Empty Netters Podcast - Finnish Mafia Runs Dallas and The Entire NHL w Jeremy Roenick | LIVE.EP10
Episode Date: May 14, 2025The boys go live for their 10th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs. ALSO JOINED BY JEREMY ROENICK!!!!! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRE...SENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Puckline News, playoff coverage, brought to you by BetMGM, is back.
We are live here on Wednesday morning in our beautiful LA office, our bar studio.
We had one game last night.
We're going to get all into the Dallas-Winnipeg series,
how Dallas looks like they are taking over the world.
And also, as you've seen on Twitter and Instagram,
the legend himself, Jeremy Ronick, JR, joining the show.
Going to chop it all up about the playoffs.
But first, live ditty coverage.
So let's get into it.
Here we go.
On day one of the trial, we had a poor female reporter accosted by a homeless man.
What more could you want?
This is the action we need.
Dude, and we're not actually going to do a lot of live ditty coverage here, but I just have to say.
I have to get it off my chest.
It is so gnarly that literally the first witness of a two-month saga, where you're going to hear and see,
some shit. The first witness
comes in and has to
be accosted from both sides
that he was
brought to the house of Diddy and
his girlfriend and paid by
Diddy to have sex with Diddy's girlfriend
while Diddy watched and jerked off
in the corner. And while that's being
said at the trial, Diddy's kids,
specifically his daughters, have to get up
and leave the courtroom. Because I'm like, dude,
that is just... Hey, here's
an idea. Why were his
children there at all?
Dude, his sons, they were passing notes, they said.
I would give anything to see the notes being crashed back before.
Dad's a dog.
Dad is a dog, bro.
We've got jerk off talk immediately on the live show.
That's how you know things are buzzing.
Things are going really, really, really well.
Let's chat about the stars and jets.
I know we've got a lot of stars fan, a lot of Jets fans in the chat here.
That was our one game last night.
It was a doozy.
We ripped some bingo last night, hit a couple of lines last night.
but top story
Miro back in action
played 14 minutes
had an assist
we had a full finish
takeover of American Airlines Center
yeah it was actually the
Finnish Mafia there was so much Finnish Mafia
dude it was so sick
who started on the
like who line started for Dallas
I think Wyatt I think Wyatt
someone's head all the Finns should start
yeah that actually would have been kind of sick dude
that would have been sick I mean
it's remarkable stuff like
These guys are out here
just fucking buzzing around
but the return of Miro was unbelievable.
Dude, finally,
finally the voodoo doll, the Tiki
Hut has
done its job.
And honestly, it's credit to Dallas
for allowing
Morrissey to come back
sooner. Clearly they scrubbed off
Miro from the voodoo doll
because they were like, whatever.
Let Morrissey play. I feel bad for the kid. He's a great
player. It's playoffs.
I feel bad for the Winnipec fans.
I just want him out there.
So credit to Dallas for doing that.
And then finally, whoever it was, this fucking surgeon who's like, no, no.
Dude, I'd love to know what he's looking at.
Like the surgeon's like, no.
Still no.
And then Miro walks in and he does the fucking Adam Bank stick trick.
And he goes, go ahead.
You're good.
You can play.
You're good to go.
I also am curious how, I mean, we saw this in the Colorado series, right?
Landi came back.
Was it game four?
He came back game three.
Three, I think.
I think it was that first time game.
Yeah.
But it is, it is so funny to me how all these guys return at home.
Dude.
Don't tell me that's not calculated.
Don't tell me that they're not thinking about that.
Oh, it's such a factor.
It's such a factor.
And I think it's almost a safer environment because you get to have the extra juice from the crowd for him and in the matchup, the line matchup.
We're like, hey, I kind of, you know, a man still said Dan, even though.
I was going to. Yeah, I was looking at you. You were in the zone. Yeah. The, uh, the
Levin matchup, because he, he played 14 minutes, I think. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Obviously on some kind of regulation. And they're like, we're going to get him out there in the
right spots. And it's easier to do that at home. So I actually think it's, it's loki
jeans. He looked so good. He was snapping it around. I think first five minutes,
Kyle Connor had a great chance coming down on him. He broke it up, took it into the corner.
And which actually ended up turning into a, uh, incredible saved by Otter. But yeah,
Kyle Connor comes to dangling through the legs,
and Miro's like, left skate, get out,
and then kicked right in front of you, how are you?
Yeah.
It was fucking sick.
Can't state enough.
Yep.
How huge that is.
This guy is, I think he's my favorite defenseman to watch in the league.
Did you hear?
I wish we had wrote it down.
Did you hear his points in playoffs?
No, tell me.
Dude, you said it.
We were watching right next to each other,
and they said they were like,
Star is glad to have Miro back.
He's got 51 points in fucking 60 playoff games or something.
I was like, and you look at me and you go as a defenseman.
And I was like, yeah, it's fucking.
Oh, yeah, that's right.
I forget what they said, but I was like, God damn, dude.
God damn, you kind of forget.
Because he had that sick, deranged, disgusting regular season like two years ago.
Yeah.
And I did the thing I always do where I just assume every year is going to be better than the last
because every day that you see me is better than the day before it.
I'm the reverse office space.
It's actually incredible.
This is getting better and better and better.
So I was like, oh, Miro, every year.
you see Miro is going to be better than the year before it.
And he hasn't quite hit that high yet.
So it's easy to feel a little bit like,
ah, damn it. But he's
the man. He's still the guy.
What did you think about the,
we had a good back and forth, like we said,
we were doing bingo,
game was buzzing, both teams were playing well,
didn't have that many shots that early,
but Dallas gets that early peeper.
Yep. And then instantly, what was that?
15 seconds into the power play,
20 seconds into the power play,
it was pretty early.
I thought so. I can't remember.
But Granny gets that first goal.
What did you think,
about that and if you're a Jets fan in that moment are you like we are so yeah a couple things
from that moment three things actually one fucking sick little little hit big in the neutral zone there
that was awesome um which it's funny i swear to god dude there are coaches this is such a tangent
but just go with me there are coaches paid the big bucks to do things to come up with strategies
that are above my pay grade but the at some
point someone cracked that like the only way to enter the zone on a power play there's no there's
no longer power play breakouts remember we used to we used to practice so many power play breakouts
through the years of like okay this breakout number one is like these guys curl you all do this
yeah and then coaches in the n hl we're like actually here's what happens um three people sit on sit
on the far blue line one guy skate it towards the far blue line but one guy's behind him and then
guy number four you just drop it like two zones back and then you also stand on the blue
line and then guy five try to enter literally every team that's all every team does yeah and then all four
defensemen are standing on the blue line so you've got eight guys standing on the blue line while one guy
tries to enter yeah and i'm like is this the best way to get in the zone i know and clearly it's
that's what they say but i'm just like what is this and sometimes i just wish there were more dudes
trying to just skate it in because it always feels like it's either a rim because you're like i
can't get in or it's one of those passes right on the blue line to get broken up every fucking time
Yeah.
