Empty Netters Podcast - Massive OVERREACTIONS After Game 1 of the NHL Season

Episode Date: October 9, 2025

The NHL is back babyyyyyy! We’ve got live action being discussed on the pod and it’s never felt better. Tough start for the Rangers and the Kings. And how did Mitch Marner fare in his Vegas debut?... More frozen frenzies please because they boys are juiced about this weekend’s slate. Kyle Connor got his bag and it’s the steal of the year. Ekholm takes a pay cut and the Oilers are doing something. And the age old debate of the best possible chicken tendie has everyone fired up. Plus, play along with a game of Connective Tissue NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Brand new Lightstrike flavor dropping this September called Blue Rush. Super refreshing mix of berry and yuzu flavors. As always, it’s non-carbonated, comes in a resealable bottle, made with 10% coconut water and 5% alcohol by volume. Check https://DRINKLIGHTSTRIKE.COM to find it near you Order your LUCY Today by going to https://www.lucy.co/Friday and use promo code FRIDAY for 20% off your first order. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast. Can you believe what this has become? There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman. Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks. Did TR show you the sauna cycle or was that all year? No, no, I invented that. Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check. That's kind of nice.
Starting point is 00:00:24 Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys. That's where this pod came to life. Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters, podcast brought to you by BetMGM. I'm your host, Dan Powers. We've got producer Redmond on the sticks again. Come on, baby. And with me over here is a man who has never used face wash a day in his life. He puts bar soap on his face like a common prisoner. Chris Powers. Does the same thing. Does the same thing as always. How are you? I'm great. You look great. Go like this. You have a little schmutz. No, under your chin. Yeah, you got it. Oh, I have
Starting point is 00:01:02 towel shmots. It was towel fluff. It was towel fluff. Guy washes his face with some bullshit designer face, so I can't get towel off his face. Chris waited, too, until we were recording to get to tell you, too. Really? Scumbag, washed his face with a million dollars, so can't get the towel off his face. That's what you get.
Starting point is 00:01:17 That's what you get when you buy nice fluffy towels like a prissy bitch. Damn! Here I am, trying to make fun of you. Yeah, how does that feel? Well, it feels like I'm reaping what I sell. Yeah. Yeah, yeah, you should. Hey, let me tell you.
Starting point is 00:01:32 I've got a surprise for you. Oh, weeks ago on the pod, I told you that I discovered something on Instagram popped up and I said it looked like one of the most interesting and revolutionary devices I've ever seen. And you called it stupid. I don't remember what this is. I call a lot of stuff stupid. And I'm here to prove you wrong. All right. Or right.
Starting point is 00:01:54 Are you prepared? Yeah. Oh. Oh, yeah. What the fuck is this thing called? The Crunch Cup, dude. A crunch cup, a device where you can eat your cereal on the go. And listen, I'm not a bad guy.
Starting point is 00:02:13 If I recall, you're a fan of Reese's puffs. I am. I love Reese's Puffs, dude. So there's a crunch cup for you as well. I've got to fill them up. Oh, yeah. So here's the thing, folks. Right now I got what appears to be like travel mugs.
Starting point is 00:02:26 Yeah, right. But they've got a nice cylinder of cereal. That comes right out. Comes right out. And how do you get it in there? You just... So it's a nice cylinder of cereal. Oh, this is open.
Starting point is 00:02:38 Did you have to pour it in this? Or does this... That on screws. This... It unscrews. Relax. Oh, oh, oh, shit, it does. So now I got to fill the cup up with milk.
Starting point is 00:02:49 And why don't you, for the people listening, show them how you say milk. Oh, I say, I say milk. And it sucks. I don't know why that happened. And I actually work really hard to not do that when every time I'm about to say the word. Because actually, that word has come up much less in my life than when you're young. because I think you're drinking a lot of it when you're younger. So I don't even say the word very much now.
Starting point is 00:03:09 But when I do say it, I try to be like, think, think. You can hear it though. When you say it, you can hear it. I'm like milk. Because like I can't, when I say out, I can't hear it. Oh yeah. It sounds the same. But that's an accent thing.
Starting point is 00:03:22 This is an idiot thing. Yeah, I don't, I think it's spelled down. But no, Redd, I can't hear it either. I think, I can think it before I say it. But if I'm going without thinking, I just, I don't even notice it. I had a friend that said, palo. It's for pillow. And that's really bad.
Starting point is 00:03:37 That's horrible. I hate that. Yeah. All right, so I've filled the cup up with milk to the right line. And I... You're just going to lower that right in there. Has that been cleaned? Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:03:48 I washed him. No, he didn't. Oh, yeah, that's right out. That line's a good line. That's a good line. And now you just screw it on there. So that's all you got to do. But here's the key.
Starting point is 00:03:59 I did a little bit of research before. The big key is... I'll be touching it. Oh, yeah. Look at that. So the key... that you do here is, okay, there's a little hole here. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:04:12 You've got to put your finger on that hole because it prevents the milk from coming out. So you get a mouthful of cereal. Then where does, isn't this just, oh, this little hole. The milk comes out of this little hole. There's a little sippy for the milk. Yeah. And does this close? No.
Starting point is 00:04:26 No. So you just go like this. So finger over. I'm going to get a melt. So I've got peanut butter crunch in here. Yeah. I love that. So I'm going to go like this.
Starting point is 00:04:38 And then you release. I got my cereal, and now I'm going to get my milk. There wasn't milk, no milk came out during that. Can you do both things at once? Mm-hmm. But I think he's saying the milk comes out too quickly if you do both at once. I'm going to try. I'm going to fucking ruin my name.
Starting point is 00:04:57 I spilled a little because I'm a sloppy boy, but I'll tell you what. Hold on. I think this is fantastic. You don't need to do that. I just in case. I never used a crunch car. This is great. Ferial.
Starting point is 00:05:15 Oh, my God. I'm a slow clear. Well, you got to use the, you got to block it. I got too much milk. You got to block it. You're right. You're right. All right, hold on.
Starting point is 00:05:27 This doesn't feel user friendly. I think this is a huge win. I don't know when you use this. I suppose in the car. Like, are people so desperate for their cereal and they're so on the go that they need to eat it in the car? Dude. Is that why this exists? So I actually think I have been reaffirmed how done it is.
Starting point is 00:05:52 He goes, dude, that what I just tasted, delicious. Fresh, fresh, crunchy, rhesies puffs, ice cold milk, amazing. Yeah. But why? I legitimately. I'm starting to think about this. I'm starting to think about this. I also can't wake up five minutes earlier.
Starting point is 00:06:10 Correct. So I have to take it in the car and I was spilling everywhere. So thank God for my crunch cup. No offense to the fine people at Crunch Cup. There goes that sponsorship. First of all, great, great invention. Great invention. This exists for people who fuck with cereal so hard
Starting point is 00:06:25 that they legitimately are in such a hurry in their day to day that they need to fill this up and they don't have that 10 minutes to sit there and eat your cereal. How long does it take to eat cereal? 10 minutes at most. They're like, I got to get to fuck out the door and get in their car or like walk to work. If you saw a person walking down the street with WIS,
Starting point is 00:06:46 because let's be honest, this looks just like a travel cup of milk. Dude, if you saw someone in the car, I'm like, is that guy's drinking milk? Little do they know. Yeah. He's having a bowl of cereal. Yeah. You go open your mouth across the window, show him.
Starting point is 00:07:03 Holy hell. Here's a question, though. Let's say you wanted a cereal. It is pretty nice. Also, your cereal's never getting soggy. Let's say you're a guy. I don't know who this guy is either, but let's say you're a guy who wants cereal at work at lunch at lunch but you don't want to bring a box of Reese's puffs and a thing of milk
Starting point is 00:07:28 with you you just bring this and then put it in a bowl and then put it in a bowl at the office and I'm like oh that was that was great I don't hate it I want cereal at lunch why wouldn't you just leave the box of cereal at your office because people there's office thieves you know who works in this office good good correction on yeah are being thefted Gremlins. Yeah, gremlin. That's actually true. And you don't want to be the guy that's like hiding boxes of cereal.
Starting point is 00:07:55 Yeah, your peanut butter crunch. Yeah, it's mine. You can't have any. This is a fucking tape on a dance. It's mine. Dan's, don't touch. I'm not that guy. That's not a bad idea.
Starting point is 00:08:05 Listen, I think that this is pretty, I will tell you what, though, for the love of God, cereal is just all sugar. It's crack. It hits like crack. Crack cocaine. Because it is. Dude, I'll show you Charlie Sheen, dude. I wonder if Charlie Shee never had fucking cereal, dude.
Starting point is 00:08:18 That would have really sent him. Good Lord. Fucking Tiger Blood cereal. Yeah. That, that... Done. How did they not make that? A million dollar idea.
Starting point is 00:08:26 All right, this has been our crunch cup segment. No free ads. But I had to... I had to put it to the test. I'm going to eat this whole thing. I think I'm in. We've got to get into some hot ice. Have to do it.
Starting point is 00:08:38 A lot of stuff happened. Listen, we're back, folks. We are back. We've got our first three games of the NHL season under our belt. Hockey happened. But we also got some signings. Some huge... news because I'm a huge
Starting point is 00:08:51 hold on my jersey back home oh wow wait why just in general all right first and foremost Kyle Connor extends with the Winnipeg Jets eight years 12 million dollars AAV massive massive deal for Winnipeg he's sticking around with his boy
Starting point is 00:09:10 hella buck I'm surprised I'm not gonna lie really yeah I'm surprised oh I'm not surprised at all Kyle Connor is that guy so he and I don't even mean that dog which I also think he is but I mean he's that guy
Starting point is 00:09:26 like I'm good dude like I want to be in Winnipeg and hell he stayed and Shifley stayed and I'm staying and like we're doing this what I will tell you is this and keep in mind Connor McDavid just signed for 12.5 AAV yeah
Starting point is 00:09:44 Kyle Connor at eight years 12 AAB is I think it's 1275 Like, I think it's higher than... Oh, is it? Dude, there's been a million different reports, like one said seven, 12, 75. Now it's like Darren Dregor is saying eight by 12. And I think... 96, right?
Starting point is 00:10:00 What's that? 96 total? Yeah, I think it's 12. But it was confusing. There were reports that said seven years, but I do believe they're saying it is 12. I believe that Kyle Connor at 12AV is the steel of all. steals. I think this is one of the best contracts in the NHL. I think, and Connor McDavid's getting 12 and a half, and I think this, I think this is one of the best contracts
Starting point is 00:10:26 in the fucking NHL. How about that, dude? I love that. I love that. Um, my thing with, with this, and I want to get into what I said about I thought he was going to go. Um, I, I think with the krill news, we've completely blown out of proportion what contracts are and should be right now. Kyle Connor in his career has had 57 and 76, 66 and 82, 73 and 71, 50 and 56, 93 and 79, 80 and 82, 61 and 65, 97 and 82. $12 million for eight years is a perfect deal. It is not a steal at fucking all. It is the steel of the century. I love Kyle Connor. Of the century. But like Chris, you tell people on the airwaves every chance you get. Every time a microphone is put in front of your face, you go like this, Kyle Connor is a 50-goal guy. He is literally never scored 50 goals. You say Cole Cawfield
Starting point is 00:11:26 was a 40-goal guy and he had never scored 30. You were like, Kyle, Cole Cawfield, that's going to score 40-goal. He had scored 28 goals. Hey, bitch tits. At least Kyle Cotter you are on trial here. You are on trial here. I'm not over, no, no, shit. No, cross-examination. No. I am not over here saying Cole Cawfield's deal is the steel, like I admit that Cole has not scored 40, but I'm going to still ride or die for him. I don't mind you riding or dying for Kyle. But you out here telling people that he is a 50-gold guy perennially when he's never done at once. And then also saying that he is like this grand piano of a player, I'm like, relax, dude. The steel of the century. He's a Michigan boy. I love him. I love him more than you
Starting point is 00:12:08 for a lot of reasons. But a steel of the NHL feels crazy to me. The steel. The steel. deal of the century, Dan. Miko Ranton also got 8 by 12. In a no state tax area. And yeah, wow, that is fucking sick. What's Winnipeg probably gets wrecked? How the taxes in Canada, it's so bad. Not good.
