Empty Netters Podcast - Edmonton Oilers’ Leon Draisaitl Becomes First German Player Ever To Join 1,000 Point Club
Episode Date: December 18, 2025Leon the Lion hits the 1,000 point mark and he did it against his boy Stu Skinner. Special stuff. Macklin Celebrini is about to take over the NHL. Mikko Rantanen is working on new “rat” nicknames.... Heated Rivalry Episode 3 Review is here and it’s electric. And the Professors of Puckline hand you all your weekend winners. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Watch full episodes, shorts, and clips right here on YouTube. Listen to the podcast on Spotify or anywhere you get your pods. Subscribe & follow Empty Netters everywhere: YouTube: / @emptynetters Instagram: @EmptyNetters TikTok: @EmptyNetters X: @EmptyNetters PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Thanks to our Sponsors! BetMGM: Use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. Aura Frames: Exclusive $35 off Carver Mat at https://on.auraframes.com/EMPTYNETTERS. Promo Code EMPTYNETTERS Mug: Find MUG Root Beer at your local store or head to https://www.mugrootbeer.com/find-mug to find out how you can get your paws on some MUG and be sure to throw them a follow online, @MUGRootBeer. Bauer: Get your hands on Bauer’s newest innovation — the PULSE stick — and feel the difference. Get your hands on one at https://Bauer.com Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (Available in the US) 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY) 1-800-327-5050 (MA), 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-981-0023 (PR) 21+ only. Please Gamble Responsibly. See BetMGM.com for Terms. First Bet Offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. This promotional offer is not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Can you believe what this has become?
There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman.
Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks.
Did TR show you the sauna cycle or was that all year?
No, no, I invented that.
Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check.
That's kind of nice.
Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys.
That's where this pod came to life.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast
brought to you by BetMGM, which is now live in Missouri.
You love to see it.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
Over here, his mom makes handmade fisherman sweaters,
and he makes this podcast go.
Oh, Sean Buffini on the sticks.
And to my left,
his idea of a well-balanced meal is a pre-made gas station salad
and a bag of pre-slice pepperoni.
Chris, it's actually good macros powers.
It is, as always.
Is it? No.
Why do you do it?
I don't do that.
You eat a lot of pre-made and pre-
Okay
Okay
I appreciate pepperonis though
Are gas
You know
Like pez
When we used to live together
In those great days
I'd never now and then sneak my fingers into that bag
Oh I noticed
Grab a couple ronies
And it's not because I had memorized time anywhere in there
It's because I had a camera
Filming
Not just the fridge
But you at all times
Okay, all right, never mind.
I was going to ask specifically for Ronis,
but apparently it was just at all times.
At all times.
See what I was up to.
At all times.
When you guys are having pizza,
Sean, are you a pizza guy?
Big time.
Oh, big time.
Jesus, all right.
Are you, I don't know what the word for it is.
Someone Google this for me.
Are you like a little, little rony guy,
the ones that kind of curl up and turn into the...
Oh, I know what you're talking about.
No, I want the larger flap guys, yeah, yeah.
That's so fucking Irish of him.
You want...
Always wanting more.
Do you want...
You want big dogs?
Or you want like half dollar?
I think that.
Like normal.
I think that.
Yeah.
Because they're a big dog.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
But you want normal.
What are those called?
Those are called something, the little guys.
I thought they were like cups.
Too much.
That's what they're called.
When your pepperoni's a size of a personal pizza, then you have an issue.
But I think the half dollar size is a good, good size.
Yeah.
I think it's cups.
Pepperoni cups.
Pepperoni cups.
Cups. Popular pizza talking the curled, the crispy savory cups.
I don't like it when the pizza shops dump them on there, and it's like literally you're biting through a mound of Rony before you get to the Zah.
I kind of do like that.
But I do love a cup because like the oil gets in there. And then like if you get some hot honey on there.
Oh, you like a cup. I love a cup. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. I prefer a cup.
Hormill cup and crisp. I don't need pizza anymore. I'm such a loser.
Yeah, well, I know. But what does that have to do with you eating?
I just like I I I am so like got them
fucking dickheads
I'm so at the like I'm I just care too much about
not eating poorly and I feel like pizza is kind of like the number one culprit for me
when I have pizza I'm like God I feel like shit
I can't justify pizza there's nothing good in it it's like if I have a burger
at least I've got a good amount of protein well then you why'd you just bitch about
eating all the rony. You're like, there's a pound of protein on top of the zah.
But that's like, that's a very fatty protein. It's not. No, no, no, no, no, no. No, no, it's
amazing. Pepperoni is a cured meat, my guy. Yeah. That's not the best things we can eat.
Cured meat. Cured meat. The best things we can eat. Is that a pepperoni brands for? No, no,
that's the national health. That was, that was in the food pyramid. Yeah. Well, no, the food
pyramid is a fucking disaster. It's a farce. I cannot believe.
They literally want stuff a loaf of bread in your face every day.
Eat cereal.
Yeah.
The United States Food Pyramid brought to you by General Mills.
Ridiculous.
Well, folks, we got a great episode today.
A lot of hot ice, a lot of milestones, more heated rivalry.
Can't wait to get into all of it.
And you will see the professors giving you the best picks of the weekend.
We got to jump into the hot ice because it is scorching hot.
But it won't be the hottest thing of this episode.
First and foremost, we got a German taking over.
Ze German.
Leon Drysidal.
That could have got dark, by the way.
Well, only if you wanted to.
I'm just saying, I said we've got a German taking over.
He was Austrian, so we're good.
Imagine if Leon was Austrian.
That would be bad.
Careful.
Leon Drysidal hits 1,000 points unbelievable.
The first German to do it.
How about that?
That's so good.
good. I don't know why. I thought you were going to go, 1,000 kills.
The first German to a thousand kills.
No, no, no, no. Leon Drysod, it becomes the first German to 1,000 points as the Oilers put five, plus an empty net goal, past Stu Skinner in his first game as a penguin.
Okay, lots to say here. First of all, first and foremost, congrats.
Congrats to the Leon Lion. That's a sick accomplishment.
because not that many people, I was looking at this up,
not that many people have a thousand points.
I know the point totals get so gaudy,
they're like everyone must have that.
I think what is that, 103 now?
Something like that, yeah, just barely over 100.
You know what I saw in my journey of figuring that out too?
Tell me.
Like, Alex Rodriguez, I believe, finished with like,
dude, it might even be $6.99,
but I think it was $6.96 or something home runs.
And so few people have $700 that I was like, man,
That sucks.
Play on one more game.
Literally.
That's insane.
Whenever people stop in sports at milestones on the 99, I'm like, what are you doing?
Just do what?
Get in there one more time.
And on my journey to figuring out how many people had a thousand points, I saw that
Phil Kessel has 992, I think.
I know.
And I was like, oh.
And you know why that one is so devastating is because that pause was of no decision
of his own.
Nor is it still.
I think he's like, dude.
It is crazy.
Someone can feel a job.
This deadline, someone just scoop up Phil.
Grab him.
Eight points?
Grab him.
I think he could sit on the PowerPoint and get eight points.
I do wonder if those days are beyond.
No, don't think so?
No, because it was never about body.
You know what I mean?
His days...
Well...
No, dude.
He could just...
He could play whenever.
I think it was something about body.
No.
No, no, no, no.
No.
Could he play through not being in the best shape?
Yes.
But, you know, that gets worse.
Yep.
It gets harder.
I'm just saying he can do it.
You're probably right.
Leon, massive congrats, very cool.
You had wrote down,
as he the best Russian, best non-Russian forward.
What?
You wrote that?
I did not write that anywhere.
That's the fucking craziest thing I've ever heard of my life.
European, best European non-recrow.
So he is the fifth fastest player born outside of North America to get to 1,000 behind Peter Stasney, Yari Curie, Yarmur Yager, and Nikita Kuturov.
What I said, since 2018-19, Leon Driesidal has the second most points in the NHL behind his teammate Connor McDavid.
Which is wild.
Just like an unprecedented five-plus year run by the.
these two guys.
Here's a quick question.
Okay.
If I were to say, what's the best duo in the NHL?
Who has been the best duo in the NFL for the last five years?
Those two.
You would say that in no hesitation?
Yeah, I think so.
I mean, I think Kale and Nate Dog are up there.
But I think absolute no hezzy.
It's them.
Well, Kale and Nate Dog are the other one, right?
And I think it's not just, or in my opinion, it's not just up there.
it's like, right, you can have that fight.
I think many people would say Nate and Kale are better than.
Well, again, you said last five years.
I, again, the last two, one and a half, it doesn't fit in, but I would have put Stamcoast and Kuch in there.
Okay.
Yeah, I like that.
So, but last three years.
I put pasta and marshy maybe in there.
Yeah.
Again, these are top five, but those.
The best.
Yeah.
It's the, it's those two.
And it's kind of funny to me to think.
I think it's just a testament.
I'm not even chirping these players.
It's a testament to a hard win Stanley Cup it is.
Yeah.
But it's crazy to me that I go, I could gift you the two best players in the league
because I think both camps would almost argue that.
And I'm like, it got you no cups and you won.
Yeah.
Like, what?
Dude, you have the two best players in the league on your team.
I know.
It's crazy.
We can't.
The injury on otherwise luck for the abs, as we talk about, is just devastating.
Yeah, that's the game.
Edmonton.
That's the game.
Yeah.
Okay, I want to do...
Well, my question is,
I brought this up.
Should...
And you know what?
We talk about this all the time with Cooch.
Should Leon Drysadle be more famous and appreciated?
That is the platform that I would like to present to the committee.
Because I think ab so fucking lootly.
Cooch, as we know, has been robed.
Highway
Chroberi.
Yes.
The last two years
of an MVP.
Yep.
For I think
Russian reasons.
Yeah.
But also
Kooch,
he don't
give a damn
about nothing.
Correct.
He's out here
going to
All Star
Erra going to
awards being
like this is a
joke.
This is a waste of time.
He goes to
skills competition
and gets drunk
and doesn't care
and he's just
kind of like
that was crazy.
And he's just
kind of like,
yeah,
dude, whatever. I'm doing my thing.
Yeah. Leon plays ball.
Leon goes to Media Tour.
Yes. He plays ball with the media.
He's fun. He's funny.
He plays ball with the league, which Cooch doesn't do.
And outside Canada media.
I think sometimes he gets a little fed up with the bullshit going on in Edmonton, which, who could blame him?
Who could blame him?
Who could blame that man?
He's also an absolute hunk.
He is funny.
Yep. And he's nasty at hockey. I think he should be more famous. I think he should be more of a face of the NHO.
Yeah, I will agree because he's, I just think he's, he's, what are the, is Canadian media stealing stars from us?
He's, are they stealing souls? Wouldn't you say this, though? Let's say I was going. Is Canadian media, are they dementers?
The dementis. They, they, not from Harry Potter.
Who was, I kept saying Dementis the other day
And somebody was like, why are you doing a long island accent?
Because it's Chris and Mike.
Yeah, what's what are you talking about?
The, uh, if who is, oh, the seven dwarfs?
I was like, who's Snow Whitewood?
The seven dwarfs, if I was going to say, let me look at what they are.
Let me see, let me see if I can guess them.
Doc.
There's one.
Wow, it is one.
Doc.
Sleepy
Yep
Um
Grumpy
Yep
Uh
Silly
Nope
Goofy
Nope
Dopey
Yes
Um
These next to are hard
Do you know these shots
Two
I only have four I thought
You have doc
Oh yeah
You have Doc sleepy
Dumpy
And dopey
Yeah
You have one
Very easy one
And then two hard ones
Happy
Happy
Happy
I don't know
bashful,
bashful and sneezing.
I should have got sneezy.
I know. I can't believe it was a sneeze.
I'm the sneeziest boy in school.
All right, so watch this.
Have you caught the end of that yet?
What?
My sneezes.
No.
Wow, nice.
In the hockey,
wait, hang on.
What's so special about your sneezes?
Dude, I, when I sneeze, it is minimum.
Seven or eight sneezes.
This is the weirdest flex.
No, it sucks.
Yeah, they're like machine guys.
I'm like, Tuesday starts, I'm like, dude, it's like, imagine when I'm driving.
Oh, my God.
Oh, my God.
It's awful.
So stupid.
Horrible.
I hope I never sneeze in front of Sean.
Okay.
If I said, hey, I'm going to make the NHL players.
We're doing a Twitter thread comparing NHL players to the seven dwarfs.
Yeah.
Happy.
Seth Jarvis.
Great one.
Doc.
Hockey World
What?
You can do the hockey world
too
if you want to do
Doc Emmerg
No
Doc's got to be
the elder statesman
of the league
Brent Burns
Brent Burns
Is Brent the oldest
guy in the league
right now?
Can't be
Is Ovi?
No, I bet it's Brent
Oldest current
NHL player
I feel like we should know that
Yeah, it's Brent
I'm fucking on
And then Ovi's number two
Come on
Pears would be a good doc
though
Yeah
Corey Perry
Yep
Come on
Uh, bashful.
Oh, there are so many guys.
I know.
Um, you're putting me on the spot.
Okay, but no, no, no, I can do this.
Bashful, give me Leo Carlson.
Good one.
I almost said that.
I was going to say him or Mac.
Grumpy.
You see where I'm going here.
Connor, Nick David.
No, I feel like everyone on Earth would go, Leon Dryside.
No, Connor's always frowning.
No, no, no.
I think
Yes.
I think everyone on earth would go
Leon dry side.
Leon's not grumpy?
He is the most grumpy
to the media.
I think Leon's,
I think Connor's worse.
No.
I think Connor is like,
you know,
he just talks.
But Leon is like,
I think Connor's worse.
Leon is like,
that is a dumb question.
Yeah.
And I will,
I will terminate you.
Fair.
So as much as he wants to be the face of the league,
or I don't even know if he wants to,
as much as you are saying
he should be the face of the league
based on talent,
and he does have enough talent to be in the face of the league,
I think most people go,
he's a little too grumpy.
