Empty Netters Podcast - Big Names On The Move And Other NHL Trade Deadline Predictions
Episode Date: March 4, 2025It's that time of year again, the NHL Trade Deadline is upon us! We've already seen some major moves happen, but who else is going to be playing for a different team come playoffs? Team captains, fran...chise players, no one is safe. CP and DP make their predictions on the biggest trades yet to come. Because we all know there are a few teams with an LTIR loophole... NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. 00:00 INTRO 02:50 NOT ICE 16:20 HOT ICE 1:18:00 INTERVIEWS 1:40:56 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:46:07 BETMGM ODDS 1:49:15 BLIND RANKING 1:52:53 OUTRO Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Based on the market right now and what teams are paying for players,
I think these teams would be so stupid to not fire sale half their roster.
And they better have the balls to do it.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and along with me, a man whose spine is so jacked up and horrifyingly crooked
that he looks like a marionette puppet whenever he walks.
Don't watch this man walking from behind.
It'll scare you for the rest of your life.
Chris Powers.
As always.
Hey, I've got terrible news for you, idiot.
What?
You didn't say as always last week.
You got called out in the DMs a number of times.
I rattled you so much.
Oh, because it was...
Rattled you so much.
What was it again?
With the scrambled eggs thing.
Yeah, we just forgot to say as always.
So not as always.
As most of the time.
As usually.
This is me.
this is if I didn't do anything.
Well, this is me sitting perfectly straight.
And when you see me on the YouTube and I'm like this,
I'm exercising right now.
This is a workout for me to sit like this.
It's, dude, I, you, we've talked about this before.
You take things too personally.
It's one of your, it's one of your only flaws.
And I mean that.
Only.
It's one of your only flaws.
You take things too personally.
I fucking don't.
Yes, you do, dude.
You're doing.
doing it right now.
You look so stupid when you walk.
It's actually the craziest thing I've ever seen.
Dude, you consistently tell me I take things to personally.
And then the things I'm taking to personally are so mean that it's like any human being would take that personally.
Dude.
And everyone's like, you got to cuck, I can't be more chill.
And I'm like, or.
But you can't do anything about it.
It's not your fault.
Yeah, but you don't look.
You don't see, I was going to say something mean,
you don't see a person in a wheelchair
and go, you fucking sitting all the time, you idiot,
and they can't do anything about it, they're paralyzed.
But you don't need to call it out.
They know they're paralyzed.
But there's nothing weird about that.
The way you walk is so weird.
I'm doing the best I can
with the frame that I have,
and you are making fun of that.
No, I'm not making fun of it.
I'm just pointing it.
I think it's crazy.
Well, no, you should be going,
it's crazy that you can walk.
It's crazy how,
brave you are. Yes. I should be being complimented. Instead, I'm being shit on. No, you're not being
shit on. It's just, we're remarking, the world is remarking how weird your walk is. Weird is not a bad
thing. No, weird is cool these days. Sure is. Weird is cool these days. And I am cool. You are cool.
Dude, you are cool. People in bands are cool. We don't have a lot of time to waste. We have got to get
into all this trade deadline stuff, but we got a couple not-ice things that we wanted to talk about.
First and foremost, you wanted to talk about the zoo?
I went to the San Diego Zoo this weekend.
Wow.
For my birthday.
Which it is not yet.
Actually, when you were listening to this, it will be my birthday.
So, happy birthday to me.
And I went to the zoo for my birthday as if I was eight,
and it was fucking perfect.
I'd never been there.
It's the best zoo in the world.
Two things.
The first thing is minor, second thing is major.
Minor thing.
as I'm walking through the San Diego Zoo,
I walked by a dude,
and we were kind of on the sidewalk,
and it was one of those like,
I want to get out of his way.
We didn't shuffle that bad,
but I was just like, oh, I get this guy's way.
And he was kind of looking at me,
and I thought it was because I was in his way.
Okay.
And then I get off to the side,
and he's still looking at me,
so I kind of look up at him,
and he goes, I love the pod, dude.
At the zoo.
Come on, dude.
That's special.
And I wish I had stopped.
I didn't get his name,
I hope he's listening.
I hope he hears this and goes, that was me.
I saw Chris at the San Diego Zoo and said, love the pot.
That was sick.
Second thing, thank you.
Thank you for listening.
Second thing, where are you at on zoos?
They make me so sad, but I have so much fun at them.
I love animals so much.
I think a lot of people who know me personally,
my, not just my relationship with dogs,
but my connection with dogs is astounding.
I've been called the dog whisperer by many people.
Yeah.
Sandra has dubbed me Danny the dog father.
Yep.
I don't know why you got that though.
Like you're like, I love dogs and I'm like, I didn't get anything.
I'm not saying I love dogs and other people aren't allowed to love dogs.
I just like I actively get distracted by, like a dog gets distracted by a squirrel.
I get distracted by dogs.
We could be having a very serious conversation and this has happened to us.
And we'll be walking down the street and I see a dog and I'll be like, oh my God, look at that good boy.
Yeah.
I just love them so much.
Yep.
I love other animals as well.
And the zoo is just such a special place, but it's also so sad.
Like, I love that I get to see these great animals, but I hope they're happy.
Oh, yeah, me too.
If there's a promise, and I'm pretty sure San Diego Zoo is pretty good about this.
It's the goat.
That they're all raised.
They're born there?
No, I don't know.
They have not.
These animals have not.
been plucked from the wild or anything like that is what I believe to understand about the San Diego
Zoo. A lot of them are rehab animals so they can't live out in the wild on their own. So it's
retirement home. Technically the zoo is doing them a favor because they would die out in the wild. So they're
now we're talking majority of them now we're talking. And it's a massive research center like the good work is
being done here. Well we hope good work because I've heard about bad research too. All research is not good.
True, true, true, true.
Like, we want to talk about some diseases that have been spread.
We talk about 28 days later.
That starts with research on chimps.
Planet of the apes.
Yes.
Yeah, I did.
Planet of the apes.
So as long as the animals are happy and good things are being done, then I think it's wonderful.
But I also do get, I get upset about the whole zoo animal element.
These animals are just trying to live their lives, and they've just got a bunch of tourists staring at them.
For me, dude, it was the predators.
Because listen, we've been to Africa.
Not a big deal.
We've been to Africa.
And I was kind of like, I don't even, there were some animals.
We were on crunch for time.
There were some animals I didn't even need to see because I was like, I've actually
seen that animal like when it could actually kill me.
You know, like this, I can skip that.
But I had to walk by a lot of them.
And the predators are the only one that's kind of a bummer because like the koala,
for example, he chilling, dude.
Like the koala bear is just in a.
sick enclosement like on a tree eating a leaf being like this my game the combo of enclosure
and yeah what did I say I think you said enclosement meant in that enclosure enclosure the
koala dude is fine yeah what do you think about this what if we all the animals that are behind
glass is that most of them yeah it was crazy
What if we made those two-way mirrors?
Or one-way, one-way mirror?
So they don't be seeing themselves?
Yeah.
So they don't know a bunch of people are gawking at them.
Hmm, interesting.
I think that might freak them out.
They're just, they're at a fun house.
Yeah.
They might not like that.
Fuck, yeah.
They might not like that at all.
Yeah, and then every now and then it's cool when you see the animals playing with, like,
a kid will come up to the window and sometimes they play.
And then there's those great videos where a lion, like, pounces against the window.
happened to me. I love it.
When you see a little idiot kid, like, taunting
one of the guerrillas and the gorilla charges and
like shatters the glass. Oh.
You know what was my favorite part? Or the thing I was
most excited to go see? Because
I have never seen before. Yeah.
Tell me. The polar bear.
Dude, there's an Arctic section of the San Diego
Zoo. Was it cold? No. And that's what I was
rattled about. I got up there. What are you talking about?
It's not cold? No, it says Arctic.
But maybe his water's cold.
The water must be cold. He's going in and out of water.
He probably had a little pool.
Yeah, he had a pool.
That water must be freezing.
But do, does the polar bear like being cold?
Yeah.
I know he's built for the cold.
Good, good point.
I think he's like,
Oh, dude.
I'm in San Diego.
This is dope.
You know what I mean?
Like, I think he's like, yeah, I can survive up here, but it sucks.
I bet he does.
Like, think about huskies.
Like, they're always, like, they hate it when they're in warm.
People who own huskies in warm weather cities, the husky is absolutely devastated.
Then you see those videos of huskies,
people who live in Minnesota, Maine and stuff like that,
and their huskies just outside bearing itself in the snow
and won't come inside because they're so happy.
I think the polar bear definitely wants to be cold.
So those two polar bears are miserable.
That's what you told me.
Well, maybe the water is 30 degrees.
Yeah, 33 degrees.
So, hey, he jumps in the pool.
Yeah, he's like me to a hot tub.
He's like, oh, hell yeah.
Yeah.
Cool down.
I think they, I don't know.
They looked happy to me, dude,
it was pretty sick.
Okay, as long as they looked happy.
Polar bears are dope, and that wasn't one where I was like,
was it huge?
Yeah.
They're huge.
It's nuts how scary, dangerous they are.
Bears, dude.
Bears are crazy, bro.
But also a polar bear specifically.
Like, I've come across a black bear in my time up in Maine,
and those things are little bitches, too.
You just yell at it, it runs away.
I know.
But we're talking to grizzly, a polar bear?
You kidding me?
Stay in between a polar bear and his cold tub.
Watch what happens.
You're not making it out of that, brother.
Watch what happens.
So you had a good time.
It was great, dude.
I recommend.
Zoo's a blast.
Could have stayed there for three more hours.
As long as they're happy.
As long as they're happy.
We like Zeus.
As long as they're happy.
The only thing I will say about my weekend is I'm so, you know I've ranted on this before.
Actually, this is a good forum to say, another dantrum here.
Legitimately, wind is my least favorite thing on planet Earth.
On planet Earth.
Nothing bothers me more than wind.
We talk about all those little things that get under your skin.
The predictive text last week we talked about.
got gets under our skin.
Nothing bothers me more than wind.
You've said this a million times to me.
I genuinely, Chris, I absolutely hate it.
It makes my blood boil.
And I posted it on my Instagram,
on my personal Instagram,
and I got a lot of support.
Yeah,
a lot of support.
Dude, I've said it before.
There are two things.
If you are sailing,
if you were on a ship with your friends,
sailing around,
okay, if you're flying a kite,
okay, I don't know what you're doing,
flying a kite if you're not a child.
But otherwise, wind only does bad things.
It ruins everything.
Blows shit around.
It makes everything dirty.
It makes everything loud and obnoxious.
If you're on the phone, it's a disaster.
It makes everything colder.
If it's a nice, warm, sunny day.
Good one.
All of a sudden, it's cold.
If it's cold outside, now it's freezing.
It is awful, dude.
Wind sucks.
It just fucks everything up.
I hate it.
I'm canceling it.
We're done with wind.
The worst element.
I got to play golf at a few places this weekend.
One of them was Coronado down in San Diego.
And it's this beautiful track right on, it's Muni,
but it's like right on the water and the bay.
It's really cool.
I bet the wind fucked up your whole round.
Dude, howling.
Not only are you cold, but dude, it is hard to golf.
Like you were hitting ball, iron's up in the air,
and it's just like firing.
And then Dan, it stops.
Like, I'll hit one, and then the wind stops.
Yeah.
And it's just 20 yards left.
because I'm like,
great, thank you.
Hit it.
And it's like,
no,
we actually stopped
for that second of time.
It's just terrible, dude.
It ruins most things.
It ruins days.
It ruins lives.
Wow.
When is it only kites and sail?
Wind caused the L.A.
wildfires, dude.
That's a fact.
Fuck you,
Wind.
Is it only kites and sailing?
One person said,
you're standing on an elevated T-box
on a par five
with a straight fairway,
wind at your back.
Kind of nice.
I just complained about golf, too, but that is kind of nice.
But that's so rare.
What about, um, is it cool ever?
Okay, what about this?
Wind turbines, bullshit.
It's been proven.
They are the least efficient source of natural energy.
What about this?
What about this?
Fall day in New England, uh, wind, wind gust leaves swirling magically in the sky.
That's a breeze.
Come on.
We talked about it.
A breeze is okay.
Maybe on a really hot day, a nice breeze comes out.
You're like, oh, it was a nice breeze.
Yeah.
I don't think you can do this, too.
Breeze blows a nice smell.
Yeah.
But wind, once it cranks up to wind, disaster, because it ruins everything.
That's not fair.
Breeze is wind.
No, it's not.
There are two different words for a reason.
This is ridiculous.
It's not ridiculous at all.
A breeze is clearly, it's a breeze.
It's a light breeze.
The word light often introduces the word breeze.
You don't hear about light wind, do you?
I think one thing that wind
does is it's pollinates, like it spreads pollen and sea, and it, like, helps with planting
flowers and vegetation, I suppose, but I don't need that. So this says, that's going to happen
anyway. Breeze is a type of wind. Yeah, well, of course that's what a dictionary would say. No,
this is AI dog. A breeze is considered a light wind, meaning it is a gentle air current, while wind can
refer to air movement at anything. What do you think AI is pulling from, dude? You think that's not the dictionary?
Yes, it is. That's all AI.
is. It's the best search engine
that exists. Yeah, it's not reading the dictionary.
Yes, it went that went to dictionary.com.
No.
This says, Dan, weather reports often use
breezy to describe wind speeds
in the moderate range, parentheses,
around 15 to 25 miles per
hour. And windy
is for higher speeds. So wind is
just tornadoes, according to this. Dude,
wind is you have blown
off this fucking planet. We got
we got to get back on to hockey talk,
but I just needed to say I needed to be
Clear wind fucking sucks.
