Empty Netters Podcast - Can McDavid and the Oilers really win Game 7?! | 110
Episode Date: June 22, 2024The Oilers have actually forced a winner take all game 7 and the hockey world gets the greatest gift of all time. Will it be a reverse sweep? Will the Panthers get the last laugh? Either way, this is ...shaping up to be the greatest Stanley cup final ever. PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (1:48) – We’re Going 7 (17:33) – Unlikely Goal Scorers (20:46) – Coaching Battle (31:36) – Bob vs Skinner (38:13) – Odd-Man Rushes (42:02) – What Can The Panthers Do? (53:00) – Game 7 Predictions Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready, babes, and we are back with another episode of the Antonetters podcast
brought to you by the crisp, refreshing taste of Labat Blue Light.
Oh, my God, dude.
Oh, that is a jam.
Play La Bamba, baby.
Can you fucking believe it, dude?
Can you fucking believe it?
I mean, listen.
Yes, I can believe it because last episode, I mean, actually,
I'm going to stroke myself off here and go to the beginning of game five.
Before game five puck drop, I said if Edmonton wins this game and I think they are going to win this game, this is going so.
You did not think they were going to win game five.
Are you insane?
All you fuckers, we talked about all fucking day long when we did the last episode, all you fuckers,
were so cocky, talking about the party, talking about how Florida's got this in the
back and I was the one person that was like I can't believe you guys are this confident this
feels sketchy as shit I think Edmonton's win I don't think I think you thought it was sketchy
and you were like you're being fucking ignorant saying it's going to be 5-0 which I was but now I knew
you knew it was a cats and five I called this before playoff saving started I said the oilers
are going to win this again they're going to come back so no we said last episode I was
we literally posted the clip I was like this is
is obviously going seven.
I'm a little surprised.
A little surprised if it was that much of a beatdown.
But here we are, baby.
This Oilers team is cruising.
And Florida, man, it just feels like they have no answers.
So here we go.
We're talking about this game.
First and foremost, I do want to show a massive love
and throw a huge shout out to Tin Roof here in Fort Lauderdale.
So if you guys don't know by now,
CP and I.
And this is also why we're in Ostradamus, dude.
We saw the future.
Yeah.
Yes, Dan.
Yes.
We stayed back.
We hung back in Fort Lauderdale.
We skipped game six, which, listen, I'm a little bumped because Edmonton, we, you know, we said it on the Instagram story.
We said it on the podcast.
I'm going to say it to hear it again.
I mean, God, what a good time Edmonton is.
And what a good group of people those fans are.
They treated us so well.
We had so much fun in Edmonton, the vibes at Rogers Place, all of the fans, at all
the bars, restaurants, up and down the streets, like, that is a hockey town.
And we love a hockey town.
I mean, truly, it's like, it doesn't get better for people doing what we're doing.
So it was a huge bummer to not be able to be with those people again.
But end of the day, we were like, listen, if the cats win, it'll be great to be here
on home soil and see all these fans going nuts.
But ultimately, we thought the Oilers were going to win.
We hunkered down, got ready for game seven, and here we are.
So we watched at Tin Roof in Fort Lauderdale.
What a spot.
What a time.
We've been to the tin roof in Nashville.
Nashville.
Yeah.
Similar vibes, do you.
Live music, great TVs, good food.
We went early, got a bite.
All the cool people there who got everything set up for us.
And then Panthers fans, again, let's switch it over.
Let's gas up Panthers fans.
Fans rolled out in droves.
We had a sweet crew together.
Obviously, didn't go their way.
but they kept good spirits, good vibes.
People are playing music in between periods.
It was just good stuff.
So Tin Roof, Fort Lauderdale, if you're ever in this area, definitely check that bar out.
Also, got to say, hot people, dude.
A lot of hot people.
Oh, dude.
Just like.
Extremely hot people there.
When people talk about just like hot people of every shape and size in Florida, I mean,
they're rolling into tin roof.
I mean, my goodness, gracious.
And Dan, I might add hot people, too.
because I was quite sweaty.
The, if there was one note, because the viewing experience, amazing, live music set up, amazing.
One note, AC, grab some AC.
I was very sweaty in that bar.
They could use some AC.
They could use some.
I was overheating.
I was having a panic attack, I think.
I think I was having a panic attack.
I was drinking.
I ate some hot, hot wings, tenders, and I was nervous, and I was pacing.
and, you know, it was like pooling in my neck.
You know what I'm saying?
Like right here.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And I was like, oh, no, dude.
This is not good, dude.
This first period.
First period, Dan, I've got a neck pool.
A neck pool.
Come on.
You know when I know that I'm sweating too much,
the neck pool is tough.
The neck pool is tough.
I really get it.
I don't know if you really suffer this early
because, you know, your hair's longer than mine right now and most often.
I don't get it.
I'm not like, ooh, I'm in trouble sweaty when I feel it like maybe on the back of the shirt,
maybe a little bit in the pit stains.
I get some good pit stains.
I get pits stains all the time.
You sure do.
I do.
When the back, when the back of my hair, these pieces, do you see those?
Yeah, are wet.
When those are just wet.
and like beaded together.
Yeah.
I'm like, oh, baby, I'm sweating.
Like, I am sweating out here.
And I don't love that.
But as we always say, if everyone's sweaty, no one's sweaty.
And that's what I love about Florida.
We're all sweating.
So good stuff.
But okay, so we're in Tin Roof.
We're watching the game.
Great stuff.
Loving the people.
That game.
I felt, Dan, I felt like the, because we, Rogers was sick when we were there.
And I just felt like if the cancers didn't, yeah.
Sorry, don't mean to interrupt.
And I think I'm saying this because I'm just, I am a bit sad.
I wasn't there because Rogers has got to be a top three bar in the league.
Awesome.
I mean, like, holy shit.
That place is so sick.
And I can only imagine it was electric there.
But go on.
Well, dude, we've been chirping.
We've been telling everybody that every rink's.
quiet, right? Every time every episode we pop on, we say, this rinks quiet, that rings quiet.
I knew tonight, Rogers, it was going to be rocking. And if they could just, the Oilers could get up,
it was going to be extra hard. The Panthers are a great third period team, great comeback team.
If they got down in this game, I knew it was going to be extra, extra hard for them to come back.
