Empty Netters Podcast - Legacy Game For Stuart Skinner | EP.193
Episode Date: May 13, 2025Vegas shows no fight in Edmonton and the Oilers take a commanding 3-1 series lead. And the Hurricanes are unstoppable at home where they took two in a row from Washington. The beer league hotline has ...the boys questioning the truth and the blind ranking has them in shambles. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: HUEL. “Try Huel with 15% OFF + Free Gift for New Customers today using my code NETTERS at https://huel.com/NETTERS. Fuel your best performance with Huel today! LIGHTSTRIKE. https://www.drinklightstrike.com/ 00:00 INTRO 00:38 NOT ICE 22:01 HOT ICE 27:29 CAPS / CANES 58:59 OILERS / KNIGHTS 1:18:52 POWERS RANKINGS 1:28:05 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:36:02 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
And here's the thing, pal.
We saw this last year.
Skinner needs to be shut down,
recharge the batteries,
and then he comes back in,
and he plays better than he has all season long.
And here we are, Edmonton Oilers,
this inevitable team that no one can figure out
rolls on, and I'm saying it,
Vegas is dead.
Oilers keep going.
I'm going to choose not to eat with you.
I'm going to take my breakfast over here.
I'm going to reset.
I'm going to recharge the batteries.
I'm going to hit the reset button.
I'm going to come out.
He won't give the net up again
for the rest of the playoffs, Dan.
Mark my words.
He won't give up the net again for the rest of the playoffs.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
This man once went to a restaurant to watch a sushi eating competition
and then ate more sushi than both of the competitors.
He's an insane person.
He's Chris Powers.
as always
that was one of the
more impressive things
I've ever seen
when that happened
it was hilarious
because the
contestants
were only eating sushi
and I was eating
I was there
I watched the whole thing
because I was like
what I'm not part of this
so I don't need to like
save stomach space
so I'm going to have some
veggie tempura
some gyoza
some edamame
garlic
The biggest one was beers.
You were sucking down Sapporo's.
Boom, Sapporo, Sapporo, Sapporo.
And you know what's mental to me?
What did they have, like 50 pieces?
Yeah.
If I didn't say anything, you wouldn't have either.
You would have just gone about your life knowing in your head what happened and not telling anyone.
Yeah.
These guys were counting the pieces that they had had.
One of them tapped out.
And the other one was, I think he was hovering around 50.
Yeah.
Shout up Marty.
And he was like, I don't even think I can get to 50.
and I eventually looked at you and go,
how many have you had, Chris?
And I think he had had like 47 and you were like 49.
Yeah.
And I was like, what the fuck is happening right now?
Boom.
I also want to say to everyone, these were fat pieces of sushi.
Did not spicy tuna roll pieces.
I'm talking imitation crab, son.
I'm talking imitation.
Specialty rolls, bitch.
God.
Big fat daddies.
Two-biter.
No.
Yeah.
No.
Two-biter, some of them.
Two biters.
What are you a bitch?
Dude, tune bite and a sushi.
We are in the midst of one of the craziest Stanley Cup playoffs of all time.
There's no doubt about that.
Everything is absolutely insane.
Our live show this morning was so electric.
So many fun people joining the show.
Shout out Eddie Lack.
Shout out Johnny Lazz.
Shout out all the listeners, all the people in the chat.
Who's Eddie boy?
Ryan.
Ryan.
Shout out Ryan.
And we've got a lot to get into.
I do have to say to you both, though.
And we had one guy, maybe two guys in the YouTube comments last week.
that didn't appreciate how long we talked about the papal conclave.
Yeah.
First of all, sorry.
Second of all, there are chapters.
You can skip ahead if you don't want to talk about anything other than hockey for just a few minutes.
We put the chapters in.
Forgive me.
Forgive me that I want to talk about something other than hockey with my friends for just a few minutes.
We put the chapters in on purpose.
Yeah.
They don't go in by accident.
And then third of all, fuck you.
I'm going to talk about something other than hockey for a few minutes.
There's a couple.
Yeah, yeah.
Guys.
Good, good.
Good.
Every day I wake up and I look at the NHL slate and figure out what games we're going to watch and I get excited.
But something happened today that excited me to no end and that was the beginning of the Diddy Trial.
Dude, if I could have the platform to talk about the Diddy Trial for an hour and a half as a podcast episode, I would do it.
I'm not going to do that to you guys.
Dude, I might start, we might start a spin on a pod.
I legitimately might start it.
and it would be called
come on dude
this would be so sick
um
the freak off
peek off
taking a peek
into the freak off
yep what'd you say wax
the diddlers
that would be the name of the fans
yeah yeah
is it really surprising
that a man who called himself
diddy
is diddling
did he
diddle
yes he did
did
are do you have
do you are
I don't think
either of you
are processing how big of a moment this is.
This is our...
So this was day one of the trials,
and we've got...
Get your mic.
Let the people hear your interest in this.
My mic is here.
There you go.
This was day one.
We had the 12 jurors announced,
and I'm going to read the 12 jurors to you guys.
And the six alternates,
we've heard some of the people
that will be testifying, including Cassie.
Yeah.
that she almost went today.
And then they cross-examined that fucking,
that pimp,
that jigolo.
That literal pimp, dude.
For so long that he's...
Pepper Jack.
He's still going.
Pepper Jack needs his...
Pepper Jack needs to get paid.
Dude, he's still going to fucking...
Pepper Jack is on the stand.
Pick him up tomorrow.
Dude, I...
So what's happening right now, guys,
is our...
This is our Alamo.
This is our generation's OJ.
Our generation's Menendez brothers.
It's way bigger than that.
But, but...
our parents went through trials that they were all captive.
We got two months of this shit.
Yep.
Dude,
get to the jury because there were fucking 45 candidates and then had gotten intense questioning
over three days that's been narrowed down and narrowed down.
And now we've got 12.
And I also would like to say this, man.
I can't believe that this isn't televised.
I'm dude, I'm so...
So in the state of New York, federal trials do not have photos.
or video. So all we're going to get is
courtroom sketch artist drawings and they're already fucking
crazy. They're like oil paintings. I didn't
even know that there is the trial today and I like
live on social media. Yeah, dude, which we need
we'll get dialed by hey, diddy, diddy, diddy, diddy trial, diddy trial,
now you're going to get a ton of it.
I can't believe. Was Depp in California?
Yes. That's why the whole thing was on.
Yeah, was on. Same with OJ, same with the menendez.
I touched television, dude. I would
I would legitimately
sell my firstborn child for video of this trial.
I would take a leave of absence from this job,
and I would sit at home and live stream every minute of this trial.
Can you believe the shit that these jurors are going to see?
I wish it was on TV so badly,
but you can get a lot.
The times and the post,
and everybody is live blogging it, basically.
But I need to see it.
I know.
These jurors are going to see video of,
of major celebrities, major people getting rim-jobbed, allegedly, in these freak-offs.
It's going to be on Netflix in five years.
Yeah.
Well, there's no, there are no cameras.
They're going to reenact it.
I don't want that, though.
I want the real thing.
Someone's filming, right?
If any of these jurors are listening to this podcast, somebody's filming.
Got the meta-glasses, the raybans on.
Dude, put a fucking human camera on your screen.
shirt for the love of God. There's got to be like one camera, right? There's got to be one that they
don't tell people about. Like I need it. Because what if something happened? I need it.
I need it. A ditty off and the courtroom. Yeah. Here, are you ready for the jurors? Because I
promised the listeners we wouldn't spend too much time on the ditty trial. Yeah. Juror number two,
a 69 year old male from Manhattan who works as an actor and massage therapist. He listens to classical,
jazz and rock music and his hobbies include music, theater, biking, and baby lotion.
Jura number five.
A 31-year-old male from Manhattan who works as an investment analyst.
He plays sports and video games.
Jury number 25.
A 51-year-old male from Manhattan who has a PhD in molecular biology and neuroscience.
He listens to classical music and opera, and his hobbies include art, science, cooking, and the outdoors.
Jury number 25 is a fucking G.
Yeah.
That's an absolute dog.
That's an absolute dog.
Juror number 28, a 30-year-old female from the Bronx working as a deli clerk.
She listens to hip-hop and regaton and reads and plays video games.
Do you video games?
I bet her and a juror number five are talking about viz.
Me too.
They're not allowed to talk.
Fucking GTA 6, bro.
Where is it?
Juror number 55, a 42 year old,
or no,
yeah, a 42-year-old female from Manhattan
who is an aide in a nursing home.
She likes to cook and paint
and watch Harry Potter and Disney movies.
Let's go!
Juror number 58, a 41-year-old male from the Bronx
who works in communications at a correctional facility.
He listens to reggaeton and 90s hip-hop
and his hobbies include sports and fantasy football.
Say video games.
Oh, God.
Jury numbers to 75, a 68-year-old man from Westchester County who is retired from a bank.
He listens to Indian music and plays cricket and volleyball.
I wonder if that man is Indian.
Juror numbers 116, a 68-year-old man from Westchester County who was retired from working at telecommunications company.
He listens to rock music and likes to bowl and golf.
Why is music such a pro?
I guess it's because it's a ditty.
A bowl and golf.
Juror number 160.
A 43-year-old female from Westchester County who works as a physician assistant, she listens to R&B and hip-hop and she dances.
Is Westchester that big?
Do all these people know each other?
I've always wondered that about New York because that's where Chatsky's from.
I feel like people from Westchester know each other.
So then every time he's someone from New York, I go, where you from?
And they go, Westchester.
And I'm like, oh.
Do you know Andrew Chester?
Yeah.
They all say yes.
Do you think they made them pull up their Spotify rap to be sure he didn't have this.
Dude, in the article that like pretty much everyone here obviously knows who Diddy is.
Crazy.
Drew number 184, a 39-year-old male from the Bronx who is a social worker.
He listens to R&B and popular music from West Africa and also watch.
as sports. Juror number 201, a 67-year-old male from Westchester County who works as a logistics
analyst. His hobbies include woodworking and bike riding, gas. And juror number 2217, a 74-year-old
female from Manhattan who works at a treatment as a treatment coordinator. She listens to classical
music and likes to travel. So there are our jurors. We have six alternates. Why are they so old?
Well, you got to do the range, baby. But we had to get, I think it's a lot of 60-year-old.
I think it said it ranges from 30 to 74.
Yeah.
Okay. Just going to pass away before the trial.
All.
Christ.
That's ages, bro.
I can't believe that we don't get any video from this, but I am telling you, man, I am so tapped into this.
I care more about the result of this than I do about who wins the Stanley Cup.
And it's not even close.
Yeah.
Because I want.
heads to roll
fucking roll.
What if during the Stanley Cup finals
they decided to live broadcast
the Diddy hearing
like the final of it
would you not watch a Stanley Cup?
Yeah game seven.
Yeah literally it's like on at the same time.
100% I'd miss it.
Would you put it in like the sports center
two different TVs playing at the same time?
Yeah yeah.
Or have the Stanley Cup on my phone
while I'm at the Diddy trial.
I'm telling you right now
if I was guaranteed
that big dogs were going to go down,
I would skip the Stanley Cup for this.
I want, I want,
the state of Hollywood to be shaken to its core.
Me too.
With the result of this.
Because they deserve it.
All of these fucking scumbags, dude,
that you know what you did.
You know you were involved.
And you know that you were doing something horrible
when you were doing it.
And I want you to fucking burn for it.
I want you to burn at the stake.
I want to go back to me.
devial times and make these sons of bitches walk through the street while we throw tomatoes and
cabbage.
Oh, way worse than that.
And then they get strapped to the fucking guillotine.
Yeah, there we go.
Now we're talking.
Now let's go.
I want heads cut off, literally.
Literally.
