Empty Netters Podcast - Do The Dallas Stars Have Colorado’s Number w Chris Chelios | EP.188

Episode Date: April 24, 2025

The legend himself Chris Chelios joins the boys from Florida to give his takes on the NHL Playoffs. He says 7 teams could win it all. After hitting Kings Oilers game 2, it was another late recording t...o bring you the up to date breakdowns from the rest of the series. Dallas winning in OT again has flipped that series on its head. Are the Avalanche in trouble? NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some 00:00 INTRO 00:30 NOT ICE 15:59 AVS / STARS 32:50 KINGS / OILERS 48:56 CAPS / HABS 1:03:31 CHELIOS INTERVIEW 1:32:31 STARTING 6 1:34:09 CONNECTIVE TISSUE Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Just about everyone in the world picked you to win this series. You're playing a team who have two key players out with injury, probably for the whole series. And you go into this game, Landy comes back. You get six power plays, and you Goose Egg, abs are in big trouble. Including a double minor in overtime. On Landy Day. O for six, on New Issue Day. On Landy Day.
Starting point is 00:00:30 Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode. of the empty netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM. I am your host, Dan Powers, alongside me. When we were children, we played a game on Sega Genesis called Mutant League football. It was some of the best times we ever had. Years later, I found the game, bought it, plugged it in, realized it was a one player game and he was lying to me for years. Chris Powers. As always still am. I literally told Dan. Genuinely one of the meanest things you've ever done to me, but also kind of nice. Well, you know, it depends on which way you look at it. I told you You wanted to play Here's the selfish part I wanted to play more
Starting point is 00:01:09 You found a football video game That you were loving And I wanted to play And you didn't have the heart to tell me It was a one player game And I thought it was a two And the thing is No you
Starting point is 00:01:18 When I got it When I got it Not when I was telling you Like I was like yeah Well go play I wasn't like Please get this game So Dan can't play it
Starting point is 00:01:24 I was like yeah We'll just both play this game This will be sick We turn it on And dude Maybe looking back all these years I guess you confirmed it But I was like
Starting point is 00:01:31 There must have been a two player feature that I just couldn't figure out. No, man, I think that that wasn't as rare as you think. Back in the day, there were a lot of video games that were like, dude, we don't, we didn't make this to be played by multiple people. Yeah, so I plugged it in and I was like, oh, dude, he can't play. And, dude, we would rent the game, so we only had it for a day or two.
Starting point is 00:01:47 And we only had a couple hours to play before mom would be like homework and dinner or whatever. Ass, bullshit. Ass. So I was like, I'm not giving up my playing time for you. That was the selfish part. But I also wanted to hang out with you. So I was like, dude, that, I see,
Starting point is 00:02:02 I don't think I believe you. I really, I appreciate that and I want to believe that, but I think you, I was young enough, dude, I was in that window where I was, I was easily duped. Oh my God, dude, you thought you were like picking plays. You weren't doing shit.
Starting point is 00:02:16 You were like, I don't want to stop playing this game, and you were just like, oh, oh yeah, Dan, just pick up the controller, dude, we'll play together. Yeah. Like that, you weren't like, this is so cool, I'm hanging out with Dan, you were like, I'm getting everything I want right now. I was like, run, dang, go, good job.
Starting point is 00:02:30 But it was, they were very formative moments for me. I think about Mutant League football a lot. And I was like, good job, dude. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. I remember very specifically. I don't remember what the teams were called, but I remember there was a team with a rose and they sucked. And we were always like, let's play them. Let's bash them. I didn't know that. All I remember from it, other than this, obviously, is the one team that we always played with had like, honestly like a sonic looking guy. Like the running back like rolled. He rolled. Yeah. And that he would just like truck stick people. And I was like just I handed off to him, dude.
Starting point is 00:03:02 I told him that was you. I was like, you're a running back, dude. You're a beast. Honestly. Good times. Great times. Good times, dude. It was devastating when I got it later and plugged it in and saw it was one player
Starting point is 00:03:13 and I looked at you like, you Judas, son of a bitch. You absolute piece of shit. But by then we were playing two players. We'll never lose those times. Yeah, we won't. That was sick. We are going to jump into these series, absolutely. here we are again, guys.
Starting point is 00:03:32 Late night. 11 p.m. Boys, wags, we're here, we're ripping it, making sure everything's up to date for you. We just came from the King's game again. Sorry for the King's sweatshirt again.
Starting point is 00:03:41 I'm in a $7,000. It's not like the guy in the $7,000 suit is going to hold the door. Come on. We've got to talk about the Harmono Queens, dude. Dude. Here's the deal. Kings come out game one against the Oilers.
Starting point is 00:03:56 Every arena around these parts, you have, you know, you got a lot of places that, have one person that sings the anthem every single time. Todd Angeli in Boston rips it. Kings do a big rotating door. They've got celebs. They've got people who come through last, or on Monday, game one, they brought out the, I want to get it exactly right. It's the Korean retirement home. And I want to say our girl, Hannah came out and sang, oh, Canada. Yes. Which is goaded. Hannah's goaded. An unbelievable rendition of that tonight by her. I actually thought she
Starting point is 00:04:30 she went dude she gets she puts soul into a couple of the moments and i'm like oh hell yeah incredible so she shut out hannah's the best uh the koreatown senior and community center sends over these unbelievable ladies and they play the national anthem on harmonicas and it is pure electricity folks genuine thomas edison style first time you've ever seen it feelings of electricity i've couple things say about game one though they were like they came out in in like garb and like they're in their korean robes and i i think you reacted to i don't know if you'll admit it now but i was like what this is insane it's really quiet yeah and there's no singing so it's just harmonica and credit to the the the fans everyone started singing it all with which i thought in game one i was like
Starting point is 00:05:23 this is insane then i was like oh this is actually sick because all the canadian ranks everybody singing and i was like this is actually so sick but then they understandably, play so slowly that the crowd is way off singing so early, half the rink singing, I was like, dude. And then it's so loud, you can't even hear them. Right, too. So I was like, this is nuts. But it was perfect.
Starting point is 00:05:43 I agree. I looked at our friend Michelle and I was like, this is a choice. Yeah. But I wasn't saying it was a bad choice. I was like, this is interesting. And boy, was it fantastic. And I'll tell you what, dude, here's what I said. The second we got to the game, we saw the gals again, we knew they had to come back. if you win the game, you don't change the lineup, dude. Well, dude, we were talking. You win the game, you don't change the lineup.
Starting point is 00:06:03 We were talking to some people on the Kingstaff. We were also talking to Kat Foley. And she was like, what are you guys hearing about them bringing the Korean senior group back? And we had heard from Kingstaff that they were like, we're not sure that we can perform again two days later because we need to rest our local groups. Which is tremendous, dude. Like we have, we have fucking Keith Richards, like Bruce Springsteen, like iconic rock dudes who have done more drugs than Columbia combined. Performing, belting out songs, night after night on tour still. And these people are like this.
Starting point is 00:06:42 I'm actually not sure I can swing Wednesday night, dude. You think they're not doing drugs, dude? They're doing Eastern medicine shit, bro. Stuff you've never heard of. Yeah, dude, you're going back to that senior community center and they're going to fucking town, dude. They're not tired because they're very. vocal cords, they're tired because of the party there. The loony bid, dude. Oh, did they go for? So I wasn't even sure they were, they were coming out,
Starting point is 00:07:02 even though everyone wanted them back. Yeah. I was like, I don't know if they can do it. Then, dude, the lights come on, and I saw where they were, and I saw someone up there, but they didn't see the garb, and I was like, damn, they didn't get them. They were in Jersey. Dude, lights come on, whole squad and Kings Jersey. They were in Jersey. Whole squad and Kings Jersey. Absolutely love these ladies. So it's going to be fun to see them return because I don't think, they're on retainer now. Oh, dude. Because everybody, I think, I think Biz was maybe the first, but everybody started getting on this Harmonic Kings thing.
Starting point is 00:07:29 Oh, it went viral immediately. The Harmonic Kings is just phenomenal. Phenomenal. Utterly phenomenal. So, yeah, they're locked. They're locked for the rest of this playoff run. And sometimes you just need something like that, dude. Sometimes it's literally something like that.
Starting point is 00:07:43 Things happen. They pop up and they just give you mojo for the rest of the run. And these Korean community senior senior center ladies might have just done it for the Kings. So amazing. Before we get into the series, you were assaulted tonight, dude. Dude, so we spent the first period down in our seats. Yeah, we went to the bowl. Lower bowl.
Starting point is 00:08:03 Because it's actually just fun being in the mixer. Yeah, get in the mix. See some people. When we go down to our seats, there is my seat. The guy behind me has his feet like draped all the way over like it's like a recliner at his house. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And that's the Ottoman, not my seat. We got there early and I just want to jump in and say horrible etiquette.
Starting point is 00:08:23 agree because someone's going to sit there even if no one's there yet don't put your dirty shoes all over the back of their chair before they even get their ass so we sit one over from our seats because I'm like I'm just not going to deal with that yet he'll eventually move and then when the person who needs
Starting point is 00:08:38 these seats gets here we'll all slide over so the person who needs the seats that we're in gets there and he had moved his feet by then so I slide into mine and the game starts and he's an oilist fan by the way not that
Starting point is 00:08:53 I care, but he's an Oilers fan, and he is buckled. Dude. Like, guy, my man is fully trollied already. The puck hasn't even dropped. And this guy is just toasted. But they're in, like, random stuff. Like, I couldn't tell what was going on. There was, like, one dude sitting next to him in a king's shirt, and I thought he was
Starting point is 00:09:12 beacon him. And I was like, I'm actually his friend. Yeah. Because he kept being like, why are you an Oaths fan? And he was like, since today, like, I'm fucking, you know, I was just like out of his mind. And I'm like, whatever. and then the game starts, dude, and he is just putting his feet on the back of my seat, you know, just like resting his foot there, but it's like pushing me forward, because that seat folds down.
Starting point is 00:09:33 Oh, yeah, yeah. So it's just pushing me forward a little bit. And I'm like, whatever, dude, like, I don't care enough about this. We're not going to be here the whole game. I'm leaning forward talking to you guys. I'm like, this is fine. I'm not getting into this. And I don't know if it was because I wasn't reacting to that or something.
Starting point is 00:09:47 Well, first, they were talking very loudly. Yeah, yeah, yeah. going back and forth and me, Loop and Gavin, we kind of turned around. Someone said something about being an oilish fan. We turned around. And I was just smiling. Yeah. People are saying hi to us.
Starting point is 00:10:00 You know, and we turn around and I look at him. Again, smiling, peaceful. And I turned back. And before we even said anything, I started to turn back and he's like, yeah, turn around, buddy. And I was like, I'm not. They didn't do anything. Fuck you.
Starting point is 00:10:14 Yeah. What do you say? Fuck me for it, dude. Like, I'm just, I'm sitting here. So he, I'm leaning forward. And he starts pushing on the seat so hard that I'm literally like this. Like, I am literally, dude.
Starting point is 00:10:29 You're getting folded in half. And I'm just looking at, I'm just watching the game. I'm nearly folded in half watching the game like this. And I'm still not saying anything. And actually at this point, one of his boys, or maybe not his boy, I don't know, the guy next to him, though, goes, he goes, hey, dude, like, stop.
Starting point is 00:10:44 You're folding that dude in half. So he takes his foot down. And I kind of like, go like this. And I look over at the dude that said something, and I kind of went like, Thank you. Yeah. And then foot comes back.
Starting point is 00:10:54 Boom. Boom. Boom. Fold it in half. And I kind of like look back. You would have let this guy wipe his muddy boots on your Todd Sniker sweater. He could have put it on my back. $600 sweater.
Starting point is 00:11:05 Dude, so he's folding me in half again. And I look back at him and I'm literally just like smiling because I'm like, is this like a bit? Yeah. What are you doing? And then he just starts kicking, kicking it. So I'm like this dof, dof, dof, just bouncing, dude. I didn't see any of this happen, by the way. I don't know.