Well, I think it's because of Edmonton and Canadian media.
It's a negative feedback cycle, Dan.
Leave our boys alone.
It's a negative feedback cycle.
They are mean to him.
He is grumpy to them, so they are mean to him,
so he is grumpy to them.
Can you imagine being a nation
and having a thing that you love most in the entire world
and then just being mean to the people who do that thing?
Because that's what Canada does.
Yeah, yeah.
And Sean, what do you think Ireland loves the most?
Don't say booze.
Don't say drinking.
Oh, well, you're kind of taken off the obvious.
Actually, you say drinking.
Yeah, maybe it's Guinness.
Yeah, probably Guinness.
Imagine if every day Irish media went, the fucking Guinness factory and all the bartenders
pouring Guinness are just pricks.
They're disappointing.
Imagine if they did that.
Another non-perfect poor.
Yeah.
Fuck you.
That's what Canadian media does to Canadian hockey players.
And players who play in Canada.
This is bullshit.
Yeah.
I'm putting an end to this.
So what do we do?
We send American media to Canada?
No, we just tell them to get the sticks out of their ass cheeks and be proud of the bullies for once.
Yeah.
Say, wow, what an accomplishment, a thousand points.
Yeah.
Why don't last year, why don't you go like this?
Holy smokes, guys, can you believe it?
You made it to the cup again.
I'm so proud of you.
Whatever happens.
I'm proud of you.
Whatever happens, happens.
It's just a game at the end of the day.
be nicer to the Edmonton Oilers boys,
be nicer to all players who play in Canada,
and let's create some stars.
Leon Drysiddle should be a star.
In my opinion, Leon Drysiddle is the James Bond of the NHL,
and I would like him to play the part.
Leon Drysiddle to Dallas.
You heard it here first.
Ridiculous.
The other thing that happened in that game
was the showdown of the goalie swap.
Stu Skinner and Tristan Jari,
and my goodness, was it perfect?
Was it absolutely?
Absolutely perfect.
We had these guys swaparoo.
Jari gets his second win.
Yep.
For the Oilers.
Stu had a 5.25 goals against at a 0.773 say percentage.
And Jari had a 4.07 goals against and a 0.867, say, percentage.
Just a perfect night.
Oh.
Perfect night for the narrative.
It's insane because we, I feel kind of everybody was like neither of them are difference
makers.
consistent difference makers
and that kind of happened
but I will say
I guess you could argue this either way
but I was going to say
it's usually easier
to shoot on your goalie
because I'm like I'm with him all the time
so this is actually kind of like an unfair
dog session for these two guys
where they're like
Connor gets to come on
come down and shoot on Skinner
who he's been shooting on for years
when you know all his sentence disease
I know you can look at it the other way
where Skinner's like
that was all I was going to say
There's all I was going to say.
But I've always felt like I'm not a goal.
I'm a player, but I've always felt like it was easier to shoot on my goal.
Yeah.
So like this was actually nightmare for both of them.
It is hilarious that they were both.
I'm sure they were both like, I want to fucking play well so bad.
Yeah.
And neither of them did.
I think if either it went the way it had to go for the narrative.
I think Connor and co.
specifically had to be like, we have to light up, Stu.
The whole speech has been, we can't win because of Stu.
If Stu shuts us out right now, we are the clouds.
Did you have any, you are so right on all of that, that, did you have any pain in your
heart watching the entire Edmonton Oilers bench unload and celebrate Leon's
1,000th point in Stu's face?
I almost wanted him to just get in it.
I would have respected that.
I thought he was going to skate out and give Leon a tab.
I wanted him to just go like this.
Hell yeah, dude.
I was a part of this.
Congrats.
I wish he should have.
They should have.
They should have grabbed him or he should attack him.
I saw someone on Twitter being like, wasn't, are these bench clearing celebrations getting out of hand?
And I was like, a thousand points?
Yeah.
Come on.
Thousand point.
Only 100 people ever.
I said, I said you should do it at every century mark.
Yeah.
I think it's great.
Boom.
100 points.
200 points.
Moving on to another.
Wait, wait, wait.
I want to ask you this.
Oh, okay.
God, here we go.
This is the question that you implied was my question.
Yep, that you wrote.
Why would you do that?
You made this up.
And also, why would you write non-Russian floor?
Non-Russian European.
Okay.
I am so, I'm so jealous that Russia is both Europe and Asia.
I actually don't like it.
I don't like when I Google.
Is it even Asia anymore?
Look that up, Sean.
Because I don't like when I go...
Is Russia in Asia and Europe?
I think it is.
I don't like when I go best European blank and then Russia stuff comes back.
Yeah, transcontinental country.
That's so fucking cool.
Well, it's bullshit.
Well, it's cool, but I wish Russia would be nicer.
Well, yeah, same for sure.
But I'm just saying, like, I don't think they, I don't think you get to be.
in both
constantly.
Why not when you're that big?
I don't give a fuck
how big you are.
Are we the next biggest?
Canada's bigger than us.
Yeah.
As far as land mass.
Yeah, right.
Canada gets fucking crazy.
You go up there and there's like
Yukon territory, bro.
Welcome to the Himalayas.
Dude, you know, now that's crazy.
Greenland's probably massive.
You know how the maps all fuck.
I don't even know if it is, though.
Greenland's tiny.
And I'm like, Greenland's like the biggest country on Earth.
So Antarctica is second.
Yeah.
Really?
But it's not really.
That's a,
That's not also a country though, right?
No, but it's what's Wikipedia is listing it on the countries by surface area.
Canada is the clear next winter.
And China and the United States are about tied.
What is the population of Antarctica?
There's 1,300 in the winter and 5,100 in the summer.
1,000?
That's gas, dude.
Do you think they all live like right near each other?
Or are they really?
I think they all sit in a huddle.
I think for all winter, the thousand of them at hum.
Do you think they have their own accent?
An Antarctic accent?
That is probably so cool.
That is fuck.
It can be whatever they want.
Whatever they want it to be.
Unbelievable.
They could just do silly voices and no one else could tell them that they're wrong.
And they're like, why are you talking like that?
And they're like, that's pretty racist, dude.
Yeah.
We're from Antarctica.
And you're like, shit, sorry.
Did our art.
Is Leon Drysaddle better than any of these players?
Okay.
Because we already did the Russia.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So we're just excluding Russia.
Yeah, because we already.
We did like Cooch.
This is all European.
His Cooch best Russian.
Yeah.
Matt Sundin.
Yes.
He, Leon's better.
Yes.
Wow.
Peter Forsberg.
Now?
Yeah.
If Leon Drysadled dropped dead today.
You got to remember I am like this is my favorite forward in the NHO.
That's why I'm asking you.
If he dropped dead today.
Will he go down as better than Peter Forreston?
Yes.
What?
He's got like significantly more points than him.
Marion Hosa.
Yes.
Tough one here because it's an old.
That Forzburg, yes, was very tough to do because Forersburg had like damn near 900 points and 700 games.
Stan McKita.
Yes, I don't like old.
Yeah, yeah, I knew you're going to do this, but people are going to be pissed.
He paved the way.
He paved the way for your parents, Dan.
Look at what Leon is doing.
Patrick Elias.
Yes.
Can't put that guys on this list.
No offense.
That was rude.
Peter Stasney.
No, not yet.
Yari Curry.
No, not yet.
Really?
Dude, Yari Curry is, I mean, these are olds, but like, Yari was a weapon, dude.
Timu Salani.
No, not yet.
Yarm or Yager?
No.
Flat now.
I think he could be.
He think he could be.
Leon is so good.
You left off a couple notables on there.
It's just random?
This is a list of, these are two lists published this year of the top 10.
That was forwards.
One was forwards.
Yeah, actually, I guess they both were forwards by accident.
But yeah, were you thinking, you were thinking defensemen.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Thinking of a couple of them.
No, I wish we were talking forwards.
Yeah.
Okay.
Everyone but Yager.
I think he's going to go down as one of the greats.
He's got everyone but Yager in his sights.
Actually, no, even Yager's in his sights.
He could be.
Yeah, yeah, could be.
Could be, could be.
Unbelievable.
Talking about Leon potentially becoming one of the greats,
we've got another kid who might become one of the greats
when it's all sudden done.
And this one is a fucking teenager.
That was an awesome transition.
Thanks, man.
Maclin Celebrini is officially taking over.
And I have many, many things to say.
Last night, Macklin had two goals and two assists,
including a gross.
Spinnerama tuck.
He now has 11 points in his last five games,
taking him to 51 on.
the season, one of three players in the NHL currently with 50 or more points, and is third
in the league behind only two people.
Connor McDavid, who is, by the way, won now, which is hilarious.
Dude.
Yeah, go on.
And Nathan McKinnon.
Sorry, they're tied.
Or wait, nope, Nathan after his, David went one.
Nate Dogg had his game, and now he's back on top.
But for a moment, McDavid was one.
And I was like, what the hell is going on?
So it's Nathan McKinnon, Connor McDavid, McDavid, McLeodaghlin, Celebrini.
absolutely insane that this kid is just third in the league.
And the point I am about to say is newsflash,
Macklin is on Team Canada.
Oh, you're, it's done.
Finished.
I think for me it's done.
For me, it's done because his all-encompassing game,
which we've talked about a lot, I think can work,
does work, and could fit on this team.
but if you have 50 fucking points at this juncture in the league with only two other humans
and they are arguably the two best players on earth, then I'm like, I think you have to put
this kid on the team.
It's a completely fair argument.
I think he probably will make it.
But I, if you were going to push back, I would say all the things that it previously
said about it still hold.
I agree.
Where like you brought up the center.
I don't even think we need to bring it up.
Yeah, yeah.
And for me, he's playing left wing.
He's not playing center.
Yep.
And all of the reasons we would say you don't put him on.
Everything we just said, I think just now trumps it.
Yeah, Trump's it.
It is, I mean, we've talked about this a few times, but it is crazy how immediately he is this good.
And someone brought up last year, I forgot about this.
I should actually check how many games he missed.
But he had, you know, 60 whatever points last year.
Yeah.
But he did miss a little time.
A lot of time.
Yeah.
So maybe it would be like,
missed almost 20 games.
Maybe he finishes last year with like 80.
80.
I bet he would have.
And then this doesn't look as insane.
Yeah.
But even last year didn't look like this.
If you know what I'm saying.
The points were there obviously.
And they were losing more obviously.
But he just did, he looks dominant now.
Yeah.
Well, he's on like a 130 point pace.
Yeah, of course he looked absolutely dominant.
Yeah.
But I just mean even the goals he was scoring.
Like right now, I'm like, what the fuck, dude?
And it looks like a, it looks like a 10-year vet, 10-year vet in the middle of his prime.
And that is scary because he is scratching the surface of what he is capable of.
I mean, he, it was, it's almost annoying.
You know what's funny?
When Crosby and Ovechkin saved the NHL and they were both out of this world, it was this thing where you were either a Crosby fan or an Ovechkin fan.
And I think people our age now, I am one of them.
You are one of them.
I think you go, I appreciate them both because everything that they've done, they're both amazing.
They both got their cups.
That's great.
I hate that there are so many young, cunty, people.
Blackhawks fans and young Cunty Sharks fans who hate Baderd or hate Macklin because they're like, my guy is better.
And I'm, as someone with hindsight, I'm looking at you going, just stop it and appreciate both.
They're both amazing.
Okay, I have a take on that.
If you can, just stop and appreciate both because I wish that I was able to appreciate both the entire time of Crosby and Ovi.
That's actually a really good take, but I am going to offer this path forward.
to people as well. And remember
a month ago or so
when Bedard had that interviewer
who was like, I was so sick watching Mac, I love
when I see it. And I said on this pod,
I go, enjoy it now because pretty soon you'll,
not those two, fans. I was like, enjoy it now that you get
to love this because pretty soon you're going to hate each other
because you're going to be so competitive.
And you just said that might happen
and you wish them to never change.
I actually think
it's awesome. I think
the arc that you and I went on
in reverse is awesome.
Because it's,
fandom is so cool
when there's
your,
your greatest adversary
that you will,
in time,
learn to love and appreciate.
You're,
you're using,
you're misquoting me,
though,
and you're forgetting the keyword.
I'm saying appreciate.
Okay.
You can root against
and be like,
and be competitive.
That's fine.
But it's the fucking losers
who are like,
butard sucks,
dude.
And I'm like,
are you watching hockey?
Yeah.
And there are people who were like, Crosby's a bitch, dude.
Ovi just scores goals.
Yeah.
And I'm like, shut up, you idiot fool and appreciate what they're doing.
Rute for them to lose when they're playing against your favorite guy.
That's fine.
And hope they get less cups than your favorite guy.
That's fine.
But appreciate what we're seeing is my point.
Oh, dude.
And anyone who doesn't do that is insane.
Like I always do that.
You did it.
Bro, that is, I never once said, Ovi isn't good at hockey.
I went, Ovi is incredible.
I hope he loses more than Crosby.
Dude, wrong.
When we were younger, you were like, all Ovi does is score goals.
He's not even that good.
Like, you did.
It's like what you do with Peyton.
It's like you hate someone so much that you just start saying ridiculous stuff.
I did it too, is my point.
Like, I was young and dumb.
I was just supposed to bring up the point that I, every single time went.
Peyton is clearly the second best quarterback in the league.
I just hope my guy who I think is the best with.
I think you are being a child buffoon to not admit.
that you would say things that you can't admit now
were inaccurate because you were trying to prove a point.
We all have done it.
And I'm just trying to teach the Utes.
Okay, so if everyone on Earth has done it
because you're fired up in the moment.
I don't think everyone on Earth has done it.
I think two passionate fans do it.
We have both which been that at times.
Then yes.
I hope they don't do.
You get so personal with this stuff.
Like I can see you're all upset now.
Your flow is all off.
And I'm like, dude,
I did it too.
Why can't you admit it?
I don't recall.
I guess I was so fired up in the moment.
I do not recall ever saying that OV isn't good.
All he does is score.
