Empty Netters Podcast - Is Landeskog Destined To Return To The Avs?
Episode Date: March 18, 2025CP has returned from a hockey weekend in Jackson Hole and it turned out to be a brawl fest! DP reveals he might have one of the strangest sleeping habits in the world and now he's looking for support.... Connor Bedard got pee pee whacked by the refs and it sounds like he needs an attitude adjustment. Leon Draisaitl is having an MVP season as he chases down MacKinnon, but that might not matter because it looks like Gabriel Landeskog could be making his return in Colorado. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! 00:00 INTRO 00:17 NOT ICE 26:39 HOT ICE 28:21 BEDARD MISCONDUCT 36:10 LANDY RETURNS 43:13 DRAISAITL STREAK 58:35 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:04:27 BETMGM ODDS 1:08:41 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I genuinely, I can't stop thinking about this.
Picture this.
Picture this.
Go.
Documentary last episode, he goes, I'm back.
Plays next game.
Popcorn going everywhere.
Losing my mind.
Cinema.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by
BEDMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and with me, a man who is such a mess that his glasses are so dirty he
can't even clean them anymore.
The incomparable Chris Bowers.
As!
Always!
Why don't you get new glasses?
They're disgusting.
They cost money.
But they're gross.
You can't even see out of them.
Yes, I can.
You can't.
When you put those glasses on, I'm embarrassed for you.
That's how just gross and trash they look.
There's just spots all over them, spots and scratches.
And I know what you're going to say.
You're going to go like this.
doesn't affect me. I can see perfectly fine out of them. Even if that's true, you are such an
embarrassment to the human race that it's something that you should rectify. It's not true. I can't see
that well. So it does bother you. Yeah. Oftentimes I'll be looking at something and the thing I need
to be reading is right behind a spot. So I have to be like, seriously? Yeah, to get around.
Dude, you're such a piece of shit to get around the spot. Here's the question too. What is it on them?
I genuinely don't know because I don't like that. I've seen them. Like you'll leave.
leave them on a table and they bother me so much.
I can't begin to tell you the rage and theory that I feel when I see you're just
disgusting and turned into Dennis right there.
Yeah, it's just awful.
Yeah.
I picked them up and I try to clean them.
I've used cleaning products, not just a quick.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And they can't be cleaned.
Correct.
So I don't know what it is, but it's like it's between the lenses.
You're such, you're such a shit pig that it's, you have.
irreparably damaged the lenses of your glasses.
Is it, is it like, I don't know, I hate it.
Protein buildup?
I don't know, but even if it is, that's so gross.
I know, it's crazy.
You need to just be better.
I need to go to Warby.
I got those at Warby.
I need to go back to Warby.
Warby glasses famously like $95, I think.
If Warby Parker is a good, they're not a sponsor, right?
Not yet.
Okay.
If Warby Parker is a good company,
you will bring those glasses there and go,
what is this?
And they will replace the lenses for free.
I genuinely feel that way.
You think so?
Won't they go, you bought these eight years ago?
Yeah, but if I were you, I would go, what is this?
Like, your product is so bad that these,
they're just, they're getting so destroyed and I can't do anything about it.
Normal wear and tear, maybe.
I would at least ask.
Yeah, it's a good idea, actually.
I would ask when I'd go.
You know what?
Very reputable podcast.
and I'm going to sewer you on it
this summer.
After the season.
After the season.
There's a Warby Parker 10 minutes down the week.
We don't have time.
We don't have time until after the season.
Speaking of time,
what took you so long today, buddy?
Wags and I have been waiting around, dude.
You said, my flight lands at 3.30.
I'll be there by 4.30 at the latest.
It's 5.30.
Well, I got here at 5.
What happened?
Nothing.
That's how long it takes.
Wags and I were having a conversation of
what happened to you this time.
Oh, dude, actually, nothing.
I was so, remember I told you, I haven't had a flight.
I can't know if this was on the pot or not, but I haven't had a flight that just takes off on time or, or not or, and goes straight to the gate.
Yeah.
There's always either a delay or like, oh, our gate's taken and it's fine.
It's just whatever, but it's like, yeah, this was on the pot.
I did say it's on the pot.
Dude, God bless the Jackson Airport, but literally they were like, your flight's ready.
And I was like, oh, great.
And I just got on it.
And then we took off and then we landed and then drove right to the gate.
and I got off.
And I was like,
wonderful.
You were like,
what the hell?
Yeah,
truly,
I was sick,
dude, reset that clock.
And then,
actually,
you know what?
I think I didn't anticipate
because I felt like
I was just landing midday.
Yeah.
LA's such a rat city,
dude, that rush hour
is like actually 3.30.
Oh yeah, a bunch of frauds, dude.
A bunch of fakers who don't actually work.
Damn.
Because you're like,
oh, at five,
traffic's going to be bad.
But instead, dude,
3.30.
A bunch of fucking rats.
Everyone's getting ahead of rush hour.
And I'm like,
it's 330.
I'm just going to go work from home for the rest of the day.
Rats.
So, dude, I literally got...
Because you know what you don't do?
Work when you get home.
We landed at 3.39.
I got right off, walked the bags claim.
Got, wait for the bags.
Got them.
Boom, car.
And then it was like this.
Five.
I was like, oh, it took a while.
Traffic.
So, yeah, dude.
But nothing.
I'm happy to report nothing bad.
That's, yeah.
Good for you.
Yeah.
Sorry for you, but good for me.
No, it's okay.
It's okay.
There is a gripe, another gripe that I have.
We've talked about our Airbnb gripes.
Something came up this weekend.
I think during hockey talk,
it has become clear to me
that a decent size
of our audience
thinks that I'm older than you.
And that bothers me so much.
I would say, though,
it shouldn't bother you so much
because when we meet people
that gets asked a lot.
Yeah.
And we're always a guess.
And they say you like 40% of the time.
Yeah.
So, like, I only say you shouldn't bother you because it should have been expected.
Well, I just, the answer that I keep getting, people go, it's the energy.
You have big brother energy.
Which I'll.
Yeah.
Which I'll take.
That's not even why, dude.
That's not even the right reasoning.
That's definitely why.
If you think that your old bag, wrinklyed ass looks younger than I do, you're out of your mind.
I do.
But I just need people to know, I need them to know that you're so much older than me.
because it will add to what I go through.
What?
Yeah.
Like that's, people go, oh, yeah, Dan's dealing with normal little brother bullshit.
But then when they find out that you're the older brother, they go, I feel so bad for what Dan deals with every day.
What?
I need people to understand my struggle.
What?
Yeah.
It's awful.
It makes it worse.
That you're younger.
And yet I have to deal with your dumb ass.
No, that should be your.
obligation. No, because that's what the obligation of the older, I should be able to be the dumb one.
I should be able to be a clown. And you go, well, that's my younger brother. I was, this kid was born into
my life and thus I took on the responsibility of dealing with him being a little brother, idiot.
Do you ever think about the fact that I was born and was a clown and you were born into a family of
clowns and you just chose to not be a clown, which is your right as a human being?
being, but then you can't get mad at the family for being clowns.
Are you implying that our mother and father are clowns?
Yes.
That's tough.
Dude, they are.
We are the same.
I go home.
Everything's awesome.
No.
We all hang.
They go home and you go home and you're like, where do I hang my burgundy scarf?
And everyone's like, I don't know, dude.
Put next to the three red noses stuck to the wall, dude.
Why don't you put it there?
And then we'll all go out to dinner and you can fucking be in a scarf.
This is one of those.
situations where you're Billy Madison and you don't know it.
Like our parents are like this, oh, here's our oldest son and his special interests.
And you just, they, they warm up chicken noodle soup for you and make fluffer nutters with
the crust cut off.
And you just think that that's normal.
Yeah.
But it's not.
Why did you have to be different?
Why did you have to be different?
They're catering to your special interests.
Yeah.
And that's, that's what you need to realize.
Yeah.
It's unbelievable.
I see that you've got your nice St. Patrick's Day garb on.
It's St. Patty's Day right now.
Not when you're listening to this, but for me right now.
Got a green hat.
Got my Celtic shirt.
I wish I had more on, to be honest with you.
I didn't have time.
Happy birthday, Brett.
Happy birthday, Brett.
Happy birthday, Bobby Ryan.
Happy birthday, Bobby Ryan.
Happy birthday, Nick Lonza.
Where are we at on St. Patrick's Day?
It's a great question.
Can I be honest?
Yeah.
And this is a...
I'm going to...
Yep.
Be careful.
