Empty Netters Podcast - All The Panthers Do Is Eat Ice Cream And Go To Stanley Cups | EP.198
Episode Date: May 29, 2025We have our first team in the Stanley Cup Final and it’s the defending champs! Carolina gave it their best shot but the Cats were too much. What happens with the Canes now and how does Florida look ...going into the final? Plus, the MASISVE Coachella reveal is finally here! The thief has been identified and we need to fight back. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some 00:00 INTRO 00:29 NOT ICE 18:25 CANES / CATS 51:44 MARCO STURM 59:08 COACHELLA REVEAL 1:14:28 TRIVIA LADDER Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm not sure that this Florida Panthers team needed any extra juice,
but they found it in the form of a Dairy Queen Blizzard.
And they are now 2 in O games after they had blizzards the night before.
They're going to be eating ice cream all playoffs straight through the Stanley Cup.
You know what you do with the Blizzard?
You take it and you hold it upside down.
You know what the cats did with the Stanley Cup on the balcony of elbow room?
They took it and they held it upside down.
Strap in for fucking round two, Bell.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of.
of the empty netters podcast brought to you by bedmgm i'm your host dan powers and sitting next to me
this man once thought he was going on a date but he then got driven home in the bed of a truck
by the man who the girl was actually on a date with it's chris powers i'm gonna need some explanation
as always you also forgot to say that as always last week i got you you were so fired up about big
laundry that you forget and can you blame me no not at all can you blame me dude big laundry big
toothpaste got you
Jesus Christ
I think it's only the second time I've got it no I think I said
can you confirm that
I'm yeah I think I'm gonna
I'm gonna sewer Alice Alice was the one who told me
I think you were like starting to say and then maybe you got caught up
can you check that right now I'll check it right now take these headphones
so you don't blast everyone's head up
um explain explain
dude lags you know what lags I'll let Chris tell the story
I don't even have the fucking time dude edge
edge is gonna listen to this he's gonna fucking yell at me for fucking
talking too long
I'll tell you what, though.
I'll tell you the story after.
But, dude,
uh,
it is one of the more like,
we were like,
it's an all-timer,
dude,
it's an all-timer.
And,
uh,
they're married now.
So,
you know,
you gotta,
you gotta,
you gotta lose,
you wanna lose to the champs,
you know,
you gotta lose to the fucking champs,
dude.
And that was not at my proudest moment,
though.
And,
wags,
that was early,
um,
where,
like,
I don't date,
you know,
I was just like a singleman.
That was kind of my game.
and I that was when I was like maybe maybe I should go on dates and just see and I tried to go on dates and then I went on someone else's date it turned out so then I was like okay I'm actually not doing this anymore that blows um so that sucked and yeah I didn't even hear what you said because I was listening to this but you said because just like I am always here they are always trying to fuck us and I don't think that counts as an as always but that I intended it to like I remember being like I know I
have to say it. So I go, just as I am always here, they are always trying to fuck us.
I'll give it to you. I didn't. No, I'll give it to you. I was fired up, though. I was fired up.
You didn't say as always, but you did get. Um, so yeah, I'll tell you later. I'll tell you what?
When he came home and delivered that story to us, I was like, I would have never let him live
it. Oh, we, it was probably 10 years ago. We haven't let him live it down. It's like, every time, dude,
it's actually I have like a couple groups of friends that like, every time I see them,
They're like, can you tell the story?
Yeah.
And I'm like, uh-huh.
It is, I hate to do a transition like this.
It is one of the best stories of all time.
Can, because I'm fired up about it.
Can we talk about one of the worst stories all time,
which is this season of The Last of Us?
Yeah.
Oh my God, dude.
The Last of Us.
Are you as pissed off about the show as I am?
Dude, I wanted to clear the listeners.
We have not discussed this.
I said I wanted to talk about it,
but Chris didn't know the context.
I stopped watching.
Have you even, have you finished it?
Oh, I quit.
I've got like,
two episodes left and I went like this. I just, I won't watch this show. Don't have time,
Dan. My time is valuable. My time is money. Dude. Mo money, more problems. Yeah.
Mo time. Mo money. Let me tell you what, actually, that means it's bad.
But you, you haven't even finished this season. And you're this pissed off. Yeah. Yeah. You'd be even
more pissed off. Bro. So yeah. There you go. This like this helps me. Did you finish? Did you finish?
Yes. It's, I literally, so you know how long it takes for them to film like the next season? Yeah. I don't even care.
Yeah. I'm literally not going to watch it.
Bro.
Same.
I'm very glad to hear you say that.
And like, I'll tell you what, man, like, my life is falling apart at the seams.
Yeah.
Like, I am, I'm in the worst place I've ever been in my life.
I want to, I'm constantly just wondering if I should just quit at everything.
I fucking suck.
I'm a pathetic loser.
My pet's heads are falling off.
I hate myself.
I hate it all.
I hate what I see in the mirror.
And then when I, when I go like this, well, let me take a break.
from trying to be less of a piece of shit loser.
Yep.
And just try to enjoy something.
And I turn on a TV show and it's that.
That's supposed to be my escapism.
Fucking garbage, dude.
That's what this piece of dog shit entertainment industry
is trying to shove down our throats and tell me it's so good
and no one can get jobs because this stuff is getting made.
Go fuck yourself.
Dude, stay hot because I, I'll take it a step further.
I'm insulted by HBO.
And I love HBO.
and HBO it's not TV, it's HBO.
And they have always been a,
I think they are one of the most consistent networks in the BIS.
And I give so much credit to their scripted department.
Gold standard.
They're gold standard.
And I think White Lotus is a clown show.
I know Wags likes White Lotus,
but I think White Lotus is a clown show,
but not horrible.
I just think it's like, whatever.
It's getting thrown in this prestigious TV,
and I'm like, no, it's fine.
I can watch it on my Sunday night.
This show being,
the HBO's delivery on Sunday night,
my precious Sunday night,
is unacceptable soldier,
especially with the time off in between.
Because now, dude, you're telling me,
and I got it fucking ruined for me,
so if you're going to watch it, I'm sorry.
But you're telling me that
we're going to take a fucking another
two, three-year hiatus
just to go back to Abby's story.
And let's just tell the whole story
to build up to the season two finale again.
Are you fucking?
my dad. The worst part is, is her story is
like really, really good, and I already know
they're going to fumble it. But they've put it to the
point to where, like, you don't even want to watch it.
Yeah. Did you play? Yeah, I was going to ask if you guys play them.
Yeah, because her story is so much better.
So here's, here's, here's, here's, here's where I'll jump in.
I, because she sucks. White Lotus.
I don't want to talk about White Lotus. I don't think White Lotus is
HBO's fault. I think it's the audience's fault. I think it's,
it's the public going, what a brilliant show. It's, it's,
it's trash bag
reality TV level shit
but they I think Mike White knows that
yeah he never told anybody it wasn't that he's like
this is a ridiculous story about a bunch of shit
people just like sit back and enjoy it with some popcorn
and candy and people are trying to dissect the storylines
there's no dissection to be had it's fucking garbage
just embrace the garbage
this shit is like
I didn't play the games
and I just look at how passionate people are
so I did my due diligence to watch
30 minute YouTube videos about the game
storylines. Because I was like, are they just
completely abandoning the storylines? And they're not.
They're just doing such a shit job at telling it.
This, Ellie, in the game,
is a fucking beast.
She's a badass, survivalist who just understands
the world she's in. And Bella Ramsey, who I think is a
brilliant actress. It's partially
direction, it's partially right. She's just,
like this whiny shit bag
and just delivering lines
like we talked about the I'm going to be a dad
line bro was like that I can
tell the gang was like
we hit it out of the park with that one
and then when the general public goes like this
that was the worst thing I've ever seen
someone has to fucking answer
someone has to answer for your fucking sins
hearing that your
same sex
because you're both females partner
is pregnant
and then who by the way in the hold on hold on hold on hold on in the episode they they aren't dating bro
brother yeah that's what they're not this oh it's a lifelong if that were a real life line what the
fuck is that chick's name um Ellie's girlfriend Dina or our actual name isn't the character's name
oh yeah I think it's Dina for I forget fucking no dude she would be like relax
We have not been dating.
I was to about a week ago, you didn't even know I was interested in women.
Yeah.
So calm down.
And yeah, she just pulls that fucking shit.
I'm pregnant with another dude's baby.
And then the response is immediate smash and I'm going to be a dad.
I'm like, you met me 45 minutes ago, dude.
I think the character that pisses me off the most is how they portrayed Tommy.
Because in the video game, that fucker, as soon as.
Joel dies, he's like, I'm going to kill everybody in Seattle.
But in the TV show, they're like, Tommy killed two people.
Wow.
But in the game, he killed like 70 people.
This is exactly what I'm saying, because I think universally, as soon as Pedro Pascal was
out of the show, it's suffered massively.
Now, I will say, that's when he dies in the game.
So I get that.
But it's, it's, I can live with that.
Even though universally the show got worse without him because he's the fucking man,
I can live with that.
I can't live with, they've made Ellie a pussy, they've made Tommy a pussy.
Like, I don't understand what's going on.
