Empty Netters Podcast - Is It Panic Time In Los Angeles l LIVE EP.3
Episode Date: April 28, 2025The boys go live for their third episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMG...M app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to the empty netters puck line news.
We are live here on Monday morning.
We've got so many games to talk about Friday, Saturday, Sunday, absolute madness.
And I think the biggest thing to talk about here is that people are saying this is the greatest first round in recent memory in Stanley Cup playoffs.
And well, I think maybe you said this and I completely blacked out, but we're presented by Bette MGM.
We are.
I did.
And great, good.
That means I'm not blacked out Monday.
which is not i'm black yeah which is not always a guarantee and this is our first monday with a
with a weekend every black line we've done is one night of games yeah so it's like okay let's just rip
into it i'm exhausted just thinking about what happened since i walked out of here friday afternoon
yeah i mean we we have no time to waste we've got so much to talk about right off the bat i think
we start with stars ad series basically folks we are going to go through every single series because
from Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, all the teams played.
So much has changed.
Moods have switched.
Yeah, dude.
Things are absolutely out of control.
Shit has hit the fan, starting with the Star's abs.
And everybody can see the ticker.
This is the way we're going to go down at chat.
Jump in.
I'm going to try to monitor it as much as possible as we rip through it.
We'll get to questions you're firing in there.
So the series we're talking about, let it rip.
Stars abs, Dan.
I don't know how you don't start with Landy scoring a goal.
I mean, of course.
What's funny is we'll say, we saw the stars go up and it looked sketchy for Colorado.
But I said, I think they were too horny.
I think it was so emotional, getting Landy back.
They were like, holy shit, this is crazy.
And then they lose that game in his return.
But then you get the nerves out.
You're able to shake it off a little bit.
And they come in with an emphatic four nothing win and Landy scores.
Holy shit.
It was so awesome.
Let's just start with the goal.
It was so awesome because hell of a play.
Hell of a play by Brock firing up the wing.
Looking like a young man.
Dude, Landy finding space too.
It's Landy the vet, dude.
Just because you haven't skated in three years doesn't mean you don't remember how to find space on the ice.
Boom.
Slot.
Nelson finds him one touch and then an absolute rip job.
A little half clap.
It was so funny to me to watch people realize who scored.
Like he scored and people were like, yeah.
And then they were like, oh.
I know.
Everybody went crazy.
I almost wish.
that they it's i know it's a playoff game so there's no universe where this happens but i was
legitimately thinking we deserved an o v stop the game situation like i was like everybody paused
dude it's seriously like it could have been a situation where everyone just stops and we acknowledge
what just happened no doubt about uh for me this was the first you could argue game one
but this was a shit kicking kind of first period pretty even in goals but Colorado gets a two nothing
lead. And then after that, I'm pretty sure shots were insane after that. Yeah, it was,
shots were 22 to 5 in the second period. And then 14 to 7 in the third. They almost had 50
shots. Colorado had 48 shots on net 4-0-0 win. This was a response. We've seen a few times
in numerous series here where a team needs a big response. This was a huge response. I feel
like going into this game, there were some Colorado fans,
whether you guys want to admit it or not,
who were sweating a little bit.
And they were like,
holy shit.
Like,
is this Dallas team much better than us?
Can we handle this team?
And this was a massive,
fuck you game for the abs where they showed,
we're not tired.
We've got great players.
Blackwood can be a star for us.
And yeah,
you get a four nothing win in it just a bloodbath of a game.
I think the time,
because we had said,
remember,
it was like Colorado hasn't protected home ice against Dallas.
They've lost three.
straight or four straight, I think it was going into this.
This was following the same exact script as last time.
If you lose that game, you are in a very bad way.
Yeah.
I'm not going to say you're literally dead, but you were in a very bad way.
And I think part of me feels like the extra time between game three and four,
because sometimes the schedule just breaks that way.
The avalanche were ready to reset, figure it out.
And yeah, man, they had jump in a way I haven't seen.
And Blackwood first, I think they were like, first career playoff shut out.
but I was like, I think this is like his fourth career playoff game.
So like whatever.
But, but point is that's the guy, right?
Like, that's the guy that they were like, he didn't turn our regular season around,
but that's the guy we brought in to, to.
He certainly helped.
Oh, big time.
Kind of did.
Big time.
But I think they were probably like in third before they got him to, you know?
But you know what I'm saying?
Like that's the guy they got who showed something and then he did this in the playoffs.
And that is a dude.
Obviously, you got a shut up.
But that is a dude you can win a cup with.
That guy I just saw in Ned is a dude you can win a cup with.
Yes.
The person you just saw in that game for sure.
And that's what you need.
You know, when you have a guy in that that you don't know, you can win a cup with based on his previous stats and his pedigree.
Like you said, you don't have any any playoff stats.
It's nice to see a game like that for sure.
What did you think about the Otter, Yank?
Okay, dude, that's what I really want to get into.
And some people are talking about that in the chat right now.
Some satellite blue because the fact that Otter is still breathing is an achievement.
Dude, here's, I don't.
like a pulse, really.
We talk about this all the time.
When he came out...
Which is fucked because you're big on protect our goalies.
I know.
Protect their egos, though.
Not ego.
Protect them mentally, not...
That's a big difference, do it.
Expect their mental health.
So the...
Here's the...
DeBoer was...
I was worried he was hurt first.
I was like, holy shit.
Something happened.
And then DeBore came out and he was like,
I was just trying to get him rest.
The...
It was three, nothing, I think.
or something.
It was going into the third.
But he did just get a Vietnam onslaught of shots.
Like he had seen a full game worth of shots after the second period.
So, but I'm with you down three.
That thing I'm like,
you don't think you have a chance,
maybe a battling back?
Like don't you want to keep your star goal?
That game was so not out of hair.
That I was like,
dude,
this is ridiculous.
So for me,
I'm like,
I wouldn't have done it.
Yeah.
Now,
I don't know what conversations are being had.
Maybe in between people.
I highly doubt it because otter's a dog and wants to play every game.
But maybe in between periods, he was like, y'all, I'm gassed.
Like, and he was like, oh, and if that case, and that's the case,
1,000% get him out immediately, get him out yesterday.
Yeah.
But I just doubt it.
And I would have aired on Seymour shots.
I just don't need any of that random, whatever it is, mental bulletin board material
where the abs get to go, we got to him, dude, got to him.
See that, otter out.
Otter out.
Like, that is a, that's a bump.
That's a boost.
So I just probably wouldn't have given him that.
I was Dallas and DeBoer unless he literally asked for it.
I found it weird.
It did feel like one of those games was just the way the way that ice was tilted again, 22
shots in a fucking period's out of control.
Crazy.
And I suppose my answer would be you've lost that game.
I think if you're Dallas, the way that second period goes, it's 3-0.
You're like, okay, Colorado's all over us on home ice.
They're not losing this game.
So it's, you know, I've said a few times, if you can get your goalie some extra rest,
I've got no problem with that.
But it did feel a little strange to me.
The big question here is where is the pressure now in this series?
2-2, not necessarily in the way that we would have thought,
but you know, you get a win on away ice.
If you're Colorado, then you lose two.
You lose your first at home with landing back,
but then you get this win.
It's now all tied up.
Dallas has the favor in home ice, right?
But who do you think has the edge in this series?
It's so weird to me that you had said,
that all the pressure is on Colorado now because everyone's going to go,
did you lose that series after winning game one in Dallas and being up in game two in Dallas?
And Dallas is missing their two stars or two of their stars.
And I had the thought when it's now two,
where I'm kind of wondering that Dallas now is going to go,
did we, if they had to lose the series, they're going to go, did we blow this?
Because we stole whole mice back.
and I just don't know if these guys are going to play
but like it looks like Vera's getting closer
that I'm like if now if you took home ice back
and kind of felt like going into this game
you were in the driver's seat and Otter's playing
like we've all asked Otter to play
I'm almost now thinking Dallas is going to kick themselves
if they don't win this series
best of three best of three with two at home
but again you're missing those guys
I know and someone asked us in our DMs
Do you bring back a 50% Miro?
I'm always so no on that because I think it's so disrespectful to your other players.
I know.
Like the players that you scratch,
you're like a half his ability Mero is so much better than you that you can't play.
But sometimes that's true though.
Sometimes.
Sometimes.
But it's tough.
I mean,
to me,
I actually think that this series has had a big reset.
I don't think there's pressure on anybody now.
I think that now we're in a best of three.
Dallas has home ice.
Let's see what happens.
Dan Tyler says Otter 14 and 6 in games after a loss in playoffs.
Good stat poll right there.
Yeah.
Good step poll right there.
That's why you give him more rest.
That's why DeBore's the coach and you're not.
Yep.
Yeah.
So true.
Yeah.
So tricky one.
You still got Colorado,
obviously.
Yeah.
In seven.
Colorado's who I picked,
but in seven,
yeah.
You had six,
though?
I think I might have.
I mean,
they could.
If they win game five,
yeah,
then they go home.
But to me,
now it feels like seven.
It feels like this is going to be a rope atop back and forth for
for sure.
Yep.
Um, okay, yeah, wow.
Unbelievable stuff.
Um, people are saying Blackwood and Otter have been two of the best goals in the
playoffs, which I actually agree with.
It's been a really good goalie battle, which by the way, Colorado didn't totally, um,
well, that wasn't guaranteed.
They didn't totally expect that.
They were going to be able to go toe to toe with Dallas as goal.
And that fact that they have that is really good.
Yeah.
Uh, no question about it.
Um, and yeah, I mean, it's hilarious.
The otter gets pulled after two periods, but he had 34 shots against the 9, 12, say
percentage.
Like that is a, that is an onslaught, my friends.
Dan, what do you think about this real quick,
tangentially to the series, but Amber says everyone hated the playoff format for not being
1-8, but this first round has been absolute cinema. Every single series of perfection. And I don't
disagree with that. No, well, that's the thing. It's a great comment by Amber, but we've said all the time,
it doesn't, the way the format is doesn't lead to bad matchups. It leads to electric stuff,
but it sucks that we get these so early and then it's gone. I want Western Congress. I do think that
I mean, last year, we saw so many first round matchups that I was like, that was the best matchup
the playoffs. I'd rather the best ones later.