Be careful.
You're going to hate this.
Yeah.
I don't...
I'm wrong here.
This is one of those ones where this is just how I feel.
I don't love the wearing green.
Oh, that's not at all what I thought you're going to say.
Why?
I just...
I'm kind of like, if you're not on a pub crawl,
doing it,
you don't need to wear green.
I we don't
hands up dude
this is not a take that I'm going to stand
on a soapbox on
I just the whole like
yeah wear green at St. Patrick's Day
and I'm big on the
celebrate dude celebrate everything
celebrate other cultures this is awesome
we love the Irish
but I just feel like I see a lot of people
who aren't Irish who aren't drinking
wearing green and part of me is like
if you're wearing green you got to go drink
oh this take is
this take his
It's mutating.
It's mutating.
It's here.
The take, the version, the mutation that I am fine with is, quote, you don't need to wear green.
Yeah.
Fine.
That's a fine take.
The opening take was, I don't love the wearing green, which implied that the people that are you are looking down on, even in some degree.
I will not stand for that take on St. Patty's Day.
Then it mutated into if you're wearing green, you've got to be drinking.
And now, Dan, that's interesting to me.
I kind of like that take.
It's almost like a, if you're going to do it, do it right.
That's the way I look at it.
It is a very cool holiday.
I know we have very good Irish friends that love it, that love it.
And our family, our dad's side family, is very Irish.
Powers Irish Whiskey, baby.
So I like it.
I like hanging on.
It's a good St. Patty's Day.
It has come down a couple rungs in my book.
as I've gotten older, I think.
Oh, for sure.
It used to be like one of my faith, I'd be like, dude,
no matter what day of the week it is, drop everything,
we're going to town.
I was in New York this weekend.
Yeah.
There were a lot of pub crawls going on.
It was, you know, New York weekend,
St. Patrick's Day is on a Monday.
Yeah.
Weekend before a lot of people were doing pub crawls.
I didn't join a single one.
And I was out of pub.
I was drinking.
Yeah.
And I was like, I don't have any interest in this.
I think it's a getting older thing. There's a lot of activity there. Well, you see, like, obviously
there's, like, Christmas, Thanksgiving, Halloween or kind of like the big three. Would you agree with that?
I think it's insane to even whisper St. Patrick's Day in the same conversation as those holidays.
I agree. I'm saying those are, like, the Holy Trinity. Yeah. I think.
St. Patrick's Day isn't even on par with Memorial Day weekend.
Well, so I was going to say when I was younger, I think it was like after the Holy Trinity, it was like Fourth of July.
St. Paddy's Day where, we're like...
What did you put in the Holy Trinity again? Christmas, Thanksgiving, Halloween.
I think that might even be a boost for Halloween.
Oh, yeah, that's ridiculous. Take.
I need a government, I need a government mandated holiday.
What, dude? Halloween is a massive holiday.
You don't get a day off, though. We're not having this conversation.
After the Trinity.
Oh, listen, I love Halloween. I'm just saying, it's nice when the government gives you days off
from work. Dude, did you guys hear, by the way, that I just found this out,
starting next year
fuck maybe two seasons
but there's
NFL's adding another game
so it's like going to 18
yep Jesus but that means that
now the Super Bowl is pushed one week
which means every year it's President's Day
weekend which means that Monday is off
smart they could have done that without adding a game
but just move yeah
slider over
add like one more week
add an extra buy week for all the teams so people aren't dying
on the field every week anyway
used to be kind of 4th of July St. Paddies
now
St. Paddy, I think kind of St. Paddies might fall behind like a memorial day.
We're getting very American here, but I just think, I think Fourth of July needs to be above Halloween.
No, it's a government-issued day off of work.
Absolutely not. St. Paddy's though is still sick. I feel like it's now taking heat. It's not taking a necessary heat from us.
It is, it is. It's a good holiday. It's fun. It's very fun. And it's a sick birthday. I know we just had some birthday shoutouts, but it's really cool to be like, St. Patrick's.
Yeah, you're adding, we talked about shit birthdays being second week.
of January.
Yeah.
Or like Christmas when you're like, it's fucking, it's also my birthday.
But at least on Christmas, everyone's drinking, enjoying themselves.
Yeah.
We talked about disagree, dude.
If you're, if, I mean, like, boxing day, you could get a bunch of friends together
to celebrate your birthday.
Second week of January is the worst.
We already went through this.
Great one.
Same had he's.
Everyone driving.
Everything.
That's fucking go.
That's great.
But yeah.
You know, it's not in the big boy table.
Yep.
And that's okay.
Because it's still fun.
Everyone's in a good mood.
Yep. How was, I talked about being in New York this weekend, how was the Jackson weekend?
Jackson, Wags. Make sure I stop in five minutes. Okay. Jackson, Dan, you went last year, obviously.
I did. For all the listeners, we got to play Vail this year with an empty-in-other's team, which was sick.
This year, Dan, we were both supposed to return to play for the Vermont Flex, which is actually a Colby hockey alumni team through our many, many good friends on the Colby team.
This was my second year playing the Moose. The Colby slash Vermont Flex has not beat the Moose.
in like 10 straight games, which is like five or six years in a row.
You played twice.
This year we got the last weekend of the year for the moose, so it's their retirement ceremony.
It's this whole thing.
It's amazing.
Ryan Glan's a buddy of ours now because he's from here.
And Sammy Glanz works for the ducks.
She was there, Dan.
You saw those picks.
Love Sammy.
Glan's first moose game for her.
Oh, cool.
Yeah.
And Ryan's brother, Dan, is, was there.
And I met him.
And he's like, he's very good at hockey.
and he was like, I live in Santa Mocker, by the way.
I just moved there.
I'm dying for a beer league team.
And I was like, huge pickup.
Does he play D?
No.
Then I don't want him.
Sorry, buddy.
You seem like a great guy.
So first game, we had the team.
The boys were fired up.
We even took it easy on Thursday night just to be like, we just got to get a one win,
you know?
And we show up Friday.
And I didn't even ski.
I didn't even ski Friday to just like try to get some work done, get ready.
And we go, we were up.
up two nothing and then I think up three two and then down four three tie four four
they score with 45 seconds after something hit the table more hit the table more
while you're talking this story that's what we got it for Dan so um an absolute
dagger loss yeah um but super tight game we had great squads some new guys I didn't know
our goalie was awesome unbelievable Colby kid Andy Andy had never been skiing in his life
and he's like I'm gonna ski on Sunday and we're getting dumped on Jackson that snowed
for like 36 hours and I was like oh this might
be hard, dude. And a little legend, dude, just got up there and, like, he fell twice, I think. We're
just cruising down. We're going down black diamonds. He was like, I got it. I was like, what
it's happening right now. I love it. A lot of returning characters for us. Timmy Riley missed you very
much. Dan's my deep partner. I hated to not be there. Johnny, obviously, bright sea, grilly,
we're all buzzing. Canaan was doing what he always does. He thrives. He thrives. He thrives.
He might empty the tank too much, to be honest with you, though, on Saturday.
Okay.
So anyway, Saturday we show up.
And, oh, and Johnny brought a moose pelt.
And he was like, whoever gets a game winning goal against the moose gets to keep this pelt.
And Dan Johnny, before the game, he was doing pregames, and he was like hitting people, you know, like Brady kind of like to come up.
But it was like, he bloodied my lip before the third period.
And I was like, dude.
Kind of love that.
Yeah.
So he, we get ready for the Saturday game.
We got to win.
We were so close.
and he goes
you know
we always just kind of rotate
who gets to start
so you all get to experience
the like the announcement
starting lineups
he goes here's the starting lineup
tonight
and he's like
the left wing center
you know doing the whole thing
and everybody's like come on
and then he goes
and then right off the draw
just so everyone knows
we're doing a line brawl
and everybody was like
wait why am I starting
dude that is a fucking terrible idea
and Dots looks at me
and he's like
is that was he being serious
and I was like I don't know
I think so
and Dots was like
dude, that is not what we want to do.
Because that is going to set the tone that like,
we want to fight. And they're going to be like this,
oh, you guys are fighting this year.
Dude, yeah. No, no, no.
It's their retirement night, dude.
For their captain, dude. Remember that older guys at 47?
Played 18 years, 319 Moose games.
Yeah.
So, boom, opening draw, two fights.
And dude, both our guys come back.
Perry comes back.
Perry fought 16, which is psychopath.
It's just ridiculous.
Perry fights 16 comes back with a broken finger.
Yeah, of course.