When she cried at the end of this season in the video, I'm pretty sure in the video game,
she doesn't even care that she did that.
Yeah.
Man, those things are what's killing me.
And just like boring the life out of me.
And dude, Dan's going to get so pissed to me.
But this show having the audacity to act like they're not.
It's not The Walking Dead.
I was going to get to that.
It's insane, dude.
The fact, I used to fucking work at AMC,
so I'm allowed to say,
I'm allowed to go on this rant.
Mr. AMC, dude, the president of AMC,
Mr. A.M.C himself is rolling over in his grave
that that network is free falling still.
And HBO, the gold standard, goes like this,
we have a new smash it on our hands.
It's called the Walking Dead, colon the last of us.
Yeah.
You have got to be kidding.
The only show that built out characters enough for them after they died and you to continue wanting to watch was Game of Thrones.
Game of Thrones was like they had every character have such a significance.
But in this show, it's like Joel died, nobody else.
They didn't build out a lot of story on everyone else.
So you're like, you don't care about Tommy's family.
You don't really care about Ellie.
You don't care about Dina.
You don't care about, I mean, now in season three you're going to learn about Abby.
But it's like nobody has significance.
I want to get into Abby.
Caitlin Deaver, love her.
Yeah.
I think she's a phenomenal actress.
Her episodes where they're showing her as this bad, I don't buy it.
And I refuse to believe it's her fault.
She's a great actress.
And it's just, you're making me believe in this vengeance-fueled character who's going to kill Joel.
And that is how they portray.
It's just all bad.
And yeah, to finish off my rant of just disappointment,
in HBO on this show. It is just the Walking Dead. I remember watching the pilot of this show and going,
hell yeah, man. I think HBO has their next Game of Thrones, their next absolute smash.
I loved the way they played out the virus, the way it was building, but now it's just,
we are the virus. It's the same fucking thing. Here are the fireflies. Here's this group.
Here's that group. And, you know, maybe that's the game. But the passion people have for the game
storyline made me think there were layers and levels deeper than what I'm being given.
This absolute trash.
Dan, so well put because it made me realize if The Walking Dead had just been a video game,
people would have been like, this is the goat game.
I just think that it was a graphic novel, you know, and then this was the video game version
of it, which is why people were just as obsessed with a graphic novel, The Walking Dead is
they were obsessed with this.
Because, bro, in season one, when Joel's hurt and, and, and, you know, and, and, and,
Ellie shoots a deer and goes to get it. And then like two guys stumble upon her, adult dudes.
And they're like, yo, like one's going to kill her. But the guy's like, no, come with me.
And he's like a priest or whatever. Because I didn't play the game. I didn't know what's going to happen.
I was like, dude, this is, this show is so refreshing that there are other just good people out there.
And it's cool. They're going to take her in and see what's happening. And then she gets back to
their place. And he's like, I actually am feeding people, humans and I rape little girl. And I was like, bro, this is.
the walking dead. This is the walking dead. Every human to meet is their own little,
they've got their own little fucking dumbass nickname and then they're, oh, looks like, looks like
they're bad too. And I'm like, you, this is so fucking unoriginal that I want to blow my brains out
and wags, great point by you because this is turning, isn't turning into, has already become,
um, it's basically an anthology, right? Like every season, they're just asking me to meet new
characters and go do this storyline, which as you just said, hurts my ability to fall in love with the
TV character that I want to ride with, like I can do in TV shows. In a video game, it kind of
works. In this, I'm like, dude, you're, you're killing me. You're killing me with that.
I think the Game of Thrones sets such a high standard for me of like, I know near the end,
everyone was like, it kind of fell off, but I was like the whole way through I was, I was thinking
about the other people that weren't in that episode. I was like, what's happening to them?
What's happening to like Joffrey? Like, what's like? Can't wait until we jump over there and I see
what's going on. And now I'm like, I don't even want to, I don't care about her because I've seen her in two
episodes. Like she's, she killed Joel and then you saw her like barely throughout the last two episodes.
So it's like, I don't, I don't want to watch a whole other way to hold another two years to learn about her.
I was like, you should have told us about her already.
Literally. And again, I know he dies in the game, but literally the only person they got you invested in is Pedro Pascal.
Then he dies and then the show blows. And then he comes back in a flashback episode.
And everyone was like, that episode was good. And I was like, yeah, because he was back.
That was a really good.
Yeah. I was like so.
say anyway dude ridiculous it's we'll not be tuning in for it's bullshit um if anyone has seen mobland
yet let me know if that is worth watching so i can take a break from my miserable fucking existence
i actually man i've been like i've been let down this this past year i was excited for a couple
shows coming back and i didn't really have a good time with any of them i hear mob land's good
let's take a quick break and uh we'll come back to some hot ice i got to talk to you guys about
bet MGM and the hat trick jackpot promotion. Come on. It even sounds cool to say. All you're going to do
is download the betmgm app and then use promo code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S when you sign up.
And then you can do epic things all the time like I'm doing all the time. You can bet on MBA,
you can bet on NHL, you can bet on MLB. Football's going to be right around the corner. You won't
even believe how fast it comes. You can bet on all of it. But right now, this hat-trick jackpot
promotion, all you do is bet on an anytime goal score. And if that person, you can be on it,
gets a hat trick or more, they could score a million goals, but if they get at least a hat trick,
you get your share of 10 grand in bonus bets. And if you bet on them to be an anytime goal
score and they lose, and it's your first bet because you just download the loaded the app and
you use promo code netters, you can get up to $1,500 in bonus bets. So I mean, you're coming out
on top here, no matter which way you slice it. And by the way, if they just score, you win your bet.
So that's sick too. So go online, get the BetMGM app, use that promo code netters. That's
N-E-T-T-E-R-S and get in on this action.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler. Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call
1-800-2-0-0-0-0-0-Maschus. 21-plus only.
Please gamble responsibly. Call 100-N-AXXX4-8-1-8-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are
non-waddrable. In partnership with Kansas and casino and hotel. See bed-mGM.
com for terms. U.S. Promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Huge shout out to bet MGM. Can you talk about the hat real quick?
Yeah, dude. You want to snap into some hot ice?
Yeah, whoa.
fucking whoa
ping
yeah it's midnight dude
who cares how about this
these hats we got these hats they're snaps
these are money because I'll tell you what
we got obviously the netters logo
but you can get so much and it's this dude
I don't even know if you're going to be able to see this on camera
but right here
for my golfers out here there is
a ball marker
that snaps right into this
piece which is so sick
because dude a long time ago there used to
make them with a magnet, not snaps.
Other hat companies would make a magnet.
Do you remember those?
And like the ballmarker would like magnet to the brim right here and fall off and all this shit.
This one dude, bang right here.
This, which you definitely can't see, says ice is ready, which they custom made for us,
which is absolutely nails.
Thank you.
And then they have a partnership with the NHL because they're getting every team.
I got my bees one, obviously, even though the bees were terrible this year and then got
screwed at the draft and that's okay.
Bang.
You can get any team you want.
you can get custom stuff.
These hats are money.
And now I'll never golf with anything but this.
So that's cool.
I mean, it's pretty tight.
The fact that it's like they got.
So sick, dude.
NHL licensing.
They've got all your favorite teams.
And you know what?
I kind of love, I like how subtle it is.
And dude, it's a snap.
Like, dude.
You know what I mean?
That's hard.
And it's also,
it's not too big.
You know,
it's not a massive ballmarker.
It doesn't look crazy on your hat.
Yeah, it's so cool.
But it's also sick that they have the thing that can go on any hat
because you're not. Yes, dude. I have, as I've gotten older, I, um, I don't love waving the flag that much.
Like if you go and get, you know, full Edmonton Oilers driver cover, iron cover, like it's like, yeah, yeah, it's that, don't even wrong. That's cool. I prefer a more of a subtle vibe. And that's perfectly subtle. Yeah. So you can put it on any hat you want. You can have just like a titleist hat and you can just put the snap thing on the back and then bang. You got your, right. You got your oilers. Like, because then you just make any hat that you already own a snap.
Yeah, and that is fucking sick.
We got to talk about this game.
We have our first entry into the Stanley Cup.
Ticket.
Punched.
But I do want to say this.
I apologize for those who listen to the live.
We said we would be eaten Dairy Queen Blizzards.
It's closed.
We tried to go.
The game ended and I went on the close.
Believe it or not, guys, there's not a billion dairy queens in Los Angeles.
It's not a population.
I was shocked.
I think there's a chance.
There's one.
And it was close.
But I was going to say maybe we can get it
because we'll do our prediction.
Well, I guess maybe we'll see.
But the predictions are coming soon
and we'll do the dairy.
I'll try to get it for the morning, for the live.
Yeah.
That'll be my goal.
God, they're far away though, dude.
Like, it's actually insane.
Dude, like, literally I was like,
can you deliver in there like, buddy?
We're in fucking Topanga.
And I'm like, yeah, come on down, dude.
Fucking thing melted, dude.
