Empty Netters Podcast - Empty Netters: Puckline News | EP.1

Episode Date: April 23, 2025

The boys go live for their first episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices...

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:01 Welcome to the first empty netters puck line news live show brought to you by BetMGM. We're here in our bar studio doing our Monday, Wednesday, Friday live show. It is Wednesday right now. We had four games last night. We are not going to waste any time. We are in the middle of the Stanley Cup playoffs. Things are out of control. Spicy and hot.
Starting point is 00:00:25 We're starting off with the Devils Canes series where the Carolina Hurricanes, are shutting up all the haters and they are up 2 in the series big come from behind win how do you feel about the fact that Carolina is up to OCP? Well, I think I said four, literally.
Starting point is 00:00:45 I think you said sweep two. I think I said five. And then we're not. I was kind of unraveled in those picks because it's hard to sweep in the NHL. I was picking, dude, I was chimney sweeping that entire preview episode run.
Starting point is 00:00:58 That was insane. So I'm not surprised they're up to They were, I think, like, the second or third best home team in the league. You know what I mean? They protect home ice so well. They have 31 wins. Like, they were a tremendous home team. So I'm not surprised.
Starting point is 00:01:13 After game one, I think I even sat on the pod yesterday. I was like, this series is hova. Dude, this is done. Yeah. But credit to the devils for the first five, ten minutes of that game. Like, I thought they were everywhere for the first few minutes. They were totally everywhere. They got on the board first.
Starting point is 00:01:30 they hit a post. This Devils team is playing hard. And I think the craziest thing about this series is, I mean, you look at it, they both have two of the best penalty kills in the league, right? It means they're good defensive teams. I think Keynes are one for six on the people. Devils are 0 for five. It means that these teams are sticking to that good defensive play.
Starting point is 00:01:50 We saw Freddie Anderson steal a game. Dude, that's been a huge thing, dude. People are saying, is Freddie Anderson good enough to win this team a cup? That was absolutely a steal. They went down, Freddie Anderson, shut the door after that. But what's fucked is Markstrom is good too in this. Like, I feel, what was it? That was like 44 shots in game one?
Starting point is 00:02:09 I think he made 41 saves in game one. So it's just, you know, you've got two goalies playing really well. And this is one of those things to flip the script. Remember last year or two years ago, whatever it was, when Brindemore was like, that wasn't a sweep in my mind. And they got swept. And they're all those close games. This might be a situation where Carolina sweeps the devils
Starting point is 00:02:28 or wins in five, and the devils just play really well in every single game like this. Dude, and then what do you do if Keith gives that interview? Like, what is, what does Rod the bod do? If Keith goes, that wasn't a sweep. Does Rod come into the post game and shake? He goes, dude, now you understand, you get it.
Starting point is 00:02:44 Yes. Now you get it. And if Keith has any hair on his shriveled up beanbag, he will go, to quote Rod Brindleman. That didn't feel like a sweep. Like you have to, you have to poke it right in the nose. Oh, dude. But yeah, this is one of those.
Starting point is 00:02:58 things we talked about the devil's man you know you lose jack hughes in game one you lose luke hues it just it's a tall tall mountain decline and you're playing this great carolina team we talked about it on the podcast that came out yesterday i think this carolina hurricanes team is pissed off i think that they heard all the chatter about the rant and saga people doubting their goaltending people talking about how they can't get past the conference finals blah blah blah blah blah blah and i that they're pissed and it's it's it's very impressive when you see a game like last night where they go down you have a chance to go up to oh on home ice and they do they get the job done and you get that two nasty goals oh my god dude two nasty goals they tie it up then martinook
Starting point is 00:03:47 on the on the pk yeah the absolute shorty shorty snipe stew oh my gosh so i think the canes if you're a Keynes fan, obviously it's round one in a series that people picked you to win. These games are going well. These are the games that you feel good about. Here's my question, dude, because watching that game last night, and I want to say this too, the third period of that game was awesome. That was an awesome. This is the series, this is the first round series that I was excited for the least because I picked the sweep.
Starting point is 00:04:20 And when there's a lot of games on, I'm usually like, that's not the one I'm putting on. Yeah. And I was glued to the TV for that third period. Both goalies standing on their heads, I thought it was just back and forth, electric hockey. Because the devils, like you said, they give up that shorty, and you're like, God damn it, dude. Like, now we're going to lose, and this sucks. And they pushed back and were right in it and had a ton of chances to tie it. Carolina was pushing hard to.
Starting point is 00:04:46 Here's my question for you, because I expected this from Markstrom. This is why they got him. Freddie Anderson was doing that thing last night that he does sometimes, where I go, I go like this, they could win it. They could win it all if this is the guy they're getting. And then to me, he runs out of steam. I thought he was not good in the Rangers series. I think that is a, you're not pointing fingers too much at a specific player,
Starting point is 00:05:16 but yeah, I think he was subpar in the Rangers series last year. So I'm looking up his playoff stats right here. because I don't want to dog the guy. Yeah. You know, because sometimes you just forget. Not last year, two years ago, played nine games in the playoffs. 927, say percentage, 183 goals against. That's actually tremendous.
Starting point is 00:05:34 Fantastic. Last year, which in my memory was not good, 10 games played 895-262. Like you always say, below 9 in playoffs is not really going to cut it, but 262 isn't horrible. No, not at all. So far this year, 9601 goals against, which is obviously great, but massively small sample size.
Starting point is 00:05:53 He only played, because he's had so much injury issues, 22 games this season. Normally I'm like he's going to run out of steam. Maybe he's fresh. Is he fresh as lettuce? Maybe he's fresh. Because that would be such a game changer for me because I've always felt like that I talked about this with the Kings too
Starting point is 00:06:10 where I'm like, you didn't solve your goalie problem. You didn't solve it. And then they were like, yeah, we did with Kemper. And I was like, wait, maybe they did. And then maybe they didn't after game one. But here I'm like, Carolina, you didn't solve your goalie problem. And they're like, maybe solving the goalie problem was just get him fresh. Let Freddy go to sleep a little bit.
Starting point is 00:06:24 Take some time. Him coming back from his crazy health issues. What a great story. You love to see the fact that he's healthy playing right now playing well. Yeah. I wonder if this series, no disrespect to the devils, is not enough of a test to see if we are getting fresh, Freddie. You know, because, hey, you lose Jack Hughes.
Starting point is 00:06:45 You lose Luke Hughes. That's tough. You're not really getting. maybe the best firepower that you're expecting in these playoffs. But I will tell you, it's like I said at the top, Freddie Anderson stole a game. And that's what you need. Cains have been saying for a long time,
Starting point is 00:07:01 Caints fans have been saying for a long time, ultimately, Freddie Anderson is a very good NHL goaltender. That is, I don't think that's debatable. He is a very good NHL goaltender. But we have asked ourselves the question, is he good enough to steal you playoff games to take you to a Stanley Cup? He probably hasn't been yet.