Starting point is 00:12:33 Why do you think I left? It's a communist country, unfortunately. Unfortunately, it's a communist country. And people don't know that. See, people think Canada is just not all friendly. Everyone's saying sorry, but actually... Dude, in Canada, it's almost like if you hit the high tax bracket and you're just at the bottom of that, it's basically like you shouldn't even
Starting point is 00:12:50 want to make that much. If you just make less and you'll pay this and you'll end up the same amount in your account at the end of the year. That happens here too. It's insane. That's insane. Make less. Do less. Um, Miko Rantan. Let's get some Miko Rantin stats up here because he is the same age as Kyle Connor, right? I think they're both 28. I think so. Sorry that I'm crunch Coppin to never one. No, no, you got to. I hear it real nice. Miko Ranton did. Actually, this is going to be sick, dude. Miko Rantanin, because he did have a 55 goal year.
Starting point is 00:13:25 Sure did. Miko Rantin, 652 games, 294 goals, 411 assists, 705 points. 652705. Kyle Connor, nine years, 613, 284, 298, 582. Yeah, like, look at their 82. game average. Kyle Connor is 78 points and 82 games. Yeah, what's Miko? Don't you have him up right now? No, I deleted it. No, I still have it up. Where did they show the 82 average?
Starting point is 00:13:54 Right at the bottom. You said he's above a point of game. 89. And 294, 652, 294 goals in 652 games for Miko. 613 games, 284 for Kyle. So, but you know what's... 10 less goals in far less games. Better goal scorer. Kyle Conner. Miko's good as 50 and Kyle's never done 50, but Kyle's going to do 50 this year and he's a better goal score. No one is in this courtroom saying that Kyle Connor is not an amazing player or an amazing goal score. I think let's call Miko's deal probably more like 14, maybe even 14 and a half if we do the state tax thing. So I think they're good deals. They're comparable deals.
Starting point is 00:14:41 But I don't want to do that. Obviously he's getting more, but I don't even want to do that because this is the cap. The cap is the cap and teams are paying the same. I think Kyle Connor, there are the best deals in the world. We've talked about them before. Goose, I think, I forget a couple other ones that we always bring up, but there's a couple like unbelievable deals. Quinn Hughes. Quinn Hughes, yeah.
Starting point is 00:15:01 After that, I think if you're, because there are guys getting way less than they deserve. Yeah. Of the guys getting what they deserve, I'm creating a new bucket. I think Kyle Connor is the greatest contract in the world of guys who are getting near what they deserve and miko is like the second greatest contract in the world because that's also a great number for him yeah like jack ickel's deal right now yeah pretty good um i'm so thrilled for the jets the fine people of winnipeg this is they deserve such a monstrous win dude we we talked about it over the summer when when we were all over the eeler situation we were like he's leaving
Starting point is 00:15:38 and that sucks we said a bunch of times if Kyle Connor leave for free, I don't know that the Jets will ever recover. Like, back to Atlanta. Genuinely, it was more that I was like, their cup window slams shut with the loss of Eilers and Kyle Connor in back-to-back years. And that's a very, very bad. So to keep this guy, like, you know, your boy, to keep him for another eight years. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 00:16:06 So this is monumental. Monumental for the franchise. That's what I wanted to say, too. And obviously Miko's is also eight, but when I was bringing up McDavid and everyone's going to be like, are you insane? it's the term. Like getting Kyle Conner to go, I'm done here, dude,
Starting point is 00:16:19 because he's going to be 36. Like, I hope he plays a few more years after that, but like, this is it, right? And this is the last year. You can take an eight-year deal.
Starting point is 00:16:27 People forget, like after this, it's seven max. So, like, he could have waited, tried to sign a smaller one, be 32, and then sign a seven and be fine.
Starting point is 00:16:36 And he was like, eight years, dude. Give me my 96-mill. Literally, I'm good. I love it here. I'm never leaving. We're getting us a cup. Let's fucking.
Starting point is 00:16:45 go and he's got me fired up then. Yeah. Come on, Jets! I'm a rocket man! I'm a rocket man again! The good people of Winnipeg should be fired the fuck up right now.
Starting point is 00:16:55 God, dude. And this is great. This is great. I mean, and you're right, this is so Kyle Connor. He's a country. He's a country boy. He likes fishing.
Starting point is 00:17:08 He likes fishing. He likes hunting and he's in a perfect spot for it. So that's great. And, you know, you hope it brings more people in, keeps the people there fired up. So it's fantastic. Other Canadian team with a big signing, Edmonton. Third in three days.
Starting point is 00:17:31 Matthias Ekholm extends three years, four million a year. I have a lot to say about Edmonton right now. Me too. This is great for Edmonton, as far as we talked about that, you know, he's about to be off the books, so what do they do? They just got Ekom to come back on a discount.
Starting point is 00:17:57 Great. We talked about, this is your guy who, frankly, not this past season, but the season before, he was your number one D-Man. People were saying that over Bouchard. Even with Bouchard's great year,
Starting point is 00:18:12 they were like, Matthias Echom is our number one D-Man, and he is still certainly your number one shutdown D-Man. And for the last two years, he's been too hurt to perform. He signs three years here at four mil. Great, it's a discount, but it's, you know, it's only a $2 million, I think, $2.5 million discount. What's he making this year?
Starting point is 00:18:32 Six and a half. I will tell you he was making six even. Six even. So a $2 million discount, but it's still a discount. But the question is, is like, is older hurt Matthias Ekholm for three more years? Like, what are you getting from him? Hopefully, hopefully great. Hopefully he returns to full health. The Oilers, we didn't talk much about this. We did our little, we did a midform video if you haven't seen it, go watch it about the McDavid signing. But they signed Walman, seven years, seven mill. I love Jake Wallman for a lot of reasons. I don't really get that deal. I thought that that was a little, I was like, wow, that.
Starting point is 00:19:18 is, I mean, I'm pumped for Wallman, but I was like, damn, that's a, that, that was a surprising investment to me. So like, Walman kind of turns into that, for me, turns into that, like, you, you expected to have a bunch of this money and now I'm like, oh, well, a lot of it just went there. So currently, with Conner's extension, at Com's extension, Walman's extension, next year, the cap's going to shoot up to about 170 mil, 107 mil, and the oilers are going to have roughly 20.8 million with 10 forwards and six defensemen signed, and they need to sign two goalies, and I would say four-ish forwards.
Starting point is 00:19:59 And that's assuming that Maddie Savoy and Isaac Howard are certified top six boys. Yeah, right. So I feel like the McDavid extension and everything that people have been saying has been, what are you going to do, Stan Bowman, what are you going to do Oilers? And they're doing stuff.
Starting point is 00:20:19 Yeah, yeah. And the majority of, of it is just bringing back the same guys. And good, good. Like, you know, you're doing something. You are giving, you're giving McDavid answers. Like, who is going to be on this team for the next several years? They're giving him answers.
Starting point is 00:20:32 Are these the answers that he wants? And are these the answers that get it done? So I, um, I think at home, at home dude has played, he was hurt at the, uh, for points of last year, at the end of last year. But he gave you two years ago, 79 games, 45 points. tremendous season. Especially for like a fucking big boy. And then last year, like in my mind, I was like,
Starting point is 00:20:56 oh, he's missed all of last year. Last year, 65 games, 33 points. Tremendous season. He's fantastic. I think his production is unbelievable. And if you'll remember, when we were doing before McDavid had signed and we're looking at this like, Connor's going to take 16, then you got to replace these guys. And I think you said it, but maybe certainly many people were saying it, you got to re-sign Echholm and he's going to ask for more. and I was like, dude, no way he's old and he's an old head. And he will come back for the same or maybe, God willing, less. Yeah, you're right.
Starting point is 00:21:29 So he came back for less. And I think that is a gargantuan, gargantuan win. And God damn it, if it's not on the heels of Connor McDavid taking less. And I'm not saying, like, he made him or whatever, but if I'm at home and Connor McDavid goes 12 and a half for two more years, let's see what's up, then I go like this, done for. I don't know what Echholm's career earnings are, but I'm sure he's doing just fucking fine. And him coming back for less, this is how it builds.
Starting point is 00:21:58 This is how it snowballs. I love that deal so much. I give him a ton of credit. I give McDavid a ton of credit for paving the way. Jake Walman. I actually didn't love that. Yeah. Matias Echolm, like, you were so right. So he's about to turn 36 this year.
Starting point is 00:22:14 He has battled with injury. And it, I'm like, do them a favor. He could have been like, give me six at least. but like, I don't even know if it's a favor, though. Like, I think you were just right. Like, he was not the type of player who's like, I should get more. It's like, no, no, no, you signed your deal and you're going to get another decent deal. Yep.
Starting point is 00:22:30 You were absolutely right. And it is good to see. I do think there's an argument that he could have been like, I should get six. So I think there definitely is. Look at his production. He's been fantastic. And yes, he got hurt. Well, he's been good.
Starting point is 00:22:43 He's been very good. Fantastic is a little, a bit of a boost. But with the way the market goes, like, Like, for what he just did, like, look at two years, 79 games, 11 goals, 45. Look at the same division. Look at the deals that Brian Dumlin and Cody Cici have. Yeah. They are the exact same or a little bit better.
Starting point is 00:23:01 Yep. And Ekholm just signed for that in Edm. I think Ekom is the better player of those three. And I don't even think that's debatable. Yep. So this is a team friendly deal for sure. Walman is the one where I'm like, dude, there were a lot of people who, a lot of Oilers fans were like trying to dance on graves.
Starting point is 00:23:22 Like they were like fucking Steve Arzeman dumped this guy and added a second round pick just to get him out of here. What an idiot. What a loser. Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. And I'm kind of like, all right, everyone calm down. If you look at what Walman was doing in Detroit, it wasn't deserving of what's going on. Last year in across two teams, he had 40 points, seven goals, 33 assists, and 65 games. without question the best production he has ever had.
Starting point is 00:23:51 Yeah. I mean, before that it was like 21 points in 63, 18 and 63. He played like 24 games, 51 games, 32 games across St. Louis and Detroit. Like he was not really a regular. And even last year, you know, his career high is 65 games. So it's like Walden, who is young, he's 28, has not really certified himself as like, I am an 82 game guy. And I think to get seven years seven mill, you better fucking be an 82 game guy and you better be a perennial at least 40 point guy. We always talk about, especially with defensemen on this Oilers team with these two guys, I'm like, I can't tell sometimes if 40 points is I'm like, hell yeah, dude, like that is you or if it's guys just being like this.
