Empty Netters Podcast - Atlantic Division Predictions for the 2025-26 NHL Season!
Episode Date: September 23, 2025The Atlantic Division preview is finally here! Trying to predict this division is absolutely insane work. A big surprise is coming and some fan bases don't want to hear it. Can the Leafs survive witho...ut Marner? Can the Bruins bounce back? Will the Red Wings finally make the playoffs? Do not miss a second of this episode... NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Take advantage of everything BetMGM has to offer and be sure to use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. So next time you’re craving something cold, frothy, and packed with unapologetic flavor — crack open a MUG Root Beer. Find MUG Root Beer at your local store or head to https://www.mugrootbeer.com/find-mug to find out how you can get your paws on some MUG and be sure to throw them a follow online, @MUGRootBeer. If you’re 21 or older, grab 25% off your first order plus free shipping with code NETTERS at https://indacloud.co That’s https://indacloud.co code NETTERS—25% off, free shipping, and snacks suddenly taste like an adult-Michelin star meal. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Brought to you by BedmGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
We got producer Baker back on the sticks sitting there looking fresh as lettuce.
And a man who is so certain that the advice that he gives is gold when it is actually pure dog shit.
It's little Chris Powers.
As always.
Oh, dude, just listening up the shoulders, the shoulders and neck.
Gotta get loose.
Gotta get loose.
Because you know what time it is.
It's division motherfucking preview time.
Come all.
Bum bum bum bum bum bum bum bum.
The greatest episode down Earth.
But it's ours now.
We just took it.
We just took it back because we are getting into division preview episode time.
Our favorite episodes of the year.
It's when we're buzzing the most.
When teams are firing, when fans are losing their minds,
we're going to get shit.
Bracken right off the bat.
We're starting with the Atlantic division.
Starting with the Atlantic and we're going across the country.
This isn't any favoritism.
We're just going to Atlantic, met Central Pacific.
I'm going to tell you this.
Our good friend Keith Yandel once said this.
It is true.
It remains true.
The Atlantic should be renamed the Catlantic.
But there was a time, even just last year,
where I felt very strongly that the Atlantic was the strongest division.
Yes.
I don't think I feel that anymore.
Really? I really don't. I still think it's very strong. It's really confusing. It's hard to predict.
Very hard to predict. It might be the hardest to predict. You're right. It's not the strongest anymore, but it might be the hardest to predict. A lot of temperamental bitches in this division. I don't know what to expect. How do we want to do this? You have been our Sherpa through this stuff in the past. And I will remain our Sherpa through this. We're going to go team by team, starting with their finishes from last year, worst to best. And we've got some questions to ask for each one. And Dan and are going to make our predictions. I think when we do.
do our countdown. I'm going to have you say your answer first. I will say my answer a half
second after you so we don't overlap so people can hear. And I give you my vow to never change
my answer just because of what I hear you say. Okay. Ah, this is so hard. Are you ready? I am, sir.
Tough one at the gate, honestly. Really, really tough one. I hate to start with this team. I hate
to start with this division. Okay. I don't even want to get into, if we did our,
if we didn't do this, but if we took our division preview from last season and then went down
to see. Oh yeah. No, we don't talk about that, Dan. I wonder how bad it was. Do you think it was real bad?
We had, we both had the Bruins very competitive. Incredibly. Maybe even first. I can't even be getting
to get to that. Dead last. So, yes, without further ado, the Boston Bruins 2020.
25, 2026 season preview. Last year, they went 33, 39, and 10 for 76 points and finished last
in the Atlantic. This year, Dan, you're going first. They will finish in three, two, one. Seventh.
And I'm going to say this. There's an argument. This might be the one that I think has the most volatility. In a hard division
to predict this one has the most volatility.
I agree.
And what I'm going to do here, what I'm going to say here is going to confuse a lot of people.
It's going to be very strange what I'm going to say.
I think that the Bruins are going to finish seventh.
I think they're going to miss the playoffs.
And I think that they are going to have their hat in the ring for a nice lottery pick.
I think we're going to see nothing but improvement from this team, though.
Okay.
I think that this is weirdly going to be
a very positive season for the Boston Bruins.
Getting the lottery.
I love the lottery, dude.
Win the lottery.
Here's my thing.
We're going to get into this, right?
We're going to roll our sleeves up.
We're going to get dirty.
We're going to get in the muck.
My thing with the Boston Bruins is
you need to figure out what you do.
What is it you say you do?
I am so confused by what's going on
with this team and with this roster.
This is where I think, here's where the volatility comes from for me.
The, I look at last year, goals against in the division.
Bruins, 272 second most behind the savers.
Goals four in the division.
Bruins, 222, last in the division.
Not a lot of goals.
I think that the goals against will be significantly improved.
I agree completely.
So there's a huge.
win. And if you end up getting like pasta goes nuclear and a lot of stuff in the lines
are working next year, this is how I see the Bruins going, we're fucking fifth or something.
And I'm like, oh my God, I was way off. I just don't think, I'm so confident the goals
against number comes down, but improves is what I'm aiming at. I'm not confident the goals
four is solved on this team, which is why I still have them low. Yeah. I think that's exactly right,
Chris. So I'm going to start from the back out. Okay. Jeremy Swayman. Yeah. A lot of you could probably say
you're going to predict what I'm going to say here. You'd be right. I think we're going to see a monster
year from the guy. He's an amazing human being. He's an amazing goaltender. He won gold this summer
in the world championship with a shutout in the golden game. He's engaged. He's got his mind right
in a big way. He just seems like he's been in a fantastic place mentally, physically, emotionally
all summer. He's locked in. He has even said he's made comments. He was like, the Jeremy Swamen you
are seeing right now is a completely different person. With something to prove. With something to prove.
Is that simple? He's got, and listen, he is arguably the sweetest man in the NHL. If you don't
think he also has that dog in him that wants to stuff all of you nerds in a locker who are like,
worst contract in the world, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
He absolutely does.
I think he's going to have a remarkable bounce back year, get some Vesna votes,
might even be a finalist.
Wow.
I think he's going to be fantastic.
Let's move up to defense.
Yep.
I, maybe surprisingly, really like this decor.
I like what I'm looking at.
We're going to get a hopefully, and with all these previews, guys,
we are doing, unless there is a previously stated injury like we'll get to with Matthew
Chuck in Florida.
We are under the assumption that everyone's going to stay healthy for the most part.
We're going to get a full season of Charlie McAvoy.
I think Charlie McAvoy showed a lot of people at Four Nations exactly who he is.
Yeah.
And I think he also has a bit of something to prove here.
Mason Lurie.
I think he's an unbelievable.
I love him, dude.
I think he's an unbelievable talent.
I think he is also like very sneaky.
A lot of people, listen, a lot of people want to say he won the Masters last year.
I think he did win the Masters.
He did. I think he did. He was a dash
43, I think it was.
Not great.
But Mason Lurye
also, young, young player, 24 years old,
6'5, moves like the wind,
played 77 games in his like,
really his first full season. Like, that's fucking impressive.
Also, dude, had 33 points.
Like, quietly 33 points there.
In a year where a lot of these guys were hurt,
he wasn't getting to play with McAvoy the whole season,
which hopefully he will. Now this season, I think he's going to have an awesome year as well.
Now, Hamas Lindhol, you're getting a hopefully full season from Hamas. He was hurt, a ton last year.
I spent some time with him this summer. Looks amazing. Looks fit. He's skating every day. Fired up about that.
We got Andrew Peek with a new number.
Yeah. Curls. That matters. Now we're in 2-6. I love that.
And then I think after a bunch of shit talk early in the season, after signing the new deal,
Nikita Zadora finished last season, in my opinion, looking fantastic.
And if we're looking at the lines, shout out our friends at Daily Face Off,
if we're looking at the lines and we look like we have a third pairing of Nikita Zadora
with Henry Yoki Aryu, who I really love.
I love Yoki Haru's game.
Zadorov on that third pairing is exactly where I think he belongs.
That is the guy that you're like, dude, you are our dog.
You are a shutdown guy.
Go slash somebody.
You're going to be killing penalties.
You're going to be just fucking buzzing around there, causing shit, being a leader.
I really actually think we're going to see a great improvement on the goals against.
And I think this solid decor with healthy McAvoy Hampus is going to be a big deal.
And it's going to make sway play so much better.
Yep.
Try to find me some goals, Dan.
This folks is where things get a little iffy.
Try to find me some goals.
If we're looking at this from, again, daily face-off lines,
The four lines of the Boston Bruins are Morgan Geeky, Elias Lindholm and David Posernak,
Merritt who's Nadinev, Casey Middlestat, and Victor Arvitzin, Tanner, Geno, Pavlzaka, and Matte Blumel,
Mike Yismont, Sean Carolli, and Mark Estelle.
I don't think that forward group is going to get you enough goals to get into the playoffs.
I think you're going to finish seven because of it.
And I just, like, Pavl Zaka, center.
I actually like that they're like, we want to try Zaka at center again.
But putting Zaka on the third line with Jeannot and Blasca.
Lumil, and we've talked about it a million times. Like, where's Fraser Minton in this equation?
And I'm not like, obviously, this isn't the set lines from the Boston Bruins, but like, where's Minton? Where's Lysel?
Where's Merculoff? Like, are we trying these guys or not? Is historically not. And it feels like the answer is not.
I fear, and I'm actually really proud what they did with the geeky contract that looked like it was going to be an outrageous overpay.
But it's an amazing contract. Also, Morgan Geeky's going to do this. I think he's fantastic.
That would be great.
I think he's like a perennial 30 goal goal.
I fear regression.
What would be best case scenario for the Boston Bruins?
To me, honestly,
yeah.
Best case scenario is this team is scrappy as hell.
People stay healthy.
We see a really nice improvement from Elias Lindholm,
who is more than capable of it, fantastic player.
I think it would be really, really great to see a nice,
full season from Casey Middlestat
sliding into an important role
and I think you see a really
good performance from
Victor Arvinson from
Eunice Corpusallo and you
are missing playoffs and at the deadline you
trade RV you trade Corpusallo
maybe you trade I don't want to lose a guy
like Pavilzaka but like
interesting yeah I think this
this is a perfect season
for everyone
stays happy pasta Maccaboy
like have great years but they know that
We're there in a retool here.
There's improvements from important guys who are going to be important for next season and the season after, like Lindholm, like Middlestad, hopefully.
And you still have good trade pieces who are on their last year of their contract.
And at the deadline, you get even more picks.
You get even more prospects.
And you go into next summer and you go, we are fucking taking names next year.
Okay, cool.
Best case scenario, I think for me, actually, that's probably truly best case scenario, but I'm guessing they think best case scenario is you get 30 from geeky.
you get a career high points from Lindholm like 80,
probably a career high from Middle Statt,
and one of those kids you named comes up
and is like a regular second line left wing,
and you're like, holy shit,
and then you make playoffs.
You get in a wild card, and you're like, fuck yeah.
What can go wrong is basically Lindholm and Middlestatt go,
and Zaka, frankly, in that role,
give you very limited production down the middle.
And yet again, you go, Grod, dude, we are getting killed in the center position.
Dude.
Geeky gives you 18 goals and, you know, pasta's on an island and gets frustrated.
And there's tension in the locker room again similar to where there was last year.
And you're fucking dead last by Christmas.
Can I tell you what can go wrong?
Everything.
This team is ripe for a, oh no.
I mean, I'm talking in, oh, no, Marco Sturm's first year.
Maybe there's some growing pains.
God forbid any injuries, but without naming names, there are a few guys who, if they get
injured again this year, you're starting to be like, Jesus Christ, dude, what are we doing
here?
And yeah, if you go, you know, if Lindholm struggles again, if Middlestatt doesn't break out
again, if geeky regresses, if RV is like, dude, I'm bouncing all.
all over the lineup.