Starting point is 00:11:19 Loops on. I'm just literally like this. and then his boy's like, bro, dude. And then all those other guys are, what's going on? He's like, he's kicking this kid. He's literally kicking him. And he goes, you got to stop kicking him, dude. And I'm like, okay.
Starting point is 00:11:30 So then I get back up, but he's still got the foot down. It's just not, I'm not in half anymore, but he's just still there. Then the king's score, and I get up, and I'm like cheering. And I wasn't cheering as loud as I normally would, which we'll get into later, but I was like, oh, okay, goal. And now I'm standing, and we were in kind of like, there was like a mini aisle next to us. So there was access to usually like a wall of seats. So I'm standing there, and he just starts taking his left foot and drilling
Starting point is 00:11:51 me in the calf, like kicking me as hard as he can in the leg. And I just turn around again. And he goes, you like that, dude? You like that? And I was like, no, really, dude. Like, this sucks so much. Dude, like, at what point we, listen, again, I didn't see this. We talked about it after the game. But we were all talking about what you would do in that situation. And to be clear, completely sober. Yeah. In a setting where we are, I'm not anonymous. Yeah, right. And I said absolutely, when it comes to the chair kicking, I would have done the same thing. I would have just tried to laugh it off and been like, oh, yeah, whatever. When this man eventually was harming your physical body, the fact that you just sit there and smile and take it is you were the strangest guy I've ever met in my life, dude.
Starting point is 00:12:44 Is his end game literally fighting me in the crowd right there? Yeah, probably. He's like, I hope we fight and get both thrown out. We see those videos of fans fighting at games, and that is that guy. Because, dude, if I literally turned around and pushed his leg off me and went, like, stop that. Yeah. He would have thrown hands in my face immediately. He would have stood up and been like, what the fuck are you going to do, bro? What the fuck are you going to?
Starting point is 00:13:05 That's how all these videos start. And, yeah, it's funny. People will make fun of Swifties and stuff, like people who lose their mind at concerts. This is the same thing. Yeah. it's if you are an adult man or woman yeah and you go to a sporting event and get in a fight that you start yeah you are the scum of the earth you are the bottom of the barrel sludge that needs to be scraped off with a paint scraper and i don't understand it that game had barely started oh and my man was crinkled beyond belief
Starting point is 00:13:40 and was just thinking to himself i'm going to get in a fight with a king's fan and you're not even a king's fan Yeah, dude. You're just a guy and a king sweatshirt. My favorite was, he was just making fun of everything. Like, if there was an empty seat, he's like, look at an empty seat. They don't even like cocky here. Like everything, he had, like, every time there was a clear penalty on the orders, it was bullshit. Shit would happen to the Kings.
Starting point is 00:13:59 And he's like, whey, cry about, you know, all this shit. And at one point, the, oh, those two-on-one, Yanmark comes down. Gavrikoff makes an incredible play, slides, blocks the pass. And the crowd cheers. And the dude behind me goes, oh, you shut down Yanmark. And I was like, what a ricochet. I didn't do shit to you, dude. I can't believe.
Starting point is 00:14:20 Catching that strayed. So, yeah, I got folded in half for the entire period, and then I almost didn't even want to go up to the suite because this guy's going to think I ran. Yeah. He's like, yeah, got him out of here. But I was like, dude, I'm going. Then you decided I don't want to watch the rest of this game at a 45-degree angle,
Starting point is 00:14:41 so I'll go upstairs, please. Fucking brutal. Absolutely savage. Taking a quick break to tell you about this bet MGM deal they got going. It's the hat trick jackpot. Okay? All you have to do is download the bet-m-gm app. Use promo code netters.
Starting point is 00:14:57 That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S. And so many good things are going to happen to you, it's insane. If you make your first bet and it loses, you can get up to $1,500 in bonus bets just for using the promo code. And then if you do the hat-trick jackpot, you can pick an anytime goal score. And if they score, you win the bet. and if they score three or more, you get your share of 10 G's in bonus bets. That is ridiculous, and I need you to stop missing out on that opportunity and start popping that opportunity as your boy pops three or more goals, because that's incredible.
Starting point is 00:15:28 Share of 10 G's, download the bed MG app, MGM app, use that promo code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, and get rocking. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-8-Hop-N-Y or text Hope N-N-Y for New York. Call 1-800-3-2-7-50 from Massachusetts. 21-plus only. please gamble responsibly. Call 100, Next Step for Arizona. 1,800-N-N-Avents offer Iowa,
Starting point is 00:15:45 1-800-1-80-0-0-0-3 for Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. In partnership with Kansas, crossing casino and hotel, cedbettmGM.com for terms. US promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Let's jump into our series.
Starting point is 00:15:58 Folks, if you haven't figured it out yet, we are dialed every single day. We did it our live this morning, covering the four games from last night. So this episode, we're going to be deep-diving, giving you our hot takes on the three series that were played tonight. We've got Colorado Dallas, we've got L.A. Edmonton, and we've got Montreal, Washington.
Starting point is 00:16:17 We're going to start with Colorado, Dallas, right? Yes, we are. And to reiterate what Dan said, if you missed anything, if you're like, God, where's the Bulls Panthers coverage? It's on our YouTube right now, and I'm going to fix this moving forward because we're going live every Monday, Wednesday, Friday. But right now, that video appears in the live tab. So literally go to our YouTube. If you hit videos, you're not going to see it. And you're going to go, where's all the other footage?
Starting point is 00:16:40 Click live. and it's the first one. Puckline News, episode one, boom, there it is. And it's also on our Spotify. It's on Spotify, it's on Apple, I think. It's on Spotify. And I'm going to make sure they're in the video tab moving forward, but if you missed your series, it's in there.
Starting point is 00:16:55 It's in the live. Go watch. So jump into these series, Stars, Aves. You got a hot take for me. Hot take. Jared Bednar has the best flow in the coaching staff ranks. Yeah, that's definite. And is being severely outcoached by a bald man.
Starting point is 00:17:20 Severely outcoached. And Dan, not to throw my own ricochet, he's being outcoached by a guy who I think has been outcoached in the playoffs in his career. Like it's actually one of my flaws of his where I'm like, hey, dude, make an adjustment. And that man is currently outcoaching Benner. I hate always agreeing with you. but I'm so, so with you on this one, and it goes back to last year too. Dude, take me through the path.
Starting point is 00:17:49 For the people that don't understand, because don't forget, Dallas got that horrible Vegas matchup in the first round last year, beats Vegas after losing first two at home, and then goes to Colorado, gets Colorado in the next round and beats them, beat Colorado. They knocked Colorado out last year. Yep. Remind the listeners what the order of operations were in the series of Dallas, Colorado last year. Folks, last year, round two, game one at American Airlines Center, Colorado wins 4-3 in O-T. Steels one.
Starting point is 00:18:18 Game two, Dallas wins 5-3. Then we head to ball. Colorado, home ice. Dallas wins 4-1. Dallas wins 5-1. Takes them both. Now they're up 3-1 in the series. Then we go back to American Airlines.
Starting point is 00:18:33 Colorado wins 5-3. And to interject there, that's when everybody, people like me start going, now you're fucked up for Dallas because Colorado is. winning at home and that's game seven and blah blah blah. Then we head to ball arena again, double OT game for those who don't remember, Dallas wins. So folks, if you're not keeping track at home, that's three straight wins for Dallas in Colorado.
Starting point is 00:18:54 And now here we are, Landy comes back, you play this game, all the Momo in the world, Hayskinin's out, Robo's out, and you lose this game in OT with a four-minute double-month. liner to start. Dude. So, but even ignoring that, that's now, we're now into year two of being unable to beat the Dallas Stars at home in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:19:19 After beating them twice in the regular season. And it's the same thing's happening. You stole game one and then you go lose game two in Dallas, lose game three in Colorado. And now you are facing a extremely, extremely. Colorado is too good to call this one must win because they can win. They can win 10 in a row. but an extremely important game four at home. Hyundai haven't been able to do shit.
Starting point is 00:19:43 It's, I love how reactionary playoff hockey can get. You lose one game and you can freak the fuck out. I mean, look at Tampa, Florida. We talked about it on the live this morning. If Colorado just comes out and wins emphatically like they did in game one in game four, or two-two,
Starting point is 00:20:03 where, as many would say, right where we expected to be after four games. But, dude, this game, it was just so bad. It feels like Dallas genuinely has Colorado's number, certainly at home. Yeah, right. The aves just, you can't go 0 for six on the power play. Dude, so the power play, one for four, I believe in game one, one for three. And it's like you're not going to be maybe what the Leafs are right now, what the Kings are right now, what the Oilers were last year.
Starting point is 00:20:36 That's not always going to happen where you're just like, we're automatic. Yeah, yeah. It's ridiculous. So getting, you know, a one for three day is good. Like a one for four day, you're like, I'm scoring on the power play. Like I'm getting my goal. So those aren't horrible. But this one, O for six, and having a full four minute double minor high stick that started
Starting point is 00:20:52 with like 30 seconds left in regulation or whatever. And I don't want to dismiss that there was a couple scramble chances at the end of regulation. So I don't want to dismiss those because there was like, if that one puck gets squared loose to NACIS, it's a goal. But there was the best chance that came in the OT was the fucking
Starting point is 00:21:14 star, the stars had a two-on-one on the shore. Yeah, yeah. Yep. Actually, dude, I think, and it's tough because we're at the Kingsen's game, we're like watching this game on our phone. Yeah. There was a play. I'm going to see if I can actually find this, but there was a play, I think, on that peeper where
Starting point is 00:21:28 one squirted loose and maybe Lekinen maybe Lekinan had it but dude there was a near a near open net and like someone it was like a la Michael Ryder Dan
Starting point is 00:21:47 I think it was Lindell I'm gonna see if I'm just in bullpile I think it was Lindel makes like a glove save on an open net in overtime which which saved the entire Lindel eating shots making huge plays in that OT and third period frankly he he deserves
Starting point is 00:22:04 deserves a knighthood in the state of Texas based on what he just did. That was a phenomenal performance. Yeah. So you... Especially when you think about Hay-Skin is out, like, you need guys like him and Harley to step up, and he stepped up and had a huge change. Because we're talking so differently if we go, if Dallas just, or excuse me, if Colorado just scores on that power play, there's still one for six, which is bad, but we go, well, they got one when it counted and they've won and they're up to one. They're protected home ice.
Starting point is 00:22:27 It doesn't matter. Lindell makes a glove save and now, say, and I actually think that might have gone like right back the other way. I'm going to find the silent. But gargantuan moment, gargantuan moment in the game, but 0 for 6 is unacceptable on every level. It's unacceptable, yeah. While you find that, I think the interesting thing about that game for me, you win the face-off battle as Colorado. You win the physical battle. I think they significantly out-hit them if memory serves.
Starting point is 00:22:53 Oh, dude, look at that. Yeah, 46 to 34 on hits. And the power play. Watch this. Sorry for the views. We're watching this highlight right now. Open net OT. It's a such a massive save.
Starting point is 00:23:03 Glove safe. Yeah. Incredible, dude. The shot breakdown was nuts to me. Dallas all over them to start this game. First period shots were 14.5. Yeah. 14.5.
Starting point is 00:23:15 And then after that, 4-8, Dallas to Colorado, and then 7-12. Colorado just, I mean, dude, fuck me. Like 12 shots in the third. Otter. Let's actually talk about that first period real quick. Yeah. If you're the avalanche, that's frustrating to me because usually as the road team
Starting point is 00:23:35 in a playoff game especially and the first time this home crowd has seen their team in the playoffs, you're going whether the first 10, whether the first 10, here come to the avalanche, literally get out of the first 10-0-0 and then we'll play hockey. And you compound that with the return of Landisg.
Starting point is 00:23:52 The avalanche getting ragdolled that period is that can't happen. Like you should have been out insane clown posse running around like psychopaths for 20, 20 minutes. Yeah. Just because you're like, dude, this is it.
Starting point is 00:24:06 Like playoff fucking hockey. Our captain is back. We're on home ice. Everything. Like getting beat that period, getting out worked that period is mind-blowing to me. I agree. We talked about the vibes of Landy coming back. We're going to be like, they're going to be so juiced up, fully torqued out there.
