Empty Netters Podcast - Alex Ovechkin Passes Wayne Gretzky In Perfect Ovi Fashion
Episode Date: April 8, 2025He did it. That crazy SOB did it. Alex Ovechkin has become the greatest goal scorer in NHL history. And of course it was on the power play. What a moment. Will Stephens from Trailer Park Sports Networ...k joins the pod and tells the guys about discovering hockey, becoming a fan, and who his sneaky picks are. Plus, a few other guys are chasing down the 100 point mark. Cale Makar scored 30 goals. And a UFC fight broke out in an NHL game. The Bauer blind ranking got dicey and this beer league hotline brought up some unprecedented league rules. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: GUY FOX. Head to https://guyfox.com/netters and use code FRIDAY for free shipping & $10 off your purchase right now! 00:00 INTRO 00:19 NOT ICE 13:28 OVI BREAKS RECORD 42:25 HOT ICE 1:04:11 TRAILER PARK SPORTS NETWORK INTERVIEW 1:31:57 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:37:58 BETMGM ODDS 1:44:32 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
And here's the thing I keep coming back to.
42 goals and counting in 61 games at age 39 in a year where he broke his leg.
He could literally score a thousand goals.
He could hit a thousand.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the empty netters podcast.
Brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, sitting next to me.
He wouldn't know class if he were sitting in a classroom.
Once at a fancy dinner, he ordered an appetizer of the Pruscito and melon.
Chris Powers.
As always.
Not my finest moment, Dan?
No.
I was young.
And it was one of it was weird.
Like, I know what that is.
But I don't think I'd ever seen the word.
You've never seen it written out.
Yeah.
And someone said they wanted it.
It wasn't like, I was like, I want this random thing.
Like somebody was like, please order that for me.
And I was like, okay.
You know, I got to say, I just sewered you.
so I'll give you a little tire pump.
You are one of, if not the smartest people I know personally.
Well.
And I don't think people know that.
I think people see your persona and they go, remember that one guy?
Yeah, he's like, Chris is the dumbest guy in the world on TikTok.
It's like, it must be pretty brutal being his girlfriend.
You just have to have the most moronic conversations all day.
And I was like, I have two patents.
I have a master's in electrical engineering.
but they just think you're dumb dumb
because of the way you present.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I'm starting to feel like I'm sewering you again.
That's the beginning of most steps.
But yeah, you're the smartest guy I know personally, probably.
And there are a few things in life where I'm like,
when it comes to a level of intelligence where I'm like,
I am better than this.
And this goes into the story I just told,
you suck at spelling.
Oh, I'm a terrible spelling.
Which is huge for me.
I got that from dad.
Dad's a whole.
Bad speller.
And so, dude, I'm like, I have no idea.
I didn't know that about our father.
People are like, how do you spell this?
And I'm like, dude.
You own it, though.
It's like me with directions.
When someone's like this, how do I get here?
And I'm like, this, brother.
I can't get from the bedroom to the bathroom without Google Maps.
So don't ask me.
And you aren't.
Like, when someone asked you to spell something, you're like, I have no idea.
Don't ask.
Yeah.
Like, I, and the thing, the bad fact is you'd think when you see the word enough,
The ones I don't know how to spell, I should just look up and learn.
Yeah.
Commit it to memory.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
This is how you spell that word.
But I'm just like, nope, spell check will get it.
And I think it's that.
It's like the spell check and the auto correct.
I just get close and it just starts changing it for me.
And I'm like, yeah, sounds good.
And I'm not blaming Steve Jobs, but he didn't help you.
He didn't help me.
And I'm not blaming 9-11 either.
But that certainly didn't help.
No, no chance.
You definitely, I mean, like, they could have written out 9-11.
11.
Yeah.
They didn't need to do the numbers.
Yeah,
agree.
And that's fucked up because that would have helped you.
Go to learn.
But,
you know,
maybe not your proudest moment,
but you're not looking at prosciutto that often.
Right.
And now I got it down,
dude.
Now I got it down.
Yeah.
You never catch me to do that one again.
Do you think you can spell it right now?
Oh, hell no.
I just meant the pronunciation.
Try.
Dude.
I mean,
I just phonetically.
Yeah,
but I don't know if you,
if you accurately.
phonetic to that.
Give it a shot. Give it a shot.
Prasciutto.
P.
Yep.
P. R.
Yep.
O.
Yeah.
You're going to get this.
No, I'm not.
S.
C.
Yep.
I.
Yep.
O.
Do you say that?
No.
So that's wrong?
Keep going.
You said yes on every other one.
I gave you an empowered nod.
Yeah.
T-T-O?
He got the second T, but you did get the, oh, wrong.
It's a U-T-T-O.
U-T-O.
Which was a, I was like, if he misses anything, it's going to be there.
So pretty good.
Pretty good.
Do you like prosciutto?
Yes.
But I think it's slightly overhyped, slightly.
Really?
Yeah, people freak about it.
Do they?
My next question was going to be, who's over-hyping Prishuto?
That's like one of the, that's probably like the most part of,
popular cured meat.
No way.
Yeah.
No.
Salami's definitely.
Well, no, that's what I would like.
I like that more.
But I feel like when the prosciutto is at the store and it's fucking thin and you can see right
through it, everybody's like, oh my God.
Yeah, that's great.
But there's no way prosciutto is finding itself on a charcut board more.
Yeah, more than salami.
Salami is definitely the first one.
Because salami's well.
Salami's the well.
That's why it's on most of the boards.
The prosciutto is top shelf.
It is classier.
That's what I'm saying.
and I like Salami more.
Well, that's okay, but I don't think that means it's overhyped.
I think we're kind of saying the same thing here.
Maybe.
Maybe.
Not my finest moment.
Can I, this is a question for both of you, if you'll allow me another one of these moments.
I'm kind of going out to the listeners here.
I'm going out on a limb.
I'm going out to the public.
It is, it's a beautiful day here in Los Angeles.
It's nice and sunny.
It was nice and sunny yesterday.
We were just in Florida where it was nice and sunny.
summer is here it's arriving and i would like to pose a question to the gen ziers to have your permission
to do that yeah oh yeah you're a jean seer speak to wags dude don't talk to me all right here's my question
to gen ziers i'm going to do this as cool as i can so i don't sound like a boomer what socks are we
wearing this summer guys dude what socks hey putting on a pair of shorts t-shirt maybe a hat
going out to brunch maybe we're going to get a couple memos maybe a bottomless blood
body situation. Bottomless bloody over bottomless meemow. Are you insane? I didn't say I prefer one
of the other. Are you fucking bat shit insane? I didn't say I prefer one of the other. What, what,
what socks am I putting on? I got a pair of sneaks. What kind of socks should I wear? What are
the options even? I don't know. I just know I, I, I remember getting blasted in the face,
like a Jackson Pollock with humiliation last summer when a Jen Z. Z.
tic-tok clown that we work with saw ankle socks on me and was like we're wearing no shows
bro and i was like yeah as if i just insulted his whole family and i was like uh yeah i didn't know
that was bad and what they want they want midcast i don't know that's why i asked i what socks are we
wearing i can't even i can't i can't i can't help dude i can't weigh in i don't know yeah i'm not
looking at you it's just i want it i want to create a sense
safe space.
And maybe you can help me,
Wags,
fucking quiet over here.
I don't know.
What is Gen Z?
You are?
What year?
I was born in 98.
I'm a 90s baby.
Is that still Gen Z?
Dog.
Yeah,
you were definitely Gen Z.
I thought Gen Z was like,
he might be right on the borderline.
Gen Z is 97.
It is for individuals.
Yeah.
Born from 97 to 2012.
Yeah.
So you are Gen Z.
Right on the border.
Yeah.
But yeah,
he's a cusp.
Yeah.
I might be the worst person to ask,
because I do both.
If I'm wearing like joggers,
I'll do no show socks with running shoes or something.
But if it's like sandals,
I get dog for this.
When I wear sandals,
I always wear socks.
Yeah.
Well,
you wear slides, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
I think socks with slides is totally fine.
It is.
A lot of people say that's not fine.
I know.
And they're fucking wrong.
I think they're wrong.
I would say,
you know,
like the little Nike,
not like high socks,
but they're like the normal size ones,
like the mid.
raise whatever. I would say those.
We need Lauren in here so bad.
But I, hold on. Hold on. But push them down.
Do you know what I mean? Push them down.
Not like down all the way.
All right, Lauren. For those who are unfamiliar, Lauren is the producer and a feature on the
Playdate Pod. When does it come out?
When does this come out?
Oh, this will come out. But yeah, I'm talking about yours, but this will come out.
So the people can know.
Our podcast comes out on Mondays and Wednesdays.
Wonderful. Twice a week.
Yeah, it's been great.
So we're having a fashion discussion.
Okay.
And I often go to Lauren with fashion questions to make sure I'm not embarrassing myself.
What kind of socks are we wearing this summer?
For men's or women?
Yeah. With shorts.
Like if I put on a pair of shorts and a pair of sneakers.
Even like the vans that I'm wearing.
Okay.
Shout out Anaheim ducks.
What kind of socks should I be wearing with these?
So I'm not a huge ankle socks fan.
See?
I don't know if we're...
I feel like with the shorts, though, it looks fine.
I just don't like ankle socks.
Like, I do these guys.
Yeah.
So it's like a...
That's my...
Like a crew.
I can't find those in men.
It's like the...
But it's not a mid-high.
It's like a halfway down high.
Yeah, it's like a crew cut.
Okay.
So we're covering the ankle these days.
Yes, we're covering the ankle.
And you want that in a dude.
You want to see a dude
with covered ankles and shorts on.
I don't know if I want to see a guy's ankle.
Well, my question is,
like, if a guy's walking around
with a pair of shorts on,
And he has ankle socks and the ankle's hanging out.
Are you like, oh, that doesn't look good?
It definitely depends on the rest of the outfit.
But, I mean, I feel like at the end of the day,
wear what you're confident in.
It doesn't.
That's good advice.
Who cares what other people think if you're rocking the ankle socks?
We do care.
Yeah.
We do care a lot about what the girls are thinking.
So I don't care what I feel like.
I just don't want to be, I'm an old in so many ways,
and I don't want to be seen as an old.
And just to be clear, Lauren, that on a dude used to be an old.
It was a lame move.
That's true.
I feel like,
it was like a dad love.
I was like, oh my God.
That kid covered his ankles with a sock at school.
And he now has no friends.
That's what used to happen.
And now you're telling me that it's back.
Well, I feel like with my ankles out.
No, but this is fine.
I don't know.
Like that looks good.
My ankle's kind of covered.
But I've got pants on.
Yeah.
So I didn't really think about that today.
I was like, whatever.
My pants are going down to the show.
So crew cut.
Is that what it's called?
I don't know.
I think crew would look weird on guys though because it's kind of short.
So what do you want?
Well, no, this is good information.
Honestly, I'm trying to figure it out.
This is good information.
That's a big question, actually.
Be confident.
I think the fit matters.
Like what?
Cover the ankles.
Yeah, definitely.
There are some cool crew cut socks here.
But I think the lesson here is we need to be open to covering the ankle.
Because that's not.
Try out.
Buy some, buy some tall ones.
See how it feels.
What if it gets, when is it too high?
Like, obviously, you know, I don't want them to be.
into knee high, but like, but if it was like a cat.
Start wearing knee highs this summer, 2025.
Yeah. I think it's an age thing.
You guys are getting there, so.
Yeah. Oh, yeah. Thanks, waggs.
What about, so what about like a midcaft?
That's okay.
I think that's a very sporty look.
Yeah. That used to be a thing.
You don't want it to scrunch. When I was in high school, it was like black midcafs.
Yeah. With like Airmaxes. Yes. Yeah.
I don't think. Do you like that?
Okay, I don't know if I like crew on men's then, because that's fucked, right?
I think that looks daddy.
Not like daddy.
No, I know what you mean.
That's fucked.
Yeah.
So I don't even know, I don't even know what to say anymore.
Yeah.
Like, yeah, that is insane.
Are you shitting me?
Yeah.
No, yeah, I don't know about that.
I like my crew socks, but maybe not for the men.
I think that is completely fucked.
I think the crew sock.
Yeah.
Are these ankle socks?
Yeah.
Yeah, that looks good.
These are kind of high.
But like that looks fine.
Like that goes with your outfits.
Got it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
Well, I'm so honored that you're...
We started.
I was being very vulnerable asking Gen Z
what socks were wearing this summer and I was like, we got to get Lauren in here.
So thank you for your service.
Yeah, that was great.
This is a journey that we'll all continue to figure out.
I'm so glad it's not crew.
Yeah.
Like, actually, I'm not even sure I was willing to go there.
I honestly completely agree.
I feel like if I would step out like that, I would feel out of my skin.
I would move my confidence.
And that's breaking rule number one.
You have to be comfortable.
You gotta be comfortable.
All right, Lauren, thank you so much.
Wait, do you guys, like, call your listeners anything?
Ooh.
Because we have our playmates.
So if there's any playmates also watch you.