Starting point is 00:07:23 Yeah. But like you said, we've got fresh Freddie now. It's weird, dude. Because how old is he now? He's 35. Is he that old? Yeah, 35. Because, dude, he is, his, I give him credit, dude, because he, it was a tough job in
Starting point is 00:07:37 Toronto, but he has a high ceiling. Oh, yeah. When he's going, going, I'm like, oh, dude, Frady's sick. We've seen it many, many times. You're playing against the guy, and all of a sudden, you're just like, Jesus Christ, nothing is getting past this son of a bitch. What is going on here? So that's what the canes need.
Starting point is 00:07:53 And I mean, listen, through two games, you're up to O, this is exactly what you wanted if you're the Hurricanes. You're playing your game. You've got two wins. Now you go in all the pressure on the devils, and your goalie is playing fantastic. What did you think, despite the fact that it single-handedly won us an empty netter, what did you think about that, Timo, Wiff?
Starting point is 00:08:15 I mean, bouncing puck. Bouncing puck. Bouncing puck. I'm not going to. to call that a whiff. I mean, a whiff is you have a, you know, Michelin Star Service on a platter right in front of you and maybe you're not ready for it. You whiff it. You miss it on the heel. That's a bouncing puck. I'm not going to call that a whip. But it did that suck to see. It just is, you're a devil's man. You're like, fuck. Yeah. And you just, you get that one of those
Starting point is 00:08:42 hard to go to bed ones when you're Timo. You know, that night you get back and you're like, sorry. And everyone's like, dude, not your fault. But you're just like, what kind of was? kind of was. Before we move on to the next series, let's go to the chat. Let's see what people are talking about with the Cain's Devil Series. C.P.
Starting point is 00:08:55 You see any questions about this series in particular? Honestly, people are firing about bolts. Yeah, no shit. Y'all are chat. We'll get to it. We'll get to it. If we have any Keynes, Devil's questions, we can hit him.
Starting point is 00:09:08 But if not, we can move right on. I think we'll move on if you talk about it. But I will say going into, I just wanted to bring this up, going into the next. And I still think it's a sweep, dude. Like I am like, but I'm kind of like this.
Starting point is 00:09:18 Devils, you have my respect. You have my respect because you're not rolling over and letting them rub your belly, but I still think you're going to get swept. I will say, though, I talked about how good the canes were at home, 16, 21, and 4 away. So they weren't that good on the road this year.
Starting point is 00:09:34 The devils, though, only 19, 17, and 5 at home, and they haven't been good at home for years. Remember we would always look this up, even two years ago when they were, like, winning the MET. I was like, the devils are 500 at home. Yeah, it's very strange. So they don't play that well at the prue, which hurts,
Starting point is 00:09:48 him in that going on the road. So we'll see game three, obviously, that's the one you got to take. If you're Jersey and you want to make this interesting at all. Because if it was game three, I think they probably do roll over. Yeah, I don't even think they do in that. I'm sticking with five. I think the devils are going to get a game here, one of these games at home. But ultimately, I love the canes. I love the way that they look. I think they've got it. Going to the next series, probably the biggest roller coaster game for me so far these playoffs, even with that in St. King's game.
Starting point is 00:10:19 Yeah. Leifes sends. Leifes go up 2-0 in the series with an O.T win. Max Domey, ziggin and zagging through the slot, gets the win for the Leafs. I thought the Sands were dead in the first period of this game.
Starting point is 00:10:32 Dude, I... So chat, let's get going. We're talking Leafs Sends right now. The, at the beginning of that, we talked about yesterday how the Toronto played a damn near perfect game won. And they should feel great about it, which they do.
Starting point is 00:10:46 Yeah. Coming into this game, we both said if the Sends lose, you never want to be down 2-0, but if the Sends lose and they just, but they give them a back and forth fight and you show you can beat them, there may be, maybe okay with a 2-0. Dude, this game starts and in Omerch's defense, Holmberg had a partial breakaway early that he stopped. He did. And literally like a minute in, that would have been like, oh God.
Starting point is 00:11:15 He did. But, dude, right after that, Marlon, he did. or hits the post on a gaping net. I'm like, that should have gone. And then they get two to go in on their first four shots of the game, and the place is going bat shit. And I'm like, oh, dude, they are about to win 8-0 and the cup, and Olmark is yanked.
Starting point is 00:11:34 And the senators are going to wave the white flag, not even play in front of their home crowd because it would be too embarrassing, and then remove themselves from playoff, give themselves a one-year suspension from playoffs for next year, and then they'll regroup in two years. That's how I felt five minutes. That's how it looked. Riley got the first goal, I believe, was that right?
Starting point is 00:11:51 Riley gets on the board, then they get the peeper, and toe drags, throws one in front to nyes. I think it was 20 seconds into the power play. Yep. But that is when I tweeted out something like, I was like, I think the sends are dead. I mean, they might be cooked. Yeah, well, I was just going to say,
Starting point is 00:12:10 because the Riley one hit his skate. It's one of those like, dude, I never know about that one. They're like, no kicking motion, but I'm like, you're stopping with your skate. And I'm not even saying, like, Riley's cheating. He kicked it in. I'm saying I would have done that. But I'm just like, isn't that a kicking motion?
Starting point is 00:12:24 It's so tough. But anyway, he off his skate and then the Tavares one and Nye's one is like off Omerk, off a body back in. So it's one of those things where if you're Ottawa, a fan or Omark himself, it's not like you're just giving up softies. You're like, I just fucking hit someone, you know? But it's like, but it's in the net, dude. And we're down again.
Starting point is 00:12:42 That's what I was going to say. It's in the net. and you are now, again, it's the, when you get scored on in 30 seconds on a power play, I am like, oh, we're so fucking. Yeah. It's like going back to Four Nations. It's like when Canada scored instantly against Sweden on that first game, they get a power play, boom, goal. You just feel like you are so underwater if you are the defending team getting scored on that fast.
Starting point is 00:13:06 And yeah, you're now down to nothing in the game immediately in the first period. And I was like, Jesus Christ, this team is so fucking dead. It's unbelievable. And dude, I think they were the power play. You talked about just scoring quickly on the power play. I think the Leafs in this game, yeah, that was one for one on the power play. And they scored three power play goals the night before. You know, you're like, Jesus Christ, dude.
Starting point is 00:13:26 Like you cannot be giving up power. It's like Kingselers last year. When every time they go in the power play, you're like, here's a goal. That cannot be your mentality. And that's how it's feeling. For sure. And I think the problem. So credit to the sense.
