Empty Netters Podcast - Four Nations Face Off Part 3: Hockey Is Canada’s Game
Episode Date: February 22, 2025McDavid is the hero as Canada takes down USA 3-2 in overtime in the championship game of the Four Nations Face Off. Unreal tournament in the books and the guys breakdown every single bit of it. Do not... miss the ultimate recap of the trip NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some near you Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, the Four Nations Face Off Championship Recap is here,
and it is, in fact, not our game.
Team USA might have got a little too cocky, a little too early, and they get bitched by Canada in the final,
but there were some unreal performances in that game.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and joining me a man who has never visited the pyramids.
but is certain that they were built by the aliens and he will not hear anything otherwise about it.
Chris Powers.
As always, and they were.
Well, you're probably right.
I am right.
I'm 100% right.
It's just it's hard to explain otherwise.
Hard to explain otherwise.
Huge shout out to Big Night Live here in Boston, right in the garden.
This is our favorite.
This is our favorite studio ever.
It's our favorite away barn, for sure.
Love being here.
love being in Boston, love wrapping up Four Nations, but also hate it because I can't believe
it's over. I feel like boxing day. December 26th. This is December 26th. Yeah. It's brilliant.
Which is just the other day, by the way. Like the fact that I have to receive a December 26th
twice and then February 21st that close. Horrible. That's not okay. That's not okay. You can hear it
in our voices. You can see it in our faces. It has been a whirlwind couple of weeks.
This has been the most incredibly fun and exciting
hockey experience of my life, without a doubt, I can't say enough good things about everything
that just happened. Everything that just happened with Four Nations. All of these games, all of these
results, all of these players, all of these unbelievable people with the NHL who helped make this
happen. Everyone at ESPN, everyone at TNT, I could go on and on, but this has been truly
perfect. Every day has been, you know that scene in, office space. Office space.
every day that you're seeing me
that's on the worst day of my life
since I boarded the plane
to come to four nations
until now
every day that you were seeing me
that was on the best day of my life
I can't begin to describe
the amount of fun
but also just pure
vibes I've had
like I'm not sitting here being like
dude this was just summer camp
it was just fun every day
it was a lot of hard work
it was a lot of going out
when I didn't want to go out
yeah
it was a lot of performing
when I couldn't perform
I had nothing left in the tank
I was running on
on E and I still went dude I got it for the boys I did it for the guys on the ice
the team I did it for the fans not for the name on the back dude for the name on the front
I don't do it for the videos I do it for the for the flag yeah but we do do it for the
cameras that's the only thing I do it unfortunately we actually only do it
there's no nation that would want me to represent their flag they're like just stay in
front of the camera you goddamn go dance you idiot you monkey you idiot you
you idiot monkey smash your symbols together dude
oh dude that's me
I'm a wind-up monkey.
But it has been just the best time ever.
And I mean that as just a hockey fan.
Dude, we...
Holy hell.
In the Vegas Cup, the Vegas Cup a couple years ago.
Yeah.
Was when this show really started to get big,
and the NHL brought us out there.
And we were on the ice with Jack,
with our friend Jack,
celebrating the Vegas Stanley Cup win.
Yeah.
And someone even commented on that video
who the fuck are
are these guys on the ice this is insane
but I remember thinking as a
hockey fan Dan and sitting here with you we talked
about it I don't even think on a show
I said
what an incredible experience we just
had like you and I are on the ice
at game five of the Stanley Cup finals
or whatever game that was I think five
so we've had some cool things happen
some winter classics some stadium series
some NHL TV shows all this stuff
that was bananas
Zima, unbelievable, dude.
Bananas, dude.
You know, I don't want to rip off Yans here,
because I know Yans just said something really similar.
But we talk a lot about Las.
Las had a great comment last year we were chatting on the pod,
and he said something like, don't forget that you're a fan.
Don't forget that you're a fan.
Yeah, yeah, I remember that.
And nothing like that has happened.
But I will say it is, as we keep growing this show,
we have great interactions with different teams, different guys in the league.
You start rooting for your pals.
You start rooting for people in your corner and you want to be in their corner.
And it blurs the lines of fandom.
Yep.
And this, like I said, Canada, U.S., I said it on the pod, that was the most fun I've had watching hockey game in years.
Yep.
And I have fun watching every hockey game.
But it was back to basics, dude.
Stick to the basics.
Stick to the basics.
Stick to the basics.
I just, I felt like every game, we can get bogged down with work, trying to get content, you know, talking to people, doing different things.
The way that we were watching those games just completely fixated on the product on the ice, seeing the passion on the boys' faces, it was, I felt like being a kid again.
Yeah.
It felt like going to your first games when you look around and you go, I can't believe I'm in, I'm in the garden.
Yep.
And it was like that just every single time.
insane. Listen to this. Our friends at our good friends at BetMGM sent us this. This was sick.
USA Canada Final was not only the most bet hockey event this season, but it's the most
bet in BetMGM history. Dude. Gas. Gas. And the viewership that we've seen, every single
Four Nations game, I believe, is a top 20 viewed NHL game this year for TV ratings.
Dude, this killed me, Dan. Hockey took over, dude. Yeah. Hockey took over.
How are you? Nice to meet you. Hockey took over the country these last two weeks. Obviously, the Montreal brawl helped that.
But hockey took over. It was so sick. Popping on Twitter, popping online, talking in all of our group chats and seeing other people in the sports world who don't necessarily dial into hockey. Lox, locks, locks and loop.
Huge sports guys, but they're not necessarily the biggest hockey fans. They were dialed watching that game.
