Empty Netters Podcast - Chris Kreider’s Rangers Stories & Ducks Expectations + Met Predictions!
Episode Date: September 25, 2025One of the guys favorite episodes in recent memory. Long time friend Chris Kreider, the newest Anaheim Duck and former New York Ranger, joins the pod for his first podcast interview and it is fantasti...c. Plus, of course the guys dive into their Metropolitan Division preview for the 2025/26 season. Can the Devils make the jump? Are the Rangers back? What happens to Crosby and the Penguins? NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Take advantage of everything BetMGM has to offer and be sure to use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. Brand new Lightstrike flavor dropping this September called Blue Rush. Super refreshing mix of berry and yuzu flavors. As always, it’s non-carbonated, comes in a resealable bottle, made with 10% coconut water and 5% alcohol by volume. Check https://DRINKLIGHTSTRIKE.COM to find it near you Order your LUCY a shot Today by going to https://www.lucy.co/Friday and use promo code FRIDAY for 20% off your first order. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BedMGM.
Producer, Baker sits over there.
Like a legend.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and with me, he may look like a grown-up, but his ideal living situation would be him and his pals in a house full of six people until the day that he drops off the face of this earth.
It's the little boy, Christopher Powers.
As always, tell me I'm wrong.
I'm wrong, dude. Tell me I'm fucking wrong. I think you're wrong. Tell me I'm wrong. I think you're
wrong. N64. That liking N64 doesn't have anything to do with living alone or with your boys.
Jersey's on the walls. That I think needs a... Lava lamps. Terrible. Jersey's on the walls,
specific place in the house. Golf simulator. That is more of an adult thing. No, it is. All the boys would ruin that.
No, we would love it. No, you'd ruin it. We'd treat it with kindness. You've never done that with
thing. Everything you've ever had gets ruined.
My N64.
Actually, true.
It's taking great care of that.
I fucking love that thing, dude.
It's amazing. I love division previews.
Me too. I love the Metropolitan Division.
You do?
I do. That's what we're getting in today.
You know the drill, folks. We don't waste any time with these episodes.
We get right into it. Hot Ice starts immediately. We're doing the division previews.
We're break down every fucking team.
the Atlantic
getting a lot of positive responses.
I was shocked.
Dude, and if you didn't listen
to the Atlantic preview,
go listen to it right now.
True.
And if you did,
now that you have,
because you've listened to it,
now you're back.
I have five playoff teams
in the Atlantic.
So there's only three spots
in this division for me.
You said a maybe.
You maybe have four and four.
You're not sure yet.
So we're about to find out.
Yeah, we will.
We will find out.
I've got some maybe hot takes here.
Yep.
Maybe not.
The last time we've done these, we've gone through based on how they finished last year,
which we're going to, we're starting to go alphabetically.
I think it's a little more fun, a little more random.
Random.
Like I said, we've got the Met Division breakdown coming in this episode,
but also at long last folks, been bullying this son of a bitch for a decade.
Chris Kreider, my dear friend, former teammate, former New York Ranger,
current Anaheim Duck.
It's on the empty netters podcast.
Oh, come on.
Been salivating.
Salivating for this one.
And I'll tell you, it's fantastic.
So we're going to rip this division preview,
and then you get to enjoy the Crider interview.
Let's get down to business.
CPBR Sherpa, as always,
let's get right into it.
Metropolitan Division previews, predictions.
Who are we starting with?
We are starting with the Carolina Hurricanes,
2025-26
NHL season preview.
Last year, they went 47, 30, and 5 for 99 points,
finished second in the Met and made the playoffs
where they embarrassed themselves again
in the same round that always happens.
They did win a game, though.
Unfortunately, that did happen.
This year, Dan, they will finish.
Who's going first?
Me. Okay.
Three, two, one.
Second, one.
And I love that take.
from you. I almost fucking said it myself. Yeah, I love that. If you had a brain between those
stupid ears, you would have said one. It is so funny to me how much disrespect the canes get still.
You just did it. Two? Yeah. Yes. And also, I had them two last year? Yeah, I did. And I was
fucking sharpish shit last year. I think it with what? This division? I had them two last year.
Oh, and they were. Sorry, I thought you meant like the whole prediction.
I was like, you weren't sharp as shit.
You don't know.
You were a fucking lawnmower blade that ran over a gravel driveway is what you were.
No, I was fucking all over it, dude.
This team, what I will still never recover from is Rod ending this past season and being like this, we're not even a playoff team.
So it's actually a miracle that we're in the playoffs and a two seed.
Yeah, that was one of the craziest.
And, dude, there are people doing it still.
Like, I'm looking at other previews and they're like this cane.
fourth and I'm like, dude, that was insane.
What? What? What? What is happening?
How could the Cains be four with this fucking lineup?
It's crazy, dude. What is going on?
Why do you have them at one?
I think that they won the summer. Sure did. And not even close. I think they won the summer.
I think the fact that they also remain with, I believe it is off the top of my
head 10.6 mil in cap space and they have this roster. Holy shit. I think everything is on an
upward trajectory. They got better than they were last year. And yeah, I think that the Cains
continue to embarrass themselves in playoffs. There's no doubt about that. But I think that
they're slowly getting better and better. And I do think that there is an energy amongst the players
that is like, I will not be laughed at any.
Disrespect me once.
Shame on you.
Disrespect me twice.
Shame on me.
Disrespect me three times.
And now there's double the shame.
I have twice the shame.
Disrespect me four times, which the world is done.
Shame is back on you.
And now they're going to make people pay.
Now they're going to make someone pay, dude.
And I think that they've got the right group to make people pay.
And the bigger thing here for me, Christopher, now open up those ears, those stupid ears I was talking about earlier.
Open them up.
I don't think the MET is very good.
The MET is not very good, Dan.
The MET does not have a team that could even sniff.
Take it easy.
That could even sniff.
Take it easy, the Stanley Cup final.
Unfortunately.
Not yet.
Not this year.
Unless, unless, unless the Keynes trade for Krill Caprizoff.
his $9 million cap hit, let him leave as a rental and win a cup.
I won't lie to you.
I thought that any talk of krill to the Keynes was foolish.
And I will be honest, I think it still is foolish because I just, to me, a player making
$17 million a year on this team doesn't really make sense.
Maybe that's dumb.
I just don't think it makes sense.
I also don't think wing is necessarily what they need.
and krill is just a tried and true winger.
I'm going to sneeze.
Yes, sir.
Bang.
Good one.
And so I just, I don't like it.
But if there is a world where they could do like a rental krill, that's what I'm saying.
That's what I'm screaming.
This team doesn't need it.
They don't need it.
They don't need it.
Well, they don't need it.
But if they can sniff the finals if they do it, they can't, they won't do it.
So they can't sniff.
Their nose is plugged.
But this team is nasty in the regular season.
best case scenario for the Keynes
their new ads
they're right about everything
you know what I mean
like Brent Burns
slows down
and they're like perfect timing
Eler's pops
Kie Andre is all the potential
that we thought he was going to be on those first
Ranger seasons yep
the fucking kid they picked dude
the 30th pick in 2023
Bradley something
The Cains?
Yeah.
Check that.
Yeah.
We've got to
fucking
we've got to edit this.
You just,
you loved the pick is what you're saying.
I think he's got a chance to make a statement.
He was dominating in the HL.
Oh, Nadeu.
Yes, thank you.
Dominating in the HL.
He comes up.
Gross.
And now you're like, oh shit, we're really buzzing.
The top six looks amazing.
You get goal tending,
which we always worry about in the playoffs,
but it's not the playoffs yet.
It's the regular.
season. Your goal tendings perfect. And you are, you run away with the Met. That's best case
scenario for the game. I think they like wire to wire run away with the Met if everything
works. What could go wrong for this team that could drop them out of not playoffs, but like
not the one seed that you so passionately want? Truly, I think it's regression for them.
I don't think there's any version of like blow-up situation.
I think Eelers is going to have a monster here.
I think people don't understand.
Say what you will about health.
I do want him.
I want 75 games at least from Eilers.
So let's hope for that.
But I think a big thing with Eilers is he has,
never got the time and power play time that he feels he deserves and I think he deserves on
Winnipeg. Yeah. And he's still performed very well. And I think he will and should get top
time on this team. I think the first power play should be a version of him, Aho, Svech, Ghost and Jarvie
probably. Maybe Kianre gets in the mix there, but I think Shane Gostis Bier is just a perfect
quarterback for a PPP. Pee Pee. Pee. So I think Eelers is going to really have a big year.
We've said it before. I need Svetch to take another jump. But I just think they're all poised for that.
Regression would be bad if you see like a stank or a Jarvie, but like Jarvie's not regressing.
For me, the big one outside of regression is what we always say, dude, Freddie.
Freddie is old.
Freddy's his old.
He should have been out of the game years ago,
but he can't go home because he hates his wife.
He doesn't hate his wife.
That's a liar, liar,
rats.
I just, I have felt that they've done all the right things.
We just talked about their summer.
We talked about their draft picks.
It seems so solid.
They've done all the right things.
The one thing that I passionately feel they are missing is a,
is a certified goaltender.
And, dude, Freddie goes through these stretches where he's unreal.
He plays great all season.
He plays great in stretches in the playoffs.
But then he goes through bad stretches every single season.
Like when was the last time Kane's fans, honestly, you felt like Freddie stole a series for you?
Oh, dude.
I don't think he has.
Literally never.
And that's where I'm like, you have all this cap space.
You have great draft capital.
You have great draft picks, especially with the rant and trade.
And I'm like, go use that shit and go get.
a fucking goalie.
Luckily for them in the regular season, that won't bother them.
Nope, it won't.
The reason I have them, too, not one, is because nothing to do with the canes,
because I think this roster is just so fucking sick, and I'm so excited for a lot of their
young players.
Jackson Blake, I think it's going to be fucking awesome.
But the AM dick riding another team that's coming later.
I do like how much you love Jackson Blake.
I don't really think of it.
He's the fucking man.
I don't know where the love comes from, and that's not to say I don't think he's fantastic.
I'm just talking about you specifically.
Your hard on for him
is something that I was
surprising. Wait till you see
dude. Wait till you see what he does.
It's going to be actually insane, dude. Can't wait?
It's going to be insane.
Is the
goalie situation
won't bother them in the regular season.
It will bother them in playoffs. But
with playoffs in mind, I think for the
first time ever, Dan, under a Rod the
team, by the way.
For the first time ever under a Rod the Baud team, everybody chill out.
Rod the Baud, dude.
Mr. In the gym. I'll bench press your bitch ass, dude.
Sit on the bar.
He's got, dude, Rod the Baud goes, Rod the bar's got stank on this bar.
Stank on this side, Jarvie on this side.
He's benching him.
That's what I heard.
Rod's in there lifting the fucking team normally, dude.
But now for the first time in his life, dude.
Stank and Jarvie on both sides of the bar that Rod is benching would be a Bucu Buckew
viral.
Absolute nubbies.
And I think he could do it.
I bet he could do it too.
He could do it.
He could certainly squat it.
Maybe that's what we do.
Rod the bodd squatting with stank and Jarvie on each side.
Cains.
Cup.
Guys.
Social canes.
We know you.
Listen.
You guys are the best.
You make that happen.
Dude, for the first time in the Rod the Bond era.
Sh, woo saw.
Woo saw.
The regular season doesn't matter.
Yeah.
We are obviously making plays.
Offs. All that matters is getting us ready, getting mind right for the postseason. You keep going,
Edmonton's not going to finish first. They know this doesn't matter. So you think they're going
Florida? Yes, dude. For the first, ooh, ooh, ooh, it's okay. It's okay. Rod the Bod. He finally
knows Dan. After all these dismissals late in the playoffs, he's gone, oh, I've been looking at it
all wrong. He's been listening to us. I've been looking at it backwards. Listening to Netters
hoodips. He put it in the mirror and he went, whoops, look at it in reverse. Who can
cares about the regular season, care about the postseason.
Keynes will finish second, a very easy, comfortable Wussaw second, and then they make their push.
Do you think the Keynes wait until the deadline to use this cap space and use some of their capital to make a move here?
Or do you think they ride it out all season?
Or do you think they do something soon?
No, I think they wait.
I would love something soon.
I can't help.
I love a Russian.
I cannot help, but I, listen, I have flip-flopped on this a few times, and I apologize for that.
And I do think at the end of the day, I think he is staying.
But I think about the coach that Rod the Baud is.
I think about the age and the vibe and the cap hit, Chris, the cap hit that all these guys are on.
And how good of a match one Mason-Bartholomew McTavish would be on this.
That actually would be insane.
Is that his middle name?
No. I was like, oh my God. But Seth Jarvis and Logan Stankvin, we've been hearing maybe flirting with them at center. Stank definitely feels like he might be sliding in. And what's crazy is if you get McTavish and you don't lose any of that top sick group, six group, which probably would, I bet like a Jackson Blake would probably go the other way. Don't say that to me. I know. I'm sorry after what you just did. But if you didn't lose them, which again, I don't think is possible.
I mean, that'd be interesting.
Yeah.
Interesting.
Give me your biggest surprise.
Biggest surprise is going to be one Kianre Miller.
Oh, good answer.
I think Kiannra Miller had a great year in New York three seasons ago.
Then he disappointed by a lot of fans' perspectives.
And I just think maybe a smaller role, I likely see him paired with a bruiser like
Chatfield in Rod's system.
I could see Chandra having a really impressive year.
I really like that.
And I am actually super high on that take, too.
I do, if I can add another one, though,
I'm going to stay on defense unless that might be yours.
Nope.
Alexander Nekishin, I think, is a fucking weapon.
Yeah.
We were talking about him in the awards.
Yes, Calder.
That would be sick.
He fucking laid wood.
Open ice bumping hit in a preseason game the other day.
And I'm like, fuck, yeah.
Here we go.
Jarvie Road to 40 this year.
50.
I know.
We want Road to 50 first.
Road to 40 this year.
Yeah.
It's happening.
Carolina 1, Carolina 2.
Next team.
Alphabetical.
Yep.
The Columbus Blue Jackets, 2025, 26.
NHL season preview last year.
They went 40, 33, and 9 for 89 points, finished fourth in the Met,
and just missed the goddamn playoffs in an inspired season.
This year, fire me up, dude.
Fire me right up.
They will finish.
You go first.
Three, two, one.
Fourth.
Damn.
But for me, as you know, if you've been listening, that's out for me.
Yeah, that's out for you.
Fourth and out again.
It might be.
It might be.
I love this team.
And you have them fourth in any think?
Keep in mind, Montreal is your five.
I love this team.
Who's it?
dude. I don't know. Yes, you do. You have to know. You don't have to know. I don't care.
Tommy Lee Jones. Tommy Lee Jones. I don't have to know shit. I don't have to know shit, okay?
I love this team. I think that this team is special. I also think this team is shockingly deep.
at forward.
A lot of youth and a lot of...
I love that Charlie Coil signing is...
I love that Charlie Coil signing.
It is wonderful.
I think this team's shockingly deep.
Even with the youth.
But you just like, we know your son is going to have a big year.
Adam Fantilli, he's poised for a breakout season.
We know it's coming.
Krill Marchenko, he has just emerged as an absolute assassin on this roster.
Kentie Johnson, Michigan boy.
Come on.
Come on.
He's going to step up, Zach Wrenski.
Come on.
You know how I feel about him.
I wonder about D.
I wonder about D.
And I wonder about goaltending.
Yeah, you have said that for a long time.
Goaltending is the bugaboo on this team.
It was the bugaboo last year.
I think that they would have very securely been in playoffs if they got a goaltender.
I know, I know.
Did you see the Joe Wall news that broke this morning, by the way?
Oh, maybe not.
He's just gone from the team.
Indefinite leave of absence from the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Hope everything is okay.
Fuck, personal family matter.
That sucks.
But I bring that up as to say, if you remember this summer,
I was doing like a, you know,
or we were talking trades,
and I brought up Stoli.
I would love to see Stolars on this team.
I know.
But Maple Leaf fans are like,
absolutely not.
We'll never let him go.
And now, I mean, holy moly.
that's now Stoller is actually, I was actually beaking the odds makers for saying that Stoli could win the Vezna and I was like he's going to play half the fucking games, dude. And now he actually could play all the games.
Dude, if this team gets a goalie, it'd be a big difference maker. It'd be a big difference maker.
They just haven't played great D. I know. Can I ask you a question? Yep. Goal 10. Let's get back into D.
I feel that there are so many teams.
We just saw San Jose do it with Ascaroff.
There are so many teams that have like really good prospect goaltenders just waiting in the wings.
And there are lots of teams that I feel like Detroit last year.
Detroit's one of them with COSA.
I'm like, what the fuck are we doing here?
There's just a lot of got teams that I'm like, they need a goalie.