Let us know.
Actually, yes, like, let us slide in.
I need that crossover.
Playmate listeners, slide into RZM.
And let me, definitely, let me know what sucks to wear.
Because we've got to figure this out.
We might have to put a poll up.
Yeah, good idea.
Figure it out.
I don't know.
I don't know.
Maybe netheads?
Netheads.
Netheads is pretty good.
You got to just pick something and vote with me.
Yeah, I'd be confident.
Yeah.
Confidence is just, all of them really matters.
All right.
Thanks for having me, guys.
Hey, thanks for joining.
This was educational.
Yeah, it was.
Beautiful.
All right, you're the best.
All right, let's get into some hockey talk.
And we have the most exciting hockey talk of all time.
Wow.
He did it.
He fucking did it.
Ovi did it.
Breaks the record.
Unbelievable stuff.
Alexander Vetchkin away.
at UBS Arena against the New York Islanders.
We called it out.
Sorokin had never been scored on.
Sure enough, Ovi gets there.
Gets a power play.
You bet on it.
Come on.
Shout out C.P.
And he tucks it on a vintage Ovi.
Catch release.
Old school rister.
No look.
Berries it.
Seal slides.
Unbelievable.
It was,
they got pumped, right?
I think they got pumped like 4'1.
Yeah.
But I had said, I think, on a pod, sometimes when you get right up against those records,
there's all of a sudden a gap.
Home run hitters have it where it's like, oh, you go a bunch of games without doing it
because it's all you're thinking about.
There was a version where coming in tide, this is all he was thinking about, you're forcing
it, everyone's trying to get you the puck.
It's outrageous.
No such thing at all.
He had a tip, Dan.
He had a tip in the second shift of the game, like three minutes in, that somehow
clipped Sorokin's shoulder that I can't believe.
didn't go in. And as soon as that happened, I was like, oh, he's scoring today. Like, this is a
non-issue and he's popping one. And yes, I was financially invested in the power play. So obviously
I wanted it. But I just think it was cooler that way anyway. Yeah. I just think it was sick
that he popped over to the off wing, got a pass across, snapped one home. It was awesome.
I want to get into, before we get into all of the amazing elements of it, we had a
a listener, reach out, and sharp action, dude.
Yes.
Sharp action.
Our friend here called and found that the stat that they were blasting all over the
internet was not correct.
Everyone was showing the stat like NHL network, NHL.
NSBN, TNT, everyone was showing this record when OV tied it against Chicago.
Chicago. They were like, Wayne did his in 1,487 games. Ovi did his in 1,486. And that is wrong, folks.
Right. What they were doing was showing Wayne's total games played. He has played 1,487 games.
Wayne scored his last goal in 1479, as in not the year, not the year, on the game total.
So he scored his 894 in 1,479 games.
Then went eight games without scoring.
So I do want to give Wayne his flowers.
He did get 894 quicker than Ovi.
Yep.
Which I think was cool.
But then I would say now, though, Dan, they've played the exact same amount of games.
And Ovi has one more, which is good.
Because if Ovi scored next game, you'd always be able to say, well, Wayne would have scored
the next game too.
Yeah.
It could have scored the next game too, so whatever.
episode, but this, so it was an overreaction when he tied it, but now that he's got one more
in the exact same amount of games that Wayne played. Yes. Then that's... So it is a cool fact that
when Wayne had 894, he had done it in less games than when Ovi got one, 894. Yeah. But
Wayne then did play 1487 games, which Ovi has now played and he has one more goal. Yep. So,
so it's cool. It's, it's, it's, they both got a piece of it. They both got a cool moment. Yep.
And that was sick. Uh, let's go to
the tying goal first.
I want to spend a lot of time on the Islanders game.
But Blackhawks game.
This goes into what you were talking about, dude.
He got three away.
What was the game before Chicago he scored in?
Yeah, you can look that up.
But he scored in the game against Chicago to,
or before Chicago, rather, to get three away from breaking it.
Immediately after that, everyone was like he's going to get a hat trick against Chicago
and he's going to break it.
It was the one goal and a 5-1 loss to the Keynes.
Yeah, there you go.
The way that everyone, and listen, Chicago, it's one of the worst teams in the league,
it's at home.
Obviously, that was the narrative around it.
People were like, he's going to get a hat trick because it's Chicago, because he's three away,
because it's Ovi.
But the fact that that was the narrative, that people were like, oh, because it's Ovi,
he's obviously going to get a hat-trick.
Do you know how hard it is to score a hat-rick in the NHL?
And the fact that everyone was like this, oh, yeah, he's going to get it.
And then he went out and did it.
I mean, I know he didn't get the hatch, but you know what I mean.
He scored two goals.
He scored two regulation goals against the Blackhawks when he was three away from the all-time record.
Like, it is crazy how from that Keynes to Blackhawks to now Islanders game, everyone was like, oh, he's obviously scoring.
And he obviously scored.
I've never seen anything like the way it was just like, yeah, he's just going out and scoring it will.
And there's an element of that Islanders game.
You said that they got pissed pumped and they did.
This team, they ain't playing hockey anymore.
For the last three or four games, they have just been like this get over the puck.
And I fucking love that so much because they have won the Met.
It doesn't matter.
And it's just like crazy to see.
And it's just crazy the fact that he is the age that he is.
And even when everyone on the ice, his team and the opposing team knows all they're trying to do is get him to score.
And he still does it is insane.
And it just adds into the fact that he is the greatest goal scorer of all time.
Dude, okay, I actually want to talk about that really quickly.
So it is a testament to how good he is that, and you just said this, but that when clearly the only objective is to let him score, the fact that he can still score.
Like everyone, it's not, this isn't supposed to be able to happen.
And even I think they would agree they're not playing, they haven't been playing the most sound hockey.
They've been definitely trying to just get OV to puck.
So when a team is doing that, that's not supposed to work.
Yes.
You go, oh, yeah, if you were just forcing a guy at puck and everyone knows it,
they shouldn't be able to score.
NHL team should be able to stop that so easily.
And in fact, there was a stretch in the Chicago game where in the box,
one of the off, like the weak side D or wing on the PK was just shadowing Ovi so hard.
And I heard people we were with, everybody being like, oh, come on, like, give him some space.
And I'm kind of like, no.
No, dude.
I'm like, no, dude.
Like, you know they're passing.
They just take that away.
And then literally, Dan, they looked away for one second
when he had already had one goal in that Chicago game.
Like, they get distracted and then it goes to OV Bang, goal.
And I'm like, that is why you should, like, just stand there, dude.
It is so insane that he even got that second off.
Because I'm like, how did you fuck that up so badly if you're Chicago?
Or if you're the goalies who are like, I know where this is going.
I'm coming across it.
Here comes the OV one timer.
And it's like he's that good that everyone on earth is trying to stop him.
And he just does the same fucking thing and scores.
legitimately C.P. I feel like if I were an opposing team playing the Washington Capitals and they got a penalty, or they got a power play, rather, I would be like someone shadow Ovi and then just play three on four.
Yeah. Like genuinely, who cares? 100%. Because they're so much of their power play is built around trying to get that to him on that wing. But if you're like, no, literally just stand next to him, dude. It's why. I wonder how it would work. If you got rinsed and immediately scored on, you'd be like, okay. I mean, like this is the four on three.
there's too much space, it's not going to work.
But ultimately, he's in the zone.
He's taking up a huge part of the ice.
And if you go, we're just taking away this whole side of the ice and this player.
I wonder how it would literally take Ovi going out of the zone and you following him for it to be the true four-on-three advantage.
Yes.
Which is what he should do.
If someone was doing that, I'd be like, go stand at center.
I would literally skate out until they'd be like, okay, and come back in.
And then you sneak back in.
No joke.
That is how teams should defend Washington on the power play in the playoffs.
Agree.
It's fucking insane.
Absolutely.
He refused the empty netter.
Yes.
We talked about it in November.
We reposted that.
You smartly brought that up.
What happens if the opportunity presents itself?
It was cool watching that clip again.
Yeah, it was funny.
Because I liked how you were like, no, don't take it.
Like you got to score on a goalie.
He is the all-time empty netter's leader.
Yeah, yeah, already.
Shout out our king.
Yeah.
I said you got to do it because of the fans,
which when we were watching back that clip,
And I was like, no, you have to do it.
I remember, like, this was on Saturday.
I remember slightly being like, oh, Dan, you idiot.
Like, this is a wrong take.
But then when I said the fans, I was like, oh, no.
That was at home, yeah.
That is there I take.
You're at home.
No, I still think it was the wrong take.
I think they're, well, this is what I was going to say.
I think they're both right.
This is not me backpedaling.
Like, I genuinely think you're at home in your home barn with all of your home fans,
all these people bought tickets being like, oh my God, not to me.
mention the hat trick element breaking that record with a hat trick someone said that in the
comments a haddy at home a haddy at home to break the record like that is i don't give a fuck
yeah if it's an empty netter that is iconic so i think that's the right take but i also think it's
the right take of him being like no i got to score i want to score on a goal yep so and he came back out
dude like once they scored on the empty netter and then they put spencer night back in because they were up
two and oh we played that last two minutes and had one like that one he really was
rifled kind of like on edge pock that hit night in the shoulder i was like how the fuck did that
not go dude now to be in the saint so i'm sad he didn't do it but i'm also like ah whatever i don't care
um goes to ubs scores against the islanders does the seal slide do you think it was planned
i couldn't tell like he's such a wild man yeah that i believe it could have not been that you're
just like he just scored him was like blah and they just slid across the ice but also the seal slide
is so insane that it made part of me felt like I was like you must have known you're going to do that
because like that doesn't you don't really see that very often in an NHL game dude I loved it
it was so him like the fact that his helmet kind of like falls down a little bit someone spraise him
like yeah kind of like it like I thought he were going to cut his face off it's absolutely perfect
dude I thought it was so perfectly him I loved every bit of it uh the stopping the game yeah
was one of those moments where, first of all, when the bench unloads, I was like, yep.
Then when all the Islanders players came over, I was like, this is sick.
Like such a cool, you know, bigger than the game moment.
But then they just stopped the game and rolled out a literal carpet.
Yep. And while I, looking at it was like, oh yeah, of course.
Like you have to do this.
It still felt crazy.
It was like second period, right?
Yes, middle of the second period.
Like second period.
And you're like, oh shit, we're just like stopping this game completely.
People giving speeches.
People giving speeches.
People giving gifts.
Like you got Wayno down there.
Like backstrom's coming out.
Greeners out there.
I was like, dude, this is crazy.
It was awesome to see, though.
But my question to you, how bad do you think in that moment, Ovi just wanted a beer?
How bad do you think he was like, dude, rinse this game?
Yeah, I'm so sick.
Get me a beer.
We're fucking out of here.
This is over.
Dude, they were down too still, I think, or as well, I mean.
Yeah.
I think he might, if you would have said to him, you guys can just lose.
Like the Islanders win 2-1.
It's a rainout.
Rain out.
Rain out, games called.
Oh, yeah.
I think he would have gone, fuck yes, dude.
I'm so down.
Oh, yeah.
And they would be like, yeah, sounds good.
100%.
And I find that so awesomely funny.
Dude, the Islanders are out, but if they were a little bit closer, I would have been a little
annoyed about if this was like a tie, let's say that was a two-two game.
Yeah.
And I'm like dog.
Yeah.
Like I'm in,
I'm one point outside the playoffs.
I have to win this fucking game.
Yeah.
This is fucking crazy.
Dude,
it was just so,
it's one of those things where,
you know,
I suppose if you're not a big hockey fan,
you could see that moment
to be like,
what's happening right now?
And like I said,
it was funny.
It was objectively funny to see.
While you're in the middle of a game
and you're like,
this is hilarious.
But had to happen.
So glad it happened.
And,
dude,
what an insane moment.
moment. We've obviously been tracking this all year, but we have stuck to our guns, not calling anyone
anyone out, but our friends in the media who have been like, oh, no, like if it's next year,
it's still sick. It'll be such a good buildup. Absolutely wrong. Wrong. This had to happen.
And the fact that this motherfucker did it with, what, four or five games left? Yeah. Unbelievable,
dude. So sick. I think it is so remarkable. You and I got into discussion with some of our
friends.
We look at the the graph chart, right?
I'll do this for the cameras, but like the rudimentary graph chart of Wayne and
OV's records are like Wayne, goal scoring, started super high in his first year, went
even higher, went even higher, and then it dropped off.
70 games, 10 goals in his last year.
Ovi was never up here, but was kind of always right here.
Yep.
and I think the consistency is incredible
is what's so incredible
but this winding back of the clock
we've been talking about it all season long
and it's so cool to see it come to this point
and come to a close
the fact that this man has 42 goals
and we'll score more I would imagine
in these next four or so games
in a season when he broke his leg
in a season when he's 39 years old
it's just insane
absolutely insane
You know, people say, say what you will about Waino.
He's the goat, no doubt about it.
We don't even need to bring up his point totals.
But just looking at Ovi at this age, you see all the funny subway in Cheetos photos.
