh, shit.
Okay.
If anyone wants to raise a hockey player, you let me know.
It only costs you $10 million.
But it's guaranteed they go to themselves
It's guaranteed at least
Journeyman HL player
Yeah
College is how much a college cost these days
You got a D1 scholarship
What's 10 million to a D1 scholarship
It's gonna pay it
You're gonna pay it out with tickets alone
I mean give me a break
Is like do you
Is that your listing? Are you trying to sell that house?
So it's not my listing
Silver Leaf who is
the brokerage in the community has the listing.
But I know the owner well, and I've been trying to kind of help him out on the side and maybe
hopefully bring a buyer.
But, yeah.
So if any...
We'll talk to some boys.
We know some people.
Well, here's the thing.
We'll help spread the word about the house if they can set up a quick shini game for us.
Yeah.
And we'll just be all around.
And it'll be great.
But you can't wear your goalie skates when we do it.
That's the only...
There's not enough room to turn in there with him and his goalie skates.
God, what do those people do?
Are they cartel members or, like,
Jesus Christ, it's the most ridiculous house I've ever seen.
No, but there is a lot of money here, nurse.
Yeah, for sure.
Yeah.
That is, that house is a literal dream.
It's my dream.
The four kids are all going to Minnesota.
Dude, look on, anyone listening, click on the listing.
Because I just thought it had the rink, but it's got like, the pool is sick.
The golf course is right there.
There's like a tennis thing.
But the golf course, you got to pay 700 grand to become a member.
Okay, so you're going to add that to, yeah.
It's worse than Riviera.
Good Lord, almighty.
That's unbelievable.
But the last time I played there,
I walk up on the range
and John Rommis with a swing coach
and everything there and I'm like
God, I'm going to shank the first
You just get close enough to hear the instructions for free
But then you're right, I'm like
Show the club and I'm standing here just shanking everything
I'm like paying someone to make a distraction
so John's not watching what I tee off for sure
Well, 850 million is more of an distraction
than anything I can do.
That's true.
Now the other side of later life is your coaching now.
Yeah.
So you started off at ASU
and they had all these weird rules about having so many coaches.
But now you were an assistant coach for the ASU.
No, no.
What is the role now?
I'm done now.
You're done now?
But became an official assistant coach, right?
No, no.
Oh, really?
I was still a volunteer coach.
Okay.
Because one, I didn't finish college.
So I wasn't allowed to be an assistant coach.
And then two, they only get,
Well, the previous rules was you only get two assistant coaches.
Yeah, we saw it.
It was so weird.
So why spend it on a goalie coach, right?
Yeah.
I mean, I mean, it's only your most important.
I was right about to say, dude.
Where else do you want to spend?
Yeah, no.
So they just increased it from two to three assistant coaches.
But it just took too much on my time with like the real estate stuff and everything.
Yeah, okay.
So, yeah.
But I still cheer with him.
And I still do some video and stuff with those guys.
But, yeah.
So I've heard that there's an e-bug story, though, where you were the e-bug for ASU.
No, no, no, no.
Come on.
Robbie's telling me there's a story.
Robbie is.
Tell me that there's an e-bug ASU story.
Robbie's always drunk.
I would take everything he says with a grain of salt.
But if you're going to Vegas.
He's your guy.
He's your guy.
He's your guy.
That is a fact.
What was the time there a blast?
What was it like being around a college team and just even volunteering standpoint?
What was it like being with the kids and seeing them breaking into a new NCAA team?
That's pretty sweet.
It was great.
I mean, for me, the things that I've learned, I think, while I was coaching, it's like things that I wish I had while I was still playing, right?
Oh, that's cool.
Yeah.
Like a lot of stuff, when you're playing, you're like so just focused on day to day, right?
And you're so disappointed if you're not going to play the next game or like whatever, right?
But when you're coaching, you more see the long-term plan and the long-term goal with everything, right?
