Empty Netters Podcast - McDavid Remembered How To Score And Now The Oilers Are Unstoppable | LIVE.EP15
Episode Date: May 26, 2025The boys go live for their 15th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM... app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Wow.
We are back.
We are back with the Nogetters Puck Line News.
Brought you by BetMGM.
It's Memorial Day.
And I'm being very patriotic.
You're not.
You're a bitch.
Dude, hold on.
I don't want to get anyone in trouble.
But I have American flag shorts on.
Wow.
And that was a risky move on a live stream.
I just want to say.
I stood up and showed and showed waist down on a live.
stream. I'm not going to say why I can't do that, but I can't stand up right now.
That could have, dude, that could have ended everything. Could have ended netters as we know it.
Just saying. Well, listen, it's great to be here. It's great to be arriving and showing up for the fans and showing up for the people on a Monday that is a holiday.
Yep. On Memorial Day, we're honoring the troops today. And I would say shouts to everyone that showed up here too, because
it's a holiday for them.
And they could be doing anything they want.
Massive shout out to the chat to everyone who is who's here showing up on this holiday to get in and talk about some hockey.
Get your daily fix from the empty netters.
A lot of people upset from various fan bases over the weekend.
I will say, man, we'll get into all these games in a second.
and maybe I'll wait for the Stars Oilers section,
but I'll tell you what, pal,
we had one Dallas Stars fan who was in our DMs
sending us voice notes.
And Alice and I were driving around yesterday,
and I was just playing these voice notes on full volume in the car,
and this man was fucking screaming,
screaming his frustration with the team,
with the refs, with the lead up, with us.
Because we weren't talking.
about it enough and I was like oh my god
this is going to be a great Monday show
dude I want to say Dan
Boldie our boy Matt Boldie
Glazer that says you guys
hung over I can't speak to you Dan
because you're in L.A. I'm in Boston
but Boldie I am in
shambles this is a fucking nightmare
I can't believe this I can't believe I agreed to do this
it all started on my fucking
Thursday flight
which I had some people DMing being like
how were the travels, did it all hell break loose?
And obviously it did.
Fucking massive delay in Denver because of a windstorm in Boston thought I would never
take off.
But I barely fucking slept.
And then you just come right into the madness.
I get here and all my boys live here.
And it's just chaos.
And he's a, you know, wedding last night.
And I've slept six hours since Thursday.
So here we are.
Here we are.
I'm in shambles.
I mean, there you go.
Flower cop said sound and tired.
their DP. I don't know that I sound that
tired. I think it's maybe I you know,
I'm not, I'm not in the studio. It's a mic. It's a mic. It's a mic. It's a mic setting. You
hit the tired setting on the mic, dude.
I'm fine. Michael in the chat says
he's popping pepto like Pez. So he's dying right now.
Dude, I need that. Mike. I need that. Mike.
Sent some to me, please.
Holy fuck.
But listen, there are no breaks. There are no breaks around here.
Yes, it's a holiday weekend. But the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the, the
Stanley Cup playoffs, churn on, so we keep rocking.
I do want to take a brief moment before we get into these games.
I'm going to switch up my Patriotic cat to another Patriotic cat.
Oh, that is gas.
The fuck do you get that?
We're going to talk about Team USA.
First gold medal in the world championship since 1933, 92 years.
I don't even know how that happened.
I don't know how that wasn't talked about more.
But the boy showed up, casual 25 save shutout from Jeremy Swayman, O.T. winner from
Cage Thompson, and Team USA on the eve of Memorial Day wins a gold medal in the world championship.
That is just beautiful stuff. Absolutely beautiful.
Dude, you know why, and I think we'll dig into this even more on the pod that we will record tonight.
but they brought the Goodro jersey out.
Incredible.
Absolutely.
And the fact that it was Zach,
that the fact that it was Warenski who like ran down,
you know,
no hesitation.
The first thought was like,
I'm going to get that jersey.
So sick.
And here's why I love,
here's why I love our boy Will Smith.
Dude,
Smitty's texting us after the semi game because we're,
you know,
we're just chatting and being like,
go get it, dude.
And Smitty goes,
do we got to get it done first time in 91 years.
And I'm like,
Well, it is 92, but I love you.
I'm just like, close.
I love a city, dude.
He's like, he's so dialed, but not quite, but like he's so dialed, but didn't
quite know.
He is, listen, math is hard.
Math is hard, many.
Yeah, I get it.
It's hard as shit.
He's here to score goals, not math, you know?
I will say, oh, wow, always on it.
Boldie Glazer, I just pops in the chat.
I was about to say this.
Zeve Boyam has four gold medals now.
Yeah, like that dude, of course he did that.
The kid is just an absolute machine pumping in gold.
Dude, you know what I did see?
And this is kind of like a dumb qualifier because I don't think Four Nations was a joke at all.
But I saw this quote that was like Four Nations only had four teams.
And again, I don't know why that should have mattered.
That should have made it easier.
But it was like men's worlds, women's world, men's world juniors.
the like the three internationals that had everybody
USA won everything.
You know,
and then obviously second in four nations.
But I was like,
yo, dude,
it's coming.
It's coming.
It's our game.
It really is,
man.
We're taking over.
But we can,
we can get into,
I do want to shout out Denmark,
by the way,
getting as far as Denmark did.
I think they had one NHL player on their roster.
Yes.
Oh,
did they,
nice,
yeah.
Oh,
yeah.
Tom.
Yeah, yeah.
Great, great matchup.
huge accomplishment for USA.
Everything counts, man.
It's like a trophy is a trophy.
A medal's a medal.
That's a world championship gold medal.
Awesome for a lot of those boys.
You know,
a lot of those guys who had been knocked out,
they went and joined you saw William Nealander go join team Sweden.
And a lot of those USA boys who just wanted to play some more hockey,
I think it sometimes gets taken for granted.
Guys could easily just go, no, I'm enjoying my summer.
And a lot of these dudes pack their bag and they go,
no, I'm going overseas.
And I'm going to play more hockey.
I'm going to represent team USA.
and they pull in a goal that's absolutely none.
That's why you got a rep.
Yeah.
That's why you got to wrap.
Let's talk some playoffs.
Yeah.
Starting with Katz-Kains, folks.
Cats canes, game three over the weekend,
what do you know?
Another tough results for the Carolina Hurricanes.
Florida goes up three games to zero.
We are on the Eve.
of another sweep tonight.
How are you feeling C.P?
My first reaction to that game,
and I think we all felt that it was headed that way.
You know, Carolina is good enough to win,
and it's like they could win in Florida.
I wasn't like this is over for sure,
even though we were all trending that way.
My initial reaction to start that game was absolutely insane to bench Freddie.
It was such an interesting decision.
I literally cannot fathom that benching.
I'm dead ass, dude.
He has given up 10 goals, right, in two games.
So I'm not being like it's fucking dialed.
He's been incredible.
But he has been incredible all playoffs up until this series.
And I wouldn't say that anything was on him in the first two games.
I even read the quotes last live of Rod,
being like we would have lost with any goalie in that.
It was,
it's none of these are his fault or hanging him out to dry.
And then you sit him in game three for Kachetkoff,
who,
who gave up the most goals you do.
The most goals that Carolina Hurricanes had given up in the playoffs up until this
Florida series was the one game Kachetkoff played against fucking Jersey.
And I'm like,
you're going to him here in this game that you have to have.
That was like,
and granted,
it was one one going into the third.
So like,
whatever.
But I am saying that was a fucking mind blowing.
It just felt so reactionary.
And as you said, you know, who knows if there's a significant knock that we don't know about.
And if that's the case, that changes everything.
But if that's not the case, yeah, it was just such a wildly reactionary decision that didn't work at all.
But you know, it's another thing.
And we'll get it down into the nitty gritties of this game.
That game was just, it was 1-1 for a while.
It was 2-1, almost halfway through the third.
Like, it felt close.
And then at the same time, it just was not close at all.
You were sitting there watching that game going,
when is the roof going to blow off?
When is Florida just going to completely step on the gas?
And the fact that it ends 6-2 is just another like,
yep, there we go.
I was left thinking, Dan, about the math you could chuck quote from,
I think, after the game seven in Toronto,
where he said, we're built to wear you down over a semi-game series and within a game.
And that's all, that was the lingering thought I had in my brain is I just watched them hammering goals in the third where I was like, this is what they do.
They're not worried, one-one.
They're actually happy because they're like, yep, and now we've, now we've broken you.
Whereas I think teams that play them go, this is amazing.
We're playing so well.
It's one-one.
We're happy.
But Florida's like, psych, you're an idiot.
You needed to be up 5-1 to have a fucking chance to win this game because of third period.
we're going to rag doll you because exactly what we do.
And then that is exactly what happened.
And the canes, dude, like, or I,
Orloff had a bad game.
I feel bad because I loved him in Washington.
I loved his stint in Boston.
And it's happened in game two, right?
Like, Svex was horrible in game two.
Turned over a bunch of bucks to give up those goals.
Orloff had a tough game.
And when he shattered his stick on, like, I think it was the fucking Barcoff.
It was one or something.
It was the turnover on the sidewall.
Barkov stepped in, bar and.
snap this twig.
Yeah.