Win sucks.
Okay, guys, you know that we have teamed up with Bet MGM for the entire season
because they are the best sports book in the game.
And when it comes to hockey, they're taking care of you better than anyone else.
Right now we've got a nice, nice little promotion going on.
We have got a second chance promotion.
Every Wednesday, we're getting down with the first goal score.
Betts.
You can pick anyone in the league.
Any game, you pick that first goal score.
Obviously, we want to hit that every single time.
But here's what BetMGM is doing for you.
if the player that you pick to be the first goal score,
scores second, you get your money back.
Whatever stake you put in, you get that cash back.
Unbelievable deal.
Because listen, sometimes you might not get first,
but sometimes you will get second,
and they're going to make sure that they just give you that stake back if that happens.
So get in on Wednesdays and start ripping that first goal score
because BetMGM is hooking you up here.
And then, as we've been doing,
BetMGM is also giving you this unbelievable $1,500 bonus bet deal.
You can sign up right now using promo code netters, any T-T-T-E-R-S.
And whatever you make, the bets that you make, you can bet up to $1,500.
And if you lose it, it goes right back into your account.
$1,500 right back into your account.
No book is taking care of you like BetMGM.
We are heading into the playoffs soon here.
We've got the trade deadline coming up in a few days.
Hockey is hot in the streets.
We've got tons of picks.
We hit our unbelievable empty net bets this weekend.
You got to join in on the train.
Sign up now and let's get rolling.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 1-800-327-50-50 for Massachusetts.
Call 1-800-next-step for Arizona.
21-plus only.
Bet-Get offer only available in Arizona, Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts,
Maryland, Michigan, North Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Virginia, West Virginia.
Visit www.
www.1-80-gambler.net for West Virginia.
Please gamble responsibly see betmgm.com for terms.
This promotional offer is for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
bonus vets are non-withdrawable.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Mississippi, Nevada, New York, Ontario, and Puerto Rico.
No more wasting time.
Hockey Talk, trade deadline.
Let's go.
Come on.
I know you wanted to talk about the Jack Hughes injury, but we're just going to talk about that
when we talk about the devils.
Jack Hughes got hurt, tangled in the boards with Jack Eichol.
All I want to say about it was, here we go again.
Like, how many times have you said, I just need the kid to get through a season to show me.
I know.
I know size doesn't matter.
Right.
Right on the line of 100.
100 points, too.
Looks like Pasha's going to lose that bet.
Wow.
Dagger.
Okay, trade deadline talk.
You want to start out with Frankie Boys list?
Well, if we want, we don't have to go.
I mean, a lot of the guys are guys we're going to talk about.
So maybe we can just talk about the guys and then we can go back to his top 10.
I think why don't we rip down the list?
You like the list.
Why don't we rip down Frank Saravilli's top 45 and then we'll get in depth on a few people.
Okay, top 45 players who could be traded by Friday.
This is in order.
Okay.
Yeah.
Number one, Brock Nelson, Pending.
UFA, 6 million AAV.
Number two, Scott Lawton.
One year remaining, three mil.
Number three, Brandon Tannave, pending
UFA, 3.5. Number four,
Jake Evans.
Mention the teams, too.
Okay, sorry. Brock Nelson, New York Islander,
Scott Lawton, Philadelphia Flyers, Brandon Tanniff, Seattle
Cracken. Number four, Jake Evans, Center, Montreal
Canadians pending UFA, 1.7.
Number five, in his list with Seth Jones,
been traded. Number six, Casey Middlestat,
center, Aves, two years remaining at
575, which is such a
fucking steal.
Seven.
Bowen Byram, defense, Sabres, pending RFA, 385.
Sussi, Canucks, defense, one year remaining three-mill.
Raquel, left-wing, penguins, three years remaining five-mill.
Streaky, though.
Tough one.
Ten, Palmary, right-wing, Islanders, pending UFA, five-mill.
Number 11, Armea, right-wing, Canadians, pending UFA, 3.4.
Number 12, Besser, right-wing, Canucks, pending UFA, 6.65.
Number 13.
Center, Blackhawks, pending UFA 2-Mill.
Number 14, Nyquist, traded.
Do you want to keep going?
No.
A lot of players left.
Yep.
A lot of players left.
Obviously, some big names.
We've got big names like Alex Tuck.
We got Elias Pedersen, Dylan Cousins.
But that's Frank's top 14.
Yep.
Weird number that we just went with.
But the list starts to get.
It ended with someone being traded.
Yeah.
I like that.
A lot of names.
A lot, a lot, a lot of names.
We've got a lot of teams.
And I want to talk about that.
really quick. And I want you to jump in.
Yep. But I think teams is a huge thing to consider here.
When you look at the standings right now, who are buyers, who are sellers, who are like the big sellers, who's really going to be hunting here.
I look at big buyers, we're going to call Toronto Maple Leafs.
If this isn't the year to do it, I don't know what will be, truly.
That sounds so funny to say when you got like Austin Matthews and you got Mitt,
but like, are you going to resign Mitch?
That's part of the question.
This to me is the best chance that they have had in a long time.
They need to buy hard.
I think the Panthers with Chuck going out,
they just got Seth Jones.
They realize their window is like,
you got to win again in this year or next year.
They're big buyers.
I love the lightning as big buyers.
They have emerged as phenomenal.
Capitals.
Buyers, not huge buyers.
Yeah, yeah.
You're so good.
Add a piece or two.
Carolina needs to be big buyers.
Devils, like we said, with Jack going down now.
Huge question of what do you do?
Do you think you can win this year?
Do you think you can go to the Cup?
Or are you super young and you go,
just get back into the playoffs and we got to figure it out?
Detroit has to be a buyer.
Columbus, I think you're in the best sweet spot of all time at this point.
It's stay in playoffs.
In the East, Canadian sell at the right price.
Pittsburgh, sell, sell, sell,
Boston, sell, sell,
Rangers, in my opinion.
Sell, sell, sell, but I think they are
so stupid and they're like, J.T. is playing
so well and Zabenejad is playing
so well with JT here. We should buy.
Sell, you idiots.
Buffalo will get into
crazy. Buyers on
the West, Dallas, huge
buyers, Winnipeg, huge buyers.
Minnesota, you've got some interesting
LTIR, I'd be huge buyers.
Vegas and Edmonton and Colorado to me
got to be smart buyers.
Yep, and they will be.
And then the rest.
A guarantee they will be.
Are sellers to me.
Yep.
So, even flames?
To me, the flames are the capitals of two years ago
when the capitals traded Orlov and Hathway to Boston
when they were like a bubble team.
And everyone was like, whoa.
Why are you selling?
Yeah.
To me, Calgary is that where I'm like this.
Could Calgary make the playoffs?
Yes.
Are they going to lose immediately in the first round?
Also, yes.
So if they have guys that they could sell for pieces, do it.
Okay.
I would not buy if I was Calgary.
You aren't doing shit.
Yeah, I agree, but it's nice to get in if you're them.
Like the caps, I was kind of like,
you have the playoff experience in that locker room.
If you have the flames, I'm kind of like...
To me, I look at the flames and I look at their, like, youth and the wolf situation.
I'm like, you're going to get in next year or you're going to be in the conversation.
Like, what is getting in and losing in the first round?
Dude, nothing.
Experience.
Come on.
It's...
No, I disagree with that.
Experience?
What the fuck do they need?
Dude,
playoff is a completely
different animal.
Yeah.
Good for the city.
Obviously, I just,
you know,
I don't like it.
I certainly wouldn't buy
and cost yourself
prospects and players.
Yep, agree.
Okay.
Are there players,
we got to get organized here.
What do you want to do here?
I think I would like to talk
about some,
I have some guys that I think
are going to get moved,
and I think you maybe do two.
I have a ton.
Okay.
I'll go first.
Please go back and forth.
I think that the New York Islanders are going to trade Brock Nelson.
Okay.
And do you?
I think they should.
Okay.
I think they should.
Brock Nelson, to me, last year of a $6 million AAB contract, he's about to be 34 years old.
He's also a 30 goal score every single year.
There have been talks that the Islanders are considering resigning him.
He loves playing there.
He would like to resign.
My stance on Brock Nelson is if you're the New York Islanders
and you are consistently in this position like assholes,
why would you re-sign a 33-year-old player?
Correct.
I just don't think he is part of the future.
If you were possibly going to win a Stanley Cup in the next three years,
you do resign him.
Yep.
I do not believe that you are going to do that.
So I would absolutely trade him.
And I think there are so fucking many teams who could use it.
There are.
And that's why I think it's actually going to be competitive.
Yep.
I have him landing with.
with the Minnesota Wild.
Love the Minnesota Wild for Brock Nelson.
Erickson Eck 5.25.
If he's not coming back this regular season, bang, long-term
IR, stash that, bring Brock in.
He's a Minnesota guy, first of all.
And they could use that body there big time.
This is a team that took a jump that we weren't really ready for.
Everyone was kind of projecting next year for the Wild.
If this is a guy that could come in,
help you legitimately make a push right now because this team when they were firing to start
the year was as good as anybody could make a push right now and is a guy the Minnesota's future
feels so close on the horizon that he could be a player for you in the next couple years you know what I
mean you get him for this push right now but it's not just a and then he'll leave or even if we are signing
him who the fuck cares disagree this is a guy that could help you in the playoffs right now and then
if you sign a reasonable contract next year as all that money's coming to
off the books and the caps going on up and all that shit
gets to play back at home
and make Minnesota a threat
over the next four years.
That's maybe a lot for him, but three years.
That's a fucking massive win.
They might have to pay too much for their liking
because I think you're right.
He's going to have a ton of suitors and maybe that drives them out of the game.
But I would look very seriously at that if I'm Minnesota
and that's where I like him going.
I like that a lot.
I kind of hate how,
Florida and Vegas keep coming up for like all of these, you know, pending UFA.
Yeah.
Older, but like solid wingers.
I do like Florida.
Like Chuck going out for the rest of the regular season,
I feel like Brock Nelson would be such a good player for Florida.
Minnesota makes a ton of sense, and I do like it.
It's almost like the Parisi when he left New Jersey and went to Minnesota.
Yeah.
I'm like, Brock, go get traded to Minnesota and also sign.
Go home.
Like, just stay in Minnesota.
I love that one a lot.
Let's talk about John Gibson.
Okay.
John Gibson, he gets brought up every single year.
He has two years after this under his contract at 6.4 Mill.
Dostall seems to be like the guy in Anaheim.
He's 24 years old, though.
He's an RFA at the end of this year, which means he's going to sign.
They obviously have a ton of cap space.
And this is almost looking like a Boston, Swamen, Omark situation where it's like, well,
like, what if Dostal signs a three-year by $6 million deal?
Are you like, let's just keep riding?
The ducks are close to a wildcarts spot.
I know, I know, I know.
So do you just believe in this situation?
They did just pick up Huso from Detroit.
I immediately was like, does this mean?
We're going to see Gibson moved.
But people are saying, no, no, no.
They've got an injury down in the HAL.
That's what HSO is for.
Either way, I think that there are a lot of teams who are playoff teams or bubble teams
that could use a goal.
Detroit, Edmonton, obviously, the ones that comes up all the time.
Carolina for me.
Montreal for me, Columbus for me.
You look at Columbus, the fact that they are,
in the playoffs.
Mersliken's is their guy.
If you look at Mersliken's numbers,
they're not that great.
I know.
So part of me goes,
could you go and get John Gibson
for the next two years after this
with this current Columbus Blue Jackets team
at a $6.4 million cap hit
and be like, oh, wow, this is amazing.
I think there's a situation
where obviously we see tandoms
are the new answer in the regular season,
certainly in the NHL.
Gibson, though, I'm like,
you are not the guy in Anaheim.
Like, it's Dostol.
Dostol is the guy for them.
I could see Gibson.
and being like Columbus up and kind of like love what they're doing i don't know man to me
columbus if they all of a sudden figured out a move and got gibson in there to play with merselikins like
you're in the playoffs and now you're like you're dangerous dude this last year i was like 10 goalies
are getting traded and like none of them did yeah this and i think you actually picked gibson last
year i didn't this is the year dude we've been saying we've been screaming a gibson trade every year
I'm telling you, bro, it's fucking happening this year.
Edmonton seems so passionately committed to Skinner.
Like over and over every time this comes up.
So I just can't see it being them.
I don't either.
And also, like with Skinner, with all the stuff that he's gone through with that,
the fucking Kobe's guy, like the mental health coach,
bringing in another starting goalie would destroy Skinner.
So it's like, unless you trade him, which they aren't doing, I don't think.
I agree.
I don't think Edmondon's getting a goal.
It's them.
And I actually really love the Columbus take because there's a few of these bubble teams that I'm like, oh, that'd be good.
It has to be Carolina, dude.
If I am the Carolina hurricanes, everybody's talking about like, well, what's Carolina going to do?
They're, they got, you said they're going to be buyers.
And I could see that.
I actually read the other day that they were like a prediction was they are going to extend rent in out of nowhere.
Like it's going to be like, boom, random extension coming from the clouds.
And like fucking maybe, dude, I don't know.
Because clearly you have to be having that conversation.
You have to be working your bag off to try to extend him or fucking trade him.
Yeah.
But if you are the hurricanes, dude, and you've got, you've got random, you've got all your guys here, I'm sorry because I really like Freddie Anderson.
But it's just like.
Chris, I could not be more with you.
Like, to me, it's like they're constantly like, can you win the cup?
And I don't, I think that they lose because they don't have a bona fide stud in that.
Trade for fucking Gibson.
What would you say two years left six four or something?
It's a great, great cap.
What are we talking about here?
He's a great goalie.