Starting point is 00:24:39 I'm literally on the ice. Like we talk to people all the time like fucking whiz, you know, like whiz. specifically actually I'll just I was going to say like DZ Dmerz like everyone's like bro if you fucking put me on that oilers team on the blue line with how many fucking power plays they get I would have 50 points in my fucking sleep so like there are times where I'm like I love Jake Wallman the guy and I'm just not I'm like I don't know let's see next year I'm excited to see but even if next year he comes out and he plays 70 games and he has like 45
Starting point is 00:25:09 points I'm like I don't I genuinely don't know if you're just on the ice with those guys because what happens is we get to playoffs and for me you get against a really good team in Florida and you kind of see like oh yeah this is this is what's going on here and the big thing for me is with fucking nurse making 9.5 Bouchard making 10.5 and the Wallman now making 7 none of them are are guys that are like this I'm a lockdown deed so like you have about to be 36 year old at home who is the only guy who's like I am going to bully guys in front of the net and be a good defenseman. It's $26 million to play no defense.
Starting point is 00:25:46 So hammer slap shots. That is my only fear. And yeah, it's like you try to spin zone it. Like I was talking to Tyler. And Tyler's not necessarily trying to spin zone it. But he was like, they got 20 mil to sign two goalies and two fours. That's a lot of money. And I was like, a lot of money.
Starting point is 00:26:03 Are you fucking crazy? Like, oh, dude. I mean, dude, do you think you're going to get a goalie on a rookie contract that's going to win you a Stanley Cup? Because a Stanley Cup winning goalie costs much more than $5 million. Yeah. So there's nine. And then if you want a good forward, there's 10.
Starting point is 00:26:20 That's the whole. There it is. And frankly, it's like they need four forwards. It's not two forwards they need to sign. They need like four. And it doesn't matter. They're doing the moves. We don't need to spend too much time on the Oilers here.
Starting point is 00:26:34 But it's like they're doing the moves. But I do think that there's a lot of rose-colored glasses being worn by. people in Edmonton right now. Like, you got the Connor extension done, so absolutely you deserve to be dancing naked in the streets. But then, like, the Walman deal and the Eccombe deal, now people are like, we're fucking buzzing. And I'm like, I don't know.
Starting point is 00:26:54 I don't know if these are the moves that are like, holy shit, this just changed the game. No, the Walman deal is hype train. The McDavid signing is a fucking class act from a class dude. And I love. He's the best man. We'll see, but I love the Ekholm deal. Oh, my God. If he doesn't age at all, then I'm like, that I think they actually should be fired up about.
Starting point is 00:27:16 Last bit of contract news before we move on. Hasn't broken yet, but we're hearing significant rumblings that the Jack Eichael extension is imminent. He is kicking off tonight. We're recording on Wednesday. First game home opener against the Kings in Vegas. A lot of people were saying that they wanted it to come before the game. So we'll see. Like we're, it's like 10 a.
Starting point is 00:27:42 Like, you know, it might happen. What does he go up to? What, yeah, what do you think that's going to hit at? I think, I guess the real question will be term. Like, does he go? Because there was like, oh, he keeps saying he's up here. And I actually, I mean, obviously, we know Jack pretty well. I know he loves it there.
Starting point is 00:27:58 Yeah. It was kind of like, does he want to go? I'm here for life. Or does he want to keep his options open? I'm in the camp of like, I think he's just chilling, dude. Like, he's like, no tax here. I love my house. Like, I'm fucking, I expect an 18.
Starting point is 00:28:10 year bomb incoming. Yeah. Eight, no question. You think like 14 or something? I think he's going to do 12. I think he's going to, I think he's going to, I think he's going to, like, look, even looking at Kyle Connor, like, I think he sees, Vegas has been funny, right? Like, they've been, they were the, ultimate, just get a cup. Do whatever you need to get a cup. They traded people. They traded assets. They traded picks. They've, they've given out contracts. They've done this. They've done that. I think if you look at that team on just forwards alone, Mitch has 12, he has 10, Stone has 9.5 for only two more years. He will obviously be a massive discount if he even signs another deal. And then after that, hurdles at 6.7, you've got Wild Bill at 5.9, Barbashev at 5. I think he sees what Florida is doing.
Starting point is 00:29:02 They're also in a good city for this. I think Jack goes, dude, he already got his, you know, 8 by 10. I think he goes, give me 8x12. Like I'll match Mitch. I'll keep us on a good level playing field. It's also such a fuck you to Edmonton to Toronto, to all these other teams that are like, we have all these superstars. He's in a good situation to be like, oh yeah, dude, like, I've got my bags. This is another. That's a bag, dude.
Starting point is 00:29:28 You're right. You could go 810 again. Like I wouldn't be that. He was like, give me another 80 million and I don't give a fuck. With the cap going up, though, if you have 28-year-old Mitch Marner and 28-year-old Jack Eichel both at 12 for the next. eight years. Yeah. Like, think about 31 year old Mitch Martner and Jack Huckle.
Starting point is 00:29:43 We talk about today's day and age, 31, you are still in your prime. Hell yeah. If those two in three years are only making 12, people are like, oh, my fucking God. It's also hilarious. Like, you know, in fantasy football, if you bid on a free agent and you're like, 12 bucks, and then like the next, you get the guy and you're like, yes, and the next bid was like two bucks and you're like, fuck. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:30:04 That's kind of like the krill and even Leon to a degree. like everybody was like all the bars being set like here we go and then like conner's like 12 and a half jack's like 12's fine everybody was like whoa dude why did you give girl 17 million dollars and listen i'm i'm i'm happy to eat crow here but i just think jack is such a fucking dope dude yeah and by think i mean i know jack is such a dope dude he already got a great deal this is about to be a great deal and like you said last episode two million dollars a year for eight years is a lot of millions of But I just think with where he is, he loves it in Vegas. There are benefits to being in Vegas.
Starting point is 00:30:43 Eight years, $12 million would just be such a fucking sick move. It absolutely could be 14. And I wouldn't be shocked. But I don't know. And I still don't think that's like a I'm taking the bag type deal. No, I agree. Completely agree. Like I don't know.
Starting point is 00:31:00 I just, to me, I feel like I can see it. Like him, like seeing what Connor did. Not that that would influence him, but it's like, I almost look at Rantnan. Like, looking at what Rantin did, looking what the guys in Florida are doing. Jack is a culture guy. Jack wants to win. Yes. And I definitely think he is like, yeah, dude, just give me eight by 12.
Starting point is 00:31:17 We good. We fucking good. Give me 96 mil, and I'll just chill with Mitch for the next eight years. That's my boy who play video game. Fucking sick. Eat go eat at Piros. Love it. All right.
Starting point is 00:31:27 Moving on from Hot Ice into the first games of the season. There's one place to start. I think. In my opinion. And it is the blue shirts at MSG home opener, J.T. Miller, Captain. Mike Sullivan, new boss, new bench boss, playing his old team. Dan Mews playing his old team, actually. Kind of sick how that works out in the world.
Starting point is 00:31:53 True. Penguins, supposed to be dead last. Penguins in tanking for McKenna. Rangers back in playoffs. Here we go, baby. And obviously it's one game and we're overreacting. a three-nothing shutout at home. Dude, and this is...
Starting point is 00:32:10 Archer Shilov, dude, I actually got fired up about the spider? I thought the spider, dad. Because I heard Sid call him Artie after the game. He was like, already played great. And I was like, we're calling him already? Which I guess, of course we are. Of course we are.
Starting point is 00:32:22 Yeah, I don't know. Did you think people were going to call him Shilov? But I think we call him Shilab. And maybe we can get that in front of Sid, because I think probably Sid doesn't know. Do you think Sid's seen Lord of the Rings? I mean, we can get in front of Rutger, for sure. Yeah, but do you think Sid has seen Lord of the Rings?
Starting point is 00:32:33 Of course. I don't know, dude. He'll only watch his hockey fucking high-line. Sid's one of the boys. Sid's one of the boys. He's not a mute. First of all, you're both right. I think, I mean, you see it with, by the way, shout out our girl, Emily Kaplan,
Starting point is 00:32:46 awesome little feature on Sid before the game yesterday, just like talking about what a great guy is. Yeah. Sid is a man of class. Sid lives and breathes hockey. You guys are both right. But I think he strategically carves out times to stay in the zeitgeist. I think he watches the important things to watch, and that was an important thing to watch.
Starting point is 00:33:03 Also, think about it, dude. Lord of the Rings, the movies, popped off when we were in high school. Like, Sid was like a junior scene. Yeah. You know, like, he was, he wasn't always. Like, he had to do, he wasn't out drinking. But Dan, I almost want to push back here. I bet, because you almost had me.
Starting point is 00:33:20 Halfway through that speech, you had me. I was like, you know what, Sid does watch some movies. But now I'm thinking, Dan, that high school Sid was even less, like, allowing himself to have fun. No, dude, you forget. High school Sid was fucking dialed. You forget. How much time we had. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:33:38 Obviously, I was not as dialed as Sid in hockey in those days. But, like, dude, you have so much time. It's crazy. Yeah, to stick handle and shoot at dryers. Even with all that is what I'm saying. I'm now wondering, Dan, that he's never seen Lord of the Rings. I promise you he has. I'm willing to stake every cent that I own that Sid has seen Lord of the Rings.
Starting point is 00:33:59 The reason, the only reason I think maybe he has done this is because there is, there is great leadership qualities to be learned from watching Aragorn live his life. Yes, he's the greatest man. And maybe Sid took it for that. He was like, oh, I want to acquire leader of men, king of men
Starting point is 00:34:23 qualities from those movies. Yeah. But that would mean maybe he would just watch three. Maybe he's skipped one and two and just watched Return of the King. Because he was like, I don't need the backstory. You just fucking try to suggest that Sidney Crosby cuts corners, you dumb bitch. You stupid fat dumb bitch.
Starting point is 00:34:38 I think Sidie Crosby's only seen Return to the King. And I'm going to ask him this next time I see him. You have, you are... Red, what are the chances that he's only seen three? Less than zero. Correct. Thank you, Red. What do you think?
Starting point is 00:34:49 You've seen Lord of the Rings. Listen to me? Yeah, I'm low. Like, I'm like probably 35%. You have been nonstop pissing me off this episode. You're just out of control. Only return to the king. Red is right. There's literally
Starting point is 00:35:04 a less than 0% chance that that is the case. I do think, though, that he hasn't seen them. There's no time, Dan. They're like 10 hours long. And I love him. I'd watch him on repeat. But do you think Sid was like this? I've got four hours to kill sitting on the couch. Maybe, actually
Starting point is 00:35:20 now I'm back, maybe he was like, I will see if I can stick handle without looking down at the puck for the duration of the director's cut of the fellowship of the ring. And that would be a good test for high school, Sid. Can we get back into this game. Yes. He's definitely seen those movies. I love this for Penguins fans, but I, like, this, to me, this game and no disrespect, but like this game being two goals from Brazo and one goal from Lizot,
Starting point is 00:35:54 too empty netters too. Yeah, two empty net goals. Like, this, this going into this game, I go, oh, sick, first, opening night, we have a dumpster fire of the MET matchup. Sick. And that's exactly what this game was. But the Rangers don't think it is, though. The Rangers think it's, oh, nice, we get a tune-up game because we're nasty. I do not think. Do you think the players think that?
Starting point is 00:36:17 Yeah. No BS, bro. I'm serious. They are like, we are making playoffs and all the Rangers fans think they're making playoffs. No, I will give Rangers fans credit, dude. Like, the Rangers fans on Twitter and in the DMs, there's a lot of them who are like, we are terrible. Like we're not making playoffs.