Yep.
And it's just, you know, like you see it.
You see Brady tweeting about it.
You see like McGregor tweeting about, like a lot of sports guys who aren't first and foremost hockey guys were talking about it.
And it's not Stanley Cup final.
It's an in-season tournament.
And this took over everybody.
And it's just like, oh, my God.
Dude.
The amount that we've talked about, all this is, all this needed to be was just tee up Milan.
Yeah.
Get us ready for the Olympics.
And holy hell did it do exactly that.
People on other accounts have been coming up with ways of how to do this for them.
They're like, how do we do this for football?
How do we do this for basketball?
And I'm like, dude, you can't.
You can't do it, yeah.
And that's why hockey is the best sport.
Oh, dude.
It's always so funny to me when we talk about Olympics and people are like, oh, yeah, Olympic basketball.
I can't wait.
And I'm like, do you guys watch hockey?
Like, have you watched Olympic hockey?
And it's back?
And now, I mean, I think people are going to be chomping at the bit for this now.
And I don't mean just hockey fans.
I mean, sports fans are going to be like winter Olympics.
And NHL playoffs, dude.
Everyone's like, how do you keep the events about?
But I'm like, playoffs are right here.
Playoffs are in a month.
Yeah, so strap in.
Dude, just real quick, this killed me.
Five of the top seven most bet hockey events this year were four nations games.
So two of the top seven weren't.
One winter classic probably.
And I'm like, what is the other?
Do you not know?
No.
I was like, yeah, what?
Like, I just love, I need to know.
That's so funny.
But even, no, yeah, wouldn't a classic make sense.
You probably win a classic.
There's probably a lot of bets on that.
That's really funny.
I'm dying to know what the most bet hockey game this year was that wasn't those two or four days.
That is so funny.
Holy shit.
That's hilarious.
Let's get into the game.
Yep.
Game is, was everything.
This game was everything.
The hype leading up to it, I loved that we had two days.
Yeah, same.
Gave some of the guys some of the guys some guys were still banged up, which is a bummer.
But I love that there were a couple days.
It just built up the hype.
we wake up and you know there's all these videos that are dropping that are so sick but a big one dude
getting to greatest bar oh my god dude we get to the greatest bar doing our meet and greet there
huge thanks to the greatest bar huge thanks to the chicklets boys Julie we did it with them as well
seeing all these fans Canadian fans us fans alike singing free bird in there that place was
packed and we knew everyone knew but you knew
that the garden was going to be insane.
Yes. From that showing alone,
just a bar.
4.30, dude. Seeing four floors of that bar
absolutely packed and people going nuts
at, yeah, 4.30.
Oh, my God. Holy hell.
We get into the arena,
like we always say, seeing every
seat filled during warmies.
What a cool feeling.
That doesn't even happen at the cup, man.
Correct. Oh, correct. It really does.
Anthem.
I got something to say here, dude.
I got something to say here.
Anthem was sick.
Actually, you're right.
What I was going to say is it didn't quite match Bell Center,
but it's just impossible to match Bell Center.
It was as good as we could have ever asked it to be at the Garden, I think.
I'm going to say this, however,
and I feel really bad about what I'm about to say.
The human who sang the anthems,
what were you doing?
why was she taking so long?
Everyone in that arena.
There were, I think, a little bit of emotions,
we made our speech about No Buin.
There was a couple of booze.
There was more than a couple boos.
And, yep, but they got drowned out.
People were like, fuck you.
And then a lot of Americans started singing
the Canadian National Anthem, and I was like, hell yeah.
And by the first 20 seconds, they were washed out,
and it was just singing.
But, dude, we're all trying to sing the anthem.
And this woman is taking,
five full second pauses between verses, and I was like, what are you doing? You're killing us here.
I thought the anthems were a disaster. I'm serious, because I was so looking forward to it, too.
I really, I wanted no booze. Of course, we said this. I wanted everybody to sing both. Not only
were their booze, but also when, I don't even want to sing, because my voice is shot,
and I don't have a good singing voice, but we would be like, like, and the Rockets Red glare.
Yeah. We'd go, and the bombs bursting in air. And then I would stop, and I would hear her
The bombs put it.
And I was like, what the fuck, dude?
It's like the Oneaters in that thing you do.
When he's like, it's too fast, man, it's too fast.
Dude.
I needed shades.
I needed Farticus on the drums to pick that baby up.
Can I get the ox and lamb to keep time during the anthem for the love of God?
It was insane.
Get a metrono.
I was appalled at how slowly they were doing that.
It was appalled.
The whole arena was singing verses ahead of them.
Oh, yeah.
It was ridiculous.
Just shut up and let the arena say.
dude she she should have just gone yes this is exactly what you want yep this is exactly what
you want but instead she was she was looking around listening to it clearly yeah and then she
go now i will do my and yeah dude it was like it was like a repeat she was like i'll go then you go
then i'll do the next line then you do next line i was like these aren't my wedding vows pal i'm good i know
the words just crazy dude crazy crazy crazy stuff it was the the energy from the fans was so
good but the performance from the singer was was was tough yeah was lacking to say
say. Okay, in the game, I've got some bullet points here. I'll fire away. Everybody saw the game,
right? It was incredible. Nate Dogg first, Locke, you're an asshole. We told Locke's a bet on the game.
Yeah, hey Gavin, you're an asshole. I posted it on the story. Our text thread. I was like,
I like Canada scoring first and I like Nathan McKinnon. And Locke's, our gambling guy, just didn't do it.
