Empty Netters Podcast - Are The Canadiens About To Mess Around And Make Playoffs?
Episode Date: March 20, 2025Montreal and Ottawa have kicked down the doors of the Eastern Conference Wildcard Race. Miro might miss the first round in Dallas which would be a disaster. Crosby keeps breaking records when no one i...s looking. And DP crushes it with Trivia Factorial this week. Did anyone getting faster than him? NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more 00:00 INTRO 00:17 NOT ICE 11:50 IS ALL-STARS DEAD? 25:17 WILDCARD UPDATE 40:51 CROSBY IS COOKING 52:29 TOFF TAKES 1:20:22 POWERS RANKINGS 1:25:06 STARTING 6 Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The door to the Eastern Conference Wildcard has been wide open, and we've been guessing.
All season, we've been guessing who's it going to be.
And there's one team, one really surprise team, dude.
Out of nowhere, dude, the habs.
They're going for it.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Proct to you by Bet, M.G.M.
I'm your host, Dan Powers.
And with me, sitting next to me, a young boy who's often called a Peter Pan who's sometimes
goes to an arcade in his hometown and he gets a stupid little rope bracelet and he wears it for an
entire calendar year until it deteriorates and falls off his wrist. Chris Powers. As always, how are we doing?
We feel great. Your hair looks great. Wow. Don't get that often. Not an inch longer though.
Well, not an inch longer. Well, we're on the way. We're on the road back to shoulder link.
I'm going to take clippers to your head if you let it get more. We're on the road back to shoulder
The long road.
Pretty quick road, actually.
It grows fast.
Yeah, I know, but you look so good right now.
Why would you want to look bad again?
Because I'll look even better.
But I'm telling you, you look bad.
No, no.
You think I would lie to you?
That's the thing.
I actually end up looking better.
How about this?
If you let it grow long, you actually put an ounce of effort into making it look good and styling it.
That's a good deal.
That's all I've ever asked of you.
No, that's not true.
You have asked.
You have asked so much.
I've never asked a single thing of you in my entire life.
Except style my long hair.
Yeah.
That's the one.
I'm like,
can you just not look like a homeless man who just rolled out of his shanty town tent?
And then look at me and you go,
Hey,
where you go and you're going into that 7-Eleven?
Get me some booze.
That's what I think you're going to say to me every time I see you.
I do say that to you when you go into 7-Elevens too.
I don't sound like that,
but oftentimes you'll be running an errand and I'll say,
Get me some booze.
Get me some booze.
If you ever asked me, I'm being dead serious with you.
If you ever asked me, get me some booze, I would be like, no.
That would be my first sign that you have a problem.
If you can't tell me-
Get me some booze.
You don't even need to do the voice.
Yeah, I go, Dan, get me some booze.
I would be like, dude.
If you can't specify what-
Get me some mouthwash.
What type of alcohol you want, then we're officially in a dark place.
I need at least a category.
If you said beer, you said,
yeah,
seltzers, if you said hard alcohol,
I'd be like,
you'd allow hard alcohol?
I feel like that's booze.
That's close.
It's a gateway to a problem.
Yeah.
But at least I know it's not beer,
because beer is still booze.
Beer is still booze.
But if you go get me.
And I'll take some.
Hey, uh,
hey,
Dan,
would you,
would you mind?
Could you possibly get me some booze?
Even if you said it that way.
Yeah.
I'd be like,
no.
Uh,
yes,
Chris,
just come with me to,
uh,
this meeting.
And then we'll get you the booze.
Speaking of booze and craziness.
We're out of Vegas.
We go to Vegas today.
I'm leaving.
I got to go.
I've got to go right now.
You got a pack, dude.
You haven't packed?
I haven't packed.
Are you thrilled about Vegas?
Tell the people what we're doing in Vegas.
So we are fired up because you'll be listening to this Thursday.
Yeah.
And it's about time we're listening to this.
There's probably already March Madness games on.
So it's March Madness.
It's college basketball.
What's the earliest game?
Dude, it's early.
It's like eight or ten?
I think it's nine Pacific.
Okay.
So a lot, I mean, we've got so many East Coast commute listeners.
They'll be fine.
Yeah.
You'll be listening to this and it'll get, it'll get the balls tingling.
Well, it's March Madness.
The basketballs, the basketball's tingling.
Don't be gross.
Don't be gross.
Don't be gross.
God. Wags.
So, fucking pervert.
Wags is such a pervert.
So obviously, BetMGM, big sponsor of the show, the sports book, born in Vegas.
So we are going to Vegas because our boys, Dr. Lox, glue guy, Lupica, they're going to be in Vegas watching all the games.
Let me ask you a question.
When you hear the term Motherland, what do you think of?
Don't lie.
Russia.
Yeah.
But I think a lot of people will say Motherland, they'll be talking about Maine.
You know, Mainers will be like, yeah, going back to the Motherland.
The Motherland is officially Vegas for us.
Yeah.
We're a bad MGM show.
We were born in Vegas.
We were born in Vegas.
We were born in Vegas.
And they are going and they're going to be posted up.
There's an event at the Cosmo.
It's called something cool.
Look up, see if you can find what it's called.
It's called something really cool.
They're going to be posted up there all day and they're hammering the dogs.
Okay.
They've got a hundred bucks on every dog in the first round.
It's going to be insane.
They went last year.
Hoops and hops?
Is that what it is?
Anyway.
Wax, this is your job.
Look up what the event, the March Madden's event at the Cosmopolitan Hocke.
hotel in Vegas is. So the boys are going to be there and we're going to. Okay. And it's a near frozen
frenzy day. It is. On Thursday there's 14 games. We got 14 games. And it sounds if the boys are
doing dog day that I want to do a dog. Woo woo woo woo. Woo. Who call. Dog day afternoon.
I don't even know it's a call this. Jesus. I'm sweating. I'm getting hot. How about like
we call we said is. We said it might be hoops and hops. Why did you say no?
It just sounded crazy. Is it? What are the
The hops.
People jumping?
Well, are there two T's in hops?
They added more hops to the recipe.
I heard they added more hops to it.
What the hell were we talking about?
Frozen Frenzy.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Eight games I've dubbed, at least eight, I've dubbed a mini frenzy.
Okay.
This is 14.
I don't know if I can call this a mini frenzy.
Yeah, this is a, it's a just about frenzy?
This is a, uh, what's the, um, the DK thing called?
A DK thing.
Or a DQ?
A blizzard?
A blizzard.
It's a blizzard.
This is a blizzard.
We need frenzy in the name, don't we?
Yeah, you're right.
How about a...
You're not saying it's not totally frozen.
Yeah.
It's a chilled frenzy.
No, I don't like that at all.
Would you say, what did you call the other?
How about a frosted frenzy?
Yeah, okay.
It's a frosted frenzy Thursday.
I wanted a little bit more from you there, but I'll take it.
It's a frosted frenzy Thursday, and it's also a dog day afternoon.
Dan and I are going to bet on every single dog during the frosted frenzy.
And we're going to be posted up.
I think we're going to be at MGM Grand in the book there,
but we might go to the Cosmo with the boys.
We're going to see, you're going to have to follow us on the page.
The story's going to be cooking.
The story's going to be cooking full frosted frenzy takeover,
Dog Day, March Madness.
You think March Madness is basketball season?
Wrong.
It's hockey season.
And we are going to take full advantage.
So if you're in Vegas, come find us.
If you're not in Vegas or if you can't come find us,
and you just want to ride with the dogs.
Wow.
Then get involved because this is going to be a fun one.
You like any games?
I'm loving.
Well, there's a couple dogs that I really like.
I think the ducks are going to be a big dog.
And I love that.
The ducks look great.
You see Leo Carlson's penalty shot?
Oh, my God.
Gross.
He's a talented kid.
Gross.
But there's two games that I'm really excited about.
Dallas, Tampa, right?
That one's going to be an absolute tilt.
Yep.
and then of course our bees are in Vegas.
What's crazy, Dan, is we're not even going to get to go.
Like, normally I would travel and follow the bees and go see him.
I'm going to be there.
I'm going to be outside Team Mobile, and I can't even be at the game.
I'm just looking on bed and gym.
I'm looking what dogs I like.
Blue Jackets, Panthers, Blue Jackets at home.
They need a win.
They need to get back on the horse.
That's a good one.
How about this, dude, Leafs at Rangers.
The Leafs are the dogs.
Dude, like, I love that.
Woo!
Woo!
Dude, there are some dogs.
Canadians at Islanders, habs of the dogs,
habs are the hottest team in the NHL right now.
Dude, so that's what I'm saying.
So, dude, we're going to be absolutely hammering dogs.
Maybe I'll eat a hot dog too.
That's great content.
That's good content.
That's good content.
It's dog day.
Dan, it's a dog day afternoon.
I'm going to get the frosted frenzy.
I'm going to get dogs in Vegas while I bet dogs.
Get dogs, bet dogs.
I'm a fucking machine, dude.
I'm a content machine.
That is crazy.
Get dogs, bet dogs.
Dude, do you think there could be like a, is there like a,
a dog challenge we can do.
Maybe you can need to eat 14 dogs for 14 games.
Come on, that's out of control.
Just do it.
Okay.
Done.
Done.
How about that?
Seven each.
Oh.
This is 14 dogs, 14 games.
Guys, this is perfect.
I love it.
What do you, uh, just like quick hitters?
What do you do in Vegas?
What do I do?
I go to the spa.
No, you don't.
I go to Cirque de Soleil.
Wow.
He's making fun of me.
I fell for it.
Yeah, I go to get my, I get my 15th burgundy scarf.
They're not all burgundy.
Yeah, that would be crazy.
A lot of them are silk.
A lot of them are gold.
A lot of them are gray.
Yeah.
I, Dan, go to pool parties.
Me too.
No, you don't.
Yeah, I do.
I go to pool parties and I get in the pool.
Yeah, I don't do that.
I get into pool.
I don't do that.
Get in the pool.
Have I ever mentioned my, my bathing
suit phobia on this podcast? Yeah, well, maybe not on the pod. I genuinely, dude, have a phobia of getting
my bathing suit wet. Puts it on, won't get in. I, wearing a wet bathing suit is one of the most
uncomfortable feelings on planet Earth. I don't like it. I don't do it. In fact, if I'm going to
the beach and I know I'm going to swim, I bring two bathing suits to the beach. I wear one. I put one in my
bag. And I will come out of the water and I will towel change into a dry bathing suit, hang my
wet bathing suit over my chair and let it dry out because it's like sitting in a wet diaper dude
do you like they do like they wick then not that fast yeah i do and they don't dry that fast you're
all crazy if you're trying to act like we're wearing sham wows around your waist it's insane but sitting
in a hepatitis pool in the pool there's every bodily fluid that exists in that pool i hope you know
that one time i was in the pool with a buddy and we were you know going to the beat like with the
DJ drops. I think it was Zed and it's like boom and everyone's splashing and my buddy who was pretty
banged up, he would pick me up and like throw me under at big beat drops. He was literally trying to
kill you. And I was like, oh, ha ha. And then I would kind of come up for air and we keep dancing.