So to see Granny just be kind of like, bang, head fake and I'm in the zone.
I was like, oh yeah, do that, dude.
That makes perfect sense.
So there's point number one.
Point number two, yeah, when that one goes in on Heli, you're like, oh, my God.
Because I just, Graine's a good, great shot, he's a great player.
That is a wrist shot from the high slot through not that much of a screen.
Not that much of a screen.
That I think was the huge factor for me where I was like, ooh, Heli's seeing that the whole way.
but it's one of those deceptive
you know,
wrist or snapshots
that I think might be going a little bit higher
it's kind of low glove
he's sliding to the side
and it's that reach but
this is your two back-to-back
Vesna likely winning goalie
definitely
and it's just like
for fucking Christ's sake man
I saw someone on Twitter yesterday
a Jets fan
who posted a photo of someone
breaking the shackles off their wrist
and it said admitting hellabuck his ass
and I was just like
oh dude that
That is not the case.
He's not ass.
But these playoff struggles continue.
We have another sub 900 save percentage in a game away.
There was someone talking about it yesterday saying you got to just start comry in this game because what do you have to lose?
Dude.
And my answer was you have a playoff game to lose.
And I know you were about to be like, you got to do it.
You got to do it.
You would sound like a fucking idiot.
Just an absolute baboon.
because dude, at the end of the day
if you bench Connor Hellebuck
and you lose,
you look like an asshole.
You get nothing.
Good day.
It's such a high risk, high reward.
Yeah, you can't do it up.
What I was going to say was I said to do that in game six
in St. Louis when you're up three two
because I was like, fuck it, you're going to lose this game anyway,
so just do it.
And here's one for you.
Start Comrie.
You win.
So let's say you win three nothing.
Yep.
Then you go back home.
You just bench Commer.
because you're like, well, it's Hellebuck.
Yeah, that's my point.
Because now you're in like a, we're benching Connor Hullabuck permanently.
Yep.
It's just you are, this is the world that you live in, Jets.
And hopefully it gets figured out, but currently you are living in a horrifying world.
Yeah.
And I'm sorry, but it's what's happening.
Yep.
So, and my third point was going to be, and we're going to get into this even more, but
Granny, that was a big goal for Granny to get.
Yes.
Because specifically, and again, we'll get into it more in a second,
he hadn't been giving you that much.
One goal.
You had one playoffs.
So that was a big, like as soon as that went in, I was, oh, that was good, just monkey off
his back if you're Dallas.
It was a combo of like, oh, that was a terrible goal from Hellie, and that's a big goal
from Granny, so you'll take it.
Yes.
That being said, I thought the Jets played an excellent entire game, but road playoff
game first period.
Down to one, tough barn.
How much have we been talking about the Dallas Barn late?
fucking brutal atmosphere to play as a road team,
which the Jets should be used to because their barn delivers also,
and road players hate that.
32 shots on net.
What was the shots in the first?
Did you use that on the app?
Yeah, it sure is.
Because I thought their first period, like, one granny scored, I was like a-
10 shots for Winnipeg to Dallas is five.
Yeah, yeah.
Nothing and you're kind of like,
dude, because we had the shot total going and I was like.
It was 10, 10, 12.
Like they played three.
Yeah, peppered on men.
I mean, that is a, it's just a phenomenal performance by Jake
Gottinger, your boy.
Oh, dude.
Kyle Connor had a monster chance, as you said right before, the granny second goal.
So they were playing well.
And it does suck.
When you play that well on the road, you get 32 shots on net.
But you just, you lose that game.
And it was 1-1 for a quick spell.
But I feel like you lose that game.
And Winnipeg fans in the chat, let us know.
To me, it felt like they were never in it.
One of our most diehard Dallas fans who's hitting us up on Twitter on Instagram all the time.
He was like that game was the most fun game I've ever watched.
I just sat there enjoying myself the whole time.
He was at the game and he was like, I never was worried.
They tied it and I was like, we're winning this game.
Yeah.
Kind of a cocky take though because I do think Winnipeg was the aggressor.
Like I'm not saying you shouldn't have had fun, but I am saying I would have been worried
because I'd have been like Jesus, dude.
They are hammering us.
Didn't we while watching Bingo keep saying Otter is so locked in?
Yep.
God, he's seeing it.
He's seeing it.
He's seeing it.
Sometimes he's seeing it.
I can see it now.
I can see it now.
Otter was locked.
Yep.
Let's talk about that for a second because that kind of rolls into my point of how well
Winnipeg was playing.
Otter, the fear of the playoffs.
You're seeing this in NBA right now too.
And not that I feel like Winnipeg played with their food at any point.
in this series.
You know, like they, I'm not, I think, I think people are probably picking Dallas before the
series.
I think most people probably pick Dallas.
Obviously, we're going to take finish with a better regular season record, but just
maybe Dallas is a bit better, top to bottom team.
So I don't think they, uh, fucked around to find out at any point.
But the fear in the playoffs is you can just, you can play a fucking great game and just
run into a buzzsaw every now and then.
And that costs you an entire game, which are.
are so, these wins are so valuable.
And that, that will cost you a win when you're just like,
oh, we probably should have won that game last night.
We played awesome.
And Jake Ottinger just fucking ate us for dinner.
Yeah.
And then now you're like, great.
We now, and you're kind of looking at Hellie like,
I'm going to need one back now because we just got,
no doubt.
We just got one.
We got robbed, dude.
We've been robbed.
And the only way to make things right is if you rob them and then the money's
lined up.
Absolutely no doubt about it.
It is one of these things where,
and he,
definitely, Hella Buck had some good games at home against the Blues.
For sure.
Yeah.
But he's consistently been bad on the road here.
And you are now in a situation where Dallas gets Miro back, which was an immediate
huge lift, a one-goal performance with an assist, looks fantastic.
That team is fired up to have one of their leaders back.
The fans are fired up to have Mero back.
You just had Otter steal a game.
you're going home now where
hellie's been good
I do think the players are a bit like
you fucking have to have a shout out
to the next thing.
Like sorry,
but we're down 3-1
and you are
fucking us with the cell phones
you're fucking us on the road.
Dude.
It's like that is definitely
a factor right here.
I thought,
what did you think of the,
in terms of the hellie
what did you think of Granny's second goal?
I thought,
listen,
it's a two on one,
right?
It's,
those are always difficult.
but I do feel pretty strongly that,
I mean, Sway says it to us all the time.
He's like, I want every goal back.
There's never a goal that I let in
that I think I should let in.
If you're fucking Connor Hellebuck,
you better feel that way.
You're a mutant.
Because it's been, the glove's been a problem,
I would say.
High gloves been a problem.
It's a two-on-one,
but it wasn't one of those, you know,
sick pass-through,
and then even a return maybe,
and you're sliding down Fourth Street
It was two on one, but still, it's just kind of just a shot.
Yep.
And I was like, oh, fuck.
And if that's like nip bar down, you're kind of like, okay, like right there.