He's having a great fucking year.
And Anaheim, yeah, they probably want a high price and like whatever, but it just, it doesn't matter.
You're the Carolina arcades, dude, it doesn't matter anymore.
And no disrespect to Anaheim, but dude, a lot of people who try to shit on Gibson, they're like, oh, his numbers last couple of years.
If you put Gibson on a team with a good defense in front of him, I think you're going to be pretty shocked with Gibson's numbers.
Dude, it has to be Carolina.
And I actually think it might happen this year.
Yeah.
Like, show me Gibson on Carolina and show the fucking met that you're like, this is, this is, we are not fucking around.
Yeah.
Miko Rantan and Gibson in one deadline.
Let's talk about Miko Rantan since you just brought it up.
Miko Rantan with the cap situation, $4.6 million cap hit for the rest of this year.
He is obviously UFA at the end of the season.
We don't want to spend too much time talking about it because we talked about it a lot last episode.
But little scoop here.
we are hearing that there's a chance these conversations of him not signing are coming up because he wants a bigger city.
For various reasons, Raleigh might be too small of a place for him to consider signing long term.
I love Raleigh.
So a big trade that we've heard Elliot Friedman say this, we've heard a number of people say this, L.A. seems to be a big option.
the names that we're hearing in the LA possible trade are
Brandt Clark, Quentin Byfield, and Adrian Kempi.
I am going to release a hot take here
that probably will get me called into it.
I personally believe, on their own, from a solo standpoint,
I think Adrian Kempi is a better natural goal scorer than Miko Ranton.
L.A.'s problem right now is goal scoring.
Tons of people are going, oh, we need to,
come up with the long-term answer for that.
If you trade for Miko Ranton in your L.A.,
I assume it means you are going,
he's in L.A., big enough city,
he's going to extend for a year.
So you're like, Miko Rantan's our guy
for the next seven, eight years.
I would not,
I, like, straight up with the fact that he is under contract,
I would not trade Adrian Kempi for Miko Rannan.
Flat out.
Like, don't do, do not,
that doesn't answer your problems.
Your best center is 36, 37 years old.
you have Quentin Byfield, who is supposed to be the heir apparent,
but he's playing wing a lot, he's playing center.
Like, you cannot be like, yeah, another wing solves our problems.
The other one's Brant Clark, Quentin Byfield.
Quentin Byfield just signed a big contract.
He's under term for a long time.
Brant Clark is team controlled, and he has been fucking amazing this year.
And he is your answer when Doughty leaves.
Like, you are so fucking lucky.
You've had Drew Doughty since 2008,
and now all of a sudden this kid,
emerges. When Dowdy gets injured, Brant Clark gets a chance, comes up, he's running
P.P. at his young age, absolutely you do not trade that person. So, again, that one to me is like
at L.A., if you do that, and it feels like such a classic desperate Kings move of being like,
we're going to go get Rantman. And I'm like, dude, no, that is not it. So one to keep an eye on.
Vegas obviously comes up with Rantan in all the time. I've heard the Jets, possibly moving
Eilers and some other people.
But again, I think the rumblings we're hearing of rent and not wanting to resign are true.
That's what I think.
I do also believe that they are looking at the situation, Carolina, going, we cannot
fucking trade this guy unless it is a monster return, unless it is a Matthew Cachuck to
Florida level deal where it's like, we got back stuff.
that is worth it to us.
Either UFAs who are like,
I will absolutely resign
or people under term.
Otherwise,
the deal is not going to happen.
Which is what they thought
they were doing when they moved Naches.
Like they were like,
I know.
And I was like,
oh,
whoops.
I know.
I'm with you so hard on the Kings thing
because every time I'm looking at
the King's roster,
you're going,
God,
they need a legitimate scoring threat
to play with Kempi and Kopitar,
in my opinion.
Because like,
I know Fiala had been in that spot.
in the past, he hasn't been playing on that line that much right now,
and it's like, you know, they're working it out.
So if that's what you need,
and obviously everybody is this fucking fantasy football over again.
Everybody wants to give up nothing to get someone sick back.
It's not the way the world works.
But the answer to who's a good goal score
that I can play with Kempi and Kopitar isn't giving up Kempi.
Like that now, whoops, we're in the same fucking spot.
I think that was like a, you know, like just a speculation rumbling.
Yeah, like that one would be fucking so dumb.
I'm like, oh, that's, you're fucked.
So yeah, rantanin, that will be fascinating to watch unfold over the next,
over the next week.
Because I'm like, if he stay, actually, dude, I would live if I'm Carolina if he fucking
stays here and we make a cup run and he doesn't sign.
You know, like I'd live with that more than I'd live with getting fleeced on a trade
right now.
Honestly, I agree.
Like we said, if you go through this cup run, they don't win the cup and he resigns
elsewhere.
It's also a disaster.
but at the same time I'm like, well,
I honestly think that that is better keeping him
and hoping to God that you win a cup
and then losing him in free agency is not as bad
as trading him for something not great.
It sucks.
All of the trade.
I mean, like that is one.
If you went ranting in for Byfield and Brand Clark,
if I'm Carolina, I'm like this, wow, it's a great deal.
Yep.
But again, if you're L.A. and you do that,
you are so fucking dumb.
Yeah, correct.
So I am going to will that out of existence
for obvious reasons.
Yep.
I would say, as much as I want it,
because we know we love drama season,
I would say he doesn't get moved
because I don't think that there's a blockbuster deal
out there that makes sense for every team.
Agree.
I really don't.
Agree.
It was hard enough to make this one happen.
Yeah.
Unless it's Pedersen.
Yeah.
But I don't think money-wise,
that would be difficult.
That would be so fucked.
I want to move on to a couple Buffalo boys.
Okay.
Bowen, Byron, and Dillon Cousins.
Yep.
Let's get into those two.
Something very interesting
that has come out of Buffalo. Buffalo, last place in the Atlantic.
Unbelievable. How are you?
Unbelievable.
Buffalo, we have heard, is not interested in picks and prospects anymore.
They feel they have plenty of those. What they want are NHL-ready players.
That feels insane to me because what Buffalo is doing is talking about trading Bowen Byram,
talk about trading Dylan Cousins, talk about trading J.J. Paturca.
You are trading away all of your NHL-ready players, which you guys have been doing now,
for five years and watching them all go win Stanley Cups elsewhere.
So I am so confused by their strategy,
like beyond confused.
And I know the answer would be,
we don't believe that players we have are a right fit.
And I'm like, well, dude,
they seem to be right fits everywhere else they go.
So let's figure this out.
Bowen Byron, Byron, 23 years old,
he has 29 points tied a career high in 58 games right now.
He's a plus seven on the last place savers.
He's an RFA this summer.
He has been playing first line all season pretty much
with Rasmus Dahlene.
In my opinion, he is going to be looking for first pairing money.
Yep.
They believe that they might not be able to afford that given Dahlene,
power,
and Samuelson all on hefty contracts.
Can you also pay another,
this will be your four,
I think Samuelson's something like four and a half.
But I think Byram's going to be asking eight.
Yeah,
eight plus.
Now,
Dylan Cousins,
7.1 mill A.A.V for three,
years after this season. Is that it?
I thought it was more, dude. It's crazy.
30 points and 11
goals this season.
The obvious one, and we
know per Elliot Friedman, per other
people, per us,
we know that Buffalo and Vancouver have been
in talks multiple times this year.
And the obvious trade that makes sense when you just
look at that money very simply, a straight
up, cousins and Byron to the Canucks for
Elias Pedersen makes a ton of sense.
A ton of sense.
Does Elias Pedersen
do it is the big question. Yeah. But Cousins to me is...
The Cousins signed until 2030. Oh, is it? It's more than three. Oh, wait, no.
It's five years left. Dylan Cousins, five years remaining seven point one Milly-A-B.
So it's four after this year or it's five after this year? That makes sense to be five after
this year? One, two, three, four. Yeah, five after this year. Jesus Christ. Okay, sorry, five after
this year. Okay, here's my thing.
Dylan Cousins, I believe, is a good player.
But again, 11 goals, 30 points this season.
That's not great.
You're like a 50-point guy.
Bowen Byram, 23 years old.
Bowen Byram is a very good defense.
That is the one that I have sharp eyes on.
And the RFA thing's very interesting.
You would assume pretty much anywhere that that goes,
Bowen is like, yeah, I'll re-sign here.
That one is one that I'm like, dude, sharp eyes.
on this.
The entire, dude, you're so right about Buffalo, bro.
Like, the entire team is on Frank's list, like, hi.
Cousins, Byram, Perterka, Tuck.
Dude, Zucker.
Like, I think they're actually going to trade Zucker.
Yeah.
Zucker feels like an obvious one.
And again, that's, like, I have a bargain bin list.
I have a bargain bin list of guys that includes Zucker.
It includes David Savard in Montreal, Mario Ferraro, Nick Bukstad, Ryan Donato,
Jake Evans.
I throw Armia in there.
Like a lot of these guys who are, you know,
going to be bottom six or bottom pairing guys that are like,
yeah, you add some depth to teams that need.
Like Zucker to Washington is one.
Like Washington is in that camp of guys that I'm like,
go get depth guys.
Go get the Chris Kelly's and Rich Peverellies that are going to help you win a Stanley Cup.
Yes, which they do, by the way.
Yeah.
And like Zucker define bargain men.
Is it contract?
Bargain bin to me is like, yeah, your cap hit is under five.
You got a year left, maybe two, but it's like UFA up to two.
And you're probably 30 years or older.
Zucker 44 points in 54 games this year.
Amazing.
Fucking awesome.
Playing a one-year deal deal.
I'm like if they're not going to extend.
And that's a one-year deal, dude, that's a first-round pick.
I know that they're like, I don't want a first-round pick, but I'm like, dude,
a team will give you a first-round pick for that, 44 points right now.
Like, if you're not going to extend, how fucking old is he, dude?
If you're not going to extend him, 33, if you're not going to extend him, you're
not going to extend him. I'm like, move him, dude.
Yeah. So that, I think, is insane.
You just said...
I was talking about the Buffalo Boys.
No, but your bargain bin...
Oh, oh, Evans. Jake Evans.
Number, what did I say? Four on Sarajevoly's list.
Yeah. Jake Evans, Montreal Canadian Center, pending UFA 1.7.
I love him for Washington.
Yeah, bottom six.
Yep. Like, he's a perfect bottom six. I love that.
Do you think Ryan Leonard comes up?
Absolutely. And do you think they might be less inclined to make a move because they're like, well, we're getting Ryan Leonard?
Well, it's a situation where I feel like they look at that as like that's a move for that. Like you get Ryan Leonard. It's so funny at the beginning of the season we were talking about New York and I was like Gabe Pro is going to be a playoff. And like maybe they bring him up. They probably will bring him up. I know Gabe is going to leave after this year, BC or I don't know that. Sorry. But I mean like if I'm New York, I'd almost be like, I do not want to bring Gay Pro up to this fucking dumpster fire. Even if you make them.
playoffs. Like I think Gabe is a natural center. Yep. And now you've got Trocheck Zabanajad. I know
you move Zabanajad to right wing, but like, yeah, you could put Gabe Perra as your third
line center with with Trocheck and Miller as your top two centers, sure. And they probably will
do that. But yeah, going back to Washington, you definitely look at Leonard as a trade deadline acquisition.
Yeah. But I think you keep going. Like go get more people. I really, really want to talk about
Noah Dobson. Okay. Yep.
Noah Dobson, $4 million cap hit RFA this summer.
We talked about Dallas a little while ago.
I still think that that is a perfect fit.
Yeah, you love that.
With Hayskin and going down, getting Dobson, I know Dobson's banged up, but he's coming back soon.
I think that that would be such a good pairing.
Talk to you today about this.
I absolutely love this one.
Give me Noah Dobson on the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Dude, yeah, I have a Tampa one I want to talk to you about, but you like this.
Go ahead.
Let's transition to that one after this.
Tampa Bay Lightning, dude, if you look at their line combos right now,
they are, in my opinion, one of the hottest teams in the NHL.
Yeah, dude, they're fucking, they're making noise, yeah.
I think they are a middle six addition and possibly defense away from going,
oh my God, you're going to win the Stanley Cup.
Not just make a run.
You're going to win the Stanley Cup.
Vassie's playing out of his mind.
Your top line is insane, but I do think they need middle six help.
middle six help they've got some openings on wing in a big way where they could get a second
or a third line winger that i'm like oh fuck their d is victor headman and j j mozer ryan mcdonna
and eric sernak amyl lillberg and darren rash dude no adoptson coming in and being that right
side d pairing with victor headman that to me feels like one of the more perfect pairings i've
ever heard of in my life. Those two. And then you can just
bump one of those guys down, add now to that depth. Holy shit, do I love that.
Headman and McDonough are both getting older. That feels like a guy that you make that
trade. He's RFA and you go, we're going to extend Noah Doppler. Like he's going to be
our defenseman for us for the future. Yep. I love Noah Dobson to the Tampa Bay Lightning. God,
that'd be such a big move for them. It would be such a big move. But it's honestly, dude,
we joked about this when they would win the cup. They,
never make a big move.
They make these middle moves that nothing matters.
But I think Dobson would be like the sneaky move.
Yeah, it is.
It is a big move.
But like Noah's, this isn't 73 point year Noah Dobson.
This is like a sneaky move.
Good point.
I also love Yanni Gord to them.
That was mine, dude.
What?
Ah, okay, nice.
Yonnie Gord hasn't played, I wrote this down, hasn't played since what, Jan second, I think.
Yeah, hasn't played since Jan second.
He had a sports.