So he knows, but it's like
watching that game, man,
or that third period, more specifically,
every fucking turnover ends up in your net
and then everyone's looking at each other,
screaming,
Gostas beer, Martinuk,
barking at each other,
everybody yelling at people.
And it's like what Oshed the other day.
It's just they are coming apart
at the fucking seams.
And it's,
you want to be surprised.
This isn't even a Naka Carolina.
You want to be surprised,
but the Panthers fans
and Panthers players are going,
this is exactly what we expect to happen.
Here comes our third period attack, and you're not equipped to handle it.
Yeah, it's, uh, it feels like it's over.
It, all of those breakdowns just, I agree with you, felt so, I mean, shit, man.
It feels like the whole game, I couldn't believe, shout up, Piotr, and the canes.
I can't believe that first period didn't get out of hand.
It was like at the drop of the podcast.
Florida was all over them.
There was that Verhegey shot that was a paddle saving out.
Chuck had a couple of good chances.
Bennett had a few good chances out front.
And it felt like this was just absolute toast.
And then they get that first one.
And Carolina held on for a while.
They tied it up.
But it just felt relentless.
And yeah, this defense for Carolina that has felt so strong
and their forechecked that has felt so strong,
they look like they're out of answers.
They look completely incapable of coming up with anything to combat what Florida is doing to them.
And that's why I was saying it was just like the game was over.
It was tied and the game was over.
And you can see it once they get that goal and then they get another and then they get another.
And you're just like, oh, yeah, like it just the dam was going to break eventually and it broke.
And then there you go.
And there's just the other factor too.
It's like we had a lot of Oilers fans being like, oh my God.
the depth. The depth can't be matched. We roll four lines, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Four lines better than anyone else. I'm like, are you looking at this Florida team?
Like, the no dis, yes, the oilers four lines rolling is very impressive. We're going to talk all about that.
But Florida is out here. We said it in game two when Foresling scored. Every fucking defenseman on the team has now scored, which is insane.
Yeah. And then you get Rhino, your best goal score, goals out, Boquist steps in, immediate goal, disgusting goal.
too. It's like, you want to talk about
what the fuck are you talking? Like, this is
the Mariana Trench with this team.
It's out of control. Nice.
Nice reference, Dan. Nice reference.
Deepest part of the Pacific Ocean,
deepest part of the world. Mariana Trench. Not a lot
of people know that. Dan knows that. He's fucking dialed
in on a tired memorial day.
Hey, that was special. Say I sound tired again, you sons of
bitches. That was
special. But it's, yeah, it's
mental, dude. It's absolutely mental.
And, you know,
I don't want to
harp, but it's like, you've got, you mentioned it, dude.
The team's fighting each other.
These guys are ripping cheap shots left and right.
We hope Ryanos okay.
Hope Meekle is okay.
Let's talk about Kachuk going at Ajo.
Yep.
I loved every second of that.
And every second of the quote after, where I don't know if you
thought the exact verbatim was something like there were 20 dudes in line to do that.
You know, like this is how our team is built versus, and I think you saw the biz shit
after two where he's like, how is no one going to the, where's the, where's the 20 people in line
to defend our boy on the Carolina side?
Because we're not seeing that.
Yeah.
It was a, it was a odd.
Listen, at the drop, Cachuck looked like a chained up dog.
Like he was just like jumping.
in jumping in and I was like oh Jesus Christ
comes in cross check to the back
cross check again butt end slash
follows them into the corner jumps him
and there I I would hear
the argument I feel like some Keynes fans
on Biz's comments Kane's fans would be like
well dude it was it was a fight it was like a 1 v1
like you don't want to be third man in you don't want to
and I'm with biz completely I'm like no like you
you have to when someone is looks like a zombie from fucking the last of us chasing after somebody you
got to do something you have to answer in a way and then yeah the way kachuk was just like going like
this tapping his head and he's like i'm in your head dude like we we are we're we are owning you
it's it feels like that is what's going on and and i i have just been very surprised with the the
response from the Cain's team, and frankly, their whole fan base, and this is not a shot at the fan base, going into this, right? After round one, they were the favorites to win the cup. They were the favorites to win the cup. People forget that. After round one, after round two, they were the favorites to win the cup. You saw Florida get past Toronto. You saw Edmonton beat the wheels off of Vegas. Carolina was still the favorite to win the cup. And now here we are.
The narrative was no one believes in us.
Everyone discounts us.
They don't care.
Oh, you beat this team.
You beat that team.
It doesn't matter.
You guys aren't that good.
You're not that strong.
Well, everyone was rubbing that in everyone's face.
They're going, keep not believing in us.
Keep thinking we're not tough.
Keep thinking we can't break you down.
And now here we are about to possibly get swept again.
And the excuses, man.
I'm just seeing too many excuses.
This team was supposed to be in a.
rebuilding phase.
We weren't even supposed to make the playoffs.
This team doesn't have elite goal scoring.
We don't have all stars on the roster.
The excuses that have been dumped in the truckload ever since going down 3-0 is nauseating to me.
It's like take your medicine.
Take your medicine.
You were saying that you were going to show this Florida Panthers team something that they had
never seen.
You were going to frustrate them more than anyone has been able to do all playoffs.
and now you're getting dog walked
and again
and the excuses are everywhere
and it leads into
I was a little toasty
and I was a little reactionary
I'll admit it
but I'm watching that game
and I tweeted for my personal
don't worry I didn't make it
an empty netter's thought
but I said if you don't fire Rod Brindamore
you're not a serious franchise
and the response
in defense of Rod being like, dude, he's, you won't find anyone better.
If he were to get fired, he would get scooped up by another team immediately.
All of those are true.
I'm saying it from a pure optics level, dude.
Fuck the extension.
Fuck how much the owner loves him.
I know that this is all right.
Fuck the fact that he's a great coach.
He's a great coach.
Yeah.
But if you want to sit here and you want to blame the roster, you want to blame the
guys on the ice time and time again, go for it. And you're not wrong. But I am here to tell you
being 0 and 11 in Eastern Conference Finals goes beyond just the roster. It does. There's no way
you can just consistently make it to the Eastern Conference Final with a terrible shit roster.
And oh yeah, it's as far as you're going to get and you're going to get swept in the Eastern
Conference Final because the roster stinks. Grow up, guys. There's just, it's simple. There's no world
where it is that easy to just break it down to it's the guys on the ice.
Coaching doesn't matter at this level in the playoffs.
I assure you it does.
Dude, it's a tricky one for me, man, because you talk about the Keynes, to go back to your first point,
the Keynes, the hype train is a real thing, okay?
And I'm guilty of it.
Cain's fans were guilty of it this year.
So I don't blame anyone for ignoring some of the deficiencies that they thought and now going,
fuck we don't actually have some guy like right that's a real thing that can happen but the criticism
I will give myself and a lot of Keynes fans is they the narrative wasn't so much like we do have elite
goal scoring or we do have the best goal they were kind of admitting what the team was but they just
said there's a chip on our shoulder this year in the way there wasn't before that's why we're
different we have something to prove keep fucking doubting us watch what we do with you and and for a while
it looked like they were doing that.
And not just because they have an easy path.
They did have an easy path,
but they ragdolled all those teams on the way.
You know what I'm saying?
It wasn't like they beat Jersey in seven and then Washington in seven and we're going,
well,
whatever, that was an easy path.
They fucking rinsed them in gentlemen's sweeps.
And it never felt close, right?
So that's why you were like,
well, we are a little different this year.
I was just going to say to the chat.
The chat keeps saying,
oh, and guys,
Chad, Rod is Owen 11 as a head coach.
The Keynes are 015 in their last event.
Eastern Conference finals game since the Cup.
Yes, but Rod as a coach is 0-11.
I'm fucking sharp.
I'm careful about you.
Careful, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Bang, there's the lower threat everyone wants.
And dude, the, so the, what sucks is the, or what I won't allow to be walked back.
I will allow to be walked back.
Ah, our roster is a little worse than these other teams.
We don't quite have the goal pending.
We don't quite have the elite talent.
I'm okay with Keynes fans me.
I'm like, ah, fuck, my bad.
What I am, what I will not accept the apologies for.
And again, I did this too is, we are different this year.
It's a new Caines.
And now, and now going, well, we weren't, we weren't different.
And I didn't know that.
You know, I'm like, I'm okay with that.
I'm okay with people.
It's like learning new information.
It's, I always say to UCP, there's nothing I fucking hate more.
And I shouldn't even admit this because now people will know it gets under my skin.
There's nothing I hate more than when you make a statement reacting to what's going
on and then people go,
this take aged like milk.
And I'm like, dude, that
phrase is for
a prediction. Like,
if I were to go like this, Vegas Golden Knights
are looking amazing
in this game. They're going to win the Stanley Cup.
That take could age like milk.
But if I'm saying in a game
where they're beating the shit out of someone
and I go, the Vegas Golden Knights
looks sick right now. And they win that game.
And then games later, they get eliminated. And people go,
this take, I'm like, no, dude, that's, you
we're learning new information.
You can then respond to it.
So a Keynes fan who does that, that's like, we are different.
We're back.
And then this happens and they go, well, in fact, we're not different.
I'm like, good, good for you.
It's the ones who go, well, it's, you know, we are different, but it's the roster's not,
that's when the excuses.
I'm like, no, no, no, no, no.
We need to acknowledge that it's like, no, no, no, this was not what we thought.