Starting point is 00:36:34 But who knows? I mean, starting off their season fucking sending Gabe Perot to the HL is an interesting start. But I looked at this game as, okay,
Starting point is 00:36:45 these are two bottom teams in the Met facing off and that's what the game looked like. But I do love it for she loves. Dude, Dan, I actually, that's my big takeaway from this game because the Rangers,
Starting point is 00:36:56 obviously, it's fun to poke fun of them, but they're going to be just fine. And I think, I think the Rangers are going to be a bubble team and they are going to be a bubble team. You lose tough games. It was a shitty opening.
Starting point is 00:37:04 It's just funny because it was Sullivan and everything. Jesus Christ. And shut out. And like, Shesty's like, I played pretty good. I'm like, yep, but not good enough because your team can't play any fucking defense. Was that game not the most Igor Shosturkin? Like, it's literally about his life has been the last three years. He's like, damn.
Starting point is 00:37:20 Thanks, guys. I gave up one goal and you can do anything for me. And they're like, yeah, no, we couldn't. Sorry. But, dude, I had said in our previews that the penguins gave up some of the most goals in the league last year. They're going to do that again this year. and I was like, and you had said, I just don't think Jari's a guy.
Starting point is 00:37:35 And I actually, we were going to the Kings game. I wasn't tuned into the pregame. I don't know if this was like, oh, Jari got a knock or anything. If they were just like, we're going with Shilob's, and then they did. And he pitches a shutout. And I love it, dude. What a feeling.
Starting point is 00:37:49 Oh, yeah. First game of season, you pitch a shutout. That's got to feel fantastic. Let me see if I can find this quickly. There was a really cool tidbit about him. and about guys that have had shutouts in their first starts ever, which was really cool. Yeah, here we go.
Starting point is 00:38:08 Shilob's became the second goalie to have a shutout in his penguin's debut behind Max Legacy, 2021. He also became the second Pittsburgh goalie with a shoutout in the team's opening game of the season, joining Flower, who did it twice. Nice company. Nice company. Penguins goalie, too. So, yeah, nothing would make me more happy if the penguins return to relevancy
Starting point is 00:38:28 is because they can actually stop the puck this year, because she loves is dope. Yeah. I was like, I knew it, dude. I fucking knew it. Yeah. It was sick. And you know who is a currently over point per game player?
Starting point is 00:38:41 Evgeny Malkin. Evgeny Malkin. And two apples, two apples. Go to Florida. Go down to Florida, dude. Dude, if he has two assists, who do they play next? If he has two assists, if he has a goal and assists his next game, send him to Florida. As soon as he scores, just like this, go ahead, dude.
Starting point is 00:38:57 I love that guy so much. And I don't know. It's cool to see. It's cool to see most satchy. Very cool to see. Next game. And normally we won't be like going down every game. Of course.
Starting point is 00:39:09 But we had three games. We started season. We got to talk about it. Let's go. Oh, okay. We're saving the cup champs for last. Fellas. Look at us.
Starting point is 00:39:21 This hat's gas. Did you get this hat too or no? I did. I love it so much. It's a cat. So the Kings, all-time D-2 moment. last night I thought something like this
Starting point is 00:39:34 new sweaters yeah boom what does he say before that uh ducks I think he's like we need to like look like ducks or something um
Starting point is 00:39:45 it's a sick moment sick moment chills moment to be honest with you um yeah Kings unveil in New Jersey new alt jersey didn't leak was talking to cheese last night
Starting point is 00:39:55 and he was like one of those shocking things that's ever happened is this didn't also I want to give cheese some love he was most excited about the buckets. Yeah. And he said he saw the Patriots, New England Patriots, rocking their helmets, and he was like,
Starting point is 00:40:08 that gray is what I want on our helmets. That's sick. I didn't know that. And they made it happen. They came out. The boys came out with, they started out with their normal jerseys on. Then they unveiled these.
Starting point is 00:40:20 They graciously gifted us some jerseys. C.P's got the Copey one on, unbelievable. That's my cap'am right there. Yeah, it's so cool. That's my capon. I really like these jerseys. I thought the helmets were sick. But I do think the Chevy Gretzky kings that they went back to last year is like a top three in the league right now.
Starting point is 00:40:42 And that's not gone. Yes, this is just an alternate. The crown is undoubtedly sick, objectively sick. I was shocked to see some people on Twitter being like these jersey. They were like, these jerseys stink. And I was like, what are you talking about? It's, first of all, it's an alt jersey. It's an alt jersey.
Starting point is 00:40:59 Fucking chill out. People were like, where's the white? There's no, and I'm like, it's an alt jersey. You have to be different. I like that they went like simple, black and silver. And the crown is so dope. Yeah. We haven't really like seen the crown without the purple and shit like that in a while.
Starting point is 00:41:12 I liked it so much. The helmets are sick. I think their normal jerseys are better. Same. So like that's, that's me. Listen, when I dog on jersey releases, and for the most part, I've really loved all of the new jerseys. and when I've dogged on some, like the Rangers, for example,
Starting point is 00:41:29 and Rangers fans, calm down. Stadium series jerseys two years ago, number one easy. All time. Yep. These new Rangers ones, I don't love. So I'm not being biased here. I think these are good. I think they're really cool. I love the crown.
Starting point is 00:41:42 I do still think their normal homes are elites. Cannot be. Goated. Very good move. So that was really cool. Also, crowd fired up for Copee. Yeah, standing ovation when he got announced. That was really sick.
Starting point is 00:41:55 It was sick. after that, not much sick stuff happened if you're the Kings. Not much sick stuff happen if you're the Kings and I got to say and I'm so proud of my pick and I think you're kind of yours too in the Central preview
Starting point is 00:42:09 Jesus fucking Christ to the abs like good. They are, dude, we were talking to like to wags of the Kings and obviously they're supporting the boys but like everyone in that arena
Starting point is 00:42:23 last night was like the abs are fucking everyone. They're everywhere. They're so fast. That team looks so good. And what I love about this team, number one, Marty Naches. Get that extension. Talking about extensions, top of this episode, get that extension done yesterday.
Starting point is 00:42:39 He starts off the scoring with a goal, and then he caps it off in the third with a peeper, two goals in the game. And you got Nate Dogg and Kale on the score sheet in the assist column, both of them with two assists. But like, Lekinin in scoring two. It's like I picked them to be first in the central. They're a Stanley Cup projection team for me, and they looked fucking good. And the crazy thing is the Kings looked good too. They had some really good chances. They had good in-zone possession.
Starting point is 00:43:11 But it's just like, fuck me. The aves are just strong. Yeah, because I would say the Kings, and this isn't necessarily their game, so whatever. And it is the Avs game, but the Kings looked slow at times. I don't mean slow, actually, I just mean slow relatively to the ass. I was like, oh, man, they're not winning a lot of races here. And Wedgwood played great, which is great to see if you're the abs, because that wasn't even Blackwood, who picked up a knock, right? I can't remember what happened to him.
Starting point is 00:43:40 But if you're going to get good goalie play from the woods, then the abs are incredible. Yeah. Because that's been kind of their weakness to me. The Kings will be fine, but there wasn't a ton. like Turk had that one but that was a turnover there wasn't a ton of like high high danger yeah juice had that I think it was second period break like a one hand but like still that was one hand exactly now so not a ton of high danger I'm not taking away from wedgwood game but just like the kings the as were like we're better than you that's what it looked like and it's one game
Starting point is 00:44:10 who gives a fuck but to your point 25 shots for the kings yeah and they never really had great in zone possession continue. A lot of cycling the puck, like rimming it around. There wasn't good set up with with good high danger moments like you just said. It'll come for sure. But they are definitely not feeling like we came out great at our home opener. The, I wanted to shout out Nate Dogg to he passed Joe Sackick for most points in franchise history. That is fucking insanity. Well, I got to say, Because they don't count the Nordik's points. Yes.
Starting point is 00:44:56 Like Sackick has more points than Nate, but Nate has more avalanche points, which I think I'll allow. I think. You definitely do, because you don't even like when like jets to coyotes, blah, blah, blah. Correct. I do not like that. And let me add to that. The Aves are about to unveil a Nordique's jersey this year, and I'm here to say, shame on you. Yeah, you're pissed.
Starting point is 00:45:20 And Aves team, I love. I love the Avs team, but shame on you. If I do this to the Carolina Hurricanes, I have to do this to the Colorado. Dude, it's not your fucking team. It's not your fucking jersey. It's absolute dog shit. Isn't it?
Starting point is 00:45:35 Isn't it? Isn't it a tip of the old cap? That's the fucking cowards way out. This is actually, I think, this is our first or second viral clip ever in Empty Netter's history. I think the first one was. Stolen valor. It's not your friend. But dude, it is such bullshit.
Starting point is 00:45:54 If I were a fucking diehard Quebec Nordiques fan and you relocated me to Colorado and now Colorado's parading around in my jersey selling it. And they're going like this. We have love for you. Dude, my culture is. Hey, my culture is not your costume. It quite literally is, dude. Put it on your back and wear it around. This is the worst example of that.
Starting point is 00:46:15 My culture is not your fucking costume. That you're profiting off? I kind of, I'm so, I'm so torn. You want an alt jersey? Come up with a fucking alt jersey. Don't come up with what my team came. So I hear you there. It shouldn't be your alt jersey because I know there's like the league it goes you have to wear your alt jersey X amount of times or whatever. Yeah. Because we got to make money on new jerseys. But it shouldn't be your alt. But I think a retro night is sick. And that is your retro. No, it's not. Yes, it is. No, it's, it's literally not. It is your retro. And don't come at me in the comments.
Starting point is 00:46:51 Hold on. Don't come at me in the comments with the whole, oh, it's the same ownership. It's the same this. It's a different fucking team, dude. Dan, it's a different team. Listen to me. The game has changed.
Starting point is 00:47:05 But the players are the same, Dan. The players are the same. They came over with the same players. Okay. So you need to fucking McGrubber your brain into the right space because the players are the same. And that's your retro. Dude, it's...
Starting point is 00:47:22 Like, Joe Sackick was on the abs and was like, oh, I want to wear a retro jersey. So I'll wear the jersey that I was wearing on this same fucking teeth. I just think it's so rude. It's so rude. Your best argument is it's if I was a Nordic's fan or if I was a Whalers fan, I'd be like, that's bullshit. It's stolen valor.
Starting point is 00:47:38 It's a different fucking team. The players are the same. The players are literally the same. The players are the same, unfortunately. Also, I didn't realize, or I guess I just forgot that Joe Sackick played like seven years. Oh, bro. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:47:50 His stud. Those stats should count. Yeah. Three hundred points season. No, they did it because it's a different team. No, I'm with you on the jersey thing, Dan, but I think the points should count. I kind of agree. On that one, I'm like, well, because like, dude, he's not even close to him.
Starting point is 00:48:04 I'm like, he might never catch him. You're legitimately like fucking 600 points away, dude, if we're being real here. Dude, don't you think of me gas if the L.A. Rams came out in St. Louis Rams' jerseys for one game? they're what would anyone notice they're like the same thing you just mean like the gold yeah yeah it literally is though like we left because you suck yeah as a city yeah and now we're gonna profit off yeah yes we're gonna that's the that's the worst part too right it's like they do this shit not as an homage they do it because they go we're gonna make millions of ching ching chiching ching ching shing really just bang dude it's fucking brutal um um last thing i have in this game is natius
Starting point is 00:48:45 get that extension done, but he's kind of, from what the Carolina people said, he's kind of in a, talk to me in playoffs, dog. Like, they go, he disappears in playoffs. He's a great regular season merch and disappears in playoffs. Kind of disappeared in playoffs last year. Yeah. Here he goes again. So I'm kind of like, he's a call me an April guy.
