Empty Netters Podcast - If The Jets Can Win A Road Game They Will Win The Cup w/ Jason Demers | LIVE.EP11
Episode Date: May 16, 2025The boys go live for their 11th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs. ALSO JOINED BY JASON DEMERS!!!!! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESEN...TED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Well, well, well, well, well, we are back.
A lot of people said we would never come back, but we made it.
It's another Friday where you're doing an empty netters live show brought to you by BedMGM.
I am Chris Powers in L.A.
That is Dan Powers in New York.
And welcoming to the show, our good buddy, Jason Demurz, also in New York.
How are we doing, boys?
Yeah, you're outnumbered, CP.
We got the two New York boys here, and we're just looking at your pretty ass in the studio.
I love that Eastern Conference All-Star jersey
That's an added to the bottom.
New guns.
Other shoulder, other shoulder.
It's in the TV.
I got mirrored.
JD, how we doing, babe?
Yeah!
Let's ride, boys!
Come on, dude.
That's the energy I needed.
I was trying to pretend I was frozen,
and then I just had the slow blink going
because my eyes were just burning.
There was a moment where I was like, wait, is he frozen?
He too.
He got me.
I was like, okay, here we go.
Something's coming.
Something's coming.
Let's ride.
Oh, God, that's awesome.
This is going to be one hell of a show, boys.
We've got JD for about 20 minutes, so we're just going to rip it.
We're going to get right into it.
We're going to get weird on this Friday.
Going to have a blast.
And we got to talk about the Keynes first.
Unbelievable stuff, man.
I can't, I mean, listen, I'm not surprised the Keynes won this series,
and I'm certainly not surprised after the way they played through the first three games.
But here we are.
We've got an absolute shit kicking.
Like, what are we thinking here, fellas?
Crazy.
I don't understand.
We talked about it yesterday on the network.
And I felt like, you know, I felt like it's like your parents, you know,
and you spill milk on the floor.
And they kind of knew it was coming.
Everybody knew it was coming, but we were just disappointed because we thought you knew better.
And we thought this leaves team, which, you know,
know i think in deep inside unless you're not unless you're cats fans i think everybody kind of
wants them to win because this shit show's just been going on too long and we're like this is the time
this is the time to step up everybody's going to step up everybody's going to have a game and they fall
flat and they lay an egg and they lay an egg of epic proportions and you know i had them to win that
game i cannot believe that they lost into the likes of you know meekola of kula kooli
It was all the demon, the second and third pairing deemann scoring.
And nothing against those guys are great.
But I just feel like it's a cultural thing that they just can't seem to shake.
And now they can go on to win the series.
And if they do so, that's great.
But that's the only way that they absolve this season and this playoff run is if they win this series.
Because even though they have a fantastic game tonight, they win, they go to game seven,
they lose. We're all going to look to this game, which was a game where they needed to have
and they did not have it. And that is just, again, I'm disappointed because I love them all and I'm
disappointed.
Dude, J.C. Hold on, hold on. CP. You know how I know this is a horny Friday is because I
tried to kick off the Capp series and J.D. just went straight into the bloodbath of tonight and I love
it.
Did we go talk caps Cates? I was like fired up for Toronto. I just had to talk Toronto.
I'm glad you did. Like, I'm glad you did. Like, let's, I'm, I'm glad you did.
Like let's, I mean, come on.
What, why?
Wait,
Oh, man.
I didn't even smoke a J.A. before this.
No, no, let's, let's, let's, no.
I like it.
No, I like it.
You started it off.
We're talking the game tonight first.
The tickers all fucked up.
It doesn't matter.
I want to talk about Florida, Toronto, because you got us going.
Like, we're not going to get that foreplay and then not finish off here.
I, I am, I'm with you, man.
Like, we watch those.
first two games. We gave them all the respect. Chat, don't worry. We'll get back into the cap series
after, but this is good. We've got JD for 20. We've got to talk about this series. The way that these
last three games have gone and when you look back and realize that it all started with a Brad
Marchand OT winner, when it looked like the Leafs might have gone up 30, might have had complete
control, and then bang. Florida's back in it. Then we get a shut out. Then you damn near get another
shut out. Bob is back. The big boys in Toronto look like they have completely.
rolled over. They're exposing the belly, looking for a belly rub so they can go off to play
some golf. I don't know how you possibly feel anything but pure dread if you are a Toronto fan.
Yeah, I, you know, I've been hard on the Toronto fans all year, specifically the lower bowl.
And, you know, not to say that they didn't piss a drop last game because they did it.
They were, they were quiet as church mouse, but church mice, but they didn't give, you know,
the Toronto team didn't do anything to bring them into that game.
It was, you know, other than maybe the first minute of the second period,
I think it was all Florida Panthers.
And it just goes to show you there's levels to this league
and to this championship mentality that I feel like is lacking in Toronto.
And until they do something, you know, we had MESA on NHL Network that game.
We talked to him a little bit.
And he said two things that's like sat with me since that I was, you know,
it really was like an indication of just his knowledge and wisdom of the game and being a leader.
He was like two things is one, you need to do something outside of your game that makes you uncomfortable come playoff time to win a championship.
You truly do.
Whether it doesn't have to be everything because if you're a goal score, you got to score goals.
But there's a moment and there's moments in a series where you have to do something outside of your character.
You have to go out.
You have to block a shot.
You have to maybe get into some fistick up, get your ass kicked.
But just to help the team win.
And then the second thing is winning changes you.
And you understand what it takes.
And these long playoff runs change you.
You look at the Edmonton Oilers.
That long run last year changed them going into this year.
They understood and understand what it takes to win and how hard it is.
Florida Panthers, since that finals run, they have understood and get what it takes to be a championship.
team because you don't know unless you go through that and you have to go through that you know
the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different result and that's
what toronto's done and they just you know they they kind of give you the same canned answers
and and after the game in the league of when a game's bad responding to the media because i know
the media is tough on them and again it's hard to win in this league but they have done the same thing
every season and expecting a different result somebody has to
go in there and say fucking enough's enough i got to either swing my stick and get especially that
last game with 10 minutes left to not have a response and to just kind of be waiting for the game
to be finished no somebody needs to go you know whether it's Mitch barner whether it's uh john
tavarez whether it's austin matthews whether it's william nilander you got to go and spear somebody
slash somebody get into a fight show them that you give a shit and it's not to say i think
they all care. I think they all care. And I don't want this to get clipped and be like,
I don't care. No, every player in the NHL cares. But the thing is, is you have to care so much
that you have to be willing to do something that's not within your character. And you step
outside of yourself for the team, for the, for the, for the fans, and for the Toronto Maple Leafs
Crestle you're wearing on the front of your jersey. So again, it's not an indictment on any of these guys.
is just saying that that's what it takes to win.
And do the Toronto Maple Leafs core four, do they have it within them?
I don't know.
We're going to see.
We have two more games.
We're going to see if they have it in them.
But last game, they did not show that one iota.
And, you know, they're the only two things.
Those four guys and Brandon Channahan, that are the things that are left from this franchise,
this organization.
Everything's kind of been changed.
So it comes down to them.
So they've got to be willing.
Everything's changed but them.
So they have to be willing.
finally change and shed that skin and turn a beautiful goddamn butterfly for all of that.
It's true.
You and I were talking about the William Nealander effect from last game.
Like what did you think the effort levels were looking like from those guys and what needs to change?
Well, I said, dude, it was so crazy watching in, I think it was back-to-back nights,
watching McDavid have a first period back check so hard.
He goes creating into the end boards.
and then Mitch Marner spinning around like a top while he gets back posted, you know.
Throwing fucking pizzas through the neutral zone.
Exactly the difference right here.
McDavid is literally willing to fucking break his collarbone in the first period of a series.
He's up 3-1.
You know, like that's the effort needed.
Yeah, it's so true.
It's so true.
And, J.D, to go into what you were just saying, dude, the thing that fucking blows my mind about this team.