Starting point is 00:24:23 They're not going to be able to skate. Maybe that's what happened. It almost feels like the opposite happened. Like the nerves were so intense that they almost exhausted themselves. Yeah, I like that take. I'm not even kidding. It's totally a thing. That absolutely could have been what happened.
Starting point is 00:24:38 But yeah, when you go back to the coaching take that you said, you look at some of the line jumbling that's going on. You look at the power play lines too. Is Landy an unbelievable player? Yes. But Landy's on PP2 in that game. Again, you had six power plays in that game. And Landy's on PP2.
Starting point is 00:24:56 He's getting out there. I don't know that Landy needs to be on the powerplay just now. Maybe give him a. second to ease into it. You don't necessarily need to give them pee-pee time. And I have no idea. I'm not watching their practices, but there do just seem to be things in this series that could be going very differently based on some coaching decisions. And for me, if you look at a game, you go into game three, tied one-one, Dallas isn't fully healthy. Colorado seems to be the stronger team on paper. You're playing at home. You get six fucking power plays in the game. And your
Starting point is 00:25:32 goalie's given up one in regulation, you cannot lose that game. Yep. I treated shocking loss from Colorado, and that's not to say anything bad about Dallas. You know I fucking love this Dallas team. It's to say the situation. Six power plays. Yep. It's crazy.
Starting point is 00:25:52 And I won't lie. I picked Colorado in the series. I fucking, I love what this Dallas team is doing. Dude, they can't lose again. for your six, you know, like for a thousand six, like you literally can't lose Dallas again, which is crazy. And I just want to say to massive stick taps credit
Starting point is 00:26:12 to this Dallas squad for Dan losing, what was it, six, seven, I can't remember. Yeah. Six, seven games in a row to end the season. Two horrible out of the playoffs, nothing to play for would rather lose for my draft pick teams. Really tough loss.
Starting point is 00:26:27 And then getting ragged, five one in game one, and going like this, we are better than this, it doesn't matter. I give them so much credit because this was right there for a, this season is over. I don't know what the fuck just happened, but we have completely fallen out of form and we can't fix it. It's the quicksand. It's the Shane Falco quicksand thing. Hondo P.
Starting point is 00:26:47 So I don't know if it's a DeBoer speech. I don't know if it's the leaders in the room. Whatever it is, somebody got those boys to just dial the fuck in. And I give them a ton of credit. Even if they had lost this game, just like the way they've played Colorado the last two games. to save their season potentially, to truly save their season. Unbelievable effort.
Starting point is 00:27:07 Mental toughness out the ass. Yeah, dude. To get clapped in game one, come into game two and go, don't, doesn't matter. Yeah, battle. You just battle. And then this game,
Starting point is 00:27:18 you weather that third period storm. That's, I'm going to give a double wristier to your boy. Otter. Thank you. I was about to go there. I mean, shit. That's a great game.
Starting point is 00:27:27 Only gives up one in regulation. And again, that third period stood on his head, had some help there from Lendell and O.T. But Otter, this was a steal of a game for all of a lot. I'm going to give, I'm going to give Otter the steel. I guess only eight shots in the second for the abs, but eight to four. I wanted to say the second period, the aves were in complete control. And Otter made some really, really timely saves.
Starting point is 00:27:49 There was actually an incredible series at the end of the second we were watching. It was like a innate partial breakaway, big Otter save right into a granny off the pipe. Yeah. That, you know, the whole game swing in those moments. But I thought Otter played tremendously. that's the guy they've always wanted and believed in, you know? A couple other quick hitters for me. So happy for Tyler Sagan.
Starting point is 00:28:11 So, so happy for Tyler Sagan. Comes right back and is producing just like he was before he left. I don't know why that is such a feel-good story. I know. But it totally is. I feel like Sags went through this phase where people were like he's washed, he's old, get him out. And then last year he was amazing. Dude, and it's actually kind of an emotional story with his hip where he's like,
Starting point is 00:28:30 I'm like, I was fucked. I couldn't play. And now he's back. And he's back. And it's so, we're talking to a little teaser. Chris Chelyos joins us on this podcast episode. We were talking to Chely earlier, and he was talking about Landy being like, I don't think there's a guy that more people are rooting for than Landy.
Starting point is 00:28:49 I think that is true. Yeah. Sagan does feel like a very universal. It's awesome to see. Coming back from an injury, being one of the older guys. It's interesting. I feel like Sags is kind of one of these forever young dudes in my head. and but he's an old vet on this team
Starting point is 00:29:04 and god damn he's just performing him and dutchy you know and ben obviously yeah yeah they just keep they keep fucking get it done incredible tip by the way from jbby big tip um and credited to bore dude for slotting sagan right back in on that line that was so productive the marchman um duchy sagan line and that could have easily been like well we've we've you've been out we move some guys around yeah here's your job back show me what you got goals in two straight o t winner in this one and on that play i actually think it was so big because that place starts. The secondary assist goes to Miko Ranton
Starting point is 00:29:33 in his first point of the series. And that place starts with him. Like that get out there and the whole rush. And sometimes it's as simple as that. You see a free throw, go in, whatever. But just like, boom, on the board, O.T. winner. And now here we go. Because, like, early in the game,
Starting point is 00:29:46 he was, like, whiffing a couple. He was, like, coming down the wing and whiffing. And I was like, dude, you need a therapist or something. Take a breath. Take a breath. Maybe you just can't hurt Nate's feelings or whatever. Take a breath. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:29:55 So that was sick. And then we'd be remiss to leave this segment without just saying that Nishushkin's goal was fucking gross. Dude, and it looked like Dutchy. I feel bad for him because it was like, where'd Hugo? He was kind of pointing.
Starting point is 00:30:09 He was like, who's picking him up? Standing there and he's like, who's picking him up? What's happening? And then Nishuans right down Main Street. I was like, that was a bad look. So gross goal, but not enough. Not enough.
Starting point is 00:30:18 And do you also want to say, win or lose, seeing Landy come back was very emotional. Incredible. Yeah, not much on the stateline for him, but he played 13 minutes, his credit it was six hits. But yeah, I think he's going to get more and more comfortable.
Starting point is 00:30:32 Any issue with you there? Or are you just like, keep rolling, bro? Yeah, keep rolling, bro. For me, again, the 13 minutes makes sense to me. It can't go too hard too soon. I don't think he was out there slowing anyone down. It does suck. The result sucks.
Starting point is 00:30:47 Not just because of the loss, but you only get one goal. There's some sloppy moments. But I don't think that has anything to do with Landy. I think the fans were just so happy. And I'm telling you, man, I think there is an element where that must have been so emotional for the players, the coaches, him, that maybe they were just almost emotionally wiped. Let's say to your point, because great call, massive congratulations. Congratulations.
Starting point is 00:31:11 The NFL player to literally ever return from that surgery. Literally ever. Ever. And you think about the, we can't say it enough, guys. 2002 was the last time this man played. Dude, I miss, I miss like a couple months of beer league when we're on the road. And I come back and I'm like, I can barely skate. missed three years and jumped into an NHL playoff game.
Starting point is 00:31:30 Seriously, I think it's one of the more impressive physical, mental, and emotional feats the game has ever seen for him to come back. It's unbelievable. Love the guy. Leaving, departing this series talk with your hot take, what do you think going into game for? Is Colorado spooked? Is this series over? No, no, no, no. And do you think that they can get it done involved?
Starting point is 00:31:51 Like I said, I actually think that they can lose this game and it's still a lot of it because they're that good. because they can be they can win three straight i don't they don't want to but they can win three straight yeah um but if you lose game four at home again i think you're like fucking christ dude and and how close are these guys coming back like is mero back next game is robo back like what the fuck i i haven't really heard much on robo mero keeps skating but i think it's i think it's mine games i really do i really do yeah so like that's a ticking time bomb if you're Colorado where you're like dude you better not lose game four and then be like fuck now here come the reinforcements for Dallas and it's another thing I don't want to dog the guy but again
Starting point is 00:32:35 rantanin and kind of quiet and yeah yep yep uh and you're just like can you imagine if he gets going it's like you're in trouble Colorado so I think game four is very important yep okay take me to the next one gonna take you to the next one we're doing kings oilers here is my hot take this series is a completely different at Rogers Place. Yeah, fuck, I was afraid you were going to say that. I don't know, well, you keep going. I get something to say about this. I got something to say about this.
Starting point is 00:33:13 I think this performance was massively important for the Los Angeles Kings. Such a good game. You look at the couple of goals that Kemper left, we talked about it, right? You score six in game one. You're L.A. But we saw it get tied five-five, almost choked it away. And we said, Kemper, dude, little leaky, buddy. Little leaky.
Starting point is 00:33:33 Two goals in this game. One was one of the sexiest bang, bang, finds Leon backdoor all day. I said it on Twitter. This fucking guy, man. Yeah. He feels... He was a tip, though, right? Didn't you tip that in?
Starting point is 00:33:44 It was just backdoor. It just happened. Okay. I mean, no, it was not a tip. It was almost like one of those bank things. You know what I mean? Yeah. he's so good
Starting point is 00:33:58 I said he's I think my line was he's a brick shit house with the hands of a Swedish massage therapist and it's he's so big being at the game watching guys try to rub him off the puck try to put him into the boards he reverse hit QB today yeah and QB's a big boy dude like he's six four six five and he's just such a big big big fucking guy and to be that skilled and that good it's absolutely out of control but this king's team comes out they get six the two like i said that one and then they i think it was arvinson right yeah yeah something's just like nothing you can do so so good from kemper to be like yep i was great today made some big saves some power plays you shut down the power play that's big their power play
Starting point is 00:34:50 keeps going, we're in Bazaar world. The LA King's power play is the most unstoppable thing in the world against the Edmonton Oilers. Like, genuinely, we're in Bizarro world. Dude, I wrote down, Dan, King's Power Play, three for five tonight, two for five in game one, Oilers 0 for two in game one, O for three tonight. How the turn tables.
Starting point is 00:35:06 How the turn tables, fell. They must be pulling their fucking hair out in that room. They're stroking it in the room. No, no, the Oilers just must be like, this was our magic being, dude. We would just be like, oh, we're not that good, but if you take a penalty against us, which you will. Remember, we would be like, just don't take
Starting point is 00:35:24 penalties, but they're like, well, they're too fast. So I have to take a penalty, and then they automatically score. Yeah. And now the Kings are still taking penalties, and they just kill everyone with ease. Yeah. And then they always take frustration penalties, and then the Kings ram it down their throat. That was something I wanted to say. The King's P.K. does look good, and the Oilers power play looks good, too. Yeah. It's, obviously, they're not scoring, so I'm sure they're saying, what are you talking about? We suck right now. But they're getting good in-zone movement. They're getting good shots on that first power play in the first period. I was like, oh, goal, goal, oh, go. And they're just, kings are getting unbelievable sticks in lanes. They're,
Starting point is 00:36:00 they're rotating so well. They're covering that backdoor because that's what they're looking for. That backdoor, far side post net front presence is what they're looking for. And they connected on it a couple of times. And there were some great blocks by the defenders, great saves by Kemper. So really incredible performance from the Kings, because they needed to show we can score on this team, we can score on Skinner and we're not going to get leaking. We're not going to let it go to waste. That game got to 3-2. And then, you know, another power play, boom, goal.
Starting point is 00:36:28 Just great statement win by the Kings to go, that was not a fluke. We didn't almost choke it away and we're going to do that again. This was a big win. I, while I love everything this King's team is doing. The AK lines out of control. Morsy's playing so well. I don't need to go on and on and on.
Starting point is 00:36:48 The Oilers are the Oilers, man. And I just, I don't want to sound, I don't want to wax poetic here and sound like a bitch like I'm pumping anyone's tires. It is such a genuine treat and pleasure to watch Connor McGa to play hockey. Yeah, dude, it's crazy. Being in the arena, watching this fucking kid play hockey, watching Leon play hockey, they are the two most dangerous people I've ever seen in my life. And it's, that's not me saying that I think Leon is, Leaps and Bounds better than guys like McCar or Nate or Cooch.