Like, I don't want them.
And dude, I want the biggest names.
And I want the children of our, I want the children who are our future to kick those heads like
soccer balls down the street.
I want the Game of Thrones walk of shit.
That's what I'm saying.
I want that.
I want the walk of atonement.
Oprah.
Naked.
Walking from Times Square to D.C.
Allegedly.
I'm like, go ahead, dude.
Allegedly.
I have a couple questions about this.
If you were involved in this, burn, baby burn.
Let it burn all night.
Here's a question I have.
If you, I can't probably talk about some of this,
but I got jury duty, right?
Yeah.
And there's a process to it.
Yeah.
And a lot of it.
I'm going to tell you right now, you can't talk about this.
Yeah.
A lot of it. Certainly not on this forum. The story is hilarious too. I wish I could tell it. But the, you can't. Um, I don't understand what they said because the people were like, hey, are you familiar with this person at all? Like, and everyone here is like, yeah, like they had to go, I have no prejudice in this case. And I'm like, surely you do. So it says all of them were, obviously they all said, I will be unbiased in my view on this case. But,
Every single one of them has been like,
I am aware who this human being is.
Yeah.
But I think that that with the lawyers and the judge in this case,
they're like, no shit.
I don't think that that was like a, oh no, they know who did he is.
But usually they kind of go, well, I guess this is kind of always.
It actually, can I jump in here?
It says multiple of the jurors who were selected
admitted that they were aware of the,
and had seen photos with the Cassie lawsuit.
They had seen, oh, oh, the previous.
Yeah, yeah.
And they still chose.
Did you see that shit about the CNN getting that video of, and this is not allegedly,
of Diddy wailing on Cassie in that hotel room?
Oh yeah.
Just like violently beating and kicking his girlfriend that CNN is like, we're the only
ones who have video, this copy of this video, and we've destroyed it.
And I was like, what are you talking about, dude?
Who was literally sitting on that video while that was going down in the first place?
Who had their hands in that video?
And it didn't matter.
They were like, oh, I'm just not going to report this.
It's already chaotic, Dan.
The jury shit blows my mind because I have so many questions about that.
But here's why I wanted to steer it.
And we won't stay on this too long.
But I just love the justice system is flawed, but it's the best we got.
And we're doing the best we can out here.
I think it fucks up all the time.
Perjury, to your point, you'd be punishable by death if we gave a fuck.
If we gave a rats about anybody telling the truth.
If we actually care about people telling the truth.
Dude, we would make it beneficial life.
You're gonna get shot into the sun if you lie.
So it's all fucked.
But we don't care.
It's all fucked.
We're gonna put them in your,
your front closet under a box and let them scramble.
My dad will bash your talking.
My dad will bash your head in.
You'll wake up begging for cheese.
You'll wake up begging for cheese.
You'll wish you got stuck in a glue trap
after what I do to you with a hockey stick.
So the,
you have a right to an attorney, Dan.
You have a right to an attorney.
And if you cannot afford one,
what will be provided for you?
Diddy can afford a shitload of them who have gotten some other big people off.
Not in the way Diddy tries to get off.
And they allegedly.
They need to do their job.
So they need to defend this stuff.
And I've already seen, because you said Cassie might be the first witness, right?
Yeah.
And it was saying this article is so big.
I should have pasted some of this that I really wanted.
But there's parts where it's like the defense is expected to lean heavily on painting
Cassie as violent, trying to frame their relationship as mutually combat.
rather than coercive.
So it looks, when they show a jury a video of this man wailing on his girl, his helpless
girlfriend.
He went like this.
They go, should have seen the other guy.
Yeah, off camera.
It didn't start filming until after I got my ass beat.
You didn't see what she did to me.
Dude.
Okay.
So according to further conversations here, the Combs defense strategy centers on portraying
his actions as part of a consensual swinger lifestyle rather than criminal conduct.
His legal team argues that sexual encounters, including the so-called freak-offs,
were consensual events involving adults who willingly participated in these gatherings.
And again, you have a right to an attorney.
They, an attorney has to do their job.
But the idea that a team of like 10 people are going to, with degrees coming out, their dickholes,
are going to stand up there and go like this, hear me out.
Everyone just chill, man.
Dude, the whole house.
It was mutual, bruh.
They wanted drugs in the baby oil that were seeping into their skin to black them out.
Allegedly.
Allegedly.
That's what they wanted.
And I don't know what else the argument is other than going insanity.
Here's what I love.
Everything you just said, right?
Yeah.
His defense.
I love when stuff like that.
And I believe passionately and innocent until proven guilty.
Yep.
But when you look at this and it says,
going to decide if Combs 55 is guilty of five criminal counts,
one count of racketeering conspiracy,
two counts of sex trafficking by force, fraud or coercion,
and two counts of transportation to engage in prostitution.
He has pleaded not guilty.
And I'm like, really?
All those things are a coincidence.
I'm a patsy.
I've been set up by the Brits.
Dude, I'm a patsy.
Mr. F.
I can't wait.
Dude, he needs Andy Cohen.
He needs Bob Blah Blah.
He gets Andy going.
He will whisper in your ears.
during trial.
Oh my God.
I think that in my mind, this can go no other way than a massive, full, guilty to all counts
of everything.
Because what are we talking about here?
There's no way this is all made up.
But I'm rattled.
That's why we watch.
Have you seen the judge?
No.
Dude, the judge walks in and he's like making jokes in the opening statements.
He walks in and he says and he goes, bad boys for the law.
life. Bro, he comes in with like headphones on. No. Yeah. Some people thought he was a student. I'm serious to. No, no, no, no. Wait, do you see this?
No, no, no, no. Let me show. We've got to move on. We've already gone on too long on the ditty files, but you got to see this judge. It's insane. He's like a kid. He's just like some kid who's like, hey, what's up? And they're like, who are you? And he's like, I'm the judge. It is all in my hands. It's absolutely insane, yeah. If this judge looks a day younger than 60, I will run.
it. I got to show you this man. Hold on. Put it this way, folks, as CP takes forever to find this photo.
I don't know how to find a video of the judge walking. I will say, as I stated, I am as captivated
by this moving forward as I am by these current Stanley Cup playoffs. Yeah, me too. Unbelievable.
I'm going to put it on record. He's not going to live to see the end of the trial.
Whoa!
Wags calling a shot on death? Jesus. He's going to be Epstein.
Well, what about the one of the main witnesses.
Have you seen that?
The main witness went missing three days before the trial.
She's been missing now.
Come on.
No, I swear to God, dude.
One of the key witnesses is missing from the trial.
No one can find her.
And I'm like, dude.
And Diddy's defense team is like this.
Oh, sucks.
We had nothing to do with it.
Dude.
Unbelievable.
Yeah, here she is dead.
Victim three.
Key witness, victim three in sex trafficking trial goes missing days before trial begins.
Dude, what?
Burn them.
The steak.
That's reeled.
We've got to get into hockey talk.
This is fucking crazy.
If you find a picture of this judge, show it to me later.
Before we get into, you're shitting me.
Can you see that?
You are sh-
You are absolutely shitting them.
This dude is wearing black Air Force ones, a backpack, and beats by Drey headphones.
That's how he showed up to court.
He's bumping ditty on the,
in this headphones, dude.
They go, what are you listening to?
He goes, nothing.
That is ridiculous.
There's a man's voice on.
Jesus.
She's missing, dude.
The key witness is missing.
We have a key witness missing and just my pal.
My pal from down the street is the judge.
Oh, my God.
Good God.
Dave, we are in the midst of playoff action in the NHL right now.
We've got the Stanley Cup finals going on,
which means we've got to talk about bet MGM.
Sure.
You can be betting.
on the NBA finals, you could be betting on champions.
Bet NGM has you covered on all that stuff.
So sprinkle anything you want.
But right now we're talking about the NHL hat trick jackpot.
We love getting in on that anytime goal score or action.
You know that feeling.
When you pick someone to tuck a goal, they get on the scoreboard,
ka-ching, beautiful moments.
But if they score again and again and again, maybe even more than three,
and they get that hat-trick, that means you were entered in a pot to win $10,000.
Because that is how the hat-trick jackpot works.
you've got to get in on this.
Listen, Connor McDavid and Leon Drysoddor are buzzing.
You know that they probably have a hat trick up their sleeve.
You know that.
We've already seen Miko Randen do it.
It's unbelievable.
All of these guys are knocking on the door.
We feel like one's coming.
So get in on that.
Make sure you pick an anytime goal score and see if they get that hat trick
and then you get put into that jackpot because we need it.
And if you sign up right now with code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
you're also going to get up to $1,500 in bonus bets.
You can bet up to $1,500.
And if you lose, you get it all back right into your account.
Who's taking care of you like that?
Let me check.
Hello?
Yeah.
Oh, is it no one?
Yeah, it's no one.
It's only but MGM because bet MGM is the best.
All right.
All right, let's get into some hockey talk.
Before we get into the two series, we'll be covering caps, Keynes, Vegas oilers.
We got a new GM in L.A.
Yes.
In the city we live in, new GM, Ken Holland.
Ken Holland has been hired as the new.
King's GM for those who are unaware, Ken Holland, 69-year-old former player, goaltender.
Goaltender.
GM for a long time of the Detroit Red Wings, I believe something like, I look this up,
but I believe it was like almost 20, or excuse me, not 20.
It was like 14 years, but I believe hired in 1997 or something like that.
He won four Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings.
He was hired in.
One as an assistant GM, three as the GM.
He was then hired as the GM and president of hockey ops for the Edmonton Oilers,
and he was with them up until last year when they lost the Stanley Cup in game seven.
He and the Oilers then agreed to mutually part ways.
And now, after just one season off from his duties, he has been hired by the Los Angeles Kings.
Fun little fact was the GM, I believe, or not I believe, GM of the Red Wings when they signed Luke Robatai,
and Luke Robitai won a Stanley Cup.
Cool.
only as a player, but has a good relationship with Luke Robatai.
I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing.
Yeah.
Quick thoughts on this.
I hate the old boys club.
That's it.
Oh, okay.
That's really all I have to say.
Well, I would say this.
The names that were getting kicked around were also that.
Yeah.
So, you know, it's not like they were interviewing a ton of young guys and innovative guys.
So it was always going to be that.
Mike Fuda was the one I was really excited about,
just because I thought that would be cool.
And he had that tweet like a week ago
that somebody was like,
you're very comfortable in your life where you are,
but we'd love you back here.
And he replied to the tweet
and said, I would come back in a heartbeat.
And I was like, that would be sick.
Yeah, cool.
So whatever, it was always going to be that.
I think the one hiccup on,
if it was going to be Ken,
was the reports where he was looking for something
where he'd be,
hold the title of president of hockey operations too.
He didn't want to be just the GM.
And here he, he,
is certainly going to be that because Luke is here, but I'm thinking the relationship with
Luke is the reason he knocked that requirement off his checklist. So that's a win. But for me, Dan,
the win is simple. If you can't beat them, join them. This is a no-brainer hire for me
where you go, hey, dude, the team that you have been the GM of, where you've gone, you finished
second in the Pacific ahead of us every year that you've been there, which they didn't this year,
was gone. You finished second to the Pacific ahead of us every year and then whacked us out of
the playoffs every year. You've been to two Western Conference finals. The roster that you built is more
effective than the roster that we built and you know exactly how to maybe attack that roster
too. So come on down. Yeah, I wonder if he has a vendetta against the Oilers. Do you?
Yeah, I don't wonder. I know. Think so. Oh yeah. Hates him. Whenever someone mutually agrees to
part ways, I'm like, so you got fired. Yeah, show me two people. Dude, show me some, two people that
mutually agreed to part ways and I will show you two people that hate each.