I never said he isn't good.
If I did say all he does is become a great goal score, I still think that.
So that's my take.
Okay.
I think you're being a bit of a baby, and that's fine.
But yes, anyway, Macklin is out of control.
It's so incredible.
And yeah, I just like, I think you watch that game, the fact that he has this
Sharks team like in a playoff spot and make no mistake, just like Badard is in Chicago,
like he is the guy on this team.
There's a lot of great players on this team who are having great seasons, including Will,
but he is just like the guy.
And it is, I would say more so than Bardard, to your point, Chris, of like the way he's
scoring, it does feel like this is the next McDavid. Whereas like we saw a guy go first overall
and they come in and it's like, holy shit, you are revolutionary. Yeah, he's absolutely insane.
Like, his numbers are ridiculous. Earlier we were talking about great Europeans. Let's bring up
another great European who, however, is earning himself a bit of a reputation? Is Miko
renting it on Rat Watch? He was already on Rat Watch. He was on Rat Watch three weeks. He was on Rat Watch three
weeks ago. How long ago was that? He was on Rat Watch a long time ago, and when you're on
watch, you have to be, you have to go so far not Rat to get off Rat Watch that you certainly,
even if you are the same amount of rat, you become rat. It's getting, it's getting pretty
ugly for Miko. So earlier this season, he got a game sussie for hitting Romanoff on the
islanders and injuring him. Then immediately comes back and gets sussied for
hitting and injuring Matt Coronado on Calgary.
Then he comes in, collides with Linus Elmore,
grabs his arm, pulls him down, crazy stuff.
And now, Rantness has collided and injured.
Kings goalie, Darcy Kemper,
who has been put on IR, will miss at least seven games.
Now, before we even jump into the funniest thing about this,
I don't think the collision was that crazy, that bad.
A lot of Dallas fans are being like,
what are we talking about, he barely touches him, this, that, the other, no matter what,
Rantanin went into the blue paint, his body made contact with Darcy Kempers' head,
and Darcy Kempers has been put on IR.
That is undenial.
Rantinand got a penalty for it.
Yeah.
And the best part is, Rantan said after the game, his quote was, I told him my bad.
He goes, immediately I said, my bad.
Hope he's not out too long.
the reason I am I am having him firmly on Ratwatch again
is not because I thought that that play was that dirty
or showed any intent.
That comment to me shows he doesn't give a fuck.
Like him going, yeah, I said my bad.
I'm like, oh, oh, you did.
I wonder if that can get more people out of more things.
It's like when people say with all due respect
and then say something not respectful at all.
Yeah, the Ricky Bobby.
Yeah, and they go, we're good.
I wonder if you can just start going,
my bad after any action.
Yeah, do terrible stuff and then just go my bad.
I need to rethink
maybe what can happen.
Put it this way.
When Stolars went out last year.
Yeah.
Is that Bennett?
Yeah, of course it was.
They go, everybody went like this.
Oh my God.
Stolars is in concussed and never came back.
Yeah.
And we talked to a lot of goalie buddies,
and they were like, oh, it's because he wears a loose mask
and he actually took a fucking laser rocket off the dome
from Reiner a second ago.
Yes.
And then Bennett grazed him.
Because that Bennett contact, I said it then, I'll say it now,
is irrelevant and could never give anyone a concussion,
in my opinion.
And this play is exactly the same.
I dare you to watch this play, anyone listening to watch this play again.
if this hurts someone's head,
then, like, helmet technology and science is a sham and has failed us.
I, okay.
Um,
I couldn't agree more.
I'm so,
I'm so confused by goalie helmets in particular.
Every single time they get like side swiped, like bumped in the side of the head,
they go catatonic.
Dude.
They're like,
And then teams are like he's out for months.
And I'm not making fun of head injuries.
Me neither.
I am just like, how is it any time a player's elbow grazes the side of a goaltender's helmet in the NHL?
They are like immediate concussion.
So as much as I am like, Moose, you are a bit of a rat more than you claim to be.
Yeah.
This is nothing contact that I just cannot fathom.
And I don't think he's lying.
I think he's hurt and he's going to miss a lot of time.
Yeah.
But I'm like, how in God's name can someone just like glott.
Dude, one thing, remember when Milan Luchin's fucking destroyed Ryan Miller?
And I'm like, okay, you got hit.
It's really hard.
This is like someone gliding across the net.
And you go like this.
I don't even know if I would call it that.
He was like jockeying for position in front of the net.
And you know how like a body, if you hit someone, it's like you can see it's like your body whips around?
Like this is just kind of like just turn, you're like turning me to the side.
It's like in a bar when you're like, excuse me?
That's what happened.
And they're like, he might get.
We need to go get a goalie helmet.
put it on and stand here in the office while people come by and slightly elbow us in the side
of the head.
Yeah.
Until we get a concussion.
Well, I think, I think apparent, this is my point.
I used to think I would never get one and this is all bullshit.
Now I'm realizing I would get one immediately.
I think if you went like this before your elbow even got here, when it's one millimeter away from
you already have a concussion.
You already have a concussion.
You have a C.
You have a CTA.
I'm like, I'm like, just, do.
Oh.
Yeah, exactly.
Your brain braces is for concussion and then you already have one.
So, now I know.
Now I know.
Yeah.
Every time a goalie gets pushed from the side, he is concussed.
Yeah.
And that's that's the rule.
That's the rule moving forward.
So listen, we're 34, 35 games in and we got a pattern here.
Romanov Coronado, Olmark, now Kemper, all on Miko Ranton's hit list.
Yeah.
You cannot avoid the rat title.
How many names could he collect in one season?
I don't know.
This is what we're talking about here.
is he's not he's also sixth in the league in scoring is he the best rat in the game dude uh yes because i said
it had been mar i think he's taking the title from marshy because marshy was really was really in it and then
he used to lead the league let me see if he still does um pims oh yeah
one more than's a door off ran and does yeah and that's because of all the sussies i know but it's
Such a sick stat.
He's got one more.
He's leading the league in Pemps.
He's leading the league in Pims.
He's king rat, dude.
He's sixth in the league in scoring and first in Pim.
So six in the league in scoring, first in Pemmes, Miko Rantanin and King Rat
right now.
And I wanted to discuss maybe some nicknames here.
Should we give Miko Rantan a new nickname?
Yes, we should.
Okay, he needs to have a rat name.
Well, so things that I suggested, I think Rattonin is the easy one.
Yeah, that is obvious.
So instead of ratinine, let's make it a little more creative and call him, or let's call him Rantatooie.
Yeah, okay.
So now you're playing the hits.
I love that movie.
Rantatooie.
That's my favorite one probably.
Pretty good.
What about, wasn't there like the great mouse detective?
I guess he's a mouse.
Yeah, he is.
But like, is Despero a mouse or was Despero a rat?
Because we could call him like Miko.
Miko.
That's nice.
What about, um, isn't there, or no, that's not, that's a, that's a mouse.
Who's the, is there a mouse or a rat in the Shrek universe?
Are I making that up?
Is there, geez.
Great rats.
Great rats throughout history.
Great rats in movies.
Rattuette is just so good.
Yeah, Remy is great.
Maybe we get the listeners involved.
Yeah, someone called.
up with a good name.
Drop a comment on the YouTube guys, maybe send us some DMs.
What are some nicknames?
I really like Rantituoy, though.
Me too.
That's my favorite.
Rantitui is his new name because it's like, we like Remy.
I don't want him to be a villain rat.
Yeah.
Like the rat in.
But maybe though he is, though.
That's the point.
The Dance of the Sugar Blum Fairy has the Rat King, right?
I was thinking of Rizzo, the Rat from the Muppet show.
Oh, whoa, good one.
Okay.
So we call him Mizzow.
Mizzo, yeah
Or, uh, yeah,
well, yeah, Mizzow.
It's pretty funny.
Um,
I think the
Grace Mount,
Rizzo is such a tweaker.
Dude.
From that show.
Oh yeah.
Like he's,
he's tweaking.
He's on drugs.
For sure.
For sure.
Yeah.
He's got some fentanyl.
Yeah.
The great mouse detective bad guy
is Professor Radigan.
And he is a rat.
and maybe we get Miko in...
Maybe we just call him Professor Rantman.
Professor Rantan.
Yeah, as a shout out to Professor Rattigan.
Yeah.
Professor Rantigan.
What is that from?
The Great Mouse Detective.
He's the bad guy.
Look at this dude.
That's pretty good.
Professor Rattigan, we're now calling him Professor Rannan.
Killing kids.
Good God, man.
I forgot about him.
He's a villain.
And Moose is huge, too.
Professor Rattigan is a terrifying villain.
Professor Rantigan.
I think we just call him.
him Professor Rantman.
Professor Rame.
The professor is the connection.
See, like he's a big time villain.
Yeah.
Professor Rattigan feels like a big time villain.
For sure.
That's what I mean, he's got the most Pims in the league.
You're out of control of Moose.
You're a villain.
I don't know if we can call him Moose anymore.
He is now rat.
I know.
He's now Professor Rantan and Professor Radigan.
So Miko Rantan, dude, you are one of the best players in the league.
You are also one of the best rats in the league because this is now a pattern.
and good for you. Absolutely ridiculous.
Okay, it's time to take a quick ad break,
and then we will come back with everyone's new favorite segment
as we get into Heeded Rivalry, Episode 3.
Hockey season is in full swing,
and this holiday season,
that MGM is delivering more than just cheer,
because they have the hat trick jackpot,
and that means you have your chance
to win your share of 10 Gs in bonus bets.
How about that for a little Christmas miracle?
So what you've got to do is you log in to your bet MGM account and you place an anytime goal score wager.
Okay. And if that player scores, Piching cash your bet. Congratulations. That's amazing.
But if your player scores three or more goals during that game, you win your bet still and you win a share of 10 G's in bonus bets because of the hat trick jackpot because it's Christmas and it's Christmas miracle and bed MGM is a miracle.
And I want you to get on board with this right now because if you haven't joined the bed MGM family yet, now is the time.
that bonus code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S, and you will enjoy up to 1,500 in a new player
offer on your first wager. BetM-G-M-G-M-G-M-G-M-G-E-N, this season, this holiday season, make it legendary.
Okay, folks, we are back. We are horned up, and we are going deep, deep into episode
three of Heated Rivalry, our new favorite show. I have a few things to say right off the top.
Number one, I'm calling this the episode of Goats. There are so many goats in this
That's actually true.
I didn't even know you were going to say that, but that is actually true.
Number two, and Sean, I think you agree.
Absolutely my favorite episode so far.
Absolutely my favorite episode so far.
And finally, Scott Hunter, I fucking knew it.
I called it from episode one.
Did you say he was gay?
I was like, Scott Hunter knows, and I wouldn't be surprised if he's also.
Okay, yeah, because I...
Dealing with this.
I didn't know that part.
But you guys were way on that he knew.
Clocking it.
He was clocking it.
he's a season pro in more ways than one.
I will say in the Scott Hunter timeline.
Yes.
Because I said to Sean, I had a little chat, Sean, before you got in.
And I was like, for a show that has flashed forward at an alarming rate,
I could not believe when we started.
Bring us back.
It's like a Tarantino movie.
We're just jumping around constantly.
It's like, this is a combination of Tarantino and Nolan and we're just all over the place.
This is unbelievable.
We, but replace.
the gratuitous violence with gratuitous romantic sex.
Right.
Now, I guess we have heated rivalry.
That's the formula right there.
We sure is.
We didn't go back far enough, and I suppose this could still happen.
Yeah.
But now that I've had this episode, I still can't believe the no, I thought at least in this episode, we'd get the confirmation that it mattered that he was in the hotel room next to them.
And we still don't.
You know, like, I was like, is that still a throwaway thing?
Maybe eventually when it comes out between Hunter and Hollander, he'll be like, I was in the room next to you.
I fucking know.
Yeah.
Maybe that still happens.
Right now, I'm like, wow.
Well, we know from this episode that he definitely does know from a certain comment he makes.
We'll talk about it later.
Yes.
I also love all of the interactions with Scott looking back on them now.
He's making these comments intentionally.
And I'd like to think all the, I'm not gay.
And he's like, I'd like to think that he's, he's offering an olive branch to Shane.
By the way, I want to acknowledge and thank all of the people in the YouTube comment section, A, helping us, educating us on all of our questions.
B, just being along for this ride and being so wonderful.
But people came out, I guess the Rosie was a captions.
I don't want to say error.
but Rachel Reed apparently has come out and been like
Shane would never call him Rosie.
And I'm here to say, I wish he did.
Me too.
Because I'll tell you what, my one,
I was going to get into this later in this episode,
but I'll just say it now.
I think my one complaint with the show
is the lack of NHL nicknames.
We don't call people their name ever.
Literally ever.
Like it is so rare for a guy to be called by their last name
or their first, like it's always a nickname.
And Rosie is such a good nickname.
Everyone would call it.
The entire team would call it.
For Rosenoff.
Like, that is perfect.
And so I'd like to call him with permission.
I'd like to call him Rosie.
Consent.
Consent, King.
And also, I really love, like, I think Hollander could be like, I mean, Holly is too easy, but like, halls is a great one.
I was actually laughing, Dan.
I had the same thought.
And I was like, oh, why wouldn't they call him Holly?
And I was like, oh, you should have put Holly in the phone.
That would have been the good girl thing.
It would have been great.
But I was like, that might be too.
Too close people would be like, this is actually in Holland?
Like, Hall's, shi, those are great ones too.
Yeah.
It's fantastic.
Yep.
So, anyway, we get this great shot, Scott Hunter's reaction.
So we're like, we're off to the races.
We flashback.
Yeah.
We've got Scott Hunter running down the streets of New York City, captain of the New York
admirals.
Admirals?
I think so.
Yeah.
Uh, unbelievable.
I got pissed though.
He looks fucking ripped too.
Kind of translucent shirt, bro, with only sweaty down the abline.
I mean, God.
That actually was sick.
I wrote it.
I was like, Jesus God.
Good Lord.
