Empty Netters Podcast - Did the Bruins Fire the Wrong Guy?
Episode Date: November 20, 2024Keith Yandle is back and hell has broken loose. Montgomery is out in Boston and Ovi is hurt. Connor McDavid becomes the fourth fastest player to 1000 points and Andrei Vasilevskiy becomes the fastest ...goalie ever to 300 wins. History is happening all over the place this season. The boys weight in the Reavo hit, and they do their first Powers Rankings for the season. Plus a new game of Connective Tissue almost had CP stumped. PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-app/id711923939 RIKI. Head to https://rikispirits.com/ to find out where to get RIKI near you. Follow @friday.beers and @rikispirits to stay up to date with upcoming RIKI contests and giveaways FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to http://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #IgniteYourRivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to http://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit http://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more CHOMPS. If you are looking for the PERFECT on the go snack that has zero grams of sugar and packed with high quality protein, then Chomps is for you. To learn more about Chomps, click here! http://www.chomps.com/emptynetters 00:00 INTRO 07:49 HOT ICE 42:53 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 51:53 COACHES HOT SEAT 1:05:32 EMERGENCY POD NEWS 1:24:02 POWER RANKINGS 1:32:21 STARTING 6 01:48:40 CONNECTIVE TISSUE Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
At the end of the day, he's the best player.
Like, the girls are probably throwing themselves out.
That's true, dude.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, with me as always.
As always, C.P.
And we are joined by our good friend Keith Yandel down in Florida.
How are we doing, Jans?
I am great, boys.
Good to see your guys' faces, even though Dan's got a little.
bit of a crusty lip right now, but it's always good to see you guys' face.
It's, you know what's funny is when I look A in the mirror and like B in camera right now,
it looks like I've just got something on my lip.
Like I need to wipe it off with a nap.
It's soot.
Like you've been sweeping chimneys and now you need to be cleaned up for the episode.
But here's the thing, boys.
Don't let me get hot.
Don't let me get another couple of weeks with this growth because we'll be cooking with gas.
You want to hear Dan's insane facial hair theory?
Oh, dude.
Of course.
As a man with a beard, maybe you can tell me that.
So, as we all know, I can't really grow facial hair.
My facial hair is really lacking.
I swear to God, every time I let my facial hair go, I get sick.
Like, currently, I have a bit of a cold, and I'm telling you, there's germs in here.
He thinks germs get stuck in my little mustache, and then I get sick.
Well, as you both know, I'm no doctor, so I don't know the answer to this.
but you honestly, I want to chirp you for it,
but you might be on to something.
I'm not sure.
This is what I'm saying, dude.
It might go the other way where, I don't know,
like people who have beards never get sick.
If you always have it, your body's building that ability to it.
I like that, actually.
A thicker beard traps, the germs get there,
but they're trapped there.
Yeah, they can't get out.
You don't grow thick enough,
so the germs get in there and then go into your nose.
Yeah, they're all sitting on the top.
I need more voluble.
And then they'll get suffocated.
But currently they're living large.
Yeah.
So I'm fucked.
It might be,
it might be too that it's so, like, new to you.
You might be licking it a lot as disgusting as that sounds.
So it might be like where you're like.
Yeah.
Here's the thing.
I am doing that.
I'm totally doing that.
That's probably,
you're getting all those germs.
I got to just calm down.
Dude, here's one other thing I was thinking.
Because everybody's sick.
I'm sick.
Everybody in the office is.
sick. I said,
somebody was texting me and they're like, how are you feeling? I was like, I'm sick as
a dog. I sent that text because that's an expression.
Yeah. And then Dan, you'll remember, not
a month ago, we were talking about something else.
And I said, healthy as an ox.
Yeah. And I was like, is that an expression? Which it is.
Yeah. Why are dogs?
I thought it was strong as an ox.
Oh, is it strong?
I think it's
I heard both. Strong as an ox is definitely
a thing. It's, it's
healthy as a horse. Healthy as a horse.
Healthy as a dog. So why are horses
is healthy and dogs sick?
And should we campaign for dogs on their behalf
to make them not so sick?
It is a good question.
Why are dogs?
I've never seen a sick dog.
We need it.
Maybe it means like puking.
Dogs are always eating grass and pukes.
Like I bet Cush is out there just ripping grass sometimes
and just puking in the yard.
Have you ever,
well, I have fake grass, so he doesn't do that.
But I mean it also says raining cats and dogs
too and I've never seen a dog or cat
come out of the sky. Have you ever seen that guy
on Instagram? He like, he
debunks like all
Oh. Or not
debunks, but like tells you like the meaning
that stuff. Yes, dude.
He's like a bigger guy. Yeah.
I don't know this guy. He's the man.
It's fascinating too because it's always expressions
that you're like, I've always wanted to know
where that came from. We'll DM him
about why dogs are sick. Yeah, it's a good
call. Maybe he'll answer it for us. Dude, before we
get into hockey talk, Yanzo, I need
your take on something that happened last week.
There was a big, it was a whole debacle in the office.
So, oh, we all join up together.
We're hanging out in the office watching that snooze fest Tyson, Jake Paul fight.
And one of our boys, he's our gambling guy, Gavin.
He gets in charge, put in charge of the food order.
This dude decides to order pizza.
So there's what, probably like 15 of us hanging around.
There's probably 15 guys hanging around watching.
this fight. Gavin decides to order
pizza. He
orders five large
pizzas. He gets
one... Prison. Just
wait, bro. Agree. He gets
one buffalo chicken
pizza and then four
cheese pizzas. Plain cheese.
All right. I don't
hate that I'd like buffalo chicken pizza.
I'd get two of those.
Yep.
Five cheese,
a pepperone.
Probably two pepperonies,
sausage and peppers, maybe some mushrooms.
Yes.
But yeah, you have to have variety,
and you have to,
I hate when people don't order enough food.
It's one of my biggest pet peeves.
Not enough food is really bad.
Like if you're, my buddy does,
they had some, it's called like Indian guides down here.
These dads go away on trips.
They do outdoor stuff with their kids.
And he was hosting 30 dads.
and he told me that day, he was like, yeah, I'm going to get like seven pizzas.
I'm like, in my head, I'm thinking, I'm like, dude, that ain't enough.
But I didn't say anything to him.
And then I texted him that night.
I go, how'd the pizza go?
He goes, I didn't get to have any because I felt so bad.
Yeah.
I went in about five minutes.
I'm like, I should have told you.
Yeah, it's honestly your fault, dude.
Yeah, that's what I said.
But if you're going to, and I don't know if he volunteered to be the order guy,
But if you're going to be the order guy, you better have enough for everyone.
And you better know what you're doing because here's the thing, dude, the story gets worse.
The pizzas show up and the cheese pizzas have no cheese on them.
He specifically put in the order.
It said extra mozzarella, light mozzarella, no mozzarella.
And he thought that meant like sprinkled on top.
So he put on all the cheese pizzas, no mozzarella please.
And they called, Janz.
They called and left a voicemail that said, are you sure this is what you want?
He missed the call.
So then the four pizzas show up just bread and sauce.
It was one of the great disasters of all time, dude.
Oh, my God.
So what did you guys do for food?
Dude, well, here's the brutal thing.
And I will have his back on this.
Dude, he didn't want pizza.
So he ordered that for everyone.
And then on the side ordered himself a burrito.
So the entire group is sitting here looking through the pizzas, just being like,
what the fuck happened?
Meanwhile, he's sitting there housing a fucking burrito having a great.
all time and everyone's just looking at a bunch of circles of bread with sauce on them.
Like what the fuck?
Did he offer, did he offer a burrito to anyone else?
No, dude.
Hell no, dude.
Got it by himself.
Give him his walking papers, dude.
We have said he has been permanently banned from any, not only ordering food, but food
input for the rest of time.
Because like it is the worst look I've ever seen.
We had to order more pizza.
Yeah.
We literally had another pizza.
pizza order come with regular fucking pizza.
And you know it's bad when people won't even eat it out of desperation because they're hungry or because they feel bad.
So there was just four cheeseless pizzas sitting on the fucking countertop all night long because people are like, I'm not even going to pretend to eat that, dude.
Yeah, that's sad.
That's sad stuff.
He owes everybody a handwritten apology.
Correct.
Facts.
Correct.
Oh my God.
All right, boys.
Let's get into some hot ice, talk about some shit going on the league.
first and foremost, huge hat trick last night from Ovi.
He's buzzing.
13 goals now on the season?
Dude, 13 goals in 17 this year.
And I looked this up because remember boys last year he had like five goals, you know,
through the All-Star break.
So I looked this up.
He closed last year with 23 goals in 35 games.
So he's got 36 in his last 52 if you go across the seasons.
Dude, at this point, barring injury ends.
He's breaking it this year for sure.
right but what do you think about this because count me among the people last year who didn't think
he fell off a cliff by any means but i was like yeah the wear and tear on ovi's game is slowing down and
now i look like a moron because he's going to he's going to win the rocket what do you think about that
it's it's actually insane what he's doing um but i mean you look at his whole career like the guy
never misses games he plays harder or i mean maybe not as much anymore but in his heyday he played
harder than pretty much anyone in the league running guys blocking shots like he was a full blown
animal on the ice and then scoring at will as well but you'd just see him scoring right now i thought it was
going to be next year what does he have 29 more goals till this year no no i think i think it is 29
oh it's 29 to tie right oh oh probably probably probably okay sure it's 30 to beat yeah so it's it's
it's one of those things i hope i hope he does it this year because you know i'm sure he doesn't want to go
to next season, thinking about it, you know, ultimately it's going to get to him.
But it's also one of those things, too.
I hope he doesn't get it this year and then retire because I want to still see him playing
and scoring.
So I do hope he gets it this year.
It is amazing that it's going to happen this year.
It feels like, you know, two years, three years ago, people were talking like,
ah, it might not ever happen.
You know, I remember talking to Gretzky about it.
He's like, oh, it's going to happen.
It's going to happen sooner than you think.
but it's truly impressive what he's done for as long as he's done it
with arguably the best goalies in the in you know the history of the game
playing right now the way that guys block shots uh it it also seems to this year
he's scoring goals a little bit different like you know scored some five on five goals and
even his empty netter last night was unreal like you know powers to the net moves the
guy like that's an elite empty net goal so uh it's it there's
nothing that he can do in this league that wouldn't impress me, but he's, yeah, that's why he's,
you know, one of the best of all time. Dude, it's so true. I was actually, I'm going to give myself
a little stroke off here because last season, people were saying he's not going to do it. People were
like, he fell off a cliff, dude. Yeah. And I kept banging the drum that he was injured. I was like,
he is hurt, I promise you. And then, yeah, he took some time off with an injury, was on IR, came back,
and that's when he started ripping in all those goals. And then right now, he has 13,
10 for 23 and 17 and he's also top 10 in plus minus yeah so like ovi is like peak ovi right now and it's
fucking so nasty to see i mean did we think we were going to be sitting here and saying you know
it's like we're almost 20 games into the season and ovi is top 15 in points in the nchel and and
he's tied for first with goals like she's fucking buzzing dude i was saying yans i was telling everybody
not to root for the caps because of what you just said because i was like if
Ovi breaks Wayno's record in game 80 this year, and then the caps win the cup, he's going to
retire.
I can't have that.
So we need to root for him to score, but the caps can't win the cup, otherwise he might go.
No, dude, we need, we got to go full the other way.
I was saying this.
We need the penguins to trade Crosby to Washington, have them win a cup together, and then
they retire into the sunset, dude.
How about that?
That I'm in on.
Didn't Sid just sign like a four-year-day?
I think Sid to play until he's 50.
until he's 50 years old.
Okay.
Yeah.
So I think Sid can go as long as he wants.
Yeah, it's so true.
There's also two last year,
Washington, remember, like,
when they started the year,
well, most of the year,
they were brutal.
And then Ovi gets hot,
scoring goals.
Like, he's one of those guys,
especially probably since winning.
Like, he's probably more interested
in winning games and, you know,
scoring big goals.
Like, if his team's 20 games below 500,
he's probably like,
What are we doing here?
So I think it's cool that they're playing well.
They're having meaningful games, and he's doing what he's done for 20 years.
Martha listens to her favorite band all the time.
In the car?
Gym.
Even sleeping.
So when they finally went on tour, Martha bundled her flight and hotel on Expedia to see them live.
She saved so much she got her seat close enough to actually see and hear them.
Sort of.
You were made to scream from the front row.
We were made to quietly save you more.
Expedia, made to travel.
Savings vary and subject to availability.
Dude, it's incredible.
Totally agree, and it's incredible.
And I'm so shocked that if you had told me that of Sid and OV's end,
who's going to be playing meaningful games down the stretch,
barring any trades or whatever,
I would have been like, well, the penguins will obviously be competitive
until Sid hangs him up.
And the capitals I could see just missing the playoffs and OVs bummed.
And now it's like the capitals are still good.
and the penguins are about to miss the playoffs for the third year in a row and no end in sight.
Yeah, it's, I mean, the script flip on those two teams has been so shocking.
It's like, and it's what I kept saying, it's like guys like McMichael and Protas coming out.
And obviously, Stromer turning into Nicholas Baxter is super helpful.
But it's just like.
It's unbelievable.
It's unbelievable, dude.
Like, there was that point.
I think it was.
He looks like him.
He looks like him.
He does, dude.
He truly does.
Like, the way he plays, the way he skates, it looks just like him.