And I wonder if people are picking up the phone and making calls and being like, give me your guy, give me your AHL guy.
And they're like, no, we can't.
Or if they're not even doing that.
Because there are some teams that I'm like, it's worth it, dude.
Take the flyer.
Go grab this fucking great backup.
Not actually the flyer because they're bad.
Yeah.
But normally the carpet bombing you just gave Philly out of nowhere.
Jesus Christ.
But yeah, it's like with this team, I'm like, dude, fucking go.
go snag somebody.
I wonder if teams, though, are just like,
I'm never giving up my goal.
It's so hard to get a good goalie.
I'm certainly not going to give up my prospect
that I've been developing.
I don't know.
No, but that's, that's, I think that's the correct answer.
I'm just like wondering if anyone's doing it.
Like, we've talked about, you know, a long time.
I feel like, I feel like L.A. has multiple,
like, multiple good goalie prospects.
And I'm like, there are rankings that have Eric,
Portillo at like three in the King's prospect rankings. And I'm like, three? If he's three,
Columbus, pick up the phone. Get them. For me, Dan, the Columbus Blue Jackets scored the second most
goals in the Met last year. They gave up the third most goals. Best case scenario for me for the
blue jackets is what you said, the forwards. Because I can't, again, I'm trying to be realistic
with best case scenarios. Yep. So best case scenario, I don't want you to go. Uh, Merzleekins wins the
Vesna and our defense shores up even though it's been bad.
Merensky wins the Norris and we'll have one of the best defensive structures in the league.
That's not realistic.
I don't think the strides that can take in on D can change the outcome.
The best case scenario for the Blue Jackets is their offense takes a whole other step.
Adam scores 40 fucking goals.
Charlie Coyle is a 65 point guy on the third line and Morensky does play great and they are a wild card team.
I don't even think I maybe could give you three seed as best case scenario.
Maybe.
What could go wrong, dude, is that team came together last year.
Not to get into tragedy, but like that team came together in a way that isn't, you don't see all the time.
And I just thought, God, were they fucking skating for each other, playing for each other, fighting for each other, fighting for
each other. And they got so close and it was such an awesome run. But end of last year, Dan,
you saw it with your own eyes. They just ran out of steam, dude. They just, they weren't, they were
playing better than they were. They did get, they were, they were ground down a little bit. Yeah.
Yeah. And it's like what the, you know, they're, they're more than the sum of their parts.
That's what they were last year. And I'm afraid if they just become the sum of their parts this year,
they're, their sixth, sixth, seven, probably not that seventh, but like, they're sixth. Then everyone's
like, damn, last year we really caught on to something.
I hear you.
That's my fear for this team.
However, I think Zach Werenski has become wrath.
Yeah, he won't let it happen.
I think he has become the player he was always meant to be.
I think we saw the health 81 games last year.
We're going to see it again.
Krill Marchenko is on the Russian gas.
And you know what my favorite thing about him is?
31 tucks, 43 assists. He's cooched, dude.
Yeah, yeah. He's not this goal-scoring merchant. He's cooch.
Yep. Plus 29 last year. That's awesome.
He's only going up. Yeah.
Kentie. Third on the team. 24 tucks in 68 games. 57 points. Give me 82 from Kenti. See what happens.
57 and 54 for Monaghan. Give me 82 games.
God, your son. 31 goals. 38. 13 goals is a 20-year-old.
Like, are you kidding me?
Dude, the All-Star game.
40.
He's going to hit like crack.
And then, give me another Russian.
Dmitri.
Voronkov.
Voronkov.
I don't care.
Dmi V.
Dude.
Like, 23 goals from him out of nowhere.
Cole Cilinger didn't get 82.
33 points.
Like, I love this group.
And I'm like, the sum of their parts, pal, you haven't even seen the sum of their parts.
You can't even do algebra.
You think.
that that was overperforming, half of these guys didn't even play the full season.
Yeah. And they're going to be. They were kids. The sum of their parts is even better.
So I think, yeah, you're right. They're going to be the sum of their parts. And they're
going to shove it up your hoop. No spit. No lube. No dinner. No drinks. Lay down. Spread
them. And take it. You're about to get clapped by the Columbus Blue Jackets.
What's your surprise, dude? How do they get in, Dad? Biggest surprise.
I
Biggest surprise
Give me
Okay, I got this
Biggest surprise
The Columbus Blue Jackets
Give me
Give me 8 20 goal scores
Wow, that is a great
prediction
I fucking love that
There's
Let's see
One two, three, four, five
That might be insane
Give me seven
Give me seven
That would be insane
Give me seven 20 goals scores
That would be
fucking insane
Okay
I'm going
fans, obviously.
And I think
he's point per game this year.
I love that. I think he's literally
an 80 point guy this year. I love that. And you go,
holy shit. And I go, told you
dude. Michigan boy. I fucking told
you. Michigan boy. Over and over. Get
the fat out of your ears and listen.
Point per game. 80 points.
I'll say he misses two games. He goes 80 and 80.
My favorite thing about this fucking team is
it's Michigan meets Russia. I know. It's so
sick. It's such a bummer that they lost
It's Brindley, but I mean, Michigan meets Russia, and I love it.
Yep.
Okay, next team.
The New Jersey Devils, alphabetical.
Come on.
The New Jersey Devils 2025-26 NHL season preview.
Last year, they went 42, 33, and 7 for 91 points.
They finished third in the Met and made the playoffs.
Yeah.
Without Jack.
This year.
Who's first?
Me.
they will finish
three
two one first
you always go right away dude
yeah well I
I wanted it to be tight
tight
I dick ride this team
yeah but I'll admit that right up front
before anyone gets mad at me
you know what's funny
is
I think it's rightfully so
also
kind of what we're talking about with
the Met not being the best.
In hockey talk on Sunday,
someone was like,
who finishes higher devils or rangers this year.
And I said,
I was like,
listen,
barring injury,
I think I'm going to say
it's got to be
the devils for me.
And I got some people being like,
fuck you,
no chance,
blah, blah, blah.
And I was kind of like,
man,
the devils without Jack
for such a large portion
still finished third.
Yep.
People are kind of
balking at that take? That was surprising to me. I'm like, dude, what are we talking about? The
devils, I think the devils are a great team. I completely agree, dude. I love, um, we said on the
coaches episode. Yeah. I actually think Sheldon Keith has something to prove this year. Yes.
Um, definitely. But I'm a huge fan of his. As you know, as you well know,
Jack is healthy, dude. And, you know, there's my boy right there. That's my boy right there. And I have
do he has to stay healthy. I just don't, I don't know what else to say. He has to stay healthy.
But right now, Dan, right now he's healthy. Right now Luke Hughes is healthy and he's going to get
sorted out. Everything's going to be fine. This team, this roster, look up and down better. Look up and
down this roster, dude. Markstrom was exactly what you wanted, exactly what I want Gibson to be
for the wings. He was fucking great. He's going to be fucking great again. This team started so hot.
they were running away with the division until Washington went insane.
There is no reason why this devil's team shouldn't be in the mix for the one seed where I have them
and eyeing a deep, deep playoff run.
There is literally no reason other than injuries which we're not going to discuss because that's unfair.
Sure.
I think this team more than Keith has a lot to, I hate that we keep saying a lot to prove.
but I think this team has been poo-poohed as well
and they hear it
I think they're ready to say
you know
say what you will about us
we're a very legitimate team
and no question about it Keith is
the way we were all stroking you off pal
yeah you know I want to see some
some good stuff from you
I am obsessed
with the I hope you say what I'm about
I'm obsessed
with the Connor Brown addition to this team
Dude. And I think he and Paul Cotter, shout out Cotter,
Yep. Beauty, are going to be very important to this roster. I think they add grit.
I think they add energy and toughness that the forward group has been lacking.
I'm a little concerned about certain areas where there's just been a lack of production
where people assume production would come from. Go on.
I know you're going to soon ask me what could go wrong.
You know, Timo Meyer, 53 points in 80 games.
Not good enough.
Not good enough.
It's just simply not good enough.
And a big one, a guy, maybe my Jackson Blake, Dawson Mercer.
I think this kid is special.
36 and 82, 19 goals, not good enough.
And I think especially with Dawson, actually, no,
because a contract Myers on, the way that that situation happened,
like he was important, these guys got to step up.
They got to step up.
Any semblance of a season just like that from those two, and listen, they're still
going to be in playoffs, but I'm looking at them as I'm like, yeah, you're in playoffs.
You're going to lose in the first or second round.
And you, then that's that.
So I think those guys do need to have big time ups in their production.
And I'll tell you what else, too, dude, because you look, you know, you're trying to figure out
what happened with this summer.
Where are we, right?
The guys they lost, for me,
aren't they were kind of underperforming too.
Like I expected a little bit more out of maybe a Hala,
maybe a Tatar.
And now you bring in Connor Brown,
which I also love.
But dude, I think Dadanoff could be awesome on that wing.
I really do.
Because last year, 20 and 20, right?
I think I checked that.
My fear with Dadov is he's an old.
He's old. He's an old head, dude.
But maybe they could use some of that
in that room. Maybe Dan, they're
talking about
fucking budget ass
bullshit TV these days
and Daddanoff's like, y'all heard of
Rugrats and they're like, no.
What is that? And he goes, why don't we pop
on some Tommy Pickles, dude? And next thing
you know, they're binging Tommy Pickles and Chuckie
Finster and now they know what it's like
to win in this league. In a man's league.
Sure. In a man's league where they're
fucking busy watching Bluey. They've been
playing Bluey in the locker room, dude.
He puts on Tommy Pickles. Now we have
championship. He's a youthful boy now. He's an old dog and the family bought him a puppy. And he teaches
him. Yeah. And it adds years to his life. Now he's chasing the ball. Leave it to the Russians to find
some youth. I'm telling you, dude, he's going to score 25 goals. I just, I don't know, I don't see a
Matt Duchyne resurgence from him. Dude, playing with Jack and Brad. You're sleeping on Brad
Brad. Brad's nasty, dude. I'm not sleeping on him. Brad may, Brad might be the best player on this team.
No. Brat's incredible player, but he's not...
Brat's unbelievable.
He's probably...
We're ignoring the elephant in the room.
The absolute biggest issue with this team is Luke Hughes.
What do you mean, dude?
The fact that I think already...
He's missing camp, dude.
We talked about this last year with Swayman.
We've talked about it with another player.
It's worse with goalies.
It is worse with goalies.
But missing camp at any stage in any form is not good.
Unless you're a Hughes, dude.
Unless you've been genetically engineered.
Sometimes I just want to have a conversation.
Unless you've been
genetically...
Who's not a fucking idiot.
Genetically engineered
to perform at an NHL level.
He don't need shit
except for opening night.
See you October 7th, dude.
I'll tell you what.
Okay?
If Luke Hughes
regresses this year,
you think it's because he missed camp.
You have to take a bath in pig's blood
that you will kill himself.
You will kill a tree.
Lay out in the sun.
Yeah, I will kill the pig.
No, I won't. Pigs are too smart.
You'll kill and drain it.
You have to take a bath in pig's blood, and then you have to lay out in the sun and let it dry.
What are we talking?
And you have to walk down the Santa Monica Pier in nothing but a diaper.
And the dried pig's blood.
Okay.
And just stare into the distance.
How long?
Just from one end to the pier to the other.
Oh, and then walk back.
Then launch off the pier.
No, I get worried about the fishing lines.
I know.
What's regress?
Define regress.
I think if he has...
We're talking just points?
Yeah.
I think if he has less points, if he is just a worst, like, eye test, worst season.
Oh, no.
Is it points or is it a test?
Because if it's a test, you're going to play some bullshit on me.
It's points.
Okay, so if he has less than 44 points, I have to pig blood walk the pier.
Yep.
I'll take that bad.
No, let's say it's okay.
His point per game is point six two.
If it's less than that.
We're going point per game regression?
I never agreed to that.
I never fucking agree.
That actually helps you because if he gets injured.
And he is over the point that, you know.
That's a good point, Dan.
I just did you a favor and you spit in my face.
That's a good point.
Maybe I'll keep that.
I do worry.
I've been so adamant this whole time of being like, it's fine.
Devil's fans calm down.
We are at the 23rd of September of the year 2025 of our Lord.
And Luke Hughes is not signed.
And also, the stuff we're hearing is not good.
It's a lot of like, yeah, it's not.
close. Yep. It's fine. What goes wrong? Luke Hughes. That was my whole point.
Frankly, if he misses any more time, I'm, I'm nervous. And if he misses, if he misses a game,
then I'm telling you, this doesn't feel dumb. It's fucking crazy. Like, what do we do? It's fucking
crazy. You're going to miss the season. And it's just, it's so funny to me that you are,
you're sitting here with 5.2 mill in caps. There is.
is literally no planet where Luke Hughes plays for your team for that number or less.
Yeah.
So what's the plan here?
Fits?
What are you doing?
Because something has to happen.
And currently, you're just fucked.
Yeah.
There is literally no world.
What planet does Luke Hughes sign even a one year $5 million contract?
That would be the dumbest thing in the world.
Dumbest thing you could do.
So that it's not happening.
So you need to do, you need to make a trade.
You had all summer to make a trade.
Dude, he just got to be just woke up.
They just didn't do anything.
They were on vacation.
They just didn't do anything.
And now you have Luke Hughes who, as we've said, dude, I bet Luke Hughes'
Hughes' camp is going, give me 8 by 9.5.
Yeah.
Give me the McAvoy deal.
Give me the Dobson deal.
And what's happening.
So every new day that ticks by, because again, dude, this isn't.
Because then it pisses off Jack and then you lose Jack and then it's all fuck.
I will be fucking blown away.
I will do a full episode with.
actual clown paint on my face if Luke Hughes signs a deal that is $5.2 million or less a year.
Dude, if he does that and then regresses and you have to do an episode in clown paint and I have
to pig blood walk the pier, then that is Luke, that's dirty work from Luke against us.
It will be so calculated to the point where it'll be almost obvious that he was like,
oh, I'm just, this is going to be for fun for me.
Best case scenario for me, this team gets great years from Timo, Mercer, Daddanov.
Yeah.
And you go, oh shit, they're so good.
They win the Mets easily.
They easily win the Mets.
Then they lose to the Atlantic team in the East Coast.
Yeah.
And you know what's?
I think what will happen in conjunction with that is Jack Hughes' big boy year.
Yeah, 100 points.
It's honestly, dude, I want him to get 100.
I think a Jack Hughes big boy year is 82 games and just like toughness.
82 games would be fun.
82 games, a tough, tough.
performance from him he's going to do it give me your surprise Dawson Mercer okay I think I as
you know as much as I love him I do think at this point if Dawson Mercer pitches a
65 70 point season like I believe he's capable of I think people will be surprised so
that is my surprise I like that a lot I could actually yeah yeah I like that a lot
give me God their D is so deep it's incredible
Don't forget they have Seamus Casey too.
Oh, I was looking at.
Yeah, maybe it's Casey, dude.
Also, they have fucking, um, maybe it's Casey, Dan.
Casey just gets it in the lineup.
Casey becomes a regular.
They also, dude, have my boy, uh, uh, um, Salaif.
Oh, yeah.
Like they took Salaiv in 2024, ninth or a tenth overall.
Yeah.
Like they are, they are, it's ridiculous.
Yeah.
Casey.
Casey regular, regular, regular, regular, regular starter.
Wow. That is a surprise. That's a good surprise pick. I like it.
Okay, next one. Alphabetical, New York Islanders.
Okay, the New York Islanders. The New York Islanders,
2025, 26, NHL season preview last year. They went 35, 35, and 12 for the most Islanders
record of all time for 82 points and finished sixth in the Met.
It's just, it's the most islander.
time. This year, you're first. This year, they will finish. Three, two, one, seventh. Seventh.
seventh, seventh, wow, that's crazy.
And I'll tell you what, well, I'll tell you why later.
Yeah.
There's, I completely, when I was making my predictions last night, had different last three.
And then I was sitting here this morning and I was like, oh my God, I'm seeing it clearly now.
Yeah.
I've seen through the mist.
And now I know the truth.
The New York Islanders are going to finish seventh in a very frustrating, seven.
seventh, obviously.
Because I just don't see to me, Dan, what should I be super excited about other than Shabanov.
Why do you think he's going to win Rickety?
Oh, I think there's a lot of things to be excited about this team, honestly.
And for me, it comes from the new names.
I think
Maxim Seyplikov
was very surprising last year,
very fun to watch
35 points, 77 games.
I think he could be really good.
I'm with you. I think Shabs is going to be fun.
Can I jump ahead and answer your question
with what my surprise is?
I think Matthew Schaefer is going to play 80 games.
Wow, that's sick.
I just think watching preseason
we talked about because of his age
is there a
Are we going to baby him?
Yeah.
Are we going to put him in a little
Blanky?