Starting point is 00:13:39 You tie this game up, sure. to me that first game we talked about it on the podcast Sends looked so undisciplined in game one I mean they were just kind of buzzing all around the ice taking shitty penalties playing ugly not playing their game at all this game you go down to nothing you tie it up and you take the OT that's amazing
Starting point is 00:14:00 to do that at the Scotia Bank too that's great I still don't think they're playing their game at all oh interesting they're exciting high-flying offense that got them into playoffs even with such a bad goal diff. That is what got them into playoffs. They aren't doing that at all. They get two goals on tips, skates, Brady's first playoff goals, pretty ugly,
Starting point is 00:14:20 but whatever, you're on the board. That's good. But they're just not getting that play from Brady, from Stutzla, from Pinto, like these exciting offensive players that have seen them beat teams in crucial games to make sure they get in the playoffs. They're not doing that here. And no disrespect to Toronto. I just don't think this is.
Starting point is 00:14:40 is this like suffocating crazy defensive team that is going to completely muffle Ottawa. They've made a lot of additions on defense. They invested in goaltending. They invested in D. They're much better Toronto. That's great. But Ottawa is, I don't want to say playing scared, but they definitely don't look like a team that had that young,
Starting point is 00:15:00 dumb confidence in the last half of the season. So I am kind of sitting here being like, what are you guys going to wake up? But maybe this is it. maybe that tie up, get it to OT, put a little bit of pressure on Toronto. Like, imagine if Ottawa gets that OT win and now you're heading into Ottawa, tie one, Toronto fans will be losing their fucking minds. So if you are Ottawa, you have to have that mentality of like, guys, we're coming home.
Starting point is 00:15:23 Two wins. All of a sudden, this is tied in. They're sweating down their leg. That's what you need. I'm with you, and it's so tough. I even wrote down, I started to write, I'm actually fine if I'm Ottawa. Like, you feel pretty good about that pushback. But O2 is O2 and O2 sucks.
Starting point is 00:15:38 It's so funny because you're like, I just want it. A split would be amazing. But if you don't get a split, it's the worst, it's nightmare. And I'm like, well, it's not nightmare. You just have to fucking win at home now. And let me tell you this, little feather in the cap for Toronto fans. This is the first time the Maple Leafs have been up to O in a playoff series since 2002 against the New York Islanders. Wow.
Starting point is 00:15:58 Like, I hope they won that series. Things are different. Yeah. It's everyone keeps talking about the, our year, our year, Leafs year, all the signs, all the things. We've got those references to 1967. Last time, what was it? Bruins and Red Wings missed the playoffs. Yep.
Starting point is 00:16:14 Was 1967, Lees to win the Cup. Like, there are just things that are happening that are big for this team. And here we are up to, oh, first time in over 20 years. I will say that even though the part of me would rather see you start pumping some by Stolar's good goals if you're Ottawa. because both of them was like a tip that he couldn't do anything about and Brady's like hit a skate right but sometimes that's what it takes
Starting point is 00:16:44 where you're just like just get them past them just get them past them and starts going in the net a little bit I will say though dude the Ottawa and consolation prizes don't mean shit in the playoffs but I said after game one there were long stretches of that game where I thought Ottawa was the better team and going down 2-0
Starting point is 00:17:01 early the way you did dude that could have spiraled horribly horrible and the fact that Ottawa came back. I think they, I think they played so well. And Olmark, by the way, dude, I forget, I wrote it down how much time was left. There was like three minutes left in regulation. He made that great save on Maddie Nyes. That those are the confidence saves for him. And he's like, dude, yeah, I gave up too early. And everyone started saying, I suck and everyone's chanting my name. But those were both hit off someone's knee and skate. And then I shut the
Starting point is 00:17:34 door the rest of the time until Domey went bar in O.T from nude in the slot. Yeah. You know what I mean? So I actually think there was a lot of confidence build in that Ottawa team from 10 minutes in the first till the O T goal went in. Yeah. Because you beat them 2-0 in that stretch and and, you know, you give or a 2-1, I guess. And then it's a, it's a good O T goal anyway.
Starting point is 00:17:54 So it is bad as being down 2-0 is, I think they probably feel much better than the devil's. Much better. You know, you're like, we can protect home ice and do this. And this is kind of a stupid point, but obviously much better than they did in the first period. Yeah. Like, yeah, dude. They're in that first period like, oh, my God, are we going to get swept?
Starting point is 00:18:15 And now I think if you're Ottawa, you definitely do have to have some blind confidence of like, look at that. We took them to OT. We're fine. Before we get to the chat, how do you feel about Omar? Has had bad playoff performances? He is never in his life in the playoffs been over 900, say, percentage. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:18:33 Now here he is through two games. He's the guy here in Ottawa was unbelievable against the Leafs all regular season, had a great season. He now has an 800 save percentage and a 4-3-9 goals against. Absolutely horrible. Are you sweating at all, or do you think after those first two unlucky bounces, he kind of figured it out, shut the door. Obviously, Domi gets that one in O-T, but do you feel a little bit better? Or are you like, dude, this is not it? I feel, I'm kind of in between, Dan.
Starting point is 00:19:02 I feel better because I do think he played great for 50 minutes or whatever. Yeah. But I am, I know he has ability and I feel better because I think that was a bit of a confidence build. The rest is shutting the door the rest of the way there. But I'm still worried because I just think it's still on a knife's edge. Like his whole confidence, his whole game. I don't think something unlocked last night. I think he goes, I feel better.
Starting point is 00:19:29 I feel better. And then if the first two shots go in game three, he's like, I don't feel better. This is a nightmare. You know, like he didn't create the monster that's in him. I still think it could swing back so hard the other way. Yeah, I think my final thought on that is he needs a huge game three. I mean, even if Ottawa wins game three, if they win five, four, I don't feel good.
Starting point is 00:19:47 I need a one goal against performance from him in game three. Yeah. Dude, yeah, that's right. Hit it to the chat. Okay, a couple things in the chat here, Dan. people pumped about Stalars. Oh, what's your take on the Brady sucks chant? Shout out who it is.
Starting point is 00:20:04 Okay, this is from Casey Mack. Take on the Brady sucks chant. I love it. I love it. It's shithousery. It's the same thing as, I don't know, if people saw Ridley Greg's stick. I think it was Ridley Greg's stick,
Starting point is 00:20:16 went into the Toronto bench. Matthews took it and snapped it over the boards. It's playoff hockey, baby. All shithousery is acceptable. This is why I love European football. It's like, I want the fans to be the sixth man, right? I want you guys in it as much as possible. That's their captain.