Starting point is 00:49:03 I hear that. And I mean, he's nasty and I know he's nasty. I'm just saying, call me in April. I hear that. I thought he looked great. I also just want to, I can't, genuinely, I can't give him. over how good kale macar is oh dude that is one of the thing i wanted to say thank you there are moments where on the power play specifically because that's when i was really iso camming him there are moments
Starting point is 00:49:27 where someone on the half wall gets a little pressure and they see that kale as their outlet so they pass it to him but it's so obvious that it's going to him that the other pk guy presses so high on kale that i'm like oh that was a bad pass because he is completely handcuffed he's your last man back This is a like easy stick check out of the zone. And dude, it's the quickest like either body pivot or stick handle, but it's like and it's like forehand backhand around the defender to the other guy. And it's just relieved pressure. Like it's not even a scoring chance.
Starting point is 00:49:56 It's just a we're good now, reset the powerplay. That is such a free weapon that you go, we're fucked. They cracked our powerplay. Just give it to Kail and he will do one thing and then we have complete control of the fuck again. He's also so good at defense. Yeah. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 00:50:10 I don't think there's anyone in the NHL who has a better gap than him. And he skates backwards faster than a lot of dudes skate forwards. And it's fucking crazy. Let's move on to the last game of yesterday, which was actually the first game. Chaps a hit. Florida Panthers unveil the Stanley Cup. Boys came out on the ice with it, which I don't, am I brain dead? Do they do that every year?
Starting point is 00:50:34 It felt a little crazy to like skate on the ice lifting the cup above your head again. I think they do that every year. I was like, damn. Whatever. Do they do whatever they want? They do whatever they want. They own the cup. I did like, did you see the Stanley Cup official Twitter account tweeted, I'm on the market.
Starting point is 00:50:47 Oh, that's cool. But they unveiled the cup also. How about fucking Sasha Barkoff? Dude. Walking out no crutches like a week after ACL MCL surgery. Not put on season ending IRR either. No. And they still can do it.
Starting point is 00:51:01 They can do that whenever they want. But he walked out there to get that Stanley Cup with no crutches. I was like, oh, my. Dude, I bet you got back. You felt a collective from like every rival team was like, are you fucking. Dude, I bet he got back as soon as he was behind the curtain again and was like, oh, fuck, God. Jesus Christ.
Starting point is 00:51:19 They were like, just go, just go make 10, 10 strides, dude. And then, and then the whole world will quiver in their boots. Yeah. Champs come out against the rebuilding Blackhawks. Yep. I want to start by, I want to start with a couple of positives for the Chicago Blackcocs. Number one, my boy, Frankie Nazar. Frankie.
Starting point is 00:51:39 Frankie. Frankie Nazar. How many times have I said during hockey talk, a lot of Blackiex. Cox fans asking about Nazar and I put the over under on him at 65 and a half points, comes out, gets a great turnover, breakaway goal, nice little fucking Barry. Then he gets a great assist on Tara Vinen's goal. I thought Frankie looked great. Yep.
Starting point is 00:51:57 I also want to give flowers to Connor Bardard. Oh, okay. Yeah, you were saying this. Yeah. I thought Connor Bedard looked great last night and I tweeted that and I got a couple of fucking stat nerd, bum losers. hit me with his like coursey and this and that. And I'm like, watch the game, dude.
Starting point is 00:52:15 Connor had a few really remark. He could have had three assists last night. Yeah. If people could finish, like there was one unreal dish to Kirby Doc that, or not, sorry, not Kirby Doc, unreal dish across that should have been finished. And it just was like completely fumbled. And I'm like, that is a goal. Yeah, that has to be a goal.
Starting point is 00:52:36 We need that in. And then also against my, you know, favorite defensive. player in the NHL. He had an outside, inside, quick shot against Foresling that I couldn't believe he got off. And Bob had to like, whoa, like shoulder shrug it out. And I was like, that was fucking sick. That's the thing. That's the thing that everyone talks about.
Starting point is 00:52:56 And I just thought he looked really strong. I thought he looked faster, a little stronger on his skates. So stick taps to Badaar. This team comes out, Florida Panthers. These fucking guys have not played. any hockey. Like, they, they have had the craziest summer of all time. They feel, I feel like they were just winning the Stanley Cup yesterday.
Starting point is 00:53:19 Yeah. And they come out, and you could tell there was a bit of rust for sure. You could tell that they were like a little bit of heavy boots, like, Jesus Christ, we're back. Fuck me. Dude, they outshot Chicago 17 to 3 in the first period and we're up to 1. And the one goal, the one goal was a breakaway, like kind of a fluke play. They are just such a wagon. No Barkov, no Kachuk, like fucking good God Almighty.
Starting point is 00:53:49 It's insane. And, you know, they sneak away. Second period, first minute, minute nine into the first period, Teravine and like they get a crazy two on one and they score. And then just third period, they come out. Boquist, goal, win. And like this is just the Florida Panthers. And I know it's Chicago, but at the end of the day,
Starting point is 00:54:08 out shoot this team 37 to 19. Yep. And you're just like, and, you know, we take care of business. Here are the two highlights for me. One. And shout out Max of Max and MFA, because he brought this to our attention, but it's so funny. Paul Maurice said, these injuries could be just what we needed. Which if there's ever been more proof that Paul Maurice listens to us, it is right there, dude.
Starting point is 00:54:31 And you know what? He just might be fucking right, Dad, because legitimately, how often do you see us in other sports? It forces people into roles that you're going to have to play later. And he said this before, too. There's no fixing this. This is the situation. Go win. Do the thing.
Starting point is 00:54:48 So now you get guys reps that they might not have gotten. And then you're certainly getting Kachuk back and maybe, even though I said 100% no. And I'm kind of standing by that. But maybe, maybe you get Barkoff back too. And then if you do and everyone's battle tested even more than they should have been, now they're even fucking scarier. So if they're game last night, again, the Blackie, but their game last night confirms to me that team makes playoffs no matter what
Starting point is 00:55:12 so you don't want to see a more polished Panthers and the injuries could accidentally do that insane second thing Erod did I that fucking guy we're watching that game
Starting point is 00:55:32 he takes there was just like a weird switch Erod sees a clapper coming from the from the blue line and he's like, I got to eat this one. And he took it off the worst spot on your knee. And for everyone that's never played, the closer you are to the shot,
Starting point is 00:55:51 the more fun the block is. Like, you know, you want to be like right in front of him and just take it off the shin pad. You know, that Erod is at the top of the crease. Like that thing gets hums all the way in. Bang, side of the knee. It's just like, he's also getting twisted down to. Like, it's just standing there.
Starting point is 00:56:07 It's like a calamity of bodies. He's getting bent in half and then banged side of the knee, wintzing in pain. Dude, we texted him after the game. I was like, how'd that one feel? And he was like, fuck me, dude. That was awful. He was right. He was out there the neck shift, but he had to get helped off the ice.
Starting point is 00:56:23 And those are the ones where I was like looking at the replay. I was like, oh, I bet that's just a stinger. But like, it's crazy how bad stingers are sometimes. You're literally like, I can't put my leg. You need like three minutes. I'm like, dude, I need this to go away. Holy hell. Brutal.
Starting point is 00:56:35 Champs look good. Champs look very good. We're recording Wednesday. So by the time you're listening to this, these Wednesday games have going to happen there for games. So we're going to do a quick mini look ahead. Just rapid fire. Again, these will have happened.
Starting point is 00:56:48 So whatever. First one, we are going to Qasem tonight. Thanks to the good people at Qasem, L.A. inviting us out there. We have a lucky winner. Aaron. Aaron won the promotion. I don't know his last name, but Aaron. Congratulations.
Starting point is 00:57:00 Grill guy. He's a grill master. Yeah. We're going to see you at Qasem tonight. So we got Vegas and Kings. at Vegas. Two things for you here. The back-to-back
Starting point is 00:57:12 in another city is ass. Even when it's a city this close for the Kings. I'm like, dude, hate it. Do they fly, do they go home, sleep in their bed and fly really early this morning? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:57:25 Because like, that blows. You get back late, you can't sleep, and then you're like, wake up, go. I'm like, dude, this is bullshit. So that's tough. And then give me a mariner, both of you,
Starting point is 00:57:34 Marner prediction first game. I think, Vegas wins. I just think like, you know. Kings own two. Yeah, I obviously, you know, I love the Kings. I just, I think this Vegas team is very good. It's their home opener. Vegas, who does a home opener better than Vegas, honestly?
Starting point is 00:57:51 And just like you're getting a team off of, you can make the argument like, well, they got a game under their belt. Like they, you know, the rust is off. I just think Vegas takes this game. Marner prediction. Two assists. One. One apple? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:58:05 You got to set your scores now I know you guys fucked me You both fucked me Okay give me I'm picking Jack to become the goal score No Mitch Mitch is the goal score Jack becomes a 95 assist guy
Starting point is 00:58:20 That would be 95 assists for Jack What's his career high? Jack in assists Yeah I think it was 60 something last year And he had 30 goals No I think he had 28 goals 26 assists
Starting point is 00:58:33 So this year for Jack 95 Wow congrats Jack That's a great year. Yeah, unbelievable. You should bet shrimp on it. Yeah. Jack, I'll do a shrimp cocktail. No, dude, you don't want to get in this fight with me because I'll actually finish the shrimp.
Starting point is 00:58:46 Bitch. Give me two goals. Mitch Barner, two goals. Two goals and an assist, three points. That's probably like plus 500. Yeah, I might actually hit that right now. Two goals, two goals in an apple on a Jack goal. And it can be anyone, but that's just for fun.
Starting point is 00:59:00 Two goals in an apple, three assists from Mitch Marner. Pumped to watch that game tonight. Bruins, Caps I'm actually really excited for this game I don't know why I think Bruins are going to be a whatever team but I just think there's like a lot of storylines I care about in this game
Starting point is 00:59:18 I'm going to go Caps I think it's going to be tight I think maybe like a 3-1 game I don't think we're going to see an OV goal You don't I don't You said when you picked him to beat the Islander or he's scored against the Islanders
Starting point is 00:59:36 You said he's definitely scoring opening night. I know, but now I'm thinking about it, he's going to get a hat trick against Sirotan. Okay, okay, okay, okay, okay, he's back. Yeah. I've got an OVie goal because I just think I need him to do it against the Rangers, and I also think he's going to score opening night because he's in Washington, right? I think so. Yep, so Ovi scores because one of you said last time.
Starting point is 00:59:56 Ovi loves a record. Ovi loves a chase. Yeah, he loves a chase. So he's like, I think he's like a dog. Yeah. You got to just keep giving him stuff. I think he's going to be dialed. Give me an OV goal, anytime goal score.
Starting point is 01:00:04 And then I. The B's, you know, man, honestly, I would just love for Sway to play great. Even if they lose. I would be like, I just want to have Sway get off on the right foot and be like, fucking good game, dude, you're dialed in. Fuck last year. Yeah. Same with LT, though.
Starting point is 01:00:22 What's up? It said same with LT though. Good point, good point. And I actually would really like to see a good game from LTE. I think it's going to be 3-1 with an empty net. Like, I think both Sway and LT are going to play great. Golly battle. Zero-0, zero, shootout.