Get him a binky.
We're going to wrap him up
and we're going to just
A little game here,
a little game off.
A little game here,
take a nap.
Yeah.
Leo Carlson, him.
Right.
I think...
He's only 12.
Don't forget.
He's 12 years old.
He's 12.
People forget Matthew Schaefer
is 12 years old.
I think the way
I've seen him
practicing this summer
and playing so far in preseason,
I think he
is like, dude, I'm ready.
I'm the number one fucking pick.
I'm ready to rock.
And I think he's going to play a full season.
Here's what could go...
Here's the good news for the Islanders.
And I hate dogging him.
So, shout out my boy, Kyle,
big Islanders fan.
I hate dogging the Islanders.
And I actually think for the first time
in a really long time,
they have a bright future.
I'm like, okay, we have rounded the corner
of the Islanders are going to be good again pretty soon.
Yep.
Sheaf Daddy's the man.
But this year,
matters so little for the Islanders.
Like, they are not a, you don't even have them in playoffs.
Like, they are not a playoff team.
Yeah.
This year does not matter.
And in the same way, the Hawks and the Sharks have both just recently landed a great
pick and then just are horrible again.
Yeah.
And then now you have another top two pick.
Yeah.
And I'm like, congratulations.
This Islander's team, except for Shabinoff, who he's going to score 50 goals
and win rookie of the year.
Damn!
This Islander's team is...
Brat!
Dude.
Is there, I think, Waugh is not...
Now that Lou's gone, I don't even know if Waugh keeps the job this year.
I think there's issues with the coaches messaging in the locker room.
I think Noah Dobson was great and they've lost him a little bit.
The only reason to talk out of the other side of my mouth, I do think Sorokin is great.
And it's hard to be a seven seed when you're, when you have him.
Well, no, it's not.
Like, because we just saw them be a six and then also we saw Boston be an eight this way.
Like it just, it happens.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
But there's a reason to I had a bad year.
Like I just don't necessarily see.
Unless like, I don't know, maybe this coaching change fucks it up, whatever.
I just think that this team doesn't need to be that good this year.
And when the going gets tough, the tough get going, but also the not as tough without a big agenda this year get fallen.
And I think the going might get tough.
And then the islanders might get fallen.
I just think when we talk about the regular season,
and what gets you points,
what gets you high up in your division,
you do,
it is that,
the regular season is where the,
the young,
small,
fast scoring shit works
and actually gets you out
and the playoffs is where
maybe that doesn't succeed as much.
Right.
And when I look at this group,
great players all around
and take Shabanov away,
let's say he's going to score 50.
Yep.
But it's like your top six wingers
are Lee Palmeri-Druin
and Shabs.
And I'm a little bit like,
No. I know. I know Barzi got hurt again last year and he finished with like 30 points in,
no, I think he played like 30 games. Wasn't he going though, remember? He had 20 points in 30 games.
So no. I guess not. Maybe he had 80 the year before. It was the year before that we were like finally.
But it's like, dude, this team, their top three guys, all who played 81, 82 and 82,
Horvatt Lee and Palmeri, respectively, respectively rather had.
57, 54, and 48.
And that's why this team's fucking 36 and 36.
I'm like, where is the goals?
And it's like, you know, Islanders fans, I know you're tired of here and the like, the
islanders are boring, but I'm like, you are boring, dude.
And it's not like your style of hockey.
It's like what is put on the ice just continues to be this like 500 team.
Right in the middle and goals against last year.
So it's like, can I see Iserman get in this lineup?
That would be fucking sick.
I would love to see Ier, Eisenman, get in this lineup and play top six minutes because
it is and I've actually been gassing them up all summer.
I said I've liked the moves that they made.
I like what Eisenman's projection looks like.
I love the Schaefer pick.
And I love the pickups of guys like Shabanov and Cyplikov.
Like I'm like, okay, cool.
But I am a little bit just looking at this team, letting Dobson go.
And you've got fucking Tony DiAngelo on your top pairing.
And I'm, I just don't know what I'm expecting from this team.
Give me your best case scenario because I'm obviously lower on them than you.
What's best case scenario for the odds?
Best case scenario is the new guys.
The new guys take over the team.
And they still miss, right?
Yeah.
Oh, this team cannot make playoffs in my opinion.
But in my opinion this season, you have really solid years from Schaefer,
who I think is going to play every day.
Schaefer, Shabanov, Cyplakov, Eizerman gets in there.
And now it turns into like a, hey, we're not asking Bo Horvatt and Matt Barzell
to carry this team anymore.
And listen, if it's crazy how young they both are to say this,
but if Barzell and Horvatt can turn into the Sagan and Ben of this group,
and it's like you've got young, great guys, so we're going to explode here,
it's now I'm like, yep, the plan is working.
But I'm with you and that, I don't know where it's coming from.
Where are your points coming from that's going to get you higher than sixth?
They don't score goals.
It's actually insane.
I wonder, dude, the league.
I want to see league here.
Last year, goals four in the league,
Islanders, actually not that horrible.
They're not good, but they're 23rd.
I mean, yeah, it's bad.
It's not good.
It's not a playoff team.
Oh, wait.
Did I read that wrong?
T.P.
doesn't know how to read a chart.
Fucking idiot.
No, they're bad.
They're worse.
That was points.
Sharks, Preds, ducks, Bruins, Islanders.
Yeah, that's bad.
That ain't it.
Surprise?
I told you it.
Schaefer.
My surprise, even though I've said a thousand times, Shabanov is going to score, like, people are going to go, people are going to incorrectly go, he's the next krill, Ovechkin steal.
Because I think after this year of tape, he'll be reeled in a little bit.
But this year, I really think he's going to go nuclear?
That he is going to go nuclear.
I love.
I love it.
Yep.
Moving on.
Let's take an ad break.
Quick ad break.
And then we will jump back in.
Quick break to talk about the best sports book in the game, BetMGM.
You know we have teamed up with them.
We've been rocking with them forever now.
And here's the deal.
Hockey season is back.
We can start getting action on these preseason games.
We're a couple of weeks away from opening night action.
And until then, to get you over the hump to save you.
You know I'm going to talk about Premier League soccer.
You know I'm going to talk about football being back.
Sign up right now with promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
You can bet up to $1,500.
If you lose it, you get it all back into your.
account. That is $1,500 just given to you by bet MGM. Why would you wait? Why would you hesitate?
Sign up now. Use the promo code. Get that $1,500 in bonus bets and start getting in on the action.
Be ready for opening night puck drop. That MGM is the way to go. Gambling problem? Call 1-800
gambler. Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call 100-3-2-2-200-3-2-200-1-8-0-Mas-0-1-8-0-Mas-2. Call 100-3-2. Call 1-800-0-0-1-8-0-0-0-1-1-1-1-1-1-0-2.
three for Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements,
bonus bets are non-withdrawable, and partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. See betmGM.com
for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
All right, we are back and we are still cooking on the Metropolitan Division preview.
Next up.
A little caffeine-free mug.
For all of the audio listeners, that was not a beer.
Next up is the blue shirts, the New York Ranger.
Broadway, MSG.
Come on.
Last year they went 39, 36, and 7 for 85 points,
finished fifth in the Met.
This year, they will finish.
You want to go first?
No, I'll go first.
Three, two, one, fifth.
Eighth.
Just kidding.
I'm just kidding, guys.
What'd you say?
I said fifth.
Fifth as well.
You have fifth.
Wow, yeah.
This one was tricky for me
because I do think the Rangers
are going to bounce back in air,
in air quotes. I think the range is going to be scrappy this year. Me too. They were scrappy last year, pal.
They were scrappy last year. But they had no business being that bad. Agree. I picked them first.
I thought they were going to win them out. Yeah, I think Christ, I might have too. I had them way up there.
They had no business being that bad. I think they're going to be better this year and I almost, almost took them forth and I wouldn't hate that pick at all.
For my list, that's still out because I do think they're not going to get in top three. But I think they're right there in terms, it's going to be a competitive season for the
Rangers all year. You're going to be fighting for a playoff spot till the very end of the season.
What, for the Rangers fans out there right now who are going, you are so dumb. We've got
our captain J.T. Miller back. And everybody's going to be so good now, even though they were not
good last year. We have Adam Fox, who's Bobby Gore reincarnate. For all those Rangers fans.
Yeah. What is best case scenario? You know what? I, first of all,
Little Olive Branch.
I actually think we're going to have a great season from Rangers fans.
I think there's going to be a small collection of crazies, as every fan base has.
But I think Rangers fans have seemed very level-headed in a place of acceptance of what this season is about.
I think we're going to get great seasons from J.T. Miller.
I think we're going to get great seasons from Vincent Trocheck.
I also believe that the expectations are kind of set with this group, and I think they're going to be met.
And I think that that is fifth.
I think maybe they'll be flirting with a wild card spot.
I don't think so because I think the Atlantic teams in this area are so much better.
Interestingly enough, other than Gabe, who I hope plays on that first line.
Yeah.
Gabe Perot to me is a center.
I don't know how you feel about that.
I just think Gabe, I think the way Gabe sees the ice.
Now, you could make the argument for maybe Gabe is a Kutrov.
He's a Panarin, frankly, who plays on the wing and is your playmaker.
Mitch Marner.
I actually think that they have very similar plank.
I should have said Mitch Marner from the start.
But I just, I love the idea of him being a general.
in the middle and playing center. Now that said, with Vinny Trochec and J.T. Miller, I would rather
Gabe Perot play on a first line with Trochec and Panarin than him play third line center.
Yes. Same. Yes, big time. Big time. So I'd love Gabe Perot to have a full year. Gaye Perot is not
going to have 80 points, but I think Gabe Perot is going to show everyone, every bit of what he was at
BC and why he was such a high pick for the New York Rangers. I love the kid. I love the person. I love
the player. I actually have really high expectations for several players on this team who might
surprise you. I think Adam Fox is going to have a career year. Okay. I think putting a Vladislav Gavrikov
with Adam Fox is going to do wonders for Adam Fox's game. I don't think Adam Fox, no disrespect
to anyone he's played with in the last four or so years. I don't think anyone he has
played with has been this sturdy of a reliable partner to a great puck-moving type defenseman.
We saw a lot of minutes that Brandt Clark got to play with Gavrakov last year in L.A.
They're similar players.
Puck-moving, great vision, great intelligence defensemen.
And that is the most underrated part of Foxy's game.
He has a fucking hockey brain.
And I just think you put a guy like Gavie there and you give him.
him the opportunity to go
be me, be myself,
be the best parts of my game.
So I'm really excited for Fox's season.
I know he's pissed off about
the Four Nations stuff.
Pissed off about Olympics talk.
A lot of people saying he's not going to be on that team.
So I think he's going to be great.
Not just saying this because we love him,
but I actually think
I think we might be surprised.
Maybe this is my surprise. I think we might be surprised by Matt
Rampi this year.
Matt Rampi, you're going to score double-digit
goals. Yeah. I love that. I love that take. I think like a 15 to 18 goals from Rempe makes a ton of
sense. 18? I just think the way he's been working. Did you say 18? Yeah, dude, Matthew Olivier
scored like 18 goals last year. Well, let's get let's ease him into it. I just think Rempe is
going to be an important part of this roster. I think he could score 10 goals. I think he's going to be
important part of this roster. I think he's going to play you know 65 plus games this year. And I know
he's been working his ass off. So I'm like,
fucking A man, and you know,
we were talking to Copey the other day, and
he was like, when that kid grows into his body,
because he's huge, he still hasn't even grown into his body,
you wonder what he could become.
Like, you know, like he says he's been
working on keeping his elbows down, you know,
getting better, skating, transition game.
All of a sudden, this kid works his butt off,
grows into the body more, gets rid of the deer legs,
he could be a problem. He's going to score 10 goals.
The, here's best case scenario.
Everything you just said about Adam Fock, completely true.
goes, oh, you think I suck at four nations? And maybe I wasn't that good at four nations. And maybe
you're entitled to your opinion, but maybe you're also a bitch. Yeah. And maybe I'm working harder
than I've ever had in my whole life. And now I'm going to make the Olympic team. Sure. And I'm
going to get a Norris votes again. Hey, uh, Shesty, you know how we ask you to make 50 saves a game?
And he goes, yeah, it sucks. And we go, well, we haven't totally fixed that, but he goes,
don't care. 50 saves a game on your head. Vezna finalist. Vesna win. Wow. Boom. Special. Yep. Then
J.T. Miller goes, you see this
right here? See this on the
back? That's a J. See that? Right there, that's a T.
See this? I'm the captain. That's a fucking C.
This is my team. I never should have left. I'm back where I belong.
I'm playing the best hockey in my life. Vincent Trochec goes like this.
See how this isn't a C? Doesn't matter. This is my team too.
And I'm the guy in the locker room that everybody's listening to
that everybody loves. Keeping it light, keeping it hard work and keeping it loose.
Come on. You're firing me up. Panarin goes like this. I don't know what's going on,
but I am going to score a lot of goals. And I go, that's fine. Just, just
You think he's going to score a lot of goals?
Oh, yeah.
It's not usually his M.O.
But it is now, dude.
Didn't he have 30 last year?
Yeah, well, he had his career high two years ago, I believe.
That's what it was.
Two years ago.
But, I mean, last year, he had 37 still.
Oh, yeah.
Dude, that's what I'm saying.
He's going to score a lot of goals.
He's now dialed in.
And then Laffy, dude.
And then my guy, Laffey, dude.
People are going to be, Dan, you are going to have your grave fucking danced on.
You were going to have your grave danced on this year.
Because Laffey, dude?
Hey, you know that clip from The Walking Dead,
where that old guy looks at
No spoilers.
Josh,
nope.
What's happening to my brain?
Andrew Lincoln.
No, no.
John Bernthal.
Oh, yeah.
And he goes,
I know what kind of man you are.
I know you don't believe a word
that you're saying.
I know I do.
Dan, I'm telling you.
I know that you're a lion.
No.
First of all, I said this is best case scenario.
This is best case scenario for the Rangers.
I already said that.
Yeah.
But also, you were going to have your fucking grave dug
dropped in it alive and then Dan
Don, because Lafey went like this.
For those at home, Laffey went, 31
points, and he plays full seasons, dude.
This guy does not miss hockey games. I got to give him credit for that.
He went...
Tough motherfucker.
31 points, 39 points, 57 points, and the
blue shirt fans came out to woodwork.
He had 157 points that year.
And then last year...
Chris.
He had 108 points that season. Gordon Bombay,
hit 198 points that season, as far as Rangers fans were concerned.
They dominated 45. So I'm not going to sit here
and blue hat my way into 100.
season, but I am telling you that Lafey is going to score 67 points. Yeah, 68 points. Yeah.
And then you are going to be pumped full of lead by people. Me? Yeah, because that's...
I didn't say anything bad. No, but it doesn't matter, dude. When he gets back on a on a superstar
trajectory and only age 24, when he has 68 points at age 24, your grave is going to be danced on.
Okay. This is best case scenario for the Rangers. And if they do all that, by the way, they will
make playoffs. Okay. No, they won't. They're still going to finish four. But they could make plans.
because there's no guarantee that it's two Atlantic wild cards.
Best case scenario, I think they could finish fourth.
Okay.
What goes wrong is what has been going wrong.
These guys are older and they are declining.
Yeah.
And they've been asking Cheshty to make 50 saves a game because they play bad Team D.
And he goes, bro, stye.
And then you're cooked.
Yeah.
What goes wrong for me is distractions.
Yeah.
Kind of similar to what you're saying.
but to me, distractions.
It's been a lot of talk about things going on with this team over the years,
and everyone hears it, Rangers fans, you know, rightfully so, get frustrated by it.
We don't need no stinking distractions.
Dude.
And I think making J.T. Miller captain was a conscious move to try to help eliminate that,
the no BS shirts.
Now, that's great.
But sometimes there is BS.
Yeah, yeah.
That's great.
You can make as many shirts as you want, pal.
But there's a chance that I walk past that locker room and it smells like a fucking barnhouse.
Because there's BS everywhere.
There's bullshit everywhere.
It's full of it.
You need pitchforks to get it out of that locker room.
Again, make your shirts.
Make a tank top.
I don't care.
There still might be BS.
You know when Gordon Bombay is burning his cardboard effigy.
This is a distraction.
This is a Hendricks hockey.
This is a distraction.
This is a distraction in a firing bin.
This is a firing barrel.
This is a distraction in a firing barrel.
Dude, you know what I want them.
What could happen is you, they go like this.
You know what this is?
This is, you know what this shirt is?
This is bullshit.
You know what this is?
This is a trough of literal bullshit.
The irony of a no BS shirt being bullshit is so good.
Listen, that's what I'm saying.
I love it.
I love the attitude.
I love the idea.
Guys, I love the idea of no bullshit.