Starting point is 00:37:23 It's them together. There's something about them together. People talk about it all the time, how cerebral they are. They find each other on the ice in insane ways. Their chemistry is out of this world. Seeing that live, it's wild. And not name and names, talking to some of the boys on the Kings, they say it too. They're like, it is nuts being on the ice with those fucking guys.
Starting point is 00:37:46 And you look at the way they must. move and how dangerous they are at any fucking point. You get a two-goal lead, you get a three-gold lead. All of a sudden, Connor has the puck in the neutral zone, and you're like this, this is now a one-goal lead. This is, you know what I mean? Dude, I know, to finish my hot take and then I'll shut the hell up, I know what it's like in that arena, in Rogers Place.
Starting point is 00:38:12 I know what those fans are like. I know what that fucking province is like and that city is like. It is different. being in Alberta is different. Being in Edmonton is different. Hearing those fans is different. There's no disrespect. The L.A. That barn is rocking last two games.
Starting point is 00:38:29 Yep. But a Rogers Place home game is very different. And as we say, we just said last series. Everyone gets so reactionary in playoffs. We get too horny. You get too nervous. There's nothing stopping this series from being two-two. second you come back to LA. There's nothing stopping for the Kings from sweeping, but I am saying
Starting point is 00:38:55 it is a very, very different game. I'm sure there's a lot of people listening right now going, no shit, idiot, it's a different arena. I'm just saying it's, it's so different, dude. It's so different. You can look at all the other series. This one might be the most drastic. That's what I'm trying to say. It is so different. These two teams in that arena. The Kings beat the Oilers actually. once in Edmonton in this regular season, but they were not, they were much worse. Part of being so good at home when you don't win your division means you probably weren't that good on the road. And the Kings were 17, 19, and 5 or something on the road. So they, they haven't been a great road team. Edmonton knows that stat. Obviously, they know that this
Starting point is 00:39:37 series doesn't start until someone loses a home game. So I'm very with you on that. And even though they're not truly desperate yet, because you cannot manufacture, we are facing elimination. You True, you just cannot. And they are not facing elimination. Yeah, yeah. But obviously they don't want to go down 3-0 because you feel like you're dead and you got the home crowd
Starting point is 00:39:55 and I think Connor doesn't want to go out this way. For sure. And I just do want to touch on your point. What you just said about McDavid. Yeah. The Kings, you can see it in the way his opponents play against him. Like, they start running backwards.
Starting point is 00:40:09 Like he starts to get it and it's like, it looks like you barely when you just jump on and you're like, oh, shit, we have a bad gap. Like, I'm fine. The NHL dudes are like sprinting backwards to just try. try to not get torched. I've never seen,
Starting point is 00:40:23 I've never seen that before. It's fascinating. It's insane. To reference Cinderella Man, second time Cinderella Man today has been referenced. Incorrectly at first, but then correctly, yeah.
Starting point is 00:40:32 It's that scene where Jimmy Braddock has a great round against Max Bear, and then Max Bear comes out bloodied and, like, charging at him, and Paul Giomati, his character is like, oh, Jesus. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:40:44 Like, that's how it looks and feels. And when any time he has the puck, It's fucking mental. Yeah. So you're right in that this is going to be a whole new animal. And it would be a kick in the dick if you're a king's player or a king's fan to come back to two, too, too. We're like, damn it. I don't think it would be.
Starting point is 00:41:06 I don't think it'd be a kick in the dick. Right now you're like, oh, you're buzzing. Get us a split and we fucking got them. Yeah. You're buzzing. Yep. Yeah. It would, it would be a bummer.
Starting point is 00:41:17 I'll give you a bummer. Because you're all over them, 12 goals in two fucking games. If, yeah, you go into Rogers and you get shut out, for example, in game three, or Skinner lets in one, you are like, fuck me, God damn it. So I'll give you that, but it's like we said. I mean, I think I predicted Kings and Seven, every team's going to win at home. I wouldn't be surprised at all. I think you did say that.
Starting point is 00:41:41 I did. That's sharp action by you. Well, I mean, it might be. And also, I might be an idiot. They might sweep. but yeah i don't think it'd be a kick in the dick but it's it is a wind out of your sales and you're we're right back to square one right uh but yeah man one goal in rogers by mc david and that roof blows off that fucking place and we got a whole new series but i have to give the king's credit
Starting point is 00:42:02 because i just said about dallas mental fortitude coming out there ear holes this king's team dude up three oh here we go again and then that late second period oiler's goal just like fucking clockwork. Don't let the O's score in the first five minutes of the third. Bang, just like clockwork. We were looking at each other in sweet like, this is fucked. And not only is three, no goals not going to do it for the Kings, four might not even do it for the Kings. And they said, no worries, dude, we'll get six and completely locked it down. I give them so much credit for not death spiraling again. Agree. Because that would have been so easy. And that's why I said such a good performance that Kemper shut the doors. Yes, dude. Because those,
Starting point is 00:42:45 Those are two good goals. There's a hard goal shots to save. So I don't discredit him at all for letting them in. And then to shut the door and the King's team to shut the door. Yeah, yeah, yeah. You've got so many young players. Shout out Mo. Jacob's out there getting good minutes in playing well.
Starting point is 00:43:03 Spenny looks fantastic. It's against the scariest. Clarkie scored. Oh, fuck. I mean, Clarkie, dude. He's nasty. Lasty. Love watching him play so much.
Starting point is 00:43:11 But it's against a couple of the scariest people in the world. It's a tall task. So that was big. That was really, really big. Okay. We do need to talk about Skinner. Skinner yanked. And actually something really funny happened to the arena.
Starting point is 00:43:27 I don't know if you could hear it on TV. But the crowd has been chanting Skinner all series. All series. And that's a, I was about saying, that's a King's thing. It's not a unique King's thing. But since the 90s, the King's fans have chanted the goalie's name when the goal goes in. Skinner. Skinner.
Starting point is 00:43:44 Skinner. Skinner, I thought we're doing it. Yeah, where I stopped is my bad. Skinner gets yanked and the crowd doesn't know it yet. So then juice fucking nips, Picard, like bottle service. I don't even know. I don't even, I think half the rink, maybe even him, didn't know it went in at first. There is a photo of him.
Starting point is 00:44:06 That's the rudest thing I've ever seen. I told him it was rude. He, he, there was a, 2011. Boston playing Vancouver. One of the first games, Boston finally started scoring and they yanked Luonga. Put in my boy, Sunnights, right? Corey Schneider.
Starting point is 00:44:28 The literal, I think, first shot on net that Schneid saw was a Michael Ryder tip that went top chedy. Yeah. And I was like, that is so fucking rude, dude. It's so rude. Picard goes in and Juice comes down and fucking Bar Mexico in and out of him. him and I was like dude this guy has a family. It's uncalled for. Like what are you doing?
Starting point is 00:44:51 So the crowd, dude, after the goal is like, Skidder, Skinner, Skinner. I actually think they were chanting Pickard. They were going, Pickard, Pickard, but I might be wrong. Because I was like, oh, guys, Skinner is not in net. And I was listening to it. I was like, I think they're saying Pickered. I think they were saying Skinner. I think at least some people near me, because after that, they switched to chant to,
Starting point is 00:45:15 we want skin. Yes. And I was like, that was really, that was really rude. The camera guy, the Jumbotron guy's going on. Also really rude. Skinner on the bench. And I was like, dude. Nasty work.
Starting point is 00:45:26 Jesus Christ. We're in the middle of gameplay and the Jumbotron cuts to Stu Skinner sitting on the bench. And I was like, nasty work by the camera. So conceptually, on the Skinner thing, Dan, I'm, if memory serves me, there's been quotes before last season, before the run they went on last season from McDavid being like, we're just not getting the saves we need. and it's another year wasted of our playoff run. And then last year,
Starting point is 00:45:51 certainly Stuart Skinner built some confidence in that room, I would hope. He took you to game seven in the final. Right now, if you are Connor McDavid or Leon Drysidal, are you like, I can't play with this guy? I can't play in front of this guy.
Starting point is 00:46:06 We need to put somebody else in because this is unacceptable. Or do you go, it's okay, I'll figure it out. I do not feel the former. Yeah. And I'll tell you why.
Starting point is 00:46:14 giving up six in in or 12 in two games is not acceptable i genuinely man i don't think skinner's been great i don't think many of these are his fault i really don't yeah the kings are scoring very good goals power play goals there were three today two on monday yeah i see yeah they got right five of their 12 are power play goals and they're really sexy power play goals then you have that nip QB's goal today. I can't remember if that was on the paper or not, but Bouchard's standing right there and just fucking backs into the far post and let's QB walk into the crease and then go inside outside, talk job. These are good shots. They're really good goals. And I'm really not blaming Skinner that
Starting point is 00:47:01 much on them. It sucks to say, yeah, I've given up six goals. I mean, he didn't give up six today. You're giving up all these goals every game, but he's not giving in that week of goals. I really don't think so. Yeah. Even And there are a bunch of, and there was a fluff, but like that's just a weird play. He didn't see it. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:47:17 Like, you know, that was a, it was a sand wedge that went, oh yeah, yeah, there was a sandwich that like went over Fogel and the defenseman. It's,
Starting point is 00:47:24 that wasn't his fault. There are a lot of Oilers fans in our DMs being like fucking McDavid has to score seven goals a game with, with Skinner and that. And I get it. I get the frustration. But I really don't think he's letting in these softies that, that are just absolutely brutal.
Starting point is 00:47:41 So it's kind of a, I'm like, yeah, you need to be better. But I don't think he is as bad as it looks, is all I'm saying. I'm with you. I do think that Skinner had a, and it sucks, dude, because like everyone we know that knows him says he's so cool. Yeah. And I've never met him. And I feel like I'm always dogging him.
Starting point is 00:48:01 Genuinely heard nothing, but incredible. And I'm like, dude, I don't mean to be the guy dogging you. But I would say that he had a below average season, regular season. It was all career lows. We pointed that out. And then he's had a below. he's got a bad two games frankly and this
Starting point is 00:48:16 was I've had so many people Oilers fans say when we were Doggin Skinner well he was an All-Star two years ago so we're certainly not moving on every time I'm like what do you always need I'm like a goalie and they're like well oh you want us to move on from our like young 20s all-star and I'm like
Starting point is 00:48:32 yes and this is the last I'll say on that series in that game but just like how do you feel now? Is anyone happy? Is anyone in Edmonton right now like that's our guy that's our goalie and i can't wait to go in it's it's always fair weather and grass is greener with goalies though eh like it's you know i'm sure they're saying no we're unhappy but they were the same people saying they were happy yeah yeah it's you know okay last game of the
Starting point is 00:48:59 night yeah capitals habs my hot take is this series might be just what the caps needed And Dan, let me tell you why, dude. It's fucking douche, because this HAB's team isn't, they can't win this series. Like they just aren't quite good enough to beat this Capitals team. But they are good enough. You made the little brother joke. Is that today or was that in the pod? We do too many episodes now.
Starting point is 00:49:33 I know. I think it was yesterday. You made that like, you're playing with your little brother joke. You might even been talking about the series. I can't remember. But it's like their habs are good. enough that they're making the caps work for it. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:49:45 It's not like what the Rangers got from the caps last year, where it's like this is, like, I got to go in cold to the next round, basically. Like the caps are like, we're going to fight you. Tooth and nail, but you're still going to win every game. And I'm like, oh yeah, that's right. Yeah, it's like, it's like an exhaust. It might be an exhausting sweep. Dude, and like, even if they don't sweep, I hope Montreal gets a couple.
Starting point is 00:50:05 Yeah, I think they're going to get one in the bell. So then you get like a tough five game series, but you're like, hey, boys, let's like get into playoffs. Yeah. if you're the caps like ov scoring like l t is fucking dialed we're just talking to him today he's fucking he looks like tim thomas dude you know when he's like fucking flying all over the place and i'm like get in the net dude he's like diving his sticks going everywhere but he's saving everything i'm like you were fucking vintage tim thomas right now so that i think that's good for them
Starting point is 00:50:28 like this is actually a really hard play tight playoff hockey game series yeah and because i thought dude i thought montable played awesome he was fantastic I think he was like the second star of the game. That was, it was a goalie duel, frankly. And fuck, yeah, I was going to say, I mean, I'm given sloppy, topy to L. Because he was phenomenal, similar to Otter, 14 saves in the third period. He was insane in the third. And he looked like a man possessed.