And then he's like not even really a trade piece.
You are just like, oh my God, nothing is going well here.
And it turns into a you're going to start dealing with people in the media being like,
well, you obviously have to trade Posternak and McAvoy now.
You have to trade Swamen now, like your three cornerstone pieces.
You're going to have media people being like, this team is a disaster.
You need to blow everything up.
You need to trade those guys and rebuild.
And I'm like, dude, wrong.
That's not what you need.
But you will be dealing with that nonsense.
And it's going to be insufferable.
So there are so many things that can go wrong.
Give me the biggest surprise.
Could be good or bad, but you're going to be like, wow, people won't believe that this happened in this Bruin season.
I think, wow, the biggest surprise, it's not going to surprise anyone when Jeremy Swayman is a fucking stud.
I think we're going to get a really, I think we're going to get a Morgan Geeky season from someone on this team.
Oh, okay.
How last year Morgan Geeky was a 30-plus goal score.
people are like, holy shit, geekies is nasty.
I think we're going to get a, maybe a, who's Nadinev or Middlestatt?
Like, damn, this guy is good.
Yep.
And I'd love it.
I'd love it to be any of them.
But I think Casey Middlestad is a guy that I've long since believed in.
I think he's been looking for a home for a while.
And I thought it was going to happen in Colorado.
and there's just a lot of shifting pieces, moving parts, and middle stats here, it looks like
he's going to have a cool opportunity, maybe get some second line center, some pee-pee time
possibly, and I would just be thrilled for the kid to see a middle stat, like, really
pop off. Give me, and it's insane to think that the Bruins have finished seven with and this
happened, but give me 30 tucks, exactly, by the way, not over. Okay.
Zero tucks for Elias Lindholm. Oh, yeah. I really like that. I feel, like, in my mind,
I'm like, that's not a surprise, but I think it might be a surprise to some people.
Oh, my God.
I mean, that guy is so goddamn good at hockey.
He's so good at hockey.
I know it would fire him up to just pop off this year.
God.
That'd be great.
Okay, B's and seventh.
Next up, we have the Buffalo Sabres.
I'm not prepared for this at all.
I'm telling you, this division is insane.
It's insane.
It's difficult.
The Buffalo Sabers, 2025, 26, NHL season pre-
you last year, they went 36, 39, and 7 for 79 points and finished 7th in the Atlantic.
This year, they will finish. Three, two, one, eight. Eighth. And I've talking, we were just talking
to somebody yesterday who believes that we are very wrong about that and that the Buffalo Sabres are
pretty good and are going to surprise a lot of people. You know, I, I just, I'm such a Buffalo guy.
I really mean that.
Yeah.
I'm a Buffalo guy.
I'm a Buffalo Bills fan now.
I don't know if people know that.
You are.
He is actually.
I'm a Buffalo Bills fan.
I've always loved the Sabres.
You guys know that.
I've always loved the Sabres.
I actually enjoyed some of the moves that they made.
But I do just, I'm afraid of what I'm seeing.
And similar to Boston, maybe even a
bigger way. I look at this D-Corps, and I love it. I love their decor. I think they've got
phenomenal players back here, but I just don't know where we are. I don't know what we're doing
as far as, you know, last year. So Tage Thompson leads the team last year, 72 points and 76 games,
44 goals. Stud. 28 assists. Has a great, you know, goal scoring the year again. And then you had,
And not out of nowhere.
Everyone knew he was this good.
J.J. Pertrka, second on the team, 77 games, 68 points, 27 goals, 41 assists.
Bye.
Bye.
Bye.
Wait.
Wave, dude.
Wave while he takes a plane to the beautiful mountains of Utah.
And look.
Listen, like I said, I like what you got back.
I like, really like Kessel Ring.
I really like Josh Done.
But I am curious what is going on here.
You've got Josh Norris on this team now.
Yeah.
Interesting.
I think Zach Benson's going to get a lot better.
Tucky is obviously still fantastic.
Tage is going to do his thing.
And then, yeah, like McLeod, Donne, Zucker.
These are guys who are going to play a good role.
Jack Quinn, hopefully has a big year.
But the team just scares me from a standpoint of we, this is, we've been doing this over and over and over again.
and goal tending is horrifying for me.
This is the rub for me, Dan.
They had last year, they fin two, there's a year off here, but like 2020, 22, 23, they
finished second most goals in the Atlantic.
Yeah.
But 296 behind the Bs who, who, like, won the, I broke every record.
But then they give up 300 and they're minus, their minus four gold diff with the second most goals.
That season was insane.
Insane.
The next year, they finish much lower in goal, it's second to last in goals in the
Atlantic.
Yeah.
246, but give up 244 plus two goals diff.
Last year, they finished second most goals scored in the Atlantic.
Yeah, 269, only behind Tampa ahead of Toronto.
And there are 108 points, but they give up 289 and are a dash 20 with the second most
goals in the division, obviously having given up the most goals in the division by a fucking
country mile.
And there's names that are intriguing to me when you look at the roster.
You know, Alex Lyon, Yorgett, UPL, Devin Levi.
And I'm like, isn't there a good goalie in there?
Well, well, I mean, first of all, I mean, yeah, it's insane that Levi is still on that team.
I think UPL is good.
Yeah, and I just, but like these guys have been on the team.
Yes, and their goals against is still that.
I'm like, okay.
So you're like, what the fuck is going on here?
Here's the thing.
I love that Bowen Byram is sticking around.
I wonder if there's going to be a vibe there of like Bowens here.
He played 82 games last year, 38 points.
I wonder if it's like, okay, he signed and maybe he's going to take a bit of a jump because he's like, I'm here.
We were talking about him being traded all year last year.
So I wonder if there's like a Bowen Byron is like, nope, dude, like, I'm fucking here.
Let's go.
the idea of him and Dahlene power in Kesselring, Samuelson and Timmons, like, you know, maybe there's something there.
Best case scenario?
The best case scenario is, I think, I don't even know how to say this.
I think Dahlene, who obviously had a terrifying summer with what happened with Carolina and I hope everything is okay there.
But I think him and Tage and Tuck are good leaders.
I really do.
And I think they could take an opportunity here to really take ownership of this team and be like, dude, fuck everything that we've done the last of the years, all the bullshit what everyone says about us.
I don't care about ownership.
I don't care about Kevin Adams.
I don't care about this.
I don't care about that.
let's just battle and maybe become a really annoying team to play against and they could battle for a
wild card spot but I just I do not see this team making playoffs and it kills me that's all I
want that's my best case scenario too Dahlene is a Norris finalist one of these goalies grabs a hold
of the job nice enough that you're like you are giving me competitive goalie play and you miss
playoffs again by, you know, four points, four to six points, but you're in, in April, you're
still in it technically. You know, you're not mathematically eliminated until April. And the city goes,
okay, you know, I've been burned before, but I'm ready to get burned again. And that looked good.
That's best case scenario for me. Yeah, it'd be amazing. What could go wrong, dude? You want to talk
everything, bro. This is a team and a fan base that have watched their ownership pump young,
sick players away. What could go wrong to me, dude, is like they trade away. They're horrible again.
And at the deadline, don't even say it. Don't even say it. They go, someone goes, I could use Tage Thompson.
And they go, here you go. But I'm like, oh, dude, dov do, like I just take bullets. Everyone in Buffalo is like, you got to be fucking my dad right now.
I know. Truly, I think what could go wrong is the, you struggle? You're, you're,
You're in last, second and last place, and you make a monster trick.
Yeah.
We just can't see it.
We can't.
The good people of Buffalo can't have that happen.
They do not deserve it.
And as an adopted member, we just can't see another solid player.
I don't think you get to be a Buffalonian anymore.
I don't know.
You haven't ridden hard enough with them.
That's not true.
When they were a point out of playoffs, you were there.
100%.
I'll give you a lot of credit.
But since then, dude.
But this is my whole thing.
No, dude.
If you stink, I'm not going to waste time.
Okay, then you're not a buffalo.
But I'm still paying attention.
I still watch.
Is that the right word, buffaloonian?
What would you call those people?
A buffalo light.
A buffalo light.
You are not a buffalo light because you run.
I didn't run, though.
When the cereal gets soggy, you go running.
Why am I, is that a saying?
No, I made it up, but that's pretty cool.
Smells like cereal.
Yeah, yeah, when the cereal gets soggy and the city, yeah, that's good.
That's fucking good.
Yeah.
I did, first of all, my cereal's never.
Yes, it is, dude. You fucking threw that cereal away. Have you seen that thing, that cup that's
being sold? No. You pour, it's like a cup within a cup. It's an inception cup. Fuck yeah. And you pour
milk into the inside cup and then cereal into the outside cup. And there's two spout openings.
So you then drink it and as you drink cereal pours into your mouth and a splash of milk
Porz in as well. No. I was actually with you for a while there till it was a drinking operation.
You're telling me you don't think that's incredible? It's genius, Chris. I would like a spoon involved.
Why? You can drink it on the go. You can have cereal on the go in the car.
I can see this. I can see this in a walk. I can see this in opera. There's literally a always sunny episode dedicated to this where Dennis drives around with a bowl of cereal. He gets rear-ended. He spills it everywhere. It ruins the upholstery of his car. That'll never happen with this cup. I'm going to buy you this cup.
I want to see it in action. And you're going to eat cereal.
on this podcast.
I want to see it in action.
Cereal is also awful.
For you.
Yeah.
Taste good.
Taste amazing.
Buffalo.
Dead last.
Nice new news.
Nice season.
We just, hey.
Your last place.
We just can't have things go poorly.
Yep.
Okay.
Okay.
This one is, this one is really difficult.
Okay.
Strap in for this.
and I'm going to go first this time.
You say here's a half second after me.
Okay, I need about five seconds of mental preparation.
And I also want to say, too, that sometimes my heart gets in the way of these things.
And the Bruins, two years ago, I picked the Bruins to not be that good, and then they were great.
And all my friends got so mad at me.
But I was like, you know what, dude, maybe that's what they needed to hear.
So I was trying to do that for them.
and some teams need to be spanked
and then we'll improve
and some teams need a pat on a rub on the back
that's all I'm going to say
are you ready
no come on
come on
I'm not
come on dude
come on dude
it's tough division it's really tough
it's a really tough division
it's really really tough
I believe that I am
ready sir
the Detroit
Red Wings
2025-2020s
NHL season preview
last year
they went 39, 35, and 8
for 86 points and they finished
6th in the Atlantic.
This year, they will finish.
Ready? No.
Yes.
Three, two, one.
Fourth, sixth.
Damn.
Damn.
And I'm dude, I'm, I'm, I'm, I'm, I'm,
I'm banking.
I never know how to do these.
I know.
I've lost my mind.
Because what frustrates me is Detroit fans who I'm also an adopted Detroit fan.
You love everybody, dude.
You're from everywhere.
I love everywhere.
I'm a citizen of the world.
Yep.
I genuinely love the Red Wings.
I always have you know that.
Oh yeah, God.
Red Wings are gas.
Fans are going to go fucking DP, piece of shit, bitch.
You picked a sixth.
I want you to finish first.
Yep.
Dylan Larkin is my favorite human being who's ever lived.
I just, I love this team.
I just think there's, I need more.
Here's what I'm at, Dan.
There's always surprises.
That's my biggest thing with this stuff.
Too often, we get caught with this, but many people, you start doing these and it's just
kind of chalk in a way.
You're moving around the top three teams, top three, four teams.
Like, oh, I think they'll be second instead of third.
But no one ever accounts for something is going to happen.
Right? Like the predators are going to finish. The Bruins are going to finish eight.
Like the things change, dude. And it's like hard. It's quick sand, right? Shit happens.