And it's like, he's got a similar number.
too, right? It's like 17, 19.
Yeah, fuck. And yeah, that stat, it was
Ovi's first 10 goals, Strom assisted all
10 of them. It's fucking nuts.
So the way that team is just cooking
is fucking crazy. And also, yeah, as you just
mentioned, I don't think I really thought
about this until you just said it.
It's pretty awesome that OV
has this goal scoring, is likely
going to have the all-time goal scoring record.
And you think about some of the goalies that have
been in his division, his whole career.
I mean, it's like, you look at New York
going up against Hank and then Cheste,
going up against flour the whole time.
It's like now Sorokin, too, the Islanders.
He's had some pretty elite goaltending that he's gone against in his division,
his entire career.
It's fucking nuts.
And also had Dan Girardi and Mark Stahl,
like those guys were willing combatants to block his shots.
Like most guys aren't really, like guys like me,
you're trying to get out of the way of it.
But those guys were trying to block his shots and he's still getting 50 a year.
It's impressive.
but he's done, you know, obviously his whole career,
but especially, you know, in the later stages of his career.
Oh, it's nuts, man.
Speaking of goalies, another huge record.
Vassie getting his 300th win, fastest all-time,
40th goalie in NHL history to do it, just 490 games.
Was this for me, at least it was?
Was this for the both of you seeing that stack kind of a wake-up call?
Like, I feel like we've been talking about all these other goalies in the league
the last year and a half, and it's just made me be like,
oh, yeah, Vasi's still the guy.
like he's so good
yeah
and I don't know it's because
you know playing in the same division
as him in Florida
you can never count him out
and I think you can never count Tampa out
that's why at the beginning of the year
I had them as a you know cup contender
just because of him
like if he's playing well if he's healthy
I mean he's had a couple surgeries
but he's still the big monster
that he is just winning games
you know he's
huge, he's athletic, he can play the
park well, he's a great guy.
I loved his quote, I mean,
I don't know exactly what he said, but it was
you know, the team gets me a lot of gifts,
but, you know, the best gift was them, you know,
playing hard in front of me, so you can tell he's a great
team, too. Yeah, yeah, that's a sick quote, I didn't hear that.
That is sick.
Cares about winning.
That definitely wasn't exactly
what he said, but he said it better.
I don't know, that's pretty good.
He cares about winning, right? He cares about the product
of his team. He's not a guy just worried about
his own accolades. So very impressive stuff from, you know, I think since Kerry Price has been
out of the league, he's been the best guy season in, season out. And I don't think any player
would argue that. Dude, I think you're right. I was shocked that it was fastest. And that's just
a credit to how good he is that he just becomes, you become numb to it. Yeah. When he said he was
fastest. And I know there's people, I was reading a lot of the comments that's like some of the
guys that had it before, there was no, there was no, um, O.T. shootout.
Right? Like you could tie. So it's a little bit easier to get wins now because you're like the game would have been tied, but we get the wins. But fucking miss me with that. This is a sick stat and games evolve across every sport. So grow up. Dude, what actually blew my mind, I couldn't find how many games it took Brodor to get to 300. But I do know he got his 300th career win when he was 29 years and 223 days. And Vassi's like 30 and 100 days. So pretty close, right? And Vassi obviously faster. But dude, that's, Marty.
he has 691 wins.
Like in Vasi's only 30.
He could play fucking nine more years.
But I'm just saying that is so insane.
It's crazy, dude.
It's not even halfway to Marty's wins.
It actually made me want to ask.
And he played, he played 75 games a year too,
Brodor.
Like he didn't take nights off.
Like, I think, I mean,
you guys could probably look it up.
Vasoleski's probably up there
with games played a year when he's healthy.
Let me look.
He does.
Brodor was playing 75 games a year.
Could you imagine, dude, being the backup on those Brodor teams? What a fucking job.
Scott Clemson, the best.
You're like, you're Matt Castle, dude. You're just holding the clipboard, fucking
sitting behind the goat, and you're like, this is great. Not even. You're a bullpin catcher,
literally, a bullpen catcher. You know you're not coming in. You've just got to be a good guy.
I played a tournament with Scott Clemenson for Worlds, and he was the best guy, like the
prototypical backup guy. He was our starter, but he was like, dude, I got the best job in the world.
I get to back up Marty Brodor. Like how just go out practice, hang with the boys. Like, who's got
it better? Yeah. Seriously. When you're playing that many games, like truly, he was playing like 70,
75 games a season. It must have been disaster when, or like such intense extenuating circumstances
for him to not start. You know what I mean? Like he must have gotten way too banged up the night before
and he was like, dude, you got to go in, bro. Like, I'm fucking. Dude.
crinkled over here.
Mind you, there is no
like load management.
There was no mandatory days off back then.
Like you were, my first
five, six, seven years in the league,
you were lucky to get one day off a month.
Now you get four, five
or whatever it is. So he was
out there practicing every day too.
Like goalies have it probably a little bit easier
now. Like that guy was an absolute dog.
It makes you wonder. So,
you know, I was
about to say Vasi Fafi
to 300. I think there's a world where Shasturkin breaks that. If the Rangers stay competitive,
you know, the next three, four years here, which I feel like it looks like they're going to.
Yep. I could see him breaking that, but I also don't think anyone will ever break that Marty
record for exactly the reason that you just said. Like in what, like you look at Vassi, he's 30,
right? And you know, guys are playing way later in their careers, but I do think it's rare that
we see a goalie really playing significant games after.
36 now and I just like you're telling me he's got a more than double that win total and
Chesty dude, Chester's about to turn 29 he turns 29 in December and he has 142 career wins right now
because he just sat for a while yeah he did it's true that for a while dude listen so you know
Vassie's career high is 65 games in a season let me just read you Marty Broder's games
for this is from 95 this is going to be a drunk stat to 2010
This is a game started in seasons from 95 to 2010.
77.
77, 67, 67, 70, 70, 70, 72, 73, 73, 75, 75, 73, 78, 73, 78,
31 because he got hurt, 77.
Dude, those 77?
Mind you, they're going deep in the playoffs every year.
That's 15 years, dude, of starting on average 74 games a season.
And they were winning games, they were winning games like 2-1 back then.
They weren't shootouts like, oh, yeah, just let in a few, worth score a few.
Like, he had to be dialed.
And he was playing the puck like a maniac, too.
Yeah, we got to get a little more.
Not that he doesn't have all the respect in the world, but this guy is a joke how good he was.
Dude, like that, that, I agree with you, though, Yan's like, that stat needs to be one that's talked about more.
Like, we're always talking about his wins and, you know, all of his accolies.
but I'm like, well, that one is crazy.
There are players who don't even sniff
his average game played per season.
And he's a golden.
Think about how fucking crazy that is.
Dude, in 07, he's fucking 34.
Leads the league with 78 starts,
leads the league with 48 wins,
leads the league with 12 shutouts.
Why didn't they let them play all 82 one year?
That would have been epic.
You're right.
You're still right.
Genuinely, I'm like,
I wonder if there's some weird thing
in the NHL rulebook.
that's like you can't do that.
It's the only explanation.
Like, why did he not play four games?
12 shutouts is moronic.
Fucking insane.
Wow.
What a stud.
God Almighty.
All right.
Speaking of another mutant,
Connor McDavid,
thousandth point,
unbelievable scores a goal on his game on Thursday night.
Ninety-ninth player and fourth fastest.
Yeah,
kind of sick that is 99th.
99th player to do it.
And the fourth fastest in NHL history
to reach 1,000 points.
I don't even know what to say.
I mean, it felt so Connor the game he had, like the way they did it.
Yeah.
Scoring that way.
Then they win an OT, I think it was.
Yeah.
Like it just had that nasty pass behind the back to nurse.
Do you think Jan's like, are you pound for pound to see the best player in the league?
Yeah.
Yeah, I think so.
I think just, I mean, you think of, you know, one, two, him and Nate.
You go back to, you know, we talked earlier about Sid and OV,
and I mean, those guys carried us in the league for, you know, 12, 15 years.
Like, we really put the league on the map where it is now.
And now you got McDavid and McKinnon kind of the two guys coming in after them.
It's really special what they're doing.
You know, the speed that they play at with the ability to make plays and stick handle
and compete every night in battle.
It truly amazes me that they can do it at that speed
because, I mean, they're going way faster than everybody else,
but the game just looks way slower than everybody else.
So the fact that they're playing the way that they are for 82 games a year,
they rarely have nights off those guys, which, you know,
that's why those guys are superstars and Mount Rushmore guys.
They rarely have games off.
and every they're getting the best of every team they're getting you know shut down d men every night
and they're just making everybody look stupid and it's uh not fun to play against but it's definitely
fun to watch them too dude it's unbelievable uh i wanted to know i think you know it because you have
the staff but do you off the top of your head yans know the three who did it faster
did they count wane both of wanes like you used the first just the first
just the first but that is a fact by the way yeah
That is a crazy fact.
No, Wayne is just one.
So the crazy one I heard about Wayne,
if you took away all of his one and two point game,
you guys saw that, whatever it was.
Like, that's insane.
It's ridiculous, dude.
It's absolutely absurd.
There's so many,
there are so many Wayne stats that just don't make sense at all.
It's preposterous.
But Wayne is, Wayne, Wayne, Mario, Mike Bossie.
Wow, you nailed it.
That's it.
That's it.
Bro, listen to this.
Well done, Jans.
Fucking A.
McDavid just did it in a 659th game,
and Bossie did it in 656.
So it's kind of brutal.
McDavid had a bit of a slow start this year.
You could have had them for third.
Lemieux did it in 513,
and Wayno did it in 424.
1,000 points in 424 games.
Oh, my God.
Dude, like, I genuinely,
every time I see shit like this,
I don't know what to say.
And I don't know.
I don't know where you are at on this, Jans.
I feel like you're,
probably going to be with me. I can't
stand when people do the like, dude,
Wayne wasn't that good. He just played in that era
before our goalies were fucking hitting the butterfly.
And I'm like, what are you talking about, dude?
It doesn't matter. Like Wayne, Wayne was playing with a
45 pound stick. Yeah, yeah. And he was
still scoring two and a half goals again.
Awful gear. No. And flying
commercial. Yeah. True.
Dude, possibly the biggest factor of all,
by the way. Yeah. Flying commercial.
No training. Dude, here's
two things I want to say about this.
Because McDavid was also the fourth
youngest, fourth fastest and fourth youngest. He's 27 and 306 days. Wayno was 23, Mario was 26,
and the third one is Steve Iserman was 27, and just 27 in like 15 days younger than Connor,
which I thought was cool Iserman stat. But dude, and Jens, you might know this. When I saw Bossie
was the third fastest, I was like, oh, wow, that shocked me. And I pulled up his stats.
I need to respect Mike Bossy's stats more, dude. He is a fucking freak.
bro, and he retired at 30.
Dude, listen to his points in his career, 21 to 30.
That's his entire career, 10 years.
91 and 73, 126 and 80, 92 and 75, 119 and 147 and 18 and 18 and 78, 118 and 17 and
76, 123 and 80, 75 and 63 retire.
And I'm like, what the fuck?
And winning the cup every year.
Dude, one fucking three lady bings too.
And I'm like,
Jesus Christ, dude.
Like, did you say...
Why did he retire so young?
I was about to ask that, too.
Did you just say his last season was 75 points in 63 games and then he hung him up?
Dan, his last season was fucking exactly right.
75 points in 63 games with 38 tucks and goes like...
And I'm 30 years old.
Good day.
Good afternoon.
He was probably like, ah, this is too easy.
I'm going to go get work in the steel mill or something.
I got a challenge.
Dude, something hard.
Yeah.
Just put in an honest day's work for once.
He went like full Ted Williams
just started to fly jets in the war or something.
He's like fuck this, dude.
Dude, this, I just typed in.
I always wonder, I always think of it
when I see stats like that,
like if I played against
might C team,
like in a might see league
for 10 years,
I don't think I'd have even close
the amount of points that McDavid has and stuff.
It's a legitimate point, dude.
I, like, every time I see these things,
Wayne is a league of its own, but even Connor, to your point,
it's like, Connor right now is just like, it's, the fact that there are guys in the league
right now in today's NHL who, if they don't have a point or two, a game,
you're surprised that is so absurd.
And he is officially that.
Dude, I just looked it up.
Bossie said that after his age 30 season, he only scored 38 goals, a career low,
and chose retirement over underperforming because he said his back was on.
His back was starting to hurt him, and he was like, I'm not going to go out there and be bad.
38 goals is embarrassing.
I'm not playing anymore.
Oh, my God, dude.
Wow.
That's good for him.
What a legend.
That is so underappreciated and unknown.
Like, we need more people to know about that.
Mike Bossie, had over a point per game season, scored 38 goals and said, I suck now, and I don't want to suck ever again.
I'm retired.
Do you want, listen to this, boys.
This is his goals, okay, in his career.
Yeah.
53, 69, 51, 68, 64.
60, 51, 58, 68.
He never scored below 50 in his career
and then scored 38 once and quit
because he was so embarrassed.
Sorry, guys.
Did they win the cup that year?
I think Edmonton beat them that last year.
I think they lost, let me see.
It was like genuinely the first year of his career
where he didn't win everything
and he was just so distraught
that he decided to get the fuck out of there.
Fuming mad, dude.
Can you fucking believe that, bro?
No.
I'd do anything.
for a 38 goal season.
That is absolutely stunning.