And then as he got more drunk, the frequency of my dunks were increasing. So I was like coming up for
air and then I'd be like, I'd be like, I'd getting hit again. And I was like, oh, dude. And then I
remember one time he slammed me under and I went to come up and I hit the his hand. He's
he had put his hand under the surface and I hit his hand so I couldn't get up and I was like oh how that's
funny and I remember looking up at him and I was moving and he just kept moving his hand to keep my
head down dunk a Chris and it was kind of like he was laughing and then I was like whoa and then I his
smile faded and he just turned a very sinister yeah and I was like that that rippling through the water
surface and you're like this oh he's trying to kill me I'm like whacking his arm trying to break the elbow
you know, got to unlock the elbow there.
And I got out, dude.
I got out.
Clearly.
But it was this close.
Yeah, razor thin, margin.
Dead and wet republic.
Would have been tough.
Would have been tough.
All right.
So I'll be at, I'll be going to the spa.
I'll be going to a Cirque show and you'll be, and then we'll both be at the pool party.
Be at the pool party.
And then maybe a nice dinner.
Yeah.
Then Craps.
Yeah, you're going to hit the Craps.
You're getting me into crap.
I won't lie.
Not a big gambling floor guy, but God damn it.
Crabs tables get pretty fun.
When Craps is going, it's one of the great things on earth.
It is. We got a big announcement in the NHL here.
Yep.
Gary Bettman has officially said that he is not married to a 2026 All-Star game.
Now, previously to this, we had been told, 26, All-Star was back,
27, Four Nations was back.
But now, Betman has said Four Nations raised the bar,
and they're exploring all of the options of something else that we could do in
26 as opposed to an All-Star game.
Here's my question.
Is the NHL All-Star game dead?
Dude, possibly.
And talk, should be.
Talk me through the timeline here.
Like, this, it is currently March of 2025.
Yeah, we did Four Nations in 2025.
26.
That's going to be next season, Chris.
Is the Olympics, though.
Like, we're gone for the Olympics.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And I don't think there was ever All-Star Games on Olympic years.
Go back, like 2014, 2010.
I don't think there were All-Star games then.
Wags?
Good job.
See if you can find that.
2014,
NHL.
All-Star game.
All-Star game.
And see what they say about it.
Does it exist?
The All-Star game held in late January or about,
no, that's just 2025 NHL All-Star game.
Well, that's 2015 is what you mean.
Why did I just say 2025?
Yeah, that was crazy.
2015.
Yeah, it looks like maybe there wasn't one in 2014.
Would be my guess because they're all gone.
Like you can't also break for the All-Stars.
Yeah.
So.
But this is implying.
But then he also said,
2028 is going to be,
World Cup is back.
So it's like every two years,
there was Best on Best International.
Olympics,
two years, World Cup,
two years Olympics.
Is 2020 28 going to be in the summer?
Or is it mid-season?
Are these mid-season tournaments?
Yeah, right, right, right, right, right, right, right, right.
Good question.
So I bet Olympics is in the winter,
obviously, and then World Cup could be,
could be summer?
I don't know what the plan is.
But here's the thing.
Let's say they're both winter
and they're both every other,
every two years, that would leave that one gap where you'd think, oh, okay, we're going to do
the All-Star game, at minimum.
I, part of me would be kind of sad to be like, oh, there's no All-Star game, but man,
I have not enjoyed pretty much any of the attempts with the respect, dude.
I have not enjoyed any of the attempts.
I actually think the event is fun.
It's fun getting all the boys together.
It's fun.
The family's getting to it.
enjoy it and it's obviously a great honor.
But the game itself
has not been cool in a long time.
And I give
the league a ton of credit. They've tried a bunch of different things.
Yes, for sure. But it's just like, it's so,
it's such an impossible ask
to get these players to care
and try in this thing.
The 2026 Olympics are February
6th to February 22nd.
Very similar to
like, yeah, this is in the middle of the season.
How are we going to do Olympics
and then also do some NHL
event that anyone's going to give a shit about. It is officially hat trick season folks and our good
friends at bet MGM, who we have teamed up with all season long is bringing you the NHL hat trick
jackpot right now. All you got to do to get your share of 10,000 smackers is place an anytime goal
score or wager on whoever you want. It can be someone on your favorite team, could be someone
who's hot right now. Doesn't matter. But you put an anytime goal score wager on any player and if they
score three or more goals in a game, you get your share of 10,000 bucks. So get those tingling
senses. Figure out who's hot. Who's on the score sheet of ton right now? Maybe Ovi. He's chasing down
that record. Place that anytime goal score or bet, and then boom, you are in that jackpot and you get
a chance at $10,000. So go to bet MGM right now, download the app, sign up with promo code
netters, and you will also receive up to $1,500 in bonus bets if your first
that loses. You've got two amazing things going on right now, and that's just what BetMGM does for you.
So make sure you get signed up today and join the BetMGM family with your boys.
Gambling problem, call 1-800-Gambler, available in the U.S.
Call 8778-N.Y or text Hope N.Y-4-669-N-Rew-N-Y.
Or text, Hope, New York. Call 1-800-3-2-0-0-1-Massachusetts.
21-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-2-3 in Puerto Rico.
1-Bent Offer. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
You betamjam.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Not happening.
Not happening at all.
So how would you feel if they just went?
The All-Star game is literally dead and we just get a break.
I think that that's absolutely what they should do because we're, I know it's not an NHL event
and I understand that there's money involved here.
Yeah, and they need some money.
Yeah.
But, yeah, I would almost, I mean, gosh, I like, put it this way,
doing any sort of all-star game while the Olympics are on,
no one will watch that.
Literally no one.
So what if we did some sort of event?
What if we did an NHL produced,
we get guys who are not participating in the Olympics,
who are named all-stars,
we do a family feud.
Okay.
Four-way family feud, something like that.
Maybe we did, maybe we got these guys
to do some sort of,
game show that's produced by the
NHL on TV. Dude, I actually
thought you were going to say this and I'd be, I love
it. It's good. It's really funny.
I would also be down for this because the NHL, like you
said, gets a lot of money from this. What if they were like,
hey, it's All Star break. So everybody
take, all the players take time off.
This group has been named to All Star.
Yeah. And All Stars in
it's like the Super Bowl. It's always in Florida, New Orleans.
Fun, War City. Vegas. Vegas. And
to get their revenue back,
they go,
the NHL sells tickets on
Saturday, Saturday day at noon
and there's just a dardy, 12 to 6
where there's like, booze,
but there's also just games for the kids
and the players are there.
So they're just like, it's cool, it's an event
that you'd spend even more for
because you'd be like, I get to like meet Drew Dowdy.
But the players hate that though.
But I think they wouldn't get mobbed
because people would be too intimidated.
They think they'd be like,
oh, I'm going to interact with Drew Daddy,
and then they get there and he's like, I'm not going to walk over to him. He's talking with
juice. Yeah, or they're just like in the mix. Yeah.
We're just playing games. You can't like mob a guy. It's just playing
cornhole. Yeah. That's kind of cool too. And be fun as hell.
I think if you got all these guys, it was only one day. One day. One day, you come in,
we're doing a taping of family feud. That's going to air. It's going to be absolutely
hilarious. We'll write the questions. We'll make the categories. Then we dardy. Then there's a dardy. Then they can
all go off. One day. Then they can go off to their vacation. Yep. This is a perfect idea.
I love it. We are so buzzing. It's unbelievable.
One of the things talking international hockey I wanted to bring up that was in the news.
Trump and Putin had their meeting. And Dan, a couple of things killed me from this. Number one, it goes,
the White House report of the call did not mention talks involving hockey and the NHL learned of
this idea after it was over. Like I just love that. It wasn't even, I imagine, in,
international world leaders have an agenda.
We have Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin meeting.
And they're like this.
We got to get Russia back into these games.
We have an itinerary.
And it's a podcast.
I imagine there's an itinerary for the Trump Putin meeting.
There must be one.
And instead, dude, they were just like this.
Should we play puck?
They sit down.
They get some McDonald's going.
Putin kicks up his feet and he goes, let's get to the important issues.
How do we get Russia back into the Olympics?
How do we get Russia back into four nations?
And Trump goes like this.
I'm so glad you asked.
Dude, a series of hockey games between their respective countries and Dan involving players from the NHL and the KHL.
I don't love that, but I don't hate it.
There's going to be guys from the KHL considered for the Olympic roster.
Yeah, I guess so.
I need Putin to chill. Cool your fucking Jets, pal.
What do you think is on the line?
Let's say it's a best to seven.
Like, Putin must own the KHL.
I guess.
Like these guys playing for a team.
So I needed to cool as jet.
Like, oh yeah, we're going to get a KHL game in the NH.
Shut up, dude.
Like, relax.
However, I do want Russian players back in these games.
Yep.
We talked about it at Four Nations when we put together the hypothetical team, Russia.
Come on.
We need those guys competing.
So I do like that part.
Cool your jets on the KHL.
But I think politics aside, this isn't a politics discussion.
This is a hockey discussion.
We got to get.
Russian players back in the mix. Remember when I said USA Canada should have something on the line,
like Poutine is available? This one, the stakes are higher. USA, Russia, something's on the line.
Oh yeah. And I don't know what it is. Democracy. Yeah.
Unfortunately. Okay, Dan, some scary news out of Dallas.
Yeah, speaking of players needing to get back in the mix, Miro Hiskinin has been announced that he might
miss the first round. Now, normally, he'd originally been reported that he'd be back for playoffs,
back for the start of playoffs.
Normally you would go, team like Dallas, who cares?
Get healthy.
Get 100%.
Come back when we need you.
We can get out of the first round without you.
We're the cup favorites.
Unfortunately, team like Dallas plays in the Central.
Yeah.
And they should do.
They might damn well play the Colorado Avalanche in the first round.
It's the avalanche of the Jets.
So it's like you are a no fair.
They could get the onesie.
But you know what I'm saying?
There's a likely chance that they are going to take someone hard in the first
round and you'd be without one of your best players.