But can you actually produce no bullshit?
Yeah.
The distractions could be
I love what you said.
J.T. Miller, Vinny Trocheck, two best buds being the leaders of this team.
That's a great recipe.
But there's a world where the distractions remain.
And my fear is we have a guy like Artemi Panarin who had, I mean, he still had
89 points or something.
But he has a lesser year than he had the year before.
Maybe he's something like last year, maybe a little bit worse.
And then you start wondering, is his age getting to him, is his interest levels,
his interest levels, rather, waning.
The big one is Mika Zabanajad.
My bet, for better or worse,
is Mika Zabanajad is not on this team by the end of the season.
Yeah.
I just see, you know, Crieds goes, Truba goes.
Zabanajad almost feels like there is a new,
I'm looking at the roster, and I'm looking at,
we always say it, they're so similar to Boston.
I know, it's crazy.
It's very crazy.
And I look at him as almost like a,
You're a piece from the old Rangers.
It would be best if you went off and succeeded somewhere else.
And that would be fantastic for the Rangers to get his cap hit off the books.
So you want to talk about the Kril Kaprizov to New York, which I think is unlikely.
I also don't think it's smart for this New York team to pay Kril Kaprizov $16 to $17 million a year with what they're trying to do.
He's friends with Padern.
I know.
I know.
Dan.
I know.
They're friends.
There's several of them.
Chris.
Yeah, and he's got friends on this team.
Several.
But let's talk about that realistically.
Let's talk about a Kril Kaprizov to this team.
Big City.
We know Russians like New York City.
That is the best part of that.
Yeah, correct.
But again, from a roster building standpoint, is giving Krill Kaprizov with this current
Rangers group $16 to $17 million a year, smart?
I don't think so.
That was my point.
But if you were to be able to move a guy like Zabanajad, then you're like,
it makes it a little more palatable.
I don't know if you can, though.
So the distractions are the enemy of the New Rangers.
What could go wrong is the organization itself falls apart around them, and you're like,
God damn it, dude.
Give me a big surprise Rangers fans this year, good or bad, that you're like, wow.
I'm sorry I keep doing like points and stuff, but I really feel this one.
Will Cooley is going to have 30 goals and 75 points this year.
Oh, my God.
That would be sick.
I think he's extremely good.
I think he's fantastic.
I would say 75 assists.
I think he's the most exciting player on this roster as far as like trajectory.
Maybe Gabe.
One thing we haven't brought up is new coach, new coach, bump, new coach bump.
It's tough because I have negative predictions for the Rangers.
And I also said Sullivan is in the something to prove category, I think, in our coaching thing.
Just because I was like, man, it's going to be interesting.
Were you a team, were you a coach that had just a bad,
roster in Pittsburgh or is it like your system isn't fitting this squad either um i think unfortunately
the big surprise is for the rangers is let me check this first yeah this would be good do it last year
goals for they were fourth goals against yeah they're right in the middle i just i my big surprise
is is the d like i just really worry i'm not totally sold on like oh adam fox
worked his bag off and now he's ready. And Gabrikov is like, we paid him all this money and he's so
sick. And we didn't even need Keondre. And I'm just, I'm like, I am currently like, I'm not sure any of
that is true. Yeah. That's what you would like to believe right now. So unfortunately, my biggest
surprise, I think might be how low the Rangers rank in defensive performance in the NFL.
They're going to be like, oh, fuck me, dude. I think the other guys will get better. I think you'll
see a better season from Panarin, from Mika, from laugh. But it just wants to be.
It won't add up.
The math still won't math.
I also think they're going to start hot.
Oh, okay.
And they need to.
I think through 20, people are going to be like, oh, my God.
We're sick.
And it might just get long in the tooth.
But I think they start hot.
I like that a lot.
Next team.
The Philadelphia Flyer.
No, yes.
I'm moving it to alphabetical.
And I'm just trying to do it in my head.
Yeah, the Philadelphia Flyers.
The next team, the Philadelphia Flyers,
2025-26
NHL season preview
last year
they went 33,
39, and 10
for 76 points
and finished last
in the Met.
This year they will finish.
Yeah,
I think we're dealing
with the same thing, right?
No, we're not.
I told you,
I completely changed my bottom three.
Oh, wow,
I'm on hinged now.
Okay.
I'm completely on-hinged.
Holy fuck.
Me?
No, yeah, you first.
Three, two, one,
sixth, seventh.
No, eighth.
Eighth.
Okay. What goes wrong, Dan? What could go wrong with the Philadelphia Flyers that sit them at eight?
Goaltending. They have the worst goalie room in the league. That's why when you said take a flyer on someone, I said not the flyer, though, because that would be insane.
Yeah, I don't love their decor and I really don't love their goaltending room. And I just think that that is, regardless of the Met, I just think that that is eventually going to,
they're just going to be leaky.
I think there's a lot to be excited about with this Flyers group, but I think they're
going to be really leaky.
So that's what goes wrong.
It was just, they had the worst goaltending, and they are not going to have good
goaltending, and then they're dead.
Yeah.
Here's my best case scenario, and this is why I'm unhinged, and this is why I have them
sixth, and to be very clear, I don't think Flyers fan should be happy about that, or that they
should be happy about the immediate future.
Yep.
But I'm going to say this.
Tawket is there and he has had some success right away at places.
Like he shows up and there's like a change.
I don't know if they can even get serviceable in gold and I literally, I don't know.
But if they can just give me serviceable, best case scenario is this.
I get serviceable goaltending.
Talkit has the boys playing a more scrappy system.
Like he's got them competitive.
You never want to see the flyers.
Like, you used to be like, nice, two points.
You don't want to see the flyers.
Mitch Koff scores 40 and is the boy.
And Zegris is fucking nasty.
Now, hear me out, Dan.
I actually think Tocet is going to murder Trevor Zegris, unfortunately, because I love Trevor Zegris.
I don't think.
Listen to me.
Listen to me.
I actually think he's going to murder Trevor Zegris.
Zegris. But it's not till next year.
This year, I think Zegris
is gonna, we're gonna see that right young
boy again. Okay. That 66 point
boy, two years in a row, or whatever
it was. And we're gonna go, I knew it.
I fucking knew it. God,
what a trade, what a pickup two C.
We get a beautiful two Cs, like 10 years old
still. Yeah. And then, and he'll be,
and he'll start to play free again, Dan. He'll be doing
crazy shit, he'll be flipping the puck over his head,
fucking, uh, um, the Mighty Ducks kid.
The Texas kid. He'll look like the Texas kid
kid from the Mighty Ducks. What's his name?
Dwayne. Dwayne Robinson. He'll be Dwayne Robinson all over the ice and Tuckett will go,
well, we're actually playing okay. People had us eight, but we're six. Look at us. Look at us go.
We're getting serviceable goaltending. Mitchcoff's got 40. I love these boys. And then when they
finish six and he goes, well, you know, six isn't good enough. And they come out next year
and Mitzkhov and Zegris are missioning every play. He's going to be like this. Both of you
are murdered. And then they'll be killed and they'll suck again and Tuckett will probably be moved on.
You know what's really funny? This year, Dan, we've got a sixth place finish.
What was really, really funny to me is this team, when you look at their roster, is the all-NHL video game potential roster.
I know, too.
Like, truly, it's, if you're playing NHL and you go, I built a team, everyone on the team's 22, and their potential is possible elite.
And it's like, I look like you truly looking around the roster, take away Coots and connect me.
Yeah. And I'm like, you got Grebenken, who's a 22-year-old Russian, like, fourth, fifth-round pick, but they're like, he could be nasty.
Mitch Kov. You've got Trevor Zegris. You've got Alex Bump, dude. Shout out Western Michigan Broncos.
Just one of Natty coming into this team. You got Bobby Brink. You got Tyson Forster. You got Owen Tippett.
Like, all of these guys are guys that you're like this. They could.
Oosing potential. The 80-point guys.
Do you even said, Travis connecting top 10 player in the league.
Well, I said eliminate Kine and Kootz because they're, they're stalwarts.
They're great players.
All these other guys are all NHL video game potential players.
And I see the excitement.
I get why people are excited.
I really love Cam York.
I really love San Diego.
I think Travis Sandheim's a great player.
Drysdale, I've talked a lot of positives about.
I think their third pair is tough.
Yep.
And I think their goaltending is fucking brutes, magutes.
And they're just going to finish eighth.
Dude, the flyer should take a flyer on somebody.
I know.
They should take a flyer.
They actually should do, like, anything.
They should call every single team that has a highly touted prospect goalie with someone
blocking their way.
Like, look at D.P.atro in Boston.
Like, you have Swainman.
Yeah.
Like, yeah, maybe he's part of a tandem.
But, like, if you could give them a prospect or a fucking draft pick, do it.
Because it's like, you guys need anybody.
I can't believe the Fed wasn't nasty.
Yeah, you thought he was going to be a Russian bear.
I thought the Fed was.
going to come in and literally eat pucks for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You couldn't see the
net if it was the last thing that you saw before your life in it. He would block out the sun,
dude. And then he actually was horrible. I know. I just, the flyers, I see, I see it. I see
all the potential. Connectney is a top 10 player in the league. Connectney is phenomenal.
So people don't think we're dogging. It's a joke with our Philly friend. But he's phenomenal.
Mitchkov had a great year last year.
He's sick, dude.
He's so good.
And then, yeah, it's just like, you know, is Tippett going to be more than a 40-point guy?
Is Forrester going to be more than a 40-point guy?
Is Brink going to be more than a 40-point guy?
Is Kate's going to be more than a 40-point guy?
I think Flyers think so.
I hope so.
Because I think the Flyers are exciting.
And I think the league is better when the Flyers are good.
Yep.
But again, it's the all-NHL video game potential team, and I think that's a dangerous game.
Like truly, looking at their forward group, 70% of their forward group is all-NHL potential.
They're the all-NHL potential team.
But Dan, that's why I think it it unlocks a tiny bit this year.
Sure.
And you get up to six.
And everyone goes, I know, I knew it.
I knew it.
Elite, elite, elite, elite.
And then I'm like, actually next year it's all going to come crashing down and I'm sorry for you.
But this year, enjoy the ride.
Yeah.
Because you might have a chance to finish sixth.
You might?
Give me a surprise.
Um, my surprise for this team, actually you give me your surprise because I want to think of something creative.
Okay, okay. My surprise is going to be that, I got to go, I got to go Ziegs, dude. I just got to. I just love them. I just love him so much. Um, my surprise is going to be that Trevor Zegris, who has never scored more than 23 goals, but did it back to back at age 20 and 23, which is so sick.
Trevor Zegris
scores a career high in goals
not much over but I think he gets 24 or 25
and is
and plays a
like isn't a liability isn't like a
oh he's just missioning all of the place
I think Trevor Zegris gets completely dialed in
playing hockey the right way scores 25 goals
and people go damn dude
that is he's had that in him the whole time
that's my take
I like it.
I Harvey dented him last year, and I believe in Trevor Zee.
Yeah.
And I still do.
I want to do something different than points.
I think my, the horse I believe in is Tippett.
I think Owen Tickett's great clear.
I also love, I know it's Western Michigan, but I love my, he's from Minnesota, but Alex
Bump, I think would just be, Alex Bump being like, I think he was, I think he was picked like 100, something
hundredth.
That's awesome.
Then went to Western Michigan, was a beast.
One-A. Natty, Minnesota boy, and his name is Alex Bump.
And if we could get a bump, the flyer's...
Filly Bump?
A little Philly Bump?
Quick bathroom bump.
Wow.
That would be pretty cool.
I like that.
Give me 20 goals from Alex Bump in his first NHLC.
Holy shit.
Next up, one, I am both excited and not excited to talk about.
The Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh
Penguins
2025-25-26
NHL season preview
How are you sleeping?
Yeah, dude
What does he say after that?
He says Pittsburgh again
It's awesome
Yeah
How are you feeling Pittsburgh?
The guy or the actor?
You tee up this
And I'm going to get what his name is
That will be an insane poll
If that's even listed
What are you talking about, dude?
He's a huge character
He's flung for five seconds.
No.
Last year, Pittsburgh Penguins went 34, 36.
Boss Vic Koss.
How you sleeping, dude?
How you sleeping?
God, again, listeners, if you guys know what this reference is, DM us because this is awesome.
God, that's amazing.
Last year, the Pittsburgh Penguins went 34, 36, and 12 for 80 points and finished seventh in the Met.
This year, would you put, would you just put Philly?
I went eight.
You went eight.
This year, you go first.
They will finish.
Three, two, one, seven, eight.
I like the A-PIC.
But I didn't do it because of one man.
He will literally never let it happen.
Correct.
He will literally never let it.
And I know what you're doing.
I know what you're doing here.
You're stealing my bit.
Dan, look at me.
You're stealing my vibe.
You're correct.
And I respect it.
You're correct, yeah.
I respect it.
I had them at six this morning when I came in.
Yeah.
Because I even had them above seven, dude,
because of him. I said there's just literally no way.
I know there is a way he did it last year.
But I was like, I just think new coach, whatever,
Cid's going to bring them back, Rutgers up here,
they're going to finish six and it's completely fine.
And then it occurred to me, Dan,
because I don't even know if I should put this in the what could go wrong
or what could go right.
Is this what could go wrong or is this best case scenario?
I don't even know.
I can't even see straight what I think about this team
because it occurred to me, Dan,
that Sidney Crosby could go like this.
Everyone is like, why he would never leave the team?
And I'm like, well, he literally would, but, you know, whatever.
And now we're-
I do wanna take our medicine in that, you know, we went on a little rant about that after
we told people to apologize, which I stand by.
Me too.
And then, of course, Sid, like the prince that he is immediately responded to that.
And he's like, I don't know how many fucking times any to answer this question.
And a bunch of Pittsburgh fans sent that to us being like, suck it, bitch, to which I say,
the timing was bad.
But obviously, obviously he was going to say that.
Either way, he says that because he is the classiest.
He doesn't want to leave.
Yes, he's the classiest greatest man in the world.
It's the big difference between would he ever leave and does he want to leave?
Yeah.
And he doesn't want to leave.
You would love to bring this team back into contention and finish his fucking run here.
But also, if you guys blow and you're ruining his life and mine, then I would kindly ask you to let him leave, please.
But it occurred to me this, Dan.
Crosby getting traded away would allow him to have playoff success and it would be so fun for the whole fucking league.
Thank you.
And I thought to myself, well, you know, he'd get them back a haul.
He would get them back something, too.
Like, wouldn't you be happy as a Penguin fan?
And I don't know how it hasn't hit me till fucking this morning driving in.
Okay.
Also, him leaving will free them up to have the worst record in the league and get Gavin McKenna.
People are talking about it.
You now have Sid, Sid's final gift to you will be giving you new Sid.
Can we talk about how fucking greedy and selfish some pit fans are?
This Sunday on hockey talk, someone was like,
who do you want to get the number one pick?
And I said, whenever we have a talent like Gavin McKenna,
and there's an opportunity for a huge market team
to have that number one pick and them go there,
no disrespect to some of the smaller market teams.
But it is, it's from a, listen, I'm thinking with the big,
the shield hat on of like,
would it be better for I Gavin McKenna to go to,
you know,
a big team versus a smaller team?
And I was like,
dude,
I said Boston.
And that's not even Boston homerism.
I was just like,
Boston hasn't had a first overall pick since Joe Thornton.
And it's a situation where Boston could have that pick.
I think it'd be really cool.
And a few pit fans slid into the DMs and they're like,
dude, Pittsburgh.
It'd be fucking sick.
They know how to handle elite talent.
great point. Like that would be
a cool passing of the torch and then they
all followed up with, they were like
him and Sid and I was like,
you want to keep
Sid and get
that pick, you greedy pigs.
Oink, oik, oink, dude.
Squealing, get your trough.
Squealing swine that you want
both fuck off. And it could
be, dude, what's fucked Dan is it could happen
anyway. Like he could just stay on this fucking
team. They could suck.
Oh, like Boston lost Marchand for this, dude.
You fucking assholes want to keep it and get the kid.
He could literally stay on the team.
They could finish with the fifth worst record in the league win the lottery.
And they'd rig the fucking, or sorry, I'm not supposed to say it anymore, but they could win the lottery and then get Gavin.
Dude, but Dan, I'm flipping this completely on my head.
I'm not shitting you, bro, because they're, you want to talk brass tacks.
Their defense, like, as a team, their defense and goaltending is horrible.
They give up the most goals in the league.
They are going to do it again.
Their defensemen who are good, are older.
This is bleak.
This is a bleak situation.
I'm telling you, worst, what could go wrong?
Here's the answer of what could go wrong.
They play semi-serviceable D.
Sid is a god.
They finish sixth in the Met and get a bad draft pick.
And they don't even, don't trade Sid, and they're not even near playoffs.
