Empty Netters Podcast - Are The First Place Maple Leafs Headed Straight To The Cup?
Episode Date: April 1, 2025Could this be the year the Maple Leafs finally do it? The boys found a stat from 1967 that says YES. The Frozen Four is set. We’ve got some new blood but everyone is afraid Denver is going to do it ...again. Torts has been fired and Michkov is off the leash. Marchy makes his Panthers debut. And the Rangers team bus hit Celebrini’s car. Plus, this is maybe the worst blind ranking yet… NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: True Classic. Upgrade your wardrobe and save on @trueclassic at trueclassic.com/[NETTERS]! #trueclassicpod New customers visit http://www.huel.com/NETTERS today and use my code NETTERS to get 15% off your first order plus a Free Gift. (0:00) - Intro (0:19) - Not Ice (9:39) - Ovi Retirement (16:12) - Frozen Four (33:35) - Wild Card (44:18) - Leafs Year (1:14:53) - Beer League Hotline (1:24:49) - Blind Ranking Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
And wouldn't you know it, the last time that happened was 1967.
And listen, man, I know we throw a lot of stats around, and sometimes they don't mean anything.
That one absolutely does.
And I think all signs are pointing towards the Leafs going to the cut.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
And with me, while maybe not next to me, a man who has worn the same sweatshirt for five
straight days, even though he owns no less than 50 of them. Chris Powers, how we doing?
As always. Dan, it's a tricky thing with the ski packing. As you well know, the bag, the flaw of the 50
pounds, this is a whole other, not ice for some other day, but just the 50 pound limit, if you,
if you have an away bag or like any of that sized checked luggage suitcase and you fill it,
it's too much.
It's over 50.
And then like your ski bag, you fill it up with your ski stuff.
It's over 50.
And I'm like, what?
There was a disconnect here in the structuring and the planning of the world.
Would you agree?
I would, but brother, I'm going to call you out because listen, we all, this will be, I think,
two weeks in a row now where we're going to be gassing up our fans.
favorite airline United.
And the status that we get, brother,
you get up to 70 pounds in that bag.
You know what, Dan, I actually did see that this,
this trip.
I didn't even know that until Saturday.
And I was like, yeah, it's pretty special.
It's pretty special.
So anyway, but dude, here's the other thing.
This is a very relaxing trip.
Like, we just come here and do nothing.
So.
Yeah, just to give, you.
You know, the listeners are unaware.
We are, this is a annual work retreat that CP and I do.
We're in Colorado right now.
We come out, do a little skiing on the weekend and then lock in.
Get a lot of work done.
Refocus up.
Make sure we are bringing you guys the best version of CP and DP and empty letters that we can.
And it's nice.
It's nice and relaxing.
Being out in the country, getting away from the city slicking life.
I like it.
And if I was going somewhere where I was going to be city slicking,
I would have packed 50 hoodies.
but, you know, I'm just sitting here next to you.
So same, so Idaho steelheads it is every night.
I wish you understood how insulting that is to me.
You know what you are?
You're the spouse that gives up.
You're the one who goes,
I'm married.
That's a fact.
To you.
To you.
There's nothing.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
There's nothing to work for anymore.
Who do I need to impress?
Meanwhile, I'm out here wearing different cable knit sweaters.
every day on the pod, just trying to make sure you know that I care about you and I care about,
I care about the listeners.
I want,
I want them to know that I'm trying still.
You've given up, dude.
Dude,
you are like,
moisturizing your face,
plucking your eyebrows,
and I'm in there shitting with the door open.
Yeah.
And you're like,
you're like,
dude,
this sucks,
man.
We used to have something special.
Yeah.
Like,
it's,
It smells bad.
It looks awful.
It's just like, I'm like, do you care at all?
You give you give me a card with a $5 bill in it for Valentine's Day.
Yeah.
And I'm like, just cash, dude.
Buy yourself something nice, Dan.
Buy yourself something nice.
It's like a Ralph's grocery store, $50 gift card.
I'm like, oh, thanks.
Thank you.
Thank you so much.
That's the level that we're at.
But I mean, listen, I'm glad that you're, you know, happy and relaxing.
That's nice.
Yeah.
Thank you.
Feel great.
I feel better now.
I feel better now than I did upon arrival when we were getting the rental car.
I will fucking tell you that much.
Yeah.
Why do you get so worked up about the rental cars, man?
I almost don't even want to say this on the pod because now someone else other than me is going to get rich off of this.
But there is a.
glaring hole in the market for a more efficient rental car business without fail when you get a
rental car and I think there's like status so I know I already know the comments are going to go crazy
on this with like oh I'm Hertz fucking platinum and like I just walk into a Hertz and they let me
take whatever car I want they let me empty the register of cash and then take whatever car I want I'm like
okay but for just normal people I rent a car
online prepaid dude boom paid done everything and then you get there and it's such a long process
where they're like initial this 5,000 times and do this and like i'm like well how is this not been done
how did you not just send me a form where i submit a picture of my id and everything is done and i just
walk in and the key is waiting for me i don't even need the register cash so that needs to be fixed
first and foremost yeah okay but in this instance dude i get to this rental place
And they go, hey, you got a truck.
And I say, yep.
And they go, we don't offer insurance, in-house insurance for pickup trucks because they
they're getting stolen, which is sad.
And I go, no worries.
I was going to decline it anyway.
And they go, well, do you have insurance?
I say yes.
They say, let me see it.
I pull up my car insurance, show it to him.
And they, and dude, there's a line.
And they go, we need proof that your car insurance will come.
cover you if you're driving a rental. And I'm like, uh, oh, yeah, I have insurance. Like,
I don't even know what that means. And you know, what's the problem here? The girl dad goes,
you have to call your car insurance right now while you're standing here first in line, 20 people
behind you. And then, and then they'll tell me that you have car insurance. I'm like, I have it.
And they're like, no, I need to hear it from the lady. So I just kick, I call it. And it goes,
boom, you're on hold for 25 minutes. And I just sit there at the front of the,
line, dude, like this. It was not. It was it 25 minutes, actually. Yeah, I think it was 23 minutes,
23 and change. I hit a stopwatch like this. And are the people behind you? Are the people
behind you saying stuff? Are they, are they being like, what the fuck is going on right now?
Oh yeah. And dude, at least there's a couple other registers. So like some people are going.
But like, this is a line. I've clogged the whole line. And I'm like, is everyone else calling
their insurance? Like, why I'm the only one who has to speak to someone at the car insurance
company. And dude, they finally answer. And they go, hey, can I help you? And I go, here's the
fucking, here's my policy number. And they go, what can I help you with? Mr. Powers? And I go,
can I'm just going to hand my phone to someone at this rental car company and you just tell them that
I do in fact have car insurance. And she goes, okay. I hand it over. They go, does he have insurance?
They go, yeah, hang up. Boom. Here your keys. Enjoy the Dodge Ram.
Dude. That can't be. That can't be the way, dude. It can't be the way.
It certainly cannot. And you know what? I got to say something.
to you. I am so glad that we are getting bigger. The show is getting bigger. It's so amazing
all the, all the family we have and the fans and the listeners. And I love that we're telling
more of these stories. I love that we start the show with a lot of these anecdotes and a lot of
these little stories because here's the thing. When we posted the proposal clip, so many of the
comments, so many of them were people being like the absolute insanity that this man finds himself
in, the inconvenience that follows this human being around in life is truly astounding.
And I feel so seen, dude, I know that you might think that you feel seen, that you're
finally letting people in on what goes on. But it's actually the reverse, dude. It's them
seeing me and understanding that I have to live with this all the time. It's like working
with you makes it my issue too. And that's worse because it's not, you've done something.
You did something. We talked about it in a past life. We've done something in this life that has
made you deserve all of these inconveniences, but now I just have to deal with it on top.
So the fact that you're shitting with the door open and then also the most unlucky and
inconvenient man who's ever lived is my cross to bear. It's absolutely horrifying.
Yeah, it's, I think, um, you're right in that you, because the stuff happens to me.
And then the, the, um, the, the, what's the word I want here? Like,
The sorries or I feel bad for yous that come all come to me.
You know, they're like, oh, poor Chris, poor Chris.
But it's really poor you too.
It's still poor me, but it's poor you too.
Yeah, yeah.
And you don't get any of the sympathy.
And I do.
And in fact, when I occasionally can't take it anymore and I'm like, what the fuck, Chris?
People are like, dude, give him a break.
And I'm like, yeah, it's happening to me too.
It's absolutely ridiculous.
But I can't afford it from you too.
That's the problem.
It's absolutely ridiculous.
It's unbelievable.
All right.
Well,
here's a thing,
dude.
You are cursed,
and that is what it is.
But we cannot delay
what we want to talk about anymore.
We're getting into our hot ice portion
of the episode.
And we buried the lead,
folks.
This one is big.
Big news of the day.
My God.
We have,
without a doubt,
the biggest breaking news
in the history of the show.
Biggest breaking news
in the history of empty netters.
There's no doubt about it.
As of now, I'm sure many of you have caught on to our great connections recently with the Washington Capitals organization with this amazing team.
We're going to get into the incredible news that Ryan Leonard was just signed.
He's going to be joining the team playing against Boston, which is so fun.
But we've got some monumental breaking news.
We have been given the remarkable, remarkable honor.
to break this news first in the media.
After this episode comes out and this news is released,
it'll be everywhere.
There's an article that's coming out,
but confirmed breaking news,
Alex Evetchin has announced he will be retiring
at the end of this season no matter what.
Which, and like I don't even know where to start.
We're going to spend a lot of time on this,
but I don't even know where to begin.
Because to me, if he does not break the record,
I'm like, you can't, dude. You can't. But again, you guys will all see the article later this
week. This is, there's no going back. He has made this announcement. We are breaking the news right now.
I'm, I'm completely shell-shocked still to this moment. He better break the record, Dan,
and they better win the cup, too. Like, it's not even just the individual stuff. It's like the
team, the young players they have on that team with the juice that he presumably still has. It's like,
I'm so shocked that they can have the season they're going to have.