Now Dallas is deep as fucking hell, but holy shit, you cannot feel good.
You can't feel good at all.
And it is also one of those things where I want to come back and say, cool your jets before you know information.
When the Mark Stone Haskinen hit happened, so many Vegas fans were like, he's not even fucking hurt, dude.
it's going to be fine.
And I posted something along the lines of, you know,
this is a nightmare for Dallas.
And someone tried to like come in and check me and was like,
you don't know the facts.
They say he's weak to week.
Think you're looking for clicks, pal.
He literally hasn't played since then
and now he's possibly going to miss the first round of a playoff.
So whoever you were on Twitter,
you fuck yourself because you're an idiot.
And this is why these things matter.
These things are huge.
I am now going to go back to my stance during the deadline
where I was like Dallas needs to get a defenseman.
You need to get a defenseman.
And maybe they didn't know at the time,
but it's even possible that this guy was going to miss the first round
and you're looking down the barrel of playing the Colorado Avalanche
and their fucking 10-year reunion roster going on right now in the first round.
And you might be without Haskin.
How do you not go get a defenseman?
it's brutal dude and they did a lot cody cc granny ranting sagan's hopefully back they said
yeah say he had 20 points in 19 games yeah you know and they they have that's a locker room
leader too oh my god that's a huge huge issue um so they they've done so much that i'm hard pressed
to be like you didn't do enough you got to do more because eventually injuries just catch up to you
if you have too many injuries you there's no solve it's bad fucking luck yeah so they could be in that
situation but man he went down when was his injury February 4th he had surgery and you're like he's
going to be okay this feels like a late late not setback but just like oh shit we weren't planning on that
oh yeah this is a dagger yep um so i don't know because certainly you're not getting in a mirror
you can't just be like oh well we found another mirror yeah so i'm almost like the answer's in
this room and we got to step up boys you got to step up yeah i mean the answer has to be in the
yeah that's your only option it's this
This is one of those things that's either so devastating or so motivated.
Oh, my God.
If you win the first round without him and then you know you're getting him back for
round two, holy shit.
Great point.
Holy shit do you feel good?
Yep.
But this is another one of those things with this poor Dallas team.
We've said it all season long.
They should be cup hunting.
They should be thinking we are a top four team in the NHL.
We have a path to the Stanley Cup in the West.
No fucking excuses.
We have one of the best goalies in the league.
Go win.
Now you go and get rantan and you're like, all right, here we go.
Colorado does what they do.
And now it looks like Hayeskinen's out first round.
It looks like you're probably going to play the Colorado Avalanche.
This absolutely stinks.
And if you lose in the first round without Haskinen,
it's just such a dagger.
Yeah.
It is a dagger in the heart, in the jugular, right in the cock.
Yeah.
Because you were just going, why?
Why did this happen?
Why?
Why does it look like we?
We have a real shot at a cup here, and we had to lose our best defensemen, arguably our best player.
It's a nightmare, dude.
Stinks.
Totally, totally stinks.
All right, talking about some wild card stuff, Dan.
We got some updates on the wild card, and I know a lot of fans, a lot of some of our northern fans are excited about this segment.
We got an update in the wild card situation.
Here's the deal.
The Montreal Canadiens are in?
Can you believe that?
Dude, it changes every day.
Changes every day, so I don't want to get too hyped about it.
Changes every day.
In the East, we've got Ottawa who are on a heater,
but they did lose to the Canadians last night in a big win for Montreal.
First wild card spot in East, Ottawa with 77 points at 67 games.
Montreal creeps up over the New York Rangers with two games in hand, I might add.
73 points, 67 games.
The Montreal Canadiens are in a playoff spot.
It's wild, man.
Absolutely wild. Can we talk about, too, how we've got five Atlantic teams currently in playoff
spots and the Bruins and Red Wings. Sorry, Buffalo, but they're out. They're deep out.
And wild stuff, wild stuff. The habs, dude, are buzzing. And I have to say,
can I say something? Can I do something? Yeah, do it. Can I do something like big?
Ready?
I've abandoned my child. I've abandoned my child.
I've abandoned my boy!
Lane Hudson has to be the rookie year.
No, he doesn't.
And I appreciate that performance.
Thank you.
I really do.
But no, he doesn't, but that was a disgusting goal.
And dude, he is just a...
You know what I think it is?
I've talked so much about Mack's 200-foot game.
Hey, but Mac, my son, you're my rookie leader.
You're my MVP.
Yeah.
You're my rotten soldier.
You're my good time boy.
you're my pal.
I love all that about his game,
but looking at what we talked about,
the other day,
Lane is a top,
I believe he's a top five defenseman in the NHL
in power play points.
I believe he's,
like someone right now,
Wax, do me a favor.
Look up top point scoring defensemen in the NHL.
I think he's top five.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
And the big thing for me is this,
he is the best defenseman on that team.
Uh-huh.
As a rookie.
And we've got,
and he is a he's a power play QB.
Now, let's not boost it too much.
Their power play, I think, is like 18th in the league.
So it's not like they have this out-of-control power play.
He is doing this, and this team's currently in a playoff spot.
That gets you a lot of ammo.
Yep.
Gets you a ton of ammo.
So I think we've got to give him some love here.
Where is he?
Sixth?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Sixth in the NHL and points in defense room.
And, dude, that's a big game.
That's a big game, dude.
That's Ottawa.
They can't lose.
That's Ottawa, it feels like, you know, just beat Pete the pesky Habs.
It's a big rivalry.
And the Habs were down.
They were down 2-1.
Maybe even 3-2, but they were down 2-1.
And the boy, Lane steps up.
The boys do that.
I mean, that's just, those are the moments, dude.
Those are the huge, huge moments that can kind of define a race.
I almost made these jokes you earlier and not joke.
But when Hella Buk, see that play he made behind the net,
fucked it up, and then he dove across.
Yeah.
Those are kind of like your Vesna.
Clips.
Definitely.
And like this,
that was a,
that was a call their clip for sure.
Definitely.
You know,
the little,
oh yeah.
The little behind the net,
dude,
how are you?
To the Montreal faithful.
There's also the element
we've talked about a lot of guys
who struggle planning
Canadian markets.
And this has got to be the number one,
maybe two.
Yeah.
Difficult Canadian markets
with how crazy the media is.
And this kid is just absolutely
making out with it.
Doesn't care.
Taking it into the back row of the movie theater,
doing some up,
up under the shirt stuff.
Yeah, dude.
He doesn't,
he doesn't,
popcorn bucket.
it out. He doesn't... Sorry.
Jesus. Christ, dude. We're talking about a child.
Sorry.
Clean it up.
But he doesn't care at all. No, he doesn't.
He does not. He is relishing.
Yep. Unbelievable.
Go to the west.
Go to the west. Right now, Vancouver is in.
I think we talked about this to the other pod when we did the wildcar races that I don't
want him in. I don't want him in. Yeah. But it's cool to see Quinn going again.
Besser broke his streak. He had a couple. Like, they are, it hurts.
my feelings because they are a fun team.
They're fun players on that team.
So I hate being like, I don't want them in.
But that was a huge win from Calgary.
And a bad loss from New York, by the way.
It was also in this wildcard battle.
So I really enjoyed, I can't help but being excited by that still.
When Calgary gets the dub, I'm like, yeah, this is what I want.
But Vancouver right now to me looks like it's theirs to lose.
Whereas I didn't feel that way.
What do you mean?
St. Louis is. They got the same amount of points, just one extra game playing.
I know, I'm just saying, oh, 100%. I'm saying, if I'm betting now, I'm like, I think Vancouver.
But a few, a week ago even, I was like, too much bad shit happened there. Yeah.
They won't hang on. But now they look, they look like the team that learned some poise from last year and is now going to pay off now because they're just going to get in.
Yeah. Which I don't want. I've said I don't want. But I just now I'm like, oh, fuck, Vancouver's better than these teams.
Yeah. You're right.
And it does, they do feel like one of those teams that, you know, when we talk about it,
we're like, in what world do you miss the playoffs this year?
Obviously, a ton of crazy shit has happened.
But yeah, it does still look like, I like that what you're saying.
They are kind of in the driver's seat.
So just in the overall, we can talk about east and west again now.
You know, what do you think is going to happen?
Tough loss by New York.
And can we talk, I don't know if you've seen this.
There is a clip on the Twitter.com, X.com, whatever the we're calling it these days.
there's a play in the flames
huge win for the flames
for their wild card race
and a bad loss for the Rangers
in their wild card race
there's a clip from that game
where Rasmus Anderson has the puck
and he is literally
standing straight up and down
not moving
for at least
eight to ten seconds
and not a single Rangers player
gives him a forecheck
and the Rangers are losing
two to one with less than five minutes
left in the third period
and just no one's going
like Rasmus was like
like, I will sit here for five three minutes and just tick this game out if none of you guys
want to come over here.
Yep.
So you hate to see that as a Rangers fan.
But what are you thinking, dude?
Like, you know, you just kind of touched on it with saying Vancouver's in the driver's seat.
Montreal, boom, in a playoff spot now.
They look so hot.
They're on a two-game winning streak.
Love to see it.
They're firing, dude.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, they are actually have put it in their own hands at this point.
Oh, yeah.
And they're just like, they're playing big boy hockey, kind of like Ottawa has been.
Obviously, Ottawa just lost, but seven, seven, two and one in their last 10.
Montreal, seven, one, and two in their last 10.
They look like two teams that are like, oh, dude, we see it.
The door is wide open and I'm going to run right through it.
Damn right, dude.
And then you look at these other teams, New York, four, four, and two.
Islanders six.
Inspiring.
Islanders kind of being a little uppity.
And then we've got Columbus, four and six, and then Detroit, two and eight.
Columbus in Detroit
Columbus has lost
Forster.
Hey, tell me right now.
Look at me in the eyes.
Are they dead?
No, but look at this because I wanted to talk to you about this too.
Columbus, here's their schedule.
Just lost four, right?
Panthers, penguins,
Islanders, Canucks,
Ottawa.
That's their next.
That's the next five.
Five.
Preds, avs, leaps, leaps,
Sends, Sends, Sends,
Buffalo, caps, caps,
Flyers, Islanders.
Not an easy schedule.
No.
So. You're a big schedule guy these days.
Yeah, dude, you got to be this time of year.
Got to be this time of year.
Nah, dude. Next man up.
No. Next man up.
Panthers. Fuck you.
That's Columbus's next time.
Yeah. Yeah, it sucks.
So, you know, it's like the,
there's no, but when the going gets tough, Dan,
what do they say?