Yeah, you've got to bring one.
legs you're going to bring one dude yeah so we're doing our best but dairy queen is not near me at all
we're going to try to get one though yeah we're going to have to get one at some point here to celebrate
because i've i've absolutely loved that but here we are folks get into this game in carolina
game five carolina grabbed their win in emphatic fashion which was fantastic and here we are we
we wondered if people were going to show if we're going to get some life here and
the cats clawed back as they always do,
but I would like to start this
ses by saying,
I'm impressed with Carolina.
Oh, okay.
I'm impressed with Carolina.
This Florida team is so fucking good, man.
So fucking good.
And in game four,
Florida was missing three of their key players
who've been huge of these playoffs in
Rhino, Mikala, and Grierze.
and that was Carolina's chance
and they took it, right? They got to win in
sunrise. Then they come home, they got to
put on a show, they get
two goals right off the bat.
Brutal turnover by Gustav Forsling,
brutal turnover by Nico Mikula.
And Sebastian Ahjo cashes in on
like, I won't even give him that credit.
I would say like a tough one for Bob and the second one.
Yeah, I watched it so many times.
It is a weird shot. It like squeaks
through Mikala.
It doesn't tip off him, but it's definitely a bit
of a screen and I genuinely think he was like,
and saw it last second and just didn't drop it.
I love that for Aho.
You're the star player, right?
Who has been called out by your coach.
Yes.
In this series.
And you get two monster goals.
And then the cats come in in the second period.
Bang, bang, bang.
Three.
And you could have rolled over and died.
But then your other star, Seth Jarvis,
with one of the cheekiest sand wedge finishes you'll ever see.
Yep.
he comes in ties it and then who else dude the fucking hero himself 16 sasha barkov with just one a man's goal
a man's goal getting orlov off his back coming around then walking past robinson and like took robinson for a bit of a walk there
and just to slick through the crease dish and then swaggy ver hagi as always finishes it that was game over that was nasty work I I want to let you get it
into whatever you want to get into, but
I will echo again,
I'm proud of Carolina.
You could have rolled over and died after
game three. You didn't,
you went out and got a win. You could have
rolled over and died in this game when Florida
puts those guys back in the lineup. But you got out,
you got out to a lead, you then gave up
the lead and then you tied it up again.
And this Florida team is just too much. That's
what they've been all series. They were too much.
They were too much in this game. But
at the end of the day, this was not
an embarrassing loss. This was a good game.
you fought hard and you got beat by a much better team and let's be real
Florida is a much better team so I'm proud of Carolina for that and I will also say
this and this is going to seem disrespectful I'm glad this wasn't a 35 safe performance
from Freddie iceberg that Florida won an OT I'm glad he gave up four goals in like 20 shots
why because it this is I do not mean to disrespect Freddie Anderson I know what you're going to say
It was a, this was a game and a loss that makes you, if you have a brain in your skull,
yep, go, we need a new goal.
Dude, I.
Because if he had been a stud in this one and you were like, yeah, you had three bad games in the beginning, but like, he's our guy.
Yeah.
And there would be people saying that.
And I promise you.
Yeah, too, they sat.
I remember.
Yeah, true.
True.
Uh, I promise you, there are people still going, I think we can still do it with him.
Yeah.
And those people are delusional psychopaths.
so I'm glad that
yeah
he didn't have the basket
and how old is he now
34 yeah I'm gonna check
maybe five he might be 35
I hear you and dude I'm willing
35 yeah he's 35
if the Carolina Hurricanes come back next season
with him as their starting goaltender
Carolina fans
prepare for the same fucking story
get ready to watch the same movie
get ready to watch season three of the last of us
the same exact storyline
just from a different perspective.
Yeah.
That's what you're getting.
Like when he, his first year there,
he is fourth in Vesnavone and wins the Jennings and is like so solid.
33.
Did he not play and play us?
God, someone has to remind me what happened there.
They must have gotten hurt or something.
Or no, he was just the backup.
Who's the fucking goalie on that team?
Because he won the Jennings, but let me see.
The goalie on that team, this thing always fucking freezes.
right when I need it.
Antironta, dude.
Okay.
Freddie, it's a hard one for me because I was so,
it was a good story.
And because he's had the health thing.
And I love that he's like out of Toronto and is like,
I'm good, dude.
Like, you know, get off my ass.
And I thought that maybe there was a chance that he,
the freshness, the icebergness of this was going to carry him.
But I want to say, this would be insane recall, but I legitimately think, Dan, if you go back and listen to a pod after the Keynes lost to the Rangers last year, I almost said the same exact thing you just said.
Like when you said that, I had the craziest flash of my memory because I remember being like, it's hopefully your, hopefully this is the wake up call that you need.
Wake up call like to sound harsh, but hopefully this is the proof in the pudding.
where you're like, dude, I just do think we need a Bob
or a guy that's kind of just taking these games
and handling it.
I wish, I wanted better for Freddie, truly.
And he had such an awesome fucking playoff.
Dude, I bet if you pull up stats right now,
I don't know if the NHL.com has updated it.
But yeah, I think it has.
I think he's 202, save percentage,
for the whole playoff.
Counting tonight, which is best in the league by a lot
over Bob 2-1-1.
Yeah.
Like, even with the,
Florida games. He was nasty. He was that good.
So, fuck,
you know, it's a killer. And, but I
am in the camp with his
age being a factor two, that you're right.
He, can you look up his contract while I'm going, but
sure I can. You, you just can't
go the roster
we have and Freddie
and Net is gonna, is going to
do the job for us.
No, you can't. Because it's not.
And it's not meant
to be this disrespectful comment.
It's just like I, I'm just
here to tell you
it this this you know
I'll take it one step further then yeah okay go
this loss by the canes
is take everything you just said about Freddie
and the lesson it should have taught you
I'm actually glad the canes lost this way too
for the same reason because in games one two and three
and I know three was like one one one for a while
but in games one two and three
they never dictated play at all against the Panthers.
It was a fucking party, dude.
It was a South Florida party the whole time.
Everybody's drinking, no shoes, no shirt, no problem,
playing exactly how they were playing the hits,
cash only in the elbow room.
Yeah.
That was games one, two, and three.
In game four, do you have his contract?
I do.
He makes 2.75 mil.
He has a player performance bonus through next season.
Okay.
So after next season, he's UFA.
Wouldn't be surprised if you retired.
Same.
he has a no move clause and he has a modified no trade clause 20 team no trade list reduces to five team no trade list February 23rd if he doesn't play at least one third of regular season by February 15th
okay which you hope he would yes um but what's interesting dude is like two points and five let him be the best backup in the n hl
yeah yeah it's great great great deal it's great you've got to just you got to go do something you got to
to get someone else. So game four, flash to game four, and now we're in, now we're in the
triangle, buddy. Now we're going to fucking shooters in Durham. Get your fucking cowboy boots on. Get your
car flags out because we're having some southern barbecue in the Carolinas, and they dictated
play. Yeah. And then you go to this game, game five, back home. And I actually thought for the
first period, we were watching it like, oh shit. And I didn't think, now the Canes are going to
win the series, but I did think, oh, we're actually definitely going back to South Florida,
where Florida will probably dictate the play and whatever.
Because this was the way Carolina wanted to beat this team.
They're out shooting them like always, but they're smothering, they're rolling lines,
they're being physical.
To lose this game when you thought you were dancing, listening to a wagon wheel.
They had wagon wheel playing in their ears all day, and then to still lose,
to have that flurry of Panthers goals in the second period, you tie it because wagon,
you turn wagon wheel up, and you tie it a three, and then the Panthers just
go go away dude turn wagon wheel off and put some fucking rap on in elbow room yeah what do they
listen to it album room rap is there rap music in a lot of country a lot of no no we can't do the country
because i'm doing country for the canes so maybe like some jimmy buffett or something maybe he's like
pop country yeah yeah it's it's wagon wheel in raleigh and it's morgan wall in it's morgan wall and
south florida so to have wagon wheel blasting in everyone's ears and the panthers still win this
was I think, because dude, if the Panthers did, if it was a blowout again, I legitimately think
in our dear leader's mind, in our supreme dear, what did you say it actually is?
Supreme Leader. But they call him dear leader. They do say dear leader. That is not like a,
that is what they call him. I actually think in our dear leader's mind and all the Keynes fans'
mind, there's a chance they spin zone it into, well, we just couldn't dictate play for those
four games. You know, the game we actually played our game, we beat them, we pumble them.
We just got to play our game more. And now I get to go, you put, this was your game. You played
your game in game five. And the Panthers are too much for you. So I'm actually happy in a,
in a dark twisted way that they had, they got to learn that lesson. And now changes will be made.
Dude, I'm glad that you feel that way because they have to be. Yep. And you know what's interesting
is you look at, and cats fans, don't worry, meo.
We're going to get all over the cats.
You know I'm on the bandwagon.
We're going to be eating Blizzard soon here.
I just want to touch on the canes for a second.
This team is one of, now, I know there are a lot of people who don't think that this team has a star.
This team is built around or built with a tributtive.
true elite player.
But I think this this team is one of the more well-constructed rosters in the
NHL.
And let me just run this down with the cap going up, okay?
Yep.
Ajo is making 9.75 until 2029.
Svech is making 7.75 until 2029.
Jarvie's making 7.42 until 2020.