It was not what a lot of the fans thought it was.
Like, it's just...
So I was going to ask to now address your second point from before about Rod, about our dear leader, our Supreme Chancellor.
Dear Leader Rod?
Dude.
Is he...
I was going to say, is he coaching for his job?
And then we had this discussion last live.
I think nothing changes perspective-wise unless they literally get to game seven.
If they push it all the way to seven, fine.
There's a new outlook on this series.
But four, five, or six is the same bullshit.
Four is obviously horrifically bad because it's...
It's just like the narrative of the of the triple of the of the three burger sweep.
Dude is insane.
But even if it's six, this is a clown show.
Unfortunately, and I know you're like he's going to get fired.
You're not a serious organization if you don't fire him.
Here's one problem for you and everyone in the chat.
And Mike and Lor, he is supreme leader.
You do not fire.
You know, it's not about do not fire.
You cannot fire Supreme Leader.
fire him. He would have to literally see fire
you. He fires you. Dude, you want to try to fire him? You're
fired. He is supreme leader for a reason. He is in charge. He makes the
decisions. He is going fucking nowhere.
Dude, this is his team, and he decides what to do with it. And
again, I would give him all the credit in the world if he literally fired
himself. If he went like this, I am stepping down. I am, I am
knighting a new Supreme leader to run the Carolina
That I will accept, but that's the only way this is happening, period.
Even if they lose game four, 10-0, he will go, I'll see you in October.
You're right.
And the thing that I find, I will echo that.
Rod is going nowhere.
Everything I'm saying, I stand by, I believe in, but he is going nowhere.
Rod will not get fired, even if they get swept, he will not get fired.
The reason I say it, and the reason I tweeted that is because it's the same thing as the Leafs, man.
you look at the Leafs, right?
The last four years, five years, the core four.
People go, oh my God, you got to blow up the core four.
And people go, absolutely not.
Are you insane?
These guys are so talented.
They're some of the best players in the world.
What are you talking about?
To that I now say, and we'll see.
But you are now staring down the barrel of losing Marner and John Tavaras for free.
For free.
They're just with no wins.
With one or I guess two first round wins.
They pulled you over on the side of the road and there was a big field and they opened
the door and they said, go, you're free now.
Just go run.
Run.
Run to LA.
Be free.
Run to Vegas.
And they got nothing back for it.
That's what they're about to see.
So when people go, why would you trade them?
That's why, guys.
This is, hold on.
Oh, yeah, go, go.
Real quick.
Yeah.
Just an elite comment from Melissa.
Even if Rod gets fired, he'll say he didn't get fired.
He'll go, this looks like so.
Firing, Melissa, yeah.
If Rod gets fired, he'll go like this.
I mean, I know it seems like I got fired, but I don't think I did.
And people go off.
Shit.
Oh, okay.
That's awesome.
But with the Leafs, you let those guys go for free now.
And the definition of insanity, right?
We talk about it all the time, doing the same thing, expecting a different result.
I don't think Rod is a bad coach.
I think he's a fantastic coach.
But it's three in a row.
If they get swept three in a row,
and it's one of those things, right?
You just keep Rod around.
And you go back to the Eastern Conference Finals,
and you go, it'll be different this time.
It'll be different.
And what if you lose game one?
What if next year Rod gets to the Eastern Conference Finals
and loses game one?
You go, oh, my God.
And then he loses game two.
Like, what are you doing?
To me, it's not a better coach.
it's a different coach that maybe you need.
I wonder, Dan, if he should, like, they sat Freddie in game three erroneously.
I wonder if he should have sat himself.
Like, what if he came, if he was like, I'm sitting out game three, bench coach.
I don't know who their assistant coach is.
You get, you take the wheel.
See what happens.
Sits himself.
He's not firing himself.
He's watching from the press box.
But he, I think maybe, I think maybe scratching the head coach should become more of a thing.
Just for one game.
Maybe it's a Billy Bean thing.
Like he can't be, he can't be in the ballpark.
Yeah, right, dude.
I think if Rod had sat himself for game for them,
wasn't there a football coach?
I know that there are tons of coordinators in football
who watch from the press box.
Wasn't there a head coach who like legitimately wasn't on the sidelines and something?
I don't know.
That would be gas.
If Rod watched from an iPad in the locker room with an earpiece in.
Yeah.
He could talk at intermission.
He can be there.
But I'm just thinking like you sit yourself down, send a message.
Send a message to the boys.
We're mixing it up.
We're trying everything.
Maybe it's me.
That would have been, dude, he might need to sit game four.
It's wild, man.
I don't like harping on Rod, because I know we're doing it for comedic purposes, but I think my biggest thing is this is just wild.
It's absolutely insane, the timing, and I don't really know what to say about it.
And frankly, if you are Rod Brindamore.
You know you're a good coach.
You know you have a good group.
And it's just wild that this shit keeps happening.
So I don't know.
I don't know what you need to do.
There's definite roster changes that need to happen.
But again, the series isn't over.
And we've seen crazy the shit.
Last year in the final, Florida was up 3-0 and it went to game 7.
So who knows?
We'll see.
But just everything about these games feels so over to me.
And we've just, we haven't seen.
Carolina be able to have a response in the slightest, and that is crazy.
Did you, I liked, so here was his quote after, Dan.
Just bad decision making.
And the four rookies in the lineup can't be some of your better players.
Like, that can't happen.
There's a couple of guys in there that I don't think came to play the way we needed to in this time of year.
It can't be Jordan Stahl and Jordan Martinuk being our best players.
That can't always be that way, and they are every night.
So we needed some more out of some guys.
First of all, another absolute rickish.
that dude, which is true.
It's a true sentence.
So like it's not,
I don't blame him,
but just so tough.
He's like,
Martin,
no,
can't be our best player.
And I'm like,
yeah.
And it's,
it's also,
it's such a brutal
ricochet shot at Edward Martin Martin.
He's like,
dude,
I'm pretty good.
But it's,
it's the infighting.
It's what you're saying,
like on the bench,
they're kind of going on it.
Even this stuff,
too, in the press conferences,
you're just saying things that are like,
dude,
give the guys a break.
Fucking Jesus.
Christ. But yeah, I mean, if you are a, if you're a Carolina Hurricanes fan, you, there's just no way you think that you have a chance here, right? It's like last year in the final. Yes, Edmonton went down 3-0, but you do still get to go, we have Connor and Liam. There's a chance. Yeah, correct. Yep. Anything could happen. So with this Carolina team, I just, I think what we're seeing, it's like this team isn't going to do it. You might get a chance. You might get.
get one. You might win game four. You might win game five. But you're just, there's no
planet where this Florida team is losing four straight to you. There's absolutely no planet.
So that's that. I, I weirdly think that like the Keynes players need to win tonight.
Yeah. Literally, I know they're going to lose the series, but I just, I legitimately think like
they might need to win tonight for their mental health. You know, like maybe, maybe the, the,
another sweep would inspire them to have the hardest training summer of their lives.
Maybe that could be just what they needed.
But I don't know.
I just think literally for the mental block, the mental wall that is being built in their domes right now,
they might need to just win game four to be like, okay, Christ.
Like now we don't have to listen to this forever that we got swept again.
Yeah.
That's fair, actually.
Like I think about the core guys.
Like I think about AHA.
I think about Jarvie, Slavin.
And yeah, it would be great for them to get a win.
It would be very good for their mental toughness.
But I think I'll leave this series with being like if and when, frankly, man, if it's, if it's tonight, if it's Wednesday and it's in five, whatever, this is just like you have to go into this offseason being like, we can't keep doing this.
We can't go back to, you know, like, let's see.
back with this group. Maybe you make one edition here and there.
And you just, you're like, yeah, we'll get back to the Eastern Conference Final and probably
get shit pumped by somebody. It's like, you cannot do this. Like, you would rather, and I actually
think Keynes fans would agree with this and chat, Keynes fans in the chat, but chime in because
I'm very curious. If I were a Keynes fan, I would rather drastically retool this team and
losing the first round next year with some like younger guys and try something different
than just do this again.
Yeah, probably true.
And I think, did you see, I saw, I think Melissa put in the chat, did they rule out Mikula Angrier?
I haven't checked the injury.
I don't think they've been ruled out yet.
I think it's like a, I think it's a, you know, one of those situations where we're just waiting to see.
Yeah, because I know, and like, Reiner looked fine.
I don't know if you saw him in that clip in the locker and pregame game three.
But I know he didn't play, but he doesn't look like, he's not in like a knee brace.
he was like popping around the locker
and his flip flop. So I think
those guys all three, whether they play tonight or not, are going to be okay
moving forward, which is great for Florida. Yeah, okay, Melissa says they did.
And then also, more
more E.J., Michael, all Keynes fans are being like
they agree, they would rather try something different
to my point. Yeah, I think it's
I think it's smart, dude. It's like this is just not
it. It's not.
Yeah. So all three of those guys are out tonight. And Florida, I mean, my God, like you said earlier, Dan, the depth. It's not just Florida's depth. It's like their scratched player depth. Like they literally have a whole other line that could just play. So you borderline care. But the, this is your shot. Carolina. You got three starters out. Go win a fucking game. So you can go, you can, you can look at yourself in the mirror in the summer. Because if they, if they miss all those guys and then you still get bad.