And Burdo fights somewhat.
dude who's like, Birdo's tall than me. He fights the only dude on the team taller than him.
Yeah. Comes back leaking everywhere. I'm like, dude, we're losing. We're losing already.
Sick moment by By Bird, though. He rips his visor off his helmet.
I was like, holy shit. There ended up being three more fights. That's so unnecessary.
Well, he fought. He fought. He fought. And then like he was bleeding and whatever. And like everyone's
like pulling him to the bench. And he goes like a rips it off, played the rest of the game.
Charra. Yeah. That's cool. Crazy. So then there were three more fights.
game crowd was loving it obviously um we went down had a good push comeback and then they i had an empty
netter yeah um but one thing that was really cool with like 10 or maybe 20 seconds left that 40
their captain scored we our goal was back in like legit goal kind of a nasty back in and their
whole bench cleared because it was just like his whole family was there his daughter's his wife
very if you're going to lose very cool storybook way to lose to them um they put on an incredible
show every year as always we will return what a time and you know we'll get them
We'll get them one of these days.
Maybe.
The moose pelt remains unclaimed.
So very days and confused situation.
They keep getting younger and we stay, or excuse me, we keep getting older.
And they stay the same age, which is tough because they keep getting younger.
Somebody was like, they're getting new blood.
We're over here just a bunch of old dogs still playing.
I was laughing that they go, they must love when the flex comes.
Every year they go, the flex is here this week.
We get two wins.
Bring your girlfriends.
The flex is here.
It's the last.
Fucking ridiculous.
But man, thank you, Boyce Jackson.
Everybody listening in Jackson.
Thank you for hosting the movie.
the town, cowboy bar, dog, breakfast burritos,
meesgues, the pasta place across the street.
Dude, staple.
Staple. Pre-game staple.
Fantastic stuff.
Yeah, what a time.
I've got two things to talk about before we get into our hockey talk.
Number one.
I'm admitting something.
Got a little grease on my hands.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
I installed a door handle here at the office.
not a big deal. That was you. Sure was.
I was about to thank Edge for that.
No, it was me.
Also, no disrespect,
as he couldn't get the other door handle off.
So I had to go, he had to wave in the big dog.
Came in, took it off.
Oh, ho, ho, ho!
Put a new handle on.
So here's my thing.
I'm a pretty handy guy.
Yep.
I'll pump my tires for that.
You know what I've done my whole life
that is embarrassing?
And I'm going to admit it.
whenever I do anything manual labor-esque, I am the dude that likes it and is more or less willing
to have some stuff get on my hands, face, body.
Some smuts.
If I'm painting.
Oh, a little bit of paint got on my head.
No big deal.
Grease, dirt, grass stains.
Yeah, you like it.
Yeah, I like the way it feels and looks.
If I look down, my hands are all greasy and dirty, I'm like, I've been working.
Yeah.
And I won't apologize for it, but I am putting my hand up admitting that I, like,
there are people who are like, they see something covered in paint and they're like,
did you let that happen?
Or did that paint actually get all of them?
Yeah.
And to me, I'm like, I let it happen.
Yeah.
I painted myself.
So I just want to admit it.
Yeah.
Thank you.
Like, when the grease got on my hands putting on the doorknob, I could have wiped it off a little more thoroughly,
but I think look at it as a badge of honor.
I hear you.
I do it sometimes.
Clearly not as much as you.
But I do think it's important to let people know that you've done hard work.
Let them know, dude.
That's all I'm saying.
I want people to go, well, it looks like you were painting today.
And I go, what gave it away?
You've got a brave heart.
I'm full on Mel Gibson and Braveheart.
Oh, did I miss a spot?
Just saying, it's kind of a move.
And now here's my next hand-related question.
I've been meaning to bring this up on the podcast for months, genuine months, and I need to know if I am weird or if this is a thing that human beings do.
Do either of you do this?
When I am sleeping, getting ready to go to sleep, lying in a bed, about to fall asleep, and I maybe roll onto my side.
I think that's definitely when it happens most.
I roll onto my side and I grab my pillow and maybe the blankets and the car.
covers and I get like tucked.
Yeah.
I, this is going to be a big visual component.
So if you're not watching on YouTube, you should probably go to YouTube just for this
portion and then also subscribe and then go back.
I, I go like this.
Side, sleep, and then my hand and wrist.
You're up the mountain hand or you're down the mountain hand.
It doesn't matter.
Oh.
I'm so embarrassed right now if neither of you know what I'm talking about.
Literally every single night.
my hand and wrist goes like this
and like folds over
in half
and I go to sleep
like I like tuck my wrists
down
and like look at my hands
yeah
they go like that
and I don't even think about it
and they just go like that
and the next thing you know
like I'm getting all snuggled up
to sleep and I feel it
I feel like I'm snapping my wrists off
but I'm like why did I do that
and why do I do it every night
I'm I think
it's a thing
I think if we put this on the internet, people will be like this.
Oh my God, I do that too.
And it might come back and bite me in the ass.
This might be like an autism thing.
And that's like, there's nothing wrong with that.
There's nothing wrong with that.
But it's just saying, like, we might be learning some stuff about me that we didn't know.
But I'm telling you every night when I'm like, I need to get the covers up and like my pillow, my real.
My two little wrist just like fold in like a rift.
Become a rougher.
Like a praying mantis.
Become a praying mantis.
And I just go like this and I go to bed.
And it's like against.
Like if you do it like against the mattress, it feels nice.
And like you grab your covers and you just go,
and I just fold my little wrist.
I definitely don't do that.
You've never done that?
And I think there's a chance that it is a thing.
But if so, it's because dude,
that sounds like some in the womb shit.
Like this sounds like you,
you developed like that.
And then you,
that's how your body knows to be safe.
And maybe other people had that in the womb shit.
But like that's where that came.
It's definitely like...
Do you do that?
It's fucking crazy, dude.
Like, what are you talking about?
I thought you were gonna say you put your,
you thought you're gonna say you put your down the mountain hand under your pillow.
And I was like, yeah, no shit, dude.
We all do that.
And then you went Raptor.
It's definitely like, it's definitely like a from birth.
Yeah.
But I'm telling you, there, if I push your hands forward,
but you just fall asleep,
that might be, dude.
That's a fair.
finisher. Boom.
Dude, I don't know what it is, but like I will, you know when you, it's so tired,
and you'll be lying down and you'll be in a weird position maybe.
And the position's so weird that you can't fall asleep because you're like,
oh, why is my like, why is my hand above my head?
And now I'm losing feeling in my arm.
It's like, I, like, every night about to fall asleep.
And I'm like, oh, yeah, I'm snapping my wrist in half.
I should stop doing that.
Yeah.
We get you a brace, dude.
Get your brace.
All right.
So neither of you do it.
No.
No.
Okay.
Well, we can move on to some.
Let us know.
Hey, hey, wrist.
Hey, praying mantis sleepers.
If any of you, there's dozens of us.
Like, I, I need to, like, we borderline need to make a clip about this because I need to know if people do this.
But it's a thing.
I'm telling you it's a thing.
And my, my praying mantis army will rise up against you, dude.
On our back legs.
Yeah.
And we will sleep more comfortably than you do.
With that, let's get into some hot ice.
Oh, my God.
What's up, everybody?
You know what time it is.
It is bet N-G-M time.
And they have some awesome promotions going right now.
One of my favorites is the second chance, which happens every single Wednesday, every Wednesday.
So what you do is you bet on a first goal score, okay?
And if they score first, congrats.
That was a pretty sick bet.
You just want some money.
If they score second, so you miss, they don't score first, but then they score second,
you get your stake back in cash on that second chance promotion.
So don't miss out on that.
When it's Wednesday, this episode's coming out Tuesday, tomorrow.
Take a shot at it.
It's going to be incredible.
And when you sign up for BetMGM and you use promo code Netters, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
You can receive up to $1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
You don't want to miss out on that either.
So go get that BetM-GM-GM-GM app.
Use that promo code netters and get in on some of this action.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 8-7-7-8-Hope-N-Y or text-N-Y or text-N-1.
for New York. Call 1-800-3-27-50-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800-next-step for Arizona.
1-800-off for Iowa. 1-800-1-8-0-0-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
See betmgmgm.com for terms. U.S. Promotional offers not available in New York,
Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Hot topic over the weekend.
Think it was Thursday or Friday? Think it was Thursday night game.
Connor Bard, in a game against the Sharks, gets a 10-minute misconduct for official
abuse.
I tweeted about this and made a couple of points.
Tweet was generally received very well.