That's what could go wrong.
Yeah.
You have the best possible season.
Truly, we get to the trade deadline, and they're like, dude, we're only six points out of the wild card.
And they just keep playing, and they miss playoffs again.
I'm like this.
Do you want to do this another year, guys?
Sid scores 40 goals, has 103 points.
and they go, we missed playoffs, and I'm like, you have got to be insane.
Best case scenario, best case scenario is Malkins leaving.
You trade away Chris LaTang this year.
You trade away Sidney Crosby this year.
You get insane picks and prospects.
You finish dead last.
And then you get Gavin McKenna.
You win the lottery.
You get Gavin McKenna.
Dude.
And then Gavin McKenna, Rutger McGrady, and the hall you got back from Sydney Crosby
is primed to build another dynasty in Pittsburgh over the next 15 years.
That is best case scenario.
Chris, fucking flat out period.
I genuinely, man, and I'm sure we'll get some pit fans who slide in the DMs or hit us up on Twitter and they're like, I can't believe you guys, it's a division preview.
How are we not going to talk about this right now?
This is frankly the only forum we're allowed to talk.
Yes.
I look at this roster.
You just said their D has been so tough.
It's so leaky.
Their goaltending is leaky.
And I am now here to say there was a time in the passing of the torch from Flurry to Murray to Jari where people are.
but we're like, Jari's the guy. I don't think Jari's the guy. I think Jari is a good goaltender,
but I do not think he is a playoff goaltender. I don't think he's a playoff goaltender starter.
He is an NHL goaltender, and that's that. Yeah. You're going to get what you've been getting
from him, especially with this D. I'm really excited about hopefully a full season from Owen Pickering,
first round pick for them, great player, but you look at the D and this ain't it, dude.
Correct. It ain't it. Especially with no.
offense the way Carlson and Lutang played last year. Yes. I'm like, oh my God. And, and dude,
our boy Rutz is hurt. He's hopefully going to be back anytime soon. But even with Rutger,
this forward group is, I'm just like, guys, it is irresponsible of Kyle Dubus. Medical
malpractice. It's a medical malpractice. It's irresponsible of Kyle Dubis to not just go,
dude, you hired me to do a fucking job. Do your job. Is my job,
Protecting the feelings of fans and Sidney Crosby.
Like, I would sit Crosby down if I were him and I'd go, dude, I know I just got here.
You are a legend you literally saved this franchise.
I need to trade you.
I'm asking you.
Where do you want to go?
I'm telling you I can't build a team that's going to get in the playoffs and compete for a Stanley Cup while you're here.
I can't.
I want to, but I can't do it.
Not in the time that I have and the time that you have.
Yeah. So I'm asking you, can I trade you? And I, who knows, maybe he's had those conversations,
but it sounds like he hasn't. And I think that that is irresponsible general managing from Kyle Dupus.
And I would do the same fucking thing with Malkin and the same thing with Carlson. I would frankly sit them out.
I would go, don't come to practice. Like, you guys are gone if you will wave. And if they're like,
no, then I'd be like, fine. I'm fucking benching you all season. Like, I would wave them.
Yeah. And obviously, you don't do that because you need to trade them.
But like, is what you just said, man, is like, yeah, dude, I think about the people that they have.
I think about Rutger.
I think about pickering.
And I'm like, dude, get fucking a billion first round picks for these guys.
And there's the argument you never know, right?
It's like teams are desperate at the deadline.
But now with the new LTIR, I'm like, did you blow it?
Did you blow it because these teams can't bury cap at the deadline anymore?
Great point. Fantastic point.
So like, did you fucking blow your chance to move these guys?
So at this point, I'm like, how in the world are all three, four of them still on this roster?
And I don't know, I don't know everything.
Yeah.
And there is a world where all four of them have like sat down and been like, we're not fucking waving.
Like we love it here.
And if that's the case, then I'll shut up, but we'll never know that.
But I just, it is medical malpractice.
Is medical malpractice?
You should be sued.
This team is like
This, dude, who do you
The Pittsburgh Penguins being good in the NHL
is, I need it.
Who could even, in your mind, quickly,
who could even, who's in contention
for the worst record in leagues? I know you have to win the lottery
still, but who's in contention? Chicago, San Jose,
Pittsburgh,
Buffalo, Boston,
and
uh, yeah.
Yeah, Buffalo Boston, like Philly, maybe.
But otherwise, I'm like,
it, to me, those other ones
are even a step up. To me, it's
San Jose, Chicago, Pittsburgh.
And I'm like, if I'm dubous, I'm going
you have to, I know everyone's like, don't tank, but I'm like, when you have a
Gavin McKenna, it's a conversation. And I'm like,
the sharks have Mac and Will and Misa.
The Hawks have
Connor Bedogh. Like, fuck me.
And, um, whatever, the defenseman they took second.
The Hawks. Yeah. And like,
and there's, I don't need Gavin McKenna to go play with his
cousin, and they have all the best first-round picks, I don't need him to go to the sharks. Pittsburgh
should be getting the first overall pick. Like, Pittsburgh should go, Crosby has moved on, and
by the miracle of all Peyton Manning, Andrew Luck miracles. They took Fondell, too, last year.
Yeah, we now get Gavin McKenna. And I'm like, that makes sense to me in this league. Kindly make it
happen because your ceiling is sixth. Your absolute fucking ceiling. I just, yeah, this team, this team
isn't going to make playoffs. I really don't think so. And again,
man, it's like, I get it. I get fans being like, no, dude, I'd rather, I'd rather live my life
watching Sydney Crosby play for the Penguins and only put the Penguins for the rest of time.
I get that. But at the same time, is like growing up a Bruins fan, living through Ray Bork,
living through Marcy, and I'm like, no, it was worth it. Yes. Like, I, and maybe, maybe that
makes me a bad fan. No, it doesn't. But I'm like, try it on for size, Pitt. Try it on.
It's very sick. Watching your guy who gave you everything. Yeah, Tom Brady.
I did it with Tom Brady, dude.
Yes.
You can do it with Sidney Crosby.
You're right.
I did it with Tom fucking Edward Patrick Brady.
Like, you're telling me that you can't do it.
Give me a break.
Yep.
And dude, we were sitting in Florida.
I was getting fucking teary-eyed watching where she lift the cup again.
It's amazing.
You will do too.
Yep.
And it will be better for your franchise.
How many times have we said, ask pretty much any Boston.
I know there are some still butt hurt ones and I don't fucking get that at all.
Ask basically any Boston fan right now when you,
you when you traded Marshie and it went the ugly way it did.
And this wouldn't be that.
This would be a peaceful way.
Even with how ugly that was, when you're a Boston fan right now and you look at the fact
that they were able to get James Higgins and now they're like, oh, we've got all
these picks, these first round picks, they're all like, this is better than what we were
doing.
Did you want to miss playoffs and let the last years of Brad Marshan die?
Or do you want to go let Marcy win a cup, battle for more cups, and now your team is better
off. I don't know why this is a question. No brainer. No brainer. Last team in the Met, Dan, the Washington
Capitals. The Washington Capitals 2025, 26, NHL season preview. Last year, they went 51, 22, and
nine for 111 points finished first in the Met and made the playoffs. This year they will finish.
I think we have the same thing if my math is correct. I believe so. Three, two, one, third. Third.
I think the caps are great.
I think the rebuild on the fly has been amazing.
Massive shout at the players like Dylan Strom, Protas,
Connor McMichael, guys that jump out,
the great season from Pierre-Luc Dubois,
and the true leader that Tom Wilson has become.
If Tom Wilson doesn't have the sea slapped on his sweater when OV leaves,
that is a huge miss.
I also Jacob Chichickick.
My God.
Insane.
I think that they're really
impressively constructed roster.
I'm so excited about Ryan Leonard.
I do feel like the drunk environment.
Yes, dude.
Yes, bro.
I couldn't agree more.
The drunk environment of the OVie Chase,
Ovi coming back from the broken leg,
fueled them so immensely.
I've never seen.
a team run on vibes harder than the cast.
Yeah. Fueled them so immensely, and I think in large part that is what got them first
last year. So I don't think they'll be first again. And I actually, again, shout out to the
fan base, pretty much everyone in the fan base that we've talked to has been like, we're obviously
regressing, right? And again, it's a regression in that you're not drunk anymore. Yeah, yeah.
But like, you're still a great playoff team. You know, what is the only counter, Dan? I had this
thought too coming in because I had the same reasoning. I was like, they were on vibes. Yeah, they're running on
lives. I do think, and I'm basing this, and I know people are, people know that we are good friends
with several Capitals players. So I am 100% not lying to you. I'm not getting this from them.
This is not like some subtle I know, but I can't say I know. I know nothing. Fact. I do think
this is Obie's last year. And me too. I think he, I think they know. He doesn't want it out
because he doesn't want to do the whole thing,
but I think the team does know.
I think a fuck up like that is so unrealistic.
Like a blast to season ticket,
dude, you don't just make that up.
You know what I mean?
It's not like that's something that you added on
to the end of a tweet.
That was a prepared statement.
It was a prepared email pamphlet with pictures.
Like that was not a on the whim thing.
So, therefore, that they know.
So they could be on vibes again.
Like they could order a second round of vibes for the table.
Yeah.
And then they all do them.
And then now they have a whole other season of viking.
So there's a chance that they just stay cooked, which would be awesome.
I think, though, I'm also predicting the regression, but not huge.
LT's got a brand new mask.
You see that thing, dude?
Unbelievable.
He's got night at the museum on there.
So funny.
It's fucking hilarious.
Absolutely incredible.
LT is going to be awesome again.
We keep talking about motivations for Olympics.
Adam Fox, I was doing the wings yesterday.
You think LT doesn't want to put a Canadian jersey on to the Olympics?
100%.
That's a joke.
So he's going to get some of the best hockey you've ever seen out of him.
This team is going to be competitive.
And as you said at the top, I cannot give them more credit for being this good and relevant still.
Maybe we keep saying that they're not going to be drunk anymore.
Maybe they're going to still be drunk because they know he's retiring.
That's what I'm saying.
That's what I'm saying.
They order a second round of vibes for the table.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, sorry.
That's what you meant with second round of vibes.
They're like, oh, shit, we're still drinking.
I thought the party was over.
Turns out we're going all night.
Turns out it's the morning and we're going to shampoo ourselves over some Mimos.
Damn.
I'm out here being like, they're hung over and they're like, that's...
We are just...
We're not that drunk.
That's interesting.
They could be one.
But we made our bed.
They're three.
But best case scenario, Dan, is that, I think, right?
Best case scenario is they stay drunk.
LT's awesome, makes Team Canada.
Ryan Lennon's the fucking man.
And all those guys you just said who were unbelievable rebuilds on the fly do exactly what they were doing.
OV?
You think OV is going to go out in his last season of his career and not dominate?
You think he's going to whimper out with like a 20 goal season?
He let score 50.
Like, O shed, O is going to do whatever O wants to do.
And I think that that is so swaggy.
Something that's really surprised me about this team is,
they have
one
John Carlson
is a lot of people
three years ago
were like John Carlson regressing
and then he's gone back to back years
of 82 games 79 games
52 points 51 points
He's just legend
He's unbelievable
They
I don't want to repeat what we said last year
when we talked about
like who was going to be good
in the twilight years
between Pitt and Washington
I feel like we are all like Pitt.
Oh my God, Dan.
I can't believe how wrong that was.
And just the way this team has rebuilt this roster, the PLD trade, so many people
were like, oof, I don't know about that.
It works out great.
And then also they get LT.
Like, that was masterful work.
That's incredible.
Carbs is one of the best coaches in the league.
I'm just blown away with this team, the way they've reconstructed, and they have like
4 mil in cap space and the potential of OV's, like, what does OV make, 10?
Yeah.
Like coming off, like fuck me.
That's special.
What could go wrong for me is those pieces, like PLD, who my love, is, I love P.
I love P.L.
Falls back to what we had been seeing.
Some of these protas, McMichael guys, what can we always say?
There's a little bit tape on them.
There's a little bit tape on carb system.
OV's like, I actually am hungover now.
Yeah.
And I think, unfortunately,
this team, Dan, I wonder if you agree with this.
I'm looking at the Met right now.
This team has the
of the contenders has the biggest
scary standard deviation for me.
Interesting, okay.
Where I'm like, there's a version of the caps
that are like, oh, fuck.
You know, we always say if someone's coming up,
someone's going down, right?
If there was going to be a surprise, because there usually is,
and if the Rangers fans are right,
and they make the top three, they're like,
who fell out?
And I'm like, caps, maybe.
Like maybe caps were just like, man, we were riding so high last year and now we're fighting for a wild card.
I don't think it's going to happen.
I got them three.
I got them a comfortable three.
But I'm telling you that they have the highest standard deviation for me.
Dude, what is going on with the last couple of years?
I feel like there have just been a lot of Russian, like 21-year-old Russians that show up out of nowhere on teams.
Like Miroshenchenko on this team, I'm like, who are you?
Similar to like the islanders.
His name doesn't fit on the jersey.
No, it doesn't at all.
I think what could go wrong and I hate doing this to a human being.
I don't want to put so much pressure on someone.
And I think actually the emergence of Alexei Protas took a lot of pressure off this.
Ryan Leonard.
Yeah.
Ryan Leonard was, I haven't seen someone in college seemingly so both body and mental pro-ready as Ryan Leonard since like Jack Eichael.
and he came in, I think in like nine games, he had one goal, and it was an empty net goal.
I think it took him a little bit to find his footing.
Now, that is obviously different after a full summer training camp and all that.
But I think when I look at this team with OVe likely retiring, with T.J. O'Shee retiring,
Ryan Leonard is a guy that they're like, we have a lot of eggs in this basket.
Yeah. Like you, Ryan Leonard is supposed to be the next star of this team. And I think he needs to have a big year. What's your big surprise?
Ryan Leonard. I thought you were going there. That's why I asked.
Ooh. 50 goals from Alex Svejkin. I almost said that, dude. That would be so sick. My surprise is, my surprise is L.T. Makes Seam Canada and is N.
named as a Vesna finalist.
That shouldn't be that big a surprise
considering he was fourth last year.
Yeah.
And for those keeping score at home,
my Vesna finalists are
Otter,
L.T,
and...
God, it feels crazy
that Hellebuck
wouldn't even be a finalist
just because he's such a mutant.
I'll put him in there.
Otter, L.T. Hellebuck.
Hellibuck finishing third.
Um...
Fucking, let's go.
And I think the Caps,
unfortunately
last year
they had the most goals for in the league
or sorry I'm in their division
by like a pretty decent margin
I think they don't quite get that anymore
I'm not saying these guys are going to be worse
or whatever I'm just and I think
Leonard is going to be way better obviously
but I just don't know that they're going to leave
the Met in goal scoring
and if they're going to stay competitive
they need to stay awesome at goals against
which they were great at they were second in the Met
but I'm telling you it's going to be like
an LT bag season.
Yeah.
And you're going to go,
how are they so good still?
They don't score as much as they used to.
They're not as good on the power play as they used to be.
And I'm like,
it's because they do that on the back end.
Yeah.
Boom.
That is it for the Metropolitan Division breakdown and preview and predictions.
I have devils,
canes, caps in playoffs,
blue jackets,
Rangers,
Flyers, Islanders, Penguins,
a Crosbyless penguins.
I believe I have Cains, Devils, Caps, Blue Jackets, Rangers, Islanders, Penguins, Flyers.
And that's pretty close, dude, give me yours again.
Cains, I can't believe you're going to make me do that again.
Cains, Devils, Caps. Caps, Devils, Caps.
That's different.
Yeah.
But then the rest, jackets, Rangers, Islanders, Penguins, Flyers.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Wow.
There you go.
Let's take a quick ad break, and then we are coming back.
My God, with the Chris Kreider interview of all interviews.
My boy is finally on the show.
Cannot wait.
Uh-oh.
New Light Strike just dropped.
It is Blue Rush, and it is absolutely insane.
It's out this September, and I got to tell you, I am absolutely loving it.
It's so refreshing.
It's berries and Yuzu flavor, which is just like diabolical.
I don't know whose brain that came from, but I hope they got a mask.
massive race. As always, it's not carbonated, which I love. I'm kind of out on bubbles right now,
so I'm always rocking these. It's a reseal little bottle, so I can take it wherever I need
to go on the run. It's 10% coconut, 10% coconut water, 5% alcohol by volume. It's the perfect
combo. I'm obsessed with it because it's exactly the drink I need when I got football
tailgating, when I got hockey right around the corner. We've got DJ press play and Friday
beers throwing parties, and bang, there's my light strike. So next time I'm cooking up a
Thursday night, pre-game for football, or I'm getting ready for October 7th when
hockey's coming around the corner. I am going to go get myself one of these, specifically
this new Blue Rush flavor, because it's a May. So what I want you to do is check out
drinklightstrike.com, and you'll be able to find one just near you. Because this thing
is built for those who want to go hard and never tap out, just like me, just like DP,
shockingly smooth, this free experience, light strike blue rush baby. Get it.
at it. There's a question. Do you need a little bit of extra focus? Do you need a little bit of
extra energy? Do you want to enhance your post-meal experience or the experience while you're
having a couple of drinks? Well, I've got great news for you because that's where Lucy is coming in.