I will show you a scorned lover.
Yeah.
For sure.
I think that that's probably the case.
So maybe that's nice.
Again, I am an agist for sure, like Wags.
Yeah.
That's what people do.
They die according to Wags.
And me.
I can't believe people are getting hired at 70.
Yeah.
I can't believe it.
They've seen the world, though.
They've seen the ways of the hockey world.
And they're set in their ways.
Yeah, true.
That's a good point.
I just, I don't know, man.
I'm not, I'm not into it.
I'm not into the 70-year-old hires.
Well, get into it because this is what we're looking at.
And I like it if its entire purpose on Earth was to beat the oilers, which it is.
You know where I want my-
This isn't even to be it about beating the-counter.
Hold on.
Starter at a golf course.
Fantastic.
Yep, great.
Home Depot, part-time.
Fantastic.
That was my next one.
home improvement section of a Lowe's or a Home Depot.
Yep.
I want that.
I want Greeter at a Costco.
Yeah.
I want the starter at a golf course.
And I want as the owner of a restaurant who started it from the ground up and they've
been in business for 45 years and it's incredibly successful and he can't leave because
this is his family now.
Yeah.
That's great.
That is where I want my 70-year-olds working.
I don't want my 70-year-olds in office.
Any office.
I agree.
I certainly don't want them as president,
and I certainly don't want them as...
As president of hockey office.
Yeah, and I mean that, that's not a shot at anyone.
If you're 70, you're too old for me.
I don't be presidents of stuff like hockey operations.
Stop it.
I love to.
I support this.
I support this.
I just don't need it.
I don't need olds as GMs.
because I don't believe that you can properly assess what's going on.
It's about beating the oilers.
That's all that matters.
I think that's exactly right.
I think it's truly a, I need to dead this team.
Okay.
Let's get into the Caps Cains.
We had game four.
Caps Cains in Raleigh, crazy crowd, crazy barn.
Cains up to one, go into this game,
and what did we say?
We talked about it on the live this morning.
You picked the canes correctly.
I picked in this game.
In this game.
You called it this morning.
You said you thought the canes were going to win.
I said they scared me more, but I was like, I want to too.
Yeah, but you said, you were like, I think the canes are going to win.
You did say that.
Did I?
Correct.
Yeah.
You totally did.
Got them dialed.
So we get this game.
We said Washington needs to come out.
They need to be way different than how they played in, frankly, all three of these games.
And they came out flat.
Well, they came out great for six minutes.
I'm going to call that flat.
The majority of the first period, you were not good.
Yeah, agree.
But they came out like fucking bad out of hell, actually.
It was crazy.
Even Rod's interview, he was even like, he was like, Jesus, that was insane.
We had to weather that.
And then there was one bad shift.
He was like literally one shift switched the whole game.
Sure.
At the same time, though, that seven-minute flurry looked like nap time at a fucking preschool
compared to literally any minute in the Vegas Oilers game.
Yeah.
So Rod saying like, oh, we had to weather that storm.
I'm like, dude, that was a fucking flurry.
Yeah.
It was barely anything.
Calm down.
And I think Caps, players and fans would admit this.
Here we are again.
You have 21 shots on net.
Just a very, very flaccid performance from the Washington Capitals.
And I'm shocked.
I'm here to say, I'm shocked.
And also, Cain's fans, before you start freaking out and going,
why is it always the Caps played poorly
and the Cains didn't play great?
It's not what I'm saying at all.
The Cains played fantastic in this game.
But I think Caps also played poorly.
I think both can be true.
Yeah, no, little of both.
And we've been seeing a lot of that in this series.
Yeah.
Got a couple questions about watching this.
And I wrote one of them before the Power Play goal.
And I would say one of the positives,
if you're trying to silver lining this as a Caps fan,
is you got a power play goal
and Ovi got a power play goal
and you haven't been able to break through
either of those barriers
so maybe, maybe that unlocks
something moving forward.
Maybe you can cling to that.
But I wanted to
ask you what is going on
with Ovi?
There's been so much chatter about his minutes
and I pulled it up.
It's not as crazy as you'd think
because this year,
this regular season he averaged 1743
per game
which is almost
last year was 19.
1313 and he's pretty much been over 20 every year of his career.
So he had much less time per game this year.
And then in playoffs, he's down to 1611 from 1743.
So a minute and a half down from regular season.
But it's, you know, yeah, he's not out there when they're up late.
Who gives a fuck?
Who gives a rats, dude?
Basically, I don't think that's the issue.
For me, what worries me is there's a nervousness to him almost.
I've seen a couple plays where he's like taking crazy shots that missed
the net so badly and then he's so frustrated looking up with this guy that um on ice guys today
we're being like ovi is so vocal on the bench muttering to himself asking for the iPad to see plays
again and I'm like what's going on dude like you you're fine you've been here before you're a veteran
you're a seasoned vet in this league scored more goals than anyone to ever fucking live take a take a
breath with me do take a deep breath with me I think that's all he needs I think personally
We always say playoffs are different.
NHL playoffs are different.
They're certainly more different than any of the major sports compared to regular season.
Ovi deserves every shred of praise that he's got all season long
and that he has received his entire career.
Do you remember a time we are Celtics fans,
pour one out for the the absolute dog shit pathetic idiot moron Celtics so we're not going to talk
about that so embarrassing absolutely humiliating you're it's pathetic but there was a time when the uh
the Celtics big three of kg pierce and ray allen were falling apart ray allen had already
judiced himself yeah but kevin garnett was seen on the court getting beat down low and looking
down at his own legs and punching himself in the legs as he ran up court. And a bunch of people
were like, oh, it looks like Kevin Garnett might have a cramp. And what we knew to be true in the
moment at what he later admitted on a podcast, that was him literally looking at his legs and going,
you can't move as fast as my mind. Yep. My body is breaking down. Osh said to us once,
oh, is going to do whatever O wants to do. And I do think that's true to an extent. In my opinion,
this is a 39-year-old man who broke his leg this season
and was completely focused on remaining as dominant as possible
so he could break Wayne Gretzky's record and he did so
and I think he's a little tired.
Yep.
It needs a nap.
It's not that.
I think it's beyond that.
I think he's like, dude, the guy's fucking 39.
Yeah, and he's getting pushed him out.
He broke his leg this year.
They're hitting him.
They're hitting him.
And they're hitting him.
He's hitting back.
I think he looks visibly frustrated on the ice.
And I think he is like, I don't think father time has come for Ovi at all.
So everyone calm down.
It's not what I'm saying.
But I do think he's like, fuck me, dude.
I am like, this is a grind right now.
But to your point, what's wrong with him?
I do think he's in his head more than I've ever seen.
This is not the guy.
The guy who's got a fucking subway foot long and a bag of flaming hot Cheetos
getting on the bus with the biggest smile on his face is not a guy that's
muttering to himself and looking at the iPad between
place. I've never seen an Ovi that's
worried about that bullshit.
But maybe that's a result of
for the first time in his life, really, he's
felt like, wait, who is
who's skating behind me, grabbing my jersey
slowing me down? Yeah. I've got news for you.
It's death. It's father time.
Dude, it's the grim reaper. Yeah. And he
will slash you to death
on the ice in front of families
watching because he don't care.
Is there a chance, Dan, the cat,
because all we've been saying is the caps
we need the OV scoring, we need some of these top end guys to go.
And because of that, and because of the way they won game too,
there's been a lot of Tom Wilson love.
Is there a chance the Caps ask too much of Tom Wilson?
Definitely, and this actually leads into a question I had for you.
I think they might ask too much of Tom Wilson,
but I think the bigger question is,
and I'm going to flip a question that's been asked of the Carolina
hurricanes over and over, do the caps not have a superstar?
Because I'll tell you what, dude, people forget this.
I believe it was the caps when it was all said and done, only team in the NHL to not have
a single representative at four nations.
Yeah, I think that's right.
They were certainly, they may not be the only one, but they were one of two or three teams.
Yeah, at most.
I think it was like when it was all said and done because I do, I think there was people got
pulled up, a couple others and yeah, people got pulled.
hold in. It's a really interesting one. I would say that Alex Ovechkin certainly still feels like one
from a stature-wise. Yes. And I think a ton of people would be like, are you fucking kidding me? Look how many
goals he scored this year. That's what I was going to say next. He's way up there in like literally
top something in the league this year in goals, which the canes, for example, don't have. And that was a
factor.
But it's a really good question, especially because this cap team, which I know the
stats been thrown around a lot.
Yeah, Ovi was third in the league in goals.
He had 44 goals and he had 73 points in 65 games.
Yeah, like that, I think you would have to be like he is a superstar.
Yeah.
But he, I think my point is he's not what we, he's certainly not what he used to be, but
he's just, let's be honest.
It's okay to admit.
Like, yeah, he's not, you know, he's really.
not that anymore.
He's not as explosive.
He's not as quick.
And some of these guys
who had great years,
and aren't even playing bad with Michael,
Brodust, they're playing well,
but it's just kind of your first dabble in this
where you're like, here you go.
And the caps have had a weird run
since that cop.
The stats have been rammed down your throat,
but they haven't got out of the first fucking round
since then.
Correct.
And now it got pummeled last year.
They missed playoffs, got pummeled last year,
and they had a great real season,
so they beat the Canadian's,
Now I'm like, oh, God.
So there's questions being asked about the, who's putting you on your back, on their back.
And I do think that here's something for you.
Here's something to put in your mouth and swish it around.
This season, Capp's best forward, Alexander Ovechkin, 39 years old.
More likely than not, you could make the case for Chikrin, but Capp's best defenseman, probably John Carlson.
Yeah.
motherfucker had 51 points this year,
35 years old.
Like, they're kind of Los Angeles Kingsing.
Yeah, there was a funny article on ESPAR.
And Duy, like, they're just older.
And you get into the first second round of playoffs after a full season,
another great comp with Dewey breaking his fucking ankle.
Like, these guys having massive injuries,
you're asking a lot of these older guys.
And yeah, I think when you look at a 39-year-old Ovi,
44 goals this year breaking Gretzky's record or not and going, fuck man, we need goals.
It's got to be you.
That's a little bit like, fuck off, dude.
Let Obie do what Ovi's going to do.
You guys had this season of an awakening of Willie of McMichael, of Protas, of PL, and everyone's
pretty quiet.
So yeah, fuck yeah.
I think you're like, help the old man out.
Yeah, dude, it's elder abuse.
Tom Wilson, we talked about this on the live show today, 33, 32, the show.
year, which is the best year of his career, and he's having an awesome season, but he must be so
exhausted because. Will he? Yes, because he has to go, and that people are going to tiny violin me
right now, but you got to be doing this, you've got to be on. You got to be, you can't show up
to the studio in a bad move. You got to go, I'm talking about the thing I love, but you got to
entertain, and then you got a live show in the morning, and then you got bingo in the afternoon,
and that, you know, it just, you got to show up, keep showing up, keep showing up,
to the point that sometimes I'll get home just exhausted mentally, not even physically.
I'll sewer myself here, tell the listeners little insight into our life,
sometimes we'll get home, and I'll just find myself yelling at you for nothing.
For nothing.
You've done nothing wrong.
Or not yelling, but just like snipping at you.
Well, well, I'm being the larger man here.
Shut the fuck up.
But I'll be snipping at you, and it's just because we're,
we've just been doing this shit all day fucking long.
Yep.
And sometimes I want to go home and just not,
I don't want to talk to you.
I don't want to talk about the next thing.
I just want to sit there for two fucking seconds.
Don't make me make a decision for once.
So I think that's what Tom Wilson deals with
because I think he gets to the rink.
And they go, hey, Tom, go fight that guy.
And he goes, okay.
And then they go, also score.
And he goes, okay.