People were like, yep, agree.
But let me tell you what, dude, got some really, really butt hurt.
And maybe one, it was probably like 20 butt hurt, young, primarily young Chicago fans.
And what was so funny is some of these fucking doorknobbs were going,
I'm not even a Blackhawks fan, dude.
And then I click on their Twitter profile.
And it's just like from Illinois, there's like a Blackhawks jersey in their profile.
And I'm like, why are you lying to me, dude?
Like, why are you even trying to lie?
Click away.
Who just like called me a boomer, which you are.
Which I am.
But I have never been so disappointed in the lack of valid points.
There was like this one kid who came in so hot follows us and was like,
your piece of shit podcast, you and your brother are such moron idiots.
I'm like, don't bring Chris into this, dude.
He didn't do anything.
But I love like, he says that and I'm like, you follow us.
Yeah, yeah.
You fucking loser.
Like, what is wrong with you?
But just a lot of really funny young twats getting mad about it.
And then when you make good points, they just refuse.
They're like, boomer based fucking whatever all these comments are.
And I'm just like, all right, dude.
Yeah, like just grow up, go fucking wipe your bum and have a nap and you'll be fine.
Yeah.
What happened was there was a run of play.
Connor Bedard has been frustrated all year.
Yeah, this is not news.
He has consistently been frustrated.
We see it on the ice.
We see it in interviews.
We hear stories about it.
This is not an opinion.
This is something that is just happening.
And if you can't accept that, you need to grow the fuck up.
There's a play.
17 talks.
He gets tripped.
He goes down.
There's no call.
He gets up.
This is the facts, folks.
This is what happened.
gets up, he screams at the ref. Skating down the ice, screaming at the ref. He gets to the bench,
stands on the bench, leaning over the boards, screams at the same ref, screams, screams and screams and
screams. Then whistles blown, plays dead. The ref comes over to talk to him and says, hey, what did
you see? Like a good professional ref does, Connor Bardard proceeds to chirp and scream at the ref
again, and then the ref went, okay, dude, get in the fucking box. What do you think about
about this situation? I think that it's hockey is unique in that the officials are so down to
clown. You see them mic'd up things all the time where OV skates by and says that's a cross-check
and the ref's like, get in the fucking box OV, you know, or whatever. Like, you don't see that
in other sports. Basketball is the most T, T, T, T happy thing I've ever seen. I guess I can't,
I can't totally speak to the NFL.
I don't, I've never played.
Actually, maybe Wagg.
Do you know Waggs?
Like, do the players motherfuck the refs out loud and the refs say,
fuck you back during games?
Or is that like, you don't do that to NFL refs?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Other sports are because it becomes like a bad penalty.
Yeah, right, right.
Right.
And in hockey, they kind of are like, yeah, we'll scream at each other real quick.
And same with baseball.
Like, you can do it, but then you get tossed.
Like, that's, it's like, part of the thing.
So in the defense of Bader, Dan, I will hear that it's like, where's the line?
Like, when can I motherfuck you out loud?
How come I could motherfuck you out loud yesterday and today?
I couldn't maybe.
Famously in Bull Durham, you know, he's like, call me a cock sucker and you're out of here.
And every time you're a cocksucker.
You're out of here.
Oh, shit.
Every time you call me a cocksucker, you're getting.
tossed, every time you don't, you can stay in the game.
Yeah.
That can't, the ump can't change, right?
So in the defense of Badaard, I'm sure this isn't the first time he's been screaming
at a ref without receiving a 10-minute misconduct.
In defense of what happened and of refs everywhere, the, I'm okay with a shut the fuck up,
like a rip at me, shut the fuck up.
And if you come back, then you're getting 10.
Yeah.
and that's what happened here.
Yep.
So I'll live in this,
I'll live in this NHL.
I think that they're fucking human beings.
And by the way, dude,
they're so good.
NHLRefs are so good.
Like people get so mad,
but it's like they're fucking,
eagle-eye freaks.
But miss calls happen all the time,
even with them being this good.
So going up and going,
hey, miss that one,
isn't like a rare thing.
This happened.
You should expect this as a player.
And then you should respect him and go,
thank you.
Thanks for saying that.
Fucking be better,
whatever, quick chirp.
Move on.
Dude, and it's just a lesson in maturity.
And I'm not being like,
Badard's immature.
He needs to grow up.
It's just part of being a pro.
And what pisses me off is,
it's such a childish take to go,
oh, the ref's on a power trip.
Oh, he's this, he's that.
He can't be missing calls.
There's 20 miss calls a game,
it's pro sports.
It is what it is.
And yeah, if you hate that call,
and then the ref comes up and talks to you,
which they don't have to, by the way.
But the fact that the ref came up to be like, hey, what did you, what happened?
What did you see?
You don't go, fuck you.
You suck.
You know, I'm paraphrasing.
You maturely be like, dude, felt like that was a pretty clear trip.
Just like, you know, I'd love that one next time.
Yeah.
I guarantee you 10 times out of 10, a ref will go, yep, noted.
Got it.
And that helps you not in the game, but it helps you moving forward in your career.
So there's just a number of elements where I think so much.
many fans, Blackhucks, and listen, I understand being frustrated for the kid, if you're a Hawks fan,
if you're a Bedard fan. But ultimately, this narrative of the refs are out to get Bedard,
they're not helping Bedard. Oh, Macklin-Colbrina gets so many more calls than Bedard.
I think it's bullshit. I think you need to, it's just very classic, whiny narrative stuff
that you need to cut the fuck out of your lexicon and your whole stance on the kid. Because does he,
is he the victim of some miss calls? Yes.
There's one thing that I know you agree with that I will voice on the podcast here.
Guys, it is an unwritten rule and just a reality of the game of hockey in the NHL.
And I'm not, this is where it's gotten confused.
I am not saying you have to be a veteran to get calls.
A penalty is a penalty.
You have to be a veteran and earn the right to run your mouth to reps.
Agree.
And if you can't, and if you can't accept that, and this is like a couple of these young kids have been like,
fucking boomer.
That's a boomer take.
No, it's not, and you're a young little twat.
Like, that's just the facts, dude.
Shut the fuck up and accept that as a reality of the fucking game.
If you are a veteran who has earned your fucking stripes in the league, you have talked
to rest before, you have made your way through the league, you are going to earn the right,
not get more calls, you're going to earn the right to run your mouth at a ref.
It's like any relationship in life, dude.
If you're a new kid, I don't give a fuck if you're the first overall pick or the fucking 700th,
you can't fucking sit there.
and I know there aren't 700 picks.
You can't sit there and run your mouth at a ref
and expect them to go, totally get it.
Like that ref looks at you as a little fucking brat.
So, dude, I agree.
And I'm even, this is, now I'm going to get called a boomer,
but I'm even more in it.
I think there was a clip in the NFL maybe,
but it was like a hot mic where a ref was like,
you're not, it was like to Cam Newton or something,
but they were like, you're not better enough to get that call.
Yeah.
And everybody was like, oh, my God.
But I was like, so what, dude?
Like, you see an NBA all the time.
Like Jason Tatum would get malt going to the rim when he was 18 and now he gets the whistle.
Yeah.
And listen, like, I don't love that about the game, but like it's kind of the way the world works, pal.
But again, take out the getting calls element.
I'm just talking about talking, dude.
Don't run your mouth.
It's not even a conversation with talking.
Yeah.
And my last point is, and I made this point in my tweet, and this is another one if you can't.
There's some people who were like, that point's bullshit, dude.
You're an idiot.
If you think that.
Watch the clip back, dude.
No one on the Chicago bench does anything.
Yeah.
And so many people were like, they were probably just as surprised as him.
Wrong, dude.
It's like a one goal game and now your best player gets thrown in the box for 10 minutes.
Falino talked to the ref for maybe 10 seconds and then walked away.
Dude, if that was as egregious as a lot of fans are trying to pretend like it was,
there are your guys with letters on their sweaters and your coach primarily, first and foremost,
is going to lose their mind.
Yep.
No one did that.
Yeah.
So maybe they're like, ah, yeah, dude, you went a little too far there, Conner.
It's not a big deal.
That's the other thing.
And I said that a bunch of times on Twitter, too.
This is not a big deal.
The reason I'm fired up about it is because we just need so many fans to be less homer and less blind when defending something that happened to your team.
It's okay, dude.
Sometimes bad shit happens.
Got to accept it.
Yep.
And that's, unfortunately, the reality of this situation.
Let's move on from something bad to something very, very good.
Something possibly incredible.