But it just kind of looks like, you know the fucking shooter-tutor?
It's in the corner of the shooter, tutor, but not like the tucked corner.
Like it's like, I heard no metal.
Yeah.
Oh, dude.
Not even backbar, dude.
Like that was just like in the net.
It just hit the net.
I'm like, oh no.
But I will say, too, there's also that element of that goal where,
Granny has scored a kind of weak glove side goal already.
So now he's coming down and you've got Hellabuck being like,
I mean, he's not going to shoot glove again.
Yeah, right.
Right.
Yeah, like it's a penalty shot.
Right?
Yeah.
There's definitely that factor, no doubt about it.
And you kind of touched on this too, but I am actually so gutted for,
I want to say this series isn't over, obviously, but I have, I made the Rocket Man speech
on this live, dude, I was singing Rocket Man, top of my lungs out here.
Yeah.
I have fallen so deeply empathetic for this Jets team and town.
You know, like I just want them to be happy.
Like genuinely, I watch these games.
And I'm like, I'm so sorry that this is happening,
but I just want you to be happy.
There was a chance late that Shifley got.
I'm trying to remember what happened,
but it was like a chance that Shifley got automated,
another sick glove save.
And they were like,
the broadcast is like, you know,
wouldn't it you that's exactly who you want to stick to fall on and it's and it's shifley on the bench and it's like the franchise is all time leading goals scoring he's just kind of like looking probably at the jumbo try and they're watching the replay but i was just like dude
please have good things like i just want you to be okay and it's not looking good in this year but oh my god dude i feel bad for them and i was as i was starting i'm just so gutted for Kyle Connor because you know how much i love him and he had that one right before granny second that one back door like
AI made such a sick play, actually.
Yeah.
A.I.
Come up, dude, he's a fucking army now.
We're talking about Jarvis being a Swiss Army knife.
Oh.
He's everywhere, dude.
He's playing fourth line, first line, PK.
Powerplay.
I'm going to be honest, I think AI is underutilized.
Yeah.
He's a very hard worker.
He's always buzzing around.
And he was disturbing a ton last night.
You're absolutely right.
Every time he was on the ice, I was like, oh, shit.
Like this kid is, he's going to do something.
Absolutely.
It felt like he was going to get one.
And so.
And he was.
He slides that one to Kyle Connor,
and he just couldn't elevate it.
You know,
it was like too quick.
And Otto makes a disgusting kick save,
but it was just too quick.
And Kyle Connor's like,
fuck me,
that's the whole,
and then Granny scores in two seconds.
And then right before the power play goal,
to go three one,
Kyle Connor gets a breakaway,
Shorty,
tries to go,
he kind of did the in-between,
like if you're going to open him up,
you've got to slide it backhand earlier,
or you've got to go all the way.
And he just did that in between
and like,
Otter got a pat on that one too.
And I know he's killing himself
because he's like,
I had a chance. I had a great A to take the lead,
great A to tie it. And I'm your guy. I'm your best
goal score. Yeah. And I got to have those.
So that pained me for him, for sure.
No doubt about it. You're so
right to the
feeling bad for
these guys. And listen, this series isn't over.
Correct. We've seen people come back from
3-1 all the time. I mean, the Panthers
came back from 3-1 against Boston two years ago
and went straight to the cup. This is not
over. You're headed home, back to Winnipeg
where you've been great, back to the wall.
Yep. And that's
exactly where you want to be, right? If you are Winnipeg, this is where you want to go in this
situation. You want to get Helly back locked in. It does suck, as we've said so many times,
how much we love these two teams. And eventually someone does have to lose. And that's just
how it goes and that stinks. But it is nice to see that if you take out the Hellebuck element,
The fact that maybe he's not playing that great.
It's great to see that Dallas is playing so well.
Yeah.
In the Euler series, we keep saying, like, the Kings killed themselves.
Last game, especially, Vegas killed themselves.
That's not taking anything away from Edmonton, but these teams are playing poorly.
This was a game, as you've said very intelligently a few times, where I think the Jets were playing great.
They were just playing very well.
And Dallas just played better.
Yeah, they had a better goal-tending performance.
And that I do think that makes it a little bit of an easier pill to swallow sometimes
if it comes out that the Dallas stars win this series.
As the pain fades a little bit and the dust settles,
I wouldn't be shocked if the Winnipeg players in a few weeks in a month are like,
yeah, I mean, they were the better team.
Yeah.
They were nasty.
As it looks right now, these stars are just, they're phenomenal.
Dude, and you brought this up earlier, but Granny, so he finished with 66 points this year in the regular season across both teams.
And then when he got to Dallas in 31 games, seven goals, 14 assists, 21 points compared to 45 and 52 for the shark.
So slightly under point for game for San Jose and then like a little bit more slightly, but just under point per game.
And then playoffs in one goal, three assists in 10 games.
That's not going to cut it.
So to see him pop a hat.
Did you see him jump up from his knees, by the way?
I don't know how he did that.
That was like, what the fuck, dude?
That was outrageous.
And also, they announced this.
These stars, regular season and playoffs, do a after the game 20% off hat promo if a player gets a hat trick.
Which is fucking genius, dude.
Absolutely genius.
So incredible.
I actually loved that so much.
I also have this for you, Dan.
Because something has to change in the Winnipeg lineup here.
Not literally their lineup.
Like something has to change if we're going to make this work,
if we're going to get back into this series.
And I have a few, I have a few thoughts, okay?
All right, I like it.
Number one, I'm wondering if the two plazas need to fight.
No.
We have Victory Plaza.
We have, we have, and dude, I found out it's called True North Square,
which I didn't know, but that is actually so sick.
You know how they yell True North so loud in the anthem,
which is money.
The True North Plaza and the,
Victory Plaza. Full-on war. I'm talking like Game of Thrones. Yeah, I know. We're talking about
Game of Thrones with Winnipeg all the time. I don't blame you for that idea. I think my problem is
I don't want to sacrifice good people. Oh yeah, right. We're going to lose good soldiers. We're going
to lose good people on both sides and I don't need that. Okay, so one champion from each. One champion
selected from each plaza. Now we're going full Troy. Yeah. Give me an Achilles and a boagreous.
Yep. That's what you want. And dude, I want, I think there'd be people volunteer.
for that role from the True North Plaza and Victory Plaza.
They would say send me.
That's also a good matchup.
A grizzled True North Winnipeg man of the wall versus a Dallas, Texas.
Like, this is the fight I need to see.
Machine.
Or at the very least, if you don't want to fight, if you don't want to literally kill someone,
then I think that you need to just make your plow.
I think it's a plaza war at this point, either physical or just make it cooler.
You're telling me that you
don't trust these Jets players to get the job done.
No, they need their fans.
They need a champion.
They need a champion from the true north
to fight a Texan,
and to win, and to win that fight.
We got Tyler in the chat saying
Texans versus Canadians, not sure we're thinking this through,
boys.