And I wish that I was like more focused on like that than just the highs and lows of like the day-to-day, right?
Totally. That makes a lot of sense.
It's like it's just another one of these things where you see the facilities, you see the strategies and the coaching and everything.
And you're like, fuck, that's been helpful.
Yeah.
And how sick has it been to see some of the boys go get up to the big time and come from the program into the NHL?
Oh, it's amazing.
I like text to Josh after every game.
And I'm like, okay, just like a hundred and 99 goals left before you can buy my silver leaf.
I told them.
Oh, I love that.
No, like, those, those guys and like, especially him, like, I know, man.
He worked so hard when he was here.
And, like, he, he, he, like, earned every little bit of, like, what's been coming for him, right?
And, and same.
I just missed Joey the court with a year.
But, like, I mean, he's doing amazing with the crack.
now as well, right?
Totally.
So, so, um, the program is like slowly growing, right?
Absolutely.
Now when we have the rank and everything.
I mean, Greg Powers, the head coach told me stories about like when they had the
official visits from guys and everything and like they would show them everything, right?
With campus and girls, what, yeah, like, easy sell.
Yeah.
But they did like everything to not show the ring.
They're like, oh yeah, your flights in four hours.
We get to like the airport now so you're not like late and everything.
Yeah, you want to do one more lap by the pool, actually?
Take a look at the girl.
Yeah, yeah.
Oh, you want to see.
Oh, yeah, there's another area over here.
Right.
But so for them to have the rink now, I mean, it's amazing.
And like, why wouldn't you want to play here?
Yeah, it's a top program.
It's like they really checked every box.
and how awesome is it with donor?
I mean, so amazing that he got in those few games before the team moved.
Oh, yeah.
I mean, with everything that his dad means to that team in this area, it would have sucked if he didn't get his debut until next year in Utah.
And, like, that's no disrespect to Utah.
I'm just saying with how special the whole family is to this, the Arizona community.
Such a moment, too.
That was just so awesome to see him get in there.
It brought such a bus to those last games.
Definitely.
I mean, it was amazing.
to see like yeah yeah it's great no doubt about it all right we're gonna shift away from all
the hockey talk in part and we're gonna play a game with you that we do with all of our guests
okay it's called pass shoot score okay basically a ranking system we're gonna give you three
things that we know are important to you special to you that you're into and you got to rank
them pass shoot score pass is gonna be the one that you know passing's great whatever shooting's
better love shooting scoring's the best yeah kind of opposite for you yeah yeah right you had
We still have to crack a goalie version of this.
But yeah, that's true.
But basically one, two, three, like, Mary Fuck Hill.
Yeah, okay.
All right.
All right, so your first category is Scottsdale golf courses.
All right, so I'm going to give you three of them.
Okay.
I might be messing up the first name pronunciation, but Wicopa.
Yeah, that's good.
Quintero.
You get the pronunciation.
Look at the guy.
It's incredible.
Quintero and Whisper Rock.
So Pass shoot score those three.
And I'm going to pass week.
Iqa pa, shoot Quintero, and the score, Whisper Rock.
Is that your favorite in Scottsdale?
Yeah, do you have a home course here?
So I usually play at Camelback here, which is like half private and half public.
Okay.
But my favorite golf experience here is probably Whisper Rock, yeah.
Okay.
Oh, how come?
Is that the Silver Leaf course or no?
That's north of Silver Leaf.
So I would say those two are like equal.
Sweet.
Okay.
What's that one called?
The one John Rom's a member.
It's just called.
It's just called Silverly.
Yeah.
What's your whisper rock experience?
What's your favorite experience?
I've been up there a few times.
I should go up like four or five times a year whenever I get lucky enough to get invited.
Yeah.
But like it's a man's only club.
Yeah.
Walk in and like they know.
They know, everyone by name, even, like, the guests are coming and everything.
And, like, you don't really have any tea times or anything.
It's just, like, you show up and you...
Wow.