And I hate comparing people to McDavid because you're comparing people to a T-1000 that's been sent from
the future to play hockey. But you see that guy doing his press conference after beating the
wheels off of Vegas and being like, yeah, I don't give a shit about your stupid question and I don't
care about anything. And I'm not going to smile because I felt the pain of last year and the only
thing that matters to me is winning. And that is that that gets you fired up. That's that Kobe
mentality, right? That's the what's there to be happy about. And you then watched Matthews with his
fucking tail between his legs after the game doing the like, oh, you know, we didn't give him a reason to
stick around and he looks bored.
He's like, yeah, here we are again.
I hate that I have to answer this question.
And it's like, you know, I know you can't judge, like you said, you can't judge a player's
character or their mentality based on how they're talking to the media.
But you can definitely do it on how they look on the ice.
And I said to CP, I thought Neelander looked like he was playing a completely different
game from the rest of those guys.
And, you know, they're still getting dog walked 6-0, 6-1.
So it's just like if you can't
If you can't get a fucking hard on at home
In front of your fans trying to stay alive
Do we really think they're going to go down to sunrise
With a bunch of those bathsalt lunatics in the stands and win
I think this barn is going to be fucking mental tonight
And I just don't see how if these boys can't get up at home
And can't get up you know throughout their careers
What makes us think they're going to do it away tonight?
Yeah, it's the time will tell
And, you know, I don't want to go too hard on the players because, you know, you look at Brendan Chanahan above all this.
And Brendan Chanahan had ample opportunities to make changes.
Not to say that they can't pull this series out of the fire.
I just think it was such a bad collapse.
Everybody thinks the series is over.
But you never know.
They can come out and win tonight and win game seven.
We're all going to be like, oh, we look like idiots.
So I'm kind of still reserving my full shit kicking for these guys.
but what I look to in Florida versus Toronto is you had Jonathan Huberto there who I love
Jonathan Huberto.
He's a hell of a player.
He was coming off 115 point season.
This team, we thought, was prime for the, for the Stanley Cup run.
They go and make a huge trade and go get Matthew Kachuk.
Now, at the time, people go, what the hell's going on?
You trade away McKenzie Weeger and you trade away Jonathan Huberto for Matthew Kachuk.
It's like, what the hell's going on?
like these are two guys that had career years.
Well, there's times in an organization.
You have to make that tough trade if you think that the guys that are there are not going
to get you to the top.
Now, Jonathan Hubertoe and McKenzie Weger, if they stayed in Florida, this team would
be in the playoffs every single year.
Would they have won?
I don't know.
They obviously thought Bill Zito that they could win without them and bring in Matthew
Kachuk.
But that categorically changed that team, and it turned that team into a lot of
a bunch of goddamn lunatics, like you said.
Now, Jonathan Hubert Ope, fantastic player,
McKenzie Weger is a borderline Norris trophy defenseman.
Yep, yep.
But you had to give up something to get that dog
that was going to be the catalyst to win you a cup.
Now, you look at Mitch Marner.
That could have quite possibly been Mitch Marner's last game
at home in Toronto because now of a sudden they lose that game.
There's reports coming out from Chris Johnson that he's kind of mulling leaving.
And I'm like, well, the whole season,
And it was like, I'm staying, I'm staying, I'm staying.
And now when your backs against the wall and you lose a game, you might leave.
I would have traded him this past year.
I know he had a fantastic season, but it's very similar to Mitch Marner and Jonathan Eberter,
Mitch Marner was leading the team in points.
Now, I think people are going to ask, do we resign him?
We've got to pay him.
Do we pay him?
I think you don't, regardless of if they win the cup or not, I think you move on.
and you have to find something to come compliment these other pieces on your team
because Mitch Marner is a fantastic player.
But he is,
I don't know if he's going to be the guy to get you over the top.
Dude, and isn't it so,
I mean,
I agree with all that.
In this situation,
I'm going to say in this situation.
Yeah.
It would be in a different situation and win.
And that's the thing.
Like,
it requires a perfect chemistry of all the teams together,
of all the players together.
You need to find the perfect balance.
I don't know if they have the balance in Toronto.
them. Yeah. They need something. They know it's change. It's fair. And I actually hadn't really
considered this when you were talking about the core four and shanny kind of being the last
guard of what they built. And there's a chance that they lose Marner and Tavaris, which is an
interesting thing. It's like there's a, there's a world where you look at this and all that's
left is Matthews and Neander after this year. And I will get back to you, this isn't over.
I mean, they could absolutely win tonight. We're kind of shitting on them for losing three
straight. But this is a different team. I do like what Brubay's done.
could absolutely win this game in force seven but there is that element you're right that's just
like i mean if i think about marner and how good he is he's getting selky votes most seasons
people forget that you know despite his shortcomings in the playoffs the thing that i can't get over
is if you are this leif's team and you come this close you bring in broube and if you lose this game
or if you lose in seven and then marner and possibly tivarez walk for free that is going to be
such a tough pill to swallow.
And when you add on top of that, the fact that there were rumblings of a possible
one-for-one Marner-Rantan trade when he was still in Carolina.
And you could think about Rantin and plan how he is right now could be on this leaf.
Yeah.
Signing an 8 by 12, like that is going to be haunting.
Like if they do not win this series, that is going to be haunting if these guys leave.
Yeah, it's getting, I think initially it'll piss the fans off.
but at the end of the day, like, that's money you don't have to spend that you can spend somewhere else now.
The perfect world, you can get your deal done.
But I know as GMs and stuff like that, it's tough to kind of make things, especially that magnitude.
We're trading a big player like that, like Mitch Marner and, you know, everything has to fall in the place perfectly for you to execute that trade.
So I do give them a little grace there.
So, but that's just money you don't have to spend.
I just don't think that's the guy you bring back, especially if he wants 13 million.
And I think he'll get it.
And I think he'll go get around between 11 and 13 million.
I think he's deserved that.
Again, I'm giving him his flowers.
I just think to win a cup in this situation, I don't know if they have it.
Because if I'm them, and let's say they beat Florida, Bing, Bang, they beat Florida in 7.
They get Carolina next.
Now they get Carolina next.
Carolina is dogs on a bone right now.
Like they look, and this is a perfect segue in TV of us getting to,
the Captain's game, which is how I'd like to bring things full circle.
But you play this Carolina team, if you're the Toronto Maple Leafs, like, you're, hey,
this is, this is no bueno because these guys come and they do not stop coming.
And I don't mean that in the Donald Trump sense of their come, but they come hard.
They do.
They do.
Yeah, C.P.
I wanted to ask you something about Matthew Cucuk, because I should have thought it was such a,
such good insight and how that changed the culture of the team.
what do you do in a playoff series
when you're going against a Matthew Kachuk
and he's doing all the head game shit
like all nice pointing in Nielander
you know pointed elbows, you're next buddy
but then you see on the ice in game five
Maddie Naz being like you want to go
but it's like four nothing Florida so Chuck's like no
so like if you can't just fight him
how do you combat his mental warfare
in a playoff series?
Well that was like the other thing is he's yelling and chasing
William Mielander down don't even ask him
number one to fight just jump him
And if you take a penalty at that point at 4-0, who gives the shit if you take a two-minute penalty?
Grab them and try to get as many swings on him.
And then the thing with him is like, you know, I find with Chuck, when you leave him alone,
there's like two things.
When you leave him alone, it kind of gets him more and more confident.
But then also when you go after him late in a game like they do, it gives him, he knows you're winning.
You have to go on.
You've got to get on him early and you have to stay on him.
You need to have a guy like I look at like a Bobby McMahon.
I'd be like Bobby McMahon, you're playing against Matthew Kachuk, all playoffs,
kind of like Montreal did with Anderson and Tom Wilson.
They had Josh Anderson on Tom Wilson all series.
Yes, they lost in five, but that was a way closer series than anybody would have thought.
People thought they would have rolled, steamrolled Montreal.
And every single one of those games could have went Montreal's way.
I would have taken a guy up on Brubay and said, listen, Bobby McMahon,
this is your guy, Matthew Kichuk.
try to score, try to play, play good defense.