The ghost sledding.
No, yeah. Tough get going.
It is, go. It is.
What just happened?
It is go. It is tough get-go.
Is there any saying where the follow-up is go sledding?
Yeah. When you have a snow day, what do you think would be said after that?
Go back to bed.
Fuck you.
That's exactly what you do.
No, no, no. When you have a snow day.
Go sledding.
Go sledding.
It's like when life gives you...
What do you live in Kansas?
Are there hills, are the sledding hills in Kansas?
Do they have snow days?
Does it snow in Kansas?
I don't know.
I feel dumb.
I think it's like freezing in the middle of the country.
Yeah.
I wish I didn't know.
I remember somebody being like, you don't know what Nebraska cold is.
And I was like, what, dude?
I live in Maine.
And they were like, no, dude.
Nebraska is like, fucking negative 20.
Fahrenheit.
Does it snow a lot in Kansas?
Highest normal annual snowfall is in the 28 to 42 inch range,
while the lowest is less than 12 inches.
So it doesn't snow that much.
Yeah.
And they probably don't have hills.
I don't feel stupid at all anymore.
How about that?
So anyway, dude, when the going gets tough, the tough get going.
It's tough right now.
And I need them to fucking bounce back.
If they, next to, sorry, was Florida and then Colorado?
No.
What was the?
Florida, then, uh, bum, boom, boom, hold on.
Florida, Pittsburgh.
Florida Pittsburgh.
All right, so here's a question for you.
Islanders Canucks sense.
They need to go three and two in those next five.
Buddy, they need to go four and one.
Four and one?
Yeah.
If they lose to Florida, are they dead?
No, you just have to win the next four games.
If they lose to Florida and Pittsburgh.
Are they dead?
Yes.
Six straight.
Good night.
That's something to know.
Good night.
Do you think Montreal can do this?
Actually, yes.
And I didn't think that for a long time.
I almost didn't even want it for them.
They've got to stop the bleeding.
They're minus 16 gold diff.
And if they can keep this momentum and turn that around.
I wonder what it is since the All Starway.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
If they can keep that up, this is interesting.
Yep.
Okay.
We talked about this.
We were actually on Energy Line with Nate Thompson.
Yeah.
That's out, eh?
Did it come out?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So everybody who hasn't listened to Tom or's new pod,
Energy Line with JSB, go check that out.
We were guests on it.
The episode is out today, I believe.
And they asked us something,
which I just wanted to hit here really quickly
because they're on a seven-game heater.
Is Kane's doing anything for you, seven in a row?
Absolutely.
Causing the pod really quickly to talk about the fresh, crisp,
Canadian kindness, taste, scent, feeling, tingling
of Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light.
Everybody that follows us saw that I was just in Jackson Hole playing the moose.
And before the game started, there was a Zamboni.
I saw a picture. Go back. Look at our page.
There's a Zamboni, a Labat Blue Zamboony, Mini, you know, this big.
And the top half pops open and inside is ice and Labat Blues and the Bat Blue lights.
And if that isn't the way to get ready for a game, to enjoy intermission during a game, and to celebrate postgame, and I don't know what is.
Because Labat Blue Light is one of my favorite light beers on the market right now.
And it's because it's fit for everything.
When we're watching hockey, yeah, and we're playing hockey, yeah.
But I'm out in L.A.
The sun's shining when I'm in the backyard with my friends.
I crack open a few Labat Blue Lights.
Everybody loves them.
So the situation doesn't matter.
All you need is a top top PP1.
beverage and you're going to find that with LaBla-Blatt Blue because that's how they do it up
in Canada and they're trying to share that with you. So go find some LaBla-Blue lights in a store
near you and enjoy it with me. I maintain, I think that this is a, we just went through a
weird, embarrassing period bump. Yeah. I think that they're going, you know, Renton didn't
want to be here. He left. We got a good player in Stankov and back. Halsey's playing well. We've got
great players here. Fuck it. Let's ride. That's what they're doing and they're riding that to seven
straight wins. And they've also, in my opinion, I didn't think this was ever really up for grabs,
but they have clearly pulled themselves away from New Jersey. They've got two games in hand
on Jersey and a six point gap. Like they are second in, they've got home ice in their first round.
Like that is locked for them. To me, it's the only thing with the Keynes that is always the issue is
is what has killed them in the playoffs the last few years,
that those issues are not resolved as far as I'm concerned.
So does it do anything for me?
Yeah.
But I'm a little bit confused as to what anyone's talking about here because going into the season,
they were a top five team in the East.
Hell yeah.
All season long, they have been a top five team in the East.
Nothing has changed.
So I don't really know, like,
Am I impressed with them?
Yes, but I've been impressed with them all year.
I've been impressed with them four years.
They can beat anybody.
They have really good wins on the trip.
They beat the Jets.
They beat the bolts.
And they've got the sharks.
They start their West Coast swing.
Sharks, Kings, Ducks.
You know, like, can you win on the West Coast?
Yeah.
And you're cooking.
But I'm with you, dude.
And my answer, though, is it's not doing anything for me because I already knew that you
could beat anyone in this league.
But how about this?
The whole rant and situation could have been demoralized.
Good point. I like that actually.
So that's why I think it does do something for me. And you go, we're fucking fine.
Yeah. Miss me with that we're fucked.
Could have been a distraction. You know, if they had gone on a three game losing streak right after that trade, people would have been like, oh shit.
You know, but they just went, fuck that. We know who we are. We didn't need Rantin. Let's keep going.
And they're doing that. I love that change. I love that take. They still got to beat the caps in round two, but I love that take.
I also want to talk to you about my boy, Sidney Crosby, my little golden boy.
Dude, he stays doing shit under the radar.
Dude, no one's talking about it.
That's my biggest thing with him, Dan.
It's absolutely crazy.
So this was just, there's a couple things I wanted to bring up here.
This was just a cool stat that isn't even record-breaking.
It's just a thing.
Third in the NHL, this season, this season, when I would say people are like, he's not doing that much.
This season, third in the NHL and five on five points, only behind Drysidal, who's going to win MVP, and Paul Snock, who's a mutant.
Then Sid.
Then you've got Kutcheroff.
Then you've got McKinnon.
Then you've got McDavid.
That dry-sidal slip was cheeky, my friend.
What did I say?
He's dry-sadle who's going to win MVP.
Yeah.
Don't sleep on Nate, bro.
Oh, yeah, you got to sleep.
You got to sleep, dude.
Go to bed.
Go to bed down.
You need to take an Adderall and stay awake.
Because that man, you forget what a band-aid.
And you also forget what a Band-Aid this Colorado Avalanche roster has been all season long.
And the fact that Nate is still Nate in.
No, I know.
But that's wild.
51 points for dry saddle, 49 for pasta, 48 for Sid, third in the fucking league,
five-on-five.
Yeah.
Okay?
Then, dude, here's the cool thing.
Which is such, dude, he's a dash 23 on the season.
Yeah.
And the fact that he's that high in five-on-five scoring, it just goes to show how tough the penguins are.
It's crazy, dude.
Then last night, Sid, with a tuck, his 1670th point passes Wayno for fourth all time in points for one franchise.
That's, Gretzky had 1,660s.
for the Oilers.
Damn.
So, Dan, in third place,
Sid is now fourth.
In third place, the Penguins,
or sorry,
LeBue for the Penguins,
his very own Penguins,
1,723.
In second place,
Steve Iserman on the Red Wings,
1,755,
and in first place,
Gordy Howe with the Red Wings,
1,8909.
Cool that the top four is
Wings, Wings, Penguins,
first of all.
Yeah, very cool.
And second of all,
Dan, so crazy
that Gretz.
is five given that he did not play for Edmonton that long.
It's ridiculous.
So he's 53 behind Mario.
Yeah, which he'll get.
85 behind Eisman.
Which he'll get.
Well, dude, he'll get that next year.
Probably.
So then Gordy being 149 back.
Is he a penguin?
Is he a penguin?
I did a pretty good job,
you did great.
Because these are so attainable,
but you just can't leave a team.
He's going to,
oh, yeah.
It's with the penguins.
This is my whole thing.
How did I think about that?
That's what I'm saying, Dan.
So, like, right now I'm like, oh, he's easily going to break this record.
Now I'm like, maybe.
Damn.
I don't think this record is important enough for him to care.
I think it is.
That's what's crazy.
This whole time I've been like, why is Sid staying?
And now I realize it's this, dude.
He just wants to see the bridge.
Wouldn't you rather a Stanley Cup than this story?
record that you know what he's got enough cups there's a reason no one's talking about this record
except us yeah because no one cares except for sid that's that dude this is what this is why we are next
level imagine we are next level we get sit on this is sit on the podcast finally and he just goes like
this literally the only thing i care about i got my three cups the only thing i care about is having
the most points with any franchise he goes gordon he has record with the red wings most points in one
franchise has been my fucking holy grail this my entire career so this is what's going to happen he's
going to play two more years because he can't break that next year no no no
He's going to play two more years with the Penguins.
Then he's going to get traded to Colorado.
They went a cup and he retires.
Goet them both.
Greatest career of all time?
Gets them both.
Greatest career of all time.
Last Sydney point, we've talked about this two episodes ago.
Just for the people watching at home, he is officially six points away from guaranteeing
that he finishes.
Brakes-waynegretsky's record of 19 seasons.
Well, not technically, right, because, oh, well, yes, that would guarantee it.
Because there's only the X amount of games.
Because he might not play 82.
No, you're right.
He could shut it down right now and have it.
But he's a fucking man of class, Dan.
And he's chasing down records.
Dude, if he goes on like a six-game pointless streak, I'd be like to stop playing.
20 seasons point per game.
Absolute animal.
Talking about another animal, Dan.
Yeah, let's talk about the wild, uncaged animal that is Matt Rempey.
He gets another elbowing penalty last night.
Yeah, I think so.
Yeah, last night.
Another elbow to the face.
We saw Rangers Twitter ablaze as usual saying he tried to keep it down.
He tried to do this.
Uh, our boy, uh, heat daddy just, you know, I again talked about how funny it is that this man
just does not care to stop elbowing people directly in the head.
You ask, is he treated unfairly?
I don't think at all.
Dude, I think he's just treated.
I don't think he's treated unfairly.
And I don't think, I just think he's, he is, he is doing a thing where he is objectively
elbowing people in the dome and he's getting penalties.
I'm not sitting here saying he goes out every night and goes.
how can I drive the ball of my elbow straight into someone's temple?
I don't think he's doing that.