Yeah. Not early. That's, I think,
the big difference. Tyler says DeBoer has never
lost a game seven, and I cannot believe
that's true. Tyler, if that's true, please tell me
what games, which game sevens they won, but
that's an awesome poll because I don't want
anything to do with him in game seven if that's a fact.
Yeah, it's interesting. I'm pretty sure
that is true, but it's also one of those things we're like,
yeah, but he's lost a lot of games fives
and six. He didn't have lost.
So it's one of those, yeah, good,
but you know, whatever.
Okay, let's shift on. We've got so much
to cover here. We're going to kick it to the Devils
Cains series.
So we just two games in this series
happened over the weekend. Yep. Two games in this series
on Friday.
You got a double O.T. Barnburner. Devils get their
first win. Three to
Jacob Markstrom.
Clutch. Huge, huge, huge.
Freddie Anderson, also amazing.
Two great goals. Again, I think also two
goals have been really, really strong.
So I got to say in that game,
we had and actually apologize to the chat and everyone home for not sharing this earlier but in that game uh dan and i were cooking up a little parlay and we had um we teased the over under to four and a half so over four and a half
cane's money line and bratt three shots and before the game literally before the game i will show my text i was like this i got canes three two and overtime in this game so everything's going to hit because bratt's going to get 80 minutes of gameplay and it's all going to work brat brat gets his third shot in overtime so needed the
extra juice and it's literally two two and i was like this is the most sharp action in the history
of gambling and then obviously the fucking devils win the only game they're going to win all series
for god damn it dude but that was a great fight yeah the devil's at the rock uh nemick with the
the double o t winner yep it's happy for him dude some stat of like i i think it might be like
the youngest devil's o t winner of all time which is sick very sick um but great to see him playing
getting on the score sheet.
But that was a huge win.
I think the devils needed that.
I believe I picked this one,
Keynes and five.
Did you go sweep?
I think I said,
I can't remember.
I either said five or four,
but yeah.
This series,
however,
it's tough because this series
in a lot of ways
has felt like the most boring series.
And that's not to say anything bad
about these two teams.
It's more to talk about the fact
that the Keynes are just very,
very strong.
And they're playing very well.
We've got great goalies on both.
but more importantly, the devils are hobbled.
Obviously, without your best player, Luke Hughes goes down.
We just kind of felt like, this was going to be whatever.
But to deliver that game three, Electric, Watt, was awesome.
It was absolutely awesome.
And you love to see the home fans get one.
Awesome.
But then moving on to the next game, this one was that sort of calm performance that we've seen, I feel like.
It was like, you know, you go up three nothing as the canes and then devils claw it back to three, two.
But then in the third period, Bernsey gets on.
Then Svech gets the empty net, puts this one to bed.
But the big discussion in this game is your boy, Freddie Iceberg.
He leaves the game.
I was about to say this was the fear, but no, this isn't the fear because you don't expect to just get run into.
The fear was that, like, I was just concerned about Freddie in general.
Top to bottom, concerned about Freddie.
the play dude timo goes
Timo's cutting back door
I think it was fetch in front of him
like Timo's just trying to get in front of him
he hits him for sure
in real time it was a strange one
because they call it a major but they always do that
so they can automatically review it they call it a major
they overturn it Rod the bod after the game is being like
he's pissed he's like that's I can't believe
that's not a penalty whatever but I was kind of like
it didn't look that bad
but then Freddie leaves like if you're going to sell it
I don't mind a sell job honestly.
I don't want anyone flopping out there,
but I don't mind a little bit of embellishment.
But if you're not actually hurt,
then you just get up and play.
Like, you try to embellish to get the call,
and then if you don't get it,
or even if you do get it,
then you get up.
But the fact that Freddie was like,
I'm done for the game in a not,
not important game.
If they were up 3 O, then who cares?
Like, you can lose this one.
It's 2-1, dude.
Like, you can't go 2-2 here.
And that's Freddie Iceberg.
We need him.
And he just doesn't come back.
So that makes me think it's something.
Like somebody was like he can't go.
some whether it's team doc check all that shit yep and if it's a concussion or whatever that can get
really tricky because if they just keeps not passing protocol you literally can't yeah it's not like
a like tough it out thing is groin hurts yeah and Koch's played good coach played good all season but
I'm like the that's that is a massive dent in the Kane's chances in certainly moving forward
but even in this series they're going to win the series either way I think but that is not that is not
if you're the canes, if he's actually like done, done.
Yeah, I think, yeah, you can, if Kachachkov is your goalie moving forward in this
years, I think they still win for sure. Honestly, I think they probably still win in five.
Anderson and Kachkov is such an interesting time.
I know, because they're not, I wouldn't put them up on par with tandems like, you know,
Chesterkin and Georgiev from a few years ago, obviously Sway and Olmark, but like they're both
solid. And I feel like the boys feel very confident with Kachatkov in that.
But yeah, losing Anderson is just like not what you want in the slightest.
It's been weird how many injuries to the goalies we've seen.
I know.
These playoffs, guys are just bowling into goalies.
It's fucking out of control.
This series for us, however, is I hate to keep saying it.
But it did just feel like the devils ran into too many injuries.
They ran into a long season with young players at times this season.
I felt like maybe they'll go to the cup, but they're just still, they're still so young.
And I think the canes are too much.
I think this is exactly what we said.
I think it's going to be five games and Bob's your uncle.
We're out of here.
Yeah, yeah, me too.
And honestly, they want it because, and we'll get to caps, tabs in a second.
But it's, I, I kind of hate when the team I'm going to play next has a different length
series than me.
I don't care if we both go seven.
I don't care if we both go four or five, but it's like, let's just, let's just be on
the same page here. And if the caps aren't going to play with their food, then if you're the
can't play with yours either. So I think that's really important. Also, maybe it buys you a little bit
extra rest time if Freddie Iceberg is a little banged up. Maybe there's a couple days before the next
series starts and you're like, whatever, I need all that. Dan, Declan says, am I the only one that
that thinks the cane should just be scribbled into the conference finals? I don't think the caps or
halves could match them. I was kind of of that opinion too coming into this because I kept saying it was
that oilers thing. You know, I was like, oh, they have this interesting path. What do you think about
that. I don't know, man. I think, I don't think you're the only one who thinks that, but I,
I stand by. I think it is crazy how people keep counting out Washington. Yep. And, and yeah,
I mean, I think the, I mean, that, that's it, right? It's like, all they would have to beat is
the winner of Washington has to get there. So I think it's crazy to count out Washington. But
I understand the thought process. Yeah. And we have a number. And we have a
one in here, Alec, just asking about that potential matchup, feels like the Caps,
haves have been way more physical than Devils Cains. I would agree with that for sure.
Definitely. And part of that's just because Washington's a heavy team. We talked to Logan about that all the time.
You're also, you know, this is no disrespect to, to the Keynes fan base or the Devil's fan base.
But I do think the energy in Washington, Montreal has been way higher.
Hell yes.
Like this, obviously, it's the Bell Center, dude.
It is always going to be what it is. And I think,
if you get past this Montreal team,
like it looks like Washington is likely going to,
and we'll get into that in a second,
the canes are going to come into Washington,
and they're going to be pumped full of adrenaline.
Like they just got fucking a tortell shot to the neck.
And they're going to be like,
oh my God,
this series is way more intense.
And you always make the argument,
like did they get too banged up?
But after a round one,
I don't think so.
And there's a chance Washington takes care of this in five, too,
you know?
Yeah, yeah.
Whatever.
So, yeah, I think the pace of Washington, Montreal has been way higher than Carolina
Rangers.
There's some people in here being like, and it's split in the chat of who's going to win
that series if we get there.
But some people are talking about LT a lot being like he's going to outclass the Keynes
goalies.
And honestly, if I'm a Keynes fan, I think that's my biggest fear is that's exactly what
happened last year.
I thought the games were better than that Rangers team and just Shasturkin played better than
the goalies in Carolina.
And now we lose.
100%.
And if you play Washington,
and an LT just plays great and Freddie's hurt
or you don't get quite round one, Freddy,
then you will lose again and you will go
yet again. We were the better team in the playoffs
and can't get over the hump. Yeah,
crazy. Fucking nightmare. Moving on
to what we keep alluding to,
one of the more electric series going,
HABs, caps. We've got two games.
And starting with the Friday game,
first playoff game in the Bell Center
in a long time with a full crowd.
Yeah, yeah, good, good caveat.
And what a fucking.
tilt it was.
Dude.
That place,
man,
I don't think it can be stated enough.
We've got a lot of different outlets that have covered it.
A lot of our great friends in the game who work for TNT,
ESPN,
whatever,
pointing out how loud that barn was.
The Bell Center was fucking shaking to its studs in that first game.
And I don't know that you could ask for better action to start that game.
I mean,
you go and we've got.
Washington on the board first, you get McMichael, but then Montreal ties it up, then Suzuki gives
them the lead.
Chikrin gets his first to tie it up, then Caulfield gets on the board, gives him the lead back,
and then OV ties it in the third.
There was just so much back and forth.
And then, to me, what set this thing off was the bench brawl.
Yeah.
The bench brawl to end the period, you get Wilson and Anderson absolutely tossing on the bench,
the refs in the middle of everything.
we get a great moment where Ryan Leonard and Lane Hudson are just holding hands.
Yeah.
Literally just a couple of buds holding hands watching this fight go down.
But at first, it felt to me, here's a big one for me.
The HABs getting into the playoffs, I have said a million times and I stand by it was a win in itself.
If they lose this series, it doesn't mean shit.
This team is so ahead of schedule.
They are so fucking fun to watch.
and I say that as a person who was baptized in the hate of the Montreal Canadian.
Yeah.
But like looking at that team being like, fuck this team, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And here I am going, I absolutely love watching this team play.
I love all of their players.
It feels like every time Suzuki scores, Cole scores like that, what a fun package.
The mountain climbers in Super Smash Bros.
Like, I just got to do stuff together.
Seeing these guys play is so much fun.
But this game set off the bad blood.
And I'll tell you this, and I say this would love,
it reminds us all that Habs fans, especially in that arena, you guys are fucking crazy.
Yeah.
Like just really mortifying stuff.
The way you see some of these guys, like there is a clip of Tom Wilson against the glass
and some dad in a jersey with his young kid next to him is screaming obscenities.
He's like, you fucking prick cock sucker.
I fucking hope your whole family dies.