Didn't do it. Left cost me thousands, which I lost at the casino. Yeah. So that could have
cleaned up my encore nights. Twice. Two times. Yeah, two times. Hey, Locke's, you owe me two
grant. And it's simple as that. Nate Dogg first. Brady, our unsung hero, ties it. Sanderson
scores to go up. Dude, can I pause? Yeah. So happy for him. Because the ricochet shots he was
getting. Yeah. For me, I said calling sick when I thought Ben was coming. Yeah. I mean, that was funny.
I'm not going to, I'm not going to doggie for that. But so many people were like, we've got no
shot. Sanderson's in the lineup. And I was like, he's one of the best players. And he's one of the best
It's a nasty.
Yeah.
So, calm down.
And to come out, play as well as you did, get that goal was so cool.
Oh, Bennett, the menace, dude.
Under the Bar.
Incredible goal.
Such a sick shot.
And a sick game from Bennett, too.
God, he was nasty.
So third period, no blood.
O.T.
Obviously, everybody saw what happened.
Incredible back and forth, tense.
Tense game.
Crowd going crazy in both directions.
It was really awesome.
And I'll give it to Benner.
If you give a bull point.
He's won. Go. Binner.
All right, Binner.
Canada fans, since the beginning.
How is this guy our starting goaltender?
I think he had decent performances, decent through all the games, led in some weak ones.
But so many people were like, a lot of Canadian fans were like, we might lose this game.
And if we do, it's probably going to be his fault.
He had, I think it was 32, save, 34 shots or so for USA.
939, say, 80%.
Like a really good game.
Good statistic.
game. I think he's getting stroked off a little too much. I don't know about this. You keep
saying that to me. But there are at least two very good saves in that third period in OT.
At least two. All the boys. And ultimately, dude, he shows up in Boston yet again and he
fucking slams the door. Literally, dude. I was having PTSD. I was like, you, you rat.
And, you know, it's, Binner came out of nowhere and stole that Stanley Cup and it had zero business to do
some in 2019 and has just been
kind of like whatever since.
But here's another, no matter what happens.
Gamer. If he makes the team in Milan,
if he doesn't, if he starts, if he doesn't,
ultimately he has a
cup in the first four nations championship
and he played really well in the final game
and that's sick.
I was one that was saying, I thought
both, I know you thought the Genssela woman was cheeky, but I thought
both goals were not great
in the previous USA game.
But I even admitted at the end of the day
we scored two times on Banner.
Like, even though those are two soft goals, I'm like, you give up two goals.
And you're two Canada.
You should win.
Exactly.
And he did it again.
You go up two goals again and your team Canada.
So you won.
And you won.
Simple as that.
So yeah, dude, I thought he, and he's like, I actually love when he wins.
Stop, because he's just like, yeah.
He's right, dude, I'm the man.
I was like, I'm the shit.
I was like, that's awesome, dude.
So yeah, a lot of people were dogging him.
And I thought he got a ton of props from all the boys.
Like, you listen to their post games.
And they're like, and they address it.
They're like, we knew Binner was getting ripped.
But he stepped up.
like we knew he would.
We all expected a great game from him.
We got it.
Let's actually go, well, no, let's go here first.
Mitch Marner.
Pause in the pod to talk to you guys about our partners at BetMGMGM and this epic bet get offer.
They have going for you right now.
So what you do is you download the BetMGM app.
You use promo code Netters.
That's N-E-T-E-R-S.
If you bet $10, and if you win, they put $150 in bonus bets back into your account.
Bang.
How about that?
Four Nations is over, so you can't bet on that anymore.
And if you did, you probably would have bet on USA like I didn't.
You'd be pretty bummed about that.
But good news, NHL is back.
You can start betting on that.
NBA's cooking.
You can start betting on the baseball.
Somebody threw a baseball the other day.
Baseball's back.
It's ridiculous.
So bet on whatever you want and do not miss out on this bet get offer from bed MGM.
Use that promo code in headers.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-3-200-Gambler.
Call 1-800-3-2-0-0-0-Massachusetts.
Call 1-800 for Arizona.
21 plus only.
Offer only available in Arizona, Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts, Maryland.
in North Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia.
Visit www. www.180-Gambler.net for West Virginia.
Please gamble responsibly.
CbedmGM.com for terms.
This promotional offer is for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are not undergras.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Mississippi, Nevada, New York, Ontario, and Puerto Rico.
I thought the Leafs in general had a tough tournament.
We had talked about this a little bit.
Not that they were horrible, but just, you know, they weren't having these bright,
shining moments on a team that you're hoping.
Yeah, it was kind of after Marner's O.T.
goal in the first game.
Yep.
He didn't do a ton.
Yep. And Matthews didn't score,
Neeland didn't score, you know, there's like all this stuff going on.
Marner made two plays in this game, specifically.
That won the game.
That won the game.
The cut in on Fox to free up Bennett was, you know,
we were going crazy on Glaze job on Jack's pass to Gensel.
Yeah.
And it's the same thing.
It's almost like, you know, I don't even better play with the cut in,
but like, or different plays.
But you know what I'm saying?
Like, that's a beautiful, beautiful play.
Definitely.
That sets up that goal. Incredible shot.
But, like, that is poised for Mitch there.
It made Adam Fox look like a baby deer.
And that was so tough, man.
That play happened right in front of us, right where we were sitting.
The second Marner picked that, I just looked at Fox's gap and his angle.
I know.
And I was like, you fucking idiot.
I was like, this is where I literally started going, uh-oh, in the neutral zone.
I was saying, uh-oh.
And the way he turned, I was like, fuck me.
