Empty Netters Podcast - Hyman Is Done For The Year But Skinner Will Save The Oilers | LIVE.EP16
Episode Date: May 28, 2025The boys go live for their 16th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enj...oy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
You is that...
Actually, you...
I would say you recover pretty quickly, too.
I was gonna say it would be unfair
that I go like this.
I get sick, and then I just go,
yeah, I'll be healthy in two days,
and then I am, but then I leave
a two weeks long illness
in my wake.
That would suck.
But I would say that you are reasonably quick.
That's true.
Quick on the rebound.
It's more just like,
stop getting me sick, pal.
Yeah.
I was saying to Dan on the way in,
it's, it's...
What's the fucking...
Chris, what's Rob Lowe's name in Parks and Rec?
Chris Trager.
My body is a microchrist.
A single grain of sand.
I have definitely become a, I used to be like, oh, I'll sleep one hour every night and I'm a sick, sick man.
Yeah.
But not secure.
Which, he still is, I assure you.
But now it's like, oh, I'm trying to get more sleep to be healthy.
So I do.
And then the nights where it's like, oh, you have to wake up in three hours and take a flight to Boston,
that immediately I start to feel sick.
the next day. And here's my big flaw. It looks like we were muted for a second, so I just
want to let the chat know that we're talking about the fact that Chris is a sick piece of shit
again, and he gets everyone sick around. But we did it, right? We're good now. Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
We're money. The, uh, I, I wish, and sometimes it's not my fault because of the nature of the
trip, but when I sleep two hours and then get on that, that double connections, five-hour layover
or flight where you're in the cesspool of an airport
for literally the whole day.
I wish, not I wish, if you just
the next day, literally, if the next day
you just went like this, I'm gonna get some rest,
not drink, and take some medicine.
You would be immediately not sick.
Yeah.
But I'm like at a wedding.
So it's like you get that tickle and then they're like,
and then now please rage and not sleep.
and you're like, fuck.
Yeah, I had no choice.
Yeah, like that didn't help, you know.
If the tickle had come on the way back, you'd be fine.
Yeah.
But here we are, and I'll be healthy on Friday just in time,
just in time to get sick again on Saturday night.
The fact that you have that mentality is just like, I...
If you're not getting sick Saturday night, you're not trying, pal.
You're not fucking trying.
We do have a wedding.
So...
Oh, yeah.
And it's going to be a 5 a.m. afters.
So, like, just in time, dude.
Let's fucking strap in, dude.
Get your sick clothes on, dude.
Let's watch a movie on Sunday.
I wish people, like, we're getting more of it,
but I need you all to see what I deal with all the time.
Producer Edge, who's here with us in studio,
gives me shit all the time for being a grump.
And I'm like, here's a thought.
Why don't you live with this person?
For one week, see what best to you.
Be the happiest person you've ever been.
Deal with the bullshit that I have to deal with by being around you.
It's like that's what turns me into the Grinch.
Yeah.
Well, Grinch is a cool dude if you get to know him.
I just need a Cindy Lou Who, in my life.
We got a lot to talk about.
Before we get into the yet another shit kicking by the Edmonton Oilers last night,
a little bit of news, possibly.
We're waiting for the official break.
wink wink
wink
boston bruin's
might have a new head coach
yeah um
ed should i turn these lights on
hell yeah dude
the bees might have a new head coach
and from the
for the most part
a lot of people I'm talking to are happy
about it
I've seen some people who are very unhappy
on Twitter
but for the most part yeah
that one tweet that I shared with you
yeah dude
uh chat so the Boston bruin
looks like Marco stern
is about to be named the head coach
of the Boston Bruins.
Sturm played for the Boston Bruins for a long time.
Big part of the Joe Thornton trade.
He has been a coach for the Ontario rain for a while now.
He's a great NHL ready coach.
Our boyfriend of the program, Nate Thompson,
obviously has done a lot of work with the Ontario rain.
Huge fan of Marco Sturm.
He was like, that's a great hire for Boston.
One guy on Twitter.
I always love you go to a coffee shop,
and it goes, come to Edge's coffee shop,
where one person said it's the worst cup of coffee he's ever had in his entire life.
It's like a Yelp review.
This one guy was like,
I cannot believe this absolute joke piece of shit franchise is hiring this clown.
It's just another desperate move from a pathetic regime.
I'm embarrassed to be a Bruins fan today.
I was like, Jesus Christ, pal.
So, yeah, it looks like the Boston Bruins have a new head.
coach and this is everything i've been screaming i've been saying do like follow follow the leader
hire new young coaches people who are friends of the program people as in the team not us
and get some guys in who know the culture who were there when guys like burseran char with i mean like
i wanted i want patrice burseran head coach and i want dano char gm that's what i want but this is step
One, towards that.
I will say my big gripe once it becomes official that Marco Sturm is the head coach of the Boston Bruins,
you're one year too late because there was a whisper that Leon Drysettle wouldn't sign his extension
and he would come and sign with the Boston Bruins and play with his good buddy, David Posternach.
And if you had a German head coach, that would have been very possible, but it's one year too late.
A great call by you.
And I'm with you on, I did see a tweet too.
that said,
uh,
that said,
I texted it to you and Tom,
it was like,
the bees are still trying to justify
the Joe Thornton trade.
Just being like,
we got,
see, we got good return for Joe.
Yeah,
we got good return for Jumbo.
And I was like,
that,
that is fucking gold
because that is the worst trade
of all time.
But if it got you this head coach,
okay, maybe.
And I like that it wasn't somebody old.
I like that it wasn't somebody old.
Yeah, Chris.
Yeah.
And he's,
I think the era of,
of players,
coaches is a thing.
I think he and Tomer said to us
he can get a lot
out of the talent he's given
and not even trying to trip the B's current roster.
I'm just saying it's a good thing to have a guy
who can really make the sum of his parts
or the whole greater than the sum of his parts
and it sounds like he can do that.
So that would be good.
But I do wonder if there's a little bit of
just welcome to the NHL
growing pains with him
in a time
when B's fans
aren't really that interested in
a window of growing pains here.
Dude, that's a fair question,
but I think if
there are Bruins fans who have that mentality,
my message to you is
well, strap in.
Yeah, wake up.
Buckle the seatbelt because there's a big chance
that you're missing playoffs here.
Hopefully they don't, if you're a Bruins fan
and Bruins players.
But I look at it,
the veterans on.
this team guys like pasta maccavoie sway a hampus uh and then all you know all the way down to
um alyos lint home or excuse me uh oh yeah sorry a lot went home uh geeky those guys are
they're fine i don't think they're going to be rattled by a young co in fact i think they'll
love it i and i know a guy like uh charlie will will very much embrace that probably going to be the
next captain of this team yep what i think this move
is great.
What I love about this move, rather,
is you do have a lot of guys like Fraser Minton,
like Fabian Lysel,
like who's Nadinev,
like Georgie Merculov,
guys who have been playing a lot of HL minutes
in the last three years,
who are looking to make that jump to a permanent NHL player.
And you get a guy who just coached in the HAL.
he knows how to handle players like that.
He has been in the NHL recently.
I think it's a really good hire.
You could get a guy like Quenville in Anaheim, for example, who, I mean,
Quenville is a, his hockey coaching ability is very good.
Yeah.
But you wonder at this point in his career and this age, does he have time for a bunch
of young HLers trying to break in?
That might sound like an ignorant statement, but like I do think it's something that's, you know,
A guy like Quinville is like, I'm trying to win one more cup before I'm done.
Yeah.
Not a guy like Marco Sturm who's like, I'm in this for the long haul.
Trying to make a career out of this thing.
So I think it's a good move.
Amidst a year plus of some shitty times in Boston, I think that this is a good sign.
Okay, I'm with you, dude.
That's a good take.
I like the, because if the bees are going to have a brighter future, it's those younger
kids making that step finally.
I don't know if Marco Sturm can definitely do that, but I like the idea that maybe he can.
Yeah.
You want to get in some Oilers chat?
Yeah, I really do.
And Stars chat.
Well, all right, let's kick it.
Edmonton Oilers, Dallas Stars, game four at Rogers Place in Edmonton.
Another win for the Oilers.
They are one one away from the good old gentleman's sweep.
Wow, how the tides have turned since game one.
And that's not a chirp at Dallas.
It's not a chirp at that the fans, but there was just a feeling, much like in L.A.
when LA won games one and two in round one,
where this might be different.
This team has,
this team is the one to beat this Edmonton Oilers group.
And now here we are,
3-1 Oilers.
Holy shit.