Lucy is giving you the best designed by scientist nicotine experience that you could ever imagine.
Always tobacco-free. And let me tell you what, they've got a lot of products. They've got pouches
if you want that traditional. They got breakers if you want to add a little bit of extra
splash of flavor and excitement. They've also got lozenges. They've got gum. Myself, I'm a
pouch guy. And they've also got a great range when it comes to the kick that you get with the
milligrams, 4, 8, 12, whatever your desire is. Lucy's going to take care of it. They've got
amazing flavors. I'm on a big mint and wintergreen kick right now. And I cannot express this
enough. Lucy is just such a nice, delicious delivery of that nicotine that you're looking for.
myself I'm more of the focus, energy, and relaxation vibe.
I know that sounds like a weird combo, but let me tell you what, when I'm on the golf course,
I love throwing a Lucy pouch in because it dials me in.
I get that laser focus.
I've got a big shot coming out.
I had a nice drive.
My approach, I need to stick it in a hula hoop right by the pen.
I rarely do, but that's not Lucy's fault.
Lucy keeps me focused.
It gets me having that great swing, dialing in on the course.
Also, not a coffee guy.
But you know what I do love when I'm grinding away,
giving you the best netters content you could ask for?
I'm popping in Lucy pouches because it gives me that energy to drive through.
And then like I mentioned, I'm not a big sweets fan, folks.
I'm trying to keep it tight for all of you.
So I'm not eating ice cream and I'm not eating chocolates.
What I love after a nice meal, after a dinner,
when I'm sitting back, watching hockey, watching a movie,
pop in a Lucy, relax, and just enjoy my night.
It's all the best deliveries you could ask for.
you're going to try Lucy.
This is what you need to do.
You're going to give it a shot by going to lucy.com.
C-O.
Lucy.
com slash Friday and you're going to use promo code Friday.
F-R-I-D-A-Y at checkout and you're going to save 20% off your first order.
Lucy.
com slash Friday, promo code Friday.
And you're going to get hooked up with some of the best nicotine in the game.
Okay.
Well, this is big.
This is special.
This is big.
At long last, we are joined by a Boxford Mass Native, a two-time national champion at BC.
Unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
A World Junior's gold medalist.
Unbelievable.
19th overall pick for the New York Rangers.
Most power play goals in New York Rangers history.
Now a member of the Anaheim Ducks.
And more importantly, my dear friend and former teammate, Chris Kreider, welcome to the Empty Naders podcast.
Unbelievable.
We did it.
We did it.
Long time coming.
You're finally here.
The best part that people need to know is you thought this was going to be a phone call.
Yeah.
I didn't even realize it was with you guys.
So funny.
I like to think that when you found out it was us, you tried everything you could to get out of it.
Of course not.
Kid me?
Escape the year.
Yeah.
Hey, well, dude, I know you're an East Coast guy at heart as we are too, but the Southern California weather, though.
Can't beat.
Cannot beat.
Cannot beat it.
I always say it's the most as advertised thing I've ever seen.
Everyone was ranting or even how sick it was.
Then I moved.
And I was like, oh, it is that sick, actually.
It's incredible.
It's been pretty good.
When I first got it, people were apologizing.
They're like, yeah, it's a little humid.
Like, do you know what I just came from?
Yeah, seriously.
It was like 100% he had it.
Have you been in New York City in the summer before?
The sweat dungeon?
It's insane.
Miserable.
Dude, before we get into anything else, hey, Frankie.
You want to hop?
You want to hop in?
Come on.
Come on.
Come on.
Can't.
I can't in that.
Yes.
No, no.
It would be a rattle him for sure.
Oh, look at Frankie.
Oh, he's the best.
First thing I wanted to talk about because it's the most special thing in my life is Andover.
And we went to Andover together.
Obviously, you had a few great years there.
I want to know if now should have won the whole thing.
We should have won the whole thing is the biggest disaster of all time.
How special of a place does Andover having your heart still to this day?
Yeah, I think I've, safe to say that, like,
I made a lot of lifelong friends there, right?
Like some of my best friends, people who are in my wedding,
between some of the guys that I grew up with,
and then some of the people that I went to Andover with,
like, yeah, it's hard to put into words how great that place is.
I know people who didn't go to Andover, don't want to hear about it,
but, like, it's all we want to talk about, right?
Like, it's an adjustment leaving there and going to, going to college.
It's honestly nicer than a lot of colleges.
Yes, the fact.
Yeah.
I was like, I see.
The campus is just insane.
It's insane.
The people are unbelievable.
And I was super lucky being able to stay at home too.
So I got off campus right when all of you guys were starting to get into trouble at night and got to go home and came back the next day and heard the stories.
That is when you get in trouble by the way.
We did have a couple of good sleepovers on those snow days, though.
Oh, yeah.
No, being a day student was the best.
It was the best, yeah.
Having the car available and able to drive everyone around illegally.
It was fun.
It was fantastic.
But you've said before there were some things when you went to be.
BC that was almost a hard adjustment because of how awesome Andover was. What were those things that
you were just like, it didn't match up? Even though we know BC's incredible. Obviously, everyone knows
that. BC is a fantastic school. But I mean, you're not going to be in class with six people and
having discussions face-to-face interpersonal relationships and interactions, you know, four or five
times a day.
People from like very distinctly different like walks of life.
Not that BC, you know, didn't have that, but, you know, it's a college.
You're going to be in some larger lecture halls.
Yeah.
I was also spending the majority of my time at the rink.
There was a steep, steep learning curve going from high school hockey to plan against
250 pound defensemen on the University of Vermont.
Six years old.
Yeah.
So, yeah, I was, I was there to.
to, you know, obviously getting education,
but there was a very steep learning curve from a hockey standpoint,
and I spent a lot of time at the rink.
And, yeah, just, just, just different.
Just different.
Makes sense?
Without, like, I want to tear down Boston College.
My experience, there was obviously terrific.
Of course, yeah.
We won twice and, like, the culture that Jerry York had created,
and then, you know, Coach Brown has obviously kept going.
And, I mean, there's a couple of BC boys on this.
This team too.
And, no, that's, that's, it's a really cool thing, really special thing.
But yeah, I don't, I don't, I don't, I don't, I don't, I, maybe you could do a better job putting, putting the Andover experience into words.
No, you're doing it, man.
It's like, it's like, I've gone back there and spoke a few times and it's like, I can't begin to express to people.
It's, it was where we went to high school.
Yeah.
And yet I think about it with so much heart.
It's, you know, it's like every time I get in that area, I go to campus, go see, I keep in touch with more Andover people than I do college.
people. It's like there's something about it. I think in those formative years when we're living
with each other, we're making these lifelong friendships, and they are lifelong friendships.
It's like some people have a hard time comprehending why we love our high school so much,
but I'm like, it was the best place ever. Yeah, so don't know what's said. It was so much fun.
It was too much fun. I mean, also having repeated my sophomore year, I know it's a very difficult
school, obviously. Yeah, yeah. But having repeated my sophomore year, like I came in,
And my first year, I was taking the same math course.
I was taking the same history course.
And it was like, you know, some of it stuck with me a little bit from my prior sophomore year.
So it was like, made it made life a little bit easier because it's a hard school for sure.
Are you keeping up with the Russian?
Well, I get to use it occasionally.
Yeah, yeah.
Because I feel like it doesn't matter what team on.
There's a couple of Russians.
Definitely.
They speak a very like fast slang like locker room version of Russian.
So sometimes it's hard to understand them.
But I definitely know when they're cussing me out.
Or cussing the coach out.
Those are the words you got to know.
You went first.
Oh, man, you were buzzing with that.
I was shocked.
Like, you were taking Russian.
That course was awesome.
I mean, when I first got there, everyone was like, you have to take Russian.
I was like, why?
Because of the teacher.
The teacher, it wasn't so much the language itself.
It was like he taught you how you learned how to learn, if that makes sense, right?
Yeah, for sure.
I don't think he spoke English to me until like this, my second year.
Because then there was one grammatical thing where it's like, all right, I have to speak English to explain this because it's a little complicated.
But he just, he wanted to immerse you, right?
And it was seeing it, reading it, writing, it, saying it.
And it's just hitting your brain from like all different angles.
And you'd do the homework.
And if you got a mistake on the homework, he'd highlight it.
And then you had to fix it, write it down and then turn it back in again.
So it was just like, like, this is how you.
your brain works and this is how you're going to learn a language.
Is it how you're going to learn anything?
Yeah, yeah.
Just chunking it out.
And so, yeah, that was something that was super, super helpful.
Yeah, that's sick.
I love it.
Two, transition to BC so we can throw them some flowers.
You had said, I saw in a quote you had where you were like, I went to BC to win trophies because
that, you know, that's what they do there.
And I'm looking at your run, dude.
It's like freshman year, bean pot champ, when you have a disgusting goal all over ESPN,
hockey east, Natty of Wisconsin.
Sophomore year, Beanpot again, two goals and assist the game.
winner, tournament MVP, win hockey east again,
third year, bean pot again, hockey east again,
Natty again.
We interviewed a lot of guys who were like,
man, in college, I wish I had won this, I wish I did.
And I'm like, what do you, do you wish you won three Natty's?
I do.
I know, I know that's greedy, but our best team,
we always say it was our sophomore year.
Yeah, you guys were gross.
Like, but to the point where like we were probably a little bit too big for our
britches by the end of the year, like, you know,
we had the puck the whole game.
Like we didn't create turnovers and create offense that way.
And then we ran into a buzzsaw against Colorado College, Jaden Schwartz,
the first line of him and his brother and player, last name, Schultz,
forgetting the first name, but Schwartz, Schwartz and Schultz, the law firm, right?
And it was the first time on tape all year where we were like, ooh,
it's like a coach basically threw them up on the pre-scout.
And it's like, all right, so this is how they break into the zone.
And then, like, kind of hesitated.
And it was like, what about the end zone?
He's like, don't let him get in zone.
Yeah.
And then they would just dice teams up.
And I think we lost like 9-5.
And honest to God, we had a chance to come back in that game.
Yeah, I remember this stuff.
But like, but yeah, they kind of blew the doors off us.
Yeah, we want everything, but they won national championship.
Yeah, no, it was a wild.
But it must have an incredible experience, right?
Like everything you dreamed up when you got there.
Do you feel like that sophomore year, like running into that buzzsaw in your,
what you probably expected was going to be your last year there, motivated you more to make sure you got it in the junior year?
Yeah, I think so.
I mean, I was coming off of a broken jaw, my sophomore year too.
So I think there was a, yeah, that was a gnarly one.
I mean, we had a kid who got Patch Albert.
He had gotten sucker punched outside of a bar, broke his jaw,
and then his first came back.
He went to ice a puck.
And I've got a cage on, mind you, and it somehow caught me on the side.
Or he hit here, vibrated down, broke here.
Yeah.
Which is like such a freak accident, right?
Yeah, bizarre.
Just like.
But so, yeah, I mean.
decided to go back for my junior year.
Yeah, I had some unfinished business.
Yeah.
I think there was more to learn, too, but it definitely learned a lot from that experience,
from not winning and having a team that that was, you know.
No doubt.
It's not always the best team that wins is the team that plays the best.
I think we saw that our freshman year when we played Miami of Ohio and Wisconsin.
I mean, we played Wisconsin, the national championship game,
and like every single player in their team was like a first or second round pick.
And you stomped.
Yeah, I think we beat Miami, Ohio, 9-1 and Wisconsin, 5-0.
I remember Paul Carey going like, man, this tournament's fun.
Like, why don't we do this last year?
It's like, it's like we kill everybody.
Yeah, but we were playing at the right, we were playing well at the right time and things just clicked.
Like we were playing, we were playing our best hockey.
Yeah, yeah.
Is there a memory that comes to mind when I'm like, when I say BC, he's like, what's the, what's the first epic memory from that run that you think of?
Oh, man, I think of some of those, some of those games junior year, obviously, the national championship game.
I think of Johnny.
Yeah.
Getting to play with him was super special.
I mean, he came in 135 pounds soaking wet.
I thought he was one of the equipment managers.
But I got to play on his line a bunch and got to hang out with him.
It was like a little brother.
That was super cool.
Again, Kevin Hayes playing with him.
Yeah.
There's a lot of guys there.
That was just, it was, I mean, the seniors my freshman year were unbelievable.
Great guys.
You know, show me the way.
took me under their wing, spent a lot of time with them.
Matt Lombardi, Matt Price, Ben Smith.
That freshman year was super cool, too.
The whole thing was just like a whirlwind, right?
Like basically going world, you know, go to BC,
again, steep, steep learning curve.
My freshman year, right?
Like, a bit of a culture shock in a lot of ways.
Then World Juniors.
Then coming back and then going on the,
I think we went straight to Frozen Fenway.
Yeah, yeah, that's right.
Which is wild growing up in Boston.
and like getting to play at Fenway Park
after went out of World Junior Championship.
Yeah.
Like I'd never played for my country before
and go to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
Like, yeah, the whole thing was just nuts.
And then the national championship run
in the year prior, oh, after the national championship
went to world championships.
Yeah, 18-year-old.
And again, culture shock.
Yeah.
It's all NHL guys.
I mean, yeah.
That was same thing.
Sophomore, right?
World juniors.
Obviously, get bounced a little earlier
than what I would have liked.
And then world championships again.
And then junior year was probably a little bit more normal, followed by.
We lost back-to-back games for the first time in my career up against Maine.
And then we ripped off 19 a row.
I won a national championship.
And then I got off, we had like the parade of BC.
And I basically got off the little trolley.
Yeah, yeah.
Took a picture in front of the trophies, said by to my parents.
said thank you to coach York and jumped in a car and went to New York.
And it was practicing the next day.
So like, that's insane.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Three years of just a whirlwind.
Yeah.
Rensed.
Yeah.
It's insane.
Do you ever give Petrono a hard time for cheating on his SATs to try to get him to
BC?
I mean, technically, he did.
He did go to BC for like a week.
It was a great week.
Yeah.
No, I probably bring that up more than I should.
Yeah.
So do we.
Yeah.
Every time.
You're not to cheat on your ACTs.
It's an easy test, right?
I think I fell asleep during the science portion.
There's a science portion.
Oh, yeah.
Dude, they got everything.
Talking to him about that and then being like, wait, did you cheat?
And he's like, oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, it's great.
So funny.
Frank, just admit it and like, you know, everything will be okay.
All right, I cheated.
Are you out of square?
It's unbelievable.
What it worked out for.
Do we talk about all the time, you know, and you get into the tournament, get into playoffs,
like winning the last game is the most important thing.
How, I mean, like you just said, the whirlwind you were on,
it must have been hard to process everything.
How sweet of a feeling was it for you?
Like, again, knowing that that was probably going to be the last year and then just
winning at all. That must have felt so, like, there's no unfinished business for you there.
You won everything at BC. It's, the season that never ends, right?
Only one team gets to do it. Um, Jacob's looking for me right now.
Yeah, it's another thing that's probably hard to put into words, right? Like, um, and it takes,
a little luck, takes a little magic. Um, obviously takes it believes.
leaf, but, um, I don't know. It's, yeah, that, that frozen four in Tampa was super cool. Yeah.
I mean, I think it was the first time they really did that. Yeah, I think it was. That's right. Yeah.
We were driving around the, um, they had all four teams on like a big, big boat and we were driving around
the harbor and stuff and seeing everything. And then I think it was a lot of fun for the families to
yeah, no doubt. Yeah. No, yeah. Driven all around, uh, the northern hemisphere, gone to freezing cold rinks,
NBC rinks, not the nicest places.
Hockey Town, USA.
Oh, yeah. Oh, yeah.
Nothing wrong with hockey town.
We were born on those streets, man.
It was amazing.
But for them to go to Tampa and post up by the pool and then go watch a little hockey.
Nice little treat.
Not bad, eh?
But you just mentioned World Juniors all those runs so you're no stranger to wear in the USA jersey.
But Four Nations comes around after such a long stretch of you missing out on opportunities to play for USA again.
So how important was it to you to make that team and throw that jersey on again?
Yeah, I mean, that's obviously the pinnacle.
Anytime there's a best-on-best tournament, you get to represent your country,
like that's the ultimate honor, right?
So just to be there and to throw up elbows with some of those guys.
And all of a sudden, I became the elder state's been pretty quickly, right?
