Empty Netters Podcast - Lightning Are a WAGON Again! NY Teams in Pain & Michigan Goes to WAR
Episode Date: December 2, 2025Tampa Bay is the best team in the east and we don’t know why we ever questioned it. Maybe it’s time for the clown noses again. Palmeri and Fox go down with big injuries and it’s crushing for bot...h NY teams. The Canadian Goodbye is the greatest invention since sliced bread. Netters College Puck Drop is fired up for the battle of Michigan. And the beer league hotline and blind ranking always bring the heat. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Watch full episodes, shorts, and clips on YouTube. Listen to the podcast on Spotify or anywhere you get your pods. Subscribe & follow Empty Netters everywhere: YouTube: / @emptynetters Instagram: @EmptyNetters TikTok: @EmptyNetters X: @EmptyNetters PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Thanks to our Sponsors! BetMGM: Use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. SKIMS: if you’re looking for the perfect gifts this season - the SKIMS Holiday Shop is now open. https://www.skims.com/netters Aura Frames: Exclusive $35 off Carver Mat at https://on.auraframes.com/EMPTYNETTERS. Promo Code EMPTYNETTERS LUCY: Order your LUCY Today by going to https://www.lucy.co/Friday and use promo code FRIDAY for 20% off your first order. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (Available in the US) 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY) 1-800-327-5050 (MA), 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-981-0023 (PR) 21+ only. Please Gamble Responsibly. See BetMGM.com for Terms. First Bet Offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. This promotional offer is not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Can you believe what this has become?
There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman.
Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks.
Did TR show you the sauna cycle or was that all year?
No, no, I invented that.
Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check.
That's kind of nice.
Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys.
That's where this pod came to life.
Ice is ready.
And we are back with another episode of the end.
Netter's podcast brought to you by BetMGM.
It is officially Christmas time, baby.
We made it.
I'm the happiest boy on earth.
And I'm also your host, Dan Powers.
We've got Buffy the Vampire Slayer on the sticks.
Sean, can't wait to hear about your Thanksgiving.
And then over here, he may be deep into his 30s,
but he still, every single December sends an email to our parents that says,
Christmas ideas for me.
because he loves getting presents.
Chris Powers.
As always.
You're down bad.
I almost quit today.
You had a deep Sunday night.
You went deep.
Too deep.
Some might say.
You don't know how to say no.
Some might say too deep.
What, uh, did you just,
did you get, have a couple too many Sunday night pops?
Well
You know
I don't believe in that
I think there are never enough
Oh
Sunday night pops
But I tried to find that number
You went searching for it
I searched for it
Fall and wide
And now here you are
Do you regret it?
Nope
Did anything bad happen?
Yep
What happened?
Lost my credit card
Again
I just got it back.
You just had a false alarm.
Had it back for one day.
Had a false alarm of losing your wallet.
But you actually found it.
It was stuffed in your golf bag.
Yeah.
And then you just lost your card.
And I didn't even do the forget-to-close the tab thing.
Yeah.
I closed the tab and signed the bill and then left it in the book.
Yeah.
I handed me the book with the bill and the card, and I said, I'm a genius.
I've closed my tab.
You got to take the card immediately.
I just handed it back.
And they're closed today, so I can't even go get it.
I might never get it.
I don't deserve it.
I don't deserve a card.
Yeah.
You're a mess of a human.
I don't want to do this today.
I want to go home.
It's going to be okay.
We're going to fire through it.
We're going to get the spirits up.
It's December 1st.
You know, that's great.
I got to say, had a birthday to so many people today.
So many people have birthdays today that I'm friends with me.
Really?
Name them right now.
you don't even know.
I don't know a single one.
Tom Yolson.
Fuck.
Pat Curry.
Fuck.
Dan McGrady's.
Fuck.
I know all three of those people.
And I should know it's their birthday.
Now they know.
No, they know that.
I don't know.
How could you do that to me?
Why didn't you just say three random names?
Make up three names.
Make up three completely.
I saw.
Random names.
Sean, how's your thanksgiving?
Excellent.
What'd you do?
Fantastic.
Went to a friend's parents' house.
the free loading continues
free loading continues as is tradition
as an immigrant on Thanksgiving
it was fantastic
Did you get your glazed carrots?
I did and they were the back glazed carrots
I've ever had in my entire life
And while I ate them I thought
I can't believe Dan and Chris
Don't put this as number one
Had it five
Is this a person's Thanksgiving
You've been to before?
No, it's my first time there
And it was the best one yet
Which is sorry to everybody else
Who's theater thanksgivings I've been to
When you saw the glazed carrots, were you laughing?
Or were you like, well, I knew this was coming?
I, well, I saw the glazed carrots and I thought, here we go.
I know what to expect here.
But they blew my expectations out of the water.
And I just reinforced in me that you guys messed up your list.
Honestly, credit to us for calling them five to lower your expectations.
Yeah.
Really heightened.
True.
Yeah.
If we had said one, you might have gone in up here and been disappointed.
Yeah.
But we gave you a five.
Yeah.
Well, I've had them before.
I would have put them at least like a three.
But I don't know if it necessarily won, but this year for sure.
One.
Jesus Christ.
Fantastic.
Glazed carrots.
I wish we had heads.
It's unbelievable.
How was yours?
It was great.
We went to a friend's house.
He had just bought a new house.
Congrats to them.
So it was like a housewarming and Thanksgiving.
There were so many deviled eggs, your head would spin.
It's unbelievable.
But the best part about Thanksgiving for me is we get out the other side and it is officially
Christmas.
No one can say a damn word.
Yeah, dude, what can you say?
No one can say a damn word.
I went to a Christmas tree farm yesterday, got my tree.
Nice.
So did you.
So did I.
So did you.
Shout out, Sean's.
Sean's Christmas.
Yeah, it's his name.
It's called Sean's Christmas.
Yeah, it's a side hustle I have going.
Yeah.
Because again, you guys are saying me enough.
I would fucking lose my mind if I had got there and it was you.
And I would be like, what?
It's always been Sean.
Could you imagine?
That would be insane.
But I also went, I walked to the British pub by my house and had a Sunday
roast last night by myself.
Very nice. Very nice.
Solo dining.
It was, yeah, I brought my book.
Yeah. I was reading my book.
Eating. It was lovely.
It was like very quiet. The Sunday night
football game was ending. So I was like
this is great. There's only like 20 people here.
And to be very clear, I love this pub.
So I'm not saying anything bad.
As I'm finishing, or as
the game finishes, and I'm like deep in my book.
And I've got a great rotation of five pages, turn, take
bite of my meal. Five pages, turn, take a bite of my meal. The bar at like 10 p.m. on a Sunday starts
doing karaoke. And I was like, what the fuck is happening here? How is this a thing? How are there
enough people here at 10 p.m. on a Sunday night for them to participate in karaoke? And why is anyone doing it? But it happened.
That's what you get for being a performative male
and reading pocked in public.
That, dude, I couldn't believe
how many people came up and talked to me
because they were like,
you're just reading a book here.
And I don't think I've,
I don't think I've ever solo dined and read the book.
But let me tell you what, dude,
it was performative male stuff clearly
because everyone needed to talk to me about it.
Can you imagine if I was reading on my iPad?
Can you imagine if I had like an actual paperback book and people could see what it was?
No.
He's fucking insane.
Wasted enough time.
We got to get into the hot ice.
Lots going on in the league and we will start with the hottest team in the NHL possibly.
The Tampa Bay Lightning.
Seven game hitorial.
What is that?
I did a meme about it.
Reports of my death.
Yeah, Mark Twain.
Mark Twain.
Yep.
were grossly exaggerated or something.
Over the seven games,
they've only given up more than one goal twice.
Yish.
Vassi.
9-1-5 save percentage.
Two, three, two goals against.
Here comes the boogeyman.
That is straight up boogie man shit.
And he's on the way, dude.
At the start of the year, we were like,
Tampa stinks and so does Vassi.
Yeah.
Wrong.
Incorrect.
Cooch, 29 points.
We were saying that.
Yeah, I never said that.
I would never wear a fucking clown nose again.
He bull said that.
Yep.
Cooch, 29 points.
Gantz, 26 points.
Hegel, 13 and 12, 25 points.
Dude,
points don't even doing anything.
Yeah, Point has three goals.
He's got 11 points.
He's a dash 11.
He's not even doing anything.
Every week, people are hitting us up being like,
what is wrong with point?
The Lightning.
There was, remember we looked at the Atlantic?
Yeah.
Every team was a negative goal diff.
every single one.
Yeah.
That was like the other day.
That was one day ago.
I know, dude.
Now, Tampa plus 19.
Boom.
Four points clear in the Atlantic.
Boom.
Everything we expected.
Boom.
Yeah, it's unbelievable.
Remember this, dude?
Cooper should get fired.
Get fucked.
Is it time to fire, Coop?
Are you insane?
Are you insane?
Are they need to think about it.
Isn't it funny that not a single team in the Atlantic other than Tampa is in plus
gold differential right now?
not a single one it's a joke dude it was it was none of them and then they they were like this
actually we're disgusting it's uh the pacific is all basically the same to ducks have plus nine
everyone else is dash other or Vegas or zero like what is what is going on teams are leaky
man but Tampa is um yeah they are they're top the Atlantic and they are truly on fire
And they feel ripe for someone doing something horny, making a move, making a trade, adding a big dog.
You think so?
Yeah, I do.
I mean, I think we are, we're 25 games into the season now.
And there's, there's been a lot of this, a lot up and down, a lot up and down.
It's hilarious 10 games into the season.
We both picked Tampa to win the Atlantic.
Yeah.
And 10 games in, people were like, how's that?
looking boys and we look dumb.
Yeah.
We looked real dumb.
And now we look like smart boys.
Now I'm a genius.
No, we look like smarties.
Now John Cooper's the best coach to ever live.
But in 10.
Now Coach Ruff's the MVP.
In 10 games, we might be wrong again.
That's how this is a crazy time.
That's life.
But it's this season.
It's life, you know.
Poof.
Could all go away.
But that's the crazy part is this season in basically every division,
it feels like I don't know what to expect, except the unexpected.
Expect the unexpected.
There's like two teams in the league who have just like really been consistent the whole time.