Starting point is 00:50:55 Yep. That's what I mean. But he also, physically he looks like a man possessed. And then every time it would cut to him, it genuinely looked like he was just vibing. Like he wasn't doing this thing like the, yeah. He was just kind of like, yeah. I'm just, I'm kind of crushing it right now. And I was like, yeah, you are.
Starting point is 00:51:11 And that's their attitude, I think. It's like, I mean, they've had these vibes all season. So it's, it's hard to say that it's happening now. But Ryan Leonard, secondary assist on that second goal. Great pass. Yeah. Cross the zone after the entry. He's kind of like, oh, sick. I'm getting a taste of playoff action.
Starting point is 00:51:25 I just think that so far this series has been perfect for them, obviously because they've won. But they're not even hitting, they're not on full cylinders yet either, which I think is a good thing. You're not like peaking in the beginning. of the playoffs they're just like we're getting our feet under us but we're playing good hockey and winning tight games learning how to win these tight games in playoffs and i i didn't pick them to go that far but these are the types of games and rounds that can can really hone in a playoff run
Starting point is 00:51:55 yeah they're such a team shout out ryan lundered by the way at apple on the game winner yeah that's so saying oh yeah i didn't i didn't hear you say it says my bad um uh they are such a team yes it's it's obviously Ovi gets two in that first game, but you see Stromer get one today. McMichael gets one and then the empty netter. PLs on the assists. Leonard's getting assists. They are such a unit.
Starting point is 00:52:20 And I think a lot of this series, Montreal's so young and fast. They're skilled. And Shelley says it later in the episode. You'll hear it. This Washington team is just big. So big. They're quick too.
Starting point is 00:52:39 But you know, you look, it's like they're getting out hit. Montreal's getting out hit. And in these close games, you know, OT and then this one, 3-1 with an empty net, are close games, goalie battles. The game gets tight, right? It gets gritty. A lot of the game is in the corners. And that is, like you said, they are having to grind it out.
Starting point is 00:52:59 But it's like that's why Washington, I think, is grinding it out. It's like this game in particular, just it got tight even though Montreal was getting all around the net in that third period getting so many shots on but uh it it's just what they need i kind of agree it's it's almost like this is this is the tougher first round series than maybe they expected i know they're up to one two oh but uh it's cool it's cool seeing montreal make them fucking earn it and uh fuck yeah you know it's cool seeing them earn it too and and i said um i think tchelli also and maybe last step if the caps keep playing with their food like I'm not sure you scrape by in Montreal,
Starting point is 00:53:41 just the extra jump that they're getting from that crowd, which isn't a guarantee, but I'm just saying that's a fear. If I'm playing super tight OT games against the Canadians, I'd rather not do that in Montreal. So I'm willing to admit that if the cabs steal two of their own in Montreal, if they win an OT game and a one goal game in Montreal, and then you come back to two, this isn't what the caps need anymore.
Starting point is 00:54:03 No. Like, fuck. Totally. Because we need to be playing better, and we shouldn't have been, we should have been pushing harder from the beginning. So if it continues, I'm like, yeah, you guys are laughing
Starting point is 00:54:14 and this is probably good for you. But I am weary because I would be shocked if Montreal doesn't win a game. I agree. I think they'll get one in Bell Center and I think it'll be so fucking cool. Yeah. And credit to a man.
Starting point is 00:54:27 These guys are, they're playing so well. This is a team that deserves to be in playoffs. And really deserves it. And both of these games have been a fucking blast to watch. So I've got nothing but good things to say about this Montreal team. You know, it's going into just a bit more time I wanted to spend. It's, you know, game one was 3-2 in OT, right?
Starting point is 00:54:52 3-2, yeah. And, you know, this one's a great comeback. I'm not sitting here being like, God, you guys got to score more. It's like Cole scored, Suzuki scored. And Devorak had it today. Is that who scored for? The empty-natter? No, no, no, Montreal's goal.
Starting point is 00:55:07 And it's because L.T. is playing so well. So I'm not like, you guys got to be, like, dude, 14 shots in the third period. Dude, 14. In Washington. 145 game two shots, 147 game one shots. Granted, they were chasing it, but like, they've had two great third periods. Great third periods. It seems playing fantastic.
Starting point is 00:55:24 And Washington's just playing a little bit better. And it's just, it's a cool series to say nothing but love to both these teams, one of them being a wild card team. Would you agree, and I don't mean to dog Ottawa, because they actually had a good game two, good fight back and game two. But after game one, we had said that looked like an inexperienced playoff team. I wouldn't say that Montreal has played like an inexperienced playoff team at all, even though they are a very inexperienced playoff team.
Starting point is 00:55:45 Not in the slightest. And that's really cool for the future of this has. And not in the slightest. It looks like a very well-coached. I was about to say a lot of that comes from top. A very well-coached young team. Even if this turns into a sweep, if you're a Montreal fan, I think you feel fantastic about the future of this group.
Starting point is 00:56:04 And before we kick it to our finishing part of the episode, I do just want to give another massive stroke off to LT because so much of the worry going into the playoffs was, you know, him needed to take some time off with a nagging injury. And it was like, what has been one of the biggest bastions of success to this season? It has been Logan Thompson joining this team and being lights the fuck out. him coming into playoffs and being like not art at all. You did, I said this the other day. Monster.
Starting point is 00:56:38 How many shots did they have? Did the habs have tonight? I think 20 or 30 flat. Okay, so tonight 30. No, sorry, 26. 25 save one goal, win. Two nights ago, 33 save, 9, 4, 3 save percentage. And then, dude, we brought this up the other day.
Starting point is 00:56:56 His playoff run in 23, 24 for Vegas, I know it was only four games. and he lost two of them, but 9-21, 2, 3, 5. Like, he's actually been very solid in the playoffs in his very short window. But I'm like, dude, there was no... Dude, when he was on, like, he said this, he was like, I'm the guy. Like, who doesn't think I'm the guy?
Starting point is 00:57:18 He's sick. So that is fucking money. I'm the fucking guy. Yeah. Let's get into some quick hitting news before we toss it to Chris Chelios. Three things. Outside of playoffs going on
Starting point is 00:57:30 that we just wanted to give quick takes on. number one, Chris Drury signs a multi-year extension with the New York Rangers as GM. Thoughts? I'm surprised and I'm not surprised. I'm surprised a little bit in that coming off this season, you're like, that's our guy, where I'm like, don't you have your hands all over this? Like, this is a disaster. And the Rangers don't look to me like they are in a place of like a great position to retool.
Starting point is 00:57:54 Last year, that's all I heard. Look how good fox is. Look how good. Lafie is. And look how good Chesty is good. But he's also overpaid. and now these two guys that you told me are so sick, like I'm not sure are that sick.
Starting point is 00:58:07 Yeah. So your retool, like honestly, if you're the Bruins and you're trying to retool around sway, pasta, and Charlie, I like that way more than Fox, Laffey, and Chesty. Yeah. Yeah. But, you know, they love him there and he loves doing that. Well, I don't think they do.
Starting point is 00:58:22 That's the thing. It's, you know, we tweeted the other day when Labs got fired, the majority of the responses were Drury Necks. I think I'm at the other. ownership. Oh. They're like, we love them, so. Yeah, and clearly they do. Dolan clearly is very happy with him. You know, I think Drew
Starting point is 00:58:37 Drury's made some good moves. I think he's made some bad moves. I just always, you can't service the fan base as an owner. You obviously literally need to in some ways, but this is one of those it's one of those double-edged sword situations where it's like,
Starting point is 00:58:55 guys, you're buying season tickets. You're selling out MSG every night no matter who's in that job. So until the team starts suffering, it's like they're not going to make these decisions. So it's always just interesting when you have such a loud portion of the fan base being like, get rid of this fucking guy to then give him a multi-year extension. Almost feels like spitting in your fans' faces.
Starting point is 00:59:17 Which is a perfect segue into the next piece of news. The Boston Bruins had a press conference with the Jacobs, Neely, and Sweeney. Very strange, very strange media day. there's just a lot of almost contradicting each other. The Jacobs went on to say things like, honestly, I have no idea what the fans are upset about. It's not as bad as it seems. Like it genuinely felt like they were pissing on the fans
Starting point is 00:59:42 and telling them it was raining. Sweeney said a lot of PR responses. Like, we need to be better. We need to be held accountable. And I'm like, that's you. You need to be held accountable. Yeah. Which we're talking about you.
Starting point is 00:59:57 Yeah. We're talking about you. So just another one that had Bruins Twitter up in arms. They say the plan is to make playoffs next year. We anticipate making playoffs. We anticipate making playoffs and spend a ton of money. And it just begs the question on who and where. Yeah, I don't have much to add, dude.
Starting point is 01:00:16 The Bruins are honestly in timeout for me until something good happens. Which could be as early as next year. Maybe they do spend the right money and people have better seasons and they're like immediately in contention. But right now I'm like, I can't even listen to you or look at you. I agree. This is ridiculous. I don't, I'm going to enjoy my playoffs.
Starting point is 01:00:33 Yeah, thanks. And then finally, the Quinn Hughes drama. Jim Rutherford also has a press conference where... Dude, I think Rutherford's goaded. Dude, he is...
Starting point is 01:00:44 He's like, J.T. Miller and Elias Patterson hate each other, and it sucks, and we're going to trade one of them. He just says whatever comes to his mind. That man, don't give a fuck about nothing. It's awesome.
Starting point is 01:00:54 I think it's Quinn has two years left. Yeah, I think so. This year, this coming season, in next season and the year after that under contract under a problem almost certainly the best contract in the N.A. Yeah. I think Quinn makes like 7.8s or something.
Starting point is 01:01:10 They were asked about him what extension he might be looking at and Rutherford said something along the lines of it might not come down to money he has made it very clear he wants to play with his brothers. Yeah we can't keep him. Truly wild thing for your owner to say uh respect it. Dude like Jersey gets to now be like hey dude here's a fifth rounder. Fuck you.
Starting point is 01:01:29 like, oh, okay. Yeah. If Vancouver gets fleeced for Quinn Hughes, you have to fold the franchise. You're done. You're done. I don't even know what to say. Brock Best is a Minnesota wild player next year. Quinn Hughes is a devil.
Starting point is 01:01:42 Like, Petey is like, where'd Hugo? So we're not going to get into it too deep, but it will be something to keep an eye on. Yeah. Because if all of a sudden, remember, it was weird when Rutherford was just so open about PD and JT. and then like a week later JT got traded. So it's weird now that he's like, I don't know, dude, Gwen wants to be in New Jersey. We're trading them.
Starting point is 01:02:05 We're hearing crickets as someone's like this. Are you about to trade him in a joke? Insane. Okay, let's kick it to our chat with Chris Chelyos. Our boy joins the show, gives us some rundown on a bunch of the playoffs series. Obviously, want you guys to know, this was earlier today before the three games
Starting point is 01:02:20 that were played tonight, so things have changed. But you get Chelly's perspective on all of the other series, including these ones, absolute blast chatting with them as always. going to break to talk about hockey's favorite beer. You already know it. It's Labat Blue. There is no question about it, guys. We are currently in the middle
Starting point is 01:02:36 of playoffs. These games and these series are absolutely buzzing. That means you need to be buzzing too. The best way to do that is crack open a cold, crisp, refreshing Labat Blue or Labat Blue Light. All of them are fantastic. You know why? Because they are brewed with Canadian kindness. Yeah, that's
Starting point is 01:02:52 the best kind of kindness that exists on this planet. and that is in every single pint, can, and bottle of Labat Blue. You need a beer while you're watching these games. It's too tense. You're too tense without it. You're screaming so much. You need to wet your whistle.