Starting point is 00:20:37 That's their energy guy, their best player. Absolutely, motherfucker him all game. Brady loves it, I'm sure. I don't think it's personal. I think that they're targeting their best player and they're getting a Brady sex jam. And keep in mind, this is a Canadian barn. Brady was huge for Team USA. I mean, like, there's a lot of backstory to that.
Starting point is 00:20:56 But yeah, I love it. Just like I love Austin snapping the stick on the bench. Yeah, yeah. Jack Sherwood says he was, the boys are feeling gritty after that stick snap. Oh, I think at first I was like, dude, you can't be doing this. You can't be doing the Brady Sucks chant just because you're Canadians and you're mad about four nations. But then I was like, well, you are, you are rivals. Yeah, you can't.
Starting point is 00:21:15 And that's the best player. But then I was like, actually, that might be the one person I wouldn't want to fire up. Oh, yeah, don't wake him up. Yeah. Like, dude, just. Do I love it? I would be like this. Brady, great job.
Starting point is 00:21:25 You're doing great. You're doing great. You trick them. You know, get in his head, kill him with kindness. Yeah, it's like when you're being
Starting point is 00:21:31 really nice to someone you know you're going to beat. Yeah. You know, it's like, you're playing in a game and you're like, someone gets a goal and you
Starting point is 00:21:36 like give him a stick tap on the shins. You know like, dude, sick talk. And they're like, fuck you, you just compliment me. Is that how badly you're going to beat me?
Starting point is 00:21:43 Maybe do the reverse psychology. Yep. Reverse side. So yeah, be careful. Be careful. Sense fans are going to be giving it to them right back, though. Okay, I saw a good one here.
Starting point is 00:21:51 Let me see if I can find it because everything moves, but someone asked, does how far the Leafs go impact Marners? Love this question. Love this question. It might be too early for this because you always wonder if you win, you want to run it back, right? You want to come right back. But then you see stuff like Brandon Montor, for example.
Starting point is 00:22:11 The Cats win the Cup, Montor leaves to Seattle. I think ultimately at the end of the day, like it is a business. You need to figure out how the cap works. Does Toronto have the space? Are they going to invest another eight years in Marner? Because that's certainly what he's asking for. Yeah. We just saw him get 100 points.
Starting point is 00:22:29 Like this dude is going to ask for big money, more than Nylander, maybe as much as, or if not more than Matthews. That's what you should be asking if you're his agent. So those are the things that are like, it might not be up to if Marner just wants to stay. But could I see if they, they win a cup, could I see Martin going, I'll take a pay cut? Yes. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:22:48 That's his home. He does love it there. He loves it there. He loves Willie. He loves Austin. I do think so. Yeah. I think if they win a cup, it definitely changes things.
Starting point is 00:22:58 That's it, though. I think if they make it to round two or the conference finals and then lose, doesn't change a thing. The chips will fall how they fall. But if they win a cup, I think it's a cup or bust. Cup or bust for him. Cup or bust. Okay. I like that.
Starting point is 00:23:11 Let's see Some people in the chat saying Sends are going to even this thing up And I actually love that So that'd be cool I love that too And I will say it's taking that to OT Change that's why I said it was a roller coaster
Starting point is 00:23:22 Yep Because taking it to AT OT completely changes my mind As far as how is Ottawa feeling Going into Game 3 If they had got shit pumped 4 nothing Yep
Starting point is 00:23:33 5 1 I think that they would be like Jesus we are outclassed in this series But now you're going home You got a great fan base there that barn's going to be buzzing. Yeah, they could. Yep. Since Jacob's comments, send stronger home team. So I think it will be interesting to get in there. I just saw a hilarious one. God, this moves so fast. I saw a hilarious one that said,
Starting point is 00:23:53 thanks for going live, boys. It's late enough on the East Coast. Might have a beer. And that fires me up. Hey, after that comment, if you don't have that beer, that fires me up, dude. That fires me up a lot. Okay. Shall we move on to the Battle of Florida? Okay. Yeah, all right, chat. Here we go. Chat. That's firing about Florida. Chat, you're horny for the Battle of Florida, and here we are. The most anticipated series in the Eastern Conference, in my opinion. Oh, dude, not only is it is easily the most anticipated series in the Eastern Conference,
Starting point is 00:24:21 and I actually think this was the most anticipated series. I thought that was a beer. I was like, yes, dude. That is actually the most anticipated series for me because Dallas, Colorado, which I think are two incredible teams, just with some of the injuries, it lost a little juice from me at the beginning. And I think maybe it's because this one took so long to start. I was just like, feed me this game.
Starting point is 00:24:43 Absolutely added to it. Feed me this game. Dude, both of us... Can I do something real quick? I'm sorry. Yeah. I feel like a fucking idiot. Dude. It's... Listen, far from over. I don't
Starting point is 00:25:06 think... I have so much to say about Tampa. But we talked about it. I think we both picked Tampa in seven. Yes. And in our preview, I was like, Florida fans, don't jump all over for this. You guys are nasty. I'm worried about your health. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:25:22 That was my only thing. Tons of people sleeping on the Panthers. Shout out Johnny Laz tweeted last night. He was like, I slept on the, oh yeah, I said Panthers. Yep. Las tweeted, he was like, I slept on Florida. Sorry. A lot of people were doing that.
Starting point is 00:25:37 Tampa got so hot at the end of the year. Florida was so bent. banged up. We were not sleeping on them, but I was worried about them, and they just shoved it up my hoop. They're totally fine. Bob looks like goly Bob again. And that was a shit kicking. On enemy territory. Dude, it's a, we said Toronto, a dream first game one. Yeah. Kings were on the precipice of a dream game one. Yep. Those game ones are a clown show compared to the game one that the Florida Panthers gifted themselves and their fans. My goodness.
Starting point is 00:26:12 Dude, what's, I can't, I've been trying to figure out the funnier movie reference. It's something between, um, that there will be blood. I've abandoned my boy, like watching myself watch that Panthers game.
Starting point is 00:26:24 And then after I'm talking so much shit about them and being like, they're dead, like Tampa, Tampa, Tampa, Tampa, Tampa. And then they're like, go, go, go, and I was like, oh, dude,
Starting point is 00:26:32 I've abandoned my child, dude. And then also the, um, I think it's Cinderella man. When they're like, go fight this guy. He's been sitting on his couch all for three years. And he's like, what kind of couch is that, dude? Because he looks fucking fine and jacked. I think that's the
Starting point is 00:26:46 fighter. Is it the fighter? Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah, that's the fighter. So, dude, I was flabbergasted by the start. Man, I, there's a few things. Shout out to the Netters fans who were sliding into our DMs, all of the cats fans who were, I will chirp you a little bit, who were a little bit worried at the end of the season. They were like, damn, what's going on? And, dude, that cockiness just came back like an absolute freight train. And they were like, cats in five, dude, going right back. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:27:16 Repeat coming. And I get it because that was the cat's team that won the cup. Dude, you got Schmidt with two goals. Yep. Maddie Kachuk with two goals. And it looked like that just pestering Florida Panthers team that won a Stanley Cup that people thought could repeat. And here we are. I can't believe, not how well the Panthers were, how bad Tampa was.