When you are on the ice with him, if there's a whistle,
you're running into him, you're cross-checking him.
When he has the puck, you are running him over,
give an opportunity.
And after every whistle, you are making it.
So he's only just thinking about you and not thinking about William Neelander.
Because, again, you can hear him on the broadcast.
Yeah, really.
Hey, Willie.
And I'm like, is somebody going to go over there,
throw a water bottle at him or something?
Like, because, again, you can say it doesn't affect you.
but yeah it affects you and it affects your team because no one's saying anything and you know it's
again i know that's probably told to them from the coach's i like don't don't entertain him don't
entertain him but for matthew he's so good at that and and it's kind of like he's so good at that man
you're right it's so tough like because if you let him do his thing he's going to do his thing
but if you don't and you late in the game you you you ask him to fight and you try to run him
that kind of gets him going more so you have to stay on him right away and almost burn a game
treat him like you would treat him McDavid.
And I'm not saying he's Connor McDavid skill-wise,
but he's able to affect the mentality of a lot of the top players
just because he's so good at those mental mind games.
You get on him and you just every shift, every shift,
you cross-check him, every shift, you talk to him, you chirp him.
Doesn't matter if he scores on you three times.
You stay on it all series and invest to try to pull him out of his own game.
And that's just some of the stuff that they haven't really learned.
like you were like you were saying that mess said right there's there's the panthers have
learned how this stuff works over a long playoff series and the leaps haven't quite figured that
out yet 100% yeah yeah uh i was gonna say to close out that that series tonight it does
feel so much like matthew kachak hasn't hasn't potted a big goal in a few games and
if we're you know you got bad mjm behind you i mean minus 230 right now so the high
I mean, that's a, that there hasn't been a minus like 200 in a while in the second round.
And that is a huge.
They know something.
Yeah.
Matthew Kachuk, anytime goal score seems real juicy right now is all I'll say.
All right.
Let's kick it back to the beginning.
Cats, Cains, like we had to talk about.
This was the series, J.D, that I was saying to you guys.
And, you know, CP, you and I have talked about this so much.
I thought that this was going to go seven.
I was so pumped up for this series.
Couldn't wait to see how both these teams matched up against each other.
I've believed in the caps so heavily all season.
So many people wanted to call them frauds.
I don't think they're frauds.
I think this series has showed us how insanely good defensively this Kane's team is.
Because yet again, caps in a back against the wall at home need to win.
They get 19 shots in this game.
Four in the first period, five in the second period, 0 for 3 on the power play.
OV can't get going.
What did you guys see in this game and then kind of the whole series?
Well, I mean, this game was the best effort that the caps made to get to the net.
And I think get to Freddie Anderson.
I mean, not enough credit goes to Freddie Anderson.
He has been fucking lights out.
Dude, we said last episode, we think he's probably the best goalie in the playoffs right now.
Like it's in him or onger before last night.
But the thing with Freddy is, Freddie's always been a good goalie.
He just can't stay healthy.
But when he's healthy and he feels good, we're like, he's unbelievable.
So, and he's been great.
But it was the best, it was the best the caps that have taken the puck to the neck hard,
making Freddie uncomfortable.
They could have had, you know, five, six.
But the way Carolina just absorbs pressure and doesn't panic and they stick to their structure,
no matter what, that is what kind of tilted.
And before the series, I had the caps winning against Montreal and,
I took the dumbest fucking bet of all time, making New Jersey to beat Carolina in round one.
But when we got to the second round and I redid my bracket, I said, Carolina to win this series,
strictly because they're just quicker to pucks and they're a little bit more urgent around the ice.
The caps like to kind of move the puck around.
Their defense are very puck-moving first defensemen that like to kind of hang on to pucks.
and Carolina, you've got to move it quick and move it fast.
And I just don't think, you know, the caps got their legs under them in time.
And then the last game, they were skating, but you're down 3-1 and you're desperate.
But they needed to keep that urgency and desperation all series long.
And it would have probably been a different series.
But that's just what Carolina does, man.
It's relentless pressure.
As John Cena said, a ruthless aggression.
Adobe Acrobatte Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docks, your permits, your moves, AI levels of your pitch, gets it in a groove.
Choose a tablet with your time this cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing.
Do that, do that, do that.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
It's so true too, man.
And like, that's the thing is, you know, we keep talking about how good their D is.
And their D is phenomenal.
CP was all over it.
The way that they stepped.
way that they control their gaps. They don't give anyone any time to get zone entry. They don't let you set up.
But you are right there for check is also suffocating. Like they are just relentlessly all over you.
And like CP, what did you see in this game, you know, a close out game here. And of course, I do feel like Jordan Stahl always takes his opportunities.
And like, of course, Jordan Stahl gets his first goal of the playoffs in this game, first goal of the game.
But what did you see from the Keynes that just made this one like you mentioned,
feel like the Capp's never had a shot in this game.
Dude, we were talking to Jarvie after,
where it's like the boring hockey thing,
but it's just they don't waver.
You know, there's no, like, I watch Vegas, guys,
and it's like, Vegas will play the Oilers
and have the best 10-minute stretch I've ever seen.
They're throttling Edmonton,
and then they'll go, 15 minutes getting puck,
rammed down their throat,
oilers killing them, taking 15 shots.
It's just the waves, the rollercoaster of the game.
Carolina is just fucking steady.
The whole way, they're like, this is our game,
this is what you're getting.
It beat us if you can, and no one can yet.
But it's, like, insane.
Even when the caps had that overturn goal, you know, which, like, felt like,
oh, that could have changed the whole thing.
But even that, like, when that went in, I was like, you know they're going to come back.
Like, Carolina's just going to keep pushing, keep pushing.
So it's, that's their strength for me in the playoffs.
It's just how consistent they are.
It's absolutely insane.
But I'd ask you guys, J.D., you go first, if this series, great, a lot of people were picking
the caps, but Carolina goes, fuck you, fuck all the doubters.
but if they don't do something this round,
is their season of failure still
because of what's happened with them in the past?
No, I think they've surprised a lot of people
and getting to the conference finals,
I think, not winning a cup is, I think, a failure in terms
for any team because you want to win every year.
But getting in the conference finals
with all the shit that went on with this team
and the fact that they've rallied around themselves
and this coaching staff,
I think is a big thing for,
for the for the for the for the carolina hurricanes and you know the other thing that we kind of
didn't mention is you know they've been looking for a game breaker and trying to trade for
game breakers when they had when they're the whole time with andre smista satchnikov who's
scoring and and what is he second in the in playoff scoring i think so i think so i think he's
he wasn't talked about enough and that's the player they've been looking for to kind of get them to
that next level and they're close i mean it's going to be tough getting through florida or
toronto but this is a team that's like fully playing with a chip on their shoulders and my oh my
by golly g willickers would it be amazing if miko ranton and played the carolina hurricanes
i can't i can't even talk about it i think it would be the the league would absolutely hate it
revenue wise but i think the fans like the true hardcore fans this is unbelievable i know
a trade where everybody's like, Carolina's dead in the water. What a bunch of idiots.
And now they're in the finals against Miko Randin, who got dealt away.
Got traded three times this year more than I got in my crew. What about that guy is.
Dude, I was actually thinking, I don't know how many basketball fans are on the chat,
but I was actually thinking, I forgot about this. But the Knicks and the wolves did that huge trade
in the off season where they're like, hey, you take some of our superstars.
We're just going to switch, swap this out. And now they're both careening towards the final.
and I was like, oh, that'd be so nuts.
And then it's happening here, too.
Like, literally Dallas and Carolina are going to do it.
It would be sick.
It would be sick.
I mean, like, you're right, J.D.
I could see the league being like, ooh, but I actually think a Dallas
Carolina final would be gas, just the battle of the South, a revenge series, like,
Ranton and just going through killing all of his exes.
I think a lot of people would hate watch this series, too.
It would be unbelievable.
But, Dan, before you get off that, though, Dan, the narrative's always like, oh, it's the
rant and revenge tour, which I love, right?
But like, to me, that part of it is the Carolina Revenge store.