Today, March 17th.
St. Patrick's Day of 2025, Gabriel Landerscog is practicing in a non-contact sweater.
That is not a red sweater on him, sir. That is a blue sweater. He is practicing, moving around,
participating in drills, scoring goals, looking beautiful. What is going on?
Out of fucking nowhere, too. Out of nowhere. I actually was with the boys this weekend, you know,
and obviously when I get together with the guys, they want to talk hockey because, you know, we have a hockey pod.
It's actually sick. You should go listen to it. And everybody was asking,
about the abs and all the moves in the central and someone asked me about Landy and I was like
I feels like he's done done forever because he kind of made a push this year I was actually
Dan and I were talking to some guys within the abs earlier and they said it felt like it was a maybe
and then that went back down to a no and that's where I had it so I was like yeah I know you'll never
see him again I wake up this morning he's first line center and I'm like he doesn't even play
center yeah he's just playing center I was like oh my god dude so that was fucking nuts yeah um we've
already put feelers out, obviously, to some people who will keep us posted.
Yep.
It would be so sick.
Oh my God, dude.
Beyond so sick if he came back.
Here's the thing.
I have all year, we've kind of talked about this.
And I have sort of, I've kept this childlike wonder alive in my, in my brain and
my heart about Landy coming back.
And then I'd say the last three months, I've done a temperature check and a
reality check on myself and I've been like Landy's not coming back.
Landy ain't walking through that door.
Well,
but brother, let me say this to you.
Are you telling me
that the Colorado Avalanche went out and they traded
and got Martin Natchez,
they got Jack Drury, then they go out at the deadline
and they get Brock Nelson and they get Charlie Coyle
and then they do something like this.
They bring back E.J.
Eric Johnson, one of the OG boys,
one of the trio.
He comes back.
And then a documentary about Gabriel Landisog drops about his return to the game.
And you're trying to look me.
What's it called? Clean slate?
You're trying to look me in the face and tell me that he is not making a comeback.
You're trying to look me in my eyes and tell me you don't like my necktie.
You're going to spit down my throat and say that he's not coming back into this lineup and helping them win another cup.
That's what you're telling me?
Dude, the...
Landy's coming back, dude.
What's fucked is it felt like
the moves they made
were because he definitely wasn't coming back.
So they're like, okay, well, I thought we were getting that.
So now we need to do this.
But dude, they just got the centers.
They just got a bunch of centers.
And then it turns out, now they got Nate Dogg.
Now they got Brock.
Now they got coil.
One, two, three down the middle.
What didn't they get wings?
It turns out, dude, he needed a dangling carrot
on his recovery, which was a cup.
a dangling cup.
And the last couple years, while good,
they didn't quite have a cup roster.
And he was like this, I just didn't have the motivational push.
And then they go like this.
What if I told you that we got NACIS and Brock Nelson and Coyle and Drury and E.J. back?
How's your recovery going now?
And he goes, how does the knee feel?
The knee feels just fine.
I'm ready.
They need to get that thing from the Dark Night Rises
that straps to Bruce Wayne's knee,
pins and needles.
insert themselves into the side of his leg
and then next thing you know,
he,
Hyukin kicks a brick wall
and smashes it down.
Like, put that on.
Is that the beginning?
It's, yeah.
Because the doc's like,
where have you been?
He goes, there's a problem
with the cartilage in your knee.
He's like, is it terrible or something?
He's like, it's not there.
Yeah, that's what's happening to land.
Yeah, right.
He should do that thing on his knee.
That's got to be real.
There's no way they made that up for the movie.
Dude, that's a real thing.
We should get that.
And put it on it.
Yep.
It's just a brace.
just a brace
there's a few more games
it's not a performance
enhancing drug it's just a brace
so he comes back
with that on
who beats them
nobody
does even they lose a game
I'm telling you right now
I don't care if he's
only 40% of himself
if Landy comes back into this lineup
and the captain
is on the ice
that was straight from fucking
mystery Alaska
yeah
Bert Reynolds
Yeah.
If I coach, then the captain's on the ice, dude.
If the captain is on the ice and you think anyone is beating that Colorado avalanche team,
they got Blackwood in net, dude.
Blackwood showed up and all of a sudden he was fantastic.
He was the Blackwood that everyone in New Jersey was like, is this guy a starting to end?
That Blackwood showed up in Colorado.
And he's been there.
He's been doing it.
And then they make all these moves.
NACIS looks like fucking Prime Peter Forsberg.
And all of a sudden, Landy's coming back.
It is just so cheeky of them to drop this documentary.
And I genuinely, CP, I'm telling you,
I'm pretty sure this thing's coming out episode by episode.
Whatever the final episode is,
is going to end with him talking to camera,
and he's going to go like this.
Something along lines that it's been a long journey.
And I'm happy to say, I'm back.
And then that night he's going to play.
You're so right because we make this comment all the time
when there's like, what was it really good?
example of it. Maybe it's like Tiger King or something, but there's, these docs come out when I'm like,
why were you filming this stuff? Like it becomes a story. You know what I mean? Like docs come out
that people have just been filming for so long. Like the jinx? Yeah, yeah. Dude, but no good one where I'm
like, what what what compelled you to interview this man now? And he just happens to forget he's
wearing a microphone and admits his guilt. And then we have so much content because we were filming
this thing. Yeah. And something happened. Oh yeah. They're doing it for the vibes. Dude. A little,
little motivational push for the boys. We're just going to do a landy dock.
And then-
Bullshit! And then, dude, this dock is such
utter trash if he's like this. And I can't play. I'll never play again.
As my recovery has sucked, I'll never play again.
I'm telling you, it is a... And also, dude, that Facebook
documentary that came out about Tom. Yeah.
That was the Philly year. Yeah. I'm telling you,
and this feels so wrong, I'm telling you he was thinking about retiring if he had just
won that Super Bowl. And then he lost and he's like, well,
I have to come back.
Yep.
And win 10 more.
He did win two more after that, didn't he?
He won, yeah, he won the Rams Bowl, and then he won the Buck with Tampa.
Jesus Christ, he's the best man who ever lived.
And then Landy's a short second, dude.
And then, because, dude, this is going to, this, this doc only makes sense if he plays again.
Otherwise, it's an embarrassing piece of content.
So he will play again, and then they will win.
Oh, my God, that would be, we are all Colorado Avalanche fans if that happened.
Oh, my God, dude.
Let's talk about another elite winger in the league, Leon Dryside.
You're all boned up for Leon.
18 game point street.
Broke the 100 point barrier.
Only Nate's done that.
He's at 101.
He's almost caught Nate.
He's almost caught Nate for the league lead in points.
The Oilers,
here's what I can't figure out about the Oilers.
Last year, last two years, really,
because two years ago, McDavid went nuclear, right?
Wasn't that his like 160?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yep, yep, yep.
two years ago, McDavid goes fucking insane.
Last year he had a monster year still.
This year, you got Drysidal having an insane year,
like a few of us picked for MVP.
How could he win MVP?
He's not even the best player on his team.
How could that happen?
Would you look at that?
Dude, there's an arc.
I know we both said it, but I have an archived post.
Me too.
Preseason, on the page.
Bet MGM.
How are you?
Best money in Vegas.
Leon Drysidal Heart Trophy.
Boom.
Anyway, the oilers have been bad for the last month.
I was going to say horrible, but that would be unfair to what they did to start the year last year, which was horrible.
Yeah.
So they've been bad.
And the kings are hot.
The kings have won five straight, maybe.
So I think with games in hand, which I hate doing, but if you give the kings those points, the kings, I think have jumped them for home ice.
Not that the oilers give a fuck.
I truly believe they don't.
Oh, yeah, they do not give a fuck.
But if I'm the Oilers, and this is both a question in the Oilers section and the Leon
flower section because Leon's been so awesome.
And Connor, I don't want to shake a stick of Connor, he's fourth in the league with 86.61
assist.
Sick.
You have those two guys firing so hard.
And Leon taking that extra step in a season when maybe Connor isn't quite fucking Superman.
I just don't know how you, as an Oilers fan, you can think that this is enough.
To be like, we've got Leon and he's having this MVP year.
And Connor's still Connor.
Yeah.
But I'm like, I suppose the reason I brought it up to you is maybe the question is,
well, Connor's always Connor.
And Leon's sick, but like, this is extra sick Leon.
So I'm like, oh, is the extra sauce here.
I think genuinely Leon is always, don't forget Leon has an MVP.
People forget that.
Oh, 100%.
I think Leon is always this sick.
and they genuinely just oscillate.