The Red Wings have been so close, not even that close to the last couple years, but like they just missed. They're in the mix. They're in the hunt. They go through these bad swings. The eyes are playing. What do we do? Do we blow it up? What's going on? This team has the potential. And I have been spewing for so long. Get.
yourself a fucking A-level goalie and see what happens. So I am ready to put my nutsack on the
table that that is what the difference is going to be. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. And they go get
John Gibson. And it was kind of like under the radar. Nobody, like people, the other day,
I think it was Redmond was like, who, where's, where's Gibson? And I was like, Detroit, dude.
Yeah, people aren't talking about it. There were some people who were mad about that. Detroit
people. I know, dude. And I was like, what the fuck?
They might be mad at me right now.
What are we talking about?
This is amazing.
You look at goals against.
They were, one, two, three, a fourth worst.
So right in the middle of the division.
Goals four last year, they were second to last just ahead of the beach.
Not good.
The year before, goals four, they were third just behind Toronto and Tampa.
I am going to live in this world where they have players on that team that can put the buck in the net.
I know they can.
And they're going to get above.
They were getting average goaltending.
As much shit as I wanted to talk, they're going to get above.
I love average goal-tending now.
And it's going to be, dude,
I just think that the middle teams
that we're going to get to,
they are going to start sensing that, oh, shit.
Like, we're not chasing it as bad
as we have been the last couple years.
We're actually in this playoff spot.
Hold them back, hold them back.
And the city's going to get so fucking fired up.
And those boys who haven't been in the playoffs
for a long time, you know of whom I speak of,
are going to get so fired up that it pushes them.
Not only, I have two Atlantic teams making it this year
as, like what happened last year.
Or no.
Yes.
happened last year. I have two Atlantics again. I don't even need the fifth spot for them.
They're going all the way to fourth from me just on fucking vibes alone. I mean, I love this so much.
I would love nothing more. I think, you know, not to tease anything, but I do still think this
six, five, four is Detroit, Ottawa, Montreal. Like, and they're in a, they're in a washing machine.
That is also my, that is also my three. You know, like, I'm kind of like, oh, I don't know.
I would love them to be four.
What's interesting that you just said, their second to last in goals scored.
When you look at last year, Lucas Raymond led the team, 80 points and 82 games, phenomenal season, 27-tucks.
Alex DeBrinquit, 70 points in 82 games, 39 goals.
Dylan Larkin, my hero, 70 points in 82 games, 30 goals.
Patrick Cain, 59 points in 72 games, 21 goals.
And I'm kind of like Raymond DeBrinke, Larkin, Kane, being your...
top four scores. I'm like, that's about exactly what I would have expected to be. And them having
80, 70, 70, 70, and 59 and 72, I'm like, yeah, like, that's good. Yep. The drop off is just
devastating. Yeah. Like, it's next up on that team was Mo Cider with 46 from the, from D. Then Casper
with 37, Bad Vlad, Tarasenko with 33. Also, for those who need to know this, bad Vlad is a
a reference to Horton, here's a who. We're not saying
Vlad is bad. Yeah, he's dope. I love it.
He's dope. J.T. Comp,
32, need that to be way more.
Edvinson, 31,
Bergrand, 24.
Cop, 23,
granted in 56. But it's like
that, their middle
six scoring
needs to be so much
fucking better. And so...
I'm not even looking for more, like, secondary
app. I'm like, we got to get some goals. So much better.
You got to get some goals. And the other thing, dude,
It's almost surprising to say they were fourth in goals against because that top group, right, again, 80 points, 70 points, 70 points, 56 points.
Raymond De Brinket, Larkin, Kaine, respectively were dash 15, dash 13, dash 16, dash 16.
Yeah.
I don't know how that's possible.
Yeah.
Your top four scores was at best a dash 13 on the season.
So it's like you're getting scored on too much.
And you're not scoring anything.
You're not scoring any goals.
As a team.
And Dan, those point totals being the top of your team work.
You look at Vegas' cup years.
Yeah.
Jack's 66 point.
Those work when you are playing incredibly smothering D and don't give up a lot.
Then you can win like that.
If you aren't, and they're playing fine D, but it's not enough unless you're having guys score 100 points a year.
Yeah.
So if they're going to be there, which I think they are, you got to just improve the back end, which I think they've done.
I well okay they've they've done in net in net because their D is like I came around to saying
what I need from Detroit is a goalie yep and a very good defense man so this is when we haven't
asked yet what are moves one question I wanted to ask some of these teams what are moves you
would like to see so why don't you take this opportunity there like what's a move you
would like to see Detroit do to maybe improve on your sixth well what's frustrating is like I don't
even know when I look at Detroit, and I really, I mean, I love this team, obviously.
They have some really good players that I'm a big, big believer in who are coming up.
I think first and foremost is, well, let's talk about Marco Casper.
Okay.
Probably going to be second line center and is very, very good, I think.
but like he had a high 30 points last year.
So that's a guy where I'm like,
you need to have 65 to 70 points next year.
But like that's a huge jump, right?
Yeah, yeah.
Oh yeah, that's fucking easy.
Like that is, that is a big, big deal.
When I think about a trade, dude,
I don't know what I'm willing to give up because I need,
we've talked about Rasmus Anderson being on the outs in Calgary.
And I'm like, man,
he'd be great on this team. Go get him. He'd be great on this team. And it's just like, he's also a guy that
kind of makes sense to me on this team too. So, fuck, man, that is the number one move that I would do,
is go and get a defenseman. And what goes wrong? What could go wrong to land them sixth,
or even worse? Honestly, more of the same. Yeah. I don't think anything, again, let's just,
let's make a pact to not even bring up injuries here. Yeah. What goes wrong is,
they are leaky on D and their middle six can't score.
And Gibson doesn't translate.
Yeah, I, yeah, yeah.
I really don't think that that's possible, frankly.
Like, I think Gibson is going to be an improvement from what they've seen.
I really believe that passionately.
For me, best case scenario is Patrick Kane.
It's a whiff of some Italian food, a trip to Milan.
He wants so badly to get one more shot that he is on.
on a torrid pace to start the year.
Same with Dylan Larkin.
Fourth Line at Four Nations.
I'll show you fourth line, you fucking fat pig.
Watch my start, dude.
He starts firing.
Gibson, shutout, three shutouts in October.
And I go, oh, my fucking God.
And now, dude, now we're cooking.
And that's what I mean, dude.
And then Stevie Y goes like this.
Oh, wait.
You know how I never give you anybody at the deadline?
You know how we're always right there
and I never do anything?
And everyone goes, what the fuck are you doing?
He goes, I'll break the fucking piggy bank.
He takes the piggy bank that has Stevie Y painted on it from when he was five.
He smashes it with a fucking hammer.
He takes Dylan's Larkin sticks, smashes it open, spends every penny on a fucking depth scoring and a shutdown defenseman.
And now we're a four seed, and now we're making waves in the playoffs.
I mean, that would be fucking fantastic.
That is best case scenario, Dan.
Right now, their D looks like charot, cider, Albert Johansson, who I really like Bernard
Docker, Eric Gustafson, Justin Hall.
I would love Sandine Pelica to make it onto this team.
Yep.
First round draft pick in 2023 and is a phenomenal player.
And I'm like, play on this team immediately, dude.
That would be amazing.
That's a guy that I don't think they can trade when you're talking about breaking the peggy bank and shipping off assets.
But if that guy gets in there, all of a sudden they're doing a little bit better.
Give me a, give me the biggest surprise, good or bad.
The thing that's going to shock you.
You're a Red Wings fan.
You go, you would never have seen this coming.
Um, Marco Casper.
How many points?
60 plus.
60 plus from Casper.
That's the biggest surprise of the season.
Yeah.
I actually don't hate that at all.
Razor, I don't know if you can get that high.
Hmm.
Maybe my biggest surprise, I believed in Kane so hard last year.
I made a bet that he would go over 30 and just didn't happen.
Actually, dude, I'm doing that because I just think the Olympics is in his head, Dan.
Patrick Kane.
what would be too crazy, dude?
How many goals could he score?
That's too insane.
I think he could score...
I think 40...
He's too much, but he could score 35 goals.
Yeah, oh yeah.
Patrick Kane, 35 goals this year.
Yeah.
I like a Casper 30-plus goal season
and 60 plus points.
Hell yeah.
But you got them out.
I don't want him out.
You don't want them out.
You just got them out.
Maybe I'm picking with my heart.
Maybe I'm doing the reverse jinks here.
That's what I was doing with the piece.
Okay.
Ren there you hear the next one?
Yes.
The...
Montreal Canadiens
2025-20206
NHL season preview
last year, the Habs
went 40, went a very
exciting, 40, 31 and 11
for 91 points, finished
fifth in the Atlantic and made the goddamn
playoffs.
This year, do you want to go first or second?
I will go
second. This year, they
will finish. Three, two,
one, sixth. You went
first. You went the same time.
This one, so let me start.
I keep forgetting how this rotation.
And I'm going to start with what can go wrong
because I know that a sixth projection
has already sent Havs fans into the fucking stratosphere,
trying to fucking claw through the radio,
claw through the YouTube screen to rip my fucking head off.
I don't want this for them.
And as a Bruins fan growing up,
you'd think I'm just like,
I hope the Habs die all the time.
Incorrect.
Sure.
I had a fucking blast watching that team last year.
I thought it was so much fun.
I want hockey to be good.
The NHL's better when the Montreal Canadians have a good team.
Sure.
As I told you, there's always huge fucking surprises.
Always.
Things that you're like, what the fuck?
And I forget who we said this about, but the HABs, I could see, smell a little bit like the 2324.
Yes, the 2324 devils.
Mm-hmm.
where you're young and you had a great season.
Then they beat the Rangers in that seven game series.
And then everyone crowned them.
They crowned them right away.
And then you get a little drunk, a little high on your own supply.
And teams are more ready for you.
There's more tape on you, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.
People are crowning this Habs team.
For a good reason, they're fun as fuck.
They have the defending rookie of the year.
They have a potential rookie of the year favorite.
They got a great coach.
They got a great culture.
but I'm hearing like Eastern Conference Finals shit from a lot of people.
Oh yeah. They're getting real happy. They're like this. They're the best team in these.
And I'm like this. Listen to me, dude. Listen to me loud and clear.
Lane Hudson is a fucking stud. But you know, you're more prepared. And you can't prepare for a Kalmaqar.
Like maybe he's just that good. But like you're a little bit more prepared.
Demidoff is, I think, awesome. Have you seen him in practice?
It's fucking crazy.
I know, dude.
Have you seen his preseason?
Holy shit.
I don't give a hell.
There's, there's, what is, what was that?
I don't give a heck.
I don't give a heck.
I don't give a darn.
There's, I don't give a fuck.
There's some concerns, and I'm not even saying this because, and JD, I took this take from JD, but I thought it was a good take.
Projecting on a line with Patrick Linae, you know, and it's like, how does that development go playing with a guy like that?
I hope it goes great because the Aminoff looks like a future stud.
but there's question marks on the HAB's team
and it's more a testament to, I don't think they're bad,
but it's just more a testament to maybe they think
that this is going to be easier than it is
and when you've got, when you're in a fucking washing machine,
when you're in a blender on Pulse with the senators and the wings,
that's not that simple, dude.
This isn't a simple equation.
Yeah.
And someone's got to finish six.
Someone's got to finish six then.
I promise you at the end of this year,
we will look at the standings and there'll be a sixth,
and next to that, they'll be a team.
Dude.
I guarantee it.
Yeah.
So let's look at their, this team is very young.
Mm-hmm.
Very young, very exciting.
Right off the bat, I know some people love Monty.
I don't think Monta Bo is a guarantee, is a slam dunk.
He's going to have a great season.
Me too, dude.
I really don't.
And they have great, great goalies in the pipeline.
But I'm not sure that those are goleys that are ready to play
50 games. So like, Montaubo's your guy. If he struggles, that is terrifying. I don't even want to
talk about D just yet. But again, I cannot stress enough. This team is so young.