You see the beach volleyball photos.
You hear the stories.
And he comes out and he just does this.
It's what Osh said, dude.
If Ovi wants to do it, he'll do it.
And he clearly came out this season and went, I'm breaking it this season.
And here he is.
He broke his leg and he still did it.
Yeah, dude.
It's remarkable what this man has done.
Strom and Willie on the Apple, I thought was just so cool,
especially for Willie, but just like, what an awesome moment.
You saw it will be in like history, history to both of them.
You know, like, that's sick.
And then Carlson on the tying one.
It's just like perfect.
I just couldn't have drawn it up any better unless Ocean had been in there.
Yeah, yeah.
A backstream comes back.
Yeah, yeah, right.
I thought those were really cool.
What a fucking send they must have had last night.
They don't play again until Thursday, dude.
Oh, dude.
Like, I'll make sure that's right.
Yeah. Their next game is fucking Thursday.
I mean.
Like they have a green light Sunday, Greenlight Wednesday, Greenlight Tuesday.
Osh, sent us a photo, sent us a photo of him and Devo with the boys.
And I'm like, hell, yeah, dude.
That's why he broke it in that game because he saw the green light, the three greens,
the cascading greens ahead of him, dude.
Can't even see in the distance, dude.
If I fucking break it Thursday at home, yeah, cool in front of the crowd.
But then we got to get on the road to Columbus in the fucking next day.
I'm like, dude.
I mean, they're still going right now.
They're in New York.
Do you think they're skating today, dude?
I think he picked the party city.
Like he was like, I'm going to break it in the city that would matter to me.
So that was fucking epic.
Where do you see this guy now on the, I think we both don't have him on Mount Rushmore.
And I know that there are some psycho fans who are pulling their hair out here on that.
But like, how much does this alone, this season alone, this record alone?
Because we talk about where he is.
If he's not in your Mount Rushmore, which he's not for either of us, where is he?
Is he top 20?
I mean, certainly I would hope, but is he top 15?
Is he top 10?
Is he top 8?
Because like this is an undeniable record.
Yes, it is.
Yes, it is actually.
It's because I was going to say what gets tricky is once you pass some like Mount Rushmore,
like just legends, legends.
Yeah.
You start kind of getting in a little bit of a like guys that I think are better than him.
but maybe like a Datsuk
but don't have the accolades
or any of like Datsu who ever even had it.
Like what did you achieve?
Yeah where I'm like
and Datsk has got some cups
but I'm kind of like
well that's better at hockey and Ovescatsk
and I'm sure there are people
are like well I don't give a fuck
he did what he did and there are some who are like
that's not true.
Yeah there's something like that's not true
and there are some that doesn't matter
especially if Ovi gets a second cup
did Datsu get three or two?
Two
two yeah and and then it's like
I think two
I'll look that up
But then it's like, well, dude, OV has more goals than, he's the greatest.
And I'm here, I'm screaming.
He's the greatest goal score of all time, even before he did this.
Right.
Like, you know, it was a, if he had dropped dead with fucking eight, a hundred, it would have been like a tiger jack thing to me where I'm like, whatever, he's better at goal scoring.
So that is a valuable thing.
Like, you were the greatest goal score of all time.
So it's hard for me to be like, well, there's so many people better than you.
Yeah.
And it's interesting, dude, because you look at the goal scoring.
And like we said, in the literal at this moment, exact same amount of games played in the NHL as Wayne, he has one more.
One more.
It's great goals.
And there were a lot of people, I think, who thought O. would Yager himself and play to like 45 and slowly break it.
But I'm like, no, he literally broke in the same amount of time.
And we went back in force.
And that is so big, dude.
Like that is so big for his all-time ranking record.
And it's just a, it is.
a true testament to how insane he has been and the way he's changed the game. That's,
that's one of those big conversations is like, what have you done for the game? And he has
certainly done a lot. Dude, and I'll be curious. We talked about this off air a little bit because
I did the math the day because I was curious. Through their first eight seasons, Matthews is
20 goals behind him. Yeah. Which is like, or maybe it's like 22 or something. But like that is
nothing really. And I feel like we are entering and, dude, is Matthews going to produce like this for
20 years, fucking God knows. But I feel we are entering an era where scoring is up and up and up,
where Jamie Ben's not leading the league with 80 fucking points. You know, 150 points is going to
become reasonably regular. So I'm like, if Austin Matthews does have longevity, he could
be like, yeah, I scored 50 goals a year. Yeah. You know, and I broke this. So it's like,
it's, it'll be, it'll be crazy to watch is all I'm saying. Yeah. Like, you know, it's,
It's an era-defined thing in a way.
I feel like so many people are being reactionary,
and we'll get into some of that in a minute.
I feel as though looking at how this happened,
my pick would be that Austin's not going to do it.
I think same.
And I just love, especially when you look at the comparative element of it,
I think it is so awesome that this guy,
has just scored 40 plus goals at 39 years old.
It's amazing, dude.
It's fucking ridiculous.
It's fucking ridiculous.
Let's talk about Wayne and his reaction.
You kind of called out when Wayne, even on the tie, when Wayne was interviewed when he was
talking about it, it did seem like Wayne was a little butt hurt.
And I always hate that.
Like I hate that he's even there.
I'm like, don't do this to this man, dude.
Like one of his unthinkable NHL records was just broken.
Like, I don't need a camera.
He was a face.
Yeah, yeah.
What did you think of his response to everything?
Before I even answer that, because I know you talked about this on hockey talk,
but I just want to bring up the number eight retired league-wide thing.
Oh, yeah.
I was going to get to that in a minute.
Okay, yeah.
Which is just going around.
I really don't like that take.
It's just there, you said this, but it's like there are guys,
legends that have played this game that wore eight,
that are retired by teams, that I don't want there to be another eight up.
That's like, well, they had this guy, but then also that's OV.
and I just
Well you know what I'll own this
I said this to you at home
I go kale McCar is literally better than Ovechkin
And like we'll be remembered better than Ovechkin
And he wears eight
So like what are we going to retire eight league wide for Obe
And then when Kail retires be like
Okay so actually there was a better eight
And maybe I'll get roasted for that take
But I'm telling you like I legitimately think Cal McCar is better at hockey than Ovechkin
Yeah
Listen man
I
completely agree with your take. And I also want to say, and that's okay. It's not insulting.
Yeah. It's people are being way too reactionary. I want to use the word silly here and not be
insulting and say like that's, it's a stupid like everyone calm down. We don't need to be rude.
But it is, it's a silly idea. And and I was frankly shocked to hear some people be like,
I think that number should be retired because it's just so reactionary. Looking at it from the most
simple of terms. Eight is too popular of a number. Like eight is retired in other franchises for iconic
players for their franchise. Cam Neely for the Boston Bruins. Like you're going to retire eight
league wide now and have people come up being Bruins fans and be like, oh, eight is retired for Cam,
but it's also retired for Alexander Ovechkin. Why? And they're like, because he has more goals than
anyone else. And you're like, oh, okay, who has more assist than anyone else? And like, who has more
this than anyone else? Who is more that? I think people need to
to understand that, you know, Jackie Robinson is retired league-wide for a very clear reason.
It was a monumental thing for the game of baseball and humans.
Yeah.
Should be retired.
Wayne is retired league-wide because look at the record books.
Yeah.
He changed the game of hockey.
He popularized the game of hockey.
He brought hockey to fame on the West Coast.
He has every record in the record books now, one less.
But also, I know this sounds stupid.
I promise you guys, it was an easier decision to retire 99 league-wide because 99 is so unique of a number.
It was iconically him.
Yes.
It wasn't just a fucking number.
When Wayne was playing guys, people were wearing numbers 1 to 30.
Yeah.
Like it was weird for guys to wear super high numbers back then.
That is a part.
I'm not saying the only reason, but it was part of the reason.
So now when everyone's wearing all these numbers, like eight is just,
Cale wears eight,
Dowdy wears eight.
There are just,
there are too many people
who wear eight.
And, you know,
we talk about it.
We have Sid on our Mount Rushmore.
He doesn't have the goal record,
but he's got some other records.
He has most consecutive point per game,
like, are we retiring 87?
And I know there's some people are like,
yes, retire both.
And I'm just like, no, guys.
You retire their numbers in Pittsburgh and Washington,
and that's obvious.
That's where they belong to your time.
They will then be in the Hall of Fame.
They will be on the list of the top 20, 10, whatever, players of all time, as they should be.
But we don't need to retire their numbers league-wide.
And that is okay.
It's not insulting and it's not discrediting what they have done.
Correct.
To answer your Wayne stuff, yes.
When he tied, even kind of the build-up to the ties, there was a few.
You know, he's always telling that Gordy Howe story about he was embarrassed and everything.
And there were a few where I was like, dude, he's like, yep, uh-huh, this is okay.
And, dude, to be very clear, by the way, I actually hope deep down Wayne is pissed.
I don't want him to admit that to anybody in public other than his family,
but I legitimately hope that truly deep down, he goes, damn.
Not that he's, and I think it's great for the game and all that stuff,
but I legitimately hope as a competitor.
He's like, fuck that.
I wish I had that right.
Yeah.
I wish I never got to see that get broken.
And I'm sure he might be like, no, it's a beautiful thing, but I'm like, no, dude, that's how I'd feel.
But I think it's both.
Yep.
I think you're so right, Chris.
Like, it's, to me, that is the, that is not only the response I bet he has,
but it's the one I hope he has.
Yeah. It's okay to be like, fuck.
I mean, I liked having it.
Yeah.
I'm glad the game's growing and I know that he loves Ovi and I know Ovi loves him and
you're happy for your buddy who you, you know, we're a mentor to in ways and you watch
come up and play.
But you should be like, fuck.
Yeah, exactly.
I like having that.
I like being the greatest goal scorer of all time.
Yes.
So I don't think that it's, I don't think it's a problem at all if he feels both the ways.
In fact, I hope he does.
And that's why I said earlier, I hate that they put cameras in these guys faces in these
moments because I'm like, don't fucking put him on the spot like this.
Exactly.
So I don't totally blame him.
But on Sunday, he would.
It was all class.
Janet came out.
They had gifts.
It was great,
great presentation,
great speech.
I really liked that.
And I want to say,
dude, I caught this
actually on the plane before we landed with the TNT crew,
um,
was doing their thing.
And Waino came on and,
um,
bones,
bones joint.
And he said something to Wayne.
I'm not going to get the quote right exactly,
but he said,
his question was like,
Wayne,
uh,
I'm dating us,
but we played in the wide open high fly in 80s.
Or,
you know,
that's when you were there.
and talk about how much of a challenge it's been for Alex to do what he's done,
to hunt down this record with the goalie equipment changing and all that stuff,
which Wayne gets all the time.
And we talk about, and every hockey outlet talks about it all the time.
Wayne scored all those goals on plumbers.
Like, look what Alex did.
And Wayne said, he admitted that, of course.
He was like, yep, fair enough.
But I just thought, and you could take this as salt too.
But I thought this was such a good response.
He goes, I would like to say, though, keep in mind,
I would love to have played three-on-three overtime
and have automatic ozone draws on the power play
and have guys not being able to literally shadow me all-game
and just hook and grab and claw me with no calls.
And again, if you want to take that as a little salty, whatever,
but for me, I was like, actually, fantastic point.
Wayne Gretzky and a three-on-three,
every time a regular season game went to overtime,
Wayne Gretzky with no clutch and grab,
where people are wheeling through the neutral zone this year.
So yeah, like Alex is shooting on way better goalies with more structure and better equipment and everything,
but I don't accept that argument so one-sided.
Perfectly said.
I was about say it's give and take.
Because, yeah, you look at the Wayne stats.
I was doing this today.
I said recently, I don't respect Mario enough.
I know.
I just like, I was so obsessed with Wayne and Bobby that I was always like, whatever, dude, Mario Lemieux, fuck off.
But like, he's goaded.
Yep.
But then you do watch the highlights and you're like, damn, the game was way slower.
Like these goalies are wearing some of them wearing no masks and then the rest of them wearing the plaster masks and you're like, I don't know if like you look at the clip of these guys playing.
I'm like, you put exactly that speed and ability in today's game.
Are they scoring that many goals?
But it's just not fair to do that because you add in those things.
3V3, the ozone draws, he would have more goals.
And then I also think the other thing that goes both ways is like, you guys.
You got to remember, yes, shooting on goalies with worse equipment, weren't doing the butterfly,
but don't forget that they're wearing 25-pound boots.
They're using a 20-pound wooden twig for half their careers.
Also great point, Dan.
Like, those are factors, too.
Like, you put a wooden twig in these guys' hands today.
Some of these boys in the league couldn't even fucking lift them.
So it does go both ways.
It's important to think about that stuff.
pausing the paw to tell you about an epic promotion that bet MGM has running and they're doing it every
Wednesday. They're doing it literally every Wednesday and you're missing out every Wednesday,
which is craziness, which is absolutely insane. It's the second chance promotion.