Listen, I get it on paper,
but we're not talking about typical Canadians, Tyler.
I think he's on the side of Texans here.
I think that's the turp and I'm telling you.
Yeah, and I'm saying, Tyler,
you're thinking of typical Canadian,
a nice Canadian.
We're talking hockey fan.
Crazy man,
from Winnipeg.
These are men and women of the North.
His tattoo, he did himself
with fucking pen, dude.
Like, it's okay.
It's going to be insane.
So I think there's,
I think there's a chance
that that is where the difference
can come from in the plaza.
I don't hate that.
Chat, we're going to get Jeremy Roanick
in here to talk about this series
and everything else.
But as we're waiting for JR to pop in,
do you have more?
Yeah, I do. I didn't like that one at first, but at the, and eventually I'm like, I like this.
Okay, here's my next one. Winnipeg needs to respond with boobs. Dallas has been putting boobs
behind the bench and hear me out, Dan, hear me out, Dan. What did, what happened with the Edmonton fans
last year? Also boobs, though. They lost the cup. But they both went to the West. They went to
cheap tricks. They both went to the Western Conference finals. Does it, does it last a little bit? Sure,
but it's cheap tricks. The Edmonton boobs dried up, though, I would say. The Edmonton boobs dried up.
They didn't continue. How would you say that about it?
about Kate. She did. She said, I don't want to do this anymore, which is her right. Her right is a woman.
But I'm telling you this, Dad. The oilers responded to the Dallas behind the bench boobs with
boobs. And the Jets, I know there are boobs in Winnipeg. And the Jets need to respond to boo. Dude,
by the way, Boldie, Boldie said in the chat earlier that they came out in the second period.
He said she showed him in the second period. No, girl. Somebody, Boldie, did she show him in the second
period? We lost bingo because of that, dude. But listen, we didn't lose bingo. We got
Two bingo lines.
I'm just thinking, Dan, that if Winnipeg in game five has some cannons behind, has some rockets behind the bench, you're telling me they don't send this back to Dallas?
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health, from the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides a clear picture of your health today.
and may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer.
A healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today.
Medcan, live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
No, I couldn't be certain about that at all.
And if we got some Winnipeg boobs, that would be big.
Yeah.
But it's cheap tricks.
They would be big, too.
It's cheap tricks.
Producer Edge is not thrilled with the discussion.
right now.
But respond with
boobs.
And I have one more for you.
Oh, good God.
I wonder if there's something,
there's just a way to get
the Dallas fans
not so rowdy.
That's been such an advantage, right?
The crowd in Dallas.
And I think in the same way
that you lure children
with like candy in a van.
I think Texans.
weird. Yeah, yeah. I think Texans, if you're smoking a brisket, if there's been a brisket smoking for
16 hours and that's just wafting around, that's the same. I think they're literally like,
floating, you're like a cartoon floating. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, exactly. So I think if you got some,
some brisket smoking outside of the rink and it was, you squirted some, some eye drops in it, just like
wedding crashes and then got them sick. And not, not like dangerously. I don't want anybody to die,
But I'm just saying if you have some tampered with brisket outside the rink on the way in every single one of those fans
The fans go into the game the fans that have planned to go to victory Faza are going to go and it says free free brisket
Free free free trit free try tip they go oh my god I'm a Texan what do I turn down free brisket and they take it and then in two hours they're hugging the toilet
The rink empty empty. So you're playing a road game empty rink that could change everything that could change everything
Poison the brisket there's no doubt about it that that that
could change everything. Now, I, I, I want to ask you here, we've got clips of the Jets players
snapping their sticks in the tunnel. Grannies waving their fans away. Do you think that this,
I don't want to say this is over, but do you think that Dallas has also won the mental edge here?
Do you think their confidence now is just too high? Um, it's high. Because, dude, they've got
rant and going and then
you know you're like oh we haven't got much from granny
bang granny hat trick oh otter's been
very good but not
excellent bang otter
excellent last night
was last night was a big step
I would say for like oh shit
it's all clicking yeah I always
I always hate saying that whenever
it's 2-1 and it's the difference
between 3 1 and 2 2 and we're like
oh this team has the edge now
it's like really good stuff guys
great great insider knowledge saying that
now this team has the advantage.
Yeah.
But there are sometimes where you're like, well, I mean, if it was an O.T.
win and now you're going back home and you're like, oh, I mean, this could be three, two, like that, whatever.
Good point.
This one did just, oh, my gosh, it was the otter performance.
It was Miro coming back.
And I do think we're seeing a lot of frustration.
Like I just said, guys snapping twigs in the tunnel, shifely watching the replays.
Connor looking frustrated, Hela Bucks continued frustrations.
it's, it is going to be a, certainly, to tie the series up, a monumental climb.
Big task now, dude, yeah.
But two home games.
Yep.
Two home games.
Don't forget that.
Even, well, I'd like to call it one.
For sure.
One game at a time.
One game at a time.
Because it's going to be tough.
But I, yeah, I mean, you need, you need the wall in the biggest way possible.
Like, you need, you need the watchers on the wall to come through for you heavy.
Dude, that is a good point.
point in, I would say
this is, not that they weren't going to, but this is a, like,
everything you got Winnipeg fans game coming up.
You know, like us included everybody going off about the Dallas
ring, you need to go fucking nuclear in this game.
And the Jets, dude, I would barely change a fucking thing.
That's what's crazy from game four.
You know, I would go, I would go, just keep buzzing.
Pepper Otter with 30 plus shots.
We're going to see him go in.
It's okay.
and you just
this sounds crazy but you just kind of hope
you're like listen yeah
pump 30 something shots on him
hope if you go in and hope
hellie is on home ice helly form
because dude it's
so reckless and you don't want to be down this way
but don't you kind of go we can win
the two home games like hellie will be great here we can win these home games
so it's kind of like you just
that's what you tell the boys in the locker room you go
guys just fucking get this home game
and then we got to steal one in Dallas
which we could have done in game four anyway
if Otter wasn't out of his fucking gourd.
Yeah.
I mean, you're not wrong,
but fuck, man,
it's so hard to channel that confidence
when you're down 3-1.
I know you've got two games at home
and you go, you know, get that one
and then we'll just battle in Dallas.
Dallas is doing the same thing.
Dallas is doing the same thing saying,
guys, do not, let's not even bring this back to Dallas.
Let's get our right.
You're probably looking at Vegas, Edmonton going,
Edmonton's going to make quick work of these guys and this series is over.
Let's get our rest as well.
So this is just a matter of the game.
Like you've got to just play here.
You've got to just battle as hard as you can and figure out a way to take care of business on both sides.
And ultimately, like we keep saying, it just feels like Dallas has the edge here.
chat is going crazy talking about the president's trophy curse oh true yeah but like the president's
trophy's weird one dude because it's like sometimes teams are getting hotter later i don't know the
jets did fucking finish strong though because i thought they were going to get caught by dallas and
colorado at one point they did finish strong clearly it is a thing because it happens every
fucking year, but I don't, I don't know.