Because they're like, fuck you, Randen.
Like, we wanted you.
Yeah, we wanted.
They just did the Carolina got screwed.
Yeah, like, you fucked us.
So they're like, dude, we shipped you to Dallas and then beat your ass anyway.
And I'm like, that's actually a crazy.
It would be, it would be the most villain shit ever if Randnan and Dallas won that series.
But yeah, the Keynes would go into that being like, this motherfucker refused to sign here because we're not good enough.
We're not in a big enough city.
And we can't win a cup.
That would be.
I think the story.
where lines would be fucking scenes.
It would be fantastic.
Sebastian Aho's best friend, he leaves him.
Yeah.
He's like, he's a fuck you, Aho, I'm out of here.
I'm going to go.
There's me, go.
Yeah.
He's like, yeah, Aho, you're cool.
There's 15 Finns down in Dallas, though.
So I'm just going to go there.
Hang out in the south.
But, yeah, man, I love what you said about Spesnikov.
He's another guy like Freddie who, who's struggled with health.
And, yeah, you see him healthy right now in the playoffs.
He's got eight goals.
uh,
Seth Jarvis,
as we've been saying all season deserves those first line minutes.
He's getting them.
He's making a huge difference.
But, uh,
this,
this was,
this to me was wild,
man.
Something that I,
I wanted to point out to you guys was,
in this game,
I feel like CP,
you mentioned that Edmonton,
no team in these playoffs feels more confident going into overtime.
Like if,
if the oilers go into overtime,
they're just like,
yeah,
we're winning.
I think this Kane's team going into a third period,
tied one,
one,
they have the same mindset.
Because they're like, we've been responsible.
Freddy's dialed as he's been every single game.
If you're one, one and you're the Keynes, you're like, we're winning this game.
And I think we just watched that in the third period.
Like, yeah, sure, it got down to, what, three minutes when Spetch kind of got that no angle goal.
But yeah, man, it's just like that to me, it would just show it how confident they were.
And it was a Kane's type of game.
Low shots for both teams, no power play goals either side.
They rinsed Washington at the dot 34 to 19.
but to me it's like just just pointing out so like the big boys for
Washington right in this series through five games ovi one goal zero assist
strome zero goals two assists wilson one and one chikrin one and one protas one
mic michael one goal zero assists pl zero goals one assist carlson one goal one assist
you know you just neutralized all of their best players and that's that finito
they matched up horrible against washington horrible horrible
Horrible.
Matchup they needed.
They needed Jersey to win,
and I just think it was,
you knew this was happening,
I think, all year,
because every time Carolina played Washington this year,
they kind of exposed them a little bit,
and you just knew it was coming.
And I thought Logan Thompson played incredible,
and he just couldn't pull down the fort.
Yeah.
And you know what?
You know, a lot of people didn't talk that,
Martin Farivari getting injured,
is it was a huge piece for them missing.
Enormous.
Great call.
Like, if you don't watch the caps
and you're kind of like,
I'm like,
Martin Farivari,
like kind of had a,
I wouldn't say,
he's been in the league a little bit now,
but he had a breakout season.
And I think he,
it just kind of threw off the pairings just a little bit,
just enough.
And he's a good place 20 minutes a night.
Yeah,
they just couldn't kind of overcome that.
And it's one of those things.
Ovi stopped scoring.
He's pacing their team.
Did they run out of gas?
Because they're chasing the OV record.
Who knows?
But they just looked off.
all playoffs. They looked off in the Montreal series, too.
I didn't think they played great.
The Montreal series that they just won because
they had a little bit more talent.
Yeah. Totally agree. I was actually surprised how many
people were picking the caps after that
series. Obviously it looks easy to say now.
The reason caps are going to dogwalk Carolina.
I'm like, you guys fucking nuts. Did you see
round one? Yeah. Yeah, Carolina's,
even though New Jersey was the walking dead,
they put a beating on them.
Okay, JD, listen,
we know you're going to take off.
One more. Yeah. One more. Yeah.
give you oh you want to do a whole you want to do a whole second or do you want to give me one more
one more lead me into one more thing okay i want to give i want you to give me 60 seconds on um the the stars
jets like you think the jets are back in this now or is it like no the dows just going to take care
of it at home well is hell of up due for a good and this jets team do for a good road game
because it's the only way they're fucking winning is if they have a good road game correct
they've been i don't understand how bad you can be on the road and how good you can be at home
I get that there could be, like, you could be good at home and you struggle on the road.
This is like, they're like an HL team on the road.
And they're like the best team in the world at home.
They can't be scored on.
They can't be scored on at home.
But I will.
My 60 seconds, I want to know what Connor Hellibuck does when he gets on the road.
I want to know where this guy fucking goes.
I want to know where he eats, who he sees.
I'm like, Connor Hellibuck, he, I don't know what happens, what like severance thing happens.
and when he gets on the plane.
But if anybody watches Severance,
I feel like he's got a chip in his head
and it's like,
he just comes back home.
He said, what happened?
Like, you got shell.
You got chel to Dallas, my guy.
Dude, I think it's,
I think it's legitimately the contrast of the two places.
Like, you're going from fucking Winterfeld
down to Iraqis,
and I think he doesn't know how to deal with it.
Like, come on.
Like, does he not like the U.S. that much?
Like, he crosses the border, and it's just like,
ah, fuck.
Dude, James.
You're American goalie.
Like, come on, Bunny.
It's so bad.
Like, it's so bad.
Like, it's so bad.
That's the thing.
And he's so good at home.
He is absolute, like that game last night, they piss pumped Dallas.
And I get it around their backs against the wall.
But they piss pumped them the first two games at home.
It's just Miko Raton at a hat trick.
But they fistpumped them for three games at home.
And on the road, they are so bad.
So bad.
Series.
Last year you guys,
St. Louis, it's like, best team in the league,
worst team in league. I'm like, how does this
team, if he plays a half-season game
in Dallas, they can win in seven. Because I do
think this was the best team
in the league for a reason.
Connor Health specifically,
but this team plays a good brand to hockey.
I don't know. He's got to eat some pasta. I don't know what he's got to do,
but. Dude, we, first of all,
you know how like it's iny and outy and severance? I love,
it's like his homie, his rody. And he's like,
He comes back on the plane.
And there he's like his roadie pulled his groin.
He gave up fucking 10 goals.
He comes back.
He's like, why is my back killing him?
Oh, dude.
The idea that Hellie's homie is a Vesna winner and Helly's Rody is a beer league bum.
That's what you have.
There's your next.
There's your next thumbnail.
Yeah.
Dude.
And J.D., we said, I think he should get, I think he should get a buzz on on the road.
Like he should have a couple shots for the game because like, who fucking cares?
you sucks over.
So like,
I said last game in Dallas,
I said,
fuck it,
start Comrey.
Throw Comrey in,
throw Comrie in game six.
Just say, hey,
hey,
Eric,
you're playing that.
Take his seat.
We'll see it for game seven.
Because I think,
stay home,
J.D.
Don't even come.
Stay home.
I agree.
Stay home.
Comrie would have played.
He could have maybe got them a win
against St. Louis or Dallas
on the road.
I totally agree.
I completely agree.
If nothing more for the fact
that it would have rattled
Dallas's cage so much,
they'd be like this.
Who the fuck?
is this guy dude like we don't know how to shoot on this guy that is just the best guy ever he's
the fucking nicest guy in the planet yeah he's i love him oh my god i'm like play him yeah just
say you're go don't even tell him till five minutes before the game don't tell the team like get him in there
ready and then just walk in scotter and ill and the case certain lineup got shifley we got conner
we got vallardi back in we got peonk and sandberg and annette we got here connor we got her
Let's go, boys.
Hell, it looks like looking around like, what the fuck?
Yeah, yeah, no one told them.
No one told them.
All right, beautiful stuff, J.D.
Thank you for joining, buddy.
I'll see you later.
I'll see you, buddy.
Yeah, God.
Yes, sir.
The New York voice.
Oh, my God.
All right, that was Jason Demers.
What a beauty.
Thanks for joining.