Okay, if you bet on someone to be the first goal score in a game and then they score first,
wow, you are a genius. Take that money and run. If they don't score first, but they score second,
you get your stake back in cash. You get your stake back in cash. You get your stake back in cash.
every single Wednesday if you miss that first goal score.
It's insane.
I need you take an advantage of it.
And when you get that BetMGM app,
when you download it and you use that promo code netters,
that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you can win up to 1,500 in bonus bets
if your first bet loses.
Okay?
So bet on a first goal score on Wednesday.
Go like this.
Oh, he's first goal score.
I win.
Oh, he's second goal score.
I get my stake back in cash.
Oh, he didn't be the first goal score.
I lose.
Well, no worries.
I get 1,500 in bonus bets because I use promo code netters.
Come on. Outrageous stuff from bed MGM and I need you involved.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler. Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York.
Call 1-800-3-5-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-Masthus.
21-1-800-offly. Call 1-800-1-8-1-8-1-2-3 for Iowa.
First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-wwithdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel, see BetMGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
We're talking about goals. We're talking about points and streaks.
Pasta, we deaded him.
Yes.
Like last week on Pasta, we getting 100 points.
It looks like he might do it.
Dude, it was just cool.
Like, we just talked about watching OVB like,
I'm going to score.
And then just scoring whatever he wanted.
A week ago, we said, damn, what a bummer that Pasta's not going to get 100 points.
And the reason that was cool for the listeners,
if you don't remember last time,
he was looking to become only the third Bruin ever,
which is kind of a crazy stat,
to have three hundred, or sorry, three straight,
100-point seasons.
Or had six straight,
and two of those he led the entire league in Pruin.
points. It's just a fucking shit show. Espo had six 100 point seasons, but only five in a row,
and the season he missed in between. It was like 100 points missed and then five in a row.
The one he missed, he had 99. Insiguer. Pasta had 1.13, 110 and is currently at 97 with four
games left. But dude, a week ago, he was cooked. And then he's on a six game point streak had five
points in a hat against Carolina two nights ago, three apples last night against Buffalo.
And it genuinely feels like to me, Dan, he went like this, fuck out, I'm getting 100 points.
Like we suck, we're going to lose every game, but I will be getting 100 points.
Oh, it's definitely on his mind.
You know, we talk to guys all the time.
Guys come on the show.
We talk to them socially, and they're like, yeah, I'm aware.
Like, people know.
And that's not selfish.
It's good.
It's good benchmarks to have for yourself.
Going back to you saying crazy that the Bruins only have two, three straight,
I have felt that way all the time.
And then I think about it more.
And I'm like, I don't think it's crazy at all.
There's a lot of franchises who have like 100 points score or zero.
And I wasn't really aware of that until semi-recently.
And when you think about it, the 100-plus point guys are usually the same guys.
It's the same collection of a couple dozen, three dozen or so, who have hit 100 points in a season.
So when you think about it, it's like, is it that crazy that one franchise has only had two or three of those guys?
No, it's not crazy at all, right?
Yeah, it's hard to find that exact stat.
But it's like off the top of my head thinking about like the penguins, for example.
It's like who has 100 points multiple times.
It's Mario.
It's Sid, but like not consecutively all the time.
Yeah.
And it's like, okay.
The Oilers must have a ton.
They must have like four.
Yeah.
Like Wayne, I guess Mess did it too, Curry.
And now these two.
Like coffee at that even.
Yeah.
Maybe not.
I don't, I don't cough.
I doubt Koff had like more.
Did he have three in a row?
I don't know. I don't know. Let's see.
But either way.
That's like one, we've named one team.
Yeah, he had three in a row for Edmonton and then, oh, only two in a row for Pitt later.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And like not only two.
Like that's absurd for a defense.
Dog.
So yeah, that is interesting.
And Dan, this is cool.
This is what I did find while I quickly looked that up.
The 70-71 Bruins, the 82, 83 Oilers.
the 8384 oilers, the 8586 oilers, and the 92-93 penguins
are the only teams ever to have 400 point scores at the same time.
In a season.
Yeah.
That's fucking ridiculous.
That'll never happen again.
I'm here, I'm calling it.
I'm here to call it right now.
That's actually fucked, Dan.
You're probably right.
That's absurd.
But on pasta, I've said it before.
I'll say it again, dude.
I think that there is a world where pasta is the most skilled Boston Bruin of all time.
Yeah.
Skilled.
Yep.
I still think Bobby, but I hear your argument.
Yeah, it's, it's Bobby for me too, probably.
But like it's, like I said, I always love saying there's an argument.
Yeah, yeah.
You know, it's obviously a very, very different game.
But like, Jesus Christ, man, like he's absurd.
And I do think in particular these past two seasons, the guy is, he's got 40, 50 points more than the next guy.
He's fucking absurd.
Dude, it was sick to, not to bring everything back to Sid, but it was sick.
that pasta was like nearing 100 but wasn't going to get it and was nearing 40 tucks but wasn't going
to get it and then he was like haddy i have 40 also i'm getting in a hundred now yeah and the other
night sid scored for his like 28th it was like the first goal of the game i was game casting the first
period and i was like god be sick if sid got 30 this year i'd just be happy for him and then i
refreshed that game it was like sid haddy 30 yeah i was like oh whoops like yeah dude
don't care another guy chason a hundred marner dude dude has it had a 97 and a 99 in his career
he's at 94 with six games left.
Want to hear the six games?
Yeah.
At cats.
Who are tanking.
Yeah.
At bolts.
Nope.
Verse habs.
At canes.
At sabers.
Oops.
He needs six and six.
You think he does it?
Six points.
I mean, do I think he does it?
No.
Really?
Do I think he absolutely could?
Yes.
I'm going, yeah.
I just think Toronto is not in this selfish puck.
No,
they're not.
It's weird.
Probably won't let him.
down.
Yeah.
He gets the 99th.
He's like, you sit your ass down.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's like they are in, they're chasing, they're doing everything they can to chase the
cup this year and they need to finish first or maybe not because now are they
going to play Ottawa?
Like, I don't know what's happening.
Yeah.
You want to get jump by the lightning.
Play Florida.
Yeah.
Legitimately.
Play Florida.
Dude, we've been all wrong this all times.
It's fucking crazy.
So I, I don't think it's going to be a get Marnerer his cookies vibe.
So I, when I say I don't think he does it, I'm just, I'm looking at it from her perspective.
of this is not high on their priority.
Yes. But I have been at the front lines many times of defending Mitch Marner and how
unbelievable of a player he is and now, even if he gets 100 or not, the fact that he has a
97, 99, and at least a 94 in his career.
And people are like this, he's not that good.
I'm like, come on.
Okay.
I don't know.
He's also a Selky guy.
I know.
He hasn't even been that bad.
It's absolutely absurd, dude.
Going on to some goalie talk, dude.
Yeah, I wanted to take you through something here.
Because there's been so much helly hype.
Yep.
Deserved.
Oh my God.
Extremely.
Shout out to our Winnipeg fan listeners.
Like, deserved.
And he absolutely should and will win the Vesna, in my opinion.
And this is changing a lot.
But as of this morning, I just thought this was cool.
Goals against in the league, Darcy Kemper 203,
Connor Haleebuck 204, Vassie 216.
Yeah.
And I bet in Vassi's last 20 games, it's probably like 1-8-4.
Like he's absurd.
Save percentage.
Hellebuck 924.
I want to throw a love to Stelars because he's here too.
Stelars 922.
So Helibuck 924, Stelars 922, Vassi 922, Kemper 922.
And then shutouts, which I thought was a blood bath.
I was like, Heli S7, but it's Heli 7, Vassi 6, Kemper 5.
The real separator is wins.
Healy 43, Vassi 36 Kemper 28.
Yeah.
In way less starts.
Obviously his win percentage is pretty similar, but he just starts with us.
Yep, yep.
So yeah, dude, I don't, I love our Jets fans.
I love these Jets.
I don't want to take any love away from Hellebuck.
Again, he will win the Vesna.
Want that to be very clear.
Yeah, but I really want to show some love on Kemper because at the start of this season,
I was really bummed that the Kings didn't do more at goalie because it felt like that
has been a hindrance to them the last few years, especially in that Edmonton series.
And then when Dewey was hurt, we were hanging out, having some beers before.
because he couldn't travel and he was on his fucking scooter.
And I kind of was busting his balls and I was like,
oh, dude, I just wish you guys had done a little bit more in that department.
And he was like, watch your mouth, dude.
I've played with him on Kenny and other teams.
And we played with them in the preseason.
And dude, he is a dog.
He is a gamer.
And if we get the best version of him,
then we did solve everything you were concerned with, we solved.
And God damn it, dude, if he wasn't spot on.
And we'll see in playoffs.
Obviously, if he lays an egg in the playoffs
and they get pumped by Edmonton,
then it doesn't really matter.
No, he's nasty, dude.
Fucking hell of a season.
And we'll be a Vesna finalist, probably.
And as I said, dude, he is a Stanley Cup winner.
Yeah.
Like, that is just, that is so much for me.
And I'm like, how many times
did that Chicago team win cups?
And people are like, Corey Crawford's not good.
Yep.
And I'm like, this, well, he wins cups, dude.
Yeah, he's a job done.
It's, yeah, I think he is, uh, he's been a revelation.
And we've said it before.
we'll say it again, maybe the greatest trade for both parties in NHL history.
And like the caps, they were able to get Logan.
Logan's been unbelievable for them, but they were like, yep, we need another center here
and look at our boy, PL, just playing so well with them.
It's so sick that they were like, the caps were like, we're willing to trade Kemper
because Lingren's our guy.
And then they bring in Logan and like, oh, actually Logan's disgusting.
Logan's.
And PL's great.
Yeah.
And then the last thing too, Dan, like you just said, Vassie,
climbing these charts, he isn't going to do enough because I don't think he'll get the goal
goals against close enough and the wins is seven. It's too many. I don't think he'll do enough
to steal the Vesna no matter how hot he finishes. Yeah, yeah, yeah. But dude, we said this offline.
Be aware, be very wary of playoff Vassie and reentering the chat, dude, because like if he
shows up for playoffs and is peak Vasselowski and Tampa's playing as well as they are, I'm like,
oh shit.
They are obviously great teams, but that's how they won those cups.
Dude, and like B, let's eliminate the blues because they have, they are a bunch of small
aliens who have stolen the talent of superstars and they are officially the monsters right now.
But last 10 to 20 games, I'm not sure there's someone more dangerous looking than Tampa.
Yep.
And so much of it is him.
Unbelievable.
Ridiculous.
So watch out for those hot goalies down the stretch here because we've seen that make
massive differences in the playoffs. I like where we're headed on a couple of these guys.
Talking about goal scoring, we can't go much further. We've alluded to him a couple
times in this episode. Kale McCar gets 30. So sick. So sick. First defenseman to do it since Mike
Green in 0809, 9th defenseman ever to do it. Kale has had 29 before in his career. Now he has
30. Yep. Dude, it's so crazy. It's so crazy. When you talk about it too, I mean,
look it over in Washington.
Chick has, what is you have?
22 now or something like that.
But it's so cool seeing defensemen score like this,
but we have so many conversations on this show
and in the NHL space about, you know,
Quinn, Kale, some of the other guys.
And we've said so many times it's not to, you know,
I mean, I love Quinn.
I can't say that enough.
Kale is just really in a, he's in a league of his own.
And we have friends in the league.
league who very passionately say
Kale is the best player in the NHL.
And you see stuff like this and you're like,
oh shit, yeah, he might be.
And it's just crazy
watching what he does.
Ninth defenseman ever, as we
said, it's happened 18 times.
He has 91 points, dude.
Yeah, it's fucking ridiculous.
He is a defenseman.
Mike Green did, I want to shout out
Mike Green because he's last one to do it like he said, 0809,
31 and 68, which is fucking sick.
I mean, that's absurd.
games. Dan, who do you think has done it the most times as a defenseman over 30?
Bobby?
Yes, five times.
Who do you think second?
Ray?
No, Ray only once.
31 goals in 83, 84.
Paul?
Paul.
Paul coffee four times.
Dennis Popvin three times.
Let's go.
Dude, tell me if you know the amount of goals, most goals ever scored in a single season by a
defenseman.
it was Paul yeah
I probably would have guessed Paul
actually no I probably would have guessed Paul
it only beat Bobby by two
oh wow okay so it was pretty close um 50
48
dude 48 talks
I'm so glad it's not 50 because I would have been like
Jesus Christ but did Bobby or
can you imagine watching that season
when Paul coffee's just scoring at will
what are you doing dude shout out coffee family
we love you guys but that much
Must have been nutso watching that.
He goes.
You're like this coffee scored again, dude.
So the three, it's been over 43 times.
Paul Coffee 48, Bobbyor 46 and Paul Coffee 40.
And Dan, over, but listen to this, dude, from 69, 69, 70, 71, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75.
Yeah.
Five years, Bobby Orr scored 185 goals, 46, 32, 37, 37, 33, five years in a row.
Dude, the end-to-end machine, brother.
And the end machine.
Getting a consistent, dude.
Collect the puck.