It's a total nightmare, CP.
It's like, it's beyond, beyond nightmare.
Are you worried?
I made a joke a while ago that I was like,
the can or the Panthers swept and then lost the cup and then had a good series and won the cup.
So you've got to throw a game here.
You can't, you can't sweep.
But are you a legit, I'm legit worried that the Panthers aren't getting enough resistance in this series to stay sharp enough for the final.
And like, no disrespect.
But I'm like, this is a clown show.
This is preseason hockey.
I hear it.
So you're now going to lose.
the cop because you've got to figure it out.
If they weren't so dialed and bodybagging, I would think maybe, I'd be like, ooh.
But they look so good.
And again, it's like they've got, but you're not playing like pressure tight hockey with
five minutes left OT games.
You're not getting that.
That's a muscle, dude.
Bro, I think they need to, uh, Russia, dude, not at four nations, not at worlds.
I think they call the Soviets and scrimmage them.
in the off days.
Can you imagine if Florida was scrimmaging the Soviets in between games?
I'm crazy.
Dude,
I think that might be what they need.
They need to call,
get Russia,
get Putin on the phone,
dude.
He would love a game.
No one's giving him a game.
We talk about all the time.
It's like teams don't really practice that much during the playoffs.
It's like you're playing every other day.
I think that this Florida team would honestly rather just sweep tonight so they can start
practicing against each other.
Rather than I would get better,
I would get more intense hockey if we're.
are practicing against each other.
Go Russia, dude.
Oh, you think Obi wouldn't come play?
Dude, he's pissed off.
Call the Soviets.
Florida should be scribbaging the so.
When they win tonight, they better have the Soviets on the ice fucking tomorrow to get
ready for fucking the oilers.
You know, like that's that this is, this is the answer, dude.
Get the fucking Soviets here and then you'll be ready to go.
Iron sharpens iron dam.
That's what they need.
It's a fact.
Let's pop it over to the next series, CP.
Let's get into Stars Oilers.
we had a wild game one,
one of the best third periods you'll ever see from Dallas.
They go up one game to none.
Then,
Stuart Skinner.
Unbelievable.
Oilers are up to one of the series,
but let's talk about game two,
because we've got two games to discuss here.
We had the game on Friday,
and we had the game yesterday on Sunday night or Sunday day.
And it looks like the inevitable Oilers are well and back, folks.
They are going straight to the cup, and we are getting a nice rematch of last year's cup final.
But in game two, we've got a lot to get into.
But the one thing I want to start with, CP, we can break down that game, everything that happened.
But I feel like I need to discuss, there's a 3-0 win for Edmonton.
when I mentioned the Dallas fans screaming, literally, sending voice,
screaming. At one point, he goes like this, you guys should be embarrassed.
You guys should be embarrassed.
You haven't talked about this yet.
And I very calmly replied, and I was like, we haven't had a podcast come out yet.
Talked about one.
Let's discuss the darnel nurse slash to the foot of Rupert Hince that has put Rupert
Hance in a walking boot and knocked him out of the series for now.
I'm curious what you want to say dude I am appalled that that was not a five minute misconduct
and that he hasn't been I don't necessarily know that I need a suspension but how was that not a fine
that was an egregious slash to the top of the foot like it's exactly what nurse was trying to do
everyone knows it in hockey people have talked about it
Chris Pronger talked about it he was I did that to guys that was
intentionally done to break his foot and I think he did
and I am just like how do you not five minute that guy
and that that that was that was brutal dude that was like a turning point in the game
and it just sucks and now it sucks because
you have DeBoer making comments and now that's like
Edmonton and Edmonton fans, rightfully so, smartly, are using that as bulletin board,
like they're like, oh, DeBoer bitching.
But DeBoer's right.
Like, his comments were so correct.
He was like, do you think if Connor McDavid got slashed on top of the foot and carried
off the ice and left in a walking boot, we wouldn't see a suspension, a fine or a five
minute, like give me a fucking break.
And he's right.
He's totally right.
Dude, okay, I might have a different take on this.
So the, what did Pronger said?
He said he did it to guys, but did he say,
and I got five minutes or was he like this just I do I this happened no he was saying like because there
were people I think biz made a comment that was like that is like I don't know how that wasn't a five like that you you do that on
purpose like that right on the nerve on the bone like you hear that dead thud that that is meant to break a foot and pronger was just
like yes I can attest like that is a because I think a bunch of people were like trying to claim that rupe was like diving
and pronger was like no dude that is like that is a yeah
fucking very clear
horrible feeling and people do it and it sucks
so I think
because Witt I know Witt was like that happens a hundred times a year
like that that's and it is you're you're
spot on about the intention of the play
because like if you watch it Rupay gives him
Hold on I want to say real quick in the in the chat Cam
Cam Moger says blue hat is a figure skater
and my question of you cam is are you an Oilers fan
you fucking hypocrite
but dude so i think rupe gives him something
and then he slashes him back and i think that's actually
that's a that's a play that happens all the fucking time
and like yes you are right he's trying to crack you on the top of the foot
but that's a play that happens all the time
what i what i wonder is this and somebody if i don't know if anyone can find this
in the chat but the rule
in the rule book i think it says
the, in the review about a major, the severity of the result can affect the call.
So, for example, if you just high stick me in the face and it's like a normal two-minter,
but you like cut my eye open, like you knock my eyeball out, they're allowed to go,
that was a regular high stick, but you happen to knock his eyeball out of his socket, so it's a five.
The intention was a normal NHL penalty, but the result elevates it, I think.
And someone, if you guys can find that, let me know, because I swear they flashed it on the screen.
The severity of the result can impact the five.
So with that in mind, in real time, I thought it would get elevated to a five because of the severity.
I do not think at all that it was a five-minute major worthy action, in my opinion.
I just thought that was a slash on the foot.
Happens all the fucking time, two-minute minor.
And then you could go.
Well, he actually shattered his foot.
So it's a five because of the result.
Now, if I have that rule wrong, if anybody can find it, if that's not in the rule, I take it back.
I think I saw that.
If that's true, I would have elevated the 2-5 for the severity.
That's it.
Because I do think the slash was a regular two-minute minor.
And anyone saying, like, bro, that was a fucking malicious play.
Fuck him.
I'm like, dude, he slashed him in the foot on purpose because that's what fucking happens in hockey in front of the net.
And again, it's like, like I said, I don't want a suspension.
Like, I just, I want people to acknowledge what happened.
And like, yeah, so this Tyler says, and I don't know if this is verbatim, if we copied this, but it says a major penalty at the discretion of the referee based on the severity of the contact shall be imposed on a player who slashes an opponent. When injury occurs, a major penalty must be assessed. So in my mind, I was like, that's like verbatim what happened, where it was a regular minor penalty action. You shattered his foot. You will receive a major because of said shattered foot. So like, okay, you know, like I was like, that should have been a five. But dude, I didn't.
want a sussie neither did you know no definitely i didn't want a sussie or a fine now here's the other
thing i you might be you might be right i can't tell you might have convinced me but where i was
slightly disagreed with you is i don't know that the i don't know that they call it differently if it
was mac david i don't think they do and i think you do and then deborre obviously does but i was like
dude, I think they would have just been like the same thing.
They would have been like, that was a slash two minutes.
Because I don't think he gets a favorable whistle, honestly.
He draws a lot of penalties because he's a mutant.
But like, I don't think Conners, I'm always,
I don't think I'm often like, oh, wow, they only called that trip because it was Connor.
No, I think it's such a talking point.
And in fact, I think a lot of, by the way, I'm trying to find that Pronger tweet because
someone was like, that's not what Pronger said.
And I'm pretty sure it's like exactly what Pronger said.
And again, I don't know if that.
got misconstrued. I didn't say Pronger was saying that should be a suspension or a fine. I'm saying
Pronger was like, that is a slash to the top of the foot on the nerve and the bone that hurts like a
motherfucker. And I used to do it to players and to hurt them. And I don't mean, I don't mean like break their
foot, but too, like makes you feel it. And that's what nurse was doing too. So that that's,
that's what I was saying, Pronger said. If that got misconstrued chat and or whoever said that,
my bad. But at the same time, that's exactly what I said.
I don't think Connor gets calls differently.
Like, I don't think that he gets preferential treatment.
I don't believe in any of that bullshit.
Anyone who, who, bitches about, yeah, Teddy just said in the chat,
Pronger said two minutes all day.
Exactly.
Like, it's a penalty.
Yeah.
I don't think he gets preferential treatment at all.
I don't like that shit.
I don't buy that shit when people complain about refs.
You know my take on complaining about refs.
I think it's a fucking clown show.
The other thing I'll say that's obnoxious that some Oilers fans say is that Connor is like Rob Grinkowski, like he gets no whistles.
He's got he's got people hanging all over him all game long and he never gets a call.
That's bullshit too.
It's like I don't think that I don't think that that's true in the fucking slightest.
The one thing I do agree with DeBeron is if Connor McDavid in this series got his footbroken on a slash, got his footbroken on a slash.
there would be more chat about it.
No doubt about it.
Yeah.
Actually, I think I do hear that.
Do you think if, you know, Miro slashed Conner's foot and broke it,
do you think Miro would have been suspended?
No.
No.
No.
Yeah.
And I don't.
I don't, did DeBor say a suspension?