That actually pissed me off though because I got to, I watched late last night and you two
had already chimed it on the thread saying it was your favorite episode.
So I was like, no spoilers.
I was going into something good.
And I got so pissed right away because they go in the.
the radio or maybe it was man on the crease again.
Yeah.
But somebody was like,
Scott Hunter has been bad.
He hasn't scored in six games or whatever.
He has zero points to start this year.
And they go,
they were like,
and he's been named Team USA captain.
I did see that you mentioned this
and I think it's important to mention
because it was rude.
Dude, the thing Sean goes.
This is,
I'm looking at you, Jacob.
I see you.
Little dig.
Yeah.
Little dig at the Yanks.
They go,
they go, this year,
Scott Hunter has zero points through six games.
after coming off last year, his best year ever with 70 points.
And he's now captain of Team USA.
And 70 points.
Dude, I was...
Okay, well, all right.
Let's not, let's not...
If I had 70 points in the show, I'd be very happy with myself.
Me too, but we will be respected and appreciated.
We've got better players than that.
We are just as good as Canada now, and our best players have a shitload of points.
Yes.
And that's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
That's all.
He had 140.
That is all.
Fuck you.
Yeah.
That's how I feel about that.
So I got off to a hot start, dude.
So we got Scott running down the streets of New York as the captain of the New York hockey team.
And he pops into strawberry.
Is it called strawberry?
Yeah, I think so.
It was a straw plus berry or something?
Yeah, like it's like straw something berry or whatever.
But he jumps into a smoothie shop.
And we see Kip, sleeping on the job.
Oh, yeah, I forgot.
Only to find out, though, because Kip is working his ass off.
Now, complete and utter hunk, Kip.
Yeah.
I mean, we've got just two rockets here.
Unbelievable.
But he comes in and immediately they start flirting.
Chat.
There's some good chat.
Chat, chat.
Good banter.
There's a little bit of tension there.
And I absolutely love the decision here.
No other patrons in the shop.
allows Scott to be like let it fly a little bit.
Like he's like,
you know,
here we go.
I mean,
this guy's cute.
Does he,
does Scott Hunter think it's appropriate to walk into public stores
in that shirt?
Well,
yeah.
I think if more than just Kipp were in there,
if more than just Kipp were in there,
I don't think he was allowed to go inside.
That shirt's not that.
It's just an underarm or shirt.
Well,
he looks like he was swimming in it.
He looks like he was swimming in it.
Well, the guy's working hard.
He's sweating.
say I don't think it's appropriate for anyone else except for people with a Scott Hunter body.
Yeah.
It was, I mean, if you are a sweaty boy, which I think Scott Hunter clearly is, and you're running in that white shirt, you have to be aware.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But I think Sean's right.
I think when you're ripped up like that, you're like, yeah.
Yeah.
If I was that shredded, I'd do like a reverse Winnie the Pooh thing where I just am never wearing clothes from the waist up.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And, hey, I wouldn't blame us.
Yeah.
I wouldn't blame you.
So he goes in there.
They're letting it fly a little bit.
He gets the blueberry smoothie with extra banana because that's how Kip likes it.
We love to see it.
And I love Scott flexing the NHL money.
Yeah, yeah.
Big fat tip.
And Kemp is like, whoa, can't accept this.
And he's like, yeah, you can, dude.
Yep.
I got you.
Now we've got the co-worker.
Elena, is it?
Elena.
Elena is there.
Drops the girl line.
She's like, girl.
Goddam
So I love
That was sick when the kid came in after too
That was really awesome
Because we needed it for Kip
To know who it was
But I also loved
Elena with that comment
acknowledging like
That was there was tension there
But also we've got a
We've got a friend
Kind of like Svetty
Like here's Elena
Like I said
Episode of goats
Elena is goaded
Did you guys know ahead of time
Or I guess you maybe guess
But like
Because clearly in that combo
With Kip
I was like oh shit
Scott's gay. I wrote in my name's
I knew Scott gay. Well, that's why
I wrote at the very top with his look. I was like
Scott is, we are about to get Scott's gay
storyline because I was like Scott is gay.
I was clocking it episode one dude.
Yeah. I was like Scott's gay too.
I thought it might have been like a red herring thing.
Like that was going to be the drama of this episode is that Scott
was giving gay vibes but wasn't gay.
Yeah.
But and then that was going to be like the heart wrench of it all.
But it didn't go that direction.
I'm very glad that it didn't go that direction.
I was stunned and I also said to
to Sean before you got in,
we both love how this show
takes every opportunity
to do the gayest
version of the story beat.
So like in the smoothie,
it could be any ingredient.
But it's got to be extra banana.
But he's like a extra banana.
Hell yeah.
Yeah, right.
Like, I really appreciate that from the show.
You know, it could have been like,
oh, I add blueberry to this smoothie
and it's like, boom.
Yeah, genius.
Added some raspberries.
Yeah, no.
Pass.
Well, raspberries are kind of cute.
Give people raspberries up and down your belly.
Had a fucking frozen banana.
Yeah, come on.
That's great.
I think I mentioned this in episode one,
but this was a cool moment for me with these two here.
Again,
kind of being Scott the only patron there in the store.
Here, another question to the listeners.
We talked about gay-d-ar and gay guys.
And they're acknowledging each other.
I want to know, like, is that a thing?
Like, even if you're closeted, like, is it,
is banter moments like that prevalent?
Because, like, I thought it was awesome.
The tension, I was like, oh, fuck.
Like I said, again, being the only guy in there, you could feel that Scott was like, I got an opportunity here.
This guy's fucking a babe.
I got to make it.
I got to make a play.
I have something to say about that later.
Okay.
So we get the reveal from the other person comes in.
He's like, holy shit, was that Scott Hunter?
Then we see Kipper reading the newspaper.
Yeah.
I get that it's 2014, but there was something I loved about that.
I was like, I don't think I was reading the newspaper in 2014, but I think it wasn't.
works for Kip because Kip's kind of a classic man.
Yeah, he's a finer things club.
Yeah, he is.
And I was like, this is, I love the newspaper, so good.
We get him and his friends in this gay bar, gay sports bar.
Yeah.
Awesome.
And what did he say it was called?
I've got the name written down later, but it was a great, it's a great name.
I can't remember.
I'll get to it.
I'll get to it.
But something I wanted to know, I'll clock, see if you guys clocked this.
Kipps with Atlanta in the bar
and they order Chinese food
from a different place
go to their favorite bar where their friend is a bartender at
and eat the Chinese food in their favorite booth
if there's anything on planet Earth that I need in my life
it's my local watering hole that lets me bring Chinese food in
because I'm homies with the bartender.
Yeah, that was the dream.
That was like, I was like fucking holy hell
and let me put on whatever I want on TV.
They're like, here's the remote.
That was awesome.
But I don't know if you guys felt this or clocked this.
We have Kip and Scott with a nice flirtatious moment.
Kip's reading the newspaper, seeing that he had Hatrick.
Then we see him watching in the bar.
I felt like Kip was the representation of so many people in this community watching and loving heated rivalry
and now watching and loving the NHL.
Yeah.
Like that, I was like, this is incredible.
Like, Kip is representing so many right now.
And it was just great.
That's such a good call.
That's exactly what was happening.
Right?
It was just so cool.
It was so well done.
Suttled, but also, like, made total sense that Kipp's like,
should I watch hockey?
This guy's fucking hot.
Like, we had a vibe.
I'm going to watch and play.
This is great.
So Scott comes back in.
He and Kip are flirting again.
We have Scott being like,
do you mind if I answer some emails here?
They have their little series.
killer banter.
Yep.
I learned something there.
Spree killer.
Yes.
Really, really bold move for like one of your first flirtatious encounters to bring
up like serial murders.
That's special.
That's my fastball.
Yeah.
I get it out of the way.
I got to, I've got to rip that bandaid off, dude.
It's important.
I love that he was a reader though.
I was into, I was into like Scott.
I wrote, I was like, I get Scott and Book Club, dude.
That's, that he's my tight, but NHL guy.
I feel like we established a lot of shared interests early here with the two of them.
But so as they're chatting, you know, Kip's kind of cleaning up.
We get the, we're talking about the superstitions.
They bring up playoff beards.
Kip says you guys look like hot lumberjacks.
We get a brief moment, a brief pause.
Oh, Kip's like, fuck, I went too far.
But then he invites him to the game.
moment of vulnerability that was just awesome.
Like felt like a miss.
He was like,
fuck.
Like we were viving.
I took a swing.
It didn't work.
But then you,
buddy,
you hit it out of the park.
Here's my question.
Here's the first instance of my questions to the comments in this episode.
I have always heard that the gaydar is a thing.
So I completely buy it when I'm watching these shows.
And they're just like,
immediately flirting because I'm like, how.
But it's, because I would never do that to a girl at a, like, a smoothie place.
You know, like, where we're in one now, it's like, you know.
But I saw I completely buy that gaydar is a thing and they are going.
But I've always wondered, eventually, though, you have to take a shot, raise the flag, right?
Like, I know you think, and you're like, trust me, I know.
I can tell, I can tell he's gay.
I can tell we're viving.
But surely at some point, you have to go say a thing that you're like, I'm gay.
whether it's that or this.
So I always wonder how to navigate that moment.
Is this accurate?
Because I love this, where he's like, plus you look like hot lumberjacks.
And I'm like, okay, so you're gay.
Like, that's the moment where he goes, I'm gay, 100%.
And then it's up to Scott to answer.
No, dude.
Yeah, that, yeah, I was going to say maybe not 100%, but yeah, you're probably right.
If you're vibing with this dude and then you go, I like how the hockey players like hot lumberjacks.
That is him going, I'm attractive.
I would lean in to kiss that guy if I was straight.
And if he went like this, whoa, I'd be like, what, dude?
Are you insane?
No, yeah, I think you got to, I think you got to take a shot.
Right.
I mean, Scott coming back, you could play it.
Like, he says, he's like, you know, if something goes well in my game, I'm obsessed over it and blah, blah, blah.
So it's like, sure.
But then him being like, I'm going to stay and answer emails.
Like, Scott's throwing vibe to.
Yes, for sure.
So yeah, I think you got it.
Yeah, you take a swing.
I assume, right?
Because I suppose you could not.
could not.
I suppose you could be like, no, I trust my instincts.
But I think that's person to person.
Yeah.
You know, it's like, I don't think that's necessarily, you know, that's just person to person.
But I love that both of these guys, they went for it.
Now, we get Kip and Elena at the game.
I was blown away with this.
At the game, we're doing warmies.
Scott's buzzing around out there, gives him a nod.
And Elena's like, whoa.
Yo.
Kip looks behind him.
then buzzing around gives him a wave
and Elena's like fucking wave back
and Kipp's like oh my god waves back
and Scott does another route waves again
loved this moment it's just like
you can see how happy Scott is
he's starting to play well now after meeting Kip's great
the one thing I wanted to point out
could you imagine
how hard the hockey girlies
of 2025 would be all over this
Elena
No, no, no, no.
I'm talking all, like, we've, we've become so close with the San Jose Sharks girlies and, like, the Kings girlies.
Like, these, like, young female fans of hockey, they're capturing everything.
Yeah.
Like, they are videotaping everything.
They're noticing every little thing.
I don't know if you notice after Quinn got traded, someone posted his first game in Minnesota.
They were like, hey, Quinn Hughes fans, I'm new here.
Is this normal?
And it was when Quinn just goes ghost on the bench and he's like, like, they capture.
capture everything.
Yeah.
And I'm saying like in 2025, if this were happening, they'd be like, who is the fucking
hot dude that Scott Hunter is waving at?
Like, it would be crazy.
Yeah.
So that's what I'm saying.
And I also think they'd be like jealous of Elena.
They'd be like, yeah.
And they'd be like, is it Elena?
Yeah.
It was just, but like the tension.
God, the tension.
I loved that moment, but I also thought it was a little, based on what I would come to
learn about Scott.
I was surprised looking back that he would do it.
a double pass wave.
Well, I think, yep, we'll get into that.
I think I loved it for a couple things.
One, I love that Elena was there.
Because I feel like that's a safety plan.
Yes.
Anyone could be like, he's waving at Elena.
You can wave a friend.
You can wave at your friends.
I'm just saying based on my own box box, I was like.
You cannot and wave at your boys.
That was my next point.
Like, it doesn't matter.
Like, that's his boy, dude.
He's just waving out his homie.
Like, if we went to a game to see sway and he saw us in the stands,
like he might be like this.
What up?
Yep.
It's just questions.
Safety, but I, but I,
the safety blanket was there.
Loved it.
So, we then get, you know, a little bit of a montage of games going on, and we have
a moment where New York is playing Montreal, Hollander, what I believe, Shane, certainly, as
he's established a nice relationship with Scott, gives him a little, maybe next time we
play, you can show up.
Yeah, I loved how gassed Scott was at the whistle.
Yeah, he was taught, yeah, I mean, it's five one.
But that's why Scott's the best.
best, dude. He's busting his ass even when the game is over. He's like, he was gassed.
I was like, dude, this game is long over. You're fine. He was gassed. But right off of a little bit
of a quick snippet of Rosie giving him shit. I loved the Rosie when the boys were coming off.
I love you. I love you. I love you. That's the Rosie I want, dude. Like, these pregame
cup speech, I was like, chill, dude. But this one, and also, that's act. Like, we would do that.
Yeah. I'd say I'd love you to my teammates. That was awesome.
incredible. So Shane gives, again, what I believe is a friendly nudge because Shane is like, Scott and I have a good relationship at this point.
And Scott says, you're starting to sound like him. Yeah. And you were talking about, right? Yeah. Oh boy. Shane does not like that.
Shane did not like that and a fight ensues. Well, that's the problem. A fight doesn't ensue. The players, the teammates are holding them back.
Yeah.
I was like, I kind of want to see what happens when Shane and Scott dropped the gloves.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't know if they would ever drop the gloves after a game.
You're right.
Like that would have been a crazy fight.