CP, let's stay on Dallas Winnipeg.
But I do want to say, I had a couple things to close out.
Sorry, chat for the whiplash.
but a couple things to close out the the caps cane series looking at the caps i do think this season
was such a a lovely surprise right like it came out of nowhere playing this well being this good
and their future is super bright but one thing i don't know if you saw this dude uh i did want to
mention they'd never surpassed 21 shots in a single game in this series yeah not great also in ovi's
20 year career.
Dude, they have got
past the second round one time
and it was when they won the cup.
Can you fucking believe that?
It's, you know, there was a million
I'll say this.
It's very hard to win
in the playoffs. And I've said
many times that top
end talent doesn't automatically
win in hockey the way it
can in basketball, for example.
You don't play enough minutes and all that shit.
We saw a million people in the chat
during the king's law stand with all the
copi stats of like well once he became captain
blah you know whatever so like there's bad stats
for a lot of guys out there but
it is crazy to me that
you never even made it to the semis
you know like he's done it one time in my mind
it was all and yeah you're running up against sit a lot and all that shit
and it's not an indictment on him and also nobody's being
I think it is I think it is probably
is that is unforgivable dude and it's it's not it's not so much against ovi as it is against the
franchise like you're telling me you have alexander ovechkin you have the greatest goal score in the
history of the league you've had guys like holtby you've got l t now you had uh backstrom you
had semen you've had so many great players you have carlson you had mike green and you're telling
me that you went to the conference finals one fucking time also kind of sick for ovi that he's
undefeated in conference finals and stand the cup but it's unforgivable dude it's unforgivable
to have this man for 20 years and only make it to one Eastern Conference final.
I guess, though, I was going to say, if it, for any crowd that's like, he's in the Mount Rushmore
conversations, I know he's not literally that, but like even close to that, I'm like, he can't be
because of this stat.
But I guess I just never had him there, though.
Like, I was always like, always the greatest goals score of all time, but just like,
it is like a tier below like the guys.
But buddy, I think that this proves it.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I mean, I'm with you.
Like as much as I want to disagree with you, I'm with you, but we are, I don't want to say we're in the minority, but this is not a universal take.
Like people come in our DMs and scream at us for not having OVie in the Mount Rushmore conversation.
I know.
And I'm like, Mount Rushmore, dude, let's talk top 10.
Yeah, like, I'm being dead ass.
They won that one cup damn.
I'm being dead ass about that.
Like, it's, you know, it's interesting.
I'm not ragging on O because he's the best.
He's, like we said, the best goals grow of all time.
And he's the fucking man.
To me, and he's the fucking man.
It's more of an indictment on the team.
But to the team, they've got a great future.
Ryan Leonard, they've got Cole Hudson.
They've got Terrick Parasic,
Elia Protas, Andrew Crystal.
They've got great prospects.
And now the Canes, though,
last thing on the Canes,
headed to the conference final for the third time in seven years.
They are 0 and 8 in conference finals under rod.
Swept by the Bruins in 19,
swept by the cats in 23.
So they might have a cat's rematch here.
they might have Toronto.
This is a different team.
We love this Kane's team.
We love the love that the organization has shown us.
We obviously love so many guys on that team.
But this is huge for them.
I mean, if you're playing the cats,
you have the revenge factor of like,
we got swept by this team two years ago in this round.
And if you're playing Toronto,
I think you have to go.
I mean,
our guys have way more playoff pedigree and experience
and you have to take advantage.
So that'll be huge.
Dan, well, I was just going to say
in there,
and they're off.
time, I think they need to, I made a list. I think they should just do the most boring things on
earth to keep them in this boring hockey zones. I'm literally talking like commute during rush hour,
schedule unnecessary meetings, you know, wait on hold. Like anything they can do to just,
to remain boring, I think it really behooves them. You know, like to balance a checkbook.
You know, like do a lot of, you know, like really, really.
Wait in line.
Find a line.
Wait in it, dude.
Just sit there.
I think that is actually the way forward for them to just really hammer this point home
and just make sure they stay in the right mind space.
I agree, man.
Bake some bread.
I mean, we've started it for them and we talked to Jarvie.
Last night and they've embraced it, like boring is their thing.
And I'm like, yeah, we'll be boring.
We'll be boring all day.
Back into to Jet Stars.
this game CP, were you a little surprised? I mean, J.D. just said it very well. This is,
this is a crazy defend home ice series. Like these teams are, they're much better at home,
much worse on the road. I thought with that really backbreaking 3-1 lead,
I expected a little more from the stars and I thought they came out super flat. Four shots in the first,
five shots in the second. They dialed it up heavy in the third.
but yeah, they just weren't really testing Hellebuck for me.
Yeah, man, they looked like a team that was like,
we're good and we can just go home.
You know, they were like, all right,
we'll just go home and win this,
which is obviously not what they were literally doing
and would be a massively dangerous game
against the president's trophy and Vesna winner.
But yeah, there was no jump.
The only thing I'll add, though,
that slightly disagrees with J.D.
is I thought Winnipeg, the team played well in game four in Dallas.
Like they were kind of all over them.
And Otter was fucking nasty.
And then Helly led in a couple.
Like, you know, the granny, like one T was a fucking six shot.
But the first two granny runs, I was kind of like, I want those.
But that's one where I'm like, oh, Otter kind of stole that game.
So they were pretty good.
So to me, I'm like, oh, I think the Jets were just riding like a,
we've had a lot of momentum talks lately.
but I feel like the Jets were just riding a,
we played not that bad on game in game four,
and now we need this one,
backs against the wall.
They stepped up.
And early,
it looked like Otter was just going to do it again.
I was like,
oh, yeah,
you're dead.
Like, Otter's about to go Bob,
back-to-back, shuddies, basically,
and you're fucked.
But they were ready to play at puck drop
in Dallas wasn't, that's for sure.
Everyone but Otter.
I do think Otter got a little hosed in this game.
That first goal was obviously bullshit.
Like, Shifley throws one,
it hits a stick,
then it hits Harley's leg,
and then two power play goals.
Like, you know, it is what it is.
And that, the three-man advantage was tough in the third period.
But ultimately, good showing from the Jets.
I think getting through that first with no goals and holding them to four shots,
like they're taking care of Hullabuck and Hullabuck is doing his job.
That was huge.
And you've got guys like Eelers and Shifley.
Eelers coming back, by the way.
We thought there was a chance that Eelers would miss the playoffs.
Yeah.
Coming back.
And I think he has four goals already or something like that.
It's like three or four.
And that's massive.
So the crowd was buzzing.
And this to me was a game where the Jets, their fans, Hellebuck,
did everything they needed to do to keep the series alive.
So that's what we've got.
Got a shutout.
What do you think about Helly right now?
Like he looked incredible in the third.
To me, it was like through the first two,
I really didn't think Dallas tested him.
But then 13 shots, there was like a flurry of chances.
We obviously had, they went over,
in the powerplay, so they had four power plays.
Are you thinking, like,
this erases how things have gone in the playoffs and in this series,
or is it all about, like, well, we're going on the road again,
so nothing fucking matters.
Dude, I think the latter, bro, because it just,
he kind of did this against St. Louis, where it's like,
oh, shit, we lose three and four in St.
And I get fucking yanked, double yanked job.
I suck.
And then he comes home and he's nasty in game five.
And they're like, never mind.
He's back.
We're good.
And then it's like, oh shit, we suck again in game six.
And then I actually, he wasn't even that good in game seven against St. Louis.
But in this one, back to back shutouts at home.
But I still think it's in his head exists.
It exists in his head.
As much as he's like, no, this is not a thing, whatever.
He's going to get there.
A great first period could go a long way.
If he has an incredible first period in Dallas and it's zero zero at the break,
I think he's like, see, well, I'm fine.
It's all fixed.
But God, dude, if Dallas is,
Dallas gets one early, even if it's not even a bad goal.
If Dallas gets one early, they are like, you're dead.
We own you on the road and it's all over.
So nothing is fixed for me until he does it.
Like I will never believe he's good on the road until he pitches a shutout or one goal game to steal one.