That's...
Yeah, yeah.
Just go out when you feel like it.
Both courses are just, like, amazing.
Insane.
Like, the last time I was there was just before the Ryder Cup,
and we were having lunch, and Max Homo was having lunch.
Oh, no way.
Right next to us.
sick and I offered him a tequila shot because I bet a lot of money on Europe to win right
but he denied it but yeah but you got in his head dude you got in his head this is what happened
he was the only one to play good I know seriously yeah like he locked in after that yeah yeah he's
trying to fuck us up dude I'm this is bullshit love it damn that's a good strategy how's how's the um
how's your game right now how's the handicap uh I'm uh I'm a one right now but you like
not like really playing where I won right now.
I mean, I got two kids.
Oh, shut the fuck up.
I don't get out that off.
I'm not playing well right now.
You're on one.
Shot a 72 at Whisper Rock the other day.
I don't like my game.
Christ.
All right.
Your next one, this category I'm calling a man of taste.
Okay.
Pass you'd score.
Sipping on some Don Julio 1942.
Listening to some Celine Dion.
It's all coming back to me, maybe.
Who knows?
You get to watch my Instagram.
and then putting ketchup on your pasta.
Oh, damn, this is hard.
These are tough.
These are tough.
And I have some follow-ups for you, sir.
Okay, well, I'm going to pass the ketchup on pasta.
I guess it's definitely something I can live without.
But I don't know why it's so fucking weird for everyone.
The tomato sauce is like a tomato-based sauce, red sauce, that you put on pasta.
ketchup is the same thing.
You're not, I'm not fighting.
I have one question.
I don't know what I don't do it.
I don't, I think it's more of a childish thing.
Is it cold?
Do you put it on cold?
Like is it hot pasta cold ketchup?
Or do you heat up the ketchup or is it only cold pasta?
That's my question.
Well, the pasta heats it up with the sauce.
Okay.
So you just squirt the ketchup on.
Oh, wait, wait.
Do you put red sauce and ketchup on or just got?
Yeah, yeah.
Okay, so it's just an added tank.
That's actually kind of interesting.
That might be improved.
I might have to try this out.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
And then did you say Don Julio and.
Celine Dion.
Oh, yeah, Celine Dion.
I mean.
Imagine not scoring Celine Dion.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, I am.
Yeah, I'm going to have to shoot the Don Julio.
Nice moves, sir.
Oh, nicely done.
And they were scoring Celine Dion, baby.
And we're scoring Celine Dion, baby.
See?
That's perfectly done.
Yeah.
In my opinion.
That was really good.
So you're a tequila man.
That's your drink of choice.
Yeah.
Like, I mean, when you're in Arizona, tequila makes sense.
When I'm home in Sweden, vodka makes sense.
Not aquavit?
When I'm in...
Come on.
Yeah.
We're doing midsummer.
We're doing awkward.
True.
But I hate that stuff, but I still take it.
You have to.
And when you're in, like, Scotland or Ireland, you drink gin.
I mean, it's just like, it goes with the territory.
Yeah.
Just on the rocks?
Yeah.
Yep.
I do, I mean, being in Scotland and drinking gin, not scotch, just feels like a crazy move.
Yeah, well.
I hear you.
England, we're drinking gin, for sure.
Yeah, definitely.
But all that tracks, that's right.
Irish whiskey, maybe, risky and I.
Yeah, yeah, for sure.
We got options.
We got options.
But the tequila here, you're absolutely.
I like it.
It's my drink as well.
Yep.
Okay, your next category, we're calling your playing days.
Okay.
So pass shoot score, your Swedish chef mask with Luongo on the back.
the Eddie Lack dance
or taking exactly 10 sips of water from your water bottle
I'm gonna pass the 10 sips
because I'm freaking embarrassed
so I'm such a nerd
no I love it
I fuck that we all do it
I love it yeah
we need those things
and and
I'm gonna
wait the Swedish chef and the Eddie Lack dance
I mean I'm gonna have to score
the Eddie Lack dance
I mean I'm gonna have to score the Eddie Lack dance
yes I wanted that's
So bad.