I think he was.
No, no, no.
I was just asking what you thought the league might do if it was like their biggest superstar
are going to miss time.
I think, dude, here's my actual take on all of the aftermath of that, regardless of what you think.
And you, me, anyone in the chat, regardless of what you think about what would have happened if it had been Connor, right?
If you think it would have been the same rule, if you think it would have been a five, you think it would have been a suss.
I cannot have DeBore saying that in the post game personally.
I am just like, bro, I know.
And Knoblock even said in response to that, he was like, he didn't chirp DeBore because he was.
like it's just emotions running high after a playoff game.
I get it.
But dude, I like, you just, just shut up.
Just shut up.
Be like, it sucks.
We lost a guy.
I wish it had been a five.
I would have even heard him be like, it should have been a five because I think it should
have, per the rule that Tyler pulled up.
That should have been a five.
Could have changed the whole game.
We feel hard done by.
But I just can't have you saying that about McDavid in a fucking series.
Yeah, it's father.
So I said it's bulletin board material.
And I said CP, I got it.
here. Pronger said, I can attest, um, all the guys that I did this too can attest to it as well.
It hurts when all you hear is a thud. You know it will do some damage. Probably got him on the
exactly what I said. Like he's like, yep, that is like we, I did that. It hurts. It's,
it injures people and it fucking sucks. So that's like you, uh, you know, you know what you're
doing. That's all it is. You know what you're doing. The one thing that sucks and like, I think
business comment, which I thought was very, very good. And, you know, you know, you're doing. And,
and smart was it's not a hockey play.
Those are the tough ones.
It's like,
and again,
dude,
we don't need to spend more time on this,
but it does suck.
Like one of your best players
is knocked out of the playoffs now.
And it wasn't a hockey play.
I wonder,
do you think it's broken or was it the nerve?
Definitely broken.
Yeah.
It's interesting,
though,
because it can't be that bad
because it's,
well,
I mean,
it's bad.
You have broken foot.
But it's like,
he skated that morning
and it just like hurt too much,
I think it's a pain.
I think they're like,
your foot's broken.
It's a pain management thing.
So if you can go, then go.
So I don't think he's like done, done.
I mean, he might be if this goes five, which it might.
But, uh, yeah, no, it's a huge factor.
I mean, it's your fucking first line center.
It's a fucking massive, massive swing.
Yeah.
So, I mean, we will, we, we'll transition from that in saying that, like, yeah, it's just, um, you know, it's tough.
You got darned also ricochet shot by you to say if Miro Haskin and slash Connor McDavid comparing him to nurse.
That is just tough sledding, dude.
I was a compliment to nurse.
It was a compliment to nurse.
I was saying that's how good you are, sir, and I respect your game.
But yeah, I mean, that is a brutal break, no pun intended.
You lose Rupert Hintz for game three, and we'll see beyond.
But we get into game three.
Brutal loss at home, you let Stuart Skinner get a fucking shutout.
Again, it's like no disrespect to Stuart Skinner.
but it's what we always talk about.
It's like this guy is Jekyll and Hyde and you just can't let him feel hot because he will get a fucking shutout.
He will.
Yep.
And you let that happen.
Now you come to this game.
Let's talk about the fucking penalty at the beginning of game three.
Yeah, what was that one?
The delay a game that was just like an absolute botched call.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Like brutal.
And then the immediate insue, as in the.
no call and then the immediately ensuing
Oilers goal.
And I actually thought game two,
the granny took a penalty in the first period
that the Oilers scored on to go up one.
One of the softest calls you will ever see the plan.
I tweeted immediately.
I was like, that is soft
as shit. And what's funny
is the announcers
who are told do not ever,
they were like, that is a soft call.
And then immediately after the period,
ESPN had the game, mess was like,
that is awful.
that's Mark
like you know
Stanley Cup winning oiler
he was like that is awful yeah
like you cannot call that
but
we're not bitching about the refs
I'm saying all this to credit the oilers
dude
an inch
a centimeter of life
and they just fucking jump
all over you
and that's incredible thing is like
you can complain about it
all you want the miss calls
the bad calls, but at the end of the day, dude, it happens.
It's hockey.
You have to fucking respond.
You have to go, shit call.
Kill the penalty.
Dallas, you've got the best penalty kill in the fucking world.
Kill the penalty.
Go down and score.
And you get down in that game, two to nothing.
Looks like you might be dead, but whatever, it might be game one.
And in that second period, you start on the PK, then trip on dry siddle.
as clear, clean as a trip as exists by steel.
It was just like a tough one.
He got his stick between his skates.
Now you're on five on three for a minute.
And what does Dallas do?
They buckle down.
They show how good their PK is.
They kill it.
And they're all over this team.
All over.
That's the most dominant.
That's the most dominant period of playoff hockey.
I have literally ever seen.
I'm not kidding.
That was absolutely insane.
Shots were 21 to 7, dude.
Like they were the chances
It just were like 10.
They were one.
It was like 10 for one.
They were pounding them.
And I was like, dude, this is, this is great action.
Like this team, I was just so impressed with the response.
I was like, well done, Dallas.
Like you're not, you're not going to let yourself die.
You're coming back.
21 fucking shots in a period, dude.
They were all outrageous.
Dude, we've seen 21 shots in games these playoffs.
Like, that's like the average shots for the game.
All over them.
And they're playing great hockey.
They're buzzing around.
and then boom.
They get a great...
Stuart Skinner standing on his head,
but then they get a great one.
Yeah.
Sneak a goal in.
It's 2.1 now.
It looks like you're back.
You've shaken off all the bullshit.
The slashes, the bad calls, the miss calls, whatever.
You're like, okay, we're not letting this bullshit get in our head anymore.
You make that game a one goal game, and you're killing them.
And then what do you do, dude?
With 30 fucking six seconds left or something like that,
they go, let's fall asleep at the wheel and make a stupid mistake with Connor fucking McDavid on the ice.
Miko Rantan, Jason Robertson, on the sidewall.
Such an easy chance to chip the puck out, do whatever.
They're lazy.
They're stringing their sticks.
And Connor McDavid, who has also been out there for a minute and a fucking half, still busting his ass, still gas.
Keeps that puck in, steps in, decent shot, goal.
You are now dead.
You are so dead.
No one has ever been more dead than you.
Oh, dude, he's so good.
It's so sick.
And that fucking kill shot at the end of that period to quote,
Hey, I'm saying, which just said that.
Like, dude, that was toast.
Like 30 seconds off in the second.
You made it a one goal game.
You're all over this team.
You give Connor McDavid a fraction.
And he kills you.
And then, yeah, like that.
Blink.
Third period starts, goal, goal, goal.
It's now six one.
Like, you are fucking so dead.
And again, it wasn't a shot.
shutout. But after that, you just lose any momentum you had. And now, Sue Skinner locks back in. And
you know, Stu has like a fucking, you know, 30 something save performance. One goal game. It's like,
dude, fuck me. And yeah, Andy just said, blaming 6-1 on the refs is questionable. Exactly right,
Andy. Like, you lose a game 6-1. That ain't the refs, pal. Like, that is self-inflicted wounds
and letting this team continue to dominate, which the Edmonton Oilers are. The Edmonton
Oilers in that game looked better than they have all playoffs in my opinion. And that is terrifying.
It's terrifying for Dallas and it's terrifying for Florida, frankly.
Okay, interesting. So, all right, I mean, I have so much to say about this. I'll start with this
bullet point. The stars are, the stars played bad in game one. They played better in game two,
and they played their best game in game three. And the results are the exact opposite. They literally
one game one playing bad and then they lost game two they got shut out in game two but i was like they
actually were the better team that night and then they they were the better team the entire game in game three
and got fucking dog walked so either you if you're a stars fan you spin it and and these are all the quotes
dude i might even wrote some down but the stars had a million quotes after the game that were like
that's the best we've played like it's okay we just come out in game four and do that again because
we know it will break our way. That's the Dallas spin. But the Edmonton spin is like,
that was literally their best punch. They just had a 21 shot period. And they leave that period
with one one score in that period. But you know what I mean? The Oilers are so unfazed by Dallas's
best game. So it sucks right now if you feel like you're just, we've been improving and just
losing by more every time. So that's been absolutely insane. The McDavid thing, bro, he's obviously
been so productive because he does more.
Did you see that guy
asked him after the game? But he was like, Connor, this isn't
a question about your defensive game.
And Connor almost laughed. Do you see that?
He smirked. It was a little bit.
I was like, oh, whoa, whoa, whoa.
Careful, Connor. Stay dialed, Connor.
You're that. I can't have him laughing.
I can't have him laughing, dude. Stay fucking locked.
I'm telling you, dude, if Connor McDavid
starts laughing, they're going to give him the cup right now.
He doesn't need to be locked in.
No, no. He is the most lot. He was born locked in.
He was born in the dark.
He doesn't need it.
But I can't, I don't want any cracks, dude.
He can laugh after they win, dude.
He can laugh when they're dumping beer down his fucking head out of the Stanley Cup.
Right now, dude, if he fucking, if I see his teeth again, if I see his teeth again, we're fucked, dude.
Stay dialed, Connor.
So, but he, his, um, he'd been doing so much playing great teams.
He's got a million fucking assists as always.
But he just hadn't seen him go in.