Starting point is 00:27:42 Okay, okay. That was a laydown that I did not expect. And I know you have some things that happened that you want to bring up. And here's the thing. People forget. Very quick goal. First five minutes, goal by Florida. But then Tampa gets on the power play.
Starting point is 00:27:58 Gensel, great little hands by the way to talk that inside the post. But they tie it up. And I was like, okay, all right, like, who, everyone breathe. but man after that even with and i want to kick it to you and let you get into the the coaches challenge situation they were just that was as bad of a game as i've seen tampa play in three months okay you're right all said and done and those are the facts so you're right but i just want to say the bennett goal well definitely is you know sucks the life at you a little bit was a mid-air bad in you know so you're like whatever and it's an early goal but it's like okay and yeah does your
Starting point is 00:28:35 butthole tighten a little bit because you're like, here are the Panthers and they look healthy. But I actually thought both teams really settled in after that. And it was a good game. These were always going to be good games. We said Tampa, but I was like Florida's the defending champs for a reason. They've been to two straight cups.
Starting point is 00:28:50 I thought both teams settled in after that. And on the power play, while it started to scare me how good Bob looked, because how many times have we said, Bob's been leaky this year, but does he have another gear, which he was, but does he have another gear in playoffs? We'll see.
Starting point is 00:29:03 It looked like it last night. but he made two great saves, I think on Hegel first and then against one timer on that powerplay. Yeah, Hagle gets that dish standing in front of the net. And good move. Yeah, a little shake and bake,
Starting point is 00:29:14 tries to tuck it under the blocker. But yeah. So you're like, oh, shit, oh shit. But then Gensel, same powerplay, Gensel quick hands tie. And I'm like, okay, you're going to go into this period, one, one, and no blood. And you actually feel good if you're Tampa
Starting point is 00:29:27 because you go, well, they came out hot and we weathered it, and now we're fine. And then you get that Reiner tip with 30, 40 seconds left in the first period. Sucks giving up goals that late in the period and really changes your attitude in the room. But again, just like a tip-in goal, whatever. This is where it, so I guess my larger point there is
Starting point is 00:29:48 I didn't think they played badly Tampa, even through the first down to one. I was like, this is a fine. This is a fine first period and you're going to be okay. Start the third. I wrote down how quick it was. I think it was like five minutes in. they get the Schmidt goal.
Starting point is 00:30:04 And it's like a kind of a turnover, but it's just a heavy forecheck from Florida. Turnover, Marci, Rip, save, squirts, lose, Schmidt, crashing back to our goal. That challenge to me was so insane by Cooper, who's a coach I could not respect more. It was so insane to me for two reasons. One and less importantly,
Starting point is 00:30:27 that didn't look like goalie interference to me at all. And in fact, there are several times during the NHL season where I'm positive at goal interference and they still don't give it goal interference. Yep. So that one, I was like, you're definitely not getting this one, dude. Nothing happened. So that was just an insane challenge from that regard.
Starting point is 00:30:43 But more importantly, dude, it reeked of panic to me where I was like, are you worried about being down 3-1 with 15 plus minutes left in the second period? Like who gives a fuck if that goes in? Just score two more goals and beat them. Like if there was five minutes left in the game, yes, challenge. Because it's like, who, you know, I don't want to have. I have to get to.
Starting point is 00:31:02 This, there's an eternity left. Who fucking cares? Dude, you're buzzing. I completely agree. Completely agree. I hated the challenge. Watching it, there were Tampa fans texting me who were like, that. Why are we challenging this?
Starting point is 00:31:18 This is not goal of interference. I hated the challenge. And yeah, I wouldn't maybe call it fear, but it did feel like a challenge where you're grasping at straws. You're looking for something to help your team. momentum. I didn't like it at all. You didn't need it. And obviously, as you said, a result, boom, you're now in a deeper hole. And it just looked like it was out of control.
Starting point is 00:31:41 A lot of people saying desperate challenge in the chat right now. Yeah, there you go. Good, call chat. Like it was desperate. It felt like you were just like, oh, we need something here. And that just wasn't it. Like, you're fine. You're down 3-1. It's telling me, this team can't get two goals, tie this up. And you go in that hole. And then to me, it was the the Kachuk's second goal. I think that that made it 5-1. Yeah, because he scored on the power play. After the challenge, he scores on the power play 4-1. And then Tampa takes another penalty,
Starting point is 00:32:07 and Kachuk gets another power play goal and makes it 5-1. The 5-1 goal, you saw Kachuk's Selly. He just kind of did like a, that was when I was like, oh, dude, I mean, obviously, it's 5-1. But that felt, to me, you see that body language and that energy from Florida. They're like, we are absolutely fisting this team. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:32:25 And, you know, I loved the energy from Pointer. When he gets his nice goal, 5-2, he's kind of trying to pump up the boys. Great pass from McDonough. You mentioned earlier the forecheck. Yeah. I couldn't believe. When I'm talking about,
Starting point is 00:32:39 I think it was a poor game from Tampa. The way the Florida Panthers forwards were getting behind Tampa's defense all fucking night long was shocking to me. I thought we got another unbelievable season from Hedman. You've got McDonough on this team. I was like, this is a really solid D. And I think that they're going to bounce
Starting point is 00:32:59 back. Absolutely I do. But I just thought they were smothered by Florida's forecheck. I thought on the power play guys were getting down low below the hash marks, banging in these goals. And it was just a really tilted performance. And Florida won it. Yep. Now, I also don't think there's any world where we're going to see Vassie led in six goals again. And I love how we know Vassie's famous for this. He never likes getting yanked. When he's getting shit pumped like this, he's like, keep me in, dude. I want to want to see all the shots. So, yes, I love the cockiness from Florida fans.
Starting point is 00:33:35 I love the confidence from the Florida players. But to me, I think this was a kick in the teeth. You got the stallion kicked you in the mouth, and now you know not to fucking mess around his tail. And I think Tampa right now is in that locker room. They're going, all right, dude, we're on home ice. That was bad. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:33:55 But, like, just shake it off. Everyone relax. I think game two is going to be a much different story. And if it's not, I will eat crow. And I'll be like, oh boy. Like this is just the Florida scene from last year. And we thought things changed. We thought maybe they were a little banged up.
Starting point is 00:34:11 But they're not. Yep. I think game two is going to be much, much different. Now, if I'm wrong about that or right about that, it's going to be incredibly telling. I think game two is going to change perspectives one side of the other in a big, big way. Okay. a few things to respond to there. Vassi agree.