Yeah.
That mask was gas, though.
I feel like when you said you were immediately thinking about the pads with team Sweden.
Yeah.
I think my biggest regret about not playing goalie is I thought it was always so sick when you guys deck out your pad.
You guys are the only ones that got to customize your get-up.
We were just whatever.
Yeah.
Just always so fucking cool.
Tell us about the dance.
How did that first come about?
It just happened in Sweden, I think, like the first time.
And it was just spontaneous.
And I kept winning.
And I'm like, oh, yeah, this is my dance now, I guess.
And, like, social media team did something with it.
And I'm like, okay, yeah, I mean, let's go.
That's my dance.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, it's lack dance.
I mean, I have a freaking talk on my arm too.
Dude, I almost asked you about that.
Yeah.
And then the 10 sips, was that just random?
That was just very random.
And I took the same skate and everything.
Every time, like, yeah.
Hey, Crosby does that shit.
no one makes fun of him.
He's fucking toe-dragging the McDonald's logo.
He's a little better-player than me.
That's up for doing it.
Yeah, great.
All right, your last one closing you out, this one's pet peeves.
So we'll do this pass-shoot score, but we'll say it's pass is the one that annoys you the least.
So score is going to be the worst one.
Yeah.
All right.
Your pet peeves.
Man United, losing in stoppage time.
When someone says die hard is a Christmas movie.
And then when Chipotle doesn't give you enough.
sour cream even though you ordered double.
Oh, I had Shepa today.
Did you get what you asked for?
Yeah, I did, but it's a risky move, because I might miss the whole first pair of the
Kinex Canucks cane just on the bathroom.
Yep, exactly.
And the boys need you tonight.
So yeah.
Yeah.
And, and...
I know these are tough.
These are hard.
Yeah.
I would say I probably have
The Die Hard is a Christmas movie.
Okay.
Yeah.
So that's the one that bothers you the least.
The least.
Okay.
And Manchester United.
Yeah.
It breaks my heart every fucking weekend.
Dude, we're Chelsea fans, so I get it.
Yeah.
I mean, but you guys somehow have like something little of hope to look forward.
Yeah.
I mean, you guys are starting to climb up.
We're like going down hard.
It's not good.
I take it you're not a 10 hog guy.
You can't be.
He's not a serious.
You can't be.
You can't be.
You can say it.
I have been the entire time.
But like, I mean, there's been so many different coaches with this and no one can figure out.
So at what time do you look at that core and you say like you guys are the issue and like we need to switch each and every one of you out.
Dude, I know.
How brutal is it watching Sancho absolutely bombing the apartment again?
You're like, God, fucking damn it.
What I don't like about Tan Haag is that I feel like he's putting everything in a plan A every single game.
And if it doesn't work out, there's no plan B or anything.
There's no like desperation to get to this point.
or like whatever, right?
Like, when you see the good teams play,
I always feel like, like,
like I watch Real Madrid right now.
God.
I want a lot of money because they came back.
Let's go.
Let's go.
Yeah.
I double down on my earlier bet.
I'm like, they're going to come back.
They're going to come back.
But a team like that, you're like,
it is inevitable for them to score eventually, right?
Yeah.
I don't feel that.
with Man United.
It's like we're so flat every single game.
And the last two weeks is probably probably the first time in like five years where I haven't
watched the games because I'm just so sick and tired of this.
I hate that feeling.
I know.
I relate to it.
It's fucking brutal.
Yeah.
But then, yeah, we can't have Chipotle fucking up your burrito.
Oh, yeah.
So that's the one that bothers you the most.
No, at least.
Oh, that was least.
Okay.
Sorry.
I thought Diehardt was.
And I was like, oh shit.
Okay.
No, no.
Shoot.