Like Bennett's slipping right behind him.
just such a good play that that unfolded so early
and watching it you're like oh no here we go
dude and then in the overtime goal
it gets hard rim I forget who pinched on the point there for Canada
like someone maybe McCarr was just kale
yeah so that again not to give myself so much credit here
the second kale
pressed and went down to the boards
to wrap rim hard rim around the net
I was like game
game over game over
game over because if you look at the replay
Marner goes to the wall
the second Kale takes his first step
like he knows the play
puck gets to Marner he plays it perfectly
and then Matthews just a completely abandoned
Connor fucking McDavid in the slot
and I was like and go
so this will be a perfect transition but I just wanted to throw
flowers on Marner because there's so
easy it's so easy he's a right shot
to go to put your back
to the center of the ice
Know that that's getting rimmed and just take it on your back hand and start wheeling out of the corner.
Like that's a good play too.
But dude, he goes butt against the boards, left skate against the boards, kicks out right to forehand bang.
Like everyone sees, McDavid's wide open.
I could have passed that.
But I'm like, but you couldn't have got the puck on your forehead that fucking quickly.
It was such a pro play.
Keeping that vision that way too, just like that was such an underrated pass that looked like such an easy pass.
So, man, Mitch Martyr, fucking great game.
Good job.
It must have been tough to murder your best friend in that play.
Yeah.
Like the second he makes that play in C's
Matthews coming at him.
Over committing to him and he's like, I'm sorry.
Dude,
so,
he said,
I'm sorry as he passed.
Yes,
he whispered it though.
He just went like this.
I'm so sorry.
I'm sorry.
This had to happen to you.
I didn't want it to be you.
Dude,
yeah.
Dude,
I didn't want it to be you.
So that,
dude,
it's all the time.
It's fast game.
The,
you,
when you don't know,
because it's kind of that three on three down low
when you're,
when you're the centerman.
Yeah.
You know, when you don't know who you have in a rotation, you're like, oh, shit, they just rimmed it.
Like, is that my guy in the corner?
Is that my guy?
You need to always retreat to the middle.
Like, if you're not fucking sure, you need to be like, okay, I'm going to stay here because I'll keep Mitch Barner in the fucking corner behind the goal line.
Who cares?
And, dude, when two guys shot at him and I look and I see a guy in the slot and I'm like, I hope that's not Connor McDavid.
It would be great if that wasn't Connor McDavid.
Dude, like, and dude, remember the fucking Cup game seven?
I posted that clip where I was like,
why are the Panthers,
Connamic David is alone for like five seconds at the end of game seven?
That's one of the funniest clips in the world.
He's actually literally standing alone.
Yeah.
He's almost like looking around like, guys.
And the Panthers have said, like, because it got brought up
and they were like, we were never letting the puck get off the boards.
We had it pinned so good.
And I'm like, I believe you, but just.
If it did get off.
Yeah, I would just cover Conner McDavid.
So that's two times, two times in the two biggest games of Conner David's life.
Someone just look and see that 97 is in the slot.
He's fucking by himself, dude.
I cannot believe that happened.
And Dan, Matthew's man, he's been kind of getting heat.
I thought he played well defensively in this tournament.
He had good sticks here and there.
But that play is such a fucking gaff for me.
And this isn't his fault, dude, but it just blows that he has such good chances in OT.
And like, you're our guy.
So this is why I'm being a little bitch about giving Binner credit.
They're not, they're good looks.
They weren't good chances.
He put shit shots on it.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
He did.
one he put on like some idiot uh in our dms was like the the low one where binner just makes a pad
save yeah and and he makes the save yep he he's a huge part of why they won that game someone was
like that was going in if he didn't have his leg down i'm like you mean it was on net yeah yeah he
it's a it's a fine save but it wasn't like a holy shit save that was and i thought it was open
that was just elevate that yes exactly yeah i'm like elevate and that goes in yeah and then the
Love save, it was like a weird kind of a cross-body shot by Austin, which he scored a million
times, and I respect it. But if you watch, again, the replay, Binner's glove is right here
the whole time. I know. Credit to him, though. And he does, oh, yeah, great position. He knew.
And that's something that we don't get talked about enough. From people like, he shot it right
in his glove. I'm like, well, that's good position. Yeah, Julie the cat. Yeah, that is a goalie who is
in a good position doing what their job is. But that was one where he was like, yeah, yeah,
dude, he did a little statue of liberty job. Yeah, dude, do it. Ham it up.
Little Patrick Waugh job, dude. He's got such good attitude with that shit.
and I love it.
But those are the things where if you're Austin Matthews,
if you're wearing the sea in this tournament,
if you haven't scored,
you get those chances,
you have to do better.
Yeah.
Like,
I agree.
It's unfair.
69 goals two years ago,
and Austin Matthews has those two slot chances against Jordan Bittington.
Like you said,
if you're Canada and you're Jordan Bittington,
you only give up two goals,
you have to win.
Yeah.
And that is correct.
And he did his fucking job.
Austin Matthews,
I'm like,
if you get those two pucks,
you have to score.
Because that's your job.
And he did not do his job.
And to be clear,
he feels way worse than I can ever make him.
He obviously knows that he's like, fuck, I had a good job.
Shut the fuck up.
Yeah, yeah, I would have put the, dude, high stick was wide open.
I had him.
I'm just saying, the only point is I'm just like, Austin,
I think Austin wants this tournament back.
Fuck yeah, he does, dude.
He knows he didn't play that well.
Yep.
Yeah, it's, that's tough.
On the other side, in net, I just wanted to say we had called out pre-tournament.