KK is making 4.82 until 2020.
you've got for two more,
and this is next year is the first year I'm talking about.
Yep.
For two more years,
you've got Martinuk at 3.05.
You've got Stahl at 2.9.
You've got Carrier making two until 2029.
And on D, you've got Slavin making 6.39 until 20209.
That's one of the best contracts in the lead.
You got Walker making 3.6 until 2020.
We love Sean Walker.
And you've got Ghost at 3.2 for two more years.
Chatfield at three for two more years.
And then you know, you've got like Nishkin, you've got Morrow on your rookie deals.
Orlov is out of contract.
So we'll see what happens there.
He's only 33.
Brent Burns.
Fuck.
40 years old, this might be it for him.
God, I feel for burns.
And that one sucks.
I don't want to get through this pod without taking a second to talk about Brent Burns.
He's been one of the best players in the NHL.
I believe, dude, originally a forward transition to D.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, correct.
became a all-star, one of the best defensemen in the NHL for the sharks,
then revived here, had some great years here,
and Bernsey's just one of the best.
He's one of the best guys to do it.
So if this is it for him, that, that sucks.
It sucks to see him go without getting his cup.
I know.
But I felt like one of those sharks that might do it.
You know, like of all the guys, I was like, well, he ended up on Carolina.
And I do want to say, CP, their projected cap space with all,
of those guys that I just listed.
Like, they're guys that are, you've got
Fast, Roslavik, Robinson, and Yost,
who are UFA, and then D.
Bernsey and Orlov, UFA.
And like those, other than Bernsey
and Orlov, those forward, don't
give me wrong, great forwards, but I don't think
any of these guys are like, oh man, like those are depth guys.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, no, they're okay.
This team has 28.4 mil in cap space.
Well, this is what I would say.
sometimes you go,
God, we're set.
Like, we don't have any big free agents coming.
And look how good our team is.
We've been in the Western Conference Finals
two out of the last three years.
But I'm like,
your, what, the team that is set
that's not going to see a lot of changes
isn't good enough.
Go.
Yeah.
Trade for John Gibson right fucking now.
You want Gibson traded so bad.
Dude, it's because they have two starting goalies.
Yeah.
You can't have two.
You can't do it.
Everybody tries.
Can't do it.
Well, what are we doing here?
Go get him.
Go get him.
Got to do something.
You've got to do something.
You have all that cap space.
You have to prove after the ranting in debacle that you can get started.
People do want to play here.
And you know what?
I think they've done that with Ajo didn't need to resign, extend here.
Jarvie didn't need to extend here.
Svech didn't.
And I know that these guys haven't had that 100 point season.
I mean, Jarvie is a future.
superstar. By the way, I forgot to mention
Halsey is 3.16
until 2028.
Yeah. Like, they're
buzzing.
So,
Carolina, you know,
there were some people who were saying like, oh, it's supposed to be a
rebuilding year. I think like, no, no, no,
no, no, no. There were like three idiots
saying that, and I'll call them idiots, because
this team was always making the playoffs.
And you were better, you were better than
expected, because a lot of people took big jumps, and that's
great. But you need to keep jumping. And listen,
it's just been too long.
It's been too long since Cam Ward.
Like, you just can't,
you can't keep streamlining goalies like this.
It doesn't work.
It doesn't work.
You're right.
And they didn't mean,
like, Freddy's health has been,
obviously a major concern in real life,
but an unexpected speed bump for them.
Freddie, who we love,
is a great goaltender, right?
And was in all,
was sick the first year they got him.
Yes, he was,
but he was not picked up.
People didn't see him go to Carolina and go,
oh shit.
Carolina just got their blue chip goaltender.
Yeah.
He never did anything in Toronto.
Now part of that's Toronto.
Yeah, exactly.
Sure, right?
Yeah.
But at the same time, it's like, well, he came here and what was their biggest problem every year?
Goalie.
But his first year, he was great.
And then he got hurt.
Then he got sick.
Yes.
And I'm sure that still affects him.
And I have sympathy for him for that.
But it's, you know, he's been an amazing goaltender.
He's 35 years old.
No, no, no, we missed it.
We missed it.
No matter what I think of what could have been with.
Freddie it was not so now we got to we got to find someone else what could have been as we
transition into the cats yep did you see the maurice brindamore interaction yes do you have any
thoughts on that is there any leaks yet of has anyone who got a quote on it or no so we've got
some people saying that paul maurice doesn't shake hands with the other teams players post series and
this is why and i don't think that that is true because didn't we see maybe that's a this year thing
but I mean, I saw them beat the Bruins last year and Maurice shook Swainman's hand and was like,
that's some of the best goaltending I've ever seen in my entire life. So I don't think that that is true.
Maybe it's a this year thing. But like that is just definitely not true. But also did you mean this is why?
I don't know. But do you know their coaching history? Yeah, yeah. Dude, Maurice coached him and hired him to be an assistant.
Yes. So like they like love each other. There's like so much. And, and,
Rod runs Paul's systems.
Yeah.
They, they, this is, this should be a very friendly thing.
It looks, it doesn't look like an unfriendly interaction, but it, it doesn't look great.
Like Maurice is explaining something to him.
Rod's not really thrilled.
It's an interesting interaction.
It's very strange.
I'll be really, and me, neither of them will say shit, but I'm actually very, I would love to know.
Yeah.
Because I didn't, I didn't like it.
Like, I, I, I don't know, Rod has, as we've said, I just feel like this has been.
incredibly stressful for him, this whole fucking ordeal with the streak and all this bullshit.
Yeah, I mean, he's got dipshits like us telling them that they should be banned from playoffs.
Like, he's just dealing with it all the time.
Every week or every game, he's got another fucking, either.
He makes a comment like, hold on, TSN, sorry guys, I should have known this already.
TSN reporting, Paul Maurice says, and he's saying this, his exchange with Rod Brindamor was about
letting the players have the handshake line to themselves.
Maurice believes the handshake line should be for the players only
and asked Brindamore and his coaches to skip it.
So while we've seen him do it, so like this, I mean, that's from Paul's mouth.
Yep.
And so Rod was going, I'm going to go.
Did he do it?
I believe so.
Like after Maurice said that Rod still went.
Yeah, I think that's maybe like what, yeah.
But that's interesting.
I actually, dude, um, is it not just a chance of it wasn't a destruction.
I actually hate that because not Paul choosing to skip it and thinking it's for the players,
that's completely his prerogative and that's fine.
I don't like him going, you should skip it too.
I agree.
Also, again, we saw him do it last year and say something so lovely to sway.
I don't know.
And frankly, if I were a player, I wouldn't mind that interaction with an opposing coach that I respect.
Yeah.
You know, it's...
Okay, yeah, it says here, to continue the long list of people in suits and track suits.
We had like 400 people on the ice.
They're really important to our group, but none of them was in.
the game. So just as he did after the round two win against Toronto, Maurice and his staff
didn't do it. Yeah.
Paulson and his exchange exclusive coaches. Yeah, that's interesting because I just think he should
let Rod do whatever he wants. I don't mind him going to shake Rod's hand there and going,
I'm just going to grab you here because I'm not doing that. Yeah, it's a, but you,
wonder though, what instigated the, the conversation, right? Because I, I don't think Rod
went up to to or excuse me
Paul went up to Rod like you see Rod walk
up to Paul and shake his hand
and I bet Rod was maybe
like like dude what
like why were you telling me or the coaches
to do this or that? Yeah okay
it looks like actually Rod didn't do it because I stepped off
by then it says this season he's been trying
to amend the tradition as in Paul
and he thanked Brindamore for taking a risk
as Murray said in agreeing with him
so I guess maybe Rod did skip that too long I have to go back
and find that highlight yeah
to me the interaction just looks like Paul's explaining
he's like this is why I don't think we should.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I don't think there's any bad blood there.
Okay.
Okay.
We're going to go ahead and wash that one.
Who gives a shit?
I think I'm okay.
Who gives a shit?
Just a couple of buds.
Explain it how they feel.
Luce Drianen left the game.
Yeah, you do not like that.
A member of what I think has been the best line on this team.
And a massive difference-making line.
I do think, I think Paul said he's okay.
I mean, Paul, usually Paul plays it pretty tongue-in-cheek,
but he was like, I think he was like,
he's okay i'm not a doctor but i think he's okay um which but he didn't play much i think he was in like
three no yeah he left after the first period and he looks lame on on his like there there's like a knee
bang there i think it's weird he goes into the board's hard and the fact that he didn't come back
the whole game is a factor but paul after the game was like he i think he's fine but that would be a
huge loss but i think he's okay well obviously keep an eye on that yeah i thought they got all the injured
guys looked great yeah or not hindered really um obviously the cats get a power play goal after
Reiner comes back because they can't score on the power play without them.
They're only one for four, I think, but of course they get one.
That was big.
And they didn't touch it the trophy.
Yeah.
I don't give a fuck about that.
Honestly, I didn't want to talk about it.
Well, they did touch it in 2023, lost the cup, didn't touch it last year, won the cup.
Yeah.
Didn't touch it this year.
So it makes sense that they do it?
Can't do it.