And then they go, hey, hit that guy.
No, and they go, make fun of the storm surge.
Do something really funny.
So he does the crowd of the Canadians.
And then he storm surge.
stall today and he's just he's a he's a rodeo clown yeah they're literally like you need to do
your dance every second of every day and then also kill penalties and score and then yeah and then the
announcers are like they would love to get willie going and i'm like will he's the only one going
will he just tap danced at center ice for 20 minutes to earn money to pay uh protest his extension
give him a fucking break it's outrageous he also and he's and i don't know if he's that and i mean
this lovingly because he's a 65 point guy now officially but i don't know if he's that
that, that good?
Like, they're being like, dude, you're a hundred point guy.
And I'm like, no, he isn't, dude.
That's not his skill set.
He's not the guy that needs to go out and get that clutch goal.
And, you know, I'm the biggest Tom Wilson guy on,
other than diehard caps fans.
I genuinely, I'm not sure you'll find a bigger Tom Wilson fan than me.
I found the Storm Surge insult when losing two nothing in a game
where you guys are down to one in the series, about to be down three one.
I was like, whoa, Tom, hold on.
Stop, stop, stop, stop.
I also find sometimes, CP, this team has a lack of get under your skin guys.
Good caps.
Yes, other than him.
And it's very interesting because you look at Florida.
I mean, we literally did it today.
You talk about Sam Bennett.
You talk about Brad Marchand.
You talk about Tom Wilson.
We did that on the live this morning.
Sam Bennett and Brad Marchion are on the same.
team. And they're also on a team with Matthew Kuchuk, with Aaron Ekblad, with Nico Mik,
all guys who will do that. I don't really, you know, obviously everyone in the NHL to an extent
mixes it up, but there's no one on this Caps team that I think about and I'm like, oh yeah,
and they will also, when Tom's stirring shit up, they're right next to him. Yeah.
There's obviously, like Dowd will get in there for sure. Yeah. But I don't think about him as a guy
who's going to press you off. So he's also doing that, add that to his to do list. It's crazy.
It's brutal.
It's game day checklist. Outrageous.
Is Seth Jarvis got moved up to first line tonight?
Hear me out here, because this is crazy what I'm about to say.
He might be the most underrated player in terms of, because he's not, I understand that he's not,
no one thinks he's bad.
But it's so weird the perception of him, even within the teams he gets on.
For example, in Carolina, deep team for sure, but running a lot of third line minutes,
gets named to Team Canada, which is an honor because there's fucking 20 guys taken and that's Canada.
And he makes a joke to us when he gets picked.
Well, you know, every team needs a water bottle guy.
And I'm like, oh, yeah, well, ha ha ha.
But then he gets out there and he got...
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use MEDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your mobile.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Draft design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing.
Do that, do that, do that with acrobat.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with acrobat.
That's one of the games.
That's bullshit.
And I'm like, isn't he our best guy?
And he gets up here on first line.
and is fucking everywhere.
And when their power play struggled in these playoffs,
he now runs the fucking umbrella point
and QB's the power play,
and he's killing all their penalties.
He is constantly looked at as a middle six guy that's,
oh man, you got Seth Jarvis in the middle six.
That's huge.
What a luxury.
And we have been, since pre-Fournations,
we have been like, well, he's a first line guy.
I don't know why everyone keeps making this mistake.
Now, I understand it in Carolina because of who Rod is,
And that's not a knock on Rod, but
Seth has been very vocal about being like,
I mean, obviously, I am not Rod Brindamore's prototypical player.
I'm always, you know, fucking around, making jokes,
lighthearted guy.
Rob's pretty by the book.
He's a defensive guy.
It's why Nate just didn't love playing for him.
A guy like Gensel was like, I don't know if this is the future for me.
The fact that Jarvie just continues to do it despite,
Rob's style is pretty awesome.
Yeah.
And I think, and he said this at Four Nations, he is very much a Marchand, like an early
Bruins career, where Marshan was like, yeah, I'm an undersized guy, and I came out of nowhere
for people, but I'm actually going to be a 100 point guy.
That is Seth Jarvis to me.
Yeah.
And when we talk about it with him all the time, Road to 40, Road to 50.
Like, that is in the future.
Seth Jarvis is a star.
And it is funny how every time they put him on the first.
line. They're like, Jarvis, big game. Big game, big game from Jarvie. Yeah, no shit.
Oh, here's an idea. Put our best players up there. It was like Team USA at Four Nations when they
were like, well, we're trying to build a roster. And I was like, or, or put the good guys out
all the time. That would be sick. So here's a question for you. I know it's early to say this
because I might be getting too horny because this series ain't over. And this, this cap team is
great. They could easily have a bounce back game. But did this game do enough for you to
eliminate the doubts of old from the Carolina hurricanes?
Um, no.
But I do think this was a great step and a bad outcome for Washington, where you go, well,
they got their split in D.C., but it doesn't matter.
Oh, Cains can't lose at home, blah, blah, blah, we're going to be fine.
We're going to come out different, like you keep saying.
We're going to come out different.
We're going to look different, better starts.
And then they did kind of have D.C.
it starts for the first period and then half the first period, but it didn't matter.
You didn't score.
And then you kind of got popped twice.
And now I'm like, how do you win now?
How could you possibly feel like you can come back here and win?
So I think this went, this is not good.
This went badly if you're a DC, if you're connected to DC at all.
So the Keynes did their job, absolutely.
But I'm not sure I'm willing to go much past that yet.
Okay.
And I'm like, yeah, yeah.
And I'm like, great job.
That was what you had to do or what you wanted to do.
And you did it.
And they haven't always done that in the past, but I'm not, they didn't change my opinion,
leaps and bounds.
I think they might have for me.
We obviously, you know, we said it leading into the series.
We were like, this Kane's team, I feel much more confident about this game team
than I did last year.
And we saw that devil series ended in five.
Caps, Habs ended in five.
So this was a coming together of
are both these teams nasty
or did they play a team that wasn't that great?
Are
you know, are they both kind of weak in areas
this and that, whatever, whatever?
The biggest question was definitely Freddie Iceberg.
He's the best,
probably the best goalie in the playoffs right now.
Not probably. It's insane.
Must be a certainty at this point.
And I think the most noticeable thing
about this fucking team for me,
they're sons of bitches,
man. Everyone keeps calling it boring.
I said it on the live this morning.
Get the fuck out of here. They're just
annoying. They're annoying to play against
and they're making it look boring.
When you have the defense that they have, when you have
Gostasperer, in my opinion,
coming alive in Carolina.
You have so many of their young guys playing
so fucking well. You have the
Allfather. Jacob Slavin.
I think it sucks
ass playing against this team.
Not because they're doing
some shitty neutral zone trap.
Not because they play a slow, boring form of hockey.
I think they isolate what you do well, and they eviscerate it.
And I think that may look boring on TV, but they're like,
yon all you fucking want, bitch, we've lost two fucking games in these playoffs.
Suck my dick from the back.
They're relentless, man.
And I was watching today, their D is, maybe it's as simple as this.
It can't be.
But maybe it's as simple as this.
their gap is epic,
dude.
Their D is skating forward,
smothering all game.
And they're activating in the playoffensively,
but also they're just,
they're not afraid at all of getting beat,
which is a thing in playoffs,
especially when you're a slower team,
but when in playoffs,
sometimes you're every one of those loose pucks
in the neutral zone,
your knee jerk is just go back,
go back.
Because I don't want to pinch wrong,
and then it's by me for a two-on-one,
which ends up,
creating more space for the opposing offense.
Because you're just backing up and they're taking space, taking space,
stopping you're not closing out hard enough.
Trailers are getting hit.
Okay, all hell's breaking loose.
The Keynes D just goes forward, going ballistic all the time.
And it's part of the reason that the caps have five fucking shots a game.
Absolutely.
That, you know, we do, how many times have we said,
get more fucking shots?
They're trying.
But you also look at their D pairings.
You got Slaving and Burns.
you've got Orlov and Chatfield, you've got Ghost and Walker.
And it's such, they have the Macar Taves balance on every single pairing.
See the poise on Walker.
You have an insane, also, first career playoff goal.
Yeah, sick.
Stick taps for us.
Shut up, Dennis, dude.
Dennis said he was, that's his guy.
Remember, I was like, Jack Drew has gone, who's your guy?
Love Sean Walker.
But the balance there is a huge reason.
I think why they feel comfortable stepping up like that.
It's fucking nasty, man.
Like this, again, the question I just asked you,
I think every year people get too horny for the canes when they beat someone and they, you know,
they're one one away from the conference final again.
And, you know, we've seen what happened in the past with that.
But I don't know.
There's nothing about these wins that makes me think, as I said earlier, all the other teams just playing like shit.
Yeah.
And they haven't really played anyone yet.
I think this Caps team is great.
and they looked so frustrated tonight.
So frustrated.
Absolutely.
I mean, you had guys throwing fucking tantrums out there.
I know.
That's what I'm saying.
It's falling.
It's,
they're not,
they haven't been able to dictate a game
literally once in this series.
Teams always talk about trying to play their game.
I want them to play the way we want to play.
The Caps have played every single game in this series
exactly how the Carolina Hurricanes want to play.
Yes.
They have not surpassed 30 goals in a,
30 shots.
That would be sick.
They have not surpassed 30 games.
30 shots in a single game.
And they barely even whiffed it.
They barely whiffed 20.
It's fucking crazy.
Taylor Hall had a nice breakaway tuck today.
And I felt bad because LT, the second one again, that went in.
Yeah, he hated that one.
He hated it.
He was fighting it off.
He missed in his glove.
It hit the bar.
Hated it.
And then, actually, was that Jarvis or no?
Yes.
That was Jarvis.
JARVie had that put on.
Whichever one that was, I don't know if it was that one or not.
I thought Jarvis went behind him or whatever.
But anyway, so I was like, oh, God, because I didn't want it to slip,
and now he's playing bad, and that felt like their weapon.
And I thought he really dialed in for a long stretch after that.
Yes, he did.
Keep it at that number.
That's the thing is, you know, they eventually got a lot of goals, but they had fucking 37 shots.
Right, right, right, yeah.
This is a bad game for LT.
He had an 8, 8, 9, save percentage.
It's, you know, it's, he is not going, that's one of the worst games I've ever played.
Correct.
But that was a bad game per his standards.
So I felt this way multiple times in the series.
He must be furious with his team.
Pissed.
So I was laughing because they make caps finally get on the board.
Sick pass.
Chickren, unbelievable year and playoff.
Chickren backdoor, top 2-1.
And you're like, oh, maybe.
And then Taylor Hall gets that great pass, stretch, pass, breakaway, snipe.
Taylor Hall, and I think that was only his second goal.
in the playoffs, to be fair.
But he's always been a good playoff performer,
and he's had a good playoff,
even if it's not statistically as much
as I maybe thought he would get to, still young.
Taylor Hall might be the most slept-on,
forgotten part of this Rantanan saga.
Everybody's talking about the Rantan saga
and what it did to Colorado
and the Stank Man being,
well, that's the guy they got back from Dallas.
Carolina moved on from Rantan,
and they get Stank back, and he's contributing,
so they got something and blah, blah, blah.
the Taylor Hall ending up on Carolina in the first place via Chicago with the third team salary dump
is hilarious to me because I'm like, oh yeah, they also got Taylor Hall through all that.
And he could be a huge difference maker.
Man, how many times have we said playoff hall?
Yeah.
Playoff Halsey is definitely a huge thing.
And what a perfect team for playoff Halsey.
Because I think about him on the Bruins.
and obviously Chicago was a fucking...
Actually, that's a good example
for what I was about to say.
Him on the Bruins was almost like
he was asked too much to do too much.