It's wild.
And this Tampa team feels like they were slow.
to start. They've got it now figured out and they might coast. I think there's a world where Tampa
kind of coasts through the rest of the season at the top of the Atlantic now. With the way the Atlantic
has gone. Yeah. With the Leafs being horrible and the Panthers being injured and inconsistent,
but injure. Montreal cooling, I'll say, because there was a stretch where we were like,
oh, they, wow, they took another huge step.
Yeah, for sure.
And then Ottawa, Boston, Detroit being like,
Detroit cooling too.
Whatever, yeah.
And Boston's slightly cooling.
Yeah, but they shouldn't even be here.
At the point that I'm like, oh, my God.
Tampa could run away with this division.
Yes.
Yeah, the way it's gotten.
There's a chance that I look up in 10 more games and I go,
oh, the Atlantic is over and or at least the one seat and the Atlantic is over and we're
figuring out everything else.
We had a couple of interesting games.
Like it was Edmonton's game against Seattle where they really, they popped them for nothing.
I think it was Saturday night.
And I was like, this is the type of game that makes you go, yep, see, Edmonton's fine.
They played really well.
Connor was basically involved in every point.
And you're like, oh, shit.
Toronto on Saturday beat Pitt, 7-2.
But what's funny is, and I'm not trying to talk shit here, that didn't have the same vibe of like, oh, Toronto's got it figured out.
Yeah.
I do want to give flowers to Easton Cowan.
He's been getting some reps and he's playing really well.
But the Toronto Maple Leafs are not a serious team right now.
No.
They're got serious people.
They're a completely unserious team right now.
And I am waiting to see them win four in a row.
And maybe it starts now.
Maybe it starts now.
Credit to Marner, actually, because I feel as though he was often looped in, justifiably or not, in the unsurious conversation.
Yeah.
As one of the kings of uns seriousness.
Yeah.
Mr. Video Games.
He loves his video games.
And you know what?
Don't we all.
Can you blame him?
Don't we all?
Can we stop shaming?
We're going to get him and Dolin on some Fortnite.
You imagine him dole-in-law?
What's the female video game?
What is a thing?
No.
You mean a little video game?
No.
Are there female video games?
That's what I thought you were asking.
Like, are there video games that are objectively for women?
Do you think more women play The Sims than men do?
I'd say that The Sims is a perfect example of a game where I would bet that more women play it than men do.
That in, like, Stardoo Valley.
I fucking saw.
Dude, John's always got some shit.
I've never been heard.
No, Star Doe Valley is like Harvest Moon on crack.
Oh, shit.
And I was going to say it's a pretty tough look for me.
Oh, here you go, yeah.
So this says...
Not like my two favorite video games on Earth or Harvest Moon,
which is Star Dew Valley and the Sims.
I just love building houses, dude.
I wouldn't even do anything with the people.
I would put in the cheat code.
It was like, exclamation point semicolon, exclamation point, semicolon.
You did that off my heart.
You did that a billion times and you just have a billion dollars.
Uh, I would just build cribs, dude, just absolute cribs.
It was awesome.
This says Fortnite.
A lot of women play Fortnite.
Really?
Uh, actually, no, that's wrong.
That's a bad, that's just got to be everyone on Earth.
Yeah, yeah, here it is with a large female, uh, player base.
The Sims 4.
Yeah, you got it.
We got it.
We're on it.
Minecraft.
Minecraft.
I suppose it's kind of similar
you're like building things right?
Yeah, anything that involves
patience and attention to detail
and building stuff
women are crushing those games.
I'm sure the male dominated games
are the opposite of that where it's like
first person shooters maybe.
Yeah.
It's just ridiculous.
Roblox.
Roblox.
Roeb?
What are you saying?
RoB-O-O-X.
Roblox.
Roblox is that it looks like Minecraft.
Like everything's all.
blocky but uh and you just build yeah it got a lot of bad press recently the first time i ever
heard about it was uh apparently it's a lot of groomers go on roblocks looking for young kids they
got a lot of bubble over it yeah well it's all i know about it that can you imagine going uh being a groomer
look at you you look like one right now dude he looks like the unabomber yeah you'd uh i wish i was the
Unabomber.
Look at this.
Look at that.
Look at that.
You look just like the Unabomber.
What the fuck?
Yikes, dude.
But imagine being a groomer and being like this.
You know what?
I heard about this game Roblox and there's a lot of young kids on there and I'm going
to get in there and I'm going to give him some tips about how to build.
Next thing you know, they give me their phone number and then I'm calling the house landline
going, hey, is Timmy home?
And yeah, can I ask her calling?
Are you doing a kid voice when you call?
Yeah, you got to.
Yeah.
What if the parents answer?
No one has a landline anymore.
This is ridiculous.
But maybe these kids don't have their own cell phone.
So you got to call mom's phone.
He goes, he goes, listen to your number and he goes, here's my mom's number.
And that guy, it doesn't skip a beat, dude.
He goes, I'll call it.
I'm on a mission.
Out of control.
Star Doe Valley is four.
Animal Crossing is five.
A social simulation game known for its relaxing atmosphere.
Animal Crossing makes sense.
I got my girlfriend.
a switch a few years ago
Nintendo Switch
And she just immediately
just raged out of Super Mario
Just could not handle the platforming jumping around
So I got her, I said, all right
Like Animal Crossing has to be the chillest game ever
Got that?
She's addicted.
Really?
Absolutely addicted to Animal Crossing.
Can I ask a question?
Is Animal Crossing exactly what it sounds like?
Is it about animals like crossing a street?
It's like a little, it's like kind of like the Sims in a way maybe?
it's like a little town and you're kind of like doing gardening and stuff around the time.
Okay, it's fucking Harvest Moon.
Oh, they're cute as hell.
Look at those fucking things.
Do you know what Harvest Moon is?
I've only, I've never played it.
I've never seen people play it.
I know it because everyone seems to play it.
I've talked about this on the podcast before, haven't I?
Harvest Moon was a game on N64 and this hockey talk is out of control.
I'm sorry to the listeners
We are completely off the rails
Harvest Moon was a game on N64
It was like a classic Japanese
Story, you know, like just the way
The characters looked and like the storyline
You can tell is like from these amazing Japanese
Video Game creators
It starts out you are a little character
And like you can name yourself
But he looks exactly the same for everybody
And your dad dies
No, your grandfather dies
and he gives you his farm.
And you then move to this farm
and you have to start making the farm prosperous.
Like, that's it.
There's a town.
You can go in, you can talk to people,
you can make friends,
you can find a wife.
You can literally flirt with like five or six different girls in town.
And the more you flirt with them.
Of course you were, Dan.
And the, oh yeah, dude, I was a dog.
I was a dog in that game.
And what's funny is when you talk to them,
if you give them stuff
and everyone in the town
they're like the little like
of the things that they say pop up
and there's a little heart in the bottom
that's like the press A
to continue talking
the more you give them
and the more you talk to them
the heart changes color
and when it gets to like a big
like blinking pink red heart
you can then propose to them
and you have like there's like a feather
you buy and you give it to them and propose to them
and dude
you can get every single girl in town
to all bright red pink.
It's fucking gnarly.
But what's also crazy is
if you do other things,
I can't talk about
Harvest Moon this long.
It's a great game.
And I think you should play it.
We got to move on.
Sorry, everyone,
but Harvest Moon fucking rocks.
God, dude.
Okay, the Tampa Bay Lightning
are out of control good.
Now we need to talk about
something that is out of control bad
and that is Adam Fox.
We've got another injury
on the books.
A lot. Someone was asking this the other day.
Feels like a lot of injuries are happening right now.
I think this happens every year.
Condense season. No more Olympics.
Yeah. No, we got to ban the Olympics.
It happens every year.
Get rid of Olympic International best on best has ruined everything.
No one will ever play again.
And we got to stop.
This is why we didn't do it for 10 years.
That's one take.
Adam Fox left the game Saturday and a 401 loss to Tampa.
Tampa's just waxing everybody.
Hit with Hegel, looked clean, was fine.
It's said to be a shoulder injury.
He's been placed on.
LTIR is going to miss 10 games minimum.
He has been the best shining spot of this Rangers team.
Yeah, he is pretty much, and I've been critical of Fox's game,
but I would say he's the, he's been the only thing,
maybe Cheshty, you would say too, but Chester's kind of,
but Chessie's almost like what you expect.
But that's not fair.
I should just, he deserves credit still, even though he's doing what you expect.
No, Chesty is like, God, he has been keeping them in the, you know,
so many games but fox leading the team in points tied with breadman is was dream dreamland was fairyland
fairy tale stuff for the rangers um so he goes out not good at all not only because he was producing
but also because he's he runs the power play and i know you can switch they switch to like a five
forward thing but he just he it's losing a guy that quarterback's the power play is a double whammy
Yeah.
The rags are five and five in their last 10.
They're 13, 12, and 2, and 7th in the Met.
There's a chance that you thought they were dead anyway.
If you didn't, are they dead now?
Yes, I think so.
It's kind of simple.
I mean, they are, the Met is really good.
Yeah, yeah, that's that.
There's a reason the entire Atlantic and the entire Pacific has a negative gold there.
It's because the entire Met and the entire Central have positive goals.
Exactly.
The Met's sneaky good.
Every single team in the Met is above 500.
And the Rangers are, you know, like, I don't want to sewer Laz here.
But like going into that game, Laz is doing his Rangers nut hugging.
And he was like, the hottest team in the league faces the second hottest team in the league talking about Tampa and the Rangers.
And I'm like, Johnny, the Rangers are one of the hottest teams.
the league, give me a break.
Dallas and Colorado, Minnesota haven't lost in five years.
And the Rangers are hotter than them, according to Johnny.
But it's like, I do think people forget that the Rangers are above 500.
It's like they, the home record and the home scoring is just so bad.
The way that every one of the players talks to the media, they feel so frustrated that it feels so bad.
but at the end of the day, they do win some important games,
and they've played some good hockey here and there.
But at the end of the day,
I think that they are just going to hover around this like 500 vibe all season long.
And I don't see that really changing.
I don't see them catching fire.
But Fox being out is brutal.