And maybe it just speaks to the confidence in that room.
But it's like it's confidence going to get you so far.
The Stanley Cup is the hardest trope in sports to win.
So the idea that you could just hang it up shy of the goal record and the cup.
Dude, it's absolutely insane.
And like this must have been a decision that was made before even the beginning of the year.
And he's probably been wrestling with it.
And that has finally just been like, I don't know, maybe it's a decision with his family.
But he was like, here it is.
I kind of like the move of announcing it before the start of playoffs to give them some extra juice.
But holy moly.
Holy moly.
And then also, dude, the initial, or excuse me, the additional breaking news that just came through as a part of this is that it's actually April Fool's.
Boom, roasted, dude.
God.
Boom, roasted.
Every single one of you.
Every single one of you that was pulling out your phone, pulling out your laptops, ready to tweet out.
Oh my God, the empty netters just broke that Alexander Vegkin is retired.
A lot of you that are being like, you guys are idiots, you don't know anything.
That's not happening.
Boom roasted.
April fools.
Look down at your calendar.
Look down at your calendar.
It's April 1st.
Some of you, some of you for sure knew.
And I will give you credit for that.
Some of you listening right now on YouTube in your car were like, they're full of shit.
I know what day it is.
But I want some truth tellers out there.
Hands up.
I want a tally button.
How many people just got got because it was big.
Because it was big.
This is a safe space.
This is a safe space.
We admit when we make silly mistakes, when we get got, you got to admit it.
You got to slide into the DMs right now.
You got to get on Twitter right now.
You got to tweet us.
You got to DM us.
If you got got to be honest.
But also, if you knew it the whole time, you got to tell us to because we want to give you guys credit.
Because that's true.
I know.
I can hear it.
A lot of you.
A lot of you knew.
A lot of you knew.
So, classic April Fool's joke.
That was just classic stuff.
Like real right down the middle.
clean quality
believable
believable
viable
some of you bought it
I bought it
I feel like we bought into that
and I like it a lot
let's talk about some real news
Frozen 4 Chris
let's get into it
Frozen 4 matchup
we've got Denver
we've got
Penn State University
we've got Boston University
we've got Western
Michigan
two first time frozen for participants in the history of D1 men's NCAA hockey,
Western Michigan, and PSU.
Is PSU a hockey school?
That's what the streets are saying.
Is Denver the greatest hockey college program, men's hockey college program,
in the history of college hockey?
People are also saying that.
How do we feel and will Boston College ever recover?
Babes, you know when it comes to getting some action on the line.
we are teamed up with BetMGM, the best line mates in the league.
And BetMGM is taking care of you every single day.
Right now we want to talk about their unbelievable second chance promotion.
We love doing first goal score.
It's unbelievable.
You get someone out there who's absolutely buzzing, tucking the puck in all the time.
The Qutukutrov right now is firing.
Matt Veemichkov with the exit of torts is seeing some unbelievable upticks in his gameplay.
You might want to hammer that first goal score next game.
Here's the deal with the second chance.
promotion with that MGM. If you pick any player to get that first goal, if they don't get it,
if they don't get it, and you think, oh, God, I've lost my steak. I miss the bet. Not so fast,
my friend, because with the second chance promotion, if they get the second goal, you get your
stake back. They're giving you that second chance. So when you feel those juices tingling,
and you feel like you know someone's going to tuck, make that first goal score a bet. And if it
doesn't happen, don't worry, because if they get that second one, your steak is coming right back
into your account because BetMGM loves you and because we love you.
So make sure you sign up for BetMGM right now.
Use promo code Netters when you sign up, N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
and you are also going to receive up to $1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet
loses.
That is unbelievable.
Bet anything you want that loses.
$1,500.
Bonus bets right back into your account.
If you sign up with promo code netters, what better deal is there?
There isn't.
So just sign up with Bet-M-G-M-R-R-R-N-M right now.
Join the family.
matters boys want you bet MGM wants you. It is a no break. Gambling problem. Call 1-800
gambler available in the U.S. Call 8778 Hope N.Y or text Hope NY. Call 1-800-3-0-0-0-Mas
Massachusetts. 21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 next step in Arizona. 1-800
in Iowa. 1-800-9-802 3 in Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to
eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable in partnership with Kansas crossing casino
and hotel. See betmgmgm.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York,
Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
That's where I got to start, Dan. The Denver over B.C. DeB.
I can't remember what Ced Denver was, but they were two really good teams.
They were on this collision course to the final.
And that BC team is so stacked.
We've talked about it a million times.
But the Perot Leonard Smith line, you got Cutter on that squad.
It was to just get blanked 2-0, I believe was the final of that championship game, was just such a gut punch.
And this year, BC comes back and they bring those two boys back and they got Higgins and they got Teddy Stiga.
and they just look so good again,
and they're the one seed again.
And Denver,
I forget their final record,
but they were middling their way
into this tournament.
And everybody said,
everybody was picking them
because they were like,
well, you know,
this is what Denver does.
Just wait for the playoffs.
And man,
all the guys we were sitting with Dan
was like,
they're going to win,
Denver's going to win this game 100%.
And when they went up 3-0,
which that goal got called back for offside,
but when they went up 3-0 and B,
and BCs coming on,
coming on five periods not being able to score on on on what's name mattie d anyway the it just
is like do you got an issue you have a denver problem right now and i know they pulled it
close and it became there was a few few interesting chances there and i know the shots in the
third were like fucking 15 to 1 bc you know i know they stepped on it and went for it but just
holy fuck dude um and and zeeb with the fucking uh with the salute to the bench on the
on the way by after the empty netter.
I was just like, this is personal now.
This is personal.
You know what's so amazing, man.
Ziv getting drafted 12th overall.
We were going into that draft and we both had, we're no experts when it comes to, you know,
the prospect game, the college game, but we obviously pay attention.
We both had Boyham way higher than 12th.
And I kind of love it when a guy not even gets to prove people wrong.
at the NHL level, but when he goes back to school and he performs this way and knocks BC
out again, one of the top teams, it must feel so validating for him being like looking at all
those teams that passed on him and all the people that were like, oh, man, interesting decision
to go back to college and now here he is, taking his team to a frozen four.
It's electric stuff, dude.
It's electric stuff.
And that salute to that BC bench.
And what's fucked up, dude, is I know he has friends.
that team. He has friends of that program. Will Smith being one of them. Will talking to us today
about how nasty Boyam is. But to throw that salute, dude, knowing that you are driving a stake
through the hearts of not only all of those players, but that program, that was sinister work.
Truly, truly, truly gnarly. And I love it. Yep. Before we move off of that game, I just want to say
the real winner, if Denver goes on to do this thing again, Dan, and win another Natty. Do you have a
guess who the real winner is?
Well, I actually have a, I have a little bit of inside info for the BetMGM betting game here,
and also that's going to fire up the Paios fans.
Do you want me to share that or do you want to share the real winner?
Yeah, I want you, I want you to tell me.
So here's my little inside info, CP.
I got, I got slipped a little bit of info here.
Really pumps up the Paios fans, really boosts the chances of another Natty coming to Denver.
Got a little info from someone whose mom.
is a nurse in the newborn section of the hospital in Denver.
Every year that Denver has won a natty under Carl,
he has had a baby that year.
He's currently got a newborn.
Just saying.
Did he have a baby last year?
Because they won the natty last year.
Do you have a baby then too?
He sure did, dude.
He had a baby that season, beginning, during.
They went a natty.
He's now got a newborn.
They're winning again.
This man is made of gold, dude.
He's made of gold.
He's just pumping out kids.
He's pumping out beautiful, unbelievable kids
who are certainly going to be future stars,
just like him, just like his wife, just like his family,
and they're just winning Natty's, dude, left and right.
So put the fucking house on Denver.
David Carl Newborn, David Carl Nattie.
Allow us to be the first to congratulate the Denver Pioneers
on their national championship this year.
That is fantastic.
Truly unbelievable stuff.
You love to see it.
And with that piece of information, Dan,
would you like to hear who the real winner is?
No, I just, I need you, you got to tell me.
The UNLV skate and rebels club hockey team
who beat this fucking Denver team this year
and like, I know they were like,
oh, we beat the defending national champs
but it's like, well, no, it's not the same team.
This is the team.
This team has just won the national championship
and lost to the UNLV club hockey team.
And that is a fact.
Yep, I like this a lot, dude.
Like UNLV is rooting for Denver so hard, Dan.
So hard.
Yeah.
God.
And I'm happy for it.
Very good.
Very, very, very good.
That's cool.
My next point in the Frozen Four is this.
Penn State doing a little Cinderella run.
It's, we are bummed because they beat Maine.
They tagged Maine, by the way.
Like, that wasn't even a game ever.
Like, it was a fucking beat down.
They tagged Maine.
And then would they just beat Yukon?
They just beat Yukon.
Punch their ticket to the first ever, their first ever Frozen Four.
Penn State started this season, I believe, 07 and 1, which is preposterous in a not long season and then goes to the Frozen 4.
Epic celebration, sticking the crowd.
I'm really happy for the kids in the program.
We said this before, and it's not their fault, but this is fucking horseshit that those games were played in Allentown, Pennsylvania.
Yeah.
I agree.
I agree completely.
And it's one of those tough things where, like, I'm not.
you know, it's not like anyone got screwed. I don't really know what to say here.
It's not like Penn State did anything wrong. It's not like the tournament did. It's not like
these were determined and then they put it here. I know it's pre-scheduled. It's predetermined.
But to what you're saying is like they need to figure this out because it's absolute bullshit.
I'm not taking away anything from Penn State. But if you don't think that played a significant
factor in them playing these two teams basically in their best,
backyard. They've got all their fucking fans there. The kids on the team didn't have to travel a long
way. It's, it's a huge, huge boost. So this just can't happen anymore. Like it's, it's, it needs to be
changed. I don't care what you do. I don't care if you do it like women's basketball tournament
where those high seeds basically get a home game. They host in the beginning. I'd be fine with that.
But it's just, it's insane that something like this can happen. I frankly think it's bullshit.
Same, dude.