And I'm like, your kid is right now teaching him the ways, dude.
He's teaching him a kid at his little no way.
pet out. He's like, what was it, dad?
Mother fucking cocksucker. He's like, yes, son. Good job.
It's insane. And yeah, this game, this is what
set it all up. We had the Tom Wilson crybaby mocking face and
so many fans on Twitter. Like I tweeted out.
I was like, how can you not love Tom Wilson? And the Havs fans were like,
pretty fucking easily. So this is the game
that set all of the energy off in a big way.
Yep. A couple awesome things here, Dan.
And someone asking if we've been to the Bell Center,
We've been many times and don't forget we were there for four nations.
And that was one of the loudest things I've ever heard.
I told that story about the Usher being like,
this is like absolutely bedlam when McDavid scored.
Someone Leonardo's chiming in from Italy, which is amazing.
He shouts to him watching as much play as he can.
That's incredible.
The complaining that's been going on about officiating a bit in this series is
frustrating to me because the energy is so high otherwise.
and it's been such a brawl, a street fight at times that I'm kind of like, just go, let that happen.
Let's be a part of this and fucking do it.
I give Washington honestly some credit in that game because that felt like a game where you get run because you're like, well, the Habs fans are crazy.
We lost game three, six one, but then we'll win game four and it's fine.
And obviously they did end up losing six three, but it was like, OV tied that.
There was no quit in that Washington team in a very hostile environment.
So that was actually a really good response
despite Montreal fans
getting everything they wanted in that game, which I'm happy
about they deserve. I think we both, maybe I said
four or five, but I was like, I hope Montreal gets one
just for the crowd. Yeah, I think I said
six because I just said they were going to be so, so
torqued up.
But a big one
in this game is Logan Thompson.
Exactly. That's the big. And we'll get into the injury,
but even before that, when it was
3-3, borderline
every goal was brutal
from the cat. Like, guys, we're turning
it over and fucking over LT to no end.
And I tweeted, I was like, dude, Logan Thompson is getting seward by his own teammates.
And he's just keeping them in this game somehow.
And then, speaking of getting sewered by your own teammates, Dylan Strom pulverizes Logan
Thompson and he leaves the game.
That was spooky.
I also said something online of, I don't care who you root for.
Watching the way LT left the ice was awful.
It was like, it literally makes no sense.
Like I thought his skateblank.
might have got knocked off even the way he was like his left layer one of those legs was in the
i was like this is this is fucked dude yeah that was out of control we were obviously worried for him uh
he comes out of the game montreal gets that huge win uh but going into the next game yesterday
great to see l t come back he's playing looks like he just got shaken up on that play everything
all good but the the the bad blood was heavy dude it was rich it was a rich alfredo sauce
people hating on Tom Wilson.
This game goes crazy again.
Washington gets on the board first with Stromer getting a goal,
but then Slaff and Cole take the lead.
But after that, it was all caps.
It was a charged by the Tom Wilson freight train.
And I will tell you what, dude.
We got to get into this in a big way.
Tom Wilson, who, you know, so many people were like,
Tom Wilson's rattled.
Oh, we're in his head, blah, blah, blah.
Tom Wilson lays, lays one of the best hits you'll ever see.
And I'm curious what the chat is going to say here.
Guys, if you don't like that Tom Wilson hit, you don't like hockey.
That was a no charging, no targeting, wasn't late, shoulder to shoulder, clean fucking hit that completely changed the game and directly led to a goal and thus the win for the capitals.
And there are people who are going to freeze frame a clip where the head is like into his shoulder.
you guys need to understand momentum.
It's the same with the leaving your feet.
Yep.
It's like if I hit you, let's do it.
Do it.
Do it.
If I hit you shoulder to shoulder and I get the momentum,
your head is oftentimes going to turn into my shoulder.
Because your body's going to go like this and then like that.
And that's the freeze frame people keep getting.
Man, that hit is fucking clean and it's awesome.
And that's hockey.
It certainly playoff hockey.
So Dan, a lot of people asking about it because some,
Declan's like, my buddy hated it.
Declan didn't see an issue.
I got a couple habs fans in here being like,
I'm a habs fan.
It's a clean hit.
One question that I actually think is interesting is,
um,
since Kerry couldn't get up,
the puck goes back into the Caps zone and there's a chance it could have been
blown dead because they're like,
he's down and now the puck's back in the D zone with no threat.
So they're like,
okay, blow the whistle.
That's actually a reasonable question.
It's playoff.
I'm glad they got,
it's a reasonable question,
but it, dude,
this isn't pee-wee fucking hockey.
Of course, but like, that's not,
they blow it dead sometimes if a guy can't get up.
Yeah, but if he's on the ice and looks like he's dead,
if he's going full rigorice.
Yeah, if he's posturing, if he's posturing.
Yeah, yeah.
But if it's just like, dude, you just got rocked.
That was a clean hit and now you're down.
That's part of the fucking game.
And I,
player safety is the most important thing.
You always want to make sure guys are okay.
But to me, that wasn't one that was like,
oh my God, someone just got popped in the dome.
Yep. Like that's when you stop the game immediately.
But yeah, no, I mean, I get it. It's a factor.
But again, it was a clean hit. I don't, I don't even know what to say here.
And what do you think about? Someone said, I'll try to find it again.
Oh, someone says, I just hate that nobody tried to go against Wilson after.
And I know you hate like the fight for the clean hit.
But I actually think since that is, people do do that all the time.
I might have liked to have seen a little spark from the habs there.
Change the whole game.
While I hear that, yes, you said.
that I hate that and I'll tell you why I hate that.
And by the way, that's a great comment.
It is a great comment.
If you're a fan of the haves,
you're like,
you're like,
you do,
fight.
Yeah.
My take on that is,
I always say hits are on the statute.
It's a part of the fucking game.
And that was a clean hit that led to a scoring opportunity.
So it's almost like a cheat code.
If you're the habs and you're like,
we need to stop the game and drop like drop the gloves.
I would have lost my shit if I'm the caps because I'm like,
we have possession.
Yeah.
That was a clean hit.
The game should not be stopping.
And those are the times where I'm like,
if you,
you do that, that is a power play for Washington and you're thrown out of the game.
Because I'm like, it's like, to me, it's the same thing as like covering the puck
in the crease. Yeah. Like, dude, that's bullshit.
Minus the toss. I agree with you. I'll be like, yeah, penalty for instigating. But I honestly
think they would, obviously, since they scored, but even ignoring the goal, I think you
you would have taken the P.K. there just to be like, all right, we got pop, send the message.
I'll serve too happily. For sure. Resettle everyone down. I don't like that precedent.
Yeah. I don't like the precedent precedent of like, you know, your player gets rocked.
that a power play goal is guaranteed but like your player gets rocked cleanly and it looks like
you're in a bad spot i'm just going to start a fight because the game will stop like it's like
it's not gonna net off you know what i mean a lot of comments about the ovi hit too everyone some people
being like it's dirty some people being like dude that he was barely he wasn't even trying to hit him
and if you someone said if you've seen ovi hit somebody you'd know you know he wasn't trying to
hit him i am actually on that side of it i don't think i agree i think that was unlucky
timing and space and ovi isn't isn't out there trying to hurt anybody's also not that type of
player. And there was another one in here. I wanted to say, oh, oh, someone says, what do you think
about, Cooper says, what do you think about Hudson's game? Love Hudson's game, but that was such a
brutal turnover with the empty net. Like, you just got to be, I mean, he's so poised all the time,
but I was like, got to be a little bit quicker there. Yeah. To me, it's like, this kid has
surpassed every single expectation all season long to the point where he is a rookie and he is, I believe,
probably in the category of one of the best defensemen in the game.
Yep.
Are there going to be growing pains in the playoffs?
Yes.
And to me, what he does with the puck, and listen, you're down four to already at that point.
If you have a turnover in a situation where you desperately need a goal, you want the puck on his stick.
Sometimes you're going to turn it over.
So not mad at that at all.
I think he's just such a phenomenal player.
Yep, absolutely correct.
Matt says youngest team in NHL features Brighton, Montreal, agree.
and Spencer says fighting off clean hit is overdone at this point, which you love.
So shout Spencer.
Love that.
Moving on, staying up in Canada, Battle of Ontario, Leif's Sends.
Ottawa finally gets an OT break their way.
Finally gets a bounce.
They get on the board.
Toronto was up, 3-0 in the series.
Ottawa forces a game five.
I do.
This is going to be a recurring thing here on puckline news and the
podcast, but I need to wear this for a minute. Pop it on, Dan.
Hey, folks, I'm the guy that picked Sends and seven.
It's six, I thought. No, are you high? I think he said six. No, I fucking didn't. Don't be in it.
I'm wearing a clown nose. I'm going to look that up. I'm wearing a clown nose. You don't
need to make it sound it worse. I picked them in seven and they went down three. Now,
it's not still alive. Still alive. Sends and seven still a lot. I'm a man of honor.
Because I could be like, they won one.
But I don't look great right now because this could be over in five.
But I'll say this, Brady Kachuk referenced the Boston Red Sox.
Yep.
And don't let us win one.
They get a win.
Don't let us win one.
They get a win.
My question for you is we dogged Rod Brindamore a bunch for being like, that didn't
feel like a sweep.
A bunch of games went into OT a couple of years ago.
Yeah.
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
What do you think about this team?
Like Ottawa gets an OT win and they lost an OT.
the game before.
And the game before that.
And the game before that.
Like this series could be 3-1 the other way.
Yep.
So do you think this is Toronto making it a little hard on themselves?
Or is Ottawa actually battling back and they've got a shot to even this up?
A couple things here.
Do you have to wear this the whole time?
Yes.
A couple things here.
There is, I cannot fathom a more Leafs thing than blowing a 3-0 series lead to Ottawa.
So like, it's,
In such a weird way, the Leafs with all their misery and curse have set themselves up for an even worse.
You know, like they, they've created, by going up 3-0 and doing everything they were supposed to do,
they created a worst-case scenario that I can't even begin to comprehend.
Yeah.
So that would be a nightmare.
But no, Dan, a lot of Ottawa fans in the chat saying what you just said, basically,
where it's like, Leif's got a lot of puck luck.
They could go to go overtime hockey could go either way, you know?
But I feel like I've said this every time we've talked about the Leafs on a puckline news or on a pod.