I will say in, and I'm going to give Laz another tire pump here,
he pointed out out in the 2023,
24 season when Foxy got hurt, the Rangers went 7, 2, and 1 in their 10 games without them.
I'm not saying that that is the same team. It's not the same team at all. But they have in the past been able to adjust without him. That's a great step. I do think, though, that was a season when they were really, really strong. This is a bit different. Fox has been quarterback in that power play. He's been having one of the best seasons he's ever had. And, uh,
it just sucks for a number of reasons.
It sucks because it's great to see a player,
a U.S. player in an Olympic year,
firing on a team that's struggling.
And it sucks because this could be very detrimental
for the Rangers.
I think I always had the Rangers being exactly this.
I was like, yeah, they're going to miss playoffs
and hover in 6'7.
Yeah.
And stop.
You keep doing it.
Yeah, because I said, that's what I said.
I'm taking it to hockey.
And you said, I love this CP.
Play the clip.
John, play the clip.
But it's...
Chris, I love this.
But you're not...
No, fuck you.
You're not allowed to take it,
but then do the same thing.
Yeah, we are doing it for hockey.
You are six, seven, if you miss plus.
It's the worst thing you can do.
We took it.
And you like it.
No, I don't...
I don't like it if you keep doing that.
Don't do it.
Sorry.
So, I still think they stink,
but the...
If they do...
This is the moment.
Put it this way.
This is the moment.
If you lose out of...
Fox and you and you go two and eight in the next 10, your season is over and you might as well
start trying to get Gavin McKenna. Or you go, you go eight and two without Fox and then you
welcome him back and I go, oh, wow. Now you can actually make a run because now you have your guy back.
Yeah. Okay. In the next 10 games that Fox is out, or maybe more, right? Like, but let's call it 10.
Yeah, yeah. What record do they have to have in that 10 for you to go that this was a season back on?
huge boost for them, Rangers are very much back in the mix.
Seven and three.
Seven and three, right?
I don't think six and four does it for me.
Seven and three in the next ten for the Rangers and the season is fucking back on.
Playoff games, MSG.
All right.
We're going to put, it's ten game watch for the Rangers.
Okay.
Seven and three and we are, no, no, not or you're dead, but seven and three and we are back.
Another injury that absolutely stinks.
You hate to see it in New York as well, but led to one of the coolest plays.
the hockey has ever seen.
Kyle Palmerry tears his ACL, absolutely brutal,
going to be out six to eight months.
He went into the boards hard, really ugly play.
You know, no one's fault, nothing like that,
but goes down, gets up,
defenseman takes a puck back into his own zone,
doesn't see Palmyry sneaking up behind him,
little cheeky stick lift,
dishes the puck over, gets an assist
as he's getting off the ice with a torn ACL.
Is that the most hockey guy shit you've ever seen?
It's so sick because the ACL is a weird injury where you can move kind of, right?
So it's like Tom Brady.
I remember when Tom Brady tore his ACL, it was like he walked off the field.
And everybody was like, he's okay, he's okay.
And I was like, no, you can walk.
So it's kind of a funny injury in that regard.
but that's walking off the field during a stopped gameplay.
And we stroked off justifiably Dewey when he, I don't even know if his injury's public, but whatever, whatever happened to him, happened to him.
And then he broke up a two-on-one and like made it a pass.
And I was like, what a legend.
Yeah.
And this, though, is all time.
It's so all-time.
This is literally the game is going on.
I have shredded my knee ligaments.
boom, apple.
It is so crazy.
I mean, my God.
I love it so much and he's been good, man.
My question is, someone said this in a, it must have been during hockey talk,
but someone was like, is that it for Pal Mary?
Does he retire?
And I'd like to say definitely not.
He's tied for third on the team.
In points?
Yep.
Tied second, I think.
Yeah, is it?
Maybe someone had a point.
But he's about to be 35.
Do you think there's any chance that this is it for him?
Yeah.
I don't, I'm not saying I think it is.
I'm just saying there's a chance because next year sucks.
That's what people forget.
Fuck.
Yeah, you're right.
It is like, yeah, six to eight months in December.
Like, you know, so he's, he's like, he's done for the year.
Oh, my God, yes.
For sure.
And then all summer, like, let's say it is an eight-month recovery.
That puts you in August.
And you're like, okay, now I'm getting back into the swing of things.
Oh, man, that would suck.
That would absolutely suck because he's been playing great.
He's an awesome dude.
Gritty guy, gritty.
but I hate to see it
I got his contract right here
how many more years
Kyle Palmerry
he has 4.75
this year and next
okay so see that's why it sucks
like you come back next year and you're probably not that good
because you're recovering
and then you're a free agent
and everyone goes and you go give me a deal
and teams go no you stink
your ACL, you never recovered fully from your ACL and you're not it. And then you go, dude,
what are you talking about? I'm good. That's so harsh. Yeah. And then they go, well, we don't care
and the league is fast and young now. And he's that guy that's kind of like, everyone goes,
did he retire? And he's like, well, no, I didn't mean to. Yeah. But no one will give me a
fucking deal. That's that's my fear. Yeah. What do you think for the New York Islanders now? They were
obviously buzz in. They were so exciting. But they've slowed down a bit. I think they're 5, 4 and 1 in their last 10. They are 6th in the Met.
Tied. Right now they're tied with the penguins with 29 points, which and the penguins are in playoffs.
So they're right on the playoff line. And not that Paul Mary is like fucking incredible.
but he's a massive piece.
And he's one of their most efficient players, right?
Like 18, 18 and 25.
It's like Horvats playing, you know, some of the best hockey's ever played.
But, and obviously Schaefer is unbelievable.
But they are kind of an interesting team in that no one on that team is really way overperforming.
It's like Horvatt leads the team with 26 points.
After that, it's Schaefer with 19.
And then it's like, Barzel and Palmieri, tie for 18, Heinemann, 6.
Drew and it's 15 and it's like Lee 13 you know it's like this is a tough loss
tough loss the team's been pretty injured they're slowing down a little bit you wonder if
this hurts them I think it not only I'll go further than that did well the good the only
good news is the the Russian moves up to the second line a whole max I always say his name
I always say Shabanov but he is the man and he hasn't done I said he was going to score 40
this year and he hasn't quite done that but I'm actually excited to see him get this burn
because he's very good.
But I will go as far as to say that they are out now.
Yeah.
I think playoffs might be a little bit of a stretch for them now.
They can make a move, but I'm just like, ooh, that I think that's.
But also, they don't need it.
I wouldn't, yeah.
They don't need it.
Teams that are not struggling at all.
Heading to the Central.
Last week, we talked about the aves and how they are just firing.
They continue to do so.
We also talked about the wild CP.
Oh, yeah.
and how they are on fire and just doing everything right.
A team that we need to give a quick spit job to is the Dallas Stars.
Yes.
Everyone singing the praises of the Colorado Avalanche as we should.
They are 9-0-1 in their last 10,
but a team right behind them with four straight wins, Dallas,
8-1-1 in their last 10.
we talked about how they were leaky my god did they plug the leaks and everyone on this team
seems to be playing so goddamn well your boy otter looking pretty good looking better looking
better yep i mean pretty good is what all i said yep but i think you think of the big boys on
this team and i think of miko ranton i think of jason robertson i think of wyatt johnston i also think
of Miro Hayskinnan on defense, and I'll throw Rupay Hansen there.
Robo has 35 points, Rantin has 33, Wyatt has 30, Rupa has 22, Mero has 22.
All the big dogs are fucking buzzing, and Dallas is right up there in best teams in the league.
Do you put them behind Colorado as like if you're talking and coming out of the West,
are they the second best team in the league right now?
Yeah, yeah.
But I think I would have got it so I won't remember now.
But based on the injuries and stuff,
I feel like I might have said that anyway.
And what I'm not remembering is Vegas.
I know everybody was Vegas, Vegas, Vegas.
But I was like, that Patrangelo injury is so big.
And goalie is not, you'd think goalie.
for Dallas would be a massive
we win this one, you would think,
when comparing them to the team.
So, yeah, I think they're the best team,
but they fucking should be.
I say this all the time.
Their roster is insane.
Yeah, that's the most insane roster I've ever seen.
Colorado is so good,
but I look at their roster,
and I'm like, you shouldn't be as good as you are.
They just are.
Yeah.
Dallas, I'm like, Dallas should never lose.
Dallas should never lose office.
So what's funny is,
you look at the league right now,
and if I were to ask you,
like, don't look at any standings or records right now.
I would say,
best team in the league. You would say Colorado.
If I'm not looking at standings?
Yes. Yeah, okay. I think I understand what you mean. Yeah, Colorado.
Obviously, you would say Colorado. If you're going to look at me right now through those
sunglasses, you unibombing twat and say that anyone other than Colorado is the best team one.
I didn't know what you mean. Do you mean if I'm watching hockey games? Yeah, I'm asking you.
I'm talking to you right now. Who is the best team in the league?
If I've been watching Colorado.
Yeah. And then if I were to ask who's the second best team in the league?
Dallas. Would you say Dallas?
I think so.
So Colorado is, if we're just looking at, let's look at standings and we're looking at points.
They are the top of the league with a plus 48 gold diff.
Dallas is second with a plus 22 gold diff and that is the second best in the league.
Like they are statistically the two best teams in the league.
and then also they feel like the two best teams in the league.
And what's funny, dude, is at the beginning of the season,
we had Colorado and Dallas won two in the central,
both of us, I think.
Yeah.
And here they are, one two in the league.
And then on the east side of things,
this is where I find it interesting.
I picked Tampa to be first in the Atlantic.
I think so did you.
Yep.
I picked Carolina to be first in the Met.
I think so did you.
I might, no, I think I went Devils.
Oh yeah, I think you did.
But I was, you know, Devils Cains.
Well, let's say Devils.
Yeah.
Again, only 25 games.
But if you're looking at the league standings, best records in the league, it goes Colorado, Dallas, Tampa, Carolina, New Jersey.
Yeah.
And like, it doesn't feel that way.
Yeah.
If that makes sense, like Tampa and Carolina are the two top teams in the east.
as far as record.
And I'm like, fuck, all right.
But Dallas is just like with the wild, who are, you know, absolutely surging,
Dallas just deserves a pump up because they're doing everything right.