And it's not going to stop any time soon, but too much of this, too much of the evidence of the team, of the way lesser seed playing a home game and upsetting these.
And I know they want chaos, but upsetting these top seeds, that's a bummer.
Yeah.
I also want to say, point out that a bummer from me watching is what's the deal with the major penalties?
I'm so glad you brought up the major CP because they're driving me insane, dude.
It's, it's one of these things where it's like, I know.
I know it's college.
I know these are young kids.
You got to police the game.
You've got to protect the players.
But we're throwing around five-minute major ejections,
willy-nilly.
And, dude, the power play being five minutes,
no matter what you can score.
And that penalty still stays up on the board.
It is absolutely devastating to these games.
And I just can't believe it.
We were watching the other day.
There were three,
five-minute majors in the two games.
And I'm like,
what the fuck are we doing out here?
Now,
I get a little torn up here because the UMass,
Western Michigan game.
UMass is up.
They're controlling the game,
and it looks like UMass is going to be
head into the Frozen Four.
Boom.
Suspect.
Suspect five-minute major call.
Western Michigan scores twice.
They go up to one.
However, I tweeted out,
I was like, this is bullshit, dude.
Like you are, as a ref,
you are making a call.
You're retroactively making a call
that is drastically changing a game.
That is dog shit.
Western Michigan after that got a five minute of their own,
UMass couldn't cash in.
That makes it a little easier for me to swallow.
But the larger point is get them out of the game as often as you can.
It's crazy.
We talk to ref friends all the time,
especially in important games, close games.
The last thing you want to do is make a call that could affect the outcome.
And these guys were just throwing them out like fucking Oprah throws out cars.
It was ridiculous.
Dude, there was a challenge in the Yukon,
state game where there was no minor called and they challenged for a for a five minute major and they
didn't give it and it actually probably should have been a minor because I thought it was a slew for but just
it's crazy man uh let I've never seen let the kids play do let the kids decide the game let him play
five minute majors you're trying to you're trying to cheat my boys out the game and it's
that's what I'm saying let the kids play talk to me Dan a little bit before we get off
college hockey about the kids that have lost headed to the pros
This is my favorite part of the national tournament in hockey.
Truly it is.
I think it is the coolest thing in the world how these college kids are playing in at the moment,
probably the biggest tournaments of their lives.
Some of these guys play world juniors.
So that's obviously up there.
That could rival it.
But largely for these teams, for these kids, you're playing for national championship.
You're playing in the tournament.
It's electric.
It's unbelievable.
You lose devastating.
Boom, the next day some of these guys sign their pro deals.
And next thing you know, they're on an NHL sheet.
It's ridiculous.
It's about to happen to Ryan Leonard.
It's unbelievable.
We saw Minnesota lose.
Jimmy Snuggard signs with St. Louis.
It's going to be going out there playing with Monty.
Absolutely love to see it.
Ryan Leonard, as I just said today, Dave recording, it's Monday the 31st.
He signed.
He's officially heading to Washington.
He's probably going to play against Boston.
The fact that he is also wearing number nine, dude, it feels so there's something really cool going on with Ryan Leonard and Washington.
I don't know what it is.
I can't tell if I'm, if I'm too.
horny for this tournament for the season that he's had. His decision to go back to BC, I thought was so
nails. I thought it was so interesting. I'm so sad for him that they couldn't get the job done because
it did feel like he was like, dude, jobs out finished. I want to go win a natty. They don't even get to
the Frozen Four. It's devastating. But he now gets to join the red hot Washington Capitals.
I think this kid is so NHL ready. The way he sees the ice, the way he uses his physicality.
He's grown so much from last year to this year. And the fact that he's got that
number nine sweater. Like he is, he's the guy. Like he's the future. He's a huge part of the future.
Obviously, we've got protests. We've got McMichael. We've got Chickren just signing an amazing
deal. Like they felt like this old aging veteran team. These guys have winded the clocks back.
They've got a bunch of young studs. And now they've got Ryan Leonard stepping in for the end
of the season and a playoff run. How exciting is that, dude? It's unbelievable. We've also got
some other names. We see Taylor McCar signs. He's joining Colorado. It looks like he's going to be
playing in the HL. Probably will be there all season. I don't know if he'll make it
up to that roster, but that'd be unbelievable to see him playing with Kale.
We've got Gabe Perrault.
I believe it's going to happen today.
I don't think it has happened yet.
We can pop on Twitter and check, but I think Gabe's going to be signing his deal with
New York either today or tomorrow.
That is a huge question.
And I'm going to kick it to UCP before we talk about a couple of these other guys.
But if you are the New York Rangers and then I want to know what you think the Rangers
should do as an organization with Gabe Perrault.
And then I also want to know what you think Gabe Perrault should want, not
does want because at the end of the day, he's a competitor.
He's one of the best players in the nation at that age in college in this rookie class.
But obviously he wants to play at the highest level.
He wants to go up to the show.
What do you think the Rangers should be doing with Gabe?
Because for those who are unfamiliar, the second that Gabe touches an NHL sheet of ice,
that is a year of his entry-level contract burned.
So keep that in mind.
I think Gabe should want to play immediately, burn that year.
should want the Rangers to make the playoffs and sneak in, even if they get rinsed in the first
round just to taste that NHL playoff, boom, here we go. I'm peaking on midseason. Smitty's
already there. Lennaro's going, like, I'm playing. That's exactly what Gabe should want,
and that is what he wants. I'm almost certain. The Rangers, I don't think are doing dick in the
playoffs with or without him. And I think they should miss the playoffs. That would be beneficial to them.
and I would hear them going, dude, don't play.
Like, we don't want to burn the year.
So I would get all that.
But for me, this is kind of a ridiculous take.
I already, I already know.
But for me, it's a slippery slope, dude, when you're just, when you're not like in fucking we can do anything mode.
You know, like I don't like when teams start being like, well, we should, we should just miss.
And keep in mind, I say this about the Bs all year.
But like, oh, we should just miss the playoffs, even though we're like a point back.
We should just miss.
and we should be saving years of Gabe.
Like, I'm kind of like, that's a dangerous mindset.
It's a diseased mindset to get in.
Like, I'm like, and I think they should go, Gabe, get the fuck up here.
We need you.
We're about to make playoffs.
And once we're in, we're the fucking scariest team in the East because we have
Chesdy.
Let's fucking go.
Like, that's, if I'm a rangerous fan, that's what I would want the attitude of
the team to be.
Yeah, it's interesting.
I hear that take.
I just think it's such a bad idea.
And again, I love Gabe.
He's a, he's a friend of the program.
I love him as a player.
I love him as a person.
I want him to get whatever he wants.
I know he probably wants to get right on that sheet.
But if I'm running that organization and I look at the way that some of their high
draft picks have been handled, some are good, some are really not that great.
I don't love the way Lafayette treats young players.
To me, dude, Gabe, as good as he is, just with the framework of this team, I don't see
them making a cup run.
I don't see Gabe putting them over the edge.
You know, Gabe's probably a left wing.
And left wing, I think there's tons of opening on left wing.
You got Panarin, sure, but you've got coil.
You've got Crider.
Like, you're telling me Gabe Perra doesn't deserve a shot.
Maybe at that second line, left wing, maybe first line left wing, if you want to
balance it out, put Panarin down.
The bigger point for me is, man, I just like, I think you let him play in Hartford.
you let him get some pro hockey minutes, let him start playing with a halfie, let him really
taste that game, and you don't waste a year of his ELC.
I think the way that this team is going to have to reshuffle and restructure this summer
after this season ends, whether they make playoffs or miss playoffs.
I think it's just a good time to start fresh with him.
I totally hear the NHL experience, but I think he just has to be such an important part
of your future that I'm like, do not burn this.
do not light this on fire that's my take on it but you know i see i see a lot of size it's interesting
and you know and i'll also say you know there've been a couple of people who you know but actually i do
want to pause and give some flowers to rangers fans this weekend i proposed a few questions on
twitter and there there was one of the more pleasant and intelligent conversations on twitter with rangers
fans i've ever seen so so i'm showering you in flowers you are being
carted in a chariot through the town square and droves of flower petals are being
gently drifted and floated atop your heads because you were wonderful.
You were pleasant, you were fun, but there were a couple of people who were freaking out
about the idea of Gabe playing a different position, and I do not understand that at all.
Just so you know, folks, Connor Bedard has played a few games to not several games this season
on the wing. Like, young players can bounce around.
it's okay you might be it's it's one of those things chris so you always talk about if you're a great player in baseball when you're young you played shortstop not all those guys play shortstop in the pros it's like everyone play center you know like some guys are like oh i play left wing and then in the pros it's like well there's an opening at right wing fucking figure it out and be a first line player or don't guys can bounce around it's not stupid it's actually incredibly smart and it can be great for their development so don't be close minded to the opportunity of possibly playing somewhere else is all i'm saying no so on board so on board so on board
and it'll be interesting to see because I think there are pros and cons to both sides.
Speaking of the wild card race, Dan.
I do just want to quickly before we move on.
I want to mention Isaac Howard.
Isaac Howard, Michigan State Absolute Stud.
Hobie Baker finalist.
He is with the Lightning.
He has not yet signed.
I've got eyes on that big time because we've talked about how good this Lightning team is.
Isaac Howard is a fucking dog.
And I really hope he signs there because it feels like he could slot in.
And that is it the way I look at Ryan Leonard joining Washington,
If Isaac Howard joins Tampa, I'm like, oh, holy shit.
So let's keep eyes on that too.
Now, take me to the wildcard CP.
I am willing to declare the West wild card race over.
And the seeding, yep.
The blues and the wild have made the playoffs.
And the blues, I think legitimately might finish as the top wild card seed,
which as a wild fan, maybe you want the Jets.
I don't know, but as a wild fan to just like not,
not only not make it in the top three of the central,
but to fall to the bottom wild card is staggering.
But I am, I have ruled the flames out.
How do you feel?
Interesting.
I don't hate what you're saying, brother.
I don't.
I mean, St. Louis dude is just,
they are fucking on a heater.