Big moment for Hella Buck.
This is pressure games.
He's had some playoff struggles.
Let's see.
I thought he's,
He had a great tournament and put to bed.
If I'm a Jets fan or if I'm the Jets organization or his teammate,
I have no issues going into the blast.
Now, if he gives up eight and first game, round one, I'm like, fuck, dude.
Big game player.
But yeah, he earned big game player.
He played great in every game he started.
And yesterday, Bennett goal, sick goal.
Sick goal and a sick pass.
You're in a really compromised position.
Conradle, never in a million.
Sick goal.
No goal is saved.
The only tough one is Nates, but it's a screen.
it. And I'll never give him shit for that. Like sifting puck through five bodies. So Helbuck,
you know, damn near perfect game. Fantastic. Yep. Okay. And then, uh, Brady could chuck.
I just want to say, Dan, what a fucking guy. Dude, I was, I was laughing with Murals at one point
because Brady's fucking scores, first of all, goes bat shit. Then he goes full human battering ram
again. Like, I know. Every four check, he is fucking Dewey, man, again.
I was like, what do we do it?
Stop hitting.
Do it?
Yeah, it's my boy right there.
Dude, so he's going human battering ram.
And then, like, he'll, like, I see him like limping back to the bench.
And I looked at Braille's when I go, dude, Brady Kachuk is literally costing Ottawa the playoffs just to win this game.
Like, Ottawa is now out because he is now dead.
He's, you just said battering ram is so perfect.
Like Brady, Brady Kachuk came into this tournament and he went like this.
I'm going to destroy my body.
Yeah.
I'm going to destroy my existence to try to win this tournament.
That's why he's a hero.
And that is why he is an American hero.
Dude, he literally Ottawa, I have been so proud of Ottawa.
I'm like, you're the three seed in the Atlantic.
Ottawa is for sure in.
And I'll see if Detroit can sneak in, but Ottawa is for sure in.
Ottawa is now out.
Because your best player and leader has self-destructed himself.
Oh, my God, dude.
But, man, I have, there was so many people like,
oh, the one that could Chuck should be the captain.
And I was like, Ikechle, she's going to be Ikeld.
We love Jack, but I also think he's,
I think he's literally like the best American player.
and it's it's yeah whatever we don't even have to have that debate right now but
what's your next transition because just that i wasn't big on the camp of
it should be brady like i was like no it should be jack or i'm fine with austin but just i don't know
there's something about the way he gave him plays in that tournament where i'm like
dude it's a letter on his chest dude a hundred percent dude 100's crazy bro there there's
there's a few i mean i think i can say a lot about that um two guys you just
brought up before I get back into the we'll call it the leadership group of USA
Jacob Slavin is the best player I've ever seen in my entire life yep his
blocked shot in that game just the plays that he he was making all over the
ice we talked a lot about the the respect that McDavid showed for
headman on that one-on-one yes yes there were a couple of pull-ups by guys like
Nate and McDavid when they're coming down on Slavin because they're like I'm
not gonna beat this guy he plays so hard
he plays in a smaller market
and I think a lot of Keynes fans
like when he gets named people like Slavin
like that's a boring pick
Keynes fans are like you're out of your mind
you don't understand we were like no he is nasty
I was unaware of how nasty
he was and I watch him play a lot
with our job we watch
we watch everyone play a lot
something about this tournament the way
he elevated just like the chucks did
I mean good God man
he is so nasty
and for me is
is definitely the best defensive defenseman in the NHH.
Dude, that is my literal, I was just going to save it for the end.
That is my literal number one takeaway from Four Nations.
Holy shit.
I guess number one is like, that was sick and let's do it.
Number two is Jacob Slavin is a mega star.
Dude, there were plays that were coming.
So everybody, you were talking to the Seth Jarvis one.
There's like 12 minutes left in a tie game in the third period.
And Jarvis got a fucking gray day from the slot.
And Slavin has that insane block.
We had it up on the page with Loop and Glue Guy.
insane slow-mo. He literally picks his leg up.
It's the most insane.
Dude, he is moving.
Let's try to act this out.
He's moving to his right.
And he
dives backwards.
He like pivots,
dives, throws his legs
and then fold over and throws his left leg.
He goes down on his stomach. Again,
moving left to right.
He almost hits his head. Dude, he goes on his stomach and throws his left leg
back up over to block that shot.
It's so good.
But dude, here's even bigger, man.
We were sitting with Army, who's obviously ready for Canada.
And how many times was he like, Slavin?
Fuck, goddamn.
Because there would be plays where it's a clear two-on-one.
Oh, here comes McKinnon-R-N-1 on a two-on-one.
But before it could even happen, Slavin would, like, dive-bomb it and just break it up in our ozone.
Yes.
And I was like, dude, he stopped.
You see the three-on-two because it had developed.
He's a pre-coct.
He's a pre-coct.
He's a pre-coct.
He literally, like, see, he's like, oh, this is about to be a two-on-one unless.
Minority report, dude.
It wasn't even his shift, Dan.
Sullivan's like, dude, someone else going.
Slavin's like, actually, I need to go out because there's a two-on-one coming in exactly
40 seconds.
Watch this.
Now it's gone.
Utterly preposterous.
I've never seen defensive mastery.
And I mean that word.
Mastery like that.
Utterly preposterous.
And for me, he was the best player on that ice last night.
Yep.
On both teams.
Agree.
My next point in the similar stance, which you just alluded to, I've been, you've been with me.
I've been banging this drum for years, and somehow people still don't see it.
Everyone, I think, who really, really studies the game does see it.