I just think he has a difficult time controlling his body and he needs to learn.
That's all I'm saying.
You kind of brought it to where I was headed where I do think all of us that play hockey,
my elbow might be out more often than I think it is.
In my mind, I'm like, I don't elbow anybody.
But maybe it's just, you know, you're making a play.
Your hands are moving a little weird.
And unfortunately, when that happens, he's like head.
height for people. So I will
partially hear that he's like, dude,
every time I'm chicken winged at all,
it's into someone's head versus I might just be
hitting someone in the body and they're like, whatever.
But I think the point that we always talk about is
dude,
there are other tall guys in the league.
Every time Zedana Chara played,
I don't think people were going, he's going to elbow
someone in the head and then 50% of the time
he does it because that's what Matt Repi currently
does. Yeah, you're right. Nikita Zadorov is tall.
Jordan Greenway is tall. Hal Gill was tall.
These guys were not.
walking elbows.
And it is tough.
Dude, there are times where like I would have thrown a hit and I got an elbow and call
and I was like, what?
And then I see a clip of it and I'm like, oh, that was an elbow.
Because it's you go in and you, you can't help it.
You just, because you want to give him a little pop.
Yeah.
He is tall and when he does that and he pops too early, that thing is the first point
of contact and it's hitting someone in the head.
So what I'm just saying is he just needs to look like, dude, you got to glue those things
to your ribs, buddy.
Yep.
It's like my golf swing, dude.
Keep it tight.
Keep it in here.
Here's a tip for you.
Keep the pinned.
Ramps.
Start throwing some hip checks, brother.
That hip is going to hit people
right in the fucking sternum.
Like that,
that should be your go-toe.
That should be your signature, dude.
You'll be the best hip checker
in the fucking league.
I like that a lot.
Unbelievable.
I like that a lot.
You wanted to talk about a couple
Cinderella stories.
It's March Maddenistan.
The shoe fits somebody every year.
The shoe fits somebody every year.
Sure does.
Who's it going to be,
give me no one in a top two seed right now?
No one in a top two seed who I think could go on the run.
And no one in the center.
Central.
I'm going to be very obvious here.
I don't want to take yours, so I don't want to...
Do it, do it, do it.
It's the LA Kings, dude.
Do you believe that?
Do you believe they can really go to...
You're making me pick of Cinderella.
Do I believe in Cinderella?
Yeah.
Do I believe that there was a young girl who had a bunch of evil stepsisters
and she was cleaning up after them all the time, never complaining, and she also had
this unbelievable gift where she could speak to animals.
And then one day, a fairy godmother shows up.
And she then has a pumpkin turned into a carriage and goes to a ball and meets the prince.
And then she has a glass slipper that falls off.
And then the prince uses that glass slipper to find her, putting it on multiple different
people until it finally fits perfectly.
And then he marries her and they live happily ever after.
Do you believe that?
Yeah.
Do you believe that mice dressed her?
Yes.
And I believe that mice could come in and fire up the boys in L.A.
and they could go on a run.
Because let me tell you what, dude.
People forget.
They won the cup, 2012.
They were low seed.
No one had them.
Yep.
And I'll tell you if the L.A. Kings figured it out,
which it feels like they're figuring it out a little bit here,
and they beat the Edmonton Oilers in round one,
the juice that that will give them.
You know who's won a cup on that team?
The Drew Doughty.
Yeah.
You know who's won a cup on that team?
Arje Coppott.
You know who else has won a cup on that team?
Darcy Kemper.
Darcy Kemper, good one, Dan.
That is a Stanley Cup winning goaltender in the last five years.
People forget that, and he's looked great.
Could be a nice little run.
The Kings is a great pick.
Their biggest hurdle is round one.
Yeah, well, no.
But I think so.
I think for that team, I think if they beat the Oilers and get that monk, rip it off.
Yep.
It's going to fuel them.
I have two choices.
One, the Leafs, for a similar reason.
because I think if they beat,
I know they did it before,
they beat Tampa and then they immediately lost,
but just if they beat one of those two teams.
If they get to the conference finals,
I am petrified of them.
Because I'm now like, dude, here we go.
House money.
Yep.
And then the other one,
just I'm talking pure Cinderella.
Say it.
Ottawa.
Yep, that was the one.
I legitimately think if Ottawa clips like.
Toronto.
Well, no.
Because you know if Toronto gets past Florida and Tampa,
and then what a nightmare for Toronto.
If they're like this, we did it, dude.
We got first.
We avoided the two Florida teams, and then Ottawa was like,
fuck you.
I'm going to murder.
Imagine if Ottawa eclips Florida,
because Florida's just tired.
Ottawa eclipse Florida in the first round,
and O-Mark's like, this is my moment.
Yeah, I did it.
They could do that.
That'd be cool.
I love that.
I like that Cinderella thing.
Absolutely love that.
I want to talk to you, babies,
about something super important to me.
I can't grow a lot of facial hair.
I can't.
I've tried my whole life.
I've done all the tricks.
When I was younger,
I even took an eraser,
and I just started scrubbing my face
to see if I could open the pores
and get the beard going a little bit more, and it never came.
And because of that, I always thought that the shaving gang.
Shave culture was not for me.
But that's until Dollar Shave Club was put on my radar.
Our new favorite partners in the game.
Dollar Shave Club believes that the shaving experience is personal.
Listen, facial hair grows in your face, which means it's personal to you, and that's pretty fucking awesome.
We want to make this experience as good as humanly possible.
And here's the deal.
With Dollar Shave Club.
In this club, they make the razors and you make the rules.
You can shave it however you want.
You can style it.
You can let it grow.
You can keep it high and tight.
You can keep it clean, baby smooth like me, like your boy.
And that's what Dollar Shave Clubs does for you.
It gives you all the tools.
I used to think they just made razors.
But no, no, no, no.
They got a whole package deal.
They got a whole experience.
They're making it the Cadillac of shaving.
And that is the truth, baby.
That is where it goes.
And what I want to talk to you about is the Club Series 6 Razor
and the club series handle.
That club series six razors,
they got six stainless steel blades
giving you the best shave possible.
It's unbelievable.
They got a lubricant vitamin E-infused strip on there
and that club series handle.
This thing's got a 360-degree diamond pattern grip.
It's no slip.
It's clingy in a good way.
It's being clingy.
Not always great.
But when it comes to shaving,
we're keeping that nice, close, smooth shave.
And like I said, it's not just razors, guys.
They're getting you hooked up.
They're delivering their stuff
right to your door to make sure you are always stocked up. You are never in need of a new razor,
new products. It's all right there. My favorite, the shaving cream and the shave butter.
Whatever you want. Shaving cream, sometimes I throw a little those to go ones in my dobb kit.
When I'm on the road, we're on the road all the time. Quick shaving cream. It's unbelievable.
It smells so good and it gives you that nice, cool, tingly feeling on your face. But that shave butter, too,
that's that next level. It makes you feel like you're sitting in a nice salon or a nice barber shop and
you get that beautiful treatment, that close shave.
But let me tell you what, the post-shaved due is where it's at.
That's what gives you that glowing vibe.
You're looking at it right now.
Your boy looks like he's walking down a red carpet,
and that's because I use Dollar Shave Club products every single time I shaved.
I shaved this morning.
It's unbelievable.
You need to get in on this.
Shaving is a personal experience, and just don't go to the store
and buy these generic, lame, name brand raisers.
Don't do that.
All that stuff gets everywhere.
It's messy.
It's gross.
Dollar Shave Club is making this an experience for you.
You get to pick exactly what you want and what you need.
So go to Dollar Shaveclub.com slash netters.
Use promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
and you are going to save 20% off your next order of $20 or more.
Shaving can get crazy expensive.
It can get crazy annoying, but not with Dollar Shave Club.
Make it that beautiful, personalized experience.
that's going to feel fantastic every time.
All right, back again.
Finally, our good buddy, Tyler Toffoli,
joining the show.
Let's jump right into it and see what Taft has to say.
How have you not hung that jersey yet?
Like, what the fuck are we doing here?
Yeah, I don't know.
I mean, I don't know where it's going to go, to be honest.
You've been there too long to have that not hung up.
I have another one somewhere too, because I played it twice.
Also on the ground, yeah.
I think that one's in the garage, probably, on the ground in the garage.
You just see this thing.
It's an absolute disaster.
Wait, the jersey or the garage?
Both.
We got to make room for the Bronco.
We can jump up segments here.
Talk us through the Bronco, dude.
Yeah.
So Smitty actually has one, or he's driving one this year.
God, that one.
And we golfed a few weeks ago, and he was, like, rushing, and he was trying to eat.
And before we even, he came to pick me up, and he's like, he looked at me.
He's like, do you mind driving?
I'm like, okay, whatever you want.
I'll chauffeur you, your 19 year old, whatever, you know?
Like, he's a big shot.
So I drive them.
I'm like, this thing's actually pretty nice.
And I was already kind of looking at getting the Jeep.
It's just so like when in the summer and stuff, I can take the roof and doors off.
Yeah.
And so we went and looked at the jeeps.
And then after I drove the Bronco, I was like, I think the Bronco is a little nicer.
And the doors and stuff come off of that too.
So went and went and took a look.
And obviously I showed you guys the photo.
It looks nice.
I'm going to go pick it up right after this.
Yeah.
It's a beauty.
It's a beauty.
It was like, actually, I'm buying this.
Did you ever, so you went blackout?
You're black on black everything.
Did you consider any other option?
Honestly, not really.
I feel like I just, the black is always so clean.
So it just makes more the most sense.
The one next to yours in the pick you sent, though, that's like that deep green.
Kind of gas.
It's kind of sick.
I was like, you know what, dude.
There's so many good options, but it's just.
If the dealership offered you a free Sharks teal Bronco,
would you have taken it?
I feel like I would.
I mean,
I feel like it looked kind of nice,
especially with the doors off and stuff too.
It would look pretty nice.
It would look sick, dude.
Driving around the bay, dude.
Yeah.
Page your number on the door.
It would just be kind of dorky
because I park literally right in front of the,
where the O-18 buses.
So I'd be like getting in,
hopping right in and they're maybe like staring at me,
like this guy's such a loser.
Be like it's free.
It was free.
It was free.
I didn't pay for it.
No,
I think the Bronco is the S-T.
here Jeep these days. So you made a good choice, I think.
And I'm starting to see a lot more of them now, but I mean, it is what it is.
I drove it one day and it just feels nice. You're higher up and stuff too.