And for the Oilers to get the first goal and a kill, the Panthers to that power play, first goal and a kill.
I was already, I didn't want to be negative in that watch party, but I was already like, bring
out you dead, dude.
Fucking get off the bus or the rink.
Pack, get in the bus.
Go to the fucking airport.
Take your five connection flight back to Fort Lauderdale and then fucking get some rest, dude.
Hit the hay.
Get some rest for game seven.
Because the second it went one nothing and a kill, that was a kill shot, dude.
It was fucking over.
Dude.
Yeah.
I mean, listen, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I,
want to say it is
I pick Panthers in six
you pick Panthers in five
if I had the dunce cap with me I'd put it on
but no you don't deserve a dunce cap for this
okay when you say
when you say Dallas in five and the Oilers win in six you wear a dunce cap
yeah when you say Panthers in six and it might be Panthers in seven you don't
wear a dunce cap yeah and I would like to say
you know I mean Christ man we were in Edmonton
a place we love, with people we love.
After game three, all the Oilish fans were like, I mean, we're dead, dude.
We're losing in four.
And any one of you that disagrees with that, you're lying.
Like, you know, you guys were.
And how could you not be?
Anyone would be.
I'm not talking shit.
Like, that's just how you feel as a sports fan.
So to say, like, oh, yeah, we thought the Panthers were going to win, like, you know, in five, and six.
And then after three games, you'd be like, well, you fucking idiots are wrong.
Yeah.
No one expected this.
No one expected this.
this except maybe Connor McDavid.
So to that I say, this is awesome.
I mean, if you are not a Florida Panthers fan,
if you are, or someone who just like blinds.
Yeah, I was going to say, or someone who blindly hates the oilers,
how do you not think that this is awesome?
I mean, this is what you dream of as a unbiased fan.
You're getting a series that everyone was going like this most boring Stanley Cup final ever,
oh, this is terrible.
This is, I don't care what happens.
This is the most exciting Stanley Cup final in recent memory.
This is unbelievable.
I think, let me look this up, bro.
But I was going to say, I think this is got to be,
all right, here you go, Dan.
Is there too many?
No, it's not that many.
All right, here are the game sevens, Stanley Cup finals history.
Okay.
2019, Blues beat the Bs 4-1.
Nightmare for us.
but good series, you know, as a neutral, good series.
Great story for the Blues.
2011, Bees beat the Canucks 4-0.
Awesome for us.
Great series.
2009, Penguins beat the Wings 2-1.
Great series, sick game.
Yep.
Crosby Coronation.
Oh, yeah.
06.
Cains beat the Oilers after nearly blowing a 3-1 series lead, I believe.
04, bolts beat the flames.
That was sick, I think.
No, it sucked.
Again, we're lost.
No, but that was a good series.
O3, Devils beat the Ducks.
That was Jaeger.
Sick.
Oh, one, abs beat the devils.
Ray Bork.
Unbelievable.
I mean, come on.
Ninety-four, Rangers, Canucks, Messier, all that nonsense.
87, Oilers, Flyers, 71 habs.
I don't remember this shit, obviously.
65 habs, 64 leaves, 55 wings,
54 wings, 50 wings, 45.
Hey, hey, pal.
You got to land the plane here.
45 Maple Leafs, 42, Maple Leafs, and that's the, that's the, uh, came back from 03.
Yeah.
So, you know, that's like, I wasn't counting fucking 15 times.
Tell me any of those that are more iconic than this incoming game seven due to what's happened.
And who it is.
Dude, that, that's my point.
Bork is up there maybe like Bork Devils, like Bork versus the Scots Stephen Devils.
Bork is up there.
even begin to try to talk to me about Crosby,
like getting one back on the wings.
This isn't even close.
That's not even close to this.
Yeah.
And 94 Rangers.
94 Rangers,
Messier with the shit and Burray on the Canucks.
Like,
I think it's that 94 Rangers 01 abs are the only two even
in the conversation
of this incoming game seven.
No disrespect Rangers fans.
I mean, 94 Rangers doesn't sniff this as far as I'm concerned.
like this this is just insane it doesn't even sniff it Chris especially when you consider
absolutely dude especially when you consider what this oilers team went through what happened at the
beginning of the season the firing of the coach not about coming in like all the whole thing the whole
thing all the talk about dry sidle oh he's not going to come back and like we were a part of that
but like yeah yeah oh he might not come back if they don't go far in these playoffs and like
dude, this is just unreal.
They're about to win the Stanley Cup after being down 3-0,
and everyone was like, they are deader than dead.
This Panthers team was chalk.
They were the best team all year.
They've got it.
They've got it.
This is unreal.
And I mean, let's be honest, dude,
I love greatness.
You love greatness.
I've had a McDavid shirt since his second year in the league.
It is unbelievable watching this guy.
and just seeing what this team, I mean, I always say,
you had the stat.
I think we talked about it last episode.
What is it?
It's four times in the league in the playoffs.
Someone's come back from 03 and only once in 42 that it was the Stanley Cup final.
There's a reason this doesn't happen, guys.
This doesn't happen because obviously the odds are insane,
but it's also just so hard to mentally and emotionally rally yourself
as a team to win four straight games after you've just lost three straight.
Think about that.
It's just, that's so grueling.
So to see this guy, the chosen one, McJesus, literally rising from the dead and carrying
his team to Valhalla is like, this is script writing stuff.
This is stuff that you cannot make up.
This is truly, witness.
Witness me, dude.
Witness me.
shiny and chrome.
This is truly the stuff
that people write sports
movies about. This is
the stuff that you will tell your children
about. This is
setting the stage
for maybe the greatest
Stanley Cup final
moment of all
time. That is
unreal and how can you not be so
pumped up about this?
Dude,
all the Panthers, everything
I'm hearing coming into this game is like, we're
fine, we're fine, we're fine. Don't matter. We're happy. No distractions here to
night, boys. Families at home. Left the family, left the wife and kids at home, Dan.
We're here on the road, locked in, laser focused. Get to the game. Two shots in the first
period. Least amount of shots they've had in a period all season. Not all playoffs, all season.
Not one shot for the first 12 minutes of the game. At one point, Dan, they had five shots.