Listen, I'm a superstitious guy with sports.
Lots of people are, but I don't, at the same time, I don't believe in them.
They don't mean anything.
It's like, you know, believe in whatever you want to believe it.
So just like it is what it is.
I do the same shit.
It's interesting that this team, I think this team thrives on just buzz and momentum.
I'm sure there's part of them that just wants to get on the ice.
With that win, it has been announced if Edmonton wins tomorrow, or as you're listening to this today, first game of the Stanley Cup will be the fourth.
the fourth what day which i believe is a wednesday and if dallas wins the first game will be the seventh
which is i think saturday which is this next saturday yeah yeah so uh later start than i would have
anticipated honestly yeah but like i said to you cp and i were having a chat offline there's just so
much they need they need to plan media day they need to plan all the travel for families and shit
there's just so much to do i guess yeah if dallas pushes it to a saturday game they were like
instead of starting like Thursday or Friday,
they'd just take the Saturday ratings.
So with that,
game one of the Stanley Cup will be on Wednesday the fourth.
Because Dallas is not winning.
Oh, brother.
But I wonder,
with Luster Reinen,
with Mikula,
Rina,
I wonder if they actually are like,
would it mind?
Yeah.
Would it mind a week and a half
to let these guys heal up,
do some treatment?
Rest.
But that's a lot.
Especially because it means Edmonton's playing.
A lot of time off.
A lot of time off.
Like if they go, if, if this, it's the 28th right now.
If the Oilers, if the stars win on the 29th and then the Oilers play on the 31st and win,
the next game for them is a week.
I mean, I guess it's only three more days.
But still, I just think you don't want it.
You don't want it, dude.
You don't want it.
The five minutes in the second period for these boys.
just to give a little bit more time on this Florida team.
The goals were beautiful.
Power play goal.
That tip from Kachuk,
I don't think was getting enough credit.
If you look at the sort of aerial replay of that,
that shot's going wide.
It looks like on the straight on,
that looks like one of those tips that's like,
oh yeah, it kind of changes direction.
That shot is going wide at the post.
Oh my God.
And he rotates his body, tips that,
pulls it back in top shelf, beautiful.
the Marshan play
just vintage jump off the drop
clean win from Lundell
throwing that puck across
and Lundell just tapped
actually not tapping it in
also sick tick yeah
those were three
consecutive shots by the way
yeah the E-Rod goal
was just beautiful
tip five hole
and then you know
we already talked about that
that fourth goal from
Sasha which was just insane
yeah
to give a little more attention
to Marshie
I don't know how you're not happy for this guy.
I don't care who you're rooted for your entire life.
If you can't see how cool this is, like Brad Marchand,
being such a good player still as a 37-year-old,
tumultuous year in Boston is the captain, gets traded, savage.
And coming to this team,
maybe having an interesting month, less than a month,
of just where do you fit after he had talked about
not being sure how a fourth line,
vibe would be a third line vibe would be for him and now these fucking three man they just
look so good brad looks so good he almost scored a vintage brad marshand the little um the little underswim
move he always does and he just i don't know what like he got a little ahead of him but i was like
oh my god he looks he looks fresh as lettuce we might be calling him marsharesberg now i like that uh but
i i i just i love to see it from him and man we've been banging the oilers drum
but after a little bit of a rest day in game four
and a slow first period
now you look at this team
and it is a bit like
who is playing better hockey than the Florida Panthers
they're in every game too
we've said that about the others
you know they no lead is safe
they had a million comebacks to start the playoffs
they always seem to find that goal
the Panthers there's been two games
I think in the playoffs where I'm like
oh they couldn't really find one there
as unflappable as it gets right
like yep I'll leave you with this
Brindamore quote he said after the game it's the craziest thing that were this far and all
I'm hearing is negativity when I walked in this summer with the pieces left in this organization I was
like I don't think we're making playoffs that's so fucking mean I don't think we're making playoffs I was
worried about it because there was a mass exodus of good players to free agency then we were able
to find good players to fill in and then I was like I don't know if they're that good but they hung in
there I got nothing but pride with this group we didn't love how this series kind of went but the
the Florida Panthers are the standard and I'm like you
thought the Carolina hurricanes were missing playoffs preseason.
I missing playoffs, dude.
I am kind of like, if I were a player on that team, I'd be a little bit like, fuck you.
I just can't hear that we got ragdolled in the conference finals again, but it's amazing
because we were not even a playoff team.
I want to click on and look.
Carolina lost to, Carolina lost to New York.
York last year?
Yeah.
Yeah.
And they almost, well, not almost,
but we were all like,
here comes the reverse sweep
because the Rangers are up 3-0
and then it looked like the Kings
were going to beat them.
Let me look at the lineup of this team.
From last year?
Yeah.
Looking at the lineup of this team last year.
Roster report.
Carolina Hurricanes.
Chatfield, Orlov, Burns, Stahl,
Jack Drury,
not no longer on the team.
Sebastian Ahho,
Stephan Nason,
Seth Jarvis,
Svetnikov, Martinuk,
Gensel, not on the team.
Nason, not on the team either.
Jacob Slavin, Brady, Shea, not on the team.
Tony D'Angelo, not on the team.
K.K., Tara Vinen, not on the team.
Kuzi, not on the team.
So they lost Kuzi, Nachis, Tara Vinen,
Tony D'Angelo, Shay, Gensel.
Gensel.
Nason, jury.
A lot of players.
Yep.
But
It would be literally one out.
that didn't have them making playoffs.
I think there were some, like I said, they are dumbasses.
Absolute dumbasses.
Like, I think we both had them second in the Met.
Yeah.
Which they were.
Were they?
Yeah, right?
Oh, yeah, Caps.
Fuck you.
Snipe.
Snipe, dude.
We're not going to talk about the fact that we both had the Rangers first in the Met.
Yeah, and I had caps missing playoffs.
Yeah.
That is a lot of lost players, but again.
It's ridiculous, bro.
You know, like...
It's a ridiculous quote.
They went out and got good players, you know?
So I don't know what to say, really.
It's like I know Stank and Halsey were deadline ads,
so that wasn't preseason.
But I do think it's like a lot of players,
a lot of teams lose players.
Like look at Florida, they lost some very good players
and they went out and found some.
So it's like part of me it's like,
that's so root to the players on this team
who are like,
All those contracts I just read out, like, those were guys who were on the team last year who are now on it, who are like your core.
Yeah.
And you're being like this.
These guys stink.
I got here this summer and I was like, you suck.
These losers aren't going to make playoffs.
And I'm like, Jesus Christ, pal.
I know the spin zone he's trying to do.
But I'm just like, bro.
Yeah, I think I'm getting a little tired of Roddy spin zone.
Yeah, I do.
He's a Supreme Leader, dude.
I would love to.
We are not good.
We will not make playoffs.
Yeah.
I would love to know what would have to happen for Rod to be like this.
This is a fucking joke.
Disappointy year.
this disappointing year, we fell short.
Like, would the entire team have to commit Sepika on themselves?
During a storm surge?
So they go, they go.
Their storm surge is like, everybody goes, and they go,
Rob's like, ooh, this year was a bummer.
Everyone died on the ice.
Like, they go full Jim Jones and drink the Kool-Aid.
Like, everyone just commits suicide.
Then he's like this.
This is a really bad, I'm disappointed.
Damn, dude.
Like, what would have to happen for him to be like this?
I'm pissed.
This is disappointing.
We didn't live up.
We didn't get as far.
The fact that he's like,
we got gentlemen swept.
Why is everyone upset?
What's the negativity?
What's with all the negativity?
Hey, dude, you're a glass half empty guy, are you?
Hey, Rod, don't piss in my mouth and tell me it's raining.
Just don't.
So I'm a little tired of that.
At the end of the day, though, closing thoughts for me,
the Florida Panthers are just, they're phenomenal.
They're better than you.
They're phenomenal, and I'm not entirely sure how you deal with this.
You know, we're going to see the Oilers deal with it the best they can.
A lot of people have pointed out this is eerily similar to Crosby First Cup.
You go in, you play Detroit, you lose, then you come back, you play Detroit and you win.
So a lot of people are going, this feels like Sid.
And I hear you, it does.
And, you know, I look at Florida, and we don't even need to do this, but it's like, Florida,
as a projected 19 mil in Cap Space next year, and their UFAs are Marci, No Sick, Sam Bennett,
big one, Nico Sturm, Sam Oskivich, Schmidt, and Eckblad.
Yeah.
So like, Schmidt, Echblad, Bennett are the big ones.
And Marshie, Marsha.
Yeah, yeah.
To me, I'm like, Marcy, you should.
come on back, pal.
I know.
And there might be trades in there to make things work,
but it's, again, it's like,
these guys locked up.
They're a problem.
Like, you have Anton Lundell at five mil a year until 2029.
You have Verhege at seven until 2029.
Rhino at 8.6.
Cachuk at 9.5.
Barkov at 10.
Barkov is a top five player in the NHH.
Garcoff's gross.
16 is a top five player in the NHL.
Sorry, he is.
and you know, it's just,
this team ain't going nowhere.
So, yeah, it's wild.