But dude, he had, when he went out, he had 16 points in 35 games, but you go back to those
Tampa years. He had that one monster year when he was 26. He had 64 points. But other than that,
it's like 48, 30, 36. Like, he is, he is a disruptor. Like, he's not, he's not ever going to
pump in the score sheet. He is a perfect Tampa Bay Lightning playoff run, middle six, bottom six
guy. And if I'm the crackin, it's like, he's hard.
hurt. He's not even going to play probably till the deadline. So if you're like, I can get something
for him, that's a win. And if I'm Tampa, dude, I go, I know exactly what I want, like, I saw
a bunch of reports that was like, Marshaan would be a great fit on Tampa. Of course he would. He just
played with some of those boys. Like, that'd be awesome. But Tampa doesn't do that really. And,
and dude, if they can get Brad for a deal. Could you imagine Brad playing left wing with Sorrelli?
Be incredible. Fuck. So, like, if they can get them, they, they will do it. But they, they don't need,
to your point, they don't need a Marshaan
to make themselves a cup threat.
They get a Yanni Gord
who fits in perfectly with Cooper and that system
knows a lot of the boys and is like, let's fucking go, let's run this back.
That is a really great trade.
And I know it's like the center depth is fine
to find a fine already, but it's like you can find
places we both to play like this.
That one is just, it reeks so much
to me of like, oh yeah, here go the bolts again
on their bullshit.
I know. That's why it's so, it rings so true.
Yeah.
one of those, and we can transition this into a couple other teams, I think Trent Frederick is a great
option for them. For Tampa? Yeah. Trent Frederick is 2.3 AAV in a final year, UFA at the end of the year.
He's 27 years old. He's having a rough year, but he adds so much size and grit. And he is the perfect
type of disruptor player that I think would be great for Tampa. And the other team that to me makes so much
sense for Trent is the devils. Yep. I think the devils are full. I like that a lot. I like that a lot.
small and shifty forwards,
Trent Frederick and your bottom six
is just, it's so perfect.
I've taken a quick break to talk to you guys about Bauer.
I love Bauer gear so much.
It's amazing.
I've been a Bauer guy since the day I put on skates
and I'm a Bauer guy right now.
And they've got everything, man.
All the pads, I barely wear shoulders anymore
but my elbows, my shin pads.
I might even get new shin pads
because I've used mine so long the elastics going soft
And I go, Bauer, I need the freshest chin pads in the game.
They go, no problem.
I already have them.
Boom, here you go.
So everything you want, head to toe, Bauer gear everywhere.
And my favorite thing that we're rocking right now is the Twitch.
Absolutely insane, insane stick.
Okay?
It's got the Twitch taper tech.
It's 345 grams.
I can barely feel the thing.
I literally, I have a synergy still.
No joke.
I still have an old, an original sackic synergy in my garage.
And I picked it up and held it next to the Twitch.
It's a joke.
I should be weightlifting with the synergy compared to the Twitch.
That's how nuts this thing is.
I'm serious.
And everything about it, it's got enhanced protection, so it's not going to snap.
It's got more pop in your shot with this flex and then reverb.
Dude, it fires back so quick.
All the game now, because I think the Twitch, I've got a 77.
I think the highest they offer flex wise is in the 80s, and that's because the shot,
the way you shoot the puck has changed.
It's not this huge load wrist shot anymore.
It's you've got to be able to stick handle right here and get that shot off like that in a phone booth.
And that is exactly what the Twitch is built for, literally.
is exactly what it's for.
So go to Bauer.com, check out everything they've got.
But get your hands on one of those Twitch sticks.
You are going to love it.
I think he fits perfectly with that roster.
I think it's a move that makes sense.
I think the devils have picks prospects in the category that Boston desperately needs.
To me, I'm like, oh my God, dude.
The devils and Trent Frederick make so much sense that I'm like, what are we doing here?
Come on.
Make that trade right now.
We talked about Jack Hughes going down with an injury.
I think that's going to drastically change what they're doing here.
We don't know.
We haven't heard anything yet on Jack Hughes.
It looked like a broken wrist to me.
Yeah.
That was such a weird collision.
But again, I think they need size.
I think they need size and I think they need the bottom six depth.
And I would say scoring.
And, you know, Trent had career highs last year.
I think he had 18 goals.
I think he has like seven this year.
He's having a tough year.
But I do just think he is a great.
option for them. That's really good. Great option. Where are you at on Raquel? Okay, I'm glad you brought
up Raquel. Raquel is in this category for me of difficult but attractive players. Three years
left at 5 mil. Yep. Super palatable. Great. Super palatable. But this guy is like,
Ricard Raquel is like a 30 goal guy. He's six times he's at over 20 goals. I think he's 30 years old.
Is that right? 30 or 31?
I think he would cost a lot.
Three years at five mil.
And if this guy is like this...
31 years old?
31 years old, 3 years left on that deal.
And he's going to be consistently pumping you in 25 to 35 goals every year at 5 mil with the cap going up.
That is going to be a hefty price tag.
That might be a boost, though, on the goals.
He's had 20 goals six times in his career, dude.
I know, I know.
But, you know, he's only scored 30 when he was 23 and 24.
it hasn't since.
But he's going to this year.
He's going to this year.
Yep.
So good point.
I think, dude,
I was reading a report that was like Pittsburgh won't sell him.
And we always talk about this where we're like,
they just got to keep Crosby happy to.
And Crosby's clearly having fun with him this season.
But I'm like, you, Raquel is a pretty streaky score.
And I'm like, get straight him right now, dude.
Like, this is peak Raquel.
He hasn't scored 30 goals since he was 20 fucking three.
He's going to do it right now.
I'm like, trade him.
Trade him right now.
Like, what are you going to wait till next year when he only scores 24?
And you're like, fuck.
Dude, it is, like, to your point, it is the best time ever to sell this guy.
Jesus Christ, what are we talking about?
I stand by with Pitt, like, what the fuck are we doing, man?
Like, you guys are so stupid.
Like, you just just stop doing this.
Like, we just got to keep Sid happy.
Like, no, dude, you guys are spiraling into obscurity.
You need to sell.
And, like, we've just been talking about teams that can use a high-scoring winger.
Like, it would be fucking.
And you're right, it's going to cost a lot.
So it's not ranting in, but like if the kings got Raquel and put them on the line with those boys,
I'd be like, great.
You know, there are teams that can use this exact thing.
Yeah, it's interesting.
I really love, I like Minnesota with their LTIR for Raquel.
I really like Florida.
And then Utah is one that came up.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Is an interesting, like, they could flip like Machelli and a pick.
Mm-hmm.
And Utah could take on Raquel as like a, and we're like,
you're part of this project for the next three years.
I love Utah for Raquel.
I actually, Dan, good call here.
I kind of haven't,
I've slept on Utah where they were at,
but their ownership has already proven
that they're going to make big dick moves.
So I wouldn't be that shocked.
If out of nowhere, they made a huge, huge play here.
Even with the future in mind,
you know, not even trying to push this year,
just like, okay, this is what's happening.
Yeah.
I've got a couple more that are really interesting.
I want to talk about Toronto.
Okay, please.
Like I said, I think this is Toronto's best chance.
It might be their best chance they ever have.
Sounds crazy.
I know.
But you've got Tavares and Marner becoming UFA.
I think that there is no fucking planet on Earth
that both of those guys come back.
I also, I'm going to say this.
I am hearing, if Mitch Marner does not resign,
there is a very, very, very significant amount of interest
coming from the New Jersey does.
Devils. In the off season? In the off season. So I'm not saying any tampering's going on,
but for those who remember, your boy over here did break Pesci signing with New Jersey.
And I'm just saying, I think, if he gets to UFA, keep eyes on that.
Yep. I bring that up as to say, there is definitely a chance that he doesn't come back.
So this is a big window. You look at that roster, what do they need? In my opinion, they need a third
line center.
Okay.
They improve depth down the middle, and I think they are fucking scary as hell.
You add a very, very significant third center to this group, and they will not be
bullied by teams.
They will not struggle on secondary scoring.
They will also not struggle on line matching.
I think a name that people love is Braden Chen.
Yep.
Braden Chen is a tough one as well, though.
I know.
$6.5 million cap it for the next three years, and he's got a full no move.
However, obviously knows Barube very well.
That one is interesting, but it would cost a fuck ton.
Now, what do they have?
Not a first-round draft pick.
They do, however, have good prospects.
They have Cowan, which is interesting.
And I just think there's a world where if they can make the money work,
St. Louis could see that as a good opportunity to build around Thomas and Cairo,
look towards the future, look towards youth with Montgomery.
and possibly get a huge return.
You could do a 2026 first-round pick
as well as Cowan and maybe some of these guys.
But again, got to make the money work.
But I think some of these centers that are available,
if you look at that number, I think Brock Nelson,
you know, if you're playing center,
if you're playing third-line center for the Toronto Maple Leafs,
that's another interesting one.
But I could see Tree Living and Toronto doing something monster
to make that depth in the forward group,
especially down the middle, so significant that all of a sudden they become a favorite in the East.
Yeah, especially because I would say last year they didn't really go huge splash.
Didn't go that hard.
Right, because after Dubis the year before was like, you know, it, um, you went and got like O'Reilly.
Yeah.
And the defenseman, yeah, it was like McCabe.
Like everybody's like bringing it all in.
Boom.
Actually, they got out of the first round, but nothing swept.
And then pretty calm last year, first round exit.
So I actually agree with you where it's like you kind of got to go.
You got to show the fan base something of like, here we go.
Buddy, I think this is it.
Yeah, again, like Tavares Marner, USA.
Yeah, yeah.
It's, I think this is it.
I like the take, dude.
I think, and I think they will.
I don't know if I have a pick because, like, is it,
I was just looking up there, lines.
Like, is it center, I guess?
Because, like, Nick Robertson, dude,
asked for a trade a year ago.
And then this year, Ruby was kind of like,
listen, you are going to get more.
Burn. And he has
and he's done a good. And now he said I want
to stay. So I'm like, okay, well, he's probably not on the
way out. Max Domi, you have slotted in
at 3C and was fucking
great in the playoffs last year, by the way.
And he's been pretty good.
And then Holmberg, we just talked about,
has been fucking awesome on the wing this year.
And I love Maddie Nyes. You know?
Yeah, you're not trading Maddie Nyes. Having the best year of his
career. He's definitely one of these
prospects that people are like, or not prospects.
He's definitely one of these players that is like
that could be a trade piece, but I don't think that they
move him. So it's kind of interesting where I'm like,
God, dude, like, what did the Leafs even fucking
need, dude? You know, like... I think it's
a third center. Yeah. Look at
Max Stomy's stats, dude. Like, that is
not it. Like, sure, he had a great
playoff last year. You also lost in the first round.
Couldn't have been that fucking great. But because everyone
else blows, and he was giving you
what you're asking for. That's the thing that doesn't matter, dude, is like
it's, if you
can improve him there...
Yeah. And, like, you look, he's not
having a good year. Yeah, 24 points.
It's pretty simple.
Bro, he had 72 one year.
Yeah.
Jesus Christ.
It's absurd.
God, he blacked out.
That was crazy.
What a season.
Okay.
I'd like to talk about my Red Wings.
Okay.
And I'd like to talk about a deal that I think makes a lot of sense, one that I really want.
I have said the Red Wings to me, making the playoffs is everything.
I think Talbot is your goalie.
for this year.
I think COSA is your goalie of the future.
So don't panic and do anything.
Unless there's a situation where there's a good deal
where you do get a Gibson who's under term
and you're like, this is our guy for the next two or three years.
But I would believe in COSA and I wouldn't do anything crazy
because Talbot has been solid.
To me, I look at their roster and I need another center.
I need someone to help Dillen Market.
Yep.
I think there's an interesting opportunity to buy low on Trevor Zegris.
Yeah, there is.
I really like Trevor Zegris not in Anahun.
I think the time is up in terms of he's got 16 points in 34 games.
I don't think it's going to work there.
I think he needs a change of scenery.
I think he needs a change of pace.
And I think a good GM, a good captain, that's no disrespect to Guiq.
or anything like that. You know what I'm saying.
I think surrounding him
with good hockey people is
going to get Trevor Zegris back to the all-star
caliber player he is. He's familiar
with Dylan Larkin. I think Detroit would be
a great city for him. He's obviously familiar
with Michigan in terms of the U.S. Dev program.
I think
buying low on Trevor Zegris wouldn't
cost them too much and him
going like this with Trevor going
second line center. Yeah. Enjoy.
You're playing
between De Brinket and Kane.
I love J.G. Comfer too, but yeah.
I love Comfer too, but Comfer is, to me, he's a Charlie Coil.
You are a perfect third line center.
Yeah.
I love that opportunity.
I think it would be great for him.
He's got one year left at 5.7 mil.
And I think it's also a move where I'm like, you got better with him, even with his down year.
I think you get better and you have an opportunity to stay here in the playoffs hunt.
To me, I fucking love it.
We've been talking about where he could possibly exist.
Yeah.
I think Trevor Zeger.
needs like a hockey town.
And I love that move.
Do you think they move him this deadline?
I do not know.
I would guess no.
I think it's probably more likely a summer move.
But again, I don't know what they're thinking,
but I've said a number of times on here,
you know I love Trevor Zegers and I believe in Trevor Zegers.
I believe his best path forward is not with Anaheim.
I think he needs a change of senior.
Yeah.
I'm worried.
Me too, completely.
And I think they are a little.
afraid of that, if you know what I'm saying.
I think they go, so we look like fucking morons.
If we go, Zegris just needs to trade a scenery,
didn't work out, change the scenery, didn't work out,
or they trade him to Detroit.