Starting point is 00:34:30 A lot of people saying Vassi was brutal, shocking Vassi performance, which we agree with. I think I wrote down through two periods. The Panthers had 13 shots and it scored five goals against Vasileski. That is not something that happens or can happen. But he is the type of sicko, as you said, that wants that. He wants to see them all go by him because he's just using it as fuel for the next game. And also wants to see the shots. How are they beating me? Where are they shooting
Starting point is 00:35:00 from? Absolutely. And it, I'm trying to think back to all of them. It's like the tip, the mid-air, the tip, the rebound, the kachuk one, like hit something, you know, like, I'm not trying to make excuses for him, but there's just, it's not like he's just getting beat on clean risters from the point that he could see. So I think
Starting point is 00:35:16 he's going, I'm unaffected by, I'm unaffected and unfazed by that performance. Game two, you said we'll be telling if the panthers win game two i i am like waving the flag on my on my tampa deep playoff run that i have called and you have called um because i'm just too terrified they're great at home like i just don't think you can lose two games in tampa to this team who is now healthy and and ready to go um the stats i know it can happen but like
Starting point is 00:35:54 it's an overwhelming, like if you win the first two games on the road, you win the series. So to me, going into this game, it is damn near as must win as you can get this early in the playoffs. Yeah. If you're at the Tampa Bay Lightning. If they win, Dan, I am barely like this is, everything's back to what I thought it was going to be. I guess I always thought seven, but if they win a close one, I'm like, you're in the battle
Starting point is 00:36:18 of your life still. I guess if they pump the Panthers, we can have a conversation. but if they beat the Panthers 3-2 in game two, I'm going to be like, dude. See, I disagree because I don't think Home Ice means shit in this series. Yeah. I think we're in the Battle of Florida, dude. Now, I say that as someone who loves both of these fan bases and arenas. Yep.
Starting point is 00:36:39 But we have a lot of Panthers fan friends who are texting us from the game. Yeah, yeah. They were at Amel. And I'm like, okay, this doesn't matter. It's like you're, what is that drive? Like three hours? I don't even know what it is. but these places are close.
Starting point is 00:36:55 I could see so easily Florida going up to O here and then Tampa going to sunrise and tying it to 2-2. Yep. I could absolutely see that. This is now, and I suppose the one thing that could happen in this next game that would absolutely flip the script for me is if Florida beats the piss out of them.
Starting point is 00:37:16 If they score five goals on Vassie again. If they get five plus goals on Vassi again in a comfortable easy win, then I'm like, oh, you are dead. But if Florida wins any other way, I'm like, I will never count out this Tampa team. A lot of people, someone in our DM said something like, people think this Tampa team is the team from four years ago. They're wrong. I completely disagree with that sentiment. This is a completely different team and they're nasty.
Starting point is 00:37:41 So I think Tampa's going to wake up and game two, like I said, he's going to be very telling one way or the other. And I'm, I'm pumped. I can't believe this is the result of game one, but it's made me as pumped. for game two as I was for game one. Yeah, oh, for sure. A lot of people saying, Eckblad back. That's a good call.
Starting point is 00:38:00 Eckblad back game three. Well, that's what they're saying. Game two, you've got to win, game two. Because now you get Eckleback, which I actually don't think is like as much of a game breaker as like Romero getting Cal McCar back. And poor Eckblad, God, he's such a good player, but he is also, I mean, it's a lot of hockey on those legs.
Starting point is 00:38:16 Yep. He's banged up. Here's one thing I have been considering in my brain about the Panthers. I have said, and even if they win this series, I have said, and even if they win this series, I still kind of think, I said to you on one of the preview apps, I don't think the Panthers have enough energy to go on a four series cup run, but they certainly have enough energy to win around. But now I'm even questioning that, because maybe it was, maybe it's the Freddie Anderson thing where I'm like, well, they just shut everyone down. I've been rested.
Starting point is 00:38:41 They shut everyone down after four nations. And now they're like, now we're ready to go. So that's actually very rattling. A lot of people mad at Cooch in this chat, Cooch a passenger, Kooch was an All-Star weekend mode. Ooh. Saying in game one. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I'm going to side with the chat here. I agree.
Starting point is 00:38:58 That's kind of what I was saying. I was shocked at how poor the lightning were. And I keep thinking to myself, you just got caught sleeping maybe. You know, you're at home. You're feeling pretty good about the end of the season. But don't forget, they got tallywacked by the Rangers. And I know some people were shut down, but like Kooch was playing in the game. I think they lost.
Starting point is 00:39:19 for nothing. So, you know, the last game of the season wasn't that great. So maybe they were a little sleepy, dude. You got to brush out the cobwebs, got some eye-buggies in the corner of your eyes there, and you need to wake the hell up. But I don't disagree with the chat. I thought Kooch was after that first period. I thought he was coasting. Okay, yeah, interesting. Yeah, the lightning, because some people of Panthers are saying the Panthers didn't even play that well, the lightning were just that bad. I think that is wrong. I think that's classic you're trying to make, you're trying to flip the script because Boltz fans right now are going like because we didn't play well dude. Yeah, yeah. Neither did we. Yeah, right. Yeah. You scored six goals,
Starting point is 00:39:59 dude. You were three for three on the power play. That's not that good. You played a great game. Yeah, no, I think that's right. Um, I want, there's a lot of talk about Kachuk in here. The, I actually think that was the worst part of it for Tampa. That Chuck being awake and and two goals. And two goals. I think if he's like, he plays okay. and he's doing his rat thing, but it's like, he doesn't, he's off the score sheet and whenever you go, he's back, but he's not such a game breaker, like the internet wanted us to believe. Dude. Him, him, not only scoring twice, Dan, but also just giving the team the adrenaline push of like,
Starting point is 00:40:35 that, that was bad. Do you remember earlier this season, I also said it last season, I made some sort of a statement that was like, here's the thing. If I'm starting a franchise, Matthew Kachuk, is probably a top five player off the board for me. Yeah. This is why. Yep.
Starting point is 00:40:54 This fucking kid just performs in the biggest games. The brightest lights, the largest stage, Matthew Kachuk turns into Hercules. Yep. And that is what you need. He's a capable 100-point guy during the regular season. And then also the second the playoffs start, he will literally kill himself.
Starting point is 00:41:15 Yeah. He will destroy his own body to get a win. And, yeah. Absolutely Tampa sees that performance, and they're like, God, damn, this kid is awake. Yep. Dan, listen to this one. Shout out Andrew Kenward. Incredible comment right here. Maurice was clear, didn't care where we were seated or who we played. Just wanted to rest everyone. That looks very accurate right now. Sure does. Because remember I was like, dude, they got a win. They don't want, they don't want to get in this Toronto.