A consistent average 37.
Yeah.
37 from your defenseman for five years.
Yeah.
It's pretty sick, dude.
Good to rely on.
Collect the puck behind your net.
Don't stop until you score.
That is the method of Mr. Bobbyor.
Unbelievable.
Kale.
Kale, Bobbyor, Reborn, dude.
It's fun to watch.
Fun to watch.
Let's go to another fun to watch defenseman.
You wanted to give me a little treat here with Lane.
I just thought this was so sick.
I found this randomly pulling.
some sats. It's not even a second. I just knew you, this would fire you up. Lane Hudson,
you're a rookie of the year. Has he broken since this record? Not yet, I don't think, but he's got
a chance at it. Lane Hudson pumping in points, assist machine. He was a minus 20 on the year. Who
cares? Max, a minus a billion. I care. But I know, but like, you know, whatever. Lane was a minus 20
when we broke for four nations and is now a minus two. Yeah, they're buzzing. And has been on the ice for
13 empty netters. So think about what Osh was telling when you're just like getting rinsed.
Yeah, God damn.
Yeah. Been on the ice for 13 of those. It went from a minus 20 to a minus two in since foreign nations,
dude. That's fucking sick work. I know. It's absolutely ridiculous. He's got six goals,
58 assists for 64 points on the season in 77 games. How many assists did have? I believe he had
62. He had 63. 63. So he needs five more assists. How many games they got?
I think they've got five games left, four games left.
I think it's five.
I could do it for sure.
I mean, he's fucking, he gets three a game, bro.
They have five.
Yeah.
I mean, that's fucking easy work for him.
Dude, that's simply doing it.
He'll do it tomorrow.
Way they're playing, that's easy work for him.
But I think that that's crucial, dude.
I mean, a lot of guys have sort of shit on the habs with their run.
Like, people, you know, we keep talking about things like, oh, you know, I think I saw someone on Twitter.
We're saying, oh, we want them in the playoffs over the Rangers.
We want them to, oh, my gosh, what if they play Toronto?
And someone was like, dude, this team is a minus 20 gold diff.
They fucking stink.
Stop acting like they deserve to be in the play.
They do deserve to be in the playoffs.
They are more fun.
But I think the bigger one is that number is changing.
And you're seeing it with Wayne.
Like you see Lanes plus minus getting so much better.
That gold diff is getting so much better as well.
But, I mean, what a special.
fucking player.
Oh, my God.
I mean, we said it last week.
The Calder race is over.
And the kid is, it's the confidence, then.
Yes, dude.
It's the confidence that it can't get over.
Playing in that building, in that market, being an undersized guy, you have rival
fan bases trying to chirpy all the time, and he's just fucking dumping points down people's
throat.
I fucking love it.
It's insane.
Quickly, let's touch on the UFC fight that happened in the NHL over the weekend.
We had a little scrap.
Things got a little chippy in that Carolina, Washington game.
Jalen Chatfield and Connor McMichael dropped the gloves.
Chatfield hip tosses Connor like a drunk trust fund dipshit out of a bar.
No bucket looked pretty dangerous.
I said that if it was my team.
I have the only take on this.
If it was my team.
that I was watching and rooting for,
I think caught up in the moment in the game.
As a fan, I would have gone like this.
As he tossed him, I would have gone,
yeah, hell yeah.
And then the second people started going,
that was a little fucked up.
I genuinely think I would have gone,
actually you're right.
Sorry, got cut up in the hype.
It looked cool, thought it looked cool.
But now that you'd bring it up,
I do think that was a little unnecessary and dangerous.
Yeah.
And the second half of that is where I feel some cane,
fans failed.
I think you would have done it faster.
I think you'd have been like, oh, fuck yeah.
And then as we were being like, oh, yeah, you'd be like,
that was kind of sketchy.
Whoa, dude.
I'm like, yeah.
Yes, it was.
Yeah.
I quickly went to Twitter on it and I said, love Chaffield, this was ass.
Yeah.
And that's all it is.
Cheeks.
The amount of, there are two things that I'm here to call out, I'm not calling
out Cain's fans because we give it to Cain's fans sometimes and ultimately at the end
of the day, we love you.
I'm calling out just fans because this isn't a uniquely Keynes fan thing.
This is a fan thing.
The two responses that not we got but the world was getting the most was,
that's hockey baby.
You don't like hockey, go watch soccer.
Yeah.
Real original chirp guys.
And then the other one was Tom Wilson did this against the Habs earlier this season.
I don't want to sound like an elementary school teacher.
but I don't care if someone else did it.
I don't care.
I certainly don't care if that other person's on this team.
I wouldn't care if it was that person who was done to it.
It's a penalty.
It's a bad, shitty, sketchy move to pull.
Don't give a fuck if it's been done before.
Murder's been done before.
Yeah.
Doesn't matter.
Don't do it.
Don't do it.
And the that's hockey.
Here's the thing, dude.
No, it's not.
that's not a hockey play.
That's not a fight.
You are like, I was actually funny.
I talked to Biazza about it.
And he was like,
there's technically no rule against it.
Like once the gloves come off,
anything goes.
And I love that take from Bexa
from a standpoint of,
I love that he has got that killer instinct,
mindset that's like anything could happen
in this fight.
But I'm here to tell him as a friend.
That doesn't mean anything should do.
Like, I don't want you to feel that way.
I don't want you to feel like someone could
pull out a chair
from the stands and smash it over your head just because it's not in the rule book.
So it was sketchy as fuck, but again, Chadfield's not a dirty player.
That's why I was like, I love the guy.
Like it doesn't, it's not a big deal.
Sometimes shit happens.
And those are the times where it's like, there was that play.
I think Willie went to stick lift someone this season and whiffed and hit him right in the
fucking face.
And he was just like, ah, fuck me.
And I'm like, yeah, I love Wilson too.
And sometimes you make a bad play, the wires cross, or you just go a little too far.
and it's a penalty and it's okay.
But ultimately, dude, we can't be no Bucky hip-tossing guys
with like a leg sweep.
It's the leverage.
Yeah, it's, you got to be careful, dude.
You got to be careful.
All right, babes, I want to talk to you for one quick second.
Coming from your resident fancy boy, you know that I love looking good, feeling good,
and a huge part of that is smelling good.
So I'm going to hook you up with one of the best deals going right now
and talk to you about our friends at Guy Fox.
Buying cologne sucks.
Everyone knows that.
It's such a process.
You go to a department store or something like that,
and you're getting blasted with all these different smells.
You walk out smelling like a chemical plant,
or you're buying blind online.
You have no idea what it smells like.
You just look at the description,
and you cross your fingers and you hope for the best.
Everyone has that same bottle of cologne forever,
and it's just such a nightmare.
Guy Fawkes has taken all of those problems out for you
and making it incredible.
It's personalized.
It's fantastic.
Smelling good.
makes you feel good. Studies show scientists have done the tests. 90% of women care about what a guy
smells like. Boom. That's all you need to know. It's time to start smelling your best. Guy Fox is
helping you do that. Two friends started this company and they have named all these fragrances after
their best friends. I've said it before. I'm going to say it again. We need a DP scent. We need it.
We're going to get it eventually. I rotate all the time right now. I got the Nelson.
This Nelson smells like eucalyptus, sandalwood, and cedar.
It's unbelievable.
I smell like the best kinds of nature.
I smell manly.
It's beautiful.
Absolutely loving this one.
Rip it every morning, and I smell good all day long.
Guy Fawkes loves empty netters.
We love Guy Fawks, so they're hooking you up right now.
If you go to guyfox.com slash netters,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you're going to get free shipping and save $10 on your first order.
You can get this unbelievable sample set
like I've been talking about.
They've got all of these different scents.
You can try them out, see which one you like the best.
Then you make your decision.
You get the full bottle.
You get hooked up.
Guy Fawkes also has candles.
They're making the whole house smell good.
What more could you want?
Go to guyfox.com slash netters again.
You're going to save money on your first order,
10 bucks and free shipping,
and you're going to be smelling your best
and feeling your best.
This is a no-brainer.
Get to it right now.
All right, we are beyond thrilled.
Oh, my God.
Beyond thrilled to welcome a new guest, a new member of the hockey fan community.
Will Stevens of Trailer Park Sports Network coming to us from Alabama just lost power.
Dude, today, lost power today and is in the chair.
And now he's here joining us on the engineer's pod.
What the hell is up, my man?
How are you?
Oh, you know, surviving advance.
That's the season.
Tis the season for surviving advance, dude.
Yeah.
Dude, so you got to tell us about first,
tell us about Trailer Park Sports Network
and then also how and when did hockey come into your ether
and when did you decide, okay, this is not something I can ignore,
I need to become a fan.
Okay, so firstly, Trailer Park Sports Network is one of those things
that was like, how have we gotten here?
Because I was just making videos and just talking about things.
The Olympics popped up.
I had lost my job and I made a video
and then some dude
you might know and Rico Nose came in my comment section
one time was like, your trailer screams
a life of karma and I was like
well that's a crazy thing to say to a 22 year old
that's a crazy thing to say to a 22 year old
right? Like that we could all agree
that's an insane thing to say to someone is 22
and I'm like you know what? Oh whatever, whatever.
And I started blowing up and I was like, wait, hold on.
This dude just joked on me for my trailer like a month or so
ago and now I have this platform.
Yeah. Trailer Park Sports Networks. I think that
would just spite the hell out of him.
100%. And he sure did. Yeah,
100%. And like that's what
you had to go with it. So you started the network.
Do you have a favorite sport? What was the first
thing that came to mind when you started doing it?
See, that's the weird thing.
This started during the Olympics. So I was
just covering like the most
crazy of things like speed climbing.
You guys got to check out speed climbing.
I'm going to Google this later.
I'm telling you, man.
like speed climbing you got to check is that the one where they scale the wall and there's like the button at the top that they have to hit yeah that shit is actually wild yeah it's electric absolutely electrifying i was watching the women's rugby i saw alone marr i saw her like stiff arms she looked like derrick henry yeah yeah yeah i'm dialed i'm dialed in forever yeah i have the i had the rugby pass and everything i was every single month i pay to watch rugby yep like but i was just covering random i fit in like the gap
between like the media and everything else.
That's perfect.
And that's a sweet, that's a sweet spot.
It's a good place to be.
That's a sweet spot.
So do you remember the first moment that hockey came across your radar
and just captured your attention?
Four nations.
Yes.
Come on, dude.
I mean, like, okay, well, actually, it was a couple months before that.
I forgot who it was.
It was somebody on the flames, like, jumped over somebody and hit a goal.
And I saw that, and I was like, wait, this hockey thing is kind of cool.
Yeah, that's interesting.
But once Four Nations hit, and I saw a buddy just dropped the gloves as soon as the puck
drop. I was like, wait, hold on.
Yeah.
I was like, wait, hold on.
Yep.
Hold on now.
What are we doing here?
And then you got another fight.
And then you had another fight.
And I was like, wait, I'm dialed in.
Yep.
Because hockey players, they care.
Oh, my God.
For me, I love the passion.
I love when I can see that you care about your sport.
Yeah.
Whenever I watch hockey, I'm like, dude, you guys want to be here.
You want to be on the ice.
What they find out all these only missed 35 games in his whole career.
Doug.
What?
Lo load, load management.
I was sitting here.
Fuck load management.
Yeah.
You play an 82 game regular season, bro.
You've missed 35 games in your career.
Guy broke his leg this season, dude.
Yeah, it's absolutely insane.
Right.
Like literally broke his leg.
And I love, too, Will, how you are getting into hockey.
You're new to hockey.
You watch the Four Nations tournament and you see that game and immediately,
like Will knew that that was a moment, even without having any context.
That goes to show how wild that was.
Yep.
Oh, yeah.
I was just, I was Starstri.
And I was like, yep, this is what I'm doing for the rest of year.
Because, like, I'm a Cavs fan anyway.
Okay.
The NBA isn't really something I enjoy for the most part.
Like, hey, we're doing pretty good now.
I was going to say a good season.
Yeah?
Yeah.
But, hey, we're a second round exit.
I'm going to be honest.
We're going to be a second.
He's a realist, dude.
He's a realist.
I knew I liked this guy.
This is huge.
Like, it hurts to say, but we're a second round exit.
Like, we're going to finish one of the best records just to, the east.
is bad.
Yeah.
If we're going to be real,
the east is just bad.
That's why I watch a hockey,
because, like,
even though, like,
you know,
the bottom of the league
is definitely the bottom of the league,
they try.
Yep.
And, dude,
that's true.
They try.
And when you get to playoffs,
dude,
those first rounds aren't a joke.
Like, one through eight
and the NBA is a joke.
Like, or one,
1V8.
In the NHL, dude,
that 8c can win.
Like, any of those low seats
can win first round
in a seven-game series of tilt.
For sure.
Depending on,
especially depending on who it is,
like,
I like hockey
because you might just run out of gas.
Yeah.
Like you could have had like a great regular season
and you could just run out of gas.
Yeah, it's a grind.
It's a grind.
So I know you're new.