They're winning great games.
But it goes back into the shit we've talked about of like,
is it nut up or shut up time for Dallas?
It's like, how many times can we see this group do this?
Also, how do you keep Robo?
Because all the bullshit we heard about him and now he's doing this in what world do you let this guy leave?
He is he has 7.75 on his contract.
He is RFA.
People always forget about that.
But like you've got to sign Robo, but I don't know how you do it.
You know, you don't have a lot of cap going on.
But at this point, are we like, obviously he gets re-signed.
Yes, you did. That should have always been the case.
They should have always done that. They should have always done that. And I love to, three stars, three separate stars lead the league in one thing each. Can you guess what they are?
Ooh. It's not easy, so you can just say no. Okay, no.
Jason Robertson shots on goal. Oh, nice. 109. And we've talked before about the JD.
Robo saga
Yeah
After he had him on a show
But remember he had said
It's like
Some of his goals just were going in that year
That year he had 40
And I'm like
You know what's one way to
Not to fix that
Shoot the puck off of that
He is the it's
Miko has 66
Y Johnson is 75
Rupa is 60
Robo is 109
And I'm like
Yeah dude
His shooting percentage isn't his highest
the other guys, but it doesn't matter.
He has 16 fucking goals because he gets the fuck on net.
The other one, Wyatt Johnson,
power play goals, 12.
12 of his 16 are power play goals.
And as we've said before,
who fucking cares?
He scores every power play.
It's amazing.
That was always the funniest thing in the world to me
when people would talk about Chris Crider on the Rangers.
And they're like, he's a power play goal merchant.
And I was like, let me ask you a question.
Wouldn't you love it if your team scored
when they were on the power play.
Yeah.
And it's,
I don't care
when you fucking score,
get goals.
And the last one is
Miko Rantanin'
Pims.
Dude.
I am so glad
that you brought this up
because we've got to talk about it.
It's the funniest thing
in the world.
Miko Rantan Pips.
Rat.
Rat.
Rat.
So you're rat.
No, he's never done that
in his career.
He's never,
he's never eating cheese.
We've got the two sussies
and we've got
that O-Mark play when he skates by
Omar grabs his blocker, pulls him down.
I think Miko's getting in the mixer.
Would this be the best rat
in NHL history?
Because of the...
I'm saying the best quality hockey player
who's also doing rat stuff.
Yes, because Brad...
Do you think Brad has that title?
We're definitely forgetting a lot of guys of old.
Yeah, and it's going to skew it because the point tolls were insane back then.
Yeah.
But Brad is very good.
Let's say of the last like 20 years.
Okay.
It might be Brad.
Yeah, but I'm saying it might be moose.
Oh, no, if moose transitions from a moose to a rat, then yes, it will be him.
Yeah, it could be.
It's unbelievable.
But they're cooking.
But, dude, here we go again.
here we go again Dallas, Colorado,
see you in the first or second round
and beat each other to oblivion
and then the winner, the loser goes home a bitch
and the winner loses to Edmonton
and the Western Conference finals because they're too tired.
That is a perfect ending of this central talk.
Again, I know we're not at like trade deadline or anything,
but when I look at the central and look at these three teams,
I look at Colorado, Dallas and Minnesota, who are playing so, so well.
And then I look at the Pacific, and it's like the ducks are amazingly fun.
The Kings we'll get into in a second here.
I look at these three teams in the Central Chris, and I'm like, if you three assholes let any team other than you go to the cup, you are the biggest clowns on her.
It's a disgrace.
It's a disgrace.
And who do you mean third, the wild?
Yes.
Yeah, dude.
And I feel like wild fans think I don't like them because of my prediction.
I love the wild.
But they are, they are not part of this conversation.
If Dallas or Colorado doesn't go to the cup from the west, they are both a disgrace.
And one of them is going to be automatically.
You know what?
I am here and prepared to completely agree with that.
We are 25 games in the season, but I am going to sit here and say, Dallas or Colorado, one of you,
needs to be representing the West in the Stanley Cup final,
or you have disgraced your families,
and you have disgraced this league.
And this league and this nation,
and you will not be welcomed home for the holidays.
Let's get into quick Jersey talk that you wanted to bring up.
We've got some Olympic sweaters dropping.
The Sweden one,
I just wanted to know what you thought about the Sweden one.
They finally released it.
I think the Swedish international hockey jersey
is maybe the best.
The three crowns is.
always so elite. I can't get a good picture
of it here. Like you gave me a link and it's absolutely
terrible. It shows like a zoomed in
photo. It's NHL.com.
Yeah, it's absolutely awful. Have you clicked that link?
It's just the most like zoomed in. It literally
just shows the three crowns. A,
we love NHL.com.
We do. I'm not, I'm not
saying NHL.com made a mistake. I'm saying just the picture
is bad. Yeah, the photographer. Yeah. The photographer
that was hired.
It fucked up.
But to me it's a good
Convo to have in general about the jerseys
I need to know what the fuck is going on with the collar
Right here on some of them okay
I think USAs are so clean
But they've got this weird collar thing
And I don't like it
The France jersey has it as well
I think the Swiss jersey has it as well
It's just like this weird like vented plate thing
I'm not into it dude
The French jerseys are
It's some of the worst years you have ever seen my entire life.
It's absolutely insane.
Why did they do that?
It literally just says France.
And I'm like...
With a bunch of lines.
Yeah.
It's crazy.
I don't like the collar either.
Oh yeah, I see it here.
Yeah, it's bizarre.
I don't have much to say on them.
I think Sweden is amazing.
I think the Sweden is one that I'm like, don't ever mess with this.
But you know what I will say?
I liked this from...
four nations, like the texture on the crowns in four nations more than this, the texture
on the crowns for the Olympic ones.
Yeah, but it's still a cool texture.
Agree, but it looks like what Canada did with the leaf.
Yeah, it's almost like a raised 3D.
Yeah, it's like, dude, you know when you fight the Polygon team in Super Smash Bros.
Yeah, I sure do.
We're talking to a lot of N64 talk.
That's how I think all the Olympic jerseys have become the Polygon team.
Yeah.
It's very Olympic of them.
Is it?
Yeah.
The Polygon team was just Olympic athletes.
Everyone knows that.
I don't know.
Maybe you're right.
Maybe you're right.
So they put the rings.
It feels very geometric.
I'm just telling you.
Polygon team.
Something to think about.
Yeah.
I mean, it's unbelievable.
Let's take a quick ad break and then pop back in to some goal score and talk.
Hockey is back.
That means there is a ton of fun action.
with us and BetMGM because every single Tuesday of the NHL season, BetMGM is dishing out
extra winnings because they have an NHL odds boost. Literally all you have to do to get in on
this kind of fun is you log into your BetMGM account. So download the app. Go download the
BetMGM app and use promo code Netters when you do that, by the way, because you can enjoy up to
$1,500 in a new player offer on your first wager, which is legendary. Okay, so do that. Then you log
into your BetMGM account and add an NHL wager to your bet slim.
Activate the NHL odds boost token.
Boom.
One click.
Done.
And then if your boosted bet hits, you get paid bigger than you would have because you
have boosted your odds because I like given tokens.
I like given tokens.
I like given tips.
So download that BenMGM app.
Use that promo code netters and activate those tokens and get paid.
It has gotten to the point where it is simply not something we can ignore.
Morgan Geeky.
League leader and goals
Dude, what does that mean?
When you say that, what does it mean?
It means that he has, hold on,
let me just get this stat up.
I want to just make sure that I read it correctly.
When I say that,
okay, Morgan Geeky, hold on,
I'm just looking at the NHL.com stats.
Okay, Morgan Geeky has 20 goals.
And that is tied with Nathan McKend for most in the NFL.
But how many does Krill have?
Krill has 17.
But how many does Sid have?
That's three less.
Sid has 16.
That's four less.
But what about Bedsie?
Uh, he has 16 as well.
Also less.
Yeah.
Morgan Geeky going, I will score.
How many will he score, Dan?
Like, how many goals is he about to score?
Be honest.
I think there's a chance that Morgan Gigi scores like 60 goals.
Here's his totals.
He had, he played two games when he was 21 for Carolina.
He had three goals, which is actually sick.
Then he played 36 games.
He had three goals, not sick.
Then he played 73 games for the Cracken had seven goals.
Then he played 69 games for the Cracken.
the crack and had nine goals. Then he played 76 for Boston and had 17 and you kind of felt like,
wow, that was actually a great signing. Yeah. Because he could be a 20 goal guy. And now he has
20 goals on November 30th. And then he had 77 games for Boston, 33 goals. And I was like,
please God, don't overpay for him. Please. Please. He will regress to the mean. And he goes,
your mean, dude. Your mean. Your mean. Your mean, if you
think that I can't keep this up. I am about to score 50. He is, yeah, I think, I mean,
50 is like, if you have 20 goals on December 1st, I think you have to be like, I need to score 50.
I also say this, I say this in baseball all the time where, because it's such a long season,
but the trends don't really go away within a season. All the time, you'll see a guy hit
320 or, no one, it's 320 anymore, but like hits 305 one year. And, you know, it's 305 one year.
and then 270 the next year.
Yeah.
That happens all the time.
But rarely is someone a quarter of the way through the year hitting 305 and then goes, oh, I lost it.
It's like what you're doing that year usually kind of just stays, barring injury or whatever.
So point being, I don't think Morgan Geeky is going to go super hot start and now I suck.
I think this is his goal pace this year, legitimately.
Will he score 50 from now on?
I don't think so, but this year he's going to.
15 or even strength, Dan.
We were just talking about Wodewell.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
He leads to the league and even strength goals.
Like, he's just, he scores.
He scores goals.
He's a great, great, great goal score.
That is just like the simple fact right now.
Like, the last two years, he's just got a good scoring touch.
He's in the right place all the time.
He is, what's funny is he's having exactly the Chris Kreider 50 goal year.
He's got 20 goals and six assists.
Yeah.
Like he's legitimately on pace for like a 20 he's on pace for 20 or 50 goals and like 24 assists.
What do you think?
Which I've said so many times I genuinely don't get how players do this.