Now, with that comes a lot of possibility, a lot of potential to be great. Let's talk about
their top six. Cole Cawfield, Nick Suzuki, Yerai Slavkovsky.
Patrick Line, Kirby, Doc, Ivan Demmel.
Gas.
In my opinion, there is one player in that top six that based on their body of work is a sure thing.
And that's Nick Suzuki.
And I think that is why, when you ask the question, where could things go wrong?
What could go wrong?
Yeah.
And again, that's harsh on Cole Calfield.
I tweeted literally every time Cole Cofield scored a goal last season.
literally every single time. He got 30 finally, right? He got 37. Yeah. God, he could have had it.
I believe Cole Cofield is going to get 40 this year. I believe he is going to be a great player.
However, the issue is, Christopher, he needs to do that. I know.
37, 33 for 70 is the type of season that Cole Cawfield has to have. That's not a, dude, that was sick that Cole did that.
It's actually, no, we need Cole to do that. And frankly, I think when they drafted him,
as Cole Coughfield has come up on this team, when Habs fans look at what they need the Habs to be,
they're like, Cole Cofield needs to be an 80-point guy.
So he's like, oh yeah, buddy.
He's still trending up towards what they need him to be.
So this is the first time he had that good of a season, that he was this close to 40,
and he didn't even quite get there.
I think he's going to get there.
But my point is they need him to do it, and we haven't seen him.
And a lot of this is because these guys are so young.
But we haven't seen him go like he consistently gets better and better and better.
every single year on this exact clip.
Now, I think we're going to see this past season and this season show that that is the
case, but we haven't seen it yet.
Let's go to Yeroslavkovsky.
First overall pick.
Last season, 18 goals, 33 assists, 51 points.
Pretty good.
They probably want better.
18 goals from Slav, like, you need 30 goals from Slav.
So that's another one where I'm like, he needs to keep getting way better.
Patrick Lining showed up.
Looks like he was going to score fucking 50 goals in 10 games.
But then, Linae has another typical Linae season in his short time, and he, what, had 20 goals, 13 assists.
Like, that's another one where I'm like, I'd like that a little more evened out Lys.
And it's so much of it is power play.
I know.
And then what happened to him in the playoffs?
Kirby Doc, so many injuries.
So what are we getting there?
Ivan Demadov.
You look sick in practice, dude.
Are you going to be, like, you're a second-line player, probably going to be.
playing power play. That's that you need 60 to 6, 65 points from that guy. So there is, there is just
so much with this team that's like, holy shit, yeah, they are trending in the right direction,
but can they keep trending in the right direction? I love the Zach Bulldoch. Yep. Ad. And dude,
like, I can't believe that one, frankly. Like, I was shocked that St. Louis let him go. I think he's a
great player and I think he's a perfect third line player, maybe even get some second line time with this
team. But if you look at the stats from last year with guys like Newhook, with guys like Owen Beck,
he's played like 10 games in his career, high second round pick, could be a fantastic player.
Josh Anderson, Jake Evans, Brendan Gallagher, I think is such a good fourth line.
Yeah. Like that is just like, and it's such a good Montreal Canadiens fourth line.
But like I do think this middle six, not just keep talking about the middle six, but like
Boldock, New Hook and Owen Beck, if that's going to be your third line,
there's a ton of question marks there.
So, dude, here's, here's, to flip it, here's, to throw Habs fans of bone, by the way,
here's best case scenario, dead ass, Cole gets 40.
Kirby Doc, remember he had that like 38 point season, got her and was pretty good last year,
but like, Kurti Doc, you know, an extra year recovered is buzzing.
Demetoff wins rookie of the year and is the man.
And Noah Dobson and Lane Hudson are a two-headed fucking savage.
monster of the offensive play from the blue line, power play is fucking diabolical.
Montaubo goes, I'm on Team Canada, not starting, but I'm a Team Canada goalie.
And literally, you finish in the two seat.
Like for me, no joke, I just picked them to miss playoffs in sixth because of I think
what could go wrong, that's my prediction.
It will.
But what could go right, best case scenario, all the people I said at the top that are going
Eastern Conference finals, I'm like, you're right.
That actually is best case scenario for this team where I think.
think they are that good. So it's a big swing, obviously. And they just, again, the potential and
possibility of this team is out of control. And the future is so bright. Caden on the back end,
he's a first round pick, like entering his third or fourth year in the league. But I do wonder,
with this team, Montembo, we're talking about, like, I think Montembow's a good goal.
Yep. I don't think he has shown us yet that he's like, oh, you're fucking good, good. And then
you look at the D and, yeah, Dobson gets added to this team. Amazing. But Matheson, Dobson,
and Lane Hudson are all incredibly offensive defensive.
Yes.
So you are then in like how many goals are we given up, guys?
And yeah, I mean, listen, I wouldn't dare say a bad word about Lane Hudson because I know
the backlash that will come.
I think he's a phenomenal player.
Let's see.
Lane Hudson is going to keep being phenomenal.
Yeah, yeah.
But now teams have tape on him.
That is a big thing in the National Hockey League guys.
I need fans to understand that.
Now there's tape on him.
Let's see how teams play against him.
That sophomore, not slump, but like step back.
Happens all the time.
Especially with the rookies of the years.
Also, like, look at playoffs last year.
Like, dash five in five games.
Like, he had a hard time in the playoffs.
Playoffs hard.
Give me the biggest surprise.
I'll go first.
Mine's negative because obviously I predicted them six.
And I think some really cool things are going to happen on this team.
And I got so many eyes on Kirby Doc.
But for me, biggest surprise, I think for Habs fans,
you're going to look back and go, God, how the fuck
did Noah Dobson only have 30 points again or whatever.
And I think I love the pickup for long term.
I genuinely do.
I think he's a great player and I think it is going to work.
But you're looking at his 70 point season going,
that's who we got.
He had 39 and 71 last year.
And it was like, oh, the Islanders are using him wrong or whatever.
I just think, and the Daily Face will have him online one right now,
but he's going to be off the power play.
They're going to put lane on the power play.
Yeah, definitely.
So he's losing 23 power play assists from last year because you're getting the last 30 seconds.
and I think they're going to go, fuck, dude, Noah Dobson at 30 fucking 8 points.
I thought it was going to be 70.
Yeah.
I hope it doesn't happen, but that's my biggest surprise prediction.
My biggest surprise is going to be Zach Baldock.
I think he's going to have a phenomenal year.
Yeah.
I think he's going to be a utility guy playing all over that.
How many points you need for that to count?
57.
Ooh, that would love that.
They would love that.
Yeah. Bullduck, 57.
Very good pair.
Yeah.
And then what could go wrong?
for me, Patrick Linae and Kirby Doc.
Yeah.
I'm like, I'm specifically circling them because I do think you are, you are leaning pretty heavily on if Kirby is healthy and can play and is your two C, you feel fucking great.
Yeah.
And if that doesn't work out and if Patrick Linae runs into his issues that he's had in the past as far as just lack of productivity, lack of comfortability, now you're like, oh, fuck me.
that's a huge chunk out of our second line.
Yep.
So I want to talk to you guys about our unreal partnership with BetMGM because hockey is right
around the corner.
Preseason is started.
The season is coming October 7th.
And if you're not excited to bet about hockey, then check your pulse, my friend, because you
might be dead.
I am so fired up to get back in the action.
And even before that, they've got so much cooking.
It's unbelievable.
We've got baseball bets.
We've got football bets.
Rider Cups coming up.
You kidding me.
I'm so juiced for the Ryder Cup.
My God.
baseball winding down it's still time for you to get on my favorite bet mGM promotion they had going
it's the big fly friday you bet on someone hit a dinger on friday and if they hit the longest dinger of the
night that you get your share of 50 gs in bonus bets so what you do is you download the bet mgm app
use promo code netters that's n e t t er s when you sign up when you do that you get all the odds boosts
all the tokens all the fun stuff plus when your first bet if your first bet loses you can get up to
1500 in bonus bets just by using our promo code so don't miss out on that
I'm trying to help.
I'm trying to help a friend out.
Go check it out on the BetMGM app right now.
Gambling problem?
Call 100, 800 Gambler.
Call 8778 Hope NY or Tex Hope NY for New York.
Call 100327-50-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 100 Next Step for Arizona.
1-800-Bets off for Iowa.
1-800-10-200-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withrollable
in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
See bedmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New
New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Next up is the Ottawa Senators' 2025-26 NHL season preview.
Last year, the SENS went 45-37 for 97 points, finished fourth in the Atlantic,
and long overdue made the playoffs and gave them Leafs a pretty good series.
This year, they will finish.
You go first?
So does that mean I speak first or after you?
Because I'm having a hard time.
I say you go first.
It means second.
This year they will finish.
Three, two, one, four, fifth.
I think it's a solid fourth, too.
And I, this is the one,
I just made two of the most rogue picks of all time.
This team, I think, is better than both of them.
Like, I actually, I'm most scared about this pick
because I think if anyone was going to make a jump,
and you know what I mean, jump into that top three,
getting out of the wild card,
I do think it was going to be this team.
I actually fucking love this team.
Yeah, listen, I was unsure of this team last year, and I think they really impressed me last year.
And I actually, how about this?
I think they had a lot of guys that I was like, you should have done better.
And they still impressed me.
Yeah, yeah.
That's a fair fucking point, Dan.
That is why I look at this team.
I think that there are some people that I'll get into that took jumps last year.
I think put a lot of people in the league.
non-Odtawa fans on notice of like, fuck, that guy's really good.
But I think there are plenty of dudes on this team who I was like, you didn't have as good
a fucking year as you could have should have.
Who? Name them.
We'll get into it.
Name fucking names, dude.
But first of all, I want to talk.
We talked about that four, five, six bunch of teams.
Yep.
This team, in my opinion, has the best goalie and decor of the three.
Yeah.
Dude, I would almost argue.
And four.
Like, that's why I'm like, this team is nasty.
Like, his team is actually really good.
I think Linus O'Mark absolutely donkey punched so many people last year of like people were like,
tough start too.
Yeah.
Is he going to be good outside the tandem, this and that?
He finished the year so goddamn well.
And the D, I mean, Sandy and Zube, Chabby and Jensen, who is hopefully, I think Jensen's like got a knock right now, but hopefully he's fine.
And then Clevin with Spenny.
Jordan Spence on this team
fires me up
I'm so excited
wearing number 10
looking like messy on ice
unbelievable
um
that D
I'll get back into D in a second
yep
but
last year
you have
Tim Stutzla
leading the team
with 79 points
and 82 games
he
for me
yeah you're right
is a
this is him
Like, he has done it enough now where everyone's like, this fucking kid is so good.
Cry all you want about him, about diving, about this, about that.
I don't give a shit.
He's German, dude, okay?
He grew up watching footy.
He'll dive all he wants.
This guy's going to get you 80 points every year.
Yeah.
I think that that has become just, like, accepted.
The Bathman is, dude, gross.
82 games, 68 points, 26 goals.
unbelievable.
The way he works with Stutzla,
unbelievable. His size,
the way his slipperiness,
the way he sees the ice,
passes the puck,
moves around out there
is unbelievable.
And then,
shockingly, maybe,
third on this team in points
with 57 points
in 80 games
is Jake Sanderson,
who, if I may,
this kid is,
there's kale,
And there's Quinn and then there's everyone else.
Jake Sanderson is in the everyone else category now.
But near the top.
But what I'm saying is when we're talking about Norris, finalists, who's going to be the finalist?
That third spot is going to be Werenski.
It's going to be guys like Dahlene, Heiskenen.
He's in this group.
Yes.
This fucking kid is unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
Remember when he signed his deal and people were like, the senators just gave Jake Sanderson
the 8 by 8.5 deal or whatever it is.
And now people are going,
oh, fuck.