It's the game,
I said many times after game one
that the Oilers were pummeling them.
Yeah.
And you lost.
They lost.
I'm not trying to make excuses for them,
but it was three correct calls,
but it was three power play goals.
that's stuck, that's knuck by my boy Stu,
and Dallas gets to win that game.
And you're right, everybody in the Dallas fan base,
and probably on that team, was doing this, dude.
Oh, we wanted this rematch so bad.
We're fucking ready to go.
And then you get ragdolled for two periods.
And I was like, oh, did you want this rematch that bad?
And then the third period happened.
And they were able to spin zone it so hard going,
yeah, see, this is the difference.
The Dallas team last year, fold.
after that first period at home and in this series.
The Dallas team this year
scorer's three power play goals
and five total goals
against a team that was like plus 10
in the third period in the playoffs
hands of them a dash five in the third period
and goes, get fucked.
This is Dallas 2025.
This is how this looks.
Strap in, you're about to get swept.
And the Oilers literally were like this.
That is high comedy.
You have outplayed us for one period
in this whole series.
We should have swept you by now.
I can't believe you're even
even still in the playoffs.
That's how it feels.
And I'm going to get into some of the mental shit later,
but that is a, they must feel horrible.
Like the Stars and Stars fans must be like,
oh my God, I literally cannot believe I said out loud
that I wanted to play this team.
Yeah, it's, uh, I, I feel like the morale is so low.
Yep.
It's so low and there's a few,
there are a few fans,
There's a few people who are, you know, still holding on to belief, and I love that.
I love that for the fans.
But I'm not going to lie, man.
There's so much Coachella talk in the chat.
We'll get to it, guys.
Podcast that comes out tomorrow.
CP is going to expose this piece of shit.
Wow.
So here's the thing.
I feel like there's a couple of things that are going on that are driving Dallas fans nuts.
as an Oilers fan, Witt said after game three, I believe,
three was the no call on the delay of game.
Yes.
Clear straight over the board.
Just it's, not only was it clear straight over the boards,
it was looked at.
It was huddled.
They didn't look at it.
That's the difference.
Fair, sorry.
They stopped and huddled.
There's a discussion.
Yep.
And you're telling me not a single one of the,
those guys on the ice saw that go clear and out when everyone else does.
Huge bummer and then that leads directly to an Edmonton Oilers goal.
And then in this game, in my opinion, slightly soft call on Jamie Ben, but I do want to say
I hated the call on Klingberg too.
I think it was Klingberg that got the first penalty.
It was a holding call that gave Dallas power play.
I hated that call too.
So let's be clear.
I'm not saying any team is getting favored.
but there's just been a lot of soft, bad, and missed calls in this series.
And I'm not complaining about the reps.
You know my take on that.
It's just shut up and play.
It happens every series, every game.
The difference is the reason I'm bringing it up, and this is a credit to the Oilers,
every single bad or missed call in this series has felt like immediately the Euler score.
It's like it is an immediate capitalization, which, again, great job Edmond.
like when you get your chance
you got to take it and that's what I've been saying about
this Oilers team is they get a moment
they get one moment of
bad call missed call
moment of weakness from Dallas
a misplay by and boom
they score that's why they're winning
that's why they've lost fucking three
games four games in these playoffs
and they're on
their way to a gentleman sweep
it's because they take every chance they're given
if you are Dallas however
good God
Do you feel like you are, you're not being given a chance?
And I'm not saying by the refs.
It's like by the momentum.
Yep.
It's just like you are always down.
You're always fighting back.
And this Oilers team doesn't let you fight back.
I want to say quick shout out to Cheryl in the chat because I love this comment.
Any team that calls out asking to play a certain team seems to go badly for them.
And I'm like, oh, great.
All the, we want Florida.
We want Edmonton.
I'm like, I have an idea.
Shut the fuck up.
You should just go like this.
We would like to keep playing hockey.
We'd like to just keep doing this.
Or literally full reverse.
Like actually, I'm terrified of Edmonton.
They are so good.
I'm really nervous about them.
I would rather not play the Oilers.
They're better than me.
Try that on for size.
See how it goes.
A little respect for your opponent, perhaps.
I said one of the lives last week,
I have dubbed the Leifes,
the Emergency Response team, which they were for a while.
And I have dubbed the Oilers, the executioners.
Because it's not just because they end your season,
but they execute in those moments.
You are so right.
Soft call gives Dallas a power play.
Oh, we can't score on the power play.
We can't take advantage.
Can't take the lead.
Soft call gives Edmondton a power play.
Goal, you're dead.
Bang.
Put your neck in the guillotine, dude.
See you later.
The executioners, every time they get a bounce,
every time they get a break, it's in the back of your net.
Florida has that a bit, too.
Rod the Bod, he'd even said in game one, remember?
He's like, I only had 20 shots,
but they had five chances on all five end up in our net.
That's the mark of the teams that make it in the playoffs.
You get your bounce, you pounce on it every fucking time.
and the Oilers have been doing that this entire playoff run.
Somebody, we had that comment forever ago.
Take 60 minutes to beat the Oilers.
They need five minutes to beat you because the puck swings one way.
Dude, so many times in this series, it'll be Dallas with a 45 second zone time shift,
a bunch of shots, missing net, you know, bouncing all around, rebound, rebound, nothing gets on their stick.
And then at the end of the shift, one bounce turns into a three on two or a two-on-one the other way,
and it's a goal.
You're like, fuck!
And that's what it's like playing the executioners, dude.
That's what happens every time.
For sure.
It's so well said.
It is interesting how, I think in the beginning, man, definitely against L.A.
I don't think this Oilers team had fully figured it out yet.
I don't think they had fully clicked yet, if that makes sense.
Whereas now I'm like, I think I said it after game three.
The Oilers are playing the best they played all playoffs.
They are getting better.
They're genuinely getting better every single day.
you made the fucking
goblin made
reference.
And it's true.
That's what's terrifying
about this Oilers group
is that they are
in their best form.
And early against L.A.,
even against Vegas
for a couple games,
I didn't think they were that good.
I thought they were getting outplayed
multiple games,
multiple games.
And it was that reality
of the five minutes versus 60.
All they needed,
it was a little bit of momentum
and they would still win.
They were doing that now,
they're playing incredible.
I think that they have,
what are we through four games here?
So we've had quick math DP, 12 periods.
I think they've won 10 periods.
Truly.
I think period three in game one.
And I think period two in game two or three
when they had.
Period two in game three.
And honestly, the first period last night,
Dallas beat the fucking wheels off them.
But did they?
Was there a single shot that was good?
Like, yeah, they outshot them.
They were buzzing all over the place.
But they looked like chickens
with their fucking headsteads.
cut off. Dallas was running around the zone. They were all over the place. Sure. But did they have a
single good scoring chance? There was the one we thought, what a saved by Stu, but it hit the
skirt of the net. But that's a scoring chance because he just shoots it. The net is wide open.
He missed the net, though. I don't give a fuck if it was a scoring chance. If you missed the net.
Did they have scoring chances? Yes. I disagree. If you don't hit the net, that's not a scoring chance.
Dude, yes, it is. No, it's not. You stink because you, dude, if that's that. That's a ton of scoring chances. I
That is my point.
You stink.
Yeah, but they had a ton of chance them 10 to 1 in the first period.
Yeah, and none of them was threat.
We talked about it the other day, dude.
XG, scoring chance.
A three-on-one with Connor McDavid isn't a scoring chance,
according to fucking XG and your nerdy stat bullshit.
Fuck you.
They were all over the place, yes, but they never once threatened Stu.
And they were losing 1-0 at the end of the fucking period.
So, if you want to call that a win of a period,
be my guest, and the Oilers will go, yeah,
Good job. Win all those periods. All you fucking want.
You aren't scoring. You're not threatening our goalie. You fucking stink.
I agree the Oilers don't care who's winning periods. Do they care who's winning games?
I agree the Oilers think the stars stink. I completely disagree that the stars didn't win that period.
And Stu wasn't tested. And don't ever talk about my best friend that way again.
Because Stu Skinner is...
Did I say he was bad? No, I said he wasn't even tested.
Because he's so good.
He deserves the credit because he was fucking great. He was great all game, but he was great.
that first period. That could have been three nothing Dallas. But you trying to spins on this to me
talking bad about our good friend Stu is bullshit. Fuck you. He was tested. Say it out loud into that
microphone right now. He was tested. Thank you. Because he was fucking awesome in that first period.