I think they're like,
dude, you go for it this year.
Yep.
I am with you in that
something feels a little shaky about them right now.
And obviously it's easy to say that in this skid.
But that was about to be on my point.
I just, like I said,
at the beginning of this year,
as I told you,
I don't think they give a shit.
I don't think they give a fuck at all
about the regular season.
I genuinely believe something,
was knocked loose in Connor
McDavid's brain last playoffs.
Same with Leon.
It's a huge part of that
was Leon extending when he did.
We talked about a bunch of times
Leon could have easily taken this right into the summer,
made them sweat. But I think something
was unlocked in their brains
and I think they are on
full-on cruise control.
And day one, I think first game
of the playoffs is going to be so
telling on what this Oilers team is.
Now, there is an element when you remove those two about the rest of the team.
Can you look up Bouchard stats for me?
Yeah.
Like this, dude.
Because if you look at their team stats, you know, we had 50 goal score Hyman last year.
We had 70-something point Bouchard last year.
Yep.
And I do, I think we've talked about it a bunch.
I think Fogdadi was such a bad loss for them.
Yeah.
I know he was like bottom six guy.
People didn't really think about him.
Fogel was so important to that team last year,
and I don't think they replaced him.
Skinner is not even playing,
Jeff Skinner.
He's like not even playing half the nights, it feels like.
I like that Walman pickup.
I like the Trent Frederick pickup.
But there is a drop-off that feels a little different than last year,
and it makes me slightly nervous for the Oilers.
But I stand by so passionately.
They are vagusy to me now.
with what's been unlocked in those two where I'm like literally wake me up in the playoffs.
I think that's how they think.
Okay, cool comp.
I'm going to disagree because...
It better be, it better be respectfully.
It is not.
Fuck.
Unfortunately.
I do think they, those two guys are vagusy.
Those two guys, because they go, this doesn't matter.
I just need to get dialed in the playoffs.
Okay.
Which is a fact.
But it's not fair.
didn't mean this, but it's just I don't, I'm unwilling to call the Oilers Vagasy because they don't
have the roster that is capable of being Vagasy.
Some teams do.
The Oilers don't.
Some teams have the roster to be Vagasy and aren't Vagasy.
They care about the regular season or whatever, and maybe they have to for some reasons,
because for seeding or whatever.
But this Oilers team, and to answer your question, because this is part of my point,
Bouchard has 13 goals, 40 assists for 53 points through 67 games.
82 points last year.
Heimann has 22 goals, which is actually a miracle,
considering he didn't score for the first month of the year,
but he has 22 goals, 15 assists for 37 points,
down from his 77 last year.
Drysidal, 101, McDavid, 86,
and then Bouchard, 53, R&H, 42, Heimann 37.
That's your top five scores.
Yeah.
Zach Heimann has 37 points.
Before I go too crazy on that,
Like, who do we argue is really deep?
Dallas.
I feel like I say that a lot.
Dallas, Colorado, definitely.
I'm looking this up for the first time.
As far as, like, points.
Yeah, like, I'm like, oh, that's some depth scoring there, right?
Yeah, I mean, we kind of...
Let me see if I'm wrong here.
Hold on.
But we kind of always do this.
There's always a drop-off.
That is one of the interesting fallacies.
It's like, Vegas was a good example when Ike's led the team with 67.
It was, everyone was kind of in that 40 to 60 range.
And that just showed their depth in such a strong.
strong way. I think Florida last year was another really good one. You had Reiner, you had Kachuk,
you had Verhege, you had Barcov, you had, Montor had a great year, Foresling had a great year.
So I think Florida is a good example, but yeah. No, but you're right. I think it's Sam Bennett
45 points as their fifth leading score versus what I say, 37. Yeah, 37 for Hyman.
But I think the, it just, it scares me any team that's like,
this, like Edmonton, that's so top-heavy, you go, you just got to stop those guys. And either
you do, or they're so good that they can't be stopped and maybe they clip you. Yeah. And
if I'm going to say that about any two guys, how could it not be these two? You know, so it's,
part of me's like, all right, never mind. They'll be right back in the final. But it's just
tough. This team, to me, doesn't look like they're better than last year. And,
And I don't know that this dry saddle season changes that.
Yeah, you're spooking me.
That was a good disagreement.
And I think...
And I think it comes down to what I said.
I think game one.
Obviously, series one, but I do think game one is going to show us a lot of who this Edmonton
Oilers team is.
Are they sleepwalking?
Yeah.
Are they sleepwalking?
And are they going to go...
Boom.
And come out of hybrid.
and then step on the gas
or are they going to go, this is us?
Leon was sick in the playoffs last year, right?
Didn't he have?
He was great.
That was him, right?
Wasn't he having like the most playoff points
or was that Connor?
Connor was dominating.
Oh yeah, no, he didn't,
he broke like a playoff point record.
Yeah, yeah, Connor was like,
we were saying that Connor should probably get,
and he did get Kahn Smyth.
Yeah, yeah, Leon 31, 10, 21, yeah.
So I mean, like, if Connor gives you another
fucking near 40, I mean, 31 points is sick.
I was good, too.
Connor gives you another 40,
and Leon bumps that up a little bit.
That's interesting.
Yeah, that's what I'm saying.
So, big, big.
So the last thing I wanted to get into
is a little segment I'm calling buy in stock.
Sharks were eliminated from playoffs,
officially over the weekend, I believe.
I wanted to look at,
and this is sketchy because the East is pretty,
even coming up a couple of the last ones here,
but the East is so still up in the air.
That wild card race is just insane.
But the bottom five teams in both conference
ducks, cracking,
Preds, hawks, sharks.
That's going from 6 to 10th.
Yep.
I'm looking at the wildcard race
just if people are paying attention.
That's why I have 6 to 10 instead.
And then on the east,
Sabres, Flyers, Penguins, Bruins,
Islanders.
That went the reverse order.
Yeah.
Really confusing people.
Who of those teams
are you buying stuff?
dock in as far as future.
Because I found this to be very interesting.
And it is really, it's particularly interesting to me.
When I'm looking at these teams, usually you look at a lot of some of the bottom
dwelling teams, and we've talked about how important goalie has become in the
NHL, there are two, I would say four.
teams here, or excuse me, two, three teams here that have a certified blue chip goaltender.
Oh, okay. Yep. And I think I, I personally see one, two. You see three blue chip gold? Oh,
yeah. I do. And I see one, two, three who have a guy that I'm like, oh, yeah, that's going to be a blue chip.
Okay. Who are you buying stock in? Okay. I'll let you call out two teams. Like, who do you?
think you're like, you can go one, one west, one east. And I'm just curious because we've talked
about it before, like, I don't need to bury the lead more here. I have never seen a team with
as bad a record as the sharks have such good vibes. Every single person on that team and in that
organization could not feel better about the direction they're going in. And they're losing and having
so much fun every single fucking day. It's truly astounding. And I think they deserve so much credit because
you look at the contrast, you look at the way that they've drafted, you look at the draft picks
and prospects that they are stockpiling, the fact that they're losing, and then we're getting
all these funny photos shoots where the boys are doing that bet, they're doing all these
funny things, they're having a blast on the road. You're going to look at a team like Chicago
and tell me they're having even a semblance of that much fun. They are not. So that is a team
where I'm like, holy moly, if you're a sharks fan, you probably feel amazing right now. You're
still having fun. You're out of the, you're eliminated from the playoffs, and you're still
having fun every single game. You're not going to get the one. I want two in the West.
If you're only letting me pick two. You can do that. Sharks, ducks. Dude, the duck stock is,
what's funny is they're like technically in a wild card race. I know. They're probably not going
to get it. California teams are firing, but it is nuts how, like the sharks are way, not way.
They are ahead of schedule. Like the blue jackets are not in this because they are too high.
Yeah, right.
They're way ahead of schedule.
And yeah, the duckies are all of a sudden like, wait a minute, are the ducks sick already?
The ducks?
Heavy stock in the ducks.
Ducks and sharks.
And I'll just hit them all down.
Hawks, sell, sell, sell, sell, sell, sell, sell, sell, sell.
Sharks buy, put everything.
Oh, literally everything you've ever had on the sharks.
Push the stack, dude.
Ducks.
Take out a second mortgage.
Boom.
Crackin are a don't buy.
They're not a sell, but they're a don't buy for me.
They got to figure some stuff out.
Yep.
They don't buy.
Preds are...
Preds are tricky because...
I'm selling.
I'm selling.