Yeah, I think that that's right, man.
Like it's kind of crazy.
But I think that that's, it's, we go into what we, the conversations we've had about
this momentum go from game to.
game, does it not? You can have conversations about that. But yeah, and this to me, CP,
it goes into, I had said, I tweeted for my personal, if I were Dallas with about 10 minutes
left in that third period, I think you're down to nothing. And I was like, yeah, it looks like
you're going to lose. I was completely unfaced. If I'm a Dallas fan, if I, if I'm a member of that
Dallas team, I'd be like, whatever. It's hard to win up here. We're up 3-1. We get to go back
home now and fucking piss bump them. We're out of here.
But then that game got a little out of control.
Like,
yeah,
yeah.
That third goal looked like Dallas was,
was getting a little mental,
you know,
we have been fucking donkey punching shifely,
a little bit of a shit show situation going on.
And I'm not saying that if I'm Dallas,
I'm now like rattled,
but I'm like,
that was good fight from Winnipeg.
Good fight from Winnipeg.
We kind of lost our composure here.
But again,
it is,
you know,
it's one of those things.
Just shake it off.
You got a day off in between.
You head back down to Texas.
And you,
you and I,
You and I, or go, no, go ahead.
No, it looked like you had a stroke of, uh, well, I was going to say, because on that Ben thing,
I've had a lot to say about, um, antics towards the end of games.
Sure.
I'm kind of like, dude, stop.
I thought St. Louis did it against Winnipeg.
I thought Toronto did it against Florida, where I'm like, you just don't need this.
Like, you've lost this game, go home.
You don't need to send.
There's no message you're sending right here.
Yeah.
And this flirted with that.
This got close.
It's Jamie Ben.
So he kind of, that's, that's the rep to a degree.
agree, but this flirted with that. I was like, hey, dude, you had a ricochet one go in and a couple
power play goals, the five on three brutal, uh, just fucking leave. I do have one thing to say,
and I can't believe I'm going to do this. I might lose some fans here. Oh, no. I'm going to
defend Jamie Ben a little bit. Jamie Ben, I don't know why he's like public enemy number one in the
NH. People love, and it's not like, oh, I hate Marshan. I hate Sam Bennett. I hate Tom Wilson.
people just like hate Jamie Ben.
They're like, you know, they call those guys rats.
People, people call Jamie Ben like a piece of shit.
And I'm like, Christ, calm down.
I will defend him a little bit here, though, because there were a few Dallas fans who were like, Schifley's a bitch.
He flopped on that punch.
I would love to see any one of you take that punch to the chin.
Like that, I'm not saying that was a Mike Tyson knockout.
But guys, that was a good punch that Jamie Ben threw.
And he got fined.
and that's and that that that's perfect i don't i don't even think he should have got a fine to be perfectly
honest but they gave him a five thousand dollar p p-p whack we all move on from here okay wait before
we before we continue before we continue with this you're gonna cut my legs out for me and i can't
defend jamey ben oh i thought that was that was the defense not that wasn't it at all i got people
i got people in the chat saying saying hunter says you fucking lost me hold on hunter let me let me
explain first of all people asked why shifley got a penalty on that
people asked how possibly Dallas got a power playoff of that third man in guys you got to pay attention
third man in shifley came in is the third man in and if you want to go back and watch that replay
shifley is straight up kicking ben like with skates on he is kicking jamy ben in the legs and i think
that was a big reason ben socked him because he's like what the fuck are you doing dude so yes
yes like that wasn't just like oh i'm frustrated that was a i'm punching you in the face because
you were just kicking me with skates on.
And I love it. I love the energy.
I love the fight from both of them.
So, like, it is what it is.
But I'm just saying that he deserves a slight bit of defense.
It's all I'm saying.
Yep.
The only thing I wanted to interrupt,
because we'll come back to the stars,
or we'll continue to dive into this series.
But I might actually hear a mortal walk walking into the room.
Oh, no.
There's a chance, Dan.
Christ, dude.
Give me a break.
That a mortal lock has arrived.
this is on.
This guy's.
It should be good to go.
Oh, my God.
Wait, is that a fresh haircut on locks?
Yeah.
Fresh cut, fresh locks.
We've been flying close to the sun, dude.
We've been perfect.
We've been perfect.
I don't know the last time we missed a pick on the ice.
I think it's been four straight nights.
Yeah, I agree.
And also locks, locks, we got two empty nets last night, too.
Dan, Dan, and I've said the picks.
I've texted you the picks before each time.
I have the receipts.
Game one.
We rolled with the stars with talking about this series.
We laid off game two.
Yeah.
I was too sketched out.
Once we went back to Dallas, rolled Stars game three, stars game four.
Last night, then rolled Jets.
Needed a game six in order for the Oilers to kind of get some rest.
Get some rest.
McDavid's hurt.
McDavid went into the end boards, his collar bones all fucked up.
Yep.
Panther series has been incredible to us.
The Cains Caps series, Caps, dead.
It was incredible to us.
We were rolling with the canes minus one and a half.
We found an empty netter at the end of that game.
Yeah, I had to have it.
Yep, yep.
I just heard you boys talking about the end of last night's game.
Unreal empty netter.
That guy got socked in the face.
He kind of played possum.
He played dead for a second.
Fucking got right back back.
But he's so pissed.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I was like, wait, did he just get knocked out?
Then remember how mad he just was?
It was a wild thing.
It looked like one of those soccer injuries when the guy's, like, been shot from the crowd.
And then the ref gets, gives him the card.
And then he jumps up and kicks the dude.
Yeah.
But for tonight.
When talking about that Star Series, though,
Stars are going to go back to Dallas, Dan, and slap.
Slap, slap, slap, slap.
Series over, Game 6.
They're not going to Game 7, not a shot in hell.
The Stars are going to take care of business,
and this next series is going to feed the homeless.
It's going to feed families.
Oilers, Stars.
It does not get better than this.
Rematch from Western Arms Finals last year.
Dude, if there wasn't a desk here,
you would see below my waist, and then we would have to place this.
We have to blur it.
Yep, we would have to blur it.
You have a young only fans, not EBA.
Exactly.
And then talking about the game tonight, dude.
Kat's Leefs game six in sunrise.
We said, Dan, what did I say?
When the Leifes went up 2-0, get the Panthers down 2-0, plus 170 to win this series.
Now they're going to do it in six.
Tonight, give us the Panthers minus one and a half on the puck line.
We did it last game.
We're going to do it this game.
and the boys are going to be buzzing.
I mean, I can't wait for the Eastern, Western.
The Cup, Cup prediction, Oilers, Cains.
Oilers Cains.
Oilers Cains.
Wow.
The last time the Cains won the Cup was, what, 06?
I think.
The Cains was 04.
No.
0, 4?
Maybe 06.
Somewhere in there, and guess who they beat?
Come on.
Come on.
Edmonton?
Yeah.
Come on, boom.
Bounce back here.
bounce back. Look, fellas, there's nothing like playoff hockey. It's been a pleasure just to bet, to watch, to sweat, butt cheeks clenched, fellas, who has it better than us?
Nobody right now. Do you think it's cane, sorry, tonight, do you think it's cats up one and they get an empty netto to cover the puck line? Or are they up like five?
No, no, no. It's slap. Yeah, it leaves. They're already one foot in the grave. Belt to ass, dude.
Yeah, one foot in the grave, unfortunately.
Dude, I actually heard a rumor locks.
I thought the Caps game would be more ugly, honestly,
when they were going against the Cains in that closeout series
because it felt like they were already dead.
But they gave a good fight and ended up, you know,
covering the puck line barely.
Caps were at home, though.
Like, Toronto's going to go on the road.
It just gets fucking rad.
Also, boys, I heard a rumor that when they loaded up the team playing yesterday,
Toronto headed down yesterday,
I heard they loaded up all the golf clubs with the hockey bags
because they're going to be in Florida.
they're just going to hit the links right after.
No, dad, no, they...
That's a link.
That is a nugget.
That's a nugget like none other right there.