Starting point is 01:03:09 Do that with the Labat. It's fantastic. So if you're saddled up at the pub, if you are sitting at home watching the game or if you're there at the game, find a Labat and get that in your system because it's going to make you feel amazing. It's going to make you feel kind, that Canadian kindness. And it's just going to make you enjoy the game more. It's the empty netter's favorite.
Starting point is 01:03:26 beer. It's hockey's favorite beer. It's got to be your favorite beer as well. Grab a Lab Blue today. What do you think about the playoffs so far? I mean, unbelievable start. You know, two upsets yesterday. Teams got pounded at home, Tampa and
Starting point is 01:03:42 Vegas, so no one sees that coming. But it's good to see Kachuk back and healthy and you come out of the gate with two goals. So, you know, I pick Florida if they were healthy. We'll see what happens. But there's like seven teams that are legit depending if they stay healthy and
Starting point is 01:03:58 big goal by Max Domi that was sick yeah yes oh my god you're so right about the health factor I mean it's I feel like Tampa was so hot to end the year and everyone was counting out Florida and now they've got the full line like they don't even have Ekblad yeah and they absolutely beat the wheels off Tampa do you feel like Tampa's freaking out because of that or do you think they can reset game too yeah no like Cooper is such a good coach
Starting point is 01:04:22 and they got so many veteran guys in there it's just one game everybody knows that, but it's not a good way to start at home. That's for sure. You give up home and give up home an ice advantage, you know, to the defending Stanley Cup champs, right? So, and they've been there now. This is their, you know, two times in the finals, and now with all that experience.
Starting point is 01:04:41 So I love the way they play Florida. Tampa, too, though. They play the same game. Yeah. And that first period I thought was really even, but, Chelle, we were talking, you think, because obviously everyone keeps the injury stuff close to the vest and you're like,
Starting point is 01:04:56 I don't know what Matthew Kuchuk's going to give them when they finally show up. If you're Tampa and you see him look perfect and have two goals, is that a bit of a gut punch or are you like, okay, whatever, we were in a fight anyway? Well, again, when he's coming off, his groin to look like or something in the stomach, but yeah, it's amazing. I don't think he had surgery and like you said, for him to come out like that, I mean, him and Bennett, obviously, they set the tone.
Starting point is 01:05:23 pretty much every game. And now you got that rat marsh on there, too, to chip in. So, you know, good for them. I'm happy for them. It's so true. And it's, you always talk about guys, you need to set the pace. The fact that Bennett comes out, scores one, knocking it out of the air, Kachuk gets two. You're just like, if you're Tampa, you're like, fuck me. Like, these guys are going immediately. They just pounded us. It's so tough. Yeah. Yeah. What a great rebound year for Tampa. Like, they're, what, top in scoring and fourth in defense. So, I mean, They got everything it takes too, but you know, you've got Bobrowski against Vasilevsky, and then, you know, you've got Hegel, who's having an incredible year.
Starting point is 01:06:02 Oh, yeah. It'd be a great series. Is this, is this, is game two, if you're Tampa, must win? Like, if you lose game two, do you still think you can take them down? Or are you like, we literally have to win this game? I mean, I've been there a few times, and you'd lose the first two at home. It's pretty tough to bounce back off of that. You know, I've been on the other side of the coin, too, but, um, I've been on the other side of the coin,
Starting point is 01:06:22 but yeah they can't drop two at home to a team like Florida and go into their building I think they know that so a lot of pressure all the pressure's on Tampa yeah that's that's true you know I think the fact I was talking about earlier like they're so close it's just the battle of Florida right I'm not even sure if home ice matters that much but I do think the factor of it being Florida as in the team yeah like that is a team you can't go down 02 against that would be a disaster so yeah that is a huge game too you mentioned the max Domygole, that was sick.
Starting point is 01:06:54 Do you believe in Toronto this year? How good are the Leafs, Joe? Yeah, yeah. Well, again, regular seasons, there's no question. They're a great team for years now. I think the biggest difference is Barubi, right? He's got the Stanley
Starting point is 01:07:10 Cup pedigree with St. Louis. He's a hard-nosed guy. I think that shows the way they play. They're more physical, more accountability. And now it's just a matter of doing the playoffs. And I think huge break. for them to get Ottawa first round as opposed to, you know, getting the heck beat out of them by Florida or Tampa.
Starting point is 01:07:30 And, you know, maybe that's just a breath of fresh air for them. Not that Ottawa is going to be a pushover, but I'm sure that's a matchup they would have liked to see first round. And then you'll see Florida and Tampa kill each other, you know, this round. And then, you know, Toronto, when they do meet them, then, you know, hopefully they'll be healthy. And there'll be a better matchup for them than first round, right? Yeah, absolutely.
Starting point is 01:07:50 And I think because we had been talking about, I was afraid if once Toronto had won the division, you're either getting Montreal or Ottawa, one of the wildcard teams. And I was saying to Dan, I was like, man, if I'm Toronto, Ottawa scares me more than Montreal might have just because of how physical Ottawa can be. And you got Brady Kachuk and the battering ram four check and all that stuff. But I thought Toronto has matched that level in the first two games to the point that I'm almost ready to call this thing. Do you think Otto has some punchback at home, or is this just a Leafs steamroll? I mean, again, if they win next game, they're right back in the series, right? So, but no, this is a do-or-die game, obviously, especially the way Toronto has been playing all year and now carried over here.
Starting point is 01:08:36 But, you know, Otto had to battle getting the playoffs for a while, and they did it. And they're playing playoff hockey, you know, for the past two months, where Toronto kind of cruised in there and had a terrific year, but they're healthy. you know and again max was out for a while too with that groin Jomey and a guy like that you know it's just more guys that can contribute to various you know Matthews and then so on in Nielander it's one of they're loaded but they you know they got to play good defensively and you know I didn't get a chance to watch the whole game that you know they can't have those breakdowns that they've had in the past yeah yeah actually I have two questions for you about that chel question one how much of a mental toll is it when you feel like you've been in playoffs for two
Starting point is 01:09:17 months already when you finally get to playoffs. And then question two is, obviously wins are all that matters in playoffs. But if you're Ottawa, do you take anything positive out of that comeback? We were down to, oh, we could have got crushed, but we came back. Even though we lost an OT, do you take some of that with you into game three? No question. It's frustrating. And they can get going the other way.
Starting point is 01:09:38 That's confidence and momentum. But again, in playoffs, you know, it's all about the next game. You can't look back. whether it was good or bad for you. It's just all about the next game. And then, you know, you hope to not get in that situation or it's a must-win, do-or-die-game. And this is, you know, this is a fervor.
Starting point is 01:09:58 You go down three-nothing, you're done. Yeah. You mentioned Barube earlier. How much do you really think he is playing a factor? And I'm not saying I doubt him. But it is always like you look at the team. There wasn't that much turnaround. There were some good ads on defense, definitely.
Starting point is 01:10:14 But how much do you think, his mentality, the way he coaches, is actually motivating this group, maybe more than it has in the past. Boy, scary as a player to look at him. I'm sure as a player looking at him as a coach. It's the same. So, I mean, I don't think he's a guy type of guy.
Starting point is 01:10:32 I don't know for a fact, a yeller and screw, but I think he's stern and to the point and the accountability thing. And you can't question him. You know, guys will buy into what he's saying because he's been there and done it, right? You have to. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:10:46 That's so true. Yeah, previously the coaches before him, they had won. And, you know, it's just at some point the message doesn't come clear. But Barubi, they can't second-guess him. Yeah. And he's won, you know, recently, too. You know, like 2019 is not that long ago. So that's a big factor.
Starting point is 01:11:04 With the team that got hot, too, you know what I mean? He was like, I know how to ride this wave. Chil, you mentioned earlier the Vegas Wild Game was crazy last night. are you watching that at all worried if you're Vegas or are you like oh we were a little sloppy whatever we're fine no i'm quite honestly i didn't get to watch that whole game i was doing something i'll plug it or tequila company or selling tequila last night let's go um yeah just saw the highlights we'll get to that later but no i mean minnesota again they're bread and butters they play well defensively and caprice off right he's their he's their guy so you know Vegas is going to have to hunker down on
Starting point is 01:11:44 him you know he's you know you take him away and you take away a lot of their offense and it's been i think a lot of us forgot how well caprizov was playing to start this year you know he was leading the league and goals MVP favorite it was you know quarter way through the season but still he was flying and i kind of wrote the wild off just because of all the injuries and they they were slipping at the end i was like this is going to be i think i said a sweep i was like this is over and even in game one loss, I thought they played much better to their potential with everybody healthy. And good to see a little fight here because now I think Vegas maybe was thinking to themselves, yeah, let Dallas and Winnipeg and Colorado beat the shit out of each other.
Starting point is 01:12:26 Well, we kind of roll here. And now they might be in for a long one too. Yeah. I mean, like I got all the confidence in Vegas. So I love Cassidy. I mean, I don't think there's too many better coaches than him along with Montgomery and a few the other guys, Maurice, but yeah, that's a veteran team, and I still don't think Minnesota's ready to tackle them.
Starting point is 01:12:48 Yeah, I think that's so true. I agree. I do want to give some air time to the Jets. Obviously, President's trophy winning team, wire to wire, I feel like they were a wagon all season long, and now they're playing the Red Hot Blues and they're up to O. Do you feel like this is a different Jets team this year? Like, they could make a good run. They have Heli, maybe stumbled a bit.
Starting point is 01:13:09 in game one, but played great in game two. Do you believe in the Jets team? Absolutely. I guess I mentioned earlier that there's seven teams that are legit Stanley Cup, you know, contenders this year. And they're definitely got to be at the top with how well. After what happened last year, no one
Starting point is 01:13:25 saw that coming. Yeah. And sometimes you'll learn from that. You know, this time they're ready. So yeah, I think they're there. They've got a big, fast team. And you got Helen Buck, right? He's MVP and possible MVP. but for sure Vezna trophy winner
Starting point is 01:13:41 so yeah I love to watch their team. Got to see them play in Chicago last week in town and they're incredible. Yeah, dude and they have people going I was saying going into playoffs you got a career year from Shifley a career year from Kyle Connor
Starting point is 01:13:59 a damn close to career from Hellabuck Vezna winner for sure and you go do we maintain that in playoffs because we've seen with the Leafs year and the year again. The Austin Matthew scores 70 in the regular season and then scores one in the playoffs. And the fact that they're getting goals from their stars immediately, Chelly, right? Like Sheifley's got two already.
Starting point is 01:14:18 Connor's got two already. Game winning goals. Isn't that awesome for team morale when you're like our best guys are going right away? Yeah. And at the end of the day, those are the guys, you know, they've got to win it for you. You still need that depth. The guy's chipping in. But usually when a team wins, that's what does happen.
Starting point is 01:14:33 You know, other guys will start chipping it. Everything seems to go right for you. You know, you get the big goals when you need. them the big saves when you need them and right now you know that's where winnipeg is yeah yeah it's i mean we talked about it man i i think that they they're one of these teams you know along with the wild of the last several years losing in the first round carolina never really getting over the hump the wild definitely have this stink around them that's like oh or excuse me the jets have this stink around them that's like oh yeah you know you're great in the regular season but you just can't get the job
Starting point is 01:15:03 done and i actually love that they played the blues in this first round because it's it's you know other than the Kings, like we've talked about, one of the hottest teams in league to finish the year after the Four Nations break. And they're just, they look so calm. That's what I keep saying. They look so calm against this team, against a great goalie and binner, and it's showing why they're the president's trophy winners. So to kind of answer the bell of that pressure of you were great all year,
Starting point is 01:15:28 now you're playing this really good team, and they're up to, oh, it's like, it's good as a start as you could ask for. It's pretty sick. Yeah, yeah. It's huge. Shelly, talk to me about, uh, talk to me about, uh, Talk to me about Avs, stars. You've been able to watch any of that?
Starting point is 01:15:41 I watched the first game, and McKinnon, unbelievable. You know, Jesus, he just doesn't stop. I know. It's crazy. It's insane. It's insane. It's lying around. And then you got McCar and Taze, you know, I think the best pair of defense in the league.