Starting point is 01:00:32 That would be sick. Zero-zero someone wins an issue. That would actually be getting in a team. That's actually... What do you think of the odds are on that? Fuss a regulation tie zero zero? I would like this game to be the first ever in the history of hockey. It's a zero-zero game, and then they go to the shootout.
Starting point is 01:00:49 Literally, no one scores. They've got to call it. They've gone through the entire roster twice, and they go just end the game and it die. Flip a coin. Yeah. No, someone's got to win. So they flip a coin. Yeah, okay.
Starting point is 01:00:59 Big one here. Habs, Leifes. I, okay. I think this is either going to be a nice, gritty, habs win, cool, like, you know, trading punches, or I think the Leafs are going to throat fuck them. I, I, I, there's, damage trachea, dude. There's just so much Habs hype and so many people are sleeping on Toronto. They're going, oh, you lost Mitch, you didn't do much.
Starting point is 01:01:31 Nives, Nize isn't that good, even though he is, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. I could see a world where they kind of come out pissed and beat the piss out of the Habs. In Toronto as well. So I think it's going to be a beat down by the Leafs or a gritty Habs win. I give me Leafs in a landslide. I got Matthews coming out hot because this is big boy shit. Your boy's gone, dude. First game.
Starting point is 01:02:00 What happened? Matthews doesn't score. This game and has one shot. Everyone's going to be like, see, this is what happens. If the Leafs lose, everyone in the media tomorrow mornings, he'd be like, oh, you miss Mitch, right? Yes, how much you miss Mitch? And they know that's going to happen if they lose. 100% of it.
Starting point is 01:02:13 And so they're going to fuck off. And Red, I think it's two factors that are helping this. One, the Leafs go, if we don't win and Matthews doesn't score, we're going to get fucking lampooned. And I think the habs are coming in like, oh, we're fucking going to the Eastern Conference of Finals. We're so nasty. Like, I think it's going to be a wake-up call for Montreal in terms of this season's going to be harder because you're not surprising anybody and the Leafs are so fired up. I think both these teams are going to be good all year. But tonight, I think it's fucking, give me Matthews. I'll take two there also. God,
Starting point is 01:02:44 I'm rich tonight. Give me Matthews, two, Leafs roll. I like it. I dig it. Flames Oilers. I think Oilers are going to win fucking eight. Carnar McDavid is about to go off tonight, dude. Rocket Watch. What's that, sorry? Rocket Watch. Honor McDavid. I'm on it. Wow. Interesting. He is going to fucking go off. 12.5, dude, suck me. Here comes a 5 point night in an 8-0 win.
Starting point is 01:03:11 Dustin Wolf, enjoy your fucking 10th and the thread. That's why I'm like, I actually don't think that's going to happen. I think Wolf is too good. No, he is good, but Conner, 12.5, Connor, you've never even fucking seen 12.5, Connor, even though that's been his number all year. I've literally seen the last eight year. But no, but you haven't seen 12.5 discount, Connor.
Starting point is 01:03:30 You see 12.5 payday, Connor. You've never seen 12.5 discount, Connor. I think this is an auto lock oilers win. But I don't think it's going to be a blow it because I think Wolf is too good. But yeah, I mean, I think this is going to be a just classic Oilers win. Like I think Connor and Leon are going to be all over the score sheet. It'll be like four to one, four to two or something like that. Oilers roll.
Starting point is 01:03:56 Yeah. Rocket watch. Okay. Last thing, it's a little bit of a tease. we are going to start doing a mini gambling show. Yes. We're going to give you your weekend picks. And it's all kinds of different fun bets.
Starting point is 01:04:10 We're going to get it dialed in for you. It'll be in the pod every Thursday episode. But we'll also pull it out and drop it as its own entity on YouTube every Friday morning. Yep. So if you're a hockey gambler and you're like, I don't have time to watch the pod, first of all, fucking make time and watch the pod, please. But if not, find it on YouTube on Friday morning. So check out that starting next week.
Starting point is 01:04:30 but as a teaser this weekend, this Saturday, first Saturday of the NHL season, we got a frozen frenzy, and we need more of them because they're sick. So we are going to give you the mega parlay, and we're going to give you a mega parlay for every Saturday of the season. So this is our first one, the mega parlay,
Starting point is 01:04:47 and guys, you throw five bucks on it. And if one of these hits, we all go to Aruba. Dude, when I lost the mega parlay last year by one game, with my help. Eh, kind of. that was the worst thing that's ever happened So here's the reality
Starting point is 01:05:02 Ladies and gentlemen Boys and Girls at home If you try to pick the winner Of every game you will lose So you need to Look if you just go through and go Winner winner winner You'll lose you're gonna lose every time
Starting point is 01:05:12 So you have to change the algorithm You have to shift the paradigm In some way shape or form So ask a friend about one game or something Flip a coin for a couple games So what we are going to do here for you all Is we're going to go around We're not each weighing in on every game
Starting point is 01:05:28 It's just game, winner, winner, winner, winner. This is how three minds create a mega frozen frenzy parlay for you to win. Okay. Who wants to start? Red, Dan. Red. Red, the first game, we're just going by time, okay? The first game, Kings at Jets.
Starting point is 01:05:45 Jets. Dan, blues at flames. Blues. Chris, sabers at Bruins. Bees. I didn't like that pick. Red, Leafs at. at Red Wings.
Starting point is 01:06:03 Lees. Dan, Devils at Lightning. Boltz. Chris, senators at Panthers. Sends. Red, capitals at Islanders. Capitals. Dan, Rangers at Penguins.
Starting point is 01:06:20 Oh, Rangers. Chris, Flyers at Cains. Red. Habs at Blackhawks. Habs. Mammoth at Preds. Mammoth Blue Jackets at Wild
Starting point is 01:06:38 Wild No, me, me But I'm also going wild You hook me dead and I I was thinking Red stars at avalanche Oh Tilt
Starting point is 01:06:47 Stars I like it Dude Miko Regular season Miko Against them Did Kdux at Oilers Give me the Kinnucks I like their vibes
Starting point is 01:07:01 Chris ducks at sharks How many fucking games have we said Is this last one? This is crazy Give me ducks and red last one, Knights at Cracken. Knights. Okay, Jets, Blues, Bruins, Leifes, Bolts, Senators, Capitals, Rangers, Cains, Habs, Mammoth, Wild Stars, Canucks, Ducks, Nights. Bang, you're all rich, Frozen Frenzy, Mega Parlay.
Starting point is 01:07:27 Is that what Frozen Frenzy is? Every single fucking team. Nuts. That was electric. That's gas, as they say. Okay, let's take an ad break. Quick ad break. And we'll be back.
Starting point is 01:07:40 Folks, by now you know we have teamed up with BetMGM, the best sports book in the game. And you have got to get on board because BetMGM is hooking you up like no one else. Hockey season is back. So we are fully dialed. Empty Netters has a new gambling show portion to the podcast. It's beautiful. We've got picks flying left and right. You've got to do that on Bet, MGM.
Starting point is 01:08:00 And right now, we've got the hat-trick jackpot going. If you pick any player, any time goal, score and they score three or more. They get that hat trick or more. You could get a cat trick, score nine goals. You get put into a pot to win $10,000 in bonus bets. So get on board. Pick those anytime goal scores. We love that action. And then you will be put into the jackpot. The hat trick jackpot. We need it. And also, if you sign up with the promo code, Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you can bet up to $1,500. And if you lose it, you get it all. back in bonus bets. So if you are not signed up with BetMGM yet, what are you doing? Sign up,
Starting point is 01:08:42 use our code, Netters. You're going to get that hookup. You can get in on the Hatrick Jackpot. You can get in on all our picks every single Thursday episode. We are ripping you with a nice new gambling portion of the show. You're going to see it. You're going to love it. You're going to enjoy it. Get signed up today. Okay, we are back. And we saw a funny tweet, Dan. And this isn't new, but like this just put it in perspective. Legion of Hoops tweeted out. Connor McDavid, by far the best player in hockey, signed a two-year $25 million deal today. Stephen Adams, who is averaging three points per game.
Starting point is 01:09:16 Can I pause you real quick? Yeah. Because I should have said this when we were talking about all the Oilers contracts. I just wanted to say this. And I'm not trying to sewer anybody, but you just bring up the Connor McDavid extension. Pierre LeBrun felt the need to say this today on 10. TV or like on his show. I don't know what it is. And like love Pierre, so I'm not trying to shit on him. But he, he felt it necessary to say this. If Connor McDavid hadn't signed his extension
Starting point is 01:09:48 and hit free agency, L.A. was definitely going to be all in. The Leafs for sure. Rangers, stars. Several teams were keeping close eye on the situation. No shit. I know that. Are you a fucking moron? Are you a fucking moron? Are you a fucking Like, did you genuinely feel the need to say if Connor McDavid, the best player on earth, hit free agency, unrestricted free agency, several teams were going to be keeping an eye on the situation. Are you fucking idiot? 31.
Starting point is 01:10:22 Yeah, yeah. Like 31 other teams, Pierre, I assure you, we're going to make him an offer. You fucking idiot. I can't believe he felt the need to be like, I actually think these. few teams were going to be heavy and I'm like are you fucking stupid every team was going to be every team going to be interested. Good Lord. Go on. Sorry. No, it's okay. The tweet said Stephen Adams, who is averaging three points per game, signed a three year $39 million deal this summer. NBA money is insane. Now, I don't watch a ton of regular season basketball,
Starting point is 01:10:56 watch the seas, but I don't like put on basketball in the way I put on hockey. My memory of Stephen Adams is he's like a massive rebounder. My point is I'm sure Stephen Adams does a lot more than score his three points. That's probably not, that's probably a mean tweet because he does more than score. Yeah. But it is crazy that, dude, you look up per year, and obviously it's fucking bananas. Like the top guys are getting 60 mil a year, which is fucking fucked to hell. But I was cruising down for AAB. And Brandon Clark power forward on the Memphis Grizzlies, 28 years old.
Starting point is 01:11:33 He has, last year, averaged 8.3 points, 5.1 rebounds. He makes 12.5. Yeah. And it must blow. Because, dude,
Starting point is 01:11:44 I'm pretty sure, look up what Cooper Flagg makes. I'm pretty sure Cooper Flagg makes, like, he's the rookie. As a rookie. Right? He's a rookie. First overall pit.
Starting point is 01:11:52 And I'm pretty sure he makes like 12, or it might be 125. It might be more. No, no. Yes. Right, Dan. I promise you. No, Dan, he makes 13.85.
Starting point is 01:12:03 Crazy. More than a million more. And then 14, 5, then 15, 2, then 191. Then he's a free agent. Cooper Flagg's rookie contract. 13.8. Is more than the best player in the NHL. It's hard to fucking compare, obviously.
Starting point is 01:12:19 They got half the players to pay. Yeah. But I think the real conversation there is rookie contracts in the NHL then. Why aren't we paying these? Why aren't we paying? These guys, five million in your one. Yep. Yeah, great point, Red.
Starting point is 01:12:32 Well, it is a great point. I don't know that that should change, though. You want to starve the kids. You want to starve the kids, Dan. Yes. Hold on. Let me just quickly go to, let's see what first overall pick. 950.
Starting point is 01:12:53 Matthew Schaefer is making. 950. He is currently making $975,000. He can't eat Dan. He lives in New York. I don't want to starve him, dude. He lives in New York. Kids making a cock hair shy of a million dollars a year. He's starving. He's getting taxed to half of that.