But it does feel like geeky is in a situation where he's like, listen, dude, like pasta is the best goal scorer on this team.
He is one of the most gifted goal scores of all time.
And I need to be a goal scorer as well.
I need to make sure we've got goals coming from other places.
and that's exactly what he's doing.
And it is just like it's truly electric that he scored 33 last year, like you said, got rewarded with that contract and immediately has made it pay off for the Bruins.
He's like, yep, and I have 20 already.
Criders, shooting percentage the year he had 52 was 20.2.
Yeah.
And this year, by the way, Criders is 26.1.
Yeah, he's buzzing.
Geeky last year was 22.
Yeah.
And this year, 28.
Dude, he shoots the puck and it goes in.
shoots four times he's scoring him all
Shoot more
That's exactly what he's doing
He just keep shooting shoot shoot
Dude dude we gotta become
Bruins fans
Everybody hates the shoot fan
Yeah
Bruins fans need to become the shoot fans
When Geeky's out
Yeah no no other time
But if Geeky has the puck
I need literally all of TD Garden
Screaming shoot
Oh yeah I mean it's like
It's absolutely unbelievable
And I don't want to do this
Because I feel like every single day
all people do is talk about Olympic roster shit
but it is one of those funny things
where this man leads the NHL in goals right now
he has to be being talked about with Team Canada
but I don't think they are
legitimately dude I know that sounds insane
I think he could have fucking 40
at just whenever the rosters are due
and they would go like this no
yeah it's like the guys picking the team
for those listening this is confirmed
like have heard it from their mouths.
The guys in charge of these rosters are not going,
what have you done for me lately?
Yeah.
Are they considering people who are playing well or not well right now?
Absolutely.
They're not looking for hot hands.
Yeah, but they're not literally going down the stat sheet and going,
oh, Macklin-Colabini and Connor Bredard are at the top of the league in points.
They're obviously on the team.
That's not what they're doing, just so people know.
Yeah.
So Morgan Geeky leads the NHL and goals and you would think like...
I'm dead ass, dude.
He could have 40, and they would literally be like this.
You're not coming.
I just think he's playing.
so well he's a great hockey player
and it's just it's cool to see
maybe goals that are not going in as frequently
the Los Angeles kicks
it is time for a conversation dude
the Kings have gone to
overtime 12
out of the 25 games
this season
what in the world
that's insane
like every game goes over time
every time I'm watching I'm like
ooh another tight one
And then boom, here we go.
It's exhausting.
It's absolutely exhausting.
The silver lining is Adrian Kempi is an OT.
Remember when we called empty net goals, Kempty net goals?
Kempty net goals, dude, Kempty Nets.
We need to figure out a way to turn his name into an O.T.
Goal pun.
Yeah.
We'll get on that.
I'll have you think about that now, begin.
The silver lining is he has just scored his 10th crew O.T.
Goal puts him second all time.
He passed Kopey.
who could catch him, who could catch them immediately
because they go to overtime every night and Dustin
Brown. Carter has 11
franchise lead. So Kempi's going to break that
this year. Because they go
to overtime. 50% of the time.
They go to overtime half of their
fucking games.
Unfortunately, for their
offense, they go to overtime because
they don't score that much.
Dude, they don't score that much.
And what's frustrating is
I was at the game on Saturday
Anton Forrest.
played incredible.
And Darcy has been playing really well.
It's funny, his numbers don't look stellar.
Yeah.
But you ask any member of that King's team, and they're like,
Dars is stealing us games left, right, and center.
And what I find interesting about this team is fans always are going,
what do we need to do?
Where's the goal scoring coming from?
Like, what move do we need to make?
And I'm here to tell you, this team,
Kevin Fiala leads the team with 10 goals.
And we talked about like Morgan Geeky has 20.
So like that's your league leader, 20.
Yeah.
So the kings who are in second in the Pacific,
their league leader,
has half of what the league leader has in goals.
Kempi has eight.
Corey Perry has seven.
Laugh has six.
Copi has five.
And then you've got like some of your other big dogs,
Byfield four, Trevor Moore three.
he got a goal taken back on Saturday.
Kuzmenko, three.
So I'm here to tell you,
when you have at 25 games in the season,
Kempi with only eight,
laugh with six,
even Kopee with five,
I say even Kopee because he's more of a dish man,
Q with four, Morsi with three,
Kuzmanko with three.
Your goal scoring is on this roster.
It is on, don't.
It should be.
No, you're right.
Yeah, it is on this roster.
You're right.
The issue is not, we don't have goal scores.
The issue is the system that the fucking kings are playing, and I'm done.
I'm done with it, dude.
Yeah.
I'm done with it.
Let him free.
Dowdy had that funny quote, I think it was two years ago.
Maybe it was last year where people were talking about the one, one two one, whatever,
or one three one.
And he was like, dude, like, if people want to bitch about it because it's hard for them to play
against and beat, then they can do that all they want.
I'm going, if you are doing this same system, like we saw Todd have it, now, Hiller gets the job, it's the same bullshit.
There's so much line jumbling that doesn't make any fucking sense.
And you are not dominating.
You are in playoffs, but you are not dominating.
And it just feels like every few games, they go on a road trip and they do great on the road and they just like save the vibes.
They save people's jobs.
But it's always this bullshit.
It's like, hammer the fucking under every single King's game.
And I'm just saying this can't last
And you are just wasting
Players' potential and players' abilities
With this system
And if you are not dominating in it
It you got to change it
And don't it doesn't this sound like the Nashville situation
Where I go you have these guys
Who have scored everywhere
And they're old
They're slightly different I guess in that regard
But you have these guys have scored everywhere
And now you're doing something where they're not scoring
And you're not winning
So do something
do something different.
Yeah.
And the Kings win enough,
which is what you just argued,
where they win enough
to make everyone happy
and in the mixer and believe.
We're talking to guys in the league,
like we are having conversation yesterday
with a very good player in the NHL
and he was talking about the Kings
and he was like, dude,
Kempi is unbelievable.
He said he could completely change a game by himself.
And he's not allowed to in this system.
And that is where I'm like,
dude, if you have a gimmicky,
I'm sorry, I hate that word,
If you have a unique system that's boring or like frustrating and it suppresses high flying offense, you better be fucking top of the league.
You better be so good and so annoying to play against that people are like, ah, fuck, it's ass, but they're, I mean, they're crushing and you're not.
Yeah.
So I just like, we are, I am, I am officially here saying to you guys that the kings are on like,
Any day now, any bad two-game stretch of like they score one or two goals and lose both those games, things could happen.
Yeah, that's absolutely correct.
What is a Canadian goodbye?
This new move might be my go-to from now on.
This blew my mind, boys.
Is this like an Irish exit type thing?
So, on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, is that what it was?
Blackout Wednesday.
Yeah.
To all those who celebrate.
On the Wednesday before Thanksgiving,
we were out with QB having a classic QB-D-D-P-C-P mess around.
Classic.
And at one point in the night, Q goes,
I'm not even talking to him.
I'm doing something, I'm looking this way, whatever,
and Q taps me on the shoulder, gets my attention,
actively gets my attention,
and goes, yo,
I think I'm an Irish.
And I go, oops.
You just didn't, though, because now you told me.
The Irish is actually, you just leave.
And he goes, ah, yeah, you're right.
Sorry.
And then he goes like this, dude.
Actually, I'm going to do a Canadian goodbye.
And I go, what's a Canadian goodbye?
And he goes, I tell everyone I'm leaving, but I just say, sorry.
I got to go.
Sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry.
Just apologize to everybody.
Make it seem like something bad half.
You don't Irish.
Because then people are like, fuck, dude, you fucking Irish, you left.
And you don't walk up and go, hey, I got to go.
And everyone's like, no, dude, like this sucks.
You go, I'm leaving.
Sorry.
Sorry. I'm leaving.
I'm leaving.
Sorry.
And he did it to everyone.
And everyone, I guess, that's all right.
And it was flawless.
I texted in the morning and I was like, Canadian goodbyes are the only thing I will ever do.
You know how much I hate leaving.
I always, I get stuck so long at places because I'm too uncomfortable to leave.
but I also passionately hate irishing because then everyone gets mad at me later.
This has changed everything, dude.
Sorry. Sorry.
This is genius.
This is revolutionary for me too because I Irish all the time.
All the time. You Irish all the time.
I Irish all the time.
And you know what bothers me is I Irish and nothing stresses me up more than when my phone lights up and it's a text from someone at the place I just Irish.
Who has noticed?
Because I know that that text is like, you did not.
just leave.
And frankly,
QB sent me one of those
because I Irish that night.
He actually sent me
the funniest text I've ever got in my life.
So I go, to be clear,
we go out,
I'm texting him all day.
Like, come out, come out, come out.
He was golfing, doing a bunch of shit.
And then he was like, all right, fine, I'll come.
But to be fair to me,
I was like, I have to leave at a certain time.
He showed up like an hour and a half
before I had to leave.
And then I left,
and I Irish.
And I want to say, though,
I knew he had to leave
and I and QB is going to, well, I don't know if he's going to listen to this,
but he's about to find out if he does.
I lied to his face because I knew you had to leave.
You left.
And he goes, he noticed and goes, where's Dan?
And I go, I think he's taking a lap because I knew I knew what was going to happen.
I was like, he's gone.
I'm trying to cover for you.
It was genuinely, it was the funniest text I've ever got on an Irish.
I left and then as I'm leaving, I'm in my Uber and I just, my phone lights up with
the text from him and it just says, no way.
Like couldn't believe
He was like you son of a bitch
You scumbag rat
And I was like I you came too late
So you were Irish
Yeah
And you felt shitty about it
And I did
That's what I was getting into is like
That getting that text
From people who you have just Irished on
And they're like did you leave
The did you the incredulous did you leave
And then you just have to go
Dude yeah
Or you ignore it
And be even like more
of a piece of shit, which I've done and do often.
This is a, this is revolutionary.
Quentin Byville is a genius, dude.
He literally goes, he goes, it was the same night.
You Irish.
And then he goes, I'm going to Irish.
And then he goes, I'm going to Canadian goodbye.
I've invented the Canadian goodbye.
We need to, and we're making this a thing.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
This is now a thing.
The Canadian goodbye is now a thing.