Starting point is 00:41:38 Dude, couldn't care less, dude. Couldn't care if I'm on the road, if I don't have home ice. I know that if we are healthy, we have the best team. So I just need us to get healthy and then I'll play whoever you want. I went to the cup as an eight seat. I beat the, I beat the best record of all time, Bruins. Went straight to the cup. Get off me, dude. That's a Stanley Cup winning coach right there. Final game of last night, we are getting into a series that is now officially tied up. One-one. Vegas versus the Minnesota Wild.
Starting point is 00:42:05 We thought after game one, we had, oh boy, yikes, here's Vegas. They got an empty net goal. Yeah, how are you? See it. But we said, what did we say? couldn't believe how physical the Minnesota Wawa were in that game won. They came out for checking. You had Matt Boldie, who at the time, I think what was it? He had one goal in 12 games or something like that.
Starting point is 00:42:26 Hadn't really had that playoff breakout, but boom, scores two. Now you have this Minnesota team coming out, punching again, and they go up for nothing in this game. Dude, what's crazy about this game is, I might have picked Vegas in four, but I picked them in four or five. Oh, you swept, dude. You brought out the broom, I think.
Starting point is 00:42:44 And then after, game one, I said to you, I said to our boy on the team who's a wild fan, I was like, yo, my bad, they looked so much better with all the boys back. You kind of forget the run. Crill was on before he got hurt, how good Minnesota looked before everybody went down, that I was like, my bad, this is actually going to be a tough series. And then for the first five minutes of this game, I was like, oh, never mind. I was right. Vegas is going to sweep them. Like they had the first five shots. They were literally the-Business. Minnesota didn't have the five minutes. And I was like, oh, Vegas was just easing into the playoffs. And now they're going to ether these guys.
Starting point is 00:43:14 And actually Hill made a couple decent stops. Like Hartman had a break early. Oh, definitely. I was like, oh yeah, dude, we're fine. Squirrelin unfair to Hill in this game. I actually agree. And then, but then boldie scores, stays super hot. But hold on.
Starting point is 00:43:29 That was the most putrid pass I have ever seen in my life from Capriza. And you said it a second ago. You were like, Chris, dude, people forgot. Do you remember how much of a hard on I had for Krillard? Capriza winning MVP this year. Dude, the guy, I think you said, he had like 20 goals and 20 games. Like, he was so nasty. Then he got hurt and was out for a long time.
Starting point is 00:43:54 Krill is just back, dude. And I'm like, this guy is fucking disgusting. He's gross. Dude, I was pissed too because, and I'm glad we didn't bet it because we would have lost, but I was all over you preseason. And you talked to me out of it, but I was all over you preseason that we should bet Krill 60. I was like, he's going to score 60 this year.
Starting point is 00:44:09 And you were like, that's ridiculously high. And I was like, I know, but we got to bet it. And then at 20, through 20. 23 games, I was like, he's going to have 60 at four nations break, dude. So we would have lost. So thank you for talking me out of that. But yes, that's the man I was betting on, and that's the man who has shown up for the first two games of the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:44:25 Yeah. And listen, playoffs are a long run. We'll see what happens in this series. But he looks fresh as lettuce, to quote you, to quote Tom Brady. But, I mean, man, this team, they're buzzing. I've said so many times, Joel Erickson-Eck is just one of the best two-way centers you can have. He's banging bodies.
Starting point is 00:44:44 Boldy is awake. Krill is on the score sheet as well. I think the defenseman, the young defenseman, look really good. And you love, if you're Minnesota, this wasn't a gritty win, right? This was an emphatic win. I know Vegas made it a little close. You ended up getting an empty net goal in there. How are you?
Starting point is 00:45:02 But this was a really strong win. And again, even if it lasts a couple games, you've kept Vegas's big stars off the score sheet for the most part. And that is so valuable. It's so valuable. Yeah, I have a, I've had a weird thought process on this one. Yeah. Because, and this game, dude, was sloppy from Vegas. I would say after Boldie's goal, the next three that made it for nothing were off like bad turnovers,
Starting point is 00:45:33 really messy passes at your own blue line, turning into odd man rushes. And you're right, not totally on hill because there are bad breaks on airman rushes. But, you know, it's one of those. one of those where you would always talk about Tuka, where you're like, God, I wish I got that save. I don't deserve that save, but just give it to me, please. Yeah, and it's on us. Yeah, and it's on us.
Starting point is 00:45:52 Yeah, so there's some sloppy turnovers from Vegas that puts them in this big hole, and I'm like, oh, wow, Minnesota looks good, and they might steal this. And then I think, did Hurtle get the first one? Or no, Hannafin scored on a nice goal, because Gus played well again, you know? But Hannafin scores on a nice goal.
Starting point is 00:46:10 Hurtle stays hot, which Vegas needs, and he got it pretty early in the third. and I was like, here they come. They're actually going to, I bet they tie this game. Yeah. And then I thought Minnesota played in a picture perfect. We are up two goals in a playoff game, 15 minutes to close that out. Truly just keep the clock moving up and down, not getting ahead of your skis, no big chances either way.
Starting point is 00:46:30 So it was a great effort. But dude, for some reason, and the 200 foot empty netter, like you said, that was sick. Needed that in a big way. But for some reason, I'm just not that rattled. I think if I'm Vegas. Even with all the flowers, I just put on Minnesota, and all the hand-up I was wrong, you guys look awesome. I'm kind of like, I think we played like shit.
Starting point is 00:46:53 You know, I'm like, whatever. Let me check their road record. That's not to discredit Minnesota by any means, but I agree with you. You know what, frankly, C.P, I don't think any team should ever be rattled with a split. You know, losing at home sucks, but it's not basketball in that sense. It's not so, so, so important to win at home. I think Vegas knows that they did have some sloppy turnovers. They had a few goals that they gave up that they shouldn't have.
Starting point is 00:47:20 And ultimately, they fought back a little bit. The fact that Minnesota had an empty net opportunity, that means that you did battle back. And I think it's great that you've got guys like Hurtle. Yeah, yeah, yeah. He performed so well all season long. And now you're getting him performing in the playoffs. It's one of those funny things,
Starting point is 00:47:41 not to get a ricochet shot here at the Devils, but you look at some of those sharks guys, Timom Meyer and Tomah Tumash Hurdle, who moved on to new teams. It's like, what a success hurdle has been. You want Meyer to kind of be able to recreate some of that. So, yeah, if you're Vegas, to look at the other side of the coin, too,
Starting point is 00:48:00 you're like, Eichl's not really buzzing just yet. You know that's going to happen at some point. Okay, but I will say on that front, Dan, you are not that Jack or Stoner, or any of these guys are, like, mentally weak, they're certainly not. But you are, in my opinion, one game away from a narrative, though. Like, if they don't do shit in game three, now you're in that thing where it's the Leafs last year, where they're like, where are you guys?