This is another year of everyone thought Soros was the best goalie in the league a few years ago.
And then last year people were like, oh, what's going on?
And then this year, everyone was like, oh, my God, they got all these players.
Saros is insane.
And they're just, they've been worse than...
Who's the third blue chip goalie then?
At Soros.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
But again, he is...
You know, he's not, he wasn't amazing this year.
He's not, he's been good.
The Preds have some things to figure out too.
And I, but I still like, I still believe in Trots and I still like what they have more,
like they, there's, put it this way.
I think Trots has a plan.
I don't think they're like, oh, fuck.
Well, I think he has a new plan.
I think he had a plan and he was like, this plan went horribly.
I have a new plan now and I, it's going to be a great plan.
Plan B is an even better plan than Plan A was.
Yeah.
But what I was trying to say is if, if the, the team is like a building, you're just
trying to build this structure.
Yeah.
The preds have better materials than the Cracken do to put it together.
Yep.
And they fucked up the building of it this time, but they're going to try to build it again,
and they still have good foundation.
Yeah.
More so than the Cracken, I think.
Moving to the East, Buffalo, sell.
Nightmare.
Nightmare.
Per usual.
Pittsburgh.
Sell.
Ridulous.
I'm going to go, don't buy on Pittsburgh.
Dude, right?
We've talked about it.
And I'm the hardest on Pittsburgh in the world.
Right now, I think they're awful.
I think it is insane that there's anyone defending Dubus,
like coming in, getting the guys that he got,
going out and getting Carlson, Raquel, Hayes,
and them being like this, yep, we're making a push for Sid,
and this is what we're being delivered, awful.
But they have prospects and picks,
and they have done a decent job, like trading Pedersen,
getting what you got for him,
trading, who they just ship out.
But they have stuff.
So I'm not buying them.
Don't buy.
But I'm saying,
don't buy.
Islanders.
I'm saying don't buy,
but I'm glad they did what they did.
I loved the Nelson move.
Eiserman's waiting in the wings.
Have a pulse.
And here they are,
dude,
they're fighting for,
they are like,
no,
no, that was an interesting.
They could easily sneak in,
dude.
The East Wildcard is an absolute shit show.
Yep.
So,
just saying,
yep, don't buy.
Don't buy.
The Bruins.
Don't buy.
As long as Don't Sweeney
is at the hell.
Don't buy.
That's fair.
And Philly, don't buy?
Sneaky, sneaky, sprinkle for me.
Sprinkle?
Sprinkle.
Sprinkle some action.
Almost everything you have on the sharks and the ducks and whatever's left over.
Yeah.
Put on Philly.
I'm fine with that.
Yeah, I do think as much as I want to go buy in one of these East teams, the buys of the
California teams.
California's common, dude.
California hockey.
King, sharks, ducks.
Are you kidding me the next five years?
Incredible.
Wags, let's get into a beer league hotline brought to you by our friends at Labap Blue.
We have a new recruit who is lacing them up for the first time in over five years.
Guy we've been trying to get involved for the past few years now.
He's always too busy, always making excuses, but he finally committed to play.
Week one schedule drops, the first thing he says is probably have to miss week one for my dodgeball playoff final.
I respect the playoffs, but this guy is going to miss his first week back in half a decade to compete in a lower division.
Dodgeball ship.
Is this bad practice or bad omen for this guy as a team, dude?
Or is this just bad timing?
Twist.
I'm the guy.
Oh,
ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.
Jesus, dude.
The self-awareness is like off the charts.
Oh, dude, that is good.
Off the charts.
I don't even know how to address, address this man.
Because it's like,
I was so ready to talk about this guy, this unseen, unheard guy, and now it's just him.
It's him.
So I suppose we're just talking to you.
Yeah.
The fact that you are this self-aware to write into Beer League Hotline about yourself means you know you're doing something wrong.
Dude, he goes, is it a bad omen for this guy as a team dude talking about himself?
I'm like, dude, if you think it's bad, it's probably bad.
You're an unreliable guy.
Yeah.
Always had been, can't teach an old dog new tricks, Dan.
You're an unreliable guy and you know it.
Hear me out for one second.
As dudes who play several men's leagues, other than hockey, I mean.
I can't, I'm so, like, this guy, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around what just happened.
Here's what I'm rattle.
He speaks so negatively about himself.
Yeah, this guy, dude.
But he's kind of, a kind of.
He's always too busy.
He's always making an excuse.
This was a low-key flex, though, when he goes, a guy we've been trying to get involved for a few years now.
Like, this team's been after him for a few years now.
Yeah, well, he said not chasing. He says we went trying to get involved. That could be, it could be him being like, guys, I'm trying to get out there. And they're like, I mean, yeah. Anytime, dude. We're wide open. Just show up. Literally just show up. On paper, I have no problem with this because it's week one and it's a final. It's a final. Completely final. So I'm like, it's fine. It's not a bad omen. You go, dude, I'm so sorry. Horrible timing. It's literally the championship. I didn't even know we were going to make the championship. But we did and I'm in it. So I got to play. I got to see. Because,
You know what?
My Wednesday night hockey is some of those guys dodgeball.
And I don't want them who've been grinding all year to make a final,
to get hung out to dry and lose their championship because Homeboy didn't come
because he had to go to week one of a beer league season.
And they're making fun of his low-level dodgeball league.
How good is your beer league, pal?
Probably not that good.
I've got a couple things to say on that.
Omen is the wrong word.
It's not a bad omen.
It is a bad look.
it's a bad
People question it.
It's a bad start.
Yep.
Because yeah, you go, I'm back, dude.
I'm finally in.
Week one, you're out.
Everyone's like, fuck you, dude.
Same story.
This guy's up to his same old bullshit.
Never going to show up.
I'm with you.
It's the final versus week one.
Get in that dodge ball game.
Now, on that topic,
I'm not surprised that you were on his side there
as an overbooker, a person who's doing a million things.
Sure, I get it.
What I'm saying, if I'm a member of this team,
I go, sure, it was the final, but he's also just admitted to me that he's in a dodgeball
league on this night as well.
Yeah.
This will not be the last time a dodgeball conflict comes up because there's going to be a
night where you're looking to get a little sweat in, but maybe you don't want to lace him up.
And you go, I can get that workout in Dodgeball.
I had dodgeball too.
Maybe dodge ball is short.
It's probably closer.
Right closer to the home.
Well, I meant numbers.
Maybe they're short on numbers.
And they really need them.
And you're looking at the email for hockey and it's like, oh, they got plenty of guys.
They got 10.
I can drop him down to 9.
That's not bad.
That is bad.
Yeah.
But he's like, well, dodge ball.
Well, he can't even field the team if I don't show.
Yeah, we forfeit.
So dodge ball is going to be an issue more often.
You're right.
It's the same night, dude.
And I think that is actually the big issue here, dude.
It's not the fact that you bailed immediately week one.
It's not the fact that you were unreliable.
It's the fact that you don't know how to fucking commit, dude.
You're a slut.
I would tell him, first of all, week two is the most important week of this man's career.
Because you better be there early with beer.
With beer.
bells on. You truly need to show up. You chime in. If you
maybe, if you guys have a schedule, break the schedule. Go. I'm on beer this week. I'm
sorry I missed week one, but I'm in. Absolutely. It's very important, but I'm telling you, dude, if
if I'm smart and I'm on this team, doesn't matter what he does. It doesn't matter how much
ball-licking he does. How much groveling and how much apologizing. Doesn't matter because I know he
has a mistress.
Yeah.
I've seen her.
I saw her getting out of the car.
Yep.
I've seen the mistress.
I know it's there.
And he hasn't cut her out.
She's just going on vacation.
That season's going to start up again.
You got to tell him to quit.
So long as he's in that dodge ball league, you cannot trust this.
Agree.
That's what I'm saying.
He has to go.
Next season starts week three of the Hawk season, but don't worry, I'm off that team.
Win or lose in the ship?
It's your last game.
Enjoy it.
My last game.
I'm now committed to whatever night this is.
It's okay, it's Wednesday nights. Wednesday night is now hockey night, fellas.
Unless I get that and unless I see receipts, because this man can't be trusted.
You cannot be trusted, sir. I need to see receipts that you are done with Dodgeball, because otherwise, no.
Correct. He's sneaking out the back. He's cheating with the whore down the street.
Huge, huge thank you to Labat Blue for another awesome beerly call line.
Phenomenal. Okay, now doing some odds from BenMGM. We're going to do it a different way this time.
matching five things and their odds that they're going to happen in this hockey season.