Man United is our score.
Man United score.
That's good.
Chipotle, least.
Die hard.
Yeah.
Okay.
Yeah.
Dude, I get bad news for you, bro.
Die hard is a Christmas movie.
You are wrong.
The whole plot revolves around Christmas.
It's a Christmas party, Eddie.
You know Swedish midsummer and everything, right?
So, like, okay, let's make a movie about midsummer in Sweden and in one scene.
We wear, like, Christmas hats, and we're going to call it a Christmas movie in the middle of fucking summer.
Like, that's how I feel like diehard is.
He's got a point.
He's got a point.
Honestly, I get it.
I get it.
I'm not going to fight too hard.
That makes a kind of sense.
It is a kill-every-one kind of movie.
Like, Christmas movie is like a feel-good story.
Yeah.
Coming home for Christmas.
That's where he's right.
You're having, like, the hot chocolate.
with some spike things in there.
And you're just like harmony.
Like, diehard is not harmony.
Oh, it's terrorist.
No.
Not to feel good.
I mean, it is families coming back together.
There's also a dash of exploding buildings and people die.
A dash of terrorism.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's not the best.
Yeah.
Okay.
We'll think about it.
Yeah.
I would give it a New Year's movie.
Okay.
Yeah.
Okay.
That's all right.
It's as far as I can stretch it.
I'm going to put, we're going to post that.
Let's see.
It's make a movement to make Die Hard a New Year's movie.
Getting fired up for New Year's Eve, you know?
Yeah.
See some people blow off.
It's a boxing day movie.
It's like once Christmas is over.
There you go.
Now we watch Die Hard get fired up for New Year's.
Okay.
That's good.
I'm into this.
I like that.
All right.
Well, Eddie, this has been a fucking blast.
Before we let you go, is there anything you want to shout out, anything you want to plug
before we get out of here?
Oh, just thank you so much for having me on.
Like, obviously, you guys can find me on Instagram.
If anyone is looking for houses.
or tequila down here?
Let me know.
We'll send them your way.
Well, this has been a blast.
Thank you so much.
Appreciate it.
Thanks, boys.
Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about BetMGM,
you know we have the sickest deal with them going right now,
and I need you to get involved.
So all you have to do is download the BetMGM app,
and you can make a bet literally from $5 to $1,500.
I will say that again, up to $1,500.
If you win the bet, you take your winnings,
and you have the best day of your life.
If you lose the bet, they take that money
and put it back into your account
and you still have the best day of your life.
How about that?
So all you have to do is use the promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Go to bed M-GGM and get that thing going right now.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 8778-Hope-N-Y or text HOPEN-N-Y for New York.
Call 1-800-3-5-0-N-E-R-E-R-E-RENCE.
21 plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800
next step for Arizona. 1-800-0-0-0-200
for Puerto Rico or visit
www. www.8-800-gambler.net
for West Virginia. First bet offer for new customers only,
subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable
in partnership with Kansas, crossing casino and hotel.
CBETMGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York,
Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Let's jump into
Armchair GM.
Exactly what we were kind of just talking about.
Bruins need to tighten up the ship.
Yep.
This is something, listen, you can write off a sloppy game
all you want, and that was a sloppy game.
game. This is something that went into the Toronto series, in my opinion. I think that the Bruins have
had way too many in-zone turnovers, times where they can't clear the puck, they're getting
sloppy wood on the puck, and just it's leading to guys getting hemmed in, having too much time
on ice, getting too tired, and then these turnovers are obviously leading to goals. So we need to
have a conversation with the D. There's one sequence that they show. It's like, you know, McAvoy,
tough pass to Lori that's not on his stick.
L'Orey has to adjust. He throws a puck back.
McAvoy's out of position. They get hemmed in.
There's a brutal turnover that led to a goal in the third period as well.
There's just something going on with the boys where they're not getting the puck high off
the glass and out when they're hemmed in.