But yeah, like after the game, I think they're just like kind of scrumming it up.
But that was intense.
That was very intense.
And I was kind of like Shane, God, I mean, poor Shane, dude.
I feel like I know Shane so much.
I feel like I know Shane so well now.
Yeah.
But it's crazy because this is Olympic year, right?
It only went back four months.
Yeah.
Like this is the Olympic year.
it must be so frustrating for Shane to hear that because Shane's like I even heard from this motherfucker in sick you know he's like I'm barely talking to him dude fuck you you know yeah well that's I think that's why he gets fired up but also like I you know I can't fucking wait for episode four and beyond because like I think that was a great scene to include because there have been so many comments here and there where Shane is almost certainly like Scott is on to me yeah so that's a rattling thing to hear yeah right you're like
What the fuck?
Yep.
Yep.
I didn't even think about it from what, as Chris said,
like,
he hasn't been,
like, spending a lot of time with him
because it's been in that.
Yeah, yeah,
true.
There's been nothing.
We need to make a timeline.
Yeah,
we do get to make like a timeline.
We look at Charlie Kelly with red string timeline of what's going on,
well,
all the relationships and how they connect.
Uh,
we then see Kip watching this game and watching that dust up,
uh,
at home with his dad.
Remember guys,
episode of goats.
Kip's dad.
Goat.
Goat.
What a beauty.
Just loving, amazing dad, supportive dad, love to see that.
Makes a lot of sense why Kip is so incredible.
So that was great.
He wakes up in the morning at his dad's house.
He's freaking out.
He's looking for his tucks.
Kip's dad is like, I've got it, dry, cleaned.
It's hanging in the closet for you.
Amazing.
He goes to this event.
We get the sense here.
We've learned that Kip is applying to school.
Yep.
He's incredibly intelligent, artistic.
Trying to get into school, working all these crazy jobs like the smoothie shop and now like this catering job because he needs the money for school, etc.
Goes to this catering job, shows up late, he's a little flustered, gets his first tray, apologizes to his boy.
He's like, I'm fucking so sorry, immediately crashes into some strapping handsome man.
Bang.
Bang.
Unbelievable.
Well, how about that bitch in the scene?
What the fuck was that?
Just an ass.
New York used to have real waiters.
Now they just hire models.
Which is like the nicest.
Nice.
Nice as burn.
Yeah.
Like if I fucked up and I was worried about my job and I heard that, I'd be like, well, thank you.
Yeah.
Okay.
Yeah.
Appreciate that.
Sean, the friend, also a beauty.
Another goat.
Oh, oh, oh, the guy who hired him.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Like, he does that, comes in and apologizes.
And not only is Sean like, deep, he's like, I can't get fired.
He's like, dude, you're not fired.
Yeah.
I know you need the money.
Also, you're my friend.
Deep breath in, deep breath out.
Here's a keesh.
They're dry.
Yeah.
Yeah, you're going to be fine.
Just another goat.
What a great circle that Kip has surrounded himself.
Yeah, so true.
So he comes back out.
Scott gives him a wink, dude.
He gives him a killer wink.
Again.
Scott, what I know about you now,
these are crazy moves.
I think...
Questions.
It's because we know.
But at this point, they're throwing and catching vibe.
Scott is like Kip knows.
I'm hitting on.
I just, people see their eyeballs everywhere.
But, dude, no, not.
Because we're watching a show.
We're not onto them.
No one's onto them yet.
Questions.
Got to be careful.
Got to be careful, dude.
So they chat.
Scott invites him to grab a bike, grab some Mexican with him.
Also, loved Kipp's response to that.
He was like, would you do like Mexican?
He was like, yeah, I'm not a serial killer.
Serial killer callback.
Also, appreciation for Mexican cuisine.
Pimp callback.
That was a move by one of those Pips.
Dude, I couldn't believe that callback.
Yeah, that was awesome.
Incredible. But to your point,
Balsey, this was,
I mean, more so than inviting him to the game.
Do you want to grab a bite with me after this? At this point,
that is Scots. Kip?
Yeah, we're doing this.
Now, guys,
Kip comes out after he's done with the shift.
They check out the line at the Mexican joint. The line is around the corner.
Here's my question for you both.
Was that his plan all along?
I got the sense.
He knew about the spot and he knew that it was going to be a line and this is going to be his move.
Interesting.
I think it was his plan all along.
Was Scott going to go sit down?
Why did you just ask?
I think this is, this is cheeky as hell.
Is this a romance?
It's, it's a, you're not being a dog and going, come back to my place right away.
Yeah, I offered.
I offered restaurant first.
Yep.
But that was, I think that was a cheeky move.
I thought the scene was going to be to get to let Scott do a.
flex of like cut the line.
You know, he's like, oh, the lines up there.
And he's like, hold on, bro.
I'm Scott Hunter.
Yeah.
And then he was like, do you want to go upstairs?
And I was like, oh, shit.
So they go, let's order in.
They go to Scott's place.
They get in.
Kip can't believe how nice the place is.
He's walking around, looking around.
In the background of the shot, we see Scott removing his shirt.
We get to see those abs for the first time.
Thank God.
Good God.
The man is, like, if I were on Scott's team, I'd be like, are you fucking kidding me,
dude?
Relax.
Yeah.
Relax.
favorite line of the episode
bro from both of them
again
Scott is so ballsy
drops that shirt and he goes
do you want the full tour now or
and Kip goes or
I choose or yeah
incredible
that is guys that's like
that's all time
that's how you write dialogue
that's just all time
fun cheek cute romantic hot dialogue
there's a there was a joke during COVID
that was going around
Instagram where it'd be like
it was a dude listening to a choice and it was like
pick one of the following two options.
A, you spend the next, you know, the rest of COVID
quarantined with your wife and kid.
And he goes, B.
B.
B.
This is, yeah.
Scott goes, Kip, would you like to.
B, B, B, give me B, whatever B is.
D.
I want that B.
D.
Give me, D.
Give me D. D. D. I'll take D. D. D. Skip over me and C.
That was fucking awesome. That's an incredible moment.
So we get our hookup. Again, consent king.
Scott asking if stuff's okay. Frankly, tame hookup as far as episodes one and two, I think.
I couldn't tell if it was tamer or if I've just gotten used to it because we're like.
Fair point.
Other hookup scenes were so crazy.
Yeah.
I was like, have I just been desensitized?
Possible.
To how, like, how spicy these hookup scenes are?
Yeah, it's possible.
It's possible.
It is possible.
Also, for fuck's sake, just a couple of hard bodies rolling around.
A couple of, I'll tell you what, dude,
Kip could play hockey.
He's got a rump on him as well.
How is Kip so shredded?
Why is everyone in this universe shredded?
They're hot dudes.
That is gay culture, though, too.
Yes, it is.
From my experience.
In my gay circle, like, guys stay fit.
We're in L.A.
There's a funny, that's a big thing, too.
But he sees Scott with a shirt off, and it's supposed to be like, wow, like this guy's so shredded.
But he's just a shredded.
Kip's like, just wait until I pop this puppy off.
But we saw it when he was getting ready for the catering event.
When he's running around, I was like, God damn.
And if I'm Kip's dad, I'm like, God damn it, relax, son.
Making me look like an asshole.
You're right, dear.
Like, I don't know how they don't start a fire when they're together.
It's like two.
just two pieces of flint.
Just chipping off of each other.
The whole apartment building is going to go up.
There's a funny, what I was going to try to find is there's a funny picture of like male bodies.
And it's like in gay culture.
And it's like the dude who you can only see four of his abs.
It's like obese.
And you're like, correct.
Unbelievable.
So, wait, my takeaway from that hookup was it was actually awesome and a great choice by everyone involved in the project.
because I legitimately felt the difference in two dudes getting down
that it wasn't their first rodeo.
Yeah.
You know what I mean?
Like watching the two kids hook up was genuinely different
than watching these two dudes hook up as it would be.
And I was like, that was wonderful.
All of the dynamics were totally different.
I mean, first of all, I think Kip is our first openly gay character.
Oh, true.
Yeah, that's right.
So he's probably a little bit more versed.
He's clearly not a, he has like a circle around him
where he's able to like communicate things with.
Yeah, which was so important to this episode.
Really important to this episode.
Yeah.
So I want to say to,
um, the, this fucking episode,
as we were talking about being our favorite episode so far,
few times have I seen an episode of television introduce,
more or less with Scott to brand new characters,
and I know everything about them.
Yeah.
Like, we're not even halfway through this episode,
and I feel like I know both.
of these human beings like I've known them my entire life.
Just brilliant stuff.
So they hook up.
Scott wakes up to Kip getting dressed.
He's like, I was going to sneak out.
You play.
Insane.
Why?
You would leave?
Dude, if you banged, you're out of your mind.
Austin Matthews.
You're out of your mind.
You got Team USA, captain of Team USA just asked me upstairs.
And I have the night of my life and I'm going like this,
I got to get happy.
I would have my mail forwarded there by morning.
I would be fucking living there.
Are you insane?
No, if that's your personality, okay.
But I don't think that that, I think it's, again,
Kip is just such a gentleman.
Like, he's like, this was such an incredible night.
Gentlemen, don't leave in the middle of the night, Dan.
Unless you are trying to protect your man, dude.
Unless you're trying to be respectful and understanding of his situation,
which is exactly what he was doing.
He literally says that.
He goes, you play later.
I don't want to mess up your routine.
I was just trying to sneak out and let you sleep.
He's a gentleman.
And then Scott is like, will you please stay?
Lovely.
So fucking lovely.
So he stays, they sleep the night, and Scott wakes up and comes out to finding Kip making the blueberry banana smoothie.
The roller coaster of emotions this episode is.
So like first, fourth, we're riddled with tension.
just like heated, passionate tension.
Now this, we are in the honeymoon phase
of like just adorable romance.
But then the whiplash I got here,
he makes it, Scott comes around,
picks up Kip, legs wrap around his waist.
And Scott then says, can I fuck you?
Horny moment.
Bro.
Horny moment.
But I'm going to say,
that can I fuck you was so fucking romantic
but also not as horny as the pickup.
The pickup made me audibly gasp.
I was like sweating with that pickup.
Again, these two hard bodies,
one of the most just adorably romantic gestures
of all time making that smoothie.
And then that pick,
I literally went, oh, Scott!
Like, I was like, oh my God, damn.
I really liked how Kip was like apologizing for all of the things that Scott might have been offended by, like going through his fridge and everything else.
I'm like, Kip's such a thoughtful but also like worrisome character.
Yes.
That's kind of nice to see.
Like he worries when he's at the waiter job.
He's worried about like everything else.
But it's nice to see like everything's kind of coming up Kip.
Yes.
Everything's kind of working out for him.
Sean, agree.
I also want to say, sorry, and I know you have thought, I do want to say, and this is a question.
for the listeners, I felt that it was a really nice touch.
Again, I feel like a lot of shared interest with these two.
But when he was apologizing, being like, I'm sorry, I wasn't trying to snoop,
but like, you're very organized.
Yeah.
I thought that was a nice touch because, again, a lot of my gay friends, very organized.
And like very meticulous with their setup and all that.
And I was like, that was a really nice touch.
And I want to know if that is like, what was a good clock or it's like,
no, not all the time.
But that was great.
That was awesome.
I, my thought watching that scene was
that was one of the great moves
I've ever seen.
By Kip.
Oh, well, this baking this movie was amazing, but Scott, no, I'm talking about the
Scott swoop into can I fuck.
I was like this, that's the one of the greatest most dominant plays I've ever seen.
I need to add this.
Yeah.
And then I was like, is this, is that just a guy thing?
No, dude.
Like, do you think if I picked up a girl after,
if I scooped a girl up?
Think about, and said, can I fuck you?
I think, go like this.
Holy shit.
I think so.
Okay, because I want to add it.
Think about everything that's happened.
Yep.
If all of those amazing moments, lovely things and gestures happened, absolutely.
But do I need it all?
Did she have to try to sneak out in the middle of the night?
I've asked her to stay.
Yeah.
Okay, well then that's never done.
I think she's got to make the smoothie.
Too many things that has to meet up to me scooping that.
Allow the possibility of romance into your life.
Yeah.
I just want to be able to scoop.
The scoop and can I fuck you?
I think that that could totally happen.
God, dude, that was hot as hell.
That was all time.
Hot as hell.
I could not believe that.
Now, we have a great conversation at the Kitchen Island here.
I think this is the most important scene of the show.
Ooh.
So.
Yeah, it probably is actually.
I thought this scene was amazing.
So here we get Scott's big request.
He's like, hey, I want you to be here when I get home from practice.
I want you to be here when I get home from my game.
I've never done this, but I want you to be a part of my life.
I'm more excited about you than I have been anything in a long time.
But he then gets, Kip gets the ex-exam.
explanation from Scott about why he's not out and how coming out would be too complicated for so many
people that he cares about, people that he takes care of, his family. And I just thought the show
needed this moment because it makes so much sense coming from a vet. Like this guy's a captain of a
team. He's been in the league, captain of team USA. And this show is shining a light on the fact
that there are very possibly, if not certainly,
gay guys in the NHL,
and being like,
this is why people aren't out.
It's too complicated.
And the way Scott explains it was beautiful.
And again, episode of goats,
the way Kip says he'd love to be there
when he gets back was fucking chills.
Just like the understanding was beautiful.
That's why I love Kip.
And I love these two relationships.
So as I talked about the roller coasters of emotions in this episode,
we're now in the like,
I feel like we're all completely in love with these two
as they are in love with each other.
Yeah.
I, like, I finished the second episode.
It ends on a cliffhanger.
Yeah.
I wanted to know what was going to happen with our two protagonists.
When I realized that this was going to be an episode that wasn't going to include them at all,
I was like, oh, I kind of wanted to know what happens.
But after going through episode three, I don't really care about our two main protagonists.
now I want to see more Kip and Scott.
I know.
And if like,
if this show doesn't spin off
into the Kip and Scott show,
I'm going to be devastated.