We've been so bad at this to add more chaos to this is such an interesting idea.
I thought if we make it harder, it would be easier for us.
Just ridiculous.
Okay, Wags, what do we got?
Kings to win the Pacific.
Lightning to win the Atlantic.
Stars to win the Cup.
Capitals to win the Eastern Conference.
Avalanche to win the Western Conference.
and the odds out of order are plus 300 plus 500 plus 400 plus 475 plus 600 plus 600 plus 350
caps to win the Eastern Conference is our whatever our lowest is has to be plus 300 300 because they
I'm right in these okay 300 for sure caps to win east caps to win Eastern Conference
Um, bolts to win Atlantic.
Interesting.
Kings to win Pacific.
Interesting.
Stars to win Cup.
I feel like that's got to be a sixer.
Because it's the hardest.
Yeah, it's just like, that's hard.
Avs to win the West.
Is anyone, like, they're going to catch the Jets?
What's to win the Western Conference.
Like, go to the Cup.
Like, they are going to win the Western Conference.
Yeah, this is playoffs.
So, but I still think that's a, they probably,
are the Western Conference favorite over the Jets, I would bet.
So I kind of like them at $350.
I mean, caps to win the east might not be $300 now.
Fuck.
Yeah, I was thinking regular season.
Yeah.
This is just all playoffs.
So maybe.
This is what I said.
You add chaos.
You don't lay out what we're talking here.
You're just saying random stuff.
Okay.
This is all playoffs?
Still, you don't think, or they're probably not.
I bet Florida's here.
No, dude.
Florida could be, but, but Florida's like plus $150 yet.
I bet Florida's fucking negative.
To win the Eastern Conference?
Yeah, I bet they're minus...
No, I bet they're plus 150.
It's like the caps could easily be plus 300
and be lower than Florida.
What is the most likely thing to happen here?
Yeah, so I think it's...
I think it's caps win the east,
or maybe Avs win the West.
How far back are the Kings in the Pacific?
Not that far.
I bet.
The most likely...
I think they can catch...
I think winning the Pacific is easier
than winning a conference championship.
True, true.
That's the one regular...
season thing here.
But the lightning are like
tied with Florida,
nearly tied with Florida to win the Atlantic.
I think those are going to be our 350 and 300.
You think,
they're easier tasks.
Which one is the,
the favorite?
I think, or more likely, do you think,
the lightning to win the Atlantic?
Yes.
To catch the Panthers.
300 and then 350 for the Kings to win the Pacific.
And then I will say,
475 for the caps to win the east.
Okay.
Okay.
And then we've got 600 stars to win the Cup, and we're going to go 500 for Avs to win the West.
Okay.
All right.
Going down the line, Wags, Lightning to win the Atlantic, 300.
Kings to win the Pacific, 350.
Caps to win the Eastern Conference, 475, Aves to win the Western Conference, 500, and stars to win the Cup, 600.
We got all of them right.
You got three right.
Come on, dude.
I told you.
Make it harder.
It becomes easier.
You make it harder, it becomes easier.
What do we get right?
You got lightning right.
Nice.
Kings right.
Nice.
Well sussed out by me.
And the stars.
And the stars.
Wow.
Okay, so we just have to flip the conference is.
Flip flop them.
And those are close, too.
475, 500.
Dude, we fucking nailed that.
Absolutely fucking nailed that.
Caps are in the East 500.
Aves to win the West 475.
Damn, dude.
They know.
They know.
They know.
They know.
Aves are winning the cup.
Dude, they know.
Land is coming back.
Oh, my God, dude.
Wow, Lightning, who we win the Atlantic only plus 300 is terrifying.
Take me to Denver, dude.
Take me to fucking Denver.
We're going to finish up this episode with a blind ranking,
which was requested by a fan.
Absolutely love it.
We're going to do blind ranking Stanley Cup teams of the last decade.
Wags, what have we got?
I am going to go out on a lot.
I feel like I'm going to have a lot of recency bias here.
Ooh, I believe that.
2015 Blackhawks.
That's got to be the...
God, the Blackhawks won the cup in 2050.
Is that the worst of their three?
Yes.
They beat the bees.
They beat the Flyers.
Or even the other order, but you know,
who did they beat 2015?
I don't know.
Couldn't have been the Penguins.
The Penguins were 16, 17.
Washington was 18.
They beat...
They ripped the soul out of somebody.
Who was it?
The Lightning.
They swept them.
Wow, that was Tampa.
Yeah.
I forgot about that.
So that's probably...
I wonder what Hawks fans would say.
Like, which was their best team?
I feel like that 2013 team was so good.
Yeah, this team was good.
Like, they...
Keith was still buzzing.
As like a fucking third crown in the dynasty.
Yeah, it feels almost like we're being dumb.
Yeah, I was about to put them low, but now maybe I'm like, they're like two.
It feels like we're being, and this was like early Tampa.
Like Tampa's getting good.
Yeah.
But in terms of your comment on recency bias, I am, I'm already thinking that some of these recent teams are better than that Hawks team.
So now I don't want to put them that.
Like they had Sharpie, Taravinen, Taves.
I'm obviously Taves.
Yeah.
The 13 team was better.
The 13 team was better.
Yeah.
Maybe it is a four.
Maybe I'm all the way back down to a four.
This team, damn.
This Blackhucks team is very good.
And I think.
And I can't, yeah, I'm with you in that.
Are we disrespecting them?
Because I'm comparing them to themselves.
2010, 13, 15.
Because these guys weren't old, right?
I don't think so.
You know.
But how old is, how old is Kane are right now?
38.
Because he had old, Jesus.
But that must have been the end of their window.
Because they got bad, like, pretty quick after that.
Patrick Kane's 36.
So that means 10 years ago, he was fucking 26.
six years old. How did they get so bad? What happened?
This Blackhawks team is good, but I like some teams better.
Four? Maybe four. This is where I said, recency bias. Maybe two, maybe one. No.
Absolutely not. I actually are really, I don't think that, but I am going to, I'm going to, I hate it.
I am going to go three. God damn. Okay, three. Three.
2024 Panthers.
Wagon. Wagon.
You knew when the season started they were going to win.
Like, it was like, that's the best team.
I think, realistically, when I think about these 10 teams, I like one better than them.
And I don't even, should I tell you who?
No, don't tell me who you think.
I'm not going to tell you, I think, but should I tell you who I think it's not.
Sure.
I don't think it's either Tampa team.
Oh, wow.
I was positive.
You were going to say one of them.
No.
I
With Vassie, it's so crazy
I can't
We should have gone fucking four
For Chicago, dude
Fuck
Um
So you want to go two here
Because you have one lurking
I think so
I think we might regret this
But
Like do you like either pit team
I don't want to give it away
Do you like the Cappies
Do you like the blues?
I don't want to give it away
I don't go two
I'll go two
but I might regret this.
Oh my God, that 20, if we're counting,
because we don't have a 20-25 winner,
so we are counting the 2014 Kings team.
They were sick.
I know, but dude,
the Panthers are wagon.
Two.
You want to go one?
No.
Okay, two.
Two.
Two.
Two.
Two.
Fuck.
Like so good.
Oh, dude.
Because that's their second, right?
2020, they won in the bubble.
Twenty-two-one.
Nasty, wasty.
Disgusting team.
One in fucking...
Beat Dallas, right?
So good.
Vassie head and stammer.
Four. I mean, it's four. It's four.
No, yeah. Fuck. We took three.
Dude, this is a tragedy.
We have to go one there.
I don't know, dude. That Blackhawks team is so good.
And I don't think they're better than Florida last year.
I really don't. Me neither, but they're not...
No, because now we're disrespecting the recent...
I know, I know. I know.
Four. Four. Four.
Fuck.
2014 Kings.
five five and that sucks but that's also right yeah that's also right five let's go at 2018
capitals awful fucking list terrible list i just i mean that that team was that team was dope no dude
that team was dope but absolutely not this list is an absolute disaster um wow dude who was your team
i think the i think the 22 avs team was fucking putrid um where would you've had Vegas
I think above Chicago, maybe not, maybe above Chicago.
Yeah.
But then also being like that Vegas team is better than Tampa.
All these teams are so great.
So deep.
That Vegas team.
Fuck.
Brutal list.
Brutal list.
I hate everything about what we just did and I apologize.
That's it for us this episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Sincereest apologies for that list.
We will see you in a couple days.
We're going to have some fun guests for you coming up here.
Some more fun games, as always.
And we will see you next time.
And when we do, make sure to skate hard.