They're not connecting passes in the D zone.
That shit needs to stop if you want a chance at all against this Florida.
A little too cute. Trying to be really pretty.
Absolutely.
I'm like at both blue lines.
and you don't want to overreact two or two or two games,
but both blue lines,
get it out, get it in.
Yeah.
Get it out of yours, get it in there.
I don't need to be being super fancy
at top of my own zone,
through the neutral zone, top of their zone.
Just get the puck behind them.
Get the puck past the Panthers.
Yes.
Pass Bob.
Mine is the discipline of the Carolina hurricanes.
Only two penalties in game one.
I think the range only got two power plays
because there were a few match penalties.
seven penalties they took in game two, the hurricanes.
Some of those calls, I think, were complete bullshit,
specifically the fucking cross-check that led to them losing the game.
So, you know, take it with a grain of salt.
But, man, I think four times already this series,
about four times this series,
they have negated their own power play with a penalty.
Awful.
This Rangers power play was two for two in game one,
went two for seven in game two.
So it's humming along at 50% clip.
And they're just,
you can't hold them down for too long.
That power play,
it's too good.
No.
It was third best in the league.
It's too good.
And I know the,
Kane's PK was,
was, uh,
the best,
but like,
it's not looking great against the range.
You can't hold them down.
You just so,
you got to work hard,
but you can,
if I'm rod,
I'm like,
guys,
when you're back checking,
just get your fucking stick out of their,
how many fucking tripping calls am I going to see?
Seriously.
They're the right call.
You're tripping them.
You're tripping them.
So back check hard, finish checks, whatever.
But just once they get a step on you, fucking keep skating.
Just stop with the fucking sticks in skates.
Like giving that team that many power plays is preposterous, can't happen, moving forward.
You're absolutely right.
I will say the call, I think I forget who the call was against in overtime.
Maybe it was Shea.
The cross check?
Yeah, I can't remember.
Maybe.
But that was harsh.
That was a terrible call.
Giving a power play to the Rangers in Watt's fucking mentholme.
for that play. But otherwise, absolutely right.
Want to do some God I wish I was? Yep. Do you want to go first? Sure. Wow. Okay.
God. I wish I was Vinit Proche. Oh, man. My boy. Dude, remember when you said that was a
dark horse pick for Con Smyth? Dude. I think he's the Consmite right now. Goals in five
straight. Ooh. Maybe even... I called that by the way on Twitter. Hey, Booch. Booch. Where's my shirt, bro?
Yeah. Come on. Um.
a double O T winner at MSG.
Yeah.
And one of the coolest pictures I've seen in a long time.
Okay, you brought it up, not me.
Marsha So did it better.
Okay, I completely agree.
And I'm sick.
I am sick. Rangers fans online.
I'm with you guys.
You know I'm all in.
You know I'm on the bandwagon here.
But enough with the hanging in the Louvre
because Marcia So and the Knights did it way fucking better.
There's a bit of glass, a bit of fans.
in the Rangers page. It's a sick pick. It's a sick pick. One of the coolest
picture. But Marcia So did it way better. That pick is like, like they're trying to do the John Snow
and I'm like, no, no, no, no. The Marshall So pick is way fucking. I was trying to, I almost
said God I wish I was that fan. Like one of the fans who was right there in that moment because
that is so sick. But I'll take Vinny because I'd also like to have an O'T, double OT
winner at MSG under my belt, which he now has. But man, he is firing. They needed that
second line to really be important for them this year. I mean, he had such a good season.
and they really needed that to continue,
and he is fucking doing it.
What a player.
What a player for Carolina.
You hate to see it, too.
Yeah, right.
God, I wish I was.
This might surprise you.
The San Jose Sharks.
That's great.
Wish I was the San Jose Sharks.
I'll tell you what, man.
They win the lottery.
They were supposed to.
But it's always nice to see it happen.
Last year we saw it not happen.
You win the lottery.