We're in the second period. They had five shots. All five were from defensemen. All five.
is not an acceptable start in a peewee game, dude, let alone with your fucking life on the line
in game six of the Stanley Cup finals.
And you're talking about shot attempts, right?
No, shots on goal.
They had two shots on goal in the first period.
Dude, like, I think it was longer than that.
Like, you're saying first, 10, first.
I think
Chris Johnson tweeted out
we went almost 30 minutes
without a shot on net
by a forward
Yeah, yeah, that's what I'm saying
We were well into the second period
Oh sorry
We had two shots in the first
We were well into the second period
They had five shots on goal
All five were defensemen
That's my bad
I misheard you
I thought you were talking about
Like the first 10 minutes of the game
I was like buddy
This went deep into the second period
Like we were really out of control here
So it's just
It's fucking insane
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by the crisp, refreshing Canadian kindness taste of Labat Blue Light.
Labat has been our great friends for a long time on the pod, and we couldn't be happier with the partnership because every time I'm watching hockey, every time I'm hanging with my friends, when I'm at holidays, it's summertime, we're at the beach.
I am grabbing a Labat Blue Light. This is not a joke. It is my favorite light beer in the game, and it will be.
be yours. I'm telling you, I don't know what they're doing up there in Canada. I don't know how they
ferment the alcohol. I don't know how they make their moves. But whatever is, whatever they're
doing is working because my God, it is my go-to beer, no matter the occasion. So I'm telling you,
go grab one at the closest store you can find and tell me I'm wrong. You're going to love it.
Taking a quick break from the pod to talk to you guys about the number one, numero uno name in hockey,
and that is Bauerhockey, and that is obvious, because they are the name you think of,
every time you're thinking about your hockey gear, your hockey apparel, hockey in general.
It's Bauer, baby, and especially if we're talking training, go to Bauer.com slash training
and see what I'm talking about right now.
They've got everything in there.
Anything you need to take your game to the next level.
I don't care if you've just started hockey.
I don't care if you're a pro.
Bauer has got you covered from the digital reactor dangler when you're working on that
toe drag, working on the inside, outside, bang.
And they got the reactor slideboard.
When you're working on the strides, trying to skate faster, trying to skate with these
really long like a gazelle out there. Bauer.com slash training is the absolute place to be.
And because they love you, they're giving you free shipping if you use promo code empty.
That's E-M-P-T-Y at checkout.
Go there now.
So, same script, dude, like, not the most likely of goal scores starting this game.
Fogle gets on the board first.
And great play by Drysidal.
I love the handles through the slot.
good pass.
But one thing I wanted to point out was this one and then the Henrique goal,
Henrik got the second one, and then we'll get into Hyman's third goal after we talk about
some other things.
But those first two goals, also similar story, just bad turnovers, bad puck protection,
bad, bad pinching.
Pinching, dude.
And zone awareness that are you pinching so early that are
just leading to these goals, these like odd man rushes, these quick transition plays.
And it makes me want to say this.
Dude, Max, our boy, is going to get a kick out of this because I kind of chirped him because
I think he was a little hyperbolic with it.
But I am saying in this area, Paul Maurice is getting outcoached by Knoblock.
I don't think he's getting circles run around him.
But in these last three games, it feels like some adjustments have been made by
Noblock and Maurice isn't responding to it.
And what I see specifically is this big bad forecheck by Florida that we've heard all about.
Everyone keeps talking about this forecheck.
Florida's forecheck, it's suffocating.
And in games one and two and three, 100%.
But now, dude, you're seeing that forecheck come flying in.
And the Oilers defensemen are doing a quick chip, quick pass, bang, bang, and just get it past the forecheck.
And then we see a three on two the other way every fucking time.
And I'm like, dude, it's completely changing the tides of the game.
And it's wild to see.
I think it's tough because I don't know.
Sometimes, I see this in baseball all the time.
If a coach, if it's an easy run for the playoffs and the coach doesn't have to do much,
I'm not saying he hasn't.
It wasn't easy against the Rangers.
It wasn't easy against the Bruins.
But if the coach doesn't have to change much and then all of a sudden in the key moments of the season,
you do have to start making some tough coaching decisions,
it can be hard because you haven't had this issue.
issue. And all of a sudden, we're seeing some line juggles for Hagee up to the top line,
Cousins Inn, Lomborg Inn, you know, and none of those buttons are working yet. It hasn't
pulled the right strings. Max said, he was like, maybe there's more to this,
Maurice doesn't want a cup in 26 years or whatever it is. I don't know. I'm,
it's hard for me to say definitively that the Oilers have made a bunch of adjustments.
The Oilers coaching staff have made a bunch of adjustments,
and that's why they're winning three games.
And everybody was saying that at the bar today.
A ton of Panthers fans were like, God, we're not making any changes.
We're not, we're getting out-coached.
And maybe I've just missed stuff.
And you're about to be like, oh, dude, here's all the line changes that Knoblock has made.
And this is why and whatever.
but I'm like, dude, it doesn't seem that much to me.
And I could be completely, I know I'm in the minority and I just could be completely wrong.
But I don't feel as though this is Maurice.
Like Maurice hasn't made changes.
Whoever runs the Panthers power play should be, should have a stern talking to.
Because it feels as though the Oilers power play had their setup and the McDavid was
tornadoing and the Tantthers were getting a lot of sticks and lanes.
And the last few power plays I've watched the Oilers.
They haven't scored or actually they did in game in game five.
But my point is like in this power this game they didn't score, but they had great
power plays.
Tons of zone time, really good looks.
The Panthers haven't had possession on a power play since Nam.
And it's somebody, somebody watch do something.
Someone do something.
So there, yeah.
But I'm not as hard on the camp of like, oh, Maurice is getting circles coached
around him by Chris Knoblock.
that's why three games have gone the other way.
I didn't say that.
I literally verbatim said, I'm not saying he's coaching circles around him.
I'm saying I think that there's an interesting element of this that I think it needs to be pointed out.
And to me, it's not the line changes.
It's more the gameplay.
Because, you know, I don't look at this Panthers team and look at the effort on the ice
and the way these guys are playing and the way they're, you know, throwing bodies around.
and I'm like, man, the guys aren't in it.
They weren't in it in game four.
They were half asleep.
But the last two games, they've been in it.