They've got, you know, Vancouver has one game in hand on them and they're six points back.
Calgary has three games in hand and they're seven points back.
So, yeah, Calgary would have to go on a bit of a run here.
I thought last night, no, two nights ago, I thought Calgary suffered a really unlucky loss to Edmonton.
I thought they beat the wheels off Edmonton that whole game.
Then they got dry sidled, just quick stick taps to dry sidle, how fucking insane he's been this year.
But St. Louis, dude, nine fucking game win streak plus 17 goal diff.
They are the hottest team in the NHL and it is not even.
close. And it's crazy, dude, because they just look, they don't look like a team that's hot.
They just look good. And I'm like, damn, bro, damn. And I'm like, I'm with you. Like, we,
you declared a little while ago very smartly. Like, we were kind of like, yeah, dude,
Minnesota's in. Minnesota's in. Not to mention, Krill's back. Eric's and X back. Like,
I feel like they got it. And now, yeah, I'm with you. I'm like, St. Louis.
is in.
Like,
yeah.
Do we think,
do we think St.
Louis,
what do they have?
What did I just say?
They have 74 games.
Do we think in the next eight games,
St. Louis is going to go like two and six?
No way.
No way.
Binner tasted glory again, dude.
Truly.
I know.
He tasted glory again.
And now he is a fucking brick wall.
These young kids are buzzing under Monty.
Snugs might be popping into this lineup here.
NHL shot.
Like,
is this team of?
about to 2019 themselves are the blues going to like
I don't think so yet. I don't think so yet. I don't think so yet but I do
think that the heat, the pile heat that they're feeling right now
is can't go so ice cold so quickly
to now have them miss. And I know the flames are also hot like haven't how many games
are the flames won in a row? The flame or they just dumped one. Well they had won
they just lost an OTA. Yeah. But they had won like four games in a row and if they win their
games in hand they're only a point back. I shouldn't be ruling them out yet. And I
don't want to by the way. Flames fans listening that are
pissed at me right now. I want you. I'm begging for you to make the playoffs. I hope the blues
start losing games and you get in. That would be so sick for me. But I just, the blues, I don't think
they can turn this furnace off so fast that it cost them playoffs at this point. That's why I've called,
I've called the West, Dan. I think you're right. I think I think you're right. I think we are
going to, we're here to say it's over. The wild card race in the West is over. It's Minnesota and it's
St. Louis. And you know what's so fucking funny and also electric about this wildcard race that we've
been talking about now for months? I felt like it was the East. The East was the one that had all the
juice. It had all the sex. There were two spots open. It was crazy. It was tight. It was going to be the
most electric finish of all time. And the West felt like a one horse race. And now all of a sudden,
it felt like the West took over. The West was the one to watch. So many teams were surging. It was
getting out of control. You could feel the blood rushing to your netheres. You could barely stand up without
making a scene.
And now it feels like it's over in the West and we're looking back at the East and all of a sudden the East has
all the Mojo and they have all the juice and that is the race to watch.
I'm getting whipped last year going back and forth.
I'm losing my equilibrium.
I'm kinking my neck.
I don't know what to do.
Dude,
I'm also willing to declare the Sends and that's done.
I think so too.
The Montreal Canadiens controlling their own destiny with the regulation win tiebreaker.
over the jackets.
Like, well, the Rangers are right there too.
The Rangers have more regulation wins.
So it's like, is a really, it's a, it's a, it's a pretzel then.
Because it's like the blue jackets, if the blue jackets, uh, win their game in hand,
they'd be tied with the habs, same game, same points, which is crazy because I thought
the blue jackets were deader than dead a week ago.
And they're actually not at all.
Like they're so alive.
They're alive.
They're so, I have never been more alive.
They're so alive.
But then the.
Rangers have more regulation wins than any of them, but they've played an extra game.
So they're kind of behind in the points race.
So it's a big jigsaw puzzle here going on.
But the Montreal Canadiens, as of right now, control their own destiny with nine games left.
Pretty sick feeling.
Massive win over the cats.
Massive, massive win.
I don't know if they can do it.
Well, I'll tell you what.
that cat's win was huge dude i'm glad you called i'm glad you pointed it out that that cat's win was
huge because i i know there's it's one of those funny things right i there's a lot of florida
fans right now who are losing their minds who are going to look like shit we're a mess we can't
get new wins but i look at it as that's a great team no matter what and especially with the pressure
montreal going in and getting that win was so big that was that big boy hockey that i feel like
We saw them playing a couple weeks ago, a few weeks ago.
And I think that shows that they are going to make a push here.
And here's the thing to do we're talking all about the Blue Jackets.
We're talking all about the Habs.
We're talking about how the Rangers, they refuse to go away.
They drop the most pathetic game ever to the ducks, but also credit to the duckies because that was a sick comeback and a great win.
But then they absolutely pump the sharkies.
So it's like the Rangers, they continue this Jekyll and hide, but they're still in the mix.
And straight up, especially with the great interactions this weekend with the fans, credit to him.
You know, they're not giving up.
And there's a lot of teams that we're seeing giving up.
So I respect this from the Rangers.
Truly, I do.
So they're still in the mix.
But, dude, you know who else is in the mix?
Whether you want to admit it or not, Papa?
Detroit and the Islanders are in the mix, dude.
You want to talk about points?
You're going to sit here and you're going to talk about points.
You're going to talk about games in hand.
They are right in this, dude.
We're seeing all these teams drop.
I'm with you.
I think Ottawa hasn't locked.
I don't think Ottawa's going anywhere.
But here's the thing.
This race is now Montreal.
New York Rangers, Columbus Blue Jackets, Detroit Red Wings, and the New York Islanders.
They are all in the mix here.
And it is going to be, as it has been, so interesting this week watching every single time one of those teams play.
Because the implications, as we keep saying, are just so tantalessic.
They are so juicy.
They are so ripe with hockey entertainment.
Because every game means something.
playoffs five weeks early. Every game is a playoff game. It's ridiculous. Can we give some,
shot? We're talking a lot about Lane. We saw a crazy stat today. Crazy stat today. Lane Hudson,
59 points. I think he's got nine games left or something like that. Shout up,
Big Head Hockey. I believe they're the ones who dropped this. Just a few, a handful of all-star
defensemen who have never touched 59 points in their career.
Blackblad, Oliver Ekman Larson, Charlie McAvoy, like big names, significant star hockey players
in the National Hockey League who have never had that many points.
Lane Hudson has already done it.
We talk about the Calder, dude, it's just, it's his now.
Like the fact that he is so important to this team and they are in a playoff race and he's
doing all this as a rookie.
It's him.
I think Dustin Wolfe is absolutely in the conversation.
Obviously, my child Mack is in the conversation.
It's those three.
No disrespect, Mitchkov.
You're amazing as well.
be amazing. But it's those three, but I just think it's got to be lame. It's got to be lame.
But the other person I want to give some sticktacks to who we haven't really stroked off that
much this year is Nick Suzuki. He is a certified first line center. One C stud. He does it all. He's been
huge in a couple of these instrumental wins, including the Florida win. And I just want to show him
some love because I love watching and play. I love what he's done for this team. You can see he's
such a clear Martin St. Louis guy and the freedom and the leash St. Louis has given him to be himself
and that has allowed players like Cole to also shine, like Lane to also shine, like Slap to
kind of really kind of come into his own and embrace his role, Anderson to do the same.
I think he's a perfect leader for that team. And again, like, he is a one C certified,
one C in the NHL.
Yep.
taking a quick break from the pod to talk to you guys about one of my favorite partners
true classic you know why because they have one mission they have one mission on this earth
and that's to make sure you guys look good and feel even better i started off with the
teas i got to be honest i started off with the true classic teas because they're long you know
they're a little bit longer i'm a pretty tall i'm a tall lanky guy those teas are long enough
that i can reach for stuff i can be at the grocery store and they say sir could you reach
that box of cereal so i could help give it to my five-year-old child and i go for sure
And then I reach up and I get it.
And then my t-shirt is perfectly on my body still.
Amazing.
Tight around the chest.
Tight on the guns.
Loose fitting.
Everywhere else.
Amazing.
And then I got my hands on the jeans.
And let me tell you what.
Some of the softest,
stretchy,
comfiest jeans I've ever had.
The one,
the pair I have,
it's like,
you know,
the baggy thing's coming back a little bit.
It's a little bit baggy.
It's not like the super tight,
skinny gene thing,
but it's perfect.
It's right in fashion right now.
It looks great.
So I'm all about that.
I haven't even tried the hoodies yet.
And I know those are going to be
gas too. And it's in their DNA, okay? They're intentional with everything they do. You're,
you're getting unbelievable customer service. You're getting funny ads. They're giving back to the
communities they believe in. It's an incredible place. And I want you to be involved with True Classic.
Okay. So from the first piece I put on, I loved it. From the first piece you put on, you're
going to love it too. It's forget, lose the overpriced designer nonsense. We don't need that anymore.
We're all about True Classics. They're at Costco. Or you go to True Classic.com slash netters
and get hooked up.
All right, do not miss out on this opportunity.
We've got to talk about possible leader in the Atlantic.
Talk to me about the Leaf CP.
Three points clear, Dan.
And you had said a while ago that the Maple Leafs have to get first
because they have to avoid one of those two teams
and it would be a nightmare that'll lose in the first round.
And when you said that, I was like, you're right,
but also there is literally no chance.
Even when they were right there.
I was like, Florida is a billion times better than you
and Tampa is surging and they're also better than you.
so there's literally no chance.
Right now, there are three points clear.
Can they hold on to first?
And if they get first, are you at all?
I mean, the answer is no, because you don't want to play Florida or Tampa.
But I was going to say, are you all like, you've got to be fucking kidding you that you're getting Ottawa?
I think you do got to be fucking kidding me that you're getting Ottawa.
It's a tough situation because here's the deal.
Either, because Tampa is also surging.
And they look as good as they have all year.
And they're trying to chase you down.
They have a game in hand.
So it's really, let's assume Tampa wins.
It's a one point race.