He was like, you're a second line guy
and you need to be a massive piece of this.
He had one great year,
and then after that it was kind of like,
but every playoffs, really solid.
This team, it was kind of like,
just chill, dude.
You'll be a third line guy.
If you fucking score some goals,
he scores some goals.
Where I need you to come alive
is the playoffs.
And he goes, good news for you.
I do that.
every fucking year.
Yeah.
What a significant boost.
Crazy.
Huge.
Like, that,
that will go,
when this rant and saga,
I actually,
I,
part of me just wants to see Dallas
Kane so badly now to just sort this out
so we can have all the,
I'm a data guy,
Dan.
Yeah.
I cannot make bricks without clay.
Give me the data.
And I just want that matchup to happen
so we can sort this all out.
But that,
when this is all said and done,
that will be a really,
funny wrinkle in this whole thing.
No doubt about it.
Do you have this still going seven?
Or do you think that...
No.
Johnny, like, okay, so
caps are dead.
According to you.
I think if you made me
re-pick right now, I would say
Keynes in six, if you made me repick right now.
I think the caps can win at home.
I think they will win. In fact, I'll be picking them
in game five. I just think,
Carolina, if Freddy's still-
I don't think you lose three straight games.
I mean, if it goes seven, you're, you're shitting, if you're the Canes.
But if Freddy's still playing great, and you're still getting Team D.
I wanted to say that too, because I'm so on board with this iceberg train,
but it's really a credit to the whole team structure.
Because Freddy's playing great and he's made a few awesome saves, but for the most part,
he's not seeing much. They can't get anything going.
So if that's still happening, they will not lose three straight games.
the Cains are still getting 20 shots a night and Freddie's seeing it.
That's what I was about to say.
This team will not lose three straight games.
So I do not want this to happen.
I want this to go seven.
I think I said a number of times I thought this series was going to be sneaky, so nasty.
And it has been in ways.
I know people are saying it's boring, but I think I am declaring the Capitol's dead.
Yeah.
Crushing.
I don't know.
I don't know.
All right, quick pause, quick timeout from the game.
Let's talk about Hewle for a second.
You guys know that I am a health freak.
You know that I take my nutrition,
workouts and all that craziness very, very seriously,
because listen, I want to live.
I want to live forever.
The scientists say that the first human being to be born
who's going to live to 150 has already been born.
I believe that person is me.
And I think that things like Hewle are going to help me do that.
Listen, I'm not saying this is a magic powder.
Calm down, calm down.
But when you are on the go, like us,
when you are constantly buzzing around,
you're working multiple jobs, you're traveling from city to city, and you really want a delicious
product that's going to get you enough protein, enough vitamins and minerals, and take care of you
while also tasting good. That is when you need products like Hewle. Hewle is hooking you up in ways
that you could never believe. They have these unbelievable meal replacements. They have all of these
beverages, so many different products that are going to get you everything that your body needs.
Let's read some of these specs, guys. Let's talk about this. Hewle is giving you one bottle with
35 grams of protein, 27 vitamins and minerals, high fiber and low sugar. That's going to fill you up,
make you feel energized all day long, and like I said, it tastes good. These are making sure you
hit all those macros, take care of everything that's important to you, while also satisfying
you with every single product that they have. That is a massive, massive win. If you go to
huell.com slash netters right now, use that promo code. You're going to save 15% on your order,
and you're going to get a free gift.
This stuff is truly delicious, guys.
I love using this stuff because, like I said, we're constantly buzzing around.
We're at the office all the time.
Sometimes we don't have time to go get a lunch.
Sometimes we don't have time to cook and bring it in.
And what I want to know is that I'm using a product that's going to get me all of the things I need.
I'm protein counting all the time.
So many of these products, yeah, sure.
Maybe I can eat a bar.
Maybe I can drink one of these ready to drink protein shakes.
And they might get me 20, 25 grams of protein.
but they're also packed with sugars.
They have 230 plus calories of stuff that I don't need,
and they're not getting me any of those vitamins.
They've got these great vitamins.
They've got vitamin B to keep you healthy, keep that immune system strong as an ox.
You know that that's what we need.
Give Hewell a shot because, like I said,
they're making sure you check every box while also tasting good,
giving you a good time, making you feel good while you do it.
So again, huel.com slash netters.
You're going to save that 15%.
Get that free gift, and you're also going to be.
be fueled up with fuel. You know what I'm sick of? Feeling wrong for wanting contradictory things,
because life is about contradiction, and that is why I have an incredible product I want to tell you
all about right now, and that is light strike. Okay, listen, it's an alcoholic beverage,
but it's not like an alcoholic beverage you have seen before, okay? This is not the bad booze.
This is the good booze. Dan and I are on an active lifestyle all the time. We're on the road,
chasing the cup playing hockey half the time. We're all over the place. All right. And I want to be able
to have a few pops with some friends, but then also be able to be putting something in my body that I'm not
that mad about. And that's where light strike comes in. It's a perfect combination of coconut water,
sea salt, and 5% ABV. That's like McDavid, McDaniel and Kutcheroff all on one line stuffed into one
bottle. And that bottle is the exact type of thing I want to bring to my beer league games and pop it in the
cooler for when we're done. Can you imagine playing at three, three running time, three 20 minute running
time, but a nice hour-long game where I'm working hard on a Wednesday night and I get back
into the locker room, take a shower that's way too cold and I'm miserable. But then I come back
into the cooler and sitting in there on ice is a bunch of bottles of light strike for us and the boys
to get after. That is exactly what I'm talking about and where this beverage comes in in a way like
you've never seen. They've got two flavors right now, lemon lime and orange mango. I
I love the orange mango, okay?
It's amazing.
We're flying around this hockey community, playing games,
staying up late, watching games.
We're having fun, and we want to have fun,
but we want to feel good about how we're treating our body.
And that is where Light Strike comes in.
I want you to give it a try right now
because this puppy is a game changer.
Moving on to the next series of the night,
and I need to do something real quick.
Just needed to quickly for those listening.
I'm closing my eyes.
And I'm mentally...
Yep.
Getting in Edmonton.
Yep.
Because that's where we are going straight to.
Yep.
And the Edmonton Oilers...
I said this probably after game two.
We said this after game two.
Get your passports ready.
Straight to the Stanley Cup final.
Straight to it.
Even though eventually I don't have to apologize anymore,
but I'll apologize for the third...
This is the third instance of me apologizing.
because I said Vegas in five
and the oilers are shit kicking them
and I do want to say this
Laz asked on the show
the live we did this morning that video's up
if you hadn't seen it it's about all the weekend games
go watch it right now it's a pod
that pod from the live this morning
Laz said most inconsistent team
you correctly said Winnipeg
because of the hell of buck on the road is
the definition of Jekyll and Hyde.
But I said honorable mention this Vegas
team because they will just suck.
inexplicably suck.
And here comes the same
thing you just pitched about last year is where they're like,
why can't you ever say our team plays good?
Why is it always the other team sucked?
And I'm like, because that was a horrible hockey game
from Vegas when they have the ability to not do that.
If you are an Oilers fan trying to act like this was a great
hockey game that you played so well in and you played well. But this was horrible from Vegas.
They were ass cheeks. And I actually meant to start the segment like this, so I'm going to
pretend this is the beginning. Stuart Skinner Legacy game. Legacy game. I am legitimately,
legitimately pumped for him because the mental fortitude thoughts that must have been going through his head,
All playoffs leading up to this game.
This, a bad loss in this game.
Oh, that could have been the type of thing that sends a man on a spiral that he never returns from.
And then he pitches a shutout.
He's a shutout.
Incredible.
I wonder if he's had a playoff shot out.
I'm going to look that up right now.
He must have.
I can't believe, as you look that up, I cannot fathom.
I know you're in Rogers Place.
I know it's hard to play up there, but you just got a massive win.
people talk about momentum game to game not really being a thing
Jack Eichael actually said that he was like I don't believe momentum goes from game to game
yeah yeah actually I don't know what I thought about that way I think he's so right dude
it's so fucking stupid I think there's a difference if if you are down 03
and then you storm back and force a game 7 like Edmonton did last year
then I think there is a little bit of like oh my god yeah but just like game to game dude
give me a break one one bounce one hot shift and it changes everything you get the first
goal everything's fucking different yep
You know that that's true.
But going into this game, and if you're Vegas with Skinner in that,
I feel like you've got to be like, dude, go in there and fucking firing.
Firing range of this guy, getting his head early.
We're going to score five goals.
You come out and get dog walked in this period.
Absolutely tallywacked by the Oilers, 15 shots to five.
Just a complete and utter shit kicking.
And Vegas, you didn't look like you were in it for a fucking sex.
second. Truly a fucking second. It was two to nothing. And I went, pack your fucking bags,
folks. Get a good night's rest. Turn off the game. Bye-bye. This is over. See you in Vegas on
fucking Wednesday because this game is finito. Finito. And I was 100% right. A bunch of people
tried to be like, oh, a nice reverse jinx. I'm like, I picked the oilers in this series.
And also, you think I have the power to jinx anything? I'm just sitting here watching a game
and I went, this was over before it fucking started.
Which it was.
Stuart Skinner had a shout out last year in the playoffs.
Great job.
This is also just so funny.
Two years ago, Skinner, 883-368.
Last year, 901, 245.
This year, 817536 coming into tonight.
And it says, this is on hockey reference.
There's a stat.
You know, they have like a million balls of stuff.
There's a stat that says RBS.
And I was like, what is that?
And I put my mouse over it.
And it says, really bad starts.
So last year, in 23,
games, Stewart's Skinner, six, RBS.
This year, this doesn't have
tonight's game in yet. This year, three starts,
three RBS. That's like,
tough. It's a year. But
legacy game, shut out, unbelievable
stuff from the kid. I'm really fired
up for him. Vegas, Dan,
is... Well, can we talk real quick
about just a couple more things about
Edmonton? Yeah. Two goals
from Adam Henrique, one goal from
Evander Cain. Only one assess from
Connor McDavid in this game.
Keep on going.
Keep on fucking trucking this team.
And I also want to say, Evander Kane, so many people were like, I wonder, I mean,
when he comes back, I wonder what his situation is going to be.
I think last year, someone pulled out a stat.
He had four goals, three or four goals.
I think it was four.
Last year in 20 games or so in the playoffs.
He has four goals in these playoffs already.
And also, just a quick shout out to him.
After the game in his post game on TNT, someone asked, like, what was different about this game?
And he goes, well, I rolled up in a Ferrari for game of three.
that didn't work, so I wanted to go back to the rolls.
That is a nails quote from a guy who's declared bankruptcy in his life.
Like, this guy is the epitome of a pro athlete who goes, I don't give a fuck about anything.
I'm just going to live a rock star lifestyle.
That's awesome.
That's so awesome.
The Aiden Hill situation is, I'm in a pretzel about it.
we have so many people in the live being like Hill's not even good.
It's insane.
But he does have good numbers.
And they have been a,
and he won a cup,
and they've been a very good regular season team with him in the net.
So I just don't know because the Kane one,
the Kane goal,
the third goal tonight is another very bad goal.
Yeah,
that goal can not go in.
That is a literal wrist shot that is from far away.
That can't go in.
But he stopped three breakaways in this.
game when it was still close.
So goalie's such a tough position because you...
It's a good call by you.
These are big time stops too.
You only remember the shit ones.
And then you go, we lost because of that one shit one.
And I'm like, we may, you should have lost six nothing if he hadn't been on his game early.
So that's tough.
Here's where I'm starting to, here's where I've lost faith.
Vegas, he, early in the game, they had already scored.
But that Henrique one was just a fucking dog shit turnover behind the net.
And actually a sick shot from Henrique, nothing Hill can do about that one at all.