And it's nice to see,
I think like going through so much drama
in the first two episodes,
it's nice to see two characters
who are like actually able to communicate.
I know.
So like actually able to communicate their problems,
their feelings and like understand it.
Because I hate when drama derives just from miscommunication.
Yeah.
I was like,
I love it when it's like the communication is there,
but the drama is an external.
actor. Sharp from Sean. Yes.
Sharp. Sharp analysis there.
Like going from the two episodes of just not being able to say what you feel,
constant miscommunications to these two just putting their fucking hearts on the table,
putting it in the blender, hitting fray and drinking a blueberry banana smoothie.
It's just incredible. Absolutely incredible.
But guys, the direction of that conversation going, I'd love to be here when you get back,
cutting to Kip on the couch reading with glasses.
Was the best, like the costume designer hit it out of the park?
Like, I've never seen someone look more at home.
Yeah, I live here now.
Yeah.
I was like, God, this is incredible.
There was one too many serial killer joke callbacks in Kipp's response to Scott's speech.
We had the incredible one already.
And I was like, well done.
And then we went another one here.
And I was like, okay, we didn't need that one.
And then he said it again in the same speech.
And I was like, we've exhausted the serial killer callbacks.
I loved it.
I loved the first one.
We're done here.
Thank you so.
much.
Yeah.
Everything else is perfect.
Then we get a nice little montage of the boys just living, living,
hooking up, loving each other, amazing stuff.
The extra banana in the shop was nails.
And in this moment, Kip tries to say that Scott is straight to Elena.
And she gives him the girl line again.
And I was kind of like, I'm with Elena there.
I'm like, what are you talking about, dude?
Yeah.
But just like, we're now in it of these two just like being together, living together.
Perfect time for a quick ad break, and then we'll jump right back in.
Don't you worry?
You know what one of my favorite parts about working here is?
You might think it's doing the hockey podcast, hanging out with my brother, sitting with Red.
Wrong.
I don't even like them.
They stink.
But you know what?
It doesn't stink.
The mug root beer that's coming out my ears at this office.
You walk around the almost Friday office everywhere I look, every fridge, kitchen, bar fridge,
coolers all over the place, sports annex.
Mug, Mug, Mug, Mug.
It's a dream come true.
We got no caffeine sugar.
We got no sugar, no caffeine.
Whichever one you like, they got the mug for you.
They got the mug for me.
It lets me come to work every day, fired up with the dog in me,
because now my dog is barking because I can have mug whenever I want.
It's that awesome.
I get to have mug whenever I want.
Think about that life that I get to live.
It's incredible.
Mug all over the place.
It's cold.
It's frothy.
There's an unapologetic flavor.
And I love it so, so much.
And it's my favorite drink because it's here and I get to have it every day.
So if you weren't here, because you're not me.
And you don't get to live in this office like I do.
you can go to your local store or you can go to muggroupbeer.com
slash find dash mug that's f-indd dash mug and then you can pretend you're here because
you can fill your whole place with mug group beer so get your pause on some today back with
heated rivalry episode three we've just had our montage moments of these guys living together loving it
all this stuff then this was my first oh interesting moment we get a little discussion about art
Kip wants some art.
Scott's like, maybe I should buy some art.
Could use some stuff for the apartment.
And Kip's like, all right, here we go.
So they go to this gallery, you suppose.
And this part kind of confused me a little bit because they go to this art gallery.
They've been out and about.
They've done some stuff.
And Scott's like glasses on, cap on.
And Kipp's being very understanding.
He's like, are you good?
Like what's, you know, how we doing here?
and they go in, they look at something,
someone working at the gallery comes up and is like,
can I help you out?
Are you two looking?
And that was a good line.
It was like, are you two looking for something for your home or this or that?
And Scott's like, I got to bounce.
So he pieces out.
Kip goes out.
Really like how, you know,
Scott apologizes.
He's like, I'm so sorry.
I wanted to be able to do that.
And Kip, amazing, amazing Kip.
He shows him,
gives him the grace to understand and forgive him was just like so lovely.
Why do you guys think that the gallery was such a trigger?
I was saying that too.
It wouldn't be weird to, like, go to an art gallery with your friend.
I don't think that that would be an indication that you're a couple.
And so it's weird that Scott was like, this is what's going to out me.
Like after, like, the waves and like all the stuff, it felt, I was surprised.
So my, my, asking the listeners, I wonder if in the book, maybe there's something more intense about that,
maybe something there was, that we missed.
But I was like, oh, it's weird that this is the one where he's like, shit.
Dude, funny you too reacted that way because I am so one-aided with you where I was like,
I cannot believe he was down to wave.
I cannot believe he was down to wink.
And this scene was the scene I'd been waiting for all episode where I'm like,
no way would you go to this gallery.
Okay, so you did feel like it was like, are you insane?
You can't go to this.
And then when he went there with his hood on, I was like, you need a bigger disguise.
Like you need to have the bustash glasses combo thing.
You know, you're the guy.
Rachel Marks.
Yeah, yeah. I'm like, what are you talking about? And I love the show for, you had said something
like this earlier, Sean, but this was so clearly, here comes the scene where Scott says something
so mean about Kip and public to look not gay. And they didn't do that. And then he says the most
lovely apology I've ever heard where he's like, that was not, he, like, Kip's like it's okay
and he's like, it's not okay. And I know it's not okay. I was like, oh my God.
Came, dude. Absolutely. My heart was melting. Episode of goats. But I actually thought it was
completely expected.
And I, and this is like such a testament to the culture, so I hate that I'm even saying
this.
But I thought Kip should have gone, should have done something like, oh, I'm his art.
When she goes, are you two looking for something?
I was like, Kipps fucking help your boy out here, dude.
Be like, oh, I'm, uh, he's obviously famous hockey player.
I'm just his art consultant.
And then I wanted Scott to later go, you don't have to do that or whatever.
But I was like, that needed to be the trajectory because I completely get why Scott left,
because she's asking questions like,
is this for your two joint home?
And Kip goes, yeah, we're just browsing.
Yeah.
Which implies like, yes, this is for my home.
So then Scott runs out and I was like,
I'm sorry that this is the way of the world,
but that is what would happen.
Yeah.
And so yeah, I was kind of ready for that.
Does the, I suppose you call her an art seller?
Does she say for your joint,
or does she ask, like, are you buying or are you browsing?
I think the key was, she says like, are you two?
That was a good line.
And he replies with,
we specifically. I remember Kip saying the word
we. And I was like, oh, fuck. Scott's
about to leave. And then he did. But yeah, no, like the way
they both reacted, incredible.
So we then get Kip.
He's mailing what we presume is his
application to college. He then
sees in a bodega, something that he
wants to get for Scott, grabs him the
banana socks. Amazing. Just like so
freaking cute, amazing. And then we also get the callback.
Can I fuck you with this time, Kip?
Dude. And another kind of callback,
big windows. But they're high.
Shades and care.
Shane did care.
Yeah.
Scott,
no,
couldn't care,
big windows.
All good.
Also,
wonderful comment section
last episode review
where I was like,
is you always at top
and people were like,
some are both.
It's like it's a verse.
Verse.
Verse.
Some are sides.
We're learning.
I think these guys are verse.
Because Scott's saying,
can I fuck you?
And then Kip was like,
can I fuck you?
I think we got verse going.
Hell yeah,
which is just fucking beautiful.
I like verse.
Me too.
Because I'm like,
dude.
No,
I think verse is the way to go.
Yeah.
Mix it up,
baby.
I think it'd be fun to be too, like, deciding who.
Well, also, wouldn't it be cool?
Like, you go into the bedroom every night.
It's almost like a coin flip.
I was going to say you should have one.
Oh, that'd be cool.
You know?
Like, literally there's just a coin next to the bed and you're like, boom.
You get a custom coin.
You get a custom coin with two, your faces.
So now.
Maybe your butts.
As cute.
It's just each of your butt.
Yeah.
And you're like, who's that?
But you'd know by that.
You'd like, that's God.
I can pick that butt out of a lineup of a thousand, dude.
You, again, if it were Rosie's butt, we need a big coin.
Yeah.
We need one of those novelty comedy coin.
So, even as cute as the banana socks are, this is the new loop in the roller coaster of this episode.
We're now in kind of the like, okay, things are getting complicated.
Yep.
And we get that with Elena has a conversation where she calls Kip out for being in love.
And he's like, I'm in love.
They're watching the game.
He's like, I've never been happier.
I know it's complicated.
We see him talking to his dad.
There's so much love there.
He's waiting for the college application.
He's like, I haven't seen you in a while.
But, you know, like, yeah, I miss you.
And we're starting to feel the tension of like Kipps being like, damn, like this is intense.
So he talks to or he gets a text from Scott and Scott's like there's something waiting in the closet for you.
He goes home, opens the closet.
There's a tucks there waiting for him.
I was certain he was going to open the closet and it was going to be just space cleared out.
Oh, being like, that's lovely.
move in.
That's way speeder.
Dude, I thought that
that was about,
I was genuinely,
guys,
like I was,
my knuckles were clenched
because I was like,
that is going to be a haymaker
because you could kind of feel
where this train was going
of like,
they're going to have to have to come.
And I was like,
if this fucking comes on the heels
of scopping,
like move in with me,
I was about to die.
But although like,
they're kind of like living together
already.
The implication is that he's like,
he'll be living there.
His dad hasn't seen it.
But like,
I'm not sure if all of his stuff is there.
So I thought that was going
be like this haymaker gesture, but it's the, it's the tuxedo.
I have something to say about that.
Okay.
He took a long time to look in the closet.
He took, I wrote that down too, Chris.
I can't believe he waited this long to go in the closet.
Dude, he got a text.
I was like, there's a surprise in the closet.
I would go there immediately, especially after all the serial killer talk, it could be
someone's skin.
Yeah.
He got a text leaving the store, I think.
Yeah.
I said, I was surprised for you in the closet.
And then we cut to him, like, on the couch, like, looking at the text again or
something.
I'm like, you, the first thing.
think you did when you walked to the house.
Maybe we can assume he was talking to his dad when he got up.
I was like, holy shit.
But yeah, there's a long time.
And then, uh, empty space is amazing.
I thought it was going to be the art piece.
Oh, that would have been nice too.
And I was going to be like, oh.
I was actually kind of bummed, but it was the tux honestly.
I was like, a tux.
Well, you have a million tuxes.
This is bullshit.
But they're at this gala event.
Scott and Elena meet, which I didn't love because I was like, you two know each other.
He's been to the smoothie shop so many times.
Yeah.
And like, they've interacted.
Yeah, fair, fair, fair, fair, fair.
So he was like, nice to meet you.
I would have liked nice to officially meet you or something.
Because I'm like, come on, we know each other.
But Scott is cool about Elena knowing.
Kipp's like she found out and like, I had to tell somebody.
And he's like, yeah, dude, that's cool.
They dance and Elena gives Scott a speech about keeping Kip a secret.
And she's like, dude, Kip is amazing.
He's brilliant and he deserves all the love in the world.
And at first, I was like, overstepping here a little bit, Elena.
Like Scott, or Kip literally just told you that he's in love and the happiest he's ever been.
This could blow everything up.
But then she hit Scott with the, and so do you.
And I was like, episode of goats.
I was so ready to be like, Elena, chill.
No, I didn't like that.
I didn't like that.
Which I get.
She comes like, she's like, Kip is miserable.
Oh, dude, I didn't like that line either.
That's specific line.
I was like, no, he isn't.
That's why, like, at the beginning, I was like, yeah, Elena, come on.
I'm like, it's been two months.
Yeah.
You're asking somebody to come out after they've been closeted for so long.
And I know that's like tough for Kip, obviously.
But I'm like, Kip also got the golden ticket here.
Yeah, yeah.
He's in the penthouse, everything he could ever want with this absolute stud.
Yeah.
I'm like, I think.
But Kipp's a stud too.
Kipp's a stud too.
I'm like, I just don't think that when you're being like protective of somebody that you
necessarily need to antagonize the other person.
Yeah.
I think that there's a way of doing it that I didn't appreciate how Elaine is.
was doing it. Especially that line. You know what, Sean? I hear that. I like, I, I, like, for me,
she landed the plane a little bit, or a lot of bit for me personally with the, and so do you.
Because it was like that, that, that so do you meant a lot. Like a lot of different things.
I wasn't even expecting it. It almost surprised me because the rest of her speech was so hard. Right.
I agree. I have something to about this, but I'll save it for a discussion at the end. Yeah, we're, we're wrapping up here.
But in that scene, I couldn't believe when she, you know, she goes, I'll go get drinks and.
and
Kip
Oh, his name's
Chris by the way
Yeah
She goes
Speak
We might start calling you Kip
I cannot believe
That they
Kip and Scott
Were spy talking
In that scene
I was like
Talk normally
Dude why are you two
Spy talking
You look weird as fuck
I thought that too
Yeah
Literally just speak
You're like
At the Gat
You're like
Hello this is a person
At the gala
I was talking to
I thought it was
More because
It was such an
intense conversation
They couldn't
If they had
looked eye to
eye, it would have been too intense.
I'll buy that.
They would have started crying.
Yes.
But I think if I saw two people spy talking at the gal, I'd be like, something, some of the drug deal going on over here.
What that is?
And this is Scott's event.
Like, who the fuck?
So here Kip invites Scott to come to his birthday.
His birthday's coming up.
He wants him to come to King Fisher.
King is the name of the game.
Yep.
And he's like, you can just come, stop by, say hi as my friend.
It would mean a lot.
And Scott's like, I can't do that.
I'm so sorry.
And then he also gives him, he's like, hey, like, I'm in this with you.
In a few years, I can come out and we can have a normal life, but like, it's going to take a while.
And Kip, again, the goat is like, dude, this is back at the place.
And he's like, I totally get it.
And I get when you made your speech, you're protecting your family.
But I have a family too.
I miss my dad.
Like, to literal tears.
Very good communication on both sides.
Dude, there's two.
They just say, and this is how every relationship should be.
Just say how you fucking feel.