So there's the pick for tonight.
Panthers minus one and a half.
Fade it, tail it.
Tell it to the fucking mailman.
We'll see you on the other side.
Oh my God.
And Locke's been hot, dude.
Locks been very hot.
Maybe it's a good time to fade on the ice then.
Maybe Leifes Moneyline might be the play.
But now, fellas, appreciate you.
And Panthers minus one a half.
Come on.
Stars, game six.
And then Oilers, Cains, Cup.
Oilers win the cup, maybe.
Someone get on that future.
Does someone get on that future?
Big time.
That just paid your mortgage, folks.
That just paid your mortgage, folks.
All right, let's get back into the series because CP, you and I added some good ideas.
Heading back down to Dallas.
Locks just said it's going to be a lock.
I think we wanted to point out, guys, we've got a lot of Finns in Dallas, right?
We've got a Finnish mafia going on down there.
And I'm starting to think this might be something.
We see how good Dallas has become.
You look at all the Finns on this team.
They pick up Randan and they pick up.
Grandland, maybe like, maybe creating these little communities in these cities is a key to Stanley
Cup's success. There's a chance. And I also want to blow your mind with something here.
What do you think the population of Finland is? Oh, my God. You're going to embarrass me on
No, no, no. I won't even make you guess. I won't even make you guess. It's 150 people total.
Yes. You actually nailed it. It's, it's 5.5.5 mil. A little bit.
little bit higher probably over the last like, you know, I think that was a 2024 survey,
but like 5.5, we'll call it 5.5 to 5.8 mil. What do you think the population of Dallas is?
180 people total. Dude, it's like 33 million.
33. Holy shit. So yeah, you got to create a little.
Well, here's the thing, Chris. Normally, when you set up a community of another nation somewhere,
you call it little, right? Like, you go to Los Angeles. You've got, you've got Chinatown.
You got little Italy's, you got little Chinas, you got little Korea, little Osaka.
I think we got Big Finland do because everything's bigger in Texas.
Yes, Dan.
So in Texas, we're going to set up a community of Big Finland.
We're going to increase Finland.
And we're going to take a bunch of Finnish cultures.
I know you got a bunch of, you got a lot of Finnish culture things that we could implement in Texas to make these Finns feel even more at home.
And all of a sudden, they feel so good that they want a cup.
Yeah, that brings them the cup.
then it brings them all the future Finn players.
Like everyone that is ever going to be born in Finland and become a superstar is going to be like,
there's one place for me and it's Dallas and I'll take a hometown discount.
Yes.
And dude, you know what I think, CP?
Well, I think why they all flock there, why they feel so safe there.
It's hot in Texas, right?
Yeah.
It's a really hot.
It's like a sauna there.
Dude, this is such a good take.
The Finns love saunas.
And they walk around Texas and they go, it's like I'm in a sauna every single day.
Dude, it's an outdoor sauna.
This place is gas.
They walk around, they go like this.
It's free.
It's a free sauna.
Are you guys just sauning all the time?
Is it just every day you walk outside and we're just in a sauna?
And they go, yeah, yeah, yeah.
And they go, I love it here.
I feel at home.
We're going to start playing well.
It's unbelievable.
Dude, when I looked up, I looked up online the three biggest Finnish culture things.
I was literally like, Internet.
What are the three most important things to be finished?
One, no order, but one of them is saunas.
Like they love saunas.
And then they listen to these other two, dude.
I'm going to say it wrong probably, but it says...
I think I know one of them and it's hilarious.
One of them is Sisu, I think.
S-I-S-S-U.
A uniquely Finnish concept.
Sissu represents resilience, determination, and perseverance in the face of adversity.
But I was like, wow, what a great thing to have.
And then number three, dude, Sissu, Sona, and silence.
Finn's value peace in personal space.
silence is considered a form of communication and respected.
Dude, silence is fucking golden.
Can you imagine the stars locker in between periods?
Just nobody speak.
Like they go, they look to rant and they go, we need you, big dog.
Going into the third period, he goes like this.
Wait, wait.
Chris, we got the chat right now saying Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington is 8.3.
Guys, I'm saying Texas.
If I said Dallas, that's my bet.
The population of Texas is 33 million.
Not Dallas.
Come on.
Get out of here.
I love CPI love that and like imagine how quiet a finished sauna must be oh dude yeah
no chat because that can be annoying in the sauna sometimes you know you're like his fucking guys
I don't know him I don't need to hear this door I'm just trying to relax for 10 minutes
finish sauna silent dude fit Dallas stars locker room silent this is actually a really special
thing and and don't even get me started on the food Dan I had I had a thought where you know
how um there's like great there's a type of great Mexican food and
Texas and it's like Tex-Mex because it's the it's the thing I was like oh dude the finish food uh
Texas food combo a finish barbecue or something I have a thought I had a thought on it tell me what
you like because I found some cool foods but I wanted to call it Tex Tex land that's like the
Tex-mex you know the finish the finish the finish is Tex Finn not better text fin yeah because
Texx? Tex land could be anything right well well what I
ends in land. Greenland.
Greenland. Okay, it could be Greenland. That's the only...
But I mean, come on, dude. Is it green... There's no food in Greenland. Greenland is all ice, dude.
Have you seen the Mighty Ducks? It's all ice.
Well, it could be Iceland, too. They could be...
You could be mixing it up. Fuck.
Yeah, you're right.
Puffin, dude. So here's the thing. Text Finn.
FinTech, maybe is better. That sounds like a fucking startup, though.
Fintext. It sounds too much like tech. You're right.
Yeah.
We'll come back to that, but some of the things I really like, I like what your head's at with the combos here.
Calico, uh, Calico, uh, Calicoca, uh, Calicoco, a lot of, a lot of great finish words.
Calico is a savory pie made of fish inside a rye crust.
So let's get this a little Texasy.
Yep.
Get some catfish in there, dude.
Oh, shit, dude.
Like, I'm sure it's, um, you know, incredible, uh, finish fish.
But to make it, to make it that, make it that Tex fin, we're going to go catfish.
fish in there, dude. I love
that, dude. We'll call it Calacu Cat.
I fucking love it.
And dude, there's got to be
something, what animals are in Finland?
I don't even know. Also, Chris, you're getting
bodied right now. Scotland, Ireland, Thailand,
Switzerland. There's so many
lands. There's actually only lands.
Swaziland? Like, come on,
though.
There's in fact,
there's in fact only lands,
dude. That is unbelievable.
And there's got to be something to barbecue,
right? Like, don't they have sick animals that we
could we could we could uh we could slap some barbecue sauce on yeah uh they they might like they got
reindeer they're they're in reindeer up there for sure oh dude reindeer holy fuck the smoked reindeer
are you shitting me back now or dude that's some fin what'd you want techs fin that's some tex fin right
there oh my god dude we have to do this i actually really think this could change uh the fate of the
team and both both nations i just think texasas
You got to embrace Big Finland.
Big Finland is now in Texas.
We're going to start.
Someone needs to open up a shop or open up a restaurant.
And it's going to be called, well, they got elk in there too, says Gillette.
It's so true.
I, ooh, Dalinky is pretty good.
Like Helsinki with Dallas.
Dalinky might be it.
Gillette, that's fucking class, brother.
Delinkey is class.
So we're going to set up Big Finland.
Big Finland is now in Dallas.
Yeah.
And Dalinky is the name of the restaurant,
and it's going to be a combination of Dallas, Texas, Finnish cuisine.
Cuisines.
Calicoot Cat is going to be the signature dish.
Calicot cat and brisket, reindeer brisket.
Yeah, reindeer brisket and calicoot.
And what are we calling reindeer brisket chat?
The chat is buzzing right now with some of these suggestions.
Dude, reindeer with some red nose sauce.
Ty says red nose sauce is the hot sauce.
Yeah, red nose sauce on that for sure, dude.
Are you fucking kidding me?
Dude.
Cali,
that is a fish pie with a rye crust and catfish.
That is...
Dude, Cheryl says reindeer brisket sounds amazing.
I agree.
It sounds fucking incredible.