So it's kind of like,
Whatever, just bounce back, bad play.
We'll get it back.
Right after that, he shoved someone to the ground after a whistle.
Hill did.
And I was like, oh, a little Tim Thomas action here.
And I liked it.
And then he got so chippy.
He actually, he tripped, I think it was Yanmark.
He kind of tripped Yanmark.
And then Yanmark re-tripped him back and he fell and that big fight.
He got a penalty for it.
Yeah.
But in Pangor says it on the broadcast,
Hill's the one who gravest.
Instigated contact for sure.
And then later on the second head.
Henry goal.
Kane gets like knocked up onto him.
The puck's in the back of the net and he'll jumps up and is like throwing blockers into
Kane's face.
And I was kind of like, dude, calm down.
And and stop the puck.
Like I don't need you to fight all the Oilers team.
And maybe Tim Thomas is shenanigans only work because he was pitching Vezna level,
Khan Smythe level shutouts too.
Yeah.
Maybe that is the disconnect here.
Yeah.
But I'm like, hey, dude, stop.
Like, fucking, we can't be losing again.
I'm sorry.
But we cannot be losing to,
John Luke Picard and Stuart Skinner in the goalie battle.
And we are decidedly losing it.
I know that there's going to be so much Dick Ryden,
and I don't mean that in a bad way from Oilers fans about how good the depth has been,
how good certain guys have been, this team is way better than people think,
it's this and that.
And I can't figure it out.
I've been saying it.
They do something.
I don't know what it is and I don't know who it is because here's another game
where Leon and Connor are obviously,
even if they're not on the score sheet,
they're always doing something.
They've got you on your heels.
They've got you freaked out anytime they're on the ice.
But one point between the two of them
and a three-nothing win, that is monster.
Monster, monster, monster.
And I continue to be utterly perplexed
at why, for what now,
seven of ten games, right?
Yeah.
They have made their opponent
literally forget how to play hockey.
It's literally so impressive.
Forget how to play hockey.
And tonight was embarrassing for the nights.
I'm telling you, this was an embarrassing performance.
In a game that you needed.
It's five on five a lot, too, Dan.
I would say that last year, the Oilers power play was so fucking good.
And then, don't forget, their P.K.
went nuclear last year.
That's how they beat Douse.
They didn't give a power of the goal for like 20 rounds.
So it was, they didn't even have to.
to win the five on five because their special teams was such a sledgehammer advantage in both
directions. This year, their power play has done dick. Their PK, I'd have to look it up,
has been good, but I can't recall it breaking records. They are just beating you five on five, period,
and if, I keep saying this, it's actually really funny because we both do it. I'm like,
you're not even getting that much from Connor and Leon, and then you look at playoff points,
and they're like second and third. So I'm like, well, you're getting something from him,
but you're not getting these virtuoso don't.
dominant games. They're getting moments.
Where it's like, oh, boom, you needed that overtime goal. They're your boys.
But it, and that's what makes them so scary.
But it is just like, they are primary and secondary assists all over the place.
Yes. And they're just so fucking good.
Here's a thought that I wanted to ask you.
We saw a couple years ago the flames, I think this was Matthew Kachuk's last year there,
when they played. The flames show up and the higher seat and everyone thinks the
owners are better. And then the flames go, they win the first game like eight, six.
And they're like, we're just going to track meet the oilers.
And I'm like, you're going to track meet the oilers.
And then they lose.
And so I always go, well, you can't, why are you trying to do that?
Like, you've got to, you've got to bog it up, bog down the oilers.
But in a way, I would argue that's what Hiller's strategy was, where he's like,
hey, we are not getting in a track meet here.
Sit back, clog up the neutral zone.
And we saw how that worked.
So I don't even know what the answer is because in a game like that, that first period,
dude tonight was one of the most fun run-and-gun periods I've seen in a long time.
And I know the Vegas shots on goal were only five, which is still bad.
It was very up and down.
They were missing the night.
Yeah.
That was awesome.
That's part of what we talk about.
I'm like, you're in the NHL, pal.
Hit the fucking net.
I agree.
I mean.
But even watching it, I'm going live.
I'm going like this.
Is this the game you want to play against Edmonton?
You've got to be kidding me.
But I just don't know that there is a strategy that works.
And maybe that's a testament to how they've built their team or how they step up in the playoffs.
But it's funny because every time they run and gun, people say sit back.
Every time the king sit back, people say, you've got to take it to him.
You've got to stay on the gas.
I'm not sure there is a way to attack this oil or something that they can't adjust to.
Yeah, man, I don't know.
I think a lot of Oilers fans who are honest with themselves will be honest like we are,
and they'll be like, we did not see this coming.
I mean, dude, the white flag that was being waived after games one and two against L.A.
Yeah.
Was covering the entirety of Alberta.
Yeah.
They were like, dude, we're not that good this year.
This is not our year.
Whatever, whatever, whatever.
Even after game three, people were like, wow, Hiller's an idiot.
And we got away with one there, but I still think that this one is over.
Eddie Lack said it today on the live.
Laz said it.
It was like, yeah, I mean, the Kings are going to win.
There are a lot of Eilers fans, smart oilish fans who would be like, dude, we did not see this coming.
Now, I am sure, if not, know, that that locker room is like, wrong.
We are going back to the Cups.
Certainly Connor and Leon are doing that.
That said, this is not just surprising to us.
It's surprising to everybody because it is bizarre how they can have a game like,
I mean, frankly, multiple games in this series alone,
but then like a lot of those L.A. games where I'm just like, yeah,
this team can and should lose.
and then they just figure it out, dude.
They see snake it.
It's crazy.
And yeah, this game, this game to me,
Stuart Skinner coming out, getting a shutout,
the night's coming out just like wet dog shit.
They had a little bit more in the third.
It was so too little too late.
So too little too late.
You're down three nothing.
I'm like, this is over in five.
Yeah.
Okay.
I think you have, you know what I think you've done?
I think you've shown your belly to Edmonton.
Yeah, and your throat.
And they're going to pat your belly and then cut your throat.
I try a dead dog in the middle of the street.
I think this series is long over.
Yeah, they get, watching the tonight, no joke, watching tonight, I was like, Vegas stinks, too.
Like, they stink.
I'm not, I'm not going to throw anyone under the bus.
I got six separate texts from people in our world who went, Vegas sucks.
Yeah.
And obviously it's reactionary, but I was having a hard time being like, no, they don't.
They're this and that.
And I was like, I don't know what's going on.
We saw a bunch of people on Twitter going,
The Kings would have beat the shit out of Vegas.
And now I'm like, we talked about this with a couple people,
Vegas should have lost in Minnesota.
It was after the first three games when they looked like shit in that series too.
But then Jack and Mark started to wake up,
and it looked like Hill was playing a little bit better.
And I was like, oh, yeah, they were just kind of easing into the playoffs.
But it now looks like the games four, five, and six against Minnesota
are the best and only games they've played well in the playoffs.
Otherwise, they've been kind of brutal.
Yeah.
Why does this Oilers team not do better in the regular season?
Well, I said at the beginning of the year.
I don't think they give a fuck.
Maybe this season.
And I forgot that.
I did.
Well, dude, what are you talking about?
They had that bad two years ago.
They started bad, and then they were easily the best team in the league.
Yeah, after that.
But, like, why did that happen?
Why did they start two and 12?
Coaching.
Yeah, they fight.
100%?
100%.
This year, I think they didn't give a fuck.
And I can't believe I forgot that.
I was the one who declared that,
and then I forgot it and picked the Kings like a fucking moron.
But I'm telling you, I don't think they give a fuck.
But at the same time, the thing that is confusing to me is
so many of these players,
if you look at their stats, and I know stats aren't everything,
you look at their stats from the regular season.
It's very mediocre.
Everyone had a worse year.
Everyone on the team had a worse year.
and now they've just come in and ever I mean
fuck me we keep talking about their depth isn't as good as some of these other teams
blah blah blah blah blah their depth is doing everything
the depth is outperforming anyone else's depth in the league
and there are there are people I want to give give the flowers
I think Kulak has been incredible
incredible in these playoffs he's so he's locking down so hard
he's got two assists but he doesn't need to do that
he needs to stop the other fucking team and look at this you've got jack Eichel
getting blanked in a pivotal game for
The entire decor, bro.
They've been amazing.
That has been such.
They've been amazing.
Corey Perry's been amazing.
Yep.
Evander Cain, like we mentioned, has been phenomenal.
It's, I don't think they gave a fuck.
I think that they, like I said, mentally I'm in Edmonton.
I'm getting a Cactus Club.
Save me a fucking seat.
I'm going to be there every night because there's nowhere else to fucking go.
Save me a seat.
I'll be there every night.
The guys on the back end have stepped up in ways that I was.
so not expecting.
Yeah.
Somebody said to me, I thought this was such an awesome comp the more I thought about it.
Because somebody was like, I'm rooting for the Oilers, and they're not an Oist fan.
And I was like, why?
And they were like, well, I just feel like it's the team of destiny for what happened last year.
And then this person isn't a massive hockey fan who I was talking to.
So I was kind of like, actually, dude, it's pretty hard to go back to the cup and win.
What you saw Florida do is not the norm, really.
And the guy was like, dude, they just reminded me of the 04 Red Sox.
And the more I thought about it, I was like, I love that comp so much because you have a,
and if you're not a baseball fan, sorry, but you have the Manny and Ortiz who are two generational guys,
like some of the best hitters to ever play on your team that can change anything at any moment,
one swing away.
You've got two guys.
But then you've got a cast of like renegade cowboy depth guys that everybody's like,
your depth sucks.
it's Kevin Milar and like, you know, whoever.
And I'm like, no, but that's just who we need.
It's exactly.
And they'll come up in moments.
This could be just what they needed, dude.
But you know what I'm saying, dude?
Mark Bellhorn, Bill Miller, like, what are we talking about?
Who are these guys?
But they're their guys.
And that locker room is so like, you know, we can do anything.
And the O3 socks lost in devastating game seven fashion in the ALCS to the Yankees.
and then came back and did it the next year.
And this Oilers team losing in game seven of the Cup finals,
which also kind of has the 03 Sox flair to it too.
I know the Sox did come back and they always didn't.
But I was like, wait, dude, you're right.
This Oilers team is the 04 socks
and they are complete destiny breaking the Canada curse.
For sure.
And, you know, we Dallas fans, Winnipeg fans,
we're not counting you out.
We're talking about this series.
And I know we keep saying mentally,
I'm in, I'm in Edmonton for the final.
But I am, I'm saying right now, I am, I am counting out Vegas.
And yeah, this team is just, they're doing everything right.
Everything, like I said about the Keynes, they're doing everything right to make me be like,
who, what could possibly stop them?
And it's, let's say Dallas or Winnipeg wins the next series.
We're going to be fucking sitting here in two weeks going, geez, I don't know,
this is so crazy. I can't figure out
why Winnipeg slash Dallas
can't figure out how to break this fucking team
down. Shut the fuck up, idiot,
and buy your fucking plane ticket to Edmonton.
Yeah, the Oilers are nasty and they're going to win.
You know why? You can't figure it out?
Because you're an idiot and you keep being like,
why are people having such a hard time playing against
literal two aliens put on this planet
to be good at hockey? God, it's insane.
I don't think Stuart Skinner gives up the net,
by the way. No, it's his for the rest of the way.
100%
And I think it would actually
have to take
some,
a bad run
for them to
permanently pull him again.
I'm not saying
from a game.
The second
Jean-Luc Picard
is healthy.
Yep.
100 P.
healthy.
It will take a
in-game
yanking of Skinner
to be like,
and we're going to go
to Picker for the next game.
Yep.
This is what
Skinner's net.