He was tested. Dallas outplayed them and outshot them. But not tested heavily per his standards because
he's so good. Okay, I agree with that. Now we're back on track because there's no, there's no,
Stu could take the SAT right now, dude. There is no test that this man cannot pass.
with flying colors.
So yes,
Dallas can win
a million fucking periods
that they want.
They're certainly
not going to win
any fucking games
because they can't
score on Stu
and they'll never be able
to score on Stu.
Correct.
Something I want to talk about
with the,
the,
just attitude
of these teams,
I think that
there's been too much
respect for the Oilers
in a lot of these opponents,
certainly in L.A.
By their opponents,
you mean?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Certainly in L.A.
L.A. gets through games
one and two,
and then they kind of had this,
like,
cocky,
They were like, we're going to sweep, dude.
Yeah.
The fact of the matter is, is you need to acknowledge when you're playing a father.
Yeah.
You do.
Correct.
You need to acknowledge when you're playing a father.
And you can't ever be cocky because you could be up H-O-R-S to nothing in a game of horse against your dad.
And then he will fucking dunk on you five straight times and beat you.
Yeah.
You need to have that mentality when you're playing a team like this who has had your goat.
L.A. fucked that up.
Vegas didn't have that history with this team.
But knowing that Edmonton went to the cup the prior year, they didn't have that respect for this team.
And Dallas being that we want this match up.
We want to get them back.
Dude, you're playing your dad.
Yeah.
Have some fucking respect and know that you need to battle.
No, he's stronger than you.
He's wiser than you.
We saw Darnel Nurse two-hand hack the top of Rupé Hintz's foot in game two.
Probably broke his foot.
Yep.
If not broken, it's very, very injured.
He missed game three.
Dallas loses.
And then he comes back in this game.
In the first period of this game,
far away from the play,
Evan Bouchard skates by Rupa Hans and two-hand,
not hacks him,
but two-hand slashes him on top of that hurt foot.
Yep.
I want to say loud and clear,
I fucking love it.
I think it is prime shithousery.
It is perfect playoff energy.
It's like,
this is the stuff that,
fans don't want to hear, Brad Marchand called it out when Sam Bennett donkey punched him when
Brad was on the Bruins.
Yep.
This is playoffs, dude.
Like, we're trying to hurt each other.
We're trying, like, it, you might be too bashful to hear that type of talk, but it's true.
Yep.
I love it from Bouchard.
Like, that is shithousery to a T.
And shithousery is a good term, guys.
That is like, you're getting under your opponent's skin.
It is, it's gamesmanship.
You have to, if you're not okay with that, you're not going to go far.
You're not going to, your team's not going to.
your team's not going to win.
What I will say, as much as I love that,
the second he did that,
if I am DeBoer, I am looking down the bench
and I'm finding Petrovich,
and I'm going, literally go,
Aaron Judge, baseball bat, Evan Bouchard,
in the back of the knees,
rip his helmet off and bash his face in.
Get in a fight.
Because you're letting the Oilers go.
Like, responding to that isn't letting the Oilers into your head.
Doing nothing is letting them in your head.
It's being like,
Yeah, they're kind of doing whatever they want.
Yep.
You have to send a message and respond to that.
Look at what Matthew Kachuk did to Sebastian Ahio after the hit on Rhino.
Like, you get in a fight for this.
Again, I love it by Bouchard.
And it worked for the Oilers.
If you're the stars and you don't respond to that in that game, you're fucked.
And they lose.
And I'm not saying they lose because of that.
But, dude, if you had immediately responded to that and been like,
I don't give a fuck if we're down in this game.
I don't give a fuck if this gets someone kicked out of the game or a five-minute major.
You can't fucking do that to our star center.
Are you fucking crazy?
And the fact that they just didn't do anything was a wild sign to me.
Like that, that to me was similar to when OSHA said, if you look at the bench and guys are yapping at each other.
Dude, if you got a bench, a boys who aren't sticking up for each other, let alone your number one center, that's a horrible sign.
And to me, it's too little too late now.
Like, yeah, you can go to the airplane hangar in Dallas for game five and you can maybe try to send a message.
But like, dude, Evan Bouchard, a guy who's, what, third, fourth, I think he's third in points on this Oilers team.
He's doing shithousery like that.
Again, I love it.
But you got to, you got to respond, dude.
You got to go over there and fucking two-hand him.
Snap your twig over his fucking wrist.
Knock him out of the series.
Like, it sounds crazy and malicious.
I'm not, you know, I'm never wishing for someone to get hurt.
But if you have a guy who is clearly trying to injure your player, go try to injure him back.
This is the game, baby.
Get in the fucking mud.
Agree, I wish someone had, on the ice, had done it,
because then it wouldn't even cost you a penalty.
If you send someone out after and you're like,
hey, go run, Bouchard, you go down, you should do it,
but then you go down to man and then Edmonton immediately scores,
and then you've now lost the game.
So I could kind of see them being like, well, this has fucked us.
But I wish someone on the ice had just turned around
and cross-checked Bouchard right here,
because the rest would have gone, stop.
No blood, yeah, just Christ, or both of you, or whatever, you know.
Because you've got to do something.
And I, God, you're, you kind of inspired me with the passion there, but I didn't like,
there's trying to hurt guys and there's what that was behind the play.
And I would, I'm picking such a fine line here, so I'm probably going to talk myself out of this as I go.
But if in, like, if you're digging on a wall and he has the puck, you know, I wouldn't even mind that hard if you're,
back at the puck and you kind of like give him one on the foot too. That one was so behind the
play on a dude who is a respected guy in this league and who is hurt because of a behind the play
cheap shot too, you know? Like it's one thing if you're a guy's like, oh, I sprained my wrist in like
a good hockey play and then later you're kind of like hitting on it. There was just, that one was
so Bush League that I was like, bro. From Mouchard? Yeah. And you like I said, your passion. Yeah, I
it's playoff hockey.
Like if Marcy did that on the Bruins,
you wouldn't love it?
I would laugh,
but I would go like this.
That was fucking crazy.
Yeah, it's shit-houser.
Like, it's like, it's not,
like, there are a lot of people who have been like,
it's not a hockey play,
and I'm like, I know.
Well, the one thing, the only thing,
the only feather in my cap is that
in the first period intermission,
Chris Rooney went to,
there's a video of he pulls Knoblock
and Bouchard over and he goes,
if you do that again, you're tossed.
Fucking stop, dude.
As, sorry, after the Bouchard.
Yeah, he pulled them during the intermission,
He was like, that is complete clown show bullshit.
Don't fucking do that.
And I love ruins for that because that was my stance.
I was like, dude, you want to whack him when he's got the puck or something fine,
but literally walking up behind the play and hitting a dude on his broken foot
that your other D partner broke his foot with another cheap shot slash that was also not called.
Or it was a minor penalty.
I'm like, dude, come on.
So that one rubbed me the wrong way a little bit.
And I'm probably coming off off because playoff hockey, they are trying to hurt each other.
But that one was just so crazy.
to me. And like,
Boodahoo the look on Bouchard's face, too. He went to
the bench, kind of just being like, what?
And I was like, yeah, you got to do that, dude.
God damn it. You got to do that, right?
You got to be like, this is how did it do? Yeah, yeah.
I do love that.
That is a, it's a cool move
by Roons. What I find is interesting.
What's your take on this? And I want to get into a couple
of the other injury slash cheap shot
plays in this game.
What's your take on
him not getting a fine?
Like, if that is said by Chris Rooney, how do you not get a fine?
Maybe he does.
I guess probably announces nothing already.
I think today I'm like, you have to find Evan Bouchard.
It's because, again, it's what we keep saying, dude, this $5,000 means absolutely nothing to him.
Yeah.
But it is, it's a message to the league and to the fans.
It helps the fans calm down.
Yeah.
You know, like that probably should have been a penalty.
But, you know, it is what it is.
I almost like don't even care.
Yeah, I would actually take the fine over the penalty because it wasn't hard enough
for me to go that was a malicious penalty,
but it was dickhead enough that I'm like,
you have been fined $5,000 for being a bitch, too.
And I kind of support that.
This isn't a shot at Rupa.
I couldn't believe when it happened.
Rupay immediately reacts.
He's like, oh, what the fuck?
And he kind of like throws, dude,
and maybe this is credit to Rupé.
If that were me, I would have two-handed him in the face.
If I was injured and someone did that,
I think my wires would have crossed so bad that I would have attempted murder.
I'm so impressed with his restraint or annoyed with it because I'm like, dude, get him back for that.
I would have whacked him back on the foot.
Like I would have literally turned back and back around.
Oh, I would have slashed him in the chest.
I would have been so out of control in that moment.