So Florida Panthers headed to the Stanley Cup.
Tonight, we'll watch and see if Edmonton can get the job done
and go meet them for a second round.
Moving on from playoffs, a little bit of hockey news.
Boston Bruins looked like they might have a head coach.
Maybe.
Maybe.
It's not confirmed.
So we'll walk this back.
but I do want to talk about it in case it does get announced.
It has not been officially announced yet.
We've had a couple of leaks.
Shout out Cam Robinson, who was one of the first to announce it.
A lot of people are seeming to usually when you see something like this,
when someone gets a little too horny and leaks something out,
you'll get the big dogs who kind of bark them back into the doghouse.
And they go, nothing has been confirmed about this.
And it's their way of calling them a fucking idiot without calling them.
them a fucking idiot. That has not happened. So I'm inclined to believe all signs are pointing
towards it and we'll see it. We talked about it on the live a little bit. So I don't want to
spend too much time. But I have said a lot of negative things about the Boston Bruins right now
with their hires, with their management and just what's been going on. But as we've said many,
many times this is a young coach hire it's a first head coach in the nchl opportunity it's a player
turned coach who played for the organization for a good stretch knows the organization really well
is good with young players i really like it yeah i i i'm um i don't know what i wanted as a b's guy
i was like i hadn't even it just didn't even enter my brain there's so much else going on in
the league i'm so caught up in the playoffs and everything you wanted charra we wanted charra yeah
Did you imagine how imposed, you think Rod the Bod is imposing?
Can you imagine Zanachara standing on the back of a bench?
I just wanted to be the strength coach.
That's all I need.
It's insane.
But you're right, and it's a lot of cool things.
He coached the German team in 2018 in the Olympics to a silver medal,
a shocking silver medal, which is a really cool thing to be like,
I can get a group to rally around me.
He's got a great record with the rain.
He coached guys like QB and Clarkie and developed them.
and look what they're doing in the NHL now.
You know, so I'm like, that's awesome.
So with those factors and the stuff you guys listed in the live this morning about some of the guys that the bees,
if they're going to kind of stay relevant without falling into a massive rebuild,
there are these guys, Georgie Merculov, in the minors that I'm like, hey, I need you now.
It's time.
I need you to develop.
And maybe it's not even this next year, because like Laz said, he's going to get a little grace here of a couple years to get this going again.
but I don't have a honey time to waste with pasta and Charlie and sway you know not that the last two
are that old but it's just let's go dude these guys are in their prime they're entering their prime
I need these I need these years so I like what he's done with young guys I like what he did in the
Olympics I think it's cool that he was part of the organization I always love when that happens
so we'll see and I and as we always say I love that it's a new a new face right like
someone getting their their shot for sure HL coaching job it does feel like a
very new beginning for the Boston Bruins.
You know,
Brad's gone, doesn't look like he's coming back.
So you've really got this new regime of
Charlie, pasta, sway.
You wonder if a guy like Stern can revitalize
Elias Lindholm, get him back to that amazing year in Calgary.
You wonder if he can get Hampus Lindholm,
a great fucking player for the record.
There are some people who, you know, look at some of the injuries
and they're like, oh, I don't know, but this kid was playing Norris level hockey that season when Charlie started out.
You wonder if he gets him back.
And then, again, as I said on the live, you've got lots of draft picks that are going to be young players that'll be good for him to work with.
You've got guys like Minton that you picked up in the carlo trade.
You've got guys like who's Nadinov that you picked up.
You've got guys like Fabian Lysol and Murculav, as you mentioned.
I wonder what that looks like.
and I think it is a good opportunity for everyone.
If I'm a young player on the Bruins or in the Bruins organization,
I look at this higher and I'm like, nice.
Yeah, yeah.
This is good for me.
Right, yeah, agree.
Yeah.
I like that.
You had some Adam Lowry things to tell.
Yeah, I just wanted to say, could call it out,
because we're doing a little bit of news.
He just had surgery.
He just announced he had surgery.
He's going to miss five to six months.
And I really enjoyed watching him play.
play in the playoffs this year.
Yeah.
I would say he's a very, no offense, a very unflashy captain in this league.
Very often we see the captains are like a hulking defenseman or the best,
the best player on the team.
Adam Lowry is neither.
But here in Bones, when he's on the TNT panel, just the way he talks about Lowry.
And the way Lowry was talking about the season this year and trying to get that win and
that penalty kill for Schifes and just what he does for that group,
was awesome to watch
when you have a Kyle Connor on your team
when you have a Morrissey and a Shifley
so
I wish him a very speedy recovery because
that will suck because he's definitely going to miss the beginning of the season
right now and I hope he comes back full throttle
and that'll give him extra juice
when he comes playoff time because he has a little bit
he's a little bit fresher and the rocket
men the rocket men will rise again
well they will take off yeah
yeah yeah I mean Lowry's a
you know he's sort of
a career 30
five point guy, you know, like it's two years ago,
2023 season 36, 35 the next year.
He had 34 this year.
Yep.
But, you know, like 16 goals.
And he's a Selky guy.
Like 30th in Selke, two years ago,
seventh in Selky last year.
And he's a leader of men, dude.
Miles and Miles.
Like he is a leader of men.
And that is, that's shit you can't teach.
Yeah.
So that's why he's a ledge.
Let's take a quick break here from our sponsors
and then get back into a very important story.
You already know what my favorite beer is.
It's a Labat Blue Light.
And the Labat Blue Regular is pretty solid too,
but I'm a Labat Blue Light guy, I'm going to tell you.
And they're amazing for all occasions.
Because I'm drinking them while I'm watching playoff hockey,
but I'm also drinking them when I'm hanging out
in my backyard catching some rays.
I'm drinking them after Beer League.
I'm drinking them at the beach.
It's incredible.
They're the best beer going,
and it's because they're brewed with a little bit of Canadian kindness that you can taste in every single sip.
Ice cold, Labat, you crack it open and it's like, what is that on my tongue? What is that? And it's the Canadian kindness, I'm telling you. You can only get it from Canada and you can only get it in Labat.
They're such a cool beer, and I want you to check it out because I know it's not in your regular rotation. You're grabbing all the other lights, this, and whatever that. I'm telling you, go to the store, because they're getting everywhere down here now. Go to the store, go to your local grocery store.
find yourself a crisp sixer glass bottle, Labat Blue Light. You kidding me. And then pop one out.
Next time you're hanging with the group. You got a bunch of team coming over. Everybody's hanging out.
I want you to introduce them to Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light and see what they say. Because once you get them
onto it, they're going to start saying, hey, where are those Labats at? And then you're going to have to be behind them all the time. So I'm probably doing you a disservice here.
But I'm actually doing you a great service because Labat Blue is so awesome that you'll never regret making the switch to making it your regular every time beer, just like it is for me.
So go get a Labat Blue.
Go check out a Labat Blue Light right now.
Okay.
The time has come.
And I got to be honest, I, this brings me no joy.
Like, I don't even like doing this.
And Dan will attest, and Wags and Edge will attest that we almost did this weeks ago.
But I kept pushing it back, trying to give more time.
and I don't even know what is going to happen from this.
Like I said to you today before we did this, I was like, what's the win here?
And I don't know what the answer is, but here is the Coachella story.
If this gets me my money back, awesome, which I think that was my hope.
Like if it ever got to this point where I had to just fucking docks this dude on the internet,
then I was like, I hope this gets my money back.
But now I'm thinking it won't even do that.
but I just, I guess I hope now that it just exposes him enough in the public eye that he feels bad.
Yeah.
Because you've made me feel pretty bad, bro, and this sucks.
Yeah, and like I said, dude, life fucking stinks.
Yeah.
And it's just time to make people pay for their shitty actions.
So here it is.
So I went on Craigslist and bought Coachella tickets.
and you don't get, you get a number, you get a phone number.
So I'm texting a dude.
And almost right away, the guy goes,
do you have IG?
Which, like, was kind of weird.
I mean, if you want this whole story, go back and listen to the pod.
But he said, do you have IG?
What?
No, I just wanted, like, I don't want you to tell the full beginning story again.
Because, like, so if you're a recurring listener, you know the story.
If you're a new listener, the spark notes are,
we were going to Coachella.
CP had to buy some bracelets.
Secondhand had to buy some for some friends
who he was being kind enough to help out.
Found a guy in Craigslist.
This person hit him up and was like,
what's your IG?
Because he wanted to see if Chris was like a real legit person.
So Chris gave him the Netter's IG and my IG
to which he hit us up and was like,
yo, I'm selling you the Coachella tickets.
And I was like, wow, as we saw this person
was a blue checkmark and the son of a prominent NFL wide receiver
who Chris will say. After that, it was a shit show of this fucking kid didn't send the bracelets.
We then had to hit him up and be like, hey, fuck stick. Where are the bracelets? We then find out
that he printed out the shipping label wrong, sent them to the wrong address because he didn't
copy the address right, then put the wrong return address on it because it was his old address
and he had moved since. We then drove all over L.A. trying to fucking find the package. And then
after we were like, dude, it's not there.
And C.P. sent you $3,500 for all of these bracelets.
You did not give us the goods.