He quit, dude.
All right.
I want to talk about a couple of fines and a couple of suspensions.
We're going to get into the Revo hit, Yans.
But before that, did you see the Pionk clipping hit against the Panthers that he got fined 5K for?
Is that what's...
No, I didn't see that.
I'll text it to you right now.
Yeah, C.P's going to send it to you right now.
Okay, we'll talk about the other one first.
So let's talk about Revo first.
So, officially, he gets a five-game sussie for lining up nurse like a freight train.
He's going to lose $35,000 for the hit.
Where do you stand on this?
I feel like this was more of a hot-button issue than I thought.
Biz went all out on it.
People were discussing it.
How come you didn't think it was going to be hot button?
Well, to me, this is one of those ones where I saw the hit and I was like this, yeah, that's five-game suspension.
Let's move on.
Oh, I see. Okay, yeah.
So, yeah.
Wait, Biz didn't think he should have got five games?
No, no, no.
I actually am not entirely sure what Biz's stance was, but Biz was going to war with people
on Twitter over this.
Biz just said that Revo, his stance was that Revo, that had been a lot of power plays
leading up to that.
So the fourth line hadn't been out.
So it was like, yo, get the fourth line out.
If you're Revo, you're going, I'm going to go out and I'm going to hit somebody.
You see Nurse coming around, and you're like, I'm going to drill him.
And Biz was kind of like, nurse had his head down and didn't really square his shoulder,
you know, and people got, the fucking Oilers fans went crazy.
They're like, you're victim blaming and all this shit, which I don't think he was.
I think he was just trying to defend.
His stance was Revo wasn't malicious on purpose.
Yeah, like that was his stance.
Oh, I disagree with him on that.
Okay, yeah.
I think, you know, he could have easily, and I think Ryan Reeves is, you know, an honest player,
especially for, you know, his job.
He's been the toughest guy in the league for the last, whatever, 12, 13, 14 years.
So you can't take any of that away from him.
I just think that it's so unnecessary to hit somebody in the head like that.
You could easily hit him in the shoulder.
You could rub them out.
Just bring them into the boards.
I think it is malicious when you do hit a guy like that because there's so many other factors that you can say.
You can yell.
A lot of guys, I don't know if you guys hear it during games.
Like a lot of guys yell the guys.
Yeah, hey, I'm coming.
I'm coming.
Keep your head up.
Like, you know, there's a respect factor in the league.
And I didn't see it there.
And I do think Revo is a respectable player.
I'm sure there's many times in every game that he could really kill someone and he doesn't
because he's so big and strong and skates well.
But, yeah, I hate those type of hits.
I think it's, you know, I think that there are the hits that you can take out of the game
just out of a respect factor where it's, you don't need to do it.
It's not, you're not saving a goal.
You're not, you know, nothing.
bad happened before that where you're getting retribution on them.
It's just kind of one of those plays that it can be a nothing place.
Just wheel in the net, you can stop him in his tracks with even just standing in front of him.
You don't have to hit him.
So I didn't like that hit at all.
Nurse looked like he was really hurt too.
You hate seeing that, especially for a team that needs to win games.
They need one of their best defensemen out there.
So, yeah, I hate those type of hits.
I always have, but that's why I didn't hit anyone.
Dude, holy.
Yans, you actually, and I want to bring this up because when you were chopping up,
I think you were on chicklets when you did it,
with the Geno hit a few weeks ago, you remember that one?
Same type thing, yeah.
Because I had the same reaction you did where I was like, man,
you don't, I didn't need that at all.
And that one, here's what I want to ask about the difference.
That Geno one to me was obviously high, but also a tad late too,
where I was like, dude, he passed it.
And I know he's admiring the past, and I know Nurse's head is down in this example, too.
But, like, that one was a tad late, and, you know, comes through and clips him in the jaw.
This one, I was wondering your take on, because it almost looked to me like Revo looked, like, he was kind of lunging for the puck too.
And that's, like, I couldn't tell if him lunging for the puck moved him forward and that's why he clipped his head.
Or if you think you're like, no, he is just going for the hit there and you just got to be smarter about it.
Yeah, I think he was going for the hit.
And it makes sense what Biz said, because you do have to look back and, you know, where the game's at, what's happening.
I didn't, I wasn't watching that game.
Yeah, same.
I don't really know what was happening.
So I just think, and Nurse is a big dude.
Like, he's probably six, four, six, five.
So you've got to, you know, intentionally do that.
I think five games was the right call.
I'm sure, I'm sure Revo is a guy that won't even argue that.
I mean, obviously it hurts losing, what do you say, 35 grand.
but, you know, I'm sure he'd be the first guy to tell you, like, hey, yeah, that wasn't,
I could have, I could have hit him in the shoulder there.
But the goal, if I was that D-man and my goalie isn't, like, stepping out and getting in his way
or at least yelling at me that someone, not even someone, Ryan Reeves, is coming down.
Like, I'm having words with my goalie once I wake up.
Well, yeah, and Skinner, you were saying that, so a few days later, right?
Yeah, yeah, well, yeah.
when I can see straight out.
I know how many fingers he's holding up.
You were saying that there's respect in the league
that you're like, hey, I'm coming.
But also, isn't Skinner supposed to be like,
yo, fucking head up, dude.
Definitely.
There's a, you could, like, that's a fucking Clydesdale
running down the ice.
Like, you could hear him trucking down for sure.
And the fact that he wasn't like, hey, hey, hey, hey, look out.
There's a freight train running down Broadway.
First thought.
Like, I cannot believe how many crossovers he does
still looking down at that puck coming around the net.
I'm like, buddy, holy shit.
I mean, dude, it's,
I'm completely with Yan's on this one.
And I think one of the big issues with these things is that term intent to injure.
I feel like I always get in fights with people on Twitter about this.
Part of me hates that term because it sounds so malicious.
But then I think Marshan did the hockey world a huge service last year after Bennett fucking donkey punched him.
And instead of complaining about it in the locker, and Marshan was like, dude, I mean, a lot of you guys aren't going to want to hear this, but we are trying to hurt each other out there.
these really competitive games.
You want to lay a hit and you want to make someone feel it.
That doesn't mean you want to put them on IR and like injure them in a bad way with like
a concussion or a ligament or something.
But you're like, yeah, I'm trying to hit you hard so you feel it so you have your
fucking head up next play.
I think Revo went into that play going, I'm going to fucking staple him right here.
And he just, he caught him super wrong.
And I agree.
I think he'd be the first to admit like, yeah, it was a bad fucking hit.
I like I caught him straight in the head.
That's not okay.
I think that's as simple as that.
I think so too.
I think I'm kind of, it's tough, dude.
I mean, I was never in the fucking league, and it's so fast.
But it's like, as much as a good play that would have been
if he stapled him in the shoulder,
and it's a great energy play for the boys and whatever,
I think the risk, just as a human being level,
is like, it's not worth it to,
if you might accidentally concuss him and drill him in the jaw.
We're all pro athletes here trying to play the game we love.
I just think you've got to be like,
because it happens in football all the time, right?
Where they're like, what do you want the safety to do?
It's a fast game.
I'm like, I know, but I just want him to not target the dude's head with his fucking helmet.
Don't send the guy into 1972, please.
Just stand there, and if you get run over, it's a bad play and whatever,
but I'd rather people not die.
So real.
That's what I was talking.
You remember the Hall of Fame linebacker, Zach Thomas?
Yeah, the dolphins.
Yeah, so he's my boy down here.
My kids go to Sarah and I was talking to him at the courts together.
Because we were talking about concussions with Tua and stuff like that.
I'm like, the way that they can get rid of head.
head hunting hits in football is allow them to fight.
Because if I know, like, you guys played against me in high school.
I was a piece of trash in high school, hitting guys, slashing guys.
And then I go to the NHL.
And if you do that, some big guy is going to grab you and punch your head in.
So I was like, okay, I'm not doing that anymore.
Like, imagine being a free safety lining a guy up through the middle and knowing that one of the linemen is going to come grabbing and you have to fight them.
No thanks.
Dude, it's hey, wags, what game was that with the football guys were at the hockey game that you were just showing me?
It was the Kings. It must have been the Chargers then.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Dude, our producer was just showing us a bunch of the Chargers went to a Kings game.
And, you know, they were like, miced up for content for the Chargers.
Oh, I saw that video.
Yeah, and there was a fight.
And they were like, all the boys were like, we need this.
This is what we need.
And I was like, actually, you're right.
You guys do need this because it would solve a ton of problems.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That is so true.
It's like the accountability factor.
I was telling them.
yeah I was I was explaining to him because he you know he's from Texas he knows nothing about hockey
but I was explaining to him how you know the game polices itself like you know you get a big hit
like that you got to have to answer for your mistakes or you know worse cases you know
someone's going to go take out you know Matthews or someone on the other team you're going to go
after the other team's best player so you have that in your head it's like okay if I hit this guy
really hard or from behind.
You know, there's going to be repercussions.
Probably not to me, but to someone else.
So it's one of those things where I thought it was just avoidable to not hit him
the way that he did.
He could have easily finished his check.
The play would have been nothing.
The play would have been the exact same no matter how he hit him.
Right.
That's, I think, your best point that it's not, it wasn't stopping a goal.
It's just you're trying to break up the breakout and you can do that by literally stopping
and like just getting in his way, you know, so I completely agree.
Did you watch that Pionk hit?
Yeah, I really want your take.
As a defense in the league, I really want your take on it.
So he got fined 5K, no game suspension.
Okay, I like that.
I mean, you think of a guy like Keith Ballard
who's probably just like shaking his head.
He's like, how was that even a penalty?
Was it even a penalty?
I actually don't think he got called in the moment.
Dude, so my take on this is as a guy who played defense
who fucking loves a hip.
check. I love it. Like, I love that it's a, I mean, I get it. I get the clipping like he gets
too much of Bob Quist's leg and not like kind of square on the button of his hips. But to me,
I kind of like the 5K Pee-P whack. It's like, don't give him a game. That's like, hey, $5,000.
Don't catch a trailing leg like that. I thought it was the right. And it's only 5K for you
because it's leg. Because my reaction was with you guys said, or I think what you guys are saying
when that I was like, dude, fuck that. That's a fair play. But I don't want that need.
shit at all. So live,
I thought it was the cleanest hit ever.
And like I said, I fucking jerk off for a
hip check. Like live, I was like that was
fucking awesome. But then slowed
down like Bobquist's trailing leg does
get, you can see it like fling out.
He does like a 540. And that's what I'm like,
oh dude, because that shit gets a little hairy.
Yeah. So what do you think, yes? Did he
get hurt from that?
I don't think so. He was like down on the ice,
but he got up, he came back into the game. Yeah, yeah,
yeah. Yeah. Like
what's Rob Blake thinking of that?
Like he was lining guys up with hip checks for 20 years.
But, yeah, I think that's, I don't hate that play.
I think Pionk's an honorable player too.
But we go back to the policing itself.
They play each other on Tuesday.
You're telling me right now, Sam Bennett isn't going to run him from, you know,
against the glass, you know, in, I think they play in Winnipeg, right?
So that's where it's going to make for good theatrics.
You know, you get two of the best teams in the league going to get.
against each other. So I think it's, I don't hate that hit. I would never want to get hit like that. You don't really expect to get hit like that. It sucks when it happens when you go ass over tea kettle. But I don't think that's like one of those plays where he's really trying to injure someone that was kind of looked like he was beat and then just threw out the, throughout the hip. I think when guys stick off their legs, I hate that. I think that that's very dangerous. It's dangerous for both guys too. But that is just like it looked like he was.
He was like, okay, I got to get a, I got to clip this guy somehow.
And he did it, but I wonder, did they call a penalty on that?
Dude, I don't think so.
Is that a tripping?
And for authenticity, Woquist missed practice today, but Morey says he'll play,
he should be able to play tomorrow.
So he is a little dinged.
It's not like it was nothing.
Okay.
Let's see if you got a penalty for that.
Dude, to your point, Jans, it is funny.
I feel like you're always ready for shit up high.
Brian Dumlin, shout out.
Dumer caught me with a hip check in a game like square in my stomach and just completely
knocked the wind out of me. And I was not ready for it. I was waiting for something up here.
So I think I braced up high and his hip just hit me right in the fucking gut. And I was like,
I might never breathe again for the rest of my life. It was so unexpected. And I was like,
I remember just like crunched it over going back to the bench and people are like, you're right?
And I was like, no. Yeah.
What's the wedding crashes?
If I,
my dear,
and my lungs,
I'm screaming at you right now.
Yeah, yeah.
It's not fun getting hit low like that.
Oh, no, dude.
It's so unexpected.
Pionk got a 10-minute misconduct penalty
for it in the third period.
I don't like that at all.
That feels harsh,
eh?
That's harsh.
I don't like that.
I wonder did they must,
so that's obviously,
that's one of those ones now that they review.
They look at, I think.
I wasn't watching it live.
They must look at it.
Yeah, yeah.
Dude, it's tricky because the leg
shit is only bad, right?
Like if you throw the leg out, it's only going to be a bad thing.
It's knee on knee.
It's all this shit.
The hip, I'm kind of like, normally it doesn't do what it did to Boquist.
Like normally you just do catch him higher.
So maybe he just like squatted too low kind of.
So it's hard to regulate that as player safety.
What do you tell him?
You're like, you can hip check.
Just don't bend over so far.
Well, it's just like don't cat.
It's the same thing with the head.