Starting point is 00:48:27 What are you doing? We are only losing because our top guys can't score. So I know they're feeling it a little bit of like, we got to get on the board here because now it's on us. For sure. But again, I think it's so different because. You talk about the Leafs just then. You've got guys like Matthews and Marner who consistently don't do it. They have never not done.
Starting point is 00:48:48 Yeah, yeah, yep. So I think sure there's going to be butthole pundits who are like, oh, oh, you're not going, but they're like, I've gone my entire career. So fuck off. Yep. So, yeah, I don't think any of them are worried about it. But definitely not so much from a narrative standpoint, just from a simple, it's the Stanley Cup playoffs. I'm not scoring.
Starting point is 00:49:08 If we want to win, I've got to be scoring. what they're thinking about. So that has to get going as well. At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health, from the big milestones to the quiet wins. That's why our annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides a clear picture of your health today and may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer. The healthier you means more moments to cherish. Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today. Medcan. Live well for life. Medcan.com slash moments to get started.
Starting point is 00:49:42 Okay, we've got some mini fans up in here, dude. This is amazing. Yeah, wild fans. Talk to us in the chat. Crill MVP next year. I love that. Yeah, I mean, I called it this year. If he didn't get hurt, he was going to get it.
Starting point is 00:49:53 No question. Boldy for Khan Smyth from Matt Boldie Glazer 12, which is incredible. Ericson Eck is a menace of society. I need to know if that name was created today or is that a thing going on. Jack looking really. frustrated. I agree. Hey, Sully, we're here. Sully, Bingo is back. Bingo is back. If this fucking idiot, Sully is talking about bringing back Bingo after, I told him today it's coming back. Just shut up. Nicholas Bisbee says I'm shocked how Sleepy Vegas looked in the first
Starting point is 00:50:22 period. But Nick, I would say not for the first five, six minutes. I agree. I actually thought they were everywhere for six minutes and then it just flipped on its head from some sloppy turnovers. We talk about it. I mean, Tampa was similar, dude. So many times we talk about a five-minute stretch in a period, that is 25 percent, dude. So I'm not going to give people for a good five minutes. Yep. So I agree. Yeah, so so night Rome says as a Vegas fan I'm not rattled either after the four goals we were all over them just need to manage puck better which I agree with. agree with that as well. Um, um, and people saying this is shaping me to be really good series. I actually agree with that and um, someone says wild winning will screw up all kinds of hockey pool brackets and
Starting point is 00:50:59 agree because I think universally, buddy everyone has been like, didn't you pick Vegas to win the cup? Yeah, because I, you and I were kind of, I didn't want to have a Colorado Tampa. Make excuses, dude. You pick Vegas to win the cup. Okay, well, they're going to, so you'll be regretting that comment. I didn't say they're not going to. But, yeah, they seem like the absolute, one of the absolute heavyweights in the West. And a lot of that is because of how strong their D, how strong their D and goaltending is.
Starting point is 00:51:26 And then the D were turning the puck over left and right last night. So it's, if your massive strength turns into a weakness, that's actually a big problem. So, yeah, I think Vegas fans aren't necessarily worried. certainly the team isn't worried. Like I said, a split is a split. It happens all the time. You almost expect it.
Starting point is 00:51:43 This is a win for the wild that changes this series, though. I don't think that this is like a, oh, kind of an ugly, scrappy win. It makes us think, damn, anything could happen. You know, now we're going into game three, gritting your teeth a little bit, going, shit, this is a bit of a tilt now.
Starting point is 00:52:00 Yep. And that's really exciting. As a fan, just as well as looking at from a hockey perspective, this is what you want from series. Yep, Jack McLean says Minnesota going up 3-1, but then Quentin says Vegas was sloppy, they're going to clean it up and dominate. And I'm like, yeah, I can see both sides.
Starting point is 00:52:15 There you go. I actually don't think I can see Vegas going down 3-1, to be honest with you. But I think if they split in Minnesota, they come back and they go, all right, well, unfortunately, this is going a long way, but we're still going to win. Yeah. But Minnesota really, and actually, Dan, I'll say this too. Minnesota is a team that can, you don't want to give them a whiff. You don't want to give that mouse a cookie type situation.
Starting point is 00:52:37 where some of these other teams, I'm like, well, you know, you're still better and it's going to be fine. Like if the, no offense, but if the blues win two in a row even, I still think the Jets are like, whatever. Yeah. But if the Minnesota Wild, the healthy Minnesota Wilde get going and get up against Vegas, you're like, Jesus Christ, we're going to figure this out. My closing thoughts on this series will be for the last two to three months, we've seen a bit of a hobbled Minnesota Wild team that was falling in the rankings. people were kind of sleeping on them and then we got this matchup and a lot of people counted them out
Starting point is 00:53:09 and now it looks like after game one and two because I'm going to give them respect for their performance in game one. This is the Minnesota group that was top of the league for a long time in the beginning of the season. So it's a dangerous team. This is going to be a much more exciting series
Starting point is 00:53:25 I think than a lot of people pegged. That is going to be it for our first episode of the Empty Netter's puck line news during the playoffs. CP, what are you got as we close up? Someone had asked, and he got answered, thanks to the chat. Someone had asked where we got this shirt.
Starting point is 00:53:42 It's on our merch store. Dan's wearing one too. There's a ton of new cool stuff. Hit up our Instagram. You'll see the link in the bio. Got our team store. Yes, we've got the rink rats, retro team shirts. We've got all this new merch.
Starting point is 00:53:56 Check it out. Guys, subscribe to the YouTube so you don't miss any more of these episodes. We will be back live on Friday, but we will also be hitting you with a new episode of the podcast tomorrow. morning, which by the way, we are going to record again at midnight tonight. So here's the thing. A lot of people in the chat were asking about the other series. We're covering everything this way. So every other series, listen to the pod. Listen to the pod from yesterday. It's everything's in there.
Starting point is 00:54:19 Kings game. We had just left the Kings game. It's all in there. And then the games from last night, we're doing these lives to make sure you get immediate access to those games. And then we'll have the pod coming out again tomorrow morning to hit the entire playoffs, but also everything that happens tonight. Let's hope. We see Landy playing it's Landy Day, dude. It's going to be insane. I'm going to post our clip again. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:54:41 When Mandy hopefully posted it. All right, guys, that's it for us. We love you. We will see you later. We'll be watching the game tonight. Make sure you check out the podcast tomorrow. And then we'll see you again live on Friday until we see you. Skate Hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.