I think if you catch Florida in the first round in Toronto,
shoot me in the face and make sure,
shoot yourself in the face and make sure I'm standing behind you.
If you also get first and you're like,
we did it and you get Ottawa,
who is just young, dumb, and full of come.
Oh, this is the only thing that they want, dude.
That is a matchup that Ottawa is salivating for.
Like Ottawa doesn't want to play Tampa.
They want to play Toronto.
So Ottawa's getting the matchup they want.
Toronto, you have to have the mentality of,
We just won the Atlantic.
We don't give a shit who we're playing.
And honestly, I think Toronto will win that series.
I love this Ottawa team.
Same.
I love Allmark and Net.
I think Toronto will win that series.
I really do.
I think they could win that series in six, honestly.
Like, they're a very good team.
I like how they're looking.
But I will also say, Ottawa thinks they can win that series too.
And that's interesting.
Yep.
And I want to say, though, dude, the Leafs are showing me something.
I don't want to overhype it because I'm still like you got a lot of work to do in that second round match will be a nightmare.
But I am genuinely very impressed that they are where they are right now, even if they've played an extra game, even if they don't end up winning the Atlantic.
The fact that they were like, I'll go fucking toe to toe with you two idiots and I don't give a shit.
And they might fucking do it, Dan.
That we'll see if it translates to playoffs.
But I really do want to say credit to the Leafs because this has been a great run of just competitive juices.
It's not even like they're 9 and 0 in their last 9 and 1.
the last 10. They're six, three and one. So is everybody else. But the fact that they've hung, hanging, hanging around this whole time is been sick.
They've just been good all year, dude. And I said it at the trade deadline. When we were, when we were announcing trades, when they got Lottie and Carlo, I was like, I fucking love these pickups by Toronto and they are a scary team. Got a ton of, you know, chirps in the comments of being like first run exit, first run exit. That's the easy trip to make. And I get it. And oftentimes it's right. But I think if you're Toronto and you're a trauma, and you're a trauma.
fan. This is the best you felt. This is the best you felt in 10 years. I genuinely believe that.
And that's a good thing. I want to switch over to another team that is currently in first
in their division because we just got a little bit of a discussion going this weekend with
some Winnipeg Jets fans. And I thought it was a good callout. I think Winnipeg is a small market
team. They maybe don't get enough love. We talk about them all the time. You're, you're stroking
off Kyle Connor all the time. We talked about Heli. I feel like every episode for the last three
episodes. So this is going to be a quick segment again, but I understand that Winnipeg is a small market
team and maybe they don't get as much attention to some of these bigger markets that maybe get more
clicks and stuff like that. But they're the best team in the league right now with 106 points.
They're on a three game winning streak. And I feel like I want to say, I feel like I am obligated
to say. We love so many guys in this team. Obviously, AI, good friend of ours. Love him.
Love to see Valardi coming out of his shell, having a monster year. Kyle Connor's your boy.
Josh Morris, he's my boy. We love so many guys in this team.
team. Hellebuck, we have spent some time talking about.
Look at the numbers. Look at him compared to Allmark from a couple of years ago.
Why is he getting so much attention?
Then he comes in this weekend, dude, just gets a couple more wins, including another
shootout, or excuse me, including another shutout.
And I am here to say for the first time, not that I ever thought he shouldn't get it,
but if Hellebuck gets the heart, I am now like, yep, I see it.
Like he is watching very closely those Jets games this weekend and like being like,
why can't anyone score on this guy?
Why can't Jersey get a puck past this guy?
And just remembering the feeling of confidence we had being, you know,
from the United States watching Four Nations with him in the net and being like,
this guy's a fucking monster.
So that's all I wanted to say.
Just a quick rant and some love to Winnipeg because, listen, I know a lot of people think,
I think a couple of our friends in the media, not to call anyone out,
but a couple of people have been like their frauds do.
Like they are the frauds of the league.
They are not this good.
They're going to win the president's trophy or this and that,
but then they're going to lose in the playoffs.
I don't see it.
I think that this team's fucking deep, and I think they're good.
And dude, talk about hanging around.
The capitals, it felt like all year were the Locke President's Trophy.
And the fact that the Jets have beat them recently and they're up three points right now,
massive credit to them for going wire to wire here in a fucking gauntlet of a division, by the way.
Yep.
So.
Hondo P.
Hondo P.
Even, I ruined it.
Even sicker.
I ruined what would have been a perfect transition for us staying in the Atlantic.
Let's talk about marshy real.
Quick. debut with the Cats gets his first helper on a Sam Bennett OT winner. What did you think about
seeing him in that jersey? Dude, we joked that he didn't look that weird. We were like,
it looks pretty clean out there, actually. And I think it, we both said it. The Canada, it's the Canada
red. So I was like, okay, yeah, I've seen this before. So it was okay. My favorite part, dude,
by far was, as clip went on social, was him sitting on the bench next to Sasha, Barkoff.
and Sasha's dying laughing
and you get that on camera
you don't see Brad's not doing anything on the clip
you just see Barkoff laughing and then they ask him after
and he was like dude he just chirped someone on the other team
so savagely right next to me
and I was just sitting there thinking to myself
that used to be to us all the time
like I just have to listen I'd be on the eyes just listening to him
go from the fucking bench and now he's just
sitting next to me doing it to my opponents
and he's thinking to myself this is fucking crazy
and that that is the Brad
experience and I mean that in a good way
you know like you're getting an incredibly
talented guy who's given you these intangibles and to see the smile on Sasha's face as he
experienced it the way Bruins fans have been experiencing it the whole time and Bruins players
was very cool. And isn't that the epitome of what we always say when you talk about players like
Marcia, you talk about Tom Wilson's where you go, if you're a fan like, sure, hate him all you want,
but if he was on your team, he'd be your favorite guy in the world.
Guys like this, Barkoff talk about it when it happens and they're like, oh yeah, I couldn't be
happier. He's an amazing player and it's absolutely hilarious when he's doing this stuff for you.
And it was really cool how like Sam Bennett was able to speak to that being like, yeah, I was just with him in Four Nations.
It was fucking awesome.
Like now here he is.
So it's, you know, growing up a Bruins fan seeing him fit in so easily fits like a glove, Cinderella slipper over there in Florida.
You're a little bit like, oh, no.
But at the same time, I'm like, it's just a testament to how good he is.
It's awesome.
Speaking about the Bruins, obviously not a lot of great stuff to talk about with the Bruins right now.
But Ty Anderson, shout out our boy.
He dropped an interesting stat this weekend when Morgan Geeky scored.
Interesting is a word for it, Dan.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, that's a choice.
That's a choice.
Morgan Geeky scored his 27th goal of the season.
He's having an unreal year.
But in doing so, he became tied for the second most goals scored by an unrestricted
free agent signing by the Bruins with Michael.
writer in 2009. The first is an aging Jerome Ginnler. That is a tough, tough look for the Boston
Bruins organization when you look at their success in signing unrestricted free agents.
You said it best. I'd love to go back and look at other teams and see their records, right?
Because it's hard to add out of context. We got the tweet. It's hard to compare. But that
it's a bummer to think that
when you're like,
oh, we're a big free agent away.
We're a big splash away.
And you've just had such a bad track record with those splashes.
When you see that stat thrown in your face,
it doesn't inspire a lot of confidence to do this retool I keep talking about.
Of like,
well,
it's not a rebuild because you've got sway and McAvoy and pasta.
You just retool.
But I'm like,
well,
we haven't really done that ever either.
So not great,
Bob,
not great, Bob.
not great and you know it's this became a discussion amongst a bunch of our group chats with
some of the boys uh you also now look at this situation like the bruns have done everything that
they've done we talked about on the pod weeks ago i was talking about these guys these sort of like
middle six guys who have monster years and then get overpaid i'm not saying morgan geeky is that
but morgan morgan giki is doing to the tea what you should do when you are this type of player
and when you are about to be an unrestricted free agent.
Like everything that the Bruins have just done
shipping out all of their guys,
you are absolutely,
I mean,
it was a very conscious decision
to not trade Morgan Geeky.
I guarantee some of the best offers
that the Bruins were getting
for some of their players.
Morgan Geeky was probably at the top of the list.
So I think that they kept him very intentionally.
I think they planned to re-sign him.
But you do always wonder is like,
does a middle six type of player have a monster year like this?
And then you give him,
them a bag and maybe it's not repeated because you got to worry.
If you're the Bruins, this is no disrespect to geeky.
I think he's fucking awesome.
He's such a nails type of player.
And he's young.
People forget how young he is.
But he's been playing with pasta.
Pasta is an all world level player.
If you go out and you get some players, you have some draft picks come up who maybe need
some of that first line time, maybe playing with a guy like Pasta and all of a sudden,
geeky's not playing with him because he have the same production.
These are the questions that you always have to ask.
So it's just an interesting element that the Bruins are dealing with.
It's like the one good thing that's happening with them this year, aside from pasta being pasta,
is like Morgan Geeky's fantastic.
But it's almost like, and now it creates a problem for you.
It's bad.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
I'm like, God damn it, stop fucking scoring, dude.
We suck.
Just let us suck.
It's crazy.
Yeah.
It's absolutely crazy.
There was another Bruin stat that dropped that you wanted to share.
Yes.
Dude, just so fucking awesome.
This was, our buddy, our buddy found this on Twitter last night, sent it to us.
The last time that the Bruins and the Detroit Red Wings missed the playoffs.
I'm actually going to pause right here for the listeners in the car because this is how it was presented to Dan and I.
They said, when was the last time that the Boston Bruins and the Detroit Red Wings both missed the playoffs?
And you, do you remember what you guessed, Dan?
I guess the, I was like, I bet it's the 60s.
do i thought you said the 70s
oh no yeah sorry
i'm mixing them up now
I'm bearing the lead here you said the 70s
yeah you said the 70s i said that early 80s
i was like yeah yeah i was like i bet it's way back in the 70s
like i bet this is a crazy stat
yep and then it ended up the answer is
1967 which is fucking ridiculous
and a credit to those two organizations for their
long long runs of success
but it appears, and I know you don't think so yet,
but it appears that this year,
both the Boston Bruins and the Detroit Red Wings
are both going to miss the playoffs.