Do you have a team?
Are you hitching your wagon to anybody?
Or are you just enjoying the vibes right?
I saw you in a wings jersey.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
You know, I, I'm hitching myself to an Eastern Conference team
and a Western Conference team.
Smart.
But until that,
there's a box on the way with stuff in it.
of that main number one team.
And as soon as that box gets here,
I'll tell everybody.
Oh,
who it is.
I think for the most part,
I know you got king swag too.
For the most part,
everybody knows my Western Conference team.
I feel like most people, like,
know that one.
But I,
is that,
is the Western Conference team
the one that the box hasn't arrived yet?
Yep.
Okay.
I feel like I know who I will.
I think I know who I rock with for the East.
Wait.
It's between the canes and the wing,
or it's between the canes and the wings now.
Oh,
so wait,
it's not the Kings?
Like, because I know you have Kings gear.
Like, are we just dogging the Kings, even though they already doubt to look?
Oh, I, you know, they did, you know?
But they were never in my original list.
Yeah.
Okay, that's fair.
Dude, you can't buy his love, dude.
Like, that's my support.
I've, I've been, like, very upfront about that.
You can't just, like, send me merch and expect me to be a fan of this.
Yeah, I can't be bought.
I'll support the team.
I like that.
I like that.
I like that.
Dude, what was your, I saw you post.
What was the checklist?
on like what you need to support a team.
Like you need good vibes, good front office.
Like what was what was the list of requirements?
Yeah.
My, you know, I have a,
I have a great, wonderful list of criteria here.
Yeah.
That's good to have.
And this is smart.
You got to.
Like, and you know,
some people got a little upset over my criteria.
But like, it is what it is.
You know, this might need to be.
It's all about the, it's all about the good vibes.
The front office competency is huge.
That's a big one.
It's huge.
That is massive.
Like, yeah, number two, front office competency.
Number three is the mascot energy.
I really care.
Like, I, like, I, I need you to have a good bad.
Yeah, it's so important.
The draft capitals number four.
That's also important.
Okay.
That shows more front office competency.
Okay.
So Bruins are out.
Just a little bit more.
Yeah.
Yeah.
The current stars, even though, you know, some of the teams I'm looking at, the current stars, you know, is.
I mean, I feel the same way.
Like, you got to have someone to be excited.
about on the roster right off of that for sure right oh yeah and then coming in at number six
you've got the sweaters the sweaters matter i was wondering when you were going to say that dude yeah
100% dude like if you if you have the luxury of coming in fresh not having a team and getting to
pick yeah you have to consider the fit i mean you're not going to be out here picking the worst
sweaters in the league no chance no no and then lastly you've got fans i need to have passionate
yeah okay of course i i think to be on
honest, dude, and I think this is another reason why hockey is amazing.
I don't, off the top of my head, I genuinely can't think of a fan base in the
NHL that doesn't have pretty solid fans.
Like, we deal with all of them.
And I think the easy ones to say would be like Anaheim, San Jose, stuff like a lot of these
West Coast teams, dude, they bring it.
San Jose fans are crazy.
So we talk it all the time, dude.
Ducks and Sharks fans online, they're out of control, dude.
It's amazing.
It's so fun.
I like the Sharks fans.
We don't want you to reveal it yet.
We want you to wait for that unboxing it.
Reveal, but can you tell us, is the West Coast team about to be in playoffs or not?
Oh, no, definitely not.
Okay.
Okay.
Interesting.
The Eastern Conference team, yes.
The Eastern Conference team, yes.
Okay.
See, I like to have one team that sucks just terrible.
I get to like watch them come up.
Yeah, yeah, you get to rise.
Like middle of the pack.
Yep.
Yep.
Yeah.
I mean, it's good to get in ground for.
Oh, yeah.
In baseball, I'm a Braves fan because, you know, I grew up down here.
And then I'm an Angels fan because the Rocket City trash pandas were in my sister.
Yeah.
Oh, sick.
Dude, dude.
Fuck, that's awesome.
Oh, yeah.
Dude, maybe the greatest name in 70 Pro Sports.
It's awesome.
We sold that name.
We do like a charity little league thing out here and the team's called the Trash Pandas because it's fucking awesome.
Dude, I love the trash band.
It's such a great name.
That's great.
It's one of the best names ever.
It's so.
So East Coast, you said Cains and Wings?
Yep.
Yeah.
Okay.
I like that.
I had the caps in there.
But then I was like,
you know
I'll be not going to be there long
true true true true true true true true
but they've got great young player you got
Ryan Leonard just joined but I like
I mean listen we love the caps but people would think you were a bandwagoner
if you jumped in on the caps right now yeah we can't have that
I'm a supporter because what
Nick Dowd is from Huntsville
true dude that's hell yes that's sick
that's big alright you get an association fandom credit
for that yeah that's good
I'm surprised you like the cane sweaters enough
like the wing sweater is all time but I'm surprised you like the
they're like those like black ones oh fair yeah that one sick the flag
yeah yeah those black ones are guys and and little wayne is a fan
dude well you're doing weezy f baby dude
will's just snapping around the love everywhere he sounds like me I like this dude
I like that a lot favorite teams everywhere you got you got to like find out like
the little things about the teams it's not about the stuff that everyone's in my
DM's trying to tell me I don't care about this thing
So are you born and raised in Bama?
Yeah.
Okay.
So there is no, like we've got no, you know, no hometown routes.
I thought when he said canes and wings, I was like, oh, he's going red.
Well, are you, are you a-
I mean, I guess we've got the Preds, but like, here's the thing, right?
Here's the thing.
I'm going to be completely honest.
Predators from Smashville just sounds so bad with no context.
That's true.
It's dangerous.
It's a dangerous game to get into.
And if you're talking to people down there.
South who don't really know about hockey and you're being like, yeah, I'm a huge fan of
Predators.
That's not great.
That's going to get you in trouble.
That's so good, no.
You know, like, it's the same thing with like the Oilers.
And to me, the Oilers and the Predators, that's the Diddy Bowl.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
They play each other.
Dangerous.
Also dangerous.
That's the Diddy bowl.
So we can't be them.
Yeah.
Can't be them.
Who would want to go to that game?
Nobody.
I mean, Diddy would love it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Actually, actually, there's a list of people that want to go to that game.
And I need to see that list.
We need to reveal that list.
Someone release that list immediately, please.
Okay, so don't tell us, we're going to wait for that unboxing,
but when that happens, you've got to make sure to let us know
because we need that whole fan base to know that they've got a new one and a good one.
They'll definitely know.
I guarantee a majority of the fans they know.
They know already.
All right, good.
I like that.
So before we get into playoff picture, because I want to hear who you're liking,
who you think have the best vibes going,
have you gotten on the ice yet?
Yes.
Have we got you a pair of skates
and have you tried to wheel around?
No, I cannot ice skate.
Dude, this has to change.
I think this is the next step, for sure.
You know, I've thought about it,
but then, you know, you remember,
I'm from Alabama.
You know, it's not like one of those like,
oh, yeah, let's go get on the ice.
Yeah, right, where are you going to do?
Where's he going to do it?
True.
But they've got to have a sheet down there.
For sure, right?
I mean, I think we have a rank in ice.
Are you in Huntsville right now?
Yeah.
I think we have a rank in my city.
There you go.
Like, there's definitely learned a skate going on.
I mean, I would hope so.
Okay, dude.
Okay, we got the Huntsville Ice Sports Center,
which is on Lehman Ferry Road.
Do you know where that is?
Oh, yeah, it's down the street from the skate park.
Okay.
Boom.
Dude, we...
Now we're talking, bro.
I think, yeah.
Oh, yeah, dude, they got a good sheet here.
They got free skate.
Looks like they got, like,
they even got, like, a disco night, dude.
There's, like, the sick lights up there.
This is the move.
dude. Huntsville Ice Sports Center.
Okay, so here's the deal, Will.
If we get one of our partners
to get you a pair of wheels, by that
I mean skates, and they get sent to the trailer,
you have to go get on the ice.
I will actually get on the ice.
Okay, you got to send us your shoe size.
You know, me and Josh will get on the ice.
Because I figure y'all have seen Josh in the video.
Oh, yeah. Oh, yeah. Oh, yeah.
He's a bit, because his list is behind me.
Oh, shit.
Wait, this is his favorite team.
Yeah, he's, this is Josh's top five right here.
That's fucking sick.
Hold on.
He's a wild blues.
He's on the blues chain, dude.
The wild blues, canes, wings, stars, and at zero, he's got Ovi.
Yeah.
Dude, Ovi's S tier.
Yeah.
I like it.
Yeah. OV over everything.
Yeah.
OV over everything.
That is sick.
Yeah.
When Ovy retires, when Ovy retires, Josh going to throw some on the grill.
Yeah.
It's, it's going to hit like that.
And we've only been hockey fans for two months,
but, like, that's how much he likes Ovi.
Yeah, you guys are in it, bro.
Like, this is huge.
What a sick time.
What a sick time to get in and get that OV experience.
Yeah.
Like, we're kind of bored with basketball.
Dude, it's a bad product now.
It's a bad product.
And especially think about when they got into it,
got into it during Four Nations when the NBA All-Star game was boring as shit.
Four Nations was electric.
Then we got OV chasing down Wayne.
Like, these guys got in at the perfect time.
God damn.
This is fantastic.
And they had passed.
Like there's a bunch of passion.
You love to see it because like you can't you can't be soft on ice
Correct you know I's big facts they're just gonna run through you they gonna run through you like shit through a pig
Yeah, it's just this mm damn tough dude I'm so that's fax dude I'm so pumped dude I'm so pumped for the playoffs to start for you we said this before we started recording
But I'm so pumped dude because it it it it ratchets up three levels dude like these guys putting everything on the line every other fucking night everybody's hurt it's fucking chaos dude
Unbelievable. Oh yeah
Oh, yeah, and the stars are going to manage to lose the F.
Yep.
Yeah, dude.
Wow.
All right, all right, all right.
So here's a thing.
I feel like it's a bold take, but I just, it's back to what I was saying earlier.
You might just run out of gas.
I think the stars are playing so good.
They're just going to run out of gas.
Okay.
All right.
We're going to work on getting you some skates.
But, but yeah, let's get into as a new fan.
What are you seeing?
Who do you like going into these playoffs?
Who do you think is the best shot of the cup?
And who's, who's a fraud, dude?
Who's a fraud and is going to lose early?
Ooh, fraud?
I don't know.
But I, like, if I'm any fan base right now, right?
I'm terrified of the blues.
Yeah.
I'm terrified.
I'm absolutely terrified.
I don't know what it is.
The April fools the shit out of the wings.
Yeah.
Man.
They were like, hey, you thought you had this one and just won an OT.
I was just like,
you know they're on to something.
Dude, I've got bad news for you.
I'm a big wings lover too.
The past couple of seasons has been.
a lot of that. We've been getting April Fool's in March.
Yeah. February. It's
tough stuff right now. Yeah.
I feel bad for you guys because I just looked at the schedule and I was like, that's a
gauntlet. I just saw today there's a 93% chance of making the
playoffs if the wings win out. If they win out?
Yeah. Jesus Christ, dude. How many games they have left?
I think six games?
What did the haves have to do? Lose like three in a row?
Like, yeah. They need to lose a lot. It's going to be tough for the wings.
I want to see the habs.
So you like the habs.
Do you think they have a shot, though?
No.
Oh, not a shot in hell.
Okay.
Okay.
I just, I like their, they're like, okay.
Passionate fan base, I think they have like really good energy right now.
I think they could, they get into the playoffs, whoever they play round one, they're going to annoy the hell out of them.
So fact.
But I think they're going to annoy the hell out of them.
They're going to steal a game, at least the one.
Yep.
Probably don't win the series.
I love that.
Rink is going to be rock into it.
It's going to be hard to win in Montreal.
Yeah, it'll be very hard to win.
Yeah, that's my thing.
Yeah.
Yeah, that's my thing.
It's like everyone says like the Bell Center is like one of the best places to watch a game.
It's insane.
The environment is one of the best environments in all of hockey.
It's going to be a, it's going to be a pain.
Have you been to a game yet?
I went to, uh, Preds Ducks.
Oh, sick.
Nice.
Okay.
Yeah.
And also my, the Huntsville Havoc invited me to a game last weekend.
So I've been to two games.
Let's go, dude.
Dude, we got to get him a list of Barnes
and start calling in favors.
I am, I'm like trying
if I can, if I can swing it.
The LA King send me a message.
They were like, yo, we'd love to host you
for one of our playoff games.
You just got to get here.
Bro, we're here.
Hit us up.
We'll go with you.
We do stuff with them all the time.
We'll probably be at that game.
So we've got to figure that.
So like my, I just got to figure out
how to get there.
Yeah, yeah, we need this.
We need tornado to stop.
Does the trailer have wheels, dude?
What the fuck?
Let's get this thing on the road.
Like, dude.