Like, the caps are also looking like they're about to get knocked, and it's like, it was,
it was going to be them too.
You know what I'm saying?
It's not like, oh, well, the caps are just won the person's trophy.
They'd be winning the cup.
I'm like, they might get knocked out in the second round also.
Yeah.
But it is a weird thing.
Who's the last one to do it?
The Hawks?
I'm going to check that.
No, it was, I think it was, shit.
We just looked at this.
But, yeah, look that up, because that is interesting.
It's, I, I, I, we're, as we wait to get JR in here, talking about the president's trophy really quick, I do wonder what the, Hawks, dude, 2013.
2013 Hawks, yeah, wow, good call. I do wonder what it is. What, what, what is it about these teams that just keep being the best regular season team and then they get to the playoffs and it all falls apart.
And we see it first round, second round, so consistent.
It's not like these teams are making it to the conference finals or making it to the cup and then they fall.
It's like they lose immediately.
Early. Yeah.
It's so interesting.
Yep, good point.
The, I love to in the chat.
People saying the brisket, poisoning the brisket would cause serious sewage issues in the barn, which I didn't consider.
But, you know, there must be porta-potties in Victory Plaza.
There must be bathrooms in Victory Plaza.
You're telling me there aren't bathrooms outside.
I don't even think they'd get inside the rink.
So I feel good about that.
And then also I wanted to say this, oh yeah, from Tyler, Jets need to figure out their power play.
I would say people drying up in the power play is a super underrated fact in these playoffs
because I think that's actually what cost Dallas last year.
And credit to Edmonton's P.K.
Because they really elevated and forced the issue.
But that is such a good, it's a good observation from Tyler because if you can't count on an occasional power play goal,
it's hard, dude.
It's hard score in the playoffs.
It's hard squaring playoffs.
It kills you. It fucking kills you.
There's no doubt about it.
I mean, I don't know how many series that we need to point to and show the evidence that it's, that is going to change everything.
That is going to make you lose a series, you know, lose a game and then a series if the power play's not going.
And when Otter's playing like he was, it was another example of what, even when they were getting those power plays, I was a bit like, I don't know.
I don't know if you're going to break through here.
This team looks very dialed in right now.
I'm not sure this power play is going to help.
But let's be real.
If you go to Winnipeg in game five, you get some peepers and you don't score.
Early especially, you're probably going to lose.
Fucking hell, dude.
What do you think about the otter's better chance?
That is the most obvious.
You got to do that.
You got to do it.
You got to do it, dude.
Talking about USA battles, perfect time to bring in
Jeremy Roneck to the show
J.R.
We got you dialed in here. How are you doing, brother?
Oh, it might be for us.
I'd be for a good.
Stand by.
Awesome.
I think, while we wait for him, by the way,
I think that legitimately this fires up the goalies more.
Like, I think it legitimately is a factor.
I think the competition definitely gets them going more for sure.
I think we got JR Frozen here, so we're just going to keep talking it through.
Yeah, hold on.
We'll bring him back in.
No doubt about it, that fires them up more.
You have to have that internal competition.
If you're Jay Cottonger, you want that job, right?
No doubt about it.
Yep.
And if you're Hellebuck, you go, no, I deserve that job.
So you hear the chance.
Yeah, you sure do.
You're not letting it affect you too much.
But a bet's a bet, dude.
A bet's a bet's a bet.
This is for the Olympic seat.
And I'm sorry.
This is for Milan.
This is for Milan.
This is the Milan Cup.
And this is for the gold, for the gold medal.
And that's what I'm, that's what I need to realize.
J.R. What's up, babe?
What's up, boys?
Sorry, we have a little technical problems here.
But it's all good.
It's all good.
Hold on, Jared.
We can't hear you.
You're perfect.
We're just working on it on our end.
TV's up, I think.
Yeah.
Okay.
I think it is your end.
You can hear us, right, J.R.
I think you can.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Technical issues.
We're getting it figured it out here.
Hold on one second.
I don't think it's that, right?
I don't know.
this is not our forte that's true that's true
oh okay hold on the chat says actually they can hear him so hold on maybe maybe
it's i think it's just us yeah chat can hear jr it's just us
hold on maybe if i uh hold on jr give us give us a
one two three four five there we go you are perfect you're perfect you're perfect you're
perfect all right finally we get jeremy r how you doing brother i said i'm doing great
i said it's great to be with you guys live
rather than watching you on my social media and watch you guys kill her.
Yeah, the best part about this is when we say something stupid,
now you can just give it to us instead of just rolling your eyes.
Don't you mean I can join you with saying something stupid?
There we go.
J.R., we were just wrapping up talking about the Stars Jets.
We've got, you know, as a USA hockey legend,
we've got the Battle of Otter and Hellebuck.
Do you think this one is over?
Do you think Dallas has this wrapped up?
Or do you think Winnipeg can battle back?
I don't think they can battle back.
I mean, especially you've seen what Dallas has been able to do these playoffs.
I mean, for them to get through Colorado without two of their best players in Hayskin and Robertson,
number one, impressed the hell out of me.
But then the way that they're playing again against Winnipeg.
And it just seems like Helibuck doesn't seem to be the big time performer when he needs it.
And as much of a fan of I am of his,
He just can't seem to get it done in these big situations.
And we're here looking at another possibility of a early exit.
J.R., we had talked some guys about that got to play international hockey
and how sometimes performances there you can bring back to the regular season.
So I actually was hoping for his sake, because I thought hell he was good at Four Nations.
I know they lost, but I thought he played great.
I thought he was great.
No question.
Yeah.
And maybe this would go, okay, I can play well in the big moments.
Do you think just the Stanley Cup playoffs is just so much?
much even more pressure than that?
Or how come you think this one's different for him
than a four nations gold medal game?
Well, because all of us play for the Stanley Cup.
And, you know, in Winnipeg, this is,
this is huge for them.
The fact that they got past that first round
and we're lucky to squeak by St. Louis.
I know. I agree.
The, I think the anticipation
to a run.
Oh.
that that was weird yeah you guys so for me i think the the pressure is bigger for somebody like
hella buck in the stanly cup playoffs because that's all really what Winnipeg cares about and literally
that's where you're going to be known as as a great player in history is how you perform in
playoffs not for what you do during the regular season that's all well and good but and i agree with you
He was great in the four nations.
It took a perfect shot by the best player in the world to beat him.
But still, nobody's going to remember that when if they get bounced in the second realm.
Yeah, handily, by the way.
Do you think, is there any, if you're odd or is there any motivation, extra motivation?
Because you're like, that's my USA goalie rival.
Like, I want to be better than him.
Or is that just made up medium?
Oh, for sure.
For sure.
Definitely, right?
When you're on your, right?
And obviously, I think last year,
He probably took a little bit of heat for not getting Dallas a little bit further.
You know, he wasn't his best at the end.