Starting point is 01:13:09 Damn, that brother's starving. Getting taxed half of that. Every dinner's a thousand bucks. You want to go shake shacks in New York City, $1,000. Rent? Fucking $20 million. And you split that with the cockroaches. I'm down. The cockroaches were men and blackers.
Starting point is 01:13:22 Yeah. What's a. Dude. That's, Dan's trying to starve the kids, Red. I'm just saying I think that there's a happy medium I think but then it goes into the like
Starting point is 01:13:34 every rookie making that you sign a kid off the scrap heap is you making that or is it like first rounders yeah your top players every first round pick or is it top 10 picks well there's a there's a waterfall
Starting point is 01:13:46 I think it's the same thing is a skill level of a player if he's playing Schaefer can make three mill this year and no one would blink I think I think three's too much I think 1.5 though I'm down I'm just comparing
Starting point is 01:13:57 You're trying to start the kids, damn. I'm trying to, dude, fuck them kids. Fuck them kids. They can take care of them. And obviously the counter is that no one watches. But, and also, this was about to say, the, we just were talking about Jack Eichel, 12 by, or 8 by 10. Yeah. And now maybe an 8 by 12.
Starting point is 01:14:14 But I mean, like, if you're getting 2 8 by 10s, 80, 80 plus whatever his deal was before that, obviously, fucking league team dues, players association dues, agent fees, blah, blah, blah, blah, you get about half. Like, that's what the guys always say. Child support, you know, you got all the things. It goes, but the guys say you get about half. But either way, like $80 million is a shit load. Like, you're good, dude. Your kids are, like, everybody's good. So I don't mean to imply that the NHL players starving.
Starting point is 01:14:42 But, man, it's just the comparisons are crazy. Yeah, it is fucked that, like, Steph Curry getting like 62 a year. And I'm like, dude. I don't even know how to process it. I hope. I don't know the back ends of these. leagues, though, like they're making 75 times the amount the NHL does. Is that, that's got to be it, right?
Starting point is 01:15:01 The TV deals that the NBA gets is 100 times the NHL deal, so they get 100 times more money. And that's like, dude, I'm out here rallying. I get, no, I'm going to get in trouble now, but like, I get frustrated when, like, the U.S. women's World Cup team is like, pay me this money. Or like, the NBA goes, like, pay me this money. And I'm like, dude, the NBA loses money on it. Like, it's a money.
Starting point is 01:15:23 Numbers don't lie. I think it's all go back to, like, how much is. your league generating. Exactly. So I'm not about to be a hypocrite and be like, pay the NHO guys more. I'm like, numbers don't lie, bro. This is how much, this is the ad money we get. So here you go. But it would be sick for the league
Starting point is 01:15:38 to get, maybe never NBA big, but that big someday where guys are getting bags. That would make me very happy. I mean, they're already getting bags. I know, I just said. Kyle Conard has got $96 million. That's top boys, though. Like, I'm talking about fucking Brandon Clark, no shot, no, Brandon
Starting point is 01:15:54 Clark catching strays for me now. But like, I'm I'm talking Brandon Clark out here making 12, making Connor McDavid money. I'm like, I don't even know who you are, dude. Yeah, I mean, Cooper Flagg already making more money than him is so fucking. Yeah. I'm like, what the fuck are we doing?
Starting point is 01:16:06 Dude, Cooper Flagg going out to dinner with McDavid. He's like, hey, do you want me to get it? I'll get this one, dude. You bitch. You broke bitch. And dude, what's crazy is I want to go, well, McDavid, you know, he's got the sponsorship deals. Cooper Flagg is going to get way more.
Starting point is 01:16:22 Superflag's sponsorships in college were probably higher than Conner. NIL. Like, that's dead ass. That's dead ass. That's dead ass. God, got paid more at Duke
Starting point is 01:16:29 than McDavid does by the Oilers. It's unbelievable. God, tragedy. These boys can't eat? These boys can't eat we're starving Matthew Schaefer.
Starting point is 01:16:35 Somebody send him some food. Dude, Shaif should send me his address. I'll Uber Eats him some shit. Poor kid. I mean, that poor kid is, I mean,
Starting point is 01:16:42 he literally must be sleeping on a car. He's a fucking tragedy. God, good for him. We're on the way. We're on the way. We're on the way. We'll get there. Okay, one more thing for you guys.
Starting point is 01:16:50 Last night, got the King's game. Dr. Locke's with us. He texts me before the game. He goes, the tendies that we're going to have and are going to hit like crack. I must have missed the fucking invite here.
Starting point is 01:16:59 Yeah, you did. Hey, start a gambling page, right. Yeah, fair. He goes... Are you going to come to Kaism with us tonight? Give me a Kaun, but you don't give me the game. Cause him is sick. I don't know.
Starting point is 01:17:13 You should come. He goes, Tendie's going to hit like crack. And I was like, yeah, they are. I couldn't wait. They got Ludo Bird up in there, and they got great tendies. But then we hit another place for more attendees. And I forget what it was called, but there was like a burger spot.
Starting point is 01:17:27 And they were more like nuggets. So I have a question for you guys. Would you rather, I have two questions. When you're getting chicken bites. I got something to say. When you are getting chicken bites, do you want, you know, half dollar side? Like, do you want it like in nuggets? Nuggets or tenders?
Starting point is 01:17:44 Or do you want strips? That's question one. And then question two, what is a fair amount of strips? Like if I'm going on, I'm like, hey, I'd like the attendees. I didn't know we were about to talk about this. This is legitimately one of the most important discussions of my entire life. It's one of the most important discussions on earth. Okay.
Starting point is 01:18:03 Do I have the floor? Yeah. Just take it. Run. Number one, all of these have caveats. Yep. Number one, I am strip over nugget. Okay.
Starting point is 01:18:18 Strip tender over nugget all day. It doesn't mean I don't like nuggets. It's better chicken ratio, probably. For me, my caveat, completely agree, I need more meat than breading. Yes. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And if done right, a tender is always going to have more meat than nuggets. Even if it's the same amount of weight, because think about it, if you are making a bunch of little ones and all of those are completely covered in breading, that is always going to be more breading than meat. Yes, yes.
Starting point is 01:18:49 So give me tenders. You know, give you, oh, yeah, yeah, strips, strips. I don't know why we're saying strips. Tenders are strips. You fucking idiot. Strips. Give me tenders. What is it tender, by the way?
Starting point is 01:19:01 I don't know. I genuinely don't know. I'm going to look that up while you tell. Well, I mean, like, think about it. Like, if you go and just buy raw chicken, like, it'll say, like, breast tenders. I don't know why we decided to call those tenders. I guess it's probably short for tenderloin. Yeah, okay.
Starting point is 01:19:13 Maybe. So, yeah, nice, Dan. Very nice. Next up is, if you, before I get into, at a number, if you have the fucking gall to serve me tenders or nuggets, and when I bite in there, the ratio is not 80-20 meat breading.
Starting point is 01:19:41 You're a fucking rat pig. You are a scumbag rat pig, and you deserve to be fired into the core of the earth. Do you ever get one of those bikes that's all, all-reading? And I'm like, Are you insane? Literally no chicken in here.
Starting point is 01:19:58 You are such a cheap skate, son of a bitch. If you're serving people tenders or nuggets like that. You're selling me breading. It's crazy. You try to sell me breading. Especially at a game for 1895 bucks, right, red? I have multiple times. I have bitten into a tender so bad that I have damn near gone up to the counter where I bought
Starting point is 01:20:19 them and gone, excuse me, I'd like to return these. I'd like my money. There's literally no chicken in here. You know what? I might start doing that. That's how important this topic is to me. That's how much it pisses me off. I legitimately might start doing that.
Starting point is 01:20:32 So to all vendors out there, wherever you're buying your fucking tenders, I imagine they're all fucking frozen and then you drop them in a fucking vat of firing oil. But, dude, if your tenders aren't at worst, 70-30, find a new fucking supplier. Because it is so appreciated. from the tender community, from the nugget community, when you bite into it and you're like,
Starting point is 01:20:58 oh my God, it's all fucking meat. Yep. So do fucking better people. And then to, wait. No, I have the floor. To answer your final question, at minimum, it has to be four. I want to say five. But if you serve me a basket of three tenders, I am going to literally slit your throat with a samurai sword.
Starting point is 01:21:24 and I deserve zero punishment. Three tenders is the most egregious behavior by, and a lot of people do it. I've seen two, pal. No, you have not. I've seen two. I'm calling bullshit on you. There is no, fuck. I want you to tell me the place and the city, because there is no planet where you have ever been served two tenders before.
Starting point is 01:21:47 There's no planet. Two tender. No, you haven't. You're lying. Two tenders. They better be the size of my forearm. No, two tenders. Legitimately, they better be a.
Starting point is 01:21:54 Renaissance Fair style turkey leg size. There is no way you're lying. Two tenders. You are lying. And it was there, you know the flatter ones that are kind of wider? Yes. So it was two wide ones. And you, where was this?
Starting point is 01:22:06 You were both there with, you didn't see me at it, but you were both at the place that this happened. Put them on blast. I'm going to see if you can guess. You were both there with me in the last year. Edmonton? Nope. Not a stadium. Oh.
Starting point is 01:22:16 But like a place that you would, when I say it, you'll go, of course, of course there was only two tenders there. For a billion. Oh, Coachella. Yeah. Oh, okay. There you go. Yeah. Two tenders, dude. That's fucking... Two tenders?
Starting point is 01:22:27 Dog shit. You're mad at your fucking mind. That is dog shit. Dude, three, I'm surprised you got mad at three. Okay, first of all, strip. Tender or nugget? No, we go strip. I retweet everything, Dan said. And then what's your minimum? Size is obviously comes into play, but it's got to be like four minimum.
Starting point is 01:22:45 Yes. Just like, you gotta be able to see, you got a bunch. It is a visual thing. Yeah. If you show me three, I'm like, no, if you... If you... I'm going to bite of that, and I'm like, get, Fuck.
Starting point is 01:22:54 There's three. I only have three. You think Matthew Schafer's starving. Look at me. But no, you can go up to like six. You can go up to six. And I deserve five. I think, don't you think I deserve five?
Starting point is 01:23:06 At least. At least. I mean, again, four is my like, if it's four, I'm like, that's your minimum. I'm like, you fucking bums. You, you pigs. Oink, oinking back there, eating all the tenders for yourself. And that's why I'm saying. They're eating of themselves in there.
Starting point is 01:23:22 Eat of themselves. If you serve me three tenders, I reserve the right to pull out a gun and shoot you in the head. Yikes. I fucking mean it. So four, I go, like, I'm rolling. I'm like, thanks. Yeah. Five, I go, nice.
Starting point is 01:23:40 Thanks. Thanks. This is where I signed up for. Thanks. Yeah. I go, thanks. I'm ordering a tender basket. No, it's like this.
Starting point is 01:23:46 And God, man. Four, you go, thanks. Five, you go like this. Thanks. Yes. Six, you go like this. Oh, thank you. I go, I'm going to tell everyone about this place.