It's just, it's the strategies.
It's the X's and O's.
And I think you do kind of have to point that out.
Now, I am going to say this.
I think Verhege is like,
I don't know what's going on there.
I think Verhege is either banged up or something,
but that man's on a milk carton.
And holy shit is Florida feeling it.
Like they are so,
clearly in desperate need of his production.
And on the power play, we saw Montor get bounced off the power play in favor of OEL.
And I think that was a good decision.
I think Montor made the tough play that led to the breakaway goal by Connor Brown last game.
He made another tough play last game as well.
So good adjustment there.
But like Verhege now is like you're seeing him passing up shots.
You're seeing him make ill-advised passes through traffic.
And there was just a lot of times when you pointed out the shot stuff, I'm like, dude,
These guys are gripping the sticks too hard.
Like throw some fucking pucks on net and get it on net.
I mean, they're taking some, they're doing a couple extra passes and then taking shots that are just hitting the, you know, the first guy getting blocked.
And that's what's leading to a lot of these odd man rushes.
And you can tell, man, they're rattled.
They're absolutely rattled.
And it's, it's, it's, again, it's awesome to see because I'm like, we got games of it, baby.
But, you know, for the Florida team and the Panthers fans, I'm like, I feel you.
And the frustration and the fear is totally there.
Now, talking about frustration and fear,
let's get into the goal called back for offsides.
I'm curious what-
Would have changed the whole game?
Would it change the entire game?
Another immediate Panthers strike after an oiler's goal.
Bar went crazy.
Everybody texted me.
All my Panthers friends texting me.
Like, here we go.
You know what I mean?
No one goal lead is safe against that Panthers team.
But let's point out to CP.
start of the second period
you're like Oilers immediately
get a goal and Panthers you're like
well we just shit in our pants and this game
is over and then what was it 20 seconds later
Captain Barkaw boom
goal so it was like a
okay we're in this dude like we're
good yeah
so that one
dude I saw them go to the challenge
and I was like what is it and you know
you always assume it's offside if you didn't see
something high stick or whatever so I'm like all right it's got to be
offside they pull it up
the first view I saw,
I was like,
that's good,
dude,
because they changed that rule,
right?
You don't have to be,
you know,
skate doesn't have to be down anymore.
Your skate can be in the air
as long as it's still over the blue line.
Over the blue line.
So I was like,
oh yeah,
yes,
I was like,
he's good, dude.
That I was like, ooh, maybe that's actually closer
than I thought.
And then they kind of zoomed in on one.
I'm sure people at home had even better looks at it than we did at the bar.
But the,
there was like one where it literally looks like,
I was like,
and that puck's over.
And then they, like, zoom in and you're like,
oh, I guess that puck is on the blue line, kind of.
I'm a huge get it right guy.
I know people hate replay.
You've heard me bitch about like, yo, dude,
I don't give a fuck how long it takes.
Get the fucking call right.
And McDavid even had a comment earlier this year.
Remember, he was like, if it takes that long,
it's too close to call and they're slowing down the game,
which I was supposed to say I couldn't disagree with more.
That's untrue.
That's hyperbolic.
But I disagree with where I'm like, look at it until you fucking get it, dude.
I think his point is it's when it's so tight, just let the boys play.
And it's kind of funny to me that his own words should have come back and bit him in the ass,
in my opinion, in this one, where I'm like, that is too tight.
That was a goal on the ice.
That is too tight.
Let the boys play situation.
That's how I saw it.
I don't know how you felt.
I'm with you.
Do you want to put a hat on?
You've got a Justin Bieber vibe going on and you're just your stroke in the hair nonstop.
This isn't a chirp.
I'm asking you a question.
I feel like I don't want you to be distracted with the hair right now.
It looks great.
It's flowing.
Yeah.
No, I can't.
I would never.
I would never bottle this up.
No, yeah.
Okay.
It's silky.
Like, you're in a,
you're in a shampoo commercial right now.
I just wanted to make sure that you weren't,
you feeling distracted.
It's sweat.
It's sweat.
Yeah, yeah.
It's sweat from tin roof.
That's for sure.
I disagree with you on the one point.
I think I'm on Conner's side.
I actually think that that's such a.
mature stance to be like, dude, if it's taken this long, it's too close to call.
Let's move on here.
I really like that stance by him.
I'm with you completely on that one.
And it's tough, man.
I tweeted out during the game.
And I was like, if you're an oilish fan or not, that's an ass call.
And I think surprise, surprise, people overreacted and acted like douchebags on Twitter.
But the tweet went very viral.
and I mean it's got an overwhelming amount of likes and then comments that were like agree.
But then obviously there was a bunch of Oilers fans in there who are getting mad.
And I think that they misinterpreted the point of the tweet.
No shot at Oilish fans is just passionate fans.
The point wasn't me saying that's not off sides.
That's me saying I don't like that call because of how close it was to your point, CP.
Like, I think where I stand on those ones is, we talk about it all the time, right?
It needs to be 100% conclusive to overturn the call on the ice.
Why do we have refs if we don't give them the benefit of the doubt?
Like, that's kind of the point here.
That play was so insanely close.
And any fan who sees the, you know, screen grab, the slow-mo,
and they go, it's clearly off sides, you're lying to yourself.
You're lying to yourself and you're lying to the internet.
It is not clearly off sides.
I think it's probably off sides.
I think they probably got that call right if we are putting a gun to it and saying,
pick one.
But I don't think it's definitely off sides.
I think it's so close that you go with the call on the ice.
You go with what the refs saw.
And when a lot of people, including myself, online are going,
It didn't change the play.
It didn't affect the play at all.
A lot of people want to go,
that's not the fucking rule, man.
And you're right.
I know that that's not the rule.
I know if the,
I know the rule isn't,
well, if it doesn't technically affect the play,
it's not offside.
What I'm saying is it's a bummer
when that goal,
which definitely guys change the momentum
and possibly the outcome of that game,
definitely.
When a play is that close
and you're taking that much time,
and it's not for sure to overturn what the refs called on the ice.
It's a bummer.
I'm not saying it's wrong.
It's probably offside.
Probably.
That's as much as I'm going to give you.
I don't think it's certain at all.
It's a bummer that you definitely change the game on something that we're not sure of by overturning it.