You have to pay us back.
He then went, oh, I don't have the money because I gave the money to all my friends whose
bracelets I also sold us.
But I can get it, I can get it to you on Saturday.
That Saturday came and went.
It's now been fucking three months.
Chris gave him his cash app.
He was like, my cash app got shut down.
You need to do it through my girlfriends.
No money has been sent.
He's non-responsive.
He's a fucking rat prick.
Go on.
Yes.
So, and I want it to be fucking very clear that I drove all over Kingdom come.
On this dude's behalf, trying to find the fucking tickets and everything.
And I legitimately think he got sick, like he was in the hospital for a second, which led to the chaos of the situation.
But here's what kills me, everybody.
I'm texting with a kid on Kregslist.
He says, can I have your IG?
I say, yeah.
And everybody that knows my person is a fucking burner bullshit,
but I go DM me, dude, and I will answer.
And then I immediately get a DM that says, hey man,
and it is from Kishon Johnson Jr.
Kishon Johnson's son, the first overall pick of the 1996 NFL draft
of the New York Jets, made $80 fucking million dollars
his career earnings on TV left and right,
his son, Kishon Johnson Jr., college football player,
living about here in California now.
I go, yo, exclamation point, to his blue checkmark
Instagram DM, because I just couldn't believe
that the random fucking kid I found on Craigslist
was Keishon Johnson Jr.'s son.
And he goes, hey, reached out to your brother as well,
just so you guys, just wanted you guys to know
who you're getting the bands from, lull.
Implying, yeah, it's literally me.
I'm Keishon Johnson Jr.'s son.
I'm not a random on Craigslist.
I am a personality.
Yeah.
And in fact, he was telling.
texting us from a burner phone, which he had to get, which he admitted, because he was like,
I didn't want to just be giving out my cell phone number. I had to get a...
Because who knows who I'm selling this to. I have to get a... Turns out it's us, pal.
Yeah. So all hell breaks loose with the tickets. And he stops answering my texts. Then even
when he is answering, he's like, I don't know, bro. I'm in the hospital. He's like spelling stuff
wrong, which normally screams fraud shit. So I DM his, uh, him back and go, dude, was your account
hacked? Do you have the previous messages for me? Because now I'm thinking like someone hacked his account
who was DMing me from his real official and it's in it's the text. To effectively scam you.
Yeah, the text is all bullshit. Doesn't answer. Doesn't answer. And I'm like, yeah, we're dead.
So then, you should probably go find yours. But Dan DMs. Yeah, again, like we're kind of retail on parts of
the story here. But if you haven't heard it, here you go. Basically, I went not scorched earth, but I was like,
pal i don't know what the fuck happened i'm sorry this is going on but you're not responding
you got paid for these bracelets and they haven't arrived so we're either going to call the cops
or take other actions or you you fucking tell us what's going on so then he immediately answers immediately
answers he's like dude i swear to god not that kind of guy says he's not that kind of guy he also says
he's in the hospital sends me a picture of his hospital man and i was like this kid's in the hospital
he's sick he's sick of the hospital and then chats with me for an entire day going back
and forth to the point where I was then like, buddy, go where, like find the receipt of the shipping
label, which he does. There's a hyperlink on Chris's name. He's like, it doesn't show the address.
And I go click the hyperlink. He does. Shows up the address is wrong. And that is when he was
like, dude, I'm a fucking idiot. Yes, bro. I'm gonna, I got a man up to this. I fucked up.
I put in the address wrong. That's why you guys don't have the bracelets. I have to give you
your money back. And I was like, appreciate it. Like, this blows for you. But you, but you, you,
did make a mistake, appreciate you. The fact that he goes to all this trouble, responding to us,
sending me pictures of his hospital band, sending me pictures of the receipt to then still just never
pay you back is banana land. Okay, so this is what I get. I send him all the shit I do and he goes,
Kishan Johnson Jr., dude, goes like this, sorry, I've been recovering, not really on my phone,
let me know what happens. I already explained to your brother, I messed up the address. I take full
responsibility for it and I will I will but it will take me a few weeks to pay you guys back I go all good
dude really sorry you've been sick post office couldn't find it whenever whatever uh I'm gonna keep
looking we don't we don't find them and we go sucks that that happened if you can get us the
money back as soon as you can we'd really appreciate it thanks again that's on the fucking
april 14th okay no answer nothing crickets till April 23rd yo buddy just wanted to check in since
it's beyond the 18th because he had text
did you, or DM'd you like, I get paid on the 18th.
It's beyond the 18th. It's the 23rd.
Hope things get settled up.
He responds, like five hours later.
Hey, guys, been crazy trying to see if my friends
could help me out paying this back, but I get paid this Saturday.
So it's already, like, I don't know what happened to the 18th paycheck.
I get paid this Saturday.
I'll send the majority back then.
And I go, sorry for the craziest and thank you.
It's okay if you need to send it in a few installments, if that's easier.
April 30th.
Hey, bud, checking in here.
Understand it's a tricky situation.
but we'd appreciate it. Also, I'm sure people are dying laughing listening to this.
At this point, you, yeah.
Because this happened to Chris.
I'm in the chat.
Feel like fucking idiots.
It's like, at this point, you're like, hey, next week.
We've been scammed.
But again, it's more just the, I cannot believe the links that this fucking kid has gone to without just paying us back.
So Saturday comes and goes, obviously, payment installments timeline.
Let us know what you can do.
May 1st, he goes, payment installments will work.
I'll put in the first one this Saturday.
Saturday, a big payday for Key.
We go appreciate it.
May 5th.
Hey, brother, just a reminder on those payments.
Notice nothing came through on Saturday.
Is that what I said?
Yeah.
No answer.
May 12th, dude.
Notice nothing came through.
Another week later.
Hey, you must have missed it.
Must have not crossed that one off the to-do list.
Any update from me, May 12th.
And then you go, going to need some form or show of confidence here, man.
Otherwise, we're going to need to take other action.
He answers right away.
so sorry. I'll have something for you tomorrow. I just paid some bills and my rent. So is 500 to
$750 okay for the first payment? Then I'll get more in the next two weeks when I get paid again.
I go, of course, man, that works. Thank you. And he goes, right away, he goes, where should I send it?
I'm waiting on the deposit to hit my account. And you go, Venmo where cash app works. And he goes,
what's the cash app? Which makes sense because that's how I was paying him. And he goes, just still waiting
for that deposit to hit. I send him my cash app, where I'm not going to read out loud. And then
why, dude? Yeah, actually, someone to send me money.
So I send to my cash app and he goes, then he goes, dude, not sure if you reported my cash app or something.
Because remember the beginning, we were like, we're going to report you, dude.
Not sure if you reported my cash app or something, but it got closed.
So my girlfriend's going to send it to you when it comes through.
His cash has been shut down, dude.
And I go, oh, damn, I never did report anything because you were responsive.
But that works too, because I don't give a shit who fucking sends me the money.
And he goes, okay, cool, I'll let you know.
That all happened right away.
dude a week goes by
Dan goes key what's the deal here my man
does christie does send you anything else this is getting ridiculous
nothing yesterday what's the fucking date the 28th
I respond hey man didn't get the 500
from your girlfriend
I gotta believe you have the ability to start paying me back
there are plenty of other apps to use you've had a lot of time
we were trying to be patient but I feel like we need to take other action
which unfortunately is absolutely fucking blasting you
on our hockey podcast yeah
The fact that the fucking son of a multi-multimillionaire TV personality NFL All-Star can't find
fucking $500 a week to start paying me back for the literal robbery, the theft.
Kishon Johnson Jr. has robbed me when he has a million opportunities to get me money back.
There are so many things about this.
And I do want to start it off by saying one.
I don't presume to know anyone's financial situation, nor do you.
Yeah, right.
So I'm not sitting here going, do you seriously not have $3,500 in your account?
Tons of people don't.
I do think it's insane.
If you are this strapped for cash, what the fuck are you doing going to Coachella Pal?
Yeah, well, he wasn't.
He had to sell him.
Well, sure.
But he said, he was like, I'm not going because blank.
He was like, me and my boys are going somewhere else.
Yeah.
So that.
And then I also don't presume to know.
anyone's relationship with their father.
Yeah.
But in this circumstance, I do, I am a little confused how there's not like a, hey, dad,
can you help me out?
I'm a fucking moron and I made a huge mistake.
Or just ignore me, dude.
Like, go away.
You've scammed me.
That is my next point.
Like, what the fuck are we doing here?
Again, OG story knowers know this.
This started with CP hitting him up and going, dude, man to man, if you scammed me,
just fucking tell me.
Tip of the cat.
Tell me or ignore this message.
because I don't have time to talk to you if you are scamming you.
Because I need to go, I need to find other options here.
And he was like, dude, I swear I'm not scammy.
So again, if this is all a scam, this is either the weirdest fucking behavior that has ever existed or this man is a genius.
And it's like the greatest long con scam of all time where he has mentally manipulated you.
And it's absolutely bonkers.
He'll just DM me every two weeks being like, dude, next week, dude.
I'm getting you.
Dude, next week I'm getting paid.
Dude, he's probably just yucking it up.