And I saw it was like his regular season shooting percentage, you know CP's shooting percentage guy.
He's regular season shooting's percentage was like 13.9, 14 something.
And in the playoffs, it's been five.
So it's just like they're not bouncing.
So just for him to pop too is like nightmare fuel for Dallas because you know they were coming and you just had to knock them out before they started coming.
And now it's like, you're now, you're down to one and Connor's scoring again.
And you're like, buddy.
Like this is this is not it.
My next bullet point is Otter.
man you know long netters listeners know i love him i think he is at times literally the best
goalie in the league at worst like a top five goalie in the league he is you just can't give up
this many goals and it's a similar thing that i've said about freddie and some other guys
where i'm like i don't think a lot of those are his fault tough screens tips whatever
but you look back to that series which put Otter on the map against the flames when he's like he's saving 45 shots a night.
But Barowski's saving fucking a million shots in night.
Like you just, you have to be a guy for your team.
And it's so much to ask for sure.
But it's like, and Lola just said he had no help.
Agree.
I think most of these goals aren't Otter's fault.
But I'm just saying the stat line in these playoff games can't be, they've scored five goals on 20 shots.
No, it can't.
And dude, Teddy in the chat just said argument that Edmonton's won seven of nine periods in this series so far.
I think that's, I think that's definite.
Like periods one and two, regardless of the score in game one, I don't think they were landslide oilers.
Like Dallas looked okay.
But, you know, really, it's like, I hate when I say this and people jump down my throat.
It's like, Dallas has played poorly.
They've played poorly in this series.
And that's not discrediting the Oilers guys.
Like when I say that, I do genuinely mean because Edmonton is forcing them to play poorly, right?
There's there's a big difference between, you know, you have games where both teams play incredibly well and someone wins.
That's not every, like every game isn't like that.
And that doesn't mean to say you're not giving credit to the winning team.
sometimes it is like, dude, you know, you'll have a game, the Kings, for example.
Sorry, sorry, boys.
But like, round one, the Kings definitely lost a few of those games, game three in particular.
It's not to say the Oilers didn't play well, but if you watch that game and you're a hockey fan and you have hockey knowledge and you can't see that the most glaring thing that happened in that game was self-inflicted wounds by the Los Angeles Kings, then I don't know what to tell you.
these games have been like it's not like Dallas is shitting down their leg it's it's they looked
they just look off their game and that's a credit to Edmonton Edmonton is making them play
differently so it's it's it's pointing at the fact that the Oilers man they are they're a
very interesting and frustrating team because they they do they do just break you down
They make you play in this very unorthodox way because of what they're throwing at you.
And yeah, we talk about depth.
It's like, how many more fucking times do we need to say Dallas's depth on paper is better?
It is.
But Edmonton's depth has been playing, with the exception of Florida, the best of anyone in the playoffs.
It's fucking ridiculous, the people who are scoring goals on this team, the ways that they are getting wins.
Like, we have multiple games where they have wins, game two.
where Leon and Connor don't score.
And you're just like, if that's happening, you're dead.
Like, as we've said, King's players said to us after round one,
they were like, we lost that series because of depth scoring.
That cannot happen.
But it's what's happening.
So it's like, I wrote down.
I love that you said that.
I wrote down in my notes while watching the game.
Dallas can, I wrote chokes.
I was just talking.
But I was like Dallas can choke and Edmonton can be great at the same time.
Because I do want fans to understand that.
because I think Edmonton is playing incredibly and they deserve all the credit in the world.
But Dallas, and I'm not even saying Dallas is choking because Edmonton is forcing them to.
I'm saying Dallas is getting huge chances, huge grade A back door in the slot, open looks.
And they're missing the net or Skinner's making saves, whatever.
And the Oilers are cashing those in.
We called them the Leafs for a while, the emergency response team, right?
Because it felt like every time they was slipping, they just answered.
I'm calling the Oilers, the executioners.
because they execute them every time.
They do.
They do.
Oh, big chance.
Bang, execute.
Oh, need a big kill.
Bang, execute.
Whatever they need to do, they can play bad for stretches, but they execute exactly
when it has to happen.
They're the fucking executioners this year, and I'm loving it, dude.
And man, I also wrote this down.
The Oilers, shout out to all my Harry Potter fans in the chat.
But the Oilers are goblin-made armor, dude.
They only take on that, which makes them stronger.
And that's why they're so fucking fun to watch these players.
because there are inefficiencies, right?
Like there are deficiencies.
There's, our power play hasn't been good.
Our PK on the road has been horrible.
We've had inconsistent goalie play at times.
None of those things do they let affect them.
They only take on, okay, well, our five on five's been fucking great.
Let's do that.
Our power play at home has been great.
Let's do that.
Whatever can help them, they ride.
Oh, scoring from four lines, boom, let's ride that.
They have found ways to win beyond just the, okay, it's the Conner.
and Leon show, whatever they can find that makes them stronger, they suck in and just fucking
stab you in the heart. And it's like, it's amazing. I am, I'm obsessed with this fucking team
in like a, like a way where, uh, like I feel like a, a serial killer where I'm like,
I found a target that I was like, oh, they, I don't like that thing. And now I'm like so deeply
obsessed with them that all I can do when I go to bed at night, all I think about is like the way
the oilers juggle lines and the way they can move dry saddle and Connor together when they
need to swing the momentum in the second period and the way Bouchard jumps into the play and the way
Skinner can knock one out of the net. It's like there's just oilers spinning around my head every night
when I go to bed. They are goblin made armor, dude. They are fucking executioners and it's incredible.
I legitimately, first of all, fantastic goblin made armor reference. The chat loved it.
That was that was really, really good. I'm proud of you for that. I love you. I'm a,
you know me, dude. I got potter shit everywhere. The difference every night, I am currently
living a double life. We say
Stu Skinner is Dr. Jekyll and
Mr. Hyde. So am I.
Because every night
we have a different game on. And when I pop on
the Panthers'
Hurricanes game, I'm just having fun.
I'm like, this is so awesome. I love
watching these two teams play.
Florida's buzzing. I'm
on the cats bandwagon as you know.
And like, it's great. I turn on
these games and I'm
a shell of myself. I'm absolutely
miserable when I turn on Oilers,
because I feel like I'm watching a brain puzzle that I can't solve and I'm locked in a room.
I feel like 11 in early day Stranger Things hooked up to all of these machines while they're just like doing tests on my brain to see if my powers will react because I...
Dude, you have a bloody nose.
I literally get a bloody nose every time I watch the series.
Like I sit there and my nose just starts bleeding while I'm watching these teams play because it is insane.
And it's like last game, I know these these are always.
confusing. Like this one doesn't really make sense, but they released the cumulative,
um,
expected goals chart from last game. And it was like,
I think Dallas was like 2.76 and Edmonton was point eight three and you lose six one.
Now, I hate that because someone did point out it's like Connor McDavid has a three on one in that
game and you're not giving them that up, that an over one expected goal rate,
but like whatever. I guess you're not. The point though is, is like, yeah, you have 21 shots in a
second period where you're pounding them. It's like, Dallas, like, they kind of played better in
that game. But like you said, it's just they execute the Oilers. So the executioners. That's that.
That is why you have lost. And yeah, I just watch this series and I'm like, I don't know what's
happening. I don't get how this is happening. It's been going on for months now. And that is why I think
this team is, I think they're the scariest team in the playoffs. I don't think that they can be
figured out. They're a Rubik's
cube of a hockey team.
And no one has had an answer to them.
And I am just shocked that
we had round one.
Tons of people picked the Kings.
And did not go
well after two games.
Lots of people picked Vegas.
Vegas got fucking
pummeled,
back cracked by this team.
And now here we are. Dallas gets that
game one win that's now starting to look like a
fluke, isn't it?
You get that game.
This should be 3-0.
It should be 3-0.
It's not even a question.
Those are fucking miracle.
Those were correct calls.
Like I'm not saying they shouldn't have got those power plays.
But those were fucking miracle.
Like, oh, we were gifted three power plays in the third period and we happened to cash in on them.
Not because we were dominant, just like good shots and screens and whatever.
This should be 3-0.
I felt like, I feel like a lot of stars fans, you know, like I tweeted out when it was 3-1.
I was like, fucking inevitable Oilers, here we are again.
and then Dallas wins that game
and Dallas fans were like, you know, like,
let's fucking go.
How about that response?
And I was like, oh my God, that was amazing.
And people were like that, you know,
they were just asleep for a couple periods.
And now here we are.
And since then, you have lost nine to one.
You got shut out in a game.
You almost got shout out in the next game.
One of those was at home.
Now you're in fucking Hades in Rogers Place.
You think you're going to win game four
with how these things are going?
Rupay's not playing.
Ranton hasn't scored in what is it CP six games
Rantman hasn't scored a goal
Nine goals and ten games
Oh my God
Rang hasn't scored a goal in six games
Jason Robertson continues to
Like he got credit for that goal
Sure
But like
Robo is not doing
Fuck all in this
And missing big chances
Like he's getting wide open nets
And I do think it's like
I think he's hurt
but fuck me
it's one of those things like we were talking to
demurs the other day he's like dude
you hurt or not like you gotta be doing more out here
and it's like
you said it in our notes CP
it's like are we
are we in a place now where it's like
Dallas we're about to ban Dallas from the playoffs
you wanted this matchup
you really wanted this
stars
you were begging for the oilers you wanted
retribution from last year
this looks fucking terrible
And yeah, save for that what feels like a fluke third period.