The Leafs are showing me everything I've asked them to show me in the last month of the regular season and this playoff run.
Because winning is all that matters.
Getting the fucking win in the playoffs and they have gotten them.
And dude, in this game, it's so easy, dude, to lose this game.
To be like, we're up three-oh, who gives a fuck.
Ottawa goes up 2-0-0 in this game
Leaves Battleback.
Ottawa goes up 3-2 and the 3rd.
Leaves tied up.
Leaves out shot the Senators
35-21 in a game that didn't mean
shit to the Leaves.
That means literally you cannot
you cannot recreate desperation.
It's hard to bottle that up.
They also went 0 for 4 on the power play in this game.
Dude, the fact that this game went to overtime
makes me, and I picked,
I thought I was going to be a great series too.
I said Leafs in 7 and I was like to be a tilt,
which it could still be.
But to me, this is so comfortably
over in game five. Toronto goes back and goes,
thanks for playing Ottawa, really appreciate it.
And Ottawa fans, by the way, I'm really happy
you've got to win. I'm really happy you've got to win.
Build on this, make the playoffs next year. I love that team.
I love Brady Kachuk. But this,
to me, I'm like Toronto is fucking
Toronto is on another level than they've
been in the past and they are handling
themselves in the playoffs the way they haven't in the past.
So I have a few things to say about this series.
Here's one of my big ones.
My question
for you is
what the hell is
going on in the first and last minute of period in these playoffs.
And playoffs.
You just mentioned that they go up to you.
And then with 55 seconds left in the first,
you let Tavares score a goal.
And it's like,
protect the fucking ends of the period,
guys.
There's so many different series this is going on.
And it's driving me absolutely insane.
Yep.
The other thing I'm going to say is hits drastically in favor of Ottawa in this
which we thought.
And a series.
But you do actually have to ask yourself the question.
Yes, this game is in Ottawa.
Four power plays for Montreal, only two for Ottawa.
Do you wonder, or excuse me, for Toronto, two for Ottawa, do you wonder at some point
when you're relying on the physical game and it's not necessarily getting you wins and
it's getting the other team so many power play opportunities, dial it back.
Like get back into your game, you know, like it's not working that well.
You've lost three games in a row.
You obviously win this one.
But at some point, you've got to be like, dude, if you're not winning games because of the winning the physical battle, sometimes you need to reassess.
Now my next thing, this was a better game from Linus Olmark.
He was above 900 and a safe percentage in this one.
Great.
You do have to ask the question, when and ever does Linus steal a game for you?
Dude.
He has given up three or more goals in every single game in this series.
And that's not crazy.
You know, there's two, three, two wins, you know, like it's, it is what it is.
But when does he go, guys, I got us.
They're not fucking scoring.
Like, look at all season long he had against this team in particular.
Yep.
When does he go, I got us.
I'm going to shut the fucking door.
Just go get three goals and we've got to win.
Dude, never.
He just doesn't do it.
I'm sorry, dude.
And I legitimately love him.
He's an incredible dude.
And I think he's an incredibly talented goalie.
but something is happening in his career where it's just like this is a harder and this one's tricky
because I'm like the Leafs are way better than you in my opinion so I'm like yeah I'm like hey save all
the shots and he's like well they're fucking nasty and I'm doing the best I can and I played pretty
well in this game sorry I gave up three like that's a winnable game yeah but just I don't know that
I think it would be irresponsible to start expecting that if I'm the sense or a sense fan and I go
well don't worry oh mark's going to pull a rabbit out of his hat soon I'm like I don't think that's
coming. I'm sure with a dude like that, it could flip on its fucking head. And he could have a
shutout next game and then be like, I'm dialed. And I'm not going to give anything up.
But just I am, I am not going into this expecting him to steal a game. I don't think I am either.
And that is a shit feeling. Yes. But if you're him, if you're Linus, that needs to be your
North Star right here. You need to be like, dude, I, because here's the, and we're next series up,
folks, we're going to get into a big conversation about this. Dude, you cannot.
let this become a narrative.
So you need to lock the fuck in and steal the game for your team.
Now,
everything has looked like it's going well for Toronto.
All their big boys are playing well.
Look at Tavares.
Yeah, Maddie.
Nice, dude.
Nice.
Like I said,
such a factor for this team.
Holy shit.
You feel good.
If you lose game five.
Dude, someone just said this in the chat.
I kept trying to find it.
Someone said game five is must win for Toronto.
And I'm kind of like,
I hear where you're coming from.
So I think historically that is must win for them.
Yeah.
Because like if you lose and you're like, oh, God.
And then you're headed back to Ottawa.
That's usually bad news for you guys.
I will say this for this Toronto team.
Even with all the OT wins,
it's just felt like they've been in control the whole time.
I know.
So I'm like, honestly, if they lose this game,
I'm not that rattled.
What if they get pumped?
Depending on how it goes.
What if they get pumped?
If Ottawa beats the wheels off them,
then I am like, oh, we've got something going on.
Dude, Spencer says, I saw this stat too, great poll Spencer,
that the Leafs in the Matthews-Tavarra's knee-winder era are 1 and 12 in close-out games.
And like if that goes to 1 and 13 and God forbid one in 14 and you're at game and you're at game seven.
That is the, dude, that game 7 is nightmare fuel.
Like I know what they always show that.
It's like Maple Leaf Square or whatever.
Like they always show that.
I expect that to be empty in game set.
Like literally don't watch.
There's no winning here, dude.
It's just such a nightmare.
Holy shit.
Taking off the nose, moving on.
We have a serious discussion in the series.
Jets, Blues.
Holy moly.
We've got the best team in the league,
the president's trophies winner.
They go up to two very comfortable wins.
And then we get games three and four.
And look at that.
Those pesky blues have tied this series 2-2,
and we now have, I believe, what is it, CP,
10 of 13 games where Hallibuck has given up four.
Four more.
And it's like five that he's given up five or more, you know.
I want to say this, going back to last time,
I think they had just played game three when we were on this live.
And I said, I hated a bunch of things about the Jets.
I hated the fighting.
I thought it was such fake tough guy bullshit
because it went too far. I don't hate scrums
especially when you're like send a message, we're getting rocked.
It was every whistle
in the last 10 minutes of the game. And I was like, you're losing
a thousand nothing, dude. Shut the fuck up.
Go to the locker. Hated that.
And I don't think that
worked the way they wanted. It made them
look scared
to me. And I think the blues took
that mentality. And I hated
the hell of buck pull
just because I'm of the vassie school
and I'm like, just stay in there, dude. It's fucking
fine you gotta be kidding me i hated it with with this guy specifically you exactly they pull every
time he's getting lit up they've pulled them try something else the whole mo here is that he's overplayed
yep i know just why they did it like you that i can't believe hated it well what's a scenario where
you're going to be okay with the goal of getting pulled um if his leg breaks if you break his leg
you're fucking then you pull him so i will say though i don't think the jets came out and played
badly i thought they actually had a pretty good game they were
they were controlling play for long stretch they go up one nothing yeah the hellabuck thing dude is
here's here's my question to you everyone keeps talking about and i said this hand up i said i brought
this up too that they ride him too hard in the regular season he's playing too many games the part i'm
kind of not buying about that anymore is it implies that literally he has a ticking time bomb at like
62. So Joe, hear me out, pretend the regular season would just went four more games.
Yeah. Would he have been playing horribly the last four games? Or would he be just as sick as he was
because they were regular season games? To me, it's less about literally from game 63,
he just falls off a cliff to know this game matters now. And people are getting more pucks
to the net and whatever. There's a lot of factors. But it's less to me about the, my legs are
tired and more about something different is happening in playoffs. I think you are completely.
completely correct.
Because to me,
I mean,
guys do get tired,
but at the same time,
there are people who are paid
a lot of money
to keep an eye on
and keep track of if someone is tired.
Yeah. And yeah, I just think
it's bullshit to think that
he's just out here completely
gassed and no one in the coaching staff is like,
get him out with you. Yeah. Like, well, this is insane.
So,
I think it's a cop-out.
I think him being so poor in the playoffs,
statistically his whole career.
Yep.
And then these last couple games,
and frankly, game one,
yeah, yeah,
I think is a cop-out.
I think it's something else.
I don't know what it is.
He's obviously one of the best goalies in the game.
He's going to win another Vesna,
no question about it.
But, dude, this is insane.
And you're right.
The Jets came out strong in this game.
They obviously get on the board first,
but the second the blues tied it,
it was over.
Yeah, right.
You blinked and that game was three to one.
And there's something I think too about you look at that response from the players and I'm telling you the players know.
I know, Dan.
He gives up a goal and they're like, oh, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck.
And it's like goal, goal, goal.
And you just get rung up in this game.
So the question now is who do you start in game five, which is so ridiculous.
Well, okay.
So some people, some people are saying there's so much good stuff.
the chat right here.
Somebody saying, do you start Comrie on the road?
Because Hellebuck stats are so significantly worse on the road in the playoffs.
Yeah.
And, dude, the problem is you, if you bench Hellebuck, even on the road.
Like, let's say they're like, oh, we won game five at home.
We play Comrie.
But no matter what, if you don't play Hellebuck the rest of the way and you lose that
game or the series, you get crucified.
100%.
Literally back to back Vesna, maybe heart, which I still think is ridiculous.
But back to back Vezna and you sit him.
and lose to the fucking last team in wild card blues, no offense,
then you're dead.
So you literally have to play him.
You have no choice.
No choice.
Save for a discussion with the coaches and a team psychologist where they leave that meeting
and go, this man literally cannot play.
You ride him to the wheels fall.
That is the only factor because, yes, you are right.
It's such a high risk, low reward.
if you play comry and you win you're like what a great call i'm a genius but then you're faced with
the like do we play hell of bucking round two yeah yeah it's such a dangerous game and you just have
to trust that you're back to back of vesna winning goalie can get figure his shit out and win a series
for you here but i mean do you what does the wheel watch you really quickly jose says can your
favorite blues fan get a b-day shout out i assume that means him happy birthday jose hey hey jose
Happy birthday brother.
What is the wheels coming off to you?
Like straight up,
if the Blues win game five in Winnipeg,
six one and Hellebuck gives up five goals on fucking 18 shots again,
now what in game six?
If Hellebuk gives up four or more goals in game five,
and it's not a close game.
If it's a four three barn burner,
nothing here.