Oh, Jesus.
I want to talk about the granny hit on Perry on the blue line and then the play that injured Zach Hyman.
We've got to talk about Zach Hyman, obviously, terrible news.
It looks like Zach Hyman is done for the playoffs.
Yep.
But let's talk about the granny one.
What did you think about that play?
A lot of when Dallas fans were kind of bitching about some of the calls,
there were a lot of people being like,
well, what about the fucking play by Granlan?
That one was interesting to me because it was,
the reason I think it wasn't called chat fans,
people who need to hear this,
I think that that wasn't called because Dallas had possession,
trying to zone entry, and Granlan is making an offensive move,
cutting across the blue line to try to get in.
And Perry is skating backwards, not looking in Granlin's lane.
And it could have been chalked up as a...
Granny's looking at the puck.
Like, he's looking at the play.
He's not looking at Perry.
But I am also here to tell you,
Granlin definitely saw Perry.
And definitely threw his stick out,
putting a cross check right in the back ribs of Corey Perry.
and expertly played it off like,
he's in my fucking lane, dude.
I'm skating on the blue line.
Dude, I can't,
everything you just said is the correct analysis of what happened,
but I,
that's Dallas fans, Dallas team want to be like,
we're getting fucking screwed here.
That one is a penalty to me.
Because under no circumstances,
is he not looking at him?
And I've seen plays,
I've seen exactly those plays
where the guys genuinely aren't looking.
Yeah.
And they get hurt because you're like, fuck.
I wasn't, you knocked the wind out of me,
my body wasn't prepped for the impact.
He is, he's looking almost,
it's not even like one of the ease where I'm looking at you.
I can see you, but I'm not looking at you.
He's almost just like this, dude.
You look at the replay and I'm like,
he is looking directly at Corey Perry's back.
And I'm like, dude, you could have moved around him.
Now, Perry is not looking and is in his way to a degree,
but you just, he could have got around him.
And he was like, I'm just going to pull up.
I'm going to pump him.
Okay, so here's the, here's the interesting thing.
Given that Dallas has possession and Granlin is making an offensive move, if Perry was
facing Granland and they bumped, in my opinion, there's more of an argument for an
interference call on Perry.
Fair.
If he's truly getting in his way on purpose.
Yes.
So like when you're like, Granlin could have got around him.
My point is this, Granlin could have got around him by jumping into the offensive zone and going
offside.
Yeah.
Right?
So like that, that is, I'm telling you guys right now, like that rule there is that.
is interference. Like if Grandlin was skating in the blue line, the puck's nowhere near him,
and Perry just runs into him, and he goes off, they would be like, that's interference, dude.
Yeah, right, right. Now, the reason it wasn't called, I think predominantly is, that would have been a soft
call. Yeah. But it is, like, it sucks that Perry was banged up for a second, but he came back
and scored, so everyone fucking calmed down. It was just a funny play. I'm very happy that Perry's okay,
so it makes it funny. But it was one of those ones where I'm like, you can't call that, but
Granlin definitely saw him.
Oh my God. And Granny, dude,
not to tango too hard, but Granny
took that penalty on Drysadle with
fucking five minutes
left in the game. After he kind of
fumbled the puck, Drysaddle takes it, and then he's trying to get it
back and gets in his skate. And I think
live, we were both like, ah, that was a little
tight, especially at that time, but he sticks in his skate
dude. And Granny had that
Hattie against Winnipeg,
I think, yeah. And I remember
coming on one of these being like, there's
the guy you traded for.
huge moment for him, hadn't had a goal, or had one goal maybe, and then has that hat trick.
Dude, he hasn't done shit since then.
Yeah.
And has, and he was, no one was more mad at himself than him when he took that penalty
on dry saddle.
But I'm like, dude, you, I need you to not be like hitting Perry in the back and tripping
dry saddle and maybe scoring more goals.
Yeah.
If, if we're all going to go, this is the deepest top nine forward group I've ever seen in
NHL history, enter a playoff.
Yeah.
And no one's doing anything except for Miko Rant.
who also hasn't done shit in seven games.
Yeah, disaster.
I do want to say quickly about Perry.
Since 2000, the Boston Bruins have played 208 playoff games.
The Lightning have played 218.
The Penguins have played 219.
Corey Perry has played 230.
Wow, that is sick.
Fun stat from the worm.
God, good for him, dude.
What a fucking career.
Now let's get into Zach Hyman.
Weird play there.
What did you see on that one?
Extremely weird.
Anyone saying, and first of all,
and I think Declan calls it out a,
couple people in the chat have already said,
Noblock announced he's getting surgery and he's done.
We posted it.
Elliot Freeman said it,
yeah,
but Knoblock said he's getting surgery today and he's likely done for the playoffs,
which means he is done for the playoffs.
I think it would be a miracle if he came back,
which fucking blows.
So yes,
absolutely blows.
I do all,
I just want to chime in and say for,
you know,
any Dallas fans who might be like,
good or whatever,
Zach Hyman's one of the best guys in the league.
Yep.
Just a good human being.
So you hate this.
time you see a player leave, but just the added element of how good of a dude he is makes this
really suck.
I hate to see it.
So, but with that, all that said, that one, that one wasn't a cheap hit to me.
That one looked so fluky, freaky.
Like he was like, only Hyman knew he was hurt.
Like he, you know, it comes across his arms and he immediately was like, I'm done.
But I was like, what the fuck just happened?
Did he hit your stick?
It looked like.
Yeah.
There were some people, again, in all of the discourse going on,
People talking about, you know, the slash on hit.
Sean, our boy at what chaos, I think, was being like,
stop talking about the hint slash because of that hymn hit.
And I genuinely asking, I was like,
did you think that was dirty?
Because I didn't think it was dirty.
Like, that was a, they barely touched.
And I don't think that there was any lunge,
but I don't even know who it was on Dallas.
I think it was Marchman, I think.
I think it was Marchman.
Like, I don't, I didn't really see much of a lunge.
I don't know.
but my wonder is, Chris, is, was there a existing injury?
Like, maybe it's a shoulder.
Maybe it's a dislocation or something.
He literally doesn't touch him.
Yeah, and he, well, he throws a shoulder, like maybe there's going to be contact.
He's trying to hit him, and he literally just hits his stick coming across.
But there's no leg contact.
It's not below the knee or the hip.
It's just like it hits his hands.
Yeah, God, he knows it right away.
And, yeah, he drops his stick immediately.
Looks like he's favoring in that right side.
side and it's like it looks like it's a wrist or maybe a shoulder but like I wonder if there was an
existing injury there that that just aggravated to the point of no return yeah uh but just a shitty
play really unlucky yeah because this one it's like hyman makes the pass that's not late at all and
i give hyman a lot of credit because this is something we were talking about on the jarvey play
the other night hyman makes that pass yeah and then immediately his head up because he's like someone's
coming i'm not gonna i'm not gonna look at this backhand pass and get murdered so he picks his head up
sees him coming and braces like this.
Marshman comes right across the front.
So sucks so bad that he's hurt.
But for me, I don't know what the chat's saying,
but that one didn't look cheap at all to me.
For sure.
Hit me with some stats going on in this series
and from this game.
And then we're going to bring on Johnny Laz into the chat,
which will be fine.
Okay, cool.
Just to start, I would say the Oilers power play got so much hate
coming into the season because last year
they had the best power play in the league and this year it wasn't that
good and then coming into the King
series they weren't doing that much
on it and I was like wow that's
been such a weapon for them and this is a
narrative already where it's like the Orler's 5 on 5
is really what's winning them the playoff
games but the Oilers power play
is 9 for 16 at home
in the playoffs
and that has gone under the radar
because they've been really poor on the road
so when you look at the actual averaging out of their power play
it's only okay but
in Rogers place, you cannot take penalties against them.
Because they're scoring at well over a 50% rate, which is what they were doing last year.
Remember, like, you was like, oh, that always power play.
So this whole narrative of like, oh, their power play's been slowing down isn't true at home,
which is why you can't dump home games.
Like, you can't lose in Dallas and then go to Edmonton because you're like, well,
they're going to fucking kill us on a power play alone.
Yeah.
No, you really can.