That's what I think is a bummer.
I'm just using the word bummer.
It's ass.
It's a bummer.
It is what it is.
But, and I would say that regardless, if it was the Oilers, if it was the Panthers, if it was a team that was winning, if it was a team that was losing.
You just hate when there are calls like that in games that's like, because you know what, if there are sometimes when this happens and you go, oh shit, that's definitely offside.
That's definitely offside.
And you go, good, I'm glad we have review.
That one, I think if Knoblock didn't challenge, I think that there is less than a.
handful of Oilers fans who would have lost their minds.
I've been like, that play was offside.
And then for sure, some analytics nerd would have tweeted out, oh, look at this play.
That was actually offside.
And then a bunch of people on Twitter would have lost their collective minds because that's how this works.
But that one just didn't feel like it was, oh, in, you know, it's not like that pass led
to a breakaway.
There was five passes and a couple shots on net before it went in.
So it's just one of those ones where I'm like, man, I, I,
That teeny teeny millimeter and that millisecond that led to him being offside,
I don't think was the difference of whether or not that went in.
And that, that sucks.
Hey, for Hege, get the puck over the line, though.
How about that?
Hey, buddy, get the puck over the line.
And at the end of the day, at the end of the day, you know, gun to my head,
it's the right call.
It was offside.
I do think it's a huge bummer, but it was offside.
So whatever.
It's also a nice luxury to be able to challenge that
and know that worst case scenario, it's a panthers power play,
and then that means the Oilers are going to score.
So you're like, whatever, let's just challenge it.
And either it's overturned or they keep their goal.
We get a, they get a power play also.
And then we score short-handed, and it's now we're up again anyway.
So either way, we have a one-goal lead coming out of this.
Paul Maurice was less than pleased with that call to, that overturn.
That was some, I want to hear that mic up.
Dude, somebody get me the mic up of Paul Maurice,
letting the boys and the stripes have it after that overturn.
I'll tell you exactly what he said.
He kept saying there's no fucking way.
You could see it.
He was going no fucking way.
There's no fucking way.
And I respect it.
How are you feeling about the goalies?
How are you feeling about Bob?
How are you feeling about Skinner?
Bob, I thought Bob, I thought Bob in game five was getting, I said, dude, I came on this very program.
And I said, Bob is done.
He's done here.
And I said the Panthers are going to have to win four, three, five, four if they're going to do it.
And he gave up three again.
So part of me is like, I feel that way again.
The thing that sucks is I didn't even feel like except for the McDavid one, they were that bad on him in game five.
And in this one, dude, you look at him and it's a fucking two-on-one sick pass, two-on-one's good pass.
He comes across, they cross-body him, and it's basically off the post it in.
And then it's another fucking breakaway that he's fully extended.
and that one elevated, you know,
that one was really unlucky, honestly,
because he got the pad out
and it went under the blocker, over the pad,
is what it is.
Those goals to me aren't on Bob at all.
So that's a good sign if you're the Panthers.
But, and you and I talked about this,
however,
however, before Bob was bailing them out.
And I don't mean they were going to lose
if he wasn't making all these crazy saves,
but you had that ace up the sleeve.
where they gave up
fucking three breakaways in game one
and he saved them all.
And he saved them.
He rocked them all then.
So it's like he's just not making that
all fuck.
We fucked you,
dude,
but we got to have this one.
Please,
I'm begging you.
I'm on my hands and knees
begging you.
Sorry for giving up
another fucking breakaway.
Please save this.
And he just was saving those.
And now he isn't.
Yeah, man.
It's tough because I'm with you.
I ain't going to get on,
Bob.
Nah.
What about Bob?
I'm not going to say it.
Classic.
I'm not going to say anything's wrong.
But I did say to you in the Uber, he ain't the guy anymore.
Like he ain't that guy that's going to bail you out.
He's not going to bail you out of the boat.
He's not going to sink the boat, but he's not bailing you out anymore.
And you called it, man.
You're not winning a shootout against this Oilers team.
Well, you know, you could, but that's what you're going to have to do, in fact.
Like, I don't think they can win game seven, two, one.
I really don't.
I just think we've got three games of proof where it turns into a, Bob ain't bailing you out.
You're now in a shootout situation.
You haven't won the shootout yet, and I don't think you're going to.
And, yes, I don't think Bob's to blame on the Fogel goal or the Henrik goal or the Hyman
breakaway.
But I do think when we were getting all Hock to us,
Bob in game three.
We literally made a meme about it,
about how in the world is he getting post to post like this
and robbing these fucking backdoor dishes?
These are now the goals that are going in.
You know what I mean?
That breakaway.
Yeah, absolutely.
He lost the script, dude.
He had the script.
He had read it, and now he's lost it.
He's misplaced it.
And he doesn't know where to stand.
And you know what, CP?
Going back to game four,
no offense, Connor Brown, a Connor Brown breakaway, you got to be
beforehand, back end, that's it.
You got to be picking Bob.
Yep.
Right?
You've got to be picking Bob in that scenario.
I'm like, dude, this is a guy who scored five goals all season.
He's on the PK.
I don't give a shit if he's got a breakaway.
You shut him down.
You shut him down.
Because you can.
And he's not doing that right now.
And it's unfair to ask a goalie to make a bunch of breakaway saves.
But unfortunately, he's not making these breakaway saves right now,
and you're kind of in trouble.
And on the other side, Skinner is doing everything under the sun that's being asked of him.
Dude, I need to say this about Stuart Skinner, and I mean this fucking passionately.
I don't think he's an elite, elite goalie in this league.
He's still super young, so he could become, we don't really see that with goalies that much.
Rarely is a guy like, I'm okay.
and then they're like, I'm incredible.
But I don't think he's an elite goalie in this league.
I don't think he'll ever be an elite goalie in this league.
And there's a chance he's just on a heater that he doesn't even touch this again.
Yeah.
But, dude, I felt like he was not a goalie.
Even accepting that he's a pretty good goalie, he was not a goalie that you could win a Stanley Cup with.
And, you know, the Kemper's of the Aves Kemper thing kind of like through that theory
for a loop, but for the most part, it's a guy.
It's a guy when you win the cup.
And win or lose in game seven,
Stuart Skinner is a goalie you can win the Stanley Cup with,
and they are not in the market for one at all.