Last time was 67.
What else happened in 1967, Dan?
The Toronto Maple Leafs won the Stanley Cup.
So just to like we congratulated the Denver pioneers
on being national champions,
I do believe it is time to congratulate
the Toronto Maple Leafs on their Stanley Cup.
Because here's the deal, dude.
The Bruins have missed the playoffs,
and it looks like the Red Wings are probably going to miss the playoffs,
but they're still in the fight.
But if and when,
the Detroit Red Wings also missed the playoffs,
the Toronto Maple Leafs have officially won the Stanley Cup.
So check those odds, folks.
I would hammer a parlay, dude.
Denver winning.
In fact, you know what?
I'm going to do that right now.
The second we finish recording,
Denver to win the national championship,
Toronto to win the Stanley Cup,
because that's what's happening.
Last time it happened,
oh, always 67, oh, wow, Detroit, Boston.
Man, they both haven't missed.
the playoffs in forever.
What happened last time?
The Maple Leafs won the Stanley Cup.
Looks like that's going to happen now.
Cash.
Get your money.
Get your money.
Dan.
Dan, this one, I haven't even shown you yet, but I can't wait to tell you this.
Last episode, we did the, what's the connection trivia, right?
And I asked you about the Vegas mascot whose name is Chance, which you got correct.
Also a dog in Homer Bound.
The Vegas mascot, I said, he's that yellow reptile, a guy.
gila monster.
Yeah, yeah.
Okay.
Dude,
so I got this.
Not how you pronounce it?
Yeah.
So it's hila.
He a hela monster.
Yeah.
And I got this, Dan, from our boys, new fans of the show.
Dude.
Love it.
The hila monster can survive months without food.
Researchers traced some of this ability to a peptide in their venom.
And the study of their venom led scientists to develop GLP1 medications or what we know as
Ozempic.
Shut the fuck up.
I swear to God, dude.
Shut the fuck up, dude.
Dude, isn't that fucking sick, bro?
The Gila monster, dude.
You're fucking kidding me, dude.
So now every single person, hey, every one of you that deflated yourselves with the OZemPEC,
you're now Vegas Golden Knights fans, dude.
Your...
Bag.
Chance is your mascot, too.
That's fucking gas, dude.
I love it, dude.
It's a second chance.
And it's a second chance.
People getting summer fit, dude, they're on OZepic, losing some weight, bettering themselves, feeling great.
That's fucking awesome.
Now you're also Vegas Golden Knights fans.
This is phenomenal.
Huge for the Vegas Golden Knights.
We got fucking Ozempic from fucking the Gila monster, dude.
It's a fucking blue my mind.
What a stack.
What a poll, dude.
And if OZempe doesn't have a brand deal with the Vegas Golden Knights already, they have to now.
Like without their mascot, without that animal, without that rep,
You don't exist.
So get on the Vegas Golden Nights train right now.
Start sponsoring that team.
You owe them everything.
Unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
Holy shit.
That's amazing.
Talk to me about Crosby and Ovi, dude.
I think it's about time.
This happened last week, I think on Thursday.
We threw them in the meme carousel, but Crosse did it, dude.
20 consecutive years point per game.
Holy shit.
We can be quick on both these just massive congrats.
I saw them grab the puck.
And it was weird because like you were saying it's like if he just stops playing,
he had already done it.
But that made it official.
Dude, I know people like, well,
Connor will just break that.
Maybe, dude, maybe.
I don't know.
Fucking 20 years is a long time.
Shit happens.
So an incredible, incredible testament to the kids skill,
longevity and commitment to the game.
We've been juicing him up as he approached this record.
But he's finally done it.
And I couldn't be fucking happier to have watched every fucking second.
of that dude's career. Thank you, Sid, legitimately.
Dude, thank you for letting us watch you play.
I said it on Twitter, man. I think that there's an,
and people, you know, some people agreed, some people freaked out as they do on Twitter
because it's the most toxic app in the world.
I think there's an argument that he's the greatest player of all time.
And it's like, you know, get mad at me if you want, dude.
I get it. I get all of Wayne's records. I get that it's insane.
But I'm usually not like this. I'm going to be like this right now.
The era difference is just insane.
Like just Google Wayne Gretzky highlights and watch the way he plays versus the way Sid plays.
And the fact that Sid has been doing this for 20 fucking years, you look at guys like Bedard, like Macklin-Selabrini, these unbelievable elite, elite players.
Even like McDavid, dude, like I know it was a shorter season for him, but Sid came into the league his first year and he had 100 points.
And he's just been doing that constantly.
You like a 30 this year too, Dan.
Remember how slow he started?
Yeah, he's up to 27.
I think he'll score 30.
Like, get fucked.
Honestly, I think he will too.
And then speaking of scoring goals.
Yep.
Yeah.
Speaking of scoring goals,
Avechkin got another last night, I believe,
and he is now four away from tying,
five away from breaking.
His next games at Boston with Ryan Leonard on the ice,
hopefully, at Carolina versus the Blackhawks,
at Islanders,
home against Carolina, at Columbus.
or home against Columbus and then at Islanders and at Penguins to end the season.
I just think he can do it, dude.
There's some games there,
like that Hawks game feels like a goal.
The Bruins game feels like a goal.
I mean,
and just for the story,
I think that Penguins game,
dude,
can you imagine if he comes in tied?
Imagine if he comes in down two.
He has three.
Scores three from this point,
and he needs two,
one to tie,
one to break.
And we get seeing seeing him tie it and break it.
and break it with an empty netter, dude.
In Pittsburgh.
Dude, can you imagine?
So awesome.
And I'm financially,
I'm very financially invested in him breaking it against Pittsburgh.
So we need him to go.
CP, I'm telling you, bro.
I'm telling you,
if he went in with needing two and he tied it and then broke it with an empty netter
against Pittsburgh,
I would start levitating.
Dude,
I believe you,
I believe you.
Start ascending.
I'd be like, this is the best moment of my life.
Holy hell.
I believe you, Dan.
But dude, check this out.
Here's a wrinkle for you.
Because I saw this fucking insane stat, okay?
There are 29 goalies that have played in an NHL game against Ovechkin and have never been scored on.
29.
Yeah.
Okay.
Some of them, like, came in and didn't even stop a shot, right?
Because, like, they came in for a poll.
that he never shot on them.
So like there's a few caveats here and there.
But dude, 29 people.
And there's some crazy names, some old guys,
like Holt B is funny because he was on his team for so long.
VTEC is up here with like,
when they track shots saved too.
But dude, never been scored on by Alex Ovechkin
in his career, Ilya Sorokin.
That is so nails.
He's in his division, dude.
That is so nails.
What the hell are you saying to me, dude?
Like,
So, Dan, so Dan.
I now.
Genuinely impossible.
He's in his division, dude.
Yeah, and it's not like Sorokin's been playing for 20 years like Ovi has, but like he's been
playing for a little while and Ovi's been scoring almost 40 to 50 every year.
Like how in the world has this happened?
So Dan, his second to last game is the island.
Islanders.
Yeah.
And I'm like, dude, it just, you get two with him, eh?
Yeah, I was going to say he's got two games, two games.
If you know what?
It's funny, if I were the Islanders, I wouldn't start.
Fuck you.
Fuck you.
If I were Sorokin, I'd be like this, dude, I don't feel good, man.
I got the flu.
I can't play today.
Dude, they're in the playoff.
They're in the playoff.
They're one.
Yeah, yeah.
Two points out.
And he's like, nah, dude, no chance.
No fucking chance.
Never play against Ovi again, dude.
And just like glare at him from the bench all games.
Just be like,
Nice try.
Motherfucker.
Remember when Laz was like, well, actually, I do think it's cool.
Like, it's a fun stat that you're like, you have to play that clip all the time.
And I agreed with him, which I do.
Except if it's the first time he's ever scored on you.
Like, you cannot let it be your first fucking goal ever, dude.
Fucking insane.
Last OB thing before we get off him was this was from Friday, I think.
So everyone's seen it by now.
But absolute class act by a class man to pull the capitals back out on the ice to shake
flower's hand in his last game that was so cool dude that was so cool like it's like i think it was
merrick um merrick said something about like this is the stuff that should get you the master's
like that that is just class dude just like dripping with class i i loved it so much that was awesome
um all right let's get into some quick hitter stuff we can stay on the caps we're going to do a
speed round here or some cool stuff i pointed this out to you yesterday cp showing some light
showing some love.
Jacob Chikrin, dude,
fresh off of signing his extension,
his eight-year deal at $9 million a season with Washington.
He scored two last night,
reaches 20 goals on the season for the first time in his career.
I tweeted out when that deal was signed.
We heard that deal was signed,
blasted it out amongst all the other insiders,
the actual insiders were just fucking Fugazis.
But they all announced that.
We're in on it.
We're all talking about it.
And I was quick to be like,
this is a fucking great deal.
We actually had some of our favorite Washington fans,
both friends and then just friends of the friends of the program.
Shout at this guy, Nick.
He's a big, big Caps fan college student, awesome dude, loves the Cappies.
And he was, he's so analytical.
He's a great, he's the perfect type of fan in my opinion.
Like, he never boosts too much.
He's always kind of like thoughtful about everything for us.
And he was like, do we like this deal?
And I was like, dude, we love this deal.
And like, no disrespect to the Yotes now Utah.
I just feel like when Chikrin was there, it was in a tough period.
No one was ever really going to thrive there.
he was also young dealing with some injuries i feel like a lot of guys we see that with we even saw it with
sid dude like early days he missed tons of games with concussion stuff in that early phase we saw it with
bergeron too uh where it feels like you're like oh no does this guy have an injury problem and then you just
you grow up dude like you mature you get bigger you get stronger you know what it takes you get some
reps in to figure out how you last in a season i feel like chikrin obviously knock on wood has done that
he's played a full year he's had a career year all numbers he looks amazing i think it's a fantastic
deal. So pumped for him and Caps fans, you love to see it.