And, you know, you pointed out Dallas has trailed in 14 of 17 games.
playoffs four of those have been this series right like they've been thrilled all for yeah yeah so but
even without that it would have been 10 of 17 so or not 17 but you get what I'm saying um I think the
crazy thing is is like this Dallas team is like yeah we we go down all the time like we're always
fighting from behind when I look back at this series you know like I picked oilers in seven
we almost should have said oilers in fucking five yeah because it's like if they were going to win
if there's a team that you can't go down against like if
that's Dallas's M.O. They're like, we always go down. I'm like, well, you're going to lose this
series because this is not a team you can go down against. I completely agree, man. This whole
thing, like, I couldn't believe when I looked it up that it was 14 of 17. You can't, it is,
I'm sure it's how people in the chat plate. You can't be expending this, chasing the game
energy this often. You just can't do it, dude. It's too hard. You're playing teams that are too good,
and yeah, we're the comeback kids, blah, blah, blah.
It doesn't matter, dude.
You just can't, you need to, try scoring first in a fucking game one time.
Seriously.
See what it's like making them change their game and try to chase it a little bit.
Trailing like this, you put up that stat forever ago that was like the chances, you know, the chance plus minus.
And it was like Dallas chances are minus 49 and the fucking oilers and the jets and the Panthers are all plus 80.
And it's like, through two series, I was like, well, that's all right.
Because Dallas, it doesn't matter.
Like they have otter and they can survive this.
You can't survive this anymore.
cannot survive being outchanced and outplayed and obviously outscored,
but just chasing the game so much, it takes too much out of you
and makes you play not your style of hockey, ever.
So, I mean, it's just outrageous that that's what they've been doing this entire
plan.
I can't even believe they're this far.
I agree.
Let's bring in Johnny Laz and see what he has to say about this series.
What's up?
What up, Laz?
How you do, I'm good, guys.
No lake talk today, hopefully.
C-T? No, dude. I want to dig on, we actually brought you into digging on the train division.
We,
someone, someone chatted, someone messaged Amtrak division.
And I was like, that actually sounds way cooler.
I like the Amtrak division more than train.
That does sound cooler.
I have a couple of thoughts, though, just from listening to the last, like, 10 minutes, if you guys.
Okay, hell yeah, just go right into it.
Allow me to have the floor.
One of the, like, I don't want to say beautiful things, because these are both kind of like,
like, not bad things, but, like, injury stuff is, like, always weird to talk about.
something about hockey that's always like kind of
funny I guess in some sort of way
or sick twisted way the Granlin
play on Perry the first goal
of the game Perry sets that pick on Grandlid
opens up the passing seam from
New John Hopkins to dry cycle bang goal 1-0
probably should have been called a penalty on Perry
definitely should have been called a penalty
and then Marchman hurting
Hyman I don't remember
if Marchmont was hurt
but I remember there being
discussion of a possible like suspension
last year Marchment was like
I think opening up for a breakout pass in his own zone,
and Heimann cross-checked him right from behind,
and he didn't have the puck.
Oh, dude, you're right.
You remember that?
100% you're right.
Wow.
So there's just like these weird ways of how the same two guys
always seem to come back full circle of some sort.
But I don't know.
That just came to my mind when I saw, like,
well, the Grandland thing I didn't really realize until this morning,
like watching the goal back.
Like last night I didn't like pick up on that.
But the Hyman thing,
I was like, damn, I remember him getting Marchman pretty bad last year.
And I also think that hit, I think Marchman just mistimed it.
Me too.
Well, he definitely does.
We were just saying, we just watched it again.
Like, I think the thing, whenever there's a, whenever there's a flyby, like buzz in the tower, play like that and an injury, my initial fear is always, oh, fuck, did someone catch a knee, catch a hip, something down low.
And Marchman definitely does, you know, he throws a shoulder.
Like he tore P.
Like he's trying to hit him open ice.
But he does mistime it.
But it's just the contact is so strange because Hyman just puts his hands out to protect himself.
His hands get clipped.
And then, like, yep, I'm dead.
So I just said to CP, I don't know if you heard it.
I'm curious if there was like a preexisting injury there for Hyman that got reaggregated
because the contact seemed so minimal.
But it was such an immediate reaction of like, oh, fuck, I'm hurt.
Yeah.
And then on the flip side with hints, it's like, oh, like what happened to him
that he missed game three and then gets slashed in the same exact spot and is fine.
To agree, I couldn't tell if Bouchard missed him a little bit because I was like,
that could have been disastrous, right?
Like if you're,
if you're taped up with a literal broken foot shot like a horse, shot up like a horse,
and then you take that slash there, that could have ended his game.
Well, I mean, he reacts pretty quickly.
Like his foot slides out.
He lunges down.
But yeah, like, I'm not saying anything.
But like, yeah, I'm sure he's shot up with some shit.
it and I'm sure that's wrapped up.
So that's probably why he was able to still play.
That's what I said.
I thought he was shot up to, yeah.
Oh,
it has to be.
Where are you at on this series?
Obviously,
the Heimann injury being out is terrible.
You hate to see that.
But we were saying it just,
yet again here,
a series with the Edmonton Oilers,
it feels like this team is just playing at a different level.
And I don't care if you're at home.
I don't care if there's an injury.
It feels like this is over in five.
Because last before the answer,
I'll tell you,
Dallas has never won a playoff series
when they went down 3-1, their 0-16 all-time.
Wow.
That's a good stat.
I didn't know that.
What I will say, which is probably the unpopular opinion, but I do think, like, I got a hot
take the other day, like, because we have to do like a Ninja Krispy hot take, like, three days
week.
And I was like, I actually think Carolina has a better chance of extending the series than I
think Dallas does.
Wow.
That is a hot take.
But it shouldn't be, like, that hot, right?
Like, yeah, I don't think it should be.
Just with how these teams have played, sure, Florida has been more dominant.
But even when Dallas has been at their best, they still haven't come close to being good enough to beat Edmonton, which is like bizarre.
Whereas Carolina, you felt like they just haven't been able to get to their game.
So it's a little bit different, right?
Like, that has a different feel to it.
But also, like, going into tonight, you know, Carolina, if there's one team in the NHL that I would,
count on to win a home game.
You take the last four games and put them aside,
one singular home game.
It's probably the Carolina Hurricanes.
I mean, I know the Kings had the great home year this year,
and I don't want to disrespect that.
So do the Keynes.
They had the same amount of wins.
31 wins, both of them.
Like, I think the Keynes are the best home team in the whole NHL.
So, like, for them to make it a game six,
I would have way more faith than right now,
Dallas to Porsche in Game 6,
just because with how good Edmonton has played.
And to you guys, what you mentioned,
like they're defending very well,
and they're playing well at 5 and 5.
It's not like the power play is just winning them hockey games.
and what I want to ask you guys about
because I couldn't come up with an answer this morning.
Like I said, is Stuart Skinner like possibly entering the Con Smyth conversation?
I know like he had a terrible first round,
but hard to keep him out.
I think it's impossible to keep him out.
What's interesting is we keep talking about,
I think the last couple of games we've definitely seen McDavid and Drysidal buzzing
a little bit more than they have been so far these playoffs.
and it's funny to say how we always be like Connor and Leon aren't even going that much.
They're one in two, one and three.
24 points, I think.
24 points, it's absurd.
But, you know, I do think when you look at the way things have gone, it's almost hard to not say, yeah, well, I mean, Stuart Skinner bouncing back is the reason that they're in this.
It's helping massively.
I know we kind of disagreed earlier, but that first period did last, because like you just said, we haven't seen Carolina get to their game.
We've seen Dallas be great.
stretches here. This, in game three, the second period, Dallas was everywhere. They had 20 fucking
shots or something. Right before the Robertson goal was like, oh, here they come. Yes. And, and then
McDavid scores with 20 seconds left and you're like, God, we left that period one, one. Last night, dude,
the first period, they left one nothing down after they were pummeling them. That is a nightmare fuel
if you were Dallas because you're like, those are our best punches on the road. Those are
incredible road playoff periods. And to leave them tied or losing.
you're like okay well we're dead i don't know what to do here and i tell of that to your point is skinner
where he's just locked in dude so many so many flurries and and i said this to you too the um
and this is a credit to the orders i guess but it's like every time there's a uh a shot and a rebound
where you know when you're watching on tv and you can kind of see a puck squirt loose where no one
sees it yet but the nets open and you're you kind of get up out of your seat you're like oh
this could be a goal in the when it's in front of skinner there's never a dallas player there
And you're like, oh, my God.
They could have scored, but there was no one there.
And every time it happens in front of Otter,
it feels like it's like on Perry Stick or on Hyman Sick,
and it's just either in or an insane chance.
So call it puck luck, whatever you want,
but it's like, man, the Oilers seem to be like pouncing on all those opportunities.
It's, dude, it's interesting to that point about Skinner and Laz,
I love what you said earlier about, you know,
the Keynes in their win were able to finally play their game.