Holy shit, of course.
This kid is so fucking good.
You had them fourth?
As in the team, the senators.
I have them four.
Fourth.
My point being,
give me best case scenario as you're going through this.
Like, you're giving me all the studs.
So how do they get to fourth?
They get to, I mean, dude, in my opinion,
they get to fourth by doing exactly what they did last year.
So yeah, fourth is mid-case scenario.
They're doing exactly what they did last year.
And now you have this team where you now have Fabian Zetterland on this team.
You have Dylan Cousins in a nice, comfortable, you are now on this team.
You've added Jordan Spence, who, Ottawa fans, let me tell you what.
Congratulations.
The way that Jordan Spence was misused on the Kings last year is a crime.
He's a phenomenal hockey player.
It is going to be fantastic for your team.
I think that.
team finished fourth last year.
Yeah, they did. Yeah.
To finish fourth this year, I'm like, do what you did.
And, dude, what I mentioned earlier, guys, friends of the program, guys that we love, so
not afraid to say this to him, Brady Kachuk, got to have a better season.
Yep.
Shane Pinto, got to have a better season.
And I say that with all the confidence in the world going, I know they're going to
have better seasons.
Brady Kachuk shows the leader that he is, and he does it all, man.
Like that's what's like, frankly, Brady's a guy that I'm like, I don't need a ton of points from Brady Kachuk because he is a fucking animal.
He got some heart votes.
He does it all.
Yeah, he sure did.
And he'll get him again.
But Brady is the first one who will tell you a 55 point season in 72 games.
He's like, I got to be way better than that.
What's his career high?
And I don't know.
Look that up.
I'm going to.
And, uh...
Yeah, 83 and 82 a couple years ago.
Yeah.
And then 74 and 81.
That's what I'm saying.
Like Brady knows.
Like, he's like, I'm going to be way better than that.
Yeah, with by the way, only 70.
two games obviously, but with 30, 35, and 37
goals the last three years coming into this year.
Like he had 29 goals last year.
In 72. Again, only played 72, but still.
He's so young.
Brady Kachuk is a, like, I think it isn't a far cry at all
to assume he'll have 15 more points at least.
Like, I need 75 points from Brady Kachuk,
and he's going to give that to me.
Shane Pinto turned it on towards the end of last year.
Ended up with 21 goals, very impressively.
But, like, Shane, he's a Selky type of guy.
He knows too.
He's like, oh, I can be way better than that.
So I just think that, like, they had guys, key guys who, frankly, underperformed per what their standards are and should be.
And they still finished fourth.
So I'm like, fourth is, like, this team has no reason to believe that they can't fucking try to punch through to the top three.
What's best case scenario?
Where they finish?
Just, yeah, with the team.
All this goes right and here's where they finish.
I think best case scenario is third.
Like they, again, I think fourth, but like, I think they are, this team is going into the season and they're like, we, not only are we a playoff team, we're like a second rounder bust team is what I think. The Ottawa senators should and need to have in their head. They're going to be devastated if they miss the playoffs. I have them fifth and in. Like I said, I'm taking two Atlantic teams. I have them fifth and in. This pick rattles me because I think they're the best team of these guys and they could make the jump. What could go wrong for me? And even fifth is something going wrong.
would argue. I think fifth is something going wrong for the senators. What goes wrong for me is very
simple. Everyone you said doesn't really do doesn't take that jump. They kind of have a similar
season where they're like, yeah, this is what works. Like we're all comfortable in our roles here.
Giroux maybe like slows down a little bit because he's older. Getting older. And you get a step back from
Allmark. I don't think, I'm not saying like he's going to be bad. I think he's a great goalie. But if you
What goes wrong is you're like, fuck, O-Mark.
O'Mark slipped a little bit, and we're not scoring enough.
Because, dude, they finished, I think, let's see, Goals 4.
Yeah, it was B's last wings, then Ottawa for goals four in the Atlantic last year.
A lot of that's what you just brought up with these guys that I'm like, I need more from Brady, from Shane, et cetera.
If you don't get more there and O'Mark dips, then you're now fighting for a playoff spot until the last game of the fucking season.
which is what they will be doing if my prediction is right
and have them fifth.
Because if you're the second
Atlantic wildcard spot,
it's going to be tight down the fucking stretch.
Tight as a tiga, my friend.
Toit.
So, tooit.
That is what codes could go wrong.
Give me the biggest surprise
that you could see happening
with the Ottawa senators.
Biggest surprise.
They go no fucking way that happened.
That's awesome.
Or that sucks.
Yeah.
Biggest surprise is,
is give me a
oh
give me Brady Cchuk 40 goals
oh I like that a lot
I like that a lot I'm between a Giroux
because to be completely frank
here's Jaroos run with Ottawa
82 games 79 points
insane amazing as a 35 year old
35 tucks 36 year old 82 games
64 points
as a 37 year old
81 games
50 points
like we've been dropping
10 points a season
15 points a season
so if my fear
is that he's a 35 point guy next year
and you're like oh my God
yeah but I'm torn between a
Zeru
70 burger
and you're like
or
Was he 38
he'll be 38
yeah
or a Sanderson
third in Norris
Norris finalist
wouldn't hey
one of those two
Big surprise for the sense.
That wouldn't surprise me at all.
Wouldn't surprise you.
Okay, next team, you ready?
Yeah, I just really quick.
What's all electric about them?
Stutzla, Pinto, and Cousins down the middle could be so.
I know.
You could have 60 plus points in all three center positions in the top three lines.
Should be.
Should be.
Come on. Shane.
God, I love Shane.
Next one.
The Florida Panthers, the defending back-to-back Stanley Cup champion, Florida Panthers,
2025, 26, NHL season preview.
last year they went 47
31 and 4 for 98 points
they finished third in the Atlantic they made the playoffs
they lifted Lord Stanley
give me their record again
47 31 and 4
and they finished third with 98 points
hmm
I'm ready this year I'll go first
this year they will finish
three two one second
second
and it's funny to me that you said second
because going into this preview, I expected to have them third again.
Because you say this about this is like the Golden State Warriors, Steph Curry teams,
you said this about the Oilers last year, and frankly the Panthers last year.
They don't care.
They don't care at all about the regular season.
They literally have to get in the playoffs.
They could be the last wildcard team in and they would be the threat to win the Stanley Cup.
They'd be the favorite to win the Stanley Cup.
They are completely fine to coast and get in.
They're going to make sure they're healthy.
And since you said this is allowed because it's already a thing,
Matthew Kuchuk is going to miss a lot of the season.
Yep.
And not that we even want to make this about predicting injuries,
but they have guys that could miss time.
If Brad Marchand misses some time in the regular season,
I wouldn't be that shocked.
If Bob needs a breather, I wouldn't be that shocked.
I actually have them second still, even with all that,
because of something I'm going to say later,
and because they are,
too good. Like this team
that they've constructed and
have built and grown into each
other could
sleep through the season
and be accidentally second.
It's actually insane. That's why
I had them this high. I, listen, we
just saw them finish third and then
go on and win a back-to-back Stanley Cup.
I
it sounds, you know, I
was struggling between second and third.
Because the Chuckian
injury definitely it's just a lot of hockey it's a lot of hockey three Stanley Cups in a row it's so
much hockey you do have some older guys she don't even really have that many older guys but like
marshy definitely Eki has so much hockey on his legs bob has a lot of hockey on his legs um you heard
marshan the other day say he he was like someone was talking about his they were like you signed
six years of this team there's no way you're going to be playing he was like dude I will play
until they literally throw yeah yeah yeah um
And I think you look at Marci's points last year.
Like he's fantastic.
Like he can absolutely.
You look how fucking insanely valuable he was in the playoffs.
Like Marci is fine.
It's fucking insane.
Insane.
And then I also think that there are guys that, you know, people sleep on it.
I'm not saying he's going to be a first liner, but like Samaskiewicz is a great player.
Yes.
And he.
Remember how bum they were when it sounded like they were going to lose him?
Yeah.
You know, they're like, no, dude.
Yeah.
And it's, you know, it's like quietly, 31 points and 72 games for a guy like Sammo is like,
Like, that's so, that's another reason why this team is so good.
To me, I think they finish second or third because they know it doesn't matter.
And I hate when the past one I've said they don't care.
Because it's like we're clearly joking.
They obviously care.
Yeah.
But no one in the NHL knows better than them what it takes.
No one.
So they have now proof that they don't need to.
to be first. They don't need to be second.
They'll get into the playoffs, how they get into the playoffs, and then they'll take care of
business. That is what this group does. They know how to manage injuries. They know how to manage
workload. So I just don't think there's anything about this team that's been to three Stanley
Cups in a row that is like, we've got to go wire to wire here. We'll win every single game.
So I think it's exactly where they're going to be. Dude, best case scenario is they have the most
productive third line in the league by a mile. Brad Marchand,
is the Brad Marchion you know from the Bruins and, like, is insane.
Sam Bennett turns into playoff Sam Bennett during the regular season and gives you moronic production.
Bob goes, I feel like winning another Vezna and does.
Oh, can you imagine?
And they win the president's trophy running away, running away.
Yeah.
And then they become the first team to win the president, to win the cop after winning the president's trophy since fucking, God, no, since the Blackhawks or something.
That's best case scenario.
Yeah.
And it's, it's right.
It's like you get a sort of like resurgence a bit Verhege season.
Yeah, Bennett runs away.
Reinhardt continues to be like a heart and Selke type guy.
Erod sliding in for Kachuk.
It just like pops off.
It doesn't miss a beat.
Yeah.
And then the nightmare for the NHL is Matthew Kachuk comes back around Christmas
and he's healthy for the first time in three years.
And he's like a 100 point guy again.
And now you're like, oh my God, they're just going to win three.
in a row, aren't they? Okay, what could go wrong?
This is a lame answer
because I said, let's not talk about this.
Truly, the only thing that can go wrong
for this team is injuries because of
Miles on the tires. And I would say
specifically a Bob one for me. Yeah, I mean,
obviously, if Bob gets hurt and it's like,
I'm done, that is something
that this team can't overcome, I don't think.
I mean, fucking eat my words
for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, baby. Put it
on a spoon and stuff it down my throat holding my nose.
But I don't think, I mean, Teresov's good.
But I think if Bob goes down, that's bad.
Yep, I think that could go wrong.
And otherwise, dude, the only other thing,
the only thing that could go wrong is local dairy queens go out of business.
And it ruins, and it ruins team culture in a way that they could never expect it.
Barshe can't get a blizzard, can't get a burger at Dairy Queen.
And someone poisons the food at Dairy Queen.
into the locker room and then they're in trouble.
No. And Maurice
has to spank him on live TV and
then he gets fired for
abusing a player and then they're like this. Okay.
Again, I mean, it's
That's it. It rattles people's brains
like a pinball machine when we say that
Alexander Barkov is only 30. Oh.
And this team is just so good.
Give me your surprise.
My surprise is going to be Samiskevich.
Okay.
I think Sam Askevich is going to, I think he's just going to be, I think he's going to get a little bit of Sam Bennett in him in that, you know, I think a lot of people kind of looked at him as like a fourth line guy, and all of a sudden I think he's going to be very productive.
And people are going to be like, what the fuck this dude too?
Yeah, like we can't afford this.
Yeah.
I wanted to go Benny, because I really do think it's interesting that he just does this thing where he's like, I have 50 points.
But then in the playoffs, I'm the man.
And I'm like, you could do that maybe.
Maybe that's habit.
So I kind of want to do that.
But to your point, maybe that wouldn't even be a surprise.
I'm going surprise for Panthers fans Verhege.
You go back two years, Dan.
He went 55 and – or three years, 55 and 78, 73 and 81, 72 and 76.
And you kind of start to feel like what you just said about Stutzla.
This is him.
This is him, right?
Yeah.
This past year, 20 and 33 for 53 and 81.