He lights it up with Debrinkette and Kane,
and they make the playoffs,
and he becomes the 80-point guy.
We always knew he would be,
and then they go, that was fucking stupid.
Well, that's so fair, Chris, but that's life, right?
That's just some players that's happened to Buffalo a billion times.
But we're making fun of them, too, you know.
But I'm already making fun of Anaheim.
Yeah.
Like you had this kid who had back-to-back 60 plus seasons and now look at him.
You don't think that that's maybe possibly with what's going on in Anaheim as well as the point.
Like to me, what do you do?
You keep him for next year and he has another year like this and then he walks for free.
Yeah.
You look stupid anyway.
At least do something.
And I think if you trade Trevor Zegger's, you're going to get a decent amount.
It's not like you're buying.
Get something bad.
It's not like you're selling crazy low.
Look, we've talked about it is a seller's market.
Trevor Zerger is a, like I said, former back-to-to-back 60 plus points.
score and super young.
Yeah.
On a dynamic, dude.
So you're not going to get nothing for them.
You're going to get a good amount for them.
I think I'm really interested
to see what Detroit does because you go
last year, they didn't do anything at the deadline.
Remember we were like, get the goalie.
Make this push.
And they didn't do anything.
And then they miss playoffs.
And we were all kind of,
the fans were hitting us up.
Like, dude, I'm questioning Eiserman
now all of a sudden.
and especially to start this year,
here come all the boo birds,
but it's like now they're right in the hunt.
You're right with cop being out,
centers an issue.
But I think blue line's a bit of an issue too.
It is,
but you've got Sandine Pelica coming up,
who I think is one of the best players drafted last year.
Like it's,
I wouldn't,
I love,
oh, here's another one for you.
Sorry,
I said I want to talk about my Red Wings.
I completely agree with you.
You know who I love for the Detroit Red Wings?
Oh.
Brandon Carlo.
Oh, yeah.
That'd be awesome.
Brandon Carlo, Brian Dumolin with Anaheim as well.
That might be a Dumlin and Zegress for stuff.
Can you imagine?
That'd be sick.
I agree.
They need a second, third pairing, just good lockdown defensemen.
Brandon Carlo is exactly that.
So I almost would want to put my attention there if I'm Detroit to just kind of shore that up a little bit.
But I'll be interested to see.
I think my knee jerk would have said Stevie Y goes, my team's on the floor.
I like what I have here.
I disagree with that.
But I know.
But because he did that last year at the deadline, it makes it harder to do it.
It's the same thing we just said about tree living.
No.
I'm like, oh, I don't know that you can just do that again for fear of missing again
slash for fear of losing in the first round again.
So I would expect something.
But Detroit fans listening, and you've gathered this, I guess Zegro's would actually
be pretty splashy, but I wouldn't expect anything major.
I think it's a depth center, depth D is what you're looking at if Iseman makes a movie
he's too calculated to be going to be going crazy.
Again, I think my point is Zegris isn't crazy.
I understand that the name is so big, but it's just, I don't think it would be a crazy
trade.
Me neither, and I think that would be exciting.
I'm not even counting that as a win for me.
I'm saying if they do get Zegris, Detroit fans, you get to go, hell yeah, dude.
Versus I'm saying, just expect a, okay, that's an interesting move.
Let's hope it helps.
I've got one more name, but I want to give you the floor.
I feel like I've been rattling off my ideas.
I only had a few predictions.
One that I liked to.
Vegas is going to do something and I can't quite figure out what it is.
I've been trying to, is that what yours is about?
Nope.
I've been trying to land some predictions in there.
I read one thing about Brandon Tannav and I like that for them actually.
Tannov is a bargain bin guy for me.
And when I say bargain bin, again, it has nothing to do with the player.
I think all of these players are guys that can help a team win a cup.
But yeah, like Tenev, Tenev to me needs to be a Vegas where it's like,
or a Colorado, frankly, where I'm like, you are not going to be super important on this team
as far as like, we're relying on you do a ton of stuff.
It's like, come here and just play your game.
Dude, come here and kill penalties.
Like, that's why I actually like Tannen for Vegas so much because them, similar to Tampa
in their peak, doesn't need anyone flashy.
They won the fucking cup with Jack Eichael at 66 points.
They're like, dude, we are looking for a guy that we have a need.
We plug in and you do this job.
And now we are a well-oiled machine that just fucking rolls four lines down your
fucking throat all playoff series.
And Tatar's a guy that could do that, so I like that for them.
I think the flyers are going to sell people.
I like Law and I forget what I said.
He was on Saravale.
He was second on Saravili's list.
Yeah, Lottie's interesting.
What's his deal?
He's got a couple.
One year remaining three AAV.
As in he's UFA at the end of the year?
No, no.
That would be pending UFAV.
So one year remaining three AAV.
Love that.
And I don't know if Rist Alinean.
Yeah, Rist Alianin is on here, 22.
Two years remaining,
22 on servile.
It was two years remaining 5.1 A.A.V.
Yeah.
I actually saw both of them to the Jets.
And I actually really like that.
I would love that.
You know what I mean?
Just like a little pop, Dan, of like,
Holy shit.
Can you imagine?
They would be so good there.
So I think that's something I have big time eyes on
because it's like that just checks so many boxes in terms of they got,
who'd they play in the first round?
Who of the Jets?
Yeah.
Didn't they lose to?
Um, uh,
Delaware?
No, because Colorado.
It was Vegas, Dallas.
I think it was Colorado.
So they lost to Colorado?
Yeah, I think so.
Look that up.
But either way, the point is, um,
that team is so deep.
That Jets team.
And they've got, they've had good luck.
They've had good health.
Gabe's going.
AI's going.
No, yeah, Vegas lost in the first round of Dallas.
Sorry, yeah, Winnipeg lost in five to Colorado.
Yeah, smacked.
So it's just like those two guys fucking.
playoff grit, dude.
So show me a lotty and wrist-al-line into the Jets.
And now you're cooking in Winnipe.
Yeah, it's very interesting.
I like that one a lot.
Okay, last guy that I really want to talk about is Besser.
Yeah.
Brock Bester, sounds like Vancouver and Besser had an impasse with a contract extension.
$6.6 million a.A.V.
UFA this summer.
He's got 18 and 18 and 58 games.
Besser is
I think such a good player
I think he's having a slightly down year
he obviously scored 40 a couple years ago
maybe that was last year
I think that was last year he scored 40
Yeah
So many teams could use Brock Besser
Los Angeles is the answer
in my opinion
Ooh
It's the name
That would actually be nice
It's the name I think it's the one
No one's really talking about
I think when you're L.A.
and you look at it and you're like
what do we need?
I'm like, it's exactly that.
Yeah.
Again, what we keep running into is like some of these guys,
they're on these cap hits that I'm like,
you need to do something to make it work.
L.A. would need to do something to make it work.
And it is such a seller's market dude.
Like these deals are going to cost so much.
And L.A. is in this weird spot, dude,
where, you know, I said yesterday on Hockey Talk.
I think the scoring that LA desperately needs is on the team.
They're just not going.
There are just guys that aren't going like they should be.
So the question is,
do you unfortunately have to lose some of those guys
to make a deal like this happen?
And it goes into what you always bring up with L.A.
is like, dude, do you trade a guy who you know is really good for you
that's having a not great year to bring in someone
who is going to add some of that scoring?
And then next year, they're a UFA.
Like this summer that player you traded for as UF.
you don't know if you could bring them back,
and now also you've lost that player that you had under term,
and you didn't win the cup.
I am so big on, like, teams need to be so honest with themselves
of, like, can we win the cup this year?
Correct.
Because if you're trading future,
and not 4A, we are going to try to win the cup this year,
I think you've got to be so careful with trades,
especially if you're not prospect and pick rich.
Teams that are prospecting and pick rich, in my opinion,
like Detroit, is where one I am.
I'm like, make a deal.
Like, maybe lose a first-round pick for Trevor's league.
I don't think it would cost that, honestly.
But, like, maybe if it did, I'm like, I wouldn't care if that got you a guy that you're
like, no, this is an answer for the future.
And we weren't going to win the cup this year anyway.
L.A. is in this weird middle ground where I'm like, do you think you can win the cup?
I know guys in that team are like, yes.
Yeah.
Can they?
I don't know.
But also remember, we just said, not remember, just think about that we just said last
week that this feels like one of the more open years in a while.
So maybe a couple years ago, you go, we can't win the cup unless we're one of these three teams.
This year, I think it might open up more trading because people go, we could, though.
We actually could win the cup with one piece.
The last thing I wanted to hit was Marshan.
I know we had talked about what should the Bruins do?
Yeah, this is a good transition because the one thing I wanted to finish up with was sellers.
Obviously, we've got a lot of teams here that we consider buyers.
I would like us each to hit three teams that I'm like, you are smashing the sell button as hard as humanly possible.
Okay.
The Boston Bruins
Yeah
is one for me
Who are you selling
on the Boston Bruins?
Again, it hurts.
Oh, it sucks, dude.
I like so many of those people.
I would sell
I'd sell Freddie
if you get something right for him.
I would sell Brad if
like we talked about
if he was okay with it.
You know,
if he's like,
okay, yeah, sure.
Because I think you would get
something great for him.
I would sell,
we talked about this off air
so I don't want to steal your thunder.
but if you could get return, I would sell Lintel.
Elias.
I agree.
Just because you go, and what did we say it was?
Seven?
What's he getting?
Seven, seven, five.
So that's a lot, but the cap's going up, and it's not that bad.
Like, that's not that much.
But my fear is you as the organization were banking on with pasta, he touches,
he accesses that 80-point guy again.
And tough year all around, by the way.
Tough year all around for the Bruins from the top down, Dan.
So I hesitate to go, this is who these guys are.
I'm not sitting here going, this is who Jeremy Swainman is.
Now that he's signed it.
I'm like, it's a bad year.
Everybody had a bad year.
Yeah.
So I don't want to hang Lindholm on this one season.
But I didn't see that 80 point.
I didn't see enough to be like next year you're an 80 point.
Like the first five games, I was like he's great fit.
Yeah.
after that he hasn't even sniffed it.
Because it's not like pasta's not going.
You know?
Pasta's on pace for 101 points.
Fucking insane.
Dude, he is a fucking mutant.
And it is crazy.
And I know Lintholm didn't get to play with him that much.
It's not like he was always,
it's like I don't want to call him out for that reason either.
But that's something I could move on from.
They're in trouble though, bro.
They're in big trouble.
Let's just call it what it is.
This is what I would have to say for the Boston Bruins.
I think you are in the biggest,
period that you've been in the last 10 years.
Marshand, I don't want to waste any time.
You keep him for as long as he fucking wants.
Do you think they're going to trade him, though?
That's what I'm asking.
It's as long as he wants.
It's not him.
Do I think they're going to trade him?
I know you're asking the same thing.
Do you think he is going, I would like to be traded?
Yeah.
No, I do not.
So you think he stays.
I think he stays.
Yep.
If I'm the Boston Bruins, I'm actively shopping Charlie Coil.
I think you would get such an insane return for him.
I am actively shopping.
but not necessarily eagerly shopping Pavlzaka because I love Pavlzaka's age and I love his
contract end term.
I am 100% fire sailing Trent Frederick and Morgan Geeky.
Oh, Geeky would be great because he's having such a good year.
Morgan Geeky is having a fantastic, like this last half of the year, he has come alive in a big way.
I think you would be shocked with the return you're going to get for Morgan Geeky.
He could help somebody too, man.
That's actually really interesting.
How old is he?
He's 26.
He's fucking kidding me.
I would actively be shopping, Brandon Carlo, and I would actively be shopping slash listening on the two new contracts as Dorav and Lindholm, like you said.
Yeah.
Like those would be you are selling solo, but I think that those two contracts have been really brutal.
Obviously, this year just sucks.
It sucked.
I don't think both either players have really settled in like we thought.
And there have been some talks that the Bruins believe.
We heard that Nashville.
is not fire sailing.
Nashville is going,
we're going to make some little moves here,
but we're going to regroup this summer.
We've heard the Bruins are having the same discussion.
Dude, this,
that would be such a mistake, in my opinion.
And I don't think you can look at what Don Sweeney
and Cam Neely have done over the last five, six years
and trust that they're like, yeah, we're just going to regroup.
Yeah.
It's so impossibly foolish to me that I'm like,
dude, if you let these fucking guys keep their job,
if you missed the playoffs this year and you just let them regroup this summer.
Welcome to obscurity, you fucking idiots.
I barely trust a rebuild, though.
No, I mean, you know what I'm saying?
Like, it's, I, I have, I have instilled no confidence that anything about this current
organization, what's that, that's, um, I know this is in Red Rising too, but I know it's in
actual history.
It's like, some people are only good in wartime.
Like, that's a good leader for wartime and peace.
No, it's the dark night rises.
is it yeah they're talking about Jim Gordon yeah oh yeah he's a wartime commissioner he's a war
he's a war hero yeah this organization this front office because there's a lot of shit
talk on our page everywhere about this front office of the Bruins I want to say
this front office of the Bruins oversaw an incredible run of success well yeah regular
season success too I think there are infinitely more failures than there are all successes
from this front office infinitely more fine fine but the my point is
is this, I don't, I feel as though they take too much shit for their entire tenure.
You want to be mad right now?
Fine, so am I.
But too much shit for their entire tenure.
But I totally view this is, thank you for your service when we were a top juggernaut.
And you really worked hard to bring in those deadline guys like a Ginla, like a Yager, whatever,
and keep the team relevant for as long as we did.
We are now entering a new era where your expertise is no longer value.
Like I need someone else that can break this down, retool, rebuild, whatever the fuck you want to call it.
But this is someone else's job.