And now you're playing against a Vesna Trophy winner and probably will be the Vesnizn Trophy winner again.
Of course, he wants to have the upper hand.
And he's a phenomenal goal tender in his right, which many think he's going to win Vesna Trophy.
So, of course, he's down the other end going to the coordinations, right?
And then their series.
It was pretty, the fact that he got over the Bennington jinx was good, but for some reason,
there, Hellebuck just, and I said this this morning on another podcast, I think he needs contacts.
I really think that he's not seen the park very, very well.
I mean, that first goal last night was a bad goal.
And how many times have you seen Hellebuck miss shots up high?
I mean, his glove hand, his glove hand is as bad as we've seen in the National League right now over the last two or three months.
Look at the goals that have been scored.
Most of them are right over that shoulder.
And he's missing it.
He's just missing it.
So maybe they found something.
No, you're so spot on, J.R.
We said if you're a Winnipeg fan, if you're a player on that ice, you know hell he's been having some struggles on the road.
and he lets that first one in in the first period
when your team out shoots the other team 10 to 5
you're like, are you fucking kidding?
Yeah, man.
Yeah, that's just, it's such a benchbuster, right?
It's such a leader.
You know, Granlin should not be able to score that goal
from outside this, outside the circle.
I don't care if it comes off the defenseman's foot.
That's, I mean, that should be a pretty routine save for, for a legal thing.
And if we're being honest, on the power play with tons of time left,
it was almost not the best shot selection by Grant.
Yeah.
It's like you're not even getting set up.
You're doing a zone entry shot from above the circles.
And that squeaks in.
It's that is, as you said, perfect term.
It's a benchbuster.
Like that,
that,
this is why,
this is why they stress,
shoot the puck.
Because you never know.
I mean,
some of the goals that have gone playoffs,
the amount of bounces that are happening,
the bad luck bounces that are happening.
I mean,
that's one of the reasons why Winnipeg is in this situation.
Yeah.
It's because of puck bounces, right?
So shoot the puck.
Never know what's going to have.
So accurate, and it goes perfectly to another series where the Washington Capitals are not shooting the puck.
Another team down 3-1 in the series.
Do you think the canes are actually different this year, or is this the same story we see?
They're going to get to the conference finals.
Frederick Anderson is going to cool off and they're going to go away again.
No.
No, this is one of the really strange phenomenons that's happening that nobody talks about because of their Carolina hurricanes.
Right?
Nobody cares about Carolina in the media because they're just one of those teams that fly under the radar and continue to stay very consistent.
They are so well coached.
And they have a very keen ability to play the most boring style of game, put their opponents to sleep, and then just close them out.
I mean, look what they've been able to.
They have gotten rid of in the last year.
Genzel
Netz Cash
Yeah
Yeah
Natche
Necache
And Rantan
It's so true
That's actually a crazy
And you know
And you know who they got
They got
What's his name
Spoke
What's his name
From Dallas
They got Stankovin from Dallas
Stankovine from Dallas
Stankov
They got Stankov
And then Taylor Hall
Was like the sneaky pickup
That's been playing so great
In the playoffs
And you know
He needs to be in a
place where he's not the, you know, in the in the limelight, the one guy that needs to be the guy
and it's a perfect position for him. But this team plays so strategically sound from one line
to the next. They play 200 feet through four lines. And I believe they have the best defensive
defenseman in the National Hockey League in Slavin without question the best. No doubt.
No doubt. And Freddie looks like he's feeling more comfortable in the net.
He's been hurt.
Obviously, we know for the last couple years.
I know Freddie very, very well as a person.
I know he's a competitor.
I don't see him really bending if he's feeling good.
J.R., what do you do when you're in a playoff series
and you don't feel like you know you're going up against the current hottest goalie in the playoffs?
What are you saying in the locker room of like, Christ, how do we get one past this guy?
It's just shoot everything.
And, you know, we talk about Washington not shoot.
Pucks. You need as much traffic in front of the net. You need to make it as uncomfortable as you
possibly can for Freddie. You know, traffic to the net. Everything has to be funneled to the net.
And the one reason that I think the Washington Capitals are finding right now is they are really,
I think they're surprised with how few quality scoring chances Carolina gives up. So they're
trying to look for the perfect shot, the perfect shot, the perfect shot. And Carolina doesn't
give it to them. They are very sound.
And until they decide just to throw everything into the net, crash bodies into that crease,
make things uncomfortable not only for Freddie, but for some of their defensemen,
you know, so far they've made it seem pretty easy for Carolina.
And until they decide to get a little dirty, get into those really high traffic dirty areas,
those painful areas, and just shoot the puck, they're not going to beat them.
You're right. You mentioned Jacob Slaven.
We said earlier this week, completely agree.
I think he's the best defensive defenseman in the league.
I think their whole core works so well together.
And yeah, the reason people keep saying all the, you know, this team's kind of boring.
It's because they, they neutralize the opponent so well, make them play a shitty version of their game.
They remind me of the devils of the mid-90s.
Dude, yes, totally.
100%.
100%.
And you're right, the only way to break through that is just throw shit on that.
You know, don't wait for that perfect backdoor tap in.
You're not going to get it because you're not going to break through that deep.
Yeah.
And what about what about OVJR?
He's had a little trouble this series, it looks like.
Is it just because it's fucking playoffs and it's so much faster now and it's hard for someone his age?
Not only that, but it's the second round.
It gets really much harder.
And they are up against the team.
Literally, it's not just one layer.
It's three layers.
You know, Ovi's 39 years old.
And what he's been able to do so far in the playoffs, let alone the regular season is insane.
But we're at another level.
And he's 39 years old.
That's not, you know, take his age.
out of the equation here.
He is an amazing player, but trust me, Carolina knows who the head of the snake is for Washington.
And if they take away him and make sure that Strome doesn't get too much room to do what he needs to do,
you know, let Wilson run around and do what he does.
He's not going to kill you.
He'll be a pain in your ass, but he's not going to beat you.
Strome beat you, Ovetkin beat you.
Pretty much that's it.
That's such a good announcement.
Yeah, I totally agree.
A team that's been confusing the shit out of me, at least.
I don't know about YACP.
The Edmonton Oilers.
I went into that first round against the Kings,
and I was like, the Kings are better on paper.
They were better this season.
They're going to take care of business.
I look like an idiot.
Do you think that this Edmonton team is going to look back to the dog?
If you look like an idiot, I look like an idiot,
because I picked the Kings in that also.
And they should have won.
They should have won.
J.R., they should have swept.
Okay, this is what happens.
This is what happens, okay?
The playoffs, the margin of error is so small in the playoffs.
And when you play against arguably two of the greatest players in the world right now with McDavid and Drysidal,
and you have a team that went to the finals last year.
Obviously, they're poised.
They know what it takes to get to the finals.
Now they've got to find a way to get over.