Like a lot of young guys who have so much talent.
And hockey rule gets small, the longer you play, right?
Yeah, no doubt.
Everyone kind of knows the same people or played with the same people.
So spent a time with them.
And obviously, the level of competition was, yeah, it was a special experience.
Were you chomping at the bit like that?
It was so cool for us being there.
And everyone, right, all those questions were like, I wonder how serious the guys are going to take it.
And then talking to a few of you before the game, we were like, oh, shit, this is, this is going to be real serious.
I think we all knew how serious is going to take him.
But, yeah, I mean, obviously that was, I could see why that was up for debate initially.
But, yeah, I mean, there hadn't been best on best hockey for.
so long and it really was like a pre-tournament leading into the Olympics.
So, yeah, and to take into account what was going on in the world at the time.
And the U.S. Anthem getting booed up in Montreal and then to start the game with three fights.
Like, it was, it was awesome.
It was really cool.
You're playing in the championship in the garden, you know, and you're like, oh, my God.
To have gotten to play, pull it on, playing those games at the garden, it was bonkers.
Unbelievable. Dream comes true.
Like, truly, that's like the pinnacle dream.
12-year-old may would have been pretty bad.
No doubt.
I mean, you've always been a super locked in and laser-focused player.
How much is Milan in the back of your head this season?
Like, I know you want to get off to a great start, new team, new city, all that.
But it must be something you think about a little bit, right?
Oh, it's obviously a goal.
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, that, again, would be a dream come true, right, to make that team and play whatever role they need you to play.
I mean, I think that was one of the coolest parts about that tournament was just how everyone bought in and was like,
because every single guy on that team,
they made it abundantly clear.
It's like,
everyone here is probably on their first power play
and it's probably on their first line.
Like,
we're going to have some guys who are going to be taking D zone draws
and filling penalties.
So like,
filling a role, right?
So having everyone just buy in and,
I mean,
you saw the little hockey.
Like, God,
there was no time.
There was no space.
I mean,
that gold medal game,
there was like a weird level of frustration
on, I think,
both sides because you had the,
you know,
the best players in the world who were like,
weren't able to do what they normally do, right?
So there's just this like anticipation like, all right, who's going to get loose?
Because someone was going to eventually get loose.
Unfortunately, it was that.
But yeah, I mean, I think it's in the back of everyone's head.
But as a professional, focused on here, focused on now.
Yeah, yeah.
Focused on day three of camp coming up tomorrow.
Exactly. There you go.
Not getting blown out 7-1 again in the scrimm.
Seriously.
I saw that on the scrimmage.
You ever give J.T. shit for getting tossed in his fight?
Millsie?
Yeah.
I mean, he was willing.
He got in there and he chucked.
He was a big boy.
Yeah, big boy.
Yeah, I think he about seven inches on him.
I give him a lot of credit.
Yeah, seriously.
He got out ahead of it and he was chirping himself a little right.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
He was like, I think I punched myself in the head about five times.
Yeah, he did.
He did.
Yeah, but he was throwing.
He literally uppercutted himself.
It was remarking it.
No, but he was, I mean, that's the kind of player he is, right?
Yeah.
So, no, it was, you know, playing to Boston after that game was,
that was really cool
super pumped super excited
it was I wasn't even in the game and I was
my adrenaline was going through the roof
oh for sure it was unbelievable that's awesome
I mean there were guys some guys were played like probably
eight minutes and they were like
I think that's the most tired I've ever been after a game
seriously man it's fucking crazy
okay I want to read you some of these stats
I bet you know all of them but one I'm going to surprise you
but when I think about Chris Kreider on the Rangers
7th these are franchise history 7th in games played
third in goals, tied for first power play goals, first in playoff games played, first in
playoff goals, third in playoff points.
Is it insane for that for you to ever stop and think about like, I'm this kid from
boxer in NASA and now they're going to hang my jersey in Mass is quick card.
Not sure that's happening.
Thank you though.
I've been preaching it for two years, pal.
I appreciate the vote of confidence.
Going to war with people over it.
Thank you.
A couple of homers.
I appreciate that.
We're not biased.
Yeah.
I mean, I play there for a long time.
I guess you play there long enough.
Pucks are going to hit you and go in.
But, yeah, I don't know.
I haven't had time to stop and think about it.
Maybe I'll appreciate it years from now.
It's nuts, dude.
Yeah.
And this is the other one.
Our boy, Johnny Laspled this, which I think is amazing.
I don't know if you notice.
You have the most goals in games facing elimination in NHL history tied with Mark Messia.
We're in a lot of elimination games, clearly.
Backs up against him.
Yeah, I think we came back from three different three one series deficits.
Yeah, yeah.
Unfortunately, we played in a lot of those games.
Yeah, but definitely on, you know?
Sure.
Come on.
Thank you.
It's unbelievable.
But, like, that is like, listen, without stroking yourself off too much,
because I know you're not a fan of that.
20 and 10, I think the Rangers are in those games where you score.
But what do you think it is about those games that back?
up against the wall mentality where you do rise above because you do man like it's just like it's who
you are i i know it's how you've always been i feel like the game almost slows down for you a little bit
in those games how do you do that and i think that games the game gets kind of simple in those moments
yeah right like that um there's no superfluous bullshit you just play yeah i think it's kind of easier
to find that flow state in a game like that where it's just nothing but win the game um
And I think we would like to say
That's what it is over the course of regular season too
But there's a lot that goes into it, right?
Definitely.
But in that moment, it's just, it's pure.
Just go out, play, have fun.
Whatever happens, happens.
I think I've always kind of viewed it even going back to Boston College
is opportunity.
Yeah.
As opposed to like fear.
That's awesome.
And you put yourself in the right spots
in a game like that with good players,
they find you.
Yep.
And again, you're playing a lot of them eventually.
You're going to get one.
Stop going down 3-1, dude.
But as a professional athlete, too, you remember the ones you don't win.
Yes, dude.
For sure.
You remember the semi-final game in high school.
Yeah.
Fucking A.
Where you hit the post like three times in the last minute.
The number of pucks I kept in on the blue line, too.
I was up at the point, too, a six-off five, which is bonkers to think about now, right?
I was in anywhere near that.
Yeah.
I was in anywhere near that.
Yeah.
I was like, that's your spot.
I didn't leave the blue line, and they were, like, full on ice in the puck of the
empty net, and I'm batting puck's down, whipping them back, and then I can remember Garnett, like,
when I could have sworn was going in the net, just like seeing any eye puck, Garnett gets a piece of it,
and tips it off the post.
Yeah, it's like, Iles, was that the name of the goalie?
Yeah, I think so, right?
Wait, what was it?
Iles?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, those are the ones that haunch.
Horrible.
For sure.
Yeah.
Well, dude, speaking of, things that haunt you, I'm sure, but the 2014, you guys go to the final,
which is over in five games.
There are five overtime periods across the course of those games.
Double overtime, double overtime, single, over time.
Yeah, insane.
Yeah, we only led it, or we only trailed in one game.
God.
They came from mine and beat us.
That's ridiculous stat.
Three out of the four games, they won.
Outrageous.
Yeah.
So how does it feel, you know, so pretty young in your career at that point?
Are you like, what's it like just going through that, you know, being in a five?
I was like, oh, we're going to be back every year.
Yeah.
This is the most fun I've ever had.
Like, yeah, I'm just going to do it again next year.
And obviously, the guys in the room are, like, you know, you don't understand how good this opportunity is.
Like, we got to take advantage of it.
Yeah.
I've talked to a lot of people about that.
Obviously, one of the assistant GMs here was with L.A. at the time, right, saw him.
And it was like, it could have gone the other way.
I mean, we lost in five, but, like, it could have easily one in five.
Yes, yeah.
Like, and there was some arguable miscall.
Yeah.
Maybe a goalie interference here there that they probably would call now.
That wasn't even in vogue yet.
They would probably call now.
Those would have been flying nowadays.
Yeah.
I think I missed a breakaway in every single overtime period, too.
No.
I honestly think.
If it wasn't five missed breakways, it was four.
I think I went off of John Quicks' butt end.
I think I went through his five hole out the backside.
Yeah, I remember that.
I think I hit his jersey, and I think it grabbed his jersey and spun out too.
Probably dumped one in the corner, but I had a lot of looks in those overtime periods.
Even the last game when we lost, like, you think I had a post, step hit a post,
Nash had an open net and Voinoff just like reaches a stick over in somehow.
Like, we were on the bench, like, loose.
We're like, won't win this game.
Yeah.
So, but yeah, it takes, it takes some luck, some magic.
I don't know what every you want to call it.
Obviously, got to stay healthy too.
For sure.
It's a hard trophy to win, man.
Yeah.
But still, I look back at that very fond.
It's the most fun I've had playing on it.
It's such a good group of guys.
I mean, the second round, everything that happened with Marty and his family.
And obviously losing his mother and then scoring at MSG on Mother's Day.
Epic goal, too.
Yeah.
I mean, you want to talk about magic.
Like, yeah.
puck just found them right
you just knew he was scoring
yeah
and the emotional reaction
so yeah
hockey's a cool sport man
some would say it's the best
yeah yeah
and then I also wanted to ask you
22 you pop 52 goals
which is so sick that you have 50 goals
score in the national
but what did anything change
in your approach because after that
you know I think the career high before
was 28 or something
and since then you pour them in
did something change in your approach
or your process or anything or
yeah
Something dramatic change in my approach of process.
I actually talked to Valaket a bunch over the summer.
I mean, I'm a pretty analytical person going back to Anniver, I think you can speak to that.
And, you know, I wanted an edge.
I wanted to take advantage of things that I did well, that I do well,
and talking to him about how goals are scored.
I guess the way he looks at is more from the goaltenders perspective.
and it's almost like moneyball, right?
Yeah.
Understanding, you know, the context prior to the shot and how to position yourself.
And I think that the whole thing is kind of built on the fact that we're going to get in the weeds a little bit here.
But the human eye can't pick the puck up in under half a second.
Okay.
So if you get it on and off the stick, especially when to cross the middle of the ice in under half a second,
it's like a one in three chance that it goes in, crosses twice and get it off under half a second.
I think it's like the best chance in hockey, like the slot line, double slot line.
So it ends up being like a 66% chance.
And he's always used it to coach goal tenders.
But I took that and approach as a goal score and started a position, putting myself in some of those positions, working on some of those things.
Mainly release a number of times you get a puck and you think, like, oh, I got to dust this, get my head up and pick a corner.
So just get it on and off quick and you have a chance to beat that goaltender.
It doesn't matter who it is.
the difference between the best goal in the world and whatever,
the goalie with probably the worst say percentage,
yeah,
isn't the number of times they give up those goals.
They give up those goals of the exact same rate.
Yeah.
Because again, it's the ability to pick the puck up.
Yeah.
It's the difference is the percentage of times they give up like a bad goal.
And yeah,
they'll have some games where they're standing on their heads,
but it's not necessarily those.
those high danger chances, those double slot lines,
just how they characterize shots,
and that all changed my approach to goal scoring
and, again, my positioning,
and how I thought about generating offense.
And, I mean, that's something I'll talk about all day.
Dude, that's so cool.
That's the fucking birdshend.
Even when you're maybe not seeing the puck going, too,
like, for me, it's, you know,
there might be some, there would be some frustration in the past,
but for me, it's like, well,
All right, those, the last three didn't go in.
If I keep putting myself in a spot,
regression to the mean, like, I'm going to get hot.
I just got to do it over and over and over again.
And over 82 comes out in the wash.
God, that's incredible.
Dude, Step said, there was an article that Step said they were asking him his favorite Chris
Kreider memory.
And he said that there's a, all he said is there's a story that when your first year,
you and Millsie got called into the coach's office.
Can you tell you?
This won't die.
Well, I don't even know what it is.
I don't even know what it is.
It wasn't nothing stories.
Rick Nash just thought it was the funniest thing, so it just lives on forever.
Elaine Vineo called us into the office, and we're both young guys, think both rookies of the time.
And I don't know how to burn my, you know, be in my bonnet.
And I went in kind of like probably brow furrowed, maybe with like a little anger energy.
And he went in a little nervous.
And he stumbled over his.
words and I kind of was on edge of my seat and I don't know I don't so this the story goes he
basically asked like and this is just like devolved into pure chaos yeah this keeps getting brought
up so you know like uh what kind of player do you think you are yes me and yeah and i said
depends on you who you ask I don't know I was just like yeah you're fine like indignant like
you were like ready for a fight and Milsie was like hell did this guy just say
And then it became like, like, yeah, Cried's in there.
Like, let's feed up on vigno steps.
It depends on it.
Yeah.
I was like, I was like, I'm doing, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So.
And then he asked Milsie the same thing.
And he stumbled over his words.
Yeah.
Like, you know, I think, you know, the opportunities there, it presents itself.
Like, I try to make, you know, make plays.
And, you know, I like to make good ideas.
And so I'm so.
What was that?
What did you just say?
So it became like, you know.
It's like, well, it depends on who you ask.
Yeah.
And it just, but that was about, I mean, that was about the extent of the conversation that we had with the head coach.
Yeah.
Well, no, no, he asked us one more thing.
He was like, do you guys think you're skilled players?
And we were both like, yes.
Yes.
Yeah, big time.
No.
And we're like, no.
No, we're not.
I think he's, I understand.
I know now, especially in retrospect, like, you're just trying to be like, you're, you know,
Power forwards, get to the net, hit, north-south, like, not perimeter, whatever.
But, yeah, I don't think, I don't think it was the right idea, and he think he knew it pretty quickly to bring both of us into the meeting at the same time.
And when we left, Rick Nash, like, immediately asked kind of what happened and we told him, and he thought it was the funniest thing.
And then it just, yeah, yeah.
So there really wasn't, I don't think there's much to it.
But, yeah, no, me and, I mean, it was fun coming up with Millsie.
And, I mean, he's, he's the best.
He's all time.
So we, yeah, playing with him in Hartford and then some of the experiences that we had as young guys, too.
But yeah, that meeting was special.
Definitely not.
I think Vinie was kicking himself.
Like, why did I get stuck with these two young guys?
Frick and frack.
It was a couple idiots.
Dude, I mean, with these stories, there's been so many players that came through that team that you played with.
And from the analytics standpoint that you definitely like and appreciate about the game,
the year when you guys brought in Vlad and Caner,
how was that from, again,
looking at the game, how you look at it,
when you have guys like you,
Kane, Teresenko, all in the ice
at the same time, were great power play players,
there's only one puck.
Did that get to a place where it was almost difficult
to try to snap it around when you had so many players
who definitely want the puck on their stick
who want to control the power play?
I mean, I think we scored six or seven goals
in that first round on the power play.
Yeah.
I think they were using me as a backboard,
especially caner.
So, like, I think what makes Patrick Kane so great is he's going to take what you give him.
Yeah.
And they were leaving me open.
And now the penalty kill coach who was in Jersey is now our assistant coach.
Yeah.
And so we've kind of had a laugh about that because I've always enjoyed playing against Jersey because they pressured out and left me up.
Yeah.
Whereas some teams will want to play differently.
But so, yeah, I've been lucky to play with so many.
incredible players and obviously those two are right at the top of the list um both awesome humans
um and unbelievable hockey players so uh seeing how they think the game and kind of how they process
it and getting to play with them uh obviously getting unceremonically bounced out of the first
round at seven games stinks uh but anytime you go seven it's a coin flip right and we needed to
take care of business earlier they made adjustments that we didn't respond um you know again sometimes
it's like I said earlier
oftentimes it's the team that's playing the best
not the best team. Yeah, we were good on paper
but we weren't, you know, we just weren't clicking
unfortunately. Yeah. Well, I mean,
you had this unbelievable run in New York
as we talked about. You've expressed us already
how pumped you are to be here with this new beginning
but you have a super unique
experience with being on this team with
so many former teammates. It's like
actually kind of crazy when you think
about it. How awesome
has that been coming here with
after, you know, 15 years?
in New York and really your adult life.
Like you lived in Tribeca for a decade.
That that place became home.
Greenwich became home.
Moving's always difficult.
But you come here with so many great friends.
Does that make it just infinitely easier to settle in?
Oh, yeah.
I mean, I'm super lucky.
Yeah.
And that the adjustment is substantially easier
to having those guys here and being able to communicate with them and
bounce things off them.
I mean, they were instrumental through the whole process.
I was able to reach out to them and ask them questions.
So some of my favorite.
all-time teammates too, right?
Like, you don't get that opportunity, right?
Exactly.
That's one thing that's great about pro hockey is, you know, you meet so many great people,
but the unfortunate business side of it is, you know, you're never going to get to play
with those guys as long as you would like.
It's up to you to maintain those relationships, but to play with all these former teammates
that, you know, I had so much fun playing with and really enjoy his people.