Yeah.
All right.
I'm going to just quickly run down all the teams that are currently out of playoffs.
Yep.
And I want you to tell me what you think they're selling level is.
Yep.
Out of 100?
Out of 10?
Yeah.
Or you don't even need to rank it.
Like, just like quick words.
Yeah.
Ottawa.
Currently out of a playoffs.
bought.
They're not selling.
Yeah, I think that they should, in fact, be looking at buying.
New York Rangers.
Sell, you idiots.
Sell, sell, sell.
Boston ruins, we just said.
Montreal.
Sell, but only like Jacob, like, if smartly sell.
Yeah, like if some people want your depth.
Sell the expiring UFA.
Yeah.
You're like, ah, they're not part of the future.
Yep.
Flyers.
Sell.
Islanders.
Sell.
Penguins.
Sell.
Sell.
Sell.
Sell.
Sell.
Sal.
Sal.
Sell.
Sell.
And I would go nuts.
Like all those names we named, I would literally sell everybody.
Which is so insane because you're like, what happened?
How did we get nothing out of this?
But I'm like, well, you did get nothing out of it.
So you need, they all need to go.
Van.
Sell, dude.
Nightmare.
Nightmare, right?
Nightmare.
Blues.
Um, I wouldn't go crazy.
Like, if someone gives you, if wows you for Shen, then fine.
But like, smart sell is where I'm out with them.
Utah.
Not sell.
Interesting.
Yeah.
I think that there are a couple of people whose value, so I'm putting them in smart sell.
Yeah, I'm putting them in buy.
I think their value is so high right now.
And I would go, are you part of the future?
I look at Lawson Krause.
Yeah.
Good year.
Yeah.
Are you part of the future?
Someone would pay for him.
So I'm putting smart sell.
Buy.
Ducks.
Sell?
I'll say smart sell because I'm like literally trade Gibson.
You're going, he's, Gibson's already on Carolina.
That's a check.
And then Zegress is already on the Red Wings.
that's a check. After that, I think you're okay. Maybe Dumlin. So smart sell, but don't blow it up.
I'm very happy where the ducks are. Cracking. I would sell. And that sucks, but there are guys
that I think they can get stuff for, like we mentioned. Preds? Well, I guess they're not,
because we got a scoop. Yeah. But, and you know what? I thought for a stretch there, I thought that
was stupid when we first heard that. I was like, that's so dumb. But I'm kind of now, maybe delusionally,
like this did just need a year
so much change happened
and there was so much hype
from the way they finished two seasons ago
that I'm like, you know what?
You guys might be okay next year.
Yeah, that's interesting.
If you do just regroup.
I might be fucking made a fool again
next season when they finished last,
but I am willing to buy their re-
For me, I'm big on
see what's out there.
See what people are possibly willing to pay
but I don't think people are going to be willing to pay
because they're just in like a weird contract.
Everyone's playing badly and they are not great contracts.
Yeah.
And then Blackhawks and sharks.
Sharks, no for me because you already sold granny.
I hold.
Me too.
I heard they're going to shop Mario, but like...
And they've got such good vibes in that locker room.
I'm like, nope, there's no need.
Yeah.
So I actually am like, dude, you're chilling.
And then the Hawks, like they traded Seth already and Taylor Hall already.
Like I guess...
Denado?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Dernado.
Like, trade Donato.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, again, it's like...
Shit show, though.
Yeah.
Yeah.
All right.
Deadline, absolutely insane.
Like we said, I think the fact that the cup race is so open, I think it makes the deadline so open.
Yes, dude.
There's so many buyers.
I think the biggest takeaway for me is we're going to keep an eye on all of these names that we just said.
The biggest take away for me is, based on the market, I need to see some GMs with some balls this week, dude.
That would be awesome.
Based on the market.
And by that I mean, Chris, balls to sell.
Yes.
Do it.
People are paying, dude.
Paying for players right now.
If you are a selling team like we just mentioned, some of these sell, sell, sell teams,
take the fucking money and run.
You have such an opportunity.
It felt like last year the deadline was so stingy.
I think now, dude, with the cap going up, I think because of how open it is,
teams are going, I'm going to pay because I got a shot here.
We got a chance.
Hell what, dude.
Dude, you know what else I read too, Dan, which was cool?
The schedule, maybe because of Four Nations, I don't know,
but the schedule got so jam-packed leading up to the deadline
that it has made it advantageous for teams to wait closer.
Remember, we kept seeing huge deals, and we have seen a few, obviously, already.
But we kept seeing huge deals well before the deadline,
so it made the deadline not that exciting.
This year, so many teams are on the bubble that they're trying to wait
as long as possible to see what am I?
Am I a buyer or a seller?
That I actually think we have a chance to see this week,
deadline, week fireworks for the first time in a couple years.
So I hope I'm rooting for it.
Yeah, need it.
All right, little pallet cleanser to finish up the episode,
we've got some awesome chats with some of our friends at the Bauer-Stick Sware.
We've got Leo Carlson of the Anaheim Ducks.
We've got Kayla Barnes of Montreal Victory of the PWHL,
and we got our boy, Zach Bell, always hockey,
popping on chat with us.
Take it away.
Here we are, about it, what is it called?
The Bower Stix Soir.
We're here at the Bauer Sticks-Swarre.
How are you feeling?
Pretty good.
That's great, dude.
That's great.
What time was practice today?
Ooh, 130 maybe?
Okay, so you came right here.
Yeah, yeah.
Good for you, man.
How's it been so far, dude?
I mean, you are the youngest player here at Four Nations.
Unbelievable honored to be on this team, playing with all these legends.
Has this been a blast?
Oh, yes, yes, my fan.
You know, yeah, I don't think I know anybody before.
Maybe I know Brodin and Egg's Neck before.
Sure.
So, make a couple new guys.
ice, of course, some legends too.
It's been going to go so far, you know,
just watched a Canada game.
Like, the atmosphere was insane.
It was amazing.
You just went, like, when Mario
just walked in ice.
Yeah, yeah.
Wasn't that fucking nuts?
Dude.
Got goosebumps watching that.
Here, no, cheer for Sid and then for Mario.
I was like, this place is going to explode.
I know.
Just goosebumps.
Yeah.
Then they, you know, boot out our players.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Just kind of fan-suited as well.
Dude, Willie, Willie getting killed out there,
because he's the Leaf, too.
I was dying.
Him smiling at the camera.
after that was so him too. I was like, yeah, it's great.
Has anyone on the team been someone that you were pumped to play with, pumped to me?
I know it's everybody, but was there anyone that, you know, being a Swede, looking at some of these
guys you've grown up watching? Did anyone really stand out?
I mean, Carlton and Headman, obviously, two North Trophy's winners.
Yeah.
Probably with you two of the old guys on the team too, so, you know, yeah, I watched them more
growing up, you know, when I was more a little kid. I don't know, I don't know when they came
to the league, but it's pretty early.
So probably those two guys
Hard not to, right?
Yeah, right, God.
Dude, is it funny for you?
Because so much talk at this tournament
It's been like, it's been so long
since we've had international hockey
and worn these jerseys
but like you kind of were wearing a Sweden jersey
pretty recently.
So it's like, is it funny for you to be like,
yeah, I do this all the time.
There comes in, he's like, I'm the vet here actually
all you idiots haven't played in this in a while.
No, I mean, it's different tournaments though.
Yeah.
I was sure so, so long time since the best and best.
Yeah.
I think it's great for a crowd,
and great for hockey, you know, hockey culture, basically.
For sure, man, for sure.
Yeah, the first two games has been insane,
so it's fun to watch.
Yeah.
Yeah.
How crazy was the first practice?
Like, when you stepped on the ice with all the boys,
were you like, Jesus Christ, this is nuts.
Yeah, so, yeah.
It was so fast.
Yeah, yeah.
High quality.
I mean, it's obviously, you know,
high quality is my practice, too, in that name,
but it's a little different.
You know, it's the best of the game, so.
Definitely.
It was insane.
You know, yeah, just watch those guys fly by.
Of course.
Do you feel like you're going to be able to take a ton from
experience and from playing with these boys back to Anaheim when you eventually go back?
I think so.
I mean, I think it's more like for my long career.
Definitely.
I mean, yeah, just recently, you know, I got some, like shot device from Luferson.
It's huge.
It's huge.
Yeah, yes, Christ.
Yeah, I mean, just those things that you know, you don't think about maybe.
Yeah.
Or just sane.
Think about it.
Yeah.
If not what I mean.
So.
Oh, my God, of course.
Yeah, a lot of things.
Yeah.
Like, what a cool, especially so early in your career, the fact that the least, the
is doing this tournament you get named the team such an honor well-deserved
obviously too and then to just play with all of these guys in the middle of this
great season I feel like you guys are playing so well like the stock is
rising so much I think there's gonna be so many lessons to take yeah for you
for the team it's so cool dude in a tournament that is short as this
there's not a lot of room to make a mistake right so obviously you got the point
from the Canada game but now it's kind of going into a game where yeah
you're playing Finland a huge rival and it's a game you kind of got a win
Yeah.
What's the vibe in the locker
of how the boy's feeling about that?
I mean, the vibe feel is good.
I think it's pretty calm.
Probably going to be, you know, more problem tomorrow before a game.
Early game too.
Yeah.
Can't really think so much before the game.
Obviously, you know, Big Brother, Little Brother is a scenario here too.
So it's, you know, just have to go out there and win.
Yeah.
So, yeah, super excited to watch that.
Do you feel like there is that, you know, the friendly rivalry with Finland?
Do you feel it is more palpable than any of the other games?
You're like, we want to beat that?
this team. Yeah, absolutely. Yeah, I feel like
it's the same thing as USA, Canada.
Yeah, right. Yeah, right. It's just, I mean,
yeah, I mean, yeah, we play against each other when we're
like, you know, 15. Yeah. Yeah, I know, all the way up in the national
theme, so. Yeah. Huge rivalry.
You know, no, no man of the guys, too.
Like, against backs, like a nine. Yeah, yeah, of course. Yeah. Great
guy, so it's like, you know, it's tough, but it's also...
You want to kill? Yeah, not a great guy tomorrow at one. Yeah.
Yeah. It's amazing to be part of. Yeah. Yeah. Oh, dude.
What have you guys gotten up to while you've been here other than hockey stuff?
You know, just a little family time.
I mean, I got my girlfriend here, so, I mean, yeah, we just hang out, I guess.
Great.
I mean, have you spent a lot of time in Montreal?
No, I mean, just for the games.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
It's nice day, no, yeah.
It's a cool day, bud.
It's just a cool beer.
Yeah, yeah.
Valentine's Day, bud.
You got something planned or what?
Yeah, I think she booked a dinner a couple weeks ago.
You didn't forget.
She booked it.
She booked it.
I mean, I'm not good of that stuff.
I'm just following along.
Flowers, when we get home probably.
When we get home, dude, what happened to this morning?
Folks at a game, I don't know.
He's got a great excuse, dude, it's built in.
He's like, oh, excuse me, I'm focusing on a huge game against Finland tomorrow.
Is there anything in this tournament that you were looking forward to, you know, really intensely before you came?
And has that come true yet?
Yeah, I mean, yes.
I was excited about the atmosphere for the first game in Montreal.
And it's, you know, lived up to the hype.
Yeah.
Dude, holy shit didn't live up to the hype.
I mean, I'm going to, yeah, I'm going to talk about that for a while.
Oh, yeah, God.
It was forever, dude.
Yeah.
I mean, you can really hear how loud it was on TV.
Yeah.
Oh, God.
Yeah, I mean, you have to be there to hear.
Dude, those blinking lights in the stands, like we were, I was going to have a seizure.
We were sitting there.
I was like, this is insane, man.
Holy shit.
Do you feel like, again, it's, it's, I can't get over how cool it is this early in your career to, you know,
to, you know, have this experience.
This must be.
you know in a category of its own so far like how cool this has been that crazy game playing
with all these guys yeah yeah it's been the best you know yeah yeah it's been the best you know
yeah yeah i mean even yeah i mean either from playing or not it was like it's just cool to be here
basically yeah yeah absolutely you know yeah me you know young guys just fun to so yeah as we talked
earlier just learn watch you know just be part of it for sure people were we were talking to some guys
just watching that overtime on wednesday just both you flying up and down the ice i was like
this is even people on the bench were saying like like
I feel like a fan just watching this chaos.
It was insane.
Crazy to just see.
I don't know who started,
but probably me.
McDavid Martin starring.
Yeah.
Then McKinnon and Crop's kind of nice.
Like, shit.
What is happening right now?
Dude,
you were joking with Juice the other day.
The first power play they got.
We saw him lining up on the wing.
And you could see him talking.
I forget who was out there.
Yeah, he might have been.
And he's just like, you can tell he's like,
who do you want to cover?
Like,
this is insane.
It's just impressive, you know,
like, how do he score right away?
I mean, obviously,
five amazing top players in league.
I mean, you never know it's going to work out or not.
Yeah, for sure.
10 seconds probably.
Yeah, yeah. It's been nice.
It's funny watching you guys get your power play USA yesterday,
and it's like it's as good as everyone is on the ice for our power play.
There's that many great players on the ice for the P-K as well.
So you're just like, Jesus Christ.
Yeah, so feeling rocking 5-4 is right?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That was so funny.
Unreal.
Huge last though with the he's going to do.
Oh, my God.
Yeah, absolutely sad.
Dude, he was going to play, he was going to play half the game.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
It's insane.
Absolutely.
Are you still, are any of the boys from back home in Sweden saying, like, I mean, I feel like at your age, some of these guys, some of your buddies must be like, dude, how sick is this?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, they were spamming me about, you know, you know, the showing videos.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, from the, yeah, from the, yeah, was the ceremony?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, at that beginning, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah, but yeah, you know, just for that stuff.
So, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
For sure.
It must be cool, too.
I mean, like, um, you're, like, um, you're,
There's any of your family here?
No, it was post-com, but expensive, blah, blah, blah.
It's so far away.
Obviously, so far away, time changed.
They were just here.
Yeah.
Got a brother, two at home, a little younger brother,
so it was tough, but.
They're staying up late and watching, though.
Yeah.
Yeah, they probably do.
Yeah, for sure.
But I mean, it must be awesome, like when you,
in that first game, and we'll see it tomorrow for sure.
You know, we're here in Montreal.
It's kind of a random, new tournament.
It must be awesome when you guys look up
and you can see a bunch of Sweden jerseys in the crowd.
year so far away like that's fantastic sure yeah yeah it was a lot of i mean it wasn't you know obviously you know
it was it was a lot of candidly just obviously yeah last game but yeah it's supposed to me yellow
it was yeah there was it was i'm excited to see tomorrow yeah it was you i've got my sweater i'm
rocking it every game it's gonna do it tomorrow i'm excited to see the finling game to see the breakdown
of the crowd it'd be cool perfect yeah yeah dude seven o'clock game back home yeah right oh
good call dude i mean think about that genius all right so what's the vibe been like you know
today, what's going to be like tonight with the boys with the team heading into tomorrow.
Yeah.
You know, huge game, rivalry game like we talked about.
Yeah, the vibe is probably going to be relaxed.
Yeah.
I like that?
Yeah.
Everybody, you know, probably going to go out with the family, either room service or just.
Yeah.
Dinner, somewhere if you know, a valentine's day.
Then, yeah, it's early game tomorrow.
It's just breakfast and I go play.
Yeah.
Amazing.
It's awesome, dude.
Simple stuff, basically.
It's a easy game.
It's an easy game, dude.
It's just hockey.
It's great.
All right.
Leo, this is a blast, dude.
You're the best for.
chatting with us and it's get a big win tomorrow.
Absolutely, I will.
Fucking love it, dude.
Good shit.
Thank you.
Thank you.
Thank you.
Back at the Bauer's Stixoiré with Caleb Barnes, star for P-dub Montreal.
I mean, you are a Olympic gold medalist, youngest ever, right?
I don't know about youngest ever.
I think you're the youngest ever to represent Team USA.
I don't know.
I mean, it might be close, but.
Sick.
And now we're here, so we have a lot going on here.
So we live in California.
You're from California.
I grew up playing for like the lady ducks and all that stuff.
Now you're a traitor and you're here in Montreal.
Do you feel conflicted at all with four nations going on?
Like are you rooting for USA?
Are you rooting for Canada?
Because now you play for Canadian team?
Please tell me no.
I would ever go for Canada.
Thank God.
I love my Canadians.
I just need to make sure.
But on the ice, all bets are off.
I'm USA all the way.
Okay.
There we go.
How has like this tournament, especially being here and like in the city you play in,
Have you felt the intensity of the tournament?
Are you keeping up with all of it?
Have you gone into the games?
Oh, 100%.
Yeah, I mean, we've watched all the games.
We have the highlights on in our locker room.
Like when we're practicing and stuff, the streets are closed.
Yeah, right.
I mean, there's fans everywhere from everywhere.
So definitely been awesome to see.
I think this is a great place for this tournament to be held
because people are so passionate about hockey here.
So it's been super fun.
And I went to the USA game last night versus Finland.
They had lights out game, super fun.
Love the six goals, you know.
Always fun to see.
Waited a while, though, eh?
I was like, come on.
I know.
It took a minute.
I was getting, you know, but I'll be going to the USA Canada game too.
So, super excited to go to that one.
That's going to be a treat.
Do you have any bets with some of your teammates?
I feel like you and Aaron need to have a wager on that game.
Yeah, yeah.
We've been talking about what the consequence, I guess, will be.
We haven't really come to a conclusion.
Because our, you know, USA Canada, it's like, I don't really, I don't want to wear a hockey Canada jersey.
Yeah.
So it's too steep.
I was about to suggest the jersey bet, but that is tough.
But it's very deep.
Oh, it's brutal.
So it's like, I don't know.
So we're still trying to figure it out.
That might be it, but we're not, we're not sure yet.
Yeah.
What?
Because a lot of these guys have been missing international play for years, right?
And it's been fun talking to them and hearing about the experience and the jitters of putting on that USA sweater for the first time.
Someone who's been able to do that several times.
Just tell us a little bit about what that felt to you in those first moments.
If you can remember, like, the first times you're like, wow, in the USA jersey.
I mean, yeah, I feel like that's something you don't really forget.
I was just, I was so excited to, you know, be there.
And, you know, it just so happened that a couple of my first times was at the Olympics.
Yeah.
So, like, you know.
Not a big deal.
Yeah.
Like, you were 18 when you won gold?
I had just turned 19.
Yeah.
So, like, probably like, a week.
week before.
Yeah.
So I was,
set the bar high.
Jesus.
I was doing cool shit at 19-2,
dude, whatever.
Like, it's fine.
It's completely fine.
Yeah, I was very young.
I think looking back, like, in the moment,
I probably didn't understand the magnitude of it.
Yeah.
But I was just, I was so excited.
That's what you dream of.
Yeah.
Just, and obviously, ignorance is bliss in that moment, too.
You know, looking back, like, I was like,
oh, I'm ready to go.
Like, you know, so super excited.
It's always an honor to put on the USA jersey
and compete for the United States.
States, especially against, you know, players from all around the world that are so talented.
How did the pressure feel in those moments? Because I was wondering that with these guys here,
where this is like, you know, it's an exhibition tournament in the middle of the season,
but it's like national pride on the line. You know, like, how was it hard? Did you feel nervous?
Did it feel more than just a regular game? I mean, honestly, I feel more pressure now than I do back
then. Yeah. Like I said, ignorance is bliss. And when you're a kid, you're just like,
playing loose. Yeah. 19. You're so young. You're just like,
ready to go. Like you're jumping out of the gate, you're excited. Now I like have experience and I know
what it feels like to win and I know what it feels like to lose. And you're on both sides and I want to
feel one way and I don't want to feel the other. So it's a bit different. I feel more pressure now.
And as you get older, the more games you play, the deeper it gets. So a little bit, I would say more
pressure now and every game means that much more. We just got back from rivalry series and we ended up
losing that and like the gut punch that I had from that. You know,
And there are no true medals handed out
That's not an international competition
Like a world during Olympics
But it all hurts the same
So yeah, it's definitely a hit deep.
It's always interesting talking to pros
When you win early in your career
It just like we said, setting that bar high
I feel like it gives you that hunger of
Well, I don't ever want to not experience this
So I have to win every year now
Not to mention it's not in the regular season
You know you lose to Toronto and you're like
Well else we'll see him again soon whatever
I get another game in two days
And this, it's like...
It's your one shot.
Yeah.
And it's not...
Even if you lose a Stanley Cup, you're like, okay, next year.
But this is like going to be years out of trying to do stuff like this again.
So it really mounts.
Like you mentioned, we got USA Canada tomorrow.
In your experience, when you've played, obviously, a huge rivalry there.
Whenever you put on the national jersey, I feel like it's such a proud moment.
You want to really up your game.
How much more do you feel like the level goes up when you are playing Canada?
at least five to ten notches.
I think the emotions are going.
You know, you kind of lay everything out on the line in those games.
You know, in our games, it's people are blocking shots.
People are diving to get pucks over the blue line.
You know, every shot is on net.
Yeah.
It's physical.
It's chippy, you know.
And, you know, in the men's game, I assume it will be chippy.
There will be a lot of skill plays, but there will be a lot of hard plays as well.
So I think it'll be a really fast and fun game.
And, you know, like I said, the level just goes up because pride is on the line and your country's on the line too.
And being in Canada, you know the fans are going to be wild.
So I think the energy tomorrow night will be incredible.
Yeah, it's going to be rocked out about it.
And you have a game tomorrow as well.
Yes.
Who are we playing?
We are playing New York.
Okay.
Yes.
How do you feel like give us a quick hit on how the season's going for you for the team and what you guys are feeling right now?
Yeah, the team.
We're doing great.
We're first in the league right now.
So, you know, we're doing well, just hoping to keep riding that high and continue on.
So we have a big stretch of games coming up post-rivalry.
So, yeah, just hoping to continue, like, getting points and, you know, continue on in the league.
We're about halfway through right now.
Yeah, yeah.
And how's it been, you know, drafted in June, right?
Yep.
First season with a team.
Are you loving it?
You love being in the city, playing with the girls and everything?
Yeah, super.
It's been super fun.
You know, you don't know what to expect being, you know, my California.
Yeah. Now I'm coming all the way to Montreal. I have no idea. They speak French here.
Everything's thrown in my face. I'm like, I don't know what's going on. But the girls have been
nothing about welcoming. The organization is super professional. She's all right. She's fine. She's fine,
I guess. She's great. She's great. She's great. No, super fun to be teammates with her, Poulin,
Stacy. You know, like, legends. Legends of the game. Literally legends. You know, you get to
learn from them and, you know, they have great personalities, get to be around them and get to know
I've only played against all of them in this, like, cutthroat rivalry.
So it's, like, so aggressive all the time.
And they're like, now we're friends.
So, you know, it's really fun.
And it's been a great experience.
And obviously, it doesn't hurt that we're winning.
So winning is fun.
So it's been great.
And I love the city of Montreal and all the fans.
So it's been awesome.
Anywhere where you should hit before we leave the city?
Like food.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
What's your favorite spot in the city since you've been here?
I'm going to shout out September Cafe.
Okay.
A team favorite.
What's the order?
Yeah, what do we get there?
Definitely a coffee.
I'm like a latte.
And then they have the best pancakes I've ever had in my entire life.
That is what I'm talking about.
Stacked pancakes.
Save the coffee pancakes.
Now we're cooking.
Yeah.
So if you have a chance to go September Cafe, amazing.
All right, let's get a huge win from you girls tomorrow and roll that into a USA win tomorrow.
I love it.
And then we're in business.
Yeah, there we go.
Amazing.
All right.
Let's get back to this party.
Good shit.
Done.
Thank you.
so much. Yeah, thank you so much. All right, we got Zach Bell at the Bauer Stick Soiree.
When'd you get in? I got it a couple of nights ago. We had to cancel our flights.
Drove in like seven hours. George drove through a snowstorm. So
got us here. We thought we'd just inch our way here. Slow and steady, baby.
Because we didn't want to risk the flights, man. That snowstorm was going to come in heavy.
It's going to hit people on Sunday, too. Yeah, we might have to stay another day. That's what we're thinking.
We got to figure out our plans, though. We're just playing it by here. And you got a big game tonight.
Yeah, about an hour. Yeah, an hour on YouTube.
Tell people about this creator skate.
We're doing a three-on-three creator game, Team USA, Team Canada.
We got Swaggy P on Team USA, Nashir, J-T Barnett, Lazz, KVG, Innet.
Then the Canadians, we got myself, we got Chip, we got Barber.
Yeah.
We got Gilly.
Who else do we got?
Then we got Nick the goalie in Nett.
So I feel pretty confident about our roster.
Yeah, that's huge.
We're pretty top-heavy, though.
I'm a little bit worried about our legs.
Are you at all fearful of this team USA team, both in the 3B3 game and then in the Four Nations tournament?
No, absolutely not. No way.
Do you believe that the results of your game completely sets the tone for Saturday night?
No.
No, boys, honestly, this is the first time I've worn full gear besides filming a movie in seven and a half years.
I was actually going to ask if you've suited up fully in a while.
No, just for movies.
Yeah, yeah, right.
Or commercials.
You're not actually skating and playing.
I don't play pickup hockey often.
I just play pawns.
Yeah, I don't know.
You know if I'd know how to put my gear on it.
You just gotta float, dude. Don't gas it. Don't gas it too.
Yeah, I know. Kids back home, they want to see something, though.
I know.
Floating, floating can get you something sometimes, you know?
Swaggy did that last three-on-three-turner.
Correct.
What do you mean last turn to me? Does it every turn on?
All swaggy does is float.
No, but you're right, you got to teach him how to play correct D-Zone coverage,
so you got to put some good shit on tape here.
Exactly.
Well, we're putting Coach Chip.
He's going to just mirror Swaggy.
So we're going to try that out.
We'll see how that goes.
That's actually hilarious.
in there for some mirror what a roll for you go yeah well like i said we're top heavy so we need chip
just to get chippy so that's what he does just don't let swaggy see the pocket and we'll we'll be okay
dude how unreal has this whole thing been unbelievable i i've enjoyed this so far a lot more than
all-star in my opinion just like the games itself like we were talking a bit off off air there
it's it's incredible man it's just the atmosphere in the building like the players want it we
haven't seen best on best in so long it's just it's so good for the growth of the game so good for
the game and truly man i mean i don't know
I'm just so excited for tomorrow.
I don't know what to expect.
I know.
The roof might blow off the bell center.
It might blow off the bell center.
Dude, the U.S. national anthem is going to get booed to high heaven.
It's going to be.
Oh, bad.
I was out getting a drink or whatever, and I didn't hear any booing, though.
Oh, it got booed.
It got booed.
Apparently, I heard, I don't have you heard this yet, because they make an announcement.
In the arena, they make an announcement.
It's like, please don't boo any anthems.
And then the American.
Then they booed a media.
That's a way to, yeah, exactly.
Like, you know, there are some people who weren't even thinking about it.
And they're like, I'm going to boo now.