Both of these guys have been so reasonable and respectful.
Yes.
Like, it's actually insane.
And Chris, this is such a great example of in TV and film, you can do this and everything
can be great still.
Yeah.
You don't need all of this.
Oh, I don't know how to communicate.
I don't know how to speak.
There's just as good of drama and just as good of emotions if you just say how you fucking feel.
Because Scott planned surfing turf.
It's not like, I'm not doing anything for your birthday.
He's like, I wanted to do something to.
It's unbelievable.
So Kip is like, dude, I love you.
They both say I love you, which I was like, oh, me too.
That was a great one.
That was a great L bomb.
So smooth.
But he says he misses his family.
misses his dad and he heads home.
We then cut back to hearing Scott's story of how...
Yeah, cool.
When he was 12, his parents died, got hit by a drunk driver.
He was taken in by this presumably church or charity.
And he has gotten involved in this charity because they gave him hockey and they gave him a family.
Amazing.
The end of the episode, two moments, three moments, actually.
Kip gets home.
His dad has mail for him and he's like, he feels pretty big.
implication that he's gotten into school.
And great subtle acting by Kip's dad there of he's being a little like not as
lovey because he's like, fucking A man, where you been?
Yeah.
Then he sees Kip is sad.
They forget about the male.
All he's worried about is taking care of his son.
His boy.
Incredible.
Truly incredible.
We then see Scott watching Kip at the Kingfisher.
Like, catch me if you can vibes.
He's just like, he showed up in his own way.
In the groucho, in the he's.
In his art gallery
He's like, there's a creepy guy
But then we flashed to Sochi
We're now now back to the timeline of the show
Scott's still wearing his banana socks
Gold medal game
Cute as hell
End of episode three
Did Canada win?
I can't remember if they said that
I don't know
I don't remember actually
He says he's like hey it's a gold medal game
So USA's in the gold medal game
That'd be cool if we got a retroactive gold medal
Yeah, it's amazing
Yeah, because we came fourth in 2014, wasn't it?
Yeah.
Yeah.
So we'll get into our awards and final thoughts, but I think you had one thing to say first.
Yes.
Because I said, Sean, I was like, I left that up.
You guys had primed me that was so sick.
And I left that episode kind of reeling in a lot of ways where I loved the ep,
but it was, there was so much depth, so much more depth than that episode than the other two by my miles.
Yeah.
But I was also missing the boys, like my lighthearted boys.
It was like so fun watching them navigate and like be funny and mean to each other, whatever.
And I like, Christ, like there was almost sadder.
No, the, God, the ending of this one was so sad too.
Dude, equally so sad.
I was not prepared for how much this show is going to break our, and I don't know if you guys have been seeing the comments on the YouTube's people are like, wait for episode four boys.
Do you think your hearts are broken now?
And I was like, fuck me.
Dude.
The fuck.
But to go back to the Elena's speech and just in general, and I think obviously I skew towards.
Like, I'm biased towards the hockey player in this story, right?
It's like we're navigating this story.
And a ton of fans are watching the show not as a straight hockey player, right?
Sure.
It is hard.
I think, take right now, this is 2014, right?
But take right now the waves, the ripple effects, if an NHL player right now, a star was like this.
I'm openly gay, by the way, this is my boyfriend, would be.
insane. Oh, it would be wild.
How it would ripple through the league,
the world, the community, everything.
And I just, sometimes I'm like, man,
that is
a massive thing that you are asking
of Scott, like in this point. Like,
not only is it just a person who's closeted.
And she's like, please, like, do this for him.
He wants to be shown off and he deserves it too. I'm like,
this is an outrageous act.
You would, you would be jeopardizing
his career, like his entire life.
Yeah. And I sometimes think
that's not appreciated enough in this.
like in this drama. They're like, come on, Scott. And I'm like, no, dude.
That's why. I actually watched a show being like, he literally can't. You're asking
something he literally cannot do. You're stealing one of my awards here. Okay, sorry, you can go
right into awards then. Let's get into two horned up. Chris, why don't you start? Okay, I had a few in this
episode. It was crazy. I guess I have to, since I'm going first, I'll just do the, uh, the caring,
the pickup, can I fuck you? Like, I literally was like, oh my God, dude. And that was a
Incredible moment. That's incredible game.
That, that, I'll go, Sean, because that was mine.
The, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the banana, blueberry banana smoothie.
Holy shit. I, I'm not kidding, you guys. I audibly shouted.
Yeah.
I was like, oh, ho! Scott! I was like, yeah.
That was hot. Actually, you go, because I don't want to say this in case it's yours, but I thought
you were going to say something else. What's yours?
Um, maybe not what you're expecting, but I really liked the, the, the or. I choose
ore. Oh, yeah. That line was so spicy. I thought you were going to say that.
That was horny.
That was horny.
Yeah, yeah.
You want the full tour?
Yeah, with the shirt off again.
God, dude.
I choose ore.
I choose or was really horny.
I also flagged the shirt in the first scene.
Like him just walking in with this shirt.
I was like, he's a sweaty guy, dude.
He's in an elite outfit.
I loved that, dude.
My, I don't even know what to do here.
My, what are we doing here?
I have one that you were going to love.
Oh, really?
Yeah.
My, what are we doing here?
They're so minimal because I thought this episode was just fantastic.
I mentioned it.
I did love the newspaper.
I felt that the newspaper was just like, it's 2014.
Like, we were already on our phones and shit.
But it was Scott and Elena going nice to meet you.
Because I personally was like, you guys know each other.
This is like, again, all I needed was officially meet.
Yep.
My, okay, and I might have forgotten something.
So I need to ask, and maybe you guys remember.
Yeah, yeah.
When he goes, hey, I come to perfect my game.
So I have the same smoothie.
Yeah.
Kip goes, are you crazy superstitious?
There's one scene where he's asking about crazy superstitions.
Scott starts listing his.
Do you remember what they are?
I don't quite remember all of them.
Okay, me neither.
And I should have, I was watching, it was like two in the morning.
I was trying to finish this.
So I should have gone back.
Because something happens at the very end of the episode that is either the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen or a listed superstition.
The socks over the banana socks?
He put socks over, yeah, but it's beyond that.
Oh.
And I thought you were going to fucking.
can lose your shit. I couldn't believe I didn't have a text from you. Do you know what I'm going to say?
No, what is it? Dude, he has the banana socks on and he's like, go middle game dude. And I was like,
oh, cool. And he puts his right sock on and then he pulls his left sock on. And that's the last shot of
the thing, I think, or one of them. And he is wearing a sock with an R right on his left foot,
which you fucking hate. Oh my gosh. I didn't clock that. And I was like, did you just put the
right sock on your left foot? And I can't remember before the comments kill me. Fuck.
I can't remember if at the beginning he goes, I'm not that bad.
I wear opposite sock.
If he does, incredible, incredible shot and intention to detail.
If he doesn't say that at the beginning, then you need to be shot into the sun.
Disagree.
Because what if, and he says when something goes well for him, he needs to do it, what if one game he accidentally put them on the wrong foot and he played great?
But I would like to know that before I zoom in on the R.
Sure.
There was a, they might have.
They might have.
I just can't remember.
I can't remember.
It specifically zoomed in on the R or just like on the sock.
It's on the sock.
He's like pulling his sock over and you can see the R on his left foot.
And I was like, oh no.
Yeah, comments.
Guys, let us know if that's mentioned because I didn't clock that.
My other one in case that was a great moment.
Well, wait, let John go.
Well, this, oh, yeah, yeah, fair.
Yeah, I mean, there wasn't a lot of hockey.
Yeah, there wasn't a lot to be upset about it.
There wasn't a lot to be upset about it at all,
except for Scott being so out of breath while everyone else looks like they just came back from lunch.
It looked like that was a scene implying that Scott can't hang anymore.
Yeah, it looks like he was.
out of breath in a 5-1 loss.
I was like, why are you getting a little bit too old?
But he's only like 20...
Yeah, I think he's young.
Yeah, you're right.
He's young.
He's young.
He's young.
He's young.
He doesn't look too much older.
No, no.
Scott is young.
Like, he's a vet, but he's not.
He ain't old.
Yeah.
Him being so bad on the road was...
Like, you know how he's joke about they make people too good just to show they're good.
He doesn't score two goals in the road in the age.
They were trying to show that like Scott likes Kep so much away from New York.
Scott is horrible.
I was like, all right.
He's fine.
He's fucking at all.
Okay, and then my, do I love this?
Yep.
Was what you were alluding to and what I made a point to mention was my favorite part was Scott's explanation of why he can't come out.
Again, I thought it was so important to the show, so important to this whole story and world, and it was so beautifully done.
The piece of intense conversation in this episode was perfect.
magnificent.
Yeah.
The way everything Scott said
and the way Kip took it in
and the way he responded,
just incredible.
I, well,
I really liked Kip's dad.
Oh, Sean.
It might be my favorite character in the show.
I want to see more.
Sean's dad.
I'm fearful that we won't see more,
but I want to see a lot more.
Utterly brilliant.
But yeah, I think that,
that again, it's like two episodes in a row,
the endings just hit so hard.
Haymakers, man.
Yeah.
Fucking heartbreaking.
Heymakers at the end of these fucking episodes.
Mine was, this is very esoteric one, but it was in that moment, and I've just made my speech about how I feel like what they're asking of Scott is very hard.
In that scene post-gala with the old fashions, both dudes stood firm on what they believed they need in this moment in their lives.
And I'm not, like, I wish they didn't need some of those things.
I wish Scott could just come out.
But Scott was like, I can't, dude.
But I love you and like, I will do things for you.
And I, and I'm presenting a plan.
I'm not just going like, it'll work out.
Like he's like, dude, this is what I need and please be with me.
Yeah.
And then Kip also going, I need more than that to feel, you know, vindicated and validated in my life.
So I'm going to go, I'm going to leave and see my family.
You know, I just, I was like, oh, man, no one caved.
No one caved and no one reacted meanly.
It was just like, we both love each other and this is what we need and they're not aligned right now.
I know.
And I was like, oh, my God.
What do you guys think is going to happen?
Do you think that they're going to have to break up because the timeline's too long for Kip?
Or do you think that it's going to force Scott to come out and deal with whatever ramifications?
Dude, I wrote both, but I think down the line.
Because I think we're going to see Kip in school.
Again, I don't even want to say this because I won't.
also say this guy's in the comments. Try not to spoil us. No, spoilers. There have been a couple
spoilers in the comments and I love you and I love your passion. But we're, again, we're,
we didn't read the books and we're, we're watching these as we review. So don't spoilers.
But I think they're going to have to separate for a bit. I think Kipp's going to go to school.
Yeah, because I bet it's far. Like they brought up Boston. Remember he's like, I know we hate
Boston? And I was like, oh, fuck. I bet he's like, I go to school in Boston. And then maybe
Scott's on the road sees him wherever he is on the, oh my God. Because he's playing Rosenoff in
Lost and fuck.
Anyway.
Is this a cautionary tale for for Shane and Rosie?
Where even if they are super, super commutative and super, super healthy, they still need to be honest with themselves and the public eye for them to be truly happy.
I think so, especially Shane.
I think he's going to be like, this cannot be, dude.
You know?
Can you fucking relax this episode?
This guy's emotional compass is point north.
Dude, do you think I also hadn't even thought of this?
If this flashes, like when we go, I was also dying.
thinking about us going, like, was this written in 2009?
And I'm like, did she predict the Sochi Olympics?
It never occurred to us.
Yeah, we're so fucking dumb.
We're like, I think they wrote this in 2008.
She's like, yeah, they're like, I'm going to be in so cheap.
Black mold, black mold.
Like, whoa, dude, that's amazing.
We're so dumb.
But it occurred to me where I was like, oh, if she started it in 2008, written in 2019,
she probably brings it to 2019.
Like I bet it goes all the way that far.
So I was like, holy fuck, dude.
Now, like, we're going to have like full on adult Shane and Rosie.
And that's going to be a fascinating.
You know, I'm so excited to see that.
Maybe Kip and Scott after Scott comes out of the MLH.
Yeah.
And they become out that will change.
I'll make Shane and Rosie more comfortable.
Scott, we get far enough in the time.
that Scott retires, even though I think he is probably too young.
But if we got far enough in the timeline that Scott retired and came out.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And then it gave them the confidence to do it.
That would be actually a sick ending.
Because some of these books, I know Ice Breakers like flashes way forward.
I think Pucked goes super far.
So some of these books from my experience have like very big jump endings to get to put a bow on it.
So I'm punk and fired up, dude.
It's unbelievable.
That, folks, is our review of episode.
episode three of heated rivalry.
If you haven't figured out now,
our hearts are so invested in this show.
It's unbelievable.
You can catch episode four review.
Top of next week.
We're going to keep riding this train with you, babes.
It's unbelievable.
Taking a quick ad break,
we will get back with the professors
and wrap things up.
It's Christmas time,
and you know I'm always thinking
hockey gear, hockey presents under the tree,
which of course makes me think of Bauer hockey.
Always, okay?
So it has never been easier to shop for the holidays
because the selection that they have cooking at bower.com is actually insane right now.
It is a perfectly curated destination that helps you find the gift for whatever hockey player
you're shopping for.
Okay, it can be a player or it can be a hockey lover, whatever you need.
Players, parents, kids, fans, it guides you from everything.
The high performance stuff to the under $100 accessories, right?
Anything you need, stocking suffers, custom gifts, holiday delivery, cutoff dates,
Bauer.com has you dialed in.
Okay, so they have the perfect gift you can find anything that you're looking for.
They have custom stuff, which is absolutely unbelievable.
And I love getting my gloves.
I get stuff of my gloves.
I get stuff of my clothes, my apparel.
It's amazing.
And there's insane savings.
Like I said, right now, if you go on and check out the holiday deals,
you will be so fired up.
There's free shipping on everything over $99.
Extended returns, digital gift cards.
So you can make it even easier and even simple and more simple
and even more worry-free.
And there's an awesome buying resources.