Thrilled. Next one I got, dude, the Rangers played against the sharks on Saturday night in San Jose.
They pumped the shark 6-1, and then on the way out of the parking lot, which we have been in many times,
they hit Macklin-Colubrini's car with their bus, dude.
And left, dude. And left, hit and run, dude. Literally call the cops, call the police,
because that's a crime.
That's a kitten run crime, and you know who it is.
Check the license plate.
Don't need to.
It was the fucking Rangers bus.
Dude, I hate to do this because I've been talking so highly of them this episode.
They're fans, the team.
I like the fight they're showing.
I loved the great discourse we had last night.
But let me tell you what, dude, if we weren't sure that you were the most scumbag organization in the league before,
after you do this to a young star in the league, jealousy is not a good color on you, my friends.
And here's the other thing.
I bet it was J.T.
I bet J.T. was driving.
We see the way he treats some young guys.
He's a tough, wily veteran.
I bet he saw that car, knew it was Max,
kicked the driver out of the seat,
got at the wheel,
fucking plowed into the front bumper
and then took off with a bird over his shoulder.
Shame on you, J.T. Miller.
Shame on you, New York Rangers.
Absolutely just disgusting behavior.
Disgusting. I'm disgusted.
Dude, we texted Mac.
We texted Mac. Send us a picture of the fucking bill
because I need to see it and I need to let the world know.
And he said he will.
So he's going to send us a fucking pick of the bill.
And then the Rangers better be fucking paying for that, dude, in a big way.
Can you imagine getting pumped 6-1 and then giving your car hit and run by the team that just beat you?
What does someone hit your car leaving beer league, dude?
Yeah, after I got just run up 9 to 0 and I'm like, dude, I'm already struggling, brother.
This is the only thing I have and it's already a bad night.
You're making it worse.
Talking about people who had bad nights, how ridiculous is it that we're talking about torts' quote last week?
I'm saying, I bet his coaching, I will give myself a little pump here.
Like I was like, I bet the coaching era for him is coming to a close soon.
Probably not maybe next year he coaches, but after that dude, how about that night?
Like, yeah, the old classic step down.
I'm not fired.
I quit, you know, like he's gone, torches out.
Now Philly needs a new coach.
I stand by.
I think there's a future with him in the organization in the management role.
But that was fucking nuts.
It was nuts that we're talking about it.
People are literally sitting, listening to the episode of the podcast, and then, like,
as they're listening, the news comes out that torts is fired.
Ridiculous.
Dude, I stand by.
So many people have said the Flyers didn't have a choice.
They didn't have a choice.
After that comment, their hands were tied.
They have to fire him.
I ignore whatever the fuck torts futurist.
If he's going to front office, that'd be cool.
If he coaches again, if he wants to coach again, that'd be cool.
I don't care.
The thing I do dig in on is their hands were not.
hide it all in my opinion. And that, that comment by him was not a fireable offense in my opinion.
He was like, yeah, we're in a bad, we're bad. And I'm not doing a good job prepping us because I'm not used to. And I don't know how to coach a team that is just not in the running. Sure. Like it was unnecessary shade. Keep that in house. Whatever, whatever. But to me, that was not a like, how dare you? You're fired. I was like, what? You guys fucking suck. And he's being like, I wish we didn't suck. And it's hard to coach a team that sucks. So like, I, I'm so blown away.
I was blown away when they hired him two years ago.
I was blown away with what he was able to do with that team.
And then I thought, wow, you guys really latched on to something.
You found a softening torts, and it's actually really helped usher you into the next era of Flyers Hockey.
To fire him here, if there's no plan, like you maybe think there is, Dan, but to fire him here, leave such a sour taste in my mouth and probably his, if there's no plan, that it pisses me off.
I agree.
And the only thing I'll say, you know, I know we're in the speed round, but it was also just nuts.
like it's just such a unlucky look because I love, I said last week, I love the way torts
seem to soften up a little bit. And I actually think he's become way better for young players
in the league. I think the way you see Tippett playing, Brink playing, I think he's, he's softened
a little bit. But it is funny that Mitchcoff is like five points, four goals in two games since
torts has been gone. And I'm like, it's not the first time that's happened. Like, you know,
like Crider was a little, a little suffocated under Torz and Torz left. And then Crider kind of
broke out a little bit. So it's like, this has happened before. I hate that it's happening again.
Yeah. Mischkopf off the leash is a dangerous. It's a dangerous thought. Yeah, yeah. Time to move on.
Let's get into one of our favorite segments, a beer league hotline brought to you by our friends at Labat Blue.
All right, gang, we're taking a quick second to talk about a new partner of the podcast and one that I
could not be more fueled up about. That is not a pun. That is the truth. We're talking about
Huell right now. Huel is a new energy drink supplement that is going to change your life. I'm not
exaggerating. You know this stuff is important to me. Daddy D.P. is talking to you right now. You know I'm a
health boy. You know I'm a fitness guy. You know I'm a nutrition guy. And this stuff gets me fired up.
That's the truth. Here's the deal. All Huel meals and bars provide 27 essential vitamins and
minerals plus 100% nutritionally complete balance of protein, essential fats, carbohydrates,
and fiber. When we're talking about these Hewell drinks right now, this is not your normal protein
drink. It's not your normal protein shake. This thing is a game changer. It's ready to drink. It's
incredible. It tastes like a milkshake. Here's the deal. I love the chocolate. I'll get into
the strawberry banana here and there. I'm a big chocolate guy, but I've recently dabbled in the ice
coffee flavor. I don't drink coffee. I've always said, I'm naturally energized, babe. I don't need
that coffee. I don't need it. But here's the deal. Hewle has vitamin B12, and that helps
reduce tiredness. It's not a pumpful caffeine. You don't feel like you got the jitters. That's
natural vitamins, baby. And that is getting you fueled through the entire day. It's unbelievable.
Every single one of these things has vitamin C. So it's fighting off, battling with your immune system,
keeping you healthy, making sure you don't get sick. And like I said already, it is packed
with protein. And that right there, I got to be honest, that's number one for me. These things
taste delicious. I'm not gassing them up. I'm being honest. I would be very honest with stuff like
this because so many protein bars, shakes, ready to go drinks like this, they taste chalky,
they're terrible.
Huel is absolutely delicious.
I enjoy it when I drink it.
And it's all about hitting those macros for me.
You know me and CP.
We're on the road all the time.
We're going to all these hockey events.
We're traveling.
We're going on ski trips.
I'm in Colorado right now.
I have such a hard time finding high quality protein supplements that let me hit my macros
that make me feel like I'm staying fit.
I'm getting my workouts in and I'm getting all of my essential nutrients and protein.
Huell does that for me.
I packed my suitcase with 12 bottles of this stuff.
I'm not kidding because I knew I was on the road.
I knew I wasn't going to be able to make my normal protein shakes,
and I knew all of the other alternatives just don't hit it quite right.
And Huell does.
This stuff is delicious.
And I'm telling you, it makes you feel like you aren't veering away from your routine at all.
If you're an on-the-go person, if you're constantly bopping around with work,
if you're traveling a lot like we are, and you want something that gives you these nice vitamins,
nutrients and that protein, Hewle is your answer.
There is no doubt about it.
I am telling you guys.
So what you're going to do, you're going to get in the family.
New customers, you're going to go to Hewel.com slash netters,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S, and that's also the code that you're going to put in,
and you're going to save 15% off your first order, plus a free gift is going to be shipped
to you with your order.
I know so many of you listening to this podcast right now.
I know that you are people like me.
I know that you like meal replacement stuff.
I know that you like on the go.
Nice and nutrient rich, protein rich supplements, drinks, things like that.
And Huell is a great new option for you that's going to make you feel your best self.
I promise you I wouldn't lie to you.
Make sure you get on the Huell train today.
It's going to fuel you through just like it's doing for us.
Try it now.
What do we got, C.P?
Yep.
Wags is in Japan.
Wags is on vacation in Japan.
So everybody wish Wags a good vacation.
And I'm going to be reading the, yeah, ancient wisdom.
and I'm going to be reading the Beer League hotline for us.
Okay, are you ready, Dan?
Yes, sir.
I play in a beer league in D.C., and my wife and I are diehard Capitals fans and season ticket holders.
My team made the championship and has a chance to three-peat.
The problem is the championship game is the same day as one of the final Caps home games,
a game in which Ovi has a real chance of breaking the record.
The only reason we have season tickets is to make sure we have a chance to see him break it.
do I stick with the boys or make sure I'm in the barn for the potential record-breaking goal?
Oh, and another wrinkle, that night is our one-year wedding anniversary.
No fucking way, dude.
There's literally no fucking way.
I don't understand how this shit happens, dude.
Why is so much, why do we so often see all of these insane things tied around beer league hockey games?
Like, I swear to God, some of these have to be fake.
Like, just, this was already.
a predicament and now it's even crazier like dude i've got news for you big dog you can't go to your beer league
game regardless either way dude three beat or not yeah like you're either ovi's got a chance to break it and
you're going to that game with your fucking wife or it's your anniversary and you're not going to a
beer league game dude like what are we talking about here dude but maybe that's such a ride or die
that might be the ride or die home girl though if she's like yeah you know we can celebrate our
anniversary tomorrow, right?
Like, because presumably Dan, it's a beer league game.
So it's like a fucking Tuesday or something.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Why don't we celebrate our, why don't we go to dinner for our anniversary on Friday
and go win your championship?
See, then you have, then you have home girl.
So maybe he was like, it's my anniversary.
So it doesn't matter because she's wifey and now I'm playing, but now it's OVey.
And then if you go OVy instead of beer league, yeah, so like, let's take the
anniversary out of it.
Let's take the anniversary out of it because I'm going to assume we have home girl.
Okay. Yeah, we got home girl. I like that. Yeah. Do you have to, I think you have to go watch the
Capitol's game. I actually don't even think this is a hard question. Yeah. Obviously. This is not a hard question. Well, I mean,
the good news is there's elements here because here's the deal. If OV's close, if OV's within two goals,
I would almost even say three. I would almost even say three. If you missed a Hattie record break.