Starting point is 01:23:56 And Chris, the glorious moment we've all had it, where you go to a place and you go, because when you're in the mood for tenders, there's nothing. Oh, dude, they hit like crack. You get a tender basket, tenders and fries. And when you order a tender basket and it gets dropped in front of you and there are six tenders in there and you go, oh, fuck yeah, this place. It's going to be a good day. And then you take the first bite into one and almost in the millisecond your teeth hit
Starting point is 01:24:22 the breading and all of a sudden you realize you sink into chicken you go i'm hitting meat already yeah i'll kiss you on the mouth yeah you have my business i promise you that you can pull down your pants i'll kiss you right on the cheeks dude yeah boom i'll give you a double cheek kiss on your face i'll give you a double cheek kiss on your bare bottom if you'd like if you'd like if you'd like if you'd like if you'd like if you'd like if you'd like should be open a place that's six tendy it's called six tendies and then serve them five yeah and then you get five we have a five option if you'd like for less. Or do we go the other way and call it five, tenies, he's and serve him six. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:24:53 So everybody's happy. Call him six fingers. Six fingers. Six fingers is such a good fuck. And then we are such a good fucking name. And then we are rich. I mean, five fingers is a good name too. But six fingers but then you serve him six. Yeah, six fingers. We got to figure something out with this. Oh, wait. Delete this. Delete this. Delete this. Holy shit. Wow. Thank you. And I'm
Starting point is 01:25:17 I'm with you strips and give me five. Yeah. Give me five. All right, quick ad break. Then we're going to get back into a game. Babes, I want to keep you buzzing at all times in any way that you need. And the best way to do that is with Lucy. Lucy is a smart, intelligent nicotine product that is always tobacco-free.
Starting point is 01:25:34 It's scientifically tested and crafted. And we're delivering you all the best flavors and all the best styles to get your nicotine fix. They got pouches. They got breakers. They got gum. It's unbelievable. These flavors are. They're fantastic.
Starting point is 01:25:48 I'm in a winter green fix right now, but as the fall season turns into winter, I might get into that espresso flavor. I'm not a coffee drinker, but I do love me some Lucy, and if they can give me that coffee flavor, that's fantastic. Lucy is giving you the best flavors across the board. It's not even close. Let's be honest, folks. And what I love about Lucy is it's taking care of whatever you need you have.
Starting point is 01:26:08 You need some energy in the morning. You don't want to have coffee or caffeine, something like that. Bang, pop into Lucy, you're starting to buzz. You need some focus. You're working on a project. You're at work, grinding. stuff out. You need to stay dialed in. There you go. Speaking of being dialed in, I'm using it on the golf course, baby. I'm telling you, when I'm hunting birdies and I need to lock in, you're getting
Starting point is 01:26:27 on the back nine, getting a little tired, you need to refocus up, pop a pouch in and I feel fantastic. This is my favorite one, though. I've been talking about this a lot. I like to stay fit. I like to stay trim. I get that fix. I need a little sweet treat at the end of the night after I've had my dinner, but I don't want it. What do I need a nice little treat for myself? Bang. I pop in a Lucy, a nice little nicotine buzz going on. It's clean. It's delicious. It's fantastic. You got to get on board. So we're going to hook you up right now. We're going to get you 20% off your first order. You're going to go to lucy.com. Lucy.com. Lucy.com. Lucy.com slash Friday. You're going to use promo code Friday. F-R-I-D-A-Y. You're going to get 20% off your first order. And here's the thing.
Starting point is 01:27:11 Lucy has a 30-day refund policy if you change your mind. So they're taking care of you in every single way. Again, Lucy.co slash Friday, promo code Friday for 20% off. And remember, Lucy products are only for adults of legal age. Every customer is age verified. The product contains nicotine, and nicotine is an addictive chemical. If you want to get these nice fix, whether it's energy, relaxation, a nice buzz, whatever you want, with all of the best flavors, Lucy is the way to go. Hit that link.
Starting point is 01:27:43 Enjoy 20% off. Attention. I have a massive announcement. about my favorite source of 5% alcohol. And that would be my good friends at Light Strike because a new flavor just dropped. It is blue rush. It is absolutely gas.
Starting point is 01:27:59 It's a mix of berry and yuzu flavors. This thing's got 10% coconut water, 5% alcohol by volume, like I said, probably the most perfect combo I've ever heard in my entire life because it's perfect for everything. Hockey's back. I'm getting ready to watch the game. Bang.
Starting point is 01:28:12 Football's still on. Tailgating. Bang. Anytime I'm day drinking. Anytime I'm throwing a party. We got DJ press play popping Friday beers parties all over the place. Bang. This is the go-to.
Starting point is 01:28:23 The mixture, the flavor. They've got all kinds of players, by the way. This new one Blue Rush is so good. It's my favorite right now. But go back and check the whole catalog because they're all fire. I'm loving them. This is what we need. Listen, it's everything that this packaging of alcohol is supposed to be.
Starting point is 01:28:37 It's smooth. It's fizz-free, no carbonation, which I'm so in on right now, which I'm absolutely loving. It's refreshing. It's so perfect. It's perfect in every way. I want you to go try some. So what you do is you go to drinklightstrike.com. And you'll be able to find some light strike near you.
Starting point is 01:28:52 Do not miss the Blue Rush. All right, everybody, we are back and we're going to finish up with a quick game. This game is called connective tissue. And this game, we give you two NHL players, the careers of two players. I thought it was the other one. The fuck. I love what's the connection. Yeah, that's next Thursday.
Starting point is 01:29:09 Oh, hell yeah. This game is called connective tissue. And funny, Dan, because I know why you're confused. I'm giving people a look behind the curtain here, but we had recorded a connective tissue for the previous Thursday, and then the division preview went so long we took it out of the episode.
Starting point is 01:29:22 So that's why we're doing it again. You feel like I said, I thought I just did this, but we actually never aired that one. And I guess maybe I should say it. I did a really good job on that. I know, but now it's ruined because we did it.
Starting point is 01:29:32 And I'll say, I'll use that as the example. So what we do is we give two players and then their names connect. So last week, the first player was Cam Neely, and the second player was Lee Stepniak. So it's Cam Neely. Lee Stepniak. It's a super fun game. The names connect
Starting point is 01:29:49 and Chris gives a bio of the two players kind of combined and that's how I get it. C.P. hit me with it. Okay. I was the third overall pick in the 2009 NHL draft but despite having success everywhere I've played, I'm on my fifth team. A two
Starting point is 01:30:06 time all-star I was traded by one of my childhood heroes. Two of my best seasons happened in my 30s each on my last two teams. One each on my last two teams. And I have I have more hint, but that's all I'm going to give you so far. Okay. Hit me again.
Starting point is 01:30:21 I was the third overall pick in the 2009 NHL draft, but despite having success everywhere I've played, I'm on my fifth team. A two-time All-Star, I was traded by one of my childhood heroes. Two of my best seasons happened in my 30s, one on each of my last two teams. Oh my God. Then I was drafted in the second round of the 2019 NHL draft. I was first team all NCHC at North Dakota. I won the gold at World Championships for Team USA in 2025.
Starting point is 01:30:46 Damn. But I actually got into hockey later in my childhood, making a very concentrated effort to make the NHL once I set my mind to it. And I have more hints on that one too. Damn. Okay, 2009 draft. That was, it's always so hard to pick, like. The specific. I actually like giving the draft day because it's like no one ever remembers.
Starting point is 01:31:06 Like, oh, yeah, this guy won't. Well, that was the year after my draft. Yeah. So, like, Dewey went to my draft. Is this like head? Well, it's Crider at 19. So, like, I should know exactly who went in this. So third overall in 2009 has been on five teams and has played well.
Starting point is 01:31:31 Don't say it. I have it. I have it. Nice. You have the full thing or you have a question? I have the guy. All right. Don't tell me.
Starting point is 01:31:39 Okay. Do you have the second guy, too? I need to say that again. Wait, you think you have the first guy. Yeah. Do you want him to tell you? No, no, no, no. Okay, do you want the second part of the clue?
Starting point is 01:31:51 Yeah. Then I was drafted in the second round of the 2019 NHL draft. I was first team all NCHC at North Dakota, and I won gold at the World Championships for Team USA this year in 2025. God damn. But I actually got into hockey later in my childhood, making a very concentrated effort to make the NHL once I set my mind to it. I'm trying to think of North Dakota.
Starting point is 01:32:13 And, Dan, 2009 drafts, do we? isn't Dewey going to. No, 2008 draft is Dewey going to. Oh, oh, yes. Yeah. I was saying that was my draft. This is the next year, and that's the Crider year. Crieder went 19.
Starting point is 01:32:31 Fuck. 2019, I should be able to get this. I think you can. And I have hints for both. Hold on. 2019 second round pick and played for North Dakota. And was on Team USA this year, World Championship. was just on Team USA.
Starting point is 01:32:53 One gold in 2025. Come on, yeah, that's gas. Which, do you want a hint for the first one? Or do you want more clue for the first one? No. I think, because if I give you more clue, like if you get one of them, it obviously helps you get the other one, as you know. This one's also awesome.
Starting point is 01:33:26 Is it? Yeah. Or it's just funny. Can I just guess? Do you think you have the whole thing? Oh, oh. I just have the first player. I think I have the first player too.
Starting point is 01:33:42 Third overall pick? Third overall pick in the 2009 draft. Okay, let me just think about this. Red, text me who you think the first player is. Hey, do you think the first player is our first guest ever on the podcast? Yeah. Matt Duchet. Yes.
Starting point is 01:34:02 The rest of the clue was, and the location of boys. of my recent teams really suit my taste in music. Okay, so this is where I was getting confused. Help me here. Avs, Sends, Pred's, Stars. Who was his other team? Nashville. Preds, I said, Pratt.
Starting point is 01:34:20 Oh, sorry. What am I forgetting? There's a quick stop somewhere. And it was right after 23 games. It was right. I'm blanking on that, too. I don't know. Right after, Ott.
Starting point is 01:34:35 It was like Ottawa. and quickly stop. Traded here. Yeah. Oh. Oh. I should know this, obviously. Who was it?
Starting point is 01:34:42 You got it, dude. Well, we already got Matt Duchyne. The Blue Jackets. That's right. They were a wagon. Yeah, they were nasty. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Okay, so it's Matt DeShane, and I think I know it now just on process of elimination, like
Starting point is 01:34:54 thinking USA guys, I thought he was a first overall, or a first round pick, though. But this is our boy, dude. Two friends of the pod. This is a great connection. I would like to solve the puzzle. Just solve the riddle. The connective tissue is Matt Dushain Pinta. Matt Dushan Pinto is absolutely correct.
Starting point is 01:35:19 I thought Shane was the 32nd overall pitch. When there were 31 teams. Bitch. Maybe even 30. Did you do that intentionally? Yeah. That was cheeky. Yep.
Starting point is 01:35:28 That's a great one. The rest of it was I had a checklist of things on my childhood bedroom wall. And I missed half a season due to. disciplinary issues. Matt Dushan Pinto. Matt Dushan Pinto. That's a great one, C.P. Excellent work.
Starting point is 01:35:46 Great one. Great connective tissue. Great episode. That's going to do it for us. If you want to sprinkle some action in, we said who we think is going to win. By the way, I've got a nice screenshot from a follower. He goes, who are your picks for tonight's games? Season's finally back.
Starting point is 01:36:04 And I immediately go, Avs, Panthers, Penguins. Come on And he bet it Yeah He made 600 bucks Come on And he was like dude We need like powers picks this year
Starting point is 01:36:13 And I was like well you're getting a gambling show So Make some picks if you want Follow along Subscribe to the YouTube Guys we've got great guests We've got big big announcements coming One of them is coming today
Starting point is 01:36:23 Yes So you will have already seen it Fun fun stuff Buy some new merch We just dropped some sick ass new merch Amazing The merch is gas Gas.
Starting point is 01:36:37 Enjoy this episode. Enjoy hockey tonight. We're so fucking back. And while you do it, there is one thing to always remember and to always do. Skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.