Like you just got to hit him in the right spot.
Like hip check's fine.
Just don't hit a trailing leg.
Yeah, and we know you've got to run.
But we're, if you're,
You can. We want to do one beer league hotline with you and then send you on your way.
Hell yeah.
All right, Wags, you ready?
I'm a goalie on multiple beer league teams.
In one of my leagues, I was recruited to play by my friend.
It's a co-ed league and my friend's daughter and son-in-law are also on our team.
The son-in-law is the best skater on our team and probably the league.
Recently, the son-in-law got caught cheating on my friend's daughter and my friend threw him off the squad.
Is it offside of me to recruit him to my other league?
No.
Nope.
But dude, your friend will surely find out that you have his cheating son-in-law on your other team, right?
Yeah, but dude, like, listen, man, it's tough to find good beer league players sometimes.
That's true.
You got to snag this kid.
Wait, it was his son?
It was, what was the relation?
The goalie has a buddy, right?
And the buddy is the reason the goalie's on his team.
The buddy was like, come play on my team.
So he's there.
It's a co-ed league.
And his buddy has a daughter who is on the team and his son-in-law is on the team.
So it's his buddy's daughter and his buddies and her husband.
The son-in-law is the best player in the league.
Recently just caught cheating on his buddy's daughter.
So his buddy has thrown his son-in-law off the team and potentially out of the family.
I don't know if they're divorced or not.
And then now, since he's...
he's a free agent, the goalie wants to recruit him to play in his other league.
Because he's like, I need that guy.
Yeah, I mean, if he's that good, somebody's going to pick him up, right?
See, that's a great thing.
You can't let talent, you can't let talent like that go to sleep.
It's unfortunate that someone's heart got broken, but at the end of the day, we're trying
to win some games soon.
That's kind of my thing.
It's like, listen, here's the deal.
This goalie, it's not his son-in-law.
Yeah, you know, and like that sucks, but like cheating happens.
Cheating happens all the time.
It's not like he's condoning it.
He's just like, listen, man, that's not great.
But also like we could use a few goals on my other team.
So why don't you come play with us?
Yeah, you just can't slip up in the postgame beers with the buddy and the daughter talking
about your other team.
And you're like, oh, we had a sick win last night.
You know, fucking our boy, my Jeff pumped one in an overtime.
And they're like, you're playing with Jeff.
You also got a, you've got to, if you're Jeff, if you're hypothetical Jeff,
you got to be careful about locker room talk on the new team.
Because if you start talking about a couple of dates that you've been on recently,
you got to respect the fact that that's his boy.
You know, like you can't be running your mouth.
How tight do you think?
Yeah, especially in a co-ed league too.
You can't be.
Also very true.
Did not consider that.
I also need to know if they were married, then, you know,
that's a little different.
But if they were just dating, then, I mean, come on.
I'm like how old, does it, does it say how old Jeff is?
He doesn't, but he does say son-in-law, so I presume married.
I'm assuming married.
Like, with the title and label, son-in-law, that's marriage.
And also, dude, let's go back to hypothetical, Jeff.
How fucking dumb are you, dude?
You can't be cheating on your wife.
First of all, don't cheat on your wife ever.
Yeah.
But you cannot be cheating on your wife when you play on a beer league team with her and her dad.
Like, what are we doing?
At the end of the day,
He's the best player.
Like the girls are probably throwing themselves at it.
That's true, dude.
How is he, like he's human, you know?
Oh, it's so true.
I'd love to know.
I've never even heard, I've never heard of a co-ed hockey league.
I've seen it in like softball,
um, volleyball like we were talking earlier, but I've never seen it in hockey.
I guess I've never seen an official one, but girls have played.
I've been on teams out here where there's like, oh,
a couple girls play on that team.
And I'm like, oh, yeah, okay.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
There's no doubt about that.
It changes the dynamic.
There's like some chirps that are flying around the ice
that all of a sudden if there's a gal on the other team,
I'm a little bit like, I'm probably not going to say anything in this game.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, right.
It's probably way better because I play in this men's league.
And like sometimes it gets a little chippy.
I feel like the co-ed's probably the best speed where, like,
you know no one's going to be running around,
like acting like their scouts in the stands maybe.
So I bet that that's probably a nice pace.
I'm going to look to see if they got any down.
It might be something to look into.
Let's just make sure that Jeff isn't in there.
Yeah, yeah.
I'll find out where this guy's clearly out here hunting.
I need to know.
All right, Jens, you've got a basketball game to get to,
but as always, fucking blast having you on, brother.
Yeah, thank you, boys.
Always good seeing you.
Keep it up with that muzzy, too.
I will.
We'll send weekly updates.
I've got at least another week in me, I promise.
You've got to trap the germs, Dan.
Overcome the germs.
taking a break from the podcast to talk to you guys about the best way on earth to ignite your rivalry
and get you fired up during the heat of sports season right now.
And that is with the delicious taste of fireball whiskey.
Listen, we're in the thick of it.
We're getting fired up with NFL season.
We just had that crazy Bills Chiefs game.
We're getting things going.
We're 20 games into the NHL season.
Basketball is going nuts.
We've got wild shit happening left and right.
It's absolutely unbelievable, and here's the deal.
When you're watching the game, you want to feel that heat.
You want to feel that fire.
You want to get cranked up, and you want to ignite the rivalries.
When we've got games like that, Bill's Chiefs, you want to feel it.
Fireball is how you do it.
Whether you want to whip out a nip, do a nice little shot,
whether you want to get this bad boy out, pour some drinks.
I'm going to say it every single week.
Give me that diet Dr. Pepper and Fireball.
It's the most delicious cocktail you've ever had.
Your boy, Dano just said it.
Give it a shot.
Fireball is going to get you to that next level.
It's going to elevate your game watching experience,
whether you're there at the stadium watching the game,
hanging out at the house or in a bar.
You're going to feel better than ever
because you're going to feel the fire
and feel the energy of the game
when you're having a nice drink with Fireball.
You want to make sure that you take this game watching experience
to that next step where you're having the most fun you can imagine
and feeling the heat, baby.
Fireball cinnamon whiskey is the best cinnamon whiskey you could ever find.
It's going to make you feel good.
It's getting a little colder we talk about all the time.
It's fall.
You want a nice warm feeling going through your body, make you feel nice and cozy and also pumped up.
Fireball is going to do that every single time.
So get yourself a shot, pour yourself a drink, make sure that you get the game fired up and dialed up every single time with Fireball.
All right, babe, it's time to talk to you about our partners, bet MGM, without a doubt, the best sports betting app in the game.
Right now, you've got to get dialed with us.
CPNI have an unbelievable show where we're letting dice.
pick the games and the parlays for us. Are you kidding me? And here's the thing. We're up.
You could be too, and we're doing it all on BetMGM. Not only is BetMGM the best app for sports
gambling. It's also hooking you up. Right now, if you sign up using promo code Netters,
get on BetMGM. You can bet up to $1,500 on anything you want. Hockey, NFL, Champions League, NBA,
doesn't matter. And if you lose it, you get it all back. BetMGM's going to give all of that money
back to your account so you can do it all again. And next time, win with us. We're giving you
picks all the time. This is the best deal you're ever going to find with any of these different
apps. BetMGM has all the best action and we are giving you daily picks in the hockey space.
We've got people like Dr. Locke's over here at Almost Friday Media giving you picks left and right.
It's unbelievable. Get dialed in with us. Get in on the action and get on BetMGM right now because
they are taking care of you better than anyone else and we are going to have the best time all season
long. So get fired up right now. Sign up with promo code netters and let's get some picks going.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S. Call 1-800-3-27050-in Massachusetts.
21 plus only in Arizona, Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia only.
Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800, Next Step in Arizona. First bet offer for new customers only,
subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. See betmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Ontario and Puerto Rico.
to Jans as always.
Love that guy.
He's the fucking best.
Dude, making Yans laugh
brings me great joy.
It's a badge of honor.
Yes.
Like if it's,
and I get a lot of buddies in this office
that I feel that way about too
where it's like they're funny guys
and if you get a genuine laugh,
because you know what you can tell.
Like sometimes they're laughing
because they're like, that was funny.
But sometimes they're like,
you got them, you know?
And just whenever Yans really laughs,
it makes me so happy.
Yeah, I completely agree.
Let's talk about some coaches.
Yep.
Really quick.
Before we move on to some of our other things,
let's talk about some coaches right now and the hot seat.
We are approaching the 20 game mark here for pretty much every team.
And as we've said, a million times, 20 games.
20 games is when things become a pattern, not random.
Do you think that there are any coaches who are legitimately on the hot seat right now?
I think that there are, I think that there are two.
Okay.
Talk to me about them.
And I think that you could argue four.
Yeah, that's as far as I'll go.
You could argue four, but I believe the truth is there are two.
Okay.
Number one, Mike Sullivan.
Yeah.
I just think that this start, they're 7, 10, and 3, you know, its early points are jumbled, so they're 7th right now, but, you know, like, I guess they have almost the most games that are the devils, though, you know what I mean?
Like, even the blue jackets, 16, 18, yeah, like, if the blue jackets win their games in hand, the penguins are last.
And this was a season where it was like, this is unacceptable for Pittsburgh to miss the playoffs again.
and they have a minus 25 gold diff,
which I think is only better than,
no, it's the worst in the league.
So I'm like,
you just can't have that happen.
There he is, dude.
Am I doing this thing wrong here?
Well, hold on.
I have two questions for you.
Did you do that on your phone or a laptop?
An iPad.
So that's definitely connected to Wi-Fi.
Then, yeah, there should be a little spot
that just says hang up or like leave.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And that'll end your call, but then just leave the web browser open.
Yeah, like on the iPad, if you're on Safari or Google Chrome, I imagine Google Chrome, just keep it open.
And if it doesn't download, we'll email you something.
We'll figure it out later.
We can just, like, send you a link and all you have to do is just open it.
It's a fucking pain in the ass.
But you can just click leave right now.
Yeah, yeah, perfect.
Perfect.
Yeah, yeah, we'll be good.
Yeah.
Later, but.
I'm just going to pick up from.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, perfect.
That's only better than the sharks.
Actually, it's the worst in the league.
That's just unacceptable.
And as we've seen a million times, it's like either you make a coaching change or you blow up the team.
You know, and it's like, trade everybody.
I'm like, we believe in Mike.
And I'm not even chirping.
Like, maybe they do.
I'm just saying it's either like you believe in Mike and the pieces are wrong or we believe
in the pieces and the coach something.
We need a new voice in the room.
And I'm hard pressed to think that the Pittsburgh.
Penguins are going to trade Malkin and Crosby and Letang and Carlson right now.
So you can't be in last place.
Yeah, I feel like we've spent a lot of times talking about the penguins and I don't want
to harp on it.
But I agree.
It just, it does feel like you've missed playoffs two years in a row.
Looks like you're going to miss it, a third year in a row.
I think Dubas is on the hot seat as far as I'm concerned.
I'm not saying Dubis is going to get fired.
I think it's too early for a GM to get fired.
Yep.
But I think pretty much every single decision Dubus has made has been wrong so far.
Or maybe not wrong.
That's harsh.
It just hasn't worked out.
But yeah, it just feels like, I mean, I don't know how much longer you can put up with what's going on in Pittsburgh.
I'm also not sure how much stock I put into this,
but there are a lot of people saying that Sullivan's just not going to get fired because he's the Four Nations Cup coach.
Oh, interesting.
And if that is the reason, I think that's really stupid.
What?
I think that's really stupid.
It's like, dude, give them more time to focus on four nations.
You're letting your team struggle for the sake of, what, optics?
Bananas.
That would be insane.
And the other one, obviously, we've talked about this too much.
I don't need to dig in is Andrew Burnett, 6, 10, and 3.
And again, we've said all this, not a trots guy.
Like, maybe the system's wrong for the offensive firepower you brought
in whatever.
But like we are now,
you need to,
you need a spark immediately.
If you're like,
Pittsburgh is not making plafs.
I don't give a fuck what they do.
Yeah.
The predators could make the plas.
You just need.
Seems crazy to say,
but I agree.
You just need a 180 right now.
Yeah.
So it's like something's got to,
something's got to go.
I don't believe Monty's on the hot seat.
I don't believe his seat is cold.
Is it cold if your job?
If you have job security,
is your seat cold?
That feels so shitty.
If you have a cold,
I think it's comfortable.
Thank God, dude.
Imagine having a cold butt.
That would suck.
At your job every day.
That would really suck.
I think Monty's seat is warm, but I don't think it's hot.
Okay.
And I think his is like barely warm.
And then Derek Lalonde.
Is it Lalonde?
Is that how you say it?
Derek Lalonde is warmer than Monty's?
Oh, I think definitely.
But I know, but I won't quite go hot.
Oh, I think I'm going to hot seat, Lalonde.
Okay.
Seven, nine and one?
It's the only reason I think they're not is because it's just such a hard division.
That's what I'm saying.
But you just can't be 7-9 and 1.
But do not drop below 500, dude.
Like that wings team, you just can't.
Yeah.
You're right.
I don't think he's going any time this year.
But they miss playoffs again, I think it's fair.
I like that.
It's going to be sketchy shit.
Can I do a mini dantrum?
Yeah.
And I'd put something else on the hot seat.
I'd love that.
This is something that's been bothering me for a while.
I'm putting tipping on the hot seat.
Oh, dude.
Yeah.
And I'm not talking about tipping.