That and a dash 14.
By the way, first time since his rookie year when he played nine fucking –
or 52 games.
I expect this season to be legitimately like back over 40 tucks for him.
And people are like, holy hell, dude.
For Hagee, we were wondering if he was like a high 60s, low 70s guy.
And he's like, I have 88 points and 40 goals, you fucking clowns.
You absolute rat pit.
Okay, next one, Dan.
The Tampa Bay Lightning 2025-26 NHL season preview last year.
They went 47.
27 and 8 for 102 points.
They finished second in the Atlantic and they made the playoffs.
This year, they will finish.
You can go first.
In three, two, one.
First.
Wow.
Dude, and I, this is a late one that I swung because I almost put the Panthers and their
inevitability in one.
And the lightning kind of surprised me last year, dude.
Like, I was shocked.
Stammer gone.
They don't give a fuck.
They don't give a rat.
and they just finished 102 points in seconds,
same amount of wins as the Panthers,
that it just taught me about
what they have built there
is just incredible.
With the coach they have,
with maybe a chip on his shoulder this year
after their playoff loss,
I said last year I'll say it again,
Jake Gensel, Braden Point, and Nikita Kutrov
has got to be the best first line in the league.
It's so good.
That is putrid.
That is dirty work, my friend.
And then with, I remember, dude,
I don't know what their projections were to start last season,
but I remember saying like a fucking, where's my red nose again?
I remember looking at that first line,
announcing it's the best first line in the league,
and then saying, but there's a pretty big drop off.
And then I look at fucking Hags and Sorrelli on the second line.
I'm like, they should be first line players, dude.
Like, what who thought there was a fucking drop off, dude?
And Sorrelli, a great example, 59 points, 80 games last year.
Like, everyone's like, wait, what the fuck?
And also, just like, God, spit in my mouth, Anthony.
Yeah.
Plus 30.
Oh, you know how much I love that.
Jesus Christ, dude.
You know how much.
Let's talk about our other boy on that team.
Higgs, plus 33.
Oh.
Fucking, Brandon Hagle, dude.
Are you fucking kidding me?
Is that a joke?
90 points, 35 tucks plus 33.
There's a drop off.
Look at me.
Look at me.
second line. You're Pinocchio.
Jesus Christ, you're an idiot.
I do think this team,
disappointing in playoffs last year,
listen, you lost to the champs.
Yep. Ain't nothing wrong with that.
I think this team has something to prove this year,
weirdly enough. Yep. I do think that they're like,
bro, we're the bolts. Like, we went to three straight cups like six years ago.
Yeah, yeah. It's not even, bro. Yeah.
Stop acting like we're just like, not.
a contender anymore. And it's like, I don't know if you saw the, let's, I'm pretty sure they're
pretty high, but ESPN bet released Stanley Cup odds. Well, maybe we should put F on. Let's find
the bet MGM ones. Yeah. Sorry. Well, it's just, it doesn't matter. That's why they're stupid.
Yeah. Oh, okay. ESPM is dumb, dude. Yeah, go. But odds, Panthers at plus 600,
Carolina at plus 800, Colorado at plus 800, Edmonton at plus 850, Vegas at plus 850, Dallas at plus 1,000, Tampa at plus 1,400.
Mm, give me the teams.
You don't have to say the numbers?
Give me the teams in order again?
Florida, Carolina, Colorado, Edmonton, Vegas, Dallas, Tampa.
And then ready for this, dude?
Jersey, Toronto, L.A., Winnipeg, Rangers, Caps, Minnesota, Ottawa, Ottawa.
Bet, MGM, I won't give you the numbers.
Panthers, Avs, Knights.
Panthers are one oh sorry yeah okay Panthers, Avs, Knights, Oilers, Cains, Stars, bolts.
Yeah.
So like in the same spot.
And listen, I don't think that that's that crazy or far off, but I'm telling you Tampa is like, give me a fucking break.
That I think Goncalvis is going to be a very interesting player.
We both have them one, so we both think best case scenario is going to happen, but tell me how.
Dude, I don't even know.
because here's the deal
Nick Paul's coming back into this lineup
and he's out right now
but that first line
is disgusting
stupid they're all going to do exactly what they did
and then Hague's having fucking 90
aunt being just a
a pub hair under 60
and I just think like in Colvez
if he plays with them or if
Connor Dekeke plays with them like aunt
and Hags they don't care
they don't need a certain guy
I could fucking go up on that one
geeky in there you can plug concalva's in there they're going to be fine and then you got the identity
back for me yanni gourd conner geeky and oliver bierksd if that's your third line that was the
stanley cup champion winning teams like paul will be in there and then you've got gurgensen's
and homberg and chaffy on your for like the the bottom six identity is back um i've said this a lot
i do think i wonder rather with with age and with this and that is if there is a
missing piece on the defense.
That's a move you'd like to see them make.
Yes.
To walk in that one spot.
Victor Hedman remains one of the best defensemen in the NHL.
He's not slowing down.
He's fucking insane.
It's insane.
I would love, and this is no disrespect to J.J. Moser, but I would love a better first
pairing partner for Hedman than J.J. Moser.
If you get healthy McDonald playing with Sernick, that's good.
Lilliburg and Radish, good.
But like, I would love something there.
And I'd be like, and I'd be like, oh, that's.
It's a good fucking ad.
The best case scenario you're right is Kooch goes,
give me the fucking MVP, you sacks of shit.
I'll ram 170 points down your fucking row.
I disagree completely.
He does.
Gensel scores 48 goals.
And Sorrelli goes to fucking 68.
Give me 70.
Give me 70.
Yeah, I'll give you 70.
Higgs goes to 100 because he goes, why would I get 90?
What's the point of scoring fucking 90 points when I could score 100?
What is the fucking point of that?
right there. He's right there. And then
Hedman's a dog. They trade for somebody and Vassi's
a Vesna finalist again. Boom. One seat.
What could go wrong?
You do see, and this is
the idiot fool who I am that predicted
this last year, didn't happen. Now I'm predicting
it's not going to happen, so probably fucking will.
You do see finally
step back from Bassie, half step back from
Bessie, half step back from Hedman. You're like,
oh God, fuck, I was really counting on
what they've been giving me forever.
and Cooch, like, has been so fucking good.
I don't think he's going anywhere, but he's just been so, how old is he?
Cooch's probably 32, 33?
Yeah, like, he's fine, but he's just not, he doesn't give you, like, back-to-back Art Ross.
How old is Cooch?
He's 31.
31.
He'll be 32 this year.
Yeah, he's 31.
He doesn't give you back-to-back Art Ross over 80 fucking assists seasons, you know, and you're like, oh, shit.
I was like, that was nice when he was doing that every fucking time.
I'm telling you right now,
The best case scenario for this team is Kooch finishes.
He plays 82 games and he finishes the season with 90 points.
No, dude.
It's so fucking dumb.
No, dude.
I'm telling you.
So stupid.
Because that would, for me, that would be him going, I'm saving it.
Oh, okay.
I'm saving it.
And then playoffs start and he, because dude, it's, let's be honest.
Let's call it what it is.
Last couple of years, Cooch has had really bad playoffs.
Yes.
And if he only had 90 points in the regular season, when I know he
can score 150 in his sleep, I would know that he was saving it. And that would be terrifying.
I think worst case scenario for this team is the bottom six doesn't establish dominance.
Yep. Because one thing I will say, they are, they're not the biggest offense. Okay, true.
Point. Ants got good size, but like point, Gensel, Cooch, Hagle. I know Cooch is a brick shit house,
but like they're not banging bodies really those guys that much.
So I'd love to see Gord.
I'd love to see Connor Geeky Gergensens like really start fucking smashing people.
I got two things to say.
My biggest surprise, and you've got to think of yours too.
Okay.
I'm between a Hay, or no, I'm between a Jake 50 Burger.
Okay.
Which I do think he has in him.
And he's playing with coach, dude.
You just get open.
Just get open, dude.
What are you crazy?
Just get open.
I love that.
Or a Higgs 100.
I know I just said that, but I do think that would be,
I think Boltz fans would be like, holy shit.
And I know he's trending that way.
But I'm just saying if Higgs goes over 100 with maybe even 40,
maybe even 40 burgers, that would be epic.
And actually, give me your surprise first.
McDonough is so good.
It's crazy.
Give me your biggest surprise.
I know.
I'm trying.
Lightning fans go like this.
Oh, my fucking God.
I can't believe that.
My biggest surprise, that's what's so crazy about this team.
We're talking about a lot of these young teams and how there's a guy,
so like everyone on this team just, they perform.
And they've been doing it.
So nothing would be surprising.
Geeky is kind of an easy one for me.
I think my biggest surprise is going to be a trade.
Okay, dude, okay.
My biggest surprise is going to be that they make a big trade for a defenseman.
Yeah.
Okay.
Nothing surprising.
What am I going to say?
Oh, Ant's going to get 75?
That's not fucking surprising.
I think Lee fans would be like, wow.
Or Lightning fans would be like, wow, that's awesome.
That's awesome.
Or I think they'd be surprised.
I think they would go, holy shit.
Connor Geeky is in a...
I like Connor Geeky's game a lot.
I could see him really succeeding with Ant and Hague's.
Okay.
Big defenseman trade.
The reason I have them.
one to close out the bolts is the opposite of what you just said about Florida. I think Tampa,
and they're not scared of anybody, but the way the playoffs have gone would go, it would be very
beneficial to be the one. So I don't have to play fucking Florida. Or by the way, the next team
we're going to talk about in the first round. Give me the Red Wings or give me Ottawa in the first,
and I'll take my chances on catching somebody later. But I think the one seed matters to
team more than some of the teams surrounding them.
So they are going to be gunning for it hard.
Because they want to fucking shove it up your hoop
after what they've gone through the last couple of years.
Yeah. I like that.
Last team.
The Toronto Maple Leafs.
2025-26 NHL season preview.
Last year, Dan, hooey.
They went 52, 26, and 4 for 108 points.
They finished first in the Atlantic Division
and they made the playoffs and they made the second round.
And they took the Panthers to seven.
This year, they will finish.
You should know it because we only have one spot left.
Ready?
You can go first.
Three, two.
Why are we know it?
There's only one spot left.
Yeah, let's just say it.
Oh, three, two, one, third.
Yeah.
Cannot replace a Mitch Marner.
Let's start there.
The Toronto Maple Leafs are very good hockey.
Yes, I am so bullish on them still.
Toronto Maple Leafs are a very good hockey team.
I think we're going to get a disrespect.
expected Austin Matthews this year.
Okay. I mean, dude, we picked them.
If you haven't watched our way too early awards on YouTube, go watch right now, pause this,
watch that, come back, finish this.
We both have the Rocket, Austin Matthews, and Hart, Austin Matthews, just 70 goal fucking season,
right on your fucking head.
See, I don't even think he's going to do that.
I think he's going to have just such a well-rounded 50-50, 100-point year.
I think he's going to play 82 games.
I think he's going to have 50 goals and 50 assists, 100.
points. I think he's hearing all the fucking, you know, what is he without Mitch
Marner? He had a bad year last year. They choked in the playoffs again. And he's not good
on Team USA. He shouldn't even be on Team USA, even though that was a joke of ours. I think he hears that.
He's so young. He's so good. He looks fucking huge right now. I don't know if you've seen any
the pictures from training camp, but like the guy is a fucking mule. He's a fucking mule. He's a fucking
mutant, dude. I do think that Toronto Maple Leafs fans have certain Maple Leafs fans have a rude
awakening of how valuable Mitch Marner was and take away how you think he did in playoffs,
this and that and the other. A guy doesn't have 75 assists at 102 points in a season getting Selke
votes and he's replaceable. It's just it's just not a thing. Yep. Like,
And at the end of the day, you lost him for free, essentially.
I know that there was that little trade that happened.