But if it is four nothing blues in the second period and you're like,
you have to pull him,
I think about that wheels off, dude?
I would think about benching him.
maybe because someone says, I love this line. Chris says dance with the girl you brought to the party,
which I agree with largely. I'm like, you just got to play up. And in game five, it's not even a
question for me, literally, but I'm not even a question. I'm telling you, yeah, it's just,
it's not, it's not a special. He is starting game five. But I am telling you, if you go down
four nothing at any point in game five, I have this very, very serious conversation.
And frankly, dude, if you go down three two on home ice to St. Louis, the wildcar team,
again, that's no disrespect. Yeah, yeah. It's just the optics of it.
if you go down 3-2 and your goalie gets lit up like a Christmas tree again.
I legitimately have a conversation about starting comedy in game six because if you lose that game,
I don't think there's a single fan whose opinion I would care about.
Yeah, right.
That would be like this, you idiots, you blew the series by not starting Hellebuck,
I would be like, are you fucking kidding me, dude?
Look at what is it.
Yeah. Look at every game we've lost and look how Hellebuck has played.
and you're going to tell me that that is what did it?
Absolutely not.
Even game one, Dan, you get three goals on 17 shots or whatever.
So it's kind of like, oh, man, you're not looking what you're seeing.
And Binner has been really locked the last few, by the way, which was always the combo.
Like we've got the hottest goalie in the league.
Phenomenal last game.
Where are you at?
Because I had Jets in five, I think, because I was like, they're just so much better.
I picked Jets in seven.
Yeah, okay.
I was like, this Blues team is so scrappy.
They're so dangerous.
And Binner is locked in.
I think it's going to go to seven.
But now I'm like, I mean, this first round we've said so many times now has been so electric.
And it's because a lot of these series are getting evened up.
They're going back and forth.
And we keep talking about pressure.
All the pressure is on Winnipeg.
Now, if you had told me this was going to be two, two going into game five,
wouldn't it always be on Winnipeg?
But like, no, because they've got home ice.
The Blues are a good team.
What if these were just good back and forth, trading punches,
games, you know, two one win here, three, two win there. I wouldn't say that all the pressures
on the Jets. This is like, you've got a fucking mental problem now. We're in a fucking asylum here.
Yeah. You are in a straight jacket. A prisoner of your thoughts, dude, six thoughts. Yeah.
That's what's happening. The Jets are terrified right now. Especially because it becomes even more
about a Hela Buc thing and the Jets thing, 46 wins two years ago losing the first round,
52 wins last year, losing the first round, 56 wins this year, President's Trophy, Vesna,
to back.
Possible losing the first round.
Do the blues.
I'm like, dude.
And the guys like, Kyle Connor scored again.
Like it's not, sometimes you're like, oh, our stars vanished.
It's not even really happening.
But man, this jet, I feel so bad for this fan base and this team.
If they just cave here again.
Because I'm like, dude, this is such a horrible look.
It is such a horrible look.
So yeah, my final thoughts on this series are as much as I want to say, you ride
helly till the wheels fall off. You start him in game five and that is not even up for debate.
Frankly, anyone discussing otherwise, I don't know what's wrong with you, but you do not start
him game six if this is a shit show. Dan, and what? Straight up, you don't. I think you're,
I think you're right. And I like, God, dude, even if he, even if you wins, if you, if you win and
he plays horribly, I don't know what I do. That's a win, dude. It's a win. Yeah. The only way you
don't start him in game six, like I said, is if it's four or more.
goals and it's like the game is over.
Yeah.
And by that, I mean, uh, similar to the,
the Colorado game where it's like, it's three nothing going into the third and you're
like, uh, this is over.
Yep.
If he has given up four goals through two periods and you are not within one, I'm like,
this guy's benched game.
What if Jets win seven, six and he gives up six on 20 shots?
That's a fucking wind dude.
Dub in the column.
Dubbing the column.
Dan, I'm bummed that so far, hell, he hasn't been able to bring the four nations thing
with him.
Like we've been talking about so much.
So it's like, oh, that was what he needed.
That was high pressure.
All the eyeballs on him.
Gold medal game against Canada.
That's going to get him into that playoff mentality and he'll be fine.
And then so far, playoffs it started and it's been a fucking nightmare.
It's absolutely horrible.
Moving on to one where you were very close to wearing a clown nose.
I'll put it on, dude.
I'll put it on still.
Are you kidding me?
I said Vegas in fucking four.
Put it on.
You kidding me?
We've got Vegas, Minnesota all tied up two, two after eight.
The knights are so good.
The knights are the best team in the league.
Nobody can beat in the lights.
They roll four lines.
They've got the best D, the best goalie.
The top five player in the league.
Vegas and four.
Absolute clown show, dude.
Yeah.
Tough sledding, dude.
Tough sledding for you.
We were able to talk about the five to win on the Friday morning show.
And I had mentioned, is there a chance that we are respecting Vegas too much as a society?
Yeah.
As an, as an NHL fans.
such a fun city, dude, you get caught up in it.
Are we respecting Vegas too much and just thinking that they are always locked in?
And I'll tell you what, Minnesota up to one.
They come into this game.
Vegas gets on the board first, but then Minnesota goes up to one in this game.
And the start of the second.
And I was like, oh, my God.
Yep.
I was like, this is like, I was prepared to paint your face.
Dude, like a clown.
And we, if Minnesota had gone up.
And we had said, if Minnesota wins that game, series over,
series over, over.
And I actually couldn't believe the stat.
A lot of people have it out there now.
but Minnesota has never had a 3-1 series lead in franchise history.
And I was like, what?
Like, that is so crazy to me.
And I was like, well, you got to do it right now.
And they're like, still no, dude, two, two.
How are you?
So this one was interesting because you've got this,
this wild team continues to just bang bodies.
I mean, they are, they look so frustrating and difficult to play against.
But a lot of back and forth in this game.
Yep.
Vegas up.
Minnesota takes the lead. Vegas takes the lead. Minnesota ties it. And then we go to O.T.
Jack Eichl gets his first assist. Thank God. But secondary assist on the power play. He still has no goals.
Are you prepared to say something is officially wrong? Yes. And Costone finally got an assist too.
But I said to you, dude, it's just not enough from them, obviously. And it's now too deep.
where it's a thing, even if they're not hurt, which I think Jack is.
But even if they aren't, sometimes this just happens where you're like,
fuck, I don't know what's going on.
Now you're gripping the stick tight.
Now you're thinking about it.
Now every time you're out there, you're like, I got to contribute.
I got to contribute boys counting on me.
And that's the exact opposite of what you want to be thinking during playoff games.
You want to just go, I'm Jack fucking Ikel.
And I'll just do whatever I want out here because I'm top five player in the week.
And that's that's not coming through right now to the point that I'm like,
this Vegas team has to win this series without them.
And I don't mean like literally they're never going to get another point.
I just mean the rest of Vegas needs to go,
boys,
we got a nut up and pick up our guys and help they come back and round too.
We're more than halfway through, right?
You're absolutely right.
And you know,
hurdles been great.
He's got his third goal of the series.
Barbie obviously gets his first,
the OT winner.
And that was big.
Huge.
Barmachev getting going was like,
thank fucking God.
Yep.
But we're more than halfway through this series.
And Jack Eichl and Mark Stone are very quiet.
Yeah. And that's the difference maker, right?
Yeah. You're absolutely right. You just kind of said it. It's if you're Vegas and you want to win this series, you are almost operating right now thinking, yeah, we have to do it without them.
Yep. If you're going to get past this team, this way better than we gave them credit for a Minnesota team. We have to do it without our biggest guys. And that is a terrible feeling.
Yes, man. Austin says last two playoff series for the wild, they were leading to one, then lost in six. That's a good stat pole.
I want to give Vegas some credit here, though.
And I say that by going, you have been outplayed this entire series by a team that I still think is worse than you, but not by much.
Someone said it last chat that was like they may be better, but they don't have as much heart, which I agreed with.
But this, in that building, with the way XL is going fucking bat shit insane, going down in this game to 1, entering the third period, 20 minutes away from, in my opinion, this series being fucking done.
in that building.
Them coming back.
And obviously I know they gave up the lead,
but them coming back and taking a lead
in a really hostile environment
against a fucking very good team
who has been out playing you.
That was actually a little bit of fight
from Vegas that I wasn't even sure
we were getting.
Like I thought there was a chance
at that to one lead.
I was like, here you go, dude,
pet the belly, see you later.
Yeah.
And the fact that they came back there
gives me a little confidence in,
I guess I got to say,
I need to keep my Vegas
is going to win this series pick.
but I am now like this is seven for sure in my opinion.
Yeah, I think so too.
Crazy power play swing here.
0 for Minnesota,
two for five for five in Minnesota.
It was shocking.
46 shots.
Gus was massive in this game.
And that's one where if you're Gus,
you're not like,
fuck you boys.
But when you make that many saves,
you do want the win.
You know,
it's brutal.
But you use it as a positive for both,
right?
Like if I'm Vegas,
I go,
we pumped 46 shots on them.
And you look at the period breakdown.
It's like just consistent onslaught, great game.
But if you're at the wild, I go, dude,
we're Gus is fucking locked in.
We're money.
Like, yeah, I wish we'd won that game,
but I have no worries with him going forward.
I don't have worries with Gus.
I've never felt that way.
I've never felt a loss where your goalie plays amazing.
You're like, I feel good, dude.
Our goalie's, I think it's the worst feeling.
Because you're like, fuck, we blew it.
He did his only job.
Yeah.
And we fucking blew it for him.
I think that's always brutal.
But again, you're all tied up.
And I think even with an OT win, I give Minnesota the momentum.
Minnesota, you know, two huge wins in games two and three, games where they punched you in the mouth.
Yep.
And people were like, holy fuck, we've been underestimating this team.
And then, sure, it was a loss on home ice, but Vegas has to scrap through a 46 shot OT win to get it tied up.
Your guys are going.
Corrille is out of control.
Spurgeon gets his first.
Rossi's scoring.
Falino has three.
It's like if you're Minnesota,
I think you feel fantastic right now.
And then the big one, again,
whether it be injury or not,
you have found a way to shut down
Jack Eichel and Markstone.
Yep, yep, yep.
Minnesota feels good.
But I still think, though,
I don't think Vegas is scared either.