Not Joey Pavlov.
Like Joe Pavelsky.
I'm talking about tipping on a bill in the United States.
This is about to, hey, strap in everybody.
This is about to get gnarly.
It's about to get gnarly.
And I know I'm positivity, Dan.
Not positive tipping.
So I don't want to be next.
negative here, but I do have, I've got some things to say.
Number one, we need to get rid of tipping where tipping does not belong.
I think tipping is stupid in general, but here's a good example.
You're like Dwight Shrewd.
Why would I tip someone for something that I'm perfectly capable of doing myself?
Who does he tip?
His urologist, because he cannot pulverize his own kidney stones, which is fair.
Here's the thing.
Great example.
I don't even drink coffee, but here's a good one.
You go to a Starbucks, you go to a coffee shop.
You walk up to the counter.
You order your coffee.
They take it.
They ask for your name.
They then swipe your card and flip the iPad screen.
And it says 20%, 18%, or like, I think sometimes it's 22%, 20%, 18%.
Dude, yeah.
You don't get a tip from me.
Yep.
For simply taking my order.
You are paid by that establishment.
Yep.
You did nothing.
You did nothing but take my order.
That does not get you a tip.
done like we're done here yeah that does not get you a tip so that one right there begins our
discussion about tipping here is what pisses me off about tipping these days and this is this is
I'm being very serious I want to start a movement here yeah and I feel that we should eliminate
tipping in general okay and places should just pay your employees a decent wage and give them
health insurance in a country where you need health insurance.
Okay.
So that should be get rid of tipping, pay them a good wage, and add, you know, X percent to every
bill because that takes care of their health insurance and we don't need tipping anymore.
Okay.
60 percent of every restaurant you've ever heard of is now out of business.
Restaurants scraping by as it is, Dave.
Scraping by as it is.
Can't find anyone to work here.
Paying waitresses three bucks an hour.
They're scraping by.
If you want them to pay the waitresses 20 bucks an hour, then now they can't.
I'll kindly ask you to not interrupt me again when I'm on a dance.
I just need you to know the facts.
Well, I think that there are plenty of restaurants here in L.A.
And across the globe, but let's just keep it to the U.S.
that do do this and they're doing great.
Okay.
Because you know why?
When you hire an employee and you go, hey, we don't do tipping here because we pay you more
and we add a percentage to every bill to take care of your health insurance.
So you have health insurance with this service job.
You hire good people who are like, oh, I'm going to take this job very seriously.
I'm not going to fucking bail.
and call out of work last minute because it's a good job.
But let's get back to basics here.
Tipping used to be built on the foundation of you get what you earn.
Right.
20% has become this bizarre standard where we all just go, yeah, I just, I tip 20% no matter what because I don't want to be an asshole, which I fall.
I'm a part of the problem.
I do that.
I will never, I never want to be known as a bad tipper.
So I will tip 20% at least.
However, I feel as though today's day and age, these kids, servers know that now, and they just expect it now.
They expect 20%.
So they do a shitty job.
And I just need us to get back to basics.
You get the tip that you deserve.
If you do a great job, if you make sure that our food is brought out at the same time, if you make sure that it's exactly what we ordered, if you're attentive,
to our needs without being annoying and pestering.
20% all day, baby.
Yep.
But when you do a shitty job at serving my food.
Is he doing a good job cleaning the pool, dude?
I should be able to go.
Here's a 5% tip.
You'd go as low as 5.
If they did a really bad job, all right, not without suing it.
I don't want to sewer anyone, but this past Sunday.
Yeah, nightmare.
Yeah, I was there.
You were there.
Unacceptable.
You were there?
Unacceptable.
We were at a bar in Culver City of Los Angeles.
I'm not going to say what bar.
And we were with four people.
We all ordered drinks and we ordered food.
Most of the drinks were not alcoholic.
Yeah.
They were Diet Coke's, Diet Coke's in iced tea.
It's also true.
Two separate times, our waitress, forgot our server.
forgot who ordered what beverage.
So a Diet Coke just never came out.
We had to go again, hey, by the way, can I get that?
When taking our food order, it went to the first person, you ordered.
Dude, this is actually iconic.
And I went like this.
I need a second.
I'm going to go last, please.
And she goes, okay, great.
Takes the other two people's order and then walks away.
Went to a new table.
We had to flag her down to be like this.
Hey, I didn't order.
She was like, oh, yeah, yeah, sorry about that.
Then the food came out and it just came out randomly.
I was done with my meal.
Cheese burger came out. You sat there like a polite man for 15 minutes.
Until it was cold. And then it was cold and we were like, dude, just eat. You ate and
finished your entire meal before my food came out. My entire cold burger was in my belly before
your food arrived. That person deserved 5%. If that. I was going to say zero. Is there a zero?
There should be a zero. And what pisses me off is it's going to take a, it's going to take a
tough period of explanation. When I go, here's 5%. There's going to be a time where a server
comes up to me and goes,
I'm sorry, why did I get such a bad tip?
And I reserve the right to go like this.
Oh, you did a horrible job.
You were bad at your job.
Therefore, you do not deserve a 20% tip.
I have with you.
Get your 20% tip when you fucking earn it.
I'm with you. And here's the thing, man.
I feel bad because I'm sure there's going to be a lot of people in the DMs,
a lot of people going, you don't understand, you don't know how hard servers have.
Yeah, I fucking do.
Did that job for all my.
a decade. And here's the thing, folks. It's pretty easy. It's not hard. It is not a hard job.
Does it get busy sometimes? Sure. It is not a hard fucking job. And if it's too hard for you,
I understand, do something else. Because here's the thing.
The world needs plenty of janitors. Standard 20% tip, it's got to go. We are done here.
This is a movement. We're starting it right now on the empty netters podcast. Tipping 20% is no longer
standard. Tip 20%
if they fucking deserve it. And if they
don't, feel comfortable. You've got a stamp
of approval from your boy Dan out here.
Feel comfortable tipping 15.
Feel comfortable tipping 10.
If they sucked at their job,
don't tip them 20%
because they don't fucking deserve it.
And when you go back to that place and they
spit in your food, why would you go back
to that place? Good point. Good point.
This is what I said at the bar. I said at this bar
yesterday. I am putting this place on my
shit list. I'm not coming back here anymore. The service
is fucking terrible.
Yep.
Solved.
Let's move on.
The pound on it, Dan.
Pound on it.
I already did.
Oh, okay.
I don't want to over pound.
Yeah.
We are doing a emergency pod segment right now.
Crazy shit happened today.
As some of you know, we record the pod on Mondays.
And here's the deal.
Tuesday came with a lot of news.
A lot of shit went down.
So we had to get back in the lab on our, on our Zoom.
recording here and we're doing it because some shit happened we're going to start right off
the bat with the huge elephant in the room the Boston Bruins have officially fired coach Jim
Montgomery.
Chris, Chris, was Sacco the assistant or the assistant coach?
I think it's assistant.
As what you say, yeah.
Sacco has been named interim head coach.
So guy who's been with the organization since the mid-2010s want to give a quick,
Huge shout out to our boy Mike Grinnell.
He was all over this.
I think it was last week.
He said at the first sign of trouble, Montgomery's going to get fired, and Sacco's
going to be given the job.
Well, here we go.
Joe Sacco has been named interim head coach of the Boston Bruins.
Jim Montgomery fired.
How do we feel?
How's that?
How's that?
His seats only warm take, CP, that you all literally just heard me talking about on Monday.
And now, granted, he hadn't lost to the Lou Jacket at 6-1 yet.
So, you know, I want to give myself a little bit of a break here.
But, dude, it's...
Do me a favor, dude.
Tilt that computer screen down.
I can barely see you.
How's this?
That's better, dude.
That's way better.
That's way better.
Hey, honey, did you get the presents I mailed to you?
The...
I am going to sound like an idiot here, maybe, per usual.
but that was not the problem and I know it's like how many times do you get called a horse
before you get fit for a saddle type situation where the data speaks like I think in the pod
that is out that people are listening to for this one we're talking about the Matthews thing
where we're like the numbers don't lie dude if you're winning without the guy then it's something
you know so I'm I'm I don't want to be that moron that's just not listening to data
but I take no issue with anything Jim Montgomery has done during did during his Boston tenure
he coached a team to the best regular season record of all time and then oh my God he blew a
three-run lead in the first round that was against an absolute wagon team who went to the cup
that year won the dude it's not a good loss you're up three-one
But it's like that was, turns out, that was what happened this year to Dallas, Vegas.
Like that first round matchup was the two best teams in the East, period.
And we lost in seven.
Should you have won?
Yes.
Were you up three one?
Yes, all that shit.
But that was the Eastern Conference Finals and you lost in seven.
So in my mind, he lost in Eastern Conference Finals in year one.
This is a total spin zone, but you hear my point.
And then the next year, we're almost wire to wire first on a team that none of us thought were good.
I picked to damn near missed the playoffs.
He got so much out of it.
of them beat a better than us
Leafs team in the first round and then lost to the
cup champions in six.
And then this year, yeah, all hell breaks loose
but all hell I think is broken loose
due to Marshy's not 100%.
Pasta's not 100%. Swayman's fucking
contract got all fucked up. Like it was an
off, you've said it a million times. It was an offseason of
hell from hell. And
yeah, this is a nightmare and it's
unacceptable. We're eight and nine
with fucking
20 games, eight, nine and whatever. You know, it's not
good. But I just don't
take any issue with this, dude. This is, if anything, this is like the first hiccup. Usually it's
like, okay, dude, hey, slap on the wrist. We've got to be better. Like, this is the first sign of
trouble at all from this guy, in my opinion. And they're like, you're fucking fired. I was like,
bro, that is insanity. Yeah, I mean, I, I don't disagree. I think that the president's trophy year
lost to Florida is unacceptable. I know that Florida was a wagon and then they did go to the
Stanley Cup and then they went right back and won it, which means that,
They are a fantastic team, but you're up three one.
You had chances at home.
You just can't lose that.
But they go back the next year, have another great year.
They win against a tough Toronto team.
They take that Florida team to six that goes on and wins the cup.
People who are like last year was a failure too, I'm a little bit scratch in my head.
Like, what are you talking about?
That's insane.
That's insane.
You're without Bergeron.
You're without Craichy.
You go to the second round and you lose to the Stanley Cup champions in six.
Like that is not a failure of a year.
So there's a lot of hardo Bruins fans online right now who are being like, you know,
times up for Montgomery, blah, blah, blah.
I think you're so wrong on that.
I think Montgomery is a phenomenal coach.
I think the boys love them.
I will say being a fan of this team, watching the Boston Bruins, I don't know what the
hell is going on.
There is a definite element of just lackluster performance.
And it looks like they're just, they're dejected.
They're out of it.
Yeah.
They do not.
They do not look like they are dialed into the season right now.
We've got two instances now of Marshaun and Montgomery yapping at each other on the bench.
I don't know what's being said in those moments, but you never like to see that.
So the boys definitely do need to get their shit together.
They need to get a kick in the ass.
And that's what this move is.
We talked about it last year when Edmonton made a coaching change.
it's it's not always the coach's fault sometimes it's barely the coach's fault at all it's just
the easiest acts to swing to quote myself and i think it's fucking bullshit i i really do i think
montgomery's going to get hired immediately if he wants and my take cp is i wouldn't be surprised
if we see a windfall of coaching changes come up within the next week or two because of he's available
yeah if you're if you're the detroit redwings if you're the nashville predators if you are the
Pittsburgh Penguins, who just had another brutal loss tonight. It's Wednesday night or Tuesday
night to Tampa Bay. There's a chance that they go, Jim Montgomery's fucking available out of
nowhere. We got to make a change right now so we can make him an offer. And you never know.
You don't, if you're a coach, you get fired. You don't necessarily want to jump right back
into a team. You want to take a second. Think about your shit. There's a chance Montgomery
takes the season off. I just think he's such a good coach. He's going to get hired. And it's
It's all about what he wants because this felt like a just ruthless crazy firing to me.
I know something had to change, but like we say all the time, we don't want to talk about anyone's job.
We don't want to say someone should get fired.
But if we're being harsh and looking at the situation, I think the wrong person was fired here in Boston.
I really do.
You don't want to talk about any players on that team, but there's a chance that certain players were brought in that necessarily aren't the best.
fit. There are just things that they're doing. This is something that that always grinds my gears.
People talk about the ups and downs in Providence. You want to talk about Murculov getting his first
two games of the season in the last two. Way too late as far as I'm concerned. Some of the guys
who've been brought up and down, Lysel has still not been given a single fucking chance. He was
supposed to be the starting second line right wing. He hasn't got a single game this year yet.
That is not Jim Montgomery's fucking call. He does not make that decision.
So when we keep saying that clip of ours that went viral,
Monty's doing what he can with what he's given.
And it's just, you know, it's tough.
Like there's that Bill Parcell's quote that's like,
if someone comes home with shitty, you know, ingredients,
shitty vegetables from the grocery store,
you can't expect to make a good, a good meal.
And it's, it's just, I think that this is incredibly unfair.
And, you know, it happens.
I'm not going to sit here and bitch.
I know it sounds like I've been bitching,
but I feel for Jim Montgomery.
I think he's a phenomenal coach.
I think the stats,
that stats prove it.
What is it?
He's like the third best winning percentage ever in his tenure with Boston.
And I just, yeah, if I were him,
I would have felt blindsided by this.
And it's just ruthless.