But like, this is a guy who has played 81 games, 69 games, 80 games, 72 games, 55 in the short and season.
Like, he's been a perennial all-star for you.
He's had 185, 99, 97, 67, and 55, 67 and 59.
Like, this guy is immensely valued.
Yep. So it's going to be a hard road figuring out how to play without Mitch Marter.
And let's be honest, you didn't replace him.
Matthew Nyes is a great player. He was obviously on the same last year. I think Matthew Nyes is going to have a phenomenal season.
But like you've right now kind of got Matthias Macheteaille, Pennsylvania, penciled in as your first line right wing.
I bet he has a great year.
Yeah.
I bet he's a great year.
Yeah.
But I don't think he's Mitch Marner.
And neither does he.
Yeah.
I think this team is banking on a lot of jumps.
They're banking on another Matthew Nyes jump.
I think they're banking on a Machelli jump.
They're massively banking on an Easton Cowan jump, a Nick Roy jump.
And it's, yeah, it's interesting.
For me, Dan, best case scenario for the Leafs is you get.
the fuck you season out of Matthews.
You get the fuck you season out of Willie Nealander,
who also in a way,
I think the pressure,
regardless of what line they're playing on is on those guys.
Right? To feel this. No doubt.
You get those monster seasons. Tavares is still
the fucking man. And God, dude, he's like,
one of the most underrated players in the league,
mostly by Leafs fans.
It's insane. But you get those seasons.
You get the two-headed monster in goal
again. And then you get
one jump
from a nice
and serviceable, because I want to be realistic, best case scenario.
Serviceable top of their ceiling defensive play.
And then I think you are the one seat again.
You chase your past Florida because they don't give a fuck.
You chase down Tampa and you're like, what, dude?
We were up.
We had the champs on the fucking ropes.
And if we had just got by them, we probably might have made a run at the cup.
We're that exact team without Mitch Marner because the slack has been picked up by our other studs.
That's best case scenario.
What can go wrong is a big, well, I don't want to see big because that's me,
but like a step back in goal.
Those two kids were great.
Dude, no.
Stolars was disgusting.
They were great.
He was like, he was a Vesna final.
Like it was insane.
Yeah, like that's what I'm saying.
Like he was insane.
Both of them.
You looked at their numbers.
Like one would get hurt and the other one be like, whatever.
I'll just give you a one nine goals again.
I was like, what the fuck is going on?
So, like, if that, and no disrespect to them, but, like, they're Stolars and Joe Wall.
Yeah.
Without necessarily a track record of being like, I'm not going, Vasty's going to stink.
Holy hell he was good.
I'm like, if these guys, if you got a step back there and then you go, holy fuck, Austin Matthews has given me one of his fucking 38 goal seasons, which is so good in the scheme of things, but you're counting on him for 50 something.
Yeah.
And you're just, you lack that mariner production.
Like, it's just the slack.
is not picked up at all.
And maybe if they're assuming those would make you guys happy, Tavares takes a step back.
And now you're fighting.
I don't think, I think they're too good for much worse than the three seed.
Yeah.
But now you're like fighting for a three seed wild card spot and everyone's going, okay, now great.
We get fucking pumped full of lead in the first round on the road against the Panthers,
who are the two seed.
And I go, uh, have fun.
You know, and it's all, it's here we go again.
Yeah.
Right.
And again, we're still in worst.
scenario, the Barubi, you get a Barubi coach team that I admittedly, who was way wrong,
predicted last year.
I was like, okay, oh, Barubi's going to make you the one seat, and then he did, but maybe this
year, the new Barubi Leafs isn't as surprising to other teams, and they're like,
they're ready for you, and you lost Marner, and you're barely above a wildcard team.
Yeah.
That's a worst case scenario.
It is.
It's best, like, what could go right, and maybe my surprise is.
here is like...
Yeah, give me your surprise, too.
I think
Austin Matthews is such a good player.
Yeah. That I do think if we get
if we get Matthias Machelli on that
first line with him, playing with Nyes.
First of all, Matthew Nyes is a perfect
hockey player. I know. Like he's Tom
Wilson. Yep. He, I think he had
29 goals, 29 assists.
He's a fucking horse.
He's awesome. I think you're going to get Nyes
doing exactly that if not more. I wouldn't be surprised if
Nyes gave you 35 and 35.
That's my surprise.
Yeah.
40 from 9.
Which is going to hurt my, like, I'm either getting the my Matthews prediction of like 70 at heart or I'm getting, because if Nyes is scoring 40, Matthews ain't scoring 70.
But for my biggest surprise, I'm still sticking to my way too early awards, but my biggest, like, what could the biggest surprise in Toronto be?
I got it.
I got it.
My biggest surprise is whoever plays on this, put it this way.
There is a, what we'll call a right wing opening on this team.
Domi is not listed in these lines of like Domi will be in here.
I don't think Domi's going to get pumped up there.
I think he's better suited for like that middle six role.
Whether it be Micelli or Easton Cowan.
I hope it's Eastern Cowan.
God, same.
That'd be sick.
God, I think he's great.
In Canada, dude.
A London Knight's fucking weapon.
Oh, buddy.
Good God.
I think my surprise.
prize is whoever emerges in that opening is going to have 60 points.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
So it's Machelli who, by the way, a couple of years ago, career high, I think he had 57, like 17 goals, 40 assists with Arizona.
He is capable of this.
And I really could see it being him.
I think whoever is in that role is going to have 60 points.
What could go wrong is some of these guys, by the way, I said Nick Roy earlier, it's Nick Waugh, sorry.
pronunciation matters um but like nick waugh is it was the that kind of weird trade that
brought him over when marner went to Vegas while he's coming back from Vegas he'll be in that
bottom six vibe but like if mitchellie cowen i think mostly those two guys because i think i think
i was going to do what wah's going to do yeah same with dakota joshua and lorence um if mitchellie
Cowan, and we'll even say Nyes, because, like, I think we want him to keep going.
Yeah.
If those guys kind of just, like, stay the course, if, if Micelli gets you 40 points,
if Nize gets you another 60.
Yeah, 60 again.
And Cowan is, I mean, fucking kid.
He's going to be great.
He's not played yet.
But if he comes in and he's like, I'm a rookie, he doesn't even play a full season,
maybe he gets 35 points.
I do think you're in a place where you're like, ah, the slack wasn't picked up.
Yeah, we needed slack.
We lost 102 points.
And I just think, you know, Nealander was a weapon.
He's always going to get you around 100.
Matthews is going to do the same.
I think there's a world where Tavares maybe is a little less.
Maybe slips.
The big thing for me here, Chris, I really do not like their defense.
I never have.
I never have.
Ever.
That's been the, I mean, they were good last year, but that was, that's been the,
rub the whole time.
Jake McCabe, who is a great, I think is a really solid NHL defenseman.
I love them.
Would love to have them on your team.
But right now, you're kind of rolling with a decor of McCabe and Tanev, Morgan, Riley,
and Brennan, Carlo, and OEL with Benoit.
And to me, there's no offense there.
And that's rude to Morgan Riley.
Yeah.
But like, dude, Tanev, OEL, those are older guys.
We've said a million times.
Brandon Carlo is a perfect shutdown guy.
He's great, but Carlo's not giving you offense.
McCabe's not giving you offense.
Yeah.
This team has been so desperate for like what they wanted Morgan Riley.
They needed a bit more from it.
Last year was actually not his bat.
They need a bit more for him than last year.
And then I think it's okay, though.
But don't you think that Morgan Riley, who is a really fucking good hockey player, he's 30 now.
And he's had in the past, he had that 68 point season in 2020.
Dude, he had a 72.
That's what I was looking at.
72 in 2019.
Like, this guy, he's a fucking player.
But, you know, he went 41 and 65, 58 and 72, 42, 41 and 82 last year.
he's really not getting you many goals.
He had 20 goals in that 19th season, but since 3, 5, 10, 4, 7, 7.
10 would be great, though.
10 would be great.
10 would be great.
10 would be great.
But again, with just the way the league is going now, it's like these best teams, right?
You need a guy or you need a committee of guys like Florida who's going to get you like,
we have four guys who are going to get us four.
Who can all jump up in the play.
You saw in the finals, like getting those Florida defensemen trailing and they're just
hammering pucks into the net and you're like, fuck.
So the Toronto D is just like I don't know who's you know that you're going to say it's Morgan Riley
but like I don't know who's running your power play.
I don't know who's at the top of that umbrella.
I don't know who is carrying the puck from behind the net and helping create breakouts.
And that is just what they need.
It's like when they got Tannav, like I understood the idea, but I was like, oh,
Tana's a great player.
I just don't know that he's the guy that you need.
So I think that's a huge missing piece for this team.
And it's why I just, with losing Marner, with how much slack you need picked up and with this defense, I can't see them finishing first in the division.
Yep.
Tampa, Florida, Toronto.
Tampa, Florida, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Detroit, Boston, Buffalo.
And Montreal in or out or don't know yet?
Because you don't have to know yet.
I don't know yet.
I would be put it this way
I'd be very surprised
if Montreal does not make playoffs
Tampa
Florida Toronto
Detroit
Ottawa
in Montreal
shocking 6th
just out
Boston Buffalo
crazy
you're dude the Montreal fans
who you'll be pissed to me
who we've become very friendly with
I love that so I'm just saying
crazy things happen
yeah
for the first time in a while
we kind of flirted with it last year
but I do think
that three through six is mental in the Atlantic.
Me too.
Three through six is mental.
Okay, let's take an ad break.
And we'll be right back.
C.P., do you have a mug handy?
I always got a mug handy.
Come on.
I have an all-time.
I have an all-time dog in me story.
Wow.
Because, dude, you haven't been living as unfiltered as I think you could be living lately.
Correct.
And I'm telling you, brother, this happened to me.
This past weekend.
I'm in France.
At a wedding.
Get with a group of people.
Everyone wants to go for a run.
So we strap on our shoes after a night of hanging out, staying up late, and we said, let's get a little workout in.
We go for a run down the French countryside.
We get about four kilometers into this run.
We run past this house, this beautiful farm village house.
Big German Shepherd comes running up the fence.
A literal dog starts barking at everybody.
One of the friends in our group freaks out.
They're like, oh, good, God, that dog is getting close.
We keep running.
It's fine.
It's behind a fence.
Ten seconds later, the dog has jumped the fence and is literally chasing us down the road.
Oh, my God.
Barking at us, nipping at people.
And I straight up stood up to this German Shepherd.
Got big.
Got big.
Got big.
Yeah.
Stamping at her.
Going like a...
Hey!
Hey!
Zit!
Backing her off, dude.
We had a full-on standoff.
She saw the dog in you.
And she was like, what the hell?
Am I dealing with another dog here?
She saw it in you.
And I straight up backed down this German Shepherd.
And she was like, all right, fine, dude, relax.
You must have had a mug today.
And I backed her down into her yard.
And we kept on our run.
And then when we ran back, she was in the yard still.
and we were running, I stared her down the whole time.
She was like, I respected, dude.
You got a dog in you.
I'm dealing with another dog.
It was unbelievable.
It was such a cool feeling, too.
I was like, I am.
I did it.
I am the guy.
I just saved this whole group, and it's because I've been drinking mug.
Exactly.
Fact.
So the next time that you are craving something cold, frothy, and packed with unapologetic flavor,
I would like you to crack open a mug group beer.
I'm loving the zero sugar, zero caffeine.
Oh, it's the best.
You're telling me I get to enjoy a hit a sassafra.
in the form of mug root beer,
and I also get to do it with zero sugar.
So you find one at your local store,
or you go to mugrootbeer.com
slash find dash mug.
That's F-I-N-D-M-U-G
and figure out how you can get your paws on some of this.
You guys know the feeling when you found a new show
and you just press play on that first episode,
and next thing you know, you're on episode six,
and there is no end in sight.