I'm going to do this all for the rest of the month.
And do you test it out.
Sorry, sorry.
Sorry.
You go like, you go like, hey, I'm so sorry, I got to go.
Sorry.
Sorry.
You add the sorry.
Fuck.
This is genius.
I add the sorry when I'm getting through a big group.
If I'm at a bar and you're trying to get from one end to the other,
you'd not believe the amount of sorries that come out of my mouth.
I'm sliding by, I go, hey, I'm so sorry.
So I'm so sorry.
And people are always like, oh, yeah, no, you're good.
I say this.
I'm just going to sneak right back.
I think they think something's wrong.
Yeah.
So they're like, oh, no, is everything okay?
Like, yeah, go for it.
So if I go like this, I'm so sorry, I got to go.
They go, oh, yeah, it's all right.
Yeah.
This is, this is revolutionary.
Sometimes you see a move and you, oh, we get it called Dolan.
We get to tell Dolan about this.
Yeah.
Sometimes you see a move that is so genius after.
You think about it later and you're like, oh, wow, that was awesome.
This was a bright shining star in the moment.
The second he said it to me and then started executing it, I realized I was witnessing greatness.
And that is a special feeling.
And I feel honored to have seen, I feel honored to have seen the first ever Canadian goodbye.
and I feel proud to know that I will be Canadian,
I will continue this tradition through the years and through the generations,
and people will be Canadian goodbying until the sun burns the earth up.
And Canada's the last place left because it's so cold.
This is one of the greatest moves I've ever heard in my entire life,
and I can't wait to implement it every single time I go anywhere for the rest of my life.
Thank you, Kew.
Unbelievable.
Okay, taking a quick break, and then we will be back.
All right, folks, it is time to talk about skims.
Now, I know what you're thinking, boys.
You're thinking, ah, skims, not for me.
This is a segment for the gals.
You would be wrong, sir.
Skims is making some of the best underwear in the game,
and now they are officially hooking it up for the boys.
I'm a big underwear guy.
I know that sounds crazy.
It sounds like a weird thing to say,
but I'm telling you right now,
I take a lot of pride in my underwear.
I love having it nice, organized.
I color coordinate them with my outfits,
even though no one's seeing it.
I know about it, and I like it.
And I also think you've got to be comfortable down there.
Whenever I see the boys, whenever we're at Beer League, people are changing, getting ready to get into their gear,
and I see guys who are wearing boxers and briefs that they've clearly had for 10 years.
I'm talking about CP right now.
It's a disaster.
There's holes in them.
They look loose and baggy and they're not well-fitting.
There's no way they're comfortable.
It's probably scratchy material.
No, no, no, no, no.
If there's any piece of clothing that you need on your body to be comfortable and fantastic, it is your underwear.
So let's talk about skims men right now.
Skims Men's is bringing you some of the best briefs and boxers in the game.
For me, I love the stretch 5 inch and I love the cotton 5 inch.
I use them from different things.
The colors and the design is just so nice.
I love the cool skims tag right on the front.
The colors are like these cool earth tones.
They've got classic white as well, but I'm just vibing it completely in every single way.
The stretch feels more like an athletic feel.
If you like wearing compression shorts or things like that when you're working out,
skims is perfect for that. It's perfect for if you're on a nice brisk walk, things like, you know,
if you're just being active and physical. But the cottons, the five inch cotton, they're so sleek
looking, they're so comfortable. They hug perfectly. They breathe incredibly well. There's plenty of
room for your business down there. Nothing's bunched up. Nothing gets tangled. They're fantastic.
And I'm telling you again, they look so sleek. Even though no one's seeing it, you're going to
feel good. And that's what it's all about. Look good, feel good, feel good, play good.
Skims is going to do that for you.
I've been hearing about skims forever.
Alice loves skim, she wears it all the time.
I'm sure your girlfriends, your wives, things like that.
People are talking about how great skims it is now.
It's for the boys too.
We've got the holiday season coming up.
So this is a perfect gift for anyone.
Men, women, anything else in your lives, get skims right now.
So we're going to go to skims.com and you are going to let them know that we sent you.
After you place your order, you're going to select podcast in the survey, select our show,
Empty Netters.
and you are going to get hooked up with all of this amazing skim stuff with your holiday shopping.
If you were looking for the perfect gift this season, the skims holiday shop is now open at skims.com.
Take care of everybody.
Our Frames has to be one of the coolest gifts on earth this holiday season.
I love taking pictures on my phone.
I love hanging pictures at the house, but I know, I'm running out of wall space.
I never know what to do.
I never know where to put it.
But aura frames lets you load all your favorite memories and put it in one frame.
It's actually incredible.
So this is your answer to the holiday gifting struggle that you're trying to figure it out
because when I'm like cramming my Christmas shopping, it's Black Friday, it's Iron Monday,
I got to do everything.
ORAFrames gets you dialed.
Okay?
My favorite parts are you can preload photos before it ships, which is sick because then someone
can open up and it's already there.
You can load them.
You can keep adding, by the way.
When you order them, you can keep adding them from anywhere.
And you can personalize it.
You can add a message before it even arrives, which is so sick.
And it's, listen, this thing is one of the coolest gifts going because it works for anyone.
It's great for parents, for grandparents, for siblings, new friends, in-laws, whatever you're feeling,
aura frames can get you dialed in.
And they come beautifully packaged.
It's a premium gift box, no price tag on it.
And you can preload the photos, like I said, and it feels like a personal time capsule, right?
That just from you to them were capturing all these amazing memories.
and I love that so much because I'm a big, I get bored and I'll just cruise my phone.
Like I'll just cruise my phone going through the camera all finding pictures I love.
And now ORAFram let you do that in a beautifully package display hanging on your wall for your world to see of all your favorite memories.
So incredibly awesome.
So for a limited time, you can save on this perfect gift by visitingoraframes.com.
And you can get 35 bucks off their best selling CarverMatt Frames, which is named number one by Wirecutter by using promo
code empty netters. That's E-M-P-T-Y-N-E-T-E-R-S at checkout. So you're going to ORAF frames. A-U-R-A-Frams.
Promocode Empty Netters. This deal is exclusive to our listeners and the frames sell out fast.
So order yours now to get it in time for the holidays and support the show by mentioning us at checkout terms and conditions apply.
You're going to love these babies. Now it is time for Netters College Hock Drop. We had a Thanksgiving weekend packed full of college hockey
action. Let's get into everything that happened. CP, take us through some of the games and we'll get
into our new ranking as well. Well, the one I highlighted for Friday, for Black Friday, was the
Dartmouth boys. And Dartmouth stay hot, dude. Dartmouth stay very hot. I named them 10 in my, in our
rankings last week. And they beat, in the game I picked out, they beat Vermont 7-2 on Friday.
And then, dude, 1-0-0-Wing Merrimack Saturday.
So it's...
I know the haters are still going to be there
because those weren't massive ranked wins,
but you play to win the game.
Correct.
And they have won.
They have won every game.
They have won every single game.
It's unbelievable.
Michigan State, after a frustrating weekend,
they bounce back.
They get wins against Colgate 5-2
on Wednesday and 4-1 on Friday.
Huge bounce back, and that's what we talked about, right?
these good teams. If you want to be a great team, you've got to respond to your losses.
North Dakota takes care of Bemidji, 5, 3, and 2-1. And then we got a split. Providence and
Colorado College has been funny this year, right? You keep saying they're so good, they're so good,
and they are, but they're not that good, but they are such a tough game. I've seen a lot of really
good teams to have trouble with them. Providence went there, beat them 3-2 on Friday, but then lost you
won on Saturday. Colorado College, you cannot sleep on them when you see them on the schedule.
Yeah, absolutely true.
I like their game.
Like, they're gritty.
They're one of those teams that's like, feels like a trap to everyone.
Anytime someone's playing Colorado College, I'm like, that could be a loss.
BU, this is the game you highlighted.
Really fun game here.
B.U. Cornell heads to B.U.
B.U gets a two-one win on Saturday.
Cole Eisenman with the winner in the third period.
You love to see it, little Nettors bump.
But that's a big B.U.
Yeah, they needed that.
They actually
Top 20 ranked Cornell
going into BU
when they're 19
that is a monster
monster win.
But the game
that I really loved
was Denver.
Oh yeah, yeah.
This is the one you highlighted.
Yeah.
Denver,
said an all-time jersey matchup.
Number four Denver
at home to Minnesota
lost 6-5
and OT in a fucking
crazy game.
Bro, that was dicking
was nuts.
Denver goes down 3-1,
4-2 and 5-4.
They battled until the end
but the gophers were just fucking going crazy.
You mentioned if this is the time where Minnesota turns their season around,
that would be wild.
But that is a big win and a big loss for Denver.
And so much preseason hype from Minnesota, which I've said so many times.
So, and who did they just beat?
Remember we were chirping another team?
I'm going to check right now.
But if they string a few together, I think they started like fucking three and five or two
and five.
It was so bad.
Okay, right now they're seven, nine, and one.
which is still not good.
Yeah, not good at all, especially with their preseason ranking
and what everyone expects from Minnesota.
They beat Denver.
Oh, yeah, and they beat Penn State.
So they got a split with Penn State, who, you know, they got their own issues.
But like maybe you roll that into win against Penn State, two one loss,
but tight, tight game against Penn State beat Denver.
And then you got Ohio State, Ohio State,
Bemidji, two more against Penn State, Michigan, Michigan, Michigan,
State.
Like, if you can string, imagine they sweep Ohio State tough on the road,
sweep or get the one win against Bemidji
and then, God, if you could get the split against Penn State.
Tough schedule, but I just think that would be a really fun story
if the gophers got back in the mixer here.
It would be unbelievable.
Dan and your boys, the Michigan boys, they went to Cambridge
and beat Harvard twice, 5-1 and 4-3,
and overtime Will Harcroft four goals on the weekend,
including the OT winner, which is just a hell of a trip to Boston.
It is unbelievable.
You love to see it.
The OT one freaks me out a little bit.
But, you know, that's...
There's always tight games, there's always tight games.
Those are tight games. Those are tight games that you need to handle.
And they did.
Yep.
And that's that.