So if you're getting sticks, if you're getting skates,
there's a buyer's guide that helps you confidently choose
whichever product you're looking for if you don't know.
If you're a parent and you're trying to figure out what to get for your kid,
Bauer.com has all the guides to get you dialed in, which is amazing.
So what I want you to do is head to bower.com to find the perfect gift for hockey lovers,
and you will give the gift of hockey this year by checking out the holiday gift guides at Bauer.com.
Make your holiday stress-free, baby.
Folks, I am here to save you this holiday season.
I know so many of you worry about getting gifts for people.
You're getting last minute gifts.
You don't know what to do.
Well, here's the thing.
The Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by ORAFraMes right now,
and ORAFraMes are making your holiday shopping that much easier.
It's going to be fantastic.
It's going to be the best gift you've ever gotten because this is the last-minute
lifesaver.
Everything about ORAFram has changed the game when it comes to gifts.
It's unbelievable.
You can upload unlimited photos and video.
Up to 30 seconds, you can have videos on this thing.
It's going to make you feel like you're in Hogwarts.
You're going to have moving photos and videos in your beautiful.
picture frame in your house, your office, wherever you want to put it. You can preload and
upload all of these photos and videos so when you give someone a gift, they're not opening an empty
frame. They're opening everything that you want on there. You can personalize it with messages,
things like that. And here's what I love about this. CP and I, we're living out here in California.
Our parents are back in Maine. Getting our parents in aura frame, I've already been thinking about
this. What we can do since we have access to the upload while we're out here in California
doing things, having fun, we can upload photos to the aura frame that they have. So it's like
keeping them invested in our lives, seeing what's going on in real time. It is the perfect way
to stay connected, to spread holiday cheer and just make your gift feel as personal as possible.
It's great for anyone, whether it be parents, whether it be significant others, friends,
doesn't matter. Everyone is going to feel the love and the personality in this gift. It's fantastic.
You get this unbelievable Matt Carver frame. It's their best sell.
It's fantastic.
This is the gift that you need.
It's going to just make everything better.
So for a limited time, save on the perfect gift by visiting oaraframes.com to get $35 off
ORAFrames best-selling Carver Matt Frames, named number one by wirecutter by using
promo code empty netters at checkout.
That's A-U-R-A-Frames.com promo code empty netters.
This deal is exclusive to listeners and the frame sell out fast.
So order yours now and get it in time for the holidays.
Support the show by mentioning us at checkout.
Terms and conditions apply.
Welcome back, welcome back.
Take your seats.
It is time for Professor's Puckline.
We've just had a very spicy segment on the show.
Now we will cool things off as far as horniness.
Well, but heat things up.
As far as action.
As far as action.
We did not do very much.
very well in the Mega Palais last week.
The Mega Parley.
Unfortunately, it was quite bad.
Five and eight, gentlemen.
Five and eight.
As you will say, sir, we can always do worse.
But we were betrayed by the machines.
I did want to call out the Valley Girl.
By the Machine.
The Valley Girl of the Chat, of Chat, GPD.
Absolutely terrible.
Said, Leifes, Oilers, I can't decide.
Pick one, Madam.
Leifes, she says, no.
oiless, you're fired.
Truly, truly, truly despicable.
Despicable behavior by Miss Chat, GPT.
However, we were five and eight.
So we were five and seven.
So perhaps we give her another chance.
Didn't do quite better.
To be honest.
Life on the line, Pallet.
Recap.
Two and two.
Two and two, and I believe I was owned two.
They were both yours, Daniel.
They were both yours.
And I...
Unforgivable.
I fear I took the magic because you in fact did a rhyme two weeks ago.
One, I said I cost us, I did not rhyme.
I did rhyme.
One.
I took the rhyme.
I took it.
Took the rhyming magic from me.
Yes.
And it cost us, dearly.
Two and two.
You're a selfish twat.
I did rhymes again.
You always have been.
Delete them.
I don't know.
We're drowning.
We're drowning.
Friday,
fade. Listen, there were only two matchups. There were only two ties. And we knew it was either
the blues or the spunk. We knew that. We said a fade. You could only fade the blues or the spunk.
It turns out it was the blues. We went spunk. We blew ourselves. We have a bit of a mess on our
hands. You said it wouldn't be horny. It was premature. It was premature. We blew ourselves and it was
Spunk. This week, Daniel, Daniel, sir. Friday fade. Cains at Panthers, Canucks at Islanders, Jets at Avs, Devils at Mammoth, Stars at Ducks.
There is a fade screaming at me. I don't know how... I believe there is truly only one option, and it is the
Bo Horvatt Bowl. It's ringing in my ears, Daniel. It rings. You close your eyes, you hear the ringing.
Canucks, bottom of the league, traded away the best player they've ever had.
Going on to take the red hot New York Islanders, there is only one option here.
There are so many games, all of them look like decent matchups, and now we have an opportunity
to take Vancouver against the New York Islanders that is the fate.
It's been screaming it all along.
The other matchups are tantalizing.
It's a wonderful Friday of hockey.
It's a brilliant slate.
And you look at the games and you say, well, there was one winner.
I know what it is.
It's the Islanders at home.
Fool!
You take the Canucks.
You'd be a fool, sir.
And I, I, I, a damn right fool.
Fade, fade, fade.
We will fade the Islanders.
And we'll be taking the Canucks to win.
Canucks Money Line.
How are you?
Friday, fade.
Saturday, Selly.
We said to you.
that Nathan McKinnon would be an anytime goal scorer against the Preds after the split.
Recall the split, gentlemen. Recall the burn and learn in the split.
How's this for sharp?
Nathan McKinn scored one minute and 26 seconds.
Not even a full power play into the match, Nathan McKinnon on the score sheet,
getting you your Saturday Selly anytime goal scorer.
That is sharp action.
Again, I will say, what do we need to do here?
to get you on board.
Sharp as British wit.
You think, I don't want to sweat.
I don't want to sweat in any time, golf, Gora.
How's a minute and 26 seconds?
Didn't have to sweat.
You wouldn't sweat in a son.
The perspiration was as wet as a fucking desert.
Now, Daniel, Daniel, this week to stay hot, to stay hot,
where perhaps you can sweat.
There were three identified.
I would like your opinion.
Leo Carson.
and home versus the
versus who are they playing?
Not the ducks.
I wrote the ducks.
The Columbus Blue Jackets.
They're playing the Blue Jackets.
And Dan, Daniel, they lost.
It's another burn and learn.
That's another burn and learned.
They lost to the jackets and he did not score.
This is a McKinnon situation again.
That's why I highlighted him.
Secondly, Matthew Boldie, seven career goals and 11 games against the Oilers.
They have below average goaltending, no matter who is in that.
In the wild are hot, hot, touching something.
I'm touching something.
I'm touching something.
And then Maclin, Celebrity against the Spunk,
Maclin cannot be contained in this moment.
I love Maclin.
I also, an anytime goal scorer that we have not yet visited,
who is at the top of the league in goals scored.
Oh, no.
Sir Morgan geeky.
So, Boston.
Geeky.
Very, very interesting to me.
I do, I quite like Macklin.
I don't love in a way.
but Seth Jarvis
It's been a bit quiet
It's away, away, I know you don't like it
Maclin or geeky
Would be my choices
Wow, okay, excellent
Geeky too the other night
You know, Maclin
The answer is Maclin
Cellebrini against the interminable
Dross that is the Seattle Cracket
What has happened to the Spunkets?
It is absolutely abhorrent.
There's a couple of saloon doors for a team just whipping open with ease.
Macklin will score.
Anytime goal score a celebrini.
Sunday Hatrick Parley.
We will not talk about that's week, in fact.
It is actually the first time we have ever gotten a money line wrong on the hat truck parley.
So it shan't.
Fucking hell.
It shan't fucking hell.
It should be happening again.
Daniel.
The three I like.
They're all unders.
Interesting.
Sends at Bruins.
This is a dastardly weekend in Huck.
Yes, it is.
I actually cannot believe this.
Sends at Bruins, at Bruins, Leif's at Stars, Jets at Mammoth.
I like the Under and all of those.
Do any of those get your radar beeping?
Jets at Mammoth Under.
I'm intrigued by...
And I believe that's it.
Okay. Then the Jets or the mammoth, say you?
You know how I feel about betting against the Mammoth.
It does not go well.
But the Jets are quite difficult, although there are high chances that Connor Hellebuck will be starting in this game.
That's interesting.
So we'll take... Hellebuck Bump.
We'll take...
Oh no, Hellebunk drop.
It's Hellebuck on the road.
Hellenbock drop.
Something to consider.
Mammoth money line under.
Hold on, sir.
I've not made my decision.
Christ.
Now, do we like that?
Or do we like a different game?
That was the one that intrigued you.
I quite like Bruins.
I quite like Bruins money line.
Washington, Detroit, if I had a certainty that Logan Thompson was in,
In that I would love the under in that game.
And we don't know, but we could hope.
I love to hope.
We could hope because...
Caps at wings.
The caps, it's a double header.
So the first game will likely be Gibson Thompson.
So Sunday, I don't think we can touch it.
Because it could go over.
Chaos.
We certainly cannot.
So Jets mammoth, under...
Give me the money line.
Jets money line.
Yes, sir.
Hellebuck bump indeed.
Shifley or Kyle Carver?
Mark Shifely point.
First leg, Jets, money line.
Second leg under.
Third leg, Mark Shifley point.
Hattred Parlay.
That is hopefully
sharp, sharp action
because
neither team plays the day before.
And hopefully we'll be getting a fresh kind of Hillebuck.
Off an injury. Desperate to prove that he still be the starter for Team USA.
Now for the Live on the Beach Saturday, Mega Parley. Professor Feeney.
We will start with you, sir.
Flyers at Rags.
Gonna go Flyers with this one.
I love that pick.
Daniel, wings at caps.
For this first matchup, I will take the Capitals because of L.T.
Christopher, hocks at Sends.
Hox.
Fini, oil.
Sweet Lord.
A Cona Badardless hawks on the road.
They've been bumbling around.
They must get a win.
You're an absolute animal, sir.
Oilette Wild.
Is Watts' his face playing for Wild yet?
He is.
His face is there.
Quinnesota Wild.
All right.
All right.
I'll go for Wild then.
The producer of the top NHL podcast is What's his name.
Brilliant.
Quinnius
Quinnisota Wild
Yes
That was wild
Correct
Yeah wild
Daniel Isles at Sabers
I will take
The New York Islanders
Christopher Blues at Cats
Of course the blues are going to win
Because I say cats
Of course they're going to burn me again
Fienie Canucks at Bruins
At Bruins
Daniel Penns at Habs
I will take
The
Haps
Christopher Cains at Bolt
what's a game, Keynes, please.
Feeney Leafs at Preds.
You know, Chattee-T was a big Leafs fan.
Yeah.
But I'm going to have to do her dirty, go for Preds.
My goodness, he's staying with the Red Hot Preds.
Yes. Daniel Knights at Flames.
The Knights.
Christopher Jackets at Ducks.
Burn and Learn, gentlemen, ducks.
And Feeney Spunk at Sharks.
Sharks are my boys, but...
Yes, with a Macon goal.
But I might go spunk with it.
Fucking hell.
So a Maclin goal in the loss.
We have flyers, caps, hawks, wild, aisles, cats, Bruins, pens or habs?
Habs.
Habs. Cains.
Why can you never remember my pick?
Breds.
I don't listen to you.
You're fucking prick.
It's because I'm next and I begin thinking.
Sure, sure.
Breads, knights, ducks, spunk.
Incredible.
Now, the life on the line parley.
Yes, indeed.
I think perhaps maybe I rhyme and you.
you don't, which will create the four, the perfect four.
I think we need to push through because people quite like the rhymes.
And I like doing them.
All right.
Would you like to go first or something?
I shall go first this time.
For my first pick.
The city known as the hub will be chasing a dub when the lowly Canucks fly to mass.
A couple of wins since the day they lost Quinn, though this.
team is objectively ass. It's pasta and geek both on a hot streak, and between the pipes
they'll have sway, and sound the alarms. There's a surprise, lucky charm, as I will be in the
city that day. Bruins money line. Excellent, excellent. And for our second pick.
In Music City, things still don't look pretty, and Toronto has been on a rip.
Don't bet on the Leafs is a common belief, but now the time the scales start to tip.
Toad Rags, Maddie Nyes and Willie, no surprise, are all starting to find a nice groove.
And while the Preds have been good, don't be misunderstood.
There's a stink that simply cannot remove.
Leaves, Moniel.
Bruins, Leifes, the first two legs.
Leg number three.
Flies at Rags.
I hope you remember this, Daniel.
There's a nice little Easter egg at here for you.
Okay.
The Rangers and Cape Cod chips
both scream no MSG.
Do you remember that?
The Rangers and Cape Cod chips
both scream no MSG.
But the Flyers are suddenly hip
with Zegress on a scoring spree.
I will take the flyers.
in New York. And in leg number four, jackets at ducks. You burn and you learn and you chase the
split. And since the jackets just beat the quackers, the ducks and a win are a perfect fit,
even better than cheese and crackers.
Somehow, yours are both so much worse and. And, you're both so much worse. And
so much better than mine, and I think it's fucking bullshit.
Because I put in so much effort, and yours are ridiculous, but they're so fucking goods.
I hate it.
Bruins.
I hate it.
Bruins.
Leifes, ducks, flyers, life on the line, parley, please come home.
Please.
Please.
For Christmas.
Please.
Christ.
Well, is that it?
That's all.
That's it.
All right.
Folks, that is your segment of Professor's Palais.
take those picks to the bank, make some money, have some fun.
That is it for us this week at the Empty Nezzas podcast, signing off as the professors for the first time.
We love you all. Keep watching the show with us.
Subscribe to the YouTube, buy some merch, follow us on all the socials.
And we will see you next week.
And until then, in the most British way possible.
Skate, uh, light, light, lease.
What does he say?
Skate, skate hard.
Skate hard.
Thank you.