But the LA Kings are up to 1 in games.
in game four they're up three two with 38 seconds left in the game and you have a very very talented
very a great player in clinton byfield who had a great year is a spectacular player he gets the puck
in his own with 38 seconds left and what are you supposed to do with that puck you're supposed to get it
out. Don't even think of anything. Just throw it out of the zone. Throw it high off the glass,
whatever you need to do. Quentin Byfield decides he wants to take on the defenseman one-on-one
and carry it out of the zone. That puck gets stripped and ends up in the back of the net,
and they lose an overtime. You cannot give the two best players in the world and the Edmonton
Oilers that kind of life. Instead of being 3-1 in games, which L.A. would have been able to hold off.
Now it's 2-2, and Edmonton has new life with the best player in the world by far,
Connor McDavid, and it stung him.
And I don't like to put one specific play that changed the entire series.
But that play flipped that series on its end, and the kings were done after that play.
And I hope I feel, I know he felt bad after the game, but he learned a very valuable lesson while you're young.
in a big time situation like that, it'll make him a better player.
Unfortunately, it costs Rob Blake his job, which really pisses me off because he's a great,
great man, great hockey mind and a great GM.
But that's what happens.
But the Edmonton Oilers, man, they're following their leaders.
And when you have two guys, like, by the way, did you guys feel as bad for Jack Eichel as I did the other night
to when he went back him?
I mean, talk about a forward understanding what a defenseman feels like with Conn McDavid coming down at him.
It was so unbelievably, like, embarrassing.
And Jack Eichol is a great player.
Great player.
But he went, Conner McDavid went by him and scored that and passed it to Drys Huttle to end that game.
And Eichael didn't even know that he went by him by the time the game was over.
It was unbelievable.
And that's what Edmonton does for you.
If they get Skinner or to play at the level that he has.
two or their other goaltender.
You know what?
Their confidence is growing again.
Their confidence is up again.
I don't see them losing this series and I can see them going right back to the finals again.
But Dallas is going to be really tough.
Yeah, really tough.
All of that is so accurate, man.
And it's, yeah, I just think it's, I think this Edmonton team is slightly worse than they were
last year.
But at the end of the day, like you've said, if you have those two guys, it's a level
of confidence that other teams simply don't.
have. Yeah. And you just know if you have them, you can win any game. I would ask the two
questions. I will say this. Having a Van der Kaine back in the lineup is definitely added a big,
and the reemergence, I shouldn't seem to say reemergence, but Corey Perry being, you know,
Corey Perry, scoring goals being that, that the really difference maker in games. I would think
Skinner would have been more apparent.
Is he hurt?
Is he playing?
I don't even know.
That's been a shocker to me all year.
I thought he was going to be dominant on that team.
Yeah.
And again,
their defense is big.
They're strong.
They can make mistakes.
But right now,
when you have confidence and you have McDavid and Drysettle playing as good as they are,
they can win games by themselves.
As long as they get the big saves that they need from their goaltender,
they're going to be fine.
people forget there's a chance that Ekholm comes back in round three.
Yeah, that'd be huge.
That'd be huge.
And, you know, you can't take away, you know, Brown, how good Brown's played, how good, you know, their core staff.
I mean, we haven't seen even Newton Hopkins really get.
Yeah, true.
Really good point.
But, you know, they're a fun team to watch.
They have grit.
They have speed.
And like I said, for me, it's the goaltending that decides how far.
far Edmonton goes.
That's what my going to be my next question.
I guess a two-parter, do you trust their goaltending is part one?
And part two is when you're on a team that has a little bit of a leaky
goal-tending thing, how do you manage that on the ice where you're just kind of worried,
like, oh, God, oh, God, I hope they hold up.
Well, I think it's one of those things where I even think the players in the locker
room sit there and they come out onto the ice and they wait to see which
goaltender they're going to get.
and me that's a terrible feeling to have it's not like going in there knowing ottinger is going to be there for sure
knowing that um that some like bobrowski you know you can trust that right the skinner and who's the other
guy skinner and um pickard yeah pickard pickard they've played well but have they played well enough
to give their team the utmost confidence that that save that one big save is going to be
Hey, they got to the finals last year.
You can't talk about their goaltending then,
but it's with more McDavid and Dryside-owned team.
So for me, can they be trusted?
I would wait to see that first period before I make that.
Yeah, I think that's smart.
All right.
And then finally, JR, Florida Leafs,
looked like the Leafs might have been in complete control,
and then a huge Brad Marsh and O.T. winner.
That a Brovsky shutout.
Now it's 2-2.
I headed back to Scotia Bank tonight.
who do you think has the edge in that one?
Well, I don't think this is the best series.
This is the best series of the playoffs.
Yeah.
Without question because of all the, you know,
the Stanley Cup defending champions, Toronto Maple Leafs,
so everybody's waiting to see how,
whether they can take that next step, right?
We've been able to do this team,
the way Tavares is playing,
the way Nielander's playing.
I even think Martyr's playing well.
Right now Matthews right now is under the most scrutiny.
And people are waiting to see what,
And he's got to just, he's got to get back to the basics.
He's got to start playing inside the circles and shoot the puck
and not worry about anything.
But one thing that people don't understand about Matthews is he's a 200-foot player.
He literally is one of the best defensive style players also.
He kills penalties.
He's got a lot of things on his plate that he does well.
They're just looking at how many goals he scores.
He's so valuable.
Again, it's going to come down to can wall, you know, build the wall.
Can he make sure can he be the guy that stops the puck?
Their defense is good.
Is it great?
No.
But they are up against the Stanley Cup champions.
They are up against a team that knows how to get it done.
And unfortunately, yes, that goal by Marchand changed the confidence, just like in the
Edmonton King series.
You can't give a team like the Florida Panthers any kind of edge.
It could have been 3-0.
And by the way, this is not, I think, a knock-on-and-up.
Toronto playing bad.
I think they got out classed in game four by a team that knows how to rise to the occasion
of a big game because they know it could be two, two or three one.
And Florida just absolutely gave them a lesson on playoff hockey in game four.
We'll see if Toronto can do that tonight because I think whoever wins this game tonight
wins the series and it's going to be the hardest game that Toronto's had all year because
you know, Florida feels that they have a wounded dog underneath them,
and they're just going to try to just stomp it out.
And, you know, is Toronto ready to make that next step
to showing people that they are Stanley Cup contenders
because they haven't shown it in 20 years?
They've actually had more chokes than any other team in the last five years,
which that's all people think about.
Exactly.
It's hard to get rid of that mentality.
It really is.
But they could, this goes along.
way tonight in winning this hockey game at home.
I think you are so right about your Matthews take.
He's doing everything.
He's winning face-offs.
But as a guy and you yourself, you have fourth most goals in USA hockey history.
As a guy who's on that track, he must be thinking about it a little bit though, right?
Like, isn't he in his head going, I got a fucking score a goal?
100%.
And he feels the pressure.
But he's confident.
Listen, you just have to keep it simple, stupid.
It's a kiss theory, right?
He's got to get back in front of the net.
He's got to shoot the puck more often.
I think he's looking for that perfect shot.