And this happened,
this exact thing.
We said it on the line this morning.
He needed a reset.
Yes.
He needs to get shut down.
God,
that kind of is his,
Maybe this is just what he need.
100%. That's very cool.
Moving on from the series, we've been talking about
Connor and Leon being good. You
had a quick idea, just
doing a quick little mini powers ranking
three players so far in the playoffs
that are your eyes
are on. Three best players in the playoffs.
Yeah, and we've got to agree just like always.
So I'm not sure
Connor and Leon are in the
Convo, but I'm not sure because of their
standards. I have a lock one.
I have a lock one for sure.
Mika Randen.
I disagree.
Wow.
That's crazy.
I think my luck one is Fred Anderson.
Oh, okay, yeah.
If we're counting goalies, then yes.
And what world do we not count in goalies?
Because...
I think it's Freddie Anderson.
And for me, it's because of all the questions.
It's because so much weight was put on the success of this Carolina Hurricanes team relies on how well he plays.
And he's been the best goalie in the playoffs.
Fresh as lettuce.
Played 22 games this year.
Freddie Iceberg.
Didn't need it.
I think he's my lock one.
I'll agree with that.
I'll go Freddie Iceberg one, Miko Ranton, and two.
Yeah.
And then three becomes an interesting one for me because it's, I love a Willie Nealander, to be honest with you.
I think he's been really, really good.
I might have a hard time not going Willie.
And that's the, you know what?
When we did our blind ranking of locker and beers,
we eliminated Moulson and Labat
because we were like they're going to be
Yeah
We'll be unfair
Labat because it would be one
Mm-hmm
Drink some Labat blue
Moulson another grape beer
Yep
Coors Banquet
Grapeer didn't get named
Because this fucking guy
Because Wags was giving us
Wags went out of his mind
Connor and Leon
Like you said being two and three
It's just like that is just who they are
But I agree
I actually per them
I think that they're like,
I want more out of that.
We can be hotter.
Yeah, I do.
So I'm going to not put them in our top three
out of respect for them
because they're like,
you're going to put me top three
and you think that this is my top three?
Yeah, come on.
I haven't even begun to peek.
So out of respect for them,
they're not going to go in.
So I would hear a Kyle Connor,
but I like Willie.
And you know why I like Willie?
Because Willie dropped his nuts.
Yeah.
Willie went, I am the guy,
dude.
I am the guy on this team.
I have been all the whole fucking time,
all along.
so well. He's yapping it up, mixing it up with Matthew Kachuk. I think I love Willie as the
picks. Six goals, nine assists, 15 points, playing out of his mind factor in just about every game,
always dangerous when he's on the puck. I really like that for third. I would say honorable
mentions to Svetnikov. I thought he's been really good. Pumping in goals. A little bit of doubters,
yes, and not the hottest start, I don't think. I think it took him a while. He ended up having
a had he in one of those games. And then Kyle Connor.
Yeah, Kyle Connor's been awesome.
Dude, Miko Ranton, this is shaping up to be just the most hilarious run if they win the cup,
even if he doesn't go through Carolina.
And there was a stretch in Carolina where he wasn't playing that well.
But straight up in the league right now, Dan, because remember we posted a stat that was like,
Connor McDavid is up to third all time in points per game in the playoffs.
Goat.
And it's Wayne Mario Connor.
And then we were all laughing like, dude, look at Leon.
He's fifth.
That's hilarious.
Two of them right there.
You know who's seventh?
Just behind Nathan McKinnon.
In points per game all time in the playoffs?
All time, by the way, not this year, literally ever.
Who is it, Dan?
Miko Rantan.
People going like this.
Oh, he'll disappear eventually.
Dude, he's going to go ghost eventually.
And keep in mind, like, 15th, Nikita Kutrov, 16th, Sydney Crosby, 8th, Mark Messier, 9th, Bobby Orr.
Let's stick in Colorado, Chris, 20th, Joe Sackick.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, 13th, Peter Forrestberg.
He is seventh all time.
And 23rd, Kail McCarr, D, but still, 23rd, your Lord and Savior, you have to pay, Kail McCar.
And keep in mind, Nathan McKinnon is 1.316, and Moose is 1.308.
Where do you have Rantin in in the league right now active?
He's top 10.
But where?
That's what I'm saying.
Well, I don't want to do this because I don't like putting numbers on people.
But number them right up.
But if I think about my top 10 players in the league in no order, I think of names like Connor McDavid.
I think of names like Nathan McKinnon.
I think of names like Jack Eichel.
I think of names like Leon Drysidal, Kail McCar, Nikita Kucherov, and now we're having a conversation.
So what about like a pasta?
That's a great comp.
Yep.
What about?
I think he's a great comp.
Matthew Kachukh.
I think Matthew Kachuk, all encompassing.
We know I boost Matthew Kuch, though.
What about, you know, Austin comes up for sure.
Austin, Matthews, Sid, Panarin.
Sid is just top ten forever, no matter what.
God, he's so fucking good.
I think you've got to go Sid.
And I'm not even saying I'm putting him seventh.
I'm saying I think Sid's going to be.
In the 10?
Yes, he's still 10.
I'm saying like above Rannon.
Like the guys you've named so far, I'm like, yes, I have them above Randon.
I do not know that I need to do that.
You don't need to do that with Sid?
Yeah, I don't know.
I know.
Right now.
You are a blind, drunk idiot.
You guys just, you think he's, dude, you look at the player pole, dude.
You think he's 30.
Yeah, but the player poll is even a.
worse because they're all the people who just idolized him.
No, that's crazy.
No, it's a fact.
You're insane, dude.
You're insane.
That player poll also said Vaselowski's the best goalie in the league by far still.
What happened there?
Yeah, it's tough.
Okay, so you're not even putting sit in.
So now we're saying-
Yeah, so I am putting sit in, but I am not sure.
I'm putting him definitely above him.
Okay.
So that's where the line is then.
We're talking seventh best player in the league.
He's like seven to nine, probably.
Seventh best player in the league.
and then where does he go he's how old is he 28 i think he's 28 where does miko ranton and go
if assuming he even gets close to maintaining this level of play close to it which there's
no reason to believe he would slow down in any way shape or form soon if he remains the fucking
even drop him a little bit if he remains a top 10 point per game playoff performer and he wins
even one more.
If he retires with two cups
and the seventh greatest
playoff form of all time.
He'll of course be on the all time list.
He's way up there on the all time list.
That's what I'm trying to say.
I think this has been
such a misstep in terms
of his
in terms of rating his abilities.
It's the classic
Evgeny Malkin complex.
It's the Leon Drysidal Complex
where you are playing with
at various times
the best player in the league.
Yeah.
So people go, well, you know, you're playing with Nate, you're playing with Sid, you're playing
with Connor.
It's insane.
It will go on forever.
It will go on until the end of time.
People will always say, oh, well, so-and-so played with so-and-so.
And you're like, well, yeah.
What are you talking about?
And it's almost easier when the other one's a D because it's like Nate and K.
No one cares because they're like, yeah, they power play together, but that's about it.
Yeah.
But I mean, all those ones I said were forward.
Two forwards.
And I don't.
Nate and Moose is a funny one because I'm like, yeah, okay, I get it.
It's a center and a wing.
The Sid Malkin, Leon Conner ones always make me scratch my head because I'm like,
they are literally centers.
They are all, like they are playing on different lines.
Yeah.
What are you guys talking about?
It's only because it's the, they put the best, and they put the best D out against Sid.
Sure.
So you get to be like, sick.
I'm going out against not slaven.
I'm like, yeah, that's the luxury of being.
But everyone, that is, I also think, think that that's stupid because while it's true,
it's not like they're literally only on the ice against the bestee.
Like there are, shit happens.
That's, you hit the whole matchup, home line change.
Yeah, I guess it's just hilarious to me to think that the argument of maybe moving him was
under no circumstances can we lose a Kiel McCar, which is true.
But I think you mistakenly didn't have Rantan in that bucket too, under no.
circumstances can we lose amico ran in it.
Man, it's a, it's awesome to see him playing so well because, yeah, the discourse that went
on after the whole Carolina debacle was turning people into applesauce brained bozos.
He's literally underpaid in Dallas.
Yeah, bro.
He's a, he should have gotten more money.
You got that no state techs from Dallas, dude.
It's actually, it's actually fucked.
All right, we're buzzing long time here.
Let's get into a beer league hotline.
beer league hotline brought to you by our friends at LaBatt Blue Light.
The beer we just said was too good to even include on the list because it would win easily.
Let's go. Wags, talk to me.
In our D league, one team has an 18-year-old college ringer.
Last night, I gave him an extremely harmless one-handed stick check.
He continued to skate away with the puck, and I changed.
After the game in the handshake line, he didn't shake my hand and try to hand me his broken stick.
I told him to pound sand.
He followed me to the bench.
and tried to give it to me again.
Then he came into our locker room while we were having beers
and threw a stick down in front of me,
called me an asshole, and we got into a yelling match
before he stormed out.
I took the broken stick home, we have two ideas.
Do I tape it back together, sign it,
and give it to him the next time we play?
Or do we make a trophy out of it?
And every time we play them,
it's called the broke stick championship.
Am I taking it too far,
or do you guys have a better idea?
I'm not going to lie,
I absolutely loved this kid and tell the locker room.
Oh, you love the college kid?
Yeah.
Holy fuck, dude.
That is horrible.
If he's an 18-year-old drink and he was nasty and you broke his stick and he went up to you and was like, here's my broken stick, dude.
And then went up to the bench.
And to me, he was beaking him.
Like, you're such an old plug bitch.
You had to break my stick.
I'm a fucking 18-year-old kid.
And he was rubbing the broken twig in his face.
I actually loved him.
But then he shows up to the locker room and throws it on the ground and starts, now I'm like, you're a little bitch.
And he was being a bitch the whole time, right?
It wasn't beating.
Turns out he was a bitch the whole time.
And I need to know, I have a few things I need to know,
was if he's so sick, because it's summer,
and he's in between, he's off to school, you get sticks.
So are you complaining?
Well, hold on.
We do not know that he is so, all it says is that he's a college ringer.
He could be playing club somewhere.
You do not get sticks.
Actually, I guess if he's a ringer in the D league, too, he's.
Well, again, he could be.
He could be nasty, though.
He could be an asshole playing in the Dealey because he's like, I don't want to play too high because I don't want to get hurt because this and that.
But we don't know.
He could be a club guy.
You don't get sticks.
We can't assume he gets sticks.
Can't assume he gets sticks.
But either way, because, dude, I have had guys break my stick.
The other thing I was going to say I needed to know is the narrator.
You never really know about the stick check.
Extremely.
Buddy, I'll tell you right now.
Narrator, I guarantee you slashed his stick in half.
But we don't know that.
You can't assume that.
You can't assume that.
Harmless one-handed stick check.
You can't assume that.
Yeah. In your bra.
Send me the live barn.
Send me the live barn.
But I'm telling you.
The flex that this guy's saying that he one-handed, one-hand stick check, the kid's twig and half?
Yeah.
Who are you, Thor?
Well, that's what I think he's saying.
He's like, I didn't do shit.
But he broke his stick.
No, we don't know that.
The kid skated away with the puck.
Like, he kept going with the puck.
But then how did his stick break?
That's what we don't know.
I think he's saying, I got to the bench and my stick was broken.
lately and now I'm pissed at you.
And he's being like, bro, that broke somewhere else.
Unreliable narrator.
Okay, but dude, he has made himself a fool.
I have had dudes break.
And I'm not calling you out, sir, but you're, we're fact-checking you here.
He's stated away with the puck with a broken stick.
Then you're referring to a stick has broken multiple times.
Yeah, so the kid is a liar.