Oh, yeah. If he's within three, we're going to call out. We're going to be lenient here. If he's within three,
you have to go. This is not even a question. If it's over three.
Like if he scores four in a game to break it and you miss it, I'm not mad at you, dude.
And you have this sound bite forever.
I am not mad at you.
You have a free pass.
But if it's within three, you absolutely have to go to that game.
But CP, allow me to add a scumbag ripple to this.
How about this?
I have one too.
Yeah.
If OV is close.
If it's within three, let's say it's two.
God forbid let's say it's one.
Or he's tied already and it's for the win.
You sell those.
tickets for an absurd amount of money, and then you go on a vacation with your wife for your
anniversary, and you watch from a bungalow in Turks and Caicos as Alexander Ovechkin breaks the record.
No, Dan, no Dan.
You sell the tickets, go win your three-peat, then use the money to go on a vacation and
watch the capital's playoff run from your bungalow in Turks and Caicos.
It's a dream scenario.
Now we're talking.
That is a great wrinkle.
Here was, you actually, that wasn't even that scumbaggy.
I, this is a me scumbag question, Rinkle.
How, how good are you, sir?
Because if you're like the goalie, or if you're like the leading score on the team,
this becomes harder because the boys are like, dude, we want to rely on the
to win.
Yeah.
But if you are a plug respectfully, then you go to the capitals game and this isn't a question
at all.
Just go go on talking.
They probably prefer you not to be there.
That's a good point by you.
And I appreciate you bringing that up.
But I think anyone on your beer league team, regardless of whether
not you are the leading goal score or the shutdown goalie they're going they would be like you
cannot come to this game dude you cannot yeah because those are the boys you're right because it's
also in like it's in it's in it's in dc dude like it's like they're all caps fans presumably so like
yeah you you you got to go you got to go okay uh you are that way massive massive massive
thank you to our friends at lebat for another beer league hotline and yes i do want to play some
bet mgm odds so dan please begin writing these down you're going to have to play
without me because I'm doing wax.
Okay, so are you ready to write down what I have to you?
I'm on my lonesome dude?
Yeah, okay, go.
You're alone, dude.
What do you want me to do?
What do you want me to do?
Zoom in Wags from Tokyo?
Come on, this is going to be in all five.
It's going to turn out, it turns out I've been dragging you down this whole time.
This is the five for five we've been waiting for.
All right.
That MGM odds.
Here are your five things.
Write these down.
No cheating.
Got you.
The caps to win the president's trophy.
Okay.
Okay.
The Panthers to win the Atlantic.
Okay.
The Leifes to win the Atlantic.
Okay.
The Hawks to finish with the least amount of points.
Okay.
And a team from the MET to win the East.
Okay.
So your odds.
Out of order.
Plus 210.
Got it.
Plus 170.
Got it.
Plus 135.
go plus 125 plus 100 wow okay all plus plus plus plus plus
that I'm already nervous I'm already nervous all pluses which means
that I don't know what I'm doing and we're going to go right down the line okay so plus 100 means the best odds
So I think the best odds here of all these things.
Met getting to the cup, I feel like they got two good options,
but I don't think that that has the best odds.
I like what the Leafs are doing.
I'm going to Leafs plus 100.
I think Leafs winning the Atlantic is very possible.
I think Capp's President's Trophy is pretty good after that.
We're going to go right down the line here, CP.
Best odds to the worst odds.
I think Caps, President's Trophy, 125.
I like that a lot.
I think cats to win the Atlantic has to be after that.
So we're going to go plus 135.
And then after that, I think it is hawks,
least amount of points because I think the sharky's got them.
So plus 170.
And then we're going to round it out.
We're going to get, I feel like I can see you smirking,
which means I probably have none of these right.
I'm going to say plus 210 least likely is the met to go to the cup.
So down the line.
Leafs Atlantic plus 100.
Caps winning the President's trophy plus 125.
Cats winning the Atlantic 135.
Hawks, least amount of points plus 170.
And a team from the Met to go to the Cup plus 210.
What do I got?
Dan, you got one right.
You're, you're shitting me.
The Lease, the Leifes to win the Atlantic, well snuffed out by you.
The Leif to win the Atlantic plus 100.
I'm marking that correct.
that's all you got. So try again.
God damn. Okay. Hawks to have the least amount of points,
I'm going 210. I'm flopping. I'm flip-flopping that. I'm flip-flopping.
And then let's go cats to win the Atlantic 125.
And let's go 170 on the caps president's trophy.
and let's go met to the cup.
This is maybe stupid 130.
Actually, you know what?
I like that.
It's right in the middle.
So we're going to go.
Katz to win the Atlantic 125.
Met team to the cup 135.
Caps President's Trophy 170.
And Hawks' least amount of points to 10.
Caps President's Trophy 170.
Correct.
That's it.
And what else?
And what else?
What else did I get right?
because surely I got others right.
God.
Okay, so Hawks has to be, I had them at 170 and then 210, so I'm going to go 135.
I'm not ready to go 125 for them, which means that a MET team to the Cup is going to be 170.
Have I done that?
No, Caps President's Trophy, 170 is correct.
Oh, sorry, sorry, sorry.
210?
Is that insane?
No, I already did that.
Oh, my God.
Okay, 125 for a MET team to the Cup,
and then Katz is going to be 170.
170 is the Caps President's trophy.
Why do I?
It's 210.
210, 210, 210, 210.
210, 210, 210.
So, one, I'm melting down, dude.
Yeah, correct.
Met to the Cup,
125 hawks least amount of points 135
cats
Atlantic 210
bingo got them all
that feels pretty good
I was I was spiraling out of control
and I have the 170
tripped me up a few times but we eventually got there
and I feel pretty good about that I feel pretty good
okay now we are going to close it out with a blind ranking
and yet again Dan you get to have all the fun this episode
I will be playing the role of lags
this time we are
blind ranking president's trophy winners from the last 10 years.
Okay.
I mean, this is hard because like, you know,
it has nothing to do.
It has nothing to do with their playoff success.
It has everything to do with that team.
How good was that team?
I love it.
I love it.
I'm ready.
Okay.
First up, you have the 20,
22 Florida Panthers.
58 18 and 6 with her 122 points.
Damn.
Obviously a wagon of a team.
I'm going to say four.
That was an interesting one where like that team was so good and I didn't believe in them for a single second.
And then I was proven right.
There was nothing about that team that I thought was nasty.
And then they got bounced promptly.
So I felt so validated four.
Wow.
Third most points of any.
any president's trophy team in the last decade.
I thought they were Fugazis the whole time and I was proven right.
Okay.
Wow, dude.
Wow.
Wow.
Wow.
Wow.
Wow.
Wow.
Wow.
Let's go with your next one will be the 2017 Washington Capitals, 55, 19, and 8 for 118 points.
Oh.
Damn.
I loved this team.
I'm going to say three.
I thought this team was sick.
Like, as an OV guy, this was the year where I was like, dude, they're nasty.
They're going to do it.
And then obviously they ripped a lot of people's hearts out.
But, I mean, that was back to back president's trophy years, I feel like, for that team, which is crazy, by the way.
But I thought that team was nasty, I believe.
But I think there's some ones in here that I really thought was very good.
So I'm going three, and I feel pretty solid.
Okay.
Okay. Your next one, give me the 2014 Boston Bruins, 54, 19, and 9 for 117 points.
I hate this by you because there's just better teams, but like, I want to sewer someone, and this team doesn't deserve to be sewered.
Like, this team was good. It was after they went to the cup against Chicago, the fact that they can't.
came back, they looked hungry after getting bounced, but then disaster in the playoffs.
But like this team wasn't that good.
They were good, but they weren't that good.
But are they a two?
I think they're better than, oh, man, I don't want you to fuck me here, but I, I don't want you to fuck me here, but I have to go five.
Wow.
Wow, wow, wow.
Okay.
So, there are two absolute.
fucking haymakers left. And I cannot
put, I would rather die and have
someone be two that doesn't deserve to be two than
put one of the teams that I think might pop up as five.
So five. Yep.
Okay.
Your next one.
Yeah. The
2019 Tampa Bay Lightning,
62, 16, and 428 points.
Two. They are my two. This team
is my two. And I feel
pretty confident about that. They were disgusting.
They obviously didn't win the cup this year. They won the
next year and the year after that.
But this team was gross.
It was the beginning.
You could see it.
You could see the beginnings of the dynasty that was being born.
They are my two.
I feel pretty solid.
All right.
Finish me off.
Who is my one?
Okay.
Last one.
The 2024 New York Rangers.
Fuck you, dude.
We're canceling this.
We're absolutely canceling this.
You did this on purpose.
I can tell every time you go, no, no, you're a fucking fraud.
You're a fraud.
You're a fraud.
You know why you're a fraud.
you fucking scumbag.
You know why you're a fraud?
You scumbag.
Because every single one you did before this,
you went like this.
20.
And then you were just thinking.
The whole point of blind rankings
is you pick five
and you started off
and you don't fucking cheat.
You fucking fraud.
Everyone knows.
Everyone knows that you fucking fucked me over here
and you know that was the one.
I was like,
they are the five.
And you fucking changed it around
and you put in different teams
and you fucked me.
You're scumming.
bag. You deserve to be called a scumbag. You cheated. This is the worst ranking of all time. And it's
your fault. You're a fucking cheater. And I want the whole world to know that you sewered me.
You fucking laid me down on train tracks. Do not put up a finger, dude. Everyone heard the pauses.
And I'm going to make sure that when Redmond edits this, he doesn't edit out the pauses because
you fucked me on every single one and you set me up. You're a fucking rat. Dude, you're a rat and
you're a snake. You have no excuse. I'm not even going to let you talk. I'm just going to
close this episode out. That is it for us this week today at the Empty Netters podcast. Crazy stuff
going on in the NHL. CP is an absolute fucking snake rat scumbag and he cannot be trusted.
I hate him. We'll see you on fucking Thursday. Hope you have a great night. Fuck you CP.
And until we see you guys next time, Skate hard.