Dude, this says Finland is a paradise for bird watchers,
and it lists some of the birds,
and one of them is the golden eagle.
How does fucking Finland have a golden eagle, and we don't?
We got to get that over here.
That's insane.
manahutee dude marahutee dude
that's dating us that is dating us so bad dude but marahutee
anyone in the chat that knows what maraute is from
actually yeah don't say what it's from gets a fucking gold star
no no no i will straight up right now if chat don't you dare fucking look it up but if
someone in the chat in the next two minutes says what maraute is from without
looking it up i will send you a t-shirt because that would be a sick pull um
but man let me tell you what big texas and
And Dalinky is so gas.
And we're going to set it up, dude.
And also, if and when Dallas makes the Stanley Cup final, and we will be down there,
I need to know that someone, someone is going to make me Calicoot Cat with some catfish.
We're going to make a fish pie with catfish.
Because we've already been, we've already been messaged a lot of some barbecue spots.
which is a point I actually want to circle back to in a second day,
but we've been messaging a lot of barbecue spots have been messaging us already.
Holy shit, CP.
Someone got it.
And Stan just ripped rescuers down under, dude.
Oh, my God.
Stan's going nuts right now.
And dude, with the, with the, uh, all caps, I believe, I believe him.
Like, it was going to be hard to prove someone didn't look up, but I actually believe he might know that.
Wait, Amy Fair just said, yes, we have Golden Eagles here.
Amy, are you in Finland or are you in Texas?
Are you claiming that there are Golden Eagles in Texas?
She's in Delinky, dude.
She's in Delinkey right now.
Of course she's in the kitchen, dude.
She's in the kitchen making Calicoot Cap.
At Desjardin Insurance, we know that when you own a cleaning company,
things need to be tidy and organized at every step.
That's why our agents go the extra mile to understand your business
and provide tailored solutions for all its unique needs.
You put your heart into your company,
so we put our heart into making sure it's protected.
Get insurance that's really big on care.
Find an agent today at Dejardin.com
slash business coverage.
Oh my God, dude, that is insane.
Oh, fuck it.
Hey.
This is unbelievable.
Dude, I got to go to Finland.
I actually thought I was a big Finland isn't a real place guy for a while.
That conspiracy theory I really liked.
Yeah.
And I thought it was completely made up.
But now doing some deep dives here.
Like, I might need to make a,
make this a top priority visit
for me moving forward. Yeah.
I mean, wasn't it, didn't we find out that
Brown Bear is like the name of their
anthem or something or like, I don't know,
they've got so much, or it's just like,
like it's,
Finland's fucking gas, dude. And now we've got big
Finland in Texas.
All right. Well, Dan, to
discuss what I was referencing with the barbecue place is
reaching out, I will say, and I'm guilty of this too,
you less than me, but I'm guilty of this too.
the stars going up 3-1
had people
and I know there's plenty of Dallas fans in this chat
had people going
not only have they beat in Winnipeg already
but they are also in the cup already
like so many messages about like
can't wait to you guys get down here
you got to come to this barbecue spot all this stuff
and I'm like we have a lot of work to do
here before
before we're making cup plans dude
before I'm booking flights
that game for win
was so emphatic that they got horny.
They got a little too horny.
And I'll never blame someone for getting too horny, especially not on a Friday.
But I do think Dallas is the better team.
I think they look really, really solid.
Yeah, closing this out, I, oh, fucking Matt Boldie Glazer just joined.
We can't stop now.
I know.
I'm just saying, Boldie Glazer, you just missed maybe the best 10 minutes in this show's history.
We declared a new territory.
We declared a new cuisine.
So, yeah, what else is, yeah.
Dude, wait, though, on that topic, dude, I actually don't know that I,
if Helibuck plays great in game six, I think you're legitimately,
I think the Jets will be favorites in game seven.
Like if Hellibuck plays great in game six and they win that game,
I think the Jets will be the favorites in game seven.
I completely good.
And then all of a sudden, the Rocket men and women should,
rise up because
there's a chance
the book will have the Oilers because everyone's
that's where the money is.
But like the Jets, that's a matchup
they think they can win too.
Like I legitimately think if they win game six
in Dallas and Helly plays great.
The Jets go, we can go to the cup.
It's like, it's that significant of a swing.
I don't disagree at all CPM.
And yeah, if Winnipeg wins two in a row
including one in Dallas and now they're going home,
they're definitely favored.
So this is what's interesting, man,
is I think Dallas is the better team, and I think they're very confident tomorrow night going into the game.
But it's not must win for them, but they are like, take care of business now.
Like, do not go back to Win a bit.
So that's going to be interesting.
Tonight will be interesting.
Obviously, we're going to see if the Panthers can close out and send the Leafs goodbye.
What do you think tonight, Dan?
I'm with locks on every single pick.
Listen, I believe in this Maple Leafs team, and I'll say it over and over again.
This is not over.
This is not going to be a lay down game.
I think it's going to be super close.
I think we're going to be really impressed with how the Leafs play.
But I do think that unfortunately you gave Florida life and they have their claws in it.
They have their closet deep in it.
And their experience and their pedigree is just so difficult to compete with.
And as much as people up north want a shit talk, that barn down in sunrise is fucking mental.
And those guys love playing on that ice.
So it's going to be a hard game to win.
I actually, God, I've been so wrong about the Leafs.
Like every fucking game I pick in that Leaf Series has been wrong.
But I, as insane as it sounds, I think they could take this one.
Because it's like the way they play, you know what it reminded me of, Dan, honestly, was Caps,
Cain's game one, where the caps were legit embarrassing at home.
Like, I think they took like 12 shots and they were horrible.
And that's all everybody was talking about.
And they came out in one game.
game two. Now, granted, they were home for game two also, but it was just like that sometimes
it takes an embarrassing effort like that to get your best effort out of you the next game.
That I think you're going to see the Leafs best game of the series here. And then I might
have them losing game seven still, which is so fucked and so Leafs. But I'm like, oh, dude,
they could do it. They could do it tonight. They could. I do want to give Jennifer some flowers.
She just said, doesn't DeBore have a 90 record in game sevens? And he does, but he has never won a game
seven at the fucking wall.
So that's just something.
Yeah. I fuck.
And it looks like it's wall again.
Like, Stoli still hurt.
Yeah. So you're going to get wall again.
Needs a good one.
All right. So that was a fucking unbelievable episode.
Holy shit.
If anyone joined late like Glazer,
Glazer just said is Delinky, Dallas Helsinki.
It sure is, baby.
You're on it.
You're sharp.
But we always post these episodes later so you can watch the full thing.
CP, show them the shirt.
Show him the shirt real quick.
look at the Netters Bear,
but you didn't realize
that we had it in T-shirt
form as well, we do.
Check out the Ice is Ready
Formula One shirt.
Look at that fucking damn honey,
dude.
Your boy designed that.
I know.
I love it so much.
We've got new links
in all our socials guys.
We got a brand new
empty netters.
Dot shop store.
Actually, Edge.
To producer Edge,
why don't you throw that in the chat?
Emptynetters.
Dot shop.
Check that out.
Wait, I can do it.
I can do it.
Empty netters.
Shop.
That is our new storefront.
It's amazing. We got all of our stick merch on there. We've got a bunch of new stuff coming for all of you.
Enjoy that. Subscribe to the YouTube guys. Share the pod with some friends. Please, let's get this chat even hotter than it is for the next shows. You guys got me on all of the podcast dropping. We love you guys. That's it for our Friday live show. We'll be buzzing all weekend on all of the socials. And we will see you again on Monday morning, bright and early. And until we see you then. C.P. Tell everybody what to do over the weekend.
hockey and
Olivia loves a challenge.
It's why she lifts heavy weights
and likes complicated recipes.
But for booking her trip to Paris,
Olivia chose the easy way with Expedia.
She bundled her flight with a hotel to save more.
Of course, she still climbed all 674 steps
to the top of the Eiffel town.
You were made to take the easy route.
We were made to easily package your trip.
Expedia, made to travel.
Thank you.