Everyone we were watching with was like, yes, that is correct.
It is so undebatable to me how clear it is that Jack Eichael is the best player on Team USA.
And as we have said, Jack Eichael, to me, is a top five, ten player in the NHL, period.
And the way he, every single game, every single game, he has just been so good.
And the way he commands the ice, the way he gets everyone he's playing with going,
and something that people don't talk about, he isolated McDavid all game.
All game.
And then he gets a tough job, yeah.
And he takes him away.
And then you get the one shift there where he's off the ice and it's Austin.
I'm not being like, and there's Austin.
They got the matchup.
I'm not saying that.
But it's no coincidence that Connor scores when Jack was off.
And I think that's another one where people need to start understanding how insanely good he is.
It's wild, dude.
He was being used to get other guys going, like in the line jumble.
Because we joke about all the time.
Matthews doesn't have a lot of assists.
Matthews kind of like get me the puck and I will shoot a guy because I have one of the sickest shots in the history of the NHL.
So just give me the puck.
But Jack is like, oh, we need.
to get this winger going, put him with Ikes.
Oh, we're going to get this line going.
Better, put him with Ikes, move Ikes over there.
He is like, he is the puppet master in the best way of this team, which is so sick.
No doubt.
One, well, actually, let's do another good one.
I just wanted to say, man, especially in overtime in the third period, and the southern
anything we didn't know.
But when McCar and Nate and McDavid get crossing over specifically, when they start crossing over,
I'm literally like, oh fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck.
It's actually the craziest thing.
They can be behind their own net.
They can be behind our net.
Just they start moving.
And everyone in the box was like, oh, shit, shit, shit.
Not this guy.
Not this guy again.
And that is cool.
That is like special talent that they just get moving.
And it's immediate trouble.
Have to take a second to talk about the unbelievable, cool, crisp, refreshing taste of
Labat Blue, whether you want an LB.
Whether you want the LBL, that's a Labat Blue light.
whether you're playing hockey, whether you're watching hockey,
the best beer to pair with it is Labat Blue every single time.
Every pint can bottle is brewed with Canadian kindness.
And what more could you ask for when it comes to beer?
We just wrapped up the Four Nations tournament.
We got NHL action already tomorrow.
That means we've got to keep the beers flowing,
and we're not picking anything other than Labat Blue.
So make sure you crack yourself one today.
Get on this train, enjoy some Labat Blues and Labat Blue lights
while you watch the beautiful game of hockey.
And how lucky are we?
Damn, dude.
To get to watch these guys play.
And I think that's, I wanted to go next to Team Canada.
Yeah.
I think one of the cooler things about this tournament for me, and as always, I'm a fan of everyone.
I'm a coward.
Yeah.
Watching the way that they celebrated.
Yeah.
Watching specifically, there is a really cool moment of a hug between Connor.
and Nate and the smiles on their faces.
It was just another moment.
We've seen so many moments now of how important this tournament is.
Not just to the game of hockey, but to these boys.
For me, I know Nate has a cup, but we talked about how since juniors, these guys haven't
been able to play for their nations.
Seeing those two specifically, knowing how big of competitors they are, knowing how much
Connor McDavid wants to win
Seeing him get the chance to win something so cool
Yeah, yeah
And looking at Nate another competitor
He goes against all the time
Was it going to soon?
Yeah, yeah
Just the way they were smiling and celebrating it
I got so pumped up
Because I was like
Fuck yeah, dude
Like he deserves everything
And I'm so glad he got this win
And I'm so happy for them
To have been like, yep, we're doing this new thing
And we're going to show everyone that it matters
to us and we're going to put it all out there and they did exactly that.
And just like seeing the passion of all of them winning was so goddamn cool.
And, you know, another awesome thing after the game, we talked to Dewey.
And one of the first things he said was winning is so fucking awesome.
Winning is so fucking awesome, dude.
I was like, yeah, damn it.
And I'm just like, dude, this guy has two Stanley Cups.
He has a Norris trophy.
He is 35 years old.
He is coming off of an injury.
and he so desperately wants to make this team.
I'm so glad he was there, dude.
And they name him to this team, and he plays unreal in every game.
And after all of his accomplishments, and in this new tournament, this new cup,
the first thing he says is winning is so fucking awesome.
And I'm just like, never lose that, dude.
Never lose that fire.
And that's why they're so good.
And that's why they win.
I'm glad you brought this up.
I thought it was really cool.
McDavid scores and he kind of like
he goes crazy and does like a hard
loop behind the net and he looked like
he was about to drop into another like patented
sick fist pump whatever
and he didn't he just came up from his
Carl and just jumped in the air
I think maybe it was Mitch was right there
but like that low key pumped me up so much
because he wasn't he didn't even take
two minutes two seconds
to make it about me
like let me just do my quick fist pump then I'll celebrate
with the boys it was like immediate
jump into the arms of the team
and that's a sick
gold. That's one of the biggest goals he'll
score. A OT winner against
USA in the first four nations. Yeah. So
I thought that was like a
fucking class. Not even class because he obviously
is a classy guy. It wasn't about that. It was just about
like this is where my priorities lie. Yeah,
exactly. Absolutely. So that was fucking sick.
That fired me up. Going to
Team USA. Yep.
We talked about all those players.