And, yeah, Horikoff is just, my God, he's just a phenomenal player and he's just
scoring an unbelievable clip.
And you love to see when Michigan gets that number one spot, they don't slip up.
Yeah.
So I needed that too after the Ohio State football game.
Yeah, yeah.
You could not have Michigan
just like slump in against Harvard.
So that's huge.
Kenebiak beats Holy Cross 7-6 and O-T
in an insane game.
Up 3-0, Holy Cross ties it.
Q goes up 6-3.
Holy Cross ties it again.
QU wins it.
Eight goals scored in the third period.
Fucking mad.
It's actually the sickest game.
Like true, true madness.
The highlights are bed-loat.
Yeah.
Two-win week, they beat Stonehill as well.
BC, big Notre Dame victory.
You love to see it.
Northeastern, big win over Brown.
Clarkson, dude, beats UMass.
Number 18, UMass, Lull, 2-0.
And Clarkson continues to be this interesting team where it's like it on the schedule.
It's like, yeah, it's an easy one.
Yep.
And then bang.
They just like beat teams.
And it's like, what the hell is going on?
And then, dude, your boys, Minnesota State.
Yeah, no, looking good.
Went to Northern Michigan over the weekend, won four nothing on Friday, three, two on Saturday.
I always say this.
if you can just take care of those of those quote unquote winnable weekends, right?
Like just get, do your job.
I don't care.
You just said the Michigan Harvard thing old time.
It doesn't matter.
Just fucking win those games.
Find a way to win those games.
Yeah.
Because that's what all adds up at the end because only a few teams are going to win their conferences
and you just want these at large bids.
And you do that by being like we are consistent.
They, at large people, the teams that make it at large get in because tournament value
use consistency and that's that's how you prove it um some other cool things union uh had a game on
friday um number 20 union they beat sacred heart 81 beat down and then this just pumped me up
Arizona state beat ohio state at home three two and overtime on Friday and four three
and overtime on saturday similar to the gophers if Arizona state which had a lot of preseason hype
could pull their season out of the gutter that would be sick and an awesome comeback story and
I don't even know how it will end, but the Minnesota and Arizona State being in the tournament conversation come March would fire me up, even if they don't make it. I just want it to be a real sweat for everybody. So I'm rooting for them on that front. Yeah, me too. Do you want to get into our new rankings? Yes. Who do you have as one? Michigan stays one, obviously. Michigan stays one obviously. I think Wisconsin stays too.
Didn't we have Wisconsin at two?
I think we did not.
Did we not have Michigan State?
No, I think we had, I think we put Wisconsin at two.
Maybe we put, no, I think we put Wisconsin at two, and I want to keep them at two.
No.
Yep.
I have to go, I have to go Michigan State, dude.
So you're just going to punish Wisconsin for not doing anything?
Yeah, and like Michigan State wins, they won games.
Like, they bounced back.
Like Michigan State is like, we keep getting into conflict over like what this, what our ranking is.
And I do think it needs to be a ranking of the best teams in college hockey, not based on what happened last weekend.
Okay, then Michigan State is won.
No, Michigan is obviously one.
They were won the previous weekend.
They just won two games.
Are you an idiot?
Are you a dumb person?
No, but if you're saying nothing matters about what they've done this past week, just who's better, Michigan State is the best team in the country.
Even though that they just got waxed by Michigan.
Michigan State is the best team in the country, yes.
This is absolutely insane.
Michigan is one.
Michigan State is two.
Okay.
It's got to be a combination of both.
Okay, then Wisconsin's two.
Absolutely not.
What is wrong with your idiot brain?
What do you mean?
Wisconsin just beat the wheels off Michigan State.
Why would Michigan State be ahead of them?
If your level of stupidity is so remarkable sometimes.
How is that stupid?
Like what do you want to, if it doesn't matter what's happened, then fine.
No, it's a combination.
Okay, but Wisconsin pumped Michigan State twice in Michigan State.
They did.
So certainly.
But then they've lost bad games that Michigan has it.
Michigan State, I mean.
I would go Wisconsin over Michigan State considering they beat them twice in Michigan State.
And then haven't lost since.
Yeah.
Like they've done nothing wrong.
Okay.
Just give me your top 10.
I'm doing it by myself.
No, no.
Michigan, Wisconsin.
Now is Michigan State out of the top 10 for you?
No, they were three last week.
I will probably keep them three for winning again.
Okay.
So, Michigan, Wisconsin, Michigan State.
Where do you have Denver and Duluth?
Like, does Quinnipiac jump up way high for you here?
Does Dartmouth jump up way high for you here?
Yeah, Dartmouth deserves to be, maybe not top.
Quinnipeak deserves some.
love. Like, definitely. I want to punish Denver for a Minnesota loss. Um, I want to put North Dakota
pretty high for their, because they just keep winning, dude. Like, I would actually go, I'd be down
to go them four. At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good
health from the big milestones to the quiet winds. That's why our annual health assessment
offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides a clear picture of your health today.
And may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer. A healthier
you means more moments to cherish. Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today. Medcan,
live well for life. Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started. I'd be down to go North Dakota
4 and then I can get into a Duluth. No, Dak, high. I like that. I like that call. I think
Dartmouth is like, I want to go Dartmouth top 5. I love it. Okay, North Dakota 4, Dartmouth 5. Okay,
sweet so we're going michigan wisconsin michigan state north dakota dartmouth yep okay quinipiac six
quinopee x six dilute seven oh i did fuck no deluth deluth dulaith six okay deluth six
quinipia x seven Denver eight Denver eight but that yeah but they should get they should get
punished though. Denver 8.
Where's Western Michigan in here for you? Maybe they come in nine. Maybe Western Michigan
comes in nine. That feels fair. Yeah. And do you want to go Minnesota State? Do you want to
go Penn State? Yeah. That's what I'm trying to figure out if you bump Penn State out.
I would go, I would go. Let's go. Or Northeastern though. Northeastern is pretty good.
Northeastern has been pretty good. But at the same time. Let's go Minnesota State.
dude. Let's go Minnesota State 10.
Over nor... I kind of like where your head's at with Northeastern.
Okay, fine. Northeastern 10.
Yeah. North Eastern 10. Michigan, Wisconsin, Michigan State. North Dakota.
Dartmouth. Yep.
Duluth. Yep. Denver. Western... No, no. Quinnipeak, Duluth.
Quinepeak, Duluth.
Winnipeg, Duluth. Denver. Western Michigan. Northeast.
Northeastern. That is our new top 10. Love to see it. All right.
And now, games of the week.
Duluth at Western Michigan,
going to be an absolutely unbelievable weekend of college hockey.
Sike!
It's obvious.
Michigan State, Michigan.
Top two teams in the country,
unless you're awesome you think Wisconsin is number two.
Now we'll know.
Michigan, Michigan State.
East Lansing on Friday, Ann Arbor on Saturday.
If there's, like we said,
If there's any game that you are watching, it is this matchup this weekend.
Fucking unbelievable.
Quick ad break and then we are back with some games.
It is about that time to talk about our new favorite sponsor of the pod and that is Lucy,
giving us the best nicotine experience in the game, always satisfying and always tobacco-free,
designed by scientists to deliver you that amazing experience.
Lucy is hooking you guys up with all of the levels, all of the flavors.
I keep talking about that espresso flavor as a non-coffee drinker, getting that dash of coffee,
and that espresso is so, so nice, especially now that we're in December, we're in the holiday season,
I want to feel warm and cozy, and that's the thing, whether you want four milligrams,
eight or 12, and whatever vibe you need, if you need it to relax, if you need it for energy,
if you need it to dial in and focus, Lucy's going to take care of you.
I hit all of those things.
when I am golfing and I need to get dialed in and birdie hunt, bang, I pop a Lucy in,
whether it be a pouch or a breaker for some little extra flavor, I get so focused.
It's unbelievable.
But then at the same time, hanging out at night, have a nice dinner, want to relax on the
couch, get some work done, watch some movies, things like that.
I'm in my Christmas movie run right now.
Pop a Lucian as well, and I'm just melting into the couch feeling fantastic.
Lucy is just going to be your best friend in the nicotine game.
No questions asked.
get you on board and on the train.
We're going to level up your nicotine routine with Lucy by going to lucy.com
slash Friday.
You're going to use promo code Friday to get 20% off your first order.
Lucy has a 30-day refund policy if you change your mind.
Again, that's lucy.com.com.
dot CO, use promo code Friday to get 20% off.
Lucy products are only for adults of legal age and every customer is age verified.
This is a product that contains nicotine and nicotine is a
addictive chemical.
We are back and now we are getting into a beer league hotline.
All right.
Got a good one for you this week.
We're in the C league.
The other night, a guy on the other team goes in offside.
The whistle blows and he shoots on our goalie.
Obviously, our goalie charges him and a brawl ensues.
A teammate goes up to the guy and says,
what's your fucking problem
turns out
the guy had taken his hearing aid out
and wasn't wearing any contacts
he was playing completely deaf
and basically blind
our goalie was suspended
for one game
for starting the fight
we appealed
and he was reinstated
but nothing for Helen Keller
curious about your thoughts
okay okay okay
what the fuck is going on here
I'm too hungover
I'm too hungover for this
We got to talk about what happened.
Guy goes outside.
So,
so guy, clear whistle.
Comes in offside, whistle.
Clear whistle.
Everyone stops.
Takes a shot on the goalie.
Fire slap shot on the goal.
Goley charges him and...
Which I completely support.
I know you laughed, but like,
hammer slap shot.
Clear whistle, hammer slap shot on the goal.
Yeah.
I go, you're now going to get punched and that's expected.
Yeah.
So goalie charges him.
Brawl ensues.
Someone on the team goes up to the guy and goes,
What the fuck's your problem?
The guy goes like this.
I literally can't hear or see anything.
I didn't hear the whistle.
I couldn't hear the fucking whistle.
I don't have my hearing aids in.
What?
What are you doing?
Taking...
What are you doing on the ice?
I can't believe any of this.
There's a chance...
The contacts throws me a little bit.
Because I don't know how blind he is.
Well, clearly he's...
good enough to play without anyone questioning it previously.
That's what I'm saying. It's a great point.
The contacts, he can't be that blind because he's playing.