And I had said, I'm not saying that Florida took a rest or anything,
like that, but I do think that that was the least intense we've seen Florida play in that game four,
which allowed- It felt like that Maple Leafs game six.
It felt like the same thing.
Yes.
Yes, it did.
And I think that that's what allowed Carolina to settle into their game more.
What's interesting about this Oilers team is I'm not saying, oh, yeah, the Oilers aren't
playing that great.
They are playing great.
I think they're playing better than they have all playoffs.
Yeah.
But what's weird is it's not like they're suffocating Dallas and not.
not letting Dallas get going.
Because like you mentioned,
that second period in game three
where they have 21 fucking shots
first period in last game.
Dallas has the opportunity
to be playing better
and they are hurting themselves.
They're not hitting the net.
They're not getting bodies in front.
They're not capitalizing on the power play.
Obviously, Edmonton has a part that's played in that.
But this Dallas team
is just doing themselves zero fucking favors.
Zero favors in this series.
It's brutal.
Laz, let me ask you this, dude.
the, because in the third period of the last two games,
in games like you just want to have so,
I mean, game three,
you want to have game four,
you need to have.
Third period of both games,
Dallas has four shots and in games they're losing.
And I can't remember what the score was in game three going into the third.
Maybe it was already pretty bad.
Yeah,
I can't remember.
I think it was three to one.
Yeah,
which is very getable.
That's what you came back from in game one.
David scored that late one to make it three to one.
Yeah.
Right.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, it's 100%.
Right, that's 100% right.
So yeah, it's not even that bad.
So you come in down 3-1 in game 3, which you just came back from in game 1,
and you come in down one goal, 1-0, 1-0 in game 4.
In a game you fucking have to have.
And they have four shots, dude, in both third periods of the last two games.
After showing, they can shoot 20 times in a period, right?
And I wanted to ask your take on that in general, but I just pulled this, that too.
And this feels like their team is a microcosm of what we saw,
the transformation we saw Zach Hyman have from regular season hits to playoff hits.
But these are the hits in the games,
counting backwards.
This is game four to game one.
Oilers have the lead in all of these.
50 to 24, 46 to 30,
49 to 28, 43 to 34.
And so the only close one was the game Dallas
actually did come back and win.
But I just wonder if
Dallas is just getting beaten.
We hear it from Florida all the time.
Matthew Chuck's like,
we wear you down, we wear you down.
But you don't really hear it.
That's not really the narrative in Edmonton,
but I wonder if that is exactly what's happening,
where Dallas has been able to muster nothing in these third periods.
What do you think about that?
No, I mean, listen, that's a good point.
I don't want to say, like, they've played,
I think it's been more shutdown than physical.
Yeah, I hear that.
Like, I don't look at Edmonton and think, like,
they've been beating the shit out of Dallas physically.
I don't, like, see it the same way I see it for the panel.
Yeah, like, the eye test doesn't show it, right?
Yeah, right?
Yeah, so that's interesting.
I mean, but again, like, I don't see Dallas as being that kind of team really either.
You know what I mean?
So I think even the Bushard thing last night, like as simple as like slashing hints on the skates,
like to me, it just feels like Edmonton's ramping up for who they know their opponent's going to be.
And they're probably having to channel that a little bit to go up against the banter.
You know what I mean?
Sorry, Dallas.
Sorry.
I don't need to beat out of you.
I just got to get ready for Florida.
But by, like, I don't want to sit here and.
Like by eye test, I don't feel that way.
Yeah.
So I don't, I mean, that's a great staff.
But I don't know.
That's something I'll look for, I guess, come game five to see if I pick up on that.
But that's not something I would say, like saying that it was 54 to 20, 50 to 24 last night.
Yeah.
That's not what I saw.
You know, it didn't look so lot.
Like, I wonder if there's something to it just underlying where I'm like, hey, doubt.
Like if I'm DeBoer, maybe, I mean, it's probably fucking too late now.
But I'm almost like, dude, go hit them back.
Like, I know where not.
this super physical team and we have all the depth
and we want to score but I'm like we are just
getting beaten up out there because
they said with 10 minutes left
in the third so halfway through a third period
where you're down a fucking goal that you have to win
the shots were 8-1
Edmonton in the third period of the 10 minute mark
and I'm like you're losing this game
dude like what if you have one fucking
shot in 10 minutes
you just that can't happen and I can't
quite pinpoint what combination
it is of Edmonton's physicality and lockdown
or whatever but that's insane
They've been, they've been, like,
Edmonton's done a really good job at, like, collapsing through the middle.
Everything seems to the outside.
Like, Dallas hasn't gotten on the inside much.
And, like, that's, you know, to your Skinner point before,
Evanton does a good job of protecting the house.
Yes.
Right?
Like, there aren't many chances coming from the slot.
There aren't many second or third opportunities.
And that's, you know, we've, we've joked, I guess, with the McDavid clips about the defending
and how he answers the questions of, like, yes, we can defend.
And they've shown that.
Oh, yeah, absolutely.
I mean, to what you just said and what you said earlier,
how many plays last night even were there,
where there was a shot that whistled wide,
hits the back stanch and pops right out for a tapping opportunity.
No one's there on Dallas.
A lot of plays,
or it's not bad rebound control,
but it's just, you know, a good shot that Stu kind of drops right on the crease.
No one there.
No one even close to there.
Dude, you know what Dallas has been doing weird for me?
I wanted to rewind this when we were watching last night,
but there, I've seen a bunch of plays where it's like, Edmonton will carry the puck up in the neutral zone up one of the wings.
And Dallas has two guys back.
And a guy on Edmonton will start flying through the neutral zone.
And I'm like, I can already see that I'm like, he's going to beat the Dallas defenseman to the goal.
And the Dallas defenseman starts to skate back, but just like not that hard.
And then he gets, the whole guy gets behind him and they throw that like backdoor sauce and Otter makes like some crazy deflection save.
And I'm like, dude, how are you getting, you're just getting outworked, outskated in the,
he's like, you have to play better, dude.
Absolutely.
You're your season's on the line.
It's, I think transition play has been devastating this series.
It's just the sheer amount of odd man rushes that we see in this series.
There was one point in that first period where it was just back and forth.
But for the most part, during this series, it just feels like Edmonton has the edge on
odd man rushes like crazy.
And we see it result in goals.
Obviously, it was game two or three.
Yeah, I think they were 10-0.
Aud man rushes were 10-0 game three.
And I think it was game two.
We had that, you know, three on one with Vic David that he scores.
And it's like, yeah, he's going to fucking score that every single time.
So fuck me.
It just, there's something going here for Dallas, or I should say not going.
Yeah.
That just it has them behind.
They're playing behind both literally on the score sheet and just in the, in the flow of play all game long.
It's meant.
I think it's part of it too is probably their lack of skill on the blue line.
Like, I mean, outside of Haskin and Thomas Harley, I think.
you know those two obviously have a ton of skill but does the rest of their blue line like
did they make things happen from d zone into offensive zone like not really whereas
yeah i guess like bischel and petrovich like the third line cc he's not doing it um lindel has
some offensive abilities but i wouldn't say he's elite in that category and you kind of look at
edmontons and you know granted like nurse and kulak maybe not the most offensively gifted but
walman's got some flare clingbergs got some skill bushard does
played really well. I mean, Evan Bouchard's total
180 from games 1 and 2 against the Kings to where he is right now
has been remarkable.
There's no doubt. I agree with you, but I am
going to challenge that.
Just based on what you said, I don't see an advantage
either side. Like, to me, like breaking the puck out and
like creating offense from your own zone. Because Dallas has
never to create any offense from their own zone. Like,
you know, who's probably the best in both of those groups at that?
Bouchard, I would say, but I would put Miro right behind him.
And then I would give me a-
I'd say Mero at fully healthy is actually better.
Yes, I think Miro Hayskin is a better player than Evan Bouchard.
I don't even think that's close.
Yeah.
But, you know, offensively, Bouchard is wildly given.
You have to give him that.
And but yeah, I mean, after that, I think it's like, it's Harley and Lendell for me.
It's like, you know, nurse and Walman is like, you know, good players.
But, like, if we're doing the three best on each side, I think Dallas has the advantage
and it's not close.
But they, they, you know, Edmonton's winning these battles.
It's crazy.
Can I throw an insane CP theory at you guys?
He's my favorite, yeah.
Just hear me out, dude.
I was thinking about my boy, Stu Skinner, dude.
My favorite player in the league.
And he, he's not kidding.
I'm obsessed with him, dude.