I
if I had a new set of tires
I'd drive
Yeah that's a chalk
though
Like real like real spill
If I had a new set of tires
I would just drive
Yeah
Love it turned it into like a
Like a
Content trip
100%
Yeah I'd find something
Dude that actually
Also you know what I love
Will you got the itch dude
I can tell
You got the it
You're in it right now
Dude which was it for playoffs
Did they say
Or regular season
Playoffs
Dude I think
I feel like we could make
this happened. We get on the phone with somebody and go, yo, get Will a flight. Just get him out of here.
I mean, it sounds like they already said that. Maybe we put some pressure on. Yeah, yeah. We'll see.
We'll get, we'll get, we'll get, we'll get to bond this too, because we're coming with you.
That would be sick. But give me, I like the, uh, I like the blues shout. I like being afraid
of them. But if you had to pick two, give me a, give me a horse in the east and a horse in a
west that you, if people are taking bets right now that you think could win the cup.
With the way they're playing right now, I like the canes. Yeah. It's, it's, it's, it's, I feel
like that's a crazy pick, right? I feel like this crazy pick just because they're,
they gave a ranting
but like they handled that trade
really well to me
I feel like they're
they play like really well as a team
they've got good energy
and I think
depending on matchup they can make it out of the use
it's a matchup thing for me
agree because they're going to have to get past the caps
I like the caps yeah right yep
but I don't
I think one of those younger teams
you take them to seven they're going to run out of gas
yeah dude I like this I like how he's on
me too wear and tear on the boys
He's seven games.
Dude, he's educated.
He really knows about the game.
I love this.
All right, and then who in the West?
This might be a crazy one, but I think it might be the Kings.
Oh, dude, that would fucking...
I think I just, like, match...
Come on, dude.
It's another matchup one.
It just depends on who they, like, matchup-wise, who they get as they go.
But I think they're getting hot at the right time.
My thing is, they get that matchup with the Oilers first round.
Yeah.
Like, they continue.
unanimously do.
Yes.
Man, it might not be a very,
might not be very fun.
I think they need it.
But at the same time, right?
I think they need it.
I don't, like, I think they need to get the monkey off their back.
I don't think make Jesus in them are really,
I don't think make Jesus and them are all that this year.
And they seem a little hurt, dude.
They seem a little slower.
It's hard.
They had that long, they had that short summer, you know?
I'm with you, bro.
It does, like, Skinner and Goal has been playing as well.
It doesn't seem like one of those years for them.
Yeah.
Tough to go back to the cup, dude.
Very tough to go back to the cup.
All right.
Oh, yeah, that's why I haven't said a thing about the Panthers.
Yeah, right.
You're not going back to back.
I just don't, I just, this doesn't seem like the sport to go back to back.
Dude, and if you go back to back, like, you're a super team.
Yes, correct.
And it would be, like, you know, people forget sometimes.
It would be three cup appearances in a row, too, let alone the back-to-back.
Like, that would be savage.
Well, what's your take on the Leafs, bro?
Do you think it's, do you think the Leafs ever break their curse or how you feel about Toronto?
They'll break their curse whenever they
Like reverse whatever they did to price out their fans
Yeah dude, dude, dude
I feel like that's what it is
They'll never win because they priced out the actual
God damn dude you just pumped up everybody so much
That they're listening from Toronto
The blue collar Toronto fans dude like they know
So true dude
It's true
People want to watch the games
Yes dude what a fucking answer
It's the same thing with the Rangers
Yep
Yep.
It's all corporate, true.
Like the aisles too.
All corporate in those bars.
Okay.
All of those major, all those like big city teams.
Yeah, yeah.
It's like major market teams.
Yeah, no.
You mentioned this earlier.
You mentioned this earlier.
And I'm glad you did because you teased it because this is the thing that I do, I did need your take on and I need the people to know.
We're going to be strict on you.
You can't, you can't pitch, pick a bunch.
Your top five jerseys in the league.
Oh, man.
Okay.
No order.
Just like the five, I like the most.
That's fine.
No order is fine.
I've got the hawks are up there.
I like the hawks.
Great pick.
I like the,
I like the canes just because of that whaler's alternate
and that black one.
Yeah.
Yeah, I'm allowing the alts in here.
Yeah.
Lightning.
Damn.
It's simple.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, it's a simple one, but I really like it.
Okay.
I like that blue.
I like that blue.
and like I can't say Maple Leafs
just because I got my hater.
Owning it, owning the hater part makes that okay.
Yeah, yeah.
So I just can't say it.
Um, because I have it, the wings.
Like I just such a fan.
Wings is fucking awesome, dude.
I mean, it's clean.
The winged wheel, man.
Yeah, yeah.
Clean as hell.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah, it's so clean.
And the last one,
Devils.
Oh.
I like those, uh, I like those black ones.
Yep.
Yep.
Also, yes.
Yeah.
I just can't go for the devils because my friend Brian's the devil's going
Fuck Brian
Yeah, fuck Brian, dude
Fuck out of here
Like, it's the same thing with like
Like it's unfortunate right
Like I can't go
I can't go for the devils
The Bruins
Or Columbus
Because like all my friends
Because your boys
Yeah
Okay
So you can't go over the same team as the boys
No no no no no
No you gotta have the rivalry
You gotta have the rivalry
You gotta be able to chirp with the boys
So wait wait you said it was devil's bruin's and blue jackets
Yeah
So they're all east
Dude, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, so I feel like maybe you do got to go canes,
and then you're really cooking.
All right, but to go down that...
And then they're going to be even more, man.
Yeah, it's so true.
To go down that list, we got Blackhawks, we've got bolts,
we've got devils, we've got wings, and we've got canes.
Pretty solid.
Great list.
Pretty solid.
I like incorporating the alt-juris, dude.
You're a red guy, I've noticed.
That's for sure.
Are you a band fan?
Yeah, I was going to ask, yeah.
Yeah, we had a feeling, is that roll tide, and then there you go.
Oh, yeah.
Yep. Okay. That's pretty good.
I do like the King's alternates.
I do like the King's alternates, I do like the King's alternates.
I mean, the King's switching back to the Chevy logo, the Gratzky King's jerseys.
It was the greatest decision.
And they sent him to OG.
They sent him like the purple and gold jersey.
Oh, damn.
Yeah, he has a sick.
That's right.
Yeah.
You got the Lakers colors one.
That's huge.
Yeah.
That's huge.
All right.
Oh, yeah.
Well, Will, we got to keep you dialed.
My last question for you is do you think this can.
continues. Like, are you in for good now? Like, just hockey have you? Oh, yeah. Okay.
Yeah. Like, I'm gonna have to, like, it's one of those, I'm gonna have to take a trip to every single stadium. Like at some point.
Yep. I love that. I love that. Um, dude. I want to find out who has the best born in hockey. Yeah, correct. But for myself. You know what I mean? Like, everyone tells me. Everyone tells me it's like these three. Yeah. Everyone talks about Edmonton for whatever reason, which, like, for like, for myself. Which, like, everyone tells me, everyone tells me, everyone tells me, everyone talks about Edmonton for whatever reason. Which, like,
And then you have other people that come in there like, no, Edmonton sucks.
I remember?
I'm like, okay, whatever.
But like, a lot of people say Toronto's up there.
But if you priced out the actual fans, it's probably not that loud.
The Bell Center is definitely on there.
Yeah.
Everyone says, I got to go to the Bell Center.
Bell Center is goaded.
Dude, they just know.
I am going to say, though, the one you've been to, Bridgestone is fire.
Like that, it's going to be.
If only they were good.
I do.
I know.
They fucked up this year so bad.
They'll be back.
They'll be back.
They'll be back.
They lost a duck, man.
Like, it was just not fun to, it was unfortunate.
Yeah, that is tough.
Yeah.
Four to one.
Come on, dude.
Well, dude, Will.
Yeah, poor pretz.
Yeah, it's awful.
Dude, we are so pumped to have you in the Nettors family now because we're going to be chatting all through playoffs.
And like I said, make sure to let us know when that West Coast team is revealed.
But before we let you go, tell everyone where to find you, what you're working on right now, all the things that you've got cooking so people can follow along.
Oh, yeah. You know, Trailer Park Sports Network everywhere, TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, and TPSN official on Twitter.
I'm cooking up a lot. I trust me.
Sometimes I just get bored and will find a new sport that other people just haven't watched, and I'll just cover that.
There you go.
If you watch paddle, you've got to watch it.
Or ski-joring.
Wait, I know paddle.
What's the other ones?
Yeah, what the hell is ski-joring?
Dude, ski-juring, bro.
It's like skiing meets rodeo.
No. Come on.
Dude. Yeah, right?
You're telling me, like, people are roping shit on skis?
Nah, no, no, no, no, no, no, no.
It's like they're being towed behind a horse on skis.
Oh, shit.
It's like a race or they do jumps?
Yeah, well, like, there's like a little course,
and they're trying to collect these rings.
Of course they are.
They're going to like mad fast.
Yeah, it's awesome.
Are there any, like, gnarly crashes in that?
Because that would get me.
Oh, for sure.
Sometimes.
For sure.
Like, it's sometimes.
or like other times like the horse will fall over because like they're running on snow
yeah yeah yeah because like it didn't it didn't register with me they're like the horse could
get hurt until like I was like wait they're running in snow yeah now I saw a horse like like
fall over and I was like oh shit yeah I fully understood like the ski year yeah ski at your own risk
yeah but like the horse I was like ah man yeah that's not like that would make me feel that's
gnarly yeah I was like dang man but hey you know I love love sports
Big sports guy.
Yeah, there you go.
You're shining a light on all the unknown sports.
I love that.
Shout out speed climbing.
Yeah, yeah.
Shout out speed climbing.
Big, big speed climbing guy.
I love it.
All right.
Well, Will, dude, thank you so much for popping on.
Like he said, trailer parts sports network.
Find him everywhere.
And we're going to be dragging you along, dude.
You're a regular for all playoffs.
Yeah, yeah.
You're coming back on.
All right.
We're in it now.
Oh, yeah.
We're here.
Hell yeah, bro.
We can't wait to see you next time and thank you again for jumping on with us, dude.
Of course.
I appreciate you for letting me come on.
Hell yeah.
Let's take it away from the NHL and Wags, do us our favorite weekly tradition and take us into a beer
league hotline. In my C division, the league is evenly match except for one team. They have a handful of
drafted guys, pro-Europe guys, and junior guys. They obviously finished the season 17 and O,
and we had the pleasure of facing them first in her playoff round Robin. We chose to forfeit the game
resulting in a zero-zero final, but they get the credit for two points. We chose to forfeit because it
helps our goal diff for tie break purposes, we probably would have lost 9-1.
We get two free pitchers at the bar for any game you have a shutout and go penalty-free,
and their butt hurt they didn't get to play and have their usual point night.
Is the auto-forfeit a greasy move or fair is fair and they should find another division to play in?
Oh, dude, I love one part of this so much.
I think I like, I think I love multiple parts of it.
You ain't cheating, you ain't trying.
Yep.
A lot of things here.
First and foremost, we can agree, we can all universally agree.
Fuck this team.
Dude, if there are literally NHL drafted guys, which is I think what he means.
Yeah.
I don't even need you to have played.
I don't need you to have gotten your cup of coffee.
If you were drafted and you were playing in a C league, beer league,
and you're not over 60 years old.
Yeah, yeah, true, true.
You are a fucking loser.
Lehu, seher.
Dude, go up.
That goes without saying.
Horrendous behavior.
Yep.
Horrendous.
So, fuck you guys, first and foremost.
Second, phenomenal move.
Absolutely phenomenal move with this forfeit.
It shows creativity.
It shows foresight.
Shows craftiness.
I love it.
I love it because not only are you helping your goal diff,
you're hurting their mood with going for point nights.
The one thing I don't love here is the two pitchers.
You can't be forfeiting and technically getting a shut out
and getting two free pitches of beer.
Dude.
And no, no, no, no, no.
You can't.
You cannot.
That is greasy.
That is the only greasy move unless you give one of the pitchers to the refs.
Okay.
Well, yeah, the refs, hopefully the forfeit is.
called in early enough that the refs don't even come, you know, because usually with,
that's kind of how it works when you're like, hey, we can't make it. We're not going to
feel the field the team. Hopefully they give the refs the night off.
Dude, the, that was my favorite part. You just hated my favorite part.
Dude, it's greasy. You get, well, I guess this is my favorite part. The rink gives out
one free pitcher if you get a shutout and one free pitcher if you go a penalty free game.
And then if you did both, you get two. Super cool move by the ring. Super cool move.
But you got to be on top of forfeits. Yeah, okay. So that's, that's, that's, that's,
was really the loophole there, but I was like, I can't believe that's, who's keeping track of that?
You show them the scorecard, dude, zero, zero, zero, no penalties.
Boom.
Dude, that is.
You tell me it doesn't say forfeit anywhere on that score?
That is an all time moved by the rink.
And I hear you that if they started to crack down on forfeits, I wouldn't be mad at the
rink.
I would not.
Yeah.
Because I'd say that's fair.