You know, we tweeted out the insane stat that in Cam Neely's tenure
as vice president and or president of the Boston Bruins,
This is now the third Jack Adams winning coach he's fired.
And, you know, there are a couple hardos who were like, Jack Adams coach or Jack Adams
winners gets fired all the time.
And I'm like, sure, dude.
But three, three in like, three in less than 20 years feels a little fucking crazy to me.
And it's it's just, you're right.
Like this is the first sign of trouble.
And, and I'm just shocked that it is, this is what's going on.
Like the Jacobs family, just looking at Neely and.
Sweeney and being like, yep, keep making the calls, boys.
Everything's looking great.
I'm just blown away.
There's no other way to have immediate effect or immediate impact.
Like the coach change, you can be like, oh, the boys have a spark now.
If Don Sweeney got fired, today if the announcement was like Don Sweeney's out, I don't
know that you see the impact.
Right.
So like, oh, out on the ice, there's the boys that way more jump.
It's a new system.
They're here in Montemort.
Like, it just doesn't work like that.
So in season shit with fucking in season panic buttons.
which is what this is, is either the coach,
or it is like a massive overhaul of like,
let's trade marshy and, you know, blah, blah, blah.
And like, you need a willing partner for that.
It just wasn't going to happen.
The coach, the coach goes because it's a fucking panic button,
which is exactly what this is.
And the fact that this Bruins team coming in,
Dan, I'm actually kind of just processing this in real time right now,
I spent, and I know you did too,
I spent all of last year salivating over this Bruin season.
Yeah.
The Bruins front office gets all that cap space to play with.
They get this foundation to build on.
I can't wait for the 2024-25 Bruins.
And what do we have, dude?
A nuclear fucking meltdown that just got the coach fired and you might miss playoffs.
And I'm like, and we called it, man, you know, people listening right now, say whatever the fuck you want to say, I don't care anymore.
The Swamen situation was a fumble by the front office and it was a fumble all the way back in May.
It's just, it is what it is.
Like May, June, you fucked up.
You dragged this out and it fucked with the whole team.
It is so clear that it is fucked with the whole team.
And the wrong guy got fired.
It's just that that's how I feel.
And frankly, I can't believe that there are fans who feel differently,
but that's the beauty of sports.
Yeah, I think the big questions are that I have for you.
Do you think Sacco makes a difference?
Do you think that, you know, this is enough of a change up?
It's just, it's crazy to me to hear Sweeney and Neely say, say these comments like, we need a big mix-up.
And then they fire Montgomery, which is a fucking laugh riot.
And then they go, and the assistant coach is now the head coach.
Yep.
I want to, I think, no, what sucks is Joe and I, and I, we know his son a little bit, like there's a great, great, um, Bruins legacy family, right?
It's been there a long time.
And I think the-sack was a great coach.
Yeah, and he's run the penalty kill.
And the penalty kill's been so good over the years.
And it's actually not very good this year, but you know,
nothing was good for the first 20 games here.
Do I think he's smart?
Hell yeah. Do I think the boys trust him?
Hell yeah.
Is he literally, literally just a new voice?
Yes.
So maybe, and maybe it's the fucking Oilers thing.
Like, you know, I never know who's telling the truth,
but McDavid said a million times.
Woodcroft, it wasn't his fault.
You know, he was like, it's, that wasn't the issue.
And I'm sure the boys right now in Boston are saying,
that wasn't the issue.
But sometimes this is, this is,
a slap in the face where you're like, Jesus Christ, dude, we're embarrassing ourselves. So if he does
make a difference, and this is, I don't even mean this as a disrespectful comment to Joe, if he does
make a difference, I don't think it's because Joe's a way better coach and blah, blah, blah. I just
think it's because of the boys are like, yo, we got to try harder, I guess, or something.
Got to respond. Yeah. Yeah, it sucks. It's one of those things. You know, it's interesting.
You just said he's a new voice. I don't even think he's a new voice. He's the same voice in a different
role. And it's like, you know, maybe that works. But, you know, maybe it doesn't. And what's
interesting is if it doesn't work, I don't think it's on Sacco. And if it does work, I don't think
it's 100% credit to Sacko, like you just said. And what really pisses me off, you know,
we said this about the Oilers last year as well. It's like, if this does work and the boys
snap into it, part of me feels like, and you know, who knows, we're not in that locker. Maybe
it is. Maybe I don't think it is at all, but maybe it is all because of the Montgomery switch
up. But if it's literally just a matter of the boys woke up, like they got a kick in the pants and
they're like, holy shit, guys. Like, we can't be fucking around.
like this. It makes you want to be like, are you fucking serious guys? You got this guy fired.
You came out fucking moping and pouting and you sucked through 20 games and you got a guy fired who's been nothing but nails for you.
And perfect for this team. And it makes me sick, dude. It does. Yeah. So, you know, I suppose in closing, two big things for me is I'm very interested to see what happens with the other coaching carousel. The other guys in the hot seat that we mentioned does this.
instigate a, oh shit, like maybe we should look to get some people, you know, or excuse me,
maybe we look to make some moves so we can get Montgomery.
So we'll keep an eye on that.
And then the other one is just like, what happens next in Boston, dude?
Because, you know, you're right.
It's they are cap strapped.
And you wonder if the next 20 games go similar.
And one of these teams like Ottawa, Detroit, Buffalo, they,
take that step up and they're like,
we are the fourth team in the Atlantic and you're missing playoffs.
You got Brad Marchand is about to be a UFA.
You know,
you've got some guys on these contracts that are like,
well,
if this team ain't doing it,
there might be serious moves made.
So big eyeballs on Boston for the next 20 games,
no doubt about it.
Absolutely.
Let's give the people a few minutes on OV2.
Yes,
quick discussion on Alex of Etchkin.
We've been,
I mean,
this episode,
you'll see as we'll see as we,
We jump back in.
Top of the app.
We talk about him.
We talk about him more later.
He's just been absolutely on fire.
And then Monday night, he's just buzzing, scoring from his office, looking amazing.
And then gets in a leg-on-leg, knee-on-ne-on-k collision with McBain in Utah,
goes down to the ice, helped off the ice.
He came back, skated around a little bit, but he left.
The team has said he is going to be out on a week-to-week basis.
Now, I don't want to break any news here.
our sources who have always been very trusted to us say things aren't great with OVie.
The hope is it is still week to week, but it looks like it is a not insignificant injury.
So time will be missed.
And our guess is something like four to six weeks.
Now, that's not a disaster.
But, you know, when I tweeted out, you know, it's not what you want to hear.
If it's people are saying, you know, well, if it's still week to week, to week,
week, why isn't it something you want to hear? And I'll say the answer is because if it is something
like, you know, a significant injury, not just a strain, not just a knock, you worry about the
repercussions. You worry about the lingering injury and then the recovery time. If it's something that's
just like, yeah, I got a knock. I need two weeks off. A lot of guys can just bounce right back.
It's just like a rest. But if it's like an injury, injury and now you need to recover and you
need to get back.
Oh,
fuck me,
man.
It just felt like he was
scoring 50 easy.
It was crazy.
Breaking the record
and leading this
Caps team to like,
very possibly Chris,
a fucking met first place.
Yeah.
And then like maybe a cup run here.
So you just hate to see a Vetchkin
at his age go down with an injury.
It fucking sucks.
Shit,
shit play.
And I don't mean shitty play.
Just like complete shit luck.
I'm not even going to,
we have been told what we think
it might be I thought it was something else at first.
I'm not even going to get into that shit.
I'm gutted for all the OV betters that were like hammering that over because I was like,
dude, I would.
I can't believe I didn't take this and this is the exact thing you didn't want to see
happen.
I almost feel like I jinxed it because I kept saying like barring injury.
He's easily breaking it this year.
I know.
You didn't jinx it.
I'm not putting that on you.
Everybody was saying that.
Everyone's saying that.
I'm hopeful that we know what health.
OVee can do still.
So however long this takes, I'm hopeful that he will come back.
He'll take long enough to make sure he comes back healthy OV and will just be this hot again.
And, dude, can you imagine, dude, if he misses like four weeks and then he comes back and like goes nuclear and does it in like the last two games of the season?
He could still do it, dude.
We'll see how we'll see the timeline.
I'm a little worried.
But it doesn't matter.
nightmare scenario for him.
Capitals fans, I wouldn't lose your shit yet.
I think you've got a good squad and you're going to be okay.
And, you know, just hope he gets back.
Hope the boys can rat.
Hope this something.
Maybe they needed this, Dan.
Maybe they needed this.
I will put an end to it on this one.
You can't do it on this one.
You cannot.
Because you know what?
You know what makes me sad, Chris, is like he's the captain.
You're already down O'Shee.
he's the captain. He's playing well.
He's playing balanced, like we said.
He had 13 goals and 10 assists.
He's got guys like Stromer going.
So I am worried.
If I were a Caps fan, obviously, you lose Ovi.
You're like, fuck me.
I agree I'm not panicking, but I'm like,
fuck, this isn't good.
And that just sucks.
So hoping, hoping, hoping big time
that this is a super speedy recovery.
Yep. Same.
All right. Let's get back into the normal episode.
That was our emergency insert,
because breaking news needs to be addressed.
Let's move on and let's get into some power rankings.
We're going to do a new segment.
We actually did this during the playoffs,
but we're going to bring into some regular season action.
It's the powers rankings.
Dan and I are going to tell you the five best teams in the league right now, in order,
and we can't get out of this segment until we agree.
Dan, it's not just about points.
It's not just about stats or plus-minus,
and it's also not just about gut feeling.
It's about all of those things.
in a crock pot simmering, and you got a stew going now.
Now you got a stew.
Can we agree the Jets are one, or are we not even going to agree on that before we get into this?
I think we can.
I know they've stumbled a bit lately.
No, no, no.
Yeah.
But I just still think the Jets are the best team in the league right now.
It doesn't matter to me.
I think the Jets were going to go at one, but I am going to say Florida is a close second.
Oh, I'm not even sure I have them too.
You're fucking so dumb, dude.
It's just a little bit of, like we said,
Bob's been a tiny bit leaky.
Sure.
Who do you have two?
Carolina.
They've just been scorching.
Dude, Carolina fans are so cocky and horny right now.
I know, I know.
It's ridiculous.
All over me, all over me in Hockey Talk Sunday.
They've been in the DMs.
Can you give them flowers?
We just stroked off Marty Natchez for 30 minutes last episode.
I don't know what more you want.
Carolina is sick, but like I told you, I'm done with,
I'm done with regular season Carolina Hurricanes.
Until they got a superstar,
which someone is playing with a superstar.
It doesn't matter.
I don't give a fuck.
I'm done with regular season Carolina Hurricanes.
They're always good.
They're always a contender.
Everyone always goes,
don't sleep on the hurricanes.
Hurricane fans goes,
we're always getting disrespected.
And then what happens?
You fucking get swept in the conference finals every year.
Fair.
By the way, they're in this,
they're in this power.
I'm going to say, yeah.
But I'm just, I'm done.
You can be done.
They just deserve to be in there.
I'm done stroking them off.
Okay, so you want Florida two, I want Keynes two.
Would you go Keynes three?
Absolutely.
Because I think I had Florida three.
Okay, I'll give you that win for now.
Okay.
I think you're still having tantrum, dantrum residuals.
No, I'm just, it's accountability.
Yeah, yeah.
So Jets.
Panthers, Cains.
And now, ones that are interesting to me,
I love New Jersey, I love Minnesota, I love Vegas.
I love Minnesota and Vegas more than I like Jersey.
and I got a sneaky one.
Oh, maybe the caps.
I love the Caps. I love the Rangers.
And I know, no, I don't think they're in this right now.
I don't think so either.
And I also love the fucking Leafs, dude.
Yeah.
Which is fucked, but I love it.
I love the Leafs.
I'm going to be honest, though.
I think Tampa's better than the Leafs.
No, come on.
Dude, the Leafs are 11, 6, and 2.
Tampa is 9 6 and 2.
They have three games in hand.
Yep.
But they've got to win them, though.
Sure.
Just saying.
Leifes want them all.
Um, okay, I think I'd even go wild for.
Mm-hmm.
So it's like wild, for me, it's wild Vegas.
Dallas, dude, Dallas.
Oh, my God.
I don't know, dude.
You're wasting the listeners time here with all this research and dead air.
You got to just, you got to add the gut in here.
Yep.
Okay.
Give me wild four.
Okay.
Fourth best team league right now.
I can agree on that.
And then fifth, I'm, I'm either Vegas, caps, or Toronto.
And that's it.
Yeah.
See, I love Vegas.
I think they had a tough, tough loss last night, was it?
Yeah, yeah, they got pumped, I think.
Yeah, yeah, to Washington.
Washington, like, honestly, to me, like Washington might get the edge up over them
because of that OV hat trick and pumping.
Yeah, so Washington 12, 4 and 1, 735 win percentage.
God, that's actually so stark.
Cappies are five.
Caps.
We've been talking a lot about the Cappies for a good reason.
not going to skimp over them. I fucking love that. We're going caps at five. Jets, Panthers,
Cains. Jets, Panthers, Cains, Wild. Wild Caps. That is our powers ranking best five teams in
the league right now. Can I ask you something about the Leafs here? Of course. Austin Matthews
last two games, he's because he's missed six right now, are a four two loss to the blues on the road,
no points dash one, and then a two one OT loss to the wild on the road, tough game. He had an
assist plus one. Since he's been out, 4-0-0-home win versus the Bruins, 3-1-home win
versus the Wings, 4-1-home win versus the Habs, 3-0-Loss versus the Senators, 4-3-O-T-win on
the road versus the Caps, very tough game, 4-3-O-T-win at home versus the Oilers.