This is a sweep.
It's the same fucking thing as Florida, Carolina.
I can't believe how much the turntables have turned, to quote Michael Scott.
It's like this is a, it's looking like a fucking beat down, an absolute beatdown.
I have something to say about Dallas, but I want to go back real quick to your earlier point and some stuff in the chat.
Lola and Amber both saying
Oilers learned from last year. They're fueled by the Stanley Cup
final game seven last year. Could not agree more. I was thinking
here comes by another pop culture reference, but I was like,
I could hear that defying gravity song in Wicked.
You know, like, something has changed within me.
Because I was like, oh, dude, they, they, something changed.
Like the Oilers lost that game and you said preseason Dan.
You were like, they don't give up. That has, that has rage fueled them to get back here.
And then they lost some guys, dude.
They lost, the depth has been so crazy because to lose Holloway and Broberg on offer sheets and Fogel and all this shit.
And I'm like, there's literally no way you're deeper.
And then they are.
They are clearly proving to be deeper, ready, built for this.
And they something snapped in them that we didn't quite process because they weren't, they weren't turned it on.
They hadn't turned it on.
And they didn't even turn it on to start the playoffs.
It literally took game three of the King series.
and then they found the switch and it snapped and they just won't let this happen dude they will not they will not let themselves lose they are going back and buddy they fucking deserve it i am not i think boldie said um boldie goes can i jump on the bandwagon bro same like i i i i don't i i i'm not asking horse fans to welcome me because i don't deserve it but holy shit dude they fucking i i the fan we did that uh blind ranking of like who deserves it it's the oilers it's the oilers it's the oilers it
It's Edmonton the city.
It's the Oilers fans.
It's the Oilers players.
They have fucking gone nuclear when it mattered most because they said we will avenge this from last year.
And I hope they do it because it's been mesmerizingly cool to watch this team be indestructible.
No matter how you come at them, no matter how you ask them to beat you, they will beat you.
And, you know, it's fucking sick, dude.
It's so sick.
It's, you know, like I've talked about so many times how much I love.
Dallas, I love this team. I love the boys on the team. I love the fans. I love Dallas fans.
And I, but I just have to say, it feels crazy to say this with how good Florida is. I'm not,
does anyone feel better than Oilish fans right now? Like, I can't, the vibes.
You know, the people in Edmonton right now at Rogers last night, like, I don't think that the vibe, I don't
think vibes could be better than for any team it's Florida obviously you're cruising but I do think
you look at Carolina as a little bit of like a you know to your point we're not we're not
staying sharp against this fucking team like this is just crazy like this is semantics we got to
just get out of here you've got rhino out maybe mikaa out it's like all these guys are possibly
are hurt you don't know like if you're edmonton yeah Connor brown left the game hope he's
okay but like McDavid McDavid's awake all of a sudden Leon's kind of
wake all of a sudden you it looks like you're not even fucking trying against this
Dallas team and so many people thought this is going seven it's going the distance it's
two one in the series and we're talking about it like it's over and and I hate to say it
it's over this is over well this this is what I wanted to add about Dallas Dan when you
were talking about like how they've uh their playoff history right so I found this
quote and it says um
This was just in the, in like an ESPN article or something, okay?
It says in the first round against the Colorado Avalanche,
DeBoer told the players no one had picked them to win because of injuries,
Tamiro Heiskin and forward Jason Robinson.
He told them outsiders didn't show enough respect to the guys who were in the room.
It created an underdog attitude, even though the stars finished fifth in the NHL in the regular season,
the avalanche eighth, and Dallas won in seven games.
DeBore is nine and no one games, sevens, blah, blah, blah.
And then they, and then in the series against Winnipeg, same deal, like going up against
the best team in the league.
DeBoer had another comment about like,
we're going to get up into the Vesna winner,
all this shit.
I think,
Dan,
after game four of the Winnipeg series,
when Dallas went up 3-1,
they lost that attitude.
Because I actually think they played this so perfectly
with the chip on our shoulder underdog thing.
Nobody believes in us.
You know how powerful that is in pro sports?
Everyone picking the ass.
Everybody, okay,
because of the injuries,
but everybody picking the ass.
everybody pick, or not everybody, but people pick in Winnipeg because of hell of buck.
Dallas was able to be like, fuck the world.
We are nasty.
We've been to two straight Western finals, three out of the last four.
And we're getting disrespected like this.
And DeBoer had the room fired up like that.
Once they went up 3-1 against Winnipeg, Alice being like, here's where you guys should come for the final.
Up 3-1 in round two.
In round two.
Dude, come to this barbecue place.
It's sick.
This is awesome.
I can't wait to see you guys here for Stanley Cup, Victory Plaza, all this shit.
Dallas somewhere along the line completely lost the thread of,
we got to earn this.
We are the dogs because that was really getting them to play their best hockey to we're rolling.
And I'm like, we're already in the cup final.
And now you're getting fucking kicked in the dick by Edmonton.
And maybe,
maybe this game was enough to like recapture that attitude.
But man, they lost that big time.
They got ahead of their ski.
In my opinion,
they got ahead of their skis huge after game four against Winnipeg.
And like the cockiness is killing them right now.
Yeah, I mean, I agree.
It's, they, they look like, they look a little petulant.
You know, we said it after game two, Carolina, they look a little petulant.
They're, you know, I love to bore, but, you know, some of the comments, some of the things are going on.
It just, it looks like a team that's frustrated that doesn't have answers.
And yeah, you know, I'm seeing in the chat, people being like, yeah, like, Otter's got to steal a game.
Respectfully, dude, this isn't where you should be, Dallas.
You should be saying we need Otter to steal games.
You should, if you believe what you are, you should be beating this team.
Like, where is Rantan?
Where is Robertson?
Frankly, Hayskinan's back, dude.
Where is Hayskinan?
He's got one goal.
You need Wyatt Johnson to not be a fucking dashed 18 in this series, like in the playoffs.
Like, where are these guys?
So I don't know, you know, like some people in the chat saying, you know, they think it's going six.
Sure, maybe it, maybe it is.
But like, this is over.
This series is over.
Edmonton is, they are going into what I said about the fans.
Like, is there anyone who feels better?
Someone asked in the chat, are they favorites against the cats?
I will say we now have three straight series of teams that simply cannot.
handle this Edmonton team or figure them out.
I don't know how they're not favorites.
Now, obviously, Florida beat them last year.
And Florida is the most perfect playoff team I've ever seen.
They're the most perfectly constructed team.
They're the greatest unit that has ever existed.
We'll see.
But no one can figure out this one was team.
And that is, to me,
fucking ride the train.
And bro, I have another announcement to make too.
I have never experienced a 180 makes it sound like I was full of hate and I wasn't.
So it's not a 180.
Put it this way.
No player in the history of the National Hockey League has ever won me over harder than who I'm about to say.
And you know, I was a Cid guy when it was Sid Ovi in the start, right?
I was like, I was anti-Ovi because I was like, I want my guy to be the best.
But then Ovi just becomes so sick that you're like, that's an example.
of a player that you just change your opinion of over the years.
Stuart Skinner is my favorite player in the entire league.
And it's because I'm serious, dude, I love this.
I'm obsessed with this guy now.
He's a beatboxing, beatboxing madman.
He, his ability to take, if you're a goalie in the National Hockey League, be a goldfish, right?
You need the short memory.
Everybody would say that.
His ability to take the adversity that he's dealt with and not just,
go, doesn't matter, I still believe in myself, because that's what everybody says.
But here's the thing.
You do have self-doubt because you are a human being.
There's no such thing as just going, oh, I just forget about the games.
I give up a thousand goals, and I just go believe in myself.
Incorrect, dude.
That's in your head.
The ability for him to compartmentalize what he's gone through this playoff and last
playoff.
And everybody last year going, the only reason the Oilers didn't quite get it done is because
Stewart Skinner couldn't make the big saves.
Dude, he doesn't give a rat.
He shows up and he's fucking centered.
Dude, he's centered in the net. He's centered up here. He's dialed in everywhere and just is the next puck. All that matters to this guy is the next puck. Bro, he's from Edmonton. I was looking at him up. I'm obsessed with him. He's my favorite player. He's from Edmonton. Grew up an oilist fan. Ryan Nugent Hopkins is his favorite player. Now he's saving Puck's for him so they can get himself a cup. Bro, he is the ninth. He has nine siblings. He has nine siblings. He's the youngest of nine. They all have a name that starts with S in the whole family. And they're about to add a 10th S, Stanley.
because he's going to lift that motherfucker at the end of the season because he's the sickest dude in the league.
I love him.
I'll take a bullet for him now and his mustache.
This guy, I've never seen a goalie just go like this.
Don't care.
Feed me the next puck.
Don't give a shit what happened five seconds ago.
I'm the boy.
I love Stuart Skinner, dude.
He's the fucking man.
How could you not?
I do too after that rant.
I mean, you were right.
The mental toughness this guy has is unparalleled.
It's ridiculous.