But, dude, their reasoning, since it's not, that's not the case, since that
rule hasn't been changed, and they know that if we forfeit, we get two free pitchers,
then I think it's fucking no brainer.
and I love this part of their argument,
I am dying, though, damn, at them showing up.
Like, they forfeit, but go to the rink.
They had a surprise phantom's night, dude.
They had a surprise fan.
I love that move.
Oh, dude, they go to the rink.
Do you think the round, no, it couldn't be.
You know what I would have done?
And this is, talk about greasy.
Yeah.
I wouldn't have forfeit until Puck Trump.
The other team shows up.
Yeah, I would have made them show up,
and I would have walked out in my street close.
the second the gate opened after the Zam got off,
I would have walked out in my street close.
It walked right to the scorers table and gone.
Forfeit.
Yeah.
And looked right at them and gone.
And walked up to the bar and cheers them.
And dude, they get two free pitchers too.
Maybe they bail and you get theirs.
Maybe they're so pissed they go home.
Now you get four pitchers.
And the guy's going to get their point out.
The thing that sucks is this team will win anyway.
Because like eventually they just have to play.
You got to, you just can't make it all fun in games for them.
You got to hurt them.
on the way and that's what you've done here.
You've hurt their morale.
I hope that's why I said I would have showed up
and not told him to the lesson
because you've got to hurt their time.
Maybe one of them misses a birth.
Yeah.
Sounds like the type of guy
who would skip his potential,
the birth of his potential child
to go and get a point night.
And now you missed it, bitch.
What do you think about playoff round robin?
I actually really dig it.
I dig it too.
I think it's,
because I just think in beer league sometimes
really good teams have bad attendance
so they end up being a low seed
and then you're like oh shit we caught them in the first round
they're the fucking best team
yeah I love it so it's just like hey
wherever makes playoffs we're round robin
so there's no more fucking bullshit seeding
because you weren't there
round robin it eliminates the chance
of an upset yeah which is a bummer
but it also eliminates those like
you know maybe the best team
has shit attendance all year and they're a low seat
and then they motherfucker someone who had a great season
like that sucks yeah
so I'm kind of
to that. I like it. Do you think they round Robin into a final or is it just round robin
whoever has the most point? It's got to be into a final. Yeah. It's four nations. That's why you
help your group. That's why you help your gold diff. Yeah. Yeah. I mean, listen, dude,
here's the deal. I, I, I love all of this. I think it's, I think it's sneaky in the best way.
Like I said, I appreciate the foresight. Same. But you're getting two pitchers of Labat Blue
for a forfeit. I got a problem with that. Not me, dude. I've got a snobody. I've got a
slight problem. Not me. Just share it. Share it. God, so sick. All right, now we're going to get into
another odds matching with BetMGM, and we're just doing things. Yeah, this one is to win your
conference, but it's some East and West. Ods to win your conference. We're doing both East
and West teams. Wags, hit us with the teams, hit us with the odds. Panthers to win the East.
Okay. Hurricanes to win the East.
Avalanche to win the West, Knights to win the West, maple leaves to win the East.
Okay.
And odds out of order are plus 450, plus 550, plus 550, plus 400, plus 300, and plus 500.
So we've got cats, canes, aves, knights, leaves.
Right off the bat, these are all pluses, right?
Yes.
Right off the bat, I think plus 300's got to be the least.
Leafs.
You think they're the favorite to win the Eastern Conference?
Well, I think...
Oh, wait, Keynes.
No, but I hear you, actually.
I'm just saying, like, they're better than the Panthers.
Like, they're certainly not the favorite, but of these listed, I think they probably got the best shot.
Okay, I like that.
Leaves still are 300.
Like, the Cains are lower than the Leafs.
I would say the abs winning the West would be...
But actually this is a good point because they're so far behind Washington.
The Leafs.
But you know this is playoffs, right?
Like this isn't to win to have the best record in the East.
That's what I thought it was.
So when we said to win their conference.
We didn't say conference.
Or yeah, yeah.
But we didn't say the conference championship.
We just said win their conference by points.
No.
The five points wasn't said.
But we never said championship.
You got to be fucking clear, dude.
That's exactly how you say that.
Who won the East is whoever won the Eastern Conference.
I need clarity, dude.
This shit is so complicated.
There is literally no award.
There is not even a thing that could mean
other than winning the conference championship.
There is when you're thinking points.
That's all I'm saying.
Yep.
We're doing to come out of the East.
That's a better way to say it.
We're winning to win the East.
Eastern Conference Championship.
That's a better one.
That is what we're doing now.
So who has the best shot?
The Leafs.
The afts.
Who is going to go to the cup?
The aves.
300 on the abs.
100% for me.
I think after that I like the cats or the knights.
The cats are horrible.
Don't care, dude.
This is Vegas going, oh yeah, they're horrible right now.
They don't have Matthew Kachuk in the line.
up. He's going to be back for playoffs.
They just won the cup last year.
Yeah, which is hard.
Not for this team.
Okay, so you want them 400?
I kind of like...
I almost want Vegas.
The Knights. I like the Knights 400.
And then I like the Cats,
450. And then I like
the Cains,
500. And I like...
You like Leif's last? Yes, dude.
It's the fucking Toronto Maple Leafs.
Yeah, this is another one really big.
bad take from Vegas, if that's correct.
It's just because the bets are coming in the other way.
Yeah.
I feel like we got to balance this out, but people are not aware.
Okay.
You like this?
Not really.
Well, you just let me run amok there.
What would you change?
What would you change?
You agreed with abs and knights.
Yeah.
I mean, the lease being last is a tragedy.
Let's change it then.
No, but it might be right because of your logic.
Like, I actually think you might be right with Vegas being like, it's the Leafs.
But it might be right because of your logic.
Let's combine our logic.
Logic.
I wouldn't go that much higher, though.
Maybe just swap them with canes.
Okay.
We're going to do burying the canes yet again.
Fucking horrendous.
All right, wags.
Avs plus 300, knights plus 400.
Panthers plus 450.
Leifes plus 500.
Cains plus 550.
You got none of them right.
Look at that.
Look at that.
All right.
Okay, go back to Leif's last.
Go back to Leif's last.
Or, or.
No, no, no, no.
Don't even think about it.
Do we go Leif's best chances?
Leif's 300.
No.
Okay.
Put them last first.
I want to die on that head first.
And then if this is wrong, they are going to 300.
Knights are going to go 300.
Okay.
Then.
I will not go lower than 400 for the abs.
Like it would be fucking insane.
All right, so 400 abs.
I completely agree with that.
And then we've got to go, I think, 500 for the cats.
Because they're bad.
And 450.
Respect canes.
Yeah.
Okay, so Knights 300.
Aves, 400.
Cains, 450.
Panthers 500, Leif's 550.
You got three of them, right?
Oh!
You got the Cains to win the East at 450.
Okay.
Aves to win the West at 400.
Come all.
and the Leafs to win the East at 5.
Yeah, dead lasted.
So they've got the Panthers best odds, Chris.
And look who said I was dumb.
Oh, the Panthers.
Oh, no.
No, you said As were better, dude.
That's true, but I had the Panthers way up there,
and you were like, that's crazy.
Wow, so the Knights, they don't believe in the Knights.
That is wild.
That's insane.
So, yeah, final answer.
Cats, 300, Aves, 400.
Cain's 450, Knights 500, Leaves, 550.
The run of DP, not understanding how this game works.
Continues.
It's not a bit.
I'm being serious.
And people believe, Vegas believes in the Panthers a repeat,
and they believe in the Aves.
They repeat, going to the Cup at least.
Yeah, that's true.
Wow.
Well, I mean, when you look at that logic,
they think that they have a better chance of winning the Cup over the Knights and the Aves.
Well, I would say it's harder to win the West.
Yeah, good point.
That's what they're saying.
That's what they're saying.
Like I said, I don't get this shit.
All right, let's get into a little blind ranking
brought to you by our friends at Bauer, our favorite friends.
Our favorite friends, dude.
We love the Bauer crew.
We love blind rankings.
When we combine them, only magic can happen.
We are going to blind rank Bauer Twigs.
Yep.
And we are excluding the Twitch because it is a stick brought to you from space.
it's the best stick ever made, it doesn't count.
It would be so stupid to put it in here because it's an automatic one,
and I'd be holding the one spot for the Twitch,
so it would just throw the whole thing off.
The Twitch is the goat, everything else on the table,
Bauer Twigs, blind-ranking.
Here we go. Wags, hit us with a blind ranking of Bower Twigs.
The total one supreme.
Okay, dude.
He goes into his bag early.
Into his bag early, Dan.
Throwing it way back, and I think the youngans aren't even going to like this stick that much.
I don't love this stick that much either.
And I'm a supreme guy.
I know.
But the one Supreme, I didn't love its look.
There was kind of a lighter.
I think it was maybe like the GripTAC version,
but it was a lighter color.
There was too much going on.
It wasn't high up there for me.
I'm going five.
A five?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
No, sure am.
No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no.
That's unacceptable.
but I will go
and dude you are wrong because
you are a supreme guy
and you're that's a factor
that's a part of it you're ignoring
I will hear a four
I don't even want to go that low
but I will hear a four but it has to be a four
What do you think is a five?
There's another line of sticks
I'm thinking the vape
that are worse
but you're a vapor guy
No I'm not
You're the biggest vapor guy I know
You literally have vapor skates as we speak
I've literally had supreme skates
my entire life
until you got me these gates for Christmas.
We walked into the pure hockey and I said,
can I have the Supremes?
And they said, we're out of stock in your size.
And it was Christmas.
You have literally always been a vapor guy.
Dude, you had vapors.
You literally forget.
You're mixing up our childhood.
My Supremes are behind you, fool.
I'm looking at them.
The skates you had before your current skates were vapors.
They were not.
Yeah, they were.
No, they were not.
I'll show you the skates are house.
They were $1.95s.
I've had Supremes literally my whole life.
This is the first way I had vapor was ever old.
And it was only because the Supremes were out of stock.
And you were witnessed if that that happened.
This is embarrassing for you.
The people can see my Supremes.
Well, you were there.
You literally were there when you got vapors.
Okay, four.
For you.
Four, if you'll give it to me.
Sure.
The vapor hyperlight.
Okay.
Tricky one here because the hyperlite is actually solid.
Didn't you just get one?
I have a vaporite.
Hyperlight. Again, I don't, and when I say I don't love, this is how I feel. You're picking nits.
Yeah, pickin nits. I think the hyperlight is sick and I love that down by the blade, it tapers off. It gets like oval shaped. It's nasty. Definitely a three for me, but I can't go higher than that.
I think you're right. I'm trying to figure out if I, could it be, could it be a two? No, it couldn't. It's, I, like, I'm so certain of that.
Okay. I would even go five. Me too, dude.
To like keep, from two to five.
To keep three, two, one available.
I just went from three to five, from two to five.
I mean, you're, a vapor man himself is sewering vapor.
So why don't you just stay on the train here and put it five if you want?
No, let's go three.
Okay, we're going through.
The Nexus 2N Pro.
Hard for me not to go one here.
Yeah, me too.
Hard for me not to go one here.
I love a blue.
I love a blue.
I love this.
Dude, I love the blue.
My first...
I love the Nexus just in general.
My first Nexus,
I had a stealth
that I was still using
from college,
broke it before our Beer League
championship in Van Nuys
bought the Nexus
in the pro shop plate.
Do you remember that?
Yeah, that was my first Nexus.
Want a ship.
Hard for me not to go one here.
I think we have five left over.
We'd have five and two left.
We should have put the vapor at five.
I know.
I want to go two here.
There are two goats for me.
There are two goats sitting waiting in the wings.
One of them you're going to hate, but it was goaded.
I want to go two, and I'm going to take it because I gave you four.
Okay.
Yeah, fine.
Two.
Fair deal.
Two.
This is a horrible decision.
Two.
The one 95.
One.
So sick.
The 195 was go ahead.
was goaded, dude.
So sick.
It had that checkerboard texture and you could feel it in your fingertips while you were using it.
That's awesome.
The 195 was fucking so elite.
I'm worried now what's about to happen to us, but no regerts, dude, because the Nexus 2N and the 195 I'll live with all day.
That one two punch, dude, I'll take it all day.
All right.
Give us our five.
Nexus sink.
It's a good stick.
It's a nexus, but it's not my nexus of choice.
It's a good stick.
Costa loves that stick.
Pasta Lovesstead stick.
It does the thing, you know, like the triangle, like the axe.
It's a good stick.
It's a great stick.
Shouldn't be five.
Shouldn't be five.
Shouldn't be five.
Shouldn't be five.
Honestly, maybe you were right to start, Dan.
You might have been right from the very beginning.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
I'm right.
I sure might have.
But hey, we have a good one too.
We have a great.
We have a good one to.
The one two we want it.
Yes, exactly.
We have a good one too.
We also have a great episode.
That wraps it up for us.
We've got some really fun interviews coming up for you guys.
And like we keep saying playoffs is right around the corner.
So make sure you get loose, make sure you get laser focused, and make sure while you are preparing for these playoffs, you always remember one thing.
Skate hard.