He hit the puck.
He swung a stick and he hit a puck.
So he can't be that blind.
Do you think that this, okay, I've got it.
There's a chance that the hearing aid just puts you, helps you just get in the zone.
Clear the mechanism.
You know, he can't hear anything.
I can believe that he could play throughout the game without a hearing aid.
But like at a certain point, like communication is important.
Like, how was he not hearing teammates yell if he can't hear the whistle?
I've got what's happened here.
Keep in mind, at the end of this, the goalie was sussied.
Yes, because he ran and punched someone.
Then they appealed and he was reinstated.
Because they went, the man was dead.
But that's not what, that doesn't make sense.
Like, the guy shoots the puck.
Yeah. Goalie charges him.
Brawl happens.
Goalie is suspended.
And then they appeal.
And like, there's no new information for the goal.
Yeah, right.
The only appeal should have changed if the guy got suspended and he was like, dude, I'm death.
And they went, oh, sorry.
So this is what's crazy is like the goalie was the only one who saw ramifications here.
And then he gets reinstated.
So all is fine.
And they're going nothing for Helen Keller.
I am, we've got a Kaiser-Sosay situation on our hands.
This guy is not deaf, nor is he blind.
He doesn't even wear contact.
He, correct.
They go, he didn't have his contact.
He goes, he doesn't need contacts.
I forgot to put my contacts in.
Sike, I never wear them.
In 2020, 22.
Dude, this guy just came with the best excuse in the book.
They went like this.
What the fuck are you doing?
And he goes like this.
I'm literally blind and deaf.
And someone went, oh, sorry.
He could talk, actually.
No, I'm not going to do it.
Do it.
No, do it.
No, come on.
Do it.
Do it.
Do it.
I'm not going to do a deaf voice.
You were about to do it.
Do it.
You were about to do it.
Do it, Chris.
See, everyone wants to hear it.
Off camera, maybe.
No, do your deaf voice.
Come on.
That's, that'll be great.
See how that goes.
I'm not going to do it.
You sure?
Yeah.
All right.
But here's the thing.
Did the league revoke the suspension because they went like this?
We don't like this.
We don't like the situation.
We get a deaf guy playing.
That's not proper equipment.
We got to, you're not suspended anymore because we got to, this can't be a story.
We can't have a goalie telling everybody.
that I got suspended because I punched a guy
who was playing deaf. They immediately
they just washed all that. I can't believe
they suspended the goal. I can't believe they didn't just go like this.
Everyone forget this happened and start playing again because we can't
have abelist issues. Yes. Yes.
Like this rink folds. If they
go, they've banned, they've, someone
is getting in trouble for
being deaf. Here is the painful reality.
This guy is
a liar. Yeah. And
also a genius. He is
a complete faker. He's not blind or
deaf. I want to see a photo
of your hearing aids or otherwise
this is just Kaiser-soe say on ice
the hearing aids I can understand more
right so if you're putting on a helmet I could see how
hearing aids could like impede that
and then especially if it's like one of the
wraparound ones exactly yeah also you don't
want that to fall out on the ice someone runs that over
that's got to be like contact there's no
reason why contacts if you're
already wearing contacts there's no reason
where like well can't have these on the ice
yeah you know this guy
went home he had a 1030 p.m. game
he was winding down for the night
dude. He took out his earing aid, took his contacts out. He was lying down and he's like, shit, I got a game.
Dude, buddy. So then he drove to the game blind to death at night. But he never passes either.
You know, you're open all game. Oh yeah. He can't see. Hey, hey, Steve, Steve. It's just like nothing.
Can't hear anyone. Doesn't cover anyone in the D zone. Doesn't rotate. Can't hear anything. Can't hear a whistle.
The whistle. The whistle is like if you can't hear the whistle, then you're not hearing any of your teammates.
Yeah. Can't hear anything. He probably didn't even know what they were.
yelling at him. When that guy came up and said, what's your fucking problem? He must
lip breed. He must lip read. Because otherwise, I didn't even hear that. I mean, this is
insane. Put the contacts in. Yeah. Put your contact in. What do you do? I'm going to use
an excuse in my life going forward. Next time I do something bad. People are like, what the
fuck? I'm going to go like this. Dude, I took my hearing aids out and I have no confidence.
Canadian goodbyes and I'm deaf. Yeah. And blind. It will get me out of everything moving
forward. Also, if you go like this, I forgot to put contacts in, you're not lying technically.
Yeah. Like I don't wear contacts. I don't wear glasses.
There you go. It's true. I'm not wearing a hearing aid or contact.
Yeah. Yeah. That's the way you say it. I don't have a hearing aid in and I don't have contacts on.
That would work for most situations. I think people go like this. Oh. Oh. Okay. All good. Just like be more careful, dude. And I go, yeah. Sean, there's an emoji on Apple where it's for being deaf. And the emoji is a guy. You know, there's like the dude, little guy doing shit.
Yeah, the emoji.
Well, no, the emoji is like a face.
Like there's a guy.
Well, he's like the guy.
It's like the head and shoulders.
Yeah, the head and shoulders.
Yeah.
So I was trying to say.
And there's one where the guy's going like this because he's deaf.
He's being like, I'm deaf.
And our boy, Christian, thought it was like, number one.
Like, he's like dope.
So he always sends it for like, we'd be like, oh, dude, you know, like this sick thing
happening.
He'd be like, and I'm like, are you, are you deaf?
Dude, like what is going on?
But now it's our thing.
Like, it's like.
Oh, fuck.
It's my favorite emoji in the fucking phone.
Boom.
Number one.
Incredible.
Okay.
We got to go to a Bauer hockey blind ranking because our boys at Bauer give us everything.
They literally give me everything.
They give me life.
They let me play hockey.
They give me gloves, skates, pants, helmets, and especially the pulse, the greatest stick on earth.
And today they're giving us a blind ranking.
We are doing best passers in the league.
Come on.
Number one.
Well, the first one I'm saying, not necessarily number one.
Adam Fox.
Ah, RIP.
RIP, RIP, thoughts and prayers.
Hmm.
In crazy, he's having such, what it was RIP, having such a good season,
that it makes me want to go higher than I was going to go.
He...
Because there are visionaries out there.
I agree.
Yeah, like, we're doing...
right now. Yeah, right now. That's actually the league right now. I mean, Foxy's got like 23 assists.
That's what I'm saying. So now I'm kind of like three. Yeah. Yeah. I hate normally I hate a three, but I this, he moved himself up from a five to a three. Yeah. Three. He's dishing. All right. Troy Terry.
Man. So amidst all of the electric factory action going on in Anaheim, Troy Terry gets left out of the conversation.
far too often. I know. And they have, it's great to have a guy like him who has his skill set as a
goal score, which he does. Yeah. But he doesn't even need it because you have a Cutter Gautier,
who is a fucking laser rocket machine. Yeah. You have a Chris Kreider who all he does is score.
You have a Frank Vitrano who fucking wires the puck, right? Troy Terry can actually be like,
I'll just, I'll dish. But he's got seven goals, 22 assists, Troy Terry, better than I'm Fox.
I almost want to go no
because they're a visionaries.
I think we go four. I think we go four.
Okay. Conor McDavid.
And I think...
League leader. Yep. But he's not the best passer.
Oh, I think you're wrong.
I think he does crazy things with the puck.
Me too. I think... I'm talking in the league. I'm not talking for this time, right?
I think he's probably a top three passer in the league.
I think he's three.
but I would go
I would go two here to save room for that
but if you want to go one here
I'll happily be
I'll happily die with Connor McDavid as my best passer
man
I will go two
yeah save same same great too
I don't know why I'm doing that though
I gave you with one if you wanted
I can there's only like one guy
that I'm like and again it's right now too
we have to live in the right now right now right now
and that is tough for me.
Two.
Two, okay.
Fuck.
Nathan McKinn.
Shit.
Because that's not who I wanted up there.
Yeah, and you're going to put him five.
I think you maybe have to.
Maybe you have to.
He gets his assist by just being a bull.
He's a bull.
And he's a willing pastor, Dan.
He's a willing pastor, but he's a goal score.
Nathan McKinn is a goal score.
This blind ranking is absolutely fuck.
This is so bad.
Only because we didn't put Connor one.
Yeah.
I think we've got to go Nate 5.
I just...
He's a bull.
He's a bull, then.
He's a bulls don't pass.
No.
Actually, they do pass.
They pass the guy.
We are going one.
Bulls pass all the time.
We are going one because there's just no...
Nothing could come that would fix this so well that we can live with Nate at 5.
But something could come that would be even worse.
If the best passer, if one of the best passer, if one of them,
of the best two passes in the league comes and you put them at five, then I will quit this show.
You keep threatening that.
You can't threaten that.
This might be my last day on the job. I almost quit before I came in today.
I think I want to go on. Okay. No, but you can overrule me. If you feel strong, you gave me McDavid, too.
I'll give you Nate at one. Who is five?
Number five is Connor Bedard.
I did it. I did it. And he, I want to say.
on record. I've said this many times.
People think Boudard is Matthews,
where he just scores and scores. But he is not.
He's incredible. He passes the puck all the time.
He's a willing pastor. He's a great passer.
But for how badly
I thought this maybe was about to go,
I can live with that.
That's a good result. I can live with that.
I am going to say, again, however,
this is a very bad list.
Not good. Well, it's actually not that bad.
It could have been worse. It could have been way worse.
I have to put McKinnon number five.
Yeah. That would have been worse.
You know what? It's not that bad.
This isn't that bad.
I think a lot of Colorado fans will be like, Nate is better.
I'm passing.
Yeah, and they're wrong, but this is not that bad.
Okay, that is a fantastic, fantastic episode of the podcast.
Beautiful stuff, folks.
Go on to the merch store.
It is going to be, we still got a bit of a sale going on.
It's Cyber Monday in the recording, but, you know, it's December when you're listening.
But rock in the hat, rocking the shirt.
CP's got one of the hoodies on.
Great merch.
Guys, go give us five-star reviews on Spotify and Apple.
please please please go subscribe to the YouTube please please please please we love you so much got some
fun stuff new interviews coming out this week new drops coming this week it's all beautiful
stuff we'll see you next episode and until then skate hard