Yeah, he's telling this story.
He's showing it to his boys.
He's like, look at this idiot, dude.
He keeps messaging me and me like, where's my money?
Where's my money?
But at the same time, I am shocked that you did it from your actual IG account that is verified.
Because now I'm like, hey, dude, I'm not telling the Netters Army to go and fucking harass this dude.
But Kishon Johnson Jr., he's on Instagram and he's a fucking rat prick or the weirdest dude who's ever lived.
Dude, you're a fucking thief.
It's so insane, too, because I love, because when you said I gave him the Netter,
one. I actually didn't. I only gave him ours, which
with a quick couple clicks, you could find out.
But I love, like, he doesn't even know that I have
all of Friday beers at my fingertips. Like, I'll
fucking put this shit on the main page, you
fucking clown. Yeah, yeah. Like, here comes
two million people being like, you're a scumbag.
Skumbag. Which you are.
Cumbag. Like, shut that account down now,
dickhead. Like, so... Yeah, and like,
I reserve the right to apologize
if this all was a big accident and you
eventually get the cash to him. But at
this point, brother, I'm like, it's
May 28th. You have
just dicked around this whole time.
Like, what the fuck happened?
It's insane.
Dude, my girlfriend, my cash app's been shut down.
I'm like, then download Venmo, dude.
Watch this.
Bang.
That works too.
Why are you using cash app to begin with?
Jesus, fucking moly.
So, yeah.
Hate that, dude?
Yep.
Dude, hate theft.
You remember, when this story started,
like, a theft should be punishable by a bullet
between the fucking eyes because then people would stop stealing shit.
amount of fucking things I did for this kid.
Like giving him the benefit of the doubt, driving all over the fucking city trying to find
his mistake.
And then the patience here and all this shit, I fucking DM'd his dad from netters because
I knew it would come up because it's a blue check mark.
The blue check mark.
I DM'd his dad when it first happened, literally not complaining or asking for money
back.
No joke.
I will post the DM.
I said, dude, you should talk to your son because I think his account got hacked and like
someone's fraud.
Someone's like frauding his name.
I literally was going, I don't even need.
I didn't even bring up the.
money to his dad. I didn't say I got got. I said, dude, get in contact with your son because his
account's getting hacked. I'm trying to look out for this fucking kid. And now, I'm like,
hey, dude, I'll, if you don't answer the army that's coming for you, I'm coming for your dad's
account now, dude, where I'm going to be like, hey, Key, I don't know what to tell you, dude,
but this is a bad look for the fan, for the brand. For the brand, dude. He's sullying the name
because this is trash behavior. Didn't love it. Didn't love the experience, dude, would not,
zero stars, would not return.
We tried to go as long as possible without exposing this dude and not believing in the good of humanity.
Unfortunately, time has run out.
Before the clock runs out in this episode, let me close you out with a game.
Please.
We're going to do trivia ladder.
I suck at this fucking game.
You make it hard, though, bitch.
So this game, NHL player?
Yep.
I don't do a one, remember.
You have five questions, 10 points, 8 points, 6 points, 4.
four points and two points. If Chris gets it right on the first one, he gets all 10, gets it on
the second one, eight. If he gets it wrong, he gets no points. If you guess early and you get it
wrong, you get zero, which has never happened because I usually am too scared. Are you ready?
No, not really, but go ahead.
Question number one, for 10 points. This Canadian player was a top three draft pick, and even though
he's only 28 years old, he's played for three NHL teams already. This Canadian player is a top
three draft pick. He's a Canadian. He's a top three draft pick. He's 28, so I know about what
draft that should have been and he's played for three teams already so he's 28 probably he's a top
three draft pick so he's probably in like the 2015 draft god i wish i knew that fucking draft dude um
okay i don't is that the de brusk draft yeah i got to i got to have it in my own knowledge
Um, that might even be like Connor.
Oakes.
Okay, keep going.
Shockingly, in the year before his draft, this player had the most points in the
OHL that season, slightly edging out Mitch Marner and Erie Otter teammate, Connor
McDavid.
Yeah, dude, fuck.
I think that is Connor's draft.
Dude, I actually think this player came up, uh, a while ago in another game.
And you were like, this guy went third that year.
I was like, no.
And now I'm going to forget him again.
Okay, so this person had more points than Connor McDavid on the Otters.
The fun factor that is, he had, I think it was 126 points that season.
Marner had 124 and Connor had 120 in 21 less games played.
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding.
Okay, fuck, dude.
Connor Jack
Blank
Three teams
He's 20 fucking 80s
He's been on three goddamn teams
He's
And and what
Do you say
Based on your general behavior right now
I think you know it
I don't
I'm worried that you saw it
When I was looking it up
And I feel like I should have turned my screen more
I really don't
I really don't
Because my thought was
I just don't want to say
In case it's right
but like I'm positive it's wrong.
Yeah, that can't be it.
I think actually he's too young.
He's too young.
Because he's, yeah, 10 years, bro.
Like, he's actually been in the league for a minute.
Yeah.
Okay, I don't know it.
Question number three for six points.
After failing to impress with his draft team,
this player was traded to the Blackhawks
where he was put on a line with former OHL teammate Alex DeBringit
and future Hall of Famer Patrick Kane.
DeBringit and Kane.
and he's Canadian, right?
He is Canadian?
Dude, I suck at this fucking game.
This was his second team before he was moved on to his next team.
Yeah.
I hate that you just said Hawks because the dude I was thinking of was Kirby
because he went third and then he went and like he was on the Hawks and then got shipped
to Montreal but he's only been on two teams and I was like,
he's not Kirby.
And then you were like, he was on the Hawks.
And I was like, fuck, shut up.
played with caner and to brinket
and I feel like I do now
like some
there's a person that exists
that I know what it has to be
but I just can't get it
you want to take a shot?
No because I can't even pull a name up
that fits these teams
and the Hawks was his second team
yes
and he's fucking Canadian
he's obviously Canadian
I feel like I maybe could have given you
the first team in that but
no no it's okay after if I can't get it
after this one, retroactively give me the first day.
You will unfortunately definitely get it here.
Really? Yeah. And you're going to be upset?
No, I probably won't. I never get the ones that you're like, this one's obvious.
Like I literally, I go all the way to the wood, dude. Get me to one.
It's true.
You're a ground floor guy.
You have a ground floor guy. I always have been.
God damn it. Who fucking played on that fucking line?
Canadian kid. And he's off the hawks. He's gone.
He's gone?
They look pretty stupid.
Oh, damn it.
Fuck, I fucking like, I know who it is.
Question number four.
Four, four points.
After not being tendered as an RFA by the rebuilding Blackhawks,
this player signed a one-year deal with the Washington Capitals
and then signed a five-year extension just seven months later
as he quickly found form playing with Alex Hvechkin.
Yeah.
Who did he get drafted by?
The Arizona Coyotes.
Fuck, dude.
I don't think I would have got it then, though.
the answer he's 28
that's crazy
the answer is Dylan strome
that's correct
great one
the last one was now showing signs
of nicholas backstrom reborn
this player assisted on Alex
of Etchkin's record breaking 890th
sick very sick that's a good staff for him
who else got it it was carlson
yeah this is fucking epic
stromer dude what was the first one
oh yeah that was a good hit that was good hit
Arizona. Fuck. Yeah.
That one, dude, that was actually a really fair one, Dan.
That was the fairest one you've ever done.
That was pretty good. That was the fairest one you've ever done.
I could have got it. I could have got it. I could have got it at 10.
Like there was a chance. The best tens are when there's like a chance in hell.
When I'm like, I could have been like.
I'll tell you what. He is one of the great stories in the NHL right now because he had bust
label all over it.
Painted. He was like up and he was like barely playing with Arizona and they were like,
get out of here, dude. And then he was great.
with the Hawks.
I think in his first week with the Hawks.
Like he was one of the NHL stars of the week.
And then just insane to not qualify.
They were like becoming a free agent.
And he just signed a one year deal with Washington.
He's like, I'm nasty.
Yeah.
And they were like, yeah, we're dumb.
My bad, my bad.
We're done.
Great job.
Thank you.
Four points.
Great job.
Great job by you.
That's going to do it for us here at the Empty Netters podcast.
You guys can catch us every Tuesday and Thursday for our podcast episodes,
lives Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 9 a.m. Pacific time on our YouTube channel. Make sure to
subscribe to the YouTube. Give us a five-star review on Apple, Spotify, wherever we get you podcast, if you
haven't yet, guys, helps us a lot. It means the world to us. Also, check out empty netters.
Dot shop for our new storefront. We've got all of our awesome merch in there. We've got
elite war road gear that we made with War Road with TJ O'S. Your boy, you're going to see him on the live
on Friday. We've got hoodies. We've got hats. And then we've got our new sick merch that we've
designed. We've got a rink rat shirt. We got the new empty netters lakehouse crew neck that just dropped.
So sick. We've got tons of fun teas, the netters bear, crushing, and then the team-specific ones of the
four teams, three now. Still remaining. Super fun. Support your squad. Support us. Grab some great gear for the
summer. Enjoy. Until we see you on the next show. Skate hard.