Starting point is 01:16:00 So they're strong. They got great goaltending that first game. So, yeah, I mean, there's. whatever happened the last year, you know, I don't know, they just, they didn't play the same defensively. The goal tending was a bit of an issue, but again, they're one of those teams
Starting point is 01:16:18 that I think, you know, they got every goodest chance as anybody to win the cup, the way they play. And do you think, we're not sure yet, but there's a chance that Landisog plays tonight. Yeah. Yeah, what do you think, like, what kind of boost will that give to the boys?
Starting point is 01:16:31 And what do you think he has in him, Shell? Like, you know, you've dealt with injuries. Like, that guy hasn't played in three years. It must be hard to come back to an, NHL game with that much time off. But then also as a player, like how much of a lift do you think that is for the boys? Like he hasn't played since they literally lifted the cup. Now all of a sudden he's going to be in the locker room going to battle with them. Is that one of the more uplifting things that a player could ask for in the playoffs? I mean, I don't think there's a guy in the league
Starting point is 01:16:55 that's not cheering for him, quite honestly. So, so real. Just a shame that he's had to sit out at his age and, you know, winning the cup and then have, you know, this happened to him. I've had knee injuries before. And so I'm taking a year. to recover, but three years, he's done everything he can to try and, you know, surgeries and treatments and flown all over the world to try and fix what it is. But, you know, it's just time's going to tell whether he's as effective. Yeah, yeah. You can play, but, you know, you lose that step, and it's a big thing what he had, that, you know, the skill and the strength that he had. But definitely, you know, it's got to be a big lift for that team. And if he could stay healthy and get
Starting point is 01:17:36 back to contributing like he was before, man, what a big bonus that is for the avalanche. Can you imagine that ad? But, but, Jill, what kind of, do you think it's a tough call or it's almost a tough position for the abs? Let's say he can play. He's healthy enough to play, but he's not effective to a point that you might be scratched if you weren't Landiscaug. Like, is that a tough spot to be in?
Starting point is 01:17:56 Because you're like, I don't know what to do with this guy because he's healthy and he wants to be in there, but he's not doing the job. What do you think goes into that? Yeah, I think that's going to be on Landiscag. I don't think he's not only used to do. concerned about maybe contributing as much as he is, you know, hurting the team. As a forward, you get away with it a little bit right now. Not like a defenseman, you know.
Starting point is 01:18:15 But I think that's the biggest thing. And he's a big boy, you know, I think he'll know. If he doesn't think he can do the job, he'd be the first one to admit it. That's a great point. I was going to say that might be on Bednar a little bit, but I actually think Landy is such a pro that he would be the first to say, I'm not getting it done. That's a good point.
Starting point is 01:18:34 Not talking about maybe your favorites. has anyone surprised you so far through a couple games? You mentioned these seven teams or so that could look like they could win a cup. Completely agree with you on that. Has anyone come out so far in these first couple of games that you've been like, oh, shit, and might seem like more of a threat than maybe people considered them? Not really. I mean, again, the two upsets that Tampa losing at home and then Minnesota beat in Vegas in Vegas.
Starting point is 01:19:01 But I watched the Montreal Washington game, and Montreal is doing exactly what they need to do. You know, they're getting under people's skin. They're driving Wilson crazy. They've got to draw penalties they are. And they're playing loose and cocky. And they get back into Montreal. Washington's going to have their hands full, especially, you know,
Starting point is 01:19:21 first game, it was an amazing game. Montreal hung in there. I didn't see that coming, but now after watching them to play that game, that surprised me. I agree, dude. I think they played a night, right? Yeah, yeah, yeah. I have eyes peeled heavy on that game tonight because that could be, that could get sketchy. Yeah, because I was saying that the Washington playing with their food a little bit in game one, letting Montreal come back, they hang on.
Starting point is 01:19:49 Ovi gets the winner, everyone's happy. I don't think you can get away with playing that loose when you're in the bell center and the crowd's going crazy and there against you. I feel like that gives the Canadians the push. Yeah, and in Washington's defense, quite honestly, the first game at home in playoffs is a really, tough one for the home team. Generally, it's the home ice thing, right? You just, you lose that one.
Starting point is 01:20:10 You know, all the pressures on you that was second game. So that's a tough game to win that first game. You know, maybe Washington had the jitters. No, first game at home. So we'll see. This second game, it's really important for Montreal. Yeah, and I want, I had picked the abs to roll in that series,
Starting point is 01:20:25 but the habs looked really good, and I want that for the fans, just because the buzz there is so crazy with that making playoffs. Oh, my God. And that one, too, like Suzuki and coffee, like all the boys that we're going are going good right now. So I think that's going to be a sick one when it gets to Montreal.
Starting point is 01:20:39 Yeah, no doubt about it. Yeah, I just think the size of Washington is going to ultimately take over. They're just big everywhere. And Montreal not so much. Those guys you mentioned, Kofield Suzuki. You get skate, no question. But, you know, Washington's D. Chikrin and Carlson, those guys are big bodies.
Starting point is 01:20:59 Yeah, the playoffs, I mean, we always talk about. The playoffs are such a different beast for so many reasons. reasons, but I do think the physicality becomes a much bigger factor than the regular season. We're seeing the game adapt so much, you know, speed and skill is sort of taking over the game. But once you get into the playoffs, you look at a team like Florida and Vegas the year before who win the cup, there's a big reason why, and it's because they are banging people around. So that's such a good point. And you got to be disciplined.
Starting point is 01:21:24 Yeah. Really, that's, you can't afford to take penalties. I know. It makes you pay. Especially lower seat teams. Yeah. Here's another one with a game tonight, Chelsea. so we'll see what happens.
Starting point is 01:21:34 But I just want your opinion on the mental game of it. If you're the Kings and you have that game one where you win, but you're up huge and then McDavid goes crazy and comes back, what's the mental state of Kings players right now? I mean, again, to be up for, you know, that's a credit to them for setting themselves up for, you know, almost failure. But to come back and win the way they did, that goal is goofy. I know, dude. A little change up.
Starting point is 01:22:02 Ship shot. Oh, my God. That was funny. I had to look at it three times to see what happened. But, yeah. But no, like Edmonton's, you know, they got McDavid, and they got dry-siled, and then the rest, you know, any wins will win, you know, and L.A. plays so good at home. You know, their record at home is incredible.
Starting point is 01:22:21 Yeah. That's got to be a big confidence, you know, booster for them. And, you know, that's that first game again. So we'll see what happens. But L.A. plays hard against them. I think they won the season series. again. Definitely. Yeah, they did. They did. It doesn't count for a lot, but
Starting point is 01:22:36 still, for mentally, like you mentioned, I think they're in a good spot, LA. It's an interesting spin zone of going, yeah, it was ugly, but you won a game against the Oilers where McDavid had three or four points. You're like, that's a fucking win, dude. Like, who gives a shit? You know?
Starting point is 01:22:52 At the end of the day, you got the W in the column. That's all that matters. Yeah. Yeah, they're not stopping them, so you better outscore them, right? That's the only way. Yeah, exactly. I'm curious what you think, shifting towards, you know, from playoffs to looking larger. With the Leafs, good job up to O going back to that series real quick. How important do you think this season is for them?
Starting point is 01:23:16 With Marner's contract up, Tavares' contract up, the switch with Barubi, a coach, Matthews getting to see. How different do you think this postseason result is than it has been for the past few years? I mean, every year, you know, it's happened where they have a disappointing plan. You think something huge is going to have. So far, it's mostly been, you know, just coaching changes, right? It hasn't really been, you know, the lot of player personnel on Tavares. You know, always under the scrutiny and captain. Now Matthews being the captain, obviously.
Starting point is 01:23:51 And it hasn't seemed to bother either one of them or the teams. Yeah. You've got to wait and see what happens. But, again, I think Barubi is the key. adding him and with the effector that he's won and the players love him. You know, I talked to Ty. The players absolutely love him. Yeah, that's true.
Starting point is 01:24:10 There's no doubt about that. To just hit the last series, Cheld, does Carolina, it looks like Carolina is going to roll, they're playing well. Devils are actually giving more of a fight than I expected. But Carolina, for the last handful of years, is this team that everybody's so excited about in this sleeper team and then they get rolled in the second or third round every time. I think they've been swept for the Eastern Conference Finals every time they've been. Are they showing you anything different this year?
Starting point is 01:24:34 Do you feel like it's maybe more of the same? It's the same, but I mean, they don't go outside the box, but they're one of those teams. They just, because of Brindamore and the structure and the defensive play, you know, it doesn't seem that they go outside the box very much, you know, and guys taking off and, you know, did not a lot of breakaways, but they play the game right. They're one of the teams you can watch them play a full 60 minutes. and not make any mistakes, no outnumbered situations, very disciplined, very well structured defensively. So that'll always win your games, but like you said, they haven't been able to get over the hump.
Starting point is 01:25:11 You know, you need one or two guys that think outside the box and take chances. And, you know, at the right times, obviously. Anticipate, yeah. And I don't, I think, you know, he has so much, you know, they listen to him and to everything he says. I think every guy's bought into, you know, Brandemore's structure and system, and it doesn't hurt them, but again, you still need those guys, like a guy like Kane,
Starting point is 01:25:35 that's going to do his thing. Yeah, and it's a matter of trust. So I think at some point, you know, Brindamore's got to let that leash a little longer to create more offense when they need it. Yep, that's exactly. I love that take, actually. It's like you do, when you look at some of the talent they have,
Starting point is 01:25:51 you got to let those guys off the leash a little bit. Yeah. That's very real. Okay, so I want to do, and I know it's, early and impossible, but I want to hear everyone's Stanley Cup final prediction. Yeah, yeah, I want, Charlie, I want to hear, you know, we have all these teams, but who do you
Starting point is 01:26:04 like out of the east and who do you like out of the West? Well, I'm not going to go against Florida. I picked them in the beginning of the year. If they're healthy, they're healthy now. Yeah, so. They sure are. I'm taking Florida out of the east. Out of the West, geez, man, I mean, I love the way Winnipeg plays.
Starting point is 01:26:23 I really do. I think Canada, Canada's turn, like, it's got to be. It has to be Toronto, because I'm picking Florida. I'll go with Winnipeg. Wow. I love that. Me too. Shelly, I can't believe you're making me fly from Winnipeg to Fort Lauderdale again for the five.
Starting point is 01:26:41 Yeah, that's going to stink, yeah. But you know what? They're due. There'll be another Canadian, you know, American finals, so we'll see what happens. But I won't count anybody out. What McDavid can do is, crazy. He carried them to the
Starting point is 01:26:57 seventh game last year, him in dry sidles. So there's nothing he can't accomplish either. Actually, Chil, no joke. Who do you think would you say right now can't, cannot win? Because there's not that many that I would think. I think there's a lot. And now that's a difference
Starting point is 01:27:13 between who can win a first round series and who can't win the cup. I think there's several that I would say can't win the cup. Devils? Habs. L.A. still, I don't think they have what it takes. Oh, really? as much as I love how hard they play. But Dallas, I don't know why.
Starting point is 01:27:33 I just don't have a lot of faith in Dallas either for some reason. And even though they have Ottinger and the rest of that crew there, but they're missing Robertson, right? Yeah. Husky that just got back, which is a big plus for them. But, like I said, I still think there's seven teams legit could win that cup. That's right. Most open it's been in a long time.
Starting point is 01:27:55 Which is so fucking exciting, man. It's crazy. It's crazy playoff. It's going to be amazing. You know, you're making me pick a winner, but I can't pick a winner. Yeah, agree, agree. I think mine is like, East, it's, you know, I pick Tampa, and then they just got slapped in the face.