And they never said they were, that was a me narrative,
but I am off that narrative permanently.
Stuart Skinner, unless he has like a fucking mental breakdown
and like can't play the position anymore.
But Stuart Skinner, from what I've seen in this playoffs,
is a guy that you can win a Stanley Cup with,
Not the guy I would pick, but I'm done talking about the Oilers future playoffs having goalie issues.
There's no such thing anymore.
Yeah.
You know, I think obviously Florida got three past him last game, only one tonight.
And what I love about Stewie right now is he's making all the saves he's supposed to make.
And sometimes that is enough.
So yes, I am so with you.
With this team, Stewie is enough.
I don't think he's lights out.
I didn't watch that game and I'm like, dude, Stewie made it so hard for them.
I think the Panthers are making it a little bit hard for themselves.
They're not getting quality shots.
They're not really testing.
He made one great save.
It was like.
Yeah.
Barcoff, maybe a kick save.
Oh, yeah, that one.
I thought you were talking about that one that looked back to her, but I was like, Kulikov saved that one.
He got a stick.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
But yeah, man, it's like, Stewie's doing his job.
And I'll tell you what, I think you're seeing it in the Oilers play.
players.
Like they, none of them feel like they're playing, like they're worried that Stewie's
going to get scored on.
And they were before.
That was an issue on this Oilers team.
Yep.
Agree.
And they are definitely not doing that.
And it's great to see that he's got his mind right.
Got mine right.
And he's playing.
Right.
I do want to say this.
So go on the odd man rush shit.
I just wanted to say, dude, that we talked about the pinching is causing all these two
one's and it's a fucking disaster.
That Hyman goal was a real backbreaker.
Gus Forsling cannot get that shot blocked.
Dude, that was, like, I don't even know.
And he was it, we were stroking him.
He was in Conn Smyth conversation.
Under no circumstances.
Under torture, dude.
I don't care if they're pulling the fucking your fingernails up and shoving bamboo
shoots down them, the only thing
you can't do is get that
shot blocked. Give up the nuclear
codes. Give up state secrets.
Dude. Give up your fucking
text messages, your DMs.
The Ashley Madison account.
Give up your mother. Give up your mother.
You just cannot.
They can peel off your eyelids.
You cannot get that shot blocked
straight up the gut into a Hyman breakaway.
Cannot.
It's just
unacceptable
soldier.
especially from a man who I have just been servicing all playoffs.
It's like, you're making me look like an asshole, buddy.
So one thing I want to say before moving on to a couple other points,
I feel so bad.
Cousins comes into the lineup.
He hasn't played in almost a month loss.
But dude, the Lamborghini, man.
This guy, in the Rangers series, I thought he was just buzzing all.
over the ice causing so many problems.
They win game one, and then they lose two straight.
And then Lombard gets yanked from the lineup, and then the Panthers never lost again.
And then Lomberg's been out of the lineup, I believe, and Florida won three straight, and then they lost, and then he got put in the lineup, and now they've lost two straight.
So you're just like 0 in four, and your last four games.
And as a role player guy like that, it sucks.
just such a tough feeling. So there's just like bad vibes here. So going on to the bad vibes,
if you're the Panthers, like, do you feel anything good here? Like, what are the signs? What is
making you go? We can win this game. Baby's taking a quick second to talk to you about bet MGM without
question, the best sports betting app in the game. And by now, you know that we have teamed up with
them and we've got all the best action in the game going. Here's the deal. We are on a heater, folks.
We are on a heater hitting these empty net bets.
Yes, that's right.
BetMGM has a special empty net prop for you, boys, and we are smashing it.
We hit it twice, twice in game six.
So you better get it on the action.
And the best way to do that is downloading the app and putting in promo code netters,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S, when you sign up and you're going to get all the best deals.
And the best one going right now with BetM-GM, you get up to $1,500 to bet with.
You can do anything.
You can do hockey like us.
That's what we're getting in on the most.
But we dabble.
We dabble in other things.
They've got everything under the sun that you could possibly bet on.
And you can bet up to 1,500 bucks.
And if you lose it, all of that goes right back into your account.
That's unreal.
BetMGM is hooking you up.
They're hooking us up.
Get on the train and get on the bet MGM team just like us.
Gambling problem.
Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S.
Call 8778 HOPE NYU or text HOPE NYU 467369 in New York.
Call 1-800-327-50-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-800-0-800-1-800-1-800-1-800-8-1-800-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-1-B
or visit www.1-800-Gabber.
First-offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable in partnership with Kansas Crossing, casino and hotel.
See betmjmj.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
In my opinion, the Panthers, after going down 4-1 in game 5 were not only much better,
but dominant, like suffocating, I thought, in game 5.
home. They were all over them. I thought they were going to, I thought they're going to win that game in
regulation. They were all over them so much. Didn't get the goals, the couple of bad calls, I thought,
sucked four minutes out of the third period and they didn't do it. But I was like, you know,
you're really going to build off that. They came into this game and played like assholes in the
first period, in my opinion. Actually, you know what? For the first seven minutes, the shots were like
three one oilers, but it wasn't, I was like, oh, the Panthers had a good look and they were fine.
13 minutes on in the first, the Orlers pummeled them, finished 11 to 2 shots.
After that, the Panthers outshot the Oilers 11 to 4 in the second.
They just gave up two goals because of a bad pinch and a bad breakaway.
And then they outscored the Oilers in the third.
I didn't get the shots in the third.
It doesn't matter.
But, like, I'm pretty sure they finished ahead in shots.
So they outshot the Oilers again in the third and, you know, had some chances.
No huge high danger chances, but whatever.
My point is the Panthers for the last three and a half out of four and a half periods,
I think have been the better team.
That's two losses, so tough talk, but I just think you've been playing better.
And then most importantly, Barkoff getting on the board twice, I thought was huge.
And McDavid, zero shots on goal.
He's a plus one, but zero shots on goal.
That looked much more like the Barkoff that we saw all playoffs.
get scoring on one end, really controlling the best player on the other team on the other end.
That's something that I'm trying to build off if I'm the Panthers.
The one thing, Barkov's a good point.