You're going into, I
think
you're not talking negatives here. Because
obviously there's so much bullshit
going into this game with all the outside stuff
that I don't give a fuck about. I'm not even going to talk about it
and it was really cool
how after the game some
Canadians popped into our DMs like
fuck you 11th province you know like
Connecticut Canada flag blah blah blah yeah but it's all good
fun and when I reply I'm like sick fucking game
that was awesome they're like dude the best
you guys are the best whatever it's just
I love this rivalry because it's like
I'm sorry man if you're
if you're American or if you're Canadian and you hate
one of the other from a hockey slash
human standpoint, you're an idiot.
Because I'm just like, I love everyone in Canada.
I hope you feel the same way,
especially in the hockey community.
So it's like, just seeing all of this was just so fun.
But I think
this game
answered a lot of questions
for USA going into Milan.
I think that there's some roster things
that will be, it'll
help determine what the roster is there.
But if anything, dude,
take all the Big Brother bullshit out
I mean, Nate said it best.
The Canadians have said it best.
Like, these teams are the same.
Yeah, yeah, we're right there.
And it's not even like, well, we're right there.
It's like, and I'm not disagreeing with you.
It's like anyone being like the, you know, we're still on top.
We're still this.
It's like, dude, anyone could have won that game.
And don't forget, USA beat Canada three to one.
And Canada beat USA three to two and overtime.
So it's like these two teams are so fucking nasty.
Yeah.
And these battles for the next 10 years are going to be just like this.
And that is so fun.
I said to you walking in here, and I want to do this.
Instead of the like, oh, you're 50 first.
I don't know.
That's political.
It's not like they made that up.
But like the 51st state, 11th province, I actually want there to be a bet, like a standing
bet between the country of Canada and the country of the United States of America, no matter who is in charge politically.
There's like, it's written in a treaty permanently forever that there's a standing bet that any time U.S. and Canada men's hockey plays.
Actually, I'll fucking throw the women's team in there too.
percent yeah it's gotta be both anytime those teams play there's something on the line that's like
fun fun like all dressed chip we get them we get all dressed chips or like barbecue if they beat us
they're like we get barbecue dude you guys don't get barbecue what i think it has to be is um it's
you were kind of saying this it's like all dressed chips now need to be in every grocery store in
America yeah like yeah exactly dude like that that's what it's got to be right so i need to be a thing
where you're like everyone tunes into the game because they're like fuck we're going to lose
Barbecue, like if we play right before a Super Bowl,
we can't lose barbecue before the fucking Super Bowl.
Boys, come on, we need a win.
So I'll draft something up.
We'll get it in front of the powers that be.
But I need a consistent standing bet with some fun stakes every time.
So it can keep getting passed back and forth for generations, Dan,
for our grandchildren to root for this.
No question about it.
And yeah, it's just, you know, I'll say it again.
Ultimately, as a hockey fan, I am an American.
I'm a proud American.
And yes, I was rooting for Team USA, but as a hockey fan and with friends on Team Canada,
watching Connor McDavid score an OT winner.
How do you not love that?
How can you not be romantic about hockey?
It was fucking amazing.
Dude, I don't know if we said this on the pod, but every fan that met us in the meet and greet will have heard me say out loud to them.
I was like, even if the U.S. loses, like just want a sick game.
Just want like a sick OT game.
100%.
And exactly what we got.
So that was insane.
The last few I had, Dan, I thought Dylan Larkin had a great tournament.
After a guy who didn't play much in the first game.
Yeah, they learned their mistake.
And a guy who was a little bit like, and maybe the USA Brass would say this was never a conversation,
but all the reports was on the roster bubble.
Like there were some with him in it, some with him out of it, doesn't play much in game one.
And then obviously it's a game winner in the Canada dub, but just I thought he had tons of chances,
was everywhere on the ice.
We heard Slavin even say, he said, God, he's actually nasty.
from practice. Great tournament from Larkin.
Slightly overshadowed
by Slaven, but Werensky
is a dog. He's a rabid
dog, Dan. And he needs to get a shot, or he's going to
infect the whole team with rabies.
Dude, he is a real problem.
So good.
I can't believe that, dude.
And what has been slept on because the game didn't have
a lot of meaning is how good he was against Sweden.
I mean, he made that
Criter goal.
Holy shit.
Before we wrap up,
Yeah, a couple things to just touch on about the team USA.
Holy hell is he good.
We did not spend enough time on the, oh, it's just utter stupidity that was scratching Kyle Connor.
Dude.
I almost blacked it out of my memory because it's so dumb.
Like, dude, I don't know who the fuck made that decision.
Mike Sullivan, if that was you, come to my office, sir.
He's going to score 50 goals.
Dude, I don't give you a good of us.
I do not give a fuck.
how you felt he played.
You beat the wheels off Finland.
You beat Canada with him on the ice.
And you lose to Sweden when you're not playing certain guys, whatever, whatever.
And then you're like, yeah, we're going to cut Kyle Connor.
You don't think it might have been necessary for a guy like Kyle Connor
who's going to have 50 goals to be on the ice in that game.
It's one of the dumbest decisions I've ever seen.
I'm going to check right now where he is in the league goals, dude.
It doesn't matter.
It's like, it's what you just said.
It's like, dude, what are we talking about?
When it cut to him, or sorry, when it cut to Charlie, Kyle Connor, six in the league in goals with 30.
When it cut to Kyle Connor.
Insane.
Or, sorry, Christ, when he cut to Charlie, because he's, he's, I thought you were going to do it again.
I know.
And everyone's waving at him, you know, he's in the Boston crowd.
And it was just Kyle in his neck there next to him.
I could forget.
I forgot.
And I also blacked out.
And then I was like, oh, yeah, dude.
Why is he up there?
So dumb.
Get your gear on, dude.
So dumb.