You got Macklin Celebrini,
headed back to the bay.
You're likely getting Will Smith.
That's why I told you to pump the brakes earlier
because I wanted to go on this little rant here.
You were stepping on your boy.
Yeah, you're right.
And I didn't want to give it away.
You didn't know.
Probably getting Will Smith coming right in.
So you've got the two best players in college hockey
immediately coming into your lineup.
You signed Colin Graf, I'm excited about.
You still got some great vets on that team.
Unfortunately, Quinn fired,
but that means you're going to have a new coach
coming in to coach these boys up right from the jump.
God, I wish I was the new Sharks coach.
God, I wish there's the new Sharks coach.
but things are looking pretty good in the bay.
I'm excited about that.
I'm excited about it.
I love their jerseys.
I love that fan base.
Really, I do think they're cool-ass people.
It's an exciting time for the San Jose Sharks.
You get a great coach.
Bring someone in, someone fresh.
Coach up these college boys.
And again, speculation,
but I'm hoping that Willie decides to jump.
And then to see Will Smith and Macklin Celebrini
on a line together, too.
That's sick, dude.
Fuck.
Maybe reckless.
Maybe reckless to put these two 18-year-olds together on the line, but fuck, I'd love it.
I think really cool stuff in San Jose.
That's a great one.
I want to close out this episode with Temper Tantrum, which I'm not going to start calling Temper Dantrum.
Ooh, I like that very much.
This is something I felt for a long time.
And I'm going to call out a buddy.
I'm calling out NHL referee Chris Rooney.
Yeah.
I'm not saying Rooms does this, but...
I'm saying Roons, I want you to spread this.
Talk to your boys, right?
I want you to talk to your voice.
Yeah.
Here's my temper tantrum, temper dantrum.
NHL refs, drop the puck at the face off dot.
What are we doing?
Kicking people out of the face off because you're pump faking and guys are jumping.
Or you're sitting there for 25 seconds doing God knows what.
Drop the fucking puck.
I don't get it.
And I will also say this.
I'm going to throw my hands up and I'm going to say, and maybe Rooms can do this for me,
if there's a legitimate reason for the pump fakes and the holding that I don't know about that I've never learned because I'm too much of a plug.
Yeah. Please tell me. And folks in the DMs tell me if there's a reason that refs feel the need to do that that actually makes sense. Okay. I'll be like, all right. Yep.
Until then, I think it's ridiculous. Drop the buck.
Dude, I'm so on your side and I'd love to know the reason. It blows my mind. Guys are face off.
specialist. It's a weapon when you have a Bergeron going. Tavares, I think, was tremendous this year.
I can't have having my guys tossed when it's a massive penalty kill face off or power play face
off or DZone dry with three seconds left in a period. You know, stop it. And I had the theory where
I was like, you should send your winger in first. Yeah. And try to jump it every time. And then either
he drops it and you win it because your winger cheated basically or he just tosses your winger.
Sure.
And then now your actual good centerman is going in.
And that was always my like, oh, that's a sick hack I have that no one in the NHL is using.
And now I'm like, you should just send your winger in first every time because he's going to get
recklessly thrown out for no fucking reason.
Yeah.
And then you can put your good guy in.
Yeah.
It's like I'd love to.
I know it feels probably happens less than I think because I always notice it when it happens.
But I would love to see the amount of times my centerman isn't actually taking the draw because
he's been tossed because it's too high.
And it's kind of the same thing.
I'd just love to see how many tosses happen in the game
because I'm like this just feels it feels unnecessary
Drop the puck
Drop the puck.
I want to see hockey.
Speaking of that, we got two great games tonight
unbelievable stuff.
That is it for us today at the MD Nader's podcast
heading into the weekend.
Everyone get buzzing, watch these games.
We got some bets come and hop on the Instagram.
Subscribe to the YouTube.
Every single one of you listening right now.
You might not have hit subscribe.
Just hit that button.
and until then
skate hard