Dude, so let me interrupt you. Yep. We talked about this last year.
I was sorry about to say that. We did a whole segment on this, and I actually addressed it on
hockey talk yesterday. We started this narrative, like this is our fault, but it's now being talked
about by very serious Big J. Journos. And for that, I apologize to the world. Like, we started this
stupid narrative. But unfortunately, the numbers don't lie. The Toronto Maple Leafs have a better record
without Austin Matthews in the lineup. That's not a take. That's a fact. Now, does that mean they are
better without him? No. They do. However, unfortunately,
win more games than they lose.
So it's something, all I'm saying is this, it's something to think about.
Like if you are the Toronto Maple Leafs, truly, I'm being very serious.
Tree Living, Barube, you should look at how you're playing without him and figure out what's
going on and then figure out how to implement him back in the lineup while keeping whatever
vibes you've got going on when he's out.
Because unfortunately, they are literally statistically.
better when he's not on the X. Exactly. So it's easy to say this is stupid because Austin Matthews is
fucking nasty and he should be, you want him on your team a billion fucking times out of time.
100%. And shout out Bill Simmons, OG older listeners that liked the sports guy back in the day. We'll
remember this. He coined this phrase the Uing effect, the Patrick Ewing effect. And it was that the Knicks were
better when Patrick Ewing wasn't in, even though he was the best player in the league. Or, you know,
Jordan was in the league, but like he was one of the best players in the league. And it's because,
according to Bill, they played up, everyone stepped up.
They were like, we don't have Patrick Ewing.
And I'm not even sure.
Maybe it was what's happening in the playoffs when he was out,
because it was like the playoffs.
It's the Bruins.
Like, we got to fucking go, boys.
We don't have Matthews.
It's, I'm hard pressed to think in the regular season with Matthews out.
The boys are like, we got to step up.
But it is they just play differently.
And I don't even saying harder.
I'm just like, maybe they pass it more.
Maybe they're not looking to get Matthews the puck all the time, whatever.
I don't know.
I don't watch Leafs games intently enough to be like, here's the microscopic difference without.
But I'm so with you, dude, in that.
And for the million time,
You want Matthews.
I love him.
He's one of my favorite players in the league.
Something is different when he's out
that you need to figure out what that is
and translate it to when he's in.
100% because this is not fake.
Do you think he's a puck hog?
No, and like I know
we're Kipper, everybody's talking about like...
69 goals.
But I don't think he's a puck hog.
I just think he shoots.
You know what I mean?
I think there's a difference.
Like some guys are like holding it, holding it.
It's like, move the puck, dude.
he's not holding it he's just because it's on his stick and it's on the now but maybe he's
maybe he's being like pass me the fucking pocket but I'm hard pressed to get mad about that because
he scores 70 fucking goals yeah but then they lose every year they lose every year they lose every year
but I mean they had the last three seasons I think the leaps have broke their franchise win record
in the regular season too you know hang the banner dude hang the banner and they made the second round
hang the banner so he's doing something good yeah um but yeah there's it's it's not ignorable in my
you. Yeah, that's what sucks.
It's like, obviously we're doing a bit here, but like it is, unfortunately, you can't ignore
it anymore. It's wild. And I don't mean to say like, you got to keep him out of the lineup,
but you do need to address it maybe. Be like, hey, why are we winning when he's out and losing?
What's happening? Why we play differently? It's absolutely crazy.
Let's go on from our best teams right now to our best lineup right now.
Yep. Starting six, left wing. I'm going to start with Mace.
Mason Marchment.
I love it, Dan.
Mason Marchment, four goals, five,
says nine points in three games.
We actually picked Marchment in our huge parlay of goal scores to pick 20 this year.
Started really slow.
Yeah.
Really slow.
And I was like, shit, because he's playing great.
If you're watching Stars games, he's all over the ice, he's playing really well.
I love this line of him, Sags, and Dutchie.
They're just like gritty.
Like they're gritty.
And they're weirdly flashy sometimes.
So is Sagan.
Yep.
And now all of a sudden, Marchman's woken up.
Like I just said, nine points in those three games.
He's all over the place, and I love this fucking Dallas team.
One thing we almost went here was Miko Ranton, also having a great week.
And I wanted to ask you, Dan, because I looked this up, Nate 33, KL25, Moose 25.
Those three players account for 49% of the Aves points this year.
Yeah.
And I felt that the Aves were top-heavy, especially going to the playoffs the last couple years.
And that's what's cost them.
I'm really interested to see
Landy back on the ice
the Choo Choo Train.
Mind right. Mind right. Mind right.
Mind right. Mind right back.
Seeing Landy skating just brought me so much joy.
Ross telling us feeling better. Get in there.
Yep.
If that scoring can spread out
and I'm not even saying those guys slow down.
I'm just saying as long as you don't get to go
let's just take away that first line and we'll be fine.
Yeah.
The abs are a fucking problem.
100%.
I still think goalie is an issue.
Yep.
And you know what?
I've realized so much, this kind of goes back into me bitching and moaning about the canes.
I am such a goalie slut.
Yeah.
Like I thought I was.
I know, well, you're into protecting our goalies, which I respect.
I am just, I'm such a goalie slut in the sense that I don't believe in anyone who doesn't
have a good goalie.
I really don't.
Yeah.
They can surprise you, but you're not buying it.
And, well, I'm like, yeah, you'll play great all regular season, but I just think in the playoffs, I'm like, I'm not, I'm never going to buy stock in you.
And obviously, we've got a couple examples of teams winning a cup in the last 10, 20 years who didn't have a great goalie.
But I just think we have more examples of teams winning with a great goalie.
So I'm just like, I'm sorry, I'm never going to buy you.
And I just think that's hurting Colorado.
And ironically, they're one of the teams that want, like, I think Kemper's great.
But like, Kemper's not a top five goalie in the league.
He's not a top eight goalie in the league.
So it's just always something that holds me back with these teams.
They're going to be great.
There's another part of me that thinks like when you have,
what would you say, 44% of your goals on 49?
Yeah.
Jesus.
And like two, three guys.
That's not great, but I'm also like, well, people can wake up in playoffs.
Like if you're going to finish first or second in your division,
I don't give a fuck who's scoring playoffs, it does need to spread out.
Yeah.
It's just like that is not sustainable in playoffs.
But as we know, playoffs is a different beast.
Starting center, our boy Jacko, the Shrimp King himself.
Six-game point streak, 12 points is the last 5, 27 points on the year,
fifth most in the league.
But, Dan, I don't even want to talk about Jack.
I do want to talk about Mark Stone missed his fifth straight game Sunday with a lower body injury.
There's no timetable on his return.
You said before the season started that this Vegas team is no longer deep enough to survive injuries from their top players.
They're currently still in first.
How long can they survive this?
Well, I think we just saw they got pee-p-wacked by the caps last night, 5-2.
OV Patty.
And those are the games.
That was at home, by the way, in Vegas.
Never lose it home.
Those are the games where I'm like,
there you go.
So, I mean, certainly not long.
Like if Stone is out until post-deadline.
Dude, you hate with Stone, it's always the like,
we don't know.
LBI is fucking wrong with you, dude, every time.
And I'm also a big defender of him.
Like, he is hurt.
Like, he's actually hurt.
Like, what do you have a lacerated spleen last time?
Part of me wants to.
to be like, are you okay, dude?
I just want, I just want the guy to break his foot once so they can go six weeks.
Or, or how about this?
Don't do that.
Yeah, or stay healthy.
Don't get hurt.
Like, why are you always getting hurt?
Now, that's not a knock on him.
It's like, it's our boy, Osh, too.
I'm like, stop putting your body on the line so much, dude.
It's a hat-side place.
Maybe fucking Flamingo one time.
Don't block that shot.
Don't finish that check.
Stay healthy for me.
Fucking Christ.
These guys, it's too much.
Stop fucking getting hurt.
Yep.
So, yeah, it makes me nervous.
nervous. We talked about him earlier, starting right wing, Marty Natchez. Just nothing you can say.
The guy is, is absolutely insane. He's been playing a bit of center too. Sure, whatever, whatever.
But he is fucking nasty. 10 goals, 17 assists during this streak, 27 points. I mean,
20. So sick. The 13 game points like they're 11 and 2. And he's filth.
He's going, I mean, again, barring injury, he's going to shatter his career high. I think it was 71 points.
Yeah.
How do you think he goes?
I think he gets 90 this year.
He goes and go Hyundai?
Oh, you never know.
Things happen.
That's what I'm asking?
I'm saying 90.
90's my number.
Okay.
I think he's getting 90.
That's where I'm like, I'm guaranteeing he gets 90.
Yeah.
Wow.
I might go Hyundai.
Go for it.
No.
Well, yeah, I'll go Hyundai.
Yeah, go for it.
Jarvie's out.
I think he's picking up some slap with Jarvie out.
That's why I paused.
I was like, well, he spent those goals out.
He just looks so good.
And so does Carolina.
You know, like we're teasing earlier, but like they look so great.
And they're also just getting production from guys that you don't expect.
Yep.
And that is fucking sick.
Sick.
Left D.
We're going Rasmus Dahlene.
We wanted to say this guy's name all year, Dan.
Finally got him there.
He's got a six-game point streak, during which he has nine points.
He scored a goal in four of his last five games, including three of three straight.
Yeah.
He's up to five goals on the year, which is only behind K.L. in goals.
He's on pace for 73 points, which is tie his career high.
Um, they need them, obviously.
And I was thinking when I saw that he was being really productive, and I know Tage has been
out, but I was like, I have Buffalo been streaking it all?
And I wanted to check.
And they did win a couple games.
But I was looking at it.
And it's like the senators, it's, here's, Dan, Bruins, 500, exactly.
Senators, 19 games 500.
Senators, 17 games, 500.
Sabers, 18 games, 472.
Wing, 17 games 441.
That's win percentage.
It's just like, it's a, it's a product of it's a tough,
division, it's a crowded division, but it's also massively, varying from massively to slightly
underperforming for all, right? And at this point, with the way the Mets shaken out and how bundled
this is, I'm like, only one of you is getting in. I even made the joke the other week, not,
not joke that, like, maybe there's so much collateral damage in the Atlantic that none of them
fucking get in. But those four teams, gun to your head, bang, you're dead, which one makes
the playoffs? Bruins make it. And that's not biased because I'm so. Yeah.
You know, I, my emotions have been ripped out of my body.
I know, dude. God damn.
The reason I think it's the Bruins is because I think goalie slut.
Yep.
At the end of the day, Jeremy Swainman is the best goalie of those four teams.
Yep.
And I think Jeremy Swainman figures it out.
I think the reality of the Bruins is, and a calamitous offseason and a calamitous camp has hurt, not just sway, but the entire team.
Yep. And there's a lot of missteps from everyone.
All right. I need to talk to you guys about one of our awesome partners, Ricky Spirits.
Okay. Ricky is changing the game. And I'm talking day drinking. I'm talking night drinking.
The whole works, whatever you want. They're giving consumers a premium spirit-based drink.
And it's vodka or tequila. Okay. So it doesn't matter. I'm a vodka guy.
D.P's the tequila, tequila guy. They got eight awesome flavors.
So when I'm doing the vodka, I can dabble in some lemon. I can dabble in some lime, some black
cherry, but cranberry. Cranberry sneaky, my favorite. It's incredible. And then tequila,
they get lime, they got pineapple, they got grapefruit, and even I can get down with a tequila
grapefruit, and they've got a new watermelon, tequila watermelon. Way do you guys see the can? It's
actually the coolest looking can I've ever seen, and I get compliments on it when I'm drinking
it at a party, so you need to get on board of that at the very least. But Ricky is 7% ABV. There's
1.5 shots per can. Come on. This is how we ramp up our night. This is how we ramp up our days.
So next time you're craving a beverage, craving an alcoholic drink, I need you to go find yourself a Ricky because they're my most fun party accessory right now.
Follow along at Ricky Spirits, at Friday beers, and you'll see all the action because we're doing cool giveaways.
They're doing parties with us, doing big events with us.
It's an awesome partnership, and I need you guys to get involved.
So go find some Rickies near you.
You know what time it is on the pod when I'm pulling out my chomps.
It is snack time on the Empty Netters podcast.
And this one is my favorite one.
They have so many flavors.
Chomps hooked us up.
They got original.
They got taco seasoning.
They got barbecue.
This one, sea salt.
And it's just like, God, you know,
just the hint of sea salt changes the game and everything with things like this for me.
And that's why Choms is the perfect snack.
It's 10 to 12 grams of protein, zero sugar, 100% grass-fed finished beef.
This thing makes my life so much easier.
We're flying around the studio, always on the move, traveling to cities for NHL games.
games. We're all over the place. These get me, you should see my travel bag. When I go through
TSA, the guy's like, excuse me, sir, how come your bag's overweight and stuffed full of
the perfect snack imaginable? And I'm like, because I'm on the road 24-7, dude, I need perfect
zero sugar, 10 to 12 grams protein snacks with me all the time. They're coming out of every zipper in
my backpack. It's amazing. Okay. So this is the thing. If you guys are living that healthy
lifestyle like DP and I are and we're trying to stay active on the road while eating right. This is the
absolute perfect snack you need to add to your life. If you go to www.champs.com
slash empty netters, you can find out more where you can get them, all the different flavors,
all the different ways that chomps can change your life. This thing right here,
I do not leave home without it, and that's a fact. But I stand by. I think Bruins management
made the biggest mistakes there, and I think it's hurting the team currently. I also think
there are too many veterans on that team to let things get fully out of control. I also think
there's too many expectations for that team for ownership and management to not do anything.