Yeah, I'm super grateful and appreciative and, you know, it's going to be a lot of,
make for a fun year, I think. No doubt. I was about to say, I think the coolest thing about
this team is from, you know, fans' perspective, people who work in hockey's perspective,
the ducks have done one of the greatest rebuilds I've ever seen. And it's like with the
unbelievable youth on the team, now you bring in guys like Trubes, Goudis, you, Granny comes in,
you guys are a playoff team. And like, this is, this is no joke. This is no pit stop here. So
it must be kind of exciting being a guy who's very familiar with the playoffs. You're coming
into this team, totally new look, new vibe, but it's like, oh, no, you guys are going for,
and with them looking to you also with the guy with experience, you know, like, that's,
that's an interesting role too.
Yeah, I think, you know, the cliche answer, unfortunately, is the right answer, and that
every team is sitting here right now, zero, zero and zero and saying, we're a playoff team.
Like, yeah, like, why not us, right?
Yeah, you're the one seat.
Yeah, right? Right. Right. So, um, we got 82 games to show it.
Yeah. And I think, great thing about our camp so far is it's playing.
And emphasize, like, we want a hot start.
Like, we want to come into the gates firing.
Like, we want to start winning hockey games right away.
Yeah.
And I just think the pace and the energy around the group is,
it's hard to speak to what it was the last few years.
But everyone says that it's, it's obviously elevated.
Everything's being done with a purpose.
That's something I think players, coaches, staff, everyone appreciates.
So, yeah, it's a really fun and exciting time to be here.
Um, really good blend of guys, right?
I mean, the young guys are incredible.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, you talk about all of them at length, right?
The size, the skill, the skating.
Um, and the fact that some of them are like, Leo Carlson is 20 years old.
I know.
That's nauseating.
I know.
Isn't you the best too, though?
Like, he's such a good dude.
It's unbelievable.
He's the best.
Yeah.
He's the best.
And he's obviously a very special player.
And yeah, um, could speak for a long time about cutter.
and what he brings to the table too.
Just another good eagle, right?
A great eagle, yeah.
And I don't know when you're going to air this podcast, but McTavish.
Nice player.
And obviously, be good to get him back into the fold.
No doubt, of course.
And then on the back end, right, like Minnikov, Heli, Jacks, Lecombe, I don't think knows how good he is yet.
Yeah, dude, so true somehow.
Yeah.
Werenzky elite, right?
Yeah, oh, he's crazy.
It's crazy watching him on a daily basis.
I mean, playing in the East, you don't get to see these.
guys is often in the West, but like you hear rumblings.
You see him in a change really deal.
Oh, yeah.
Sick.
So we've got really good blend.
And then we got Franky dude.
Back with Frank.
And then we got Frank.
Frank, man.
Frank's the best, man.
I mean, I really enjoyed playing with him.
And, you know, it's pretty obvious what he brings to a team, right?
Fiery, can skate, can hit, can shoot the puck, like.
Oh, lights out.
Wires the thing, right?
And then throw Ryan Stron.
and Alex Collarine, Drew's Goody.
I mean, the whole team's, it's a good blend, so we'll see what we can do.
Unbelievable.
Very good vibes.
Dude, I don't know if you saw that the Coachella lineup dropped this year, and Justin Bieber is headlining on Saturday.
But what a lot of people don't know is that Justin Bieber actually headlined a party that we threw together.
Don't look at me, Christ.
Dude, 20 what?
14?
Don't look at me.
Dude, all I want to talk about is.
I completely forgot about that until I'm out to.
That's right.
I was sitting in the driveway when he pulled up.
Yeah, yeah.
You go like this to me, you go, first of all, to just give some backstory,
cries isn't visiting us in L.A. hanging out.
And you go, I remember going, dude, you sleep on the couch.
And you just signed your fat ticket.
And you were like, I can get an Airbnb.
And I was like, oh, yeah, true.
I guess you can do that.
Get this insane place in the hills.
We're out Friday nights having beers.
Yeah.
To Mike Studd who recognized you.
He was like, dude, you Chris cried it.
Some of the people that in his, I don't know if you want to call it,
Entourage but in a close group of friends.
I actually knew from Boston.
Yeah, exactly.
Yeah.
Yeah, I got to know all them fairly well.
So we throw a party and it becomes like a music industry party.
It was too same.
Crieds goes, let's throw a party at the sick Airbnb Saturday.
And stud.
Full almost famous moment.
Studgerly.
I'll come and place a music.
I'm pleading with a couple of my idiot buddies jumping off the roof into the pool.
Yes.
And missing the edge by this month.
You started that.
I did not throw myself off.
No, no, not the roof.
What you started was.
you walk up to me and you go,
can I see your phone?
I lost my phone.
And I was like, yeah, sure.
Which, by the way, I appreciate.
This is a class move.
The second my phone touched your fingertips,
I was like, oh, fuck.
And you then threw me in the pool.
Class move, though.
Class move, though. Class move,
class move, though.
We need people in the pool.
Exactly.
You got to get the,
and I started it.
Like, everyone just jumped in the pool.
I'm so smart by you.
It was so smart by you.
You're welcome.
Truly, it was a great move.
And I can't get over.
Taking the phone was such a class act.
Amazing.
That was like, it was fantastic.
My two highlights are the first, the fear in all three of our eyes when we saw Stud had posted the address.
Oh my God.
And it had like, horrible.
And you were like, yo, are we going to get in trouble?
And I was like, uh-huh.
Remember the line of cars down the road?
It was like, LA, USC kids.
It took people two hours to get an Uber out of there.
It was unbelievable.
And then, dude, when it was chaos, they were like running out of drinks and all this stuff.
And then you come up to me because there's like a massive commotion inside.
I thought something broke.
You come up and you're like, yo.
And I was like, what?
what happened and you're like, Beber's here.
And I was like, what do you mean, Bieber's here?
And you were like, Justin Bieber is here?
He just walks up and he's like, do you guys have extra vodka?
And we were like, yeah.
It's like, what is happening right now?
All time.
Oh my God.
We were ahead of the curve.
We were.
I was sitting in, because it got a little crazy.
I think I was in the parking lot of the time talking to some people.
And a car pulls out, flashlight comes out.
I'm like, it's not a gated community, but some kind of community.
Yeah, it's how as I go.
It's like a local security force or something
And they're like, we're getting shut down.
Flashlight and it's like, I got Justin in the car.
Who?
Like Justin, I'm like, yeah, yeah, man.
I think anyone can come in.
It's a good time.
Doors open.
And all of a sudden this little guy gets out with some very big security guy.
Oh, yeah.
Big brimmed hat.
And comes in and I don't think he stayed very long.
I think he got hounded.
Oh, yeah.
But he did like lap around the pool.
I also remember, dude, leaving.
It's like 7 a.m.
We're leaving.
And the place is destroyed.
And the fact that we left that place spotless.
Bro.
And you're like this,
you need to help us clean.
And I'm like, bro.
You threw me in the pool too.
I'm soaked.
I was in the shower in my clothes
trying to warm up.
And you're like,
you need to help us clean.
I was like, dude,
I'm going to die.
We got a glowing review on Airbnb.
Did you?
About how respectful we were
and how clean we left the place.
Well, we came back at 9 a.m.
After two hours of sleep to clean.
All right.
We're going to play a game with you cried.
We play with everyone.
It's go past shoot score.
basically ranking system,
we're going to give you three things
that we know you like.
You got to rank a pass shoot score.
Pass is going to be your least special
because pass them are fine.
Why? Because I can't pass.
You're terrible at it.
I know.
Shoot's going to be better.
Score is going to be the best.
So first one,
it's going to be Andover themed.
Nice.
And the category is
places where we would just kick it,
hang out.
Pass shoot score.
Riley Rum,
Commons,
or Harrison,
rank. God, that's hard.
Yeah. Right?
Do you remember how much I ate in high school?
Dude, that's why I specifically
put in comments because you and I would
eat so much fucking food.
I would get a Snickers bar and a chocolate milk
after every class. I was trying to put on weight.
And then me and Dan, we were trying to put on weight.
Yeah, yeah, we would eat everything. Trays of food.
Trace. We couldn't do it. Yeah.
I couldn't put on weight. I mean, 16 years old.
Yeah, it was unbelievable. We'd have like four hamburgers
every single night and people were like, what is going on?
every.
Sit there and just
eat yourself sick.
I mean,
all of them is going to be score, man.
I know.
I have to go one,
I have to go one and one.
Like,
I can't.
Well,
you're allowed one hat track.
So that's,
yeah,
all these categories are pretty harsh.
Do you know they,
apparently they call Riley
the Den now?
It's bullshit.
I'd honestly probably put,
I didn't hang out
in Rother Room that much.
Riley Room was special.
They had those arcade games.
Yeah.
It was a good tip.
I didn't spend them.
We did kind of just sit in commas in the library more.
Yeah,
you actually were in the library all the time.
I wasn't.
studying.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It was just hanging out.
And that's,
and those plush lounge chairs,
there's unbelievable.
It was the best.
God,
it was the best.
Okay, so pass Riley.
Yeah,
we'll pass Riley.
Yeah, we'll pass Riley.
And then double score.
Double score Harrison and comments.
I love it.
Okay.
Your next category is books.
All right.
Pass you'd score.
Talent is overrated.
The baron in the trees.
And for whom the bell tolls.
What are you doing to me right now?
All right.
All right.
Putting you through.
Fuck.
Yeah.
Yeah.
We let them off the hook.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I can't pass up on that.
None of them stand out as the number one.
The number one.
I mean,
they're just so different, man.
I know.
It's very eclectic.
The Calvino book,
Baron and the Trees at Andrew.
Yeah.
With Paul Tortorella, I think.
Yes.
Was he my English, too?
He sure was.
Yeah.
Do you do fantasy books too or no?
Yeah.
What series you into?
I'm doing like progression fantasy now.
Okay.
I'm doing that we are dying.
We've got a very good one for you.
What are you in our?
It's called Red Rising.
Oh, yeah, I ripped through that.
Yeah.
Did you read the movie?
So good.
The author, yeah.
Great.
So good.
We met him at a party in the hills with Justin Bieber.
Yeah.
No.
When are they going to make that into a TV show?
They're trying.
Have you guys read, um, uh, I don't know.
I've got to send you a list.
Yeah, yeah.
I'll see us here.
We have a sick.
Name of the wind.
Oh, dude.
Fucking incredible.
So sick.
He's never going to write the third.
He's never going to.
That's probably
It's never coming out.
It's never coming out.
So sick.
That's my number one.
That's so sick.
Oh, shit, really.
Have you tried,
we got it,
we're going to move on,
but have you tried
Will of the many yet?
Will of the many yet?
Yeah.
Oh, dude.
Love it.
Holy shit.
It's so sick.
It's on par with Red Rising.
No doubt.
Honestly,
only one book out,
that book,
next book comes out in November.
I'm currently reading
Heretical Fishing.
Oh, yes.
I haven't read that.
Have you?
Do you know what?
I know what I've talked about.
I've never read it.
Good?
progression fantasy
Yeah
Deep
It's about a
It's about a progression
Yeah okay
Deep
All right
Your next one's movies
Dungeon Crawler Carl
Jesus Christ
I've been going down
A rabbit hole
I need to read
I need to read something
A substance
And I'm just melting my brain
Yeah
Yeah
I'm like oh he reads a lot
I'm like you don't know
The trash
I'm reading
Yeah
Okay next one's movies
Toy Story 3
Mud
And the sandlot
What are you doing
Where are you getting this man
Yeah, dude.
We go deep, brother.
By the way, the fact that mud is one of your favorites, I fucking love you.
That movie's incredible.
Incredible.
Not a lot of people know about it.
You can't pass.
You used the hat trick, dude, and we gave you a pass.
We can't keep letting you off the hook.
You got to do it.
You got to rank them.
It's hard.
All right, so cross-sumination, I can't pass on Sandlot.
Okay.
And Toy Story 3 might be the best movie ever made.
Yeah, correct.
It's a perfect movie.
I laughed.
I cried.
Yeah.
What a film.
Lost 15 pounds, gained 30.
Went to therapy.
Got out of therapy.
I love mutt.
It has to be mutt.
Yeah, has to be past.
It has to be mutt.
Yep.
Yeah.
So Toy Story is going to be score.
Sandlot's our childhood, though.
Yeah, that's a thing.
I know.
Don't make me do it.
Okay.
Another two-go-go game.
Another two-go-goal game.
A nice break, I love it.
Okay.
And then any movies you like lately?
Any new movies you're liking?
Do you see the man on the inside of the TV show?
Yeah, yeah.
Oh, you have good.
Yeah, I enjoyed that.
Movies.
Nothing's really jumped out at me, man.
I don't know.
I got a lesson.
Oh, yeah, I got a list for it.
Yeah, we'll send it to you.
Okay, last one, ready?
This category is your favorite players growing up.
Ray Bork, Bill Garen, Jumbojo.
How dare you guys?
That's a brutal one.
What are you doing?
That is a brutal, brutal.
For us, Bruins fans growing up,
up. I'm not going to pass on the GM of the Olympic team.
Yeah. That is the immediate score.
That's fucking obvious.
How are you going to pass on Ray?
Yeah. And then jump. How are you doing to do?
Jum. Another hat trick? Might be another hat trick.
It's another hat trick. I love it. He's having a great. What a cop-out.
Yeah. It's easy. It's your fault for. Four haties, dude. First time ever.
Unbelievableness. All right, Cryds, we can do this all day, but we've taken up enough of your time.
So much fun.
so much fun.
Actually waiting.
He's going to kill me.
We're not going to have troops kill you.
Before we cut you lose and let you go,
is there anything you want to plug,
anything you want to shout out,
anything got going on?
I got nothing going on.
He's reading progression fantasy.
I'm reading progression fantasy.
Starting a progression fantasy book club.
If anyone wants to join, hit him up.
Oh, Cradle.
If you're going to get into progression fantasy.
That's where we start.
You start with cradle.
Okay.
Amazing.
We love you.
Thanks so much for coming on.
This is a blast.
Should plug something, though.
Yeah, you should.
Got anything, any charities you're working with?
You see some of the shoulder check stuff over the summer?
Yes, yes, do that.
That's awesome.
I don't know.
I'm not necessarily sure how I plug that boat.
It's more of like an awareness thing.
I don't think there's a, I don't think there's a...
Yeah, can people donate?
I don't know.
Well, we'll look into it.
So the first week of the season, I think the opening games, they've got a commercial coming out.
When is it?
Where we're all singing, lean on me.
Yeah, October 14.
Okay.
All right.
Okay, cool.
Yeah, all the guys that were involved in that game are singing, lean on me.
Amazing.
So you get to see my pipes.
Oh, very cool.
Of which you have.
Apparently I can carry a tune.
You can, dude.
Who do you still playing guitar?
Piano.
Piano, yeah.
You're doing piano now, too?
It's so awesome.
It's got.
Something to do.
Something to do when I'm not reading progression fantasy.
I'm afraid people are going to think that's like, it's like smut.
Oh, I'm telling you right now.
It sounds like it.
It's not smut.
It's not shradle.
Give me a break.
pal.
I mean, some of it may be smart,
but I don't read this.
Yeah, I just put it through those chapters.
I promise I'm not highlighting those pages, for sure.
All right.
Well, check out shoulder check.
October 14th.
October 14th.
Beautiful.
Good stuff.
Shouldercheck.org.
Check out shouldercheck.org.
Amazing.
Raising awareness for mental health and pretty simple concept.
Yeah, it's beautiful stuff.
Reach out, check in.
Can save a life.
Yeah, yeah, man.
I love it.
I love it.
All right.
Awesome.
Love you guys.
I love me too, bro.
Awesome.
So happy this happened.
What a nice surprise.
Massive shout out to Crieds.
That was as good as I could have ever imagined.
Fucking love that dude.
Can't wait to hang out with him more.
Now that he's in California.
Hopefully you get him on the pot again.
Oh, it's amazing, dude.
That was so fun.
We joke about this all time, but there's the times off camera too.
We're just hanging.
Dude, I shot him a text after, and I haven't not admitted this to you.
I was actually, I kind of said it in the car driving back.
I was not ready for how emotional I got.
I had seen him in a bit.
And I was like, oh, fuck, I love this guy.
Yeah.
That was great.
Huge episode.
No, that was a long one, folks.
But listen, when you got division previews and when you got a gas wagon interview like that, it's going to get a little long.
That's doing it for us today and this week at the empty news podcast.
Next week, top of the week, we got more juice for you.
Western Conference.
Western Conference Division previews coming.
Cannot wait.
Have a fucking great weekend.
Buy some merch.
Look at this.
We got new stuff coming out.
Subscribe to the YouTube.
You know the trail.
CP, tell them what to do over the weekend.
Skate hard, baby.
Thank you.