That's all I think about when I go to bed is Stu Skinner.
And when he has an incredible stash, right?
And he rocks just the stash.
And all regular season, he was not very good with respect, but he was just not very good.
And then through two games of the playoffs, he's not very good.
Horrible.
Yeah, same as last year, right?
Like beginning of playoffs, not very good.
Gets pulled.
And then when he comes back, he was great last year.
I would say very good.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And then he's been very good to great since he's come back this time.
when it's just stash, he doesn't have it.
But when it's stash and beard, he does have it.
But that's why the beginning of playoffs, the beard hasn't quite come in yet.
So it's not, he doesn't, he can't quite deliver.
But now that once he gets pulled, the beard goes in, then he comes back.
Stash beard skinner, unbeatable, just stash skinner, beatable.
But now, the only way to counteract this if you're Dallas is to sneak into his hotel room and shave just his beard, which feels impossible.
because of security and all that stuff.
So I think Dallas needs to do his kryptonite.
Everyone on Dallas shaves their full beard except stash.
If everyone on Dallas comes out game five, full stash.
Just full Amish.
Yeah, full, just stash.
I think that's Amish.
Wait, wait, wait.
I have beards?
Sorry, I thought you were saying shave just the stash.
No, no, no, no.
They need to do Skinner's kryptonite.
You're saying, Dan's saying Mo Shrew.
Yeah, yeah.
No, I want just stash because that's what Skinner.
But that's his thing, dude.
kids in Rogers Place are wearing fake mustaches.
I think you need to remove mustaches to show that you don't respect
mustache. Okay, so everyone in Dallas shapes just their stash.
And then shows up in game five.
You're telling me that that's not Stu's Crypt.
And I don't want it for him.
He's my favorite point in the league.
But you're telling me that's not Stu's kryptonite.
Listen, I'll tell you, it would get his attention.
If Stu Skinner just had a bunch of guys on Dallas bearing down on him trying to
score and he's just looking at these guys with no moustaches, that would rattle him.
He's like, they all shaved their stash?
Everyone would be talking about it on the bench.
everybody talking about it in the world what do you think last i uh i agree with uh sam static in the chat
he's reaching for this take um i'm getting a little bit of of celtic pride energy great movie
yeah yeah yeah sam just said one of your worst yet cp i don't know dude everyone says it's a bad
take if fucking stars come out with no mustache as a game five and they win four or nothing then
it's kind of like it's giving a little bit of the uh i hate that i said it's giving oh my god um
fucking jenzie
Yeah, but semi-pro mascara vibes.
Dude, even better reference.
Even better reference.
Right?
Like, I think that's what I'm getting from that.
So they got to try something.
They're going to ragdoll, dude.
Come out without a stash.
Nothing to lose.
Nothing to lose.
Yeah, nothing to lose.
I think that's my response to another hairbrain scheme from you is that-
This one might be genius, dude.
I'm telling you.
This one might actually be fucking true.
Dallas is in the unique place right now where if they can do
anything and it's not like people are going to go
well that backfired they'll go we're down three one dude
we're oh and 16 in our history
down 3 1 we had to try something
we've always had stats so in those other 16 we had stashes
yeah I think that they've got
a nice situation here where they can
they can give something a shot
I'm telling you dude you imagine that actually that
happened
dude can you
can you imagine bro
you're such an idiot
oh my god dude it's fucking
genius fucking insane how much
a idiot but no one ever tries these things
That's the thing.
They are like, oh, another dumb take.
And I'm like, just try it, dude.
See what happens.
Just try it one time.
Makes you more aerodynamic.
Yeah, maybe they could skate with the oilers, dude.
Maybe they could skate with the fucking oils if they weren't holding them the mustache.
You know what?
I'm starting to believe.
What do you think tonight, last?
I think Carolina finds a way.
Really?
Wow.
Yeah, I do.
Fuck yes, dude.
Also, our friend Chris Jostremski tweeted before,
I believe the Panthers, let me find it, he just had it.
It was a Panthers power play stat and their power play looked horrendous in game four.
Jazz said in five regular seasons slash postseason games without Sam Reinhart this year, Florida is 0 for 16 on their power play.
Damn, what a poll.
That is a great, great staff I chose. Wow.
He really, it felt evident even just watching the last two that they can win without Sam, but that, God, he is.
kind of does stir that power play drink for them big time.
I'm glad all those boys skated, including, including Rhino.
I don't know if he's going to play, but just like that you've got to get on the ice,
you know, and I was worried that they kept being like, we'll see with him, but he hadn't
skated yet.
Let me look at the lines.
Yeah, they all skated yesterday.
And I think they were supposed to skate this morning, which I guess it is over there already.
So yeah, maybe you have something.
Oh, it does.
This was updated May 28th.
Ryan Hart is actually projected to play tonight.
It looks like Rodriguez.
Oh, yeah.
I just seen in the chat, all three of them expected to play.
Yeah, which is surprising.
I thought Rhino was going to be done for the season.
Not because I thought the injury.
Sorry, yes, thank you.
Done for the series.
Not because I thought it was that severe.
I thought it was just a precautionary thing.
They were like, just sit out.
And you know what?
I will say, Las,
the fact that all three of these guys are expected to play,
I think is a bit of respect.
for the canes. I think it's Florida being like,
this team isn't going to roll over.
Like, we need our guys. If we're going to beat this team,
we need our guys. So I think
that that's, it's a good sign for Florida, but I
also think it's some respect to Carolina.
They find a way if everyone's playing last
or change, or pick changes now.
I still think they find a way.
But to counterpoint, Katie
Angelson reported that
she can confirm the same group that went
to Dairy Queen the night before game two,
also went to Dairy Queen last night.
Oh, fuck, dude.
That's bad. That's a bad fact.
I don't know.
But I have a hard time believing that Carolina
loses every single home game in this series.
I think they got a lot of people.
I said the same thing about Tampa, though,
because this is like pretty much the same script
of the Florida Tampa series.
And I was like, no way does Tampa lose game five at home two,
Florida by and doing six.
And then they just got crushed again.
So I almost think I learned my lesson.
I had Carolina given them a dog fight in this series
and then I'm an idiot again.
So I changed in seven stars in six
So what the fuck do I?
Yeah, right, same
So it's like I think you gotta go
I think I just got to
I gotta believe Florida responds after the loss
I'll probably take them
Las did you say that the Dairy Queen crew
Got went back to Dairy Queen today
Last night
Well okay I was like
10 a.m.
Yeah, not today
Yeah, dude nothing wrong with a breakfast blizzard
You shitting me?
Wow
Who do you got?
Breakfast
Blizzard
This fucking guy, dude
I just
Was that wax laughing like that in the background?
No,
it's edge.
Unbelievable.
It sounds awesome.
I mean,
it might.
It might.
Yeah,
we can't talk about that.
I've got Florida.
I think I totally hear
the like,
is Carolina really going to lose all three at home?
But I look at it like what you said,
Les.
I think Florida's game three was Florida's game six against
Toronto and I think that they just come back strong.
I think they come back with all these guys.
I also think that
they see the writing on the wall of Edmonton
likely taking care of this in five and they don't want
to be, you know, have
any more tread on the tires. I think
Florida wins.
Yeah. I definitely think
both of these teams want to end it at the round
the same time. Just neither one wants
to sit around. So I think we might
be in two fives, which I fucking, I can't
believe sometimes I feel like the conference
finals go so
quickly sometimes.
You know, occasionally
we've had some great Epic
seven gamers, but I feel like more often that you get
like four one sweeps because you're
just like bad matchups, whatever.
I don't know last year.
Yeah.
You know, both two two going into game five.
Which is awesome. Yeah.
And I was expecting that again this year.
We could still get it, I guess.
You know, they could fight back.
But I was expecting like two seven gamers this year.
And they were like, nah.
Two gentlemen sweeps. Get fucked.
All right.
Before we wrap this up,
also, Las, thanks for joining.
We talked about it at the top of the show.
I just want to get your opinion.
What do you think as a fellow Eastern Conference team fan about the Marco Sturm
rumors to the Boston Bruins head coach?
I don't think anything of it.
But it's honestly like it's...
Donny Ladz confirmed Marco Sturm disrespect.
No, it's honestly, Dan, it's just like how I, even the Mike Solubin higher for the Rangers.
Like, I also don't think anything.
of it.
Like,
yeah,
both these teams have to fix their roster before I believe they can accomplish
anything.
So for that,
like you can bring in the best coach in the history of the sport.
I don't think you're getting to the same like a final with the roster they have
right now.