The college kid literally-
Or this guy is.
He's a lying scumbag.
No, dude.
You don't.
You don't.
He went back to the bench and went like this.
I'm going to get a free stick off that old, of that old guy.
Here's the deal.
If we're going to believe this guy.
Which I do.
Go on.
You ruin every conversation when you do stuff like this.
Why?
If we're going to believe this guy, the only thing we know is that this kid's a little bitch.
The college kid is a bitch.
But we also don't know that he didn't break his stick on that slash.
Like this is just bad information from our narrator.
So even if you want to believe him, what he has written us is unreliable.
No, it isn't.
Yes, it is, Chris, because he says, I one-handed stick checked him, then the kid skated off with a puck,
and then it turns out his stick was broken.
And at no point does he go, and the stick broke another time.
It wasn't even me.
In fact, so much of the story, he basically admits he's like, I did break the stick.
I'm telling you, dude, if we're to believe him, and since we know nothing about the kid
that wrote it in, and we know for a fact that the college kid is a bitch.
We don't know.
No, we know he's a bitch
because the way he behaved
no matter what happened.
Not true because we're just
we're choosing to believe.
No, no.
Even if he went like this
and broke his stick and half
and then the kid came into my locker room
screaming at me.
Oh, okay, so we don't believe anything.
No, no, I'm saying you're,
no fair enough.
I guess the whole story could be alive.
Well, there is no college kid.
This is all made up.
There's no idea.
My point is...
He was at a stick time by himself.
My point is for the purpose of Beer League Hotline.
For the purpose of Beer League Hotline,
we will believe our people.
So I'll believe that
This kid's a little bitch.
College kid, known bitch.
But you, sir, have fucked up, in my opinion.
Well, we're going to get a follow-up.
He's going to hear this.
We're going to get a follow-up.
Because you say a harmless one-handed stick check, but then the stick broke?
Impossible.
Impossible that you one-hand stick-checked this kid's stick in half.
So either follow up and tell me, I have no idea how the stick broke.
Because if that's the case, then this kid's even more of a bitch.
Yeah.
But if you are...
I think the kid broke his...
I think the kid went into the...
onto his bench and then literally broke the stick over his skate because he was like, I'm going to
go tell that dude he broke my stick and try to get a new one. Yeah. That's what I think happened.
And also, I don't love the ideas. I don't know what to do yet. I think signing it and giving it
back to him is too mean. Actually, not even too mean, you are letting an 18 year old occupy too much
of your headspace. Yeah. That's what I think. But
making it into a trophy
is so much effort
that it's now funny again for me.
Oh, okay, it came all the way back around.
If you epoxy this stick together in a shape
and literally...
It's the two pieces like crouched.
Yeah, fix it to the top of a trophy
and you name it the broke bitch trophy.
He said, the whole message said he was good,
they put it out on the ice during warm-ups
every time they played the kid.
They'd be like...
That would be hilarious.
Again, you are tormenting an A, teenager.
but that would be
Who tormented us?
Who interrupted locker and beer time?
Well, he can't have beer, so maybe he's just jealous.
But yeah, I think that's a little savage.
I think you break his stick every time you play it.
Maybe you don't do it.
Maybe you don't bring it every time you play these guys, but next time for sure.
Yeah.
That I think is pretty funny.
My closing thought is if someone two-handed my stick in half
via trying to get the puck or just pure frustration,
yeah.
I wouldn't ever.
demand he buys me a new stick.
No.
Literally ever.
No.
One time in Beer League, I was playing at a high level trying to get skates in over the summer
and a 28-year-old New Hampshire-towny cunt bag took a clapper in a Sunday morning beer
league over the summer and hit my stick and snapped it in half, hit it right in the shaft.
And as it happened and like my stick broke into a thousand pieces, he goes, knocking them down, boys,
knocking him down. And I was like, I hate you so much. I think it was 19 years old and I wanted to be like,
buy me a new stick, bro. But I didn't because I'm not a bitch. Yeah, that's why I can't get on board
with this. Yeah. Okay, I'm good with the trophy. And a huge thank you to Labat for bringing us
these awesome beer league stories. I love that that kid went into that locker and saw a cooler full
of Labat, knew he couldn't have any sitting and then through the stick in your face. Give me a beer.
All right, now we're going to do a blind ranking brought to you by Bauer.
Dude, I bet that the stick that dude was using wasn't a Twitch, because that wouldn't have broken.
True.
And that's amazing.
Twitch is the best stick in the game.
Twitch is the best stick of all the time.
You actually have one your whole life.
Did you know that?
Yes, and I will have mine my whole life.
You have one of your whole life?
And actually, that is a lie.
I gave mine to Jeff Carter's son.
That's right.
But I actually, I stole this shirt from Frank.
Yeah.
Dude, Bauer Twitch
You're going to have it your whole life
unless some scumbag breaks it
and even then that's good news
because when you get a new Bauer Twitch
you get new goal scoring swag
because new stick swag is real.
I want to be with Bauer for the rest of my life
and you will be and you'll have a twitch
the rest of your life.
This Bauer Blind Ranking
is going to be
fan bases slash cities,
teams, left in the playoffs
that deserve to win a cup
and I'm here to tell you
this is the worst idea we've ever had.
Because someone's going to get pissed.
Yeah, we're creating enemies
for life. No, not if we make a perfect list
of the perfect deserving cup
cities. Everyone thinks that they're one. No,
they don't. No, they don't. Teams know that.
Okay. All right, Wax.
Oilers.
Fuck!
Well, Dan, they're very high.
They're very high. And is there
a bad... You better pick one
or we're going to get a death threat again. Is there a bad egg
in the bunch? Absolutely. But
they are a Canadian city
that has very little.
And that's not their... Those are their
It's not mine.
They have very little, and they have had two of the great players, one of the best players to ever live for decade,
and haven't got it, they lost in game seven last year from being down three-oh.
Two.
Yeah.
See, I think, actually, I might agree because there's, I do need to save a spot at the top.
You have a lock one?
I have a lock one.
Interesting.
So I need to save a spot at the top, but the, this is, they're there too.
I'm okay with that.
I cannot go below two.
There two.
Two.
Orlers two.
Cains.
The, maybe a little lower.
They've won a cup.
That was a while ago, though.
And also, there's so much, there's so much, like, the canes suck.
Everybody hates the canes.
Small market team.
Yeah, and that would be cool for them.
And Rod, that'd be cool for Raw.
Even players, shit-talking them, saying they're dragging the league down.
And they got some guys.
They got some guys.
Burnsy.
Oh, fuck.
But this is not players.
It's not players.
It's fan-based.
and say, I'm like, Raleigh, just Raleigh need a cup.
They don't have much else, to be honest with you.
No.
I guess they got the Panthers, the Carolina Panthers.
I'm going to go four.
Four.
But it could be three, though, if you think about it.
Yeah, it always could be.
I think if you think deep about it, it could be three.
I just think I need four because I like the gaps.
I need spaces.
There is, yeah, that's a good point.
And there's also, there's a few things right in the middle there that could go,
that could swing this whole thing.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That could swing this whole thing.
It does feel crazy.
easy to go four though but I just think
because they they I think I'm in Wags's head
I want to go four
okay four
the stars
okay I
maybe you might have fucked us now
I might have you might have but you might have fucked us
hold on you fucked us you fucked us with this hold on
I think three and I actually think that that's
perfect they deserve it more than the canes
dude yes I mean no
everyone deserves it equally I love you love you love you
you all. Think about it.
Haven't, they, they've won less recently than the Cains.
Yep. They've come really close several times.
They have been close. I actually will give you that, the tantalizing nature of the Dallas window.
They also deal with the constant, hockey doesn't belong in Texas, Dallas isn't a hockey town,
and then we see that arena, packed to the gills, fans going crazy.
Victory Plaza.
Fans going crazy.
Victory Plaza.
Okay, I'm back up.
I think.
I'm back up to three.
I think everyone deserves it,
but I like them at three.
I'm back up to three.
The Texas hockey fan.
We got the Texas hockey swag, too.
Yes.
And I will say now we are in a horrifying position.
Because we only have one or five.
Yeah.
Okay.
Yep.
But okay.
But okay.
Three.
Jets.
Oh, dude.
Here's the problem.
Dude.
Wait.
Listen to me.
This.
this could go incredibly well for us.
It could go incredibly poorly for us.
I'm going to say this.
It's just, this is how blind rankings work.
It's Russian roulette.
Yeah, it's Russian roulette.
And ultimately, the fact that this is called fan bases slash cities, not players.
Yep.
I love them as a one.
You're telling me that the city of Winnipeg and those fans don't deserve this.
There is a lock one that I have.
and this was not it
but
it is a terrible look
to say that Dallas
and Raleigh
deserve the cup
more than the Winnipeg people
I don't want to have them five
and my lock one might not come
my lock one might not come
that's the whole point
so
I hear your argument
but I'm not I'm sure
I'm willing to roll those dice
I am not
like I almost want to
go, I'm so sorry Winnipeg, but you have to go five to leave the chance that I get to one.
Yeah.
Because there aren't that many teams left to pick from.
I think it's Winnipeg and I feel great.
Oh, dude.
I think it's Winnipeg at one and I feel great.
I don't.
No, one.
You just said it.
We can't.
This is how the game works, dude.
No, I said, I'm not sure I'm willing to roll the dice and not save by one.
Oh.
Well, I'm not willing to roll the dice and put them below Dallas and fucking.
Yeah, because this is burned in hand.
This is bird in hand.
We know that.
We know we have the Jess.
And I will always feel good with this one.
I will always feel good with this one.
I'll feel happy for the.
I would feel very happy for the people win a pick.
Um,
one.
Okay,
one.
Who is it?
The good old leeks.
Oh my God.
Oh my God.
Dude,
we can't post this.
We can't post this.
This is a fucking melt.
Saw it coming from a mile away.
This is a,
you, dude.
From a mile away.
If you saw it coming,
why did you let that happen?
Because you know what?
Dude.
You know,
know what? Yeah, five. You deserve it. Five. You got the Raptors winning recently.
Oh, my God. You're a big major metropolitan city. And also, you're always yapping. You're always
yapping. Here we go with the spinzo. You're 67 bullshit. Here we go with the spins on.
You're Illuminati bullshit. Every year. Oh, it's our year. You're talking shit. You're the best team in the
world. You don't know how to be fucking humble. You don't know how to embrace what you are. You're the
Cleveland Browns. And if you, if the fans were more like that, you're the fans were more like that.
and just went, you know what, dude, it sucks, but we're here every year.
We're so passionate and we just want to win.
But instead, you talk shit.
So you're five.
Longest row in the league, dude.
Five.
Horrible.
This is just awful.
I can't believe this happened.
What a fucking nightmare.
What a way to end.
All right.
Well, that's about as bad as a blind ranking can go, but it is what it is.
We've got one side of the playoffs, tight.
as a butthole.
And we've got the other.
Remember this morning I said,
I think things are just going to go
how they're going to go.
And I was like, oh, I'm wrong.
Then after tonight, I'm like, no,
half of me was right.
These playoffs continue to be absolutely insane.
We're going to keep our eyes on the ditty trial.
Please, please.
And all things going on with the league.
Guys, if you're not subscribed to the YouTube,
do that right now.
Please drop us a five-star review on Spotify and Apple.
Follow us on all the socials.
We're posting every single day.
We've got the live shows coming at you
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
Tuesday, Thursday, the pot is coming out
We're doing bingo, we're doing everything
CP's rocking some merch
Clean-ass crew neck
Got the Nettors Net on there
We've got all this shit
Go to our store
Scoop some stuff
Until we see you next time
It's past midnight
I need to get some sleep
Yeah, so get some rest
And skate hard