Yeah. You feel safe in it. Dude, Logan Thompson's a big car guy. And he said that's his favorite
one. Yeah. And he, I'm talking like he's got like McLarens and shit, but he's like the
Bronco is the one. That's large. Yeah. That's intense. Who on the team has the most
obnoxious car? Um, who, uh, well,
Cece had a crazy one.
He had some porch that I didn't enjoy driving in it with.
He was ripping around.
It was very scary.
Who else has one?
Coston has one.
I think it's a BMW.
Is that the M series?
Is that a BMW?
Yeah, I think so.
I think so.
Yeah, it looks fast.
I haven't been in that, but it looks real fast.
Yeah, you're not a sports car guy.
No, I mean, I just, I don't even go to the speed limit half the time.
I'm just cruising.
I'm always like early for everything
So I'm just taking my time
Yeah, a good old just cruising
I'm also five minutes from the rink
So I roll out of bed
I'm right there so
That's the way to be dude
Get me A to B
Give me an enjoyable ride
I also
And this is actually tough
We were messaging about this the other day
The fucking knees creaking
In my old age
Getting the car that's like on the ground
I could never get in and out
Yeah
It's too low
I need to like jump down onto the ground
When it comes to my car
And when you're driving around, it's like, you're going to hit a pothole every once in a while.
Like is going to ruin my car?
Like every speed bump that you see, if you're in a fucking Aston Martin, I'm like, I literally can't drive up.
For you guys especially.
Yeah.
Like, they're everywhere.
They've got those, those like drains in L.A.
Oh, dude.
When you're crossing a street, and I'm like every car in front of me is just bottoming out.
It's so bad.
Yeah, they're not speed bumps.
They're like.
Yeah, it's literally like the drainage vents.
And like you're going through a four-way intersection and there's a,
Ferrari in front of you and they slow down to a crawl.
They have to put out a plank to drive over.
It's like, what the fuck are we doing?
Oh, my God.
Dude, we wanted to talk to you about the aftermath of the trade deadline.
Kind of madness with the team.
I feel like we talked about it a bit before on how all the emotions with all the players,
but a lot of moves from the Sharkey's.
How is the locker room feeling?
Was it a crazy few days or were you guys kind of braced for impact?
Yeah, I think for the most part, we knew, like, Cunney knew that he was going to get moved.
Sturmy knew, like, they had their bags packed that whole road trip.
We had, like, the seven, eight-game road trip, whatever it was.
So they were packed to get traded during that trip pretty much.
And I think, well, Cunney made it back.
Sturmy might have got moved.
I can't remember if it was the last game.
I think it was in Colorado, so the last game of the trip.
The only one that kind of surprised us was Zets.
And, you know, obviously it's tough.
It's never easy.
He's a young guy.
I think he's 25.
Really enjoyed it here and stuff.
So it was kind of surprising.
But at the end of the day, we talked about it before.
It's such a business that Greerzy thinks that Chucky, who we got coming in, is really going to help our team.
And it's just one of the things that you have to do to try and make your team better for the future.
And, you know, we'll see how things go.
And Chuck is a big kid.
He fought Wilson the other night.
Yeah, yeah.
really good kit too.
So we'll see how things turn out.
Yeah.
Is it when you,
because you said you're right,
you did make moves with the future in mind.
Is that a big part of the reason why vibes just stay so high with you guys?
Because you're obviously eliminated now,
but it's like we watch you guys play and everyone's having a blast still.
Is it,
is it eyes on the prize for moving forward?
Yeah,
I mean,
I think at,
and at the same time,
there's,
um,
it seems and it feels at least for me and,
um,
I know like good.
and Marr, there's a lot of clarity with us and Morzo and even Greersey too.
Like we had a meeting with them and it feels like there's just like a lot of clarity.
And it's pretty open, you know, like we can ask them anything from what it feels like.
And they tell us for what we need to know, obviously we're not going to, you know, get the whole, you know, future plan.
Nor do we want that, you know, but it feels like it's, you know, it's pretty open.
and we have a really good relationship.
And, you know, like you said, we're not going to make the playoffs.
But we're trying to win the rest of the, you know, we're trying to win out, you know,
like we're competitive guys.
And, you know, some of the guys in our team, you know how competitive they are.
And we're not here just to, you know, waste a month of our lives.
You know, we're playing for a spot next year or two, you know, you got to look for the future.
And you have personal goals.
Like, you know, guys are looking for new deals.
and all these things.
So you have to keep performing at the end of the day.
That was kind of,
I feel like you kind of answered my next question was how do you,
when you're officially eliminated from playoffs,
how do you stay locked in in this last month the season?
But I feel like that just answered it.
It's like it's a personal thing.
It's a pride thing.
Everyone in the league is so competitive for the most part.
So yeah,
does it feel like almost an unspoken thing with you guys
where you're in the locker room every game,
knowing you're not making playoffs,
but you're still like every game's important.
We're trying to win every single one.
And Toff, I would say,
because you just said this, but I was really curious to hear that.
How much in your experience do you think this last month matters in terms of your spot next year?
Like if you have a great last month, do you think it's like, you fuck yeah, it carries over?
They remember that.
Or is it like, no, dude, they don't give a shit.
It's a clean slate next year.
No, I mean, I think they for sure look at it and like, oh, this, especially for the young guys.
They're like, oh, this guy can play and they can sort of plan on guys maybe making the team.
I've never really been in this position.
Normally, I've been getting moved, you know,
so I've never been in this position where, you know,
the last year or the month doesn't really mean like a whole lot
in that sense of trying to, you know, make the playoffs.
But I think for the young guys especially,
they're going to get an opportunity to play more.
And, you know, they need to see it.
They're watching.
They watch every practice too.
And, you know, obviously, I think they tape every practice and stuff too.
So whether they watch that or not, I have no clue.
But they want to win too.
And speaking with Grusie, like I said the other day, he wants to start winning.
He doesn't like losing.
So we'll see what happens moving forward.
And all we can do as players is finish the season out, playing as hard as we can.
And go in the offseason, it's going to be long.
So there's no real excuse for guys not to be coming in in great shape.
And we should be ready to roll.
dude so you have a really unique experience that not every player has where you've played on several teams
here you are in this great situation i need you to tell us what it is about this group and this team
this organization greerzy from the top to the bottom that makes you guys such a fun group
and have such good vibes we've talked about it with you a few times i've never seen anything like
this in my entire life watching the n hl and i don't want to sewer any other teams
but you look at some of the other teams at the bottom of the league,
Chicago comes to mind where it does feel like there's just a lot of growing pains,
there's a lot of issues.
And you guys just seem like you're having a fucking blast every single day.
So to be towards the bottom of the league again,
but all signs are pointing in the right direction.
All vibes are trending up.
How are you guys doing this?
Yeah, I mean, I don't know if it's because maybe we don't have as much media,
you know, in comparison to Chicago, like, you know, I think we have like three media people kind of around in the room.
And even then, they're not really writing any bad articles about us.
I think the only time, and this is not, you know, to Sue or Smitty,
but the only time anybody was really saying anything bad about our, you know,
our team was when people thought Smitty should have been in the minor sort of thing near the start of the year when he wasn't playing well.
And now he's, you know, he's been on fire.
So obviously, what whatever they did, you know, they made the right.
decision because he's been one of our better players, especially since the Allstar break or the
Four Nations break story. Yeah, yeah. Um, so I mean, we're just like we're just trying to have as
much fun as possible. I mean, we're, we're in the NHL. We have guys that literally should still be
in college, you know, like, like, she should be still in high school. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. Like it's crazy.
Send that to a middle school. Yeah. It's crazy. So I mean, we're trying to have as much fun as we can.
But at the same time, we are, we are really serious. I, I, I can, um, um, um, um,
Um, that's like one thing that obviously I need to get across because everyone, you know,
it seems like we don't work hard and we, you know, we don't care maybe, but every day,
we go to the rink every day and, and when we're on the ice, you know, we're working.
We're, um, we're trying to get better at the things that we need as a team and, and personally.
And I think that goes a long way.
You, you, you look at everybody in the locker room and, and everybody's on the same page.
There's no one, no one's dogging it.
So, uh, yeah, I think that's like a big reason for it.
Dude, I know, I mean, I don't know.
about you, like, I don't think there's ever
been a moment where it seems like you guys don't care.
That's the interesting thing is, like I said,
it looks like you guys are having fun, but
every game you guys are fucking,
you're scrapping, guys are diving in the corners
for pucks, like it's, it's just
if I were
a free agent, or if I were a guy
looking for a new team, the
sharks, I think, are top of the list.
Like, it's just like, like I said,
all the trends are going in the right direction,
and it's just been so wild to watch.
And obviously, you weren't there, but it's like,
And even though ignore the standings for a second, which I know sounds stupid,
but ignore the standings, you guys look so improved.
When I'm just watching the sharks last year to watching the sharks this year,
I'm like, this is all good things happening.
And you know what sucks is, and you can kind of talk about it now,
but like the first month of the season, the first game especially,
I think we were winning 4-1 against St. Louis.
Dude, we were there.
We were there, yeah, yeah.
And we ended up losing in overtime, whatever it was.
And it's like, it's almost like you win that one game.
and you say it, you know, looking back, and it's like that one game could have changed everything.
We lost the first 10 game, whatever it was that we ended up losing in a row.
And it feels like that one game could have changed everything.
But, you know, it is what it is.
And I truly believe that we got a lot better as a group and as a team.
And especially our young guys have grown so much.
You know, you can tell just from practice alone, the things that they're doing in practice
that they weren't really doing at the start of the season.
Yeah, no doubt.
It's like what we said, dude.
You're the most interesting team in the world because you could beat any team in the league
any given night.
It's wild.
Speaking of recent games, talk, you guys played the caps a little while ago, and we wanted
to ask you, and you've played OV a million times in your career, but when he's this
close to the record, obviously you're trying to win every game, but when you see him score,
are you kind of like, fuck yeah, dude, go get it?
Like is there any party that it's been fun being so close to someone up against a record that's like we all know would never be broken?
Well, now that I don't have to play him again, I'm like, oh, yeah, absolutely, go get it.
But there's that streak where he was like, he was scoring every single game.
And, you know, obviously we're looking at the schedule and we're like, oh, Washington's coming in and 14 games, whatever it was.
And I'm like, I'm looking, I'm trying to think I'm like, oh, no, like he's, he might be on pace to, to, yeah.
come to San Jose and break it.
I'm like,
we don't want that.
And he slowed down,
obviously a little bit.
And what is he?
Like seven or eight away now?
I think so.
Yeah, eight to break.
Yeah,
eight to break.