One other funny thing from the beginning that I forgot, and it was perfect, but just hilarious.
That at the beginning, they're like, Honor a captain for Canada, the goat, the great one, Wayne Gretzky.
And then they're like, Honor and America, Mike Ruzioni, who is an American hero and legend.
But I was just dying at their, like, careers.
Oh, dude, it's hysterical.
Like, he's literally the greatest athlete of all time and Rizzo.
The hell yeah, Rizzo.
That was sick.
That killed me.
I think my last thought for you going in is this tournament
has showed very clearly
and a lot of people said when the captains were named at this tournament they went
it doesn't matter it's for optics it's for jersey sales
and I tended to agree with that
in what world
if you go to Milan
in what world does Brady Kachuk not
have a letter on his sweater. And then for me, and I said this going in, and I feel so fucking
cocky amongst all of our hockey friends, someone was like, who do you make captain this team? And I
said, Jack Eichl, and it's not even close. So many people are like, really? And now I feel like
people watch this tournament. And we were talking to a bunch of people, and they were like, yeah,
I do, I don't know how you don't do that. Yeah, yeah, dude, we said at the top, extremely deserving.
it becomes this actually leads me great into my last point it becomes weirdly you set a precedent
you know what I mean like now it's you took the sea from Austin you know what I'm saying
like I know it's not exactly a club team but it is weird if Austin's just on that team next year
I mean obviously he will be if Austin if we go to Milan and we go it's Jack this time yeah he goes
what the fuck well I think the coaches depending on who the coaches are will have an effect for sure
but I mean I don't give a fuck I know I know I'm just saying it's a factor that's a factor
Austin just took the C from Tavares, so if he had a problem with it, I'd be like, fuck you, bitch.
Dude, don't be a hypocrite.
Like, give me a break.
This tournament did one thing that I didn't anticipate.
Okay.
And it was this.
Brady has a quote.
It's already up on our page that's like, that's the most fun.
And he hasn't played in the final or anything.
He's the most fun I've ever had.
He hasn't played in the playoffs?
Maybe not?
I feel like an idiot saying that.
No, but I think he has.
I don't know.
Yeah.
Anyway, just the bonding that the groups have had, Dan is an interesting factor because when people were saying to us, when they were picking this team, you need to take Bard and like all that shit.
And I was like, no, you don't.
And their time is coming.
And certainly he'll be in Milan.
Certainly Mac will be in Milan.
That's what I was saying before.
And I still think they could and maybe should be.
But here's my point.
I do not think that Connor Bedard should be in Milan at all.
We'll see, right?
He's got a little time.
Maybe he has an incredible year next year.
Yeah, he might explode next year.
But what I'm saying is there before, in my brain, it was just kind of like, yeah,
you're just picking fresh again.
But it's not that anymore because you put something together here that worked.
You know what I mean?
This group loves each other.
So what do I?
What do I connect me out?
And he's like, well, the boys are like, but we loved him.
He went to war with us at four nations.
You know, like that's a fucking factor.
We're family.
We're family, dude.
No, that's real.
We're family, herb.
That's cool.
That's cool.
Because I was like, oh, now.
And now it's kind of harder to crack these rosters if you weren't here.
Yeah.
And I'll say in addition to that, because this helps that.
I've fucking loved what Dylan Larkin said.
I don't know if you saw this, but he was like, dude, this has been one of the great honors of my life.
I love playing for this team.
And I think more guys, particularly in the U.S.
He was like, you look at it, you look at the world championships, and you see guys from Canada going and playing.
And they win, and they win because of it.
And then here they come into this, and they beat us.
So guys need to start fucking showing up for the nation, putting on the jersey, putting on the crest, and being like any opportunity we can, we're going to play and represent USA.
And I think that that is what everyone should do, especially with these guys being back in the Olympics, with things like Four Nations, World Championships.
It's like, dude, every fucking chance you get, play together, bond together, and never, ever lose if you can avoid it.
Yeah, and don't take it for granted, man.
My God.
So, yeah, it's just so sick.
And I feel like, dude, obviously, I'll say it again.
This was a big setting the stage for Milan.
We're going to have the Czechs, the Germans, the Russians, hopefully, in a capacity, say what you will.
These Russian hockey players are great people and I want them to be able to play.
There's going to be a ton of competition.
But it feels like both of these teams need to go, the gold medal game better be a fucking rematch of this again.
Yeah.
Because these two nations are disgusting right now.
And I need to see them play as often as possible.
Yeah, same, same.
Ridiculous.
That is it for this episode.
And I'm sad to say it's it for four nations.
Me too.
Huge, huge shout out to everyone.
Everyone that we are out here on the road with.
Huge shout out to all of the teams, all the players, all of the fans, all of you fans that showed up to our meet and greets who have been DM in us, following us on all the social.
on this whole journey. I feel like this was a marathon.
Yeah, sure it was.
And it was so fun, but you guys make it fun.
So just so much love to this community because this one, this one rivaled, if not topped, all of the finals for me.
Yep.
And to be able to do this mid-season when it's usually a buy and have this much fun and do something this sick is all credit to the community.
Yep. And to share hockey with everybody is such a joy for us.
Such a joy.
And like you said, dude, how do you keep up this momentum?
Guys, we're in the final stretch here.
We got trade deadline coming up soon.
Team trying to make the playoffs and then Stanley Cup playoffs will begin.
So if you think we're taking a break, you're out of your fucking mind.
We'll be right back to our normal posting schedule next week, episodes Tuesdays and Thursdays.
So until we see you on Tuesday, rest up and then lace up and skate hard.