Yep.
And the bigger one is when I look at those four teams, who is the least susceptible to going on a skid,
like Detroit did last year.
Sure, I like to say.
Seven games skid.
Garbage patch.
Oscar the Grouch.
Yep.
The Bruins will not do that.
I really don't think as bad as things will get for the Bruins.
I don't think they're going to go on a streak where they lose five in a row.
six in a row. They are the type of team
that's like they lose two shit games and they're like this get it to
fucking get them and then they win.
And I just imagine, if it's
of the four of them, I imagine the Bruins will
stop the bleeding better than the rest of them.
That's why I think it's right. I love the take Dan and I agree with you.
Can you give me who would be your number two
if I made you a percentage chance
of them? Honestly,
dude?
Buffalo. Really? Okay,
cool. I like it.
And I just, and I
genuinely really love.
It's so weird how many teams in the Atlantic I love.
Yeah.
And I mean, I'm not saying, I know.
I think they're good teams.
I'm like this.
I love their fan bases.
I love their, I love their teams.
I love the guys on the teams.
Something about Buffalo.
I really like UPL.
There's just something about Buffalo that feels like they're used to this.
Yeah.
They know it.
They know how to live in the sewer.
Dude, they, you're so right, but they are.
They're just so still.
They're so Buffalo.
Like literally Dan,
61 goals for 61 goals again, zero goal.
Like, I swear to God, I dropped Buffalo in the sewer years ago,
and I went to see how they're doing,
and they're just still covered in slime,
and they're like, yo.
And I'm like, oh, dude.
Like, what the fuck, dude?
Have you not climbed out?
But, dude, they live in the swamp.
If there's anyone who can get out of it,
it might be that.
Yeah.
For me, it's Ottawa for the Olmark thing,
where I'm like,
they've given up the least amount of goals of those four teams.
They haven't, you know,
they're not scoring.
much, which is why they're still middling them on 500.
But I just think they are like, they're scrapping.
They're like, we're showing a little fight in you.
I like, God.
All those teams are great.
Yep.
Finally on right D.
Cale.
It's boring.
I hate to say it.
Hold on.
It's not Cale.
So let's just start that again because he's actually been bad last five games.
Oh, Dougie.
Yeah, okay.
Sorry.
Finally on right D.
We're going Dougie Hamilton, dude.
Six points in his.
last five. The only two games he didn't have a point, Devil's got shut out, so that's not on him.
He's a minus two on the year, though. And I don't like that. Same. I don't like that. I've been
hard on Dougie in this team. I think this devil's team, I really love this devil's team right now.
How do you feel about the devil so far? I love them. In fact, I think they are, for me personally,
as far as gut feel, I have them higher than multiple teams that we just named in our on gut, on our
powers ranking. I kind of do too. They're, they're, they, they're, they, they're, they, they, they're
They have all the games in hand, though, you know?
Right?
Because they play more games,
so they're a little higher in the standings
than I think they probably should be.
I don't give a fuck about points.
That's why I didn't bring up points.
I'm talking about how they've looked in their last few games.
I just think they're starting to see it.
They're starting to get it.
I think Markstrom fits in perfectly.
I think Jack and Brat are fucking buzzing.
And I also think the defense is just like getting it together.
Yeah.
They're getting it together and like you don't even have.
Like, damage isn't even playing.
I know.
He's not in it the way.
that he could be in it.
Yep.
And I, I, man, I just think, I think that there is a fucking blockbuster trade to be made
with one of those defensemen that's going to bring in someone so valuable to that team.
I do think they need a chip.
Yeah.
I do think they need a chip.
But I think, Jack has really picked it up, which has been awesome to see.
I want a little bit more scoring from the boys, but I do think Markey has been everything
you wanted, you know, because I don't think they were trading Marky to be like,
he's going to win the Vezna.
but they were like we need some
fucking above average goaltending and you are getting.
100%.
Speaking of above average goaltending,
our goalie in the starting six,
Philip Gustafson,
currently leads the league with a 208 goals against,
currently leads the league with a 9-27% percentage.
He's 8-3 and 2 on the year.
Dan, he's only given up more than two goals
in three of his 13 starts this year.
More than two.
That's fucking ridiculous.
He's giving them a chance to win every fucking night.
Are you officially, as we near 20 games,
that the wild are locked and loaded,
Like the wilder, like, we are dialed, this is not a fluke.
We are not going to field goal kick flyers ourselves.
We are making playoffs as a top three seed in the Central.
They are definitely not going to flyers themselves,
but I don't know that they're going to cruise like this.
I could see them leveling out a little bit.
Like all the way to Wild Card?
Maybe.
The Central's gnarly, right?
Yeah, maybe because the Central is so good.
Like Winnipeg and Dallas are team.
I mean.
Yeah, like let's say Dallas jumps him and then the abs are up their ass.
So absolutely.
But I think it's one of those situations where you're a wildcard team.
and I'm like, you're one of the best teams.
Yeah, it doesn't matter.
Shit, first-round match-up.
All of a sudden, this division is fucking stacked.
And you're one of them.
Maybe the goalie situation is what puts you over Colorado, you know?
Absolutely.
And I think, frankly, it will.
Because for me, Gus is not a, like, flower right now.
I look at Flower and Jonathan Quick.
Like, Jonathan Quick's undefeated right now.
I think he has, like, he's let in, like, three fucking goals.
He has two shutouts.
It's fucking insane.
But I'm like, that is because you're the backup and you're just,
you're having fun here in the beginning of the season.
I don't think that that's going to maintain.
And I love Quicky.
obviously, but you know what I'm saying.
I think Flowers kind of doing the same thing.
The fact of the matter is, this isn't like the Kings last year where Talbot was like an
all-star.
Yeah, yeah, literally.
He's 37 years old.
Gus is the guy for them.
Yep.
And Gus, this is the Gus that we thought was going to be there last year.
I was going to see him last year. Yeah, totally.
He is a young goalie in his prime.
And I'm like, yep, you're playing how you should be playing.
So I don't see them slowing down to a alarming level at all.
Yep.
At all.
Okay.
It's getting into our game.
I would love to.
We're going to get into connective tissue.
This is a game where we pick two players.
I have two players whose names blend together.
Blend.
Blend together, and I'm going to give you a little bio of the two players
and see if you can get it.
And for example, last time we played this game, Dan got it correct,
and it was Scott Stevens Stamco's.
Yes, it was.
A lot of people in the comments, like, well, it's Stevens and not Stephen.
And I'm like, I know.
I just, it's a game.
Mine's a little cheeky as well.
Great, good, good.
All right, so I'm going to give you the bio of our two guys.
Okay.
Here we go.
A Colorado boy, this hulking defenseman, decided not to follow his older brothers into football
and instead got into hockey.
Playing in the WHL, he was then drafted by this Atlantic Division team
where he's played his entire career and is currently an alternate captain.
Then, after growing up in Canada and playing in the OHL,
He was drafted top 10 in the 2007 NHL draft
and has played his entire career in California,
playing with a few legends,
becoming one of the best player performers ever,
but never winning a cup.
Holy fuck. Okay.
I can get more specific to if you want,
but I wanted to start vague.
So this, can you give me the then again?
Yes.
Then.
Which is we're going to our next player.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
After growing up in Canada and playing in the OHL,
he was drafted top 10 in the 2007 NHL draft
and has played his entire career in California,
playing with a few legends
and becoming one of the best playoff performers ever,
but never winning a cup.
Okay, so he played his entire career, he said?
He has played.
Has played his entire career in California, 07.
Which is, I'm giving you a little hint of he's still active.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, never won a cup.
So he's a, well, he can't be a king.
because the Kings won the Cup and a few of those runs there.
Or I guess you didn't say it was the same team.
But that means he would have bounced from like the Kings to the Ducks to the Sharks
or something like that.
07.
So he would be, he's still in the league.
So he's got a good, good long career actually.
Oh, yeah.
Good long career.
Played with some legends.
Might be on the tail end, though.
For sure, on the tail end, for sure.
The Ducks won in like,
07.
They might have won in those.
That might have been the year they won, actually.
So I want to say he's a shark,
because there were legends on that team.
And he played his whole career there.
Active, active, active, active, active.
Good playoff, good playoff guy.
Okay.
And then give me the first part again.
A Colorado boy, this hulking defense.
decided not to follow his older brothers into football and instead got into hockey.
Playing in the WHL, he was then drafted by this Atlantic Division team where he played his
entire career and is currently an alternate captain.
It's an alternate captain.
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health,
from the big milestones to the quiet wins.
That's why our annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides
a clear picture of your health today and may uncover early
signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer.
A healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today.
Medcan. Live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
Of an Atlantic division team and he plays D.
Okay.
And I'm happy to get more specific at any point.
How cheeky is it?
Is it like very?
No, it's a bit cheeky.
This is a perfect connective tissue.
Okay, okay, great.
This is a perfect connective tissue.
No, no, no.
This is a perfect connected tissue.
I don't think it's anyone.
I'm trying to think about the alternate captain and the Atlantic.
That's where I'm going to, I thought I had maybe who the other guy was,
but I'm trying to reverse retro it here.
Okay.
I don't think it's, don't say, but I don't think it's someone on the Bruins
because that's like Maccavoie, Carlo, and I guess it could be Carl, though.
So I'll holster that.
Morgan Riley definitely wears an A.
Edmund.
He's the captain.
Oh, he's the captain.
That's right.
Yep.
So then it's like what, cooch?
I don't think there's another defense in point maybe.
Sends is
Did you say point?
You just said point
It's a defenseman.
I know I'm trying to think of the assistant.
Oh, sorry.
I was like, come on.
So Sends is
Brady and then
who
Checkman?
Does he wear an A?
Probably.
He's on the caps.
Oh yeah, he's on the caps.
And then wings.
I don't know who it is after.
Don't forget that he's American.
That's just an American defenseman
Colorado boy
Colorado boy
Colorado boy
American defenseman
I think I need to get more specific for you
you're spinning your tires here
Okay
A Colorado boy this hulking defenseman
decided not to follow his brothers into football
And instead he got into hockey playing in the WHL
He was then drafted by the Boston Bruins
Where he's played his entire career
It is currently an alternate cap
He is a B
Okay so then
The only Bruins defenseman
that wears an A
is Charlie
that's American is Charlie I think
Nope
is Carlo American
From Colorado
That is gas
I thought he was Canadian
Okay so that actually does fit
My original guess
But it is cheekier than I thought it was gonna be
Oh come on dude
I think this is like just absolutely perfect
Okay because that
When I was doing the meter
That was my first thought where I was like, well, it could be a piece of it.
I don't think this is cheeky at all.
Well, it's a, it's a supposed cheeky, but it's perfect.
It is perfect.
It's a delight.
Okay, so I'm going to guess my player is Brandon Carl Logan Couture.
That is correct, sir.
Carl Logan.
Very good, Dan.
Very, very good.
It really opens the door, by the way.
It sure does, sir.
because I was really trying to get an exact name, but Carl Lowe,
Low, is, Low Connects.
Low Connects.
That's why you got to be, you got to be on your toes with connective tissue because it's
any, any noise, name, syllable, it doesn't matter.
Really good.
Brandon, Car Logan Cotture.
Really good, Dan.
Here's the thing, dude, I almost did Logan Stankovan, but you were just recently talking
about Stank and, like, you know his entire bio.
And I also wore my Texas hockey shirt.
So I just feel like if I even mentioned like Camloops or something, you'd be like,
Logan's tank of it.
I was going to be like,
fuck,
Jesus Christ.
But Brandon Carl Logan
Couture,
what a player?
You know what?
In my little research
of Couture,
the guy really has crushed in playoffs.
Correct.
Like he is a playoff performer.
We got to get him back in the playoffs.
Maybe it's great.
Just saying.
That is it for us today at the Empty Netters podcast.
Beautiful episode.
Huge thank you to Keith Yandel,
as always.
I gotta stop fucking saying as always.
That's your thing.
That's your thing.
That's your thing.
Stop doing it.
Had an absolute blast today.
We have got some really fun interviews coming up for you all.
And I think we'll have that.
We'll have an interview episode.
But I don't think that we'll see you until after Thanksgiving.
I'm not sure yet, to be honest with you.
We might do it.
We've got some travel, so we're going to see if the studio is available.
We might do a remote one.
Maybe we'll toss it on the story, see what you all think.
I just feel like a Wednesday episode right before Thanksgiving.
People are going to be dialed into all the holiday stuff.
They might not need an episode of the Empty Nair's podcast.
Probably not commuting.
But if you feel like you need it, maybe we'll rip it.
But just in case, happy Thanksgiving.
Yeah, fair.
I like that, Dan.
Nothing wrong with an extra happy Thanksgiving.
Yeah, no one's going to be bad.
You wish me Happy Thanksgiving twice.
Happy Thanksgiving's all about seconds anyway, Dan, so I might as well give them two.
Come on.
That was fucking awesome.
Come on.
I have nothing more to say, so you might as well close us out.
Skate hard.