And I was like,
I was like,
oh my God,
this guy's going to come in and break it.
And then,
you know,
whatever,
you know,
he scored.
He's,
he's the best to do it or whatever you want,
however you want to call it.
Yeah.
You know,
if he's not going to score five on five on five,
you know,
he's at least getting five one T's on the power play,
you know,
And then a few empty-nettor looks, too.
Exactly, exactly.
It's funny, like, I was looking at it,
and obviously whenever you're playing,
we're rooting for you,
and I'm watching the game,
and it's like,
caps are going to win,
and then he gets that.
I think it was the fifth goal,
and I was like, nice.
It's funny, like,
I was wondering if on the ice,
you're like,
so it's kind of cool.
Yeah, and our benches are so close to each other,
and I was sitting, like,
near the, like, their side,
and I can just hear them going nuts,
And I'm like, it's actually, I mean, it's impressive.
Like, they are really trying to get it for them for sure.
Like, there are sometimes, and a couple passes in that game alone where, you know, guys had a clear shot and they're forcing it over to them.
Oh, yeah.
Dude.
I think it was two games before the game you guys played against them.
They had an empty net.
Or, I mean, the other team had pulled the net, pulled the goalie.
And Ovi had a clear look at it and he passed it to Protas for his had for his first career.
And people were like, dude, that was cool of you, but fucking shoot that in the empty name.
It's so funny.
Like, I mean, I've seen, I've seen clips of Strom.
He legit has like breakaways.
And he's like slowing down to drop it.
Or, you know, it'll be like a two on two.
But he's like, he's trying to get over your one T.
It's crazy.
But I believe too big time that teams are motivated by not having it happen to them.
I feel like you saw it.
100% in 70 last year.
They were like, fuck this, dude.
Yeah, so that's a factor too.
I definitely think, too, especially the goalie.
Like if he's tied it and now you're in a game and you're that tendi in the other net,
I'm like no fucking way.
Because like that now that clip is one of the most famous clips in the history of the NHL
and you're getting scored on.
That sucks.
It's like baseball.
It's like the pitcher doesn't want to give up the home run to Barry Bonds.
You know, like you know what I mean?
Like it's the exact same thing.
they know that that one clip is going to be shown forever.
Yeah.
So true.
So true.
So, dude, we got to touch on the sleepover.
We don't need to spend too much time on the sleepover.
I do want to hear how it went.
I want to hear if Macklin has like night terrors or something like that.
But you didn't give CP a special celebration.
Bro.
That was fucked.
And you didn't do anything.
What the fuck?
I literally almost posted that text on the story.
But then I was like, I'm going to get made fun.
of that he didn't do it and everyone's going to go so you asked for something and you didn't get it
no you know what it was one of it was it was just like so wild because we were on the bus
from toronto after winning in the shootout i think the first first game we wanted to shoot out
and boys are all all you know it's winning in toronto everyone from toronto even if you're
not from toronto you want to win yeah you know what i mean so it's you know that's always a game
that you put on the calendar whether you play there once or four times and it's
season. So the boys were pumped and we're on the bus and we're playing Buffalo the next night.
And I had, I don't know what, what I went to go talk to them. They're doubled up near the front.
And I go talk to Smitty and he's, he just out of nowhere. He's like, you know, all three of us,
if we score tomorrow, we're having to sleep over. And, you know, I've said it. I'm like,
I'm not, I'm not doing this, you know, like it's just, it's out, it's so dumb. And it ended up,
it ended up happening.
It was the three of us.
Marr was in the room and Deli came in.
I want to say Tomber came in for a little bit too.
But,
you know,
we got in at like two,
like it was pretty late.
So like we were only up for for a little bit.
I had a couple beers.
They ordered their milk and cookies.
And we were like,
like it's like so ridiculous.
We were laughing and,
and I was telling stories.
And then we woke up.
Smitty went and met Pittsburgh.
was staying there too so he's buddies with um kevin hayes yeah so he woke up and met him for a coffee
and and so woke us up and i was talking with mac for a little bit and i'm like all right i'm
i'm gonna go sleep in a normal size bed now like my back is killing me yeah like to ask about your
back get off this call i was about to ask about your back yeah like my back is still in one i'm getting
the cairo's in every other day i'm like trying to get adjusted it's just nothing's nothing's feeling good and so it's just like
And then so finally I'm like chilling laying down and then smitty text me again.
He's like, hey, come to the hot tub.
I'm like, dude, I am like this is the day off.
Like day off means for me especially is like I don't do anything.
Like I'm going to room service probably twice.
If it's not twice room service, it's I'm door dashing something type of thing.
Like I'm not even going to go for dinner.
And so I'm in the hot tub.
We jump in the pool.
We're like choke slamming each other like this ridiculous.
us and the the gym you could so if you were in the gym you could see us in the pool in the hot tub
our coaches were in the gym they're like seeing us be idiots and i'm like i was like so embarrassed
but i you know what it's so much fun and i mean you guys know smitty he's he's he's always he's
always on the go and want to do something do you know what this is it's it's when a family has a dog
an older dog and they get a little puppy to keep the old dog young that is officially what has
happened to you with this feels like it it even like I'm on the road and cats like what are you
doing or what and I told her I was like oh we just I was just swimming she's like you don't even
know how to swim like what are you talking about I'm like yeah we were like wrestling and like
choking each other out in the pool I'm like swallowing water as he's on my back
dying top you know you know the meme you know the meme that's always like it's like a girl's
thought bubble and it's like he's out there cheating on me or whatever he's out there
other girls and it's just you three choked with each other and then having a sleepover into the
shallow end but like the worst the the sad part about that was was was conan came in the hot tub
two and he like i was saying like he was like basically waiting to get traded so he was having like
panic attack basically and then i'm like i want to be like oh like don't worry about it like it's
going to be okay but in the back of my head i'm like if i was literally there the past four seasons like
it's the worst feeling ever like there's there's there's there's nothing that i could have said to make
him feel any better and and his wife was saying the same thing he's like what it's it's it's impossible
for me to relax you know like because you just we're you go online and it's everyone it's everyone's saying
something you're going here and then the next day you're going there and it's just like it's i mean it sucks
it sucks for you know guys like that but um for him going to a a team with a chance to make the playoffs and
And hopefully they start winning again.
So, you know, they're back in the mix.
I know they're, what, three points out or whatever it is.
Exactly.
It's real closer.
Yeah.
That's a top situation where it's like, especially coming from you, like, you're like,
dude, just chill.
Like, it's like, fuck off.
I know you don't mean that.
Has it worked up for you the last four years?
You're like, no, it actually didn't.
No.
Exactly.
It's exactly what it is.
Oh, my God.
All right, dude, do you have a, do you have a hot take for us?
This is my favorite part of every time you pop on.
Me too.
I got one.
I got one for you guys.
Okay.
You guys are big TV show guys, right?
Oh, yeah.
All right.
So I've been watching the White Lotus.
Okay.
And I don't think I love it as much as the previous seasons.
Dude, I would say it louder, my friend.
Say it louder.
That shows like it's been real slow and like kind of cringy in a way.
I don't know if it's just because it's from the other seasons.
And I think it was, I think it was one that I really liked.
One was in, was one in, in Hawaii?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, I really liked one.
Two was Italy.
I really liked one.
One was my, was my favorite.
Dude, don't, you don't, you don't need to be diplomatic about this.
This season of that show stinks.
It's terrible.
It's trash.
It's, it's slow and it's just so, like you said, cringy.
I think it's cringy to the point of,
so unrealistic that it just take
I'm like this is dog shit what I'm watching
well dude it got for me dude
I'm so with you because it went
they they get too high in their
own supply of like
in the season one there's a few
awkward interactions
between like the family
and the daughter's friend like Sydney
Sweeney's friend like Sydney Sweeney's telling her dad
that his dad was probably a bottom
getting getting dogged out
by some guy like those are awkward
conversations you're like yeah this is pretty
awkward. But then the new seasons, they're like, oh, the people liked that. So just every conversation
is so fucking awkward and uncomfortable for the whole hour. And then I'm like, that sucked. I don't know
why that wasn't enjoyable for me. I'm out, dude. I'm out. Yeah, I don't know if I'm completely caught up.
I think we're on episode five. So I don't know if that's completely caught up. But, um, yeah, I'm,
I'm just usually by like the middle of it, it's normally like kind of, you know, a lot of stuff's
happening and it just doesn't feel like I'm in I'm excited for anything to happen I don't even know
we're aiming at I'm about where you are dude I don't even know we're aiming at we've got the guy who
who's got like the financial problem and that's like all I know that's happening and then and
someone is going to get shot at the end and I'm like okay he did did you see the do you see the hang
and dong app though no you might be that might be your next step dude yeah you got something to
look forward to dad dad's hanging dong in his bathrobe
Great, great performance.
Honestly, great performance.
That's the best part so far.
Yeah.
So you know it's a great episode.
Yeah.
If that's like what we're looking forward to, it's tough.
Yep.
Yeah.
Tough bit.
I love it, dude.
This is, I feel like we're three for three, four for four now on your hot takes.
I just completely agree with.
I don't know if you know this either.
But you guys didn't like the football take and it didn't do very well.
Oh, yeah.
That was hot.
That one was hot.
That one was hot.
That's right.
Taff, have you seen Napoleon Dynamite, the movie?
Yes.
You know Uncle Rico, throw pigskin a quarter mile?
I didn't realize that dude is,
the Uncle Rico dude is the bald guy in White Lotus.
And the dad is Malfoy's dad in Harry Potter.
Yeah, yeah, that's who hangs on.
Seeing Lucius Malchus Dahl.
Yeah, that's what Nate Bashan today.
He told me that.
I was like, oh, that's actually a good point.
I was literally, I was, when I was trying to find my hot,
take out. I was like, oh, this is perfect.
It's pretty good. Bastion's like, the dude who hangs
dong, that's luscious mouthful.
He does a great
southern accent, actually, because he's British.
Yeah, he's a very good. He does a great southern accent in that show.
But yeah, I'm out, dude. I'm out.
I mean, I'm with you guys. I don't blame you at all.
Like, it's other than Jason Isaac's dong,
I don't think there's much to write home about it with this show.
We'll see. Will you finish, you think? Will you keep going?
Yeah.
I mean, we're halfway in or whatever, whatever it is.
You can't bail now.
Yeah.
Got to push through.
Yeah.
Got to push through.
All right.
Well, dude, we'll let you go grab this car, but I need a pick or a video from the maiden voyage.
Yeah.
Perfect.
We'll get that.
How much longer do you think before you take the doors off?