Like, I think they're going,
I have fucking two out of three at home.
Yeah.
And we're better.
Yeah.
I thought Hill was pretty good in that game, too,
which you really.
need by the way. Like you actually really need that because he's going to be outplayed by Gus in my
opinion in pretty much every game. But it just needs to be by this much. Yeah. Because if it's by a lot
and you fucking are getting lit up, I don't think you can light up Gus. Like Vegas can't win a
game in 5-4 in this series. I don't think with the way Gus is playing. Before we move on, does the
chat have anything else about this? Let's see chat out here saying, oh, someone just said, can he'll
keep up with Gus? Good question. He'll look so awkward in that he doesn't look confidence.
I kind of agree with that.
To me, honestly, though, in the two Vegas losses,
it was sloppy turnovers that were leading to goals more than I was like,
oh, Hill's just getting beat on shots from the point or whatever.
And I thought Vegas cleaned that up a bit in this game.
Obviously, they still gave up three.
But if they do that, sometimes hockey can be simple.
I'm literally like, if you stop turning the puck over,
if you're Vegas, you'll just win the season.
And that was always more my issue with what was going on here.
But people are fired up about krill and I couldn't agree more.
Yeah.
Incredible, incredible performance already.
All right.
Let's move on to the next game or penultimate game of this episode.
Two huge ones here.
Yeah, two huge ones.
And this one I know a lot of people have been waiting in the chat to talk about.
A lot of our West Coasters sitting here waiting to talk with this one, Kings Oilers.
We got a game on Friday night.
We had a game last night both at Rogers Place, which I said is a different, different building.
And the series is now tied to two.
We had one crazy one on Friday.
Kings had the lead in the third, fell apart,
and then an OT win for the Oilers last night.
You have some spicy shit about this.
I don't even know where to start, frankly.
We can start with the Friday game.
First game in Edmonton.
Yep.
Everyone knew they were going to come out hot, come out firing,
and they did just that.
They get Nuge on the board for his first,
Bush on the board for his first,
2-0 lead,
but then Kempi,
the oiler killer.
Yep.
Gets his fourth of the series, huge for L.A.
to make it just a one goal deficit going in the second,
but then it was boom, boom.
Fiala, Dowdy, then a crazy Connor Brown goal to tie it up,
and then Trevor Moore with a nasty 105-hole goal.
And the Kings go into the third with a lead.
This is where the discussion and discourse of this series will kick off.
Yep.
I woke up this morning.
And we're talking about Friday's game.
Yeah, yeah, dude.
But I woke up this morning still in disbelief.
Now, let me be clear.
Obviously, we have love for the Kings.
I love that the Oilers won this game.
Yep.
Because it's more entertainment.
It's more hockey.
We have a two, two series now with two teams that hate each other.
That is just fucking awesome.
It's electric.
I'm thrilled about it.
But we do need to discuss how insane the coaching performance.
from the LA Kings up in.
In game one, the Kings have a 5-3 lead in the third period.
Chance at an empty net.
They miss it.
Goal.
Miss it 10 times.
10 times.
Gets tied up 5-5 and they miraculously get a filled-to-no goal that gets them the winning
game one.
But they were in that position in game one because Hitler decided to go to the
one-three-one, sit back on their heels and just try to defend, try to survive.
I can't think of a worse fucking team that has ever existed in NHL history
to try to sit back on your heels against in a third period with a lead
than a team that has Connor McDavid and Leon Dreisandt.
And it absolutely ass fucked you in game one.
Yep.
And you are lucky to have won that way.
Yep.
We left that barn and we were like,
Jesus Christ,
the kings just clutched,
not just this game,
the series loss out of the jaws of defeat.
Yeah.
Because they were like, oh my God, and somehow got that goal.
Then in game two, you learn your lesson.
You have a lead in the third.
It gets to three, two, but you just kept playing hockey.
You kept battling and then then just go, goal, goal, goal, which I think we can all agree watching the series.
The Kings are the better team.
Yep, certainly 5B5.
And they kept playing and then they win 6.2.
And then in game three, they started that third period.
And you could just tell.
Yeah.
You were like, oh my God, are you guys just going to let Edmonton ram this down your fucking throat and just pray to God you survive?
That's exactly what they did.
And then they get a sketchy goal on the Evander candle.
But I'm here to tell you good goal.
Agreed.
Someone who just kicked it.
Yeah, yeah.
You're wrong.
He did not kick the fuck.
Yeah.
But it then hit his stick.
Yep.
There was no goal interference.
And that's where we'll get into this.
Dude, I have never seen a more in bat shit insane.
goalie interference
challenged than that one by Jim Hiller.
It makes no sense.
I don't even
I don't even understand the logic.
We just watched Toronto as in
like the control room.
Watch that goal for almost 20 minutes
to figure out if Evander Cain
didn't touch the problem.
You don't think that in that sequence
they might have gone.
The ref literally came out and went
the Edmonton player did
kick the puck, but
theatrics. He then
hit it with a stick. If they're looking at it
and they're going to that extent in the official
review, you don't think that they would go
there was goally interference on the play,
no goal. And I guess I don't know
if they would have done that because I think if you haven't
challenged that specifically. Yeah, yeah. Yeah.
I don't know that, but I'm saying
probably fucking likely.
Yeah. You have literally
the people who are paid to review calls
looking at it for almost 20 minutes
and they go, it's a good goal. And then you go,
It's tied.
It's a tie game.
You have beat this team two games in a row.
You're beating the shit out of them this game,
save not for the disastrous third period tactics that you have.
Yep.
And it's tied and you show momentarily a complete lack of faith in your players.
And you go, we have to challenge this.
We have to challenge this and risk giving Connor McDavid and Leon Drysaddle a power play
because it's tied.
Yeah.
Insane.
Absolutely insane.
And what's funny to is,
is we talked about online. We got on Twitter. We got on the bird. It talked about how
insane that challenge was. And there were some people who were like, no, it's interference.
I get it, dude. Fandum, we're going to talk more about that in this series. You're desperate at
times. Yep. Everyone in the hockey world, as far as media, was unified in how astounded they were.
I'm here to tell you, I'm not going to name names. I was texting people from various shows,
from various networks till three in the morning.
Being like, what was that decision?
Utterly insane.
It's insane and especially because to your point,
or I guess in their defense,
that's a really volatile rule.
Like sometimes,
I feel like I'm wrong,
I feel like I'm wrong 70% of the time
when I watch the replay.
So who fucking knows?
They could have been like,
actually yeah,
sorry for the 20 minute review about the kick.
It was goal interference and we're all good here.
So in their defense, fine.
But just to your point, dude,
just beat them.
Just beat them.
Like you are better.
You've been beating them.
You can do it.
Just beat them.
I don't need it.
I thought that was so crazy.
Everyone in the chat, well, some people are split on the chat, but everyone is being like,
it's the turtling in the third period.
It's the turtling in the third period from the Kings, which is a fucking joke.
Going to the one three one or whatever it is, someone was like, I actually think they should
just go down and go into the third trailing.
Because then you can just play hard and, and beat the O's, which I actually love that take.
For me, dude, you had said something to me.
I didn't know if you were going to go here or not, so I won't.
completely quote you. But the way the kings, the fact that we're two, two now with the way
they've lost is, has to be extremely disappointing. It's horrible. Yeah. To the point that I think,
I was looking at the series, this one, because there's a couple really exciting ones in Vegas and
Minnesota, in Winnipeg and St. Louis, this is the most important.
of all the game fives in my opinion.
This game five is literally must watch playoff hockey television
because if you lose this game, if you're the Kings,
with your home ice record and all that shit,
and you have to go back to Edmonton,
having lost three in a row,
I think it is like,
you're going to spin off this fucking planet and it's a nightmare.
I believe this series only goes seven
if the Kings win game five.
Okay.
And do you think it goes?
seven if they win game five or you're like no they could win game six i it depends on how this game goes
i yes i do think that but yeah this only goes seven if the kings were yeah i think um a lot of people
too in the chat have been saying um that the kings aren't playing their fourth line they're
playing three lines two deep pairs when it gets tough they're getting tired and the reason i actually
love those comments chat thank you for that is because if you have one strength over this oilers team
it is how much deeper you are the oilers have two players and that's so mean but you know what i'm saying
Like we've watched him out there and I'm like, there's two guys really making a massive impact here.
The king should just be rolling lines into oblivion.
And then maybe you're less tired in the third period and you can give it a little bit more effort and stop having this situation because that is what is absolutely killing you.
Someone asks, and this has come up a couple times, is it similar to Marner in Toronto?
Is it cup or bust for McDavid and Edmonton?
No, no.
I mean, I personally, I don't think, you know, Connor McDavid is going to get his cups.
I don't think it's this year.
Even if they beat the Kings, I don't think it's this year.
Connor McDavid is going to get his cups.
It's going to be multiple.
And I don't think Leon Drysidal extends there.
Like so many people are being like, oh,
McDavid's fed up.
He's not going to extend.
Like Connor McDavid feels like a sync with the ship type of guy.
There's no worry of him.
I actually thought last year, if they lost to Vancouver last year,
I thought there was a chance for some real fireworks,
some real fireworks.
Yeah.
But getting back into the series,
we obviously go to game four.
King start.
They get on the board first.
We've also got Skinner being yanked now.
Oh yeah.
Let's talk about that.
Pickert.
Played both, right?
Yep.
In both.
Again, Kings should have won game three.
No doubt about it.
Should have won game three.
They choke with that awful call, lose.
Pickard starts game four.
I thought he was fantastic in the first period.
Yeah.
I thought he was fantastic.
Made a few insane saves.
But Trevor Moore gets them on the board first.
They have a one-nothing lead going to the second.
Fogel scores.
And then.
Edmonton gets a powerplay.
There's been a lot of annoying talk.
And it's funny because someone called me out on Twitter,
which I appreciate.
And we'll get into that.
Because I was like, fans need to shut the fuck up in every series,
but particularly this one.
And I say this as Edmonton,
we spent a lot of time up there.
You guys are great, so passionate, so awesome.
Edmonton fans doing a lot of complaining about the power plays.
They're like, it's skewed.
L.A. has more power.
Dude, when you get fist-fucked 6-2, you're usually playing dumb and taking stupid penalties.
So it's not always going to be evened up, especially if there's lopsided games like you're having.
And game one was lopsied.