I know it very well.
I actually just did it with Mobland, Six Show.
But you know what?
Indic Cloud made this.
that experience way, way better. Cannot begin to express how fantastic was. Popped an Indicloud
gummy. Popped on the first episode to see if I would like it. Next thing you know, I was
finishing the entire show in one sitting. No joke, and I couldn't have been happier. Indicloud
is hooking you up with everything that you need. Let me tell you a little bit about this beautiful,
beautiful stuff. Indicloud is given you whatever you want as far as gummies, flowers,
pre-rolls, anything like that. If you need some energy when you're out, you don't want to drink,
all this high caloric nonsense. You just want a nice little buzz. Maybe you need some help sleeping.
I use it for that as well. When I need a nice, good night sleep, pop in one of those gummies,
relax, get knocked out. It's fantastic. This stuff is just truly, truly fantastic. Every product
is third-party lab tested. It's 2018 Farm Bill compliant, 100% federally compliant, and shipped
discreetly. So when you get a package, your mailman doesn't know that you are about to binge
10 straight episodes of a TV show and feel absolutely fantastic doing it. This stuff is so delicious,
so amazing. It's really good products. You want it. You need it. And if you're 21 or older,
grab 25% off your first order plus free shipping with code netters at indecloud.com. That's I-N-D-O-C-L-O-U-D-O-C-O-O-U-D-C-O-C-E-T-E-R-S,
and you're going to get 25% off free shipping and snacks suddenly taste.
like a Michelin Star chef made them for you.
The colors and images on your screen explode out of the TV as if you're in a world itself
and everything becomes just that much more enjoyable.
Enjoyable, enjoyable.
So, enjoy into cloud.
Right now, use that code, go to that site, get 25% off.
And for shipping, come on.
Fantastic deal.
You know it's making everything sound that much better.
We're back.
We're going to close out this division preview.
episode with a nice, nice beer league hotline. Baker, what he got for us?
Five years ago, I started a beer league team, got a sponsorship, jerseys and everything.
It's a snake draft league. This year I was out of town for work during the draft. I had my
identical twin brother draft the team. He didn't take me at my projected draft spot and I got
drafted to another team. I think he was just trying to get cheeky and get me later, but did he
do me dirty here?
A too Brutei
I can't believe that
I have a lot of questions here
So clearly
Dude I'm going to jump in
Snake Draft Beer League is the fucking dumbest shit in the world
We've had a lot of people DM and be like no it's cool
It keeps it fresh
I can't imagine anything worse
The whole point of Beer League is a band of brothers
Dude I'm so aligned
I'm genuinely
can't wrap my head around it.
In less, it was literally like, no, even that's insane.
Like, in a pickup den, if it's the same 20 guys go to the rink on a Wednesday and you
toss sticks, it's the Saturday game.
Yeah.
I'm like, okay, yeah, like we're all hanging out.
We're all in the locker together no matter what.
I imagine there are multiple teams here, so you are not seeing your buddies.
Yeah.
All the time.
It is crazy.
Did, I want to do the R.E.
Like, when you sent your brother to draft your team, did he go as you?
Yeah.
Did they know it was...
I am confused.
Did they know it was your brother drafting?
I am confused by this.
Did he do it as you?
Also, does your identical twin brother not play hockey?
Because that's also fucking crazy.
And also, what the...
Don't you think you should get a keeper or two?
Like, to play with your boys?
I feel like you should go,
there's a snake draft league,
but I get three guys that are just...
Yeah.
They are obviously on my team.
I'm confused by a lot of this.
I can't even believe you don't automatically
get put on the same team
with your identical twin brother.
I find myself,
So this guy gets a sponsorship, Jersey, by the way, sick.
Sick.
That's a huge win.
If they're covering your team dues, we're laughing.
But you get a sponsorship for this team.
Then you do a snake draft.
Your brother goes to draft the team.
So implying that you're like the team manager?
Yeah, you're the captain.
You're the GM, but you're like, I can't be there.
So your brother's drafting.
And then he doesn't take you.
I'm frustrated by this.
I'm annoyed by this message because I need more information.
And now it's not even your team.
It's your brother's team.
didn't give us enough information here. So he didn't take me at my projected draft spot.
Which was when, by the way. Yeah, maybe you're assuming you're going a little higher than you are, pal.
Well, no, he did. Like, he, the brother passes and then someone else squoops him. Oh, yeah, he got drafted by another team.
He is a high pick. Yeah. And then he's a high pick. You passed on your twin brother who's a good pick. I think he was just trying to cheat me and get me later. I thought, the way I read it was he's like, no one's going to take me. No one's going to take my brother. I can just take him last. And then the next team up was like this, I'll take the good kid.
But he says, I was out of town for work during the draft.
I had my identical twin brother draft the team.
That implies he was supposed to be drafting.
Yeah.
Which implies the identical twin brother is no longer draftable.
No, no, stop.
Stop.
Shit.
The guy who sent this email is Doug.
Yeah.
The identical twin brother is Larry.
Yep.
Outrageous names.
Does Larry play hockey?
Yes.
You think so.
Yes.
Then why is this even included in the message?
Because the implication here is that why would you say it's your identical twin brother
if that's not pertinent to the story?
Because he's saying, and you believe?
It's implying that they all thought it was duck.
That's what that, in my opinion, is what that.
No, dude.
No, Dan.
No, no, no.
Because you wouldn't draft yourself if you're just automatically on the team.
So he is including the fact that Larry is his identical twin to add to the fact
that it was a too Brutei moment?
I think so.
Like, he's like, it's so bad.
Think about how insane it is,
that it's my identical twin.
Okay, so then being brothers
and identical twins means nothing to the story,
truly.
You don't think so?
No.
I don't give a fuck.
I wouldn't draft you at all.
We're not even twins.
That's a, that's a take, too.
You know, like, I think you're like,
I don't even want to play with you.
But this guy's being like,
I assumed he did.
I think he's finding out,
Doug is now finding out that Larry is you.
Doug thought Larry was me,
and now Doug is finding out
that Larry is a.
you. Yes, but again, so the issue here is, like, is Larry, did Larry draft himself? Is Larry on the team?
I think if you're the drafter, you're automatically on that team. You're like, this is my team.
I'm playing on it. So there was no Tomfoolery here. No one was posing as another person. I don't believe so,
but we might need a follow up. Literally Larry just went and he's like, I'm handling the draft this year.
So they're like, okay, Larry, you're on the team because you're drafting. You're picking the team.
Now Doug is available. And assuming you will take him, considering it's his team that he has started and set up.
and you are his identical twin brother,
so surely you will take him with your first pick.
And he goes like this, no.
So she went, I'm going to let Doug fall.
Yeah, because I'll get him later.
No one's going to draft my identical twin brother.
That's why identical twin brother matters more.
You're right.
And then someone's whispered.
You got to figure out a trade immediately.
This guy secured you jerseys.
You're right.
You're right.
We got to trade.
Yeah, you got to make a couple phone calls.
You've got to secure a trade immediately.
And also, what?
terrorist
took him
took his
took Doug
they're trying to compete
they're trying to compete
like what
trying to put a good team
on the ice
what absolute terrorist
went
I'm going to take this guy's
twin brother
trying to put a good team
on the house
that's fucking crazy
he did you dirty
pal
yeah he did you dirty
and now you need
to figure out a trade
yeah he does
Larry does
Larry's a fucking
he's the GM now
make a trade Larry
yeah brutal
okay
let's end it
with a Bauer
Hockey blind ranking
which one
what are we doing
today
we're doing this
So I love getting in the zeitgeist with NHL.com.
Yeah.
And NHL.com had a cool article that said John Tavares, after being hurt and missing the 2014, or the 2014 Olympics, would love another shot to put on the Canada sweater at the Olympics.
And I was like, oh, yeah, that would be cool, actually.
Yeah.
And he was part of the forwards that they invited to their orientation camp.
We did the USA forwards at Olympic camp.
This time, we are, thanks to our friends at power, blind ranking, the forwards invited to the
Canada national teams
I was going to say Canadian
Canada national team
Olympic camp
so we're blind
ranking all of the Canadian forwards
well Baker's going to give us five
that's fucking tough dude oh it's very hard
very hard very hard
let's do it Baker
Connor Bradard
five
you might be right
you might be right
just because he's young though Dan
it's just because it's an age
thing.
100%.
Connor Bardard is awesome.
What have you done for me lately?
But also, I'm doing this blind ranking in a people I would want on Team Canada.
Not the player.
That he'll be calm.
Yeah, yeah.
It's not potential.
Connor Bernard is, everyone on this list is going to be insane.
Yeah.
Could he be four?
Could be.
He could be four.
If you want to do it, I'll let you do it.
But I want people to know that I was more decisive and strong-willed in my answer
than you.
You're right.
But maybe you're right.
You could be right.
Four.
Okay.
Four it is.
Fucked us though.
Fuck.
Mitch Marner.
That's a tough one.
Because that one you want to go, well,
I think I want to go three.
Absolute lock on the team.
Unbelievable player are going to have a great year.
I think three is the right.
Because there's too much scariness above.
So much.
Yeah, yeah.
And actually, dude, he was so fucking good in Four Nations,
though.
He was amazing.
Play the game.
Play on the half wall.
Play of the game.
Play with the skate.
Pass to the front.
Unbelievable.
Three.
Three, four, for fear.
For fear.
Yeah.
A terrified three.
God, I love Mitch.
Mark Stone.
We're going to go five.
Fuck.
Absolutely.
Yep.
You just like, you know.
We're going to go five.
But do you wish we could slide?
Or are you okay?
To me, I'm like,
again no one
this is people who are invited to
yeah they would
get an orientation camp like no one
you're all disgusting oh yeah I
feel great about that okay
five yeah
Carter Verhagie
two I think you go two
and hope we go two and hope
and swaggy's
swaggy's great I mean I just just
just go fucking 40 goals yeah
45 100%
45 goals incoming
two for Hagee
Ryan Nuggen Hopkins
Man, Baker is really fucking bringing in the heat, dude.
We got to recalibrate because Wags always loved a last, like, Cindy Crosby.
Yeah, and he also always loved a name.
Yeah, Baker knows what he's doing, dude.
Baker knows what he's doing.
Yeah, that was a very unexpected collection of five humans.
That's why he's good.
Great job, Baker, bad list by us.
Yeah, bad list by us.
I think if I'm redoing that.
redo it right now, yeah.
I'm going Mitch one,
Swaggy 2,
then probably Stone
Nude Bedard, or Stone Bedard
Nude. Yeah. I'm doggin Nuge.
But they're all sick. It's fucking...
Connor Baudard is one of the best shots in the league.
Yeah.
Fuck.
Bad list.
Well, we did our best, as we always did.
Bad fucking list.
All right.
Division preview episodes are
back. They're so much fun. Guys, dial in. We're going to be chopping up some team-specific ones as mid-forms, too.
Shopping them up for sure. So check out the YouTube. Make sure to subscribe to the YouTube. We got some fun.
New merch dropping in a couple of weeks to start the season. Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for that.
In the meantime, go to State and Liberty, use promo code Empty Netters 10 to get 10% off.
Unbelievable threads like this. Huge, huge episode on Thursday. We've got a phenomenal guest.
You're going to love it. And we'll be getting into the Met.
Division, preview, episode.
Don't miss that either.
They're the same episode, so you won't be able to...
Yeah, you can't.
We see you later in this week for that amazing interview and preview.
Skate Hard.
Martha listens to her favorite band all the time.
Gym.
Even sleeping.
So when they finally went on tour, Martha bundled her flight and hotel on Expedia to see them live.
She saved so much, she got her seat close enough to actually see and hear them.
Sort of.
You were made to scream from the front row.
We were made to quietly save you more.
Expedia, made to travel.
Savings vary and subject to availability.