Starting point is 01:28:16 So I don't want to be a coward in backup. But it's like maybe it's the winner of that series. But I think it's that. Like, I'm picking the state of Florida. That's the state of Florida is coming out of the East for me. And I still believe in Colorado. I think it was a great win by Dallas, but I think Colorado,
Starting point is 01:28:30 I think they've got something this year. And I'm so excited to see the boost of Landy, whether he's a huge contributor or not. I just think it's going to be, that barn's going to be fucking nuts. Well, dude, I will say to both of your picks, that second round of Winnipeg, presuming they win,
Starting point is 01:28:46 of Winnipeg versus Colorado or Dallas. Yeah. It will be a great series. And really cool for Winnipeg, who would be over the hump finally of one and then just like can we prove it against these best teams who we've beaten in the regular season but can we prove it in the playoffs that's going to be sick a winnipeg final would be can you imagine that arena and that fan base that would be scenes yeah i'm like i said
Starting point is 01:29:09 i'm not cheering for them but i just got to feel maybe this would be there here i love it i like all all right chely you're the man for hopping on with us we'll let you go actually wait tell us about the tequila what you guys up to in quay west that's what i wanted to know last yeah the keys i I don't know if you've been down to the key. Oh, many times. Yeah, those cruise ships empty out. It's like a carnival down there, right? It's almost like, you know, New Orleans, but clean and nice.
Starting point is 01:29:33 And, you know, and a lot of hockey fans. Geez, they don't have an ice rink over there. They've got an inline skating league, I guess. They take pretty serious. But, you know, a lot of drinking going on during the winter there. And like I said, it was amazing. The Boston fans, the Philadelphia fans, everybody real courteous and nice to me. after all the years of bad blood.
Starting point is 01:29:54 It was great to be around everybody and a lot of Chicago, Michigan people. But again, surprisingly, everybody really fired up for the playoffs. And pretty cool to see that in a setting like that with all those bars. But it's a big sports town, I'll tell you that. Yep. Hell yeah. And which show are you going to? You're going to tomorrow's night's Pearl Jam or which one you're hitting or both?
Starting point is 01:30:18 Every one of them. Every one I can. So I'll be there Thursday and Saturday in Fort Lauderdale. and, you know, check in at home for a little bit. See the new grandkids and then head back out to probably Pittsburgh and Nashville. Okay, amazing. Are you going to be in Lottie for a game? You know what?
Starting point is 01:30:36 There's a one o'clock game on Saturday, so we thought about it, but I just had that drive, and I'm staying in Miami with a buddy who's got a beautiful boat. It makes it hard to get up to sunrise. I don't think you can get to the rink from the boat. It's not on the water, so. No, I don't think I'm going to go. Yeah, we'll see. We'll see.
Starting point is 01:30:55 No, get a TV on the boat. We'll be fine. Yeah, we're laughing. Yeah, Victor's right over here. He's got his company's rate, mortgage company, the biggest mortgage company in the country. So I've been hanging around him for a few years since the Cubs won the World Series, but we've got a good thing going down here with him and his house.
Starting point is 01:31:12 I won't leave. Yeah, I wouldn't leave either. That's perfect. There's a nice TV on the boat, too. Yeah. There you go. Maybe I'll catch a flight down to Miami. People come down and hang with you, dude. That sounds sick.
Starting point is 01:31:26 All right, well, thanks again, brother. You're the man. We'll definitely have you check in again later in the playoffs to see where things stand. But it's always a blast chatting with you. Donald's good. Never named Winnipeg. It'll be Colorado. I'm with you. All right. Hey, there we go. I love it.
Starting point is 01:31:39 What a legend, Chris Chelyo says, Dan. And obviously, that's the aura about him. Is that what the kids are saying? Ora. There's aura about him. He has aura for sure. But it's even more insane. I'm like, Chely, what are you doing? And he's like, just got back from Key West doing a.
Starting point is 01:31:52 brand deal for the tequila that i invented and now i'm in miami touring with pearl jam backstage and like i don't know if i'll have time to go to the panthers game because i'll be on a yacht just watching games on boats i'm like what guys absolutely shredded still has got a crispy golden tan i love every time we talk to chely i'm like god i wish i was just hanging out with me too every time literally i was like i'll come down me too same i was like i'll buy a ticket to why so huge thank you yeah we'll have them back on the playoffs awesome awesome hearing from him. It's like the mental stuff I like from him. He's just so smart, man. He sees, he just understands the game so well. It's why he's a Hall of Famer. Yeah. I was hilarious. Love you, Chelly. Thank you for popping on. Let's quickly hit
Starting point is 01:32:33 starting six, and then let's get into some trivia. Starting out at left wing, krill the thrill. Five points. Looks unreal. Looks like the MVP he was. Yeah. Like these, playoffs for these were just going to be more like eye tests, but it's just been awesome. And so for Senator, we're going Mark Sheifley. Five points in two games. I said to somebody today, it's it's it's or maybe it was jelly but it's do we do so many things now i don't know what day anything i don't know what day it is i don't know when we did anything but um chifley and conner going even picking up right where they left off in the regular season awesome to see he's been great keep chugging yeah uh our boy juice kempi leads the playoffs with seven points two fucking games
Starting point is 01:33:10 i mean he just like it's like what absolute machine today couple tucks with one of the grossest of the playoffs so far that bar out unbelievable nasty left d we're going to thomas harley Point in every game in the playoffs, and he's looked perverted, to be honest. He really has. And just adding to the points the way he is stepping up and taking the place of Miro being gone. Power play. Yeah. Eating shots.
Starting point is 01:33:33 Looks unbelievable. Guy who's also doing that, Petro. Alex Petrangelo, two points and is a plus two, which includes a game they got crushed in. And he's been the guy doing his job. I had my guy. Eating. Yeah. Eating.
Starting point is 01:33:47 And then goalie, we're going Freddie Anderson. How could you not? 960 save percentage one goal against. He looks as fresh as lettuce. Dan for the rest of the playoffs. I'm calling him Freddie Iceberg. What do you think about that? I really like that.
Starting point is 01:33:59 Freddie Iceberg over there in Carolina. I really like that. Dude, because he is crisp. Dude, put him in a wedge. Drizzle some blue cheese over the guy. A little bacon. Come on. Freddie Iceberg.
Starting point is 01:34:11 I love it. Congratulations. Want to do some trivia? I do. Okay. I want to play a trivia game. And for the new listeners, we rotate trivia games here. and Dan does him, I do him, we pick a new game,
Starting point is 01:34:23 we kind of rotate through four trivia games, and this one's back to me, because he did, Dan did the last four. And this game is called connective tissue. Not what's the connection, which is our 10 trivia question things. This is connective tissue, which is, there are two players, NHL players, and we I give you
Starting point is 01:34:52 descriptions of both of them and their things their names are going to meet in the middle yes so for example we had done um who did you do last time um one time I did uh shit um um uh uh uh I can't well the first one I ever did was um Scott Stephen Scott Steven Stamco yeah that's a good example yep so Scott Stevens Steven Stamcoise you guys know the game by now okay so Dan are you guys know the game by now okay so Dan are you ready. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I have a version of this that's like a little bit harder, so if you don't get it right away, I'm going to add some things to their description. Okay, so you're going to embarrass me. No, because just sometimes it's so, I make them too easy for you. Okay. Okay. So
Starting point is 01:35:29 I played one season at UMass and then was drafted becoming the highest draft pick in the school's history. I've played for four teams already and in my third stop, I want a Stanley Cup. Then I also played college hockey and was a finalist for the Hobie Baker but I went undrafted and shined with the team that took a chance on me making it to a Stanley Cup but not winning. I left my first team in free agency after nine years there to sign with someone new but I missed this past season due to injury. So tell me how you're thinking if you have any elite on either one
Starting point is 01:36:15 I can read both again and then tell me which ones you want added details to. Um, what's got you, what gets you rattled? The four teams got me rattled. Okay. That guy again. I played one season at UMass. Yep. And then was drafted becoming the highest draft pick in the school's history.
Starting point is 01:36:35 I've played on four teams already. In my third stop, I want a Stanley Cup. Four teams, dude. So that's interesting. I feel like I know one of them. Okay. That's interesting. Is one of them a friend of the pod?
Starting point is 01:37:02 One of them is a friend of the pod. Okay, I think I know the first one. Really? I think so. Say it again? I played one season at UMass. And then was drafted. And I have played four seasons.
Starting point is 01:37:17 For four teams. Becoming the highest draft against school season. I've played for four teams already in my third stop. I want a Stanley Cup. Yeah, I know who that is. Okay. I'm going to give you a little bit more detail on that one and then you can confirm. Okay.
Starting point is 01:37:29 Just be honest if you change. your answer though I want you to know I will be honest I played one season at UMass and was drafted in the second round becoming the highest draft pick in the school's history I've played on four teams already and in my third stop I want a Stanley Cup I'm of Mohawk descent yeah yeah and I know I know I know and I know it I know okay know the first one and the second one undrafted hobie Bitt oh wait sick and don't do you know do you think you know it for sure I think I do for sure can I give you a little bit more? No. Okay. Well, no. Okay. Sick. I actually might be wrong. Give me him. Okay. Here's one more piece. I actually, I'm definitely right because he's undrafted.
Starting point is 01:38:16 I also played college hockey for Michigan State. Yeah. Okay. I got it. I got it. For the Hobie Baker as a defenseman. Yeah. Then I went undrafted, but shined with the team that took a chance on me, making it to a Stanley Cup final, but not winning. Our connective tissue player is Brandon Montori crew. Brandon Montori Krug Really good one Dude A couple of puck carrying Offensive defensemen
Starting point is 01:38:40 You love to see it I gotta see if I can find this dude Because and I'm actually Fucking pissed at myself That I didn't do this ahead of time I always forget the UMass Of Monty Same
Starting point is 01:38:53 Always Same same same same Damn dude I wonder if I'm not able to find this Oh maybe I took a picture I promised to this person and I will find this and give you their justice. The last time I did connective tissue with you,
Starting point is 01:39:07 I forget what I did, but it was a good one. And it was actually kind of a fun one. It was like, you did like Logan Couture, Brandon Car Logan Couture. You got me on a good one and I gave you a good one. And a dude DM'd me and goes to my personal, which is a burner. Your burner.
Starting point is 01:39:24 And goes, dude, you should do, next time you do that to your brother, you should do Brandon Montori crew. Oh. And I was like, I respond and I go, dude, that is fucking tremendous. But keep in mind when he sent that to me, I had like three more weeks of games for you and then
Starting point is 01:39:39 four weeks of you games to me. I've just been sitting on this gold mine for two months, dude. And I'm going to have to find this dude, but he's a legend and I hope you're listening and thank you so much for the tip because that was a sick one. Yeah, that was a sick one. This was also a sick episode kind of loving
Starting point is 01:39:55 the vibe here before we bounce show some love to our boy. Just want to say, I hope I hope everyone is a fan of Game Notes and watch the Game Notes episode today. But our very good friend, Matt Murley, was inducted into the New York State Hockey Hall of Fame. Incredible honor, incredible career, incredible guy. There was a, in Leo DiCaprio's Oscar speech, remember what he said about Tom Hardy? Yeah, I do.
Starting point is 01:40:22 He said, your talent on screen is only surpassed by your friendship off screen. And that's exactly how I feel about Merle. So your talent on the ice, which got you in the Hall of Fame, is only surpassed. passed by your friendship off of it. It is rare in life when you meet someone and instantly know that you'll be friends with them for the rest of your life. And that is what Matt Murley does. Yep. And it's about time. About time. The state of New York put him in the Hall of Fame right where he belongs. He'll be inducted in July. You know where he's already in the Hall of Fame? Right here. Right in here. Right here. And as a tribute to Merles, and I'm going to send him this,
Starting point is 01:40:56 as a tribute to Merle's, I want him to know that at the King's game tonight, we bet on a parlay that there would be a dry-sidal anytime goal, a kempie anytime goal, and King's Money Line. And over five and a half goals. And over five and a half, which we hit for an absolute payday. But at the last minute we added Oilers will score first, which they did not. So we lost everything. You're welcome, Murals.
Starting point is 01:41:22 In honor of you, pal. God damn it, dude. So that was a nightmare. But Murals, you were not a nightmare. Congratulations again. Congrats, buddy. that is it for us tonight at the empty netters podcast guys hope you're enjoying this new format we're loving it it's absolute chaos we're up all night but empty yetters after dark uh we love you guys we will see
Starting point is 01:41:42 you on friday well i mean you'll be checking this pod out we'll see you friday on friday morning on the live friday morning live and until then you know what to do skate hard

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.