Dude, apparently on the ESPN broadcast, or the TV broadcast, which I wasn't watching, obviously, it got picked up on a mic.
The announcement goes, it's like, please don't boo the anthem.
And then you hear someone from the crowd from far away, be like, fuck that.
And then the booze came.
And I was like, oh, no.
Dude, but man, you hadn't got in yet, obviously because of the storms.
But, dude, the Canada's Sweden game was insane.
Insane how electric that building was.
USA Canada here in Montreal is going to be out of this world.
Yeah, watching through the phone did no justice.
Yeah, yeah.
You can feel it, though, still.
100%.
It's more just, like, the anxiousness of missing the game.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I wish I was here.
Just to see that first moment, you know, it was just, tough one to miss.
For sure, one to miss.
It's all right, dude, you're going to make up for it.
And you're so right.
You're so right.
You're so right.
Like the, the, how much this does for the growth of the game,
how much people are realizing how badly we missed international best on best.
It's like the hype for Olympics, world cup is just going to be so, so big now.
And you've almost got like a whole generation of hockey players who've never really seen best on that.
Ever.
You know what I'm saying?
So like how long has it been?
Like 10 years?
Yeah, yeah.
2016?
Yeah.
So you've got a whole generation of new players who've never seen best on best.
100%.
And this will be the last time we see like Crosby and these guys playing.
Exactly.
Really together.
So yeah, like we're witnessing something amazing here, boys.
It's unbelievable.
It's incredible.
It's unbelievable.
Everybody feels it.
Yeah.
Dude, the McKinininin, Crosby, McDavid, gold 12 seconds into the tournament.
I was like literal wet dream for the NFL for everybody.
You can't write it any better than that.
Proposterous.
All right, we know you got a game to get to.
Go give him hell.
And we'll trade.
We'll happily trade a win for you and this.
USA can get a win on Saturday.
Tough one.
Well, I think Ken is just going to take it both, boys.
I'm sorry.
I'm sorry.
You know what I got to do it.
All right, brother.
Thank you, boys.
Go kill it.
We'll do this again.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
We'll get you to everybody.
Thank you to Leo.
Thank you to Kayla.
Thank you to Zach.
Thank you to Bauer.
Stick soire, Dan.
So it gives me pangs of being there.
Makes me really sad, to be honest with you.
I just want to go back.
What a time that was.
So awesome interviews.
Hope everyone enjoyed those.
And now let's get into a beer league hotline.
Oh, yeah.
I currently serve as the right-hand man to the beer league director.
I've been approached by multiple team reps saying they want to plan a coup and have me take over the position.
Though I know the director can be shit at his job, he has helped me to get to this position I have now.
Do I tell the director and stay loyal?
Do I help the team reps with his mutiny?
Do I ignore it?
Wow.
Sticky.
sticky situation, Dan.
Drama. Hi drama.
A lot of drama.
Yep. I mean, listen, man.
This is complicated.
First, I want to say you're a loyal man.
You are, dude.
The fact that you even, you have a chance at a promotion here.
You have a chance to take over.
You have a chance to be king.
To be the king of the castle.
And you, you sir, are not prepared to stab someone in the back just yet.
And I respect you for that.
Jack Sparrow says the seventh circle of hell.
hell is reserved for betrayers and mutineers.
Yeah.
So you have to consider that.
You do have to consider that.
I think, I mean, listen, a bad director is awful.
Can derail a whole league?
I think I would say that we have a bad director.
Well, I think there's a lot of things in our league that I don't love.
But there are things that I do love.
Yeah.
I think it's hard.
I think it's a hard job.
It's a hard job.
It's a thankless job.
You're the commissioner.
It's your commission.
If anyone's been a commissioner of a fantasy league, you know it.
shit.
Everyone's complaining.
Everyone's got stuff they hate.
I don't want to be soft here.
But I think I would put some pressure on them.
I would tell him.
Oh.
So you would bring it up, but not like, because I read this like, oh, should I tell them to basically be snitching on the reps?
But this is, this is an in-between.
You tell him to go.
You hold some of your cards.
You don't say, you don't go, hey, the team reps, because then you're snitching.
Yep.
Yeah, we don't snitch.
I think you go, hey, I'm coming.
to you as a man. And I'm telling you, there are people in our league who are upset. Yep.
Doesn't matter who, but I've received a lot of messages of people being unhappy with the way
things are run. And I want to bring it to your attention so we can help improve it together. And maybe
you don't tell him that it would be you. If he gets, if he gets throat snapped, you don't tell him
it would be you. Maybe he knows that. You certainly can't tell him. You can't tell him that.
What's funny here is I'm not, I'm not entirely sure how much power is actually,
being held here.
Like, you're saying that you could potentially usurp this man.
I don't, is that true?
Could you?
Yeah, like, I don't.
But maybe.
Well, how do you stage a coup here?
Like, our, the team, the team reps go, we're not playing.
Like, we're literally not playing.
The ring would lose so much money.
Yeah, but that would never happen.
For an interim?
No.
If we all, it's not we, it's not about me.
If all the teams believed that after a three-week strike.
Brother, they, I would have to be going through legit.
legitimate torture every single week while playing hockey in order to be like this.
This is so bad I'm going to not play to prove a point.
Yeah, right.
You did say if you broke your arm, you might never play.
Yeah, that's not, has nothing to do.
This is so different.
Has nothing to do with this situation.
You idiot.
You, you imbecile fool.
Nothing to do with this situation.
It would have to be bad.
It would have to be so bad that I would, honestly, I probably wouldn't have even been playing
already. I would have been like this is so trash. Yeah. So there's no world. I'm here to tell you there
is no world where the teams are all going to go. We're going on strike. We're not playing
beer league until this guy's gone. It would have to be, it would have to be so bad that this message
would not be necessary. Could we, could we frame him for something? Well, that's what I'm saying.
Because we as, when I asked, how much power do you think you wield here, sir? It's like,
what are you going to do? Are you going to put a kilo a blow in this guy's car? Would
that even get him fired? I don't know. So I think you take this as an opportunity to share with him
that people are upset and maybe he changes it. Maybe he does something about it. Yeah. You, you, what if he
fires you? What if you bring it to him? And he goes, you're fucking fired. That would be insane.
And I actually don't think that that is caused to fire something. Going like this, hey,
there have been some complaints. I'm bringing it to you so we can figure out how to improve it. And he goes,
like this, you're fired. That's not a thing, dude. It could happen. Yeah, but he would then get fired.
Like you have to have just cause to fire someone.
This isn't the Wild West, dude.
It feels like it sometimes.
But it's not.
It feels like it.
It is not.
I think you got to take that.
Listen,
you hear that people are talking shit about you?
That snaps some people into shape every now and then.
I think you do that.
It also snaps some people.
People are talking shit, dude.
You're going to let him get away with that or are you going to improve yourself?
And some people improve themselves.
Some people snap.
Well, dude, if he snaps, then he gets fired.
He's fired.
Tell him.
This is the way, dude.
Tell him.
and either he acts like a baby and he gets fired and now you are king or he improves it and you
are a servant of the people sir yeah and everyone knows this is your doing wow great done and done
okay now we're into our segment with our friends at bet mGM and we're going to do some odds matching
this time dan it's as of march third odds to win the heart okay got it so we are matching these
five players with their odds to win the heart trophy wags give me
me five names and then give me five odds out of order.
Leon Drysaito, Hellebuck, McKinnon, Kucherov, and McDavid, plus 100, plus 2,000, plus 700,
plus 4,000, minus 120.
Wow.
I think we're going to get this right up the bat.
That would be so sick.
All right, ready?
Yep.
Here we go.
We're going to go Leon minus 120.
Has to be the favorite.
We're going to go Nate plus 100.
Yep.
We're going to go McDavid 700.
We're going to go.
Helly.
Whoa.
4,000.
And we're going to go, or 2,000.
And we're going to go Cooch.
Cooch, 4,000?
I think the league is sick of him.
They're pissed at him.
I think they're pissed at him for making a mockery of the league at every turn.
And he got robbed last year.
People are saying he got robbed last year, but he's been a baby about it.
I think that Vegas knows that there's no way that he could get it.
So.
But I think there's a chance that Helly's $4,000.
I think so too.
But I think I've gone five for five.
All right.
Wags.
Leon minus 120.
Nate 100, McDavid 700,
Helly 2000, Cooch, 4,000.
You got one correct.
Mr.
five for five.
Mr.
five for five over here.
Well, I'm telling you that that's right.
Mr. Five for five.
I am right.
And everyone else is wrong.
What was right?
Dry Cidal.
Okay, yeah.
All right.
Here we go again.
Stupid fucking stupid, stupid, stupid odds.
Okay, let's go.
We're going to go.
McDavid is going to be 100.
Wow.
Fucking dumb.
Dumb league.
Dumb, dumb book.
We're going to go Nate 700.
And then we're going to go Helly 4,000.
And we're going to go Cooch 2,000.
Yeah.
Okay.
So we have Leon minus 120, McDavid, 100, Nate 700,
Kooch 2000, Hellebuck, 4,000.
You got two more right.
What were they?
You got McKinnon and Kuch right.
So you're telling me right now,
you're telling me right now that McDavid is 4,000.
And Hellebuck 100 is 100.
To win the heart, Dan.
What a stupid, stupid thing this is.
To win the heart.
So yeah, that's it.
Okay, so Leon minus 120.
Hellebuck 100, Nate 700, Cooch 2000, McDavid, 4,000.
What a world, what a league, what a town.
Final answer?
Correct.
Wow.
Absolutely insane.
That's wild, dude.
That is wild.
It's as stupid as it gets.
Hellebuck plus 100.
Yeah.
Okay.
Let's close it out.
We're doing blind ranking, trades that have happened this season.
We're going all the way back to July 1st.
Yeah, league year.
League year.
Seth Jones.
you like that trade.
I think Chicago won that trade.
I always hate who won who did it with.
I think it was a great trade by Chicago.
Great trade.
Yep.
I do think that Seth Jones playing with those guys in Tampa,
or excuse me,
Seth Jones playing with those guys in Florida
is going to be a good situation.
I think he's going to be the best version of himself in Florida.
I don't.
No. Like Matthew, I think's going on long-term I are and I thought they would bolster the D-end.
The question is like, what are we ranking here?
Yeah, like, are we ranking the magnitude of the trade or are we rank, like, are we-
Great question, yeah. Like, I don't even know what we're doing.
I think we're going to say, I'm panicking.
I think we're going to say if it was a great trade for someone.
Like in any team?
Yeah.
Then I, yeah, I think we go, it's so lame what we do this, but it's three.
It is a three.
Let's put that at a three.
I never do this, but let's put that out a three.
Three.
Caco.
Capo caco.
I actually love this trade.
It's a four for me.
It's a four for me, but it's also like it could have been a three.
But I mean, listen, dude, Capo caco has been fantastic for Seattle.
But I guess, are you saying like it didn't help the Cracken enough?
Well, no, I mean, the Cracken won this trade by a billion as far as I'm concerned.
I agree.
They gave up not a lot.
I think, you know, a couple of players here and there, a couple draft picks, third and a sixth, I think.
Yep.
Seattle won this trade.
Capulcoco has the same, if not more points than Lafranier right now.
People are not talking about it.
I'm just saying it didn't.
I was hoping that would be like, oh, we got this guy, and now we're fighting for that
playoff spot, and they're just not.
So it didn't help that much.
I think I'm helping a four.
Four.
Four.
Four.
Four.
Four.
I like a four.
Four.
Four.
Rintonman.
Five.
Literally five.
Literally five.
But you got to look at it from the other side.
In the Colorado side.
Colorado, it's one.
It's a one.
Tough one here, Dan.
I mean, Colorado is, is, is, is, if they resign him, it'll be the greatest fleecing
in the history of the NFL.
I think we go, I think we go, I think we go one because.
But for not the reasons you think.
Yes.
I think we go one.
Rantanin is a one.
But let's call it the natures trade, not the Randlin.
Yeah, the natures trade is a one.
The natures and Drury trade, it's a one.
One.
I like that.
Yeah.
Granlin.
Two.
I love this trade.
I might have had that as a one, Dan.
Granny's an amazing player.
It's a great deal for both teams.
Like, truly, that actually should be the one.
That's a great hockey trade.
That should actually should have been one.
Yeah.
Because it's fucking perfect.
Yeah.
I mean, it's just like great for Dallas and what they gave up is it's worth the value.
It works.
and for San Jose, it's like, great job.
That's exactly what you had to do.
Fantastic hockey trade.
Fantastic.
God, is all we have left five now?
Yeah.
What's five?
Blackwood.
This is one of the worst lists we've ever made.
Fuck, that's a great trade, dude.
Grandland should be one.
Blackwood should be two.
Everything got fucked up with the three at first.
We don't go three, dude.
We got to learn our lessons.
You don't start three.
You never start three.
It fucks everything up.
We're absolute assholes.
Blackwood's such a good trade.
Blackwood's a fantastic trade.
Colorado, dude.
Phenomenal trade.
dealing and dealing. That is it for us today with the Empty Nader's podcast. I'm exhausted.
Trade deadline stuff is absolutely insane. I feel like I've been looking at every possibility
in the world. I know that there are sites that I wish I wish there was like a really,
really, really good site for hypothetical trades. I would stay up all night. Oh, dude, it would be
dangerous. I actually thought about that. I would do it all day long. All day long. But again, like we said,
that is it for us. We'll keep an eye on all these trades. Keep you up.
updated on all the socials. Make sure you are subscribed to the YouTube. Make sure you follow us on
Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, everything, because then you'll make sure you don't miss out on any of
this information. Unbelievable stuff. And until we see you next episode. Trade hard and skate hard.