And yeah, I mean, you know when I knew that game was.
over. I think it was 2-1, maybe
maybe 1-0, but
Dutchie got a puck in the slot,
nice little slow-up of play,
drag, snap, and it was just like a
really like reach-out
nabbed glove save
by Stu and I was like, oh boy,
he's, he's in.
So I think Stu
got hot, got locked
at the right time, and
that's that. That's all she wrote.
He could do anything, dude.
He could, he could, you should
he should summit Everest after he wins the Stanley Cup because he can do that and then he should swim to the bottom there on a trench because he can do that he
Stewart's dinner can do anything and I will watch him do it I'll pay money to watch him do whatever he wants to do he's the fucking man
I'm very happy to see this turn for me pal this is incredible stuff he just you have you have you have I love one in a athlete gives you no choice but to to put your respect on him because I know he is a dog I am with you uh well listen we we've we've we've we've been buzzing for a while here this has been
great breakdowns of these years.
We got a game tonight.
Florida, Carolina.
We'll see if the sweep can continue.
Get your brooms out, I think.
Before we go, as we said, Memorial Day,
we want to honor the troops.
Shout out to the troops who give us this day to remember
and be proud to be Americans.
And I just wanted to take a quick second to speed round.
Let's just talk about some stuff we love about America.
The most, Dan, Dan texting me and he was like, dude, what do you think of the most American things?
What are you thinking the most American things going?
And actually, Canadians in the chat, I want to hear what your perception are the most American things going.
I wrote some down, Dan.
Do you just have, do you have some?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
These aren't necessarily my favorite things.
I just, I really love calling out American things.
Yeah, yeah, okay.
Say one.
Oh, okay.
Yeah, I'll go first.
All right.
Well, the first one's kind of boring.
but I wrote bald eagle because I just think it's like, you know, that's, that's, that's so American.
Like, I don't think bald eagle should be more prevalent in the country.
Bald Eagles, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, so like, yeah, bald eagles are sick.
One that I thought of, I really, I think joining run clubs is super American.
Like, that's just like happening.
And people are always talking about their run club.
Yeah, that's really good.
It's a really American thing.
Like, it's cool that you can just be in a city and join a run club.
Yeah.
Someone put, Kyle put grilling in beers, and I love that because I had wrote down
grilling, but specifically grill in, when you get like 50 burgers just in case, but there's
only four people coming over.
Like, literally there's four of you.
And you're like, I don't know.
I just grab a bunch of meat.
And then, like, you four people eat one burger each.
And then you're like, I just put that in the fridge.
I put the 46 other burgers in the fridge.
That's very American.
On that train, I think coolers of beer are super American.
I don't think I've seen a cooler of beer anywhere else in my life.
And it's like, listen, there are things.
Don't get me wrong.
Like, I've seen beers in stuff in other countries, but like cooler, maybe it's coolers.
Coolers are really American.
You see them at barbecues.
You see them at tailgates.
Like, coolers are very American.
Justin in the chat says, can you all start using actual bald eagles noises, though?
Still using hawk noises?
That is a fact.
Most people don't know that.
Every time you hear that bald eagle caw, that's,
Who said that?
Justin in the chat.
Hey,
Hey,
Paul Eagle sound weird as hell.
Hey, Justin,
shut up, dude.
Shh.
Justin,
don't let people know that.
Shut up.
Also, it's very American to be able to use other bird noises as a bald eagle.
That's super American.
Yep.
Agree.
Here's a controversial one, Dan.
The moon.
Super American,
do we put the flag there.
I legitimately think,
this is a toxic thought,
but when I think about the moon,
I literally think that we own it,
which is completely bullshit and unfair.
It's the world's moon.
But,
but like,
we went,
there and stuff the flag in it. So like the moon is American and it roots for USA hockey and that's
all I have to say about that. We, JFK said we choose the moon. Like that's sorry. Yeah, yeah, dude.
I'm sorry. That's ours. Another one that is not ours, but I'm claiming is fireworks. I think I looked
it up. They were invented in China. But I'm like, no, the American shoot off fireworks at the 4th of
July and that's all. We will have those too. Yeah. Milk substitutes.
is super American.
I don't think you're finding
in many other countries
how many substitutes for milk we have in this country.
Alice just said elevator chats.
I think she means chatting
in an elevator.
No.
We are silent in elevators.
Who talks in an elevator?
People talking in elevators.
That's pretty American.
And also elevators are big in America.
Yep.
Some obvious ones.
Tipping, tipping culture.
Fucking chaos.
and the units, inches, miles, Fahrenheit,
fucking insane shit.
Yeah, yeah.
That's very American.
Complaining about the DMV.
Super.
Fuck the DMV, though, dude.
It's really American.
It's kind of universal.
Everyone in America, I don't care where you're from.
If you bring up the DMV, people are like, fuck that, dude.
Dude, here's one I thought, chanting USA.
Obviously, no one else chants you at USA.
But, like, do other countries just chant their shit?
it like I don't know if I ever hear that I think are we the only country that's like you was
I'm like are we just chanting our name I think they have chance like maybe it's like their
chance are cooler that's the problem that's what I'm saying like I think we're the only country
that just yells our own name yeah you don't think people in China are walking around going
China China China China China I think it's like Iceland in the mighty ducks maybe is like
Eastland like that's but that's because that was written by Americans and they're like they
probably chant their name and I'm like no no one does that but us
Goldie Glazer just said traffic is very American.
I would have said that too, dude, until you see a photo of like traffic in Beijing and people are literally abandoning their cars.
Like I don't even, I don't even think we know what traffic is in America, honestly.
Yep.
Black Friday.
Black Friday.
Oh.
That's, you know, Black Friday is super American, dude.
It's Thanksgiving.
Fuck Thanksgiving.
How about Cyber Monday?
Dude, Cyber Monday.
I try that on for size, pal.
What about road trips?
I feel like everyone else has good rails and we just don't.
So we have to like, we're like, we're road tripping.
Do other people road trip?
I feel like we're the only people that like just road trip.
No, we're road tripping is very American.
Like you can't road trip other places.
Like the road tripping is so American.
They take a train.
They take like a free train.
And I'm like, no, dude, pack the car.
We're going to the Grand Canyon.
Yeah.
And they're like sick, dude.
That's awesome.
You know what else?
This is going to be my closer because I'm going to get one here on Memorial Day weekend.
Cousies.
Other people must have Cusies, dude.
No, no, no, no. Cusies is super American.
Guaranteed that was invented in America.
Yeah, probably right.
And I know a bunch of Canadians are going to be like, we use Cousies too.
And to that, I say you're welcome.
Yeah.
Because Cousies are super American.
Yep.
National Parks, great one.
I also wrote down college football.
College football.
Hold on.
College football.
Wow, good one, Chris.
That's crazy.
in the chat just said Euro trip and I'm like, yeah, dude.
On a rail.
But it's not a road trip.
Like there are trains there, you know, yeah.
Oh, no.
Wait, maybe he's saying doing a Euro trip.
Like Americans do.
Kyle, if that's what you're saying.
Going to do a Euro trip.
Great call.
Super American.
Like that we do that all the time, dude.
We're like, I'm fucking, me and the fellas are going to Europe.
And I'm like, that's gas, dude.
Oh, that's fucking great.
And then a reality TV, people becoming celebrities.
but I guess there's like some reality TV in England and shit too but we like we love reality
the UK the UK is really good about having reality celebrities becoming like big people yeah and then
I also wrote down to you aunt and deck are great yeah I also wrote down truck commercials we love
a truck commercial like it is actually wild yeah what how many truck commercials you will see if you
watch do you even like I mean Canada we got to end this fucking episode where this is insane what we're
doing here. Canada, you're just driving the same cars as us. I guess. I don't know.
In Europe, are there like... Everyone drives a Maserati, I think, in Europe.
W commercials rip in as often as we're seeing Ford and Chevy commercials that are just like, watch how much we can
strap to the back of this truck and tow up a mountain. Like, is that happening in Germany or are they, look,
look at this six sports car? I think.
the latter. I think the latter too. All right, we got to get out of here, folks. We got to go
enjoy our Memorial Day weekend. Check it out. CP, stand up. Show them the merch. Bang. Bang.
Look at my rat shirt. Guys, the store is 20% off right now for Memorial Day sale. Get in there.
Huge sale. If you're not on there, if you're an oilist fan or a Cats fan right now, we've got our
amazing shirts. Also, Katz fan, a little tip off to you. I've got a new shirt coming for you. I know
the elbow room shirt is amazing
and people were like, we want a new one,
you're getting a new one, you complained enough,
well done, squeaky wheel gets the oil.
No pun intended about the oilers.
Yeah, you are getting the oil.
You are getting the oil too, though.
Great shit on the site right now.
Everything, 20% off.
Go enjoy.
Make sure you're subscribed to the YouTube.
Follow us on all those socials,
five-star ratings on Apple and Spotify.
You guys know the drill.
Everyone go enjoy your Memorial Day.
Thanks for hanging with us.
No, it's a holiday.
Yes.
Really appreciate everyone joining on a holiday.
Unbelievable stuff.
Shout out Team USA, win in gold at Worlds.
That's amazing.
All those boys.
We tried to get a couple of them to join, but I think they are...
They're still drunk.
I think they're enjoying themselves a little bit.
But we got some great stuff coming for you this week.
Again, enjoy the holiday.
We love you all.
We will see you next time.
And CP, tell them what to do on this.