Kind of like the same thing we've talked about with Washington.
Yes.
Nobody's going to question whether Austin Matthews is the greatest players in the game.
We don't question that.
We know he's one of the best goal scores.
And now he's just got to keep it simple.
He's got to get back within the dots.
If he starts playing outside the dots, he's not going to be successful.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's true.
I love that.
I love that call of tonight's game.
Yeah.
It's going to find it.
J.R.
that you got to hop off to a new show,
do you do some more of this stuff,
but is there any hot take that you have to close us out with?
Hot tape for me.
Yeah.
Watch out, watch out for,
watch up for Bradmarsham.
Brad Mosham is going to be an option
between the gas.
He used to have a play against.
Because he's done it from many time in Boston.
You don't want to do it.
Watch out the Bradmarshall.
At Desjardin Insurance, we know that when you own a cleaning company,
things need to be tidy and organized at every step.
That's why our agents go the extra mile to understand your business
and provide tailored solutions for all its unique needs.
You put your heart into your company,
so we put our heart into making sure it's protected.
Get insurance that's really big on care.
Find an agent today at Dejardin.com slash business coverage.
I love it, dude.
Of course, why wouldn't it be Marcy?
Why wouldn't it be?
I agree.
It's such a good shot.
All right, J.R., you're the man.
We can't thank you enough for popping on.
We're going to have to pull you back in somewhere down the line here in the playoffs.
But thank you again, brother, and we'll talk to you soon.
Good boys.
Thank you.
You're the best.
Gone.
Always unbelievable getting an absolute legend, like Jeremy Ronick on the show.
It's so, it's a couple things.
one when jr says stuff that we've been saying i'm like yeah you're like okay yeah we're not idiots
but it's also just crazy when you know he can just explain things so so perfectly from a player's
perspective from a former player's perspective i love hearing things like you know talking about like the
fact that the goalies in this the jets dallas series are definitely thinking about stuff like that
austin matthews is certainly considering you know i am a former almost 70
goal guy. Like, I gotta get going. So it's just, I mean, shit. Like, it makes everything so much more
intense. Agree completely. I'll be so interested. It's funny to hear him say that the game five tonight is such
a decider because I was kind of like, uh, Florida could lose this one too. Go home and win and
then it's game seven. But I kind of hear him because Florida obviously doesn't want to do that.
And his better point is the momentum swing of it. Florida right now is going,
You are clowns.
You thought you were, you thought this was a fight.
It's not.
And you're dismissed.
And if you can just win game five, the Leafs believe that too.
Right now the Leafs are like, well, no, it's a whole nice thing.
And if you win game five in Toronto, the Leafs go, oh, fuck, we're clowns and I can't believe.
I'm sorry.
Please forgive me.
I did not mean to upset you.
So I think Florida has that going for him.
Someone in the chat said Evan Rodriguez is out, which I know he was game time.
No, it just was announced Palmerie says he's going to be out.
Bob Quest is in.
Okay.
Yeah, so that's big.
That's big.
Yeah, Bochrist is a solid player, does his job well,
but Rodriguez, like, that's a cup winner.
That's a guy who scored a couple big goals.
Like, yeah, that's a huge, huge factor.
So that'll be a big one.
And I'll be very interested to see,
we said this in, I think, maybe one of the lives or the pod,
but I'll be interested to see what happens,
you know, because Matthew Kachuk was doing his,
was doing his dance.
He was doing his dance last game with like,
okay, here comes the elbow,
keep your fucking head up,
watch out for Nealander's getting one.
so I'm always curious.
I'm always glued to the TV to see what kind of effect he's going to have on the game just with all that bullshit.
Yeah, no doubt about it.
Chat, I know J.R's audio got a little crackly there at the end, but yeah, we could hear his final points.
That's huge.
So, yeah, as we close out this episode of Puckline News, playoff coverage, we've got Florida, Toronto, we've got Edmonton, Vegas.
I think J.R. is pretty spot on, man.
I, if Florida goes in and they keep up this momentum that they have, stay in their head and win in Toronto, I don't know.
If Florida wins, I think the series is over.
If the Leafs win, I think it could go seven.
I'm not saying it definitely well, but I'm like, yeah, I think it could go seven.
Certainly.
Yeah.
But I think if Florida wins game five, you're fucked.
Yeah.
And to me, if you guys are looking for a lock tonight, I think the biggest lock is, is no doubt.
about it is Edmonton wraps the stuff.
Is Oilers. And they want to because they don't want to go back. God, I'm so, we've overhyped
I, especially, but we have overhyped Vegas so much and they looked so bad. But part of me is like,
well, I think they'll win one game at home and then be like, all right, we lose. I just think
they're not, they're not doing anything well. Yeah, you're right. Mark Stone looks so poor. I think
Hill was losing his mind last game. And yeah, especially if Edmonton goes, I mean, first of all,
Edmonton can go down two goals and still win. But if Edmonton,
Edmonton goes up, I think it's good night.
Chat, I don't need to do my Bruce from finding Nemo impression again, but it's
Edmonton smells blood.
When they smell blood, it's over.
Dude, I was dying when Roanick was talking about Jack's getting torched.
And I almost said to him.
You just called Matthew Kachukh, Illen Payne.
That's funny.
Hell yeah.
Thrones in the chat.
I was dying when Roanke was talking about Eichel because I wanted to be like,
dude, that happened to me against you in the celebrity game.
In one point, I had a late change, and I come around in the neutral zone, flat feet,
and JR is flying down the ice at a packed staple or crypto.
And I was like, damn, this is not how I saw this night going for me.
But here we go.
Walked around me, goal, we lose the fucking final.
And I'm like, oh, he's like, no one really knows how Iico feels.
And I was like, I do.
I know how Iko feels.
That was awful.
So, so true.
All right.
I think that's going to wrap it up for us?
Yeah, I feel it.
So you have Oilers and what?
Who do you have in the other game?
I can't call it.
Wow, too tight to call.
Give me Leafs, dude.
Give me, give me Leafs.
A double Canada.
No, give me Vegas.
Give me Vegas and Leafs.
And I'm going to be wrong again twice.
Last time I did this, I was wrong twice.
All right, we got two huge games tonight.
One possible moving on to the conference finals game for Edmonton.
Yep.
We'll be dialed in on those.
You know we'll be tweeting.
We'll be posting.
Guys, subscribe to the YouTube.
Follow us on all the socials.
chats up. Check out the merch.
We both got awesome crew necks
on right now. Hockey Club is maybe
like the OG that turned the empty noted
merch on the time. I know. I know. Flipped everything upside down.
Rinkrats. Scoop some merch. Check it out in our
links in our bio. Great stuff
from the chat as always, guys. We will have
a new podcast episode out for you tomorrow
morning. We'll be live on Friday.
Just keeping the train rolling.
God, some good action coming
too, man. I can feel it in my plums.
God, me too. All right. Let's dial in.
Watch these games tonight. And until
we see you next time skate hard