I don't think I give a shit about any of the shot stuff, any of the momentum stuff, any of the close chances stuff,
because it's just three games now where, let's not even say three, let's say two,
because game four was such a clown show.
I think it's two games now where it's just like a lot of like yeah well this will that will this will
that yeah agree agree the the mac david nothing doing mac david just came off to back to back
four point night so we know mac david can flip that switch whenever he wants so i don't think
he'll go for it on you game seven yep exactly um so yeah i don't really think i'm thinking
anything like that um dude i i think if i'm the panthers i i'm going into this
and the only thing, only thing that I'm feeling good about is that it's game seven.
And game seven is kind of like a anything can happen, man.
Len, like, you know, you're one and, or you're two and one at home.
So I'm like, yeah, you know, like, I guess home ice, but like, I don't even know, man.
But I just think the only thing that you've got going for you is you go, it's game seven, man.
Anything can happen.
Like, if you're Paul Maurice, I think you straight up go, forget everything, do.
Forget everything.
Act like this is game one.
We came in game one and we smacked them.
And I think you have to have that mindset.
Forget everything else.
We're at home.
We've got one game.
Nothing else matters.
None of the goals scores.
None of the plays.
None of the outcomes matter.
This is one game.
Go in and try to win.
And I think on paper,
they're probably the better team.
And I feel like we saw that for three games.
But now on the other side of your Edmonton,
you do read into all of this.
You read into everything.
happened like that's your momentum um and i i think the one thing that's interesting dude is like
the the the responses that the panthers have had they've been being interviewed the last couple
games and they're like this whatever like kachuk going we all knew this wasn't going to be over in
four games we know this was knew this was going to be a long series they're saying all the right
things they're acting very calm they're lying very unaffected
And I think that they're lying correctly, agree.
But I don't know if you can pull that stick anymore, dude.
I'm not saying that they should go into interviews right now and go like this.
Oh, we're terrified.
Like, this is a disaster.
But I think you need to be like this.
Of course we feel like I would be dead ass honest and go, of course we feel pressure.
Like this is not at all what we wanted to happen.
We wanted to win in four.
We wanted to win in five.
We wanted to win in six.
And here we are in seven.
But like, here's the deal.
We want to win again.
So we're going to try to win again.
And we're going to win again.
or we're going to win.
But, like, you can't play this unfazed role anymore because it is not working for you.
So you got to get a different attitude here.
Dude, the messaging is, if I'm the Oilers, the messaging is this.
Boys, we looked at each other after game three, and we said, we're not going out like this.
Believe in, believe in the, trust the board, breathe.
Trust the board, breathe.
And take it one game at a time.
and we will put ourselves in a fucking game seven,
and we will do it, and we will make history.
And here we are.
Let's finish the job.
I think I say this, truly,
because I want to get your take on both teams
in a couple situations here,
but I think I say this.
We were the laughing stock of the NHL
at the beginning of this season.
So many people were dancing on our graves.
Oh, look at this great Edmonton team.
They're going to finish last in the Pacific.
We turned it around and we were one of the best teams all year long,
especially that last half of the year.
Then we get to playoffs.
Multiple people counted us out every single series.
And then we get here and we go down 3-0.
Everyone wrote us off, said we were going to lose in four in Edmonton.
Humiliation.
Blow up the team.
What a joke.
They'll never get it done.
Everyone counted us out.
No one believed in us except us.
And then we won.
went in and we shit pumped them in game four in front of our home fans.
Then we went back to Florida and we said, we're going to drag them back to Alberta.
And we did just that.
And then we put a smacking on them again.
Unbelievable job, 5-1 win.
And now all the pressure is on them.
They are facing one of the greatest collapses in Stanley Cup history.
We are staring down the barrel of one of the greatest victories in Stanley Cup.
Stanley Cup history. So let's take all that momentum and let's feast on their fear and let's take a plane down to Florida and let's fuck them in their own barn.
And you win the Stanley Cup. And you lift the cup, dude. You lift the cup in Florida and you bring it back to Canada where it fucking belongs. And you lift the cup, dude. That is what I say. And that is what I would do.
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health from the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment
offers a physician-led, full-body checkup
that provides a clear picture of your health today
and may uncover early signs of conditions
like heart disease and cancer.
The healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being
and book an assessment today.
Medcan. Live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
For me, dude, the messaging if you're Florida
is literally as simple as this.
we lost in the Stanley Cup final last year.
Everybody said, we will fix this.
We will write this wrong.
We're going to win the cup.
It's like the same team, Dan.
Everybody in that room, they're like, hey, it was us.
I'm never going to feel this shitty again.
We're winning the cup next year.
And in that moment, if I looked at all of you in the fucking Vegas locker when we were
taking our gear off, if I promised you in that moment, we could have a game seven of
the Stanley Cup finals at home.
Would you take it?
Every single person would have gone, yep.
Here you go.
Now you got it.
Fuck everything that's happened.
It doesn't matter what happened all fucking season, all playoffs,
or in this series to get you here.
If I looked you in the fucking face when we lost the cup last year
and I promised you a home game seven to fucking fix this,
would you take it?
And they would say yes, 100%.
Wow, dude.
I didn't, when I saw that phrasing,
I wasn't sure if I agreed.
I was like, I don't think they would take this.
Like, this is disaster.
But if you erase the way they got here, you're right.
I like that.
And with that attitude, in that moment.
With that attitude, I don't want to throw any of our boys under the bus here.
But Lazy tweeted out, if the Panthers win, I legitimately am not sure if they're going to be, I'm paraphrasing.
But he's like, I'm legitimately not sure if they're going to be elated.
I think they're going to feel relief more than anything.
Do you agree with that?
all. I agree only in that
we joke about this all the time because we're sick
fucks, but I agree in that in sports, I think
most Uber ultra-competitive
athletes have a weird brain chemistry in that
losing is agony and winning is relief.
I even have it as a fan. Like all those
Brady Bowls by the end, Dan, I would like, I was like,
every time he would win the ball, I'd just be like, oh, thank God.
Instead of like, yay!
and that I think is ingrained in a lot of athletes.
So I agree with him on that front.
But that's not even the way he meant it.
And the way he meant it, I get it.
I think the joy will overrule it.
I think the joy will overrule it.
Can we do a scenario here?
They'll feel relief.
They'll feel a ton of relief, obviously.