So that,
that's just,
I mean,
that, listen,
maybe I'll be more excited when I see things happen come October.
But right now,
I,
what's there to be excited about,
about the Bruins roster?
Okay.
That's a correct.
That's a correct take as far as the team.
What do you think more so from a standpoint of first time head coach in the
NHL,
young coaching hire kind of bucking the trend of the coaching carousel of all of these old heads.
Yeah, I like that movement at all. Yeah. And listen, he's, you know, former Bruin, I'm sure, like,
has a lot of love with the organization. And it's not one of those like big legacy names that you
see coaching behind a bench now. Like, you know, I'm sure you guys have touched on Roder Brindamore
too and like how sometimes, you know, a guy who's such a big part of an organization as a player that
doesn't work out as a coach and then it gets all weird with firing, you know, all that kind of stuff.
but, you know, I don't know.
You mean maybe like the, the GM and vice president situation in Boston.
That's up too.
But like full transparency, I don't know enough about Marco Stern as a coach.
Like who am I to judge like the way he coaches?
Yeah.
But I think it's great to see new blood.
Like I'm always happy to see someone get their first chance or someone get a shot.
So it's a great job to have for a guy who hopefully gets some patience from upper management
because they're not going to be good overnight.
So, you know, hopefully Stern can get like two, three years to turn the Bruins into a contender again
because they were nothing but a contender basically for the past 17 years outside this past season.
So, yeah, listen, I always love seeing the original six teams competitive and good.
So I hope they can get back to that next year.
Last, I just want to call out Samantha earlier in the chat said you have a new relationship glow right now.
I definitely do.
Yeah.
Thank you.
Dude, I really appreciate how you are treating your new relationship as if you were an A-list celebrity that you need to make a statement about it.
The whole thing started on our show last year because I was going on a first date and I brought my own ice skates to an ice skating date.
And ever since then, everyone was just like invested in my dating life.
Yeah.
I've just like updated our chat like whenever something good was going dating wise.
Yeah.
And it like kind of turned into like a easy way to make fun of me, which I obviously welcome as you guys know.
So I just like I commented in Jeff Marrick's chat like in the sheet chat that like I had a great first date or something because like they had asked.
and he turned it into like a quote graphic.
So I was like, you know what?
Oh, yeah, I saw that.
I was like, I'll just, you know, I'll play with it.
But she loves it.
So that's what's great.
You know, she's all for it.
That is literally all that matters.
And yeah, I can confirm she's a good sport about it.
That's fantastic.
What do you guys think about it to a date?
What do you guys do?
Dude, I'm glad you circled back to that.
I wanted to bring that up.
I'm going to, I have your back on this.
Yeah.
I don't think that that's crazy at all.
But here's the thing, man.
own ice skates to an ice skating date.
Like, I don't want to stick, if I have skates, why wouldn't you bring them?
I don't want to stick my feet in a bunch of shitty rental skates that have had people with gout
in there, like, get out of here.
And you probably, you skate horribly in those.
I'm actually like, gout is contagious.
And then it's fucked because then you're like, you've been like, oh, I'm a college
hockey player.
Exactly.
And then you're in rentals.
And she's like, you blow, dude.
So you've got to bring your own skates.
Okay.
So let me, let me just flip the script here because those were both what you guys just said were my
exact thought processes, I don't know if that's word.
Um, but then someone was like, well, yeah, imagine bringing your own bowling shoes to a bowling date.
That's fucking lame.
And I was like, if you compare the two, yeah, that's, I don't.
Yeah, I don't love that.
That's kind of lame.
Like, that's tough.
Wait, I don't think that's lame at all.
I think that's lame.
I think that's beyond lame.
If you are-
Edge just quit, just quit.
Shut the fuck up, Edge.
Producer Edge is getting all high and mighty here.
Joe Mazzola in your chat just said, that's like bringing your own clubs to top golf.
Dude, dude, yes.
Joe just said then the chat.
That shit drives me insane.
Okay, okay, okay.
Actually, that is a great example.
By the way, Joe Maz just said another great one.
Cats are 0 and 6 whenever a dolphins player bangs the drum.
That is such a bad fact for the dolphins.
Like, they're such a loser franchise that they go into the winningest team in the NHL right now and make them lose.
Like, Jesus Christ, get out of that arena.
Fucking bums.
Top golf, I agree, Joe.
I will draw the line there.
But bowling, like if you're a competitive bowler, but if you're a competitive bowler,
What's wrong with bringing your shoes?
It's just lame.
It's just lame.
Oh, okay.
Sorry.
Yeah, date.
Date I can get down with that.
You got your own ball and shoes.
Ball I think is lame if it's a date.
Yeah.
But like if you're going competitive bowling,
you should bring your ball and shoes.
Yeah, I bring my own clubs when I go.
Yeah, but not doing it.
It was a second date.
Yeah.
Well, no, I thought the chat said like,
would you bring your own shoes bowling?
And I'm like, if you're just going bowling,
yes.
No.
This was all about.
Yeah, if we're talking my second date, do not bring shoes, bald.
And I had my skates in a bag with me.
I'm insane.
Oh, my God.
I'm kind of torn.
I agree on the bowling.
Skating, though.
I don't know, man.
You can't be looking like you're a pigeon out there.
What I will say is that the gods were on my side because I showed up to the rink and it started downpouring.
So we pivoted and went to Dave and Busters.
Did you add your skates with you?
No, I brought him back to my.
apartment that I met her, David Busser. Yeah, oh, huge, huge. They were on your side. That's amazing.
Johnny, the one thing I'll close us with that I keep wondering, because we, you and I have been
known to rollerblade around the Santa Monica boardwalk going to bars and shit like that is the,
do you bring a pair of shoes like slung over your shoulder or do you just go into all of
these bars in your blades? In your blades. And I think it's in your blades. Just keep the blades on.
Me and G spent, me and G spent like four hours last spring.
It was like the last day of the NHL season, roller skating on the west side highway in New York.
We stopped at two different bars.
We finished at the Canuck, which Dan, you've now been to the Canuck, right?
Yes.
I don't know if you have.
We were at the bar in our rollerblades for like three hours.
And funny enough, actually, like I rollerbladed at home.
This is stupid.
I shouldn't say this.
I rollerbladed at home basically drunk, which was dumb.
I don't know.
Is that legal?
Dude.
Yes.
What?
No, I just looked this up last.
So funny, you said that.
Because you can get a DUI on a bike and like a fucking electric scooter,
obviously all that shit out here, or at least in California.
I was looking up here.
And they were like, you actually can't in California state law get a DUI on rollerblades.
So I was like, dude.
Nothing illegal.
Okay.
Nothing illegal.
Okay.
Good.
Huge play.
That's great.
All right.
That's going to wrap up this episode.
Laz, you're the best.
Thanks for joining.
Johnny has the canes tonight.
Cats, I think.
Yeah, and we're on the cats.
but we'll stay tuned.
We'll be watching all this good shit.
Someone just said it in the chat,
if the cats close it out,
will you and I eat Dairy Queen
on the podcast tonight?
Good idea.
Yeah, I like that.
That's a freebie.
Las,
plus plug everything you got going
and then plug some merch.
Yes.
Just morning show for me,
morning cup of hockey
on the daily face-off YouTube channel
every day at 9.
Not every day,
Monday through Friday,
9 a.m. Eastern.
Next time you guys are on
East Coast hours,
we got to get you on, by the way,
because Kobe keeps saying
we got you guys on.
But I don't want to make you guys.
100%.
Can't make you guys.
Can't make you guys wake up at 6 a.m.
I'll wake up at 6 a.m. for you.
All right.
Yes, check out morning cup of hockey.
For us, guys, go to the Empty Netters.
Dot shop store.
I'm putting it right now in the chat.
We've got some awesome new merch flowing right now.
We just dropped our new lakehouse crew neck,
which is so fucking sick.
It's like if you want to look classy, you want to look rich.
Get this sick-ass crew neck.
It's amazing.
Producer Edge just popped it up on the screen.
We've got great shirts for our Oilers fans, Stars fans, Katz fans, and Keynes fans right now for your
playoff pushes.
We've got great empty nose and mercy.
You've been seeing us wearing it.
New one coming out.
Yeah.
Yeah.
When does that come out?
Today.
Today?
Okay.
It's going to drop today.
But yeah, scoop some of that stuff.
It's all in the shop right now.
Amazing shit from the chat.
As always, we love you guys.
Dial into the game tonight and we'll see you tomorrow morning on the podcast episode.
Make sure you subscribe.
Like.
Five-star review. All the good shit.
Love you, boy.