There were two miracle goalie-pulled goals at the end.
That game wasn't as close to it.
Yeah, yeah, right.
So that's a huge factor in that.
But they get this power play is what it is, score.
But then Fiala comes in, huge goal.
You have a 3-1 lead going into third.
series in the balance dude the entire series in the balance
the period even started if you went online
everyone saying the same thing
there's no chance that hiller sends the kings out exactly like he has
in game one and three right
immediate here come the one three one just sit back on your heels
and pray to fucking god and i unfortunately god plays for the other fucking team so he's
not going to help you right now legitimately i can't believe it i cannot fucking believe it
And then, boom, Evan Bouchard gets a goal just before the halfway mark.
Kind of a greasy one that I'm like, I mean, I thought Kemper was fantastic in this game.
She was going to ask you.
Yeah.
Just named Vezna finalist as he deserves.
He was fantastic.
But that goal goes in and you're like, okay, we're still fine.
And then for the next 10 plus minutes, they just do the same fucking thing.
And you see Kuzmenko gets benched.
Dude. Trevor Lewis, getting more minutes.
Like, you were, you were actively going,
hey, we're abandoning our game that has beat the shit out of this
one of his team for two and a half periods a game.
Yeah, correct.
Two thirds of every fucking game.
Yep.
And they just go, we're going to just keep doing it.
Yeah, you guys just scored because we're sitting back.
We're going to keep on.
Yeah, dude, let's do it again.
But you somehow survive, pull the goalie.
We're not going to sue anyone, but, you know,
Quentin Bifield absolutely knows.
to get that puck out. That changed the game. Yep. You have the goalie pulled. There's less than a minute. Quentin Bifield gets the puck on his stick with tons of room. And he kind of tries to cheekily get around Bouchard gets it poked out the stick. Captain, boom, another bush bomb. By the way, what a hilarious back and forth Bouchard has had with the Oilish fans. For the first two periods of that game, they're like, what is this loser's contract going to be next? This guy fucking stinks, blah, and then he just saves you. Yeah, now he's a hero. He's become a monster again, dude. Yeah. It's, um, it's, it's,
It's such a tough one to swallow for the Kings.
And I think you're so right in terms of,
I don't hate their game when they're just playing their game.
I love their.
How could you not love the game?
They're beating the shit out of this oil team.
And the goalie shit is so crazy too,
because it's like even with the goalie switch in Edmonton,
you're still getting your goals.
And Kemper, and you look at the shots.
I think you always had 40-something shots last game.
Kemper is playing well.
but it's five and four back to back,
and then five in game one, two, right?
So I'm kind of like, it's so weird
because sometimes I watch him with my eyes
and I'm going, Kemper's playing pretty well.
But I feel as though it's unfair for us to talk about him,
not the way we're talking about Olmark, maybe where I'm kind of like,
but you are giving up three every game, you know?
I kind of disagree.
I think Kemper was insane in this game.
Like he made so many huge fucking saves, you know, 40-8 shots.
Yeah, it's closer to.
did the Gus performance like last night where I'm like you lost four three in
overtime but you played awesome and that's scary if you're a yes fan you're a little bit like oh shit
and yeah the last thing I want to talk about is the the penalties yeah sure as I mentioned
um I made a statement I love that oilers win this because it's just more entertaining this is so fun
and you love seeing Connor McDavid play you know and Leon obviously too uh I hate that I hate the
penalty call yep um and I'm really I'm I'm so curious how
fans are so blind one way or the other.
That's not shitting on any fan base.
Everyone does it.
Gavrokov literally has that puck.
He's the puck character.
Yeah,
yeah.
And Connor McDavid runs into the back of Gavrikov's leg and goes down.
And I'm like,
how do you call that?
I know.
Like so many people are like,
it's a slew foot.
And I'm like,
well,
Connor's leg hits the back.
Gavroch's stick never touches him.
And it's,
listen,
Connor Brown's stick got slashed in half
and broken in third period.
That's a penalty.
How do you not?
call that. People wanted a trip on McDavid. I thought that was soft. But then there's another one.
Edmondson gets clearly tripped at the end of that game with a minute left that the Oilers
then score. Like, that's game over. Yeah, right. And that was a clear as day trip. If you want,
if you want that slash, there's that. So it's been battle series. But also, some respect to the
refs, it's hard, dude. Like you miss shit all the time. But there's been bad shit back and forth.
And that's where I was saying,
I need fans to stop fucking pissing and moaning.
Every single fan base in these playoffs thinks their team is getting shit.
Every single one of you does.
So just stop.
Just watch the game, enjoy the game.
The one thing where someone called me out was like,
dude, you're contradicting yourself.
Because I say that and then I complained about a call.
The difference is I'm not complaining about a call for any team.
I know it was a call against L.A.
So you could say I'm lobbying for L.A.
L.A. lost this game on their own.
You sure did.
They didn't need it.
Frankly, if Edmonton didn't get that power play,
Edmonton was winning that game anyway.
Yep.
So whatever.
My point is making a soft, and I will die on this hill,
a soft bad call in OT with two minutes left in the OT period is fucking ass cheeks.
Yep.
Just bad.
And we know some refs in the league very well who say the only thing in the world that
they would like to not do in overtime is have to make a call penalty.
Yep.
And that one was not a, you got a call.
Didn't need it.
No, it's delay game, high stick, and the occasional trip.
Yeah.
Like it's clear as dead.
Yeah.
So can't do that.
Do we need to go to the chat or do we move on?
No, no, no.
The chat's good.
Everyone's largely in agreement with this.
People are pissed about the refs.
Don't be pissed about the rest.
Yeah.
Like if you're, if you're an oilers fan, don't be pissed about the refs.
You got some huge power plays that one, you
a game. If you're a Kings fan, don't be pissed about the refs because your team is losing
you games, not the refs. Yeah. Last game that we have to get into, cats, bolts. Holy shit,
we talked on Friday. We obviously had the crazy Hagel hit that led to suspension. Then we go into
game for no Hagel. Holy moly, Ken Tampa, figure this out. And boy, did they. Boy did they. And
you got another, I will add, great game from Bassie, because he played really good in the
game two loss and then you finally get to Bob a little bit the Tampa guy I think more than a
little bit agree yeah yeah yeah yeah bad games and now you're kind of one and one right like they
both played two good games and and have been lit up once um and you're weirdly like if you could
just get into the mentality of we split if you're Tampa and you're like well we split at home
and like I just got to get this win and it was going to be two two anyway you know you kind
of like can was one win away from completely washing this whole thing out um but if
you're Florida, you have also like, dude, we just have to get one win at home and we're in the
driver's seat. So they're not that worried. But I think it was good even before what we're about
to talk about. I think it was just good for the series, good for Tampa to be like, we're here,
dude, fuck you. Like you think you were just going to roll over. People, dude, the Panthers fans in the
chat were like, sweep, dude, fucking little brother, clown show. Yeah. So they got, they got cocky.
I know it's just chirping, but calling Tampa little brother when they had two cops and went to
three streets and you have won your first.
It's like, calm down, guys. Relax. Relax. So I think
that was good that we're in one already. Okay. And then
I'm watching the empty netter and like in real time it was so crazy because I was trying
to watch with a puck went. Before we even get to that, can we talk about the intensity of if
you're Tampa and you're like, we're without Hegel, we need to win this game and Kachuk
scores the first goal of game. Yeah. Yeah. Such a good point. You're like, are you fucking, we're
We're getting swept.
I think I even tweeted.
I was joking, but I mean, it's funny to say that in hindsight.
But I was like, is Tampa dead, dude?
Yeah.
Oh, my God.
You need this win.
And then your boogeyman scores the first of the game.
Crazy.
And you're like, we're done here.
But yeah, no, massive response.
I think they were, I'm trying to see how much they were up in the first.
It was tied after one.
Okay, yeah.
And then they really stepped on the gas in the third.
But yeah.
So unbelievable response from Tampa.
You get the empty net.
I'm watching it live.
And I just see someone gets steamrolled in the middle of the ice.
And in live, it was even hard to tell who got hit, who was, who did it.
And dude, when it just cut to Chuck and he's like doing the keep your head up thing.
I was like, we are, this is going to be fucking chaos moving forward.
What did you think of the hit?
I'm going to stay consistent here, dude.
We released a clip that obviously got a lot of traction talking about the Hagle hit.
And, you know, we said it's a penalty.
I understand at the end of the, you know, yeah, end of the game, kicking him out.
we said it was probably going to be a suspension,
but didn't agree with it.
And ultimately,
I thought it was a clean hit.
I thought it was just unlucky that Barkoff didn't touch the puck
and whatever.
We're not going to talk about that one.
Yep.
I'm going to stay consistent.
This was a clean hit.
I am like,
I'm shocked at how up in arms people are.
And I get it.
I get the competition and I get fandom.
You lost one of your guys to suspension when,
in my opinion,
he shouldn't have been suspended.
Especially because Barkoff's okay.
Yep.
and now you're like, eye for an eye, bitch.
Yep.
Dude, someone on Twitter was like, this hit came two to four seconds late.
And I was like, that's an insane exaggeration.
Four is crazy.
And the same person replied and was like the hit happened at like 55 or the pass happened
at 55 seconds and the hit happened at 57.
And I was like, yeah, so one to two.
Yeah.
And he was like, yeah, good point.
Dude, finishing your check is a real thing in hockey.
Yep.
Did Gensel have the puck on his stick?
No.
But dude, I'm going to be honest.
I think Jake Gensel would very on.
I know the game's over.
That's the big one, right?
People are like, the game's over.
It's an empty net.
But I think Jake Gensel would admit in that scenario,
in an NHL game, let alone a playoff game after like with that time that had left
since he made that pass, you have to keep your head up.
And it was a clean as a whistle.
Yep.
Body check.
And Gensel's head hits the ice a little bit.
And he like kind of covered his face, but not he's fine.
Yep.
He got right back up.
Tough customer.
He got right up.
Yep.
But like he did cover his face and that wasn't embellishment.
Like he was like, oh, no, it hit my head.
It snapped.
Yeah.
It was a clean body check dude.
And I love the calls by the ref of going penalty and get out.
There's five.
Yeah.
Just get out.
Go away.
Games over.
Yeah.
I love when refs do that.
It's policing the game.
It's like some people, they're like, how do you get kicked out for that?