Can we do a scenario here?
Yep.
You be a reporter.
And I'm going to be a member of the Panthers who just won the Stanley Cup in game seven.
Yep.
Okay.
Dan, you've just won the franchise's first Stanley Cup and yours.
How do you feel?
No, no, no. Try again.
Frase it in the way Johnny's saying, being this.
Do you feel like you're just relieved?
Dan, you have just won the franchises and your first Stanley Cup.
Are you feeling more joy or relief right now?
The only thing I feel is joy, my man.
I just won the Stanley Cup in Game 7 on Home Ice for the first cup in this franchise's history.
I don't give a shit how I got it here.
We could have lost 50 to nothing in every single game we lost, and then we win the Stanley Cup.
That's all that matters, because at the end of the day, we won, they didn't.
My name is just on that pitch.
I think it is the, I hear you, like, as fans we always talk about, scenario over.
As fans, we always talk about the like, yeah, I get the relief thing.
It's like, dude, it's just so stressful.
But as a player, man, who gives a shit how you get it?
Who gives a shit how you get there?
All that matters is winning the cup.
And that's why we were saying earlier, if you are the Panthers,
you have to do whatever you can to erase everything that has happened in the last three games
and just go in and play.
Because you've got one game now.
It almost makes it the sweeter, dude.
Yeah.
100% too.
Almost makes it all sweeter.
When you get to game seven, both teams are facing elimination.
Different ball game, dude.
It's one game.
One game, see what happens.
That said, who you got?
Oh, my God.
I got the Panthers, dude.
I know it's fucking bat-shit insane.
I just liked their game tonight.
I like their game tonight.
Skinner played good.
But it's not like the Oilers.
I don't know if the shots are, can be bullshit,
but it's not like the Oilers, I shot them a ton.
I thought they, this sounds harsh,
but this game to me felt like one of the games
the Panthers lost against the Rangers,
where to me, this Oilers team tonight had three good.
chances to score and they scored all three.
And, you know, that's a, you know, tough bid.
They scored all three.
But I'm like, I think if that game happens again the same way, I like the Panthers
chances and it's at home.
Momentum's a nightmare.
Pressure's a nightmare.
But now it's like a lot of pressure on both teams.
It's game seven, baby.
Game seven, Stanley Cup finals.
So everyone's gripping the stick a little tight.
I will be thrilled, truly, thrilled for Connemick David and the Orler's and the
oldest fans.
Oh, no doubt.
It's like an all time, all time.
We said last pause, like an all time moment.
Like I, and I'll be so, so grateful to have witnessed it.
So no, no love loss for me either way.
It's a real win-win for me as a fan here because I came in,
rooting for the Panthers, I picked the Panthers.
I was rooting for the Panthers.
And I got, I'm taking, I'll take them.
But, uh, all-time moment either way.
Yep.
Uh, I got the Oilers.
I don't think it's close, honestly.
Um, it's funny to say that.
because everything I just said, what the Panthers need to do, you need to try to erase,
I don't know if they can.
That's what you've got to try to do.
Agree.
I don't know if you can.
And I look at that game and you're just, you're not doing anything right.
Like, you're, nothing's working.
I do think it was huge that they didn't let Edmonton's power play score.
I don't see a lot of peepers in this game seven, maybe four, maybe like two and two.
and who knows, you know, maybe
Oilers go two for two, and then
you're fucked. But
it just felt
like not a lot was going
right. And
the, everything
we just said about Game 7, it does
change everything, and that is true, dude.
And I want to be clear,
there is pressure on Edmonton.
I gave my old speech earlier, but there
is pressure because at the end of the day,
tell me, Chris,
what do you get?
If you win, if you come back from down 3-0 and tie it 3-3 and then lose game 7.
A piece of shit draft pick.
You get a piece of shit draft pick and then nothing.
And me wishing you a good day.
At the end of the day, you have the same season that the Chicago Blacks, Chicago Blackhawks had.
You get nothing.
You are one of 31 losers.
It's just the reality.
So there is pressure.
Like they've done all this work, this iconic history making work.
You got to finish the job now.
So they feel pressure too.
But I just don't see how this Panthers team can shake off all of this when this
Oilers team has so much momentum.
Everything is working.
And I just fear for Florida that we are going to watch a McDavid and
dry saddle master class. I know dry saddle's done nothing.
That's the fear. We always talk about it, dude.
Like, are there who are a couple of players in this league that they could be dead quiet
and then come in and have the best game you've ever seen? They are two of the first names
that you list. And I could just see like the first shift. If I were in A Block, I would
throw them out on the same line just for the first shift in the game. And just I would be like,
this is what you're going up against in a do or die winner takes all. Yep.
not many guys you would pick over the two of them.
And I just, I would be lying to you if I said,
I love this Panthers, not this part,
I love this Panthers team.
I really do.
I hate all the people who talk shit about them diving and then being dirty and cheap.
I think it's such a loser take.
I think they play hard.
I think they play awesome and they're so fun to watch.
And watching a team win their first Stanley Cup ever,
that's something that I don't understand hockey fans who don't want to see that.
It's fucking amazing.
Hockey in Florida is awesome, and it's got to keep growing.
I'd be lying if I said I wasn't rooting for the Oilers.
This is a chance to be a part of, by that I mean, being here watching it,
a chance to see emphatically one of the greatest moments in Stanley Cup final history.
How do you not root for that?
So I'm on the Oilers, baby.
I want OT either way.
Oh, my God.
Give me three.
Yeah, dude, can you imagine?
I want to be there all night, dude.
A multiple OT game in this game seven.
I'll fucking lose my mind.
I want to be there all night.
I love it, dude.
I'm fired up.
All right.
Well, that is that for us on this episode.
Unbelievable stuff, guys.
You literally can't ask for something better.
We're going to Game 7 of the Stanley Cup final.
Team was down 3-0.
They bring it all the way back.
We are fucking ripping it, baby.
Game 7.
We will see you there on a Monday night.
be chilling all weekend if you're in Florida find us hit us up if not just talk to us as always
guys tensions are high stress is high oilers fans florida fans meanness from the bottom of our heart
we love you both hope everyone is just having a blast enjoy every second of this win or lose we
will see you on monday and until then one game left one thing to do skate hard