I don't know.
Like, the mornings are still kind of chilly here.
So if I, if I can go through, like, I don't want to, you know, I don't want to, you know, I don't want to, I don't want to
ruin the inside yet. I want to wait for it. Yeah, like if it's cold in the morning,
you're going to have that morning due getting the leather sheets all wet. You can't have that.
Yeah, because we park it outside too at the practice facility. So yeah, probably wait.
Wait a little. I'll honestly, I'll probably, I can take the roof off when I get, like,
leaving the rank. I can take the roof off. I think that's pretty easy. It seems like it's just a
couple, uh, little notches. So I'll do that.
Get the tutorial from Smitty, dude. He knows.
Get the hair going. Yeah, exactly.
All right. Well, dude, we will, we'll catch you later, but also we'll see you soon.
Big thank you to Toff loving the Toff take.
Dan, actually, to be honest with you, when he said, he goes, I don't think, and then he paused a long time.
And then he went, I love it.
And I thought he was, I thought he changed trains of thought.
I thought he was going.
I don't think I love it.
So then I looked at you like, oh, he loves White Lotus.
And then you clapped and I was like, oh, he said, I don't think I love it.
Dude, Toff and I share brain rot.
We share too many reels back and forth that I think we have the same brain.
rain rot, which is why I agree with all of his hot takes, essentially. And the second he said TV,
I was like, he's going to say he doesn't like White Lotus. And I was so pumped. My only fear was
was going to say he doesn't like Severance. And I was like, don't do it, don't do it. And he was like,
Go. Go. Go. Amazing. Love that. Let's go ahead and get into our powers ranking, Chris. Top five
teams in the NHL right now. How do we not have Carolina as one? Fair, actually. Um,
Fair. I will actually do that for them.
Carolina won. They've earned it. They've earned it. Then let's begin the conversation.
And I'm also going to say right now, Ottawa fans, Montreal fans, we love you, we're backing you, we want you guys in the playoffs.
Not a top five team in the league.
We're talking about top five teams in the NHL right now. You're not that. You're hot as hell.
You'd probably be one and two if we're, or Carolina is probably still one.
We love you. You're not top of. Carolina's one. And then I might want to go with the abs.
over the caps, are you sure?
No, I'm not.
No, I'm not.
Maybe the caps.
Have we been disrespecting the caps?
No, the caps are always getting respect that they deserve.
I kind of like the caps too here.
I like Carolina, I like Washington, I like Colorado, I then like Tampa.
Me too.
And I like Dallas, but they lost to the abs.
I like Dallas.
Edmonton is on a sneaky three-game winning for being trash,
but they were two trash.
We're going to keep them on the outside.
I like Florida.
I know, but they've dumped a couple.
Who did they lose to?
They beat the Leafs.
It was a really good win.
So we're going to go Carolina.
We're going to go Washington.
We're going to go Colorado.
And then Florida lost to...
Winnipeg...
Florida lost to the Islanders and the Habs.
Where you out on Winnipeg?
They've been a little poopie.
No.
They're still good, but they've had, they lost, they had a bad loss last night.
Yeah.
Five, four, and one in their last 10.
Yeah.
So I don't want them in here this.
I don't want them in here this week.
Vegas, five, three, and two.
I think I don't want them in either.
I want, I like, I like Tampa.
I think it's Florida and Tampa, dude.
Over Dallas?
Maybe not.
But maybe.
Maybe.
Do you hate Florida's habs and Islanders losses back to back on the road?
Um, kind of.
But they are good.
They're still good.
But I would, I could bump Florida
for Dallas.
So maybe go Tampa.
Tampa Dallas.
Boom, done.
Carolina, Washington, Colorado, Tampa, Dallas.
Five best teams in the league. Powers ranking five best teams in the league.
Now it's good to our starting six.
Starting at left wing, Yesper Brat.
I know it's Jesterper, but I like saying.
Yeah, me too.
Ten points in his last four games, three points away from breaking his career high of 83.
I don't know what more to say about this guy that I haven't said already.
I think he is low-key, one of the better players in the game.
he has been such a stud for New Jersey.
Agree. And he's going to break it. I can't wait for him.
I'm happy for him. Happy for him. Jack down, he stepping up.
Center. Out of respect, because there were good options,
I feel like we need to go Leon, Neon, Dion, Dian, Drysidal.
He had an 18-point, 18-game point street come to an end last night.
He always scored seven fucking goals. He couldn't get on the score sheet, which is ridiculous.
But an 18-gamer is an 18-gamer. He had 27 points over that run.
Pretty special stuff. Very special stuff.
First time on the list this season, I believe.
of right wing, Jordan Kairu, eight points in his last three,
Haddy against Minnesota, three apples against the Ducks,
two more against the Preds last night, huge wins.
He's three goals away from having his third straight 30-goal season.
Slept-on player.
Dude, I knew Monty was going to find someone he loved,
and it looks like it's Jordan Kahn.
Slept on player.
Left D, welcome back Quinn Hughes to the starting six.
It was actually a slow week for Left D, so I wanted to give it to Quinn.
He has five points in his last four.
He has a point in every game season back but two.
and the Canucks are back in a playoff spot.
And dude, he's like four points behind Orenski.
Like in my mind, I was like, there goes that.
Here goes Kall and Orenski.
He's like, I'm right here.
He's so fucking good.
Friend of the program at Wright D.
Brandon Montor, seven points in his last four.
He had a four point night in a 5-4 O.T win over the habs.
Caught Lane Hudson.
Did you see that?
Yeah, absolutely caught him sleeping.
Tied his career high with 16 goals.
I'd like to see him get 20.
That'd be sick.
Four goals to end the same.
season? Maybe not happening, but, but maybe. He's hot. I hope he gets one more for sure. I hope he
gets one more for sure. And then goalie, Dan, you just mentioned him, Darcy Kemper. He did lose two nights
ago to the wild, but he only gave up two goals. And before that, he went a 24 save shutout
win versus Nashville, a 21 save shutout win versus Washington back to back. Four one win against
the Islanders, two one win against the Blues. He's currently second in goals against and third
and save percentage out of fucking nowhere. The man is on a tear. I hope he can save some shots in the
playoffs against the Oilers. Love it.
I'm going to round us out with a game.
This is called trivia factorial, where I ask Dan, trivia questions about a player,
and the first one is worth 10 points, then 8, then 6, then 4, then 2, then 1.
They get easier and easier.
If Dan guesses and he guesses wrong, he gets zero points.
But if he gets it right on that number, that's how many points he receives.
Huge.
Are you ready to play?
I am.
For 10 points, this person was the stick boy on the Minnesota Golden Gophers team that Phil Kessel played for.
As part of me, that's like, how in the fucking world would I ever know this?
But I think I do, and I'm going to go for number eight, please.
I was like, what?
It's something that you could know, but that's supposed to be hard.
Yeah, it's supposed to be hard.
For eight points, in November 2016, this person made his NHL debut against the Rangers.
His team lost five, two, but he had both goals scoring on his first two career shots.
Damn.
Isn't that crazy, dude?
I didn't know that about this person.
Damn!
But use some clues.
November 2016,
this person made his NHL debut.
Yeah.
Team lost five, too.
He had both goals.
So this guy's been in the league for nine years.
Or maybe not, but.
Supposed to be hard.
It's supposed to be very hard here.
Yeah, I think I need to move on.
You could get six.
I made this one harder because I think you'll get four for sure.
You might get this one.
Okay.
Are you ready?
So 10, he was the stick boy on the Minnesota goal.
The Gophers that Phil Kessel played for.
Eight in November 2016, he made his debut against the Rangers and he scored on his first two shots.
Yeah.
For six points, born in Omaha, Nebraska, this person played college hockey at the University of Nebraska,
Omaha, where he was named to the NCHC Academic All-Conference team, the NCHC All-Conference Rookie Team,
and was a finalist for the NCHC rookie of the year.
His sophomore year, he took the Mavericks to their first ever frozen four,
where they lost to the Providence Friars 4-1.
He had the only goal.
I think I know it.
This one, I forgot.
If I was in your exact shoes, I wouldn't know it yet because I forgot that this person played there.
That is literally the only reason I think I know it.
This person plays there.
And I want to be very clear.
I, the Stickboy thing, I did not know at all.
Yep.
legitimately, I think this is like the only person in the NHL that played for this team.
I think so.
That's why you can know it.
That I think I'm going to get this.
So I'm going to make my guess.
And the 2016 helps.
I'm going to go Jake Gensel.
Bing!
For four points, this winger is on his third Eastern Conference team in the last two years,
despite being a consistent point per game player for the last eight seasons,
and definitely not a product of his former famous sentiment.
I honestly, I'm not sure I would have got.
gotten it until that last bit.
Yeah. For two points. But that makes me feel good. I would have gotten four.
Winning the Stanley Cup as a rookie in 2017 must have been nice, but it would have been
extra nice if he joined the team a year before, so he could have won two in a row.
And for one, the 77th overall picked by the Penguins in the 2013 draft, he burned the
Carolina Hurricanes last year by not being, for not resigning after being traded there.
Beautiful stuff. Jake Gensel, elite player.
Elite player. Well, that is it for us today at the Empty Nair's podcast. Make sure to tune in today.
on the Instagram for all of our Vegas content.
We're betting dogs, dude.
Get dogs, bet dogs.
Get dogs, bet dogs, eat dogs.
We might eat seven dogs.
We might eat seven dogs.
We might eat seven dogs.
We're going to get dogs and eat them.
Get dogs, eat dogs.
Get dogs, bet dogs.
No, just stick with the rind.
Get dogs, wet dogs, bet dogs.
Are we going to dunk them?
Yeah, because that's what they do.
Yeah, yeah.
Get dogs, wet dogs, bet dogs.
Now we're cooking.
Make sure to tune into that.
Make sure to subscribe to the YouTube if you're not already subscribed.
And also, Chris has something to say.
Get dogs, bet dogs.
pet dogs.
Fuck it.
Dude,
you are.
How did we
not put pet dogs in there?
Sometimes I can't believe
how fucking dialed you are
because that was sick.
Dude,
you think we're going to go to Vegas
and not pet dogs?
You think if I see a dog
walking down the strip,
I'm not going to stop and pet it.
Come on.
With a belly full of hot dogs?
Yep.
And a wallet full of bet dogs?
Yeah.
You're crazy.
Come on.
Tune in. Subscribe to the YouTube guys.
Subscribe to the YouTube right now.
Huge thanks to Taf again.
We will see you guys next time.
Until we do.
Skate on.