And I'm like, because the game's over and they're just policing.
I like that move.
he didn't even have a hearing.
And I understand the eye for eye complaints,
but dude,
I don't think that that hit was that late.
It was clean as fuck.
So I'm like,
it shouldn't have been a suspension.
Dude,
so I'm with you.
I thought people,
so a couple things on the lateness,
because people,
when I posted the reaction,
the comment section of that is fucking chaos.
And everyone's like,
three gave sussie.
And I'm like,
oh,
dude,
three games.
But again,
I understand the competitiveness.
Yep.
So I was talking to a buddy
of ours this weekend because we were watching the game and he was asking about late hits and I do think
there's an interesting um uh discrepancy of how late a hit can be where the player is so for example if
you chip one behind me and you go um you chip one behind me I'm a defenseman I go trying to get it
and I go like this I get it in the corner I rim it up to my winger and it's like a full one
Mississippi to and then you just crunch me against the boards completely fine you know one is ever
going to call that interference, but open ice, I pass one, and it's one Mississippi, too,
and then you smoke me, they do call it interference. So I do think that's slightly unfair,
but it's been pretty consistently called that always. So it's not like news to Matthew Kachukh.
He's like, well, it's not fair in the corner. You knew. He knew, in fact, and I'm not saying he
was trying to hurt anybody, but I am telling you, he was like, this is late. Like, when he did that,
he wasn't like, this is a perfectly legal hit. When he hit him there, I guarantee Matthew Kach was like,
I might get called for this. Yeah.
He was ready for a response.
No doubt about it.
You're absolutely right.
But I don't know, man.
It wasn't that late.
Am I crazy?
I think you are.
It was slightly late.
Fair.
Slightly late.
But if this is the line of where I would call it, I'm not even, it's not even a conversation to me if it was past the line.
I do think people are saying it was so late.
I'm like, no, it was barely late, but it was one, to me, one million percent too late.
I call that every single time.
Which I agree with, which is why it was a penalty and why I'm glad he got tossed.
But it's like people wanting a suspension for that.
Oh, yeah.
Like, dude, he does not use.
There's no hearing.
Like it's been announced.
He's no fine.
No hearing.
He's playing game for, which I agree with too.
Again, man, like the slow moes make me so stupid.
I know.
If you watch that real time, like you're not going, oh my God, that was so late.
You're like, ooh.
And that's where I'm like, we're suspending a guy for this.
Yeah, I know.
Agree.
And I do get the frustration because once you set a precedent, you have to stay to it.
But I actually don't like that sometimes because I'm, I'm here to say,
again, I did not like the Hegel suspension.
I thought it was, I thought it was too aggressive.
So if you now do this and you go,
Kachuk suspended.
Yeah.
Feels fair eye for eye.
But now I'm like, this is out of control.
You know, you're.
Yeah.
And I do also want to say, I don't like, when did we get to this place?
And like shame on, not to call anyone out, but whoever the fuck that was on Montreal,
who was literally like crying in the locker and being like,
I guess you don't call games the same.
every team.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I'm like,
you mean the clean
Wilson hit?
Yeah.
Shut up.
I don't know when we as fans started begging for suspensions all the time.
Yeah.
Like, stop.
That's not how this should go.
Game four with Hegel and Kachuk,
both on the ice.
That's what you want.
That's what you want.
That's what you want.
And I'll stop saying it after this.
I understand the desire for the eye for an eye.
Yep.
A lot of people in here being like,
I didn't agree with the Hagle suspension,
but if you spend him, you got a suspic-chuk, that's a very popular theme in this chat right now.
But I will say, and if you can't see this objectively, the Hegel hit was worse.
Yep.
And if you can't see it, it was barely worse.
Yep.
But if you can't see that, I think you're being, you have blind buys.
Even though I, everyone, the puck, I have argued, the puck was way closer to Barkoff
than people are implying.
Way close.
He never had it.
Gensel had the puck.
And dude, Gensel would tell you, if he was just being honest with you, you said
this at the top.
He a thousand percent should have picked his head up.
Yeah.
Like there was an empty editor, so he just, he pushed it forward to be like, sick, we're about to win.
And I was like, turn around, dude.
And that's all it was.
Yeah.
I think he'd be like, oh, yeah, I mean, like, I wasn't paying attention because we had won.
Yeah.
It was four one.
Yep.
And I, or did they get one after that?
I think that was the empty netter.
No, I think that was the empty netter.
It was the rare three goal lead poll.
I was thrilled about it.
It was four to one.
Yeah. Gensel had just scored.
It's now four one.
There's five minutes left.
And he's like, eh, I sing out.
Like, he definitely let it.
He's like, eh, whatever.
But it's one of those things we always talk about.
You gotta know who's on the ice, dude.
You have to know who is on the ice.
Like, say that Montreal play.
It's like Tom Wilson's on the ice.
Be aware of that.
Yeah, right.
So it's like you know Kachuk's going to go for a cheap hit,
especially or not a cheap hit, sorry, but like a borderline hit.
So it's what he does.
So yeah, I get it, but it is what it is.
Dude, and the I reacted, because of the video I posted is my live reaction.
You hear me, you like scream.
But it's because live,
looked so high. Like live, I thought it was just like a torpedo to the head. But when you watch
replay, it's literally bang. Yeah, dead body. His elbow couldn't be more stapled to his body.
It's just a good body check. But again, it was a penalty. Yep. And I'm glad to check out like it is.
But hopefully now we can go and like the refs more importantly can go, we're done here.
Like we're not, no one's fucking owing anyone anything. Let's play. What do you think happens between
Kachuk and Hegel came for?
both in.
I'll say this.
You know, we know certain things.
We know other things.
Blah, blah, blah, blah.
But it doesn't matter.
I think based on just watching the game,
you can see from game one,
Hegel's been asking for it.
And I don't mean like he's been asking for fights.
Literally saying, I'll go.
Hegel is stepping up to the, to the plate.
Being like, I'll go.
I'll go with anyone.
This is kind of a lame take by me.
I'm not the biggest fan of fighting in playoffs.
Yeah.
All the teams are so good.
I just want to see them play hockey.
Me too.
But it's a part of hockey and it's entertaining.
I don't want to see Hegel or Kachuk fight anyone but each other.
Agree completely.
So it's either they go and we get Four Nations round two in game four or later.
But other than that, I don't want to see anything.
Yep.
And I would add to if you're going to do it, just fucking do it.
Because I agree with you.
I want to see them play.
And I think part of it, which is why it's the reason,
a part of hockey is I want that to just be everyone we can be done with any eye for an eye cheap
shots it's like listen our two champions are going to go out and fight and then enough of this
enough of like any high late interference fucking hits you don't owe us we don't know you they
fought it's over let's fucking play where two of the best teams in the league yeah i made the joke last
friday i was like chuck's probably saying no like he's like he's getting in his head oh yeah
i'm going to flip the script i in my opinion if i were hagel i wouldn't go oh really i
I don't think I would.
And I'll tell you why, because one, you've been asking for it.
You stepped up from what it looks like.
And two, don't take yourself off the ice.
I know, dude.
Even if you get a chuck up the ice, I'm like, dude, that was a huge win.
Vassie's locked in.
It's the Tom Wilson hit.
Like so many people after the Habs win, people were like, we're in Tom Wilson's head.
We got them, we got them.
And then Tom Wilson keeps himself in the ice, makes a huge fucking hit and gets his team a win.
And if I'm talking to Hagle, if I'm in his locker room, I'm like, dude, you have been a beast all season.
Just keep doing that.
Lock the fuck in and score a back breaking goal.
That's better than a fight.
Yeah.
Him scoring gets that fan base going more than a fight.
Agree.
You're also in Florida.
Yeah.
Like it's not the same thing.
Like it it behooves Kchuk to fight in Florida.
Now.
Before it didn't really, but now it does.
But specifically because the game's in Florida.
Yep.
Like if I'm Hagle, I'm like, no way, dude.
I mean, not in a way.
Because he's, he's a fucking top customer.
He'll always answer the bell.
And so will Cichuk for the most part.
But like, I think it is the better move to just be like, I'm beating you on the ice, dude.
I think that's a fucking method.
That was going to be my question.
And because presumably, we don't know anything for sure, but presumably maybe Hagle's been offering and Cachach's been turning it down.
So I see no issue with Hagle returning the favor in saying no if Cich were to ask.
But I just feel like Hagell.
would do like if kuchuk asks him i agree don't go out and search out but i think if kuchk
asked him he'll go yeah and we don't we don't know if anyone's said no yeah yeah yeah
like we're just saying like it looks watching the games it looks like hagel's been up for it
and um you know chuck he's like doing the i want you thing yeah yeah yeah so like everyone's going
back and forth but yeah like if i'm hagel my my mentality is you've been one of the best players
all season yeah go be go do it on the ice yeah go go go beat them even this series go back to tampa
with the fucking home ice back and go fuck off.
And yeah, I mean, like, I pick Tampa.
Yep.
But I wanted to be very clear, I love both these teams and fan bases.
Florida fans, you know how much we rode with you guys all last year.
Who doesn't want this to go seven?
What do you think now?
I think that game even things up big time.
Yeah.
Obviously, you have to go win in Florida if you're Tampa.
Yep.
And like, you have to win this game.
I know because I think you're still fucked.
You have to win this game.
They've obviously shown they can win.
But, you know, if you lose, you go back to Tampa.
There's nothing stopping you from winning that game and then going in Florida and winning again.
Yeah, game seven.
But you got to win this game.
You've got to keep the momentum.
Yeah, I agree.
All right.
That's it for us.
A nice 90-minute puckline news live brought to you by BEDMGM.
Unbelievable stuff, guys.
We're going to be dialed in watching the games again tonight.
As you all know, we'll be recording late night tonight covering those games today.
Podcast comes out tomorrow morning.
So stay dialed with us every single day.
We're giving you morning hockey content, podcast Tuesday, Thursday,
Lives, Monday, Wednesday, Friday.
And we'll post these as videos.
Yes, we go.
If you miss the live, they'll be up on our page.
You can find them there.
You won't miss a single game, won't miss a single shift of action.
No, you will not.
Make sure to subscribe to the YouTube.
Follow us on IG, Twitter, all social, so you don't miss the thing.
This has been a fucking blast.
We can't wait to watch more hockey with you.
Skate hard.
